	Senator Wiklund from the Committee on Health and Human Services, to which was referred
	S.F. No. 4699: A bill for an act relating to health; correcting an appropriation to the commissioner of health; amending Laws 2023, chapter 70, article 20, section 3, subdivision 2.
	Reports the same back with the recommendation that the bill be amended as follows:
	Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:
	"ARTICLE 1
	DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES HEALTH CARE FINANCE
	Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256.9657, is amended by adding a subdivision
	to read:
	Subd. 2a. Teaching hospital surcharge. (a) Each teaching hospital shall pay to the
1	medical assistance account a surcharge equal to 0.01 percent of net non-Medicare patient
c	are revenue. The initial surcharge must be paid 60 days after both this subdivision and
S	section 256.969, subdivision 2g, have received federal approval, and subsequent surcharge
p	payments must be made annually in the form and manner specified by the commissioner.
	(b) The commissioner shall use revenue from the surcharge only to pay the nonfederal
5	share of the medical assistance supplemental payments described in section 256.969,
5	subdivision 2g, and to supplement, and not supplant, medical assistance reimbursement to
	teaching hospitals. The surcharge must comply with Code of Federal Regulations, title 42,
	section 433.63.
	(c) For purposes of this subdivision, "teaching hospital" means any Minnesota hospital,
	except facilities of the federal Indian Health Service and regional treatment centers, with a
	Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services designation of "teaching hospital" as reported
	on form CMS-2552-10, worksheet S-2, line 56, that is eligible for reimbursement under
	section 256.969, subdivision 2g.
	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025, or upon federal approval
	of this section, the amendment in this act to section 256,060, subdivision 2h, and section

of this section, the amendment in this act to section 256.969, subdivision 2b, and section 256.969, subdivision 2g, whichever is later. The commissioner of human services shall notify the revisor of statutes when federal approval is obtained.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 256.969, subdivision 2b, is amended to read:

- Subd. 2b. **Hospital payment rates.** (a) For discharges occurring on or after November 1, 2014, hospital inpatient services for hospitals located in Minnesota shall be paid according to the following:
- (1) critical access hospitals as defined by Medicare shall be paid using a cost-based methodology;
- (2) long-term hospitals as defined by Medicare shall be paid on a per diem methodologyunder subdivision 25;
 - (3) rehabilitation hospitals or units of hospitals that are recognized as rehabilitation distinct parts as defined by Medicare shall be paid according to the methodology under subdivision 12; and
 - (4) all other hospitals shall be paid on a diagnosis-related group (DRG) methodology.
 - (b) For the period beginning January 1, 2011, through October 31, 2014, rates shall not be rebased, except that a Minnesota long-term hospital shall be rebased effective January 1, 2011, based on its most recent Medicare cost report ending on or before September 1, 2008, with the provisions under subdivisions 9 and 23, based on the rates in effect on December 31, 2010. For rate setting periods after November 1, 2014, in which the base years are updated, a Minnesota long-term hospital's base year shall remain within the same period as other hospitals.
 - (c) Effective for discharges occurring on and after November 1, 2014, payment rates for hospital inpatient services provided by hospitals located in Minnesota or the local trade area, except for the hospitals paid under the methodologies described in paragraph (a), clauses (2) and (3), shall be rebased, incorporating cost and payment methodologies in a manner similar to Medicare. The base year or years for the rates effective November 1, 2014, shall be calendar year 2012. The rebasing under this paragraph shall be budget neutral, ensuring that the total aggregate payments under the rebased system are equal to the total aggregate payments that were made for the same number and types of services in the base year. Separate budget neutrality calculations shall be determined for payments made to critical access hospitals and payments made to hospitals paid under the DRG system. Only the rate increases or decreases under subdivision 3a or 3c that applied to the hospitals being rebased during the entire base period shall be incorporated into the budget neutrality calculation.

2.1

2.2

2.3

2.4

2.5

2.6

2.7

2.10

2.11

2.12

2.13

2.14

2.15

2.16

2.17

2.18

2.19

2.20

2.21

2.22

2.23

2.24

2.25

2.26

2.27

2.28

2.29

2.30

2.31

2.32

3.1	(d) For discharges occurring on or after November 1, 2014, through the next rebasing
3.2	that occurs, the rebased rates under paragraph (c) that apply to hospitals under paragraph
3.3	(a), clause (4), shall include adjustments to the projected rates that result in no greater than
3.4	a five percent increase or decrease from the base year payments for any hospital. Any
3.5	adjustments to the rates made by the commissioner under this paragraph and paragraph (e
3.6	shall maintain budget neutrality as described in paragraph (c).
3.7	(e) For discharges occurring on or after November 1, 2014, the commissioner may make
3.8	additional adjustments to the rebased rates, and when evaluating whether additional
3.9	adjustments should be made, the commissioner shall consider the impact of the rates on the
3.10	following:
3.11	(1) pediatric services;
3.12	(2) behavioral health services;
3.13	(3) trauma services as defined by the National Uniform Billing Committee;
3.14	(4) transplant services;
3.15	(5) obstetric services, newborn services, and behavioral health services provided by
3.16	hospitals outside the seven-county metropolitan area;
3.17	(6) outlier admissions;
3.18	(7) low-volume providers; and
3.19	(8) services provided by small rural hospitals that are not critical access hospitals.
3.20	(f) Hospital payment rates established under paragraph (c) must incorporate the following
3.21	(1) for hospitals paid under the DRG methodology, the base year payment rate per
3.22	admission is standardized by the applicable Medicare wage index and adjusted by the
3.23	hospital's disproportionate population adjustment;
3.24	(2) for critical access hospitals, payment rates for discharges between November 1, 2014
3.25	and June 30, 2015, shall be set to the same rate of payment that applied for discharges on
3.26	October 31, 2014;
3.27	(3) the cost and charge data used to establish hospital payment rates must only reflect
3.28	inpatient services covered by medical assistance; and

(4) in determining hospital payment rates for discharges occurring on or after the rate year beginning January 1, 2011, through December 31, 2012, the hospital payment rate per discharge shall be based on the cost-finding methods and allowable costs of the Medicare

3.29

3.30

3.31

program in effect during the base year or years. In determining hospital payment rates for discharges in subsequent base years, the per discharge rates shall be based on the cost-finding methods and allowable costs of the Medicare program in effect during the base year or years.

- (g) The commissioner shall validate the rates effective November 1, 2014, by applying the rates established under paragraph (c), and any adjustments made to the rates under paragraph (d) or (e), to hospital claims paid in calendar year 2013 to determine whether the total aggregate payments for the same number and types of services under the rebased rates are equal to the total aggregate payments made during calendar year 2013.
- (h) Effective for discharges occurring on or after July 1, 2017, and every two years thereafter, payment rates under this section shall be rebased to reflect only those changes in hospital costs between the existing base year or years and the next base year or years. In any year that inpatient claims volume falls below the threshold required to ensure a statistically valid sample of claims, the commissioner may combine claims data from two consecutive years to serve as the base year. Years in which inpatient claims volume is reduced or altered due to a pandemic or other public health emergency shall not be used as a base year or part of a base year if the base year includes more than one year. Changes in costs between base years shall be measured using the lower of the hospital cost index defined in subdivision 1, paragraph (a), or the percentage change in the case mix adjusted cost per claim. The commissioner shall establish the base year for each rebasing period considering the most recent year or years for which filed Medicare cost reports are available, except that the base years for the rebasing effective July 1, 2023, are calendar years 2018 and 2019. The estimated change in the average payment per hospital discharge resulting from a scheduled rebasing must be calculated and made available to the legislature by January 15 of each year in which rebasing is scheduled to occur, and must include by hospital the differential in payment rates compared to the individual hospital's costs.
- (i) Effective for discharges occurring on or after July 1, 2015, inpatient payment rates for critical access hospitals located in Minnesota or the local trade area shall be determined using a new cost-based methodology. The commissioner shall establish within the methodology tiers of payment designed to promote efficiency and cost-effectiveness. Payment rates for hospitals under this paragraph shall be set at a level that does not exceed the total cost for critical access hospitals as reflected in base year cost reports. Until the next rebasing that occurs, the new methodology shall result in no greater than a five percent decrease from the base year payments for any hospital, except a hospital that had payments that were greater than 100 percent of the hospital's costs in the base year shall have their

4.1

4.2

4.3

4.4

4.5

4.6

4.7

4.8

4.9

4.10

4.11

4.12

4.13

4.14

4.15

4.16

4.17

4.18

4.19

4.20

4.21

4.22

4.23

4.24

4.25

4.26

4.27

4.28

4.29

4.30

4.31

4.32

4.33

4.34

rate set equal to 100 percent of costs in the base year. The rates paid for discharges on and after July 1, 2016, covered under this paragraph shall be increased by the inflation factor in subdivision 1, paragraph (a). The new cost-based rate shall be the final rate and shall not be settled to actual incurred costs. Hospitals shall be assigned a payment tier based on the following criteria:

- (1) hospitals that had payments at or below 80 percent of their costs in the base year shall have a rate set that equals 85 percent of their base year costs;
- (2) hospitals that had payments that were above 80 percent, up to and including 90 percent of their costs in the base year shall have a rate set that equals 95 percent of their base year costs; and
- (3) hospitals that had payments that were above 90 percent of their costs in the base year shall have a rate set that equals 100 percent of their base year costs.
 - (j) The commissioner may refine the payment tiers and criteria for critical access hospitals to coincide with the next rebasing under paragraph (h). The factors used to develop the new methodology may include, but are not limited to:
 - (1) the ratio between the hospital's costs for treating medical assistance patients and the hospital's charges to the medical assistance program;
 - (2) the ratio between the hospital's costs for treating medical assistance patients and the hospital's payments received from the medical assistance program for the care of medical assistance patients;
 - (3) the ratio between the hospital's charges to the medical assistance program and the hospital's payments received from the medical assistance program for the care of medical assistance patients;
 - (4) the statewide average increases in the ratios identified in clauses (1), (2), and (3);
- 5.25 (5) the proportion of that hospital's costs that are administrative and trends in administrative costs; and
- 5.27 (6) geographic location.

5.1

5.2

5.3

5.4

5.5

5.6

5.7

5.8

5.9

5.10

5.11

5.12

5.13

5.14

5.15

5.16

5.17

5.18

5.19

5.20

5.21

5.22

5.23

5 24

(k) Subject to section 256.969, subdivision 2g, paragraph (i), effective for discharges occurring on or after January 1, 2024, the rates paid to hospitals described in paragraph (a), clauses (2) to (4), must include a rate factor specific to each hospital that qualifies for a medical education and research cost distribution under section 62J.692, subdivision 4, paragraph (a).

	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025, or upon federal approval
of	this section, section 256.969, subdivision 2g, and the teaching hospital surcharge described
in	section 256.9657, subdivision 2a, whichever is later. The commissioner of human services
sha	all notify the revisor of statutes when federal approval is obtained.
S	Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256.969, is amended by adding a subdivision to
rea	nd:
	Subd. 2g. Annual supplemental payments; direct and indirect physician graduate
me	edical education. (a) For discharges occurring on or after January 1, 2025, the
CO	mmissioner shall determine and pay annual supplemental payments to all eligible hospitals
as	provided in this subdivision for direct and indirect physician graduate medical education
co	st reimbursement. A hospital must be an eligible hospital to receive an annual supplemental
pa	yment under this subdivision.
	(b) The commissioner must use the following information to calculate the total cost of
dir	rect graduate medical education incurred by each eligible hospital:
	(1) the total allowable direct graduate medical education cost, as calculated by adding
foı	rm CMS-2552-10, worksheet B, part 1, columns 21 and 22, line 202; and
	(2) the Medicaid share of total allowable direct graduate medical education cost
)e	rcentage, representing the allocation of total graduate medical education costs to Medicaid
a	sed on the share of all Medicaid inpatient days, as reported on form CMS-2552-10,
VC	orksheets S-2 and S-3, divided by the hospital's total inpatient days, as reported on
VC	orksheet S-3.
	(c) The commissioner may obtain the information in paragraph (b) from an eligible
ho	spital upon request by the commissioner or from the eligible hospital's most recently filed
foı	rm CMS-2552-10.
	(d) The commissioner must use the following information to calculate the total allowable
inc	direct cost of graduate medical education incurred by each eligible hospital:
	(1) for eligible hospitals that are not children's hospitals, the indirect graduate medical
ed	ucation amount attributable to Medicaid, calculated based on form CMS-2552-10,
wc	orksheet E, part A, including:
	(i) the Medicare indirect medical education formula, using Medicaid variables;
	(ii) Medicaid payments for inpatient services under fee-for-service and managed care,
as	determined by the commissioner in consultation with each eligible hospital;

<u>(iii)</u>	total inpatient beds available, as reported on form CMS-2552-10, worksheet E, part
A, line	<u>4; and</u>
<u>(iv)</u>	full-time employees, as determined by adding form CMS-2552-10, worksheet E,
part A,	lines 10 and 11; and
<u>(2)</u> :	for eligible hospitals that are children's hospitals:
<u>(i)</u> t	he Medicare indirect medical education formula, using Medicaid variables;
<u>(ii)</u>	Medicaid payments for inpatient services under fee-for-service and managed care,
as deter	rmined by the commissioner in consultation with each eligible hospital;
<u>(iii)</u>	total inpatient beds available, as reported on form CMS-2552-10, worksheet S-3,
part 1;	<u>and</u>
<u>(iv)</u>	full-time equivalent interns and residents, as determined by adding form
CMS-2	552-10, worksheet E-4, lines 6, 10.01, and 15.01.
<u>(e)</u> '	The commissioner shall determine each eligible hospital's maximum allowable
Medica	id direct graduate medical education supplemental payment amount by calculating
the sum	<u>n of:</u>
<u>(1) t</u>	the total allowable direct graduate medical education costs determined under paragraph
(b), cla	use (1), multiplied by the Medicaid share of total allowable direct graduate medical
educati	on cost percentage in paragraph (b), clause (2); and
(2) t	the total allowable direct graduate medical education costs determined under paragraph
(b), cla	use (1), multiplied by the most recently updated Medicaid utilization percentage
from fo	orm CMS-2552-10, as submitted to Medicare by each eligible hospital.
<u>(f)</u> 7	The commissioner shall determine each eligible hospital's indirect graduate medical
educati	on supplemental payment amount by multiplying the total allowable indirect cost
of grad	uate medical education amount calculated in paragraph (d) by:
<u>(1)</u> (0.95 for prospective payment system, for hospitals that are not children's hospitals
and hav	ve fewer than 50 full-time equivalent trainees;
<u>(2)</u>	1.0 for prospective payment system, for hospitals that are not children's hospitals
and hav	ve equal to or greater than 50 full-time equivalent trainees; and
<u>(3)</u>	1.05 for children's hospitals.

3.1	(g) An eligible hospital's annual supplemental payment under this subdivision equals
3.2	the sum of the amount calculated for the eligible hospital under paragraph (e) and the amoun
3.3	calculated for the eligible hospital under paragraph (f).
3.4	(h) The annual supplemental payments under this subdivision are contingent upon federa
3.5	approval and must conform with the requirements for permissible supplemental payments
3.6	for direct and indirect graduate medical education under all applicable federal laws.
3.7	(i) An eligible hospital is only eligible for reimbursement under section 62J.692 for
3.8	nonphysician graduate medical education training costs that are not accounted for in the
3.9	calculation of an annual supplemental payment under this section. An eligible hospital mus
3.10	not accept reimbursement under section 62J.692 for physician graduate medical education
3.11	training costs that are accounted for in the calculation of an annual supplemental payment
3.12	under this section.
3.13	(j) For purposes of this subdivision, "children's hospital" means a Minnesota hospital
3.14	designated as a children's hospital under Medicare.
3.15	(k) For purposes of this subdivision, "eligible hospital" means a hospital located in
3.16	Minnesota:
3.17	(1) participating in Minnesota's medical assistance program;
3.18	(2) that has received fee-for-service medical assistance payments in the payment year;
3.19	<u>and</u>
3.20	(3) that is either:
3.21	(i) eligible to receive graduate medical education payments from the Medicare program
3.22	under Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, section 413.75; or
3.23	(ii) a children's hospital.
3.24	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025, or upon federal approva
3.25	of this section, the amendment in this act to section 256.969, subdivision 2b, and the teaching
3.26	hospital surcharge described in section 256.9657, subdivision 2a, whichever is later. The
3.27	commissioner of human services shall notify the revisor of statutes when federal approval
3.28	is obtained.
3.29	Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256.969, is amended by adding a subdivision to
3.30	read:
3.31	Subd. 32. Biological products for cell and gene therapy. (a) Effective July 1, 2024, the commissioner shall provide separate reimbursement to hospitals for biological products
3.34	- the commissioner shall brovide sebarate remibursement to hospitals for biological broducts

provided in the inpatient hospital setting as part of cell or gene therapy to treat rare diseases, as defined in United States Code, title 21, section 360bb. This payment must be separate from the diagnostic related group reimbursement for the inpatient admission or discharge associated with a stay during which the patient received a product subject to this paragraph.

- (b) The commissioner shall establish the separate reimbursement rate for biological products provided under paragraph (a) based on the methodology used for drugs administered in an outpatient setting under section 256B.0625, subdivision 13e, paragraph (e).
- (c) Upon necessary federal approval of documentation required to enter into a value-based arrangement under section 256B.0625, subdivision 13k, a drug manufacturer must enter into a value-based arrangement with the commissioner in order for a biological product provided in the inpatient hospital setting as part of cell or gene therapy to treat rare diseases to remain paid under paragraph (a). Any such value-based arrangement that replaces the payment in paragraph (a) will be effective 120 days after the date of the necessary federal approval required to enter into the value-based arrangement under section 256B.0625, subdivision 13k.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 256B.0625, subdivision 13e, as amended by Laws 2024, chapter 85, section 66, is amended to read:

Subd. 13e. Payment rates. (a) The basis for determining the amount of payment shall be the lower of the ingredient costs of the drugs plus the professional dispensing fee; or the usual and customary price charged to the public. The usual and customary price means the lowest price charged by the provider to a patient who pays for the prescription by cash, check, or charge account and includes prices the pharmacy charges to a patient enrolled in a prescription savings club or prescription discount club administered by the pharmacy or pharmacy chain. The amount of payment basis must be reduced to reflect all discount amounts applied to the charge by any third-party provider/insurer agreement or contract for submitted charges to medical assistance programs. The net submitted charge may not be greater than the patient liability for the service. The professional dispensing fee shall be \$10.77 \$11.55 for prescriptions filled with legend drugs meeting the definition of "covered outpatient drugs" according to United States Code, title 42, section 1396r-8(k)(2). The dispensing fee for intravenous solutions that must be compounded by the pharmacist shall be \$10.77 \$11.55 per claim. The professional dispensing fee for prescriptions filled with over-the-counter drugs meeting the definition of covered outpatient drugs shall be \$10.77 \$11.55 for dispensed quantities equal to or greater than the number of units contained in

9.1

9.2

9.3

9.4

9.5

9.6

9.7

9.8

9.9

9.10

9.11

9.12

9.13

9.14

9.15

9.16

9.17

9.18

9.19

9.20

9.21

9.22

9.23

9.24

9.25

9.26

9.27

9.28

9.29

9.30

9.31

9.32

9.33

the manufacturer's original package. The professional dispensing fee shall be prorated based on the percentage of the package dispensed when the pharmacy dispenses a quantity less than the number of units contained in the manufacturer's original package. The pharmacy dispensing fee for prescribed over-the-counter drugs not meeting the definition of covered outpatient drugs shall be \$3.65 for quantities equal to or greater than the number of units contained in the manufacturer's original package and shall be prorated based on the percentage of the package dispensed when the pharmacy dispenses a quantity less than the number of units contained in the manufacturer's original package. The National Average Drug Acquisition Cost (NADAC) shall be used to determine the ingredient cost of a drug. For drugs for which a NADAC is not reported, the commissioner shall estimate the ingredient cost at the wholesale acquisition cost minus two percent. The ingredient cost of a drug for a provider participating in the federal 340B Drug Pricing Program shall be either the 340B Drug Pricing Program ceiling price established by the Health Resources and Services Administration or NADAC, whichever is lower. Wholesale acquisition cost is defined as the manufacturer's list price for a drug or biological to wholesalers or direct purchasers in the United States, not including prompt pay or other discounts, rebates, or reductions in price, for the most recent month for which information is available, as reported in wholesale price guides or other publications of drug or biological pricing data. The maximum allowable cost of a multisource drug may be set by the commissioner and it shall be comparable to the actual acquisition cost of the drug product and no higher than the NADAC of the generic product. Establishment of the amount of payment for drugs shall not be subject to the requirements of the Administrative Procedure Act.

- (b) Pharmacies dispensing prescriptions to residents of long-term care facilities using an automated drug distribution system meeting the requirements of section 151.58, or a packaging system meeting the packaging standards set forth in Minnesota Rules, part 6800.2700, that govern the return of unused drugs to the pharmacy for reuse, may employ retrospective billing for prescription drugs dispensed to long-term care facility residents. A retrospectively billing pharmacy must submit a claim only for the quantity of medication used by the enrolled recipient during the defined billing period. A retrospectively billing pharmacy must use a billing period not less than one calendar month or 30 days.
- (c) A pharmacy provider using packaging that meets the standards set forth in Minnesota Rules, part 6800.2700, is required to credit the department for the actual acquisition cost of all unused drugs that are eligible for reuse, unless the pharmacy is using retrospective billing. The commissioner may permit the drug clozapine to be dispensed in a quantity that is less than a 30-day supply.

10.1

10.2

10.3

10.4

10.5

10.6

10.7

10.8

10.9

10.10

10.11

10.12

10.13

10.14

10.15

10.16

10.17

10.18

10.19

10.20

10.21

10.22

10.23

10.24

10.25

10.26

10.27

10.28

10.29

10.30

10.31

10.32

10.33

10.34

(d) If a pharmacy dispenses a multisource drug, the ingredient cost shall be the NADAC of the generic product or the maximum allowable cost established by the commissioner unless prior authorization for the brand name product has been granted according to the criteria established by the Drug Formulary Committee as required by subdivision 13f, paragraph (a), and the prescriber has indicated "dispense as written" on the prescription in a manner consistent with section 151.21, subdivision 2.

(e) The basis for determining the amount of payment for drugs administered in an outpatient setting shall be the lower of the usual and customary cost submitted by the provider, 106 percent of the average sales price as determined by the United States

Department of Health and Human Services pursuant to title XVIII, section 1847a of the federal Social Security Act, the specialty pharmacy rate, or the maximum allowable cost set by the commissioner. If average sales price is unavailable, the amount of payment must be lower of the usual and customary cost submitted by the provider, the wholesale acquisition cost, the specialty pharmacy rate, or the maximum allowable cost set by the commissioner. The commissioner shall discount the payment rate for drugs obtained through the federal 340B Drug Pricing Program by 28.6 percent. The payment for drugs administered in an outpatient setting shall be made to the administering facility or practitioner. A retail or specialty pharmacy dispensing a drug for administration in an outpatient setting is not eligible for direct reimbursement.

(f) The commissioner may establish maximum allowable cost rates for specialty pharmacy products that are lower than the ingredient cost formulas specified in paragraph (a). The commissioner may require individuals enrolled in the health care programs administered by the department to obtain specialty pharmacy products from providers with whom the commissioner has negotiated lower reimbursement rates. Specialty pharmacy products are defined as those used by a small number of recipients or recipients with complex and chronic diseases that require expensive and challenging drug regimens. Examples of these conditions include, but are not limited to: multiple sclerosis, HIV/AIDS, transplantation, hepatitis C, growth hormone deficiency, Crohn's Disease, rheumatoid arthritis, and certain forms of cancer. Specialty pharmaceutical products include injectable and infusion therapies, biotechnology drugs, antihemophilic factor products, high-cost therapies, and therapies that require complex care. The commissioner shall consult with the Formulary Committee to develop a list of specialty pharmacy products subject to maximum allowable cost reimbursement. In consulting with the Formulary Committee in developing this list, the commissioner shall take into consideration the population served by specialty pharmacy products, the current delivery system and standard of care in the state, and access to care

11.1

11.2

11.3

11.4

11.5

11.6

11.7

11.8

11.9

11.10

11.11

11.12

11.13

11.14

11.15

11.16

11.17

11.18

11.19

11.20

11.21

11.22

11.23

11.24

11.25

11.26

11.27

11.28

11.29

11.30

11.31

11.32

11.33

11.34

issues. The commissioner shall have the discretion to adjust the maximum allowable cost to prevent access to care issues.

- (g) Home infusion therapy services provided by home infusion therapy pharmacies must be paid at rates according to subdivision 8d.
- (h) The commissioner shall contract with a vendor to conduct a cost of dispensing survey for all pharmacies that are physically located in the state of Minnesota that dispense outpatient drugs under medical assistance. The commissioner shall ensure that the vendor has prior experience in conducting cost of dispensing surveys. Each pharmacy enrolled with the department to dispense outpatient prescription drugs to fee-for-service members must respond to the cost of dispensing survey. The commissioner may sanction a pharmacy under section 256B.064 for failure to respond. The commissioner shall require the vendor to measure a single statewide cost of dispensing for specialty prescription drugs and a single statewide cost of dispensing for nonspecialty prescription drugs for all responding pharmacies to measure the mean, mean weighted by total prescription volume, mean weighted by medical assistance prescription volume, median, median weighted by total prescription volume, and median weighted by total medical assistance prescription volume. The commissioner shall post a copy of the final cost of dispensing survey report on the department's website. The initial survey must be completed no later than January 1, 2021, and repeated every three years. The commissioner shall provide a summary of the results of each cost of dispensing survey and provide recommendations for any changes to the dispensing fee to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over medical assistance pharmacy reimbursement. Notwithstanding section 256.01, subdivision 42, this paragraph does not expire.
- (i) The commissioner shall increase the ingredient cost reimbursement calculated in paragraphs (a) and (f) by 1.8 percent for prescription and nonprescription drugs subject to the wholesale drug distributor tax under section 295.52.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 256B.0625, subdivision 13k, is amended to read:

Subd. 13k. Value-based purchasing arrangements. (a) The commissioner may enter into a value-based purchasing arrangement under medical assistance or MinnesotaCare, by written arrangement with a drug manufacturer based on agreed-upon metrics. The commissioner may contract with a vendor to implement and administer the value-based purchasing arrangement. A value-based purchasing arrangement may include but is not

12.1

12.2

12.3

12.4

12.5

12.6

12.7

12.8

12.9

12.10

12.11

12.12

12.13

12.14

12.15

12.16

12.17

12.18

12.19

12.20

12.21

12.22

12.23

12.24

12.25

12.26

12.27

12.30

12.31

12.32

12.33

limited to rebates, discounts, price reductions, risk sharing, reimbursements, guarantees, shared savings payments, withholds, or bonuses. A value-based purchasing arrangement must provide at least the same value or discount in the aggregate as would claiming the mandatory federal drug rebate under the Federal Social Security Act, section 1927.

- (b) Nothing in this section shall be interpreted as requiring a drug manufacturer or the commissioner to enter into an arrangement as described in paragraph (a).
- (c) Nothing in this section shall be interpreted as altering or modifying medical assistance coverage requirements under the federal Social Security Act, section 1927.
- (d) If the commissioner determines that a state plan amendment is necessary before implementing a value-based purchasing arrangement, the commissioner shall request the amendment and may delay implementing this provision until the amendment is approved.
- (e) The commissioner may provide separate reimbursement to hospitals for drugs provided in the inpatient hospital setting as part of a value-based purchasing arrangement. This payment must be separate from the diagnostic related group reimbursement for the inpatient admission or discharge associated with a stay during which the patient received a drug under this section. For payments made under this section, the hospital must not be reimbursed for the drug under the payment methodology in section 256.969. The commissioner shall establish the separate reimbursement rate for drugs provided under this section based on the methodology used for drugs administered in an outpatient setting under section 256B.0625, subdivision 13e, paragraph (e).
- 13.21 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective upon federal approval. The commissioner of human services shall notify the revisor of statutes when federal approval is obtained.

Sec. 7. CONTINGENT PROPOSAL TO FUND MEDICAL EDUCATION.

(a) If the federal Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services deny the request by the commissioner of human services to implement the teaching hospital surcharge under Minnesota Statutes, section 256.9657, subdivision 2a, the commissioner of human services, in cooperation with the commissioner of health, shall work with a third-party consultant identified by the Health Care Workforce and Education Committee established by the commissioner of health that has agreed to provide consulting services without charge to Minnesota to develop a proposal to finance the nonfederal share of the medical assistance supplemental payments described in Minnesota Statutes, section 256.969, subdivision 2g.

(b) The proposal must be designed to:

13.1

13.2

13.3

13.4

13.5

13.6

13.7

13.8

13.9

13.10

13.11

13.12

13.13

13.14

13.15

13.16

13.17

13.18

13.19

13.20

13.23

13.24

13.25

13.26

13.27

13.28

13.29

13.30

13.31

(1) enhance health care quality and the economic benefits that result from a well-train	ned
workforce;	
(2) ensure that Minnesota has trained a sufficient number of adult and pediatric prima	ary
and specialty care physicians by 2030;	
(3) improve the cultural competence of and health care equity within the state's medi	ical
workforce;	
(4) maintain and improve the quality of academic medical centers and teaching hospit	tals
within the state;	
(5) strengthen Minnesota's health care infrastructure; and	
(6) satisfy any requirements for approval by the federal Centers for Medicare and	
Medicaid Services.	
(c) The commissioner of human services shall present the proposal to the chairs and	1
ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over medical	- -
education within six months of federal denial of the request by the commissioner to	
mplement the teaching hospital surcharge.	
Sec. 8. COUNTY-ADMINISTERED RURAL MEDICAL ASSISTANCE MODE	<u>CL.</u>
Subdivision 1. Model development. (a) The commissioner of human services, in	
collaboration with the Association of Minnesota Counties and county-based purchasing	<u>g</u>
lans, shall develop a county-administered rural medical assistance (CARMA) model a	ınd
detailed plan for implementing the CARMA model.	
(b) The CARMA model must be designed to achieve the following objectives:	
(1) provide a distinct county owned and administered alternative to the prepaid medi	ical
assistance program;	
(2) facilitate greater integration of health care and social services to address social	
determinants of health in rural communities, with the degree of integration of social servi-	ces
varying with each county's needs and resources;	
(3) account for the smaller number of medical assistance enrollees and locally availa	ıble
providers of behavioral health, oral health, specialty and tertiary care, nonemergency medi	ical
transportation, and other health care services in rural communities; and	
(4) promote greater accountability for health outcomes, health equity, customer servi	ice,
community outreach, and cost of care.	

15.1	Subd. 2. County participation. The CARMA model must give each rural county the
15.2	option of applying to participate in the CARMA model as an alternative to participation in
15.3	the prepaid medical assistance program. The CARMA model must include a process for
15.4	the commissioner to determine whether and how a rural county can participate.
15.5	Subd. 3. Report to the legislature. (a) The commissioner shall report recommendations
15.6	and an implementation plan for the CARMA model to the chairs and ranking minority
15.7	members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over health care policy and finance
15.8	by January 15, 2025. The CARMA model and implementation plan must address the issues
15.9	and consider the recommendations identified in the document titled "Recommendations
15.10	Not Contingent on Outcome(s) of Current Litigation," attached to the September 13, 2022,
15.11	e-filing to the Second Judicial District Court (Correspondence for Judicial Approval Index
15.12	#102), that relates to the final contract decisions of the commissioner of human services
15.13	regarding South Country Health Alliance v. Minnesota Department of Human Services, No.
15.14	62-CV-22-907 (Ramsey Cnty. Dist. Ct. 2022).
15.15	(b) The report must also identify the clarifications, approvals, and waivers that are needed
15.16	from the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services and include any draft legislation
15.17	necessary to implement the CARMA model.
15.18	Sec. 9. REVISOR INSTRUCTION.
15.19	When the proposed rule published at Federal Register, volume 88, page 25313, becomes
15.20	effective, the revisor of statutes must change: (1) the reference in Minnesota Statutes, section
15.21	256B.06, subdivision 4, paragraph (d), from Code of Federal Regulations, title 8, section
15.22	103.12, to Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, section 435.4; and (2) the reference in
15.23	Minnesota Statutes, section 256L.04, subdivision 10, paragraph (a), from Code of Federal
15.24	Regulations, title 8, section 103.12, to Code of Federal Regulations, title 45, section 155.20.
15.25	The commissioner of human services shall notify the revisor of statutes when the proposed
15.26	rule published at Federal Register, volume 88, page 25313, becomes effective.
15 27	ARTICLE 2
15.27 15.28	DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES HEALTH CARE POLICY
13.20	DETAKTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES HEALTH CARE FOLICT
15.29	Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 62M.01, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
15.30	Subd. 3. Scope. (a) Nothing in this chapter applies to review of claims after submission
15.31	to determine eligibility for benefits under a health benefit plan. The appeal procedure
15.32	described in section 62M.06 applies to any complaint as defined under section 62Q.68,
15.33	subdivision 2, that requires a medical determination in its resolution.

(b) Effective January 1, 2026, this chapter does not apply applies to managed care plans 16.1 or county-based purchasing plans when the plan is providing coverage to state public health 16.2 care program enrollees under chapter 256B or 256L. 16.3 (c) Effective January 1, 2026, the following sections of this chapter apply to services 16.4 delivered through fee-for-service under chapters 256B and 256L: sections 62M.02, 16.5 subdivisions 1 to 5, 7 to 12, 13, 14 to 18, and 21; 62M.04; 62M.05, subdivisions 1 to 4; 16.6 62M.06, subdivisions 1 to 3; 62M.07; 62M.072; 62M.09; 62M.10; 62M.12; and 62M.17, 16.7 subdivision 2. 16.8 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 256.0471, subdivision 1, as amended 16.9 by Laws 2024, chapter 80, article 1, section 76, is amended to read: 16.10 Subdivision 1. Qualifying overpayment. Any overpayment for state-funded medical 16.11 assistance under chapter 256B and state-funded MinnesotaCare under chapter 256L granted 16.12 pursuant to section 256.045, subdivision 10; chapter 256B for state-funded medical 16.13 assistance; and chapters 256D, 256I, 256K, and 256L for state-funded MinnesotaCare except 16.14 agency error claims, become a judgment by operation of law 90 days after the notice of 16.15 overpayment is personally served upon the recipient in a manner that is sufficient under 16.16 rule 4.03(a) of the Rules of Civil Procedure for district courts, or by certified mail, return 16.17 receipt requested. This judgment shall be entitled to full faith and credit in this and any 16.18 16.19 other state. **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2024. 16.20 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256.9657, subdivision 8, is amended to read: 16.21 16.22 Subd. 8. Commissioner's duties. (a) Beginning October 1, 2023, the commissioner of human services shall annually report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the 16.23 legislative committees with jurisdiction over health care policy and finance regarding the 16.24 provider surcharge program. The report shall include information on total billings, total 16.25 collections, and administrative expenditures for the previous fiscal year. This paragraph 16.26 16.27 expires January 1, 2032. (b) (a) The surcharge shall be adjusted by inflationary and caseload changes in future 16.28 16.29 bienniums to maintain reimbursement of health care providers in accordance with the requirements of the state and federal laws governing the medical assistance program, 16.30 including the requirements of the Medicaid moratorium amendments of 1991 found in 16.31

Public Law No. 102-234.

(e) (b) The commissioner shall request the Minnesota congressional delegation to support a change in federal law that would prohibit federal disallowances for any state that makes a good faith effort to comply with Public Law 102-234 by enacting conforming legislation prior to the issuance of federal implementing regulations.

17.5 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256.969, is amended by adding a subdivision to read: 17.6

- Subd. 2h. Alternate inpatient payment rate for a discharge. (a) Effective retroactively from January 1, 2024, in any rate year in which a children's hospital discharge is included in the federally required disproportionate share hospital payment audit, where the patient discharged had resided in a children's hospital for over 20 years, the commissioner shall compute an alternate inpatient rate for the children's hospital. The alternate payment rate must be the rate computed under this section excluding the disproportionate share hospital payment under subdivision 9, paragraph (d), clause (1), increased by an amount equal to 99 percent of what the disproportionate share hospital payment would have been under subdivision 9, paragraph (d), clause (1), had the discharge been excluded.
- (b) In any rate year in which payment to a children's hospital is made using this alternate payment rate, payments must not be made to the hospital under subdivisions 2e, 2f, and 9.
- **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective upon federal approval. The commissioner 17.18 of human services shall notify the revisor of statutes when federal approval is obtained. 17.19
- Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256B.056, subdivision 1a, is amended to read: 17.20
- Subd. 1a. Income and assets generally. (a)(1) Unless specifically required by state law or rule or federal law or regulation, the methodologies used in counting income and assets 17.22 to determine eligibility for medical assistance for persons whose eligibility category is based on blindness, disability, or age of 65 or more years, the methodologies for the Supplemental Security Income program shall be used, except as provided under in clause (2) and 17.25 subdivision 3, paragraph (a), clause (6). 17.26
 - (2) State tax credits, rebates, and refunds must not be counted as income. State tax credits, rebates, and refunds must not be counted as assets for a period of 12 months after the month of receipt.
- (2) (3) Increases in benefits under title II of the Social Security Act shall not be counted 17.30 as income for purposes of this subdivision until July 1 of each year. Effective upon federal approval, for children eligible under section 256B.055, subdivision 12, or for home and 17.32

17.1

17.2

17.3

17.4

17.7

17.8

17.9

17.10

17.11

17.12

17.13

17.14

17.15

17.16

17.17

17.21

17.23

17.24

17.27

17.28

17.29

community-based waiver services whose eligibility for medical assistance is determined 18.1 without regard to parental income, child support payments, including any payments made 18.2 18.3 by an obligor in satisfaction of or in addition to a temporary or permanent order for child support, and Social Security payments are not counted as income. 18.4 18.5 (b)(1) The modified adjusted gross income methodology as defined in United States Code, title 42, section 1396a(e)(14), shall be used for eligibility categories based on: 18.6 (i) children under age 19 and their parents and relative caretakers as defined in section 18.7 256B.055, subdivision 3a; 18.8 (ii) children ages 19 to 20 as defined in section 256B.055, subdivision 16; 18.9 (iii) pregnant women as defined in section 256B.055, subdivision 6; 18.10 (iv) infants as defined in sections 256B.055, subdivision 10, and 256B.057, subdivision 18.11 1; and 18.12 (v) adults without children as defined in section 256B.055, subdivision 15. 18.13 For these purposes, a "methodology" does not include an asset or income standard, or 18.14 accounting method, or method of determining effective dates. 18.15 (2) For individuals whose income eligibility is determined using the modified adjusted 18.16 gross income methodology in clause (1): 18.17 (i) the commissioner shall subtract from the individual's modified adjusted gross income 18.18 an amount equivalent to five percent of the federal poverty guidelines; and 18.19 (ii) the individual's current monthly income and household size is used to determine 18.20 eligibility for the 12-month eligibility period. If an individual's income is expected to vary 18.21 month to month, eligibility is determined based on the income predicted for the 12-month 18.22 eligibility period. 18.23 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment. 18.24 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256B.056, subdivision 10, is amended to read: 18.25 Subd. 10. Eligibility verification. (a) The commissioner shall require women who are 18.26 applying for the continuation of medical assistance coverage following the end of the 18.27 12-month postpartum period to update their income and asset information and to submit 18.28

(b) The commissioner shall determine the eligibility of private-sector health care coverage for infants less than one year of age eligible under section 256B.055, subdivision 10, or

18.29

18.30

18.31

any required income or asset verification.

256B.057, subdivision 1, paragraph (c), and shall pay for private-sector coverage if this is determined to be cost-effective.

- (c) The commissioner shall verify assets and income for all applicants, and for all recipients upon renewal.
- (d) The commissioner shall utilize information obtained through the electronic service established by the secretary of the United States Department of Health and Human Services and other available electronic data sources in Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, sections 435.940 to 435.956, to verify eligibility requirements. The commissioner shall establish standards to define when information obtained electronically is reasonably compatible with information provided by applicants and enrollees, including use of self-attestation, to accomplish real-time eligibility determinations and maintain program integrity.
- (e) Each person applying for or receiving medical assistance under section 256B.055, subdivision 7, and any other person whose resources are required by law to be disclosed to determine the applicant's or recipient's eligibility must authorize the commissioner to obtain information from financial institutions to identify unreported accounts verify assets as required in section 256.01, subdivision 18f. If a person refuses or revokes the authorization, the commissioner may determine that the applicant or recipient is ineligible for medical assistance. For purposes of this paragraph, an authorization to identify unreported accounts verify assets meets the requirements of the Right to Financial Privacy Act, United States Code, title 12, chapter 35, and need not be furnished to the financial institution.
- (f) County and tribal agencies shall comply with the standards established by the commissioner for appropriate use of the asset verification system specified in section 256.01, subdivision 18f.
- 19.24 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 256B.0622, subdivision 8, is amended to read:
 - Subd. 8. Medical assistance payment for assertive community treatment and intensive residential treatment services. (a) Payment for intensive residential treatment services and assertive community treatment in this section shall be based on one daily rate per provider inclusive of the following services received by an eligible client in a given calendar day: all rehabilitative services under this section, staff travel time to provide rehabilitative services under this section, and nonresidential crisis stabilization services under section 256B.0624.

19.1

19.2

19.3

19.4

19.5

19.6

19.7

19.8

19.9

19.10

19.11

19.12

19.13

19.14

19.15

19.16

19.17

19.18

19.19

19.20

19.21

19.22

19.23

19.26

19.27

19.28

19.29

19.30

19.31

(b) Except as indicated in paragraph (c), payment will not be made to more than one entity for each client for services provided under this section on a given day. If services under this section are provided by a team that includes staff from more than one entity, the team must determine how to distribute the payment among the members.

- (c) The commissioner shall determine one rate for each provider that will bill medical assistance for residential services under this section and one rate for each assertive community treatment provider. If a single entity provides both services, one rate is established for the entity's residential services and another rate for the entity's nonresidential services under this section. A provider is not eligible for payment under this section without authorization from the commissioner. The commissioner shall develop rates using the following criteria:
- (1) the provider's cost for services shall include direct services costs, other program costs, and other costs determined as follows:
- (i) the direct services costs must be determined using actual costs of salaries, benefits, payroll taxes, and training of direct service staff and service-related transportation;
- (ii) other program costs not included in item (i) must be determined as a specified percentage of the direct services costs as determined by item (i). The percentage used shall be determined by the commissioner based upon the average of percentages that represent the relationship of other program costs to direct services costs among the entities that provide similar services;
- (iii) physical plant costs calculated based on the percentage of space within the program that is entirely devoted to treatment and programming. This does not include administrative or residential space;
- (iv) assertive community treatment physical plant costs must be reimbursed as part of the costs described in item (ii); and
- (v) subject to federal approval, up to an additional five percent of the total rate may be added to the program rate as a quality incentive based upon the entity meeting performance criteria specified by the commissioner;
- (2) actual cost is defined as costs which are allowable, allocable, and reasonable, and consistent with federal reimbursement requirements under Code of Federal Regulations, title 48, chapter 1, part 31, relating to for-profit entities, and Office of Management and Budget Circular Number A-122, relating to nonprofit entities;
- (3) the number of service units;

20.1

20.2

20.3

20.4

20.5

20.6

20.7

20.8

20.9

20.10

20.11

20.12

20.13

20.14

20.15

20.16

20.17

20.18

20.19

20.20

20.21

20.22

20.23

20.24

20.25

20.26

20.27

20.28

20.29

20.30

20.31

(4) the degree to which clients will receive services other than services under this section; and

(5) the costs of other services that will be separately reimbursed.

21.1

21.2

21.3

21.4

21.5

21.6

21.7

21.8

21.9

21.10

21.11

21.12

21.13

21.14

21.15

21.16

21.17

21.18

21.19

21.20

21.21

21.22

21.23

21.24

21.25

21.26

21.27

21.28

21.29

21.30

21.31

21.32

- (d) The rate for intensive residential treatment services and assertive community treatment must exclude the medical assistance room and board rate, as defined in section 256B.056, subdivision 5d, and services not covered under this section, such as partial hospitalization, home care, and inpatient services.
- (e) Physician services that are not separately billed may be included in the rate to the extent that a psychiatrist, or other health care professional providing physician services within their scope of practice, is a member of the intensive residential treatment services treatment team. Physician services, whether billed separately or included in the rate, may be delivered by telehealth. For purposes of this paragraph, "telehealth" has the meaning given to "mental health telehealth" in section 256B.0625, subdivision 46, when telehealth is used to provide intensive residential treatment services.
- (f) When services under this section are provided by an assertive community treatment provider, case management functions must be an integral part of the team.
- (g) The rate for a provider must not exceed the rate charged by that provider for the same service to other payors.
- (h) The rates for existing programs must be established prospectively based upon the expenditures and utilization over a prior 12-month period using the criteria established in paragraph (c). The rates for new programs must be established based upon estimated expenditures and estimated utilization using the criteria established in paragraph (c).
- (i) Effective for the rate years beginning on and after January 1, 2024, rates for assertive community treatment, adult residential crisis stabilization services, and intensive residential treatment services must be annually adjusted for inflation using the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services Medicare Economic Index, as forecasted in the fourth third quarter of the calendar year before the rate year. The inflation adjustment must be based on the 12-month period from the midpoint of the previous rate year to the midpoint of the rate year for which the rate is being determined.
- (j) Entities who discontinue providing services must be subject to a settle-up process whereby actual costs and reimbursement for the previous 12 months are compared. In the event that the entity was paid more than the entity's actual costs plus any applicable performance-related funding due the provider, the excess payment must be reimbursed to

the department. If a provider's revenue is less than actual allowed costs due to lower 22.1 utilization than projected, the commissioner may reimburse the provider to recover its actual 22.2 allowable costs. The resulting adjustments by the commissioner must be proportional to the 22.3 percent of total units of service reimbursed by the commissioner and must reflect a difference 22.4 of greater than five percent. 22.5 (k) A provider may request of the commissioner a review of any rate-setting decision 22.6 made under this subdivision. 22.7 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 256B.0625, subdivision 9, is amended 22.8 to read: 22.9 Subd. 9. **Dental services.** (a) Medical assistance covers medically necessary dental 22.10 22.11 services. (b) The following guidelines apply to dental services: 22.12 22.13 (1) posterior fillings are paid at the amalgam rate; (2) application of sealants are covered once every five years per permanent molar; and 22.14 22.15 (3) application of fluoride varnish is covered once every six months. (c) In addition to the services specified in paragraph (b) (a), medical assistance covers 22.16 22.17 the following services: (1) house calls or extended care facility calls for on-site delivery of covered services; 22.18 22.19 (2) behavioral management when additional staff time is required to accommodate behavioral challenges and sedation is not used; 22.20 22.21 (3) oral or IV sedation, if the covered dental service cannot be performed safely without it or would otherwise require the service to be performed under general anesthesia in a 22.22 hospital or surgical center; and 22.23 (4) prophylaxis, in accordance with an appropriate individualized treatment plan, but 22.24 no more than four times per year. 22.25 (d) The commissioner shall not require prior authorization for the services included in 22.26 paragraph (c), clauses (1) to (3), and shall prohibit managed care and county-based purchasing 22.27 plans from requiring prior authorization for the services included in paragraph (c), clauses 22.28 (1) to (3), when provided under sections 256B.69, 256B.692, and 256L.12. 22.29

22.30

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256B.0625, subdivision 12, is amended to read:

Subd. 12. **Eyeglasses, dentures, and prosthetic and orthotic devices.** (a) Medical assistance covers eyeglasses, dentures, and prosthetic and orthotic devices if prescribed by a licensed practitioner.

(b) For purposes of prescribing prosthetic and orthotic devices, "licensed practitioner" includes a physician, an advanced practice registered nurse, a physician assistant, or a podiatrist.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 256B.0625, subdivision 13e, as amended by Laws 2024, chapter 85, section 66, is amended to read:

Subd. 13e. Payment rates. (a) The basis for determining the amount of payment shall be the lower of the ingredient costs of the drugs plus the professional dispensing fee; or the usual and customary price charged to the public. The usual and customary price means the lowest price charged by the provider to a patient who pays for the prescription by cash, check, or charge account and includes prices the pharmacy charges to a patient enrolled in a prescription savings club or prescription discount club administered by the pharmacy or pharmacy chain, unless the prescription savings club or prescription discount club is one in which an individual pays a recurring monthly access fee for unlimited access to a defined list of drugs for which the pharmacy does not bill the member or a payer on a per-standard-transaction basis. The amount of payment basis must be reduced to reflect all discount amounts applied to the charge by any third-party provider/insurer agreement or contract for submitted charges to medical assistance programs. The net submitted charge may not be greater than the patient liability for the service. The professional dispensing fee shall be \$10.77 for prescriptions filled with legend drugs meeting the definition of "covered outpatient drugs" according to United States Code, title 42, section 1396r-8(k)(2). The dispensing fee for intravenous solutions that must be compounded by the pharmacist shall be \$10.77 per claim. The professional dispensing fee for prescriptions filled with over-the-counter drugs meeting the definition of covered outpatient drugs shall be \$10.77 for dispensed quantities equal to or greater than the number of units contained in the manufacturer's original package. The professional dispensing fee shall be prorated based on the percentage of the package dispensed when the pharmacy dispenses a quantity less than the number of units contained in the manufacturer's original package. The pharmacy dispensing fee for prescribed over-the-counter drugs not meeting the definition of covered outpatient drugs shall be \$3.65 for quantities equal to or greater than the number of units

23.1

23.2

23.3

23.4

23.5

23.6

23.7

23.8

23.9

23.10

23.11

23.12

23.13

23.14

23.15

23.16

23.17

23.18

23.19

23.20

23.21

23.22

23.23

23.24

23.25

23.26

23.27

23.28

23.29

23.30

23.31

23.32

23.33

contained in the manufacturer's original package and shall be prorated based on the percentage of the package dispensed when the pharmacy dispenses a quantity less than the number of units contained in the manufacturer's original package. The National Average Drug Acquisition Cost (NADAC) shall be used to determine the ingredient cost of a drug. For drugs for which a NADAC is not reported, the commissioner shall estimate the ingredient cost at the wholesale acquisition cost minus two percent. The ingredient cost of a drug for a provider participating in the federal 340B Drug Pricing Program shall be either the 340B Drug Pricing Program ceiling price established by the Health Resources and Services Administration or NADAC, whichever is lower. Wholesale acquisition cost is defined as the manufacturer's list price for a drug or biological to wholesalers or direct purchasers in the United States, not including prompt pay or other discounts, rebates, or reductions in price, for the most recent month for which information is available, as reported in wholesale price guides or other publications of drug or biological pricing data. The maximum allowable cost of a multisource drug may be set by the commissioner and it shall be comparable to the actual acquisition cost of the drug product and no higher than the NADAC of the generic product. Establishment of the amount of payment for drugs shall not be subject to the requirements of the Administrative Procedure Act.

- (b) Pharmacies dispensing prescriptions to residents of long-term care facilities using an automated drug distribution system meeting the requirements of section 151.58, or a packaging system meeting the packaging standards set forth in Minnesota Rules, part 6800.2700, that govern the return of unused drugs to the pharmacy for reuse, may employ retrospective billing for prescription drugs dispensed to long-term care facility residents. A retrospectively billing pharmacy must submit a claim only for the quantity of medication used by the enrolled recipient during the defined billing period. A retrospectively billing pharmacy must use a billing period not less than one calendar month or 30 days.
- (c) A pharmacy provider using packaging that meets the standards set forth in Minnesota Rules, part 6800.2700, is required to credit the department for the actual acquisition cost of all unused drugs that are eligible for reuse, unless the pharmacy is using retrospective billing. The commissioner may permit the drug clozapine to be dispensed in a quantity that is less than a 30-day supply.
- (d) If a pharmacy dispenses a multisource drug, the ingredient cost shall be the NADAC of the generic product or the maximum allowable cost established by the commissioner unless prior authorization for the brand name product has been granted according to the criteria established by the Drug Formulary Committee as required by subdivision 13f,

24.1

24.2

24.3

24.4

24.5

24.6

24.7

24.8

24.9

24.10

24.11

24.12

24.13

24.14

24.15

24.16

24.17

24.18

24.19

24.20

24.21

24.22

24.23

24.24

24.25

24.26

24.27

24.28

24.29

24.30

24.31

24.32

24.33

paragraph (a), and the prescriber has indicated "dispense as written" on the prescription in a manner consistent with section 151.21, subdivision 2.

- (e) The basis for determining the amount of payment for drugs administered in an outpatient setting shall be the lower of the usual and customary cost submitted by the provider, 106 percent of the average sales price as determined by the United States

 Department of Health and Human Services pursuant to title XVIII, section 1847a of the federal Social Security Act, the specialty pharmacy rate, or the maximum allowable cost set by the commissioner. If average sales price is unavailable, the amount of payment must be lower of the usual and customary cost submitted by the provider, the wholesale acquisition cost, the specialty pharmacy rate, or the maximum allowable cost set by the commissioner. The commissioner shall discount the payment rate for drugs obtained through the federal 340B Drug Pricing Program by 28.6 percent. The payment for drugs administered in an outpatient setting shall be made to the administering facility or practitioner. A retail or specialty pharmacy dispensing a drug for administration in an outpatient setting is not eligible for direct reimbursement.
- (f) The commissioner may establish maximum allowable cost rates for specialty pharmacy products that are lower than the ingredient cost formulas specified in paragraph (a). The commissioner may require individuals enrolled in the health care programs administered by the department to obtain specialty pharmacy products from providers with whom the commissioner has negotiated lower reimbursement rates. Specialty pharmacy products are defined as those used by a small number of recipients or recipients with complex and chronic diseases that require expensive and challenging drug regimens. Examples of these conditions include, but are not limited to: multiple sclerosis, HIV/AIDS, transplantation, hepatitis C, growth hormone deficiency, Crohn's Disease, rheumatoid arthritis, and certain forms of cancer. Specialty pharmaceutical products include injectable and infusion therapies, biotechnology drugs, antihemophilic factor products, high-cost therapies, and therapies that require complex care. The commissioner shall consult with the Formulary Committee to develop a list of specialty pharmacy products subject to maximum allowable cost reimbursement. In consulting with the Formulary Committee in developing this list, the commissioner shall take into consideration the population served by specialty pharmacy products, the current delivery system and standard of care in the state, and access to care issues. The commissioner shall have the discretion to adjust the maximum allowable cost to prevent access to care issues.
- (g) Home infusion therapy services provided by home infusion therapy pharmacies must be paid at rates according to subdivision 8d.

25.1

25.2

25.3

25.4

25.5

25.6

25.7

25.8

25.9

25.10

25.11

25.12

25.13

25.14

25.15

25.16

25.17

25.18

25.19

25.20

25.21

25.22

25.23

25.24

25.25

25.26

25.27

25.28

25.29

25.30

25.31

25.32

25.33

25.34

(h) The commissioner shall contract with a vendor to conduct a cost of dispensing survey for all pharmacies that are physically located in the state of Minnesota that dispense outpatient drugs under medical assistance. The commissioner shall ensure that the vendor has prior experience in conducting cost of dispensing surveys. Each pharmacy enrolled with the department to dispense outpatient prescription drugs to fee-for-service members must respond to the cost of dispensing survey. The commissioner may sanction a pharmacy under section 256B.064 for failure to respond. The commissioner shall require the vendor to measure a single statewide cost of dispensing for specialty prescription drugs and a single statewide cost of dispensing for nonspecialty prescription drugs for all responding pharmacies to measure the mean, mean weighted by total prescription volume, mean weighted by 26.10 medical assistance prescription volume, median, median weighted by total prescription 26.11 volume, and median weighted by total medical assistance prescription volume. The 26.12 commissioner shall post a copy of the final cost of dispensing survey report on the 26.13 department's website. The initial survey must be completed no later than January 1, 2021, 26.14 and repeated every three years. The commissioner shall provide a summary of the results 26.15 of each cost of dispensing survey and provide recommendations for any changes to the 26.16 dispensing fee to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees 26.17 with jurisdiction over medical assistance pharmacy reimbursement. Notwithstanding section 26.18 256.01, subdivision 42, this paragraph does not expire. 26.19

- (i) The commissioner shall increase the ingredient cost reimbursement calculated in paragraphs (a) and (f) by 1.8 percent for prescription and nonprescription drugs subject to the wholesale drug distributor tax under section 295.52.
- Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256B.0625, is amended by adding a subdivision 26.23 to read: 26.24
- Subd. 25c. Applicability of utilization review provisions. Effective January 1, 2026, 26.25 the following provisions of chapter 62M apply to the commissioner when delivering services 26.26 through fee-for-service under chapters 256B and 256L: sections 62M.02, subdivisions 1 to 26.27 5, 7 to 12, 13, 14 to 18, and 21; 62M.04; 62M.05, subdivisions 1 to 4; 62M.06, subdivisions 26.28 1 to 3; 62M.07; 62M.072; 62M.09; 62M.10; 62M.12; and 62M.17, subdivision 2. 26.29
- Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 256B.0701, subdivision 6, is 26.30 amended to read: 26.31
- Subd. 6. Recuperative care facility rate. (a) The recuperative care facility rate is for 26.32 facility costs and must be paid from state money in an amount equal to the medical assistance 26.33

26.1

26.2

26.3

26.4

26.5

26.6

26.7

26.8

26.9

26.20

26.21

room and board MSA equivalent rate as defined in section 256I.03, subdivision 11a, at the time the recuperative care services were provided. The eligibility standards in chapter 256I do not apply to the recuperative care facility rate. The recuperative care facility rate is only paid when the recuperative care services rate is paid to a provider. Providers may opt to only receive the recuperative care services rate.

- (b) Before a recipient is discharged from a recuperative care setting, the provider must ensure that the recipient's medical condition is stabilized or that the recipient is being discharged to a setting that is able to meet that recipient's needs.
- Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 256B.0947, subdivision 7, is amended to read:
 - Subd. 7. **Medical assistance payment and rate setting.** (a) Payment for services in this section must be based on one daily encounter rate per provider inclusive of the following services received by an eligible client in a given calendar day: all rehabilitative services, supports, and ancillary activities under this section, staff travel time to provide rehabilitative services under this section, and crisis response services under section 256B.0624.
 - (b) Payment must not be made to more than one entity for each client for services provided under this section on a given day. If services under this section are provided by a team that includes staff from more than one entity, the team shall determine how to distribute the payment among the members.
 - (c) The commissioner shall establish regional cost-based rates for entities that will bill medical assistance for nonresidential intensive rehabilitative mental health services. In developing these rates, the commissioner shall consider:
- 27.23 (1) the cost for similar services in the health care trade area;
- 27.24 (2) actual costs incurred by entities providing the services;
- 27.25 (3) the intensity and frequency of services to be provided to each client;
- 27.26 (4) the degree to which clients will receive services other than services under this section; 27.27 and
- 27.28 (5) the costs of other services that will be separately reimbursed.
- 27.29 (d) The rate for a provider must not exceed the rate charged by that provider for the same service to other payers.
- 27.31 (e) Effective for the rate years beginning on and after January 1, 2024, rates must be 27.32 annually adjusted for inflation using the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services

27.1

27.2

27.3

27.4

27.5

27.6

27.7

27.8

27.11

27.12

27.13

27.14

27.15

27.16

27.17

27.18

27.19

27.20

27.21

Medicare Economic Index, as forecasted in the <u>fourth third</u> quarter of the calendar year before the rate year. The inflation adjustment must be based on the 12-month period from the midpoint of the previous rate year to the midpoint of the rate year for which the rate is being determined.

Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 256B.764, is amended to read:

256B.764 REIMBURSEMENT FOR FAMILY PLANNING SERVICES.

- (a) Effective for services rendered on or after July 1, 2007, payment rates for family planning services shall be increased by 25 percent over the rates in effect June 30, 2007, when these services are provided by a community clinic as defined in section 145.9268, subdivision 1.
- (b) Effective for services rendered on or after July 1, 2013, payment rates for family planning services shall be increased by 20 percent over the rates in effect June 30, 2013, when these services are provided by a community clinic as defined in section 145.9268, subdivision 1. The commissioner shall adjust capitation rates to managed care and county-based purchasing plans to reflect this increase, and shall require plans to pass on the full amount of the rate increase to eligible community clinics, in the form of higher payment rates for family planning services.
- (c) Effective for services provided on or after January 1, 2024, payment rates for family planning, when such services are provided by an eligible community clinic as defined in section 145.9268, subdivision 1, and abortion services shall be increased by 20 percent. This increase does not apply to federally qualified health centers, rural health centers, or Indian health services.
- Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 256L.03, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
 - Subdivision 1. **Covered health services.** (a) "Covered health services" means the health services reimbursed under chapter 256B, with the exception of special education services, home care nursing services, adult dental care services other than services covered under section 256B.0625, subdivision 9, orthodontic services, nonemergency medical transportation services, personal care assistance and case management services, community first services and supports under section 256B.85, behavioral health home services under section 256B.0757, housing stabilization services under section 256B.051, and nursing home or intermediate care facilities services.

28.1

28.2

28.3

28.4

28.5

28.6

28.7

28.8

28.9

28.10

28.11

28.12

28.13

28.14

28.15

28.16

28.17

28.18

28.19

28.20

28.21

28.22

28.25

28.26

28.27

28.28

28.29

28.30

28.31

- (b) Covered health services shall be expanded as provided in this section.
- (c) For the purposes of covered health services under this section, "child" means an individual younger than 19 years of age.
- Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 524.3-801, as amended by Laws 2024, chapter 79, article 9, section 20, is amended to read:

524.3-801 NOTICE TO CREDITORS.

29.1

29.2

29.3

29.4

29.5

29.6

29.7

29.8

29.9

29.10

29.11

29.12

29.13

29.14

29.15

29.16

29.17

29.18

29.19

29.20

29.21

29.22

29.23

29.24

29.25

29.26

29.27

29.28

29.29

29.30

29.31

29.32

29.33

- (a) Unless notice has already been given under this section, upon appointment of a general personal representative in informal proceedings or upon the filing of a petition for formal appointment of a general personal representative, notice thereof, in the form prescribed by court rule, shall be given under the direction of the court administrator by publication once a week for two successive weeks in a legal newspaper in the county wherein the proceedings are pending giving the name and address of the general personal representative and notifying creditors of the estate to present their claims within four months after the date of the court administrator's notice which is subsequently published or be forever barred, unless they are entitled to further service of notice under paragraph (b) or (c).
- (b) The personal representative shall, within three months after the date of the first publication of the notice, serve a copy of the notice upon each then known and identified creditor in the manner provided in paragraph (c). If the decedent or a predeceased spouse of the decedent received assistance for which a claim could be filed under section 246.53, 256B.15, 256D.16, or 261.04, notice to the commissioner of human services or direct care and treatment executive board, as applicable, must be given under paragraph (d) instead of under this paragraph or paragraph (c). A creditor is "known" if: (i) the personal representative knows that the creditor has asserted a claim that arose during the decedent's life against either the decedent or the decedent's estate; (ii) the creditor has asserted a claim that arose during the decedent's life and the fact is clearly disclosed in accessible financial records known and available to the personal representative; or (iii) the claim of the creditor would be revealed by a reasonably diligent search for creditors of the decedent in accessible financial records known and available to the personal representative. Under this section, a creditor is "identified" if the personal representative's knowledge of the name and address of the creditor will permit service of notice to be made under paragraph (c).
- (c) Unless the claim has already been presented to the personal representative or paid, the personal representative shall serve a copy of the notice required by paragraph (b) upon each creditor of the decedent who is then known to the personal representative and identified either by delivery of a copy of the required notice to the creditor, or by mailing a copy of

the notice to the creditor by certified, registered, or ordinary first class mail addressed to the creditor at the creditor's office or place of residence.

- (d)(1) Effective for decedents dying on or after July 1, 1997, if the decedent or a predeceased spouse of the decedent received assistance for which a claim could be filed under section 246.53, 256B.15, 256D.16, or 261.04, the personal representative or the attorney for the personal representative shall serve the commissioner or executive board, as applicable, with notice in the manner prescribed in paragraph (c), or electronically in a manner prescribed by the commissioner or executive board, as soon as practicable after the appointment of the personal representative. The notice must state the decedent's full name, date of birth, and Social Security number and, to the extent then known after making a reasonably diligent inquiry, the full name, date of birth, and Social Security number for each of the decedent's predeceased spouses. The notice may also contain a statement that, after making a reasonably diligent inquiry, the personal representative has determined that the decedent did not have any predeceased spouses or that the personal representative has been unable to determine one or more of the previous items of information for a predeceased spouse of the decedent. A copy of the notice to creditors must be attached to and be a part of the notice to the commissioner or executive board.
- (2) Notwithstanding a will or other instrument or law to the contrary, except as allowed in this paragraph, no property subject to administration by the estate may be distributed by the estate or the personal representative until 70 days after the date the notice is served on the commissioner or executive board as provided in paragraph (c), unless the local agency consents as provided for in clause (6). This restriction on distribution does not apply to the personal representative's sale of real or personal property, but does apply to the net proceeds the estate receives from these sales. The personal representative, or any person with personal knowledge of the facts, may provide an affidavit containing the description of any real or personal property affected by this paragraph and stating facts showing compliance with this paragraph. If the affidavit describes real property, it may be filed or recorded in the office of the county recorder or registrar of titles for the county where the real property is located. This paragraph does not apply to proceedings under sections 524.3-1203 and 525.31, or when a duly authorized agent of a county is acting as the personal representative of the estate.
- (3) At any time before an order or decree is entered under section 524.3-1001 or 524.3-1002, or a closing statement is filed under section 524.3-1003, the personal representative or the attorney for the personal representative may serve an amended notice on the commissioner or executive board to add variations or other names of the decedent

30.1

30.2

30.3

30.4

30.5

30.6

30.7

30.8

30.9

30.10

30.11

30.12

30.13

30.14

30.15

30.16

30.17

30.18

30.19

30.20

30.21

30.22

30.23

30.24

30.25

30.26

30.27

30.28

30.29

30.30

30.31

30.32

30.33

30.34

or a predeceased spouse named in the notice, the name of a predeceased spouse omitted from the notice, to add or correct the date of birth or Social Security number of a decedent or predeceased spouse named in the notice, or to correct any other deficiency in a prior notice. The amended notice must state the decedent's name, date of birth, and Social Security number, the case name, case number, and district court in which the estate is pending, and the date the notice being amended was served on the commissioner or executive board. If the amendment adds the name of a predeceased spouse omitted from the notice, it must also state that spouse's full name, date of birth, and Social Security number. The amended notice must be served on the commissioner or executive board in the same manner as the original notice. Upon service, the amended notice relates back to and is effective from the date the notice it amends was served, and the time for filing claims arising under section 246.53, 256B.15, 256D.16 or 261.04 is extended by 60 days from the date of service of the amended notice. Claims filed during the 60-day period are undischarged and unbarred claims, may be prosecuted by the entities entitled to file those claims in accordance with section 524.3-1004, and the limitations in section 524.3-1006 do not apply. The personal representative or any person with personal knowledge of the facts may provide and file or record an affidavit in the same manner as provided for in clause (1).

(4) Within one year after the date an order or decree is entered under section 524.3-1001 or 524.3-1002 or a closing statement is filed under section 524.3-1003, any person who has an interest in property that was subject to administration by the estate may serve an amended notice on the commissioner or executive board to add variations or other names of the decedent or a predeceased spouse named in the notice, the name of a predeceased spouse omitted from the notice, to add or correct the date of birth or Social Security number of a decedent or predeceased spouse named in the notice, or to correct any other deficiency in a prior notice. The amended notice must be served on the commissioner or executive board in the same manner as the original notice and must contain the information required for amendments under clause (3). If the amendment adds the name of a predeceased spouse omitted from the notice, it must also state that spouse's full name, date of birth, and Social Security number. Upon service, the amended notice relates back to and is effective from the date the notice it amends was served. If the amended notice adds the name of an omitted predeceased spouse or adds or corrects the Social Security number or date of birth of the decedent or a predeceased spouse already named in the notice, then, notwithstanding any other laws to the contrary, claims against the decedent's estate on account of those persons resulting from the amendment and arising under section 246.53, 256B.15, 256D.16, or 261.04 are undischarged and unbarred claims, may be prosecuted by the entities entitled to file those claims in accordance with section 524.3-1004, and the limitations in section

31.1

31.2

31.3

31.4

31.5

31.6

31.7

31.8

31.9

31.10

31.11

31.12

31.13

31.14

31.15

31.16

31.17

31.18

31.19

31.20

31.21

31.22

31.23

31.24

31.25

31.26

31.27

31.28

31.29

31.30

31.31

31.32

31.33

31.34

31.35

524.3-1006 do not apply. The person filing the amendment or any other person with personal knowledge of the facts may provide and file or record an affidavit describing affected real or personal property in the same manner as clause (1).

- (5) After one year from the date an order or decree is entered under section 524.3-1001 or 524.3-1002, or a closing statement is filed under section 524.3-1003, no error, omission, or defect of any kind in the notice to the commissioner or executive board required under this paragraph or in the process of service of the notice on the commissioner or executive board, or the failure to serve the commissioner or executive board with notice as required by this paragraph, makes any distribution of property by a personal representative void or voidable. The distributee's title to the distributed property shall be free of any claims based upon a failure to comply with this paragraph.
- (6) The local agency may consent to a personal representative's request to distribute property subject to administration by the estate to distributees during the 70-day period after service of notice on the commissioner or executive board. The local agency may grant or deny the request in whole or in part and may attach conditions to its consent as it deems appropriate. When the local agency consents to a distribution, it shall give the estate a written certificate evidencing its consent to the early distribution of assets at no cost. The certificate must include the name, case number, and district court in which the estate is pending, the name of the local agency, describe the specific real or personal property to which the consent applies, state that the local agency consents to the distribution of the specific property described in the consent during the 70-day period following service of the notice on the commissioner or executive board, state that the consent is unconditional or list all of the terms and conditions of the consent, be dated, and may include other contents as may be appropriate. The certificate must be signed by the director of the local agency or the director's designees and is effective as of the date it is dated unless it provides otherwise. The signature of the director or the director's designee does not require any acknowledgment. The certificate shall be prima facie evidence of the facts it states, may be attached to or combined with a deed or any other instrument of conveyance and, when so attached or combined, shall constitute a single instrument. If the certificate describes real property, it shall be accepted for recording or filing by the county recorder or registrar of titles in the county in which the property is located. If the certificate describes real property and is not attached to or combined with a deed or other instrument of conveyance, it shall be accepted for recording or filing by the county recorder or registrar of titles in the county in which the property is located. The certificate constitutes a waiver of the 70-day period provided for in clause (2) with respect to the property it describes and is prima facie evidence of service of notice on the

32.1

32.2

32.3

32.4

32.5

32.6

32.7

32.8

32.9

32.10

32.11

32.12

32.13

32.14

32.15

32.16

32.17

32.18

32.19

32.20

32.21

32.22

32.23

32.24

32.25

32.26

32.27

32.28

32.29

32.30

32.31

32.32

32.33

32.34

commissioner or executive board. The certificate is not a waiver or relinquishment of any claims arising under section 246.53, 256B.15, 256D.16, or 261.04, and does not otherwise constitute a waiver of any of the personal representative's duties under this paragraph.

- Distributees who receive property pursuant to a consent to an early distribution shall remain liable to creditors of the estate as provided for by law.
- (7) All affidavits provided for under this paragraph:

33.1

33.2

33.3

33.4

33.5

33.6

33.9

33.10

33.11

33.12

33.19

33.20

33.21

33.22

33.23

33.24

33.25

33.26

33.27

33.28

33.29

33.30

33.31

- 33.7 (i) shall be provided by persons who have personal knowledge of the facts stated in the affidavit;
 - (ii) may be filed or recorded in the office of the county recorder or registrar of titles in the county in which the real property they describe is located for the purpose of establishing compliance with the requirements of this paragraph; and
 - (iii) are prima facie evidence of the facts stated in the affidavit.
- (8) This paragraph applies to the estates of decedents dying on or after July 1, 1997.

 Clause (5) also applies with respect to all notices served on the commissioner of human

 services before July 1, 1997, under Laws 1996, chapter 451, article 2, section 55. All notices

 served on the commissioner before July 1, 1997, pursuant to Laws 1996, chapter 451, article

 2, section 55, shall be deemed to be legally sufficient for the purposes for which they were

 intended, notwithstanding any errors, omissions or other defects.

Sec. 17. <u>DIRECTION TO COMMISSIONER; REIMBURSEMENT FOR</u> <u>EXTRACORPOREAL MEMBRANE OXYGENATION CANNULATION AS AN</u> OUTPATIENT SERVICE.

The commissioner of human services, in consultation with providers and hospitals, shall determine the feasibility of an outpatient reimbursement mechanism for medical assistance coverage of extracorporeal membrane oxygenation (ECMO) cannulation performed outside an inpatient hospital setting or in a self-contained mobile ECMO unit. If an outpatient reimbursement mechanism is feasible, then the commissioner of human services shall develop a recommended payment mechanism. By January 15, 2025, the commissioner of human services shall submit a recommendation and the required legislative language to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over health care finance. If such a payment mechanism is infeasible, the commissioner of human services shall submit an explanation as to why it is infeasible.

34.1	ARTICLE 3		
34.2	HEALTH CARE		
34.3	Section 1. [62J.805] DEFINITIONS.		
34.4	Subdivision 1. Application. For purposes of sections 62J.805 to 62J.808, the following		
34.5	terms have the meanings given.		
34.6	Subd. 2. Health care provider. "Health care provider" means:		
34.7	(1) a health professional who is licensed or registered by Minnesota to provide health		
34.8	treatments and services within the professional's scope of practice and in accordance with		
34.9	state law;		
34.10	(2) a group practice; or		
34.11	(3) a hospital.		
34.12	Subd. 3. Health plan. "Health plan" has the meaning given in section 62A.011,		
34.13	subdivision 3.		
34.14	Subd. 4. Hospital. "Hospital" means a health care facility licensed as a hospital under		
34.15	sections 144.50 to 144.56.		
34.16	Subd. 5. Group practice. "Group practice" has the meaning given to health care provider		
34.17	group practice in section 145D.01, subdivision 1.		
34.18	Subd. 6. Medically necessary. "Medically necessary" means:		
34.19	(1) safe and effective;		
34.20	(2) not experimental or investigational, except as set forth in Code of Federal Regulations,		
34.21	title 42, section 411.15(o);		
34.22	(3) furnished in accordance with acceptable medical standards of medical practice for		
34.23	the diagnosis or treatment of the patient's condition or to improve the function of a malformed		
34.24	body member;		
34.25	(4) furnished in a setting appropriate to the patient's medical need and condition;		
34.26	(5) ordered and furnished by qualified personnel;		
34.27	(6) meets, but does not exceed, the patient's medical need; and		
34.28	(7) is at least as beneficial as an existing and available medically appropriate alternative.		
34.29	Subd. 7. Miscode. "Miscode" means a health care provider or a health care provider's		
34.30	designee, using a coding system and for billing purposes, assigns a numeric or alphanumeric		

code to a health treatment or service provided to a patient and the code assigned does not 35.1 accurately reflect the health treatment or service provided based on factors that include the 35.2 patient's diagnosis and the complexity of the patient's condition. 35.3 Subd. 8. Payment. "Payment" includes co-payments and coinsurance and deductible 35.4 35.5 payments made by a patient. Sec. 2. [62J.806] POLICY FOR COLLECTION OF MEDICAL DEBT. 35.6 Subdivision 1. Requirement. Each health care provider must make available to the 35.7 public the health care provider's policy for the collection of medical debt from patients. This 35.8 policy must be made available by: 35.9 (1) clearly posting it on the health care provider's website, or for health professionals, 35.10 on the website of the health clinic, group practice, or hospital at which the health professional 35.11 is employed or under contract; and 35.12 35.13 (2) providing a copy of the policy to any individual who requests it. Subd. 2. Content. A policy made available under this section must at least specify the 35.14 35.15 procedures followed by the health care provider for: (1) communicating with patients about the medical debt owed and collecting medical 35.16 debt; 35.17 (2) referring medical debt to a collection agency or law firm for collection; and 35.18 (3) identifying medical debt as uncollectible or satisfied, and ending collection activities. 35.19 Sec. 3. [62J.807] DENIAL OF HEALTH TREATMENTS OR SERVICES DUE TO 35.20 **OUTSTANDING MEDICAL DEBT.** 35.21 (a) A health care provider must not deny medically necessary health treatments or services 35.22 to a patient or any member of the patient's family or household because of outstanding or 35.23 previously outstanding medical debt owed by the patient or any member of the patient's 35.24 35.25 family or household to the health care provider, regardless of whether the health treatment or service may be available from another health care provider. 35.26 (b) As a condition of providing medically necessary health treatments or services in the 35.27 circumstances described in paragraph (a), a health care provider may require the patient to 35.28 enroll in a payment plan for the outstanding medical debt owed to the health care provider. 35.29

Sec. 4. [62J.808	BILLING AND P	AYMENT FOR	MISCODED	HEALTH
TREATMENTS .	AND SERVICES.			

Subdivision 1. Participation and cooperation required. Each health care provider must participate in, and cooperate with, all processes and investigations to identify, review, and correct the coding of health treatments and services that are miscoded by the health care provider or a designee.

- Subd. 2. Notice; billing and payment during review. (a) When a health care provider receives notice, other than notice from a health plan company as provided in paragraph (b), or otherwise determines that a health treatment or service may have been miscoded, the health care provider must notify the health plan company administering the patient's health plan in a timely manner of the potentially miscoded health treatment or service.
- (b) When a health plan company receives notice, other than notice from a health care provider as provided in paragraph (a), or otherwise determines that a health treatment or service may have been miscoded, the health plan company must notify the health care provider who provided the health treatment or service of the potentially miscoded health treatment or service.
- (c) When a review of a potentially miscoded health treatment or service is commenced, the health care provider and health plan company must notify the patient that a miscoding review is being conducted and that the patient will not be billed for any health treatment or service subject to the review and is not required to submit payments for any health treatment or service subject to the review until the review is complete and any miscoded health treatments or services are correctly coded.
- (d) While a review of a potentially miscoded health treatment or service is being conducted, the health care provider and health plan company must not bill the patient for, or accept payment from the patient for, any health treatment or service subject to the review.
- Subd. 3. Billing and payment after completion of review. The health care provider and health plan company may bill the patient for, and accept payment from the patient for, the health treatment or service that was subject to the miscoding review only after the review is complete and any miscoded health treatments or services have been correctly coded.
- Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 62V.02, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
- 36.32 <u>Subd. 7a.</u> <u>MinnesotaCare public option.</u> "MinnesotaCare public option" or "public option" has the meaning provided in section 256L.01, subdivision 5a.

36.1

36.2

36.3

36.4

36.5

36.6

36.7

36.8

36.9

36.10

36.11

36.12

36.13

36.14

36.15

36.16

36.17

36.18

36.19

36.20

36.21

36.22

36.23

36.24

36.25

36.26

36.27

36.28

37.1	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2028, or upon federal approval,
37.2	whichever is later. The commissioner of commerce shall notify the revisor of statutes when
37.3	federal approval is obtained.
37.4	Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 62V.02, is amended by adding a subdivision to
37.5	read:
37.6	Subd. 7b. MinnesotaCare public option enrollee. "MinnesotaCare public option
37.7	enrollee" or "public option enrollee" has the meaning provided in section 256L.01,
37.8	subdivision 5b.
37.9	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2028, or upon federal approval,
37.10	whichever is later. The commissioner of commerce shall notify the revisor of statutes when
37.11	federal approval is obtained.
37.12	Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 62V.03, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
37.13	Subdivision 1. Creation. MNsure is created as a board under section 15.012, paragraph
37.14	(a), to:
37.15	(1) promote informed consumer choice, innovation, competition, quality, value, market
37.16	participation, affordability, suitable and meaningful choices, health improvement, care
37.17	management, reduction of health disparities, and portability of health plans and the public
37.18	option;
37.19	(2) facilitate and simplify the comparison, choice, enrollment, and purchase of health
37.20	plans for individuals purchasing in the individual market through MNsure and, for employees
37.21	and employers purchasing in the small group market through MNsure, and for individuals
37.22	purchasing the public option;
37.23	(3) assist small employers with access to small business health insurance tax credits and
37.24	to assist individuals with access to public health care programs, premium assistance tax
37.25	credits and cost-sharing reductions, and certificates of exemption from individual
37.26	responsibility requirements;
37.27	(4) facilitate the integration and transition of individuals between public health care
37.28	programs, including the public option, and health plans in the individual or group market
37.29	and develop processes that, to the maximum extent possible, provide for continuous coverage;
37.30	and

38.1	(5) establish and modify as necessary a name and brand for MNsure based on market
38.2	studies that show maximum effectiveness in attracting the uninsured and motivating them
38.3	to take action-; and
38.4	(6) ensure simple, convenient, and understandable access to enrollment in the public
38.5	option through the MNsure website.
38.6	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2028, or upon federal approval,
38.7	whichever is later. The commissioner of commerce shall notify the revisor of statutes when
38.8	federal approval is obtained.
38.9	Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 62V.03, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
38.10	Subd. 3. Continued operation of a private marketplace. (a) Nothing in this chapter
38.11	shall be construed to prohibit: (1) a health carrier from offering outside of MNsure a health
38.12	plan to a qualified individual or qualified employer; and (2) a qualified individual from
38.13	enrolling in, or a qualified employer from selecting for its employees, a health plan offered
38.14	outside of MNsure.
38.15	(b) Nothing in this chapter shall be construed to restrict the choice of a qualified individual
38.16	to enroll or not enroll in a qualified health plan, the public option, or to participate in MNsure.
38.17	Nothing in this chapter shall be construed to compel an individual to enroll in a qualified
38.18	health plan, the public option, or to participate in MNsure.
38.19	(c) For purposes of this subdivision, "qualified individual" and "qualified employer"
38.20	have the meanings given in section 1312 of the Affordable Care Act, Public Law 111-148,
38.21	and further defined through amendments to the act and regulations issued under the act.
38.22	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2028, or upon federal approval,
38.23	whichever is later. The commissioner of commerce shall notify the revisor of statutes when
38.24	federal approval is obtained.
38.25	Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 62V.05, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
38.26	Subd. 3. Insurance producers. (a) By April 30, 2013, the board, in consultation with
38.27	the commissioner of commerce, shall establish certification requirements that must be met
38.28	by insurance producers in order to assist individuals and small employers with purchasing
38.29	coverage through MNsure. Prior to January 1, 2015, the board may amend the requirements,
38.30	only if necessary, due to a change in federal rules.
38.31	(b) Certification requirements under paragraph (a) shall not exceed the requirements

38.32

established under Code of Federal Regulations, title 45, part section 155.220. Certification

shall include training on health plans available through MNsure, available tax credits and cost-sharing arrangements, compliance with privacy and security standards, eligibility verification processes, online enrollment tools, and basic information on available public health care programs. Training required for certification under this subdivision shall qualify for continuing education requirements for insurance producers required under chapter 60K, and must comply with course approval requirements under chapter 45.

- (c) <u>For enrollment in qualified health plans</u>, producer compensation shall be established by health carriers that provide health plans through MNsure. The structure of compensation to insurance producers must be similar for health plans sold through MNsure and outside MNsure.
- (d) Any insurance producer compensation structure established by a health carrier for the small group market must include compensation for defined contribution plans that involve multiple health carriers. The compensation offered must be commensurate with other small group market defined health plans.
- (e) Any insurance producer assisting an individual or small employer with purchasing coverage through MNsure must disclose, orally and in writing, to the individual or small employer at the time of the first solicitation with the prospective purchaser the following:
- (1) the health carriers and qualified health plans offered through MNsure that the producer is authorized to sell, and that the producer may not be authorized to sell all the qualified health plans offered through MNsure;
- (2) that the producer may be receiving compensation from a health carrier for enrolling the individual or small employer into a particular health plan; and
- 39.23 (3) that information on all qualified health plans offered through MNsure and the public option is available through the MNsure website-; and
- 39.25 (4) that the producer may receive compensation from the state for enrolling an individual in the public option.
 - For purposes of this paragraph, "solicitation" means any contact by a producer, or any person acting on behalf of a producer made for the purpose of selling or attempting to sell coverage through MNsure. If the first solicitation is made by telephone, the disclosures required under this paragraph need not be made in writing, but the fact that disclosure has been made must be acknowledged on the application.
 - (f) Beginning January 15, 2015, each health carrier that offers or sells qualified health plans through MNsure shall report in writing to the board and the commissioner of commerce

39.1

39.2

39.3

39.4

39.5

39.6

39.7

39.8

39.9

39.10

39.11

39.12

39.13

39.14

39.15

39.16

39.17

39.18

39.19

39.20

39.21

39.22

39.27

39.28

39.29

39.30

39.31

39.32

the compensation and other incentives it offers or provides to insurance producers with regard to each type of health plan the health carrier offers or sells both inside and outside of MNsure. Each health carrier shall submit a report annually and upon any change to the compensation or other incentives offered or provided to insurance producers.

- (g) Nothing in this chapter shall prohibit an insurance producer from offering professional advice and recommendations to a small group purchaser based upon information provided to the producer.
- (h) An insurance producer that offers health plans in the small group market shall notify each small group purchaser of which group health plans qualify for Internal Revenue Service approved section 125 tax benefits. The insurance producer shall also notify small group purchasers of state law provisions that benefit small group plans when the employer agrees to pay 50 percent or more of its employees' premium. Individuals who are eligible for cost-effective medical assistance will count toward the 75 percent participation requirement in section 62L.03, subdivision 3.
- (i) Nothing in this subdivision shall be construed to limit the licensure requirements or regulatory functions of the commissioner of commerce under chapter 60K.
- (j) The board may establish certification requirements that must be met by insurance producers in order to assist individuals with enrolling in the public option.
- 40.19 (k) Health carriers must pay an insurance producer a \$...... application assistance bonus 40.20 for each applicant the insurance producer successfully enrolls in the public option.
- 40.21 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective upon federal approval of the state's section 1332 waiver request to establish a public option. The commissioner of commerce shall notify the revisor of statutes when federal approval is obtained.
- Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 62V.05, subdivision 6, is amended to read:
 - Subd. 6. **Appeals.** (a) The board may conduct hearings, appoint hearing officers, and recommend final orders related to appeals of any MNsure determinations, except for those determinations identified in paragraph (d). An appeal by a health carrier regarding a specific certification or selection determination made by MNsure under subdivision 5 must be conducted as a contested case proceeding under chapter 14, with the report or order of the administrative law judge constituting the final decision in the case, subject to judicial review under sections 14.63 to 14.69. For other appeals, the board shall establish hearing processes which provide for a reasonable opportunity to be heard and timely resolution of the appeal

40.1

40.2

40.3

40.4

40.5

40.6

40.7

40.8

40.9

40.10

40.11

40.12

40.13

40.14

40.15

40.16

40.17

40.18

40.25

40.26

40.27

40.28

40.29

40.30

40.31

and which are consistent with the requirements of federal law and guidance. An appealing party may be represented by legal counsel at these hearings, but this is not a requirement.

- (b) MNsure may establish service-level agreements with state agencies to conduct hearings for appeals. Notwithstanding section 471.59, subdivision 1, a state agency is authorized to enter into service-level agreements for this purpose with MNsure.
- (c) For proceedings under this subdivision, MNsure may be represented by an attorney who is an employee of MNsure.
- (d) This subdivision does not apply to appeals of determinations where a state agency hearing is available under section 256.045.
- (e) An appellant aggrieved by an order of MNsure issued in an eligibility appeal, as defined in Minnesota Rules, part 7700.0101, may appeal the order to the district court of the appellant's county of residence by serving a written copy of a notice of appeal upon MNsure and any other adverse party of record within 30 days after the date MNsure issued the order, the amended order, or order affirming the original order, and by filing the original notice and proof of service with the court administrator of the district court. Service may be made personally or by mail; service by mail is complete upon mailing; no filing fee shall be required by the court administrator in appeals taken pursuant to this subdivision. MNsure shall furnish all parties to the proceedings with a copy of the decision and a transcript of any testimony, evidence, or other supporting papers from the hearing held before the appeals examiner within 45 days after service of the notice of appeal.
- 41.21 (f) Any party aggrieved by the failure of an adverse party to obey an order issued by
 41.22 MNsure may compel performance according to the order in the manner prescribed in sections
 41.23 586.01 to 586.12.
 - (g) Any party may obtain a hearing at a special term of the district court by serving a written notice of the time and place of the hearing at least ten days prior to the date of the hearing. The court may consider the matter in or out of chambers, and shall take no new or additional evidence unless it determines that such evidence is necessary for a more equitable disposition of the appeal.
 - (h) Any party aggrieved by the order of the district court may appeal the order as in other civil cases. No costs or disbursements shall be taxed against any party nor shall any filing fee or bond be required of any party.
- 41.32 (i) If MNsure or district court orders eligibility for qualified health plan coverage through
 41.33 MNsure, the MinnesotaCare public option, or eligibility for federal advance payment of

41.1

41.2

41.3

41.4

41.5

41.6

41.7

41.8

41.9

41.10

41.11

41.12

41.13

41.14

41.15

41.16

41.17

41.18

41.19

41.20

41.24

41.25

41.26

41.27

41.28

41.29

41.30

premium tax credits or cost-sharing reductions contingent upon full payment of respective 42.1 premiums, the premiums must be paid or provided pending appeal to the district court, court 42.2 of appeals, or supreme court. Provision of eligibility by MNsure pending appeal does not 42.3 render moot MNsure's position in a court of law. 42.4 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2028, or upon federal approval, 42.5 whichever is later. The commissioner of commerce shall notify the revisor of statutes when 42.6 federal approval is obtained. 42.7 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 62V.05, subdivision 11, is amended to read: 42.8 Subd. 11. **Prohibition on other product lines.** MNsure is prohibited from certifying, 42.9 selecting, or offering products and policies of coverage that do not meet the definition of 42.10 health plan or dental plan as provided in section 62V.02. Nothing in this subdivision prevents 42.11 the commissioner of human services from offering the public option on the MNsure website. 42.12 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2028, or upon federal approval, 42.13 whichever is later. The commissioner of commerce shall notify the revisor of statutes when 42.14 42.15 federal approval is obtained. 42.16 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 62V.05, subdivision 12, is amended to read: Subd. 12. Reports on interagency agreements and intra-agency transfers. The 42.17 MNsure Board shall provide quarterly reports to the chairs and ranking minority members 42.18 of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over health and human services policy and 42.19 finance on: legislative reports on interagency agreements and intra-agency transfers according 42.20 to section 15.0395. 42.21 (1) interagency agreements or service-level agreements and any renewals or extensions 42.22 42.23 of existing interagency or service-level agreements with a state department under section 42.24 15.01, state agency under section 15.012, or the Department of Information Technology Services, with a value of more than \$100,000, or related agreements with the same department 42.25 or agency with a cumulative value of more than \$100,000; and 42.26 (2) transfers of appropriations of more than \$100,000 between accounts within or between 42.27 agencies. 42.28 The report must include the statutory citation authorizing the agreement, transfer or dollar 42.29 amount, purpose, and effective date of the agreement, the duration of the agreement, and a 42.30 copy of the agreement. 42.31

42.32

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 62V.05, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

Subd. 13. MinnesotaCare public option. The board has the powers and duties provided in section 62V.14, with respect to the MinnesotaCare public option.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2028, or upon federal approval, whichever is later. The commissioner of commerce shall notify the revisor of statutes when federal approval is obtained.

Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 62V.051, is amended to read:

62V.051 MNSURE; CONSUMER RETROACTIVE APPOINTMENT OF A NAVIGATOR OR PRODUCER PERMITTED.

Notwithstanding any other law or rule to the contrary, for up to six months after the effective date of the qualified health plan or coverage under the public option, MNsure must permit a qualified health plan policyholder or public option enrollee, who has not designated a navigator or an insurance producer, to retroactively appoint a navigator or insurance producer. In the case of a qualified health plan, MNsure must provide notice of the retroactive appointment to the health carrier. The health carrier must retroactively pay commissions to the insurance producer if the producer can demonstrate that they were certified by MNsure at the time of the original enrollment, were appointed by the selected health carrier at the time of the effective date of the policy. MNsure must adopt a standard form of agent of record agreement for purposes of this section. In the case of the public option, MNsure must provide notice of the retroactive appointment to the managed care or county-based purchasing plan, and the plan must retroactively pay commissions to the insurance producer if the producer can demonstrate they were certified by MNsure at the time of the original enrollment.

43.26 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2028, or upon federal approval,
43.27 whichever is later. The commissioner of commerce shall notify the revisor of statutes when
43.28 federal approval is obtained.

Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 62V.06, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. **Application and certification data.** (a) Data submitted by an insurance producer in an application for certification to sell a health plan or the public option through MNsure,

43.3

43.4

43.5

43.6

43.7

43.8

43.9

43.10

43.11

43.12

43.13

43.14

43.15

43.16

43.17

43.18

43.19

43.20

43.21

43.22

43.23

43.24

43.25

43.30

or submitted by an applicant seeking permission or a commission to act as a navigator or in-person assister, are classified as follows:

- (1) at the time the application is submitted, all data contained in the application are private data, as defined in section 13.02, subdivision 12, or nonpublic data as defined in section 13.02, subdivision 9, except that the name of the applicant is public; and
- (2) upon a final determination related to the application for certification by MNsure, all data contained in the application are public, with the exception of trade secret data as defined in section 13.37.
- (b) Data created or maintained by a government entity as part of the evaluation of an application are protected nonpublic data, as defined in section 13.02, subdivision 13, until a final determination as to certification is made and all rights of appeal have been exhausted. Upon a final determination and exhaustion of all rights of appeal, these data are public, with the exception of trade secret data as defined in section 13.37 and data subject to attorney-client privilege or other protection as provided in section 13.393.
- (c) If an application is denied, the public data must include the criteria used by the board to evaluate the application and the specific reasons for the denial, and these data must be published on the MNsure website.
- EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2028, or upon federal approval,
 whichever is later. The commissioner of commerce shall notify the revisor of statutes when
 federal approval is obtained.
- Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 62V.08, is amended to read:

62V.08 REPORTS.

44.1

44.2

44.3

44.4

44.5

44.6

44.7

44.8

44.9

44.10

44.11

44.12

44.13

44.14

44.15

44.16

44.17

44.23

44.24

44.25

44.26

44.27

44.28

44.29

44.30

44.31

44.32

- (a) MNsure shall submit a report to the legislature by January 15, 2015 March 31, 2025, and each January 15 March 31 thereafter, on: (1) the performance of MNsure operations; (2) meeting MNsure responsibilities; (3) an accounting of MNsure budget activities; (4) practices and procedures that have been implemented to ensure compliance with data practices laws, and a description of any violations of data practices laws or procedures; and (5) the effectiveness of the outreach and implementation activities of MNsure in reducing the rate of uninsurance.
- (b) MNsure must publish its administrative and operational costs on a website to educate consumers on those costs. The information published must include: (1) the amount of premiums and federal premium subsidies collected; (2) the amount and source of revenue received under section 62V.05, subdivision 1, paragraph (b), clause (3); (3) the amount and

source of any other fees collected for purposes of supporting operations; and (4) any misuse 45.1 of funds as identified in accordance with section 3.975. The website must be updated at 45.2 45.3 least annually. Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 62V.11, subdivision 4, is amended to read: 45.4 Subd. 4. Review of costs. The board shall submit for review the annual budget of MNsure 45.5 for the next fiscal year by March 15 31 of each year, beginning March 15, 2014 31, 2025. 45.6 Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 62V.13, subdivision 3, is amended 45.7 to read: 45.8 Subd. 3. Outreach letter and special enrollment period. (a) MNsure must provide a 45.9 written letter of the projected assessment under subdivision 2 to a taxpayer who indicates 45.10 to the commissioner of revenue that the taxpayer is interested in obtaining information on 45.11 access to health insurance. 45.12 (b) MNsure must allow a special enrollment period for taxpayers who receive the outreach 45.13 letter in paragraph (a) and are determined eligible to enroll in a qualified health plan through 45.14 MNsure or in the public option. The triggering event for the special enrollment period is 45.15 the day the outreach letter under this subdivision is mailed to the taxpayer. An eligible 45.16 individual, and their dependents, have 65 days from the triggering event to select a qualifying 45.17 health plan or the public option and coverage for the qualifying health plan or the public 45.18 option is effective the first day of the month after plan selection. 45.19 (c) Taxpayers who have a member of the taxpayer's household currently enrolled in a 45.20 qualified health plan through MNsure or in the public option are not eligible for the special 45.21 enrollment under paragraph (b). 45.22 45.23 (d) MNsure must provide information to the general public about the easy enrollment 45.24 health insurance outreach program and the special enrollment period described in this subdivision. 45.25 45.26 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2028, or upon federal approval, whichever is later. The commissioner of commerce shall notify the revisor of statutes when 45.27 federal approval is obtained. 45.28 Sec. 19. [62V.14] PUBLIC OPTION; APPLICATION AND ENROLLMENT. 45.29

Article 3 Sec. 19.

45.30

45.31

must be able to enroll in the public option on the MNsure website.

Subdivision 1. **Public option application.** (a) An individual eligible for the public option

6.1	(b) An individual must be able to apply for and, if eligible, enroll in the public option
6.2	by completing the application for a qualified health plan with premium tax credits or
6.3	cost-sharing reductions. An individual must provide information needed to confirm they
6.4	are not eligible for medical assistance under chapter 256B or MinnesotaCare under chapter
6.5	256L through an eligibility pathway other than the public option.
6.6	(c) MNsure must ensure that individuals interested in applying for a qualified health
6.7	plan or the public option are able to compare coverage options in a simple, convenient, and
6.8	understandable manner on the MNsure website. The website must present the coverage
6.9	options in a comparable and standardized manner to the extent practicable.
6.10	(d) The MNsure website must include clear and conspicuous language stating that
6.11	individuals can apply for the public option on the website.
6.12	Subd. 2. Eligibility determinations. (a) MNsure shall process all public option
6.13	applications and make all eligibility determinations for the public option. MNsure shall
6.14	make all public option eligibility determinations in accordance with section 256L.04,
6.15	subdivision 15.
6.16	(b) Eligibility for the public option is appealable to the MNsure board under this chapter
6.17	and Minnesota Rules, chapter 7700.
6.18	Subd. 3. Administrative functions. MNsure shall provide administrative functions to
6.19	facilitate the offering of the public option by the commissioner of human services. These
6.20	functions include but are not limited to marketing, call center operations, and certification
6.21	of insurance producers. MNsure may provide additional administrative functions as requested
6.22	by the commissioner of human services.
6.23	Subd. 4. Diversion of resources. MNsure may utilize existing resources, personnel, and
6.24	operations to carry out its duties under this section.
6.25	Subd. 5. No limitation. Nothing in this section limits the rights of MinnesotaCare public
6.26	option enrollees or the commissioner of human services under chapter 256L.
6.27	Subd. 6. Contracting authorization. The MNsure board may contract on a single-source
6.28	basis under section 16C.10, subdivision 1, with a third-party entity already providing
6.29	technical support to the board to develop and implement the technological requirements of
6.30	this section.
6.31	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective upon federal approval of the state's
6.32	section 1332 waiver application to establish a public option. The commissioner of commerce
6.33	shall notify the revisor of statutes when federal approval is obtained.

47.1	Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 144.587, subdivision 4, is amended
47.2	to read:
47.3	Subd. 4. Prohibited actions. (a) A hospital must not initiate one or more of the following
47.4	actions until the hospital determines that the patient is ineligible for charity care or denies
47.5	an application for charity care:
47.6	(1) offering to enroll or enrolling the patient in a payment plan;
47.7	(2) changing the terms of a patient's payment plan;
47.8	(3) offering the patient a loan or line of credit, application materials for a loan or line of
47.9	credit, or assistance with applying for a loan or line of credit, for the payment of medical
47.10	debt;
47.11	(4) referring a patient's debt for collections, including in-house collections, third-party
47.12	collections, revenue recapture, or any other process for the collection of debt; or
47.13	(5) denying health care services to the patient or any member of the patient's household
47.14	because of outstanding medical debt, regardless of whether the services are deemed necessary
47.15	or may be available from another provider; or
47.16	(6) (5) accepting a credit card payment of over \$500 for the medical debt owed to the
47.17	hospital.
47.18	(b) A violation of section 62J.807 is a violation of this section.
47.19	Sec. 21. [145.076] INFORMED CONSENT REQUIRED FOR SENSITIVE
47.20	EXAMINATIONS.
47.21	Subdivision 1. Definition. For the purposes of this section, "sensitive examination"
47.22	means a pelvic, breast, urogenital, or rectal examination.
47.23	Subd. 2. Informed consent required; exceptions. A health professional, or a student
47.24	or resident participating in a course of instruction, clinical training, or a residency program
47.25	for a health profession, shall not perform a sensitive examination on an anesthetized or
47.26	unconscious patient unless:
47.27	(1) the patient or the patient's legally authorized representative provided prior, written,
47.28	informed consent to the sensitive examination, and the sensitive examination is necessary
47.29	for preventive, diagnostic, or treatment purposes;
47.30	(2) the patient or the patient's legally authorized representative provided prior, written,
47.31	informed consent to a surgical procedure or diagnostic examination, and the sensitive

48.1	examination is within the scope of care ordered for that surgical procedure or diagnostic
48.2	examination;
48.3	(3) the patient is unconscious and incapable of providing informed consent, and the
48.4	sensitive examination is necessary for diagnostic or treatment purposes; or
48.5	(4) a court ordered a sensitive examination to be performed for purposes of collection
48.6	of evidence.
48.7	Subd. 3. Penalty; ground for disciplinary action. A person who violates this section
48.8	is subject to disciplinary action by the health-related licensing board regulating the person.
48.9	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2024, and applies to crimes
48.10	committed on or after that date.
48.11	Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 151.74, subdivision 3, is amended
48.12	to read:
48.13	Subd. 3. Access to urgent-need insulin. (a) MNsure shall develop an application form
48.14	to be used by an individual who is in urgent need of insulin. The application must ask the
48.15	individual to attest to the eligibility requirements described in subdivision 2. The form shall
48.16	be accessible through MNsure's website. MNsure shall also make the form available to
48.17	pharmacies and health care providers who prescribe or dispense insulin, hospital emergency
48.18	departments, urgent care clinics, and community health clinics. By submitting a completed,
48.19	signed, and dated application to a pharmacy, the individual attests that the information
48.20	contained in the application is correct.
48.21	(b) If the individual is in urgent need of insulin, the individual may present a completed,
48.22	signed, and dated application form to a pharmacy. The individual must also:
48.23	(1) have a valid insulin prescription; and
48.24	(2) present the pharmacist with identification indicating Minnesota residency in the form
48.25	of a valid Minnesota identification card, driver's license or permit, individual taxpayer
48.26	identification number, or Tribal identification card as defined in section 171.072, paragraph
48.27	(b). If the individual in urgent need of insulin is under the age of 18, the individual's parent
48.28	or legal guardian must provide the pharmacist with proof of residency.
48.29	(c) Upon receipt of a completed and signed application, the pharmacist shall dispense
48.30	the prescribed insulin in an amount that will provide the individual with a 30-day supply.
48.31	The pharmacy must notify the health care practitioner who issued the prescription order no
48.32	later than 72 hours after the insulin is dispensed.

(d) The pharmacy may submit to the manufacturer of the dispensed insulin product or to the manufacturer's vendor a claim for payment that is in accordance with the National Council for Prescription Drug Program standards for electronic claims processing, unless the manufacturer agrees to send to the pharmacy a replacement supply of the same insulin as dispensed in the amount dispensed. If the pharmacy submits an electronic claim to the manufacturer or the manufacturer's vendor, the manufacturer or vendor shall reimburse the pharmacy in an amount that covers the pharmacy's acquisition cost.

- (e) The pharmacy may collect an insulin co-payment from the individual to cover the pharmacy's costs of processing and dispensing in an amount not to exceed \$35 for the 30-day supply of insulin dispensed.
- (f) The pharmacy shall also provide each eligible individual with the information sheet described in subdivision 7 and a list of trained navigators provided by the Board of Pharmacy for the individual to contact if the individual is in need of accessing needs to access ongoing insulin coverage options, including assistance in:
 - (1) applying for medical assistance or MinnesotaCare;
- (2) applying for a qualified health plan offered through MNsure, subject to open and special enrollment periods;
- (3) accessing information on providers who participate in prescription drug discount programs, including providers who are authorized to participate in the 340B program under section 340b of the federal Public Health Services Act, United States Code, title 42, section 256b; and
- (4) accessing insulin manufacturers' patient assistance programs, co-payment assistance programs, and other foundation-based programs.
- (g) The pharmacist shall retain a copy of the application form submitted by the individual to the pharmacy for reporting and auditing purposes.
- (h) A manufacturer may submit to the commissioner of administration a request for reimbursement in an amount not to exceed \$35 for each 30-day supply of insulin the manufacturer provides under paragraph (d). The commissioner of administration shall determine the manner and format for submitting and processing requests for reimbursement. After receiving a reimbursement request, the commissioner of administration shall reimburse the manufacturer in an amount not to exceed \$35 for each 30-day supply of insulin the manufacturer provided under paragraph (d).
 - **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2024.

