Minnesota Senate Labor Committee Minnesota Senate Building, Room 1100 Saint Paul, MN 55155

Dear Chair McEwen, Vice Chair Hauschild, Ranking Member Dornink, Committee Members Gruenhagen, Kupec, Lieske, Marty, Oumou Verbeten, Pappas, and Wesenberg,

We write to you as Medical Residents and Fellows of the University of Minnesota (UMN) who are currently subject to MN Statute 179A.11 of the Public Employment Labor Relations Act (PELRA).

Residents and Fellows are "Matched" into programs in an algorithmic process that contractually binds us to work where we are assigned with no ability to negotiate the terms of our employment and very limited ability to seek other jobs if working conditions are poor. This matching process was exempted from federal antitrust law after a then resident Dr. Paul Jung and colleagues pursued class action antitrust litigation against the National Resident Matching Program, the body that governs the Match.<sup>1</sup> Before the suit was heard, US Congress quickly passed a law prohibiting residents and fellows from pursuing this type of litigation.<sup>2</sup>

Residents and Fellows work longer and less desirable hours for a fraction of the pay of mid-level providers within the same field. The majority, 73 percent, of us are also deeply in debt: the median education debt for residents in 2019 was \$200,000.3 We are trapped by the combination of our debt, low wages, and the fact that we must complete our residency training in order to have a career caring for the sick. Additionally, being removed from residency is a black mark that is hard to wash off. So when residents are pushed to work longer hours than the 80 hour a week Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education limit, or pressured not to take the limited parental or sick leave we are entitled to, most of us put our heads down and show up to care for our patients, too exhausted to change a broken system.

The proposed changes to PELRA in Article 8 (University of Minnesota Collective Bargaining) of SF 5266 would allow UMN Medical Residents and Fellows to collectively bargain. We have unique working conditions and a very clear community of interest as we all share a contract and benefits under the umbrella of Graduate Medical Education. PELRA as it currently stands allows the University to treat us as either students or employees when it sees fit, and it lumps us into the preposterously large and varied Unit 11.

Unionizing UMN Residents and Fellows would enable us to advocate for our patients and against the corporatization of healthcare delivery that is negatively impacting the care we provide and putting at risk our land grant mission to Minnesotans. As the great state of Minnesota is rethinking what our academic health center should be, Residents and Fellows want to be able to organize and help shape that future. We plan to advocate for our patients, your friends and relatives, either way but together we will have a stronger voice.

Sincerely,

The undersigned 187 UMN Residents and Fellows listed below in alphabetical order by last name.

Allison Aase, DO

Tasneem Abdel-Karim, MBBS

Aaron Ackerman, MD

Jalal Agakishiev, DO

Loretta O. Akpala, MD

Michael Andreone, MD

Ashwini Arumugam, MD

Jeremiah Atkinson, MD Elizabeth Babkin, MD

Danica Balsiger, MD

Madeline Barnes, MD

Kristen Bastug, MD

Allen Bergstedt, MD

Wyatt Biebighauser-Wagner, MD

Emily Biscaye, MD

Ryan Bjerke, MD

Taylor Brockman, MD

Taylor Brown, DO

Samantha Bryan, DO

A. Luise Calderon, MD

Cameron Callahan, MD, MPH

Gregory Carlisle, DO

Kelsey Carrigan, MD

Anna L. Carroll, MD

Lorenzo A. Castanon, MD

Katie Casty, MD, MS

Paul Chatterton, MD

Michael Chmielewski, MD

Devin Clark, MD

Andrea Clinch, MD

Miranda Considine, DO

Sam Considine, MD

Sara Adelina Cuadra Aruguete, MD

Hannah Cushen, MD

Nick Dabiran, MD

Nardos Dawit, MD

Owen R Dean, MD

Joe de Jonge, MD

Brianna Dickson, MD

Ninah Divine, MD

Ian Durbin, MD

Cheyenna Espinoza, MD

Hannah Fagen, MD

Rachel Feliciano, MD

Rebekah Fiers, MD

Nuala Flood, DO

Cynthia Gaines, MD

Jonathan Gale, DO

Reid Gamble, DO, MA

Eva Garrison, DO

Zachary German, MD

Rebecca Goldstein, MD, MPH

Mark Gormley, MD

Melissa Gunderson, MD

Anwei Gwan, MD, MPH, MS

Hasti Hadizadeh, MD

Harikrishna Halaharvi, DO

Jeffrey Hanson, MD, PharmD (alumni)

