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Article 1 
Judiciary Appropriations 

 
Sections 1 to 16 appropriate money for the Supreme Court, Court of Appeals, District Courts, 
Board of Civil Legal Aid, Guardian ad Litem Board, Tax Court, Uniform Laws Commission, Board 
on Judicial Standards, Board of Public Defense, Department of Human Rights, Office of 
Appellate Counsel and Training, Minnesota Competency Attainment Board, Cannabis 
Expungement Board, Attorney General and Secretary of State.  See spreadsheet for details. 
 
Section 17 (Reallocating Fee Revenue) increases, from $30 to $60, the amount of the 
marriage dissolution court filing fee allocated to the Minnesota Family Resiliency Partnership 
(MFRP).  The marriage dissolution filing is currently $315.  Under this section, $60 of the fee will 
be allocated to the MFRP and the remaining $255 will be credited to the general fund. 
 
Section 18 (Court Fee Increases) increases the civil court filing fee from $285 to $310, except 
in marriage dissolution actions, where it increases from $315 to $340.  Increases the motion 
fee from $75 to $100. 

 
Article 2  

Public Safety Appropriations 
 
Sections 1 to 8 appropriate money for the Sentencing Guidelines Commission, Department of 
Public Safety, Peace Officer Standards and Training Board, Private Detective Board, 
Department of Corrections, Clemency Review Commission.  See spreadsheet for details. 
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Section 9 (General Fund Transfer) transfers $3 million from the general fund to the Minnesota 
Victims of Crime account in the special revenue fund. 
 
Sections 10 to 11 and 20 (Public Safety Officer Killed in the Line of Duty) expand the 
definition of public safety officer for the purposes of determining eligibility for killed in the line 
of duty death benefits. Makes eligibility retroactive to February 1, 2020. 
 
Section 12 (Minnesota Victims of Crime Account) establishes a Minnesota Victims of Crime 
account in the special revenue fund.  The account exists of general fund transfers, gifts, 
donations, interest or earnings on the account, and assessments imposed under section 13. 
 
Section 13 (Corporate Offenders; Penalty Assessment Required) requires courts, when 
sentencing a corporate offender, to assess a penalty in addition to any fines or restitution 
required by law.  Such assessments are to be deposited in the Minnesota Victims of Crime 
account in the special revenue fund. 
 
Section 14 (Tracing and reporting of Firearms) requires law enforcement agencies to register 
for the ATFE National Tracing Center’s eTrace system, and opt-in to the system’s collective 
data sharing feature to assist in tracing and reporting recovered or confiscated firearms.  
Exempts the DNR and State Patrol from the provisions of the section. 
 
Sections 15 and 18 (Extending Appropriations for Public Safety Officer Survivor Benefits) 
extend the availability of two FY 2025 appropriations to the end of fiscal year 2027. 
 
Section 16 (Extending Appropriation for Ramsey County Youth Homes) extends the 
availability of an appropriation for Ramsey County Youth Homes for one year from June 30, 
2026 to June 20, 2027. 
 
Section 17 (Department of Corrections Reallocation of Funds) authorizes the commissioner 
of corrections to reallocate up to $10 million between certain activities within the department 
to help address the fiscal year 2025 departmental budget deficiency. 
 
Section 19 (Task Force on Mandatory Minimum Sentences) establishes a task force of 
mandatory minimum sentences to assess whether current laws and practices promote public 
safety and equity in sentencing.  The task force must convene by August 1, 2025, meet at least 
monthly, and must report its findings and recommendations to the Legislature by August 15, 
2026. 
 

Article 3  
Financial Crimes and Fraud Investigations 

 
This article eliminates the Commerce Fraud Bureau and moves its duties to the Bureau of 
Criminal Apprehension (BCA) in the Department of Public Safety.  It establishes a new Financial 
Crimes and Fraud Section within the BCA. This article is identical to the language provided in 
the governor’s revised budget bill. 
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Article 4 
Criminal Provisions 

 
Sections 1 to 4 address the treatment of water pipe fluid in the controlled substances laws. 
Currently, in the first- through third-degree controlled substances possession crimes, the 
weight of fluid used in a water pipe may not be considered in measuring the weight of the 
mixture except in cases where the mixture contains four or more fluid ounces of fluid. Sections 
1 to 3 strike that language and provide that a mixture does not include fluid used in a water pipe 
or any amounts of controlled substances that are dissolved in the pipe’s fluid. Section 4 adds 
that language to the fifth-degree possession crime. 
 
Section 5 amends the child/vulnerable adult endangerment by methamphetamine exposure 
crime. Current law prohibits a person from knowingly causing or permitting a child or 
vulnerable adult to inhale, be exposed to, have contact with, or ingest methamphetamine. A 
violation is a five-year felony. This section adds an identical prohibition for fentanyl. 
 
Sections 6, 22, and 23 criminalize the creation, distribution, and possession of child-like sex 
dolls (sections 22 and 23). These sections are modelled after the child pornography crimes 
and provide identical penalties and conditional release terms for child-like sex dolls, as do the 
corresponding child pornography crimes. Penalties range from a five-year to a 15-year felony. 
Also, requires the offender to register as a predatory offender (section 6). 
 
Section 7 amends the accomplice liability law to provide that a person may not be held 
criminally liable for violating the first-degree murder crime involving premeditation and intent 
to effect the death of another or the second-degree murder crime involving intent to effect the 
death of another but without premeditation, where the death was caused by another, unless 
the person intentionally aided, advised, hired, counseled, or conspired with or otherwise 
procured the other person to commit the crime. 
 
Section 8 provides that the felony murder provision in the first-degree murder crime applies 
only to felony level violations of the listed predicate offenses. 
 
Section 9 strikes unintentional deaths arising from drive-by shootings from subdivision 1 of the 
second-degree murder crime. These are added to subdivision 2 of the second-degree murder 
crime in section 10. While both subdivisions carry a 40-year statutory maximum sentence, 
subdivision 2 crimes have shorter presumptive sentence durations and a lower severity level 
than subdivision 1 crimes. 
 
