Kroening	Metzen	Olson	Reichgott Junge	Spear
Laidig	Moe, R.D.	Ourada	Riveness	Stevens
Langseth	Mondale	Pappas	Robertson	Stumpf
Larson	Morse	Pariseau	Runbeck	Terwilliger
Lesewski	Murphy	Piper	Sams	Vickerman
Lessard	Neuville	Pogemiller	Samuelson	Wiener
Marty	Novak	Price	Scheevel	
Merriam	Oliver	Ranum	Solon	

The above nominees, having received the majority vote of all members voting, were declared duly elected to their respective offices.

## OATH OF OFFICE

The Officers-elect advanced to the Bar of the Senate and subscribed to the oath of office as administered by the Honorable Alexander M. Keith.

## MOTIONS AND RESOLUTIONS

Messrs. Moe, R.D. and Johnson, D.E. introduced--

Senate Resolution No. 1: A Senate resolution naming a Majority Leader and a Minority Leader.

BE IT RESOLVED, by the Senate of the State of Minnesota:

The Senate Majority Leader is Roger D. Moe. The Senate Minority Leader is Dean E. Johnson.

Mr. Moe, R.D. moved the adoption of the foregoing resolution. The motion prevailed. So the resolution was adopted.

## Messrs. Moe, R.D. and Johnson, D.E. introduced--

Senate Resolution No. 2: A Senate resolution relating to rules; adopting temporary rules for the 79th session of the Legislature.

BE IT RESOLVED, by the Senate of the State of Minnesota:

The permanent rules of the Senate for the 78th session of the Legislature are adopted as the temporary rules of the 79th session, to be effective until the adoption of permanent rules by a majority vote of the Senate, subject to the following conditions:

A resolution or other question before the Senate may be brought to a vote at any time by a majority vote of the members present. A bill may not be introduced on the first day.

The rules referred to above are amended as follows:

- 27. Unless otherwise ordered, a vote, except upon elections and upon the overriding of a governor's veto, may be taken by means of the electrical voting system which is under the control of the President.
  - 57. The standing committees of the Senate are as follows:

Agriculture and Rural Development

Commerce and Consumer Protection

Crime Prevention

Education

**Environment and Natural Resources** 

Ethics and Campaign Reform

**Family Services** 

**Finance** 

Gaming Regulation

Governmental Operations and Reform Governmental Operations and Veterans

Health Care

Jobs, Energy and Community Development

**Judiciary** 

Metropolitan and Local Government

Rules and Administration

Taxes and Tax Laws

Transportation and Public Transit

Veterans and General Legislation

The Committee on Rules and Administration may constitute a standing Subcommittee on Committees, the report of which within its jurisdiction has the effect of a report of the main Committee on Rules and Administration. The subcommittee shall consist of five members, one of whom shall be a member of the minority group.

Each standing committee of the Senate, including a subcommittee of the committee, is authorized at any time to sit and act, to investigate and take testimony on any matter within its jurisdiction, to report hearings held by it, and to make expenditures as authorized from time to time by the standing Committee on Rules and Administration. A standing committee, but not a subcommittee, may require by subpoena or otherwise the attendance and testimony of witnesses and the production of correspondence, books, papers, and documents, in the manner provided by Minnesota Statutes, Section 3.153.

Mr. Moe, R.D. moved the adoption of the foregoing resolution.

The question was taken on the adoption of the resolution.

The roll was called, and there were yeas 62 and nays 1, as follows:

Those who voted in the affirmative were:

Frederickson Anderson Laidig Novak Sams Hanson Samuelson Beckman Langseth Oliver Belanger Scheevel Hottinger Larson Olson Berg Janezich Lesewski Ourada Solon Berglin Johnson, D.E. Lessard **Pappas** Spear Bertram Johnson, D.J. Marty Pariseau Stevens Betzold Johnson, J.B. Merriam Piper Stumpf Chandler Johnston Metzen Price Terwilliger Chmielewski Kelly Moe, R.D. Ranum Vickerman Day Kiscaden Mondale Reichgott Junge Wiener Dille Knutson Morse Riveness Murphy Finn Krentz Robertson Flynn Kroening Neuville Runbeck

Mr. Pogemiller voted in the negative.

The motion prevailed. So the resolution was adopted.