
1.1 Senator .................... moves to amend S.F. No. 2458 as follows:​

1.2 Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:​

1.3 "ARTICLE 1​

1.4 APPROPRIATIONS​

1.5 Section 1. AGRICULTURE APPROPRIATIONS.​

1.6 The sums shown in the columns marked "Appropriations" are appropriated to the agencies​

1.7 and for the purposes specified in this article. The appropriations are from the general fund,​

1.8 or another named fund, and are available for the fiscal years indicated for each purpose.​

1.9 The figures "2026" and "2027" used in this article mean that the appropriations listed under​

1.10 them are available for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2026, or June 30, 2027, respectively.​

1.11 "The first year" is fiscal year 2026. "The second year" is fiscal year 2027. "The biennium"​

1.12 is fiscal years 2026 and 2027.​

1.13 APPROPRIATIONS​
1.14 Available for the Year​
1.15 Ending June 30​

2027​1.16 2026​

1.17 Sec. 2. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE​

53,476,000​$​53,158,000​$​1.18 Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation​

1.19 Appropriations by Fund​

2027​1.20 2026​

53,077,000​52,759,000​1.21 General​

399,000​399,000​1.22 Remediation​

1.23 The amounts that may be spent for each​

1.24 purpose are specified in the following​

1.25 subdivisions.​

1.26 Subd. 2. Protection Services​

1.27 Appropriations by Fund​

20,008,000​19,504,000​1.28 General​

399,000​399,000​1.29 Remediation​

1.30 (a) $399,000 the first year and $399,000 the​

1.31 second year are from the remediation fund for​

1.32 administrative funding of the voluntary​

1.33 cleanup program.​

1​Article 1 Sec. 2.​
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2.1 (b) $639,000 the first year and $639,000 the​

2.2 second year are for the soil health financial​

2.3 assistance program under Minnesota Statutes,​

2.4 section 17.134. The commissioner may award​

2.5 no more than $50,000 of the appropriation​

2.6 each year to a single recipient.​

2.7 Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section​

2.8 16B.98, subdivision 14, the commissioner may​

2.9 use up to 6.5 percent of this appropriation for​

2.10 costs incurred to administer the program. Any​

2.11 unencumbered balance does not cancel at the​

2.12 end of the first year and is available in the​

2.13 second year. Appropriations encumbered​

2.14 under contract on or before June 30, 2027, for​

2.15 soil health financial assistance grants are​

2.16 available until June 30, 2029.​

2.17 (c) $225,000 the first year and $225,000 the​

2.18 second year are for compensation for​

2.19 destroyed or crippled livestock under​

2.20 Minnesota Statutes, section 3.737. If the​

2.21 amount in the first year is insufficient, the​

2.22 amount in the second year is available in the​

2.23 first year. The commissioner may use up to​

2.24 $5,000 each year to reimburse expenses​

2.25 incurred by university extension educators to​

2.26 provide fair market values of destroyed or​

2.27 crippled livestock. If the commissioner​

2.28 receives federal funding to pay claims for​

2.29 destroyed or crippled livestock, an equivalent​

2.30 amount of this appropriation may be used to​

2.31 reimburse nonlethal prevention methods​

2.32 performed by federal wildlife services staff.​

2.33 (d) $205,000 the first year and $205,000 the​

2.34 second year are for compensation for crop​

2.35 damage under Minnesota Statutes, section​

2​Article 1 Sec. 2.​
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3.1 3.7371. If the amount in the first year is​

3.2 insufficient, the amount in the second year is​

3.3 available in the first year. The commissioner​

3.4 may use up to $10,000 of the appropriation​

3.5 each year to reimburse expenses incurred by​

3.6 the commissioner or the commissioner's​

3.7 approved agent to investigate and resolve​

3.8 claims, as well as for costs associated with​

3.9 training for approved agents. The​

3.10 commissioner may use up to $40,000 of the​

3.11 appropriation each year to make grants to​

3.12 producers for measures to protect stored crops​

3.13 from elk damage. If the commissioner​

3.14 determines that claims made under Minnesota​

3.15 Statutes, section 3.737 or 3.7371, are​

3.16 unusually high, amounts appropriated for​

3.17 either program may be transferred to the​

3.18 appropriation for the other program.​

3.19 (e) $825,000 the first year and $825,000 the​

3.20 second year are to replace capital equipment​

3.21 in the Department of Agriculture's analytical​

3.22 laboratory.​

3.23 (f) $420,000 the first year and $924,000 the​

3.24 second year are to support current services.​

3.25 (g) $150,000 the first year and $150,000 the​

3.26 second year are to coordinate climate-related​

3.27 activities and services within the Department​

3.28 of Agriculture and with counterparts in local,​

3.29 state, and federal agencies and for a full-time​

3.30 climate implementation coordinator. The​

3.31 climate implementation coordinator must​

3.32 coordinate efforts seeking federal funding for​

3.33 Minnesota's agricultural climate adaptation​

3.34 and mitigation efforts and develop strategic​

3​Article 1 Sec. 2.​
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4.1 partnerships with the private sector and​

4.2 nongovernment organizations.​

4.3 (h) $351,000 the first year and $351,000 the​

4.4 second year are for additional meat and poultry​

4.5 inspection services. The base for this​

4.6 appropriation is $450,000 in fiscal year 2028​

4.7 and each year thereafter.​

21,301,000​21,551,000​
4.8 Subd. 3. Agricultural Marketing and​
4.9 Development​

4.10 (a) $634,000 the first year and $634,000 the​

4.11 second year are for the continuation of the​

4.12 dairy development and profitability​

4.13 enhancement program, including dairy​

4.14 profitability teams and dairy business planning​

4.15 grants under Minnesota Statutes, section​

4.16 32D.30.​

4.17 (b) The commissioner may use funds​

4.18 appropriated in this subdivision for annual​

4.19 cost-share payments to resident farmers or​

4.20 entities that sell, process, or package​

4.21 agricultural products in this state for the costs​

4.22 of organic certification. The commissioner​

4.23 may allocate these funds for assistance to​

4.24 persons transitioning from conventional to​

4.25 organic agriculture.​

4.26 (c) $75,000 the first year and $75,000 the​

4.27 second year are for mental health outreach and​

4.28 support to farmers, ranchers, and others in the​

4.29 agricultural community and for farm safety​

4.30 grant and outreach programs under Minnesota​

4.31 Statutes, section 17.1195. Mental health​

4.32 outreach and support may include a 24-hour​

4.33 hotline, stigma reduction, and education.​

4.34 Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section​

4.35 16A.28, any unencumbered balance does not​

4​Article 1 Sec. 2.​
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5.1 cancel at the end of fiscal year 2026 and is​

5.2 available until June 30, 2027. The base for this​

5.3 appropriation $50,000 in fiscal year 2028 and​

5.4 each year thereafter.​

5.5 (d) $16,682,000 the first year and $16,432,000​

5.6 the second year are for the agricultural growth,​

5.7 research, and innovation program under​

5.8 Minnesota Statutes, section 41A.12.​

5.9 (e) Except as provided in paragraph (f), the​

5.10 commissioner may allocate the appropriation​

5.11 in paragraph (d) each year among the​

5.12 following areas: facilitating the startup,​

5.13 modernization, improvement, or expansion of​

5.14 livestock operations, including beginning and​

5.15 transitioning livestock operations with​

5.16 preference given to robotic dairy-milking​

5.17 equipment; assisting value-added agricultural​

5.18 businesses to begin or expand, to access new​

5.19 markets, or to diversify, including aquaponics​

5.20 systems, with preference given to hemp fiber​

5.21 processing equipment; facilitating the startup,​

5.22 modernization, or expansion of other​

5.23 beginning and transitioning farms, including​

5.24 by providing loans under Minnesota Statutes,​

5.25 section 41B.056; sustainable agriculture​

5.26 on-farm research and demonstration; the​

5.27 development or expansion of food hubs and​

5.28 other alternative community-based food​

5.29 distribution systems; enhancing renewable​

5.30 energy infrastructure and use; crop research,​

5.31 including basic and applied turf seed research;​

5.32 Farm Business Management tuition assistance;​

5.33 and good agricultural practices and good​

5.34 handling practices certification assistance.​

5.35 Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section​

5​Article 1 Sec. 2.​
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6.1 16B.98, subdivision 14, the commissioner may​

6.2 use up to 6.5 percent of the appropriation in​

6.3 paragraph (g) for costs incurred to administer​

6.4 the program.​

6.5 (f) Of the amount appropriated for the​

6.6 agricultural growth, research, and innovation​

6.7 program under Minnesota Statutes, section​

6.8 41A.12:​

6.9 (1) $1,000,000 the first year and $1,000,000​

6.10 the second year are for distribution in equal​

6.11 amounts to each of the state's county fairs to​

6.12 preserve and promote Minnesota agriculture;​

6.13 (2) $2,750,000 the first year and $2,750,000​

6.14 the second year are for incentive payments​

6.15 under Minnesota Statutes, sections 41A.16,​

6.16 41A.17, 41A.18, and 41A.20. If this​

6.17 appropriation exceeds the total amount for​

6.18 which all producers are eligible in a fiscal​

6.19 year, the balance of the appropriation is​

6.20 available for other purposes under this​

6.21 paragraph;​

6.22 (3) $2,750,000 the first year and $2,750,000​

6.23 the second year are for grants that enable retail​

6.24 petroleum dispensers, fuel storage tanks, and​

6.25 other equipment to dispense biofuels to the​

6.26 public in accordance with the biofuel​

6.27 replacement goals established under​

6.28 Minnesota Statutes, section 239.7911. A retail​

6.29 petroleum dispenser selling petroleum for use​

6.30 in spark ignition engines for vehicle model​

6.31 years after 2000 is eligible for grant money​

6.32 under this clause if the retail petroleum​

6.33 dispenser has no more than 20 retail petroleum​

6.34 dispensing sites and each site is located in​

6.35 Minnesota. The grant money must be used to​

6​Article 1 Sec. 2.​
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7.1 replace or upgrade equipment that does not​

7.2 have the ability to be certified for E25. A grant​

7.3 award must not exceed 65 percent of the cost​

7.4 of the appropriate technology. A grant award​

7.5 must not exceed $200,000 per station. The​

7.6 commissioner must cooperate with biofuel​

7.7 stakeholders in the implementation of the grant​

7.8 program. The commissioner, in cooperation​

7.9 with any economic or community development​

7.10 financial institution and any other entity with​

7.11 which the commissioner contracts, must​

7.12 submit a report on the biofuels infrastructure​

7.13 financial assistance program by January 15​

7.14 each year to the chairs and ranking minority​

7.15 members of the legislative committees and​

7.16 divisions with jurisdiction over agriculture​

7.17 policy and finance. The annual report must​

7.18 include but not be limited to a summary of the​

7.19 following metrics: (i) the number and types​

7.20 of projects financed; (ii) the amount of dollars​

7.21 leveraged or matched per project; (iii) the​

7.22 geographic distribution of financed projects;​

7.23 (iv) any market expansion associated with​

7.24 upgraded infrastructure; (v) the demographics​

7.25 of the areas served; (vi) the costs of the​

7.26 program; and (vii) the number of grants to​

7.27 minority-owned or female-owned businesses;​

7.28 (4) $250,000 the first year and $250,000 the​

7.29 second year are for grants to facilitate the​

7.30 startup, modernization, or expansion of meat,​

7.31 poultry, egg, and milk processing facilities. A​

7.32 grant award under this clause must not exceed​

7.33 $200,000;​

7.34 (5) $1,444,000 the first year and $1,444,000​

7.35 the second year are for providing more fruits,​

7​Article 1 Sec. 2.​
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8.1 vegetables, meat, poultry, grain, and dairy for​

8.2 children in school and early childhood​

8.3 education settings, including, at the​

8.4 commissioner's discretion, providing grants​

8.5 to reimburse schools and early childhood​

8.6 education and child care providers for​

8.7 purchasing equipment and agricultural​

8.8 products. Of the amount appropriated,​

8.9 $150,000 each year is for a statewide​

8.10 coordinator of farm-to-institution strategy and​

8.11 programming. The coordinator must consult​

8.12 with relevant stakeholders and provide​

8.13 technical assistance and training for​

8.14 participating farmers and eligible grant​

8.15 recipients;​

8.16 (6) $1,200,000 the first year and $1,200,000​

8.17 the second year are for grants to facilitate the​

8.18 development of urban agriculture, including​

8.19 projects related to youth education, community​

8.20 and economic development, value-added​

8.21 processing, and vocational training;​

8.22 (7) $1,000,000 the first year and $1,000,000​

8.23 the second year are for the food retail​

8.24 improvement and development program under​

8.25 Minnesota Statutes, section 17.1017;​

8.26 (8) $200,000 the first year and $200,000 the​

8.27 second year are for cooperative development​

8.28 grants under Minnesota Statutes, section​

8.29 17.1016; and​

8.30 (9) $250,000 the first year is for the protecting​

8.31 livestock grant program for producers to​

8.32 support the installation of measures to prevent​

8.33 the transmission of avian influenza. For the​

8.34 appropriation in this clause, a grant applicant​

8.35 must document a cost-share of 20 percent. An​

8​Article 1 Sec. 2.​
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9.1 applicant's cost-share amount may be reduced​

9.2 up to $2,000 to cover time and labor costs.​

9.3 Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section​

9.4 16B.98, subdivision 14, the commissioner may​

9.5 use up to 6.5 percent of this appropriation for​

9.6 administrative costs. This is a onetime​

9.7 appropriation. Notwithstanding Minnesota​

9.8 Statutes, section 16A.28, this appropriation​

9.9 does not cancel at the end of the first year and​

9.10 is available in the second year.​

9.11 (g) Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes,​

9.12 section 16A.28, the appropriation in paragraph​

9.13 (d) does not cancel at the end of the second​

9.14 year and is available until June 30, 2029.​

9.15 Appropriations encumbered under contract on​

9.16 or before June 30, 2029, for agricultural​

9.17 growth, research, and innovation grants are​

9.18 available until June 30, 2032.​

12,068,000​12,004,000​
9.19 Subd. 4. Administration and Financial​
9.20 Assistance​

9.21 (a) $474,000 the first year and $474,000 the​

9.22 second year are for payments to county and​

9.23 district agricultural societies and associations​

9.24 under Minnesota Statutes, section 38.02,​

9.25 subdivision 1. Aid payments to county and​

9.26 district agricultural societies and associations​

9.27 must be disbursed no later than July 15 each​

9.28 year. These payments are the amount of aid​

9.29 from the state for an annual fair held in the​

9.30 previous calendar year.​

9.31 (b) $300,000 the first year and $300,000 the​

9.32 second year are for grants to the Minnesota​

9.33 Agricultural Education and Leadership​

9.34 Council for programs of the council under​

9.35 Minnesota Statutes, chapter 41D.​

9​Article 1 Sec. 2.​

COUNSEL LP/EO/GC SCS2458A-3​04/01/25 11:57 am ​



10.1 (c) $2,000 the first year is for a grant to the​

10.2 Minnesota State Poultry Association to​

10.3 promote youth poultry programs in Minnesota.​

10.4 This is a onetime appropriation.​

10.5 Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section​

10.6 16A.28, any unencumbered balance does not​

10.7 cancel at the end of the first year and is​

10.8 available in the second year.​

10.9 (d) $18,000 the first year and $18,000 the​

10.10 second year are for grants to the Minnesota​

10.11 Livestock Breeders Association. This is a​

10.12 onetime appropriation.​

10.13 (e) $30,000 the first year and $30,000 the​

10.14 second year are for grants to the Northern​

10.15 Crops Institute that may be used to purchase​

10.16 equipment. This is a onetime appropriation.​

10.17 (f) $35,000 the first year and $35,000 the​

10.18 second year are for grants to the Minnesota​

10.19 State Horticultural Society. This is a onetime​

10.20 appropriation.​

10.21 (g) $25,000 the first year and $25,000 the​

10.22 second year are for grants to the Center for​

10.23 Rural Policy and Development. This is a​

10.24 onetime appropriation.​

10.25 (h) $40,000 the first year and $40,000 the​

10.26 second year are appropriated from the general​

10.27 fund to the commissioner of agriculture for​

10.28 grants to the Minnesota Turf Seed Council for​

10.29 basic and applied research on:​

10.30 (1) the improved production of forage and turf​

10.31 seed related to new and improved varieties;​

10.32 and​

10​Article 1 Sec. 2.​
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11.1 (2) native plants, including plant breeding,​

11.2 nutrient management, pest management,​

11.3 disease management, yield, and viability.​

11.4 The Minnesota Turf Seed Council may​

11.5 subcontract with a qualified third party for​

11.6 some or all of the basic or applied research.​

11.7 Any unencumbered balance does not cancel​

11.8 at the end of the first year and is available in​

11.9 the second year. The Minnesota Turf Seed​

11.10 Council must prepare a report outlining the​

11.11 use of the grant money and related​

11.12 accomplishments. No later than January 15,​

11.13 2025, the council must submit the report to​

11.14 the chairs and ranking minority members of​

11.15 the legislative committees and divisions with​

11.16 jurisdiction over agriculture finance and​

11.17 policy. This is a onetime appropriation.​

11.18 (i) $50,000 the first year and $50,000 the​

11.19 second year are for grants to GreenSeam for​

11.20 assistance to agriculture-related businesses to​

11.21 support business retention and development,​

11.22 business attraction and creation, talent​

11.23 development and attraction, and regional​

11.24 branding and promotion. These are onetime​

11.25 appropriations. No later than December 1,​

11.26 2026, and December 1, 2027, GreenSeam​

11.27 must report to the chairs and ranking minority​

11.28 members of the legislative committees with​

11.29 jurisdiction over agriculture and rural​

11.30 development with information on new and​

11.31 existing businesses supported, number of new​

11.32 jobs created in the region, new educational​

11.33 partnerships and programs supported, and​

11.34 regional branding and promotional efforts.​

11​Article 1 Sec. 2.​
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12.1 (j) $1,000,000 the first year and $1,000,000​

12.2 the second year are to award and administer​

12.3 farm down payment assistance grants under​

12.4 Minnesota Statutes, section 17.133, with​

12.5 priority given to eligible applicants with no​

12.6 more than $100,000 in annual gross farm​

12.7 product sales and eligible applicants who are​

12.8 producers of industrial hemp, cannabis, or one​

12.9 or more of the following specialty crops as​

12.10 defined by the United States Department of​

12.11 Agriculture for purposes of the specialty crop​

12.12 block grant program: fruits and vegetables,​

12.13 tree nuts, dried fruits, medicinal plants,​

12.14 culinary herbs and spices, horticulture crops,​

12.15 floriculture crops, and nursery crops.​

12.16 Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section​

12.17 16A.28, any unencumbered balance at the end​

12.18 of the first year does not cancel and is​

12.19 available in the second year and appropriations​

12.20 encumbered under contract by June 30, 2027,​

12.21 are available until June 30, 2029.​

12.22 (k) $1,700,000 the first year and $1,700,000​

12.23 the second year are for grants to Second​

12.24 Harvest Heartland on behalf of Minnesota's​

12.25 six Feeding America food banks for the​

12.26 following purposes:​

12.27 (1) at least $850,000 each year must be​

12.28 allocated to purchase milk for distribution to​

12.29 Minnesota's food shelves and other charitable​

12.30 organizations that are eligible to receive food​

12.31 from the food banks. Milk purchased under​

12.32 the grants must be acquired from Minnesota​

12.33 milk processors and based on low-cost bids.​

12.34 The milk must be allocated to each Feeding​

12.35 America food bank serving Minnesota​

12​Article 1 Sec. 2.​
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13.1 according to the formula used in the​

13.2 distribution of United States Department of​

13.3 Agriculture commodities under The​

13.4 Emergency Food Assistance Program. Second​

13.5 Harvest Heartland may enter into contracts or​

13.6 agreements with food banks for shared funding​

13.7 or reimbursement of the direct purchase of​

13.8 milk. Each food bank that receives funding​

13.9 under this clause may use up to two percent​

13.10 for administrative expenses. Notwithstanding​

13.11 Minnesota Statutes, section 16A.28, any​

13.12 unencumbered balance the first year does not​

13.13 cancel and is available the second year;​

13.14 (2) to compensate agricultural producers and​

13.15 processors for costs incurred to harvest and​

13.16 package for transfer surplus fruits, vegetables,​

13.17 and other agricultural commodities that would​

13.18 otherwise go unharvested, be discarded, or be​

13.19 sold in a secondary market. Surplus​

13.20 commodities must be distributed statewide to​

13.21 food shelves and other charitable organizations​

13.22 that are eligible to receive food from the food​

13.23 banks. Surplus food acquired under this clause​

13.24 must be from Minnesota producers and​

13.25 processors. Second Harvest Heartland may​

13.26 use up to 15 percent of each grant awarded​

13.27 under this clause for administrative and​

13.28 transportation expenses;​

13.29 (3) to purchase and distribute protein products,​

13.30 including but not limited to pork, poultry, beef,​

13.31 dry legumes, cheese, and eggs to Minnesota's​

13.32 food shelves and other charitable organizations​

13.33 that are eligible to receive food from the food​

13.34 banks. Second Harvest Heartland may use up​

13.35 to two percent of each grant awarded under​

13​Article 1 Sec. 2.​
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14.1 this clause for administrative expenses. Protein​

14.2 products purchased under the grants must be​

14.3 acquired from Minnesota processors and​

14.4 producers; and​

14.5 (4) $500,000 each year is to purchase produce​

14.6 from The Good Acre. Second Harvest​

14.7 Heartland may use up to two percent of​

14.8 funding under this clause for administrative​

14.9 expenses.​

14.10 Second Harvest Heartland must submit​

14.11 quarterly reports to the commissioner and the​

14.12 chairs and ranking minority members of the​

14.13 legislative committees with jurisdiction over​

14.14 agriculture finance in the form prescribed by​

14.15 the commissioner. The reports must include​

14.16 but are not limited to information on the​

14.17 expenditure of funds, the amount of milk or​

14.18 other commodities purchased, and the​

14.19 organizations to which this food was​

14.20 distributed.​

14.21 (l) $260,000 the first year and $260,000 the​

14.22 second year are for a pass-through grant to​

14.23 Region Five Development Commission to​

14.24 provide, in collaboration with Farm Business​

14.25 Management, statewide mental health​

14.26 counseling support to Minnesota farm​

14.27 operators, families, and employees, and​

14.28 individuals who work with Minnesota farmers​

14.29 in a professional capacity. Region Five​

14.30 Development Commission may use up to 6.5​

14.31 percent of the grant awarded under this​

14.32 paragraph for administration.​

14.33 (m) $25,000 the first year and $25,000 the​

14.34 second year are for grants to the Southern​

14.35 Minnesota Initiative Foundation to promote​

14​Article 1 Sec. 2.​
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15.1 local foods through an annual event that raises​

15.2 public awareness of local foods and connects​

15.3 local food producers and processors with​

15.4 potential buyers.​

15.5 (n) $1,000,000 the first year and $1,000,000​

15.6 the second year are for the Emerging Farmers​

15.7 Office to provide services to beginning and​

15.8 emerging farmers to increase connections​

15.9 between farmers and market opportunities​

15.10 throughout the state. This appropriation may​

15.11 be used for grants, translation services,​

15.12 training programs, or other purposes in line​

15.13 with the recommendations of the emerging​

15.14 farmer working group established under​

15.15 Minnesota Statutes, section 17.055,​

15.16 subdivision 1.​

15.17 (o) $137,000 the first year and $203,000 the​

15.18 second year are to support current services.​

15.19 (p) $337,000 the first year and $337,000 the​

15.20 second year are for farm advocate services.​

15.21 Of these amounts, $50,000 the first year and​

15.22 $50,000 the second year are for the​

15.23 continuation of the farmland transition​

15.24 programs and may be used for grants to​

15.25 farmland access teams to provide technical​

15.26 assistance to potential beginning farmers.​

15.27 Farmland access teams must assist existing​

15.28 farmers and beginning farmers with​

15.29 transitioning farm ownership and farm​

15.30 operation. Services provided by teams may​

15.31 include but are not limited to mediation​

15.32 assistance, designing contracts, financial​

15.33 planning, tax preparation, estate planning, and​

15.34 housing assistance.​

15​Article 1 Sec. 2.​
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16.1 (q) $250,000 the first year and $250,000 the​

16.2 second year are for the local food purchasing​

16.3 assistance grant program under article 3,​

16.4 section 43.​

16.5 (r) The commissioner shall continue to​

16.6 increase connections with ethnic minority and​

16.7 immigrant farmers to farming opportunities​

16.8 and farming programs throughout the state.​

6,781,000​$​6,656,000​$​16.9 Sec. 3. BOARD OF ANIMAL HEALTH​

16.10 $246,000 the first year and $371,000 the​

16.11 second year are to maintain the current level​

16.12 of service delivery. The base for this​

16.13 appropriation is $371,000 in fiscal year 2028​

16.14 and each year thereafter.​

4,434,000​$​4,388,000​$​
16.15 Sec. 4. AGRICULTURAL UTILIZATION​
16.16 RESEARCH INSTITUTE​

16.17 $45,000 the first year and $91,000 the second​

16.18 year are to maintain the current level of service​

16.19 delivery. The base for this appropriation is​

16.20 $91,000 in fiscal year 2028 and each year​

16.21 thereafter.​

16.22 Sec. 5. TRANSFERS; ADMINISTRATION.​

16.23 Positions, salary money, and nonsalary administrative money may be transferred within​

16.24 the Department of Agriculture as the commissioner of agriculture considers necessary, with​

16.25 the advanced approval of the commissioner of management and budget. The commissioner​

16.26 of agriculture shall report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative​

16.27 committees with jurisdiction over agriculture finance quarterly about the transfers made​

16.28 under this section.​

16.29 Sec. 6. TRANSFERS.​

16.30 (a) $100,000 in fiscal year 2026 and $100,000 in fiscal year 2027 are transferred from​

16.31 the general fund to the pollinator research account established under Minnesota Statutes,​

16.32 section 18B.051. This transfer is $100,000 in fiscal year 2028 and each year thereafter.​
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17.1 (b) $186,000 in fiscal year 2026 and $186,000 in fiscal year 2027 are transferred from​

17.2 the general fund to the Minnesota grown account and may be used as grants for Minnesota​

17.3 Grown promotion under Minnesota Statutes, section 17.102. Notwithstanding Minnesota​

17.4 Statutes, section 16A.28, the appropriations encumbered under contract on or before June​

17.5 30, 2027, for Minnesota Grown grants in this paragraph are available until June 30, 2029.​

17.6 This transfer is $186,000 in fiscal year 2028 and each year thereafter.​

17.7 (c) $10,477,000 in fiscal year 2026 and $10,477,000 in fiscal year 2027 are transferred​

17.8 from the general fund to the agriculture research, education, extension, and technology​

17.9 transfer account under Minnesota Statutes, section 41A.14, subdivision 3, and the​

17.10 commissioner shall transfer funds each year to the Board of Regents of the University of​

17.11 Minnesota for purposes of Minnesota Statutes, section 41A.14, subdivision 1, clauses (1)​

17.12 and (2), and must supplement and not supplant existing sources and levels of funding. The​

17.13 commissioner may use up to one percent of this transfer for costs incurred to administer​

17.14 this program.​

17.15 (d) Of the amount transferred for the agriculture research, education, extension, and​

17.16 technology transfer grant program under Minnesota Statutes, section 41A.14:​

17.17 (1) $600,000 in fiscal year 2026 and $600,000 in fiscal year 2027 are for the Minnesota​

17.18 Agricultural Experiment Station's agriculture rapid response fund under Minnesota Statutes,​

17.19 section 41A.14, subdivision 1, clause (2);​

17.20 (2) up to $1,000,000 in fiscal year 2026 and up to $1,000,000 in fiscal year 2027 are for​

17.21 research on avian influenza, salmonella, and other turkey-related diseases and disease​

17.22 prevention measures;​

17.23 (3) $2,375,000 in fiscal year 2026 and $2,375,000 in fiscal year 2027 are for grants to​

17.24 the Minnesota Agricultural Educational Leadership Council to enhance agricultural education​

17.25 with priority given to Farm Business Management challenge grants;​

17.26 (4) $350,000 in fiscal year 2026 and $350,000 in fiscal year 2027 are for potato research;​

17.27 (5) $802,000 in fiscal year 2026 and $802,000 in fiscal year 2027 are to fund the Forever​

17.28 Green Initiative and protect Minnesota's natural resources while increasing the efficiency,​

17.29 profitability, and productivity of Minnesota farmers by incorporating perennial and winter​

17.30 annual crops into existing agricultural practices. By February 1 each year, the dean of the​

17.31 College of Food, Agricultural and Natural Resource Sciences must submit a report to the​

17.32 chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over​

17.33 agriculture finance and policy and higher education detailing uses of the money in this​

17.34 clause, including administrative costs, and the achievements this money contributed to;​
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18.1 (6) $200,000 in fiscal year 2026 and $200,000 in fiscal year 2027 are for research on​

18.2 natural strands of wild rice;​

18.3 (7) $250,000 in fiscal year 2026 and $250,000 in fiscal year 2027 are for the cultivated​

18.4 wild rice forward selection project at the North Central Research and Outreach Center,​

18.5 including a tenure track or research associate plant scientist; and​

18.6 (8) $75,000 in fiscal year 2026 and $75,000 in fiscal year 2027 are for grants to the​

18.7 Southwest Minnesota State University Foundation to support the Minnesota Agriculture​

18.8 and Rural Leadership program.​

18.9 The transfer for the agriculture research, education, extension, and technology transfer​

18.10 program is $10,477,000 in fiscal year 2028 and each year thereafter.​

18.11 (e) $1,425,000 in fiscal year 2026 and $1,425,000 in fiscal year 2027 are transferred​