49.1

49.2

49.3

49.4

49.5

49.6

49.7

49.8

49.9

49.10

49.11

49.12

49.13

49.14

49.15

49.16

49.17

49.18

49.19

49.20

49.21

49.22

49.23

49.24

49.25

49.26

49.27

49.28

49.29

49.30

49.31

49.32

Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 151.74, subdivision 6, is amended to read:

- Subd. 6. **Continuing safety net program; process.** (a) The individual shall submit to a pharmacy the statement of eligibility provided by the manufacturer under subdivision 5, paragraph (b). Upon receipt of an individual's eligibility status, the pharmacy shall submit an order containing the name of the insulin product and the daily dosage amount as contained in a valid prescription to the product's manufacturer.
- (b) The pharmacy must include with the order to the manufacturer the following information:
- (1) the pharmacy's name and shipping address;

50.1

50.2

50.3

50.4

50.5

50.6

50.7

50.8

50.9

50.10

50.11

50.12

50.13

50.14

50.15

50.16

50.17

50.18

50.19

50.20

50.21

50.22

50.23

50.24

50.25

50.26

50.27

50.28

50.29

50.30

50.31

- (2) the pharmacy's office telephone number, fax number, email address, and contact name; and
 - (3) any specific days or times when deliveries are not accepted by the pharmacy.
 - (c) Upon receipt of an order from a pharmacy and the information described in paragraph (b), the manufacturer shall send to the pharmacy a 90-day supply of insulin as ordered, unless a lesser amount is requested in the order, at no charge to the individual or pharmacy.
 - (d) Except as authorized under paragraph (e), the pharmacy shall provide the insulin to the individual at no charge to the individual. The pharmacy shall not provide insulin received from the manufacturer to any individual other than the individual associated with the specific order. The pharmacy shall not seek reimbursement for the insulin received from the manufacturer or from any third-party payer.
 - (e) The pharmacy may collect a co-payment from the individual to cover the pharmacy's costs for processing and dispensing in an amount not to exceed \$50 for each 90-day supply if the insulin is sent to the pharmacy.
 - (f) The pharmacy may submit to a manufacturer a reorder for an individual if the individual's eligibility statement has not expired. Upon receipt of a reorder from a pharmacy, the manufacturer must send to the pharmacy an additional 90-day supply of the product, unless a lesser amount is requested, at no charge to the individual or pharmacy if the individual's eligibility statement has not expired.
 - (g) Notwithstanding paragraph (c), a manufacturer may send the insulin as ordered directly to the individual if the manufacturer provides a mail order service option.
- (h) A manufacturer may submit to the commissioner of administration a request for reimbursement in an amount not to exceed \$105 for each 90-day supply of insulin the

manufacturer provides under paragraphs (c) and (f). The commissioner of administration 51.1 shall determine the manner and format for submitting and processing requests for 51.2 51.3 reimbursement. After receiving a reimbursement request, the commissioner of administration shall reimburse the manufacturer in an amount not to exceed \$105 for each 90-day supply 51.4 of insulin the manufacturer provided under paragraphs (c) and (f). If the manufacturer 51.5 provides less than a 90-day supply of insulin under paragraphs (c) and (f), the manufacturer 51.6 may submit a request for reimbursement not to exceed \$35 for each 30-day supply of insulin 51.7 51.8 provided. 51.9 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2024. Sec. 24. [151.741] INSULIN MANUFACTURER REGISTRATION FEE. 51.10 51.11 Subdivision 1. **Definitions.** (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have the meanings given. 51.12 51.13 (b) "Board" means the Minnesota Board of Pharmacy under section 151.02. (c) "Manufacturer" means a manufacturer licensed under section 151.252 and engaged 51.14 in the manufacturing of prescription insulin. 51.15 Subd. 2. Assessment of registration fee. (a) The board shall assess each manufacturer 51.16 an annual registration fee of \$100,000, except as provided in paragraph (b). The board shall 51.17 notify each manufacturer of this requirement beginning November 1, 2024, and each 51.18 November 1 thereafter. 51.19 51.20 (b) A manufacturer may request an exemption from the annual registration fee. The Board of Pharmacy shall exempt a manufacturer from the annual registration fee if the 51.21 manufacturer can demonstrate to the board, in the form and manner specified by the board, 51.22 that sales of prescription insulin produced by that manufacturer and sold or delivered within 51.23 or into Minnesota totalled \$2,000,000 or less in the previous calendar year. 51.24 Subd. 3. Payment of the registration fee; deposit of fee. (a) Each manufacturer must 51.25 pay the registration fee by March 1, 2025, and by each March 1 thereafter. In the event of 51.26 a change in ownership of the manufacturer, the new owner must pay the registration fee 51.27 that the original owner would have been assessed had the original owner retained ownership. 51.28 51.29 The board may assess a late fee of ten percent per month or any portion of a month that the 51.30 registration fee is paid after the due date. (b) The registration fee, including any late fees, must be deposited in the insulin safety 51.31 net program account. 51.32

52.1	Subd. 4. Insulin safety net program account. The insulin safety net program account
52.2	is established in the special revenue fund in the state treasury. Money in the account is
52.3	appropriated each fiscal year to:
52.4	(1) the MNsure board in an amount sufficient to carry out assigned duties under section
52.5	151.74, subdivision 7; and
52.6	(2) the Board of Pharmacy in an amount sufficient to cover costs incurred by the board
52.7	in assessing and collecting the registration fee under this section and in administering the
52.8	insulin safety net program under section 151.74.
52.9	Subd. 5. Insulin repayment account; annual transfer from health care access fund. (a)
52.10	The insulin repayment account is established in the special revenue fund in the state treasury.
52.11	Money in the account is appropriated each fiscal year to the commissioner of administration
52.12	to reimburse manufacturers for insulin dispensed under the insulin safety net program in
52.13	section 151.74, in accordance with section 151.74, subdivisions 3, paragraph (h), and 6,
52.14	paragraph (h), and to cover costs incurred by the commissioner in providing these
52.15	reimbursement payments.
52.16	(b) By June 30, 2025, and each June 30 thereafter, the commissioner of administration
52.17	shall certify to the commissioner of management and budget the total amount expended in
52.18	the prior fiscal year for:
52.19	(1) reimbursement to manufacturers for insulin dispensed under the insulin safety net
52.20	program in section 151.74, in accordance with section 151.74, subdivisions 3, paragraph
52.21	(h), and 6, paragraph (h); and
52.22	(2) costs incurred by the commissioner of administration in providing the reimbursement
52.23	payments described in clause (1).
52.24	(c) The commissioner of management and budget shall transfer from the health care
52.25	access fund to the special revenue fund, beginning July 1, 2025, and each July 1 thereafter,
52.26	an amount equal to the amount to which the commissioner of administration certified
52.27	pursuant to paragraph (b).
52.28	Subd. 6. Contingent transfer by commissioner. If subdivisions 2 and 3, or the
52.29	application of subdivisions 2 and 3 to any person or circumstance, are held invalid for any
52.30	reason in a court of competent jurisdiction, the invalidity of subdivisions 2 and 3 does not
52.31	affect other provisions of this act, and the commissioner of management and budget shall
52.32	annually transfer from the health care access fund to the insulin safety net program account
52.33	an amount sufficient to implement subdivision 4.

53.1	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.
53.2	Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 176.175, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
53.3	Subd. 2. Nonassignability. No claim for compensation or settlement of a claim for
53.4	compensation owned by an injured employee or dependents is assignable. Except as otherwise
53.5	provided in this chapter, any claim for compensation owned by an injured employee or
53.6	dependents is exempt from seizure or sale for the payment of any debt or liability, up to a
53.7	total amount of \$1,000,000 per claim and subsequent award.
53.8	Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256L.01, is amended by adding a subdivision
53.9	to read:
53.10	Subd. 5a. MinnesotaCare public option. "MinnesotaCare public option" or "public
53.11	option" means health coverage provided under section 256L.29.
53.12	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2028, or upon federal approval,
53.13	whichever is later. The commissioner of commerce shall notify the revisor of statutes when
53.14	federal approval is obtained.
53.15 53.16	Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256L.01, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
53.17	Subd. 5b. MinnesotaCare public option enrollee. "MinnesotaCare public option
53.18	enrollee" or "public option enrollee" means an individual enrolled in MinnesotaCare under
53.19	section 256L.04, subdivision 15.
53.20	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2028, or upon federal approval,
53.21	whichever is later. The commissioner of commerce shall notify the revisor of statutes when
53.22	federal approval is obtained.
53.23	Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 256L.03, subdivision 5, is amended
53.24	to read:
53.25	Subd. 5. Cost-sharing. (a) Co-payments, coinsurance, and deductibles do not apply to
53.26	children under the age of 21 and to American Indians as defined in Code of Federal
53.27	Regulations, title 42, section 600.5-, but do apply to public option enrollees as provided in
53.28	section 256L.29.
53.29	(b) The commissioner must adjust co-payments, coinsurance, and deductibles for covered

services in a manner sufficient to maintain the actuarial value of the benefit to 94 percent,

except as provided for public option enrollees under section 256L.29. The cost-sharing changes described in this paragraph do not apply to eligible recipients or services exempt from cost-sharing under state law. The cost-sharing changes described in this paragraph shall not be implemented prior to January 1, 2016. (c) The cost-sharing changes authorized under paragraph (b) must satisfy the requirements for cost-sharing under the Basic Health Program as set forth in Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, sections 600.510 and 600.520. (d) Cost-sharing for prescription drugs and related medical supplies to treat chronic disease must comply with the requirements of section 62Q.481. (e) Co-payments, coinsurance, and deductibles do not apply to additional diagnostic 54.10 services or testing that a health care provider determines an enrollee requires after a 54.11 54.12 mammogram, as specified under section 62A.30, subdivision 5. (f) Cost-sharing must not apply to drugs used for tobacco and nicotine cessation or to 54.13 tobacco and nicotine cessation services covered under section 256B.0625, subdivision 68. 54.14 (g) Co-payments, coinsurance, and deductibles do not apply to pre-exposure prophylaxis 54.15 (PrEP) and postexposure prophylaxis (PEP) medications when used for the prevention or 54.16 treatment of the human immunodeficiency virus (HIV). 54.17 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2028, or upon federal approval, 54.18 whichever is later. The commissioner of commerce shall notify the revisor of statutes when 54.19 federal approval is obtained. 54.20 Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256L.04, subdivision 1c, is amended to read: 54.21 Subd. 1c. General requirements. To be eligible for MinnesotaCare, a person must meet 54.22 the eligibility requirements of this section. A person eligible for MinnesotaCare shall with 54.23 an income less than or equal to 200 percent of the federal poverty guidelines must not be 54.24 considered a qualified individual under section 1312 of the Affordable Care Act, and is not 54.25 eligible for enrollment in a qualified health plan offered through MNsure under chapter 54.26 62V. 54.27 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2028, or upon federal approval, 54.28 54.29 whichever is later. The commissioner of commerce shall notify the revisor of statutes when federal approval is obtained. 54.30

54.1

54.2

54.3

54.4

54.5

54.6

54.7

54.8

Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256L.04, subdivision 7a, is amended to read: 55.1 Subd. 7a. Ineligibility. Adults whose income is greater than the limits established under 55.2 this section may not enroll in the MinnesotaCare program, except as public option enrollees 55.3 under subdivision 15. 55.4 55.5 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2028, or upon federal approval, whichever is later. The commissioner of commerce shall notify the revisor of statutes when 55.6 federal approval is obtained. 55.7 Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256L.04, is amended by adding a subdivision 55.8 to read: 55.9 Subd. 15. Persons eligible for the public option. (a) Families and individuals with 55.10 income above the maximum income eligibility limit specified in subdivision 1 or 7 who 55.11 meet all other MinnesotaCare eligibility requirements are eligible for the MinnesotaCare 55.12 public option, subject to the enrollment limits and additional requirements established under 55.13 section 256L.29. Families and individuals enrolled in the public option under this subdivision 55.14 are MinnesotaCare enrollees, and all provisions of this chapter applying generally to 55.15 55.16 MinnesotaCare enrollees apply to public option enrollees unless otherwise specified. (b) Families and individuals may enroll in MinnesotaCare under this subdivision only 55.17 55.18 during an annual open enrollment period or special enrollment period, as designated by MNsure in compliance with Code of Federal Regulations, title 45, sections 155.410 and 55.19 55.20 <u>155.420.</u> **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2028, or upon federal approval, 55.21 whichever is later. The commissioner of commerce shall notify the revisor of statutes when 55.22 federal approval is obtained. 55.23 55.24 Sec. 32. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256L.07, subdivision 1, is amended to read: Subdivision 1. General requirements. Individuals enrolled in MinnesotaCare under 55.25 55.26 section 256L.04, subdivision 1, and individuals enrolled in MinnesotaCare under section 256L.04, subdivision 7, whose income increases above 200 percent of the federal poverty 55.27 guidelines, are no longer eligible for the program and shall must be disenrolled by the 55.28 commissioner, unless the individuals continue MinnesotaCare enrollment through the public 55.29 option. For persons disenrolled under this subdivision, MinnesotaCare coverage terminates 55.30 the last day of the calendar month in which the commissioner sends advance notice according 55.31

to Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, section 431.211, that indicates the income of a 56.1 family or individual exceeds program income limits. 56.2 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2028, or upon federal approval, 56.3 whichever is later. The commissioner of commerce shall notify the revisor of statutes when 56.4 56.5 federal approval is obtained. Sec. 33. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256L.12, subdivision 7, is amended to read: 56.6 Subd. 7. Managed care plan vendor requirements. The following requirements apply 56.7 to all counties or vendors who contract with the Department of Human Services to serve 56.8 MinnesotaCare recipients. Managed care plan contractors: 56.9 (1) shall authorize and arrange for the provision of the full range of services listed in 56.10 section 256L.03 in order to ensure appropriate health care is delivered to enrollees; 56.11 (2) shall accept the prospective, per capita payment or other contractually defined payment 56.12 56.13 from the commissioner in return for the provision and coordination of covered health care services for eligible individuals enrolled in the program; 56.14 56.15 (3) may contract with other health care and social service practitioners to provide services to enrollees; 56.16 (4) shall provide for an enrollee grievance process as required by the commissioner and 56.17 set forth in the contract with the department; 56.18 (5) shall retain all revenue from enrollee co-payments; 56.19 (6) shall accept all eligible MinnesotaCare enrollees, without regard to health status or 56.20 previous utilization of health services; 56.21 (7) shall demonstrate capacity to accept financial risk according to requirements specified 56.22 in the contract with the department. A health maintenance organization licensed under 56.23 chapter 62D, or a nonprofit health plan licensed under chapter 62C, is not required to 56.24 demonstrate financial risk capacity, beyond that which is required to comply with chapters 56.25 56.26 62C and 62D; and (8) shall submit information as required by the commissioner, including data required 56.27 for assessing enrollee satisfaction, quality of care, cost, and utilization of services-; and 56.28 (9) shall reimburse health care providers for services provided to MinnesotaCare public 56.29 option enrollees at payment rates equal to or greater than the fee-for-service Medicare 56.30 payment rate for the same service, or for a similar service if the specific service is not 56.31 reimbursed under Medicare. 56.32

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2028, or upon federal approval, whichever is later. The commissioner of commerce shall notify the revisor of statutes when federal approval is obtained.

Sec. 34. [256L.29] MINNESOTACARE PUBLIC OPTION.

57.1

57.2

57.3

57.4

57.5

57.6

57.7

57.8

57.9

57.10

57.11

57.12

57.13

57.14

57.15

57.18

57.29

57.30

57.31

57.32

57.33

57.34

57.35

Subdivision 1. MinnesotaCare requirements. The public option is part of the MinnesotaCare program and all provisions of this chapter apply to the public option, unless otherwise specified. These provisions include but are not limited to those related to covered health services under section 256L.03; eligibility of undocumented noncitizens under section 256L.04, subdivision 10; eligibility requirements under section 256L.07; and premium payment methods under section 256L.15.

Subd. 2. Application process and eligibility determination. Individuals shall apply for coverage under the public option as provided in section 62V.14. Enrollment in the public option is limited to individuals eligible under section 256L.04, subdivision 15. The Board of Directors of MNsure shall process public option applications and determine eligibility for the public option as provided in section 62V.14.

57.16 Subd. 3. Premium scale. Public option enrollees shall pay premiums for individual or 57.17 family coverage, as applicable, according to the following premium scale:

Household Income as

57.19 57.20	<u>]</u>	Percentage of Federal Poverty Guidelines	
57.21 57.22	Greater Than or Equal to	Not Exceeding	Required Premium Contribution as Percentage of Household Income
57.23	<u>201%</u>	<u>250%</u>	4.88%
57.24	<u>251%</u>	300%	6.38%
57.25	<u>301%</u>	400%	<u>7.88%</u>
57.26	401%	<u>500%</u>	<u>8.5%</u>
57.27	<u>501%</u>	<u>550%</u>	9.01%
57.28	551% and over	No maximum	10%

Subd. 4. Cost-sharing. (a) Public option enrollees are subject to the MinnesotaCare cost-sharing requirements established under section 256L.03, subdivision 5, except that:

(1) cost-sharing applies to all public option enrollees and there are no exemptions from cost-sharing for specific groups of individuals, including but not limited to: (i) children under age 21; (ii) pregnant women; and (iii) American Indians as defined in Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, section 600.5, who have incomes greater than or equal to 300 percent of the federal poverty guidelines;

58.1	(2) the commissioner shall set cost-sharing for public option enrollees at an actuarial
58.2	value of 94 percent, except that the actuarial value for public option enrollees with household
58.3	incomes above 400 percent of the federal poverty guidelines may be lower than 94 percent;
58.4	(3) the deductibles specified in paragraph (b) apply; and
58.5	(4) out-of-pocket maximums for public option enrollees must not exceed those outlined
58.6	in Code of Federal Regulations, title 45, section 156.130.
58.7	(b) Public option enrollees are subject to the following annual deductibles:
58.8	(1) for household incomes 401 percent to 500 percent of federal poverty guidelines,
58.9	<u>\$500;</u>
58.10	(2) for household incomes 501 percent to 600 percent of federal poverty guidelines,
58.11	\$1,000; and
58.12	(3) for household incomes 601 percent of federal poverty guidelines or above, \$1,500.
58.13	(c) No annual deductible applies to public option enrollees with household incomes not
58.14	exceeding 400 percent of the federal poverty guidelines.
58.15	Subd. 5. Enrollment limits. Enrollment in the public option is subject to the following
58.16	<u>limits:</u>
58.17	(1) for the 2028 plan year, there must not be any enrollment of individuals with household
58.18	incomes exceeding 400 percent of the federal poverty guidelines;
58.19	(2) for the 2029 plan year, there must not be any enrollment of individuals with household
58.20	incomes exceeding 550 percent of the federal poverty guidelines; and
58.21	(3) for the 2030 plan year and subsequent plan years, no enrollment limit.
58.22	Subd. 6. Contracting and service delivery. (a) The commissioner may contract with
58.23	managed care and county-based purchasing plans for the delivery of services to public
58.24	option enrollees using a procurement process that is separate and unique from that used to
58.25	contract for the delivery of services to MinnesotaCare enrollees who are not public option
58.26	enrollees.
58.27	(b) The commissioner shall establish public option participation requirements for managed
58.28	care and county-based purchasing plans. Public option enrollees are not considered
58.29	MinnesotaCare enrollees for the purpose of the participation requirement specified in section
58.30	256B.0644.

	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2028, or upon federal approval,
<u> </u>	whichever is later. The commissioner of commerce shall notify the revisor of statutes when
1	Gederal approval is obtained.
	Sec. 35. [332C.01] DEFINITIONS.
	Subdivision 1. Application. For purposes of this chapter, the following terms have the
1	meanings given.
	Subd. 2. Collecting party. "Collecting party" means a party engaged in the collection
(of medical debt. Collecting party does not include banks, credit unions, public officers,
٤	garnishees, and other parties complying with a court order or statutory obligation to garnish
(or levy a debtor's property.
	Subd. 3. Debtor. "Debtor" means a person obligated or alleged to be obligated to pay
ć	any debt.
	Subd. 4. Medical debt. "Medical debt" means debt incurred primarily for medically
1	necessary health treatment or services. Medical debt does not include debt charged to a
(credit card unless the credit card is issued under a credit plan offered solely for the payment
	of health care treatment or services.
	Subd. 5. Medically necessary. "Medically necessary" means medically necessary as
(defined in section 62J.805, subdivision 6.
	Subd. 6. Person. "Person" means any individual, partnership, association, or corporation.
	Sec. 36. [332C.02] PROHIBITED PRACTICES.
	No collecting party shall:
	(1) in a collection letter, publication, invoice, or any oral or written communication,
1	hreaten wage garnishment or legal suit by a particular lawyer, unless the collecting party
1	nas actually retained the lawyer to do so;
	(2) use or employ sheriffs or any other officer authorized to serve legal papers in
(connection with the collection of a claim, except when performing their legally authorized
(duties;
	(3) use or threaten to use methods of collection which violate Minnesota law;
	(4) furnish legal advice to debtors or represent that the collecting party is competent or
8	able to furnish legal advice to debtors;

60.1	(5) communicate with debtors in a misleading or deceptive manner by falsely using the
60.2	stationery of a lawyer, forms or instruments which only lawyers are authorized to prepare,
60.3	or instruments which simulate the form and appearance of judicial process;
60.4	(6) publish or cause to be published any list of debtors, use shame cards or shame
60.5	automobiles, advertise or threaten to advertise for sale any claim as a means of forcing
60.6	payment thereof, or use similar devices or methods of intimidation;
60.7	(7) operate under a name or in a manner which falsely implies the collecting party is a
60.8	branch of or associated with any department of federal, state, county, or local government
60.9	or an agency thereof;
60.10	(8) transact business or hold itself out as a debt settlement company, debt management
60.11	company, debt adjuster, or any person who settles, adjusts, prorates, pools, liquidates, or
60.12	pays the indebtedness of a debtor, unless there is no charge to the debtor, or the pooling or
60.13	liquidation is done pursuant to court order or under the supervision of a creditor's committee;
60.14	(9) unless an exemption in the law exists, violate Code of Federal Regulations, title 12,
60.15	part 1006, while attempting to collect on any account, bill, or other indebtedness. For
60.16	purposes of this section, Public Law 95-109 and Code of Federal Regulations, title 12, part
60.17	1006, apply to collecting parties;
60.18	(10) communicate with a debtor by use of an automatic telephone dialing system or an
60.19	artificial or prerecorded voice after the debtor expressly informs the collecting party to cease
60.20	communication utilizing an automatic telephone dialing system or an artificial or prerecorded
60.21	voice. For purposes of this clause, an automatic telephone dialing system or an artificial or
60.22	prerecorded voice includes but is not limited to (i) artificial intelligence chat bots, and (ii)
60.23	the usage of the term under the Telephone Consumer Protection Act, United States Code,
60.24	<u>title 47, section 227(b)(1)(A);</u>
60.25	(11) in collection letters or publications, or in any oral or written communication, imply
60.26	or suggest that medically necessary health treatment or services will be denied as a result
60.27	of a medical debt;
60.28	(12) when a debtor has a listed telephone number, enlist the aid of a neighbor or third
60.29	party to request that the debtor contact the collecting party, except a person who resides
60.30	with the debtor or a third party with whom the debtor has authorized with the collecting
60.31	party to place the request. This clause does not apply to a call back message left at the
60.32	debtor's place of employment which is limited solely to the collecting party's telephone
60.33	number and name;

61.1	(13) when attempting to collect a medical debt, fail to provide the debtor with the full
61.2	name of the collecting party, as registered with the secretary of state;
61.3	(14) fail to return any amount of overpayment from a debtor to the debtor or to the state
61.4	of Minnesota pursuant to the requirements of chapter 345;
61.5	(15) accept currency or coin as payment for a medical debt without issuing an original
61.6	receipt to the debtor and maintaining a duplicate receipt in the debtor's payment records;
61.7	(16) attempt to collect any amount, including any interest, fee, charge, or expense
61.8	incidental to the charge-off obligation, from a debtor unless the amount is expressly
61.9	authorized by the agreement creating the medical debt or is otherwise permitted by law;
61.10	(17) falsify any documents with the intent to deceive;
61.11	(18) when initially contacting a Minnesota debtor by mail to collect a medical debt, fail
61.12	to include a disclosure on the contact notice, in a type size or font which is equal to or larger
61.13	than the largest other type of type size or font used in the text of the notice, that includes
61.14	and identifies the Office of the Minnesota Attorney General's general telephone number,
61.15	and states: "You have the right to hire your own attorney to represent you in this matter.";
61.16	(19) commence legal action to collect a medical debt outside the limitations period set
61.17	forth in section 541.053;
61.18	(20) report to a credit reporting agency any medical debt which the collecting party
61.19	knows or should know is or was originally owed to a health care provider, as defined in
61.20	section 62J.805, subdivision 2; or
61.21	(21) challenge a debtor's claim of exemption to garnishment or levy in a manner that is
61.22	baseless, frivolous, or otherwise in bad faith.
61.23	Sec. 37. [332C.03] MEDICAL DEBT CREDIT REPORTING PROHIBITED.
61.24	(a) A collecting party is prohibited from reporting medical debt to a consumer reporting
61.25	agency.
61.26	(b) A consumer reporting agency is prohibited from making a consumer report containing
61.27	an item of information that the consumer reporting agency knows or should know concerns:
61.28	(1) medical information; or (2) debt arising from: (i) the provision of medical care, treatment,
61.29	services, devices, medicines; or (ii) procedures to maintain, diagnose, or treat a person's
61.30	physical or mental health.

52.1	(c) For purposes of this section, "consumer report," "consumer reporting agency," and
52.2	"medical information" have the meanings given them in the Fair Credit Reporting Act,
52.3	United States Code, title 15, section 1681a.
52.4	(d) This section also applies to collection agencies and debt buyers licensed under Chapter
52.5	<u>332.</u>
62.6	Sec. 38. [332C.04] DEFENDING MEDICAL DEBT CASES.
52.7	A debtor who successfully defends against a claim for payment of medical debt that is
52.8	alleged by a collecting party must be awarded the debtor's costs, including a reasonable
52.9	attorney fee as determined by the court, incurred in defending against the collecting party's
52.10	claim for debt payment. For the purposes of this section, a resolution mutually agreed upon
52.11	by the debtor and collecting party is not a successful defense.
52.12	Sec. 39. [332C.05] ENFORCEMENT.
52.13	(a) The attorney general may enforce this chapter under section 8.31.
52.14	(b) A collecting party that violates this chapter is strictly liable to the debtor in question
52.15	for the sum of:
52.16	(1) actual damage sustained by the debtor as a result of the violation;
52.17	(2) additional damages as the court may allow, but not exceeding \$1,000 per violation;
52.18	and
52.19	(3) in the case of any successful action to enforce the foregoing, the costs of the action,
52.20	together with a reasonable attorney fee as determined by the court.
52.21	(c) A collecting party that willfully and maliciously violates this chapter is strictly liable
52.22	to the debtor for three times the sums allowable under paragraph (b), clauses (1) and (2).
52.23	(d) The dollar amount limit under paragraph (b), clause (2), changes on July 1 of each
52.24	even-numbered year in an amount equal to changes made in the Consumer Price Index,
52.25	compiled by the United States Bureau of Labor Statistics. The Consumer Price Index for
52.26	December 2024 is the reference base index. If the Consumer Price Index is revised, the
52.27	percentage of change made under this section must be calculated on the basis of the revised
52.28	Consumer Price Index. If a Consumer Price Index revision changes the reference base index,
52.29	a revised reference base index must be determined by multiplying the reference base index
52.30	that is effective at the time by the rebasing factor furnished by the Bureau of Labor Statistics.

63.1	(e) If the Consumer Price Index is superseded, the Consumer Price Index referred to in
63.2	this section is the Consumer Price Index represented by the Bureau of Labor Statistics as
63.3	most accurately reflecting changes in the prices paid by consumers for consumer goods and
63.4	services.
63.5	(f) The attorney general must publish the base reference index under paragraph (c) in
63.6	the State Register no later than September 1, 2024. The attorney general must calculate and
63.7	then publish the revised Consumer Price Index under paragraph (c) in the State Register no
63.8	later than September 1 each even-numbered year.
63.9	(g) An action brought under this section benefits the public.
63.10	(h) A collecting party may not be held liable in any action brought under this section if
63.11	the collecting party shows by a preponderance of evidence that the violation:
63.12	(1) was not intentional and resulted from a bona fide error made notwithstanding the
63.13	maintenance of procedures reasonably adopted to avoid any such error; or
63.14	(2) was the result of inaccurate or incorrect information provided to the collecting party
63.15	by a health care provider, as defined in section 62J.805, subdivision 2; a health carrier, as
63.16	that term is defined in section 62A.011, subdivision 2; or another collecting party currently
63.17	or previously engaged in collection of the medical debt in question.
63.18	Sec. 40. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 519.05, is amended to read:
63.19	519.05 LIABILITY OF HUSBAND AND WIFE <u>SPOUSES</u> .
63.20	(a) A spouse is not liable to a creditor for any debts of the other spouse. Where husband
63.21	and wife are living together, they shall be jointly and severally liable for necessary medical
63.22	services that have been furnished to either spouse, including any claims arising under section
63.23	246.53, 256B.15, 256D.16, or 261.04, and necessary household articles and supplies furnished
63.24	to and used by the family. Notwithstanding this paragraph, in a proceeding under chapter
63.25	518 the court may apportion such debt between the spouses.
63.26	(b) Either spouse may close a credit card account or other unsecured consumer line of
63.27	credit on which both spouses are contractually liable, by giving written notice to the creditor.
63.28	(c) Nothing in this section prevents a claim against an estate.
63.29	Sec. 41. REQUEST FOR FEDERAL WAIVER.
63.30	(a) The commissioner of commerce, in cooperation with the commissioner of human
63.31	services and the Board of Directors of MNsure, shall submit a section 1332 waiver pursuant

04/24/24	SENATEE	T D	SS4699R
N4/74/74	SHNAIHH	LB	V ZAKUUR
UT/ / T/ / T	SLIVALL	LD	DOTUZZI

04.1	to Clinical States Code, title 42, section 18032, to the Secretary of Treatment and Truman Services,
64.2	to obtain federal approval to implement this act. The commissioner of commerce shall also
64.3	seek through the waiver federal approval for the state to:
64.4	(1) continue receiving federal Medicaid payments for Medicaid-eligible individuals and
64.5	federal basic health program payments for basic health program-eligible MinnesotaCare
64.6	individuals; and
64.7	(2) receive federal pass-through money equal to the value of premium tax credits and
64.8	cost-sharing reductions that MinnesotaCare public option enrollees with household incomes
64.9	greater than 200 percent of the federal poverty guidelines would otherwise have received.
64.10	(b) The commissioner of commerce is authorized to contract for any analyses,
64.11	certification, data, or other information required to complete the section 1332 waiver
64.12	application in accordance with Code of Federal Regulations, title 33, part 108; Code of
64.13	Federal Regulations, title 155, part 1308; and any other applicable federal law. The
64.14	commissioner must cooperate with the federal government to obtain waiver approval under
64.15	this section, and may provide any information the commissioner determines to be necessary
64.16	and advisable for waiver approval to the Secretary of Health and Human Services and the
64.17	Secretary of the Treasury.
64.18	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
64.19	ARTICLE 4
64.20	HEALTH INSURANCE
64.21	Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 62A.0411, is amended to read:
64.22	62A.0411 MATERNITY CARE.
64.23	Subdivision 1. Minimum inpatient care. Every health plan as defined in section 62Q.01.
64.24	subdivision 3, that provides maternity benefits must, consistent with other coinsurance,
64.25	co-payment, deductible, and related contract terms, provide coverage of a minimum of 48
64.26	hours of inpatient care following a vaginal delivery and a minimum of 96 hours of inpatient
64.27	care following a caesarean section for a mother and her newborn. The health plan shall not
64.28	provide any compensation or other nonmedical remuneration to encourage a mother and
64.29	newborn to leave inpatient care before the duration minimums specified in this section.
64.30	Subd. 1a. Medical facility transfer. (a) If a health care provider acting within the
64.31	provider's scope of practice recommends that either the mother or newborn be transferred
64.32	to a different medical facility, every health plan must provide the coverage required under
64.33	subdivision 1 for the mother, newborn, and newborn siblings at both medical facilities. The

coverage required under this subdivision includes but is not limited to expenses related to 65.1 transferring all individuals from one medical facility to a different medical facility. 65.2 65.3 (b) The coverage required under this subdivision must be provided without cost sharing, including but not limited to deductible, co-pay, or coinsurance. The coverage required under 65.4 this paragraph must be provided without any limitation that is not generally applicable to 65.5 other coverages under the plan. 65.6 (c) Notwithstanding paragraph (b), a health plan that is a high-deductible health plan in 65.7 conjunction with a health savings account must include cost-sharing for the coverage required 65.8 under this subdivision at the minimum level necessary to preserve the enrollee's ability to 65.9 65.10 make tax-exempt contributions and withdrawals from the health savings account as provided in section 223 of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986. 65.11 65.12 Subd. 2. Minimum postdelivery outpatient care. (a) The health plan must also provide coverage for postdelivery outpatient care to a mother and her newborn if the duration of 65.13 inpatient care is less than the minimums provided in this section. 65.14 (b) Postdelivery care consists of a minimum of one home visit by a registered nurse. 65.15 Services provided by the registered nurse include, but are not limited to, parent education, 65.16 assistance and training in breast and bottle feeding, and conducting any necessary and 65.17 appropriate clinical tests. The home visit must be conducted within four days following the 65.18 discharge of the mother and her child. 65.19 Subd. 3. Health plan defined. For purposes of this section, "health plan" has the meaning 65.20 given in section 62Q.01, subdivision 3, and county-based purchasing plans. 65.21 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2025, and applies to all policies, 65.22 plans, certificates, and contracts offered, issued, or renewed on or after that date. 65.23 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 62A.15, is amended by adding a subdivision to 65.24 read: 65.25 Subd. 3d. **Pharmacist.** All benefits provided by a policy or contract referred to in 65.26 subdivision 1 relating to expenses incurred for medical treatment or services provided by 65.27 a licensed physician must include services provided by a licensed pharmacist, according to 65.28 the requirements of section 151.01, to the extent a licensed pharmacist's services are within 65.29 65.30 the pharmacist's scope of practice. **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2025, and applies to policies 65.31 or contracts offered, issued, or renewed on or after that date. 65.32

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 62A.15, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

- Subd. 4. **Denial of benefits.** (a) No carrier referred to in subdivision 1 may, in the payment of claims to employees in this state, deny benefits payable for services covered by the policy or contract if the services are lawfully performed by a licensed chiropractor, a licensed optometrist, a registered nurse meeting the requirements of subdivision 3a, a licensed physician assistant, or a licensed acupuncture practitioner, or a licensed pharmacist.
- (b) When carriers referred to in subdivision 1 make claim determinations concerning the appropriateness, quality, or utilization of chiropractic health care for Minnesotans, any of these determinations that are made by health care professionals must be made by, or under the direction of, or subject to the review of licensed doctors of chiropractic.
- (c) When a carrier referred to in subdivision 1 makes a denial of payment claim determination concerning the appropriateness, quality, or utilization of acupuncture services for individuals in this state performed by a licensed acupuncture practitioner, a denial of payment claim determination that is made by a health professional must be made by, under the direction of, or subject to the review of a licensed acupuncture practitioner.
- 66.16 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2025, and applies to policies or contracts offered, issued, or renewed on or after that date.
- Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 62A.28, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
 - Subd. 2. **Required coverage.** (a) Every policy, plan, certificate, or contract referred to in subdivision 1 issued or renewed after August 1, 1987, must provide coverage for scalp hair prostheses, including all equipment and accessories necessary for regular use of scalp hair prostheses, worn for hair loss suffered as a result of a health condition, including but not limited to alopecia areata or the treatment for cancer, unless there is a clinical basis for limitation.
 - (b) The coverage required by this section is subject to the co-payment, coinsurance, deductible, and other enrollee cost-sharing requirements that apply to similar types of items under the policy, plan, certificate, or contract and may be limited to one prosthesis per benefit year.
- 66.29 (c) The coverage required by this section for scalp hair prostheses is limited to \$1,000 per benefit year.
- 66.31 (d) A scalp hair prosthesis must be prescribed by a doctor to be covered under this section.

66.1

66.2

66.3

66.4

66.5

66.6

66.7

66.8

66.9

66.10

66.11

66.12

66.13

66.14

66.15

66.19

66.20

66.21

66.22

66.23

66.24

66.25

66.26

66.27

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025, and applies to all policies, 67.1 plans, certificates, and contracts offered, issued, or renewed on or after that date. 67.2 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 62D.02, subdivision 4, is amended to read: 67.3 Subd. 4. **Health maintenance organization.** "Health maintenance organization" means 67.4 a foreign or domestic nonprofit corporation organized under chapter 317A, or a local 67.5 governmental unit as defined in subdivision 11, controlled and operated as provided in 67.6 67.7 sections 62D.01 to 62D.30, which provides, either directly or through arrangements with providers or other persons, comprehensive health maintenance services, or arranges for the 67.8 provision of these services, to enrollees on the basis of a fixed prepaid sum without regard 67.9 to the frequency or extent of services furnished to any particular enrollee. 67.10 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 62D.02, subdivision 7, is amended to read: 67.11 Subd. 7. Comprehensive health maintenance services. "Comprehensive health 67.12 maintenance services" means a set of comprehensive health services which the enrollees 67.13 might reasonably require to be maintained in good health including as a minimum, but not 67.14 limited to, emergency care, emergency ground ambulance transportation services, inpatient 67.15 hospital and physician care, outpatient health services and preventive health services. 67.16 Elective, induced abortion, except as medically necessary to prevent the death of the mother, 67.17 whether performed in a hospital, other abortion facility or the office of a physician, shall 67.18 not be mandatory for any health maintenance organization. 67.19 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2025, and applies to health 67.20 plans offered, sold, issued, or renewed on or after that date. 67.21 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 62D.03, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 67.22 Subdivision 1. Certificate of authority required. Notwithstanding any law of this state 67.23 to the contrary, any foreign or domestic nonprofit corporation organized to do so or a local 67.24 governmental unit may apply to the commissioner of health for a certificate of authority to 67.25 establish and operate a health maintenance organization in compliance with sections 62D.01 67.26 to 62D.30. No person shall establish or operate a health maintenance organization in this 67.27 state, nor sell or offer to sell, or solicit offers to purchase or receive advance or periodic 67.28 consideration in conjunction with a health maintenance organization or health maintenance 67.29 contract unless the organization has a certificate of authority under sections 62D.01 to 67.30

62D.30.

Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 62D.05, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. **Authority granted.** Any <u>nonprofit</u> corporation or local governmental unit may, upon obtaining a certificate of authority as required in sections 62D.01 to 62D.30, operate as a health maintenance organization.

Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 62D.06, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. **Governing body composition; enrollee advisory body.** The governing body of any health maintenance organization which is a <u>nonprofit</u> corporation may include enrollees, providers, or other individuals; provided, however, that after a health maintenance organization which is a <u>nonprofit</u> corporation has been authorized under sections 62D.01 to 62D.30 for one year, at least 40 percent of the governing body shall be composed of enrollees and members elected by the enrollees and members from among the enrollees and members. For purposes of this section, "member" means a consumer who receives health care services through a self-insured contract that is administered by the health maintenance organization or its related third-party administrator. The number of members elected to the governing body shall not exceed the number of enrollees elected to the governing body. An enrollee or member elected to the governing board may not be a person:

- (1) whose occupation involves, or before retirement involved, the administration of health activities or the provision of health services;
- 68.19 (2) who is or was employed by a health care facility as a licensed health professional; 68.20 or
 - (3) who has or had a direct substantial financial or managerial interest in the rendering of a health service, other than the payment of a reasonable expense reimbursement or compensation as a member of the board of a health maintenance organization.
- After a health maintenance organization which is a local governmental unit has been authorized under sections 62D.01 to 62D.30 for one year, an enrollee advisory body shall be established. The enrollees who make up this advisory body shall be elected by the enrollees from among the enrollees.

Sec. 10. [62D.085] TRANSACTION OVERSIGHT.

Subdivision 1. Insurance provisions applicable to health maintenance
organizations. (a) Health maintenance organizations are subject to sections 60A.135,
60A.136, 60A.137, 60A.16, 60A.161, 60D.17, 60D.18, and 60D.20 and must comply with

68.1

68.2

68.3

68.4

68.5

68.6

68.7

68.8

68.9

68.10

68.11

68.12

68.13

68.14

68.15

68.16

68.17

68.18

68.21

68.22

68.23

the provisions of these sections applicable to insurers. For purposes of applying these sections 69.1 to health maintenance organizations, "commissioner" means the commissioner of health. 69.2 69.3 (b) Health maintenance organizations are subject to all regulations implementing sections 60D.17, 60D.18, and 60D.20 in Minnesota Rules, chapter 2720, and must comply with the 69.4 69.5 provisions of sections 60D.17, 60D.18, and 60D.20 applicable to insurers, unless the commissioner of health adopts rules to implement this subdivision. 69.6 Subd. 2. Notice on transfers. No person may acquire all or substantially all of the assets 69.7 of a domestic nonprofit health maintenance organization through any means unless, at the 69.8 time the agreement is entered into, the person has filed with the commissioner and has sent 69.9 69.10 to the health maintenance organization a statement containing the information required by section 60D.17, including its implementing regulations, and the agreement and acquisition 69.11 have been approved by the commissioner of health in the manner prescribed for regulatory 69.12 approval in section 60D.17. The acquisition of assets subject to this subdivision must be 69.13 treated as an acquisition of control for purposes of applying section 60D.17 and its 69.14 implementing regulations to this subdivision. 69.15 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment. 69.16 Sec. 11. [62D.1071] COVERAGE OF LICENSED PHARMACIST SERVICES. 69.17 69.18 Subdivision 1. **Pharmacist.** All benefits provided by a health maintenance contract relating to expenses incurred for medical treatment or services provided by a licensed 69.19 physician must include services provided by a licensed pharmacist to the extent a licensed 69.20 pharmacist's services are within the pharmacist's scope of practice. 69.21 Subd. 2. Denial of benefits. When paying claims for enrollees in Minnesota, a health 69.22 maintenance organization must not deny payment for medical services covered by an 69.23 enrollee's health maintenance contract if the services are lawfully performed by a licensed 69.24 69.25 pharmacist. Subd. 3. Medication therapy management. This section does not apply to or affect 69.26 69.27 the coverage or reimbursement for medication therapy management services under section 62Q.676 or 256B.0625, subdivisions 5, 13h, and 28a. 69.28 69.29 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2025, and applies to health 69.30 plans offered, issued, or renewed on or after that date.

Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 62D.19, is amended to read:

62D.19 UNREASONABLE EXPENSES.

70.1

70.2

70.3

70.4

70.5

70.6

70.7

70.8

70.9

70.10

70.11

70.12

70.13

70.14

70.15

70.16

70.17

70.18

70.19

70.20

70.21

70.22

70.23

70.24

70.25

70.26

70.27

70.28

70.29

70.30

70.31

70.32

70.33

No health maintenance organization shall incur or pay for any expense of any nature which is unreasonably high in relation to the value of the service or goods provided. The commissioner of health shall implement and enforce this section by rules adopted under this section.

In an effort to achieve the stated purposes of sections 62D.01 to 62D.30, in order to safeguard the underlying nonprofit status of health maintenance organizations, and in order to ensure that the payment of health maintenance organization money to major participating entities results in a corresponding benefit to the health maintenance organization and its enrollees, when determining whether an organization has incurred an unreasonable expense in relation to a major participating entity, due consideration shall be given to, in addition to any other appropriate factors, whether the officers and trustees of the health maintenance organization have acted with good faith and in the best interests of the health maintenance organization in entering into, and performing under, a contract under which the health maintenance organization has incurred an expense. The commissioner has standing to sue, on behalf of a health maintenance organization, officers or trustees of the health maintenance organization who have breached their fiduciary duty in entering into and performing such contracts.

Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 62D.20, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. **Rulemaking.** The commissioner of health may, pursuant to chapter 14, promulgate such reasonable rules as are necessary or proper to carry out the provisions of sections 62D.01 to 62D.30. Included among such rules shall be those which provide minimum requirements for the provision of comprehensive health maintenance services, as defined in section 62D.02, subdivision 7, and reasonable exclusions therefrom. Nothing in such rules shall force or require a health maintenance organization to provide elective, induced abortions, except as medically necessary to prevent the death of the mother, whether performed in a hospital, other abortion facility, or the office of a physician; the rules shall provide every health maintenance organization the option of excluding or including elective, induced abortions, except as medically necessary to prevent the death of the mother, as part of its comprehensive health maintenance services.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025, and applies to health plans offered, sold, issued, or renewed on or after that date.

Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 62D.22, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

Subd. 5. Other state law. Except as otherwise provided in sections 62A.01 to 62A.42

and 62D.01 to 62D.30, and except as they eliminate elective, induced abortions, wherever

performed, from health or maternity benefits, provisions of the insurance laws and provisions

of nonprofit health service plan corporation laws shall not be applicable to any health

maintenance organization granted a certificate of authority under sections 62D.01 to 62D.30.

- 71.7 <u>EFFECTIVE DATE.</u> This section is effective January 1, 2025, and applies to health plans offered, sold, issued, or renewed on or after that date.
- Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 62E.02, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
- Subd. 3. **Health maintenance organization.** "Health maintenance organization" means a nonprofit corporation licensed and operated as provided in chapter 62D.
- Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 62Q.097, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
- 71.14 Subd. 3. Prohibited application questions. An application for provider credentialing
 71.15 must not:
- 71.16 (1) require the provider to disclose past health conditions;
- 71.17 (2) require the provider to disclose current health conditions, if the provider is being
 71.18 treated so that the condition does not affect the provider's ability to practice medicine; or
- 71.19 (3) require the disclosure of any health conditions that would not affect the provider's ability to practice medicine in a competent, safe, and ethical manner.
- 71.21 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section applies to applications for provider credentialing submitted to a health plan company on or after January 1, 2025.
- Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 62Q.14, is amended to read:
- 71.24 **62Q.14 RESTRICTIONS ON ENROLLEE SERVICES.**
- No health plan company may restrict the choice of an enrollee as to where the enrollee receives services related to:
- 71.27 (1) the voluntary planning of the conception and bearing of children, provided that this clause does not refer to abortion services;
- 71.29 (2) the diagnosis of infertility;

71.4

71.5

72.1	(3) the testing and treatment of a sexually transmitted disease; and
72.2	(4) the testing for AIDS or other HIV-related conditions.
72.3	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025, and applies to health
72.4	plans offered, sold, issued, or renewed on or after that date.
72.5	Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 62Q.522, subdivision 1, is amended
72.6	to read:
72.7	Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) The definitions in this subdivision apply to this section.
72.8	(b) "Closely held for-profit entity" means an entity that:
72.9	(1) is not a nonprofit entity;
72.10	(2) has more than 50 percent of the value of its ownership interest owned directly or
72.11	indirectly by five or fewer owners; and
72.12	(3) has no publicly traded ownership interest.
72.13	For purposes of this paragraph:
72.14	(i) ownership interests owned by a corporation, partnership, limited liability company,
72.15	estate, trust, or similar entity are considered owned by that entity's shareholders, partners,
72.16	members, or beneficiaries in proportion to their interest held in the corporation, partnership,
72.17	limited liability company, estate, trust, or similar entity;
72.18	(ii) ownership interests owned by a nonprofit entity are considered owned by a single
72.19	owner;
72.20	(iii) ownership interests owned by all individuals in a family are considered held by a
72.21	single owner. For purposes of this item, "family" means brothers and sisters, including
72.22	half-brothers and half-sisters, a spouse, ancestors, and lineal descendants; and
72.23	(iv) if an individual or entity holds an option, warrant, or similar right to purchase an
72.24	ownership interest, the individual or entity is considered to be the owner of those ownership
72.25	interests.
72.26	(e) (b) "Contraceptive method" means a drug, device, or other product approved by the
72.27	Food and Drug Administration to prevent unintended pregnancy.
72.28	(d) (c) "Contraceptive service" means consultation, examination, procedures, and medical
72.29	services related to the prevention of unintended pregnancy, excluding vasectomies. This
72.30	includes but is not limited to voluntary sterilization procedures, patient education, counseling
72.31	on contraceptives, and follow-up services related to contraceptive methods or services.

management of side effects, counseling for continued adherence, and device insertion or removal.

(e) "Eligible organization" means an organization that opposes providing coverage for some or all contraceptive methods or services on account of religious objections and that

(1) organized as a nonprofit entity and holds itself out to be religious; or

- (2) organized and operates as a closely held for-profit entity, and the organization's owners or highest governing body has adopted, under the organization's applicable rules of governance and consistent with state law, a resolution or similar action establishing that the organization objects to covering some or all contraceptive methods or services on account of the owners' sincerely held religious beliefs.
- (f) "Exempt organization" means an organization that is organized and operates as a nonprofit entity and meets the requirements of section 6033(a)(3)(A)(i) or (iii) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, as amended.
- (g) (d) "Medical necessity" includes but is not limited to considerations such as severity of side effects, difference in permanence and reversibility of a contraceptive method or service, and ability to adhere to the appropriate use of the contraceptive method or service, as determined by the attending provider.
- (h) (e) "Therapeutic equivalent version" means a drug, device, or product that can be expected to have the same clinical effect and safety profile when administered to a patient under the conditions specified in the labeling, and that:
- 73.22 (1) is approved as safe and effective;
 - (2) is a pharmaceutical equivalent: (i) containing identical amounts of the same active drug ingredient in the same dosage form and route of administration; and (ii) meeting compendial or other applicable standards of strength, quality, purity, and identity;
- 73.26 (3) is bioequivalent in that:

73.5

73.6

73.7

73.8

73.9

73.10

73.11

73.12

73.13

73.14

73.15

73.16

73.17

73.18

73.19

73.20

73.21

73.23

73.24

73.25

73.32

is:

- 73.27 (i) the drug, device, or product does not present a known or potential bioequivalence 73.28 problem and meets an acceptable in vitro standard; or
- 73.29 (ii) if the drug, device, or product does present a known or potential bioequivalence 73.30 problem, it is shown to meet an appropriate bioequivalence standard;
- 73.31 (4) is adequately labeled; and
 - (5) is manufactured in compliance with current manufacturing practice regulations.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025, and applies to health
plans offered, sold, issued, or renewed on or after that date.
Sec. 19. [62Q.524] COVERAGE OF ABORTIONS AND ABORTION-RELATED
SERVICES.
Subdivision 1. Definition. For purposes of this section, "abortion" means any medical
treatment intended to induce the termination of a pregnancy with a purpose other than
producing a live birth.

Subd. 2. Required coverage. (a) A health plan must provide coverage for abortions are
abortion-related services, including preabortion services and follow-up services.
(b) A health plan must not impose on the coverage under this section any co-paymen
coinsurance, deductible, or other enrollee cost-sharing that is greater than the cost-sharing
hat applies to similar services covered under the health plan.
(c) A health plan must not impose any limitation on the coverage under this section,
ncluding but not limited to any utilization review, prior authorization, referral requirement
estrictions, or delays, that is not generally applicable to other coverages under the plan.
Subd. 3. Exclusion. This section does not apply to managed care organizations or
ounty-based purchasing plans when the plan provides coverage to public health care
program enrollees under chapter 256B or 256L.
EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025, and applies to health
plans offered, sold, issued, or renewed on or after that date.
Sec. 20. [62Q.585] GENDER-AFFIRMING CARE COVERAGE; MEDICALLY
NECESSARY CARE.
Subdivision 1. Requirement. No health plan that covers physical or mental health
services may be offered, sold, issued, or renewed in this state that:
(1) excludes coverage for medically necessary gender-affirming care; or
(2) requires gender-affirming treatments to satisfy a definition of "medically necessary
care," "medical necessity," or any similar term that is more restrictive than the definition
provided in subdivision 2.
Subd. 2. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have the
meanings given.

75.1	(b) "Gender-affirming care" means all medical, surgical, counseling, or referral services,
75.2	including telehealth services, that an individual may receive to support and affirm the
75.3	individual's gender identity or gender expression and that are legal under the laws of this
75.4	state.
75.5	(c) "Health plan" has the meaning given in section 62Q.01, subdivision 3, but includes
75.6	the coverages listed in section 62A.011, subdivision 3, clauses (7) and (10).
75.7	(d) "Medically necessary care" means health care services appropriate in terms of type,
75.8	frequency, level, setting, and duration to the enrollee's diagnosis or condition and diagnostic
75.9	testing and preventive services. Medically necessary care must be consistent with generally
75.10	accepted practice parameters as determined by health care providers in the same or similar
75.11	general specialty as typically manages the condition, procedure, or treatment at issue and
75.12	<u>must:</u>
75.13	(1) help restore or maintain the enrollee's health; or
75.14	(2) prevent deterioration of the enrollee's condition.
75.15	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.
75.16	Sec. 21. [62Q.665] COVERAGE FOR ORTHOTIC AND PROSTHETIC DEVICES.
75.17	Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For the purposes of this section, the following terms have
75.18	the meanings given.
75.19	(b) "Accredited facility" means any entity that is accredited to provide comprehensive
75.20	orthotic or prosthetic devices or services by a Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services
75.21	approved accrediting agency.
75.22	(c) "Orthosis" means:
75.23	(1) an external medical device that is:
75.24	(i) custom-fabricated or custom-fitted to a specific patient based on the patient's unique
75.25	physical condition;
75.26	(ii) applied to a part of the body to correct a deformity, provide support and protection,
75.27	restrict motion, improve function, or relieve symptoms of a disease, syndrome, injury, or
75.28	postoperative condition; and
75.29	(iii) deemed medically necessary by a prescribing physician or licensed health care
75.30	provider who has authority in Minnesota to prescribe orthotic and prosthetic devices, supplies,
75.31	and services; and

76.1	(2) any provision, repair, or replacement of a device that is furnished or performed by:
76.2	(i) an accredited facility in comprehensive orthotic services; or
76.3	(ii) a health care provider licensed in Minnesota and operating within the provider's
76.4	scope of practice which allows the provider to provide orthotic or prosthetic devices, supplies,
76.5	or services.
76.6	(d) "Orthotics" means:
76.7	(1) the science and practice of evaluating, measuring, designing, fabricating, assembling,
76.8	fitting, adjusting, or servicing and providing the initial training necessary to accomplish the
76.9	fitting of an orthotic device for the support, correction, or alleviation of a neuromuscular
76.10	or musculoskeletal dysfunction, disease, injury, or deformity;
76.11	(2) evaluation, treatment, and consultation related to an orthotic device;
76.12	(3) basic observation of gait and postural analysis;
76.13	(4) assessing and designing orthosis to maximize function and provide support and
76.14	alignment necessary to prevent or correct a deformity or to improve the safety and efficiency
76.15	of mobility and locomotion;
76.16	(5) continuing patient care to assess the effect of an orthotic device on the patient's
76.17	tissues; and
76.18	(6) proper fit and function of the orthotic device by periodic evaluation.
76.19	(e) "Prosthesis" means:
76.20	(1) an external medical device that is:
76.21	(i) used to replace or restore a missing limb, appendage, or other external human body
76.22	part; and
76.23	(ii) deemed medically necessary by a prescribing physician or licensed health care
76.24	provider who has authority in Minnesota to prescribe orthotic and prosthetic devices, supplies,
76.25	and services; and
76.26	(2) any provision, repair, or replacement of a device that is furnished or performed by:
76.27	(i) an accredited facility in comprehensive prosthetic services; or
76.28	(ii) a health care provider licensed in Minnesota and operating within the provider's
76.29	scope of practice which allows the provider to provide orthotic or prosthetic devices, supplies,
76.30	or services.

(f) "Prosthetics" means:

77.1

77.2

77.3

77.4

77.5

77.6

77.7

77.8

77.9

77.10

77.22

77.23

77.24

77.25

77.26

77.27

(1) the science and practice of evaluating, measuring, designing, fabricating, assembling, fitting, aligning, adjusting, or servicing, as well as providing the initial training necessary to accomplish the fitting of, a prosthesis through the replacement of external parts of a human body lost due to amputation or congenital deformities or absences;

- (2) the generation of an image, form, or mold that replicates the patient's body segment and that requires rectification of dimensions, contours, and volumes for use in the design and fabrication of a socket to accept a residual anatomic limb to, in turn, create an artificial appendage that is designed either to support body weight or to improve or restore function or anatomical appearance, or both;
- (3) observational gait analysis and clinical assessment of the requirements necessary to refine and mechanically fix the relative position of various parts of the prosthesis to maximize function, stability, and safety of the patient;
- 77.14 (4) providing and continuing patient care in order to assess the prosthetic device's effect
 77.15 on the patient's tissues; and
- 77.16 (5) assuring proper fit and function of the prosthetic device by periodic evaluation.
- Subd. 2. Coverage. (a) A health plan must provide coverage for orthotic and prosthetic devices, supplies, and services, including repair and replacement, at least equal to the coverage provided under federal law for health insurance for the aged and disabled under sections 1832, 1833, and 1834 of the Social Security Act, United States Code, title 42, sections 1395k, 1395l, and 1395m, but only to the extent consistent with this section.
 - (b) A health plan must not subject orthotic and prosthetic benefits to separate financial requirements that apply only with respect to those benefits. A health plan may impose co-payment and coinsurance amounts on those benefits, except that any financial requirements that apply to such benefits must not be more restrictive than the financial requirements that apply to the health plan's medical and surgical benefits, including those for internal restorative devices.
- (c) A health plan may limit the benefits for, or alter the financial requirements for,
 out-of-network coverage of prosthetic and orthotic devices, except that the restrictions and
 requirements that apply to those benefits must not be more restrictive than the financial
 requirements that apply to the out-of-network coverage for the health plan's medical and
 surgical benefits.

78.1	(d) A health plan must cover orthoses and prostheses when furnished under an order by
78.2	a prescribing physician or licensed health care prescriber who has authority in Minnesota
78.3	to prescribe orthoses and prostheses, and that coverage for orthotic and prosthetic devices,
78.4	supplies, accessories, and services must include those devices or device systems, supplies,
78.5	accessories, and services that are customized to the covered individual's needs.
78.6	(e) A health plan must cover orthoses and prostheses determined by the enrollee's provider
78.7	to be the most appropriate model that meets the medical needs of the enrollee for purposes
78.8	of performing physical activities, as applicable, including but not limited to running, biking,
78.9	and swimming, and maximizing the enrollee's limb function.
78.10	(f) A health plan must cover orthoses and prostheses for showering or bathing.
78.11	Subd. 3. Prior authorization. A health plan may require prior authorization for orthotic
78.12	and prosthetic devices, supplies, and services in the same manner and to the same extent as
78.13	prior authorization is required for any other covered benefit.
78.14	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025, and applies to all health
78.15	plans offered, issued, or renewed on or after that date.
78.16 78.17	Sec. 22. [62Q.6651] MEDICAL NECESSITY AND NONDISCRIMINATION STANDARDS FOR COVERAGE OF PROSTHETICS OR ORTHOTICS.
78.18	(a) When performing a utilization review for a request for coverage of prosthetic or
78.19	orthotic benefits, a health plan company shall apply the most recent version of evidence-based
78.20	treatment and fit criteria as recognized by relevant clinical specialists.
78.21	(b) A health plan company shall render utilization review determinations in a
78.22	nondiscriminatory manner and shall not deny coverage for habilitative or rehabilitative
78.23	benefits, including prosthetics or orthotics, solely on the basis of an enrollee's actual or
78.24	perceived disability.
78.25	(c) A health plan company shall not deny a prosthetic or orthotic benefit for an individual
78.26	with limb loss or absence that would otherwise be covered for a nondisabled person seeking
78.27	medical or surgical intervention to restore or maintain the ability to perform the same
78.28	physical activity.
78.29	(d) A health plan offered, issued, or renewed in Minnesota that offers coverage for
78.30	prosthetics and custom orthotic devices shall include language describing an enrollee's rights

(e) A health plan that provides coverage for prosthetic or orthotic services shall ensure access to medically necessary clinical care and to prosthetic and custom orthotic devices and technology from not less than two distinct prosthetic and custom orthotic providers in the plan's provider network located in Minnesota. In the event that medically necessary covered orthotics and prosthetics are not available from an in-network provider, the health plan company shall provide processes to refer a member to an out-of-network provider and shall fully reimburse the out-of-network provider at a mutually agreed upon rate less member cost sharing determined on an in-network basis.

(f) If coverage for prosthetic or custom orthotic devices is provided, payment shall be

- (f) If coverage for prosthetic or custom orthotic devices is provided, payment shall be made for the replacement of a prosthetic or custom orthotic device or for the replacement of any part of the devices, without regard to continuous use or useful lifetime restrictions, if an ordering health care provider determines that the provision of a replacement device, or a replacement part of a device, is necessary because:
- 79.14 (1) of a change in the physiological condition of the patient;
- 79.15 (2) of an irreparable change in the condition of the device or in a part of the device; or
- 79.16 (3) the condition of the device, or the part of the device, requires repairs and the cost of
 79.17 the repairs would be more than 60 percent of the cost of a replacement device or of the part
 79.18 being replaced.
- 79.19 (g) Confirmation from a prescribing health care provider may be required if the prosthetic 79.20 or custom orthotic device or part being replaced is less than three years old.
- 79.21 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2025, and applies to all health plans offered, issued, or renewed on or after that date.

Sec. 23. [62Q.666] INTERMITTENT CATHETERS.

- Subdivision 1. Required coverage. A health plan must provide coverage for intermittent urinary catheters and insertion supplies if intermittent catheterization is recommended by the enrollee's health care provider. At least 180 intermittent catheters per month with insertion supplies must be covered unless a lesser amount is prescribed by the enrollee's health care provider. A health plan providing coverage under the medical assistance program may be required to provide coverage for more than 180 intermittent catheters per month with insertion supplies.
- 79.31 Subd. 2. Cost-sharing requirements. A health plan is prohibited from imposing a
 79.32 deductible, co-payment, coinsurance, or other restriction on intermittent catheters and
 79.33 insertion supplies that the health plan does not apply to durable medical equipment in general.

79.1

79.2

79.3

79.4

79.5

79.6

79.7

79.8

79.9

79.10

79.11

79.12

79.13

79.23

79.24

79.25

79.26

79.27

79.28

79.29

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for any health plan issued or renewed 80.1 80.2 on or after January 1, 2025. Sec. 24. [62Q.679] RELIGIONS OBJECTIONS. 80.3 Subdivision 1. **Definitions.** (a) The definitions in this subdivision apply to this section. 80.4 (b) "Closely held for-profit entity" means an entity that is not a nonprofit entity, has 80.5 more than 50 percent of the value of its ownership interest owned directly or indirectly by 80.6 five or fewer owners, and has no publicly traded ownership interest. For purposes of this 80.7 paragraph: 80.880.9 (1) ownership interests owned by a corporation, partnership, limited liability company, estate, trust, or similar entity are considered owned by that entity's shareholders, partners, 80.10 80.11 members, or beneficiaries in proportion to their interest held in the corporation, partnership, limited liability company, estate, trust, or similar entity; 80.12 80.13 (2) ownership interests owned by a nonprofit entity are considered owned by a single 80.14 owner; 80.15 (3) ownership interests owned by all individuals in a family are considered held by a single owner. For purposes of this item, "family" means brothers and sisters including 80.16 half-brothers and half-sisters, a spouse, ancestors, and lineal descendants; and 80.17 (4) if an individual or entity holds an option, warrant, or similar right to purchase an 80.18 ownership interest, the individual or entity is considered to be the owner of those ownership 80.19 interests. 80.20 (c) "Eligible organization" means an organization that opposes providing coverage under 80.21 section 62Q.522, 62Q.524, or 62Q.585 on account of religious objections and that is: 80.22 (1) organized as a nonprofit entity and holds itself out to be religious; or 80.23 (2) organized and operates as a closely held for-profit entity, and the organization's 80.24 owners or highest governing body has adopted, under the organization's applicable rules of 80.25 80.26 governance and consistent with state law, a resolution or similar action establishing that the 80.27 organization objects to covering some or all health benefits under section 62Q.522, 62Q.524, or 62Q.585 on account of the owners' sincerely held religious beliefs. 80.28

80.29 (d) "Exempt organization" means an organization that is organized and operates as a nonprofit entity and meets the requirements of section 6033(a)(3)(A)(i) or (iii) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, as amended.

81.1	Subd. 2. Exemption. (a) An exempt organization is not required to provide coverage
81.2	under section 62Q.522, 62Q.524, or 62Q.585 if the exempt organization has religious
81.3	objections to the coverage. An exempt organization that chooses to not provide coverage
81.4	pursuant to this paragraph must notify employees as part of the hiring process and to all
81.5	employees at least 30 days before:
81.6	(1) an employee enrolls in the health plan; or
81.7	(2) the effective date of the health plan, whichever occurs first.
81.8	(b) If the exempt organization provides partial coverage under section 62Q.522, 62Q.524
81.9	or 62Q.585, the notice required under paragraph (a) must provide a list of the portions of
81.10	the coverage that the organization refuses to cover.
81.11	Subd. 3. Accommodation for eligible organizations. (a) A health plan established or
81.12	maintained by an eligible organization complies with the coverage requirements of sections
81.13	62Q.522, 62Q.524, and 62Q.585, with respect to the health benefits identified in the notice
81.14	under this paragraph, if the eligible organization provides notice to any health plan company
81.15	the eligible organization contracts with that it is an eligible organization and that the eligible
81.16	organization has a religious objection to coverage for all or a subset of the health benefits
81.17	under sections 62Q.522, 62Q.524, and 62Q.585.
81.18	(b) The notice from an eligible organization to a health plan company under paragraph
81.19	(a) must include: (1) the name of the eligible organization; (2) a statement that the eligible
81.20	organization objects to coverage for some or all of the health benefits under sections 62Q.522
81.21	62Q.524, and 62Q.585, including a list of the health benefits the eligible organization objects
81.22	to, if applicable; and (3) the health plan name. The notice must be executed by a person
81.23	authorized to provide notice on behalf of the eligible organization.
81.24	(c) An eligible organization must provide a copy of the notice under paragraph (a) to
81.25	prospective employees as part of the hiring process and to all employees at least 30 days
81.26	before:
81.27	(1) an employee enrolls in the health plan; or
81.28	(2) the effective date of the health plan, whichever occurs first.
81.29	(d) A health plan company that receives a copy of the notice under paragraph (a) with
81.30	respect to a health plan established or maintained by an eligible organization must, for all
81.31	future enrollments in the health plan:
81.32	(1) expressly exclude coverage for those health benefits identified in the notice under
81.33	paragraph (a) from the health plan; and

82.1	(2) provide separate payments for any health benefits required to be covered under
82.2	sections 62Q.522, 62Q.524, and 62Q.585 for an enrollee as long as the enrollee remains
82.3	enrolled in the health plan.
82.4	(e) The health plan company must not impose any cost-sharing requirements, including
82.5	co-pays, deductibles, or coinsurance, or directly or indirectly impose any premium, fee, or
82.6	other charge for the health benefits under section 62Q.522 on the enrollee. The health plan
82.7	company must not directly or indirectly impose any premium, fee, or other charge for the
82.8	health benefits under section 62Q.522, 62Q.524, or 62Q.585 on the eligible organization
82.9	or health plan.
82.10	(f) On January 1, 2025, and every year thereafter a health plan company must notify the
82.11	commissioner, in a manner determined by the commissioner, of the number of eligible
82.12	organizations granted an accommodation under this subdivision.
82.13	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025, and applies to health
82.14	plans offered, sold, issued, or renewed on or after that date.
82.15	Sec. 25. [214.41] PHYSICIAN WELLNESS PROGRAM.
82.16	Subdivision 1. Definition. For the purposes of this section, "physician wellness program"
82.17	means a program of evaluation, counseling, or other modality to address an issue related to
82.18	career fatigue or wellness related to work stress for physicians licensed under chapter 147
82.19	that is administered by a statewide association that is exempt from taxation under United
82.20	States Code, title 26, section 501(c)(6), and that primarily represents physicians and
82.21	osteopaths of multiple specialties. Physician wellness program does not include the provision
82.22	of services intended to monitor for impairment under the authority of section 214.31.
82.23	Subd. 2. Confidentiality. Any record of a person's participation in a physician wellness
82.24	program is confidential and not subject to discovery, subpoena, or a reporting requirement
82.25	to the applicable board, unless the person voluntarily provides for written release of the
82.26	information or the disclosure is required to meet the licensee's obligation to report according
82.27	
	to section 147.111.
82.28	to section 147.111. Subd. 3. Civil liability. Any person, agency, institution, facility, or organization employed
82.28 82.29	
	Subd. 3. Civil liability. Any person, agency, institution, facility, or organization employed

Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 256B.0625, subdivision 3a, is 83.1 amended to read: 83.2 Subd. 3a. Gender-affirming services. Medical assistance covers gender-affirming 83.3 services care, as defined in section 62Q.585. 83.4 83.5 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2025. Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256B.0625, subdivision 12, is amended to read: 83.6 Subd. 12. Eyeglasses, and dentures, and prosthetic and orthotic devices. (a) Medical 83.7 assistance covers eyeglasses, and dentures, and prosthetic and orthotic devices if prescribed 83.8 by a licensed practitioner. 83.9 (b) For purposes of prescribing prosthetic and orthotic devices, "licensed practitioner" 83.10 includes a physician, an advanced practice registered nurse, a physician assistant, or a 83.11 podiatrist. 83.12 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2025. 83.13 Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 256B.0625, subdivision 16, is 83.14 amended to read: 83.15 Subd. 16. Abortion services. Medical assistance covers abortion services determined 83.16 to be medically necessary by the treating provider and delivered in accordance with all 83.17 applicable Minnesota laws abortions and abortion-related services, including preabortion 83.18 services and follow-up services. 83.19 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2025, or upon federal approval, 83.20 whichever is later. The commissioner of human services shall notify the revisor of statutes 83.21 when federal approval is obtained. 83.22 Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256B.0625, is amended by adding a subdivision 83.23 to read: 83.24 83.25 Subd. 72. Orthotic and prosthetic devices. Medical assistance covers orthotic and prosthetic devices, supplies, and services according to section 256B.066. 83.26 83.27 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2025.

84.1	Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256B.0625, is amended by adding a subdivision
84.2	to read:
84.3	Subd. 73. Scalp hair prostheses. Medical assistance covers scalp hair prosthesis
84.4	prescribed for hair loss suffered as a result of treatment for cancer. Medical assistance must
84.5	meet the requirements that would otherwise apply to a health plan under section 62A.28,
84.6	except for the limitation on coverage required per benefit year set forth in section 62A.28,
84.7	subdivision 2, paragraph (c).
84.8	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025, and applies to all policies,
84.9	plans, certificates, and contracts offered, issued, or renewed on or after that date.
84.10 84.11	Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256B.0625, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
84.12	Subd. 74. Intermittent catheters. Medical assistance covers intermittent urinary catheters
84.13	and insertion supplies if intermittent catheterization is recommended by the enrollee's health
84.14	care provider. Medical assistance must meet the requirements that would otherwise apply
84.15	to a health plan under section 62Q.665.
84.16 84.17	Sec. 32. [256B.066] ORTHOTIC AND PROSTHETIC DEVICES, SUPPLIES, AND SERVICES.
84.18	Subdivision 1. Definitions. All terms used in this section have the meanings given them
84.19	in section 62Q.665, subdivision 1.
84.20	Subd. 2. Coverage requirements. (a) Medical assistance covers orthotic and prosthetic
84.21	devices, supplies, and services:
84.22	(1) furnished under an order by a prescribing physician or licensed health care prescriber
84.23	who has authority in Minnesota to prescribe orthoses and prostheses. Coverage for orthotic
84.24	and prosthetic devices, supplies, accessories, and services under this clause includes those
84.25	devices or device systems, supplies, accessories, and services that are customized to the
84.26	enrollee's needs;
84.27	(2) determined by the enrollee's provider to be the most appropriate model that meets
84.28	the medical needs of the enrollee for purposes of performing physical activities, as applicable,
84.29	including but not limited to running, biking, and swimming, and maximizing the enrollee's
84.30	limb function; or

35.1	(b) The coverage set forth in paragraph (a) includes the repair and replacement of those
35.2	orthotic and prosthetic devices, supplies, and services described therein.
35.3	(c) Coverage of a prosthetic or orthotic benefit must not be denied for an individual with
35.4	limb loss or absence that would otherwise be covered for a nondisabled person seeking
35.5	medical or surgical intervention to restore or maintain the ability to perform the same
35.6	physical activity.
35.7	(d) If coverage for prosthetic or custom orthotic devices is provided, payment must be
35.8	made for the replacement of a prosthetic or custom orthotic device or for the replacement
35.9	of any part of the devices, without regard to useful lifetime restrictions, if an ordering health
35.10	care provider determines that the provision of a replacement device, or a replacement part
35.11	of a device, is necessary because:
35.12	(1) of a change in the physiological condition of the enrollee;
35.13	(2) of an irreparable change in the condition of the device or in a part of the device; or
35.14	(3) the condition of the device, or the part of the device, requires repairs and the cost of
35.15	the repairs would be more than 60 percent of the cost of a replacement device or of the part
35.16	being replaced.
35.17	Subd. 3. Restrictions on coverage. (a) Prior authorization may be required for orthotic
35.18	and prosthetic devices, supplies, and services.
35.19	(b) A utilization review for a request for coverage of prosthetic or orthotic benefits must
35.20	apply the most recent version of evidence-based treatment and fit criteria as recognized by
35.21	relevant clinical specialists.
35.22	(c) Utilization review determinations must be rendered in a nondiscriminatory manner
35.23	and shall not deny coverage for habilitative or rehabilitative benefits, including prosthetics
35.24	or orthotics, solely on the basis of an enrollee's actual or perceived disability.
35.25	(d) Evidence of coverage and any benefit denial letters must include language describing
35.26	an enrollee's rights pursuant to paragraphs (b) and (c).
35.27	(e) Confirmation from a prescribing health care provider may be required if the prosthetic
35.28	or custom orthotic device or part being replaced is less than three years old.
35.29	Subd. 4. Managed care plan access to care. (a) Managed care plans and county-based
35.30	purchasing plans subject to this section must ensure access to medically necessary clinical
35.31	care and to prosthetic and custom orthotic devices and technology from at least two distinct
35.32	prosthetic and custom orthotic providers in the plan's provider network located in Minnesota.

	(b) In the event that medically necessary covered orthotics and prosthetics are not
<u>a</u>	vailable from an in-network provider, the plan must provide processes to refer an enrollee
<u>to</u>	an out-of-network provider and must fully reimburse the out-of-network provider at a
<u>n</u>	autually agreed upon rate less enrollee cost sharing determined on an in-network basis.
	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.
	Sec. 33. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 317A.811, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
	Subdivision 1. When required. (a) Except as provided in subdivision 6, the following
c	orporations shall notify the attorney general of their intent to dissolve, merge, consolidate,
o	r convert, or to transfer all or substantially all of their assets:
	(1) a corporation that holds assets for a charitable purpose as defined in section 501B.35,
S	abdivision 2; or
	(2) a corporation that is exempt under section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code
0	f 1986, or any successor section.
	(b) Except as provided in subdivision 6, the following corporations shall notify the
<u>a</u>	torney general of their intent to dissolve, merge, consolidate, convert, or transfer at least
te	en percent of their assets:
	(1) a corporation that is a nonprofit health service plan corporation operating under
c	napter 62C; or
	(2) a corporation that is a health maintenance organization operating under chapter 62D.
	(b) (c) The notice must include:
	(1) the purpose of the corporation that is giving the notice;
	(2) a list of assets owned or held by the corporation for charitable purposes;
	(3) a description of restricted assets and purposes for which the assets were received;
	(4) a description of debts, obligations, and liabilities of the corporation;
	(5) a description of tangible assets being converted to cash and the manner in which
tł	ney will be sold;
	(6) anticipated expenses of the transaction, including attorney fees;
	(7) a list of persons to whom assets will be transferred, if known, or the name of the
c	onverted organization;
	(8) the purposes of persons receiving the assets or of the converted organization; and

(9) the terms, conditions, or restrictions, if any, to be imposed on the transferred or 87.1 converted assets. 87.2 The notice must be signed on behalf of the corporation by an authorized person. 87.3 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment. 87.4 87.5 Sec. 34. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 317A.811, subdivision 2, is amended to read: Subd. 2. Restriction on transfers. (a) Subject to subdivision 3, a corporation described 87.6 in subdivision 1, paragraph (a), may not transfer or convey assets as part of a dissolution, 87.7 merger, consolidation, or transfer of assets under section 317A.661, and it may not convert 87.8 87.9 until 45 days after it has given written notice to the attorney general, unless the attorney general waives all or part of the waiting period. 87.10 (b) Subject to subdivision 3, a corporation described in subdivision 1, paragraph (b), 87.11 may not transfer or convey assets as part of a dissolution, merger, consolidation, transfer 87.12 87.13 of assets under section 317A.661, or transfer of at least ten percent of its assets and it may not convert until 45 days after it has given written notice to the attorney general, unless the 87.14 attorney general waives all or part of the waiting period. 87.15 (c) For a notice given by a corporation described in subdivision 1, paragraph (b), the 87.16 attorney general may hold a public hearing with respect to the purpose for which the 87.17 corporation gave the notice. If the attorney general elects to hold a public hearing, the 87.18 attorney general must give at least seven days' notice of the hearing to the corporation filing 87.19 the statement and to the public. 87.20 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment. 87.21 Sec. 35. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 317A.811, subdivision 4, is amended to read: 87.22 Subd. 4. **Notice after transfer.** When all or substantially all of the assets of a corporation 87.23 described in subdivision 1, paragraph (a), or at least ten percent of the assets of a corporation 87.24 described in subdivision 1, paragraph (b), have been transferred or conveyed following 87.25 87.26 expiration or waiver of the waiting period, the board shall deliver to the attorney general a list of persons to whom the assets were transferred or conveyed. The list must include the 87.27 addresses of each person who received assets and show what assets the person received. 87.28 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment. 87.29

88.1	Sec. 36.	COMMISSIONER	OF COMMERCE

The commissioner of commerce shall consult with health plan companies, pharmacies, and pharmacy benefit managers to develop guidance to implement coverage for the pharmacy services required by sections 21 to 23.

Sec. 37. TRANSITION.

88.2

88.3

88.4

88.5

- 88.6 (a) A health maintenance organization that has a certificate of authority under Minnesota
 88.7 Statutes, chapter 62D, but that is not a nonprofit corporation organized under Minnesota
 88.8 Statutes, chapter 317A, or a local governmental unit, as defined in Minnesota Statutes,
 88.9 section 62D.02, subdivision 11:
- 88.10 (1) must not offer, sell, issue, or renew any health maintenance contracts on or after
 88.11 August 1, 2024;
- 88.12 (2) may otherwise continue to operate as a health maintenance organization until
 88.13 December 31, 2025; and
- (3) must provide notice to the health maintenance organization's enrollees as of August
 1, 2024, of the date the health maintenance organization will cease to operate in this state
 and any plans to transition enrollee coverage to another insurer. This notice must be provided
 by October 1, 2024.
- (b) The commissioner of health must not issue or renew a certificate of authority to
 operate as a health maintenance organization on or after August 1, 2024, unless the entity
 seeking the certificate of authority meets the requirements for a health maintenance
 organization under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 62D, in effect on or after August 1, 2024.

88.22 Sec. 38. **REPEALER.**

- (a) Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 62A.041, subdivision 3, is repealed.
- 88.24 (b) Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 62Q.522, subdivisions 3 and 4, are repealed.
- EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025, and applies to health plans offered, sold, issued, or renewed on or after that date.

ARTICLE 5

89.2	DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH
89.3	Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 103I.621, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
89.4	Subdivision 1. Permit. (a) Notwithstanding any department or agency rule to the contrary,
89.5	the commissioner shall issue, on request by the owner of the property and payment of the
89.6	permit fee, permits for the reinjection of water by a properly constructed well into the same
89.7	aquifer from which the water was drawn for the operation of a groundwater thermal exchange
89.8	device.
89.9	(b) As a condition of the permit, an applicant must agree to allow inspection by the
89.10	commissioner during regular working hours for department inspectors.
89.11	(c) Not more than 200 permits may be issued for small systems having maximum
89.12	capacities of 20 gallons per minute or less and that are compliant with the natural resource
89.13	water-use requirements under subdivision 2. The small systems are subject to inspection
89.14	twice a year.
89.15	(d) Not more than ten 100 permits may be issued for larger systems having maximum
89.16	capacities from over 20 to 50 gallons per minute and that are compliant with the natural
89.17	resource water-use requirements under subdivision 2. The larger systems are subject to
89.18	inspection four times a year.
89.19	(e) A person issued a permit must comply with this section for the permit to be valid.
89.20	and permit conditions deemed necessary to protect public health and safety of the
89.21	groundwater, which conditions may include but are not limited to:
89.22	(1) notification to the commissioner at intervals specified in the permit conditions;
89.23	(2) system operation and maintenance;
89.24	(3) system location and construction;
89.25	(4) well location and construction;
89.26	(5) signage requirements;
89.27	(6) reports of system construction, performance, operation, and maintenance;
89.28	(7) removal of the system upon termination of use or failure;
89.29	(8) disclosure of the system at the time of property transfer;
89.30	(9) requirements to obtain approval from the commissioner prior to deviation from the
89.31	approval plan and conditions;

00.1	(10) groundwater level monitoring; and
00.2	(11) groundwater quality monitoring.
00.3	(f) The property owner or the property owner's agent must submit to the commissioner
00.4	a permit application on a form provided by the commissioner, or in a format approved by
00.5	the commissioner, that provides any information necessary to protect public health and
0.6	safety of the groundwater.
0.7	(g) A permit granted under this section is not valid if a water-use permit is required for
00.8	the project and is not approved by the commissioner of natural resources.
0.9	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
0.10	Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 103I.621, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
0.11	Subd. 2. Water-use requirements apply. Water-use permit requirements and penalties
0.12	under chapter 103F 103G and related rules adopted and enforced by the commissioner of
0.13	natural resources apply to groundwater thermal exchange permit recipients. A person who
0.14	violates a provision of this section is subject to enforcement or penalties for the noncomplying
0.15	activity that are available to the commissioner and the Pollution Control Agency.
0.16	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
0.17	Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 144.1501, subdivision 1, is amended
0.18	to read:
0.19	Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the following definitions
0.20	apply.
0.21	(b) "Advanced dental therapist" means an individual who is licensed as a dental therapist
0.22	under section 150A.06, and who is certified as an advanced dental therapist under section
00.23	150A.106.
0.24	(c) "Alcohol and drug counselor" means an individual who is licensed as an alcohol and
00.25	drug counselor under chapter 148F.
0.26	(d) "Dental therapist" means an individual who is licensed as a dental therapist under
0.27	section 150A.06.
00.28	(e) "Dentist" means an individual who is licensed to practice dentistry.

91.1	(1) "Designated rural area" means a statutory and home rule charter city or township that
91.2	is outside the seven-county metropolitan area as defined in section 473.121, subdivision 2
91.3	excluding the cities of Duluth, Mankato, Moorhead, Rochester, and St. Cloud.
91.4	(g) "Emergency circumstances" means those conditions that make it impossible for the
91.5	participant to fulfill the service commitment, including death, total and permanent disability
91.6	or temporary disability lasting more than two years.
91.7	(h) "Hospital nurse" means an individual who is licensed as a registered nurse and who
91.8	is providing direct patient care in a nonprofit hospital setting.
91.9	(i) (h) "Mental health professional" means an individual providing clinical services in
91.10	the treatment of mental illness who is qualified in at least one of the ways specified in section
91.11	245.462, subdivision 18.
91.12	(j) (i) "Medical resident" means an individual participating in a medical residency in
91.13	family practice, internal medicine, obstetrics and gynecology, pediatrics, or psychiatry.
91.14	(k) (j) "Midlevel practitioner" means a nurse practitioner, nurse-midwife, nurse
91.15	anesthetist, advanced clinical nurse specialist, or physician assistant.
91.16	(1) (k) "Nurse" means an individual who has completed training and received all licensing
91.17	or certification necessary to perform duties as a licensed practical nurse or registered nurse
91.18	(m) (l) "Nurse-midwife" means a registered nurse who has graduated from a program
91.19	of study designed to prepare registered nurses for advanced practice as nurse-midwives.
91.20	(n) (m) "Nurse practitioner" means a registered nurse who has graduated from a program
91.21	of study designed to prepare registered nurses for advanced practice as nurse practitioners
91.22	(o) (n) "Pharmacist" means an individual with a valid license issued under chapter 151
91.23	(p) (o) "Physician" means an individual who is licensed to practice medicine in the areas
91.24	of family practice, internal medicine, obstetrics and gynecology, pediatrics, or psychiatry.
91.25	(q) (p) "Physician assistant" means a person licensed under chapter 147A.
91.26	(r) (q) "Public health nurse" means a registered nurse licensed in Minnesota who has
91.27	obtained a registration certificate as a public health nurse from the Board of Nursing in
91.28	accordance with Minnesota Rules, chapter 6316.
91.29	(s) (r) "Qualified educational loan" means a government, commercial, or foundation
91.30	loan for actual costs paid for tuition, reasonable education expenses, and reasonable living
91.31	expenses related to the graduate or undergraduate education of a health care professional.

SENATEE	LB	SS4699R
	SENATEE	SENATEE LB

(t) (s) "Underserved urban community" means a Minnesota urban area or population included in the list of designated primary medical care health professional shortage areas (HPSAs), medically underserved areas (MUAs), or medically underserved populations (MUPs) maintained and updated by the United States Department of Health and Human Services.

- 92.6 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 144.1501, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
 - Subd. 2. Creation of account Availability. (a) A health professional education loan forgiveness program account is established. The commissioner of health shall use money from the account to establish a appropriated for health professional education loan forgiveness program in this section:
 - (1) for medical residents, mental health professionals, and alcohol and drug counselors agreeing to practice in designated rural areas or underserved urban communities or specializing in the area of pediatric psychiatry;
 - (2) for midlevel practitioners agreeing to practice in designated rural areas or to teach at least 12 credit hours, or 720 hours per year in the nursing field in a postsecondary program at the undergraduate level or the equivalent at the graduate level;
 - (3) for nurses who agree to practice in a Minnesota nursing home; in an intermediate care facility for persons with developmental disability; in a hospital if the hospital owns and operates a Minnesota nursing home and a minimum of 50 percent of the hours worked by the nurse is in the nursing home; in an assisted living facility as defined in section 144G.08, subdivision 7; or for a home care provider as defined in section 144A.43, subdivision 4; or agree to teach at least 12 credit hours, or 720 hours per year in the nursing field in a postsecondary program at the undergraduate level or the equivalent at the graduate level;
 - (4) for other health care technicians agreeing to teach at least 12 credit hours, or 720 hours per year in their designated field in a postsecondary program at the undergraduate level or the equivalent at the graduate level. The commissioner, in consultation with the Healthcare Education-Industry Partnership, shall determine the health care fields where the need is the greatest, including, but not limited to, respiratory therapy, clinical laboratory technology, radiologic technology, and surgical technology;
- 92.32 (5) for pharmacists, advanced dental therapists, dental therapists, and public health nurses 92.33 who agree to practice in designated rural areas;

92.1

92.2

92.3

92.4

92.5

92.8

92.9

92.10

92.11

92.12

92.13

92.14

92.15

92.16

92.17

92.18

92.19

92.20

92.21

92.22

92.23

92.24

92.25

92.26

92.27

92.28

92.29

92.30

(6) for dentists agreeing to deliver at least 25 percent of the dentist's yearly patient encounters to state public program enrollees or patients receiving sliding fee schedule discounts through a formal sliding fee schedule meeting the standards established by the United States Department of Health and Human Services under Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, section 51, chapter 303; and

- (7) for nurses employed as a hospital nurse by a nonprofit hospital and providing direct care to patients at the nonprofit hospital.
- (b) Appropriations made to the account for health professional education loan forgiveness in this section do not cancel and are available until expended, except that at the end of each biennium, any remaining balance in the account that is not committed by contract and not needed to fulfill existing commitments shall cancel to the fund.
- 93.12 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 144.1501, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
 - Subd. 2. **Creation of account.** (a) A health professional education loan forgiveness program account is established. The commissioner of health shall use money from the account to establish a loan forgiveness program:
 - (1) for medical residents, mental health professionals, and alcohol and drug counselors agreeing to practice in designated rural areas or underserved urban communities or specializing in the area of pediatric psychiatry;
 - (2) for midlevel practitioners agreeing to practice in designated rural areas or to teach at least 12 credit hours, or 720 hours per year in the nursing field in a postsecondary program at the undergraduate level or the equivalent at the graduate level;
 - (3) for nurses who agree to practice in a Minnesota nursing home; in an intermediate care facility for persons with developmental disability; in a hospital if the hospital owns and operates a Minnesota nursing home and a minimum of 50 percent of the hours worked by the nurse is in the nursing home; in an assisted living facility as defined in section 144G.08, subdivision 7; or for a home care provider as defined in section 144A.43, subdivision 4; or agree to teach at least 12 credit hours, or 720 hours per year in the nursing field in a postsecondary program at the undergraduate level or the equivalent at the graduate level;
 - (4) for other health care technicians agreeing to teach at least 12 credit hours, or 720 hours per year in their designated field in a postsecondary program at the undergraduate level or the equivalent at the graduate level. The commissioner, in consultation with the

93.1

93.2

93.3

93.4

93.5

93.6

93.7

93.8

93.9

93.10

93.11

93.14

93.15

93.16

93.17

93.18

93.19

93.20

93.21

93.22

93.23

93.24

93.25

93.26

93.27

93.28

93.29

93.30

93.31

93.32

Healthcare Education-Industry Partnership, shall determine the health care fields where the need is the greatest, including, but not limited to, respiratory therapy, clinical laboratory technology, radiologic technology, and surgical technology;

- (5) for pharmacists, advanced dental therapists, dental therapists, and public health nurses who agree to practice in designated rural areas; and
- (6) for dentists agreeing to deliver at least 25 percent of the dentist's yearly patient encounters to state public program enrollees or patients receiving sliding fee schedule discounts through a formal sliding fee schedule meeting the standards established by the United States Department of Health and Human Services under Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, section 51, chapter 303; and.
- (7) for nurses employed as a hospital nurse by a nonprofit hospital and providing direct care to patients at the nonprofit hospital.
- (b) Appropriations made to the account do not cancel and are available until expended, except that at the end of each biennium, any remaining balance in the account that is not committed by contract and not needed to fulfill existing commitments shall cancel to the fund.
- 94.17 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 144.1501, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
- 94.19 Subd. 3. **Eligibility.** (a) To be eligible to participate in the loan forgiveness program, an individual must:
 - (1) be a medical or dental resident; a licensed pharmacist; or be enrolled in a training or education program to become a dentist, dental therapist, advanced dental therapist, mental health professional, alcohol and drug counselor, pharmacist, public health nurse, midlevel practitioner, registered nurse, or a licensed practical nurse. The commissioner may also consider applications submitted by graduates in eligible professions who are licensed and in practice; and
 - (2) submit an application to the commissioner of health. A nurse applying under subdivision 2, paragraph (a), clause (7), must also include proof that the applicant is employed as a hospital nurse.
 - (b) An applicant selected to participate must sign a contract to agree to serve a minimum three-year full-time service obligation according to subdivision 2, which shall begin no later than March 31 following completion of required training, with the exception of:

94.1

94.2

94.3

94.4

94.5

94.6

94.7

94.8

94.9

94.10

94.11

94.12

94.13

94.14

94.15

94.16

94.21

94.22

94.23

94.24

94.25

94.26

94.27

94.28

94.29

94.30

94.31

(1) a nurse, who must agree to serve a minimum two-year full-time service obligation according to subdivision 2, which shall begin no later than March 31 following completion of required training; and

- (2) a nurse selected under subdivision 2, paragraph (a), clause (7), who must agree to continue as a hospital nurse for a minimum two-year service obligation; and
- (3) (2) a nurse who agrees to teach according to subdivision 2, paragraph (a), clause (3), who must sign a contract to agree to teach for a minimum of two years.
 - Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 144.1501, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. Loan forgiveness. (a) The commissioner of health may select applicants each year for participation in the loan forgiveness program, within the limits of available funding. In considering applications, the commissioner shall give preference to applicants who document diverse cultural competencies. The commissioner shall distribute available funds for loan forgiveness proportionally among the eligible professions according to the vacancy rate for each profession in the required geographic area, facility type, teaching area, patient group, or specialty type specified in subdivision 2, except for hospital nurses. The commissioner shall allocate funds for physician loan forgiveness so that 75 percent of the funds available are used for rural physician loan forgiveness and 25 percent of the funds available are used for underserved urban communities and pediatric psychiatry loan forgiveness. If the commissioner does not receive enough qualified applicants each year to use the entire allocation of funds for any eligible profession, the remaining funds may be allocated proportionally among the other eligible professions according to the vacancy rate for each profession in the required geographic area, patient group, or facility type specified in subdivision 2. Applicants are responsible for securing their own qualified educational loans. The commissioner shall select participants based on their suitability for practice serving the required geographic area or facility type specified in subdivision 2, as indicated by experience or training. The commissioner shall give preference to applicants closest to completing their training. Except as specified in paragraph (e) (b), for each year that a participant meets the service obligation required under subdivision 3, up to a maximum of four years, the commissioner shall make annual disbursements directly to the participant equivalent to 15 percent of the average educational debt for indebted graduates in their profession in the year closest to the applicant's selection for which information is available, not to exceed the balance of the participant's qualifying educational loans. Before receiving loan repayment disbursements and as requested, the participant must complete and return

95.1

95.2

95.3

95.4

95.5

95.6

95.7

95.8

95.9

95.10

95.11

95.12

95.13

95.14

95.15

95.16

95.17

95.18

95.19

95.20

95.21

95.22

95.23

95.24

95.25

95.26

95.27

95.28

95.29

95.30

95.31

95.32

95.33

to the commissioner a confirmation of practice form provided by the commissioner verifying that the participant is practicing as required under subdivisions 2 and 3. The participant must provide the commissioner with verification that the full amount of loan repayment disbursement received by the participant has been applied toward the designated loans. After each disbursement, verification must be received by the commissioner and approved before the next loan repayment disbursement is made. Participants who move their practice remain eligible for loan repayment as long as they practice as required under subdivision 2.

(b) For hospital nurses, the commissioner of health shall select applicants each year for participation in the hospital nursing education loan forgiveness program, within limits of available funding for hospital nurses. Before receiving the annual loan repayment disbursement, the participant must complete and return to the commissioner a confirmation of practice form provided by the commissioner, verifying that the participant continues to meet the eligibility requirements under subdivision 3. The participant must provide the commissioner with verification that the full amount of loan repayment disbursement received by the participant has been applied toward the designated loans.

(e) (b) For each year that a participant who is a nurse and who has agreed to teach according to subdivision 2 meets the teaching obligation required in subdivision 3, the commissioner shall make annual disbursements directly to the participant equivalent to 15 percent of the average annual educational debt for indebted graduates in the nursing profession in the year closest to the participant's selection for which information is available, not to exceed the balance of the participant's qualifying educational loans.

Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144.1501, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

Subd. 5. **Penalty for nonfulfillment.** If a participant does not fulfill the required minimum commitment of service according to subdivision 3, the commissioner of health shall collect from the participant the total amount paid to the participant under the loan forgiveness program plus interest at a rate established according to section 270C.40. The commissioner shall deposit the money collected in the health care access fund to be credited to a dedicated account in the special revenue fund. The balance of the account is appropriated annually to the commissioner for the health professional education loan forgiveness program account established in subdivision 2. The commissioner shall allow waivers of all or part of the money owed the commissioner as a result of a nonfulfillment penalty if emergency circumstances prevented fulfillment of the minimum service commitment.

96.1

96.2

96.3

96.4

96.5

96.6

96.7

96.8

96.9

96.10

96.11

96.12

96.13

96.14

96.15

96.16

96.17

96.18

96.19

96.20

96.21

96.22

96.23

96.24

96.25

96.26

96.27

96.28

96.29

96.30

96.31

96.32

Sec. 9. [144.1512] HC	DSPITAL NURSING EDUCATIONAL LOAN FORGIVENESS
PROGRAM.	
Subdivision 1. Defin	nitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the following definitions
apply.	
(b) "Emergency circ	eumstances" means those conditions that make it impossible for the
participant to fulfill the	service commitment, including death, total and permanent disability,
or temporary disability	lasting more than two years.
(c) "Hospital nurse"	means an individual who is licensed as a registered nurse and who
s providing direct patie	ent care in a nonprofit hospital setting.
(d) "Qualified educa	ational loan" means a government, commercial, or foundation loan
or actual costs paid for	tuition, reasonable education expenses, and reasonable living
expenses related to the	graduate or undergraduate education of a health care professional.
Subd. 2. Creation of	f account. (a) A hospital nursing education loan forgiveness program
account is established in	n the special revenue fund. The commissioner of health shall use
noney from the accoun	t to establish a loan forgiveness program for licensed registered
urses employed as hos	spital nurses by a nonprofit hospital and who provide direct care to
atients at the nonprofit	hospital.
(b) Money transferre	ed to or deposited in the account does not cancel and is available
ntil expended. The bal	ance of the account is appropriated annually to the commissioner
or the hospital nursing	educational loan forgiveness program.
Subd. 3. Eligibility.	(a) To be eligible to participate in the hospital nursing educational
oan forgiveness prograr	m, an individual must: (1) be a hospital nurse who has been employed
s a hospital nurse for a	t least three years; (2) submit an application to the commissioner of
nealth; and (3) submit p	roof that the applicant is employed as a hospital nurse and has been
o employed for at least	three years.
(b) The commission	er must accept a signed work verification form from the applicant's
supervisor as proof of the	he applicant's tenure providing direct patient care in a nonprofit
hospital setting.	
(c) An applicant sele	ected to participate in the loan forgiveness program must sign a
contract to agree to cont	tinue as a hospital nurse for a minimum two-year service obligation.
Subd. 4. Loan forgi	veness. (a) Within the limits of available funding, the commissioner
of health shall select app	plicants each year for participation in the loan forgiveness program.

If the total requests from eligible applicants exceeds the available funding, the commissioner shall randomly select grantees from among eligible applicants.

- (b) Applicants are responsible for securing their own qualified educational loans.
- (c) For each year that a participant meets the service obligation required under subdivision 3, up to a maximum of four years, the commissioner shall make annual disbursements directly to the participant equivalent to 15 percent of the average educational debt for indebted graduates in their profession in the year closest to the applicant's selection for which information is available, not to exceed the balance of the participant's qualifying educational loans. Before receiving loan repayment disbursements and as requested, the participant must complete and return to the commissioner a confirmation of practice form provided by the commissioner verifying that the participant is practicing as required under subdivisions 2 and 3.
- (d) The participant must provide the commissioner with verification that the full amount of loan repayment disbursement received by the participant has been applied toward the designated loans. After each disbursement, verification must be received by the commissioner and approved before the next loan repayment disbursement is made.
- (e) Participants who move their practice remain eligible for loan repayment as long as they practice as required under subdivisions 2 and 3.
- Subd. 5. Penalty for nonfulfillment. (a) If a participant does not fulfill the required minimum commitment of service according to subdivision 3, the commissioner of health shall collect from the participant the total amount paid to the participant under the loan forgiveness program. The commissioner shall deposit the money collected from the participant in the special revenue fund to be credited to the hospital nursing education loan forgiveness program account established in subdivision 2.
- (b) The commissioner shall allow waivers of all or part of the money owed to the commissioner as a result of a nonfulfillment penalty if the participant is unable to fulfill the minimum service commitment due to emergency circumstances, life changes outside the applicant's control, inability to obtain required hours as a result of a scheduling decision by the hospital, or other circumstances as determined by the commissioner.
- 98.30 Subd. 6. Rules. The commissioner may adopt rules to implement this section.
- 98.31 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144.555, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:
- Subd. 1a. **Notice of closing, curtailing operations, relocating services, or ceasing to**offer certain services; hospitals. (a) The controlling persons of a hospital licensed under

98.1

98.2

98.3

98.4

98.5

98.6

98.7

98.8

98.9

98.10

98.11

98.12

98.13

98.14

98.15

98.16

98.17

98.18

98.19

98.20

98.21

98.22

98.23

98.24

98.25

98.26

98.27

98.28

sections 144.50 to 144.56 or a hospital campus must notify the commissioner of health and, the public, and others at least 120 182 days before the hospital or hospital campus voluntarily plans to implement one of the following scheduled actions listed in paragraph (b), unless the controlling persons can demonstrate to the commissioner that meeting the advanced notice requirement is not feasible and the commissioner approves a shorter advanced notice. (b) The following scheduled actions require advanced notice under paragraph (a): (1) cease ceasing operations; (2) curtail curtailing operations to the extent that patients must be relocated; (3) relocate relocating the provision of health services to another hospital or another 99.9 hospital campus; or 99.10 (4) cease offering ceasing to offer maternity care and newborn care services, intensive 99.11 care unit services, inpatient mental health services, or inpatient substance use disorder 99.12 treatment services. 99.13 (c) A notice required under this subdivision must comply with the requirements in 99.14 subdivision 1d. 99.15 (b) (d) The commissioner shall cooperate with the controlling persons and advise them 99.16 about relocating the patients. 99.17 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144.555, subdivision 1b, is amended to read: 99.18 Subd. 1b. **Public hearing.** Within 45 30 days after receiving notice under subdivision 99.19 1a, the commissioner shall conduct a public hearing on the scheduled cessation of operations, 99.20 curtailment of operations, relocation of health services, or cessation in offering health 99.21 services. The commissioner must provide adequate public notice of the hearing in a time 99.22 and manner determined by the commissioner. The controlling persons of the hospital or 99.23 hospital campus must participate in the public hearing. The public hearing must be held at 99.24 a location that is within ten miles of the hospital or hospital campus or with the 99.25 commissioner's approval as close as is practicable, and that is provided or arranged by the 99.26 hospital or hospital campus. Video conferencing technology must be used to allow members 99.27 of the public to view and participate in the hearing. The public hearing must include: 99.28 (1) an explanation by the controlling persons of the reasons for ceasing or curtailing 99.29 operations, relocating health services, or ceasing to offer any of the listed health services; 99.30

99.1

99.2

99.3

99.4

99.5

99.6

99.7

100.1	(2) a description of the actions that controlling persons will take to ensure that residents
100.2	in the hospital's or campus's service area have continued access to the health services being
100.3	eliminated, curtailed, or relocated;
100.4	(3) an opportunity for public testimony on the scheduled cessation or curtailment of
100.5	operations, relocation of health services, or cessation in offering any of the listed health
100.6	services, and on the hospital's or campus's plan to ensure continued access to those health
100.7	services being eliminated, curtailed, or relocated; and
100.8	(4) an opportunity for the controlling persons to respond to questions from interested
100.9	persons.
100.10	Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144.555, is amended by adding a subdivision
100.11	to read:
100.12	Subd. 1d. Methods of providing notice; content of notice. (a) A notice required under
100.13	subdivision 1a must be provided to patients, hospital personnel, the public, local units of
100.14	government, and the commissioner of health using at least the following methods:
100.15	(1) posting a notice of the proposed cessation of operations, curtailment, relocation of
100.16	health services, or cessation in offering health services at the main public entrance of the
100.17	hospital or hospital campus;
100.18	(2) providing written notice to the commissioner of health, to the city council in the city
100.19	where the hospital or hospital campus is located, and to the county board in the county
100.20	where the hospital or hospital campus is located;
100.21	(3) providing written notice to the local health department as defined in section 145A.02,
100.22	subdivision 8b, for the community where the hospital or hospital campus is located;
100.23	(4) providing notice to the public through a written public announcement which must
100.24	be distributed to local media outlets;
100.25	(5) providing written notice to existing patients of the hospital or hospital campus; and
100.26	(6) notifying all personnel currently employed in the unit, hospital, or hospital campus
100.27	impacted by the proposed cessation, curtailment, or relocation.
100.28	(b) A notice required under subdivision 1a must include:
100.29	(1) a description of the proposed cessation of operations, curtailment, relocation of health
100.30	services, or cessation in offering health services. The description must include:

101.1	(i) the number of beds, if any, that will be eliminated, repurposed, reassigned, or otherwise
101.2	reconfigured to serve populations or patients other than those currently served;
101.3	(ii) the current number of beds in the impacted unit, hospital, or hospital campus, and
101.4	the number of beds in the impacted unit, hospital, or hospital campus after the proposed
101.5	cessation, curtailment, or relocation takes place;
101.6	(iii) the number of existing patients who will be impacted by the proposed cessation,
101.7	curtailment, or relocation;
101.8	(iv) any decrease in personnel, or relocation of personnel to a different unit, hospital, or
101.9	hospital campus, caused by the proposed cessation, curtailment, or relocation;
101.10	(v) a description of the health services provided by the unit, hospital, or hospital campus
101.11	impacted by the proposed cessation, curtailment, or relocation; and
101.12	(vi) identification of the three nearest available health care facilities where patients may
101.13	obtain the health services provided by the unit, hospital, or hospital campus impacted by
101.14	the proposed cessation, curtailment, or relocation, and any potential barriers to seamlessly
101.15	transition patients to receive services at one of these facilities. If the unit, hospital, or hospital
101.16	campus impacted by the proposed cessation, curtailment, or relocation serves medical
101.17	assistance or Medicare enrollees, the information required under this item must specify
101.18	whether any of the three nearest available facilities serves medical assistance or Medicare
101.19	enrollees; and
101.20	(2) a telephone number, email address, and address for each of the following, to which
101.21	interested parties may offer comments on the proposed cessation, curtailment, or relocation:
101.22	(i) the hospital or hospital campus; and
101.23	(ii) the parent entity, if any, or the entity under contract, if any, that acts as the corporate
101.24	administrator of the hospital or hospital campus.
101.25	Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144.555, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
101.26	Subd. 2. Penalty; facilities other than hospitals. Failure to notify the commissioner
101.27	under subdivision 1, 1a, or 1e or failure to participate in a public hearing under subdivision
101.28	1b may result in issuance of a correction order under section 144.653, subdivision 5.

Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144.555, is amended by adding a subdivision 102.1 102.2 to read: 102.3 Subd. 3. Penalties; hospitals. (a) Failure to participate in a public hearing under subdivision 1b or failure to notify the commissioner under subdivision 1c may result in 102.4 102.5 issuance of a correction order under section 144.653, subdivision 5. (b) Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, the commissioner must impose on the 102.6 controlling persons of a hospital or hospital campus a fine of \$20,000 for each failure to 102.7 provide notice to an individual or entity or at a location required under subdivision 1d, 102.8 paragraph (a). The cumulative fines imposed under this paragraph must not exceed \$60,000 102.9 102.10 for any scheduled action requiring notice under subdivision 1a. The commissioner is not required to issue a correction order before imposing a fine under this paragraph. Section 102.11 144.653, subdivision 8, applies to fines imposed under this paragraph. 102.12 Sec. 15. [144.556] RIGHT OF FIRST REFUSAL; SALE OF HOSPITAL OR 102.13 **HOSPITAL CAMPUS.** 102.14 102.15 (a) The controlling persons of a hospital licensed under sections 144.50 to 144.56 or a 102.16 hospital campus must not sell or convey the hospital or hospital campus, offer to sell or convey the hospital or hospital campus to a person other than a local unit of government 102.17 listed in this paragraph, or voluntarily cease operations of the hospital or hospital campus 102.18 unless the controlling persons have first made a good faith offer to sell or convey the hospital 102.19 102.20 or hospital campus to the home rule charter or statutory city, county, town, or hospital district in which the hospital or hospital campus is located. 102.21 (b) The offer to sell or convey the hospital or hospital campus to a local unit of 102.22 government under paragraph (a) must be at a price that does not exceed the current fair 102.23 market value of the hospital or hospital campus. A party to whom an offer is made under 102.24 paragraph (a) must accept or decline the offer within 60 days of receipt. If the party to whom 102.25 the offer is made fails to respond within 60 days of receipt, the offer is deemed declined. 102.26 102.27 Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144A.61, subdivision 3a, is amended to read: Subd. 3a. Competency evaluation program. (a) The commissioner of health shall 102.28 approve the competency evaluation program. 102.29 (b) A competency evaluation must be administered to persons who desire to be listed 102.30 in the nursing assistant registry. The tests may only be administered by technical colleges, 102.31

community colleges, or other organizations approved by the Department of Health

commissioner of health. The commissioner must ensure any written portions of the competency evaluation are available in languages other than English that are commonly spoken by persons who desire to be listed in the nursing assistant registry. The commissioner may consult with the state demographer or the commissioner of employment and economic development when identifying languages that are commonly spoken by persons who desire to be listed in the nursing assistant registry.

(c) The commissioner of health shall approve a nursing assistant for the registry without requiring a competency evaluation if the nursing assistant is in good standing on a nursing assistant registry in another state.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.

- Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144A.70, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
- Subd. 3. **Controlling person.** "Controlling person" means a business entity or entities, officer, program administrator, or director, whose responsibilities include the direction of the management or policies of a supplemental nursing services agency the management and decision-making authority to establish or control business policy and all other policies of a supplemental nursing services agency. Controlling person also means an individual who, directly or indirectly, beneficially owns an interest in a corporation, partnership, or other business association that is a controlling person.
- Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144A.70, subdivision 5, is amended to read:
- Subd. 5. **Person.** "Person" includes an individual, firm, corporation, partnership, limited liability company, or association.
- Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144A.70, subdivision 6, is amended to read:
- Subd. 6. **Supplemental nursing services agency.** "Supplemental nursing services agency" means a person, firm, corporation, partnership, limited liability company, or association engaged for hire in the business of providing or procuring temporary employment in health care facilities for nurses, nursing assistants, nurse aides, and orderlies. Supplemental nursing services agency does not include an individual who only engages in providing the individual's services on a temporary basis to health care facilities. Supplemental nursing services agency does not include a professional home care agency licensed under section 103.30 144A.471 that only provides staff to other home care providers.

103.1

103.2

103.3

103.4

103.5

103.6

103.7

103.8

103.9

Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144A.70, subdivision 7, is amended to read: 104.1 Subd. 7. Oversight. The commissioner is responsible for the oversight of supplemental 104.2 104.3 nursing services agencies through annual semiannual unannounced surveys and follow-up surveys, complaint investigations under sections 144A.51 to 144A.53, and other actions 104.4 104.5 necessary to ensure compliance with sections 144A.70 to 144A.74. Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144A.71, subdivision 2, is amended to read: 104.6 Subd. 2. Application information and fee. The commissioner shall establish forms and 104.7 procedures for processing each supplemental nursing services agency registration application. 104.8 An application for a supplemental nursing services agency registration must include at least 104.9 the following: 104.10 104.11 (1) the names and addresses of the owner or owners all owners and controlling persons of the supplemental nursing services agency; 104.12 104.13 (2) if the owner is a corporation, copies of its articles of incorporation and current bylaws, together with the names and addresses of its officers and directors; 104 14 104.15 (3) satisfactory proof of compliance with section 144A.72, subdivision 1, clauses (5) to (7) if the owner is a limited liability company, copies of its articles of organization and 104.16 operating agreement, together with the names and addresses of its officers and directors; 104.17 (4) documentation that the supplemental nursing services agency has medical malpractice 104.18 insurance to insure against the loss, damage, or expense of a claim arising out of the death 104.19 or injury of any person as the result of negligence or malpractice in the provision of health 104.20 care services by the supplemental nursing services agency or by any employee of the agency; 104.21 104.22 (5) documentation that the supplemental nursing services agency has an employee dishonesty bond in the amount of \$10,000; 104.23 104 24 (6) documentation that the supplemental nursing services agency has insurance coverage for workers' compensation for all nurses, nursing assistants, nurse aids, and orderlies provided 104.25 or procured by the agency; 104.26 (7) documentation that the supplemental nursing services agency filed with the 104.27 commissioner of revenue: (i) the name and address of the bank, savings bank, or savings 104.28 association in which the supplemental nursing services agency deposits all employee income 104.29 tax withholdings; and (ii) the name and address of any nurse, nursing assistant, nurse aid, 104.30 104.31 or orderly whose income is derived from placement by the agency, if the agency purports

104.32

the income is not subject to withholding;

(4) (8) any other relevant information that the commissioner determines is necessary to 105.1 properly evaluate an application for registration; 105.2 (5) (9) a policy and procedure that describes how the supplemental nursing services 105.3 agency's records will be immediately available at all times to the commissioner and facility; 105.4

(6) (10) a nonrefundable registration fee of \$2,035. 105.6

105.5

105.7

105.8

and

If a supplemental nursing services agency fails to provide the items in this subdivision to the department, the commissioner shall immediately suspend or refuse to issue the supplemental nursing services agency registration. The supplemental nursing services agency 105.9 may appeal the commissioner's findings according to section 144A.475, subdivisions 3a 105.10 and 7, except that the hearing must be conducted by an administrative law judge within 60 105.11 calendar days of the request for hearing assignment. 105.12

- Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144A.71, is amended by adding a subdivision 105.13 105.14 to read:
- 105.15 Subd. 2a. Renewal applications. An applicant for registration renewal must complete the registration application form supplied by the department. An application must be 105.16 submitted at least 60 days before the expiration of the current registration. 105.17
- Sec. 23. [144A.715] PENALTIES. 105.18
- 105.19 Subdivision 1. Authority. The fines imposed under this section are in accordance with section 144.653, subdivision 6. 105.20
- 105.21 Subd. 2. Fines. Each violation of sections 144A.70 to 144A.74, not corrected at the time of a follow-up survey, is subject to a fine. A fine must be assessed according to the schedules 105.22 established in the sections violated. 105.23
- Subd. 3. Failure to correct. If, upon a subsequent follow-up survey after a fine has been 105.24 imposed under subdivision 2, a violation is still not corrected, another fine shall be assessed. 105.25 The fine shall be double the amount of the previous fine. 105.26
- Subd. 4. **Payment of fines.** Payment of fines is due 15 business days from the registrant's 105.27 receipt of notice of the fine from the department. 105.28
- Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144A.72, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 105.29
- Subdivision 1. **Minimum criteria.** (a) The commissioner shall require that, as a condition 105.30 of registration: 105.31

(1) all owners and controlling persons must complete a background study under section 106.1 144.057 and receive a clearance or set aside of any disqualification; 106.2 (1) (2) the supplemental nursing services agency shall document that each temporary 106.3 employee provided to health care facilities currently meets the minimum licensing, training, 106.4 and continuing education standards for the position in which the employee will be working 106.5 and verifies competency for the position. A violation of this provision may be subject to a 106.6 fine of \$3,000; 106.7 (2) (3) the supplemental nursing services agency shall comply with all pertinent 106.8 requirements relating to the health and other qualifications of personnel employed in health 106.9 106.10 care facilities; (3) (4) the supplemental nursing services agency must not restrict in any manner the 106.11 employment opportunities of its employees; A violation of this provision may be subject 106.12 to a fine of \$3,000; 106.13 (4) the supplemental nursing services agency shall carry medical malpractice insurance 106.14 to insure against the loss, damage, or expense incident to a claim arising out of the death 106.15 or injury of any person as the result of negligence or malpractice in the provision of health 106.16 care services by the supplemental nursing services agency or by any employee of the agency; 106.17 106.18 (5) the supplemental nursing services agency shall carry an employee dishonesty bond in the amount of \$10,000; 106.19 (6) the supplemental nursing services agency shall maintain insurance coverage for 106.20 workers' compensation for all nurses, nursing assistants, nurse aides, and orderlies provided 106.21 or procured by the agency; 106.22 (7) the supplemental nursing services agency shall file with the commissioner of revenue: 106.23 (i) the name and address of the bank, savings bank, or savings association in which the 106.24 106.25 supplemental nursing services agency deposits all employee income tax withholdings; and (ii) the name and address of any nurse, nursing assistant, nurse aide, or orderly whose income 106.26 is derived from placement by the agency, if the agency purports the income is not subject 106.27 to withholding; 106.28 (8) (5) the supplemental nursing services agency must not, in any contract with any 106.29 employee or health care facility, require the payment of liquidated damages, employment 106.30 fees, or other compensation should the employee be hired as a permanent employee of a 106.31 health care facility. A violation of this provision may be subject to a fine of \$3,000;

107.1 (9) (6) the supplemental nursing services agency shall document that each temporary employee provided to health care facilities is an employee of the agency and is not an 107.2 independent contractor; and 107.3 (10) (7) the supplemental nursing services agency shall retain all records for five calendar 107.4 years. All records of the supplemental nursing services agency must be immediately available 107.5 to the department. 107.6 (b) In order to retain registration, the supplemental nursing services agency must provide 107.7 services to a health care facility during the year in Minnesota within the past 12 months 107.8 preceding the supplemental nursing services agency's registration renewal date. 107.9 Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144A.73, is amended to read: 107.10 144A.73 COMPLAINT SYSTEM. 107.11 The commissioner shall establish a system for reporting complaints against a supplemental 107.12 nursing services agency or its employees. Complaints may be made by any member of the 107.13 public. Complaints against a supplemental nursing services agency shall be investigated by 107.14 the Office of Health Facility Complaints commissioner of health under sections 144A.51 107.15 107.16 to 144A.53. Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 148.235, subdivision 10, is amended to read: 107.17 Subd. 10. Administration of medications by unlicensed personnel in nursing 107.18 facilities. Notwithstanding the provisions of Minnesota Rules, part 4658.1360, subpart 2, 107.19 a graduate of a foreign nursing school who has successfully completed an approved competency evaluation under the provisions of section 144A.61 is eligible to administer 107.21 medications in a nursing facility upon completion of a any medication training program for 107.22 unlicensed personnel offered through a postsecondary educational institution, which approved 107.23 by the commissioner of health that meets the requirements specified in Minnesota Rules, 107.24 part 4658.1360, subpart 2, item B, subitems (1) to (6). 107.25 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2025. 107.26 Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 149A.02, subdivision 3, is amended to read: 107.27 Subd. 3. Arrangements for disposition. "Arrangements for disposition" means any 107.28 action normally taken by a funeral provider in anticipation of or preparation for the 107.29 entombment, burial in a cemetery, alkaline hydrolysis, or cremation, or, effective July 1, 107.30 2025, natural organic reduction of a dead human body. 107.31

Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 149A.02, subdivision 16, is amended to read:

- Subd. 16. **Final disposition.** "Final disposition" means the acts leading to and the entombment, burial in a cemetery, alkaline hydrolysis, or cremation, or, effective July 1, 2025, natural organic reduction of a dead human body.
- Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 149A.02, subdivision 26a, is amended to read:
- Subd. 26a. **Inurnment.** "Inurnment" means placing hydrolyzed or cremated remains in
- a hydrolyzed or cremated remains container suitable for placement, burial, or shipment.
- Effective July 1, 2025, inurnment also includes placing naturally reduced remains in a
- naturally reduced remains container suitable for placement, burial, or shipment.
- Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 149A.02, subdivision 27, is amended to read:
- Subd. 27. Licensee. "Licensee" means any person or entity that has been issued a license
- 108.12 to practice mortuary science, to operate a funeral establishment, to operate an alkaline
- hydrolysis facility, or to operate a crematory, or, effective July 1, 2025, to operate a natural
- organic reduction facility by the Minnesota commissioner of health.
- Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 149A.02, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
- 108.17 Subd. 30b. Natural organic reduction or naturally reduce. "Natural organic reduction"
- or "naturally reduce" means the contained, accelerated conversion of a dead human body
- to soil. This subdivision is effective July 1, 2025.
- Sec. 32. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 149A.02, is amended by adding a subdivision
- 108.21 to read:
- Subd. 30c. Natural organic reduction facility. "Natural organic reduction facility"
- means a structure, room, or other space in a building or real property where natural organic
- reduction of a dead human body occurs. This subdivision is effective July 1, 2025.
- Sec. 33. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 149A.02, is amended by adding a subdivision
- 108.26 to read:
- Subd. 30d. **Natural organic reduction vessel.** "Natural organic reduction vessel" means
- 108.28 the enclosed container in which natural organic reduction takes place. This subdivision is
- 108.29 effective July 1, 2025.

Sec. 34. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 149A.02, is amended by adding a subdivision 109.1 109.2 to read: Subd. 30e. Naturally reduced remains. "Naturally reduced remains" means the soil 109.3 remains following the natural organic reduction of a dead human body and the accompanying 109.4 plant material. This subdivision is effective July 1, 2025. 109.5 Sec. 35. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 149A.02, is amended by adding a subdivision 109.6 to read: 109.7 Subd. 30f. Naturally reduced remains container. "Naturally reduced remains container" 109.8 means a receptacle in which naturally reduced remains are placed. This subdivision is 109.9 effective July 1, 2025. Sec. 36. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 149A.02, subdivision 35, is amended to read: 109.11 Subd. 35. Processing. "Processing" means the removal of foreign objects, drying or 109 12 cooling, and the reduction of the hydrolyzed or remains, cremated remains, or, effective 109.13 July 1, 2025, naturally reduced remains by mechanical means including, but not limited to, grinding, crushing, or pulverizing, to a granulated appearance appropriate for final 109.15 disposition. 109.16 109.17 Sec. 37. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 149A.02, subdivision 37c, is amended to read: Subd. 37c. Scattering. "Scattering" means the authorized dispersal of hydrolyzed or 109.18 remains, cremated remains, or, effective July 1, 2025, naturally reduced remains in a defined 109.19 area of a dedicated cemetery or in areas where no local prohibition exists provided that the 109.20 hydrolyzed or, cremated, or naturally reduced remains are not distinguishable to the public, 109.21 are not in a container, and that the person who has control over disposition of the hydrolyzed 109.22 or, cremated, or naturally reduced remains has obtained written permission of the property 109.23 owner or governing agency to scatter on the property. 109.24 109.25 Sec. 38. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 149A.03, is amended to read: 149A.03 DUTIES OF COMMISSIONER. 109.26 The commissioner shall: 109.27 109.28 (1) enforce all laws and adopt and enforce rules relating to the:

of dead human bodies;

109.29

109.30

(i) removal, preparation, transportation, arrangements for disposition, and final disposition

110.1	(ii) licensure and professional conduct of funeral directors, morticians, interns, practicum
110.2	students, and clinical students;
110.3	(iii) licensing and operation of a funeral establishment;
110.4	(iv) licensing and operation of an alkaline hydrolysis facility; and
110.5	(v) licensing and operation of a crematory; and
110.6	(vi) effective July 1, 2025, licensing and operation of a natural organic reduction facility;
110.7	(2) provide copies of the requirements for licensure and permits to all applicants;
110.8	(3) administer examinations and issue licenses and permits to qualified persons and other
110.9	legal entities;
110.10	(4) maintain a record of the name and location of all current licensees and interns;
110.11	(5) perform periodic compliance reviews and premise inspections of licensees;
110.12	(6) accept and investigate complaints relating to conduct governed by this chapter;
110.13	(7) maintain a record of all current preneed arrangement trust accounts;
110.14	(8) maintain a schedule of application, examination, permit, and licensure fees, initial
110.15	and renewal, sufficient to cover all necessary operating expenses;
110.16	(9) educate the public about the existence and content of the laws and rules for mortuary
110.17	science licensing and the removal, preparation, transportation, arrangements for disposition,
110.18	and final disposition of dead human bodies to enable consumers to file complaints against
110.19	licensees and others who may have violated those laws or rules;
110.20	(10) evaluate the laws, rules, and procedures regulating the practice of mortuary science
110.21	in order to refine the standards for licensing and to improve the regulatory and enforcement
110.22	methods used; and
110.23	(11) initiate proceedings to address and remedy deficiencies and inconsistencies in the
110.24	laws, rules, or procedures governing the practice of mortuary science and the removal,
110.25	preparation, transportation, arrangements for disposition, and final disposition of dead
110.26	human bodies.
110.27	Sec. 39. [149A.56] LICENSE TO OPERATE A NATURAL ORGANIC REDUCTION
110.28	FACILITY.
110.29	Subdivision 1. License requirement. This section is effective July 1, 2025. Except as

provided in section 149A.01, subdivision 3, no person shall maintain, manage, or operate

111.1	a place or premises devoted to or used in the holding and natural organic reduction of a
111.2	dead human body without possessing a valid license to operate a natural organic reduction
111.3	facility issued by the commissioner of health.
111.4	Subd. 2. Requirements for natural organic reduction facility. (a) A natural organic
111.5	reduction facility licensed under this section must consist of:
111.6	(1) a building or structure that complies with applicable local and state building codes,
111.7	zoning laws and ordinances, and environmental standards, and that contains one or more
111.8	natural organic reduction vessels for the natural organic reduction of dead human bodies;
111.9	(2) a motorized mechanical device for processing naturally reduced remains; and
111.10	(3) an appropriate refrigerated holding facility for dead human bodies awaiting natural
111.11	organic reduction.
111.12	(b) A natural organic reduction facility licensed under this section may also contain a
111.13	display room for funeral goods.
111.14	Subd. 3. Application procedure; documentation; initial inspection. (a) An applicant
111.15	for a license to operate a natural organic reduction facility shall submit a completed
111.16	application to the commissioner. A completed application includes:
111.17	(1) a completed application form, as provided by the commissioner;
111.18	(2) proof of business form and ownership; and
111.19	(3) proof of liability insurance coverage or other financial documentation, as determined
111.20	by the commissioner, that demonstrates the applicant's ability to respond in damages for
111.21	liability arising from the ownership, maintenance, management, or operation of a natural
111.22	organic reduction facility.
111.23	(b) Upon receipt of the application and appropriate fee, the commissioner shall review
111.24	and verify all information. Upon completion of the verification process and resolution of
111.25	any deficiencies in the application information, the commissioner shall conduct an initial
111.26	inspection of the premises to be licensed. After the inspection and resolution of any
111.27	deficiencies found and any reinspections as may be necessary, the commissioner shall make
111.28	a determination, based on all the information available, to grant or deny licensure. If the
111.29	commissioner's determination is to grant the license, the applicant shall be notified and the
111.30	license shall issue and remain valid for a period prescribed on the license, but not to exceed
111.31	one calendar year from the date of issuance of the license. If the commissioner's determination
111.32	is to deny the license, the commissioner must notify the applicant, in writing, of the denial
111.33	and provide the specific reason for denial.

112.1	Subd. 4. Nontransferability of license. A license to operate a natural organic reduction
112.2	facility is not assignable or transferable and shall not be valid for any entity other than the
112.3	one named. Each license issued to operate a natural organic reduction facility is valid only
112.4	for the location identified on the license. A 50 percent or more change in ownership or
112.5	location of the natural organic reduction facility automatically terminates the license. Separate
112.6	licenses shall be required of two or more persons or other legal entities operating from the
112.7	same location.
112.8	Subd. 5. Display of license. Each license to operate a natural organic reduction facility
112.9	must be conspicuously displayed in the natural organic reduction facility at all times.
112.10	"Conspicuous display" means in a location where a member of the general public within
112.11	the natural organic reduction facility is able to observe and read the license.
112.12	Subd. 6. Period of licensure. All licenses to operate a natural organic reduction facility
112.13	issued by the commissioner are valid for a period of one calendar year beginning on July 1
112.14	and ending on June 30, regardless of the date of issuance.
112.15	Subd. 7. Reporting changes in license information. Any change of license information
112.16	must be reported to the commissioner, on forms provided by the commissioner, no later
112.17	than 30 calendar days after the change occurs. Failure to report changes is grounds for
112.18	disciplinary action.
112.19	Subd. 8. Licensing information. Section 13.41 applies to data collected and maintained
112.20	by the commissioner pursuant to this section.
112.21	Sec. 40. [149A.57] RENEWAL OF LICENSE TO OPERATE A NATURAL
112.22	ORGANIC REDUCTION FACILITY.
112.23	Subdivision 1. Renewal required. This section is effective July 1, 2025. All licenses
112.24	to operate a natural organic reduction facility issued by the commissioner expire on June
112.25	30 following the date of issuance of the license and must be renewed to remain valid.
112.26	Subd. 2. Renewal procedure and documentation. (a) Licensees who wish to renew
112.27	their licenses must submit to the commissioner a completed renewal application no later
112.28	than June 30 following the date the license was issued. A completed renewal application
112.29	includes:
112.30	(1) a completed renewal application form, as provided by the commissioner; and
112.31	(2) proof of liability insurance coverage or other financial documentation, as determined
112.32	by the commissioner, that demonstrates the applicant's ability to respond in damages for

liability arising from the ownership, maintenance, management, or operation of a natural

113.2 organic reduction facility. 113.3 (b) Upon receipt of the completed renewal application, the commissioner shall review and verify the information. Upon completion of the verification process and resolution of 113.4 113.5 any deficiencies in the renewal application information, the commissioner shall make a determination, based on all the information available, to reissue or refuse to reissue the 113.6 license. If the commissioner's determination is to reissue the license, the applicant shall be 113.7 notified and the license shall issue and remain valid for a period prescribed on the license, 113.8 but not to exceed one calendar year from the date of issuance of the license. If the 113.9 commissioner's determination is to refuse to reissue the license, section 149A.09, subdivision 113.10 2, applies. 113.11 Subd. 3. Penalty for late filing. Renewal applications received after the expiration date 113.12 of a license will result in the assessment of a late filing penalty. The late filing penalty must 113.13 be paid before the reissuance of the license and received by the commissioner no later than 113.14 31 calendar days after the expiration date of the license. 113.15 Subd. 4. Lapse of license. A license to operate a natural organic reduction facility shall 113.16 automatically lapse when a completed renewal application is not received by the 113.17 commissioner within 31 calendar days after the expiration date of a license, or a late filing 113.18 penalty assessed under subdivision 3 is not received by the commissioner within 31 calendar 113.19 113.20 days after the expiration of a license. Subd. 5. Effect of lapse of license. Upon the lapse of a license, the person to whom the 113.21 license was issued is no longer licensed to operate a natural organic reduction facility in 113.22 Minnesota. The commissioner shall issue a cease and desist order to prevent the lapsed 113.23 113.24 license holder from operating a natural organic reduction facility in Minnesota and may pursue any additional lawful remedies as justified by the case. 113.25 Subd. 6. Restoration of lapsed license. The commissioner may restore a lapsed license 113.26 upon receipt and review of a completed renewal application, receipt of the late filing penalty, 113.27 and reinspection of the premises, provided that the receipt is made within one calendar year 113.28 from the expiration date of the lapsed license and the cease and desist order issued by the 113.29 commissioner has not been violated. If a lapsed license is not restored within one calendar 113.30 year from the expiration date of the lapsed license, the holder of the lapsed license cannot 113.31 be relicensed until the requirements in section 149A.56 are met. 113.32 Subd. 7. Reporting changes in license information. Any change of license information 113.33

113.34

113.1

must be reported to the commissioner, on forms provided by the commissioner, no later

than 30 calendar days after the change occurs. Failure to report changes is grounds for 114.1 disciplinary action. 114.2 Subd. 8. Licensing information. Section 13.41 applies to data collected and maintained 114.3 by the commissioner pursuant to this section. 114.4 Sec. 41. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 149A.65, is amended by adding a subdivision 114.5 to read: 114.6 Subd. 6a. Natural organic reduction facilities. This subdivision is effective July 1, 114.7 2025. The initial and renewal fee for a natural organic reduction facility is \$425. The late 114.8 fee charge for a license renewal is \$100. 114.9 Sec. 42. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 149A.70, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 114.10 Subdivision 1. Use of titles. Only a person holding a valid license to practice mortuary 114.11 science issued by the commissioner may use the title of mortician, funeral director, or any 114.12 other title implying that the licensee is engaged in the business or practice of mortuary 114.13 science. Only the holder of a valid license to operate an alkaline hydrolysis facility issued 114.14 by the commissioner may use the title of alkaline hydrolysis facility, water cremation, water-reduction, biocremation, green-cremation, resomation, dissolution, or any other title, 114.16 word, or term implying that the licensee operates an alkaline hydrolysis facility. Only the 114.17 holder of a valid license to operate a funeral establishment issued by the commissioner may 114.18 use the title of funeral home, funeral chapel, funeral service, or any other title, word, or 114.19 term implying that the licensee is engaged in the business or practice of mortuary science. 114.20 Only the holder of a valid license to operate a crematory issued by the commissioner may use the title of crematory, crematorium, green-cremation, or any other title, word, or term

only the holder of a valid license to operate a natural organic reduction facility issued by

the commissioner may use the title of natural organic reduction facility, human composting,

implying that the licensee operates a crematory or crematorium. Effective July 1, 2025,

or any other title, word, or term implying that the licensee operates a natural organic reduction

114.27 facility.

114.23

114.29

114.30

Sec. 43. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 149A.70, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. **Business location.** A funeral establishment, alkaline hydrolysis facility, or crematory, or, effective July 1, 2025, natural organic reduction facility shall not do business in a location that is not licensed as a funeral establishment, alkaline hydrolysis facility, or

crematory, or natural organic reduction facility and shall not advertise a service that is available from an unlicensed location.

- Sec. 44. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 149A.70, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
- Subd. 3. **Advertising.** No licensee, clinical student, practicum student, or intern shall publish or disseminate false, misleading, or deceptive advertising. False, misleading, or deceptive advertising includes, but is not limited to:
- (1) identifying, by using the names or pictures of, persons who are not licensed to practice mortuary science in a way that leads the public to believe that those persons will provide mortuary science services;
- (2) using any name other than the names under which the funeral establishment, alkaline hydrolysis facility, or crematory, or, effective July 1, 2025, natural organic reduction facility is known to or licensed by the commissioner;
- (3) using a surname not directly, actively, or presently associated with a licensed funeral establishment, alkaline hydrolysis facility, or crematory, or, effective July 1, 2025, natural organic reduction facility, unless the surname had been previously and continuously used by the licensed funeral establishment, alkaline hydrolysis facility, or crematory, or natural organic reduction facility; and
- (4) using a founding or establishing date or total years of service not directly or continuously related to a name under which the funeral establishment, alkaline hydrolysis facility, or crematory, or, effective July 1, 2025, natural organic reduction facility is currently or was previously licensed.
- Any advertising or other printed material that contains the names or pictures of persons affiliated with a funeral establishment, alkaline hydrolysis facility, or crematory, or, effective July 1, 2025, natural organic reduction facility shall state the position held by the persons and shall identify each person who is licensed or unlicensed under this chapter.
- Sec. 45. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 149A.70, subdivision 5, is amended to read:
- Subd. 5. **Reimbursement prohibited.** No licensee, clinical student, practicum student, or intern shall offer, solicit, or accept a commission, fee, bonus, rebate, or other reimbursement in consideration for recommending or causing a dead human body to be disposed of by a specific body donation program, funeral establishment, alkaline hydrolysis facility, crematory, mausoleum, or cemetery, or, effective July 1, 2025, natural organic reduction facility.

Sec. 46. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 149A.71, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

- Subd. 2. Preventive requirements. (a) To prevent unfair or deceptive acts or practices, the requirements of this subdivision must be met. This subdivision applies to natural organic reduction and naturally reduced remains, goods, and services effective July 1, 2025.
- (b) Funeral providers must tell persons who ask by telephone about the funeral provider's offerings or prices any accurate information from the price lists described in paragraphs (c) to (e) and any other readily available information that reasonably answers the questions asked.
- (c) Funeral providers must make available for viewing to people who inquire in person about the offerings or prices of funeral goods or burial site goods, separate printed or typewritten price lists using a ten-point font or larger. Each funeral provider must have a separate price list for each of the following types of goods that are sold or offered for sale: 116.12
- (1) caskets; 116.13

116.1

116.2

116.3

116.4

116.5

116.6

116.7

116.8

116.9

116.10

- (2) alternative containers; 116.14
- (3) outer burial containers; 116.15
- (4) alkaline hydrolysis containers; 116.16
- 116.17 (5) cremation containers;
- (6) hydrolyzed remains containers; 116.18
- (7) cremated remains containers; 116.19
- (8) markers; and 116.20
- 116.21 (9) headstones:; and
- 116.22 (10) naturally reduced remains containers.
- (d) Each separate price list must contain the name of the funeral provider's place of 116.23 business, address, and telephone number and a caption describing the list as a price list for 116.24 116.25 one of the types of funeral goods or burial site goods described in paragraph (c), clauses (1) to (9) (10). The funeral provider must offer the list upon beginning discussion of, but 116.26 in any event before showing, the specific funeral goods or burial site goods and must provide 116.27 a photocopy of the price list, for retention, if so asked by the consumer. The list must contain, 116.28 at least, the retail prices of all the specific funeral goods and burial site goods offered which 116.29 do not require special ordering, enough information to identify each, and the effective date 116.30 for the price list. However, funeral providers are not required to make a specific price list 116.31

available if the funeral providers place the information required by this paragraph on the general price list described in paragraph (e).

- (e) Funeral providers must give a printed price list, for retention, to persons who inquire in person about the funeral goods, funeral services, burial site goods, or burial site services or prices offered by the funeral provider. The funeral provider must give the list upon beginning discussion of either the prices of or the overall type of funeral service or disposition or specific funeral goods, funeral services, burial site goods, or burial site services offered by the provider. This requirement applies whether the discussion takes place in the funeral establishment or elsewhere. However, when the deceased is removed for transportation to the funeral establishment, an in-person request for authorization to embalm does not, by itself, trigger the requirement to offer the general price list. If the provider, in making an in-person request for authorization to embalm, discloses that embalming is not required by law except in certain special cases, the provider is not required to offer the general price list. Any other discussion during that time about prices or the selection of funeral goods, funeral services, burial site goods, or burial site services triggers the requirement to give the consumer a general price list. The general price list must contain the following information:
- (1) the name, address, and telephone number of the funeral provider's place of business;
- (2) a caption describing the list as a "general price list";
- 117.20 (3) the effective date for the price list;

117.1

117.2

117.3

117.4

117.5

117.6

117.7

117.8

117.9

117.10

117.11

117.13

117.14

117.15

117.16

117.17

- 117.21 (4) the retail prices, in any order, expressed either as a flat fee or as the prices per hour, 117.22 mile, or other unit of computation, and other information described as follows:
- (i) forwarding of remains to another funeral establishment, together with a list of the services provided for any quoted price;
- (ii) receiving remains from another funeral establishment, together with a list of the services provided for any quoted price;
- (iii) separate prices for each alkaline hydrolysis, natural organic reduction, or cremation offered by the funeral provider, with the price including an alternative container or shroud or alkaline hydrolysis facility or cremation container; any alkaline hydrolysis, natural organic reduction facility, or crematory charges; and a description of the services and container included in the price, where applicable, and the price of alkaline hydrolysis or cremation where the purchaser provides the container;

118.1	(iv) separate prices for each immediate burial offered by the funeral provider, including
118.2	a casket or alternative container, and a description of the services and container included
118.3	in that price, and the price of immediate burial where the purchaser provides the casket or
118.4	alternative container;
118.5	(v) transfer of remains to the funeral establishment or other location;
118.6	(vi) embalming;
118.7	(vii) other preparation of the body;
118.8	(viii) use of facilities, equipment, or staff for viewing;
118.9	(ix) use of facilities, equipment, or staff for funeral ceremony;
118.10	(x) use of facilities, equipment, or staff for memorial service;
118.11	(xi) use of equipment or staff for graveside service;
118.12	(xii) hearse or funeral coach;
118.13	(xiii) limousine; and
118.14	(xiv) separate prices for all cemetery-specific goods and services, including all goods
118.15	and services associated with interment and burial site goods and services and excluding
118.16	markers and headstones;
118.17	(5) the price range for the caskets offered by the funeral provider, together with the
118.18	statement "A complete price list will be provided at the funeral establishment or casket sale
118.19	location." or the prices of individual caskets, as disclosed in the manner described in
118.20	paragraphs (c) and (d);
118.21	(6) the price range for the alternative containers <u>or shrouds</u> offered by the funeral provider,
118.22	together with the statement "A complete price list will be provided at the funeral
118.23	establishment or alternative container sale location." or the prices of individual alternative
118.24	containers, as disclosed in the manner described in paragraphs (c) and (d);
118.25	(7) the price range for the outer burial containers offered by the funeral provider, together
118.26	with the statement "A complete price list will be provided at the funeral establishment or
118.27	outer burial container sale location." or the prices of individual outer burial containers, as
118.28	disclosed in the manner described in paragraphs (c) and (d);
118.29	(8) the price range for the alkaline hydrolysis container offered by the funeral provider,
118.30	together with the statement "A complete price list will be provided at the funeral
118.31	establishment or alkaline hydrolysis container sale location." or the prices of individual

alkaline hydrolysis containers, as disclosed in the manner described in paragraphs (c) and (d);

- (9) the price range for the hydrolyzed remains container offered by the funeral provider, together with the statement "A complete price list will be provided at the funeral establishment or hydrolyzed remains container sale location." or the prices of individual hydrolyzed remains container, as disclosed in the manner described in paragraphs (c) and (d);
- (10) the price range for the cremation containers offered by the funeral provider, together with the statement "A complete price list will be provided at the funeral establishment or cremation container sale location." or the prices of individual cremation containers, as disclosed in the manner described in paragraphs (c) and (d);
- (11) the price range for the cremated remains containers offered by the funeral provider, together with the statement, "A complete price list will be provided at the funeral establishment or cremated remains container sale location," or the prices of individual cremation containers as disclosed in the manner described in paragraphs (c) and (d);
- (12) the price range for the naturally reduced remains containers offered by the funeral provider, together with the statement, "A complete price list will be provided at the funeral establishment or naturally reduced remains container sale location," or the prices of individual naturally reduced remains containers as disclosed in the manner described in paragraphs (c) and (d);
- (12) (13) the price for the basic services of funeral provider and staff, together with a list of the principal basic services provided for any quoted price and, if the charge cannot be declined by the purchaser, the statement "This fee for our basic services will be added to the total cost of the funeral arrangements you select. (This fee is already included in our charges for alkaline hydrolysis, <u>natural organic reduction</u>, direct cremations, immediate burials, and forwarding or receiving remains.)" If the charge cannot be declined by the purchaser, the quoted price shall include all charges for the recovery of unallocated funeral provider overhead, and funeral providers may include in the required disclosure the phrase "and overhead" after the word "services." This services fee is the only funeral provider fee for services, facilities, or unallocated overhead permitted by this subdivision to be nondeclinable, unless otherwise required by law;
- (13) (14) the price range for the markers and headstones offered by the funeral provider, together with the statement "A complete price list will be provided at the funeral

119.3

119.4

119.5

119.6

119.7

119.8

119.9

119.10

119.11

119.12

119.13

119.15

119.16

119.17

119.19

119.20

119.21

119.23

119.24

119.25

119.26

119.27

119.29

119.30

04/24/24 SENATEE LB SS4699R

establishment or marker or headstone sale location." or the prices of individual markers and headstones, as disclosed in the manner described in paragraphs (c) and (d); and

(14) (15) any package priced funerals offered must be listed in addition to and following the information required in paragraph (e) and must clearly state the funeral goods and services being offered, the price being charged for those goods and services, and the discounted savings.

- (f) Funeral providers must give an itemized written statement, for retention, to each consumer who arranges an at-need funeral or other disposition of human remains at the conclusion of the discussion of the arrangements. The itemized written statement must be signed by the consumer selecting the goods and services as required in section 149A.80. If the statement is provided by a funeral establishment, the statement must be signed by the licensed funeral director or mortician planning the arrangements. If the statement is provided by any other funeral provider, the statement must be signed by an authorized agent of the funeral provider. The statement must list the funeral goods, funeral services, burial site goods, or burial site services selected by that consumer and the prices to be paid for each item, specifically itemized cash advance items (these prices must be given to the extent then known or reasonably ascertainable if the prices are not known or reasonably ascertainable, a good faith estimate shall be given and a written statement of the actual charges shall be provided before the final bill is paid), and the total cost of goods and services selected. At the conclusion of an at-need arrangement, the funeral provider is required to give the consumer a copy of the signed itemized written contract that must contain the information required in this paragraph.
- (g) Upon receiving actual notice of the death of an individual with whom a funeral provider has entered a preneed funeral agreement, the funeral provider must provide a copy of all preneed funeral agreement documents to the person who controls final disposition of the human remains or to the designee of the person controlling disposition. The person controlling final disposition shall be provided with these documents at the time of the person's first in-person contact with the funeral provider, if the first contact occurs in person at a funeral establishment, alkaline hydrolysis facility, crematory, <u>natural organic reduction facility</u>, or other place of business of the funeral provider. If the contact occurs by other means or at another location, the documents must be provided within 24 hours of the first contact.

120.1

120.2

120.3

120.4

120.5

120.6

120.7

120.8

120.9

120.11

120.12

120.13

120.14

120.15

120.17

120.18

120.19

120.20

120.21

120.22

120.23

120.24

120.25

120.26

120.28

120.29

120.30

120.31

Sec. 47. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 149A.71, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. Casket, alternate container, alkaline hydrolysis container, naturally reduced remains container, and cremation container sales; records; required disclosures. Any funeral provider who sells or offers to sell a casket, alternate container, alkaline hydrolysis container, hydrolyzed remains container, cremation container, or cremated remains container, or, effective July 1, 2025, naturally reduced remains container to the public must maintain a record of each sale that includes the name of the purchaser, the purchaser's mailing address, the name of the decedent, the date of the decedent's death, and the place of death. These records shall be open to inspection by the regulatory agency. Any funeral provider selling a casket, alternate container, or cremation container to the public, and not having charge of the final disposition of the dead human body, shall provide a copy of the statutes and rules controlling the removal, preparation, transportation, arrangements for disposition, and final disposition of a dead human body. This subdivision does not apply to morticians, funeral directors, funeral establishments, crematories, or wholesale distributors of caskets, alternate containers, alkaline hydrolysis containers, or cremation containers.

- Sec. 48. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 149A.72, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
- Subd. 3. Casket for alkaline hydrolysis, natural organic reduction, or cremation provisions; deceptive acts or practices. In selling or offering to sell funeral goods or funeral services to the public, it is a deceptive act or practice for a funeral provider to represent that a casket is required for alkaline hydrolysis or, cremations, or, effective July 1, 2025, natural organic reduction by state or local law or otherwise.
- Sec. 49. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 149A.72, subdivision 9, is amended to read:
- Subd. 9. **Deceptive acts or practices.** In selling or offering to sell funeral goods, funeral services, burial site goods, or burial site services to the public, it is a deceptive act or practice for a funeral provider to represent that federal, state, or local laws, or particular cemeteries, alkaline hydrolysis facilities, or crematories, or, effective July 1, 2025, natural organic reduction facilities require the purchase of any funeral goods, funeral services, burial site goods, or burial site services when that is not the case.
- Sec. 50. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 149A.73, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
- Subdivision 1. Casket for alkaline hydrolysis, natural organic reduction, or cremation provisions; deceptive acts or practices. In selling or offering to sell funeral goods, funeral services, burial site goods, or burial site services to the public, it is a deceptive act or practice

121.1

121.2

121.3

121.4

121.5

121.6

121.7

121.8

121.9

121.10

121.11

121.13

121.14

for a funeral provider to require that a casket be purchased for alkaline hydrolysis or, cremation, or, effective July 1, 2025, natural organic reduction.

Sec. 51. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 149A.74, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Services provided without prior approval; deceptive acts or practices. In selling or offering to sell funeral goods or funeral services to the public, it is a deceptive act or practice for any funeral provider to embalm a dead human body unless state or local law or regulation requires embalming in the particular circumstances regardless of any funeral choice which might be made, or prior approval for embalming has been obtained from an individual legally authorized to make such a decision. In seeking approval to embalm, the funeral provider must disclose that embalming is not required by law except in certain circumstances; that a fee will be charged if a funeral is selected which requires embalming, such as a funeral with viewing; and that no embalming fee will be charged if the family selects a service which does not require embalming, such as direct alkaline hydrolysis, direct cremation, or immediate burial, or, effective July 1, 2025, natural organic reduction.

- Sec. 52. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 149A.93, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
- Subd. 3. **Disposition permit.** A disposition permit is required before a body can be buried, entombed, alkaline hydrolyzed, or cremated, or, effective July 1, 2025, naturally reduced. No disposition permit shall be issued until a fact of death record has been completed and filed with the state registrar of vital records.
- Sec. 53. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 149A.94, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
- Subdivision 1. Generally. Every dead human body lying within the state, except 122.22 unclaimed bodies delivered for dissection by the medical examiner, those delivered for 122.23 anatomical study pursuant to section 149A.81, subdivision 2, or lawfully carried through 122.24 the state for the purpose of disposition elsewhere; and the remains of any dead human body 122.25 after dissection or anatomical study, shall be decently buried or entombed in a public or 122.26 private cemetery, alkaline hydrolyzed, or cremated, or, effective July 1, 2025, naturally 122.27 reduced within a reasonable time after death. Where final disposition of a body will not be 122.28 122.29 accomplished, or, effective July 1, 2025, when natural organic reduction will not be initiated, within 72 hours following death or release of the body by a competent authority with 122.30 jurisdiction over the body, the body must be properly embalmed, refrigerated, or packed 122.31 with dry ice. A body may not be kept in refrigeration for a period exceeding six calendar 122.32

122.3

122.4

122.5

122.6

122.7

122.8

122.9

122.10

122.11

122.13

122.14

days, or packed in dry ice for a period that exceeds four calendar days, from the time of death or release of the body from the coroner or medical examiner.

- Sec. 54. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 149A.94, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
- Subd. 3. **Permit required.** No dead human body shall be buried, entombed, or cremated, alkaline hydrolyzed, or, effective July 1, 2025, naturally reduced without a disposition permit. The disposition permit must be filed with the person in charge of the place of final disposition. Where a dead human body will be transported out of this state for final disposition, the body must be accompanied by a certificate of removal.
- Sec. 55. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 149A.94, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
- Subd. 4. **Alkaline hydrolysis or, cremation, or natural organic reduction.** Inurnment of alkaline hydrolyzed or remains, cremated remains, or, effective July 1, 2025, naturally reduced remains and release to an appropriate party is considered final disposition and no further permits or authorizations are required for transportation, interment, entombment, or placement of the eremated remains, except as provided in section 149A.95, subdivision 16.

Sec. 56. [149A.955] NATURAL ORGANIC REDUCTION FACILITIES AND NATURAL ORGANIC REDUCTION.

- Subdivision 1. License required. This section is effective July 1, 2025. A dead human body may only undergo natural organic reduction in this state at a natural organic reduction facility licensed by the commissioner of health.
- Subd. 2. General requirements. Any building to be used as a natural organic reduction 123.20 facility must comply with all applicable local and state building codes, zoning laws and 123.21 ordinances, and environmental standards. A natural organic reduction facility must have on 123.22 site a natural organic reduction system approved by the commissioner and a motorized 123.23 mechanical device for processing naturally reduced remains and must have in the building 123.24 a refrigerated holding facility for the retention of dead human bodies awaiting natural organic 123.26 reduction. The holding facility must be secure from access by anyone except the authorized personnel of the natural organic reduction facility, preserve the dignity of the remains, and 123.27 protect the health and safety of the natural organic reduction facility personnel. 123.28
- Subd. 3. Aerobic reduction vessel. A natural organic reduction facility must use as a natural organic reduction vessel a contained reduction vessel that is designed to promote aerobic reduction and that minimizes odors.

124.1	Subd. 4. Unlicensed personnel. A licensed natural organic reduction facility may employ
124.2	unlicensed personnel, provided that all applicable provisions of this chapter are followed.
124.3	It is the duty of the licensed natural organic reduction facility to provide proper training for
124.4	all unlicensed personnel, and the licensed natural organic reduction facility shall be strictly
124.5	accountable for compliance with this chapter and other applicable state and federal regulations
124.6	regarding occupational and workplace health and safety.
124.7	Subd. 5. Authorization to naturally reduce. No natural organic reduction facility shall
124.8	naturally reduce or cause to be naturally reduced any dead human body or identifiable body
124.9	part without receiving written authorization to do so from the person or persons who have
124.10	the legal right to control disposition as described in section 149A.80 or the person's legal
124.11	designee. The written authorization must include:
124.12	(1) the name of the deceased and the date of death of the deceased;
124.13	(2) a statement authorizing the natural organic reduction facility to naturally reduce the
124.14	body;
124.15	(3) the name, address, phone number, relationship to the deceased, and signature of the
124.16	person or persons with the legal right to control final disposition or a legal designee;
124.17	(4) directions for the disposition of any non-naturally reduced materials or items recovered
124.18	from the natural organic reduction vessel;
124.19	(5) acknowledgment that some of the naturally reduced remains will be mechanically
124.20	reduced to a granulated appearance and included in the appropriate containers with the
124.21	naturally reduced remains; and
124.22	(6) directions for the ultimate disposition of the naturally reduced remains.
24.23	Subd. 6. Limitation of liability. The limitations in section 149A.95, subdivision 5, apply
24.24	to natural organic reduction facilities.
24.25	Subd. 7. Acceptance of delivery of body. (a) No dead human body shall be accepted
124.26	for final disposition by natural organic reduction unless the body is:
124.27	(1) wrapped in a container, such as a pouch or shroud, that is impermeable or
124.28	leak-resistant;
24.29	(2) accompanied by a disposition permit issued pursuant to section 149A.93, subdivision
124.30	3, including a photocopy of the complete death record or a signed release authorizing natural
124.31	organic reduction received from a coroner or medical examiner; and

125.1	(3) accompanied by a natural organic reduction authorization that complies with
125.2	subdivision 5.
125.3	(b) A natural organic reduction facility shall refuse to accept delivery of the dead human
125.4	body:
125.5	(1) where there is a known dispute concerning natural organic reduction of the body
125.6	delivered;
125.7	(2) where there is a reasonable basis for questioning any of the representations made on
125.8	the written authorization to naturally reduce; or
125.9	(3) for any other lawful reason.
125.10	(c) When a container, pouch, or shroud containing a dead human body shows evidence
125.11	of leaking bodily fluid, the container, pouch, or shroud and the body must be returned to
125.12	the contracting funeral establishment, or the body must be transferred to a new container,
125.13	pouch, or shroud by a properly licensed individual.
125.14	(d) If a dead human body is delivered to a natural organic reduction facility in a container,
125.15	pouch, or shroud that is not suitable for placement in a natural organic reduction vessel, the
125.16	transfer of the body to the vessel must be performed by a properly licensed individual.
125.17	Subd. 8. Bodies awaiting natural organic reduction. A dead human body must be
125.18	placed in the natural organic reduction vessel to initiate the natural reduction process within
125.19	a reasonable time after death, pursuant to section 149A.94, subdivision 1.
125.20	Subd. 9. Handling of dead human bodies. All natural organic reduction facility
125.21	employees handling the containers, pouches, or shrouds for dead human bodies shall use
125.22	universal precautions and otherwise exercise all reasonable precautions to minimize the
125.23	risk of transmitting any communicable disease from the body. No dead human body shall
125.24	be removed from the container, pouch, or shroud in which it is delivered to the natural
125.25	organic reduction facility without express written authorization of the person or persons
125.26	with legal right to control the disposition and only by a properly licensed individual. The
125.27	person or persons with the legal right to control the body or that person's noncompensated
125.28	designee may be involved with preparation of the body pursuant to section 149A.01,
125.29	subdivision 2 paragraph (a)
	subdivision 3, paragraph (c).
125.30	Subd. 10. Identification of the body. All licensed natural organic reduction facilities
125.30125.31	
	Subd. 10. Identification of the body. All licensed natural organic reduction facilities

natural organic reduction, an identifying disk, tab, or other permanent label shall be placed within the naturally reduced remains container or containers before the remains are released from the natural organic reduction facility. Each identification disk, tab, or label shall have a number that shall be recorded on all paperwork regarding the decedent. This procedure shall be designed to reasonably ensure that the proper body is naturally reduced and that the remains are returned to the appropriate party. Loss of all or part of the remains or the inability to individually identify the remains is a violation of this subdivision.

Subd. 11. Natural organic reduction vessel for human remains. A licensed natural organic reduction facility shall knowingly naturally reduce only dead human bodies or human remains in a natural organic reduction vessel.

Subd. 12. Natural organic reduction procedures; privacy. The final disposition of dead human bodies by natural organic reduction shall be done in privacy. Unless there is written authorization from the person with the legal right to control the final disposition, only authorized natural organic reduction facility personnel shall be permitted in the natural organic reduction area while any human body is awaiting placement in a natural organic reduction vessel, being removed from the vessel, or being processed for placement in a naturally reduced remains container. This does not prohibit an in-person laying-in ceremony to honor the deceased and the transition prior to the placement.

Subd. 13. Natural organic reduction procedures; commingling of bodies prohibited. Except with the express written permission of the person with the legal right to control the final disposition, no natural organic reduction facility shall naturally reduce more than one dead human body at the same time and in the same natural organic reduction vessel or introduce a second dead human body into same natural organic reduction vessel until reasonable efforts have been employed to remove all fragments of remains from the preceding natural organic reduction. This subdivision does not apply where commingling of human remains during natural organic reduction is otherwise provided by law. The fact that there is incidental and unavoidable residue in the natural organic reduction vessel used in a prior natural organic reduction is not a violation of this subdivision.

Subd. 14. Natural organic reduction procedures; removal from natural organic reduction vessel. Upon completion of the natural organic reduction process, reasonable efforts shall be made to remove from the natural organic reduction vessel all the recoverable naturally reduced remains. The naturally reduced remains shall be transported to the processing area, and any non-naturally reducible materials or items shall be separated from the naturally reduced remains and disposed of, in any lawful manner, by the natural organic reduction facility.

126.1

126.2

126.3

126.4

126.5

126.6

126.7

126.8

126.9

126.10

126.11

126.12

126.13

126.14

126.15

126.16

126.17

126.18

126.19

126.20

126.21

126.22

126.23

126.24

126.25

126.26

126.27

126.28

126.29

126.30

126.31

126.32

126.33

126.34

27.1	Subd. 15. Natural organic reduction procedures; processing naturally reduced
27.2	remains. The naturally reduced remains that remain intact shall be reduced by a motorized
27.3	mechanical processor to a granulated appearance. The granulated remains and the rest of
27.4	the naturally reduced remains shall be returned to a natural organic reduction vessel for
27.5	final reduction.
27.6	Subd. 16. Natural organic reduction procedures; commingling of naturally reduced
27.7	remains prohibited. Except with the express written permission of the person with the
27.8	legal right to control the final deposition or otherwise provided by law, no natural organic
27.9	reduction facility shall mechanically process the naturally reduced remains of more than
27.10	one body at a time in the same mechanical processor or introduce the naturally reduced
27.11	remains of a second body into a mechanical processor until reasonable efforts have been
27.12	employed to remove all fragments of naturally reduced remains already in the processor.
27.13	The fact that there is incidental and unavoidable residue in the mechanical processor is not
27.14	a violation of this subdivision.
27.15	Subd. 17. Natural organic reduction procedures; testing naturally reduced
27.16	remains. The natural organic reduction facility is responsible for:
27.17	(1) ensuring that the materials in the natural organic reduction vessel naturally reach
27.18	and maintain a minimum temperature of 131 degrees Fahrenheit for a minimum of 72
27.19	consecutive hours during the process of natural organic reduction;
27.20	(2) analyzing each instance of the naturally reduced remains for physical contaminants
27.21	that include but are not limited to intact bone, dental filings, and medical implants. Naturally
27.22	reduced remains must have less than 0.01 mg/kg dry weight of any physical contaminants;
27.23	(3) collecting material samples for analysis that are representative of each instance of
27.24	natural organic reduction using a sampling method, such as those described in the U.S.
27.25	Composting Council 2002 Test Methods for the Examination of Composting and Compost,
27.26	Method 02.01-A through E;
27.27	(4) developing and using a natural organic reduction process in which the naturally
27.28	reduced remains from the process does not exceed the following limits:
27.29	(i) for fecal coliform, less than 1,000 most probable number per gram of total solids (dry
27.30	weight);
27.31	(ii) for salmonella, less than three most probable number per four grams of total solids
27.32	(dry weight);
27.22	(iii) for argania loss than or equal to 11 ppm.

128.1	(iv) for cadmium, less than or equal to 7.1 ppm;
128.2	(v) for lead, less than or equal to 150 ppm;
128.3	(vi) for mercury, less than or equal to 8 ppm; and
128.4	(vii) for selenium, less than or equal to 18 ppm;
128.5	(5) analyzing, using a third-party laboratory, the natural organic reduction facility's
128.6	material samples of naturally reduced remains according to the following schedule:
128.7	(i) the natural organic reduction facility must analyze each of the first 20 instances of
128.8	naturally reduced remains for the parameters identified in clause (4);
128.9	(ii) if any of the first 20 instances of naturally reduced remains yield results exceeding
128.10	the limits identified in clause (4), the natural organic reduction facility must conduct
128.11	appropriate processes to correct the levels of the chemicals identified in clause (4) and have
128.12	the resultant remains tested to ensure they fall within the identified limits;
128.13	(iii) if any of the first 20 instances of naturally reduced remains yield results exceeding
128.14	the limits identified in clause (4), the natural organic reduction facility must analyze each
128.15	additional instance of naturally reduced remains for the parameters identified in clause (4)
128.16	until a total of 20 samples, not including those from remains that were reprocessed under
128.17	item (ii), have yielded results within the limits of clause (4) on initial testing;
128.18	(iv) after 20 material samples of naturally reduced remains have met the limits outlined
128.19	in clause (4), the natural organic reduction facility must analyze, at a minimum, 25 percent
128.20	of the natural organic reduction facility's monthly instances of naturally reduced remains
128.21	for the parameters identified in clause (4) until 80 total material samples of naturally reduced
128.22	remains have met the requirements of clause (4), not including any samples that required
128.23	reprocessing to meet those requirements; and
128.24	(v) after 80 material samples of naturally reduced remains have met the limits of clause
128.25	(4), the natural organic reduction facility must analyze, at a minimum, one instance of
128.26	naturally reduced remains each month;
128.27	(6) complying with any testing requirements established by the commissioner for content
128.28	parameters in addition to those specified in clause (4);
128.29	(7) not releasing any naturally reduced remains that exceed the limits identified in clause
128.30	(4); and
128.31	(8) preparing, maintaining, and providing upon request by the commissioner an annual
128.32	report each calendar year. The annual report must detail the natural organic reduction

facility's activities during the previous calendar year and must include the following

129.2 information: 129.3 (i) name and address of the natural organic reduction facility; 129.4 (ii) calendar year covered by the report; 129.5 (iii) annual quantity of naturally reduced remains; (iv) results of any laboratory analyses of naturally reduced remains; and 129.6 (v) any additional information requested by the commissioner. 129.7 Subd. 18. Natural organic reduction procedures; use of more than one naturally 129.8 reduced remains container. If the naturally reduced remains are to be separated into two 129.9 or more naturally reduced remains containers according to the directives provided in the 129.10 written authorization for natural organic reduction, all of the containers shall contain duplicate 129.11 identification disks, tabs, or permanent labels and all paperwork regarding the given body 129.12 shall include a notation of the number of and disposition of each container, as provided in 129.13 the written authorization. 129.14 129.15 Subd. 19. Natural organic reduction procedures; disposition of accumulated residue. Every natural organic reduction facility shall provide for the removal and disposition 129.16 of any accumulated residue from any natural organic reduction vessel, mechanical processor, 129.17 or other equipment used in natural organic reduction. Disposition of accumulated residue 129.18 129.19 shall be by any lawful manner deemed appropriate. Subd. 20. Natural organic reduction procedures; release of naturally reduced 129.20 remains. Following completion of the natural organic reduction process, the inurned naturally 129.21 reduced remains shall be released according to the instructions given on the written 129.22 129.23 authorization for natural organic reduction. If the remains are to be shipped, they must be securely packaged and transported by a method that has an internal tracing system available 129.24 and which provides a receipt signed by the person accepting delivery. Where there is a 129.25 dispute over release or disposition of the naturally reduced remains, a natural organic 129.26 129.27 reduction facility may deposit the naturally reduced remains in accordance with the directives of a court of competent jurisdiction pending resolution of the dispute or retain the naturally 129.28 reduced remains until the person with the legal right to control disposition presents 129.29 satisfactory indication that the dispute is resolved. A natural organic reduction facility must 129.30 make every effort to ensure naturally reduced remains are not sold or used for commercial 129.31 129.32 purposes.

130.1	Subd. 21. Unclaimed naturally reduced remains. If, after 30 calendar days following
130.2	the inurnment, the naturally reduced remains are not claimed or disposed of according to
130.3	the written authorization for natural organic reduction, the natural organic reduction facility
130.4	shall give written notice, by certified mail, to the person with the legal right to control the
130.5	final disposition or a legal designee, that the naturally reduced remains are unclaimed and
130.6	requesting further release directions. Should the naturally reduced remains be unclaimed
130.7	120 calendar days following the mailing of the written notification, the natural organic
130.8	reduction facility may return the remains to the earth respectfully in any lawful manner
130.9	deemed appropriate.
130.10	Subd. 22. Required records. Every natural organic reduction facility shall create and
130.11	maintain on its premises or other business location in Minnesota an accurate record of every
130.12	natural organic reduction provided. The record shall include all of the following information
130.13	for each natural organic reduction:
130.14	(1) the name of the person or funeral establishment delivering the body for natural
130.15	organic reduction;
130.16	(2) the name of the deceased and the identification number assigned to the body;
130.17	(3) the date of acceptance of delivery;
130.18	(4) the names of the operator of the natural organic reduction process and mechanical
130.19	processor operator;
130.20	(5) the times and dates that the body was placed in and removed from the natural organic
130.21	reduction vessel;
130.22	(6) the time and date that processing and inurnment of the naturally reduced remains
130.23	was completed;
130.24	(7) the time, date, and manner of release of the naturally reduced remains;
130.25	(8) the name and address of the person who signed the authorization for natural organic
130.26	reduction;
130.27	(9) all supporting documentation, including any transit or disposition permits, a photocopy
130.28	of the death record, and the authorization for natural organic reduction; and
130.29	(10) the type of natural organic reduction vessel.
130.30	Subd. 23. Retention of records. Records required under subdivision 21 shall be
130.31	maintained for a period of three calendar years after the release of the naturally reduced
130.32	remains. Following this period and subject to any other laws requiring retention of records,

the natural organic reduction facility may then place the records in storage or reduce them to microfilm, a digital format, or any other method that can produce an accurate reproduction of the original record, for retention for a period of ten calendar years from the date of release of the naturally reduced remains. At the end of this period and subject to any other laws requiring retention of records, the natural organic reduction facility may destroy the records by shredding, incineration, or any other manner that protects the privacy of the individuals identified.

Sec. 57. STILLBIRTH PREVENTION THROUGH TRACKING FETAL

MOVEMENT PILOT PROGRAM.

131.1

131.2

131.3

131.4

131.5

131.6

131.7

131.8

- Subdivision 1. Grant. The commissioner of health shall issue a grant to a grant recipient to support a stillbirth prevention through tracking fetal movement pilot program and to provide evidence of the efficacy of tracking fetal movements in preventing stillbirths in Minnesota. The pilot program shall operate in fiscal years 2025, 2026, and 2027.
- Subd. 2. Use of grant funds. The grant recipient must use grant funds:
- (1) for activities to ensure that expectant parents in Minnesota receive information about
 the importance of tracking fetal movement in the third trimester of pregnancy, by providing
 evidence-based information to organizations that include but are not limited to community
 organizations, hospitals, birth centers, maternal health providers, and higher education
 institutions that educate maternal health providers;
- (2) to provide maternal health providers and expectant parents in Minnesota with access
 to free, evidence-based educational materials on fetal movement tracking, including
 brochures, posters, reminder cards, continuing education materials, and digital resources;
- (3) to assist in raising awareness with health care providers about:
- (i) the availability of free fetal movement tracking education for providers through an initial education campaign;
- (ii) the importance of tracking fetal movement in the third trimester of pregnancy by
 offering at least three to five webinars and conferences per year; and
- 131.28 (iii) the importance of tracking fetal movement in the third trimester of pregnancy through
 131.29 provider participation in a public relations campaign; and
- (4) to assist in raising public awareness about the availability of free fetal movement tracking resources through social media marketing and traditional marketing throughout Minnesota.

132.1	Subd. 3. Data-sharing and monitoring. (a) During the operation of the pilot program,
132.2	the grant recipient shall provide the following information to the commissioner on at least
132.3	a quarterly basis:
132.4	(1) the number of educational materials distributed under the pilot program, broken
132.5	down by zip code and the type of facility or organization that ordered the materials, including
132.6	hospitals, birth centers, maternal health clinics, WIC clinics, and community organizations;
132.7	(2) the number of fetal movement tracking application downloads that may be attributed
132.8	to the pilot program, broken down by zip code;
132.9	(3) the reach of and engagement with marketing materials provided under the pilot
132.10	program; and
132.11	(4) provider attendance and participation in awareness-raising events under the pilot
132.12	program, such as webinars and conferences.
132.13	(b) Each year during the pilot program and at the conclusion of the pilot program, the
132.14	grant recipient shall provide the commissioner with an annual report that includes information
132.15	on how the pilot program has affected:
132.16	(1) fetal death rates in Minnesota;
132.17	(2) fetal death rates in Minnesota among American Indian, Black, Hispanic, and Asian
132.18	Pacific Islander populations; and
132.19	(3) fetal death rates by region in Minnesota.
132.20	Subd. 4. Reports. The commissioner must submit to the legislative committees with
132.21	jurisdiction over public health an interim report and a final report on the operation of the
132.22	pilot program. The interim report must be submitted by December 1, 2025, and the final
132.23	report must be submitted by December 1, 2027. Each report must at least describe the pilot
132.24	program's operations and provide information, to the extent available, on the effectiveness
132.25	of the pilot program in preventing stillbirths in Minnesota, including lessons learned in
132.26	implementing the pilot program and recommendations for future action.
132.27	ARTICLE 6
132.28	DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH POLICY
132.29	Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 62D.14, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
132.30	Subdivision 1. Examination authority. The commissioner of health may make an
132.31	examination of the affairs of any health maintenance organization and its contracts,

agreements, or other arrangements with any participating entity as often as the commissioner of health deems necessary for the protection of the interests of the people of this state, but not less frequently than once every three five years. Examinations of participating entities pursuant to this subdivision shall be limited to their dealings with the health maintenance organization and its enrollees, except that examinations of major participating entities may include inspection of the entity's financial statements kept in the ordinary course of business. The commissioner may require major participating entities to submit the financial statements directly to the commissioner. Financial statements of major participating entities are subject to the provisions of section 13.37, subdivision 1, clause (b), upon request of the major participating entity or the health maintenance organization with which it contracts.

133.11 Sec. 2. **[62J.461] 340B COVERED ENTITY REPORT.**

133.1

133.2

133.3

133.4

133.5

133.6

133.7

133.8

133.9

- Subdivision 1. <u>Definitions.</u> (a) For purposes of this section, the following definitions apply.
- (b) "340B covered entity" or "covered entity" means a covered entity as defined in United

 States Code, title 42, section 256b(a)(4), with a service address in Minnesota as of January

 133.16 1 of the reporting year. 340B covered entity includes all entity types and grantees. All

 facilities that are identified as child sites or grantee associated sites under the federal 340B
- 133.18 Drug Pricing Program are considered part of the 340B covered entity.
- (c) "340B Drug Pricing Program" or "340B program" means the drug discount program
 established under United States Code, title 42, section 256b.
- (d) "340B entity type" is the designation of the 340B covered entity according to the entity types specified in United States Code, title 42, section 256b(a)(4).
- (e) "340B ID" is the unique identification number provided by the Health Resources
 and Services Administration to identify a 340B-eligible entity in the 340B Office of Pharmacy
 Affairs Information System.
- 133.26 (f) "Contract pharmacy" means a pharmacy with which a 340B covered entity has an arrangement to dispense drugs purchased under the 340B Drug Pricing Program.
- 133.28 (g) "Pricing unit" means the smallest dispensable amount of a prescription drug product
 133.29 that can be dispensed or administered.
- Subd. 2. Current registration. Beginning April 1, 2024, each 340B covered entity must maintain a current registration with the commissioner in a form and manner prescribed by the commissioner. The registration must include the following information:

134.1	(1) the name of the 340B covered entity;
134.2	(2) the 340B ID of the 340B covered entity;
134.3	(3) the servicing address of the 340B covered entity; and
134.4	(4) the 340B entity type of the 340B covered entity.
134.5	Subd. 3. Reporting by covered entities to the commissioner. (a) Each 340B covered
134.6	entity shall report to the commissioner by April 1, 2024, and by April 1 of each year
134.7	thereafter, the following information for transactions conducted by the 340B covered entity
134.8	or on its behalf, and related to its participation in the federal 340B program for the previous
134.9	calendar year:
134.10	(1) the aggregated acquisition cost for prescription drugs obtained under the 340B
134.11	program;
134.12	(2) the aggregated payment amount received for drugs obtained under the 340B program
134.13	and dispensed or administered to patients;
134.14	(3) the number of pricing units dispensed or administered for prescription drugs described
134.15	in clause (2); and
134.16	(4) the aggregated payments made:
134.17	(i) to contract pharmacies to dispense drugs obtained under the 340B program;
134.18	(ii) to any other entity that is not the covered entity and is not a contract pharmacy for
134.19	managing any aspect of the covered entity's 340B program; and
134.20	(iii) for all other expenses related to administering the 340B program.
134.21	The information under clauses (2) and (3) must be reported by payer type, including but
134.22	not limited to commercial insurance, medical assistance, MinnesotaCare, and Medicare, in
134.23	the form and manner prescribed by the commissioner.
134.24	(b) For covered entities that are hospitals, the information required under paragraph (a),
134.25	clauses (1) to (3), must also be reported at the national drug code level for the 50 most
134.26	frequently dispensed or administered drugs by the facility under the 340B program.
134.27	(c) Data submitted to the commissioner under paragraphs (a) and (b) are classified as
134.28	nonpublic data, as defined in section 13.02, subdivision 9.
134.29	Subd. 4. Enforcement and exceptions. (a) Any health care entity subject to reporting
134.30	under this section that fails to provide data in the form and manner prescribed by the
134.31	commissioner is subject to a fine paid to the commissioner of up to \$500 for each day the

data are past due. Any fine levied against the entity under this subdivision is subject to the contested case and judicial review provisions of sections 14.57 and 14.69.

- (b) The commissioner may grant an entity an extension of or exemption from the reporting obligations under this subdivision, upon a showing of good cause by the entity.
- Subd. 5. Reports to the legislature. By November 15, 2024, and by November 15 of each year thereafter, the commissioner shall submit to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over health care finance and policy, a report that aggregates the data submitted under subdivision 3, paragraphs (a) and (b). The data shall be aggregated in a manner that prevents the identification of an individual entity and any entity's specific data value reported for an individual data element, except that the following shall be included in the report:
 - (1) the information submitted under subdivision 2; and
- (2) for each 340B entity identified in subdivision 2, that entity's 340B net revenue as calculated using the data submitted under subdivision 3, paragraph (a), with net revenue being subdivision 3, paragraph (a), clause (2), less the sum of subdivision 3, paragraph (a), clauses (1) and (4).
- Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 62J.61, subdivision 5, is amended to read:
- 135.18 Subd. 5. Biennial review of rulemaking procedures and rules Opportunity for **comment.** The commissioner shall biennially seek comments from affected parties maintain 135.19 an email address for submission of comments from interested parties to provide input about 135.20 the effectiveness of and continued need for the rulemaking procedures set out in subdivision 135.21 2 and about the quality and effectiveness of rules adopted using these procedures. The commissioner shall seek comments by holding a meeting and by publishing a notice in the 135.23 State Register that contains the date, time, and location of the meeting and a statement that 135.24 135.25 invites oral or written comments. The notice must be published at least 30 days before the meeting date. The commissioner shall write a report summarizing the comments and shall 135.26 submit the report to the Minnesota Health Data Institute and to the Minnesota Administrative 135.27 Uniformity Committee by January 15 of every even-numbered year may seek additional input and provide additional opportunities for input as needed. 135.29

135.1

135.2

135.3

135.4

135.5

135.6

135.7

135.8

135.9

135.10

135.11

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 62J.84, subdivision 10, is amended to read:

- Subd. 10. Notice of prescription drugs of substantial public interest. (a) No later than January 31, 2024, and quarterly thereafter, the commissioner shall produce and post on the department's website a list of prescription drugs that the commissioner determines to represent a substantial public interest and for which the commissioner intends to request data under subdivisions 11 to 14, subject to paragraph (c). The commissioner shall base its inclusion of prescription drugs on any information the commissioner determines is relevant to providing greater consumer awareness of the factors contributing to the cost of prescription drugs in the state, and the commissioner shall consider drug product families that include prescription drugs:
- (1) that triggered reporting under subdivision 3 or 4 during the previous calendar quarter;
- 136.13 (2) for which average claims paid amounts exceeded 125 percent of the price as of the claim incurred date during the most recent calendar quarter for which claims paid amounts are available; or
- 136.16 (3) that are identified by members of the public during a public comment process.
- (b) Not sooner than 30 days after publicly posting the list of prescription drugs under paragraph (a), the department shall notify, via email, reporting entities registered with the department of the requirement to report under subdivisions 11 to 14.
- 136.20 (c) The commissioner must not designate more than 500 prescription drugs as having a substantial public interest in any one notice.
- (d) Notwithstanding subdivision 16, the commissioner is exempt from chapter 14, including section 14.386, in implementing this subdivision.
- 136.24 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment.
- Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144.05, subdivision 6, is amended to read:
- Subd. 6. **Reports on interagency agreements and intra-agency transfers.** The commissioner of health shall provide quarterly reports to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over health and human services policy and finance on:
- (1) interagency agreements or service-level agreements and any renewals or extensions of existing interagency or service-level agreements with a state department under section 15.01, state agency under section 15.012, or the Department of Information Technology

136.3

136.4

136.5

136.6

136.7

136.8

136.9

136.10

Services, with a value of more than \$100,000, or related agreements with the same department 137.1 or agency with a cumulative value of more than \$100,000; and 137.2 (2) transfers of appropriations of more than \$100,000 between accounts within or between 137.3 agencies. 137.4 137.5 The report must include the statutory citation authorizing the agreement, transfer or dollar amount, purpose, and effective date of the agreement, and duration of the agreement, and 137.6 a copy of the agreement. 137.7 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 144.0526, subdivision 1, is amended 137.8 to read: 137.9 Subdivision 1. Establishment. The commissioner of health shall establish the Minnesota 137.10 One Health Antimicrobial Stewardship Collaborative. The commissioner shall appoint hire 137.11 a director to execute operations, conduct health education, and provide technical assistance. 137.12 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144.058, is amended to read: 137.13 144.058 INTERPRETER SERVICES QUALITY INITIATIVE. 137.14 (a) The commissioner of health shall establish a voluntary statewide roster, and develop 137.15 a plan for a registry and certification process for interpreters who provide high quality, 137.16 spoken language health care interpreter services. The roster, registry, and certification 137.17 process shall be based on the findings and recommendations set forth by the Interpreter 137.18 Services Work Group required under Laws 2007, chapter 147, article 12, section 13. 137.19 (b) By January 1, 2009, the commissioner shall establish a roster of all available 137.20 interpreters to address access concerns, particularly in rural areas. 137.21 137.22 (c) By January 15, 2010, the commissioner shall: (1) develop a plan for a registry of spoken language health care interpreters, including: 137.23 137.24 (i) development of standards for registration that set forth educational requirements, training requirements, demonstration of language proficiency and interpreting skills, 137.25 agreement to abide by a code of ethics, and a criminal background check; 137.26 (ii) recommendations for appropriate alternate requirements in languages for which 137.27

137.29 (iii) recommendations for appropriate fees; and

testing and training programs do not exist;

138.1	(iv) recommendations for establishing and maintaining the standards for inclusion in
138.2	the registry; and
138.3	(2) develop a plan for implementing a certification process based on national testing and
138.4	certification processes for spoken language interpreters 12 months after the establishment
138.5	of a national certification process.
138.6	(d) The commissioner shall consult with the Interpreter Stakeholder Group of the Upper
138.7	Midwest Translators and Interpreters Association for advice on the standards required to
138.8	plan for the development of a registry and certification process.
138.9	(e) The commissioner shall charge an annual fee of \$50 to include an interpreter in the
138.10	roster. Fee revenue shall be deposited in the state government special revenue fund. All fees
138.11	are nonrefundable.
	S 0 M; 4 S(4 4 2022 4; 144.0724 1.1; ; 2 ; 1.14 1.
138.12	Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144.0724, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
138.13	Subd. 2. Definitions. For purposes of this section, the following terms have the meanings
138.14	given.
138.15	(a) "Assessment reference date" or "ARD" means the specific end point for look-back
138.16	periods in the MDS assessment process. This look-back period is also called the observation
138.17	or assessment period.
138.18	(b) "Case mix index" means the weighting factors assigned to the RUG-IV case mix
138.19	reimbursement classifications determined by an assessment.
138.20	(c) "Index maximization" means classifying a resident who could be assigned to more
138.21	than one category, to the category with the highest case mix index.
138.22	(d) "Minimum Data Set" or "MDS" means a core set of screening, clinical assessment,
138.23	and functional status elements, that include common definitions and coding categories
138.24	specified by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services and designated by the
138.25	Department of Health.
138.26	(e) "Representative" means a person who is the resident's guardian or conservator, the
138.27	person authorized to pay the nursing home expenses of the resident, a representative of the
138.28	Office of Ombudsman for Long-Term Care whose assistance has been requested, or any
138.29	other individual designated by the resident.
138.30	(f) "Resource utilization groups" or "RUG" means the system for grouping a nursing

138.32 by the facility's Minimum Data Set.

138.31 facility's residents according to their clinical and functional status identified in data supplied

(g) (f) "Activities of daily living" includes personal hygiene, dressing, bathing, 139.1 transferring, bed mobility, locomotion, eating, and toileting. 139.2 (h) (g) "Nursing facility level of care determination" means the assessment process that 139.3 results in a determination of a resident's or prospective resident's need for nursing facility 139.4 level of care as established in subdivision 11 for purposes of medical assistance payment 139.5 of long-term care services for: 139.6 (1) nursing facility services under section 256B.434 or chapter 256R; 139.7 (2) elderly waiver services under chapter 256S; 139.8 (3) CADI and BI waiver services under section 256B.49; and 139.9 (4) state payment of alternative care services under section 256B.0913. 139.10 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144.0724, subdivision 3a, is amended to read: 139.11 Subd. 3a. Resident reimbursement case mix reimbursement classifications beginning 139.12 January 1, 2012. (a) Beginning January 1, 2012, Resident reimbursement case mix reimbursement classifications shall be based on the Minimum Data Set, version 3.0 139.14 139.15 assessment instrument, or its successor version mandated by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services that nursing facilities are required to complete for all residents. The 139.16 commissioner of health shall establish resident classifications according to the RUG-IV, 139.17 48 group, resource utilization groups. Resident classification must be established based on 139.18 the individual items on the Minimum Data Set, which must be completed according to the 139.19 Long Term Care Facility Resident Assessment Instrument User's Manual Version 3.0 or its 139.20 successor issued by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services. Case mix 139.21 reimbursement classifications shall also be based on assessments required under subdivision 139.22 4. Assessments must be completed according to the Long Term Care Facility Resident 139.23 Assessment Instrument User's Manual Version 3.0 or a successor manual issued by the 139.24 Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services. The optional state assessment must be 139.25 completed according to the OSA Manual Version 1.0 v.2. 139.26 139.27 (b) Each resident must be classified based on the information from the Minimum Data Set according to the general categories issued by the Minnesota Department of Health, 139.28 utilized for reimbursement purposes. 139.29 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144.0724, subdivision 4, is amended to read: 139.30

139.31

139.32

submit to the federal database MDS assessments that conform with the assessment schedule

Subd. 4. Resident assessment schedule. (a) A facility must conduct and electronically

defined by the Long Term Care Facility Resident Assessment Instrument User's Manual, version 3.0, or its successor issued by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services. The commissioner of health may substitute successor manuals or question and answer documents published by the United States Department of Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, to replace or supplement the current version of the manual or document.

- (b) The assessments required under the Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1987 (OBRA) used to determine a case mix <u>reimbursement</u> classification for reimbursement include:
- 140.10 (1) a new admission comprehensive assessment, which must have an assessment reference 140.11 date (ARD) within 14 calendar days after admission, excluding readmissions;
 - (2) an annual comprehensive assessment, which must have an ARD within 92 days of a previous quarterly review assessment or a previous comprehensive assessment, which must occur at least once every 366 days;
 - (3) a significant change in status comprehensive assessment, which must have an ARD within 14 days after the facility determines, or should have determined, that there has been a significant change in the resident's physical or mental condition, whether an improvement or a decline, and regardless of the amount of time since the last comprehensive assessment or quarterly review assessment;
 - (4) a quarterly review assessment must have an ARD within 92 days of the ARD of the previous quarterly review assessment or a previous comprehensive assessment;
- 140.22 (5) any significant correction to a prior comprehensive assessment, if the assessment being corrected is the current one being used for RUG reimbursement classification;
 - (6) any significant correction to a prior quarterly review assessment, if the assessment being corrected is the current one being used for RUG reimbursement classification; and
- 140.26 (7) a required significant change in status assessment when:
 - (i) all speech, occupational, and physical therapies have ended. If the most recent OBRA comprehensive or quarterly assessment completed does not result in a rehabilitation case mix classification, then the significant change in status assessment is not required. The ARD of this assessment must be set on day eight after all therapy services have ended; and
- 140.31 (ii) isolation for an infectious disease has ended. If isolation was not coded on the most 140.32 recent OBRA comprehensive or quarterly assessment completed, then the significant change

140.1

140.2

140.3

140.4

140.5

140.6

140.7

140.8

140.9

140.12

140.13

140.14

140.15

140.16

140.17

140.18

140.19

140.20

140.21

140.24

140.25

140.27

140.28

140.29

in status assessment is not required. The ARD of this assessment must be set on day 15 after 141.1 141.2 isolation has ended; and 141.3 (8) (7) any modifications to the most recent assessments under clauses (1) to (7) (6). 141.4 (c) The optional state assessment must accompany all OBRA assessments. The optional 141.5 state assessment is also required to determine reimbursement when: (i) all speech, occupational, and physical therapies have ended. If the most recent optional 141.6 141.7 state assessment completed does not result in a rehabilitation case mix reimbursement classification, then the optional state assessment is not required. The ARD of this assessment 141.8 must be set on day eight after all therapy services have ended; and 141.9 (ii) isolation for an infectious disease has ended. If isolation was not coded on the most 141.10 recent optional state assessment completed, then the optional state assessment is not required. 141.11 The ARD of this assessment must be set on day 15 after isolation has ended. 141.12 (e) (d) In addition to the assessments listed in paragraph paragraphs (b) and (c), the 141.13 assessments used to determine nursing facility level of care include the following: 141.14 (1) preadmission screening completed under section 256.975, subdivisions 7a to 7c, by 141.15 the Senior LinkAge Line or other organization under contract with the Minnesota Board on Aging; and 141.17 (2) a nursing facility level of care determination as provided for under section 256B.0911, 141.18 subdivision 26, as part of a face-to-face long-term care consultation assessment completed 141.19 under section 256B.0911, by a county, tribe, or managed care organization under contract 141.20 with the Department of Human Services. 141.21 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144.0724, subdivision 6, is amended to read: 141.22 Subd. 6. Penalties for late or nonsubmission. (a) A facility that fails to complete or 141.23 141.24 submit an assessment according to subdivisions 4 and 5 for a RUG-IV case mix reimbursement classification within seven days of the time requirements listed in the 141.25 Long-Term Care Facility Resident Assessment Instrument User's Manual when the 141.26 assessment is due is subject to a reduced rate for that resident. The reduced rate shall be the 141.27 lowest rate for that facility. The reduced rate is effective on the day of admission for new admission assessments, on the ARD for significant change in status assessments, or on the 141.30 day that the assessment was due for all other assessments and continues in effect until the 141.31 first day of the month following the date of submission and acceptance of the resident's assessment. 141.32

(b) If loss of revenue due to penalties incurred by a facility for any period of 92 days are equal to or greater than 0.1 percent of the total operating costs on the facility's most recent annual statistical and cost report, a facility may apply to the commissioner of human services for a reduction in the total penalty amount. The commissioner of human services, in consultation with the commissioner of health, may, at the sole discretion of the commissioner of human services, limit the penalty for residents covered by medical assistance to ten days.

Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144.0724, subdivision 7, is amended to read:

- Subd. 7. **Notice of resident reimbursement case mix <u>reimbursement</u> classification.** (a) The commissioner of health shall provide to a nursing facility a notice for each resident of the classification established under subdivision 1. The notice must inform the resident of the case mix <u>reimbursement</u> classification assigned, the opportunity to review the documentation supporting the classification, the opportunity to obtain clarification from the commissioner, <u>and</u> the opportunity to request a reconsideration of the classification, and the address and telephone number of the Office of Ombudsman for Long-Term Care. The commissioner must transmit the notice of resident classification by electronic means to the nursing facility. The nursing facility is responsible for the distribution of the notice to each resident or the resident's representative. This notice must be distributed within three business days after the facility's receipt.
- (b) If a facility submits a modifying modified assessment resulting in a change in the case mix reimbursement classification, the facility must provide a written notice to the resident or the resident's representative regarding the item or items that were modified and the reason for the modifications. The written notice must be provided within three business days after distribution of the resident case mix reimbursement classification notice.
- Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144.0724, subdivision 8, is amended to read:
- Subd. 8. **Request for reconsideration of resident classifications.** (a) The resident, or resident's representative, or the nursing facility, or the boarding care home may request that the commissioner of health reconsider the assigned reimbursement case mix reimbursement classification and any item or items changed during the audit process. The request for reconsideration must be submitted in writing to the commissioner of health.
- (b) For reconsideration requests initiated by the resident or the resident's representative:

142.1

142.2

142.3

142.4

142.5

142.6

142.7

142.8

142.9

142.10

142.11

142.12

142.13

142.14

142.15

142.16

142.17

142.18

142.19

142.20

142.21

142.22

142.23

(1) The resident or the resident's representative must submit in writing a reconsideration request to the facility administrator within 30 days of receipt of the resident classification notice. The written request must include the reasons for the reconsideration request.

- (2) Within three business days of receiving the reconsideration request, the nursing facility must submit to the commissioner of health a completed reconsideration request form, a copy of the resident's or resident's representative's written request, and all supporting documentation used to complete the assessment being eonsidered reconsidered. If the facility fails to provide the required information, the reconsideration will be completed with the information submitted and the facility cannot make further reconsideration requests on this classification.
- (3) Upon written request and within three business days, the nursing facility must give the resident or the resident's representative a copy of the assessment being reconsidered and all supporting documentation used to complete the assessment. Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, the facility may not charge a fee for providing copies of the requested documentation. If a facility fails to provide the required documents within this time, it is subject to the issuance of a correction order and penalty assessment under sections 144.653 and 144A.10. Notwithstanding those sections, any correction order issued under this subdivision must require that the nursing facility immediately comply with the request for information, and as of the date of the issuance of the correction order, the facility shall forfeit to the state a \$100 fine for the first day of noncompliance, and an increase in the \$100 fine by \$50 increments for each day the noncompliance continues.
 - (c) For reconsideration requests initiated by the facility:
- (1) The facility is required to inform the resident or the resident's representative in writing that a reconsideration of the resident's case mix <u>reimbursement</u> classification is being requested. The notice must inform the resident or the resident's representative:
- (i) of the date and reason for the reconsideration request;
- 143.27 (ii) of the potential for a <u>case mix reimbursement</u> classification <u>change</u> and subsequent 143.28 rate change;
- (iii) of the extent of the potential rate change;
- 143.30 (iv) that copies of the request and supporting documentation are available for review; 143.31 and
- (v) that the resident or the resident's representative has the right to request a reconsideration also.

143.1

143.2

143.3

143.4

143.5

143.6

143.7

143.8

143.9

143 10

143.11

143 12

143.13

143.14

143.15

143.17

143.18

143.19

143.20

143.21

(2) Within 30 days of receipt of the audit exit report or resident classification notice, the facility must submit to the commissioner of health a completed reconsideration request form, all supporting documentation used to complete the assessment being reconsidered, and a copy of the notice informing the resident or the resident's representative that a reconsideration of the resident's classification is being requested.

- (3) If the facility fails to provide the required information, the reconsideration request may be denied and the facility may not make further reconsideration requests on this classification.
- (d) Reconsideration by the commissioner must be made by individuals not involved in reviewing the assessment, audit, or reconsideration that established the disputed classification. The reconsideration must be based upon the assessment that determined the classification and upon the information provided to the commissioner of health under paragraphs (a) to (c). If necessary for evaluating the reconsideration request, the commissioner may conduct on-site reviews. Within 15 business days of receiving the request for reconsideration, the commissioner shall affirm or modify the original resident classification. The original classification must be modified if the commissioner determines that the assessment resulting in the classification did not accurately reflect characteristics of the resident at the time of the assessment. The commissioner must transmit the reconsideration classification notice by electronic means to the nursing facility. The nursing facility is responsible for the distribution of the notice to the resident or the resident's representative. The notice must be distributed by the nursing facility within three business days after receipt. A decision by the commissioner under this subdivision is the final administrative decision of the agency for the party requesting reconsideration.
- (e) The case mix reimbursement classification established by the commissioner shall be the classification which applies to the resident while the request for reconsideration is pending. If a request for reconsideration applies to an assessment used to determine nursing facility level of care under subdivision 4, paragraph (e) (d), the resident shall continue to be eligible for nursing facility level of care while the request for reconsideration is pending.
- (f) The commissioner may request additional documentation regarding a reconsideration necessary to make an accurate reconsideration determination. 144.30
 - (g) Data collected as part of the reconsideration process under this section is classified as private data on individuals and nonpublic data pursuant to section 13.02. Notwithstanding the classification of these data as private or nonpublic, the commissioner is authorized to

144.1

144.2

144.3

144.4

144.5

144.6

144.7

144.8

144.9

144.10

144.11

144 12

144.13

144.14

144.15

144.16

144.17

144.18

144.19

144.20

144.21

144.22

144.24

144.25

144.26

144.28

144.29

144.31

144.32

share these data with the U.S. Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services and the commissioner of human services as necessary for reimbursement purposes.

- Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144.0724, subdivision 9, is amended to read:
- Subd. 9. **Audit authority.** (a) The commissioner shall audit the accuracy of resident assessments performed under section 256R.17 through any of the following: desk audits; on-site review of residents and their records; and interviews with staff, residents, or residents' families. The commissioner shall reclassify a resident if the commissioner determines that the resident was incorrectly classified.
 - (b) The commissioner is authorized to conduct on-site audits on an unannounced basis.
- 145.10 (c) A facility must grant the commissioner access to examine the medical records relating 145.11 to the resident assessments selected for audit under this subdivision. The commissioner may 145.12 also observe and speak to facility staff and residents.
- 145.13 (d) The commissioner shall consider documentation under the time frames for coding 145.14 items on the minimum data set as set out in the Long-Term Care Facility Resident Assessment 145.15 Instrument User's Manual or OSA Manual version 1.0 v.2 published by the Centers for 145.16 Medicare and Medicaid Services.
- (e) The commissioner shall develop an audit selection procedure that includes the following factors:
 - (1) Each facility shall be audited annually. If a facility has two successive audits in which the percentage of change is five percent or less and the facility has not been the subject of a special audit in the past 36 months, the facility may be audited biannually. A stratified sample of 15 percent, with a minimum of ten assessments, of the most current assessments shall be selected for audit. If more than 20 percent of the RUG-IV case mix reimbursement classifications are changed as a result of the audit, the audit shall be expanded to a second 15 percent sample, with a minimum of ten assessments. If the total change between the first and second samples is 35 percent or greater, the commissioner may expand the audit to all of the remaining assessments.
 - (2) If a facility qualifies for an expanded audit, the commissioner may audit the facility again within six months. If a facility has two expanded audits within a 24-month period, that facility will be audited at least every six months for the next 18 months.
- (3) The commissioner may conduct special audits if the commissioner determines that circumstances exist that could alter or affect the validity of case mix <u>reimbursement</u> classifications of residents. These circumstances include, but are not limited to, the following:

145.1

145.2

145.3

145.4

145.5

145.6

145.7

145.8

145.9

145.19

145.20

145.21

145.22

145.23

145.24

145.25

145.27

145.28

145.29

(i) frequent changes in the administration or management of the facility;

- (ii) an unusually high percentage of residents in a specific case mix <u>reimbursement</u> classification;
- (iii) a high frequency in the number of reconsideration requests received from a facility;
- 146.5 (iv) frequent adjustments of case mix <u>reimbursement</u> classifications as the result of reconsiderations or audits;
- (v) a criminal indictment alleging provider fraud;
- (vi) other similar factors that relate to a facility's ability to conduct accurate assessments;
- (vii) an atypical pattern of scoring minimum data set items;
- (viii) nonsubmission of assessments;

146.2

- (ix) late submission of assessments; or
- (x) a previous history of audit changes of 35 percent or greater.
- (f) If the audit results in a case mix reimbursement classification change, the 146.13 commissioner must transmit the audit classification notice by electronic means to the nursing 146.14 facility within 15 business days of completing an audit. The nursing facility is responsible 146.15 for distribution of the notice to each resident or the resident's representative. This notice 146.16 must be distributed by the nursing facility within three business days after receipt. The 146.17 notice must inform the resident of the case mix reimbursement classification assigned, the 146.18 opportunity to review the documentation supporting the classification, the opportunity to 146.19 obtain clarification from the commissioner, the opportunity to request a reconsideration of 146.20 the classification, and the address and telephone number of the Office of Ombudsman for 146.21 Long-Term Care. 146.22
- Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144.0724, subdivision 11, is amended to read:
- Subd. 11. **Nursing facility level of care.** (a) For purposes of medical assistance payment of long-term care services, a recipient must be determined, using assessments defined in subdivision 4, to meet one of the following nursing facility level of care criteria:
- (1) the person requires formal clinical monitoring at least once per day;
- 146.28 (2) the person needs the assistance of another person or constant supervision to begin 146.29 and complete at least four of the following activities of living: bathing, bed mobility, dressing, 146.30 eating, grooming, toileting, transferring, and walking;

(3) the person needs the assistance of another person or constant supervision to begin and complete toileting, transferring, or positioning and the assistance cannot be scheduled;

- (4) the person has significant difficulty with memory, using information, daily decision making, or behavioral needs that require intervention;
 - (5) the person has had a qualifying nursing facility stay of at least 90 days;
- (6) the person meets the nursing facility level of care criteria determined 90 days after admission or on the first quarterly assessment after admission, whichever is later; or
- (7) the person is determined to be at risk for nursing facility admission or readmission through a face-to-face long-term care consultation assessment as specified in section 256B.0911, subdivision 17 to 21, 23, 24, 27, or 28, by a county, tribe, or managed care organization under contract with the Department of Human Services. The person is considered at risk under this clause if the person currently lives alone or will live alone or be homeless without the person's current housing and also meets one of the following criteria:
 - (i) the person has experienced a fall resulting in a fracture;
- 147.15 (ii) the person has been determined to be at risk of maltreatment or neglect, including 147.16 self-neglect; or
- 147.17 (iii) the person has a sensory impairment that substantially impacts functional ability 147.18 and maintenance of a community residence.
 - (b) The assessment used to establish medical assistance payment for nursing facility services must be the most recent assessment performed under subdivision 4, paragraph paragraphs (b) and (c), that occurred no more than 90 calendar days before the effective date of medical assistance eligibility for payment of long-term care services. In no case shall medical assistance payment for long-term care services occur prior to the date of the determination of nursing facility level of care.
- (c) The assessment used to establish medical assistance payment for long-term care services provided under chapter 256S and section 256B.49 and alternative care payment for services provided under section 256B.0913 must be the most recent face-to-face assessment performed under section 256B.0911, subdivisions 17 to 21, 23, 24, 27, or 28, that occurred no more than 60 calendar days before the effective date of medical assistance eligibility for payment of long-term care services.

147.1

147.2

147.3

147.4

147.5

147.6

147.7

147.8

147.9

147.10

147.11

147.12

147.13

147.14

147.19

147.20

147.21

147.23

Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144.1464, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

- Subdivision 1. **Summer internships.** The commissioner of health, through a contract with a nonprofit organization as required by subdivision 4, shall award grants, within available appropriations, to hospitals, clinics, nursing facilities, assisted living facilities, and home care providers to establish a secondary and postsecondary summer health care intern program. The purpose of the program is to expose interested secondary and postsecondary pupils to various careers within the health care profession.
- Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144.1464, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2. **Criteria.** (a) The commissioner, through the organization under contract, shall award grants to hospitals, clinics, nursing facilities, assisted living facilities, and home care providers that agree to:
- 148.12 (1) provide secondary and postsecondary summer health care interns with formal exposure to the health care profession;
- 148.14 (2) provide an orientation for the secondary and postsecondary summer health care interns;
- 148.16 (3) pay one-half the costs of employing the secondary and postsecondary summer health care intern;
- 148.18 (4) interview and hire secondary and postsecondary pupils for a minimum of six weeks 148.19 and a maximum of 12 weeks; and
- 148.20 (5) employ at least one secondary student for each postsecondary student employed, to 148.21 the extent that there are sufficient qualifying secondary student applicants.
- (b) In order to be eligible to be hired as a secondary summer health intern by a hospital, clinic, nursing facility, assisted living facilities, or home care provider, a pupil must:
- 148.24 (1) intend to complete high school graduation requirements and be between the junior 148.25 and senior year of high school; and
- 148.26 (2) be from a school district in proximity to the facility.
- 148.27 (c) In order to be eligible to be hired as a postsecondary summer health care intern by
 148.28 a hospital or clinic, a pupil must:
- (1) intend to complete a health care training program or a two-year or four-year degree program and be planning on enrolling in or be enrolled in that training program or degree program; and

148.1

148.2

148.3

148.4

148.5

148.6

(2) be enrolled in a Minnesota educational institution or be a resident of the state of Minnesota; priority must be given to applicants from a school district or an educational institution in proximity to the facility.

- (d) Hospitals, clinics, nursing facilities, <u>assisted living facilities</u>, and home care providers awarded grants may employ pupils as secondary and postsecondary summer health care interns beginning on or after June 15, 1993, if they agree to pay the intern, during the period before disbursement of state grant money, with money designated as the facility's 50 percent contribution towards internship costs.
- Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144.1464, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
- Subd. 3. **Grants.** The commissioner, through the organization under contract, shall award separate grants to hospitals, clinics, nursing facilities, and home care providers meeting the requirements of subdivision 2. The grants must be used to pay one-half of the costs of employing secondary and postsecondary pupils in a hospital, clinic, nursing facility, assisted living facilities, or home care setting during the course of the program. No more than 50 percent of the participants may be postsecondary students, unless the program does not receive enough qualified secondary applicants per fiscal year. No more than five pupils may be selected from any secondary or postsecondary institution to participate in the program and no more than one-half of the number of pupils selected may be from the seven-county metropolitan area.
- Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 144.1505, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
 - Subd. 2. **Programs.** (a) For advanced practice provider clinical training expansion grants, the commissioner of health shall award health professional training site grants to eligible physician assistant, advanced practice registered nurse, pharmacy, dental therapy, and mental health professional programs to plan and implement expanded clinical training. A planning grant shall not exceed \$75,000, and a three-year training grant shall not exceed \$150,000 for the first year, \$100,000 for the second year, and \$50,000 for the third year \$300,000 per program project. The commissioner may provide a one-year, no-cost extension for grants.
 - (b) For health professional rural and underserved clinical rotations grants, the commissioner of health shall award health professional training site grants to eligible physician, physician assistant, advanced practice registered nurse, pharmacy, dentistry, dental therapy, and mental health professional programs to augment existing clinical training programs to add rural and underserved rotations or clinical training experiences, such as

149.1

149.2

149.3

149.4

149.5

149.6

149.7

149.8

149.9

149.10

149.11

149.12

149.13

149.14

149.15

149.18

149.19

149.22

149.23

149.24

149.25

149.26

149.27

149.28

149.29

149.30

149.31

149.32

credential or certificate rural tracks or other specialized training. For physician and dentist training, the expanded training must include rotations in primary care settings such as community clinics, hospitals, health maintenance organizations, or practices in rural communities.

150.5 (c) Funds may be used for:

150.1

150.2

150.3

- (1) establishing or expanding rotations and clinical training;
- (2) recruitment, training, and retention of students and faculty;
- 150.8 (3) connecting students with appropriate clinical training sites, internships, practicums, 150.9 or externship activities;
- 150.10 (4) travel and lodging for students;
- (5) faculty, student, and preceptor salaries, incentives, or other financial support;
- (6) development and implementation of cultural competency training;
- 150.13 (7) evaluations;
- 150.14 (8) training site improvements, fees, equipment, and supplies required to establish, 150.15 maintain, or expand a training program; and
- (9) supporting clinical education in which trainees are part of a primary care team model.
- 150.17 Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144.1911, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2. **Definitions.** (a) For the purposes of this section, the following terms have the meanings given.
- (b) "Commissioner" means the commissioner of health.
- (c) "Immigrant international medical graduate" means an international medical graduate who was born outside the United States, now resides permanently in the United States or who has entered the United States on a temporary status based on urgent humanitarian or significant public benefit reasons, and who did not enter the United States on a J1 or similar nonimmigrant visa following acceptance into a United States medical residency or fellowship program.
- (d) "International medical graduate" means a physician who received a basic medical degree or qualification from a medical school located outside the United States and Canada.
- (e) "Minnesota immigrant international medical graduate" means an immigrant international medical graduate who has lived in Minnesota for at least two years.

(f) "Rural community" means a statutory and home rule charter city or township that is 151.1 outside the seven-county metropolitan area as defined in section 473.121, subdivision 2, 151.2 excluding the cities of Duluth, Mankato, Moorhead, Rochester, and St. Cloud. 151.3 (g) "Underserved community" means a Minnesota area or population included in the 151.4 list of designated primary medical care health professional shortage areas, medically 151.5 underserved areas, or medically underserved populations (MUPs) maintained and updated 151.6 by the United States Department of Health and Human Services. 151.7 Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144.212, is amended by adding a subdivision 151.8 151.9 to read: Subd. 5a. Replacement. "Replacement" means a completion, addition, removal, or 151.10 change made to certification items on a vital record after a vital event is registered and a 151.11 record is established that has no notation of a change on a certificate and seals the prior vital 151.12 record. 151.13 Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144.216, subdivision 2, is amended to read: 151.14 Subd. 2. Status of foundling reports. A report registered under subdivision 1 shall 151.15 constitute the record of birth for the child. Information about the newborn shall be registered 151.16 by the state registrar in accordance with Minnesota Rules, part 4601.0600, subpart 4, item 151.17 C. If the child is identified and a record of birth is found or obtained, the report registered 151.18 under subdivision 1 shall be confidential pursuant to section 13.02, subdivision 3, and shall 151.19 not be disclosed except pursuant to court order. 151.20 Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144.216, is amended by adding a subdivision 151.21 to read: 151.22 Subd. 3. Reporting safe place newborns. Hospitals that receive a newborn under section 151.23 145.902 shall report the birth of the newborn to the Office of Vital Records within five days 151.24 after receiving the newborn. Information about the newborn shall be registered by the state registrar in accordance with Minnesota Rules, part 4601.0600, subpart 4, item C. 151.26 Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144.216, is amended by adding a subdivision 151.27 to read: 151.28 Subd. 4. Status of safe place birth reports and registrations. (a) Information about a 151.29 safe place newborn registered under subdivision 3 shall constitute the record of birth for 151.30 the child. The record shall be confidential pursuant to section 13.02, subdivision 3. 151.31

Information on the birth record or a birth certificate issued from the birth record shall be 152.1 disclosed only to the responsible social services agency or pursuant to a court order. 152.2 152.3 (b) Information about a safe place newborn registered under subdivision 3 shall constitute the record of birth for the child. If the safe place newborn was born in a hospital and it is 152.4 152.5 known that a record of birth was registered, filed, or amended, the original birth record registered under section 144.215 shall be replaced pursuant to section 144.218, subdivision 152.6 152.7 6. Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144.218, is amended by adding a subdivision 152.8 152.9 to read: Subd. 6. Safe place newborn; birth record. If a safe place infant birth is registered 152.10 pursuant to section 144.216, subdivision 4, paragraph (b), the state registrar shall issue a 152.11 replacement birth record free of information that identifies a parent. The prior vital record 152.12 shall be confidential pursuant to section 13.02, subdivision 3, and shall not be disclosed 152.13 except pursuant to a court order. 152.14 Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144.493, is amended by adding a subdivision 152.15 to read: 152.16 Subd. 2a. Thrombectomy-capable stroke center. A hospital meets the criteria for a 152.17 thrombectomy-capable stroke center if the hospital has been certified as a 152.18 thrombectomy-capable stroke center by the joint commission or another nationally recognized 152.19 accreditation entity or is a primary stroke center that is not certified as a thrombectomy-based 152.20 capable stroke center but the hospital has attained a level of stroke care distinction by offering 152.21 mechanical endovascular therapies and has been certified by a department approved certifying 152.22 body that is a nationally recognized guidelines-based organization. 152.23 152.24 Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144.494, subdivision 2, is amended to read: Subd. 2. **Designation.** A hospital that voluntarily meets the criteria for a comprehensive 152.25 stroke center, thrombectomy-capable stroke center, primary stroke center, or acute stroke 152.26 ready hospital may apply to the commissioner for designation, and upon the commissioner's 152.27 review and approval of the application, shall be designated as a comprehensive stroke center, 152.28 a thrombectomy-capable stroke center, a primary stroke center, or an acute stroke ready 152.29 hospital for a three-year period. If a hospital loses its certification as a comprehensive stroke 152.30 center or primary stroke center from the joint commission or other nationally recognized accreditation entity, or no longer participates in the Minnesota stroke registry program, its

Minnesota designation shall be immediately withdrawn. Prior to the expiration of the three-year designation period, a hospital seeking to remain part of the voluntary acute stroke system may reapply to the commissioner for designation.

- Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144.551, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
- Subdivision 1. **Restricted construction or modification.** (a) The following construction or modification may not be commenced:
 - (1) any erection, building, alteration, reconstruction, modernization, improvement, extension, lease, or other acquisition by or on behalf of a hospital that increases the bed capacity of a hospital, relocates hospital beds from one physical facility, complex, or site to another, or otherwise results in an increase or redistribution of hospital beds within the state; and
- 153.12 (2) the establishment of a new hospital.
- (b) This section does not apply to:

153.1

153.2

153.3

153.7

153.8

153.9

- (1) construction or relocation within a county by a hospital, clinic, or other health care facility that is a national referral center engaged in substantial programs of patient care, medical research, and medical education meeting state and national needs that receives more than 40 percent of its patients from outside the state of Minnesota;
- (2) a project for construction or modification for which a health care facility held an approved certificate of need on May 1, 1984, regardless of the date of expiration of the certificate;
- 153.21 (3) a project for which a certificate of need was denied before July 1, 1990, if a timely appeal results in an order reversing the denial;
- 153.23 (4) a project exempted from certificate of need requirements by Laws 1981, chapter 200, section 2;
- 153.25 (5) a project involving consolidation of pediatric specialty hospital services within the 153.26 Minneapolis-St. Paul metropolitan area that would not result in a net increase in the number 153.27 of pediatric specialty hospital beds among the hospitals being consolidated;
- (6) a project involving the temporary relocation of pediatric-orthopedic hospital beds to an existing licensed hospital that will allow for the reconstruction of a new philanthropic, pediatric-orthopedic hospital on an existing site and that will not result in a net increase in the number of hospital beds. Upon completion of the reconstruction, the licenses of both hospitals must be reinstated at the capacity that existed on each site before the relocation;

(7) the relocation or redistribution of hospital beds within a hospital building or identifiable complex of buildings provided the relocation or redistribution does not result in: (i) an increase in the overall bed capacity at that site; (ii) relocation of hospital beds from one physical site or complex to another; or (iii) redistribution of hospital beds within the state or a region of the state;

- (8) relocation or redistribution of hospital beds within a hospital corporate system that involves the transfer of beds from a closed facility site or complex to an existing site or complex provided that: (i) no more than 50 percent of the capacity of the closed facility is transferred; (ii) the capacity of the site or complex to which the beds are transferred does not increase by more than 50 percent; (iii) the beds are not transferred outside of a federal health systems agency boundary in place on July 1, 1983; (iv) the relocation or redistribution does not involve the construction of a new hospital building; and (v) the transferred beds are used first to replace within the hospital corporate system the total number of beds previously used in the closed facility site or complex for mental health services and substance use disorder services. Only after the hospital corporate system has fulfilled the requirements of this item may the remainder of the available capacity of the closed facility site or complex be transferred for any other purpose;
- (9) a construction project involving up to 35 new beds in a psychiatric hospital in Rice County that primarily serves adolescents and that receives more than 70 percent of its patients from outside the state of Minnesota;
- (10) a project to replace a hospital or hospitals with a combined licensed capacity of 130 beds or less if: (i) the new hospital site is located within five miles of the current site; and (ii) the total licensed capacity of the replacement hospital, either at the time of construction of the initial building or as the result of future expansion, will not exceed 70 100 licensed hospital beds, or the combined licensed capacity of the hospitals, whichever is less;
- (11) the relocation of licensed hospital beds from an existing state facility operated by the commissioner of human services to a new or existing facility, building, or complex operated by the commissioner of human services; from one regional treatment center site to another; or from one building or site to a new or existing building or site on the same campus;
- (12) the construction or relocation of hospital beds operated by a hospital having a statutory obligation to provide hospital and medical services for the indigent that does not result in a net increase in the number of hospital beds, notwithstanding section 144.552, 27

154.1

154.2

154.3

154.4

154.5

154.6

154.7

154.8

154.9

154.10

154.11

154.12

154.13

154.14

154.15

154.16

154.17

154.18

154.19

154.20

154.21

154.22

154.23

154.24

154.25

154.26

154.27

154.28

154.29

154.30

154.31

154.32

beds, of which 12 serve mental health needs, may be transferred from Hennepin County 155.1 Medical Center to Regions Hospital under this clause; 155.2

- (13) a construction project involving the addition of up to 31 new beds in an existing nonfederal hospital in Beltrami County;
- 155.5 (14) a construction project involving the addition of up to eight new beds in an existing nonfederal hospital in Otter Tail County with 100 licensed acute care beds; 155.6
- 155.7 (15) a construction project involving the addition of 20 new hospital beds in an existing hospital in Carver County serving the southwest suburban metropolitan area; 155.8
- (16) a project for the construction or relocation of up to 20 hospital beds for the operation of up to two psychiatric facilities or units for children provided that the operation of the 155.10 facilities or units have received the approval of the commissioner of human services; 155.11
- (17) a project involving the addition of 14 new hospital beds to be used for rehabilitation 155.12 services in an existing hospital in Itasca County; 155.13
- (18) a project to add 20 licensed beds in existing space at a hospital in Hennepin County 155.14 that closed 20 rehabilitation beds in 2002, provided that the beds are used only for 155.15 rehabilitation in the hospital's current rehabilitation building. If the beds are used for another 155.16 purpose or moved to another location, the hospital's licensed capacity is reduced by 20 beds; 155.17
- 155.18 (19) a critical access hospital established under section 144.1483, clause (9), and section 1820 of the federal Social Security Act, United States Code, title 42, section 1395i-4, that 155.19 delicensed beds since enactment of the Balanced Budget Act of 1997, Public Law 105-33, 155.20 to the extent that the critical access hospital does not seek to exceed the maximum number 155.21 of beds permitted such hospital under federal law; 155.22
- (20) notwithstanding section 144.552, a project for the construction of a new hospital 155.23 in the city of Maple Grove with a licensed capacity of up to 300 beds provided that: 155.24
- (i) the project, including each hospital or health system that will own or control the entity 155.25 that will hold the new hospital license, is approved by a resolution of the Maple Grove City 155.26 Council as of March 1, 2006; 155.27
- (ii) the entity that will hold the new hospital license will be owned or controlled by one 155.28 or more not-for-profit hospitals or health systems that have previously submitted a plan or 155.29 plans for a project in Maple Grove as required under section 144.552, and the plan or plans 155.30 have been found to be in the public interest by the commissioner of health as of April 1, 155.31 155.32 2005;

155.3

155.4

(iii) the new hospital's initial inpatient services must include, but are not limited to, medical and surgical services, obstetrical and gynecological services, intensive care services, orthopedic services, pediatric services, noninvasive cardiac diagnostics, behavioral health services, and emergency room services;(iv) the new hospital:

- (A) will have the ability to provide and staff sufficient new beds to meet the growing needs of the Maple Grove service area and the surrounding communities currently being served by the hospital or health system that will own or control the entity that will hold the new hospital license;
- (B) will provide uncompensated care;

156.1

156.2

156.3

156.4

156.5

156.6

156.7

156.8

- (C) will provide mental health services, including inpatient beds;
- (D) will be a site for workforce development for a broad spectrum of health-care-related occupations and have a commitment to providing clinical training programs for physicians and other health care providers;
- (E) will demonstrate a commitment to quality care and patient safety;
- (F) will have an electronic medical records system, including physician order entry;
- (G) will provide a broad range of senior services;
- (H) will provide emergency medical services that will coordinate care with regional providers of trauma services and licensed emergency ambulance services in order to enhance the continuity of care for emergency medical patients; and
- (I) will be completed by December 31, 2009, unless delayed by circumstances beyond the control of the entity holding the new hospital license; and
- (v) as of 30 days following submission of a written plan, the commissioner of health has not determined that the hospitals or health systems that will own or control the entity that will hold the new hospital license are unable to meet the criteria of this clause;
- 156.26 (21) a project approved under section 144.553;
- 156.27 (22) a project for the construction of a hospital with up to 25 beds in Cass County within 156.28 a 20-mile radius of the state Ah-Gwah-Ching facility, provided the hospital's license holder 156.29 is approved by the Cass County Board;

157.1 (23) a project for an acute care hospital in Fergus Falls that will increase the bed capacity 157.2 from 108 to 110 beds by increasing the rehabilitation bed capacity from 14 to 16 and closing 157.3 a separately licensed 13-bed skilled nursing facility;

- (24) notwithstanding section 144.552, a project for the construction and expansion of a specialty psychiatric hospital in Hennepin County for up to 50 beds, exclusively for patients who are under 21 years of age on the date of admission. The commissioner conducted a public interest review of the mental health needs of Minnesota and the Twin Cities metropolitan area in 2008. No further public interest review shall be conducted for the construction or expansion project under this clause;
- 157.10 (25) a project for a 16-bed psychiatric hospital in the city of Thief River Falls, if the commissioner finds the project is in the public interest after the public interest review conducted under section 144.552 is complete;
- 157.13 (26)(i) a project for a 20-bed psychiatric hospital, within an existing facility in the city
 157.14 of Maple Grove, exclusively for patients who are under 21 years of age on the date of
 157.15 admission, if the commissioner finds the project is in the public interest after the public
 157.16 interest review conducted under section 144.552 is complete;
- (ii) this project shall serve patients in the continuing care benefit program under section 256.9693. The project may also serve patients not in the continuing care benefit program; and
 - (iii) if the project ceases to participate in the continuing care benefit program, the commissioner must complete a subsequent public interest review under section 144.552. If the project is found not to be in the public interest, the license must be terminated six months from the date of that finding. If the commissioner of human services terminates the contract without cause or reduces per diem payment rates for patients under the continuing care benefit program below the rates in effect for services provided on December 31, 2015, the project may cease to participate in the continuing care benefit program and continue to operate without a subsequent public interest review;
- 157.28 (27) a project involving the addition of 21 new beds in an existing psychiatric hospital 157.29 in Hennepin County that is exclusively for patients who are under 21 years of age on the 157.30 date of admission;
- 157.31 (28) a project to add 55 licensed beds in an existing safety net, level I trauma center 157.32 hospital in Ramsey County as designated under section 383A.91, subdivision 5, of which 157.33 15 beds are to be used for inpatient mental health and 40 are to be used for other services. 157.34 In addition, five unlicensed observation mental health beds shall be added;

157.4

157.5

157.6

157.7

157.8

157.9

157.20

157.21

157.22

157.24

157.25

157.26

(29) upon submission of a plan to the commissioner for public interest review under section 144.552 and the addition of the 15 inpatient mental health beds specified in clause (28), to its bed capacity, a project to add 45 licensed beds in an existing safety net, level I trauma center hospital in Ramsey County as designated under section 383A.91, subdivision 5. Five of the 45 additional beds authorized under this clause must be designated for use for inpatient mental health and must be added to the hospital's bed capacity before the remaining 40 beds are added. Notwithstanding section 144.552, the hospital may add licensed beds under this clause prior to completion of the public interest review, provided the hospital submits its plan by the 2021 deadline and adheres to the timelines for the public interest review described in section 144.552;

(30) upon submission of a plan to the commissioner for public interest review under section 144.552, a project to add up to 30 licensed beds in an existing psychiatric hospital in Hennepin County that exclusively provides care to patients who are under 21 years of age on the date of admission. Notwithstanding section 144.552, the psychiatric hospital may add licensed beds under this clause prior to completion of the public interest review, provided the hospital submits its plan by the 2021 deadline and adheres to the timelines for the public interest review described in section 144.552;

(31) any project to add licensed beds in a hospital located in Cook County or Mahnomen County that: (i) is designated as a critical access hospital under section 144.1483, clause (9), and United States Code, title 42, section 1395i-4; (ii) has a licensed bed capacity of fewer than 25 beds; and (iii) has an attached nursing home, so long as the total number of licensed beds in the hospital after the bed addition does not exceed 25 beds. Notwithstanding section 144.552, a public interest review is not required for a project authorized under this clause;

(32) upon submission of a plan to the commissioner for public interest review under section 144.552, a project to add 22 licensed beds at a Minnesota freestanding children's hospital in St. Paul that is part of an independent pediatric health system with freestanding inpatient hospitals located in Minneapolis and St. Paul. The beds shall be utilized for pediatric inpatient behavioral health services. Notwithstanding section 144.552, the hospital may add licensed beds under this clause prior to completion of the public interest review, provided the hospital submits its plan by the 2022 deadline and adheres to the timelines for the public interest review described in section 144.552; or

(33) a project for a 144-bed psychiatric hospital on the site of the former Bethesda hospital in the city of Saint Paul, Ramsey County, if the commissioner finds the project is in the public interest after the public interest review conducted under section 144.552 is

158.1

158.2

158.3

158.4

158.5

158.6

158.7

158.8

158.9

158.10

158.11

158.12

158.13

158.14

158.15

158.16

158.17

158.18

158.19

158.20

158.21

158.22

158.24

158.25

158.27

158.28

158.29

158.30

158.31

158.32

158.33

158.34

complete. Following the completion of the construction project, the commissioner of health shall monitor the hospital, including by assessing the hospital's case mix and payer mix, patient transfers, and patient diversions. The hospital must have an intake and assessment area. The hospital must accommodate patients with acute mental health needs, whether they walk up to the facility, are delivered by ambulances or law enforcement, or are transferred from other facilities. The hospital must comply with subdivision 1a, paragraph (b). The hospital must annually submit de-identified data to the department in the format and manner defined by the commissioner.

- Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144.551, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
- Subdivision 1. **Restricted construction or modification.** (a) The following construction or modification may not be commenced:
- (1) any erection, building, alteration, reconstruction, modernization, improvement, extension, lease, or other acquisition by or on behalf of a hospital that increases the bed capacity of a hospital, relocates hospital beds from one physical facility, complex, or site to another, or otherwise results in an increase or redistribution of hospital beds within the state; and
- 159.17 (2) the establishment of a new hospital.
- (b) This section does not apply to:

159.1

159.2

159.3

159.4

159.5

159.6

159.7

- (1) construction or relocation within a county by a hospital, clinic, or other health care facility that is a national referral center engaged in substantial programs of patient care, medical research, and medical education meeting state and national needs that receives more than 40 percent of its patients from outside the state of Minnesota;
- (2) a project for construction or modification for which a health care facility held an approved certificate of need on May 1, 1984, regardless of the date of expiration of the certificate;
- 159.26 (3) a project for which a certificate of need was denied before July 1, 1990, if a timely appeal results in an order reversing the denial;
- (4) a project exempted from certificate of need requirements by Laws 1981, chapter 200, section 2;
- (5) a project involving consolidation of pediatric specialty hospital services within the Minneapolis-St. Paul metropolitan area that would not result in a net increase in the number of pediatric specialty hospital beds among the hospitals being consolidated;

(6) a project involving the temporary relocation of pediatric-orthopedic hospital beds to an existing licensed hospital that will allow for the reconstruction of a new philanthropic, pediatric-orthopedic hospital on an existing site and that will not result in a net increase in the number of hospital beds. Upon completion of the reconstruction, the licenses of both hospitals must be reinstated at the capacity that existed on each site before the relocation;

- (7) the relocation or redistribution of hospital beds within a hospital building or identifiable complex of buildings provided the relocation or redistribution does not result in: (i) an increase in the overall bed capacity at that site; (ii) relocation of hospital beds from one physical site or complex to another; or (iii) redistribution of hospital beds within the state or a region of the state;
- (8) relocation or redistribution of hospital beds within a hospital corporate system that involves the transfer of beds from a closed facility site or complex to an existing site or complex provided that: (i) no more than 50 percent of the capacity of the closed facility is transferred; (ii) the capacity of the site or complex to which the beds are transferred does not increase by more than 50 percent; (iii) the beds are not transferred outside of a federal health systems agency boundary in place on July 1, 1983; (iv) the relocation or redistribution does not involve the construction of a new hospital building; and (v) the transferred beds are used first to replace within the hospital corporate system the total number of beds previously used in the closed facility site or complex for mental health services and substance use disorder services. Only after the hospital corporate system has fulfilled the requirements of this item may the remainder of the available capacity of the closed facility site or complex be transferred for any other purpose;
- (9) a construction project involving up to 35 new beds in a psychiatric hospital in Rice County that primarily serves adolescents and that receives more than 70 percent of its patients from outside the state of Minnesota;
- (10) a project to replace a hospital or hospitals with a combined licensed capacity of 130 beds or less if: (i) the new hospital site is located within five miles of the current site; and (ii) the total licensed capacity of the replacement hospital, either at the time of construction of the initial building or as the result of future expansion, will not exceed 70 licensed hospital beds, or the combined licensed capacity of the hospitals, whichever is less;
- (11) the relocation of licensed hospital beds from an existing state facility operated by the commissioner of human services to a new or existing facility, building, or complex operated by the commissioner of human services; from one regional treatment center site

160.1

160.2

160.3

160.4

160.5

160.6

160.7

160.8

160.9

160.10

160.11

160.12

160.13

160.14

160.15

160.17

160.18

160.19

160.20

160.21

160.22

160.23

160.24

160.25

160.26

160.27

160.28

160.29

160.30

160.31

160.32

to another; or from one building or site to a new or existing building or site on the same campus;

- (12) the construction or relocation of hospital beds operated by a hospital having a statutory obligation to provide hospital and medical services for the indigent that does not result in a net increase in the number of hospital beds, notwithstanding section 144.552, 27 beds, of which 12 serve mental health needs, may be transferred from Hennepin County Medical Center to Regions Hospital under this clause;
- 161.8 (13) a construction project involving the addition of up to 31 new beds in an existing 161.9 nonfederal hospital in Beltrami County;
- 161.10 (14) a construction project involving the addition of up to eight new beds in an existing nonfederal hospital in Otter Tail County with 100 licensed acute care beds;
- 161.12 (15) a construction project involving the addition of 20 new hospital beds in an existing 161.13 hospital in Carver County serving the southwest suburban metropolitan area;
- (16) a project for the construction or relocation of up to 20 hospital beds for the operation of up to two psychiatric facilities or units for children provided that the operation of the facilities or units have received the approval of the commissioner of human services;
- 161.17 (17) a project involving the addition of 14 new hospital beds to be used for rehabilitation 161.18 services in an existing hospital in Itasca County;
- (18) a project to add 20 licensed beds in existing space at a hospital in Hennepin County that closed 20 rehabilitation beds in 2002, provided that the beds are used only for rehabilitation in the hospital's current rehabilitation building. If the beds are used for another purpose or moved to another location, the hospital's licensed capacity is reduced by 20 beds;
- (19) a critical access hospital established under section 144.1483, clause (9), and section 1820 of the federal Social Security Act, United States Code, title 42, section 1395i-4, that delicensed beds since enactment of the Balanced Budget Act of 1997, Public Law 105-33, to the extent that the critical access hospital does not seek to exceed the maximum number of beds permitted such hospital under federal law;
- 161.28 (20) notwithstanding section 144.552, a project for the construction of a new hospital 161.29 in the city of Maple Grove with a licensed capacity of up to 300 beds provided that:
- (i) the project, including each hospital or health system that will own or control the entity that will hold the new hospital license, is approved by a resolution of the Maple Grove City Council as of March 1, 2006;

161.3

161.4

161.5

161.6

(ii) the entity that will hold the new hospital license will be owned or controlled by one or more not-for-profit hospitals or health systems that have previously submitted a plan or plans for a project in Maple Grove as required under section 144.552, and the plan or plans have been found to be in the public interest by the commissioner of health as of April 1, 2005;

- (iii) the new hospital's initial inpatient services must include, but are not limited to, medical and surgical services, obstetrical and gynecological services, intensive care services, orthopedic services, pediatric services, noninvasive cardiac diagnostics, behavioral health services, and emergency room services;
- 162.10 (iv) the new hospital:

162.1

162.2

162.3

162.4

162.5

162.6

162.7

162.8

- (A) will have the ability to provide and staff sufficient new beds to meet the growing needs of the Maple Grove service area and the surrounding communities currently being served by the hospital or health system that will own or control the entity that will hold the new hospital license;
- 162.15 (B) will provide uncompensated care;
- 162.16 (C) will provide mental health services, including inpatient beds;
- (D) will be a site for workforce development for a broad spectrum of health-care-related occupations and have a commitment to providing clinical training programs for physicians and other health care providers;
- (E) will demonstrate a commitment to quality care and patient safety;
- (F) will have an electronic medical records system, including physician order entry;
- (G) will provide a broad range of senior services;
- (H) will provide emergency medical services that will coordinate care with regional providers of trauma services and licensed emergency ambulance services in order to enhance the continuity of care for emergency medical patients; and
- (I) will be completed by December 31, 2009, unless delayed by circumstances beyond the control of the entity holding the new hospital license; and
- (v) as of 30 days following submission of a written plan, the commissioner of health has not determined that the hospitals or health systems that will own or control the entity that will hold the new hospital license are unable to meet the criteria of this clause;
- 162.31 (21) a project approved under section 144.553;

(22) a project for the construction of a hospital with up to 25 beds in Cass County within a 20-mile radius of the state Ah-Gwah-Ching facility, provided the hospital's license holder is approved by the Cass County Board;

- (23) a project for an acute care hospital in Fergus Falls that will increase the bed capacity from 108 to 110 beds by increasing the rehabilitation bed capacity from 14 to 16 and closing a separately licensed 13-bed skilled nursing facility;
- (24) notwithstanding section 144.552, a project for the construction and expansion of a specialty psychiatric hospital in Hennepin County for up to 50 beds, exclusively for patients who are under 21 years of age on the date of admission. The commissioner conducted a public interest review of the mental health needs of Minnesota and the Twin Cities metropolitan area in 2008. No further public interest review shall be conducted for the construction or expansion project under this clause;
- 163.13 (25) a project for a 16-bed psychiatric hospital in the city of Thief River Falls, if the commissioner finds the project is in the public interest after the public interest review conducted under section 144.552 is complete;
- (26)(i) a project for a 20-bed psychiatric hospital, within an existing facility in the city of Maple Grove, exclusively for patients who are under 21 years of age on the date of admission, if the commissioner finds the project is in the public interest after the public interest review conducted under section 144.552 is complete;
- (ii) this project shall serve patients in the continuing care benefit program under section 256.9693. The project may also serve patients not in the continuing care benefit program; and
 - (iii) if the project ceases to participate in the continuing care benefit program, the commissioner must complete a subsequent public interest review under section 144.552. If the project is found not to be in the public interest, the license must be terminated six months from the date of that finding. If the commissioner of human services terminates the contract without cause or reduces per diem payment rates for patients under the continuing care benefit program below the rates in effect for services provided on December 31, 2015, the project may cease to participate in the continuing care benefit program and continue to operate without a subsequent public interest review;
- 163.31 (27) a project involving the addition of 21 new beds in an existing psychiatric hospital 163.32 in Hennepin County that is exclusively for patients who are under 21 years of age on the 163.33 date of admission;

163.1

163.2

163.3

163.4

163.5

163.6

163.7

163.8

163.9

163.10

163.11

163.12

163.23

163.24

163.25

163.27

163.28

163.29

(28) a project to add 55 licensed beds in an existing safety net, level I trauma center hospital in Ramsey County as designated under section 383A.91, subdivision 5, of which 15 beds are to be used for inpatient mental health and 40 are to be used for other services. In addition, five unlicensed observation mental health beds shall be added;

- (29) upon submission of a plan to the commissioner for public interest review under section 144.552 and the addition of the 15 inpatient mental health beds specified in clause (28), to its bed capacity, a project to add 45 licensed beds in an existing safety net, level I trauma center hospital in Ramsey County as designated under section 383A.91, subdivision 5. Five of the 45 additional beds authorized under this clause must be designated for use for inpatient mental health and must be added to the hospital's bed capacity before the remaining 40 beds are added. Notwithstanding section 144.552, the hospital may add licensed beds under this clause prior to completion of the public interest review, provided the hospital submits its plan by the 2021 deadline and adheres to the timelines for the public interest review described in section 144.552;
- (30) upon submission of a plan to the commissioner for public interest review under section 144.552, a project to add up to 30 licensed beds in an existing psychiatric hospital in Hennepin County that exclusively provides care to patients who are under 21 years of age on the date of admission. Notwithstanding section 144.552, the psychiatric hospital may add licensed beds under this clause prior to completion of the public interest review, provided the hospital submits its plan by the 2021 deadline and adheres to the timelines for the public interest review described in section 144.552;
- (31) any project to add licensed beds in a hospital located in Cook County or Mahnomen County that: (i) is designated as a critical access hospital under section 144.1483, clause (9), and United States Code, title 42, section 1395i-4; (ii) has a licensed bed capacity of fewer than 25 beds; and (iii) has an attached nursing home, so long as the total number of licensed beds in the hospital after the bed addition does not exceed 25 beds. Notwithstanding section 144.552, a public interest review is not required for a project authorized under this clause;
- (32) upon submission of a plan to the commissioner for public interest review under section 144.552, a project to add 22 licensed beds at a Minnesota freestanding children's hospital in St. Paul that is part of an independent pediatric health system with freestanding inpatient hospitals located in Minneapolis and St. Paul. The beds shall be utilized for pediatric inpatient behavioral health services. Notwithstanding section 144.552, the hospital may add licensed beds under this clause prior to completion of the public interest review, provided

164.1

164.2

164.3

164.4

164.5

164.6

164.7

164.8

164.9

164.10

164.11

164.12

164.13

164.14

164.15

164.16

164.17

164.18

164.19

164.20

164.21

164.22

164.23

164.24

164.25

164.26

the hospital submits its plan by the 2022 deadline and adheres to the timelines for the public interest review described in section 144.552; or

(33) a project for a 144-bed psychiatric hospital on the site of the former Bethesda hospital in the city of Saint Paul, Ramsey County, if the commissioner finds the project is in the public interest after the public interest review conducted under section 144.552 is complete. Following the completion of the construction project, the commissioner of health shall monitor the hospital, including by assessing the hospital's case mix and payer mix, patient transfers, and patient diversions. The hospital must have an intake and assessment area. The hospital must accommodate patients with acute mental health needs, whether they walk up to the facility, are delivered by ambulances or law enforcement, or are transferred from other facilities. The hospital must comply with subdivision 1a, paragraph (b). The hospital must annually submit de-identified data to the department in the format and manner defined by the commissioner-; or

(34) a project involving the relocation of up to 26 licensed long-term acute care hospital 165.14 beds from an existing long-term care hospital located in Hennepin County with a licensed 165.15 capacity prior to the relocation of 92 beds to dedicated space on the campus of an existing 165.16 safety net, level I trauma center hospital in Ramsey County as designated under section 165.17 383A.91, subdivision 5, provided both the commissioner finds the project is in the public 165.18 interest after the public interest review conducted under section 144.552 is complete and 165.19 the relocated beds continue to be used as long-term acute care hospital beds after the 165.20 relocation. 165.21

- Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144.605, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
- Subd. 10. Chapter 16C waiver. Pursuant to subdivisions 4, paragraph (b), and 5, paragraph (b), the commissioner of administration may waive provisions of chapter 16C for the purposes of approving contracts for independent clinical teams.
- Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144.99, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
- Subd. 3. **Correction orders.** (a) The commissioner may issue correction orders that require a person to correct a violation of the statutes, rules, and other actions listed in subdivision 1. The correction order must state the deficiencies that constitute the violation; the specific statute, rule, or other action; and the time by which the violation must be corrected.

165.1

165.2

165.3

165.4

165.5

165.6

165.7

165.8

165.9

165.10

165.11

(b) If the person believes that the information contained in the commissioner's correction order is in error, the person may ask the commissioner to reconsider the parts of the order that are alleged to be in error. The request must be in writing, delivered to the commissioner by certified mail within seven 15 calendar days after receipt of the order, and:

- (1) specify which parts of the order for corrective action are alleged to be in error;
- (2) explain why they are in error; and
- 166.7 (3) provide documentation to support the allegation of error.

The commissioner must respond to requests made under this paragraph within 15 calendar days after receiving a request. A request for reconsideration does not stay the correction order; however, after reviewing the request for reconsideration, the commissioner may provide additional time to comply with the order if necessary. The commissioner's disposition of a request for reconsideration is final.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 32. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144A.10, subdivision 15, is amended to read:

Subd. 15. **Informal dispute resolution.** The commissioner shall respond in writing to

for an informal dispute resolution within 30 days of the exit date of the facility's survey ten

a request from a nursing facility certified under the federal Medicare and Medicaid programs

calendar days of the facility's receipt of the notice of deficiencies. The commissioner's

response shall identify the commissioner's decision regarding the continuation of each

deficiency citation challenged by the nursing facility, as well as a statement of any changes

in findings, level of severity or scope, and proposed remedies or sanctions for each deficiency

166.22 citation.

166.1

166.2

166.3

166.4

166.5

166.6

166.8

166.9

166.10

166.11

166.12

166.13

166.16

166.17

166.18

166.19

166.20

166.21

166.23

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2024.

Sec. 33. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144A.10, subdivision 16, is amended to read:

Subd. 16. Independent informal dispute resolution. (a) Notwithstanding subdivision 166.25 15, a facility certified under the federal Medicare or Medicaid programs that has been 166.26 assessed a civil money penalty as provided by Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, section 166.27 488.430, may request from the commissioner, in writing, an independent informal dispute 166.28 resolution process regarding any deficiency eitation issued to the facility. The facility must 166.29 specify in its written request each deficiency citation that it disputes. The commissioner 166.30 shall provide a hearing under sections 14.57 to 14.62. Upon the written request of the facility, 166.31 the parties must submit the issues raised to arbitration by an administrative law judge submit 166.32

its request in writing within ten calendar days of receiving notice that a civil money penalty

167.2 will be imposed. (b) The facility and commissioner have the right to be represented by an attorney at the 167.3 hearing. 167.4 167.5 (c) An independent informal dispute resolution may not be requested for any deficiency that is the subject of an active informal dispute resolution requested under subdivision 15. 167.6 The facility must withdraw its informal dispute resolution prior to requesting independent 167.7 informal dispute resolution. 167.8 (b) Upon (d) Within five calendar days of receipt of a written request for an arbitration 167.9 proceeding independent informal dispute resolution, the commissioner shall file with the 167.10 Office of Administrative Hearings a request for the appointment of an arbitrator 167.11 administrative law judge from the Office of Administrative Hearings and simultaneously 167.12 serve the facility with notice of the request. The arbitrator for the dispute shall be an 167.13 administrative law judge appointed by the Office of Administrative Hearings. The disclosure provisions of section 572B.12 and the notice provisions of section 572B.15, subsection (c), 167.15 apply. The facility and the commissioner have the right to be represented by an attorney. 167.16 (e) An independent informal dispute resolution proceeding shall be scheduled to occur 167.17 within 30 calendar days of the commissioner's request to the Office of Administrative Hearings, unless the parties agree otherwise or the chief administrative law judge deems 167.19 the timing to be unreasonable. The independent informal dispute resolution process must 167.20 be completed within 60 calendar days of the facility's request. 167.21 (c) (f) Five working days in advance of the scheduled proceeding, the commissioner 167.22 and the facility may present must submit written statements and arguments, documentary evidence, depositions, and oral statements and arguments at the arbitration proceeding. Oral 167.24 statements and arguments may be made by telephone any other materials supporting their 167.25 position to the administrative law judge. 167.26 (g) The independent informal dispute resolution proceeding shall be informal and 167.27 conducted in a manner so as to allow the parties to fully present their positions and respond 167.28 to the opposing party's positions. This may include presentation of oral statements and 167.29 arguments at the proceeding. 167.30 (d) (h) Within ten working days of the close of the arbitration proceeding, the 167.31 administrative law judge shall issue findings and recommendations regarding each of the 167.32 deficiencies in dispute. The findings shall be one or more of the following: 167.33

(1) Supported in full. The citation is supported in full, with no deletion of findings and 168.1 no change in the scope or severity assigned to the deficiency citation. 168.2

- (2) Supported in substance. The citation is supported, but one or more findings are deleted without any change in the scope or severity assigned to the deficiency.
- 168.5 (3) Deficient practice cited under wrong requirement of participation. The citation is amended by moving it to the correct requirement of participation. 168.6
- 168.7 (4) Scope not supported. The citation is amended through a change in the scope assigned to the citation. 168.8
- (5) Severity not supported. The citation is amended through a change in the severity 168.9 assigned to the citation. 168.10
- (6) No deficient practice. The citation is deleted because the findings did not support 168.11 the citation or the negative resident outcome was unavoidable. The findings of the arbitrator 168.12 are not binding on the commissioner. 168.13
- (i) The findings and recommendations of the administrative law judge are not binding 168.14 on the commissioner. 168.15
- (i) Within ten calendar days of receiving the administrative law judge's findings and 168.16 recommendations, the commissioner shall issue a recommendation to the Center for Medicare 168.17 and Medicaid Services. 168.18
- (e) (k) The commissioner shall reimburse the Office of Administrative Hearings for the costs incurred by that office for the arbitration proceeding. The facility shall reimburse the commissioner for the proportion of the costs that represent the sum of deficiency citations supported in full under paragraph (d), clause (1), or in substance under paragraph (d), clause (2), divided by the total number of deficiencies disputed. A deficiency citation for which the administrative law judge's sole finding is that the deficient practice was cited under the wrong requirements of participation shall not be counted in the numerator or denominator in the calculation of the proportion of costs. 168.26
- 168.27 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective October 1, 2024, or upon federal approval, whichever is later, and applies to appeals of deficiencies which are issued after October 1, 168.28 2024, or on or after the date upon which federal approval is obtained, whichever is later. 168.29 The commissioner of health shall notify the revisor of statutes when federal approval is 168.30 obtained. 168.31

168.3

168.4

168.19

168.20

168.21

168.22

168.23

168.24

Sec. 34. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144A.44, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 169.1 Subdivision 1. Statement of rights. (a) A client who receives home care services in the 169.2 community or in an assisted living facility licensed under chapter 144G has these rights: 169.3 (1) receive written information, in plain language, about rights before receiving services, 169.4 169.5 including what to do if rights are violated; (2) receive care and services according to a suitable and up-to-date plan, and subject to 169.6 169.7 accepted health care, medical or nursing standards and person-centered care, to take an active part in developing, modifying, and evaluating the plan and services; 169.8 (3) be told before receiving services the type and disciplines of staff who will be providing 169.9 the services, the frequency of visits proposed to be furnished, other choices that are available 169.10 for addressing home care needs, and the potential consequences of refusing these services; 169.11 (4) be told in advance of any recommended changes by the provider in the service plan 169.12 and to take an active part in any decisions about changes to the service plan; 169.13 169.14 (5) refuse services or treatment; (6) know, before receiving services or during the initial visit, any limits to the services 169.15 available from a home care provider; 169.16 (7) be told before services are initiated what the provider charges for the services; to 169.17 what extent payment may be expected from health insurance, public programs, or other 169.18 sources, if known; and what charges the client may be responsible for paying; 169.19 (8) know that there may be other services available in the community, including other 169.20 home care services and providers, and to know where to find information about these 169 21 services; 169.22 (9) choose freely among available providers and to change providers after services have 169.23 169.24 begun, within the limits of health insurance, long-term care insurance, medical assistance, other health programs, or public programs; 169.25 169.26 (10) have personal, financial, and medical information kept private, and to be advised of the provider's policies and procedures regarding disclosure of such information; 169.27

- 169.28 (11) access the client's own records and written information from those records in accordance with sections 144.291 to 144.298;
- 169.30 (12) be served by people who are properly trained and competent to perform their duties;

(13) be treated with courtesy and respect, and to have the client's property treated with 170.1 170.2 respect;

- (14) be free from physical and verbal abuse, neglect, financial exploitation, and all forms of maltreatment covered under the Vulnerable Adults Act and the Maltreatment of Minors Act;
- (15) reasonable, advance notice of changes in services or charges; 170.6
- 170.7 (16) know the provider's reason for termination of services;

170.3

170.4

170.5

170.8

- (17) at least ten calendar days' advance notice of the termination of a service by a home care provider, except at least 30 calendar days' advance notice of the service termination shall be given by a home care provider for services provided to a client residing in an assisted 170.10 living facility as defined in section 144G.08, subdivision 7. This clause does not apply in 170.11 170.12 cases where:
- (i) the client engages in conduct that significantly alters the terms of the service plan 170.13 with the home care provider; 170.14
- (ii) the client, person who lives with the client, or others create an abusive or unsafe 170.15 work environment for the person providing home care services; or 170.16
- (iii) an emergency or a significant change in the client's condition has resulted in service 170.17 needs that exceed the current service plan and that cannot be safely met by the home care provider; 170.19
- (18) a coordinated transfer when there will be a change in the provider of services; 170.20
- (19) complain to staff and others of the client's choice about services that are provided, 170.21 or fail to be provided, and the lack of courtesy or respect to the client or the client's property 170.22 and the right to recommend changes in policies and services, free from retaliation including 170.23 the threat of termination of services; 170.24
- (20) know how to contact an individual associated with the home care provider who is 170.25 responsible for handling problems and to have the home care provider investigate and 170.26 attempt to resolve the grievance or complaint; 170.27
- (21) know the name and address of the state or county agency to contact for additional 170.28 information or assistance; and 170.29
- (22) assert these rights personally, or have them asserted by the client's representative 170.30 or by anyone on behalf of the client, without retaliation; and. 170.31

- 171.1 (23) place an electronic monitoring device in the client's or resident's space in compliance
 with state requirements.
- 171.3 (b) When providers violate the rights in this section, they are subject to the fines and license actions in sections 144A.474, subdivision 11, and 144A.475.
- 171.5 (c) Providers must do all of the following:
- 171.6 (1) encourage and assist in the fullest possible exercise of these rights;
- 171.7 (2) provide the names and telephone numbers of individuals and organizations that
 171.8 provide advocacy and legal services for clients and residents seeking to assert their rights;
- (3) make every effort to assist clients or residents in obtaining information regarding whether Medicare, medical assistance, other health programs, or public programs will pay for services;
- 171.12 (4) make reasonable accommodations for people who have communication disabilities, 171.13 or those who speak a language other than English; and
- 171.14 (5) provide all information and notices in plain language and in terms the client or resident can understand.
- (d) No provider may require or request a client or resident to waive any of the rights listed in this section at any time or for any reasons, including as a condition of initiating services or entering into an assisted living contract.
- Sec. 35. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144A.471, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
- Subd. 1a. Licensure under other law. A home care licensee must not provide sleeping accommodations as a provision of home care services. For purposes of this subdivision, the provision of sleeping accommodations and assisted living services under section 144G.08, subdivision 9, requires assisted living licensure under chapter 144G.
- Sec. 36. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144A.474, subdivision 13, is amended to read:
- Subd. 13. **Home care surveyor training.** (a) Before conducting a home care survey, each home care surveyor must receive training on the following topics:
- 171.28 (1) Minnesota home care licensure requirements;
- 171.29 (2) Minnesota home care bill of rights;
- 171.30 (3) Minnesota Vulnerable Adults Act and reporting of maltreatment of minors;

(4) principles of documentation; 172.1 (5) survey protocol and processes; 172.2 (6) Offices of the Ombudsman roles; 172.3 (7) Office of Health Facility Complaints; 172.4 (8) Minnesota landlord-tenant and housing with services laws; 172.5 (9) types of payors for home care services; and 172.6 (10) Minnesota Nurse Practice Act for nurse surveyors. 172.7 (b) Materials used for the training in paragraph (a) shall be posted on the department 172.8 website. Requisite understanding of these topics will be reviewed as part of the quality 172.9 improvement plan in section 144A.483. Sec. 37. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 144A.4791, subdivision 10, is 172.11 172.12 amended to read: Subd. 10. Termination of service plan. (a) If a home care provider terminates a service 172.13 172.14 plan with a client, and the client continues to need home care services, the home care provider shall provide the client and the client's representative, if any, with a written notice of termination which includes the following information: 172.16 (1) the effective date of termination; 172.17 (2) the reason for termination; 172.18 (3) for clients age 18 or older, a statement that the client may contact the Office of 172.19 Ombudsman for Long-Term Care to request an advocate to assist regarding the termination and contact information for the office, including the office's central telephone number; 172.21 (4) a list of known licensed home care providers in the client's immediate geographic 172.22 172.23 area; (5) a statement that the home care provider will participate in a coordinated transfer of 172.24 care of the client to another home care provider, health care provider, or caregiver, as 172.25 required by the home care bill of rights, section 144A.44, subdivision 1, clause (17); and 172.26 172.27 (6) the name and contact information of a person employed by the home care provider with whom the client may discuss the notice of termination; and. 172.28

172.29

not constitute notice of termination of any housing contract.

(7) if applicable, a statement that the notice of termination of home care services does

(b) When the home care provider voluntarily discontinues services to all clients, the 173.1 home care provider must notify the commissioner, lead agencies, and ombudsman for 173.2 long-term care about its clients and comply with the requirements in this subdivision. 173.3 Sec. 38. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144E.16, subdivision 7, is amended to read: 173.4 Subd. 7. Stroke transport protocols. Regional emergency medical services programs 173.5 and any ambulance service licensed under this chapter must develop stroke transport 173.6 protocols. The protocols must include standards of care for triage and transport of acute 173.7 stroke patients within a specific time frame from symptom onset until transport to the most 173.8 appropriate designated acute stroke ready hospital, primary stroke center, 173.9 thrombectomy-capable stroke center, or comprehensive stroke center. 173.10 Sec. 39. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144G.08, subdivision 29, is amended to read: 173.11 Subd. 29. Licensed health professional. "Licensed health professional" means a person 173.12 licensed in Minnesota to practice a profession described in section 214.01, subdivision 2, 173.13 other than a registered nurse or licensed practical nurse, who provides assisted living services 173.14 within the scope of practice of that person's health occupation license, registration, or 173.15 certification as a regulated person who is licensed by an appropriate Minnesota state board 173.16 173.17 or agency. Sec. 40. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144G.10, is amended by adding a subdivision 173.18 to read: 173.19 Subd. 5. Protected title; restriction on use. (a) Effective January 1, 2026, no person 173.20 or entity may use the phrase "assisted living," whether alone or in combination with other 173.21 words and whether orally or in writing, to: advertise; market; or otherwise describe, offer, 173.22 or promote itself, or any housing, service, service package, or program that it provides 173.23 173.24 within this state, unless the person or entity is a licensed assisted living facility that meets the requirements of this chapter. A person or entity entitled to use the phrase "assisted living" 173.25 shall use the phrase only in the context of its participation that meets the requirements of 173.26 this chapter. 173.27 (b) Effective January 1, 2026, the licensee's name for a new assisted living facility may 173.28

173.29

not include the terms "home care" or "nursing home."

Sec. 41. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144G.16, subdivision 6, is amended to read:

Subd. 6. **Requirements for notice and transfer.** A provisional licensee whose license is denied must comply with the requirements for notification and the coordinated move of residents in sections 144G.52 and 144G.55. If the license denial is upheld by the reconsideration process, the licensee must submit a draft closure plan as required by section 144G.57 within ten calendar days of receipt of the reconsideration decision and submit a final plan within 30 days.

- Sec. 42. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 145.561, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
- Subd. 4. **988 telecommunications fee.** (a) In compliance with the National Suicide
 Hotline Designation Act of 2020, the commissioner shall impose a monthly statewide fee
 on each subscriber of a wireline, wireless, or IP-enabled voice service at a rate that provides
 must pay a monthly fee to provide for the robust creation, operation, and maintenance of a
 statewide 988 suicide prevention and crisis system.
- 174.15 (b) The commissioner shall annually recommend to the Public Utilities Commission an
 174.16 adequate and appropriate fee to implement this section. The amount of the fee must comply
 174.17 with the limits in paragraph (c). The commissioner shall provide telecommunication service
 174.18 providers and carriers a minimum of 45 days' notice of each fee change.
- (e) (b) The amount of the 988 telecommunications fee must not be more than 25 is 12 cents per month on or after January 1, 2024, for each consumer access line, including trunk equivalents as designated by the commission Public Utilities Commission pursuant to section 403.11, subdivision 1. The 988 telecommunications fee must be the same for all subscribers.
- (d) (c) Each wireline, wireless, and IP-enabled voice telecommunication service provider shall collect the 988 telecommunications fee and transfer the amounts collected to the commissioner of public safety in the same manner as provided in section 403.11, subdivision 1, paragraph (d).
- (e) (d) The commissioner of public safety shall deposit the money collected from the 988 telecommunications fee to the 988 special revenue account established in subdivision 3.
- 174.30 (f) (e) All 988 telecommunications fee revenue must be used to supplement, and not supplant, federal, state, and local funding for suicide prevention.

174.2

174.3

174.4

174.5

174.6

175.1 (g) (f) The 988 telecommunications fee amount shall be adjusted as needed to provide 175.2 for continuous operation of the lifeline centers and 988 hotline, volume increases, and 175.3 maintenance.

- (h) (g) The commissioner shall annually report to the Federal Communications Commission on revenue generated by the 988 telecommunications fee.
- **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective September 1, 2024.

175.4

175.5

- Sec. 43. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 146B.03, subdivision 7a, is amended to read:
- Subd. 7a. **Supervisors.** (a) A technician must have been licensed in Minnesota or in a jurisdiction with which Minnesota has reciprocity for at least:
- 175.10 (1) two years as a tattoo technician <u>licensed under section 146B.03</u>, subdivision 4, 6, or 175.11 <u>8</u>, in order to supervise a temporary tattoo technician; or
- (2) one year as a body piercing technician <u>licensed under section 146B.03</u>, subdivision 4, 6, or 8, or must have performed at least 500 body piercings, in order to supervise a temporary body piercing technician.
- (b) Any technician who agrees to supervise more than two temporary tattoo technicians during the same time period, or more than four body piercing technicians during the same time period, must provide to the commissioner a supervisory plan that describes how the technician will provide supervision to each temporary technician in accordance with section 175.19 146B.01, subdivision 28.
- (c) The supervisory plan must include, at a minimum:
- (1) the areas of practice under supervision;
- (2) the anticipated supervision hours per week;
- 175.23 (3) the anticipated duration of the training period; and
- 175.24 (4) the method of providing supervision if there are multiple technicians being supervised during the same time period.
- (d) If the supervisory plan is terminated before completion of the technician's supervised practice, the supervisor must notify the commissioner in writing within 14 days of the change in supervision and include an explanation of why the plan was not completed.
- (e) The commissioner may refuse to approve as a supervisor a technician who has been disciplined in Minnesota or in another jurisdiction after considering the criteria in section 175.31 146B.02, subdivision 10, paragraph (b).

- Sec. 44. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 146B.10, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
- Subdivision 1. **Licensing fees.** (a) The fee for the initial technician licensure <u>application</u> and biennial licensure renewal application is \$420.
- (b) The fee for temporary technician licensure application is \$240.
- (c) The fee for the temporary guest artist license application is \$140.
- (d) The fee for a dual body art technician license application is \$420.
- (e) The fee for a provisional establishment license <u>application required in section 146B.02</u>, subdivision 5, paragraph (c), is \$1,500.
- (f) The fee for an initial establishment license <u>application</u> and the two-year license renewal period <u>application</u> required in section 146B.02, subdivision 2, paragraph (b), is \$1,500.
- (g) The fee for a temporary body art establishment event permit <u>application</u> is \$200.
- (h) The commissioner shall prorate the initial two-year technician license fee based on the number of months in the initial licensure period. The commissioner shall prorate the first renewal fee for the establishment license based on the number of months from issuance of the provisional license to the first renewal.
- (i) The fee for verification of licensure to other states is \$25.
- (j) The fee to reissue a provisional establishment license that relocates prior to inspection and removal of provisional status is \$350. The expiration date of the provisional license does not change.
- 176.21 (k) (j) The fee to change an establishment name or establishment type, such as tattoo, piercing, or dual, is \$50.
- Sec. 45. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 146B.10, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
- Subd. 3. **Deposit.** Fees collected by the commissioner under this section must be deposited in the state government special revenue fund. All fees are nonrefundable.
- Sec. 46. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 149A.02, subdivision 3b, is amended to read:
- Subd. 3b. **Burial site services.** "Burial site services" means any services sold or offered for sale directly to the public for use in connection with the final disposition of a dead human body but does not include services provided under a transportation protection agreement.

Sec. 47. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 149A.02, subdivision 23, is amended to read:

- Subd. 23. **Funeral services.** (a) "Funeral services" means any services which may be
- used to: (1) care for and prepare dead human bodies for burial, alkaline hydrolysis, cremation,
- or other final disposition; and (2) arrange, supervise, or conduct the funeral ceremony or
- the final disposition of dead human bodies.
- (b) Funeral service does not include a transportation protection agreement.
- 177.7 Sec. 48. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 149A.02, is amended by adding a subdivision
- 177.8 to read:
- Subd. 38a. **Transportation protection agreement.** "Transportation protection agreement"
- means an agreement that is primarily for the purpose of transportation and subsequent
- 177.11 transportation of the remains of a dead human body.
- Sec. 49. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 149A.65, is amended to read:
- 177.13 **149A.65 FEES.**
- Subdivision 1. **Generally.** This section establishes the application fees for registrations,
- examinations, initial and renewal licenses, and late fees authorized under the provisions of
- 177.16 this chapter.
- Subd. 2. **Mortuary science fees.** Fees for mortuary science are:
- (1) \$75 for the initial and renewal registration of a mortuary science intern;
- (2) \$125 for the mortuary science examination;
- 177.20 (3) \$200 for issuance of initial and renewal mortuary science licenses license applications;
- (4) \$100 late fee charge for a license renewal application; and
- (5) \$250 for issuing a an application for mortuary science license by endorsement.
- Subd. 3. **Funeral directors.** The license renewal application fee for funeral directors is
- \$200. The late fee charge for a license renewal is \$100.
- Subd. 4. **Funeral establishments.** The initial and renewal application fee for funeral
- establishments is \$425. The late fee charge for a license renewal is \$100.
- Subd. 5. **Crematories.** The initial and renewal application fee for a crematory is \$425.
- 177.28 The late fee charge for a license renewal is \$100.

Subd. 6. **Alkaline hydrolysis facilities.** The initial and renewal <u>application</u> fee for an alkaline hydrolysis facility is \$425. The late fee charge for a license renewal is \$100.

Subd. 7. **State government special revenue fund.** Fees collected by the commissioner under this section must be deposited in the state treasury and credited to the state government special revenue fund. All fees are nonrefundable.

Sec. 50. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 149A.97, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. **Scope and requirements.** This section shall not apply to a transportation protection agreement or to any funeral goods or burial site goods purchased and delivered, either at purchase or within a commercially reasonable amount of time thereafter. When prior to the death of any person, that person or another, on behalf of that person, enters into any transaction, makes a contract, or any series or combination of transactions or contracts with a funeral provider lawfully doing business in Minnesota, other than an insurance company licensed to do business in Minnesota selling approved insurance or annuity products, by the terms of which, goods or services related to the final disposition of that person will be furnished at-need, then the total of all money paid by the terms of the transaction, contract, or series or combination of transactions or contracts shall be held in trust for the purpose for which it has been paid. The person for whose benefit the money was paid shall be known as the beneficiary, the person or persons who paid the money shall be known as the purchaser, and the funeral provider shall be known as the depositor.

Sec. 51. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 152.22, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

Subd. 19. Veteran. "Veteran" means an individual who satisfies the requirements in section 197.447 and is receiving care from the United States Department of Veterans Affairs.

Sec. 52. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 152.25, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Range of compounds and dosages; report. The commissioner shall review and publicly report the existing medical and scientific literature regarding the range of recommended dosages for each qualifying condition and the range of chemical compositions of any plant of the genus cannabis that will likely be medically beneficial for each of the qualifying medical conditions. The commissioner shall make this information available to patients with qualifying medical conditions beginning December 1, 2014, and update the information annually every three years. The commissioner may consult with the independent laboratory under contract with the manufacturer or other experts in reporting the range of

178.1

178.2

178.3

178.4

178.5

178.6

178.7

178.8

178.9

178.12

178.13

178.14

178.15

178.18

178.19

178.24

178.25

178.26

178.27

178.28

178.29

178.30

recommended dosages for each qualifying medical condition, the range of chemical compositions that will likely be medically beneficial, and any risks of noncannabis drug interactions. The commissioner shall consult with each manufacturer on an annual basis on medical cannabis offered by the manufacturer. The list of medical cannabis offered by a manufacturer shall be published on the Department of Health website.

- Sec. 53. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 152.27, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
- Subd. 3a. Application procedure for veterans. (a) Beginning July 1, 2024, the
 commissioner shall establish an alternative certification procedure for veterans to confirm
 that the veteran has been diagnosed with a qualifying medical condition.
- (b) A patient who is also a veteran and is seeking to enroll in the registry program must submit a copy of the patient's veteran health identification card issued by the United States

 Department of Veterans Affairs and an application established by the commissioner to certify that the patient has been diagnosed with a qualifying medical condition.
- Sec. 54. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 152.27, subdivision 6, is amended to read:
- Subd. 6. Patient enrollment. (a) After receipt of a patient's application, application fees, 179.16 and signed disclosure, the commissioner shall enroll the patient in the registry program and 179.17 issue the patient and patient's registered designated caregiver or parent, legal guardian, or 179.18 spouse, if applicable, a registry verification. The commissioner shall approve or deny a 179.19 patient's application for participation in the registry program within 30 days after the 179.20 commissioner receives the patient's application and application fee. The commissioner may approve applications up to 60 days after the receipt of a patient's application and application 179.22 fees until January 1, 2016. A patient's enrollment in the registry program shall only be 179.23 denied if the patient: 179.24
- 179.25 (1) does not have certification from a health care practitioner, or if the patient is a veteran
 179.26 receiving care from the United States Department of Veterans Affairs, the documentation
 179.27 required under subdivision 3a, that the patient has been diagnosed with a qualifying medical
 179.28 condition;
- 179.29 (2) has not signed and returned the disclosure form required under subdivision 3, paragraph (c), to the commissioner;
- (3) does not provide the information required;

179.1

179.2

179.3

179.4

- 180.1 (4) has previously been removed from the registry program for violations of section 180.2 152.30 or 152.33; or
 - (5) provides false information.

- 180.4 (b) The commissioner shall give written notice to a patient of the reason for denying 180.5 enrollment in the registry program.
- (c) Denial of enrollment into the registry program is considered a final decision of the commissioner and is subject to judicial review under the Administrative Procedure Act pursuant to chapter 14.
- (d) A patient's enrollment in the registry program may only be revoked upon the death of the patient or if a patient violates a requirement under section 152.30 or 152.33.
- (e) The commissioner shall develop a registry verification to provide to the patient, the health care practitioner identified in the patient's application, and to the manufacturer. The registry verification shall include:
- (1) the patient's name and date of birth;
- 180.15 (2) the patient registry number assigned to the patient; and
- (3) the name and date of birth of the patient's registered designated caregiver, if any, or the name of the patient's parent, legal guardian, or spouse if the parent, legal guardian, or spouse will be acting as a caregiver.
- Sec. 55. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 152.28, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
- Subdivision 1. **Health care practitioner duties.** (a) Prior to a patient's enrollment in the registry program, a health care practitioner shall:
- (1) determine, in the health care practitioner's medical judgment, whether a patient suffers from a qualifying medical condition, and, if so determined, provide the patient with a certification of that diagnosis;
- 180.26 (2) advise patients, registered designated caregivers, and parents, legal guardians, or 180.27 spouses who are acting as caregivers of the existence of any nonprofit patient support groups 180.28 or organizations;
- (3) provide explanatory information from the commissioner to patients with qualifying medical conditions, including disclosure to all patients about the experimental nature of therapeutic use of medical cannabis; the possible risks, benefits, and side effects of the

proposed treatment; the application and other materials from the commissioner; and provide patients with the Tennessen warning as required by section 13.04, subdivision 2; and

- (4) agree to continue treatment of the patient's qualifying medical condition and report medical findings to the commissioner.
- 181.5 (b) Upon notification from the commissioner of the patient's enrollment in the registry 181.6 program, the health care practitioner shall:
- (1) participate in the patient registry reporting system under the guidance and supervision of the commissioner;
- (2) report health records of the patient throughout the ongoing treatment of the patient to the commissioner in a manner determined by the commissioner and in accordance with subdivision 2;
- (3) determine, on a yearly basis every three years, if the patient continues to suffer from a qualifying medical condition and, if so, issue the patient a new certification of that diagnosis; and
- (4) otherwise comply with all requirements developed by the commissioner.
- 181.16 (c) A health care practitioner may utilize telehealth, as defined in section 62A.673, subdivision 2, for certifications and recertifications.
- (d) Nothing in this section requires a health care practitioner to participate in the registry program.
- 181.20 Sec. 56. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256R.02, subdivision 20, is amended to read:
- Subd. 20. **Facility average case mix index.** "Facility average case mix index" or "CMI" means a numerical score that describes the relative resource use for all residents within the case mix classifications under the resource utilization group (RUG) classification system prescribed by the commissioner based on an assessment of each resident. The facility average CMI shall be computed as the standardized days divided by the sum of the facility's resident days. The case mix indices used shall be based on the system prescribed in section 256R.17.
- Sec. 57. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 259.52, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2. Requirement to search registry before adoption petition can be granted;
 proof of search. No petition for adoption may be granted unless the agency supervising
 the adoptive placement, the birth mother of the child, the putative father who registered or
 the legal father, or, in the case of a stepparent or relative adoption, the county agency

181.3

responsible for the report required under section 259.53, subdivision 1, requests that the commissioner of health search the registry to determine whether a putative father is registered in relation to a child who is or may be the subject of an adoption petition. The search required by this subdivision must be conducted no sooner than 31 days following the birth of the child. A search of the registry may be proven by the production of a certified copy of the registration form or by a certified statement of the commissioner of health that after a search no registration of a putative father in relation to a child who is or may be the subject of an adoption petition could be located. The filing of a certified copy of an order from a juvenile protection matter under chapter 260C containing a finding that certification of the requisite search of the Minnesota Fathers' Adoption Registry was filed with the court in that matter shall also constitute proof of search. Certification that the Minnesota Fathers' Adoption Registry has been searched must be filed with the court prior to entry of any final order of adoption. In addition to the search required by this subdivision, the agency supervising the adoptive placement, the birth mother of the child, or, in the case of a stepparent or relative adoption, the social services agency responsible for the report under section 259.53, subdivision 1, or the responsible social services agency that is a petitioner in a juvenile protection matter under chapter 260C may request that the commissioner of health search the registry at any time. Search requirements of this section do not apply when the responsible social services agency is proceeding under Safe Place for Newborns, section 260C.139.

- Sec. 58. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 259.52, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
- Subd. 4. **Classification of registry data.** (a) Data in the fathers' adoption registry, including all data provided in requesting the search of the registry, are private data on individuals, as defined in section 13.02, subdivision 2, and are nonpublic data with respect to data not on individuals, as defined in section 13.02, subdivision 9. Data in the registry may be released to:
- 182.26 (1) a person who is required to search the registry under subdivision 2, if the data relate 182.27 to the child who is or may be the subject of the adoption petition;
- 182.28 (2) the mother of the child listed on the putative father's registration form who the commissioner of health is required to notify under subdivision 1, paragraph (c);
- 182.30 (3) the putative father who registered himself or the legal father;
- 182.31 (4) a public authority as provided in subdivision 3; or

182.1

182.2

182.3

182.4

182.5

182.6

182.7

182.8

182.9

182.10

182.11

182.12

182.13

182.14

182.15

182.16

182.17

182.18

(4) (5) an attorney who has signed an affidavit from the commissioner of health attesting that the attorney represents the birth mother, the putative or legal father, or the prospective 183.2 183.3 adoptive parents.

- (b) A person who receives data under this subdivision may use the data only for purposes authorized under this section or other law.
- Sec. 59. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 342.54, subdivision 2, is amended 183.6 to read: 183.7
- Subd. 2. Duties related to the registry program. The Division of Medical Cannabis 183.8 must: 183.9
- (1) administer the registry program according to section 342.52; 183.10

183.1

183.4

183.5

183.11

183.13

183 14

183.15

183.16

183.17

183.18

183.19

183.20

183.21

183.22

183.23

183.24

183.25

183.26

183.27

183.28

- (2) provide information to patients enrolled in the registry program on the existence of federally approved clinical trials for the treatment of the patient's qualifying medical condition 183.12 with medical cannabis flower or medical cannabinoid products as an alternative to enrollment in the registry program;
 - (3) maintain safety criteria with which patients must comply as a condition of participation in the registry program to prevent patients from undertaking any task under the influence of medical cannabis flower or medical cannabinoid products that would constitute negligence or professional malpractice;
 - (4) review and publicly report on existing medical and scientific literature regarding the range of recommended dosages for each qualifying medical condition, the range of chemical compositions of medical cannabis flower and medical cannabinoid products that will likely be medically beneficial for each qualifying medical condition, and any risks of noncannabis drug interactions. This information must be updated by December 1 of each year every three years. The office may consult with an independent laboratory under contract with the office or other experts in reporting and updating this information; and
 - (5) annually consult with cannabis businesses about medical cannabis that the businesses cultivate, manufacture, and offer for sale and post on the Division of Medical Cannabis website a list of the medical cannabis flower and medical cannabinoid products offered for sale by each medical cannabis retailer.
- **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective March 1, 2025. 183.30

Sec. 60. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 342.55, subdivision 2, is amended 184.1 184.2 to read: Subd. 2. Duties upon patient's enrollment in registry program. Upon receiving 184.3 notification from the Division of Medical Cannabis of the patient's enrollment in the registry 184.4 184.5 program, a health care practitioner must: (1) participate in the patient registry reporting system under the guidance and supervision 184.6 of the Division of Medical Cannabis: 184.7 (2) report to the Division of Medical Cannabis patient health records throughout the 184.8 patient's ongoing treatment in a manner determined by the office and in accordance with 184.9 subdivision 4; 184.10 (3) determine on a yearly basis, every three years, if the patient continues to have a 184.11 qualifying medical condition and, if so, issue the patient a new certification of that diagnosis. 184.12 The patient assessment conducted under this clause may be conducted via telehealth, as 184.13 defined in section 62A.673, subdivision 2; and 184.14 (4) otherwise comply with requirements established by the Office of Cannabis 184.15 Management and the Division of Medical Cannabis. 184.16 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective March 1, 2025. 184.17 Sec. 61. REVISOR INSTRUCTION. 184.18 The revisor of statutes shall substitute the term "employee" with the term "staff" in the 184.19 following sections of Minnesota Statutes and make any grammatical changes needed without 184.20 changing the meaning of the sentence: Minnesota Statutes, sections 144G.08, subdivisions 184.21 18 and 36; 144G.13, subdivision 1, paragraph (c); 144G.20, subdivisions 1, 2, and 21; 184.22 144G.30, subdivision 5; 144G.42, subdivision 8; 144G.45, subdivision 2; 144G.60, 184.23 subdivisions 1, paragraph (c), and 3, paragraph (a); 144G.63, subdivision 2, paragraph (a), 184.24 clause (9); 144G.64, paragraphs (a), clauses (2), (3), and (5), and (c); 144G.70, subdivision 184.25 7; and 144G.92, subdivisions 1 and 3. 184.26 Sec. 62. REPEALER; 340B COVERED ENTITY REPORT. 184.27 (a) Minnesota Statutes 2022, sections 144.218, subdivision 3; 144.497; and 256R.02, 184.28 subdivision 46, are repealed. 184.29

subdivision 5, are repealed.

184.30

(b) Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, sections 62J.312, subdivision 6; and 144.0528,

ARTICLE 7 185.1 **EMERGENCY MEDICAL SERVICES** 185.2 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 15A.0815, subdivision 2, is 185.3 185.4 amended to read: Subd. 2. Agency head salaries. The salary for a position listed in this subdivision shall 185.5 be determined by the Compensation Council under section 15A.082. The commissioner of 185.6 management and budget must publish the salaries on the department's website. This 185.7 subdivision applies to the following positions: 185.8 Commissioner of administration; 185.9 Commissioner of agriculture; 185.10 Commissioner of education; 185.11 Commissioner of children, youth, and families; 185.12 Commissioner of commerce; 185.13 Commissioner of corrections; 185.14 Commissioner of health; 185.15 185.16 Commissioner, Minnesota Office of Higher Education; Commissioner, Minnesota IT Services; 185.17 Commissioner, Housing Finance Agency; 185.18 Commissioner of human rights; 185.19 Commissioner of human services; 185.20 Commissioner of labor and industry; 185.21 Commissioner of management and budget; 185.22 Commissioner of natural resources; 185.23 Commissioner, Pollution Control Agency; 185.24 Commissioner of public safety; 185.25 Commissioner of revenue; 185.26 Commissioner of employment and economic development; 185.27

185.28

Commissioner of transportation;

186.1	Commissioner of veterans affairs;
186.2	Executive director of the Gambling Control Board;
186.3	Executive director of the Minnesota State Lottery;
186.4	Commissioner of Iron Range resources and rehabilitation;
186.5	Commissioner, Bureau of Mediation Services;
186.6	Ombudsman for mental health and developmental disabilities;
186.7	Ombudsperson for corrections;
186.8	Chair, Metropolitan Council;
186.9	Chair, Metropolitan Airports Commission;
186.10	School trust lands director;
186.11	Executive director of pari-mutuel racing; and
186.12	Commissioner, Public Utilities Commission-; and
186.13	Director of the Office of Emergency Medical Services.
186.14	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.
186.15	Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 43A.08, subdivision 1a, is amended
186.16	to read:
186.17	Subd. 1a. Additional unclassified positions. Appointing authorities for the following
186.18	agencies may designate additional unclassified positions according to this subdivision: the
186.19	Departments of Administration; Agriculture; Children, Youth, and Families; Commerce;
186.20	Corrections; Direct Care and Treatment; Education; Employment and Economic
186.21	Development; Explore Minnesota Tourism; Management and Budget; Health; Human
186.22	Rights; Human Services; Labor and Industry; Natural Resources; Public Safety; Revenue;
186.23	Transportation; and Veterans Affairs; the Housing Finance and Pollution Control Agencies;
186.24	the State Lottery; the State Board of Investment; the Office of Administrative Hearings; the
186.25	Department of Information Technology Services; the Offices of the Attorney General,
186.26	Secretary of State, and State Auditor; the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities; the
186.27	Minnesota Office of Higher Education; the Perpich Center for Arts Education; and the
186.28	Minnesota Zoological Board; and the Office of Emergency Medical Services.
186.29	A position designated by an appointing authority according to this subdivision must
186.30	meet the following standards and criteria:

- (1) the designation of the position would not be contrary to other law relating specifically 187.1 to that agency; 187.2 (2) the person occupying the position would report directly to the agency head or deputy 187.3 agency head and would be designated as part of the agency head's management team; 187.4 187.5 (3) the duties of the position would involve significant discretion and substantial involvement in the development, interpretation, and implementation of agency policy; 187.6 187.7 (4) the duties of the position would not require primarily personnel, accounting, or other technical expertise where continuity in the position would be important; 187.8 (5) there would be a need for the person occupying the position to be accountable to, 187.9 loyal to, and compatible with, the governor and the agency head, the employing statutory 187.10 board or commission, or the employing constitutional officer; 187.11 (6) the position would be at the level of division or bureau director or assistant to the 187.12 187.13 agency head; and (7) the commissioner has approved the designation as being consistent with the standards 187.14 and criteria in this subdivision. 187 15 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2025. 187.16 187.17 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 62J.49, subdivision 1, is amended to read: Subdivision 1. Establishment. The director of the Office of Emergency Medical Services 187.18 Regulatory Board established under chapter 144 144E shall establish a financial data 187.19 collection system for all ambulance services licensed in this state. To establish the financial 187.20 database, the Emergency Medical Services Regulatory Board director may contract with 187.21 an entity that has experience in ambulance service financial data collection. 187.22 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2025. 187.23 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144E.001, subdivision 3a, is amended to read: 187.24 187.25 Subd. 3a. Ambulance service personnel. "Ambulance service personnel" means individuals who are authorized by a licensed ambulance service to provide emergency care 187.26 for the ambulance service and are: 187.27 (1) EMTs, AEMTs, or paramedics; 187.28
- (2) Minnesota registered nurses who are: (i) EMTs, are currently practicing nursing, and 187.29 have passed a paramedic practical skills test, as approved by the board and administered by

188.1	an educational program approved by the board been approved by the ambulance service
188.2	medical director; (ii) on the roster of an ambulance service on or before January 1, 2000;
188.3	or (iii) after petitioning the board, deemed by the board to have training and skills equivalent
188.4	to an EMT, as determined on a case-by-case basis; or (iv) certified as a certified flight
188.5	registered nurse or certified emergency nurse; or
188.6	(3) Minnesota licensed physician assistants who are: (i) EMTs, are currently practicing
188.7	as physician assistants, and have passed a paramedic practical skills test, as approved by
188.8	the board and administered by an educational program approved by the board been approved
188.9	by the ambulance service medical director; (ii) on the roster of an ambulance service on or
188.10	before January 1, 2000; or (iii) after petitioning the board, deemed by the board to have
188.11	training and skills equivalent to an EMT, as determined on a case-by-case basis.
188.12	Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144E.001, is amended by adding a subdivision
188.13	to read:
100.13	to read.
188.14	Subd. 16. Director. "Director" means the director of the Office of Emergency Medical
188.15	Services.
188.16	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.
188.17	Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144E.001, is amended by adding a subdivision
188.18	to read:
188.19	Subd. 17. Office. "Office" means the Office of Emergency Medical Services.
188.20	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.
188.21	Sec. 7. [144E.011] OFFICE OF EMERGENCY MEDICAL SERVICES.
188.22	Subdivision 1. Establishment. The Office of Emergency Medical Services is established
188.23	with the powers and duties established in law. In administering this chapter, the office must
188.24	promote the public health and welfare, protect the safety of the public, and effectively
188.25	regulate and support the operation of the emergency medical services system in this state.
188.26	Subd. 2. Director. The governor must appoint a director for the office with the advice
188.27	and consent of the senate. The director must be in the unclassified service and must serve
188.28	at the pleasure of the governor. The salary of the director shall be determined according to
188.29	section 15A.0815. The director shall direct the activities of the office.
188.30	Subd. 3. Powers and duties. The director has the following powers and duties to:

189.1	(1) administer and enforce this chapter and adopt rules as needed to implement this
189.2	chapter. Rules for which notice is published in the State Register before July 1, 2026, may
189.3	be adopted using the expedited rulemaking process in section 14.389;
189.4	(2) license ambulance services in Minnesota and regulate their operation;
189.5	(3) establish and modify primary service areas;
189.6	(4) designate an ambulance service as authorized to provide service in a primary service
189.7	area and to remove an ambulance service's authorization to provide service in a primary
189.8	service area;
189.9	(5) register medical response units in Minnesota and regulate their operation;
189.10	(6) certify emergency medical technicians, advanced emergency medical technicians,
189.11	community emergency medical technicians, paramedics, and community paramedics and
189.12	register emergency medical responders;
189.13	(7) approve education programs for ambulance service personnel and emergency medical
189.14	responders and administer qualifications for instructors of education programs;
189.15	(8) administer grant programs related to emergency medical services;
189.16	(9) report to the legislature by February 15 each year on the work of the office and the
189.17	advisory councils in the previous calendar year and with recommendations for any needed
189.18	policy changes related to emergency medical services, including but not limited to improving
189.19	access to emergency medical services, improving service delivery by ambulance services
189.20	and medical response units, and improving the effectiveness of the state's emergency medical
189.21	services system. The director must develop the reports and recommendations in consultation
189.22	with the office's deputy directors and advisory councils;
189.23	(10) investigate complaints against and hold hearings regarding ambulance services,
189.24	ambulance service personnel, and emergency medical responders and impose disciplinary
189.25	action or otherwise resolve complaints; and
189.26	(11) perform other duties related to the provision of emergency medical services in
189.27	Minnesota.
189.28	Subd. 4. Employees. The director may employ personnel in the classified service and
189.29	unclassified personnel as necessary to carry out the duties of this chapter.
189.30	Subd. 5. Work plan. The director must prepare a work plan to guide the work of the
189.31	office. The work plan must be updated biennially.
189.32	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.

Sec. 8. [144E.015] MEDICAL SERVICES DIVISION.

190.1

190.2

190.3

190.4

190.5

190.6

190.7

190.8

190.9

190.10

190.11

190.12

190.13

190.14

190.15

190.16

190.17

190.18

190.19

190.20

190.21

190.30

A Medical Services Division is created in the Office of Emergency Medical Services.

The Medical Services Division shall be under the supervision of a deputy director of medical services appointed by the director. The deputy director of medical services must be a physician licensed under chapter 147. The deputy director, under the direction of the director, shall enforce and coordinate the laws, rules, and policies assigned by the director, which may include overseeing the clinical aspects of prehospital medical care and education programs for emergency medical service personnel.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.

Sec. 9. [144E.016] AMBULANCE SERVICES DIVISION.

An Ambulance Services Division is created in the Office of Emergency Medical Services.

The Ambulance Services Division shall be under the supervision of a deputy director of ambulance services appointed by the director. The deputy director, under the direction of the director, shall enforce and coordinate the laws, rules, and policies assigned by the director, which may include operating standards and licensing of ambulance services, registration and operation of medical response units, establishment and modification of primary service areas, authorization of ambulance services to provide service in a primary service area and revocation of such authorization, coordination of ambulance services within regions and across the state, and administration of grants.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.

Sec. 10. [144E.017] EMERGENCY MEDICAL SERVICE PROVIDERS DIVISION.

An Emergency Medical Service Providers Division is created in the Office of Emergency 190.22 Medical Services. The Emergency Medical Service Providers Division shall be under the 190.23 190.24 supervision of a deputy director of emergency medical service providers appointed by the director. The deputy director, under the direction of the director, shall enforce and coordinate 190.25 the laws, rules, and policies assigned by the director, which may include certification and 190.26 registration of individual emergency medical service providers; overseeing worker safety, 190.27 worker well-being, and working conditions; implementation of education programs; and 190.28 administration of grants. 190.29

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.

191.1	Sec. 11. [144E.03] EMERGENCY MEDICAL SERVICES ADVISORY COUNCIL.
191.2	Subdivision 1. Establishment; membership. The Emergency Medical Services Advisory
191.3	Council is established and consists of the following members:
191.4	(1) one emergency medical technician currently practicing with a licensed ambulance
191.5	service, appointed by the Minnesota Ambulance Association;
191.6	(2) one paramedic currently practicing with a licensed ambulance service or a medical
191.7	response unit, appointed jointly by the Minnesota Professional Fire Fighters Association
191.8	and the Minnesota Ambulance Association;
191.9	(3) one medical director of a licensed ambulance service, appointed by the National
191.10	Association of EMS Physicians, Minnesota Chapter;
191.11	(4) one firefighter currently serving as an emergency medical responder, appointed by
191.12	the Minnesota State Fire Chiefs Association;
191.13	(5) one registered nurse who is certified or currently practicing as a flight nurse, appointed
191.14	jointly by the regional emergency services boards of the designated regional emergency
191.15	medical services systems;
191.16	(6) one hospital administrator, appointed by the Minnesota Hospital Association;
191.17	(7) one social worker, appointed by the Board of Social Work;
191.18	(8) one member of a federally recognized Tribal Nation in Minnesota, appointed by the
191.19	Minnesota Indian Affairs Council;
191.20	(9) three public members, appointed by the governor;
191.21	(10) one member with experience working as an employee organization representative
191.22	representing emergency medical service providers, appointed by an employee organization
191.23	representing emergency medical service providers;
191.24	(11) one member representing a local government, appointed by the Coalition of Greater
191.25	Minnesota Cities;
191.26	(12) one member representing a local government in the seven-county metropolitan area,
191.27	appointed by the League of Minnesota Cities;
191.28	(13) one member of the house of representatives and one member of the senate, appointed
191.29	according to subdivision 2; and
191.30	(14) the commissioner of health and commissioner of public safety or their designees
191.31	as ex officio members.

192.1	Subd. 2. Legislative members. The speaker of the house must appoint one member of
192.2	the house of representatives to serve on the advisory council and the senate majority leader
192.3	must appoint one member of the senate to serve on the advisory council. Legislative members
192.4	appointed under this subdivision serve until successors are appointed. Legislative members
192.5	may receive per diem compensation and reimbursement for expenses according to the rules
192.6	of their respective bodies.
192.7	Subd. 3. Terms, compensation, removal, vacancies, and expiration. Compensation
192.8	and reimbursement for expenses for members appointed under subdivision 1, clauses (1)
192.9	to (12); removal of members; filling of vacancies of members; and, except for initial
192.10	appointments, membership terms are governed by section 15.059. Notwithstanding section
192.11	15.059, subdivision 6, the advisory council does not expire.
192.12	Subd. 4. Officers; meetings. (a) The advisory council must elect a chair and vice-chair
192.13	from among its membership and may elect other officers as the advisory council deems
192.14	necessary.
192.15	(b) The advisory council must meet quarterly or at the call of the chair.
192.16	(c) Meetings of the advisory council are subject to chapter 13D.
192.17	Subd. 5. Duties. The advisory council must review and make recommendations to the
192.18	director and the deputy director of ambulance services on the administration of this chapter,
192.19	the regulation of ambulance services and medical response units, the operation of the
192.20	emergency medical services system in the state, and other topics as directed by the director.
192.21	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.
192.22	Sec. 12. [144E.035] EMERGENCY MEDICAL SERVICES PHYSICIAN ADVISORY
192.23	COUNCIL.
192.24	Subdivision 1. Establishment; membership. The Emergency Medical Services Physician
192.25	Advisory Council is established and consists of the following members:
192.26	(1) eight physicians who meet the qualifications for medical directors in section 144E.265,
192.27	subdivision 1, with one physician appointed by each of the regional emergency services
192.28	boards of the designated regional emergency medical services systems;
192.29	(2) one physician who meets the qualifications for medical directors in section 144E.265,
192.30	subdivision 1, appointed by the Minnesota State Fire Chiefs Association;
192.31	(3) one physician who is board-certified in pediatrics, appointed by the Minnesota
192.32	Emergency Medical Services for Children program; and

193.1	(4) the medical director member of the Emergency Medical Services Advisory Council
193.2	appointed under section 144E.03, subdivision 1, clause (3).
193.3	Subd. 2. Terms, compensation, removal, vacancies, and expiration. Compensation
193.4	and reimbursement for expenses, removal of members, filling of vacancies of members,
193.5	and, except for initial appointments, membership terms are governed by section 15.059.
193.6	Notwithstanding section 15.059, subdivision 6, the advisory council does not expire.
193.7	Subd. 3. Officers; meetings. (a) The advisory council must elect a chair and vice-chair
193.8	from among its membership and may elect other officers as it deems necessary.
193.9	(b) The advisory council must meet twice per year or upon the call of the chair.
193.10	(c) Meetings of the advisory council are subject to chapter 13D.
193.11	Subd. 4. Duties. The advisory council must:
193.12	(1) review and make recommendations to the director and deputy director of medical
193.13	services on clinical aspects of prehospital medical care. In doing so, the advisory council
193.14	must incorporate information from medical literature, advances in bedside clinical practice,
193.15	and advisory council member experience; and
193.16	(2) serve as subject matter experts for the director and deputy director of medical services
193.17	on evolving topics in clinical medicine, including but not limited to infectious disease,
193.18	pharmaceutical and equipment shortages, and implementation of new therapeutics.
193.19	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.
193.20	Sec. 13. [144E.04] LABOR AND EMERGENCY MEDICAL SERVICE PROVIDERS
193.21	ADVISORY COUNCIL.
193.22	Subdivision 1. Establishment; membership. The Labor and Emergency Medical Service
193.23	Providers Advisory Council is established and consists of the following members:
193.24	(1) one emergency medical service provider of any type from each of the designated
193.25	regional emergency medical services systems, appointed by their respective regional
193.26	emergency services boards;
193.27	(2) one emergency medical technician instructor, appointed by an employee organization
193.28	representing emergency medical service providers;
193.29	(3) two members with experience working as an employee organization representative
193.30	representing emergency medical service providers, appointed by an employee organization
193.31	representing emergency medical service providers;

194.1	(4) one emergency medical service provider based in a fire department, appointed jointly
194.2	by the Minnesota State Fire Chiefs Association and the Minnesota Professional Fire Fighters
194.3	Association; and
194.4	(5) one emergency medical service provider not based in a fire department, appointed
194.5	by the League of Minnesota Cities.
194.6	Subd. 2. Terms, compensation, removal, vacancies, and expiration. Compensation
194.7	and reimbursement for expenses for members appointed under subdivision 1; removal of
194.8	members; filling of vacancies of members; and, except for initial appointments, membership
194.9	terms are governed by section 15.059. Notwithstanding section 15.059, subdivision 6, the
194.10	advisory council does not expire.
194.11	Subd. 3. Officers; meetings. (a) The advisory council must elect a chair and vice-chair
194.12	from among its membership and may elect other officers as the advisory council deems
194.13	necessary.
194.14	(b) The advisory council must meet quarterly or at the call of the chair.
194.15	(c) Meetings of the advisory council are subject to chapter 13D.
194.16	Subd. 4. Duties. The advisory council must review and make recommendations to the
194.17	director and deputy director of emergency medical service providers on the laws, rules, and
194.18	policies assigned to the Emergency Medical Service Providers Division and other topics as
194.19	directed by the director.
194.20	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.
194.21	Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 144E.101, subdivision 6, is amended
194.22	to read:
194.23	Subd. 6. Basic life support. (a) Except as provided in paragraph (f) or subdivision 6a,
194.24	a basic life-support ambulance shall be staffed by at least two EMTs, one of whom individuals
194.25	who meet one of the following requirements: (1) are certified as an EMT; (2) are a Minnesota
194.26	registered nurse who meets the qualification requirements in section 144E.001, subdivision
194.27	3a, clause (2); or (3) are a Minnesota licensed physician assistant who meets the qualification
194.28	requirements in section 144E.001, subdivision 3a, clause (3). One of the individuals staffing
194.29	a basic life-support ambulance must accompany the patient and provide a level of care so
194.30	as to ensure that:
194.31	(1) (i) life-threatening situations and potentially serious injuries are recognized;
194 32	(2) (ii) natients are protected from additional hazards:

(3) (iii) basic treatment to reduce the seriousness of emergency situations is administered; 195.1 195.2 and 195.3 (4) (iv) patients are transported to an appropriate medical facility for treatment. (b) A basic life-support service shall provide basic airway management. 195.4 (c) A basic life-support service shall provide automatic defibrillation. 195.5 195.6 (d) A basic life-support service shall administer opiate antagonists consistent with protocols established by the service's medical director. 195.7 (e) A basic life-support service licensee's medical director may authorize ambulance 195.8 195.9 service personnel to perform intravenous infusion and use equipment that is within the licensure level of the ambulance service. Ambulance service personnel must be properly 195.10 trained. Documentation of authorization for use, guidelines for use, continuing education, 195.11 and skill verification must be maintained in the licensee's files. 195.12 (f) For emergency ambulance calls and interfacility transfers, an ambulance service may 195.13 staff its basic life-support ambulances with one EMT individual who meets the qualification 195.14 requirements in paragraph (a), who must accompany the patient, and one registered 195.15 emergency medical responder driver. For purposes of this paragraph, "ambulance service" 195.16 means either an ambulance service whose primary service area is mainly located outside 195.17 the metropolitan counties listed in section 473.121, subdivision 4, and outside the cities of 195.18 Duluth, Mankato, Moorhead, Rochester, and St. Cloud; or an ambulance service based in a community with a population of less than 2,500. 195.20 (g) In order for a registered nurse to staff a basic life-support ambulance as a driver, the 195.21 registered nurse must have successfully completed a certified emergency vehicle operators 195.22 program. 195.23 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144E.101, is amended by adding a subdivision 195.24 to read: 195.25 Subd. 6a. Variance; staffing of basic life-support ambulance. (a) Upon application 195.26 from an ambulance service that includes evidence demonstrating hardship, the board may 195.27 grant a variance from the staff requirements in subdivision 6, paragraph (a), and may 195.28 195.29 authorize a basic life-support ambulance to be staffed, for all emergency calls and interfacility transfers, with one individual who meets the qualification requirements in paragraph (b) to 195.30 drive the ambulance and one individual who meets the qualification requirements in 195.31 subdivision 6, paragraph (a), and who must accompany the patient. The variance applies to 195.32

196.1	basic life-support ambulances until the ambulance service renews its license. When the
196.2	variance expires, the ambulance service may apply for a new variance under this subdivision.
196.3	(b) In order to drive an ambulance under a variance granted under this subdivision, an
196.4	individual must:
196.5	(1) hold a valid driver's license from any state;
196.6	(2) have attended an emergency vehicle driving course approved by the ambulance
196.7	service;
196.8	(3) have completed a course on cardiopulmonary resuscitation approved by the ambulance
196.9	service; and
196.10	(4) register with the board according to a process established by the board.
196.11	(c) If an individual serving as a driver under this subdivision commits or has a record
196.12	of committing an act listed in section 144E.27, subdivision 5, paragraph (a), the board may
196.13	temporarily suspend or prohibit the individual from driving an ambulance or place conditions
196.14	on the individual's ability to drive an ambulance using the procedures and authority in
196.15	section 144E.27, subdivisions 5 and 6.
196.16	Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 144E.101, subdivision 7, as amended
196.17	by Laws 2024, chapter 85, section 32, is amended to read:
196.18	Subd. 7. Advanced life support. (a) Except as provided in paragraphs (f) and (g), an
196.19	advanced life-support ambulance shall be staffed by at least:
196.20	(1) one EMT or one AEMT and one paramedic;
196.21	(2) one EMT or one AEMT and one registered nurse who: (i) is an EMT or an AEMT,
196.22	is currently practicing nursing, and has passed a paramedic practical skills test approved by
196.23	the board and administered by an education program has been approved by the ambulance
196.24	service medical director; or (ii) is certified as a certified flight registered nurse or certified
196.25	emergency nurse; or
196.26	(3) one EMT or one AEMT and one physician assistant who is an EMT or an AEMT,
196.27	is currently practicing as a physician assistant, and has passed a paramedic practical skills
196.28	test approved by the board and administered by an education program has been approved
196.29	by the ambulance service medical director.
196.30	(b) An advanced life-support service shall provide basic life support, as specified under
196.31	subdivision 6, paragraph (a), advanced airway management, manual defibrillation,

administration of intravenous fluids and pharmaceuticals, and administration of opiate antagonists. 197.2

- (c) In addition to providing advanced life support, an advanced life-support service may staff additional ambulances to provide basic life support according to subdivision 6 and section 144E.103, subdivision 1.
- (d) An ambulance service providing advanced life support shall have a written agreement with its medical director to ensure medical control for patient care 24 hours a day, seven days a week. The terms of the agreement shall include a written policy on the administration of medical control for the service. The policy shall address the following issues:
- (1) two-way communication for physician direction of ambulance service personnel; 197.10
- (2) patient triage, treatment, and transport; 197.11
- (3) use of standing orders; and 197.12

197.1

197.3

197.4

197.5

197.6

197.7

197.8

197.9

197.20

197.21

197.22

197.23

197.24

197.26

197.27

197.28

197.29

- (4) the means by which medical control will be provided 24 hours a day. 197.13
- The agreement shall be signed by the licensee's medical director and the licensee or the 197.14 licensee's designee and maintained in the files of the licensee. 197.15
- 197.16 (e) When an ambulance service provides advanced life support, the authority of a paramedic, Minnesota registered nurse-EMT, or Minnesota registered physician 197.17 assistant-EMT to determine the delivery of patient care prevails over the authority of an 197.18 EMT. 197.19
 - (f) Upon application from an ambulance service that includes evidence demonstrating hardship, the board may grant a variance from the staff requirements in paragraph (a), clause (1), and may authorize an advanced life-support ambulance to be staffed by a registered emergency medical responder driver with a paramedic for all emergency calls and interfacility transfers. The variance shall apply to advanced life-support ambulance services until the ambulance service renews its license. When the variance expires, an ambulance service may apply for a new variance under this paragraph. This paragraph applies only to an ambulance service whose primary service area is mainly located outside the metropolitan counties listed in section 473.121, subdivision 4, and outside the cities of Duluth, Mankato, Moorhead, Rochester, and St. Cloud, or an ambulance service based in a community with a population of less than 1,000 persons.
- (g) After an initial emergency ambulance call, each subsequent emergency ambulance 197.31 197.32 response, until the initial ambulance is again available, and interfacility transfers, may be staffed by one registered emergency medical responder driver and an EMT or paramedic. 197.33

This paragraph applies only to an ambulance service whose primary service area is mainly 198.1 located outside the metropolitan counties listed in section 473.121, subdivision 4, and outside 198.2 198.3 the cities of Duluth, Mankato, Moorhead, Rochester, and St. Cloud, or an ambulance service based in a community with a population of less than 1,000 persons. 198.4 198.5 (h) In order for a registered nurse to staff an advanced life-support ambulance as a driver, the registered nurse must have successfully completed a certified emergency vehicle operators 198.6 198.7 program. Sec. 17. [144E.105] ALTERNATIVE EMS RESPONSE MODEL PILOT PROGRAM. 198.8 Subdivision 1. **Definitions.** (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have 198.9 198.10 the meanings given. 198.11 (b) "Partnering ambulance services" means the basic life support ambulance service and the advanced life support ambulance service that partner to jointly respond to emergency 198.12 198.13 ambulance calls under the pilot program. (c) "Pilot program" means the alternative EMS response model pilot program established 198.14 under this section. 198.15 198.16 Subd. 2. Pilot program established. The board must establish and administer an alternative EMS response model pilot program. Under the pilot program, the board may 198.17 authorize basic life support ambulance services to partner with advanced life support 198.18 ambulance services to provide expanded advanced life support service intercept capability 198.19 198.20 and staffing support for emergency ambulance calls. Subd. 3. Application. A basic life support ambulance service that wishes to participate 198.21 in the pilot program must apply to the board. An application from a basic life support 198.22 ambulance service must be submitted jointly with the advanced life support ambulance 198.23 198.24 service with which the basic life support ambulance service proposes to partner. The application must identify the ambulance services applying to be partnering ambulance 198.25 services and must include: 198.26 198.27 (1) approval to participate in the pilot program from the medical directors of the proposed partnering ambulance services; 198.28 198.29 (2) procedures the basic life support ambulance service will implement to respond to emergency ambulance calls when the basic life support ambulance service is unable to meet 198.30 the minimum staffing requirements under section 144E.101, subdivision 6, and the partnering 198.31 advanced life support ambulance service is unavailable to jointly respond to emergency 198.32 ambulance calls; 198.33

199.1	(3) an agreement between the proposed partnering ambulance services specifying which
199.2	ambulance service is responsible for:
199.3	(i) workers' compensation insurance;
199.4	(ii) motor vehicle insurance; and
199.5	(iii) billing, identifying which if any ambulance service will bill the patient or the patient's
199.6	insurer and specifying how payments received will be distributed among the proposed
199.7	partnering ambulance services;
199.8	(4) communication procedures to coordinate and make known the real-time availability
199.9	of the advanced life support ambulance service to its proposed partnering basic life support
199.10	ambulance services and public safety answering points;
199.11	(5) an acknowledgment that the proposed partnering ambulance services must coordinate
199.12	compliance with the prehospital care data requirements in section 144E.123; and
199.13	(6) an acknowledgment that the proposed partnering ambulance services remain
199.14	responsible for providing continual service as required under section 144E.101, subdivision
199.15	<u>3.</u>
199.16	Subd. 4. Operation. Under the pilot program, an advanced life support ambulance
199.17	service may partner with one or more basic life support ambulance services. Under this
199.18	partnership, the advanced life support ambulance service and basic life support ambulance
199.19	service must jointly respond to emergency ambulance calls originating in the primary service
199.20	area of the basic life support ambulance service. The advanced life support ambulance
199.21	service must respond to emergency ambulance calls with either an ambulance or a
199.22	nontransporting vehicle fully equipped with the advanced life support complement of
199.23	equipment and medications required for that nontransporting vehicle by that ambulance
199.24	service's medical director.
199.25	Subd. 5. Staffing. (a) When responding to an emergency ambulance call and when an
199.26	ambulance or nontransporting vehicle from the partnering advanced life support ambulance
199.27	service is confirmed to be available and is responding to the call:
199.28	(1) the basic life support ambulance must be staffed with a minimum of one emergency
199.29	medical technician; and
199.30	(2) the advanced life support ambulance or nontransporting vehicle must be staffed with
	(2) the advanced the support amoutance of nontransporting venicle must be started with

(b) The staffing specified in paragraph (a) is deemed to satisfy the staffing requirements

in section 144E.101, subdivisions 6 and 7. 200.2 200.3 Subd. 6. Medical director oversight. The medical director for an ambulance service participating in the pilot program retains responsibility for the ambulance service personnel 200.4 200.5 of their ambulance service. When a paramedic from the partnering advanced life support ambulance service makes contact with the patient, the standing orders; clinical policies; 200.6 protocols; and triage, treatment, and transportation guidelines for the advanced life support 200.7 200.8 ambulance service must direct patient care related to the encounter. Subd. 7. Waivers and variances. The board may issue any waivers of or variances to 200.9 200.10 this chapter or Minnesota Rules, chapter 4690, to partnering ambulance services that are needed to implement the pilot program, provided the waiver or variance does not adversely 200.11 affect the public health or welfare. 200.12 Subd. 8. Data and evaluation. In administering the pilot program, the board shall collect 200.13 from partnering ambulance services data needed to evaluate the impacts of the pilot program 200.14 200.15 on response times, patient outcomes, and patient experience for emergency ambulance calls. Subd. 9. Transfer of authority. Effective January 1, 2025, the duties and authority 200.16 assigned to the board in this section are transferred to the director. 200.17 Subd. 10. Expiration. This section expires June 30, 2026. 200.18 Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144E.16, subdivision 5, is amended to read: 200.19 200.20 Subd. 5. Local government's powers. (a) Local units of government may, with the approval of the board director, establish standards for ambulance services which impose 200.21 additional requirements upon such services. Local units of government intending to impose 200.22 additional requirements shall consider whether any benefit accruing to the public health 200.23 would outweigh the costs associated with the additional requirements. 200.24 (b) Local units of government that desire to impose additional requirements shall, prior 200.25 to adoption of relevant ordinances, rules, or regulations, furnish the board director with a 200.26 copy of the proposed ordinances, rules, or regulations, along with information that 200.27 affirmatively substantiates that the proposed ordinances, rules, or regulations: 200.28 200.29 (1) will in no way conflict with the relevant rules of the board office; (2) will establish additional requirements tending to protect the public health; 200.30 (3) will not diminish public access to ambulance services of acceptable quality; and 200.31

(4) will not interfere with the orderly development of regional systems of emergency medical care.

- (c) The board director shall base any decision to approve or disapprove local standards upon whether or not the local unit of government in question has affirmatively substantiated that the proposed ordinances, rules, or regulations meet the criteria specified in paragraph (b).
 - **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2025.

201.1

201.2

201.3

201.4

201.5

201.6

- Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144E.19, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
- Subd. 3. **Temporary suspension.** (a) In addition to any other remedy provided by law, the board director may temporarily suspend the license of a licensee after conducting a preliminary inquiry to determine whether the board director believes that the licensee has violated a statute or rule that the board director is empowered to enforce and determining that the continued provision of service by the licensee would create an imminent risk to public health or harm to others.
- (b) A temporary suspension order prohibiting a licensee from providing ambulance service shall give notice of the right to a preliminary hearing according to paragraph (d) and shall state the reasons for the entry of the temporary suspension order.
- (c) Service of a temporary suspension order is effective when the order is served on the licensee personally or by certified mail, which is complete upon receipt, refusal, or return for nondelivery to the most recent address provided to the board director for the licensee.
- 201.21 (d) At the time the board director issues a temporary suspension order, the board director shall schedule a hearing, to be held before a group of its members designated by the board, that shall begin within 60 days after issuance of the temporary suspension order or within 15 working days of the date of the board's director's receipt of a request for a hearing from a licensee, whichever is sooner. The hearing shall be on the sole issue of whether there is a reasonable basis to continue, modify, or lift the temporary suspension. A hearing under this paragraph is not subject to chapter 14.
- 201.28 (e) Evidence presented by the <u>board director</u> or licensee may be in the form of an affidavit.

 201.29 The licensee or the licensee's designee may appear for oral argument.
- 201.30 (f) Within five working days of the hearing, the <u>board director</u> shall issue its order and, 201.31 if the suspension is continued, notify the licensee of the right to a contested case hearing 201.32 under chapter 14.

(g) If a licensee requests a contested case hearing within 30 days after receiving notice 202.1 under paragraph (f), the board director shall initiate a contested case hearing according to 202.2 chapter 14. The administrative law judge shall issue a report and recommendation within 202.3 30 days after the closing of the contested case hearing record. The board director shall issue 202.4 a final order within 30 days after receipt of the administrative law judge's report. 202.5 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2025. 202.6 Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144E.27, subdivision 3, is amended to read: 202.7 Subd. 3. Renewal. (a) The board may renew the registration of an emergency medical 202.8 responder who: 202.9 (1) successfully completes a board-approved refresher course; and 202.10 (2) successfully completes a course in cardiopulmonary resuscitation approved by the 202.11 board or by the licensee's medical director. This course may be a component of a 202.12 202.13 board-approved refresher course; and (2) (3) submits a completed renewal application to the board before the registration 202.14 202.15 expiration date. (b) The board may renew the lapsed registration of an emergency medical responder 202.16 who: 202.17 (1) successfully completes a board-approved refresher course; and 202.18 (2) successfully completes a course in cardiopulmonary resuscitation approved by the 202.19 board or by the licensee's medical director. This course may be a component of a 202.20 board-approved refresher course; and 202.21 (2) (3) submits a completed renewal application to the board within 12 48 months after 202.22 the registration expiration date. 202.23 Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144E.27, subdivision 5, is amended to read: 202.24 202.25 Subd. 5. Denial, suspension, revocation; emergency medical responders and drivers. (a) This subdivision applies to individuals seeking registration or registered as an 202.26 emergency medical responder and to individuals seeking registration or registered as a driver 202.27 of a basic life-support ambulance under section 144E.101, subdivision 6a. The board may 202.28 deny, suspend, revoke, place conditions on, or refuse to renew the registration of an individual 202.29 who the board determines: 202.30

04/24/24 LB (1) violates sections 144E.001 to 144E.33 or the rules adopted under those sections, an 203.1 agreement for corrective action, or an order that the board issued or is otherwise empowered 203.2 203.3 to enforce; (2) misrepresents or falsifies information on an application form for registration; 203.4 203.5 (3) is convicted or pleads guilty or nolo contendere to any felony; any gross misdemeanor relating to assault, sexual misconduct, theft, or the illegal use of drugs or alcohol; or any 203.6 misdemeanor relating to assault, sexual misconduct, theft, or the illegal use of drugs or 203.7 alcohol; 203.8 (4) is actually or potentially unable to provide emergency medical services or drive an 203.9 ambulance with reasonable skill and safety to patients by reason of illness, use of alcohol, 203.10 drugs, chemicals, or any other material, or as a result of any mental or physical condition; 203.11 (5) engages in unethical conduct, including, but not limited to, conduct likely to deceive, 203.12 defraud, or harm the public, or demonstrating a willful or careless disregard for the health, 203.13 welfare, or safety of the public; 203.14 (6) maltreats or abandons a patient; 203.15 (7) violates any state or federal controlled substance law; 203.16 (8) engages in unprofessional conduct or any other conduct which has the potential for 203.17 causing harm to the public, including any departure from or failure to conform to the 203.18 minimum standards of acceptable and prevailing practice without actual injury having to 203.19 be established; 203.20 (9) for emergency medical responders, provides emergency medical services under 203.21 lapsed or nonrenewed credentials; 203.22 (10) is subject to a denial, corrective, disciplinary, or other similar action in another 203.23 jurisdiction or by another regulatory authority;

- (11) engages in conduct with a patient that is sexual or may reasonably be interpreted 203.25 by the patient as sexual, or in any verbal behavior that is seductive or sexually demeaning 203.26 to a patient; or 203.27
- (12) makes a false statement or knowingly provides false information to the board, or 203.28 fails to cooperate with an investigation of the board as required by section 144E.30. 203.29
- (b) Before taking action under paragraph (a), the board shall give notice to an individual 203.30 of the right to a contested case hearing under chapter 14. If an individual requests a contested 203.31

case hearing within 30 days after receiving notice, the board shall initiate a contested case hearing according to chapter 14.

- (c) The administrative law judge shall issue a report and recommendation within 30 days after closing the contested case hearing record. The board shall issue a final order within 30 days after receipt of the administrative law judge's report.
- 204.6 (d) After six months from the board's decision to deny, revoke, place conditions on, or 204.7 refuse renewal of an individual's registration for disciplinary action, the individual shall 204.8 have the opportunity to apply to the board for reinstatement.
- Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144E.27, subdivision 5, is amended to read:
- Subd. 5. **Denial, suspension, revocation.** (a) The board director may deny, suspend, revoke, place conditions on, or refuse to renew the registration of an individual who the board director determines:
- 204.13 (1) violates sections 144E.001 to 144E.33 or the rules adopted under those sections, an agreement for corrective action, or an order that the board director issued or is otherwise empowered to enforce;
- 204.16 (2) misrepresents or falsifies information on an application form for registration;
- 204.17 (3) is convicted or pleads guilty or nolo contendere to any felony; any gross misdemeanor relating to assault, sexual misconduct, theft, or the illegal use of drugs or alcohol; or any misdemeanor relating to assault, sexual misconduct, theft, or the illegal use of drugs or alcohol; alcohol;
- 204.21 (4) is actually or potentially unable to provide emergency medical services with 204.22 reasonable skill and safety to patients by reason of illness, use of alcohol, drugs, chemicals, 204.23 or any other material, or as a result of any mental or physical condition;
- 204.24 (5) engages in unethical conduct, including, but not limited to, conduct likely to deceive, 204.25 defraud, or harm the public, or demonstrating a willful or careless disregard for the health, 204.26 welfare, or safety of the public;
- 204.27 (6) maltreats or abandons a patient;
- 204.28 (7) violates any state or federal controlled substance law;
- (8) engages in unprofessional conduct or any other conduct which has the potential for causing harm to the public, including any departure from or failure to conform to the minimum standards of acceptable and prevailing practice without actual injury having to be established;

204.3

204.4

205.1	(9) provides emergency medical services under lapsed or nonrenewed credentials;
205.2	(10) is subject to a denial, corrective, disciplinary, or other similar action in another
205.3	jurisdiction or by another regulatory authority;
205.4	(11) engages in conduct with a patient that is sexual or may reasonably be interpreted
205.5	by the patient as sexual, or in any verbal behavior that is seductive or sexually demeaning
205.6	to a patient; or
205.7	(12) makes a false statement or knowingly provides false information to the board
205.8	<u>director</u> , or fails to cooperate with an investigation of the <u>board</u> <u>director</u> as required by
205.9	section 144E.30-; or
205.10	(13) fails to engage with the health professionals services program or diversion program
205.11	required under section 144E.287 after being referred to the program, violates the terms of
205.12	the program participation agreement, or leaves the program except upon fulfilling the terms
205.13	for successful completion of the program as set forth in the participation agreement.
205.14	(b) Before taking action under paragraph (a), the board director shall give notice to an
205.15	individual of the right to a contested case hearing under chapter 14. If an individual requests
205.16	a contested case hearing within 30 days after receiving notice, the board director shall initiate
205.17	a contested case hearing according to chapter 14.
205.18	(c) The administrative law judge shall issue a report and recommendation within 30
205.18205.19	(c) The administrative law judge shall issue a report and recommendation within 30 days after closing the contested case hearing record. The board director shall issue a final
205.19	days after closing the contested case hearing record. The board director shall issue a final
205.19 205.20	days after closing the contested case hearing record. The board director shall issue a final order within 30 days after receipt of the administrative law judge's report.
205.19 205.20 205.21	days after closing the contested case hearing record. The board director shall issue a final order within 30 days after receipt of the administrative law judge's report. (d) After six months from the board's director's decision to deny, revoke, place conditions
205.19 205.20 205.21 205.22	days after closing the contested case hearing record. The board director shall issue a final order within 30 days after receipt of the administrative law judge's report. (d) After six months from the board's director's decision to deny, revoke, place conditions on, or refuse renewal of an individual's registration for disciplinary action, the individual
205.19 205.20 205.21 205.22 205.23	days after closing the contested case hearing record. The board director shall issue a final order within 30 days after receipt of the administrative law judge's report. (d) After six months from the board's director's decision to deny, revoke, place conditions on, or refuse renewal of an individual's registration for disciplinary action, the individual shall have the opportunity to apply to the board director for reinstatement.
205.19 205.20 205.21 205.22 205.23 205.24	days after closing the contested case hearing record. The board director shall issue a final order within 30 days after receipt of the administrative law judge's report. (d) After six months from the board's director's decision to deny, revoke, place conditions on, or refuse renewal of an individual's registration for disciplinary action, the individual shall have the opportunity to apply to the board director for reinstatement. EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.
205.19 205.20 205.21 205.22 205.23 205.24	days after closing the contested case hearing record. The board director shall issue a final order within 30 days after receipt of the administrative law judge's report. (d) After six months from the board's director's decision to deny, revoke, place conditions on, or refuse renewal of an individual's registration for disciplinary action, the individual shall have the opportunity to apply to the board director for reinstatement. EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025. Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144E.27, subdivision 6, is amended to read:
205.19 205.20 205.21 205.22 205.23 205.24 205.25 205.26	days after closing the contested case hearing record. The board director shall issue a final order within 30 days after receipt of the administrative law judge's report. (d) After six months from the board's director's decision to deny, revoke, place conditions on, or refuse renewal of an individual's registration for disciplinary action, the individual shall have the opportunity to apply to the board director for reinstatement. EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025. Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144E.27, subdivision 6, is amended to read: Subd. 6. Temporary suspension; emergency medical responders and drivers. (a)
205.19 205.20 205.21 205.22 205.23 205.24 205.25 205.26 205.27	days after closing the contested case hearing record. The board director shall issue a final order within 30 days after receipt of the administrative law judge's report. (d) After six months from the board's director's decision to deny, revoke, place conditions on, or refuse renewal of an individual's registration for disciplinary action, the individual shall have the opportunity to apply to the board director for reinstatement. EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025. Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144E.27, subdivision 6, is amended to read: Subd. 6. Temporary suspension; emergency medical responders and drivers. (a) This subdivision applies to emergency medical responders registered under this section and
205.19 205.20 205.21 205.22 205.23 205.24 205.25 205.26 205.27 205.28	days after closing the contested case hearing record. The board director shall issue a final order within 30 days after receipt of the administrative law judge's report. (d) After six months from the board's director's decision to deny, revoke, place conditions on, or refuse renewal of an individual's registration for disciplinary action, the individual shall have the opportunity to apply to the board director for reinstatement. EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025. Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144E.27, subdivision 6, is amended to read: Subd. 6. Temporary suspension; emergency medical responders and drivers. (a) This subdivision applies to emergency medical responders registered under this section and to individuals registered as drivers of basic life-support ambulances under section 144E.101,

is empowered to enforce and determining that the continued provision of service by the individual would create an imminent risk to public health or harm to others.

