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Senator .......eeeeeeeeennn. moves to amend S.F. No. 1098 as follows:

Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:

"ARTICLE 1
CRIMINAL PROVISIONS

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 243.166, subdivision 1b, is amended to read:
Subd. 1b. Registration required. (a) A person shall register under this section if:

(1) the person was charged with or petitioned for a felony violation of or attempt to
violate, or aiding, abetting, or conspiracy to commit, any of the following, and convicted
of or adjudicated delinquent for that offense or another offense arising out of the same set

of circumstances:
(1) murder under section 609.185, paragraph (a), clause (2);
(i1) kidnapping under section 609.25;

(1i1) criminal sexual conduct under section 609.342; 609.343; 609.344; 609.345; 609.3451,
subdivision 3, paragraph (b); or 609.3453;

(iv) indecent exposure under section 617.23, subdivision 3; or

(v) surreptitious intrusion under the circumstances described in section 609.746,

subdivision 1, paragraph (h);

(2) the person was charged with or petitioned for a violation of, or attempt to violate, or
aiding, abetting, or conspiring to commit any of the following and convicted of or adjudicated

delinquent for that offense or another offense arising out of the same set of circumstances:

(1) criminal abuse in violation of Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.2325, subdivision

1, paragraph (b);

(11) solicitation, inducement, or promotion of the prostitution of a minor or engaging in

the sex trafficking of a minor in violation of section 609.322;
(i11) a prostitution offense in violation of section 609.324, subdivision 1, paragraph (a);

(iv) soliciting a minor to engage in sexual conduct in violation of section 609.352,

subdivision 2 or 2a, clause (1);
(v) using a minor in a sexual performance in violation of section 617.246; er
(vi) possessing or disseminating a pornographic work involving a minor in violation of

section 617.247;

Article 1 Section 1. 1
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(vii) possession of a child-like sex doll in violation of section 617.248; or

(viii) creation of child-like sex dolls in violation of section 617.249;

(3) the person was sentenced as a patterned sex offender under section 609.3455,

subdivision 3a; or

(4) the person was charged with or petitioned for, including pursuant to a court martial,
violating a law of the United States, including the Uniform Code of Military Justice, similar
to an offense or involving similar circumstances to an offense described in clause (1), (2),
or (3), and convicted of or adjudicated delinquent for that offense or another offense arising

out of the same set of circumstances.
(b) A person also shall register under this section if:

(1) the person was charged with or petitioned for an offense in another state similar to
an offense or involving similar circumstances to an offense described in paragraph (a),
clause (1), (2), or (3), and convicted of or adjudicated delinquent for that offense or another

offense arising out of the same set of circumstances;

(2) the person enters this state to reside, work, or attend school, or enters this state and
remains for 14 days or longer or for an aggregate period of time exceeding 30 days during

any calendar year; and

(3) ten years have not elapsed since the person was released from confinement or, if the
person was not confined, since the person was convicted of or adjudicated delinquent for
the offense that triggers registration, unless the person is subject to a longer registration
period under the laws of another state in which the person has been convicted or adjudicated,

or is subject to lifetime registration.

If a person described in this paragraph is subject to a longer registration period in another
state or is subject to lifetime registration, the person shall register for that time period
regardless of when the person was released from confinement, convicted, or adjudicated

delinquent.

(c) A person also shall register under this section if the person was committed pursuant
to a court commitment order under Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 253B.185, chapter
253D, Minnesota Statutes 1992, section 526.10, or a similar law of another state or the

United States, regardless of whether the person was convicted of any offense.

(d) A person also shall register under this section if:

Article 1 Section 1. 2
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(1) the person was charged with or petitioned for a felony violation or attempt to violate
any of the offenses listed in paragraph (a), clause (1), or a similar law of another state or
the United States, or the person was charged with or petitioned for a violation of any of the
offenses listed in paragraph (a), clause (2), or a similar law of another state or the United

States;

(2) the person was found not guilty by reason of mental illness or mental deficiency
after a trial for that offense, or found guilty but mentally ill after a trial for that offense, in

states with a guilty but mentally ill verdict; and

(3) the person was committed pursuant to a court commitment order under section

253B.18 or a similar law of another state or the United States.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 609.05, subdivision 2a, is amended to read:

Subd. 2a. Exception. (a) A person may not be held criminally liable for a violation of
section 609.185, paragraph (a), clause (3), for a death caused by another unless the person
intentionally aided, advised, hired, counseled, or conspired with or otherwise procured the

other with the intent to cause the death of a human being.

(b) A person may not be held criminally liable for a violation of section 609.185,

paragraph (a), clause (1), for a death of a human being caused by another unless the person

intentionally aided, advised, hired, counseled, or conspired with or otherwise procured the

other with premeditation and with intent to cause the death of a human being.

(c) A person may not be held criminally liable for a violation of section 609.19,

subdivision 1, for a death of a human being caused by another unless the person intentionally

aided, advised, hired, counseled, or conspired with or otherwise procured the other with the

intent to cause the death of a human being.

5) (d) A person may not be held criminally liable for a violation of section 609.19,
subdivision 2, clause (1), for a death caused by another unless the person was a major

participant in the underlying felony and acted with extreme indifference to human life.
te) (e) As used in this subdivision, "major participant" means a person who:

(1) used a deadly weapon during the commission of the underlying felony or provided
a deadly weapon to another participant where it was reasonably foreseeable that the weapon

would be used in the underlying felony;

(2) caused substantial bodily harm to another during the commission of the underlying

felony;

Article 1 Sec. 2. 3
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(3) coerced or hired a participant to undertake actions in furtherance of the underlying
felony that proximately caused the death, and where it was reasonably foreseeable that such

actions would cause death or great bodily harm; or

(4) impeded another person from preventing the death either by physical action or by
threat of physical action where it was reasonably foreseeable that death or great bodily harm

would result.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2025, and applies to crimes

committed on or after that date.

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 609.185, is amended to read:

609.185 MURDER IN THE FIRST DEGREE.

(a) Whoever does any of the following is guilty of murder in the first degree and shall

be sentenced to imprisonment for life:

(1) causes the death of a human being with premeditation and with intent to effect the

death of the person or of another;

(2) causes the death of a human being while committing or attempting to commit criminal
sexual conduct in the first or second degree with force or violence, either upon or affecting

the person or another;

(3) causes the death of a human being with intent to effect the death of the person or

another, while committing or attempting to commit a felony-level violation of any of the

following offenses: burglary, aggravated robbery, carjacking in the first or second degree,

kidnapping, arson in the first or second degree, a drive-by shooting, tampering with a witness

in the first degree, escape from custody, or any-feleny a felony-level violation of chapter

152 involving the unlawful sale of a controlled substance;

(4) causes the death of a peace officer, prosecuting attorney, judge, or a guard employed
at a Minnesota state or local correctional facility, with intent to effect the death of that person

or another, while the person is engaged in the performance of official duties;

(5) causes the death of a minor while committing child abuse, when the perpetrator has
engaged in a past pattern of child abuse upon a child and the death occurs under

circumstances manifesting an extreme indifference to human life;

(6) causes the death of a human being while committing domestic abuse, when the

perpetrator has engaged in a past pattern of domestic abuse upon the victim or upon another

Article 1 Sec. 3. 4
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family or household member and the death occurs under circumstances manifesting an

extreme indifference to human life; or

(7) causes the death of a human being while committing, conspiring to commit, or
attempting to commit a felony crime to further terrorism and the death occurs under

circumstances manifesting an extreme indifference to human life.

(b) For the purposes of paragraph (a), clause (4), "prosecuting attorney" has the meaning

given in section 609.221, subdivision 6, clause (4).

(c) For the purposes of paragraph (a), clause (4), "judge" has the meaning given in section

609.221, subdivision 6, clause (5).

(d) For purposes of paragraph (a), clause (5), "child abuse" means an act committed
against a minor victim that constitutes a violation of the following laws of this state or any
similar laws of the United States or any other state: section 609.221; 609.222; 609.223;
609.224; 609.2242; 609.342; 609.343; 609.344; 609.345; 609.377; 609.378; or 609.713.

(e) For purposes of paragraph (a), clause (6), "domestic abuse" means an act that:

(1) constitutes a violation of section 609.221, 609.222, 609.223, 609.224, 609.2242,
609.342, 609.343, 609.344, 609.345, 609.713, or any similar laws of the United States or

any other state; and

(2) is committed against the victim who is a family or household member as defined in

section 518B.01, subdivision 2, paragraph (b).

(f) For purposes of paragraph (a), clause (7), "further terrorism" has the meaning given

in section 609.714, subdivision 1.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2025, and applies to crimes

committed on or after that date.

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 609.19, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Intentional murder;-drive-by-sheotings. Whoever dees-either-ofthe

fellowing causes the death of a human being with intent to effect the death of that person

or another, but without premeditation, is guilty of murder in the second degree and may be

sentenced to imprisonment for not more than 40 years:.

Article 1 Sec. 4. 5
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EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2025, and applies to crimes

committed on or after that date.

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 609.19, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Unintentional murders. Whoever does either of the following is guilty of
unintentional murder in the second degree and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not

more than 40 years:

(1) causes the death of a human being, without intent to effect the death of any person,

while committing or attempting to commit a-feleny-effense-other-than-eriminal-sexual

felony-level violation of any of the following offenses: burglary, aggravated robbery,

carjacking in the first or second degree, kidnapping, arson in the first or second degree,

drive-by shooting, tampering with a witness in the first degree, escape from custody,

malicious punishment of a child, domestic assault, domestic assault by strangulation, a

crime to further terrorism, or a felony-level violation of chapter 152 involving the unlawful

sale of a controlled substance; or

(2) causes the death of a human being without intent to effect the death of any person,
while intentionally inflicting or attempting to inflict bodily harm upon the victim, when the
perpetrator is restrained under an order for protection and the victim is a person designated
to receive protection under the order. As used in this clause, "order for protection" includes
an order for protection issued under chapter 518B; a harassment restraining order issued
under section 609.748; a court order setting conditions of pretrial release or conditions of
a criminal sentence or juvenile court disposition; a restraining order issued in a marriage
dissolution action; and any order issued by a court of another state or of the United States

that is similar to any of these orders.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2025, and applies to crimes

committed on or after that date.
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Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 609.19, is amended by adding a subdivision to

read:

Subd. 3. Exception. A person shall not be held liable for a violation of subdivision 2,

clause (1), unless their acts present a special danger to human life based on the circumstances

under which the predicate felony was committed.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2025, and applies to crimes

committed on or after that date.

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 609.2231, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Firefighters and emergency medical personnel. (a) Except as provided in

paragraph (b), whoever physically assaults any of the following persons and-infliets
demonstrable-bedily-harm is guilty of a feleny-and-may-be-sentenced-to-imprisonmentfor

misdemeanor:

(1) either:

(1) a member of a municipal or volunteer fire department in the performance of the

member's duties; or

(i1) a member of an emergency medical services personnel unit in the performance of

the member's duties; or

(2) a physician, nurse, or other person providing health care services in a hospital

emergency department.

(b) Whoever physically assaults a person described in paragraph (a), clause (1) or (2),

is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than three years

or to payment of a fine of not more than $6,000, or both, if the assault inflicts demonstrable

bodily harm.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2025, and applies to crimes

committed on or after that date.

Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 609.378, is amended by adding a subdivision to

read:

Subd. 3. Exception. A person may not be charged with or convicted of a violation of

this section for acts committed while pregnant and before the birth of the person's child or

children including but not limited to the use of drugs, prescribed or otherwise; experiencing

Article 1 Sec. 8. 7
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abuse; exposure to or being a victim of domestic or other violence; or failing to maintain

optimal physical health.

Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 609.50, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Crime. (a) Whoever intentionally does any of the following may be

sentenced as provided in subdivision 2:

(1) obstructs, hinders, or prevents the lawful execution of any legal process, civil or

criminal, or apprehension of another on a charge or conviction of a criminal offense;

(2) obstructs, resists, or interferes with a peace officer while the officer is engaged in

the performance of official duties;

(3) interferes with or obstructs a firefighter while the firefighter is engaged in the

performance of official duties;

(4) interferes with or obstructs a member of an ambulance service personnel crew, as
defined in section 144E.001, subdivision 3a, who is providing, or attempting to provide,

emergency carc; or

(5) by force or threat of force endeavors to obstruct any employee of the Department of
Revenue, Department of Public Safety Driver and Vehicle Services Division, a driver's
license agent appointed under section 171.061, or a deputy registrar appointed under section
168.33 while the employee is lawfully engaged in the performance of official duties for the

purpose of deterring or interfering with the performance of those duties.

(b) It is a crime punishable as provided in subdivision 2 for someone to approach or

remain within 25 feet of a person described in paragraph (a), clause (2), (3), or (4):

(1) while knowing or having reason to know of the person's status and that the person

is engaged in the lawful performance of a legal duty;

(2) after having received a verbal warning from the person not to approach; and

(3) with the intent to impede or interfere with the person's ability to perform the legal

duty.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2025, and applies to crimes

committed on or after that date.
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Sec. 10. [609.5523] THEFT OF PUBLIC FUNDS.

Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have

the meanings given.

(b) "Public funds" means all general, special, permanent, trust, and other funds, regardless

of source or purpose, held or administered by a government entity.

(c) "Government entity" has the meaning provided in section 13.02, subdivision 7a.

Subd. 2. Acts constituting theft of public funds. Whoever does any of the following

commits theft of public funds and may be sentenced as provided in subdivision 3:

(1) intentionally and without claim of right takes, uses, transfers, conceals, or retains

possession of public funds of a government entity or a third party administering a program

funded by public vendors without consent and with intent to deprive the government entity

permanently of possession of public funds;

(2) obtains for the actor or another the possession or custody of public funds from a

government entity or third party administering a program funded by public funds by

intentionally deceiving the government entity or third party with a false representation which

is known to be false, is made with intent to defraud, and does defraud the government entity

or third party to whom it is made. False representation includes without limitation:

(1) a promise made with intent not to perform. Failure to perform is not evidence of

intent not to perform unless corroborated by other substantial evidence; or

(1) the preparation or filing of a claim for reimbursement, a rate application, or a cost

report which intentionally and falsely states the costs of or actual services provided by a

vendor; or

(3) by swindling, whether by artifice, trick, device, or any other means, obtains public

funds or services funded by public funds from a government entity or a third party

administering a program funded by public funds.

Subd. 3. Sentence. (a) Whoever commits theft of public funds may be sentenced as

follows:

(1) to imprisonment for not more than 24 years or to payment of a fine of not more than

$100,000, or both, if the value of property stolen is more than $35,000;

(2) to imprisonment for not more than 12 years or to payment of a fine of not more than

$20,000, or both, if the value of the property stolen exceeds $5,000; or

Article 1 Sec. 10. 9
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(3) to imprisonment for not more than six years or to payment of a fine of not more than

$10,000, or both, if the value of the property is more than $1,000 but not more than $5,000.

(b) In any prosecution for theft of public funds, the value of the money or property

received by the defendant in violation of any of these provisions within any six-month

period may be aggregated and the defendant charged accordingly in applying the provisions

of this subdivision.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2025, and applies to crimes

committed on or after that date.

Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 609.593, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Crime. Whoever intentionally and without consent from one authorized

to give consent causes any damage to or takes, removes, severs, or breaks:

(1) any line erected or maintained for the purpose of transmitting electricity for light,
heat, or power, or any insulator or cross-arm, appurtenance or apparatus connected to the
line, or any wire, cable, or current of the line; or any component used in the generation,
transmission, or distribution of electricity, including equipment used for grounding, system

protection, or personnel protection;

(2) any pipe or main or hazardous liquid pipeline erected, operated, or maintained for
the purpose of transporting, conveying, or distributing gas or other hazardous liquids for
light, heat, power, or any other purpose, or any part of the pipe, main, or pipeline, or any
valve, meter, holder, compressor, machinery, appurtenance, equipment, or apparatus

connected with any main or pipeline; or

(3) any machinery, equipment, or fixtures used in receiving, initiating, amplifying,
processing, transmitting, retransmitting, recording, switching, or monitoring
telecommunications services, such as computers, transformers, amplifiers, routers, repeaters,
multiplexers, and other items performing comparable functions; and machinery, equipment,

and fixtures used in the transportation of telecommunications services, broadband services,

cable services, radio transmitters and receivers, satellite equipment, microwave equipment,

and other transporting media including wire, cable, fiber, poles, and conduit;
is guilty of a crime and may be sentenced as provided in subdivision 2.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2025, and applies to crimes

committed on or after that date.

Article 1 Sec. 11. 10
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Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 609.78, subdivision 2c, is amended to read:

Subd. 2c. Felony offense; reporting fictitious emergency resulting in response to
the home of certain officials. Whoever violates subdivision 2, clause (2), is guilty of a
felony and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than one year or to payment of
a fine of not more than $5,000, or both, if the person places the call with the intent of

prompting an emergency response to the home of:
(1) an elected official;

(2) a judge as defined in section 609.221, subdivision 6, clause (5);

(3) a prosecuting attorney as defined in section 609.221, subdivision 6, clause (4);

a correctional employee of the state or a local political subdivision; or

(5) a peace officer as defined in section 626.84, subdivision 1, paragraph (c).

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2025, and applies to crimes

committed on or after that date.

Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 617.246, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For the purpose of this section, the terms defined in this

subdivision have the meanings given them.
(b) "Minor" means any person under the age of 18.
(c) "Promote" means to produce, direct, publish, manufacture, issue, or advertise.

(d) "Sexual performance" means any play, dance or other exhibition presented before
an audience or for purposes of visual or mechanical reproduction that uses a minor to depict

actual or simulated sexual conduct as defined by clause (e).
(e) "Sexual conduct" means any of the following:

(1) an act of sexual intercourse, normal or perverted, including genital-genital,
anal-genital, or oral-genital intercourse, whether between human beings or between a human

being and an animal;

(2) sadomasochistic abuse, meaning flagellation, torture, or similar demeaning acts
inflicted by or upon a person who is nude or clad in undergarments or in a revealing costume,
or the condition of being fettered, bound or otherwise physically restrained on the part of

one so clothed;
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(3) masturbation;
(4) lewd exhibitions of the genitals; or

(5) physical contact with the clothed or unclothed pubic areas or buttocks of a human
male or female, or the breasts of the female, whether alone or between members of the same
or opposite sex or between humans and animals in an act of apparent sexual stimulation or

gratification.
(f) "Pornographic work" means:

(1) an original or reproduction of a picture, film, photograph, negative, slide, videotape,

videodisc, or drawing of a sexual performance involving a minor; or

(2) any visual depiction, including any photograph, film, video, picture, drawing, negative,
slide, or computer-generated image or picture, whether made or produced by electronic,

mechanical, or other means that:
(1) uses a minor to depict actual or simulated sexual conduct;

(i1) has been created, adapted, or modified to appear that an identifiable minor is engaging

in sexual conduct; er

(1i1) is advertised, promoted, presented, described, or distributed in such a manner that
conveys the impression that the material is or contains a visual depiction of a minor engaging

in sexual conduct:; or

(iv) depicts an individual indistinguishable from an actual minor created by the use of

generative artificial intelligence or other computer technology capable of processing and

interpreting specific data inputs, commonly referred to as prompts, to create a visual depiction

of the individual engaging in sexual conduct.

For the purposes of this paragraph, an identifiable minor is a person who was a minor
at the time the depiction was created or altered, whose image is used to create the visual

depiction.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2025, and applies to crimes

committed on or after that date.

Sec. 14. [617.248] POSSESSION OF A CHILD-LIKE SEX DOLL.

Subdivision 1. Definition. "Child-like sex doll" means an anatomically correct doll,

mannequin, or robot, with features that are intended to depict or resemble a minor and is

intended for use in sex acts.
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Subd. 2. Dissemination prohibited. (a) A person who knowingly, or with reason to

know, disseminates a child-like sex doll to an adult or a minor, is guilty of a felony and may

be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than seven years or to payment of a fine of not

more than $10,000, or both.

(b) A person who violates paragraph (a) is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to

imprisonment for not more than 15 years or to payment of a fine of not more than $20,000,

or both, if:

(1) the person has a prior conviction or delinquency adjudication for violating this section,

section 617.246, or section 617.247;

(2) the violation occurs when the person is a registered predatory offender under section

243.166; or

(3) the violation involved a child-like sex doll depicting a minor under the age of 14

years.

Subd. 3. Possession prohibited. (a) A person who knowingly, or with reason to know,

possesses a child-like sex doll is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to imprisonment

for not more than five years or to payment of a fine of not more than $5,000, or both.

(b) A person who violates paragraph (a) is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to

imprisonment for not more than ten years or to payment of a fine of not more than $10,000,

or both, if:

(1) the person has a prior conviction or delinquency adjudication for violating this section,

section 617.246, or section 617.247;

(2) the violation occurs when the person is a registered predatory offender under section

243.166; or

(3) the violation involved a child-like sex doll depicting a minor under the age of 14

years.

Subd. 4. Exception. This section does not apply to the performance of official duties

by peace officers, court personnel, or attorneys, nor to licensed physicians, psychologists,

or social workers or persons acting at the direction of a licensed physician, psychologist,

or social worker in the course of a bona fide treatment or professional education program.

Subd. 5. Second offense. If a person is convicted of a second or subsequent violation

of this section within 15 years of the prior conviction, the court shall order a mental
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examination of the person. The examiner shall report to the court whether treatment of the

person 1S necessary.

Subd. 6. Conditional release term. Notwithstanding the statutory maximum sentence

otherwise applicable to the offense or any provision of the sentencing guidelines, when a

court commits a person to the custody of the commissioner of corrections for violating this

section, the court shall provide that after the person has been released from prison, the

commissioner shall place the person on conditional release for five years. If the person has

previously been convicted of a violation of this section, section 609.342, 609.343, 609.344,
609.345, 609.3451, 609.3453, 617.246, 617.247, 617.248, 617.249, or any similar statute

of the United States, this state, or any state, the commissioner shall place the person on

conditional release for 15 years. The terms of conditional release are governed by section

609.3455, subdivision 8.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2025, and applies to crimes

committed on or after that date.

Sec. 15. [617.249] CREATION OF CHILD-LIKE SEX DOLLS PROHIBITED.

Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For the purposes of this section, the terms defined in this

subdivision have the meanings given.

(b) "Minor" means any person under the age of 18.

(c) "Promote" means to produce, direct, publish, manufacture, issue, or advertise.

(d) "Child-like sex doll" has the meaning given in section 617.248.

Subd. 2. Use of minor. (a) It is unlawful for a person to promote, employ, use, or permit

a minor to engage in or assist others to engage minors in the modeling for the creation of a

child-like sex doll if the person knows or has reason to know that the conduct intended is

to create a child-like sex doll.

(b) A person who violates paragraph (a) is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to

imprisonment for not more than ten years or to payment of a fine of not more than $10,000,

or both.

(c) A person who violates paragraph (a) is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to

imprisonment for not more than 15 years or to payment of a fine of not more than $20,000,

or both, if:

(1) the person has a prior conviction or delinquency adjudication for violating this section

or section 617.246, 617.247, or 617.248,;
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(2) the violation occurs when the person is a registered predatory offender under section

243.166; or

(3) the violation involved a minor under the age of 14 years.

Subd. 3. Operation or ownership of business. (a) It is unlawful for a person who owns

or operates a business to intentionally disseminate or reproduce a child-like sex doll where

a minor was used or employed in the modeling for the creation of the child-like sex doll.

(b) A person who violates paragraph (a) is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to

imprisonment for not more than ten years, or to payment of a fine of not more than $10,000,

or both.

(c) A person who violates paragraph (a) is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to

imprisonment for not more than 15 years or to payment of a fine of not more than $20,000,

or both, if:

(1) the person has a prior conviction or delinquency adjudication for violating this section

or section 617.246, 617.247, or 617.248;

(2) the violation occurs when the person is a registered predatory offender under section

243.166; or

(3) the violation involved a minor under the age of 14 years.

Subd. 4. Dissemination. (a) A person who intentionally disseminates for profit to an

adult or a minor a child-like sex doll that used or employed a minor in the modeling for the

creation of the child-like sex doll is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to imprisonment

for not more than ten years, or to payment of a fine of not more than $10,000, or both.

(b) A person who violates paragraph (a) is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to

imprisonment for not more than 15 years or to payment of a fine of not more than $20,000,

or both, if:

(1) the person has a prior conviction or delinquency adjudication for violating this section

or section 617.246, 617.247, or 617.248;

(2) the violation occurs when the person is a registered predatory offender under section

243.166; or

(3) the violation involved a minor under the age of 14 years.

Subd. 5. Consent; mistake. Neither consent to the modeling for the creation of a

child-like sex doll by a minor or the minor's parent, guardian, or custodian nor mistake as

to the minor's age is a defense to a charge of violation of this section.
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Subd. 6. Conditional release term. Notwithstanding the statutory maximum sentence

otherwise applicable to the offense or any provision of the sentencing guidelines, when a

court commits a person to the custody of the commissioner of corrections for violating this

section, the court shall provide that after the person has been released from prison, the

commissioner shall place the person on conditional release for five years. If the person has

previously been convicted of a violation of this section, section 609.342, 609.343, 609.344,

609.345, 609.3451, 609.3453, 617.246, 617.247, 617.248, or any similar statute of the

United States, this state, or any state, the commissioner shall place the person on conditional

release for 15 years. The terms of conditional release are governed by section 609.3455,

subdivision 8.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2025, and applies to crimes

committed on or after that date.

Sec. 16. LIABILITY FOR MURDER COMMITTED BY ANOTHER;
RETROACTIVE APPLICATION.

Subdivision 1. Purpose. Any person convicted of a violation of Minnesota Statutes,

section 609.185, paragraph (a), clause (1), under the theory of liability for crimes of another

and who is in the custody of the commissioner of corrections or under court supervision is

entitled to petition to have the person's conviction vacated pursuant to this section.

Subd. 2. Notification. (a) By September 1, 2026, the commissioner of corrections shall

notify individuals convicted of a violation of Minnesota Statutes, section 609.185, paragraph

(a), clause (1), of the right to file a preliminary application for relief if the person was

convicted of a violation of Minnesota Statutes, section 609.185, paragraph (a), clause (1),

and the person:

(1) did not cause the death of a human being; and

(2) did not intentionally aid, advise, hire, counsel, or conspire with or otherwise procure

another with premeditation or the intent to cause the death of a human being.

(b) The notice shall include the address of the court administration of the judicial district

of conviction.

(c) The commissioner of corrections may coordinate with the judicial branch to establish

a standardized notification form.

Subd. 3. Preliminary application. (a) An applicant shall submit a preliminary application

to the court administration of the judicial district in which the conviction took place. The

preliminary application must contain:
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(1) the applicant's name and, if different, the name under which the person was convicted;

(2) the applicant's date of birth;

(3) the district court case number of the case for which the person is seeking relief;

(4) a statement as to whether the applicant was convicted following a trial or pursuant

to a plea;

(5) a statement as to whether the person filed a direct appeal from the conviction, a

petition for postconviction relief, or both;

(6) a brief statement, not to exceed 3,000 words, explaining why the applicant is entitled

to relief under this section from a conviction for the death of a human being caused by

another; and

(7) the name and address of any attorney representing the applicant.

(b) The preliminary application may contain:

(1) the name, date of birth, and district court case number of any other person charged

with, or convicted of, a crime arising from the same set of circumstances for which the

applicant was convicted; and

(2) a copy of a criminal complaint or indictment, or the relevant portions of a presentence

investigation or life imprisonment report, describing the facts of the case for which the

applicant was convicted.

(¢) The judicial branch may establish a standardized preliminary application form, but

shall not reject a preliminary application for failure to use a standardized form.

(d) Any person seeking relief under this section must submit a preliminary application

no later than October 1, 2027. Submission is complete upon mailing.

(e) Submission of a preliminary application shall be without costs or any fees charged

to the applicant.

Subd. 4. Review of preliminary application. (a) Upon receipt of a preliminary

application, the chief judge of the judicial district in which the conviction took place shall

promptly assign the matter to a judge in that district.

(b) Within 90 days of receiving the preliminary application, the reviewing judge shall

determine whether, in the discretion of that judge, there is a reasonable probability that the

application is entitled to relief under this section.
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(c) In making the determination under paragraph (b), the reviewing judge shall consider

the preliminary application and any materials submitted with the preliminary application

and may consider relevant records in the possession of the judicial branch.

(d) The court may summarily deny an application when:

(1) the application does not contain the information required under subdivision 3,

paragraph (a);

(2) the applicant is not in the custody of the commissioner of corrections or under court

supervision;

(3) the applicant was not convicted of a violation of Minnesota Statutes, section 609.185,

paragraph (a), clause (1), for crimes committed before August 1, 2025; or

(4) the issues raised in the application are not relevant to the relief available under this

section or have previously been decided by the court of appeals or the supreme court in the

Same Casc.

(e) The court may also summarily deny an application if the applicant has filed a second

or successive preliminary application, any prior application was denied for a reason other

than that it did not contain the information required under subdivision 3, paragraph (a), and:

(1) the reviewing judge previously determined that there was a reasonable probability

that the applicant was entitled to relief, but a court determined that the petitioner did not

qualify for relief under subdivision 6;

(2) a previous application was submitted by an attorney representing the applicant; or

(3) the reviewing judge previously determined that there was not a reasonable probability

that the applicant is entitled to relief, the second or successive preliminary application does

not contain any additional information described in subdivision 3, paragraph (b), and the

second or successive preliminary application was submitted by someone other than an

attorney representing the applicant.

(f) If the reviewing judge determines that there is a reasonable probability that the

applicant is entitled to relief, the judge shall send notice to the applicant and the applicant's

attorney, if any, and the prosecutorial office responsible for prosecuting the applicant. In

the event the applicant is without counsel, the reviewing judge shall send notice to the state

public defender and shall advise the applicant of the referral.

(g) If the reviewing judge determines that there is not a reasonable probability that the

applicant is entitled to relief, the judge shall send notice to the applicant and the applicant's
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attorney, if any. The notice must contain a brief statement explaining the reasons the

reviewing judge concluded that there is not a reasonable probability that the applicant is

entitled to relief.

Subd. 5. Petition for relief; hearing. (a) Unless extended for good cause, within 60

days of filing of the notice sent pursuant to subdivision 4, paragraph (f), the individual

seeking relief shall file and serve a petition to vacate the conviction. The petition must be

filed in the district court of the judicial district in the county where the conviction took place

and must contain the information identified in subdivision 3, paragraph (a), and a statement

of why the petitioner is entitled to relief. The petition may contain any other relevant

information, including police reports, trial transcripts, and plea transcripts involving the

petitioner or any other person investigated for, charged with, or convicted of a crime arising

out of the same set of circumstances for which the petitioner was convicted. The filing of

the petition and any document subsequent thereto and all proceedings thereon shall be

without costs or any fees charged to the petitioner.

(b) Upon filing of the petition, the prosecutor shall make a good faith and reasonable

effort to notify any person determined to be a victim of the underlying offense that a petition

has been filed.

(c) A county attorney representing the prosecutorial office shall respond to the petition

by answer or motion within 45 days after the filing of the petition pursuant to paragraph (a)

unless extended for good cause. The response shall be filed with the court administrator of

the district court and served on the petitioner if unrepresented or on the petitioner's attorney.

The response may serve notice of the intent to support the petition or include a statement

explaining why the petitioner is not entitled to relief along with any supporting documents.

The filing of the response and any document subsequent thereto and all proceedings thereon

shall be without costs or any fees charged to the county attorney.

(d) The petitioner may file a reply to the response filed by the county attorney within

15 days after the response is filed, unless extended for good cause.

(e) Within 30 days of the filing of the reply from the petition or, if no reply is filed,

within 30 days of the filing of the response from the county attorney, the court shall:

(1) issue an order and schedule the matter for sentencing or resentencing pursuant to

subdivision 6 if the county attorney indicates an intent to support the petition;

(2) issue an order denying the petition if additional information or submissions establish

that there is not a reasonable probability that the applicant is entitled to relief under this

section and include a memorandum identifying the additional information or submissions
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and explaining the reasons why the court concluded that there is not a reasonable probability

that the applicant is entitled to relief; or

(3) schedule the matter for a hearing and issue any appropriate order regarding submission

of evidence or identification of witnesses.

(f) The hearing shall be held in open court and conducted pursuant to Minnesota Statutes,

section 590.04, except that the petitioner must be present at the hearing, unless excused

under Rules of Criminal Procedure, rule 26.03, subdivision 1, clause (3). The prosecutor

shall make a good faith and reasonable effort to notify any person determined to be a victim

of the hearing.

Subd. 6. Determination; order; resentencing. (a) A petitioner who was convicted of

a violation of Minnesota Statutes, section 609.185, paragraph (a), clause (1), is entitled to

relief if the petitioner shows by a preponderance of the evidence that the petitioner:

(1) did not cause the death of a human being; and

(2) did not intentionally aid, advise, hire, counsel, or conspire with or otherwise procure

another with premeditation or the intent to cause the death of a human being.

(b) If the court determines that the petitioner does not qualify for relief, the court shall

issue an order denying the petition. If the court determines that the petitioner is entitled to

relief, the court shall issue an order vacating the conviction for a violation of Minnesota

Statutes, section 609.185, paragraph (a), clause (1), and:

(1) resentence the petitioner for a remaining offense for which the petitioner was

convicted; or

(2) enter a conviction and impose a sentence for any lesser included offenses as described

in Minnesota Statutes, section 631.14.

(c) If the court intends to enter a conviction and impose a sentence for a lesser included

offense, the court must hold a hearing to determine the appropriate offense.

(d) If, pursuant to paragraph (b), the court either resentences a petitioner or imposes a

sentence, the court shall also resentence the petitioner for any other offense if the sentence

was announced by a district court of the same county, the sentence was either ordered to

be served consecutively to the vacated conviction or the criminal history calculation for

that sentence included the vacated sentence, and the changes made pursuant to paragraph

(b) would have resulted in a different criminal history score being used at the time of

sentencing.
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(e) The court shall state in writing or on the record the reasons for its decision on the

petition.

(f) If the court intends to resentence a petitioner or impose a sentence on a petitioner,

the court must hold the hearing at a time that allows any victim an opportunity to submit a

statement consistent with Minnesota Statutes, section 611A.038. The prosecutor shall make

a good faith and reasonable effort to notify any person determined to be a victim of the

hearing and the right to submit or make a statement. A sentence imposed under this

subdivision shall not increase the petitioner's total period of confinement or, if the petitioner

was serving a stayed sentence, increase the period of supervision. The court may increase

the period of confinement for a sentence that was ordered to be served consecutively to the

vacated conviction based on a change in the appropriate criminal history score provided the

court does not increase the petitioner's total period of confinement. A person resentenced

under this paragraph is entitled to credit for time served in connection with the vacated

offense.

(g) Relief granted under this section shall not be treated as an exoneration for purposes

of the Incarceration and Exoneration Remedies Act.

(h) If the court enters a conviction under this subdivision, the court shall ensure that the

date of the conviction being entered is the same as that of the original conviction.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2025.

ARTICLE 2
PUBLIC SAFETY PROVISIONS

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 13.03, subdivision 6, is amended to read:

Subd. 6. Discoverability of not public data. If a government entity opposes discovery
of government data or release of data pursuant to court order on the grounds that the data
are classified as not public, the party that seeks access to the data may bring before the
appropriate presiding judicial officer, arbitrator, or administrative law judge an action to

compel discovery or an action in the nature of an action to compel discovery.

The presiding officer shall first decide whether the data are discoverable or releasable
pursuant to the rules of evidence and of criminal, civil, or administrative procedure

appropriate to the action.

If the data are discoverable the presiding officer shall decide whether the benefit to the

party seeking access to the data outweighs any harm to the confidentiality interests of the

Article 2 Section 1. 21



22.1

222

223

22.4

225

22.6

22.7

22.8

22.9

22.10

22.11

22.12

22.13

22.14

22.15

22.16

22.17

22.18

22.19

22.20

22.21

22.22

22.23

22.24

22.25

22.26

22.27

22.28

22.29

22.30

22.31

22.32

04/04/25 03:59 pm COUNSEL KPB/PP/GC SCS1098A-1

entity maintaining the data, or of any person who has provided the data or who is the subject
of the data, or to the privacy interest of an individual identified in the data. In making the
decision, the presiding officer shall consider whether notice to the subject of the data is
warranted and, if warranted, what type of notice must be given. The presiding officer may
fashion and issue any protective orders necessary to assure proper handling of the data by
the parties. If the data are a videetape recording of a child victim or alleged victim alleging,
explaining, denying, or describing an act of physical or sexual abuse, the presiding officer
shall consider the provisions of section 611A.90, subdivision 2, paragraph (b). If the data
are data subject to the protections under chapter 5B or section 13.045, the presiding officer

shall consider the provisions of section 5B.11.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 13.821, 1s amended to read:

13.821 VIDEOTAPES RECORDINGS OF CHILD ABUSE VICTIMS.

(a) Notwithstanding section 13.04, subdivision 3, an individual subject of data may not
obtain a copy of a videetape recording in which a child victim or alleged victim 1s alleging,
explaining, denying, or describing an act of physical or sexual abuse without a court order
under section 13.03, subdivision 6, or 611A.90. The definitions of physical abuse and sexual
abuse in section 260E.03, apply to this section, except that abuse is not limited to acts by a
person responsible for the child's care or in a significant relationship with the child or

position of authority.

(b) This section does not limit other rights of access to data by an individual under section
13.04, subdivision 3, other than the right to obtain a copy of the videetape recording, nor

prohibit rights of access pursuant to discovery in a court proceeding.

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 144.296, is amended to read:

144.296 COPIES OF VIDEOTAPES RECORDINGS.

A provider may not release a copy of a videetape recording of a child victim or alleged
victim of physical or sexual abuse without a court order under section 13.03, subdivision

6, or as provided in section 611A.90. This section does not limit the right of a patient to

view or listen to the videotape recording.

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 246B.04, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Ban on obscene material or pornographic work. The executive board shall
prohibit persons civilly committed as sexual psychopathic personalities or sexually dangerous

persons under chapter 253D from having or receiving material that is obscene as defined
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under section 617.241, subdivision 1, material that depicts sexual conduct as defined under

section 617.241, subdivision 1, or pernegraphte-work child sexual abuse material as defined

under section 617.246, subdivision 1, while receiving services in any secure treatment
facilities operated by the Minnesota Sex Offender Program or any other facilities operated

by the executive board.

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 299A.01, is amended by adding a subdivision to

read:

Subd. 9. Grant contracts and programs administrative costs. Notwithstanding any

law to the contrary, unless amounts are otherwise appropriated for administrative costs, the

department may retain up to five percent of the amount appropriated to the department for

grants enacted by the legislature and single or sole source and formula grants and up to ten

percent for competitively awarded grants to be used for staff and related operating costs for

grant administration. This subdivision applies to all new and existing grant programs

administered by the department. This subdivision does not apply to grants funded with an

appropriation of proceeds from the sale of state general obligation bonds.

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 299A.477, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Program established. The commissioner of public safety shall award a grant
to the Minnesota Firefighter Initiative to administer a hometown heroes assistance program

for Minnesota firefighters. The Minnesota Firefighter Initiative shall use the grant funds:

(1) to establish and fund critical illness coverage that provides monetary support payments
to each firefighter who is diagnosed with a critical illness on or after August 1, 2021, and
who applies for the payment. Monetary support shall be provided according to the

requirements in subdivision 3;

(2) to develop a psychotherapy program customized to address emotional trauma

experienced by firefighters, which includes providing peer-to-peer support, and to offer all

firefighters in the state up to five psychotherapy sessions per year under the customized

program, provided by mental health professionals;
(3) to coordinate additional psychotherapy sessions to firefighters who need them;

(4) to develop, annually update, and annually previde make available to all firefighters

in the state at least two hours of training on critical illnesses, such as cancer and heart disease,
and emotional trauma as causes of illness and death for firefighters; steps and best practices

for firefighters to limit the occupational risks of cancer, heart disease, and emotional trauma;
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provide evidence-based suicide prevention strategies; and ways for firefighters to address
occupation-related emotional trauma and promote emotional wellness. The training shall
be presented by firefighters who attend an additional course to prepare them to serve as

trainers; and

(5) for administrative and overhead costs of the Minnesota Firefighter Initiative associated

with conducting the activities in clauses (1) to (4).

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 299C.52, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Definitions. As used in sections 299C.52 to 299C.565, the following

terms have the meanings given them:

(a) "Child" means any person under the age of 18 years or any person certified or known

to be mentally incompetent.
(b) "DNA" means deoxyribonucleic acid from a human biological specimen.

(c) "Endangered" means that a law enforcement official has received sufficient evidence
that the missing person is at risk of physical injury or death. The following circumstances

indicate that a missing person is at risk of physical injury or death:

(1) the person is missing as a result of a confirmed abduction or under circumstances

that indicate that the person's disappearance was not voluntary;
(2) the person is missing under known dangerous circumstances;
(3) the person 1s missing more than 30 days;

(4) the person is under the age of 21 and at least one other factor in this paragraph is

applicable;

(5) there is evidence the person is in need of medical attention or prescription medication
such that it will have a serious adverse effect on the person's health if the person does not

receive the needed care or medication;
(6) the person does not have a pattern of running away or disappearing;
(7) the person is mentally impaired;

(8) the person has dementia, a traumatic brain injury, Alzheimer's disease, or other

cognitive impairments;

(9) there 1s evidence that the person may have been abducted by a noncustodial parent;
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9) (10) the person has been the subject of past threats or acts of violence;

+0) (11) there 1s evidence the person is lost in the wilderness, backcountry, or outdoors
where survival is precarious and immediate and effective investigation and search and rescue

efforts are critical; or

b (12) any other factor that the law enforcement agency deems to indicate that the
person may be at risk of physical injury or death, including a determination by another law

enforcement agency that the person is missing and endangered.

(d) "Missing" means the status of a person after a law enforcement agency that has
received a report of a missing person has conducted a preliminary investigation and

determined that the person cannot be located.

(e) "NCIC" means National Crime Information Center.

Sec. 8. [299C.77] FEDERAL BACKGROUND CHECKS BY POLITICAL
SUBDIVISIONS.

Subdivision 1. Definition. As used in this section, "applicant for licensure" means an

individual or if the applicant is a corporation, limited liability company, partnership, or

other legal entity, every officer, director, manager, and general partner of the entity, who

seeks a license issued by a county or city to operate a business:

(1) that qualifies as an adult entertainment establishment under section 617.242,

subdivision 1; or

(2) providing massage services.

Subd. 2. Background check authorized. (a) A county or city may investigate the

criminal history background of any applicant for licensure.

(b) The investigation conducted pursuant to paragraph (a) must consist of a criminal

history check of the state criminal records repository and a national criminal history check.

The county or city must accept the applicant's signed criminal history records check consent

form for the state and national criminal history check request, a full set of classifiable

fingerprints, and required fees. The county or city must submit the applicant's completed

criminal history records check consent form, full set of classifiable fingerprints, and required

fees to the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension. After receiving this information, the bureau

must conduct a Minnesota criminal history records check of the applicant. The bureau may

exchange an applicant's fingerprints with the Federal Bureau of Investigation to obtain the

applicant's national criminal history record information. The bureau must return the results
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of the Minnesota and federal criminal history records checks to the county or city. Using

the criminal history data provided by the bureau, the county or city must determine whether

the applicant is disqualified from licensure. The applicant's failure to cooperate with the

county or city in conducting the records check is reasonable cause to deny an application.

Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 299F.47, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Charter school inspections; fees. The state fire marshal shall charge charter

schools $100 $0.014 per square foot for each school building inspected. Fhisrate These

rates shall include two follow-up inspections or on-site consultations. If additional follow-up
inspections or consultations are needed, the state fire marshal shall charge $50 $0.005 per
square foot for each additional follow-up inspection to each applicable building in which a

follow-up inspection is needed.

Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 609.527, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
Subd. 3. Penalties. A person who violates subdivision 2 may be sentenced as follows:

(1) if the offense involves a single direct victim and the total, combined loss to the direct
victim and any indirect victims is $250 or less, the person may be sentenced as provided in

section 609.52, subdivision 3, clause (5);

(2) if the offense involves a single direct victim and the total, combined loss to the direct
victim and any indirect victims is more than $250 but not more than $500, the person may

be sentenced as provided in section 609.52, subdivision 3, clause (4);

(3) if the offense involves two or three direct victims or the total, combined loss to the
direct and indirect victims is more than $500 but not more than $2,500, the person may be

sentenced as provided in section 609.52, subdivision 3, clause (3);

(4) if the offense involves more than three but not more than seven direct victims, or if
the total combined loss to the direct and indirect victims is more than $2,500, the person

may be sentenced as provided in section 609.52, subdivision 3, clause (2);

(5) if the offense involves eight or more direct victims, or if the total, combined loss to
the direct and indirect victims is more than $35,000, the person may be sentenced as provided

in section 609.52, subdivision 3, clause (1); and

(6) if the offense is related to possession or distribution of pernegraphie-werk child

sexual abuse material in violation of section 617.246 or 617.247, the person may be sentenced

as provided in section 609.52, subdivision 3, clause (1).
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Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 611A.90, is amended to read:

611A.90 RELEASE OF VIDEOTAPES RECORDINGS OF CHILD ABUSE
VICTIMS.

Subdivision 1. Definition. For purposes of this section, "physical abuse" and "sexual
abuse" have the meanings given in section 260E.03, except that abuse is not limited to acts
by a person responsible for the child's care or in a significant relationship with the child or

position of authority.

Subd. 2. Court order required. (a) A custodian of a videetape recording of a child
victim or alleged victim alleging, explaining, denying, or describing an act of physical or
sexual abuse as part of an investigation or evaluation of the abuse may not release a copy
of the videetape recording without a court order, notwithstanding that the subject has
consented to the release of the videetape recording or that the release is authorized under

law.

(b) The court order may govern the purposes for which the videotape recording may be
used, reproduction, release to other persons, retention and return of copies, and other
requirements reasonably necessary for protection of the privacy and best interests of the

child.

Subd. 3. Petition. An individual subject of data, as defined in section 13.02, or a patient,
as defined in sections 144.291 to 144.298, who is seeking a copy of a videetape recording
governed by this section may petition the district court in the county where the alleged abuse
took place or where the custodian of the videetape recording resides for an order releasing
a copy of the videetape recording under subdivision 2. Nothing in this section establishes
a right to obtain access to a videetape recording by any other person nor limits a right of a
person to obtain access if access is otherwise authorized by law or pursuant to discovery in

a court proceeding.

Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 617.246, is amended to read:

617.246 USE OF MINORS IN SEXUAL PERFORMANCE PROHIBITED.

Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For the purpose of this section, the terms defined in this

subdivision have the meanings given them.
(b) "Minor" means any person under the age of 18.

(c) "Promote" means to produce, direct, publish, manufacture, issue, or advertise.
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(d) "Sexual performance" means any play, dance or other exhibition presented before
an audience or for purposes of visual or mechanical reproduction that uses a minor to depict

actual or simulated sexual conduct as defined by elause paragraph (e).
(e) "Sexual conduct" means any of the following:

(1) an act of sexual intercourse, normal or perverted, including genital-genital,
anal-genital, or oral-genital intercourse, whether between human beings or between a human

being and an animal;

(2) sadomasochistic abuse, meaning flagellation, torture, or similar demeaning acts
inflicted by or upon a person who is nude or clad in undergarments or in a revealing costume,
or the condition of being fettered, bound or otherwise physically restrained on the part of

one so clothed;
(3) masturbation;
(4) lewd exhibitions of the genitals; or

(5) physical contact with the clothed or unclothed pubic areas or buttocks of a human
male or female, or the breasts of the female, whether alone or between members of the same
or opposite sex or between humans and animals in an act of apparent sexual stimulation or

gratification.

(f) “Poernegraphie-work" "Child sexual abuse material" means:

(1) an original or reproduction of a picture, film, photograph, negative, slide, videotape,

videodisc, or drawing of a sexual performance involving a minor; or

(2) any visual depiction, including any photograph, film, video, picture, drawing, negative,
slide, or computer-generated image or picture, whether made or produced by electronic,

mechanical, or other means that:
(1) uses a minor to depict actual or simulated sexual conduct;

(i1) has been created, adapted, or modified to appear that an identifiable minor is engaging

in sexual conduct; or

(111) 1s advertised, promoted, presented, described, or distributed in such a manner that
conveys the impression that the material is or contains a visual depiction of a minor engaging

in sexual conduct.

For the purposes of this paragraph, an identifiable minor is a person who was a minor
at the time the depiction was created or altered, whose image is used to create the visual

depiction.
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(g) "Material" has the meaning given in section 617.241, subdivision 1, paragraph (e).

Subd. 2. Use of minor. (a) It is unlawful for a person to promote, employ, use or permit
a minor to engage in or assist others to engage minors in posing or modeling alone or with

others in any sexual performance or perregraphte-werk child sexual abuse material if the

person knows or has reason to know that the conduct intended is a sexual performance or

a-pernegraphie-weork child sexual abuse material.

Any person who violates this paragraph is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to
imprisonment for not more than ten years or to payment of a fine of not more than $20,000,

or both.

(b) A person who violates paragraph (a) is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to
imprisonment for not more than 15 years or to payment of a fine of not more than $40,000,

or both, if:

(1) the person has a prior conviction or delinquency adjudication for violating this section

or section 617.247;

(2) the violation occurs when the person is a registered predatory offender under section

243.166; or
(3) the violation involved a minor under the age of 14 years.

Subd. 3. Operation or ownership of business. (a) A person who owns or operates a

business in which a-pernegraphie-werk child sexual abuse material, as defined in this section,

is disseminated to an adult or a minor or is reproduced, and who knows the content and

character of the pernegraphie-werk child sexual abuse material disseminated or reproduced,

is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than ten years, or

to payment of a fine of not more than $20,000, or both.

(b) A person who violates paragraph (a) is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to
imprisonment for not more than 15 years or to payment of a fine of not more than $40,000,

or both, if:

(1) the person has a prior conviction or delinquency adjudication for violating this section

or section 617.247;

(2) the violation occurs when the person is a registered predatory offender under section

243.166; or

(3) the violation involved a minor under the age of 14 years.
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Subd. 4. Dissemination. (a) A person who, knowing or with reason to know its content

and character, disseminates for profit to an adult or a minor a-pernegraphie-werk child

sexual abuse material, as defined in this section, is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced

to imprisonment for not more than ten years, or to payment of a fine of not more than

$20,000, or both.

(b) A person who violates paragraph (a) is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to
imprisonment for not more than 15 years or to payment of a fine of not more than $40,000,

or both, if:

(1) the person has a prior conviction or delinquency adjudication for violating this section

or section 617.247;

(2) the violation occurs when the person is a registered predatory offender under section

243.166; or
(3) the violation involved a minor under the age of 14 years.

Subd. 5. Consent; mistake. Neither consent to sexual performance by a minor or the
minor's parent, guardian, or custodian nor mistake as to the minor's age is a defense to a

charge of violation of this section.

Subd. 6. Affirmative defense. It shall be an affirmative defense to a charge of violating

this section that the sexual performance or pernegraphie-werk child sexual abuse material

was produced using only persons who were 18 years or older.

Subd. 7. Conditional release term. Notwithstanding the statutory maximum sentence
otherwise applicable to the offense or any provision of the sentencing guidelines, when a
court commits a person to the custody of the commissioner of corrections for violating this
section, the court shall provide that after the person has been released from prison, the
commissioner shall place the person on conditional release for five years. If the person has
previously been convicted of a violation of this section, section 609.342, 609.343, 609.344,
609.345, 609.3451, 609.3453, or 617.247, or any similar statute of the United States, this
state, or any state, the commissioner shall place the person on conditional release for 15

years. The terms of conditional release are governed by section 609.3455, subdivision 8.
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Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 617.247, is amended to read:

617.247 POSSESSION OF PORNOGRAPHIC-WORKINVOEVING-MINORS
CHILD SEXUAL ABUSE IMAGES.

Subdivision 1. Policy; purpeose. It is the policy of the legislature in enacting this section
to protect minors from the physical and psychological damage caused by their being used

in pernoegraphie-weork child sexual abuse material depicting sexual conduct which involves

minors. It is therefore the intent of the legislature to penalize possession of pernegraphie

weork child sexual abuse material depicting sexual conduct which involve minors or appears

to involve minors in order to protect the identity of minors who are victimized by involvement

in the pernoegraphie-weork child sexual abuse material, and to protect minors from future
involvement in pernegraphie-werk child sexual abuse material depicting sexual conduct.

Subd. 2. Definitions. For purposes of this section, the following terms have the meanings

given them:

(a) “Pernographie-work" "Child sexual abuse material" has the meaning given te-i in
section 617.246.

(b) "Sexual conduct" has the meaning given te-i in section 617.246.

Subd. 3. Dissemination prohibited. (a) A person who disseminates pernegraphie-work

child sexual abuse material to an adult or a minor, knowing or with reason to know its

content and character, is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not

more than seven years or to payment of a fine of not more than $10,000, or both.

(b) A person who violates paragraph (a) is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to
imprisonment for not more than 15 years or to payment of a fine of not more than $20,000,

or both, if:

(1) the person has a prior conviction or delinquency adjudication for violating this section

or section 617.246;

(2) the violation occurs when the person is a registered predatory offender under section

243.166; or
(3) the violation involved a minor under the age of 14 years.

Subd. 4. Possession prohibited. (a) A person who possesses apernographie-work child

sexual abuse material or a computer disk or computer or other electronic, magnetic, or

optical storage system or a storage system of any other type, containing a-pernegraphte

weork child sexual abuse material, knowing or with reason to know its content and character,
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is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than five years or

to payment of a fine of not more than $5,000, or both.

(b) A person who violates paragraph (a) is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to
imprisonment for not more than ten years or to payment of a fine of not more than $10,000,

or both, if:

(1) the person has a prior conviction or delinquency adjudication for violating this section

or section 617.246;

(2) the violation occurs when the person is a registered predatory offender under section

243.166; or
(3) the violation involved a minor under the age of 14 years.

Subd. 5. Exception. This section does not apply to the performance of official duties
by peace officers, court personnel, or attorneys, nor to licensed physicians, psychologists,
or social workers or persons acting at the direction of a licensed physician, psychologist,

or social worker in the course of a bona fide treatment or professional education program.

Subd. 6. Consent. Consent to sexual performance by a minor or the minor's parent,

guardian, or custodian is not a defense to a charge of violation of this section.

Subd. 7. Second offense. If a person is convicted of a second or subsequent violation
of this section within 15 years of the prior conviction, the court shall order a mental
examination of the person. The examiner shall report to the court whether treatment of the

person 1S necessary.

Subd. 8. Affirmative defense. It shall be an affirmative defense to a charge of violating

this section that the pernegraphie-werk child sexual abuse material was produced using

only persons who were 18 years or older.

Subd. 9. Conditional release term. Notwithstanding the statutory maximum sentence
otherwise applicable to the offense or any provision of the sentencing guidelines, when a
court commits a person to the custody of the commissioner of corrections for violating this
section, the court shall provide that after the person has been released from prison, the
commissioner shall place the person on conditional release for five years. If the person has
previously been convicted of a violation of this section, section 609.342, 609.343, 609.344,
609.345, 609.3451, 609.3453, or 617.246, or any similar statute of the United States, this
state, or any state, the commissioner shall place the person on conditional release for 15

years. The terms of conditional release are governed by section 609.3455, subdivision 8.
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Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 624.714, subdivision 7a, is amended to read:

Subd. 7a. Change of address or legal name; loss or destruction of permit. (a) Within

30 days after changing the permit holder's legal name or permanent address, or within 30

days of having lost or destroyed the permit card, the permit holder must notify the issuing
sheriff of the change, loss, or destruction. Failure to provide notification as required by this
subdivision is a petty misdemeanor. The fine for a first offense must not exceed $25.
Notwithstanding section 609.531, a firearm carried in violation of this paragraph is not

subject to forfeiture.

(b) After notice is given under paragraph (a), a permit holder may obtain a replacement
permit card by paying $10 to the sheriff. The request for a replacement permit card must
be made on an official, standardized application adopted for this purpose under section

624.7151, and, except in the case of legal name or an address change, must include a

notarized statement that the permit card has been lost or destroyed.

Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 626.19, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
Subd. 3. Authorized use. A law enforcement agency may use a UAV:

(1) during or in the aftermath of an emergency situation that involves the risk of death

or bodily harm to a person;

(2) to preserve or protect evidence from the imminent risk of destruction;

2) (3) over a public event where there is a heightened risk to the safety of participants

or bystanders;

(4) to assist in the lawful pursuit of a suspect who is fleeing law enforcement or who

the law enforcement agency reasonably believes might flee;

3) (5) to counter the risk of a terrorist attack by a specific individual or organization if

the agency determines that credible intelligence indicates a risk;

4) (6) to prevent the loss of life and property in natural or man-made disasters and to
facilitate operational planning, rescue, and recovery operations in the aftermath of these

disasters;
5) (7) to conduct a threat assessment in anticipation of a specific event;

6) (8) to collect information from a public area if there is reasonable suspicion of criminal

activity;
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D (9) to collect information for crash reconstruction purposes after a serious or deadly

collision occurring on a public road;

8) (10) over a private area with the written consent of the occupant or a public area, for

officer training or public relations purposes; and

9) (11) for purposes unrelated to law enforcement at the request of a government entity
provided that the government entity makes the request in writing to the law enforcement

agency and specifies the reason for the request and proposed period of use; and

(12) to facilitate the search for a missing person.

Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 634.35, is amended to read:

634.35 VIDEOTAPES RECORDINGS OF CHILD VICTIMS; CONDITIONS OF
DISCLOSURE.

(a) If a wideetaped recorded interview of a child victim of physical or sexual abuse is
disclosed by a prosecuting attorney to a defendant or the defendant's attorney, the following

applies:

(1) no more than two copies of the tape recording or any portion of the tape recording
may be made by the defendant or the defendant's attorney, investigator, expert, or any other

representative or agent of the defendant;

(2) the tapes recordings may not be used for any purpose other than to prepare for the

defense in the criminal action against the defendant;

(3) the tapes recordings may not be publicly exhibited, shown, displayed, used for
educational, research, or demonstrative purposes, or used in any other fashion, except in

judicial proceedings in the criminal action against the defendant;

(4) the tapes recordings may be viewed only by the defendant, the defendant's attorney,

and the attorney's employees, investigators, and experts;

(5) no transcript of the tapes recordings, nor the substance of any portion of the tapes

recordings, may be divulged to any person not authorized to view or listen to the tapes
recordings;

(6) no person may be granted access to the tapes recordings, any transcription of the
tapes recordings, or the substance of any portion of the tapes recordings unless the person

has first signed a written agreement that the person is aware of this statute and acknowledges

that the person is subject to the court's contempt powers for any violation of it; and

Article 2 Sec. 16. 34



35.1

352

353

354

355

35.6

35.7

35.8

359

35.10

35.11

35.12

35.13

35.14

35.15

35.16

35.17

35.18

35.19

35.20

35.21

35.22

35.23

35.24

35.25

35.26

35.27

35.28

35.29

04/04/25 03:59 pm COUNSEL KPB/PP/GC SCS1098A-1

(7) upon final disposition of the criminal case against the defendant, the tapes recordings

and any transcripts of the tapes recordings must be returned to the prosecuting attorney.

(b) The court may hold a person who violates this section in contempt.

Sec. 17. REVISOR INSTRUCTION.

The revisor of statutes shall update headnote cross-references in Minnesota Statutes and

Minnesota Rules to reflect the changes made in this act.

ARTICLE 3
CRIMINAL JUSTICE-RELATED JUDICIAL PROVISIONS

Section 1. [13.891] RESTORATIVE PRACTICE PARTICIPANT DATA.

(a) For purposes of this section, "restorative practice participant" has the meaning given

in section 595.02, subdivision 1b, paragraph (a), clause (2).

(b) Data collected, created, or maintained by a government entity that identifies an

individual as a restorative practice participant is private data on individuals but may be

disclosed for the purposes described in section 595.02, subdivision 1b, paragraph (b), clauses

(1) to (3), or paragraph (c). This section does not apply to personnel data, as defined in

section 13.43, subdivision 1, or to an individual who receives payment to facilitate a

restorative practice, as defined in section 142A.76, subdivision 1.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 142A.76, subdivision 8, is amended to read:

Subd. 8. Report. By February 15 of each year, the director shall report to the chairs and
ranking minority members of the legislative committees and divisions with jurisdiction over
public safety, human services, and education, on the work of the Office of Restorative
Practices, any grants issued pursuant to this section, and the status of local restorative

practices initiatives in the state that were reviewed in the previous year. The report on the

status of local restorative practices initiatives must incorporate data on recidivism, public

safety impacts, and financial investments in restorative practices.

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 590.01, is amended to read:

590.01 AVAILABILITY, CONDITIONS.

Subdivision 1. Petition. Except at a time when direct appellate relief is available, a

person convicted of a crime; or who received a stay of adjudication who claims that:
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(1) the conviction or stay of adjudication obtained, or the sentence or other disposition

made, violated the person's rights under the Constitution or laws of the United States or of

the state; or

(2) scientific evidence not available at trial, obtained pursuant to a motion granted under

subdivision la, establishes the petitioner's actual innocence;

may commence a proceeding to secure relief by filing a petition in the district court in the

county in which the conviction or stay of adjudication was had to vacate and set aside the

judgment and to discharge the petitioner or to resentence the petitioner or grant a new trial
or correct the sentence or make other disposition as may be appropriate. A petition for
postconviction relief after a direct appeal has been completed may not be based on grounds

that could have been raised on direct appeal of the conviction, stay of adjudication, or

sentence. Nothing contained herein shall prevent the supreme court or the court of appeals,
upon application by a party, from granting a stay of a case on appeal for the purpose of
allowing an appellant to apply to the district court for an evidentiary hearing under the

provisions of this chapter. The proceeding shall conform with sections 590.01 to 590.06.

