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STATUTORY AUTHORITY

Minnesota Statute 144.226 authorizes the Commissioner of Health to

prescribe by rule fees for issuance of certified copies of vital records.

GENERAL COMMENTS

The Department last increased fees for vital records in January, 1982.

In 1982 the fees increased from $3.00 to $5.00 per copy. At that time the

annual costs associated with this activity were approximately $350,000. At

the present time the projected costs associated with this activity for

Fiscal Year 1987 are $445,000. The Department of Finance has approved the

fee changes as proposed by the Commissioner of Health. Please see attached.

The issuance of copies of vital records and related services are a

direct service and benefit to specific individuals. The fee schedule pro­

posed, as in the past, would result in the users of the service paying the

costs involved.

4600.0900 FEES

Subpart 1. Certified copy. Expenditures projected for Fiscal Year

1987 for the vital records activity are $445,000. Revenue generated by

the Section in this same period will be approximately $277,000. This

amounts to a shortfall of $168,000. Without an increase in fees, this

deficit will grow as salary and benefit expenses continue to outpace the

increase in revenue.

The Section issued 49,582 copies in calendar 1986. Revenue from

other services has averaged (1985 and 1986) $37,000 annually. Therefore,

if $8.00 is collected per copy at this volume, revenue will be:

49,582 X $8.00 = $396,656

other income = 37,000

$433,656

The costs associated with issuing additional copies of a certificate



after it has once been located are minimal. Therefore, a reduced fee of

$2.00 each for additional copies of the identical record requested at the

same time is proposed. This reduced rate for extra copies should expand

the number of multiple copies issued. This growth, however, will offset

an expected decrease in first copies issued as a result of the increase

in the first copy price.

It should be noted that the Legislature passed a law providing for

a $2.00 surcharge on each certified copy of a birth record issued. There­

fore, the actual fee charged by state and local registrars would be $10.00

for the first copy and $4.00 for each additional copy.

Subpart 5. Fee for verification. The costs to search for a certif­

icate and to verify information from it are essentially the same as the

costs involved in making a certified copy. Therefore, the verification

charge and the certified copy fee are both proposed to be $8.00.

Ten dollars ($10.00) per hour is suggested to be the fee when the

applicant does not supply specific information to locate a record. The

hourly pay rate at the midpoint of the clerk 2 compensation range is

$8.86 per hour; fringe benefits are 18% of the wage adding $1.59 per hour

for a total of $10.45.

Subpart 6. Copies of other documents. Frequently applicants need

certified copies of affidavits of paternity (or certifications that no

affidavit is on file) or affidavits supporting corrections to vital

records. Currently, no specific provision exists in rule to charge a

fee for issuing on these documents. The recommended $5.00 fee will cover

the costs of supplying these documents.

- 2 -



DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE APPROVAL FOR INCREASING

THE FEES FOR PROVIDING COPIES OF VITAL RECORDS

Minnesota Statute § 144.226 authorizes the Commissioner of

Health to establish fees for providing copies of Vital Records

to the public. The Commissioner will adopt rules to change

the fee from $5.00 per copy to $8.00 for the first copy and

$2.00 for each additional copy.

These proposed fees are in accordance with Minnesota Statute

§ l6A~128, which requires the fees generated to cover the

cost of the program.

Upon review of the at~ached supporting information justifying

the need and amount of the proposed fee and pursuant to authority

vested in the Department of Finance (under Minnesota Statute

§ l6A.128, the fees set forth in the proposal of the Commissioner

of Health are hereby approved.
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