

Chair

Ann H. Rest 328 Capitol St. Paul, MN 55155 (651) 296-5650 sen.ann.rest@mnsenate.gov

Vice Chair Matt Klein

Ranking Minority Member
Bill Weber

Members

Scott Dibble
Steve Drazkowski
Kari Dziedzic
Grant Hauschild
Jeremy Miller
Carla Nelson
Aric Putnam

### **Committee Staff:**

Committee Administrator

Mitch Berggren (651) 296-5540

mitch.berggren@mnsenate.gov

Committee Legislative Assistant

Maddie Hormann (651) 296-2889 maddie.hormann@mnsenate.gov

Caucus Research

Krista Broton (DFL) Daniel Mickelberg (R)

Senate Counsel

Nora Pollock Eric Silvia

Legislative Analyst

Rachel Johnson

Fiscal Analyst
Casey Muhm

# Minnesota Senate Taxes Committee

Wednesday, March 6, 2024 8:30 a.m. Room G-15

# **Agenda**

- 1. Call to Order
- 2. Adoption of minutes from 3/5/2024
- 3. SF 4247 (Hauschild) Local government aid and county program aid annual inflation and population adjustments to appropriations provisions.

#### Testifier:

- Jason Sjoblom Koochiching County Commissioner and Board Chair
- Annie Harala St. Louis County Commissioner
- Bradley Peterson Coalition of Greater Minnesota Cities
- Nathan Jesson League of Minnesota Cities
- $4.\ SF\ 3757\ (Hauschild)$  Town aid amount increase and town aid calculation modification provisions.

### Testifier:

- Gary Burdorf President, Minnesota Association of Townships
- Daniel Gilbert Township Supervisor, Harris Township
- 5. SF 4422 (Hauschild) Soil and water conservation district aid appropriation increase provision.

# Testifiers:

- Sheila Vanney Assistant Director, MN Association of Soil and Water Conservation Districts.
- 6. SF 3886 (Hauschild) Onetime aid program for certain licensed ambulance services establishment and appropriation.

## Testifier:

- Melanie Olmstead EMS Director, Hoyt Lakes Fire and Ambulance
- Dena Suikhonen EMS Director, Tower Ambulance
- David Setterberg Mayor of Tower
- Erik Jankila Fire Chief, City of Hibbing
- Pete Hyduke Mayor, City of Hibbing
- Larry Cuffe Mayor, City of Virginia
- Heidi Omerza Mayor, City of Ely
- Paul Peltier Executive Director, RAMS
  Tony Chladek City Administrator, City of Rushford
- Kevin Lee North Memorial Hospital
- Michael Juntunen In-coming President, MN Ambulance Association
- Erik Simonson Coalition of Greater Minnesota Cities
- Cap O'Rourke Executive Director, Minnesota Small Cities
- 7. Announcements
- 8. Adjournment