STATE OF MINNESOTA

BEFORE THE MINNESOTA

COUNTY OF RAMSEY

BOARD OF NURSING

In the Matter of Proposed Permanent Rules Relating to Fees STATEMENT OF NEED AND REASONABLENESS

The Board of Nursing proposes to revise each of the fees it is authorized by statute to assess. These fees apply to the Board functions of licensing by examination and endorsement, renewing licenses/registrations, verifying licensure status to other states, providing replacement documents and providing copies of school transcripts from certain files. All proposed fees have been approved by the Commissioner of Finance.

An increase of fees is needed to provide sufficient funding to operate the agency. Minnesota Statute section 214.06 authorizes the Board to adjust any fee which the Board is empowered to assess a sufficient amount so that the total fees collected will as closely as possible equal anticipated expenditures during the fiscal biennium. The Board has not raised any fees since 1984. Most fees were last raised in 1982 or 1983. The need and reasonableness of each proposed fee increase will be addressed separately.

All effective dates have been proposed to coordinate with renewal cycles or the administration of examinations.

Minnesota Rules part 6310.2800 subpart 3: Renewal fee (RN)

The registered nurse renewal fee is the fee which produces the greatest revenue. The income is needed to meet agency expenses other than licensure. Such expenses include the costs of the Board and staff, processing disciplinary complaints, processing registration renewal including continuing education, the Board newsletter and other costs associated with operating an agency.

The proposed \$20 per renewal period (\$10 per year) is reasonable because it does not exceed what is required to meet expenses.

Minnesota Rules part 6310.2800 subpart 5: Penalty fee (RN)

The penalty fee of \$15 is needed to cover the costs of special handling an application received from a registered nurse after the deadline date of May 31. The rate is reasonable as it should serve as a deterrent to late filing as well as cover costs.

Minnesota Rules part 6310.3400 subpart 1: License (RN)

This fee of \$10 is needed for the activity of providing a replacement license. The rate is reasonable because it as nearly as possible covers the cost of this activity.

Minnesota Rules part 6310.3400 subpart 2: Renewal certificate (RN)

This fee of \$10 is needed for the activity of providing a written verification of current registration to a registered nurse upon request. The rate is reasonable because it as nearly as possible covers the cost of this activity.

Minnesota Rules part 6310.3500 subpart 1: Verification (RN)

This fee of \$15 is needed for the activity of providing a written verification of current licensure status to another nurse licensure agency upon the request of a registered nurse. The rate is reasonable because it as nearly as possible covers the cost of this activity.

Minnesota Rules part 6310.3500 subpart 2: Transcript (RN)

This fee of \$10 is needed for the activity of providing a registered nurse, upon request, a copy of his/her transcript from a nursing school which is closed. The rate is reasonable because it as nearly as possible covers the cost of this activity.

Minnesota Rules part 6310.7600 subpart 3. Renewal fee (LPN)

The licensed practical nurse renewal fee is the fee which produces the second largest amount of revenue for the agency. Revenue from this fee is used to cover agency expenses other than licensure such as registration renewal, processing disciplinary complaints, publishing the Board newsletter, funding Board meetings and the numerous other costs associated with operating the agency.

The proposed \$20 per renewal period (\$10 per year) is reasonable as the amount does not exceed the amount needed to meet expenses.

The language of the rule which is struck is no longer needed. The striking will not affect the fee charged any licensee.

Minnesota Rules part 6310.7700: Penalty Fee (LPN)

The penalty fee of \$15 is needed to cover the costs of special handling an application received from a licensed practical nurse after the deadline date of December 31. The rate is reasonable as it should serve as a deterrent to late filing as well as cover the costs.

Minnesota Rules part 6310.8000 subpart 1: License (LPN)

This fee of \$10 is needed for the activity of providing a replacement license. The rate is reasonable because it as nearly as possible covers the cost of this activity.

Minnesota Rules part 6310.8000 subpart 2: Renewal certificate (LPN)

This fee of \$10 is needed for the activity of providing a written verification of current registration to a licensed practical nurse upon request. The rate is reasonable because it as nearly as possible covers the cost of this activity.

Minnesota Rules part 6310.8100 subpart 1: Verification (LPN)

This fee of \$15 is needed for the activity of providing a written verification of current licensure status to another nurse licensure agency upon

the request of a licensed practical nurse. The rate is reasonable because it as nearly as possible covers the cost of this activity.

Minnesota Rules part 6310.8100 subpart 2: Transcript (LPN)

This fee of \$10 is needed for the activity of providing a licensed practical nurse, upon request, a copy of his/her transcript from a nursing school which is closed. The rate is reasonable because it as nearly as possible covers the cost of this activity.

Minnesota Rules part 6315.0400 subpart 10: Fees

The three fees in subpart 10 pertain to licensure by examination for registered nurses and licensed practical nurses.

- A. The \$75 fee for registered nurse applicants and the \$50 fee for licensed practical nurse applicants are needed to cover the cost of administering the licensing examinations and processing the applications. Because the registered nurse examination is two days long and the licensed practical nurse examination is one day long, the fee for licensed practical nurse applicants is lower. The fees are reasonable because they as nearly as possible cover expenses such as personnel, postage, supplies, examination space rental and proctors for the examinations.
- C. The \$50 reexamination fee for registered nurse applicants and \$40 for licensed practical nurse applicants is needed to defray the costs of examination that recur for each administration. Such recurring costs include space rental, postage, supplies, and personnel time. The rates are reasonable because they cover the cost of reexamination as nearly as possible.
- D. The late filing fee of \$50 is needed to cover the cost of special handling applications which are received after the published deadline dates. The rate is reasonable because it should serve as a deterrent to late filing as well as cover costs.

Minnesota Rules part 6315.0500 subpart 3: Fee

This \$55 fee pertains to licensure by endorsement, not examination, for registered nurses and licensed practical nurses. The fee is needed to cover the expenses incurred with this activity such as personnel, application processing, postage and supplies. The rate is reasonable because it as nearly as possible covers the costs. It is reasonable to charge the same fee for registered nurses and licensed practical nurses because the work in processing each type of endorsement application is equivalent.

In summary, the Board believes that each proposed fee is needed and reasonable and complies in all ways with statutory requirements.

A copy of the Commissioner of Finance approval is attached.

Dated: Seg 8 1986

MINNESOTA BOARD OF NURSING

JOYCE M. SCHOWALTER Executive Director