subdivision 9; 473.598, subdivision 3; 473.638, subdivision 2; 473.859, subdivision 2; 475.51, subdivision 9; 475.53, subdivision 1; 475.57; 475.61, subdivision 2; 480.242, subdivision 2; 500.24, subdivision 3; 508A.01, subdivision 3; 524.2-402; 525.152, subdivisions 1, 2, and 3; 609.101, subdivision 4; 611.216, subdivision 3; 611.25, subdivision 3; 611A.56, subdivision 1; 626.843; 626.845; 626.846; 626.847; 626.851; and 626.88; Laws 1995 chapter 220, section 7, subdivision 3; and Laws 1996, chapter 310, section 1; proposing coding for new law in Minnesota Statutes, chapter 35; repealing Minnesota Statutes 1996, sections 3.922, subdivision 9; 13.99, subdivisions 21d and 24a; 15.475; 16B.87, subdivision 4; 17.452, subdivision 3; 115A.03, subdivision 16; 116D.11, subdivision 4; 116J.975; 124.2442; 124.245; 124.3202; 126.78, subdivision 5; 144.95, subdivision 9; 145A.12, subdivision 6; 148.578; 174.23, subdivision 5; 196.22, subdivision 4; 216C.06, subdivisions 10 and 11; 246.57, subdivision 2; 254B.03, subdivision 8; 256B.04, subdivision 11; 256B.0629, subdivision 3; 256F.11, subdivision 3; 256F.12, subdivision 5; 260.152, subdivision 7; 325F.98; 388.24, subdivision 5; 466.01, subdivisions 4 and 5; 471A.02, subdivisions 2 and 15; 473.638, subdivision 1; 473.639; 494.05, subdivision 3; 611.27, subdivision 14; and 611A.75; Laws 1988, chapter 495, section 1; Laws 1989, chapters 209, article 2, section 42; and 282, article 3, section 28; Laws 1991, chapter 292, article 2, section 2; Laws 1993, chapter 286, section 1; Laws 1994, chapters 411, section 4; and 416, article 1, sections 47, 51, and 56; Laws 1995, chapters 171, sections 54 and 56; and 186, section 26; Laws 1995, First Special Session chapter 3, article 13, section 2; and Laws 1996, chapters 414, article 1, section 30; and 471, article 11, section 1.

Was read the third time and placed on its final passage.

The question was taken on the passage of the bill.

The roll was called, and there were yeas 60 and nays 0, as follows:

Those who voted in the affirmative were:

Frederickson	Kleis	Murphy	Runbeck
Hanson	Knutson	Oliver	Sams
Higgins	Krentz	Olson	Samuelson
Hottinger	Laidig	Ourada	Scheevel
Janezich	Langseth	Pappas	Scheid
Johnson, D.E.	Larson	Pariseau	Solon
Johnson, D.H.	Limmer	Piper	Stevens
Johnson, D.J.	Lourey	Pogemiller	Stumpf
Johnson, J.B.	Marty	Price	Ten Eyck
Junge	Metzen	Ranum	Terwilliger
Kelley, S.P.	Moe, R.D.	Robertson	Vickerman
Kiscaden	Morse	Robling	Wiger
	Hanson Higgins Hottinger Janezich Johnson, D.E. Johnson, D.H. Johnson, D.J. Johnson, J.B. Junge Kelley, S.P.	Hanson Knutson Higgins Krentz Hottinger Laidig Janezich Langseth Johnson, D.E. Larson Johnson, D.H. Limmer Johnson, D.J. Lourey Johnson, J.B. Marty Junge Metzen Kelley, S.P. Moe, R.D.	Hanson Knutson Oliver Higgins Krentz Olson Hottinger Laidig Ourada Janezich Langseth Pappas Johnson, D.E. Larson Pariseau Johnson, D.H. Limmer Piper Johnson, D.J. Lourey Pogemiller Johnson, J.B. Marty Price Junge Metzen Ranum Kelley, S.P. Moe, R.D. Robertson

So the bill passed and its title was agreed to.

