MESSAGES FROM THE HOUSE

Mr. President:

I have the honor to announce the passage by the House of the following House File, herewith transmitted: H.F. No. 730.

Edward A. Burdick, Chief Clerk, House of Representatives

Transmitted May 19, 2003

FIRST READING OF HOUSE BILLS

The following bill was read the first time and referred as indicated.

H.F. No. 730: A bill for an act relating to real property; specifying certain additional warranties; specifying limitation of actions based on breach; amending Minnesota Statutes 2002, sections 327A.02, subdivision 1, by adding a subdivision; 327A.06; 541.051, subdivision 4.

Referred to the Committee on Judiciary.

MOTIONS AND RESOLUTIONS

Senators Johnson, D.E. and Day introduced--

Senate Resolution No. 84: A Senate resolution naming a Majority Leader and a Minority Leader.

BE IT RESOLVED, by the Senate of the State of Minnesota:

The Senate Majority Leader is Dean E. Johnson. The Senate Minority Leader is Dick Day.

Senator Johnson, D.E. moved the adoption of the foregoing resolution. The motion prevailed. So the resolution was adopted.

Senators Johnson, D.E. and Day introduced--

Senate Resolution No. 85: A Senate resolution relating to rules; amending Senate Rule 9, relating to standing committees.

BE IT RESOLVED, by the Senate of the State of Minnesota:

The Temporary Rules of the Senate for the 83rd Legislature are amended as follows: Rule 9 is amended to read:

9. STANDING COMMITTEES

The standing committees of the Senate are as follows:

Agriculture, General Legislation and Veterans Affairs and Gaming

Capital Investment

Commerce and Utilities

Crime Prevention and Public Safety

Education

Elections

Environment and Natural Resources

Finance

Health and Family Security

Jobs, Housing Energy and Community Development

Judiciary

Rules and Administration

State and Local Government Operations

Taxes

Senator Johnson, D.E. moved the adoption of the foregoing resolution.

The question was taken on the adoption of the resolution.

The roll was called, and there were yeas 59 and nays 0, as follows:

Those who voted in the affirmative were:

Anderson	Gaither	Koering	Neuville	Saxhaug
Bakk	Hann	Kubly	Nienow	Scheid
Belanger	Higgins	Langseth	Olson	Skoe
Betzold	Hottinger	LeClair	Ortman	Skoglund
Chaudhary	Johnson, D.E.	Limmer	Pappas	Solon
Cohen	Johnson, D.J.	Lourey	Pariseau	Sparks
Day	Jungbauer	Marko	Pogemiller	Stumpf
Dibble	Kelley	Marty	Ranum	Tomassoni
Dille	Kierlin	McGinn	Reiter	Vickerman
Fischbach	Kiscaden	Michel	Rest	Wergin
Foley	Kleis	Moua	Robling	Wiger
Frederickson	Knutson	Murphy	Rosen	-

The motion prevailed. So the resolution was adopted.

MOTIONS AND RESOLUTIONS - CONTINUED

Senators Johnson, D.E. and Day introduced--

Senate Resolution No. 86: A Senate resolution relating to the schedule of standing committee meetings.

BE IT RESOLVED, by the Senate of the State of Minnesota:

The standing committees shall meet during the 83rd Legislature according to the following schedule:

SENATE COMMITTEE SCHEDULE

COMMITTEE/CHAIR

Office Room	Phone 296-	Meeting Day	Room No.	Hour	_			
Agriculture, Veterans and Gaming/Vickerman								
226	7405	M, W	112	3:30-6:00 p.m.				