Subd. 1a. Motion for fingerprint or forensic testing not available at trial. (a) A person

convicted of a crime, or who received a stay of adjudication, may make a motion for the

performance of fingerprint or forensic DNA testing to demonstrate the person's actual

innocence if:

(1) the testing is to be performed on evidence secured in relation to the trial which

resulted in the conviction or plea; and

(2) the evidence was not subject to the testing because either the technology for the
testing was not available at the time of the trial or the testing was not available as evidence

at the time of the trial.

The motion shall be filed before the district court that entered the judgment of conviction

or stay of adjudication. Reasonable notice of the motion shall be served on the prosecuting

attorney who represented the state at trial.

(b) A person who makes a motion under paragraph (a) must present a prima facie case

that:
(1) identity was an issue in the trial; and

(2) the evidence to be tested has been subject to a chain of custody sufficient to establish

that it has not been substituted, tampered with, replaced, or altered in any material aspect.

(c) The court shall order that the testing be performed if:
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(1) a prima facie case has been established under paragraph (b);

(2) the testing has the scientific potential to produce new, noncumulative evidence

materially relevant to the defendant's assertion of actual innocence; and

(3) the testing requested employs a scientific method generally accepted within the
relevant scientific community. The court shall impose reasonable conditions on the testing

designed to protect the state's interests in the integrity of the evidence and the testing process.

Subd. 2. Remedy. This remedy takes the place of any other common law, statutory or
other remedies which may have been available for challenging the validity of a stay of
adjudication, conviction, sentence, or other disposition and must be used exclusively in
place of them unless it is inadequate or ineffective to test the legality of the stay of

adjudication, conviction, sentence or other disposition.

Subd. 3. Application for relief. A person who has been convicted or received a stay of

adjudication and sentenced for a crime committed before May 1, 1980, may institute a
proceeding applying for relief under this chapter upon the ground that a significant change
in substantive or procedural law has occurred which, in the interest of justice, should be

applied retrospectively, including resentencing under subsequently enacted law.

No petition seeking resentencing shall be granted unless the court makes specific findings
of fact that release of the petitioner prior to the time the petitioner would be released under
the sentence currently being served does not present a danger to the public and is not

incompatible with the welfare of society.

Subd. 4. Time limit. (a) No petition for postconviction relief may be filed more than

two years after the later of:

(1) the entry of judgment of conviction, stay of adjudication, or sentence if no direct

appeal is filed; or
(2) an appellate court's disposition of petitioner's direct appeal.

(b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), a court may hear a petition for postconviction relief
if:
(1) the petitioner establishes that a physical disability or mental disease precluded a

timely assertion of the claim;

(2) the petitioner alleges the existence of newly discovered evidence, including scientific
evidence, that provides facts necessary to sustain one or more legally cognizable claims for

postconviction relief, if such evidence could not have been ascertained by the exercise of
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due diligence by the petitioner or petitioner's attorney within the two-year time period for
filing a postconviction petition, is not cumulative to evidence presented at trial, and is not

for impeachment purposes;

(3) the petitioner asserts a new interpretation of federal or state constitutional or statutory
law by either the United States Supreme Court or a Minnesota appellate court and the
petitioner establishes that this interpretation is retroactively applicable to the petitioner's

case;
(4) the petition is brought pursuant to subdivision 3; or

(5) the petitioner establishes to the satisfaction of the court that the petition is not frivolous

and is in the interests of justice.

(c) Any petition invoking an exception provided in paragraph (b) must be filed within

two years of the date the claim arises.

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 595.02, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Competency of witnesses. Every person of sufficient understanding,
including a party, may testify in any action or proceeding, civil or criminal, in court or
before any person who has authority to receive evidence, except as provided in this

subdivision:

(a) A husband cannot be examined for or against his wife without her consent, nor a
wife for or against her husband without his consent, nor can either, during the marriage or
afterwards, without the consent of the other, be examined as to any communication made
by one to the other during the marriage. This exception does not apply to a civil action or
proceeding by one against the other, nor to a criminal action or proceeding for a crime
committed by one against the other or against a child of either or against a child under the
care of either spouse, nor to a criminal action or proceeding in which one is charged with
homicide or an attempt to commit homicide and the date of the marriage of the defendant
is subsequent to the date of the offense, nor to an action or proceeding for nonsupport,

neglect, dependency, or termination of parental rights.

(b) An attorney cannot, without the consent of the attorney's client, be examined as to
any communication made by the client to the attorney or the attorney's advice given thereon
in the course of professional duty; nor can any employee of the attorney be examined as to

the communication or advice, without the client's consent.

(c) A member of the clergy or other minister of any religion shall not, without the consent

of the party making the confession, be allowed to disclose a confession made to the member

Article 3 Sec. 4. 38



39.1

39.2

393

394

395

39.6

39.7

39.8

39.9

39.10

39.11

39.12

39.13

39.14

39.15

39.16

39.17

39.18

39.19

39.20

39.21

39.22

39.23

39.24

39.25

39.26

39.27

39.28

39.29

39.30

39.31

39.32

39.33

04/04/25 03:59 pm COUNSEL KPB/PP/GC SCS1098A-1

of the clergy or other minister in a professional character, in the course of discipline enjoined
by the rules or practice of the religious body to which the member of the clergy or other
minister belongs; nor shall a member of the clergy or other minister of any religion be
examined as to any communication made to the member of the clergy or other minister by
any person seeking religious or spiritual advice, aid, or comfort or advice given thereon in
the course of the member of the clergy's or other minister's professional character, without

the consent of the person.

(d) A licensed physician or surgeon, dentist, or chiropractor shall not, without the consent
of the patient, be allowed to disclose any information or any opinion based thereon which
the professional acquired in attending the patient in a professional capacity, and which was
necessary to enable the professional to act in that capacity; after the decease of the patient,
1n an action to recover insurance benefits, where the insurance has been in existence two
years or more, the beneficiaries shall be deemed to be the personal representatives of the
deceased person for the purpose of waiving this privilege, and no oral or written waiver of
the privilege shall have any binding force or effect except when made upon the trial or

examination where the evidence is offered or received.

(e) A public officer shall not be allowed to disclose communications made to the officer

in official confidence when the public interest would suffer by the disclosure.

(f) Persons of unsound mind and persons intoxicated at the time of their production for
examination are not competent witnesses if they lack capacity to remember or to relate

truthfully facts respecting which they are examined.

(g) A registered nurse, psychologist, consulting psychologist, or licensed social worker
engaged in a psychological or social assessment or treatment of an individual at the
individual's request shall not, without the consent of the professional's client, be allowed to
disclose any information or opinion based thereon which the professional has acquired in
attending the client in a professional capacity, and which was necessary to enable the
professional to act in that capacity. Nothing in this clause exempts licensed social workers

from compliance with the provisions of section 626.557 and chapter 260E.

(h) An interpreter for a person disabled in communication shall not, without the consent
of the person, be allowed to disclose any communication if the communication would, if
the interpreter were not present, be privileged. For purposes of this section, a "person disabled
in communication" means a person who, because of a hearing, speech or other communication

disorder, or because of the inability to speak or comprehend the English language, is unable
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to understand the proceedings in which the person is required to participate. The presence

of an interpreter as an aid to communication does not destroy an otherwise existing privilege.

(1) Licensed chemical dependency counselors shall not disclose information or an opinion
based on the information which they acquire from persons consulting them in their
professional capacities, and which was necessary to enable them to act in that capacity,

except that they may do so:

(1) when informed consent has been obtained in writing, except in those circumstances
in which not to do so would violate the law or would result in clear and imminent danger

to the client or others;

(2) when the communications reveal the contemplation or ongoing commission of a

crime; or

(3) when the consulting person waives the privilege by bringing suit or filing charges

against the licensed professional whom that person consulted.

(j) A parent or the parent's minor child may not be examined as to any communication
made in confidence by the minor to the minor's parent. A communication is confidential if
made out of the presence of persons not members of the child's immediate family living in
the same household. This exception may be waived by express consent to disclosure by a
parent entitled to claim the privilege or by the child who made the communication or by
failure of the child or parent to object when the contents of a communication are demanded.
This exception does not apply to a civil action or proceeding by one spouse against the other
or by a parent or child against the other, nor to a proceeding to commit either the child or
parent to whom the communication was made or to place the person or property or either
under the control of another because of an alleged mental or physical condition, nor to a
criminal action or proceeding in which the parent is charged with a crime committed against
the person or property of the communicating child, the parent's spouse, or a child of either
the parent or the parent's spouse, or in which a child is charged with a crime or act of
delinquency committed against the person or property of a parent or a child of a parent, nor
to an action or proceeding for termination of parental rights, nor any other action or
proceeding on a petition alleging child abuse, child neglect, abandonment or nonsupport

by a parent.

(k) Sexual assault counselors may not be allowed to disclose any opinion or information
received from or about the victim without the consent of the victim. However, a counselor
may be compelled to identify or disclose information in investigations or proceedings related

to neglect or termination of parental rights if the court determines good cause exists. In
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determining whether to compel disclosure, the court shall weigh the public interest and need
for disclosure against the effect on the victim, the treatment relationship, and the treatment
services if disclosure occurs. Nothing in this clause exempts sexual assault counselors from

compliance with the provisions of section 626.557 and chapter 260E.

"Sexual assault counselor" for the purpose of this section means a person who has
undergone at least 40 hours of crisis counseling training and works under the direction of
a supervisor in a crisis center, whose primary purpose is to render advice, counseling, or

assistance to victims of sexual assault.

(1) A domestic abuse advocate may shall not, without the consent of the victim, be

eompeled allowed to disclose any opinion or information received from or about the victim

witheut-the-consent-of the-vietimunless-erdered-by-the-eeurt which the advocate acquired
in attending the victim in a professional capacity. In-determining-whether-to-compel

servicesif diselosure-oeeurs: Nothing in this paragraph (1) exempts domestic abuse advocates

from compliance with the provisions of section 626.557 and chapter 260E, or (2) modifies

a prosecutor's obligation to disclose material and information to the defense when the

information is in the possession or control of members of the prosecution staff and of any

others who have participated in the investigation or evaluation of the case and who either

regularly report, or with reference to the particular case have reported, to the prosecutor's

office.

For the purposes of this section, "domestic abuse advocate" means an employee or
supervised volunteer from a community-based battered-women's-shelter-and domestic abuse
program eligible to receive grants under section 611A.32; that provides information,
advocacy, crisis intervention, emergency shelter, or support to victims of domestic abuse
and who is not employed by or under the direct supervision of a law enforcement agency,

a prosecutor's office, or by a city, county, or state agency.

(m) A person cannot be examined as to any communication or document, including
work notes, made or used in the course of or because of mediation pursuant to an agreement
to mediate or a collaborative law process pursuant to an agreement to participate in
collaborative law. This does not apply to the parties in the dispute in an application to a
court by a party to have a mediated settlement agreement or a stipulated agreement resulting
from the collaborative law process set aside or reformed. A communication or document

otherwise not privileged does not become privileged because of this paragraph. This
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paragraph is not intended to limit the privilege accorded to communication during mediation

or collaborative law by the common law.

(n) A child under ten years of age is a competent witness unless the court finds that the
child lacks the capacity to remember or to relate truthfully facts respecting which the child
is examined. A child describing any act or event may use language appropriate for a child

of that age.

(0) A communication assistant for a telecommunications relay system for persons who
have communication disabilities shall not, without the consent of the person making the
communication, be allowed to disclose communications made to the communication assistant

for the purpose of relaying.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2025.

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 595.02, is amended by adding a subdivision to

read:

Subd. 1b. Inadmissibility; exceptions. (a) For purposes of this subdivision:

(1) "restorative practice" has the meaning given in section 142A.76, subdivision 1; and

(2) "restorative practice participant" means a facilitator, a person who has caused harm,

a person who has been harmed, a community member, and any other person attending a

restorative practice.

(b) Statements made or documents offered in the course of a restorative practice are not

subject to discovery or admissible as evidence in a civil or criminal proceeding. This

paragraph does not apply:

(1) to statements or documents that are the subject of a report made pursuant to section

626.557 or chapter 260E;

(2) if a restorative practice participant reasonably believed that disclosure of a statement

or document was necessary to prevent reasonably certain death, great bodily harm, or

commission of a crime; or

(3) if the statement or document constitutes evidence of professional misconduct by a

restorative practice participant acting in the capacity of their professional or occupational

license.

(c) Notwithstanding paragraph (b), if a court orders a person who caused harm to

participate in a restorative practice, a person overseeing the restorative practice may disclose
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information necessary to demonstrate whether the person who caused harm participated as

ordered.

(d) Evidence that is otherwise admissible or subject to discovery does not become

inadmissible or protected from discovery solely because it was discussed or used in a

restorative practice.

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 609A.06, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Eligibility; cannabis offense. (a) A person is eligible for an expungement or

resentencing to a lesser offense if:

(1) the person was convicted of, or adjudication was stayed for, a violation of any-efthe
fellewing a first-, second-, third-, fourth-, or fifth-degree controlled substance crime involving

the sale or possession of marijuana or tetrahydrocannabinols:

(vi)-seetion152:025;-subdiviston2-elause(H under Minnesota Statutes 2023
Supplement, sections 152.021, 152.022, 152.023, 152.024, or 152.025, or a previous version

of those or any other statutes criminalizing the possession, sale, transportation, or cultivation

of marijuana or tetrahydrocannabinols;

(2) the offense did not involve a dangerous weapon, the intentional infliction of bodily
harm on another, an attempt to inflict bodily harm on another, or an act committed with the

intent to cause fear in another of immediate bodily harm or death;

(3) the act on which the charge was based would either be a lesser offense or no longer

be a crime after August 1, 2023; and

(4) the person did not appeal the conviction, any appeal was denied, or the deadline to

file an appeal has expired.
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(b) A person is eligible for an expungement for any other offense charged along with

the underlying crime described in paragraph (a) if the charge was either dismissed or eligible

for expungement under section 609A.055.

(c) For purposes of this subdivision, a "lesser offense" means a nonfelony offense if the

person was charged with a felony.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 609A.06, subdivision 7, is amended to read:

Subd. 7. Review and determination. (a) The Cannabis Expungement Board shall review
all available records to determine whether the conviction or stay of adjudication or charge
is eligible for an expungement or resentencing to a lesser offense. An expungement under
this section is presumed to be in the public interest unless there is clear and convincing
evidence that an expungement or resentencing to a lesser offense would create a risk to

public safety.

(b) If the Cannabis Expungement Board determines that an expungement is in the public
interest, the board shall determine whether a person's conviction should be vacated and

charges should be dismissed.

(c) If the Cannabis Expungement Board determines that an expungement is in the public

interest, the board shall determine whether the limitations under section 609A.03, subdivision
Sa, apply.

(d) If the Cannabis Expungement Board determines that an expungement is in the public
interest, the board shall determine whether the limitations under section 609A.03, subdivision

7a, paragraph (b), clause (5), apply.

(e) If the Cannabis Expungement Board determines that an expungement is not in the
public interest, the board shall determine whether the person is eligible for resentencing to

a lesser offense.

(f) In making a determination under this subdivision, the Cannabis Expungement Board

shall consider:

(1) the nature and severity of the underlying crime, including but not limited to the total
amount of marijuana or tetrahydrocannabinols possessed by the person and whether the
offense involved a dangerous weapon, the intentional infliction of bodily harm on another,
an attempt to inflict bodily harm on another, or an act committed with the intent to cause

fear in another of immediate bodily harm or death;
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(2) whether an expungement or resentencing the person a lesser offense would increase

the risk, if any, the person poses to other individuals or society;

(3) if the person is under sentence, whether an expungement or resentencing to a lesser
offense would result in the release of the person and whether release earlier than the date
that the person would be released under the sentence currently being served would present

a danger to the public or would be compatible with the welfare of society;

(4) aggravating or mitigating factors relating to the underlying crime, including the

person's level of participation and the context and circumstances of the underlying crime;
(5) statements from victims and law enforcement, if any;

(6) if an expungement or resentencing the person to a lesser offense is considered,

whether there is good cause to restore the person's right to possess firearms and ammunition;

(7) if an expungement is considered, whether an expunged record of a conviction or stay
of adjudication may be opened for purposes of a background check required under section

122A.18, subdivision 8; and

(8) whether the person was also charged with other offenses in addition to the underlying

crime, the disposition of those other charges, and other factors deemed relevant by the

Cannabis Expungement Board.

(g) In making a determination under this subdivision, the Cannabis Expungement Board
shall not consider the impact the expungement would have on the offender based on any
records held by the Department of Health; Department of Children, Youth, and Families;

or Department of Human Services.
(h) The affirmative vote of three members is required for action taken at any meeting.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 609A.06, subdivision 10, is amended to read:

Subd. 10. Notice to judicial branch and offenders. (a) The Cannabis Expungement
Board shall identify any conviction or stay of adjudication or charge that qualifies for an

order of expungement or resentencing to a lesser offense and notify the judicial branch of:

(1) the name and date of birth of a person whose conviction or stay of adjudication is

eligible for an order of expungement or resentencing to a lesser offense;
(2) the court file number of the eligible conviction or stay of adjudication;

(3) whether the person is eligible for an expungement;
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(4) if the person is eligible for an expungement, whether the person's conviction should

be vacated and charges should be dismissed;

(5) if the person is eligible for an expungement, whether there is good cause to restore

the offender's right to possess firearms and ammunition;

(6) if the person is eligible for an expungement, whether the limitations under section

609A.03, subdivision 7a, paragraph (b), clause (5), apply; and

(7) if the person is eligible for an expungement, whether the expungement should also

apply to any other offenses charged in addition to the underlying crime; and

(8) if the person is eligible for resentencing to a lesser offense, the lesser sentence to be

imposed.

(b) The Cannabis Expungement Board shall make a reasonable and good faith effort to
notify any person whose conviction or stay of adjudication qualifies for an order of
expungement that the offense qualifies and notice is being sent to the judicial branch. Notice
sent pursuant to this paragraph shall inform the person that, following the order of
expungement, any records of an arrest, conviction, or incarceration should not appear on

any background check or study.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 609A.06, subdivision 12, is amended to read:

Subd. 12. Order of expungement. (a) Upon receiving notice that an offense qualifies
for expungement, the court shall issue an order sealing all records relating to an arrest,
indictment or information, trial, verdict, or dismissal and discharge for an offense described

in subdivision 3, and any other offenses charged in addition to the underlying crime if

identified by the Cannabis Expungement Board as eligible for expungement. In addition,

the court shall order all records, including those pertaining to probation, incarceration, or

supervision, held by the Department of Corrections or local correctional officials sealed.

The courts shall not order the Department of Health; the Department of Children, Youth,
and Families; or the Department of Human Services to seal records under this section. If
the Cannabis Expungement Board determined that the person's conviction should be vacated

and charges should be dismissed, the order shall vacate and dismiss the charges.

(b) If the Cannabis Expungement Board determined that there is good cause to restore
the person's right to possess firearms and ammunition, the court shall issue an order pursuant

to section 609.165, subdivision 1d.
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(c) If the Cannabis Expungement Board determined that an expunged record of a
conviction or stay of adjudication may not be opened for purposes of a background check
required under section 122A.18, subdivision 8, the court shall direct the order specifically

to the Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board.

(d) The court administrator shall send a copy of an expungement order issued under this
section to each agency and jurisdiction whose records are affected by the terms of the order
and send a letter to the last known address of the person whose offense has been expunged

identifying each agency to which the order was sent.

(e) In consultation with the commissioner of human services, the court shall establish a
schedule on which it shall provide the commissioner of human services a list identifying
the name and court file number or, if no court file number is available, the citation number

of each record for a person who received an expungement under this section.

(f) Data on the person whose offense has been expunged in a letter sent under this

subdivision are private data on individuals as defined in section 13.02, subdivision 12.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

ARTICLE 4
CRIME VICTIMS PROVISIONS

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 609.101, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Minimum fines. Notwithstanding any other law, when a court sentences a
person convicted of violating section 609.221, 609.222, 609.223, 609.2231, 609.224,
609.2242, 609.267, 609.2671, 609.2672, 609.342, 609.343, 609.344, or 609.345, it must
impose a fine of not less than 30 percent of the maximum fine authorized by law nor more

than the maximum fine authorized by law.

The court shall collect the portion of the fine mandated by this subdivision and forward
70 percent of it to a local victim assistance program that provides services locally in the
county in which the crime was committed. The court shall forward the remaining 30 percent
to the commissioner of management and budget to be credited to the general fund. If more
than one victim assistance program serves the county in which the crime was committed,
the court may designate on a case-by-case basis which program will receive the fine proceeds,
giving consideration to the nature of the crime committed, the types of victims served by
the program, and the funding needs of the program. If no victim assistance program serves

that county, the court shall forward 100 percent of the fine proceeds to the commissioner
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of management and budget to be credited to the general fund. Fine proceeds received by a

local victim assistance program must be used to provide direct services to crime victims.

The minimum fine required by this subdivision is in addition to the surcharge or
assessment required by section 357.021, subdivision 6, and is in addition to any sentence

of imprisonment or restitution imposed or ordered by the court.

As used in this subdivision, "victim assistance program" means victim witness programs
within county attorney offices or any of the following programs: crime victim crisis centers,

victim-witness programs, battered-wemen domestic abuse victim shelters and nonshelter

programs, and sexual assault programs, and children's advocacy centers as defined in section

260E.02, subdivision 5.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 611A.02, is amended to read:

611A.02 NOTIFICATION OF VICTIM SERVICES AND VICTIMS' RIGHTS.

Subd. 2. Victims' rights. (a) The Office of Justice Programs in the Department of Public

Safety shall update the twe model notices of the rights of crime victims required to be

distributed under this section and section 629.341.

(b) The initial notice of the rights of crime victims must be distributed by a peace officer
to each victim, as defined in section 611A.01, at the time of initial contact with the victim

at the scene or when the victim makes a report. The notice, which can be distributed as a

document or electronically, must inform a victim of:

(1) the victim's right to apply ferreparatiens to the Minnesota Crime Victims

Reimbursement Program to cover losses, not including property losses, resulting from a

violent crime and-the-telephonenumber-to-eall-to-request-an-applteation and information
on how to apply;

(2) the victim's right to request that the law enforcement agency withhold public access

to data revealing the victim's identity under section 13.82, subdivision 17, paragraph (d);
(3) the additional rights of domestic abuse victims as described in section 629.341;

(4) information on statewide crime victim help lines, the state address confidentiality

program, and the nearest crime victim assistance program or resource; and

(5) the v
prosecution-proeess;including-the right to-requestrestitution;-and right to be notified if an

offender is charged, to participate in the prosecution process, and to request restitution upon

conviction.
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6} (c) A supplemental notice must be distributed by law enforcement agencies in

homicide cases; and must include resources and information specific to homicide victims

and information on rights and procedures available under sections 524.2-803, 524.3-614,

and 524.3-615.

{e) (d) A supplemental notice of the rights of crime victims must be distributed by the
city or county attorney's office to each victim; within a reasonable time after the offender
is charged or petitioned. This notice must inform a victim of all the rights of crime victims
under this chapter.

Subd. 3. Notice of rights of victims in juvenile court. (a)The-Office-ofJustice Programs

eourtthatexplains A supplemental notice shall be distributed by the prosecutor's office to

each victim of an offense committed by a juvenile within a reasonable time after the petition

is filed. This notice must notify the victim of:

(1) the rights of victims in the juvenile court;
(2) when a juvenile matter is public;
(3) the procedures to be followed in juvenile court proceedings; and

(4) the right to attend certain juvenile court proceedings;

(5) the information related to the juvenile case that is available to victims; and

4) (6) other relevant matters.

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 611A.0315, is amended to read:

611A.0315 VICTIM NOTIFICATION; DOMESTIC ASSAULT; CRIMINAL
SEXUAL CONDUCT; HARASSMENT; STALKING.

Subdivision 1. Notice of decision not to prosecute. (a) A prosecutor shall make every
reasonable effort to notify a victim of domestic assault, a criminal sexual conduct offense,

or harassment or stalking, a violation of an order for protection, domestic abuse no contact

order, or harassment restraining order that the prosecutor has decided to decline prosecution

of the case or to dismiss the criminal charges filed against the defendant. Efforts to notify
the victim should include, in order of priority: (1) contacting the victim or a person designated

by the victim by telephone; and (2) contacting the victim by email or mail. If a suspect is
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still in custody, the a telephone or email notification attempt shall be made before the suspect

is released from custody.

(b) Whenever a prosecutor dismisses criminal charges against a person accused of
domestic assault, a criminal sexual conduct offense, er harassment or stalking, a violation

of an order for protection, or a violation of a harassment restraining order, a record shall be

made of the specific reasons for the dismissal. If the dismissal is due to the unavailability

of the witness, the prosecutor shall indicate the specific reason that the witness is unavailable.

(c) Whenever a prosecutor notifies a victim of domestic assault, criminal sexual conduct,
or harassment or stalking under this section, the prosecutor shall also inform the victim of
the method and benefits of seeking an order for protection under section 518B.01 or a
restraining order under section 609.748 and that the victim may seek an order without paying

a fee.

Subd. 2. Definitions. For the purposes of this section, the following terms have the

meanings given them.
(a) "Assault" has the meaning given it in section 609.02, subdivision 10.

(b) "Domestic assault" means an assault committed by the actor against a family or

household member.

(c) "Family or household member" has the meaning given it in section 518B.01,

subdivision 2.
(d) "Harassment" or "stalking" means a violation of section 609.749.
(e) "Criminal sexual conduct offense" means a violation of sections 609.342 to 609.3453.

(f) "Violation of an order for protection" has the meaning given in section 518B.01,

subdivision 14.

(g) "Violation of a harassment restraining order" has the meaning given in section

609.748, subdivision 6.

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 611A.06, is amended by adding a subdivision to

read:

Subd. 3b. Notice of submission of apology letter. (a) The commissioner of corrections

or other custodial authority shall make a good faith effort to notify the victim that the offender

has submitted a letter of apology. Notices shall only be provided to victims who have

submitted a written request for notification to the head of the county correctional facility

in which the offender is confined, or if committed to the Department of Corrections,

Article 4 Sec. 4. 50



51.1

51.2

51.3

51.4

51.5

51.6

51.7

51.8

51.9

51.10

51.11

51.12

51.13

51.14

51.15

51.16

51.17

51.18

51.19

51.20

51.21

51.22

51.23

51.24

51.25

51.26

51.27

51.28

51.29

51.30

51.31

51.32

04/04/25 03:59 pm COUNSEL KPB/PP/GC SCS1098A-1

submitted a written request for the notice to the commissioner of corrections or an electronic

request through the Department of Corrections electronic victim notification system. The

good faith effort to notify the victim must occur within 90 days of the filing of the apology

letter.

(b) Upon request, the commissioner of corrections or other custodial authority shall

notify the Board of Pardons, the Clemency Review Commission, or a court that the offender

submitted a letter of apology.

(c) The content of a letter of apology submitted by an offender is private data on

individuals, as defined in section 13.02, subdivision 12, or nonpublic data, as defined in

section 13.02, subdivision 9, except that the letter may be provided to the intended recipient

upon request.

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 629.341, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Notice of rights. The peace officer shall tell orally notify the victim whether

a about shelter or other services are available in the community and give the victim immediate

written notice of the legal rights-and remedies and resources available. The written notice

must include furnishing-the-vietim-a-eopy-of the following statement:

n

"IF YOU ARE A VICTIM OF DOMESTIC VIOLENCE, you can file a petition with

the court for an order for protection and ask that the person responsible for the domestic

violence:

(1) Be restrained from further acts of abuse;
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(2) Leave your household;

(3) Stay away from your residence, school, business, or place of employment; and

(4) Pay temporary support to you and for the minor child if the person is legally obligated

to do so.

In your petition, you can request a custody and parenting time order for a child in common

with the person."

The notice must include the reseureelisting,inclading telephone number,for the-area
program-that-prevides statewide domestic abuse help line and contact information for area

organizations providing services to victims of domestic abuse as shelter; designated by the

Office of Justice Programs in the Department of Public Safety.

Sec. 6. USE OF EXISTING SUPPLY.

A law enforcement agency, city attorney's office, or county attorney's office may exhaust

existing notices before producing materials with the modifications required under Minnesota

Statutes, sections 611A.02, subdivision 2, and 629.341, subdivision 3.

ARTICLE 5§
CORRECTIONAL PROVISIONS

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 14.03, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Rulemaking procedures. (a) The definition of a rule in section 14.02,

subdivision 4, does not include:

(1) rules concerning only the internal management of the agency or other agencies that

do not directly affect the rights of or procedures available to the public;

(2) an application deadline on a form; and the remainder of a form and instructions for
use of the form to the extent that they do not impose substantive requirements other than

requirements contained in statute or rule;

(3) the curriculum adopted by an agency to implement a statute or rule permitting or
mandating minimum educational requirements for persons regulated by an agency, provided
the topic areas to be covered by the minimum educational requirements are specified in

statute or rule;

(4) procedures for sharing data among government agencies, provided these procedures

are consistent with chapter 13 and other law governing data practices.
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(b) The definition of a rule in section 14.02, subdivision 4, does not include:
(1) rules of the commissioner of corrections:

(i) relating to the release, placement, term, revocation, and supervision of inmates on

work release, on parole, or serving a supervised release or conditional release terms;

(i1) on the internal management of institutions under the commissioner's control;-and

rales-adopted; and

(i11) under section 609.105 governing the inmates of these institutions under the

commissioner's control;

(2) rules relating to weight limitations on the use of highways when the substance of the

rules is indicated to the public by means of signs;
(3) opinions of the attorney general;

(4) the data element dictionary and the annual data acquisition calendar of the Department

of Education to the extent provided by section 125B.07;
(5) the occupational safety and health standards provided in section 182.655;
(6) revenue notices and tax information bulletins of the commissioner of revenue;

(7) uniform conveyancing forms adopted by the commissioner of commerce under

section 507.09;

(8) standards adopted by the Electronic Real Estate Recording Commission established
under section 507.0945; or

(9) the interpretive guidelines developed by the commissioner of human services to the

extent provided in chapter 245A.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 201.014, subdivision 2a, is amended to read:

Subd. 2a. Felony conviction; restoration of civil right to vote. An individual who is
ineligible to vote because of a felony conviction has the civil right to vote restored during
any period when the individual is not incarcerated for the offense. If the individual is later
incarcerated for the offense, the individual's civil right to vote is lost only during that period
of incarceration. For purposes of this subdivision only, an individual on work release under
section 241.26 or 244-065-er an individual released under section 631.425 is not deemed

to be incarcerated.
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Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 241.26, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Cemmissiener Granting work release. When-censistent-with-the puble
interest-and-the-publiesafety; (a) The commissioner of corrections may conditionally release

an inmate w

to work

at paid employment, seek employment, or participate in a vocational training or educational

programs:

(1) when consistent with the public interest and the public safety; and

(2) if the inmate has served at least one-half of the term of imprisonment.

(b) Release under this subdivision is an extension of the limits of confinement, and each

inmate se released shall must be confined in the correctional facility from which released

or in some other suitable place of confinement designated by the commissioner of corrections
during the hours the inmate is not employed, seeking employment, or engaged in a vocational
training or educational program, or, if employed, seeking employment, or engaged in a

vocational training or educational program, between the hours of such activity.

(c) A reasonable allowance for travel time and meals shall be permitted.

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 241.26, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Rules Policy. The commissioner of corrections shall-establishrulesfor placement

and-superviston-of sueh must adopt policy for placing and supervising inmates under
subdivision 1 and for administration-ef administrating programs authorized by this section.

When consistent with the public interest, the commissioner may grant furloughs to these
inmates participating in the programs authorized by this section who have spent at least 30
days in a residential work release center operated by or under the control of the commissioner

for a period eftime not to exceed their supervised release date.

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 241.26, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. Reveeation Rescinding work release. The willful failure of an inmate to report

to or return from planned employment, seeking employment, educational or vocational
training, or furlough as provided in subdivision 3 shall-be is considered an escape under
section 609.485. If an inmate violates any efthe policy rules previded-forin under
subdivision 3, the inmate's work placement, educational, or vocational training privileges

may be withdrawn by the commissioner.
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Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 241.26, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

Subd. 5. Earnings; work release account. (a) The net earnings of each inmate
participating in the work release program provided by this section may be collected by or
forwarded to the commissioner of corrections for deposit to the account of the inmate in
the work release account in the state treasury, or the inmate may be permitted to collect,
retain, and expend the net earnings from the inmate's employment underrales-established
according to policy adopted by the commissioner of corrections. The money collected by

or forwarded to the commissioner under-therules-shallremain remains under the control

of the commissioner for the sole benefit of the inmate. After making deductions for the
payment of state and local taxes, if necessary, and for repayment of advances and gate
money as provided in section 243.24, wages under the control of the commissioner and
wages retained by the inmate may be disbursed by the commissioner or expended by the

inmate for the following purposes and in the following order:

(1) the cost of the inmate's keep as determined by subdivision 7, which money shall be
deposited in the general fund of the state treasury if the inmate is housed in a state
correctional facility, or shall be paid directly to the place of confinement as designated by

the commissioner pursuant to subdivision 1;

(2) necessary travel expense to and from work and other incidental expenses of the

inmate;
(3) support of inmate's dependents, if any;
(4) court-ordered restitution, if any;
(5) fines, surcharges, or other fees assessed or ordered by the court;

(6) contribution to any programs established by law to aid victims of crime, provided

that the contribution must not be more than 20 percent of the inmate's gross wages;

(7) restitution to the commissioner of corrections ordered by a prison disciplinary hearing

officer for damage to property caused by an inmate's conduct;

(8) restitution to staff ordered by a prison disciplinary hearing officer for damage to

property caused by an inmate's conduct;

(9) restitution to another inmate ordered by a prison disciplinary hearing officer for

personal injury to another caused by an inmate's conduct;

(10) after the above expenditures, the inmate shall have discretion to direct payment of

the balance, if any, upon proper proof of personal legal debts; and
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(11) the balance, if any, shall be disbursed to the inmate as provided in section 243.24,

subdivision 1.

(b) The commissioner may authorize the payment of court-ordered restitution from an
inmate's wages when the restitution was court ordered as a sanction for the conviction of
an offense which is not the offense of commitment, including offenses which occurred prior
to the offense for which the inmate was committed to the commissioner. All money in the
work release account are appropriated annually to the commissioner of corrections for the

purposes of the work release program.

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 241.26, is amended by adding a subdivision to

read:

Subd. 8. Exempt from rulemaking. A commissioner policy or policy rule under this

section is not a rule under chapter 14 and is exempt from the rulemaking provisions under

chapter 14, including section 14.386.

Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 241.80, is amended to read:

241.80 AMERICAN INDIAN CULTURAL PROGRAM.

Subdivision 1. Authority. The commissioner of corrections shall develop a policy to
provide the cultural programming services listed in subdivision 2 to American Indian inmates

incarcerated individuals of all juvenile and adult state correctional facilities and

community-based correctional programs. The commissioner may, within the limits of
available money, contract with appropriate American Indian private, nonprofit organizations

to provide the cultural programming services.

Subd. 2. Cultural programming services. The policy shall include, but need not be
limited to, providing, within the limits of available money, spiritual and cultural programming

services having the following purposes:

(1) the teaching-of good-work-habits-and-the development of metivatienthreugh-werk

education and training needed for postincarceration self-sufficiency;

(2) the development of eultural pride-te-improve strengthened American Indian self-image
identity;
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(3) improved understanding of American Indian culture, traditions, and spiritual practices

for Department of Corrections staff;

(4) the development of attitudes-ef mutual-trust; respeet;-and-understanding-ameong
AmericanIndianfamily-members partnerships with Tribal Nations to address the unique

needs of American Indian incarcerated persons and promote approaches to rehabilitation

specific to this population;

(5) thefostering-of increased availability of medieine-men-and American Indian spiritual

leaders to teach American Indian immates incarcerated individuals about American Indian

history, cultural sensitivity;-andreligion and spiritual practices;

(6) the involvement of American Indian inmates incarcerated individuals in those aspects

of the correctional system that will aid in their rehabilitation; and

(7) the provision of services to American Indian #amates incarcerated individuals that

will facilitate their reentry into the community.

Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 242.10, 1s amended to read:

242.10 HEARING OFFICERS, POWERS; PROBATION, COMMITMENT,
PAROLE.

Subdivision 1. Designated hearing officers. The commissioner of corrections may

designate from among the members of the commissioner's staff; one or more hearing officers
and delegate to them the authority to grant or revoke probation, commit to an institution,
grant or revoke parole, or issue final discharge to any person under-the-eontrol-efthe

commisstonerpursuantto-acommitment committed to the commissioner by a juvenile court
of this state.

Subd. 2. Appealing order of hearing officer. Any person aggrieved by an order issued

by a hearing officer may appeal to the commissioner or te-areview-panel-established-by
the-commisstoner a designee within the department pursuant according to rules policy issued

by the commissioner.

Subd. 3. Exempt from rulemaking. A commissioner policy under this section is not a

rule under chapter 14 and is exempt from the rulemaking provisions under chapter 14,

including section 14.386.
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Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 242.19, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Retaking absconding and other person. The-written-order-ofthe-commissioner

Warrants to
take and detain any child committed to the commissioner of corrections by a juvenile court
who absconds from field supervision or escapes from confinement, violates furlough

conditions, or is released from court while on institution status are governed according to

section 243.051.

Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 242.44, 1s amended to read:

242.44 PUPH-S JUVENILES.

Subdivision 1. Receiving and housing juveniles. The commissioner of corrections, so

far as the accommodations of the correctional facilities and other means at the commissioner's
disposal will permit, may receive juvenile delinquents and juvenile offenders serving a
juvenile disposition under section 260B.130, subdivision 4. The commissioner's housing
of these individuals must be consistent with federal and state law, including established
admissions criteria for Minnesota Correctional Facility-Red Wing. The commissioner may
place these youths at employment, may provide education suitable to their years and capacity,

and may place them in suitable homes.

Subd. 2. Parole or discharge. (a) Under rules policy prescribed by the commissioner,

when deemed best for these youths, persons committed to the commissioner's care and
custody by a juvenile court may be paroled or discharged from the facility by the

commissioner.

(b) A commissioner policy under this subdivision is not a rule under chapter 14 and is

exempt from the rulemaking provisions under chapter 14, including section 14.386.

Subd. 3. Youth in facility. All pupils youth in the facility shall must be clothed,

instructed, and maintained by the commissioner of corrections.

Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 243.05, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Conditional release. (a) The Supervised Release Board may parole any
person sentenced to confinement in any state correctional facility for adults under the control

of the commissioner of corrections, provided that:
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(1) no inmate serving a life sentence for committing murder before May 1, 1980, other
than murder committed in violation of clause (1) of section 609.185 who has not been
previously convicted of a felony shall be paroled without having served 20 years, less the
diminution that would have been allowed for good conduct had the sentence been for 20

years;

(2) no inmate serving a life sentence for committing murder before May 1, 1980, who
has been previously convicted of a felony or though not previously convicted of a felony
is serving a life sentence for murder in the first degree committed in violation of clause (1)
of section 609.185 shall be paroled without having served 25 years, less the diminution

which would have been allowed for good conduct had the sentence been for 25 years;

(3) any inmate sentenced prior to September 1, 1963, who would be eligible for parole

had the inmate been sentenced after September 1, 1963, shall be eligible for parole; and

(4) any new rule or policy or change of rule or policy adopted by the commissioner of
corrections which has the effect of postponing eligibility for parole has prospective effect
only and applies only with respect to persons committing offenses after the effective date

of the new rule or policy or change.

(b) Upon being paroled and released, an inmate is and remains in the legal custody and
under the control of the commissioner, subject at any time to be returned to a facility of the

Department of Corrections established by law for the confinement or treatment of convicted

persons and the parole rescinded by the commissioner.
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D (c) Persons conditionally released; and those on probation under the supervision of

the commissioner of corrections pursuant to section 609.135 may be placed within or outside
the boundaries of the state at the discretion of the commissioner of corrections or the court,

and the limits fixed for these persons may be enlarged or reduced according to their conduct.

tg) (d) Except as otherwise provided in subdivision 1b, in considering applications for
conditional release or discharge, the commissioner is not required to hear oral argument
from any attorney or other person not connected with an adult correctional facility of the
Department of Corrections in favor of or against the parole or release of any inmates. The
commissioner may institute inquiries by correspondence, taking testimony, or otherwise,
as to the previous history, physical or mental condition, and character of the inmate and, to
that end, has the authority to require the attendance of the chief executive officer of any
state adult correctional facility and the production of the records of these facilities, and to
compel the attendance of witnesses. The commissioner is authorized to administer oaths to

witnesses for these purposes.

th) (e) Before revoking a nonviolent controlled substance offender's parole or probation
based on a technical violation, when the offender does not present a risk to the public and
the offender is amenable to continued supervision in the community, a parole or probation
agent must identify community options to address and correct the violation including, but
not limited to, inpatient substance use disorder treatment. If a probation or parole agent
determines that community options are appropriate and available in the state, the agent must
seek to restructure the offender's terms of release to incorporate those options. If an offender
on probation stipulates in writing to restructure the terms of release, a probation agent must

forward a report to the district court containing:
(1) the specific nature of the technical violation of probation;
(2) the recommended restructure to the terms of probation; and

(3) a copy of the offender's signed stipulation indicating that the offender consents to

the restructuring of probation.

) (f) The recommended restructuring of probation becomes effective when confirmed
by a judge. The order of the court is proof of confirmation and amends the terms of the

sentence imposed by the court under section 609.135.
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) (g) If a nonviolent controlled substance offender's parole or probation is revoked, the

offender's agent must first attempt to place the offender in a local jail.

o (h) For purposes of paragraphs ¢h) (e) to to) (h):

(1) "nonviolent controlled substance offender" means a person who meets the criteria

described under section 244.0513, subdivision 2, clauses (1), (2), and (5); and

(2) "technical violation" means any violation of a court order of probation or a condition
of parole, except an allegation of a subsequent criminal act that is alleged in a formal

complaint, citation, or petition.

Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 243.05, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Rules Policy on conditional release. (a) The commissioner of corrections may

must adopt rules-in-aceordance-with-chapter14;-the-Administrative- Procedure-Aet; policy

governing the procedures for granting ef conditional release and final discharge. The rales

policy may provide for the conduct and employment of persons conditionally released; and
other matters necessary to implement the duties conferred by law upon the commissioner

with respect to conditional release and discharge of persons.

(b) A commissioner policy under this subdivision is not a rule under chapter 14 and is

exempt from the rulemaking provisions under chapter 14, including section 14.386.

(c) For purposes of this subdivision, "conditional release" means a person on parole,

work release, or supervised release.

Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 243.05, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. Hearing officers; powers; duties. To carry out the powers and duties conferred
by this section, the commissioner of corrections may designate from among staff members;
one or more hearing officers and delegate to them any of the powers and duties conferred

by this section.

Sec. 15. [243.051] WARRANTS AND STOP ORDERS.

Subdivision 1. Warrants and stop orders; commissioner policy. (a) For purposes of

this section, "commissioner" means the commissioner of corrections.

(b) Consistent with this section, the commissioner must adopt policy governing warrants

and stop orders.
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(c) A commissioner policy under this section is not a rule under chapter 14 and is exempt

from the rulemaking provisions under chapter 14, including section 14.386.

Subd. 2. Warrants; generally. (a) The commissioner may issue warrants, including

nationwide warrants, for apprehension and detention in any of the following circumstances:

(1) when a person under the commissioner's supervision, including but not limited to a

person on parole, supervised release, conditional release, work release, or probation, absconds

from supervision or fails to abide by the conditions of their release;

(2) when a person on pretrial release absconds from pretrial release or fails to abide by

the conditions of pretrial release;

(3) when an inmate escapes from any state correctional facility under the commissioner's

control;

(4) when a convicted defendant fails to report postsentencing to their county authority

or to a state correctional facility; or

(5) when a child committed to the commissioner by a juvenile court absconds from field

supervision, escapes from confinement, violates furlough conditions, or is released from

court while on institution status.

(b) For an inmate under paragraph (a), clause (3), the commissioner must use all proper

means to apprehend and return the inmate, which may include offering a reward of no more

than $100 to be paid from the state treasury, for information leading to the arrest and return

to custody of the inmate.

(c) Any individual 18 years of age or older who is taken into custody under paragraph

(a), clause (5), may be detained according to section 260B.181, subdivision 4.

Subd. 3. Warrant authority. A warrant issued by the commissioner is sufficient authority

for any peace officer, state correctional investigator, or state parole or probation agent to

retake and place in actual custody any person.

Subd. 4. Preventing escape or enforcing discipline. When it appears necessary to

prevent escape or enforce discipline, any state parole and probation agent or state correctional

investigator may, without a warrant:

(1) take and detain any person on probation, parole, supervised release, conditional

release, or work release; and

(2) take one of the following actions:
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(1) for a person on probation, bring them before the court for further proceedings under

section 609.14; or

(11) for a person on parole, supervised release, conditional release, or work release, bring

them to the commissioner for action.

Subd. 5. Stop time. The commissioner may stop the time from running on sentences of

persons until they are taken into custody in the following circumstances:

(1) releasees who have absconded from supervision;

(2) inmates who have escaped from a state correctional facility; or

(3) convicted defendants who have failed to report postsentencing.

Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 243.88, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Private industry employment. (a) Any corporation operating a factory or
other business or commercial enterprise under this section may employ selected inmates of
the correctional institution upon whose grounds it operates and persons conditionally released
subject to the provisions of section 241.26. Persons conditionally released as provided in
this subdivision shall-be-deemed-to-be are parolees within the purview of United States
Code, title 49, section 60.

(b) Except as prohibited by applicable provisions of the United States Code, inmates of
state correctional institutions may be employed in the manufacture and processing of goods,
wares and merchandise for introduction into interstate commerce, provided that they are
paid no less than the prevailing minimum wages for work of a similar nature performed by

employees with similar skills in the locality in which the work is being performed.

Underrules (c) As prescribed by the commissioner of corrections, a portion of the wages
of each inmate employed as authorized by this subdivision, in an amount to be determined
by the commissioner, shall be set aside and kept by-the-ehiefexeecutive-officerofthe-faetlity
in the public welfare fund of the state for the benefit of the inmate and for the purpose of
assisting the inmate when leaving the facility on conditional release or by final discharge.
Any portion remaining undisbursed at the time of the inmate's final discharge shall be given

to the inmate upon final discharge.
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Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 243.88, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

Subd. 5. Deductions. Notwithstanding any other law to the contrary, any compensation
paid to inmates under this section is subject to section 243.23, subdivisions 2 and 3, and

rules policy of the commissioner of corrections.

Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 243.88, is amended by adding a subdivision to

read:

Subd. 6. Exempt from rulemaking. A commissioner prescription or policy under this

section is not a rule under chapter 14 and is exempt from the rulemaking provisions under

chapter 14, including section 14.386.

Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 244.04, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Reduction of sentence; inmates sentenced for crimes committed
before 1993. (a) Notwithstanding the provisions of section 609.11, subdivision 6, and
Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.109, subdivision 1, the term of imprisonment of any
inmate sentenced to a presumptive fixed sentence after May 1, 1980, and whose crime was
committed before August 1, 1993, shall be reduced in duration by one day for each two
days during which the inmate violates none of the disciplinary offense rules premulgated
adopted by the commissioner. The reduction shall accrue to the period of supervised release
to be served by the inmate, except that the period of supervised release for a sex offender
conditionally released by the commissioner under section 609.3455 is governed by that

provision.

(b) Except as otherwise provided in subdivision 2, if an inmate whose crime was
committed before August 1, 1993, violates a disciplinary offense rule premulgated-by-the
eommissioner, good time earned prior to the violation may not be taken away, but the inmate
may be required to serve an appropriate portion of the term of imprisonment after the

violation without earning good time.

Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 244.04, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Loss of good time. By-May1+1980; The commissioner shall- premulgaterules
must adopt policy specifying disciplinary offenses whieh that may result in the loss of good

time and the amount of good time whieh that may be lost as a result of each disciplinary
offense, including provision for restoration of good time. In no case shall an individual
disciplinary offense result in the loss of more than 90 days of good time; except that no

inmate confined in segregation for violation of a disciplinary rule shall be placed on
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supervised release until discharged or released from punitive segregation confinement, nor
shall an inmate in segregation for violation of a disciplinary rule for which the inmate could
also be prosecuted under the criminal laws earn good time while in segregation. The loss
of good time shall be considered to be a disciplinary sanction imposed upon an inmate, and
the procedure for the loss of good time and the rights of the inmate in the procedure shall
be those in effect for the imposition of other disciplinary sanctions at each state correctional

institution.

Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 244.04, is amended by adding a subdivision to

read:

Subd. 4. Exempt from rulemaking. A commissioner policy or disciplinary rule under

this section is not a rule under chapter 14 and is exempt from the rulemaking provisions

under chapter 14, including section 14.386.

Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 244.05, subdivision 1b, is amended to read:

Subd. 1b. Supervised release; inmates who commit crimes on or after August 1,
1993. (a) Except as provided in subdivisions 4, 4a, and 5, every inmate sentenced to prison
for a felony offense committed on or after August 1, 1993, shall serve a supervised release
term upon completion of the inmate's term of imprisonment and any disciplinary confinement
period imposed by the commissioner due to the inmate's violation of any disciplinary rule
adopted by the commissioner or refusal to participate in a rehabilitative program required
under section 244.03. The amount of time the inmate serves on supervised release is equal
to one-third of the inmate's fixed executed sentence, less any disciplinary confinement period
imposed by the commissioner and regardless of any earned incentive release credit applied

toward the individual's term of imprisonment under section 244.44.

(b) No inmate who violates a disciplinary rule or refuses to participate in a rehabilitative
program as required under section 244.03 shall be placed on supervised release until the
inmate has served the disciplinary confinement period for that disciplinary sanction or until
the inmate is discharged or released from punitive restrictive-housing confinement, whichever
is later. The imposition of a disciplinary confinement period shall be considered to be a
disciplinary sanction imposed upon an inmate, and the procedure for imposing the
disciplinary confinement period and the rights of the inmate in the procedure shall be those

in effect for the imposition of other disciplinary sanctions at each state correctional institution.

(c) A disciplinary rule under this subdivision is not a rule under chapter 14 and is exempt

from the rulemaking provisions under chapter 14, including section 14.386.
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te) (d) For purposes of this subdivision, "earned incentive release credit" has the meaning

given in section 244.41, subdivision 7.

Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 244.05, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Rules Policy. (a) The commissioner of corrections shall must adopt by-rule
standards-and-proeedures policies for the-establishment-of:

(1) establishing conditions of release and-the-revoeation-of;

(2) revoking supervised or conditional release, and-shallspeeify-the period-ofrevoeation

- including revocation procedures that must provide for due

process of law for the offender;

(3) assigning terms of reimprisonment for release violations; and

(4) extending terms of reimprisonment due to violations of disciplinary rules or other

factors specified in policy relating to community supervision or public safety.

(b) In no case may a term of reimprisonment exceed 12 months unless:

(1) the release violation involved a conviction for a felony offense;

(2) the commissioner finds the releasee to be a risk to the public; or

(3) the commissioner finds the releasee to be unamenable to supervision due to one or

more prior violations of the conditions of release.

b) (c) The commissioner may prohibit an inmate placed on parole, supervised release,
or conditional release from using adult-use cannabis flower as defined in section 342.01,
subdivision 3, or adult-use cannabis products as defined in section 342.01, subdivision 3,
hemp-derived consumer products as defined in section 342.01, subdivision 35, or
lower-potency hemp edibles as defined in section 342.01, subdivision 48, if the inmate
undergoes a chemical use assessment and abstinence is consistent with a recommended
level of care for the defendant in accordance with the criteria under section 254B.04,

subdivision 4.

te) (d) The commissioner of corrections shall not prohibit an inmate placed on parole,
supervised release, or conditional release from participating in the registry program as
defined in section 342.01, subdivision 61, as a condition of release or revoke a patient's
parole, supervised release, or conditional release or otherwise sanction a patient on parole,
supervised release, or conditional release solely for participating in the registry program or

for a positive drug test for cannabis components or metabolites.
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(e) A commissioner policy or disciplinary rule under this subdivision is not a rule under

chapter 14 and is exempt from the rulemaking provisions under chapter 14, including section

14.386.

Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 244.0513, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Conditional release authority. The commissioner of corrections has
the authority to release offenders committed to the commissioner's custody who meet the
requirements of this section and of any rules policy adopted by the commissioner. A

commissioner policy under this section is not a rule under chapter 14 and is exempt from

the rulemaking provisions under chapter 14, including section 14.386.

Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 244.0513, subdivision 7, is amended to read:

Subd. 7. Release procedures. The commissioner may deny conditional release to an
offender under this section if the commissioner determines that the offender's release may
reasonably pose a danger to the public or an individual. In making this determination, the
commissioner shall must follow the procedures in section 244.05, subdivision 5, and the

rules-adopted-by-the-commissionerunder-that-subdivisien policy thereunder. The

commissioner shall consider whether the offender was involved in criminal gang activity

during the offender's prison term. The commissioner shall also consider the offender's
custody classification and level of risk of violence and the availability of appropriate
community supervision for the offender. Conditional release granted under this section
continues until the offender's sentence expires, unless release is rescinded under subdivision
8. The commissioner may not grant conditional release unless a release plan is in place for
the offender that addresses, at a minimum, plans for aftercare, community-based substance

use disorder treatment, gaining employment, and securing housing.

Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 244.0513, subdivision 8, is amended to read:

Subd. 8. Conditional release. The conditions of release granted under this section are
governed by the statutes and rules policy governing supervised release under this chapter,
except that release may be rescinded without hearing by the commissioner if the
commissioner determines that continuation of the conditional release poses a danger to the
public or to an individual. If the commissioner rescinds an offender's conditional release,
the offender shall be returned to prison and shall serve the remaining portion of the offender's

sentence.
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Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 244.07, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Authority. If consistent with the public interest, the commissioner mays;
underrulespreseribed-by-the-eommisstener; furlough any inmate in custody to any point
within the state for up to five days. A furlough may be granted to assist the inmate with
family needs, personal health needs, or reintegration into society. No inmate may receive
more than three furloughs under this section within any 12-month period. Fhe-previstons
of This section shall-alse-apply applies to these inmates convicted of offenses prierte before
May 1, 1980.

Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 244.07, is amended by adding a subdivision to

read:

Subd. 3. Exempt from rulemaking. A commissioner determination under this section

is not a rule under chapter 14 and is exempt from the rulemaking provisions under chapter

14, including section 14.386.

Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 244.13, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Establishment. The commissioner of corrections shall establish programs
for those designated by the commissioner to serve all or part of a sentence on intensive
community supervision or all or part of a supervised release or parole term on intensive
supervised release. The adoption and modification of policies and procedures to implement

sections 244.05, subdivision 6, and 244.12 te244-15 and 244.13 are not subject to the
rulemaking procedures of chapter 14 beeause-these-policies-and-procedures-are-exeluded

A o A 40

-
U
-

™

including section 14.386. The commissioner shall locate the programs so that at least one-half

of the money appropriated for the programs in each year is used for programs in Community
Corrections Act counties. In awarding contracts for intensive supervision programs in
Community Corrections Act counties, the commissioner shall give first priority to programs
that utilize county employees as intensive supervision agents and shall give second priority
to programs that utilize state employees as intensive supervision agents. The commissioner
may award contracts to other providers in Community Corrections Act counties only if
doing so will result in a significant cost savings or a significant increase in the quality of
services provided, and only after notifying the chairs of the committees in the senate and

house of representatives with jurisdiction over criminal justice policy.
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Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 244.171, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. Sanctions. (a) The commissioner shall impose severe and meaningful sanctions
for violating the conditions of the challenge incarceration program. The commissioner shall

remove an offender from the challenge incarceration program if the offender:
(1) commits a material violation of or repeatedly fails to follow the rules of the program;
(2) commits any misdemeanor, gross misdemeanor, or felony offense; or

(3) presents a risk to the public, based on the offender's behavior, attitude, or abuse of
alcohol or controlled substances. The removal of an offender from the challenge incarceration
program is governed by the procedures in the commissioner's rales-adepted policy under

section 244.05, subdivision 2.

(b) An offender who is removed from the challenge incarceration program shall be
imprisoned for a time period equal to the offender's term of imprisonment, minus earned
good time if any, but in no case for longer than the time remaining in the offender's sentence.
"Term of imprisonment" means a time period equal to two-thirds of the sentence originally

executed by the sentencing court, minus jail credit, if any.

(c) Notwithstanding paragraph (b), an offender who has been removed from the challenge
incarceration program but who remains otherwise eligible for acceptance into the program
may be readmitted at the commissioner's discretion. An offender readmitted to the program
under this paragraph must participate from the beginning and complete all of the program's

phases.

Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 244.19, subdivision 1c, is amended to read:

Subd. 1c. Community supervision funding; eligibility for funding formula. (a) A

CPO jurisdiction:

(1) must collaborate with the commissioner to develop a comprehensive plan under

section 401.06; and

(2) 1s subject to all applicable eligibility provisions under chapter 401 necessary to

receive a subsidy under section 401.10.

(b) A non-CPO jurisdiction is eligible to receive a subsidy under section 401.10 but is

not a Community Corrections Act jurisdiction under chapter 401;-and. Except as provided

under section 401.115, the commissioner:

(1) is appropriated the jurisdiction's share of funding under section 401.10 for providing

probation services; and
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(2) may seek reimbursement from the jurisdiction according to subdivision 5Sa.

Sec. 32. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 244.20, 1s amended to read:

244.20 PROBATION; FELONY SUPERVISION.

(a) Notwithstanding sections 244.19, subdivisions 1 to 1d, and 609.135, subdivision 1,

the Department of Corrections:

(1) has exclusive responsibility for providing probation services for adult felons in
counties and Tribal Nations that do not take part in the Community Corrections Act subsidy

program under chapter 401; and

(2) to provide felony supervision, retains the county's or Tribal Nation's funding allotted

under section 401.10 for providing felony probation services.

(b) Paragraph (a), clause (2), does not apply to a Tribal Nation's subsidy under section
401.115.

Sec. 33. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 326.338, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. Protective agent. A person who for a fee, reward, or other valuable consideration
undertakes any of the following acts is considered to be engaged in the business of protective

agent:

(1) providing guards, private patrol, or other security personnel to protect persons or
their property or to prevent the theft, unlawful taking of goods, merchandise, or money, or
to prevent the misappropriation or concealment of goods, merchandise, money, or other

valuable things, or to procure the return of those things;

(2) physically responding to any alarm signal device, burglar alarm, television camera,
still camera, or a mechanical or electronic device installed or used to prevent or detect

burglary, theft, shoplifting, pilferage, losses, or other security measures;
(3) providing armored car services for the protection of persons or property;

(4) controlling motor traffic on public streets, roads, and highways for the purpose of

escorting a funeral procession and oversized loads;

(5) providing management and control of crowds for the purpose of safety and protection;

or

(6) providing guards or other security personnel to transport prisoners or any other person

arrested on a warrant, except that this does not apply to the transport or escort of offenders
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by staff of the Department of Corrections; the transport of a person by the sheriff of a county
to the appropriate adult or juvenile correctional facility as designated by the commissioner
of corrections or to and from court in connection with postconviction, habeas corpus, or
intrastate mandatory disposition of detainers proceedings; the transfer of a person by
emergency medical services personnel; or the transfer of a person by a peace officer as

defined in section 626.84, subdivision 1, paragraph (c), or employed by a federal law

enforcement agency.

A person covered by this subdivision may perform the traffic-control duties in clause
(4) in place of a police officer when a special permit is required, provided that the protective

agent is first-aid qualified.

Sec. 34. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 401.01, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this chapter, the terms defined in this subdivision

have the meanings given them.

(b) "CCA jurisdiction" means a county or Tribal Nation that participates in the

Community Corrections Act, the subsidy program under this chapter.
(c) "Commissioner" means the commissioner of corrections or a designee.
(d) "Conditional release" means:

(1) parole, supervised release, or conditional release as authorized by section 609.3455,
subdivision 6, 7, or 8; Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.108, subdivision 6; or Minnesota

Statutes 2004, section 609.109, subdivision 7;
(2) work release as authorized by sections 241.26;244-065; and 631.425; and

(3) probation, furlough, and any other authorized temporary release from a correctional

facility.

(e) "Detain" means to take into actual custody, including custody within a local

correctional facility.
(f) "Joint board" means the board under section 471.59.
(g) "Local advisory board" means:
(1) for a CCA jurisdiction, a corrections advisory board as defined in section 401.08;

(2) for a non-CCA jurisdiction other than a Tribal Nation, a human services advisory

board as defined in section 402.02, or advisory committee or task force as defined in section

402.03; or
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(3) for a Tribal Nation that is a non-CCA jurisdiction, a board with membership as
determined by the Tribal Nation.

(h) "Non-CCA jurisdiction" means a county or Tribal Nation that is not participating in
the Community Corrections Act subsidy program and provides or receives probation services

according to section 244.19.

(1) "Probation officer" means a county or Tribal probation officer under a CCA or

non-CCA jurisdiction appointed with the powers under section 244.19.
(J) "Release" means to release from actual custody.

(k) "Tribal Nation" means a federally recognized Tribal Nation within the boundaries

of the state of Minnesota.

Sec. 35. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 401.03, is amended to read:

401.03 RULEMAKING AUTHORITY; TECHNICAL ASSISTANCE.

(a) The commissioner must, as provided in chapter 14, adopt rules to implement this
chapter and provide consultation and technical assistance to counties and Tribal Nations to

help them develop comprehensive plans, including abbreviated plans.

(b) The time limit to adopt rules under section 14.125 does not apply.