18.12 from the general fund to the agricultural and environmental revolving loan account​

18.13 established under Minnesota Statutes, section 17.117, subdivision 5, for low-interest loans​

18.14 under Minnesota Statutes, section 17.117. This transfer is $1,425,000 in fiscal year 2028​

18.15 and each year thereafter.​

18.16 Sec. 7. FISCAL YEAR 2025 TRANSFER.​

18.17 $1,500,000 in fiscal year 2025 is transferred from the general fund to the agricultural​

18.18 emergency account established under Minnesota Statutes, section 17.041.​

18.19 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

18.20 Sec. 8. CANCELLATIONS; FISCAL YEAR 2025.​

18.21 (a) $3,000,000 of the appropriation in fiscal year 2024 from the general fund for green​

18.22 fertilizer production facilities under Laws 2023, chapter 60, article 10, section 4, is canceled​

18.23 to the general fund by June 30, 2025.​

18.24 (b) $1,500,000 of the appropriation in fiscal year 2025 from the general fund for Dairy​

18.25 Assistance, Investment, Relief Initiative (DAIRI) grants and other forms of financial​

18.26 assistance to Minnesota dairy farms that enroll in coverage under a federal dairy risk​

18.27 protection program and produced no more than 16,000,000 pounds of milk in 2022 under​

18.28 Laws 2024, chapter 126, article 1, section 1, is canceled to the general fund by June 30,​

18.29 2025.​

18.30 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

18​Article 1 Sec. 8.​

COUNSEL LP/EO/GC SCS2458A-3​04/01/25 11:57 am ​



19.1 Sec. 9. Laws 2023, chapter 43, article 1, section 2, subdivision 4, as amended by Laws​

19.2 2024, chapter 126, article 1, section 1, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

38,159,000​
34,034,000​

19.3 Subd. 4. Agriculture, Bioenergy, and Bioproduct​
19.4 Advancement​

19.5 (a) $10,702,000 the first year and $10,702,000​

19.6 the second year are for the agriculture​

19.7 research, education, extension, and technology​

19.8 transfer program under Minnesota Statutes,​

19.9 section 41A.14. Except as provided below,​

19.10 the appropriation each year is for transfer to​

19.11 the agriculture research, education, extension,​

19.12 and technology transfer account under​

19.13 Minnesota Statutes, section 41A.14,​

19.14 subdivision 3, and the commissioner shall​

19.15 transfer funds each year to the Board of​

19.16 Regents of the University of Minnesota for​

19.17 purposes of Minnesota Statutes, section​

19.18 41A.14. To the extent practicable, money​

19.19 expended under Minnesota Statutes, section​

19.20 41A.14, subdivision 1, clauses (1) and (2),​

19.21 must supplement and not supplant existing​

19.22 sources and levels of funding. The​

19.23 commissioner may use up to one percent of​

19.24 this appropriation for costs incurred to​

19.25 administer the program.​

19.26 Of the amount appropriated for the agriculture​

19.27 research, education, extension, and technology​

19.28 transfer grant program under Minnesota​

19.29 Statutes, section 41A.14:​

19.30 (1) $600,000 the first year and $600,000 the​

19.31 second year are for the Minnesota Agricultural​

19.32 Experiment Station's agriculture rapid​

19.33 response fund under Minnesota Statutes,​

19.34 section 41A.14, subdivision 1, clause (2);​
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20.1 (2) up to $1,000,000 the first year and up to​

20.2 $1,000,000 the second year are for research​

20.3 on avian influenza, salmonella, and other​

20.4 turkey-related diseases and disease prevention​

20.5 measures;​

20.6 (3) $2,250,000 the first year and $2,250,000​

20.7 the second year are for grants to the Minnesota​

20.8 Agricultural Education Leadership Council to​

20.9 enhance agricultural education with priority​

20.10 given to Farm Business Management​

20.11 challenge grants;​

20.12 (4) $450,000 the first year is for the cultivated​

20.13 wild rice breeding project at the North Central​

20.14 Research and Outreach Center to include a​

20.15 tenure track/research associate plant breeder;​

20.16 (5) $350,000 the first year and $350,000 the​

20.17 second year are for potato breeding;​

20.18 (6) $802,000 the first year and $802,000 the​

20.19 second year are to fund the Forever Green​

20.20 Initiative and protect the state's natural​

20.21 resources while increasing the efficiency,​

20.22 profitability, and productivity of Minnesota​

20.23 farmers by incorporating perennial and​

20.24 winter-annual crops into existing agricultural​

20.25 practices. The base for the allocation under​

20.26 this clause is $802,000 in fiscal year 2026 and​

20.27 each year thereafter. By February 1 each year,​

20.28 the dean of the College of Food, Agricultural​

20.29 and Natural Resource Sciences must submit​

20.30 a report to the chairs and ranking minority​

20.31 members of the legislative committees with​

20.32 jurisdiction over agriculture finance and policy​

20.33 and higher education detailing uses of the​

20.34 funds in this paragraph, including​
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21.1 administrative costs, and the achievements​

21.2 these funds contributed to;​

21.3 (7) $350,000 each year is for farm-scale winter​

21.4 greenhouse research and development​

21.5 coordinated by University of Minnesota​

21.6 Extension Regional Sustainable Development​

21.7 Partnerships. The allocation in this clause is​

21.8 onetime;​

21.9 (8) $200,000 the second year is for research​

21.10 on natural stands of wild rice; and​

21.11 (9) $250,000 the second year is for the​

21.12 cultivated wild rice forward selection project​

21.13 at the North Central Research and Outreach​

21.14 Center, including a tenure track or research​

21.15 associate plant scientist.​

21.16 (b) The base for the agriculture research,​

21.17 education, extension, and technology transfer​

21.18 program is $10,352,000 in fiscal year 2026​

21.19 and $10,352,000 in fiscal year 2027.​

21.20 (c) $23,332,000 the first year is for the​

21.21 agricultural growth, research, and innovation​

21.22 program under Minnesota Statutes, section​

21.23 41A.12. Except as provided below, the​

21.24 commissioner may allocate this appropriation​

21.25 among the following areas: facilitating the​

21.26 start-up, modernization, improvement, or​

21.27 expansion of livestock operations, including​

21.28 beginning and transitioning livestock​

21.29 operations with preference given to robotic​

21.30 dairy-milking equipment; assisting​

21.31 value-added agricultural businesses to begin​

21.32 or expand, to access new markets, or to​

21.33 diversify, including aquaponics systems, with​

21.34 preference given to hemp fiber processing​
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22.1 equipment; facilitating the start-up,​

22.2 modernization, or expansion of other​

22.3 beginning and transitioning farms, including​

22.4 by providing loans under Minnesota Statutes,​

22.5 section 41B.056; sustainable agriculture​

22.6 on-farm research and demonstration; the​

22.7 development or expansion of food hubs and​

22.8 other alternative community-based food​

22.9 distribution systems; enhancing renewable​

22.10 energy infrastructure and use; crop research,​

22.11 including basic and applied turf seed research;​

22.12 Farm Business Management tuition assistance;​

22.13 and good agricultural practices and good​

22.14 handling practices certification assistance. The​

22.15 commissioner may use up to 6.5 percent of​

22.16 this appropriation for costs incurred to​

22.17 administer the program.​

22.18 Of the amount appropriated for the agricultural​

22.19 growth, research, and innovation program​

22.20 under Minnesota Statutes, section 41A.12:​

22.21 (1) $1,000,000 the first year is for distribution​

22.22 in equal amounts to each of the state's county​

22.23 fairs to preserve and promote Minnesota​

22.24 agriculture;​

22.25 (2) $5,750,000 the first year is for incentive​

22.26 payments under Minnesota Statutes, sections​

22.27 41A.16, 41A.17, 41A.18, and 41A.20.​

22.28 Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section​

22.29 16A.28, the first year appropriation is​

22.30 available until June 30, 2025. If this​

22.31 appropriation exceeds the total amount for​

22.32 which all producers are eligible in a fiscal​

22.33 year, the balance of the appropriation is​

22.34 available for other purposes under this​

22.35 paragraph;​
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23.1 (3) $3,375,000 the first year is for grants that​

23.2 enable retail petroleum dispensers, fuel storage​

23.3 tanks, and other equipment to dispense​

23.4 biofuels to the public in accordance with the​

23.5 biofuel replacement goals established under​

23.6 Minnesota Statutes, section 239.7911. A retail​

23.7 petroleum dispenser selling petroleum for use​

23.8 in spark ignition engines for vehicle model​

23.9 years after 2000 is eligible for grant money​

23.10 under this clause if the retail petroleum​

23.11 dispenser has no more than 10 retail petroleum​

23.12 dispensing sites and each site is located in​

23.13 Minnesota. The grant money must be used to​

23.14 replace or upgrade equipment that does not​

23.15 have the ability to be certified for E25. A grant​

23.16 award must not exceed 65 percent of the cost​

23.17 of the appropriate technology. A grant award​

23.18 must not exceed $200,000 per station. The​

23.19 commissioner must cooperate with biofuel​

23.20 stakeholders in the implementation of the grant​

23.21 program. The commissioner, in cooperation​

23.22 with any economic or community development​

23.23 financial institution and any other entity with​

23.24 which the commissioner contracts, must​

23.25 submit a report on the biofuels infrastructure​

23.26 financial assistance program by January 15 of​

23.27 each year to the chairs and ranking minority​

23.28 members of the legislative committees and​

23.29 divisions with jurisdiction over agriculture​

23.30 policy and finance. The annual report must​

23.31 include but not be limited to a summary of the​

23.32 following metrics: (i) the number and types​

23.33 of projects financed; (ii) the amount of dollars​

23.34 leveraged or matched per project; (iii) the​

23.35 geographic distribution of financed projects;​

23.36 (iv) any market expansion associated with​
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24.1 upgraded infrastructure; (v) the demographics​

24.2 of the areas served; (vi) the costs of the​

24.3 program; and (vii) the number of grants to​

24.4 minority-owned or female-owned businesses;​

24.5 (4) $1,250,000 the first year is for grants to​

24.6 facilitate the start-up, modernization, or​

24.7 expansion of meat, poultry, egg, and milk​

24.8 processing facilities. A grant award under this​

24.9 clause must not exceed $200,000. Any​

24.10 unencumbered balance at the end of the second​

24.11 year does not cancel until June 30, 2026, and​

24.12 may be used for other purposes under this​

24.13 paragraph;​

24.14 (5) $1,150,000 the first year is for providing​

24.15 more fruits, vegetables, meat, poultry, grain,​

24.16 and dairy for children in school and early​

24.17 childhood education settings, including, at the​

24.18 commissioner's discretion, providing grants​

24.19 to reimburse schools and early childhood​

24.20 education and child care providers for​

24.21 purchasing equipment and agricultural​

24.22 products. Organizations must participate in​

24.23 the National School Lunch Program or the​

24.24 Child and Adult Care Food Program to be​

24.25 eligible. Of the amount appropriated, $150,000​

24.26 is for a statewide coordinator of​

24.27 farm-to-institution strategy and programming.​

24.28 The coordinator must consult with relevant​

24.29 stakeholders and provide technical assistance​

24.30 and training for participating farmers and​

24.31 eligible grant recipients;​

24.32 (6) $2,000,000 the first year is for urban youth​

24.33 agricultural education or urban agriculture​

24.34 community development;​
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25.1 (7) $1,000,000 the first year is for the good​

25.2 food access program under Minnesota​

25.3 Statutes, section 17.1017; and​

25.4 (8) $225,000 the first year is to provide grants​

25.5 to secondary career and technical education​

25.6 programs for the purpose of offering​

25.7 instruction in meat cutting and butchery.​

25.8 Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section​

25.9 16B.98, subdivision 14, the commissioner may​

25.10 use up to 6.5 percent of this appropriation for​

25.11 administrative costs. This is a onetime​

25.12 appropriation. Grants may be used for costs,​

25.13 including but not limited to:​

25.14 (i) equipment required for a meat cutting​

25.15 program;​

25.16 (ii) facility renovation to accommodate meat​

25.17 cutting; and​

25.18 (iii) training faculty to teach the fundamentals​

25.19 of meat processing.​

25.20 A grant recipient may be awarded a grant of​

25.21 up to $75,000 and may use up to ten percent​

25.22 of the grant for faculty training. Priority may​

25.23 be given to applicants who are coordinating​

25.24 with meat cutting and butchery programs at​

25.25 Minnesota State Colleges and Universities​

25.26 institutions or with local industry partners.​

25.27 By January 15, 2025, the commissioner must​

25.28 report to the chairs and ranking minority​

25.29 members of the legislative committees with​

25.30 jurisdiction over agriculture finance and​

25.31 education finance by listing the grants made​

25.32 under this paragraph by county and noting the​

25.33 number and amount of grant requests not​

25.34 fulfilled. The report may include additional​
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26.1 information as determined by the​

26.2 commissioner, including but not limited to​

26.3 information regarding the outcomes produced​

26.4 by these grants. If additional grants are​

26.5 awarded under this paragraph that were not​

26.6 covered in the report due by January 15, 2025,​

26.7 the commissioner must submit an additional​

26.8 report to the chairs and ranking minority​

26.9 members of the legislative committees with​

26.10 jurisdiction over agriculture finance and​

26.11 education finance regarding all grants issued​

26.12 under this paragraph by November 1, 2025.​

26.13 Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section​

26.14 16A.28, any unencumbered balance does not​

26.15 cancel at the end of the first year and is​

26.16 available for the second year, and​

26.17 appropriations encumbered under contract on​

26.18 or before June 30, 2025, for agricultural​

26.19 growth, research, and innovation grants are​

26.20 available until June 30, 2028.​

26.21 (d) $27,457,000 the second year is for the​

26.22 agricultural growth, research, and innovation​

26.23 program under Minnesota Statutes, section​

26.24 41A.12. Except as provided below, the​

26.25 commissioner may allocate this appropriation​

26.26 among the following areas: facilitating the​

26.27 start-up, modernization, improvement, or​

26.28 expansion of livestock operations, including​

26.29 beginning and transitioning livestock​

26.30 operations with preference given to robotic​

26.31 dairy-milking equipment; assisting​

26.32 value-added agricultural businesses to begin​

26.33 or expand, to access new markets, or to​

26.34 diversify, including aquaponics systems, with​

26.35 preference given to hemp fiber processing​
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27.1 equipment; facilitating the start-up,​

27.2 modernization, or expansion of other​

27.3 beginning and transitioning farms, including​

27.4 by providing loans under Minnesota Statutes,​

27.5 section 41B.056; sustainable agriculture​

27.6 on-farm research and demonstration; the​

27.7 development or expansion of food hubs and​

27.8 other alternative community-based food​

27.9 distribution systems; enhancing renewable​

27.10 energy infrastructure and use; crop research,​

27.11 including basic and applied turf seed research;​

27.12 Farm Business Management tuition assistance;​

27.13 and good agricultural practices and good​

27.14 handling practices certification assistance. The​

27.15 commissioner may use up to 6.5 percent of​

27.16 this appropriation for costs incurred to​

27.17 administer the program.​

27.18 Of the amount appropriated for the agricultural​

27.19 growth, research, and innovation program​

27.20 under Minnesota Statutes, section 41A.12:​

27.21 (1) $1,000,000 the second year is for​

27.22 distribution in equal amounts to each of the​

27.23 state's county fairs to preserve and promote​

27.24 Minnesota agriculture;​

27.25 (2) $5,750,000 the second year is for incentive​

27.26 payments under Minnesota Statutes, sections​

27.27 41A.16, 41A.17, 41A.18, and 41A.20.​

27.28 Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section​

27.29 16A.28, this appropriation is available until​

27.30 June 30, 2027. If this appropriation exceeds​

27.31 the total amount for which all producers are​

27.32 eligible in a fiscal year, the balance of the​

27.33 appropriation is available for other purposes​

27.34 under this paragraph. The base under this​
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28.1 clause is $3,000,000 in fiscal year 2026 and​

28.2 each year thereafter;​

28.3 (3) $3,375,000 the second year is for grants​

28.4 that enable retail petroleum dispensers, fuel​

28.5 storage tanks, and other equipment to dispense​

28.6 biofuels to the public in accordance with the​

28.7 biofuel replacement goals established under​

28.8 Minnesota Statutes, section 239.7911. A retail​

28.9 petroleum dispenser selling petroleum for use​

28.10 in spark ignition engines for vehicle model​

28.11 years after 2000 is eligible for grant money​

28.12 under this clause if the retail petroleum​

28.13 dispenser has no more than ten retail​

28.14 petroleum dispensing sites and each site is​

28.15 located in Minnesota. The grant money must​

28.16 be used to replace or upgrade equipment that​

28.17 does not have the ability to be certified for​

28.18 E25. A grant award must not exceed 65​

28.19 percent of the cost of the appropriate​

28.20 technology. A grant award must not exceed​

28.21 $200,000 per station. The commissioner must​

28.22 cooperate with biofuel stakeholders in the​

28.23 implementation of the grant program. The​

28.24 commissioner, in cooperation with any​

28.25 economic or community development​

28.26 financial institution and any other entity with​

28.27 which the commissioner contracts, must​

28.28 submit a report on the biofuels infrastructure​

28.29 financial assistance program by January 15 of​

28.30 each year to the chairs and ranking minority​

28.31 members of the legislative committees and​

28.32 divisions with jurisdiction over agriculture​

28.33 policy and finance. The annual report must​

28.34 include but not be limited to a summary of the​

28.35 following metrics: (i) the number and types​

28.36 of projects financed; (ii) the amount of money​
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29.1 leveraged or matched per project; (iii) the​

29.2 geographic distribution of financed projects;​

29.3 (iv) any market expansion associated with​

29.4 upgraded infrastructure; (v) the demographics​

29.5 of the areas served; (vi) the costs of the​

29.6 program; and (vii) the number of grants to​

29.7 minority-owned or female-owned businesses.​

29.8 The base under this clause is $3,000,000 for​

29.9 fiscal year 2026 and each year thereafter;​

29.10 (4) $1,250,000 the second year is for grants​

29.11 to facilitate the start-up, modernization, or​

29.12 expansion of meat, poultry, egg, and milk​

29.13 processing facilities. A grant award under this​

29.14 clause must not exceed $200,000. Any​

29.15 unencumbered balance at the end of the second​

29.16 year does not cancel until June 30, 2027, and​

29.17 may be used for other purposes under this​

29.18 paragraph. The base under this clause is​

29.19 $250,000 in fiscal year 2026 and each year​

29.20 thereafter;​

29.21 (5) $1,275,000 the second year is for providing​

29.22 more fruits, vegetables, meat, poultry, grain,​

29.23 and dairy for children in school and early​

29.24 childhood education settings, including, at the​

29.25 commissioner's discretion, providing grants​

29.26 to reimburse schools and early childhood​

29.27 education and child care providers for​

29.28 purchasing equipment and agricultural​

29.29 products. Organizations must participate in​

29.30 the National School Lunch Program or the​

29.31 Child and Adult Care Food Program to be​

29.32 eligible. Of the amount appropriated, $150,000​

29.33 is for a statewide coordinator of​

29.34 farm-to-institution strategy and programming.​

29.35 The coordinator must consult with relevant​
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30.1 stakeholders and provide technical assistance​

30.2 and training for participating farmers and​

30.3 eligible grant recipients. The base under this​

30.4 clause is $1,294,000 in fiscal year 2026 and​

30.5 each year thereafter;​

30.6 (6) $4,000,000 the second year is for Dairy​

30.7 Assistance, Investment, Relief Initiative​

30.8 (DAIRI) grants and other forms of financial​

30.9 assistance to Minnesota dairy farms that enroll​

30.10 in coverage under a federal dairy risk​

30.11 protection program and produced no more​

30.12 than 16,000,000 pounds of milk in 2022. The​

30.13 commissioner must make DAIRI payments​

30.14 based on the amount of milk produced in​

30.15 2022, up to 5,000,000 pounds per participating​

30.16 farm, at a rate determined by the commissioner​

30.17 within the limits of available funding. Any​

30.18 unencumbered balance on June 30, 2026, may​

30.19 be used for other purposes under this​

30.20 paragraph. The allocation in this clause is​

30.21 onetime;​

30.22 (7) $2,000,000 the second year is for urban​

30.23 youth agricultural education or urban​

30.24 agriculture community development;​

30.25 (8) $1,000,000 the second year is for the good​

30.26 food access program under Minnesota​

30.27 Statutes, section 17.1017; and​

30.28 (9) $225,000 the second year is for the​

30.29 protecting livestock grant program for​

30.30 producers to support the installation of​

30.31 measures to prevent the transmission of avian​

30.32 influenza. For the appropriation in this​

30.33 paragraph, a grant applicant must document​

30.34 a cost-share of 20 percent. An applicant's​

30.35 cost-share amount may be reduced up to​
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31.1 $2,000 to cover time and labor costs.​

31.2 Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section​

31.3 16B.98, subdivision 14, the commissioner may​

31.4 use up to 6.5 percent of this appropriation for​

31.5 administrative costs. This appropriation is​

31.6 available until June 30, 2027. This is a onetime​

31.7 appropriation.​

31.8 (e) Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes,​

31.9 section 16A.28, this the appropriation in​

31.10 paragraph (d) does not cancel at the end of the​

31.11 second year and is available until June 30,​

31.12 2027. Appropriations encumbered under​

31.13 contract on or before June 30, 2027, for​

31.14 agricultural growth, research, and innovation​

31.15 grants are available until June 30, 2030.​

31.16 (e) (f) The base for the agricultural growth,​

31.17 research, and innovation program is​

31.18 $17,582,000 in fiscal year 2026 and each year​

31.19 thereafter and includes $200,000 each year for​

31.20 cooperative development grants.​

31.21 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

31.22 ARTICLE 2​

31.23 BROADBAND​

31.24 Section 1. BROADBAND DEVELOPMENT APPROPRIATIONS.​

31.25 The sums shown in the columns marked "Appropriations" are appropriated to the agencies​

31.26 and for the purposes specified in this article. The appropriations are from the general fund,​

31.27 or another named fund, and are available for the fiscal years indicated for each purpose.​

31.28 The figures "2026" and "2027" used in this article mean that the appropriations listed under​

31.29 them are available for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2026, or June 30, 2027, respectively.​

31.30 "The first year" is fiscal year 2026. "The second year" is fiscal year 2027. "The biennium"​

31.31 is fiscal years 2026 and 2027.​

31.32 APPROPRIATIONS​
31.33 Available for the Year​
31.34 Ending June 30​

2027​31.35 2026​
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1,001,000​$​1,001,000​$​
32.1 Sec. 2. DEPARTMENT OF EMPLOYMENT​
32.2 AND ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT​

32.3 $1,001,000 each year is for the Office of​

32.4 Broadband Development.​

32.5 ARTICLE 3​

32.6 POLICY PROVISIONS​

32.7 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 17.1017, is amended to read:​

32.8 17.1017 GOOD FOOD ACCESS RETAIL IMPROVEMENT AND​

32.9 DEVELOPMENT PROGRAM.​

32.10 Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, unless the language or​

32.11 context indicates that a different meaning is intended, the following terms have the meanings​

32.12 given them.​

32.13 (b) "Account" means the good food access retail improvement and development account​

32.14 established in subdivision 3.​

32.15 (c) "Commissioner" means the commissioner of agriculture.​

32.16 (d) "Economic or community development financial institution (ECDFI)" means a lender,​

32.17 including but not limited to a community development financial institution (CDFI), an​

32.18 economic development district (EDD), a political subdivision of the state, a microenterprise​

32.19 firm, or a nonprofit community lending organization that has previous experience lending​

32.20 to a food retailer, producer, or another healthy food enterprise in an underserved community​

32.21 in a low-income or moderate-income area, as defined in this section; has been in existence​

32.22 and operating prior to January 1, 2014; has demonstrated the ability to raise matching capital​

32.23 and in-kind services to leverage appropriated money; has the demonstrated ability to​

32.24 underwrite loans and grants; and has partnered previously with nonprofit healthy food​

32.25 access, public health, or related governmental departments or community organizations.​

32.26 (e) "Farmers' market" means an association of three or more persons who assemble at​

32.27 a defined location that is open to the public for the purpose of selling directly to the consumer​

32.28 the products of a farm or garden occupied and cultivated by the person selling the product.​

32.29 (f) "Financing" means loans, including low-interest loans, zero-interest loans, forgivable​

32.30 loans, and other types of financial assistance other than grants.​

32.31 (g) "Food hub" means a centrally located facility with a business management structure​

32.32 that facilitates the aggregation, storage, processing, distribution, marketing, and sale of​
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33.1 locally or regionally produced food products, and which may include a small-scale retail​

33.2 grocery operation.​

33.3 (h) "Good Food Access Program Advisory Committee" means the Good Food Access​

33.4 Program Advisory Committee under section 17.1018.​

33.5 (h) "Food Retail Improvement and Development Program Advisory Committee" means​

33.6 the Food Retail Improvement and Development Program Advisory Committee under section​

33.7 17.1018.​

33.8 (i) "Grocery store" means a for-profit, not-for-profit, or cooperative self-service retail​

33.9 establishment that sells primarily meat, fish, seafood, fruits, vegetables, dry groceries, and​

33.10 dairy products and may also sell household products, sundries, and other products. Grocery​

33.11 store includes a supermarket or a large-, mid-, or small-scale retail grocery establishment​

33.12 and may include a mobile food market or a delivery service operation.​

33.13 (j) "Low-income area" means a census tract as reported in the most recently completed​

33.14 decennial census published by the United States Bureau of the Census that has a poverty​

33.15 rate of at least 20 percent or in which the median family income does not exceed 80 percent​

33.16 of the greater of the statewide or metropolitan median family income.​

33.17 (k) "Moderate-income area" means a census tract as reported in the most recently​

33.18 completed decennial census published by the United States Bureau of the Census in which​

33.19 the median family income is between 81 percent and 95 percent of the median family income​

33.20 for that area.​

33.21 (l) "Mobile food market" means a self-contained for-profit, not-for-profit, or cooperative​

33.22 retail grocery operation located in a movable new or renovated truck, bus, or other vehicle​

33.23 that is used to store, prepare, display, and sell primarily meat, fish, seafood, fruits, vegetables,​

33.24 dry groceries, and dairy products and may also be used to sell a nominal supply of cooking​

33.25 utensils and equipment and other household products and sundries.​

33.26 (m) "Program" means the good food access retail improvement and development program​

33.27 established in this section.​

33.28 (n) "Small food retailer" means a small-scale retail food outlet, other than a grocery store​

33.29 as defined in this section. Small food retailer includes, but is not limited to, a corner store,​

33.30 convenience store, farmers' market, mobile food market, and a retail food outlet operated​

33.31 by an emergency food program or food hub.​

33.32 (o) "Technical assistance" means needs-based project assistance provided through the​

33.33 program, including sustainability-focused individualized guidance, presentations, workshops,​
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34.1 trainings, printed materials, mentorship opportunities, peer-to-peer opportunities, or other​

34.2 guidance and resources on relevant topics such as business planning, sales projections, cash​

34.3 flow, succession planning, financing, fundraising, marketing, food preparation​

34.4 demonstrations, and workforce training.​

34.5 (p) "Underserved community" means a census tract that is federally designated as a food​

34.6 desert by the United States Department of Agriculture, or a census tract in a low-income or​

34.7 moderate-income area that includes a substantial subpopulation such as the elderly or the​

34.8 disabled that has low supermarket access, regardless of distance, due to lack of transportation​

34.9 geographic area or group of people whose food access needs are not met by existing retail​

34.10 options, including a low-income and moderate-income area, a census tract that is federally​

34.11 designated as a food desert by the United States Department of Agriculture, an area where​

34.12 there is a limited number of grocery stores, or a group of people with particular needs such​

34.13 as the aging population, people with disabilities, or people with special dietary needs or​

34.14 preferences, or as otherwise defined by the commissioner.​

34.15 Subd. 2. Program established. (a) A good food access retail improvement and​

34.16 development program is established within the Department of Agriculture to increase the​

34.17 availability of and access to affordable, nutritious, and culturally appropriate food, including​

34.18 fresh fruits and vegetables, for underserved communities in low-income and moderate-income​

34.19 areas by providing financial support and sustainable public-private projects to open, renovate,​

34.20 or expand the operations of grocery stores and small food retailers; expanding access to​

34.21 credit and reducing barriers to investment in underserved communities in low- and​

34.22 moderate-income areas; and to provide technical assistance, primarily for small food retailers​

34.23 with demonstrated need, to increase availability and sustainable sales of affordable, nutritious,​

34.24 and culturally appropriate food, including fresh fruits and vegetables, to underserved​

34.25 communities in low-income and moderate-income areas. The commissioner, in cooperation​

34.26 with public and private partners, shall establish and implement the program as provided in​

34.27 this section.​

34.28 (b) The good food access retail improvement and development program shall be​

34.29 comprised of state or private grants, loans, or other types of financial and technical assistance​

34.30 for the establishment, construction, expansion of operations, or renovation of grocery stores​

34.31 and small food retailers to increase the availability of and access to affordable fresh produce​

34.32 and other nutritious, culturally appropriate food to underserved communities in low-income​

34.33 and moderate-income areas.​

34.34 Subd. 3. Good Food access retail improvement and development account. A good​

34.35 food access retail improvement and development account is established in the agricultural​
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35.1 fund. The account consists of money appropriated by the legislature to the commissioner,​

35.2 as provided by law, and any other money donated, allotted, transferred, or otherwise provided​

35.3 to the account. Money in the account, including interest, is appropriated to the commissioner​

35.4 for the purposes of this section, and shall be used, to the extent practicable, to leverage other​

35.5 forms of public and private financing or financial assistance for the projects.​

35.6 Subd. 4. Program administration. (a) The commissioner shall be the administrator of​

35.7 the account for auditing purposes and shall establish program requirements and a competitive​