Mikako Harata, MD

Christine Harb, DO, MPH

Julia N. Harrison MD

Jennifer Hathaway, MD

Ali Hochstetler, MD

Cameron Holmes, MD

Gregory Hooks, MD

Rita Hurd, MD (alumni)

Kristin Inman, MD

Margurite Jakubiak, MD

Bilal Jawed, MD

Hannah Jessen, MD

Whitney Johnson, MD

Leah Jordan, MD (alumni)

Lindsay Juriga, MD

Farida Karim, MBBS

Sarah Kinsey, MD

Nathaniel Klair, MD

Cynthia Koenigsberg, MD

Julia Kohn, MD

Monica Olivier, MD

Sam Olson, MD

Shelbi Olson, MD

Chidi Onongaya, MD

Jack Kotecki, MD

Joseph E. Kumka, MD, PhD Kelsey Parks, MD, IBCLC

Nathan Ostlie, MD

Sean Larsen, MD, MS

David Leishman, MD, MS

Eric Leppink, MD

Alyssa Levine, MD

Xuan Li, MD

Nimra Pasha, MD

Dil Patel, MD, MS

Shraya Patel, MD

Samuel Payne, MD

Marissa Paulson, MD

Pornlada Likasitwatanakul, MD Austin J Peña, MD

Sandy Liu, MD

Crina Peterson, MD, PhD

Erica Loon, DO

Alana Petrassi, MD

Megan Lucas, MD

Austin Pickup, MD

Friederike Luetzenberg, MD

Kimberly Lundeen, MD

Crina Peterson, MD, PhD

Alana Petrassi, MD

Austin Pickup, MD

Kishore Raja, MD

Daniel V Ly, MD

Robyn Marks, DO

Aarabhi Rajagopal, MD

Rosemary Ramp, MD

Rachel McCabe, MD Michelle Rayne, MD, PharmD

Kaitlin McLean, MD

Dillon Medlock, MD

Alycia Midas, MD

Supriya Reddy, MD

Thomas Reimann, MD

Luke Remme, MD

Mitchell Moe, MD

Danny Mohama, MD

Lauren Mohan, MD

Pedro Monsalve Diaz, MD

Joshua Morof, MD, MPH

Patricia Morrow, MD

Jennifer J Robinson, MD

Aaron Rosenblum, MD

Daniel Rounds, MD

Ross Rybakowicz, MD

Mayada Saadoun, MD

Autefeh Sajjadi, MD

Eric Nagarajan, MD

Sashi N Nair, MD

Sabrina Nesladek, MD

Adteleri Sajjadi, MD

Joshua Samec, MD

Leah Schaaf, DO

Sabrina Nesladek, MD

Emma Schaffer, MD

Caroline Nyamweya Tekeste, DO, MS

Thomas Schmidt, MD, MHS

Jenna Nypan, MD

Christina Nyquist, MD

Brandon O'Connor, MD

Ebiere Okah, MD, MS (alumni)

Sophie Scholtz, MD

Matthew Semler, MD

Alex Sherban, MD

Zoey Shultz, MD

Madison Okuno, MD Hayley Severson, MD, MPH

Zachary Shaheen, MD, PhD Tiffany Truong, DO

Sruthi Shankar, MD Christopher G Tucker, MD, PhD

Evelyn Shen, MD Lisa Qiu, DO

Kara Sherva, MD

Jennifer Erinma Udeogu, MD

Lauren Sikora, MD

Alysia Jamier Washington, MD

Margaret Singer, MD

Justice Spriggs, MD

Lindsay Welton, MD

Paul J. Strain, MD

Laura Stolbrock, MD

Amy Whillock, MD, PhD

Anisa Suleiman, MD

Wendy Sun, MD

Matthew Wheelwright, MD

Amy Whillock, MD, PhD

Brandon Wesche, MD

Rebecca Wiersma, MD

Sarah Swenson, MD, DPhil Hannah Wilson, MD, PhD

Samantha Talerico, MD Alison Woods, MD

Tabitha Tate, MD Pitchaya Worapongsatitaya, MD Blake Tidwell, MD Teekz Yenpasook DO, MS

Jacob Tigner, MD (alumni) Victoria Zeyl, MD

Shiori Tomatsu, MD

Ellen Townley, MD

Talhah Zubair, MD

Haley Zweber, MD

## Citations:

1. Jung v. Association of American Medical Colleges

 Code 15 U.S. Code § 37b - Confirmation of antitrust status of graduate medical resident matching programs

3. Physician Education Debt and the Cost to Attend Medical School