
1.1 Senator .................... moves to amend S.F. No. 5266 as follows:​

1.2 Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:​

1.3 "ARTICLE 1​

1.4 APPROPRIATIONS​

1.5 Section 1. Laws 2023, chapter 53, article 14, section 1, is amended to read:​

1.6 Section 1. EARNED SICK AND SAFE TIME APPROPRIATIONS.​

1.7 (a) $1,445,000 in fiscal year 2024 and $2,209,000 $1,899,000 in fiscal year 2025 are​

1.8 appropriated from the general fund to the commissioner of labor and industry for enforcement​

1.9 and other duties regarding earned sick and safe time under Minnesota Statutes, sections​

1.10 181.9445 to 181.9448, and chapter 177. The base for this appropriation is $1,899,000 for​

1.11 fiscal year 2026 and each year thereafter.​

1.12 (b) $300,000 in fiscal year 2024 and $300,000 in fiscal year 2025 are appropriated from​

1.13 the general fund to the commissioner of labor and industry for grants to community​

1.14 organizations under Minnesota Statutes, section 177.50, subdivision 4. This is a onetime​

1.15 appropriation.​

1.16 (c) $310,000 in fiscal year 2025 is appropriated from the general fund to the commissioner​

1.17 of labor and industry for rulemaking related to earned sick and safe time under Minnesota​

1.18 Statutes, sections 181.9445 to 181.9448, and chapter 177. This is a onetime appropriation​

1.19 and is available until June 30, 2027.​

1.20 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

1.21 Sec. 2. Laws 2023, chapter 53, article 19, section 2, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

1.22 44,044,000​
44,476,000​$​47,710,000​$​1.23 Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation​

1.24 Appropriations by Fund​

2025​1.25 2024​

1.26 4,889,000​
5,042,000​7,200,000​1.27 General​

32,390,000​
32,669,000​30,599,000​

1.28 Workers'​
1.29 Compensation​

6,765,000​9,911,000​
1.30 Workforce​
1.31 Development​

1​Article 1 Sec. 2.​
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2.1 The amounts that may be spent for each​

2.2 purpose are specified in the following​

2.3 subdivisions. The general fund base for this​

2.4 appropriation is $4,936,000 $5,089,000 in​

2.5 fiscal year 2026 and $4,958,000 $5,042,000​

2.6 in fiscal year 2027 and each year thereafter.​

2.7 The workers compensation fund base is​

2.8 $32,749,000 $32,892,000 in fiscal year 2026​

2.9 and $32,458,000 in fiscal year 2027 and each​

2.10 year thereafter. The workforce development​

2.11 fund base is $6,765,000 in fiscal year 2026​

2.12 and each year thereafter.​

2.13 Sec. 3. Laws 2023, chapter 53, article 19, section 2, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

2.14 6,270,000​
6,423,000​6,520,000​2.15 Subd. 3. Labor Standards​

2.16 Appropriations by Fund​

2.17 4,635,000​
4,788,000​4,957,000​2.18 General​

1,635,000​1,563,000​
2.19 Workforce​
2.20 Development​

2.21 The general fund base for this appropriation​

2.22 is $4,682,000 $4,835,000 in fiscal year 2026​

2.23 and $4,704,000 $4,788,000 in fiscal year 2027​

2.24 and each year thereafter.​

2.25 (a) $2,046,000 each year is for wage theft​

2.26 prevention.​

2.27 (b) $1,563,000 the first year and $1,635,000​

2.28 the second year are from the workforce​

2.29 development fund for prevailing wage​

2.30 enforcement.​

2.31 (c) $134,000 the first year and $134,000 the​

2.32 second year are for outreach and enforcement​

2.33 efforts related to changes to the nursing​

2.34 mothers, lactating employees, and pregnancy​

2.35 accommodations law.​

2​Article 1 Sec. 3.​
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3.1 (d) $661,000 the first year and $357,000 the​

3.2 second year are to perform work for the​

3.3 Nursing Home Workforce Standards Board.​

3.4 The base for this appropriation is $404,000 in​

3.5 fiscal year 2026 and $357,000 in fiscal year​

3.6 2027.​

3.7 (e) $225,000 the first year and $169,000 the​

3.8 second year are for the purposes of the Safe​

3.9 Workplaces for Meat and Poultry Processing​

3.10 Workers Act.​

3.11 (f) $27,000 the first year is for the creation​

3.12 and distribution of a veterans' benefits and​

3.13 services poster under Minnesota Statutes,​

3.14 section 181.536.​

3.15 (g) $141,000 the second year is to inform and​

3.16 educate employers relating to Minnesota​

3.17 Statutes, section 181.960.​

3.18 (h) $12,000 the second year is for​

3.19 enforcement, education, and outreach under​

3.20 Minnesota Statutes, section 181.2751.​

3.21 Sec. 4. Laws 2023, chapter 53, article 19, section 2, subdivision 5, is amended to read:​

3.22 7,559,000​
7,838,000​8,644,000​3.23 Subd. 5. Workplace Safety​

3.24 Appropriations by Fund​

-0-​2,000,000​3.25 General​

7,559,000​
7,838,000​6,644,000​

3.26 Workers'​
3.27 Compensation​

3.28 The workers compensation fund base for this​

3.29 appropriation is $7,918,000 $8,061,000 in​

3.30 fiscal year 2026 and $7,627,000 in fiscal year​

3.31 2027 and each year thereafter.​

3.32 $2,000,000 the first year is for the ergonomics​

3.33 safety grant program. This appropriation is​

3​Article 1 Sec. 4.​
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4.1 available until June 30, 2026. This is a onetime​

4.2 appropriation.​

4.3 Sec. 5. Laws 2023, chapter 53, article 19, section 4, is amended to read:​

3,789,000​$​3,707,000​$​4.4 Sec. 4. BUREAU OF MEDIATION SERVICES​

4.5 (a) $750,000 each year is for purposes of the​

4.6 Public Employment Relations Board under​

4.7 Minnesota Statutes, section 179A.041.​

4.8 (b) $68,000 each year is for grants to area​

4.9 labor management committees. Grants may​

4.10 be awarded for a 12-month period beginning​

4.11 July 1 each year. Any unencumbered balance​

4.12 remaining at the end of the first year does not​

4.13 cancel but is available for the second year.​

4.14 (c) $47,000 each year is for rulemaking,​

4.15 staffing, and other costs associated with peace​

4.16 officer grievance procedures.​

4.17 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective retroactively from July 1, 2023.​

4.18 Sec. 6. APPROPRIATIONS.​

4.19 The sums shown in the columns marked "Appropriations" are appropriated to the agencies​

4.20 and for the purposes specified in this article. The appropriations are from the general fund,​

4.21 or another named fund, and are available for the fiscal years indicated for each purpose.​

4.22 The figures "2024" and "2025" used in this article mean that the appropriations listed under​

4.23 them are available for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, or June 30, 2025, respectively.​

4.24 "The first year" is fiscal year 2024. "The second year" is fiscal year 2025. "The biennium"​

4.25 is fiscal years 2024 and 2025.​

4.26 APPROPRIATIONS​

4.27 Available for the Year​

4.28 Ending June 30​

2025​4.29 2024​

174,000​$​-0-​$​4.30 Sec. 7. DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH​

4.31 $174,000 the second year is for technical​

4.32 assistance for rulemaking for acceptable blood​

4​Article 1 Sec. 7.​
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5.1 lead levels for workers. This appropriation is​

5.2 onetime and is available until June 30, 2026.​

120,000​$​-0-​$​5.3 Sec. 8. ATTORNEY GENERAL'S OFFICE​

5.4 $120,000 the second year is for enforcement​

5.5 of compensation for internet content creators​

5.6 under Minnesota Statutes, section 181A.13.​

5.7 This appropriation is available until June 30,​

5.8 2026. The base for this appropriation is​

5.9 $120,000 for fiscal year 2026 and $240,000​

5.10 for fiscal year 2027 and each year thereafter.​

.......​$​-0-​$​5.11 Sec. 9. UNIVERSITY OF MINNESOTA​

5.12 $....... the second year is for labor relations​

5.13 staffing costs. The base for this appropriation​

5.14 is $....... for fiscal year 2026 and $....... for​

5.15 fiscal year 2027 and each year thereafter.​

.......​$​-0-​$​5.16 Sec. 10. MINNESOTA STATE​

5.17 $....... the second year is for labor relations​

5.18 staffing costs.​

5.19 ARTICLE 2​

5.20 COMBATIVE SPORTS - DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY​

5.21 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 341.25, is amended to read:​

5.22 341.25 RULES.​

5.23 (a) The commissioner may adopt rules that include standards for the physical examination​

5.24 and condition of combatants and referees.​

5.25 (b) The commissioner may adopt other rules necessary to carry out the purposes of this​

5.26 chapter, including, but not limited to, the conduct of all combative sport contests and their​

5.27 manner, supervision, time, and place.​

5.28 (c) The most recent version of the Unified Rules of Mixed Martial Arts, as promulgated​

5.29 by the Association of Boxing Commissions, is incorporated by reference and made a part​

5.30 of this chapter except as qualified by this chapter and Minnesota Rules, chapter 2202. In​

5.31 the event of a conflict between this chapter and the Unified Rules, this chapter must govern.​

5​Article 2 Section 1.​
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6.1 (d) The most recent version of the Unified Rules of Boxing, as promulgated by the​

6.2 Association of Boxing Commissions, is incorporated by reference and made a part of this​

6.3 chapter except as qualified by this chapter and Minnesota Rules, chapter 2201. In the event​

6.4 of a conflict between this chapter and the Unified Rules, this chapter must govern.​

6.5 (e) The most recent version of the Unified Rules of Kickboxing and Unified Rules of​

6.6 Muay Thai, as promulgated by the Association of Boxing Commissions, is are incorporated​

6.7 by reference and made a part of this chapter except as qualified by this chapter and any​

6.8 applicable Minnesota Rules. In the event of a conflict between this chapter and the Unified​

6.9 Rules those rules, this chapter must govern. If a promoter seeks to hold a kickboxing event​

6.10 governed by a different set of kickboxing rules, the promoter must send the commissioner​

6.11 a copy of the rules under which the proposed bouts will be conducted at least 45 days before​

6.12 the event. The commissioner may approve or deny the use of the alternative rules at the​

6.13 commissioner's discretion. If the alternative rules are approved for an event, this chapter​

6.14 and any applicable Minnesota Rules, except of those incorporating the Unified Rules of​

6.15 Kickboxing and Unified Rules of Muay Thai, must govern if there is a conflict between the​

6.16 rules and Minnesota law.​

6.17 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 341.28, subdivision 5, is amended​

6.18 to read:​

6.19 Subd. 5. Regulatory authority; martial arts and amateur boxing. (a) Unless this​

6.20 chapter specifically states otherwise, contests or exhibitions for martial arts and amateur​

6.21 boxing are exempt from the requirements of this chapter and officials at these events are​

6.22 not required to be licensed under this chapter.​

6.23 (b) Martial arts and amateur boxing contests, unless subject to the exceptions set forth​

6.24 in subdivision 6 or 7, must be regulated by a nationally recognized organization approved​

6.25 by the commissioner. The organization must have a set of written standards, procedures, or​

6.26 rules used to sanction the combative sports it oversees.​

6.27 (c) Any regulatory body overseeing a martial arts or amateur boxing event must submit​

6.28 bout results to the commissioner within 72 hours after the event. If the regulatory body​

6.29 issues suspensions, the regulatory body must submit to the commissioner a list of any​

6.30 suspensions resulting from the event within 72 hours after the event. Regulatory bodies that​

6.31 oversee combative sports or martial arts contests under subdivision 6 or 7 are not subject​

6.32 to this paragraph.​

6​Article 2 Sec. 2.​
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7.1 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 341.28, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

7.2 read:​

7.3 Subd. 7. Regulatory authority; youth competition. Combative sports or martial arts​

7.4 contests between individuals under the age of 18 years are exempt from the requirements​

7.5 of this chapter and officials at these events are not required to be licensed under this chapter.​

7.6 A contest under this subdivision must be regulated by (1) a widely recognized organization​

7.7 that regularly oversees youth competition, or (2) a local government.​

7.8 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 341.29, is amended to read:​

7.9 341.29 JURISDICTION OF COMMISSIONER.​

7.10 The commissioner shall:​

7.11 (1) have sole direction, supervision, regulation, control, and jurisdiction over all​

7.12 combative sport contests that are held within this state unless a contest is exempt from the​

7.13 application of this chapter under federal law;​

7.14 (2) have sole control, authority, and jurisdiction over all licenses required by this chapter;​

7.15 (3) grant a license to an applicant if, in the judgment of the commissioner, the financial​

7.16 responsibility, experience, character, and general fitness of the applicant are consistent with​

7.17 the public interest, convenience, or necessity and in the best interests of combative sports​

7.18 and conforms with this chapter and the commissioner's rules;​

7.19 (4) deny, suspend, or revoke a license using the enforcement provisions of section​

7.20 326B.082, except that the licensing reapplication time frames remain within the sole​

7.21 discretion of the commissioner; and​

7.22 (5) serve final nonlicensing orders in performing the duties of this chapter which are​

7.23 subject to the contested case procedures provided in sections 14.57 to 14.69.​

7.24 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 341.30, subdivision 4, is amended​

7.25 to read:​

7.26 Subd. 4. Prelicensure requirements. (a) Before the commissioner issues a promoter's​

7.27 license to an individual, corporation, or other business entity, the applicant shall complete​

7.28 a licensing application on the Office of Combative Sports website or on forms prescribed​

7.29 by the commissioner and shall:​

7​Article 2 Sec. 5.​
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8.1 (1) show on the licensing application the owner or owners of the applicant entity and​

8.2 the percentage of interest held by each owner holding a 25 percent or more interest in the​

8.3 applicant;​

8.4 (2) provide the commissioner with a copy of the latest financial statement of the applicant;​

8.5 (3) provide proof, where applicable, of authorization to do business in the state of​

8.6 Minnesota; and​

8.7 (4) deposit with the commissioner a surety bond in an amount set by the commissioner,​

8.8 which must not be less than $10,000. The bond shall be executed in favor of this state and​

8.9 shall be conditioned on the faithful performance by the promoter of the promoter's obligations​

8.10 under this chapter and the rules adopted under it.​

8.11 (b) Before the commissioner issues a license to a combatant, the applicant shall:​

8.12 (1) submit to the commissioner the results of current medical examinations on forms​

8.13 prescribed by the commissioner that state that the combatant is cleared to participate in a​

8.14 combative sport contest. The applicant must undergo and submit the results of the following​

8.15 medical examinations, which do not exempt a combatant from the requirements in section​

8.16 341.33:​

8.17 (i) a physical examination performed by a licensed medical doctor, doctor of osteopathic​

8.18 medicine, advance practice nurse practitioner, or a physician assistant. Physical examinations​

8.19 are valid for one year from the date of the exam;​

8.20 (ii) an ophthalmological examination performed by an ophthalmologist or optometrist​

8.21 that includes dilation designed to detect any retinal defects or other damage or a condition​

8.22 of the eye that could be aggravated by combative sports. Ophthalmological examinations​