35.8 process for projects applying for financial and technical assistance.​

35.9 (b) The commissioner may receive money or other assets from any source, including​

35.10 but not limited to philanthropic foundations and financial investors, for deposit into the​

35.11 account.​

35.12 (c) Through issuance of requests for proposals, the commissioner may contract with one​

35.13 or more qualified economic or community development financial institutions to manage​

35.14 the financing component of the program and with one or more qualified organizations or​

35.15 public agencies with financial or other program-related expertise to manage the provision​

35.16 of technical assistance to project grantees.​

35.17 (d) Money in the account at the close of each fiscal year shall remain in the account and​

35.18 shall not cancel. In each biennium, the commissioner shall determine the appropriate​

35.19 proportion of money to be allocated to loans, grants, technical assistance, and any other​

35.20 types of financial assistance.​

35.21 (e) To encourage public-private, cross-sector collaboration and investment in the account​

35.22 and program and to ensure that the program intent is maintained throughout implementation,​

35.23 the commissioner shall convene and maintain the Good Food Access Retail Improvement​

35.24 and Development Program Advisory Committee.​

35.25 (f) The commissioner, in cooperation with the Good Food Access Retail Improvement​

35.26 and Development Program Advisory Committee, shall manage the program, establish​

35.27 program criteria, facilitate leveraging of additional public and private investment, and​

35.28 promote the program statewide.​

35.29 (g) The commissioner, in cooperation with the Good Food Access Retail Improvement​

35.30 and Development Program Advisory Committee, shall establish annual monitoring and​

35.31 accountability mechanisms for all projects receiving financing or other financial or technical​

35.32 assistance through this program.​
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36.1 Subd. 5. Eligible projects. (a) The commissioner, in cooperation with the program​

36.2 partners and advisers, shall establish project eligibility guidelines and application processes​

36.3 to be used to review and select project applicants for financing or other financial or technical​

36.4 assistance. All projects must be located in serve an underserved community or must serve​

36.5 primarily underserved communities in low-income and moderate-income areas.​

36.6 (b) Projects eligible for financing include, but are not limited to, new construction,​

36.7 renovations, expansions of operations, and infrastructure upgrades of grocery stores and​

36.8 small food retailers to improve the availability of and access to affordable, nutritious food,​

36.9 including fresh fruits and vegetables, and build capacity in areas of greatest need.​

36.10 (c) Projects eligible for other types of financial assistance such as grants or technical​

36.11 assistance are primarily projects throughout the state, including, but not limited to, feasibility​

36.12 studies, new construction, renovations, expansion of operations, and infrastructure upgrades​

36.13 of small food retailers.​

36.14 Subd. 6. Qualifications for receipt of financing and other financial or technical​

36.15 assistance. (a) An applicant for receipt of financing through an economic or community​

36.16 development financial institution, or an applicant for a grant or other financial or technical​

36.17 assistance, may be a for-profit or not-for-profit entity, including, but not limited to, a sole​

36.18 proprietorship, limited liability company, corporation, cooperative, nonprofit organization,​

36.19 or nonprofit community development organization. Each applicant must:​

36.20 (1) demonstrate community engagement in and support for the project;​

36.21 (2) demonstrate the capacity to successfully implement the project;​

36.22 (3) demonstrate a viable plan for long-term sustainability, including the ability to increase​

36.23 the availability of and access to affordable, nutritious, and culturally appropriate food,​

36.24 including fresh fruits and vegetables, for underserved communities in low-income and​

36.25 moderate-income areas; and​

36.26 (4) demonstrate the ability to repay the debt, to the extent that the financing requires​

36.27 repayment.​

36.28 (b) Each applicant must also agree to comply with the following conditions for a period​

36.29 of at least five years, except as otherwise specified in this section:​

36.30 (1) accept Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) benefits;​

36.31 (2) allocate at least 30 percent of retail space for the sale of affordable, nutritious, and​

36.32 culturally appropriate foods, including fruits and vegetables, low-fat and nonfat dairy,​

36.33 fortified dairy substitute beverages such as soy-based or nut-based dairy substitute beverages,​
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37.1 whole grain-rich staple foods, meats, poultry, fish, seafood, and other proteins, consistent​

37.2 with nutrition standards in national guidelines described in the current United States​

37.3 Department of Agriculture Dietary Guidelines for Americans; and​

37.4 (3) comply with all data collection and reporting requirements established by the​

37.5 commissioner; and.​

37.6 (4) promote the hiring, training, and retention of local or regional residents from​

37.7 low-income and moderate-income areas that reflect area demographics, including​

37.8 communities of color.​

37.9 (c) A selected project that is a small food retailer is not subject to the allocation agreement​

37.10 under paragraph (b), clause (2), and may use financing, grants, or other financial or technical​

37.11 assistance for refrigeration, displays, or onetime capital expenditures for the promotion and​

37.12 sale of perishable foods, including a combination of affordable, nutritious, and culturally​

37.13 appropriate fresh or frozen dairy, dairy substitute products, produce, meats, poultry, and​

37.14 fish, consistent with nutrition standards in national guidelines described in the current United​

37.15 States Department of Agriculture Dietary Guidelines for Americans.​

37.16 Subd. 7. Additional selection criteria. In determining which qualified projects to​

37.17 finance, and in determining which qualified projects to provide with grants or other types​

37.18 of financial or technical assistance, the commissioner, in cooperation with any entities with​

37.19 which the commissioner contracts for those purposes and the Good Food Access Retail​

37.20 Improvement and Development Program Advisory Committee, shall may also consider:​

37.21 (1) the level of need in the area to be served;​

37.22 (2) the degree to which the project requires an investment of public support, or technical​

37.23 assistance where applicable, to move forward, build capacity, create community impact, or​

37.24 be competitive;​

37.25 (3) the likelihood that the project will have positive economic and health impacts on the​

37.26 underserved community, including creation and retention of jobs for local or regional​

37.27 residents from low-income and moderate-income areas that reflect area demographics,​

37.28 including Indigenous communities and communities of color;​

37.29 (4) the degree to which the project will participate in state and local health department​

37.30 initiatives to educate consumers on nutrition, promote healthy eating and healthy weight,​

37.31 and support locally grown food products through programs such as Minnesota Grown; and​

37.32 (5) any other criteria that the commissioner, in cooperation with public and private​

37.33 partners, determines to be consistent with the purposes of this chapter.​
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38.1 Subd. 8. Eligible costs. Financing for project loans, including low-interest, zero-interest,​

38.2 and forgivable loans, grants, and other financial or technical assistance, may be used to​

38.3 support one or more of the following purposes:​

38.4 (1) site acquisition and preparation;​

38.5 (2) predevelopment costs, including but not limited to feasibility studies, market studies,​

38.6 and appraisals;​

38.7 (3) construction and build-out costs;​

38.8 (4) equipment and furnishings;​

38.9 (5) workforce or retailer training; and​

38.10 (6) working capital.​

38.11 Subd. 9. Legislative report. The commissioner, in cooperation with any economic or​

38.12 community development financial institution and any other entity with which it contracts,​

38.13 shall submit an annual report on the good food access program by January 15 of each year​

38.14 to the chairs and ranking minority members of the house of representatives and senate​

38.15 committees and divisions with jurisdiction over agriculture policy and finance. The annual​

38.16 report shall include, but not be limited to, a summary of the following metrics:​

38.17 (1) the number and types of projects financed;​

38.18 (2) the amount of dollars leveraged or matched per project;​

38.19 (3) the geographic distribution of financed projects;​

38.20 (4) the number and types of technical assistance recipients;​

38.21 (5) any market or commodity expansion associated with increased access;​

38.22 (6) (5) the demographics of the areas served;​

38.23 (7) (6) the costs of the program;​

38.24 (8) (7) the number of SNAP and WIC dollars spent;​

38.25 (9) (8) any increase in retail square footage;​

38.26 (10) (9) the number of loans or grants to minority-owned or female-owned businesses​

38.27 businesses owned by women and Black, Indigenous, or Persons of Color; and​

38.28 (11) (10) measurable economic and health outcomes, including, but not limited to,​

38.29 increases in sales and consumption of locally sourced and other fresh fruits and vegetables,​
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39.1 the number of construction and retail jobs retained or created, and any health initiatives​

39.2 associated with the program.​

39.3 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 17.1018, is amended to read:​

39.4 17.1018 GOOD FOOD ACCESS RETAIL IMPROVEMENT AND​

39.5 DEVELOPMENT PROGRAM ADVISORY COMMITTEE.​

39.6 Subdivision 1. Definitions. As used in this section, the following terms have the meanings​

39.7 given them:​

39.8 (1) "program" means the good food access program under section 17.1017; and​

39.9 (2) "commissioner" means the commissioner of agriculture.​

39.10 Subd. 2. Creation. The Good Food Access Retail Improvement and Development​

39.11 Program Advisory Committee consists of the following members, appointed by the​

39.12 commissioner of agriculture, unless otherwise specified:​

39.13 (1) the commissioners of health,; employment and economic development,; and human​

39.14 services children, youth, and families, or their respective designees;​

39.15 (2) one person representing the grocery industry;​

39.16 (3) two people representing economic or community development, one rural member​

39.17 and one urban or suburban member;​

39.18 (4) two people representing political subdivisions of the state;​

39.19 (5) one person designated by the Council for Minnesotans of African Heritage;​

39.20 (6) one person designated by the Minnesota Indian Affairs Council;​

39.21 (7) one person designated by the Council on Asian Pacific Minnesotans;​

39.22 (8) one person designated by the Chicano Latino Affairs Council on Latino Affairs;​

39.23 (9) one person designated by the Minnesota Farmers Union;​

39.24 (10) one person representing public health experts;​

39.25 (11) one person representing philanthropic foundations;​

39.26 (12) one person representing economic or community development financial institutions;​

39.27 (13) one person representing the University of Minnesota Regional Sustainable​

39.28 Development Partnerships;​
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40.1 (14) two people representing organizations engaged in addressing food security, one​

40.2 representative from a statewide hunger relief organization and one from a community-based​

40.3 organization;​

40.4 (15) one person representing immigrant farmer-led organizations;​

40.5 (16) one person representing small business technical assistance with experience in food​

40.6 retail; and​

40.7 (17) up to four additional members with economic development, health equity, financial,​

40.8 or other relevant expertise.​

40.9 At least half of the members must reside in or their organizations must serve rural​

40.10 Minnesota. The commissioner may remove members and fill vacancies as provided in​

40.11 section 15.059, subdivision 4.​

40.12 Subd. 3. Duties. The advisory committee must advise the commissioner of agriculture​

40.13 on managing the program, establishing program criteria, establishing project eligibility​

40.14 guidelines, establishing application processes and additional selection criteria, establishing​

40.15 annual monitoring and accountability mechanisms, facilitating leveraging of additional​

40.16 public and private investments, and promoting the program statewide.​

40.17 Subd. 4. Meetings. The commissioner must convene the advisory committee at least​

40.18 two times per year to achieve the committee's duties.​

40.19 Subd. 5. Administrative support. The commissioner of agriculture must provide staffing,​

40.20 meeting space, and administrative services for the advisory committee.​

40.21 Subd. 6. Chair. The commissioner of agriculture or the commissioner's designee shall​

40.22 serve as chair of the committee.​

40.23 Subd. 7. Compensation. The public members of the advisory committee serve without​

40.24 compensation or payment of expenses.​

40.25 Subd. 8. Expiration. The advisory committee does not expire.​

40.26 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 17.117, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

40.27 Subdivision 1. Purpose. The purpose of the agriculture best management practices loan​

40.28 program is to provide low or no interest financing to farmers, agriculture supply businesses,​

40.29 rural landowners, and water-quality cooperatives for the implementation of agriculture and​

40.30 other best management practices that reduce environmental pollution.​
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41.1 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 17.117, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

41.2 Subd. 3. Appropriations. Up to $140,000,000 $280,000,000 of the balance in the clean​

41.3 water revolving fund in section 446A.07, as determined by the Public Facilities Authority,​

41.4 is appropriated to the commissioner for the establishment of this program. In addition, the​

41.5 commissioner may receive appropriations from the legislature and grants or funds from​

41.6 other sources for implementation of the program.​

41.7 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 17.118, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

41.8 Subdivision 1. Establishment. The commissioner may award a livestock investment​

41.9 grant to a person an eligible applicant who raises livestock in this state equal to ten percent​

41.10 of the first $500,000 of qualifying expenditures, provided the person makes qualifying​

41.11 expenditures of at least $4,000 50 percent of the first $20,000 of qualifying expenditures​

41.12 and 20 percent of the next $200,000 of qualifying expenditures. A project funded by a grant​

41.13 under this program may continue for up to three years. The commissioner may award​

41.14 multiple livestock investment grants to a person over the life of the program and shall give​

41.15 preference to applicants who have not previously received a grant under this section.​

41.16 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 17.118, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

41.17 Subd. 2. Definitions. (a) For the purposes of this section, the terms defined in this​

41.18 subdivision have the meanings given them.​

41.19 (b) "Livestock" means animals raised for the production of fiber, meat, and animal​

41.20 by-products for sale or as breeding stock, including but not limited to beef cattle, dairy​

41.21 cattle, swine, poultry, goats, mules, farmed Cervidae, Ratitae, bison, sheep, horses,​

41.22 aquaculture, and llamas.​

41.23 (c) "Qualifying expenditures" means the amount spent for:​

41.24 (1) the acquisition, construction, or improvement of buildings or facilities for the​

41.25 production of livestock or livestock products;​

41.26 (2) the development of pasture for use by livestock including, but not limited to, the​

41.27 acquisition, development, or improvement of:​

41.28 (i) lanes used by livestock that connect pastures to a central location;​

41.29 (ii) watering systems for livestock on pasture including water lines, booster pumps, and​

41.30 well installations;​

41.31 (iii) livestock stream crossing stabilization; and​
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42.1 (iv) fences; or​

42.2 (3) the acquisition of equipment for livestock housing, confinement, feeding, and waste​

42.3 management including, but not limited to, the following:​

42.4 (i) freestall barns;​

42.5 (ii) watering facilities;​

42.6 (iii) feed storage and handling equipment;​

42.7 (iv) milking parlors;​

42.8 (v) robotic equipment;​

42.9 (vi) scales;​

42.10 (vii) milk storage and cooling facilities;​

42.11 (viii) bulk tanks;​

42.12 (ix) computer hardware and software and associated equipment used to monitor the​

42.13 productivity and feeding of livestock;​

42.14 (x) manure pumping and storage facilities;​

42.15 (xi) swine farrowing facilities;​

42.16 (xii) swine and cattle finishing barns;​

42.17 (xiii) calving facilities;​

42.18 (xiv) digesters;​

42.19 (xv) equipment used to produce energy;​

42.20 (xvi) on-farm processing facilities equipment;​

42.21 (xvii) fences, including but not limited to farmed Cervidae perimeter fences required​

42.22 under section 35.155, subdivision 4; and​

42.23 (xviii) livestock pens and corrals and sorting, restraining, and loading chutes.​

42.24 Except for qualifying pasture development expenditures under clause (2), qualifying​

42.25 expenditures only include amounts that are allowed to be capitalized and deducted under​

42.26 either section 167 or 179 of the Internal Revenue Code in computing federal taxable income.​

42.27 Qualifying expenditures do not include an amount paid to refinance existing debt.​
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43.1 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 17.118, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

43.2 Subd. 3. Eligibility. To be eligible for a livestock investment grant, a person an applicant​

43.3 must:​

43.4 (1) be a resident of Minnesota, a unit of Tribal government, or an entity specifically​

43.5 defined in section 500.24, subdivision 2, that is eligible to own farmland and operate a farm​

43.6 in this state under section 500.24;​

43.7 (2) be the principal operator of the farm;​

43.8 (3) hold a feedlot registration, if required; and​

43.9 (4) apply to the commissioner on forms prescribed by the commissioner including a​

43.10 statement of the qualifying expenditures made during the qualifying period along with any​

43.11 proof or other documentation the commissioner may require.​

43.12 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 17.133, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

43.13 Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have​

43.14 the meanings given.​

43.15 (b) "Eligible farmer" means an individual who at the time that the grant is awarded:​

43.16 (1) is a resident of Minnesota who intends to acquire farmland located within the state​

43.17 and provide the majority of the day-to-day physical labor and management of the farm;​

43.18 (2) grosses no more than $250,000 per year from the sale of farm products;​

43.19 (3) has not, and whose spouse has not, at any time had a direct or indirect ownership​

43.20 interest in farmland; and​

43.21 (4) is not, and whose spouse is not, related by blood or marriage to an owner a family​

43.22 member of the owner of the farmland that the individual intends to acquire. "Family member"​

43.23 has the meaning given in section 267(c)(4) of the Internal Revenue Code.​

43.24 (c) "Farm down payment" means an initial, partial payment required by a lender or seller​

43.25 to purchase farmland.​

43.26 (d) "Incubator farm" means a farm where:​

43.27 (1) individuals are given temporary, exclusive, and affordable access to small parcels​

43.28 of land, infrastructure, and often training, for the purpose of honing skills and launching a​

43.29 farm business; and​
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44.1 (2) a majority of the individuals farming the small parcels of land grow industrial hemp,​

44.2 cannabis, or one or more of the following specialty crops as defined by the United States​

44.3 Department of Agriculture for purposes of the specialty crop block grant program: fruits​

44.4 and vegetables, tree nuts, dried fruits, medicinal plants, culinary herbs and spices, horticulture​

44.5 crops, floriculture crops, and nursery crops.​

44.6 (e) "Limited land access" means farming without ownership of land and:​

44.7 (1) the individual or the individual's child rents or leases the land, with the term of each​

44.8 rental or lease agreement not exceeding three years in duration, from a person who is not​

44.9 related to the individual or the individual's spouse by blood or marriage; or​

44.10 (2) the individual rents the land from an incubator farm.​

44.11 (f) "Limited market access" means the individual has gross sales of no more than​

44.12 $100,000 per year from the sale of farm products.​

44.13 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 18B.26, subdivision 8, is amended to read:​

44.14 Subd. 8. PFAS prohibitions. (a) Beginning January 1, 2026, the commissioner may not​

44.15 register a cleaning product in the categories listed in section 116.943, subdivision 5, paragraph​

44.16 (a), if the product contains intentionally added PFAS unless the commissioner determines​

44.17 that the use of PFAS is a currently unavoidable use.​

44.18 (b) Beginning January 1, 2032, the commissioner may not register a pesticide product​

44.19 that contains intentionally added PFAS unless the commissioner determines that the use of​

44.20 PFAS is a currently unavoidable use.​

44.21 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 18C.111, is amended by adding a subdivision​

44.22 to read:​

44.23 Subd. 6. Fertilizers and fertilizer by-products. The commissioner may coordinate the​

44.24 protection of public health and the environment from the unreasonable adverse effects of​

44.25 fertilizers and fertilizer by-products among state agencies and local governments and may​

44.26 assist other state agencies and local governments in providing such protection.​

44.27 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 32D.01, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

44.28 read:​

44.29 Subd. 12a. Milk marketer. "Milk marketer" means any person who collects or procures​

44.30 milk from dairy producers in Minnesota or markets milk on behalf of Minnesota dairy​

44.31 producers. Milk marketer does not include:​
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45.1 (1) a person who only brokers a contract between a milk producer and a milk contractor​

45.2 but does not become a party to the contract, take control of the milk, or accept payment on​

45.3 behalf of the milk producer; or​

45.4 (2) a person who only buys or sells milk on a board of trade or commodity exchange.​

45.5 Sec. 12. [32D.31] MILK MARKETING LICENSE.​

45.6 Subdivision 1. License requirement and eligibility. A current milk marketing license​

45.7 is required for any milk marketer. Before a milk marketing license is issued, the commissioner​

45.8 must determine that the applicant meets the relevant licensing requirements.​

45.9 Subd. 2. Application. An applicant for a milk marketing license must apply on a form​

45.10 provided by the commissioner. An applicant must also submit:​

45.11 (1) a report of the total milk payroll obligations that the applicant incurred during the​

45.12 applicant's last completed fiscal year. If the applicant has not yet operated as a milk marketer​

45.13 in Minnesota, the applicant shall estimate the total milk payroll obligations that the applicant​

45.14 will incur during the applicant's first complete fiscal year;​

45.15 (2) a report of any milk payroll obligations to dairy producers that were unpaid during​

45.16 the applicant's last completed fiscal year and the payroll amount; and​

45.17 (3) the total amount of hundredweights procured, collected, or marketed from Minnesota​

45.18 milk producers during the applicant's last completed fiscal year.​

45.19 Subd. 3. Term of license; transferability. A milk marketing license issued by the​

45.20 commissioner expires on December 31 of each year, must be renewed annually, and is not​

45.21 transferable.​

45.22 Subd. 4. Fees and penalties. (a) The fee for a milk marketing license is calculated based​

45.23 on the value of milk procured or collected from December 1 through November 30 prior to​

45.24 the license expiration date as follows:​

45.25 (1) $100 for an initial license;​

45.26 (2) $100 annually for a license renewal for persons procuring or collecting 700,000​

45.27 pounds of milk or less in the preceding 12 months; or​

45.28 (3) $250 annually for a license renewal for persons procuring or collecting more than​

45.29 700,000 pounds of milk in the proceeding 12 months.​

45.30 (b) The fee must be paid to the commissioner before the commissioner issues an initial​

45.31 or renewal license. If a person has not applied for a milk marketing license renewal before​
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46.1 January 1, a late fee of $100 must be imposed. After January 1, 2026, any person who​

46.2 requires a milk marketing license and conducts activities subject to licensing within 365​

46.3 days prior to obtaining a milk marketing license must pay a penalty of $250 to receive the​

46.4 person's initial license.​

46.5 Subd. 5. License requirements. An applicant for a milk marketing license must:​

46.6 (1) complete monthly procurement payments under section 32D.11, if applicable;​

46.7 (2) provide, upon request of the commissioner, a list of dairy producers from whom the​

46.8 applicant collects milk;​

46.9 (3) provide dairy field service as described in section 32D.02, subdivision 6;​

46.10 (4) submit associated farm inspection fees as required under sections 32D.06 and 32D.08;​

46.11 (5) provide, upon the request of the commissioner, a financial statement to demonstrate​

46.12 that sufficient financial resources are available to satisfy payroll obligations for milk that​

46.13 is procured or collected from Minnesota dairy producers; and​

46.14 (6) satisfy all contractual payments and agreements made with any Minnesota dairy​

46.15 producer that maintains a permit or certification as required under section 32D.05 or 32D.07.​

46.16 A person's failure to pay dairy producers in accordance with contracts may result in the​

46.17 revocation or suspension of the person's milk marketing license.​

46.18 Subd. 6. Permit requirement. (a) A person conducting the following activities must​

46.19 hold a valid milk marketing permit:​

46.20 (1) any activities subject to a milk marketing license; or​

46.21 (2) if the person is a Minnesota milk producer, marketing milk on the producer's own​

46.22 behalf.​

46.23 (b) An applicant must apply for a milk marketing permit on a form provided by the​

46.24 commissioner. A milk marketing permit must be issued to an applicant in conjunction with​

46.25 the initial license issued and must contain a milk marketing permit number. An applicant​

46.26 for a milk marketing permit must not be required to pay a fee to the commissioner when​

46.27 applying. A milk marketing permit is valid if the holder of the permit maintains a current​

46.28 milk marketing license or continues to market the permit holder's own milk, with no renewals​

46.29 required.​
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47.1 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 35.155, subdivision 12, is amended to read:​

47.2 Subd. 12. Importation. (a) A person must not import live Cervidae into the state from​

47.3 a state or province where chronic wasting disease has been detected in the farmed or wild​

47.4 cervid population in the last five years unless the animal has tested not detected for chronic​

47.5 wasting disease with a validated live-animal test.​

47.6 (b) Live Cervidae or Cervidae semen must originate from a herd that has been subject​

47.7 to a state-, federal-, or provincial-approved chronic wasting disease herd certification program​

47.8 and that has reached a status equivalent to the highest certification.​

47.9 (c) Cervidae imported in violation of this section may be seized and destroyed by the​

47.10 commissioner of natural resources.​

47.11 (d) This subdivision does not apply to the interstate transfer of animals between two​

47.12 facilities accredited by the Association of Zoos and Aquariums.​

47.13 (e) Notwithstanding this subdivision, the commissioner of natural resources may issue​

47.14 a permit allowing the importation of orphaned wild cervid species that are not susceptible​

47.15 to chronic wasting disease from another state to an Association of Zoos and Aquariums​

47.16 accredited institution in Minnesota following a joint risk-based assessment conducted by​

47.17 the commissioner and the institution.​

47.18 (f) Notwithstanding this subdivision, the state veterinarian may issue a permit to a zoo​

47.19 that is a United States Department of Agriculture-licensed exhibitor of regulated animals​

47.20 to import live Cervidae from another state if the Cervidae are part of a herd that is:​

47.21 (1) in the United States Department of Agriculture Herd Certification program; or​

47.22 (2) subject to similar equivalent disease surveillance at the discretion of the state​

47.23 veterinarian.​

47.24 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 41A.09, subdivision 2a, is amended to read:​

47.25 Subd. 2a. Definitions. For the purposes of this section, the terms defined in this​

47.26 subdivision have the meanings given them.​

47.27 (a) "Ethanol" means fermentation ethyl alcohol derived from agricultural products,​

47.28 including potatoes, cereal grains, cheese whey, and sugar beets; forest products; or other​

47.29 renewable resources, including residue and waste generated from the production, processing,​

47.30 and marketing of agricultural products, forest products, and other renewable resources, that:​

47.31 (1) meets all of the specifications in ASTM specification D4806-04a D4806-21a; and​
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48.1 (2) is denatured as specified in Code of Federal Regulations, title 27, parts 20 and 21.​

48.2 (b) "Ethanol plant" means a plant at which ethanol is produced.​

48.3 (c) "Commissioner" means the commissioner of agriculture.​

48.4 (d) "Rural economic infrastructure" means the development of activities that will enhance​

48.5 the value of agricultural crop or livestock commodities or by-products or waste from farming​

48.6 operations through new and improved value-added conversion processes and technologies,​

48.7 the development of more timely and efficient infrastructure delivery systems, and the​

48.8 enhancement of marketing opportunities. "Rural economic infrastructure" also means land,​

48.9 buildings, structures, fixtures, and improvements located or to be located in Minnesota and​

48.10 used or operated primarily for the processing or the support of production of marketable​

48.11 products from agricultural commodities or wind energy produced in Minnesota.​

48.12 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 41A.16, subdivision 7, is amended to read:​

48.13 Subd. 7. Eligibility for participants after April 1, 2023. (a) A facility eligible for​

48.14 payment under this section must source at least 80 percent raw materials from Minnesota.​

48.15 If a facility is sited 50 miles or less from the state border, raw materials may be sourced​

48.16 from within a 100-mile radius. Raw materials must be from agricultural or forestry sources​

48.17 or from solid waste. The facility must be located in Minnesota, must begin production at a​

48.18 specific location after April 1, 2023, and before June 30, 2025, and must not begin operating​

48.19 above 23,750 MMbtu of quarterly advanced biofuel production before July 1, 2015. Eligible​

48.20 facilities include existing companies and facilities that are adding advanced biofuel​

48.21 production capacity, or retrofitting existing capacity, as well as new companies and facilities.​

48.22 Production of conventional corn ethanol and conventional biodiesel is not eligible. Eligible​

48.23 advanced biofuel facilities must produce at least 23,750 MMbtu of biofuel quarterly.​

48.24 (b) No payments shall be made for advanced biofuel production that occurs after June​

48.25 30, 2035, for those eligible biofuel producers under paragraph (a).​

48.26 (c) An eligible producer of advanced biofuel shall not transfer the producer's eligibility​

48.27 for payments under this section to an advanced biofuel facility at a different location.​

48.28 (d) A producer that ceases production for any reason is ineligible to receive payments​

48.29 under this section until the producer resumes production.​

48.30 (e) Renewable chemical production for which payment has been received under section​

48.31 41A.17, and biomass thermal production for which payment has been received under section​

48.32 41A.18, are not eligible for payment under this section.​
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49.1 (f) Biobutanol is eligible under this section.​

49.2 Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 41A.30, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

49.3 Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have​

49.4 the meanings given.​

49.5 (b) "Aircraft" has the meaning given in section 296A.01, subdivision 3.​

49.6 (c) "Aviation gasoline" has the meaning given in section 296A.01, subdivision 7.​

49.7 (d) "Commissioner" means the commissioner of agriculture.​

49.8 (e) "Jet fuel" has the meaning given in section 296A.01, subdivision 8.​

49.9 (f) "Qualifying taxpayer" means a taxpayer, as defined in section 290.01, subdivision​

49.10 6, that is engaged in the business of:​

49.11 (1) producing sustainable aviation fuel; or​

49.12 (2) blending sustainable aviation fuel with aviation gasoline or jet fuel.​

49.13 (g) "Sustainable aviation fuel" means liquid fuel that:​

49.14 (1) is derived from:​

49.15 (i) biomass, as defined in section 41A.15, subdivision 2e;​

49.16 (ii) gaseous carbon oxides produced from biomass or direct air capture; or​

49.17 (iii) green electrolytic hydrogen;​

49.18 (2) is not derived from palm fatty acid distillates; and​

49.19 (3) achieves at least a 50 percent life cycle greenhouse gas emissions reduction in​

49.20 comparison with petroleum-based aviation gasoline, aviation turbine fuel, and jet fuel as​

49.21 determined by a test that shows:​

49.22 (i) that the fuel production pathway achieves at least a 50 percent life cycle greenhouse​

49.23 gas emissions reduction in comparison with petroleum-based aviation gasoline, aviation​

49.24 turbine fuel, and jet fuel utilizing the most recent version of Argonne National Laboratory's​

