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STATE OF MINNESOTA
HAZARDOUS SUBSTANCE INJURY COMPENSATION BOARD

In the Matter of the proposed new STATEMENT OF NEED
permanent rules on attorney fees AND REASONABLENESS
for property damage claims

I. INTRODUCTION

The Hazardous Substance Injury Compensation Board (Board)
;as created by the 1985 Legislature (Laws 1985, 1lst special
session, chapter 8) as part of revisions to the Minnesota
Environmental Response and Liability Act (MERLA), Minnesota
Statutes, Chapter 115B. These revisions were codified as
Minnesota Statutes Sections 115B.25-115B.37. The Board was
established as a new state agency to administer a $2 million
Hazardous Substance Injury Compensation Fund (Fund). The Board's
primary responsibility is to investigate claims of certain types
of property damage or personal injury caused by the release of
hazardous substances into the environment, and to compensate
eligible persons from the Fund for certain types of losses.

Since the administrative procedure for compensation before
the Board is less formal and simpler than a court proceeding, an
attorney is not required for the process. However, because a
claimant may choose to be represented by an attorney, and because
the amount of compenéation the Board can award to a claimant is
strictly limited by statute with no reimbursement for attorney
fees, the legislature gave the Board authority to limit the fee
charged by any attorney for representing a claimant before the

Board.



On June 15, 1987, the Board proposed rules for attorney fees
covering all types of claims. These rules limited fees for legal
service including expenses to no more than 25 percent of the
Board's award.

In response to that proposal, the Board received more than
25 requests for a hearing. The comments objecting to the rules
éocused primarily on two issues: 1) the inclusion of expenses
with the legal fee, and 2) the need for the rules based on the
lack of a successful personal injury claim. Several commentors
expressed the opinion that the process of establishing causation
in a personal injury action before the Board posed several
procedural and substantive obstacles requiring the assistance of
expert counsel.

Taking the comments under consideration, the Board decided
to withdraw the June 15, 1987 proposed rules and to distinguish
between the two types of claims for which it awards compensation.
Based on several successful awards for property damage without
attorney representation, and the simple, straightforward standard
that must be met, the Board is proposing in these rules attorney
fees for property damage claims that are contingent upon receipt
of the award by the claimant and limited to 15 percent of that
award. The Board hés decided to review its experience with
personal injury claims and the involvement of attorneys with the
process at a later date and may propose rules to address attorney

fees for personal injury claims in the future.



II. STATEMENT OF THE BOARD'S STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The Board's statutory authority to adopt rules relating to
attorney fees is set forth in Minn. Stat. Section 115B.37 (1986),
which states: "The board may by rule limit the fee charged by

any attorney for representing a claimant before the board."

£II. STATEMENT OF NEED

The need to adopt the proposed Minnesota Rule Part 7190.0020
arises from the need for the claimant to receive reasonable
compensation for the economic losses suffered as a result of
property damage caused by hazardous substances. Minnesota
Statutes sections 115B.34 and 115B.36 limit the amounts a
claimant may receive for various losses. Unlike a court, the
board cannot award a claimant punitive damages; no noneconomic
losses are compensable. The selected economic losses for which
the board can award compensation in the property damage area
include actual costs of an uncontaminated water supply and 75% of
the decline in a home's value demonstrated upon a bona fide sale
of the property. Each of these losses is further capped by
statute at $25,000.

To assure that the claimant benefits from any reimbursement
for losses the Board‘awards and to assure that small claims are
not discouraged, it is necessary to limit costs to the claimant
for seeking the compensation. Since a claimant may not be
reimbursed by the board for attorney fees, it is necessary to

limit these costs to the claimant.



IV. STATEMENT OF REASONABLENESS

The proposed rule is reasonable because it recognizes that
the administrative proceedings place less burden on the claimant
and the attorney than similar court proceedings. The Board
investigates the claim to establish eligibility and validity and
must compensate if it is "more likely than not" that 1) the
claimant suffered property damage causing losses, and 2) the
losses resulted from a hazardous substance on the property due to
its release from a facility. Since the burden on the attorney is
significantly reduced, it is reasonable that the fee should also
be reduced from the customary contingency fee of one-third of the
award.

The Minnesota workers' compensation statute states: "A fee
for legal services of 25 percent of the first $4000 of
compensation awarded to the employee and 20 percent of the next
$27,500 of compensation awarded to the employee is

permissible...” [M.S. § 176.081, subd. 1(a)]l. To represent a

property damage claimant before the Board requires much less
specialized knowledge and skill then to represent an injured
worker in the more complex workers' compensation system. It is
thus reasonable to set a fee limit of 15 percent of the award
from the Board to property damage claimants.

Additionally, nationwide fees for attorneys in workers'
compensation cases range from 10 percent (with $100 maximum) to
25 percent with no dollar maximum. Several states allow 15 to 30

percent on the first $300, $500, or $1000, then a smaller percent



on the excess.l The proposed 15 percent limit thus reasonably
lies within the typical range within which attorney fees are
limited by statute.

The other provisions of the proposed rule making the fee
contingent upon the acceptance of the award and invalidating
other agreements are reasonable because of their consistency with
fee limitations in the workers' compensation system. Minnesota
Rule Part 5220.2910 states: "No fee will be awarded unless the
attorney is successful in obtaining workers' compensation
benefits or services for the employee." Minnesota Statutes
§ 176.081, subd. 5(c) states: "No attorney-client fee contract

or arrangement is binding in any workers' compensation matter."

V. CONCLUSION
Based on the foregoing, the proposed rules for attorney fees

for property damage claims are both needed and reasonable.
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