

March 18, 2024

Senate Jobs and Economic Development Committee Committee Chair, Senator Bobby Joe Champion

RE: In Support of SF 4446

Dear Chair Champion and Members of the Committee:

In the spirit of continued partnership and solidarity, we write today to ask that the Senate Jobs and Economic Development Committee support SF 4446, sponsored by Senator Grant Hauschild, for the creation of a Minnesota Film Office within Explore Minnesota/DEED. The film and TV industry is of unique importance to the Minnesota labor movement, as it is a source of many family-sustaining union jobs in crafts that directly support film production, such as performers, technicians, writers, directors, and drivers, and that expands even further to support allied industries such as construction, hospitality, and transportation.

Today, we are at a critical moment for the future of locally produced films and episodic series. The Minnesota Film & TV Board, the nonprofit organization that has spearheaded the promotion and currently supports the state's production industry, is set to dissolve in the next year, which would leave a devastating gap in administration of the Film Production Tax Credit. It would also disrupt communication with prospective producers that may wish to come to Minnesota to create films and series. It would be catastrophic if the industry were to see us as unserious or unreliable. You might also recall that Minnesota is the only state in the country that offers tax credits but does not have a film office within state government to administer them. We believe it is time for our state to align with the rest of the nation.

The Minnesota Legislature made a bold decision by creating the tax credit, opening the door for the multi-billion dollar film and television industry to return to the state. We ask that you build upon that by creating the Minnesota Film Office within our state's government so that future generations of union workers can count on steady and continued commitment to the film and TV industry.

In Solidarity,

Bernie Burnham President Minnesota AFL-CIO

Casey E. Lewis President SAG-AFTRA Twin Cities Local

Tom Erickson President Teamsters Joint Council 32

Gary C. Surber President IATSE Local 490