8.23 are valid for one year from the date of the exam;​

8.24 (iii) blood work results for HBsAg (Hepatitis B surface antigen), HCV (Hepatitis C​

8.25 antibody), and HIV. Blood work results are good for one year from the date blood was​

8.26 drawn. The commissioner shall not issue a license to an applicant submitting positive test​

8.27 results for HBsAg, HCV, or HIV; and​

8.28 (iv) other appropriate neurological or physical examinations before any contest, if the​

8.29 commissioner determines that the examination is desirable to protect the health of the​

8.30 combatant;​

8.31 (2) complete a licensing application on the Office of Combative Sports website or on​

8.32 forms prescribed by the commissioner; and​

8​Article 2 Sec. 5.​
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9.1 (3) provide proof that the applicant is 18 years of age. Acceptable proof is a photo driver's​

9.2 license, state photo identification card, passport, or birth certificate combined with additional​

9.3 photo identification.​

9.4 (c) Before the commissioner issues an amateur combatant license to an individual, the​

9.5 applicant must submit proof of qualifications that includes at a minimum: (1) an applicant's​

9.6 prior bout history and evidence showing that the applicant has completed at least six months​

9.7 of training in a combative sport; or (2) a letter of recommendation from a coach or trainer.​

9.8 (d) Before the commissioner issues a professional combatant license to an individual,​

9.9 the applicant must submit proof of qualifications that includes an applicant's prior bout​

9.10 history showing the applicant has competed in at least four sanctioned combative sports​

9.11 contests. If the applicant has not competed in at least four sanctioned combative sports​

9.12 contests, the commissioner may still grant the applicant a license if the applicant provides​

9.13 evidence demonstrating that the applicant has sufficient skills and experience in combative​

9.14 sports or martial arts to compete as a professional combatant.​

9.15 (c) (e) Before the commissioner issues a license to a referee, judge, or timekeeper, the​

9.16 applicant must submit proof of qualifications that may include certified training from the​

9.17 Association of Boxing Commissions, licensure with other regulatory bodies, professional​

9.18 references, or a log of bouts worked.​

9.19 (d) (f) Before the commissioner issues a license to a ringside physician, the applicant​

9.20 must submit proof that they are licensed to practice medicine in the state of Minnesota and​

9.21 in good standing.​

9.22 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 341.321, is amended to read:​

9.23 341.321 FEE SCHEDULE.​

9.24 (a) The fee schedule for professional and amateur licenses issued by the commissioner​

9.25 is as follows:​

9.26 (1) referees, $25;​

9.27 (2) promoters, $700;​

9.28 (3) judges and knockdown judges, $25;​

9.29 (4) trainers and seconds, $40;​

9.30 (5) timekeepers, $25;​

9.31 (6) professional combatants, $70;​

9​Article 2 Sec. 6.​
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10.1 (7) amateur combatants, $35; and​

10.2 (8) ringside physicians, $25.​

10.3 All license fees shall be paid no later than the weigh-in prior to the contest. No license may​

10.4 be issued until all prelicensure requirements in section 341.30 are satisfied and fees are​

10.5 paid.​

10.6 (b) A promoter or event organizer of an event regulated by the Department of Labor and​

10.7 Industry must pay, per event, a combative sport contest fee of.​

10.8 (c) If the promoter sells tickets for the event, the event fee is $1,500 per event or four​

10.9 percent of the gross ticket sales, whichever is greater. The fee must be paid as follows:​

10.10 (1) $500 at the time the combative sport contest is scheduled, which is nonrefundable;​

10.11 (2) $1,000 at the weigh-in prior to the contest;​

10.12 (3) if four percent of the gross ticket sales is greater than $1,500, the balance is due to​

10.13 the commissioner within 14 days of the completed contest; and​

10.14 (4) the value of all complimentary tickets distributed for an event, to the extent they​

10.15 exceed five percent of total event attendance, counts toward gross tickets sales for the​

10.16 purposes of determining a combative sports contest fee. For purposes of this clause, the​

10.17 lowest advertised ticket price shall be used to calculate the value of complimentary tickets.​

10.18 (d) If the promoter does not sell tickets and receives only a flat payment from a venue​

10.19 to administer the event, the event fee is $1,500 per event or four percent of the flat payment,​

10.20 whichever is greater. The fee must be paid as follows:​

10.21 (1) $500 at the time the combative sport contest is scheduled, which is nonrefundable;​

10.22 (2) $1,000 at the weigh-in prior to the contest; and​

10.23 (3) if four percent of the flat payment is greater than $1,500, the balance is due to the​

10.24 commissioner within 14 days of the completed contest.​

10.25 (c) (e) All fees and penalties collected by the commissioner must be deposited in the​

10.26 commissioner account in the special revenue fund.​

10.27 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 341.33, is amended by adding a​

10.28 subdivision to read:​

10.29 Subd. 3. Medical records. The commissioner may, if the commissioner determines that​

10.30 doing so would be desirable to protect the health of a combatant, provide the combatant's​

10.31 medical information collected under this chapter to the physician conducting a prebout exam​

10​Article 2 Sec. 7.​
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11.1 under this section or to the ringside physician or physicians assigned to the combatant's​

11.2 combative sports contest.​

11.3 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 341.355, is amended to read:​

11.4 341.355 CIVIL PENALTIES.​

11.5 When the commissioner finds that a person has violated one or more provisions of any​

11.6 statute, rule, or order that the commissioner is empowered to regulate, enforce, or issue, the​

11.7 commissioner may impose, for each violation, a civil penalty of up to $10,000 for each​

11.8 violation, or a civil penalty that deprives the person of any economic advantage gained by​

11.9 the violation, or both. The commissioner may also impose these penalties against a person​

11.10 who has violated section 341.28, subdivision 5, paragraph (b) or (c), or subdivision 7.​

11.11 ARTICLE 3​

11.12 BUREAU OF MEDIATION SERVICES​

11.13 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 626.892, subdivision 10, is amended to read:​

11.14 Subd. 10. Training. (a) A person appointed to the arbitrator roster under this section​

11.15 must complete training as required by the commissioner during the person's appointment.​

11.16 At a minimum, an initial training must include:​

11.17 (1) at least six hours on the topics of cultural competency, racism, implicit bias, and​

11.18 recognizing and valuing community diversity and cultural differences; and​

11.19 (2) at least six hours on topics related to the daily experience of peace officers, which​

11.20 may include ride-alongs with on-duty officers or other activities that provide exposure to​

11.21 the environments, choices, and judgments required of officers in the field.​

11.22 (b) The commissioner may adopt rules establishing training requirements consistent​

11.23 with this subdivision.​

11.24 (b) An arbitrator appointed to the roster of arbitrators in 2020 must complete the required​

11.25 initial training by July 1, 2021. (c) An arbitrator appointed to the roster of arbitrators after​

11.26 2020 must complete the required initial training within six months of the arbitrator's​

11.27 appointment.​

11.28 (c) (d) The Bureau of Mediation Services must pay for all costs associated with the​

11.29 required training must be borne by the arbitrator.​

11.30 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

11​Article 3 Section 1.​
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12.1 Sec. 2. REPEALER.​

12.2 (a) Minnesota Statutes 2022, sections 179.81; 179.82; 179.83, subdivision 1; 179.84,​

12.3 subdivision 1; and 179.85, are repealed.​

12.4 (b) Minnesota Rules, parts 5520.0100; 5520.0110; 5520.0120; 5520.0200; 5520.0250;​

12.5 5520.0300; 5520.0500; 5520.0520; 5520.0540; 5520.0560; 5520.0600; 5520.0620;​

12.6 5520.0700; 5520.0710; and 5520.0800, are repealed.​

12.7 ARTICLE 4​

12.8 PUBLIC EMPLOYEE LABOR RELATIONS (PELRA)​

12.9 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 13.43, subdivision 6, is amended​

12.10 to read:​

12.11 Subd. 6. Access by labor organizations, Bureau of Mediation Services, Public​

12.12 Employment Relations Board. (a) Personnel data must be disseminated to labor​

12.13 organizations and the Public Employment Relations Board to the extent necessary to conduct​

12.14 elections, investigate and process grievances, and implement the provisions of chapters 179​

12.15 and 179A. Notwithstanding any other provision of this chapter, personnel data shall be​

12.16 disseminated to labor organizations, the Public Employment Relations Board, and the Bureau​

12.17 of Mediation Services to the extent the dissemination is ordered or authorized by the​

12.18 commissioner of the Bureau of Mediation Services or the Public Employment Relations​

12.19 Board or its employees or agents. Employee Social Security numbers are not necessary to​

12.20 implement the provisions of chapters 179 and 179A.​

12.21 (b) Personnel data described under section 179A.07, subdivision 8, must be disseminated​

12.22 to an exclusive representative under the terms of that subdivision.​

12.23 (c) An employer who disseminates personnel data to a labor organization pursuant to​

12.24 this subdivision shall not be subject to liability under section 13.08. Nothing in this paragraph​

12.25 shall impair or limit any remedies available under section 325E.61.​

12.26 (d) The home addresses, nonemployer issued phone numbers and email addresses, dates​

12.27 of birth, and emails or other communications between exclusive representatives and their​

12.28 members, prospective members, and nonmembers are private data on individuals.​

12.29 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 179A.03, subdivision 14, is amended​

12.30 to read:​

12.31 Subd. 14. Public employee or employee. (a) "Public employee" or "employee" means​

12.32 any person appointed or employed by a public employer except:​

12​Article 4 Sec. 2.​
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13.1 (1) elected public officials;​

13.2 (2) election officers;​

13.3 (3) commissioned or enlisted personnel of the Minnesota National Guard;​

13.4 (4) emergency employees who are employed for emergency work caused by natural​

13.5 disaster;​

13.6 (5) part-time employees whose service does not exceed the lesser of 14 hours per week​

13.7 or 35 percent of the normal work week in the employee's appropriate unit;​

13.8 (6) employees, other than employees working for a Minnesota school district or charter​

13.9 school in a position for which no license is required by the Professional Educator Licensing​

13.10 Standards Board, whose positions are basically temporary or seasonal in character and: (i)​

13.11 are not for more than 67 working days in any calendar year; or (ii) are not working for a​

13.12 Minnesota school district or charter school; or (iii) are not for more than 100 working days​

13.13 in any calendar year and the employees are under the age of 22, are full-time students​

13.14 enrolled in a nonprofit or public educational institution prior to being hired by the employer,​

13.15 and have indicated, either in an application for employment or by being enrolled at an​

13.16 educational institution for the next academic year or term, an intention to continue as students​

13.17 during or after their temporary employment;​

13.18 (7) employees providing services for not more than two consecutive quarters to the​

13.19 Board of Trustees of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities under the terms of a​

13.20 professional or technical services contract as defined in section 16C.08, subdivision 1;​

13.21 (8) employees of charitable hospitals as defined by section 179.35, subdivision 3, except​

13.22 that employees of charitable hospitals as defined by section 179.35, subdivision 3, are public​

13.23 employees for purposes of sections 179A.051, 179A.052, and 179A.13;​

13.24 (9) full-time undergraduate students employed by the school which they attend under a​

13.25 work-study program or in connection with the receipt of financial aid, irrespective of number​

13.26 of hours of service per week;​

13.27 (10) an individual who is employed for less than 300 hours in a fiscal year as an instructor​

13.28 in an adult vocational education program;​

13.29 (11) with respect to court employees:​

13.30 (i) personal secretaries to judges;​

13.31 (ii) law clerks;​

13.32 (iii) managerial employees;​
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14.1 (iv) confidential employees; and​

14.2 (v) supervisory employees; or​

14.3 (12) with respect to employees of Hennepin Healthcare System, Inc., managerial,​

14.4 supervisory, and confidential employees.​

14.5 (b) The following individuals are public employees regardless of the exclusions of​

14.6 paragraph (a), clauses (5) to (7):​

14.7 (1) an employee hired by a school district or the Board of Trustees of the Minnesota​

14.8 State Colleges and Universities except at the university established in the Twin Cities​

14.9 metropolitan area under section 136F.10 or for community services or community education​

14.10 instruction offered on a noncredit basis: (i) to replace an absent teacher or faculty member​

14.11 who is a public employee, where the replacement employee is employed more than 30​

14.12 working days as a replacement for that teacher or faculty member; or (ii) to take a teaching​

14.13 position created due to increased enrollment, curriculum expansion, courses which are a​

14.14 part of the curriculum whether offered annually or not, or other appropriate reasons;​

14.15 (2) an employee hired for a position under paragraph (a), clause (6), item (i), if that same​

14.16 position has already been filled under paragraph (a), clause (6), item (i), in the same calendar​

14.17 year and the cumulative number of days worked in that same position by all employees​

14.18 exceeds 67 calendar days in that year. For the purpose of this paragraph, "same position"​

14.19 includes a substantially equivalent position if it is not the same position solely due to a​

14.20 change in the classification or title of the position;​

14.21 (3) an early childhood family education teacher employed by a school district; and​

14.22 (4) an individual hired by the Board of Trustees of the Minnesota State Colleges and​

14.23 Universities as the instructor of record to teach (i) one class for more than three credits in​

14.24 a fiscal year, or (ii) two or more credit-bearing classes in a fiscal year.​

14.25 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 179A.03, subdivision 18, is amended​

14.26 to read:​

14.27 Subd. 18. Teacher. "Teacher" means any public employee other than a superintendent​

14.28 or assistant superintendent, principal, assistant principal, or a supervisory or confidential​

14.29 employee, employed by a school district:​

14.30 (1) in a position for which the person must be licensed by the Professional Educator​

14.31 Licensing and Standards Board or the commissioner of education;​
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15.1 (2) in a position as a physical therapist, occupational therapist, art therapist, music​

15.2 therapist, or audiologist; or​

15.3 (3) in a position creating and delivering instruction to children in a preschool, school​

15.4 readiness, school readiness plus, or prekindergarten program or other school district or​

15.5 charter school-based early education program, except that an employee in a bargaining unit​

15.6 certified before January 1, 2023, may remain in a bargaining unit that does not include​

15.7 teachers unless an exclusive representative files a petition for a unit clarification or to transfer​

15.8 exclusive representative status.​

15.9 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 179A.041, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

15.10 Subd. 2. Alternate members. (a) The appointing authorities shall appoint alternate​

15.11 members to serve only in the case event of a member having a conflict of interest or being​

15.12 unavailable for a meeting under subdivision 9, as follows:​

15.13 (1) one alternate, appointed by the governor, who is an officer or employee of an exclusive​

15.14 representative of public employees, to serve as an alternate to the member appointed by the​

15.15 governor who is an officer or employee of an exclusive representative of public employees.​

15.16 This alternate must not be an officer or employee of the same exclusive representative of​

15.17 public employees as the member for whom the alternate serves;​

15.18 (2) one alternate, appointed by the governor, who is a representative of public employers,​

15.19 to serve as an alternate to the member appointed by the governor who is a representative of​

15.20 public employers. This alternate must not represent the same public employer as the member​

15.21 for whom the alternate serves; and​

15.22 (3) one alternate, appointed by the member who is an officer or employee of an exclusive​

15.23 representative of public employees and the member who is a representative of public​

15.24 employers, who is not an officer or employee of an exclusive representative of public​

15.25 employees, or a representative of a public employer, to serve as an alternate for the member​

