1.1 1.2	Senator Latz from the Committee on Judiciary and Public Safety, to which was re-referred
1.3 1.4 1.5 1.6	S.F. No. 4780: A bill for an act relating to labor; regulating transportation network companies; providing a civil cause of action; imposing criminal penalties; amending Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 65B.472; proposing coding for new law as Minnesota Statutes, chapter 181C.
1.7	Reports the same back with the recommendation that the bill be amended as follows:
1.8	Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:
1.9	"Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 65B.472, is amended to read:
1.10	65B.472 TRANSPORTATION NETWORK FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY.
1.11	Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) Unless a different meaning is expressly made applicable,
1.12	the terms defined in paragraphs (b) through $(g)(p)$ have the meanings given them for the
1.13	purposes of this chapter section.
1.14	(b) A "Digital network" means any online-enabled application, software, website, or
1.15	system offered or utilized by a transportation network company that enables the
1.16	prearrangement of rides with transportation network company drivers.
1.17	(c) "Disability and income loss benefits" has the meaning given in section 65B.44,
1.18	subdivision 3, subject to the weekly maximum amount and with a maximum time period
1.19	of 130 weeks after the injury.
1.20	(d) "P1," "P2," and "P3" have the meanings given in section 181C.01, subdivision 4.
1.21	(e) "Funeral and burial expenses" has the meaning given in section 65B.44, subdivision
1.22	<u>4.</u>
1.23	(f) "Medical expense benefits" has the meaning given in section 65B.44, subdivision 2,
1.24	except that payment for rehabilitative services is only required when the services are
1.25	medically necessary.
1.26	(g) "Personal injury" means a physical injury or mental impairment arising out of a
1.27	physical injury in the course of a prearranged ride. A personal injury is only covered if the
1.28	injury occurs to a driver during P2 or P3, except as provided under subdivision 2, paragraph
1.29	(d). A personal injury claimant is subject to the requirements of section 65B.56.
1.30	(c) A (h) "Personal vehicle" means a vehicle that is used by a transportation network
1.31	company TNC driver in connection with providing a prearranged ride and is:
1.32	(1) owned, leased, or otherwise authorized for use by the transportation network company
1.33	driver; and

1

Section 1.

LB

2.1	(2) not a taxicab, limousine, for-hire vehicle, or a private passenger vehicle driven by a
2.2	volunteer driver.
2.3	(d) A (i) "Prearranged ride" means the provision of transportation by a driver to a rider,
2.4	beginning when a driver accepts a ride requested by a rider through a digital network
2.5	controlled by a transportation network company, continuing while the driver transports a
2.6	requesting rider, and ending when the last requesting rider departs from the personal vehicle.
2.7	A prearranged ride does not include transportation provided using a taxicab, limousine, or
2.8	other for-hire vehicle.
2.9	(j) "Replacement services loss benefits" has the meaning given in section 65B.44,
2.10	subdivision 5, subject to the weekly maximum amount and with a maximum time period
2.11	of 130 weeks after the injury.
2.12	(k) "Survivors economic loss benefits" has the meaning given in section 65B.44,
2.13	subdivision 6, subject to the weekly maximum amount and with a maximum time period
2.14	of 130 weeks after death.
2.15	(1) "Survivors replacement services loss benefits" has the meaning given in section
2.16	65B.44, subdivision 7, subject to the weekly maximum amount and with a maximum time
2.17	period of 130 weeks after death.
2.18	(e) A (m) "Transportation network company" or "TNC" means a corporation, partnership,
2.19	sole proprietorship, or other entity that is operating in Minnesota that uses a digital network
2.20	to connect transportation network company riders to transportation network company drivers
2.21	who provide prearranged rides.
2.22	(f) A (n) "Transportation network company driver," "TNC driver," or "driver" means
2.23	an individual who:
2.24	(1) receives connections to potential riders and related services from a transportation
2.25	network company in exchange for payment of a fee to the transportation network company;
2.26	and
2.27	(2) uses a personal vehicle to provide a prearranged ride to riders upon connection
2.28	through a digital network controlled by a transportation network company in return for
2.29	compensation or payment of a fee.
2.30	(g) A (o) "Transportation network company rider," <u>"TNC rider,"</u> or "rider" means an
2.31	individual or persons who use a transportation network company's digital network to connect
2.32	with a transportation network driver who provides prearranged rides to the rider in the
2.33	driver's personal vehicle between points chosen by the rider.

