Senator Moe, R.D. nominated Rabbi Stacy Offner for Chaplain.

The roll was called. The following Senators voted for the nominees:

Anderson	Hanson	Knutson	Neuville	Sams
Beckman	Higgins	Krentz	Novak	Samuelson
Belanger	Hottinger	Laidig	Oliver	Scheevel
Berg	Janezich	Langseth	Olson	Scheid
Berglin	Johnson, D.E.	Larson	Ourada	Solon
Betzold	Johnson, D.H.	Lesewski	Pappas	Spear
Cohen	Johnson, D.J.	Lessard	Pariseau	Stevens
Day	Johnson, J.B.	Limmer	Piper	Stumpf
Dille	Junge	Lourey	Price	Ten Eyck
Fischbach	Kelley, S.P.	Marty	Ranum	Terwilliger
Flynn	Kelly, R.C.	Metzen	Robertson	Vickerman
Foley	Kiscaden	Moe, R.D.	Robling	Wiener
Frederickson	Kleis	Morse	Runbeck	Wiger

The above nominees received 65 votes of the members of the Senate and were duly elected to their respective offices.

OATH OF OFFICE

The First Assistant Secretary, the Second Assistant Secretary, the Engrossing Secretary, the Sergeant at Arms and the Chaplain advanced to the Bar of the Senate and subscribed to the oath of office as administered by the Honorable Alan C. Page.

MOTIONS AND RESOLUTIONS

Senators Moe, R.D. and Day introduced--

Senate Resolution No. 1: A Senate resolution naming a Majority Leader and a Minority Leader.

BE IT RESOLVED, by the Senate of the State of Minnesota:

The Senate Majority Leader is Roger D. Moe. The Senate Minority Leader is Dick Day.

Senator Moe, R.D. moved the adoption of the foregoing resolution. The motion prevailed. So the resolution was adopted.

Senators Moe, R.D. and Day introduced--

Senate Resolution No. 2: A Senate resolution relating to rules; adopting temporary rules for the 81st session of the Legislature.

BE IT RESOLVED, by the Senate of the State of Minnesota:

The permanent rules of the Senate for the 80th session of the Legislature are adopted as the temporary rules of the 81st session, to be effective until the adoption of permanent rules by a majority vote of the Senate, subject to the following conditions:

A bill may not be introduced on the first day.

Senator Moe, R.D. moved the adoption of the foregoing resolution.

The question was taken on the adoption of the resolution.

The roll was called, and there were yeas 64 and nays 0, as follows:

Those who voted in the affirmative were:

Anderson	Hanson	Knutson	Neuville	Sams
Beckman	Higgins	Krentz	Novak	Scheevel
Belanger	Hottinger	Laidig	Oliver	Scheid
Berg	Janezich	Langseth	Olson	Solon
Berglin	Johnson, D.E.	Larson	Ourada	Spear
Betzold	Johnson, D.H.	Lesewski	Pappas	Stevens
Cohen	Johnson, D.J.	Lessard	Pariseau	Stumpf
Day	Johnson, J.B.	Limmer	Piper	Ten Éyck
Dille	Junge	Lourey	Price	Terwilliger
Fischbach	Kelley, S.P.	Marty	Ranum	Vickerman
Flynn	Kelly, R.C.	Metzen	Robertson	Wiener
Foley	Kiscaden	Moe, R.D.	Robling	Wiger
Frederickson	Kleis	Morse	Runbeck	-

The motion prevailed. So the resolution was adopted.

Senators Moe, R.D. and Day introduced--

Senate Concurrent Resolution No. 1: A Senate concurrent resolution relating to the adoption of temporary joint rules.

BE IT RESOLVED, by the Senate of the State of Minnesota, the House of Representatives concurring:

The temporary Joint Rules of the Senate and the House of Representatives for the 80th session are adopted as the temporary joint rules of the 81st session, to be effective until the adoption of Permanent Joint Rules by the Senate and the House of Representatives.

Senator Moe, R.D. moved the adoption of the foregoing resolution.

The question was taken on the adoption of the resolution.

The roll was called, and there were yeas 65 and nays 0, as follows:

Those who voted in the affirmative were:

Anderson	Hanson	Knutson	Neuville	Sams
Beckman	Higgins	Krentz	Novak	Samuelson
Belanger	Hottinger	Laidig	Oliver	Scheevel
Berg	Janezich	Langseth	Olson	Scheid
Berglin	Johnson, D.E.	Larson	Ourada	Solon
Betzold	Johnson, D.H.	Lesewski	Pappas	Spear
Cohen	Johnson, D.J.	Lessard	Pariseau	Stevens
Day	Johnson, J.B.	Limmer	Piper	Stumpf
Dille	Junge	Lourey	Price	Ten Eyck
Fischbach	Kelley, S.P.	Marty	Ranum	Terwilliger
Flynn	Kelly, R.C.	Metzen	Robertson	Vickerman
Foley	Kiscaden	Moe, R.D.	Robling	Wiener
Frederickson	Kleis	Morse	Runbeck	Wiger

The motion prevailed. So the resolution was adopted.

Senators Moe, R.D. and Day introduced--

Senate Resolution No. 3: A Senate resolution relating to standing committees.

BE IT RESOLVED, by the Senate of the State of Minnesota:

The standing committees of the Senate for the 81st session have the membership shown in this resolution.