Eken moved that the report from the Committee on Rules and Legislative Administration relating to the proposed permanent rules of the House for the 71st legislature as printed in the Journal of the House for Monday, March 10, 1980 be now adopted.

Faricy and Carlson, D., moved to amend the permanent rules of the House for the 70th legislature, as amended for the 71st legislature, as follows:

Page 26, following line 24, insert:

"A conference committee report shall include only subject matter contained in the House or Senate versions of the bill for which that conference committee was appointed, or subject matter contained in a bill passed by the House or Senate."

A roll call was requested and properly seconded.

Welker moved to amend the Faricy and Carlson, D., amendment to the permanent rules, as follows:

Line 7, strike the comma and insert a period

Strike lines 8 and 9

A roll call was requested and properly seconded.

Kaley and Knickerbocker were excused for the remainder of today's session.

The question was taken on the Welker amendment to the Faricy and Carlson, D., amendment and the roll was called. There were 32 yeas and 96 nays as follows:

Those who voted in the affirmative were:

Aasness	Fudro	Jennings	Reif	Valento
Adams	Halberg	Kempe	Rothenberg	Weaver
Blatz	Haukoos	McDonald	Sarna	Welker
Corbid	Heap	Mehrkens	Searles	Wieser
Crandall	Heinitz	Nysether	Stadum	,,,,,,,,,,
Den Ouden	Hoberg	Onnen	Sviggum	
Fritz	Hokanson	Osthoff	Thiede	

Those who voted in the negative were:

Minne Novak Moe Olsen Munger Otis Murphy Patton Nelsen, B. Peterson, B. Nelson Peterson, D. Niehaus Piepho Norman Prahl	Reding Rees Rice Rodriguez Rose Schreiber Searle Sieben, H. Sieben, M.	Simoneau Stoa Stowell Swanson Tomlinson Vanasek Voss Waldorf Welch	Wenzel Wigley Wynia Zubay Spkr. Norton
---	--	--	--

The motion did not prevail and the Welker amendment to the Faricy and Carlson, D., amendment was adopted.

Searles moved to amend the Faricy and Carlson, D. amendment to the permanent rules, as follows:

Line 8, after "or" insert "like"

The motion prevailed and the Searles amendment to the Faricy and Carlson, D., amendment was adopted.

The question recurred on the Faricy and Carlson, D., amendment, as amended, and the roll was called. There were 128 yeas and 4 nays as follows:

Those who voted in the affirmative were:

Aasness	Drew	Jude	Norman	Sherwood
Adams	Eken	Kalis	Novak	Sieben, H.
Ainley	Elio ff	Kelly	Nysether	Sieben, M.
Albrecht	Ellingson	Kempe	Olsen	Simoneau
Anderson, B.	Erickson	Kostohryz	Onnen	Stadum
Anderson, G.	Esau	Kroening	Osthoff	Stoa
Anderson, I.	Evans	Kvam	Otis	Stowell
Anderson, R.	Ewald	Laidig	Patton	Sviggum
Battaglia	Faricy	Lehto	Pehler	Swanson
Begich	Fjoslien	Levi	Peterson, B.	Thiede
Berglin	Forsythe	Long	Peterson, D.	Tomlinson
Berkelman	Friedrich	Ludeman	Piepho	Valan
Biersdorf	Fritz	Luknie	Pleasant	Valento
Blatz	Fudro	Mann	Prahl	Vanasek
Brinkman	Greenfield	McCarron	Redalen	Waldorf
Byrne	Halberg	McDonald	Reding	Weaver
Carlson, D.	Haukoos	McEachern	Rees	Welch
Carlson, L.	Неар	Mehrkens	Reif	Welker
Casserly	Heinitz	Metzen	Rice	Wenzel
Clark	Hoberg	Minne	Rodriguez	Wieser
Clawson	Hokanson	Munger	Rose	Wigley
Corbid	Jacobs	Murphy	Rothenberg	Wynia
Crandall	Jaros	Nelsen, B.	Sarna	Zubay
Dean	Jennings _	Nelsen, M.	Schreiber	Spkr. Norton
Dempsey	Johnson, C.	Nelson	Searle	- ,
Den Ouden	Johnson, D.	Niehaus	Searles	

Those who voted in the negative were:

Anderson, D. Kahn

Moe

Voss

The motion prevailed and the proposed amendment, as amended, was adopted.

Kempe moved to amend the permanent rules of the House for the 70th legislature, as amended for the 71st legislature, as follows:

Page 22, after line 19, insert a new paragraph to read as follows: "A majority of a committee's members may bring a matter before the full committee for consideration."

A roll call was requested and properly seconded.

Sieben, H., moved that the Kempe amendment to the proposed permanent rules of the House be referred to the Committee on Rules and Legislative Administration.