3.1 (h) A (p) "Volunteer driver" means an individual who transports persons or goods on
 3.2 behalf of a nonprofit entity or governmental unit in a private passenger vehicle and receives
 3.3 no compensation for services provided other than the reimbursement of actual expenses.

Subd. 2. Maintenance of transportation network financial responsibility. (a) A
transportation network company driver or transportation network company on the driver's
behalf shall maintain primary automobile insurance that recognizes that the driver is a
transportation network company driver or otherwise uses a vehicle to transport passengers
for compensation and covers the driver: during P1, P2, and P3.

3.9 (1) while the driver is logged on to the transportation network company's digital network;
3.10 or

3.11 (2) while the driver is engaged in a prearranged ride.

3.12 (b) <u>During P1</u>, the following automobile insurance requirements apply while a
3.13 participating transportation network company driver is logged on to the transportation
3.14 network company's digital network and is available to receive transportation requests but
3.15 is not engaged in a prearranged ride:

(1) primary coverage insuring against loss resulting from liability imposed by law for
injury and property damage, including the requirements of section 65B.49, subdivision 3,
in the amount of not less than \$50,000 because of death or bodily injury to one person in
any accident, \$100,000 because of death or bodily injury to two or more persons in any
accident, and \$30,000 for injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident;

3.21 (2) security for the payment of basic economic loss benefits where required by section
3.22 65B.44 pursuant to the priority requirements of section 65B.47. A transportation network
company and a transportation network company driver, during the period set forth in this
paragraph, are deemed to be in the business of transporting persons for purposes of section
65B.47, subdivision 1, and the insurance required under this subdivision shall be deemed
to cover the vehicle during the period set forth in this paragraph;

3.27 (3) primary uninsured motorist coverage and primary underinsured motorist coverage
3.28 where required by section 65B.49, subdivisions 3a and 4a; and

3.29 (4) the coverage requirements of this subdivision may be satisfied by any of the following:

3.30 (i) automobile insurance maintained by the transportation network company driver;

3.31 (ii) automobile insurance maintained by the transportation network company; or

3.32 (iii) any combination of items (i) and (ii).

Section 1.

	05/09/24	SENATEE	LB	SS4780R-2
4.1	(c) During P2 and P3, the foll	owing automobile insura	nce requiremer	nts apply while a
4.2	transportation network company	-	-	
4.3	(1) primary coverage insuring	g against loss resulting fro	om liability imp	oosed by law for
4.4	injury and property damage, incl	uding the requirements of	f section 65B.4	9, in the amount
4.5	of not less than \$1,500,000 for de	eath, injury, or destruction	n of property of	f others;
4.6	(2) security for the payment of	f basic economic loss be	nefits where rec	quired by section
4.7	65B.44 pursuant to the priority re	equirements of section 65	B.47. A transpo	ortation network
4.8	company and a transportation net	twork company driver, du	uring the period	l set forth in this
4.9	paragraph, are deemed to be in th	e business of transporting	g persons for pu	rposes of section
4.10	65B.47, subdivision 1, and the in	surance required under th	nis subdivision	shall be deemed
4.11	to cover the vehicle during the pe	eriod set forth in this para	ıgraph;	
4.12	(3) primary uninsured motori	st coverage and primary u	underinsured m	otorist coverage
4.13	where required by section 65B.49	9, subdivisions 3a and 4a	; and	
4.14	(4) the coverage requirements	of this subdivision may be	satisfied by any	of the following:
4.15	(i) automobile insurance mair	ntained by the transportat	ion network cor	mpany driver;
4.16	(ii) automobile insurance mai	ntained by the transporta	tion network cc	ompany; or
4.17	(iii) any combination of items	s (i) and (ii).		
4.18	(d) During P2 and P3, a TNC	must maintain insurance	on behalf of, a	nd at no cost to,
4.19	the driver that provides reimburs	ement for all loss suffered	d through perso	nal injury arising
4.20	from the driver's work for the TN	C that is not otherwise co	overed by the ir	nsurance required
4.21	under paragraphs (b) and (c). A c	lriver shall not be charged	d by the TNC o	r have their
4.22	compensation lowered because o	f the insurance. The insur	rance coverage	must be in the
4.23	amount of not less than \$1,000,0	00 per incident due to per	rsonal injury an	d include the
4.24	following types of coverage: med	lical expense benefits, dis	ability and incc	ome loss benefits,
4.25	funeral and burial expenses, repla	acement services loss ber	efits, survivors	economic loss
4.26	benefits, and survivors replacement	ent services loss benefits.	Insurance cove	erage under this
4.27	paragraph includes personal inju	ry sustained while at the o	drop-off locatio	on immediately
4.28	following the conclusion of a pre	arranged ride.		
4.29	(e) Any insurer authorized to	write accident and sickne	ess insurance in	this state have
4.30	the power to issue the blanket acc	cident and sickness policy	y described in p	oaragraph (d).
4.31	(f) A policy of blanket accide	nt and sickness insurance	e as described in	n paragraph (d)
4.32	must include in substance the pro	visions required for indiv	idual policies tl	hat are applicable
4.33	to blanket accident and sickness	insurance and the followi	ng provisions:	

