
1.1 Senator .................... moves to amend S.F. No. 219 as follows:​

1.2 Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:​

1.3 "Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 289A.51, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

1.4 Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have​

1.5 the meanings given.​

1.6 (b) "Electric-assisted bicycle" has the meaning given in section 169.011, subdivision​

1.7 27, except that the term is limited to a new electric-assisted bicycle purchased from an​

1.8 eligible retailer.​

1.9 (c) "Eligible expenses" means the amount paid for an electric-assisted bicycle and any​

1.10 qualifying accessories purchased at the same time as the electric-assisted bicycle, inclusive​

1.11 of sales tax but exclusive of any other related charges, including charges for a warranty,​

1.12 service, or delivery.​

1.13 (d) "Eligible individual" means an individual who:​

1.14 (1) is at least 15 years old;​

1.15 (2) is a person with a disability;​

1.16 (3) is a resident individual taxpayer at the time of application for a rebate certificate and​

1.17 in the two previous calendar year years;​

1.18 (4) has filed an income tax return for the two taxable years immediately preceding the​

1.19 calendar year in which the individual applies for a rebate certificate; and​

1.20 (3) (5) was not claimed as a dependent on another return in the taxable year described​

1.21 in subdivision 3, paragraph (c).​

1.22 (e) "Eligible retailer" means a person who has engaged in the business of retail sales of​

1.23 new electric-assisted bicycles for at least six months prior to receiving the approval of the​

1.24 commissioner under subdivision 5.​

1.25 (f) "Person with a disability" means a person who receives social security disability​

1.26 benefits under United States Code, title 42, sections 401 to 434.​

1.27 (g) "Qualifying accessories" means a bicycle helmet, lights, lock, luggage rack, basket,​

1.28 bag or backpack, fenders, or reflective clothing.​

1.29 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for rebates after December 31, 2024.​
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2.1 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 289A.51, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

2.2 Subd. 3. Amount of rebate. (a) The amount of a rebate under this section equals the​

2.3 lesser of:​

2.4 (1) the applicable percentage, multiplied by the amount 75 percent of eligible expenses​

2.5 paid by an eligible individual; or​

2.6 (2) $1,500 $750.​

2.7 (b) The applicable percentage equals 75 percent, but is reduced by one percentage point​

2.8 until the percentage equals 50 percent, for each $4,000 of the eligible individual's adjusted​

2.9 gross income in excess of:​

2.10 (1) $50,000 for a married taxpayer filing a joint return; and​

2.11 (2) $25,000 for all other filers.​

2.12 (b) Eligibility for a rebate under this section is limited to eligible individuals with adjusted​

2.13 gross incomes that were not more than:​

2.14 (1) $78,000 in the case of a married eligible individual who filed a joint return; or​

2.15 (2) $41,000 for all other individuals.​

2.16 (c) For the purposes of determining the applicable percentage income limit under​

2.17 paragraph (b) and subdivision 4, paragraph (a), the commissioner must use the eligible​

2.18 individual's adjusted gross income for the taxable year ending in the calendar year prior to​

2.19 the year in which the individual applied for a rebate certificate.​

2.20 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for rebates after December 31, 2024.​

2.21 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 289A.51, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

2.22 Subd. 4. Commissioner to issue rebate certificates. (a) To qualify for a rebate under​

2.23 this section, an eligible individual must apply to the commissioner for a rebate certificate​

2.24 in the manner specified by the commissioner prior to purchasing an electric-assisted bicycle.​

2.25 As part of the application, the eligible individual must include proof of the individual's​

2.26 adjusted gross income for the taxable year specified in subdivision 3, paragraph (c). The​

2.27 commissioner must issue a rebate certificate to an eligible individual stating the issuance​

2.28 date, the applicable percentage, and the maximum rebate for which the taxpayer is eligible.​

2.29 For a married taxpayer filing a joint return, each spouse may apply to the commissioner​

2.30 separately, and the commissioner must issue each spouse a separate rebate certificate.​
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3.1 (b) The commissioner of revenue may determine the date on which to open applications​

