This document is made available electronically by the Minnesota Legislative Reference Library as part of an ongoing digital archiving project. http://www.leg.state.mn.us/lrl/sonar/sonar.asp

STATE OF MINNESOTA

BOARD OF ANIMAL HEALTH

In the Matter of Proposed Amendment to 3 MCAR § 2.011 Eradication of bovine and bison brucellosis

STATEMENT OF NEED AND REASONABLENESS

The rule needs to be amended to permit the use of reduced dose brucella abortus vaccine in older calves. Reduced dose vaccine was licensed by the United States Department of Agriculture earlier this year and can be legally used in the State of Minnesota. The present rule restricts its use in dairy calves from 2 through 5 months of age and in beef calves from 2 through 7 months of age.

The proposed amendment will permit the use of reduced dose vaccine in both dairy and beef calves from 4 through 10 months of age. This change will help herd management as it increases the age span for vaccination. The advantages of reduced dose vaccine are less shock at time of vaccination, less interference with later tests, and an increased age span for administration of the vaccine.

The proposed amendment will aid brucellosis eradication efforts and there will be no additional costs to the livestock industry or to the State of Minnesota.

Adoption and need for this amendment is within the authority of Minnesota Statutes 1982, Chapter 35, Section 35.03.

J. G. Flint, D.V.M.

Secretary and Executive Officer

STATE OF MINNESOTA

BOARD OF ANIMAL HEALTH

In the Matter of Proposed Amendment to 3 MCAR § 2.011 Eradication of Bovine and Bison Brucellosis

> ADDENDUM TO STATEMENT OF NEED AND REASONABLENESS

The Statement of Need and Reasonableness is hereby ammended by adding the following paragraph:

"During the rule promulgation process the Board of Animal Health considered the effect this rule ammendment would have on small business. The intent of the rule ammendment was to increase the range of ages for vaccination of calves for brucellosis from 2 thru 7 months of age to 4 to 10 months of age. This will have a beneficial effect on those farming business because less trips to the farm would be necessary by the veterinarian doing the vaccinating; therefore, the considerations set forth in Laws 1983, Chapter 188, Sec. 1 (2) do not apply."

J. G Flint, DVM

Secretary and Executive Officer