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Minnesota allows a $3 million subtraction for purposes of calculating the Minnesota taxable estate, 
so that up to $3 million is exempt from tax. In the case of married couples, the exemption amount 
applies for purposes of calculating the taxable estate of the first-deceased spouse. If the estate is less 
than $3 million, the “unused” amount does not transfer to the surviving spouse for purposes of the 
calculating the surviving spouse’s estate tax liability. This bill allows spouses to elect to transfer, or 
“port,” the amount of the deceased spouse’s unused exclusion (DSUE) to the surviving spouse for 
purposes of calculating the surviving spouse’s estate tax liability. The bill also makes technical 
changes to remove obsolete provisions in the estate tax chapter relating to the exclusion amount, 
calculating the taxable estate, and calculating estate tax. 
 
Section 1. Return required. Strikes obsolete language regarding the estate tax exclusion that fully 
phased in in 2020 for purposes of the filing requirement for estate tax returns. Effective the day 
following final enactment.  
 
Section 2. Election of portability of deceased spousal unused exclusion amounts; election 
irrevocable; deemed elections. Allows a personal representative of a decedent’s estate to elect to 
allow the decedent’s surviving spouse to take the DSUE into account on the required estate tax 
return. The election is irrevocable, so by filing the return, the personal representative is deemed to 
have elected portability unless the personal representative affirmatively states that the decedent’s 
estate is not electing portability. Effective for estates of decedents dying after June 30, 2025.  
 
Section 3. Election of portability of deceased spousal unused exclusion amounts when estate 
tax return not required. Under current law, an estate tax return is required to be filed if the sum of 
the federal taxable estate and federal adjusted taxable gifts made within three years of the 
decedent’s death exceeds $3 million. This section allows a decedent’s personal representative to file 
a return allowing the decedent’s surviving spouse to take the DSUE into account on the decedent’s 
return. Effective for estates of decedents dying after June 30, 2025.  
 
Section 4. Subtraction. Strikes obsolete language regarding the phased-in estate tax exclusion 
amount and the qualified small business property and farm property subtraction amount. Allows a 
surviving spouse an additional subtraction for purposes of calculating the surviving spouse’s taxable 
estate equal to the lesser of $3 million or the amount of the deceased spouse’s unused exclusion. 
Effective for estates of decedents dying after June 30, 2025. 
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Section 5. Tax amount. Strikes obsolete language for calculating the taxable estate during years the 
years the exclusion amount was phased in and revises the calculation of the taxable estate 
accordingly. Effective the day following final enactment. 
 
 