15.26 that represents the public at large.​

15.27 (b) Each alternate member shall serve a term that is coterminous with the term of the​

15.28 member for whom the alternate member serves as an alternate.​

15.29 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 179A.041, subdivision 10, is amended​

15.30 to read:​

15.31 Subd. 10. Open Meeting Law; exceptions. Chapter 13D does not apply to meetings of​

15.32 the a board meeting when it the board is:​
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16.1 (1) deliberating on the merits of an unfair labor practice charges charge under sections​

16.2 179.11, 179.12, and 179A.13;​

16.3 (2) reviewing a hearing officer's recommended decision and order of a hearing officer​

16.4 under section 179A.13; or​

16.5 (3) reviewing decisions of the a commissioner of the Bureau of Mediation Services​

16.6 relating to decision on an unfair labor practices practice under section 179A.12, subdivision​

16.7 11.​

16.8 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 179A.06, subdivision 6, is amended​

16.9 to read:​

16.10 Subd. 6. Payroll deduction, authorization, and remittance. (a) Public employees have​

16.11 the right to may request and be allowed payroll deduction for the exclusive representative​

16.12 and the its associated political fund associated with the exclusive representative and registered​

16.13 pursuant to under section 10A.12. If there is no exclusive representative, public employees​

16.14 may request payroll deduction for the organization of their choice. A public employer must​

16.15 provide payroll deduction according to any public employee's request under this paragraph.​

16.16 (b) A public employer must rely on a certification from any an exclusive representative​

16.17 requesting remittance of a deduction that the organization has and will maintain an​

16.18 authorization, signed, either by hand or electronically according to section 325L.02, paragraph​

16.19 (h), by the public employee from whose salary or wages the deduction is to be made, which​

16.20 may include an electronic signature by the public employee as defined in section 325L.02,​

16.21 paragraph (h). An exclusive representative making such a certification must not be is not​

16.22 required to provide the public employer a copy of the authorization unless a dispute arises​

16.23 about the authorization's existence or terms of the authorization. The exclusive representative​

16.24 must indemnify the public employer for any successful claims made by the employee for​

16.25 unauthorized deductions in reliance on the certification.​

16.26 (b) (c) A dues payroll deduction authorization remains in effect is effective until the​

16.27 exclusive representative notifies the employer receives notice from the exclusive​

16.28 representative that a public employee has changed or canceled their the employee's​

16.29 authorization in writing in accordance with the terms of the original authorizing document,​

16.30 and authorization. When determining whether deductions have been properly changed or​

16.31 canceled, a public employer must rely on information from the exclusive representative​

16.32 receiving remittance of the deduction regarding whether the deductions have been properly​

16.33 changed or canceled. The exclusive representative must indemnify the public employer,​

16​Article 4 Sec. 6.​

COUNSEL EO/DN SCS5266A-2​04/05/24 05:30 pm ​



17.1 including any reasonable attorney fees and litigation costs, for any successful claims made​

17.2 by the employee for unauthorized deductions made in reliance on such information.​

17.3 (c) (d) Deduction authorization under this section is:​

17.4 (1) independent from the public employee's membership status in the organization to​

17.5 which payment is remitted; and is​

17.6 (2) effective regardless of whether a collective bargaining agreement authorizes the​

17.7 deduction.​

17.8 (d) Employers (e) An employer must commence:​

17.9 (1) begin deductions within 30 days of notice of authorization from the after an exclusive​

17.10 representative submits a certification under paragraph (b); and must​

17.11 (2) remit the deductions to the exclusive representative within 30 days of the deduction.​

17.12 The failure of an employer to comply with the provisions of this paragraph shall be an unfair​

17.13 labor practice under section 179A.13, the relief for which shall be reimbursement by the​

17.14 employer of deductions that should have been made or remitted based on a valid authorization​

17.15 given by the employee or employees.​

17.16 (e) In the absence of an exclusive representative, public employees have the right to​

17.17 request and be allowed payroll deduction for the organization of their choice.​

17.18 (f) An exclusive representative must indemnify a public employer:​

17.19 (1) for any successful employee claim for unauthorized employer deductions made by​

17.20 relying on an exclusive representative's certification under paragraph (b); and​

17.21 (2) for any successful employee claim for unauthorized employer deductions made by​

17.22 relying on information for changing or canceling deductions under paragraph (c), with​

17.23 indemnification including any reasonable attorney fees and litigation costs.​

17.24 (f) (g) Any dispute under this subdivision must be resolved through an unfair labor​

17.25 practice proceeding under section 179A.13. It is an unfair labor practice if an employer fails​

17.26 to comply with paragraph (e), and the employer must reimburse deductions that should have​

17.27 been made or remitted based on a valid authorization given by the employee or employees.​

17.28 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 179A.07, subdivision 8, is amended​

17.29 to read:​

17.30 Subd. 8. Bargaining unit information. (a) Within 20 calendar days from the date of​

17.31 hire of after a bargaining unit employee is hired, a public employer must provide the​
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18.1 following contact information on the employee to an the unit's exclusive representative in​

18.2 an Excel file format or other format agreed to by the exclusive representative:​

18.3 (1) name;​

18.4 (2) job title;​

18.5 (3) worksite location, including location within in a facility when appropriate;​

18.6 (4) home address;​

18.7 (5) work telephone number;​

18.8 (6) home and personal cell phone numbers on file with the public employer;​

18.9 (7) date of hire; and​

18.10 (8) work email address and personal email address on file with the public employer.​

18.11 (b) Every 120 calendar days beginning on January 1, 2024, a public employer must​

18.12 provide to an a bargaining unit's exclusive representative in an Excel file or similar format​

18.13 agreed to by the exclusive representative the following information under paragraph (a) for​

18.14 all bargaining unit employees: name; job title; worksite location, including location within​

18.15 a facility when appropriate; home address; work telephone number; home and personal cell​

18.16 phone numbers on file with the public employer; date of hire; and work email address and​

18.17 personal email address on file with the public employer.​

18.18 (c) A public employer must notify an exclusive representative within 20 calendar days​

18.19 of the separation of If a bargaining unit employee separates from employment or transfer​

18.20 transfers out of the bargaining unit of a bargaining unit employee, the employee's public​

18.21 employer must notify the employee's exclusive representative within 20 calendar days after​

18.22 the separation or transfer, including the reason for the separation or transfer.​

18.23 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 179A.07, subdivision 9, is amended​

18.24 to read:​

18.25 Subd. 9. Access. (a) A public employer must allow an exclusive representative or the​

18.26 representative's agent to meet in person with a newly hired employees, without charge to​

18.27 the pay or leave time of the employees, for 30 minutes, employee within 30 calendar days​

18.28 from the date of hire, during new employee orientations or, if the employer does not conduct​

18.29 new employee orientations, at individual or group meetings arranged by the employer in​

18.30 coordination with the exclusive representative or the representative's agent during the newly​

18.31 hired employees' regular working hours. For an orientation or meeting under this paragraph,​

18.32 an employer must allow the employee and exclusive representative up to 30 minutes to meet​
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19.1 and must not charge the employee's pay or leave time during the orientation or meeting, or​

19.2 the pay or leave time of an agent of the exclusive representative using time off under​

19.3 subdivision 6. An orientation or meeting may be held virtually or for longer than 30 minutes​

19.4 only by mutual agreement of the employer and exclusive representative.​

19.5 (b) An exclusive representative shall must receive no less than at least ten days' notice​

19.6 in advance of an orientation, except that but a shorter notice may be provided where if there​

19.7 is an urgent need critical to the employer's operations of the public employer that was not​

19.8 reasonably foreseeable. Notice of and attendance at new employee orientations and other​

19.9 meetings under this paragraph must be and paragraph (a) are limited to the public employer,:​

19.10 (1) the employees,;​

19.11 (2) the exclusive representative, and;​

19.12 (3) any vendor contracted to provide a service for purposes of the meeting. Meetings​

19.13 may be held virtually or for longer than 30 minutes; and​

19.14 (4) the public employer or its designee, who may attend only by mutual agreement of​

19.15 the public employer and exclusive representative.​

19.16 (b) (c) A public employer must allow an exclusive representative to communicate with​

19.17 bargaining unit members using their employer-issued email addresses regarding by email​

19.18 on:​

19.19 (1) collective bargaining,;​

19.20 (2) the administration of collective bargaining agreements,;​

19.21 (3) the investigation of grievances, and other workplace-related complaints and issues,;​

19.22 and​

19.23 (4) internal matters involving the governance or business of the exclusive representative,​

19.24 consistent with the employer's generally applicable technology use policies.​

19.25 (d) An exclusive representative may communicate with bargaining unit members under​

19.26 paragraph (c), via the members' employer-issued email addresses, but the communication​

19.27 must be consistent with the employer's generally applicable technology use policies.​

19.28 (c) (e) A public employer must allow an exclusive representative to meet with bargaining​

19.29 unit members in facilities owned or leased by the public employer regarding to communicate​

19.30 on:​

19.31 (1) collective bargaining,;​
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20.1 (2) the administration of collective bargaining agreements,;​

20.2 (3) the investigation of grievances and other workplace-related complaints and issues,;​

20.3 and​

20.4 (4) internal matters involving the governance or business of the exclusive representative,​

20.5 provided the use does not interfere with governmental operations and the exclusive​

20.6 representative complies with worksite security protocols established by the public employer.​

20.7 Meetings conducted.​

20.8 (f) The following applies for a meeting under paragraph (e):​

20.9 (1) a meeting cannot interfere with government operations;​

20.10 (2) the exclusive representative must comply with employer-established worksite security​

20.11 protocols;​

20.12 (3) a meeting in a government buildings pursuant to this paragraph must not building​

20.13 cannot be for the purpose of supporting or opposing any candidate for partisan political​

20.14 office or for the purpose of distributing literature or information regarding on partisan​

20.15 elections.; and​

20.16 (4) an exclusive representative conducting a meeting in a government building or other​

20.17 government facility pursuant to this subdivision may be charged for maintenance, security,​

20.18 and other costs related to the use of using the government building or facility that would​

20.19 not otherwise be incurred by the government entity.​

20.20 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 179A.09, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

20.21 read:​

20.22 Subd. 4. Unit mergers. Upon the request of an exclusive representative for bargaining​

20.23 units, the commissioner must designate as a single unit two bargaining units represented​

20.24 by the exclusive representative, subject to subdivision 2 of this section as well as any other​

20.25 statutory bargaining unit designation.​

20.26 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 179A.09, is amended by adding a subdivision​

20.27 to read:​

20.28 Subd. 5. Position classifications. For the purpose of determining whether a new position​

20.29 should be included in an existing bargaining unit, the position shall be analyzed with respect​

20.30 to its assigned duties, without regard to title or telework status.​
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21.1 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 179A.10, subdivision 2, is amended​

21.2 to read:​

21.3 Subd. 2. State employees. (a) Unclassified employees, unless otherwise excluded, are​

21.4 included within the units which that include the classifications to which they are assigned​

21.5 for purposes of compensation. Supervisory employees shall only can be assigned only to​

21.6 units unit 12 and or 16. The following units are the appropriate units of executive branch​

21.7 state employees:​

21.8 (1) law enforcement unit;​

21.9 (2) craft, maintenance, and labor unit;​

21.10 (3) service unit;​

21.11 (4) health care nonprofessional unit;​

21.12 (5) health care professional unit;​

21.13 (6) clerical and office unit;​

21.14 (7) technical unit;​

21.15 (8) correctional guards unit;​

21.16 (9) state university instructional unit;​

21.17 (10) state college instructional unit;​

21.18 (11) state university administrative unit;​

21.19 (12) professional engineering unit;​

21.20 (13) health treatment unit;​

21.21 (14) general professional unit;​

21.22 (15) professional state residential instructional unit;​

21.23 (16) supervisory employees unit;​

21.24 (17) public safety radio communications operator unit;​

21.25 (18) licensed peace officer special unit; and​

21.26 (19) licensed peace officer leader unit.​

21.27 Each unit consists of the classifications or positions assigned to it in the schedule of​

21.28 state employee job classification and positions maintained by the commissioner. The​
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22.1 commissioner may only make changes in the schedule in existence on the day prior to​

22.2 August 1, 1984, as required by law or as provided in subdivision 4.​

22.3 (b) The following positions are included in the licensed peace officer special unit:​

22.4 (1) State Patrol lieutenant;​

22.5 (2) NR district supervisor - enforcement;​

22.6 (3) assistant special agent in charge;​

22.7 (4) corrections investigation assistant director 2;​

22.8 (5) corrections investigation supervisor; and​

22.9 (6) commerce supervisor special agent.​

22.10 (c) The following positions are included in the licensed peace officer leader unit:​

22.11 (1) State Patrol captain;​

22.12 (2) NR program manager 2 enforcement; and​

22.13 (3) special agent in charge.​

22.14 (d) Each unit consists of the classifications or positions assigned to it in the schedule of​

22.15 state employee job classification and positions maintained by the commissioner. The​

22.16 commissioner may make changes in the schedule in existence on the day before August 1,​

22.17 1984, only:​

22.18 (1) as required by law; or​

22.19 (2) as provided in subdivision 4.​

22.20 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 179A.12, subdivision 2a, is amended​

22.21 to read:​

22.22 Subd. 2a. Majority verification procedure. (a) Notwithstanding any other provision​

22.23 of this section, An employee organization may file a petition with the commissioner​

22.24 requesting certification as the exclusive representative of an a proposed appropriate unit​

22.25 based on a verification that for which there is no currently certified exclusive representative.​

22.26 The petition must verify that over 50 percent of the employees in the proposed appropriate​

22.27 unit wish to be represented by the petitioner organization. The commissioner shall require​

22.28 dated representation authorization signatures of affected employees as verification of the​

22.29 employee organization's claim of majority status.​
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23.1 (b) Upon receipt of an employee organization's petition, accompanied by employee​

23.2 authorization signatures under this subdivision, the commissioner shall investigate the​

23.3 petition. If the commissioner determines that over 50 percent of the employees in an the​

23.4 appropriate unit have provided authorization signatures designating the petitioning employee​

23.5 organization specified in the petition as their exclusive representative, the commissioner​

23.6 shall not order an election but shall must certify the employee organization as the employees'​

23.7 exclusive representative without ordering an election under this section.​

23.8 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 179A.12, subdivision 5, is amended to read:​

23.9 Subd. 5. Commissioner to investigate. The commissioner shall, Upon receipt of an​

23.10 employee organization's receiving a petition to the commissioner under subdivision 3 1a​

23.11 or 2a, the commissioner must:​

23.12 (1) investigate to determine if sufficient evidence of a question of representation exists;​

23.13 and​

23.14 (2) hold hearings necessary to determine the appropriate unit and other matters necessary​

23.15 to determine the representation rights of the affected employees and employer.​

23.16 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 179A.12, subdivision 6, is amended​

23.17 to read:​

23.18 Subd. 6. Authorization signatures. In (a) When determining the numerical status of​

23.19 an employee organization for purposes of this section, the commissioner shall must require​

23.20 a dated representation authorization signatures of affected employees signature of each​

23.21 affected employee as verification of the statements contained in the joint request or petitions​

23.22 petition. These​

23.23 (b) An authorization signatures shall be signature is privileged and confidential​

