

Minnesota Senate Taxes Committee

Tuesday, April 9, 2024 8:30 a.m. Room G-15

Chair

Ann H. Rest 328 Capitol St. Paul, MN 55155 (651) 296-5650 sen.ann.rest@mnsenate.gov

Vice Chair Matt Klein

Ranking Minority Member

Bill Weber

Members Scott Dibble

Steve Drazkowski Kari Dziedzic Grant Hauschild Jeremy Miller Carla Nelson Aric Putnam

Committee Staff:

Committee Administrator

Mitch Berggren (651) 296-5540 mitch.berggren@mnsenate.gov

Committee Legislative Assistant

Caucus Research

Krista Broton (DFL) Daniel Mickelberg (R)

Senate Counsel Nora Pollock

Eric Silvia

Legislative Analyst Rachel Johnson

Fiscal Analyst Casey Muhm

Agenda

- 1. Call to Order.
- 2. Approval of the minutes from 4/3/24 and 4/4/24.
- 3. SF 5118 (Pha) Taxable cannabis gross receipts tax revenue appropriation for certain purposes.

Testifiers:

- · Darian Lofton
- Emmett Dysart
- 4. SF 4483 (Oumou Verbeten) Misclassification of employees prohibition.

Testifier:

- Joanna Bayers Legislative Director, Department of Revenue
- 5. SF 5191 (Dibble) Emerald ash borer infested trees removal tax credit provision.

Testifier:

- Tom Olsen Commissioner, MPLS Park and Recreation Board
- 6. SF 5110 (Rest) Hennepin County local sales and use tax authority modification.

Testifiers:

- Irene Fernando Board Chair, Hennepin County
- David Hough Administrator, Hennepin County
- Stella Whitney-West CEO, Northpoint Health and Wellness Center
- Adam Duininck President and CEO, MPLS Downtown Council
- 7. SF 5235 (Rest) Local government debt financing modifications.

Testifiers:

- Joe Bagnoli Winthrop & Weinstine, the MN Institute of Public Finance
- Rhonda Skoby Dorsey Law Firm, the MN Institute of Public Finance
- 8. Announcements.
- 9. Adjournment.