

Minnesota Senate Higher Education Committee

Thursday, February 29, 2024 3:00pm

Chair

Omar Fateh (District 62)

Vice Chair

Aric Putnam (District 14)

Ranking Minority Member

Zach Duckworth (District 57)

Members

Robert Farnsworth (District 7) Robert Kupec (District 4) Erin Murphy (District 64) Clare Oumou Verbeten (District 66) Jason Rarick (District 11)

Committee Staff:

Committee Administrator

Sam Parmekar (651) 296-7593 sam.parmekar@senate.mn

Committee Legislative Assistant

Chris Meyer (651) 296-4261 chris.meyer@senate.mn

Research

Hayley Bloom-Peterson (DFL) Ed Cook (R)

Senate Counsel

Joan White

Senate Fiscal Analyst

Erik Olaphson

Committee Pages

Ellie Tibodeau-Lissick Mahalia Norton Jude Nair

Agenda:

- I. Call to Order
- II. Senate File 1045 (Port)

Testifying:

- -Melissa Watschke, Title IX Administrator, Office of Higher Education
- -Sierra Roiger, student, Minnesota State Mankato
- -Nora Simondet, student, Minnesota State Moorhead
- III. Senate File 4269 (Oumou Verbeten)

Testifying:

- -Commissioner Paul Schnell, Department of Corrections
- -Crystal Brakke, Deputy Assistant Commissioner for Teaching and Learning, Department of Corrections -Jesse Mason, Associate Vice-Chancellor for Academic Affairs, Minnesota State Colleges and Universities -Krystle Igbo-Ogbonna, Director of Student Access and Academic Partnerships, Minnesota State Colleges and Universities
- -Will Cooley, Minnesota Justice Research Center
- IV. Senate File 3945 (Putnam)
- V. Adjourn