Sec. 36. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 401.06, is amended by adding a subdivision to

read:

Subd. 1a. Commissioner approval required for allotment. A Tribal Nation is ineligible

for its allotment under section 401.10, subdivision 1, paragraph (e), unless an abbreviated

comprehensive plan has been approved by the commissioner. The abbreviated plan must

at a minimum describe the community supervision services or reentry services for which

the funding will be utilized and provide a budget for those services.

Sec. 37. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 401.10, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Community supervision funding formula. (a) Beginning July 1, 2023,
the community supervision subsidy paid to each county, the commissioner for supervision
of non-CCA jurisdictions served by the Department of Corrections, and each applicable

Tribal Nation under-paragraph(e) providing services as a CCA jurisdiction or CPO

jurisdiction as defined in section 244.19, subdivision 1a, paragraph (b), equals the sum of:

(1) a base funding amount equal to $150,000; and
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(2) a community supervision formula equal to the sum of:

(1) for individuals with a felony sentence, the felony per diem rate of $5.62 shall be

multiplied by the average total population over the three most recent years, as reported in

the probation surveys published by the commissioner. This population includes the county

or Tribal Nation's adult felony population, adult supervised release population, adult parole

population, juvenile supervised release population, and parole populations. The resulting

amount shall then be multiplied by 365 to calculate the total annual allocation; and

(i1) for individuals sentenced for a gross misdemeanor, misdemeanor, or under juvenile

probation, the felony per diem rate of $5.62 shall be multiplied by 0.5, and then multiplied

by the average total population over the three most recent years, as reported in the probation

surveys published by the commissioner. This population includes the county or Tribal

Nation's gross misdemeanor population, misdemeanor population, and juvenile probation

population. The resulting amount shall then be multiplied by 365 to calculate the total annual

allocation.

(b) For a non-CCA jurisdiction under section 244.19, subdivision 1b, paragraph (b) or
(c), the base funding amount must be shared equally between the jurisdiction and the

commissioner for the provision of felony supervision under section 244.20.

(c) If in any year the total amount appropriated for the purpose of this section is more
than or less than the total of base funding plus community supervision formula funding for
all counties and applicable Tribal Nations, the sum of each county's and applicable Tribal
Nation's base funding plus community supervision formula funding is adjusted by the ratio
of amounts appropriated for this purpose divided by the total of base funding plus community

supervision formula funding for all counties and applicable Tribal Nations.
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(d) If in any year the base funding plus the community supervision formula amount
based on what was appropriated in fiscal year 2024 is less than the funding paid to the
county in fiscal year 2023, the difference is added to the community supervision formula
amount for that county. A county is not eligible for additional funding under this paragraph
unless the base funding plus community supervision formula results in an increase in funding
for the county based on what was appropriated in the previous fiscal year. This paragraph

expires June 30, 2029.

D (e) Minnesota Rehabilitation and Reinvestment Act savings under section 244.50,

subdivision 4, clause (2), are appropriated to each CCA jurisdiction and non-CCA jurisdiction
served by the Department of Corrections by dividing the three-year average of the number
of individuals on supervised release and intensive supervised release within the jurisdiction
by the three-year average of the total number of individuals under supervised release and

intensive supervised release statewide, using the numbers reported annually in the Probation

Survey report.

Sec. 38. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 401.10, is amended by adding a subdivision to

read:

Subd. 1a. Interstate Transfer Unit. Prior to disbursing the community supervision

subsidy in subdivision 1, the commissioner shall prorate the cost of the Interstate Transfer

Unit based upon the county's share of the probation population as reported in the most recent

probation survey and deduct that amount from the county's subsidy.

Sec. 39. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 401.10, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. Report. {a) By January 15, 2025, and every odd year thereafter, the

commissioner must submit a report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the
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legislative committees and divisions with jurisdiction over public safety finance and policy.

At a minimum, the report must summarize and contain the following data:

(1) the commissioner's most recent workload study under section 401.17, subdivision

4; and

3) (2) projected growth in the community supervision formula calculated by analyzing

easelead supervision population trends and data.

Sec. 40. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 401.11, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Policy items. (a) Except for an abbreviated comprehensive plan submitted

under section 401.115, a comprehensive plan submitted to the commissioner for approval

under section 401.06 must include items prescribed by commissioner policy and may include

the following:

(1) the manner in which presentence and postsentence investigations and reports for the

district courts and social history reports for the juvenile courts will be made;

(2) the manner in which conditional release services to the courts and persons under

jurisdiction of the commissioner will be provided;

(3) a program for detaining, supervising, and treating persons under pretrial detention

or under commitment;
(4) delivery of other correctional services;

(5) proposals for new programs, which proposals must demonstrate a need for the
program, and the program's purpose, objective, administrative structure, staffing pattern,
staff training, financing, evaluation process, degree of community involvement, client

participation, and duration;

(6) descriptions of programs that adhere to best practices for assessing risk and using
interventions that address an individual's needs while tailoring supervision and interventions

by using risk, need, and responsivity principles; and

(7) data on expenditures, costs, and programming results and outcomes for individuals

under community supervision.

(b) The commissioner must develop in policy budgetary requirements for comprehensive

plans to ensure the efficient and accountable expenditure of a county's or Tribal Nation's
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subsidy for correctional services and programming to produce successful community

supervision outcomes.

Sec. 41. [401.115] NONPARTICIPATING TRIBAL NATIONS.

Subdivision 1. Subsidy amount. A Tribal Nation electing not to provide services as a

CCA jurisdiction or a CPO jurisdiction under section 244.19, subdivision 1a, paragraph (b),

is eligible for a subsidy of $250,000 annually to purchase or provide community supervision

services or reentry services, including contracted services.

Subd. 2. Eligibility for subsidy. A Tribal Nation is eligible to receive funding under

subdivision 1 upon submission and approval by the commissioner of an abbreviated

comprehensive plan. Section 401.08 does not apply. The abbreviated plan must comply

with commissioner-developed standards, and at minimum:

(1) describe the community supervision services or reentry services for which the funding

will be utilized;

(2) identify a steering committee to oversee the use of funds; and

(3) provide a budget for those services.

Once approved, the abbreviated comprehensive plan is valid for two years.

Subd. 3. Paying subsidy. A Tribal Nation receiving the subsidy under subdivision 1

must be paid according to section 401.14.

Subd. 4. Eligibility for community supervision funding formula. A Tribal Nation

electing to become a CCA jurisdiction or a non-CCA jurisdiction under section 244.19,

subdivision 1b, paragraph (b) or (c), is an applicable Tribal Nation under section 401.10,

subdivision 1, paragraphs (a) to (¢), and:

(1) has the Tribal Nation's funding amount under subdivision 1 transferred to the

community supervision formula amount appropriated for the purpose of section 401.10;

(2) is allotted a base funding amount equal to $150,000 plus an amount as determined

according to the community supervision formula under section 401.10, subdivision 1,

paragraph (a), clause (2); and

(3) 1s subject to all requirements relating to providing correctional services in section

244.19 and chapter 401.
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Sec. 42. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 401.12, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Not expending full subsidy amount. If a county or Tribal Nation is unable to
expend the full amount of the subsidy or allotment to which it would be entitled in the first

year of a biennium, the commissioner must:
(1) retain the surplus; and

(2) disburse the surplus in the second year of the biennium if the county or Tribal Nation

can demonstrate a need for and ability to expend the surplus.

Sec. 43. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 401.14, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Payment. After a county or Tribal Nation becomes compliant with the

prerequisites for receiving the subsidy or allotment under section 401.10 and the

commissioner approves the applicable comprehensive plan, the commissioner must determine
whether funds exist to pay the subsidy or allotment and proceed to pay it in accordance with

applicable law.

Sec. 44. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 401.17, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Establishment; members. (a) The commissioner must establish a
Community Supervision Advisory Committee to develop and make recommendations to
the commissioner on standards for probation, supervised release, and community supervision.

The committee consists of 19 members as follows:

(1) two directors appointed by the Minnesota Association of Community Corrections

Act Counties;

(2) two probation directors appointed by the Minnesota Association of County Probation

Officers;

(3) three county commissioner representatives appointed by the Association of Minnesota

Counties;

(4) two behavioral health, treatment, or programming providers who work directly with
individuals on correctional supervision, one appointed by the Department of Human Services

and one appointed by the Minnesota Association of County Social Service Administrators;
(5) two representatives appointed by the Minnesota Indian Affairs Council;
(6) two commissioner-appointed representatives from the Department of Corrections;

(7) the chair of the statewide Evidence-Based Practice Advisory Committee;

Article 5 Sec. 44. 77



78.1

78.2

78.3

78.4

78.5

78.6

78.7

78.8

78.9

78.10

78.11

78.12

78.13

78.14

78.15

78.16

78.17

78.18

78.19

78.20

78.21

78.22

78.23

78.24

78.25

78.26

78.27

78.28

78.29

78.30

78.31

04/04/25 03:59 pm COUNSEL KPB/PP/GC SCS1098A-1

(8) three individuals w
each-ef the-state's-three-community superviston-delrverysystems with varied experiences

in community supervision, reflecting the diversity of the state's supervision frameworks as

well as demographic and geographic diversity appointed by the commissioner in consultation

with the Minnesota Association of County Probation Officers and the Minnesota Association

of Community Corrections Act Counties;
(9) an advocate for victims of crime appointed by the commissioner; and

(10) arepresentative from a community-based research and or advocacy entity appointed

by the commissioners;

(11) two judicial representatives, one from the seven-county metropolitan area and one

from greater Minnesota, appointed by the Minnesota Judicial Council;

(12) one prosecutor appointed by the Minnesota County Attorneys Association; and

(13) one defense attorney appointed by the Minnesota State Public Defender.

(b) When an appointing authority selects an individual for membership on the committee,
the authority must make reasonable efforts to reflect geographic diversity and to appoint

qualified members of protected groups, as defined under section 43A.02, subdivision 33.
(c) Chapter 15 applies to the extent consistent with this section.

(d) The commissioner must convene the first meeting of the committee on or before

October 1, 2023.

Sec. 45. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 401.17, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

Subd. 5. Data collection; report. (a) By June 1, 2024, the advisory committee, in
consultation with the Minnesota Counties Computer Cooperative, must create a method to
(1) standardize data classifications across the three community supervision systems, and
(2) collect data for the commissioner to publish in an annual report to the chairs and ranking
minority members of the legislative committees and divisions with jurisdiction over public

safety finance and policy.

(b) The advisory committee's method, at a minimum, must provide for collecting the

following data:
(1) the number of individuals sentenced to supervision each year;

(2) the offense levels, offense types, and assessed risk levels for which individuals are

sentenced to supervision;
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(3) violation and revocation rates and the identified grounds for the violations and
revocations, including final disposition of the violation action such as execution of the

sentence, imposition of new conditions, or a custodial sanction;
(4) the number of individuals granted early discharge from probation;

(5) the number of individuals restructured on supervision, including imposition of new

conditions of release; and

(6) the number of individuals revoked from supervision and the identified grounds for

revocation.

(c) Beginning January1S May 1, 2025, as part of the report under section 24321+ 244.21,
subdivision 2, the commissioner must include data collected under the committee method
established under this subdivision. The commissioner must analyze the collected data by

race, gender, and county, including Tribal Nations.

(d) Nothing in this section overrides the commissioner's authority to require additional

data be provided under other law.

Sec. 46. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 609.105, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Place of confinement. (a) The commissioner of corrections shall determine
the place of confinement in a prison, reformatory, or other facility of the Department of
Corrections established by law for the confinement of convicted persons and prescribe
reasonable conditions and rules for their employment, conduct, instruction, and discipline
within or without the facility. When the remaining term of imprisonment for a convicted
person upon commitment is 90 days or less, the commissioner of corrections may contract
with a county for placement of the person in a county jail or detention center for the

remainder of the person's term.

(b) A commissioner determination, prescription, or policy rule under this section is not

a rule under chapter 14 and is exempt from the rulemaking provisions under chapter 14,

including section 14.386.

Sec. 47. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 609.495, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Definition of crime. (a) Whoever harbors, conceals, aids, or assists by
word or acts another whom the actor knows or has reason to know has committed a crime
under the laws of this or another state or of the United States with intent that such offender

shall avoid or escape from arrest, trial, conviction, or punishment, may be sentenced to
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imprisonment for not more than three years or to payment of a fine of not more than $5,000,

or both if the crime committed or attempted by the other person is a felony.

(b) Whoever knowingly harbors, conceals, or aids a person who is on probation, parole,
or supervised release because of a felony level conviction and for whom an arrest and
detention order has been issued, with intent that the person evade or escape being taken into
custody under the order, may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than three years
or to payment of a fine of not more than $5,000, or both. As used in this paragraph, "arrest
and detention order" means a written order to take and detain a probationer, parolee, or
supervised releasee that is issued under section 243-05;subdiviston 1244195 243.051;
244.1951; or 401.025.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2025, and applies to crimes

committed on or after that date.

Sec. 48. Laws 2023, chapter 52, article 11, section 31, is amended to read:

Sec. 31. MENTAL HEALTH UNIT PILOT PROGRAM.

(a) The commissioner of corrections shall establish a pilot program with interested
counties to provide mental health care to individuals with serious and persistent mental
illness who are incarcerated in county jails. The pilot program must require the participating
counties to pay according to Minnesota Statutes, section 243.51, a per diem for
reimbursement of the Mental Health Unit at the Minnesota Correctional Facility - Oak Park

Heights, and other costs incurred by the Department of Corrections.

(b) The commissioner in consultation with the Minnesota Sheriffs' Association shall
develop program protocols, guidelines, and procedures and qualifications for participating
counties and incarcerated individuals to be treated in the Mental Health Unit. The program
is limited to a total of five incarcerated individuals from the participating counties at any
one time. Incarcerated individuals must velunteerto-be-treated-in-the-unit-and be able to

participate in programming with other incarcerated individuals. A licensed mental health

professional must evaluate the incarcerated individual and recommend the individual to

receive treatment in the unit.

(c) The Minnesota Correctional Facility - Oak Park Heights warden, director of
psychology, and associate director of behavioral health, or a designee of each, in consultation
with the Minnesota Sheriffs' Association, the Minnesota branch of the National Association

on Mental Illness, and the Department of Human Services, shall oversee the pilot program.
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te) (d) The pilot program expires November16;2024 August 1, 2027.

Sec. 49. REPEALER.

(a) Minnesota Statutes 2024, sections 243.58; 244.065, subdivision 1; 253.21; and 253.23,

are repealed.

(b) Minnesota Rules, parts 2940.0100, subparts 1, 2, 3,4,5,6,7,8,9, 10, 12, 13, 14,
16,17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 31, 32, 33, and 34; 2940.0200;
2940.0300; 2940.0400; 2940.0500; 2940.0600; 2940.0700; 2940.0800; 2940.0900;
2940.1000; 2940.1100; 2940.1200; 2940.1300; 2940.1400; 2940.1500; 2940.1600;
2940.1700; 2940.1800; 2940.1900; 2940.2000; 2940.2100; 2940.2200; 2940.2300;
2940.2400; 2940.2500; 2940.2600; 2940.2700; 2940.2800; 2940.2900; 2940.3000;
2940.3100; 2940.3200; 2940.3300; 2940.3400; 2940.3500; 2940.3600; 2940.3700;
2940.3800; 2940.3900; 2940.4000; 2940.4100; 2940.4200; 2940.4300; 2940.4400;
2940.4500; and 2940.5700, are repealed.

ARTICLE 6
CORRECTIONAL LICENSING PROVISIONS

Section 1. [241.011] LICENSING AND INSPECTING LOCAL CORRECTIONAL
FACILITIES.

Subdivision 1. Scope. Unless otherwise provided by law, sections 241.011 to 241.013

apply to local correctional facilities licensed by the commissioner of corrections.

Subd. 2. Definitions. (a) For purposes of sections 241.011 to 241.021, the terms defined

in this subdivision have the meanings given.

(b) "Commissioner" means the commissioner of corrections.

(c) "Critical incident" has the meaning given in Minnesota Rules, part 2960.0020, subpart
24.
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82.1 (d) "Department" means the Department of Corrections.

82.2 (e) "Facility administrator" means the officer in charge of a local correctional facility.
82.3 (f) "Local correctional facility" means:

82.4 (1) for a facility licensed to detain or house primarily adults, a facility with the primary

82.5  purpose of serving individuals placed in the facility by:

82.6 (1) a court;

82.7 (ii) a court services department;
82.8 (ii1) a parole authority; or
82.9 (iv) another correctional agency having dispositional power over individuals charged

82.10  with, convicted, or adjudicated guilty or delinquent; and

82.11 (2) for a facility licensed to detain or serve juveniles, a facility, including a group home

82.12  having a residential component, serving juveniles for the primary purpose of:

82.13 (1) residential care and treatment;

82.14 (ii) detention; or

82.15 (111) foster care services for children in need of out-of-home placement.

82.16 (g) "State correctional facility" means a correctional facility under the commissioner's

82.17  control.

82.18 Subd. 3. Local correctional facilities; inspection and licensing. (2) The commissioner

82.19  must inspect and license all local correctional facilities throughout the state established and

82.20  operated:

82.21 (1) for detaining, confining, or housing individuals confined or incarcerated in the

82.22  facilities; or

82.23 (2) consistent with section 241.013, subdivision 3, paragraph (a), for detaining or serving

82.24  juveniles placed in the facilities by a correctional or noncorrectional agency.

82.25 (b) No individual, corporation, partnership, voluntary association, or other private

82.26  organization legally responsible for operating a local correctional facility may operate the

82.27  facility unless it has an active license from the commissioner. Private local correctional

82.28 facilities have the authority of section 624.714, subdivision 13, if the commissioner licenses

82.29  the facility with the authority and the facility meets the requirements of section 243.52.
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(c) The department's inspection unit must report directly to a division head outside of

the correctional institutions division.

Subd. 4. Inspecting facilities for compliance; publishing inspection reports. (a)

Unless the commissioner determines otherwise, the commissioner must inspect all local

correctional facilities at least once every two years to determine compliance with the

minimum standards established according to sections 241.011 to 241.013 or any other law

related to minimum standards and conditions of confinement.

(b) The commissioner must have access to the facility's buildings, grounds, books,

records, and staff and to individuals confined, incarcerated, or housed in or served by local

correctional facilities. The commissioner may require facility administrators to furnish all

information and statistics that the commissioner deems necessary at a time and place

designated by the commissioner.

(c) The commissioner must post each facility inspection report publicly on the

department's website within 30 days after completing an inspection.

Subd. 5. Granting license; expiration. (a) The commissioner must grant a license for

up to two years to:

(1) any facility found to conform to minimum standards; or

(2) any facility that the commissioner determines is making satisfactory progress toward

substantial conformity and any minimum standards not being met do not impact the interests

and well-being of the individuals confined, incarcerated, or housed in or served by the

facility.

(b) A limited license may be issued to effectuate a facility closure.

(c) Unless otherwise provided by law, all licenses issued under sections 241.011 to

241.013 expire 12:01 a.m. on the day after the expiration date stated on the license.

Subd. 6. Providing and accessing facility data. (a) The commissioner may require that

any information under sections 241.011 to 241.013 be provided through the department's

detention information system.

(b) Notwithstanding chapter 13 or any other state law classifying or restricting access

to data, a facility administrator must furnish to the commissioner all data available to a local

correctional facility that the commissioner deems necessary for reviewing any critical

incident or emergency or unusual occurrence at the facility.
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(c) The commissioner may take action against a facility's license according to section

241.012 if a facility administrator fails to provide or grant access to relevant information

or statistics requested by the commissioner that are necessary to conduct or complete any

of the following:

(1) inspections;

(2) reviews of emergency or unusual occurrences; or

(3) reviews of critical incidents.

Subd. 7. Reporting; deaths, emergencies or unusual occurrences, and critical

incidents. (a) A facility administrator must report to the commissioner when:

(1) an individual detained, confined, or housed in the facility dies at the facility; or

(2) an individual dies while receiving medical care stemming from an incident or need

for medical care at the facility that occurred while the individual was detained, confined,

or housed in the facility.

(b) Paragraph (a), clause (2), applies regardless of whether:

(1) the individual was considered detained in the facility while receiving the medical

care; or

(2) for a facility that is not a jail, the individual was subject to the facility's authority

while receiving the medical care.

(c) A facility administrator must report a death under this subdivision as soon as

practicable, but no later than 24 hours of receiving knowledge of the death, and must include

any demographic information required by the commissioner.

(d) Except for deaths under paragraphs (a) to (c), all facility administrators must report

all critical incidents or, as defined by rule, emergency or unusual occurrences, to the

commissioner within ten days of the incident or occurrence, including any demographic

information required by the commissioner. For a local adult correctional facility, the facility

administrator must report uses of force by facility staff that result in substantial bodily harm

or suicide attempts.

(e) The commissioner must consult with the Minnesota Sheriffs' Association and a

representative from the Minnesota Association of Community Corrections Act Counties

who is responsible for operating a local adult correctional facility to define, for reporting

under statute or rule, use of force that results in substantial bodily harm.
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Subd. 8. Death review teams. (a) If a local correctional facility receives information of

the death of an individual who died under the circumstances described in subdivision 7,

paragraph (a), the following individuals must, within 90 days of the death, review the

circumstances of the death and assess for preventable mortality and morbidity, including

recommending policy or procedure change:

(1) the facility administrator;

(2) a medical expert of the facility's choosing who did not provide medical services to

the individual and who is licensed as a physician or physician assistant by the Board of

Medical Practice under chapter 147 or 147A; and

(3) if appropriate, a mental health expert.

(b) The investigating law enforcement agency may provide documentation, participate

in, or provide documentation and participate in the review if criminal charges are not brought.

A preliminary autopsy report must be provided as part of the review and any subsequent

autopsy findings as available.

(c) The facility administrator must provide notice to the commissioner via the

department's detention information system that the facility has conducted a review and

identify any recommendations for changes in policy, procedure, or training that will be

implemented.

(d) Any report or other documentation created for purposes of a facility death review is

confidential data on individuals, as defined in section 13.02, subdivision 3. Nothing in this

section relieves the facility administrator from complying with the notice of death to the

commissioner required under subdivision 7.

Subd. 9. Rulemaking. (a) The commissioner must adopt rules establishing minimum

standards for local adult and juvenile correctional facilities for their management, operation,

and physical condition and the security, safety, health, treatment, and discipline of individuals

confined, incarcerated, or housed in or served by the facilities. The minimum standards for

local adult correctional facilities must include but are not limited to specific guidance

pertaining to:

(1) screening, appraisal, assessment, and treatment for confined or incarcerated individuals

with mental illness or substance use disorders;

(2) a policy on the involuntary administration of medications;

(3) suicide prevention plans and training;
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(4) verification of medications in a timely manner;

(5) well-being checks;

(6) discharge planning, including providing prescribed medications to individuals

confined or incarcerated in correctional facilities upon release;

(7) a policy on referrals or transfers to medical or mental health care in a noncorrectional

institution;

(8) use of segregation and mental health checks;

(9) critical incident debriefings;

(10) clinical management of substance use disorders and opioid overdose emergency

procedures;

(11) apolicy regarding identification of confined or incarcerated individuals with special

needs;

(12) a policy regarding the use of telehealth;

(13) self-auditing of compliance with minimum standards;

(14) information sharing with medical personnel and when medical assessment must be

facilitated;

(15) a code of conduct policy for facility staff and annual training;

(16) a policy on reviewing all circumstances surrounding the death of an individual

detained, confined, or housed in the facility; and

(17) dissemination of a rights statement made available to confined or incarcerated

individuals.

(b) Nothing in this section limits the commissioner's authority to adopt rules establishing

standards of eligibility for counties to receive funds under chapter 401 or to require counties

to comply with operating standards that the commissioner establishes as a condition precedent

for counties to receive the funding.

(c) The time limit to adopt rules under section 14.125 does not apply to amendments to

rule chapters in effect on the effective date of this section.
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Sec. 2. [241.012] LICENSING ACTIONS AGAINST LOCAL CORRECTIONAL
FACILITIES.

Subdivision 1. Correction order; conditional license. (a) For any local correctional

facility, the commissioner must:

(1) promptly notify the facility administrator and the facility's governing board of a

deficiency if the commissioner finds that:

(1) the facility does not substantially conform to the minimum standards established by

the commissioner and is not making satisfactory progress toward substantial conformance;

and

(i1) the nonconformance does not present an imminent risk of life-threatening harm or

serious physical injury to the individuals confined, incarcerated, or housed in or served by

the facility; and

(2) 1ssue a correction order or a conditional license order requiring that the deficiency

be remedied within a reasonable and specified period.

(b) A conditional license order may restrict the use of any facility that does not

substantially conform to minimum standards, including by:

(1) imposing conditions limiting operation of the facility or parts of the facility;

(2) reducing facility capacity;

(3) limiting intake;

(4) limiting length of detention or placement for individuals; or

(5) imposing detention or placement limitations based on the needs of the confined,

incarcerated, or housed individuals or individuals served by the facility.

(c) A correction order or conditional license order must clearly state the following:

(1) the specific minimum standards violated, noting the implicated rule or statute;

(2) the findings that constitute a violation of minimum standards;

(3) the corrective action needed;

(4) the time allowed to correct each violation; and

(5) if a license is made conditional:

(1) the length and terms of the conditional license;

(1) any conditions limiting operation of the facility or parts of the facility; and
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(iii) the reasons for making the license conditional.

(d) Nothing in this section prohibits the commissioner from ordering a revocation under

subdivision 3 before issuing a correction order or conditional license order.

Subd. 2. Requesting review of conditional license order. (a) A facility administrator

may request that the commissioner review the findings in a conditional license order under

subdivision 1 on the grounds that satisfactory progress toward substantial compliance with

minimum standards has been made, supported by evidence of correction. If appropriate, the

request may include a written schedule for compliance.

(b) Within ten business days of receiving a request, the commissioner must review the

evidence of correction and the progress made toward substantial compliance with minimum

standards.

(c) When the commissioner has assurance that satisfactory progress toward substantial

compliance with minimum standards is being made, the commissioner must:

(1) modify or lift any conditions limiting operation of the facility or parts of the facility;

(2) remove the conditional license order.

Subd. 3. License revocation order. (a) After due notice to a facility administrator of

the commissioner's intent to issue a revocation order, the commissioner may issue an order

revoking a facility's license if the commissioner finds that:

(1) the facility does not conform to minimum standards or is not making satisfactory

progress toward substantial compliance with minimum standards; and

(2) the nonconformance does not present an imminent risk of life-threatening harm or

serious physical injury to the individuals confined, incarcerated, or housed in or served by

the facility.

(b) The notice of intent to issue a revocation order must include:

(1) the citation to minimum standards that have been violated,

(2) the nature and severity of each violation;

(3) whether the violation is recurring or nonrecurring;

(4) the effect of the violation on individuals confined, incarcerated, or housed in or

served by the facility;
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(5) an evaluation of the risk of harm to individuals confined, incarcerated, or housed in

or served by the facility; and

(6) relevant facts, conditions, and circumstances on the facility's operation, including at

a minimum;

(1) specific facility deficiencies that endanger the health or safety of individuals confined,

incarcerated, or housed in or served by the facility;

(1) substantiated complaints relating to the facility; or

(ii1) any other evidence that the facility is not in compliance with minimum standards.

(c) Within 30 days of receiving a notice under paragraph (b), the facility administrator

must submit a written response with:

(1) any information related to errors in the notice and the facility's ability to conform to

minimum standards within a set period, including but not limited to a written schedule for

compliance and any other information that the facility administrator deems relevant for the

commissioner's consideration; and

(2) a written plan:

(1) indicating how the facility will ensure the transfer of confined, incarcerated, or housed

individuals, or individuals served by the facility, and records if the facility closes; and

(11) specifying arrangements that the facility will make to transfer confined, incarcerated,

or housed individuals, or individuals served by the facility, to another licensed local

correctional facility for continuation of detention.

(d) When revoking a license, the commissioner must consider:

(1) the nature, chronicity, or severity of the statute or rule violation; and

(2) the effect of the violation on the health, safety, or rights of individuals confined,

incarcerated, or housed in or served by the facility.

(e) The commissioner must issue a revocation order if the facility administrator does

not respond within 30 days to the notice or if the commissioner does not have assurance

that satisfactory progress toward substantial compliance with minimum standards will be

made. The revocation order must be sent to the facility administrator and the facility's

governing board, clearly stating:

(1) the specific minimum standards violated, noting the implicated rule or statute;
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(2) the findings that constitute a violation of minimum standards and the nature,

chronicity, or severity of the violations;

(3) the corrective action needed;

(4) any prior correction or conditional license order issued to correct a violation; and

(5) the date at which the license revocation will occur.

(f) A revocation order may authorize facility use until a certain date, not to exceed the

duration of the active license:

(1) unless a limited license is issued by the commissioner to effectuate a facility closure;

and

(2) if continued operation does not present an imminent risk of life-threatening harm or

is not likely to result in serious physical injury to the individuals confined, incarcerated, or

housed in or served by the facility.

(g) After a facility's license is revoked, the facility must not be used until the license is

reinstated. When the commissioner is assured that satisfactory progress toward substantial

compliance with minimum standards is being made, the commissioner may, at the request

of the facility administrator supported by a written schedule for compliance, reinstate the

license.

Subd. 4. Reconsideration orders. (a) If a facility administrator believes that a correction

order, conditional license order, or revocation order is in error, the facility administrator

may ask the commissioner to reconsider the parts of the order or the action that is alleged

to be in error. The request for reconsideration must:

(1) be made in writing;

(2) be postmarked and sent to the commissioner within 30 calendar days after receiving

the order;

(3) specify the parts of the order or the action that is alleged to be in error;

(4) explain why the order or action is in error; and

(5) include documentation to support the allegation of error.

(b) The commissioner must issue a disposition within 60 days of receiving the facility

administrator's response under paragraph (a). A request for reconsideration does not stay

any provisions or requirements of the order.
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Subd. 5. Temporary immediate license suspension. (a) The commissioner must act

immediately to temporarily suspend a license issued under sections 241.011 to 241.013 if:

(1) the facility's failure to comply with applicable minimum standards or the conditions

in the facility pose an imminent risk of life-threatening harm or serious physical injury to

individuals confined, incarcerated, or housed in or served by the facility; staff; law

enforcement; visitors; or the public and:

(1) if the imminent risk of life-threatening harm or serious physical injury cannot be

promptly corrected through a different type of order under this section; and

(11) the facility cannot or has not corrected the violation giving rise to the imminent risk

of life-threatening harm or serious physical injury; or

(2) while the facility continues to operate pending due notice and opportunity for written

response to the commissioner's notice of intent to issue a revocation order under subdivision

3, the commissioner identifies one or more subsequent violations of minimum standards

that may adversely affect the health or safety of individuals confined, incarcerated, or housed

in or served by the facility; staff; law enforcement; visitors; or the public.

(b) A notice stating the reasons for the temporary immediate suspension must be delivered

by personal service to the facility administrator and the facility's governing board.

(c) A facility administrator and the facility's governing board must discontinue operating

the facility upon receiving the commissioner's order to immediately suspend the license.

Subd. 6. Requesting reconsideration of temporary immediate suspension. (a) A

facility administrator may request reconsideration of an order immediately suspending a

license. The request for reconsideration must be made in writing and sent by certified mail

or personal service as follows:

(1) if mailed, the request for reconsideration must be postmarked and sent to the

commissioner within five business days after the facility administrator receives notice that

the license has been immediately suspended; and

(2) if a request is made by personal service, the request must be received by the

commissioner within five business days after the facility administrator received the order.

(b) The request for reconsideration must:

(1) specify the parts of the order that are alleged to be in error;

(2) explain why they are in error; and

(3) include documentation to support the allegation of error.
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(c) Within five business days of receiving the facility administrator's timely request for

reconsideration, the commissioner must review the request. For a review under subdivision

5, paragraph (a), clause (2), the review must be limited solely to whether the temporary

immediate suspension order should remain in effect pending the written response to the

commissioner's notice of intent to issue a revocation order.

Subd. 7. Appealing commissioner's reconsideration request. (a) The commissioner's

disposition of a request for reconsideration of a correction, conditional license, temporary

immediate suspension, or revocation order is final and subject to appeal. Before a facility

administrator may request an appeal under paragraph (b), the facility administrator must

request reconsideration according to this section of any correction, conditional license,

temporary immediate suspension, or revocation order.

(b) Within 60 days after the postmark date of the mailed notice of the commissioner's

decision on a request for reconsideration, the facility administrator may appeal the decision

by filing for a writ of certiorari with the court of appeals under section 606.01 and Minnesota

Rules of Civil Appellate Procedure, Rule 115.

Subd. 8. Public notice of restriction, revocation, or suspension. If a facility's license

is revoked or suspended under this section, if a facility's use is restricted for any reason

under a conditional license order, or if a correction order is issued to a facility, the

commissioner must publicly post the following on the department's website:

(1) the facility name;

(2) the status of the facility's license; and

(3) the reason for the correction order, restriction, revocation, or suspension.

Sec. 3. [241.013] LICENSING AND INSPECTING LOCAL JUVENILE
CORRECTIONAL FACILITIES.

Subdivision 1. Scope. This section applies to local juvenile correctional facilities licensed

by the commissioner of corrections to detain or serve juveniles.

Subd. 2. Applicability. Unless otherwise provided under section 241.011 or by any

other law, section 241.011 applies to local juvenile correctional facilities.

Subd. 3. Facilities for children and youth; inspection and licensing. (a)

Notwithstanding any provisions in sections 245A.03; 245A.04; and 256.01, subdivision 2,

paragraph (a), clause (2); and chapter 245C to the contrary, the commissioner must inspect
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all local juvenile correctional facilities under section 241.011, subdivision 3, except as

provided under paragraph (c).

(b) The commissioner must grant a license for up to two years to a county, municipality,

or facility:

(1) according to section 241.011, subdivision 5; and

(2) if the commissioner is satisfied that the interests and well-being of children and youth

are protected.

(c) For local juvenile correctional facilities licensed by the commissioner of human

services, the commissioner of corrections may inspect and certify programs based on

certification standards under Minnesota Rules. For purposes of this paragraph, "certification"

has the meaning given in section 245A.02.

Subd. 4. Commissioner consultation. Each facility must receive consultation from the

commissioner as needed to strengthen services to children and youth.

Subd. 5. Affected municipality; notice. (a) The commissioner must not grant a license

without giving 30 calendar days' written notice to any affected municipality or other political

subdivision unless the facility:

(1) has a licensed capacity of six or fewer individuals; and

(2) is occupied by either the licensee or a group foster home parent.

(b) The notification must be given before the license is first granted and annually

thereafter if annual notification is requested in writing by the affected municipality or other

political subdivision.

(c) State funds must not be made available to or be spent by an agency or department

of state, county, or municipal government for payment to a foster care facility licensed under

this section until this subdivision has been complied with.

Subd. 6. Licensing with juveniles from outside state. The commissioner must not issue

or renew a license to a facility under this section to operate a local juvenile correctional

facility if:

(1) the facility accepts juveniles who reside outside Minnesota; and

(2) there is no agreement with the entity placing the juvenile at the facility that obligates

the entity to pay the juvenile's educational expenses.
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Subd. 7. Licensing actions. The licensing actions under section 241.012 apply to a

facility licensed under this section.

Subd. 8. Education for juveniles. Notwithstanding subdivision 1, the education program

offered in a state or local correctional facility for the placement, confinement, or incarceration

of juveniles must be approved by the commissioner of education before the commissioner

of corrections may grant a license to the facility.

Subd. 9. Rulemaking. (a) The commissioner must adopt rules for local juvenile

correctional facilities according to Laws 1995, chapter 226, article 3, sections 50, 51, and

60, as amended.

(b) The time limit to adopt rules under section 14.125 does not apply to amendments to

Minnesota Rules, chapter 2960, in effect on the effective date of this section.

Sec. 4.[241.014] SECURITY AUDITS FOR STATE CORRECTIONAL FACILITIES.

Subdivision 1. Purpose. This section applies to state correctional facilities.

Subd. 2. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the terms defined in this subdivision

have the meanings given.

(b) "Audit group" means the state correctional facilities security audit group under

subdivision 5.

(c) "Corrections and detention confidential data" has the meaning given in section 13.85,

subdivision 3.

(d) "Security information" has the meaning given in section 13.37, subdivision 1.

Subd. 3. Biennial report and audit of security practices. The department's inspection

unit must conduct biennial security audits of each state correctional facility using the

standards established by the audit group. The inspection unit must:

(1) prepare a report for each audit; and

(2) submit the report to the audit group within 30 days of completing the audit.

Subd. 4. Data. (a) Corrections and detention confidential data and security information

that is contained in reports and records of the audit group:

(1) maintain that classification, regardless of the data's classification in the hands of the

person who provided the data; and

(2) are not subject to discovery or introduction into evidence in a civil or criminal action

against the state arising out of any matter that the audit group is reviewing.

Article 6 Sec. 4. 94



95.1

95.2

953

95.4

95.5

95.6

95.7

95.8

95.9

95.10

95.11

95.12

95.13

95.14

95.15

95.16

95.17

95.18

95.19

95.20

95.21

95.22

95.23

95.24

95.25

95.26

95.27

95.28

95.29

95.30

04/04/25 03:59 pm COUNSEL KPB/PP/GC SCS1098A-1

(b) Information, documents, and records otherwise available from other sources are not

immune from discovery or use in a civil or criminal action solely because they were acquired

during an audit.

(c) Nothing in this subdivision limits a person who presented information to the audit

group or who is an audit group member from testifying about matters within the person's

knowledge. In a civil or criminal proceeding, a person must not be questioned about the

person's good faith presentation of information to the audit group or opinions formed by

the person as a result of an audit.

Subd. 5. State correctional facilities security audit group. (a) The commissioner must

form a state correctional facilities security audit group. The audit group must consist of the

following members:

(1) a department employee who is not assigned to the correctional institutions division,

appointed by the commissioner;

(2) the ombudsperson for corrections or a designee;

(3) an elected sheriff or designee nominated by the Minnesota Sheriffs' Association,

appointed by the commissioner;

(4) an individual with expertise in security related to infrastructure and operational

logistics of correctional facilities who is not required to reside in Minnesota, appointed by

the governor;

(5) the commissioner of health or a designee;

(6) the commissioner of administration or a designee;

(7) two senators, one appointed by the senate majority leader and one appointed by the

senate minority leader; and

(8) two representatives, one appointed by the speaker of the house and one appointed

by the minority leader of the house of representatives.

(b) The ombudsperson chairs the audit group. The audit group must establish security

audit standards for state correctional facilities. In developing the standards, the audit group,

or individual members of the audit group, may gather information from state correctional

facilities and state correctional staff and inmates. The audit group must:

(1) periodically review the standards and modify them as needed; and
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(2) report the standards to the chairs and ranking minority members of the house of

representatives and senate committees with jurisdiction over public safety policy and finance

when the standards are modified.

(c) The audit group must meet twice annually to review facility audit reports that the

department's inspection unit submits to the audit group. Notwithstanding any law to the

contrary, the audit group may review the full audit reports, including corrections and

detention confidential data and security information.

(d) Within 60 days of meeting to review an audit report from the department's inspection

unit, the audit group must make recommendations to the commissioner. Within 45 days of

receiving the audit group's recommendations, the commissioner must respond in writing to

the audit group's findings and recommendations. The commissioner's response must explain:

(1) whether the commissioner will implement the audit group's recommendations;

(2) the timeline for implementing the recommendations; and

(3) if the commissioner will not implement the recommendations, why the commissioner

will not or cannot implement the recommendations.

(e) The commissioner must include a written aggregate of the audit group's

recommendations based on each security audit and assessment of a state correctional facility

and the commissioner's responses to the recommendations in the biennial report under

section 241.016, subdivision 1. The commissioner must not include corrections and detention

confidential data and security information in the commissioner's report.

(f) The commissioner must provide staffing and administrative support to the audit

roup.

Subd. 6. Compensation. Except as otherwise provided in this subdivision, the terms,

compensation, and removal of audit group members are governed by section 15.059. Audit

group members serve without compensation but may receive expense reimbursement.

Notwithstanding section 15.059, subdivision 6, the audit group does not expire.

Subd. 7. Open meeting law. The audit group is not subject to chapter 13D.

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 241.021, subdivision 1f, is amended to read:

Subd. 1f. Report. By February15;2022,-and-by February 15 each year thereafter, the
commissioner efeerreetions-shall must report to the chairs and ranking minority members

of the house of representatives and senate committees and divisions with jurisdiction over

public safety and judiciary on the status of the-implementation-of the-provisions-in-this
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seetton implementing sections 241.011 to 241.021 over the prior year, particularly the health

and safety provisions of individuals confined er, incarcerated, or housed in a both local

adult and state correctional faetity-and-a-facthity ieensed-by-the-eemmisstener facilities.
TFhis The report shall must include but not be limited to data regarding on:

(1) in accordance with section 241.011, subdivision 7, the number of confined ot,

incarcerated persens, or housed individuals who died while-eemmitted-to-the-ecustedy-of

eerreetionalfaeility, including aggregated demographic information and the local correctional

facilities' most recent inspection reports and any issued corrective orders or, conditional

licenses issued, revocations, or temporary immediate suspensions;

(2) the aggregated results of the any death reviews conducted by a facility as-required

by under section 241.011, subdivision 8, including any implemented policy changes;

(3) the number of uses of force by facility staff on persens individuals confined or

incarcerated in the state correctional facility or local adult correctional facility, including

but not limited to whether these the uses of force were determined to be justified by the

facility;

(4) the number of suicide attempts, number of peeple individuals transported to a medical

facility, and number of peeple individuals placed in segregation;

(5) the number of persens individuals committed to the eemmissioner-of-corrections'
commissioner's custody that the commissioner is housing in local adult correctional facilities

licensed under subdivistent section 241.011, including but not limited to:

(1) aggregated demographic data of these the individuals;
(i1) length of time spent housed in a licensed local adult correctional facility; and

(i11) any contracts that the department ef-Cerreetions has with local adult correctional

facilities to provide housing; and

(6) summary data from state correctional facilities regarding on complaints involving

alleged on-duty staff misconduct, including but not limited to the:

(1) total number of misconduct complaints and investigations;
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(i1) total number of complaints by each category of misconduct, as defined by the

commissioner ef-corrections;
(111) number of allegations dismissed as unfounded;

(iv) number of allegations dismissed on grounds that the allegation was unsubstantiated;

and

(v) number of allegations substantiated, any resulting disciplinary action, and the nature

of the discipline.

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 241.021, subdivision 4a, is amended to read:

Subd. 4a. Substance use disorder treatment programs. AH (a) The following residential

substance use disorder treatment programs operated by the commissioner ef-eerreetions-te

treat-adults committed-to-the-commissioner's-eustody-shall must comply with thestandards

mandated-in chapter 245G for treatment programs operated by community-based treatment

facilities::

(1) programs in state correctional facilities that treat individuals committed to the

commissioner's custody; and

(2) programs to treat juveniles in state-operated local juvenile correctional facilities that

have a correctional program services certification under Minnesota Rules, chapter 2960.

(b) When the commissioners of corrections and human services agree that these the
established standards for community-based programs cannot reasonably apply to correctional

facilities under paragraph (a), alternative equivalent standards shall must be developed by

the commissioners and established through an interagency agreement.

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 241.021, subdivision 7, is amended to read:

Subd. 7. Intake release of information. (a) All local adult and state correctional facilities

that confine or incarcerate adults arerequired must at intake te provide each persen individual

an authorization form to release information related to thatpersen's the individual's health

or mental health condition and when that information should be shared.

This (b) The release form shall must allow the individual to select if the individual wants

to require the correctional facility to make attempts to contact the designated person to
facilitate the sharing of health condition information upon incapacitation or if the individual

becomes unable to communicate or direct the sharing of this information, so long as:

(1) contact information was provided; and

Article 6 Sec. 7. 98



99.1

99.2

99.3

99.4

99.5

99.6

99.7

99.8

99.9

99.10

99.11

99.12

99.13

99.14

99.15

99.16

99.17

99.18

99.19

99.20

99.21

99.22

99.23

99.24

99.25

99.26

99.27

99.28

99.29

99.30

04/04/25 03:59 pm COUNSEL KPB/PP/GC SCS1098A-1

(2) the incapacitated individual or individual who is unable to communicate or direct
the sharing of this information is not subject to a court order prohibiting contact with the

designated person.

Sec. 8. REVISOR INSTRUCTION.

The revisor of statutes must renumber each section of Minnesota Statutes listed in column

A with the number listed in column B.

Column A Column B

241.021, subdivision 4 241.74, subdivision 1

241.021, subdivision 4a 241.39

241.021, subdivision 4b 241.74, subdivision 2, paragraph (a)
241.021, subdivision 4c 241.74, subdivision 2, paragraph (b)
241.021, subdivision 4d 241.74, subdivision 3

241.021, subdivision 4¢ 241.254

Sec. 9. REVISOR INSTRUCTION; CROSS-REFERENCES.

As a result of amendments to Minnesota Statutes, sections 241.011 to 241.021, the

revisor of statutes must work with the Department of Corrections to correct cross-references

in Minnesota Statutes and Minnesota Rules and make any other necessary grammatical

changes.

Sec. 10. REPEALER.

Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 241.021, subdivisions 1, 1a, 1b, 1c¢, 1d, le, 1g, 1h, 11,
2,2a,2b, 3, 6, and 8, are repealed.

ARTICLE 7
CIVIL COMMITMENT COORDINATING DIVISION

Section 1. [8.365] DEFINITIONS.

(a) The definitions in section 253B.02 apply to sections 8.37 to 8.38.

(b) For the purposes of sections 8.37 to 8.38, the following terms have the meanings

given:

(1) "engagement services" means the services described under section 253B.041;

(2) "outpatient civil commitment" means the option available to a committing court

under section 253B.09, subdivision 1, paragraph (c); and
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(3) "provisional discharge" means the option available to the head of a treatment facility

or community-based treatment program under section 253B.09, subdivision 1.

Sec. 2. [8.37] CIVIL COMMITMENT COORDINATING DIVISION.

Subdivision 1. Civil Commitment Coordinating Division established. There shall be

in the Office of the Attorney General a Civil Commitment Coordinating Division. A civil

commitment coordinator shall be appointed by the attorney general. The civil commitment

coordinator shall perform duties that may lawfully be assigned to the coordinator by the

attorney general or by law.

Subd. 2. Duties of the civil commitment coordinator. The civil commitment coordinator

must:

(1) continuously maintain the Civil Commitment Advisory Committee;

(2) in consultation with the Civil Commitment Advisory Committee, provide best

practices and guidance regarding engagement services, outpatient civil commitment, and

provisional discharge to committing courts, counties, designated agencies, treatment facilities,

and community-based treatment programs;

(3) advocate for increased statewide capacity for engagement services, outpatient civil

commitment, and provisional discharge;

(4) provide ongoing technical assistance to those at the local and regional level tasked

with monitoring participants civilly committed under chapter 253B;

(5) provide guidance on data collection of outcomes related to engagement services,

outpatient civil commitment, and provisional discharge;

(6) aggregate and analyze all data submitted by all jurisdictions by either contracting

with a third party to perform these tasks or entering into an interagency agreement with the

commissioner of management and budget to utilize the Results First Initiative to perform

these tasks;

(7) ensure that any data submitted is treated in accordance with chapter 13; and

(8) create a public awareness campaign designed to educate the public about the

availability and effectiveness of engagement services.

Subd. 3. Civil Commitment Advisory Committee. (a) The attorney general shall

establish the Civil Commitment Advisory Committee. The Civil Commitment Advisory

Committee shall advise the civil commitment coordinator on identification of best practices

regarding engagement services, outpatient civil commitment, and provisional discharge;
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development of guidance for implementation of engagement services, outpatient civil

commitment, and provisional discharge; development of data reporting requirements and

standards; identification of outcomes to be measured through data analysis; and other topics

as determined by the coordinator.

(b) The Civil Commitment Advisory Committee must consist of no fewer than 11

members and no more than 20 members. The membership of the committee must include:

(1) the attorney general or a designee who is not the civil commitment coordinator;

(2) the chief executive officer of Direct Care and Treatment or a designee;

(3) the commissioner of public safety or a designee;

(4) the commissioner of corrections or a designee;

(5) the ombudsman for mental health and developmental disabilities or a designee;

(6) a member representing district court judges, appointed by the chief justice of the

supreme court;

(7) a member representing district court administrators, appointed by the chief justice

of the supreme court;

(8) amember representing county administrators or county social services administrators,

appointed by the attorney general,

(9) a member representing federally recognized Tribes in Minnesota and urban Indian

communities, appointed by the Indian Affairs Council;

(10) a member who is a defense attorney and has represented a person referred for civil

commitment, appointed by the attorney general;

(11) amember who was previously civilly committed, appointed by the attorney general,

(12) a member who is a parent, sibling, or child of a person currently or previously

civilly committed, appointed by the attorney general,

(13) a member who is a person for whom engagement services were successfully

provided, appointed by the attorney general;

(14) a member who is a provider of engagement services, appointed by the attorney

general;

(15) amember who represents a treatment facility or community-based treatment program

that accepts civilly committed participants, appointed by the attorney general;
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(16) up to four additional members appointed by the attorney general; and

(17) the Minnesota Competency Attainment Board Program Administrator or designee.

(c) The attorney general must consult with the chief executive officer of Direct Care

and Treatment before making appointments to the committee.

(d) The members of the Civil Commitment Advisory Committee serve without

compensation.

Sec. 3. [8.38] DIVERSION STUDIES.

Subdivision 1. Diversion studies. Each county must conduct diversion studies in

accordance with the requirements of this section. Diversion studies must examine each

county's local behavioral health system's capacity to divert people who have a mental illness,

developmental disability, or chemical use disorder away from the local justice system and

into treatment. The civil commitment coordinator must establish uniform study guidelines,

data requirements, including any qualitative data or narrative requirements, and data reporting

procedures for diversion studies. The coordinator must ensure that the study guidelines and

data requirements will allow the coordinator to determine how people with a mental illness,

people with a developmental disability, and people with a substance use disorder come into

contact with and move through the local criminal justice system and what resources are

available or needed to divert individuals away from the local justice system.

Subd. 2. Diversion study reporting requirements. By October 1, 2027, and every two

years thereafter, each county must submit to the coordinator in the manner established under

subdivision 1 all required data and narratives related to its diversion study.

Subd. 3. Statewide diversion study report. By April 1, 2028, and every two years

thereafter, the civil commitment coordinator must submit to the chairs and ranking minority

members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over civil commitment, mental

health, or Direct Care and Treatment a report summarizing the county-level data submitted

under subdivision 2. The coordinator must include in the report county, regional, and

state-level needs assessments. The coordinator must include in subsequent reports

comparisons to the data submitted in prior reports and any statistically significant trends

the coordinator's analysis reveals.

Sec. 4. TRANSPORT HOLD WORK GROUP.

Subdivision 1. Establishment and membership. (a) The Transport Hold Work Group

is comprised of the following members:
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103.1 (1) the commissioner of human services or the commissioner's designee;

103.2 (2) a representative of the Minnesota County Attorneys Association;

103.3 (3) the state public defender or a designee of the state public defender;

103.4 (4) a commitment defense attorney;

103.5 (5) at least two mental health professionals with experience in crisis response, one of

103.6 ~ whom must work primarily outside the seven-county metropolitan area, appointed by the

103.7 commissioner of human services;

103.8 (6) at least two mental health professionals from underrepresented communities as

103.9 defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 148E.025, subdivision 20;

103.10 (7) a representative of the Minnesota Sheriffs Association;

103.11 (8) a representative of the Minnesota Chiefs of Police Association;

103.12 (9) a representative of the Association of Minnesota Counties;

103.13 (10) a representative of the Minnesota Ambulance Association;

103.14 (11) a representative of the National Alliance on Mental Illness Minnesota;

103.15 (12) a representative of Mental Health Minnesota;

103.16 (13) the ombudsman for mental health and developmental disabilities or the ombudsman's

103.17 designee; and

103.18 (14) the chief executive officer of Direct Care and Treatment or a designee.

103.19 (b) Members listed in clauses (2), (4), (5), and (6) to (12) are appointed by the

103.20 commissioner of human services, with recommendation from the named organizations.

103.21 Subd. 2. Duties. (a) The duties of the work group are to:

103.22 (1) determine best practices when a person must be taken into custody and transported

103.23 for emergency admission under Minnesota Statutes, section 253B.051;

103.24 (2) determine best practices when a peace officer may use authorized force to take a

103.25 person into custody and transport the person under Minnesota Statutes, section 253B.051;

103.26 and

103.27 (3) develop recommendations for policy changes and funding needs to safely transport

103.28 people in mental health crises, including alternatives to law enforcement.

103.29 (b) By February 1, 2026, the work group must submit a written report to the governor,

103.30 and the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees and divisions
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with jurisdiction over human services and public safety on the work group's activities and

recommendations.

Subd. 3. Administration. The Department of Human Services must provide

administrative support to the work group and must assist in creation of the report under

subdivision 2.

Subd. 4. Compensation. Members of the task force serve without compensation.

Subd. 5. Appointment deadline. Members must be appointed by the authorities under
subdivision 1 by July 31, 2025.

Subd. 6. Meeting; chair. The commissioner of health must convene the first meeting

by September 15, 2025. The work group must elect a chair at its first meeting. The chair

must convene meetings of the work group at least monthly.

Subd. 7. Expiration. The work group expires February 1, 2026.

ARTICLE 8
COURTS

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 357.021, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:

Subd. 1a. Transmittal of fees to commissioner of management and budget. (a) Every
person, including the state of Minnesota and all bodies politic and corporate, who shall
transact any business in the district court, shall pay to the court administrator of said court
the sundry fees prescribed in subdivision 2. Except as provided in paragraph (d), the court
administrator shall transmit the fees monthly to the commissioner of management and budget
for deposit in the state treasury and credit to the general fund. $30 of each fee collected in
a dissolution action under subdivision 2, clause (1), must be deposited by the commissioner
of management and budget in the special revenue fund and is appropriated to the
commissioner of employment and economic development for the Minnesota Family

Resiliency Partnership under section 116L.96.

(b) In a county which has a screener-collector position, fees paid by a county pursuant
to this subdivision shall be transmitted monthly to the county treasurer, who shall apply the
fees first to reimburse the county for the amount of the salary paid for the screener-collector
position. The balance of the fees collected shall then be forwarded to the commissioner of
management and budget for deposit in the state treasury and credited to the general fund.
In a county in a judicial district under section 480.181, subdivision 1, paragraph (b), which

has a screener-collector position, the fees paid by a county shall be transmitted monthly to
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the commissioner of management and budget for deposit in the state treasury and credited
to the general fund. A screener-collector position for purposes of this paragraph is an
employee whose function is to increase the collection of fines and to review the incomes

of potential clients of the public defender, in order to verify eligibility for that service.

(c) No fee is required under this section from the public authority or the party the public

authority represents in an action for:

(1) child support enforcement or modification, medical assistance enforcement, or

establishment of parentage in the district court, or in a proceeding under section 484.702;
(2) civil commitment under chapter 253B;

(3) the appointment of a public conservator or public guardian or any other action under

chapters 252A and 525;

(4) wrongfully obtaining public assistance under section 256.98 or 256D.07, or recovery

of overpayments of public assistance;
(5) court relief under chapters 260, 260A, 260B, and 260C;
(6) forfeiture of property under sections 169A.63 and 609.531 to 609.5317;

(7) recovery of amounts issued by political subdivisions or public institutions under
sections 246.52,252.27,256.045,256.25,256B.042,256B.14,256B.15,256B.37, 260B.331,

260C.331, and 518A.82, or other sections referring to other forms of public assistance;
(8) restitution under section 611A.04; or

(9) actions seeking monetary relief in favor of the state pursuant to section 16D.14,

subdivision 5.

(d) $20 from each fee collected for child support modifications under subdivision 2,
clause (13), must be transmitted to the county treasurer for deposit in the county general
fund and $35 from each fee shall be credited to the state general fund. The fees must be

used by the county to pay for child support enforcement efforts by county attorneys.

(e) No fee is required under this section from the Office of Ombudsperson for American

Indian Families or any federally recognized Indian Tribe or its representative in an action

for:

(1) child support enforcement or modification, medical assistance enforcement, or

establishment of parentage in the district court or in a proceeding under section 484.702;

(2) civil commitment under chapter 253B;

Article 8 Section 1. 105



106.1

106.2

106.3

106.4

106.5

106.6

106.7

106.8

106.9

106.10

106.11

106.12

106.13

106.14

106.15

106.16

106.17

106.18

106.19

106.20

106.21

106.22

106.23

106.24

106.25

106.26

106.27

106.28

106.29

04/04/25 03:59 pm COUNSEL KPB/PP/GC SCS1098A-1

(3) the appointment of a public conservator or public guardian or any other action under

chapters 252A and 525; or

(4) court relief under chapters 256, 257, 260, 260A, 260B, 260C, and 260D, and 518,
and sections 524.5-201 to 524.5-317.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 480.243, is amended by adding a subdivision to

read:

Subd. 3. Report to legislature. The State Board of Civil Legal Aid shall report to the

chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over

judiciary on data related to the cases and individuals and families serviced by each of the

grant recipients providing legal services with funds received pursuant to section 480.242.

The data shall be provided for each individual organization and, when possible, for each

geographic region the organization works in, and provided in the aggregate to protect the

privacy of the individuals and families served by the organization. Reports under this section

shall be submitted by April 1 in odd-numbered years.

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 484.44, is amended to read:

484.44 DEPUTY SHERIFF AND COURT ADMINISTRATOR; ST. LOUIS
COUNTY.

There shall be at all times a chief deputy sheriff of St. Louis County and a chief deputy
court administrator of the district court of St. Louis County and such other deputies as may
be necessary, resident at the city of Virginia, or the city of Ely, or the city of Hibbing, and
their appointment shall be made in the same manner as other deputy sheriffs and deputy
clerks of the district court in said county. The salaries of such deputies shall be fixed and
paid in the same manner as other such deputies. The office of said deputy sheriff at Virginia,
Hibbing, and Ely shall not in any sense be considered or deemed the office of the sheriff
for any purpose except the performance of duties relating solely to proceedings tried or to
be tried at said places; but the office of the deputy court administrator at said places shall
be equally deemed the office of the court administrator of court for all purposes exeeptthe
filing-ef papers-inactions-orproceedingsto-betrted-at Duluth. Marriage licenses and

naturalization papers may be issued by said deputy court administrator.
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Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 484.51, is amended to read:

484.51 PAPERS WHERE FILED; ST. LOUIS COUNTY.

Adfter Regardless of the place of trial of any cause is-determined, as provided in sections

484.44 to 484.52, all papers, orders and documents pertaining to all causes to-be-tried-at

offtee-in-the-eity-of Hibbing can be filed at any court location in St. Louis County.

In all actions tried at the city of Virginia or the city of Hibbing, the court administrator,
as soon as final judgment is entered, shall forthwith cause such judgment to be docketed in
the court administrator's office at the county seat; and when so docketed the same shall
become a lien on real estate and have the same effect as judgments entered in causes tried

at the county seat.

In all actions tried at the city of Virginia or the city of Hibbing, involving the title of
real estate, upon final judgment being entered, all the papers in said cause shall be filed in
the court administrator's office at the county seat and the final judgment or decree recorded
therein, and a certified copy of all papers in the case shall be made by the court administrator
and retained at the court administrator's office in the city of Virginia or in the court
administrator's office in the city of Hibbing where the action was originally tried, without

additional charge to the parties to said action.

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 518.68, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Requirement. Every court order or judgment and decree under this
chapter or chapter 518 A that provides for child support, spousal maintenance, custody, or
parenting time must contain certain notices as set out in subdivision 2. The information in
the notices must be concisely stated in plain language—The-notices-must-be and in clearly
legible print;-butmaynetexeeed-two-pages. An order or judgment and decree without the
notice remains subject to all statutes. The court may waive all or part of the notice required
under subdivision 2 relating to parental rights under section 518.17, subdivision 3, if it finds

it 1s necessary to protect the welfare of a party or child.
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Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 524.5-420, is amended to read:

524.5-420 REPORTS; APPOINTMENT OF VISITOR; MONITORING; COURT
ORDERS.

(a) A conservator shall report to the court for administration of the estate annually unless
the court otherwise directs, upon resignation or removal, upon termination of the

conservatorship, and at other times as the court directs. A copy of the report must be provided

to the person subject to conservatorship and to interested persons of record with the court.

An order, after notice and hearing, allowing an intermediate report of a conservator
adjudicates liabilities concerning the matters adequately disclosed in the accounting. An
order, after notice and hearing, allowing a final report adjudicates all previously unsettled

liabilities relating to the conservatorship.

(b) A report must state or contain a listing of the assets of the estate under the
conservator's control and a listing of the receipts, disbursements, and distributions during

the reporting period.

(c) The report must also state an address or post office box and a telephone number

where the conservator can be contacted.

(d) A conservator shall report to the court in writing within 30 days of the occurrence
of any of the events listed in this paragraph. The conservator must report any of the
occurrences in this paragraph and follow the same reporting requirements in this paragraph
for any employee of the conservator responsible for exercising powers and duties under the
conservatorship. A copy of the report must be provided to the person subject to
conservatorship and to interested persons of record with the court. A conservator shall report

when:

(1) the conservator is removed for cause from serving as a guardian or conservator, and

if so, the case number and court location;

(2) the conservator has a professional license from an agency listed under section
524.5-118, subdivision 2a, denied, conditioned, suspended, revoked, or canceled, and if so,
the licensing agency and license number, and the basis for denial, condition, suspension,

revocation, or cancellation of the license;

(3) the conservator is found civilly liable in an action that involves fraud,
misrepresentation, material omission, misappropriation, theft, or conversion, and if so, the

case number and court location;

Article 8 Sec. 6. 108



109.1

109.2

109.3

109.4

109.5

109.6

109.7

109.8

109.9

109.10

109.11

109.12

109.13

109.14

109.15

109.16

109.17

109.18

109.19

109.20

109.21

109.22

109.23

109.24

109.25

109.26

109.27

109.28

109.29

109.30

109.31

109.32

109.33

04/04/25 03:59 pm COUNSEL KPB/PP/GC SCS1098A-1

(4) the conservator files for or receives protection under the bankruptcy laws, and if so,

the case number and court location;

(5) a civil monetary judgment is entered against the conservator, and if so, the case

number, court location, and outstanding amount owed;

(6) the conservator is convicted of a crime other than a petty misdemeanor or traffic

offense, and if so, the case number and court location; or

(7) an order for protection or harassment restraining order is issued against the

conservator, and if so, the case number and court location.