Section 1.

5.1	(1) a provision that the policy and the application of the policyholder constitutes the
5.2	entire contract between the parties, and that, in the absence of fraud, all statements made
5.3	by the policyholder are deemed representations and not warranties, and that a statement
5.4	made for the purpose of affecting insurance does not avoid insurance or reduce benefits
5.5	unless the statement is contained in a written instrument signed by the policyholder, a copy
5.6	of which has been furnished to such policyholder; and
5.7	(2) a provision that to the group or class originally insured be added from time to time
5.8	all new persons eligible for coverage.
5.9	(g) If an injury is covered by blanket accident and sickness insurance maintained by
5.10	more than one TNC, the insurer of the TNC against whom a claim is filed is entitled to
5.11	contribution for the pro rata share of coverage attributable to one or more other TNCs up
5.12	to the coverages and limits in paragraph (d).
5.13	(h) Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, amounts paid or payable under the coverages
5.14	required by section 65B.49, subdivisions 3a and 4a, shall be reduced by the total amount
5.15	of benefits paid or payable under insurance provided pursuant to paragraph (d).
5.16	(d) (i) If insurance maintained by the driver in paragraph (b) or (c) has lapsed or does
5.17	not provide the required coverage, insurance maintained by a transportation network company
5.18	shall provide the coverage required by this subdivision beginning with the first dollar of a
5.19	claim and have the duty to defend the claim.
5.20	(e) (j) Coverage under an automobile insurance policy maintained by the transportation
5.21	network company shall not be dependent on a personal automobile insurer first denying a
5.22	claim nor shall a personal automobile insurance policy be required to first deny a claim.
5.23	$\frac{f}{k}$ Insurance required by this subdivision must satisfy the requirements of chapter
5.24	60A.
5.25	(g) (l) Insurance satisfying the requirements of this subdivision shall be deemed to satisfy
5.26	the financial responsibility requirements under the Minnesota No-Fault Automobile Insurance
5.27	Act, sections 65B.41 to 65B.71.
5.28	(h) (m) A transportation network company driver shall carry proof of coverage satisfying
5.29	paragraphs (b) and (c) at all times during the driver's use of a vehicle in connection with a
5.30	transportation network company's digital network. In the event of an accident, a transportation
5.31	network company driver shall provide this insurance coverage information to the directly
5.32	interested parties, automobile insurers, and investigating police officers upon request pursuant
5.33	to section 65B.482, subdivision 1. Upon such request, a transportation network company

LB

6.1 driver shall also disclose to directly interested parties, automobile insurers, and investigating

6.2 police officers whether the driver was logged on to the transportation network company's6.3 digital network or on a prearranged ride at the time of an accident.

6.4 Subd. 3. **Disclosure to transportation network company drivers.** The transportation 6.5 network company shall disclose in writing to transportation network company drivers the 6.6 following before they are allowed to accept a request for a prearranged ride on the 6.7 transportation network company's digital network:

(1) the insurance coverage, including the types of coverage and the limits for each
coverage <u>under subdivision 2, paragraphs (b), (c), and (d)</u>, that the transportation network
company provides while the transportation network company driver uses a personal vehicle
in connection with a transportation network company's digital network;

6.12 (2) that the transportation network company driver's own automobile insurance policy
6.13 might not provide any coverage while the driver is logged on to the transportation network
6.14 company's digital network and is available to receive transportation requests or is engaged
6.15 in a prearranged ride depending on its terms; and

(3) that using a vehicle with a lien against the vehicle to provide transportation network
 services prearranged rides may violate the transportation network driver's contract with the
 lienholder.

