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Senator c.eeeeveeeeennnnn. moves to amend S.F. No. 3496 as follows:

Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:

"Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 181A.03, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

» Subdivision 1. General. As used in sections 181A.01 to 183+A-32 181A.13, the terms

defined in this section shall have the following meanings.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 181A.03, is amended by adding a subdivision to

read:

Subd. 5a. Online platform. "Online platform" means any public-facing website, web

application, or digital application, including a mobile application. Online platform includes

a social network, advertising network, mobile operating system, search engine, email service,

monetization platform to sell digital services, streaming service, paid subscription, or Internet

access service.

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 181A.03, is amended by adding a subdivision to

read:

Subd. 7a. Content creation. "Content creation" means content shared on an online

platform that generates compensation.

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 181A.03, is amended by adding a subdivision to

read:

Subd. 7b. Content creator. "Content creator” means an individual or individuals 18

years of age or older, including family members, who create content performed in Minnesota

that generates compensation, and includes any proprietorship, partnership, company, or

other corporate entity assuming the name or identity of a particular individual or individuals,

or family members, for the purposes of that content creator.

Sec. 5. [181A.13] COMPENSATION FOR INTERNET CONTENT CREATION.

Subdivision 1. Minors featured in content creation. (a) Except as otherwise provided

in this section, A minor is considered engaged in the work of content creation when the

following criteria are met at any time during the previous 12-month period:

(1) at least 30 percent of the content creator's compensated content produced within a

30-day period included the likeness, name, or photograph of any minor. Content percentage

is measured by the percentage of time the likeness, name, or photograph of a minor or, if

Sec. 5. 1
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more than one minor regularly appears in the creator's content, any of the minors, visually

appears or is the subject of an oral narrative in a segment as compared to the total length of

the segment; and

(2) the number of views received on any online platform met the online platform's

threshold for generating compensation or the content creator received actual compensation

for content equal to or greater than $0.01 per view.

(b) A minor under the age of 14 is prohibited from engaging in the work of content

creation as provided in paragraph (a). If a minor under the age of 14 is featured by a content

creator, the minor shall receive 100 percent of the proceeds of the creator's compensation

for the content they have appeared in, less any amount owed to another minor.

(c) A minor who is under the age of 18 and over the age of 13, may produce, create, and

publish their own content and are entitled to all compensation for their own content creation.

A minor engaged in the work of content creation as the producer, creator, and publisher of

content must also follow the requirements in paragraph (b).

(d) A minor who appears incidentally in a video that depicts a public event that a

reasonable person would know to be a broadcast, including a concert, competition, or

sporting event, and is published by a content creator is not considered a violation of this

section.

Subd. 2. Records required. (a) All content creators whose content features a minor

engaged in the work of content creation shall maintain the following records and retain the

records until the minor reaches the age of 21:

(1) the name and documentary proof of the age of the minor engaged in the work of

content creation;

(2) the amount of content creation that generated compensation as described in subdivision

1 during the reporting period;

(3) the total number of minutes of content creation for which the content creator received

compensation during the reporting period;

(4) the total number of minutes a minor was featured in content creation during the

reporting period;

(5) the total compensation generated from content creation featuring a minor during the

reporting period; and
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(6) the amount deposited into the trust account for the benefit of the minor engaged in

the work of content creation as required by subdivision 3.

(b) The records required by this subdivision must be readily accessible to the minor for

review. The content creator shall provide notice to the minor of the existence of the records.

Subd. 3. Trust required. (a) A minor who is engaged in the work of content creation

consistent with this section must be compensated by the content creator. The content creator

must set aside gross earnings on the content that includes the likeness, name, or photograph

of the minor in a trust account to be preserved for the benefit of the minor until the minor

reaches the age of majority, according to the following distribution:

(1) if only one minor meets the content threshold described in subdivision 1, the

percentage of total gross earnings on any segment, including the likeness, name, or

photograph of the minor that is equal to or greater than half of the content percentage that

includes the minor as described in subdivision 1; or

(2) if more than one minor meets the content threshold described in subdivision 1 and

a segment includes more than one of those minors, the percentage described in clause (1)

for all minors in any segment must be equally divided between the minors regardless of

differences in percentage of content provided by the individual minors.

(b) A trust account required under this section must, at a minimum, provide that:

(1) the money in the account is available only to the minor engaged in the work of content

creation;

(2) the account is held by a bank, corporate fiduciary, or trust company, as those terms

are defined in chapter 48A;

(3) the money in the account becomes available to the minor engaged in the work of

content creation upon the minor attaining the age of 18 years or upon a declaration that the

minor is emancipated; and

(4) that the account meets the requirements of chapter 527, the Uniform Transfers to

Minors Act.

Subd. 4. Civil action; enforcement. (2) If a content creator knowingly or recklessly

violates this section, a minor satisfying the criteria described in subdivision 1 may commence

a civil action to enforce the provisions of this section regarding the trust account. In any

action brought in accordance with this paragraph, the court may award the following

damages:

Sec. 5. 3
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(1) actual damages, including any compensation owed under this section;

(2) punitive damages; and

(3) the costs of the action, including attorney fees and litigation costs.

(b) Along with the civil action provided in paragraph (a), the minor may commence a

civil action against the content creator for damages, injunctive relief, and any other relief

the court finds just and equitable to enforce this section.

(c) The attorney general may enforce subdivision 1 of this section, pursuant to section

8.31, and may recover costs and fees.

(d) This section does not affect a right or remedy available under any other law of the

state.

(e) Nothing in this section shall be interpreted to have any effect on a party that is neither

the content creator nor the minor who engaged in the work of content creation.

Subd. 5. Content deletion requests. (a) A person 13 years of age or older who was

featured as a minor child in content of a content creator may request the permanent deletion

of the content from an online platform. An online platform must have an easily accessible

form available online for submission of the deletion request.

(b) An online platform that receives a deletion request shall remove and permanently

delete the content for which the request was made within seven days after the request was

submitted.

(c) Any contract between a content creator and an online platform that would reasonably

be anticipated to feature a minor child must include notification to the social media platform

of the rights under this subdivision.

Subd. 6. Minimum age exemption. A minor age 14 years or over compensated under

this section is exempt from the minimum age provisions of section 181A.04, subdivision

1.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2025."

Amend the title accordingly
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