Mr. Spear nominated Janine Mattson for First Assistant Secretary.

Mr. Merriam nominated Patrice Dworak for Second Assistant Secretary.

Mr. Johnson, D.J. nominated Catherine Morrison for Engrossing Secretary.

Mr. Luther nominated Sven Lindquist for Sergeant at Arms.

Mr. Lessard nominated Ralph Graham for Assistant Sergeant at Arms.

Mr. Moe, R.D. nominated Rev. Arlen Hermodson for Chaplain.

The roll was called. The following Senators voted for the nominees:

Adkins Johnson, J.B. Metzen Renneke Beckman DeCramer Johnston Moe, R.D. Riveness Belanger Dicklich Kelly Mondale Sams Benson, D.D. Finn Knaak Morse Samuelson Benson, J.E. Flynn Kroening Neuville Solon Berg Frank Laidig Novak Spear Berglin Frederickson, D.J. Langseth Olson Storm Bernhagen Frederickson, D.R. Larson Pappas Stumpf Bertram Gustafson Lessard Pariseau Traub Brataas Halberg Luther Piper Vickerman Chmielewski Hottinger Marty Pogemiller Waldorf Cohen Hughes McGowan Price Dahl Johnson, D.E. Mehrkens Ranum Davis Johnson, D.J. Merriam Reichgott

The above nominees, having received the majority vote of all members voting, were declared duly elected to their respective offices.

OATH OF OFFICE

The First Assistant Secretary, the Second Assistant Secretary, the Engrossing Secretary, the Sergeant at Arms, the Assistant Sergeant at Arms and the Chaplain advanced to the Bar of the Senate and subscribed to the oath of office as administered by the Honorable Alexander M. Keith.

MOTIONS AND RESOLUTIONS

Messrs. Moe, R.D. and Benson, D.D. introduced—

Senate Resolution No. 1: A Senate resolution naming a Majority Leader and a Minority Leader.

BE IT RESOLVED, by the Senate of the State of Minnesota:

The Senate Majority Leader is Roger D. Moe. The Senate Minority Leader is Duane D. Benson.

Mr. Moe, R.D. moved the adoption of the foregoing resolution. The motion prevailed. So the resolution was adopted.

Messrs. Moe, R.D. and Benson, D.D. introduced—

Senate Resolution No. 2: A Senate resolution relating to rules; adopting temporary rules for the 77th session of the Legislature.

BE IT RESOLVED, by the Senate of the State of Minnesota:

The permanent rules of the Senate for the 76th session of the Legislature are adopted as the temporary rules of the 77th session, to be effective until the adoption of permanent rules by a majority vote of the Senate, subject

to the following conditions:

A resolution or other question before the Senate may be brought to a vote at any time by a majority vote of the members present. A bill may not be introduced on the first day.

The rules referred to above are amended as follows:

57. The standing committees of the Senate are as follows:

Agriculture and Rural Development

Commerce

Economic Development and Housing

Education

Elections and Ethics

Employment

Energy and Public Utilities

Environment and Natural Resources

Finance

General Legislation and Public Gaming Gaming Regulation

Governmental Operations

Health and Human Services

Judiciary

Local and Urban Government Local Government

Metropolitan Affairs

Public Utilities and Energy

Redistricting

Rules and Administration

Taxes and Tax Laws

Transportation

Veterans and Military Affairs Veterans and General Legislation

The Committee on Rules and Administration may constitute a standing Subcommittee on Committees, the report of which within its jurisdiction has the effect of a report of the main Committee on Rules and Administration. The subcommittee shall consist of five members, one of whom shall be a member of the minority group.

Each standing committee of the Senate, including a subcommittee of the committee, is authorized at any time to sit and act, to investigate and take testimony on any matter within its jurisdiction, to report hearings held by it, and to make expenditures as authorized from time to time by the standing Committee on Rules and Administration. A standing committee, but not a subcommittee, may require by subpoena or otherwise the attendance and testimony of witnesses and the production of correspondence, books, papers, and documents, in the manner provided by Minnesota Statutes, Section 3.153.

Mr. Moe, R.D. moved the adoption of the foregoing resolution.

The question was taken on the adoption of the resolution.

The roll was called, and there were yeas 67 and nays 0, as follows:

Those who voted in the affirmative were:

Adkins Day Metzen Johnson, J.B. Renneke Beckman DeCramer Moe, R.D. Johnston Riveness Belanger Dicklich Kelly Mondale Sams Benson, D.D. Finn Knaak Morse Samuelson Benson, J.E. Flynn Kroening Neuville Solon Berg Frank Laidig Novak Spear Berglin Frederickson, D.J. Langseth Olson Storm Bernhagen Frederickson, D.R. Larson Pappas Stumpf Bertram Gustafson Lessard Pariseau Traub Brataas Halberg Luther Piper Vickerman Chmielewski Hottinger Pogemiller Marty Waldorf Cohen McGowan Hughes Price Dahl Johnson, D.E. Mehrkens Ranum Davis Johnson, D.J. Merriam Reichgott

The motion prevailed. So the resolution was adopted.

Messrs. Moe, R.D. and Benson, D.D. introduced—

Senate Concurrent Resolution No. 1: A Senate concurrent resolution relating to the adoption of temporary joint rules.

BE IT RESOLVED, by the Senate of the State of Minnesota, the House of Representatives concurring:

The Joint Rules of the Senate and the House of Representatives for the 76th session are adopted as the temporary joint rules of the 77th session, to be effective until the adoption of Permanent Joint Rules by the Senate and the House of Representatives.

Mr. Moe, R.D. moved the adoption of the foregoing resolution.

The question was taken on the adoption of the resolution.

The roll was called, and there were yeas 67 and nays 0, as follows:

Those who voted in the affirmative were:

Adkins Day Johnson, J.B. Metzen Renneke Beckman Moe, R.D. Johnston Riveness Belanger Dicklich Kelly Mondale Sams Benson, D.D. Finn Knaak Morse Samuelson Benson, J.E. Flynn Kroening Neuville Solon Berg Frank Laidig Novak Spear Berglin Frederickson, D.J. Langseth Olson Storm Bernhagen Frederickson, D.R. Larson **Pappas** Stumpf Bertram Gustafson Lessard Pariseau Traub Brataas Halberg Luther Piper Vickerman Chmielewski Marty Hottinger Pogemiller Waldorf Cohen Hughes McGowan Price Dahl Johnson, D.E. Mehrkens Ranum Davis Johnson, D.J. Merriam Reichgott

The motion prevailed. So the resolution was adopted.

Messrs. Moe, R.D. and Benson, D.D. introduced-

Senate Resolution No. 3: A Senate resolution relating to standing committees.