Section 10 amends the unintentional death felony murder provision in the second-degree 
murder crime to limit the predicate offenses to which it applies to the listed offenses (which 
are the same ones that currently can serve as predicates for first-degree intentional death 
felony murders). 
 
Section 11 adds an additional limitation for unintentional death felony murders in the second-
degree murder crime (see section 10) to provide that, to be convicted, a person’s acts must 
present a special danger to human life based on the circumstances under which the predicate 
felony was committed.  
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Section 12 amends the fourth-degree assault crime. Makes physical assaults of fire fighters, 
EMS personnel, or health workers in hospital emergency room settings a gross misdemeanor. 
Also increases the statutory maximum for an assault against any of these individuals that 
results in demonstrable bodily harm from two years imprisonment/$4k fine to three years 
imprisonment/$6k fine. 
 
Section 13 establishes two new felony offenses. The first is for knowingly adulterating or 
altering a controlled substance or drug with fentanyl, or substituting a controlled substance or 
drug with fentanyl, and the second is for knowingly adulterating or altering any package or 
receptacle containing a controlled substance or drug with fentanyl, or substituting any package 
containing a controlled substance with a package containing fentanyl. Both crimes have 
statutory maximum sentences of five years imprisonment and/or a $10k fine. Provides an 
exemption to the crimes for manufacturers, practitioners, pharmacists, owners of pharmacies, 
nurses, and other persons acting in a professional capacity. 
 
Section 14 amends the coercion crime. Coercion currently includes, among other prohibited 
conduct, threatening to violate the nonconsensual dissemination of private images crime 
(Minnesota Statutes, section 617.261) and thereby causing another, against their will, to do any 
act or forbear doing a lawful act. Penalties range from a misdemeanor up to a ten year/$20k 
felony. This section makes this conduct a 15 year/$30k felony if the violation is the proximate 
cause of the victim suffering great bodily harm or death. 
 
Section 15 provides an exception to the child neglect crime for acts committed while pregnant 
and before the birth of the child. 
 
Section 16 establishes a new crime for approaching or remaining within 25 feet of a first 
responder with the intent of impeding or interfering with the person while knowing of their 
status and failing to heed a warning to stay away. Penalties for a violation range from a 
misdemeanor to a five-year felony depending on the harm caused. 
 
Section 17 establishes a new crime relating to the theft of public funds. Penalties for a violation 
range from a six-year to a 24-year felony. 
 
Section 18 amends the crime addressing damage or theft of energy transmission or 
telecommunications equipment to clarify that it includes broadband services and cable 
services equipment. 
 
Section 19 expands the swatting crime provision that addresses victims who are public 
officials or employees to include all correctional employees of state or local political 
subdivisions. 
 
Section 20 expands the definition of “pornographic work” in the child pornography law (and 
thus the scope of that law) to include depictions of individuals indistinguishable from actual 
minors created through artificial intelligence or other computer technology. 
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Section 21 provides immunity from liability under the child pornography crimes relating to the 
new criminalization of AI-generated materials (see section 20) for certain actions taken by 
interactive computer services and providers of information services or telecommunications 
services. 
 
Section 24 provides a process for individuals to get retroactive relief for past first-degree 
murder convictions for intentional and premediated deaths that were based on an accomplice 
liability theory and where the death was caused by another and the person did not intentionally 
aid, advise, hire, counsel, or conspire with or otherwise procure the other person to commit 
the crime (section 7 prospectively prohibits similarly situated individuals from being convicted 
of this in the first place). Specifies the process for retroactive relief, which is nearly identical to 
the process enacted in 2023 for retroactive relief for certain other individuals convicted of 
felony murder under an accomplice liability theory.  

 
Article 5 

Public Safety Provisions 
 
Sections 1 to 3, 11, and 18 replace references in provisions addressing “videotapes” of child 
abuse victims with “recordings.” 
 
Section 4 modifies reporting requirements for the director of child sex trafficking prevention 
related to the statewide program for safe harbor for sexually exploited youth. Current law 
requires the director to submit an updated evaluation of the program every two years to the 
commissioner of health. This section requires the director to submit an updated evaluation 
each odd-numbered year, and adds that the evaluation must be provided to legislature in 
addition to the commissioner. 
 
Sections 5, 10, 12, and 13 replace references to the term “pornographic work” in the child 
pornography and other related laws with “child sexual material.” 
 
Section 6 amends the Hometown Heroes law. Hometown Heroes is a program administered 
by the Minnesota Firefighters Initiative that provides critical illness coverage and monetary 
support payments to firefighters diagnosed with certain critical illnesses.  It also provides 
psychotherapy to address emotional trauma experienced by firefighters, and education on the 
best practices for firefighters to limit the occupational risks of cancer, heart disease, and 
emotional trauma.  
 
This section clarifies that the psychotherapy program offered by Hometown Heroes includes 
peer-to-peer support, and changes the requirement that at least two hours of education on 
occupational risks be provided to all firefighters to a requirement that at least two hours of 
education be made available to all firefighters. 
 
Section 7 amends the definition of “endangered” in the Minnesota missing children and 
endangered persons program to include persons at risk of physical injury or death because the 
person has been diagnosed with dementia, autism, or other listed cognitive impairments. 
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Section 8 authorizes counties and cities to investigate the background of applicants for 
licenses to operate an adult entertainment establishment or business providing massage 
services. Specifically authorizes a check of national criminal records. Describes the process 
for a background check. 
 
Section 9 modifies the amount that the state fire marshal must charge for charter school 
building inspections from a designated flat fee per building to a designated fee based on square 
footage. 
 
Section 14 amends the definition of “crime of violence” in the firearms law to add felony 
violations of M.S. chapter 343 (animal cruelty). A person convicted of or adjudicated for a crime 
of violence is subject to a lifetime prohibition on possessing firearms. 
 
Section 15 amends the permit to carry law. Requires a permit holder who has changed their 
legal name to notify the issuing sheriff of this within 30 days.   
 