23.24 information available to the commissioner only. An electronic signatures signature, as​

23.25 defined in section 325L.02, paragraph (h), shall be is valid as an authorization signatures​

23.26 signature.​

23.27 (c) An authorization signatures shall be signature is valid for a period of one year​

23.28 following the signature date of signature.​
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24.1 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 179A.12, subdivision 11, is amended​

24.2 to read:​

24.3 Subd. 11. Unfair labor practices. The commissioner may void the result of an election​

24.4 or majority verification procedure and order a new election or procedure if the commissioner​

24.5 finds that one of the following:​

24.6 (1) there was an unfair labor practice that:​

24.7 (i) was committed by an employer or, a representative candidate or, an employee, or a​

24.8 group of employees,; and that the unfair labor practice​

24.9 (ii) affected the result of an the election or the majority verification procedure pursuant​

24.10 to subdivision 2a,; or that​

24.11 (2) procedural or other irregularities in the conduct of the election or majority verification​

24.12 procedure may have substantially affected its the results, the commissioner may void the​

24.13 result and order a new election or majority verification procedure.​

24.14 Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 179A.13, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

24.15 Subdivision 1. Actions. (a) The practices specified in this section are unfair labor​

24.16 practices. Any employee, employer, employee or employer organization, exclusive​

24.17 representative, or any other person or organization aggrieved by an unfair labor practice as​

24.18 defined in this section may file an unfair labor practice charge with the board.​

24.19 (b) Whenever it is charged that any party has engaged in or is engaging in any unfair​

24.20 labor practice, an investigator designated by the board shall promptly conduct an investigation​

24.21 of the charge. Unless after the investigation the board finds that the charge has no reasonable​

24.22 basis in law or fact, the board shall promptly issue a complaint and cause to be served upon​

24.23 the party a complaint stating the charges, accompanied by a notice of hearing before a​

24.24 qualified hearing officer designated by the board at the offices of the bureau or other location​

24.25 as the board deems appropriate, not less than five days nor more than 20 days more than​

24.26 30 days after serving the complaint absent mutual agreement of the parties, provided that​

24.27 no complaint shall be issued based upon any unfair labor practice occurring more than six​

24.28 months prior to the filing of a charge. A complaint issued under this subdivision may be​

24.29 amended by the board at any time prior to the issuance of an order based thereon. The party​

24.30 who is the subject of the complaint has the right to file an answer to the original or amended​

24.31 complaint prior to hearing and to appear in person or by a representative and give testimony​

24.32 at the place and time fixed in the complaint. In the discretion of the hearing officer conducting​

24.33 the hearing or the board, any other party may be allowed to intervene in the proceeding and​
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25.1 to present testimony. The board or designated hearing officers shall not be bound by the​

25.2 rules of evidence applicable to courts, except as to the rules of privilege recognized by law.​

25.3 (c) Designated investigators must conduct the investigation of charges.​

25.4 (d) Hearing officers must be licensed to practice law in the state of Minnesota have a​

25.5 juris doctor and must conduct the hearings and issue recommended decisions and orders.​

25.6 (e) The board or its designees shall have the power to issue subpoenas and administer​

25.7 oaths. If any party willfully fails or neglects to appear or testify or to produce books, papers,​

25.8 and records pursuant to the issuance of a subpoena, the board may apply to a court of​

25.9 competent jurisdiction to request that the party be ordered to appear to testify or produce​

25.10 the requested evidence.​

25.11 (f) A full and complete record shall be kept of all proceedings before the board or​

25.12 designated hearing officer and shall be transcribed by a reporter appointed by the board.​

25.13 (g) The party on whom the burden of proof rests shall be required to sustain the burden​

25.14 by a preponderance of the evidence.​

25.15 (h) At any time prior to the close of a hearing, the parties may by mutual agreement​

25.16 request referral to mediation, at which time the commissioner shall appoint a mediator, and​

25.17 the hearing shall be suspended pending the results of the mediation.​

25.18 (i) If, upon a preponderance of the evidence taken, the hearing officer determines that​

25.19 any party named in the charge has engaged in or is engaging in an unfair labor practice,​

25.20 then a recommended decision and order shall be issued stating findings of fact and​

25.21 conclusions, and requiring the party to cease and desist from the unfair labor practice, to​

25.22 post a cease-and-desist notice in the workplace, and ordering any appropriate relief to​

25.23 effectuate the policies of this section, including but not limited to reinstatement, back pay,​

25.24 and any other remedies that make a charging party whole. If back pay is awarded, the award​

25.25 must include interest at the rate of seven percent per annum. The order further may require​

25.26 the party to make reports from time to time, and demonstrate the extent to which the party​

25.27 has complied with the order.​

25.28 (j) If there is no preponderance of evidence that the party named in the charge has​

25.29 engaged in or is engaging in the unfair labor practice, then the hearing officer shall issue a​

25.30 recommended decision and order stating findings of fact and dismissing the complaint.​

25.31 (k) Parties may file exceptions to the hearing officer's recommended decision and order​

25.32 with the board no later than 30 days after service of the recommended decision and order.​

25.33 The board shall review the recommended decision and order upon timely filing of exceptions​
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26.1 or upon its own motion. If no timely exceptions have been filed, the parties must be deemed​

26.2 to have waived their exceptions. Unless the board reviews the recommended decision and​

26.3 order upon its own motion, it must not be legal precedent and must be final and binding​

26.4 only on the parties to the proceeding as issued in an order issued by the board. If the board​

26.5 does review the recommended decision and order, the board may adopt all, part, or none of​

26.6 the recommended decision and order, depending on the extent to which it is consistent with​

26.7 the record and applicable laws. The board shall issue and serve on all parties its decision​

26.8 and order. The board shall retain jurisdiction over the case to ensure the parties' compliance​

26.9 with the board's order. Unless overturned by the board, the parties must comply with the​

26.10 recommended decision and order.​

26.11 (l) Until the record has been filed in the court of appeals or district court, the board at​

26.12 any time, upon reasonable notice and in a manner it deems appropriate, may modify or set​

26.13 aside, in whole or in part, any finding or order made or issued by it.​

26.14 (m) Upon a final order that an unfair labor practice has been committed, the board or​

26.15 the charging party may petition the district court for the enforcement of the order and for​

26.16 appropriate temporary relief or a restraining order. When the board petitions the court, the​

26.17 charging party may intervene as a matter of right.​

26.18 (n) Whenever it appears that any party has violated a final order of the board issued​

26.19 pursuant to this section, the board must petition the district court for an order directing the​

26.20 party and its officers, agents, servants, successors, and assigns to comply with the order of​

26.21 the board. The board shall be represented in this action by its general counsel, who has been​

26.22 appointed by the board. The court may grant or refuse, in whole or in part, the relief sought,​

26.23 provided that the court also may stay an order of the board pending disposition of the​

26.24 proceedings. The court may punish a violation of its order as in civil contempt.​

26.25 (o) The board shall have power, upon issuance of an unfair labor practice complaint​

26.26 alleging that a party has engaged in or is engaging in an unfair labor practice, to petition​

26.27 the district court for appropriate temporary relief or a restraining order. Upon the filing of​

26.28 any such petition, the court shall cause notice thereof to be served upon such parties, and​

26.29 thereupon shall have jurisdiction to grant to the board or commissioner temporary relief or​

26.30 a restraining order as it deems appropriate. Nothing in this paragraph precludes a charging​

26.31 party from seeking injunctive relief in district court after filing the unfair labor practice​

26.32 charge.​

26.33 (p) The proceedings in paragraphs (m), (n), and (o) shall be commenced in the district​

26.34 court for the county in which the unfair labor practice which is the subject of the order or​
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27.1 administrative complaint was committed, or where a party alleged to have committed the​

27.2 unfair labor practice resides or transacts business.​

27.3 Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 179A.13, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

27.4 Subd. 2. Employers. Public employers, their agents and representatives are prohibited​

27.5 from:​

27.6 (1) interfering, restraining, or coercing employees in the exercise of the rights guaranteed​

27.7 in sections 179A.01 to 179A.25;​

27.8 (2) dominating or interfering with the formation, existence, or administration of any​

27.9 employee organization or contributing other support to it;​

27.10 (3) discriminating in regard to hire or tenure to encourage or discourage membership in​

27.11 an employee organization;​

27.12 (4) discharging or otherwise discriminating against an employee because the employee​

27.13 has signed or filed an affidavit, petition, or complaint or given information or testimony​

27.14 under sections 179A.01 to 179A.25;​

27.15 (5) refusing to meet and negotiate in good faith with the exclusive representative of its​

27.16 employees in an appropriate unit;​

27.17 (6) refusing to comply with grievance procedures contained in an agreement;​

27.18 (7) distributing or circulating a blacklist of individuals exercising a legal right or of​

27.19 members of a labor organization for the purpose of preventing blacklisted individuals from​

27.20 obtaining or retaining employment;​

27.21 (8) violating rules established by the commissioner regulating the conduct of​

27.22 representation elections;​

27.23 (9) refusing to comply with a valid decision of a binding arbitration panel or arbitrator;​

27.24 (10) violating or refusing to comply with any lawful order or decision issued by the​

27.25 commissioner or the board;​

27.26 (11) refusing to provide, upon the request of the exclusive representative, all information​

27.27 pertaining to the public employer's budget both present and proposed, revenues, and other​

27.28 financing information provided that in the executive branch of state government this clause​

27.29 may not be considered contrary to the budgetary requirements of sections 16A.10 and​

27.30 16A.11; or​
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28.1 (12) granting or offering to grant the status of permanent replacement employee to a​

28.2 person for performing bargaining unit work for the employer during a lockout of employees​

28.3 in an employee organization or during a strike authorized by an employee organization that​

28.4 is an exclusive representative.;​

28.5 (13) failing or refusing to provide information that is relevant to enforcement or​

28.6 negotiation of a contract within a reasonable time from receiving a request by an exclusive​

28.7 representative, not to exceed ten days for information relevant to contract enforcement or​

28.8 30 days for information relevant to contract negotiation;​

28.9 (14) refusing to reallocate a position after the commissioner has determined the position​

28.10 was not placed into the correct bargaining unit; or​

28.11 (15) refusing to restore a position to classified service after determination that the position​

28.12 was incorrectly placed into unclassified service under section 43A.08.​

28.13 Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 179A.40, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

28.14 Subdivision 1. Units. The following are the appropriate employee units of the Hennepin​

28.15 Healthcare System, Inc. All units shall exclude supervisors, managerial employees, and​

28.16 confidential employees. No additional units of Hennepin Healthcare System, Inc., shall be​

28.17 eligible to be certified for the purpose of meeting and negotiating with an exclusive​

28.18 representative. The units include all:​

28.19 (1) registered nurses;​

28.20 (2) physicians except those employed as interns, residents, or fellows;​

28.21 (3) professionals except for registered nurses and physicians;​

28.22 (4) technical and paraprofessional employees;​

28.23 (5) carpenters, electricians, painters, and plumbers;​

28.24 (6) health general service employees;​

28.25 (7) interpreters;​

28.26 (8) emergency medical technicians/emergency medical dispatchers (EMT/EMD), and​

28.27 paramedics;​

28.28 (9) bioelectronics specialists, bioelectronics technicians, and electronics technicians;​

28.29 (10) skilled maintenance employees; and​

28.30 (11) clerical employees.; and​
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29.1 (12) physicians employed as interns, residents, and fellows.​

29.2 Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 179A.54, subdivision 5, is amended to read:​

29.3 Subd. 5. Legislative action on Collective bargaining agreements. Any agreement​

29.4 reached between the state and the exclusive representative of individual providers under​

29.5 chapter 179A shall be submitted to the legislature to be accepted or rejected in accordance​

29.6 with sections 3.855 and 179A.22 The commissioner of management and budget is authorized​

29.7 to enter into and implement agreements, including interest arbitration decisions, with the​

29.8 exclusive representative of individual providers as provided in section 179A.22, subdivision​

29.9 4, except for terms and conditions requiring appropriations, changes to state law, or approval​

29.10 from the federal government which shall be contingent upon and executed following receipt​

29.11 of appropriations and state and federal approval.​

29.12 Sec. 20. RULEMAKING.​

29.13 The commissioner of the Bureau of Mediation Services must adopt rules on petitions​

29.14 for majority verification, including technical changes needed for consistency with Minnesota​

29.15 Statutes, section 179A.12, and the commissioner may use the expedited rulemaking process​

29.16 under Minnesota Statutes, section 14.389.​

29.17 Sec. 21. REVISOR INSTRUCTION.​

29.18 The revisor of statutes must renumber Minnesota Statutes, section 179A.12, subdivision​

29.19 3, as Minnesota Statutes, section 179A.12, subdivision 1a.​

29.20 ARTICLE 5​

29.21 EARNED SICK AND SAFE TIME MODIFICATIONS​

29.22 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 177.27, subdivision 4, is amended​

29.23 to read:​

29.24 Subd. 4. Compliance orders. The commissioner may issue an order requiring an​

29.25 employer to comply with sections 177.21 to 177.435, 177.50, 179.86, 181.02, 181.03,​

29.26 181.031, 181.032, 181.101, 181.11, 181.13, 181.14, 181.145, 181.15, 181.165, 181.172,​

29.27 paragraph (a) or (d), 181.214 to 181.217, 181.275, subdivision 2a, 181.635, 181.722, 181.79,​

29.28 181.85 to 181.89, 181.939 to 181.943, 181.9445 to 181.9448, 181.987, 181.991, 268B.09,​

29.29 subdivisions 1 to 6, and 268B.14, subdivision 3, with any rule promulgated under section​

29.30 177.28, 181.213, or 181.215. The commissioner shall issue an order requiring an employer​

29.31 to comply with sections 177.41 to 177.435, 181.165, or 181.987 if the violation is repeated.​
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30.1 For purposes of this subdivision only, a violation is repeated if at any time during the two​

30.2 years that preceded the date of violation, the commissioner issued an order to the employer​

30.3 for violation of sections 177.41 to 177.435, 181.165, or 181.987 and the order is final or​

30.4 the commissioner and the employer have entered into a settlement agreement that required​

30.5 the employer to pay back wages that were required by sections 177.41 to 177.435. The​

30.6 department shall serve the order upon the employer or the employer's authorized​

30.7 representative in person or by certified mail at the employer's place of business. An employer​

30.8 who wishes to contest the order must file written notice of objection to the order with the​

30.9 commissioner within 15 calendar days after being served with the order. A contested case​

30.10 proceeding must then be held in accordance with sections 14.57 to 14.69 or 181.165. If,​

30.11 within 15 calendar days after being served with the order, the employer fails to file a written​

30.12 notice of objection with the commissioner, the order becomes a final order of the​

30.13 commissioner. For the purposes of this subdivision, an employer includes a contractor that​

30.14 has assumed a subcontractor's liability within the meaning of section 181.165.​

30.15 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

30.16 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 177.50, is amended by adding a​

30.17 subdivision to read:​

30.18 Subd. 6. Rulemaking authority. The commissioner may adopt rules to carry out the​

30.19 purposes of this section and sections 181.9445 to 181.9448.​

30.20 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

30.21 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 177.50, is amended by adding a​

