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March 19, 2024

Chair McEwen, Minority Lead Dornink, and members of the Senate Labor Committee,

The Minnesota Grocers Association thanks you for the opportunity to highlight our
concerns with changes to the minimum wage levels found in SF3947 and SF4019.

The Minnesota Grocers Association is the only state trade association representing
the food industry of Minnesota. Minnesota has a unique culture of hundreds of
hometown grocers and convenience stores, many of whom are independent,
multi-generational, and locally owned. We have over 300 members with over 1,300
locations statewide, which includes food producers, manufacturers, brokers, and
wholesaler members. Our industry provides over 150,000 jobs in the state — both
union and non-union. The retail food industry is the backbone of Minnesota’s
prosperity, providing 1 out of every 20 jobs in our state.

Minnesota’s food industry takes pride in offering excellent first-time jobs for
employees entering the workforce. Your local grocer offers scheduling flexibility and
an opportunity to master a wide range of tangible skills. This is particularly beneficial
to youth workers who are balancing school work, extracurricular activities, and social
obligations. Learning these skills opens doors to fulfilling careers, both within our
industry and in the economy at large.

However, there are challenges that come with employing youth workers. Current state
minimum wage law rightfully makes a distinction between youth and adult workers. By
law, workers under 18 cannot work early, they cannot work late, they cannot work on
ladders or in freezers or operate paper balers, among a long list of other restrictions
on the work they can perform. For these reasons, we support the continuation of the
youth minimum wage in all relevant conversations.

We thank the Department of Labor and Industry for conferring with the MGA
regarding the provisions in this bill and are happy to discuss the youth minimum wage
with legislators.

rely,

S
(AL

Jamie L. Pfuhl
President




KNOW YOUR RIGHTS

Tips for students with after school or summer jobs

Age 14 or 15

You may work in specific jobs,
including:

* Most office and retail jobs

* Most restaurant and fast food
jobs serving customers

* Properly certified 15 year-olds
can work as lifeguards

You may work outside school
hours:

* Between 7 AM and 7 PM
(until 9 PM from June 1st-
Labor Day)

* No more than three hours
on any school day (including
Fridays)

* No more than 18 hours in any
school week

* No more than eight hours on
any non-school day

* No more than 40 hours in any
non-school week

Age 16 or 17

You may work any hours in
any job not prohibited by law.

Dangerous jobs you may not
work include:

* Driving or helping a driver

* Operating most power-
driven machines, including
grinders, mixers, saws, wood
chippers, cutting machines,
compactors and balers

* Operating forklifts, skid-
steers, or other power-driven
hoisting equipment

* Using or cleaning power-
driven meat processing
machines (such as meat
slicers)

* Working most jobs in meat
and poultry slaughtering and
packing plants

* Roofing
» Excavation

Eifferent Rules
for Work on Farms
Age14 or 15

* You may work in specific jobs
outside school hours

* You may not work in certain farm
jobs prohibited by law as dangerous

Age 16 or 17

* You may work in any farm job at any
time

You may work on your family’s farm at
Eny age doing any job at any time )

(Federal law restricts the hoursw
and jobs young workers may
work, but federal minimum
wage and overtime rules apply
equally to all workers.

Your state, city or county may
have different employment
laws. Employers must follow
the law giving the greatest
protection to young workers.

Visit youthrules.gov for more
\information. -

Visit youthrules.gov for more information and resources

. dol.gov/agencies/whd
1-866-487-9243

WAGE AND HOUR DIVISION
UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF LABOR

Scan for more details
Including the complete
list of jobs youth may
and may not do
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YOUTH RULES

Each year, thousands of Minnesota teens work in part-time or summer jobs. Early work experiences can be
rewarding for young workers — providing great opportunities to learn important job skills. The Minnesota
Department of Labor and Industry wants to help you have a safe and rewarding work experience. Below are
some rights and responsibilities teens need to know about in the workplace.

YOUR SAFETY AND HEALTH ON THE JOB

You have a right to a safe and healthy workplace. Proper safety training

is a key component to help avoid injuries on the job. A recent U.S. study
reported that 26 percent of workers younger than 18 years of age worked
at least part of the day without an adult supervisor and as many as
one-third of them reported not having any health and safety training. In
Minnesota, the most common occupations for injured teens each year
are cooks, food prepration workers, nursing aides and laborers.