6.19 Subd. 4. Automobile insurance provisions. (a) Insurers that write automobile insurance
6.20 in Minnesota may exclude any and all coverage afforded under the owner's insurance policy
6.21 for any loss or injury that occurs while a driver is logged on to a transportation network
6.22 company's digital network or while a driver provides a prearranged ride during P1, P2, and
6.23 P3. This right to exclude all coverage may apply to any coverage included in an automobile
6.24 insurance policy including, but not limited to:

- 6.25 (1) liability coverage for bodily injury and property damage;
- 6.26 (2) uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage;
- 6.27 (3) basic economic loss benefits as defined under section 65B.44;
- 6.28 (4) medical payments coverage;
- 6.29 (5) comprehensive physical damage coverage; and

6.30 (6) collision physical damage coverage.

6.31 These exclusions apply notwithstanding any requirement under the Minnesota No-Fault

6.32 Automobile Insurance Act, sections 65B.41 to 65B.71. Nothing in this section implies or

Section 1.

7.2

LB

7.1 requires that a personal automobile insurance policy provide coverage while the driver is

logged on to the transportation network company's digital network, while the driver is

7.3 engaged in a prearranged ride, or while the driver otherwise uses a vehicle to transport

7.4 passengers for compensation during P1, P2, or P3, or while the driver otherwise uses a

7.5 vehicle to transport passengers for compensation.

Nothing in this section shall be deemed to preclude an insurer from providing coverage
for the transportation network company driver's vehicle, if it so chooses to do so by contract
or endorsement.

(b) Automobile insurers that exclude coverage as permitted in paragraph (a) shall have
no duty to defend or indemnify any claim expressly excluded thereunder. Nothing in this
section shall be deemed to invalidate or limit an exclusion contained in a policy, including
any policy in use or approved for use in Minnesota prior to May 19, 2015, that excludes
coverage for vehicles used to carry persons or property for a charge or available for hire by
the public.

(c) An automobile insurer that defends or indemnifies a claim against a driver that is
excluded under the terms of its policy as permitted in paragraph (a) shall have a right of
contribution against other insurers that provide automobile insurance to the same driver in
satisfaction of the coverage requirements of subdivision 2 at the time of loss.

7.19 (d) In a claims coverage investigation, transportation network companies and any insurer potentially providing coverage under subdivision 2 shall cooperate to facilitate the exchange 7.20 of relevant information with directly involved parties and any insurer of the transportation 7.21 network company driver if applicable, including the precise times that a transportation 7.22 network company driver logged on and off of the transportation network company's digital 7.23 network in the 12-hour period immediately preceding and in the 12-hour period immediately 7.24 following the accident and disclose to one another a clear description of the coverage, 7.25 7.26 exclusions, and limits provided under any automobile insurance maintained under subdivision 2. 7.27

7.28 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2025.

7.29 Sec. 2. [181C.01] DEFINITIONS.

7.30 Subdivision 1. Application. For purposes of this chapter, the terms defined in this section 7.31 have the meanings given.

- 7.32
 Subd. 2. Deactivation. "Deactivation" means a TNC blocking a driver's access to a

 1
 1
- 7.33 digital network, suspending a driver, or changing a driver's status from eligible to ineligible

LB

8.1	to provide prearranged rides for a TNC for more than 12 hours, or more than 72 hours when
8.2	the TNC must investigate a claim against a driver. Deactivation does not include a driver's
8.3	loss of access to the digital network that is contingent on a driver's compliance with licensing,
8.4	insurance, or regulatory requirements or that can be resolved through unilateral action by
8.5	the driver. For the purposes of this chapter, "prearranged ride" has the meaning given in
8.6	section 65B.472, subdivision 1.
8.7	Subd. 3. Digital network. "Digital network" has the meaning given in section 65B.472,
8.8	subdivision 1.
8.9	Subd. 4. Driver time periods. "Driver time periods" are divided into three exclusive
8.10	segments which have the following meanings:
8.11	(1) "period 1" or "P1" means the time when a driver is logged into a TNC application,
8.12	but has not accepted a ride offer;
8.13	(2) "period 2" or "P2" means the time when a driver is proceeding to pick up a rider
8.14	after choosing to accept a ride offer; and
8.15	(3) "period 3" or "P3" means the time when a driver is transporting a rider from a pickup
8.16	location to a drop-off location.
8.17	Subd. 5. Personal vehicle. "Personal vehicle" has the meaning given in section 65B.472,
8.18	subdivision 1.
8.19	Subd. 6. Transportation network company. "Transportation network company" or
8.20	"TNC" has the meaning given in section 65B.472, subdivision 1.
8.21	Subd. 7. Transportation network company driver. "Transportation network company
8.22	driver," "TNC driver," or "driver" has the meaning given in section 65B.472, subdivision
8.23	<u>1.</u>
8.24	Subd. 8. Transportation network company rider. "Transportation network company
8.25	rider," "TNC rider," or "rider" has the meaning given in section 65B.472, subdivision 1.
8.26	Sec. 3. [181C.02] NOTICE AND PAY TRANSPARENCY.
0.20	
8.27	Subdivision 1. Compensation notice. (a) Upon initial or subsequent account activation,
8.28	and annually each year while a driver continues to maintain an account with the TNC, a
8.29	TNC must provide written notice of compensation, or a compensation policy, if any, to each
8.30	driver containing the following information:
8.31	(1) the right to legally required minimum compensation under section 181C.03;