49.25 Greenhouse Gases, Regulated Emissions, and Energy Use in Technologies (GREET) model​

49.26 that accounts for reduced emissions throughout the fuel production process; or​

49.27 (ii) that the fuel production pathway achieves at least a 50 percent reduction of the​

49.28 aggregate attributional core life cycle emissions and the positive induced land use change​

49.29 values under the life cycle methodology for sustainable aviation fuels adopted by the​

49.30 International Civil Aviation Organization with the agreement of the United States.​
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50.1 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective retroactively for taxable years beginning​

50.2 after December 31, 2023, for sustainable aviation fuel sold after June 30, 2024.​

50.3 Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 41B.039, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

50.4 Subd. 2. State participation. The state may participate in a new real estate loan with​

50.5 an eligible lender to a beginning farmer to the extent of 45 percent of the principal amount​

50.6 of the loan or. Individual loans must be no less than $50,000 and no more than $500,000,​

50.7 whichever is less. The interest rates and repayment terms of the authority's participation​

50.8 interest may be different than the interest rates and repayment terms of the lender's retained​

50.9 portion of the loan.​

50.10 Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 41B.0391, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

50.11 Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have​

50.12 the meanings given.​

50.13 (b) "Agricultural assets" means agricultural land, livestock, facilities, buildings, and​

50.14 machinery used for farming in Minnesota.​

50.15 (c) "Beginning farmer" means an individual who, a single-member limited liability​

50.16 company owned by one individual, or a limited liability company owned by two individuals​

50.17 who are family members. Each individual must:​

50.18 (1) is be a resident of Minnesota;​

50.19 (2) is be seeking entry, or has have entered within the last ten years, into farming;​

50.20 (3) intends intend to farm land located within the state borders of Minnesota;​

50.21 (4) except as provided in subdivision 2, paragraph (f), is not and whose spouse is not​

50.22 not be, nor may their spouse be, a family member of the owner of the agricultural assets​

50.23 from whom the beginning farmer is seeking to purchase or rent agricultural assets;​

50.24 (5) except as provided in subdivision 2, paragraph (f), is not and whose spouse is not​

50.25 not be, nor may their spouse be, a family member of a partner, member, shareholder, or​

50.26 trustee of the owner of agricultural assets from whom the beginning farmer is seeking to​

50.27 purchase or rent agricultural assets; and​

50.28 (6) meets meet the following eligibility requirements as determined by the authority:​

50.29 (i) has a net worth that does not exceed the limit provided under section 41B.03,​

50.30 subdivision 3, paragraph (a), clause (2);​
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51.1 (ii) provides the majority of the day-to-day physical labor and management of the farm;​

51.2 (iii) has, by the judgment of the authority, adequate farming experience or demonstrates​

51.3 knowledge in the type of farming for which the beginning farmer seeks assistance from the​

51.4 authority;​

51.5 (iv) demonstrates to the authority a profit potential by submitting projected earnings​

51.6 statements;​

51.7 (v) asserts to the satisfaction of the authority that farming will be a significant source​

51.8 of income for the beginning farmer;​

51.9 (vi) is enrolled in or has completed within ten years of their first year of farming a​

51.10 financial management program approved by the authority or the commissioner of agriculture;​

51.11 (vii) agrees to notify the authority if the beginning farmer no longer meets the eligibility​

51.12 requirements within the three-year certification period, in which case the beginning farmer​

51.13 is no longer eligible for credits under this section; and​

51.14 (viii) has other qualifications as specified by the authority.​

51.15 The authority may waive the requirement in item (vi) if the participant requests a waiver​

51.16 and has a four-year degree in an agricultural program or related field, reasonable agricultural​

51.17 job-related experience, or certification as an adult farm management instructor.​

51.18 (d) "Emerging farmer" means an emerging farmer within the meaning of section 17.055,​

51.19 subdivision 1.​

51.20 (e) (d) "Family member" means a family member within the meaning of the Internal​

51.21 Revenue Code, section 267(c)(4).​

51.22 (f) (e) "Farm product" means plants and animals useful to humans and includes, but is​

51.23 not limited to, forage and sod crops, oilseeds, grain and feed crops, dairy and dairy products,​

51.24 poultry and poultry products, livestock, fruits, and vegetables.​

51.25 (g) (f) "Farming" means the active use, management, and operation of real and personal​

51.26 property for the production of a farm product.​

51.27 (g) "Limited land access farmer" means a farmer experiencing limited land access as​

51.28 defined in section 17.133, subdivision 1.​

51.29 (h) "Owner of agricultural assets" means an individual, trust, or pass-through entity that​

51.30 is the owner in fee of agricultural land or has legal title to any other agricultural asset. Owner​

51.31 of agricultural assets does not mean an equipment dealer, livestock dealer defined in section​

51.32 17A.03, subdivision 7, or comparable entity that is engaged in the business of selling​
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52.1 agricultural assets for profit and that is not engaged in farming as its primary business​

52.2 activity. An owner of agricultural assets approved and certified by the authority under​

52.3 subdivision 4 must notify the authority if the owner no longer meets the definition in this​

52.4 paragraph within the three year certification period and is then no longer eligible for credits​

52.5 under this section.​

52.6 (i) "Resident" has the meaning given in section 290.01, subdivision 7.​

52.7 (j) "Share rent agreement" means a rental agreement in which the principal consideration​

52.8 given to the owner of agricultural assets is a predetermined portion of the production of​

52.9 farm products produced from the rented agricultural assets and which provides for sharing​

52.10 production costs or risk of loss, or both.​

52.11 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for taxable years beginning after December​

52.12 31, 2024.​

52.13 Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 41B.0391, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

52.14 Subd. 2. Tax credit for owners of agricultural assets. (a) An owner of agricultural​

52.15 assets may take a credit against the tax due under chapter 290 for the sale or rental of​

52.16 agricultural assets to a beginning farmer in the amount allocated by the authority under​

52.17 subdivision 4. An owner of agricultural assets is eligible for allocation of a credit equal to:​

52.18 (1) eight percent of the lesser of the sale price or the fair market value of the agricultural​

52.19 asset, up to a maximum of $50,000;​

52.20 (2) ten percent of the gross rental income in each of the first, second, and third years of​

52.21 a rental agreement, up to a maximum of $7,000 per year; or​

52.22 (3) 15 percent of the cash equivalent of the gross rental income in each of the first,​

52.23 second, and third years of a share rent agreement, up to a maximum of $10,000 per year.​

52.24 (b) A qualifying rental agreement includes cash rent of agricultural assets or a share rent​

52.25 agreement. The agricultural asset must be rented at prevailing community rates as determined​

52.26 by the authority.​

52.27 (c) The credit may be claimed only after approval and certification by the authority, and​

52.28 is limited to the amount stated on the certificate issued under subdivision 4. An owner of​

52.29 agricultural assets must apply to the authority for certification and allocation of a credit, in​

52.30 a form and manner prescribed by the authority. Applications for credits allowed under​

52.31 paragraph (a), clause (1), are due by November 1, 2025, and each year thereafter.​
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53.1 Applications for credits allowed under paragraph (a), clauses (2) and (3), are due by July​

53.2 1, 2025, and each year thereafter.​

53.3 (d) An owner of agricultural assets or beginning farmer may terminate a rental agreement,​

53.4 including a share rent agreement, for reasonable cause upon approval of the authority. If a​

53.5 rental agreement is terminated without the fault of the owner of agricultural assets, the tax​

53.6 credits shall not be retroactively disallowed. In determining reasonable cause, the authority​

53.7 must look at which party was at fault in the termination of the agreement. If the authority​

53.8 determines the owner of agricultural assets did not have reasonable cause, the owner of​

53.9 agricultural assets must repay all credits received as a result of the rental agreement to the​

53.10 commissioner of revenue. The repayment is additional income tax for the taxable year in​

53.11 which the authority makes its decision or when a final adjudication under subdivision 5,​

53.12 paragraph (a), is made, whichever is later.​

53.13 (e) The credit is limited to the liability for tax as computed under chapter 290 for the​

53.14 taxable year. If the amount of the credit determined under this section for any taxable year​

53.15 exceeds this limitation, the excess is a beginning farmer incentive credit carryover according​

53.16 to section 290.06, subdivision 37.​

53.17 (f) For purposes of the credit for the sale of agricultural land only, the family member​

53.18 definitional exclusions in subdivision 1, paragraph (c), clauses (4) and (5), do not apply.​

53.19 For a sale to a family member to qualify for the credit, the sales price of the agricultural​

53.20 land must equal or exceed the assessed value of the land as of the date of the sale. For​

53.21 purposes of this paragraph, "sale to a family member" means a sale to a beginning farmer​

53.22 in which the beginning farmer or the beginning farmer's spouse is a family member of:​

53.23 (1) the owner of the agricultural land; or​

53.24 (2) a partner, member, shareholder, or trustee of the owner of the agricultural land.​

53.25 (g) For a sale to an emerging a limited land access farmer, the credit rate under paragraph​

53.26 (a), clause (1), is twelve percent rather than eight percent.​

53.27 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for taxable years beginning after December​

53.28 31, 2024.​

53.29 Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 41B.0391, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

53.30 Subd. 4. Authority duties. (a) The authority shall:​

53.31 (1) approve and certify or recertify beginning farmers as eligible for the program under​

53.32 this section;​
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54.1 (2) approve and certify or recertify owners of agricultural assets as eligible for the tax​

54.2 credit under subdivision 2 subject to the allocation limits in paragraph (c);​

54.3 (3) provide necessary and reasonable assistance and support to beginning farmers for​

54.4 qualification and participation in financial management programs approved by the authority;​

54.5 (4) refer beginning farmers to agencies and organizations that may provide additional​

54.6 pertinent information and assistance; and​

54.7 (5) notwithstanding section 41B.211, the Rural Finance Authority must share information​

54.8 with the commissioner of revenue to the extent necessary to administer provisions under​

54.9 this subdivision and section 290.06, subdivisions 37 and 38. The Rural Finance Authority​

54.10 must annually notify the commissioner of revenue of approval and certification or​

54.11 recertification of beginning farmers and owners of agricultural assets under this section.​

54.12 For credits under subdivision 2, the notification must include the amount of credit approved​

54.13 by the authority and stated on the credit certificate.​

54.14 (b) The certification of a beginning farmer or an owner of agricultural assets under this​

54.15 section is valid for the year of the certification and the two following years, after which​

54.16 time the beginning farmer or owner of agricultural assets must apply to the authority for​

54.17 recertification.​

54.18 (c) For credits for owners of agricultural assets allowed under subdivision 2, the authority​

54.19 must not allocate more than $6,500,000 for taxable years beginning after December 31,​

54.20 2022, and before January 1, 2024, and $4,000,000 for taxable years beginning after December​

54.21 31, 2023. The authority must allocate credits on a first-come, first-served basis beginning​

54.22 on January 1 of each year, except that recertifications for the second and third years of​

54.23 credits under subdivision 2, paragraph (a), clauses (1) and (2), have first priority. Any​

54.24 amount authorized but not allocated for taxable years ending before January 1, 2023, is​

54.25 canceled and is not allocated for future taxable years. For taxable years beginning after​

54.26 December 31, 2022, any amount authorized but not allocated in any taxable year does not​

54.27 cancel and is added to the allocation for the next taxable year. For each taxable year, 50​

54.28 percent of newly allocated credits must be allocated to emerging farmers. Any portion of a​

54.29 taxable year's newly allocated credits that is reserved for emerging farmers that is not​

54.30 allocated by September 30 June 1 of the taxable year is available for allocation to other​

54.31 credit allocations beginning on October 1 June 2.​

54.32 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for taxable years beginning after December​

54.33 31, 2024.​
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55.1 Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 41B.0391, subdivision 6, is amended to read:​

55.2 Subd. 6. Report to legislature. (a) No later than February 1, 2024, the Rural Finance​

55.3 Authority, in consultation with the commissioner of revenue, must provide a report to the​

55.4 chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees having jurisdiction over​

55.5 agriculture, economic development, rural development, and taxes, in compliance with​

55.6 sections 3.195 and 3.197, on the beginning farmer tax credits under this section issued in​

55.7 tax years beginning after December 31, 2017, and before January 1, 2024.​

55.8 (b) The report must include background information on beginning farmers in Minnesota​

55.9 and any other information the commissioner and authority find relevant to evaluating the​

55.10 effect of the credits on increasing opportunities for and the number of beginning farmers.​

55.11 (c) For credits issued under subdivision 2, paragraph (a), clauses (1) to (3), the report​

55.12 must include:​

55.13 (1) the number and amount of credits issued under each clause;​

55.14 (2) the geographic distribution of credits issued under each clause;​

55.15 (3) the type of agricultural assets for which credits were issued under clause (1);​

55.16 (4) the number and geographic distribution of beginning farmers whose purchase or​

55.17 rental of assets resulted in credits for the seller or owner of the asset;​

55.18 (5) the number and amount of credits disallowed under subdivision 2, paragraph (d);​

55.19 and​

55.20 (6) data on the number of beginning farmers by geographic region in calendar years​

55.21 2017 through 2023, including:​

55.22 (i) the number of beginning farmers by race and ethnicity, as those terms are applied in​

55.23 the 2020 United States Census; and​

55.24 (ii) to the extent available, the number of beginning farmers who are emerging limited​

55.25 land access farmers; and.​

55.26 (7) the number and amount of credit applications that exceeded the allocation available​

55.27 in each year.​

55.28 (d) For credits issued under subdivision 3, the report must include:​

55.29 (1) the number and amount of credits issued;​

55.30 (2) the geographic distribution of credits;​
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56.1 (3) a listing and description of each approved financial management program for which​

56.2 credits were issued; and​

56.3 (4) a description of the approval procedure for financial management programs not on​

56.4 the list maintained by the authority, as provided in subdivision 3, paragraph (a).​

56.5 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for reports due for credits issued for​

56.6 taxable years beginning after December 31, 2024.​

56.7 Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 41B.04, subdivision 8, is amended to read:​

56.8 Subd. 8. State participation. With respect to loans that are eligible for restructuring​

56.9 under sections 41B.01 to 41B.23 and upon acceptance by the authority, the authority shall​

56.10 enter into a participation agreement or other financial arrangement whereby it shall participate​

56.11 in a restructured loan to the extent of 45 percent of the primary principal or. Individual loans​

56.12 must be no less than $50,000 and no more than $625,000, whichever is less. The authority's​

56.13 portion of the loan must be protected during the authority's participation by the first mortgage​

56.14 held by the eligible lender to the extent of its participation in the loan.​

56.15 Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 41B.042, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

56.16 Subd. 4. Participation limit; interest. The authority may participate in new​

56.17 seller-sponsored loans to the extent of 45 percent of the principal amount of the loan or.​

56.18 Individual loans must be no less than $50,000 and no more than $500,000, whichever is​

56.19 less. The interest rates and repayment terms of the authority's participation interest may be​

56.20 different than the interest rates and repayment terms of the seller's retained portion of the​

56.21 loan.​

56.22 Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 41B.043, subdivision 1b, is amended to read:​

56.23 Subd. 1b. Loan participation. The authority may participate in an agricultural​

56.24 improvement loan with an eligible lender to a farmer who meets the requirements of section​

56.25 41B.03, subdivision 1, clauses (1) and (2), and who is actively engaged in farming.​

56.26 Participation is limited to 45 percent of the principal amount of the loan or. Individual loans​

56.27 must be no less than $50,000 and no more than $500,000, whichever is less. The interest​

56.28 rates and repayment terms of the authority's participation interest may be different than the​

56.29 interest rates and repayment terms of the lender's retained portion of the loan.​
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57.1 Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 41B.045, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

57.2 Subd. 2. Loan participation. The authority may participate in a livestock expansion​

57.3 and modernization loan with an eligible lender to a livestock farmer who meets the​

57.4 requirements of section 41B.03, subdivision 1, clauses (1) and (2), and who are actively​

57.5 engaged in a livestock operation. A prospective borrower must have a total net worth,​

57.6 including assets and liabilities of the borrower's spouse and dependents, of less than​

57.7 $1,700,000 in 2017 and an amount in subsequent years which is adjusted for inflation by​

57.8 multiplying that amount by the cumulative inflation rate as determined by the United States​

57.9 All-Items Consumer Price Index.​

57.10 Participation is limited to 45 percent of the principal amount of the loan or. Individual​

57.11 loans must be no less than $50,000 and no more than $625,000, whichever is less. The​

57.12 interest rates and repayment terms of the authority's participation interest may be different​

57.13 from the interest rates and repayment terms of the lender's retained portion of the loan.​

57.14 Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 41B.047, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

57.15 Subd. 3. Eligibility. To be eligible for this program, a borrower must:​

57.16 (1) meet the requirements of section 41B.03, subdivision 1;​

57.17 (2) certify that the damage or loss was: (i) sustained within a county that was the subject​

57.18 of a state or federal disaster declaration; (ii) due to the confirmed presence of a highly​

57.19 contagious animal disease in Minnesota; (iii) due to an infectious human disease for which​

57.20 the governor has declared a peacetime emergency; or (iv) due to an emergency as determined​

57.21 by the authority;​

57.22 (3) demonstrate an ability to repay the loan; and​

57.23 (4) have received at least 25 percent of annual gross income from farming in the past​

57.24 year.; and​

57.25 (5) have a total net worth, including assets and liabilities of the borrower's spouse and​

57.26 dependents, of less than $5,000,000.​

57.27 Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 41B.056, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

57.28 Subdivision 1. Establishment. The authority shall establish and implement a pilot an​

57.29 agricultural microloan program to help finance the purchase of agricultural land or the​

57.30 production of specialty crops or eligible livestock. The authority may contract with an​

57.31 intermediary to provide an efficient delivery system for this program.​
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58.1 Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 41B.057, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

58.2 Subdivision 1. Establishment. The authority shall establish a farm opportunity loan​

58.3 program to provide loans that enable farmers to:​

58.4 (1) add value to crops or livestock produced in Minnesota; or​

58.5 (2) adopt best management practices that emphasize sufficiency and self-sufficiency;​

58.6 (3) reduce or improve management of agricultural inputs resulting in environmental​

58.7 improvements; or​

58.8 (4) (2) increase production of on-farm energy.​

58.9 Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 41B.057, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

58.10 Subd. 3. Loan participation. The authority may participate in a farm opportunity loan​

58.11 with an eligible lender, as defined in section 41B.02, subdivision 8, to a farmer or a group​

58.12 of farmers on joint projects who are eligible under subdivision 2, paragraph (c), and who​

58.13 are actively engaged in farming. Participation is limited to 45 percent of the principal amount​

58.14 of the loan or $100,000 per individual, whichever is less. For loans to a group made up of​

58.15 four or more individuals, participation is limited to 45 percent of the principal amount of​

58.16 the loan or $250,000, whichever is less. The interest rate on the loans must not exceed six​

58.17 percent. A borrower must have a total net worth, including assets and liabilities of the​

58.18 borrower's spouse and dependents, of less than $1,700,000 in 2017 and an amount in​

58.19 subsequent years that is adjusted for inflation by multiplying that amount by the cumulative​

58.20 inflation rate as determined by the United States All-Items Consumer Price Index.​

58.21 Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 223.17, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

58.22 Subd. 3. Grain buyers and storage account; fees. (a) The commissioner shall set the​

58.23 fees for inspections under sections 223.15 to 223.22 at levels necessary to pay the expenses​

58.24 of administering and enforcing sections 223.15 to 223.22. The fee for any license issued or​

58.25 renewed after June 30, 2005, shall be set according to the following schedule: 2025, is $500​

58.26 for each licensed location. A licensed location with no grain bin capacity must be charged​

58.27 a $350 examination fee.​

58.28 (1) $140 plus $110 for each additional location for grain buyers whose gross annual​

58.29 purchases are less than $100,000;​

58.30 (2) $275 plus $110 for each additional location for grain buyers whose gross annual​

58.31 purchases are at least $100,000, but not more than $750,000;​
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59.1 (3) $415 plus $220 for each additional location for grain buyers whose gross annual​

59.2 purchases are more than $750,000 but not more than $1,500,000;​

59.3 (4) $550 plus $220 for each additional location for grain buyers whose gross annual​

59.4 purchases are more than $1,500,000 but not more than $3,000,000; and​

59.5 (5) $700 plus $220 for each additional location for grain buyers whose gross annual​

59.6 purchases are more than $3,000,000.​

59.7 (b) In addition to the license fee required under paragraph (a), a grain buyer must pay​

59.8 to the commissioner an annual examination fee for each licensed location, as follows:​

Examination​
59.10 Fee​
59.9 Bushel Capacity​

100​$​59.11 Examinations without a grain measure​

300​$​59.12 Less than 150,001​

425​$​59.13 150,001 to 250,000​

545​$​59.14 250,001 to 500,000​

700​$​59.15 500,001 to 750,000​

865​$​59.16 750,001 to 1,000,000​

1,040​$​59.17 1,000,001 to 1,200,000​

1,205​$​59.18 1,200,001 to 1,500,000​

1,380​$​59.19 1,500,001 to 2,000,000​

1,555​$​59.20 More than 2,000,000​

59.21 (b) Examination fees must be calculated based on bushel capacity of each licensed​

59.22 location with a charge of $0.0035 per bushel of capacity.​

59.23 (c) Examination fees must not be less than $350 and must not exceed $4,000.​

59.24 (c) (d) The fee for any supplemental examination required by the commissioner under​

59.25 section 223.23 is $55 $110 per hour per examiner.​

59.26 (d) (e) A licensed grain buyer meeting the annual examination requirements under section​

59.27 223.23 is exempt from the fees under paragraph (b) if the annual examination is conducted​

59.28 by the Agricultural Marketing Service of the United State Department of Agriculture.​

59.29 (e) (f) A penalty amount not to exceed ten percent of the fees due may be imposed by​

59.30 the commissioner for each month for which the fees are delinquent.​

59.31 (f) (g) There is created the grain buyers and storage account in the agricultural fund.​

59.32 Money collected pursuant to sections 223.15 to 223.23 shall be paid into the state treasury​

59.33 and credited to the grain buyers and storage account. Money in the account, including​
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60.1 interest, is appropriated to the commissioner for the administration and enforcement of​

60.2 sections 223.15 to 223.23.​

60.3 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2025.​

60.4 Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 232.22, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

60.5 Subd. 3. Fees; grain buyers and storage account. (a) There is created in the agricultural​

60.6 fund an account known as the grain buyers and storage account. The commissioner shall​

60.7 set the fees for examinations, certifications, and licenses under sections 232.20 to 232.24​

60.8 at levels necessary to pay the costs of administering and enforcing sections 232.20 to 232.24.​

60.9 All money collected pursuant to sections 232.20 to 232.24 shall be paid by the commissioner​

60.10 into the state treasury and credited to the grain buyers and storage account. Money in the​

60.11 account, including interest, is appropriated to the commissioner for the administration and​

60.12 enforcement of sections 232.20 to 232.24.​

60.13 (b) All money collected pursuant to chapter 231 shall be paid by the commissioner into​

60.14 the grain buyers and storage account. Money in the account is appropriated to the​

60.15 commissioner for the administration and enforcement of chapter 231.​

60.16 (c) The fees for a license to store grain are as follows:​

60.17 (1) for a license to store grain, $110 $300 for each home rule charter or statutory city or​

60.18 town in which a public grain warehouse is operated; and​

60.19 (2) in addition to the license fee required under clause (1), a person with a license to​

60.20 store grain in a public grain warehouse is subject to an examination fee for each licensed​

60.21 location, as follows:​

Examination​
60.23 Fee​
60.22 Bushel Capacity​

300​$​60.24 Less than 150,001​

425​$​60.25 150,001 to 250,000​

545​$​60.26 250,001 to 500,000​

700​$​60.27 500,001 to 750,000​

865​$​60.28 750,001 to 1,000,000​

1,040​$​60.29 1,000,001 to 1,200,000​

1,205​$​60.30 1,200,001 to 1,500,000​

1,380​$​60.31 1,500,001 to 2,000,000​

1,555​$​60.32 More than 2,000,000​
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61.1 (3) (2) the fee for supplemental examinations required by the commissioner under section​

61.2 232.24 is $55 $110 per hour per examiner.​

61.3 (d) A penalty amount not to exceed ten percent of the fees due may be imposed by the​

61.4 commissioner for each month for which the fees are delinquent.​

61.5 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2025.​

61.6 Sec. 32. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 239.761, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

61.7 Subd. 3. Gasoline. (a) Gasoline that is not blended with biofuel must not be contaminated​

61.8 with water or other impurities and must comply with ASTM specification D4814-11b​

61.9 D4814-24a. Gasoline that is not blended with biofuel must also comply with the volatility​

61.10 requirements in Code of Federal Regulations, title 40, part 1090.​

61.11 (b) After gasoline is sold, transferred, or otherwise removed from a refinery or terminal,​

61.12 a person responsible for the product:​

61.13 (1) may blend the gasoline with agriculturally derived ethanol as provided in subdivision​

61.14 4;​

61.15 (2) shall not blend the gasoline with any oxygenate other than biofuel;​

61.16 (3) shall not blend the gasoline with other petroleum products that are not gasoline or​

61.17 biofuel;​

61.18 (4) shall not blend the gasoline with products commonly and commercially known as​

61.19 casinghead gasoline, absorption gasoline, condensation gasoline, drip gasoline, or natural​

61.20 gasoline; and​

61.21 (5) may blend the gasoline with a detergent additive, an antiknock additive, or an additive​

61.22 designed to replace tetra-ethyl lead, that is registered by the EPA.​

61.23 Sec. 33. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 239.761, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

61.24 Subd. 4. Gasoline blended with ethanol; general. (a) Gasoline may be blended with​

61.25 agriculturally derived, denatured ethanol that complies with the requirements of subdivision​

61.26 5.​

61.27 (b) A gasoline-ethanol blend must:​

61.28 (1) comply with the volatility requirements in Code of Federal Regulations, title 40, part​

61.29 1090;​
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62.1 (2) comply with ASTM specification D4814-11b D4814-24a, or the gasoline base stock​

62.2 from which a gasoline-ethanol blend was produced must comply with ASTM specification​

62.3 D4814-11b D4814-24a; and​

62.4 (3) not be blended with casinghead gasoline, absorption gasoline, condensation gasoline,​

62.5 drip gasoline, or natural gasoline after the gasoline-ethanol blend has been sold, transferred,​

62.6 or otherwise removed from a refinery or terminal.​

62.7 Sec. 34. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 239.761, subdivision 5, is amended to read:​

62.8 Subd. 5. Denatured ethanol. Denatured ethanol that is to be blended with gasoline must​

62.9 be agriculturally derived and must comply with ASTM specification D4806-11a D4806-21a.​

62.10 This includes the requirement that ethanol may be denatured only as specified in Code of​

62.11 Federal Regulations, title 27, parts 20 and 21.​

62.12 Sec. 35. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 239.761, subdivision 6, is amended to read:​

62.13 Subd. 6. Gasoline blended with nonethanol oxygenate. (a) A person responsible for​

62.14 the product shall comply with the following requirements:​

62.15 (1) after July 1, 2000, gasoline containing in excess of one-third of one percent, in total,​

62.16 of nonethanol oxygenates listed in paragraph (b) must not be sold or offered for sale at any​

62.17 time in this state; and​

62.18 (2) after July 1, 2005, gasoline containing any of the nonethanol oxygenates listed in​

62.19 paragraph (b) must not be sold or offered for sale in this state.​

62.20 (b) The oxygenates prohibited under paragraph (a) are:​

62.21 (1) methyl tertiary butyl ether, as defined in section 296A.01, subdivision 34;​

62.22 (2) ethyl tertiary butyl ether, as defined in section 296A.01, subdivision 18; or​

62.23 (3) tertiary amyl methyl ether.​

62.24 (c) Gasoline that is blended with a nonethanol oxygenate must comply with ASTM​

62.25 specification D4814-11b D4814-24a. Nonethanol oxygenates must not be blended into​

62.26 gasoline after the gasoline has been sold, transferred, or otherwise removed from a refinery​

62.27 or terminal.​

62.28 Sec. 36. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 296A.01, subdivision 20, is amended to read:​

62.29 Subd. 20. Ethanol, denatured. "Ethanol, denatured" means ethanol that is to be blended​

62.30 with gasoline, has been agriculturally derived, and complies with ASTM specification​
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63.1 D4806-11a D4806-21a. This includes the requirement that ethanol may be denatured only​

63.2 as specified in Code of Federal Regulations, title 27, parts 20 and 21.​

63.3 Sec. 37. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 296A.01, subdivision 23, is amended to read:​

63.4 Subd. 23. Gasoline. (a) "Gasoline" means:​

63.5 (1) all products commonly or commercially known or sold as gasoline regardless of​

63.6 their classification or uses, except casinghead gasoline, absorption gasoline, condensation​

63.7 gasoline, drip gasoline, or natural gasoline that under the requirements of section 239.761,​

63.8 subdivision 3, must not be blended with gasoline that has been sold, transferred, or otherwise​

63.9 removed from a refinery or terminal; and​

63.10 (2) any liquid prepared, advertised, offered for sale or sold for use as, or commonly and​

63.11 commercially used as, a fuel in spark-ignition, internal combustion engines, and that when​

63.12 tested by the Weights and Measures Division meets the specifications in ASTM specification​

63.13 D4814-11b D4814-24a.​

63.14 (b) Gasoline that is not blended with ethanol must not be contaminated with water or​

63.15 other impurities and must comply with both ASTM specification D4814-11b D4814-24a​

63.16 and the volatility requirements in Code of Federal Regulations, title 40, part 1090.​

63.17 (c) After gasoline is sold, transferred, or otherwise removed from a refinery or terminal,​

63.18 a person responsible for the product:​

63.19 (1) may blend the gasoline with agriculturally derived ethanol, as provided in subdivision​