3.2 for a rebate certificate, and applications must not be submitted before the date determined​

3.3 by the commissioner. Beginning July 1, 2024, and July 1 of each subsequent calendar year​

3.4 for which there is an allocation of rebate certificates, the commissioner must allocate rebate​

3.5 certificates on a first-come, first-served basis. The commissioner must reserve 40 percent​

3.6 of the certificates for a married taxpayer filing a joint return with an adjusted gross income​

3.7 of less than $78,000 or any other filer with an adjusted gross income of less than $41,000.​

3.8 Any portion of the reserved amount under this paragraph that is not allocated by September​

3.9 30 is available for allocation to other rebate certificate applications beginning on October​

3.10 1. to eligible applicants. If the number of total applicants exceeds the available allocation​

3.11 of rebate certificates, the commissioner must allocate certificates through a random lottery.​

3.12 (c) If a random lottery is used to allocate certificates as provided in paragraph (b), the​

3.13 commissioner must, by August 1, 2025, determine a suitably randomized method to allocate​

3.14 the certificates to eligible individuals and must:​

3.15 (1) detail the department's anticipated timeline for the lottery, including when applications​

3.16 for the lottery by an eligible individual must be made and when the commissioner anticipates​

3.17 distributing the certificates;​

3.18 (2) establish a method for an eligible individual to apply for placement into the lottery;​

3.19 and​

3.20 (3) provide the amount of certificates available to be distributed by the department.​

3.21 (d) The commissioner must not issue rebate certificates totaling more than $2,000,000​

3.22 in each of calendar years 2024 and 2025, except any amount authorized but not allocated​

3.23 in any calendar year does not cancel and is added to the allocation for the next calendar​

3.24 year. When calculating the amount of remaining allocations, the commissioner must assume​

3.25 that each allocated but unclaimed certificate reduces the available allocations by $1,500​

3.26 $750.​

3.27 (d) (e) A rebate certificate that is not assigned to a retailer expires two months after the​

3.28 date the certificate was issued and may not be assigned to a retailer after expiration. The​

3.29 amount of any expired rebate certificates is added to the available allocation under paragraph​

3.30 (c).​

3.31 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for rebates after December 31, 2024.​
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4.1 Sec. 4. REPORT; ELECTRIC-ASSISTED BICYCLE REBATE PROGRAM.​

4.2 (a) By January 15, 2026, the commissioner of revenue must submit a report to the chairs​

4.3 and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over taxes​

4.4 and transportation. The report must comply with the requirements of Minnesota Statutes,​

4.5 sections 3.195 and 3.197. At a minimum, the report must include:​

4.6 (1) a comprehensive report on the operation of the electric-assisted bicycle rebate program​

4.7 under Minnesota Statutes, section 289A.51, including the application system that resulted​

4.8 in postponement and delay of the application process;​

4.9 (2) a comprehensive analysis of the technical challenges resulting from a high volume​

4.10 of applicants;​

4.11 (3) a timeline of events that led to system failures in the application process;​

4.12 (4) identification of technical or procedural challenges in the application and first-come,​

4.13 first-served allocation of rebate certificates;​

4.14 (5) costs incurred by the Department of Revenue as a result of the electric-assisted​

4.15 bicycle rebate program, including expenditures on system fixes or additional staff resources;​

4.16 (6) recommendations for addressing the specific failure in the application system and​

4.17 preventing similar issues in future rebate certificate rollouts;​

4.18 (7) an evaluation of any third-party vendor or contractor used in developing and managing​

4.19 the application system, including any accountability measures applied; and​

4.20 (8) the department's anticipated programming to institute a lottery system for allocating​

4.21 electric-assisted bicycle rebate certificates.​

4.22 (b) The commissioner must not use funds from the amount allocated for electric-assisted​

4.23 bicycle rebate certificates in preparation of the report.​

4.24 (c) This section expires on December 31, 2026, or upon submission of the report,​

4.25 whichever is sooner."​

4.26 Amend the title accordingly​
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