and subscribed to the oath of office as administered by the Honorable Robert H. Schumacher.

MOTIONS AND RESOLUTIONS

Senators Pogemiller and Senjem introduced –

Senate Resolution No. 1: A Senate resolution naming a Majority Leader and a Minority Leader.

BE IT RESOLVED, by the Senate of the State of Minnesota:

The Senate Majority Leader is Lawrence J. Pogemiller. The Senate Minority Leader is David H. Senjem.

Senator Pogemiller moved the adoption of the foregoing resolution. The motion prevailed. So the resolution was adopted.

Senators Pogemiller and Senjem introduced -

Senate Resolution No. 2: A Senate resolution relating to rules; adopting temporary rules for the 85th session of the Legislature.

BE IT RESOLVED, by the Senate of the State of Minnesota:

The permanent rules of the Senate for the 84th session of the Legislature are adopted as the temporary rules for the 85th session, to be effective until adoption of permanent rules by a majority vote of the Senate, subject to the following conditions:

A bill may not be introduced on the first day.

The rules referred to above are amended as follows:

9. STANDING COMMITTEES

The standing committees of the Senate are as follows:

Agriculture, and Veterans and Gaming

Business, Industry and Jobs

Capital Investment

Commerce and Consumer Protection

Crime Prevention and Public Safety

Education

Elections

Energy, Utilities, Technology and Communications

Environment and Natural Resources

Finance

Health, Housing and Family Security

Higher Education

Jobs, Energy and Community Development

Judiciary

Rules and Administration

State and Local Government Operations and Oversight

Taxes

Transportation

Senator Pogemiller moved the adoption of the foregoing resolution.

The question was taken on the adoption of the resolution.

The roll was called, and there were yeas 66 and nays 0, as follows:

Those who voted in the affirmative were:

Anderson	Fischbach	Larson	Ortman	Sieben
Bakk	Foley	Latz	Pappas	Skoe
Berglin	Frederickson	Limmer	Pariseau	Skogen
Betzold	Gerlach	Lourey	Pogemiller	Sparks
Bonoff	Gimse	Lynch	Prettner Solon	Stumpf
Carlson	Hann	Marty	Rest	Tomassoni
Chaudhary	Higgins	Metzen	Robling	Torres Ray
Clark	Ingebrigtsen	Michel	Rosen	Vickerman
Cohen	Johnson	Moua	Rummel	Wergin
Day	Jungbauer	Murphy	Saltzman	Wiger
Dibble	Koch	Neuville	Saxhaug	· ·
Dille	Koering	Olseen	Scheid	
Doll	Kubly	Olson, G.	Senjem	
Erickson Ropes	Langseth	Olson, M.	Sheran	

The motion prevailed. So the resolution was adopted.

Senators Pogemiller and Senjem introduced –

Senate Concurrent Resolution No. 1: A Senate concurrent resolution relating to the adoption of temporary joint rules.

BE IT RESOLVED, by the Senate of the State of Minnesota, the House of Representatives concurring:

The temporary Joint Rules of the Senate and the House of Representatives for the 84th session are adopted as the temporary joint rules for the 85th session, to be effective until the adoption of Permanent Joint Rules by the Senate and House of Representatives.

Senator Pogemiller moved the adoption of the foregoing resolution.

The question was taken on the adoption of the resolution.