Mr. Willet nominated Patrice Dworak for Second Assistant Secretary.

Mr. Solon nominated Catherine Morrison for Engrossing Secretary.

Mr. Spear nominated Sven Lindquist for Sergeant at Arms.

Mr. Merriam nominated Ralph Graham for Assistant Sergeant at Arms.

Mr. Moe, R.D. nominated Rev. Philip Weiler for Chaplain.

The roll was called. The following Senators voted for the nominees:

Adkins	Davis	Knaak	Moe, D.M.	Samuelson
Anderson	DeCramer	Knutson	Moe, R.D.	Schmitz
Beckman	Dicklich	Kroening	Morse	Solon
Belanger	Diessner	Laidig	Novak	Spear
Benson	Frank	Langseth	Olson	Storm
Berg	Frederick	Lantry	Pehler	Stumpf
Berglin	Frederickson, D.J.	Larson	Peterson, D.C.	Taylor
Bernhagen	Frederickson, D.R	Lessard	Peterson, R.W.	Vickerman
Bertram	Freeman	Luther	Piper	Waldorf
Brandl	Gustafson	Marty	Pogemiller	Wegscheid
Brataas	Hughes	McQuaid	Purfeerst	Willet
Chmielewski	Johnson, D.E.	Mehrkens	Ramstad	1
Cohen	Johnson, D.J.	Merriam	Reichgott	
Dahl	Jude	Metzen	Renneke	

The above nominees, having received the majority vote of all members voting, were declared duly elected to their respective offices.

## OATH OF OFFICE

The First Assistant Secretary, the Second Assistant Secretary, the Engrossing Secretary, the Sergeant at Arms, the Assistant Sergeant at Arms and the Chaplain advanced to the Bar of the Senate and subscribed to the oath of office as administered by the President.

## MOTIONS AND RESOLUTIONS

Mr. Moe, R.D. introduced-

Senate Resolution No. 1: A Senate resolution naming a Majority Leader and a Minority Leader.

BE IT RESOLVED, by the Senate of the State of Minnesota:

The Senate Majority Leader is Roger D. Moe. The Senate Minority Leader is Duane D. Benson.

Mr. Moe, R.D. moved the adoption of the foregoing resolution. The motion prevailed. So the resolution was adopted.

Mr. Moe, R.D. introduced—

Senate Resolution No. 2: A Senate resolution relating to rules; adopting temporary rules for the 75th session of the Legislature.

BE IT RESOLVED, by the Senate of the State of Minnesota:

The permanent rules of the Senate for the 74th session of the Legislature are adopted as the temporary rules of the 75th session, to be effective until the adoption of permanent rules by a majority vote of the Senate, subject to the following conditions:

A resolution or other question before the Senate may be brought to a

IST DAY]

vote at any time by a majority vote of the members present. A bill may not be introduced on the first day.

The rules referred to above are amended as follows:

57. The standing committees of the Senate are as follows:

Agriculture and Natural Resources Agriculture

Economic Development and Commerce Commerce

Economic Development and Housing

Education

Elections and Ethics

Employment

**Energy and Housing** Environment and Natural Resources

Finance

General Legislation and Public Gaming

Governmental Operations

Health and Human Services

Judiciary

Local and Urban Government

Public Utilities and State Regulated Industries Public Utilities and Energy

**Rules and Administration** 

Taxes and Tax Laws

Transportation

## Veterans and General Legislation Veterans

The Committee on Rules and Administration may constitute a standing Subcommittee on Engrossing and Enrolling, the report of which within its jurisdiction has the effect of a report of the main Committee on Rules and Administration, and the reference under Rule 49 is made directly to this subcommittee.

The Committee on Rules and Administration may constitute a standing Subcommittee on Bill Scheduling, the report of which within its jurisdiction has the effect of a report of the main Committee on Rules and Administration. The subcommittee shall consist of six members, two of whom shall be members of the minority group.

The Committee on Rules and Administration may constitute a standing Subcommittee on Committees, the report of which within its jurisdiction has the effect of a report of the main Committee on Rules and Administration. The subcommittee shall consist of five members, one of whom shall be a member of the minority group.

Each standing committee of the Senate, including a subcommittee of the committee, is authorized at any time to sit and act, to investigate and take testimony on any matter within its jurisdiction, to report hearings held by it, and to make expenditures as authorized from time to time by the standing Committee on Rules and Administration. A standing committee, but not a subcommittee, may require by subpoena or otherwise the attendance and

[IST DAY

testimony of witnesses and the production of correspondence, books, papers, and documents, in the manner provided by Minnesota Statutes, Section 3.153.

Mr. Moe, R.D. moved the adoption of the foregoing resolution.

The question was taken on the adoption of the resolution.

The roll was called, and there were yeas 67 and nays 0, as follows:

Those who voted in the affirmative were:

Adkins	Davis	Knaak	Moe, D.M.	Samuelson
Anderson	DeCramer	Knutson	Moe, R. D.	Schmitz
Beckman	Dicklich	Kroening	Morse	Solon
Belanger	Diessner	Laidig	Novak	Spear
Benson	Frank	Langseth	Olson	Storm
Berg	Frederick	Lantry	Pehler	Stumpf
Berglin	Frederickson, D.J.	Larson	Peterson, D.C.	Taylor
Bernhagen	Frederickson, D.R	. Lessard	Peterson, R.W.	Vickerman
Bertram	Freeman	Luther	Piper	Waldorf
Brandl	Gustafson	Marty	Pogemiller	Wegscheid
Brataas	Hughes	McQuaid	Purfeerst	Willet
Chmielewski	Johnson, D.E.	Mehrkens	Ramstad	
Cohen	Johnson, D.J.	Merriam	Reichgott	
Dahl	Jude	Metzen	Renneke	

The motion prevailed. So the resolution was adopted.

Mr. Moe, R.D. introduced-

Senate Concurrent Resolution No. 1: A Senate concurrent resolution relating to the adoption of temporary joint rules.

BE IT RESOLVED, by the Senate of the State of Minnesota, the House of Representatives concurring:

The Joint Rules of the Senate and the House of Representatives for the 74th session are adopted as the temporary joint rules of the 75th session, to be effective until the adoption of Permanent Joint Rules by the Senate and the House of Representatives.

Mr. Moe, R.D. moved the adoption of the foregoing resolution.

The question was taken on the adoption of the resolution.

The roll was called, and there were yeas 67 and nays 0, as follows:

Those who voted in the affirmative were:

Adkins Anderson Beckman Belanger Benson Berg Berglin Bernhagen Bertram Brandl Brataas Chmielewski Coben	Davis DeCramer Dicklich Diessner Frank Frederick Frederickson, D.J. Frederickson, D.R Freeman Gustafson Hughes Johnson, D.E. Johnson, D.I.	Lessard Luther Marty McQuaid Mehrkens	Moe, D.M. Moe, R. D. Morse Novak Olson Pehler Peterson, D.C. Peterson, R.W. Piper Pogemiller Purfeerst Ramstad Reichgott	Samuelson Schmitz Solon Spear Storm Stumpf Taylor Vickerman Waldorf Wegscheid Willet
Cohen	Johnson, D.J.	Merriam	Reichgott	
Dahl	Jude	Metzen	Renneke	

The motion prevailed. So the resolution was adopted.