- (b) A temporary suspension order prohibiting an individual from providing emergency medical care <u>or from driving a basic life-support ambulance</u> shall give notice of the right to a preliminary hearing according to paragraph (d) and shall state the reasons for the entry of the temporary suspension order.
- (c) Service of a temporary suspension order is effective when the order is served on the individual personally or by certified mail, which is complete upon receipt, refusal, or return for nondelivery to the most recent address provided to the board for the individual.
- (d) At the time the board issues a temporary suspension order, the board shall schedule a hearing, to be held before a group of its members designated by the board, that shall begin within 60 days after issuance of the temporary suspension order or within 15 working days of the date of the board's receipt of a request for a hearing from the individual, whichever is sooner. The hearing shall be on the sole issue of whether there is a reasonable basis to continue, modify, or lift the temporary suspension. A hearing under this paragraph is not subject to chapter 14.
- 206.17 (e) Evidence presented by the board or the individual may be in the form of an affidavit.

 206.18 The individual or the individual's designee may appear for oral argument.
- 206.19 (f) Within five working days of the hearing, the board shall issue its order and, if the suspension is continued, notify the individual of the right to a contested case hearing under chapter 14.
- 206.22 (g) If an individual requests a contested case hearing within 30 days after receiving notice under paragraph (f), the board shall initiate a contested case hearing according to chapter 14. The administrative law judge shall issue a report and recommendation within 30 days after the closing of the contested case hearing record. The board shall issue a final order within 30 days after receipt of the administrative law judge's report.
- Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144E.28, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
- Subd. 3. **Reciprocity.** The board may certify an individual who possesses a current
 National Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians registration certification from another
 jurisdiction if the individual submits a board-approved application form. The board
 certification classification shall be the same as the National Registry's classification.
 Certification shall be for the duration of the applicant's registration certification period in
 another jurisdiction, not to exceed two years.

206.1

206.2

206.3

206.4

206.5

206.6

206.7

206.8

206.9

206.10

206.11

206.12

206.13

206.15

Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144E.28, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

- Subd. 5. **Denial, suspension, revocation.** (a) The board director may deny certification or take any action authorized in subdivision 4 against an individual who the board director determines:
- (1) violates sections 144E.001 to 144E.33 or the rules adopted under those sections, or an order that the board director issued or is otherwise authorized or empowered to enforce, or agreement for corrective action;
- 207.8 (2) misrepresents or falsifies information on an application form for certification;
- 207.9 (3) is convicted or pleads guilty or nolo contendere to any felony; any gross misdemeanor relating to assault, sexual misconduct, theft, or the illegal use of drugs or alcohol; or any misdemeanor relating to assault, sexual misconduct, theft, or the illegal use of drugs or alcohol; alcohol;
- 207.13 (4) is actually or potentially unable to provide emergency medical services with 207.14 reasonable skill and safety to patients by reason of illness, use of alcohol, drugs, chemicals, 207.15 or any other material, or as a result of any mental or physical condition;
- 207.16 (5) engages in unethical conduct, including, but not limited to, conduct likely to deceive, 207.17 defraud, or harm the public or demonstrating a willful or careless disregard for the health, 207.18 welfare, or safety of the public;
- 207.19 (6) maltreats or abandons a patient;

207.2

207.3

207.4

207.5

207.6

- 207.20 (7) violates any state or federal controlled substance law;
- (8) engages in unprofessional conduct or any other conduct which has the potential for causing harm to the public, including any departure from or failure to conform to the minimum standards of acceptable and prevailing practice without actual injury having to be established;
- 207.25 (9) provides emergency medical services under lapsed or nonrenewed credentials;
- 207.26 (10) is subject to a denial, corrective, disciplinary, or other similar action in another jurisdiction or by another regulatory authority;
- 207.28 (11) engages in conduct with a patient that is sexual or may reasonably be interpreted 207.29 by the patient as sexual, or in any verbal behavior that is seductive or sexually demeaning 207.30 to a patient; or

(12) makes a false statement or knowingly provides false information to the board director or fails to cooperate with an investigation of the board director as required by section 144E.30-; or

- (13) fails to engage with the health professionals services program or diversion program required under section 144E.287 after being referred to the program, violates the terms of the program participation agreement, or leaves the program except upon fulfilling the terms for successful completion of the program as set forth in the participation agreement.
- (b) Before taking action under paragraph (a), the board director shall give notice to an individual of the right to a contested case hearing under chapter 14. If an individual requests a contested case hearing within 30 days after receiving notice, the board director shall initiate a contested case hearing according to chapter 14 and no disciplinary action shall be taken at that time.
- (c) The administrative law judge shall issue a report and recommendation within 30 days after closing the contested case hearing record. The board director shall issue a final order within 30 days after receipt of the administrative law judge's report.
- 208.16 (d) After six months from the board's director's decision to deny, revoke, place conditions
 208.17 on, or refuse renewal of an individual's certification for disciplinary action, the individual
 208.18 shall have the opportunity to apply to the board director for reinstatement.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.

- Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144E.28, subdivision 6, is amended to read:
- Subd. 6. **Temporary suspension.** (a) In addition to any other remedy provided by law, the board director may temporarily suspend the certification of an individual after conducting a preliminary inquiry to determine whether the board director believes that the individual has violated a statute or rule that the board director is empowered to enforce and determining that the continued provision of service by the individual would create an imminent risk to public health or harm to others.
- (b) A temporary suspension order prohibiting an individual from providing emergency medical care shall give notice of the right to a preliminary hearing according to paragraph (d) and shall state the reasons for the entry of the temporary suspension order.
- 208.30 (c) Service of a temporary suspension order is effective when the order is served on the individual personally or by certified mail, which is complete upon receipt, refusal, or return for nondelivery to the most recent address provided to the board director for the individual.

208.1

208.2

208.3

208.4

208.5

208.6

208.7

208.8

208.9

208.10

208.11

208 12

208.13

208.14

208.15

- (d) At the time the board director issues a temporary suspension order, the board director shall schedule a hearing, to be held before a group of its members designated by the board, that shall begin within 60 days after issuance of the temporary suspension order or within 15 working days of the date of the board's director's receipt of a request for a hearing from the individual, whichever is sooner. The hearing shall be on the sole issue of whether there is a reasonable basis to continue, modify, or lift the temporary suspension. A hearing under this paragraph is not subject to chapter 14.
- 209.8 (e) Evidence presented by the <u>board director</u> or the individual may be in the form of an affidavit. The individual or individual's designee may appear for oral argument.
- (f) Within five working days of the hearing, the <u>board director</u> shall issue its order and, if the suspension is continued, notify the individual of the right to a contested case hearing under chapter 14.
- (g) If an individual requests a contested case hearing within 30 days of receiving notice under paragraph (f), the board director shall initiate a contested case hearing according to chapter 14. The administrative law judge shall issue a report and recommendation within 30 days after the closing of the contested case hearing record. The board director shall issue a final order within 30 days after receipt of the administrative law judge's report.

209.18 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2025.

- Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144E.28, subdivision 8, is amended to read:
- Subd. 8. **Reinstatement.** (a) Within four years of a certification expiration date, a person whose certification has expired under subdivision 7, paragraph (d), may have the certification reinstated upon submission of:
- (1) evidence to the board of training equivalent to the continuing education requirements of subdivision 7 or, for community paramedics, evidence to the board of training equivalent to the continuing education requirements of subdivision 9, paragraph (c); and
- 209.26 (2) a board-approved application form.
- 209.27 (b) If more than four years have passed since a certificate expiration date, an applicant must complete the initial certification process required under subdivision 1.
- (c) Beginning July 1, 2024, through December 31, 2025, and notwithstanding paragraph

 (b), a person whose certification as an EMT, AEMT, paramedic, or community paramedic

 expired more than four years ago but less than ten years ago may have the certification

 reinstated upon submission of:

209.1

209.2

209.3

209.4

209.5

209.6

210.1	(1) evidence to the board of the training required under paragraph (a), clause (1). This
210.2	training must have been completed within the 24 months prior to the date of the application
210.3	for reinstatement;
210.4	(2) a board-approved application form; and
210.5	(3) a recommendation from an ambulance service medical director.
210.6	This paragraph expires December 31, 2025.
210.7	Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144E.285, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
210.8	Subdivision 1. Approval required. (a) All education programs for an EMR, EMT,
210.9	AEMT, or paramedic must be approved by the board.
210.10	(b) To be approved by the board, an education program must:
210.11	(1) submit an application prescribed by the board that includes:
210.12	(i) type and length of course to be offered;
210.13	(ii) names, addresses, and qualifications of the program medical director, program
210.14	education coordinator, and instructors;
210.15	(iii) names and addresses of clinical sites, including a contact person and telephone
210.16	number;
210.17	(iv) (iii) admission criteria for students; and
210.18	(v) (iv) materials and equipment to be used;
210.19	(2) for each course, implement the most current version of the United States Department
210.20	of Transportation EMS Education Standards, or its equivalent as determined by the board
210.21	applicable to EMR, EMT, AEMT, or paramedic education;
210.22	(3) have a program medical director and a program coordinator;
210.23	(4) utilize instructors who meet the requirements of section 144E.283 for teaching at
210.24	least 50 percent of the course content. The remaining 50 percent of the course may be taught
210.25	by guest lecturers approved by the education program coordinator or medical director;
210.26	(5) have at least one instructor for every ten students at the practical skill stations;
210.27	(6) maintain a written agreement with a licensed hospital or licensed ambulance service
210.28	designating a clinical training site;
210.29	$\frac{7}{5}$ retain documentation of program approval by the board, course outline, and
210.30	student information;

(8) (6) notify the board of the starting date of a course prior to the beginning of a course; 211.1 211.2 and (9) (7) submit the appropriate fee as required under section 144E.29; and. 211.3 211.4 (10) maintain a minimum average yearly pass rate as set by the board on an annual basis. 211.5 The pass rate will be determined by the percent of candidates who pass the exam on the first attempt. An education program not meeting this yearly standard shall be placed on 211.6 probation and shall be on a performance improvement plan approved by the board until 211.7 meeting the pass rate standard. While on probation, the education program may continue 211.8 providing classes if meeting the terms of the performance improvement plan as determined 211.9 by the board. If an education program having probation status fails to meet the pass rate standard after two years in which an EMT initial course has been taught, the board may 211.11 take disciplinary action under subdivision 5. 211 12 Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144E.285, is amended by adding a subdivision 211.13 211.14 to read: 211.15 Subd. 1a. **EMR education program requirements.** The National EMS Education 211.16 Standards established by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration of the United States Department of Transportation specify the minimum requirements for knowledge and 211.17 skills for emergency medical responders. An education program applying for approval to 211.18 teach EMRs must comply with the requirements under subdivision 1, paragraph (b). A 211.19 medical director of an emergency medical responder group may establish additional 211.20 knowledge and skill requirements for EMRs. 211.21 211.22 Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144E.285, is amended by adding a subdivision to read: 211.23 Subd. 1b. **EMT education program requirements.** In addition to the requirements 211.24 under subdivision 1, paragraph (b), an education program applying for approval to teach EMTs must: 211.26 211.27 (1) include in the application prescribed by the board the names and addresses of clinical sites, including a contact person and telephone number; 211.29 (2) maintain a written agreement with at least one clinical training site that is of a type recognized by the National EMS Education Standards established by the National Highway 211.30 Traffic Safety Administration; and 211.31

212.1	(3) maintain a minimum average yearly pass rate as set by the board. An education
212.2	program not meeting this standard must be placed on probation and must comply with a
212.3	performance improvement plan approved by the board until the program meets the pass
212.4	rate standard. While on probation, the education program may continue to provide classes
212.5	if the program meets the terms of the performance improvement plan, as determined by the
212.6	board. If an education program that is on probation status fails to meet the pass rate standard
212.7	after two years in which an EMT initial course has been taught, the board may take
212.8	disciplinary action under subdivision 5.
212.9	Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144E.285, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
212.10	Subd. 2. AEMT and paramedic education program requirements. (a) In addition to
212.11	the requirements under subdivision 1, paragraph (b), an education program applying for
212.12	approval to teach AEMTs and paramedics must:
212.13	(1) be administered by an educational institution accredited by the Commission of
212.14	Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs (CAAHEP)-:
212.15	(2) include in the application prescribed by the board the names and addresses of clinical
212.16	sites, including a contact person and telephone number; and
212.17	(3) maintain a written agreement with a licensed hospital or licensed ambulance service
212.18	designating a clinical training site.
212.19	(b) An AEMT and paramedic education program that is administered by an educational
212.20	institution not accredited by CAAHEP, but that is in the process of completing the
212.21	accreditation process, may be granted provisional approval by the board upon verification
212.22	of submission of its self-study report and the appropriate review fee to CAAHEP.
212.23	(c) An educational institution that discontinues its participation in the accreditation
212.24	process must notify the board immediately and provisional approval shall be withdrawn.
212.25	(d) This subdivision does not apply to a paramedic education program when the program
212.26	is operated by an advanced life-support ambulance service licensed by the Emergency
212.27	Medical Services Regulatory Board under this chapter, and the ambulance service meets
212.28	the following criteria:
212.29	(1) covers a rural primary service area that does not contain a hospital within the primary
212.30	service area or contains a hospital within the primary service area that has been designated
212.31	as a critical access hospital under section 144.1483, clause (9);

213.1	(2) has tax-exempt status in accordance with the Internal Revenue Code, section
213.2	501(c)(3);
213.3	(3) received approval before 1991 from the commissioner of health to operate a paramedic
213.4	education program;
213.5	(4) operates an AEMT and paramedic education program exclusively to train paramedics
213.6	for the local ambulance service; and
213.7	(5) limits enrollment in the AEMT and paramedic program to five candidates per
213.8	biennium.
213.9	Sec. 32. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144E.285, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
213.10	Subd. 4. Reapproval. An education program shall apply to the board for reapproval at
213.11	least three months 30 days prior to the expiration date of its approval and must:
213.12	(1) submit an application prescribed by the board specifying any changes from the
213.13	information provided for prior approval and any other information requested by the board
213.14	to clarify incomplete or ambiguous information presented in the application; and
213.15	(2) comply with the requirements under subdivision 1, paragraph (b), clauses (2) to (10).
213.16	<u>(7);</u>
213.17	(3) be subject to a site visit by the board;
213.18	(4) for education programs that teach EMRs, comply with the requirements in subdivision
213.19	<u>1a;</u>
213.20	(5) for education programs that teach EMTs, comply with the requirements in subdivision
213.21	1b; and
213.22	(6) for education programs that teach AEMTs and paramedics, comply with the
213.23	requirements in subdivision 2 and maintain accreditation with CAAHEP.
213.24	Sec. 33. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144E.285, subdivision 6, is amended to read:
213.25	Subd. 6. Temporary suspension. (a) In addition to any other remedy provided by law,
213.26	the board director may temporarily suspend approval of the education program after
213.27	conducting a preliminary inquiry to determine whether the board director believes that the
213.28	education program has violated a statute or rule that the board director is empowered to
213.29	enforce and determining that the continued provision of service by the education program
213.30	would create an imminent risk to public health or harm to others.

- (b) A temporary suspension order prohibiting the education program from providing emergency medical care training shall give notice of the right to a preliminary hearing according to paragraph (d) and shall state the reasons for the entry of the temporary suspension order.
- (c) Service of a temporary suspension order is effective when the order is served on the education program personally or by certified mail, which is complete upon receipt, refusal, or return for nondelivery to the most recent address provided to the board director for the education program.
- (d) At the time the board director issues a temporary suspension order, the board director shall schedule a hearing, to be held before a group of its members designated by the board, that shall begin within 60 days after issuance of the temporary suspension order or within 214.11 15 working days of the date of the board's director's receipt of a request for a hearing from 214 12 the education program, whichever is sooner. The hearing shall be on the sole issue of whether 214.13 there is a reasonable basis to continue, modify, or lift the temporary suspension. A hearing 214.14 under this paragraph is not subject to chapter 14. 214.15
- (e) Evidence presented by the board director or the individual may be in the form of an 214.16 affidavit. The education program or counsel of record may appear for oral argument. 214.17
- (f) Within five working days of the hearing, the board director shall issue its order and, 214.18 if the suspension is continued, notify the education program of the right to a contested case hearing under chapter 14. 214.20
- (g) If an education program requests a contested case hearing within 30 days of receiving 214.21 notice under paragraph (f), the board director shall initiate a contested case hearing according to chapter 14. The administrative law judge shall issue a report and recommendation within 214.23 214.24 30 days after the closing of the contested case hearing record. The board director shall issue a final order within 30 days after receipt of the administrative law judge's report. 214.25
- **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2025. 214.26
- 214.27 Sec. 34. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144E.287, is amended to read:
- 144E.287 DIVERSION PROGRAM. 214.28
- The board director shall either conduct a health professionals services program 214.29 under sections 214.31 to 214.37 or contract for a diversion program under section 214.28 214.30 for professionals regulated by the board under this chapter who are unable to perform their 214.31 duties with reasonable skill and safety by reason of illness, use of alcohol, drugs, chemicals, 214.32 or any other materials, or as a result of any mental, physical, or psychological condition. 214.33

214.1

214.2

214.3

214.4

214.5

214.6

214.7

214.8

Sec. 35. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144E.305, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.

215.1

215.2

215.13

215.14

215.15

215.17

215.18

Subd. 3. Immunity. (a) An individual, licensee, health care facility, business, or 215.3 organization is immune from civil liability or criminal prosecution for submitting in good 215.4 faith a report to the board director under subdivision 1 or 2 or for otherwise reporting in 215.5 good faith to the board director violations or alleged violations of sections 144E.001 to 215.6 215.7 144E.33. Reports are classified as confidential data on individuals or protected nonpublic data under section 13.02 while an investigation is active. Except for the board's director's 215.8 final determination, all communications or information received by or disclosed to the board 215.9 director relating to disciplinary matters of any person or entity subject to the board's director's 215.10 regulatory jurisdiction are confidential and privileged and any disciplinary hearing shall be 215.11 closed to the public. 215.12

- (b) Members of the board The director, persons employed by the board director, persons engaged in the investigation of violations and in the preparation and management of charges of violations of sections 144E.001 to 144E.33 on behalf of the board director, and persons participating in the investigation regarding charges of violations are immune from civil liability and criminal prosecution for any actions, transactions, or publications, made in good faith, in the execution of, or relating to, their duties under sections 144E.001 to 144E.33.
- (c) For purposes of this section, a member of the board is considered a state employee under section 3.736, subdivision 9.
- 215.21 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2025.
- Sec. 36. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 152.126, subdivision 6, is amended to read:
- Subd. 6. Access to reporting system data. (a) Except as indicated in this subdivision, the data submitted to the board under subdivision 4 is private data on individuals as defined in section 13.02, subdivision 12, and not subject to public disclosure.
- 215.27 (b) Except as specified in subdivision 5, the following persons shall be considered
 215.28 permissible users and may access the data submitted under subdivision 4 in the same or
 215.29 similar manner, and for the same or similar purposes, as those persons who are authorized
 215.30 to access similar private data on individuals under federal and state law:

(1) a prescriber or an agent or employee of the prescriber to whom the prescriber has delegated the task of accessing the data, to the extent the information relates specifically to a current patient, to whom the prescriber is:

(i) prescribing or considering prescribing any controlled substance;

216.1

216.2

216.3

216.4

216.8

216.9

216.10

216.11

216.12

216.13

216.14

216.16

216.17

216.18

216.19

216.20

216.21

216.22

216.23

216.24

216.25

216.26

216.27

- 216.5 (ii) providing emergency medical treatment for which access to the data may be necessary;
- 216.6 (iii) providing care, and the prescriber has reason to believe, based on clinically valid 216.7 indications, that the patient is potentially abusing a controlled substance; or
 - (iv) providing other medical treatment for which access to the data may be necessary for a clinically valid purpose and the patient has consented to access to the submitted data, and with the provision that the prescriber remains responsible for the use or misuse of data accessed by a delegated agent or employee;
 - (2) a dispenser or an agent or employee of the dispenser to whom the dispenser has delegated the task of accessing the data, to the extent the information relates specifically to a current patient to whom that dispenser is dispensing or considering dispensing any controlled substance and with the provision that the dispenser remains responsible for the use or misuse of data accessed by a delegated agent or employee;
 - (3) a licensed dispensing practitioner or licensed pharmacist to the extent necessary to determine whether corrections made to the data reported under subdivision 4 are accurate;
 - (4) a licensed pharmacist who is providing pharmaceutical care for which access to the data may be necessary to the extent that the information relates specifically to a current patient for whom the pharmacist is providing pharmaceutical care: (i) if the patient has consented to access to the submitted data; or (ii) if the pharmacist is consulted by a prescriber who is requesting data in accordance with clause (1);
 - (5) an individual who is the recipient of a controlled substance prescription for which data was submitted under subdivision 4, or a guardian of the individual, parent or guardian of a minor, or health care agent of the individual acting under a health care directive under chapter 145C. For purposes of this clause, access by individuals includes persons in the definition of an individual under section 13.02;
- 216.29 (6) personnel or designees of a health-related licensing board listed in section 214.01,
 216.30 subdivision 2, or of the Office of Emergency Medical Services Regulatory Board, assigned
 216.31 to conduct a bona fide investigation of a complaint received by that board or office that
 216.32 alleges that a specific licensee is impaired by use of a drug for which data is collected under

subdivision 4, has engaged in activity that would constitute a crime as defined in section 217.1 152.025, or has engaged in the behavior specified in subdivision 5, paragraph (a); 217.2

- (7) personnel of the board engaged in the collection, review, and analysis of controlled substance prescription information as part of the assigned duties and responsibilities under this section;
- (8) authorized personnel under contract with the board, or under contract with the state of Minnesota and approved by the board, who are engaged in the design, evaluation, implementation, operation, or maintenance of the prescription monitoring program as part of the assigned duties and responsibilities of their employment, provided that access to data is limited to the minimum amount necessary to carry out such duties and responsibilities, and subject to the requirement of de-identification and time limit on retention of data specified 217.11 in subdivision 5, paragraphs (d) and (e); 217 12
- (9) federal, state, and local law enforcement authorities acting pursuant to a valid search 217.13 217.14 warrant;
- (10) personnel of the Minnesota health care programs assigned to use the data collected 217.15 under this section to identify and manage recipients whose usage of controlled substances 217.16 may warrant restriction to a single primary care provider, a single outpatient pharmacy, and 217.17 a single hospital; 217.18
- (11) personnel of the Department of Human Services assigned to access the data pursuant 217.19 to paragraph (k); 217.20
- (12) personnel of the health professionals services program established under section 217.21 214.31, to the extent that the information relates specifically to an individual who is currently 217.22 enrolled in and being monitored by the program, and the individual consents to access to 217.23 that information. The health professionals services program personnel shall not provide this 217.24 data to a health-related licensing board or the Emergency Medical Services Regulatory 217.25 Board, except as permitted under section 214.33, subdivision 3;
- (13) personnel or designees of a health-related licensing board other than the Board of 217.27 Pharmacy listed in section 214.01, subdivision 2, assigned to conduct a bona fide 217.28 investigation of a complaint received by that board that alleges that a specific licensee is 217.29 inappropriately prescribing controlled substances as defined in this section. For the purposes 217.30 of this clause, the health-related licensing board may also obtain utilization data; and

217.3

217.4

217.5

217.6

217.7

217.8

(14) personnel of the board specifically assigned to conduct a bona fide investigation of a specific licensee or registrant. For the purposes of this clause, the board may also obtain utilization data.

- (c) By July 1, 2017, every prescriber licensed by a health-related licensing board listed in section 214.01, subdivision 2, practicing within this state who is authorized to prescribe controlled substances for humans and who holds a current registration issued by the federal Drug Enforcement Administration, and every pharmacist licensed by the board and practicing within the state, shall register and maintain a user account with the prescription monitoring program. Data submitted by a prescriber, pharmacist, or their delegate during the registration application process, other than their name, license number, and license type, is classified as private pursuant to section 13.02, subdivision 12.
- (d) Notwithstanding paragraph (b), beginning January 1, 2021, a prescriber or an agent or employee of the prescriber to whom the prescriber has delegated the task of accessing the data, must access the data submitted under subdivision 4 to the extent the information relates specifically to the patient:
- 218.16 (1) before the prescriber issues an initial prescription order for a Schedules II through
 218.17 IV opiate controlled substance to the patient; and
- (2) at least once every three months for patients receiving an opiate for treatment of chronic pain or participating in medically assisted treatment for an opioid addiction.
- (e) Paragraph (d) does not apply if:

218.1

218.2

218.3

218.4

218.5

218.6

218.7

218.8

218.9

218.10

- (1) the patient is receiving palliative care, or hospice or other end-of-life care;
- 218.22 (2) the patient is being treated for pain due to cancer or the treatment of cancer;
- 218.23 (3) the prescription order is for a number of doses that is intended to last the patient five days or less and is not subject to a refill;
- 218.25 (4) the prescriber and patient have a current or ongoing provider/patient relationship of a duration longer than one year;
- (5) the prescription order is issued within 14 days following surgery or three days following oral surgery or follows the prescribing protocols established under the opioid prescribing improvement program under section 256B.0638;
- 218.30 (6) the controlled substance is prescribed or administered to a patient who is admitted to an inpatient hospital;

(7) the controlled substance is lawfully administered by injection, ingestion, or any other means to the patient by the prescriber, a pharmacist, or by the patient at the direction of a prescriber and in the presence of the prescriber or pharmacist;

- (8) due to a medical emergency, it is not possible for the prescriber to review the data before the prescriber issues the prescription order for the patient; or
- (9) the prescriber is unable to access the data due to operational or other technological failure of the program so long as the prescriber reports the failure to the board.
- (f) Only permissible users identified in paragraph (b), clauses (1), (2), (3), (4), (7), (8), (10), and (11), may directly access the data electronically. No other permissible users may directly access the data electronically. If the data is directly accessed electronically, the permissible user shall implement and maintain a comprehensive information security program that contains administrative, technical, and physical safeguards that are appropriate to the user's size and complexity, and the sensitivity of the personal information obtained. The permissible user shall identify reasonably foreseeable internal and external risks to the security, confidentiality, and integrity of personal information that could result in the unauthorized disclosure, misuse, or other compromise of the information and assess the sufficiency of any safeguards in place to control the risks.
- (g) The board shall not release data submitted under subdivision 4 unless it is provided with evidence, satisfactory to the board, that the person requesting the information is entitled to receive the data.
- (h) The board shall maintain a log of all persons who access the data for a period of at least three years and shall ensure that any permissible user complies with paragraph (c) prior to attaining direct access to the data.
- (i) Section 13.05, subdivision 6, shall apply to any contract the board enters into pursuant to subdivision 2. A vendor shall not use data collected under this section for any purpose not specified in this section.
 - (j) The board may participate in an interstate prescription monitoring program data exchange system provided that permissible users in other states have access to the data only as allowed under this section, and that section 13.05, subdivision 6, applies to any contract or memorandum of understanding that the board enters into under this paragraph.
- (k) With available appropriations, the commissioner of human services shall establish and implement a system through which the Department of Human Services shall routinely access the data for the purpose of determining whether any client enrolled in an opioid

219.1

219.2

219.3

219.4

219.5

219.6

219.7

219.8

219.9

219.10

219.11

219.12

219.13

219.15

219 16

219.17

219.18

219.19

219 20

219.27

219.28

219.29

treatment program licensed according to chapter 245A has been prescribed or dispensed a controlled substance in addition to that administered or dispensed by the opioid treatment program. When the commissioner determines there have been multiple prescribers or multiple prescriptions of controlled substances, the commissioner shall:

- (1) inform the medical director of the opioid treatment program only that the commissioner determined the existence of multiple prescribers or multiple prescriptions of controlled substances; and
- (2) direct the medical director of the opioid treatment program to access the data directly, 220.8 review the effect of the multiple prescribers or multiple prescriptions, and document the 220.9 220.10 review.
- If determined necessary, the commissioner of human services shall seek a federal waiver 220.11 220.12 of, or exception to, any applicable provision of Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, section 2.34, paragraph (c), prior to implementing this paragraph. 220.13
- 220.14 (1) The board shall review the data submitted under subdivision 4 on at least a quarterly basis and shall establish criteria, in consultation with the advisory task force, for referring 220.15 information about a patient to prescribers and dispensers who prescribed or dispensed the 220.16 prescriptions in question if the criteria are met. 220.17
 - (m) The board shall conduct random audits, on at least a quarterly basis, of electronic access by permissible users, as identified in paragraph (b), clauses (1), (2), (3), (4), (7), (8), (10), and (11), to the data in subdivision 4, to ensure compliance with permissible use as defined in this section. A permissible user whose account has been selected for a random audit shall respond to an inquiry by the board, no later than 30 days after receipt of notice that an audit is being conducted. Failure to respond may result in deactivation of access to the electronic system and referral to the appropriate health licensing board, or the commissioner of human services, for further action. The board shall report the results of random audits to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over health and human services policy and finance and government data practices.
- (n) A permissible user who has delegated the task of accessing the data in subdivision 4 to an agent or employee shall audit the use of the electronic system by delegated agents 220.30 or employees on at least a quarterly basis to ensure compliance with permissible use as defined in this section. When a delegated agent or employee has been identified as 220.32 inappropriately accessing data, the permissible user must immediately remove access for 220.33

220.1

220.2

220.3

220.4

220.5

220.6

220.7

220.18

220.19

220.20

220.21

220.23

220.24

220.25

220.26

220.27

220.28

220.29

that individual and notify the board within seven days. The board shall notify all permissible users associated with the delegated agent or employee of the alleged violation.

(o) A permissible user who delegates access to the data submitted under subdivision 4 to an agent or employee shall terminate that individual's access to the data within three business days of the agent or employee leaving employment with the permissible user. The board may conduct random audits to determine compliance with this requirement.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.

Sec. 37. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 214.025, is amended to read:

214.025 COUNCIL OF HEALTH BOARDS.

221.1

221.2

221.3

221.4

221.5

221.6

221.7

221.8

221.9

221.10

221.11

221.12

221.13

221.14

221.15

221.17

221.19

221.20

221.21

221.22

221.23

221.24

221 25

221.27

The health-related licensing boards may establish a Council of Health Boards consisting of representatives of the health-related licensing boards and the Emergency Medical Services Regulatory Board. When reviewing legislation or legislative proposals relating to the regulation of health occupations, the council shall include the commissioner of health or a designee and the director of the Office of Emergency Medical Services or a designee.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.

Sec. 38. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 214.04, subdivision 2a, is amended to read:

Subd. 2a. **Performance of executive directors.** The governor may request that a health-related licensing board or the Emergency Medical Services Regulatory Board review the performance of the board's executive director. Upon receipt of the request, the board must respond by establishing a performance improvement plan or taking disciplinary or other corrective action, including dismissal. The board shall include the governor's representative as a voting member of the board in the board's discussions and decisions regarding the governor's request. The board shall report to the governor on action taken by the board, including an explanation if no action is deemed necessary.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.

Sec. 39. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 214.29, is amended to read:

214.29 PROGRAM REQUIRED.

Each health-related licensing board, including the Emergency Medical Services

Regulatory Board under chapter 144E, shall either conduct a health professionals service

program under sections 214.31 to 214.37 or contract for a diversion program under section

214.28.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.

Sec. 40. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 214.31, is amended to read:

214.31 AUTHORITY.

- Two or more of the health-related licensing boards listed in section 214.01, subdivision 222.4 2, may jointly conduct a health professionals services program to protect the public from 222.5 persons regulated by the boards who are unable to practice with reasonable skill and safety 222.6 by reason of illness, use of alcohol, drugs, chemicals, or any other materials, or as a result 222.7 222.8 of any mental, physical, or psychological condition. The program does not affect a board's authority to discipline violations of a board's practice act. For purposes of sections 214.31 222.9 to 214.37, the emergency medical services regulatory board shall be included in the definition 222.10 of a health-related licensing board under chapter 144E. 222.11
- 222.12 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2025.
- Sec. 41. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 214.355, is amended to read:
- 222.14 214.355 GROUNDS FOR DISCIPLINARY ACTION.
- Each health-related licensing board, including the Emergency Medical Services

 Regulatory Board under chapter 144E, shall consider it grounds for disciplinary action if a
 regulated person violates the terms of the health professionals services program participation
 agreement or leaves the program except upon fulfilling the terms for successful completion
 of the program as set forth in the participation agreement.
- 222.20 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2025.
- Sec. 42. INITIAL MEMBERS AND FIRST MEETING; EMERGENCY MEDICAL
- 222.22 **SERVICES ADVISORY COUNCIL.**
- (a) Initial appointments of members to the Emergency Medical Services Advisory
- 222.24 Council must be made by January 1, 2025. The terms of initial appointees shall be determined
- by lot by the secretary of state and shall be as follows:
- 222.26 (1) eight members shall serve two-year terms; and
- 222.27 (2) eight members shall serve three-year terms.
- (b) The medical director appointee must convene the first meeting of the Emergency
- 222.29 Medical Services Advisory Council by February 1, 2025.

223.1	Sec. 43. INITIAL MEMBERS AND FIRST MEETING; EMERGENCY MEDICAL
223.2	SERVICES PHYSICIAN ADVISORY COUNCIL.
223.3	(a) Initial appointments of members to the Emergency Medical Services Physician
223.4	Advisory Council must be made by January 1, 2025. The terms of initial appointees shall
223.5	be determined by lot by the secretary of state and shall be as follows:
223.6	(1) five members shall serve two-year terms;
223.7	(2) five members shall serve three-year terms; and
223.8	(3) the term for the medical director appointee to the Emergency Medical Services
223.9	Physician Advisory Council shall coincide with that member's term on the Emergency
223.10	Medical Services Advisory Council.
223.11	(b) The medical director appointee must convene the first meeting of the Emergency
223.12	Medical Services Physician Advisory Council by February 1, 2025.
223.13	Sec. 44. <u>INITIAL MEMBERS AND FIRST MEETING; LABOR AND EMERGENCY</u>
223.14	MEDICAL SERVICE PROVIDERS ADVISORY COUNCIL.
223.15	(a) Initial appointments of members to the Labor and Emergency Medical Service
223.16	Providers Advisory Council must be made by January 1, 2025. The terms of initial appointees
223.17	shall be determined by lot by the secretary of state and shall be as follows:
223.18	(1) six members shall serve two-year terms; and
223.19	(2) seven members shall serve three-year terms.
223.20	(b) The emergency medical technician instructor appointee must convene the first meeting
223.21	of the Labor and Emergency Medical Service Providers Advisory Council by February 1,
223.22	<u>2025.</u>
223.23	Sec. 45. TRANSITION.
222.24	
223.24 223.25	Subdivision 1. Appointment of director; operation of office. No later than October 1, 2024, the governor shall appoint a director-designee of the Office of Emergency Medical
223.26	Services. The individual appointed as the director-designee of the Office of Emergency
223.20	Medical Services shall become the governor's appointee as director of the Office of
223.27	Emergency Medical Services on January 1, 2025. Effective January 1, 2025, the
223.29	responsibilities to regulate emergency medical services in Minnesota under Minnesota
	Statutes chapter 144E and Minnesota Rules chapter 4690 are transferred from the
// 1 311	- CHARLES AND DATE OF THE AREA OF THE SAME AND A STRUCK OF THE HARMAN HELD THE HARMAN THE

224.1	Emergency Medical Services Regulatory Board to the Office of Emergency Medical Services
224.2	and the director of the Office of Emergency Medical Services.
224.3	Subd. 2. Transfer of responsibilities. Minnesota Statutes, section 15.039, applies to
224.4	the transfer of responsibilities from the Emergency Medical Services Regulatory Board to
224.5	the Office of Emergency Medical Services required by this act. The commissioner of
224.6	administration, with the approval of the governor, may issue reorganization orders under
224.7	Minnesota Statutes, section 16B.37, as necessary to carry out the transfer of responsibilities
224.8	required by this act. The provision of Minnesota Statutes, section 16B.37, subdivision 1,
224.9	which states that transfers under that section may be made only to an agency that has been
224.10	in existence for at least one year, does not apply to transfers in this act to the Office of
224.11	Emergency Medical Services.
224.12	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.
224.13	Sec. 46. <u>REVISOR INSTRUCTION.</u>
224.14	(a) In Minnesota Statutes, chapter 144E, the revisor of statutes shall replace "board"
224.15	with "director"; "board's" with "director's"; "Emergency Medical Services Regulatory Board"
224.16	or "Minnesota Emergency Medical Services Regulatory Board" with "director"; and
224.17	"board-approved" with "director-approved," except that:
224.18	(1) in Minnesota Statutes, section 144E.11, the revisor of statutes shall not modify the
224.19	term "county board," "community health board," or "community health boards";
224.20	(2) in Minnesota Statutes, sections 144E.40, subdivision 2; 144E.42, subdivision 2;
224.21	144E.44; and 144E.45, subdivision 2, the revisor of statutes shall not modify the term "State
224.22	Board of Investment"; and
224.23	(3) in Minnesota Statutes, sections 144E.50 and 144E.52, the revisor of statutes shall
224.24	not modify the term "regional emergency medical services board," "regional board," "regional
224.25	emergency medical services board's," or "regional boards."
224.26	(b) In the following sections of Minnesota Statutes, the revisor of statutes shall replace
224.27	"Emergency Medical Services Regulatory Board" with "director of the Office of Emergency
224.28	Medical Services": sections 13.717, subdivision 10; 62J.49, subdivision 2; 144.604; 144.608;
224.29	147.09; 156.12, subdivision 2; 169.686, subdivision 3; and 299A.41, subdivision 4.
224.30	(c) In the following sections of Minnesota Statutes, the revisor of statutes shall replace
224.31	"Emergency Medical Services Regulatory Board" with "Office of Emergency Medical
224.32	Services": sections 144.603 and 161.045, subdivision 3.

04/24/24	SENATEE	T D	SS4699R
14/74/74	SHNAIHH	LB	V ZAKUUR
UT/ 4T/ 4T	SLIMILL	LD	DOTUZZI

225.1	(d) In making the changes specified in this section, the revisor of statutes may make
225.2	technical and other necessary changes to sentence structure to preserve the meaning of the
225.3	<u>text.</u>
225.4	Sec. 47. REPEALER.
225.5	(a) Minnesota Statutes 2022, sections 144E.001, subdivision 5; 144E.01; 144E.123,
225.6	subdivision 5; and 144E.50, subdivision 3, are repealed.
225.7	(b) Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144E.27, subdivisions 1 and 1a, are repealed.
225.8	EFFECTIVE DATE. Paragraph (a) is effective January 1, 2025.
225.9	ARTICLE 8
225.10	PHARMACY BOARD AND PRACTICE
225.11	Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 62Q.46, subdivision 1, is amended
225.12	to read:
225.13	Subdivision 1. Coverage for preventive items and services. (a) "Preventive items and
225.14	services" has the meaning specified in the Affordable Care Act. Preventive items and services
225.15	includes:
225.16	(1) evidence-based items or services that have in effect a rating of A or B in the current
225.17	recommendations of the United States Preventive Services Task Force with respect to the
225.18	individual involved;
225.19	(2) immunizations for routine use in children, adolescents, and adults that have in effect
225.20	a recommendation from the Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices of the Centers
225.21	for Disease Control and Prevention with respect to the individual involved. For purposes
225.22	of this clause, a recommendation from the Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices
225.23	of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention is considered in effect after the
225.24	recommendation has been adopted by the Director of the Centers for Disease Control and
225.25	Prevention, and a recommendation is considered to be for routine use if the recommendation
225.26	is listed on the Immunization Schedules of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention;
225.27	(3) with respect to infants, children, and adolescents, evidence-informed preventive care
225.28	and screenings provided for in comprehensive guidelines supported by the Health Resources
225.29	and Services Administration;
225.30	(4) with respect to women, additional preventive care and screenings that are not listed
225.31	with a rating of A or B by the United States Preventive Services Task Force but that are

provided for in comprehensive guidelines supported by the Health Resources and Services 226.1 Administration; 226.2

- (5) all contraceptive methods established in guidelines published by the United States Food and Drug Administration;
- 226.5 (6) screenings for human immunodeficiency virus for:

226.3

226.4

226.9

226.11

226.19

226.21

226.22

226.23

226.24

226.25

226.27

226.28

- (i) all individuals at least 15 years of age but less than 65 years of age; and 226.6
- 226.7 (ii) all other individuals with increased risk of human immunodeficiency virus infection according to guidance from the Centers for Disease Control; 226.8
- (7) all preexposure prophylaxis when used for the prevention or treatment of human immunodeficiency virus, including but not limited to all preexposure prophylaxis, as defined 226.10 in any guidance by the United States Preventive Services Task Force or the Centers for Disease Control, including the June 11, 2019, Preexposure Prophylaxis for the Prevention 226.12 of HIV Infection United States Preventive Services Task Force Recommendation Statement; 226.13 and 226.14
- (8) all postexposure prophylaxis when used for the prevention or treatment of human 226.15 immunodeficiency virus, including but not limited to all postexposure prophylaxis as defined 226.16 in any guidance by the United States Preventive Services Task Force or the Centers for 226.17 Disease Control. 226.18
- (b) A health plan company must provide coverage for preventive items and services at a participating provider without imposing cost-sharing requirements, including a deductible, 226.20 coinsurance, or co-payment. Nothing in this section prohibits a health plan company that has a network of providers from excluding coverage or imposing cost-sharing requirements for preventive items or services that are delivered by an out-of-network provider.
 - (c) A health plan company is not required to provide coverage for any items or services specified in any recommendation or guideline described in paragraph (a) if the recommendation or guideline is no longer included as a preventive item or service as defined in paragraph (a). Annually, a health plan company must determine whether any additional items or services must be covered without cost-sharing requirements or whether any items or services are no longer required to be covered.
- (d) Nothing in this section prevents a health plan company from using reasonable medical 226.30 management techniques to determine the frequency, method, treatment, or setting for a 226.31 preventive item or service to the extent not specified in the recommendation or guideline. 226.32

227.1	(e) A health plan shall not require prior authorization or step therapy for preexposure
227.2	prophylaxis or postexposure prophylaxis, except that: if the United States Food and Drug
227.3	Administration has approved one or more therapeutic equivalents of a drug, device, or
227.4	product for the prevention of HIV, this paragraph does not require a health plan to cover
227.5	all of the therapeutically equivalent versions without prior authorization or step therapy, if
227.6	at least one therapeutically equivalent version is covered without prior authorization or step
227.7	therapy.
227.8	(e) (f) This section does not apply to grandfathered plans.
227.9	(f) (g) This section does not apply to plans offered by the Minnesota Comprehensive
227.10	Health Association.
227.11	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2026, and applies to health
227.12	plans offered, issued, or renewed on or after that date.
227.13	Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 151.01, subdivision 23, is amended to read:
227.14	Subd. 23. Practitioner. "Practitioner" means a licensed doctor of medicine, licensed
227.15	doctor of osteopathic medicine duly licensed to practice medicine, licensed doctor of
227.16	dentistry, licensed doctor of optometry, licensed podiatrist, licensed veterinarian, licensed
227.17	advanced practice registered nurse, or licensed physician assistant. For purposes of sections
227.18	151.15, subdivision 4; 151.211, subdivision 3; 151.252, subdivision 3; 151.37, subdivision
227.19	2, paragraph (b); and 151.461, "practitioner" also means a dental therapist authorized to
227.20	dispense and administer under chapter 150A. For purposes of sections 151.252, subdivision
227.21	3, and 151.461, "practitioner" also means a pharmacist authorized to prescribe
227.22	self-administered hormonal contraceptives, nicotine replacement medications, or opiate
227.23	antagonists under section 151.37, subdivision 14, 15, or 16, or authorized to prescribe drugs
227.24	to prevent the acquisition of human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) under section 151.37,
227.25	subdivision 17.
227.26	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.
227.27	Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 151.01, subdivision 27, is amended to read:
227.28	Subd. 27. Practice of pharmacy. "Practice of pharmacy" means:
227.29	(1) interpretation and evaluation of prescription drug orders;
227.30	(2) compounding, labeling, and dispensing drugs and devices (except labeling by a
227.31	manufacturer or packager of nonprescription drugs or commercially packaged legend drugs
227.32	and devices):

(3) participation in clinical interpretations and monitoring of drug therapy for assurance of safe and effective use of drugs, including the performance of ordering and performing laboratory tests that are waived under the federal Clinical Laboratory Improvement Act of 1988, United States Code, title 42, section 263a et seq., provided that a pharmacist may interpret the results of laboratory tests but may modify A pharmacist may collect specimens, interpret results, notify the patient of results, and refer the patient to other health care providers for follow-up care and may initiate, modify, or discontinue drug therapy only pursuant to a protocol or collaborative practice agreement. A pharmacist may delegate the authority to administer tests under this clause to a pharmacy technician or pharmacy intern. A pharmacy technician or pharmacy intern may perform tests authorized under this clause if the technician or intern is working under the direct supervision of a pharmacist;

- (4) participation in drug and therapeutic device selection; drug administration for first dosage and medical emergencies; intramuscular and subcutaneous drug administration under a prescription drug order; drug regimen reviews; and drug or drug-related research;
- (5) drug administration, through intramuscular and subcutaneous administration used to treat mental illnesses as permitted under the following conditions: 228.16
 - (i) upon the order of a prescriber and the prescriber is notified after administration is complete; or
 - (ii) pursuant to a protocol or collaborative practice agreement as defined by section 151.01, subdivisions 27b and 27c, and participation in the initiation, management, modification, administration, and discontinuation of drug therapy is according to the protocol or collaborative practice agreement between the pharmacist and a dentist, optometrist, physician, physician assistant, podiatrist, or veterinarian, or an advanced practice registered nurse authorized to prescribe, dispense, and administer under section 148.235. Any changes in drug therapy or medication administration made pursuant to a protocol or collaborative practice agreement must be documented by the pharmacist in the patient's medical record or reported by the pharmacist to a practitioner responsible for the patient's care;
 - (6) participation in administration of influenza vaccines and initiating, ordering, and administering influenza and COVID-19 or SARS-CoV-2 vaccines authorized or approved by the United States Food and Drug Administration related to COVID-19 or SARS-CoV-2 to all eligible individuals six three years of age and older and all other United States Food and Drug Administration approved vaccines to patients 13 six years of age and older by written protocol with a physician licensed under chapter 147, a physician assistant authorized to prescribe drugs under chapter 147A, or an advanced practice registered nurse authorized

228.1

228.2

228.3

228.4

228.5

228.6

228.7

228.8

228.9

228.10

228.11

228.12

228.13

228.14

228.15

228.17

228.18

228.19

228.20

228.21

228.22

228.23

228.24

228.25

228.26

228.27

228.28

228.29

228.30

228.31

228.32

229.1	to prescribe drugs under section 148.235, provided that according to the federal Advisory
229.2	Committee on Immunization Practices recommendation. A pharmacist may delegate the
229.3	authority to administer vaccines under this clause to a pharmacy technician or pharmacy
229.4	intern who has completed training in vaccine administration if:
229.5	(i) the protocol includes, at a minimum:
229.6	(A) the name, dose, and route of each vaccine that may be given;
229.7	(B) the patient population for whom the vaccine may be given;
229.8	(C) contraindications and precautions to the vaccine;
229.9	(D) the procedure for handling an adverse reaction;
229.10	(E) the name, signature, and address of the physician, physician assistant, or advanced
229.11	practice registered nurse;
229.12	(F) a telephone number at which the physician, physician assistant, or advanced practice
229.13	registered nurse can be contacted; and
229.14	(G) the date and time period for which the protocol is valid;
229.15	(ii) (i) the pharmacist has and the pharmacy technician or pharmacy intern have
229.16	successfully completed a program approved by the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy
229.17	Education (ACPE) specifically for the administration of immunizations or a program
229.18	approved by the board;
229.19	(iii) (ii) the pharmacist utilizes and the pharmacy technician or pharmacy intern utilize
229.20	the Minnesota Immunization Information Connection to assess the immunization status of
229.21	individuals prior to the administration of vaccines, except when administering influenza
229.22	vaccines to individuals age nine three and older;
229.23	(iv) (iii) the pharmacist reports the administration of the immunization to the Minnesota
229.24	Immunization Information Connection; and
229.25	(v) the pharmacist complies with guidelines for vaccines and immunizations established
229.26	by the federal Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices, except that a pharmacist
229.27	does not need to comply with those portions of the guidelines that establish immunization
229.28	schedules when administering a vaccine pursuant to a valid, patient-specific order issued
229.29	by a physician licensed under chapter 147, a physician assistant authorized to prescribe
229.30	drugs under chapter 147A, or an advanced practice registered nurse authorized to prescribe
229.31	drugs under section 148.235, provided that the order is consistent with the United States
229.32	Food and Drug Administration approved labeling of the vaccine;

230.1	(iv) if the patient is 18 years of age or younger, the pharmacist, pharmacy technician,
230.2	or pharmacy intern informs the patient and any adult caregiver accompanying the patient
230.3	of the importance of a well-child visit with a pediatrician or other licensed primary care
230.4	provider; and
230.5	(v) in the case of a pharmacy technician administering vaccinations while being
230.6	supervised by a licensed pharmacist, which supervision must be in-person and must not be
230.7	done through telehealth as defined under section 62A.673, subdivision 2:
230.8	(A) the pharmacist is readily and immediately available to the immunizing pharmacy
230.9	technician;
230.10	(B) the pharmacy technician has a current certificate in basic cardiopulmonary
230.11	resuscitation; and
230.12	(C) the pharmacy technician has completed a minimum of two hours of ACPE-approved,
230.13	immunization-related continuing pharmacy education as part of the pharmacy technician's
230.14	two-year continuing education schedule;
230.15	(7) participation in the initiation, management, modification, and discontinuation of
230.16	drug therapy according to a written protocol or collaborative practice agreement between:
230.17	(i) one or more pharmacists and one or more dentists, optometrists, physicians, physician
230.18	assistants, podiatrists, or veterinarians; or (ii) one or more pharmacists and one or more
230.19	physician assistants authorized to prescribe, dispense, and administer under chapter 147A,
230.20	or advanced practice registered nurses authorized to prescribe, dispense, and administer
230.21	under section 148.235. Any changes in drug therapy made pursuant to a protocol or
230.22	collaborative practice agreement must be documented by the pharmacist in the patient's
230.23	medical record or reported by the pharmacist to a practitioner responsible for the patient's
230.24	care;
230.25	(8) participation in the storage of drugs and the maintenance of records;
230.26	(9) patient counseling on therapeutic values, content, hazards, and uses of drugs and
230.27	devices;
230.28	(10) offering or performing those acts, services, operations, or transactions necessary
230.29	in the conduct, operation, management, and control of a pharmacy;
230.30	(11) participation in the initiation, management, modification, and discontinuation of
230.31	therapy with opiate antagonists, as defined in section 604A.04, subdivision 1, pursuant to:
230.32	(i) a written protocol as allowed under clause (7); or

(ii) a written protocol with a community health board medical consultant or a practitioner 231.1 designated by the commissioner of health, as allowed under section 151.37, subdivision 13; 231.2 (12) prescribing self-administered hormonal contraceptives; nicotine replacement 231.3 medications; and opiate antagonists for the treatment of an acute opiate overdose pursuant 231.4 231.5 to section 151.37, subdivision 14, 15, or 16; and (13) participation in the placement of drug monitoring devices according to a prescription, 231.6 protocol, or collaborative practice agreement. 231.7 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 151.01, subdivision 27, is amended to read: 231.8 Subd. 27. **Practice of pharmacy.** "Practice of pharmacy" means: 231.9 (1) interpretation and evaluation of prescription drug orders; 231.10 (2) compounding, labeling, and dispensing drugs and devices (except labeling by a 231.11 manufacturer or packager of nonprescription drugs or commercially packaged legend drugs 231.12 and devices); 231.13 231.14 (3) participation in clinical interpretations and monitoring of drug therapy for assurance 231.15 of safe and effective use of drugs, including the performance of laboratory tests that are waived under the federal Clinical Laboratory Improvement Act of 1988, United States Code, 231.16 title 42, section 263a et seq., provided that a pharmacist may interpret the results of laboratory 231.17 tests but may modify drug therapy only pursuant to a protocol or collaborative practice 231.18 agreement; 231.19 231.20 (4) participation in drug and therapeutic device selection; drug administration for first dosage and medical emergencies; intramuscular and subcutaneous drug administration under 231.21 a prescription drug order; drug regimen reviews; and drug or drug-related research; 231.22 (5) drug administration, through intramuscular and subcutaneous administration used 231.23 231.24 to treat mental illnesses as permitted under the following conditions: (i) upon the order of a prescriber and the prescriber is notified after administration is 231.25 231.26 complete; or (ii) pursuant to a protocol or collaborative practice agreement as defined by section 231.27 151.01, subdivisions 27b and 27c, and participation in the initiation, management, 231.28 modification, administration, and discontinuation of drug therapy is according to the protocol 231.29 or collaborative practice agreement between the pharmacist and a dentist, optometrist, 231.30 physician, physician assistant, podiatrist, or veterinarian, or an advanced practice registered 231.31 nurse authorized to prescribe, dispense, and administer under section 148.235. Any changes 231.32

in drug therapy or medication administration made pursuant to a protocol or collaborative practice agreement must be documented by the pharmacist in the patient's medical record or reported by the pharmacist to a practitioner responsible for the patient's care;

- (6) participation in administration of influenza vaccines and vaccines approved by the United States Food and Drug Administration related to COVID-19 or SARS-CoV-2 to all eligible individuals six years of age and older and all other vaccines to patients 13 years of age and older by written protocol with a physician licensed under chapter 147, a physician assistant authorized to prescribe drugs under chapter 147A, or an advanced practice registered nurse authorized to prescribe drugs under section 148.235, provided that:
- 232.10 (i) the protocol includes, at a minimum:

232.1

232.2

232.3

232.4

232.5

232.6

232.7

232.8

- (A) the name, dose, and route of each vaccine that may be given;
- (B) the patient population for whom the vaccine may be given;
- 232.13 (C) contraindications and precautions to the vaccine;
- (D) the procedure for handling an adverse reaction;
- 232.15 (E) the name, signature, and address of the physician, physician assistant, or advanced practice registered nurse;
- 232.17 (F) a telephone number at which the physician, physician assistant, or advanced practice registered nurse can be contacted; and
- 232.19 (G) the date and time period for which the protocol is valid;
- 232.20 (ii) the pharmacist has successfully completed a program approved by the Accreditation 232.21 Council for Pharmacy Education specifically for the administration of immunizations or a 232.22 program approved by the board;
- 232.23 (iii) the pharmacist utilizes the Minnesota Immunization Information Connection to 232.24 assess the immunization status of individuals prior to the administration of vaccines, except 232.25 when administering influenza vaccines to individuals age nine and older;
- 232.26 (iv) the pharmacist reports the administration of the immunization to the Minnesota 232.27 Immunization Information Connection; and
- (v) the pharmacist complies with guidelines for vaccines and immunizations established by the federal Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices, except that a pharmacist does not need to comply with those portions of the guidelines that establish immunization schedules when administering a vaccine pursuant to a valid, patient-specific order issued by a physician licensed under chapter 147, a physician assistant authorized to prescribe

drugs under chapter 147A, or an advanced practice registered nurse authorized to prescribe 233.1 drugs under section 148.235, provided that the order is consistent with the United States 233.2 233.3 Food and Drug Administration approved labeling of the vaccine; (7) participation in the initiation, management, modification, and discontinuation of 233.4 drug therapy according to a written protocol or collaborative practice agreement between: 233.5 (i) one or more pharmacists and one or more dentists, optometrists, physicians, physician 233.6 assistants, podiatrists, or veterinarians; or (ii) one or more pharmacists and one or more 233.7 233.8 physician assistants authorized to prescribe, dispense, and administer under chapter 147A, or advanced practice registered nurses authorized to prescribe, dispense, and administer 233.9 under section 148.235. Any changes in drug therapy made pursuant to a protocol or 233.10 collaborative practice agreement must be documented by the pharmacist in the patient's 233.11 medical record or reported by the pharmacist to a practitioner responsible for the patient's care; 233.13 (8) participation in the storage of drugs and the maintenance of records; 233.14 (9) patient counseling on therapeutic values, content, hazards, and uses of drugs and 233.15 devices; 233.16 (10) offering or performing those acts, services, operations, or transactions necessary 233.17 in the conduct, operation, management, and control of a pharmacy; 233.18 (11) participation in the initiation, management, modification, and discontinuation of 233.19 therapy with opiate antagonists, as defined in section 604A.04, subdivision 1, pursuant to: 233.20 (i) a written protocol as allowed under clause (7); or 233.21 (ii) a written protocol with a community health board medical consultant or a practitioner 233.22 designated by the commissioner of health, as allowed under section 151.37, subdivision 13; 233.23 (12) prescribing self-administered hormonal contraceptives; nicotine replacement 233.24 medications; and opiate antagonists for the treatment of an acute opiate overdose pursuant 233.25 to section 151.37, subdivision 14, 15, or 16; and 233.26 233.27 (13) participation in the placement of drug monitoring devices according to a prescription, protocol, or collaborative practice agreement-; 233.28 (14) prescribing, dispensing, and administering drugs for preventing the acquisition of 233.29 human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) if the pharmacist meets the requirements in section 233.30 151.37, subdivision 17; and 233.31

(15) ordering, conducting, and interpreting laboratory tests necessary for therapies that 234.1 use drugs for preventing the acquisition of HIV, if the pharmacist meets the requirements 234.2 234.3 in section 151.37, subdivision 17. **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2025. 234.4 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 151.065, is amended by adding a subdivision to 234.5 read: 234.6 Subd. 4a. Application and fee; relocation. A person who is registered with or licensed 234.7 by the board must submit a new application to the board before relocating the physical 234.8 location of the person's business. An application must be submitted for each affected license. 234.9 The application must set forth the proposed change of location on a form established by the 234.11 board. If the licensee or registrant remitted payment for the full amount during the state's fiscal year, the relocation application fee is the same as the application fee in subdivision 234.12 1, except that the fees in clauses (6) to (9) and (11) to (16) are reduced by \$5,000 and the 234.13 fee in clause (16) is reduced by \$55,000. If the application is made within 60 days before 234.14 the date of the original license or registration expiration, the applicant must pay the full 234.15 application fee provided in subdivision 1. Upon approval of an application for a relocation, the board shall issue a new license or registration. 234.17 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 151.065, is amended by adding a subdivision to 234.18 234.19 read: Subd. 4b. Application and fee; change of ownership. A person who is registered with 234.20 or licensed by the board must submit a new application to the board before changing the 234.21 ownership of the licensee or registrant. An application must be submitted for each affected 234.22 license. The application must set forth the proposed change of ownership on a form 234.23 established by the board. If the licensee or registrant remitted payment for the full amount 234.24 during the state's fiscal year, the application fee is the same as the application fee in 234.25 subdivision 1, except that the fees in clauses (6) to (9) and (11) to (16) are reduced by \$5,000 234.26 234.27 and the fee in clause (16) is reduced by \$55,000. If the application is made within 60 days before the date of the original license or registration expiration, the applicant must pay the 234.28 full application fee provided in subdivision 1. Upon approval of an application for a change 234.29 of ownership, the board shall issue a new license or registration. 234.30

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 151.065, is amended by adding a subdivision to 235.1 read: 235.2 Subd. 8. Transfer of licenses. Licenses and registrations granted by the board are not 235.3 transferable. 235.4 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 151.066, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 235.5 Subdivision 1. **Definitions.** (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have 235.6 the meanings given to them in this subdivision. 235.7 (b) "Manufacturer" means a manufacturer licensed under section 151.252 that is engaged 235.8 in the manufacturing of an opiate, excluding those exclusively licensed to manufacture 235.9 medical gas. 235.10 (c) "Opiate" means any opiate-containing controlled substance listed in section 152.02, 235.11 subdivisions 3 to 5, that is distributed, delivered, sold, or dispensed into or within this state. 235.12 235.13 (d) "Third-party logistics provider" means a third-party logistics provider licensed under section 151.471. 235.14 235.15 (e) "Wholesaler" means a wholesale drug distributor licensed under section 151.47 that is engaged in the wholesale drug distribution of an opiate, excluding those exclusively 235.16 licensed to distribute medical gas. 235.17 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 151.066, subdivision 2, is amended to read: 235.18 Subd. 2. Reporting requirements. (a) By March 1 of each year, beginning March 1, 235.19 2020, each manufacturer and each wholesaler must report to the board every sale, delivery, 235 20 or other distribution within or into this state of any opiate that is made to any practitioner, 235.21 pharmacy, hospital, veterinary hospital, or other person who is permitted by section 151.37 235.22 to possess controlled substances for administration or dispensing to patients that occurred during the previous calendar year. Reporting must be in the automation of reports and consolidated orders system format unless otherwise specified by the board. If no reportable 235.25 distributions occurred for a given year, notification must be provided to the board in a 235.26 manner specified by the board. If a manufacturer or wholesaler fails to provide information 235.27 required under this paragraph on a timely basis, the board may assess an administrative 235.28 penalty of \$500 per day. This penalty shall not be considered a form of disciplinary action. 235.29 (b) By March 1 of each year, beginning March 1, 2020, each owner of a pharmacy with 235.30 at least one location within this state must report to the board any intracompany delivery 235.31 or distribution into this state, of any opiate, to the extent that those deliveries and distributions 235.32

are not reported to the board by a licensed wholesaler owned by, under contract to, or otherwise operating on behalf of the owner of the pharmacy. Reporting must be in the manner and format specified by the board for deliveries and distributions that occurred during the previous calendar year. The report must include the name of the manufacturer or wholesaler from which the owner of the pharmacy ultimately purchased the opiate, and the amount and date that the purchase occurred.

- (c) By March 1 of each year, beginning March 1, 2025, each third-party logistics provider must report to the board any delivery or distribution into this state of any opiate, to the extent that those deliveries and distributions are not reported to the board by a licensed wholesaler or manufacturer. Reporting must be in the manner and format specified by the board for deliveries and distributions that occurred during the previous calendar year.
- Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 151.066, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
- Subd. 3. **Determination of an opiate product registration fee.** (a) The board shall annually assess an opiate product registration fee on any manufacturer of an opiate that annually sells, delivers, or distributes an opiate within or into the state <u>in a quantity of</u> 2,000,000 or more units as reported to the board under subdivision 2.
 - (b) For purposes of assessing the annual registration fee under this section and determining the number of opiate units a manufacturer sold, delivered, or distributed within or into the state, the board shall not consider any opiate that is used for substance use disorder treatment with medications for opioid use disorder.
- 236.21 (c) The annual registration fee for each manufacturer meeting the requirement under paragraph (a) is \$250,000.
- (d) In conjunction with the data reported under this section, and notwithstanding section 152.126, subdivision 6, the board may use the data reported under section 152.126, subdivision 4, to determine which manufacturers meet the requirement under paragraph (a) and are required to pay the registration fees under this subdivision.
 - (e) By April 1 of each year, beginning April 1, 2020, the board shall notify a manufacturer that the manufacturer meets the requirement in paragraph (a) and is required to pay the annual registration fee in accordance with section 151.252, subdivision 1, paragraph (b).
 - (f) A manufacturer may dispute the board's determination that the manufacturer must pay the registration fee no later than 30 days after the date of notification. However, the manufacturer must still remit the fee as required by section 151.252, subdivision 1, paragraph (b). The dispute must be filed with the board in the manner and using the forms specified

236.1

236.2

236.3

236.4

236.5

236.6

236.7

236.8

236.9

236.10

236.11

236.17

236.18

236.19

236.20

236.27

236.28

236.29

236.30

236.31

236.32

by the board. A manufacturer must submit, with the required forms, data satisfactory to the 237.1 board that demonstrates that the assessment of the registration fee was incorrect. The board 237.2 237.3 must make a decision concerning a dispute no later than 60 days after receiving the required dispute forms. If the board determines that the manufacturer has satisfactorily demonstrated 237.4 that the fee was incorrectly assessed, the board must refund the amount paid in error. 237.5 (g) For purposes of this subdivision, a unit means the individual dosage form of the 237.6 particular drug product that is prescribed to the patient. One unit equals one tablet, capsule, 237.7 patch, syringe, milliliter, or gram. 237.8 (h) For the purposes of this subdivision, an opiate's units will be assigned to the 237.9 237.10 manufacturer holding the New Drug Application (NDA) or Abbreviated New Drug Application (ANDA), as listed by the United States Food and Drug Administration. 237.11 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 151.212, is amended by adding a subdivision 237.12 to read: 237.13 Subd. 4. Accessible prescription drug container labels. (a) A pharmacy must inform 237.14 each patient for whom a prescription drug is dispensed that an accessible prescription drug 237.15 container label is available to any patient who identifies as a person who is blind, visually 237.16 impaired, or otherwise disabled, upon request of the patient or the patient's representative, 237.17 at no additional cost. 237.18 (b) If a patient requests an accessible container label, the pharmacy shall provide the 237.19 patient with an audible, large print, or braille prescription drug container label depending 237.20 on the need and preference of the patient. 237.21 237.22 (c) The accessible container label must: (1) be affixed on the container; 237.23 (2) be available in a timely manner comparable to other patient wait time; 237.24 (3) last for at least the duration of the prescription; 237.25 237.26 (4) conform with the format-specific best practices established by the United States Access Board; 237.27 (5) contain the information required under subdivisions 1 and 2; and 237.28 (6) be compatible with a prescription reader if a reader is provided. 237.29 237.30 (d) This subdivision does not apply to prescription drugs dispensed and administered by a correctional institution. 237.31

238.1	(e) For purposes of this subdivision, "prescription reader" means a device that is designed
238.2	to audibly convey the information contained on the label of a prescription drug container.
238.3	Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 151.37, is amended by adding a subdivision to
238.4	read:
238.5	Subd. 17. Drugs for preventing the acquisition of HIV. (a) A pharmacist is authorized
238.6	to prescribe and administer drugs to prevent the acquisition of human immunodeficiency
238.7	virus (HIV) in accordance with this subdivision.
238.8	(b) By January 1, 2025, the Board of Pharmacy shall develop a standardized protocol
238.9	for a pharmacist to follow in prescribing the drugs described in paragraph (a). In developing
238.10	the protocol, the board may consult with community health advocacy groups, the Board of
238.11	Medical Practice, the Board of Nursing, the commissioner of health, professional pharmacy
238.12	associations, and professional associations for physicians, physician assistants, and advanced
238.13	practice registered nurses.
238.14	(c) Before a pharmacist is authorized to prescribe a drug described in paragraph (a), the
238.15	pharmacist must successfully complete a training program specifically developed for
238.16	prescribing drugs for preventing the acquisition of HIV that is offered by a college of
238.17	pharmacy, a continuing education provider that is accredited by the Accreditation Council
238.18	for Pharmacy Education, or a program approved by the board. To maintain authorization
238.19	to prescribe, the pharmacist shall complete continuing education requirements as specified
238.20	by the board.
238.21	(d) Before prescribing a drug described in paragraph (a), the pharmacist shall follow the
238.22	appropriate standardized protocol developed under paragraph (b) and, if appropriate, may
238.23	dispense to a patient a drug described in paragraph (a).
238.24	(e) Before dispensing a drug described in paragraph (a) that is prescribed by the
238.25	pharmacist, the pharmacist must provide counseling to the patient on the use of the drugs
238.26	and must provide the patient with a fact sheet that includes the indications and
238.27	contraindications for the use of these drugs, the appropriate method for using these drugs,
238.28	the need for medical follow up, and any additional information listed in Minnesota Rules,
238.29	part 6800.0910, subpart 2, that is required to be provided to a patient during the counseling
238.30	process.
238.31	(f) A pharmacist is prohibited from delegating the prescribing authority provided under
238.32	this subdivision to any other person. A pharmacist intern registered under section 151.101
238.33	may prepare the prescription, but before the prescription is processed or dispensed, a

239.1	pharmacist authorized to prescribe under this subdivision must review, approve, and sign
239.2	the prescription.
239.3	(g) Nothing in this subdivision prohibits a pharmacist from participating in the initiation,
239.4	management, modification, and discontinuation of drug therapy according to a protocol as
239.5	authorized in this section and in section 151.01, subdivision 27.
239.6	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025, except that paragraph
239.7	(b) is effective the day following final enactment.
239.8	Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 151.555, subdivision 1, is amended
239.9	to read:
239.10	Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For the purposes of this section, the terms defined in this
239.11	subdivision have the meanings given.
239.12	(b) "Central repository" means a wholesale distributor that meets the requirements under
239.13	subdivision 3 and enters into a contract with the Board of Pharmacy in accordance with this
239.14	section.
239.15	(c) "Distribute" means to deliver, other than by administering or dispensing.
239.16	(d) "Donor" means:
239.17	(1) a health care facility as defined in this subdivision an individual at least 18 years of
239.18	age, provided that the drug or medical supply that is donated was obtained legally and meets
239.19	the requirements of this section for donation; or
239.20	(2) a skilled nursing facility licensed under chapter 144A; any entity legally authorized
239.21	to possess medicine with a license or permit in good standing in the state in which it is
239.22	located, without further restrictions, including but not limited to a health care facility, skilled
239.23	nursing facility, assisted living facility, pharmacy, wholesaler, and drug manufacturer.
239.24	(3) an assisted living facility licensed under chapter 144G;
239.25	(4) a pharmacy licensed under section 151.19, and located either in the state or outside
239.26	the state;
239.27	(5) a drug wholesaler licensed under section 151.47;
239.28	(6) a drug manufacturer licensed under section 151.252; or
239.29	(7) an individual at least 18 years of age, provided that the drug or medical supply that
239.30	is donated was obtained legally and meets the requirements of this section for donation.

(e) "Drug" means any prescription drug that has been approved for medical use in the United States, is listed in the United States Pharmacopoeia or National Formulary, and meets the criteria established under this section for donation; or any over-the-counter medication that meets the criteria established under this section for donation. This definition includes cancer drugs and antirejection drugs, but does not include controlled substances, as defined in section 152.01, subdivision 4, or a prescription drug that can only be dispensed to a patient registered with the drug's manufacturer in accordance with federal Food and Drug Administration requirements.

(f) "Health care facility" means:

240.1

240.2

240.3

240.4

240.5

240.6

240.7

240.8

- 240.10 (1) a physician's office or health care clinic where licensed practitioners provide health care to patients;
- 240.12 (2) a hospital licensed under section 144.50;
- 240.13 (3) a pharmacy licensed under section 151.19 and located in Minnesota; or
- 240.14 (4) a nonprofit community clinic, including a federally qualified health center; a rural 240.15 health clinic; public health clinic; or other community clinic that provides health care utilizing 240.16 a sliding fee scale to patients who are low-income, uninsured, or underinsured.
- 240.17 (g) "Local repository" means a health care facility that elects to accept donated drugs 240.18 and medical supplies and meets the requirements of subdivision 4.
- 240.19 (h) "Medical supplies" or "supplies" means any prescription or nonprescription medical supplies needed to administer a drug.
- (i) "Original, sealed, unopened, tamper-evident packaging" means packaging that is sealed, unopened, and tamper-evident, including a manufacturer's original unit dose or unit-of-use container, a repackager's original unit dose or unit-of-use container, or unit-dose packaging prepared by a licensed pharmacy according to the standards of Minnesota Rules, part 6800.3750.
- 240.26 (j) "Practitioner" has the meaning given in section 151.01, subdivision 23, except that 240.27 it does not include a veterinarian.
- Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 151.555, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
- Subd. 4. **Local repository requirements.** (a) To be eligible for participation in the medication repository program, a health care facility must agree to comply with all applicable federal and state laws, rules, and regulations pertaining to the medication repository program,

drug storage, and dispensing. The facility must also agree to maintain in good standing any required state license or registration that may apply to the facility.

- (b) A local repository may elect to participate in the program by submitting the following information to the central repository on a form developed by the board and made available on the board's website:
- 241.6 (1) the name, street address, and telephone number of the health care facility and any 241.7 state-issued license or registration number issued to the facility, including the issuing state 241.8 agency;
- (2) the name and telephone number of a responsible pharmacist or practitioner who is employed by or under contract with the health care facility; and
- (3) a statement signed and dated by the responsible pharmacist or practitioner indicating that the health care facility meets the eligibility requirements under this section and agrees to comply with this section.
- (c) Participation in the medication repository program is voluntary. A local repository may withdraw from participation in the medication repository program at any time by providing written notice to the central repository on a form developed by the board and made available on the board's website. The central repository shall provide the board with a copy of the withdrawal notice within ten business days from the date of receipt of the withdrawal notice.
- Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 151.555, subdivision 5, is amended to read:
- Subd. 5. Individual eligibility and application requirements. (a) To be eligible for
 the medication repository program At the time of or before receiving donated drugs or
 supplies as a new eligible patient, an individual must submit to a local repository an electronic
 or physical intake application form that is signed by the individual and attests that the
 individual:
- 241.27 (1) is a resident of Minnesota;

241.1

241.2

241.3

241.4

- (2) is uninsured and is not enrolled in the medical assistance program under chapter
 241.29 256B or the MinnesotaCare program under chapter 256L, has no prescription drug coverage,
 or is underinsured;
- 241.31 (3) acknowledges that the drugs or medical supplies to be received through the program
 241.32 may have been donated; and

242.1	(4) consents to a waiver of the child-resistant packaging requirements of the federal
242.2	Poison Prevention Packaging Act.
242.3	(b) Upon determining that an individual is eligible for the program, the local repository
242.4	shall furnish the individual with an identification card. The card shall be valid for one year
242.5	from the date of issuance and may be used at any local repository. A new identification card
242.6	may be issued upon expiration once the individual submits a new application form.
242.7	(e) (b) The local repository shall send a copy of the intake application form to the central
242.8	repository by regular mail, facsimile, or secured email within ten days from the date the
242.9	application is approved by the local repository.
242.10	(d) (c) The board shall develop and make available on the board's website an application
242.11	form and the format for the identification card.
242.12	Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 151.555, subdivision 6, is amended
242.13	to read:
242.14	Subd. 6. Standards and procedures for accepting donations of drugs and supplies. (a)
242.15	Notwithstanding any other law or rule, a donor may donate drugs or medical supplies to
242.16	the central repository or a local repository if the drug or supply meets the requirements of
242.17	this section as determined by a pharmacist or practitioner who is employed by or under
242.18	contract with the central repository or a local repository.
242.19	(b) A drug is eligible for donation under the medication repository program if the
242.20	following requirements are met:
242.21	(1) the donation is accompanied by a medication repository donor form described under
242.22	paragraph (d) that is signed by an individual who is authorized by the donor to attest to the
242.23	donor's knowledge in accordance with paragraph (d);
242.24	(2) (1) the drug's expiration date is at least six months after the date the drug was donated.
242.25	If a donated drug bears an expiration date that is less than six months from the donation
242.26	date, the drug may be accepted and distributed if the drug is in high demand and can be
242.27	dispensed for use by a patient before the drug's expiration date;
242.28	(3)(2) the drug is in its original, sealed, unopened, tamper-evident packaging that includes
242.29	the expiration date. Single-unit-dose drugs may be accepted if the single-unit-dose packaging
242.30	is unopened;
242.31	(4) (3) the drug or the packaging does not have any physical signs of tampering,
242.32	misbranding, deterioration, compromised integrity, or adulteration;

243.1	(5) (4) the drug does not require storage temperatures other than normal room temperature
243.2	as specified by the manufacturer or United States Pharmacopoeia, unless the drug is being
243.3	donated directly by its manufacturer, a wholesale drug distributor, or a pharmacy located
243.4	in Minnesota; and
243.5	$\frac{(6)}{(5)}$ the drug is not a controlled substance.
243.6	(c) A medical supply is eligible for donation under the medication repository program
243.7	if the following requirements are met:
243.8	(1) the supply has no physical signs of tampering, misbranding, or alteration and there
243.9	is no reason to believe it has been adulterated, tampered with, or misbranded;
243.10	(2) the supply is in its original, unopened, sealed packaging; and
243.11	(3) the donation is accompanied by a medication repository donor form described under
243.12	paragraph (d) that is signed by an individual who is authorized by the donor to attest to the
243.13	donor's knowledge in accordance with paragraph (d); and
243.14	(4) (3) if the supply bears an expiration date, the date is at least six months later than
243.15	the date the supply was donated. If the donated supply bears an expiration date that is less
243.16	than six months from the date the supply was donated, the supply may be accepted and
243.17	distributed if the supply is in high demand and can be dispensed for use by a patient before
243.18	the supply's expiration date.
243.19	(d) The board shall develop the medication repository donor form and make it available
243.20	on the board's website. The form must state that to the best of the donor's knowledge the
243.21	donated drug or supply has been properly stored under appropriate temperature and humidity
243.22	conditions and that the drug or supply has never been opened, used, tampered with,
243.23	adulterated, or misbranded. Prior to the first donation from a new donor, a central repository
243.24	or local repository shall verify and record the following information on the donor form:
243.25	(1) the donor's name, address, phone number, and license number, if applicable;
243.26	(2) that the donor will only make donations in accordance with the program;
243.27	(3) to the best of the donor's knowledge, only drugs or supplies that have been properly
243.28	stored under appropriate temperature and humidity conditions will be donated; and
243.29	(4) to the best of the donor's knowledge, only drugs or supplies that have never been
243.30	opened, used, tampered with, adulterated, or misbranded will be donated.
243.31	(e) Notwithstanding any other law or rule, a central repository or a local repository may
243.32	receive donated drugs from donors. Donated drugs and supplies may be shipped or delivered

to the premises of the central repository or a local repository, and shall be inspected by a pharmacist or an authorized practitioner who is employed by or under contract with the repository and who has been designated by the repository to accept donations prior to dispensing. A drop box must not be used to deliver or accept donations.

- (f) The central repository and local repository shall maintain a written or electronic inventory of all drugs and supplies donated to the repository upon acceptance of each drug or supply. For each drug, the inventory must include the drug's name, strength, quantity, manufacturer, expiration date, and the date the drug was donated. For each medical supply, the inventory must include a description of the supply, its manufacturer, the date the supply was donated, and, if applicable, the supply's brand name and expiration date. The board may waive the requirement under this paragraph if an entity is under common ownership or control with a central repository or local repository and either the entity or the repository maintains an inventory containing all the information required under this paragraph.
- 244.14 Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 151.555, subdivision 7, is amended to read: 244.15
 - Subd. 7. Standards and procedures for inspecting and storing donated drugs and supplies. (a) A pharmacist or authorized practitioner who is employed by or under contract with the central repository or a local repository shall inspect all donated drugs and supplies before the drug or supply is dispensed to determine, to the extent reasonably possible in the professional judgment of the pharmacist or practitioner, that the drug or supply is not adulterated or misbranded, has not been tampered with, is safe and suitable for dispensing, has not been subject to a recall, and meets the requirements for donation. The pharmacist or practitioner who inspects the drugs or supplies shall sign an inspection record stating that the requirements for donation have been met. If a local repository receives drugs and supplies from the central repository, the local repository does not need to reinspect the drugs and supplies.
 - (b) The central repository and local repositories shall store donated drugs and supplies in a secure storage area under environmental conditions appropriate for the drug or supply being stored. Donated drugs and supplies may not be stored with nondonated inventory.
- (c) The central repository and local repositories shall dispose of all drugs and medical supplies that are not suitable for donation in compliance with applicable federal and state statutes, regulations, and rules concerning hazardous waste. 244.32
- (d) In the event that controlled substances or drugs that can only be dispensed to a patient 244.33 registered with the drug's manufacturer are shipped or delivered to a central or local repository 244.34

244.1

244.2

244.3

244.4

244.5

244.6

244.7

244.8

244.9

244.10

244.11

244.12

244.13

244.16

244.17

244.18

244.19

244.20

244.21

244.22

244.23

244.24

244.25

244.26

244.27

244.28

244.29

244.30

for donation, the shipment delivery must be documented by the repository and returned immediately to the donor or the donor's representative that provided the drugs.

- (e) Each repository must develop drug and medical supply recall policies and procedures. If a repository receives a recall notification, the repository shall destroy all of the drug or medical supply in its inventory that is the subject of the recall and complete a record of destruction form in accordance with paragraph (f). If a drug or medical supply that is the subject of a Class I or Class II recall has been dispensed, the repository shall immediately notify the recipient of the recalled drug or medical supply. A drug that potentially is subject to a recall need not be destroyed if its packaging bears a lot number and that lot of the drug is not subject to the recall. If no lot number is on the drug's packaging, it must be destroyed.
- (f) A record of destruction of donated drugs and supplies that are not dispensed under subdivision 8, are subject to a recall under paragraph (e), or are not suitable for donation shall be maintained by the repository for at least two years. For each drug or supply destroyed, the record shall include the following information:
- (1) the date of destruction; 245.15

245.1

245.2

245.3

245.4

245.5

245.6

245.7

245.8

245.9

245.10

245.11

245.12

245.13

245.14

245.21

245.23

245.24

245.26

245.27

245.28

245.29

245.30

245.31

245.32

- (2) the name, strength, and quantity of the drug destroyed; and 245.16
- (3) the name of the person or firm that destroyed the drug. 245.17
- No other record of destruction is required. 245.18
- Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 151.555, subdivision 8, is amended 245.19 to read: 245.20
- Subd. 8. Dispensing requirements. (a) Donated prescription drugs and supplies may be dispensed if the drugs or supplies are prescribed by a practitioner for use by an eligible 245.22 individual and are dispensed by a pharmacist or practitioner. A repository shall dispense drugs and supplies to eligible individuals in the following priority order: (1) individuals who are uninsured; (2) individuals with no prescription drug coverage; and (3) individuals 245.25 who are underinsured. A repository shall dispense donated drugs in compliance with applicable federal and state laws and regulations for dispensing drugs, including all requirements relating to packaging, labeling, record keeping, drug utilization review, and patient counseling.
 - (b) Before dispensing or administering a drug or supply, the pharmacist or practitioner shall visually inspect the drug or supply for adulteration, misbranding, tampering, and date of expiration. Drugs or supplies that have expired or appear upon visual inspection to be adulterated, misbranded, or tampered with in any way must not be dispensed or administered.

(c) Before a the first drug or supply is dispensed or administered to an individual, the individual must sign a an electronic or physical drug repository recipient form acknowledging that the individual understands the information stated on the form. The board shall develop the form and make it available on the board's website. The form must include the following information:

- (1) that the drug or supply being dispensed or administered has been donated and may have been previously dispensed;
- (2) that a visual inspection has been conducted by the pharmacist or practitioner to ensure that the drug or supply has not expired, has not been adulterated or misbranded, and is in its original, unopened packaging; and
- (3) that the dispensing pharmacist, the dispensing or administering practitioner, the central repository or local repository, the Board of Pharmacy, and any other participant of the medication repository program cannot guarantee the safety of the drug or medical supply being dispensed or administered and that the pharmacist or practitioner has determined that the drug or supply is safe to dispense or administer based on the accuracy of the donor's form submitted with the donated drug or medical supply and the visual inspection required to be performed by the pharmacist or practitioner before dispensing or administering.
- Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 151.555, subdivision 9, is amended to read:
- Subd. 9. **Handling fees.** (a) The central or local repository may charge the individual receiving a drug or supply a handling fee of no more than 250 percent of the medical assistance program dispensing fee for each drug or medical supply dispensed or administered by that repository.
- 246.24 (b) A repository that dispenses or administers a drug or medical supply through the 246.25 medication repository program shall not receive reimbursement under the medical assistance 246.26 program or the MinnesotaCare program for that dispensed or administered drug or supply.
- 246.27 (c) A supply or handling fee must not be charged to an individual enrolled in the medical
 246.28 assistance or MinnesotaCare program.

246.1

246.2

246.3

246.4

246.5

246.6

246.7

246.8

246.9

246.10

246.11

246.12

246.13

246.14

246.15

246.16

Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 151.555, subdivision 11, is amended 247.1 247.2 to read: Subd. 11. Forms and record-keeping requirements. (a) The following forms developed 247.3 for the administration of this program shall be utilized by the participants of the program 247.4 and shall be available on the board's website: 247.5 (1) intake application form described under subdivision 5; 247.6 247.7 (2) local repository participation form described under subdivision 4; (3) local repository withdrawal form described under subdivision 4; 247.8 247.9 (4) medication repository donor form described under subdivision 6; (5) record of destruction form described under subdivision 7; and 247.10 (6) medication repository recipient form described under subdivision 8. 247.11 Participants may use substantively similar electronic or physical forms. 247.12 (b) All records, including drug inventory, inspection, and disposal of donated drugs and 247.13 medical supplies, must be maintained by a repository for a minimum of two years. Records 247.14 required as part of this program must be maintained pursuant to all applicable practice acts. 247.15 (c) Data collected by the medication repository program from all local repositories shall 247.16 be submitted quarterly or upon request to the central repository. Data collected may consist of the information, records, and forms required to be collected under this section. 247.18 (d) The central repository shall submit reports to the board as required by the contract 247.19 or upon request of the board. 247.20 Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 151.555, subdivision 12, is amended 247.21 247.22 to read: Subd. 12. Liability. (a) The manufacturer of a drug or supply is not subject to criminal 247.23 or civil liability for injury, death, or loss to a person or to property for causes of action described in clauses (1) and (2). A manufacturer is not liable for: 247.25 (1) the intentional or unintentional alteration of the drug or supply by a party not under 247.26 the control of the manufacturer; or 247.27 (2) the failure of a party not under the control of the manufacturer to transfer or 247.28 communicate product or consumer information or the expiration date of the donated drug 247.29 or supply. 247.30

(b) A health care facility participating in the program, a pharmacist dispensing a drug or supply pursuant to the program, a practitioner dispensing or administering a drug or supply pursuant to the program, of a donor of a drug or medical supply, or a person or entity that facilitates any of the above is immune from civil liability for an act or omission that causes injury to or the death of an individual to whom the drug or supply is dispensed and no disciplinary action by a health-related licensing board shall be taken against a pharmaeist or practitioner person or entity so long as the drug or supply is donated, accepted, distributed, and dispensed according to the requirements of this section. This immunity does not apply if the act or omission involves reckless, wanton, or intentional misconduct, or malpractice unrelated to the quality of the drug or medical supply.

- Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 256B.0625, subdivision 13f, is amended to read:
- Subd. 13f. **Prior authorization.** (a) The Formulary Committee shall review and recommend drugs which require prior authorization. The Formulary Committee shall establish general criteria to be used for the prior authorization of brand-name drugs for which generically equivalent drugs are available, but the committee is not required to review each brand-name drug for which a generically equivalent drug is available.
 - (b) Prior authorization may be required by the commissioner before certain formulary drugs are eligible for payment. The Formulary Committee may recommend drugs for prior authorization directly to the commissioner. The commissioner may also request that the Formulary Committee review a drug for prior authorization. Before the commissioner may require prior authorization for a drug:
 - (1) the commissioner must provide information to the Formulary Committee on the impact that placing the drug on prior authorization may have on the quality of patient care and on program costs, information regarding whether the drug is subject to clinical abuse or misuse, and relevant data from the state Medicaid program if such data is available;
 - (2) the Formulary Committee must review the drug, taking into account medical and clinical data and the information provided by the commissioner; and
- 248.29 (3) the Formulary Committee must hold a public forum and receive public comment for an additional 15 days.
- The commissioner must provide a 15-day notice period before implementing the prior authorization.

248.1

248.2

248.3

248.4

248.5

248.6

248.7

248.8

248.9

248.10

248.18

248.19

248.20

248.21

248.22

248.23

248.24

248.25

248.26

248.27

(c) Except as provided in subdivision 13j, prior authorization shall not be required or utilized for any atypical antipsychotic drug prescribed for the treatment of mental illness if:

(1) there is no generically equivalent drug available; and

249.1

249.2

249.3

249.4

249.7

249.8

249.9

249.10

249.11

249.12

249.13

249.14

249.15

249.16

- 249.5 (2) the drug was initially prescribed for the recipient prior to July 1, 2003; or
- 249.6 (3) the drug is part of the recipient's current course of treatment.

This paragraph applies to any multistate preferred drug list or supplemental drug rebate program established or administered by the commissioner. Prior authorization shall automatically be granted for 60 days for brand name drugs prescribed for treatment of mental illness within 60 days of when a generically equivalent drug becomes available, provided that the brand name drug was part of the recipient's course of treatment at the time the generically equivalent drug became available.

- (d) Prior authorization must not be required for liquid methadone if only one version of liquid methadone is available. If more than one version of liquid methadone is available, the commissioner shall ensure that at least one version of liquid methadone is available without prior authorization.
- (e) Prior authorization may be required for an oral liquid form of a drug, except as 249.17 described in paragraph (d). A prior authorization request under this paragraph must be 249.18 automatically approved within 24 hours if the drug is being prescribed for a Food and Drug Administration-approved condition for a patient who utilizes an enteral tube for feedings 249.20 or medication administration, even if the patient has current or prior claims for pills for that 249.21 condition. If more than one version of the oral liquid form of a drug is available, the 249.22 commissioner may select the version that is able to be approved for a Food and Drug 249.23 Administration-approved condition for a patient who utilizes an enteral tube for feedings 249.24 or medication administration. This paragraph applies to any multistate preferred drug list or supplemental drug rebate program established or administered by the commissioner. The commissioner shall design and implement a streamlined prior authorization form for patients 249.27 who utilize an enteral tube for feedings or medication administration and are prescribed an 249.28 oral liquid form of a drug. The commissioner may require prior authorization for brand 249.29 name drugs whenever a generically equivalent product is available, even if the prescriber 249.30 specifically indicates "dispense as written-brand necessary" on the prescription as required 249.31 by section 151.21, subdivision 2. 249.32
 - (f) Notwithstanding this subdivision, the commissioner may automatically require prior authorization, for a period not to exceed 180 days, for any drug that is approved by the

249.33

250.1	United States Food and Drug Administration on or after July 1, 2005. The 180-day period
250.2	begins no later than the first day that a drug is available for shipment to pharmacies within
250.3	the state. The Formulary Committee shall recommend to the commissioner general criteria
250.4	to be used for the prior authorization of the drugs, but the committee is not required to
250.5	review each individual drug. In order to continue prior authorizations for a drug after the
250.6	180-day period has expired, the commissioner must follow the provisions of this subdivision.
250.7	(g) Prior authorization under this subdivision shall comply with section 62Q.184.
250.8	(h) Any step therapy protocol requirements established by the commissioner must comply
250.9	with section 62Q.1841.
250.10	(i) Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, prior authorization or step therapy shall not
250.11	be required or utilized for any class of drugs that is approved by the United States Food and
250.12	Drug Administration for the treatment or prevention of HIV and AIDS.
250.13	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2026.
250.14	Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256B.0625, is amended by adding a subdivision
250.15	to read:
250.16	Subd. 131. Vaccines and laboratory tests provided by pharmacists. (a) Medical
250.17	assistance covers vaccines initiated, ordered, or administered by a licensed pharmacist,
250.18	according to the requirements of section 151.01, subdivision 27, clause (6), at no less than
250.19	the rate for which the same services are covered when provided by any other licensed
250.20	practitioner.
250.21	(b) Medical assistance covers laboratory tests ordered and performed by a licensed
250.22	pharmacist, according to the requirements of section 151.01, subdivision 27, clause (3), at
250.23	no less than the rate for which the same services are covered when provided by any other
250.24	licensed practitioner.
250.25	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025, or upon federal approval,
250.26	whichever is later. The commissioner of human services shall notify the revisor of statutes
250.27	when federal approval is obtained.
250.28	Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256B.0625, subdivision 39, is amended to read:
250.29	Subd. 39. Childhood immunizations. Providers who administer pediatric vaccines
250.30	within the scope of their licensure, and who are enrolled as a medical assistance provider,
250.31	must enroll in the pediatric vaccine administration program established by section 13631
250.32	of the Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1993. Medical assistance shall pay for

251.1	administration of the vaccine to children eligible for medical assistance. Medical assistance
251.2	does not pay for vaccines that are available at no cost from the pediatric vaccine
251.3	administration program unless the vaccines qualify for 100 percent federal funding or are
251.4	mandated by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services to be covered outside of the
251.5	Vaccines for Children program.
251.6	Sec. 25. RULEMAKING; BOARD OF PHARMACY.
251.7	The Board of Pharmacy must amend Minnesota Rules, part 6800.3400, to permit and
251.8	promote the inclusion of the following on a prescription label:
251.9	(1) the complete and unabbreviated generic name of the drug; and
251.10	(2) instructions written in plain language explaining the patient-specific indications for
251.11	the drug.
251.12	The Board of Pharmacy must comply with Minnesota Statutes, section 14.389, in adopting
251.13	the amendment to the rule.
251.14	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
251.15	ARTICLE 9
	ARTICLE 9 BEHAVIORAL HEALTH
251.15 251.16 251.17	
251.16	BEHAVIORAL HEALTH
251.16 251.17	BEHAVIORAL HEALTH Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245.462, subdivision 6, is amended to read:
251.16 251.17 251.18	BEHAVIORAL HEALTH Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245.462, subdivision 6, is amended to read: Subd. 6. Community support services program. "Community support services program"
251.16 251.17 251.18 251.19	BEHAVIORAL HEALTH Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245.462, subdivision 6, is amended to read: Subd. 6. Community support services program. "Community support services program" means services, other than inpatient or residential treatment services, provided or coordinated
251.16 251.17 251.18 251.19 251.20 251.21	BEHAVIORAL HEALTH Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245.462, subdivision 6, is amended to read: Subd. 6. Community support services program. "Community support services program" means services, other than inpatient or residential treatment services, provided or coordinated by an identified program and staff under the treatment supervision of a mental health
251.16 251.17 251.18 251.19 251.20	BEHAVIORAL HEALTH Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245.462, subdivision 6, is amended to read: Subd. 6. Community support services program. "Community support services program" means services, other than inpatient or residential treatment services, provided or coordinated by an identified program and staff under the treatment supervision of a mental health professional designed to help adults with serious and persistent mental illness to function
251.16 251.17 251.18 251.19 251.20 251.21 251.22	BEHAVIORAL HEALTH Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245.462, subdivision 6, is amended to read: Subd. 6. Community support services program. "Community support services program" means services, other than inpatient or residential treatment services, provided or coordinated by an identified program and staff under the treatment supervision of a mental health professional designed to help adults with serious and persistent mental illness to function and remain in the community. A community support services program includes:
251.16 251.17 251.18 251.19 251.20 251.21 251.22	BEHAVIORAL HEALTH Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245.462, subdivision 6, is amended to read: Subd. 6. Community support services program. "Community support services program" means services, other than inpatient or residential treatment services, provided or coordinated by an identified program and staff under the treatment supervision of a mental health professional designed to help adults with serious and persistent mental illness to function and remain in the community. A community support services program includes: (1) client outreach,
251.16 251.17 251.18 251.19 251.20 251.21 251.22 251.23	BEHAVIORAL HEALTH Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245.462, subdivision 6, is amended to read: Subd. 6. Community support services program. "Community support services program" means services, other than inpatient or residential treatment services, provided or coordinated by an identified program and staff under the treatment supervision of a mental health professional designed to help adults with serious and persistent mental illness to function and remain in the community. A community support services program includes: (1) client outreach, (2) medication monitoring,
251.16 251.17 251.18 251.19 251.20 251.21 251.22 251.23 251.23	BEHAVIORAL HEALTH Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245.462, subdivision 6, is amended to read: Subd. 6. Community support services program. "Community support services program" means services, other than inpatient or residential treatment services, provided or coordinated by an identified program and staff under the treatment supervision of a mental health professional designed to help adults with serious and persistent mental illness to function and remain in the community. A community support services program includes: (1) client outreach, (2) medication monitoring, (3) assistance in independent living skills,
251.16 251.17 251.18 251.19 251.20 251.21 251.22 251.23 251.24 251.25	BEHAVIORAL HEALTH Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245.462, subdivision 6, is amended to read: Subd. 6. Community support services program. "Community support services program" means services, other than inpatient or residential treatment services, provided or coordinated by an identified program and staff under the treatment supervision of a mental health professional designed to help adults with serious and persistent mental illness to function and remain in the community. A community support services program includes: (1) client outreach, (2) medication monitoring, (3) assistance in independent living skills, (4) development of employability and work-related opportunities,

252.1 (8) housing support services.

The community support services program must be coordinated with the case management services specified in section 245.4711. A program that meets the accreditation standards for Clubhouse International model programs meets the requirements of this subdivision.

- Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245.4663, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2. **Eligible providers.** In order to be eligible for a grant under this section, a mental health provider must:
- (1) provide at least 25 percent of the provider's yearly patient encounters to state public program enrollees or patients receiving sliding fee schedule discounts through a formal sliding fee schedule meeting the standards established by the United States Department of Health and Human Services under Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, section 51c.303;
- 252.13 (2) primarily serve underrepresented communities as defined in section 148E.010, subdivision 20-; or
- 252.15 (3) provide services to people in a city or township that is not within the seven-county
 252.16 metropolitan area as defined in section 473.121, subdivision 2, and is not the city of Duluth,
 252.17 Mankato, Moorhead, Rochester, or St. Cloud.
- Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 245.4889, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
- Subdivision 1. **Establishment and authority.** (a) The commissioner is authorized to make grants from available appropriations to assist:
- 252.22 (1) counties;
- 252.23 (2) Indian tribes;
- 252.24 (3) children's collaboratives under section 124D.23 or 245.493; or
- 252.25 (4) mental health service providers.
- 252.26 (b) The following services are eligible for grants under this section:
- 252.27 (1) services to children with emotional disturbances as defined in section 245.4871, subdivision 15, and their families;
- 252.29 (2) transition services under section 245.4875, subdivision 8, for young adults under age 21 and their families;

253.1	(3) respite care services for children with emotional disturbances or severe emotional
253.2	disturbances who are at risk of out-of-home placement or residential treatment or
253.3	hospitalization, who are already in out-of-home placement in family foster settings as defined
253.4	in chapter 245A and at risk of change in out-of-home placement or placement in a residential
253.5	facility or other higher level of care, who have utilized crisis services or emergency room
253.6	services, or who have experienced a loss of in-home staffing support. Allowable activities
253.7	and expenses for respite care services are defined under subdivision 4. A child is not required
253.8	to have case management services to receive respite care services. Counties must work to
253.9	provide regular access to regularly scheduled respite care;
253.10	(4) children's mental health crisis services;
253.11	(5) child-, youth-, and family-specific mobile response and stabilization services models;
253.12	(6) mental health services for people from cultural and ethnic minorities, including
253.13	supervision of clinical trainees who are Black, indigenous, or people of color;
253.14	(7) children's mental health screening and follow-up diagnostic assessment and treatment;
253.15	(8) services to promote and develop the capacity of providers to use evidence-based
253.16	practices in providing children's mental health services;
253.17	(9) school-linked mental health services under section 245.4901;
253.18	(10) building evidence-based mental health intervention capacity for children birth to
253.19	age five;
253.20	(11) suicide prevention and counseling services that use text messaging statewide;
253.21	(12) mental health first aid training;
253.22	(13) training for parents, collaborative partners, and mental health providers on the
253.23	impact of adverse childhood experiences and trauma and development of an interactive
253.24	website to share information and strategies to promote resilience and prevent trauma;
253.25	(14) transition age services to develop or expand mental health treatment and supports
253.26	for adolescents and young adults 26 years of age or younger;
253.27	(15) early childhood mental health consultation;
253.28	(16) evidence-based interventions for youth at risk of developing or experiencing a first
253.29	episode of psychosis, and a public awareness campaign on the signs and symptoms of
253.30	psychosis;

253.31

(17) psychiatric consultation for primary care practitioners; and

(18) providers to begin operations and meet program requirements when establishing a 254.1 new children's mental health program. These may be start-up grants. 254.2

- (c) Services under paragraph (b) must be designed to help each child to function and remain with the child's family in the community and delivered consistent with the child's treatment plan. Transition services to eligible young adults under this paragraph must be designed to foster independent living in the community.
- (d) As a condition of receiving grant funds, a grantee shall obtain all available third-party reimbursement sources, if applicable.
- (e) The commissioner may establish and design a pilot program to expand the mobile response and stabilization services model for children, youth, and families. The commissioner 254.10 may use grant funding to consult with a qualified expert entity to assist in the formulation of measurable outcomes and explore and position the state to submit a Medicaid state plan 254.12 amendment to scale the model statewide. 254.13
- Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245I.02, subdivision 17, is amended to read: 254.14
- Subd. 17. Functional assessment. "Functional assessment" means the assessment of a 254.15 client's current level of functioning relative to functioning that is appropriate for someone 254.16 the client's age. For a client five years of age or younger, a functional assessment is the 254.17 Early Childhood Service Intensity Instrument (ESCII). For a client six to 17 years of age, a functional assessment is the Child and Adolescent Service Intensity Instrument (CASII). For a client 18 years of age or older, a functional assessment is the functional assessment 254.20 described in section 245I.10, subdivision 9. 254.21
- Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245I.02, subdivision 19, is amended to read: 254.22
- Subd. 19. Level of care assessment. "Level of care assessment" means the level of care 254.23 254.24 decision support tool appropriate to the client's age. For a client five years of age or younger, a level of care assessment is the Early Childhood Service Intensity Instrument (ESCII). For 254.25 a client six to 17 years of age, a level of care assessment is the Child and Adolescent Service 254.26 Intensity Instrument (CASII). For a client 18 years of age or older, a level of care assessment is the Level of Care Utilization System for Psychiatric and Addiction Services (LOCUS) 254.28 or another tool authorized by the commissioner.
- Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245I.10, subdivision 9, is amended to read: 254.30
- Subd. 9. Functional assessment; required elements. (a) When a license holder is 254.31 completing a functional assessment for an adult client, the license holder must: 254.32

254.3

254.4

254.5

254.6

254.7

254.8

254.9

255.1 255.2	(1) complete a functional assessment of the client after completing the client's diagnostic assessment;
255.3	(2) use a collaborative process that allows the client and the client's family and other
255.4	natural supports, the client's referral sources, and the client's providers to provide information
255.5	about how the client's symptoms of mental illness impact the client's functioning;
255.6	(3) if applicable, document the reasons that the license holder did not contact the client's
255.7	family and other natural supports;
255.8	(4) assess and document how the client's symptoms of mental illness impact the client's
255.9	functioning in the following areas:
255.10	(i) the client's mental health symptoms;
255.11	(ii) the client's mental health service needs;
255.12	(iii) the client's substance use;
255.13	(iv) the client's vocational and educational functioning;
255.14	(v) the client's social functioning, including the use of leisure time;
255.15	(vi) the client's interpersonal functioning, including relationships with the client's family
255.16	and other natural supports;
255.17	(vii) the client's ability to provide self-care and live independently;
255.18	(viii) the client's medical and dental health;
255.19	(ix) the client's financial assistance needs; and
255.20	(x) the client's housing and transportation needs;
255.21	(5) include a narrative summarizing the client's strengths, resources, and all areas of
255.22	functional impairment;
255.23	(6) (5) complete the client's functional assessment before the client's initial individual
255.24	treatment plan unless a service specifies otherwise; and
255.25	(7) (6) update the client's functional assessment with the client's current functioning
255.26	whenever there is a significant change in the client's functioning or at least every $\frac{180}{265}$
255.27	days, unless a service specifies otherwise.
255.28	(b) A license holder may use any available, validated measurement tool, including but
255.29	not limited to the Daily Living Activities-20, when completing the required elements of a
255.30	functional assessment under this subdivision.

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245I.11, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 256.1 Subdivision 1. Generally. (a) If a license holder is licensed as a residential program, 256.2 stores or administers client medications, or observes clients self-administer medications, 256.3 the license holder must ensure that a staff person who is a registered nurse or licensed 256.4 prescriber is responsible for overseeing storage and administration of client medications 256.5 and observing as a client self-administers medications, including training according to 256.6 section 245I.05, subdivision 6, and documenting the occurrence according to section 245I.08, 256.7 subdivision 5. 256.8 (b) For purposes of this section, "observed self-administration" means the preparation 256.9 and administration of a medication by a client to themselves under the direct supervision 256.10 of a registered nurse or a staff member to whom a registered nurse delegates supervision 256.11 duty. Observed self-administration does not include a client's use of a medication that they 256.12 keep in their own possession while participating in a program. 256.13 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245I.11, is amended by adding a subdivision to 256.14 read: 256.15 256.16 Subd. 6. Medication administration in children's day treatment settings. (a) For a program providing children's day treatment services under section 256B.0943, the license 256.17 holder must maintain policies and procedures that state whether the program will store 256.18 medication and administer or allow observed self-administration. 256.19 (b) For a program providing children's day treatment services under section 256B.0943 256.20 that does not store medications but allows clients to use a medication that they keep in their 256.21 own possession while participating in a program, the license holder must maintain 256.22 documentation from a licensed prescriber regarding the safety of medications held by clients, 256.23 including: 256.24 256.25 (1) an evaluation that the client is capable of holding and administering the medication safely; 256.26 256.27 (2) an evaluation of whether the medication is prone to diversion, misuse, or self-injury; and 256.28 (3) any conditions under which the license holder should no longer allow the client to 256.29 maintain the medication in their own possession. 256.30

Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245I.20, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. **Minimum staffing standards.** (a) A certification holder's treatment team must consist of at least four mental health professionals. At least two of the mental health professionals must be employed by or under contract with the mental health clinic for a minimum of 35 hours per week each. Each of the two mental health professionals must

specialize in a different mental health discipline.