(e) A person subject to conservatorship or an interested person of record with the court
may submit to the court a written statement disputing account statements regarding the
administration of the estate or addressing any disciplinary or legal action that is contained
in the reports and may petition the court for any order that is in the best interests of the

person subject to conservatorship and the estate or for other appropriate relief.

(f) An interested person may notify the court in writing that the interested person does
not wish to receive copies of reports required under this section after which time neither
the court nor any other person is required to give notice to any person who has waived

notice.

(g) The court may appoint a visitor to review a report or plan, interview the person
subject to conservatorship or conservator, and make any other investigation the court directs.
In connection with a report, the court may order a conservator to submit the assets of the

estate to an appropriate examination to be made in a manner the court directs.

(h) The court shall establish a system for monitoring of conservatorships, including the
filing and review of conservators' reports and plans. If an annual report is not filed within
60 days of the required date, the court shall issue an order to show cause. Unless otherwise

ordered by the court, a report under this section shall be filed publicly.

(1) If there is no acting guardian, a conservator that becomes aware of the death of the
person subject to conservatorship shall notify in writing; orally; or by phone, text message,
email, or electronic service, all known interested persons as defined by section 524.5-102,
subdivision 7, clauses (iii), (iv), (v), (v1), (ix), and (x1), and the court as soon as is reasonably
practical, that the person subject to conservatorship has died. The conservator may delegate

this task under reasonable circumstances.

(j) If a conservator fails to comply with this section, the court may decline to appoint

that person as a guardian or conservator, or may remove a person as guardian or conservator.
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ARTICLE 9
DATA PRACTICES

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 13.04, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. Procedure when data is not accurate or complete. (a) An individual subject
of the data may contest the accuracy or completeness of public or private data about

themselves.

(b) To exercise this right, an individual shall notify in writing the responsible authority

of the government entity that maintains the data, describing the nature of the disagreement.

(c) Upon receiving notification from the data subject, the responsible authority shall

within 30 days either:

(1) correct the data found to be inaccurate or incomplete and attempt to notify past
recipients of inaccurate or incomplete data, including recipients named by the individual;

or

(2) notitfy the individual that the responsible authority has determined the data to be
correct. If the challenged data are determined to be accurate or complete, the responsible
authority shall inform the individual of the right to appeal the determination to the
commissioner as specified under paragraph (d). Data in dispute shall be disclosed only if

the individual's statement of disagreement is included with the disclosed data.

(d) A data subject may appeal the determination of the responsible authority pursuant
to the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act relating to contested cases. An
individual must submit an appeal to the commissioner within 60 days of the responsible
authority's notice of the right to appeal or as otherwise provided by the rules of the
commissioner. Upon receipt of an appeal by an individual, the commissioner shall, before
issuing the order and notice of a contested case hearing required by chapter 14, try to resolve
the dispute through education, conference, conciliation, or persuasion. If the parties consent,
the commissioner may refer the matter to mediation. Following these efforts, the

commissioner shall dismiss the appeal or issue the order and notice of hearing.

(e) The commissioner may dismiss an appeal without first attempting to resolve the

dispute or before issuing an order and notice of a contested case hearing if:
(1) the appeal to the commissioner is not timely;

(2) the appeal concerns data previously presented as evidence in a court proceeding in

which the data subject was a party; or
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(3) the individual making the appeal is not the subject of the data challenged as inaccurate

or incomplete.

(f) A responsible authority may submit private data to the commissioner to respond to

a data subject's appeal of the determination that data are accurate and complete. Section

13.03, subdivision 4, applies to data submitted by the responsible authority. Government

data submitted to the commissioner by a government entity, copies of government data

submitted by a data subject, or government data described by the data subject in their appeal

have the same classification as the data when maintained by the government entity. The

commissioner may disclose private data contained within the appeal record to the Office

of Administrative Hearings.

D (g) Data on individuals that have been successfully challenged by an individual must
be completed, corrected, or destroyed by a government entity without regard to the

requirements of section 138.17.

tg) (h) After completing, correcting, or destroying successfully challenged data, a
government entity may retain a copy of the commissioner of administration's order issued
under chapter 14 or, if no order were issued, a summary of the dispute between the parties

that does not contain any particulars of the successfully challenged data.

(1) Data maintained by the commissioner that a responsible authority has completed,

corrected, or destroyed as the result of the informal resolution process described in paragraph

(d) or by order of the commissioner, are private data on individuals.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 13.05, subdivision 5, is amended to read:
Subd. 5. Data protection. (a) The responsible authority shall:

(1) establish procedures to assure that all data on individuals is accurate, complete, and

current for the purposes for which it was collected;

(2) establish appropriate security safeguards for all records containing data on individuals,
including procedures for ensuring that data that are is not public are is only accessible to
persons whose work assignment reasonably requires access to the data, and is only being

accessed by those persons for purposes described in the procedure; and

(3) develop a policy incorporating these procedures, which may include a model policy
governing access to the data if sharing of the data with other government entities is authorized

by law; and
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(4) establish procedures for monitoring access to private or confidential data on

individuals.

(b) When not public data is being disposed of, the data must be destroyed in a way that

prevents its contents from being determined.

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 13.356, 1s amended to read:

13.356 PERSONAL CONTACT AND ONLINE ACCOUNT INFORMATION.

(a) The following data on an individual collected, maintained, or received by a

government entity fernetificattonpurpeses-er-as-part-of-a-subseriptiontistfor-an-entity's
electronte-periodic-publications-asrequested-by-the-individual-are is private data on

individuals:
(1) telephone number;
(2) email address; and

(3) Internet user name, password, Internet protocol address, and any other similar data

related to the individual's online account or access procedures.

(b) Section 13.04, subdivision 2, does not apply to data classified under paragraph (a).
Paragraph (a) does not apply to data submitted by an individual to the Campaign Finance
Board to meet the legal requirements imposed by chapter 10A, to data submitted for purposes

of making a public comment, or to data in a state agency's rulemaking email list.

(c) Data provided under paragraph (a) may enly be used forthe-speetfie purpese-for
which-the-individual provided-the-data by the government entity to:

(1) communicate with the individual; or

(2) perform the government entity's health, safety, or welfare functions or provide

government services.

(d) If the data provided under paragraph (a) is also classified as private data on individuals

by other state statute, the data may be shared or disseminated as provided in the other state

statute.

(e) This section does not apply to data on an individual contained in a real property

record, which is any record of data that is maintained as part of the county real estate

document recording system for use by the public, data on assessments, data on real or

personal property taxation, and other data on real property.
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Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 13.40, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Private data; library berrewers patrons. (a) Except as provided in paragraph
(b), the following data maintained by a library are is private data on individuals and may
not be disclosed for other than for library purposes except pursuant to a court order or section

13.05:

(1) data that link a library patron's name with materials requested or borrowed by the
patron or that link a patron's name with a specific subject about which the patron has

requested information or materials; er

(2) data in applications for patron borrower cards, other than the name of the berrower:

patron if the patron is 18 years of age or older; or

(3) the name of a patron who is a minor.

(b) A library may release reserved materials to a family member or other person who
resides with a library patron and who is picking up the material on behalf of the patron. A

patron may request that reserved materials be released only to the patron.

(c) Section 13.04, subdivision 2, does not apply to data classified under paragraph (a),

clause (3).

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 13.43, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Public data. (a) Except for employees described in subdivision 5 and subject
to the limitations described in subdivision 5a, the following personnel data on current and

former employees, volunteers, and independent contractors of a government entity is public:

(1) name; employee identification number, which must not be the employee's Social
Security number; actual gross salary; salary range; terms and conditions of employment
relationship; contract fees; actual gross pension; the value and nature of employer paid
fringe benefits; and the basis for and the amount of any added remuneration, including

expense reimbursement, in addition to salary;

(2) job title and bargaining unit; job description; education and training background;

and previous work experience;
(3) date of first and last employment;

(4) the existence and status of any complaints or charges against the employee, regardless

of whether the complaint or charge resulted in a disciplinary action;

Article 9 Sec. 5. 113



114.1

114.2

114.3

114.4

114.5

114.6

114.7

114.8

114.9

114.10

114.11

114.12

114.13

114.14

114.15

114.16

114.17

114.18

114.19

114.20

114.21

114.22

114.23

114.24

114.25

114.26

114.27

114.28

114.29

114.30

114.31

114.32

114.33

04/04/25 03:59 pm COUNSEL KPB/PP/GC SCS1098A-1

(5) the final disposition of any disciplinary action together with the specific reasons for
the action and data documenting the basis of the action, excluding data that would identify

confidential sources who are employees of the public body;

(6) the complete terms of any agreement settling any dispute arising out of an employment
relationship, including a buyout agreement as defined in section 123B.143, subdivision 2,
paragraph (a); except that the agreement must include specific reasons for the agreement if

it involves the payment of more than $10,000 of public money;

(7) work location; a work telephone number; badge number; work-related continuing

education; and honors and awards received; and

(8) payroll time sheets or other comparable data that are only used to account for
employee's work time for payroll purposes, except to the extent that release of time sheet
data would reveal the employee's reasons for the use of sick or other medical leave or other

not public data.

(b) For purposes of this subdivision, a final disposition occurs when the government
entity makes its final decision about the disciplinary action, regardless of the possibility of
any later proceedings or court proceedings. Final disposition includes a resignation by an
individual when the resignation occurs after the final decision of the government entity, or
arbitrator. In the case of arbitration proceedings arising under collective bargaining
agreements, a final disposition occurs at the conclusion of the arbitration proceedings, or
upon the failure of the employee to elect arbitration within the time provided by the collective
bargaining agreement. A disciplinary action does not become public data if an arbitrator

sustains a grievance and reverses all aspects of any disciplinary action.

(c) The government entity may display a photograph of a current or former employee
to a prospective witness as part of the government entity's investigation of any complaint

or charge against the employee.

(d) A complainant has access to a statement provided by the complainant to a government

entity in connection with a complaint or charge against an employee.

(e) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), clause (5), and subject to paragraph (f), upon
completion of an investigation of a complaint or charge against a public official, or if a
public official resigns or is terminated from employment while the complaint or charge is
pending, all data relating to the complaint or charge are public, unless access to the data
would jeopardize an active investigation or reveal confidential sources. For purposes of this

paragraph, "public official" means:
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115.1 (1) the head of a state agency and deputy and assistant state agency heads;

115.2 (2) members of boards or commissions required by law to be appointed by the governor

115.3  or other elective officers;

115.4 (3) executive or administrative heads of departments, bureaus, divisions, or institutions

1155 within state government; and
115.6 (4) the following employees:

115.7 (1) the chief administrative officer, or the individual acting in an equivalent position, in

115.8  all political subdivisions;

115.9 (11) individuals required to be identified by a political subdivision pursuant to section

115.10 471.701;

115.11 (iii) in a city with-apepulatien-efmerethan 7500 or a county with-apepulation-efmere

115.12  than5;000: managers; chiefs; heads or directors of departments, divisions, bureaus, or

115.13 boards; and any equivalent position; and

115.14 (iv) in a school district: business managers; human resource directors; athletic directors
115.15 whose duties include at least 50 percent of their time spent in administration, personnel,
115.16 supervision, and evaluation; chief financial officers; directors; individuals defined as
115.17 superintendents and principals under Minnesota Rules, part 3512.0100; and in a charter

115.18 school, individuals employed in comparable positions.

115.19 (f) Data relating to a complaint or charge against an employee identified under paragraph

11520 (e), clause (4), are public only if:

115.21 (1) the complaint or charge results in disciplinary action or the employee resigns or is

11522 terminated from employment while the complaint or charge is pending; or

115.23 (2) potential legal claims arising out of the conduct that is the subject of the complaint

115.24 or charge are released as part of a settlement agreement.

115.25 This paragraph and paragraph (e) do not authorize the release of data that are made not

115.26 public under other law.

11527  Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 13.991, is amended to read:

115.28 13.991 JUDICIAL OFFICIAL DATA; PERSONAL INFORMATION.

115.29 (a) Subject to paragraph (b), the personal information of all judicial officials collected,

11530 created, or maintained by a government entity is private data on individuals. For purposes
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of this section, the terms "personal information" and "judicial official" have the meanings

given in section 480.40, subdivision 1.

(b) If the responsible authority or government entity violates this chapter, the remedies
and penalties under this chapter are available only if the judicial official making a claim
previously provided written notification to the responsible authority confirming on a form
provided by the Minnesota judicial branch that they are entitled to protection under section
480.40. If the subject of the data is an adult child of a judicial official who does not reside
with the judicial official, the remedies and penalties under this chapter are available only
if the adult child previously provided written notification to the responsible authority
confirming their status as the child of a judicial official. In the case of county records, the
form shall be filed with the responsible authority that maintains the personal information
for which the judicial officer is seeking protection. A form submitted under this section is
private data on individuals. A notice filed under this paragraph expires five years following

the date of filing, unless it is renewed prior to the expiration date.

(c) Fhisseetionshallnet-applyte Notwithstanding paragraph (a), section 480.50 shall
govern personal information eentained-in: of all judicial officials contained in real property

records, as defined in section 480.50, subdivision 1, paragraph (f).

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2026.

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 15.17, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Must be kept. All officers and agencies of the state, counties, cities,
towns, school districts, municipal subdivisions or corporations, or other public authorities
or political entities within the state, hereinafter "public officer," shall make and preserve
all records necessary to a full and accurate knowledge of their official activities. Government
records may be produced in the form of computerized records. All government records shall

be made en-aphysical- medium-efa in a manner and quality to insure permanent records.
Every public officer is empowered to reproduce records iftherecords-are not-deemed-to-be

but may only

reproduce permanent and archival records pursuant to guidance from the state archives in
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consultation with the records disposition panel underseetion138-1+7. The public officer is
empowered to reproduce these records by any phetegraphie; photestatie; mterophotographie;

al-d maging-system;,- mierofilming,-or-other reproduetion method that clearly and

accurately reproduces the records. Each public officer may order that those phetegraphs;

her reproductions; be

substituted for the originals of them. Records that are reproduced when so ordered by a

public officer are admissible as evidence in all courts and proceedings of every kind. A

certified or exemplified copy of the reproduction has the same effect and weight as evidence

as would a certified or exemplified copy of the original. The public officer may direct the

destruction or sale for salvage or other disposition of the originals from which they were

made, in accordance with the disposition requirements of section 138.17. Phetographs;

Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 138.17, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Destruction, preservation, reproduction of records; prima facie
evidence. (a) The attorney general, legislative auditor in the case of state records, state
auditor in the case of local records, and director of the Minnesota Historical Society,
hereinafter director, shall constitute the Records Disposition Panel. The members of the
panel shall have power by majority vote to direct the destruction or sale for salvage of
government records determined to be no longer of any value, or to direct the disposition by
gift to the Minnesota Historical Society or otherwise of government records determined to
be valuable for preservation. The Records Disposition Panel may by majority vote order
any of those records to be reproduced by-photographic-or-othermeans; and order that
phetographie-or-other the reproductions be substituted for the originals of them. It may
direct the destruction or sale for salvage or other disposition of the originals from which

they were made.
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would-a-certifted-orexemplified-copy-of-the-original: Records that are reproduced when so

ordered by the Records Disposition Panel are admissible as evidence in all courts and

proceedings of every kind. A certified or exemplified copy of the reproduction has the same

effect and weight as evidence as would a certified or exemplified copy of the original. The

Records Disposition Panel, by majority vote, may direct the storage of government records,
except as herein provided

Phetographie-or-other Reproductions substituted for original records shall be disposed of

in accordance with the procedures provided for the original records.
(b) For the purposes of this chapter:

(1) the term "government records" means state and local records, including all cards,
correspondence, discs, maps, memoranda, microfilms, papers, photographs, recordings,
reports, tapes, writings, optical disks, and other data, information, or documentary material,
regardless of physical form or characteristics, storage media or conditions of use, made or
received by an officer or agency of the state and an officer or agency of a county, city, town,
school district, municipal subdivision or corporation or other public authority or political
entity within the state pursuant to state law or in connection with the transaction of public

business by an officer or agency;

(2) the term "state record" means a record of a department, office, officer, commission,
commissioner, board or any other agency, however styled or designated, of the executive
branch of state government; a record of the state legislature; a record of any court, whether
of statewide or local jurisdiction; and any other record designated or treated as a state record

under state law;

(3) the term "local record" means a record of an agency of a county, city, town, school

district, municipal subdivision or corporation or other public authority or political entity;

(4) the term "records" excludes data and information that does not become part of an
official transaction, library and museum material made or acquired and kept solely for
reference or exhibit purposes, extra copies of documents kept only for convenience of
reference and stock of publications and processed documents, and bonds, coupons, or other
obligations or evidences of indebtedness, the destruction or other disposition of which is

governed by other laws; and

(5) the term "state archives" means those records preserved or appropriate for preservation
as evidence of the organization, functions, policies, decisions, procedures, operations or
other activities of government or because of the value of the information contained in them,

when determined to have sufficient historical or other value to warrant continued preservation
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by the state of Minnesota and accepted for inclusion in the collections of the Minnesota

Historical Society.

(c) If the decision is made to dispose of records by majority vote, the Minnesota Historical

Society may acquire and retain whatever they determine to be of potential historical value.

Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 299C.80, subdivision 6, is amended to read:

Subd. 6. Reporting. (a) As provided for in chapter 13, the superintendent must make
all inactive investigative data for officer-involved death investigations that are public under
section 13.82, subdivision 7, or other applicable law available on the bureau's website within

30 days efthe-end-ofthelasteriminal-appeal-ef-a-subjeet ofaninvestigation: of the case

becoming inactive as defined in section 13.82, subdivision 7, except any video that does

not record, describe, or otherwise document actions and circumstances surrounding the

officer-involved death.

(b) By February 1 of each year, the superintendent shall report to the commissioner, the
governor, and the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with
jurisdiction over public safety finance and policy the following information about the unit:
the number of investigations initiated; the number of incidents investigated; the outcomes
or current status of each investigation; the charging decisions made by the prosecuting
authority of incidents investigated by the unit; the number of plea agreements reached in

incidents investigated by the unit; and any other information relevant to the unit's mission.

(c) Nothing in this subdivision modifies the requirements of chapter 13 or the

classification of data.

Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 480.40, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section and section 480.45, the

following terms have the meanings given.
(b) "Judicial official" means:

(1) every Minnesota district court judge, senior judge, retired judge, and every judge of
the Minnesota Court of Appeals and every active, senior, recalled, or retired federal judge

who resides in Minnesota;
(2) a justice of the Minnesota Supreme Court;
(3) employees of the Minnesota judicial branch;

(4) judicial referees and magistrate judges; and
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(5) current and retired judges and current employees of the Office of Administrative

Hearings, Workers' Compensation Court of Appeals, and Tax Court.

(c) "Personal information" does not include publicly available information. Personal

information means:
(1) a residential address of a judicial official;
(2) aresidential address of the spouse, domestic partner, or children of a judicial official;
(3) anonjudicial branch issued telephone number or email address of a judicial official;
(4) the name of any child of a judicial official; and

(5) the name of any child care facility or school that is attended by a child of a judicial
official if combined with an assertion that the named facility or school is attended by the

child of a judicial official.

(d) "Publicly available information" means information that is lawfully made available
through federal, state, or local government records or information that a business has a
reasonable basis to believe is lawfully made available to the general public through widely
distributed media, by a judicial official, or by a person to whom the judicial official has
disclosed the information, unless the judicial official has restricted the information to a

specific audience.
(e) "Law enforcement support organizations" do not include charitable organizations.

(f) "Real property records" has the meaning given in section 480.50, subdivision 1,

paragraph (f).

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2026.

Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 480.40, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Exceptions. (a) Subdivision 2 dees and section 480.50 do not apply to:

(1) the dissemination of personal information if the information is relevant to and
displayed as part of a news story, commentary, editorial, or other speech on a matter of

public concern;

(2) personal information that the judicial official voluntarily disseminates publicly after

August 1, 2024;

(3) the dissemination of personal information made at the request of the judicial official

or which is necessary to effectuate the request of a judicial official;
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(4) a commercial entity using personal information internally, providing access to
businesses under common ownership or affiliated by corporate control, or selling or providing
data for a transaction or service requested by or concerning the individual whose personal

information is being transferred;

(5) a commercial entity providing publicly available information through real-time or

near real-time alert services for health or safety purposes;

(6) a commercial entity engaged in the collection, maintenance, disclosure, sale,
communication, or use of any personal information bearing on a consumer's credit worthiness,
credit standing, credit capacity, character, general reputation, personal characteristics, or
mode of living by a consumer reporting agency, furnisher, or user that provides information
for use in a consumer report, and by a user of a consumer report, but only to the extent that
such activity is regulated by and authorized under the federal Fair Credit Reporting Act,
United States Code, title 15, section 1681, et seq.;

(7) a consumer reporting agency subject to the federal Fair Credit Reporting Act, United

States Code, title 15, section 1681, et seq.;

(8) a commercial entity using personal information collected, processed, sold, or disclosed
in compliance with the federal Driver's Privacy Protection Act of 1994, United States Code,

title 18, section 2721, et seq.;

(9) a commercial entity using personal information to do any of the following: prevent,
detect, protect against, or respond to security incidents, identity theft, fraud, harassment,
malicious or deceptive activities, or any illegal activity; preserve the integrity or security

of systems; or investigate, report, or prosecute any person responsible for any such action;

(10) a financial institution, affiliate of a financial institution, or data subject to title V

of the federal Gramm-Leach-Bliley Act, United States Code, title 15, section 6801, et seq.;

(11) a covered entity or business associate for purposes of the federal privacy regulations
promulgated under the federal Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act of 1996,

specifically United States Code, title 42, section 1320d-2 note;
(12) insurance and insurance support organizations;

(13) law enforcement agencies or law enforcement support organizations and vendors

that provide data support services to law enforcement agencies; and

(14) the collection and sale or licensing of covered information incidental to conducting

the activities described in clauses (4) to (13);-and.
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122.1 5)personalinformation-containedin:

1229 . . . ' : .. : :

122.3

122.4

122.5

122.6

122.7 (b) Subdivision 2 does not apply to:

122.8 (1) personal information of judicial officials collected, created, or maintained in real

1229  property records; or

122.10 (2) the dissemination of personal information in real property records by a licensed

122.11 attorney or any employees in the office of the licensed attorney, when reasonably necessary

122.12  for the provision of legal services.

122.13 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2026.

122.14  Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 480.45, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

122.15 Subd. 2. Removal of personal information; exception. (a) Upon receipt of an affidavit
122.16 requesting removal of the personal information of a judicial official that meets the

122.17 requirements of subdivision 1, the person, business, association, or government entity shall
122.18 remove the publicly posted personal information within 30 days. If the person, business,
122.19 association, or government entity fails to remove the publicly posted personal information
122.20 within 30 days after an affidavit is submitted, the judicial official may file a civil action in
12221 a court of competent jurisdiction seeking a court order compelling compliance, including

122.22 injunctive and declarative relief.

122.23 (b) Paragraph (a) shall not apply to personal information disseminated directly by a

122.24 government entity contained in: real property records, as defined in section 480.50,

122.25 subdivision 1, paragraph (f).

122.26 b b 045, tvist - :

122.27

122.28

122.29

122.30

122.31 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2026.
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Sec. 13. [480.50] PERSONAL INFORMATION IN REAL PROPERTY RECORDS.

Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For the purposes of this section, the following terms have

the meanings given.

(b) "County recorder" has the meaning given in section 13.045, subdivision 1, clause

&

(c) "Government entity" has the meaning given in section 13.02, subdivision 7a.

(d) "Judicial official" has the meaning given in section 480.40, subdivision 1, paragraph

(b), except that it does not include employees of the Minnesota judicial branch.

(e) "Personal information" has the meaning given in section 480.40, subdivision 1,

paragraph (c).

(f) "Real property records" means any of the following:

(1) real property records as defined in section 13.045, subdivision 1, clause (5);

(2) Uniform Commercial Code filings and tax liens maintained by the Secretary of State;

and

(3) any other records maintained by a county recorder or other government entity

evidencing title to, or any lien, judgment, or other encumbrance on, real or personal property.

(g) "Responsible authority" has the meaning given in section 13.02, subdivision 16.

Subd. 2. Classification of data. (a) Subject to the provisions of this section, the personal

information of all judicial officials collected, created, or maintained in real property records

is private data on individuals, as defined in section 13.02, subdivision 12.

(b) If the responsible authority or government entity violates this section, the remedies

and penalties under chapter 13 are available only if the judicial official making a claim

previously provided a real property notice that complies with subdivision 3. If the subject

of the data is the spouse, domestic partner, or adult child of a judicial official who does not

reside with the judicial official, the remedies and penalties under chapter 13 are available

only if the spouse, domestic partner, or adult child previously provided a notification under

subdivision 3 to the responsible authority confirming their status as the spouse, domestic

partner, or adult child of a judicial official. In the case of county records, the notification

shall be filed with the responsible authority that maintains the personal information for

which the judicial officer is seeking protection. A notification submitted under this section

is private data on individuals, as defined in section 13.02, subdivision 12.
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Subd. 3. Noetification. (a) For the classification in subdivision 2 to apply to personal

information in real property records, a judicial official must submit a real property notice

in writing to the county recorder in the county where the property identified in the real

property notice is located and to the Office of the Secretary of State. To affect real property

records maintained by any other government entity, a judicial official must submit a real

property notice in writing to the other government entity's responsible authority. If the

personal information is that of the spouse, domestic partner, or adult child of a judicial

official who does not reside with the judicial official, the spouse, domestic partner, or adult

child must submit a real property notice. The real property notice is classified as private

data on individuals, as defined in section 13.02, subdivision 12. A real property notice must

be on a form provided by the judicial branch and must include:

(1) the full legal name of the individual submitting the form,;

(2) the last four digits of the individual's Social Security number;

(3) the individual's date of birth;

(4) the individual's telephone number and email;

(5) the residential address of the individual in Minnesota;

(6) the legal description, parcel identification number, and street address, if any, of the

real property affected by the notice; and

(7) a certification that the individual is a judicial official or the spouse, domestic partner,

or adult child of a judicial official that contains the notarized signature of the individual.

(b) A notice submitted by a judicial official employed by the state must include the

employer's business address and a verification of current employment signed by the

employer's human resources office.

(c) A notice submitted pursuant to this subdivision by a spouse, domestic partner, or

adult child of a judicial official not residing with the judicial official must include a notarized

verification that the individual is the spouse, domestic partner, or adult child of a judicial

official.

(d) Only one parcel of real property may be included in each notice, but a judicial official

may submit more than one notice. A government entity may require a judicial official to

provide additional information necessary to identify the records of the judicial official or

the real property described in the notice. A individual submitting a notice must submit a

new real property notice if their legal name changes.
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Subd. 4. Access to real property records. (a) If an individual submits a notice under

subdivision 3, the county recorder or other government entity must not disclose the

individual's personal information in conjunction with the property identified in the written

notice, unless:

(1) the individual has consented to sharing or dissemination of the personal information

for the purpose identified in a writing signed by the individual and acknowledged by a

notary public;

(2) the personal information is subject to dissemination pursuant to a court order under

section 13.03, subdivision 6;

(3) the personal information is shared with a government entity for the purpose of

administering assessment and taxation laws;

(4) the personal information is disseminated pursuant to subdivision 5; or

(5) the personal information is shared with the examiner of titles or deputy examiner as

necessary to perform their statutory duties under chapters 508 and 508A, including the

dissemination of personal information in Reports of Examiner.

(b) This subdivision does not prevent the county recorder from returning original

documents to the person who submitted the documents for recording. Each county recorder

shall establish procedures for recording documents to comply with this subdivision. These

procedures may include masking personal information and making documents or certificates

of title containing the personal information private and not viewable except as allowed by

this paragraph. The procedure must comply with the requirements of chapters 386, 507,

508, and 508 A, and other laws as appropriate, to the extent these requirements do not conflict

with this section. The procedures must provide public notice of the existence of recorded

documents and certificates of title that are not publicly viewable and the provisions for

viewing them under this subdivision. Notice that a document or certificate is private and

viewable only under this subdivision or subdivision 5 is deemed constructive notice of the

document or certificate.

(c) A real property notice submitted under subdivision 3 shall apply retroactively to all

online and digital real property records, except digitized or scanned images of tract pages

and books, but only to the extent the individual submitting the notice provides the parcel

1dentification number, document number , or certificate of title number of each record for

which protection is sought. Otherwise, paragraph (a) applies only to the real property records

recorded or filed concurrently with the real property notice specified in subdivision 3 and
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to real property records affecting the same real property recorded subsequent to the county

recorder or other government entity's receipt of the real property notice.

(d) The county recorder or other government entity shall have 60 days from the date of

receipt of a real property notice under subdivision 3 to process the request. If the judicial

official cites exigent circumstances, the county recorder or other government entity shall

process the request as soon as practicable.

(e) The prohibition on disclosure in paragraph (a) continues until:

(1) the judicial official has consented to the termination of the real property notice in a

writing signed by the judicial official and acknowledged by a notary public;

(2) the real property notice is terminated pursuant to a court order;

(3) the judicial official no longer holds a record interest in the real property identified

in the real property notice;

(4) the judicial official is deceased and a copy of the death certificate has been filed with

the county recorder or other government entity to which a subdivision 3 notice was given;

or

(5) the judicial official no longer qualifies as a judicial official. Notification that the

judicial official no longer qualifies as a judicial official must be given by the judicial official

to each county recorder or other government entity to which a notice under subdivision 3

was given within 90 days after the judicial official no longer qualifies as a judicial official.

(f) Upon termination of the prohibition of disclosure, the county recorder shall make

publicly viewable all documents and certificates of title relative to the judicial official that

were previously partially or wholly private and not viewable.

Subd. 5. Access to personal information in real property records; title

examination. (a) Upon request, the judicial official shall verify that the judicial official's

real property is the property subject to a bona fide title exam.

(b) The county recorder or other government entity shall provide a judicial official's

unredacted real property records upon request of any of the following persons:

(1) a licensed title insurance company representative, a licensed title insurance agent, a

licensed abstractor, or an attorney licensed to practice law in Minnesota;

(2) a mortgage loan originator;

(3) a real estate broker or a real estate salesperson; and

Article 9 Sec. 13. 126



127.1

127.2

127.3

127.4

127.5

127.6

127.7

127.8

127.9

127.10

127.11

127.12

127.13

127.14

127.15

127.16

127.17

127.18

127.19

127.20

127.21

127.22

127.23

127.24

127.25

127.26

04/04/25 03:59 pm COUNSEL KPB/PP/GC SCS1098A-1

(4) an individual or entity that has made or received an offer for the purchase of real

property to or from a judicial official whose address is subject to nondisclosure, provided

the request is accompanied by a written consent from the judicial official.

(c) A request made under paragraph (a) or (b) must be made on a notarized form and

include:

(1) the full legal name, title, address, and place of employment, if applicable, of the

person requesting the real property records;

(2) the lawful purpose for requesting the real property records;

(3) the requestor's relationship, if any, to the judicial official;

(4) the legal description of the property subject to the title examination; and

(5) proof of the requestor's licensure.

(d) Personal information provided under this subdivision may be used only for the

purposes authorized in this subdivision or the lawful purposes set forth in the request for

disclosure form and may not be further disseminated to any other person. A person receiving

private data under this subdivision shall establish procedures to protect the data from further

dissemination.

Subd. 6. Service fees to county recorder or other government entity. The county

recorder or any other government entity is authorized to charge the following service fees:

(1) $40 for each real property notice under subdivision 3;

(2) $40 for each consent submitted under subdivision 4, paragraph (a), clause (1), and

subdivision 4, paragraph (e), clause (1); and

(3) $40 for each request submitted under subdivision 5.

These service fees shall not be considered county recorder fees under section 357.18 or

registrar of titles fees under section 508.82 or 508A.82 and shall be deposited into the county

recorder or other government entity's general fund.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2026.
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ARTICLE 10
MINNESOTA BUSINESS CORPORATION ACT

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 302A.011, subdivision 41, is amended to

read:

Subd. 41. Beneficial owner; beneficial ownership. (a) "Beneficial owner," when used
with respect to shares or other securities, includes, but is not limited to, any person who,
directly or indirectly through any written or oral agreement, arrangement, relationship,
understanding, or otherwise, has or shares the power to vote, or direct the voting of, the
shares or securities or has or shares the power to dispose of, or direct the disposition of, the

shares or securities, except that:

(1) a person shall not be deemed the beneficial owner of shares or securities tendered
pursuant to a tender or exchange offer made by the person or any of the person's affiliates
or associates until the tendered shares or securities are accepted for purchase or exchange;

and

(2) aperson shall not be deemed the beneficial owner of shares or securities with respect
to which the person has the power to vote or direct the voting arising solely from a revocable
proxy given in response to a proxy solicitation required to be made and made in accordance
with the applicable rules and regulations under the Securities Exchange Act of 1934 and is
not then reportable under that act on a Schedule 13D or comparable report, or, if the
corporation is not subject to the rules and regulations under the Securities Exchange Act of
1934, would have been required to be made and would not have been reportable if the

corporation had been subject to the rules and regulations.

(b) "Beneficial ownership" includes, but is not limited to, the right to acquire shares or
securities through the exercise of options, warrants, or rights, or the conversion of convertible
securities, or otherwise. The shares or securities subject to the options, warrants, rights, or
conversion privileges held by a person shall be deemed to be outstanding for the purpose
of computing the percentage of outstanding shares or securities of the class or series owned
by the person, but shall not be deemed to be outstanding for the purpose of computing the
percentage of the class or series owned by any other person. A person shall-be is deemed
the beneficial owner of shares and securities beneficially owned by: (1) any relative or
spouse of the person or any relative of the spouse, residing in the home of the person;; (2)
any trust or estate in which the person (i) owns ten percent or more of the total beneficial

interest of the trust or estate, or (ii) serves as trustee or executor or in a similar fiduciary
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capacity; for the trust or estate; (3) any organization in which the person owns ten percent

or more of the equity;; and (4) any affiliate of the person.

(c) When two or more persons act or agree to act as a partnership, limited partnership,
syndicate, or other group for the purposes of acquiring, owning, or voting shares or other
securities of a corporation, all members of the partnership, syndicate, or other group are
deemed to constitute a "person" and to have acquired beneficial ownership, as of the date
they first so act or agree to act together, of all shares or securities of the corporation

beneficially owned by the person.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 302A.011, i1s amended by adding a subdivision

to read:

Subd. 72. Defective corporate act. "Defective corporate act" means an overissue, an

election or appointment of directors that is void or voidable due to a failure of authorization,

or an act or transaction purportedly taken by or on behalf of the corporation that is and, at

the time the act or transaction was purportedly taken, would have been within the

corporation's power under section 302A.101 but is void or voidable due to a failure of

authorization.

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 302A.011, is amended by adding a subdivision

to read:

Subd. 73. Emergency. "Emergency" means a situation during which it is impracticable

for the corporation to conduct the corporation's affairs in accordance with this chapter, the

articles, the bylaws, or as specified in a notice for the meeting previously given as a result

of a catastrophic event or condition, including but not limited to an act of nature, an epidemic

or pandemic, a technological failure or malfunction, a terrorist incident or an act of war, a

cyber attack, a civil disturbance, or a governmental authority's emergency declaration.

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 302A.011, is amended by adding a subdivision

to read:

Subd. 74. Failure of authorization. "Failure of authorization" means the failure: (1) to

authorize or effect an act or transaction in compliance with (i) this chapter, (ii) the articles

or bylaws, (ii1) any plan or agreement to which the corporation is a party, or (iv) the

disclosure set forth in any proxy or consent solicitation statement, if and to the extent the

failure renders the act or transaction void or voidable; or (2) of the board or an officer to
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authorize or approve an act or transaction taken by or on behalf of the corporation that

requires board or officer approval for the act or transaction's due authorization.

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 302A.011, is amended by adding a subdivision

to read:

Subd. 75. Overissue. "Overissue" means the purported issuance of: (1) shares of a class

or series in excess of the number of shares of the class or series the corporation has the

power under the articles to issue under section 302A.401, subdivision 1, at the time of the

issuance; or (2) shares of any class or series that are not then authorized for issuance by the

articles.

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 302A.011, is amended by adding a subdivision

to read:

Subd. 76. Putative shares. "Putative shares" means shares, including shares issued upon

exercise of rights to purchase, in each case, that were created or issued pursuant to a defective

corporate act, that: (1) but for a failure of authorization, would constitute valid shares; or

(2) the board is unable to determine are valid shares.

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 302A.011, is amended by adding a subdivision

to read:

Subd. 77. Time of defective corporate act. "Time of defective corporate act" means

the date and time at which the defective corporate act was purportedly taken.

Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 302A.011, is amended by adding a subdivision

to read:

Subd. 78. Validation effective time. "Validation effective time," with respect to a

defective corporate act ratified under section 302A.166 or 302A.167, means the latest of:

(1) the time when a defective corporate act submitted to shareholders for approval under

section 302A.166, subdivision 4, is approved by shareholders or, if no vote of the

shareholders is required to approve the ratification of the defective corporate act, immediately

following the time when the board adopts the resolutions required under section 302A.166,

subdivision 2 or 3;

(2) if no certificate of validation must be filed under section 302A.166, subdivision 6,

the time, if any, specified by the board of directors in the resolutions adopted under section
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302A.166, subdivision 2 or 3, provided the time specified by the board of directors does

not precede the time when the resolutions are adopted; or

(3) the time when any certificate of validation filed under section 302A.166, subdivision

6, is filed with the secretary of state.

Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 302A.011, is amended by adding a subdivision

to read:

Subd. 79. Valid shares. "Valid shares" means shares that have been duly authorized

and validly issued as required under this chapter.

Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 302A.111, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Statutory provisions that may be modified only in articles or in a
shareholder control agreement. The following provisions govern a corporation unless

modified in the articles or in a shareholder control agreement under section 302A.457:
(a) a corporation has general business purposes (section 302A.101);
(b) a corporation has perpetual existence and certain powers (section 302A.161);

(c) the power to adopt, amend, or repeal the bylaws is vested in the board (section

302A.181);

(d) a corporation must allow cumulative voting for directors (section 302A.215,

subdivision 2);

(e) the affirmative vote of a majority of directors present is required for an action of the

board (section 302A.237);

(f) a written action by the board taken without a meeting must be signed by all directors

(section 302A.239);

(g) the board may authorize the issuance of securities and rights to purchase securities

(section 302A.401, subdivision 1);

(h) all shares are common shares entitled to vote and are of one class and one series

(section 302A.401, subdivision 2, clauses (a) and (b));

(1) all shares have equal rights and preferences in all matters not otherwise provided for

by the board (section 302A.401, subdivision 2, clause (b));

(j) the par value of shares is fixed at one cent per share for certain purposes and may be

fixed by the board for certain other purposes (section 302A.401, subdivision 2, clause (c));
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(k) the board or the shareholders may issue shares for any consideration or for no
consideration to effectuate share dividends, divisions, or combinations, and determine the

value of nonmonetary consideration (section 302A.405, subdivision 1);

(1) shares of a class or series must not be issued to holders of shares of another class or
series to effectuate share dividends, divisions, or combinations, unless authorized by a
majority of the voting power of the shares of the same class or series as the shares to be

issued (section 302A.405, subdivision 1);

(m) a corporation may issue rights to purchase securities whose terms, provisions, and

conditions are fixed by the board (section 302A.409);

(n) a shareholder has certain preemptive rights, unless otherwise provided by the board

(section 302A.413);

(o) the affirmative vote of the holders of a majority of the voting power of the shares
present and entitled to vote at a duly held meeting is required for an action of the
shareholders, except where this chapter requires the affirmative vote of a plurality of the
votes cast (section 302A.215, subdivision 1) or a majority of the voting power of all shares

entitled to vote (section 302A.437, subdivision 1);

(p) shares of a corporation acquired by the corporation may be reissued (section

302A.553, subdivision 1);

(q) each share has one vote unless otherwise provided in the terms of the share (section

302A.445, subdivision 3);

(r) a corporation may issue shares for a consideration less than the par value, if any, of

the shares (section 302A.405, subdivision 2);

(s) the board may effect share dividends, divisions, and combinations under certain

circumstances without shareholder approval (section 302A.402);
(t) a written action of shareholders must be signed by all shareholders (section 302A.441);

(u) specified amendments of the articles create dissenters' rights (section 302A.471,

subdivision 1, clause (a)); and

(v) shareholders are entitled to vote as a class or series upon proposed amendments to

the articles in specified circumstances (section 302A.137):; and

(w) the corporation's business and affairs must be managed by or under the board's

direction (section 302A.201).
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Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 302A.161, is amended by adding a subdivision

to read:

Subd. 23a. Emergency powers. (a) During an emergency, unless emergency bylaws

provide otherwise:

(1) notice of a meeting of the board must be given only to the directors that are practicable

to reach and may, if ordinary notice is impracticable or inadvisable due to the emergency,

be given in any practicable manner; and

(2) the officers designated on a list approved by the board of directors before the

emergency, in the priority order and subject to conditions as may be provided in the board

resolution approving the list, must, to the extent required to provide a quorum at any meeting

of the board, be deemed directors for the meeting.

(b) During an emergency that makes it impracticable to convene a meeting of shareholders

in accordance with this chapter, the articles, the bylaws, or as specified in a notice for the

meeting previously given, unless emergency bylaws provide otherwise, the board may

postpone a meeting of shareholders for which notice has been given or authorize shareholders

to participate in a meeting by any means of remote communication that conforms with

section 302A.436. The corporation must give notice to shareholders, by the means and with

shorter advance notice as are reasonable in the circumstances, of a postponement, including

any new date, time, or place, and describe any means of remote communication to be used.

The notice to shareholders by a publicly held corporation may be given solely by means of

a document publicly filed by the corporation with the Securities and Exchange Commission

pursuant to the rules and regulations under the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, United

States Code, title 15, section 78a, et seq.

(c) A corporate action taken in good faith under this subdivision during an emergency

to further the business and affairs of the corporation binds the corporation.

Sec. 12. [302A.166] DEFECTIVE CORPORATE ACTS AND SHARES;

RATIFICATION.

Subdivision 1. Effect of ratification or validation. Subject to subdivision 7, a defective

corporate act or putative share is not void or voidable solely as a result of a failure of

authorization if the defective corporate act or putative share is ratified under this section or

validated by a court in a proceeding brought under section 302A.167.
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Subd. 2. Board approval; generally. (a) In order to ratify one or more defective corporate

acts under this section other than ratifying an election of the first board under subdivision

3, the board must adopt resolutions stating:

(1) the defective corporate act or acts to be ratified,

(2) the date of each defective corporate act or acts;

(3) if the defective corporate act or acts involved the issuance of putative shares, the

number and type of putative shares issued and the date or dates upon which the putative

shares were purported to have been issued;

(4) the nature of the failure of authorization in respect of each defective corporate act

to be ratified; and

(5) that the board approves ratification of the defective corporate act or acts.

(b) The resolutions also may provide that, at any time before the validation effective

time in respect of a defective corporate act set forth in the resolutions, notwithstanding the

approval of the ratification of the defective corporate act by shareholders, the board may

abandon the ratification of the defective corporate act without further action of the

shareholders.

(c) The quorum and voting requirements that apply to the board's ratification of any

defective corporate act must be the quorum and voting requirements applicable to the type

of defective corporate act proposed to be ratified at the time the board adopts the resolutions

ratifying the defective corporate act. If the articles or bylaws, any plan or agreement to

which the corporation was a party, or any provision of this chapter, in each case as in effect

as of the time of the defective corporate act, require a larger number or portion of directors

or of specified directors for a quorum to be present or to approve the defective corporate

act, the larger number or portion of the directors or the specified directors must be required

for a quorum to be present or to adopt the resolutions to ratify the defective corporate act,

as applicable; except that the presence or approval of a director elected, appointed, or

nominated by holders of any class or series of which no shares are outstanding at the time

the board adopts the resolutions ratifying the defective corporate act, or by any person that

is no longer a shareholder at the time the board adopts the resolutions ratifying the defective

corporate act, is not required.

Subd. 3. Board approval; election of first board. To ratify a defective corporate act

in respect of the election of the first board under section 302A.201, subdivision 1, a majority

of the persons who, at the time the resolutions required by this subdivision are adopted, are
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exercising the powers of directors under claim and color of an election or appointment as

such may adopt resolutions stating:

(1) the name of the person or persons who first took action in the name of the corporation

as the first board;

(2) the earlier of the date on which the persons first took the action or were purported

to have been elected as the first board; and

(3) that the ratification of the election of the person or persons as the first board is

approved.

Subd. 4. Shareholder approval; when required. A defective corporate act ratified

under subdivision 2 must be submitted to shareholders for approval under subdivision 5,

unless:

(1)(1) no other provision of this chapter, and no provision of the articles or bylaws, or

of any plan or agreement to which the corporation is a party, requires shareholder approval

of the defective corporate act to be ratified, either at the time of the defective corporate act

or at the time the board adopts the resolutions ratifying the defective corporate act under

subdivision 2, and (ii) the defective corporate act did not result from a failure to comply

with section 302A.673; or

(2) as of the adoption of the resolutions of the board under subdivision 2, there are no

valid shares outstanding and entitled to vote thereon, regardless of whether there then exist

any putative shares.

Subd. 5. Shareholder approval; process. (a) If the ratification of a defective corporate

act must be submitted to shareholders for approval under subdivision 4, notice of the meeting

must be given in the manner set forth in section 302A.435 to each holder of valid shares

and putative shares, whether voting or nonvoting.

(b) The notice under this subdivision must be given as follows:

(1) in the case of a defective corporate act that did not involve the establishment of a

record date for notice of or voting at any meeting of shareholders, for written action of

shareholders in lieu of a meeting, or for any other purpose, to the shareholders of valid

shares and putative shares, whether voting or nonvoting, as of the time of the defective

corporate act, other than holders whose identities or addresses cannot be determined from

the corporation's records; or

(2) in the case of a defective corporate act that involved the establishment of a record

date for notice of or voting at any meeting of shareholders, for written action of shareholders
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in lieu of a meeting, or for any other purpose, to the shareholders of valid shares and putative

shares, whether voting or nonvoting, as of the record date for notice of or voting at the

meeting, the record date for written action, or the record date for the other action, as the

case may be, other than holders whose identities or addresses cannot be determined from

the corporation's records.

(c) The notice must contain a copy of the resolutions adopted by the board under

subdivision 2 or the information required by subdivision 2, paragraph (a), clauses (1) to (5).

The notice must include a statement that any claim that the defective corporate act or putative

shares ratified under this section is void or voidable due to the failure of authorization, or

that a court should declare in the court's discretion that a ratification in accordance with this

section is not effective or is effective only on certain conditions, must be brought within

120 days from the applicable validation effective time.

(d) At the meeting, the quorum and voting requirements that apply to ratification of the

defective corporate act must be the same quorum and voting requirements that apply to the

type of defective corporate act proposed to be ratified at the time of the approval of the

ratification, except that:

(1) if the articles or bylaws, a plan or agreement to which the corporation was a party,

or a provision under this chapter in effect as of the time of the defective corporate act requires

a larger number or portion of shares or of any class or series thereof or of specified

shareholders for a quorum to be present or to approve the defective corporate act, the presence

or approval of the larger number or portion of stock or of the class or series thereof or of

the specified shareholders must be required for a quorum to be present or to approve the

ratification of the defective corporate act, as applicable; except that the presence or approval

of shares of any class or series of which no shares are outstanding at the time of the approval

of the ratification, or of any person that is no longer a shareholder at the time of the approval

of the ratification, is not required; and

(2) the approval by shareholders of the ratification of a director's election requires the

affirmative vote of a plurality of shares present at the meeting and entitled to vote on the

election of the director in the manner set forth in section 302A.215, except that, if the articles

or bylaws then in effect or in effect at the time of the defective election require or required

a larger number or portion of shares or of any class or series thereof or of specified

shareholders to elect the director, the affirmative vote of the larger number or portion of

shares or of any class or series thereof or of the specified shareholders must be required to

ratify the election of the director; except that the presence or approval of shares of any class

or series of which no shares are outstanding at the time of the approval of the ratification,
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or of any person that is no longer a shareholder at the time of the approval of the ratification,

1s not required.

(e) Putative shares, measured as of the adoption by the board of resolutions under

subdivision 2 and without giving effect to any ratification that becomes effective after the

adoption, are neither entitled to vote nor counted for quorum purposes in a vote to ratify a

defective corporate act.

Subd. 6. Certificate of validation. (a) If a defective corporate act ratified under this

section requires under any other section of this chapter a certificate to be filed with the

secretary of state, and either (1) the certificate requires any change to give effect to the

defective corporate act in accordance with this section, including a change to the date and

time of the effectiveness of the certificate, or (2) a certificate was not previously filed with

respect to the defective corporate act, the corporation must file with the secretary of state

a certificate of validation with respect to the defective corporate act in lieu of filing the

certificate otherwise required by this chapter.

(b) A separate certificate of validation is required for each defective corporate act that

requires the filing of a certificate of validation under this section, except that (1) two or

more defective corporate acts may be included in a single certificate of validation if the

corporation filed with the secretary of state, or to comply with this chapter would have filed

with the secretary of state, a single certificate under another provision of this chapter to

effect the acts, and (2) two or more overissues of shares, or of any class or series of shares,

may be included in a single certificate of validation; provided that the increase in the number

of authorized shares, or of each class or series, set forth in the certificate of validation is

effective on the date of the first overissue.

(c) The certificate of validation must set forth:

(1) that the corporation has ratified one or more defective corporate acts that would have

required filing with the secretary of state of a certificate under this chapter;

(2) that each defective corporate act has been ratified in accordance with this section;

and

(3) the following information:

(1) if a certificate was previously filed with the secretary of state under this chapter with

respect to the defective corporate act and the certificate requires any change to give effect

to the defective corporate act in accordance with this section, including a change to the date

and time of the effectiveness of the certificate, the certificate of validation must set forth:
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(A) the name, title, and filing date of the certificate previously filed and any certificate

of correction to the certificate previously filed;

(B) a statement that a certificate containing all of the information that must be included

under the applicable section or sections of this chapter to give effect to the defective corporate

act 1s attached as an exhibit to the certificate of validation; and

(C) the date and time that the certificate is deemed effective pursuant to this section; or

(11) if a certificate was not previously filed with the secretary of state under this chapter

in respect of the defective corporate act and the defective corporate act ratified pursuant to

this section would have required under any other section of this chapter the filing with the

secretary of state of a certificate, the certificate of validation shall set forth:

(A) a statement that a certificate containing all of the information required to be included

under the applicable section or sections of this chapter to give effect to the defective corporate

act is attached as an exhibit to the certificate of validation; and

(B) the date and time that the certificate shall be deemed to have become effective

pursuant to this section.

(d) A certificate attached to a certificate of validation need not be separately executed

and acknowledged and need not include a statement required by another section under this

chapter that the instrument has been approved and adopted in accordance with the provisions

of the other section under this chapter.

Subd. 7. Retroactive effect. From and after the validation effective time, unless otherwise

determined in an action brought pursuant to section 302A.167, subject to subdivision 5,

paragraph (e):

(1) each defective corporate act ratified in accordance with this section is no longer

deemed void or voidable as a result of the failure of authorization described in the resolutions

adopted under subdivision 2, effective retroactively from the time of the defective corporate

act; and

(2) each share or fraction of a share of putative shares issued or purportedly issued

pursuant to the defective corporate act is no longer deemed void or voidable, and is deemed

to be an identical outstanding share or fraction of an outstanding share as of the time the

share or fraction of a share was purportedly issued.

Subd. 8. Postratification notice. (a) Except as provided under paragraph (b), with respect

to each defective corporate act ratified by the board under subdivision 2 or subdivision 3,

prompt notice of the ratification must be given to all shareholders of valid shares and putative
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shares, whether voting or nonvoting, as of the date the board adopts the resolutions approving

the defective corporate act, or as of a date within 60 days after the date of adoption, as

established by the board. The notice must be sent to the address of the holder as the address

appears or most recently appeared, as appropriate, on the corporation's records. The notice

must be given to the shareholders of valid shares and putative shares, whether voting or

nonvoting, as of the time of the defective corporate act, other than holders whose identities

or addresses cannot be determined from the records of the corporation. The notice must

contain a copy of the resolutions adopted under subdivision 2 or the information specified

under subdivision 2, paragraph (a), clauses (1) to (5), or subdivision 3, clauses (1) to (3),

as applicable, and a statement that any claim that the defective corporate act or putative

shares ratified under this section is void or voidable due to the failure of authorization, or

that a court should declare in the court's discretion that a ratification in accordance with this

section is not effective or is effective only on certain conditions, must be brought within

120 days from the latter of the validation effective time or the time at which the notice

required by this subdivision is given.

(b) Notice is not required if notice of the ratification of the defective corporate act is

given in accordance with subdivision 5 and, in the case of a corporation that has a class of

shares listed on a national securities exchange, the notice required by this subdivision and

subdivision 5 may be deemed given if disclosed in a document publicly filed by the

corporation with the Securities and Exchange Commission pursuant to section 13, 14, or

15(d) of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, as amended, United States Code, title 15,

section 78a, et seq., and rules and regulations promulgated under the Securities Exchange

Act of 1934, as amended, or the corresponding provisions of any subsequent United States

securities laws, rules, or regulations.

(c) If a defective corporate act has been approved by shareholders acting pursuant to

section 302A.441, the notice required by this subdivision may be included in a notice

required under section 302A.441, subdivision 3. If the notice is given under section

302A.441, the notice must be sent to the shareholders entitled to the notice under section

302A.441, subdivision 3, and to all holders of valid shares and putative shares to whom

notice is required under this subdivision if the defective corporate act had been approved

at a meeting and the record date for determining the shareholders entitled to notice of the

meeting had been the date for determining the shareholders entitled to notice under paragraph

(a) other than any shareholder who approved the written action in lieu of a meeting under

section 302A.441 or any holder of putative shares who otherwise consented thereto in

writing.
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(d) For purposes of this subdivision and subdivision 5 only, notice to holders of putative

shares, and notice to holders of valid shares and putative shares as of the time of the defective

corporate act, is treated as notice to holders of valid shares for purposes of sections 302A.435

and 302A.441.

Sec. 13. [302A.167] VALIDITY OF DEFECTIVE CORPORATE ACTS AND
SHARES; PROCEEDINGS.

Subdivision 1. When permitted. Subject to subdivision 5, upon application by the

corporation, a successor entity to the corporation, a member of the board, a shareholder or

beneficial owner of valid shares or putative shares, a shareholder or beneficial owner of

valid shares or putative shares as of the time of a defective corporate act ratified pursuant

to section 302A.166, or other person claiming to be substantially and adversely affected by

a ratification pursuant to section 302A.166, a court may:

(1) determine the validity and effectiveness of any defective corporate act ratified pursuant

to section 302A.166;

(2) determine the validity and effectiveness of the ratification of any defective corporate

act pursuant to section 302A.166;

(3) determine the validity and effectiveness of any defective corporate act not ratified

or not ratified effectively pursuant to section 302A.166;

(4) determine the validity of any corporate act or transaction and any shares or rights to

purchase; and

(5) modify or waive any of the procedures set forth in section 302A.166 to ratify a

defective corporate act.

Subd. 2. Remedies. In connection with an action under this section, a court may:

(1) declare that a ratification under section 302A.166 is not effective or is only effective

at a time or upon conditions established by the court;

(2) validate and declare effective a defective corporate act or putative shares and impose

conditions upon the court's validation;

(3) require measures to remedy or avoid harm to a person substantially and adversely

affected by a ratification under section 302A.166 or from a court order pursuant to this

section, excluding harm that would have resulted if the defective corporate act had been

valid when approved or effectuated,
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(4) order the secretary of state to accept an instrument for filing with an effective time

specified by the court, which may be before or after the time of the order, provided that the

filing date of the instrument must be determined in accordance with section 302A.011,

subdivision 11;

(5) approve a share register for the corporation that includes any shares ratified or

validated in accordance with this section or section 302A.166;

(6) declare that putative shares are valid shares or require a corporation to issue and

deliver valid shares in place of any putative shares;

(7) order a meeting of holders of valid shares or putative shares and determine the right

and power of persons claiming to hold valid shares or putative shares to vote at the ordered

meeting;

(8) declare that a defective corporate act validated by a court is effective as of the time

of the defective corporate act or at another time the court may determine;

(9) declare that putative shares validated by a court shall be deemed to be an identical

share or fraction of a valid share as of the time originally issued or purportedly issued or at

such other time as the court may determine; and

(10) make other orders regarding matters as the court deems proper under the

circumstances.

Subd. 3. Service. Service of the application under subdivision 1 upon the registered

agent of the corporation is deemed to be service upon the corporation, and no other party

needs to be joined in order for a court to adjudicate the matter. In an action filed by the

corporation, a court may require notice of the action be provided to other persons specified

by the court and permit the other persons to intervene in the action.

Subd. 4. Considerations. In connection with resolving matters pursuant to subdivisions

1 and 2, a court may consider the following:

(1) whether the defective corporate act was originally approved or effectuated with the

good faith belief that the approval or effectuation was in compliance with the provisions of

this chapter, the articles, or the bylaws;

(2) whether the corporation and board have treated the defective corporate act as a valid

act or transaction and whether a person has acted in reliance on the public record that the

defective corporate act was valid;
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(3) whether any person may be or was harmed by the ratification or validation of the

defective corporate act, excluding harm that would have resulted if the defective corporate

act had been valid when approved or effectuated;

(4) whether any person is harmed by the failure to ratify or validate the defective corporate

act; and

(5) any other factors or considerations the court deems just and equitable.

Subd. 5. Statute of limitations. An action asserting that (1) a defective corporate act or

putative shares ratified in accordance with section 302A.166 is void or voidable due to a

failure of authorization identified in the resolution adopted in accordance with section

302A.166, subdivision 2 or 3, or (2) a court should declare in its discretion that a ratification

in accordance with section 302A.166 not be effective or be effective only on certain

conditions, is prohibited from being brought after the expiration of 120 days from the later

of the validation effective time and the time notice, if any, that is required to be given

pursuant to section 302A.166, subdivision 8, is given with respect to the ratification; except

that this subdivision does not apply to an action asserting that a ratification was not

accomplished in accordance with section 302A.166 or to any person to whom notice of the

ratification was required to have been given pursuant to 302A.166, subdivision 5 or §, but

to whom the notice was not given.

Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 302A.181, is amended by adding a subdivision

to read:

Subd. 4. Emergency bylaws. (a) Unless the articles provide otherwise, bylaws may

contain provisions that are effective only during an emergency. The emergency bylaws may

contain provisions necessary to manage the corporation during the emergency, including:

(1) procedures for calling a meeting of the board;

(2) quorum requirements for the meeting;

(3) designation of additional or substitute directors; and

(4) procedures for the board to determine the duration of an emergency.

(b) All provisions of the regular bylaws that are not inconsistent with the emergency

bylaws remain effective during the emergency.

(c) Corporate action taken in good faith in accordance with the emergency bylaws binds

the corporation.
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Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 302A.201, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Board to manage. The business and affairs of a corporation shall be
managed by or under the direction of a board, subject to the provisions of subdivision 2 and

section 302A.457, and except as may be otherwise provided in the articles. If a provision

is made in the articles: (1) the powers and duties conferred or imposed upon the board of

directors by this chapter must be exercised or performed to the extent and by the natural

persons provided in the articles, (2) the directors have no duties, liabilities, or responsibilities

as directors under this chapter with respect to or arising from the exercise or performance

of, or from the failure to exercise or perform, the conferred or imposed powers and duties

by the other persons, and (3) the other persons have all of the duties, liabilities, and

responsibilities of directors under this chapter with respect to and arising from the exercise

or performance of, or the failure to exercise or perform, the conferred or imposed powers

and duties. The members of the first board may be named in the articles or elected by the

incorporators pursuant to section 302A.171 or by the shareholders.

Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 302A.237, is amended by adding a subdivision

to read:

Subd. 3. Agreements and other instruments; authorization. When this chapter requires

the board to approve or to take other action with respect to an agreement, instrument, plan,

or document, the agreement, instrument, plan, or document may be approved by the board

in final form or in substantially final form. If the board acts to approve or take other action

with respect to an agreement, instrument, plan, or document that this chapter requires to be

filed with the secretary of state or referenced in any certificate filed, the board may, at any

time after providing the approval or taking other action and prior to the effectiveness of the

filing with the secretary of state, adopt a resolution ratifying the agreement, instrument,

plan, or document. The ratification under this subdivision is effective as of the time of the

original approval or other action by the board and to satisfy any requirement under this

chapter that the board approve or take other action with respect to the agreement, instrument,

plan, or document in a specific manner or sequence.

Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 302A.361, is amended to read:

302A.361 STANDARD OF CONDUCT.

Subdivision 1. Standard; liability. An officer shall discharge the duties of an office in

good faith, in a manner the officer reasonably believes to be in the best interests of the

corporation, and with the care an ordinarily prudent person in a like position would exercise
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under similar circumstances. A person who so performs those duties is not liable by reason
of being or having been an officer of the corporation. A person exercising the principal
functions of an office or to whom some or all of the duties and powers of an office are
delegated pursuant to section 302A.351 is deemed an officer for purposes of this section

and sections 302A.467 and 302A.521.