LB

9.1	(2) the frequency and manner of a driver's pay;
9.2	(3) the rights and remedies available to a driver for a TNC's failure to comply with legal
9.3	obligations related to minimum compensation; and
9.4	(4) the driver's right to elect coverage of paid family and medical leave benefits, as
9.5	provided under chapter 268B.
9.6	(b) Notice under this subdivision must be provided in written plain language and made
9.7	available in English, Amharic, Arabic, Hmong, Oromo, Somali, and Spanish. TNCs operating
9.8	in Minnesota must consider updating the languages in which they offer the notice each year.
9.9	(c) The TNC must provide notice to a driver in writing or electronically of any changes
9.10	to the driver's compensation policy at least 48 hours before the date the changes take effect.
9.11	Subd. 2. Assignment notice. When a TNC alerts a driver of a possible assignment to
9.12	transport a rider, the ride offer must be available for sufficient time for the driver to review,
9.13	and the TNC must indicate:
9.14	(1) the estimated travel time and number of miles from the driver's current location to
9.15	the pickup location for P2;
9.16	(2) the estimated travel time and number of miles for the trip for P3; and
9.17	(3) the estimated total compensation, before any gratuity.
9.18	Subd. 3. Daily trip receipt. Within 24 hours of each trip completion, the TNC must
9.19	transmit a detailed electronic receipt to the driver containing the following information for
9.20	each unique trip or portion of a unique trip:
9.21	(1) the date, pickup, and drop-off locations. In describing the pickup and drop-off
9.22	locations, the TNC shall describe the location by indicating the specific block in which the
9.23	pick-up and drop-off occurred;
9.24	(2) the time and total mileage traveled from pick up to drop off of a rider or riders for
9.25	<u>P3;</u>
9.26	(3) the time and total mileage traveled from acceptance of the assignment to completion
9.27	for P2 and P3;
9.28	(4) total fare or fee paid by the rider or riders; and
9.29	(5) total compensation to the driver, specifying:
9.30	(i) any applicable rate or rates of pay, any applicable price multiplier, or variable pricing
9.31	policy in effect;

	05/09/24	SENATEE	LB	SS4780R-2
10.1	(ii) any gratuity; and			
10.2	(iii) an itemized list of all tolls, fees,	or other pass-throug	hs from the ride	r charged to
10.2	the driver.			
10.4	Subd. 4. Weekly summary. Each we			
10.5	driver in writing or electronically contai	ning the following i	nformation for th	ie preceding
10.6	calendar week:			
10.7	(1) total time the driver logged into t	he TNC application	• 2	
10.8	(2) total time and mileage for P2 and	P3 segments;		
10.9	(3) total fares or fees paid by riders;	and		
10.10	(4) total compensation to the driver,	including any gratui	ties.	
10.11	Subd. 5. Record keeping. TNCs mu	st maintain the trip r	eceipts and week	ly summaries
10.12	required under this section for at least th	ree years.		
10.13	Sec. 4. [181C.03] MINIMUM COM	PENSATION.		
10.14	(a) Minimum compensation of a TN	C driver under this p	oaragraph must b	e adjusted
10.15	annually as provided under paragraph (f)	, and must be paid in	a per minute, pe	r mile format,
10.16	as follows:			
10.17	(1) \$1.27 per mile and \$0.49 per mine	ute for any transport	ation of a rider by	a driver; and
10.18	(2) if applicable, an additional \$0.91	per mile for any trans	sportation of a ric	ler by a driver
10.19	in a vehicle that is subject to the require	ments in sections 29	9A.11 to 299A.1	7, regardless
10.20	of whether a wheelchair securement dev	ice is used;		
10.21	(3) if a trip request is canceled by a r	ider or a TNC after t	he driver has alre	eady departed
10.22	to pick up a rider, 80 percent of any can	cellation fee paid by	the rider; and	
10.23	(4) at minimum, compensation of \$5	.00 for any transpor	tation of a rider b	by a driver.
10.24	(b) A TNC must pay a driver the min	nimum compensation	n required under	this section
10.25	over a reasonable earnings period not to	exceed 14 calendar	days. The minim	num
10.26	compensation required under this section	guarantees a driver	a certain level of	compensation
10.27	in an earnings period that cannot be redu	ced. Nothing in this	section prevents	a driver from
10.28	earning, or a TNC from paying, a higher	· level of compensat	ion.	
10.29	(c) Any gratuities received by a drive	r from a rider or ride	rs are the property	y of the driver
10.30	and are not included as part of the minim	um compensation re	equired by this se	ction. A TNC