Section 16 expands the situations for which a law enforcement agency may use an unmanned 
aerial vehicle (UAV) without a search warrant to include (1) use to preserve or protect evidence 
from the imminent risk of destruction, (2) use over private areas with the written consent of the 
occupant for training or public relations purposes, (3) use to facilitate searches for missing 
persons, and (4) use to assist in the lawful pursuit of a suspect who is fleeing or might flee from 
law enforcement. 
 
Section 17 provides an exception to the general prohibition on the use of mobile tracking 
devices without a court order when used on a fleeing motor vehicle. 
 
Section 19 directs the Revisor to update headnote cross references in law to reflect the 
changes made in this article. 
 
Section 20 repeals certain consumer protection statutes related to matches, flame resistant 
tents, and related rules and penalties that predate the fire code. 
 

Article 6 
Criminal Justice-Related Judicial Provisions 

 
Section 1 provides that data collected, created, or maintained by a government entity that 
identifies a restorative practices participant (see section 6) is private data except as provided 
in section 6. This classification does not apply to personnel data or individuals who receive 
payment to facilitate a restorative practice. 
 
Section 2 amends the reporting requirement for the Restorative Practices Office  to require 
data on recidivism, public safety impacts, and financial investments in restorative practices. 
 
Section 3 authorizes a county attorney to subpoena and require the production of the following 
records of any employer or other person or business entity who is the subject of a wage theft 
investigation: accounting and financial records, payroll records, and other records relating to 
wages, hours, and other conditions of employment of any employee or of work performed by 
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independent contractors, and records of payments to contractors, and records of payments of 
workers’ compensation insurance. Current law provides that administrative subpoenas may 
only be issued for records that are relevant to an ongoing legitimate law enforcement 
investigation. 
 
Section 4 expands the post-conviction relief law to include stays of adjudication. 
 
Section 5 amends the privilege law to provide that domestic abuse advocates may not, without 
the victim’s consent, disclose any opinion or information received from or about the victim that 
the advocate acquired in attending the victim in a professional capacity. Under current law, a 
court may compel disclosure using a balancing test. Provides that nothing in the provision 
modifies a prosecutor’s obligation to disclose information in certain instances. 
 
Section 6 provides that statements made or documents offered in the course of a restorative 
practice is not subject to discovery or admissible as evidence. Makes exceptions for mandatory 
reporters complying with the provisions requiring reporting of maltreatment of children or 
vulnerable adults, disclosure of information necessary to prevent reasonably certain death, 
great bodily harm, or criminal activity, or information related to professional misconduct by a 
participant. Allows disclosure of information to verify to a court that a person ordered to 
participate in a program is participating. 
 
Sections 7 to 10 address expungements of certain cannabis-related offenses.  
 
In 2023, the legislature established the Cannabis Expungement Board to review certain past 
convictions relating to cannabis sales or possession. The board was required to review records 
of past offenses, determine whether a person committed an act that would be a lesser offense 
or no longer a crime following the legalization of recreational cannabis, and direct the courts to 
take appropriate action (including vacating convictions, dismissing charges, expunging 
records, or resentencing persons to lesser offenses). Among other criteria for eligibility for this, 
the underlying offense could not have involved dangerous weapons or infliction of bodily harm. 
The prior crimes eligible for favorable action were restricted to citations to specific crimes that 
were in law at the time of the changes being enacted (but some of which, following enactment, 
are no longer on the books or are codified differently). 
 
These sections modify the offenses eligible for expungements or resentencings to include any 
controlled substance crime involving the sale or possession of marijuana or 
tetrahydrocannabinols (assuming it meets the other eligibility requirements of the statute) 
existing as of the date the recreational cannabis law became effective and any prior versions 
of these or any other laws that criminalized the possession, sale, transportation, or cultivation 
of marijuana or tetrahydrocannabinols.   
 
In addition, they authorize expungements for other offenses charged along with the underlying 
controlled substance crime if the charge was dismissed or eligible for automatic expungement 
under Minnesota Statutes, section 609A.055, and requires courts, when expunging records, to 
also seal correctional records. 
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Article 7 
Crime Victims Provisions 

 
Section 1 adds children’s advocacy centers to the definition of “victim assistance program” in 
the statute requiring minimum fines for certain crimes. Under the law, 70% of the money 
mandated as a minimum fine is allocated to victim assistance programs. 
 
Section 2 makes clarifying, technical, and conforming changes in the statute requiring that 
victims receive notice of certain rights, including information about the address confidentiality 
program. Authorizes certain notifications to be provided in an electronic form, updates 
references to the Minnesota Crime Victims Reimbursement Program, specifies that notice 
about the right to reimbursement must include information on how to apply, clarifies the right 
of victims to be notified when an offender is charged, and specifies that notice to certain 
victims must include specific resources. Clarifies that the notice provided when an offender is 
a juvenile is supplemental to other notices. 
 
Section 3 includes violations of orders for protection, domestic abuse no contact orders, and 
harassment restraining orders in the list of offenses that require prosecutors to provide victims 
with additional notifications if a prosecutor declines to charge the offense or dismisses the 
charge. 
 
Section 4 requires the custodial authority for an imprisoned person to make a good faith effort 
to notify a victim when the person has submitted a letter of apology if the victim has requested 
such notification. Provides that, upon request, the authority must notify the Board of Pardons, 
the Clemency Review Commission, or a court that the offender has submitted the letter. 
 
Section 5 clarifies that peace officers must orally tell certain victims about shelters and other 
services in addition to providing written notice. Amends the written notice that informs certain 
victims of the right to seek an order for protection. 
 
Section 6 authorizes law enforcement agencies and prosecutors to exhaust the supply of 
existing notices before producing materials that comply with the updated requirements in this 
article relating to victim notification. 
 

Article 8 
Correctional Provisions 

 
Sections 1, 3 to 7, 9 to 30, 48, and 49 make changes to statute to reflect the repeal of 
Minnesota Rules, chapter 2940, in section 51.  Minnesota Statutes, chapter 2940, governs the 
agency’s Hearing and Release Unit (HRU).  The HRU, once an independent entity, was brought 
under the department’s jurisdiction in 2004.  Much of the rule is considered by the agency to 
be either obsolete, duplicative, or already in statute.  
 
