Mr. Purfeerst nominated Janine Mattson for First Assistant Secretary.

Mr. Solon nominated Patrice Dworak for Second Assistant Secretary.

Mr. Spear nominated Catherine Morrison for Engrossing Secretary.

Mr. Merriam nominated Sven Lindquist for Sergeant at Arms.

Mr. Schmitz nominated Ralph Graham for Assistant Sergeant at Arms.

Mr. Moe, R.D. nominated Rev. Philip J. Weiler for Chaplain.

The roll was called. The following Senators voted for the nominees:

Anderson	Davis	Knutson	Metzen	Ramstad
Beckman	Decker	Kroening	Moe, D.M.	Reichgott
Belanger	DeCramer	Laidig	Moe, R.D.	Renneke
Benson	Diessner	Langseth	Morse	Samuelson
Berg	Frank	Lantry	Novak	Schmitz
Berglin	Frederick	Larson	Olson	Solon
Bernhagen	Frederickson, D.J.	Lessard	Pariseau	Spear
Bertram	Frederickson, D.F.		Pehler	Storm
Brandl	Freeman	Marty	Peterson, D.C.	Stumpf
Brataas	Gustafson	McGowan	Peterson, R.W.	Taylor
Chmielewski	Hughes	McOuaid	Piper	Vickerman
Cohen	Johnson, D.E.	Mehrkens	Pogemiller	Waldorf
Dahl	Johnson, D.J.	Merriam	Purfeerst	
וווגע	ACITIONITY DOS.	***** FIGURE	3 01100101	

The above nominees, having received the majority vote of all members voting, were declared duly elected to their respective offices.

## OATH OF OFFICE

The First Assistant Secretary, the Second Assistant Secretary, the Engrossing Secretary, the Sergeant at Arms, the Assistant Sergeant at Arms and the Chaplain advanced to the Bar of the Senate and subscribed to the oath of office as administered by the Honorable Peter Popovich.

## MOTIONS AND RESOLUTIONS

Messrs, Moe, R.D. and Benson introduced—

Senate Resolution No. 1: A Senate resolution naming a Majority Leader and a Minority Leader.

BE IT RESOLVED, by the Senate of the State of Minnesota:

The Senate Majority Leader is Roger D. Moe. The Senate Minority Leader is Duane Benson.

Mr. Moe, R.D. moved the adoption of the foregoing resolution. The motion prevailed. So the resolution was adopted.

Mr. Moe. R.D. introduced-

Senate Resolution No. 2: A Senate resolution relating to rules; adopting temporary rules for the 76th session of the Legislature.

BE IT RESOLVED, by the Senate of the State of Minnesota:

The permanent rules of the Senate for the 75th session of the Legislature are adopted as the temporary rules of the 76th session, to be effective until the adoption of permanent rules by a majority vote of the Senate, subject to the following conditions:

A resolution or other question before the Senate may be brought to a vote at any time by a majority vote of the members present. A bill may not be introduced on the first day.

The rules referred to above are amended as follows:

57. The standing committees of the Senate are as follows:

Agriculture Agriculture and Rural Development

Commerce

Economic Development and Housing

Education

Elections and Ethics

Employment

Environment and Natural Resources

**Finance** 

General Legislation and Public Gaming

Governmental Operations

Health and Human Services

Judiciary

Local and Urban Government

Public Utilities and Energy

Rules and Administration

Taxes and Tax Laws

Transportation

**Veterans** Veterans and Military Affairs

The Committee on Rules and Administration may constitute a standing Subcommittee on Committees, the report of which within its jurisdiction has the effect of a report of the main Committee on Rules and Administration. The subcommittee shall consist of five members, one of whom shall be a member of the minority group.

Each standing committee of the Senate, including a subcommittee of the committee, is authorized at any time to sit and act, to investigate and take testimony on any matter within its jurisdiction, to report hearings held by it, and to make expenditures as authorized from time to time by the standing Committee on Rules and Administration. A standing committee, but not a subcommittee, may require by subpoena or otherwise the attendance and testimony of witnesses and the production of correspondence, books, papers, and documents, in the manner provided by Minnesota Statutes, Section 3.153.

Mr. Moe, R.D. moved the adoption of the foregoing resolution.

The question was taken on the adoption of the resolution.

The roll was called, and there were yeas 64 and nays 0, as follows:

Those who voted in the affirmative were:

Anderson Davis Knutson Metzen Ramstad Beckman Decker Kroening Moe, D.M. Reichgott Moe, R.D. Belanger DeCramer Laidig Renneke Benson Diessner Langseth Morse Samuelson Lantry Novak Schmitz Frank Berg Frederick Berglin Larson Olson Solon Frederickson, D.J. Lessard Bernhagen Pariseau Spear Frederickson, D.R. Luther Pehler Storm Bertram Brandl Freeman Marty Peterson, D.C. Stumpf Gustafson McGowan Peterson, R.W. Brataas Taylor Chmielewski Hughes McOuaid Piper Vickerman Cohen Johnson, D.E. Mehrkens Pogemiller Waldorf Dahl Johnson, D.J. Merriam Purfeerst

The motion prevailed. So the resolution was adopted.

Mr. Moe, R.D. introduced-

Senate Concurrent Resolution No. 1: A Senate concurrent resolution relating to the adoption of temporary joint rules.

BE IT RESOLVED, by the Senate of the State of Minnesota, the House of Representatives concurring:

The Joint Rules of the Senate and the House of Representatives for the 75th session are adopted as the temporary joint rules of the 76th session, to be effective until the adoption of Permanent Joint Rules by the Senate and the House of Representatives.

Mr. Moe, R.D. moved the adoption of the foregoing resolution.

The question was taken on the adoption of the resolution.

The roll was called, and there were yeas 64 and nays 0, as follows:

Those who voted in the affirmative were:

Davis Metzen Anderson Knutson Ramstad Kroening Reichgott Beckman Decker Moe, D.M. Belanger DeCramer Laidig Moe, R.D. Renneke Benson Diessner Langseth Morse Samuelson Berg Frank Lantry Novak Schmitz Frederick Solon Berglin Larson Olson Frederickson, D.J. Lessard Pariseau Spear Bernhagen Frederickson, D.R. Luther Storm Bertram Pehler Peterson, D.C Stumpf Brandl Freeman Marty Gustafson McGowan Peterson, R.W. Brataas Taylor Hughes McOuaid Vickerman Chmielewski Piper Waldorf Cohen Johnson, D.E. Mehrkens Pogemiller Johnson, D.J. Merriam Purfeerst Dahl

The motion prevailed. So the resolution was adopted.

Mr. Moe, R.D. introduced-

Senate Resolution No. 3: A Senate resolution relating to standing committees.

BE IT RESOLVED, by the Senate of the State of Minnesota:

The standing committees of the Senate for the 76th session have the membership shown in this resolution.

## COMMITTEE ON AGRICULTURE AND RURAL DEVELOPMENT (15)

Davis, Chair
Frederickson, D.J., Vice Chair
Anderson
Beckman