MOTIONS AND RESOLUTIONS - CONTINUED

Mr. Moe, R.D. moved that Senate Resolution No. 25 be taken from the table. The motion prevailed.

Senate Resolution No. 25: A Senate resolution adopting permanent rules of the Senate.

Ms. Kiscaden moved to amend Senate Resolution No. 25 as follows:

Page 27, line 1, strike "received during a"

Page 27, line 2, strike "legislative session"

The question was taken on the adoption of the amendment.

The roll was called, and there were yeas 29 and nays 32, as follows:

Those who voted in the affirmative were:

Scheevel Scheid Solon Stevens Stumpf Ten Eyck Terwilliger Vickerman Wiger

Belanger	Johnson, D.E.	Larson	Ourada	Scheevel
Berg	Kiscaden	Limmer	Pariseau	Scheid
Day	Kleis	Lourey	Price	Stevens
Dille	Knutson	Marty	Robertson	Terwilliger
Fischbach	Krentz	Oliver	Robling	Wiger
Frederickson	Laidig	Olson	Runbeck	C

Those who voted in the negative were:

Anderson	Hanson	Junge	Novak	Solon
Beckman	Higgins	Kelley, S.P.	Pappas	Stumpf
Berglin	Hottinger	Langseth	Piper	Ten Éyck
Betzold	Janezich	Metzen	Pogemiller	Vickerman
Cohen	Johnson, D.H.	Moe, R.D.	Ranum	
Flynn	Johnson, D.J.	Morse	Sams	
Foley	Johnson I R	Murphy	Samuelson	

The motion did not prevail. So the amendment was not adopted.

Mr. Moe, R.D. moved the adoption of Senate Resolution No. 25.

The question was taken on the adoption of the resolution.

The roll was called, and there were yeas 61 and nays 0, as follows:

Those who voted in the affirmative were:

Anderson	Hanson	Krentz	Olson	\$
Beckman	Higgins	Laidig	Ourada	9
Belanger	Hottinger	Langseth	Pappas	6
Berg	Janezich	Larson	Pariseau	9
Berglin	Johnson, D.E.	Limmer	Piper	9
Betzold	Johnson, D.H.	Lourey	Pogemiller	-
Cohen	Johnson, D.J.	Marty	Price	-
Day	Johnson, J.B.	Metzen	Ranum	7
Dille	Junge	Moe, R.D.	Robertson	7
Fischbach	Kelley, S.P.	Morse	Robling	
Flynn	Kiscaden	Murphy	Runbeck	
Foley	Kleis	Novak	Sams	
Frederickson	Knutson	Oliver	Samuelson	

The motion prevailed. So the resolution was adopted.

MOTIONS AND RESOLUTIONS - CONTINUED

Mr. Moe, R.D. moved that H.F. No. 100 be taken from the table. The motion prevailed.

H.F. No. 100: A bill for an act relating to public safety; providing for emergency expenditures related to the continuing severe weather conditions and their aftermath; providing additional funding for state road operations and state trooper overtime in fiscal year 1997; making certain cross-reference corrections; appropriating money; amending Minnesota Statutes 1996, sections 84.912, subdivision 1; 86B.337, subdivision 1; 168.042, subdivision 1; 169.121, subdivision 4; 169.1217, subdivision 1; 171.043; 171.24, subdivision 5; 171.30, subdivision 3; and 171.305, subdivision 5.

SUSPENSION OF RULES

Mr. Moe, R.D. moved that an urgency be declared within the meaning of Article IV, Section 19, of the Constitution of Minnesota, with respect to H.F. No. 100 and that the rules of the Senate be so far suspended as to give H.F. No. 100 its second and third reading and place it on its final passage. The motion prevailed.

H.F. No. 100 was read the second time.