30.22 subdivision to read:​

30.23 Subd. 7. Remedies. (a) If an employer does not provide earned sick and safe time​

30.24 pursuant to section 181.9446, or does not allow the use of earned sick and safe time pursuant​

30.25 to section 181.9447, the employer is liable to all employees who were not provided or not​

30.26 allowed to use earned sick and safe time for an amount equal to all earned sick and safe​

30.27 time that should have been provided or could have been used, plus an additional equal​

30.28 amount as liquidated damages.​

30.29 (b) If the employer does not possess records sufficient to determine the earned sick and​

30.30 safe time an employee should have been provided pursuant to paragraph (a), the employer​

30.31 is liable to the employee for an amount equal to 48 hours of earned sick and safe time for​

30.32 each year earned sick and safe time was not provided, plus an additional equal amount as​

30.33 liquidated damages.​
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31.1 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

31.2 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 181.032, is amended to read:​

31.3 181.032 REQUIRED STATEMENT OF EARNINGS BY EMPLOYER; NOTICE​

31.4 TO EMPLOYEE.​

31.5 (a) At the end of each pay period, the employer shall provide each employee an earnings​

31.6 statement, either in writing or by electronic means, covering that pay period. An employer​

31.7 who chooses to provide an earnings statement by electronic means must provide employee​

31.8 access to an employer-owned computer during an employee's regular working hours to​

31.9 review and print earnings statements, and must make statements available for review or​

31.10 printing for a period of three years.​

31.11 (b) The earnings statement may be in any form determined by the employer but must​

31.12 include:​

31.13 (1) the name of the employee;​

31.14 (2) the rate or rates of pay and basis thereof, including whether the employee is paid by​

31.15 hour, shift, day, week, salary, piece, commission, or other method;​

31.16 (3) allowances, if any, claimed pursuant to permitted meals and lodging;​

31.17 (4) the total number of hours worked by the employee unless exempt from chapter 177;​

31.18 (5) the total number of earned sick and safe time hours accrued and available for use​

31.19 under section 181.9446;​

31.20 (6) the total number of earned sick and safe time hours used during the pay period under​

31.21 section 181.9447;​

31.22 (7) (5) the total amount of gross pay earned by the employee during that period;​

31.23 (8) (6) a list of deductions made from the employee's pay;​

31.24 (9) (7) any amount deducted by the employer under section 268B.14, subdivision 3, and​

31.25 the amount paid by the employer based on the employee's wages under section 268B.14,​

31.26 subdivision 1;​

31.27 (10) (8) the net amount of pay after all deductions are made;​

31.28 (11) (9) the date on which the pay period ends;​

31.29 (12) (10) the legal name of the employer and the operating name of the employer if​

31.30 different from the legal name;​
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32.1 (13) (11) the physical address of the employer's main office or principal place of business,​

32.2 and a mailing address if different; and​

32.3 (14) (12) the telephone number of the employer.​

32.4 (c) An employer must provide earnings statements to an employee in writing, rather​

32.5 than by electronic means, if the employer has received at least 24 hours notice from an​

32.6 employee that the employee would like to receive earnings statements in written form. Once​

32.7 an employer has received notice from an employee that the employee would like to receive​

32.8 earnings statements in written form, the employer must comply with that request on an​

32.9 ongoing basis.​

32.10 (d) At the start of employment, an employer shall provide each employee a written notice​

32.11 containing the following information:​

32.12 (1) the rate or rates of pay and basis thereof, including whether the employee is paid by​

32.13 the hour, shift, day, week, salary, piece, commission, or other method, and the specific​

32.14 application of any additional rates;​

32.15 (2) allowances, if any, claimed pursuant to permitted meals and lodging;​

32.16 (3) paid vacation, sick time, or other paid time-off accruals and terms of use;​

32.17 (4) the employee's employment status and whether the employee is exempt from minimum​

32.18 wage, overtime, and other provisions of chapter 177, and on what basis;​

32.19 (5) a list of deductions that may be made from the employee's pay;​

32.20 (6) the number of days in the pay period, the regularly scheduled pay day, and the pay​

32.21 day on which the employee will receive the first payment of wages earned;​

32.22 (7) the legal name of the employer and the operating name of the employer if different​

32.23 from the legal name;​

32.24 (8) the physical address of the employer's main office or principal place of business, and​

32.25 a mailing address if different; and​

32.26 (9) the telephone number of the employer.​

32.27 (e) The employer must keep a copy of the notice under paragraph (d) signed by each​

32.28 employee acknowledging receipt of the notice. The notice must be provided to each employee​

32.29 in English. The English version of the notice must include text provided by the commissioner​

32.30 that informs employees that they may request, by indicating on the form, the notice be​

32.31 provided in a particular language. If requested, the employer shall provide the notice in the​

32.32 language requested by the employee. The commissioner shall make available to employers​
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33.1 the text to be included in the English version of the notice required by this section and assist​

33.2 employers with translation of the notice in the languages requested by their employees.​

33.3 (f) An employer must provide the employee any written changes to the information​

33.4 contained in the notice under paragraph (d) prior to the date the changes take effect.​

33.5 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

33.6 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 181.9445, subdivision 4, is amended​

33.7 to read:​

33.8 Subd. 4. Earned sick and safe time. "Earned sick and safe time" means leave, including​

33.9 paid time off and other paid leave systems, that is paid at the same hourly base rate as an​

33.10 employee earns from employment that may be used for the same purposes and under the​

33.11 same conditions as provided under section 181.9447, but in no case shall this hourly base​

33.12 rate be less than that provided under section 177.24 or an applicable local minimum wage.​

33.13 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

33.14 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 181.9445, is amended by adding a​

33.15 subdivision to read:​

33.16 Subd. 4a. Base rate. "Base rate" means:​

33.17 (1) for employees paid on an hourly basis, the same rate received per hour of work;​

33.18 (2) for employees paid on an hourly basis who receive multiple hourly rates, the rate​

33.19 the employee would have been paid for the period of time in which leave was taken;​

33.20 (3) for employees paid on a salary basis, the same rate guaranteed to the employee as if​

33.21 the employee had not taken the leave; and​

33.22 (4) for employees paid solely on a commission, piecework, or any basis other than hourly​

33.23 or salary, a rate no less than the applicable local, state, or federal minimum wage, whichever​

33.24 is greater.​

33.25 For purposes of this section and section 181.9446, base rate does not include commissions;​

33.26 shift differentials that are in addition to an hourly rate; premium payments for overtime​

33.27 work; premium payments for work on Saturdays, Sundays, holidays, or scheduled days off;​

33.28 bonuses; or gratuities as defined by section 177.23.​

33.29 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​
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34.1 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 181.9445, subdivision 5, is amended​

34.2 to read:​

34.3 Subd. 5. Employee. "Employee" means any person who is employed by an employer,​

34.4 including temporary and part-time employees, who performs is anticipated by the employer​

34.5 to perform work for at least 80 hours in a year for that employer in Minnesota. Employee​

34.6 does not include:​

34.7 (1) an independent contractor; or​

34.8 (2) an individual who is a paid on-call member of a department charged with the​

34.9 prevention or suppression of fires within the boundaries of the state.​

34.10 (2) an individual employed by an air carrier as a flight deck or cabin crew member who:​

34.11 (i) is subject to United States Code, title 45, sections 181 to 188;​

34.12 (ii) works less than a majority of their hours in Minnesota in a calendar year; and​

34.13 (iii) is provided with paid leave equal to or exceeding the amounts in section 181.9446.​

34.14 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

34.15 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 181.9446, is amended to read:​

34.16 181.9446 ACCRUAL OF EARNED SICK AND SAFE TIME.​

34.17 (a) An employee accrues a minimum of one hour of earned sick and safe time for every​

34.18 30 hours worked up to a maximum of 48 hours of earned sick and safe time in a year.​

34.19 Employees may not accrue more than 48 hours of earned sick and safe time in a year unless​

34.20 the employer agrees to a higher amount.​

34.21 (b)(1) Except as provided in clause (2), employers must permit an employee to carry​

34.22 over accrued but unused sick and safe time into the following year. The total amount of​

34.23 accrued but unused earned sick and safe time for an employee must not exceed 80 hours at​

34.24 any time, unless an employer agrees to a higher amount.​

34.25 (2) In lieu of permitting the carryover of accrued but unused sick and safe time into the​

34.26 following year as provided under clause (1), an employer may provide an employee with​

34.27 earned sick and safe time for the year that meets or exceeds the requirements of this section​

34.28 that is available for the employee's immediate use at the beginning of the subsequent year​

34.29 as follows: (i) 48 hours, if an employer pays an employee for accrued but unused sick and​

34.30 safe time at the end of a year at the same hourly base rate as an employee earns from​

34.31 employment and in no case at a rate less than that provided under section 177.24 or an​
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35.1 applicable local minimum wage; or (ii) 80 hours, if an employer does not pay an employee​

35.2 for accrued but unused sick and safe time at the end of a year at the same or greater hourly​

35.3 rate as an employee earns from employment. In no case shall this hourly rate be less than​

35.4 that provided under section 177.24, or an applicable local minimum wage.​

35.5 (c) Employees who are exempt from overtime requirements under United States Code,​

35.6 title 29, section 213(a)(1), as amended through January 1, 2024, are deemed to work 40​

35.7 hours in each workweek for purposes of accruing earned sick and safe time, except that an​

35.8 employee whose normal workweek is less than 40 hours will accrue earned sick and safe​

35.9 time based on the normal workweek.​

35.10 (d) Earned sick and safe time under this section begins to accrue at the commencement​

35.11 of employment of the employee.​

35.12 (e) Employees may use earned sick and safe time as it is accrued.​

35.13 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 181.9447, subdivision 1, is amended​

35.14 to read:​

35.15 Subdivision 1. Eligible use. An employee may use accrued earned sick and safe time​

35.16 for:​

35.17 (1) an employee's:​

35.18 (i) mental or physical illness, injury, or other health condition;​

35.19 (ii) need for medical diagnosis, care, or treatment of a mental or physical illness, injury,​

35.20 or health condition; or​

35.21 (iii) need for preventive medical or health care; or​

35.22 (iv) need to make arrangements for or attend funeral services or a memorial, or address​

35.23 financial or legal matters that arise after the death of a family member;​

35.24 (2) care of a family member:​

35.25 (i) with a mental or physical illness, injury, or other health condition;​

35.26 (ii) who needs medical diagnosis, care, or treatment of a mental or physical illness,​

35.27 injury, or other health condition; or​

35.28 (iii) who needs preventive medical or health care;​

35.29 (3) absence due to domestic abuse, sexual assault, or stalking of the employee or​

35.30 employee's family member, provided the absence is to:​
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36.1 (i) seek medical attention related to physical or psychological injury or disability caused​

36.2 by domestic abuse, sexual assault, or stalking;​

36.3 (ii) obtain services from a victim services organization;​

36.4 (iii) obtain psychological or other counseling;​

36.5 (iv) seek relocation or take steps to secure an existing home due to domestic abuse,​

36.6 sexual assault, or stalking; or​

36.7 (v) seek legal advice or take legal action, including preparing for or participating in any​

36.8 civil or criminal legal proceeding related to or resulting from domestic abuse, sexual assault,​

36.9 or stalking;​

36.10 (4) closure of the employee's place of business due to weather or other public emergency​

36.11 or an employee's need to care for a family member whose school or place of care has been​

36.12 closed due to weather or other public emergency;​

36.13 (5) the employee's inability to work or telework because the employee is: (i) prohibited​

36.14 from working by the employer due to health concerns related to the potential transmission​

36.15 of a communicable illness related to a public emergency; or (ii) seeking or awaiting the​

36.16 results of a diagnostic test for, or a medical diagnosis of, a communicable disease related​

36.17 to a public emergency and such employee has been exposed to a communicable disease or​

36.18 the employee's employer has requested a test or diagnosis; and​

36.19 (6) when it has been determined by the health authorities having jurisdiction or by a​

36.20 health care professional that the presence of the employee or family member of the employee​

36.21 in the community would jeopardize the health of others because of the exposure of the​

36.22 employee or family member of the employee to a communicable disease, whether or not​

36.23 the employee or family member has actually contracted the communicable disease.​

36.24 For the purposes of this subdivision, a public emergency shall include a declared​

36.25 emergency as defined in section 12.03 or a declared local emergency under section 12.29.​

36.26 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

36.27 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 181.9447, subdivision 3, is amended​

36.28 to read:​

36.29 Subd. 3. Documentation. (a) When an employee uses earned sick and safe time for​

36.30 more than three consecutive scheduled work days, an employer may require reasonable​

36.31 documentation that the earned sick and safe time is covered by subdivision 1.​
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37.1 (b) For earned sick and safe time under subdivision 1, clauses (1), (2), (5), and (6),​

37.2 reasonable documentation may include a signed statement by a health care professional​

37.3 indicating the need for use of earned sick and safe time. However, if the employee or​

37.4 employee's family member did not receive services from a health care professional, or if​

37.5 documentation cannot be obtained from a health care professional in a reasonable time or​

37.6 without added expense, then reasonable documentation for the purposes of this paragraph​

37.7 may include a written statement from the employee indicating that the employee is using​

37.8 or used earned sick and safe time for a qualifying purpose covered by subdivision 1, clause​

37.9 (1), (2), (5), or (6).​

37.10 (c) For earned sick and safe time under subdivision 1, clause (3), an employer must​

37.11 accept a court record or documentation signed by a volunteer or employee of a victims​

37.12 services organization, an attorney, a police officer, or an antiviolence counselor as reasonable​

37.13 documentation. If documentation cannot be obtained in a reasonable time or without added​

37.14 expense, then reasonable documentation for the purposes of this paragraph may include a​

37.15 written statement from the employee indicating that the employee is using or used earned​

37.16 sick and safe time for a qualifying purpose covered under subdivision 1, clause (3).​

37.17 (d) For earned sick and safe time to care for a family member under subdivision 1, clause​

37.18 (4), an employer must accept as reasonable documentation a written statement from the​

37.19 employee indicating that the employee is using or used earned sick and safe time for a​

37.20 qualifying purpose as reasonable documentation.​

37.21 (e) An employer must not require disclosure of details relating to domestic abuse, sexual​

37.22 assault, or stalking or the details of an employee's or an employee's family member's medical​

37.23 condition as related to an employee's request to use earned sick and safe time under this​

37.24 section.​

37.25 (f) Written statements by an employee may be written in the employee's first language​

37.26 and need not be notarized or in any particular format.​

37.27 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

37.28 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 181.9447, subdivision 5, is amended​

37.29 to read:​

37.30 Subd. 5. Increment of time used. Earned sick and safe time may be used in the smallest​

37.31 increment of time tracked by the employer's payroll system, provided such increment is not​

37.32 more than four hours same increment of time for which employees are paid, provided an​
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38.1 employer is not required to provide leave in less than 15-minute increments nor can the​

38.2 employer require use of earned sick and safe time in more than four-hour increments.​

38.3 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

38.4 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 181.9447, subdivision 10, is amended​

38.5 to read:​

38.6 Subd. 10. Employer records and required statement to employees. (a) Employers​

38.7 shall retain accurate records documenting hours worked by employees and earned sick and​

