



## **JUDICIARY COMMITTEE** Senator Ron Latz, Chair • MSB1200 • 12:30 pm AGENDA FOR TUESDAY, JUNE 25, 2024

Discussion and testimony from University of Minnesota leadership, professors, faculty, students, organizations, and other community groups to address the pattern of anti-Israel and anti-Jewish incidents at the University of Minnesota and the U administration's handling of these incidents, including issues relating to the Minnesota Human Rights Act, the state's anti-BDS statute, 1st Amendment freedom of speech protections, academic freedom, and public safety and security of Jewish students and faculty, as they have arisen since October 7, 2023.

- Jeff Ettinger, Interim President, University of Minnesota
- Benjie Kaplan, Executive Director, Hillel
- Professor Richard W. Painter, S. Walter Richey Professor of Corporate Law, University of Minnesota
- Professor Oren Gross, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs and Irving Younger Professor of Law, University of Minnesota
- Zach Fisher, Jewish Voices for Peace/Member & UMN 2024 Law School Graduate
- Brandon Wagenfeld, Jewish UMN student via zoom
- Imogen Page, Jewish UMN alum via zoom
- Beth Gendler, Executive Director, Jewish Community Action
- Karen Redleaf Schraufnagel, MN BDS community member
- Bob Goonin, MN BDS community member
- Sylvia Schwarz, MN BDS community member
- Dr. Sima Shakhsari, UMN professor, Gender, Women, and Sexuality Studies; UMN Educators for Justice in Palestine
- Dr. Tony C. Brown, UMN professor, Cultural Studies & Comparative Literature
- Stephanie Iskhakov, Chabad
- Steve Hunegs, Executive Director, Jewish Community Relations Council of Minnesota and the Dakotas

## Senator Ron Latz, Chair • Senator Clare Oumou Verbeten, Vice Chair

Senator Warren Limmer, GOP Lead 

Senator Sandy Pappas 

Senator Jim Carlson
Senator Judy Seeberger 

Senator Bonnie Westlin 

Senator Justin Eichorn 

Senator Jeff Howe
Senator Michael Kreun