Senjem Skoe Skoglund Solon Sparks Stumpf Tomassoni Vickerman Wergin Wiger

Anderson	Gaither	Langseth	Olson
Bachmann	Gerlach	Larson	Ortman
Bakk	Hann	LeClair	Ourada
Belanger	Higgins	Limmer	Pappas
Berglin	Hottinger	Lourey	Pariseau
Betzold	Johnson, D.E.	Marko	Pogemiller
Chaudhary	Johnson, D.J.	Marty	Reiter
Cohen	Jungbauer	McGinn	Rest
Day	Kelley	Metzen	Robling
Dibble	Kierlin	Michel	Rosen
Dille	Kiscaden	Moua	Ruud
Fischbach	Kleis	Murphy	Sams
Foley	Koering	Neuville	Saxhaug
Frederickson	Kubly	Nienow	Scheid

The above nominees received 66 votes of the members of the Senate and were duly elected to their respective offices.

OATH OF OFFICE

The First Assistant Secretary, the Second Assistant Secretary, the Engrossing Secretary, the Sergeant at Arms, the Assistant Sergeant at Arms and the Chaplain advanced to the Bar of the Senate and subscribed to the oath of office as administered by the Honorable David L. Knutson.

MOTIONS AND RESOLUTIONS

Senators Johnson, D.E. and Day introduced--

Senate Resolution No. 1: A Senate resolution naming a Majority Leader and a Minority Leader.

BE IT RESOLVED, by the Senate of the State of Minnesota:

The Senate Majority Leader is Dean E. Johnson. The Senate Minority Leader is Dick Day.

Senator Johnson, D.E. moved the adoption of the foregoing resolution. The motion prevailed. So the resolution was adopted.

Senators Johnson, D.E. and Day introduced--

Senate Resolution No. 2: A Senate resolution relating to rules; adopting temporary rules for the 84th session of the Legislature.

BE IT RESOLVED, by the Senate of the State of Minnesota:

The permanent rules of the Senate for the 83rd session of the Legislature are adopted as the temporary rules of the 84th session, to be effective until February 28, 2005, subject to the following conditions:

A bill may not be introduced on the first day.

The rules referred to above are amended as follows:

9. STANDING COMMITTEES

The standing committees of the Senate are as follows:

Agriculture, Veterans and Gaming

Capital Investment

Commerce

Senjem Skoe Skoglund Solon Sparks Stumpf

Tomassoni Vickerman Wergin Wiger

Crime Prevention and Public Safety

Education

Elections

Environment and Natural Resources

Finance

Health and Family Security

Jobs, Energy and Community Development

Judiciary

Rules and Administration

State and Local Government Operations

Taxes

Transportation

Senator Johnson, D.E. moved the adoption of the foregoing resolution.

The question was taken on the adoption of the resolution.

The roll was called, and there were yeas 66 and nays 0, as follows:

Those who voted in the affirmative were:

Anderson	Gaither	Langseth	Olson
Bachmann	Gerlach	Larson	Ortman
Bakk	Hann	LeClair	Ourada
Belanger	Higgins	Limmer	Pappas
Berglin	Hottinger	Lourey	Pariseau
Betzold	Johnson, D.E.	Marko	Pogemiller
Chaudhary	Johnson, D.J.	Marty	Reiter
Cohen	Jungbauer	McGinn	Rest
Day	Kelley	Metzen	Robling
Dibble	Kierlin	Michel	Rosen
Dille	Kiscaden	Moua	Ruud
Fischbach	Kleis	Murphy	Sams
Foley	Koering	Neuville	Saxhaug
Frederickson	Kubly	Nienow	Scheid

The motion prevailed. So the resolution was adopted.

Senators Johnson, D.E. and Day introduced--

Senate Resolution No. 3: A Senate resolution relating to standing committees.

BE IT RESOLVED, by the Senate of the State of Minnesota:

The standing committees of the Senate for the 84th session have the membership shown in this resolution.

COMMITTEE ON AGRICULTURE, VETERANS AND GAMING (14)

Vickerman, Chair	Johnson, D.E.	Rest
Skoe, Vice Chair	Koering	Sams
Day	Lourey	Solon
Dille	Murphy	Wergin
Hann	Nienow	