38.8 safe time taken and comply with all requirements under section 177.30.​

38.9 (b) At the end of each pay period, the employer shall provide, in writing or electronically,​

38.10 information stating the employee's current amount of:​

38.11 (1) the total number of earned sick and safe time hours available to the employee for​

38.12 use under section 181.9446; and​

38.13 (2) the total number of earned sick and safe time hours used during the pay period under​

38.14 section 181.9447.​

38.15 Employers may choose a reasonable system for providing this information, including​

38.16 but not limited to listing information on or attached to each earnings statement or an​

38.17 electronic system where employees can access this information. An employer who chooses​

38.18 to provide this information by electronic means must provide employee access to an​

38.19 employer-owned computer during an employee's regular working hours to review and print.​

38.20 (b) (c) An employer must allow an employee to inspect records required by this section​

38.21 and relating to that employee at a reasonable time and place.​

38.22 (d) The records required by this section must be kept for three years.​

38.23 (e) All records required to be kept under this section must be readily available for​

38.24 inspection by the commissioner upon demand. The records must be either kept at the place​

38.25 where employees are working or kept in a manner that allows the employer to comply with​

38.26 this paragraph within 72 hours.​

38.27 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 181.9447, subdivision 11, is amended​

38.28 to read:​

38.29 Subd. 11. Confidentiality and nondisclosure. (a) If, in conjunction with this section,​

38.30 an employer possesses:​
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39.1 (1) health or medical information regarding an employee or an employee's family​

39.2 member;​

39.3 (2) information pertaining to domestic abuse, sexual assault, or stalking;​

39.4 (3) information that the employee has requested or obtained leave under this section; or​

39.5 (4) any written or oral statement, documentation, record, or corroborating evidence​

39.6 provided by the employee or an employee's family member, the employer must treat such​

39.7 information as confidential.​

39.8 Information given by an employee may only be disclosed by an employer if the disclosure​

39.9 is requested or consented to by the employee, when ordered by a court or administrative​

39.10 agency, or when otherwise required by federal or state law.​

39.11 (b) Records and documents relating to medical certifications, recertifications, or medical​

39.12 histories of employees or family members of employees created for purposes of section​

39.13 177.50 or sections 181.9445 to 181.9448 must be maintained as confidential medical records​

39.14 separate from the usual personnel files. At the request of the employee, the employer must​

39.15 destroy or return the records required by sections 181.9445 to 181.9448 that are older than​

39.16 three years prior to the current calendar year, unless state or federal law, rule, or regulation​

39.17 requires the employer to retain such records.​

39.18 (c) Employers may not discriminate against any employee based on records created for​

39.19 the purposes of section 177.50 or sections 181.9445 to 181.9448.​

39.20 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

39.21 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 181.9447, is amended by adding​

39.22 a subdivision to read:​

39.23 Subd. 12. Weather event exception. Notwithstanding subdivision 1, an employee may​

39.24 not use sick and safe time under the conditions in subdivision 1, clause (4), if:​

39.25 (1) the employee's preassigned or foreseeable work duties during a public emergency​

39.26 or weather event would require them to respond to the public emergency or weather event;​

39.27 (2) the employee is a firefighter; a peace officer subject to licensure under sections​

39.28 626.84 to 626.863; a 911 telecommunicator as defined in section 403.02, subdivision 17c;​

39.29 a guard at a correctional facility; or a public employee holding a commercial driver's license;​

39.30 and​

39.31 (3) one of the following two conditions are met:​
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40.1 (i) the employee is represented by an exclusive representative under section 179A.03,​

40.2 subdivision 8, and the collective bargaining agreement or memorandum of understanding​

40.3 governing the employee's position explicitly references section 181.9447, subdivision 1,​

40.4 clause (4), and clearly and unambiguously waives application of that section for the​

40.5 employee's position; or​

40.6 (ii) the employee is not represented by an exclusive representative, the employee is​

40.7 needed for the employer to maintain minimum staffing requirements, and the employer has​

40.8 a written policy explicitly referencing section 181.9447, subdivision 1, clause (4), that is​

40.9 provided to such employees in a manner that meets the requirements of other earned sick​

40.10 and safe time notices under section 181.9447, subdivision 9.​

40.11 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 181.9448, subdivision 1, is amended​

40.12 to read:​

40.13 Subdivision 1. No effect on more generous sick and safe time policies. (a) Nothing​

40.14 in sections 181.9445 to 181.9448 shall be construed to discourage employers from adopting​

40.15 or retaining earned sick and safe time policies that meet or exceed, and do not otherwise​

40.16 conflict with, the minimum standards and requirements provided in sections 181.9445 to​

40.17 181.9448, provided that all time provided to an employee by an employer for absences from​

40.18 work due to personal illness or injury, but not including short-term or long-term disability​

40.19 or other salary continuation benefits, meet or exceed the minimum standards and requirements​

40.20 provided in sections 181.9445 to 181.9448.​

40.21 (b) Nothing in sections 181.9445 to 181.9448 shall be construed to limit the right of​

40.22 parties to a collective bargaining agreement to bargain and agree with respect to earned sick​

40.23 and safe time policies or to diminish the obligation of an employer to comply with any​

40.24 contract, collective bargaining agreement, or any employment benefit program or plan that​

40.25 meets or exceeds, and does not otherwise conflict with, the minimum standards and​

40.26 requirements provided in this section.​

40.27 (c) Nothing in sections 181.9445 to 181.9448 shall be construed to preempt, limit, or​

40.28 otherwise affect the applicability of any other law, regulation, requirement, policy, or​

40.29 standard that provides for a greater amount, accrual, or use by employees of paid sick and​

40.30 safe time or that extends other protections to employees.​

40.31 (d) Nothing in sections 181.9445 to 181.9448 shall be construed or applied so as to​

40.32 create any power or duty in conflict with federal law.​
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41.1 (e) Employers who provide earned sick and safe time to their employees under a paid​

41.2 time off policy or other paid leave policy that may be used for the same purposes and under​

41.3 the same conditions as earned sick and safe time, and that meets or exceeds, and does not​

41.4 otherwise conflict with, the minimum standards and requirements provided in sections​

41.5 181.9445 to 181.9448 are not required to provide additional earned sick and safe time.​

41.6 (f) The provisions of sections 181.9445 to 181.9448 may be waived by a collective​

41.7 bargaining agreement with a bona fide building and construction trades labor organization​

41.8 that has established itself as the collective bargaining representative for the affected building​

41.9 and construction industry employees, provided that for such waiver to be valid, it shall​

41.10 explicitly reference sections 181.9445 to 181.9448 and clearly and unambiguously waive​

41.11 application of those sections to such employees.​

41.12 (g) An individual provider, as defined in section 256B.0711, subdivision 1, paragraph​

41.13 (d), who provides services through a consumer support grant under section 256.476,​

41.14 consumer-directed community supports under section 256B.4911, or community first services​

41.15 and supports under section 256B.85, to a family member who is a participant, as defined​

41.16 in section 256B.0711, subdivision 1, paragraph (e), may individually waive the provisions​

41.17 of sections 181.9445 to 181.9448 for the remainder of the participant's service plan year,​

41.18 provided that the funds are returned to the participant's budget. Once an individual provider​

41.19 has waived the provisions of sections 181.9445 to 181.9448, they may not accrue earned​

41.20 sick and safe time until the start of the participant's next service plan year.​

41.21 (g) (h) Sections 181.9445 to 181.9448 do not prohibit an employer from establishing a​

41.22 policy whereby employees may donate unused accrued sick and safe time to another​

41.23 employee.​

41.24 (h) (i) Sections 181.9445 to 181.9448 do not prohibit an employer from advancing sick​

41.25 and safe time to an employee before accrual by the employee.​

41.26 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment, except​

41.27 paragraph (a) is effective January 1, 2025.​

41.28 Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 181.9448, subdivision 2, is amended​

41.29 to read:​

41.30 Subd. 2. Termination; separation; transfer. Sections 181.9445 to 181.9448 do not​

41.31 require financial or other reimbursement to an employee from an employer upon the​

41.32 employee's termination, resignation, retirement, or other separation from employment for​

41.33 accrued earned sick and safe time that has not been used. If an employee is transferred to​
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42.1 a separate division, entity, or location, but remains employed by the same employer, the​

42.2 employee is entitled to all earned sick and safe time accrued at the prior division, entity, or​

42.3 location and is entitled to use all earned sick and safe time as provided in sections 181.9445​

42.4 to 181.9448. When there is a separation from employment and the employee is rehired​

42.5 within 180 days of separation by the same employer, previously accrued earned sick and​

42.6 safe time that had not been used or otherwise disbursed to the benefit of the employee upon​

42.7 separation must be reinstated. An employee is entitled to use accrued earned sick and safe​

42.8 time and accrue additional earned sick and safe time at the commencement of reemployment.​

42.9 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

42.10 ARTICLE 6​

42.11 MISCELLANEOUS LABOR PROVISIONS​

42.12 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 181.960, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

42.13 Subd. 3. Employer. "Employer" means a person who has 20 one or more employees.​

42.14 Employer does not include a state agency, statewide system, political subdivision, or advisory​

42.15 board or commission that is subject to chapter 13.​

42.16 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 181A.03, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

42.17 Subdivision 1. General. As used in sections 181A.01 to 181A.12 181A.13, the terms​

42.18 defined in this section shall have the following meanings.​

42.19 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 181A.03, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

42.20 read:​

42.21 Subd. 5a. Online platform. "Online platform" means any public-facing website, web​

42.22 application, or digital application, including a mobile application. Online platform includes​

42.23 a social network, advertising network, mobile operating system, search engine, email service,​

42.24 monetization platform to sell digital services, streaming service, paid subscription, or Internet​

42.25 access service.​

42.26 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 181A.03, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

42.27 read:​

42.28 Subd. 7a. Content creation. "Content creation" means content shared on an online​

42.29 platform that generates compensation.​

42​Article 6 Sec. 4.​

COUNSEL EO/DN SCS5266A-2​04/05/24 05:30 pm ​



43.1 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 181A.03, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

43.2 read:​

43.3 Subd. 7b. Content creator. "Content creator" means an individual or individuals 18​

43.4 years of age or older, including family members, who create content performed in Minnesota​

43.5 that generates compensation, and includes any proprietorship, partnership, company, or​

43.6 other corporate entity assuming the name or identity of a particular individual or individuals,​

43.7 or family members, for the purposes of that content creator.​

43.8 Sec. 6. [181A.13] COMPENSATION FOR INTERNET CONTENT CREATION.​

43.9 Subdivision 1. Minors featured in content creation. (a) Except as otherwise provided​

43.10 in this section, A minor is considered engaged in the work of content creation when the​

43.11 following criteria are met at any time during the previous 12-month period:​

43.12 (1) at least 30 percent of the content creator's compensated content produced within a​

43.13 30-day period included the likeness, name, or photograph of any minor. Content percentage​

43.14 is measured by the percentage of time the likeness, name, or photograph of a minor or, if​

43.15 more than one minor regularly appears in the creator's content, any of the minors, visually​

43.16 appears or is the subject of an oral narrative in a segment as compared to the total length of​

43.17 the segment; and​

43.18 (2) the number of views received on any online platform met the online platform's​

43.19 threshold for generating compensation or the content creator received actual compensation​

43.20 for content equal to or greater than $0.01 per view.​

43.21 (b) A minor under the age of 14 is prohibited from engaging in the work of content​

43.22 creation as provided in paragraph (a). If a minor under the age of 14 is featured by a content​

43.23 creator, the minor shall receive 100 percent of the proceeds of the creator's compensation​

43.24 for the content they have appeared in, less any amount owed to another minor.​

43.25 (c) A minor who is under the age of 18 and over the age of 13, may produce, create, and​

43.26 publish their own content and are entitled to all compensation for their own content creation.​

43.27 A minor engaged in the work of content creation as the producer, creator, and publisher of​

43.28 content must also follow the requirements in paragraph (b).​

43.29 (d) A minor who appears incidentally in a video that depicts a public event that a​

43.30 reasonable person would know to be a broadcast, including a concert, competition, or​

43.31 sporting event, and is published by a content creator is not considered a violation of this​

43.32 section.​
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44.1 Subd. 2. Records required. (a) All content creators whose content features a minor​

44.2 engaged in the work of content creation shall maintain the following records and retain the​

44.3 records until the minor reaches the age of 21:​

44.4 (1) the name and documentary proof of the age of the minor engaged in the work of​

44.5 content creation;​

44.6 (2) the amount of content creation that generated compensation as described in subdivision​

44.7 1 during the reporting period;​

44.8 (3) the total number of minutes of content creation for which the content creator received​

44.9 compensation during the reporting period;​

44.10 (4) the total number of minutes a minor was featured in content creation during the​

44.11 reporting period;​

44.12 (5) the total compensation generated from content creation featuring a minor during the​

44.13 reporting period; and​

44.14 (6) the amount deposited into the trust account for the benefit of the minor engaged in​

44.15 the work of content creation as required by subdivision 3.​

44.16 (b) The records required by this subdivision must be readily accessible to the minor for​

44.17 review. The content creator shall provide notice to the minor of the existence of the records.​

44.18 Subd. 3. Trust required. (a) A minor who is engaged in the work of content creation​

44.19 consistent with this section must be compensated by the content creator. The content creator​

44.20 must set aside gross earnings on the content that includes the likeness, name, or photograph​

44.21 of the minor in a trust account to be preserved for the benefit of the minor until the minor​

44.22 reaches the age of majority, according to the following distribution:​

44.23 (1) if only one minor meets the content threshold described in subdivision 1, the​

44.24 percentage of total gross earnings on any segment, including the likeness, name, or​

44.25 photograph of the minor that is equal to or greater than half of the content percentage that​

44.26 includes the minor as described in subdivision 1; or​

44.27 (2) if more than one minor meets the content threshold described in subdivision 1 and​

44.28 a segment includes more than one of those minors, the percentage described in clause (1)​

44.29 for all minors in any segment must be equally divided between the minors regardless of​

44.30 differences in percentage of content provided by the individual minors.​

44.31 (b) A trust account required under this section must, at a minimum, provide that:​
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45.1 (1) the money in the account is available only to the minor engaged in the work of content​

45.2 creation;​

45.3 (2) the account is held by a bank, corporate fiduciary, or trust company, as those terms​

45.4 are defined in chapter 48A;​

45.5 (3) the money in the account becomes available to the minor engaged in the work of​

45.6 content creation upon the minor attaining the age of 18 years or upon a declaration that the​

45.7 minor is emancipated; and​

45.8 (4) that the account meets the requirements of chapter 527, the Uniform Transfers to​

45.9 Minors Act.​

45.10 Subd. 4. Civil action; enforcement. (a) If a content creator knowingly or recklessly​

45.11 violates this section, a minor or a person who was a minor at the time of the alleged violation​

45.12 may commence a civil action to enforce the provisions of this section regarding the trust​

45.13 account. In any action brought in accordance with this paragraph, the court may award​

45.14 actual damages, including any compensation owed under this section.​

45.15 (b) Along with the civil action provided in paragraph (a), the minor may commence a​

45.16 civil action against the content creator for damages, injunctive relief, and any other relief​

45.17 the court finds just and equitable to enforce this section.​

45.18 (c) The attorney general may enforce subdivision 1 of this section, pursuant to section​

