mends that H.F. No. 68 be amended as follows:

Page 2, delete lines 13 and 14

And when so amended H.F. No. 68 will be identical to S.F. No. 62, and further recommends that H.F. No. 68 be given its second reading and substituted for S.F. No. 62, and that the Senate File be indefinitely postponed.

Pursuant to Rule 49, this report was prepared and submitted by the Secretary of the Senate on behalf of the Committee on Rules and Administration. Amendments adopted. Report adopted.

## SECOND READING OF SENATE BILLS

S.F. Nos. 214, 342, 233, 152, 144 and 269 were read the second time.

## SECOND READING OF HOUSE BILLS

H.F. No. 68 was read the second time.

## MOTIONS AND RESOLUTIONS

Mr. Chmielewski moved that the name of Mr. Bertram be added as a co-author to S.F. No. 31. The motion prevailed.

Mr. Peterson, D.L. moved that the name of Mr. Ramstad be added as a co-author to S.F. No. 345. The motion prevailed.

Mr. Bertram moved that the name of Mr. Lessard be added as a co-author to S.F. No. 355. The motion prevailed.

Mr. Vega moved that the name of Mr. Davis be added as a co-author to S.F. No. 433. The motion prevailed.

Mr. Peterson, D.L. moved that the names of Messrs. Solon and Dieterich be added as co-authors to S.F. No. 449. The motion prevailed.

Mr. Petty moved that the name of Mr. Ramstad be added as a co-author to S.F. No. 457. The motion prevailed.

Mr. Diessner introduced—

Senate Resolution No. 24: A Senate resolution acknowledging and supporting Youth Art Month in Minnesota.

Referred to the Committee on Rules and Administration.

Mr. Moe, R.D. moved that the report from the Committee on Rules and Administration of February 22, 1983, pertaining to Permanent Rules, be taken from the table. The motion prevailed.

Mr. Moe, R.D. moved the adoption of the committee report. The motion prevailed. Report adopted.

Mr. Moe, R.D. moved that the Permanent Rules contained in the committee report be adopted as the Permanent Rules of the Senate for the 73rd Legislature.

Mr. Knaak moved to amend the Permanent Rules of the Senate as follows:

Rule 32, after the first paragraph, insert:

"A bill shall not be presented for introduction by a committee unless the committee has developed the bill and voted to designate the bill as a committee bill."

The motion did not prevail. So the amendment was not adopted.

Mr. Berg moved to amend the Permanent Rules of the Senate as follows:

Page 25, after line 10, insert:

"A political committee organized to influence the nomination or election of a state legislator or constitutional officer may not solicit or accept contributions from a lobbyist between the time the legislature is convened as a body empowered to enact legislation and the end of the period during which the governor may sign acts passed by the legislature. This provision does not apply to caucus fund raisers."

Mr. Kroening questioned whether the amendment was germane.

The President ruled that the amendment was not germane.

Mr. Berg then moved to amend the Permanent Rules of the Senate as follows:

Page 25, after line 10, insert:

"A political committee organized to influence the nomination or election of a state senator may not solicit or accept contributions from a lobbyist between the time the legislature is convened as a body empowered to enact legislation and the end of the period during which the governor may sign acts passed by the legislature. This provision does not apply to caucus fund raisers."

The President ruled that the amendment was not germane.

The question recurred on the motion of Mr. Moe, R.D.

The roll was called, and there were yeas 53 and nays 11, as follows:

Those who voted in the affirmative were:

Adkins Anderson Belanger Berg Berglin Bernhagen Bertram Chmielewski Dahl Davis	Dicklich Diessner Dieterich Frank Frederick Freeman Hughes Johnson, D.E. Johnson, D.J. Jude	Kroening Kronebusch Laidig Langseth Lantry Lessard Luther McQuaid Merriam Moe, D. M.	Nelson Novak Olson Pehler Peterson,C.C. Peterson,D.C. Pogemiller Purfeerst Reichgott Renneke	Schmitz Solon Spear Storm Stumpf Vega Waldorf Wegscheid Willet
DeCramer	Knutson	Moe, R. D.	Samuelson	

Those who voted in the negative were:

Benson	Kamrath	Mehrkens	Ramstad	Taylor
Brataas	Knaak	Peterson, D.L.	Sieloff	Ulland
Isackson				

The motion prevailed. So the Permanent Rules of the Senate were adopted.