63.20 24;​

63.21 (2) must not blend the gasoline with any oxygenate other than denatured, agriculturally​

63.22 derived ethanol;​

63.23 (3) must not blend the gasoline with other petroleum products that are not gasoline or​

63.24 denatured, agriculturally derived ethanol;​

63.25 (4) must not blend the gasoline with products commonly and commercially known as​

63.26 casinghead gasoline, absorption gasoline, condensation gasoline, drip gasoline, or natural​

63.27 gasoline; and​

63.28 (5) may blend the gasoline with a detergent additive, an antiknock additive, or an additive​

63.29 designed to replace tetra-ethyl lead, that is registered by the EPA.​
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64.1 Sec. 38. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 296A.01, subdivision 24, is amended to read:​

64.2 Subd. 24. Gasoline blended with nonethanol oxygenate. "Gasoline blended with​

64.3 nonethanol oxygenate" means gasoline blended with ETBE, MTBE, or other alcohol or​

64.4 ether, except denatured ethanol, that is approved as an oxygenate by the EPA, and that​

64.5 complies with ASTM specification D4814-11b D4814-24a. Oxygenates, other than denatured​

64.6 ethanol, must not be blended into gasoline after the gasoline has been sold, transferred, or​

64.7 otherwise removed from a refinery or terminal.​

64.8 Sec. 39. [343.256] ELECTIVE DECLAWING PROHIBITED.​

64.9 Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the terms in this subdivision​

64.10 have the meanings given.​

64.11 (b) "Cat" means an animal of the taxonomic family Felidae.​

64.12 (c) "Declawing" means an onychectomy or any other surgical procedure to amputate or​

64.13 modify a portion of a cat's paw in order to remove the cat's claws. Declawing does not​

64.14 include the trimming of nonviable claw husk or placing nonpermanent nail caps.​

64.15 (d) "Procedure performed solely for a therapeutic purpose" means a medically necessary​

64.16 procedure to address an existing or recurring infection, disease, injury, or abnormal condition​

64.17 in the claws, nail bed, or toe bone, that jeopardizes the cat's health. Procedure performed​

64.18 solely for a therapeutic purpose does not include a procedure performed for a cosmetic or​

64.19 aesthetic purpose or to make a cat more convenient to keep or handle.​

64.20 (e) "Tendonectomy" means a procedure in which the tendons to a cat's limbs, paws, or​

64.21 toes are cut or modified so that the normal functioning of the claws is impaired.​

64.22 Subd. 2. Prohibited acts. Except as provided in subdivision 3, a person must not perform​

64.23 surgical claw removal, declawing, or a tendonectomy on any cat or otherwise alter a cat's​

64.24 toes, claws, or paws in a manner that prevents or impairs the normal function of the cat's​

64.25 toes, claws, or paws.​

64.26 Subd. 3. Therapeutic purpose. The prohibition in subdivision 2 does not apply to a​

64.27 procedure performed solely for a therapeutic purpose.​

64.28 Sec. 40. LOCAL FOOD PURCHASING ASSISTANCE GRANT PROGRAM.​

64.29 (a) The commissioner may award grants to eligible applicants to purchase and distribute​

64.30 food at no cost to Minnesotans experiencing food insecurity.When awarding grants, the​

64.31 commissioner must give preference to applicants that:​

64​Article 3 Sec. 40.​
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65.1 (1) source 100 percent of food from Minnesota;​

65.2 (2) source at least 70 percent of food from farmers who are experiencing limited land​

65.3 access or limited market access as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 17.133, subdivision​

65.4 1; and​

65.5 (3) demonstrate strong connections to individuals whose needs are not met through the​

65.6 traditional emergency food system;​

65.7 (b) Eligible applicants include but are not limited to individuals, nonprofit organizations,​

65.8 for-profit businesses, Tribal governments, government entities, agricultural cooperatives,​

65.9 economic development organizations, and educational institutions.​

65.10 (c) Grantees may use up to 15 percent of each grant awarded under this clause for​

65.11 administrative and transportation expenses.​

65.12 Sec. 41. REPEALER.​

65.13 (a) Minnesota Rules, parts 1510.2300; 1510.2305; 1510.2310; 1510.2315; 1510.2320;​

65.14 1510.2325; 1510.2330; 1510.2335; 1510.2340; 1510.2345; 1510.2350; and 1510.2355,​

65.15 subparts 1, 2, 3a, 4, 5, 6, and 7, are repealed.​

65.16 (c) Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 239.77, subdivision 5, is repealed.​

65.17 (d) Minnesota Statutes 2024, sections 35.68; and 35.830, are repealed.​

65.18 Sec. 42. EFFECTIVE DATE.​

65.19 Except as otherwise provided, this article is effective August 1, 2025.​

65.20 ARTICLE 4​

65.21 LIVESTOCK MARKET AGENCY AND DEALER LICENSING PROVISIONS​

65.22 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 17A.03, subdivision 8, is amended to read:​

65.23 Subd. 8. Livestock dealer agent. "Livestock dealer agent" means any individual who​

65.24 is engaged by a livestock dealer to act as the dealer's representative.​

65.25 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 17A.03, subdivision 10, is amended to read:​

65.26 Subd. 10. Meat packing plants companies, packers, and slaughtering houses. "Meat​

65.27 packing plants companies," "packers," and "slaughtering houses" means places of business​

65.28 where livestock purchased or acquired is slaughtered that have the meaning of "packers"​

65.29 as defined in section 31B.02, subdivision 8.​

65​Article 4 Sec. 2.​
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66.1 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 17A.03, subdivision 11, is amended to read:​

66.2 Subd. 11. Buying station. "Buying station" means any stockyard or concentration point,​

66.3 other than a public stockyard, at which livestock is bought and sold or assembled for shipment​

66.4 to a meat packing plant company or a public stockyard, or graded or weighed for the purpose​

66.5 of establishing a basis for sale or reshipment.​

66.6 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 17A.03, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

66.7 read:​

66.8 Subd. 16. Meat packing company agent. "Meat packing company agent" means an​

66.9 individual who is engaged by a meat packing company to act as the company's representative.​

66.10 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 17A.04, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

66.11 Subdivision 1. Licensing provisions. (a) Licenses shall be issued to livestock market​

66.12 agencies and public stockyards annually and shall expire on December 31 each year,​

66.13 renewable annually thereafter. A separate license must be obtained for each separate​

66.14 geographical location even though operated under the same management or same person,​

66.15 partnership, firm, corporation, or livestock market. The license issued to a livestock market​

66.16 agency and or public stockyard shall be conspicuously posted at the licensee's place of​

66.17 business.​

66.18 (b) Licenses shall be required for livestock dealers and their agents, livestock dealer​

66.19 agents, meat packing companies, and meat packing company agents for the period beginning​

66.20 July 1 each year and ending June 30. A license issued under this subdivision is renewable​

66.21 annually thereafter. The license issued to a livestock dealer or the agent of a, livestock dealer​

66.22 agent, a meat packing company, or a meat packing company agent shall be carried by the​

66.23 person so who is licensed. The A livestock dealer or meat packing company shall be​

66.24 responsible for the acts of the dealer's agents livestock dealer agent or meat packing company​

66.25 agent. Licensed livestock market agencies, public stockyards, and livestock dealers shall​

66.26 be responsible for the faithful performance of duty of the public livestock weighers at their​

66.27 places of business. The license issued to a livestock market agency, public stockyard or,​

66.28 meat packing company, meat packing company agent, livestock dealer, or agent of a livestock​

66.29 dealer agent is not transferable. The operation of livestock market agencies, livestock dealers,​

66.30 agents, and packers meat packing companies at a public stockyard are exempt from sections​

66.31 17A.01 to 17A.09 and 17A.12 to 17A.17.​

66​Article 4 Sec. 5.​
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67.1 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 17A.04, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

67.2 Subd. 2. Application. Any person desiring to carry on the business of a livestock market​

67.3 agency or livestock dealer, or both, or a public stockyard, livestock dealer agent, a meat​

67.4 packing company, or meat packing company agent shall make application to the​

67.5 commissioner on a form or forms provided by the commissioner.​

67.6 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 17A.04, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

67.7 Subd. 4. Surety bonds required. Each livestock market agency and livestock dealer​

67.8 applying for a license under Laws 1974, chapter 347 shall file with the commissioner a​

67.9 valid and effective bond issued by a surety company licensed to do business in this state,​

67.10 or meeting the requirements of section 17A.05, in the form and amount set forth in section​

67.11 17A.05. No bond shall be required of a public stockyard or any agent of a bonded livestock​

67.12 dealer. The commissioner may at any time raise or lower bond requirements if it appears​

67.13 that a modification of such bond requirements is justified and will protect the public. The​

67.14 bonds of livestock market agencies and dealers whose residence or principal place of business​

67.15 is within the state of Minnesota shall name the commissioner as the trustee. Any A license​

67.16 issued under Laws 1974, chapter 347 shall automatically become void upon the termination​

67.17 of the surety bond covering the licensed operations.​

67.18 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 17A.04, subdivision 6, is amended to read:​

67.19 Subd. 6. Refusal to license. The commissioner shall refuse to issue or renew a livestock​

67.20 market agency, meat packing company, or livestock dealer license if the applicant has not​

67.21 filed a surety bond in the form and amount required under this section and section 17A.05;​

67.22 the commissioner may refuse to issue or renew a license if the applicant (1) has not​

67.23 satisfactorily demonstrated by a current balance sheet and financial statement that the​

67.24 applicant's assets exceed liabilities; (2) has been found by the department to have failed to​

67.25 pay, without reasonable cause, obligations incurred in connection with livestock transactions;​

67.26 (3) has failed to maintain and operate livestock or monorail scales in a manner to ensure​

67.27 accurate and correct weights; or (4) has failed to comply with other statutes, rules, or​

67.28 regulations enforced by the commissioner, the Board of Animal Health, the Division of​

67.29 Weights and Measures of the Department of Commerce, or the federal Packers and​

67.30 Stockyards Administration.​

67​Article 4 Sec. 8.​
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68.1 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 17A.04, subdivision 7, is amended to read:​

68.2 Subd. 7. Revocation of license. Whenever the commissioner finds that any livestock​

68.3 market agency, meat packing company, or livestock dealer has violated the provisions of​

68.4 this chapter, or has failed to comply with other laws, rules, or regulations enforced by the​

68.5 Board of Animal Health, the Division of Weights and Measures of the Department of​

68.6 Commerce, or the federal Packers and Stockyards Administration, the commissioner may,​

68.7 by order, pursuant to the provisions of chapter 14, and this subdivision, revoke the license​

68.8 of the offender. Before any such license shall be revoked, the licensee shall be furnished​

68.9 with a statement of the complaints made against the licensee, and a hearing shall be had​

68.10 before the commissioner upon at least ten days' notice to the licensee to determine whether​

68.11 such license shall be revoked, which notice may be served either by certified mail addressed​

68.12 to the address of the licensee as shown in the license application or in the manner provided​

68.13 by law for the service of a summons. At the time and place fixed for hearing, the​

68.14 commissioner or any official, employee or agent of the department authorized by the​

68.15 commissioner, shall receive evidence, administer oaths, examine witnesses, hear the​

68.16 testimony and thereafter file an order either dismissing the proceedings or revoking the​

68.17 license.​

68.18 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 17A.04, subdivision 8, is amended to read:​

68.19 Subd. 8. Suspension of license. Whenever the commissioner finds that the licensee has​

68.20 violated provisions of this chapter, or has failed to comply with other laws, rules, or​

68.21 regulations enforced by the Board of Animal Health, the Division of Weights and Measures​

68.22 of the Department of Commerce, or the federal Packers and Stockyards Administration,​

68.23 and that the continued activity of a licensee may cause irreparable injury or loss to persons​

68.24 engaged in business with the licensee, the commissioner may, without hearing, suspend the​

68.25 license of the licensee, provided that when a license is so suspended, the commissioner shall​

68.26 immediately initiate procedures to afford the licensee a hearing pursuant to subdivision 7​

68.27 except that the ten days' notice required in subdivision 7 may be waived by the licensee.​

68.28 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 17A.06, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

68.29 Subd. 2. Hearing on claims. In case of default by the licensee, the commissioner shall​

68.30 have the power to have the matter heard as a contested case pursuant to procedures outlined​

68.31 in chapter 14. No hearing shall be required if all affected parties to a bond claim proceeding​

68.32 waive their right to a hearing and agree to accept the commissioner's determination as to​

68.33 the validity of the claim and the allocation of the proceeds of the bond. The commissioner​

68​Article 4 Sec. 11.​
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69.1 must first determine whether a claim is valid. If the commissioner determines that a claim​

69.2 is valid, the commissioner must notify the licensee of the determination and that the licensee​

69.3 has 15 days to either pay the claim or appeal the determination. If the licensee does not​

69.4 respond within 15 days, the determination must be considered a final order by the​

69.5 commissioner. If the commissioner determines that a claim is not valid, the commissioner​

69.6 must notify the claimant of the determination and that the claimant has 15 days to appeal​

69.7 the determination. If the claimant does not respond within 15 days, the determination must​

69.8 be considered a final order by the commissioner.​

69.9 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 17A.06, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

69.10 Subd. 3. Public notice. Prior to a hearing After the commissioner determines that a​

69.11 claim is valid, the commissioner shall publish a notice setting forth the default of the licensee​

69.12 and requiring all claimants to file proof of claim with the commissioner within 45 days of​

69.13 the date such notice is published or be barred from participating in the proceeds of the bond.​

69.14 Such publication shall be made in a newspaper published in the county in which the licensee's​

69.15 principal place of business is located. The commissioner shall also fulfill any notice​

69.16 requirements prescribed by chapter 14 and rules of the Office of Administrative Hearings.​

69.17 No claim shall be allowed unless it is filed with the commissioner within one year of the​

69.18 date of the transaction. If a livestock market agency, meat packing company, or livestock​

69.19 dealer has on file a Packers and Stockyards Act bond and is registered with the Packers and​

69.20 Stockyards Administration, the terms of the bond or that federal agency's regulations will​

69.21 control.​

69.22 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 17A.07, is amended to read:​

69.23 17A.07 PROHIBITED CONDUCT.​

69.24 It shall be unlawful for any person to (1) carry on the business of a livestock market​

69.25 agency, livestock dealer, livestock dealer agent, meat packing company, meat packing​

69.26 company agent, or public stockyard without a valid and effective license issued by the​

69.27 commissioner under the provisions of section 17A.04; (2) carry on the business of a livestock​

69.28 market agency, meat packing company, or livestock dealer without filing and maintaining​

69.29 a valid and effective surety bond in conformity with sections 17A.04 and 17A.05; (3) carry​

69.30 on the business of a livestock market agency, meat packing company, or livestock dealer​

69.31 if the person cannot pay debts as they become due or ceases to pay debts in the ordinary​

69.32 course of business as they become due; (4) use or allow to be used any livestock scale or​

69.33 monorail scale which has not been certified and approved for official use or has been found​

69​Article 4 Sec. 13.​
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70.1 to be inaccurate; (5) fail to maintain and operate livestock or monorail scales in a manner​

70.2 to ensure accurate and correct weights; (6) weigh livestock or carcasses at other than true​

70.3 and correct weights or issue accounts and records on the basis of inaccurate or incorrect​

70.4 weights; (7) engage in or use any unfair or deceptive practice or device in connection with​

70.5 marketing of livestock; (8) willfully make or cause to be made any false entry or statement​

70.6 of fact in any application, financial statement or report filed with the department under this​

70.7 chapter.​

70.8 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 17A.08, is amended to read:​

70.9 17A.08 RECORD KEEPING.​

70.10 Every person shall make and retain such accounts, records, and memoranda necessary​

70.11 to fully and correctly disclose all transactions involved in the person's business, including​

70.12 the true ownership of such business by stockholding or otherwise. Whenever the​

70.13 commissioner finds that the accounts, records, and memoranda of any such person do not​

70.14 fully and correctly disclose all transactions involved in the person's business, the​

70.15 commissioner may prescribe take enforcement actions in addition to prescribing the manner​

70.16 or form and length of time for retention which such accounts, records, and memoranda shall​

70.17 be kept. The commissioner shall at all reasonable times have access to, for the purpose of​

70.18 examination, and the right to copy any documentary evidence of any person being​

70.19 investigated or proceeded against.​

70.20 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 17A.15, is amended to read:​

70.21 17A.15 POWERS AND DUTIES OF COMMISSIONER.​

70.22 The commissioner shall enforce the provisions of Laws 1974, chapter 347 this chapter​

70.23 and shall promulgate, in the manner provided by law, such rules as the commissioner deems​

70.24 necessary or desirable, and may cooperate with any department of state or government, to​

70.25 carry out the provisions of sections 17A.01 to 17A.15. The commissioner or a duly authorized​

70.26 agent shall have the power to issue subpoenas, administer oaths and affirmations, examine​

70.27 witnesses, receive evidence, and shall have the power to require by subpoena the attendance​

70.28 and testimony of witnesses and the production of all such documentary evidence relating​

70.29 to any matter under investigation or administrative proceeding.​

70.30 Sec. 16. EFFECTIVE DATE.​

70.31 This article is effective August 1, 2025.​

70​Article 4 Sec. 16.​
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71.1 ARTICLE 5​

71.2 SEED POTATO PROVISIONS​

71.3 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 18J.01, is amended to read:​

71.4 18J.01 DEFINITIONS.​

71.5 (a) The definitions in this section; chapters 18G, 18H, 18K, 27, 223, 231, and 232; and​

71.6 sections 18G.02, 18H.02, 18K.02, 27.01, 223.16, 231.01, and 232.21 21.111 to 21.125 and​

71.7 21.80 to 21.92 apply to this chapter.​

71.8 (b) For purposes of this chapter, "associated rules" means rules adopted under this​

71.9 chapter, chapter 18G, 18H, 18K, 27, 223, 231, or 232, or sections 21.80 21.111 to 21.92​

71.10 21.125.​

71.11 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 18J.02, is amended to read:​

71.12 18J.02 DUTIES OF COMMISSIONER.​

71.13 The commissioner shall administer and enforce this chapter, chapters 18G, 18H, 18K,​

71.14 27, 223, 231, and 232; sections 21.111 to 21.125, and 21.80 to 21.92; and associated rules.​

71.15 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 18J.03, is amended to read:​

71.16 18J.03 CIVIL LIABILITY.​

71.17 A person regulated by this chapter, chapter 18G, 18H, 18K, 27, 223, 231, or 232, or​

71.18 sections 21.111 to 21.125 or 21.80 to 21.92, is civilly liable for any violation of one of those​

71.19 statutes or associated rules by the person's employee or agent.​

71.20 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 18J.04, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

71.21 Subdivision 1. Access and entry. The commissioner, upon presentation of official​

71.22 department credentials, must be granted immediate access at reasonable times to sites where​

71.23 a person manufactures, distributes, uses, handles, disposes of, stores, or transports seeds,​

71.24 plants, grain, household goods, general merchandise, produce, or other living or nonliving​

71.25 products or other objects regulated under chapter 18G, 18H, 18K, 27, 223, 231, or 232;​

71.26 sections 21.111 to 21.125 or 21.80 to 21.92; or associated rules.​

71.27 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 18J.04, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

71.28 Subd. 2. Purpose of entry. (a) The commissioner may enter sites for:​

71​Article 5 Sec. 5.​
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72.1 (1) inspection of inventory and equipment for the manufacture, storage, handling,​

72.2 distribution, disposal, or any other process regulated under chapter 18G, 18H, 18K, 27, 223,​

72.3 231, or 232; sections 21.111 to 21.125 or 21.80 to 21.92; or associated rules;​

72.4 (2) sampling of sites, seeds, plants, products, grain, household goods, general​

72.5 merchandise, produce, or other living or nonliving objects that are manufactured, stored,​

72.6 distributed, handled, or disposed of at those sites and regulated under chapter 18G, 18H,​

72.7 18K, 27, 223, 231, or 232; sections 21.111 to 21.125 or 21.80 to 21.92; or associated rules;​

72.8 (3) inspection of records related to the manufacture, distribution, storage, handling, or​

72.9 disposal of seeds, plants, products, grain, household goods, general merchandise, produce,​

72.10 or other living or nonliving objects regulated under chapter 18G, 18H, 18K, 27, 223, 231,​

72.11 or 232; sections 21.111 to 21.125 or 21.80 to 21.92; or associated rules;​

72.12 (4) investigating compliance with chapter 18G, 18H, 18K, 27, 223, 231, or 232; sections​

72.13 21.111 to 21.125 or 21.80 to 21.92; or associated rules; or​

72.14 (5) other purposes necessary to implement chapter 18G, 18H, 18K, 27, 223, 231, or 232;​

72.15 sections 21.111 to 21.125 or 21.80 to 21.92; or associated rules.​

72.16 (b) The commissioner may enter any public or private premises during or after regular​

72.17 business hours without notice of inspection when a suspected violation of chapter 18G,​

72.18 18H, 18K, 27, 223, 231, or 232; sections 21.111 to 21.125 or 21.80 to 21.92; or associated​

72.19 rules may threaten public health or the environment.​

72.20 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 18J.04, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

72.21 Subd. 3. Notice of inspection samples and analyses. (a) The commissioner shall provide​

72.22 the owner, operator, or agent in charge with a receipt describing any samples obtained. If​

72.23 requested, the commissioner shall split any samples obtained and provide them to the owner,​

72.24 operator, or agent in charge. If an analysis is made of the samples, a copy of the results of​

72.25 the analysis must be furnished to the owner, operator, or agent in charge within 30 days​

72.26 after an analysis has been performed. If an analysis is not performed, the commissioner​

72.27 must notify the owner, operator, or agent in charge within 30 days of the decision not to​

72.28 perform the analysis.​

72.29 (b) The sampling and analysis must be done according to methods provided for under​

72.30 applicable provisions of chapter 18G, 18H, 18K, 27, 223, 231, or 232; sections 21.111 to​

72.31 21.125 or 21.80 to 21.92; or associated rules. In cases not covered by those sections and​

72.32 methods or in cases where methods are available in which improved applicability has been​

72.33 demonstrated the commissioner may adopt appropriate methods from other sources.​

72​Article 5 Sec. 6.​
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73.1 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 18J.04, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

73.2 Subd. 4. Inspection requests by others. (a) A person who believes that a violation of​

73.3 chapter 18G, 18H, 18K, 27, 223, 231, or 232; sections 21.111 to 21.125 or 21.80 to 21.92;​

73.4 or associated rules has occurred may request an inspection by giving notice to the​

73.5 commissioner of the violation. The notice must be in writing, state with reasonable​

73.6 particularity the grounds for the notice, and be signed by the person making the request.​

73.7 (b) If after receiving a notice of violation the commissioner reasonably believes that a​

73.8 violation has occurred, the commissioner shall make a special inspection in accordance with​

73.9 the provisions of this section as soon as practicable, to determine if a violation has occurred.​

73.10 (c) An inspection conducted pursuant to a notice under this subdivision may cover an​

73.11 entire site and is not limited to the portion of the site specified in the notice. If the​

73.12 commissioner determines that reasonable grounds to believe that a violation occurred do​

73.13 not exist, the commissioner must notify the person making the request in writing of the​

73.14 determination.​

73.15 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 18J.05, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

73.16 Subdivision 1. Enforcement required. (a) A violation of chapter 18G, 18H, 18K, 27,​

73.17 223, 231, or 232; sections 21.111 to 21.125 or 21.80 to 21.92; or an associated rule is a​

73.18 violation of this chapter.​

73.19 (b) Upon the request of the commissioner, county attorneys, sheriffs, and other officers​

73.20 having authority in the enforcement of the general criminal laws must take action to the​

73.21 extent of their authority necessary or proper for the enforcement of chapter 18G, 18H, 18K,​

73.22 27, 223, 231, or 232; sections 21.111 to 21.125 or 21.80 to 21.92; or associated rules or​

73.23 valid orders, standards, stipulations, and agreements of the commissioner.​

73.24 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 18J.05, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

73.25 Subd. 2. Commissioner's discretion. If minor violations of chapter 18G, 18H, 18K,​

73.26 27, 223, 231, or 232; sections 21.111 to 21.125 or 21.80 to 21.92; or associated rules occur​

73.27 or the commissioner believes the public interest will be best served by a suitable notice of​

73.28 warning in writing, this section does not require the commissioner to:​

73.29 (1) report the violation for prosecution;​

73.30 (2) institute seizure proceedings; or​

73.31 (3) issue a withdrawal from distribution, stop-sale, or other order.​

73​Article 5 Sec. 9.​
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74.1 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 18J.05, subdivision 6, is amended to read:​

74.2 Subd. 6. Agent for service of process. All persons licensed, permitted, registered, or​

74.3 certified under chapter 18G, 18H, 18K, 27, 223, 231, or 232; sections 21.111 to 21.125 or​

74.4 21.80 to 21.92; or associated rules must appoint the commissioner as the agent upon whom​

74.5 all legal process may be served and service upon the commissioner is deemed to be service​

74.6 on the licensee, permittee, registrant, or certified person.​

74.7 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 18J.06, is amended to read:​

74.8 18J.06 FALSE STATEMENT OR RECORD.​

74.9 A person must not knowingly make or offer a false statement, record, or other information​

74.10 as part of:​

74.11 (1) an application for registration, license, certification, or permit under chapter 18G,​

74.12 18H, 18K, 27, 223, 231, or 232; sections 21.111 to 21.125 or 21.80 to 21.92; or associated​

74.13 rules;​

74.14 (2) records or reports required under chapter 18G, 18H, 18K, 27, 223, 231, or 232;​

74.15 sections 21.111 to 21.125 or 21.80 to 21.92; or associated rules; or​

74.16 (3) an investigation of a violation of chapter 18G, 18H, 18K, 27, 223, 231, or 232;​

74.17 sections 21.111 to 21.125 or 21.80 to 21.92; or associated rules.​

74.18 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 18J.07, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

74.19 Subd. 3. Cancellation of registration, permit, license, certification. The commissioner​

74.20 may cancel or revoke a registration, permit, license, or certification provided for under​

74.21 chapter 18G, 18H, 18K, 27, 223, 231, or 232; sections 21.111 to 21.125 or 21.80 to 21.92;​

74.22 or associated rules or refuse to register, permit, license, or certify under provisions of chapter​

74.23 18G, 18H, 18K, 27, 223, 231, or 232; sections 21.111 to 21.125 or 21.80 to 21.92; or​

74.24 associated rules if the registrant, permittee, licensee, or certified person has used fraudulent​

74.25 or deceptive practices in the evasion or attempted evasion of a provision of chapter 18G,​

74.26 18H, 18K, 27, 223, 231, or 232; sections 21.111 to 21.125 or 21.80 to 21.92; or associated​

74.27 rules.​

74.28 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 18J.07, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

74.29 Subd. 4. Service of order or notice. (a) If a person is not available for service of an​

74.30 order, the commissioner may attach the order to the facility, site, seed or seed container,​

74.31 plant or other living or nonliving object regulated under chapter 18G, 18H, 18K, 27, 223,​

74​Article 5 Sec. 13.​
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75.1 231, or 232; sections 21.111 to 21.125 or 21.80 to 21.92; or associated rules and notify the​

75.2 owner, custodian, other responsible party, or registrant.​

75.3 (b) The seed, seed container, plant, or other living or nonliving object regulated under​

75.4 chapter 18G, 18H, 18K, 27, 223, 231, or 232; sections 21.111 to 21.125 or 21.80 to 21.92;​

75.5 or associated rules may not be sold, used, tampered with, or removed until released under​

75.6 conditions specified by the commissioner, by an administrative law judge, or by a court.​

75.7 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 18J.07, subdivision 5, is amended to read:​

75.8 Subd. 5. Unsatisfied judgments. (a) An applicant for a license, permit, registration, or​

75.9 certification under provisions of this chapter, chapter 18G, 18H, 18K, 27, 223, 231, or 232;​

75.10 sections 21.111 to 21.125 or 21.80 to 21.92; or associated rules may not allow a final​

75.11 judgment against the applicant for damages arising from a violation of those statutes or​

75.12 rules to remain unsatisfied for a period of more than 30 days.​

75.13 (b) Failure to satisfy, within 30 days, a final judgment resulting from a violation of this​

75.14 chapter results in automatic suspension of the license, permit, registration, or certification.​

75.15 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 18J.09, is amended to read:​

75.16 18J.09 CREDITING OF PENALTIES, FEES, AND COSTS.​

75.17 Penalties, cost reimbursements, fees, and other money collected under this chapter must​

75.18 be deposited into the state treasury and credited to the appropriate nursery and phytosanitary​

75.19 account under section 18H.17, industrial hemp account under section 18K.07, or seed potato​

75.20 inspection account under section 21.115, seed inspection account under section 21.92, or​

75.21 grain buyers and storage account under sections 223.17 and 232.22.​

75.22 Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 21.111, is amended to read:​

75.23 21.111 DEFINITIONS.​

75.24 Subdivision 1. Scope. When used in sections 21.111 to 21.122 21.125 the terms defined​

75.25 in this section shall have the meanings ascribed to them.​

75.26 Subd. 2. Inspected. "Inspected" means that the potato plants are examined in the field​

75.27 and that the harvested potatoes produced by the potato plants are examined by or under the​

75.28 authority of the commissioner. For seed potatoes produced in a lab, inspected means that​

75.29 the lab's records, including records related to the lab's procedures and protocols, as well as​

75.30 the seed potatoes, have been examined under the authority of the commissioner.​
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76.1 Subd. 3. Certified. "Certified" means that the potatoes were inspected while growing​

76.2 in the field and, when possible, again after being harvested, and were thereafter duly certified​

76.3 by or under the authority of the commissioner, as provided in sections 21.111 to 21.122,​

76.4 and as provided by rules adopted and published by the commissioner 21.125. For seed​