45.19 8.31, and may recover costs and fees.​

45.20 (d) This section does not affect a right or remedy available under any other law of the​

45.21 state.​

45.22 (e) Nothing in this section shall be interpreted to have any effect on a party that is neither​

45.23 the content creator nor the minor who engaged in the work of content creation.​

45.24 Subd. 5. Content deletion requests. (a) A person 13 years of age or older who was​

45.25 featured as a minor child in content of a content creator may request the permanent deletion​

45.26 of the content from an online platform. An online platform must have an easily accessible​

45.27 form available online for submission of the deletion request.​

45.28 (b) An online platform that receives a deletion request shall remove and permanently​

45.29 delete the content for which the request was made within seven days after the request was​

45.30 submitted.​
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46.1 (c) Any contract between a content creator and an online platform that would reasonably​

46.2 be anticipated to feature a minor child must include notification to the social media platform​

46.3 of the rights under this subdivision.​

46.4 Subd. 6. Minimum age exemption. A minor 14 years of age or over compensated under​

46.5 this section is exempt from the minimum age provisions of section 181A.04, subdivision​

46.6 1.​

46.7 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2025.​

46.8 Sec. 7. RULEMAKING; ACCEPTABLE BLOOD LEAD LEVELS FOR WORKERS.​

46.9 The commissioner of labor and industry, in consultation with the commissioner of health,​

46.10 shall adopt rules to:​

46.11 (1) lower the acceptable blood lead levels above which require mandatory removal of​

46.12 workers from the lead exposure; and​

46.13 (2) lower the blood lead levels required before a worker is allowed to return to work.​

46.14 The thresholds established must be based on the most recent public health information on​

46.15 the safety of lead exposure.​

46.16 ARTICLE 7​

46.17 CONSTRUCTION CODES AND LICENSING​

46.18 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 326B.106, subdivision 16, is​

46.19 amended to read:​

46.20 Subd. 16. Electric vehicle charging. The code shall require a minimum number of​

46.21 electric vehicle ready spaces, electric vehicle capable spaces, and electric vehicle charging​

46.22 stations either within or adjacent to new commercial and multifamily structures that provide​

46.23 on-site parking facilities. Residential structures with fewer than four dwelling units are​

46.24 exempt from this subdivision. Single-family homes, two-family homes, and townhouses​

46.25 that provide on-site parking shall be required by the code to provide not less than one​

46.26 electric-vehicle-capable space per dwelling unit or parking space, whichever is less.​

46.27 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 326B.89, subdivision 5, is amended to read:​

46.28 Subd. 5. Payment limitations. The commissioner shall not pay compensation from the​

46.29 fund to an owner or a lessee in an amount greater than $75,000 $100,000 per licensee. The​

46.30 commissioner shall not pay compensation from the fund to owners and lessees in an amount​

46.31 that totals more than $550,000 per licensee. The commissioner shall only pay compensation​
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47.1 from the fund for a final judgment that is based on a contract directly between the licensee​

47.2 and the homeowner or lessee that was entered into prior to the cause of action and that​

47.3 requires licensure as a residential building contractor or residential remodeler.​

47.4 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.​

47.5 ARTICLE 8​

47.6 UNIVERSITY OF MINNESOTA COLLECTIVE BARGAINING​

47.7 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 179A.03, subdivision 14, is​

47.8 amended to read:​

47.9 Subd. 14. Public employee or employee. (a) "Public employee" or "employee" means​

47.10 any person appointed or employed by a public employer except:​

47.11 (1) elected public officials;​

47.12 (2) election officers;​

47.13 (3) commissioned or enlisted personnel of the Minnesota National Guard;​

47.14 (4) emergency employees who are employed for emergency work caused by natural​

47.15 disaster;​

47.16 (5) part-time employees whose service does not exceed the lesser of 14 hours per week​

47.17 or 35 percent of the normal work week in the employee's appropriate unit;​

47.18 (6) employees whose positions are basically temporary or seasonal in character and: (i)​

47.19 are not for more than 67 working days in any calendar year; or (ii) are not working for a​

47.20 Minnesota school district or charter school; or (iii) are not for more than 100 working days​

47.21 in any calendar year and the employees are under the age of 22, are full-time students​

47.22 enrolled in a nonprofit or public educational institution prior to being hired by the employer,​

47.23 and have indicated, either in an application for employment or by being enrolled at an​

47.24 educational institution for the next academic year or term, an intention to continue as students​

47.25 during or after their temporary employment;​

47.26 (7) employees providing services for not more than two consecutive quarters to the​

47.27 Board of Trustees of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities under the terms of a​

47.28 professional or technical services contract as defined in section 16C.08, subdivision 1;​

47.29 (8) employees of charitable hospitals as defined by section 179.35, subdivision 3, except​

47.30 that employees of charitable hospitals as defined by section 179.35, subdivision 3, are public​

47.31 employees for purposes of sections 179A.051, 179A.052, and 179A.13;​
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48.1 (9) full-time undergraduate students employed by the school which they attend under a​

48.2 work-study program or in connection with the receipt of financial aid, irrespective of number​

48.3 of hours of service per week;​

48.4 (10) (9) an individual who is employed for less than 300 hours in a fiscal year as an​

48.5 instructor in an adult vocational education program;​

48.6 (11) (10) with respect to court employees:​

48.7 (i) personal secretaries to judges;​

48.8 (ii) law clerks;​

48.9 (iii) managerial employees;​

48.10 (iv) confidential employees; and​

48.11 (v) supervisory employees; or​

48.12 (12) (11) with respect to employees of Hennepin Healthcare System, Inc., managerial,​

48.13 supervisory, and confidential employees.​

48.14 (b) The following individuals are public employees regardless of the exclusions of​

48.15 paragraph (a), clauses (5) to (7):​

48.16 (1) an employee hired by a school district or the Board of Trustees of the Minnesota​

48.17 State Colleges and Universities except at the university established in the Twin Cities​

48.18 metropolitan area under section 136F.10 or for community services or community education​

48.19 instruction offered on a noncredit basis: (i) to replace an absent teacher or faculty member​

48.20 who is a public employee, where the replacement employee is employed more than 30​

48.21 working days as a replacement for that teacher or faculty member; or (ii) to take a teaching​

48.22 position created due to increased enrollment, curriculum expansion, courses which are a​

48.23 part of the curriculum whether offered annually or not, or other appropriate reasons;​

48.24 (2) an employee hired for a position under paragraph (a), clause (6), item (i), if that same​

48.25 position has already been filled under paragraph (a), clause (6), item (i), in the same calendar​

48.26 year and the cumulative number of days worked in that same position by all employees​

48.27 exceeds 67 calendar days in that year. For the purpose of this paragraph, "same position"​

48.28 includes a substantially equivalent position if it is not the same position solely due to a​

48.29 change in the classification or title of the position;​

48.30 (3) an early childhood family education teacher employed by a school district; and​

48.31 (4) an individual hired by the Board of Trustees of the Minnesota State Colleges and​

48.32 Universities or the University of Minnesota as the instructor of record to teach (i) one class​
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49.1 for more than three credits in a fiscal year, or (ii) two or more credit-bearing classes in a​

49.2 fiscal year.; and​

49.3 (5) an individual who: (i) is paid by the Board of Regents of the University of Minnesota​

49.4 for work performed at the direction of the university or any of its employees or contractors;​

49.5 and (ii) is enrolled in three or more university credit-bearing classes or one semester as a​

49.6 full-time student or post-doctoral fellow during the fiscal year in which the work is​

49.7 performed. For purposes of this section, work paid by the university includes but is not​

49.8 limited to work that is required as a condition of receiving a stipend or tuition benefit,​

49.9 whether or not the individual also receives educational benefit from performing that work.​

49.10 Individuals who perform supervisory functions in regard to any of the aforementioned​

49.11 workers are not considered supervisory employees for the purpose of section 179A.06,​

49.12 subdivision 2.​

49.13 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 179A.11, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

49.14 Subdivision 1. Units. (a) The following are the appropriate units of University of​

49.15 Minnesota employees. All units shall exclude managerial and confidential employees.​

49.16 Supervisory employees shall only be assigned to unit 13. No additional units of University​

49.17 of Minnesota employees shall be recognized for the purpose of meeting and negotiating.​

49.18 (1) The Law Enforcement Unit consists of includes the positions of all employees with​

49.19 the power of arrest.​

49.20 (2) The Craft and Trades Unit consists of includes the positions of all employees whose​

49.21 work requires specialized manual skills and knowledge acquired through formal training​

49.22 or apprenticeship or equivalent on-the-job training or experience.​

49.23 (3) The Service, Maintenance, and Labor Unit consists of includes the positions of all​

49.24 employees whose work is typically that of maintenance, service, or labor and which does​

49.25 not require extensive previous training or experience, except as provided in unit 4.​

49.26 (4) The Health Care Nonprofessional and Service Unit consists of includes the positions​

49.27 of all nonprofessional employees of the University of Minnesota hospitals, dental school,​

49.28 and health service whose work is unique to those settings, excluding labor and maintenance​

49.29 employees as defined in unit 3.​

49.30 (5) The Nursing Professional Unit consists of includes all positions which are required​

49.31 to be filled by registered nurses.​

49​Article 8 Sec. 2.​

COUNSEL EO/DN SCS5266A-2​04/05/24 05:30 pm ​



50.1 (6) The Clerical and Office Unit consists of includes the positions of all employees​

50.2 whose work is typically clerical or secretarial, including nontechnical data recording and​

50.3 retrieval and general office work, except as provided in unit 4.​

50.4 (7) The Technical Unit consists of includes the positions of all employees whose work​

50.5 is not typically manual and which requires specialized knowledge or skills acquired through​

50.6 two-year academic programs or equivalent experience or on-the-job training, except as​

50.7 provided in unit 4.​

50.8 (8) The Twin Cities Instructional Unit consists of the positions of all instructional​

50.9 employees with the rank of professor, associate professor, assistant professor, including​

50.10 research associate or instructor, including research fellow, located on the Twin Cities​

50.11 campuses.​

50.12 (9) (8) The Outstate Instructional Unit consists of includes the positions of all instructional​

50.13 employees with the rank of professor, associate professor, assistant professor, including​

50.14 research associate or instructor, including research fellow, located at the Duluth campus,​

50.15 provided that the positions of instructional employees of the same ranks at the Morris,​

50.16 Crookston, or Waseca Rochester campuses shall be included within this unit if a majority​

50.17 of the eligible employees voting at a campus so vote during an election conducted by the​

50.18 commissioner, provided that the election or majority verification procedure shall not be​

50.19 held until the Duluth campus has voted in favor of representation. The election shall be held​

50.20 or majority verification procedure shall take place when an employee organization or group​

50.21 of employees petitions the commissioner stating that a majority of the eligible employees​

50.22 at one of these campuses wishes to join the unit and this petition is supported by a showing​

50.23 of at least 30 percent support from eligible employees at that campus and is filed between​

50.24 September 1 and November 1.​

50.25 Should both units 8 and 9 elect exclusive bargaining representatives, those representatives​

50.26 may by mutual agreement jointly negotiate a contract with the regents, or may negotiate​

50.27 separate contracts with the regents. If the exclusive bargaining representatives jointly​

50.28 negotiate a contract with the regents, the contract shall be ratified by each unit. For the​

50.29 purposes of this section, "instructional employees" shall include all individuals who spend​

50.30 35 percent or more of their work time creating, delivering, and assessing the mastery of​

50.31 credit-bearing coursework.​

50.32 (10) The Graduate Assistant Unit consists of includes the positions of all graduate​

50.33 assistants who are enrolled in the graduate school and who hold the rank of research assistant,​

50.34 teaching assistant, teaching associate I or II, project assistant, graduate school fellow,​
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51.1 graduate school trainee, professional school fellow, professional school trainee, or​

51.2 administrative fellow I or II. None of the listed ranks refer to ranks under the job category​

51.3 of professionals-in-training.​

51.4 (11) The Academic Professional and Administrative Staff Unit consists of all academic​

51.5 professional and administrative staff positions that are not defined as included in an​

51.6 instructional unit, the supervisory unit, the clerical unit, or the technical unit.​

51.7 (12) The Noninstructional Professional Unit consists of the positions of all employees​

51.8 meeting the requirements of section 179A.03, subdivision 13, clause (1) or (2), which are​

51.9 not defined as included within an instructional unit, the Academic Professional and​

51.10 Administrative Staff Unit, or the supervisory unit.​

51.11 (13) The Supervisory Employees Unit consists of the positions of all supervisory​

51.12 employees.​

51.13 (b) All University of Minnesota employees whose positions are not within an enumerated​

51.14 bargaining unit in this subdivision may organize in the manner set forth in section 179A.09,​

51.15 and the commissioner must place special weight on the desires of the petitioning employee​

51.16 representatives.​

51.17 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 179A.11, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

51.18 Subd. 2. University of Minnesota employee severance. (a) Each of the following​

51.19 groups of University of Minnesota employees has the right, as specified in this subdivision,​

51.20 to separate from the instructional and supervisory units: (1) health sciences instructional​

51.21 employees at all campuses with the rank of professor, associate professor, assistant professor,​

51.22 including research associate, or instructor, including research fellow, (2) instructional​

51.23 employees of the law school with the rank of professor, associate professor, assistant​

51.24 professor, including research associate, or instructor, including research fellow, (3)​

51.25 instructional supervisors, (4) noninstructional professional supervisors, and (5) academic​

51.26 professional and administrative staff supervisors.​

51.27 This (b) The right to separate may be exercised:​

51.28 (1) by petition between September 1 and November 1. If a group separates from its unit,​

51.29 it has no right to meet and negotiate, but retains the right to meet and confer with the​

51.30 appropriate officials on any matter of concern to the group. The right to separate must be​

51.31 exercised as follows: An employee organization or group of employees claiming that a​

51.32 majority of any one of these groups of employees on a statewide basis wish to separate from​

51.33 their unit may petition the commissioner for an election during the petitioning period. If the​
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52.1 petition is supported by a showing of at least 30 percent support from the employees, the​

52.2 commissioner shall may hold an election on the separation issue or the petitioning group​

52.3 may proceed under the process set forth in section 179A.12. This election must be conducted​

52.4 within 30 days of the close of the petition period. If a majority of votes cast endorse severance​

52.5 from their unit, the commissioner shall certify that result.; or​

52.6 (2) by the group's exclusion from a proposed unit in a representation petition.​

52.7 (c) Where not inconsistent with other provisions of this section, the election is governed​

52.8 by section 179A.12. If a group of employees severs, it may rejoin that unit by following the​

52.9 procedures for severance during the periods for severance.​

52.10 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 179A.11, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

52.11 read:​

52.12 Subd. 3. Joint bargaining. Units organized under this section that have elected exclusive​

52.13 bargaining representatives may by mutual agreement jointly negotiate a contract with the​

52.14 regents, or may negotiate separate contracts with the regents. If the exclusive bargaining​

52.15 representatives jointly negotiate a contract with the regents, the contract must be ratified​

52.16 by each unit.​

52.17 ARTICLE 9​

52.18 PATIENT CARE STAFF PROTECTIONS​

52.19 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144.05, subdivision 7, is amended to read:​