Subd. 2. Liability; elimination or limitation. The articles of a corporation may provide

that an officer's personal liability to the shareholders for monetary damages for breach,

during the time the corporation is a publicly held corporation, of fiduciary duty as an officer

may be eliminated or limited. The articles must not eliminate or limit the liability of an

officer:

(1) for any breach of the officer's duty of loyalty to the corporation or the corporation's

shareholders;

(2) for acts or omissions not in good faith or that involve intentional misconduct or a

knowing violation of law;

(3) under section 80A.76;

(4) for any transaction from which the officer derived an improper personal benefit;

(5) in any action by or in the right of the corporation; or

(6) for any act or omission occurring prior to the date when the provision in the articles

eliminating or limiting liability becomes effective.

Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 302A.461, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. Right to inspect. (a) A shareholder, beneficial owner, or a holder of a voting
trust certificate of a corporation that is not a publicly held corporation has an absolute right,
upon written demand, to examine and copy, in person or by a legal representative, at any
reasonable time, and the corporation shall make available within ten days after receipt by

an officer of the corporation of the written demand:
(1) the share register; and
(2) all documents referred to in subdivision 2.

(b) A shareholder, beneficial owner, or a holder of a voting trust certificate of a
corporation that is not a publicly held corporation has a right, upon written demand, to
examine and copy, in person or by a legal representative, other corporate records at any
reasonable time only if the shareholder, beneficial owner, or holder of a voting trust certificate

demonstrates a proper purpose for the examination.
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(c) A shareholder, beneficial owner, or a holder of a voting trust certificate of a publicly
held corporation has, upon written demand stating the purpose and acknowledged or verified
in the manner provided in chapter 358, a right at any reasonable time to examine and copy
the corporation's share register and other corporate records reasonably related to the stated
purpose and described with reasonable particularity in the written demand upon
demonstrating the stated purpose to be a proper purpose. The acknowledged or verified
demand must be directed to the corporation at its registered office in this state or at its

principal place of business.

(d) For purposes of this section, a "proper purpose" is one reasonably related to the
person's interest as a shareholder, beneficial owner, or holder of a voting trust certificate of

the corporation.

(e) If a corporation or an officer or director of the corporation violates this section, a

court in Minnesota may, in an action brought by a shareholder, beneficial owner, or a holder

of a voting trust certificate of the corporation, specifically enforce this section and award

expenses, including attorney fees and disbursements, to the shareholder, beneficial owner,

or a holder of a voting trust certificate.

Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 302A.471, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Actions creating rights. A shareholder of a corporation may dissent
from, and obtain payment for the fair value of the shareholder's shares in the event of, any

of the following corporate actions:

(a) unless otherwise provided in the articles, an amendment of the articles that materially
and adversely affects the rights or preferences of the shares of the dissenting shareholder

in that it:
(1) alters or abolishes a preferential right of the shares;

(2) creates, alters, or abolishes a right in respect of the redemption of the shares, including

a provision respecting a sinking fund for the redemption or repurchase of the shares;

(3) alters or abolishes a preemptive right of the holder of the shares to acquire shares,

securities other than shares, or rights to purchase shares or securities other than shares;

(4) excludes or limits the right of a shareholder to vote on a matter, or to cumulate votes,
except as the right may be excluded or limited through the authorization or issuance of
securities of an existing or new class or series with similar or different voting rights; except

that an amendment to the articles of an issuing public corporation that provides that section
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302A.671 does not apply to a control share acquisition does not give rise to the right to

obtain payment under this section; er
(5) eliminates the right to obtain payment under this subdivision; or

(6) pursuant to section 302A.201, subdivision 1, diminishes or abolishes the board's

right to manage, or to direct the management of, the corporation's business and affairs;

(b) a sale, lease, transfer, or other disposition of property and assets of the corporation
that requires shareholder approval under section 302A.661, subdivision 2, but not including
a disposition in dissolution described in section 302A.725, subdivision 2, or a disposition
pursuant to an order of a court, or a disposition for cash on terms requiring that all or
substantially all of the net proceeds of disposition be distributed to the shareholders in

accordance with their respective interests within one year after the date of disposition;

(c) a plan of merger, whether under this chapter or under chapter 322C, to which the
corporation is a constituent organization, except as provided in subdivision 3, and except

for a plan of merger adopted under section 302A.626;

(d) a plan of exchange, whether under this chapter or under chapter 322C, to which the
corporation is a party as the corporation whose shares will be acquired by the acquiring

organization, except as provided in subdivision 3;
(e) a plan of conversion is adopted by the corporation and becomes effective;

(f) an amendment of the articles in connection with a combination of a class or series
under section 302A.402 that reduces the number of shares of the class or series owned by
the shareholder to a fraction of a share if the corporation exercises its right to repurchase

the fractional share so created under section 302A.423; or

(g) any other corporate action taken pursuant to a shareholder vote with respect to which
the articles, the bylaws, or a resolution approved by the board directs that dissenting

shareholders may obtain payment for their shares.

Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 302A.471, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Rights not to apply. (a) Unless the articles, the bylaws, or a resolution approved
by the board otherwise provide, the right to obtain payment under this section does not
apply to a shareholder of (1) the surviving corporation in a merger with respect to shares
of the shareholder that are not entitled to be voted on the merger and are not canceled or

exchanged in the merger or (2) the corporation whose shares will be acquired by the acquiring
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organization in a plan of exchange with respect to shares of the shareholder that are not

entitled to be voted on the plan of exchange and are not exchanged in the plan of exchange.

(b) If a date is fixed according to section 302A.445, subdivision 1, for the determination
of shareholders entitled to receive notice of and to vote on an action described in subdivision
1, only shareholders as of the date fixed, and beneficial owners as of the date fixed who

hold through shareholders, as provided in subdivision 2, may exercise dissenters' rights.

(c) Notwithstanding subdivision 1, the right to obtain payment under this section, other
than in connection with a plan of merger adopted under section 302A.613, subdivision 4,

or 302A.621, is limited in accordance with the following provisions:

(1) The right to obtain payment under this section is not available for the holders of

shares of any class or series of shares that is listed on the NewYerk-Steek Exchange; NYSE

Capital- Market-er-anysueeessor-to-any-such-market any national securities exchange

registered with the United States Securities and Exchange Commission under Section 6 of

the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, United States Code, title 15, section 78a, et seq.

(2) The applicability of clause (1) is determined as of:

(1) the record date fixed to determine the shareholders entitled to receive notice of, and
to vote at, the meeting of shareholders to act upon the corporate action described in

subdivision 1; or

(i1) the day before the effective date of corporate action described in subdivision 1 if

there is no meeting of shareholders.

(3) Clause (1) is not applicable, and the right to obtain payment under this section is
available pursuant to subdivision 1, for the holders of any class or series of shares who are
required by the terms of the corporate action described in subdivision 1 to accept for such
shares anything other than shares, or cash in lieu of fractional shares, of any class or any
series of shares of a domestic or foreign corporation, or any other ownership interest of any
other organization, that satisfies the standards set forth in clause (1) at the time the corporate

action becomes effective.

Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 302A.611, is amended by adding a subdivision

to read:

Subd. 1a. Additional remedies; shareholder representatives. A plan of merger or

exchange may provide:
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(1) that: (i) a party to the plan that fails to perform the party's obligations under the plan

in accordance with the terms and conditions of the plan, or that otherwise fails to comply

with the terms and conditions of the plan, in each case required to be performed or complied

with prior to the time the merger or exchange becomes effective, or that otherwise fails to

consummate, or fails to cause the consummation of, the merger or exchange, whether prior

to a specified date, upon satisfaction or, to the extent permitted by law, waiver of all

conditions to consummation set forth in the plan or otherwise, is subject, in addition to any

other remedies available at law or in equity, to penalties or consequences set forth in the

plan of merger or exchange, which may include an obligation to pay to the other party or

parties to the plan an amount representing or based on the loss of any premium or other

economic entitlement the shareholders or holders of rights to purchase of the other party

would be entitled to receive pursuant to the terms of the plan if the merger or exchange

were consummated in accordance with the terms of the plan; and (i1) if, pursuant to the

terms of the plan of merger or exchange, the corporation is entitled to receive payment from

another party to the plan of any amount representing a penalty or consequence, the

corporation is entitled to enforce the other party's payment obligation and upon receipt of

a payment is entitled to retain the amount of the payment received; or

(2)(1) for the appointment, at or after the time at which the plan of merger or exchange

is approved by the shareholders of the corporation in accordance with the requirements of

this chapter, of one or more persons, which may include the surviving or resulting

organization or any officer, representative, or agent of the surviving or resulting organization,

as representative of the shareholders or the holders of rights to purchase of the corporation,

including the shareholders and holders whose shares or rights to purchase must be canceled,

converted, or exchanged in the merger or exchange and for the delegation to the person or

persons of the sole and exclusive authority to take action and bring claims on behalf of the

shareholders and the holders pursuant to the plan, including taking actions and bringing

claims, including by entering into settlements, as the representative determines to enforce

the rights of the shareholders and holders under the plan of merger or exchange, on the

terms and subject to the conditions set forth in the plan; (ii) that an appointment is irrevocable

and binding on all shareholders and holders from and after the approval of the plan of merger

or exchange by the requisite vote of shareholders pursuant to this chapter; and (iii) that a

provision adopted pursuant to this clause may not be amended after the merger or exchange

has become effective or may be amended only with the consent or approval of persons

specified in the plan of merger or exchange.
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149.1 ARTICLE 11
149.2 TRUSTS

149.3 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 501A.01, is amended to read:

149.4 501A.01 WHEN NONVESTED INTEREST, POWERS OF APPOINTMENT ARE
1495 INVALID; EXCEPTIONS.

149.6 (a) A nonvested property interest is invalid unless:

149.7 (1) when the interest is created, it is certain to vest or terminate no later than 21 years

149.8  after the death of an individual then alive; or
149.9 (2) the interest either vests or terminates within 90 years after its creation.

149.10 (b) A general power of appointment not presently exercisable because of a condition

149.11 precedent is invalid unless:

149.12 (1) when the power is created, the condition precedent is certain to be satisfied or become

149.13 impossible to satisfy no later than 21 years after the death of an individual then alive; or

149.14 (2) the condition precedent either is satisfied or becomes impossible to satisfy within

149.15 90 years after its creation.

149.16 (c) A nongeneral power of appointment or a general testamentary power of appointment

149.17 1s invalid unless:

149.18 (1) when the power is created, it is certain to be irrevocably exercised or otherwise to

149.19 terminate no later than 21 years after the death of an individual then alive; or

149.20 (2) the power is irrevocably exercised or otherwise terminates within 90 years after its

14921 creation.

149.22 (d) In determining whether a nonvested property interest or a power of appointment is
149.23 valid under paragraph (a), clause (1), paragraph (b), clause (1), or paragraph (c), clause (1),
149.24  the possibility that a child will be born to an individual after the individual's death is

149.25 disregarded.

149.26 (e) If, in measuring a period from the creation of a trust or other property arrangement,

149.27 language in a governing instrument seeks to:

149.28 (1) disallow the vesting or termination of any interest trust beyond;
149.29 (2) postpone the vesting or termination of any interest or trust until; or
149.30 (3) operate in effect in any similar fashion upon,
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the later of the expiration of a period of time not exceeding 21 years after the death of the
survivor of specified lives in being at the creation of the trust or other property arrangement,
or the expiration of a period of time that exceeds or might exceed 21 years after the death

of the survivor of lives in being at the creation of the trust or other property arrangement;

that language is inoperative to the extent it produces a period of time that exceeds 21 years

after the death of the survivor of the specified lives.

(f) For any trust created on or after August 1, 2025, this section shall apply to a nonvested

property interest or power of appointment contained in a trust by substituting the term "500

years" for "90 years" in each place it appears in this section, unless the terms of the trust

require that all beneficial interests in the trust vest or terminate within a lesser period.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 501C.0301, is amended to read:

501C.0301 REPRESENTATION: BASIC EFFECT.

(a) Notice to a person who may represent and bind another person under sections
501C.0302 to 501C.0305 has the same effect as if notice were given directly to the other

person.

(b) The consent, agreement, or waiver of a person who may represent and bind another

person under sections 501C.0302 to 501C.0305 is binding on the person represented unless

the person represented objects to the representation before the consent, agreement, or waiver

would otherwise have been effective. The provisions of this paragraph shall not apply to

representation under section 501C.0302.

(c) Except as otherwise provided in sections 501C.0411 and 501C.0602, a person who
under sections 501C.0302 to 501C.0305 may represent a settlor who lacks capacity may

receive notice and give a binding consent on the settlor's behalf.

(d) A settlor may not represent and bind a beneficiary under sections 501C.0302 to

501C.0305 with respect to the termination or modification of a trust under section 501C.0411,

paragraph (a).

(e) The settlor or another person, including one or more beneficiaries of the trust,
designated by the terms of the trust instrument to receive information from the trustee
concerning the administration of the trust and the material facts necessary to protect the
beneficiaries' interests in the manner described in section 501C.0813, paragraph (b), shall
be a representative of the beneficiaries with respect to the limitations period on judicial

proceedings against a trustee under section 501C.1005, paragraph (a).
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Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 501C.0302, is amended to read:

501C.0302 REPRESENTATION BY HOLDER OF A GENERAL POWER OF
APPOINTMENT.

For purposes of giving notice, waiving notice, initiating a proceeding, granting consent
or approval, or objecting with regard to any proceedings under this chapter, the sole holder
or all co-holders of a presently exercisable or testamentary general power of appointment,

whether general or special, power of revocation, or unlimited power of withdrawal are

deemed to represent and act for beneficiaries to the extent that their interests as permissible

appointees, takers in default, or otherwise are subject to the power.

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 501C.0407, is amended to read:

501C.0407 EVIDENCE OF ORAL TRUST.

The formal expression of intent to create a trust can be either written or oral subject to

the requirements of sections 513.04 with respect to the conveyance of interest in land except

up to a one-year lease and 524.2-502 with respect to a testamentary trust. The creation of

an oral trust and its terms must be established by clear and convincing evidence.

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 501C.0411, is amended to read:

501C.0411 MODIFICATION OR TERMINATION OF NONCHARITABLE
IRREVOCABLE TRUST BY CONSENT.

(a) A noncharitable irrevocable trust may be modified or terminated upon consent of
the settlor and all beneficiaries, even if the modification or termination is inconsistent with
a material purpose of the trust. A settlor's power to consent to a trust's modification or
termination may be exercised by an agent under a power of attorney only to the extent

expressly authorized by the-pewer-efattorney-or the terms of the trust, or if the trust

instrument is silent with respect to consent to the trust's modification by an agent, then by

a power of attorney, other than a statutory short form power of attorney executed in

accordance with section 523.23, that expressly authorizes the agent to consent to a trust's

modification; by the settlor's conservator with the approval of the court supervising the
conservatorship if an agent 1s not so authorized; or by the settlor's guardian with the approval
of the court supervising the guardianship if an agent is not so authorized and a conservator

has not been appointed.

(b) A noncharitable irrevocable trust may be terminated upon consent of all of the

beneficiaries if the court concludes that continuance of the trust is not necessary to achieve
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152.1  any material purpose of the trust. A noncharitable irrevocable trust may be modified upon
152.2  consent of all of the beneficiaries if the court concludes that modification is not inconsistent

152.3  with a material purpose of the trust.

152.4 (c) The court is not precluded from modifying or terminating a trust because the trust

152.5  instrument contains spendthrift provisions.

152.6 (d) Upon termination of a trust under paragraph (a) or (b), the trustee shall distribute the

152.7  trust property as agreed by the beneficiaries.

152.8 (e) If not all of the beneficiaries consent to a proposed modification or termination of
1529  the trust under paragraph (a) or (b), the modification or termination may be approved by

152.10 the court if the court is satisfied that:

152.11 (1) if all of the beneficiaries had consented, the trust could have been modified or

152.12 terminated under this section; and

152.13 (2) the interests of a beneficiary who does not consent will be adequately protected.

152.14  Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 501C.0414, is amended to read:

152.15 501C.0414 MODIFICATION OR TERMINATION OF UNECONOMIC TRUST.

152.16 (a) After notice to the qualified beneficiaries, the trustee of a trust consisting of trust
152.17 property having a total value less than $56;000 $150,000 may terminate the trust if the
152.18 trustee concludes that the value of the trust property is insufficient to justify the cost of

152.19 administration.

152.20 (b) The court may modify or terminate a trust or remove the trustee and appoint a different
15221 trustee if it determines that the value of the trust property is insufficient to justify the cost

152.22 of administration.

152.23 (c) Upon termination of a trust under this section, the trustee shall distribute the trust

152.24 property in a manner consistent with the purposes of the trust.

152.25 (d) This section does not apply to an easement for conservation or preservation.

15226  Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 501C.0602, is amended to read:

152.27 501C.0602 REVOCATION OR AMENDMENT OF REVOCABLE TRUST.

152.28 (a) Unless the terms of a trust expressly provide that the trust is revocable, the settlor

152.29 may not revoke or amend the trust.

152.30 (b) If a revocable trust is created or funded by more than one settlor:
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(1) to the extent the trust consists of community property, the trust may be revoked by

either spouse acting alone but may be amended only by joint action of both spouses;

(2) to the extent the trust consists of property other than community property, each settlor
may revoke or amend the trust with regard to the portion of the trust property attributable

to that settlor's contribution; and

(3) upon the revocation or amendment of the trust by fewer than all of the settlors, the

trustee shall promptly notify the other settlors of the revocation or amendment.
(c) The settlor may revoke or amend a revocable trust:
(1) by substantial compliance with a method provided in the terms of the trust; or

(2) if the terms of the trust do not provide a method or the method provided in the terms

is not expressly made exclusive, by:

(1) if the trust is created pursuant to a writing, by another writing manifesting clear and

convincing evidence of the settlor's intent to revoke or amend the trust; or

(i1) if the trust is an oral trust, by any other method manifesting clear and convincing

evidence of the settlor's intent.

(d) Upon revocation of a revocable trust, the trustee shall deliver the trust property as

the settlor directs.

(e) A settlor's powers with respect to revocation, amendment, or distribution of trust
property may be exercised by an agent under a power of attorney only to the extent expressly

authorized by the terms of the trust, or the-pewer if the trust instrument is silent with respect

to revocation, amendment, or distribution of trust property by an agent, then by a power of

attorney, other than a statutory short form power of attorney executed in accordance with

section 523.23, that expressly authorizes the agent to exercise the settlor's powers with

respect to revocation, amendment, or distribution of property.

(f) A conservator of the settlor may exercise a settlor's powers with respect to revocation,
amendment, or distribution of trust property only with the approval of the court supervising

the conservatorship.

(g) A trustee who does not know that a trust has been revoked or amended is not liable
to the settlor or settlor's successors in interest for distributions made and other actions taken

on the assumption that the trust had not been amended or revoked.
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Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 501C.0605, is amended to read:

501C.0605 LIMITATION ON ACTION CONTESTING VALIDITY OF
REVOCABLE TRUST; DISTRIBUTION OF TRUST PROPERTY.

(a) A person may commence a judicial proceeding to contest the validity of a trust that

was revocable immediately prior to the settlor's death within the earlier of:
(1) three years after the settlor's death; or

(2) 120 days after the trustee sent the person a copy of the trust instrument and a notice

informing the person of the settlor's death, of the trust's existence, of the trustee's name and

address, and of the time allowed for commencing a proceeding.

(b) Upon the death of the settlor of a trust that was revocable at the settlor's death, the
trustee may proceed to distribute the trust property in accordance with the terms of the trust.

The trustee is not subject to liability for doing so unless:

(1) the trustee knows of a pending judicial proceeding contesting the validity of the trust;

or

(2) a potential contestant has notified the trustee of a possible judicial proceeding to
contest the trust and a judicial proceeding is commenced within 60 days after the contestant

sent the notification.

(c) A beneficiary of a trust that is determined to have been invalid, in whole or in part,
is liable to return any distribution received, to the extent the invalidity applies to the

distribution.

Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 501C.0701, is amended to read:

501C.0701 ACCEPTING OR DECLINING TRUSTEESHIP.

(a) Except as otherwise provided in paragraph (c), a person designated as trustee accepts

the trusteeship:

(1) by substantially complying with a method of acceptance provided in the terms of

the trust; or

(2) if the terms of the trust do not provide a method, or the method provided in the terms
1s not expressly made exclusive, by accepting delivery of the trust property, exercising

powers or performing duties as trustee, or otherwise indicating acceptance of the trusteeship.

(b) A person designated as trustee who has not yet accepted the trusteeship may reject

the trusteeship. A designated trustee who does not accept the trusteeship within a reasonable
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time after knowing of the designation, but not more than 120 days, is deemed to have rejected

the trusteeship.
(c) A person designated as trustee, without accepting the trusteeship, may:

(1) act to preserve the trust property if, within a reasonable time after acting, the person
sends a rejection of the trusteeship to the settlor or, if the settlor is dead or lacks capacity,

to a qualified beneficiary; and
(2) inspect or investigate trust property to determine potential liability or for any other
purpose.
Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 501C.0808, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) The definitions in this section apply to this section.

(b) "Directing party" means any one or more persons acting as investment trust advisor,

distribution trust advisor, or trust protector as provided in this section.

(c) "Distribution trust advisor" means one or more persons given authority by the

governing instrument to direet;-consentto;-veto;-or-otherwise-exereise-all-orany portion-of

make-diseretionary-distributions-ef ineome-or-prineipal exercise the powers specified in

subdivision 3.

(d) "Excluded fiduciary" means anyfiduetary one or more fiduciaries that by the

governing instrument s are directed to act in accordance with the exercise of specified
powers by a directing party, in which case such specified powers shall be deemed granted
not to the fiduciary but to the directing party and such fiduciary shall be deemed excluded
from exercising such specified powers. If a governing instrument provides that a fiduciary
as to one or more specified matters is to act, omit action, or make decisions only with the
consent of a directing party, then such fiduciary is an excluded fiduciary with respect to
such matters. A person may be an excluded fiduciary even if such person participated in
the exercise of (1) a power described in section 501C.0111 relating to nonjudicial settlement
agreements, (2) a power described in section 502.851 relating to decanting, (3) a permitted
trustee amendment, or (4) a similar power that invokes the provisions of this section with

respect to any new or existing trust.

(e) "Fiduciary" means any-persen one or more persons expressly given one or more

fiduciary duties by the governing instrument or by this section, including but not limited to

a trustee.
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(f) "Governing instrument" means the instrument stating the terms of a trust, including
but not limited to any court order, or nonjudicial settlement agreement establishing,
construing, or modifying the terms of the trust in accordance with section 501C.0111 or

502.851, or other applicable law.

(g) "Investment trust advisor" means any one or more persons given authority by the

governing instrument to direet,-consentto;-or-veto-the-exereise-of-all- orany portion-of-the
investment-powers-ef the-trust exercise the powers specified in subdivision 2.

(h) "Power" means authority to take or withhold an action or decision, including but not
limited to an expressly specified power, the implied power necessary to exercise a specified

power, and authority inherent in a general grant of discretion.

(1) "Trust protector" means one or more persons given one or more of the powers specified

Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 501C.0808, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Powers of investment trust advisor. An investment trust advisor may be
designated in the governing instrument of a trust. The powers of an investment trust advisor
may be exercised or not exercised in the sole and absolute discretion of the investment trust
advisor, and are binding on all other persons, including but not limited to each beneficiary,
fiduciary, excluded fiduciary, and any other party having an interest in the trust. The
governing instrument may use the title "investment trust advisor" or any similar name or
description demonstrating the intent to provide for the office and function of an investment

trust advisor. The governing instrument may provide that the investment trust advisor has

the authority to direct, consent to, or veto the exercise of all or any portion of the investment

powers of the trustee. Unless the terms of the governing instrument provide otherwise, the

investment trust advisor has the authority to:

(1) direct the trustee with respect to the retention, purchase, transfer, assignment, sale,
or encumbrance of trust property and the investment and reinvestment of principal and

income of the trust;

(2) direct the trustee with respect to all management, control, and voting powers related
directly or indirectly to trust assets, including but not limited to voting proxies for securities

held in trust;

(3) select and-determine reasonable-compensation-of any one or more advisors, managers,

consultants, or counselors, neluding which may be the trustee, and te delegate to them any
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of the powers of the investment trust advisor in accordance with section 501C.0807 and

determine their reasonable compensation for investment services; and

(4) determine the frequency and methodology for valuing any asset for which there is

no readily available market value.

Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 501C.0808, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Powers of distribution trust advisor. A distribution trust advisor may be
designated in the governing instrument of a trust. The powers of a distribution trust advisor
may be exercised or not exercised in the sole and absolute discretion of the distribution trust
advisor, and are binding on all other persons, including but not limited to each beneficiary,
fiduciary, excluded fiduciary, and any other party having an interest in the trust. The
governing instrument may use the title "distribution trust advisor" or any similar name or
description demonstrating the intent to provide for the office and function of a distribution

trust advisor. The governing instrument may provide that the distribution trust advisor has

the authority to direct, consent to, veto, or otherwise exercise all or any portion of the

distribution powers and discretions of the trustee. Unless the terms of the governing

instrument provide otherwise, the distribution trust advisor has authority to:

(1) direct the trustee with regard to all decisions relating directly or indirectly to

discretionary distributions of income or principal to or for one or more beneficiaries:; and

(2) direct the trustee to terminate the trust, including determination of how the trustee

shall distribute the trust property to be consistent with the purposes of the trust.

Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 501C.0808, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. Powers of trust protector. A trust protector may be designated in the governing
instrument of a trust. The powers of a trust protector may be exercised or not exercised in
the sole and absolute discretion of the trust protector, and are binding on all other persons,
including but not limited to each beneficiary, investment trust advisor, distribution trust
advisor, fiduciary, excluded fiduciary, and any other party having an interest in the trust.
The governing instrument may use the title "trust protector" or any similar name or
description demonstrating the intent to provide for the office and function of a trust protector.
The powers granted to a trust protector by the governing instrument may include but are

not limited to authority to do any one or more of the following:
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(1) modify or amend the governing instrument to achieve favorable tax status or respond
to changes in the Internal Revenue Code, federal laws, state law, or the rulings and regulations

under such laws;

(2) increase, decrease, or modify the interests of any beneficiary or beneficiaries of the

trust;

(3) modify the terms of any power of appointment granted by the trust; provided,
however, such modification or amendment may not grant a beneficial interest to any
individual, class of individuals, or other parties not specifically provided for under the trust

instrument;

(4) remove, appoint, or remove and appoint, a trustee, investment trust advisor,
distribution trust advisor, another directing party, investment committee member, or
distribution committee member, including designation of a plan of succession for future

holders of any such office;

6) (5) change the situs of the trust, the governing law of the trust, or both;

7 (6) appoint one or more successor trust protectors, including designation of a plan

of succession for future trust protectors;
8) (7) interpret terms of the trust instrument at the request of the trustee;
9) (8) advise the trustee on matters concerning a beneficiary;

10) (9) amend or modify the governing instrument to take advantage of laws governing
restraints on alienation, distribution of trust property, or to improve the administration of

the trust; or
i ’ listributions:
2) (10) provide direction regarding notification of qualified beneficiaries.

If a charity is a current beneficiary or a presumptive remainder beneficiary of the trust,
a trust protector must give notice to the attorney general's charitable trust division at least
60 days before taking any of the actions authorized under clause (2), (3), (4), or (5);6t(6).

The attorney general's charitable trust division may, however, waive this notice requirement.
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Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 501C.0808, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

Subd. 5. Duty and liability of directing party. (a) A directing party who is a distribution

trust advisor or an investment trust advisor is a fiduciary of the trust subject to the same

duties and standards applicable to a trustee of a trust as provided by applicable law unless

-, including but not

limited to the limitation period for actions against a trustee, the effect of providing a report

or account, and the defenses available to a trustee in an action for breach of trust against

the trustee. The terms of the governing instrument may vary the duty or liability of an

investment trust advisor or a distribution trust advisor, but only to the same extent the terms

of the trust could vary the duty or liability of a trustee in a like position and under similar

circumstances.

(b) A trust protector is not a fiduciary of the trust unless the governing instrument provides

otherwise, provided that a trust protector shall be a fiduciary subject to paragraph (a) if the

governing instrument grants the trust protector any of the powers of an investment trust

advisor under subdivision 2 or a distribution trust advisor under subdivision 3, but only to

the extent of the power or powers granted.

Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 501C.0808, subdivision 6, is amended to read:

Subd. 6. Duty and liability of excluded fiduciary. (a) The excluded fiduciary shall act

in accordance with the governing instrument and shall take reasonable steps to comply with

the directing party's exercise of the powers granted to the directing party by the governing
instrument. Unless otherwise provided in the governing instrument, an excluded fiduciary
has no duty to monitor, review, inquire, investigate, recommend, evaluate, or warn with
respect to a directing party's exercise of or failure to exercise any power granted to the
directing party by the governing instrument, including but not limited to, any power related
to the acquisition, disposition, retention, management, or valuation of any asset or investment.
Except as otherwise provided in this section or the governing instrument, an excluded
fiduciary is not liable, either individually or as a fiduciary, for any action, inaction, consent,

or failure to consent by a directing party, including but not limited to, any of the following:

(1) if a governing instrument provides that an excluded fiduciary is to follow the direction
of a directing party, and the excluded fiduciary acts in accordance with the direction, then
except in cases of willful misconduct on the part of the excluded fiduciary in complying

with the direction of the directing party, the excluded fiduciary is not liable for any loss
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resulting directly or indirectly from following the direction, including but not limited to,
compliance regarding the valuation of assets for which there is no readily available market

value;

(2) if a governing instrument provides that an excluded fiduciary is to act or omit to act
only with the consent of a directing party, then except in cases of willful misconduct on the
part of the excluded fiduciary, the excluded fiduciary is not liable for any loss resulting
directly or indirectly from any act taken or omitted as a result of the directing party's failure

to provide consent after having been requested to do so by the excluded fiduciary; or

(3) if a governing instrument provides that, or if for any other reason, an excluded
fiduciary is required to assume the role or responsibilities of a directing party, or if the
excluded fiduciary appoints a directing party or successor to a directing party, then except
in cases of willful misconduct on the part of the excluded fiduciary, the excluded fiduciary
is not liable for any loss resulting directly or indirectly from its actions in carrying out the

roles and responsibilities of the directing party.

(b) Any excluded fiduciary is also relieved from any obligation to review or evaluate
any direction from a distribution trust advisor or to perform investment or suitability reviews,
inquiries, or investigations or to make recommendations or evaluations with respect to
investments to the extent the directing party, custodial account owner, or authorized designee
of a custodial account owner had authority to direct the acquisition, disposition, or retention
of any such investment. If the excluded fiduciary offers such communication to the directing
party or any investment person selected by the investment trust advisor, the action may not
be deemed to constitute an undertaking by the excluded fiduciary to monitor or otherwise
participate in actions within the scope of the advisor's authority or to constitute any duty to

do so.

(c) An excluded fiduciary is also relieved of any duty to communicate with, warn, or
apprise any beneficiary or third party concerning instances in which the excluded fiduciary
would or may have exercised the excluded fiduciary's own discretion in a manner different

from the manner directed by the directing party.

(d) Absent a contrary provision in the governing instrument, the actions of the excluded
fiduciary, including any communications with the directing party or others, or carrying out,
recording, or reporting actions taken at the directing party's direction pertaining to matters
within the scope of authority of the directing party, shall be deemed to be administrative
actions taken by the excluded fiduciary solely to allow the excluded fiduciary to perform

those duties assigned to the excluded fiduciary under the governing instrument. An
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administrative action described under this paragraph may not be deemed to constitute an
undertaking by the excluded fiduciary to monitor, participate, or otherwise take any fiduciary

responsibility for actions within the scope of authority of the directing party.

(e) Any person acting in the role of excluded fiduciary or directing party is an interested

person who may petition the district court and invoke its jurisdiction as provided in sections

501C.0201 to 501C.0208 for those matters specified in section 501C.0202, and the provisions

of section 501C.0202 shall be construed and applied so that the references in that section

to a "trustee" include the excluded fiduciary or directing party, as applicable.

Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 501C.0808, subdivision 8, is amended to read:

Subd. 8. Duty to inform excluded fiduciary and directing parties. (a) Each directing

party shall keep the excluded fiduciary and any other directing party reasonably informed
regarding the administration of the trust with respect to any specific duty or function being
performed by the directing party to the extent that the duty or function would normally be
performed by the excluded fiduciary or to the extent that providing such information to the
excluded fiduciary or other directing party is reasonably necessary for the excluded fiduciary
or other directing party to perform its duties. The directing party shall provide such
information as reasonably requested by the excluded fiduciary or other directing party.
Neither the performance nor the failure to perform of a directing party's duty to inform as
provided in this subdivision affects the limitation on the liability of the excluded fiduciary

as provided in this section.

(b) Each excluded fiduciary shall keep the directing party or parties reasonably informed

regarding the administration of the trust with respect to any specific duty or function

performed by the excluded fiduciary to the extent that providing such information to the

directing party or parties is reasonably necessary for the directing party to perform its duties.

The excluded fiduciary shall provide such information as reasonably requested by a directing

party. Neither the performance of nor the failure to perform an excluded fiduciary's duty to

inform as provided in this subdivision affects the liability of the directing party as provided

in this section.

Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 501C.0808, is amended by adding a subdivision

to read:

Subd. 9a. Office of directing party. Unless the terms of a governing instrument provide

otherwise, the rules applicable to a trustee apply to a directing party regarding the following

matters:
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(1) acceptance under section 501C.0701;

(2) giving of bond to secure performance under section 501C.0702;

(3) when more than one person is acting in the role of a directing party, the provisions

applicable to cotrustees under section 501C.0703;

(4) reasonable compensation under section 501C.0708;

(5) resignation under section 501C.0705;

(6) removal under section 501C.0706; and

(7) vacancy and appointment of successor under section 501C.0704.

Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 501C.1013, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. Effect. When a certificate of trust is recorded in a county where real property
is situated, or in the case of personal property, when it is presented to a third party, the
certificate of trust serves to document the existence of the trust, the identity of the trustees,
the powers of the trustees and any limitations on those powers, and other matters the
certificate of trust sets out, as though the full trust instrument had been recorded or presented.
Until amended or revoked under subdivision 5, or until the full trust instrument is recorded
or presented, a certificate of trust is prima facie proof as to matters contained in it and any

party may rely upon the continued effectiveness of the certificate, and the subsequent

revocation or amendment of a certificate of trust shall not affect transactions entered into

in reliance on a prior certificate of trust.

Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 501C.1014, is amended by adding a subdivision

to read:

Subd. 5. Affidavit of trustee. An affidavit of a trustee or of trustees of an inter vivos

trust or a testamentary trust in support of a personal property transaction may be substantially

in the form of the affidavit provided in subdivision 1 or 2, as long as the affidavit sets forth

a description of the personal property and includes paragraphs 2, 3(a) and (b), changing the

property reference to the personal property described, 4, 5, 6, and 7 of the form of the

affidavit provided in subdivision 1 or 2.

Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 501C.1105, subdivision 1, 1s amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Expenses. Unless a will or trust instrument provides otherwise and subject

to subdivision 2, all expenses incurred in connection with the settlement of a decedent's

estate, including debts, funeral expenses, estate taxes, interest and penalties concerning
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taxes, family allowances, fees of attorneys and personal representatives, and court costs

must be charged against the principal of the estate.

Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 501C.1105, is amended by adding a subdivision

to read:

Subd. 4. Decedent's estate. For purposes of this section, the "decedent's estate" includes

the estate of the decedent and any trust that was revocable by the decedent at the time of

the decedent's death.

Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 502.851, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) The definitions in this subdivision apply to this section.

(b) "Appointed trust" means an irrevocable trust which receives principal from an invaded
trust under subdivision 3 or 4, including another trust created by the settlor of the invaded
trust, under the terms of the invaded trust or any other trust instrument, or by the trustees,
in that capacity, of the invaded trust. For purposes of creating another trust, any requirement
that a trust instrument be signed by the settlor shall be deemed satisfied by the signature of

the trustee of the appointed trust. In the discretion of the authorized trustee, the appointed

trust may be the same trust as the invaded trust with modified terms which does not require

the trustee of the appointed trust to refer to the trust by a different name or obtain a separate

tax identification number when applicable.

(c) "Authorized trustee" means, as to an invaded trust, any trustee or trustees with
authority to pay trust principal to or for one or more current beneficiaries other than a trustee
who is the settlor, or a beneficiary to whom income or principal must be paid currently or
in the future, or who is or will become eligible to receive a distribution of income or principal
in the discretion of the trustee, other than by the exercise of a power of appointment held

in a nonfiduciary capacity.

(d) "Current beneficiary" or "beneficiaries" means the person or persons, or as to a class,
any person or persons who are or will become members of that class, to whom the trustees
may distribute principal at the time of the exercise of the power, provided that the interest
of a beneficiary to whom income, but not principal, may be distributed at the discretion of

the trustee of the invaded trust, may be continued in the appointed trust.

(e) "Invade" means the power to pay directly to the beneficiary of a trust or make

application for the benefit of the beneficiary.
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(f) "Invaded trust" means any existing irrevocable inter vivos or testamentary trust whose

principal is appointed under subdivision 3 or 4.

(g) "Person or persons interested in the invaded trust" means all qualified beneficiaries

as defined in section 501C.0103, paragraph (m).

(h) "Principal" includes the income of the trust at the time of the exercise of the power

that is not currently required to be distributed, including accrued and accumulated income.

(1) "Unlimited discretion" means the unlimited power to distribute principal. A power
to distribute principal that includes words such as best interests, welfare, comfort, or

happiness shall not be considered a limitation of the power to distribute principal.

Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 502.851, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

(a) If exercise of the power to invade trust principal under subdivision 3 or 4 would be

effective under this section except that the appointed trust instrument in part does not comply

with this section, the exercise of the power is effective and the following rules apply with

respect to the principal of the appointed trust attributable to the exercise of the power:

(1) a provision in the appointed trust instrument that is not permitted under this section

is void to the extent necessary to comply with this section; and

(2) a provision required by this section to be in the appointed trust instrument that is not

contained in the trust instrument is deemed to be included in the trust instrument to the

extent necessary to comply with this section.

(b) If a trustee or other fiduciary of an appointed trust determines that paragraph (a)

applies to a prior exercise of the power to invade trust principal under subdivision 3 or 4,

the fiduciary shall take corrective action consistent with the fiduciary's duties.

Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 502.851, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Authorized trustee with unlimited discretion. (a) An authorized trustee with

unlimited discretion to invade trust principal may appoint part or all of the principal to a
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trustee of an appointed trust for, and only for the benefit of, one, more than one, or all of
the current beneficiaries of the invaded trust, to the exclusion of any one or more of the
current beneficiaries. The successor and remainder beneficiaries of the appointed trust may
be-none; must be one, more than one, or all of the successor and remainder beneficiaries of

the invaded trust, and may be to the exclusion of any one, more than one, or all of such

successor and remainder beneficiaries.

(b) An authorized trustee exercising the power under paragraph (a) may grant a
discretionary power of appointment in the appointed trust to one or more of the current
beneficiaries of the invaded trust, provided that the beneficiary granted a power to appoint

may receive principal outright under the terms of the invaded trust.

(c) If the authorized trustee grants a power of appointment, the class of permissible
appointees in favor of whom the beneficiary may exercise the power of appointment granted
in the appointed trust may be broader or otherwise different from the current, successor,

and remainder beneficiaries of the invaded trust.

(d) If the beneficiary or beneficiaries of the invaded trust are described by a class, the
beneficiary or beneficiaries of the appointed trust may include present or future members

of the class.

Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 502.851, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. Authorized trustee without unlimited discretion. (a) An authorized trustee
with the power to invade trust principal but without unlimited discretion may appoint part
or all of the principal of the trust to a trustee of an appointed trust, provided that the current
beneficiaries of the appointed trust shall be the same as the current beneficiaries of the
invaded trust and the successor and remainder beneficiaries shall be the same as the successor

and remainder beneficiaries of the invaded trust.

(b) If the authorized trustee exercises the power under this subdivision, the appointed
trust shall include the same language authorizing the trustee to distribute the income or

invade the principal of the appointed trust as in the invaded trust.

(c) If the authorized trustee exercises the power under this subdivision to extend the
term of the appointed trust beyond the term of the invaded trust, for any period after the
invaded trust would have otherwise terminated under the provisions of the invaded trust,
the appointed trust, in addition to the language required to be included in the appointed trust
pursuant to paragraph (b), may also include language providing the trustee with unlimited

discretion to invade the principal of the appointed trust during this extended term.

Article 11 Sec. 25. 165



166.1

166.2

166.3

166.4

166.5

166.6

166.7

166.8

166.9

166.10

166.11

166.12

166.13

166.14

166.15

166.16

166.17

166.18

166.19

166.20

166.21

166.22

166.23

166.24

166.25

166.26

166.27

166.28

166.29

166.30

166.31

04/04/25 03:59 pm COUNSEL KPB/PP/GC SCS1098A-1

(d) If the beneficiary or beneficiaries of the invaded trust are described by a class, the
beneficiary or beneficiaries of the appointed trust shall include present or and future members

of the class.

(e) If the authorized trustee exercises the power under this subdivision and if the invaded
trust grants a power of appointment to a beneficiary of the trust, the appointed trust shall
grant the power of appointment in the appointed trust and the class of permissible appointees

shall be the same as in the invaded trust.

Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 502.851, subdivision 11, is amended to read:

Subd. 11. Requirements for exercise of power to appoint; notice. (a) The exercise of
the power to appoint to an appointed trust under subdivision 3 or 4 must be evidenced by
an instrument in writing, signed; and dated;-and-acknewledged by the authorized trustee.
The exercise of the power shall be effective 60 days after the date of delivery of notice as
specified in paragraph (c), unless each person entitled to notice agrees in writing to an earlier

effective date or waives in writing the right to object to the exercise of the power.

(b) An authorized trustee may exercise the power authorized by subdivision 3 or 4
without the consent of the settlor or the persons interested in the invaded trust and without
court approval, provided that the authorized trustee may seek court approval for the exercise

with notice to all persons interested in the invaded trust.

(c) A copy of the instrument exercising the power, a copy of the appointed trust, and a

copy of the invaded trust shall be delivered to:

(1) any person having the right, pursuant to the terms of the invaded trust, to remove or

replace the authorized trustee exercising the power under subdivision 3 or 4; and
(2) all persons interested in the invaded trust:; and

(3) any person who would be considered the owner of all or any portion of the appointed

trust under sections 671 to 679 of the Internal Revenue Code.

(d) Notice of an exercise of the power must be given in the same manner as provided in

section 501C.0109 and is subject to the provisions of section 501C.0301.

(e) The instrument exercising the power shall state whether the appointment is of all the
assets comprising the principal of the invaded trust or only a part of the assets comprising
the principal of the invaded trust and, if a part, the approximate percentage of the value of

the principal of the invaded trust that is subject to the appointment.
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(f) A person entitled to notice may object to the authorized trustee's exercise of the power
under this section by serving a written notice of objection upon the authorized trustee prior
to the effective date of the exercise of the power. The failure to object shall not constitute

a consent.

(g) If the authorized trustee does not receive a written objection to the proposed exercise
from a person entitled to notice within the applicable period, the authorized trustee is not

liable to any person who received the required notice for the exercise of the power.

(h) If the authorized trustee receives a written objection within the applicable period,
either the authorized trustee or any person entitled to notice may petition the court to have
the proposed exercise of a power performed as proposed, performed with modifications, or
denied. In a proceeding, a person objecting to the proposed exercise has the burden of proof
as to whether the authorized trustee's proposed exercise should not be performed. A person
who has not objected is not estopped from opposing the proposed exercise in the proceeding.
If the authorized trustee decides not to implement the proposed exercise, the trustee shall
notify all persons entitled to notice of the decision not to exercise the power and the reasons
for the decision, and the authorized trustee's decision not to implement the proposed exercise
does not itself give rise to liability to any person interested in the invaded trust. A person
entitled to notice may petition the court to have the exercise of a power performed and has

the burden of proof as to whether it should be performed.

(1) A copy of the instrument exercising the power and a copy of each of the invaded trust
and the appointed trust shall be filed with records of the appointed trust and the invaded

trust.

Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 502.851, subdivision 15, is amended to read:

Subd. 15. Prohibitions. (a) An authorized trustee may not exercise a power authorized

by subdivision 3 or 4 to effect any of the following:

(1) to reduce, limit, or modify any beneficiary's current right to a mandatory distribution
of income or principal, a mandatory annuity or unitrust interest, a current right to withdraw
a percentage of the value of the trust, or a current right to withdraw a specified dollar amount;
provided, however, and subject to the other limitations in this section, an authorized trustee
may exercise a power authorized by subdivision 3 or 4 to appoint to an appointed trust that

is a supplemental needs trust that conforms to the provisions of section 501C.1205;

(2) notwithstanding section 501C.1008, paragraph (b), to decrease or indemnify against

a trustee's liability or exonerate a trustee from liability for failure to exercise reasonable
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care, diligence, and prudence, except that the appointed trust may divide and reallocate

fiduciary powers among fiduciaries, including one or more trustees, distribution trust

advisors, investment trust advisors, trust protectors, or other persons, and relieve a fiduciary

from liability for an act or failure to act of another fiduciary as permitted under section

501C.0808;

(3) to alter or eliminate a provision granting another person the right to remove or replace
the authorized trustee exercising the power under subdivision 3 or 4, unless notice has been
provided to the persons under subdivision 11, paragraph (c), or approval is granted by a

court having jurisdiction over the trust;

(4) to make a binding and conclusive fixation of the value of any asset for purposes of

distribution, allocation, or otherwise;

(5) to extend the term of the appointed trust beyond any permissible period of the rule
against perpetuities of the invaded trust, and any exercise of the power which extends the
term of the appointed trust beyond the permissible period of the rule against perpetuities of

the invaded trust shall void the entire exercise of the power; or
(6) to jeopardize:

(1) the deduction or exclusion originally claimed with respect to any contribution to the
invaded trust that qualified for the annual exclusion under section 2503(b) of the Internal
Revenue Code; the marital deduction under section 2056(a) or 2523(a) of the Internal
Revenue Code; or the charitable deduction under section 170(a), 642(c), 2055(a), or 2522(a)

of the Internal Revenue Code;

(11) the qualification of a transfer as a direct skip under section 2642(c) of the Internal

Revenue Code; ot

(iii) the qualification as a foreign grantor trust under section 672(f)(2)(A) of the Internal

Revenue Code; or

@it (1v) any other specific tax benefit for which a contribution originally qualified for
income, gift, estate, or generation-skipping transfer purposes under the Internal Revenue

Code.

(b) If the property of the invaded trust includes shares of stock in an S corporation, as

defined in section 1361 of the Internal Revenue Code, and the invaded trust is, or but for

the exercise of power to invade the trust principal under this section would be, a permitted

shareholder under any provision of section 1361 of the Internal Revenue Code, the authorized

trustee may exercise the power with respect to part or all of the S corporation stock only if
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any appointed trust receiving the stock is a permitted shareholder under section 1361(c)(2)

of the Internal Revenue Code. If the property of the invaded trust includes shares of stock

in an S corporation and the invaded trust is, or but for the exercise of power to invade the

trust principal under this section would be, a qualified subchapter S trust within the meaning

of section 1361(d) of the Internal Revenue Code, the appointed trust instrument must not

include or omit a term that prevents the appointed trust from qualifying as a qualified

subchapter S trust.

Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 502.851, subdivision 16, is amended to read:

Subd. 16. Compensation; commissions. For the purposes of this section:«1), unless a
court otherwise directs, an authorized trustee may not exercise a power authorized by
subdivision 3 or 4 to change the provisions regarding the determination of the compensation
of any trustee. The commissions or other compensation payable to the trustees of the invaded

trust may continue to be paid to the trustees of the appointed trust during the term of the

appointed trust and shall be determined in the same manner as in the invaded trust.

Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 524.2-114, is amended to read:

524.2-114 PARENT BARRED FROM INHERITING IN CERTAIN
CIRCUMSTANCES.

(a) A parent is barred from inheriting from or through a child of the parent if:

(1) the parent's parental rights were terminated and the parent-child relationship was not

judicially reestablished; et

(2) the child died before reaching 18 years of age and there is clear and convincing
evidence that immediately before the child's death the parental rights of the parent could
have been terminated under law of this state other than this chapter on the basis of

nonsupport, abandonment, abuse, neglect, or other actions or inactions of the parent toward

the child:; or

(3) the child died after reaching 18 years of age and there is clear and convincing evidence

that:

(1) during the years of the child's minority, the parental rights of the parent could have

been terminated under laws of this state other than this chapter on the basis of nonsupport,
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abandonment, abuse, neglect, or other actions or inactions of the parent toward the child,

and

(i1) in the year preceding the child's death, the parent and child were estranged. For

purposes of this subdivision, "estranged" means having a relationship characterized by

enmity, hostility, or indifference.

(b) For the purpose of intestate succession from or through the deceased child, a parent
who is barred from inheriting under this section is treated as if the parent predeceased the

child.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment and

applies to actions commenced on or after that date.

Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 524.2-804, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Revocation upon dissolution. Except as provided by the express terms
of a governing instrument, other than a trust instrument under section 501C.1207, executed
prior to the dissolution or annulment of an individual's marriage, a court order, a contract
relating to the division of the marital property made between individuals before or after
their marriage, dissolution, or annulment, or a plan document governing a qualified or
nonqualified retirement plan, the dissolution or annulment of a marriage revokes any

revocable:

(1) disposition, beneficiary designation, or appointment of property made in a governing

instrument by an individual to the individual's former spouse in-a-geverning-instrument or

any members of the former spouse's family who are not also members of the individual's

family;

(2) provision in a governing instrument conferring a general or nongeneral power of

appointment on an individual's former spouse; and

(3) nomination in a governing instrument, nominating an individual's former spouse or

any members of the former spouse's family who are not also members of the individual's

family to serve in any fiduciary or representative capacity, including a personal representative,

executor, trustee, conservator, agent, or guardian.
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ARTICLE 12
MORTGAGE FORECLOSURE

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 272.45, 1s amended to read:

272.45 TAXES PAID BY TENANT, OCCUPANT, OR OTHER PERSON BECOME
LIEN, UPON NOTICE FILED WITH COUNTY RECORDER OR REGISTRAR OF
TITLES.

When any past due or delinquent tax on land is paid by any occupant, tenant, or person

with an a legal or equitable interest in the land other than a lien, or a person acting on that

person's behalf, which, by agreement or otherwise, ought to have been paid by the owner,
lessor, or other party in interest, such occupant, tenant, or person may recover by action the
amount which such owner, lessor, or party in interest ought to have paid, with interest
thereon at the rate of 12 percent per annum, or may retain the same from any rent due or
accruing from the person to such owner or lessor for land on which such tax is so paid. A
person making a payment under this section may file with the county recorder or registrar

of titles of the proper county a netiee sworn statement stating the amount and date of such

payment, with a copy of the receipt attached, and stating the legal or equitable interest

claimed in the land, with a description of the land against which the taxes were charged;

and the same shall thereupon be a lien as of the date of recording of the sworn statement

upon such land in favor of the person paying the same until the same is paid. The county

recorder shall record such netiee sworn statement in the indices maintained by the county

recorder. The registrar of titles shall record the netiee sworn statement on the certificate of

title for the land. Upon the payment of any such lien, the person filing such retiee sworn

statement shall satisfy the same of record.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 580.10, 1s amended to read:

580.10 SURPLUS.

Subdivision 1. Demand for surplus. In all cases not provided for in section 580.09, and

except as required by subdivision 3, if, after sale of any real estate, made as herein prescribed,

there remains in the hands of the officer making the sale any surplus money, after satisfying
the mortgage, with interest, taxes paid, and costs of sale, the surplus shall be paid over by
such officer, on demand, to the mortgagor, the mortgagor's legal representatives or assigns.

Any surplus of $100 or greater shall be held by the sheriff for the duration of the time

allowed for redemption under section 580.23 or 582.032, whichever is applicable, and if

requested by the owner, applied toward a redemption as described in subdivision 3. If there

is no redemption under section 580.23 or 582.032, a surplus of $100 or greater shall be paid

Article 12 Sec. 2. 171



172.1

172.2

172.3

172.4

172.5

172.6

172.7

172.8

172.9

172.10

172.11

172.12

172.13

172.14

172.15

172.16

172.17

172.18

172.19

172.20

172.21

172.22

172.23

172.24

172.25

172.26

172.27

172.28

172.29

172.30

04/04/25 03:59 pm COUNSEL KPB/PP/GC SCS1098A-1

first to junior creditors with liens of record at the time of the sheriff's sale in order of priority,

if demanded by a junior creditor within the time allowed for redemption under section

580.23 or 582.032, whichever is applicable, and thereafter to the owner of record at the time

of the sheriff's sale, or as provided by court order under section 580.28. A demand by a

party other than the owner shall be accompanied by an affidavit stating the amount remaining

unpaid and the interest creating a right to the surplus.

Subd. 2. Notice of surplus. When there is a surplus of $100 or greater, the sheriff shall

notify the owner by mail sent to the property address, or, if no street address is assigned for

the property on the property tax statement, to the taxpayer's address on the property tax

statement, that a surplus exists and to call the sheriff's office for more information about

the surplus and how to make a claim to the surplus. The notice shall also include contact

information for the Minnesota Homeownership Center and a statement to call the Minnesota

Homeownership Center for information about redemption and surplus.

Subd. 3. Request by owner to have surplus applied. At any time during the owner's

redemption period, the owner of record at the time of the sheriff's sale may submit a written

request to the sheriff to have the surplus applied to the redemption amount. The right to

have the surplus applied to the redemption amount is not transferable to any subsequent

OWNner.

Subd. 4. Surplus less than $100. If a surplus remains under $100, the sheriff may pay

the surplus amount to the owner of record at the time of the sheriff's sale.

Subd. 5. Resolution of competing claims. If there are competing claims or if it appears

to the sheriff that any claim is not meritorious, the sheriff may apply to the court in the

county in which the sale was made and set forth by petition the facts then known to the

sheriff, and the names and addresses of the owner and all known claimants to the surplus,

at no cost to the sheriff. The sheriff shall retain the surplus until further order of the court

under section 580.28. If a hearing is scheduled, the sheriff may participate in an advisory

capacity. The sheriff shall be represented by the county attorney. The sheriff shall give

notice of the opening of the court file to the holders of the claims by service of the petition

in the manner of a summons under the Rules of Civil Procedure. Failure of an owner to

participate in the court action does not waive the right of that owner to the surplus.
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Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 580.225, is amended to read:

580.225 SATISFACTION OF J&EPGMENT MORTGAGE.

The amount received from foreclosure sale under this chapter is full satisfaction of the

mortgage debt, except as provided in section 582.30.

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 580.24, 1s amended to read:

580.24 REDEMPTION BY CREDITOR.

(a) If no redemption is made by the mortgagor, the mortgagor's personal representatives
or assigns, the most senior creditor having a legal or equitable lien upon the mortgaged
premises, or some part of it, subsequent to the foreclosed mortgage, may redeem within
seven 14 days after the expiration of the redemption period determined under section 580.23
or 582.032, whichever is applicable; and each subsequent creditor having a lien may redeem,
in the order of priority of their respective liens, within seven 14 days after the time allowed
the prior lienholder by paying the amount required under this section. However, no creditor
is entitled to redeem unless, one week or more prior to the expiration of the period allowed

for redemption by the mortgagor, the creditor:

(1) records with each county recorder and registrar of titles where the foreclosed mortgage

1s recorded a notice of the creditor's intention to redeem;

(2) records with each county recorder and registrar of titles where the notice of the
creditor's intention to redeem is recorded all documents necessary to create the lien on the
mortgaged premises and to evidence the creditor's ownership of the lien, including a copy

of any money judgment necessary to create the lien; and

(3) after complying with clauses (1) and (2), delivers to the sheriff who conducted the
foreclosure sale or the sheriff's successor in office a copy of each of the documents required
to be recorded under clauses (1) and (2), with the office, date and time of filing for record

stated on the first page of each document.

The sheriff shall maintain for public inspection all documents delivered to the sheriff
and shall note the date of delivery on each document. The sheriff may charge a fee of $100
for the documents delivered to the sheriff relating to each lien. The sheriff shall maintain
copies of documents delivered to the sheriff for a period of six months after the end of the

mortgagor's redemption period.

(b) Saturdays, Sundays, legal holidays, and the first day following the expiration of the
prior redemption period must be included in computing the seven-day14-day redemption
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period. When the last day of the period falls on Saturday, Sunday, or a legal holiday, that
day must be omitted from the computation. The order of redemption by judgment creditors
subsequent to the foreclosed mortgage shall be determined by the order in which their
judgments were entered as memorials on the certificate of title for the foreclosed premises
or docketed in the office of the district court administrator if the property is not registered
under chapter 508 or S08A, regardless of the homestead status of the property. All mechanic's
lienholders who have coordinate liens shall have one combined seven-day 14-day period

to redeem.

(c) The amount required to redeem from the holder of the sheriff's certificate of sale is
the amount required under section 580.23. The amount required to redeem from a persen

creditor holding a certificate of redemption is:

(1) the amount paid to redeem as shown on the certificate of redemption; plus

(2) interest on that amount to the date of redemption at the rates stated on the certificate

of sale and the affidavit provided by section 580.25, clause (3), or six percent if no rate is

otherwise stated; plus

(3) the amount claimed due on the persen's creditor's lien, as shown on the affidavit

under section 580.25, clause (3).

(d) If the sheriff determines there is a dispute or question of validity about a redemption,

the sheriff may accept the amount required to redeem, together with documents in support

of the redemption, from one or more creditors competing for or claiming a right to redeem,

without executing and delivering a certificate of redemption, and the sheriff may commence

an action under section 580.28 at no cost to the sheriff. A creditor subject to a dispute or

question of validity about a redemption may submit the matter for adjudication of the court

under section 580.28. If the sheriff does not execute and deliver a certificate of redemption

under this section, all further junior creditor redemption periods are stayed until determined

by the court, and all junior creditors who have recorded notices of intent to redeem should

be included in the action under section 580.28. The amount required to redeem may be paid

to the holder of the sheriff's certificate of sale or the certificate of redemption, as the case

may be, or to the sheriff for the holder.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for redemptions occurring after January

1, 2026.
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Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 580.25, is amended to read:

580.25 CREDITOR REDEMPTION, HOW MADE.

Redemption shall be made as provided in this section.

The persen creditor desiring to redeem shall pay the amount required by law for the

redemption, and shall produce to the person or officer receiving the redemption payment:

(1) a copy of the docket of the judgment, or of the recorded deed or mortgage, or of the
record or files evidencing any other lien under which the persen creditor claims a right to

redeem;

(2) a copy of any recorded assignment necessary to evidence the persen's creditor's
ownership of the lien. If the redemption is under an assignment of a judgment, the assignment
shall be filed in the court entering the judgment, as provided by law, and the persen creditor
so redeeming shall produce a copy of it and of the record of its filing, and the copy of the
docket shall show that the proper entry was made upon the docket. No further evidence of
the assignment of the judgment is required unless the mortgaged premises or part of it is
registered property, in which case the judgment and all assignments of the judgment must
be entered as a memorial upon the certificate of title to the mortgaged premises and a copy
of the judgment and each assignment with the certificate of record endorsed on it must be

produced; and

(3) an affidavit of the persen creditor or the persen's creditor's agent, shewing the-ameunt
thenaetually-claimed-due-onthepersen's identifying the lien andrequired-to-be-paid-on-the
henin-ordertoredeemfrom-thepersen under which the creditor claims a right to redeem

and stating the amount then actually claimed due and owing on the lien and stating the

interest rate on the lien. Additional fees and charges may be claimed due only as provided

in section 582.03. The sheriff receiving the affidavit may furnish a copy of the affidavit to

any interested party, upon request.

If redemption is made to the sheriff, the sheriff may charge a fee of $250 for issuing the
certificate of redemption and any related service. No other fee may be charged by the sheriff

for a redemption.

Within 24 hours after a redemption is made, or as soon as reasonably possible, the person

redeeming shall cause the documents so required to be produced to be recorded with the

county recorder, or registrar of titles, or both when appropriate, who may receive fees as

prescribed in section 357.18 or 508.82. If the redemption is made at any place other than

the county seat, it is sufficient forthwith to deposit the documents in the nearest post office,
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addressed to the recorder or registrar of titles, with the postage prepaid within 24 hours after

redemption is made or as soon as reasonably possible. A person recording documents

produced for redemption shall, on the same day, deliver copies of the documents to the
sheriff for public inspection. The sheriff may receive a fee of $20 for the documents delivered
following a redemption. The sheriff shall note the date of delivery on the documents and
shall maintain for public inspection all documents delivered to the sheriff for a period of

six months after the end of the mortgagor's redemption period.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for redemptions occurring after January
1, 2026.

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 580.26, 1s amended to read:

580.26 CERTIFICATE OF REDEMPTION; RECORD.

The person or officer from whom such redemption is made shall make and deliver to
the person redeeming a certificate executed and acknowledged in the same manner as a

conveyance, containing:

(1) if redeemed under section 580.23 or 582.032, the name of the persen mortgagor or

the mortgagor's legal representative or assignee redeeming, and if redeemed under section

580.25, the name of the creditor redeeming, and the amount paid by-the-persen-on-such
redemption to redeem,;

(2) a description of the sale for which such redemption is made, and of the property

redeemed;

(3) a statement of the claim upon which such redemption is made and, if upon a lien,

the amount claimed to be due thereon at the date of redemption.