	05/09/24	SENATEE	LB	SS4780R-2
11.1	must pay the applicable driver all gratuit	ties received by the driv	ver in an earnings	s period no
11.2	later than the driver's next scheduled pay	yment.		
11.3	(d) For each earnings period, a TNC	must compare a driver	's earnings, exclu	ıding
11.4	gratuities, against the required minimum	n compensation for that	driver during the	e earnings
11.5	period. If the driver's earnings, excluding	g gratuities, in the earn	ings period are le	ss than the
11.6	required minimum compensation for that	earnings period, the TN	C must include ar	n additional
11.7	sum accounting for the difference in the	driver's earnings and t	he minimum con	npensation
11.8	no later than during the next earnings pe	eriod.		
11.9	(e) A TNC that uses software or coll	ection technology to co	ollect fees or fare	s must pay
11.10	a driver the compensation earned by the	driver, regardless of w	hether the fees o	r fares are
11.11	actually collected.			
11.12	(f) Beginning January 1, 2026, and ea	ch January 1 thereafter,	the minimum cor	npensation
11.13	required under paragraph (a) must be adj	usted annually by the sa	me process as the	e statewide
11.14	minimum wage under section 177.24, su	ubdivision 1.		
11.15	Sec. 5. [181C.04] DEACTIVATION.			
11.16	Subdivision 1. Deactivation policy;	requirements. (a) A T	NC must maintai	n a written
11.17	plain-language deactivation policy that pr	rovides the policies and	procedures for de	eactivation.
11.18	The TNC must make the deactivation po	olicy available online, t	hrough the TNC	's digital
11.19	platform. Updates or changes to the poli	icy must be provided to	drivers at least 4	48 hours
11.20	before they go into effect.			
11.21	(b) The deactivation policy must be	provided in English, A	mharic, Arabic, H	Hmong,
11.22	Oromo, Somali, and Spanish. TNCs ope	erating in Minnesota m	ust consider upda	ating the
11.23	languages in which they offer the deacti	vation policy each year	• •	
11.24	(c) The deactivation policy must:			
11.25	(1) state that the deactivation policy $\frac{1}{2}$	is enforceable as a term	of the TNC's co	ntract with
11.26	<u>a driver;</u>			

(2) provide drivers with a reasonable understanding of the circumstances that constitute 11.27

a violation that may warrant deactivation under the deactivation policy and indicate the 11.28

consequences known, including the specific number of days or range of days for a 11.29

deactivation if applicable; 11.30

- (3) describe fair and reasonable procedures for notifying a driver of a deactivation and 11.31
- the reason for the deactivation; 11.32