Current law provides that the definition of “rule” in Minnesota Statutes, section 14.02, 
subdivision 4, does not include rules of the commissioner of corrections relating to the release, 
placement, term, and supervision of inmates serving a supervised or conditional release term. 
Section 1 expands this to include revocation decisions and also adds references to individuals 
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on work release and parole. The remaining sections replace references to “rules” on these 
matters with “policies” (as adopted by the commissioner). Thus, the DOC would not need to 
adopt formal rules in these matters. 
 
Sections 2 and 37 strike references to Minnesota Statutes, section 244.65, which is being 
repealed in section 51. 
 
Section 8 updates and modernizes language contained in the statute requiring the 
commissioner of corrections to have a policy to provide cultural programming services to 
American Indian incarcerated individuals at state correctional facilities and community-based 
programs. 
 
Sections 31, 35, 38, 39, 42, and 43 streamline the distribution of Tribal Nation supervision 
funding and clarify what these funds can be used for (see summary of section 39 below for 
additional information on other charges made in that section). 
 
Sections 32 to 34, 44, and 45 make community supervision distribution modifications for DOC 
supervised counties. Currently, the DOC sends supervision funding to these counties, then 
bills them back for the services, which  the DOC deems inefficient and time consuming. 
 
Section 36 exempts federal law enforcement officials from the licensing and background 
requirements for individuals who are employed as protective agents to transfer incarcerated 
individuals. 
 
Section 39 makes changes to the community supervision funding formula by requiring the 
felony and misdemeanor per diem rates to be multiplied by the three-year average total felony 
and misdemeanor populations. Under current law the per diem rates are multiplied by the 
felony and misdemeanor populations as reported in the most recent probation survey. 
 
Section 40 requires that all counties share the cost for the interstate transfer unit as the unit 
handles transfers of supervision throughout the state.  Under current law, the cost is borne by 
DOC counties only.  This section requires the commissioner to prorate the cost of the transfer 
unit among all counties, and deduct that amount from each county’s subsidy. 
 
Section 41 clarifies and streamlines certain requirements of the community supervision 
funding report to the legislature and changes it from an annual to a biennial report.  
 
Section 46 expands the membership of the Community Supervision Advisory Council to 
include members of the judicial system and aspires to more diversity in certain commissioner 
appointed members of the council.  
 
Section 47 changes a reporting deadline from January 15, 2025, to May 1, 2025, and corrects a 
statutory reference. 
 
Section 50 extends, until August 1, 2027, the pilot program allowing for the transfer of 
individuals incarcerated in county jails to the Mental Health Unit at MCF-Oak Park Heights for 
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mental health treatment.  The section also strikes the requirement that inmates volunteer for 
program participation, and allows mental health professionals to refer them to the program. 
 
Section 51 repeals provisions considered obsolete by the agency regarding the issuance of 
warrants for escaped inmates or convicted defendants, work release or specialized 
programming for pregnant inmates, and Minnesota Rules, chapter 2940, regarding HRU 
policies. Also repeals statutes that require MCF-Stillwater and MCF-St. Cloud to initiate civil 
commitment proceedings on mentally ill inmates, transfer those to be found mentally ill to the 
Minnesota Security Hospital, and take them back upon restoration of their mental health. 
 

Article 9 
Civil Commitment Coordinating Division 

 
This article establishes the Civil Commitment Coordinating Division, within the Office of the 
Attorney General, and the Transport Hold Work Group.  
 
Section 1 defines terms for purposes of sections 2 and 3.  
 
Section 2 establishes the Civil Commitment Coordinating Division and requires the attorney 
general to appoint a civil commitment coordinator who must maintain the Civil Commitment 
Advisory Committee; provide guidance and advocacy regarding engagement services, 
outpatient civil commitment, and provisional discharge; provide technical assistance to those 
charged with monitoring civilly committed participants; aggregate and analyze data; and 
educate the public. The Civil Commitment Advisory Committee, established by the attorney 
general, must consist of 11 to 20 members, including the attorney general, the chief executive 
officer of Direct Care and Treatment, the commissioner of public safety, a member 
representing district court judges, a member representing district court administrators, a 
member representing counties, a member who was previously civilly committed, and a family 
member of a person currently or previously civilly committed.  
 
Section 3 requires each county to conduct diversion studies, in accordance with uniform 
guidelines set by the civil commitment coordinator, and provide diversion study data and 
narratives to the civil commitment coordinator by October 1, 2027, and every two years 
thereafter. A diversion study must examine the county’s behavioral health system’s capacity 
to divert people who have a mental illness, developmental disability, or chemical use disorder 
away from the criminal justice system and into treatment.  The civil commitment coordinator 
must submit a report to the legislature by April 1, 2028, and every two years thereafter, 
summarizing county-level data related to diversion studies.  
 
Section 4 establishes the Transport Hold Work Group, which consists of members from law 
enforcement, mental health organizations, the legal community, and representatives from 
Direct Care and Treatment, the Department of Human Services, and the Ombudsman for 
Mental Health and Developmental Disabilities. The work group must determine best practices 
and develop policy recommendations related to safely transporting people experiencing a 
mental health crisis. The work group must submit a report to the legislature by February 1, 
2026. The work group expires on February 1, 2026.  
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Article 10  
Courts 

 
This article includes the Judicial Branch’s policy provisions and other provisions related to 
court filing fee exemptions and a reporting requirement for the State Board of Civil Legal Aid.  
 
Section 1 exempts the Office of the Ombudsperson for American Indian Families from paying 
a court filing fee for actions related to child support, medical assistance enforcement, 
establishment of parentage, civil commitment, appointment of a public conservator or 
guardian, the Minnesota Indian Family Preservation Act, delinquency proceedings, and child in 
need of protection or services proceedings. This section also extends court filing fee 
exemptions for federally recognized Indian Tribes to actions filed under chapters 256 (human 
services), 257 (parentage), 518 (marriage dissolution), and sections 524.5-201 to 524.5-317 
(guardianship).  
 