If redemption is made by the owner of the property sold, the owner's heirs, personal
representatives, or assigns, such certificate shall be recorded within feur-days one week
after the expiration of the period allowed by law to the owner for redemption and, if made
by a creditor holding a lien, the certificate shall be recorded within feur-days one week after
such redemption. Unless so recorded, the certificate shall be void as only against any person

in good faith redeeming from the same person or lien.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for redemptions occurring after January
1, 2026.
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Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 580.28, is amended to read:

580.28 ACTION TO SET ASIDE MORTGAGE; FORECLOSURE; REDEMPTION.

When an action is brought wherein it is claimed that any mortgage as to the plaintiff or
person for whose benefit the action is brought is fraudulent or void, or has been paid or
discharged, in whole or in part, or the relative priority or the validity of liens, redemption

rights, or rights to any surplus is disputed, if such mortgage has been foreclosed by

advertisement, and the time for redemption from the foreclosure sale will expire before final
judgment in such action, the plaintiff or beneficiary having the right to redeem, for the

purpose of saving such right in case the action fails, may deposit with the sheriff before the

time of redemption expires the amount for which the mortgaged premises were sold, with

interest thereon to the time of deposit, together with a-bend-te-the-holder-ofthesheriff's

ail a separate

deposit with the sheriff of one year's interest on the amount deposited. The person shall, in

writing, notify such sheriff that th

is pending, and direct the sheriff to retain such money and-bend until final judgment or
other order of the court. In-ease-such-aetionfatls If so ordered by the court, such deposit

shall operate as a redemption of the premises from such foreclosure sale, and entitle the
plaintiff to a certificate thereof. Such foreclosure, deposit, bend; and notice shall be brought
to the attention of the court by supplemental complaint in the action, and the judgment shall
determine the validity of the foreclosure sale, and the rights of the parties to the moneys
and-bend so deposited, which shall be paid and delivered by the sheriff as directed by such
judgment upon delivery to the sheriff of a certified copy thereof. The remedy herein provided

shall be in addition to other remedies now existing.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for redemptions occurring after January
1, 2026.

Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 582.03, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Allowable costs collectable upon redemption. The holder of any sheriff's
certificate of sale, from a foreclosure by advertisement or action of a mortgage or lien or
execution, or the holder of any certificate of redemption as a junior creditor during the
period of redemption, may pay and claim the following on redemption: any taxes or
assessments on which any penalty would otherwise accrue, and any costs of a hazard

insurance policy for the holder's interest in the mortgaged premises incurred for the period
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of holding the sheriff's certificate, any costs incurred when an order to reduce a mortgagor's
redemption period under section 582.032 is entered, including costs and disbursements
awarded under section 582.032, subdivision 9, any fees paid to the county recorder, registrar
of titles, or sheriff to obtain or record the certificates of sale or redemption or notices of
intention to redeem, any reasonable fees paid to licensed real estate brokers for broker price
opinions or to licensed appraisers for appraisals, any deed tax paid to file a certificate of
redemption, reasonable attorney fees incurred after the foreclosure sale not to exceed one-half
of the amount authorized by section 582.01, any costs incurred under section 582.031, and
any interest or installment of principal upon any prior or superior mortgage, lien, or contract
for deed in default or that becomes due during the period of redemption. In all such cases,

the costs so paid and claimed due, with interest from the date of payment at the rate stated

in the certificate of sale or at six percent if no rate is stated, shall be a part of the sum required

to be paid to redeem from such sale. No other costs, fees, interest, or other amount may be

added to the amount necessary to redeem.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for affidavits filed with the sheriff after

January 1, 2026.

Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 582.03, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Affidavit of allowable costs. Any payments made and claimed due under
subdivision 1 shall be proved by the affidavit of the holder of the sheriff's certificate or its

agent or attorney, itemizing each of the allowable costs and the date of payment and

describing the premises. The affidavit must be filed with the sheriff of the county in which
the sale was held at any time prior to expiration of the mortgagor's redemption period. Upon
written request by the sheriff, the holder of the sheriff's certificate or certificate of redemption
shall provide an affidavit of allowable costs to the sheriff within seven days of the date of
the request by the sheriff. If the mortgagor does not redeem within seven days after the
affidavit is filed, the holder of the sheriff's certificate may file a supplemental affidavit if
additional allowable costs are incurred during the redemption period. If the holder of the
sheriff's certificate or certificate of redemption fails to respond to the sheriff's request within
seven days, the sheriff may calculate a redemption amount pursuant to section 580.23,
subdivision 1, and issue a certificate of redemption for that amount. If the time allowed to
redeem is less than seven days from the expiration of the redemption period, the sheriff
shall make a reasonable effort to request the affidavit of allowable costs in writing from the
holder of the sheriff's certificate, its agent, or attorney before issuing a certificate of
redemption. If the affidavit of allowable costs is not provided more than one business day

before the expiration of the redemption period, at any time one business day or less before
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the expiration of the redemption period, the sheriff may calculate a redemption amount
pursuant to section 580.23, subdivision 1, and issue a certificate of redemption for that
amount. The amount calculated by the sherift, absent malfeasance by the sherift, binds the
holder of the sheriff's certificate even if the amount calculated by the sheriff is less than the

actual amount due.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for affidavits filed with the sheriff after

January 1, 2026.

Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 582.043, subdivision 6, is amended to read:

Subd. 6. Dual tracking. (a) If the servicer has received a loss mitigation application and
the subject mortgage loan has not already been referred to an attorney for foreclosure, a
servicer shall not refer the subject mortgage loan to an attorney for foreclosure while the

mortgagor's application is pending, unless:

(1) the servicer determines that the mortgagor is not eligible for any loss mitigation
option, the servicer informs the mortgagor of the determination in writing, and the applicable

appeal period has expired without an appeal or the appeal has been properly denied;

(2) where a written offer is made and a written acceptance is required, the mortgagor
fails to accept the loss mitigation offer within the time frame specified in the offer or within

14 days after the date of the offer, whichever is longer; or
(3) the mortgagor declines the loss mitigation offer in writing.

(b) If the servicer receives a loss mitigation application after the subject mortgage loan
has been referred to an attorney for foreclosure, but before a foreclosure sale has been
scheduled, a servicer shall not move for an order of foreclosure, seek a foreclosure judgment,

or conduct a foreclosure sale unless:

(1) the servicer determines that the mortgagor is not eligible for a loss mitigation option,
the servicer informs the mortgagor of this determination in writing, and the applicable appeal

period has expired without an appeal or the appeal has been properly denied;

(2) where a written offer is made and a written acceptance is required, the mortgagor
fails to accept the loss mitigation offer within the time frame specified in the offer or within

14 days after the date of the offer, whichever is longer; or
(3) the mortgagor declines a loss mitigation offer in writing.

(c) If the servicer receives a loss mitigation application after the foreclosure sale has

been scheduled, but before midnight of the seventh business day prior to the foreclosure
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sale date, the servicer must halt the foreclosure sale and evaluate the application. If required

to halt the foreclosure sale and evaluate the application, the servicer may cancel the

foreclosure sale or postpone the foreclosure sale under section 580.07, subdivision 1, but

must not move for an order of foreclosure, seek a foreclosure judgment, or conduct a

foreclosure sale unless 60 days have passed since the occurrence of one of the following,

whichever is applicable:

(1) the servicer determines that the mortgagor is not eligible for a loss mitigation option,
the servicer informs the mortgagor of this determination in writing, and the applicable appeal

period has expired without an appeal or the appeal has been properly denied;

(2) where a written offer is made and a written acceptance is required, the mortgagor
fails to accept the loss mitigation offer within the time frame specified in the offer or within

14 days after the date of the offer, whichever is longer; or
(3) the mortgagor declines a loss mitigation offer in writing.

(d) A servicer shall not move for an order of foreclosure or conduct a foreclosure sale

under any of the following circumstances:

(1) the mortgagor is in compliance with the terms of a trial or permanent loan

modification, or other loss mitigation option; or

(2) a short sale has been approved by all necessary parties and proof of funds or financing

has been provided to the servicer.

ARTICLE 13
CIVIL LAW

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 144.223, 1s amended to read:

144.223 REPORT OF MARRIAGE.

Data relating to the number of certificates of marriage registered shall must be reported

to the state registrar by the local registrar or designee of the county board in each of the 87

registration districts pursuant-to-the rules-efthe-commissionerThe-infermation-in-elause

of the-marritage license—Thereport-shall-containthe-fellowing: in a format and with the

frequency determined by the state registrar.

TP bride and :
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Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 260C.419, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Statewide Office of Appellate Counsel and Training; establishment. (a)
The Statewide Office of Appellate Counsel and Training is established-as-an-independent

state-offiee created as an agency in the executive branch, with powers and duties established

by law. The office shall be responsible for:

(1) establishing and maintaining a system for providing appellate representation to
parents in juvenile protection matters, as provided in section 260C.163, subdivision 3,

paragraph (c), and in Tribal court jurisdictions;

(2) providing training to all parent attorneys practicing in the state on topics relevant to
their practice and establishing practice standards and training requirements for parent

attorneys practicing in the state; and

(3) collaborating with the Minnesota Department of Children, Youth, and Families to
coordinate and secure federal Title IV-E support for counties and Tribes interested in

accessing federal funding.

(b) The office shall be governed by a board as provided in subdivision 3.

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 260C.419, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. State Board of Appellate Counsel and Training; structure; membership. (a)
The State Board of Appellate Counsel and Training is established to direct the Statewide
Office of Appellate Counsel and Training. The board shall consist of seven members,

including:

(1) four public members appointed by the governor; and
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(2) three members appointed by the supreme court, at least one of whom must have
experience representing parents in juvenile court and who include two attorneys admitted

to practice law in the state and one public member.

(b) The appointing authorities may not appoint any of the following to be a member of

the board:
(1) a person who is a judge;
(2) a person who is a registered lobbyist;
(3) a person serving as a guardian ad litem or counsel for a guardian ad litem;
(4) a person who serves as counsel for children in juvenile court;

(5) a person under contract with or employed by the Department of Children, Youth,

and Families or a county department of human or social services; or
(6) a current city or county attorney or assistant city or county attorney.

(c) All members shall demonstrate an interest in maintaining a high quality, independent
appellate defense system for parents in juvenile protection proceedings who are unable to
obtain adequate representation, a robust program for parent attorneys in Minnesota, and an
efficient coordination effort, in collaboration with the Department of Children, Youth, and
Families, to secure and utilize Title [V-E funding. At least one member of the board appointed
by the governor must be a representative from a federally recognized Indian Tribe. No more
than five members of the board may belong to the same political party. At least three
members of the board shall be from judicial districts other than the First, Second, Fourth,
and Tenth Judicial Districts. To the extent practicable, the membership of the board must
include persons with disabilities, reflect the ethnic diversity of the state, take into
consideration race and gender, and include persons from throughout the state. The members
shall be well acquainted with representing parents in district court and appellate proceedings
related to child protection matters as well as the law that affects a parent attorney's work,
including chapter 260C, the Rules of Juvenile Protection Procedure, the Rules of Civil
Appellate Procedure, the Indian Child Welfare Act, and the Minnesota Indian Family
Preservation Act. The terms, compensation, and removal of members shall be as provided

in section 15.0575. The governor shall designate one member to serve as the initial chair.

Upon the expiration of the initial chair's term, board members shall elect a chair from among

the membership and the chair shall serve a term of two years.

Article 13 Sec. 3. 182



183.1

183.2

183.3

183.4

183.5

183.6

183.7

183.8

183.9

183.10

183.11

183.12

183.13

183.14

183.15

183.16

183.17

183.18

183.19

183.20

183.21

183.22

183.23

183.24

183.25

183.26

183.27

183.28

183.29

183.30

183.31

183.32

183.33

04/04/25 03:59 pm COUNSEL KPB/PP/GC SCS1098A-1

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 260C.419, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. Head appellate counsel for parents; assistant and-centraeted attorneys;
other employees. (a) Beginning January 1, 2024, and for every four years after that date,
the board shall appoint a head appellate counsel in charge of executing the responsibilities
of the office who shall provide for sufficient appellate counsel for parents and other personnel
necessary to discharge the functions of the office. The head appellate counsel shall serve a
four-year term and may be removed only for cause upon the order of the board. The head
appellate counsel shall be a full-time gualified attorney, licensed to practice law in this state,
and serve in the unclassified service of the state. Vacancies of the office shall be filled by
the appointing authority for the unexpired term. The head appellate counsel shall devote

full time to the performance of duties and shall not engage in the general practice of law.

The eompensation salary of the head appellate counsel shall be set by-the-board-and-shall

be-commensurate-with-county-atterneysinthestate according to section 43A.18, subdivision
3.

(b) Censistent-with-the-deetstons-efthe-beard; The head appellate counsel shall employ

assistants-or-hire-independent-eontractors or appoint attorneys to serve as assistant appellate
counsel for parents. Each assistant appellate counsel and-independent-eontraetor serves at
the pleasure of the head appellate counsel. The eempensation-of salary ranges for assistant
appellate counsel and-independent-eontractors shall be set by-the-beard-andshall-be
commensurate-with-county-atterneys-nthe-state in consultation with Minnesota Management
and Budget.

(c) A person serving as appellate counsel shall be a-qualified an attorney licensed to
practice law in this state. A person serving as appellate counsel practicing in Tribal court
shall be a licensed attorney qualified to practice law in Tribal courts in the state. Assistant
appellate counsel and contracted appellate counsel may engage in the general practice of

law where not employed or contracted to provide services on a full-time basis.

(d) The head appellate counsel shall, consistent with the responsibilities under subdivision

2, employ or hire the following:
(1) one managing appellate attorney;
(2) two staff attorneys;
(3) one director of training;

(4) one program administrator to support Title [V-E reimbursement in collaboration

with the Department of Children, Youth, and Families; and
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(5) one office administrator.

(e) Eachemployee All attorneys identified in paragraph (d) serves serve at the pleasure

of the head appellate counsel. Fhe Other employees shall serve in the classified service.

Compensation efeach-empleyee for all employees shall be set by the board and-shall-be
commensurate-with-county-atterneysinthe-state: in accordance with the collective bargaining

agreements or compensation plans covering the terms and conditions for executive branch

employees.

(f) Any person serving as managing appellate attorney, staff attorney, and director of

training shall be a qualified attorney licensed to practice law in the state.

(g) A person serving as the program administrator and office administrator must be

chosen solely on the basis of training, experience, and qualifications.

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 517.04, is amended to read:

517.04 PERSONS AUTHORIZED TO PERFORM CIVIL MARRIAGES.

Civil marriages may be solemnized throughout the state by an individual who has attained

the age of 21 years and 1

denemination;-anindividual who registers as a civil marriage officiant with a local registrar

in a county of this state

1+4-48. The county where the civil marriage officiant is registered must be endorsed upon

and recorded with each certificate of civil marriage.

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 517.08, subdivision la, is amended to read:

Subd. 1a. Form. Application for a civil marriage license shall be made by both of the

parties upon a form provided for the purpose and shall contain the following information:

(1) the full names of the parties and-the-sex-of-eachparty;

(2) their post office addresses and county and state of residence;

(3) their full ages and dates of birth;
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(4) if either party has previously been married, the party's married name;-and from the

most recent marriage; the date, place, and court in which the civil marriage was dissolved

or annulled; or the date and place of death of the former spouse;
(5) whether the parties are related to each other, and, if so, their relationship;

(6) the address of the parties after the civil marriage is entered into to which the local

registrar shall send a certified copy of the civil marriage certificate;

(7) the full names the parties will have after the civil marriage is entered into and the
parties' Social Security numbers. The Social Security numbers must be collected for the
application but must not appear on the civil marriage license. If a party listed on a civil
marriage application does not have a Social Security number, the party must certify on the
application, or a supplement to the application, that the party does not have a Social Security

number;

(8) if one party to the civil marriage license has a felony conviction under Minnesota
law or the law of another state or federal jurisdiction, the party may not change the party's
name through the marriage application process and must follow the process in section 259.13

to change the party's name; and

(9) notice that a party who has a felony conviction under Minnesota law or the law of
another state or federal jurisdiction may not use a different name after a civil marriage

except as authorized by section 259.13, and that doing so is a gross misdemeanor.

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 517.08, subdivision 1b, is amended to read:

Subd. 1b. Term of license; fee; premarital education. (a) The local registrar shall
examine upon oath the parties applying for a license relative to the legality of the

contemplated civil marriage. The local registrar may examine the parties upon oath in person,

by phone, remotely using web conferencing technology, or by requiring a verified statement

signed by both parties attesting to the legality of the marriage. The local registrar may accept

civil marriage license applications signed by both parties that are submitted by mail,

facsimile, or electronic filing. Both parties must present proof of age to the local registrar.

If one party is unable to appear in person, the party appearing may complete the absent
applicant's information. The local registrar shall provide a copy of the civil marriage
application to the party who is unable to appear, who must verify the accuracy of the
appearing party's information in a notarized statement. The verification statement must be
accompanied by a copy of proof of age of the party. The civil marriage license must not be

released until the verification statement and proof of age has been received by the local
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registrar. If the local registrar is satisfied that there is no legal impediment to it, including
the restriction contained in section 259.13, the local registrar shall issue the license,
containing the full names of the parties before and after the civil marriage, and county and
state of residence, with the county seal attached, and make a record of the date of issuance.
The license shall be valid for a period of six months. Except as provided in paragraph (b),
The local registrar shall collect from the applicant a fee of $115 for administering the oath,
issuing, recording, and filing all papers required, and preparing and transmitting to the state
registrar of vital records the reports of civil marriage required by this section. If the license
should not be used within the period of six months due to illness or other extenuating
circumstances, it may be surrendered to the local registrar for cancellation, and in that case
a new license shall issue upon request of the parties of the original license without fee. A
local registrar who knowingly issues or signs a civil marriage license in any manner other
than as provided in this section shall pay to the parties aggrieved an amount not to exceed

$1,000.

(b) The civil marriage license fee for parties who have completed at least 12 hours of
premarital education is $40. In order to qualify for the reduced license fee, the parties must
submit at the time of applying for the civil marriage license a statement that is signed, dated,
and notarized or marked with a church seal from the person who provided the premarital
education on their letterhead confirming that it was received. The premarital education must
be provided by a licensed or ordained minister or the minister's designee, a person authorized
to solemnize civil marriages under section 517.18, or a person authorized to practice marriage
and family therapy under section 148B.33. The education must include the use of a premarital

inventory and the teaching of communication and conflict management skills.

(¢) The statement from the person who provided the premarital education under paragraph

(b) must be in the following form:

"I, (name of educator), confirm that ........................ (names of both
parties) received at least 12 hours of premarital education that included the use of a premarital
inventory and the teaching of communication and conflict management skills. I am a licensed
or ordained minister, a person authorized to solemnize civil marriages under Minnesota
Statutes, section 517.18, or a person licensed to practice marriage and family therapy under

Minnesota Statutes, section 148B.33."

The names of the parties in the educator's statement must be identical to the legal names
of the parties as they appear in the civil marriage license application. Notwithstanding
section 138.17, the educator's statement must be retained for seven years, after which time

it may be destroyed.
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Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 517.09, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. General. Ne-particalarform-is-required-to-selemnize-a-etvil- marriage;
exeept—the-parties Both applicants shall declare in the presence of a person who is not the

same individual as the applicant or the witness, authorized to solemnize civil marriages and

two attending witnesses that each takes the other as spouse;-er-the-etvil- marriage shall-be
| e dod] PTERTY

Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 517.10, is amended to read:

517.10 CERTIFICATE; WITNESSES.

The person solemnizing a civil marriage shall prepare complete and sign a marriage

certificate provided by the local registrar. The certificate shall contain the full names of the

parties before and after the civil marriage, the birth dates of the parties, and county and state
of residences of the parties and the date and place of the civil marriage. The certificate shall

also contain the signatures of the applicants' legal names after marriage and at least two of

the witnesses present at the civil marriage who shall be at least 16 years of age. The person
solemnizing the civil marriage shall immediately make a record of such civil marriage, and
file such certificate with the local registrar of the county in which the license was issued
within five days after the ceremony. The local registrar shall record such certificate in the

county civil marriage records.

Sec. 10. [517.102] FEES FOR MARRIAGE RECORDS.

(a) The fee for a certified marriage record or a letter of no record is $20 per copy. The

fee for an uncertified marriage record is $20. These fees must be retained by the local

registrar issuing the records. The fee is payable at the time of application and is

nonrefundable.

(b) If an applicant makes an error in the marriage record and requests an amendment of

the marriage record, the fee for amending the error in the marriage record is $40. The fee

is payable at the time of application and is nonrefundable.

(c) If a local registrar makes an error in the marriage record, the local registrar must

amend the marriage record at no cost to the applicant.

Sec. 11. [517.103] AMENDMENT OF MARRIAGE RECORDS.

(a) To request an amendment of an error in a marriage record, a person must submit the

following documentation to the local registrar:
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(1) an affidavit stating the reason for an amendment of the marriage record; and

(2) documentation supporting the amendment.

(b) A local registrar may amend a marriage record if the local registrar:

(1) receives an affidavit and documentation supporting the amendment of a marriage

record; and

(2) the local registrar determines that the affidavit and supporting documentation establish

that the marriage record contains an error.

(¢) The local registrar must retain and maintain an affidavit and documentation upon

which the amendment of a marriage record was based, including the date of the amendment

and the legal name of the authorized person making the amendment.

(d) The local registrar must not amend a marriage record if:

(1) an applicant fails to submit the documentation required for amending a marriage

record; or

(2) the local registrar has reason to question the validity or completeness of the applicant's

affidavit or supporting documentation.

Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 524.5-120, is amended to read:

524.5-120 BILL OF RIGHTS FOR PERSONS SUBJECT TO GUARDIANSHIP
OR CONSERVATORSHIP.

The person subject to guardianship or person subject to conservatorship retains all rights
not restricted by court order and these rights must be enforced by the court. These rights

include the right to:
(1) treatment with dignity and respect;

(2) due consideration of current and previously stated personal desires and preferences,
including but not limited to medical treatment preferences, cultural practices, religious

beliefs, and other preferences and opinions in decisions made by the guardian or conservator;

(3) participate in decision making about and receive timely and appropriate health care
and medical treatment that does not violate known preferences or conscientious, religious,

or moral beliefs of the person subject to guardianship or person subject to conservatorship;

(4) exercise control of all aspects of life unless delegated specifically to the guardian or

conservator by court order;
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(5) guardianship or conservatorship services individually suited to the conditions and

needs of the person subject to guardianship or the person subject to conservatorship;
(6) petition the court to prevent or initiate a change in abode;

(7) care, comfort, social and recreational needs, employment and employment supports,
training, education, habilitation, and rehabilitation care and services, within available

resources;

(8) be consulted concerning, and to decide to the extent possible, the reasonable care
and disposition of the clothing, furniture, vehicles, and other personal property and effects
of the person subject to guardianship or person subject to conservatorship, to object to the
disposition of personal property and effects, and to petition the court for a review of the

guardian's or conservator's proposed disposition;
(9) personal privacy;

(10) communicate, visit, or interact with others, including receiving visitors er, making

or receiving telephone calls, sending or receiving personal mail, er sending or receiving

electronic communications including through social media, or participating in social activities;

unless. If the guardian has good cause to believe a restriction of communication, visitation,

or interaction is necessary because interaction with the person poses a risk of significant

physical, psychological, or financial harm to the person subject to guardianship, and there

is no other means to avoid the significant harm, the guardian must submit to the court a

written petition supporting the guardian's belief. The court must hold a hearing within five

days of receiving the petition. The court may order a restriction of communication, visitation,

or interaction with the person who is the subject of the guardian's petition to the extent

necessary to prevent the risk of significant harm. In all cases, the guardian shall provide

written notice of the restrictions imposed te by the court; to the person subject to

guardianship; and to the person subject to restrictions. The guardian may impose a restriction

on communication, visitation, or interaction without filing a petition with the court if the

restriction is necessary to prevent immediate harm to the person subject to guardianship

and the guardian notifies the court, the person subject to guardianship, and the person subject

to the restriction. The person subject to guardianship or the person subject to restrictions

may petition the court to remove or modify the restrictions;
(11) marry and procreate, unless court approval is required;

(12) elect or object to sterilization as provided in section 524.5-313, paragraph (c), clause

(4), item (iv);
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(13) at any time, petition the court for termination or modification of the guardianship
or conservatorship, and any decisions made by the guardian or conservator in relation to

powers granted, or for other appropriate relief;

(14) be represented by an attorney in any proceeding or for the purpose of petitioning

the court;
(15) vote, unless restricted by the court;

(16) be consulted concerning, and make decisions to the extent possible, about personal

image and name, unless restricted by the court; and

(17) execute a health care directive, including both health care instructions and the
appointment of a health care agent, if the court has not granted a guardian any of the powers

or duties under section 524.5-313, paragraph (c), clause (1), (2), or (4).

Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 524.5-311, is amended to read:

524.5-311 EMERGENCY GUARDIAN.

(a) If the court finds that compliance with the procedures of this article will likely result
in substantial harm to the respondent's health, safety, or welfare, and that no other person
appears to have authority and willingness to act in the circumstances, the court, on petition
by a person interested in the respondent's welfare, may appoint an emergency guardian
whose authority may not exceed 60 days and who may exercise only the powers specified
in the order. A county that is acting under section 626.557, subdivision 10, by petitioning
for appointment of an emergency guardian on behalf of a vulnerable adult may be granted
authority to act for a period not to exceed 90 days. An emergency guardian's appointment
under this section may only be extended once for a period not to exceed 60 days if the court
finds good cause for the continuation of the guardianship. Immediately upon receipt of the
petition for an emergency guardianship, the court shall appoint a lawyer to represent the
respondent in the proceeding. Except as otherwise provided in paragraph (b), reasonable
notice of the time and place of a hearing on the petition must be given to the respondent,

interested parties, and any other persons as the court directs.

(b) An emergency guardian may be appointed without notice to the respondent and the
respondent's lawyer only if the court finds from affidavit or other sworn testimony that the
respondent will be substantially harmed before a hearing on the appointment can be held

and the petitioner made good faith efforts to provide notice to the respondent or respondent's

lawyer. If the court appoints an emergency guardian without notice to the respondent, the

respondent must be given notice of the appointment within 48 hours after the appointment.
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The court shall hold a hearing on the appropriateness of the appointment within five days

after the appointment.

(c) Appointment of an emergency guardian, with or without notice, is not a determination

of the respondent's incapacity.

(d) The court may remove an emergency guardian at any time. An emergency guardian
shall make any report the court requires. In other respects, the provisions of this article

concerning guardians apply to an emergency guardian.

(e) Any documents or information disclosing or pertaining to health or financial
information shall be filed as confidential documents, consistent with the bill of particulars

under section 524.5-121.

(f) If the respondent is a patient in a hospital or a resident of a care facility, a rebuttable

presumption exists that there is no risk of substantial harm to the respondent's health, safety,

or welfare. If the rebuttable presumption is overcome, the court shall hold a hearing on the

appropriateness of the appointment within five days after the appointment.

Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 524.5-313, is amended to read:

524.5-313 POWERS AND DUTIES OF GUARDIAN.

(a) A guardian shall be subject to the control and direction of the court at all times and

in all things.

(b) The court shall grant to a guardian only those powers necessary to provide for the

demonstrated needs of the person subject to guardianship.

(c) The court may appoint a guardian if it determines that all the powers and duties listed
in this section are needed to provide for the needs of the incapacitated person. The court
may also appoint a guardian if it determines that a guardian is needed to provide for the
needs of the incapacitated person through the exercise of some, but not all, of the powers
and duties listed in this section. The duties and powers of a guardian or those which the

court may grant to a guardian include, but are not limited to:

(1) the power to have custody of the person subject to guardianship and the power to
establish a place of abode within or outside the state, except as otherwise provided in this
clause. The person subject to guardianship or any interested person may petition the court
to prevent or to initiate a change in abode. A person subject to guardianship may not be

admitted to a regional treatment center by the guardian except:

(1) after a hearing under chapter 253B;

Article 13 Sec. 14. 191



192.1

192.2

192.3

192.4

192.5

192.6

192.7

192.8

192.9

192.10

192.11

192.12

192.13

192.14

192.15

192.16

192.17

192.18

192.19

192.20

192.21

192.22

192.23

192.24

192.25

192.26

192.27

192.28

192.29

192.30

192.31

192.32

192.33

192.34

04/04/25 03:59 pm COUNSEL KPB/PP/GC SCS1098A-1

(i1) for outpatient services; or

(111) for the purpose of receiving temporary care for a specific period of time not to

exceed 90 days in any calendar year;

(2) the duty to provide for the care, comfort, and maintenance needs of the person subject
to guardianship, including food, clothing, shelter, health care, social and recreational
requirements, and, whenever appropriate, training, education, and habilitation or
rehabilitation. The guardian has no duty to pay for these requirements out of personal funds.
Whenever possible and appropriate, the guardian should meet these requirements through
governmental benefits or services to which the person subject to guardianship is entitled,

rather than from the estate of the person subject to guardianship;

(3) the duty to take reasonable care of the clothing, furniture, vehicles, and other personal
effects of the person subject to guardianship, and, if other property requires protection, the
power to seek appointment of a conservator of the estate. The guardian must give notice by
mail to interested persons prior to the disposition of the clothing, furniture, vehicles, or
other personal effects of the person subject to guardianship. The notice must inform the
person of the right to object to the disposition of the property within ten days of the date of
mailing and to petition the court for a review of the guardian's proposed actions. Notice of
the objection must be served by mail or personal service on the guardian and the person
subject to guardianship unless the person subject to guardianship is the objector. The guardian
served with notice of an objection to the disposition of the property may not dispose of the

property unless the court approves the disposition after a hearing;

(4)(1) the power to give any necessary consent to enable the person subject to guardianship
to receive necessary medical or other professional care, counsel, treatment, or service, except
that no guardian may give consent for psychosurgery, electroshock, sterilization, or
experimental treatment of any kind unless the procedure is first approved by order of the
court as provided in this clause. The guardian shall not consent to any medical care for the
person subject to guardianship which violates the known conscientious, religious, or moral

belief of the person subject to guardianship;

(11) a guardian who believes a procedure described in item (i) requiring prior court
approval to be necessary for the proper care of the person subject to guardianship, shall
petition the court for an order and, in the case of a public guardianship under chapter 252A,
obtain the written recommendation of the commissioner of human services. The court shall
fix the time and place for the hearing and shall give notice to the person subject to

guardianship in such manner as specified in section 524.5-308 and to interested persons.
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The court shall appoint an attorney to represent the person subject to guardianship who is
not represented by counsel, provided that such appointment shall expire upon the expiration
of the appeal time for the order issued by the court under this section or the order dismissing
a petition, or upon such other time or event as the court may direct. In every case the court
shall determine if the procedure is in the best interest of the person subject to guardianship.
In making its determination, the court shall consider a written medical report which
specifically considers the medical risks of the procedure, whether alternative, less restrictive
methods of treatment could be used to protect the best interest of the person subject to
guardianship, and any recommendation of the commissioner of human services for a public

person subject to guardianship. The standard of proof'is that of clear and convincing evidence;

(111) in the case of a petition for sterilization of a person with developmental disabilities
subject to guardianship, the court shall appoint a licensed physician, a psychologist who is
qualified in the diagnosis and treatment of developmental disability, and a social worker
who is familiar with the social history and adjustment of the person subject to guardianship
or the case manager for the person subject to guardianship to examine or evaluate the person
subject to guardianship and to provide written reports to the court. The reports shall indicate
why sterilization is being proposed, whether sterilization is necessary and is the least intrusive
method for alleviating the problem presented, and whether it is in the best interest of the
person subject to guardianship. The medical report shall specifically consider the medical
risks of sterilization, the consequences of not performing the sterilization, and whether
alternative methods of contraception could be used to protect the best interest of the person

subject to guardianship;

(iv) any person subject to guardianship whose right to consent to a sterilization has not
been restricted under this section or section 252A.101 may be sterilized only if the person
subject to guardianship consents in writing or there is a sworn acknowledgment by an
interested person of a nonwritten consent by the person subject to guardianship. The consent
must certify that the person subject to guardianship has received a full explanation from a

physician or registered nurse of the nature and irreversible consequences of the sterilization;

(v) a guardian or the public guardian's designee who acts within the scope of authority
conferred by letters of guardianship under section 252A.101, subdivision 7, and according
to the standards established in this chapter or in chapter 252 A shall not be civilly or criminally
liable for the provision of any necessary medical care, including, but not limited to, the
administration of psychotropic medication or the implementation of aversive and deprivation

procedures to which the guardian or the public guardian's designee has consented;
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(5) in the event there is no duly appointed conservator of the estate of the person subject
to guardianship, the guardian shall have the power to approve or withhold approval of any
contract, except for necessities, which the person subject to guardianship may make or wish

to make;

(6) the duty and power to exercise supervisory authority over the person subject to
guardianship in a manner which limits civil rights and restricts personal freedom only to
the extent necessary to provide needed care and services. A guardian may not restrict the
ability of the person subject to guardianship to communicate, visit, or interact with others,

including receiving visitors ex, making or receiving telephone calls, sending or receiving

personal mail, er sending or receiving electronic communications including through social

media, or participating in social activities;unless. If the guardian has good cause to believe

a restriction of communication, visitation, or interaction is necessary because interaction

with the person poses a risk of significant physical, psychological, or financial harm to the
person subject to guardianship, and there is no other means to avoid such significant harm,

the guardian must submit to the court a written petition supporting the guardian's belief.

The court must hold a hearing within five days of receiving the petition. The court may

order a restriction of communication, visitation, or interaction with the person who is the

subject of the guardian's petition to the extent necessary to prevent the risk of significant

harm. In all cases, the guardian shall provide written notice of the restrictions imposed te

by the court; to the person subject to guardianship; and to the person subject to restrictions.

The guardian may impose a restriction on communication, visitation, or interaction without

filing a petition with the court if the restriction is necessary to prevent immediate harm to

the person subject to guardianship and the guardian notifies the court, the person subject to

guardianship, and the person subject to the restriction. The person subject to guardianship

or the person subject to restrictions may petition the court to remove or modify the

restrictions;

(7) if there is no acting conservator of the estate for the person subject to guardianship,
the guardian has the power to apply on behalf of the person subject to guardianship for any
assistance, services, or benefits available to the person subject to guardianship through any

unit of government;

(8) unless otherwise ordered by the court, the person subject to guardianship retains the

right to vote;

(9) the power to establish an ABLE account for a person subject to guardianship or
conservatorship. By this provision a guardian only has the authority to establish an ABLE

account, but may not administer the ABLE account in the guardian's capacity as guardian.
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The guardian may appoint or name a person to exercise signature authority over an ABLE
account, including the individual selected by the eligible individual or the eligible individual's
agent under a power of attorney; conservator; spouse; parent; sibling; grandparent; or

representative payee, whether an individual or organization, appointed by the SSA, in that

order; and

(10) if there 1s no conservator appointed for the person subject to guardianship, the
guardian has the duty and power to institute suit on behalf of the person subject to
guardianship and represent the person subject to guardianship in expungement proceedings,
harassment proceedings, and all civil court proceedings, including but not limited to
restraining orders, orders for protection, name changes, conciliation court, housing court,
family court, probate court, and juvenile court, provided that a guardian may not settle or

compromise any claim or debt owed to the estate without court approval.

Sec. 15. [604.33] CAUSE OF ACTION; NONCONSENSUAL REMOVAL OF A
SEXUALLY PROTECTIVE DEVICE.

Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have

the meanings given.

(b) "Intimate part" means the sexual organ, anus, groin, or buttocks of any person, or

the breast of a female.

(c) "Sexually protective device" means an internal or external condom, spermicide,

diaphragm, cervical cap, contraceptive sponge, dental dam, or any other physical barrier

device intended to prevent pregnancy or sexually transmitted infection. Sexually protective

device does not include an intrauterine device or any hormonal birth control method.

Subd. 2. Cause of action. A cause of action for nonconsensual removal of a sexually

protective device exists against the following:

(1) a person who intentionally removed a sexually protective device and caused contact

between the sexual organ from which the sexually protective device was removed and the

intimate part of another person who did not consent to the removal of the sexually protective

device; or

(2) aperson who intentionally removed a sexually protective device from another person's

sexual organ without the other person's consent and caused contact between the sexual organ

from which the sexually protective device was removed and their own intimate part.

Subd. 3. Damages. The court may award the following damages to a prevailing plaintiff

from a person found liable under subdivision 2:
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(1) general and special damages, including damages for mental anguish;

(2) punitive damages;

(3) statutory damages in an amount up to $10,000;

(4) injunctive relief and any other equitable relief the court deems just and appropriate;

and

(5) costs, disbursements, and reasonable attorney fees.

Subd. 4. Confidentiality. The court shall allow confidential filings to protect the privacy

of the plaintiff in cases filed under this section.

Subd. 5. Other laws and remedies. (a) The rights and remedies provided in this section

are in addition to any other rights and remedies provided by law.

(b) Nothing in this section affects or modifies the rights and obligations under chapter

518A.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2025, and applies to causes

of action accruing on or after that date.

Sec. 16. [626.5574] ORDER FOR PROTECTION AGAINST FINANCIAL
EXPLOITATION OF A VULNERABLE ADULT.

Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For the purposes of this section, the following terms have

the meanings given.

(b) "Conservator" has the meaning given in section 524.5-102, subdivision 3.

(c) "Financial exploitation" has the meaning given in section 626.5572, subdivision 9.

(d) "Guardian" has the meaning given in section 524.5-102, subdivision 5.

(e) "Lead investigative agency" has the meaning given in section 626.5572, subdivision

(f) "Petitioner" means any of the following:

(1) a vulnerable adult currently experiencing or in imminent danger of financial

exploitation;

(2) the guardian or conservator of a vulnerable adult currently experiencing or in imminent

danger of financial exploitation;

(3) a person or organization acting on behalf of the vulnerable adult with the consent of

the vulnerable adult or his or her guardian or conservator;
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(4) an agent under a validly executed power of attorney with the authority specifically

granted in the power of attorney; or

(5) a person who simultaneously files a petition under section 524.5-409, subdivision

2, for appointment of an emergency conservator with respect to the vulnerable adult.

(g) "Vulnerable adult" has the meaning given in section 626.5572, subdivision 21.

Subd. 2. Jurisdiction; petition. (a) A petitioner may petition the court for an order for

protection against financial exploitation of a vulnerable adult seeking injunctive relief and

any other equitable remedy the court deems appropriate with the court located in the county

where the petitioner, respondent, or the vulnerable adult resides. There are no residency

requirements that apply to a petition filed under this section. Actions under this section shall

be given docket priorities by the court.

(b) A petition for relief under this section must:

(1) allege the existence of financial exploitation, or the imminent danger of financial

exploitation, of the vulnerable adult;

(2) include the specific facts and circumstances for which relief is sought, including the

relationship between the vulnerable adult and respondent;

(3) state whether the vulnerable adult has ever applied for or received an order for

protection under this section or section 518B.01, or a restraining order under section 609.748;

and

(4) state whether there are any pending actions between the vulnerable adult and the

respondent.

(c) A person temporarily or permanently vacating a residence or household in an attempt

to avoid financial exploitation does not affect the person's right to petition for an order under

this section.

(d) The court shall provide simplified forms and clerical assistance to help with the

writing and filing of a petition under this section.

Subd. 3. Filing fee. The filing fees for an order for protection against financial

exploitation for a vulnerable adult under this section are waived for the petitioner and

respondent.

Subd. 4. Hearing. Upon receipt of the petition, the court shall order a hearing which

shall be held no later than 14 days from the date of the order for the hearing unless a
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temporary ex parte order is issued under subdivision 8. If the court issues a temporary ex

parte order, the hearing must be held as provided under subdivision 8.

Subd. 5. Service. (a) Except as provided in paragraph (b), the petition and any order

issued under this section must be served on the respondent as provided in section 518B.01,

subdivisions 8, 8a, and 9a. If the petitioner is not the vulnerable adult, the petitioner must

serve the vulnerable adult with a copy of the petition, notice of any hearing, and any orders

issued under this section. If any assets or lines of credit are ordered to be frozen, the petitioner

must serve the depository or financial institution with the order.

(b) If service on the respondent is not possible as provided in paragraph (a), the petitioner

may serve the respondent through the method used to contact the vulnerable adult. The

petitioner must provide to the court the reasons that service was not possible under section

518B.01, subdivision 8, 8a, or 9a.

Subd. 6. Maltreatment report required. Unless a report was made before a petition

was filed under this section, the petitioner must file a report pursuant to section 626.557

within 24 hours of filing a petition under this section. This section does not modify or

supersede mandated reporting requirements under section 626.557.

Subd. 7. Factors. In determining whether to award relief to the petitioner, the court may

consider and evaluate all relevant factors, including any of the following:

(1) the existence of a current or previous order for protection issued under this section

or section 518B.01, a current or previous harassment restraining order issued under section

609.748, or any previous or current similar order issued by another jurisdiction;

(2) any history of financial exploitation by the respondent upon the vulnerable adult

identified in the petition or any other vulnerable adult;

(3) any history of the vulnerable adult's previous financial exploitation by the respondent

or any other person;

(4) the capacity of the vulnerable adult to make decisions related to their finances and

property;

(5) the susceptibility of the vulnerable adult to undue influence; or

(6) the respondent's criminal history.

Subd. 8. Temporary ex parte order. (a) The court may issue a temporary order for

protection ex parte if the court finds that:

Article 13 Sec. 16. 198



199.1

199.2

199.3

199.4

199.5

199.6

199.7

199.8

199.9

199.10

199.11

199.12

199.13

199.14

199.15

199.16

199.17

199.18

199.19

199.20

199.21

199.22

199.23

199.24

199.25

199.26

199.27

199.28

199.29

199.30

199.31

04/04/25 03:59 pm COUNSEL KPB/PP/GC SCS1098A-1

(1) there is an immediate and present danger of financial exploitation of the vulnerable

adult;

(2) there is a likelihood of irreparable harm and nonavailability of an adequate remedy

at law;

(3) there is a substantial likelihood of success on the merits;

(4) the threatened injury to the vulnerable adult outweighs possible harm to the

respondent; and

(5) a temporary order protects the vulnerable adult's financial security.

(b) A denial of a petition for an ex parte order must be by written order and must note

the grounds for denial. When the only ground for denial is failure to demonstrate the

immediate and present danger of financial exploitation of a vulnerable adult, the court must

set a full hearing on the petition for an order for protection at the earliest possible date and

within 14 days of the date of the court's denial order. Nothing in this paragraph limits a

petitioner's right to promptly amend a petition consistent with court rules.

(c) An ex parte temporary order may be effective for a fixed period not to exceed 14

days unless good cause is shown to extend the order. The ex parte temporary order may be

extended once for up to an additional 14 days. A full hearing, as provided by this section,

must be set for a date no later than the date when the ex parte temporary order expires.

Subd. 9. Relief. (a) The court may grant relief as provided under this section, if upon

notice and hearing and consideration of all relevant factors, the court finds that:

(1) the vulnerable adult is the victim of financial exploitation or the vulnerable adult is

in imminent danger of becoming a victim of financial exploitation;

(2) there is a likelihood of irreparable harm and nonavailability of an adequate remedy

at law;

(3) the threatened injury to the vulnerable adult outweighs possible harm to the

respondent; and

(4) an order protects the vulnerable adult's financial security.

(b) In addition to any other injunctive or equitable relief the court deems appropriate,

the court may grant any or all of the following relief in either a temporary ex parte or final

order issued under this section:

(1) prohibit the respondent from direct or indirect contact with the vulnerable adult;
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(2) restrain the respondent from committing any acts of financial exploitation against

the vulnerable adult;

(3) hold financial accounts in accordance with chapter 45A or freeze any assets of the

vulnerable adult in any depository or financial institution whether titled solely in the

vulnerable adult's name, solely in the respondent's name, jointly with the respondent, in

conservatorship, or in a trust, provided that:

(1) assets held by a conservator for the vulnerable adult may be frozen only by an order

entered by the court overseeing the conservatorship proceeding;

(i1) assets held by a trust may be frozen only by an order of the court if all the trustees

of the trust are served with process and are given reasonable notice before any hearing on

the petition; and

(111) assets held solely in the name of the respondent may only be frozen on an ex parte

basis if the petition and affidavit demonstrate to the court probable cause that such assets

are traceable to the financial exploitation of the vulnerable adult, that such assets are likely

to be returned to the vulnerable adult after a final evidentiary hearing, and that no other

adequate remedy at law is reasonably available;

(4) freeze any line of credit of the vulnerable adult at any depository or financial

institution whether listed solely in the vulnerable adult's name or jointly with the respondent,

provided that:

(1) lines of credit held by a conservator for the vulnerable adult may be frozen only by

an order entered by the court overseeing the conservatorship proceeding; and

(11) lines of credit held by a trust may be frozen only by an order of the court if all the

trustees of the trust are served with process and are given reasonable notice before any

hearing on the petition;

(5) if the court has ordered an asset and credit freeze, ordering that living expenses of

the vulnerable adult continue to be paid;

(6) award to the vulnerable adult the temporary exclusive use and possession of the

dwelling that the vulnerable adult and the respondent share or bar the respondent from the

residence of the vulnerable adult;

(7) provide necessary directives to law enforcement agencies; and

(8) provide any terms the court deems necessary for the protection of the vulnerable

adult or the vulnerable adult's assets.
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Subd. 10. Modifying or vacating an order; extensions and subsequent orders. Upon

application and notice to all parties as required under this section, the court may vacate an

order, modify the terms of an existing order for protection, extend relief granted in an

existing order for protection, or, if an order for protection has expired, issue a new order.

Subd. 11. Copy to law enforcement agency; lead investigative agency. Within 24

hours of 1ssuance of an order or continuance of an order under this section, the court

administrator must forward the order for protection and any continuance of the order for

protection to the local law enforcement agency with jurisdiction over the residence of the

vulnerable adult and the lead investigative agency that received the report pursuant to

subdivision 6. Section S18B.01, subdivision 13, applies to orders granted under this section.

Subd. 12. Title to real property. Nothing in this section affects title to real property.

Subd. 13. Violation of an order for protection. (a) A person is guilty of a misdemeanor

if the person:

(1) knows of the existence of an order for protection issued under this section;

(2) is prohibited from direct or indirect contact with a vulnerable adult or restrained from

committing any acts of financial exploitation against a vulnerable adult as provided in

subdivision 9, paragraph (b); and

(3) violates the order by committing such conduct.

(b) A person who violates paragraph (a) within ten years of a previous conviction or

adjudication of delinquency for a violation of this subdivision or section 609.2335, is guilty

of a gross misdemeanor.

(c) A person who violates paragraph (a) within ten years of the first of two or more

previous convictions or adjudications of delinquency for a violation of this subdivision or

section 609.2335, is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more

than five years or to payment of a fine of not more than $10,000, or both.

Subd. 14. Admissibility of testimony in criminal proceeding. Any testimony offered

by a respondent in a hearing pursuant to this section is inadmissible in a criminal proceeding.

Subd. 15. Other remedies available. Any proceeding under this section shall be in

addition to other civil or criminal remedies.

Sec. 17. REPEALER.

Minnesota Statutes 2024, sections 517.05; and 517.18, are repealed.
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ARTICLE 14
STATUTORY FORMS FOR GARNISHMENT

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 550.136, subdivision 6, is amended to read:

Subd. 6. Earnings exemption notice. Before the first levy on earnings under this chapter,
the judgment creditor shall serve upon the judgment debtor no less than ten days before the
service of the writ of execution, a notice that the writ of execution may be served on the
judgment debtor's employer. The notice must: (1) be substantially in the form set forth
below; (2) be served personally, in the manner of a summons and complaint, or by first
class mail to the last known address of the judgment debtor; (3) inform the judgment debtor
that an execution levy may be served on the judgment debtor's employer in ten days, and
that the judgment debtor may, within that time, cause to be served on the judgment creditor
a signed statement under penalties of perjury asserting an entitlement to an exemption from
execution; (4) inform the judgment debtor of the earnings exemptions contained in section
550.37, subdivision 14; and (5) advise the judgment debtor of the relief set forth in this
chapter to which the debtor may be entitled if a judgment creditor in bad faith disregards a
valid claim and the fee, costs, and penalty that may be assessed against a judgment debtor
who in bad faith falsely claims an exemption or in bad faith takes action to frustrate the
execution process. The notice requirement of this subdivision does not apply to a levy on
earnings being retained by an employer pursuant to a garnishment previously served in

compliance with chapter 571.

The ten-day notice informing a judgment debtor that a writ of execution may be used

to levy the earnings of an individual must be substantially in the following form:

STATE-OEMINNESOTA PISTRICT-COURT

........................................... (FhirdParty)

State of Minnesota District Court

County of! .oviiiiieeiiieeeeeee e Judicial DIStrict: .....ccceevvciieeiiieeiiieeeiieene
Court File Number: .......cccccveveieniieeiiennee,
Case TYPE: tiovceeeeeiiieeiiieeeiie e

Creditor's full name

................................................................. Execution Exemption
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203.1  against Notice and Notice of

2032 Debtor's full name Intent to Levy on Earnings

203.3 e

203.4 and

203.5

203.6

203.7

203.8

203.9

203.10

203.11

203.12

203.13

203.14

203.15

203.16

203.17

203.18

203.19

20320 rights:

203.21 Notice: A levy may be served on your employer or other third parties. A levy means

203.22 that part of your earnings can be taken to pay off debts that you owe. This can happen

203.23 in 10 days or more after you get this notice. This can happen without any other court action

203.24 or notice to you. But some of your money may be protected.

203.25 Your earnings cannot be taken if:

203.26 (1) you are getting government assistance based on need,

203.27 (11) you got any government assistance based on need in the last 6 months, or

203.28 (iii) you were an inmate of a correctional institution in the last 6 months.

203.29 These are called exemptions. Your money is NOT protected unless you fill out the

203.30 Exemption Claim Notice attached and send it back to the creditor or the creditor's

203.31 lawyer. If you are not sure if you have any exemptions, talk to a lawyer.

203.32 You can also contact the creditor or their lawyer to talk about a settlement of the debt.
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204.1 Examples of government assistance based on need:
204.2 (1) MFIP - Minnesota Family Investment Program
204.3 (i1) DWP - MFIP Diversionary Work Program
204.4 (i11) SNAP - Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program
204.5 (iv) GA - General Assistance

204.6 (v) EGA - Emergency General Assistance

204.7 (vi) MSA - Minnesota Supplemental Aid

204.8 (vii) MSA-EA - MSA Emergency Assistance

204.9 (viii) EA - Emergency Assistance

204.10 (ix) Energy or Fuel Assistance

204.11 (x) Work Participation Cash Benefit

204.12 (xi) MA - Medical Assistance

204.13 (xi1) MinnesotaCare

204.14 (xiii) Medicare Part B - Premium Payments help
204.15 (xiv) Medicare Part D - Extra

204.16 (xv) SSI - Supplemental Security Income

204.17 (xvi) Tax Credits - federal Earned Income Tax Credit (EITC), MN Working family

204.18 credit

204.19 (xvii) Renter's Refund (also called Renter's Property Tax Credit)

204.20 PENALTHES

204.21 Warnings and Fines

204.22 (1) Be-advised-that Even if you claim an exemption, an-exeeution a levy may still be

204.23 served on your employer. If yeur-earnings-arelevied-on they take money from you after
204.24 you claim an exemption, you may petition ask the court for-a-determination-of to review

204.25 your exemption. If the court finds that the judgment creditor disregarded ignored your
204.26 claim of exemption in bad faith, you will-be are entitled to costs, reasonable atterney
204.27 lawyer fees, actual damages, and an-ameuntnet a fine up to exeeed $100. Bad faith is

204.28 when someone does something wrong on purpose.
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205.1 (2) HOWEVER, BE-WARNED BUT if you claim an exemption, the jadgment creditor
205.2 can also petition ask the court for-a-determination-of to review your exemption;-and. If
205.3 the court finds that you claimed an exemption in bad faith, you will-be-assessed are

205.4 charged costs and reasonable atterney's lawyer fees plus-an-ameuntnot and a fine up to
205.5 exeeed $100.

205.6 ESEIFP . i ice in-bad-faith-tal . ; 1 .

205.7
205.8

205.9 an-amountnot-to-exceed-$100-

205.10 (3) If you get this notice, then do something in bad faith to try to block or stop the levy

205.11 and the creditor has to take you to court because of it, you will have to pay the creditor's

205.12 costs, and reasonable lawyer fees, and a fine up to $100.

205.13 PATED—iiiiir— 0 e

205.14 Attorney-for Judgment-Creditor)

20515 e
205.16 Address

20517 e
205.18 Felephene

20519 DA Liiiiiiiiiiiii e e e e e e e e e

20520 Creditor's Signature: .......ccccceeeeeeeiiieesiieesieesieesieeseeeseeenens

205.21  (or creditor's lawyer's signature)

20522 Creditor's NAME: ....ooeeneeeeeeeeee e eeeeeeeeaaa

205.23  (or creditor's lawyer's name)

205.24  SEEEEE AdAIESS: oeeeeeeeeee e e

20525 CIty/State/ZAP: eveieeeeieeeiieeeie ettt

20526 Phone: ...oovveeeeeeeeiieeeeeeeaeeaen. Fax: oo,

205.27  EMALL oo

205.28 JEUDGMENT Debtor's Exemption Claim Notice

205.29 I hereby claim that my earnings are exempt frem-exeeution because: (check all that
205.30 apply)

205.31 b ... I am presently-areeiptent-of relief getting government assistance based on need.
205.32 (Speeify State the program, case number if you know it, and the county frem-whieh

205.33 reliefis-being reeetved you got it from.)

Article 14 Section 1. 205



04/04/25 03:59 pm COUNSEL KPB/PP/GC SCS1098A-1

206.]1 e T T T e e
2062  Pregram Case Number-(iknown) Ceounty

2063 Program: .........cccceeeiennen.n. Case #: vevveiieeeeieeeeen County: .occeeeviiiiiniiieeniieenns
2064  Program: ........ccccceeviveeennnen.. Case #: oveeieeeeieeeeees County: .iocoeerviiiiiiiniiiienne
206.5  Program: ...........ccceeeennnnn.. Case #: veeeeerieeeeeiieeeeeinn County: ...ccceeeeevcrrieeeesinennn.

206.6 2) ... I am not newreeetving relief getting assistance based on need right now, but I

206.7 havereeetvedrelief did get government assistance based on need within the last six 6
206.8 months. (Speeify State the program, case number if you know it, and the county you got
206.9 it from whichreliefhas-beenrecetved.)

206.10 TR T TS T
206.11 Pregram Case Number-(ifknown) County

206.12  Program: .........ccceeerennen.n. Case #: vovveiieeeeieee e County: .ooceeeviieiiniiieiniieenns
206.13  Program: ......c.ccceecvieennnee. Case #i ceeeiiiieiieceeene County: ....ccooveveeniiniinnennne.
206.14  Program: ...........ccceeeennnnn.. Case #: veveeerieeeeeeiieeeeein County: ..ccceeeviiiieniiieiniieenns
206.15 3) ... | have-been was an inmate of a correctional institution within the last six 6 months.
206.16 (Speeify State the correctional institution and location.)

206.17

206.18

206.19

206.20

206.21

206.22

206.23

206.24 attorney:

206.25 cmmmmm T S T T T I e T I T TrTn e e e
206.26 Debter

20627 e
206.28 Address

20629 e
206.30 DebtorTelephone Number

206.31 I give my permission to any agency listed above to give information about my benefits

206.32  to the creditor named above, or to the creditor's lawyer. The information will ONLY be if

206.33 1 get assistance, or if | have gotten assistance in the past 6 months. If [ was an inmate in the
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last 6 months, I give my permission to the correctional institution to tell the creditor named

above or the creditor's lawyer that [ was an inmate there.

Debtor's Signature: ......ccceeccieiiiiiieeiiieeeiee e eiee e

DeEbDtOr's NAME: .oveeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee e

SHEEt AdAIESS: et

CAty/State/ZAP: cveeeeeeeiee et eteeeeeiteesieeeeaeeeeaennaeanneens
PRONE: .o

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 550.136, subdivision 9, is amended to read:

Subd. 9. Execution earnings disclosure form and worksheet. The judgment creditor
shall provide to the sheriff for service upon the judgment debtor's employer an execution
earnings disclosure form and an earnings disclosure worksheet with the writ of execution,

that must be substantially in the form set forth below.

State of Minnesota District Court

County of: ....oooevviieeciiieeciieeeieeeeee Judicial District: .........ccovveeeiieeeiieeiene
Court File Number: .....ccccocoeeviiiiiiaiiiennennne,
Case TYPE: wiovveviiiieeeeiiieeeeeciiee e

Creditor's full name

................................................................. Earnings Execution Disclosure

and For Non-Child Support Judgments
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This form is called an "Earnings Execution Disclosure" or "Disclosure." It is for the

employer to fill out. The "debtor" is the person who owes money. The debtor gets a copy

of this form for their own information.

The employer is also called the "third party garnishee" or "third party." The debtor is

also called a "judgment debtor." If the debtor asks how the calculations in this document

were made, the employer must provide information about it.

DEFINITIONS

"Earnings'': what is paid or payable to an employee, independent contractor, or

self-employed person for personal services (a job). Also called compensation. Compensation

can be wages, salary, commission, bonuses, payments, profit-sharing distributions, severance

payment, fees, or other. It includes periodic payments from a pension or retirement. It can

also be compensation paid or payable to a producer for the sale of agricultural products.

This can be things like milk or milk products, or fruit or other horticultural products. Or

things produced in the operation of a family farm, a family farm corporation, or an authorized

farm corporation. This is defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 500.24, subdivision 2.

"Disposable Earnings'': the part of a person's earnings that are left after subtracting

the amounts required by law to be withheld. Note: Amounts required by law to be withheld

do not include things like health insurance, charitable contributions, or other voluntary wage

deductions.

"Payday'':

the date when the employer pays earnings to the debtor 1-the-erdinary-ecourse-ef-business
for doing their job. If the judgment debtor has no regular payday, payday(s) then "payday"

means the 15th and the last day of each month.
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The Third Party/Employer Must Answer The Following Questions:

(1) Right now, do you rew oweser-within-90-days-from-the-date-the-exeeutionlevy-was
served-on-you;,-will yeu-ermay-youewe money to the judgment debtor for earnings?

(2) Within 90 days from the date you were served with the levy, will you or may you

owe money to the debtor for earnings?

(3) Does the debtor earn more than the current Minnesota or federal minimum wage per

week? (use the number that is more)

A. If you answer "No" to question 1, 2, or 3, you don't need to answer the rest of the

questions. You don't have to do the Earnings Disclosure Worksheet. Sign the Earnings

Disclosure Affirmation below and return this disclosure form to the sheriff. You must return

it within 20 days after it was served on you.

B. If you answer "Yes" to question 1 or 2, and "Yes" to question 3, sign the Earnings

Disclosure Affirmation below. You must return it to the sheriff within 20 days. You must

also fill out the rest of this form. Read the instructions for the Earnings Disclosure Worksheet.

Earnings Disclosure Affirmation

| (person signing Affirmation), am the third party/employer or I am

authorized by the third party/employer to complete this earnings disclosure and have done

so truthfully and to the best of my knowledge.

Third Party's Name: ....cccoooiiiiiiiiieieiiese e

Third Party's Signature: .....ccccooeeniinieniieiieiiesie s
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210.1

2102  and-the-HarningsDiselosure-Worksheet-asfollows:

210.3 For each payday that falls within 90 days from the date the exeeution levy was served

210.4 on you, you must calculate the amount of earnings to be retained-by-completingsteps

210.5

210.6

210.7

210.8 DPISCEOSURE-WEREMADE withheld. Enter the amounts on the Earnings Disclosure

210.9 Worksheet.
210.10 You must:
210.11 (1) Withhold the amount of earnings listed in Column I on the Earnings Disclosure

210.12 Worksheet each payday.

210.13 (2) After 90 days, return this Earnings Disclosure Worksheet to the sheriff. Include all

210.14 the money withheld. Sign the Affirmation at the end of the worksheet before returning.

210.15 (3) Deliver a copy of the disclosure and worksheet to the debtor within 10 days after the

210.16 last payday that falls within the 90-day period.

210.17 If the debt (judgment) is fully paid off or if the debtor's job ends before the 90-day period

210.18 1s over, you need to do the last disclosure and withholdings within 10 days of their last

210.19 payday that you withheld money.

210.20

210.21

210.22

210.23

210.24

210.25

210.26

210.27

210.28

210.29

21030 Worksheet:

21031 ) COEUMN-A:
21032 4 COEUMNB-
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Article 14 Sec. 2.

211




04/04/25 03:59 pm COUNSEL KPB/PP/GC SCS1098A-1

2121 e
2122 Telephone Number

2123 BARNINGSDISCEOSUREWORKSHEET @ s
212.4 Debtor's Name

2125 Calculating Percentage of Disposable Earnings

212.6 Note to Creditor: You must fill out this chart before sending this form to the employer.

2127 Use the current minimum wage found online at: https://www.dli.mn.gov/minwage.

212.8 Minimum Wage = SMW/hour.

212.9 then this percentage of the disposable

212.10 if the weekly gross earnings are:  earnings are withheld:

212.11 Less than [40 X MW] 0%

212.12 [40 X MW + .01] to [60 X MW] 10%

212.13 [60 X MW + .01]to [80 X MW] 15%

212.14 [80 x MW + .01] or more 25%

212.15 Employer: Use this creditor's calculation chart to know what percentage of earnings

212.16 should be withheld.

212.17 Earnings Disclosure Worksheet

212,18 i e

212.19 Debtor's name

212.20 B - Gross C - Disposable
21221 A - Payday Date Earnings Earnings

21222 1o e $ e S e
21223 2. eeeeeeeeeeeeee e e
21224 3. e e e
21225 Al e e e
21226 5. e e
21227 6. eeeveeeeeee e e
21228 Ti e et e
21229 &  wmmmmmeeew o wwmmmmmmmmwewww o wermmmmeeeees
21230 9 e mmmmmmemms e
21231 M s mmmemmmms memmmme

212.32 Column A. Enter the debtor's payday.

212.33 Column B. Enter the debtor's gross earnings for each payday.

212.34 Column C. Enter the debtor's disposable earnings for each payday.
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D 25 - % of E - Greater of 40

withholding of X-$9-560-er40 X

Column C (Use the MN or Fed. F - Column C
creditor's calculation) Min. Wage minus Column E

Column D. Enter the percentage of disposable earnings that will be withheld. Get this

number from the creditor's calculation chart.