(b) The treatment team must include:

257.2

257.3

257.4

257.5

257.6

- 257.8 (1) a physician qualified as a mental health professional according to section 245I.04, 257.9 subdivision 2, clause (4), or a nurse qualified as a mental health professional according to 257.10 section 245I.04, subdivision 2, clause (1); and
- 257.11 (2) a psychologist qualified as a mental health professional according to section 245I.04, subdivision 2, clause (3).
- 257.13 (c) The staff persons fulfilling the requirement in paragraph (b) must provide clinical services at least:
- 257.15 (1) eight hours every two weeks if the mental health clinic has over 25.0 full-time equivalent treatment team members;
- 257.17 (2) eight hours each month if the mental health clinic has 15.1 to 25.0 full-time equivalent treatment team members;
- 257.19 (3) four hours each month if the mental health clinic has 5.1 to 15.0 full-time equivalent treatment team members; or
- 257.21 (4) two hours each month if the mental health clinic has 2.0 to 5.0 full-time equivalent treatment team members or only provides in-home services to clients.
- 257.23 (d) The certification holder must maintain a record that demonstrates compliance with this subdivision.
- Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245I.23, subdivision 14, is amended to read:
- Subd. 14. **Weekly team meetings.** (a) The license holder must hold weekly team meetings and ancillary meetings according to this subdivision.
- 257.28 (b) A mental health professional or certified rehabilitation specialist must hold at least
 257.29 one team meeting each calendar week and. The mental health professional or certified
 257.30 rehabilitation specialist must lead and be physically present at the team meeting, except as
 257.31 permitted under paragraph (e). All treatment team members, including treatment team

members who work on a part-time or intermittent basis, must participate in a minimum of one team meeting during each calendar week when the treatment team member is working for the license holder. The license holder must document all weekly team meetings, including the names of meeting attendees, and indicate whether the meeting was conducted remotely under paragraph (e).

- (c) If a treatment team member cannot participate in a weekly team meeting, the treatment team member must participate in an ancillary meeting. A mental health professional, certified rehabilitation specialist, clinical trainee, or mental health practitioner who participated in the most recent weekly team meeting may lead the ancillary meeting. During the ancillary meeting, the treatment team member leading the ancillary meeting must review the information that was shared at the most recent weekly team meeting, including revisions to client treatment plans and other information that the treatment supervisors exchanged with treatment team members. The license holder must document all ancillary meetings, including the names of meeting attendees.
- (d) If a treatment team member working only one shift during a week cannot participate in a weekly team meeting or participate in an ancillary meeting, the treatment team member must read the minutes of the weekly team meeting required to be documented in paragraph (b). The treatment team member must sign to acknowledge receipt of this information, and document pertinent information or questions. The mental health professional or certified rehabilitation specialist must review any documented questions or pertinent information before the next weekly team meeting.
- (e) A license holder may permit a mental health professional or certified rehabilitation specialist to lead the weekly meeting remotely due to medical or weather conditions. If the conditions that do not permit physical presence persist for longer than one week, the license holder must request a variance to conduct additional meetings remotely.
- Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 254B.04, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:
- Subd. 1a. Client eligibility. (a) Persons eligible for benefits under Code of Federal Regulations, title 25, part 20, who meet the income standards of section 256B.056, subdivision 4, and are not enrolled in medical assistance, are entitled to behavioral health fund services. State money appropriated for this paragraph must be placed in a separate account established for this purpose.
- 258.33 (b) Persons with dependent children who are determined to be in need of substance use 258.34 disorder treatment pursuant to an assessment under section 260E.20, subdivision 1, or in

258.1

258.2

258.3

258.4

258.5

258.6

258.7

258.8

258.9

258.10

258.11

258.13

258.14

258.15

258.16

258.17

258.18

258.19

258.20

258.21

258.22

258.23

258.24

need of chemical dependency treatment pursuant to a case plan under section 260C.201, subdivision 6, or 260C.212, shall be assisted by the local agency to access needed treatment services. Treatment services must be appropriate for the individual or family, which may include long-term care treatment or treatment in a facility that allows the dependent children to stay in the treatment facility. The county shall pay for out-of-home placement costs, if applicable.

- (c) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), <u>persons any person</u> enrolled in medical assistance are or MinnesotaCare is eligible for room and board services under section 254B.05, subdivision 5, paragraph (b), clause (12) (9).
- 259.10 (d) A client is eligible to have substance use disorder treatment paid for with funds from 259.11 the behavioral health fund when the client:
- (1) is eligible for MFIP as determined under chapter 256J;

259.1

259.2

259.3

259.4

259.5

- 259.13 (2) is eligible for medical assistance as determined under Minnesota Rules, parts 9505.0010 to 9505.0150;
- 259.15 (3) is eligible for general assistance, general assistance medical care, or work readiness 259.16 as determined under Minnesota Rules, parts 9500.1200 to 9500.1318; or
- 259.17 (4) has income that is within current household size and income guidelines for entitled persons, as defined in this subdivision and subdivision 7.
- (e) Clients who meet the financial eligibility requirement in paragraph (a) and who have a third-party payment source are eligible for the behavioral health fund if the third-party payment source pays less than 100 percent of the cost of treatment services for eligible clients.
- 259.23 (f) A client is ineligible to have substance use disorder treatment services paid for with 259.24 behavioral health fund money if the client:
- 259.25 (1) has an income that exceeds current household size and income guidelines for entitled persons as defined in this subdivision and subdivision 7; or
- (2) has an available third-party payment source that will pay the total cost of the client's treatment.
- (g) A client who is disenrolled from a state prepaid health plan during a treatment episode is eligible for continued treatment service that is paid for by the behavioral health fund until the treatment episode is completed or the client is re-enrolled in a state prepaid health plan if the client:

260.1	(1) continues to be enrolled in MinnesotaCare, medical assistance, or general assistance
260.2	medical care; or
260.3	(2) is eligible according to paragraphs (a) and (b) and is determined eligible by a local
260.4	agency under section 254B.04.
260.5	(h) When a county commits a client under chapter 253B to a regional treatment center
260.6	for substance use disorder services and the client is ineligible for the behavioral health fund,
260.7	the county is responsible for the payment to the regional treatment center according to
260.8	section 254B.05, subdivision 4.
260.9	(i) Persons enrolled in MinnesotaCare are eligible for room and board services when
260.10	provided through intensive residential treatment services and residential crisis services under
260.11	section 256B.0622.
260.12	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025, or upon federal approval,
260.13	whichever is later. The commissioner of human services shall notify the revisor of statutes
260.14	when federal approval is obtained.
260.15	Sec. 12. [256B.0617] MENTAL HEALTH SERVICES PROVIDER
260.16	<u>CERTIFICATION.</u>
260.17	(a) The commissioner of human services shall establish an initial provider entity
260.18	application and certification and recertification processes to determine whether a provider
260.19	entity has administrative and clinical infrastructures that meet the certification requirements.
260.20	This process shall apply to providers of the following services:
260.21	(1) children's intensive behavioral health services under section 256B.0946; and
260.22	(2) intensive nonresidential rehabilitative mental health services under section 256B.0947.
260.23	(b) The commissioner shall recertify a provider entity every three years using the
260.24	individual provider's certification anniversary or the calendar year end. The commissioner
260.25	may approve a recertification extension in the interest of sustaining services when a certain
260.26	date for recertification is identified.
260.27	(c) The commissioner shall establish a process for decertification of a provider entity
260.28	and shall require corrective action, medical assistance repayment, or decertification of a
260.29	provider entity that no longer meets the requirements in this section or that fails to meet the
260.30	clinical quality standards or administrative standards provided by the commissioner in the
260.31	application and certification process.

261.1	(d) The commissioner must provide the following to provider entities for the certification,
261.2	recertification, and decertification processes:
261.3	(1) a structured listing of required provider certification criteria;
261.4	(2) a formal written letter with a determination of certification, recertification, or
261.5	decertification signed by the commissioner or the appropriate division director; and
261.6	(3) a formal written communication outlining the process for necessary corrective action
261.7	and follow-up by the commissioner signed by the commissioner or their designee, if
261.8	applicable. In the case of corrective action, the commissioner may schedule interim
261.9	recertification site reviews to confirm certification or decertification.
261.10	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024, and the commissioner of
261.11	human services must implement all requirements of this section by September 1, 2024.
261.12	Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256B.0622, subdivision 2a, is amended to read:
261.13	Subd. 2a. Eligibility for assertive community treatment. (a) An eligible client for
261.14	assertive community treatment is an individual who meets the following criteria as assessed
261.15	by an ACT team:
261.16	(1) is age 18 or older. Individuals ages 16 and 17 may be eligible upon approval by the
261.17	commissioner;
261.18	(2) has a primary diagnosis of schizophrenia, schizoaffective disorder, major depressive
261.19	disorder with psychotic features, other psychotic disorders, or bipolar disorder. Individuals
261.20	with other psychiatric illnesses may qualify for assertive community treatment if they have
261.21	a serious mental illness and meet the criteria outlined in clauses (3) and (4), but no more
261.22	than ten percent of an ACT team's clients may be eligible based on this criteria. Individuals
261.23	with a primary diagnosis of a substance use disorder, intellectual developmental disabilities,
261.24	borderline personality disorder, antisocial personality disorder, traumatic brain injury, or
261.25	an autism spectrum disorder are not eligible for assertive community treatment;
261.26	(3) has significant functional impairment as demonstrated by at least one of the following
261.27	conditions:
261.28	(i) significant difficulty consistently performing the range of routine tasks required for
261.29	basic adult functioning in the community or persistent difficulty performing daily living
261.30	tasks without significant support or assistance;
261.31	(ii) significant difficulty maintaining employment at a self-sustaining level or significant
261.32	difficulty consistently carrying out the head-of-household responsibilities; or

262.1	(iii) significant difficulty maintaining a safe living situation;
262.2 262.3	(4) has a need for continuous high-intensity services as evidenced by at least two of the following:
262.4 262.5	(i) two or more psychiatric hospitalizations or residential crisis stabilization services in the previous 12 months;
262.6	(ii) frequent utilization of mental health crisis services in the previous six months;
262.7	(iii) 30 or more consecutive days of psychiatric hospitalization in the previous 24 months;
262.8	(iv) intractable, persistent, or prolonged severe psychiatric symptoms;
262.9	(v) coexisting mental health and substance use disorders lasting at least six months;
262.10	(vi) recent history of involvement with the criminal justice system or demonstrated risk
262.11	of future involvement;
262.12	(vii) significant difficulty meeting basic survival needs;
262.13	(viii) residing in substandard housing, experiencing homelessness, or facing imminent
262.14	risk of homelessness;
262.15	(ix) significant impairment with social and interpersonal functioning such that basic
262.16	needs are in jeopardy;
262.17	(x) coexisting mental health and physical health disorders lasting at least six months;
262.18	(xi) residing in an inpatient or supervised community residence but clinically assessed
262.19	to be able to live in a more independent living situation if intensive services are provided;
262.20	(xii) requiring a residential placement if more intensive services are not available; or
262.21	(xiii) difficulty effectively using traditional office-based outpatient services;
262.22	(5) there are no indications that other available community-based services would be
262.23	equally or more effective as evidenced by consistent and extensive efforts to treat the
262.24	individual; and
262.25	(6) in the written opinion of a licensed mental health professional, has the need for mental
262.26	health services that cannot be met with other available community-based services, or is
262.27	likely to experience a mental health crisis or require a more restrictive setting if assertive
262.28	community treatment is not provided.

263.1	(b) An individual meets the criteria for assertive community treatment under this section
263.2	if they have participated within the last year or are currently in a first episode of psychosis
263.3	program if the individual:
263.4	(1) meets the eligibility requirements outlined in paragraph (a), clauses (1), (2), (5), and
263.5	<u>(6);</u>
263.6	(2) is currently participating in a first episode of psychosis program under section
263.7	245.4905; and
263.8	(3) needs the level of intensity provided by an ACT team, in the opinion of the individual's
263.9	first episode of psychosis program, in order to prevent crisis services, hospitalization,
263.10	homelessness, and involvement with the criminal justice system.
263.11	Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256B.0622, subdivision 3a, is amended to read:
263.12	Subd. 3a. Provider certification and contract requirements for assertive community
263.13	treatment. (a) The assertive community treatment provider must:
263.14	(1) have a contract with the host county to provide assertive community treatment
263.15	services; and
263.16	(2) have each ACT team be certified by the state following the certification process and
263.17	procedures developed by the commissioner. The certification process determines whether
263.18	the ACT team meets the standards for assertive community treatment under this section,
263.19	the standards in chapter 245I as required in section 245I.011, subdivision 5, and minimum
263.20	program fidelity standards as measured by a nationally recognized fidelity tool approved
263.21	by the commissioner. Recertification must occur at least every three years.
263.22	(b) An ACT team certified under this subdivision must meet the following standards:
263.23	(1) have capacity to recruit, hire, manage, and train required ACT team members;
263.24	(2) have adequate administrative ability to ensure availability of services;
263.25	(3) ensure flexibility in service delivery to respond to the changing and intermittent care
263.26	needs of a client as identified by the client and the individual treatment plan;
263.27	(4) keep all necessary records required by law;
263.28	(5) be an enrolled Medicaid provider; and
263.29	(6) establish and maintain a quality assurance plan to determine specific service outcomes
263.30	and the client's satisfaction with services.

(c) The commissioner may intervene at any time and decertify an ACT team with cause. 264.1 The commissioner shall establish a process for decertification of an ACT team and shall 264.2 require corrective action, medical assistance repayment, or decertification of an ACT team 264.3 that no longer meets the requirements in this section or that fails to meet the clinical quality 264.4 standards or administrative standards provided by the commissioner in the application and 264.5 certification process. The decertification is subject to appeal to the state. 264.6 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256B.0622, subdivision 7a, is amended to read: 264.7 Subd. 7a. Assertive community treatment team staff requirements and roles. (a) 264.8 The required treatment staff qualifications and roles for an ACT team are: 264.9 (1) the team leader: 264.10 264.11 (i) shall be a mental health professional. Individuals who are not licensed but who are eligible for licensure and are otherwise qualified may also fulfill this role but must obtain 264.12 full licensure within 24 months of assuming the role of team leader; 264.13 (ii) must be an active member of the ACT team and provide some direct services to 264.14 clients; 264.15 (iii) must be a single full-time staff member, dedicated to the ACT team, who is 264.16 responsible for overseeing the administrative operations of the team, providing treatment 264.17 supervision of services in conjunction with the psychiatrist or psychiatric care provider, and 264.18 supervising team members to ensure delivery of best and ethical practices; and 264.19 264.20 (iv) must be available to provide ensure that overall treatment supervision to the ACT team is available after regular business hours and on weekends and holidays. The team 264.21 leader may delegate this duty to another and is provided by a qualified member of the ACT 264.22 team; 264.23 (2) the psychiatric care provider: 264.24 (i) must be a mental health professional permitted to prescribe psychiatric medications 264.25 as part of the mental health professional's scope of practice. The psychiatric care provider 264.26 must have demonstrated clinical experience working with individuals with serious and 264.27 persistent mental illness; 264.28 (ii) shall collaborate with the team leader in sharing overall clinical responsibility for 264.29 screening and admitting clients; monitoring clients' treatment and team member service 264.30

264.31

delivery; educating staff on psychiatric and nonpsychiatric medications, their side effects,

and health-related conditions; actively collaborating with nurses; and helping provide treatment supervision to the team;

- (iii) shall fulfill the following functions for assertive community treatment clients: provide assessment and treatment of clients' symptoms and response to medications, including side effects; provide brief therapy to clients; provide diagnostic and medication education to clients, with medication decisions based on shared decision making; monitor clients' nonpsychiatric medical conditions and nonpsychiatric medications; and conduct home and community visits;
- (iv) shall serve as the point of contact for psychiatric treatment if a client is hospitalized for mental health treatment and shall communicate directly with the client's inpatient 265.10 psychiatric care providers to ensure continuity of care;
 - (v) shall have a minimum full-time equivalency that is prorated at a rate of 16 hours per 50 clients. Part-time psychiatric care providers shall have designated hours to work on the team, with sufficient blocks of time on consistent days to carry out the provider's clinical, supervisory, and administrative responsibilities. No more than two psychiatric care providers may share this role; and
- (vi) shall provide psychiatric backup to the program after regular business hours and on 265.17 weekends and holidays. The psychiatric care provider may delegate this duty to another 265.18 qualified psychiatric provider; 265.19
- (3) the nursing staff: 265.20

265.1

265.2

265.3

265.4

265.5

265.6

265.7

265.8

265.9

265.11

265.12

265.13

265.15

265.16

265.27

265.28

265.29

265.30

265.31

265.32

- (i) shall consist of one to three registered nurses or advanced practice registered nurses, 265.21 of whom at least one has a minimum of one-year experience working with adults with 265.22 serious mental illness and a working knowledge of psychiatric medications. No more than 265.23 two individuals can share a full-time equivalent position; 265.24
- 265.25 (ii) are responsible for managing medication, administering and documenting medication treatment, and managing a secure medication room; and 265.26
 - (iii) shall develop strategies, in collaboration with clients, to maximize taking medications as prescribed; screen and monitor clients' mental and physical health conditions and medication side effects; engage in health promotion, prevention, and education activities; communicate and coordinate services with other medical providers; facilitate the development of the individual treatment plan for clients assigned; and educate the ACT team in monitoring psychiatric and physical health symptoms and medication side effects;
 - (4) the co-occurring disorder specialist:

(i) shall be a full-time equivalent co-occurring disorder specialist who has received specific training on co-occurring disorders that is consistent with national evidence-based practices. The training must include practical knowledge of common substances and how they affect mental illnesses, the ability to assess substance use disorders and the client's stage of treatment, motivational interviewing, and skills necessary to provide counseling to clients at all different stages of change and treatment. The co-occurring disorder specialist may also be an individual who is a licensed alcohol and drug counselor as described in section 148F.01, subdivision 5, or a counselor who otherwise meets the training, experience, and other requirements in section 245G.11, subdivision 5. No more than two co-occurring disorder specialists may occupy this role; and

- (ii) shall provide or facilitate the provision of co-occurring disorder treatment to clients. The co-occurring disorder specialist shall serve as a consultant and educator to fellow ACT team members on co-occurring disorders;
- (5) the vocational specialist:

266.1

266.2

266.3

266.4

266.5

266.6

266.7

266.8

266.9

266.10

266.11

266.13

- (i) shall be a full-time vocational specialist who has at least one-year experience providing employment services or advanced education that involved field training in vocational services to individuals with mental illness. An individual who does not meet these qualifications may also serve as the vocational specialist upon completing a training plan approved by the commissioner;
- 266.20 (ii) shall provide or facilitate the provision of vocational services to clients. The vocational specialist serves as a consultant and educator to fellow ACT team members on these services; and
- 266.23 (iii) must not refer individuals to receive any type of vocational services or linkage by 266.24 providers outside of the ACT team;
- 266.25 (6) the mental health certified peer specialist:
- (i) shall be a full-time equivalent. No more than two individuals can share this position.

 The mental health certified peer specialist is a fully integrated team member who provides highly individualized services in the community and promotes the self-determination and shared decision-making abilities of clients. This requirement may be waived due to workforce shortages upon approval of the commissioner;
- 266.31 (ii) must provide coaching, mentoring, and consultation to the clients to promote recovery, 266.32 self-advocacy, and self-direction, promote wellness management strategies, and assist clients 266.33 in developing advance directives; and

(iii) must model recovery values, attitudes, beliefs, and personal action to encourage wellness and resilience, provide consultation to team members, promote a culture where the clients' points of view and preferences are recognized, understood, respected, and integrated into treatment, and serve in a manner equivalent to other team members;

- (7) the program administrative assistant shall be a full-time office-based program administrative assistant position assigned to solely work with the ACT team, providing a range of supports to the team, clients, and families; and
- (8) additional staff:

267.1

267.2

267.3

267.4

267.5

267.6

267.7

267.8

267.9

267.10

267.11

267.12

267.13

267.14

267.22

267.23

267.24

267.25

267.26

- (i) shall be based on team size. Additional treatment team staff may include mental health professionals; clinical trainees; certified rehabilitation specialists; mental health practitioners; or mental health rehabilitation workers. These individuals shall have the knowledge, skills, and abilities required by the population served to carry out rehabilitation and support functions; and
- (ii) shall be selected based on specific program needs or the population served.
- (b) Each ACT team must clearly document schedules for all ACT team members.
- (c) Each ACT team member must serve as a primary team member for clients assigned by the team leader and are responsible for facilitating the individual treatment plan process for those clients. The primary team member for a client is the responsible team member knowledgeable about the client's life and circumstances and writes the individual treatment plan. The primary team member provides individual supportive therapy or counseling, and provides primary support and education to the client's family and support system.
 - (d) Members of the ACT team must have strong clinical skills, professional qualifications, experience, and competency to provide a full breadth of rehabilitation services. Each staff member shall be proficient in their respective discipline and be able to work collaboratively as a member of a multidisciplinary team to deliver the majority of the treatment, rehabilitation, and support services clients require to fully benefit from receiving assertive community treatment.
- 267.28 (e) Each ACT team member must fulfill training requirements established by the commissioner.

Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 256B.0622, subdivision 7b, is 268.1 amended to read: 268.2 Subd. 7b. Assertive community treatment program size and opportunities scores. (a) 268.3 Each ACT team shall maintain an annual average caseload that does not exceed 100 clients. 268.4 Staff-to-client ratios shall be based on team size as follows: must demonstrate that the team 268.5 attained a passing score according to the most recently issued Tool for Measurement of 268.6 Assertive Community Treatment (TMACT). 268.7 (1) a small ACT team must: 268.8 (i) employ at least six but no more than seven full-time treatment team staff, excluding 268.9 the program assistant and the psychiatric care provider; 268.10 (ii) serve an annual average maximum of no more than 50 clients; 268.11 (iii) ensure at least one full-time equivalent position for every eight clients served; 268 12 (iv) schedule ACT team staff on weekdays and on-eall duty to provide crisis services 268.13 and deliver services after hours when staff are not working; (v) provide crisis services during business hours if the small ACT team does not have 268.15 sufficient staff numbers to operate an after-hours on-call system. During all other hours, 268.16 the ACT team may arrange for coverage for crisis assessment and intervention services through a reliable crisis-intervention provider as long as there is a mechanism by which the ACT team communicates routinely with the crisis-intervention provider and the on-call 268.19 ACT team staff are available to see clients face-to-face when necessary or if requested by 268.20 the crisis-intervention services provider; 268.21 (vi) adjust schedules and provide staff to carry out the needed service activities in the 268.22 evenings or on weekend days or holidays, when necessary; 268.23 (vii) arrange for and provide psychiatric backup during all hours the psychiatric care 268.24 provider is not regularly scheduled to work. If availability of the ACT team's psychiatric care provider during all hours is not feasible, alternative psychiatric prescriber backup must 268.26 268.27 be arranged and a mechanism of timely communication and coordination established in writing; and 268.28 268.29 (viii) be composed of, at minimum, one full-time team leader, at least 16 hours each week per 50 clients of psychiatric provider time, or equivalent if fewer clients, one full-time 268.30 equivalent nursing, one full-time co-occurring disorder specialist, one full-time equivalent 268.31 mental health certified peer specialist, one full-time vocational specialist, one full-time 268.32 program assistant, and at least one additional full-time ACT team member who has mental 268.33

health professional, certified rehabilitation specialist, clinical trainee, or mental health 269.1 practitioner status; and 269.2 (2) a midsize ACT team shall: 269 3 269.4 (i) be composed of, at minimum, one full-time team leader, at least 16 hours of psychiatry 269.5 time for 51 clients, with an additional two hours for every six clients added to the team, 1.5 to two full-time equivalent nursing staff, one full-time co-occurring disorder specialist, one 269.6 full-time equivalent mental health certified peer specialist, one full-time vocational specialist, 269.7 one full-time program assistant, and at least 1.5 to two additional full-time equivalent ACT 269.8 members, with at least one dedicated full-time staff member with mental health professional 269.9 269.10 status. Remaining team members may have mental health professional, certified rehabilitation specialist, clinical trainee, or mental health practitioner status; 269.11 269.12 (ii) employ seven or more treatment team full-time equivalents, excluding the program assistant and the psychiatric care provider; 269.13 269.14 (iii) serve an annual average maximum caseload of 51 to 74 clients; (iv) ensure at least one full-time equivalent position for every nine clients served; 269.15 (v) schedule ACT team staff for a minimum of ten-hour shift coverage on weekdays 269.16 and six- to eight-hour shift coverage on weekends and holidays. In addition to these minimum 269.17 specifications, staff are regularly scheduled to provide the necessary services on a 269.18 client-by-client basis in the evenings and on weekends and holidays; 269.19 (vi) schedule ACT team staff on-call duty to provide crisis services and deliver services 269.20 when staff are not working; 269.21

(vii) have the authority to arrange for coverage for crisis assessment and intervention services through a reliable crisis-intervention provider as long as there is a mechanism by which the ACT team communicates routinely with the crisis-intervention provider and the on-call ACT team staff are available to see clients face-to-face when necessary or if requested by the crisis-intervention services provider; and

(viii) arrange for and provide psychiatric backup during all hours the psychiatric care provider is not regularly scheduled to work. If availability of the psychiatric care provider during all hours is not feasible, alternative psychiatric prescriber backup must be arranged and a mechanism of timely communication and coordination established in writing;

(3) a large ACT team must:

269.22

269.23

269.24

269.25

269.26

269.27

269.28

269.29

269.30

270.1	(i) be composed of, at minimum, one full-time team leader, at least 32 hours each week
270.2	per 100 clients, or equivalent of psychiatry time, three full-time equivalent nursing staff,
270.3	one full-time co-occurring disorder specialist, one full-time equivalent mental health certified
270.4	peer specialist, one full-time vocational specialist, one full-time program assistant, and at
270.5	least two additional full-time equivalent ACT team members, with at least one dedicated
270.6	full-time staff member with mental health professional status. Remaining team members
270.7	may have mental health professional or mental health practitioner status;
270.8	(ii) employ nine or more treatment team full-time equivalents, excluding the program
270.9	assistant and psychiatric care provider;
270.10	(iii) serve an annual average maximum caseload of 75 to 100 clients;
270.11	(iv) ensure at least one full-time equivalent position for every nine individuals served;
270.12	(v) schedule staff to work two eight-hour shifts, with a minimum of two staff on the
270.13	second shift providing services at least 12 hours per day weekdays. For weekends and
270.14	holidays, the team must operate and schedule ACT team staff to work one eight-hour shift,
270.15	with a minimum of two staff each weekend day and every holiday;
270.16	(vi) schedule ACT team staff on-call duty to provide crisis services and deliver services
270.17	when staff are not working; and
270.18	(vii) arrange for and provide psychiatric backup during all hours the psychiatric care
270.19	provider is not regularly scheduled to work. If availability of the ACT team psychiatric care
270.20	provider during all hours is not feasible, alternative psychiatric backup must be arranged
270.21	and a mechanism of timely communication and coordination established in writing.
270.22	(b) An ACT team of any size may have a staff-to-client ratio that is lower than the
270.23	requirements described in paragraph (a) upon approval by the commissioner, but may not
270.24	exceed a one-to-ten staff-to-client ratio.
270.25	Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256B.0622, subdivision 7d, is amended to read:
270.26	Subd. 7d. Assertive community treatment assessment and individual treatment
270.27	plan. (a) An initial assessment shall be completed the day of the client's admission to
270.28	assertive community treatment by the ACT team leader or the psychiatric care provider,
270.29	with participation by designated ACT team members and the client. The initial assessment
270.30	must include obtaining or completing a standard diagnostic assessment according to section
270.31	245I.10, subdivision 6, and completing a 30-day individual treatment plan. The team leader,
270.32	psychiatric care provider, or other mental health professional designated by the team leader

or psychiatric care provider, must update the client's diagnostic assessment at least annually as required under section 245I.10, subdivision 2, paragraphs (f) and (g).

- (b) A functional assessment must be completed according to section 245I.10, subdivision 9. Each part of the functional assessment areas shall be completed by each respective team specialist or an ACT team member with skill and knowledge in the area being assessed.
- (c) Between 30 and 45 days after the client's admission to assertive community treatment, the entire ACT team must hold a comprehensive case conference, where all team members, including the psychiatric provider, present information discovered from the completed assessments and provide treatment recommendations. The conference must serve as the basis for the first individual treatment plan, which must be written by the primary team member.
- (d) The client's psychiatric care provider, primary team member, and individual treatment team members shall assume responsibility for preparing the written narrative of the results from the psychiatric and social functioning history timeline and the comprehensive assessment.
- (e) The primary team member and individual treatment team members shall be assigned by the team leader in collaboration with the psychiatric care provider by the time of the first treatment planning meeting or 30 days after admission, whichever occurs first.
- 271.19 (f) Individual treatment plans must be developed through the following treatment planning process:
 - (1) The individual treatment plan shall be developed in collaboration with the client and the client's preferred natural supports, and guardian, if applicable and appropriate. The ACT team shall evaluate, together with each client, the client's needs, strengths, and preferences and develop the individual treatment plan collaboratively. The ACT team shall make every effort to ensure that the client and the client's family and natural supports, with the client's consent, are in attendance at the treatment planning meeting, are involved in ongoing meetings related to treatment, and have the necessary supports to fully participate. The client's participation in the development of the individual treatment plan shall be documented.
 - (2) The client and the ACT team shall work together to formulate and prioritize the issues, set goals, research approaches and interventions, and establish the plan. The plan is individually tailored so that the treatment, rehabilitation, and support approaches and interventions achieve optimum symptom reduction, help fulfill the personal needs and aspirations of the client, take into account the cultural beliefs and realities of the individual,

271.1

271.2

271.3

271.4

271.5

271.6

271.7

271.8

271.9

271.11

271.21

271.22

271.23

271.24

271.25

271.27

271.28

271.29

271.30

271.31

271.32

and improve all the aspects of psychosocial functioning that are important to the client. The process supports strengths, rehabilitation, and recovery.

- (3) Each client's individual treatment plan shall identify service needs, strengths and capacities, and barriers, and set specific and measurable short- and long-term goals for each service need. The individual treatment plan must clearly specify the approaches and interventions necessary for the client to achieve the individual goals, when the interventions shall happen, and identify which ACT team member shall carry out the approaches and interventions.
- (4) The primary team member and the individual treatment team, together with the client and the client's family and natural supports with the client's consent, are responsible for 272.10 reviewing and rewriting the treatment goals and individual treatment plan whenever there 272.11 is a major decision point in the client's course of treatment or at least every six months. 272.12
 - (5) The primary team member shall prepare a summary that thoroughly describes in writing the client's and the individual treatment team's evaluation of the client's progress and goal attainment, the effectiveness of the interventions, and the satisfaction with services since the last individual treatment plan. The client's most recent diagnostic assessment must be included with the treatment plan summary.
- (6) The individual treatment plan and review must be approved or acknowledged by the 272.18 client, the primary team member, the team leader, the psychiatric care provider, and all 272.19 individual treatment team members. A copy of the approved individual treatment plan must 272.20 be made available to the client. 272.21
- Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256B.0623, subdivision 5, is amended to read: 272.22
- Subd. 5. Qualifications of provider staff. Adult rehabilitative mental health services 272.23 must be provided by qualified individual provider staff of a certified provider entity. 272.24
- Individual provider staff must be qualified as: 272.25

272.1

272.2

272.3

272.4

272.5

272.6

272.7

272.8

272.9

272.13

272.14

272.15

272.16

- (1) a mental health professional who is qualified according to section 245I.04, subdivision 272.26 272.27 2;
- 272.28 (2) a certified rehabilitation specialist who is qualified according to section 245I.04, 272.29 subdivision 8;
- (3) a clinical trainee who is qualified according to section 245I.04, subdivision 6; 272.30
- 272.31 (4) a mental health practitioner qualified according to section 245I.04, subdivision 4;

273.1	(5) a mental health certified peer specialist who is qualified according to section 245I.04,
273.2	subdivision 10; or
273.3	(6) a mental health rehabilitation worker who is qualified according to section 245I.04,
273.4	subdivision 14-; or
273.5	(7) a licensed occupational therapist, as defined in section 148.6402, subdivision 14.
273.6	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective upon federal approval. The commissioner
273.7	of human services must notify the revisor of statutes when federal approval is obtained.
273.8	Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 256B.0625, subdivision 5m, is
273.9	amended to read:
273.10	Subd. 5m. Certified community behavioral health clinic services. (a) Medical
273.11	assistance covers services provided by a not-for-profit certified community behavioral health
273.12	clinic (CCBHC) that meets the requirements of section 245.735, subdivision 3.
273.13	(b) The commissioner shall reimburse CCBHCs on a per-day basis for each day that an
273.14	eligible service is delivered using the CCBHC daily bundled rate system for medical
273.15	assistance payments as described in paragraph (c). The commissioner shall include a quality
273.16	incentive payment in the CCBHC daily bundled rate system as described in paragraph (e).
273.17	There is no county share for medical assistance services when reimbursed through the
273.18	CCBHC daily bundled rate system.
273.19	(c) The commissioner shall ensure that the CCBHC daily bundled rate system for CCBHC
273.20	payments under medical assistance meets the following requirements:
273.21	(1) the CCBHC daily bundled rate shall be a provider-specific rate calculated for each
273.22	CCBHC, based on the daily cost of providing CCBHC services and the total annual allowable
273.23	CCBHC costs divided by the total annual number of CCBHC visits. For calculating the
273.24	payment rate, total annual visits include visits covered by medical assistance and visits not
273.25	covered by medical assistance. Allowable costs include but are not limited to the salaries
273.26	and benefits of medical assistance providers; the cost of CCBHC services provided under
273.27	section 245.735, subdivision 3, paragraph (a), clauses (6) and (7); and other costs such as
273.28	insurance or supplies needed to provide CCBHC services;
273.29	(2) payment shall be limited to one payment per day per medical assistance enrollee
273.30	when an eligible CCBHC service is provided. A CCBHC visit is eligible for reimbursement
273.31	if at least one of the CCBHC services listed under section 245.735, subdivision 3, paragraph
273.32	(a), clause (6), is furnished to a medical assistance enrollee by a health care practitioner or
273.33	licensed agency employed by or under contract with a CCBHC;

(3) initial CCBHC daily bundled rates for newly certified CCBHCs under section 245.735, subdivision 3, shall be established by the commissioner using a provider-specific rate based on the newly certified CCBHC's audited historical cost report data adjusted for the expected cost of delivering CCBHC services. Estimates are subject to review by the commissioner and must include the expected cost of providing the full scope of CCBHC services and the expected number of visits for the rate period;

- (4) the commissioner shall rebase CCBHC rates once every two years following the last rebasing and no less than 12 months following an initial rate or a rate change due to a change in the scope of services. For CCBHCs certified after September 31, 2020, and before January 1, 2021, the commissioner shall rebase rates according to this clause beginning for dates of service provided on January 1, 2024;
- 274.12 (5) the commissioner shall provide for a 60-day appeals process after notice of the results of the rebasing;
- 274.14 (6) an entity that receives a CCBHC daily bundled rate that overlaps with another federal
 274.15 Medicaid rate is not eligible for the CCBHC rate methodology;
 - (7) payments for CCBHC services to individuals enrolled in managed care shall be coordinated with the state's phase-out of CCBHC wrap payments. The commissioner shall complete the phase-out of CCBHC wrap payments within 60 days of the implementation of the CCBHC daily bundled rate system in the Medicaid Management Information System (MMIS), for CCBHCs reimbursed under this chapter, with a final settlement of payments due made payable to CCBHCs no later than 18 months thereafter;
 - (8) the CCBHC daily bundled rate for each CCBHC shall be updated by trending each provider-specific rate by the Medicare Economic Index for primary care services. This update shall occur each year in between rebasing periods determined by the commissioner in accordance with clause (4). CCBHCs must provide data on costs and visits to the state annually using the CCBHC cost report established by the commissioner; and
- (9) a CCBHC may request a rate adjustment for changes in the CCBHC's scope of 274.27 services when such changes are expected to result in an adjustment to the CCBHC payment 274.28 rate by 2.5 percent or more. The CCBHC must provide the commissioner with information 274.29 regarding the changes in the scope of services, including the estimated cost of providing 274.30 the new or modified services and any projected increase or decrease in the number of visits 274.31 resulting from the change. Estimated costs are subject to review by the commissioner. Rate 274.32 adjustments for changes in scope shall occur no more than once per year in between rebasing 274.33 periods per CCBHC and are effective on the date of the annual CCBHC rate update. 274.34

274.1

274.2

274.3

274.4

274.5

274.6

274.7

274.8

274.9

274.10

274.11

274.16

274.17

274.19

274.20

274.21

274.22

274.23

274.24

274.25

(d) Managed care plans and county-based purchasing plans shall reimburse CCBHC providers at the CCBHC daily bundled rate. The commissioner shall monitor the effect of this requirement on the rate of access to the services delivered by CCBHC providers. If, for any contract year, federal approval is not received for this paragraph, the commissioner must adjust the capitation rates paid to managed care plans and county-based purchasing plans for that contract year to reflect the removal of this provision. Contracts between managed care plans and county-based purchasing plans and providers to whom this paragraph applies must allow recovery of payments from those providers if capitation rates are adjusted in accordance with this paragraph. Payment recoveries must not exceed the amount equal to any increase in rates that results from this provision. This paragraph expires if federal approval is not received for this paragraph at any time.

- (e) The commissioner shall implement a quality incentive payment program for CCBHCs that meets the following requirements:
- (1) a CCBHC shall receive a quality incentive payment upon meeting specific numeric thresholds for performance metrics established by the commissioner, in addition to payments for which the CCBHC is eligible under the CCBHC daily bundled rate system described in paragraph (c);
- 275.18 (2) a CCBHC must be certified and enrolled as a CCBHC for the entire measurement 275.19 year to be eligible for incentive payments;
- 275.20 (3) each CCBHC shall receive written notice of the criteria that must be met in order to receive quality incentive payments at least 90 days prior to the measurement year; and
 - (4) a CCBHC must provide the commissioner with data needed to determine incentive payment eligibility within six months following the measurement year. The commissioner shall notify CCBHC providers of their performance on the required measures and the incentive payment amount within 12 months following the measurement year.
- (f) All claims to managed care plans for CCBHC services as provided under this section shall be submitted directly to, and paid by, the commissioner on the dates specified no later than January 1 of the following calendar year, if:
- (1) one or more managed care plans does not comply with the federal requirement for payment of clean claims to CCBHCs, as defined in Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, section 447.45(b), and the managed care plan does not resolve the payment issue within 30 days of noncompliance; and

275.1

275.2

275.3

275.4

275.5

275.6

275.7

275.8

275.9

275.10

275.11

275.12

275.13

275.22

275.24

(2) the total amount of clean claims not paid in accordance with federal requirements by one or more managed care plans is 50 percent of, or greater than, the total CCBHC claims eligible for payment by managed care plans.

If the conditions in this paragraph are met between January 1 and June 30 of a calendar year, claims shall be submitted to and paid by the commissioner beginning on January 1 of the following year. If the conditions in this paragraph are met between July 1 and December 31 of a calendar year, claims shall be submitted to and paid by the commissioner beginning on July 1 of the following year.

- (g) Peer services provided by a CCBHC certified under section 245.735 are a covered service under medical assistance when a licensed mental health professional or alcohol and drug counselor determines that peer services are medically necessary. Eligibility under this subdivision for peer services provided by a CCBHC supersede eligibility standards under sections 256B.0615, 256B.0616, and 245G.07, subdivision 2, clause (8).
- Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256B.0625, subdivision 20, is amended to read: 276.14
- 276.15 Subd. 20. Mental health case management. (a) To the extent authorized by rule of the state agency, medical assistance covers case management services to persons with serious 276.16 and persistent mental illness and children with severe emotional disturbance. Services 276.17 provided under this section must meet the relevant standards in sections 245.461 to 245.4887, 276.18 the Comprehensive Adult and Children's Mental Health Acts, Minnesota Rules, parts 276.19 9520.0900 to 9520.0926, and 9505.0322, excluding subpart 10. 276.20
 - (b) Entities meeting program standards set out in rules governing family community support services as defined in section 245.4871, subdivision 17, are eligible for medical assistance reimbursement for case management services for children with severe emotional disturbance when these services meet the program standards in Minnesota Rules, parts 9520.0900 to 9520.0926 and 9505.0322, excluding subparts 6 and 10.
- (c) Medical assistance and MinnesotaCare payment for mental health case management shall be made on a monthly basis. In order to receive payment for an eligible child, the 276.27 provider must document at least a face-to-face contact either in person or by interactive video that meets the requirements of subdivision 20b with the child, the child's parents, or 276.29 the child's legal representative. To receive payment for an eligible adult, the provider must 276.30 document:
- 276.32 (1) at least a face-to-face contact with the adult or the adult's legal representative either in person or by interactive video that meets the requirements of subdivision 20b; or

276.1

276.2

276.3

276.4

276.5

276.6

276.7

276.8

276.9

276.10

276.11

276.12

276.13

276.21

276.22

276.23

276.24

276.25

276.26

(2) at least a telephone contact or contact via secure electronic message, if preferred by the adult client, with the adult or the adult's legal representative and document a face-to-face contact either in person or by interactive video that meets the requirements of subdivision 20b with the adult or the adult's legal representative within the preceding two months.

- (d) Payment for mental health case management provided by county or state staff shall be based on the monthly rate methodology under section 256B.094, subdivision 6, paragraph (b), with separate rates calculated for child welfare and mental health, and within mental health, separate rates for children and adults.
- (e) Payment for mental health case management provided by Indian health services or by agencies operated by Indian tribes may be made according to this section or other relevant 277.10 federally approved rate setting methodology. 277.11
 - (f) Payment for mental health case management provided by vendors who contract with a county must be calculated in accordance with section 256B.076, subdivision 2. Payment for mental health case management provided by vendors who contract with a Tribe must be based on a monthly rate negotiated by the Tribe. The rate must not exceed the rate charged by the vendor for the same service to other payers. If the service is provided by a team of contracted vendors, the team shall determine how to distribute the rate among its members. No reimbursement received by contracted vendors shall be returned to the county or tribe, except to reimburse the county or tribe for advance funding provided by the county or tribe to the vendor.
 - (g) If the service is provided by a team which includes contracted vendors, tribal staff, and county or state staff, the costs for county or state staff participation in the team shall be included in the rate for county-provided services. In this case, the contracted vendor, the tribal agency, and the county may each receive separate payment for services provided by each entity in the same month. In order to prevent duplication of services, each entity must document, in the recipient's file, the need for team case management and a description of the roles of the team members.
 - (h) Notwithstanding section 256B.19, subdivision 1, the nonfederal share of costs for mental health case management shall be provided by the recipient's county of responsibility, as defined in sections 256G.01 to 256G.12, from sources other than federal funds or funds used to match other federal funds. If the service is provided by a tribal agency, the nonfederal share, if any, shall be provided by the recipient's tribe. When this service is paid by the state without a federal share through fee-for-service, 50 percent of the cost shall be provided by the recipient's county of responsibility.

277.1

277.2

277.3

277.4

277.5

277.6

277.7

277.8

277.9

277.12

277.13

277.15

277.16

277.17

277.18

277.19

277.20

277.21

277.22

277.23

277.24

277.25

277.26

277.27

277.28

277.29

277.30

277.31

277.32

(i) Notwithstanding any administrative rule to the contrary, prepaid medical assistance and MinnesotaCare include mental health case management. When the service is provided through prepaid capitation, the nonfederal share is paid by the state and the county pays no share.

- (j) The commissioner may suspend, reduce, or terminate the reimbursement to a provider that does not meet the reporting or other requirements of this section. The county of responsibility, as defined in sections 256G.01 to 256G.12, or, if applicable, the tribal agency, is responsible for any federal disallowances. The county or tribe may share this responsibility with its contracted vendors.
- (k) The commissioner shall set aside a portion of the federal funds earned for county expenditures under this section to repay the special revenue maximization account under section 256.01, subdivision 2, paragraph (o). The repayment is limited to:
- (1) the costs of developing and implementing this section; and
- 278.14 (2) programming the information systems.

278.1

278.2

278.3

278.4

278.5

278.6

278.7

278.8

- (l) Payments to counties and tribal agencies for case management expenditures under this section shall only be made from federal earnings from services provided under this section. When this service is paid by the state without a federal share through fee-for-service, 50 percent of the cost shall be provided by the state. Payments to county-contracted vendors shall include the federal earnings, the state share, and the county share.
- 278.20 (m) Case management services under this subdivision do not include therapy, treatment, 278.21 legal, or outreach services.
- (n) If the recipient is a resident of a nursing facility, intermediate care facility, or hospital, and the recipient's institutional care is paid by medical assistance, payment for case management services under this subdivision is limited to the lesser of:
- 278.25 (1) the last 180 days of the recipient's residency in that facility and may not exceed more than six months in a calendar year; or
- (2) the limits and conditions which apply to federal Medicaid funding for this service.
- 278.28 (o) Payment for case management services under this subdivision shall not duplicate payments made under other program authorities for the same purpose.
- (p) If the recipient is receiving care in a hospital, nursing facility, or residential setting licensed under chapter 245A or 245D that is staffed 24 hours a day, seven days a week,

mental health targeted case management services must actively support identification of community alternatives for the recipient and discharge planning.

- Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 256B.0671, subdivision 5, is 279.3 amended to read: 279.4
- Subd. 5. Child and family psychoeducation services. (a) Medical assistance covers child and family psychoeducation services provided to a child up to age 21 with and the child's family members when determined to be medically necessary due to a diagnosed mental health condition when or diagnosed mental illness identified in the child's individual treatment plan and provided by a mental health professional who is qualified under section 245I.04, subdivision 2, and practicing within the scope of practice under section 245I.04, 279.10 subdivision 3, or a clinical trainee who has determined it medically necessary to involve 279.11 family members in the child's care is qualified under section 245I.04, subdivision 6, and 279.12 practicing within the scope of practice under section 245I.04, subdivision 7.
 - (b) "Child and family psychoeducation services" means information or demonstration provided to an individual or family as part of an individual, family, multifamily group, or peer group session to explain, educate, and support the child and family in understanding a child's symptoms of mental illness, the impact on the child's development, and needed components of treatment and skill development so that the individual, family, or group can help the child to prevent relapse, prevent the acquisition of comorbid disorders, and achieve optimal mental health and long-term resilience.
- 279.21 (c) Child and family psychoeducation services include individual, family, or group skills development or training to: 279.22
- 279.23 (1) support the development of psychosocial skills that are medically necessary to rehabilitate the child to an age-appropriate developmental trajectory when the child's 279.24 279.25 development was disrupted by a mental health condition or diagnosed mental illness; or
- (2) enable the child to self-monitor, compensate for, cope with, counteract, or replace 279.26 skills deficits or maladaptive skills acquired over the course of the child's mental health 279.27 condition or mental illness. 279.28
- (d) Skills development or training delivered to a child or the child's family under this 279.29 subdivision must be targeted to the specific deficits related to the child's mental health 279.30 condition or mental illness and must be prescribed in the child's individual treatment plan. 279.31 279.32 Group skills training may be provided to multiple recipients who, because of the nature of

279.1

279.2

279.5

279.6

279.7

279.8

279.9

279.13

279.14

279.15

279.17

279.18

279.19

their emotional, behavioral, or social functional ability, may benefit from interaction in a 280.1 280.2 group setting. Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256B.0943, subdivision 12, is amended to read: 280.3 Subd. 12. Excluded services. The following services are not eligible for medical 280.4 assistance payment as children's therapeutic services and supports: 280.5 (1) service components of children's therapeutic services and supports simultaneously 280.6 provided by more than one provider entity unless prior authorization is obtained; 280.7 (2) treatment by multiple providers within the same agency at the same clock time, 280.8 unless one service is delivered to the child and the other service is delivered to child's family 280.9 or treatment team without the child present; 280.10 (3) (2) children's therapeutic services and supports provided in violation of medical 280.11 assistance policy in Minnesota Rules, part 9505.0220; 280.12 280.13 (4) (3) mental health behavioral aide services provided by a personal care assistant who is not qualified as a mental health behavioral aide and employed by a certified children's 280.14 280.15 therapeutic services and supports provider entity; (5) (4) service components of CTSS that are the responsibility of a residential or program 280.16 license holder, including foster care providers under the terms of a service agreement or 280.17 administrative rules governing licensure; and 280.18 (6) (5) adjunctive activities that may be offered by a provider entity but are not otherwise 280.19 covered by medical assistance, including: 280.20 (i) a service that is primarily recreation oriented or that is provided in a setting that is 280.21 not medically supervised. This includes sports activities, exercise groups, activities such as 280.22 craft hours, leisure time, social hours, meal or snack time, trips to community activities, 280.23 280.24 and tours; (ii) a social or educational service that does not have or cannot reasonably be expected 280.25 to have a therapeutic outcome related to the client's emotional disturbance; 280.26 (iii) prevention or education programs provided to the community; and 280.27 280.28 (iv) treatment for clients with primary diagnoses of alcohol or other drug abuse.

281.1	Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256B.0947, subdivision 5, is amended to read:
281.2	Subd. 5. Standards for intensive nonresidential rehabilitative providers. (a) Services
281.3	must meet the standards in this section and chapter 245I as required in section 245I.011,
281.4	subdivision 5.
281.5	(b) The treatment team must have specialized training in providing services to the specific
281.6	age group of youth that the team serves. An individual treatment team must serve youth
281.7	who are: (1) at least eight years of age or older and under 16 years of age, or (2) at least 14
281.8	years of age or older and under 21 years of age.
281.9	(c) The treatment team for intensive nonresidential rehabilitative mental health services
281.10	comprises both permanently employed core team members and client-specific team members
281.11	as follows:
281.12	(1) Based on professional qualifications and client needs, clinically qualified core team
281.13	members are assigned on a rotating basis as the client's lead worker to coordinate a client's
281.14	care. The core team must comprise at least four full-time equivalent direct care staff and
281.15	must minimally include:
281.16	(i) a mental health professional who serves as team leader to provide administrative
281.17	direction and treatment supervision to the team;
281.18	(ii) an advanced-practice registered nurse with certification in psychiatric or mental
281.19	health care or a board-certified child and adolescent psychiatrist, either of which must be
281.20	credentialed to prescribe medications;
281.21	(iii) a licensed alcohol and drug counselor who is also trained in mental health
281.22	interventions; and
281.23	(iv) (iii) a mental health certified peer specialist who is qualified according to section
281.24	245I.04, subdivision 10, and is also a former children's mental health consumer-; and
281.25	(iv) a co-occurring disorder specialist who meets the requirements under section
281.26	256B.0622, subdivision 7a, paragraph (a), clause (4), who will provide or facilitate the
281.27	provision of co-occurring disorder treatment to clients.
281.28	(2) The core team may also include any of the following:
281.29	(i) additional mental health professionals;
281.30	(ii) a vocational specialist;

282.1	(iii) an educational specialist with knowledge and experience working with youth
282.2	regarding special education requirements and goals, special education plans, and coordination
282.3	of educational activities with health care activities;
282.4	(iv) a child and adolescent psychiatrist who may be retained on a consultant basis;
282.5	(v) a clinical trainee qualified according to section 245I.04, subdivision 6;
282.6	(vi) a mental health practitioner qualified according to section 245I.04, subdivision 4;
282.7	(vii) a case management service provider, as defined in section 245.4871, subdivision
282.8	4;
282.9	(viii) a housing access specialist; and
282.10	(ix) a family peer specialist as defined in subdivision 2, paragraph (j).
282.11	(3) A treatment team may include, in addition to those in clause (1) or (2), ad hoc
282.12	members not employed by the team who consult on a specific client and who must accept
282.13	overall clinical direction from the treatment team for the duration of the client's placement
282.14	with the treatment team and must be paid by the provider agency at the rate for a typical
282.15	session by that provider with that client or at a rate negotiated with the client-specific
282.16	member. Client-specific treatment team members may include:
282.17	(i) the mental health professional treating the client prior to placement with the treatment
282.18	team;
282.19	(ii) the client's current substance use counselor, if applicable;
282.20	(iii) a lead member of the client's individualized education program team or school-based
282.21	mental health provider, if applicable;
282.22	(iv) a representative from the client's health care home or primary care clinic, as needed
282.23	to ensure integration of medical and behavioral health care;
282.24	(v) the client's probation officer or other juvenile justice representative, if applicable;
282.25	and
282.26	(vi) the client's current vocational or employment counselor, if applicable.
282.27	(d) The treatment supervisor shall be an active member of the treatment team and shall
282.28	function as a practicing clinician at least on a part-time basis. The treatment team shall meet
282.29	with the treatment supervisor at least weekly to discuss recipients' progress and make rapid
282 30	adjustments to meet recipients' needs. The team meeting must include client-specific case

reviews and general treatment discussions among team members. Client-specific case reviews and planning must be documented in the individual client's treatment record.

- (e) The staffing ratio must not exceed ten clients to one full-time equivalent treatment team position.
- (f) The treatment team shall serve no more than 80 clients at any one time. Should local demand exceed the team's capacity, an additional team must be established rather than exceed this limit.
- (g) Nonclinical staff shall have prompt access in person or by telephone to a mental health practitioner, clinical trainee, or mental health professional. The provider shall have the capacity to promptly and appropriately respond to emergent needs and make any necessary staffing adjustments to ensure the health and safety of clients.
- (h) The intensive nonresidential rehabilitative mental health services provider shall participate in evaluation of the assertive community treatment for youth (Youth ACT) model as conducted by the commissioner, including the collection and reporting of data and the reporting of performance measures as specified by contract with the commissioner.
- 283.16 (i) A regional treatment team may serve multiple counties.
- Sec. 24. Laws 2023, chapter 70, article 1, section 35, is amended to read:
- Sec. 35. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256B.761, is amended to read:

283.19 **256B.761 REIMBURSEMENT FOR MENTAL HEALTH SERVICES.**

- (a) Effective for services rendered on or after July 1, 2001, payment for medication management provided to psychiatric patients, outpatient mental health services, day treatment services, home-based mental health services, and family community support services shall be paid at the lower of (1) submitted charges, or (2) 75.6 percent of the 50th percentile of 1999 charges.
- 283.25 (b) Effective July 1, 2001, the medical assistance rates for outpatient mental health services provided by an entity that operates: (1) a Medicare-certified comprehensive outpatient rehabilitation facility; and (2) a facility that was certified prior to January 1, 1993, with at least 33 percent of the clients receiving rehabilitation services in the most recent calendar year who are medical assistance recipients, will be increased by 38 percent, when those services are provided within the comprehensive outpatient rehabilitation facility and provided to residents of nursing facilities owned by the entity.

283.1

283.2

283.3

283.4

283.5

283.6

283.7

283.8

283.9

283.10

283.11

283.20

283.22

283.23

(c) In addition to rate increases otherwise provided, the commissioner may restructure coverage policy and rates to improve access to adult rehabilitative mental health services under section 256B.0623 and related mental health support services under section 256B.021, subdivision 4, paragraph (f), clause (2). For state fiscal years 2015 and 2016, the projected state share of increased costs due to this paragraph is transferred from adult mental health grants under sections 245.4661 and 256E.12. The transfer for fiscal year 2016 is a permanent base adjustment for subsequent fiscal years. Payments made to managed care plans and county-based purchasing plans under sections 256B.69, 256B.692, and 256L.12 shall reflect the rate changes described in this paragraph.

- (d) Any ratables effective before July 1, 2015, do not apply to early intensive developmental and behavioral intervention (EIDBI) benefits described in section 256B.0949.
- (e) Effective for services rendered on or after January 1, 2024, payment rates for 284.12 behavioral health services included in the rate analysis required by Laws 2021, First Special 284.13 Session chapter 7, article 17, section 18, except for adult day treatment services under section 284.14 256B.0671, subdivision 3; early intensive developmental and behavioral intervention services 284.15 under section 256B.0949; and substance use disorder services under chapter 254B, must be 284.16 increased by three percent from the rates in effect on December 31, 2023. Effective for 284.17 services rendered on or after January 1, 2025, payment rates for behavioral health services 284.18 included in the rate analysis required by Laws 2021, First Special Session chapter 7, article 284.19 17, section 18, except for adult day treatment services under section 256B.0671, subdivision 284.20 3; early intensive developmental behavioral intervention services under section 256B.0949; 284.21 and substance use disorder services under chapter 254B, must be annually adjusted according 284.22 to the change from the midpoint of the previous rate year to the midpoint of the rate year for which the rate is being determined using the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services 284.24 Medicare Economic Index as forecasted in the fourth quarter of the calendar year before 284 25 the rate year. For payments made in accordance with this paragraph, if and to the extent 284.26 that the commissioner identifies that the state has received federal financial participation 284.27 for behavioral health services in excess of the amount allowed under United States Code, 284.28 title 42, section 447.321, the state shall repay the excess amount to the Centers for Medicare 284.29 and Medicaid Services with state money and maintain the full payment rate under this 284.30 paragraph. This paragraph does not apply to federally qualified health centers, rural health 284.31 centers, Indian health services, certified community behavioral health clinics, cost-based 284.32 rates, and rates that are negotiated with the county. This paragraph expires upon legislative 284.33 implementation of the new rate methodology resulting from the rate analysis required by 284.34 Laws 2021, First Special Session chapter 7, article 17, section 18.

284.1

284.2

284.3

284.4

284.5

284.6

284.7

284.8

284.9

284.10

(f) Effective January 1, 2024, the commissioner shall increase capitation payments made 285.1 to managed care plans and county-based purchasing plans to reflect the behavioral health 285.2 285.3 service rate increase provided in paragraph (e). Managed care and county-based purchasing plans must use the capitation rate increase provided under this paragraph to increase payment 285.4 rates to behavioral health services providers. The commissioner must monitor the effect of 285.5 this rate increase on enrollee access to behavioral health services. If for any contract year 285.6 federal approval is not received for this paragraph, the commissioner must adjust the 285.7 285.8 capitation rates paid to managed care plans and county-based purchasing plans for that contract year to reflect the removal of this provision. Contracts between managed care plans 285.9 and county-based purchasing plans and providers to whom this paragraph applies must 285.10 allow recovery of payments from those providers if capitation rates are adjusted in accordance 285.11 with this paragraph. Payment recoveries must not exceed the amount equal to any increase 285.12 in rates that results from this provision. 285.13 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2025, or upon federal approval, 285.14 whichever is later. The commissioner of human services shall notify the revisor of statutes 285.15 when federal approval is obtained. 285.16 Sec. 25. <u>DIRECTION TO THE COMMISSIONER</u>; MEDICAL ASSISTANCE RATE **INCREASES.** Subdivision 1. Rate increases; services. The commissioner of human services shall

285.17 285.18

- 285.19 increase payment rates under the medical assistance program for: 285.20
- 285.21 (1) residential substance use disorder services rendered on or after January 1, 2025;
- (2) inpatient behavioral health services provided by hospitals paid under the 285.22 diagnosis-related group methodology, for discharges occurring on or after January 1, 2025; 285.23
- (3) behavioral health home services under Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.0757, 285.24 rendered on or after January 1, 2025; 285.25
- (4) physician and professional services for mental health and substance use disorder 285.26 285.27 rendered on or after January 1, 2025; and
- (5) services under Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.761, billed and coded under 285.28 285.29 Healthcare Common Procedure Coding System H, S, and T codes, and rendered on or after January 1, 2025. 285.30
- Subd. 2. Rate increases; amount. The total amount of the rate increases under 285.31 subdivision 1 must be equal to \$5,727,000 in fiscal year 2025, \$6,541,000 in fiscal year 285.32 2026, and \$7,520,000 in fiscal year 2027. 285.33

286.1	Sec. 26. FIRST EPISODE PSYCHOSIS COORDINATED SPECIALITY CARE
286.2	MEDICAL ASSISTANCE BENEFIT.
286.3	(a) The commissioner of human services must develop a First Episode Psychosis
286.4	Coordinated Specialty Care (FEP-CSC) medical assistance benefit.
286.5	(b) The benefit must cover medically necessary treatment. Services must include:
286.6	(1) assertive outreach and engagement strategies encouraging individuals' involvement;
286.7	(2) person-centered care, delivered in the home and community, extending beyond
286.8	typical hours of operation, such as evenings and weekends;
286.9	(3) crisis planning and intervention;
286.10	(4) team leadership from a mental health professional who provides ongoing consultation
286.11	to the team members, coordinates admission screening, and leads the weekly team meetings
286.12	to facilitate case review and entry to the program;
286.13	(5) employment and education services that enable individuals to function in workplace
286.14	and educational settings that support individual preferences;
286.15	(6) family education and support that builds on an individual's identified family and
286.16	natural support systems;
286.17	(7) individual and group psychotherapy that include but are not limited to cognitive
286.18	behavioral therapies;
286.19	(8) care coordination services in clinic, community, and home settings to assist individuals
286.20	with practical problem solving, such as securing transportation, addressing housing and
286.21	other basic needs, managing money, obtaining medical care, and coordinating care with
286.22	other providers; and
286.23	(9) pharmacotherapy, medication management, and primary care coordination provided
286.24	by a mental health professional who is permitted to prescribe psychiatric medications.
286.25	(c) An eligible recipient is an individual who:
286.26	(1) is between the ages of 15 and 40;
286.27	(2) is experiencing early signs of psychosis with the duration of onset being less than
286.28	two years; and

286.29

(3) has been on antipsychotic medications for less than a total of 12 months.

287.1	(d) By December 1, 2026, the commissioner must submit a report to the chairs and
287.2	ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over human
287.3	services policy and finance. The report must include:
287.4	(1) an overview of the recommended benefit;
287.5	(2) eligibility requirements;
287.6	(3) program standards;
287.7	(4) a reimbursement methodology that covers team-based bundled costs;
287.8	(5) performance evaluation criteria for programs; and
287.9	(6) draft legislation with the statutory changes necessary to implement the benefit.
287.10	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.
287.11	Sec. 27. MEDICAL ASSISTANCE CHILDREN'S RESIDENTIAL MENTAL
287.12	HEALTH CRISIS STABILIZATION.
287.13	(a) The commissioner of human services must consult with providers, advocates, Tribal
287.14	Nations, counties, people with lived experience as or with a child in a mental health crisis,
287.15	and other interested community members to develop a covered benefit under medical
287.16	assistance to provide residential mental health crisis stabilization for children. The benefit
287.17	must:
287.18	(1) consist of evidence-based promising practices, or culturally responsive treatment
287.19	services for children under the age of 21 experiencing a mental health crisis;
287.20	(2) embody an integrative care model that supports individuals experiencing a mental
287.21	health crisis who may also be experiencing co-occurring conditions;
287.22	(3) qualify for federal financial participation; and
287.23	(4) include services that support children and families, including but not limited to:
287.24	(i) an assessment of the child's immediate needs and factors that led to the mental health
287.25	crisis;
287.26	(ii) individualized care to address immediate needs and restore the child to a precrisis
287.27	level of functioning;
287.28	(iii) 24-hour on-site staff and assistance;
287.29	(iv) supportive counseling and clinical services;

288.1	(v) skills training and positive support services, as identified in the child's individual
288.2	crisis stabilization plan;
288.3	(vi) referrals to other service providers in the community as needed and to support the
288.4	child's transition from residential crisis stabilization services;
288.5	(vii) development of an individualized and culturally responsive crisis response action
288.6	plan; and
288.7	(viii) assistance to access and store medication.
288.8	(b) When developing the new benefit, the commissioner must make recommendations
288.9	for providers to be reimbursed for room and board.
288.10	(c) The commissioner must consult with or contract with rate-setting experts to develop
288.11	a prospective data-based rate methodology for the children's residential mental health crisis
288.12	stabilization benefit.
288.13	(d) No later than October 1, 2025, the commissioner must submit to the chairs and
288.14	ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over human
288.15	services policy and finance a report detailing the children's residential mental health crisis
288.16	stabilization benefit and must include:
288.17	(1) eligibility criteria, clinical and service requirements, provider standards, licensing
288.18	requirements, and reimbursement rates;
288.19	(2) the process for community engagement, community input, and crisis models studied
288.20	in other states;
288.21	(3) a deadline for the commissioner to submit a state plan amendment to the Centers for
288.22	Medicare and Medicaid Services; and
288.23	(4) draft legislation with the statutory changes necessary to implement the benefit.
288.24	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.
288.25	Sec. 28. MEDICAL ASSISTANCE CLUBHOUSE BENEFIT ANALYSIS.
288.26	The commissioner of human services must conduct an analysis to identify existing or
288.27	pending Medicaid Clubhouse benefits in other states, federal authorities used, populations
288.28	served, service and reimbursement design, and accreditation standards. By December 1,
288.29	2025, the commissioner must submit a report to the chairs and ranking minority members
288.30	of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over health and human services finance and

policy. The report must include a comparative analysis of Medicaid Clubhouse programs 289.1 and recommendations for designing a medical assistance benefit in Minnesota. 289.2 Sec. 29. STUDY ON MEDICAL ASSISTANCE CHILDREN'S INTENSIVE 289.3 RESIDENTIAL TREATMENT BENEFIT. 289.4 (a) The commissioner of human services must consult with providers, advocates, Tribal 289.5 Nations, counties, people with lived experience as or with a child experiencing mental health 289.6 conditions, and other interested community members to develop a medical assistance state 289.7 plan covered benefit to provide intensive residential mental health services for children and 289.8 289.9 youth. The benefit must: (1) consist of evidence-based promising practices and culturally responsive treatment 289.10 289.11 services for children under the age of 21; (2) adapt to an integrative care model that supports individuals experiencing mental 289.12 289.13 health and co-occurring conditions; (3) qualify for federal financial participation; and 289.14 289.15 (4) include services that support children, youth, and families, including but not limited 289.16 to: 289.17 (i) assessment; (ii) individual treatment planning; 289.18 (iii) 24-hour on-site staff and assistance; 289.19 (iv) supportive counseling and clinical services; and 289.20 289.21 (v) referrals to other service providers in the community as needed and to support transition to the family home or own home. 289.22 289.23 (b) When developing the new benefit, the commissioner must make recommendations for providers to be reimbursed for room and board. 289.24 289.25 (c) The commissioner must consult with or contract with rate-setting experts to develop a prospective data-based rate methodology for the children's intensive residential mental 289.26 health services. 289.27 289.28 (d) No later than August 1, 2026, the commissioner must submit to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over human services policy 289.29 and finance a report detailing the proposed benefit, including: 289.30

290.1	(1) eligibility criteria, clinical and service requirements, provider standards, licensing
290.2	requirements, and reimbursement rates;
290.3	(2) the process for community engagement, community input, and residential models
290.4	studied in other states;
290.5	(3) a deadline for the commissioner to submit a state plan amendment to the Centers for
290.6	Medicare and Medicaid Services; and
290.7	(4) draft legislation with the statutory changes necessary to implement the benefit.
290.8	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.
290.9	Sec. 30. REVISOR INSTRUCTION.
290.10	The revisor of statutes, in consultation with the Office of Senate Counsel, Research and
290.11	Fiscal Analysis; the House Research Department; and the commissioner of human services
290.12	shall prepare legislation for the 2025 legislative session to recodify Minnesota Statutes,
290.13	section 256B.0622, to move provisions related to assertive community treatment and intensive
290.14	residential treatment services into separate sections of statute. The revisor shall correct any
290.15	cross-references made necessary by this recodification.
290.16	Sec. 31. REPEALER.
290.17	Minnesota Rules, part 2960.0620, subpart 3, is repealed.
290.18	ARTICLE 10
290.19	CHILD PROTECTION AND WELFARE
290.20	Section 1 Minnesete Statutes 2022 Symplement, section 256.01, subdivision 12h, is
290.20	Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 256.01, subdivision 12b, is amended to read:
290.21	afficilited to read.
290.22	Subd. 12b. Department of Human Services systemic critical incident review team. (a)
290.23	
290.24	The commissioner may establish a Department of Human Services systemic critical incident
	The commissioner may establish a Department of Human Services systemic critical incident review team to review critical incidents reported as required under section 626.557 for
290.25	
290.25 290.26	review team to review critical incidents reported as required under section 626.557 for
	review team to review critical incidents reported as required under section 626.557 for which the Department of Human Services is responsible under section 626.5572, subdivision
290.26	review team to review critical incidents reported as required under section 626.557 for which the Department of Human Services is responsible under section 626.5572, subdivision 13; chapter 245D; or Minnesota Rules, chapter 9544; or child fatalities and near fatalities
290.26 290.27 290.28	review team to review critical incidents reported as required under section 626.557 for which the Department of Human Services is responsible under section 626.5572, subdivision 13; chapter 245D; or Minnesota Rules, chapter 9544; or child fatalities and near fatalities that occur in licensed facilities and are not due to natural causes. When reviewing a critical
290.26 290.27	review team to review critical incidents reported as required under section 626.557 for which the Department of Human Services is responsible under section 626.5572, subdivision 13; chapter 245D; or Minnesota Rules, chapter 9544; or child fatalities and near fatalities that occur in licensed facilities and are not due to natural causes. When reviewing a critical incident, the systemic critical incident review team shall identify systemic influences to the

process. Department staff shall lead and conduct the reviews and may utilize county staff as reviewers. The systemic critical incident review process may include but is not limited to:

- (1) data collection about the incident and actors involved. Data may include the relevant critical services; the service provider's policies and procedures applicable to the incident; the community support plan as defined in section 245D.02, subdivision 4b, for the person receiving services; or an interview of an actor involved in the critical incident or the review of the critical incident. Actors may include:
- 291.9 (i) staff of the provider agency;

291.1

291.2

291.3

291.4

291.5

291.6

291.7

- 291.10 (ii) lead agency staff administering home and community-based services delivered by 291.11 the provider;
- 291.12 (iii) Department of Human Services staff with oversight of home and community-based 291.13 services;
- 291.14 (iv) Department of Health staff with oversight of home and community-based services;
- (v) members of the community including advocates, legal representatives, health care providers, pharmacy staff, or others with knowledge of the incident or the actors in the incident; and
- 291.18 (vi) staff from the Office of the Ombudsman for Mental Health and Developmental 291.19 Disabilities and the Office of Ombudsman for Long-Term Care;
- 291.20 (2) systemic mapping of the critical incident. The team conducting the systemic mapping of the incident may include any actors identified in clause (1), designated representatives of other provider agencies, regional teams, and representatives of the local regional quality council identified in section 256B.097; and
- 291.24 (3) analysis of the case for systemic influences.
- Data collected by the critical incident review team shall be aggregated and provided to regional teams, participating regional quality councils, and the commissioner. The regional teams and quality councils shall analyze the data and make recommendations to the commissioner regarding systemic changes that would decrease the number and severity of critical incidents in the future or improve the quality of the home and community-based service system.
- 291.31 (b) Cases selected for the systemic critical incident review process shall be selected by a selection committee among the following critical incident categories:

202.1	(1)		.	_ :	14	: 1 4: 6		4:	(2) 555	701-	1::-	•	17.
292.1	(1)	cases o	oi care	giver	negieci	iaentii	iea in	section	020.33	⊄, sub	alvis:	ion	1/;

- (2) cases involving financial exploitation identified in section 626.5572, subdivision 9;
- 292.3 (3) incidents identified in section 245D.02, subdivision 11;

292.8

292.9

292.10

292.11

- 292.4 (4) behavior interventions identified in Minnesota Rules, part 9544.0110;
- 292.5 (5) service terminations reported to the department in accordance with section 245D.10, subdivision 3a; and
- 292.7 (6) other incidents determined by the commissioner.
 - (c) The systemic critical incident review under this section shall not replace the process for screening or investigating cases of alleged maltreatment of an adult under section 626.557 or of a child under chapter 260E. The department may select cases for systemic critical incident review, under the jurisdiction of the commissioner, reported for suspected maltreatment and closed following initial or final disposition.
- 292.13 (d) The proceedings and records of the review team are confidential data on individuals or protected nonpublic data as defined in section 13.02, subdivisions 3 and 13. Data that 292.14 document a person's opinions formed as a result of the review are not subject to discovery 292.15 or introduction into evidence in a civil or criminal action against a professional, the state, 292.16 or a county agency arising out of the matters that the team is reviewing. Information, documents, and records otherwise available from other sources are not immune from 292.18 discovery or use in a civil or criminal action solely because the information, documents, 292.19 and records were assessed or presented during proceedings of the review team. A person 292.20 who presented information before the systemic critical incident review team or who is a 292.21 member of the team shall not be prevented from testifying about matters within the person's 292.22 knowledge. In a civil or criminal proceeding, a person shall not be questioned about opinions 292.23 formed by the person as a result of the review. 292.24
- (e) By October 1 of each year, the commissioner shall prepare an annual public report containing the following information:
- 292.27 (1) the number of cases reviewed under each critical incident category identified in 292.28 paragraph (b) and a geographical description of where cases under each category originated;
- 292.29 (2) an aggregate summary of the systemic themes from the critical incidents examined 292.30 by the critical incident review team during the previous year;
- 292.31 (3) a synopsis of the conclusions, incident analyses, or exploratory activities taken in regard to the critical incidents examined by the critical incident review team; and

(4) recommendations made to the commissioner regarding systemic changes that could decrease the number and severity of critical incidents in the future or improve the quality of the home and community-based service system.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2025.

- Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256N.26, subdivision 12, is amended to read:
- Subd. 12. Treatment of Supplemental Security Income. (a) If a child placed in foster 293.6 care receives benefits through Supplemental Security Income (SSI) at the time of foster 293.7 care placement or subsequent to placement in foster care, the financially responsible agency 293.8 may apply to be the payee for the child for the duration of the child's placement in foster 293.9 care. If a child continues to be eligible for SSI after finalization of the adoption or transfer of permanent legal and physical custody and is determined to be eligible for a payment 293.11 under Northstar Care for Children, a permanent caregiver may choose to receive payment 293.12 from both programs simultaneously. The permanent caregiver is responsible to report the 293.13 amount of the payment to the Social Security Administration and the SSI payment will be 293.14 reduced as required by the Social Security Administration. 293.15
- 293.16 (b) If a financially responsible agency applies to be the payee for a child who receives
 293.17 benefits through SSI, or receives the benefits under this subdivision on behalf of a child,
 293.18 the financially responsible agency must provide written notice by certified mail, return
 293.19 receipt requested to:
- 293.20 (1) the child, if the child is 13 years of age or older;
- 293.21 (2) the child's next of kin;

293.1

293.2

293.3

- 293.22 (3) the guardian ad litem;
- 293.23 (4) the legally responsible agency; and
- 293.24 (5) the counsel appointed for the child pursuant to section 260C.163, subdivision 3.
- 293.25 (c) If a financially responsible agency receives benefits under this subdivision on behalf
 293.26 of a child 13 years of age or older, the legally responsible agency and the guardian ad litem
 293.27 must disclose this information to the child in person in a manner that best helps the child
 293.28 understand the information. This paragraph does not apply in circumstances where the child
- 293.29 is living outside of Minnesota.
- 293.30 (d) If a financially responsible agency receives the benefits under this subdivision on
 293.31 behalf of a child, it cannot use those funds for any other purpose than the care of that child.
 293.32 The financially responsible agency must not commingle any benefits received under this

294.1	subdivision and must not put the benefits received on behalf of a child under this subdivision
294.2	into a general fund.
294.3	(e) If a financially responsible agency receives any benefits under this subdivision, it
294.4	must keep a record of:
294.5	(1) the total dollar amount it received on behalf of all children it receives benefits for;
294.6	(2) the total number of children it applied to be a payee for; and
294.7	(3) the total number of children it received benefits for.
294.8	(f) By January 1 of each year, each financially responsible agency must submit a report
294.9	to the commissioner of human services that includes the information required under paragraph
294.10	(c). By January 31 of each year, the commissioner must submit a report to the chairs and
294.11	ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over child
294.12	protection that compiles the information provided to the commissioner by each financially
294.13	responsible agency under paragraph (e); subdivision 13, paragraph (e); and section
294.14	260C.4411, subdivision 3, paragraph (d). This paragraph expires January 31, 2034.
294.15	Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256N.26, subdivision 13, is amended to read:
294.16	Subd. 13. Treatment of retirement survivor's disability insurance, veteran's benefits,
294.16 294.17	Subd. 13. Treatment of retirement survivor's disability insurance, veteran's benefits, railroad retirement benefits, and black lung benefits. (a) If a child placed in foster care
294.17	railroad retirement benefits, and black lung benefits. (a) If a child placed in foster care
294.17 294.18	railroad retirement benefits, and black lung benefits. (a) If a child placed in foster care receives retirement survivor's disability insurance, veteran's benefits, railroad retirement
294.17 294.18 294.19	railroad retirement benefits, and black lung benefits. (a) If a child placed in foster care receives retirement survivor's disability insurance, veteran's benefits, railroad retirement benefits, or black lung benefits at the time of foster care placement or subsequent to
294.17 294.18 294.19 294.20	railroad retirement benefits, and black lung benefits. (a) If a child placed in foster care receives retirement survivor's disability insurance, veteran's benefits, railroad retirement benefits, or black lung benefits at the time of foster care placement or subsequent to placement in foster care, the financially responsible agency may apply to be the payee for
294.17 294.18 294.19 294.20 294.21	railroad retirement benefits, and black lung benefits. (a) If a child placed in foster care receives retirement survivor's disability insurance, veteran's benefits, railroad retirement benefits, or black lung benefits at the time of foster care placement or subsequent to placement in foster care, the financially responsible agency may apply to be the payee for the child for the duration of the child's placement in foster care. If it is anticipated that a
294.17 294.18 294.19 294.20 294.21 294.22	railroad retirement benefits, and black lung benefits. (a) If a child placed in foster care receives retirement survivor's disability insurance, veteran's benefits, railroad retirement benefits, or black lung benefits at the time of foster care placement or subsequent to placement in foster care, the financially responsible agency may apply to be the payee for the child for the duration of the child's placement in foster care. If it is anticipated that a child will be eligible to receive retirement survivor's disability insurance, veteran's benefits,
294.17 294.18 294.19 294.20 294.21 294.22 294.23	railroad retirement benefits, and black lung benefits. (a) If a child placed in foster care receives retirement survivor's disability insurance, veteran's benefits, railroad retirement benefits, or black lung benefits at the time of foster care placement or subsequent to placement in foster care, the financially responsible agency may apply to be the payee for the child for the duration of the child's placement in foster care. If it is anticipated that a child will be eligible to receive retirement survivor's disability insurance, veteran's benefits, railroad retirement benefits, or black lung benefits after finalization of the adoption or
294.17 294.18 294.19 294.20 294.21 294.22 294.23 294.24	railroad retirement benefits, and black lung benefits. (a) If a child placed in foster care receives retirement survivor's disability insurance, veteran's benefits, railroad retirement benefits, or black lung benefits at the time of foster care placement or subsequent to placement in foster care, the financially responsible agency may apply to be the payee for the child for the duration of the child's placement in foster care. If it is anticipated that a child will be eligible to receive retirement survivor's disability insurance, veteran's benefits, railroad retirement benefits, or black lung benefits after finalization of the adoption or assignment of permanent legal and physical custody, the permanent caregiver shall apply
294.17 294.18 294.19 294.20 294.21 294.22 294.23 294.24 294.25	railroad retirement benefits, and black lung benefits. (a) If a child placed in foster care receives retirement survivor's disability insurance, veteran's benefits, railroad retirement benefits, or black lung benefits at the time of foster care placement or subsequent to placement in foster care, the financially responsible agency may apply to be the payee for the child for the duration of the child's placement in foster care. If it is anticipated that a child will be eligible to receive retirement survivor's disability insurance, veteran's benefits, railroad retirement benefits, or black lung benefits after finalization of the adoption or assignment of permanent legal and physical custody, the permanent caregiver shall apply to be the payee of those benefits on the child's behalf.
294.17 294.18 294.19 294.20 294.21 294.22 294.23 294.24 294.25	railroad retirement benefits, and black lung benefits. (a) If a child placed in foster care receives retirement survivor's disability insurance, veteran's benefits, railroad retirement benefits, or black lung benefits at the time of foster care placement or subsequent to placement in foster care, the financially responsible agency may apply to be the payee for the child for the duration of the child's placement in foster care. If it is anticipated that a child will be eligible to receive retirement survivor's disability insurance, veteran's benefits, railroad retirement benefits, or black lung benefits after finalization of the adoption or assignment of permanent legal and physical custody, the permanent caregiver shall apply to be the payee of those benefits on the child's behalf. (b) If the financially responsible agency applies to be the payee for a child who receives
294.17 294.18 294.19 294.20 294.21 294.22 294.23 294.24 294.25 294.26 294.27	railroad retirement benefits, and black lung benefits. (a) If a child placed in foster care receives retirement survivor's disability insurance, veteran's benefits, railroad retirement benefits, or black lung benefits at the time of foster care placement or subsequent to placement in foster care, the financially responsible agency may apply to be the payee for the child for the duration of the child's placement in foster care. If it is anticipated that a child will be eligible to receive retirement survivor's disability insurance, veteran's benefits, railroad retirement benefits, or black lung benefits after finalization of the adoption or assignment of permanent legal and physical custody, the permanent caregiver shall apply to be the payee of those benefits on the child's behalf. (b) If the financially responsible agency applies to be the payee for a child who receives retirement survivor's disability insurance, veteran's benefits, railroad retirement benefits,
294.17 294.18 294.19 294.20 294.21 294.22 294.23 294.24 294.25 294.26 294.27 294.28	railroad retirement benefits, and black lung benefits. (a) If a child placed in foster care receives retirement survivor's disability insurance, veteran's benefits, railroad retirement benefits, or black lung benefits at the time of foster care placement or subsequent to placement in foster care, the financially responsible agency may apply to be the payee for the child for the duration of the child's placement in foster care. If it is anticipated that a child will be eligible to receive retirement survivor's disability insurance, veteran's benefits, railroad retirement benefits, or black lung benefits after finalization of the adoption or assignment of permanent legal and physical custody, the permanent caregiver shall apply to be the payee of those benefits on the child's behalf. (b) If the financially responsible agency applies to be the payee for a child who receives retirement survivor's disability insurance, veteran's benefits, railroad retirement benefits, or black lung benefits, or receives the benefits under this subdivision on behalf of a child,
294.17 294.18 294.19 294.20 294.21 294.22 294.23 294.24 294.25 294.26 294.27 294.28 294.29	railroad retirement benefits, and black lung benefits. (a) If a child placed in foster care receives retirement survivor's disability insurance, veteran's benefits, railroad retirement benefits, or black lung benefits at the time of foster care placement or subsequent to placement in foster care, the financially responsible agency may apply to be the payee for the child for the duration of the child's placement in foster care. If it is anticipated that a child will be eligible to receive retirement survivor's disability insurance, veteran's benefits, railroad retirement benefits, or black lung benefits after finalization of the adoption or assignment of permanent legal and physical custody, the permanent caregiver shall apply to be the payee of those benefits on the child's behalf. (b) If the financially responsible agency applies to be the payee for a child who receives retirement survivor's disability insurance, veteran's benefits, railroad retirement benefits, or black lung benefits, or receives the benefits under this subdivision on behalf of a child, the financially responsible agency must provide written notice by certified mail, return

295.1	(3) the guardian ad litem;
295.2	(4) the legally responsible agency; and
295.3	(5) the counsel appointed for the child pursuant to section 260C.163, subdivision 3.
295.4	(c) If a financially responsible agency receives benefits under this subdivision on behalf
295.5	of a child 13 years of age or older, the legally responsible agency and the guardian ad litem
295.6	must disclose this information to the child in person in a manner that best helps the child
295.7	understand the information. This paragraph does not apply in circumstances where the child
295.8	is living outside of Minnesota.
295.9	(d) If a financially responsible agency receives the benefits under this subdivision on
295.10	behalf of a child, it cannot use those funds for any other purpose than the care of that child.
295.11	The financially responsible agency must not commingle any benefits received under this
295.12	subdivision and must not put the benefits received on behalf of a child under this subdivision
295.13	into a general fund.
295.14	(e) If a financially responsible agency receives any benefits under this subdivision, it
295.15	must keep a record of:
295.16	(1) the total dollar amount it received on behalf of all children it receives benefits for;
295.17	(2) the total number of children it applied to be a payee for; and
295.18	(3) the total number of children it received benefits for.
295.19	(f) By January 1 of each year, each financially responsible agency must submit a report
295.20	to the commissioner of human services that includes the information required under paragraph
295.21	<u>(e).</u>
295.22	Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 260.014, is amended by adding a
295.23	subdivision to read:
295.24	Subd. 5. Carryforward authority. Funds appropriated under this section are available
295.25	for two fiscal years.
295.26	Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260C.4411, is amended by adding a subdivision
295.27	to read:
295.28	Subd. 3. Notice. (a) If the county of financial responsibility under section 256G.02 or
295.29	Tribal agency authorized under section 256.01, subdivision 14b, receives any benefits under
295.30	subdivision 2 on behalf of a child, it must provide written notice by certified mail, return
295.31	receipt requested to:

296.1	(1) the child, if the child is 13 years of age or older;
296.2	(2) the child's next of kin;
296.3	(3) the guardian ad litem;
296.4	(4) the legally responsible agency as defined in section 256N.02, subdivision 14; and
296.5	(5) the counsel appointed for the child pursuant to section 260C.163, subdivision 3.
296.6	(b) If the county of financial responsibility under section 256G.02 or Tribal agency
296.7	authorized under section 256.01, subdivision 14b, receives benefits under subdivision 2 or
296.8	behalf of a child 13 years of age or older, the legally responsible agency as defined in section
296.9	256N.02, subdivision 14, and the guardian ad litem must disclose this information to the
296.10	child in person in a manner that best helps the child understand the information. This
296.11	paragraph does not apply in circumstances where the child is living outside of Minnesota.
296.12	(c) If the county of financial responsibility under section 256G.02 or Tribal agency
296.13	authorized under section 256.01, subdivision 14b, receives the benefits under subdivision
296.14	2 on behalf of a child, it cannot use those funds for any other purpose than the care of that
296.15	child. The county of financial responsibility or Tribal agency must not commingle any
296.16	benefits received under subdivision 2 and must not put the benefits received on behalf of a
296.17	child under subdivision 2 into a general fund.
296.18	(d) If the county of financial responsibility under section 256G.02 or Tribal agency
296.19	authorized under section 256.01, subdivision 14b, receives any benefits under subdivision
296.20	2, it must keep a record of the total dollar amount it received on behalf of all children it
296.21	receives benefits for and the total number of children it receives benefits for. By January 1
296.22	of each year, the county of financial responsibility and Tribal agency must submit a report
296.23	to the commissioner of human services that includes the information required under this
296.24	paragraph.
296.25	Sec. 6. [260E.021] CHILD PROTECTION ADVISORY COUNCIL.
296.26	Subdivision 1. Membership. The Child Protection Advisory Council consists of 24
296.27	members, appointed as follows:
296.28	(1) the commissioner of human services or a designee;
296.29	(2) the commissioner of children, youth, and families or a designee;
296.30	(3) the ombudsperson for foster youth or a designee;

297.1	(4) two members of the house of representatives, one appointed by the speaker of the
297.2	house and one appointed by the minority leader of the house of representatives;
297.3	(5) two members of the senate, one appointed by the senate majority leader and one
297.4	appointed by the senate minority leader;
297.5	(6) a representative from the Association of Minnesota Counties appointed by the
297.6	association;
297.7	(7) two members representing county social services agencies appointed by the Minnesota
297.8	Association of County Social Service Administrators, one from a county outside the
297.9	seven-county metropolitan area and one from a county within the seven-county metropolitan
297.10	area;
297.11	(8) one member with experience working and advocating for children with disabilities
297.12	in the child welfare system, appointed by the Minnesota Council on Disability;
297.13	(9) two members appointed by Indian Child Welfare Advisory Council, one from a
297.14	county outside the seven-county metropolitan area and one from a county within the
297.15	seven-county metropolitan area;
297.16	(10) one member appointed by the ombudsperson of American Indian Families;
297.17	(11) one member appointed by the Children's Alliance;
297.18	(12) three members appointed by the ombudsperson for families;
297.19	(13) two members from the Children's Justice Task Force, one with experience as an
297.20	attorney or judge working in the child welfare system and one with experience as a peace
297.21	officer working in the child welfare system; and
297.22	(14) four members of the public appointed by the governor, including:
297.23	(i) one member 18 years of age or older who has lived experience with the child welfare
297.24	system;
297.25	(ii) one member 18 years of age or older who has lived experience with the child welfare
297.26	system as a parent or caregiver;
297.27	(iii) one member who is an advocate who has experience working within the child welfare
297.28	system and who has experience working with members of the LGBTQ+ community or
297.29	persons who are Black, Indigenous, or people of color; and
297.30	(iv) one member with experience working as a pediatrician or nurse specializing in child
297.31	abuse.

298.1	Subd. 2. Council administration. (a) For members appointed under subdivision 1,
298.2	clauses (6) to (14), section 15.059, subdivisions 1 to 4, apply.
298.3	(b) The commissioner of administration shall provide the advisory council with staff
298.4	support, office space, and access to office equipment and services.
298.5	Subd. 3. Meetings. (a) The advisory council must meet at least quarterly but may meet
298.6	more frequently at the call of the chairperson or at the request of a majority of advisory
298.7	council members.
298.8	(b) Meetings of the advisory council are subject to the Minnesota Open Meeting Law
298.9	under chapter 13D.
298.10	Subd. 4. Chairperson. (a) The advisory council must elect a chairperson from among
298.11	the members of the executive committee and other officers as it deems necessary and in
298.12	accordance with the advisory council's operating procedures.
298.13	(b) The advisory council is governed by an executive committee elected by the members
298.14	of the advisory council.
298.15	(c) The advisory council shall appoint an executive director. The advisory council may
298.16	delegate to the executive director any powers and duties under this section that do not require
298.17	advisory council approval. The executive director serves in the unclassified service and
298.18	may be removed at any time by a majority vote of the advisory council. The executive
298.19	director may employ and direct staff necessary to carry out advisory council mandates,
298.20	policies, activities, and objectives.
298.21	(d) The executive committee may appoint additional subcommittees and work groups
298.22	as necessary to fulfill the duties of the advisory council.
298.23	Subd. 5. Duties. (a) The advisory council must:
298.24	(1) conduct reviews of the child mortality review processes originally completed by the
298.25	state or counties or through a third-party audit;
298.26	(2) review child welfare data provided by the Department of Human Services and
298.27	counties;
298.28	(3) review and provide guidance on the Family First Prevention Services Act
298.29	implementation; and
298.30	(4) work with the commissioner of human services to evaluate child protection grants
298.31	to address disparities in child welfare pursuant to section 256E.28.

299.1	(b) The advisory council may collect additional topic areas for study and evaluation
299.2	from the public. For the advisory council to study and evaluate a topic, the topic must be
299.3	approved for study and evaluation by the advisory council.
299.4	(c) Legislative members may not deliberate about or vote on decisions related to the
299.5	issuance of grants of state money.
299.6	Subd. 6. Report. By January 1, 2025, and annually thereafter, the advisory council must
299.7	submit a report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees
299.8	with jurisdiction over child protection and child welfare on the advisory council's activities
299.9	under subdivision 5 and other issues on which the advisory council may choose to report.
299.10	Subd. 7. Expiration. The Child Protection Advisory Council expires June 30, 2027.
299.11	Sec. 7. [260E.39] CHILD FATALITY AND NEAR FATALITY REVIEW.
299.12	Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have
299.13	the meanings given.
299.14	(b) "Critical incident" means a child fatality or near fatality in which maltreatment was
299.15	a known or suspected contributing cause.
299.16	(c) "Joint review" means the critical incident review conducted by the child mortality
299.17	review panel jointly with the local review team under subdivision 4, paragraph (b).
299.18	(d) "Local review" means the local critical incident review conducted by the local review
299.19	team under subdivision 4, paragraph (c).
299.20	(e) "Local review team" means a local child mortality review team established under
299.21	subdivision 2.
299.22	(f) "Panel" means the child mortality review panel established under subdivision 3.
299.23	Subd. 2. Local child mortality review teams. (a) Each county shall establish a
299.24	multidisciplinary local child mortality review team and shall participate in local critical
299.25	incident reviews that are based on safety science principles to support a culture of learning.
299.26	The local welfare agency's child protection team may serve as the local review team. The
299.27	local review team shall include but not be limited to professionals with knowledge of the
299.28	critical incident being reviewed.
299.29	(b) The local review team shall conduct reviews of critical incidents jointly with the
299.30	child mortality review panel or as otherwise required under subdivision 4, paragraph (c).

300.1	Subd. 3. Child mortality review panel; establishment and membership. (a) The
300.2	commissioner shall establish a child mortality review panel to review critical incidents
300.3	attributed to child maltreatment. The purpose of the panel is to identify systemic changes
300.4	to improve child safety and well-being and recommend modifications in statutes, rules,
300.5	policies, and procedures.
300.6	(b) The panel shall consist of:
300.7	(1) the commissioner of children, youth, and families or a designee;
300.8	(2) the commissioner of human services or a designee;
300.9	(3) the commissioner of health or a designee;
300.10	(4) the commissioner of education or a designee;
300.11	(5) a judge appointed by the Minnesota judicial branch; and
300.12	(6) other members appointed by the governor, including but not limited to:
300.13	(i) a physician who is a medical examiner;
300.14	(ii) a physician who is a child abuse specialist pediatrician;
300.15	(iii) a county attorney who works on child protection cases;
300.16	(iv) two current child protection supervisors for local welfare agencies, each of whom
300.17	has previous experience as a frontline child protection worker;
300.18	(v) a current local welfare agency director who has previous experience as a frontline
300.19	child protection worker or supervisor;
300.20	(vi) two current child protection supervisors or directors for Tribal child welfare agencies,
300.21	each of whom has previous experience as a frontline child protection worker or supervisor;
300.22	(vii) a county public health worker; and
300.23	(viii) a member representing law enforcement.
300.24	(c) The governor shall designate one member as chair of the panel from the members
300.25	listed in paragraph (b), clauses (5) and (6).
300.26	(d) Members of the panel shall serve terms of four years for an unlimited number of
300.27	terms. A member of the panel may be removed by the appointing authority for the member.
300.28	(e) The commissioner shall employ an executive director for the panel to provide
300.29	administrative support to the panel and the chair, including providing the panel with critical
300.30	incident notices submitted by local welfare agencies; compile and synthesize information

for the panel; draft recommendations and reports for the panel's final approval; and conduct

301.2	or otherwise direct training and consultation under subdivision 7.
301.3	Subd. 4. Critical incident review process. (a) A local welfare agency that has determined
301.4	that maltreatment was the cause of or a contributing factor in a critical incident must notify
301.5	the commissioner of children, youth, and families and the executive director of the panel
301.6	within three business days of making the determination.
301.7	(b) The panel shall conduct a joint review with the local review team for:
301.8	(1) any critical incident relating to a family, child, or caregiver involved in a local welfare
301.9	agency family assessment or investigation within the 12 months preceding the critical
301.10	incident;
301.11	(2) a critical incident the governor or commissioner directs the panel to review; and
301.12	(3) any other critical incident the panel chooses for review.
301.13	(c) The local review team must review all critical incident cases not subject to joint
301.14	review under paragraph (b).
301.15	(d) Within 120 days of initiating a joint review or local review of a critical incident,
301.16	except as provided under paragraph (h), the panel or local review team shall complete the
301.17	joint review or local review and compile a report. The report must include any systemic
301.18	learnings that may increase child safety and well-being, and may include policy or practice
301.19	considerations for systems changes that may improve child well-being and safety.
301.20	(e) A local review team must provide its report following a local review to the panel
301.21	within three business days after the report is complete. After receiving the local review team
301.22	report, the panel may conduct a further joint review.
301.23	(f) Following the panel's joint review or after receiving a local review team report, the
301.24	panel may make recommendations to any state or local agency, branch of government, or
301.25	system partner to improve child safety and well-being.
301.26	(g) The commissioner shall conduct additional information gathering as requested by
301.27	the panel or the local review team. The commissioner must conduct information gathering
301.28	for all cases for which the panel requests assistance. The commissioner shall compile a
301.29	summary report for each critical incident for which information gathering is conducted and
301.30	provide the report to the panel and the local welfare agency that reported the critical incident.
301.31	(h) If the panel or local review team requests information gathering from the
301 32	commissioner, the panel or local review team may conduct the joint review or local review

and compile the report under paragraph (d) after receiving the commissioner's summary information gathering report. The timeline for a local or joint review under paragraph (d) may be extended if the panel or local review team requests additional information gathering to complete their review. If the local review team extends the timeline for its review and report, the local welfare agency must notify the executive director of the panel of the extension and the expected completion date.

(i) The review of any critical incident shall proceed as specified in this section, regardless of the status of any pending litigation or other active investigation.

- Subd. 5. Critical incident reviews; data practices and immunity. (a) In conducting reviews, the panel, the local review team, and the commissioner shall have access to not public data under chapter 13 maintained by state agencies, statewide systems, or political subdivisions that are related to the child's critical incident or circumstances surrounding the care of the child. The panel, the local review team, and the commissioner shall also have access to records of private hospitals as necessary to carry out the duties prescribed by this section. A state agency, statewide system, or political subdivision shall provide the data upon request from the commissioner. Not public data may be shared with members of the panel, a local review team, or the commissioner in connection with an individual case.
- (b) Notwithstanding the data's classification in the possession of any other agency, data acquired by a local review team, the panel, or the commissioner in the exercise of their duties are protected nonpublic or confidential data as defined in section 13.02 but may be disclosed as necessary to carry out the duties of the review team, panel, or commissioner. The data are not subject to subpoena or discovery.
- (c) The commissioner shall disclose information regarding a critical incident upon request but shall not disclose data that was classified as confidential or private data on decedents under section 13.10 or private, confidential, or protected nonpublic data in the disseminating agency, except that the commissioner may disclose local social service agency data as provided in section 260E.35 on individual cases involving a critical incident with a person served by the local social service agency prior to the date of the critical incident.
- (d) A person attending a local review team or child mortality review panel meeting shall not disclose what transpired at the meeting except to carry out the purposes of the local review team or panel. The commissioner shall not disclose what transpired during the information gathering process except to carry out the duties of the commissioner. The proceedings and records of the local review team, the panel, and the commissioner are protected nonpublic data as defined in section 13.02, subdivision 13, and are not subject to

302.1

302.2

302.3

302.4

302.5

302.6

302.7

302.8

302.9

302.10

302.11

302.12

302.13

302.14

302.15

302.16

302.17

302.18

302.19

302.20

302.21

302.22

302.23

302.24

302.25

302.26

302.27

302.28

302.29

302.30

302.31

302.32

discovery or introduction into evidence in a civil or criminal action. Information, documents, and records otherwise available from other sources are not immune from discovery or use in a civil or criminal action solely because they were presented during proceedings of the local review team, the panel, or the commissioner.

(e) A person who presented information before the local review team, the panel, or the commissioner or who is a member of the local review team or the panel, or an employee conducting information gathering as designated by the commissioner, shall not be prevented from testifying about matters within the person's knowledge. However, in a civil or criminal proceeding, a person may not be questioned about the person's presentation of information to the local review team, the panel, or the commissioner, or about the information reviewed or discussed during a critical incident review or the information gathering process, any conclusions drawn or recommendations made related to information gathering or a critical incident review, or opinions formed by the person as a result of the panel or review team meetings.

(f) A person who presented information before the local review team, the panel, or the commissioner, who is a member of the local review team or the panel, or who is an employee conducting information gathering as designated by the commissioner, is immune from any civil or criminal liability that might otherwise result from the person's presentation or statements if the person was acting in good faith and assisting with information gathering or in a critical incident review under this section.

Subd. 6. Child mortality review panel; annual report. Beginning December 15, 2026, and on or before December 15 annually thereafter, the commissioner shall publish a report of the child mortality review panel. The report shall include but not be limited to de-identified summary data on the number of critical incidents reported to the panel, the number of critical incidents reviewed by the panel and local review teams, and systemic learnings identified by the panel or local review teams during the period covered by the report. The report shall also include recommendations on improving the child protection system, including modifications to statutes, rules, policies, and procedures. The panel may make recommendations to the legislature or any state or local agency at any time, outside of the annual report.

Subd. 7. Local welfare agency critical incident review training. The commissioner shall provide training and support to local review teams and the panel to assist with local or joint review processes and procedures. The commissioner shall also provide consultation to local review teams and the panel conducting local or joint reviews pursuant to this section.

303.1

303.2

303.3

303.4

303.5

303.6

303.7

303.8

303.9

303.10

303.11

303.12

303.13

303.14

303.15

303.16

303.17

303.18

303.19

303.20

303.21

303.22

303.23

303.24

303.25

303.26

303.27

303.28

303.29

303.30

303.31

303.32

303.33

304.1	Subd. 8. Culture of learning and improvement. The local review teams and panel
304.2	shall advance and support a culture of learning and improvement within Minnesota's child
304.3	welfare system.
304.4	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2025.
304.5	Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 518A.42, subdivision 3, is amended
304.6	to read:
304.7	Subd. 3. Exception. (a) This section The minimum basic support amount under
304.8	subdivision 2 does not apply to an obligor who is incarcerated or is a recipient of a general
304.9	assistance grant, Supplemental Security Income, temporary assistance for needy families
304.10	(TANF) grant, or comparable state-funded Minnesota family investment program (MFIP)
304.11	benefits.
304.12	(b) The minimum basic support amount under subdivision 2 does not apply to an obligor
304.13	who is a recipient of:
304.14	(1) a general assistance grant;
304.15	(2) Supplement Security Income;
304.16	(3) a Temporary Assistances for Needy Families (TANF) grant; or
304.17	(4) comparable state-funded Minnesota family investment program (MFIP) benefits.
304.18	(b) (c) If the court finds the obligor receives no income and completely lacks the ability
304.19	to earn income, the minimum basic support amount under this subdivision 2 does not apply.
304.20	(e) (d) If the obligor's basic support amount is reduced below the minimum basic support
304.21	amount due to the application of the parenting expense adjustment, the minimum basic
304.22	support amount under this subdivision 2 does not apply and the lesser amount is the guideline
304.23	basic support.
304.24	Sec. 9. Laws 2023, chapter 70, article 14, section 42, subdivision 6, is amended to read:
304.25	Subd. 6. Community Resource Center Advisory Council; establishment and
304.26	duties. (a) The commissioner, in consultation with other relevant state agencies, shall appoint
304.27	members to the Community Resource Center Advisory Council.
304.28	(b) Membership must be demographically and geographically diverse and include:
304.29	(1) parents and family members with lived experience who lack opportunities;
304 30	(2) community-based organizations serving families who lack opportunities:

305.1	(3) Tribal and urban American Indian representatives;
305.2	(4) county government representatives;
305.3	(5) school and school district representatives; and
305.4	(6) state partner representatives.
305.5	(c) Duties of the Community Resource Center Advisory Council include but are not
305.6	limited to:
305.7	(1) advising the commissioner on the development and funding of a network of
305.8	community resource centers;
305.9	(2) advising the commissioner on the development of requests for proposals and grant
305.10	award processes;
305.11	(3) advising the commissioner on the development of program outcomes and
305.12	accountability measures; and
305.13	(4) advising the commissioner on ongoing governance and necessary support in the
305.14	implementation of community resource centers.
305.15	(d) Compensation for members of the Community Resource Center Advisory Council
305.16	is governed by Minnesota Statutes, section 15.0575.
305.17	Sec. 10. CHILD PROTECTION ADVISORY COUNCIL; INITIAL TERMS AND
305.18	APPOINTMENTS AND FIRST MEETING.
305.19	Subdivision 1. Initial appointments. Appointing authorities for the Child Protection
305.20	Advisory Council under Minnesota Statutes, section 260E.021, must appoint members to
305.21	the council by August 1, 2024.
305.22	Subd. 2. Terms. Members appointed under Minnesota Statutes, section 260E.021,
305.23	subdivision 1, clauses (7), (8), and (9), serve a term that is coterminous with the governor.
305.24	Members appointed under Minnesota Statutes, section 260E.021, subdivision 1, clauses
305.25	(10) and (12), serve a term that ends one year after the governor's term. Members appointed
305.26	under Minnesota Statutes, section 260E.021, subdivision 1, clauses (6), (11), and (13), serve
305.27	a term that ends two years after the governor's term. Members appointed under Minnesota
305.28	Statutes, section 260E.021, subdivision 1, clause (14), serve a term that ends three years
305.29	after the governor's term.
305.30	Subd. 3. Chair; first meeting. The commissioner of human services or the
305.31	commissioner's designee will serve as chair until the council elects a chair. The commissioner

must convene the first meeting of the council by September 15, 2024. The council must elect its executive committee and its chair at its first meeting.

Sec. 11. <u>DIRECTION TO COMMISSIONER; CHILD MALTREATMENT</u> REPORTING SYSTEMS REVIEW AND RECOMMENDATIONS.

