#### Minutes

<u>Present</u>: Senator Ann H. Rest - Chair, Senator Matt D. Klein - Vice Chair, Senator Bill Weber, Senator D. Scott Dibble, Senator Steve Drazkowski, Senator Grant Hauschild, Senator Jeremy R. Miller, Senator Carla J. Nelson, Senator Aric Putnam

### **Excused:** Senator Kari Dziedzic

Senator Ann H. Rest called the meeting to order at 8:35 a.m.

# Approval of the minutes from 4/9/24.

The minutes were approved as presented.

#### S.F. 5234: Senator Rest: Various tax provisions modifications and appropriation.

Senator Klein moved the A-1 amendment. The motion prevailed and the amendment was adopted.

#### **Testifiers:**

Paul Marquart, Commissioner, Department of Revenue Nan Madden, Director, Minnesota Budget Project

#### Senator Rest moved that S.F. 5234, as amended, be laid over.

# Presentation by the Commissioner of Revenue on the Local Taxes Advisory Task Force Report.

Testifier: Paul Marquart, Commissioner, Department of Revenue

# The gavel was passed to Senator Klein.

# S.F. 5424: Senator Rest: Local sales and use taxes enactment requirements modifications and appropriation.

Senator Rest moved the A-3 amendment. The motion prevailed and the amendment was adopted.

#### **Testifiers:**

Nathan Jesson, League of Minnesota Cities Matt Massman, Minnesota Inter County Association Matt Hilgart, Association of Minnesota Counties Bradly Peterson, Coalition of Greater Minnesota Cities

# Senator Klein moved that S.F. 5424, as amended, be laid over.

#### S.F. 3789: Senator Rest: Sales tax vendor allowance establishment.

Senator Rest moved the A-1 amendment. The motion prevailed and the amendment was adopted.

#### **Testifiers:**

Hillary Feder, Hillary's, Hopkins Lonnie McQuirter, 36 Lyn Refuel Station, Minneapolis

# The gavel was passed to Senator Weber.

Logan McKee, Games by James/Air Traffic

# Senator Weber moved that S.F. 3789, as amended, be laid over.

# S.F. 3976: Senator Hauschild: Political subdivisions authority to impose and collect local lodging taxes provision.

SF 3976 was not heard.

# The meeting was adjourned at 10:41 a.m.

Senator Ann H. Rest, Chair

Mitch Berggren, Committee Administrator