76.5 potatoes produced in a lab, certified means that:​

76.6 (1) the seed potato lab facilities and the lab's procedures and protocols have been​

76.7 examined under the authority of the commissioner; and​

76.8 (2) the seed potatoes have been inspected after they have been harvested, removed, or​

76.9 released from the lab, and were duly certified by or under the authority of the commissioner,​

76.10 as provided in sections 21.111 to 21.122 21.125.​

76.11 Subd. 3a. Interstate cooperation. In order to best use state resources, the commissioner​

76.12 may enter into agreements with other seed potato certification entities to carry out the​

76.13 purposes of sections 21.111 to 21.122. Any agreement may provide for field inspections,​

76.14 shipping point inspections, winter tests, and other certification functions to be carried out​

76.15 by personnel employed by either entity according to methods determined by the certification​

76.16 entities of the respective areas. The commissioner may extend seed potato certification​

76.17 services to states where growers wish to grow certified seed potatoes and the state does not​

76.18 have a seed potato certification program. Any agreement must be reported to the chairs of​

76.19 the legislative committees responsible for the budget or policy of the seed potato inspection​

76.20 program and to the commissioner of management and budget.​

76.21 Subd. 3b. Certified seed potatoes. "Certified seed potatoes" means potatoes that have​

76.22 been produced, graded, sacked or placed in bulk, inspected, and certified in accordance with​

76.23 this chapter.​

76.24 Subd. 3c. Class. "Class" means the seed quality level related to compliance with​

76.25 tolerances for diseases and varietal purity.​

76.26 Subd. 3d. Clone. "Clone" means a unit of seed potatoes that is the progeny of one plant,​

76.27 which has been tested to become eligible to produce Generation 1 class seed potatoes.​

76.28 Subd. 3e. Commissioner. "Commissioner" means the commissioner of agriculture or​

76.29 the commissioner's designee.​

76.30 Subd. 3f. Crop. "Crop" means all lots produced on a farm in one year.​

76.31 Subd. 3g. Department. "Department" means the Department of Agriculture.​

76​Article 5 Sec. 16.​

COUNSEL LP/EO/GC SCS2458A-3​04/01/25 11:57 am ​



77.1 Subd. 3h. Explant. "Explant" means an in vitro potato plant or a plantlet that is produced​

77.2 by rooting an excised tip of a tuber sprout or an axillary bud from a growing plant and that​

77.3 serves as a parent for a whole clone or accession of micropropagated plants or plantlets.​

77.4 Subd. 3i. Farm. "Farm" means a potato-growing enterprise. Farm includes all land,​

77.5 equipment, storage facilities, and laborers used to produce potatoes.​

77.6 Subd. 3j. Field. "Field" means a plot of land on a farm where potatoes are grown.​

77.7 Subd. 3k. Inspected. (a) For plants growing in a field, "inspected" means that the​

77.8 commissioner has examined the plants in the field where the plants are grown and has​

77.9 visually assessed the plants for disease and factors impacting quality.​

77.10 (b) For harvested potatoes, inspected means that the commissioner has observed the​

77.11 tubers and, when requested, the commissioner has evaluated the tubers for quality and​

77.12 conditions described in section 21.125.​

77.13 (c) For seed potatoes produced by a laboratory, inspected means that the commissioner​

77.14 has examined the seed potatoes and the laboratory's records, including records related to​

77.15 the laboratory's procedures and protocols.​

77.16 Subd. 3l. Lot. "Lot" means a group of seed potatoes of one variety, planted in one​

77.17 continuous plot, grown on the same farm, and physically separated from other lots while​

77.18 being grown and stored.​

77.19 Subd. 3m. Material in maintenance. "Material in maintenance" means propagative​

77.20 material, plantlets, or tubers that are maintained, not multiplied, under controlled laboratory​

77.21 conditions.​

77.22 Subd. 3n. Roguing. "Roguing" is the process of removing infected plants from a field​

77.23 of certified seed potatoes.​

77.24 Subd. 3o. Stand. "Stand" is the live plant population in a certified seed potato lot.​

77.25 Subd. 5. Seed potatoes. "Seed potatoes" means potatoes used, sold, offered or exposed​

77.26 for sale, or held with intent to sell or as a sample representing any lot or stock of potatoes​

77.27 offered or exposed for sale or held with intent to sell within this state, for the purpose of​

77.28 planting.​

77.29 Subd. 6. Person. "Person" includes an individual, partnership, corporation, company,​

77.30 society, association, and firms.​

77.31 Subd. 7. Physically separated. "Physically separated" means separated by at least the​

77.32 width of one row and markings such as flags at every corner of the lot.​
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78.1 Subd. 8. Rejected. "Rejected" means that a field or lot fails to meet the certification​

78.2 standards in this chapter.​

78.3 Subd. 9. Tuber units. "Tuber units" means the separate pieces of one tuber that are​

78.4 planted consecutively in two or more hills in a row.​

78.5 Subd. 10. Winter testing. "Winter testing" means growing out and visually inspecting​

78.6 a representative sample of tubers from each seed lot for stand, vigor, varietal purity, and​

78.7 disease.​

78.8 Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 21.112, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

78.9 read:​

78.10 Subd. 1a. Interstate cooperation. In order to best use state resources, the commissioner​

78.11 may enter into agreements with other seed potato certification entities to carry out the​

78.12 purposes of sections 21.111 to 21.125. An agreement under this subdivision may provide​

78.13 for field inspections, shipping point inspections, winter testing, and other certification​

78.14 functions to be carried out by personnel employed by either the commissioner or other seed​

78.15 potato certification entities according to methods determined by the seed potato certification​

78.16 entities. The commissioner may extend seed potato certification services to a state where​

78.17 growers wish to grow certified seed potatoes and where the state does not have a seed potato​

78.18 certification program. Any agreement under this subdivision must be reported to the chairs​

78.19 and ranking minority members of the legislative committees responsible for the budget or​

78.20 policy of the seed potato inspection program and to the commissioner of management and​

78.21 budget.​

78.22 Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 21.113, is amended to read:​

78.23 21.113 SHIPPING POINT CERTIFICATES OF INSPECTION; CERTIFICATES​

78.24 OF ORIGIN; AND BULK CERTIFICATES.​

78.25 Subdivision 1. Shipping point inspections. (a) The commissioner shall issue shipping​

78.26 point certificates of inspection only when seed potatoes have been inspected while growing​

78.27 in the field and again after being harvested.​

78.28 (b) For seed potatoes produced in a lab or greenhouse, the commissioner shall issue​

78.29 certificates of inspection only after:​

78.30 (1) the seed potato lab growth facility and the lab's growth facility's records have been​

78.31 inspected; and​
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79.1 (2) the seed potatoes have been inspected after they have been harvested, removed, or​

79.2 released from the lab or greenhouse.​

79.3 (c) Certificates of inspection under this section shall show the varietal purity and the​

79.4 freedom from disease and physical injury of such potatoes and any other information as​

79.5 may be prescribed by rules adopted and published under sections 21.111 to 21.122 21.125.​

79.6 Subd. 2. Other certificates. (a) The use of a certificate of origin requires the approval​

79.7 of the seller and the purchaser and must only be used for intrastate shipments between​

79.8 certified seed potato producers. The certificate of origin must contain information considered​

79.9 necessary by the commissioner and must at a minimum identify the producer, receiver,​

79.10 variety, classification, quantity, date of shipment, and lot of the seed potatoes. The limitation​

79.11 of warranty as described in paragraph (c) must not include any representation of the condition​

79.12 of the potatoes at the time of shipment. A certificate of origin must only be used for intrastate​

79.13 shipment if a shipping point inspection is not available. Use of a certificate of origin must​

79.14 be approved by the commissioner prior to shipment.​

79.15 (b) A bulk certificate must include the date of issuance, class, grade, lot number, and​

79.16 approximate weight of the load.​

79.17 (c) A certification does not represent a warranty of any kind, express or implied, including​

79.18 merchantability, as to the quality of the crop produced from the certified seed potatoes. A​

79.19 certification must only represent that the seed potatoes were produced, graded, sacked or​

79.20 placed in bulk, and inspected in accordance with this chapter. A certification under this​

79.21 subdivision must not include any representation of the condition of the potatoes at the time​

79.22 of shipment.​

79.23 Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 21.115, is amended to read:​

79.24 21.115 FEES; SEED POTATO INSPECTION ACCOUNT.​

79.25 The commissioner shall fix the fees for all inspections and certifications in such amounts​

79.26 as from time to time may be found necessary to pay the expenses of carrying out and​

79.27 enforcing the purposes of sections 21.111 to 21.122 21.125, with a reasonable reserve, and​

79.28 shall require the same to be paid before such inspections or certifications are made. All​

79.29 moneys collected as fees or as penalties for violations of any of the provisions of such​

79.30 sections shall be paid into the agricultural fund and credited to the seed potato inspection​

79.31 account of the commissioner, which account is hereby created and appropriated for carrying​

79.32 out the purposes of sections 21.111 to 21.122 21.125. Interest, if any, received on deposits​

79.33 of these moneys shall be credited to the account, and there shall be paid into this fund any​
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80.1 sum provided by the legislature for the purpose of carrying out the provisions of such​

80.2 sections.​

80.3 Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 21.117, is amended to read:​

80.4 21.117 APPLICATIONS FOR INSPECTIONS; WITHDRAWALS;​

80.5 AMENDMENTS.​

80.6 (a) Any person may make application to the commissioner for inspection or certification​

80.7 of seed potatoes growing or to be grown. Upon receiving such application and the required​

80.8 fee and such other information as may be required, the commissioner shall cause such​

80.9 potatoes to be inspected or certified in accordance with the provisions of sections 21.111​

80.10 to 21.122 and the rules adopted and published thereunder 21.125.​

80.11 (b) If a grower wishes to withdraw a field or lab an application after having made a​

80.12 timely application for inspection and such withdrawal is requested before the field or lab​

80.13 inspection has been made, the fee paid shall be refunded to said grower. A grower must​

80.14 submit a withdrawal request in writing and include a reason for withdrawal. A grower must​

80.15 remove withdrawn acres from production before the first field inspection.​

80.16 (c) If a grower wishes to amend an application after submitting a timely application for​

80.17 inspection, the grower must submit the request in writing, including a reason for the​

80.18 amendment.​

80.19 Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 21.119, is amended to read:​

80.20 21.119 USE OF CERTAIN TERMS FORBIDDEN; EXCEPTIONS.​

80.21 It shall be unlawful to use or employ the term "certified" or the term "inspected," or any​

80.22 term or terms conveying a meaning substantially equivalent to the meaning of either of​

80.23 these terms, either orally or in writing, printing, marking, or otherwise in reference to or in​

80.24 connection with, or in advertising or characterizing or labeling seed potatoes or the containers​

80.25 thereof, unless such potatoes shall have been duly inspected and certified pursuant to the​

80.26 provisions of sections 21.111 to 21.122 21.125.​

80.27 Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 21.1195, is amended to read:​

80.28 21.1195 MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR PLANTING.​

80.29 (a) Seed Potatoes may not be planted in the state in lots of ten or more acres unless the​

80.30 seed meets the minimum disease standards prescribed by the commissioner. Seed Potatoes​

80.31 may meet the standards by being certified in accordance with this chapter and rules adopted​
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81.1 by the commissioner, or under the certification program of another state or province which,​

81.2 in the judgment of the commissioner, provides equivalent assurances of seed potato quality.​

81.3 Seed Potatoes may be planted without certification if they have had at least field inspection​

81.4 as required for certified seed potatoes, have passed the field inspection standards of disease​

81.5 tolerance, and are free from ring rot. A person that plants seed potatoes in violation of this​

81.6 section is subject to a civil penalty of $20 per acre for each acre or part of an acre planted​

81.7 in violation of this section. Failure to maintain complete and accurate records in accordance​

81.8 with this section or rules adopted by the commissioner is an additional violation resulting​

81.9 in a separate civil penalty of $200 for each failure is a violation and subject to enforcement​

81.10 under chapter 18J.​

81.11 (b) If there is not available to be planted in this state, in any year, a sufficient volume​

81.12 of potato seed meeting certified seed potato disease standards, in any or all varieties, the​

81.13 commissioner may, upon application by one or more growers, permit seed that does not​

81.14 comply with this section to be planted for that growing season if the seed does not pose a​

81.15 serious disease threat.​

81.16 (c) Each grower shall keep records of each lot of seed potatoes planted. For each growing​

81.17 season, the records must include, by field, the variety, planting location, and source of the​

81.18 seed potatoes. Each grower shall register fields and file records as prescribed by the​

81.19 commissioner. All records must be made available for inspection by the commissioner or​

81.20 the commissioner's agents during normal business hours.​

81.21 (d) In addition to the enforcement powers and penalties in this section, the commissioner​

81.22 may issue a subpoena to a grower in order to compel delivery of records which are required​

81.23 under this section. These subpoenas are enforceable by any court of competent jurisdiction.​

81.24 Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 21.1196, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

81.25 Subd. 2. Restriction. (a) The seed potato certification requirements under sections 21.111​

81.26 to 21.122 apply to potatoes grown in plots of ten acres or more in the restricted seed potato​

81.27 growing area. Qualifying potatoes grown in the restricted seed potato growing area must​

81.28 be certified as seed potatoes. A grower who seeks to plant potatoes in the restricted seed​

81.29 potato growing area and who does not intend to have the potatoes certified as seed potatoes​

81.30 must meet the following requirements:​

81.31 (1) seed potatoes planted in the restricted seed potato growing area must have been​

81.32 certified before planting. For seed potatoes to be certified, the seed potatoes must meet the​

81.33 standards of this chapter or the standards of a certification program of another state or​
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82.1 province that, in the judgment of the commissioner, provides equivalent assurances of seed​

82.2 potato quality;​

82.3 (2) certification documentation for all lots planted on a farm must be filed with the​

82.4 Department of Agriculture;​

82.5 (3) planted lots must meet tolerances for certified class seed potatoes; and​

82.6 (4) the potato plants must be inspected by the commissioner during a site visit.​

82.7 (b) The commissioner may enter and inspect plots subject to paragraph (a) during the​

82.8 growing season.​

82.9 (c) Potatoes grown in the restricted seed potato growing area that have not met the​

82.10 requirements for certification must not be labeled, marketed, or sold as certified seed potatoes.​

82.11 (d) If, in any year, a sufficient volume of potato seed that meets certification standards​

82.12 related to disease, in any or all varieties, is not available to be planted in Minnesota, the​

82.13 commissioner may, upon application by one or more growers, permit potato seed that does​

82.14 not comply with this section to be planted for that growing season if the seed does not pose​

82.15 a serious threat of disease to the public.​

82.16 Sec. 24. [21.123] SEED POTATO CERTIFICATION.​

82.17 Subdivision 1. Eligibility. In order to produce certified seed potatoes, a grower must​

82.18 comply with the following requirements:​

82.19 (1) a grower must ensure that potatoes meet the tolerances prescribed by this chapter​

82.20 and the potatoes have been inspected by the commissioner while growing in a field;​

82.21 (2) a grower must ensure that all potatoes planted on the grower's farm have been entered​

82.22 for certification by the commissioner;​

82.23 (3) a grower must ensure that each lot is grown while physically separated from other​

82.24 lots. Markers must be visible to an inspector from anywhere in the area of separation;​

82.25 (4) a grower must submit an application for certification before June 16 each year on​

82.26 forms provided by the commissioner. The commissioner must charge a ten percent late​

82.27 registration fee to a grower who submitted an application postmarked after June 15 and​

82.28 before July 1. The commissioner may extend the deadline due to special circumstances,​

82.29 such as a natural disaster, that make it impractical or impossible for planting to be completed​

82.30 by the deadline and that affect an area or large number of growers. A grower must make a​

82.31 request for an extension in writing before June 16;​
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83.1 (5) an application for certification must include a North American Health Certificate​

83.2 and a shipping point certificate, bulk seed certificate, or certificate of origin. The​

83.3 commissioner must not accept an incomplete application for certification;​

83.4 (6) an application for recertification must demonstrate that the seed potatoes being​

83.5 entered for recertification originated from a class system in Minnesota or another state or​

83.6 province under the supervision of another certifying agency; and​

83.7 (7) a grower must comply with sections 21.111 to 21.125. A grower's violation of sections​

83.8 21.111 to 21.125 is cause for the commissioner to reject the grower's field or lot. A grower​

83.9 must not sell or label potatoes as certified seed potatoes when the potatoes were grown in​

83.10 a rejected field or lot.​

83.11 Subd. 2. Certification process. (a) As part of the certification process, the commissioner​

83.12 must visually inspect sample plants and tubers from each field and lot belonging to the​

83.13 grower, except that the commissioner is not required to visually inspect sample plants and​

83.14 tubers when certifying prenuclear class potatoes.​

83.15 (b) For seed potato varieties that do not exhibit visible symptoms of a specific pathogen,​

83.16 the commissioner must subject the seed potatoes to laboratory tests to determine the level​

83.17 of a pathogen in a seed lot. Testing under this paragraph may occur during the growing​

83.18 season, the storage season, or winter testing.​

83.19 (c) The commissioner must not accept an application for certification from a grower in​

83.20 a community or county without sufficient acreage for total inspection fee charges to cover​

83.21 the cost of wages and expenses of the commissioner to complete an inspection. The​

83.22 commissioner must make a determination of sufficient acreage under this paragraph before​

83.23 conducting an inspection as part of the certification process.​

83.24 (d) The commissioner must not inspect a field for certification unless both the planted​

83.25 seed potato variety and the particular planted lot have been authorized by the commissioner.​

83.26 When considering the authorization of a particular seed potato variety for planting as certified​

83.27 seed potatoes, the commissioner must consider scientific evidence and the expert opinions​

83.28 of inspectors.​

83.29 (e) The following classes of seed potatoes are eligible for planting as certified seed​

83.30 potatoes: Prenuclear (PN), Generation 1 (G1), Generation 2 (G2), Generation 3 (G3),​

83.31 Generation 4 (G4), Generation 5 (G5), and experimental class seed potatoes. The​

83.32 commissioner may authorize the planting of Certified (C) class or Generation 6 (G6) class​

83.33 seed potatoes if the commissioner determines that the seeds do not pose a serious threat of​

83.34 disease to the public.​
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84.1 Subd. 3. Bacterial ring rot or potato spindle tuber viroid. If the commissioner finds​

84.2 the presence of bacterial ring rot or potato spindle tuber viroid in a field or lot, the​

84.3 commissioner must reject the entire field or lot. If the commissioner discovers a single plant​

84.4 in a field or a tuber in storage that is infected with bacterial ring rot or potato spindle tuber​

84.5 viroid, the commissioner must reject the entire field or lot where the plant was grown. If​

84.6 the commissioner has not found bacterial ring rot or potato spindle tuber viroid in a field​

84.7 or lot, the field or lot is not necessarily free from either disease.​

84.8 Subd. 4. Winter testing. (a) In order to detect certain virus diseases, the commissioner​

84.9 must conduct winter testing of a sample from each class seeking eligibility for recertification,​

84.10 except PN, G1, and experimental classes. The commissioner must grow out and visually​

84.11 inspect a representative sample of tubers from each seed lot for stand, vigor, varietal purity,​

84.12 and disease. If, during a visual inspection, a plant shows signs of potato virus Y or potato​

84.13 leafroll virus, or if the plant is of a variety that does not express visual symptoms of infection,​

84.14 the commissioner must ensure that a sample of the plant is lab tested for potato virus Y and​

84.15 potato leafroll virus. The commissioner must determine whether a field or lot contains the​

84.16 threshold amount of disease permitted under section 21.124, subdivision 9. The commissioner​

84.17 must include any lot that passes winter testing in the approved list of certified seed lots​

84.18 eligible for recertification.​

84.19 (b) If the commissioner determines that a winter test of a lot or field has a serious​

84.20 malfunction, the commissioner must base classification of the lot or field on summer field​

84.21 readings from the previous year or lab testing.​

84.22 (c) Instead of winter testing a sample of winter grow out, the commissioner may accept​

84.23 comprehensive lab testing if the commissioner determines that special circumstances exist,​

84.24 such as a natural disaster, that would make submission of samples for inclusion in winter​

84.25 testing impractical or impossible.​

84.26 (d) The commissioner must reject a field or lot if the commissioner determines that a​

84.27 large number of plants are missing from the field or lot due to disease.​

84.28 (e) The commissioner must reject a field or lot if the commissioner determines that the​

84.29 field or lot contains a large number of weak plants.​

84.30 (f) The commissioner may reject a field or lot if the field or lot contains a large number​

84.31 of plants that have a mixture of variety.​

84.32 Subd. 5. Seed potato certification classes. Seed potato certification classes must be​

84.33 differentiated by the potatoes' compliance with disease tolerances, varietal purity, and seed​
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85.1 origin. Seed potato certification classes are: Prenuclear, Generation 1, Generation 2,​

85.2 Generation 3, Generation 4, Generation 5, Generation 6, and Certified.​

85.3 Subd. 6. Experimental status. (a) Lots from a breeder's seed that have not been tested​

85.4 and have not been determined to be virus-free are considered experimental. The commissioner​

85.5 must designate seedlings or numbered selections in experimental status as a class and​

85.6 determine requirements of that class.​

85.7 (b) To obtain experimental status under this subdivision, an applicant must submit a​

85.8 written statement from the seedlings' or numbered selections' breeder, originator, or​

85.9 originator's designee verifying that the applicant has full and unrestricted rights to introduce​

85.10 the seedlings or numbered selections into the commercial market and that the applicant may​

85.11 apply to enter the seedlings or numbered selections into the certification system. The written​

85.12 statement must accompany the certification application submitted by the applicant.​

85.13 (c) After reviewing the applicant's written statement and certification application, the​

85.14 commissioner may designate seedlings or numbered selections described in the application​

85.15 as having experimental status.​

85.16 (d) After an applicant is notified by the commissioner that the seedlings or numbered​

85.17 selections have experimental status, the applicant must ensure that the seedlings or numbered​

85.18 selections are tagged with the word "EXPERIMENTAL."​

85.19 Subd. 7. Protected varieties. If an applicant seeks to enter a seed potato variety protected​

85.20 under the Plant Variety Protection Act Amendments of 1994 into the certification system,​

85.21 the applicant must submit a written statement from the breeder, originator, or originator's​

85.22 designee that the applicant has full and unrestricted rights to introduce the protected variety​

85.23 into the certification system. The applicant must ensure that the written statement​

85.24 accompanies the certification application for any protected seed potato variety.​

85.25 Subd. 8. Certification factors; field inspection. (a) The commissioner must consider​

85.26 the following factors when conducting a field inspection pursuant to a certification​

85.27 application:​

85.28 (1) the commissioner must reject a field or lot if a large number of plants are missing​

85.29 due to disease;​

85.30 (2) the commissioner must reject a field or lot if the field or lot contains a large number​

85.31 of weak plants;​

85.32 (3) the commissioner must inspect a field or lot for bacterial ring rot. The commissioner​

85.33 must reject a field or lot if the commissioner finds the presence of bacterial ring rot. If​

85​Article 5 Sec. 24.​

COUNSEL LP/EO/GC SCS2458A-3​04/01/25 11:57 am ​



86.1 bacterial ring rot is present in a field or lot, the remaining crop is not eligible for certification​

86.2 planting;​

86.3 (4) the commissioner must reject a field or lot if the field or lot contains potatoes with​

86.4 a level of disease higher than the acceptable tolerance for the disease for the potatoes' seed​

86.5 potato certification class according to section 21.124, subdivision 9;​

86.6 (5) the commissioner must reject a field or lot if the field or lot contains a percentage​

86.7 of diseased plants that exceeds the acceptable percentage of disease listed in section 21.124​

86.8 for the seed potato certification class;​

86.9 (6) the commissioner must reject a field or lot if any of the following are present in the​

86.10 field or lot to such an extent that the commissioner is unable to complete a satisfactory​

86.11 inspection for diseases: early or late blight, blackleg or wilt of any kind, weeds, plant injury​

86.12 from insects, or chemical damage; and​

86.13 (7) the commissioner must reject a field or lot if any other conditions are present to such​

86.14 an extent that the commissioner is unable to make a satisfactory inspection for diseases.​

86.15 (b) The commissioner must determine that a field is ineligible for certification if cull​

86.16 piles are in such close vicinity to the field that it is likely that the field is contaminated.​

86.17 (c) The commissioner must make at least two field inspections of a field during the​

86.18 growing season. The commissioner must conduct a final inspection of a field for bacterial​

86.19 ring rot during the time of year that symptoms of bacterial ring rot are most likely to be​

86.20 observed. If the commissioner is unable to conduct a final inspection under this paragraph​

86.21 due to management practices of the grower or for a reason that is out of the grower's control,​

86.22 such as a natural disaster, the grower must ensure that laboratory testing is conducted to​

86.23 maintain eligibility for certification. An additional inspection or additional laboratory testing​

86.24 may be necessary to meet phytosanitary requirements in established markets in another state​

86.25 or in a Canadian province.​

86.26 Subd. 9. Roguing. If any of the diseases listed in section 21.124, subdivision 1, are​

86.27 present in a field in amounts greater than the maximum disease tolerance level, the grower​

86.28 must rogue the field and remove the infected plants before the final inspection by the​

86.29 commissioner. If a grower has completed roguing a field after tubers have formed, the​

86.30 grower must remove and destroy all tubers from rogued plants.​

86.31 Subd. 10. Storage. (a) A grower must ensure that a lot is stored under conditions that​

86.32 prevent disease contamination. A grower must not store a lot in any warehouse where other​

86.33 potatoes are stored, unless the grower labels the lot according to paragraph (b).​
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87.1 (b) If more than one grower stores lots in the same warehouse, each grower must identify​

87.2 the grower's lots by labeling the bin containing the lot with the grower's name, the grower's​

87.3 address, the variety of potatoes in the bin, and the number of potatoes in the bin.​

87.4 (c) If a grower plans to store a lot in a public warehouse or storage unit that is not directly​

87.5 under the grower's control, the grower must send a complete record of storage to the​

87.6 commissioner prior to storing the lot. The record must include the address and location of​

87.7 the public warehouse or storage unit, the variety of potatoes in each bin, and the number of​

87.8 potatoes in each bin. If a warehouse receipt for the lot is available, the grower must submit​

87.9 a copy of the warehouse receipt to the commissioner. If more than one grower stores lots​

87.10 in the same public warehouse or storage unit, the grower must label each lot according to​

87.11 paragraph (b).​

87.12 (d) A grower must not use the same equipment for grading and handling lots of certified​

87.13 seed potatoes and other potatoes. If a grower has used the same equipment for grading and​

87.14 handling certified seed potatoes and other potatoes, the commissioner must reject the grower's​

87.15 lots.​

87.16 (e) A firm that handles lots under contract must label each bin containing a lot with the​

87.17 name of the grower whose lots are being stored. A firm handling lots under contract must​

87.18 properly label and handle bins containing lots. A certification tag or bulk certificate must​

87.19 not be issued unless all bins are properly labeled according to this paragraph.​

87.20 (f) By November 1 of each crop year, a grower must submit to the commissioner a​

87.21 completed storage and yield report for each lot on a form prescribed by the commissioner.​

87.22 The commissioner may extend the deadline after November 1 due to special circumstances,​

87.23 such as a natural disaster, that would make it impractical or impossible for a grower to​

87.24 complete harvesting and storage by November 1 and that affect an area or a large number​

87.25 of growers. A grower must submit a written request for an extension to the commissioner​

87.26 before November 1 of the crop year for which the extension is sought.​

87.27 Subd. 11. Tags; bulk certificates. (a) Once the commissioner has informed a grower​

87.28 that the grower's potatoes meet the certification requirements in sections 21.111 to 21.125,​

87.29 a grower may tag the potatoes using an approved tag indicating the grade of potatoes as​

87.30 blue-tag-certified seed potato grade, yellow-tag-certified seed potato grade, or​

87.31 white-tag-certified seed potato grade. A grower's name, the city where the farm is located,​

87.32 the potato variety, and the crop year must be printed on a tag under this subdivision.​

87.33 (b) When fastening a tag to a potato sack, a grower must fasten the tag to the sack to​

87.34 form a seal at the time that the lot is prepared for shipment.​
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88.1 (c) A bulk certificate must include the date that the certificate was issued, class, grade,​

88.2 lot number, and approximate weight of the lot.​

88.3 (d) If a grower wishes to tag the grower's own potatoes, the grower must order the tags​

88.4 for the grower's own potatoes.​

88.5 (e) A grower may print a tag for potatoes if the grower has provided proof of each lot​

88.6 to the commissioner for review before using the tag. A tag printed by a grower must contain​

88.7 the following statement: "The quality and condition of each lot is only confirmed through​

88.8 a shipping point inspection certificate. This tag, without an accompanying shipping point​

88.9 inspection certificate, is not proof that the potatoes contained within have been duly​

88.10 inspected."​

88.11 Subd. 12. Certified seed potato grades. Certified seed potatoes must be classified by​

88.12 certified seed potato grades based on the number of physical defects of tubers. A grower​

88.13 must only use a certified seed potato grade for potatoes after a shipping point inspection of​

88.14 the potatoes has been completed. The following three grades of certified seed potatoes must​

88.15 be used for Minnesota-certified seed potatoes:​

88.16 (1) the blue-tag-certified seed potato grade is the first grade of certified seed potatoes.​

88.17 The blue-tag-certified seed potato grade is stricter than other grades. The blue-tag-certified​

88.18 seed potato grade does not allow as many physical defects of tubers as other grades. A​

88.19 grower may use the blue-tag-certified seed potato grade for intrastate and interstate shipments​

88.20 of certified seed potatoes.​

88.21 (2) the yellow-tag-certified seed potato grade is the second grade of certified seed​