Section 2 requires the State Board of Civil Legal Aid to provide a report, by April 1 in odd-
numbered years, to the legislative committees with jurisdiction over the judiciary regarding 
data related to the cases, individuals, and families served by each grant recipient. A 2024 law 
established the State Board of Civil Legal Aid, effective July 1, 2025.  
 
Sections 3 and 4 allow court filings in any St. Louis County case to be accepted at any St. Louis 
County courthouse. 
 
Section 5 eliminates the statutory two-page limit on Appendix A notices for child support, 
spousal maintenance, custody, and parenting time, ensuring compliance with updated legal 
and digital accessibility requirements.  
 
Section 6 requires conservators to serve annual reports to individuals under conservatorship, 
increasing transparency and accountability. 
 

Article 11  
Data Practices 

 
This article modifies several provisions of chapter 13 (the Minnesota Government Data 
Practices Act) and other provisions governing access to government data.  
 
Section 1 permits a responsible authority to submit private data to the commissioner of 
administration to respond to an appeal related to the accuracy or completeness of public or 
private data about an individual data subject. The commissioner may disclose private data 
contained in the appeal records to the Office of Administrative Hearings. Data maintained by 
the commissioner that a responsible authority has completed, corrected, or destroyed as a 
result of an informal resolution process is private data on individuals.   
 
Section 2 requires government entities to establish procedures to monitor access to private or 
confidential data on individuals.  
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Section 3 classifies all telephone numbers, email addresses, and online account information 
as private data on individuals and permits a government entity to use the data to communicate 
with the individual or to perform health, safety, or welfare functions or provide government 
services. This section also exempts the government entity from providing a notice to the 
individual about how the private data will be used or shared.  
 
Section 4 classifies the name of a library patron who is a minor as private data on individuals 
and exempts the government entity from providing a notice about how the data will be used or 
shared.  
 
Section 5 expands the definition of “public official” for purposes of personnel data privacy. 
Under current law, only the managers, chiefs, heads or directors, and any equivalent position 
employed by a city with a population of more than 7,500 or a county with a population of more 
than 5,000 are defined as public officials. This section makes all managers, chiefs, heads or 
directors, and any equivalent position a public official, regardless of the city or county’s 
population. Under section 13.43, excluding data that would jeopardize an active investigation 
or reveal confidential sources, if the employee is a public official, all data relating to a 
complaint or charge against the public official is public upon the completion of an investigation 
or if the public official resigns or is terminated while the complaint or charge is pending.   
 
Section 6 requires law enforcement agencies and prosecutors to release active criminal 
investigative data related to missing persons cases involving a person who has been missing 
for 20 years. The agency must release the data to the legal representative of the missing 
person’s next of kin as long as the data remains in the custody and control of a licensed 
attorney or licensed private investigator and is used for investigative purposes. 
 
Section 7 requires a law enforcement agency to provide unredacted copies of portable 
recording system data (i.e., “body camera” data) to a person entitled to a collision report. The 
data may only be used to process a claim related to the collision or as evidence in a proceeding 
related to the collision. The agency may deny the request under limited circumstances.  
 
Sections 8 and 12 to 15 modify provisions governing judicial data contained in real property 
records. A 2024 law classified certain judicial data held with government entities as private 
data on individuals. However, the law exempted real property records. These sections remove 
the exemption, classify judicial official data in real property records as private data on 
individuals, and create specific procedures related to the data. The penalties and remedies 
under chapter 13 apply only if the judicial official has provided a real property notice to the 
government entity. If the subject of the data is a spouse, domestic partner, or adult child of the 
judicial official who does not reside with the judicial official, the person must provide 
information confirming their relationship to the judicial official. A judicial official must provide 
a real property notice to the county recorder in the county where the property is located and 
the Office of the Secretary of State.  
 
To affect other real property records, the judicial official must provide the notice to the 
responsible authority for the government entity that maintains the records. Upon receipt of the 
real property notice, a government entity must not disclose the judicial official’s personal 
information without their consent, except pursuant to a court order or for the purpose of 
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administering assessments and taxation laws. The county recorder must establish recording 
procedures that comply with this section.  A county recorder or other government entity must 
process the real property notice within 60 days, unless exigent circumstances exist. The 
disclosure prohibitions apply until the judicial official terminates the real property notice, the 
notice is terminated pursuant to a court order, the judicial official no longer holds a record 
interest in the identified real property, or the judicial official no longer qualifies as a judicial 
official. Pursuant to a court order or with the judicial official’s consent, unredacted property 
records may be provided to certain licensed professionals, a mortgage loan originator, a real 
estate broker, or certain buyers or sellers of real property. A person who receives unredacted 
property information must establish procedures to safeguard the data from further disclosure.  
A county or other government entity may charge service fees. These sections are effective 
January 1, 2026.   
 
Sections 9 and 10 permit state agencies and local governments to reproduce records by any 
method, but they may only reproduce permanent and archival records pursuant to guidance 
from the state archives in consultation with the records disposition panel. Reproduced records 
are admissible in all courts and proceedings.  
 
Section 11 exempts video that does not document actions and circumstances surrounding the 
officer-involved death from a current law requiring the superintendent of the Bureau of Criminal 
Apprehension to publish inactive investigative data for officer-involved death investigations on 
their website. 
 

Article 12  
Minnesota Business Corporation Act 

 
This article amends chapter 302A, the Minnesota Business Corporation Act, by making several 
changes, including addressing procedures in the event of an emergency, providing limitations 
on a board’s authority to manage the corporations, and establishing procedures for ratification 
and validation for defective corporate acts. 
 
Sections 1 to 9 clarify current law definitions or create definitions for new terms for purposes 
of chapter 302A.  
 
Section 10 provides that section 302A.201, a statute that requires that a corporation’s 
business and affairs be managed by the board, governs a corporation unless modified by the 
articles or a shareholder control agreement.  
  
Section 11 provides default requirements for meeting notices, meetings of the board, and 
meetings of shareholders in an emergency.   
 
