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S.F. 391 modifies Minnesota Statutes section 28A.152, the exemption for certain cottage foods 
producers who are not required to get a license.  

Section 1 (28A.152, subdivision 1) deletes “individual” and inserts “person” throughout the 
licensing provisions applicability subdivision. This change acknowledges that some cottage foods 
producers operate as a partnership or company and are not only one individual. The definition of 
“person” in Minnesota Statutes section 645.44, subdivision 7, would apply.  

Section 2 (28A.152, subdivision 2) changes “individual” to “person” in the subdivision relating to 
direct sales to consumers. The section also eliminates the requirement that cottage food producers 
deliver food products directly to consumers and would allow food products to be delivered through 
the mail or a commercial delivery service. 

Section 3 (28A.152, subdivision 3) changes “individual” to “person” in the subdivision relating to 
limitation on sales and raises the sales cap to qualify for license exemption from $78,000 to 
$85,000. 

Section 4 (28A.152, subdivision 4) changes “individual” to “person” in the subdivision relating to 
registration. The section raises the sales cap that excuses producers from paying the $50 annual 
registration fee from $5,000 to $8,500 and deletes redundant language. 

Section 5 (28A.152) adds a new subdivision 8 to the statute section that would require the 
commissioner to report to the legislature on the sales cap amounts in subdivisions 3 and 4, and how 
the amounts would change if adjusted for inflation. 
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