

Chair

Bobby Joe Champion Minnesota Senate Building 3401 St. Paul, MN 55155 (651) 296-9246

Vice Chair

Zaynab Mohamed

Ranking Minority Member

Rich Draheim

Members

Heather Gustafson Foung Hawj Karin Housley Carla Nelson Eric Pratt Aric Putnam

Committee Staff:

Committee Administrator

Tom Melton (651) 296-1240 tom.melton@senate.mn

Committee Legislative Assistant

Alexis Varner (651) 296-9246 alexis.varner@senate.mn

Caucus Research

Danny Gillis (DFL) Andy Larson (R)

Senate Counsel

Carlon Doyle Fontaine

Fiscal Analyst

Hannah Grunewald Noeldner

Minnesota Senate Jobs and Economic Growth Finance and Policy Committee

Wednesday, March 13, 2024 12:30pm MSB 1100

Agenda:

1. Call To Order

- 2. S.F. 4014 Morrison Minnesota Sports and Events grant appropriation for the World Junior Hockey Championships
- Wendy Blackshaw, CEO of Minnesota Sports and Events
- Fartun Osman, CEO and Founder of Girls Rock
- Wade Luneberg, UNITE HERE Video from
- Lou Nanne, Member of the United States Hockey Hall of Fame, played in the 1968 Olympics, and former Minnesota North Stars Player and General Manager (VIDEO TESTIMONY)
- Suni Lee, USA Gymnastics Olympic Gold Medalist (VIDEO TESTIMONY)
- 3. S.F. 3233-Pratt: Additional financing of metropolitan area transit capitol expenditures provisions and authorizing the issuance of certain obligations

Testifiers:

- Tim Zunker, President, Shakopee Chamber of Commerce
- 4. S.F. 3891-Mohamed: Jobs Foundation grant appropriation

Testifiers:

- Heather Walch, CEO Repowered Ellis Simmons, Work Readiness
- Ellis Simmons, Work Readiness Employee
- 5. S.F. 3892-Mohamed: Bolder Options for youth programming appropriation

Testifiers:

- Darrell Thompson, President & CEO
- Vienna Chang, Participant, Twin Cities
- Christian Gary Participant, Rochester
- 6. S.F. 3588-Mohamed: Unemployment insurance eligibility modifications under certain conditions for applicants involved in a labor dispute

Testifiers:

Minnesota Senate Jobs and Economic Development Committee

- Jake Schwitzer, ED, North Star Policy Action
- Bart Andersen, AFSCME Council 5
- Todd Dahlstrom, Minnesota AFL-CIO
- John Kontzelmann, United Auto Workers Local 125
- Chris Rubesch, Minnesota Nurses Association
- Jay Chatleain, United Steelworkers
- Dean Benson, Teamsters Local 120
- Catina Taylor, Minneapolis Federation of Teachers
- Lisa Schaefer, HR Director, League of MN Cities
- Sarah Gallett, Hastings Food Service Worker
- Mike Bartos, SEIU Local 26
- Jared Mituga, SEIU Healthcare Minnesota & Iowa

7. Adjournment