05/09/24

LB

- (4) describe fair, objective, and reasonable procedures and eligibility criteria for the 12.1 reconsideration of a deactivation decision and the process by which a driver may request a 12.2 deactivation appeal with the TNC, consistent with subdivision 5; and 12.3 (5) be specific enough for a driver to understand what constitutes a violation of the policy 12.4 12.5 and how to avoid violating the policy. (d) Serious misconduct must be clearly defined in the TNC deactivation policy. 12.6 12.7 Subd. 2. Prohibitions for deactivation. A TNC must not deactivate a driver for: (1) a violation not reasonably understood as part of a TNC's written deactivation policy; 12.8 12.9 (2) a driver's ability to work a minimum number of hours; (3) a driver's acceptance or rejection of a ride, as long as the acceptance or rejection is 12.10 not for a discriminatory purpose; 12.11 (4) a driver's good faith statement regarding compensation or working conditions made 12.12 publicly or privately; or 12.13 (5) a driver asserting their legal rights under any local, state, or federal law. 12.14 Subd. 3. Written notice and warning. (a) The TNC must provide notice at the time of 12.15 the deactivation, or for deactivations based on serious misconduct, notice within three days 12.16 of the deactivation. A written notice must include: 12.17 (1) the reason for deactivation; 12.18 (2) anticipated length of the deactivation, if known; 12.19 (3) what day the deactivation started on; 12.20 (4) an explanation of whether or not the deactivation can be reversed and clear steps for 12.21 12.22 the driver to take to reverse a deactivation; (5) instructions for a driver to challenge the deactivation and information on their rights 12.23 under the appeals process provided under subdivision 5; and 12.24 12.25 (6) a notice that the driver has a right to assistance and information on how to contact a driver advocacy group as provided in subdivision 4 to assist in the deactivation appeal 12.26 12.27 process, including the telephone number and website information for one or more driver advocacy groups. 12.28 (b) The TNC must provide a warning to a driver if the driver's behavior could result in 12.29 a future deactivation. A TNC does not need to provide a warning for behavior that constitutes 12.30
- 12.31 serious misconduct.

LB

13.1	Subd. 4. Driver advocacy organizations. (a) A TNC must contract with a driver's
13.2	advocacy organization to provide services to drivers under this section. A driver advocacy
13.3	group identified in the notice must be an independent, not-for-profit organization operating
13.4	without excessive influence from the TNC. The TNC must not have any control or influence
13.5	over the day-to-day operations of the advocacy organization or the organization's staff or
13.6	management or have control or influence over who receives assistance on specific cases or
13.7	how assistance is provided in a case. The organization must have been established and
13.8	operating in Minnesota continuously for at least two years and be capable of providing
13.9	culturally competent driver representation services, outreach, and education.
13.10	(b) The driver advocacy groups must provide, at no cost to the drivers, assistance with:
13.11	(1) deactivation appeals;
13.12	(2) education and outreach to drivers regarding the drivers' rights and remedies available
13.13	to them under the law; and
13.14	(3) other technical or legal assistance on issues related to providing services for the TNC
13.15	and riders.
13.16	Subd. 5. Request for appeal. (a) The deactivation policy must provide the driver with
13.17	an opportunity to appeal the deactivation upon receipt of the notice and an opportunity to
13.18	provide information to support the request. An appeal process must provide the driver with
13.19	no less than 30 days from the date the notice was provided to the driver to appeal the
13.20	deactivation and allow the driver to have the support of an advocate or attorney.
13.21	(b) Unless the TNC or the driver requests an additional 15 days, a TNC must review
13.22	and make a final decision on the appeal within 15 days from the receipt of the requested
13.23	appeal and information to support the request. A TNC may use a third party to assist with
13.24	appeals.
13.25	(c) The TNC must consider any information presented by the driver under the appeal
13.26	process. For a deactivation to be upheld, there must be evidence under the totality of the
13.27	circumstances to find that it is more likely than not that a rule violation subjecting the driver
13.28	to deactivation has occurred.
13.29	(d) This section does not apply to deactivations for economic reasons or during a public
13.30	state of emergency that are not targeted at a particular driver or drivers.
13.31	(e) When an unintentional deactivation of an individual driver occurs due to a purely
13.32	technical issue and is not caused by any action or fault of the driver, the driver, upon request,
13.33	must be provided reasonable compensation for the period of time the driver was not able