88.22 potatoes. The yellow-tag-certified seed potato grade allows more physical defects of tubers​

88.23 than the blue-tag-certified seed potato grade. A grower may use the yellow-tag-certified​

88.24 seed potato grade for intrastate and interstate shipments of certified seed potatoes; and​

88.25 (3) the white-tag-certified seed potato grade is the third grade of certified seed potatoes.​

88.26 The number of physical defects that the white-tag-certified seed potato grade allows is​

88.27 determined by an agreement between the purchaser and seller of the certified seed potatoes.​

88.28 A grower may use the white-tag-certified seed potato grade for intrastate and interstate​

88.29 shipments of certified seed potatoes.​

88.30 Subd. 13. Grading. (a) A grower must ensure that a lot is inspected at the shipping point​

88.31 if the lot requires a grade statement.​

88.32 (b) If an inspection at the shipping point is impossible, a grower must request a grading​

88.33 inspection in transit.​
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89.1 (c) A grower must ensure that a bagged lot or shipment offered for sale and tagged with​

89.2 approved certification tags is contained in new even-weight sacks.​

89.3 (d) A grower must ensure that a bulk shipment is identified with a bulk certificate.​

89.4 (e) A grower must ensure that a bagged lot and bulk lot or shipment meets grade standards​

89.5 in section 21.125.​

89.6 (f) A grower must recondition a lot or shipment that fails to meet the grade standards in​

89.7 section 21.125.​

89.8 (1) If a lot or shipment fails to meet grade standards and is contained in sacks, a grower​

89.9 must remove approved certification tags from the lot or shipment before the lot or shipment​

89.10 may proceed to its destination.​

89.11 (2) If a shipment is in bulk and fails to meet grade standards in section 21.125, a bulk​

89.12 certificate must not be issued.​

89.13 (g) If a lot or shipment fails to meet grade standards, the shipper must bear the costs of​

89.14 reconditioning potatoes to meet the grade standards in section 21.125.​

89.15 Sec. 25. [21.124] REQUIREMENTS FOR PRODUCTION OF DIFFERENT​

89.16 CLASSES OF CERTIFIED SEED POTATOES.​

89.17 Subdivision 1. Prenuclear class certified seed potatoes. (a) A lot grown as and intended​

89.18 to be prenuclear class certified seed potatoes must be grown from plants tested and shown​

89.19 to be free from the following pathogens:​

89.20 (1) Clavibacter michiganensis ssp. sepedonicus (ring rot);​

89.21 (2) Pectobacterium atrosepticum ssp. Atrosepticum, carotovora (blackleg);​

89.22 (3) potato virus X;​

89.23 (4) potato virus S;​

89.24 (5) potato virus A;​

89.25 (6) potato virus M;​

89.26 (7) potato virus Y;​

89.27 (8) potato spindle tuber viroid; and​

89.28 (9) potato leafroll virus.​

89.29 (b) When growing prenuclear class seed potatoes, a grower must ensure that each explant​

89.30 or tuber is tested for organisms for which testing is required by the state or province of​
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90.1 destination. A grower must ensure that material in maintenance is tested during the year of​

90.2 producing prenuclear class seed potatoes.​

90.3 (c) A grower must produce prenuclear class seed potatoes in a greenhouse or screenhouse​

90.4 under sanitary conditions, free from insects and weeds that can harbor or transmit potato​

90.5 diseases or other conditions that would allow possible disease contamination. A grower​

90.6 must ensure that a facility used for growing prenuclear seed potatoes is sufficiently insulated​

90.7 from insects by screens and double doors. The commissioner may inspect any facility or​

90.8 equipment used for growing, handling, and storing prenuclear class seed potatoes to verify​

90.9 that the facility or equipment complies with this paragraph.​

90.10 (d) A grower must ensure that one percent of each lot or ten plants or tubers from each​

90.11 lot, whichever is greater, is tested during the growing season to verify that the crop is free​

90.12 from potato virus X, potato virus Y, potato leafroll virus, C. michiganensis, and P.​

90.13 atrosepticum.​

90.14 (e) Prenuclear tubers may originate from greenhouse tubers for one year only if the​

90.15 greenhouse tubers have remained at the same growing operation and have remained isolated​

90.16 from field-grown tubers.​

90.17 (f) Prenuclear class certified seed potatoes must not contain more than the allowable​

90.18 tolerances for disease and varietal mixture in subdivision 9.​

90.19 Subd. 2. Generation 1 class certified seed potatoes. (a) Generation 1 class seed potatoes​

90.20 must meet the following requirements:​

90.21 (1) the seed source must be either prenuclear tubers, clones, or plantlets; and​

90.22 (2) tubers or plantlets must be planted in identifiable family units.​

90.23 (b) Lots in Generation 1 class may be exempt from winter testing requirements if leaves​

90.24 collected during the growing season are laboratory tested and shown to be within the​

90.25 allowable tolerance of potato virus X, potato virus Y, and other pathogens identified by the​

90.26 commissioner.​

90.27 (c) Each lot must be stored in an individual identifiable unit.​

90.28 (d) Generation 1 seed potatoes must not contain more than the allowable tolerances for​

90.29 disease and varietal mixture for seed potatoes in subdivision 9.​

90.30 Subd. 3. Generation 2 class certified seed potatoes. Generation 2 class seed potatoes​

90.31 must originate from Generation 1 class seed potatoes. Generation 2 class seed potatoes must​
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91.1 not contain more than the allowable tolerances of disease and varietal mixture in subdivision​

91.2 9.​

91.3 Subd. 4. Generation 3 class certified seed potatoes. Generation 3 class seed potatoes​

91.4 must originate from Generation 2 class seed potatoes. Generation 3 class seed potatoes must​

91.5 not contain more than the allowable tolerances of disease and varietal mixture in subdivision​

91.6 9.​

91.7 Subd. 5. Generation 4 class certified seed potatoes. Generation 4 class seed potatoes​

91.8 must originate from Generation 3 class seed potatoes. Generation 4 class seed potatoes must​

91.9 not contain more than the allowable tolerances for disease and varietal mixture in subdivision​

91.10 9.​

91.11 Subd. 6. Generation 5 class certified seed potatoes. Generation 5 class seed potatoes​

91.12 must originate from Generation 4 class seed potatoes. Generation 5 class seed potatoes must​

91.13 not contain more than the allowable tolerances for disease and varietal mixture in subdivision​

91.14 9.​

91.15 Subd. 7. Generation 6 class certified seed potatoes. Generation 6 class seed potatoes​

91.16 must originate from Generation 5 class seed potatoes. Generation 6 class seed potatoes must​

91.17 not contain more than the allowable tolerances for disease and varietal mixture in subdivision​

91.18 9.​

91.19 Subd. 8. Certified class certified seed potatoes. Certified class seed potatoes must​

91.20 originate from generation classes of seed potatoes. Certified class seed potatoes must not​

91.21 contain more than the allowable tolerances for disease and varietal mixture in subdivision​

91.22 9.​

91.23 Subd. 9. Allowable tolerances for diseases and varietal mixture by generation​

91.24 class. The numbers represent the percentage of potatoes that may be affected out of an​

91.25 individual lot.​

C​G6​G5​G4​G3​G2​G1​91.26 PN​

91.27 Tolerances:​

1​0.5​0.5​0.5​0.5​0.5​0.5​0​

91.28 Severe Mosaic from​
91.29 potato virus Y, A, M,​
91.30 X, and/or S​

1​0.5​0.5​0.5​0.5​0.5​0.5​0​91.31 Leafroll​

1​0.5​0.5​0.5​0.5​0.5​0.5​0​91.32 Total​

0.5​0.5​0.5​0.5​0.5​0.5​0.5​0​91.33 Other viruses​

0.5​0.5​0.5​0.5​0.5​0.5​0.5​0​

91.34 Mycoplasms (haywire,​
91.35 witches broom, yellow​
91.36 dwarf)​
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0.5​0.5​0.5​0.5​0.5​0.5​0.5​0​92.1 Total​

exc.​exc.​exc.​1​0.5​0.2​0​0​92.2 Blackleg​

0.2​0.2​0.1​0.1​0.1​0​0​0​92.3 Varietal mixture​

0​0​0​0​0​0​0​0​
92.4 Ring Rot and Spindle​
92.5 Tuber​

92.6 Winter Test:​

0.5​0.5​0.5​0.5​0.5​0.5​0.5​-​

92.7 Virus or expressing​
92.8 symptoms of chemical​
92.9 damage​

92.10 Sec. 26. [21.125] MINNESOTA CERTIFIED SEED POTATO GRADES AND​

92.11 TOLERANCES.​

92.12 Subdivision 1. Certified seed potato grading. Potatoes must meet the requirements of​

92.13 sections 21.111 to 21.125 to be graded as certified seed potatoes.​

92.14 Subd. 2. Definitions. (a) For the purposes of this section, the following terms have the​

92.15 meanings given.​

92.16 (b) "Damage" means any defect or combination of defects that materially affects the​

92.17 appearance of the individual potato, or that cannot be removed without a loss of more than​

92.18 five percent of the total weight of the potato, including the peel covering the defective area.​

92.19 (c) "Diameter" means the greatest dimension at right angles to the longitudinal axis.​

92.20 Diameter means the long axis.​

92.21 (d) "Dry rot" means decaying tissue that is dry.​

92.22 (e) "Fairly clean" means that the individual potato is reasonably free from dirt, staining,​

92.23 or other foreign matter.​

92.24 (f) "Fairly well-shaped" means that the individual potato is not materially pointed,​

92.25 dumbbell-shaped, or otherwise ill-formed.​

92.26 (g) "Mature" means that the outer skin does not loosen or feather readily during the​

92.27 ordinary methods of handling.​

92.28 (h) "Serious damage" means any defect or combination of defects that seriously affects​

92.29 the appearance of the individual potato or that cannot be removed without a loss of more​

92.30 than ten percent of the total weight of the potato, including the peel covering the defective​

92.31 area.​

92.32 (i) "Slightly dirty" means the appearance is not materially affected by dirt, staining, or​

92.33 other foreign matter.​

92​Article 5 Sec. 26.​

COUNSEL LP/EO/GC SCS2458A-3​04/01/25 11:57 am ​



93.1 (j) "Soft rot" or "wet breakdown" means any soft, mushy, or leaky condition of potato​

93.2 tissues.​

93.3 (k) "Well-shaped" means the normal shape for a variety.​

93.4 Subd. 3. Damage. The commissioner must find that one or more of the following defects​

93.5 constitutes damage:​

93.6 (1) a russet scab that materially detracts from the appearance of a potato;​

93.7 (2) second growth or growth cracks that materially affect the appearance of an individual​

93.8 potato;​

93.9 (3) air cracks when removal of the air cracks causes a loss of more than five percent of​

93.10 the total weight of a potato;​

93.11 (4) a potato that is more than moderately shriveled, spongy, or flabby;​

93.12 (5) an individual potato that has sprouts over one inch in length;​

93.13 (6) a surface scab, powdery scab, or pitted scab that covers more than five percent of​

93.14 the surface of a potato or a surface scab, powdery scab, or pitted scab that, when removed,​

93.15 causes a potato to lose more than five percent of the potato's total weight, including peel​

93.16 covering a defective area of the potato; or​

93.17 (7) more than 50 percent of a potato's surface contains scattered, lightly caked soil or​

93.18 more than 15 percent of a potato's surface is badly caked with soil.​

93.19 Subd. 4. Serious damage. The commissioner must find that one or more of the following​

93.20 defects constitutes serious damage:​

93.21 (1) a russet scab that seriously detracts from the appearance of a potato;​

93.22 (2) the appearance of a potato is seriously affected by caked or smeared dirt or other​

93.23 foreign matter;​

93.24 (3) both ends of a potato are cut or clipped, more than an estimated one-fourth of a potato​

93.25 is cut away from one end, or a remaining portion of a clipped potato weighs less than six​

93.26 ounces;​

93.27 (4) one or more cuts that seriously affect the appearance of a potato or that cannot be​

93.28 removed without the loss of more than ten percent of a potato's total weight, including peel​

93.29 covering the defective area;​

93.30 (5) a potato that is excessively shriveled, spongy, or flabby;​
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94.1 (6) a surface scab, powdery scab, or pitted scab that covers more than 25 percent of the​

94.2 surface of a potato or a surface scab, powdery scab, or pitted scab that, when removed,​

94.3 causes a loss of more than ten percent of a potato's total weight, including peel covering the​

94.4 defective area; or​

94.5 (7) wireworm or air cracks that, when removed, cause a loss of more than ten percent​

94.6 of a potato's total weight.​

94.7 Subd. 5. Application of tolerance. If the average of an entire lot is within the disease​

94.8 tolerances specified for the grade in section 21.124, subdivision 9, an individual container​

94.9 in the lot may contain no more than double the disease tolerance specified in section 21.124,​

94.10 subdivision 9, except that sprouts, at least one defective specimen with a defect other than​

94.11 bacterial ring rot, and one off size specimen is permitted. This subdivision does not apply​

94.12 to bulk conveyances.​

94.13 Subd. 6. Condition after transit. Deterioration that developed in transit must affect the​

94.14 condition of potatoes. Deterioration that developed in transit must not affect the grade of​

94.15 potatoes.​

94.16 Subd. 7. Minnesota blue-tag-certified seed potato grade. (a) To be graded as Minnesota​

94.17 blue-tag-certified seed potatoes, potatoes must meet the following requirements:​

94.18 (1) at the time of the shipping point inspection, potatoes must be of one variety;​

94.19 unwashed; fairly well-shaped; free from bacterial ring rot, late blight, freezing, black heart,​

94.20 and soft rot or wet breakdown; free from damage caused by soil or other foreign matter,​

94.21 second growth, air cracks, cuts, shriveling, sprouts, pitted scabs, surface scabs, powdery​

94.22 scabs, russet scabs, dry rot, other diseases, insects or worms, mechanical or other means,​

94.23 or flattened or depressed areas with underlying flesh discoloration; and free from serious​

94.24 damage caused by hollow heart, wireworm, growth cracks, or internal discoloration other​

94.25 than hollow heart. Sunburn and silver scurf must not be considered factors that affect the​

94.26 grading of potatoes. This clause does not apply to hollow heart if the potatoes are labeled​

94.27 "hollow heart exempt" on the affixed tag or accompanying certificate; and​

94.28 (2) for round or intermediate shaped varieties, the maximum potato size is 12 ounces​

94.29 (340.2 grams) and, unless otherwise specified, the minimum size must not be less than 1-1/2​

94.30 inches (38.1 millimeters) in diameter. For long varieties, the maximum size is 14 ounces​

94.31 (396.9 grams) and, unless otherwise specified, the minimum size must not be less than 1-1/2​

94.32 inches (38.1 millimeters) in diameter. For all varieties, the minimum diameter for size "B"​

94.33 must not be less than 1-1/2 inches (38.1 millimeters) and the maximum size must not be​

94.34 more than 2-1/4 inches (57.1 millimeters) in diameter. The department may grade potatoes​
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95.1 that do not meet the maximum and minimum size specifications as Minnesota​

95.2 blue-tag-certified seed potatoes if the buyer agrees to accept potatoes of alternate size​

95.3 specifications from the grower and the specifications are listed on the affixed tag or​

95.4 accompanying bulk certificate issued by the department.​

95.5 (b) To allow for variations incident to proper grading and handling, the following lot​

95.6 tolerances are permitted:​

95.7 (1) for defects:​

95.8 (i) up to ten percent of a lot may be seriously damaged by hollow heart, unless labeled​

95.9 "hollow heart exempt" on the affixed tag or accompanying certificate;​

95.10 (ii) up to five percent of a lot may be seriously damaged by internal discoloration due​

95.11 to causes other than hollow heart;​

95.12 (iii) up to ten percent of a lot may be damaged by soil or other foreign matter;​

95.13 (iv) up to 20 percent of a lot may be damaged by sprouts;​

95.14 (v) up to ten percent of a lot may be seriously damaged by wireworm;​

95.15 (vi) for potatoes that fail to meet the remaining requirements of the potatoes' grade, a​

95.16 lot may contain up to a total of six percent of the following defects combined and must not​

95.17 contain more than the following percentage of defects:​

95.18 (A) soft rot, frozen, or wet breakdown, 0.5 percent;​

95.19 (B) damage by surface scab, powdery scab, or pitted scab, 2.0 percent;​

95.20 (C) damage by dry rot, 2.0 percent, of which not more than 1.0 percent is late blight​

95.21 tuber rot;​

95.22 (D) bacterial ring rot, 0.0 percent; and​

95.23 (E) late blight tuber rot, 1.0 percent; and​

95.24 (vii) the presence of the following does not affect seed quality and must not be scored​

95.25 against the potatoes' grade:​

95.26 (A) brown discoloration following skinning;​

95.27 (B) dried stems;​

95.28 (C) flattened or depressed areas showing no underlying flesh discoloration;​

95.29 (D) greening;​

95.30 (E) sunburn;​
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96.1 (F) skin checks; and​

96.2 (G) silver scurf; and​

96.3 (2) for off size:​

96.4 (i) up to five percent of potatoes may fail to meet the required or specified minimum​

96.5 size; and​

96.6 (ii) up to ten percent of potatoes may fail to meet the required maximum size.​

96.7 Subd. 8. Minnesota yellow-tag-certified seed potato grade. (a) To be graded as​

96.8 Minnesota yellow-tag-certified seed potatoes, potatoes must meet the following requirements:​

96.9 (1) at the time of the shipping point inspection, the potatoes must be of one variety;​

96.10 unwashed; fairly well-shaped; free from bacterial ring rot, late blight, freezing, black heart,​

96.11 and soft rot or wet breakdown; free from damage caused by second growth, air cracks, cuts,​

96.12 shriveling, pitted scabs, surface scabs, powdery scabs, dry rot, other diseases, insects or​

96.13 worms, or mechanical means or other means; and free from serious damage caused by soil​

96.14 or other foreign matter, hollow heart, wireworm, growth cracks, russet scabs, or internal​

96.15 discoloration other than hollow heart. Sunburn and silver scurf must not be considered​

96.16 factors that affect the grading of potatoes. This clause does not apply to hollow heart if​

96.17 labeled "hollow heart exempt" on the affixed tag or accompanying certificate; and​

96.18 (2) for all varieties, the maximum potato size is 14 ounces (396.9 grams) and the​

96.19 minimum size is 1-1/2 inch (38.1 millimeter) in diameter. For all varieties, the minimum​

96.20 diameter for size "B" must not be less than 1-1/2 inches (38.1 millimeters) and the maximum​

96.21 diameter must not be more than 2-1/4 inches (57.1 millimeters). The department may grade​

96.22 potatoes that do not meet the maximum and minimum size specifications as Minnesota​

96.23 yellow-tag-certified seed potatoes if the buyer agrees to accept potatoes with alternate size​

96.24 specifications from the grower and the size specifications are listed on the affixed tag or​

96.25 accompanying bulk certificate issued by the department.​

96.26 (b) To allow for variations incident to proper grading and handling, the following lot​

96.27 tolerances are permitted:​

96.28 (1) for defects:​

96.29 (i) up to 20 percent of potatoes may be seriously damaged by hollow heart, unless labeled​

96.30 "hollow heart exempt" on the affixed tag or accompanying certificate;​

96.31 (ii) up to five percent of potatoes may be seriously damaged by internal discoloration​

96.32 due to a cause other than hollow heart;​
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97.1 (iii) up to ten percent of potatoes may be seriously damaged by soil or other foreign​

97.2 matter;​

97.3 (iv) up to ten percent of potatoes may be seriously damaged by wireworm;​

97.4 (v) up to 20 percent of a lot may have defects if the potatoes fail to meet the remaining​

97.5 requirements of the grade. Of the 20 percent of defects allowed, a lot may contain a total​

97.6 of six percent of the following defects combined and must not contain more than the​

97.7 following percentage of defects:​

97.8 (A) soft rot, frozen, or wet breakdown, 0.5 percent;​

97.9 (B) damage by surface scab, powdery scab, or pitted scab, 5.0 percent;​

97.10 (C) damage by dry rot, 2.0 percent, of which not more than 1.0 percent is late blight​

97.11 tuber rot;​

97.12 (D) bacterial ring rot, 0.0 percent; and​

97.13 (E) late blight tuber rot, 1.0 percent; and​

97.14 (vi) the presence of the following does not affect seed quality and must not be scored​

97.15 against the grade:​

97.16 (A) brown discoloration following skinning;​

97.17 (B) dried stems;​

97.18 (C) flattened or depressed areas showing no underlying flesh discoloration;​

97.19 (D) greening;​

97.20 (E) sunburn;​

97.21 (F) skin checks;​

97.22 (G) silver scurf; and​

97.23 (H) sprouts; and​

97.24 (2) for off size:​

97.25 (i) five percent for potatoes that fail to meet the required or specified minimum size;​

97.26 and​

97.27 (ii) ten percent for potatoes that fail to meet the required maximum size.​

97​Article 5 Sec. 26.​
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98.1 (c) The potatoes must be fairly well-shaped, with an exception for long varieties when​

98.2 specified as "except for shape." When specified as "except for shape," the tubers may be​

98.3 misshapen.​

98.4 Subd. 9. Minnesota white-tag-certified seed potato grade. Minnesota white-tag-certified​

98.5 seed potato grade consists of certified seed potatoes that are graded according to agreement​

98.6 between the seller and the purchaser as to size and defects, except that not more than one-half​

98.7 percent of soft rot, frozen, or wet breakdown and two percent dry rot, of which not more​

98.8 than one percent late blight tuber rot is allowed.​

98.9 Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 21.891, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

98.10 Subd. 2. Seed fee permits. (a) A labeler who wishes to sell seed in Minnesota must​

98.11 comply with section 21.89, subdivisions 1 and 2, and the procedures in this subdivision.​

98.12 Each labeler who wishes to sell seed in Minnesota must apply to the commissioner to obtain​

98.13 a permit. The application must contain the name and address of the applicant, the application​

98.14 date, and the name and title of the applicant's contact person. Permit fees are based on the​

98.15 initial sale of seed in Minnesota.​

98.16 (b) The application for a seed permit covered by section 21.89, subdivision 2, clause​

98.17 (1), must be accompanied by an application fee of $75.​

98.18 (c) The application for a seed permit covered by section 21.89, subdivision 2, clause​

98.19 (2), must be accompanied by an application fee based on the level of annual gross sales as​

98.20 follows:​

98.21 (1) for gross sales of $0 to $25,000, the annual permit fee is $75;​

98.22 (2) for gross sales of $25,001 to $50,000, the annual permit fee is $150;​

98.23 (3) for gross sales of $50,001 to $100,000, the annual permit fee is $300;​

98.24 (4) for gross sales of $100,001 to $250,000, the annual permit fee is $750;​

98.25 (5) for gross sales of $250,001 to $500,000, the annual permit fee is $1,500;​

98.26 (6) for gross sales of $500,001 to $1,000,000, the annual permit fee is $3,000; and​

98.27 (7) for gross sales of $1,000,001 and above, the annual permit fee is $4,500.​

98.28 (d) The application for a seed permit covered by section 21.89, subdivision 2, clause​

98.29 (3), must be accompanied by an application fee of $75. Labelers holding seed fee permits​

98.30 covered under this paragraph need not apply for a new permit or pay the application fee.​

98​Article 5 Sec. 27.​
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99.1 Under this permit category, the fees for the following kinds of agricultural seed sold either​

99.2 in bulk or containers are:​

99.3 (1) oats, wheat, and barley, 9 cents per hundredweight;​

99.4 (2) rye, field beans, buckwheat, and flax, 12 cents per hundredweight;​

99.5 (3) field corn, 17 cents per 80,000 seed unit;​

99.6 (4) forage, hemp, lawn and turf grasses, and legumes, 69 cents per hundredweight;​

99.7 (5) sunflower, $1.96 per hundredweight;​

99.8 (6) sugar beet, 12 cents per 100,000 seed unit;​

99.9 (7) soybeans, 7.5 cents per 140,000 seed unit;​

99.10 (8) for any agricultural seed not listed in clauses (1) to (7), the fee for the crop most​

99.11 closely resembling it in normal planting rate applies; and​

99.12 (9) for native grasses and wildflower seed, $1 per hundredweight.​

99.13 (e) If, for reasons beyond the control and knowledge of the labeler, seed is shipped into​

99.14 Minnesota by a person other than the labeler, the responsibility for the seed fees are​

99.15 transferred to the shipper. An application for a transfer of this responsibility must be made​

99.16 to the commissioner. Upon approval by the commissioner of the transfer, the shipper is​

99.17 responsible for payment of the seed permit fees.​

99.18 (f) Seed permit fees may be included in the cost of the seed either as a hidden cost or as​

99.19 a line item cost on each invoice for seed sold. To identify the fee on an invoice, the words​

99.20 "Minnesota seed permit fees" must be used.​

99.21 (g) All seed fee permit holders must file semiannual reports with the commissioner,​

99.22 even if no seed was sold during the reporting period. Each semiannual report must be​

99.23 submitted within 30 days of the end of each reporting period. The reporting periods are​

99.24 October 1 to March 31 and April 1 to September 30 of each year or July 1 to December 31​

99.25 and January 1 to June 30 of each year must be determined by the commissioner and​

99.26 communicated annually to permit holders. Permit holders may change their reporting periods​

99.27 with the approval of the commissioner.​

99.28 (h) The holder of a seed fee permit must pay fees on all seed for which the permit holder​

99.29 is the labeler and which are covered by sections 21.80 to 21.92 and sold during the reporting​

99.30 period.​

99​Article 5 Sec. 27.​

COUNSEL LP/EO/GC SCS2458A-3​04/01/25 11:57 am ​



100.1 (i) If a seed fee permit holder fails to submit a semiannual report and pay the seed fee​

100.2 within 30 days after the end of each reporting period, the commissioner shall assess a penalty​

100.3 of $100 or eight percent, calculated on an annual basis, of the fee due, whichever is greater,​

100.4 but no more than $500 for each late semiannual report. A $15 penalty must be charged when​

100.5 the semiannual report is late, even if no fee is due for the reporting period. Seed fee permits​

100.6 may be revoked for failure to comply with the applicable provisions of this paragraph or​

100.7 the Minnesota seed law.​

100.8 Sec. 28. REPEALER.​

100.9 Minnesota Statutes 2024, sections 21.116; 21.118; 21.1196, subdivision 3; 21.121; and​

100.10 21.122, are repealed.​

100.11 Sec. 29. EFFECTIVE DATE.​

100.12 This article is effective August 1, 2025.​

100.13 ARTICLE 6​

100.14 FOOD HANDLER LICENSING PROVISIONS​

100.15 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 28A.03, subdivision 7, is amended to read:​

100.16 Subd. 7. Principal mode of business. "Principal mode of business" means that type of​

100.17 business described under paragraph (a), or (b), (c) or (d) in section 28A.05 within which​

100.18 category the greatest amount of the applicant's food business lies.​

100.19 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 28A.03, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

100.20 read:​

100.21 Subd. 12. Risk category. "Risk category" means a classification of the level of food​

100.22 safety risk associated with food handling, processing, preparation, and storage based upon​

100.23 an assessment by regulatory food safety professionals of the potential likelihood and severity​

100.24 of harm.​

100.25 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 28A.03, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

100.26 read:​

100.27 Subd. 13. Gross sales or service. "Gross sales or service" means a calculation in dollars​

100.28 of the total value of food sales or service at the location before taxes or deductions that​

100.29 includes the value of food items held for distribution to other places of business or donated.​

100​Article 6 Sec. 3.​
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101.1 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 28A.04, is amended to read:​

101.2 28A.04 LICENSE REQUIRED; CUSTOM PROCESSING PERMIT​

101.3 APPLICATIONS; RENEWALS.​

101.4 Subdivision 1. Application; date of issuance. (a) No person shall engage in the business​

101.5 of manufacturing, processing, selling, handling, or storing food without having first obtained​

101.6 from the commissioner a license for doing such business. Applications for such license shall​

101.7 be made to the commissioner in such manner and time as required and upon such forms as​

101.8 provided by the commissioner and shall contain the name and address of the applicant,​

101.9 address or description of each place of business, and the nature of the business to be​

101.10 conducted at each place, and such other pertinent information as the commissioner may​

101.11 require.​

101.12 (b) An applicant for a license must submit a nonrefundable application fee of $50 with​

101.13 each license application. The fee under this paragraph does not apply to annual license​

101.14 renewals. The fee under this paragraph is not required for applications to operate solely as​

101.15 a special event food stand or custom exempt food handler.​

101.16 (b) (c) A retail or wholesale food handler license shall be issued for the period July​

101.17 January 1 to June 30 following December 31 and shall be renewed thereafter by the licensee​

101.18 on or before July January 1 of each year, except that:​

101.19 (1) retail and wholesale food handler licenses issued for the period of July 1, 2025, to​

101.20 June 30, 2026, must be renewed on or before July 1, 2026, for the period of July 1, 2026,​

101.21 to December 31, 2026. The renewal fee for the period of July 1, 2026, to December 31,​

101.22 2026, is one-half of the fee for a food handler specified in section 28A.08, subdivision 3;​

101.23 (1) (2) licenses for all mobile food concession units and retail mobile units must be​

101.24 issued for the period April 1 to March 31, and must be renewed thereafter by the licensee​

101.25 on or before April 1 of each year; and.​

101.26 (2) A license issued for a temporary food concession stand must have a license issuance​

101.27 and renewal date consistent with appropriate statutory provisions.; and​

101.28 (3) a license for a food handler operating only at the State Fair must be issued for the​

101.29 period of July 1 to June 30 and must be renewed thereafter by the licensee on or before July​

101.30 1 of each year.​

101.31 (d) A penalty for late renewal under paragraph (b) must be assessed in accordance with​