The commissioner of children, youth, and families must review current child maltreatment reporting processes and systems in various states and evaluate the costs and benefits of each reviewed state's system. In consultation with stakeholders, including but not limited to counties, Tribes, and organizations with expertise in child maltreatment prevention and child protection, the commissioner must develop recommendations on implementing a statewide child abuse and neglect reporting system in Minnesota and outline the benefits, challenges, and costs of such a transition. By June 1, 2025, the commissioner must submit a report detailing the commissioner's recommendations to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over child protection. The commissioner must also publish the report on the department's website.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

306.16 Sec. 12. <u>DIRECTION TO COMMISSIONER OF HUMAN SERVICES; CHILD</u> 306.17 WELFARE WORKFORCE SYSTEM IMPROVEMENTS.

- When designing, developing, and implementing a data-driven, federally compliant

 Comprehensive Child Welfare Information System, the commissioner of human services

 must ensure that the system can do the following:
- 306.21 (1) allow counties to track various financial information, including benefits received by 306.22 counties on behalf of children in the child protection system;
- 306.23 (2) allow counties to track all fees received by counties from parents with children in out-of-home placements;
- 306.25 (3) provide ombudspersons with direct access to nonprivileged information necessary
 for the discharge of the ombudsperson's duties, including specific child protection case
 information;
- 306.28 (4) provide comprehensive statewide data reports; and
- 306.29 (5) track demographic information about children in the child protection system, including disability, ethnicity, economic status, and cultural identity.

306.1

306.2

306.3

306.4

306.5

306.6

306.7

306.8

306.9

306.10

306.11

306.13

306.14

307.1	Sec. 13. PREVENTING NONRELATIVE FOSTER CARE PLACEMENT GRANTS.
307.2	(a) The commissioner of children, youth, and families must award grants to eligible
307.3	community-based nonprofit organizations to provide culturally competent supports to relative
307.4	caregivers who are caring for relative children and connection to local and statewide
307.5	resources.
307.6	(b) Grant funds must be used to serve relative caregivers caring for children from
307.7	communities that are disproportionately overrepresented in the child welfare system based
307.8	on available data, as determined by the commissioner.
307.9	(c) Grant funds may be used to assess relative caregiver and child needs, provide
307.10	connection to local and statewide culturally competent resources, and provide culturally
307.11	competent case management to assist with complex cases. Grant funds may also be used to
307.12	provide culturally competent supports to reduce the need for child welfare involvement or
307.13	risk of child welfare involvement and increase family stability by preventing nonrelative
307.14	foster care placement.
307.15	(d) For purposes of this section, "relative" has the meaning given in Minnesota Statutes,
307.16	section 260C.007, subdivision 27.
307.17	Sec. 14. <u>REPEALER.</u>
307.18	(a) Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256.01, subdivisions 12 and 12a, are repealed.
307.19	(b) Minnesota Rules, part 9560.0232, subpart 5, is repealed.
307.20	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2025.
307.21	ARTICLE 11
307.22	ECONOMIC SUPPORTS
307.23	Section 1. [142F.103] CAMPUS-BASED EMPLOYMENT AND TRAINING
307.24	PROGRAM FOR STUDENTS ENROLLED IN HIGHER EDUCATION.
307.25	Subdivision 1. Designation. (a) Within six months of the effective date of this section,
307.26	the Board of Trustees of Minnesota State Colleges and Universities must, and the Board of
307.27	Regents of the University of Minnesota is requested to, submit an application to the
307.28	commissioner of human services verifying whether each MNSCU institution meets the
307.29	requirements to be a campus-based employment and training program that qualifies for the
307.30	student exemption for Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) eligibility, as
307.31	described in the Code of Federal Regulations, title 7, section 273.5(b)(11)(iv).

308.1	(b) An institution of higher education must be designated as a campus-based employment
308.2	and training program by the commissioner of human services if that institution meets the
308.3	requirements set forth in the guidance under subdivision 3. The commissioner of human
308.4	services must maintain a list of approved programs on its website.
308.5	Subd. 2. Student eligibility. A student is eligible to participate in a campus-based
308.6	employment and training program under this section if the student is enrolled in:
308.7	(1) a public two-year community or technical college and received a state grant under
308.8	section 136A.121, received a federal Pell grant, or has a student aid index of \$0 or less;
308.9	(2) a Tribal college as defined in section 136A.62 and received a state grant under section
308.10	136A.121, received a federal Pell grant, or has a student aid index of \$0 or less; or
308.11	(3) a public four-year university and received a state grant under section 136A.121,
308.12	received a federal Pell grant, or has a student aid index of \$0 or less.
308.13	Subd. 3. Guidance. Within three months of the effective date of this section and annually
308.14	thereafter, the commissioner of human services, in consultation with the commissioner of
308.15	higher education, must issue guidance to counties, Tribal Nations, Tribal colleges, and
308.16	Minnesota public postsecondary institutions that:
308.17	(1) clarifies the state and federal eligibility requirements for campus-based employment
308.18	and training programs for low-income households;
308.19	(2) clarifies the application process for campus-based employment and training programs
308.20	for low-income households including but not limited to providing a list of the supporting
308.21	documents required for program approval;
308.22	(3) clarifies how students in an institution of higher education approved as a campus-based
308.23	employment and training program for low-income households qualify for a SNAP student
308.24	exemption; and
308.25	(4) clarifies the SNAP eligibility criteria for students that qualify for a SNAP student
308.26	exemption under this section.
308.27	Subd. 4. Application. Within three months of the effective date of this section, the
308.28	commissioner of human services, in consultation with the commissioner of higher education,
308.29	must design an application for institutions of higher education to apply for a campus-based
308.30	employment and training program designation.
308.31	Subd. 5. Notice. At the beginning of each academic semester, an institution of higher

letter to students eligible under this section to inform them that they may qualify for SNAP benefits and direct them to resources to apply. The letter under this subdivision shall serve as proof of a student's enrollment in a campus-based employment and training program.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective upon federal approval. The commissioner of human services must notify the revisor of statutes when federal approval is obtained.

Sec. 2. [142F.16] MINNESOTA FOOD BANK PROGRAM.

309.1

309.2

309.3

309.4

309.5

309.6

309.7

309.8

309.9

309.10

309.11

309.12

309.13

309.14

309.15

309.19

309.20

309.21

309.22

The Minnesota food bank program is established in the Department of Human Services. The commissioner of human services shall distribute money appropriated to the Minnesota food bank program to all regional food banks the commissioner contracts with for the purposes of The Emergency Food Assistance Program (TEFAP). The commissioner shall distribute money under this section in accordance with the federal TEFAP formula and guidelines of the United States Department of Agriculture. Money distributed under this section must be used by all regional food banks to purchase food that will be distributed free of charge to TEFAP partner agencies. Money distributed under this section must also cover the handling and delivery fees typically paid by food shelves to food banks to ensure 309.16 costs associated with money under this section are not incurred at the local level.

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 256E.38, subdivision 4, is amended 309.17 309.18 to read:

Subd. 4. Eligible uses of grant money. An eligible applicant that receives grant money under this section shall use the money to purchase diapers and wipes and may use up to four ten percent of the money for administrative costs.

Sec. 4. TRANSFER TO DEPARTMENT OF CHILDREN, YOUTH, AND FAMILIES.

The responsibilities for the campus-based employment and training program for students 309.23 enrolled in higher education under Minnesota Statutes, section 142F.103, and the Minnesota 309.24 food bank program under Minnesota Statutes, section 142F.16, must transfer from the 309.25 309.26 commissioner of human services to the commissioner of children, youth, and families. Minnesota Statutes, sections 142F.103 and 142F.16, are incorporated into the transfer of 309.27 duties and responsibilities in Laws 2023, chapter 70, article 12, section 30, and the 309.28 commissioner shall give the notices of when the transfer is effective as required by Laws 309.29 2023, chapter 70, article 12, section 30, subdivision 1. 309.30

310.1	ARTICLE 12
310.2	HOUSING AND HOMELESSNESS
310.3	Section 1. PREGNANT AND PARENTING HOMELESS YOUTH STUDY.
310.4	(a) The commissioner of human services must contract with the Wilder Foundation to
310.5	conduct a study of:
310.6	(1) the statewide numbers and unique needs of pregnant and parenting youth experiencing
310.7	homelessness; and
310.8	(2) best practices in supporting pregnant and parenting homeless youth within
310.9	programming, emergency shelter, and housing settings.
310.10	(b) The Wilder Foundation must submit a final report to the commissioner by December
310.11	31, 2025. The commissioner shall submit the report to the chairs and ranking minority
310.12	members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over homeless youth services finance
310.13	and policy.
310.14	Sec. 2. <u>REVIVAL AND REENACTMENT.</u>
310.15	Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256B.051, subdivision 7, is revived and reenacted
310.16	effective retroactively from August 1, 2023. The time-limited supplemental rate reduction
310.17	in Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256B.051, subdivision 7, does not restart when the
310.18	subdivision is revived and reenacted. Any time frames within or dependent on the subdivision
310.19	are based on the original effective date in Laws 2017, First Special Session chapter 6, article
310.20	<u>2, section 10.</u>
310.21	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
310.22	Sec. 3. <u>REPEALER.</u>
310.23	Laws 2023, chapter 25, section 190, subdivision 10, is repealed.
310.24	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
310.25	ARTICLE 13
310.26	CHILD CARE LICENSING
310.27	Section 1. [142B.171] CHILD CARE WEIGHTED RISK SYSTEM.
310.28	Subdivision 1. Implementation. The commissioner shall develop and implement a child
310.29	care weighted risk system that provides a tiered licensing enforcement framework for child
310.30	care licensing requirements in this chapter or Minnesota Rules, chapter 9502 or 9503.

311.1	Subd. 2. Documented technical assistance. (a) In lieu of a correction order under section
311.2	142B.16, the commissioner shall provide documented technical assistance to a family child
311.3	care or child care center license holder if the commissioner finds that:
311.4	(1) the license holder has failed to comply with a requirement in this chapter or Minnesota
311.5	Rules, chapter 9502 or 9503, that the commissioner determines to be low risk as determined
311.6	by the child care weighted risk system;
311.7	(2) the noncompliance does not imminently endanger the health, safety, or rights of the
311.8	persons served by the program; and
311.9	(3) the license holder did not receive documented technical assistance or a correction
311.10	order for the same violation at the license holder's most recent annual licensing inspection.
311.11	(b) Documented technical assistance must include communication from the commissioner
311.12	to the child care provider that:
311.13	(1) states the conditions that constitute a violation of a law or rule;
311.14	(2) references the specific law or rule violated; and
311.15	(3) explains remedies for correcting the violation.
311.16	(c) The commissioner shall not publicly publish documented technical assistance on the
311.17	department's website.
311.18	Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 245A.50, subdivision 3, is amended
311.19	to read:
311.20	Subd. 3. First aid. (a) Before initial licensure and before caring for a child, license
311.21	holders, second adult caregivers, and substitutes must be trained in pediatric first aid. The
311.22	first aid training must have been provided by an individual approved to provide first aid
311.23	instruction. First aid training may be less than eight hours and persons qualified to provide
311.24	first aid training include individuals approved as first aid instructors. License holders, second
311.25	adult caregivers, and substitutes must repeat pediatric first aid training every two years
311.26	within 90 days of the date the training was initially taken. License holders, second adult
311.27	earegivers, and substitutes must not let the training expire.
311.28	(b) Video training reviewed and approved by the county licensing agency satisfies the
311.29	training requirement of this subdivision.

312.1	Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 245A.50, subdivision 4, is amended
312.2	to read:
312.3	Subd. 4. Cardiopulmonary resuscitation. (a) Before initial licensure and before caring
312.4	for a child, license holders, second adult caregivers, and substitutes must be trained in
312.5	pediatric cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR), including CPR techniques for infants and
312.6	children, and in the treatment of obstructed airways. The CPR training must have been
312.7	provided by an individual approved to provide CPR instruction. License holders, second
312.8	adult caregivers, and substitutes must repeat pediatric CPR training at least once every two
312.9	years within 90 days of the date the training was initially taken, and the training must
312.10	document the training be documented in the license holder's records. License holders, second
312.11	adult caregivers, and substitutes must not let the training expire.
312.12	(b) Persons providing CPR training must use CPR training that has been developed:
312.13	(1) by the American Heart Association or the American Red Cross and incorporates
312.14	psychomotor skills to support the instruction; or
312.15	(2) using nationally recognized, evidence-based guidelines for CPR training and
312.16	incorporates psychomotor skills to support the instruction.
312 17	Sec. 4. REPEALER.
312.18	Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.065, is repealed.
312.19	ARTICLE 14
312.20	DEPARTMENT OF CHILDREN, YOUTH, AND FAMILIES
312.21	Section 1. [142A.045] CHILDREN, YOUTH, AND FAMILIES
312.22	INTERGOVERNMENTAL ADVISORY COMMITTEE.
312.23	(a) An intergovernmental advisory committee is established to provide advice,
312.24	consultation, and recommendations to the commissioner on the planning, design,
312.25	administration, funding, and evaluation of services to children, youth, and families.
312.26	Notwithstanding section 15.059, the commissioner, the Association of Minnesota Counties,
312.27	and the Minnesota Association of County Social Services Administrators must codevelop
312.28	and execute a process to administer the committee that ensures each county is represented.
312.29	The committee must meet at least quarterly and special meetings may be called by the
312.30	committee chair or a majority of the members.

313.1	(b) Subject to section 15.059, the commissioner may reimburse committee members or
313.2	their alternates for allowable expenses while engaged in their official duties as committee
313.3	members.
313.4	(c) Notwithstanding section 15.059, the intergovernmental advisory committee does not
313.5	expire.
313.6	Sec. 2. [142B.47] TRAINING ON RISK OF SUDDEN UNEXPECTED INFANT
313.7	DEATH AND ABUSIVE HEAD TRAUMA FOR CHILD FOSTER CARE
313.8	PROVIDERS.
313.9	(a) Licensed child foster care providers that care for infants or children through five
313.10	years of age must document that before caregivers assist in the care of infants or children
313.11	through five years of age, they are instructed on the standards in section 142B.46 and receive
313.12	training on reducing the risk of sudden unexpected infant death and abusive head trauma
313.13	from shaking infants and young children. This section does not apply to emergency relative
313.14	placement under section 142B.06. The training on reducing the risk of sudden unexpected
313.15	infant death and abusive head trauma may be provided as:
313.16	(1) orientation training to child foster care providers who care for infants or children
313.17	through five years of age under Minnesota Rules, part 2960.3070, subpart 1; or
313.18	(2) in-service training to child foster care providers who care for infants or children
313.19	through five years of age under Minnesota Rules, part 2960.3070, subpart 2.
313.20	(b) Training required under this section must be at least one hour in length and must be
313.21	completed at least once every five years. At a minimum, the training must address the risk
313.22	factors related to sudden unexpected infant death and abusive head trauma, means of reducing
313.23	the risk of sudden unexpected infant death and abusive head trauma, and license holder
313.24	communication with parents regarding reducing the risk of sudden unexpected infant death
313.25	and abusive head trauma.
313.26	(c) Training for child foster care providers must be approved by the county or private
313.27	licensing agency that is responsible for monitoring the child foster care provider under
313.28	section 142B.30. The approved training fulfills, in part, training required under Minnesota
313.29	Rules, part 2960.3070.

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.10, subdivision 1, as amended by Laws 2024, chapter 80, article 2, section 48, is amended to read:

- Subdivision 1. **Application or license fee required, programs exempt from fee.** (a)
 Unless exempt under paragraph (b), the commissioner shall charge a fee for evaluation of applications and inspection of programs which are licensed under this chapter.
- 314.6 (b) Except as provided under subdivision 2, no application or license fee shall be charged 314.7 for a child foster residence setting, adult foster care, or a community residential setting.
- Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.10, subdivision 2, as amended by Laws 2024, chapter 80, article 2, section 49, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2. County fees for applications and licensing inspections. (a) For purposes of adult foster care and child foster residence setting licensing and licensing the physical plant of a community residential setting, under this chapter, a county agency may charge a fee to a corporate applicant or corporate license holder to recover the actual cost of licensing inspections, not to exceed \$500 annually.
- 314.15 (b) Counties may elect to reduce or waive the fees in paragraph (a) under the following 314.16 circumstances:
- 314.17 (1) in cases of financial hardship;
- 314.18 (2) if the county has a shortage of providers in the county's area; or
- 314.19 (3) for new providers.
- Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.144, is amended to read:

245A.144 TRAINING ON RISK OF SUDDEN UNEXPECTED INFANT DEATH 314.22 AND ABUSIVE HEAD TRAUMA FOR CHILD FOSTER CARE PROVIDERS.

- (a) Licensed child foster care providers that care for infants or children through five
 years of age must document that before staff persons and earegivers assist in the care of
 infants or children through five years of age, they are instructed on the standards in section
 245A.1435 142B.46 and receive training on reducing the risk of sudden unexpected infant
 death and abusive head trauma from shaking infants and young children. This section does
 not apply to emergency relative placement under section 245A.035. The training on reducing
 the risk of sudden unexpected infant death and abusive head trauma may be provided as:
- (1) orientation training to child foster care providers, who care for infants or children through five years of age, under Minnesota Rules, part 2960.3070, subpart 1; or

(2) in-service training to child foster care providers, who care for infants or children through five years of age, under Minnesota Rules, part 2960.3070, subpart 2.

- (b) Training required under this section must be at least one hour in length and must be completed at least once every five years. At a minimum, the training must address the risk factors related to sudden unexpected infant death and abusive head trauma, means of reducing the risk of sudden unexpected infant death and abusive head trauma, and license holder communication with parents regarding reducing the risk of sudden unexpected infant death and abusive head trauma.
- 315.9 (c) Training for child foster care providers must be approved by the county or private
 315.10 licensing agency that is responsible for monitoring the child foster care provider under
 315.11 section 245A.16. The approved training fulfills, in part, training required under Minnesota
 315.12 Rules, part 2960.3070.
- Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 245A.16, subdivision 1, as amended by Laws 2024, chapter 80, article 2, section 65, is amended to read:
- 315.15 Subdivision 1. **Delegation of authority to agencies.** (a) County agencies that have been 315.16 designated by the commissioner to perform licensing functions and activities under section 245A.04; to recommend denial of applicants under section 245A.05; to issue correction 315.17 orders, to issue variances, and recommend a conditional license under section 245A.06; or 315.18 to recommend suspending or revoking a license or issuing a fine under section 245A.07, 315.19 shall comply with rules and directives of the commissioner governing those functions and 315.20 with this section. The following variances are excluded from the delegation of variance 315.21 authority and may be issued only by the commissioner: 315.22
 - (1) dual licensure of family child foster care and family adult foster care, dual licensure of child foster residence setting and community residential setting, and dual licensure of family adult foster care and family child care;
- (2) until the responsibility for family child foster care transfers to the commissioner of children, youth, and families under Laws 2023, chapter 70, article 12, section 30, dual licensure of family child foster care and family adult foster care;
- (3) until the responsibility for family child care transfers to the commissioner of children, youth, and families under Laws 2023, chapter 70, article 12, section 30, dual licensure of family adult foster care and family child care;
- 315.32 (4) adult foster care maximum capacity;
- 315.33 (3) (5) adult foster care minimum age requirement;

315.1

315.2

315.3

315.4

315.5

315.6

315.7

315.8

315.23

315.24

316.1	(4) (6) child foster care maximum age requirement;
316.2	(5) (7) variances regarding disqualified individuals;
316.3	(6) (8) the required presence of a caregiver in the adult foster care residence during
316.4	normal sleeping hours;
316.5	(7) (9) variances to requirements relating to chemical use problems of a license holder
316.6	or a household member of a license holder; and
316.7	(8) (10) variances to section 142B.46 for the use of a cradleboard for a cultural
316.8	accommodation.
316.9	(b) Once the respective responsibilities transfer from the commissioner of human services
316.10	to the commissioner of children, youth, and families, under Laws 2023, chapter 70, article
316.11	12, section 30, the commissioners of human services and children, youth, and families must
316.12	both approve a variance for dual licensure of family child foster care and family adult foster
316.13	care or family adult foster care and family child care. Variances under this paragraph are
316.14	excluded from the delegation of variance authority and may be issued only by both
316.15	commissioners.
316.16	(b) (c) For family adult day services programs, the commissioner may authorize licensing
316.17	reviews every two years after a licensee has had at least one annual review.
316.18	(e) (d) A license issued under this section may be issued for up to two years.
316.19	(d) (e) During implementation of chapter 245D, the commissioner shall consider:
316.20	(1) the role of counties in quality assurance;
316.21	(2) the duties of county licensing staff; and
316.22	(3) the possible use of joint powers agreements, according to section 471.59, with counties
316.23	through which some licensing duties under chapter 245D may be delegated by the
316.24	commissioner to the counties.
316.25	Any consideration related to this paragraph must meet all of the requirements of the corrective
316.26	action plan ordered by the federal Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services.
316.27	(e) (f) Licensing authority specific to section 245D.06, subdivisions 5, 6, 7, and 8, or
316.28	successor provisions; and section 245D.061 or successor provisions, for family child foster
316.29	care programs providing out-of-home respite, as identified in section 245D.03, subdivision
316.30	1, paragraph (b), clause (1), is excluded from the delegation of authority to county agencies

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.175, is amended to read:

317.1

317.2

317.3

317.4

317.5

317.6

317.7

317.8

317.9

245A.175 CHILD FOSTER CARE TRAINING REQUIREMENT; MENTAL HEALTH TRAINING; FETAL ALCOHOL SPECTRUM DISORDERS TRAINING.

Prior to a nonemergency placement of a child in a foster care home, the child foster care license holder and earegivers in foster family and treatment foster care settings, and all staff providing care in foster residence settings must complete two hours of training that addresses the causes, symptoms, and key warning signs of mental health disorders; cultural considerations; and effective approaches for dealing with a child's behaviors. At least one hour of the annual training requirement for the foster family license holder and caregivers, and foster residence staff must be on children's mental health issues and treatment. Except 317.10 for providers and services under chapter 245D, the annual training must also include at least 317.11 one hour of training on fetal alcohol spectrum disorders, which must be counted toward the 317.12 12 hours of required in-service training per year. Short-term substitute caregivers are exempt 317.13 from these requirements. Training curriculum shall be approved by the commissioner of human services. 317.15

- Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 245A.66, subdivision 4, as amended 317.16 by Laws 2024, chapter 80, article 2, section 73, is amended to read: 317.17
- Subd. 4. **Ongoing training requirement.** (a) In addition to the orientation training 317.18 required by the applicable licensing rules and statutes, children's residential facility license 317.19 holders must provide a training annually on the maltreatment of minors reporting 317.20 requirements and definitions in chapter 260E to each mandatory reporter, as described in 317.21 section 260E.06, subdivision 1. 317.22
- 317.23 (b) In addition to the orientation training required by the applicable licensing rules and statutes, all foster residence setting staff and volunteers that are mandatory reporters as 317.24 described in section 260E.06, subdivision 1, must complete training each year on the 317.25 maltreatment of minors reporting requirements and definitions in chapter 260E. 317.26
- Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256.029, as amended by Laws 2024, chapter 80, 317.27 317.28 article 1, section 66, is amended to read:

256.029 DOMESTIC VIOLENCE INFORMATIONAL BROCHURE.

(a) The commissioner shall provide a domestic violence informational brochure that 317.30 provides information about the existence of domestic violence waivers for eligible public 317.31 assistance applicants to all applicants of general assistance, medical assistance, and 317.32 MinnesotaCare. The brochure must explain that eligible applicants may be temporarily 317.33

waived from certain program requirements due to domestic violence. The brochure must 318.1 provide information about services and other programs to help victims of domestic violence. 318.2 (b) The brochure must be funded with TANF funds. 318.3 318.4 (c) The commissioner must work with the commissioner of children, youth, and families 318.5 to create a brochure that meets the requirements of this section and section 142G.05. Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 256.043, subdivision 3, is amended 318.6 to read: 318.7 Subd. 3. Appropriations from registration and license fee account. (a) The 318.8 appropriations in paragraphs (b) to (n) shall be made from the registration and license fee 318.9 account on a fiscal year basis in the order specified. 318.10 (b) The appropriations specified in Laws 2019, chapter 63, article 3, section 1, paragraphs 318.11 (b), (f), (g), and (h), as amended by Laws 2020, chapter 115, article 3, section 35, shall be 318.12 318.13 made accordingly. (c) \$100,000 is appropriated to the commissioner of human services for grants for opiate 318.14 318.15 antagonist distribution. Grantees may utilize funds for opioid overdose prevention, community asset mapping, education, and opiate antagonist distribution. 318.16 (d) \$2,000,000 is appropriated to the commissioner of human services for grants to Tribal 318.17 nations and five urban Indian communities for traditional healing practices for American 318.18 Indians and to increase the capacity of culturally specific providers in the behavioral health 318.19 workforce. 318.20 (e) \$400,000 is appropriated to the commissioner of human services for competitive 318.21 grants for opioid-focused Project ECHO programs. 318.22 (f) \$277,000 in fiscal year 2024 and \$321,000 each year thereafter is appropriated to the 318.23 commissioner of human services to administer the funding distribution and reporting 318.24 requirements in paragraph (o). 318.25 (g) \$3,000,000 in fiscal year 2025 and \$3,000,000 each year thereafter is appropriated 318.26 to the commissioner of human services for safe recovery sites start-up and capacity building 318.27 grants under section 254B.18. 318.28

245.891.

Article 14 Sec. 10.

318.29

318.30

318.31

(h) \$395,000 in fiscal year 2024 and \$415,000 each year thereafter is appropriated to

the commissioner of human services for the opioid overdose surge alert system under section

(i) \$300,000 is appropriated to the commissioner of management and budget for evaluation activities under section 256.042, subdivision 1, paragraph (c).

319.1

319.2

319.3

319.4

319.5

319.6

319.7

319.8

319.9

319.10

319.11

319.12

319.13

319.14

319.15

319.16

319.17

319.19

319.20

319.21

319.22

319.23

319.24

319.25

319.26

319.27

319.28

- (j) \$261,000 is appropriated to the commissioner of human services for the provision of administrative services to the Opiate Epidemic Response Advisory Council and for the administration of the grants awarded under paragraph (n).
- (k) \$126,000 is appropriated to the Board of Pharmacy for the collection of the registration fees under section 151.066.
 - (1) \$672,000 is appropriated to the commissioner of public safety for the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension. Of this amount, \$384,000 is for drug scientists and lab supplies and \$288,000 is for special agent positions focused on drug interdiction and drug trafficking.
 - (m) After the appropriations in paragraphs (b) to (l) are made, 50 percent of the remaining amount is appropriated to the commissioner of human services children, youth, and families for distribution to county social service agencies and Tribal social service agency initiative projects authorized under section 256.01, subdivision 14b, to provide child protection services to children and families who are affected by addiction. The commissioner shall distribute this money proportionally to county social service agencies and Tribal social service agency initiative projects based on out-of-home placement episodes where parental drug abuse is the primary reason for the out-of-home placement using data from the previous calendar year. County social service agencies and Tribal social service agency initiative projects receiving funds from the opiate epidemic response fund must annually report to the commissioner on how the funds were used to provide child protection services, including measurable outcomes, as determined by the commissioner. County social service agencies and Tribal social service agency initiative projects must not use funds received under this paragraph to supplant current state or local funding received for child protection services for children and families who are affected by addiction.
 - (n) After the appropriations in paragraphs (b) to (m) are made, the remaining amount in the account is appropriated to the commissioner of human services to award grants as specified by the Opiate Epidemic Response Advisory Council in accordance with section 256.042, unless otherwise appropriated by the legislature.
- (o) Beginning in fiscal year 2022 and each year thereafter, funds for county social service agencies and Tribal social service agency initiative projects under paragraph (m) and grant funds specified by the Opiate Epidemic Response Advisory Council under paragraph (n) may be distributed on a calendar year basis.

(p) Notwithstanding section 16A.28, subdivision 3, funds appropriated in paragraphs (c), (d), (e), (g), (m), and (n) are available for three years after the funds are appropriated.

- Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 256.043, subdivision 3a, is amended to read:
- Subd. 3a. **Appropriations from settlement account.** (a) The appropriations in paragraphs (b) to (e) shall be made from the settlement account on a fiscal year basis in the order specified.
 - (b) If the balance in the registration and license fee account is not sufficient to fully fund the appropriations specified in subdivision 3, paragraphs (b) to (l), an amount necessary to meet any insufficiency shall be transferred from the settlement account to the registration and license fee account to fully fund the required appropriations.
 - (c) \$209,000 in fiscal year 2023 and \$239,000 in fiscal year 2024 and subsequent fiscal years are appropriated to the commissioner of human services for the administration of grants awarded under paragraph (e). \$276,000 in fiscal year 2023 and \$151,000 in fiscal year 2024 and subsequent fiscal years are appropriated to the commissioner of human services to collect, collate, and report data submitted and to monitor compliance with reporting and settlement expenditure requirements by grantees awarded grants under this section and municipalities receiving direct payments from a statewide opioid settlement agreement as defined in section 256.042, subdivision 6.
 - (d) After any appropriations necessary under paragraphs (b) and (c) are made, an amount equal to the calendar year allocation to Tribal social service agency initiative projects under subdivision 3, paragraph (m), is appropriated from the settlement account to the commissioner of human.services.children, youth, and families for distribution to Tribal social service agency initiative projects to provide child protection services to children and families who are affected by addiction. The requirements related to proportional distribution, annual reporting, and maintenance of effort specified in subdivision 3, paragraph (m), also apply to the appropriations made under this paragraph.
- (e) After making the appropriations in paragraphs (b), (c), and (d), the remaining amount in the account is appropriated to the commissioner of human services to award grants as specified by the Opiate Epidemic Response Advisory Council in accordance with section 256.042.

320.8

320.9

320.11

320.12

320.13

320.16

320.17

320.18

320.19

320.20

320.21

320.22

320.23

320.24

320.25

320.26

321.1	(f) Funds for Tribal social service agency initiative projects under paragraph (d) and
321.2	grant funds specified by the Opiate Epidemic Response Advisory Council under paragraph
321.3	(e) may be distributed on a calendar year basis.
321.4	(g) Notwithstanding section 16A.28, subdivision 3, funds appropriated in paragraphs
321.5	(d) and (e) are available for three years after the funds are appropriated.
321.6	Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 256.045, subdivision 3, as amended
321.7	by Laws 2024, chapter 79, article 3, section 3, and Laws 2024, chapter 80, article 1, section
321.8	67, is amended to read:
321.9	Subd. 3. State agency hearings. (a) State agency hearings are available for the following:
321.10	(1) any person:
321.11	(i) applying for, receiving or having received public assistance, medical care, or a program
321.12	of social services administered by the commissioner or a county agency on behalf of the
321.13	commissioner; and
321.14	(ii) whose application for assistance is denied, not acted upon with reasonable promptness,
321.15	or whose assistance is suspended, reduced, terminated, or claimed to have been incorrectly
321.16	paid;
321.17	(2) any patient or relative aggrieved by an order of the commissioner under section
321.18	252.27;
321.19	(3) a party aggrieved by a ruling of a prepaid health plan;
321.20	(4) except as provided under chapter 245C, any individual or facility determined by a
321.21	lead investigative agency to have maltreated a vulnerable adult under section 626.557 after
321.22	they have exercised their right to administrative reconsideration under section 626.557;
321.23	(5) any person to whom a right of appeal according to this section is given by other
321.24	provision of law;
321.25	(6) an applicant aggrieved by an adverse decision to an application for a hardship waiver
321.26	under section 256B.15;
321.27	(7) an applicant aggrieved by an adverse decision to an application or redetermination
321.28	for a Medicare Part D prescription drug subsidy under section 256B.04, subdivision 4a;
321.29	(8) except as provided under chapter 245A, an individual or facility determined to have
321.30	maltreated a minor under chapter 260E, after the individual or facility has exercised the
321.31	right to administrative reconsideration under chapter 260E;

(8) (9) except as provided under chapter 245C and except for a subject of a background 322.1 study that the commissioner has conducted on behalf of another agency for a program or 322.2 facility not otherwise overseen by the commissioner, an individual disqualified under sections 322.3 245C.14 and 245C.15, following a reconsideration decision issued under section 245C.23, 322.4 on the basis of serious or recurring maltreatment; a preponderance of the evidence that the 322.5 individual has committed an act or acts that meet the definition of any of the crimes listed 322.6 in section 245C.15, subdivisions 1 to 4; or for failing to make reports required under section 322.7 322.8 260E.06, subdivision 1, or 626.557, subdivision 3. Hearings regarding a maltreatment determination under clause (4) or (8) or section 142A.20, subdivision 3, clause (4), and a 322.9 disqualification under this clause in which the basis for a disqualification is serious or 322.10 recurring maltreatment, shall be consolidated into a single fair hearing. In such cases, the 322.11 scope of review by the human services judge shall include both the maltreatment 322.12 determination and the disqualification. The failure to exercise the right to an administrative 322.13 reconsideration shall not be a bar to a hearing under this section if federal law provides an 322.14 individual the right to a hearing to dispute a finding of maltreatment; 322.15 (9) (10) any person with an outstanding debt resulting from receipt of public assistance 322.16 administered by the commissioner or medical care who is contesting a setoff claim by the 322.17 Department of Human Services or a county agency. The scope of the appeal is the validity 322.18 of the claimant agency's intention to request a setoff of a refund under chapter 270A against the debt; 322.20 (10) (11) a person issued a notice of service termination under section 245D.10, 322.21 subdivision 3a, by a licensed provider of any residential supports or services listed in section 322.22 245D.03, subdivision 1, paragraphs (b) and (c), that is not otherwise subject to appeal under subdivision 4a; 322.24 (11) (12) an individual disability waiver recipient based on a denial of a request for a 322.25 rate exception under section 256B.4914; (12) (13) a person issued a notice of service termination under section 245A.11, 322.27 subdivision 11, that is not otherwise subject to appeal under subdivision 4a; or 322.28 (13) (14) a recovery community organization seeking medical assistance vendor eligibility 322.29 under section 254B.01, subdivision 8, that is aggrieved by a membership or accreditation 322.30 determination and that believes the organization meets the requirements under section 322.31 254B.05, subdivision 1, paragraph (d), clauses (1) to (10). The scope of the review by the 322.32 human services judge shall be limited to whether the organization meets each of the 322.33 requirements under section 254B.05, subdivision 1, paragraph (d), clauses (1) to (10).

(b) The hearing for an individual or facility under paragraph (a), clause (4), (8), or (9), is the only administrative appeal to the final agency determination specifically, including a challenge to the accuracy and completeness of data under section 13.04. Hearings requested under paragraph (a), clause (4), apply only to incidents of maltreatment that occur on or after October 1, 1995. Hearings requested by nursing assistants in nursing homes alleged to have maltreated a resident prior to October 1, 1995, shall be held as a contested case proceeding under the provisions of chapter 14. Hearings requested under paragraph (a), clause (8), apply only to incidents of maltreatment that occur on or after July 1, 1997. A hearing for an individual or facility under paragraph (a), clause (4), (8), or (9), is only available when there is no district court action pending. If such action is filed in district court while an administrative review is pending that arises out of some or all of the events or circumstances on which the appeal is based, the administrative review must be suspended until the judicial actions are completed. If the district court proceedings are completed, dismissed, or overturned, the matter may be considered in an administrative hearing.

- (c) For purposes of this section, bargaining unit grievance procedures are not an administrative appeal.
- (d) The scope of hearings involving claims to foster care payments under section 142A.20, subdivision 2, clause (2), shall be limited to the issue of whether the county is legally responsible for a child's placement under court order or voluntary placement agreement and, if so, the correct amount of foster care payment to be made on the child's behalf and shall not include review of the propriety of the county's child protection determination or child placement decision.
 - (d) (e) The scope of hearings under paragraph (a), clauses (11) and (13), shall be limited to whether the proposed termination of services is authorized under section 245D.10, subdivision 3a, paragraph (b), or 245A.11, subdivision 11, and whether the requirements of section 245D.10, subdivision 3a, paragraphs (c) to (e), or 245A.11, subdivision 2a, paragraphs (d) and (e), were met. If the appeal includes a request for a temporary stay of termination of services, the scope of the hearing shall also include whether the case management provider has finalized arrangements for a residential facility, a program, or services that will meet the assessed needs of the recipient by the effective date of the service termination.
 - (e) (f) A vendor of medical care as defined in section 256B.02, subdivision 7, or a vendor under contract with a county agency to provide social services is not a party and may not request a hearing under this section, except if assisting a recipient as provided in subdivision

323.1

323.2

323.3

323.4

323.5

323.6

323.7

323.8

323.9

323.10

323.11

323.12

323.13

323.14

323.15

323.16

323.23

323.24

323.25

323.26

323.28

323.29

323.30

323.31

323.32

323.33

323.34

(f) (g) An applicant or recipient is not entitled to receive social services beyond the services prescribed under chapter 256M or other social services the person is eligible for under state law.

- (g) (h) The commissioner may summarily affirm the county or state agency's proposed action without a hearing when the sole issue is an automatic change due to a change in state or federal law, except in matters covered by paragraph (h) (i).
- (h) (i) When the subject of an administrative review is a matter within the jurisdiction of the direct care and treatment executive board as a part of the board's powers and duties under chapter 246C, the executive board may summarily affirm the county or state agency's proposed action without a hearing when the sole issue is an automatic change due to a change in state or federal law.
- (i) (j) Unless federal or Minnesota law specifies a different time frame in which to file an appeal, an individual or organization specified in this section may contest the specified action, decision, or final disposition before the state agency by submitting a written request for a hearing to the state agency within 30 days after receiving written notice of the action, decision, or final disposition, or within 90 days of such written notice if the applicant, recipient, patient, or relative shows good cause, as defined in section 256.0451, subdivision 13, why the request was not submitted within the 30-day time limit. The individual filing the appeal has the burden of proving good cause by a preponderance of the evidence.
- Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256.045, subdivision 3b, as amended by Laws 2024, chapter 80, article 1, section 68, is amended to read:
- Subd. 3b. **Standard of evidence for maltreatment and disqualification hearings.** (a) The state human services judge shall determine that maltreatment has occurred if a preponderance of evidence exists to support the final disposition under section 626.557 and chapter 260E. For purposes of hearings regarding disqualification, the state human services judge shall affirm the proposed disqualification in an appeal under subdivision 3, paragraph (a), clause (9), if a preponderance of the evidence shows the individual has:
- 324.28 (1) committed maltreatment under section 626.557 or chapter 260E that is serious or 324.29 recurring;
- 324.30 (2) committed an act or acts meeting the definition of any of the crimes listed in section 324.31 245C.15, subdivisions 1 to 4; or

324.1

324.2

324.3

324.4

324.5

324.6

324.7

324.8

324.9

324.10

(3) failed to make required reports under section 626.557 or chapter 260E, for incidents in which the final disposition under section 626.557 or chapter 260E was substantiated maltreatment that was serious or recurring.

- (b) If the disqualification is affirmed, the state human services judge shall determine whether the individual poses a risk of harm in accordance with the requirements of section 245C.22, and whether the disqualification should be set aside or not set aside. In determining whether the disqualification should be set aside, the human services judge shall consider all of the characteristics that cause the individual to be disqualified, including those characteristics that were not subject to review under paragraph (a), in order to determine whether the individual poses a risk of harm. A decision to set aside a disqualification that is the subject of the hearing constitutes a determination that the individual does not pose a risk of harm and that the individual may provide direct contact services in the individual program specified in the set aside.
- (c) If a disqualification is based solely on a conviction or is conclusive for any reason under section 245C.29, the disqualified individual does not have a right to a hearing under this section.
- (d) The state human services judge shall recommend an order to the commissioner of 325.17 health;; education;; children, youth, and families; or human services, as applicable, who 325.18 shall issue a final order. The commissioner shall affirm, reverse, or modify the final 325.19 disposition. Any order of the commissioner issued in accordance with this subdivision is 325.20 conclusive upon the parties unless appeal is taken in the manner provided in subdivision 7. 325.21 In any licensing appeal under chapters 245A and 245C and sections 144.50 to 144.58 and 325.22 144A.02 to 144A.482, the commissioner's determination as to maltreatment is conclusive, 325.23 as provided under section 245C.29. 325.24
- Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256.045, subdivision 5, as amended by Laws 2024, chapter 79, article 3, section 4, is amended to read:
- Subd. 5. Orders of the commissioner of human services. (a) Except as provided for 325.27 under subdivision 5a for matters under the jurisdiction of the direct care and treatment 325.28 executive board and for hearings held under section 142A.20, subdivision 2, a state human 325.29 325.30 services judge shall conduct a hearing on the appeal and shall recommend an order to the commissioner of human services. The recommended order must be based on all relevant 325.31 evidence and must not be limited to a review of the propriety of the state or county agency's 325.32 action. A human services judge may take official notice of adjudicative facts. The 325.33 commissioner of human services may accept the recommended order of a state human 325.34

325.1

325.2

325.3

325.4

325.5

325.6

325.7

325.8

325.9

325.10

325.11

services judge and issue the order to the county agency and the applicant, recipient, former recipient, or prepaid health plan. The commissioner on refusing to accept the recommended order of the state human services judge, shall notify the petitioner, the agency, or prepaid health plan of that fact and shall state reasons therefor and shall allow each party ten days' time to submit additional written argument on the matter. After the expiration of the ten-day period, the commissioner shall issue an order on the matter to the petitioner, the agency, or prepaid health plan.

- (b) A party aggrieved by an order of the commissioner may appeal under subdivision 7, or request reconsideration by the commissioner within 30 days after the date the commissioner issues the order. The commissioner may reconsider an order upon request of any party or on the commissioner's own motion. A request for reconsideration does not stay implementation of the commissioner's order. The person seeking reconsideration has the burden to demonstrate why the matter should be reconsidered. The request for reconsideration may include legal argument and proposed additional evidence supporting the request. If proposed additional evidence is submitted, the person must explain why the proposed additional evidence was not provided at the time of the hearing. If reconsideration is granted, the other participants must be sent a copy of all material submitted in support of the request for reconsideration and must be given ten days to respond. Upon reconsideration, the commissioner may issue an amended order or an order affirming the original order.
- (c) Any order of the commissioner issued under this subdivision shall be conclusive upon the parties unless appeal is taken in the manner provided by subdivision 7. Any order of the commissioner is binding on the parties and must be implemented by the state agency, a county agency, or a prepaid health plan according to subdivision 3a, until the order is reversed by the district court, or unless the commissioner or a district court orders monthly assistance or aid or services paid or provided under subdivision 10.
- (d) A vendor of medical care as defined in section 256B.02, subdivision 7, or a vendor under contract with a county agency to provide social services is not a party and may not request a hearing or seek judicial review of an order issued under this section, unless assisting a recipient as provided in subdivision 4. A prepaid health plan is a party to an appeal under subdivision 3a, but cannot seek judicial review of an order issued under this section.
- Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256.045, subdivision 7, as amended by Laws 2024, chapter 79, article 3, section 7, is amended to read:
- Subd. 7. **Judicial review.** Except for a prepaid health plan, any party who is aggrieved by an order of the commissioner of human services; the commissioner of health; or the

326.1

326.2

326.3

326.4

326.5

326.6

326.7

326.8

326.9

326.10

326.11

326.13

326.14

326.15

326.16

326.17

326.18

326.19

326.20

326.21

326.23

326.24

326.25

326.26

326.28

326.29

commissioner of children, youth, and families in appeals within the commissioner's jurisdiction under subdivision 3b₇; or the direct care and treatment executive board in appeals within the jurisdiction of the executive board under subdivision 5a may appeal the order to the district court of the county responsible for furnishing assistance, or, in appeals under subdivision 3b, the county where the maltreatment occurred, by serving a written copy of a notice of appeal upon the applicable commissioner or executive board and any adverse party of record within 30 days after the date the commissioner or executive board issued the order, the amended order, or order affirming the original order, and by filing the original notice and proof of service with the court administrator of the district court. Service may be made personally or by mail; service by mail is complete upon mailing; no filing fee shall 327.10 be required by the court administrator in appeals taken pursuant to this subdivision, with 327.11 the exception of appeals taken under subdivision 3b. The applicable commissioner or 327.12 executive board may elect to become a party to the proceedings in the district court. Except 327.13 for appeals under subdivision 3b, any party may demand that the commissioner or executive 327.14 board furnish all parties to the proceedings with a copy of the decision, and a transcript of 327.15 any testimony, evidence, or other supporting papers from the hearing held before the human 327.16 services judge, by serving a written demand upon the applicable commissioner or executive 327.17 board within 30 days after service of the notice of appeal. Any party aggrieved by the failure 327.18 of an adverse party to obey an order issued by the commissioner or executive board under 327.19 subdivisions 5 or 5a may compel performance according to the order in the manner prescribed 327.20 in sections 586.01 to 586.12.

Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256.0451, subdivision 1, as amended by Laws 327.22 2024, chapter 80, article 1, section 72, is amended to read: 327.23

Subdivision 1. Scope. (a) The requirements in this section apply to all fair hearings and appeals under sections 142A.20, subdivision 2, and 256.045, subdivision 3, paragraph (a), clauses (1), (2), (3), (5), (6), (7), $\frac{(8)}{(11)}$ (10), and $\frac{(13)}{(12)}$. Except as provided in subdivisions 3 and 19, the requirements under this section apply to fair hearings and appeals under section 256.045, subdivision 3, paragraph (a), clauses (4), (8), (9), $\frac{(10)}{}$, and $\frac{(12)}{}$ (11).

(b) For purposes of this section, "person" means an individual who, on behalf of themselves or their household, is appealing or disputing or challenging an action, a decision, or a failure to act, by an agency in the human services system. When a person involved in a proceeding under this section is represented by an attorney or by an authorized representative, the term "person" also means the person's attorney or authorized representative. Any notice sent to the person involved in the hearing must also be sent to the person's attorney or authorized representative.

327.1

327.2

327.3

327.4

327.5

327.6

327.7

327.8

327.9

327.24

327.25

327.26

327.27

327.28

327.29

327.30

327.31

327.32

327.33

327.34

(c) For purposes of this section, "agency" means the county human services agency, the state human services agency, and, where applicable, any entity involved under a contract, subcontract, grant, or subgrant with the state agency or with a county agency, that provides or operates programs or services in which appeals are governed by section 256.045.

- Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256.0451, subdivision 22, is amended to read:
- Subd. 22. **Decisions.** A timely, written decision must be issued in every appeal. Each decision must contain a clear ruling on the issues presented in the appeal hearing and should contain a ruling only on questions directly presented by the appeal and the arguments raised in the appeal.
- (a) A written decision must be issued within 90 days of the date the person involved requested the appeal unless a shorter time is required by law. An additional 30 days is provided in those cases where the commissioner refuses to accept the recommended decision. In appeals of maltreatment determinations or disqualifications filed pursuant to section 256.045, subdivision 3, paragraph (a), clause (4), (8), or (9), or (10), that also give rise to possible licensing actions, the 90-day period for issuing final decisions does not begin until the later of the date that the licensing authority provides notice to the appeals division that the authority has made the final determination in the matter or the date the appellant files the last appeal in the consolidated matters.
- (b) The decision must contain both findings of fact and conclusions of law, clearly separated and identified. The findings of fact must be based on the entire record. Each finding of fact made by the human services judge shall be supported by a preponderance of the evidence unless a different standard is required under the regulations of a particular program. The "preponderance of the evidence" means, in light of the record as a whole, the evidence leads the human services judge to believe that the finding of fact is more likely to be true than not true. The legal claims or arguments of a participant do not constitute either a finding of fact or a conclusion of law, except to the extent the human services judge adopts an argument as a finding of fact or conclusion of law.
 - The decision shall contain at least the following:
- 328.29 (1) a listing of the date and place of the hearing and the participants at the hearing;
- 328.30 (2) a clear and precise statement of the issues, including the dispute under consideration 328.31 and the specific points which must be resolved in order to decide the case;
- 328.32 (3) a listing of the material, including exhibits, records, reports, placed into evidence at 328.33 the hearing, and upon which the hearing decision is based;

328.1

328.2

328.3

328.4

328.5

328.6

328.7

328.8

328.9

328.10

328.11

328.12

328.13

328.14

328.15

328.17

328.18

328.19

328.20

328.21

328.22

328.23

328.24

328.25

328.26

328.27

(4) the findings of fact based upon the entire hearing record. The findings of fact must be adequate to inform the participants and any interested person in the public of the basis of the decision. If the evidence is in conflict on an issue which must be resolved, the findings of fact must state the reasoning used in resolving the conflict;

- (5) conclusions of law that address the legal authority for the hearing and the ruling, and which give appropriate attention to the claims of the participants to the hearing;
- (6) a clear and precise statement of the decision made resolving the dispute under consideration in the hearing; and
- (7) written notice of the right to appeal to district court or to request reconsideration, and of the actions required and the time limits for taking appropriate action to appeal to district court or to request a reconsideration.
- (c) The human services judge shall not independently investigate facts or otherwise rely on information not presented at the hearing. The human services judge may not contact other agency personnel, except as provided in subdivision 18. The human services judge's recommended decision must be based exclusively on the testimony and evidence presented at the hearing, and legal arguments presented, and the human services judge's research and knowledge of the law.
- (d) The commissioner will review the recommended decision and accept or refuse to accept the decision according to section 142A.20, subdivision 3, or 256.045, subdivision 5.
- Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256.0451, subdivision 24, is amended to read:
- Subd. 24. **Reconsideration.** (a) Reconsideration may be requested within 30 days of the date of the commissioner's final order. If reconsideration is requested under section 142A.20, subdivision 3, or 256.045, subdivision 5, the other participants in the appeal shall be informed of the request. The person seeking reconsideration has the burden to demonstrate why the matter should be reconsidered. The request for reconsideration may include legal argument and may include proposed additional evidence supporting the request. The other participants shall be sent a copy of all material submitted in support of the request for reconsideration and must be given ten days to respond.
- 329.30 (b) When the requesting party raises a question as to the appropriateness of the findings 329.31 of fact, the commissioner shall review the entire record.
- 329.32 (c) When the requesting party questions the appropriateness of a conclusion of law, the 329.33 commissioner shall consider the recommended decision, the decision under reconsideration,

329.1

329.2

329.3

329.4

329.5

329.6

329.7

329.8

329.9

329.10

and the material submitted in connection with the reconsideration. The commissioner shall review the remaining record as necessary to issue a reconsidered decision.

- (d) The commissioner shall issue a written decision on reconsideration in a timely fashion. The decision must clearly inform the parties that this constitutes the final administrative decision, advise the participants of the right to seek judicial review, and the deadline for doing so.
- Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256.046, subdivision 2, as amended by Laws 2024, chapter 80, article 1, section 75, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2. Combined hearing. (a) The human services judge may combine a fair hearing 330.9 under section 142A.20 or 256.045 and administrative fraud disqualification hearing under 330.11 this section or section 142A.27 into a single hearing if the factual issues arise out of the same, or related, circumstances; the commissioner of human services has jurisdiction over 330.12 at least one of the hearings; and the individual receives prior notice that the hearings will 330.13 be combined. If the administrative fraud disqualification hearing and fair hearing are 330.14 combined, the time frames for administrative fraud disqualification hearings specified in 330.15 Code of Federal Regulations, title 7, section 273.16, apply. If the individual accused of wrongfully obtaining assistance is charged under section 256.98 for the same act or acts which are the subject of the hearing, the individual may request that the hearing be delayed 330.18 until the criminal charge is decided by the court or withdrawn. 330.19
- (b) The human services judge must conduct any hearings under section 142A.20 or 142A.27 pursuant to the relevant laws and rules governing children, youth, and families judges.
- Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 256M.42, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
- Subd. 7. Adult protection grant allocation under Reform 2020. The requirements of subdivisions 2 to 6 apply to the Reform 2020 adult protection state grants in Minnesota

 Statutes 2013 Supplement, section 256M.40, subdivision 1, and Laws 2013, chapter 108, article 15. The Reform 2020 state adult protection grant must be allocated annually consistent with the calendar year 2023 allocation made under section 256M.40.
- Sec. 21. Laws 2023, chapter 70, article 12, section 30, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2. **Department of Human Services.** The powers and duties of the Department of Human Services with respect to the following responsibilities and related elements are

330.1

330.2

330.3

330.4

330.5

transferred to the Department of Children, Youth, and Families according to Minnesota

Statutes, section 15.039:

- 331.3 (1) family services and community-based collaboratives under Minnesota Statutes, section 124D.23;
- 331.5 (2) child care programs under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 119B;
- 331.6 (3) Parent Aware quality rating and improvement system under Minnesota Statutes, section 124D.142;
- 331.8 (4) migrant child care services under Minnesota Statutes, section 256M.50;
- (5) early childhood and school-age professional development training under Laws 2007, chapter 147, article 2, section 56;
- 331.11 (6) licensure of family child care and child care centers, child foster care, and private child placing agencies under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 245A;
- 331.13 (7) certification of license-exempt child care centers under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 331.14 245H;
- 331.15 (8) program integrity and fraud related to the Child Care Assistance Program (CCAP), 331.16 the Minnesota Family Investment Program (MFIP), and the Supplemental Nutrition
- 331.17 Assistance Program (SNAP) under Minnesota Statutes, chapters 119B and 245E;
- 331.18 (9) SNAP under Minnesota Statutes, sections 256D.60 to 256D.63;
- 331.19 (10) electronic benefit transactions under Minnesota Statutes, sections 256.9862,
- 331.20 256.9863, 256.9865, 256.987, 256.9871, 256.9872, and 256J.77;
- 331.21 (11) Minnesota food assistance program under Minnesota Statutes, section 256D.64;
- 331.22 (12) Minnesota food shelf program under Minnesota Statutes, section 256E.34;
- 331.23 (13) MFIP and Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) under Minnesota Statutes, sections 256.9864 and 256.9865 and chapters 256J and 256P;
- 331.25 (14) Diversionary Work Program (DWP) under Minnesota Statutes, section 256J.95;
- 331.26 (15) resettlement programs under Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.06, subdivision 6
- 331.27 American Indian food sovereignty program under Minnesota Statutes, section 256E.342;
- 331.28 (16) child abuse under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 256E;
- 331.29 (17) reporting of the maltreatment of minors under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 260E;

(18) children in voluntary foster care for treatment under Minnesota Statutes, chapter

- 332.2 **260D**;
- 332.3 (19) juvenile safety and placement under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 260C;
- 332.4 (20) the Minnesota Indian Family Preservation Act under Minnesota Statutes, sections
- 332.5 260.751 to 260.835;
- 332.6 (21) the Interstate Compact for Juveniles under Minnesota Statutes, section 260.515,
- and the Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children under Minnesota Statutes, sections
- 332.8 260.851 to 260.93;
- 332.9 (22) adoption under Minnesota Statutes, sections 259.20 to 259.89;
- 332.10 (23) Northstar Care for Children under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 256N;
- 332.11 (24) child support under Minnesota Statutes, chapters 13, 13B, 214, 256, 256J, 257, 259,
- 332.12 518, 518A, 518C, 551, 552, 571, and 588, and Minnesota Statutes, section 609.375;
- 332.13 (25) community action programs under Minnesota Statutes, sections 256E.30 to 256E.32;
- 332.14 and
- 332.15 (26) Family Assets for Independence in Minnesota under Minnesota Statutes, section
- 332.16 **256E.35**-;
- 332.17 (27) capital for emergency food distribution facilities under Laws 2023, chapter 70,
- 332.18 article 20, section 2, subdivision 24, paragraph (i);
- (28) community resource centers under Laws 2023, chapter 70, article 14, section 42;
- 332.20 (29) diaper distribution grant program under Minnesota Statutes, section 256E.38;
- 332.21 (30) emergency services program under Minnesota Statutes, section 256E.36;
- 332.22 (31) emergency shelter facilities grants under Laws 2023, chapter 70, article 11, section
- 332.23 14;
- 332.24 (32) Family First Prevention Services Act support and development grant program under
- 332.25 Minnesota Statutes, section 256.4793;
- 332.26 (33) Family First Prevention Services Act kinship navigator program under Minnesota
- 332.27 Statutes, section 256.4794;
- 332.28 (34) family first prevention and early intervention allocation program under Minnesota
- 332.29 Statutes, section 260.014;

333.1	(35) grants for prepared meals food relief under Laws 2023, chapter 70, article 12, section
333.2	<u>33;</u>
333.3	(36) Homeless Youth Act under Minnesota Statutes, sections 256K.45 to 256K.451;
333.4	(37) homeless youth cash stipend pilot under Laws 2023, chapter 70, article 11, section
333.5	<u>13;</u>
333.6	(38) independent living skills for foster youth under Laws 2023, chapter 70, article 14,
333.7	section 41;
333.8	(39) legacy adoption assistance under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 259A;
333.9	(40) quality parenting initiative grant program under Minnesota Statutes, section
333.10	<u>245.0962;</u>
333.11	(41) relative custody assistance under Minnesota Statutes, section 257.85;
333.12	(42) reimbursement to counties and Tribes for certain out-of-home placements under
333.13	Minnesota Statutes, section 477A.0126;
333.14	(43) safe harbor shelter and housing under Minnesota Statutes, section 256K.47;
333.15	(44) shelter-linked youth mental health grants under Minnesota Statutes, section 256K.46;
333.16	(45) Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program outreach under Minnesota Statutes,
333.17	section 256D.65; and
333.18	(46) transitional housing programs under Minnesota Statutes, section 256E.33.
333.19	Sec. 22. Laws 2023, chapter 70, article 12, section 30, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
333.20	Subd. 3. Department of Education. The powers and duties of the Department of
333.21	Education with respect to the following responsibilities and related elements are transferred
333.22	to the Department of Children, Youth, and Families according to Minnesota Statutes, section
333.23	15.039:
333.24	(1) Head Start Program and Early Head Start under Minnesota Statutes, sections 119A.50
333.25	to 119A.545;
333.26	(2) the early childhood screening program under Minnesota Statutes, sections 121A.16
333.27	to 121A.19;
333.28	(3) early learning scholarships under Minnesota Statutes, section 124D.165;
333.29	(4) the interagency early childhood intervention system under Minnesota Statutes,
333.30	sections 125A.259 to 125A.48;

334.1	(5) voluntary prekindergarten programs and school readiness plus programs under
334.2	Minnesota Statutes, section 124D.151;
334.3	(6) early childhood family education programs under Minnesota Statutes, sections
334.4	124D.13 to 124D.135;
334.5	(7) school readiness under Minnesota Statutes, sections 124D.15 to 124D.16; and
334.6	(8) after-school community learning programs under Minnesota Statutes, section
334.7	124D.2211-; and
334.8	(9) grow your own program under Minnesota Statutes, section 122A.731.
334.9	Sec. 23. Laws 2024, chapter 80, article 1, section 38, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
334.10	Subdivision 1. Children, youth, and families judges; appointment Hearings held by
334.11	the Department of Human Services. The commissioner of children, youth, and families
334.12	may appoint one or more state children, youth, and families judges to conduct hearings and
334.13	recommend orders in accordance with subdivisions 2, 3, and 5. Children, youth, and families
334.14	judges designated pursuant to this section may administer oaths and shall be under the
334.15	control and supervision of the commissioner of children, youth, and families and shall not
334.16	be a part of the Office of Administrative Hearings established pursuant to sections 14.48 to
334.17	14.56. The commissioner shall only appoint as a full-time children, youth, and families
334.18	judge an individual who is licensed to practice law in Minnesota and who is:
334.19	(1) in active status;
334.20	(2) an inactive resident;
334.21	(3) retired;
334.22	(4) on disabled status; or
334.23	(5) on retired senior status.
334.24	All state agency hearings under subdivision 2 must be heard by a human services judge
334.25	pursuant to sections 256.045 and 256.0451.
334.26	Sec. 24. Laws 2024, chapter 80, article 1, section 38, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
334.27	Subd. 2. State agency hearings. (a) State agency hearings are available for the following:
334.28	(1) any person:

(i) applying for, receiving, or having received public assistance or a program of social services administered by the commissioner or a county agency on behalf of the commissioner or the federal Food and Nutrition Act; and

- (ii) whose application for assistance is denied, not acted upon with reasonable promptness, or whose assistance is suspended, reduced, terminated, or claimed to have been incorrectly paid;
- (2) any person whose claim for foster care payment according to a placement of the child resulting from a child protection assessment under chapter 260E is denied or not acted upon with reasonable promptness, regardless of funding source;
- 335.10 (3) any person to whom a right of appeal according to this section is given by other provision of law; and
- (4) except as provided under chapter 142B, an individual or facility determined to have maltreated a minor under chapter 260E, after the individual or facility has exercised the right to administrative reconsideration under chapter 260E;
 - (5) except as provided under chapter 245C, an individual disqualified under sections 245C.14 and 245C.15, following a reconsideration decision issued under section 245C.23, on the basis of serious or recurring maltreatment; of a preponderance of the evidence that the individual has committed an act or acts that meet the definition of any of the crimes listed in section 245C.15, subdivisions 1 to 4; or for failing to make reports required under section 260E.06, subdivision 1, or 626.557, subdivision 3. Hearings regarding a maltreatment determination under clause (4) and a disqualification under this clause in which the basis for a disqualification is serious or recurring maltreatment shall be consolidated into a single fair hearing. In such cases, the scope of review by the children, youth, and families judge shall include both the maltreatment determination and the disqualification. The failure to exercise the right to an administrative reconsideration shall not be a bar to a hearing under this section if federal law provides an individual the right to a hearing to dispute a finding of maltreatment; and
 - (6) (4) any person with an outstanding debt resulting from receipt of public assistance or the federal Food and Nutrition Act who is contesting a setoff claim by the commissioner of children, youth, and families or a county agency. The scope of the appeal is the validity of the claimant agency's intention to request a setoff of a refund under chapter 270A against the debt.
- 335.33 (b) The hearing for an individual or facility under paragraph (a), clause (4) or (5), is the only administrative appeal to the final agency determination specifically, including a

335.1

335.2

335.3

335.4

335.5

335.6

335.7

335.8

335.9

335.15

335.17

335 18

335.19

335.20

335.21

335.24

335.25

335.26

335.27

335.28

335.29

335.30

335.31

challenge to the accuracy and completeness of data under section 13.04. A hearing for an individual or facility under paragraph (a), clause (4) or (5), is only available when there is no district court action pending. If such action is filed in district court while an administrative review is pending that arises out of some or all of the events or circumstances on which the appeal is based, the administrative review must be suspended until the judicial actions are completed. If the district court proceedings are completed, dismissed, or overturned, the matter may be considered in an administrative hearing.

- (c) For purposes of this section, bargaining unit grievance procedures are not an administrative appeal.
- (d) The scope of hearings involving claims to foster care payments under paragraph (a), clause (2), shall be limited to the issue of whether the county is legally responsible for a child's placement under court order or voluntary placement agreement and, if so, the correct amount of foster care payment to be made on the child's behalf and shall not include review of the propriety of the county's child protection determination or child placement decision.
- (e) An applicant or recipient is not entitled to receive social services beyond the services prescribed under chapter 256M or other social services the person is eligible for under state 336.17 law.
 - (f) The commissioner may summarily affirm the county or state agency's proposed action without a hearing when the sole issue is an automatic change due to a change in state or federal law.
 - (g) Unless federal or Minnesota law specifies a different time frame in which to file an appeal, an individual or organization specified in this section may contest the specified action, decision, or final disposition before the state agency by submitting a written request for a hearing to the state agency within 30 days after receiving written notice of the action, decision, or final disposition or within 90 days of such written notice if the applicant, recipient, patient, or relative shows good cause, as defined in section 142A.21, subdivision 13, why the request was not submitted within the 30-day time limit. The individual filing the appeal has the burden of proving good cause by a preponderance of the evidence.
- Sec. 25. Laws 2024, chapter 80, article 1, section 38, subdivision 5, is amended to read: 336.29
- Subd. 5. Orders of the commissioner of children, youth, and families. (a) A state 336.30 children, youth, and families human services judge shall conduct a hearing on the an appeal 336.31 336.32 of a matter listed in subdivision 2 and shall recommend an order to the commissioner of children, youth, and families. The recommended order must be based on all relevant evidence

336.1

336.2

336.3

336.4

336.5

336.6

336.7

336.8

336.9

336.10

336.11

336.12

336.13

336.14

336.15

336.18

336.20

336.21

336.23

336.24

336.25

336.26

and must not be limited to a review of the propriety of the state or county agency's action. A children, youth, and families state human services judge may take official notice of adjudicative facts. The commissioner of children, youth, and families may accept the recommended order of a state children, youth, and families human services judge and issue the order to the county agency and the applicant, recipient, or former recipient. If the commissioner refuses to accept the recommended order of the state children, youth, and families human services judge, the commissioner shall notify the petitioner or the agency of the commissioner's refusal and shall state reasons for the refusal. The commissioner shall allow each party ten days' time to submit additional written argument on the matter. After the expiration of the ten-day period, the commissioner shall issue an order on the matter to the petitioner and the agency.

- (b) A party aggrieved by an order of the commissioner may appeal under subdivision 7 5 or request reconsideration by the commissioner within 30 days after the date the commissioner issues the order. The commissioner may reconsider an order upon request of any party or on the commissioner's own motion. A request for reconsideration does not stay implementation of the commissioner's order. The person seeking reconsideration has the burden to demonstrate why the matter should be reconsidered. The request for reconsideration may include legal argument and proposed additional evidence supporting the request. If proposed additional evidence is submitted, the person must explain why the proposed additional evidence was not provided at the time of the hearing. If reconsideration is granted, the other participants must be sent a copy of all material submitted in support of the request for reconsideration and must be given ten days to respond. Upon reconsideration, the commissioner may issue an amended order or an order affirming the original order.
- (c) Any order of the commissioner issued under this subdivision shall be conclusive upon the parties unless appeal is taken in the manner provided by subdivision 7 5. Any order of the commissioner is binding on the parties and must be implemented by the state agency or a county agency until the order is reversed by the district court or unless the commissioner or a district court orders monthly assistance or aid or services paid or provided under subdivision 10 8.
- (d) A vendor under contract with a county agency to provide social services is not a party and may not request a hearing or seek judicial review of an order issued under this section, unless assisting a recipient as provided in section 256.045, subdivision 4.

337.1

337.2

337.3

337.4

337.5

337.6

337.7

337.8

337.9

337.10

337.11

337.12

337.13

337.14

337.15

337.16

337.17

337.18

337.19

337.20

337.21

337.22

337.23

337.24

337.25

337.26

337.27

337.28

Sec. 26. Laws 2024, chapter 80, article 1, section 38, subdivision 6, is amended to read:

- Subd. 6. Additional powers of commissioner; subpoenas. (a) The commissioner may initiate a review of any action or decision of a county agency and direct that the matter be presented to a state children, youth, and families human services judge for a hearing held under subdivision 2 or 3 section 256.045, subdivision 3b. In all matters dealing with children, youth, and families committed by law to the discretion of the county agency, the commissioner's judgment may be substituted for that of the county agency. The commissioner may order an independent examination when appropriate.
- 338.10 (b) Any party to a hearing held pursuant to subdivision 2 or 3 section 256.045, subdivision
 338.10 3b, may request that the commissioner issue a subpoena to compel the attendance of witnesses
 338.11 and the production of records at the hearing. A local agency may request that the
 338.12 commissioner issue a subpoena to compel the release of information from third parties prior
 338.13 to a request for a hearing under section 142A.21 upon a showing of relevance to such a
 338.14 proceeding. The issuance, service, and enforcement of subpoenas under this subdivision is
 338.15 governed by section 357.22 and the Minnesota Rules of Civil Procedure.
- 338.16 (c) The commissioner may issue a temporary order staying a proposed demission by a residential facility licensed under chapter 142B:
- 338.18 (1) while an appeal by a recipient under subdivision 3 is pending; or
- 338.19 (2) for the period of time necessary for the case management provider to implement the commissioner's order.
- Sec. 27. Laws 2024, chapter 80, article 1, section 38, subdivision 7, is amended to read:
- Subd. 7. Judicial review. Any party who is aggrieved by an order of the commissioner 338.22 of children, youth, and families may appeal the order to the district court of the county 338.23 responsible for furnishing assistance, or, in appeals under section 256.045, subdivision 3 338.24 3b, the county where the maltreatment occurred, by serving a written copy of a notice of 338.25 appeal upon the commissioner and any adverse party of record within 30 days after the date 338.26 338.27 the commissioner issued the order, the amended order, or order affirming the original order, and by filing the original notice and proof of service with the court administrator of the 338.28 district court. Service may be made personally or by mail; service by mail is complete upon 338.29 mailing. The court administrator shall not require a filing fee in appeals taken pursuant to 338.30 this subdivision, except for appeals taken under section 256.045, subdivision 3 3b. The 338.31 commissioner may elect to become a party to the proceedings in the district court. Except for appeals under section 256.045, subdivision 3 3b, any party may demand that the 338.33

338.1

338.2

338.3

338.4

338.5

338.6

338.7

04/24/24 SENATEE LB SS4699R

commissioner furnish all parties to the proceedings with a copy of the decision, and a transcript of any testimony, evidence, or other supporting papers from the hearing held before the <u>children</u>, <u>youth</u>, <u>and families</u> <u>state human services</u> judge, by serving a written demand upon the commissioner within 30 days after service of the notice of appeal. Any party aggrieved by the failure of an adverse party to obey an order issued by the commissioner under subdivision 5 may compel performance according to the order in the manner prescribed in sections 586.01 to 586.12.

Sec. 28. Laws 2024, chapter 80, article 1, section 38, subdivision 9, is amended to read:

Subd. 9. **Appeal.** Any party aggrieved by the order of the district court may appeal the order as in other civil cases. Except for appeals under section 256.045, subdivision 3 3b, no costs or disbursements shall be taxed against any party nor shall any filing fee or bond be required of any party.

Sec. 29. Laws 2024, chapter 80, article 1, section 96, is amended to read:

Sec. 96. REVISOR INSTRUCTION.

Column A

339.1

339.2

339.3

339.4

339.5

339.6

339.7

339.8

339.9

339.10

339.11

339.12

339.13

339.14

220 17

The revisor of statutes must renumber sections or subdivisions in Column A as Column 339.16 B.

Column R

339.17	Column A	Column B
339.18	256.01, subdivision 12	142A.03, subdivision 7
339.19	256.01, subdivision 12a	142A.03, subdivision 8
339.20	256.01, subdivision 15	142A.03, subdivision 10
339.21	256.01, subdivision 36	142A.03, subdivision 22
339.22	256.0112, subdivision 10	142A.07, subdivision 8
339.23	256.019, subdivision 2	142A.28, subdivision 2
339.24	256.4793	142A.45
339.25	256.4794	142A.451
339.26	256.82	142A.418
339.27	256.9831	142A.13, subdivision 14
339.28	256.9862, subdivision 1	142A.13, subdivision 10
339.29	256.9862, subdivision 2	142A.13, subdivision 11
339.30	256.9863	142A.13, subdivision 5
339.31	256.9865, subdivision 1	142A.13, subdivision 6
339.32	256.9865, subdivision 2	142A.13, subdivision 7
339.33	256.9865, subdivision 3	142A.13, subdivision 8

340.1	256.9865, subdivision 4	142A.13, subdivision 9
340.2	256.987, subdivision 2	142A.13, subdivision 2
340.3	256.987, subdivision 3	142A.13, subdivision 3
340.4	256.987, subdivision 4	142A.13, subdivision 4
340.5	256.9871	142A.13, subdivision 12
340.6	256.9872	142A.13, subdivision 13
340.7	256.997	142A.30
340.8	256.998	142A.29
340.9	256B.06, subdivision 6	142A.40
340.10	256E.20	142A.41
340.11	256E.21	142A.411
340.12	256E.22	142A.412
340.13	256E.24	142A.413
340.14	256E.25	142A.414
340.15	256E.26	142A.415
340.16	256E.27	142A.416
340.17	256E.28	142A.417
340.18	<u>256E.38</u>	<u>142A.42</u>
340.19	256N.001	142A.60
340.20	256N.01	142A.601
340.21	256N.02	142A.602
340.22	256N.20	142A.603
340.23	256N.21	142A.604
340.24	256N.22	142A.605
340.25	256N.23	142A.606
340.26	256N.24	142A.607
340.27	256N.25	142A.608
340.28	256N.26	142A.609
340.29	256N.261	142A.61
340.30	256N.27	142A.611
340.31	256N.28	142A.612
340.32	257.175	142A.03, subdivision 32
340.33	257.33, subdivision 1	142A.03, subdivision 33
340.34	257.33, subdivision 2	142A.03, subdivision 34
340.35	260.014	142A.452
340.36	299A.72	142A.75
340.37	299A.73	142A.43
340.38	299A.95	142A.76

The revisor of statutes must correct any statutory cross-references consistent with this 341.1 renumbering. 341.2

- Sec. 30. Laws 2024, chapter 80, article 2, section 5, subdivision 21, is amended to read:
- Subd. 21. Plan for transfer of clients and records upon closure. (a) Except for license 341.4 holders who reside on the premises and child care providers, an applicant for initial or 341.5 continuing licensure or certification must submit a written plan indicating how the program 341.6 341.7 or private agency will ensure the transfer of clients and records for both open and closed cases if the program closes. The plan must provide for managing private and confidential 341.8 information concerning the clients of the program elients or private agency. The plan must 341.9 also provide for notifying affected clients of the closure at least 25 days prior to closure, 341.10 including information on how to access their records. A controlling individual of the program 341.11 or private agency must annually review and sign the plan. 341.12
 - (b) Plans for the transfer of open cases and case records must specify arrangements the program or private agency will make to transfer clients to another provider or county agency for continuation of services and to transfer the case record with the client.
- 341.16 (c) Plans for the transfer of closed case records must be accompanied by a signed agreement or other documentation indicating that a county or a similarly licensed provider 341.17 has agreed to accept and maintain the program's or private agency's closed case records and 341.18 to provide follow-up services as necessary to affected clients. 341.19
- Sec. 31. Laws 2024, chapter 80, article 2, section 7, subdivision 2, is amended to read: 341.20
- Subd. 2. County fees for applications and licensing inspections. (a) A county agency 341.21 may charge a license fee to an applicant or license holder not to exceed \$50 for a one-year 341.22 license or \$100 for a two-year license. 341.23
- (b) Counties may allow providers to pay the applicant fee in paragraph (a) on an installment basis for up to one year. If the provider is receiving child care assistance payments 341.25 from the state, the provider may have the fee under paragraph (a) deducted from the child 341.26 care assistance payments for up to one year and the state shall reimburse the county for the 341.27 county fees collected in this manner. 341.28
- 341.29 (c) For purposes of child foster care licensing under this chapter, a county agency may charge a fee to a corporate applicant or corporate license holder to recover the actual cost 341.30 of licensing inspections, not to exceed \$500 annually. 341.31

341.3

341.13

341.14

341.15

(d) Counties may elect to reduce or waive the fees in paragraph (c) under the following

342.2 circumstances: (1) in cases of financial hardship; 342.3 (2) if the county has a shortage of providers in the county's area; or 342.4 (3) for new providers. 342.5 Sec. 32. Laws 2024, chapter 80, article 2, section 10, subdivision 6, is amended to read: 342.6 Subd. 6. Appeal of multiple sanctions. (a) When the license holder appeals more than 342.7 one licensing action or sanction that were simultaneously issued by the commissioner, the 342.8 license holder shall specify the actions or sanctions that are being appealed. 342.9 342.10 (b) If there are different timelines prescribed in statutes for the licensing actions or sanctions being appealed, the license holder must submit the appeal within the longest of 342.11 those timelines specified in statutes. 342.12 (c) The appeal must be made in writing by certified mail or, by personal service, or 342.13 through the provider licensing and reporting hub. If mailed, the appeal must be postmarked 342.14 342.15 and sent to the commissioner within the prescribed timeline with the first day beginning the day after the license holder receives the certified letter. If a request is made by personal 342.16 service, it must be received by the commissioner within the prescribed timeline with the 342.17 first day beginning the day after the license holder receives the certified letter. If the appeal 342.18 is made through the provider hub, the appeal must be received by the commissioner within 342.19 the prescribed timeline with the first day beginning the day after the commissioner issued 342.20 the order through the hub. 342.21 342.22 (d) When there are different timelines prescribed in statutes for the appeal of licensing actions or sanctions simultaneously issued by the commissioner, the commissioner shall 342.23 specify in the notice to the license holder the timeline for appeal as specified under paragraph 342.25 (b). Sec. 33. Laws 2024, chapter 80, article 2, section 16, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 342.26 Subdivision 1. Delegation of authority to agencies. (a) County agencies and private 342.27 agencies that have been designated or licensed by the commissioner to perform licensing 342.28 functions and activities under section 142B.10 and background studies for family child care 342.29 under chapter 245C; to recommend denial of applicants under section 142B.15; to issue 342.30 correction orders, to issue variances, and to recommend a conditional license under section 342.31 142B.16; or to recommend suspending or revoking a license or issuing a fine under section 342.32

142B.18, shall comply with rules and directives of the commissioner governing those 343.1 functions and with this section. The following variances are excluded from the delegation 343.2 of variance authority and may be issued only by the commissioner: 343.3 (1) dual licensure of family child care and family child foster care, dual licensure of 343.4 343.5 family child foster care and family adult foster care, dual licensure of child foster residence setting and community residential setting, and dual licensure of family adult foster care and 343.6 family child care; 343.7 (2) child foster care maximum age requirement; 343.8 (3) variances regarding disqualified individuals; 343.9 (4) variances to requirements relating to chemical use problems of a license holder or a

- 343.10 household member of a license holder; and 343.11
- (5) variances to section 142B.74 for a time-limited period. If the commissioner grants 343.12 a variance under this clause, the license holder must provide notice of the variance to all 343.13 parents and guardians of the children in care. 343.14
- (b) The commissioners of human services and children, youth, and families must both 343.15 approve a variance for dual licensure of family child foster care and family adult foster care 343.16 or family adult foster care and family child care. Variances under this paragraph are excluded 343.17 from the delegation of variance authority and may be issued only by both commissioners. 343.18
- (c) Except as provided in section 142B.41, subdivision 4, paragraph (e), a county agency 343.19 must not grant a license holder a variance to exceed the maximum allowable family child 343.20 care license capacity of 14 children. 343.21
- (b) (d) A county agency that has been designated by the commissioner to issue family 343.22 child care variances must: 343.23
- (1) publish the county agency's policies and criteria for issuing variances on the county's 343.24 public website and update the policies as necessary; and 343.25
- (2) annually distribute the county agency's policies and criteria for issuing variances to 343.26 all family child care license holders in the county. 343.27
- (e) Before the implementation of NETStudy 2.0, county agencies must report 343.28 information about disqualification reconsiderations under sections 245C.25 and 245C.27, 343.29 subdivision 2, paragraphs (a) and (b), and variances granted under paragraph (a), clause 343.30 (5), to the commissioner at least monthly in a format prescribed by the commissioner. 343.31

(d) (f) For family child care programs, the commissioner shall require a county agency 344.1 to conduct one unannounced licensing review at least annually. 344.2 (e) (g) A license issued under this section may be issued for up to two years. 344.3 (f) (h) A county agency shall report to the commissioner, in a manner prescribed by the 344.4 344.5 commissioner, the following information for a licensed family child care program: (1) the results of each licensing review completed, including the date of the review, and 344.6 344.7 any licensing correction order issued; (2) any death, serious injury, or determination of substantiated maltreatment; and 344.8 (3) any fires that require the service of a fire department within 48 hours of the fire. The 344.9 information under this clause must also be reported to the state fire marshal within two 344.10 business days of receiving notice from a licensed family child care provider. 344 11 Sec. 34. Laws 2024, chapter 80, article 2, section 30, subdivision 2, is amended to read: 344.12 Subd. 2. Maltreatment of minors ongoing training requirement. (a) In addition to 344.13 the orientation training required by the applicable licensing rules and statutes, private 344.15 child-placing agency license holders must provide a training annually on the maltreatment of minors reporting requirements and definitions in chapter 260E to each mandatory reporter, 344.16 as described in section 260E.06, subdivision 1. 344.17 (b) In addition to the orientation training required by the applicable licensing rules and 344.18 statutes, all family child foster care license holders and caregivers and foster residence 344.19 setting staff and volunteers who are mandatory reporters as described in section 260E.06, 344.20 subdivision 1, must complete training each year on the maltreatment of minors reporting 344.21 requirements and definitions in chapter 260E. 344.22 Sec. 35. Laws 2024, chapter 80, article 2, section 31, is amended to read: 344.23 Sec. 31. 142B.80 CHILD FOSTER CARE TRAINING REQUIREMENT; MENTAL 344.24 HEALTH TRAINING; FETAL ALCOHOL SPECTRUM DISORDERS TRAINING. 344.25 Prior to a nonemergency placement of a child in a foster care home, the child foster care 344.26 license holder and caregivers in foster family and treatment foster care settings, and all staff 344.27 providing care in foster residence settings must complete two hours of training that addresses 344.28 the causes, symptoms, and key warning signs of mental health disorders; cultural 344.29 considerations; and effective approaches for dealing with a child's behaviors. At least one 344.30

344.31

hour of the annual training requirement for the foster family license holder and caregivers,

04/24/24 SENATEE LB SS4699R

and foster residence staff must be on children's mental health issues and treatment. Except for providers and services under chapter 245D, the annual training must also include at least one hour of training on fetal alcohol spectrum disorders, which must be counted toward the 12 hours of required in-service training per year. Short-term substitute caregivers are exempt from these requirements. Training curriculum shall be approved by the commissioner of children, youth, and families.

Sec. 36. Laws 2024, chapter 80, article 2, section 74, is amended to read:

Sec. 74. REVISOR INSTRUCTION.

345.1

345.2

345.3

345.4

345.5

345.6

345.7

345.8

The revisor of statutes must renumber sections or subdivisions in column A as column

B.

345.11	Column A	Column B
345.12	245A.02, subdivision 2c	142B.01, subdivision 3
345.13	245A.02, subdivision 6a	142B.01, subdivision 11
345.14	245A.02, subdivision 6b	142B.01, subdivision 12
345.15	245A.02, subdivision 10a	142B.01, subdivision 22
345.16	245A.02, subdivision 12	142B.01, subdivision 23
345.17	245A.02, subdivision 16	142B.01, subdivision 26
345.18	245A.02, subdivision 17	142B.01, subdivision 27
345.19	245A.02, subdivision 18	142B.01, subdivision 28
345.20	245A.02, subdivision 19	142B.01, subdivision 13
345.21	245A.03, subdivision 2a	142B.05, subdivision 3
345.22	245A.03, subdivision 2b	142B.05, subdivision 4
345.23	245A.03, subdivision 4	142B.05, subdivision 6
345.24	245A.03, subdivision 4a	142B.05, subdivision 7
345.25	245A.03, subdivision 8	142B.05, subdivision 10
345.26	245A.035	142B.06
345.27	245A.04, subdivision 9a	142B.10, subdivision 17
345.28	245A.04, subdivision 10	142B.10, subdivision 18
345.29	245A.06, subdivision 8	142B.16, subdivision 5
345.30	245A.06, subdivision 9	142B.16, subdivision 6
345.31	245A.065	142B.17
345.32	245A.07, subdivision 4	142B.18, subdivision 6
345.33	245A.07, subdivision 5	142B.18, subdivision 7
345.34	245A.14, subdivision 3	142B.41, subdivision 3
345.35	245A.14, subdivision 4	142B.41, subdivision 4

346.1	245A.14, subdivision 4a	142B.41, subdivision 5
346.2	245A.14, subdivision 6	142B.41, subdivision 6
346.3	245A.14, subdivision 8	142B.41, subdivision 7
346.4	245A.14, subdivision 10	142B.41, subdivision 8
346.5	245A.14, subdivision 11	142B.41, subdivision 9
346.6	245A.14, subdivision 15	142B.41, subdivision 11
346.7	245A.14, subdivision 16	142B.41, subdivision 12
346.8	245A.14, subdivision 17	142B.41, subdivision 13
346.9	245A.1434	142B.60
346.10	245A.144	142B.47
346.11	245A.1445	142B.48
346.12	245A.145	142B.61
346.13	245A.146, subdivision 2	142B.45, subdivision 2
346.14	245A.146, subdivision 3	142B.45, subdivision 3
346.15	245A.146, subdivision 4	142B.45, subdivision 4
346.16	245A.146, subdivision 5	142B.45, subdivision 5
346.17	245A.146, subdivision 6	142B.45, subdivision 6
346.18	245A.147	142B.75
346.19	245A.148	142B.76
346.20	245A.149	142B.77
346.21	245A.15	142B.78
346.22	245A.1511	142B.79
346.23	245A.152	142B.62
346.24	245A.16, subdivision 7	142B.30, subdivision 7
346.25	245A.16, subdivision 9	142B.30, subdivision 9
346.26	245A.16, subdivision 11	142B.30, subdivision 11
346.27	245A.23	142B.63
346.28	245A.40	142B.65
346.29	245A.41	142B.66
346.30	245A.42	142B.67
346.31	245A.50	142B.70
346.32	245A.51	142B.71
346.33	245A.52	142B.72
346.34	245A.53	142B.74
346.35	245A.66, subdivision 2	142B.54, subdivision 2
346.36	245A.66, subdivision 3	142B.54, subdivision 3

04/24/24 SENATEE LB SS4699R

The revisor of statutes must correct any statutory cross-references consistent with this renumbering.

Sec. 37. Laws 2024, chapter 80, article 4, section 26, is amended to read:

Sec. 26. **REVISOR INSTRUCTION.**

347.4

347.5

347.6

347.7

347.8

347.9

(a) The revisor of statutes shall renumber each section of Minnesota Statutes listed in column A with the number listed in column B. The revisor shall also make necessary cross-reference changes consistent with the renumbering. The revisor shall also make any technical, language, and other changes necessitated by the renumbering and cross-reference changes in this act.

347.10	Column A	Column B
347.11	119A.50	142D.12
347.12	119A.52	142D.121
347.13	119A.53	142D.122
347.14	119A.535	142D.123
347.15	119A.5411	142D.124
347.16	119A.545	142D.125
347.17	119B.195	142D.30
347.18	119B.196	142D.24
347.19	119B.25	142D.20
347.20	119B.251	142D.31
347.21	119B.252	142D.32
347.22	119B.27	142D.21
347.23	119B.28	142D.22
347.24	119B.29	142D.23
347.25	121A.16	142D.09
347.26	121A.17	142D.091
347.27	121A.18	142D.092
347.28	121A.19	142D.093
347.29	122A.731	142D.33
347.30	124D.13	142D.10
347.31	124D.135	142D.11
347.32	124D.141	142D.16
347.33	124D.142	142D.13
347.34	124D.15	142D.05
347.35	124D.151	142D.08

04/24/24	SENATEE	LB	SS4699R

348.1	124D.16	142D.06
348.2	124D.165	142D.25
348.3	124D.2211	142D.14
348.4	124D.23	142D.15

- (b) The revisor of statutes shall codify Laws 2017, First Special Session chapter 5, article 348.5 8, section 9, as amended by article 4, section 25, as Minnesota Statutes, section 142D.07. 348.6
- (c) The revisor of statutes shall change "commissioner of education" to "commissioner 348.7 348.8 of children, youth, and families" and change "Department of Education" to "Department of Children, Youth, and Families" as necessary in Minnesota Statutes, chapters 119A and 120 348.9 to 129C, to reflect the changes in this act and Laws 2023, chapter 70, article 12. The revisor 348.10 shall also make any technical, language, and other changes resulting from the change of 348.11 term to the statutory language, sentence structure, or both, if necessary to preserve the 348.13 meaning of the text.
- Sec. 38. Laws 2024, chapter 80, article 6, section 4, is amended to read: 348.14

Sec. 4. REVISOR INSTRUCTION. 348.15

(a) The revisor of statutes must renumber each section of Minnesota Statutes in Column 348.16 A with the number in Column B. 348.17

348.18	Column A	Column B
348.19	245.771	142F.05
348.20	256D.60	142F.10
348.21	256D.61	142F.11
348.22	256D.62	142F.101
348.23	256D.63	142F.102
348.24	256D.64	142F.13
348.25	256D.65	142F.12
348.26	256E.30	142F.30
348.27	256E.31	142F.301
348.28	256E.32	142F.302
348.29	<u>256E.33</u>	142F.51
348.30	256E.34	142F.14
348.31	256E.342	142F.15
348.32	256E.35	142F.20
348.33	<u>256E.36</u>	142F.52
348.34	<u>256K.45</u>	142F.55

04/24/24	SENATEE	LB	SS4699R
----------	---------	----	---------

	04/24/24	SENATEE	LB	SS4699R
349.1	<u>256K.451</u>	142F.56		
349.2	<u>256K.46</u>	142F.57		
349.3	<u>256K.47</u>	142F.58		
349.4	(b) The revisor of statutes must corre	ect any statutory cro	ss-references co	nsistent with
349.5	this renumbering.			
349.6	Sec. 39. Laws 2024, chapter 80, article	e 7, section 4, is am	ended to read:	
349.7	Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section	on 256J.09, is amen	ded by adding a	subdivision to
349.8	read:			
349.9	Subd. 11. Domestic violence inform	national brochure.	(a) The commiss	sioner shall
349.10	provide a domestic violence information	nal brochure that pro	ovides information	on about the
349.11	existence of domestic violence waivers	to all MFIP applica	nts. The brochur	e must explain
349.12	that eligible applicants may be temporar	ily waived from cer	tain program rec	quirements due
349.13	to domestic violence. The brochure mus	t provide information	on about services	s and other
349.14	programs to help victims of domestic violence.			
349.15	(b) The brochure must be funded with TANF funds.			
349.16	(c) The commissioner must work wi	th the commissione	r of human servi	ces to create a
349.17	brochure that meets the requirements of	this section and sec	etion 256.029.	
349.18	Sec. 40. CHILD FOSTER RESIDEN		O STAY AT TI	<u>1E</u>
349.19	DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVI	CES.		
349.20	The responsibility to license child fo	ster residence settin	gs as defined in	Minnesota
349.21	Statutes, section 245A.02, subdivision 6	e, does not transfer	to the Departme	nt of Children,
349.22	Youth, and Families under Laws 2023, o	hapter 70, article 12	2, section 30, and	d remains with
349.23	the Department of Human Services.			
349.24	Sec. 41. DIRECTION TO THE COM	IMISSIONER OF	CHILDREN, Y	OUTH, AND
349.25	FAMILIES; COORDINATION OF S	ERVICES FOR C	HILDREN WIT	<u>ГН</u>
349.26	DISABILITIES AND MENTAL HEA	LTH.		
349.27	The commissioner shall designate a d	epartment leader to	be responsible fo	or coordination
349.28	of services and outcomes around children	n's mental health ar	nd for children w	ith or at risk
349.29	for disabilities within and between the Γ	Department of Child	ren, Youth, and	Families; the

349.30 Department of Human Services; and related agencies.

350.1	Sec. 42. REPEALER.
350.2	(a) Laws 2024, chapter 80, article 1, sections 38, subdivisions 3, 4, and 11; 39; and 43,
350.3	subdivision 2; Laws 2024, chapter 80, article 2, sections 1, subdivision 11; 3, subdivision
350.4	3; 4, subdivision 4; 10, subdivision 4; 33; and 69; and Laws 2024, chapter 80, article 7,
350.5	sections 3; and 9, are repealed.
350.6	(b) Minnesota Rules, part 9545.0845, is repealed.
350.7	Sec. 43. EFFECTIVE DATE; TRANSFER OF RESPONSIBILITIES.
350.8	(a) This article is effective July 1, 2024.
350.9	(b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), the powers and responsibilities transferred under this
350.10	article are effective upon notice of the commissioner of children, youth, and families to the
350.11	commissioners of administration, management and budget, and other relevant departments
350.12	along with the secretary of the senate, the chief clerk of the house of representatives, and
350.13	the chairs and ranking minority members of relevant legislative committees and divisions,
350.14	pursuant to Laws 2023, chapter 70, article 12, section 30, subdivision 1.
350.15	(c) By August 1, 2025, the commissioners of human services and children, youth, and
350.16	families shall notify the chairs and ranking minority members of relevant legislative
350.17	committees and divisions and the revisor of statutes of any sections of this article or programs
350.18	to be transferred that are waiting for federal approval to become effective pursuant to Laws
350.19	2023, chapter 70, article 12, section 30, subdivision 1, paragraph (b).
350.20	ARTICLE 15
350.21	MINNESOTA INDIAN FAMILY PRESERVATION ACT
350.22	Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 259.20, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
350.23	Subd. 2. Other applicable law. (a) Portions of chapters 245A, 245C, 257, 260, and
350.24	317A may also affect the adoption of a particular child.
350.25	(b) Provisions of the Indian Child Welfare Act, United States Code, title 25, chapter 21,
350.26	sections 1901-1923, may also and the Minnesota Indian Family Preservation Act under
350.27	sections 260.751 to 260.835 apply in the adoption of an Indian child, and may preempt
350.28	specific provisions of this chapter as described in section 259.201.
350.29	(c) Consistent with section 245C.33 and Public Law 109-248, a completed background
350.30	study is required before the approval of any foster or adoptive placement in a related or an

350.31 unrelated home.

Sec. 2. [259.201] COMPLIANCE WITH FEDERAL INDIAN CHILD WELFARE 351.1 ACT AND MINNESOTA INDIAN FAMILY PRESERVATION ACT. 351.2 Adoption proceedings under this chapter that involve an Indian child are child custody 351.3 proceedings governed by the Indian Child Welfare Act, United States Code, title 25, sections 351.4 351.5 1901 to 1963; by the Minnesota Indian Family Preservation Act, sections 260.751 to 260.835; by section 259.20, subdivision 2, paragraph (b); and by this chapter when not inconsistent 351.6 with the federal Indian Child Welfare Act and the Minnesota Indian Family Preservation 351.7 Act. 351.8 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 260.755, subdivision 1a, is amended 351.9 to read: 351.10 351.11 Subd. 1a. Active efforts. (a) "Active efforts" means a rigorous and concerted level of effort to preserve the Indian child's family that is ongoing throughout the involvement of 351.12 the child-placing agency to continuously involve the Indian child's Tribe and that uses the 351.13 or the petitioner with the Indian child. Active efforts require the engagement of the Indian 351.14 child, the Indian child's parents, the Indian custodian, the extended family, and the Tribe in 351.15 using the prevailing social and cultural values, conditions, and way of life of the Indian child's Tribe to: (1) preserve the Indian child's family and; (2) prevent placement of an Indian child and; (3) if placement occurs, to return the Indian child to the Indian child's 351.18 family at the earliest possible time; and (4) where a permanent change in parental rights or 351.19 custody are necessary, ensure the Indian child retains meaningful connections to the Indian 351.20 child's family, extended family, and Tribe. 351.21 (b) Active efforts under section for all Indian child placements includes this section and 351.22 351.23 in section 260.012 to preserve the family, prevent breakup of the family, and reunify the 351.24 351.25

sections 260.012 and 260.762 and require a higher standard than reasonable efforts as defined in section 260.012 to preserve the family, prevent breakup of the family, and reunify the family. Active efforts include reasonable efforts as required by Title IV-E of the Social Security Act, United States Code, title 42, sections 670 to 679e are required for all Indian child placement proceedings and for all voluntary Indian child placements that involve a child-placing agency regardless of whether the reasonable efforts would have been relieved under section 260.012.

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260.755, subdivision 2a, is amended to read:

Subd. 2a. **Best interests of an Indian child.** "Best interests of an Indian child" means compliance with the <u>federal Indian Child Welfare Act and the Minnesota Indian Family</u>

Preservation Act to preserve and maintain an Indian child's family. The best interests of an

351.30

351.31

351.32

Indian child support the Indian child's sense of belonging to family, extended family, and 352.1 Tribe. The best interests of an Indian child are interwoven with the best interests of the 352.2 Indian child's Tribe. 352.3

- Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 260.755, subdivision 3, is amended 352.4 to read: 352.5
- Subd. 3. Child placement proceeding. (a) "Child placement proceeding" includes a 352.6 judicial proceeding which could result in: 352.7
- (1) "adoptive placement," meaning the permanent placement of an Indian child for 352.8 adoption, including an action resulting in a final decree of adoption; 352.9
- (2) "involuntary foster care placement," meaning an action removing an Indian child 352.10 from the child's parents or Indian custodian for temporary placement in a foster home, 352.11 institution, or the home of a guardian. The parent or Indian custodian cannot have the Indian 352.12 child returned upon demand, but parental rights have not been terminated; 352.13
- (3) "preadoptive placement," meaning the temporary placement of an Indian child in a 352.14 foster home or institution after the termination of parental rights, before or instead of adoptive 352.15 placement; or 352.16
- (4) "termination of parental rights," meaning an action resulting in the termination of 352.17 the parent-child relationship under section 260C.301. 352.18
- (b) The term child placement proceeding is a domestic relations proceeding that includes all placements where Indian children are placed out-of-home or away from the care, custody, 352.20 and control of their parent or parents or Indian custodian that do not implicate custody 352.21 between the parents. Child placement proceeding also includes any placement based upon 352.22 juvenile status offenses, but does not include a placement based upon an act which if 352.23 committed by an adult would be deemed a crime, or upon an award of custody in a divorce 352.24 proceeding to one of the parents. 352.25
- 352.26 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 260.755, subdivision 3a, is amended to read: 352.27
- Subd. 3a. Child-placing agency. "Child-placing agency" means a public, private, or 352.28 nonprofit legal entity: (1) providing assistance to a an Indian child and the Indian child's 352.29 parent or parents or Indian custodian; or (2) placing a an Indian child in foster care or for 352.30 adoption on a voluntary or involuntary basis. 352.31

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260.755, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

Subd. 5. **Demand.** "Demand" means a written and notarized statement signed by a parent or Indian custodian of a an Indian child which requests the return of the <u>Indian</u> child who has been voluntarily placed in foster care.

Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 260.755, subdivision 5b, is amended to read:

Subd. 5b. Extended family member. "Extended family member" is as defined by the law or custom of the Indian child's Tribe or, in the absence of any law or custom of the Tribe, is a person who has reached the age of 18 and who is the Indian child's grandparent, aunt or uncle, brother or sister, brother-in-law or sister-in-law, niece or nephew, first or second cousin, or stepparent. For the purposes of provision of active efforts and foster care and permanency placement decisions, the legal parent, guardian, or custodian of the Indian child's sibling is not an extended family member or relative of an Indian child unless they are independently related to the Indian child or recognized by the Indian child's Tribe as an extended family member.

- Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260.755, subdivision 14, is amended to read:
- Subd. 14. **Parent.** "Parent" means the biological parent of an Indian child, or any Indian person who has lawfully adopted an Indian child, including a person who has adopted a an Indian child by Tribal law or custom. Parent includes a father as defined by Tribal law or custom. Parent does not include an unmarried father whose paternity has not been acknowledged or established. Paternity has been acknowledged when an unmarried father takes any action to hold himself out as the biological father of an Indian child.
- Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260.755, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
- Subd. 15a. Petitioner. "Petitioner" means one or more individuals other than a parent or Indian custodian who has filed a petition or motion seeking a grant of temporary or permanent guardianship, custody, or adoption of an Indian child.
- Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260.755, subdivision 17a, is amended to read:
- Subd. 17a. **Qualified expert witness.** "Qualified expert witness" means an individual who (1) has specific knowledge of the Indian child's tribe's culture and customs, or meets the criteria in section 260.771, subdivision 6, paragraph (d), and (2) provides testimony as

353.2

353.3

353.4

353.5

353.6

353.7

353.8

353.9

353.11

353.12

353.13

353.14

required by the Indian Child Welfare Act of 1978, United States Code, title 25, section 354.1 1912, and the Minnesota Indian Family Preservation Act, regarding out-of-home placement 354.2 or termination of parental rights child placement or permanency proceedings relating to an 354.3 Indian child. 354.4 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 260.755, subdivision 20, is amended 354.5 to read: 354.6 354.7 Subd. 20. **Tribal court.** "Tribal court" means a court with jurisdiction over child custody proceedings and which is either a court of Indian offenses, or a court established and operated 354.8 under the code or custom of an Indian Tribe, or any other administrative body of a Tribe 354.9 which is vested with authority over child custody proceedings. 354.10 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260.755, is amended by adding a subdivision 354.11 to read: 354.12 Subd. 20a. Tribal representative. "Tribal representative" means a representative 354.13 designated by and acting on behalf of a Tribe in connection with an Indian child placement 354.14 proceeding as defined in subdivision 3. It is not required that the designated representative 354.15 be an attorney to represent the Tribe in these matters. An individual appearing as a Tribal 354.16 354.17 representative on behalf of a Tribe and participating in a court proceeding under this chapter is not engaged in the unauthorized practice of law. 354.18 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 260.755, subdivision 22, is amended 354.19 354.20 to read: Subd. 22. Voluntary foster care placement. "Voluntary foster care placement" means 354.21 a decision in which there has been participation by a child-placing agency resulting in the 354.22 temporary placement of an Indian child away from the home of the Indian child's parents 354.23 or Indian custodian in a foster home, institution, or the home of a guardian, and the parent 354.24 or Indian custodian may have the Indian child returned upon demand. 354.25 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 260.758, subdivision 2, is amended 354.26 354.27 to read: Subd. 2. Temporary emergency jurisdiction of state courts. (a) The child-placing 354.28 agency, petitioner, or court shall ensure that the emergency removal or placement terminates 354.29 immediately when removal or placement is no longer necessary to prevent imminent physical 354.30

354.31

damage or harm to the Indian child. The child-placing agency, petitioner, or court shall

expeditiously initiate a child placement proceeding subject to the provisions of sections 260.751 to 260.835, transfer the <u>Indian</u> child to the jurisdiction of the appropriate Indian Tribe, or return the Indian child to the Indian child's parent or Indian custodian as may be appropriate.

- (b) If the Indian child is a resident of or is domiciled on a reservation but temporarily located off the reservation, a court of this state has only temporary emergency jurisdiction until the Indian child is transferred to the jurisdiction of the appropriate Indian Tribe unless the Indian child's Tribe has expressly declined to exercise its jurisdiction, or the Indian child is returned to the Indian child's parent or Indian custodian.
- Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 260.758, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
- Subd. 4. **Emergency proceeding requirements.** (a) The court shall hold a hearing no later than 72 hours, excluding weekends and holidays, after the emergency removal of the Indian child. The court shall determine whether the emergency removal continues to be necessary to prevent imminent physical damage or harm to the Indian child.
- (b) The court shall hold additional hearings whenever new information indicates that
 the emergency situation has ended and <u>must determine</u> at any court hearing during the
 emergency proceeding to determine whether the emergency removal or placement is no
 longer necessary to prevent imminent physical damage or harm to the Indian child.
- Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 260.758, subdivision 5, is amended to read:
- Subd. 5. **Termination of emergency removal or placement.** (a) An emergency removal or placement of an Indian child must immediately terminate once the child-placing agency or court possesses sufficient evidence to determine that the emergency removal or placement is no longer necessary to prevent imminent physical damage or harm to the Indian child and the Indian child shall be immediately returned to the custody of the Indian child's parent or Indian custodian.
 - (b) An emergency removal or placement ends when the Indian child is transferred to the jurisdiction of the Indian child's Tribe, or when the court orders, after service upon the Indian child's parents, Indian custodian, and Indian child's Tribe, that placement of the Indian child shall be placed in foster care upon a determination supported by clear and convincing evidence, including testimony by a qualified expert witness, that custody of the

355.28

355.29

355.30

355.31

355.1

355.2

355.3

355.4

355.5

355.6

355.7

355.8

Indian child by the Indian child's parent or Indian custodian is likely to result in serious emotional or physical damage to the Indian child.

(c) In no instance shall emergency removal or emergency placement of an Indian child extend beyond 30 days unless the court finds by a showing of clear and convincing evidence that: (1) continued emergency removal or placement is necessary to prevent imminent physical damage or harm to the Indian child; (2) the court has been unable to transfer the proceeding to the jurisdiction of the Indian child's Tribal court; and (3) it has not been possible to initiate a child placement proceeding with all of the protections under sections 260.751 to 260.835, including obtaining the testimony of a qualified expert witness.

Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 260.761, is amended to read:

260.761 INQUIRY OF TRIBAL LINEAGE; NOTICE TO TRIBES, PARENTS, AND INDIAN CUSTODIANS; ACCESS TO FILES.

Subdivision 1. **Inquiry of Tribal lineage.** (a) The child-placing agency or individual petitioner shall inquire of the child, the child's parents and custodians, and other appropriate persons whether there is any reason to believe that a child brought to the agency's attention may have lineage to an Indian Tribe. This inquiry shall occur at the time the child comes to the attention of the child-placing agency or individual petitioner and shall continue throughout the involvement of the child-placing agency or individual petitioner.

- (b) In any child placement proceeding, the court shall inquire of the child, the child's parents, custodian, and any person participating in the proceedings whether the child has any American Indian heritage or lineage to an Indian Tribe. The inquiry shall be made at the commencement of the proceeding and all responses must be on the record. The court must instruct the parties to inform the court if they subsequently receive information that provides reason to believe the child is an Indian child.
- (c) If there is reason to believe the child is an Indian child, but the court does not have sufficient evidence to determine whether the child is an Indian child, the court shall:
- (1) confirm with a report, declaration, or testimony in the record that the child-placing agency or petitioner used due diligence to identify and work with all of the Tribes for which there is reason to believe the child may be a member of or eligible for membership to verify whether the child is an Indian child; and
- 356.31 (2) proceed with the case as if the child is an Indian child until it is determined on the record that the child does not meet the definition of Indian child.

