Controlled Substances Tax

Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 297D

Tax Base: Marijuana or controlled substance, as defined, that is held, possessed, transported, transferred, sold, or offered to be sold in violation of Minnesota laws.

Rates:

\$3.50 per gram Marijuana \$200 per gram Controlled substance Controlled substance not sold by weight \$400 per ten dosage units

Credit: Tax paid to another state or local government.

F.Y. 2021 \$0 Collections: F.Y. 2022 \$0

Disposition: State General Fund

Administration

Agency: Minnesota Department of Revenue

Who Pays: A person who manufactures, produces, ships, transports, or imports into Minnesota or possesses marijuana or a controlled substance.

Due Dates: Immediately upon acquisition in Minnesota.

History of Major Changes

1986 — Enacted. 1988 — Tax on dosage units not sold by weight changed.

1989 — Credit enacted for tax paid to another state.