Section 12 provides that a defective corporate act or putative share is not void or voidable 
solely as a result of a failure to authorize if it is ratified under this section or validated by a court 
proceeding. This section provides the process for a board to ratify a defective corporate act, as 
well as a separate specific process to ratify a defective corporate act in respect to the election 
of the first board of directors.  This section requires that a defective corporate act, other than 
ratifying the election of the first board, must be submitted for approval by the shareholders 
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under certain circumstances and provides a process for submission to the shareholders. This 
section describes the circumstances under which a certificate of validation must be filed with 
the secretary of state and provides requirements for the contents of the certificate.  After the 
validation effective time, ratified defective corporate acts and putative shares are no longer 
void or voidable and are effective retroactively. This section provides timing and content 
requirements for notice to shareholders of ratification of defective corporate act.  
 
Section 13 provides a judicial process to review the ratification and issue potential remedies. 
This section permits the court to consider certain information when making a determination in 
an action related to a ratification and establishes a statute of limitations.   
 
Section 14 permits bylaws to include provisions effective only during an emergency, unless 
articles provide otherwise.   
 
Section 15 permits the articles to limit the board’s powers and, in that event, addresses the 
liabilities of the directors and other natural persons with the responsibilities of the directors.  
 
Section 16 permits a board of directors to ratify an agreement when a certificate must be filed 
with the secretary of state. 
Section 17 permits the articles to limit or eliminate the personal liability of an officer for 
monetary damages for a breach of fiduciary duty during the time the corporation is publicly 
held. 
 
Section 18 permits a shareholder, beneficial owner, or a holder of a voting trust certificate of 
the corporation to petition the court to enforce their right to inspect and collect expenses for 
attorney fees.   
 
Section 19 permits a shareholder to dissent and obtain payment for their shares if the 
corporation diminishes or abolishes the board’s right to manage the corporation.  
 
Section 20 makes a technical change.   
 
Section 21 permits a plan of merger or exchange to include penalties for a party’s failure to 
perform its obligations and that an appointment is irrevocable and unamendable. 
 

Article 13 
 Trusts 

 
This article makes technical, clarifying, and substantive changes to laws governing trusts, trust 
decanting, and probate.  
 
Section 1 provides that for any trust created after the effective date of this section, section 
501A.01 applies to a nonvested property interest or power of appointment contained in the 
trust except that 500 years is substituted for 90 years, unless the terms of the trust provide for 
a lesser period.  
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Section 2 extends the current law permitted use of virtual representation for consent to 
agreements and waivers.   
 
Section 3 clarifies that a power of appointment, regardless of whether it is general or special, 
provides the authority necessary to act on behalf of beneficiaries.   
 
Section 4 makes a technical change.  
 
Section 5 provides that a power of attorney, other than a statutory short form under section 
523.23, that expressly authorizes the agent to consent to a trust’s modification may be used 
only if the trust instrument is silent with respect to consent to the trust’s modification by an 
agent.   
 
Section 6 increases the value to terminate an uneconomic trust from $50,000 to $150,000.   
 
Section 7 provides that a power of attorney, other than a statutory short form under section 
523.23, that expressly authorizes the agent to exercise the settlor’s powers with respect to 
revocation, amendment, or distribution of trust property may be used only if the trust 
instrument is silent with respect to exercise of those powers by an agent.  
Section 8 clarifies that notice may only be used after the settlor’s death. 
 
Section 9 provides a cap of 120 days for a designated trustee to accept trusteeship.  
 
Section 10 modifies the definitions of “directing party,” “distribution trust advisor,” “excluded 
fiduciary,” “fiduciary,” “investment trust advisor,” and “trust protector” for purposes of the 
statute governing directed trusts. Directed trusts are trusts where multiple parties with 
specialized knowledge and powers perform the duties of a trustee.     
 
Section 11 permits the governing instrument to give the investment trust advisor the authority 
to direct, consent to, or veto the exercise of all or any portion of the investment powers of the 
trustee.   
 
Section 12 permits the governing instrument to give the distribution trust advisor the authority 
to direct, consent to, veto, or otherwise exercise all or any portion of the distribution powers 
and discretions of the trustee. The distribution trust advisor has the authority to direct the 
trustee to terminate the trust and determine how the trustee must distribute the trust property.   
 
Section 13 removes the trust protector’s powers to terminate the trust, direct distribution of 
the trust property upon termination, and veto or direct trust distributions.   
 
Section 14 provides that the distribution trust advisor and investment trust advisor are 
fiduciaries of the trust and are subject to the same duties and liabilities as a trustee. The 
governing instrument may vary duties and liabilities but only to the same extent that the duties 
and liabilities could be varied for any other trustee in the same position. A trust protector is not 
a fiduciary unless the governing instrument provides otherwise or grants the trust protector 
with any powers of an investment trust advisor or a distribution trust advisor.   
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Section 15 clarifies that the excluded fiduciary must take reasonable steps to comply with the 
directing party’s exercise of granted powers. A person acting in the role of an excluded fiduciary 
or a directing party is an interested person who may petition the district court and invoke its 
jurisdiction as provided in sections 501C.0201 to 501C.0208.   
 
Section 16 requires the excluded fiduciary to keep the directing party reasonably informed 
regarding the administration of the trust and any specific duties or functions performed by the 
excluded fiduciary.  
 
Section 17 provides that unless a governing instrument provides otherwise, certain rules 
applicable to a trustee apply to a directing party, including acceptance, reasonable 
compensation, resignation, removal, and vacancy.   
 
Section 18 clarifies that the subsequent revocation or amendment of a certificate of trust does 
not affect prior transactions. 
 
Section 19 establishes an affidavit of trustee for personal property transactions that must 
substantially be in the form of the affidavit of trustee for real property transactions.   
 
Section 20 makes a clarifying change.   
 
Section 21 defines “defendant’s estate” for purposes of determining income and expenses 
during the administration of the estate.  
 
Section 22 modifies the definition of “appointed trust.” The appointed trust may be the same 
trust as the invaded trust with modified terms which do not require the appointed trust trustee 
to refer to the trust by a different name or tax identification number.   
 
