
1.1 Senator .................... moves to amend S.F. No. 942 as follows:​

1.2 Page 1, after line 7, insert:​

1.3 "Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 124D.03, subdivision 12, is amended to read:​

1.4 Subd. 12. Termination of enrollment. A district may terminate the enrollment of a​

1.5 nonresident student enrolled under this section or section 124D.08 at the end of a school​

1.6 year if the student meets the definition of a habitual truant under section 260C.007,​

1.7 subdivision 19, the student has been provided appropriate services under chapter 260A, and​

1.8 the student's case has been referred to juvenile court. A district may also terminate the​

1.9 enrollment of a nonresident student over the age of 17 enrolled under this section if the​

1.10 student is absent without lawful excuse for one or more periods on 15 school days and has​

1.11 not lawfully withdrawn from school under section 120A.22, subdivision 8. Notwithstanding​

1.12 the above, the district may not terminate the enrollment of a nonresident student identified​

1.13 as a child with a disability under section 125A.02, subdivision 1, at the end of a school year​

1.14 if the child's individualized education program team has not been convened within 60 school​

1.15 days prior to the last school day of the school year to address the potential relationship​

1.16 between the child's disability and truancy, including if a functional behavior assessment as​

1.17 defined by Minnesota Rules, part 3525.0210, subpart 22, must be conducted.​

1.18 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 260A.03, is amended to read:​

1.19 260A.03 NOTICE TO PARENT OR GUARDIAN WHEN CHILD IS A​

1.20 CONTINUING TRUANT.​

1.21 Upon a child's initial classification as a continuing truant, the school attendance officer​

1.22 or other designated school official shall notify the child's parent or legal guardian, by​

1.23 first-class mail or other reasonable means, of the following:​

1.24 (1) that the child is truant;​

1.25 (2) that the parent or guardian should notify the school if there is a valid excuse for the​

1.26 child's absences;​

1.27 (3) that the parent or guardian is obligated to compel the attendance of the child at school​

1.28 pursuant to section 120A.22 and parents or guardians who fail to meet this obligation may​

1.29 be subject to prosecution under section 120A.34;​

1.30 (4) that this notification serves as the notification required by section 120A.34;​
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2.1 (5) that alternative educational programs and services may be available in the child's​

2.2 enrolling or resident district;​

2.3 (6) that the parent or guardian has the right to meet with appropriate school personnel​

2.4 to discuss solutions to the child's truancy;​

2.5 (7) that if the child has been identified as a child with a disability under section 125A.02,​

2.6 subdivision 1, the child's individualized education program team will be convened within​

2.7 ten school days of the notice to address the potential relationship between the child's disability​

2.8 and truancy, including if a functional behavior assessment as defined by Minnesota Rules,​

2.9 part 3525.0210, subpart 22, must be conducted;​

2.10 (8) that if the child continues to be truant, the parent and child may be subject to juvenile​

2.11 court proceedings under chapter 260C;​

2.12 (8) (9) that if the child is subject to juvenile court proceedings, the child may be subject​

2.13 to suspension, restriction, or delay of the child's driving privilege pursuant to section​

2.14 260C.201; and​

2.15 (9) (10) that it is recommended that the parent or guardian accompany the child to school​

2.16 and attend classes with the child for one day.​

2.17 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 260A.06, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

2.18 Subdivision 1. Referral; notice. An attendance officer or other school official may refer​

2.19 a student who is a continuing truant to the school attendance review board, provided that​

2.20 the school district has complied with its obligations under section 260A.03, clause (7). The​

2.21 person making the referral shall provide a written notice by first class mail or other reasonable​

2.22 means to the student and the student's parent or legal guardian. The notice must:​

2.23 (1) include the name and address of the board to which the student has been referred​

2.24 and the reason for the referral; and​

2.25 (2) indicate that the student, the parent or legal guardian, and the referring person will​

2.26 meet with the board to determine a proper disposition of the referral, unless the board refers​

2.27 the student directly to the county attorney or for other appropriate legal action."​

2.28 Renumber the sections in sequence and correct the internal references​

2.29 Amend the title accordingly​
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