Column E. Calculate 40 times the current MN minimum wage (or 40 times the current

federal minimum wage) times the number of work weeks in each payday. Enter the bigger

number here. Note: If a payday has extra days that are more than a full work week, count

those extra days as part of a work week. Do this by dividing the number of extra workdays

by the number of workdays in a normal week.

Column F. Subtract the amount in Column E from the amount in Column C and enter

here.

H - Setoff, Lien,
G - Lesser of Adverse I - Column G
Column D and Interest, or minus Column
Column F Other Claims H

Article 14 Sec. 2. 213



214.1

214.2

2143

214.4

214.5

214.6

214.7

214.8

214.9

214.10

214.11

214.12

214.13

214.14

214.15

214.16

214.17

214.18

214.19

214.20

214.21

214.22

214.23

214.24

214.29

04/04/25 03:59 pm COUNSEL KPB/PP/GC SCS1098A-1

Column G. Look at Column D and Column F. Enter the smaller amount of the two here

in Column G.

Column H. Enter any amount claimed by you that would lower the amount of earnings

that will go to the debtor. Things like:

(1) a setoff,
(i) a defense,
(i11) a lien,

(iv) a claim, or

(v) any amount claimed by any other person as an exemption or adverse interest.

Note: You must describe your claim(s) and the claims of others, if known, in the spaces

after this worksheet.

Enter zero in Column H if there are no claims by you or others which would lower the

amount of earnings owed to the debtor.

Note: Any debt that happened within 10 days before you got the first levy on a debt

may not be set off against the earnings that are affected by this levy. Any wage assignment

made by the debtor within 10 days before you got the first levy on a debt is void. Wage

assignment is when a debtor voluntarily agrees to money being taken out of their earnings.

Column 1. Subtract the amount in Column H from the amount in Column G and enter

here. This is the amount of earnings that go to the creditor.

%]f you entered any amount in Column H for any payday(s) payday, yewmust describe
those claims below etther-your-elaims;-orthe-elatms-of-others. It doesn't matter if they are
your claims, or the claims of others. For ameunts-elaimed claims by others, you-mustboth
state list the names and addresses of such-persons each, and the-natare-of describe their

elatm claims, if knewn you know.

Earnings Worksheet Affirmation
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| ISR (person signing Affirmation), am the third party party/employer or [ am

authorized by the third party party/employer to complete this earnings disclosure werksheet;

and have done so truthfully and to the best of my knowledge.

Signature
Pated: s e
Fitle Phene Number
DAL it
Third Party's Name: .........cccoeeveiiieiiiieeiiieeeiieeeeieeeeiee e
Third Party's S1gnature: .......cccccveeeeiieeiiiieeiiieeeciieeeiiee e
Phone: .....ccccvviviiiiiniiiiienee, Fax: oo
Email: ..o

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 550.143, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Disclosure form. Along with the writ of execution, the notice, instructions,
and the exemption notice described in subdivision 3, the sheriff shall serve upon the financial

institution an execution disclosure form which must be substantially in the following form:

STATE-OEMINNESOTA PISTRICT-COURT

against ENANCIAEINSTHUHONS
EXECUTHION

and DPISCEOSURE

............................................ (Fhird Party)

State of Minnesota District Court

County of: ..vvveeeiiieeciieeeeeeee e Judicial DIStrict: ....ccceeeeviieeiiieeeiiieeeiieenee,
Court File Number: .....c.ccccoveveivevirieeiieennee,
Case TYPE: .iieieiiiiiieeeeiiieeeeeiee e

Creditor's full name

................................................................. Execution Disclosure

against

Debtor's full name
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Third Party (bank, employer, or other)

This form is called a "Non-Earnings Disclosure" or "Disclosure." It is being sent to you

because you might be holding property that belongs to the debtor, or you might owe money

to the debtor.

You are the "third party" or "garnishee." The "debtor" is the person who owes money.

The debtor is also called the "judgment debtor." The creditor is the person the debtor owes

money to. The creditor is also called the "judgment creditor." The debtor owes

S e, to the creditor.

You must list any money or property you owe the debtor on the lines below and sign

the affirmation. Write "none" on the line if that is your answer. You must then return this

disclosure to the creditor (or the creditor's lawyer) within 20 days after you got it.

(1) Money. En
exeeptearnings,fromthe third party: Write down the amount of money you owe the debtor

(except earnings).

(2) Property. Write a short description of any personal property, instruments, or papers

belonging to the debtor that you have in your possession. List the monetary value of each

thing.

debtis-veid-asto-thejudgmentereditor) If you claim a setoft, defense, lien, or claim against

the amount on lines (1) and (2) above, enter that amount on the line below. State the facts

about your claim. Note: Any payment the debtor makes to the garnishee within the 10 days
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before they get the first garnishment order on that debt can't be used to lower the amount

that is being garnished.

3) (4) Exemption. Enter any amounts or property that the debtor claims is exempt on

the line below any

4) (5) Adverse Interest. Enter on the line below any amounts elatmed-by-otherpersons
byreasen-ofewnership-erinterestinthejudgment of the debtor's property that other people

claim they own or have interest in.

5) (6) Enter oen-the-line-below the total of lines (2);-(3);-and«(4) (3), (4), and (5) on the

line below.

(6) (7) Enter en-theline-below the difference obtained (never less than zero) when line
5) (6) is subtracted from the ameunt-entine sum of lines (1) and (2) on the line below.

H-Enter-on-theline-below (8) Figure out 110 percent of the amount of the judgment

creditor's claim which remains is still unpaid. Enter it on the line below.

(9) Look at (7) and (8). Put the smaller number on the line below. Hold this amount only

if it is $10 or more.

AFFIRMATION
(person signing Affirmation), am the third-party garnishee or [ am
authorized by the third-party garnishee to complete this nenearnings non-earnings

garnishment disclosure, and have done so truthfully and to the best of my knowledge.
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Dated
Stgnatare
Title
Telephone Number

DAt s

NI et e e

SIGNATUTE: ...viiiiieeiieeiie et ecieeeiteesteeeire e e eeaeeseneessaeesnneennns

L e et

Phone: ...ooovmeeieeeeeeeeeee . Email: .o,

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 550.143, subdivision 3a, is amended to read:

Subd. 3a. Form of notice. The notice required by subdivision 3 must be provided as a

separate form and must be substantially in the following form:

COILINTVY OE

A\ AW AW I S S N
(Craditor)

-------------------------------------- \VL\JUILUI}

State of Minnesota District Court
County of! ...ooiiiieiieeeeeeeeeeeen Judicial DiStrict: ......ccceeeeeesieeiieiiieeiieeieas
Court File Number: ......coovoeeiiiieiieeeeeeenn.
Case TYPE: wiveeeeiiiieeeeiiiee et e eeeiieee e
Creditor's full name
................................................................. Notice of Levied Funds
Debtor's full name
Third Party (bank, employer, or other)
IMPORTANT NOTICE

YOURFUNDS-HAVE BEEN-LEVIED

Money in Your Account Has Been Frozen

The creditor has frozen money in your account at your finanetal-institution bank.

Your account balance is §.......

Article 14 Sec. 4. 218
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219.1 The amount being held is §.......
219.2 The amount being held will-be is frozen for 14 days from the date of this notice.
219.3 Some of your money in your account may be protected (the legal word is exempt).

219.4  You may be able to get it sooner than 14 days if you act quickly and follow the

219.5 instructions on the next page.

219.6 The attached exemption form lists some different seurees-ef ways money in your account
219.7  that may be protected. If your money s comes from ene-ermere-ofthese-seurees a benefit

219.8  on this list, plaee put a check en-theline-on-theformnextto-thesources-of-yourmoney in
219.9 the box next to it. Hitisfromone-of these-sourees; The creditor eannet can't take it.

219.10 BUT, if you want the bank to unfreeze your money, you must follow the instructions

219.11 and return the exemption form and with copies of your bank statements from the last

219.12 60 days te-have-the-bankunfreeze-your-meney. Instructions and the form are attached. If
219.13  you de-net don't follow the instructions, your finanetal-institation-will-gtve bank gives the

219.14 money to the-SherHf your creditor. If your creditor gets an order from the court or writ of

219.15 execution, your bank gives the money to them. If that happens and it your money is protected,

219.16 you can still get it back from the creditor later; but-thatisnet-as-easy-to-do-asfilling-inthe

219.17 fermnew. But filling out the form now is easiest.

219.18 Seenextpagesforinstructions-and-the-exemptionform:

219.19  See the attached Exemption Form Instructions and Exemption Form for your next steps.

219.20  Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 550.143, subdivision 3b, is amended to read:

219.21 Subd. 3b. Form of instructions. The instructions required by this section must be in a

219.22 separate form and must be substantially in the following form:

219.23 Exemption Form Instructions
219.24 Note: The creditor is who you owe the money to. You are the debtor.
219.25 1. Fill out both of the attached exemption forms in this packet.

219.26 If you check one of the lines, you should also give proof. Use proof that shews show
219.27 that some or all of the money in your account is from one or more of the protected sources.

219.28 This might be letters or account statements. Creditors may ask for a hearing if they question

219.29 your exemptions.
219.30 To avoid a hearing:

219.31 (1) Case numbers should be added to the form.
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(i1) Copies of documents should be sent with the form.

Notice: You must send te-the-ereditor's-attorney(orto-the-ereditor, ifno-atterney) copies
of your bank statements for the past 60 days before the levy garnishment. Send them to the

creditor's lawyer (or to the creditor, if there isn't a lawyer). Keep a copy of your bank

statements in case there are questions about your claim. If you denet don't send bank
statements to the creditor's atterney lawyer (or to the creditor;ifno-attorney) bankstatements
along with your exemption claim, the financial institution may release give your money to

the Shertff creditor. They would do this once the creditor gives them a court order saying

they have to turn over the funds.

2. Sign the exemption forms. Make ene a copy to keep for yourself.
3. Mail or deliver the other copies of the form by (insert date).
Both Copies Must Be Mailed or Delivered the Same Day.

One copy of the form and the copies of your bank statements go to:

i ¢ ered o
I " c ered Litor!
One-copygoesto:
Hnsertname-of bank)
nsert-address-efbank)
Creditor's Name: ....oeeeciiiiiiieeiiieeeciee e eeieeeeiveeesivee e

(or creditor's lawyer's name)

SEEET AAAIESS: e

CIty/State/ZaP: woiecveieeeiie et e e aaee e

One copy goes to:

Bank's NamE: ..o
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SEEEET AAAIESS: e

CIty/State/ZaP: woeeeeeieeciie et eeevae e aaae e

How The Process Works

If You BeNet Don't Send in the Exemption Form and Bank Statements:

14 days after the date of this letter some or all of your money may be turned over to the

creditor erte-thesheriff. This happens once they get an order from the court telling the bank

to do this.
If You Do Send in the Exemption Form and Bank Statements:

Any money that is NOT protected can be turned over to the shertff creditor once they

get an order from the court.

If the Creditor Does Not Object to Your Claimed Exemptions:

The finanetalinstitution-will bank should unfreeze your money six 6 business days after
the-institution-gets they get your completed form. If they don't, ask the creditor or the

creditor's lawyer to send a release letter to the bank.

If the Creditor Objects to Your Claimed Exemptions:

The money you have said is protected on the form will-be is held by the bank. The
creditor has six 6 business days to object (disagree) and ask the court to hold a hearing. You

will-reeetve get a Notice of Objection and a Notice of Hearing.

The finanetalinstitution-will-held bank holds the money until a court decides whether
if your money 1s protected or not. Some reasons a creditor may object are because you did
net didn't send copies of your bank statements or other proof of the benefits you reeetved

got. Be sure to include these when you send your exemption form.

You may want to talk to a lawyer for advice about this process. If you are low income

you can call Legal Aid statewide at 1(877) 696-6529.

PENALTIES:

Warnings and Fines

If you claim that your money is protected and a court decides you made that claim in
bad faith, the-eeurt they can order you to pay costs, actual damages, attorney lawyer fees,
and an-additienal-ameunt-ef a fine up to $100. Bad faith is when someone does something

Article 14 Sec. 5. 221
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wrong on purpose. For example, it may be bad faith if you claim you reeetve get government

benefits that and you do-netreceive don't.

If the creditor made a bad faith objection to your claim that your money is protected,
the court can order them to pay costs, actual damages, atterney lawyer fees, and an-additional
amount-of a fine up to $100.

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 550.143, subdivision 3¢, is amended to read:

Subd. 3c. Form of exemption form. The exemption form required by this subdivision

must be sent as a separate form and must be in substantially the following form:

COINTV _OFE
O T UINT I UL (iiieeececcssssssssssssssssnes
(Craditor)
-------------------------------------- \Ulbullul}
(Peabtar)
........................................ \UUULUI}

State of Minnesota District Court
County of: ....oooeveviieeiiiieeciieeeeeeeee Judicial District: .........ccocvveeviieeeiieeeriee
Court File Number: .......cocceeviiiniiiiiieneeenne,
Case TYPE: wovvevviiieeeeeciiiieeeeeiiee e

Creditor's full name

................................................................. Exemption Form

against

Debtor's full name

A. How Much Money is Protected (Exempt)

......... I claim ALL of the money being frozen by the bank is protected.

......... I claim SOME of the money is protected. The amount I claim is protected is $.......
B. Why The Money is Protected

My money is protected because I get it from one or more of the following places:
(Check all that apply)

Earnings (Wages)

ALL or SOME of my wages may be protected.

......... Some of my wages are protected because they were only deposited in my account
in the last 20 days.
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For wages that were deposited in your account within the last 20 days, the amount
protected is whichever is more:

(1) 75% or more of your wages (after taxes are taken out), or

(1) The current minimum wage times 40 per week. You can find the current minimum
wage here: https://www.dli.mn.gov/minwage.

All of my wages are protected because:

I get government benefits (a list of government benefits is on the next page)

I am getting other assistance based on need

I have gotten government benefits in the last 6 months

I was in jail or prison in the last 6 months

If you check one of these 4 boxes, your wages are only protected for 60 days after
they are deposited in your account. You MUST send the creditor copies of bank
statements that show what was in your account for the 60 days right before the
bank froze your money.

Government benefits

Government benefits inelade butarenothimitedtothe-felowing can include many

things. For example:

(1) MFIP - Minnesota Family Investment Program
(i1) DWP - MFIP Diversionary Work Program

(ii1) SNAP - Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program

(iv) GA - General Assistance

(v) EGA - Emergency General Assistance

(vi) MSA - Minnesota Supplemental Aid
(vil) MSA-EA - MSA Emergency Assistance

(viii) EA - Emergency Assistance
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(ix) Energy or Fuel Assistance

(x) Work Participation Cash Benefit
(xi) MA - Medical Assistance

(xi1) MinnesotaCare

(xii1) Medicare Part B - Premium Payments help

(xiv) Medicare Part D - Extra

(xv) SSI - Supplemental Security Income

(xvi) Tax Credits - federal Earned Income Tax Credit (EITC), MN Working family
credit

(xvii) Renter's Refund (also called Renter's Property Tax Credit)

List the case number and county for every box you checked:

Case NUmber: ......ccceevveeeeiieeeiieeeeiee e COUNLY: i
Case Number: ......cccveeevieeiieiiiecieeeie e COoUNLY: oo
Case Number: ........cccccevveeeciveeeciieeeiieennen. COUNLY: ouviiieeeeiiieee e
Co 4~

Government benefits also include:
Social Security benefits
Unemployment benefits
Workers' compensation

VMeterans Veterans' benefits

If you reeeive get any of these government benefits, include copies of any documents

youhave that show you feeefve—Seelal—Seetwﬁy—tmemp}eymeﬂ{—weﬂeef&
compensation;-or-veterans-benefits get them
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le

Other Exempt Protected Funds

The money from the-fellewing these things are also completely protected after they
are deposited in yeur my account.

......... Child support
......... An-aeeident;-disability; er retirement A retirement, disability, or accident pension
or annuity

Earnings of my child who is under 18 years of age

Payments to yeu me from a life insurance policy

Money paid to yeu me from a claim for damage or destruction of property. Property
includes household goods, farm tools or machinery, tools for yeur my job, business
equipment, a mobile home, a car, a musical instrument, a pew or burial lot, clothes,
furniture, or appliances.

Death benefits paid to yew me

I give my permission to any agency that has given me eash benefits to give information

about my benefits to the abeve-named creditors-erits-atterney named above or to the creditor's

lawyer. The information will ONLY eeneern-whether be if I get benefits-ernet assistance,

or whether if [ have gotten them assistance in the past six 6 months. If I was an inmate in

the last 6 months, I give my permission to the correctional institution to tell the creditor

named above or the creditor's lawyer that I was an inmate there.

You must sign and-send this form and send it back to the creditor's Atterney lawyer

(or to the creditor, if there is no atterney lawyer) and the bank. Remember to include

a copy of your bank statements for the past 60 days. Fill in the blanks below and go

back to the instructions to make sure you de did it correctly.
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I have mailed or delivered a copy of this form to: the creditor's lawyer (or to the creditor,

if there is no lawyer) at the address listed below.

Creditor's SIZNATUTE: ..oveeeiieeitieeiieeiieeieeeieeeieeesieaenieeeinans

(or creditor's lawyer's signature)

Creditor's NaME: ..o

(or creditor's lawyer's name)

SEEET AAAIESS: e

CIty/State/ZaP: woeeceeeeeeiie ettt evee e araa e

I have also mailed or delivered a copy of this exemption form to my bank at the address

listed n-the-tnstructions: below:

Bank's NAmME: ..o

SHEEEE AdAIESS: e

CAty/State/ZAP: ceveieieeeiie e eeeeeteeeetteeieeesteeeereeneaenaeesneans

Debtor's SINAtUIe: ......cceeecveeiiieeiieerieeeieesieeeieesneesieeeneees

DeEbLOr'S NAME: ..o

SEEEE AAAIESS: et

CIty/State/ZaP: .ooccveeeeiee et
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POMNE: e

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 551.05, subdivision 1b, is amended to read:

Subd. 1b. Form of notice. The notice must be a separate form and must be substantially

in the following form:

........................................... {Crediter)
........................................... Debter)
£ 1
........................................... nstitation)
State of Minnesota District Court
County of} ..iooieecieeeieeseeeeeeee e Judicial District: ......cccccccveeiveeiiieeiieannnns

Court File Number: .....cooooeevveiieeeeiieaa,

Case TYPE: wooviriiiiiieeiiieeeeieee e
Creditor's full name:
Debtorls fun name ...................................
Thind Party (sank,employer, o other):
IMPORTANT NOTICE

YOURFUNDS-HAVE BEEN-LEVIED

Money in Your Account Has Been Frozen

The creditor has frozen money in your account at your finanetal-institution bank.

Your account balance is §.......
The amount being held is §$.......
The amount being held will-be is frozen for 14 days from the date of this notice.

Some of your money in your account may be protected (the legal word is exempt). You
may be able to get it sooner than 14 days if you act quickly and follow the instructions

on the next page.

The attached exemption form lists some different seurees-ef ways money in your account

that may be protected. If your money isfrem-one-ormere-of these-sourees; place-acheek

Article 14 Sec. 7. 227
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the-Creditor-eannettakeit comes from a benefit on this list, put a check on the line next to

it. The creditor can't take it.

BUT, if you want the bank to unfreeze your money, you must follow the instructions and

return the exemption form and with copies of your bank statements from the last 60

days-te-have the-bank-unfreeze-yourmeney. Instructions and the form are attached. If you
donet don't follow the instructions, your finanetalinstitution-will-give bank gives the money

to the your creditor. If your creditor gets an order from the court or writ of execution, your

bank gives the money to them. If that happens and it your money is protected, you can still
get it back from the creditor later;-but-thatisnet-as-easy-to-do-asfilling-in-the-formnow.

But filling out the form now is easiest.

: L o form

Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 551.05, subdivision lc, is amended to read:

Subd. 1c. Form of instructions. The instructions required must be in a separate form

and must be substantially in the following form:
INSTRUCTIONS

Note: The creditor is who you owe the money to. You are the debtor.

1. Fill out both of the attached exemption forms in this packet.

If you check one of the lines, you should also give proof. Use proof that shows that some

or all of the money in your account is from one or more of the protected sources. This might

be letters or account statements. Creditors may ask for a hearing if they question your

exemptions.

To avoid a hearing:

(1) Case numbers should be added to the form.

(i1) Copies of documents should be sent with the form.

Article 14 Sec. 8. 228
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Notice: You must send copies of your bank statements for the past 60 days before the

garnishment. Send them to the creditor (or to the creditor's lawyer). Keep a copy of your

bank statements in case there are questions about your claim. If you don't send bank

statements to the creditor (or to the creditor's lawyer) along with your exemption claim, the

financial institution may give your money to the creditor. They would do this once the

creditor gives them a court order saying they have to turn over the funds.

2. Sign the exemption forms. Make one copy to keep for yourself.
3. Mail or deliver the other copies of the form by (insert date).
Both Copies Must Be Mailed or Delivered the Same Day.

One copy of the form and the copies of your bank statements go to:

CIEAILOT'S NAIMIE: ettt e e e e e et e e e e e e e e e e e e e e e e e e e eeeaaeaaeeeeeeeeenanas

Insertname-of erediter-orereditor's-attorney) (or creditor's lawyer's name)
ST A IS S: e itieiit ettt ettt ettt e et e et e st e et e et e st e et eeb e ebteebeeabaesnneans

Insert-address-efereditor-orereditor's-attorney) City/State/Zip: ..ocoevvveecveeiieecieesieeies

One copy goes to:

Bank's Name: ....oooveeeeiieeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee e

Insert-name-of-banlo Street Address: .........
City/State/Zap: wocveeeeeeeieeeieeeeeeeeeee e
nsert-address-ef-banlg Phone: ................... FaX: oo
Email: oo
How The Process Works

If You Pe-Net Don't Send in the Exemption Form and Bank Statements:

14 days after the date of this letter some or all of your money may be turned over to the

creditor pursuant-te-Minnesetastatute. This happens once they get an order from the court
telling the bank to do this.

Article 14 Sec. 8. 229
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If You Do Send in the Exemption Form and Bank Statements:

Any money that is NOT protected can be turned over to the creditor once they get an order

from the court.

If the Creditor Does Not Object to Your Claimed Exemptions:

gets-yourcompleted-form: The bank should unfreeze your money 6 business days after they

get your completed form. If they don't, ask the creditor or the creditor's lawyer to send a

release letter to the bank.

If the Creditor Objects to Your Claimed Exemptions:

The money you have said is protected on the form will-be is held by the bank. The creditor
has six 6 business days to object (disagree) and ask the court to hold a hearing. You will

reeetve get a Notice of Objection and a Notice of Hearing.

The finanetalinstitution-will-hold bank holds the money until a court decides whether if
your money is protected or not. Some reasons a creditor may object are because you did
net didn't send copies of your bank statements or other proof of the benefits you reeetved

got. Be sure to include these when you send your exemption form.

You may want to talk to a lawyer for advice about this process. If you are low income you

can call Legal Aid statewide at 1(877) 696-6529.

PENALTHES Warnings and Fines:

If you claim that your money is protected and a court decides you made that claim in bad
faith, the-eourt they can order you to pay costs, actual damages, attorney lawyer fees, and
an-additionalameunt-of a fine up to $100. Bad faith is when someone does something wrong

on purpose. For example, it may be bad faith if you claim you reeetve get government

benefits thatyeu-denetreeetve and you don't.

If the creditor made a bad faith objection to your claim that your money is protected, the
court can order them to pay costs, actual damages, attorney lawyer fees, and an-additional
amount-of a fine up to $100.

Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 551.05, subdivision 1d, is amended to read:

Subd. 1d. Form of exemption form. The exemption form required by this subdivision

must be a separate form and must be in substantially the following form:

Article 14 Sec. 9. 230
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231.1  STATE-OE-MINNESOTA PISTRICFCOURT
2312  COUNTY-OF
2313 e (Creditor)
2314 e DPebter)

231.5 (Finanetal
231.6 T institution)

231.7  State of Minnesota District Court

231.8  County of! ..ocoieeiiiiieeieee e Judicial District: ......ccccccveeiieeiiieeiieannnns

231.9 Court File Number: .....ccoovvvvviiieeeeeeeeeen,

231.10 Case TYPE: wovvveeiiieeeeiiiee e

231.11 Creditor's full name:

231,02 teeeiiieeeeeeree e e e e e e est e eeeaearraeeeennrraaaeas Exemption Form

231.13  against
231.14 Debtor's full name:

23115 e

231.16 Bank's name:

231.19  A.  How Much Money Is Protected (exempt)

23120 === ... [ claim ALL of the money being frozen by the bank is protected.

23121 === ...1claim SOME of the money is protected. The amount I claim is protected is §........

23122 B.  Why The Money Is Protected

231.23 My money is protected because I get it from one or more of the following places:
231.24 (Check all that apply)

231.25 Earnings (Wages)

231.26 ALL or SOME of my wages may be protected.

231.27 ... Some of my wages are protected because they were only deposited in my
231.28 account in the last 20 days.

231.29 For wages that were deposited in your account within the last 20 days, the amount
231.30 protected is whichever is more:

231.31 (1) 75% of your wages or more (after taxes are taken out), or

231.32 (i1) The current minimum wage times 40 per week. You can find the current
231.33 minimum wage here: https://www.dli.mn.gov/minwage.

231.34 All of my wages are protected because:

231.35 ... | get government benefits (a list of government benefits is on the next page)
231.36 ...  am getting other assistance based on need

231.37 ... | have gotten government benefits in the last 6 months

231.38 ... | was in jail or prison in the last 6 months

Article 14 Sec. 9. 231
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If you check one of these 4 boxes, your wages are only protected for 60 days
after they are deposited in your account. You MUST send the creditor copies
of bank statements that show what was in your account for the 60 days right
before the bank froze your money.

Government benefits

Government benefits can include;-but-are-not-limited-to;-the following many things.
For example:

e N .
GOt . ettt ettt et b e ettt e e at e e e e bt e e bt e e e bt e e ettt e e e ateeea

nnnnnn

a-
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233.13

233.14
233.15
233.16

233.17

233.18

233.19

233.20
233.21

233.22

233.23

233.24

23325 T

23326 =

233.27 b
233.28
233.29

23330 = Death-benefitspaid-to-you

23331 (1) MFIP - Minnesota Family Investment Program

233.32 (i1) DWP - MFIP Diversionary Work Program

233.33 (ii1) SNAP - Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program
233.34 (iv) GA - General Assistance

233.35 (v) EGA - Emergency General Assistance

233.36 (vi) MSA - Minnesota Supplemental Aid

233.37 (vil)) MSA-EA - MSA Emergency Assistance

233.38 (viii) EA - Emergency Assistance

233.39 (ix) Energy or Fuel Assistance

233.40 (x) Work Participation Cash Benefit

Article 14 Sec. 9. 233
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234.1 (xi) MA - Medical Assistance

2342 (xi1) MinnesotaCare

2343 (xiii) Medicare Part B - Premium Payments help

234.4 (xiv) Medicare Part D - Extra

2345 (xv) SSI - Supplemental Security Income

234.6 (xvi) Tax Credits - federal Earned Income Tax Credit (EITC), Minnesota Working
2347 Family Credit

234.8 (xvii) Renter's Refund (also called Renter's Property Tax Credit)

2349  List the case number and county for every
234.10  box you checked:

23411  Case NUmMDET: .....cooveeiieeiieeieesieeeie e COUNLY: it
23412 Case NUMDET: .....coovvvieeriiiieeiiieeeiiie e COUNLY: i
234.13  Case NUmMDbeT: ......ccovvevieeiieeiieeieeeie e, COoUNLY: ot

234.14 Government benefits also include:

234.15 ... Social Security benefits

234.16 ... Unemployment benefits

234.17 ... Workers' compensation

234.18 ... Veterans' benefits

234.19 If you get any of these government benefits, include copies of any documents that show

23420 you get them.

234.21 ... | get other assistance based on need that is not on the list. It comes from:
23422 seecteeeeeeseee et e ee et e te et e te et et e et e et e heeat e beatt et e ettenbeabeestebeeRtenbeeReenbeese et ebeentenbeestenbeeseensentes
234.23 Make sure you include copies of any documents that show this.

23424 C.  Other Protected Funds

23425 The money from these things are also completely protected after they are deposited
234.26 in my account.

234.27 ... Child Support

234.28 ... A retirement, disability, or accident pension or annuity

234.29 ... Barnings of my child who is under 18 years of age

234.30 ... Payments to me from a life insurance policy

23431 .. Money paid to me from a claim for damage or destruction of property. Property
234.32 1ncludes household goods, farm tools or machinery, tools for my job, business
234.33 equipment, a mobile home, a car, a musical instrument, a pew or burial lot, clothes,
234.34 furniture, or appliances.

234.35 ... Death benefits paid to me

234.36 I give my permission to any agency that has given me eash benefits to give information
23437 about my benefits to the abeve-named-ereditor;-orits-atterney creditor named above or to

Article 14 Sec. 9. 234
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the creditor's lawyer. The information will ONLY eeneern-whetherIgetbenefits-ornotor
whether T have-gottenthem-in-the-pastsix-months be 1f I get assistance, or if I have gotten

assistance in the past 6 months. If I was an inmate in the last six 6 months, I give my

permission to the correctional institution to tell the abeve-named creditor named above or

the creditor's lawyer that [ was an inmate there.

You must sign this form and send it back to the creditor's lawyer (or to the creditor,

if there is no lawyer) and the bank. Remember to include a copy of your bank

statements for the past 60 days. Fill in the blanks below and go back to the instructions

to make sure you did it correctly.

I have mailed or delivered a copy of this form to: the creditor (or creditor's lawyer) at

the address listed below.

Creditor's STZNATUTE: ....uviieiiiieeiiieeiiiieeiiieeestteeaitteeestreeessreeesssseeesssaeesssaeeessseeeassseeesssseeensnns

(Insertname-of-ereditor or creditor's atterney lawyer's signature)

CIEAILOT'S NAIMIE: ..ottt e e et e e e e e e e e e e e e e e e e e e e e e e e e e eaeeeeaaaeeeeennans

(Insert-address-ef-ereditor or creditor's atterney lawyer's name)

Street AdAress: e eeeeee e

City/State/Zip: ....cccvveeeerieeeeiieeeieeeeieeenee.

I have also mailed or delivered a copy of this exemption form to my bank at the address

listed n-the-instruetions: below:

Bank's NaAmME: ...oooeeeeee e ee e e eaeneas

SHEEE AdAIESS: et

Article 14 Sec. 9. 235



236.1

236.2

236.3

236.4

236.5

236.6

236.7

236.8

236.9

236.10

236.11

236.12

236.13

236.14

236.15

236.16

236.17

236.18

236.19

236.20

236.21

236.22

236.23

236.24

236.25

236.26

236.27

236.28

236.29

236.30

236.31

236.32

236.33

236.34

04/04/25 03:59 pm COUNSEL KPB/PP/GC SCS1098A-1

Caty/State/ZaP: cocceveeeeiie e

Debtor's S1gnature: .......cccceeeeveeeeiieeeiiieeeiiee e eeieeeeiveeans

Debtor's NamME: ..ueeiiiiiiiiiieenieieceeese e
Street AdAress: .o.viiiiiiiiiiieiieie e
CIty/State/ZaP: .oeeeeeiie et eeiee et eesieeeesveaeeaaaeens
PROMNE: it

Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 551.06, subdivision 6, is amended to read:

Subd. 6. Earnings exemption notice. Before the first levy on earnings, the attorney for
the judgment creditor shall serve upon the judgment debtor no less than ten days before the
service of the writ of execution, a notice that the writ of execution may be served on the
judgment debtor's employer. The notice must: (1) be substantially in the form set forth
below; (2) be served personally, in the manner of a summons and complaint, or by first
class mail to the last known address of the judgment debtor; (3) inform the judgment debtor
that an execution levy may be served on the judgment debtor's employer in ten days, and
that the judgment debtor may, within that time, cause to be served on the judgment creditor's
attorney a signed statement under penalties of perjury asserting an entitlement to an
exemption from execution; (4) inform the judgment debtor of the earnings exemptions
contained in section 550.37, subdivision 14; and (5) advise the judgment debtor of the relief
set forth in this chapter to which the judgment debtor may be entitled if a judgment creditor
in bad faith disregards a valid claim and the fee, costs, and penalty that may be assessed
against a judgment debtor who in bad faith falsely claims an exemption or in bad faith takes
action to frustrate the execution process. The notice requirement of this subdivision does
not apply to a levy on earnings being held by an employer pursuant to a garnishment

summons served in compliance with chapter 571.

The ten-day notice informing a judgment debtor that a writ of execution may be used

to levy the earnings of an individual must be substantially in the following form:

STATE-OF-MINNESOTA PISTRICT-COURT

Article 14 Sec. 10. 236
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237.1 EXECUTHON-EXEMPTION
237.2 NOTICEANDNOTCE-OF

237.3

237.4

237.5

237.6

237.7

237.8

2379

237.10

237.11

237.12

237.13

237.14

237.15

237.16

237.17

237.18

237.19

237.20

23721 State of Minnesota District Court

23722 County Of! ..ooiiiiiiiiiiieeeeeeeee e Judicial DIStrict: ....cccveeveiiieeiiieeeiieeeiieeene

237.23 Court File Number: .......oovvvemmeeeeeeeeeeeann..

237.24 Case TYPE: wiveeeeiiiiieeeeciiiieeeeciieeeeeeiieee e

237.25 Creditor's full name:

237.26  teeerrieeeeeetre e e e e e e e ee e e e eaearraaeeenrraaaeeannnees Execution Exemption Notice and Notice of

237.27 against Intent to Levy on Earnings

237.28 Debtor's full name:

23729 e

23730 and

23731 Third Party (bank, employer, or other):

R 1

237.33 Notice: A levy may be served on your employer or other third parties. A levy means that

23734 part of your earnings can be taken to pay off debts that you owe. This can happen in

Article 14 Sec. 10. 237
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238.1 10 days or more after you get this notice. This can happen without any other court action

2382 or notice to you. But some of your money may be protected.

238.3 Your earnings cannot be taken if:

238.4 (1) you are getting government assistance based on need,

238.5 (i1) you got any government assistance based on need in the last 6 months, or
238.6 (i11) you were an inmate of a correctional institution in the last 6 months.

238.7 These are called exemptions. Your money is NOT protected unless you fill out the

238.8  Exemption Claim Notice attached and send it back to the creditor or the creditor's

238.9  lawyer. If you are not sure if you have any exemptions, talk to a lawyer.

238.10 You can also contact the creditor or their lawyer to talk about a settlement of the debt.

238.11 Examples of government assistance based on need:

238.12 (1) MFIP - Minnesota Family Investment Program

238.13 (i1) DWP - MFIP Diversionary Work Program

238.14 (ii1) SNAP - Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program
238.15 (iv) GA - General Assistance

238.16 (v) EGA - Emergency General Assistance

238.17 (vi) MSA - Minnesota Supplemental Aid

238.18 (vil)) MSA-EA - MSA Emergency Assistance

238.19 (viii) EA - Emergency Assistance

238.20 (ix) Energy or Fuel Assistance

238.21 (x) Work Participation Cash Benefit

238.22 (xi) MA - Medical Assistance

238.23 (xi1) MinnesotaCare

238.24 (xii1) Medicare Part B - Premium Payments help

238.25 (xiv) Medicare Part D - Extra

238.26 (xv) SSI - Supplemental Security Income

238.27 (xvi) Tax Credits - federal Earned Income Tax Credit (EITC), Minnesota Working
238.28 Family Credit

238.29 (xvii) Renter's Refund (also called Renter's Property Tax Credit)
238.30 PENALHES Warnings and Fines
238.31

238.32

238.33

238.34
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Even if you claim an exemption, a levy may still be served on your employer. If they

take money from you after you claim an exemption, you may ask the court to review

your exemption. If the court finds that the creditor ignored your claim of exemption in

bad faith, you are entitled to costs, reasonable lawyer fees, actual damages, and a fine

up to $100. Bad faith is when someone does something wrong on purpose.

attorney's-feesplus-anameuntnotto-exeeed-$1060- BUT if you claim an exemption, the

creditor can also ask the court to review your exemption. If the court finds that you

claimed an exemption in bad faith, you are charged costs and reasonable lawyer fees,

and a fine up to $100.

anameuntnotte-exeeed-$100- If you get this notice, then do something in bad faith to

try to block or stop the levy and the creditor has to take you to court because of it, you

will have to pay the creditor's costs, and reasonable lawyer's fees, and a fine up to $100.

DAt e

Creditor's Signature: ........cccceeeeveeencneeeennen..

(or creditor's lawyer's signature)

Creditor's Name: ...oooeveeeeeeeeeeeeeee e,

(or creditor's lawyer's name)

Street AdAreSS: weeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee e

City/State/Zip: ..oceeeveeeeeiiieeeiieeeiee e
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Debtor's Exemption Claim Notice

I hereby claim that my earnings are exempt frem-exeention because: (check all that
apply)

b ... I am presently-areeipient-of relief getting government assistance based on need.

(Speeify State the program, case number if you know it, and the county frem-whieh

reltefis-beingreeetved you got it from.)

Program Case Number-(iknown) Ceounty

Program: .........ccccccovveeennnnn. Case #: oo County: ..ccoceeeeeecriieeeeennnnnn
Program: ........ccccoeevveennnnns Case #i oo County: .ioccevviiiiiiiiiiinienn
Program: ..........cccccvvveennnn.n. Case #: coovvveeeeeeiieeeeenn County: ..ccceeeeviieeiiiieeiiieens

2) ... | am not newreeetvingrelief getting assistance based on need right now, but |
haverecetvedrelief did get government assistance based on need within the last six 6

months. (Speetfy State the program, case number if you know it, and the county frem

whichreliefhas-beenreeetved you got it from.)
Program Case Number-(iHknown) Ceunty
Program: .........cccccccvveeennnnn. Case #: oo County: ..ccoeeeeevcniieeeeeinnnnn
Program: ........ccccceeevveeinnnns Case #i oo County: .iocoeiviiiiiiiniiinienn
Program: ..........ccccccovveeennnnn... Case #: coovvveeeeeiiieeeeienn County: .occceeeevieeiiiiieeniieens

3) ... | have-been was an inmate of a correctional institution within the last six 6 months.

(Speeify State the correctional institution and location.)
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241.19
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I give my permission to any agency listed above to give information about my benefits to

the creditor named above, or to the creditor's lawyer. The information will ONLY be if

get assistance, or if | have gotten assistance in the past 6 months. If | was an inmate in the

last 6 months, I give my permission to the correctional institution to tell the creditor named

above or the creditor's lawyer that [ was an inmate there.

DAt e

Debtor's Signature: ........ccoccceeeeveeiveesveannnenns

Debtor's Name: ..oooveeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

Street AdAreSS: weeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee e

City/State/Zip: ..ococeveeeeeiieeeeiieeeieeeeieeeenn

Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 551.06, subdivision 9, is amended to read:

Subd. 9. Notice of levy on earnings, disclosure, and worksheet. The attorney for the
judgment creditor shall serve upon the judgment debtor's employer a notice of levy on

earnings and an execution earnings disclosure form and an earnings disclosure worksheet

with the writ of execution, that must be substantially in the form set forth below.
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242.8

242.9

242.10

242.11

242.12

242.13

242.14

242.15

242.16

242.17

242.18

242.19

242.20

242.21

24222

242.23

242.24

242.25

242.26

242.27

242.28

242.29

242.30
24231

24232 each-month:

24233 State of Minnesota District Court

24234 County off ..oocvieciieiieeieee e Judicial District: .....c.ccccceevieeiieeiieennnns
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2433
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243.6
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243.9

243.10

243.11

243.12

243.13

243.14

243.15

243.16

243.17

243.18

243.19

243.20

243.21

243.22

243.23

243.24

243.25

243.26
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243.29
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24331

243.32

243.33

243.34

243.35
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Court File Number: .....ccovvvvviviiieeeeeeeen,

Case TYPE: cooveiiiieeieiieee et

Creditor's full name:

Notice of Levy on Earnings for
................................................................. Non-Child Support Judgements

against

Debtor's full name:

and

Third Party (Debtor's Employer):

To the employer:

An employee of yours owes a judgment (money) to a creditor. The creditor's lawyer is

starting a levy on the earnings you owe the employee. A levy means that you might have

to hold part of the employee's earnings and send it to the creditor. By law, you have to do

this. The limit on the levy is $10,000. A copy of the writ of execution from the court is

enclosed. The amount of the judgment is $........

The levy applies to "nonexempt disposable earnings" that you owe the employee. There are

definitions and instructions below on how to calculate the amount, if any, you have to hold.

The levy starts with the pay period when you got this levy. It continues for all pay periods

in the 90 days after you got this levy.

You must complete the attached disclosure form and worksheet. Then mail it to the lawyer

listed below. If any money is owed under the levy, you must also send a check payable to

the creditor listed above. Follow the steps and the deadlines explained below.

Creditor's Name: ...oooeveeeeeeeeeeeeeee e,

Creditor's Lawyer's Name: .......cccccceevveenneen..

Street Address: .ooveeieiiniiiiiiiieeeneeene

City/State/Zip: ..oceeeueeeeeiieeeeieeeeiee e

Phone: ..uooiiiiieiieiiesee e FaX: ot
Email: oo

State of Minnesota District Court

County of! .ovvieeiiieeeciieeeee e Judicial District: .....ccocveeveieeeiiieeeiiennee,

Court File Number: .....ooovveeeeieeeeiinn...

Case TYPEC: uvvveeeeeeiiiieeeeiiieeeeeeiieee e

Creditor's full name:
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244.2

2443

244.4

244.5

244.6

244.7

2448

244.9

244.10

244.11

244.12

244.13

244.14

244.15

244.16

244.17

244.18

244.19

244.20

24421

244.22

244.23

244.24

244.25

244.26

244.27

244.28

244.29

24430

24431

244.32
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Earnings Disclosure and Worksheet
................................................................. For Non-Child Support Judgements

against

Debtor's full name:

and

Third Party (Debtor's Employer):

This form is called an "Earnings Execution Disclosure" or "Disclosure." It is for the employer

to fill out. The "debtor" is the person who owes money. The debtor gets a copy of this form

for their own information.

The employer is the "third party." The debtor is also called a "judgment debtor." If the debtor

asks how the calculations in this document were made, the employer must provide

information about it.

Definitions

"Earnings'': what is paid or payable to an employee, independent contractor, or

self-employed person for personal services (a job). Also called compensation. Compensation

can be wages, salary, commission, bonuses, payments, profit-sharing distributions, severance

payment, fees, or other. It includes periodic payments from a pension or retirement. It can

also be compensation paid or payable to a producer for the sale of agricultural products.

This can be things like milk or milk products, or fruit or other horticultural products. Or

things produced in the operation of a family farm, a family farm corporation, or an authorized

farm corporation. This is defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 500.24, subdivision 2.

"Disposable Earnings'': the part of a person's earnings that are left after subtracting

the amounts required by law to be withheld. Note: Amounts required by law to be withheld

do not include things like health insurance, charitable contributions, or other voluntary wage

deductions.

"Payday'': the date when the employer pays earnings to the debtor for doing their job.

If the debtor has no regular payday, then "payday" means the 15th and the last day of each

month.

THE THIRD PARTY/EMPLOYER MUST ANSWER THE FOLLOWING
QUESTIONS:
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2452

2453

245.4

245.5

245.6

245.7

245.8

245.9

245.10

245.11

245.12

245.13

245.14

245.15

245.16

245.17

245.18

245.19

245.20

245.21

245.22

245.23

245.24

245.25

245.26

245.27

245.28

245.29

245.30

24531

245.32

245.33
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of $9-50-per-hour-of the-federal- minimum-wage-per-week) Within 90 days from the date

you were served with the levy, will you or may you owe money to the debtor for earnings?

3. Does the debtor earn more than the current Minnesota or federal minimum wage per

week? (use the number that is more)

- If you answer

"No" to question 1, 2, or 3, you don't need to answer the rest of the questions. You don't

have to do the Earnings Disclosure Worksheet. Sign the Earnings Disclosure Affirmation

below and return this disclosure form to the sheriff. You must return it within 20 days after

it was served on you.

and-the-EarningsDiselosure-Werksheet-asfoHows: If you answer "Yes" to question 1 or 2,

and "Yes" to question 3, sign the Earnings Disclosure Affirmation below. You must return

it to the sheriff within 20 days. You must also fill out the rest of this form. Read the

instructions for the Earnings Disclosure Worksheet.
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246.2

246.3

246.4

246.5

246.6

246.7

246.8

246.9

246.10

246.11
246.12

246.13
246.14

246.15
246.16
246.17
246.18
246.19
246.20
246.21
246.22

246.23
246.24

246.25
246.26

246.27
246.28
246.29
246.30
246.31
246.32
246.33
246.34
246.35
246.36
246.37

246.38
246.39
246.40
246.41

246.42
246.43
246.44

246.45
246.46
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247.1 that-you-mustretain-for-the payday for-which-the

2472 caleulations-were-made-The total- of all amountsentered
2473 m-Columntis-the-amountto-beremitted-to-the-attorney
247.4 for-the judgment-ereditor:

2475 Earnings Disclosure Affirmation

247.6 | SR (person signing Affirmation), am the third party/employer or I am

247.7  authorized by the third party/employer to complete this earnings disclosure; and have done

247.8  so truthfully and to the best of my knowledge.

2479 Pated——rrrrreeeeee e

247.10 Signature

247.11 e
247.12 Title

24713 e
247.14 Telephone Number

247.15 EARNINGS DISCEOSURE-WORKSHEET

247.16 rTTTTTTTTTTTTTTYTYTY

247.17 Judgment Debtor's Name

247.18 DA ..iiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii

247.19  Third Party's Name: ......c.ccceceuieiiiieeiiiiieeiiieeeiiieeesieeeeeiieaanns

24720  Third Party's Signature: .......cccooceeieeeiiiienieeiie e

24721 PhONE€: oveeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee, FaX: oo,

24722 BEIMAILT oo

24723 Instructions for Completing the Earnings Disclosure Worksheet

247.24 For each payday that falls within 90 days from the date the levy was served on you, you

247.25 must calculate the amount of earnings to be withheld. Enter the amounts on the Earnings

247.26 Disclosure Worksheet.

247.27 You must:

247.28 1. Withhold the amount of earnings listed in column I on the Earnings Disclosure

247.29 Worksheet each payday.

247.30 2. After 90 days, return this Earnings Disclosure Worksheet to the sheriff. Include all

247.31 the money withheld. Sign the Affirmation at the end of the worksheet before returning.

247.32 3. Deliver a copy of the disclosure and worksheet to the debtor within 10 days after the

247.33 last payday that falls within the 90-day period.
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248.5

248.6

248.7
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248.9

248.10

248.11

248.12

248.13

248.14

248.15

248.16

248.17

248.18

248.19

248.20
248.21

248.22

248.23

248.24

248.25

248.26

248.27

248.28

248.29

248.30

248.31

248.32

248.33

248.34

04/04/25 03:59 pm COUNSEL KPB/PP/GC SCS1098A-1

If the debt (judgment) is fully paid off or if the debtor's job ends before the 90-day period

is over, you need to do the last disclosure and withholdings within 10 days of their last

payday that you withheld money.

Calculating Percentage of Disposable Earnings

Note to Creditor: You must fill out this chart before sending this form to the employer.

Use the current minimum wage found online at: https://www.dli.mn.gov/minwage.

Minimum Wage = $SMW/hour.

then this percentage of the disposable
if the weekly gross earnings are:  earnings are withheld:

Less than [40 X MW] 0%

[40 X MW + .01]to [60 X MW] 10%
[60 X MW + .01]to [0 X MW] 15%
[80 X MW + .01] or more 25%

Employer: Use this creditor's calculation chart to know what percentage of earnings

should be withheld.

Earnings Disclosure Worksheet

Debtor's Name

A B C

Payday Date Gross Earnings Disposable
Earnings

Column A. Enter the debtor's payday.

Column B. Enter the debtor's gross earnings for each payday.

Column C. Enter the debtor's disposable earnings for each payday.
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D E F

25% of withholding Greater of 40 X

of Column C $9-50-0r40-X

(Use the creditor's MN or Fed. Column C
calculation chart) Min. Wage minus Column E

Lo e e e

U

Column D. Enter the percentage of disposable earnings that will be withheld. Get this

number from the creditor's calculation chart.

Column E. Calculate 40 times the current Minnesota minimum wage (or 40 times the

current federal minimum wage) times the number of work weeks in each payday. Enter the

bigger number here. Note: If a payday has extra days that are more than a full work week,

count those extra days as part of a work week. Do this by dividing the number of extra

workdays by the number of workdays in a normal week.

Column F. Subtract the amount in Column E from the amount in Column C and enter

here.

G H I

Setoff, Lien,
Adverse Column G

Lesser of Column D Interest, or minus Column
and Column F Other Claims H

e A T R
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Column G. Look at column D and column F. Enter the smaller amount of the two here

in column G.

Column H. Enter any amount claimed by you that would lower the amount of earnings

that will go to the debtor. Things like:

(i) a setoff,
(i1) a defense,
(111) a lien,

(iv) a claim, or

(v) any amount claimed by any other person as an exemption or adverse interest.

Note: You must describe your claim(s) and the claims of others, if known, in the spaces

after this worksheet.

Enter zero in column H if there are no claims by you or others which would lower the

amount of earnings owed to the debtor.

Note: Any debt that happened within 10 days before you got the first levy on a debt

may not be set off against the earnings that are affected by this levy. Any wage assignment

made by the debtor within 10 days before you got the first levy on a debt is void. Wage

assignment is when a debtor voluntarily agrees to money being taken out of their earnings.

Column I. Subtract the amount in column H from the amount in column G and enter

here. This is the amount of earnings that go to the creditor.

*]f you entered any amount in Column H for any payday{s);-you-mustdeseribe-below

payday, describe those claims below. It doesn't matter if they are your claims, or the claims

of others. For claims by others, list the names and addresses of each, and describe their

claims, if you know.
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Earnings Worksheet Affirmation

| IR (person signing Affirmation), am the third party/employer or I am authorized
by the third party/employer to complete this earnings disclosure weorksheet; and have done

so truthfully and to the best of my knowledge.

Title
Pated——— e e G A R
Signature Phene Number
Date: i
Third Party's Name: ......cccocoveieiiiiiieiiieeeieeeeiieeeiee e
Third Party's Signature: ........ccceecveeeveeiieeiieeiieesreeseeesenens
Phone: ......ccccovveviiiieiieee. FaX: oo
Email: oo

Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 571.72, subdivision 8, is amended to read:

Subd. 8. Exemption notice. In every garnishment where the debtor is a natural person,
the debtor shall be provided with a garnishment exemption notice. If the creditor is garnishing
earnings, the earnings exemption notice provided in section 571.924 must be served ten or
more days before the service of the first garnishment summons. If the creditor is garnishing
funds in a financial institution, the exemption notice provided in section 571.912 must be
served with the garnishment summons. In all other cases, the exemption notice must be in

the following form and served on the debtor with a copy of the garnishment summons.

STATE OF MINNESOTA DISTRICT COURT
COINTV_OFE
| N O I S N
(Cvrads PAY
................................................. \k/l \/UltUl}
against
{Debtor) EXEMPTION NOTICE
................................................... \UUULUI}
and
{F ok s akl (‘]’\ QQ\
.............................................. \U 01111011\/\4}
State of Minnesota District Court
County of: ....ooooveviieeiiiieeciieeeieeeeee Judicial District: ......cccccoevvveeeeviiennnnnne
Court File Number: ......cccovvvveeeeeiaeenn.
Case TYPC: vvveeeiieeeiiieeeiieeeiee e
Creditor's full name
................................................................. Exemption Notice
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252.15
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252.23
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252.25
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25231

252.32
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against

Debtor's full name

A Garnishment Summons is being served upen on you. This means a creditor with a court

judgment against you wants to take some of your money or property to pay the judgment.

Some of your property may be exempt and eannet can't be garnished taken. 'Exempt' means

protected. The following is a list of some ef-the-more common exemptions. It is not a
complete and-is-subjeet-to list. For full details and dollar amounts set by law see section

550.37 of the Minnesota Statutes and-otherstate-and-federaldaws—The-doHaramounts

time-of garnishment. If you have questions about an exemption, yeu-sheuld-ebtain contact
a lawyer for legal advice.

These things you or your family might have are protected:

(1) a-hemestead-or-the- proceedsfrom-the-sale-ef-a-hemestead equity in your home, or

money from recently selling your home - up to $510,000 total,

(2)(1) all clothing, one watch, utensils, and foodstuffs;

(i1) household furniture, household appliances, phenegraphs; radios, and computers,
tablets, televisions up-te-atetaleurrent-value-of $5;850;, printers, cell phones, smart phones,

and other consumer electronics up to $12,150 in all; and

(iii) jewelry - total value can't be more than $3,308;

3) a manufactured (mobile) home ou live in;
( y

(4) one motor vehicle eurrently-worth-dess-than-$2;600-after dedueting-any seeurity

nterest;, counting only the amount you have paid off:

(1) $10,000;

(i1) $12,500 if it is necessary for your business, trade, or profession;

(ii1) $25,000 if used by or to help someone with a disability that makes it hard to walk;

(iv) $100,000 if designed or modified for someone with a disability that makes it hard

to walk;
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253.1 (5) farm machinery ran-individual-prineipally-engagedinfarming;-or if your
2532 main business is farming. Tools, machines, or office furniture used in your business ertrade:

2533  Fhis-exemptionisHmited-te - the total value can't be more than $13,000;

253.4 (6) relief based on need. This includes:

253.5 (1) MFIP - Minnesota Family Investment Program (MEHP)-and-WerkFirst Program;

253.6 (i1) DWP - MFIP Diversionary Work Program,;

253.7 - Medieal-Assistance-(MA);

253.8 (ii1)) SNAP - Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program;

253.9 @i (1v) GA - General Assistance (GA);

253.10 Gv) (v) EGA - Emergency General Assistance (EGA);

253.11 ¥ (vi) MSA - Minnesota Supplemental Aid (MSA);

253.12 v-MSA-Emergeney (vi)) MSA-EA - MSA Emergency Assistance (MSA-EA);
253.13 viD-Supplemental-Seeurity Ineeme(SShH;

253.14 (vit-Energy-Assistanee;and

253.15 () (viil) EA - Emergency Assistance (EA);

253.16 (ix) Energy or Fuel Assistance;

253.17 (x) Work Participation Cash Benefit;

253.18 (xi) MA - Medical Assistance;

253.19 (xi1) MinnesotaCare;

253.20 (xii1) Medicare Part B - Premium Payments help;
253.21 (xiv) Medicare Part D - Extra;

253.22 (xv) SSI - Supplemental Security Income;

253.23 (xvi) Tax Credits - federal Earned Income Tax Credit (EITC), Minnesota Working

253.24 Family Credit; and

253.25 (xvii) Renter's Refund (also called Renter's Property Tax Credit);

253.26 (7) wages. 100% is protected if you get government assistance based on need. Otherwise,

253.27 between 75-100% is protected depending on how much you earn;
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254.1 (8) retirement benefits - the total interest under all plans and contracts can't be more than

2542 $81,000;
2543 D (9) Social Security benefits;

254.4 (8) (10) unemployment benefits, workers' compensation, or veteran's veterans' benefits;

254.5 9)Y-an-aceidentdisabilityerretirement (11) a retirement, disability, or accident pension

254.6  Or annuity;

254.7 +0) (12) life insurance proceeds that are not more than $54,000;

254.8 1 (13) earnings of your minor child; and

254.9 12) (14) money from a claim for damage or destruction of exempt property (sueh-as -

254.10 like household goods, farm tools, business equipment, a manufactured (mobile) home, or

254.11 a ear): car;

254.12 (15) sacred possessions - like the Bible, Torah, Qur'an, prayer rug, and other religious

254.13 items. Total value can't be more than $2,000;

254.14 (16) personal library - total value can't be more than $750;

254.15 (17) musical instruments - total value can't be more than $2,000;

254.16 (18) family pets - current value can't be more than $1,000;

254.17 (19) a seat or pew in any house or place of public worship and a lot in any burial ground;
254.18 (20) tools you need to work in your business or profession - the total value can't be more

254.19 than $13,500;

254.20 (21) household tools and equipment - things like hand and power tools, snow removal

25421 equipment, lawnmowers, and more. Total value can't be more than $3,000; and

254.22 (22) health savings accounts, medical savings accounts - the total value can't be more

254.23 than $25,000.

25424  Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 571.72, subdivision 10, is amended to read:

254.25 Subd. 10. Exemption notice for prejudgment garnishment.
254.26 Exemption Notice
254.27 Important Notice: A garnishment summons may be served on your employer, bank,

254.28 or other third parties. This can happen without any further court proceeding or notice to

25429 you. See the attached Notice of Intent to Garnish for more information.
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255.1 The-following-moeney-and-wages Some of your money in your account may be

2552 protected (the legal word is exempt) from garnishment:.

2553

255.4

255.5

255.6 Earnings (Wages)

255.7 ALL or SOME of my wages may be protected.

255.8 ... Some of my wages are protected because they were only deposited in my account in

255.9  the last 20 days.

255.10 For wages that were deposited in your account within the last 20 days, the amount protected

255.11 1s whichever is more:

255.12 (1) 75 percent of your wages or more (after taxes are taken out), or

255.13 (i1) The current minimum wage times 40 per week. You can find the current minimum

255.14  wage here: https://www.dli.mn.gov/minwage.

255.15 All of my wages are protected because:

255.16 ... I get government benefits (a list of government benefits is on the next page)
255.17 ... | am getting other assistance based on need

255.18 ... I have gotten government benefits in the last 6 months

255.19 ... I was in jail or prison in the last 6 months

25520 If you check one of these four boxes, your wages are only protected for 60 days after they

255.21 are deposited in your account. You MUST send the creditor copies of bank statements

255.22 that show what was in your account for the 60 days right before the bank froze your

255.23 money.

255.24 Government Benefits

255.25 Government benefits can include many things. For example:
255.26 ... MFIP - Minnesota Family Investment Program;

255.27 ... DWP - MFIP Diversionary Work Program;

255.28 Werk-participation-eash-benefit;

255.29 ... SNAP - Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program
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256.1 ... GA - General Assistance;

256.2 ... EGA - Emergency General Assistance
256.3 ... MSA - Minnesota Supplemental Aid
256.4 ... MSA-EA - MSA Emergency Assistance
256.5 ... EA - Emergency Assistance;

256.6 ... Energy or Fuel Assistance

256.7 ... Work Participation Cash Benefit

256.8 ... MA - Medical Assistance;

256.9 EGA—emergeney-general-assistanee-or-county-erisisfunds;
256.10 MSA—Minnesota-supplemental-aid;
256.11 MSA-EA—MSA-emergeney-assistanee;

256.12 Supplemental Nutrition-Assistanee Program-(SNAP);
256.13 SSI-—Supplemental- Seeurity Inecome;

256.14 ... MinnesotaCare;

256.15 ... Medicare Part B - Premium Payments; help

256.16 ... Medicare Part D - Extra help;

256.17 ... SSI - Supplemental Security Income

256.18 Energy-or-fuel-assistanee;

256.19 ... Tax Credits - federal Earned Income Tax Credit (EITC), Minnesota Working Family

256.20 Credit

256.21 ... Renter's Refund (also called Renter's Property Tax Credit)

256.22 List the case number and county for every box you checked:

256.23  Case NUMDET: .....ccccvvveeriiieeiiieeeiiieeeieeeenenes COUNLY: ottt
25624  Case NUMDET: ......ccovveiieeiieeiieecieeie e COoUNLY: it
256.25  Case NUMDET: ......cccovveeviuireeiiieeeiiieeeireeenne, COUNLY: oiiiiieeeeciieee et eeeeee e e eireea e e
256.26 Government benefits also include:

256.27 ... Social Security benefits;

256.28 ... Unemployment benefits;
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257.1 ... Workers' compensation;
257.2 Veterans ... Veterans' benefits:

257.3
257.4

257.5
257.6
257.7
257.8
257.9
257.10
257.11
257.12

257.13
257.14

257.15

257.16

257.17

257.18

257.19

257.20 F5-pereent-of-your-wages(aftertaxes-are taken-out);-or

257.21

257.22 If you get any of these government benefits, include copies of any documents that show

257.23 you get them.

257.24 ... I get other assistance based on need that is not on the list. It comes from...................
257,25 eeitesteeeesteseessesseestessesseessesseessesseessessesstessesstessesseessesseetessesntensesntentesntententeentensestenteseensesnes
257.26 Make sure you include copies of any documents that show this.

257.27 Other Protected Funds

257.28 The money from the-following these things are also exemptfor20-days completely
25729 protected after they are deposited in yeur my account.
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258.1 ... Child Support
258.2 An-aceident;-disability;-erretirement ... A retirement, disability, or accident pension

258.3  or annuity

258.4 Payments-to-youfrom-alife-insuranee poliey

258.5 ... BEarnings of yeur my child who is under 18 years of age

258.6 ... Payments to me from a life insurance policy

258.7 Child-suppeort

258.8 ... Money paid to yeu me from a claim for damage or destruction of property. Property
258.9  includes household goods, farm tools or machinery, tools for yeur my job, business
258.10 equipment, a mobile home, a car, a musical instrument, a pew or burial lot, clothes, furniture,

258.11 or appliances:
258.12 ... Death benefits paid to yew- me

258.13 You WAELBE-ABEE-TO can claim these exemptions when you RECEIVE get a
258.14 notice. You will get the notice at least ten 10 days BEFORE a wage garnishment. BUT if
258.15 the creditor garnishes your bank account, you willnet won't get the notice until AFTER the
258.16 account has been frozen. If you believe the money in your bank account or your wages are
258.17 exempt, YOU-SHOUEDIMMEDIATELY contact the person below right away. YOU
258.18 SHOUED Tell them why you think your account or wages are exempt to see if you can

258.19 avoid garnishment.