Section 23 provides that if the exercise of the power to invade trust principal would otherwise 
be effective except that the appointed trust instrument does not comply with section 502.851, 
the exercise of the power is effective and, to the extent necessary to comply with section 
502.851, a provision that is not permitted is void and a provision required to be included is 
deemed to be included.  
 
Section 24 provides that the successor and remainder beneficiaries of the appointed trust 
must be one or more of the successor and remainder beneficiaries of the invaded trust, and 
may be to the exclusion of any one or more of the invaded trust successor and remainder 
beneficiaries.   
 
Section 25 requires the appointed trust beneficiaries to include present and future members 
of a class if the invaded trust beneficiaries are described by class.  
 
Section 26 requires a copy of certain documents related to the exercise of the power and the 
appointed and invaded trusts to be delivered to any person considered to be the owner of all or 
a portion of the appointed trust.  
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Section 27 provides that the appointed trust may divide and reallocate fiduciary powers among 
fiduciaries and relieve a fiduciary from liability for an act or failure to act of another fiduciary. If 
the property of the invaded trust includes shares of an S corporation and the invaded trust is or 
would be a permitted shareholder, the authorized trustee may exercise power with respect to 
the S corporation stock only if the appointed trust receiving the stock is a permitted 
shareholder.   
 
Section 28 removes a clause prohibiting trustee from receiving a commission or compensation 
for the appointing of property from the invaded trust to the appointed trust.   
 
Section 29 amends the probate code to bar a parent from inheriting through a child if the child 
was an adult when they died and there is clear and convincing evidence that: (1) when the child 
was a minor, the parent’s parental rights could have been terminated on the basis of 
abandonment, abuse, or neglect; and (2) during the year before the child’s death, the parent 
and child were estranged.   
 
Section 30 provides that the dissolution or annulment of a marriage revokes any revocable 
disposition, beneficiary designation, appointment of property, or nomination made in a 
governing instrument by the individual to the individual’s former spouse’s family member who 
is not also a family member of the individual.   
 

Article 14 
 Mortgage Foreclosure 

 
This article modifies laws governing mortgage foreclosures.  
 
Section 1 makes clarifying changes to a current law that provides that a lien is created when a 
person with an interest in the land pays delinquent taxes that should have been paid by the 
owner or other party. This section clarifies that the person who pays the delinquent taxes must 
have a legal or equitable interest in the land and must provide a sworn statement and a copy of 
the payment receipt, and that the lien is created from the date of recording of the sworn 
statement.  
 
Sections 2, 3, and 10 permit parties to postpone a foreclosure sale in a judicial foreclosure 
using the same process as a postponement for a foreclosure sale that does not go through a 
judicial process.  
 
Section 4 provides for the use of surplus money after a sheriff’s sale on a foreclosure and 
allows the money to be held and used for the redemption of the property or paid to a junior 
creditor. This section requires the sheriff to notify the owner if there is a surplus after the 
sheriff’s sale and provide the owner with information about redemption and surplus. The owner 
may submit a written request to the sheriff to have the amount from the sheriff’s sale applied 
to the redemption amount. If a surplus is less than $100, the sheriff may pay the amount to the 
owner. If there are competing claims or any claim is not meritorious, the sheriff may petition 
the court to address the claims.  
 
Section 5 makes a technical change to the headnote.  
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Section 6 extends the time creditors have to redeem a mortgage from seven days to 14 days 
after a mortgagor’s redemption period ends. This section also sets a default interest rate of six 
percent if no rate is stated on the certificate of sale and the creditor’s affidavit. If the sheriff 
determines there is a dispute or question of validity, the sheriff may accept the amount 
required to redeem without executing a certificate of redemption and file an action with the 
court to address the issue. A creditor may also commence an action to address the issue. This 
section is effective for redemptions occurring after January 1, 2026.  
 
Section 7 makes clarifying changes to the process for creditors to redeem. This section is 
effective for redemptions occurring after January 1, 2026.  
 
Section 8 terms that must be included in a certificate of redemption and extends the time to 
record the certificate from four days to one week after the redemption. This section is effective 
for redemptions occurring after January 1, 2026.  
 
Section 9 clarifies that a dispute regarding redemption rights or the rights to any surplus may 
be brought in an action under chapter 580 and clarifies how to provide a deposit for that action. 
This section is effective for redemptions occurring after January 1, 2026.  
 
Section 11 clarifies the interest rate by setting a default interest rate of six percent if no rate is 
stated on the certificate of sale. This section is effective for affidavits filed with the sheriff after 
January 1, 2026.  
 
Section 12 clarifies that the date of payment of each allowable costs must be provided on the 
affidavit. This section is effective for affidavits filed with the sheriff after January 1, 2026.  
 
Section 13 provides that if a servicer is required to halt a foreclosure sale upon receipt of a loss 
mitigation application, the servicer may cancel or postpone the sale, but must not conduct the 
sale unless 60 days have passed since the servicer’s final determination that the mortgagor is 
not eligible for a loss mitigation option, the mortgagor fails to accept a loss mitigation offer, or 
the mortgagor declines a loss mitigation offer.  
 

Article 15  
Civil Law 

 
This article modifies laws governing civil marriage, the Statewide Office of Appellate Counsel 
and Training, the rights of a person subject to guardianship, and civil remedies.  
 
Sections 1 removes the requirement that the local registrar report specific personal 
information relating to marriage certificates to the state registrar. Instead, the local registrar 
must report only the number of certificates of marriage registered in a format and with the 
frequency determined by the state registrar.   
 
Sections 2 to 4 provide that the Statewide Office of Appellate Counsel and Training is created 
as an agency within the executive branch and that the governor shall designate one member to 
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serve as the initial chair of the State Board of Appellate Counsel and Training. This section 
makes clarifying and conforming changes.  
 
