Mr. Merriam nominated Marvin F. Raiola for Sergeant at Arms.

Mr. Schmitz nominated Ralph Graham for Assistant Sergeant at Arms.

Mr. Johnson, D.J. nominated Sister Michelle McGurran for Chaplain.

The roll was called. The following Senators voted for the nominees.

Adkins	Diessner	Kronebusch	Pehler	Solon
Anderson	Dieterich	Laidig	Peterson, C.C.	Spear
Belanger	Frank	Langseth	Peterson, D.C.	Storm
Benson	Frederickson	Lantry	Peterson, D.L.	Stumpf
Berg	Freeman	Lessard	Peterson, R.W.	Taylor
Berglin	Hughes	Luther	Petty	Ulland
Bernhagen	Isackson	McQuaid	Pogemiller	Vega
Bertram	Johnson, D.E.	Mehrkens	Purfeerst	Waldorf
Brataas	Johnson, D.J.	Merriam	Ramstad	Wegscheid
Chmielewski	Jude	Moe, D.M.	Reichgott	Willet
Dahl	Kamrath	Moe, R.D.	Renneke	
Davis	Knaak	Nelson	Samuelson	
DeCramer	Knutson	Novak	Schmitz	
Dicklich	Kroening	Olson	Sieloff	

The above nominees, having received the majority vote of all members voting, were declared duly elected to their respective offices.

OATH OF OFFICE

The First Assistant Secretary, the Second Assistant Secretary, the Engrossing Secretary, the Engrossing and Appointments Clerk, the Sergeant at Arms, the Assistant Sergeant at Arms and the Chaplain advanced to the Bar of the Senate and subscribed to the oath of office as administered by the President.

MOTIONS AND RESOLUTIONS

Mr. Moe, R.D. introduced—

Senate Resolution No. 1: A Senate resolution naming a Majority Leader and a Minority Leader.

BE IT RESOLVED, by the Senate:

The Senate Majority Leader is Roger D. Moe. The Senate Minority Leader is James Ulland.

Mr. Moe, R.D. moved the adoption of the foregoing resolution. The motion prevailed. So the resolution was adopted.

Mr. Moe, R.D. introduced-

Senate Resolution No. 2: A Senate resolution relating to rules; adopting temporary rules for the 73rd session of the Legislature.

BE IT RESOLVED, by the Senate:

The permanent rules of the Senate for the 72nd session of the Legislature are adopted as the temporary rules of the 73rd session, to be effective until the adoption of permanent rules by a majority vote of the Senate, subject to the following conditions:

Any resolution or other question before the Senate may be brought to a vote at any time by a majority vote of the members present. No bill shall be introduced on the first day.

The rules referred to above are amended as follows:

HOUR OF CONVENING

2. The Senate shall convene on days of meeting at 44 10 o'clock a.m. unless the Senate directs otherwise.

STANDING COMMITTEES

57. The standing committees of the Senate and their complement are as follows:

Agriculture and Natural Resources—18

Economic Development and Commerce-15

Education 18

Elections and Reapportionment—11 Ethics

Employment—13

Energy and Housing—14

Finance 21

General Legislation and Administrative Rules 10

Governmental Operations—12

Health, Welfare and Corrections—13 Human Services

Judiciary—13

Local Government and Urban Affairs -- 13 Government

Public Employees and Pensions 9

Public Utilities and State Regulated Industries

Rules and Administration-26

Taxes and Tax Laws-21

Transportation—16

Veterans Affairs 19 and General Legislation

The Committee on Rules and Administration may constitute a standing Subcommittee on Engrossing and Enrolling, the report of which within its jurisdiction has the effect of a report of the main Committee on Rules and Administration, and the reference under Rule 49 is made directly to this subcommittee.

The Committee on Rules and Adminstration may constitute a standing Subcommittee on Bill Scheduling, the report of which within its jurisdiction has the effect of a report of the main Committee on Rules and Administration. The subcommittee shall consist of six members, two of whom shall be members of the minority group.

The Committee on Rules and Administration may constitute a standing Subcommittee on Committees, the report of which within its jurisdiction has the effect of a report of the main Committee on Rules and Administration. The subcommittee shall consist of five members, one of whom shall be a member of the minority group.

Each standing committee of the Senate, including a subcommittee of the committee, is authorized at any time to sit and act, to investigate and take testimony on any matter within its jurisdiction, to report hearings held by it,

and to make expenditures as authorized from time to time by the standing Committee on Rules and Administration. A standing committee, but not a subcommittee, may require by subpoena or otherwise the attendance and testimony of witnesses and the production of correspondence, books, papers, and documents, in the manner provided by Minnesota Statutes, Section 3.153.

Mr. Moe, R.D. moved the adoption of the foregoing resolution.

The question was taken on the adoption of the resolution.

The roll was called, and there were yeas 66 and nays 0, as follows:

Those who voted in the affirmative were:

Adkins	Diessner	Kronebusch	Pehler	Solon
Anderson	Dieterich	Laidig	Peterson, C.C.	Spear
Belanger	Frank	Langseth	Peterson, D.C.	Storm
Benson	Frederickson	Lantry	Peterson, D.L.	Stumpf
Berg	Freeman	Lessard	Peterson, R.W.	Taylor
Berglin	Hughes	Luther	Petty	Ulland
Bernhagen	Isackson	McQuaid	Pogemiller	Vega
Bertram	Johnson, D.E.	Mehrkens	Purfeerst	Waldorf
Brataas	Johnson, D.J.	Merriam	Ramstad	Wegscheid
Chmielewski	Jude	Moe, D.M.	Reichgott	Willet
Dahl	Kamrath	Moe, R.D.	Renneke	
Davis	Knaak	Nelson	Samuelson	
DeCramer	Knutson	Novak	Schmitz	
Dicklich	Kroening	Olson	Sieloff	

The motion prevailed. So the resolution was adopted.

Mr. Moe, R.D. introduced—

Senate Concurrent Resolution No. 1: A Senate concurrent resolution relating to the adoption of temporary joint rules.

BE IT RESOLVED, by the Senate of the State of Minnesota, the House of Representatives concurring therein:

The Joint Rules of the Senate and the House of Representatives for the 72nd session are adopted as the temporary joint rules of the 73rd session, to be effective until the adoption of Permanent Joint Rules by the Senate and the House of Representatives.

Mr. Moe, R.D. moved the adoption of the foregoing resolution.

The question was taken on the adoption of the resolution.

The roll was called, and there were yeas 66 and nays 0, as follows:

Those who voted in the affirmative were:

Adkins Anderson Belanger Benson Berg Berglin Bernhagen Bertram Brataas Chmielewski Dahl Davis DeCramer Dicklich	Diessner Dieterich Frank Frederickson Freeman Hughes Isackson Johnson, D.E. Johnson, D.J. Jude Kamrath Knaak Knutson Kroening	Kronebusch Laidig Langseth Lantry Lessard Luther McQuaid Mehrkens Merriam Moe, D.M. Moe, R.D. Nelson Novak Olson	Pehler Peterson, C.C. Peterson, D.C. Peterson, D.L. Peterson, R.W. Petty Pogemiller Purfeerst Ramstad Reichgott Renneke Samuelson Schmitz Sieloff	Solon Spear Storm Stumpf Taylor Ulland Vega Waldorf Wegscheid Willet
---	---	--	---	---