BE IT RESOLVED, by the Senate of the State of Minnesota:

The Senate Majority Leader is Amy T. Koch. The Senate Minority Leader is Thomas M. Bakk.

Senator Koch moved the adoption of the foregoing resolution. The motion prevailed. So the resolution was adopted.

Senators Koch and Bakk introduced -

Senate Resolution No. 2: A Senate resolution relating to rules; adopting temporary rules for the 87th session of the Legislature.

BE IT RESOLVED, by the Senate of the State of Minnesota:

The permanent rules of the Senate for the 86th session of the Legislature are adopted as the temporary rules for the 87th session, to be effective until the adoption of permanent rules by a majority vote of the Senate, subject to the following conditions:

A bill may not be introduced on the first day.

The rules referred to above are amended as follows:

1. PARLIAMENTARY REFERENCE

The rules of parliamentary practice contained in Mason's Manual of Legislative Procedure (1989 edition) govern the Senate in all cases in which they are applicable, and in which they are not inconsistent with these rules and orders of the Senate and the joint rules and orders of the Senate and House of Representatives.

- 7.3 The omnibus tax and appropriation bills are:
- (1) the omnibus tax bill;
- (2) the E-12 education appropriations bill;
- (3) the higher education appropriations bill;
- (4) the health and human services appropriations bill;
- (5) the environment, energy, and natural resources appropriations bill;
- (6) the agriculture and veterans rural economies appropriations bill;
- (7) the economic development and housing jobs and economic growth appropriations bill;
- (8) the commerce and consumer protection appropriations bill;
- (9) the energy, utilities and telecommunications appropriations bill;
- (10) the judiciary and public safety appropriations bill;
- (9) the judiciary appropriations bill;
- (10) (11) the state government innovation and veterans appropriations bill;

(11) (12) the transportation appropriations bill; and

(12) (13) the omnibus capital investment bill.

An omnibus appropriation or tax bill may not be divided.

9. STANDING COMMITTEES

The standing committees of the Senate are as follows:

Agriculture and Veterans Rural Economies

Business, Industry and Jobs

Capital Investment

Commerce and Consumer Protection

Education

Energy, Utilities, Technology and Communications Telecommunications

Environment and Natural Resources

Finance

Health, Housing and Family Security Human Services

Higher Education

Jobs and Economic Growth

Judiciary and Public Safety

Local Government and Elections

Rules and Administration

State and Local Government Operations and Oversight Innovation and Veterans

Taxes

Transportation

36.1 When a member is about to speak to the Senate, the member shall rise and respectfully address "Mr. (or Madam) Madam (or Mr.) President." The member may not proceed to speak further until recognized by the President.

54.7 Until the election by the Senate of a single Secretary of the Senate, the Committee on Rules and Administration shall allocate the duties of the Secretary of the Senate between two individuals: the Secretary of the Senate (Legislative) and the Secretary of the Senate (Administrative).

Senator Koch moved the adoption of the foregoing resolution.

The question was taken on the adoption of the resolution.

The roll was called, and there were yeas 67 and nays 0, as follows:

Those who voted in the affirmative were:

Gazelka Nienow Anderson Sheran Bakk Gerlach Olson Sieben Kubly Benson Gimse Langseth Ortman Skoe Sparks Berglin Goodwin Pappas Latz Lillie Stumpf Bonoff Hall Parry Brown Hann Limmer Pederson Thompson Pogemiller Harrington Carlson Lourey Tomassoni Chamberlain Higgins Magnus Reinert Torres Ray Hoffman Cohen Marty Rest Vandeveer Robling Wiger Wolf Dahms Howe Metzen Ingebrigtsen Michel Daley Rosen DeKruif Jungbauer Miller Saxhaug Dibble Kelash Nelson Scheid Fischbach Newman Koch Senjem

The motion prevailed. So the resolution was adopted.

Senators Koch and Bakk introduced -

Senate Concurrent Resolution No. 1: A Senate concurrent resolution relating to the adoption of temporary joint rules.

BE IT RESOLVED, by the Senate of the State of Minnesota, the House of Representatives concurring:

The Joint Rules of the Senate and the House of Representatives for the 86th session are adopted as the temporary joint rules for the 87th session, to be effective until the adoption of Permanent Joint Rules by the Senate and House of Representatives.

Senator Koch moved the adoption of the foregoing resolution.

The question was taken on the adoption of the resolution.

The roll was called, and there were yeas 67 and nays 0, as follows:

Those who voted in the affirmative were:

Anderson Gazelka Kruse Nienow Sheran Bakk Gerlach Kubly Olson Sieben Benson Gimse Langseth Ortman Skoe Sparks Berglin Goodwin Latz Pappas Parry Pederson Bonoff Hall Lillie Stumpf Brown Thompson Hann Limmer Carlson Harrington Lourey Pogemiller Tomassoni Higgins Hoffman Chamberlain Magnus Reinert Torres Ray Cohen Marty Rest Vandeveer Dahms Howe Metzen Robling Wiger Daley Ingebrigtsen Michel Rosen Wolf DeKruif Jungbauer Miller Saxhaug Kelash Dibble Nelson Scheid Fischbach Koch Newman Senjem

The motion prevailed. So the resolution was adopted.