101.32 section 28A.08.​
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102.1 (c) (e) A custom exempt food handler license shall be issued for the period July 1 to​

102.2 June 30 following and shall must be renewed thereafter by the licensee on or before July 1​

102.3 each year. The custom exempt food handler license is for businesses that only conduct​

102.4 custom exempt operations and mark all products as "Not For Sale." Food handlers that​

102.5 conduct retail exempt operations or other operations other than custom exempt processing​

102.6 or slaughter are not eligible for this license.​

102.7 (d) A license for a food broker or for a food processor or manufacturer shall be issued​

102.8 for the period January 1 to December 31 following and shall be renewed thereafter by the​

102.9 licensee on or before January 1 of each year, except that a license for a wholesale food​

102.10 processor or manufacturer operating only at the state fair shall be issued for the period July​

102.11 1 to June 30 following and shall be renewed thereafter by the licensee on or before July 1​

102.12 of each year. A penalty for a late renewal shall be assessed in accordance with section​

102.13 28A.08.​

102.14 (e) (f) On a quarterly basis during the licensing period, the commissioner must prorate​

102.15 the fee for an initial license issued under this chapter, except that a person applying for a​

102.16 new license up to 14 calendar days before the effective date of the new license period under​

102.17 paragraph (b) must be issued a license for the 14 days and the next license year as a single​

102.18 license and pay a single license fee as if the 14 days were part of the upcoming license​

102.19 period.​

102.20 Subd. 2. Custom processing or Minnesota Meat and Poultry Inspection Act permit. In​

102.21 addition to the license requirements set forth in subdivision 1, every custom exempt processor​

102.22 or establishment operating under the Minnesota Meat and Poultry Inspection Act as defined​

102.23 in section 31A.31, shall obtain a custom processing permit or Minnesota Meat and Poultry​

102.24 Grant of Inspection permit. Application for a permit shall be made on forms provided by​

102.25 the commissioner. The commissioner shall cause the custom processor's place of business​

102.26 to be inspected and if the commissioner finds that the applicant's place of business complies​

102.27 with state standards relating to meat processing plants, a custom processing permit under​

102.28 this subdivision shall be issued to the applicant. No An additional fee shall of up to $500​

102.29 may be charged for a custom processing permit under this subdivision.​

102.30 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 28A.05, is amended to read:​

102.31 28A.05 CLASSIFICATION FOOD HANDLERS.​

102.32 Subdivision 1. Food handler classes. All persons required to have a license under section​

102.33 28A.04 shall be classified into one of the following classes of food handlers, according to​

102.34 their principal mode of business.​
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103.1 (a) Retail Food handlers are persons who:​

103.2 (1) sell or process and sell food directly to the ultimate consumer or who custom process​

103.3 meat or poultry. The term includes a person who sells food directly to the ultimate consumer​

103.4 through the use of vending machines, and a person who sells food for consumption on site​

103.5 or off site if the sale is conducted on the premises that are part of a grocery or convenience​

103.6 store operation.;​

103.7 (b) Wholesale food handlers are persons who (2) sell to others other business entities or​

103.8 establishments for resale., including a person who handles food in job lots (jobbers) is​

103.9 included in this classification.; or​

103.10 (c) Wholesale food processors or manufacturers are persons who (3) process or​

103.11 manufacture raw materials and other food ingredients into food items, or who reprocess​

103.12 food items, or who package food for sale to others other business entities or establishments​

103.13 for resale, or who commercially slaughter animals or poultry. Included herein are persons​

103.14 who can, extract, ferment, distill, pickle, bake, freeze, dry, smoke, grind, mix, stuff, pack,​

103.15 bottle, recondition, or otherwise treat or preserve food for sale to others other business​

103.16 entities or establishments for resale, cold storage warehouse operators as defined in section​

103.17 28.01, subdivision 3, salvage food processors as defined in section 31.495, subdivision 1,​

103.18 and dairy plants as defined in section 32D.01, subdivision 6.​

103.19 (d) (b) Custom exempt food handlers are persons who only conduct custom exempt​

103.20 processing as defined in section 31A.02, subdivision 5. A retail or wholesale transaction​

103.21 may not take place in a facility operated by a person with a custom exempt food handler​

103.22 license.​

103.23 (e) A food broker is a person who buys and sells food and who negotiates between a​

103.24 buyer and a seller of food, but who at no time has custody of the food being bought and​

103.25 sold.​

103.26 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 28A.06, is amended to read:​

103.27 28A.06 EXTENT OF LICENSE.​

103.28 No person, except as described in section 27.03, shall be required to hold more than one​

103.29 license in order to engage in any aspect of food handling described in section 28A.05​

103.30 provided, except that:​

103.31 (1) each issued license shall be valid for no more than one place of business, except that;​
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104.1 (2) a license for a mobile unit or a retail food vehicle, portable structure, or cart is valid​

104.2 statewide and is required to be issued only once each year unless the licensee fails to display​

104.3 the license as required by section 28A.07 or it is a seasonal permanent food stand, seasonal​

104.4 temporary food stand, food cart, or special event food stand as defined in section 157.15,​

104.5 in which case the duration of the license is restricted by the limitations found in the definitions​

104.6 in section 157.15.; and​

104.7 (3) the commissioner may authorize a food handler reporting $50,000 or less gross​

104.8 annual food sales to conduct business activities under the food handler's license at up to​

104.9 two additional locations if:​

104.10 (i) the food handler has reported each location and activity to the commissioner; and​

104.11 (ii) the commissioner has approved each location and activity before the food handler​

104.12 conducts business activities at each location.​

104.13 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 28A.07, is amended to read:​

104.14 28A.07 ISSUANCE OF LICENSE.​

104.15 Prior to the issuance or renewal of any license herein, the commissioner may cause​

104.16 appropriate inspections to be made to determine under applicable statutory and promulgated​

104.17 rule requirements, the applicant's risk category and fitness to engage in the mode(s) of​

104.18 business activities described in that person's license application. A valid and properly​

104.19 displayed license shall be sufficient to allow the licensee to engage in the manner of food​

104.20 handling so described in the licensee's application, provided that the commissioner may​

104.21 withhold authorization to engage in any aspects of business for which the applicant is not​

104.22 deemed fit under this section. A licensee may, at any time, apply to change such application​

104.23 which shall then be considered by the commissioner in the same manner as a new or renewal​

104.24 application hereunder.​

104.25 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 28A.0753, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

104.26 Subd. 3. Food manufacturer, processor, or distributor handlers who manufacture,​

104.27 process, or distribute; licensing, preemption by state. When a food manufacturer,​

104.28 processor, or distributor handler described in section 28A.05, subdivision 1, paragraph (a),​

104.29 clauses (2) and (3), is licensed by the commissioner of agriculture, the food manufacturer,​

104.30 processor or distributor handler is exempt from the licensing requirements of any municipal​

104.31 corporation or subdivision of state government, except for licensing requirements which​

104.32 may be imposed by the municipal corporation or subdivision of state government in which​
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105.1 the manufacturer, processor, or distributor food handler locates a plant. All delivery​

105.2 equipment used by such a food manufacturer, processor or distributor handler is included​

105.3 within the meaning of this section, whether owned or operated, independently contracted,​

105.4 or contracted with a common carrier approved by the commissioner of agriculture. This​

105.5 delivery equipment is exempt from licensing by any municipal corporation or subdivision​

105.6 of state government except for those requirements which may be imposed by the municipal​

105.7 corporation or subdivision of state government in which the equipment is principally located.​

105.8 Delivery equipment approved by the commissioner of agriculture shall carry, at all times,​

105.9 a certificate of approval for the purposes for which the equipment is utilized. Nothing in​

105.10 this section is intended to permit the enactment of an ordinance regulating an activity where​

105.11 the state has preempted the field.​

105.12 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 28A.08, is amended to read:​

105.13 28A.08 LICENSE FEES; PENALTIES.​

105.14 Subdivision 1. General. (a) License fees, penalties for late renewal of licenses, and​

105.15 penalties for not obtaining a license before conducting business in food handling that are​

105.16 set in this section apply to the sections named except as provided under section 28A.09.​

105.17 Except as specified herein, bonds and assessments based on number of units operated or​

105.18 volume handled or processed which are provided for in said laws shall not be affected, nor​

105.19 shall any penalties for late payment of said assessments, nor shall inspection fees, be affected​

105.20 by this chapter. The penalties may be waived by the commissioner. Fees for all new licenses​

105.21 must be based on the anticipated future gross annual food sales. If a firm is found to be​

105.22 operating for multiple years without paying license fees, the state may collect the appropriate​

105.23 fees and penalties for each year of operation.​

105.24 (b) The commissioner may adjust the fees in subdivision 3 every five years to the inflation​

105.25 level established in the United States Bureau of Labor and Statistics Consumer Price Index,​

105.26 using July 2025 as the base month and year.​

105.27 Subd. 3. Fees effective July 1, 2003 August 1, 2025.​

105.28 Penalties​

No​
License​

Late​
Renewal​

License​
Fee​

Risk​
105.30 Category​
105.29 Type of food handler​

105.31 Effective​
105.32 July 1,​
105.33 2003​

Retail food handler or Custom exempt food​
105.35 handler​
105.34 1.​
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$ 33​$ 17​$ 50​

106.1 (a) Having gross sales of only prepackaged​
106.2 nonperishable food of less than $15,000​
106.3 for the immediately previous license or​
106.4 fiscal year and filing a statement with the​
106.5 commissioner​

$ 51​
$90​

$ 25​
$45​

$ 77​
$135​

106.6 (b) (a) Having under $15,000 gross sales​
106.7 or service including food preparation or​
106.8 having $15,000 to $50,000 or less gross​
106.9 sales or service for the immediately​
106.10 previous license or fiscal year​

$102​
$133​

$ 51​
$67​

$155​
$200​

106.11 (c) (b) Having $50,001 to $250,000​
106.12 $125,000 gross sales or service for the​
106.13 immediately previous license or fiscal year​

$182​
$247​

$ 91​
$123​

$276​
$370​

106.14 (d) (c) Having $250,001 $125,001 to​
106.15 $1,000,000 $500,000 gross sales or service​
106.16 for the immediately previous license or​
106.17 fiscal year​

$527​
$317​

$264​
$158​

$799​
$475​

106.18 (e) (d)  Having $1,000,001 $500,001 to​
106.19 $5,000,000 $1,000,000 gross sales or​
106.20 service for the immediately previous​
106.21 license or fiscal year​

$767​
$900​

$383​
$450​

$1,162​
$1,350​

106.22 (f) (e) Having $5,000,001 $1,000,001 to​
106.23 $10,000,000 $5,000,000 gross sales or​
106.24 service for the immediately previous​
106.25 license or fiscal year​

$1,167​$583​$1,750​

106.26 (f) Having $5,000,001 to $10,000,000 gross​
106.27 sales or service for the immediately​
106.28 previous license or fiscal year​

$908​
$1,433​

$454​
$717​

$1,376​
$2,150​

106.29 (g) Having $10,000,001 to $15,000,000​
106.30 gross sales or service for the immediately​
106.31 previous license or fiscal year​

$1,061​
$1,700​

$530​
$849​

$1,607​
$2,550​

106.32 (h) Having $15,000,001 to $20,000,000​
106.33 gross sales or service for the immediately​
106.34 previous license or fiscal year​

$1,219​
$1,967​

$610​
$984​

$1,847​
$2,950​

106.35 (i) Having $20,000,001 to $25,000,000​
106.36 gross sales or service for the immediately​
106.37 previous license or fiscal year​

$1,321​
$2,233​

$660​
$1,117​

$2,001​
$3,350​

106.38 (j) Having over $25,000,001 gross sales or​
106.39 service for the immediately previous​
106.40 license or fiscal year​

Wholesale Food handler​106.41 2.​

$60​$30​$90​

106.42 (a) Having gross sales of only prepackaged​
106.43 nonperishable food of less than $30,000​
106.44 for the immediately previous license or​
106.45 fiscal year and filing a statement with the​
106.46 commissioner​

$ 38​
$190​

$ 19​
$95​

106.47 $ 57​
$285​High​

Medium​
Low​

106.48 (a) (b) Having gross sales or service of less​
106.49 than $25,000 $50,000 for the immediately​
106.50 previous license or fiscal year​

$130​
$90​

$65​
$45​

$195​
$135​
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$187​
$233​

$ 94​
$117​

$284​
$350​High​

Medium​
Low​

107.1 (b) (c) Having $25,001 $50,001 to​
107.2 $250,000 $125,000 gross sales or service​
107.3 for the immediately previous license or​
107.4 fiscal year​

$173​
$133​

$87​
$67​

$260​
$200​

$293​
$277​

$147​
$138​

$444​
$415​High​

Medium​
Low​

107.5 (c) (d) Having $250,001 $125,001 to​
107.6 $1,000,000 $250,000 gross sales or service​
107.7 from a mobile unit without a separate food​

$233​
$177​

$117​
$ 88​

$350​
$265​

107.8 facility for the immediately previous​
107.9 license or fiscal year​

$389​
$347​

$195​
$173​

$590​
$520​High​

Medium​
Low​

107.10 (d) (e) Having $250,001 to $1,000,000​
107.11 $500,000 gross sales or service not covered​
107.12 under paragraph (c) for the immediately​
107.13 previous license or fiscal year​

$287​
$247​

$143​
$123​

$430​
$370​

$508​
$417​

$254​
$208​

$769​
$625​High​

Medium​
Low​

107.14 (e) (f) Having $1,000,001 $500,001 to​
107.15 $5,000,000 $1,000,000 gross sales or​
107.16 service for the immediately previous​
107.17 license or fiscal year​

$357​
$317​

$178​
$158​

$535​
$475​

$607​
$1,000​

$304​
$500​

$920​
$1,500​High​

Medium​
Low​

107.18 (f) (g) Having $5,000,001 $1,000,001 to​
107.19 $10,000,000 $5,000,000 gross sales or​
107.20 service for the immediately previous​
107.21 license or fiscal year​

$950​
$900​

$475​
$450​

$1,425​
$1,350​

$1,267​
$1,217​
$1,167​

$633​
$608​
$583​

$1,900​
$1,825​
$1,750​

High​
Medium​

Low​

107.22 (h) Having $5,000,001 to $10,000,000​
107.23 gross sales or service for the immediately​
107.24 previous license or fiscal year​

$653​
$1,533​

$327​
$767​

107.25 $990​
$2,300​High​

Medium​
Low​

107.26 (g) (i) Having $10,000,001 to $15,000,000​
107.27 gross sales or service for the immediately​
107.28 previous license or fiscal year​

$1,483​
$1,433​

$742​
$717​

$2,225​
$2,150​

$763​
$1,800​

$381​
$900​

107.29 $1,156​
$2,700​High​

Medium​
Low​

107.30 (h) (j) Having $15,000,001 to $20,000,000​
107.31 gross sales or service for the immediately​
107.32 previous license or fiscal year​

$1,750​
$1,700​

$875​
$849​

$2,625​
$2,550​

$877​
$2,067​

$439​
$1,033​

107.33 $1,329​
$3,100​High​

Medium​
Low​

107.34 (i) (k) Having $20,000,001 to $25,000,000​
107.35 gross sales or service for the immediately​
107.36 previous license or fiscal year​

$2,017​
$1,967​

$1,008​
$984​

$3,025​
$2,950​

$991​
$2,333​

$496​
$1,167​

107.37 $1,502​
$3,500​High​

Medium​
Low​

107.38 (j) (l) Having over $25,000,001 or more to​
107.39 $50,000,000 gross sales or service for the​
107.40 immediately previous license or fiscal year​

$2,283​
$2,233​

$1,142​
$1,117​

$3,425​
$3,350​

$2,667​
$2,617​
$2,567​

$1,334​
$1,309​
$1,284​

$4,000​
$3,925​
$3,850​

High​
Medium​

Low​

107.41 (m) Having $50,000,001 to $100,000,000​
107.42 gross sales or service for the immediately​
107.43 previous license or fiscal year​

$3,000​
$2,950​
$2,900​

$1,500​
$1,475​
$1,450​

$4,500​
$4,425​
$4,350​

High​
Medium​

Low​

107.44 (n) Having $100,000,001 or more gross​
107.45 sales or service for the immediately​
107.46 previous license or fiscal year​

$ 99​
$50​

$ 50​
$25​

$150​
$75​

Food broker Food handler operating under​
107.48 authority of this chapter solely as a special​
107.47 3.​

107.49 event food stand as defined in Minnesota​
107.50 Statutes, section 157.15​

Wholesale food processor or manufacturer​107.51 4.​

107​Article 6 Sec. 9.​
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$112​$ 56​$169​

108.1 (a) Having gross sales or service of less​
108.2 than $125,000 for the immediately previous​
108.3 license or fiscal year​

$259​$129​$392​

108.4 (b) Having $125,001 to $250,000 gross​
108.5 sales or service for the immediately​
108.6 previous license or fiscal year​

$389​$195​$590​

108.7 (c) Having $250,001 to $1,000,000 gross​
108.8 sales or service for the immediately​
108.9 previous license or fiscal year​

$508​$254​$769​

108.10 (d) Having $1,000,001 to $5,000,000 gross​
108.11 sales or service for the immediately​
108.12 previous license or fiscal year​

$607​$304​$920​

108.13 (e) Having $5,000,001 to $10,000,000​
108.14 gross sales or service for the immediately​
108.15 previous license or fiscal year​

$909​$454​$1,377​

108.16 (f) Having $10,000,001 to $15,000,000​
108.17 gross sales or service for the immediately​
108.18 previous license or fiscal year​

$1,061​$531​$1,608​

108.19 (g) Having $15,000,001 to $20,000,000​
108.20 gross sales or service for the immediately​
108.21 previous license or fiscal year​

$1,220​$610​$1,849​

108.22 (h) Having $20,000,001 to $25,000,000​
108.23 gross sales or service for the immediately​
108.24 previous license or fiscal year​

$1,379​$690​$2,090​

108.25 (i) Having $25,000,001 to $50,000,000​
108.26 gross sales or service for the immediately​
108.27 previous license or fiscal year​

$1,538​$769​$2,330​

108.28 (j) Having $50,000,001 to $100,000,000​
108.29 gross sales or service for the immediately​
108.30 previous license or fiscal year​

$1,697​$848​$2,571​

108.31 (k) Having $100,000,000 or more gross​
108.32 sales or service for the immediately​
108.33 previous license or fiscal year​

Wholesale food processor of Meat or​
108.35 poultry products processing solely under​
108.34 5.​

108.36 supervision of the U.S. Department of​
108.37 Agriculture​

$ 74​
$127​

$ 37​
$63​

$112​
$190​

108.38 (a) Having gross sales or service of less​
108.39 than $125,000 for the immediately previous​
108.40 license or fiscal year​

$141​
$243​

$ 71​
$122​

$214​
$365​

108.41 (b) Having $125,001 to $250,000 gross​
108.42 sales or service for the immediately​
108.43 previous license or fiscal year​

$220​
$300​

$110​
$150​

$333​
$450​

108.44 (c) Having $250,001 to $1,000,000​
108.45 $500,000 gross sales or service for the​
108.46 immediately previous license or fiscal year​

$377​$188​$565​

108.47 (d) Having $500,001 to $1,000,000 gross​
108.48 sales or service for the immediately​
108.49 previous license or fiscal year​

108​Article 6 Sec. 9.​
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$281​
$483​

$140​
$241​

$425​
$725​

109.1 (d) (e) Having $1,000,001 to $5,000,000​
109.2 gross sales or service for the immediately​
109.3 previous license or fiscal year​

$344​
$590​

$172​
$295​

$521​
$885​

109.4 (e) (f) Having $5,000,001 to $10,000,000​
109.5 gross sales or service for the immediately​
109.6 previous license or fiscal year​

$505​
$807​

$252​
$435​

$765​
$1,305​

109.7 (f) (g) Having $10,000,001 to $15,000,000​
109.8 gross sales or service for the immediately​
109.9 previous license or fiscal year​

$589​
$1,010​

$295​
$505​

$893​
$1,515​

109.10 (g) (h) Having $15,000,001 to $20,000,000​
109.11 gross sales or service for the immediately​
109.12 previous license or fiscal year​

$678​
$1,163​

$339​
$582​

$1,027​
$1,745​

109.13 (h) (i) Having $20,000,001 to $25,000,000​
109.14 gross sales or service for the immediately​
109.15 previous license or fiscal year​

$766​
$1,317​

$383​
$658​

$1,161​
$1,975​

109.16 (i) (j) Having $25,000,001 to $50,000,000​
109.17 gross sales or service for the immediately​
109.18 previous license or fiscal year​

$855​
$1,477​

$427​
$738​

$1,295​
$2,215​

109.19 (j) (k) Having $50,000,001 to $100,000,000​
109.20 gross sales or service for the immediately​
109.21 previous license or fiscal year​

$942​
$1,643​

$471​
$822​

$1,428​
$2,465​

109.22 (k) (l) Having $100,000,001 or more gross​
109.23 sales or service for the immediately​
109.24 previous license or fiscal year​

$ 50​$ 40​$125​
Wholesale food processor or manufacturer​

109.26 operating only at the State Fair​
109.25 6.​

$ 15​$ 10​$ 30​

Wholesale food manufacturer having the​
109.28 permission of the commissioner to use the​
109.29 name Minnesota Farmstead cheese​

109.27 7.​

$ 15​$ 10​$ 30​

Wholesale food manufacturer processing​
109.31 less than 700,000 pounds per year of raw​
109.32 milk​

109.30 8.​

$ 25​$ 15​$ 50​

A milk marketing organization without​
109.34 facilities for processing or manufacturing​
109.33 9.​

109.35 that purchases milk from milk producers​
109.36 for delivery to a licensed wholesale food​
109.37 processor or manufacturer​

109.38 Subd. 4. Food handler license account; appropriation. A food handler license account​

109.39 is established in the agricultural fund. Fees paid under subdivision 3 and section 28A.04​

109.40 must be deposited in this account. Money in the account, including interest, is appropriated​

109.41 to the commissioner for expenses relating to licensing and inspecting regulating food handlers​

109.42 under chapters 28 to 34A or rules adopted under one of those chapters.​

109.43 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 28A.081, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

109.44 Subdivision 1. Fee. A fee of $125 for each certificate shall be charged to any person​

109.45 who requests a certificate issued by the Minnesota Department of Agriculture to facilitate​

109​Article 6 Sec. 10.​
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110.1 the movement of Minnesota processed and manufactured foods destined for export from​

110.2 the state of Minnesota. Certificates include, but are not limited to, a certificate of free sale,​

110.3 certificate of export, certificate of sanitation, sanitary certificate, certificate of origin and/or​

110.4 free sale, certificate of health and/or free sale, sanitation, and purity, certificate of free trade,​

110.5 certificate of free sale, sanitation, purity, and origin, certificate of health, sanitation, purity,​

110.6 and free sale, and letter of plant certification.​

110.7 The commissioner shall must receive payment with the request or bill the requesting​

110.8 person within seven days after issuing a certificate to the person. The requesting person​

110.9 must submit payment for a certificate at the time of receiving the request or within ten days​

110.10 of the billing date. If a certificate fee payment is not received within 15 days of the billing​

110.11 date, the commissioner may not issue any future certificates to the requesting person until​

110.12 previous fees due are paid in full. Fees paid under this section must be deposited in the food​

110.13 certificate account established under subdivision 2 or another account in the agricultural​

110.14 fund if the expenses for the certificate will be paid from that other account.​

110.15 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 28A.085, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

110.16 Subdivision 1. Violations; prohibited acts. The commissioner may charge a reinspection​

110.17 fee for each reinspection of a food handler or custom exempt food handler that:​

110.18 (1) is found with a major violation of requirements in chapter 28, 29, 30, 31, 31A, 32D,​

110.19 33, or 34, or rules adopted under one of those chapters; or​

110.20 (2) fails to correct equipment and facility deficiencies as required in rules adopted under​

110.21 chapter 28, 29, 30, 31, 31A, 32D, or 34.​

110.22 The first reinspection of a firm with gross food sales under $1,000,000 must be assessed​

110.23 at $150 $250. The fee for a firm with gross food sales over $1,000,000 is $200 $300. The​

110.24 fee for a subsequent reinspection of a firm for the same violation is 50 percent of their​

110.25 current license fee or $300 $500, whichever is greater. The establishment must be issued​

110.26 written notice of violations with a reasonable date for compliance listed on the notice. An​

110.27 initial inspection relating to a complaint is not a reinspection.​

110.28 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 28A.14, is amended to read:​

110.29 28A.14 TRANSFER OF BUSINESS.​

110.30 (a) Except as provided in paragraph (b), a transfer of a business or a discontinuance of​

110.31 its operation by the licensee at the address covered by the license voids the license and the​

110​Article 6 Sec. 12.​
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111.1 license certificate shall be surrendered to the commissioner immediately by anyone in​

111.2 possession of the same.​

111.3 (b) If a licensee discontinues operating at an additional location authorized under section​

111.4 28A.06, the license is not void if the licensee has provided written notification to the​

111.5 commissioner.​

111.6 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 28A.151, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

111.7 Subd. 2. Food sampling and demonstration. (a) Food used in sampling and​

111.8 demonstration must be obtained from sources that comply with Minnesota Food Law.​

111.9 (b) Raw animal, raw poultry, and raw fish products must not be served as samples.​

111.10 (c) Food product sampling or food product demonstrations, including that contain cooked​

111.11 animal, poultry, or fish products, must be prepared on site at the event.​

111.12 (d) Animal or poultry products used for food product sampling or food product​

111.13 demonstrations must be originate from animals slaughtered under continuous inspection,​

111.14 either by the USDA or through Minnesota's "Equal-to" inspection program.​

111.15 (e) The licensing provisions of sections 28A.01 to 28A.16 shall not apply to persons​

111.16 engaged in food product sampling or food product demonstrations.​

111.17 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 28A.17, is amended to read:​

111.18 28A.17 LICENSE RENEWAL.​

111.19 Licenses for food processors or manufacturers or food brokers handlers  shall be renewed​

111.20 annually on January 1. Licenses for retail and wholesale food handlers shall be renewed​

111.21 annually on July 1. Licenses for mobile food concessions and for retail mobile units shall​

111.22 be renewed annually on April 1 prior to the end of the licensing period. Approval of license​

111.23 renewal is contingent upon conditions described in section 28A.07 and payment of license​

111.24 fees identified in section 28A.08.​

111.25 Sec. 15. EFFECTIVE DATE.​

111.26 This article is effective August 1, 2025."​

111.27 Delete the title and insert:​

111.28 "A bill for an act​

111.29 relating to state government; establishing a budget for the Department of​
111.30 Agriculture, the Board of Animal Health, the Agricultural Utilization Research​
111.31 Institute, and the Office of Broadband Development; making policy and technical​
111.32 changes to agriculture provisions; transferring money; appropriating money;​

111​Article 6 Sec. 15.​
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112.1 modifying and establishing fees; requiring reports; modifying livestock marketing​
112.2 agency and dealer licensing provisions; modifying seed potato provisions;​
112.3 modifying food handler licensing provisions; amending Minnesota Statutes 2024,​
112.4 sections 17.1017; 17.1018; 17.117, subdivisions 1, 3; 17.118, subdivisions 1, 2,​
112.5 3; 17.133, subdivision 1; 17A.03, subdivisions 8, 10, 11, by adding a subdivision;​
112.6 17A.04, subdivisions 1, 2, 4, 6, 7, 8; 17A.06, subdivisions 2, 3; 17A.07; 17A.08;​
112.7 17A.15; 18B.26, subdivision 8; 18C.111, by adding a subdivision; 18J.01; 18J.02;​
112.8 18J.03; 18J.04, subdivisions 1, 2, 3, 4; 18J.05, subdivisions 1, 2, 6; 18J.06; 18J.07,​
112.9 subdivisions 3, 4, 5; 18J.09; 21.111; 21.112, by adding a subdivision; 21.113;​
112.10 21.115; 21.117; 21.119; 21.1195; 21.1196, subdivision 2; 21.891, subdivision 2;​
112.11 28A.03, subdivision 7, by adding subdivisions; 28A.04; 28A.05; 28A.06; 28A.07;​
112.12 28A.0753, subdivision 3; 28A.08; 28A.081, subdivision 1; 28A.085, subdivision​
112.13 1; 28A.14; 28A.151, subdivision 2; 28A.17; 32D.01, by adding a subdivision;​
112.14 35.155, subdivision 12; 41A.09, subdivision 2a; 41A.16, subdivision 7; 41A.30,​
112.15 subdivision 1; 41B.039, subdivision 2; 41B.0391, subdivisions 1, 2, 4, 6; 41B.04,​
112.16 subdivision 8; 41B.042, subdivision 4; 41B.043, subdivision 1b; 41B.045,​
112.17 subdivision 2; 41B.047, subdivision 3; 41B.056, subdivision 1; 41B.057,​
112.18 subdivisions 1, 3; 223.17, subdivision 3; 232.22, subdivision 3; 239.761,​
112.19 subdivisions 3, 4, 5, 6; 296A.01, subdivisions 20, 23, 24; Laws 2023, chapter 43,​
112.20 article 1, section 2, subdivision 4, as amended; proposing coding for new law in​
112.21 Minnesota Statutes, chapters 21; 32D; 343; repealing Minnesota Statutes 2024,​
112.22 sections 21.116; 21.118; 21.1196, subdivision 3; 21.121; 21.122; 35.68; 35.830;​
112.23 239.77, subdivision 5; Minnesota Rules, parts 1510.2300; 1510.2305; 1510.2310;​
112.24 1510.2315; 1510.2320; 1510.2325; 1510.2330; 1510.2335; 1510.2340; 1510.2345;​
112.25 1510.2350; 1510.2355, subparts 1, 2, 3a, 4, 5, 6, 7."​

112​Article 6 Sec. 15.​
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