TIP: To avoid injury, ask for help when you need it or if you are unsure
about any job-related tasks. Most importantly, make sure you have access
and training about safety gear and first-aid equipment.

WHERE DO MOST MINNESOTA TEENS WORK?

Teens are typically employed in fast food, retail, parks and recreation, amusement parks, or federal or state
youth employment programs. In Minnesota, the majority of 14- to 18-year-olds work in lodging or food
services (36 percent), retail (26 percent), and health care and social assistance (8 percent).

WHAT HOURS CAN TEENS WORK?

If both federal and state laws apply to an employer,
the more protective or stricter standard must be
followed. The minimum age for most employment is
14, unless a federal and state law exemption allows
for a younger minimum age.

FACT: Teens working too late at night is the most
common complaint state investigators hear each year.

Minors ages 14 and 15 may not work:

e before 7 a.m. or after 9 p.m. with the exception of a
newspaper carrier;

e more than eight hours a day, except in agriculture;

* more than 40 hours a week, except in agriculture;

e on school days during school hours, without an
employment certificate issued by the school district
superintendent.

2173
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During the school year, large employers (sales of more
than $500,000 annually) are prohibited from letting
minors younger than 16 work later then 7 p.m., work
more than three hours a day and work more than 18
hours a week.

Small employers (sales
of less than $500,000
annually) may allow
minors younger than
16 to work until 9 p.m.

High school students
aged 16 and 17 may
not work after 11 p.m.
on an evening before a
school day or before
5 a.m. on a school day.

DEPARTMENT OF
LABOR AND INDUSTRY

651-284-5075 e 800-342-5354 e dli.laborstandards@state.mn.us ¢ dli.mn.gov/laborlaw




YOUTH RULES =

PROHIBITED WORK

There are both federal and Minnesota child labor laws
that restrict minors from working in certain hazardous
jobs or conditions.

For example, teens younger than 18 may not be
employed in or about construction or building projects.

Other prohibited work for minors younger than
18 includes driving passenger-carrying vehicles or
working with explosives or fireworks.

Minors younger than 16 may not work with
machinery such as power-driven snowblowers
and other lawn and garden equipment or bakery
equipment.

Other prohibited work for minors younger than 16

QUESTIONS

includes working with laundry, rug cleaning or dry
cleaning equipment; being in contact with a carwash
on a mechanized conveyor line; or doing welding of
any kind.

A homeowner can hire a 14-year-old to mow his or
her lawn (which is considered a home chore), but a
company that hires individuals to do similar jobs may
not hire a 14-year-old to mow a lawn.

EXEMPTIONS: Although a minor younger than 14 may
not be employed in most cases, there are exemptions,
such as a newspaper carrier, actor, actress, model,
agricultural field worker or youth sports official. Such
exemptions require a permit from Labor Standards.

Many of the things parents hear — and sometimes business owners hear — about labor laws are from relatives, friends
or other workers’ experiences, not the actual statutes and rules. If you have questions, contact Labor Standards.

If you have questions about workplace safety or health, contact Minnesota OSHA Workplace Safety Consultation at
651-284-5060, 800-657-3776 or osha.consultation@state.mn.us.

MINIMUM WAGE

Employers cannot pay teens less than the minimum wage. Employees must be paid at least the current
minimum-wage rate, regardless of the method of compensation, for all hours worked, including training time.

NO TIP CREDIT: Minnesota does not allow for tips received by employees to be credited toward the payment

of minimum wages.

Large employer — Any enterprise with annual gross revenues of $500,000 (as of Jan. 1, 2024)
Small employer — Any enterprise with annual gross revenues of less than $500,000
Training wage — May be paid to employees aged 18 and 19 the first 90 consecutive days

Youth wage — May be paid to employees aged 17 or younger

STATE AND FEDERAL CHILD LABOR LAWS

$10.85/hour
$8.85/hour
$8.85/hour

$8.85/hour

Employers are generally subject to both state child labor laws and the federal child labor provisions of the
Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA). Certain Minnesota child labor laws are more protective than federal law and
vice versa. Employers covered by both Minnesota child labor laws and the federal FLSA must follow the most
protective provisions that apply to their employees. Visit www.dol.gov/agencies/whd/child-labor for more

information about federal child labor law.
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