The name of Toya A. Farrar-Orr was placed in nomination for Assistant Sergeant at Arms by Kelly.

The name of LeClair G. Lambert was placed in nomination for Assistant Sergeant at Arms by Vellenga.

The name of Frank J. Strohmayer was placed in nomination for Index Clerk by Kostohryz.

There being no further nominations, the Speaker declared the nominations closed.

The Chief Clerk called the roll on the election of the other officers and the following members voted for the other officers:

Abrams	Frerichs	Kostohryz	Olson, K.	Schreiber
Anderson, G.	Girard	Krueger	Omann	Seaberg
Anderson, R.	Greenfield	Lasley	Onnen	Segal
Battaglia	Gruenes	Lieder	Orenstein	Simoneau
Bauerly	Gutknecht	Limmer	Osthoff	Skoglund
Beard	Hartle	Long	Ostrom	Solberg
Begich	Hasskamp	Lynch	Otis	Sparby
Bennett	Haukoos	Macklin	Ozment	Stanius
Bertram	Heap	Marsh	Pauly	Steensma
Bishop	Henry	McDonald	Pellow	Sviggum
Blatz	Himle	McEachern	Pelowski	Swenson
Boo	Hugoson	McGuire	Peterson	Tjornhom
Brown	Jacobs	McLaughlin	Poppenhagen	Tompkins
Burger	Janezich	McPherson	Price	Trimble
Carlson, D.	Jaros	Milbert	Pugh	Tunheim
Carlson, L.	Jefferson	Miller	Quinn	Uphus
Carruthers	Jennings	Morrison	Redalen	Valento
Clark	Johnson, A.	Munger	Reding	Vellenga
Conway	Johnson, R.	Murphy	Rest	Wagenius
Cooper	Johnson, V.	Nelson, C.	Rice	Waltman
Dauner	Kahn	Nelson, K.	Richter	Weaver
Dawkins	Kalis	Neuenschwander	Rodosovich	Welle
Dille	Kelly	O'Connor	Rukavina	Wenzel
Dorn	Kelso	Ogren	Sarna	Williams
Forsythe	Kinkel	Olsen, S	Schafer	Winter
Frederick	Knickerbocker	Olson, E.	Scheid	Wynia
				Spk. Vanasek

The nominees, having received a majority of the votes cast, were declared duly elected to their respective offices.

### OATH OF OFFICE

The oath of office was administered to those elected to the above offices by the Speaker.

Wynia offered the following resolution and moved its adoption:

Resolved, That the temporary Rules of the House for this session, the 76th regular session, shall be the same as the Permanent Rules

of the House for the last session, the 75th regular session, as they existed on Monday, April 25, 1988, with the following exceptions:

### Rule 1.1 shall read as follows:

1.1 CONVENING OF THE HOUSE. Unless otherwise ordered, regular sessions of the House shall convene at two-thirty p.m. The Speaker shall take the chair at the hour at which the House convenes and the House shall then be called to order. After prayer by the Chaplain or a brief meditation, a roll of members shall be called and the names of members present and members excused shall be entered in the Journal of the House.

## Rule 6.1 shall read as follows:

6.1 COMMITTEES. Standing committees of the House shall be appointed by the Speaker as follows:

# Agriculture

Appropriations

Divisions: Agriculture, Transportation and

Semi-State

Health and Human Services

Education

State Departments

### Commerce

Economic Development

Divisions: International Trade and Technology

Rural Resource Development Community Stabilization and

Development

Education

Divisions: Education Finance

**Higher Education** 

**Environment and Natural Resources** 

Financial Institutions and Housing

Division: Housing

General Legislation, Veterans Affairs and Gaming

Divisions: Elections

Gaming

Governmental Operations

Health and Human Services

Insurance

Judiciary

Division: Criminal Justice

Labor-Management Relations

Local Government and Metropolitan Affairs

Regulated Industries

Rules and Legislative Administration

Taxes

Transportation

Ways and Means

All deadlines referred to in rules 1.16, 3.4, 5.10, 6.11 and 9.3 shall not be applicable until such time as new Permanent Rules shall have been adopted.

The temporary Rules of the House for the 76th session shall apply to the order of business of parliamentary practice until such time as the Committee on Rules and Legislative Administration to be appointed by the Speaker shall have made its report and new Permanent Rules shall have been adopted.

The motion prevailed and the temporary Rules of the House for the 76th session were adopted.

### ANNOUNCEMENT BY THE SPEAKER

The Speaker announced the appointment of Andrew R. Remke as Chief Sergeant at Arms.

#### OATH OF OFFICE

The oath of office was administered to the Chief Sergeant at Arms by the Speaker.

Wynia offered the following resolution and moved its adoption:

Resolved, That the Chief Clerk be instructed to inform the Senate that the House is duly organized pursuant to law and to invite the Senate to meet with the House in Joint Convention at 6:15 p.m.,