
ST A TE OF MINN ES OT A 
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In the Matter of Proposed Amendments 
to Rules 4610 Relating to Morticians, 
Funeral Directors, Funeral Establishments 
and the Disposition of the Dead 

BEFORE THE MINNESOTA 

COMMISSIONER OF HEALTH 

STATEMENT OF 
NEED AND REASONABLENESS 

This Statement of Need and Reasonableness relates to amendments to fee 

rules cited as Minn. Rules pt. 4610.2800. The Commissioner's statutory authority to 

promulgate these rules amendments is contained in Minn. Stat. §§ 144.122 and 149.05. 

Chapter 4610.2800 FEES is revised due to notification by Financial 

Management of the State Health Department relative to the Mortuary Science Unit 

Budget Analysis. 

Exhibit I: The attached memorandum from David Carlson, Financial 

Management to David F. Schwietz, Supervisor, Mortuary Science Unit, Proposed Fee 

Increase, is offered as evidence of the need to increase current fees. 

The proposed fee increases are as follows: 

4610.2800 FEES Subp. 2 - Mortuary Science Pees. 
E. Renewal fees $40.00 would be increased to $50.00. 

4610.2800 FEES Subp. 3 - Funeral Directors. 
B. Renewal Fees $40.00 would be increased to $50.00. 

4610.2800 FEES Subp. 4 - A. Funeral Establishment Permit Fee 
$110.00 would be increased to $135.00. 

4610.2800 FEES Subp. 4 - B. Renewal permit fee $110.00 would 
be increased to $135.00. 

The reason for the greater increase of Funeral Establishment Fees over the 

individual license fee is that most of the Mortuary Science Unit expenses are in the 

field involving investigations and inspections of Funeral Establishments. 

Exhibit II: Also offered as evidence of the need and reasonableness to 

increase fees is the attached statement from Operations Budget Director Bruce 
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Reddemann of the Department of Finance, entitled Department of Finance Approval 

for Increasing the Fees for the Licensing of Morticians, Funeral Directors and Funeral 

Establishments. 

It is anticipated that notification and explanation of increased fees will be 

given to all licensees at the Minnesota Funeral Directors Association District 

Meetings, along with a letter of explanation and justification of fee increase. 

These rules minimize the duplication of statutory language. See Minn. 

Stat. § 14.07, subd. 3. The implementation of these rules will not require the 

expenditure of public money by local public bodies of greater than $100,000 in either 

of the two years following their adoption, nor do the rules have any impact on 

agricultural land. See Minn. Stat. § 14.11. The adoption of these rules will have little 

effect on small businesses. Funeral establishments are considered small business as 

defined in Minnesota Statute section 14.115. With consideration given to this rule's 

impact on small business, notification of revision of the rule has been given to the 

Minnesota Funeral Directors Association of which 95% of the licensed funeral 

establishments are members. 
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