52.20 Subd. 7. Expiration of report mandates. (a) If the submission of a report by the​

52.21 commissioner of health to the legislature is mandated by statute and the enabling legislation​

52.22 does not include a date for the submission of a final report, the mandate to submit the report​

52.23 shall expire in accordance with this section.​

52.24 (b) If the mandate requires the submission of an annual report and the mandate was​

52.25 enacted before January 1, 2021, the mandate shall expire on January 1, 2023. If the mandate​

52.26 requires the submission of a biennial or less frequent report and the mandate was enacted​

52.27 before January 1, 2021, the mandate shall expire on January 1, 2024.​

52.28 (c) Any reporting mandate enacted on or after January 1, 2021, shall expire three years​

52.29 after the date of enactment if the mandate requires the submission of an annual report and​

52.30 shall expire five years after the date of enactment if the mandate requires the submission​

52.31 of a biennial or less frequent report, unless the enacting legislation provides for a different​

52.32 expiration date.​
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53.1 (d) The commissioner shall submit a list to the chairs and ranking minority members of​

53.2 the legislative committees with jurisdiction over health by February 15 of each year,​

53.3 beginning February 15, 2022, of all reports set to expire during the following calendar year​

53.4 in accordance with this section. The mandate to submit a report to the legislature under this​

53.5 paragraph does not expire.​

53.6 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective retroactively from January 1, 2024.​

53.7 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144.7065, subdivision 8, is amended to read:​

53.8 Subd. 8. Root cause analysis; corrective action plan. (a) Following the occurrence of​

53.9 an adverse health care event, the facility must conduct a root cause analysis of the event.​

53.10 In conducting the root cause analysis, the facility must consider as one of the factors staffing​

53.11 levels and the impact of staffing levels on the event. Following the analysis, the facility​

53.12 must: (1) implement a corrective action plan to implement the findings of the analysis or​

53.13 (2) report to the commissioner any reasons for not taking corrective action. If the root cause​

53.14 analysis and the implementation of a corrective action plan are complete at the time an event​

53.15 must be reported, the findings of the analysis and the corrective action plan must be included​

53.16 in the report of the event. The findings of the root cause analysis and a copy of the corrective​

53.17 action plan must otherwise be filed with the commissioner within 60 days of the event.​

53.18 (b) During the root cause analysis, the facility must notify any individual whose conduct​

53.19 may be under review no less than three days in advance of any meeting or interview with​

53.20 the individual about the adverse event. The notice shall inform the individual of the subject,​

53.21 purpose, date, and time of the meeting or interview.​

53.22 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144.7067, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

53.23 Subd. 2. Duty to analyze reports; communicate findings. (a) The commissioner shall:​

53.24 (1) analyze adverse event reports, corrective action plans, and findings of the root cause​

53.25 analyses to determine patterns of systemic failure in the health care system and successful​

53.26 methods to correct these failures;​

53.27 (2) communicate to individual facilities the commissioner's conclusions, if any, regarding​

53.28 an adverse event reported by the facility;​

53.29 (3) communicate with relevant health care facilities any recommendations for corrective​

53.30 action resulting from the commissioner's analysis of submissions from facilities; and​

53.31 (4) publish an annual report:​
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54.1 (i) describing, by institution, adverse events reported;​

54.2 (ii) outlining, in aggregate, corrective action plans and the findings of root cause analyses;​

54.3 and​

54.4 (iii) making recommendations for modifications of state health care operations.​

54.5 (b) Notwithstanding section 144.05, subdivision 7, the mandate to publish an annual​

54.6 report under this subdivision does not expire.​

54.7 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective retroactively from January 1, 2023.​

54.8 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 177.27, subdivision 4, is amended​

54.9 to read:​

54.10 Subd. 4. Compliance orders. The commissioner may issue an order requiring an​

54.11 employer to comply with sections 177.21 to 177.435, 179.86, 181.02, 181.03, 181.031,​

54.12 181.032, 181.101, 181.11, 181.13, 181.14, 181.145, 181.15, 181.165, 181.172, paragraph​

54.13 (a) or (d), 181.214 to 181.217, 181.275, subdivision 2a, 181.2751, 181.635, 181.722, 181.79,​

54.14 181.85 to 181.89, 181.939 to 181.943, 181.9445 to 181.9448, 181.987, 181.991, 268B.09,​

54.15 subdivisions 1 to 6, and 268B.14, subdivision 3, with any rule promulgated under section​

54.16 177.28, 181.213, or 181.215. The commissioner shall issue an order requiring an employer​

54.17 to comply with sections 177.41 to 177.435, 181.165, or 181.987 if the violation is repeated.​

54.18 For purposes of this subdivision only, a violation is repeated if at any time during the two​

54.19 years that preceded the date of violation, the commissioner issued an order to the employer​

54.20 for violation of sections 177.41 to 177.435, 181.165, or 181.987 and the order is final or​

54.21 the commissioner and the employer have entered into a settlement agreement that required​

54.22 the employer to pay back wages that were required by sections 177.41 to 177.435. The​

54.23 department shall serve the order upon the employer or the employer's authorized​

54.24 representative in person or by certified mail at the employer's place of business. An employer​

54.25 who wishes to contest the order must file written notice of objection to the order with the​

54.26 commissioner within 15 calendar days after being served with the order. A contested case​

54.27 proceeding must then be held in accordance with sections 14.57 to 14.69 or 181.165. If,​

54.28 within 15 calendar days after being served with the order, the employer fails to file a written​

54.29 notice of objection with the commissioner, the order becomes a final order of the​

54.30 commissioner. For the purposes of this subdivision, an employer includes a contractor that​

54.31 has assumed a subcontractor's liability within the meaning of section 181.165.​
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55.1 Sec. 5. [181.2751] ADDITIONAL PATIENT ASSIGNMENTS; RETALIATION​

55.2 AGAINST PATIENT CARE STAFF PROHIBITED.​

55.3 Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have​

55.4 the meanings given.​

55.5 (b) "Assignment" means the designation of nursing tasks or activities to be performed​

55.6 by a nurse or unlicensed assistive person.​

55.7 (c) "Emergency" means a period when replacement staff are not able to report for duty​

55.8 for the next shift or increased patient need, because of unusual, unpredictable, or unforeseen​

55.9 circumstances such as, but not limited to, an act of terrorism, a disease outbreak, adverse​

55.10 weather conditions, or natural disasters which impact continuity of patient care.​

55.11 (d) "Emergency medical condition" means a condition manifesting itself by acute​

55.12 symptoms of sufficient severity, including severe pain, such that the absence of immediate​

55.13 medical attention could reasonably be expected to result in placing the individual's health​

55.14 in serious jeopardy, serious impairment to bodily functions, or serious dysfunction of bodily​

55.15 organs.​

55.16 (e) "Facility" means:​

55.17 (1) an acute care hospital licensed under sections 144.50 to 144.58; or​

55.18 (2) any facility, regardless of the type of facility and regardless of the facility's license,​

55.19 where patient care staff employed by the state provide patient care.​

55.20 (f) "Nurse" has the meaning given in section 148.171, subdivision 9, and includes nurses​

55.21 employed by the state of Minnesota.​

55.22 (g) "Patient" means a patient of a facility.​

55.23 (h) "Patient care staff" means a person in a nonsupervisory and nonmanagerial position​

55.24 who provides direct care; who provides supportive, rehabilitative, or therapeutic services​

55.25 to patients; or who directly provides nursing care to patients more than 60 percent of the​

55.26 time, but who is not:​

55.27 (1) a licensed physician;​

55.28 (2) a physician assistant licensed under chapter 147A; or​

55.29 (3) an advanced practice registered nurse licensed under sections 148.171 to 148.285,​

55.30 unless working as a registered nurse.​
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56.1 Subd. 2. Prohibited actions. Except as provided in subdivision 5 and subject to​

56.2 compliance with the process established in subdivision 3, as applicable, a facility and the​

56.3 facility's agent shall not discharge, discipline, penalize, interfere with, threaten, restrain,​

56.4 coerce, or otherwise retaliate or discriminate because the patient care staff:​

56.5 (1) makes a request to engage in the process established in subdivision 3; or​

56.6 (2) fails to accept an assignment of one or more additional patients after following the​

56.7 process established in subdivision 3 because the patient care staff reasonably determines​

56.8 that accepting an additional patient assignment, may create an unnecessary danger to a​

56.9 patient's life, health, or safety or may otherwise constitute a ground for disciplinary action​

56.10 under section 148.261.​

56.11 Subd. 3. Process. (a) A patient care staff may decline to accept an additional patient​

56.12 assignment if the following process is met:​

56.13 (1) the patient care staff notifies the charge nurse, or their direct supervisor if a charge​

56.14 nurse is unavailable, stating in writing that the patient care staff reasonably determines that​

56.15 the additional patient assignment may create an unnecessary danger to a patient's life, health,​

56.16 or safety or may otherwise constitute a ground for disciplinary action under section 148.261.​

56.17 The notification must include:​

56.18 (i) the name of the requesting patient care staff;​

56.19 (ii) the date and time of the request; and​

56.20 (iii) a brief explanation of why the patient care staff is requesting to decline the additional​

56.21 patient assignment under the process in this subdivision; and​

56.22 (2) the charge nurse or direct supervisor must evaluate the relevant factors to assess and​

56.23 determine the adequacy of resources and invoke any chain of command policy to meet​

56.24 patient care needs. Any chain of command policy must be available on all units in a place​

56.25 that is accessible to workers and must include contact information for all individuals in the​

56.26 chain of command.​

56.27 (b) If the issue cannot be resolved through reallocation of resources or by other possible​

56.28 measures by the charge nurse or direct supervisor and the patient care staff reasonably​

56.29 determines that accepting an additional patient assignment may create an unnecessary danger​

56.30 to a patient's life, health, or safety, the patient care staff may decline to accept the additional​

56.31 patient assignment.​

56.32 (c) If a patient care staff is unable to complete a written request due to immediate patient​

56.33 care needs, the patient care staff may orally invoke the process under this subdivision by​
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57.1 notifying the charge nurse or direct supervisor of the request. A written request that meets​

57.2 the requirements of this subdivision must be completed before leaving the work setting at​

57.3 the end of the work period.​

57.4 (d) A retrospective review of any process request, including an examination of the​

57.5 reasonableness of the patient care staff's determination pursuant to paragraph (a) or (b), may​

57.6 be initiated by the individuals involved and may be completed at the unit level or at the​

57.7 hospital nurse staffing committee level.​

57.8 Subd. 4. State patient care staff. Subdivision 2 applies to patient care staff employed​

57.9 by the state regardless of the type of facility where the patient care staff is employed and​

57.10 regardless of the facility's license, if the patient care staff is involved in patient care.​

57.11 Subd. 5. Collective bargaining rights. (a) This section does not diminish or impair the​

57.12 rights of a person under any collective bargaining agreement.​

57.13 (b) At any point in the process provided under subdivision 3 or during any retrospective​

57.14 review of a process under subdivision 3, paragraph (d), involving patient care staff covered​

57.15 by a collective bargaining agreement, the patient care staff has the right to have a​

57.16 representative of the labor organization present at any meeting and have reasonable time to​

57.17 consult with a labor organization representative regarding the subject and purpose of the​

57.18 meeting.​

57.19 Subd. 6. Emergency. A patient care staff may be required to accept an additional patient​

57.20 assignment in an emergency or when there is an emergency medical condition that has not​

57.21 been stabilized.​

57.22 Subd. 7. Enforcement. The commissioner may enforce this section by issuing a​

57.23 compliance order under section 177.27, subdivision 4. The commissioner may defer​

57.24 investigation and enforcement while the parties participate in alternative dispute resolution​

57.25 services to resolve disputes of alleged violations of this section. The commissioner may​

57.26 assess a fine of up to $5,000 for each violation of this section.​

57.27 Subd. 8. Professional obligations. (a) Nothing in this section modifies a nurse's​

57.28 professional obligations under sections 148.171 to 148.285.​

57.29 (b) It is not a violation of the Nurse Practice Act under sections 148.171 to 148.285 or​

57.30 of any duty to a patient if a nurse, in good faith, makes a request under subdivision 3,​

57.31 paragraph (a), clause (1); fails to accept an assignment under subdivision 3, paragraph (a),​

57.32 clause (2); or declines an assignment after following the process in subdivision 3.​
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58.1 (c) Nothing in this section shall be construed to allow discrimination against classes and​

58.2 status protected by the Minnesota Human Rights Act, chapter 363A."​

58.3 Delete the title and insert:​

58.4 "A bill for an act​

58.5 relating to labor and industry; modifying previous appropriations; appropriating​
58.6 money; modifying combative sports regulations; modifying supplemental​
58.7 appropriations and other provisions related to the Bureau of Mediation Services;​
58.8 making technical and policy changes to certain public employee labor relations​
58.9 provisions; modifying earned sick and safe time; authorizing rulemaking; providing​
58.10 compensation for minors appearing in Internet content creation; prohibiting​
58.11 retaliation against patient care staff; amending Minnesota Statutes 2022, sections​
58.12 144.05, subdivision 7; 144.7065, subdivision 8; 144.7067, subdivision 2; 179A.041,​
58.13 subdivision 2; 179A.09, by adding subdivisions; 179A.11, subdivisions 1, 2, by​
58.14 adding a subdivision; 179A.12, subdivision 5; 179A.13, subdivisions 1, 2; 179A.40,​
58.15 subdivision 1; 179A.54, subdivision 5; 181.960, subdivision 3; 181A.03,​
58.16 subdivision 1, by adding subdivisions; 326B.89, subdivision 5; 341.28, by adding​
58.17 a subdivision; 341.29; 626.892, subdivision 10; Minnesota Statutes 2023​
58.18 Supplement, sections 13.43, subdivision 6; 177.27, subdivision 4; 177.50, by​
58.19 adding subdivisions; 179A.03, subdivisions 14, 18; 179A.041, subdivision 10;​
58.20 179A.06, subdivision 6; 179A.07, subdivisions 8, 9; 179A.10, subdivision 2;​
58.21 179A.12, subdivisions 2a, 6, 11; 181.032; 181.9445, subdivisions 4, 5, by adding​
58.22 a subdivision; 181.9446; 181.9447, subdivisions 1, 3, 5, 10, 11, by adding a​
58.23 subdivision; 181.9448, subdivisions 1, 2; 326B.106, subdivision 16; 341.25; 341.28,​
58.24 subdivision 5; 341.30, subdivision 4; 341.321; 341.33, by adding a subdivision;​
58.25 341.355; Laws 2023, chapter 53, article 14, section 1; article 19, sections 2,​
58.26 subdivisions 1, 3, 5; 4; proposing coding for new law in Minnesota Statutes,​
58.27 chapters 181; 181A; repealing Minnesota Statutes 2022, sections 179.81; 179.82;​
58.28 179.83, subdivision 1; 179.84, subdivision 1; 179.85; Minnesota Rules, parts​
58.29 5520.0100; 5520.0110; 5520.0120; 5520.0200; 5520.0250; 5520.0300; 5520.0500;​
58.30 5520.0520; 5520.0540; 5520.0560; 5520.0600; 5520.0620; 5520.0700; 5520.0710;​
58.31 5520.0800."​
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