Mr. Moe, R.D. moved that the report from the Committee on Rules and Administration, relating to Senate Resolution No. 34, reported to the Senate February 28, 1994, be taken from the table. The motion prevailed.

Mr. Moe, R.D. moved the adoption of the Committee Report. The motion prevailed. Report adopted.

Mr. Moe, R.D. moved to amend Rule 71 of the Permanent Rules as follows:

PRIVILEGE OF REPORTERS

71. Provision shall be made for news reporters on the Senate floor in limited numbers, and in the Senate gallery. Because of limited space on the floor, permanent space is limited to those news agencies which have regularly covered the legislature, namely: The Associated Press, United Press International, St. Paul Pioneer Press Dispatch, Star Tribune, Duluth News-Tribune and Herald, Fargo Forum, Rochester Post-Bulletin, St. Cloud Daily Times, WCCO radio, KSTP radio, and Minnesota Public Radio. An additional two spaces shall be provided to other reporters if space is available.

One person from each named agency and one person from the Senate Publications Office may be present at the press table on the Senate floor at any one time.

Other news media personnel may occupy seats provided in the Senate gallery.

The Committee on Rules and Administration may, through committee action or by delegating authority to the Secretary, allow television filming on the Senate floor on certain occasions.

The Secretary of the Senate shall compile and distribute to the public a directory of reporters accredited to report from the Senate floor. The directory must include each reporter's picture and news organization and a brief biography. The Secretary must issue each accredited reporter an identification badge showing the reporter's name and news organization.

The motion prevailed. So the rule was amended.

RECESS

Mr. Moe, R.D. moved that the Senate do now recess subject to the call of the President. The motion prevailed.

After a brief recess, the President called the Senate to order.

APPOINTMENTS

Mr. Moe, R.D. from the Subcommittee on Committees recommends that the following Senators be and they hereby are appointed as a Conference Committee on:

H.F. No. 984: Mr. Riveness, Ms. Wiener, Messrs. Hottinger, Terwilliger and Ms. Runbeck.

Mr. Moe, R.D. moved that the foregoing appointments be approved. The motion prevailed.