OATH OF OFFICE

The First Assistant Secretary, the Second Assistant Secretary, the Engrossing Secretary, the Sergeant at Arms, the Assistant Sergeant at Arms and the Chaplain advanced to the Bar of the Senate and subscribed to the oath of office as administered by the Honorable Lorie Gildea.

MOTIONS AND RESOLUTIONS

Senators Bakk and Hann introduced -

Senate Resolution No. 1: A Senate resolution naming a Majority Leader and a Minority Leader.

BE IT RESOLVED, by the Senate of the State of Minnesota:

The Senate Majority Leader is Thomas M. Bakk. The Senate Minority Leader is David W. Hann.

Senator Bakk moved the adoption of the foregoing resolution. The motion prevailed. So the resolution was adopted.

Senators Bakk and Hann introduced -

Senate Resolution No. 2: A Senate resolution relating to rules; adopting temporary rules for the 88th session of the Legislature.

BE IT RESOLVED, by the Senate of the State of Minnesota:

The permanent rules of the Senate for the 87th session of the Legislature are adopted as the temporary rules for the 88th session, to be effective until the adoption of permanent rules by a majority vote of the Senate, subject to the following conditions:

A bill may not be introduced on the first day.

The rules referred to above are amended as follows:

- 7.3 The omnibus tax and appropriation bills are:
- (1) the omnibus tax bill;
- (2) the E-12 education appropriations bill;
- (3) the higher education and workforce development appropriations bill;
- (4) the health and human services appropriations bill;
- (5) the environment, economic development and natural resources agriculture appropriations bill;
 - (6) the agriculture and rural economies appropriations bill;
 - (7) the jobs and economic growth appropriations bill;
 - (8) the commerce and consumer protection appropriations bill;
 - (9) the energy, utilities and telecommunications appropriations bill;

- (10) (6) the judiciary and public safety appropriations bill;
- (11) (7) the state government innovation departments and veterans appropriations bill;
- (12) (8) the transportation and public safety appropriations bill; and
- (13) (9) the omnibus capital investment bill.

An omnibus appropriation or tax bill may not be divided.

9. STANDING COMMITTEES

The standing committees of the Senate are as follows:

Agriculture and Rural Economies

Capital Investment

Commerce and Consumer Protection

Education

Environment and Energy, Utilities and Telecommunications

Environment and Natural Resources

Finance

Health and, Human Services and Housing

Higher Education and Workforce Development

Jobs, Agriculture and Economic Growth Rural Development

Judiciary and Public Safety

Local Government and Elections

Rules and Administration

State and Local Government Innovation and Veterans

Taxes

Transportation and Public Safety

Senator Bakk moved the adoption of the foregoing resolution.

The question was taken on the adoption of the resolution.

The roll was called, and there were yeas 67 and nays 0, as follows:

Those who voted in the affirmative were:

Anderson	Chamberlain	Dibble	Gazelka	Hoffman
Bakk	Champion	Dziedzic	Goodwin	Housley
Benson	Clausen	Eaton	Hall	Ingebrigtsen
Bonoff	Cohen	Eken	Hann	Jensen
Brown	Dahle	Fischbach	Hawj	Johnson
Carlson	Dahms	Franzen	Havden	Kent

Kiffmeyer	Nelson	Pratt	Senjem	Torres Ray
Koenen	Newman	Reinert	Sheran	Weber
Latz	Nienow	Rest	Sieben	Westrom
Limmer	Ortman	Rosen	Skoe	Wiger
Lourey	Osmek	Ruud	Sparks	Wiklund
Marty	Pappas	Saxhaug	Stumpf	
Metzen	Pederson, J.	Scalze	Thompson	
Miller	Petersen, B.	Schmit	Tomassoni	

The motion prevailed. So the resolution was adopted.

Senators Bakk and Hann introduced -

Senate Concurrent Resolution No. 1: A Senate concurrent resolution relating to the adoption of temporary joint rules.

BE IT RESOLVED, by the Senate of the State of Minnesota, the House of Representatives concurring:

The temporary Joint Rules of the Senate and the House of Representatives for the 87th session are adopted as the temporary joint rules for the 88th session, to be effective until the adoption of Permanent Joint Rules by the Senate and House of Representatives.

Senator Bakk moved the adoption of the foregoing resolution.

The question was taken on the adoption of the resolution.

The roll was called, and there were yeas 67 and nays 0, as follows:

Those who voted in the affirmative were:

Anderson	Eaton	Johnson	Osmek	Sieben
Bakk	Eken	Kent	Pappas	Skoe
Benson	Fischbach	Kiffmeyer	Pederson, J.	Sparks
Bonoff	Franzen	Koenen	Petersen, B.	Stumpf
Brown	Gazelka	Latz	Pratt	Thompson
Carlson	Goodwin	Limmer	Reinert	Tomassoni
Chamberlain	Hall	Lourey	Rest	Torres Ray
Champion	Hann	Marty	Rosen	Weber
Clausen	Hawj	Metzen	Ruud	Westrom
Cohen	Hayden	Miller	Saxhaug	Wiger
Dahle	Hoffman	Nelson	Scalze	Wiklund
Dahms	Housley	Newman	Schmit	
Dibble	Ingebrigtsen	Nienow	Senjem	
Dziedzic	Jensen	Ortman	Sheran	

The motion prevailed. So the resolution was adopted.

Senators Bakk and Hann introduced -

Senate Resolution No. 3: A Senate resolution relating to standing committees.

BE IT RESOLVED, by the Senate of the State of Minnesota:

The standing committees of the Senate for the 88th session have the membership shown in this resolution.