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2025 DLI budget proposals 
 

Construction Codes and Licensing Division fee alignment  

The governor recommends adjusting permit, inspection, plan review and certain 

registration fees for six units within the Department of Labor and Industry’s 

(DLI’s) Construction Codes and Licensing Division (CCLD). Because CCLD operates 

on a fee-for-service basis, fees charged need to align with the program costs of each unit. 

Currently, fees assessed in several areas are inadequate to fund the costs of providing services 

due to inflationary and cost increases. The impacted units include electrical inspections, 

elevator inspections, boiler inspections, plumbing plan review, plumbing inspections and 

manufactured structures. These units are currently operating at a deficit that, if not addressed, 

will jeopardize the ability of the units to provide timely and effective services. In general, the 

fee increases proposed are for fees that have not been adjusted since 2007.  

 

Misclassification enforcement funding 

The governor recommends $281,000 in FY26 and $286,000 in FY27 from the 

general fund to increase funding for the enforcement of worker misclassification 

laws. Employee misclassification occurs when employers fail to treat their workers as 

employees, denying them workers’ compensation insurance, overtime protections, minimum 

wage, unemployment insurance, earned sick and safe time, paid leave and more. Employee 

misclassification also destabilizes the social safety net by causing an under-collection of 

unemployment insurance premiums and employment taxes. Finally, employee misclassification 

hurts law-abiding employers that cannot compete with employers that misclassify their 

workers. Investing in misclassification enforcement will be a benefit to working families, law-

abiding employers and the state. 

 

Statewide registered teacher apprenticeship grant  

The governor recommends $5 million in FY26 and $2 million in FY27 from the 

workforce development fund to support establishment of a statewide registered 

apprenticeship program for teachers. Funds will be used to support the 

development of a statewide registered teacher apprenticeship program, creating additional 

pathways into the teaching profession through this earn and learn model, benefiting children 

throughout the state and their educational achievement. 

 

 

Operating adjustment 

The governor recommends additional funding of $144,000 in FY26 and $292,000 

each year thereafter from the general fund, as well as $1.884 million in FY26 and 

$2.194 each year thereafter from the workers’ compensation fund to help address 



 

inflationary operating cost increases at the Department of Labor and Industry. These measured 

operating adjustments will enable the agency to maintain its important work for Minnesotans.  

 

 

Strengthening mandatory break laws 

The governor recommends updating Minnesota’s work and meal break laws to 

clarify employees’ rights and employers’ obligations under these laws. Minnesota 

is one of few states that does not have a clear standard in statute addressing the 

amount of break time that must be provided to employees during the workday. This proposal 

would ensure employees are entitled to at least 15 minutes of rest break time for every four 

consecutive hours worked and at least a 30-minute meal break for every six consecutive hours 

worked. This proposal also reduces the amount of consecutive time that must be worked 

before a meal period is provided, from eight hours to six hours, to align with the minimum 

standards provided in many other states. 

 

Single Egress Stairway Report appropriation extension 

The governor recommends a one-year extension to the $225,000 appropriated during 

the 2024 legislative session for the Single Egress Stairway study and report. The 

commissioner of DLI is tasked with evaluating conditions under which apartment 

buildings of a certain height with a single means of egress achieve life safety 

outcomes equal or superior to currently adopted codes. The report is due Dec. 31, 2025; to 

complete the report as required by law, DLI needs funding to be available through FY26.  

 

 
 

 