A roll call was requested and properly seconded.

The question was taken on the Sieben, H., motion and the roll was called. There were 97 yeas and 34 nays as follows:

Those who voted in the affirmative were:

Ainley	Dempsey	Kahn	Norman	Stoa
Anderson, B.	Drew	Kalis	Novak	Stowell
Anderson, D.	Eken	Kostohryz	Nysether	Swanson
Anderson, G.	Elioff	Lehto	Olsen	Thiede
Anderson, R.	Ellingson	Levi	Otis	Tomlinson
Battaglia	Evans	Long	Patton	Valan
Begich	Ewald	Ludeman	Pehler	Valento
Berglin	Faricy	Luknic	Peterson, D.	Vanasek
Berkelman	Forsythe	Mann	Piepho	Voss
Biersdorf	Friedrich	McCarron	Pleasant	Waldorf
Blatz	Fritz	McEachern	Prahl	Weaver
Brinkman	Greenfield	Mehrkens	Reding	Welch
Byrne	Haukoos	Metzen	Rees	Wenzel
Carlson, L.	Heinitz	Minne	Reif	Wigley
Casserly	Hokanson	Moe	Rice	Wynia
Clark	Jaros	Munger	Rodriguez	Zubay
Clawson	Jennings	Murphy	Sieben, H.	Spkr. Norton
Corbid	Johnson, C.	Nelsen, B.	Sieben, M.	•
Crandall	Johnson, D.	Nelsen, M.	Simonéau	
Dean	Jude	Nelson	Stadum	

Those who voted in the negative were:

Aasness	Fjoslien	Kempe	Osthoff Peterson, B. Redalen Rose Rothenberg Sarna	Searle
Adams	Fudro	Kroening		Searles
Albrecht	Halberg	Kvam		Sherwood
Anderson, I.	Heap	Laidig		Sviggum
Den Ouden	Hoberg	McDonald		Welker
Erickson	Jacobs	Niehaus		Wieser
Esau	Kelly	Onnen	Schreiber	

The motion prevailed and the proposed amendment was referred to the Committee on Rules and Legislative Administration.

The question recurred on the Eken motion to adopt the proposed permanent rules of the House as printed in the Journal of the House for Monday, March 10, 1980, as amended and the roll was called.

There were 129 yeas and 1 nay as follows:

Those who voted in the affirmative were:

Aasness	Drew	Jude	Niehaus	Searles
Adams	Eken	Kalis	Norman	Sherwood
Ainley	Elioff	Kelly	Novak	Sieben, H.
Albrecht	Ellingson	Kempe	Nysether	Sieben, M.
Anderson, B.	Erickson	Kostohryz	Olsen	Simoneau
Anderson, D.	Esau	Kroening	Onnen	Stadum
Anderson, G.	Evans	Kvam	Osthoff	Stoa
Anderson, I.	Ewald	Laidig	Otis	Stowell
Anderson, R.	Faricy	Lehto	Patton	Sviggum
Battaglia	Fioslien	Levi	Pehler	Swanson
Begich	Forsythe	Long	Peterson, B.	Thiede
Berglin	Friedrich	Ludeman	Peterson, D.	Tomlinson
Berkelman	Fritz	Luknic	Piepho	Valan
Biersdorf	Fudro	Mann	Pleasant	Valento
Blatz	Greenfield	McCarron	Prahl	Vanasek
Brinkman	Halberg	McDonald	Redalen	Waldorf
Byrne	Haukoos	McEachern	Reding	Weaver
Carlson, D.	Heap	Mehrkens	Rees	Welch
Carlson, L.	Heinitz	Metzen	Reif	Welker
Casserly	Hoberg	Minne	Rice	Wenzel
Clark	Hokanson	Moe	Rodriguez	Wieser
Clawson	Jacobs	Munger	Rose	Wigley
Crandall	Jaros	Murphy	Rothenberg	Wynia
Dean	Jennings	Nelsen, B.	Sarna	Zubay
Dempsey	Johnson, C.	Nelsen, M.	Schreiber	Spkr. Norton
Den Ouden	Johnson, D.	Nelson	Searle	-

Those who voted in the negative were:

Voss

The motion prevailed and the permanent rules of the House for the 71st legislature, as amended, were adopted.

MOTIONS AND RESOLUTIONS, Continued

Clawson moved that H. F. No. 512 be returned to its author. The motion prevailed.

Clawson moved that H. F. No. 2072 be returned to its author. The motion prevailed.

Clawson moved that H. F. No. 754 be returned to its author. The motion prevailed.

ADJOURN MENT

Sieben, H., moved that when the House adjourns today it adjourn until 1:00 p.m., Wednesday, March 19, 1980. The motion prevailed.