25820 €Creditor e

25821 €EreditorAddress e

258 22 Craditortelenhanenimber
. CIVUOItuUT L\Jl\ayllull\/ JE T B U B LU ¥ G R I IInInInInmInnnonononononnonnnnnmnmnmnmnmnmnnmnmnmnmnmomomnmnmnmonmnmnmonnhn

25823  Creditor's NAIME: .oooeeneeee e e e e e eeeeeeeeaees

258.24  (or creditor's lawyer's name)

25825  SHIEEE AdAIESS: oeeeeeeeeee e e e

25826 CItY/StAte/ZAP: eveieeeeeieeiieeeie e e se e steeseeesneeesnee e

25827 Phone: ...oovveeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeaen, Fax: oo,

25828  EIMAIL: oo e

25829  Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 571.74, is amended to read:

258.30 571.74 GARNISHMENT SUMMONS AND NOTICE TO DEBTOR.

258.31 The garnishment summons and notice to debtor must be substantially in the following

258.32  form. The notice to debtor must be in no smaller than 14-point type.
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State of Minnesota

County of: ...ceevvciieennnns

Creditor's full name

and

Debtor's full name

Unpaid Balance: ...........

Fhe State-of Minnesota

District Court

Judicial District: ...oooeeeeeeeieeeeeeeeeeenn.

Court File Number: .....oovveeeeeieeeeiinn...

Case TYPC: uvvveeeeeeiiieeeeeiiieeeeeeiieee e

Garnishment Summons

GARNISHMENT-SUMMONS

To the Garnishee Third Party (garnishee) named above:
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A court has ordered that you must serve a written statement to the creditor (or to the

creditor's lawyer). You must do this within 20 days after you get this notice. Your written

statement should include any money, or other property of the debtor that you have or owe

to them. It should also include answers to any questions that are in this summons.

But, if the garnishment is on earnings and the debtor has earnings that can be garnished,

fill out the completed disclosure form. Then serve it on the creditor (or the creditor's lawyer).

It must be served within 10 days of the last payday within the 90 days after the date you

got this summons. If the debtor has no regular paydays, "payday" means the 15th day and

the last day of each month.

You don't have to disclose more than 110% of the unpaid amount that is owed to the

creditor. Keep earnings that can be garnished, other indebtedness, money, or other property

in your possession in an amount not to exceed 110 percent of the creditor's claim. Keep this

until:

(1) the creditor has a writ of execution served on you;

(i1) the debtor gives you permission in writing to release the property to the creditor; or

(i11) it's been ... days from the day you got this garnishment summons.

Then you give the debtor back the disposable earnings, other indebtedness, money, or other

property.

Earnings

Inthe-event If you are summoned as a garnishee because you owe "earnings" (as-defined

b

appleable) to the debtor, then you arerequiredte must serve upen-the-ereditor's-attorney;
or-the-ereditor if notrepresented-by-an-attorney;-a-written an Earnings Disclosure Form

within on the creditor (or the creditor's lawyer). The Earnings Disclosure Form must be in
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writing and must be served in the time limit set ferth above. "Earnings" are defined on the

Earnings Garnishment Disclosure Form attached to this Garnishment Summons.

In the case of earnings, you are-furtherrequired-to-retain-in-your-poessesston must keep

all unpaid, nonexempt disposable earnings ew

earned that you owe or will owe to the debtor within during the pay period in-whieh when

Any transfer of earnings made by the debtor to someone else within 10 days before the

first garnishment notice is invalid. Any debt the debtor owes you from within those 10 days

can't be used to lower the amount that can be garnished.

Yeu-are-prohibited By law from-discharging-or-diseiphning you can't fire or discipline
the debtor because the-debter's their earnings have been subject to garnishment.

This Garnishment Summons includes:

(check applieable-bex the boxes that apply)

Earnings garnishment (see attached Earnings Disclosure Form)
Nonearnings garnishment (see attached Nonearnings Disclosure Form)

Both Earnings and Nonearnings garnishment (see both attached Earnings and
Nonearnings Disclosure Form)

Notice to Debtor

You are being served copies of a Garnishment Summons, Earnings Garnishment

Disclosure Form, Nonwage Garnishment Disclosure Form, Garnishment Exemption Notices
and/or written Interrogatories (strike out if not applicable);. Copies of which-are-hereby

tes these same documents
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Creditor's SIgNature: .....c.ceccvveeeiiiieeeiiieeeiieeeiieeeesieeeeineeans

(or creditor's lawyer's signature)

Creditor's NAME: ..ooouee et

(or creditor's lawyer's name)

SErEEt AAAIESS: e
CIty/State/ZaP: .oveeeeeiieeeiie ettt eveaeearaaeas

Phone: ....ooovvveeeeeeeee. FaX: oo

Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 571.75, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
Subd. 2. Contents of disclosure. The disclosure must state:

(a) If an earnings garnishment disclosure, the amount of disposable earnings earned by

the debtor within the debtor's pay periods as specified in section 571.921.

(b) If a nonearnings garnishment disclosure, a description of any personal property or
any instrument or papers relating to this property belonging to the judgment debtor or in

which the debtor is interested or other indebtedness of the garnishee to the debtor.

(c) If the garnishee asserts any setoff, defense, claim, or lien on disposable earnings,
other indebtedness, money, or property, the garnishee shall disclose the amount and the

facts concerning the same.

(d) Whether the debtor asserts any exemption, or any other objection, known to the
garnishee against the right of the creditor to garnish the disposable earnings, other

indebtedness, money, or property disclosed.

(e) If other persons assert claims to any disposable earnings, other indebtedness, money,
or property disclosed, the garnishee shall disclose the names and addresses of these claimants

and, so far as known by the garnishee, the nature of their claims.

(f) The garnishment disclosure forms and earnings disclosure worksheet must be the

same or substantially similar to the following forms. If the garnishment affects earnings of
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the debtor, the creditor shall use the earnings garnishment disclosure form. If the garnishment
affects any indebtedness, money, or property of the debtor, other than earnings, the creditor
shall use the nonearnings garnishment disclosure form. Nothing contained in this paragraph

limits the simultaneous use of the earnings and nonearnings garnishment disclosure forms.
EARNINGS DISCLOSURE FORM AND WORKSHEET

STATE-OF-MINNESOTA PISTRICT-COURT

(Craditar)
................................................ \\/1 UulLUl}
Pebtor) GARNISHMENT
.................................................. \JJ\./ULUL}
(Garnishee) EARNINGS DISCEOSURE
............................................. \\J ar 111011\4\4}
State of Minnesota District Court
County of! .uviiiiiieeiieeeeeee e Judicial District: ....ocoocveeviieeiiiiieeiienne,
Court File Number: .......ccccccceevivveenennen.
Case TYPEL: uvvriieeeeiiieeeeeiiieeeeeeiiieee e
Creditor's full name
................................................................. Garnishment Earnings Disclosure
and For Non-Child Support Judgments

Debtor's full name

This form is called a "Garnishment Earnings Disclosure" or "Disclosure." It is for the

employer to fill out. The "debtor" is the person who owes money. The debtor gets a copy

of this form for their own information. The debtor is also called a "judgment debtor."

The "creditor" is the party owed the money. The creditor is also called a "judgment

creditor."

The "employer" is the "third party" or "garnishee." If the debtor asks how the calculations

in this document were made, the employer must provide information about it.

Definitions

"Earnings": ort what is

paid or payable to an employee, independent contractor or self-employed person for personal

services of (a job). Also called compensation. Compensation can be wages, salary,

commission, bonus, payments, profit-sharing distributions, severance payment, fees or

other. It includes periodic payments from a pension or retirement. It can also be compensation
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paid or payable to the a producer for the sale of agricultural products;. This can be things

like milk or milk products;, or fruit or other horticultural products. Or things produced when

the-produeer-is-oeperating in the operation of a family farm, a family farm corporation, or
an authorized farm corporation;-as. This is defined in section 500.24, subdivision 2;-whether

"Disposable Earnings": Means-that the part of the a person's earnings ef-anindividual

remaining-after-the-deductionfrom-those-earnings-of that are left after subtracting the
amounts required by law to be withheld. (Ameunts Note: Amounts required by law to be

withheld do not include items-such-as things like health insurance, charitable contributions,

or other voluntary wage deductions.)

"Payday":

the date when the employer pays earnings to the debtor inthe-erdinary-course-efbusiness
for doing their job. If the debtor has no regular payday, payday(s) then "payday" means the

fifteenth 15th and the last day of each month.

The Employer/Garnishee Must Answer The Following Questions:

1. Be-yoeu Right now ew
was-served-on-you;,-wil-yeu-or, do you expeet-te owe money to the debtor for earnings?

2. Within 90 days from the date you were served with the garnishment, will you or may

you owe money to the debtor for earnings?

$9-50-per-hour-er the current Minnesota or federal minimum wage per week-)? (use the

number that is more)
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A. If you answer "No" to question 1, 2, or 3, you don't need to answer the rest of the

questions. You don't have to do the Earnings Disclosure Worksheet. Sign the Earnings

Disclosure Affirmation below and return this disclosure form to the creditor's attorney (or

the creditor if not represented by an attorney). You must return it within 20 days after it

was served on you.

B. If you answer "Yes" to question 1 or 2, and "Yes" to question 3, sign the Earnings

Disclosure Affirmation below. You must return it to the creditor's attorney (or the creditor

if not represented by an attorney) within 20 days. You must also fill out the rest of this form.

Read the instructions for the Earnings Disclosure Worksheet.

Earnings Disclosure Affirmation

| OO (person signing Affirmation), am the third party/employer or I am

authorized by the third party/employer to complete this earnings disclosure and have done

so truthfully and to the best of my knowledge.

Instructions for Completing the Earnings Disclosure Worksheet

For each payday that falls within 90 days from the date the garnishment summens was

served on you, you must calculate the amount of earnings to be retained-by-completing

DPISCEOSURE-WEREMADE: withheld. Enter the amounts on the Earnings Disclosure
Worksheet.
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267.1
267.2
267.3

267.4
267.5
267.6
267.7

267.8

267.9

267.10

267.11

267.12 DPated——rrreeeeees e

267.13 Signature

267.14  SEmmmeee
267.15 Title

267.16 e
267.17 Telephone Number

267.18 EARNINGS DISCEOSURE-WORKSHEET

26719 e

267.20 Debtor's Name

267.21 You must:

267.22 1. Withhold the amount of earnings listed in column I on the Earnings Disclosure

267.23  Worksheet each payday.

267.24 2. After 90 days, return this Earnings Disclosure Worksheet to the creditor's attorney

267.25 (or the creditor if not represented by an attorney). Include all the money withheld. Sign the

267.26  Affirmation at the end of the worksheet before returning.

267.27 3. Deliver a copy of the disclosure and worksheet to the debtor within 10 days after the

267.28 last payday that falls within the 90-day period.

267.29 If the debt (judgment) is fully paid off or if the debtor's job ends before the 90-day period

267.30 1s over, you need to do the last disclosure and withholdings within 10 days of their last

267.31 payday that you withheld money.

267.32 Calculating Percentage of Disposable Earnings

267.33 Note to Creditor: You must fill out this chart before sending this form to the employer.

267.34 Use the current minimum wage found online at: https://www.dli.mn.gov/minwage.
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Minimum Wage = SMW/hour.

then this percentage of the disposable
if the weekly gross earnings are:  earnings are withheld:

Less than [40 X MW] 0%

[40 X MW + .01] to [60 X MW] 10%
[60 X MW + .01]to [80 X MW] 15%
[80 X MW + .01] or more 25%

Employer: Use this creditor's calculation chart to know what percentage of earnings

should be withheld.

Earnings Disclosure Worksheet

Debtor's Name

A B C

Payday Date Gross Earnings Disposable
Earnings

Column A. Enter the debtor's payday.

Column B. Enter the debtor's gross earnings for each payday.

Column C. Enter the debtor's disposable earnings for each payday.

D E F

25% of withholding Greater of 40 X

of Column C $9:50-er40-X

(Use the creditor's MN or Fed. Min. Column C minus
calculation chart) Wage Column E

L e e e
2 e vt e
G PSR
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Column D. Enter the percentage of disposable earnings that will be withheld. Get this

number from the creditor's calculation chart.

Column E. Calculate 40 times the current Minnesota minimum wage (or 40 times the

current federal minimum wage) times the number of work weeks in each payday. Enter the

bigger number here. Note: If a payday has extra days that are more than a full work week,

count those extra days as part of a work week. Do this by dividing the number of extra

workdays by the number of workdays in a normal week.

Column F. Subtract the amount in column E from the amount in column C and enter

here.

G H I

Setoff, Lien,
Lesser of Column D Adverse Interest, Column G minus
and Column F or Other Claims Column H

Column G. Look at column D and column F. Enter the smaller amount of the two here

in column G.

Column H. Enter any amount claimed by you that would lower the amount of earnings

that will go to the debtor. Things like:
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(i) a setoff,
(i1) a defense,
(iii) a lien,

(iv) a claim, or

(v) any amount claimed by any other person as an exemption or adverse interest.

Note: You must describe your claim(s) and the claims of others, if known, in the spaces

after this worksheet.

Enter zero in column H if there are no claims by you or others which would lower the

amount of earnings owed to the debtor.

Note: Any debt that happened within 10 days before you got the first garnishment on a

debt may not be set off against the earnings that are affected by this garnishment. Any wage

assignment made by the debtor within 10 days before you got the first garnishment on a

debt is void. Wage assignment is when a debtor voluntarily agrees to money being taken

out of their earnings.

Column I. Subtract the amount in column H from the amount in column G and enter

here. This is the amount of earnings that go to the creditor.

*Jf you entered any amount in Column H for any payday(s);you-must payday, describe

those claims below etther. It doesn't matter if they are your claims, or the claims of others.
For amounts-elaimed claims by others you-must-beth-state, list the names and addresses of
these-persens each, and the-nature-of describe their elaim claims, if knewn you know.

Earnings Worksheet Affirmation

| (SR (person signing Affirmation), am the third party party/employer or |

am authorized by the third party party/employer to complete this earnings disclosure
werksheet; and have done so truthfully and to the best of my knowledge.
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Third Party's Name: .......cooceeiiiiiiniiniiniesiesiesie e

Third Party's Signature: ........ccccveeeviieeeiiieeeiieeeciee e

EARNINGS DISCLOSURE FORM AND WORKSHEET

FOR CHILD SUPPORT DEBTOR

STATE OF MINNESOTA DISTRICT COURT

COUNTY OF oot e JUDICIAL DISTRICT

................................................ (Creditor)

.................................................. (Debtor) GARNISHMENT

............................................. (Garnishee) EARNINGS DISCLOSURE
DEFINITIONS

"EARNINGS": For the purpose of execution, "earnings" means compensation paid or
payable to an employee for personal services or compensation paid or payable to the producer
for the sale of agricultural products; milk or milk products; or fruit or other horticultural
products produced when the producer is operating a family farm, a family farm corporation,
or an authorized farm corporation, as defined in section 500.24, subdivision 2, whether
denominated as wages, salary, commission, bonus, or otherwise, and includes periodic
payments pursuant to a pension or retirement, workers' compensation, or unemployment

benefits.

"DISPOSABLE EARNINGS": Means that part of the earnings of an individual remaining
after the deduction from those earnings of amounts required by law to be withheld. (Amounts
required by law to be withheld do not include items such as health insurance, charitable

contributions, or other voluntary wage deductions.)

"PAYDAY": For the purpose of execution, "payday(s)" means the date(s) upon which
the employer pays earnings to the debtor in the ordinary course of business. If the judgment

debtor has no regular payday, payday(s) means the 15th and the last day of each month.
THE GARNISHEE MUST ANSWER THE FOLLOWING QUESTION:

(1) Do you now owe, or within 90 days from the date the execution levy was served on

you, will you or may you owe money to the debtor for earnings?
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INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING THE
EARNINGS DISCLOSURE

A. If your answer to question 1 is "No," then you must sign the affirmation below and
return this disclosure to the creditor's attorney (or the creditor if not represented by an
attorney) within 20 days after it was served on you, and you do not need to answer the

remaining questions.

B. If your answer to question 1 is "Yes," you must complete this form and the Earnings

Disclosure Worksheet as follows:

For each payday that falls within 90 days from the date the garnishment summons was
served on you, YOU MUST calculate the amount of earnings to be retained by completing
steps 2 through 8 on page 2, and enter the amounts on the Earnings Disclosure Worksheet.
UPON REQUEST, THE EMPLOYER MUST PROVIDE THE DEBTOR WITH
INFORMATION AS TO HOW THE CALCULATIONS REQUIRED BY THIS
DISCLOSURE WERE MADE.

Each payday, you must retain the amount of earnings listed in column G on the Earnings

Disclosure Worksheet.

You must pay the attached earnings and return this earnings disclosure form and the
Earnings Disclosure Worksheet to the creditor's attorney (or the creditor if not represented
by an attorney) and deliver a copy to the debtor within ten days after the last payday
that falls within the 90-day period. If the claim is wholly satisfied or if the debtor's
employment ends before the expiration of the 90-day period, your disclosure should be

made within ten days after the last payday for which earnings were attached.

For steps 2 through 8, "columns" refers to columns on the Earnings Disclosure Worksheet.
(2) COLUMN A. Enter the date of debtor's payday.

(3) COLUMN B. Enter debtor's gross earnings for each payday.

(4) COLUMN C. Enter debtor's disposable earnings for each payday.

(5) COLUMN D. Enter either 50, 55, 60, or 65 percent of disposable earnings, based

on which of the following descriptions fits the child support judgment debtor:

(a) 50 percent of the judgment debtor's disposable income, if the judgment debtor is
supporting a spouse or dependent child and the judgment is 12 weeks old or less (12 weeks

to be calculated to the beginning of the work week in which the execution levy is received);
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(b) 55 percent of the judgment debtor's disposable income, if the judgment debtor is
supporting a spouse or dependent child, and the judgment is over 12 weeks old (12 weeks

to be calculated to the beginning of the work week in which the execution levy is received);

(c) 60 percent of the judgment debtor's disposable income, if the judgment debtor is not
supporting a spouse or dependent child and the judgment is 12 weeks old or less (12 weeks
to be calculated to the beginning of the work week in which the execution levy is received);

or

(d) 65 percent of the judgment debtor's disposable income, if the judgment debtor is not
supporting a spouse or dependent child, and the judgment is over 12 weeks old (12 weeks
to be calculated to the beginning of the work week in which the execution levy is received).

(Multiply column C by .50, .55, .60, or .65, as appropriate.)

(6) COLUMN E. Enter here any amount claimed by you as a setoff, defense, lien, or
claim, or any amount claimed by any other person as an exemption or adverse interest that
would reduce the amount of earnings owing to the debtor. (Note: Any assignment of earnings
made by the debtor to any party within ten days before the receipt of the first garnishment
on a debt is void. Any indebtedness to you incurred by the debtor within the ten days before
the receipt of the first garnishment on a debt may not be set off against amounts otherwise

subject to the garnishment.)

You must also describe your claim(s) and the claims of others, if known, in the space

provided below the worksheet and state the name(s) and address(es) of these persons.

Enter zero in column E if there are no claims by you or others that would reduce the

amount of earnings owing to the judgment debtor.

(7) COLUMN F. Subtract the amount in column E from the amount in column D and
enter here. This is the amount of earnings that you must remit for the payday for which the

calculations were made.
AFFIRMATION

| IR (person signing Affirmation), am the garnishee or [ am authorized by the
garnishee to complete this earnings disclosure, and have done so truthfully and to the best

of my knowledge.
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WORKSHEET

A
Payday Date

Either 50, 55, 60, or
65% of Column C

COUNSEL KPB/PP/GC SCS1098A-1

Debtor's Name

B C

Gross Earnings Disposable
Earnings

S e, e,

E F

Setoff, Lien, Column D minus

Adverse Interest, Column E

or Other Claims

TOTAL OF COLUMN F S,

*If you entered any amount in column E for any payday(s), you must describe below

either your claims, or the claims of others. For amounts claimed by others, you must both

state the names and addresses of such persons, and the nature of their claim, if known.
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0 T
2752  eeeteeeteeieeeeei e et e e etteh—e——ea——eate e te e te e bt ateente e bt e bt e bt e bee st e st easteeateesteenteenteenteenbeenbeenteenteenteenes
275.3 AFFIRMATION

275.4 | IR (person signing Affirmation), am the third party or I am authorized by the

2755  third party to complete this earnings disclosure worksheet, and have done so truthfully and

275.6  to the best of my knowledge.

27577 e

275.8 Signature

2759 Dated: ..oiiiiiiiiiii e s (cer) eerreenree e

275.10 Title Phone Number
275.11 NONEARNINGS DISCLOSURE FORM

275.12

275.13

275.14

275.15

275.16

275.17

275.18

275.19

275.20

275.21 State of Minnesota District Court

27522 County of: ...occieieiiecieeiie e Judicial District: .....ccccoeeeveeiieeieeiee

275.23 Court File Number: .....ooouveeeeeiieieiinn...

275.24 Case TYPE: uvvreieeeiiiiieeeeiiieeeeeiiieee e

275.25 Creditor's full name

275.26  teeeerriieeeeaiireaeeeatreeeeeaatrraaeeaaarraaeeaanrraaaaas Non-Earnings Disclosure

27527 against For Non-Child Support Judgments

275.28 Debtor's full name

27529 e

27530 and

275.31  Third Party (bank, employer, or other)
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This form is called a "Non-Earnings Disclosure" or "Disclosure." It is being sent to you

because you might be holding property that belongs to the debtor, or you might owe money

to the debtor.

You are the "third party" or "garnishee." The "debtor" is the person who owes money.

The debtor is also called the "judgment debtor." The "creditor" is the person the debtor owes

money to. The creditor is also called the "judgment creditor." The debtor owes §..................

to the creditor.

You must list any money or property you owe the debtor on the lines below and sign

the affirmation. Write "none" on the line if that is your answer. You must then return this

disclosure to the creditor (or the creditor's lawyer) within 20 days after you got it.

Fill in the date you got this disclosure:

(1) Money. En
earnings;from-the-garntshee Write down the amount of money you owe the debtor (except

earnings).

(2) Property. Deseribe-onthe-line-below Write a short description of any personal
property, instruments, or papers belonging to the debtor and-in-the-pessession-ofthe-garnishee

that you have in your possession. List the monetary value of each thing.

(3) Setoft. Enteronthelinebelow-the-ameuntefany If you claim a setoff, defense, lien,
or claim whichthe-garnishee-elaims against the amount setforth on lines (1) and (2) above

enter that amount on the line below. State the facts i ] , hien,

about your claim is-elaimed.

ameounts-otherwise-subjeetto-the-garnishment) Note: Any payment the debtor makes to

the garnishee within the 10 days before they get the first garnishment order on that debt

can't be used to lower the amount that is being garnished.

(4) Exemption. Enter en-the-line-below any amounts or property elaimed-by-the-debter
to-be-exemptfrom-exeeution that the debtor claims is exempt on the line below.
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277.2 (5) Adverse Interest. Enter on the line below any amounts elaimed-by-otherpersensby
2773 reasen-of-ownership-orinterestin-the-debtor'sproperty of the debtor's property that other

2774  people claim they own or have interest in.

277.5  tteetesteeeerteree et et e be et et e tt et ateert et e bttt e b e ett et e st entebeestenbeestenteeReenbebeestenbeettenseeseenseteeseensennes
277.6 (6) Enter on the line-below-the total of lines (3), (4), and (5) on the line below.

2777 eeeveesteeeeetese e et e et et e te et ettt et et e et e bt att et e eta et et e e st et e estes b e et e enteeheeRbebeestenbeertenbeeteestenteeseensennes
277.8 (7) Enter enthe-line-below the difference obtained (never less than zero) when line (6)

277.9  1s subtracted from the sum of lines (1) and (2) on the line below.

277.11 (8) Enter-on-theline-below Figure out 110 percent of the amount of the creditor's claim

277.12  which remains is still unpaid. Enter it on the line below.

N

277.14 (9) Enter-on-the-line-below-theJesser-efhine Look at (7) and hine (8). Retain Put the

277.15 smaller number on the line below. Hold this amount only if it is $10 or more.

27716 teeuteeteeteeeteete et et et et et et eaaaeeat e ettt e ateeateea b e e teen bt e bt et e e bt enhe e s teeateeateenteenteenbeenbeenseenteenbeenseenne
277.17 AFFIRMATION
277.18 Lo, (person signing Affirmation), am the garnishee or I am authorized

277.19 by the garnishee to complete this nonearnings garnishment disclosure;-and. I have done so

277.20 truthfully and to the best of my knowledge.

27721 Pated . s
277.22 Signature

27723 e
277.24 Fitle

27725 e
277.26 Felephone Number

27727 DAl .ivviiiiiiiiiiiieeeee e

27728 NAME: .iiiiiiieiiieiieciiiiiiiieeeeeeeeeeeeiirreeeeaaeeens

27729 SIGNATUTE: ..vveeeerieeeiiieeeiieeeeiieeeereeeeeereeennns

27730 TIHIE: tooiiiiiiiiieiee e

27731 PhONE: .....cccovviiiiiiieiiiiiciieeeeeeceee Email: ....ocooooiiiiiiiiiiiiiieceeceee
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278.1 Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 571.912, is amended to read:

278.2 571.912 FORM OF NOTICE, INSTRUCTIONS, AND EXEMPTION NOTICE.

278.3 Subdivision 1. Form of notice. The notice, instructions, and exemption notice informing
278.4  a debtor that a garnishment summons has been used to attach funds of the debtor to satisfy

278.5  aclaim must be a separate notice and must be substantially in the following form:

PISTRICT-COURT

278.6

278.7

278.8

278.9

278.10

278.11 State of Minnesota District Court

278.12 County of: ...cccvieiiiiieiiiieeciieeeeee e Judicial District: ....ccoooveiiieiiieeiieeeenne

278.13 Court File Number: .....oovveveeeeeeeeiinn...

278.14 Case TYPE: cuvvveeeeeeiiieeeeeiiieeeeeeiieee e

278.15 Creditor's full name

27816 ittt

278.17 Debtor's full name

27818 ittt

278.19  Third Party (bank, employer, or other)

278.20  teiiiuiteeiitee et e et e e et e e st e et e e e e e enaeeas

278.21 Important Notice

278.22 YOURFONDS HAVEBEEN-GARNISHED
278.23 Money in Your Account Has Been Frozen

278.24 The Creditor has frozen money in your account at your finanetalinstitution bank.

278.25 Your account balance is §.......
278.26 The amount being held is §.......
278.27 The amount being held will-be is frozen for 14 days from the date of this notice.

278.28 Some of your money in your account may be protected (the legal word is exempt).
278.29 You may be able to get it sooner than 14 days if you act quickly and follow the

278.30 instructions on the next page.

27831 The attached exemption form lists some different seurees-ef ways money in your account

278.32 that may be protected. If your money is comes from one-or-more-of these-sources;place a
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benefit on the list, put a check on the line enthefermnextte-the-sourees-of yourmeoney:
Hitis-fromone-of thesesourees; next to it. The creditor eannot can't take it.

BUT, if you want the bank to unfreeze your money, you must follow the instructions

and return the exemption form and with copies of your bank statements from the last

60 days te-have-the bankunfreeze-yourmeney. Instructions and the form are attached. If
you de-net don't follow the instructions eryeur-Creditor gets-an-orderfromthe-courtor-writ
of-exeeution; your finanetalinstitution-will-give bank gives the money to your creditor. If

your creditor gets an order from the court or writ of execution, your bank gives the money

to them. If that happens and i# your money is protected, you can still get it back from the
creditor later;. But thatisnot-as-easyto-do-as filling in out the form now is easiest.

See next pages for instructions and the exemption form.

Subd. 2. Form of instructions. The instructions required must be in a separate form

and must be substantially in the following form:
Instructions
Note: The creditor is who you owe the money to. You are the debtor.
1. Fill out both of the attached exemption forms in this packet.

If you check one of the lines, you should also give proof. Use proof that shews show
that some or all of the money in your account is from one or more of the protected sources.

This might be letters or account statements. Creditors may ask for a hearing if they question

your exemptions.
To avoid a hearing:
(1) Case numbers should be added to the form.

(i1) Copies of documents should be sent with the form.

Notice: You must send te-the-ereditor's-attorney(orto-the-ereditor, ifno-atterney) copies

of your bank statements for the past 60 days before the garnishment. Send them to the

creditor (or to the creditor's lawyer). Keep a copy of your bank statements in case there are
questions about your claim. If you de-net don't send bank statements to the ereditor's-attorney
(orto-thecreditor;ifno-attorney)-bankstatements creditor (or to the creditor's lawyer) along

with your exemption claim, the financial institution may release give your money to the
creditor. They would do this once the creditor gives the-finanetalinstitation them a court
order direetingit saying they have to turn over the funds.

2. Sign the exemption forms. Make ene a copy to keep for yourself.
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3. Mail or deliver the other copies of the form by (insert date).
Both Copies Must Be Mailed or Delivered the Same Day.

One copy of the form and the copies of your bank statements go to:

Creditor's NamME: ..o

(or creditor's lawyer's name)

SEEEEE AAAIESS: e

City/State/ZaP: weeveeeeee ettt ere e sireesereesnae e
Phone: ...cooevvveeeeeeeeeeeeea, FaX: oo

Bank's NamME: ...oooeeeeeeeeeee et eee e e

SEEEt AAAIESS: e

City/State/ZaP: woeeeeeeee et saeesnae e

Phone: ....ooovveeeeeeeeeeeeea. FaX: oo

How The Process Works
If You Pe-Net Don't Send in the Exemption Form and Bank Statements:

14 days after the date of this letter some or all of your money may be turned over to the

creditor. This happens once they get an order from the court telling the finanetalinstitation

bank to do this.

If You Do Send in the Exemption Form and Bank Statements:

Any money that is NOT protected can be turned over to the creditor once they get an

order from the court.

If the Creditor Does Not Object to Your Claimed Exemptions:
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The finanetalinstitution-will bank should unfreeze your money six 6 business days after
the-institution-gets they get your completed form. If they don't, ask the creditor or the

creditor's lawyer to send a release letter to the bank.

If the Creditor Objects to Your Claimed Exemptions:

The money you have said is protected on the form will-be is held by the bank. The
creditor has six 6 business days to object (disagree) and ask the court to hold a hearing. You

will-reeetve get a Notice of Objection and a Notice of Hearing.

The finanetalinstitution-will-held bank holds the money until a court decides whether
if your money is protected or not. Some reasons a creditor may object are because you did
net didn't send copies of your bank statements or other proof of the benefits you reeetved

got. Be sure to include these when you send your exemption form.

You may want to talk to a lawyer for advice about this process. If you are low income

you can call Legal Aid statewide at 1(877) 696-6529.

PENALHES:

Warnings and Fines

If you claim that your money is protected and a court decides you made that claim in
bad faith, the-eourt they can order you to pay costs, actual damages, atterney lawyer fees,
and an-additienal-ameuntef a fine up to $100. Bad faith is when someone does something

wrong on purpose. For example, it may be bad faith if you claim you reeetve get government

benefits that-you-denetreeerve and you don't.

If the creditor made a bad faith objection to your claim that your money is protected,
the court can order them to pay costs, actual damages, atterney lawyer fees, and an-additional
amount-of a fine up to $100.

Subd. 3. Exemption notice. The exemption notice must be a separate form and must

be in substantially the following form:

State of Minnesota District Court

County of! .vviiiiiieeiiieeeee e Judicial District: ....cccocveevivieeiiieeiienee

Court File Number: .....oovveeeeeieeeeiinn...
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Case TYPE: veeeiiiiieiiiieeeiieeeiee e

Creditor's full name

................................................................. Exemption Form

A. How Much Money is Protected (exempt)

= ...l claim ALL of the money being frozen by the bank is protected.

== ...1claim SOME of the money is protected. The amount I claim is protected is $.......
B. Why The Money is Protected

My money is protected because I get it from one or more of the following places:
(Check all that apply)

Earnings (Wages)

ALL or SOME of my wages may be protected.

... Some of my wages are protected because they were only deposited in my account
in the last 20 days.

For wages that were deposited in your account within the last 20 days, the amount
protected is whichever is more:

(1) 75% of your wages or more (after taxes are taken out), or

(i1) The current minimum wage times 40 per week. You can find the current minimum
wage here: https://www.dli.mn.gov/minwage.

All of my wages are protected because:

.. I get government benefits (a list of government benefits is on the next page)

.. I am getting other assistance based on need

..  have gotten government benefits in the last 6 months

.. I was in jail or prison in the last 6 months

If you check one of these 4 boxes, your wages are only protected for 60 days after
they are deposited in your account. You MUST send the creditor copies of bank
statements that show what was in your account for the 60 days right before the
bank froze your money.

—— Government Benefits

Government benefits can include;but-are-notlimited-to;the-following many things.
For example:

... MFIP - Minnesota Family Investment Program;
... DWP - MFIP Diversionary Work Program;
... SNAP - Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program

Worl Ce h benefit.
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283.1 ... GA - General Assistance;

283.2 EA—emergeney-assistanee;

2833 MA-—medical-assistanee;

283.4 ... EGA - Emergency General Assistance;

283.5 ... MSA - Minnesota Supplemental Aid;

283.6 ... MSA-EA - MSA Emergency Assistance;
283.7 ... EA - Emergency Assistance

283.8 ... Energy or Fuel Assistance

283.9 ... Work Participation Cash Benefit

283.10 ... MA - Medical Assistance

283.11 Supplemental Nutrition-Assistanee Program-(SNAP);
283.12 SST-—-Supplemental Seeurity Income;

283.13 ... MinnesotaCare;

283.14 ... Medicare Part B - Premium Payments; help
283.15 ... Medicare Part D - Extra help;

283.16 Energy-or-fuel-assistanee:

283.17 ... SSI - Supplemental Security Income

283.18 ... Tax Credits - federal Earned Income Tax Credit (EITC), Minnesota Working
283.19 Family Credit

283.20 ... Renter's Refund (also called Renter's Property Tax Credit)
283.21

283.22

283.23

283.24

283.25

283.26

283.27

283.28

283.29

283.30

283.31

283.32

283.33

283.34

283.35

283.36

283.37

283.38
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284.16

284.17

284.18

284.19
284.20

284.21

284.22

284.23

284.24

284.25
284.26
284.27
284.28

284.29

284.30

284.31

284.32

284.33

284.34

284.35

284.36

284.37

284.38

284.39
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List the case number and county for every

box you checked:

Case NUMDET: ...c.ococveeeiieeiieiieecieeeveeeiveene, COUNLY: 1ottt
Case NUmMbeT: .....ccceeevvieeeciieeeiieeeeiieeennen. COUNLY: oiiiiieeeeeiiiee ettt e eiveee e e
Case NUMDET: ....cccveeeeiiieeiiieeeiiieeeiieeeneenn COUNLY: ot

Government benefits also include:

.. Social Security benefits

.. Unemployment benefits

.. Workers' compensation

.. Veterans' benefits
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285.15

285.16

285.17
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285.25
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If you get any of these government benefits, include copies of any documents that show

you get them.

... I get other assistance based on need that is not on the list. It comes from: .................

Make sure you include copies of any documents that show this.

C. Other Protected Funds

The money from these things are also completely protected after they are deposited in

my account.

.. Child Support

.. A retirement, disability, or accident pension or annuity

.. Earnings of my child who is under 18 years of age

.. Payments to me from a life insurance policy

.. Money paid to me from a claim for damage or destruction of property. Property

includes household goods, farm tools or machinery, tools for my job, business equipment,

a mobile home, a car, a musical instrument, a pew or burial lot, clothes, furniture, or

appliances

... Death benefits paid to me

I give my permission to any agency that has given me eash benefits to give information
about my benefits to the abeve-named creditor; named above or #ts-atterney to the creditor's
lawyer. The information will ONLY eenecern-whether be if | get benefits-ornot;-or-whether
Fhavegotten-them assistance, or if I have gotten assistance in the past six 6 months. If I

was an inmate in the last 6 months, I give my permission to the correctional institution to

tell the creditor named above or the creditor's lawyer that I was an inmate there.

You must sign this form and send THISFORM it back to the creditor's
ATTORNEY lawyer (or to the creditor, if there is no AFFORNEY lawyer) and the
bank. Remember to include a copy of your bank statements for the past 60 days. Fill

in the blanks below and go back to the instructions to make sure you de did it correctly.

[ have mailed or delivered a copy of this form to: the creditor (or to the creditor's lawyer)

at the address listed below.
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Creditor's S1gNature: ........cccveeeeeuveeeiiieeeiieeeeiieeeeieeeeeveeenenes

(or creditor's lawyer's signature)

Creditor's NAME: ....eeeeeeeeeeeeee e e e e e

(or creditor's lawyer's name)

SEEEE AAAIESS: et

City/State/ZaP: weeeeeeie et eeesieeesiee e ens

I hawve also mailed or delivered a copy of this exemption form to my bank at the address

listed in-the-instructions: below:

Bank's NaAmME: ..coooeeeieee et eeenaas

St AdATESS: et

CAty/State/ZAP: ceveeeeieeeie et eee e eeteeereesveesreesaeesnaeeeneeans

Debtor's Signature: ..........cccccvveeeeuieeeeiiiieeciieeeiieeeeieeeeiienes

DeEbtOr'S NAME: ..o

SEEEt AAAIESS: et

City/State/ZaP: woeeeeeeee et

Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 571.914, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Form of Notice of Objection and Notice of Hearing. The Written Objection

and Notice of Hearing must be in substantially the following form:
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287.4
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287.7

287.8

287.9

287.10
287.11

287.12

287.13
287.14
287.15

287.16

287.17

287.18

287.19

287.20

287.21

287.22

287.23

287.24

287.25

287.26

287.27

287.28
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287.32
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287.34
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STATE-OEMINNESOTA PISTRICTCOURT
COUNTY-OF s
(Craditar)
................................................. \Ul \/UILUI}
Pebter) CREPITOR'SNOTICE-OFOBJECHON
................................................... \UUULUI}
AND-NOHCE-OFHEARING ON
(Garnishee) EXEMPHON-CEATM
.............................................. \U ulllloll\/\u}
(CREDITOR-OR-CREDITOR'S
ATFORNEY)
NOHCEOFHEARING
hic hoarine i .
elaim:
HearingPate: == o
Fme: 0 e
HearingPlace: 000 e
State of Minnesota District Court
County of! ..ooiiiiiiiiiiieeeeee e Judicial District: ....occooveeeiiieeiiieeeiieneee,
Court File Number: .......ccccccceeeivveennnee.
Case TYPE: uvvveeeeeiiiieeeeeiiieeeeeeiieee e
Creditor's full name
................................................................. Creditor's Notice of Objection and
and Notice of Hearing on Exemption Claim

Debtor's full name

Hearing Notice

The creditor objects to your exemption claim. This hearing is to decide if your exemption

claim is valid.

The hearing will be at:

Place: oo Date: .oooovveeeeeeeeeeaen, TIME: oo,

The creditor objects to your claim of exemption from garnishment for the following

reason(s):
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288.6

288.7

288.8

288.9

288.10

288.11

288.12

288.13

288.14

288.15

288.16

288.17

288.18

288.19

288.20

288.21

288.22

288.23

288.24

288.25

288.26

288.27

288.28

288.29

288.30

288.31

288.32

288.33
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Note: Bring all your documents and materials that support your exemption claim

to the hearing. If you don't, the court's decision could be held up.

You can send your documents and materials to the creditor before the hearing. If they

review them and agree with your claim, you can avoid a hearing.

Because there is a court hearing scheduled about your exemption claim, your bank will

keep your funds until it gets an order from the court.

Creditor's SIgNAtUre: ....cc.eccveeeveesreeiieeireesreesreeseveennnaenenas

(or creditor's lawyer's signature)

Creditor's NaME: ..ot

(or creditor's lawyer's name)

SEEEEE AAAIESS: e

Caty/State/ZaP: .eeeeeeiee ettt eeereaeeineaens

Phone: ...coevveeeeeeeeeeeeeeee. FaX: oo,

Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 571.925, is amended to read:

571.925 FORM OF NOTICE.

The ten-day notice informing a debtor that a garnishment summons may be used to

garnish the earnings of an individual must be substantially in the following form:

COINTV_OFE

COUINT X UL i i i i ssrsrersrersrssssssssssssnes
(Craditor)

................................................. croaitor)
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289.1 s (Debtor) NOHCE-ANDNOTICE-OF

289.2

289.3

289.4

289.5

289.6

289.7

289.8

289.9

289.10

289.11

289.12

289.13

289.14 Assistance based-onneedincludes but-isnothimited-to:

289.15  State of Minnesota District Court
289.16  County of: .....ccoeeeerieeeiiiieeiieeeeiieeenee. Judicial District: ......cccccoeevvveeevieennnnee
289.17 Court File Number: ........c.cccccvveennnnnne..
289.18 Case TYPE: vveeeeiiieeiiieeeiie et

289.19  Creditor's full name

289.20  1ieerrrieieaaiirteeeaarreeeeanbrreeesaatrraeeasanrraaaaas Garnishment Exemption Notice and

289.21 and Notice of Intent to Garnish Earnings

289.22  Debtor's full name

289.23 e

289.24 Third Party (bank, employer, or other)

289.25 e

289.26 Notice: A garnishment may be served on your employer or other third parties.

289.27 Garnishment means that part of your earnings can be taken to pay off debts that you

289.28 owe. This can happen in 10 days or more after you get this notice. This can happen without

289.29 any other court action or notice to you. But some of your money may be protected.

289.30 Your earnings cannot be taken if:

289.31 (1) you are getting government assistance based on need,

289.32 (i1) you got any government assistance based on need in the last 6 months, or
289.33 (111) you were an inmate of a correctional institution in the last 6 months.
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290.1 These are called exemptions. Your money is NOT protected unless you fill out the

2902  Exemption Claim Notice attached and send it back to the creditor or the creditor's

290.3  lawyer. If you are not sure if you have any exemptions, talk to a lawyer.

290.4 You can also contact the creditor or their lawyer to talk about a settlement of the debt.
290.5 Examples of government assistance based on need:

290.6 (1) MFIP - Minnesota Family Investment Program;

290.7 (11) DWP - MFIP Diversionary Work Program;

290.8 (iii)) SNAP - Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program

290.9 Woerkparticipation-eash-benefit;

290.10 (1v) GA - General Assistance;

290.11 FA—emergeney-assistanee;

290.12 MA - medical assistance,

290.13 (v) EGA - Emergency General Assistance;

290.14 (vi) MSA - Minnesota Supplemental Aid;

290.15 (vii) MSA-EA - MSA Emergency Assistance;

290.16 Supplemental Nutrition-Assistanee Program-(SNAP);

290.17 SSI-Supplemental Seeurity Income;

290.18 (viii) EA - Emergency Assistance

290.19 (ix) Energy or Fuel Assistance

290.20 (x) Work Participation Cash Benefit

290.21 (xi) MA - Medical Assistance

290.22 (xi1) MinnesotaCare;

290.23 (x111) Medicare Part B - Premium Payments; help

290.24 (xiv) Medicare Part D - Extra help;

290.25 Energy-or-fuel-assistanee:

290.26 (xv) SSI - Supplemental Security Income

290.27 (xvi) Tax Credits - federal Earned Income Tax Credit (EITC), Minnesota Working
290.28 Family Credit

290.29 (xvii) Renter's Refund (also called Renter's Property Tax Credit)
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291.1
291.2
291.3
291.4

291.5

291.6
291.7
291.8

291.9

291.10

291.11

291.12

291.13

291.14 DPated—rres e

291.15 Attorneyfor)-Creditor

29116 e
291.17 Address

29118 e
291.19 Felephone

291.20 Warnings and Fines

291.21 (1) Even if you claim an exemption, a levy may still be served on your employer. If they

291.22 take money from you after you claim an exemption, you may ask the court to review your

291.23 exemption. If the court finds that the creditor ignored your claim of exemption in bad faith,

291.24 you are entitled to costs, reasonable lawyer fees, actual damages, and a fine up to $100. Bad

291.25 faith is when someone does something wrong on purpose.

291.26 (2) BUT if you claim an exemption, the creditor can also ask the court to review your

291.27 exemption. If the court finds that you claimed an exemption in bad faith, you are charged

291.28 costs and reasonable lawyer fees, and a fine up to $100.

291.29 (3) If you get this notice, then do something in bad faith to try to block or stop the levy

291.30 and the creditor has to take you to court because of it, you will have to pay the creditor's

291.31 costs, and reasonable lawyer's fees, and a fine up to $100.

20132 DAt e

29133 Creditor's SIgnature: ......occveeeveeeiiieeieeeieeeieeeieesieesneeennens

291.34  (or creditor's lawyer's signature)
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292.2

2923

292.4

292.5

292.6

292.7

292.8

292.9

292.10

292.11

292.12

292.13

292.14

292.15

292.16

292.17

292.18

292.19

292.20

292.21

292.22

292.23

292.24

292.25

292.26

292.27

292.28

292.29

292.30

292.31

292.32

292.33

292.34
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Creditor's NAIME: .....eeeeee e eeeeeeeeenans

(or creditor's lawyer's name)

Street AdAress: .oviiiiiiiiiiieiiee s

CIty/State/ZaP: .oveeeeiieeeiiie et eeieeeeeveeeeaveeeas

Phone: ....coooviiiiiiiiiiiies Fax: oo

EMaili Lo

DEBTOR'S EXEMPTION CLAIM NOTICE

State of Minnesota District Court

County of: ..vveeiieiieeeeee e Judicial District: .....cccevevveeiieeieeeee
Court File Number: ...........ccccvveennnnnnnee..
Case TYPC: vveeeeiieeeiiieeeiie e

Creditor's full name

................................................................. Debtor's Exemption

and Claim Notice

Debtor's full name

and

Third Party (bank, employer, or other)

I hereby claim that my earnings are exempt from this garnishment because: (check all
that apply)
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293.15

293.16

293.17

293.18

293.19

293.20
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293.23

293.24

293.25

293.26

293.27

293.28

293.29

293.30

293.31

293.32

293.33
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... | am getting government assistance based on need. (State the program, case number

if you know it, and the county you got it from.)

Program: .......cccceevvveennnnns Case #: eveeieeeeieeeeees County: ..ccceeeeeieeeeiieeeieens
Program: .......ccccocceivnnnne.n. Case #: iveviiieiiieeeeeeees County: ..ccceeevvieieiiieeiiieens
Program: ........cccccevvinnnnen.. Case #: vovveeieeeeieeeeen County: .ocoeeeviiieiniiieiiiieens

...  am not getting assistance based on need right now, but I did get government assistance

based on need within the last 6 months. (State the program, case number if you know it,

and the county you got it from.)

Program: .......ccccoeeevieennnnns Case #: v County: .oocoeevviiiniiiniiinienne,
Program: ........ccccccceeveennnnn.. Case #: veoeeereeeeeeiieeeeeinn County: ..ccceeeviiieeeiiieeeiieens
Program: ........cccccceevevennnnn. Case #: vevverieeeeeiieeeeeinn County: ..ccceeeeeecniieeeesinennnn

... I was an inmate of a correctional institution within the last 6 months. (State the

correctional institution and location.)

Correctional Institution .........cceeveeveeenneeens LOCAtION oo

I give my permission to any agency listed above to give information about my benefits

to the creditor named above, or to the creditor's lawyer. The information will ONLY be if

I get assistance, or if | have gotten assistance in the past 6 months. If I was an inmate in the
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294.28

294.29
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294.32

294.33
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last 6 months, I give my permission to the correctional institution to tell the creditor named

above or the creditor's lawyer that [ was an inmate there.

Sign and send this form back to the creditor or the creditor's lawyer.

Fill in the blanks below.

I mailed or delivered a copy of this form to the creditor or to the creditor's lawyer if they

have one, at the address listed below.

Creditor's SIgNAtUTE: ....c.ecceeeeieeiieeiieeireesreesreeneeeenneeeenes

(or creditor's lawyer's signature)

Creditor's NaME: ..o et

(or creditor's lawyer's name)

SEEEEE AAAIESS: e

City/State/ZaP: woeveeeeeie et eve e sive e esnae e
Phone: ...coevveeeeeeeeeeieeea, FaX: oo

Debtor's SIgNature: ........cccocceeeiueeriieriiieeiiesieeeiireeieeeeeeenns

DeEbLOr'S NAME: ..oeeeeeeeee e

SEEEt AdAIESS: oo

CIty/State/ZaP: .ooeeeeeeeeeiiee ettt

Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 571.931, subdivision 6, is amended to read:

Subd. 6. Notice. The debtor shall be served with a copy of the prejudgment garnishment
order issued pursuant to this section together with a copy of all pleadings and other documents
not previously served, including any affidavits upon which the claimant intends to rely at
the subsequent hearing and a transcript of any oral testimony given at the prejudgment
garnishment hearing upon which the creditor intends to rely and a notice of hearing. Service
must be in the manner prescribed for personal service of a summons unless that service is
impracticable or would be ineffective and the court prescribes an alternative method of

service calculated to provide actual notice to the debtor.

The notice of hearing served upon the debtor must be signed by the creditor or the

attorney for the creditor and must be accompanied by an exemption notice. The notice of

Article 14 Sec. 19. 294



295.1

295.2

2953

295.4

295.5

295.6

295.7

295.8

295.9

295.10

295.11

295.12

295.13

295.14

295.15

295.16

295.17

295.18

295.19

295.20

295.21

295.22

295.23

295.24

295.25

295.26

295.27

295.28

295.29

295.30

295.31

04/04/25 03:59 pm COUNSEL KPB/PP/GC SCS1098A-1

hearing must be accompanied by an exemption notice, and both notices must provide, at a

minimum, the following information in substantially the following language:
NOHCEOFHEARING

Hearing Notice

(the-debter) (debtor's full name)

The (insert the name of court) Court has ordered the prejudgment garnishment of some

of your property in-the-pessession-orcentrel-of-a-thirdparty. This is about property that a
third party has or controls. Some of your property may be exempt frem-setzure and can't

be taken. See the exemption notice below.

The Court issued this Order based-upon-the-elaim-of because (insert name of creditor)

that-(insertname-of-erediterris claims they are entitled to a-ceurt-orderforgarnishment
take some of your property te-seeure-your-payment-of-any-moneyjudgment-that-(insert

They do this to make sure you pay any money they might win in a future case against you.

They felt immediate action was needed.

You have the legal right to challenge (insert name of creditor) claims at a court hearing

before a judge.

The hearing will be at:

Place: oo Date: .oooovveeeeeeeeeeeann, TIME: oo,

The heati L be held atthe 6 | . late) at-( irme)- You
attend can go to the court hearing alone or with an-attorney a lawyer. Afteryou-have
presented-your-stde-of the-matter;-the-eourt-will-deetde You get to tell the court your side

of the issue. Then the court decides what should be done with your property until the lawsuit

against you is finally decided.

If you de-netattend don't go to this hearing, the court may order garnishment of
your property.

Exemption Notice

Some of your property may be exempt and eannetbegarnished can't be taken. 'Exempt’

means protected. The following is a list of some efthe-mere common exemptions. It is not

a complete and-is-subjeetto list. For full details and dollar amounts set by law see section
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550.37;-and-otherstate-and-federal-Haws of the Minnesota Statutes. If you have questions
about an exemption, yeu-sheuld-ebtain-cempetent contact a lawyer for legal advice.

These things you or your family might have are protected:

(1) ahomestead-orthe proceedsfromthe sale-ofa-hemestead: equity in your home, or

money from recently selling your home - up to $510,000 total;

(2)(1) all clothing, one watch, utensils, and foodstuffs;

(i1) household furniture, household appliances, phonographs; radios, and computers,
tablets, televisions up-te-a-tetal-eurrent-value-of-$4;500-at-the-time-of attachment:, printers,

cell phones, smart phones, and other consumer electronics up to $12,150 in all; and

(ii1) jewelry - total value can't be more than $3,308;

(3) a manufactured (mobile) home used-as-your-home: you live in;

(4) one motor vehicle eurrently-worth-less-than-$2,000-after deducting-any-seeurity

aterest:, counting only the amount you have paid off:

(1) $10,000;

(1) $12,500 if it is necessary for your business, trade, or profession;

(ii1) $25,000 if used by or to help someone with a disability that makes it hard to walk;

(iv) $100,000 if designed or modified for someone with a disability that makes it hard

to walk;

(5) farm machinery , ineipally-engaged-infarming;-or if your main
business is farming. Tools, machines, or office furniture used in your business ertrade-This

exemptionistimited-to-$10,000- - the total value can't be more than $13,000;

(6) relief based on need. This includes the:

(1) MFIP - Minnesota Family Investment Program (MEIP); Emergeney-Assistance(EA);
WorkFirst Program; Medieal-Assistanee-(MA);;

(i1) DWP - MFIP Diversionary Work Program;

(ii1)) SNAP - Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program,;

(1v) GA - General Assistance (GA);
(v) EGA - Emergency General Assistance (EGAY);

(vi) MSA - Minnesota Supplemental Aid MSA;
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(vii)) MSA-EA - MSA Emergency Assistance (MSA-EA);-Supplemental-Seeurity Income
SSH;-and Energy-Assistanee:;

(viii) EA - Emergency Assistance;

(ix) Energy or Fuel Assistance;

(x) Work Participation Cash Benefit;

(xi) MA - Medical Assistance;

(xi1) MinnesotaCare;

(xii1) Medicare Part B - Premium Payments help;

(xiv) Medicare Part D - Extra;

(xv) SSI - Supplemental Security Income;

(xvi) Tax Credits - federal Earned Income Tax Credit (EITC), Minnesota Working

Family Credit; and

(xvii) Renter's Refund (also called Renter's Property Tax Credit);

(7) wages. 100% is protected if you get government assistance based on need. Otherwise,

between 75-100% is protected depending on how much you earn;

(8) retirement benefits - the total interest under all plans and contracts can't be more than

$81,000;

€1 (9) Social Security benefits:;

8) (10) unemployment benefits, workers' compensation, or veterans' benefits:;

9)rAn-aceident; disability-erretirement (11) a retirement, disability, or accident pension

or annuity-;

0y (12) life insurance proceeds: that are not more than $54,000;

HH-The (13) earnings of your minor child:;

2) (14) money from a claim for damage or destruction of exempt property (sueh-as -

like household goods, farm tools, business equipment, a manufactured (mobile) home, or
a ear). car;

(15) sacred possessions - like the Bible, Torah, Qur'an, prayer rug, and other religious

items. Total value can't be more than $2,000;

(16) personal library - total value can't be more than $750;
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(17) musical instruments - total value can't be more than $2,000;

(18) family pets - current value can't be more than $1,000;

(19) a seat or pew in any house or place of public worship and a lot in any burial ground;

(20) tools you need to work in your business or profession - the total value can't be more

than $13,500;

(21) household tools and equipment - things like hand and power tools, snow removal

equipment, lawnmowers, and more. Total value can't be more than $3,000; and

(22) health savings accounts, medical savings accounts - the total value can't be more

than $25,000.

Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 571.932, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Service. The creditor's motion to obtain an order of garnishment together with
the creditor's affidavit and notice of hearing must be served in the manner prescribed for
service of a summons in a civil action in district court unless that service is impracticable
or would be ineffective and the court prescribes an alternative method of service calculated
to provide actual notice to the debtor. If the debtor has already appeared in the action, the
motion must be served in the manner prescribed for service of pleadings subsequent to the
summons. The date of the hearing must be fixed in accordance with rule 6 of the Minnesota
Rules of Civil Procedure for the District Courts, unless a different date is fixed by order of

the court.

The notice of hearing served upon the debtor shall be signed by the creditor or the
attorney for the creditor and shall provide, at a minimum, the following information in

substantially the following language:
NOHCE-OFHEARING

Hearing Notice

(the-debtoer) (debtor's full name)

There will be a hearing to decide if your nonexempt property will be garnished to help

pay a judgment that may be entered against you.
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The hearing will be at:

PlacCe: .o Date: .ooeeeeeeeeeeeeee, Time: wooeeeeeeeeeeeeen,

You may-attend can go to the court hearing alone or with an-atterney a lawyer. After
You get to tell

the court your side of the issue. Then the court decides if your property should be garnished
until the lawsuit which-has-beenecommeneed against you is finally decided.

If the court direets-the-issuanee-of issues a garnishment summons while during the
lawsuit is-pending, you may-still can keep the property until the lawsuit is decided if you

file a bond m-an-ameunt. The amount of the bond is set by the court.

If you BPONOT-ATTEND-THIS don't go to this hearing, the court may order

garnishment of your nonexempt property TO-BE-GARNISHED.

Exemption Notice

Some of your property may be exempt and eannet can't be garnished taken. 'Exempt'

means protected. The following is a list of some efthe-mere common exemptions. It is not

a complete and-is-subjeetto list. For full details and dollar amounts set by law see section
550.37-and-otherstate-and-federal-aws of the Minnesota Statutes. Fhe-doHarameounts

time-of the-garnishment: If you have questions about an exemption, yeu-sheuld-ebtain

eompetent contact a lawyer for legal advice.

These things you or your family might have are protected:

(1) A-hemestead-or-the-proceedsfromthe sale-efahemestead: equity in your home, or

money from recently selling your home - up to $510,000 total;

(2)(1) all clothing, one watch, utensils, and foodstuffs;

(i1) household furniture, household appliances, phonographs; radios, and computers,
tablets, televisions up-te-a-tetaleurrent-value-o£$5;850-, printers, cell phones, smart phones,

and other consumer electronics up to $12,150 in all; and

(ii1) jewelry - total value can't be more than $3,308;

(3) a manufactured (mobile) home used-as-your-hoeme- you live in;

(4) one motor vehicle eurrently-worth-less-than-$2;600-after- deducting-any seeurity

nterests:, counting only the amount you have paid off:

(i) $10,000;
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(1) $12,500 if it is necessary for your business, trade, or profession;

(ii1) $25,000 if used by or to help someone with a disability that makes it hard to walk;

(iv) $100,000 if designed or modified for someone with a disability that makes it hard

to walk;

(5) farm machinery ran-individual-prineipally-engaged-infarming;-or if your
main business is farming. Tools, machines, or office furniture used in your business ertrade:

This-exemption-istimited-to - the total value can't be more than $13,000-;

(6) relief based on need. This includes the:

(1) MFIP - Minnesota Family Investment Program (MEIP), Emergeney-Assistance(EA);
WorkFirst Program; Medieal-Assistanee-(MA);;

(i1) DWP - MFIP Diversionary Work Program;

(ii1)) SNAP - Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program;

(1v) GA - General Assistance (GA);
(v) EGA - Emergency General Assistance (EGAY);
(vi) MSA - Minnesota Supplemental Aid MSA);

(vii)) MSA-EA - MSA Emergency Assistance (MSA-EA);-Supplemental-Seeurity Income
SShH;-and Energy-Assistanee:;

(viii) EA - Emergency Assistance;

(ix) Energy or Fuel Assistance;

(x) Work Participation Cash Benefit;

(xi) MA - Medical Assistance;

(xi1) MinnesotaCare;

(xii1) Medicare Part B - Premium Payments help;

(xiv) Medicare Part D - Extra;

(xv) SSI - Supplemental Security Income;

(xvi) Tax Credits - federal Earned Income Tax Credit (EITC), Minnesota Working

Family Credit; and

(xvii) Renter's Refund (also called Renter's Property Tax Credit);
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(7) wages. 100% is protected if you get government assistance based on need. Otherwise,

between 75-100% is protected depending on how much you earn;

(8) retirement benefits - the total interest under all plans and contracts can't be more than

$81,000;

M (9) Social Security benefits:;

£8) (10) unemployment benefits, workers' compensation, or veterans' benefits:;

DAn-aeetdentdisability-erretirement (11) a retirement, disability, or accident pension

or annuity;

6y (12) life insurance proceeds: that are not more than $54,000;

H-The (13) earnings of your minor child:;

2) (14) money from a claim for damage or destruction of exempt property (sueh-as -

like household goods, farm tools, business equipment, a manufactured (mobile) home, or
a ear): car;

(15) sacred possessions - like the Bible, Torah, Qur'an, prayer rug, and other religious

items. Total value can't be more than $2,000;

(16) personal library - total value can't be more than $750;

(17) musical instruments - total value can't be more than $2,000;

(18) family pets - current value can't be more than $1,000;

(19) a seat or pew in any house or place of public worship and a lot in any burial ground;

(20) tools you need to work in your business or profession - the total value can't be more

than $13,500;

(21) household tools and equipment - things like hand and power tools, snow removal

equipment, lawnmowers, and more. Total value can't be more than $3,000; and

(22) health savings accounts, medical savings accounts - the total value can't be more

than $25,000.

Sec. 21. Laws 2024, chapter 114, article 3, section 101, the effective date, is amended to

read:

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective April June 1, 2025, and applies to causes

of action commenced on or after that date.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective retroactively from March 1, 2025.
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302.1 Sec. 22. CONSTRUCTION AND APPLICATION.

302.2 The forms in sections 1 to 20 must be made available on the state court website on or

302.3  before June 1, 2025. The failure to use the forms as amended by sections 1 to 20 before

3024 June 1, 2025, is not a basis for a complaint or violation of a federal statute, Minnesota

302.5  Statutes, or the Minnesota Rules of Professional Conduct.

302.6 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

302.7 Sec. 23. EFFECTIVE DATE.

302.8 Sections 1 to 20 are effective June 1, 2025. "

302.9 Amend the title accordingly

Article 14 Sec. 23. 302
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