LB

- to accept rides through the TNC capped at a maximum of 21 days. For the purposes of this 14.1 paragraph, "reasonable compensation" means compensation for each day the driver was 14.2 14.3 deactivated using the driver's daily average in earnings from the TNC for the 90 days prior to the deactivation. 14.4 Subd. 6. Prior deactivations. Consistent with the deactivation policy created under this 14.5 section, a driver who was deactivated after January 1, 2021, but before November 1, 2024, 14.6 and who has not been reinstated may request an appeal of the deactivation under this section, 14.7 14.8 if the driver provides notice of the appeal within 90 days of the date of enactment. The TNC may take up to 90 days to issue a final decision. 14.9 14.10 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective November 1, 2024, and applies to deactivations that occur on or after that date except as provided in subdivision 6. 14.11 Sec. 6. [181C.05] ENFORCEMENT. 14.12 (a) The commissioner of labor and industry has exclusive enforcement authority and 14.13 may issue an order under section 177.27, subdivision 4, requiring a TNC to comply with 14.14 sections 181C.02 and 181C.03 under section 177.27, subdivision 4. 14.15 (b) A provision in a contract between a TNC and a driver that violates this chapter is 14.16 void and unenforceable. Unless a valid arbitration agreement exists under section 181C.08, 14.17 14.18 a driver may bring an action in district court seeking injunctive relief and any applicable remedies available under the contract if a provision of a contract between a TNC and a 14.19 driver violates this chapter. 14.20 (c) A TNC must not retaliate against or discipline a driver for (1) raising a complaint 14.21 under this chapter, or (2) pursuing enactment or enforcement of this chapter. A TNC must 14.22 not give less favorable or more favorable rides to a driver for making public or private 14.23 comments supporting or opposing working conditions or compensation at a TNC. 14.24 Sec. 7. [181C.06] DISCRIMINATION PROHIBITED. 14.25 14.26 (a) A TNC must not discriminate against a TNC driver or a qualified applicant to become a driver, due to race, national origin, color, creed, religion, sex, disability, sexual orientation, 14.27 marital status, or gender identity as provided under section 363A.11. Nothing in this section 14.28 prohibits providing a reasonable accommodation to a person with a disability, for religious 14.29 reasons, due to pregnancy, or to remedy previous discriminatory behavior. 14.30
- (b) A TNC driver injured by a violation of this section is entitled to the remedies under
 sections 363A.28 to 363A.35.

LB

15.1	Sec. 8. [181C.07] COLLECTIVE BARGAINING; EMPLOYMENT STATUS.
15.2	Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, nothing in this chapter prohibits collective
15.3	bargaining, or must be construed to determine that a TNC driver is an employee.
15.4	Sec. 9. [181C.08] ARBITRATION; REQUIREMENTS.
15.5	(a) A TNC must provide a driver with the option to opt out of arbitration. Upon a driver's
15.6	written election to pursue remedies through arbitration, the driver must not seek remedies
15.7	through district court based on the same alleged violation.
15.8	(b) The rights and remedies established in this chapter must be the governing law in an
15.9	arbitration between a driver operating in Minnesota and a TNC. The application of the rights
15.10	and remedies available under chapter 181C cannot be waived by a driver prior to or at the
15.11	initiation of an arbitration between a driver and a TNC. The TNC must make reasonable
15.12	efforts to use the state of Minnesota as the venue for arbitration with a Minnesota driver. If
15.13	an arbitration cannot take place in the state of Minnesota, the driver must be allowed to
15.14	appear via phone or other electronic means and apply the rights and remedies available
15.15	under chapter 181C. Arbitrators must be jointly selected by the TNC and the driver using
15.16	the roster of qualified neutrals provided by the Minnesota supreme court for alternative
15.17	dispute resolution. Consistent with the rules and guidelines provided by the American
15.18	Arbitrators Association, if the parties are unable to agree on an arbitrator through the joint
15.19	selection process, the case manager may administratively appoint the arbitrator or arbitrators.
15.20	(c) Contracts that have already been executed must have an addendum provided to each
15.21	driver that includes a copy of this chapter and notice that a driver may elect to pursue the
15.22	remedies provided in this chapter.
15.23	Sec. 10. [181C.09] REVOCATION OF LICENSE.
15.24	A local unit of government may refuse to issue a license or may revoke a license and

comply with the requirements of this chapter. 15.26

Sec. 11. APPROPRIATION. 15.27

\$173,000 in fiscal year 2025 is appropriated from the general fund to the commissioner 15.28

right to operate issued to a TNC by the local unit of government for a TNC's failure to

of labor and industry for the purposes of enforcement, education, and outreach of Minnesota 15.29

Statutes, sections 181C.02 and 181C.03. Beginning in fiscal year 2026, the base amount is 15.30

\$123,000 each fiscal year. " 15.31

15.25

16.8

16.9

LB

16.1 Delete the title and insert:

16.2	"A bill for an act
16.3 16.4 16.5	relating to labor; regulating transportation network companies; providing injunctive relief; appropriating money; amending Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 65B.472; proposing coding for new law as Minnesota Statutes, chapter 181C."
16.6	And when so amended the bill be re-referred to the Committee on Finance without
16.7	recommendation. Amendments adopted. Report adopted.

..... (Committee Chair)

16.10May 8, 2024....16.11(Date of Committee recommendation)