Section 5 prohibits a person who controls a website, application, software, program, or other 
service that creates, generates, or edits images or videos from allowing a user to access, use, 
or download the website, application, software, program, or other service to nudify an image 
or video.  This section defines nudify as the process by which an image or video is altered to 
reveal an intimate part that is not depicted in the original unaltered image or video of an 
identifiable person and the depiction is so realistic that a reasonable person would believe the 
intimate part belongs to the identifiable individual.   This section permits an individual depicted 
in an image or video that was nudified in violation of this section to bring a civil action for treble 
damages, including damages for mental anguish and suffering, punitive damages, injunctive 
relief, reasonable attorney fees, costs, and disbursements, and other relief the court deems 
equitable and just. The attorney general may enforce this section pursuant to section 8.31. A 
person who violates this section is subject to a civil penalty up to $500,000 for each unlawful 
access, download, or use.  Any civil penalty recovered under this section must be deposited 
into the general fund. On July 1 of each year, the balance of the civil penalties collected in the 
previous year is appropriated to the commissioner of public safety for Office of Justice 
Programs grants to organizations that provide direct services and advocacy for victims of 
sexual assault, general crime, domestic violation, and child abuse. Up to five percent of the 
appropriation is available for grant administration.  
 
Sections 6 and 17 require any person who wishes to officiate a civil marriage to register as a 
civil marriage officiant under a 2023 law, and removes all other requirements or references to 
individuals who are currently authorized to perform civil marriages, including judges and 
licensed or ordained ministers of any religious denominations.  
 
Section 7 no longer requires parties applying for a marriage license to provide the sex of each 
party but requires the parties to provide their dates of birth. This section also clarifies that a 
party who was previously marriage is only required to provide their name from their most recent 
marriage. 
 
Section 8 permits local registrars to examine parties upon oath remotely or accept verified 
statements and civil marriage license applications by mail, facsimile, or electronic filing. 
 
Sections 9 and 10 make clarifying and conforming changes. 
 
Section 11 permits a person to request an amendment of an error in a marriage record directly 
with the local registrar by providing an affidavit and supporting documentation.   
 
Sections 12 and 14 modify a guardian’s ability to restrict communication and visitation for a 
person subject to guardianship. Under current law, a guardian may not restrict the right to 
communication and visitation for a person subject to guardianship unless the guardian has 
good cause to believe that the restriction is necessary because the interaction poses a risk of 
significant physical, psychological, or financial harm to the person subject to guardianship, 
and there is no other means to avoid such significant harm. These sections require the guardian 
to show that the interaction poses an imminent risk of significant harm, and require the 
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guardian to first seek limited restrictions whenever possible. For all restrictions, the guardian 
must notify the court, the person subject to guardianship and their attorney, and the person 
subject to the restriction within 48 hours of imposing the restriction. The notice must include a 
description of the restriction and any limited restrictions attempted. 
 
Section 13 requires the court to make a finding that the petitioner made good faith efforts to 
provide notice to the respondent or respondent's lawyer before appointing an emergency 
guardian without notice to the respondent or respondent’s lawyer. This section also provides 
that the mere fact that the respondent is a patient in a hospital or resident of a facility is not 
alone sufficient to support a risk of substantial harm to the respondent's health, safety, or 
welfare. 
 
Section 15 permits a civil cause of action against: (1) a person who removes a sexually 
protective device and causes contact between the sexual organ from which the sexually 
protective device is removed and the intimate part of another person who did not consent to 
the removal of the condom; or (2) a person who removes a sexually protective device from the 
sexual organ of another person who did not consent to the removal of the sexually protective 
device and causes contact with the person's own intimate part. The section defines “sexually 
protective device” and “intimate part.” The court may award to a prevailing plaintiff the 
following: general damages, special damages, punitive damages, statutory damages up to the 
amount of $10,000, equitable relief, costs, and reasonable attorney fees.  The court must allow 
plaintiffs to make confidential filings. This section is effective August 1, 2025, and applies to 
causes of action accruing on or after that date.  
 
Section 16 creates an order for protection against financial exploitation of a vulnerable adult 
(“order”) and imposes enhanceable criminal penalties for violations of an order. The petition 
for an order may be filed in the county where the petitioner, respondent, or vulnerable adult 
resides.  The filing fees are waived for both parties to the order.  The court must hold a hearing 
within 14 days of receiving the petition unless a temporary ex parte order is issued.  Service 
must be made in the same manner as service for orders for protection under section 518B.01. 
This section also requires service upon the vulnerable adult if the petitioner is not the 
vulnerable adult. If service on the respondent is not possible as provided under section 
518B.01, the petitioner may serve the respondent using the same method used to contact the 
vulnerable adult and provide the court with the reasons why service was not possible under 
section 518B.01.  Unless previously filed, the petitioner must file a maltreatment report within 
24 hours of filing a petition under this section.   
 
The court may consider all relevant factors, including whether there have been other protective 
orders issued, any history of financial exploitation, the vulnerable adult’s capacity to make 
decisions, the vulnerable adult’s susceptibility to undue influence, and the respondent’s 
criminal history.  The court may issue an order if the vulnerable adult is or is in imminent danger 
of becoming a victim of financial exploitation, there is a likelihood of irreparable harm and 
nonavailability of an adequate remedy, the threatened injury to the vulnerable adult outweighs 
the possible harm to the respondent, and an order protects the vulnerable adult’s financial 
security. This section provides specific relief that the court may grant, including prohibiting 
direct or indirect contact, freezing the vulnerable adult’s assets, providing necessary directives 
to law enforcement.  
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Article 16 

Statutory Forms for Garnishment 
 

A 2024 law directed the Attorney General to update statutory forms to conform to the changes 
made to garnishment laws in 2024 (Laws 2024, chapter 114). This article modifies the statutory 
forms used to garnish the wages and bank accounts of a person who has a court ordered 
judgment against them. The forms are also used to claim exemptions, such as wages or money 
in the bank that cannot be garnished, including Social Security benefits or public assistance 
payments. In addition, the forms used to execute a judgment are updated in this article to 
reflect the 2024 changes. The form updates include clarifying, grammatical, and technical 
changes to the forms as well. 
 
This article extends the effective date of the 2024 law requiring the Attorney General to update 
the form to June 1, 2025, and requires the new forms to be available on the state court website 
on or before June 1, 2025.  
 
 
 