356.1

356.2

356.3

356.4

356.5

356.6

356.7

356.8

356.9

356.10

356.11

356.12

356.13

356.14

356.15

356.16

356.17

356.18

356.19

356.20

356.21

356.22

356.23

356.24

356.25

Subd. 2. Notice to Tribes of services or court proceedings involving an Indian **child.** (a) When a child-placing agency or petitioner has information that a family assessment, investigation, or noncaregiver sex trafficking assessment being conducted may involve an Indian child, the child-placing agency or petitioner shall notify the Indian child's Tribe of the family assessment, investigation, or noncaregiver sex trafficking assessment according to section 260E.18. The child-placing agency or petitioner shall provide initial notice by telephone and by email or facsimile and shall include the child's full name and date of birth; the full names and dates of birth of the child's biological parents; and if known the full names and dates of birth of the child's grandparents and of the child's Indian custodian. If information regarding the child's grandparents or Indian custodian is not immediately available, the child-placing agency or petitioner shall continue to request this information and shall notify the Tribe when it is received. Notice shall be provided to all Tribes to which the child may have any Tribal lineage. The child-placing agency or petitioner shall request that the Tribe or a designated Tribal representative participate in evaluating the family circumstances, identifying family and Tribal community resources, and developing case plans. The child-placing agency or petitioner shall continue to include the Tribe in service planning and updates as to the progress of the case.

- (b) When a child-placing agency or petitioner has information that a child receiving services may be an Indian child, the child-placing agency or petitioner shall notify the Tribe by telephone and by email or facsimile of the child's full name and date of birth, the full names and dates of birth of the child's biological parents, and, if known, the full names and dates of birth of the child's grandparents and of the child's Indian custodian. This notification must be provided for the Tribe to determine if the child is a member or eligible for Tribal membership, and the child-placing agency or petitioner must provide this notification to the Tribe within seven days of receiving information that the child may be an Indian child. If information regarding the child's grandparents or Indian custodian is not available within the seven-day period, the child-placing agency or petitioner shall continue to request this information and shall notify the Tribe when it is received. Notice shall be provided to all Tribes to which the child may have any Tribal lineage.
- (c) In all child placement proceedings, when a court has reason to believe that a child placed in emergency protective care is an Indian child, the court administrator or a designee shall, as soon as possible and before a hearing takes place, notify the Tribal social services agency by telephone and by email or facsimile of the date, time, and location of the emergency protective care or other initial hearing. The court shall make efforts to allow appearances by telephone or video conference for Tribal representatives, parents, and Indian

357.1

357.2

357.3

357.4

357.5

357.6

357.7

357.8

357.9

357.10

357.11

357.12

357.13

357.14

357.15

357.16

357.17

357.18

357.20

357.21

357.22

357.23

357.24

357.25

357.26

357.27

357.28

357.29

357.30

357.31

357.32

357.33

357.34

eustodians allow appearances by telephone, video conference, or other electronic medium for Tribal representatives, the Indian child's parents, or the Indian custodian.

- (d) In all child placement proceedings, except for adoptive or preadoptive placement proceedings, when a court has reason to believe the child is an Indian child, the child-placing agency or individual petitioner shall effect service of any petition governed by sections 260.751 to 260.835 provide notice of the proceedings and a copy of any petition to the Indian child's parents, Indian custodian, and the Indian child's Tribe and shall effect service of any notice and petition governed by sections 260.751 to 260.835 upon the parent, Indian custodian, and the Indian child's Tribe by certified mail or registered mail, return receipt requested upon the Indian child's parents, Indian custodian, and Indian child's Tribe at least 10 days before the admit deny hearing is held. If the identity or location of the Indian child's parents or Indian custodian and or Tribe cannot be determined, the child-placing agency or petitioner shall provide the notice required in this paragraph to the United States Secretary of the Interior, Bureau of Indian Affairs by certified or registered mail, return receipt requested. Where service is only accomplished through the United States Secretary of the Interior, Bureau of Indian Affairs, the initial hearing shall not be held until 20 days after notice upon the Tribe or the Secretary of the Interior.
- 358.18 (e) Notice under this subdivision must be in clear and understandable language and include the following:
- 358.20 (1) the child's name, date of birth, and birth place;
- (2) all names known for the parents and Indian custodian, including maiden, married, former names, and aliases, correctly spelled;
- 358.23 (3) the dates of birth, birth place, and Tribal enrollment numbers of the Indian child, the
 358.24 Indian child's parents, and the Indian custodian, if known;
- (4) the full names, dates of birth, birth places, and Tribal enrollment or affiliation
 information of direct lineal ancestors of the child, other extended family members, and
 custodians of the child, if known;
- 358.28 (5) the name of any and all Indian Tribes in which the child is or may be a member or 358.29 eligible for membership in; and
- 358.30 (6) statements setting out:

358.1

358.2

358.3

358.4

358.5

358.6

358.7

358.8

358.9

358.10

358.11

358.13

358.14

358.15

358.16

- (i) the name of the petitioner and name and address of the petitioner's attorney;
- (ii) the right of any parent or Indian custodian of the Indian child, to intervene in the child placement proceedings, if not already a party;

359.1	(iii) the right of the Indian child's Tribe to intervene in the proceedings at any time;
359.2	(iv) the right of the Indian child, the Indian child's parent, and the Indian custodian to
359.3	court-appointed counsel if they meet the requirements in section 611.17;
359.4	(v) the right to be granted, upon request, up to 20 additional days to prepare for the
359.5	child-placement proceedings;
359.6	(vi) the right of the Indian child's parent, the Indian custodian, and the Indian child's
359.7	Tribe to petition the court for transfer of the proceedings to Tribal court;
359.8	(vii) the mailing addresses and telephone numbers of the court and information related
359.9	to all parental and custodial rights of the parent or Indian custodian; and
359.10	(viii) that all parties must maintain confidentiality of all information contained in the
359.11	notice and must not provide the information to anyone other than their attorney.
359.12	(e) (f) A Tribe, the Indian child's parents, or the Indian custodian may request up to 20
359.13	additional days to prepare for the admit-deny initial hearing. The court shall allow
359.14	appearances by telephone, video conference, or other electronic medium for Tribal
359.15	representatives, the Indian child's parents, or the Indian custodian.
359.16	(f) (g) A child-placing agency or individual petitioner must provide the notices required
359.17	under this subdivision at the earliest possible time to facilitate involvement of the Indian
359.18	child's Tribe. Nothing in this subdivision is intended to hinder the ability of the child-placing
359.19	agency, individual petitioner, and the court to respond to an emergency situation. Lack of
359.20	participation by a Tribe shall not prevent the Tribe from intervening in services and
359.21	proceedings at a later date. A Tribe may participate in a case at any time. At any stage of
359.22	the child-placing agency's agency or petitioner's involvement with an Indian child, the
359.23	child-placing agency or petitioner shall provide full cooperation to the Tribal social services
359.24	agency, including disclosure of all data concerning the Indian child. Nothing in this
359.25	subdivision relieves the child-placing agency or petitioner of satisfying the notice
359.26	requirements in state or federal law.
359.27	(h) The court shall allow appearances by telephone, video conference, or other electronic
359.28	means for Tribal representatives at all hearings and trials. The court shall allow appearances
359.29	by telephone, video conference, or other electronic means for the Indian child's parents or
359.30	Indian custodian for all hearings, except that the court may require an in-person appearance
359.31	for trials or other evidentiary or contested hearings.
359.32	Subd. 3. Notice of potential preadoptive or adoptive placement. In any adoptive or

359.33 preadoptive placement proceeding, including voluntary proceedings, where any party or

participant has reason to believe that a child who is the subject of an adoptive or preadoptive placement proceeding is or may be an "Indian child," as defined in section 260.755, subdivision 8, and United States Code, title 25, section 1903(4), the child-placing agency or individual petitioner shall notify the Indian child's Tribe by registered mail or certified mail with return receipt requested of the pending proceeding and of the right of intervention under subdivision 6. If the identity or location of the Indian child's Tribe cannot be determined, the notice must be given to the United States Secretary of Interior in like manner. No preadoptive or adoptive placement proceeding may be held until at least 20 days after receipt of the notice by the Tribe or the secretary. Upon request, the Tribe must be granted up to 20 additional days to prepare for the proceeding. The child-placing agency or individual petitioner shall include in the notice the identity of the birth parents and Indian child absent written objection by the birth parents. The child-placing agency or petitioner shall inform the birth parents of the Indian child of any services available to the Indian child through the child's Tribal social services agency, including child placement services, and shall additionally provide the birth parents of the Indian child with all information sent from the Tribal social services agency in response to the notice.

Subd. 4. **Unknown father.** If the child-placing agency, individual petitioner, the court, or any party has reason to believe that a child who is the subject of a child placement proceeding is or may be an Indian child but the father of the child is unknown and has not registered with the fathers' adoption registry pursuant to section 259.52, the child-placing agency or individual petitioner shall provide to the Tribe believed to be the Indian child's Tribe information sufficient to enable the Tribe to determine the child's eligibility for membership in the Tribe, including, but not limited to, the legal and maiden name of the birth mother, her date of birth, the names and dates of birth of her parents and grandparents, and, if available, information pertaining to the possible identity, Tribal affiliation, or location of the birth father. If the identity or location of the Indian child's Tribe cannot be determined, the notice must be given to the United States Secretary of Interior in like manner.

Subd. 5. **Proof of service of notice upon Tribe or secretary.** In cases where a child-placing agency or party to an adoptive placement knows or has reason to believe that a child is or may be an Indian child, proof of service upon the <u>Indian</u> child's Tribe or the secretary of interior must be filed with the adoption petition.

Subd. 6. **Indian Tribe's right of intervention.** In any child placement proceeding under sections 260.751 to 260.835, the Indian child's Tribe shall have a right to intervene at any point in the proceeding.

360.1

360.2

360.3

360.4

360.5

360.6

360.7

360.8

360.9

360.10

360.11

360.12

360.13

360.14

360.15

360.16

360.17

360.18

360.19

360.20

360.21

360.22

360.23

360.24

360.26

360.27

360.28

360.29

360.30

Subd. 6a. Indian Tribe's access to files. At any stage of the child-placing agency's 361.1 agency or petitioner's involvement with an Indian child, the child-placing agency or petitioner 361.2 shall, upon request, give the Tribal social services agency full cooperation including access 361.3 to all files concerning the Indian child. If the files contain confidential or private data, the 361.4 child-placing agency or petitioner may require execution of an agreement with the Tribal 361.5 social services agency to maintain the data according to statutory provisions applicable to 361.6 the data. 361.7 Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 260.762, is amended to read: 361.8 260.762 DUTY TO PREVENT OUT-OF-HOME CHILD PLACEMENT, 361.9 PRESERVE THE CHILD'S FAMILY, AND PROMOTE FAMILY REUNIFICATION; 361.10 361.11 **ACTIVE EFFORTS.** Subdivision 1. Active efforts. Active efforts includes acknowledging traditional helping 361.12 and healing systems of an Indian child's Tribe and using these systems as the core to help 361.13 and heal the Indian child and family regardless of whether the Indian child's Tribe has intervened in the proceedings. Active efforts are not required to prevent voluntary 361.15 out-of-home placement and to effect voluntary permanency for the Indian child. 361.16 Subd. 2. Requirements for child-placing agencies and individual petitioners. A 361.17 child-placing agency or individual petitioner shall: 361.18 (1) work with the Indian child's Tribe and family to develop an alternative plan to 361.19 out-of-home placement; 361.20 (2) before making a decision that may affect an Indian child's safety and well-being or 361.21 when contemplating out-of-home placement of an Indian child, seek guidance from the 361.22 Indian child's Tribe on family structure, how the family can seek help, what family and 361.23 Tribal resources are available, and what barriers the family faces at that time that could 361.24 threaten its preservation; and 361.25 (3) request participation of the Indian child's Tribe at the earliest possible time and 361.26 361.27 request the Tribe's active participation throughout the case. Subd. 2a. Required findings that active efforts were provided. (a) A court shall not 361.28 order a child placement, termination of parental rights, guardianship to the commissioner 361.29 of human services under section 260C.325, or temporary or permanent change in custody 361.30 of an Indian child unless the court finds that the child-placing agency or petitioner 361.31 demonstrated that active efforts were made to preserve the Indian child's family. Active 361.32 efforts to preserve the Indian child's family include efforts to prevent placement of the Indian 361.33

child to correct the conditions that led to the placement by ensuring remedial services and 362.1 rehabilitative programs designed to prevent the breakup of the family were provided in a 362.2 362.3 manner consistent with the prevailing social and cultural conditions of the Indian child's Tribe and in partnership with the Indian child, the Indian child's parents, the Indian custodian, 362.4 extended family members, and Tribe, and that these efforts have proved unsuccessful. 362.5 362.6 (b) The court, in determining whether active efforts were made to preserve the Indian child's family for purposes of child placement or permanency, shall ensure the provision of 362.7 active efforts designed to correct the conditions that led to the placement of the Indian child 362.8 and shall make findings regarding whether the following activities were appropriate and 362.9 necessary, and whether the child-placing agency or petitioner ensured appropriate and 362.10 meaningful services were available based upon the family's specific needs, whether listed 362.11 in this paragraph or not: (1) whether active efforts were made at the earliest point possible to inquire into the 362.13 child's heritage, to identify any federally recognized Indian Tribe the child may be affiliated 362.14 with, to notify all potential Tribes at the earliest point possible, and to request participation 362.15 of the Indian child's Tribe; 362.16 (2) whether a Tribally designated representative with substantial knowledge of the 362.17 prevailing social and cultural standards and child-rearing practices within the Tribal 362.18 community was provided an opportunity to consult with and be involved in any investigations 362.19 or assessments of the family's circumstances, participate in identifying the family's needs, 362.20 and participate in development of any plan to keep the Indian child safely in the home, 362.21 identify services designed to prevent the breakup of the Indian child's family, and to reunify 362.22 the Indian child's family as soon as safety can be assured if out-of-home placement has 362.23 occurred; 362.24 362.25 (3) whether the Tribal representative was provided with all information available regarding the proceeding, and whether it was requested that the Tribal representative assist 362.26 in identifying services designed to prevent the breakup of the Indian child's family and to 362.27 reunify the Indian child's family as soon as safety can be assured if out-of-home placement 362.28 has occurred; 362.29 (4) whether, before making a decision that may affect an Indian child's safety and 362.30 well-being or when contemplating placement of an Indian child, guidance from the Indian 362.31 child's Tribe was sought regarding family structure, how the family can seek help, what 362.32 family and Tribal resources are available, and what barriers the family faces that could 362.33 threaten the family's preservation; 362.34

(5) whether a Tribal representative was consulted to determine and arrange for visitation

in the most natural setting that ensures the Indian child's safety, when the Indian child's 363.2 363.3 safety requires supervised visitation; (6) whether early and ongoing efforts occurred to identify, locate, and include extended 363.4 363.5 family members as supports for the Indian child and the Indian child's family; (7) whether continued active efforts were made to identify and place the Indian child in 363.6 a home that is compliant with the placement preferences in sections 260.751 to 260.835, 363.7 including whether extended family members were consulted to provide support to the Indian 363.8 child and Indian child's parents; to inform the child-placing agency, petitioner, and court 363.9 as to cultural connections and family structure; to assist in identifying appropriate cultural 363.10 services and supports for the Indian child and Indian child's parents; and to identify and 363.11 serve as placement and permanency resources for the Indian child. If there was difficulty 363.12 contacting or engaging extended family members, whether assistance was sought from the 363.13 Tribe, the Department of Human Services, or other agencies with expertise in working with 363.14 Indian families; 363.15 (8) whether services and resources were provided to extended family members who are 363.16 considered the primary placement option for an Indian child, as agreed upon by the 363.17 child-placing agency or petitioner and the Tribe, to overcome licensing and other barriers 363.18 to providing care to an Indian child. The need for services or resources shall not be a basis 363.19 to exclude an extended family member from consideration as a primary placement. Services 363.20 and resources include but are not limited to child care assistance, financial assistance, 363.21 housing resources, emergency resources, and foster care licensing assistance and resources; 363.22 (9) whether concrete services and access to both Tribal and non-Tribal services were 363.23 provided to the Indian child's parents and Indian custodian and, where necessary, members 363.24 of the Indian child's extended family members who provide support to the Indian child and 363.25 363.26 the Indian child's parents; and whether these services were provided in an ongoing manner throughout the child-placing agency or petitioner's involvement with the Indian family to 363.27 directly assist the Indian family in accessing and utilizing services to maintain the Indian 363.28 family, or to reunify the Indian family as soon as safety can be assured if out-of-home 363.29 363.30 placement has occurred. Services include but are not limited to financial assistance, food, housing, health care, transportation, in-home services, community support services, and 363.31 specialized services; and 363.32 (10) whether visitation occurred whenever possible in the home of the Indian child's 363.33 parent, Indian custodian, or extended family member or in another noninstitutional setting

in order to keep the Indian child in close contact with the Indian child's parents, siblings, and other relatives regardless of the Indian child's age and to allow the Indian child and those with whom the Indian child visits to have natural, unsupervised interaction when consistent with protecting the child's safety.

Subd. 2b. Adoptions. For adoptions under chapter 259, the court may find that active efforts were made to prevent placement of an Indian child or to reunify the Indian child with the Indian child's parents upon a finding that: (1) subdivision 2a, paragraph (b), clauses (1) to (4), were met; (2) the Indian child's parent knowingly and voluntarily consented to placement of the Indian child for adoption on the record as described in section 260.765, subdivision 3a; (3) fraud was not present, and the Indian child's parent was not under duress; (4) the Indian child's parent was offered and declined services that would enable the Indian child's parent to maintain custody of the Indian child; and (5) the Indian child's parent was counseled on alternatives to adoption, and adoption contact agreements.

Subd. 3. Required findings that active efforts were provided. (a) Any party seeking to affect a termination of parental rights, other permanency action, or a placement where custody of an Indian child may be temporarily or permanently transferred to a person or entity who is not the Indian child's parent or Indian custodian, and where the Indian child's parent or Indian custodian cannot have the Indian child returned to their care upon demand, must satisfy the court that active efforts have been made to provide remedial services and rehabilitative programs designed to prevent the breakup of the Indian family and that these efforts have proved unsuccessful.

(b) A court shall not order an out-of-home or permanency placement for an Indian child unless the court finds that the child-placing agency made active efforts to, as required by section 260.012 and this section, provide remedial services and rehabilitative programs designed to prevent the breakup of the Indian child's family, and that these efforts have proved unsuccessful. To the extent possible, active efforts must be provided in a manner consistent with the prevailing social and cultural conditions of the Indian child's Tribe and in partnership with the Indian child, Indian parents, extended family, and Tribe.

(c) Regardless of whether the Indian child's Tribe has intervened in the proceedings, the court, in determining whether the child-placing agency made active efforts to preserve the Indian child's family for purposes of out-of-home placement and permanency, shall ensure the provision of active efforts designed to correct the conditions that led to the out-of-home placement of the Indian child and shall make findings regarding whether the following activities were appropriate and necessary, and whether the child-placing agency made

364.1

364.2

364.3

364.4

364.5

364.6

364.7

364.8

364.9

364.10

364.11

364.12

364.13

364.14

364.15

364.16

364.17

364.18

364 19

364.20

364.21

364.22

364.23

364.24

364.25

364.26

364.28

364.29

364.30

364.31

364.32

appropriate and meaningful services, whether listed in this paragraph or not, available to the family based upon that family's specific needs:

(1) whether the child-placing agency made efforts at the earliest point possible to (i) identify whether a child may be an Indian child as defined in section 260.755, subdivision 8; and (ii) identify and request participation of the Indian child's Tribe at the earliest point possible and throughout the investigation or assessment, case planning, provision of services, and case completion;

(2) whether the child-placing agency requested that a Tribally designated representative with substantial knowledge of prevailing social and cultural standards and child-rearing practices within the Tribal community evaluate the circumstances of the Indian child's family, provided the Tribally designated representative with all information available regarding the case, and requested that the Tribally designated representative assist in developing a case plan that uses Tribal and Indian community resources;

(3) whether the child-placing agency provided concrete services and access to both Tribal and non-Tribal services to members of the Indian child's family, including but not limited to financial assistance, food, housing, health care, transportation, in-home services, community support services, and specialized services; and whether these services are being provided in an ongoing manner throughout the agency's involvement with the family, to directly assist the family in accessing and utilizing services to maintain the Indian family, or reunify the Indian family as soon as safety can be assured if out-of-home placement has occurred;

(4) whether the child-placing agency made early and ongoing efforts to identify, locate, and include extended family members;

(5) whether the child-placing agency notified and consulted with the Indian child's extended family members, as identified by the child, the child's parents, or the Tribe; whether extended family members were consulted to provide support to the child and parents, to inform the child-placing agency and court as to cultural connections and family structure, to assist in identifying appropriate cultural services and supports for the child and parents, and to identify and serve as a placement and permanency resource for the child; and if there was difficulty contacting or engaging with extended family members, whether assistance was sought from the Tribe, the Department of Human Services, or other agencies with expertise in working with Indian families;

(6) whether the child-placing agency provided services and resources to relatives who are considered the primary placement option for an Indian child, as agreed by the

365.1

365.2

365.3

365.4

365.5

365.6

365.7

365.8

365.9

365.10

365.11

365 12

365.13

365.14

365.15

365 16

365.17

365.18

365.19

365.20

365.21

365.22

365.23

365.24

365.25

365.26

365.27

365.28

365.29

365.30

365.31

365.32

365.33

child-placing agency and the Tribe, to overcome barriers to providing care to an Indian child. Services and resources shall include but are not limited to child care assistance, financial assistance, housing resources, emergency resources, and foster care licensing assistance and resources; and

(7) whether the child-placing agency arranged for visitation to occur, whenever possible, in the home of the Indian child's parent, Indian custodian, or other family member or in another noninstitutional setting, in order to keep the child in close contact with parents, siblings, and other relatives regardless of the child's age and to allow the child and those with whom the child visits to have natural, unsupervised interaction when consistent with protecting the child's safety; and whether the child-placing agency consulted with a Tribal representative to determine and arrange for visitation in the most natural setting that ensures the child's safety, when the child's safety requires supervised visitation.

- Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 260.763, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
- Subdivision 1. **Indian Tribe jurisdiction.** (a) An Indian Tribe has exclusive jurisdiction over all child placement proceedings involving an Indian child who resides or is domiciled within the reservation of the Tribe, except where jurisdiction is otherwise vested in the state by existing federal law. The child-placing agencies and the courts shall defer to a Tribal determination of the Tribe's exclusive jurisdiction when an Indian child resides or is domiciled within the reservation of the Tribe.
 - (b) Where an Indian child is a ward of the Tribal court, the Indian Tribe retains exclusive jurisdiction, notwithstanding the residence or domicile of the child unless the Tribe agrees to allow concurrent jurisdiction with the state.
- 366.24 (c) An Indian Tribe and the state of Minnesota share concurrent jurisdiction over a child 366.25 placement proceeding involving an Indian child who resides or is domiciled outside of the 366.26 reservation of the Tribe, or if the Tribe agrees to concurrent jurisdiction.
- Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 260.763, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
- Subd. 4. **Transfer of proceedings.** In any child placement proceeding, <u>upon a motion</u>
 or request by the Indian child's parent, Indian custodian, or Tribe, the court, in the absence
 of good cause to the contrary, shall transfer the proceeding to the jurisdiction of the Tribe
 absent objection by either <u>of the Indian child's parent or the Indian custodian</u>. The <u>petition</u>
 motion or request to transfer may be <u>filed made</u> by the Indian child's parent, the Indian

366.1

366.2

366.3

366.4

366.5

366.6

366.7

366.8

366.9

366.10

366.11

366.21

366.22

motion with the court and serving the motion upon the other parties; or (2) making a request on the record during the hearing, which shall be reflected in the court's findings. A request or motion to transfer made by a Tribal representative of the Indian child's Tribe under this subdivision shall not be considered the unauthorized practice of law. The transfer is subject to declination by the Tribal court of the Tribe.

- Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 260.763, subdivision 5, is amended to read:
- Subd. 5. **Good cause to deny transfer.** (a) Establishing good cause to deny transfer of jurisdiction to a Tribal court is a fact-specific inquiry to be determined on a case-by-case basis. Socioeconomic conditions and the perceived adequacy of Tribal or Bureau of Indian Affairs social services or judicial systems must not be considered in a determination that good cause exists. The party opposed to transfer of jurisdiction to a Tribal court has the burden to prove by clear and convincing evidence that good cause to deny transfer exists. Opposition to a motion to transfer jurisdiction to Tribal court must be in writing and must be served upon all parties.
- (b) Upon a motion or request by an Indian child's parent, Indian custodian, or Tribe, the court may find good cause to deny transfer to Tribal court if shall transfer jurisdiction to a Tribal court unless the court determines that there is good cause to deny transfer based on the following:
 - (1) the Indian child's Tribe does not have a Tribal court or any other administrative body of a Tribe vested with authority over child placement proceedings, as defined in section 260.755, subdivision 3, to which the case can be transferred, and no other Tribal court has been designated by the Indian child's Tribe; or
- 367.25 (2) the evidence necessary to decide the case could not be adequately presented in the Tribal court without undue hardship to the parties or the witnesses and the Tribal court is unable to mitigate the hardship by any means permitted in the Tribal court's rules. Without evidence of undue hardship, travel distance alone is not a basis for denying a transfer.
- Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 260.765, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2. **Notice.** When an Indian child is voluntarily placed in <u>foster care</u> <u>out of the care</u> of the Indian child's parent or Indian custodian, the child-placing agency involved in the decision to place the <u>Indian</u> child shall give notice <u>as described in section 260.761</u> of the

367.1

367.2

367.3

367.4

367.5

367.6

367.21

367.22

367.23

placement to the <u>Indian</u> child's parent, parents, Indian custodian, and the Tribal social services agency within seven days of placement, excluding weekends and holidays.

If a child-placing agency makes a temporary voluntary foster care placement pending a decision on adoption by a an Indian child's parent or Indian custodian, notice of the placement shall be given to the Indian child's parents, Tribal social services agency, and the Indian custodian upon the filing of a petition for termination of parental rights or three months following the temporary placement, whichever occurs first.

Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 260.765, subdivision 3a, is amended to read:

Subd. 3a. Court requirements for consent. Where any parent or Indian custodian voluntarily consents to a foster care child placement or to termination of parental rights or adoption, the consent shall not be valid unless executed in writing and recorded before a judge and accompanied by the presiding judge's finding that the terms and consequences of the consent were fully explained in detail and were fully understood by the parent or Indian custodian. The court shall also find that either the parent or Indian custodian fully understood the explanation in English or that it was interpreted into a language the parent or Indian custodian understood. Any consent given prior to, or within ten days after, the birth of an Indian child shall not be valid.

Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 260.765, subdivision 4b, is amended to read:

Subd. 4b. Collateral attack; vacation of decree and return of custody;

limitations. After the entry of a final decree of adoption of an Indian child in any state court, the <u>Indian child's</u> parent may withdraw consent upon the grounds that consent was obtained through fraud or duress and may petition the court to vacate the decree. Upon a finding that consent was obtained through fraud or duress, the court shall vacate the decree and return the <u>Indian child</u> to the <u>Indian child's</u> parent. No adoption that has been effective for at least two years may be invalidated under the provisions of this subdivision unless otherwise permitted under a provision of state law.

Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 260.771, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:

Subd. 1a. **Active efforts.** In any child placement proceeding, the child-placing agency or individual petitioner shall ensure that appropriate active efforts as described in section

368.1

368.2

368.3

368.4

368.5

368.6

368.7

368.10

368.11

368.12

368.13

368.14

368.15

368.17

368.18

368.21

368.22

368.23

368.24

368.25

368.26

368.27

260.762 are provided to the Indian child's parent or parents, Indian custodian, and family to support reunification and preservation of the <u>Indian</u> child's placement with and relationship to the Indian child's <u>extended</u> family.

- Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 260.771, subdivision 1b, is amended to read:
- Subd. 1b. **Placement preference.** In any child placement proceeding, the child-placing agency or individual petitioner shall follow the placement preferences described in section 260.773 or, where preferred placement is not available even with the provision of active efforts, shall follow section 260.773, subdivisions 12 to 15.
- 369.10 Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 260.771, subdivision 1c, is amended to read:
- Subd. 1c. **Identification of extended family members.** Any child-placing agency or individual petitioner considering placement of an Indian child shall make ensure active efforts are made to identify and locate siblings and extended family members and to explore placement with an extended family member and facilitate continued involvement in the Indian child's life members and ensure the Indian child's relationship with the Indian child's extended family and Tribe.
- Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 260.771, subdivision 2b, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2b. **Appointment of counsel.** (a) In any state court child placement proceeding, including but not limited to any proceeding where the petitioner or another party seeks to temporarily or permanently remove an Indian child from the Indian child's parent or parents or Indian custodian, the Indian child's parent or parents or Indian custodian shall have the right to be represented by an attorney. If the parent or parents or Indian custodian cannot afford an attorney and meet the requirements of section 611.17, an attorney will be appointed to represent them.
 - (b) In any state court child placement proceeding, any <u>Indian</u> child ten years of age or older shall have the right to court-appointed counsel. <u>The court may appoint counsel for any Indian child under ten years of age in any state court child placement proceeding if the court determines that appointment is appropriate and in the best interest of the Indian child.</u>
- 369.31 (c) If the court appoints counsel to represent a person pursuant to this subdivision, the 369.32 court shall appoint counsel to represent the person prior to the first hearing on the petition,

369.27

369.28

369.29

but may appoint counsel at any stage of the proceeding if the court deems it necessary. The 370.1 court shall not appoint a public defender to represent the person unless such appointment 370.2 is authorized by section 611.14. 370.3 Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 260.771, subdivision 2d, is amended 370.4 to read: 370.5 Subd. 2d. Tribal access to files and other documents. At any subsequent stage of the 370.6 370.7 child-placing agency or petitioner's involvement with an Indian child, the child-placing agency or individual petitioner shall, upon request, give the Tribal social services agency 370.8 full cooperation including access to all files concerning the Indian child. If the files contain 370.9 confidential or private data, the child-placing agency or individual petitioner may require 370.10 execution of an agreement with the Tribal social services agency specifying that the Tribal 370.11 social services agency shall maintain the data according to statutory provisions applicable 370.13 to the data. Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 260.771, is amended by adding a 370.14 subdivision to read: 370.15 Subd. 2e. Participation of Indian child's Tribe in court proceedings. (a) In any child 370.16 placement proceeding that involves an Indian child, any Tribe that the Indian child may be eligible for membership in, as determined by the Tribe, is a party to the proceedings without 370.18 the need to file a motion. 370.19 (b) An Indian child's Tribe, Tribal representative, or attorney representing the Tribe: 370.20 (1) may appear remotely at hearings by telephone, video conference, or other electronic 370.21 medium without prior request; 370.22 (2) is not required to use the court's electronic filing and service system and may use 370.23 United States mail, facsimile, or other alternative method for filing and service; 370.24 (3) may file documents with the court using an alternative method that the clerk of court 370.25 370.26 shall accept and file electronically; (4) is exempt from any filing fees required under section 357.021; and 370.27 370.28 (5) is exempt from the pro hac vice requirements of Rule 5 of the Minnesota General Rules of Practice. 370.29

Sec. 32. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 260.771, subdivision 6, is amended to read:

Subd. 6. **Qualified expert witness and evidentiary requirements.** (a) In an any involuntary foster care placement proceeding, the court must determine by clear and convincing evidence, including testimony of a qualified expert witness, that continued custody of the <u>Indian</u> child by the parent or Indian custodian is likely to result in serious emotional damage or serious physical damage to the Indian child.

In a termination of parental rights proceeding, the court must determine by evidence beyond a reasonable doubt, including testimony of a qualified expert witness, that continued custody of the <u>Indian</u> child by the parent or Indian custodian is likely to result in serious emotional damage or serious physical damage to the <u>Indian</u> child.

In an involuntary permanent transfer of legal and physical custody proceeding, permanent custody to the agency proceeding, temporary custody to the agency, or other permanency proceeding, the court must determine by clear and convincing evidence, including testimony of a qualified expert witness, that the continued custody of the Indian child by the Indian child's parent or parents or Indian custodian is likely to result in serious emotional damage or serious physical damage to the <u>Indian</u> child. Qualified expert witness testimony is not required where custody is transferred to the Indian child's parent.

- Testimony of a qualified expert witness shall be provided for involuntary foster care child placement and permanency proceedings independently.
- (b) The child-placing agency, individual petitioner, or any other party shall make diligent efforts to locate and present to the court a qualified expert witness designated by the Indian child's Tribe. The qualifications of a qualified expert witness designated by the Indian child's Tribe are not subject to a challenge in Indian child placement proceedings.
- (c) If a party cannot obtain testimony from a Tribally designated qualified expert witness, the party shall submit to the court the diligent efforts made to obtain a Tribally designated qualified expert witness.
- (d) If clear and convincing evidence establishes that a party's diligent efforts cannot produce testimony from a Tribally designated qualified expert witness, the party shall demonstrate to the court that a proposed qualified expert witness is, in descending order of preference:

371.3

371.4

371.5

371.6

371.7

371.8

371.9

371.10

371.11

371.12

371.13

371.15

371.16

371.17

371.18

371.19

(1) a member of the <u>Indian</u> child's Tribe who is recognized by the Indian child's Tribal community as knowledgeable in Tribal customs as they pertain to family organization and child-rearing practices; or

- (2) an Indian person from an Indian community who has substantial experience in the delivery of child and family services to Indians and extensive knowledge of prevailing social and cultural standards and contemporary and traditional child-rearing practices of the Indian child's Tribe.
- If clear and convincing evidence establishes that diligent efforts have been made to obtain a qualified expert witness who meets the criteria in clause (1) or (2), but those efforts have not been successful, a party may use an expert witness, as defined by the Minnesota Rules of Evidence, rule 702, who has substantial experience in providing services to Indian families and who has substantial knowledge of prevailing social and cultural standards and child-rearing practices within the Indian community. The court or any party may request the assistance of the Indian child's Tribe or the Bureau of Indian Affairs agency serving the Indian child's Tribe in locating persons qualified to serve as expert witnesses.
- (e) The court may allow alternative methods of participation and testimony in state court proceedings by a qualified expert witness, such as participation or testimony by telephone, videoconferencing video conference, or other methods electronic medium.
- Sec. 33. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 260.773, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
- Subdivision 1. **Least restrictive setting.** In all proceedings where custody of the Indian child child may be removed from the <u>Indian child's parent or Indian custodian</u>, the Indian child shall be placed in the least restrictive setting which most approximates a family and in which the Indian child's special needs, if any, may be met. The Indian child shall also be placed within reasonable proximity to the Indian child's home, taking into account any special needs of the Indian child.
- Sec. 34. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 260.773, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2. **Tribe's order of placement recognized.** In the case of a placement under subdivision 3 or 4, if the Indian child's Tribe has established a different order of placement preference by resolution, the child-placing agency <u>or petitioner</u> and the court shall recognize the Indian child's Tribe's order of placement in the form provided by the Tribe.

372.1

372.2

372.3

372.4

372.5

372.6

Sec. 35. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 260.773, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

- Subd. 3. **Placement options preferences for temporary proceedings.** Preference shall be given, in the absence of good cause to the contrary, to a placement with:
- 373.5 (1) a noncustodial parent or Indian custodian;
- 373.6 (2) a member of the Indian child's extended family;
- 373.7 (3) a foster home licensed, approved, or specified by the Indian child's Tribe;
- 373.8 (4) an Indian foster home licensed or approved by an authorized non-Indian licensing authority; or
- 373.10 (5) an institution for children approved by an Indian Tribe or operated by an Indian 373.11 organization which has a program suitable to meet the Indian child's needs.
- Sec. 36. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 260.773, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
- Subd. 4. Placement <u>preference preferences for permanent proceedings.</u> In any adoptive placement, transfer of custody placement, or other permanency placement of an Indian child, a preference shall be given, in the absence of good cause to the contrary, to a placement with:
- 373.18 (1) the Indian child's noncustodial parent or Indian custodian;
- (2) a member of the <u>Indian</u> child's extended family;
- 373.20 (3) other members of the Indian child's Tribe; or
- 373.21 (4) other persons or entities recognized as appropriate to be a permanency resource for 373.22 the Indian child, by the Indian child's parent or parents, Indian custodian, or Indian Tribe.
- Sec. 37. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 260.773, subdivision 5, is amended to read:
- Subd. 5. **Suitability of placement.** The <u>county child-placing agency and petitioner</u> shall defer to the judgment of the Indian child's Tribe as to the suitability of a placement.

Sec. 38. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 260.773, subdivision 10, is amended 374.1 to read: 374.2 Subd. 10. Exceptions to placement preferences. The court shall follow the placement 374.3 preferences in subdivisions 1 to 9, except as follows: 374.4 374.5 (1) where a parent evidences a desire for anonymity, the child-placing agency or petitioner and the court shall give weight to the parent's desire for anonymity in applying the 374.6 preferences. A parent's desire for anonymity does not excuse the application of sections 374.7 260.751 to 260.835; or 374.8 (2) where the court determines there is good cause based on: 374.9 (i) the reasonable request of the Indian child's parents, if one or both parents attest that 374.10 they have reviewed the placement options that comply with the order of placement 374.11 preferences; 374.12 (ii) the reasonable request of the Indian child if the Indian child is able to understand 374 13 and comprehend the decision that is being made; 374.14 (iii) the testimony of a qualified expert designated by the Indian child's Tribe and, if 374.15 necessary, testimony from an expert witness who meets qualifications of section 260.771, 374.16 subdivision 6, paragraph (d), clause (2), that supports placement outside the order of 374.17 placement preferences due to extraordinary physical or emotional needs of the Indian child 374.18 that require highly specialized services; or 374.19 (iv) the testimony by the child-placing agency or petitioner that a diligent search has 374.20 been conducted that did not locate any available, suitable families for the Indian child that 374.21 meet the placement preference criteria. 374.22 Sec. 39. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 260.773, subdivision 11, is amended 374.23 374.24 to read: Subd. 11. Factors considered in determining placement. Testimony of the Indian 374.25 child's bonding or attachment to a foster family alone, without the existence of at least one 374.26 of the factors in subdivision 10, clause (2), shall not be considered good cause to keep an Indian child in a lower preference or nonpreference placement. Ease of visitation and 374.29 facilitation of relationship with the Indian child's parents, Indian custodian, extended family,

374.30

or Tribe may be considered when determining placement.

Sec. 40. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 260.774, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

- Subdivision 1. **Improper removal.** In any proceeding where custody of the Indian child was improperly removed from the parent or <u>parents Indian custodian</u> or where the petitioner has improperly retained custody after a visit or other temporary relinquishment of custody, the court shall decline jurisdiction over the petition and shall immediately return the Indian child to the Indian child's parent or <u>parents</u> or Indian custodian unless returning the Indian child to the Indian child's parent or <u>parents</u> or Indian custodian would subject the Indian child to a substantial and immediate danger or threat of such danger.
- Sec. 41. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 260.774, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2. **Invalidation.** (a) Any order for out-of-home child placement, transfer of custody, termination of parental rights, or other permanent change in custody of an Indian child shall be invalidated upon a showing, by a preponderance of the evidence, that a violation of any one of the provisions in section 260.761, 260.762, 260.763, 260.765, 260.771, 260.773, or 260.7745 has occurred.
- 375.17 (b) The Indian child, the Indian child's parent or parents, guardian, Indian custodian, or 375.18 Indian Tribe may file a petition or motion to invalidate under this subdivision.
- 375.19 (c) Upon a finding that a violation of one of the provisions in section 260.761, 260.762, 260.763, 260.765, 260.771, 260.773, or 260.7745 has occurred, the court shall:
- 375.21 (1) dismiss the petition without prejudice; and
- (2) return the Indian child to the care, custody, and control of the parent or parents or Indian custodian, unless the Indian child would be subjected to imminent <u>physical</u> damage or harm-; and
- 375.25 (3) determine whether the Indian child's parent or Indian custodian has been assessed placement costs and order reimbursement of those costs.
- (d) Upon a finding that a willful, intentional, knowing, or reckless violation of one of the provisions in section 260.761, 260.762, 260.763, 260.765, 260.771, 260.773, or 260.7745 has occurred, the court may consider whether sanctions, reasonable costs, and attorney fees should be imposed against the offending party.

375.3

375.4

375.5

375.6

375.7

375.8

Sec. 42. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 260.774, subdivision 3, is amended 376.1 376.2 to read:

- Subd. 3. Return of custody following adoption. (a) Whenever a final decree of adoption of an Indian child has been vacated, set aside, or there is a termination of the parental rights of the adoptive parents to the Indian child, a biological parent or prior Indian custodian may petition for return of custody and the court shall grant the petition unless there is a showing, in proceedings subject to the provision of sections 260.751 to 260.835, that the return of custody is not in the best interests of the Indian child.
- (b) The county attorney, Indian child, Indian child's Tribe, Indian custodian, or a an Indian child's parent whose parental rights were terminated under a previous order of the 376.10 court may file a petition for the return of custody. 376.11
 - (c) A petition for return of custody may be filed in court when:
- (1) the parent or Indian custodian has corrected the conditions that led to an order 376.13 terminating parental rights; 376.14
- (2) the parent or Indian custodian is willing and has the capability to provide day-to-day 376.15 care and maintain the health, safety, and welfare of the Indian child; and 376.16
- (3) the adoption has been vacated, set aside, or termination of the parental rights of the 376.17 adoptive parents to the Indian child has occurred. 376.18
- (d) A petition for reestablishment of the legal parent and child relationship for a an Indian 376.19 child who has not been adopted must meet the requirements in section 260C.329. 376.20
- Sec. 43. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260.775, is amended to read: 376.21

260,775 PLACEMENT RECORDS.

(a) The commissioner of human services shall publish annually an inventory of all Indian 376.23 children in residential facilities. The inventory shall include, by county and statewide, 376.24 information on legal status, living arrangement, age, sex, Tribe in which the Indian child is 376.25 a member or eligible for membership, accumulated length of time in foster care, and other 376.26 demographic information deemed appropriate concerning all Indian children in residential 376.27 facilities. The report must also state the extent to which authorized child-placing agencies 376.28 comply with the order of preference described in United States Code, title 25, section 1901, et seq. The commissioner shall include the information required under this paragraph in the 376.30 annual report on child maltreatment and on children in out-of-home placement under section 376.31 257.0725. 376.32

376.3

376.4

376.5

376.6

376.7

376.8

376.9

376.12

377.1 (b) This section expires January 1, 2032.

Sec. 44. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 260.781, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

- Subdivision 1. **Court decree information.** (a) A state court entering a final decree or order in an Indian child adoptive placement shall provide the Department of Human Services and the child's Tribal social services agency with a copy of the decree or order together with such other information to show:
- 377.8 (1) the name and Tribal affiliation of the Indian child;
- 377.9 (2) the names and addresses of the biological parents and Indian custodian, if any;
- 377.10 (3) the names and addresses of the adoptive parents; and
- 377.11 (4) the identity of any agency having files or information relating to the adoptive placement.
- If the court records contain an affidavit of the biological or adoptive parent or parents 377.13 or Indian custodian requesting anonymity, the court shall delete the name and address of 377.14 377.15 the biological or adoptive parents or Indian custodian from the information sent to the Indian child's Tribal social services agency. The court shall include the affidavit with the other 377.16 information provided to the Minnesota Department of Human Services and the Secretary 377.17 of the Interior. The Minnesota Department of Human Services shall and the Secretary of 377.18 the Interior is requested to ensure that the confidentiality of the information is maintained 377.19 and the information shall not be subject to the Freedom of Information Act, United States 377.20 Code, title 5, section 552, as amended. 377.21
- 377.22 **(b)** For:

377.4

377.5

377.6

- 377.23 (1) disclosure of information for enrollment membership of an Indian child in the Tribe;
- (2) determination of member rights or benefits; or
- 377.25 (3) certification of entitlement to membership upon the request of the adopted Indian 377.26 child over the age of eighteen, the adoptive or foster parents of an Indian child, or an Indian 377.27 Tribe,
- the Secretary of the Interior is requested to disclose any other necessary information for the membership of an Indian child in the Tribe in which the Indian child may be eligible for
- 377.30 membership or for determining any rights or benefits associated with that membership.
- Where the documents relating to the Indian child contain an affidavit from the biological
- parent or parents Indian custodian requesting anonymity, the Secretary of the Interior is

requested to certify to the Indian child's Tribe, where the information warrants, that the Indian child's parentage and other circumstances of birth entitle the Indian child to membership under the criteria established by the Tribe.

- Sec. 45. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260.785, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
- Subdivision 1. **Primary support grants.** The commissioner shall establish direct grants to Indian Tribes, Indian organizations, and Tribal social services agency programs located off-reservation that serve Indian children and their families to provide primary support for Indian child welfare programs to implement the Minnesota Indian Family Preservation Act.
- Sec. 46. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260.785, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
- Subd. 3. **Compliance grants.** The commissioner shall establish direct grants to an Indian child welfare defense corporation, as defined in Minnesota Statutes 1996, section 611.216, subdivision 1a, to promote statewide compliance with the Minnesota Indian Family Preservation Act and the Indian Child Welfare Act, United States Code, title 25, section 1901, et seq. The commissioner shall give priority consideration to applicants with demonstrated capability of providing legal advocacy services statewide.
- Sec. 47. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 260.786, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2. **Purposes.** Money must be used to address staffing for responding to notifications under the <u>federal</u> Indian Child Welfare Act and the Minnesota Indian Family Preservation Act, to the extent necessary, or to provide other child protection and child welfare services. Money must not be used to supplant current Tribal expenditures for these purposes.
- Sec. 48. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 260.795, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
- Subdivision 1. **Types of services.** (a) Eligible Indian child welfare services provided under primary support grants include:
- 378.26 (1) placement prevention and reunification services;
- 378.27 (2) family-based services;

378.1

378.2

- 378.28 (3) individual and family counseling;
- 378.29 (4) access to professional individual, group, and family counseling;
- 378.30 (5) crisis intervention and crisis counseling;

(6) development of foster and adoptive placement resources, including recruitment,

licensing, and support; 379.2 (7) court advocacy; 379.3 (8) training and consultation to county and private social services agencies regarding 379.4 379.5 the federal Indian Child Welfare Act and the Minnesota Indian Family Preservation Act; (9) advocacy in working with the county and private social services agencies, and 379.6 379.7 activities to help provide access to agency services, including but not limited to 24-hour caretaker and homemaker services, day care, emergency shelter care up to 30 days in 12 379.8 months, access to emergency financial assistance, and arrangements to provide temporary 379.9 respite care to a family for up to 72 hours consecutively or 30 days in 12 months; 379.10 (10) transportation services to the child and parents to prevent placement or reunite the 379.11 family; and 379.12 (11) other activities and services approved by the commissioner that further the goals 379.13 of the federal Indian Child Welfare Act and the Minnesota Indian Family Preservation Act, 379.14 including but not limited to recruitment of Indian staff for child-placing agencies and licensed child-placing agencies. The commissioner may specify the priority of an activity and service based on its success in furthering these goals. 379.17 (b) Eligible services provided under special focus grants include: 379.18 (1) permanency planning activities that meet the special needs of Indian families; 379.19 (2) teenage pregnancy; 379.20 (3) independent living skills; 379.21 (4) family and community involvement strategies to combat child abuse and chronic 379.22 neglect of children; 379.23 (5) coordinated child welfare and mental health services to Indian families; 379.24 (6) innovative approaches to assist Indian youth to establish better self-image, decrease 379.25 isolation, and decrease the suicide rate; 379.26 (7) expanding or improving services by packaging and disseminating information on 379.27 successful approaches or by implementing models in Indian communities relating to the 379.28 development or enhancement of social structures that increase family self-reliance and links 379.29 with existing community resources; 379.30

(8) family retrieval services to help adopted individuals reestablish legal affiliation with 380.1 the Indian Tribe; and 380.2 380.3 (9) other activities and services approved by the commissioner that further the goals of the federal Indian Child Welfare Act and the Minnesota Indian Family Preservation Act. 380.4 380.5 The commissioner may specify the priority of an activity and service based on its success in furthering these goals. 380.6 (c) The commissioner shall give preference to programs that use Indian staff, contract 380.7 with Indian organizations or Tribes, or whose application is a joint effort between the Indian 380.8 and non-Indian community to achieve the goals of the federal Indian Child Welfare Act 380.9 and the Minnesota Indian Family Preservation Act. Programs must have input and support 380.10 from the Indian community. 380.11 Sec. 49. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260.810, subdivision 3, is amended to read: 380.12 380.13 Subd. 3. Final report. A final evaluation report must be submitted by each approved program to the commissioner. It must include client outcomes, cost and effectiveness in meeting the goals of the Minnesota Indian Family Preservation Act and permanency planning 380.15 380.16 goals. The commissioner must compile the final reports into one document and provide a copy to each Tribe. 380.17 Sec. 50. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260C.007, subdivision 26b, is amended to read: 380.18 Subd. 26b. Relative of an Indian child. "Relative of an Indian child" means a person 380.19 who is a member of the Indian child's family as defined in the Indian Child Welfare Act of 380.20 1978, United States Code, title 25, section 1903, paragraphs (2), (6), and (9), and who is an 380.21 extended family member as defined in section 260.755, subdivision 5b, of the Minnesota 380.22 Indian Family Preservation Act. 380.23 Sec. 51. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260C.178, subdivision 1, as amended by Laws 380.24 2024, chapter 80, article 8, section 24, is amended to read: Subdivision 1. Hearing and release requirements. (a) If a child was taken into custody 380.26 under section 260C.175, subdivision 1, clause (1) or (2), item (ii), the court shall hold a 380.27 hearing within 72 hours of the time that the child was taken into custody, excluding 380.28 Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays, to determine whether the child should continue to be in

(b) Unless there is reason to believe that the child would endanger self or others or not return for a court hearing, or that the child's health or welfare would be immediately

custody.

380.30

380.31

endangered, the child shall be released to the custody of a parent, guardian, custodian, or other suitable person, subject to reasonable conditions of release including, but not limited to, a requirement that the child undergo a chemical use assessment as provided in section 260C.157, subdivision 1.

- (c) If the court determines that there is reason to believe that the child would endanger self or others or not return for a court hearing, or that the child's health or welfare would be immediately endangered if returned to the care of the parent or guardian who has custody and from whom the child was removed, the court shall order the child:
- (1) into the care of the child's noncustodial parent and order the noncustodial parent to comply with any conditions that the court determines appropriate to ensure the safety and care of the child, including requiring the noncustodial parent to cooperate with paternity establishment proceedings if the noncustodial parent has not been adjudicated the child's father; or
- (2) into foster care as defined in section 260C.007, subdivision 18, under the legal responsibility of the responsible social services agency or responsible probation or corrections agency for the purposes of protective care as that term is used in the juvenile court rules. The court shall not give the responsible social services legal custody and order a trial home visit at any time prior to adjudication and disposition under section 260C.201, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), clause (3), but may order the child returned to the care of the parent or guardian who has custody and from whom the child was removed and order the parent or guardian to comply with any conditions the court determines to be appropriate to meet the safety, health, and welfare of the child.
- (d) In determining whether the child's health or welfare would be immediately endangered, the court shall consider whether the child would reside with a perpetrator of domestic child abuse.
- (e) The court, before determining whether a child should be placed in or continue in 381.26 foster care under the protective care of the responsible agency, shall also make a 381.27 determination, consistent with section 260.012 as to whether reasonable efforts were made 381.28 to prevent placement or whether reasonable efforts to prevent placement are not required. 381.29 In the case of an Indian child, the court shall determine whether active efforts, according 381.30 to section 260.762 and the Indian Child Welfare Act of 1978, United States Code, title 25, 381.31 section 1912(d), were made to prevent placement. The court shall enter a finding that the 381.32 responsible social services agency has made reasonable efforts to prevent placement when 381.33 the agency establishes either:

381.1

381.2

381.3

381.4

381.5

381.6

381.7

381.8

381.9

381.10

381.11

381.12

381.13

381.14

381.15

381.16

381.17

381.18

381.19

381.20

381.21

381.22

381.23

381.24

(1) that the agency has actually provided services or made efforts in an attempt to prevent the child's removal but that such services or efforts have not proven sufficient to permit the child to safely remain in the home; or

- (2) that there are no services or other efforts that could be made at the time of the hearing that could safely permit the child to remain home or to return home. The court shall not make a reasonable efforts determination under this clause unless the court is satisfied that the agency has sufficiently demonstrated to the court that there were no services or other efforts that the agency was able to provide at the time of the hearing enabling the child to safely remain home or to safely return home. When reasonable efforts to prevent placement are required and there are services or other efforts that could be ordered that would permit the child to safely return home, the court shall order the child returned to the care of the parent or guardian and the services or efforts put in place to ensure the child's safety. When the court makes a prima facie determination that one of the circumstances under paragraph (g) exists, the court shall determine that reasonable efforts to prevent placement and to return the child to the care of the parent or guardian are not required.
- (f) If the court finds the social services agency's preventive or reunification efforts have not been reasonable but further preventive or reunification efforts could not permit the child to safely remain at home, the court may nevertheless authorize or continue the removal of the child.
- (g) The court may not order or continue the foster care placement of the child unless the court makes explicit, individualized findings that continued custody of the child by the parent or guardian would be contrary to the welfare of the child and that placement is in the best interest of the child.
- (h) At the emergency removal hearing, or at any time during the course of the proceeding, and upon notice and request of the county attorney, the court shall determine whether a petition has been filed stating a prima facie case that:
- 382.27 (1) the parent has subjected a child to egregious harm as defined in section 260C.007, subdivision 14;
- 382.29 (2) the parental rights of the parent to another child have been involuntarily terminated;
- 382.30 (3) the child is an abandoned infant under section 260C.301, subdivision 2, paragraph 382.31 (a), clause (2);
- 382.32 (4) the parents' custodial rights to another child have been involuntarily transferred to a 382.33 relative under a juvenile protection proceeding or a similar process of another jurisdiction;

382.1

382.2

382.3

382.4

382.5

382.6

382.7

382.8

382.9

382.10

382.11

382.13

382.14

382.15

382.16

382.17

382.18

382 19

382.20

382.21

382.22

(5) the parent has committed sexual abuse as defined in section 260E.03, against the child or another child of the parent;

- (6) the parent has committed an offense that requires registration as a predatory offender under section 243.166, subdivision 1b, paragraph (a) or (b); or
- 383.5 (7) the provision of services or further services for the purpose of reunification is futile 383.6 and therefore unreasonable.
 - (i) When a petition to terminate parental rights is required under section 260C.301, subdivision 4, or 260C.503, subdivision 2, but the county attorney has determined not to proceed with a termination of parental rights petition, and has instead filed a petition to transfer permanent legal and physical custody to a relative under section 260C.507, the court shall schedule a permanency hearing within 30 days of the filing of the petition.
 - (j) If the county attorney has filed a petition under section 260C.307, the court shall schedule a trial under section 260C.163 within 90 days of the filing of the petition except when the county attorney determines that the criminal case shall proceed to trial first under section 260C.503, subdivision 2, paragraph (c).
 - (k) If the court determines the child should be ordered into foster care and the child's parent refuses to give information to the responsible social services agency regarding the child's father or relatives of the child, the court may order the parent to disclose the names, addresses, telephone numbers, and other identifying information to the responsible social services agency for the purpose of complying with sections 260C.150, 260C.151, 260C.212, 260C.215, 260C.219, and 260C.221.
 - (l) If a child ordered into foster care has siblings, whether full, half, or step, who are also ordered into foster care, the court shall inquire of the responsible social services agency of the efforts to place the children together as required by section 260°C.212, subdivision 2, paragraph (d), if placement together is in each child's best interests, unless a child is in placement for treatment or a child is placed with a previously noncustodial parent who is not a parent to all siblings. If the children are not placed together at the time of the hearing, the court shall inquire at each subsequent hearing of the agency's reasonable efforts to place the siblings together, as required under section 260.012. If any sibling is not placed with another sibling or siblings, the agency must develop a plan to facilitate visitation or ongoing contact among the siblings as required under section 260°C.212, subdivision 1, unless it is contrary to the safety or well-being of any of the siblings to do so.
 - (m) When the court has ordered the child into the care of a noncustodial parent or in foster care, the court may order a chemical dependency evaluation, mental health evaluation,

383.1

383.2

383.3

383.4

383.7

383.8

383.9

383.10

383.11

383.12

383.13

383.14

383.15

383.16

383.17

383.18

383.19

383.20

383.21

383 22

383.23

383.24

383.25

383.27

383.28

383.29

383.30

383.31

383.32

383.33

medical examination, and parenting assessment for the parent as necessary to support the development of a plan for reunification required under subdivision 7 and section 260C.212, subdivision 1, or the child protective services plan under section 260E.26, and Minnesota Rules, part 9560.0228.

- (n) When the court has ordered an Indian child into an emergency child placement, the Indian child shall be placed according to the placement preferences in the Minnesota Indian Family Preservation Act, section 260.773.
- Sec. 52. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260D.01, is amended to read:

260D.01 CHILD IN VOLUNTARY FOSTER CARE FOR TREATMENT.

- (a) Sections 260D.01 to 260D.10, may be cited as the "child in voluntary foster care for treatment" provisions of the Juvenile Court Act.
- (b) The juvenile court has original and exclusive jurisdiction over a child in voluntary foster care for treatment upon the filing of a report or petition required under this chapter.

 All obligations of the responsible social services agency to a child and family in foster care contained in chapter 260C not inconsistent with this chapter are also obligations of the agency with regard to a child in foster care for treatment under this chapter.
- (c) This chapter shall be construed consistently with the mission of the children's mental health service system as set out in section 245.487, subdivision 3, and the duties of an agency under sections 256B.092 and 260C.157 and Minnesota Rules, parts 9525.0004 to 9525.0016, to meet the needs of a child with a developmental disability or related condition. This chapter:
- (1) establishes voluntary foster care through a voluntary foster care agreement as the means for an agency and a parent to provide needed treatment when the child must be in foster care to receive necessary treatment for an emotional disturbance or developmental disability or related condition;
- 384.26 (2) establishes court review requirements for a child in voluntary foster care for treatment 384.27 due to emotional disturbance or developmental disability or a related condition;
- (3) establishes the ongoing responsibility of the parent as legal custodian to visit the child, to plan together with the agency for the child's treatment needs, to be available and accessible to the agency to make treatment decisions, and to obtain necessary medical, dental, and other care for the child;

384.1

384.2

384.3

384.4

384.5

384.6

384.7

(4) applies to voluntary foster care when the child's parent and the agency agree that the child's treatment needs require foster care either:

- (i) due to a level of care determination by the agency's screening team informed by the child's diagnostic and functional assessment under section 245.4885; or
- (ii) due to a determination regarding the level of services needed by the child by the responsible social services agency's screening team under section 256B.092, and Minnesota Rules, parts 9525.0004 to 9525.0016; and
- (5) includes the requirements for a child's placement in sections 260C.70 to 260C.714, when the juvenile treatment screening team recommends placing a child in a qualified residential treatment program, except as modified by this chapter.
- (d) This chapter does not apply when there is a current determination under chapter 260E that the child requires child protective services or when the child is in foster care for any reason other than treatment for the child's emotional disturbance or developmental disability or related condition. When there is a determination under chapter 260E that the child requires child protective services based on an assessment that there are safety and risk issues for the child that have not been mitigated through the parent's engagement in services or otherwise, or when the child is in foster care for any reason other than the child's emotional disturbance or developmental disability or related condition, the provisions of chapter 260C apply. 385.19
 - (e) The paramount consideration in all proceedings concerning a child in voluntary foster care for treatment is the safety, health, and the best interests of the child. The purpose of this chapter is:
- (1) to ensure that a child with a disability is provided the services necessary to treat or 385.23 ameliorate the symptoms of the child's disability; 385.24
 - (2) to preserve and strengthen the child's family ties whenever possible and in the child's best interests, approving the child's placement away from the child's parents only when the child's need for care or treatment requires out-of-home placement and the child cannot be maintained in the home of the parent; and
- (3) to ensure that the child's parent retains legal custody of the child and associated 385.29 decision-making authority unless the child's parent willfully fails or is unable to make 385.30 decisions that meet the child's safety, health, and best interests. The court may not find that 385.31 the parent willfully fails or is unable to make decisions that meet the child's needs solely 385.32 because the parent disagrees with the agency's choice of foster care facility, unless the

385.1

385.2

385.3

385.4

385.5

385.6

385.7

385.8

385.9

385.10

385.11

385.12

385.13

385.14

385.15

385.16

385.17

385.18

385.20

385.21

385.22

385.25

385.26

385.27

agency files a petition under chapter 260C, and establishes by clear and convincing evidence that the child is in need of protection or services.

- (f) The legal parent-child relationship shall be supported under this chapter by maintaining the parent's legal authority and responsibility for ongoing planning for the child and by the agency's assisting the parent, when necessary, to exercise the parent's ongoing right and obligation to visit or to have reasonable contact with the child. Ongoing planning means:
- (1) actively participating in the planning and provision of educational services, medical, and dental care for the child;
- 386.9 (2) actively planning and participating with the agency and the foster care facility for 386.10 the child's treatment needs;
- 386.11 (3) planning to meet the child's need for safety, stability, and permanency, and the child's need to stay connected to the child's family and community;
 - (4) engaging with the responsible social services agency to ensure that the family and permanency team under section 260C.706 consists of appropriate family members. For purposes of voluntary placement of a child in foster care for treatment under chapter 260D, prior to forming the child's family and permanency team, the responsible social services agency must consult with the child's parent or legal guardian, the child if the child is 14 years of age or older, and, if applicable, the child's Tribe to obtain recommendations regarding which individuals to include on the team and to ensure that the team is family-centered and will act in the child's best interests. If the child, child's parents, or legal guardians raise concerns about specific relatives or professionals, the team should not include those individuals unless the individual is a treating professional or an important connection to the youth as outlined in the case or crisis plan; and
 - (5) for a voluntary placement under this chapter in a qualified residential treatment program, as defined in section 260C.007, subdivision 26d, for purposes of engaging in a relative search as provided in section 260C.221, the county agency must consult with the child's parent or legal guardian, the child if the child is 14 years of age or older, and, if applicable, the child's Tribe to obtain recommendations regarding which adult relatives the county agency should notify. If the child, child's parents, or legal guardians raise concerns about specific relatives, the county agency should not notify those relatives.
 - (g) The provisions of section 260.012 to ensure placement prevention, family reunification, and all active and reasonable effort requirements of that section apply. This chapter shall be construed consistently with the requirements of the Indian Child Welfare

386.1

386.2

386.3

386.4

386.5

386.6

386.7

386.8

386.13

386.14

386.15

386.16

386.17

386.18

386.19

386.20

386.21

386.22

386.23

386.24

386.26

386.27

386.28

386.29

386.30

386.31

386.32

387.1	Act of 1978, United States Code, title 25, section 1901, et al., and the provisions of the
387.2	Minnesota Indian Family Preservation Act, sections 260.751 to 260.835.
387.3	Sec. 53. [260D.011] COMPLIANCE WITH FEDERAL INDIAN CHILD WELFARE
387.4	ACT AND MINNESOTA INDIAN FAMILY PRESERVATION ACT.
387.5	Proceedings under this chapter concerning an Indian child are child custody proceedings
387.6	governed by the Indian Child Welfare Act, United States Code, title 25, sections 1901 to
387.7	1963; by the Minnesota Indian Family Preservation Act, sections 260.751 to 260.835; and
387.8	by this chapter when not inconsistent with the federal Indian Child Welfare Act or the
387.9	Minnesota Indian Family Preservation Act.
387.10	Sec. 54. [260E.015] COMPLIANCE WITH FEDERAL INDIAN CHILD WELFARE
387.11	ACT AND MINNESOTA INDIAN FAMILY PRESERVATION ACT.
387.12	Proceedings under this chapter concerning an Indian child are child custody proceedings
387.13	governed by the Indian Child Welfare Act, United States Code, title 25, sections 1901 to
387.14	1963; by the Minnesota Indian Family Preservation Act, sections 260.751 to 260.835; and
387.15	by this chapter when not inconsistent with the federal Indian Child Welfare Act or the
387.16	Minnesota Indian Family Preservation Act.
387.17	Sec. 55. [524.5-2011] COMPLIANCE WITH FEDERAL INDIAN CHILD WELFARE
387.18	ACT AND MINNESOTA INDIAN FAMILY PRESERVATION ACT.
387.19	Proceedings under this chapter concerning an Indian child are child custody proceedings
387.20	governed by the Indian Child Welfare Act, United States Code, title 25, sections 1901 to
387.21	1963; by the Minnesota Indian Family Preservation Act, sections 260.751 to 260.835; and
387.22	by this chapter when not inconsistent with the federal Indian Child Welfare Act or the
387.23	Minnesota Indian Family Preservation Act.
387.24	Sec. 56. DIRECTION TO COMMISSIONER OF HUMAN SERVICES; STUDY OF
387.25	CHILD PLACEMENT AND PERMANENCY; PRACTICE RECOMMENDATIONS.
387.26	Subdivision 1. Study parameters. By September 1, 2024, the commissioner of human
387.27	services shall contract with an independent consultant to evaluate the effects of child
387.28	placement in foster care and out-of-home settings on the safety, permanency, and well-being
387.29	of the child. The study must be designed to evaluate the system overall for a child's placement
387.30	and permanency. The study shall identify and evaluate factors designed to ensure emotional
387.31	and physical safety of the child in the context of child placement and permanency dispositions

388.1	and shall include an analysis of structuring out-of-home placement decisions, reunification
388.2	timelines, and service provisions to best allow the parents to engage in positive parenting
388.3	of the child. The goal is to determine guidelines for when to place a child out-of-home, who
388.4	to place the child with, when and how to keep the child connected to family and community,
388.5	and what timelines support building a stable base for the child's parents to engage in necessary
388.6	treatment, including but not limited to substance use or mental health treatment, before
388.7	undertaking parenting responsibilities.
388.8	(b) The study shall take into account the educational and behavioral development, mental
388.9	health functioning, and placement stability of the child. The study shall also take into
388.10	consideration the social, financial, and whole health of the family unit.
388.11	Subd. 2. Collaboration with interested parties. The consultant shall design the study
388.12	with an advisory group consisting of:
388.13	(1) the commissioner of human services, or a designee;
388.14	(2) the commissioner of children, youth, and families, or a designee;
388.15	(3) the ombudsperson for foster youth, or a designee;
388.16	(4) a representative from the Association of Minnesota Counties appointed by the
388.17	association;
388.18	(5) two members representing county social services agencies, one from the seven-county
388.19	metropolitan area and one from Greater Minnesota;
388.20	(6) one member appointed by the Minnesota Council on Disability;
388.21	(7) one member appointed by the Indian Child Welfare Advisory Council;
388.22	(8) one member appointed by the Ombudsperson for American Indian Families;
388.23	(9) one member appointed by the Children's Alliance;
388.24	(10) up to four members appointed by the ombudsperson for families;
388.25	(11) up to four members from the Children's Justice Task Force; and
388.26	(12) members of the public appointed by the governor representing:
388.27	(i) one member 18 years of age who has lived experience with the child welfare system;
388.28	(ii) one member 18 years of age or older who has lived experience with the child welfare
388.29	system as a parent or caregiver;
388.30	(iii) one member who is working with or advocating for children with disabilities;

389.1	(iv) one member with experience working with or advocating for LGBTQ youth;
389.2	(v) one member working with or advocating for Indigenous children;
389.3	(vi) one member working with or advocating for black children or youth;
389.4	(vii) one member working with or advocating for other children of color;
389.5	(viii) one member who is an attorney representing children in child placement
389.6	proceedings;
389.7	(ix) one member who is a Tribal attorney in child placement proceedings;
389.8	(x) one member who is an attorney representing parents in child placement proceedings;
389.9	(xi) one member with experience in children's mental health;
389.10	(xii) one member with experience in adult mental health; and
389.11	(xiii) one member who is a substance abuse professional.
389.12	Subd. 3. Report. By September 1, 2027, the consultant shall submit a final report to the
389.13	commissioner of human services and to the chairs and ranking minority members of the
389.14	legislative committees with jurisdiction over health and human services. The final report
389.15	must include a recommendation on the optimal time frame for child placement in foster
389.16	care or out-of-home placement. The commissioner of human services shall include a report
389.17	on needed statutory changes as a result of the consultant's report.
389.18	Sec. 57. REPEALER.
389.19	Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260.755, subdivision 13, is repealed.
389.20	ARTICLE 16
389.21	MINNESOTA AFRICAN AMERICAN FAMILY PRESERVATION AND CHILD WELFARE DISPROPORTIONALITY ACT
389.22	WELFARE DISTROTORITONALITY ACT
389.23	Section 1. [260.61] CITATION.
389.24	Sections 260.61 to 260.695 may be cited as the "Minnesota African American Family
389.25	Preservation and Child Welfare Disproportionality Act."
389.26	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2026, except as provided under
389.27	section 19 of this article.

Sec. 2.	[260.62]	PURPOSES.
---------	----------	------------------

390.1

390.2

390.3

390.17

390.18

390.19

390.20

390.21

390.22

390.23

390.24

390.25

390.26

390.27

390.28

390.29

390.30

390.31

390.32

390.33

- (a) The purposes of the Minnesota African American Family Preservation and Child Welfare Disproportionality Act are to:
- 390.4 (1) protect the best interests of African American and disproportionately represented children;
- 390.6 (2) promote the stability and security of African American and disproportionately
 represented children and their families by establishing minimum standards to prevent the
 arbitrary and unnecessary removal of African American and disproportionately represented
 children from their families; and
- 390.10 (3) improve permanency outcomes, including family reunification, for African American 390.11 and disproportionately represented children.
- (b) Nothing in this legislation is intended to interfere with the protections of the Indian
 Child Welfare Act of 1978, United States Code, title 25, sections 1901 to 1963.
- 390.14 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2026, except as provided under section 19 of this article.

390.16 Sec. 3. **[260.63] DEFINITIONS.**

Subdivision 1. **Scope.** The definitions in this section apply to sections 260.61 to 260.695. Subd. 2. Active efforts. "Active efforts" means a rigorous and concerted level of effort that the responsible social services agency must continuously make throughout the time that the responsible social services agency is involved with an African American or a disproportionately represented child and the child's family. To provide active efforts to preserve an African American or a disproportionately represented child's family, the responsible social services agency must continuously involve an African American or a disproportionately represented child's family in all services for the family, including case planning and choosing services and providers, and inform the family of the ability to request a case review by the commissioner under section 260.694. When providing active efforts, a responsible social services agency must consider an African American or a disproportionately represented family's social and cultural values at all times while providing services to the African American or disproportionately represented child and family. Active efforts includes continuous efforts to preserve an African American or a disproportionately represented child's family and to prevent the out-of-home placement of an African American or a disproportionately represented child. If an African American or a disproportionately represented child enters out-of-home placement, the responsible social services agency must

391.1	make active efforts to reunify the African American or disproportionately represented child
391.2	with the child's family as soon as possible. Active efforts sets a higher standard for the
391.3	responsible social services agency than reasonable efforts to preserve the child's family,
391.4	prevent the child's out-of-home placement, and reunify the child with the child's family.
391.5	Active efforts includes the provision of reasonable efforts as required by Title IV-E of the
391.6	Social Security Act, United States Code, title 42, sections 670 to 679c.
391.7	Subd. 3. Adoptive placement. "Adoptive placement" means the permanent placement
391.8	of an African American or a disproportionately represented child made by the responsible
391.9	social services agency upon a fully executed adoption placement agreement, including the
391.10	signatures of the adopting parent, the responsible social services agency, and the
391.11	commissioner of human services according to section 260C.613, subdivision 1.
391.12	Subd. 4. African American child. "African American child" means a child having
391.13	origins in Africa, including a child of two or more races who has at least one parent with
391.14	origins in Africa.
391.15	Subd. 5. Best interests of the African American or disproportionately represented
391.16	child. The "best interests of the African American or disproportionately represented child"
391.17	means providing a culturally informed practice lens that acknowledges, utilizes, and embraces
391.18	the African American or disproportionately represented child's community and cultural
391.19	norms and allows the child to remain safely at home with the child's family. The best interests
391.20	of the African American or disproportionately represented child support the child's sense
391.21	of belonging to the child's family, extended family, kin, and cultural community.
391.22	Subd. 6. Child placement proceeding. (a) "Child placement proceeding" means any
391.23	judicial proceeding that could result in:
391.24	(1) an adoptive placement;
391.25	(2) a foster care placement;
391.26	(3) a preadoptive placement; or
391.27	(4) a termination of parental rights.
391.28	(b) Judicial proceedings under this subdivision include a child's placement based upon
391.29	a child's juvenile status offense but do not include a child's placement based upon:
391.30	(1) an act which if committed by an adult would be deemed a crime; or
391 31	(2) an award of child custody in a divorce proceeding to one of the child's parents

392.1	Subd. 7. Commissioner. "Commissioner" means the commissioner of human services
392.2	or the commissioner's designee.
392.3	Subd. 8. Custodian. "Custodian" means any person who is under a legal obligation to
392.4	provide care and support for an African American or a disproportionately represented child,
392.5	or who is in fact providing daily care and support for an African American or a
392.6	disproportionately represented child. This subdivision does not impose a legal obligation
392.7	upon a person who is not otherwise legally obligated to provide a child with necessary food,
392.8	clothing, shelter, education, or medical care.
392.9	Subd. 9. Disproportionality. "Disproportionality" means the overrepresentation of
392.10	African American children and other disproportionately represented children in Minnesota's
392.11	child welfare system population as compared to the representation of those children in
392.12	Minnesota's total child population.
392.13	Subd. 10. Disproportionately represented child. "Disproportionately represented child"
392.14	means a child whose race, culture, ethnicity, or low-income socioeconomic status is
392.15	disproportionately encountered, engaged, or identified in the child welfare system as
392.16	compared to the representation in Minnesota's total child population.
392.17	Subd. 11. Egregious harm. "Egregious harm" has the meaning given in section 260E.03,
392.18	subdivision 5.
392.19	Subd. 12. Foster care placement. "Foster care placement" means the court-ordered
392.20	removal of an African American or a disproportionately represented child from the child's
392.21	home with the child's parent or legal custodian and the temporary placement of the child in
392.22	a foster home, in shelter care or a facility, or in the home of a guardian, when the parent or
392.23	legal custodian cannot have the child returned upon demand, but the parent's parental rights
392.24	have not been terminated. A foster care placement includes an order placing the child under
392.25	the guardianship of the commissioner, pursuant to section 260C.325, prior to an adoption
392.26	being finalized.
392.27	Subd. 13. Imminent physical damage or harm. "Imminent physical damage or harm"
392.28	means that a child is threatened with immediate and present conditions that are
392.29	<u>life-threatening or likely to result in abandonment, sexual abuse, or serious physical injury.</u>
392.30	Subd. 14. Responsible social services agency. "Responsible social services agency"
392.31	has the meaning given in section 260C.007, subdivision 27a.
392.32	Subd. 15. Parent. "Parent" means the biological parent of an African American or a
392.33	disproportionately represented child or any person who has legally adopted an African

393.1	American or a disproportionately represented child who, prior to the adoption, was considered
393.2	a relative to the child, as defined in subdivision 16. Parent includes an unmarried father
393.3	whose paternity has been acknowledged or established and a putative father. Paternity has
393.4	been acknowledged when an unmarried father takes any action to hold himself out as the
393.5	biological father of a child.
393.6	Subd. 16. Preadoptive placement. "Preadoptive placement" means a responsible social
393.7	services agency's placement of an African American or a disproportionately represented
393.8	child with the child's family or kin when the child is under the guardianship of the
393.9	commissioner for the purpose of adoption but an adoptive placement agreement for the
393.10	child has not been fully executed.
393.11	Subd. 17. Relative. "Relative" means:
393.12	(1) an individual related to the child by blood, marriage, or adoption;
393.13	(2) a legal parent, guardian, or custodian of the child's sibling;
393.14	(3) an individual who is an important friend of the child or child's family with whom
393.15	the child has resided or has had significant contact; or
393.16	(4) an individual who the child or the child's family identify as related to the child's
393.17	<u>family.</u>
393.18	Subd. 18. Safety network. "Safety network" means a group of individuals identified by
393.19	the parent and child, when appropriate, that is accountable for developing, implementing,
393.20	sustaining, supporting, or improving a safety plan to protect the safety and well-being of a
393.21	child.
393.22	Subd. 19. Sexual abuse. "Sexual abuse" has the meaning given in section 260E.03,
393.23	subdivision 20.
393.24	Subd. 20. Termination of parental rights. "Termination of parental rights" means an
393.25	action resulting in the termination of the parent-child relationship under section 260C.301.
393.26	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2026, except as provided under
393.27	section 19 of this article.
393.28	Sec. 4. [260.64] DUTY TO PREVENT OUT-OF-HOME PLACEMENT AND
393.29	PROMOTE FAMILY REUNIFICATION.
393.30	Subdivision 1. Active efforts. A responsible social services agency shall make active
393.31	efforts to prevent the out-of-home placement of an African American or a disproportionately
393.32	represented child, eliminate the need for a child's removal from the child's home, and reunify

394.1	an African American or a disproportionately represented child with the child's family as
394.2	soon as practicable.
394.3	Subd. 2. Safety plan. (a) Prior to petitioning the court to remove an African American
394.4	or a disproportionately represented child from the child's home, a responsible social services
394.5	agency must work with the child's family to allow the child to remain in the child's home
394.6	while implementing a safety plan based on the family's needs. The responsible social services
394.7	agency must:
394.8	(1) make active efforts to engage the child's parent or custodian and the child, when
394.9	appropriate;
394.10	(2) assess the family's cultural and economic needs;
394.11	(3) hold a family group consultation meeting and connect the family with supports to
394.12	establish a safety network for the family; and
394.13	(4) provide support, guidance, and input to assist the family and the family's safety
394.14	network with developing the safety plan.
394.15	(b) The safety plan must:
394.16	(1) address the specific allegations impacting the child's safety in the home. If neglect
394.17	is alleged, the safety plan must incorporate economic services and supports to address the
394.18	family's specific needs and prevent neglect;
394.19	(2) incorporate family and community support to ensure the child's safety while keeping
394.20	the family intact; and
394.21	(3) be adjusted as needed to address the child's and family's ongoing needs and support.
394.22	(c) The responsible social services agency is not required to establish a safety plan in a
394.23	case with allegations of sexual abuse or egregious harm.
394.24	Subd. 3. Out-of-home placement prohibited. Unless the court finds by clear and
394.25	convincing evidence that the child would be at risk of serious emotional damage or serious
394.26	physical damage if the child were to remain in the child's home, a court shall not order a
394.27	foster care or permanent out-of-home placement of an African American or a
394.28	disproportionately represented child alleged to be in need of protection or services. At each
394.29	hearing regarding an African American or a disproportionately represented child who is
394.30	alleged or adjudicated to be in need of child protective services, the court shall review
394.31	whether the responsible social services agency has provided active efforts to the child and
394.32	the child's family and shall require the responsible social services agency to provide evidence

04/24/24	SENATEE	T D	SS4699R
N4/74/74	SENATER	LB	V ZAKUUR
UT/ / T/ / T	SLIVALL	LD	DOTUZZI

395.1	and documentation that demonstrates that the agency is providing culturally informed,
395.2	strength-based, community-involved, and community-based services to the child and the
395.3	child's family.
395.4	Subd. 4. Required findings that active efforts were provided. When determining
395.5	whether the responsible social services agency has made active efforts to preserve the child's
395.6	family, the court shall make findings regarding whether the responsible social services
395.7	agency made appropriate and meaningful services available to the child's family based upor
395.8	the family's specific needs. If a court determines that the responsible social services agency
395.9	did not make active efforts to preserve the family as required by this section, the court shall
395.10	order the responsible social services agency to immediately provide active efforts to the
395.11	child and child's family to preserve the family.
395.12	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2026, except as provided under
395.13	section 19 of this article.
395.14	Sec. 5. [260.641] ENSURING FREQUENT VISITATION FOR AFRICAN
395.15	AMERICAN AND DISPROPORTIONATELY REPRESENTED CHILDREN IN
395.16	OUT-OF-HOME PLACEMENT.
395.17	A responsible social services agency must engage in best practices related to visitation
395.18	when an African American or a disproportionately represented child is in out-of-home
395.19	placement. When the child is in out-of-home placement, the responsible social services
395.20	agency shall make active efforts to facilitate regular and frequent visitation between the
395.21	child and the child's parents or custodians, the child's siblings, and the child's relatives. If
395.22	visitation is infrequent between the child and the child's parents, custodians, siblings, or
395.23	relatives, the responsible social services agency shall make active efforts to increase the
395.24	frequency of visitation and address any barriers to visitation.
395.25	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2026, except as provided under
395.26	section 19 of this article.
395.27	Sec. 6. [260.65] NONCUSTODIAL PARENTS; TEMPORARY OUT-OF-HOME
395.28	PLACEMENT.
395.29	Subdivision 1. Active efforts required; responsible social services agency. Prior to
395.30	or within 48 hours of the removal of an African American or a disproportionately represented
395.31	child from the child's home, the responsible social services agency must make active efforts
395.32	to identify and locate the child's noncustodial or nonadjudicated parent and the child's
395.33	relatives to notify the child's parent and relatives that the child is or will be placed in foster

care and provide the child's parent and relatives with a list of legal resources. The notice to the child's noncustodial or nonadjudicated parent and relatives must also include the information required under section 260C.221, subdivision 2. The responsible social services agency must maintain detailed records of the agency's efforts to notify parents and relatives under this section.

Subd. 2. Placement with noncustodial or nonadjudicated parent. (a) Notwithstanding the provisions of section 260C.219, the responsible social services agency must assess an African American or a disproportionately represented child's noncustodial or nonadjudicated parent's ability to care for the child before placing the child in foster care. If a child's noncustodial or nonadjudicated parent is willing and able to provide daily care for the African American or disproportionately represented child temporarily or permanently, the court shall order that the child be placed in the home of the noncustodial or nonadjudicated parent pursuant to section 260C.178 or 260C.201, subdivision 1. The responsible social services agency must make active efforts to assist a noncustodial or nonadjudicated parent with remedying any issues that may prevent the child from being placed with the noncustodial or nonadjudicated parent.

(b) If an African American or a disproportionately represented child's noncustodial or nonadjudicated parent is unwilling or unable to provide daily care for the child and the court has determined that the child's continued placement in the home of the child's noncustodial or nonadjudicated parent would endanger the child's health, safety, or welfare, the child's parent, custodian, or the child, when appropriate, has the right to select one or more relatives who may be willing and able to provide temporary care for the child. The responsible social services agency must place the child with a selected relative after assessing the relative's willingness and ability to provide daily care for the child. If selected relatives are not available or there is a documented safety concern with the relative placement, the responsible social services agency shall consider additional relatives for the child's placement.

Subd. 3. Informal kinship care agreement. The responsible social services agency must inform selected relatives and the child's parent or custodian of the difference between informal kinship care arrangements and court-ordered foster care. If a selected relative and the child's parent or custodian request an informal kinship care arrangement for a child's placement instead of court-ordered foster care and such an arrangement will maintain the child's safety and well-being, the responsible social services agency shall comply with the request and inform the court of the plan for the child. The court shall honor the request to forego a court-ordered foster care placement of the child in favor of an informal kinship

396.1

396.2

396.3

396.4

396.5

396.6

396.7

396.8

396.9

396.10

396.11

396.12

396.13

396.14

396.15

396.16

396.17

396.18

396.19

396.20

396.21

396.22

396.23

396.24

396.25

396.26

396.27

396.28

396.29

396.30

396.31

396.32

396.33

care arrangement, unless the court determines that the request is not in the best interests of 397.1 397.2 the African American or disproportionately represented child. 397.3 Subd. 4. Active efforts; child foster care licensure process. The responsible social services agency must make active efforts to support relatives with whom a child is placed 397.4 397.5 in completing the child foster care licensure process and addressing barriers, disqualifications, or other issues affecting the relatives' licensure, including but not limited to assisting relatives 397.6 with requesting reconsideration of a disqualification under section 245C.21. 397.7 Subd. 5. Future placement not prohibited. The decision by a relative not to be 397.8 considered as an African American or a disproportionately represented child's foster care 397.9 or temporary placement option shall not be a basis for the responsible social services agency 397.10 or the court to rule out the relative for placement in the future or for denying the relative's 397.11 397.12 request to be considered or selected as a foster care or permanent placement for the child. 397.13 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2026, except as provided under section 19 of this article. 397.14 Sec. 7. [260.66] EMERGENCY REMOVAL. 397.15 Subdivision 1. Emergency removal or placement permitted. Nothing in this section 397.16 shall be construed to prevent the emergency removal of an African American or a 397.17 397.18 disproportionately represented child's parent or custodian or the emergency placement of the child in a foster setting in order to prevent imminent physical damage or harm to the 397.19 397.20 child. Subd. 2. Petition for emergency removal; placement requirements. A petition for a 397.21 court order authorizing the emergency removal or continued emergency placement of an 397.22 African American or a disproportionately represented child or the petition's accompanying 397.23 documents must contain a statement of the risk of imminent physical damage or harm to 397.24 the African American or disproportionately represented child and any evidence that the 397.25 emergency removal or placement continues to be necessary to prevent imminent physical 397.26 damage or harm to the child. The petition or its accompanying documents must also contain 397.27 the following information: 397.28 (1) the name, age, and last known address of the child; 397.29 (2) the name and address of the child's parents and custodians, or, if unknown, a detailed 397.30 explanation of efforts made to locate and contact them; 397.31 (3) the steps taken to provide notice to the child's parents and custodians about the 397.32

emergency proceeding;

(4) a specific and detailed account of the circumstances that led the agency responsible 398.1 for the emergency removal of the child to take that action; and 398.2 398.3 (5) a statement of the efforts that have been taken to assist the child's parents or custodians so that the child may safely be returned to their custody. 398.4 398.5 Subd. 3. Emergency proceeding requirements. (a) The court shall hold a hearing no later than 72 hours, excluding weekends and holidays, after the emergency removal of an 398.6 African American or a disproportionately represented child. The court shall determine 398.7 whether the emergency removal continues to be necessary to prevent imminent physical 398.8 damage or harm to the child. 398.9 (b) The court shall hold additional hearings whenever new information indicates that 398.10 the emergency situation has ended. At any court hearing after the emergency proceeding, 398.11 the court must determine whether the emergency removal or placement is no longer necessary 398.12 to prevent imminent physical damage or harm to the child. 398.13 (c) Notwithstanding section 260C.163, subdivision 3, and the provisions of Minnesota 398.14 Rules of Juvenile Protection Procedure, rule 25, a parent or custodian of an African American 398.15 or a disproportionately represented child who is subject to an emergency hearing under this 398.16 section and Minnesota Rules of Juvenile Protection Procedure, rule 30, must be represented 398.17 by counsel. The court must appoint qualified counsel to represent a parent if the parent 398.18 meets the eligibility requirements in section 611.17. 398.19 Subd. 4. Termination of emergency removal or placement. (a) An emergency removal 398.20 or placement of an African American or a disproportionately represented child must 398.21 immediately terminate once the responsible social services agency or court possesses 398.22 sufficient evidence to determine that the emergency removal or placement is no longer 398.23 necessary to prevent imminent physical damage or harm to the child and the child shall be 398.24 immediately returned to the custody of the child's parent or custodian. The responsible social 398.25 services agency or court shall ensure that the emergency removal or placement terminates 398.26 immediately when the removal or placement is no longer necessary to prevent imminent 398.27 physical damage or harm to the African American or disproportionately represented child. 398.28 (b) An emergency removal or placement ends when the court orders, after service upon 398.29 the African American or disproportionately represented child's parents or custodian, that 398.30 the child shall be placed in foster care upon a determination supported by clear and 398.31 convincing evidence that custody of the child by the child's parent or custodian is likely to 398.32 result in serious emotional or physical damage to the child. 398.33

399.1	(c) In no instance shall emergency removal or emergency placement of an African
399.2	American or a disproportionately represented child extend beyond 30 days unless the court
399.3	finds by a showing of clear and convincing evidence that:
399.4	(1) continued emergency removal or placement is necessary to prevent imminent physical
399.5	damage or harm to the child; and
399.6	(2) it has not been possible to initiate a child placement proceeding with all of the
399.7	protections under sections 260.61 to 260.68.
399.8	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2026, except as provided under
399.9	section 19 of this article.
399.10	Sec. 8. [260.67] TRANSFER OF PERMANENT LEGAL AND PHYSICAL
399.11	CUSTODY; TERMINATION OF PARENTAL RIGHTS; CHILD PLACEMENT
399.12	PROCEEDINGS.
399.13	Subdivision 1. Preference for transfer of permanent legal and physical custody. If
399.14	an African American or a disproportionately represented child cannot be returned to the
399.15	child's parent, the court shall, if possible, transfer permanent legal and physical custody of
399.16	the child to:
399.17	(1) a noncustodial parent under section 260C.515, subdivision 4, if the child cannot
399.18	return to the care of the parent or custodian from whom the child was removed or who had
399.19	legal custody at the time that the child was placed in foster care; or
399.20	(2) a willing and able relative, according to the requirements of section 260C.515,
399.21	subdivision 4, if the court determines that reunification with the child's family is not an
399.22	appropriate permanency option for the child. Prior to the court ordering a transfer of
399.23	permanent legal and physical custody to a relative who is not a parent, the responsible social
399.24	services agency must inform the relative of Northstar kinship assistance benefits and
399.25	eligibility requirements and of the relative's ability to apply for benefits on behalf of the
399.26	child under chapter 256N.
399.27	Subd. 2. Termination of parental rights restrictions. (a) A court shall not terminate
399.28	the parental rights of a parent of an African American or a disproportionately represented
399.29	child based solely on the parent's failure to complete case plan requirements.
399.30	(b) A court shall not terminate the parental rights of a parent of an African American or
399.31	a disproportionately represented child in a child placement proceeding unless the allegations
399.32	against the parent involve sexual abuse; egregious harm as defined in section 260C.007,
399.33	subdivision 14; murder in the first, second, or third degree under section 609.185, 609.19,

100.1	or 609.195; murder of an unborn child in the first, second, or third degree under section
100.2	609.2661, 609.2662, or 609.2663; manslaughter of an unborn child in the first or second
100.3	degree under section 609.2664 or 609.2665; domestic assault by strangulation under section
100.4	609.2247; felony domestic assault under section 609.2242 or 609.2243; kidnapping under
100.5	section 609.25; solicitation, inducement, and promotion of prostitution under section 609.322,
100.6	subdivision 1, and subdivision 1a if one or more aggravating factors are present; criminal
100.7	sexual conduct under sections 609.342 to 609.3451; engaging in, hiring, or agreeing to hire
100.8	a minor to engage in prostitution under section 609.324, subdivision 1; solicitation of children
100.9	to engage in sexual conduct under section 609.352; possession of pornographic work
400.10	involving minors under section 617.247; malicious punishment or neglect or endangerment
400.11	of a child under section 609.377 or 609.378; use of a minor in sexual performance under
400.12	section 617.246; or failing to protect a child from an overt act or condition that constitutes
400.13	egregious harm.
100.14	(c) Nothing in this subdivision precludes the court from terminating the parental rights
400.15	of a parent of an African American or a disproportionately represented child if the parent
100.16	desires to voluntarily terminate the parent's own parental rights for good cause under section
100.17	260C.301, subdivision 1, paragraph (a).
100.18	Subd. 3. Appeals. Notwithstanding the Minnesota Rules of Juvenile Protection Procedure,
100.19	rule 47.02, subdivision 2, a parent of an African American or a disproportionately represented
100.19	child whose parental rights have been terminated may appeal the decision within 90 days
100.20	of the service of notice by the court administrator of the filing of the court's order.
100.22	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2026, except as provided under
100.23	section 19 of this article.
100.24	Sec. 9. [260.68] RESPONSIBLE SOCIAL SERVICES AGENCY CONDUCT AND
100.24	CASE REVIEW.
100.26	Subdivision 1. Responsible social services agency conduct. (a) A responsible social
100.27	services agency employee who has duties related to child protection shall not knowingly:
100.28	(1) make untrue statements about any case involving a child alleged to be in need of
100.29	protection or services;
100.30	(2) intentionally withhold any information that may be material to a case involving a
100.31	child alleged to be in need of protection or services; or
100.32	(3) fabricate or falsify any documentation or evidence relating to a case involving a child
100.32	alleged to be in need of protection or services.
	11111/2 NOT 11/1 11/1 11/1 11/1 11/1 11/1 11/1 11

(b) Any of the actions listed in paragraph (a) shall constitute grounds for adverse employment action.

Subd. 2. Commissioner notification. (a) When a responsible social services agency makes a maltreatment determination involving an African American or a disproportionately represented child or places an African American or a disproportionately represented child in a foster care placement, the agency shall, within seven days of making a maltreatment determination or initiating the child's foster care placement, notify the commissioner of the maltreatment determination or foster care placement and of the steps that the agency has taken to investigate and remedy the conditions that led to the maltreatment determination or foster care placement. Upon receiving this notice, the commissioner shall review the responsible social services agency's handling of the child's case to ensure that the case plan and services address the unique needs of the child and the child's family and that the agency is making active efforts to reunify and preserve the child's family. At all stages of a case involving an African American or a disproportionately represented child, the responsible social services agency shall, upon request, fully cooperate with the commissioner and, as appropriate and as permitted under statute, provide access to all relevant case files. (b) In any adoptive or preadoptive placement proceeding involving an African American or a disproportionately represented child under the guardianship of the commissioner, the responsible social services agency shall notify the commissioner of the pending proceeding and of the right of intervention. The notice must include the identity of the child and the child's parents whose parental rights were terminated or who consented to the child's adoption. Upon receipt of the notice, the commissioner shall review the case to ensure that the requirements of this act have been met. When the responsible social services agency has identified a nonrelative as an African American or a disproportionately represented child's adoptive placement, no preadoptive or adoptive placement proceeding may be held until at least 30 days after the commissioner receives the required notice or until an adoption

401.27 <u>home study can be completed for a relative adoption, whichever occurs first. If the</u>
 401.28 commissioner requests additional time to prepare for the proceeding, the district court must

grant the commissioner up to 30 additional days to prepare for the proceeding. In cases in

which a responsible social services agency or party to a preadoptive or adoptive placement

401.31 knows or has reason to believe that a child is or may be African American or a

401.32 <u>disproportionately represented child, proof of service upon the commissioner must be filed</u>

401.33 with the adoption petition.

401.1

401.2

401.3

401.4

401.5

401.6

401.7

401.8

401.9

401.10

401.11

401.12

401.13

401.14

401.15

401.16

401.17

401.18

401.19

401.20

401.21

401.22

401.23

401.24

401.25

401.26

Subd. 3. Case review. (a) Each responsible social services agency shall conduct a review of all child protection cases handled by the agency every 24 months, after establishing a

402.1	2024 baseline. The responsible social services agency shall report the agency's findings to
402.2	the county board, related child welfare committees, the Children's Justice Initiative team,
402.3	the commissioner, and community stakeholders within six months of gathering the relevant
402.4	case data. The case review must include:
402.5	(1) the number of African American and disproportionately represented children
402.6	represented in the county child welfare system;
402.7	(2) the number and sources of maltreatment reports received and reports screened in for
402.8	investigation or referred for family assessment and the race of the children and parents or
402.9	custodians involved in each report;
402.10	(3) the number and race of children and parents or custodians who receive in-home
402.11	preventive case management services;
402.12	(4) the number and race of children whose parents or custodians are referred to
402.13	community-based, culturally appropriate, strength-based, or trauma-informed services;
402.14	(5) the number and race of children removed from their homes;
402.15	(6) the number and race of children reunified with their parents or custodians;
402.16	(7) the number and race of children whose parents or custodians are offered family group
402.17	decision-making services;
402.18	(8) the number and race of children whose parents or custodians are offered the parent
402.19	support outreach program;
402.20	(9) the number and race of children in foster care or out-of-home placement at the time
402.21	that the data is gathered;
402.22	(10) the number and race of children who achieve permanency through a transfer of
402.23	permanent legal and physical custody to a relative, a legal guardianship, or an adoption;
402.24	<u>and</u>
402.25	(11) the number and race of children who are under the guardianship of the commissioner
402.26	or awaiting a permanency disposition.
402.27	(b) The required case review must also:
402.28	(1) identify barriers to reunifying children with their families;
402.29	(2) identify the family conditions that led to the out-of-home placement;
402.30	(3) identify any barriers to accessing culturally informed mental health or substance use
402.31	disorder treatment services for the parents or children;

403.1	(4) document efforts to identify fathers and maternal and paternal relatives and to provide
403.2	services to custodial and noncustodial fathers, if appropriate; and
403.3	(5) document and summarize court reviews of active efforts.
403.4	(c) Any responsible social services agency that has a case review showing
403.5	disproportionality and disparities in child welfare outcomes for African American and other
403.6	disproportionately represented children and families, compared to the agency's overall
403.7	outcomes, must develop a remediation plan to be approved by the commissioner. The
403.8	responsible social services agency must develop the plan within 30 days of finding the
403.9	disproportionality or disparities and must make measurable improvements within 12 months
403.10	of the date that the commissioner approves the remediation plan. A responsible social
403.11	services agency may request assistance from the commissioner to develop a remediation
403.12	plan. The remediation plan must include measurable outcomes to identify, address, and
403.13	reduce the factors that led to the disproportionality and disparities in the agency's child
403.14	welfare outcomes and include information about how the responsible social services agency
403.15	will achieve and document trauma-informed, positive child well-being outcomes through
403.16	remediation efforts.
403.17	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2026, except as provided under
403.18	section 19 of this article.
403.19	Sec. 10. [260.69] CULTURAL COMPETENCY TRAINING FOR INDIVIDUALS
403.20	WORKING WITH AFRICAN AMERICAN AND DISPROPORTIONATELY
403.21	REPRESENTED CHILDREN.
403.22	Subdivision 1. Applicability. The commissioner of human services must collaborate
403.23	with the Children's Justice Initiative to ensure that cultural competency training is given to
403.24	individuals working in the child welfare system, including child welfare workers, supervisors,
403.25	attorneys, juvenile court judges, and family law judges.
403.26	Subd. 2. Training. (a) The commissioner must develop training content and establish
403.27	the frequency of trainings.
403.28	(b) The cultural competency training under this section is required prior to or within six
403.29	months of beginning work with any African American or disproportionately represented
403.30	child and their family. A responsible social services agency staff person who is unable to
403.31	complete the cultural competency training prior to working with African American or
403.32	disproportionately represented children and their families must work with a qualified staff
403.33	person within the agency who has completed cultural competency training until the person

404.1	is able to complete the required training. The training must be available by January 1, 2027,
404.2	and must:
404.3	(1) be provided by an African American individual or individual from a community that
404.4	is disproportionately represented in the child welfare system who is knowledgeable about
404.5	African American and other disproportionately represented social and cultural norms and
404.6	historical trauma;
404.7	(2) raise awareness and increase a person's competency to value diversity, conduct a
404.8	self-assessment, manage the dynamics of difference, acquire cultural knowledge, and adapt
404.9	to diversity and the cultural contexts of communities served;
404.10	(3) include instruction on effectively developing a safety plan and instruction on engaging
404.11	a safety network; and
404.12	(4) be accessible and comprehensive and include the ability to ask questions.
404.13	(c) The training may be provided in a series of segments, either in person or online.
404.14	Subd. 3. Update. The commissioner must provide an update to the chairs and ranking
404.15	minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over child protection by
404.16	July 1, 2027, on the rollout of the training under subdivision 1 and the content and
404.17	accessibility of the training under subdivision 2.
404.18	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2026, except as provided under
404.19	section 19 of this article.
404.20	Sec. 11. [260.691] AFRICAN AMERICAN CHILD WELL-BEING ADVISORY
404.20	COUNCIL.
404.21	COUNCIL.
404.22	Subdivision 1. Duties. The African American Child Well-Being Advisory Council must:
404.23	(1) review annual reports related to African American children involved in the child
404.24	welfare system. These reports may include, but are not limited to the maltreatment,
404.25	out-of-home placement, and permanency of African American children;
404.26	(2) assist in and make recommendations to the commissioner for developing strategies
404.27	to reduce maltreatment determinations, prevent unnecessary out-of-home placement, promote
404.28	culturally appropriate foster care and shelter or facility placement decisions and settings for
404.29	African American children in need of out-of-home placement, ensure timely achievement
404.30	of permanency, and improve child welfare outcomes for African American children and
404.31	their families;

405.1	(3) review summary reports on targeted case reviews prepared by the commissioner to
405.2	ensure that responsible social services agencies meet the needs of African American children
405.3	and their families. Based on data collected from those reviews, the council will assist the
405.4	commissioner with developing strategies needed to improve any identified child welfare
405.5	outcomes, including but not limited to maltreatment, out-of-home placement, and permanency
405.6	for African American children;
405.7	(4) assist the Cultural and Ethnic Communities Leadership Council with making
405.8	recommendations to the commissioner and the legislature for public policy and statutory
405.9	changes that specifically consider the needs of African American children and their families
405.10	involved in the child welfare system;
405.11	(5) advise the commissioner on stakeholder engagement strategies and actions that the
405.12	commissioner and responsible social services agencies may take to improve child welfare
405.13	outcomes for African American children and their families;
405.14	(6) assist the commissioner with developing strategies for public messaging and
405.15	communication related to racial disproportionality and disparities in child welfare outcomes
405.16	for African American children and their families;
405.17	(7) assist the commissioner with identifying and developing internal and external
405.18	partnerships to support adequate access to services and resources for African American
405.19	children and their families, including but not limited to housing assistance, employment
405.20	assistance, food and nutrition support, health care, child care assistance, and educational
405.21	support and training; and
405.22	(8) assist the commissioner with developing strategies to promote the development of
405.23	a culturally diverse and representative child welfare workforce in Minnesota that includes
405.24	professionals who are reflective of the community served and who have been directly
405.25	impacted by lived experiences within the child welfare system. The council must also assist
405.26	the commissioner in exploring strategies and partnerships to address education and training
405.27	needs, hiring, recruitment, retention, and professional advancement practices.
405.28	Subd. 2. Annual report. By January 1, 2026, and annually thereafter, the council shall
405.29	report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with
405.30	jurisdiction over child protection on the council's activities under subdivision 1 and other
405.31	issues on which the council chooses to report. The report may include recommendations
405.32	for statutory changes to improve the child protection system and child welfare outcomes
405.33	for African American children and families.
405.34	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.

406.1	Sec. 12. [260.692] AFRICAN AMERICAN CHILD WELL-BEING UNIT.
406.2	Subdivision 1. Duties. The African American Child Well-Being Unit, currently
406.3	established by the commissioner, must:
406.4	(1) assist with the development of African American cultural competency training and
406.5	review child welfare curriculum in the Minnesota Child Welfare Training Academy to
406.6	ensure that responsible social services agency staff and other child welfare professionals
406.7	are appropriately prepared to engage with African American children and their families and
406.8	to support family preservation and reunification;
406.9	(2) provide technical assistance, including on-site technical assistance, and case
406.10	consultation to responsible social services agencies to assist agencies with implementing
406.11	and complying with the Minnesota African American Family Preservation and Child Welfare
406.12	Disproportionality Act;
406.13	(3) monitor individual county and statewide disaggregated and nondisaggregated data
406.14	to identify trends and patterns in child welfare outcomes, including but not limited to
406.15	reporting, maltreatment, out-of-home placement, and permanency of African American
406.16	children and develop strategies to address disproportionality and disparities in the child
406.17	welfare system;
406.18	(4) develop and implement a system for conducting case reviews when the commissioner
406.19	receives reports of noncompliance with the Minnesota African American Family Preservation
406.20	and Child Welfare Disproportionality Act or when requested by the parent or custodian of
406.21	an African American child. Case reviews may include but are not limited to a review of
406.22	placement prevention efforts, safety planning, case planning and service provision by the
406.23	responsible social services agency, relative placement consideration, and permanency
406.24	planning;
406.25	(5) establish and administer a request for proposals process for African American and
406.26	disproportionately represented family preservation grants under section 260.693, monitor
406.27	grant activities, and provide technical assistance to grantees;
406.28	(6) in coordination with the African American Child Well-Being Advisory Council,
406.29	coordinate services and create internal and external partnerships to support adequate access
406.30	to services and resources for African American children and their families, including but
406.31	not limited to housing assistance, employment assistance, food and nutrition support, health

406.32 care, child care assistance, and educational support and training; and

407.1	(7) develop public messaging and communication to inform the public about racial
407.2	disparities in child welfare outcomes, current efforts and strategies to reduce racial disparities,
407.3	and resources available to African American children and their families involved in the
407.4	child welfare system.
407.5	Subd. 2. Case reviews. (a) The African American Child Well-Being Unit must conduct
407.6	systemic case reviews to monitor targeted child welfare outcomes, including but not limited
407.7	to maltreatment, out-of-home placement, and permanency of African American children.
407.8	(b) The reviews under this subdivision must be conducted using a random sampling of
407.9	representative child welfare cases stratified for certain case related factors, including but
407.10	not limited to case type, maltreatment type, if the case involves out-of-home placement,
407.11	and other demographic variables. In conducting the reviews, unit staff may use court records
407.12	and documents, information from the social services information system, and other available
407.13	case file information to complete the case reviews.
407.14	(c) The frequency of the reviews and the number of cases, child welfare outcomes, and
407.15	selected counties reviewed will be determined by the unit in consultation with the African
407.16	American Child Well-Being Advisory Council, with consideration given to the availability
407.17	of unit resources needed to conduct the reviews.
407.18	(d) The unit must monitor all case reviews and use the collective case review information
407.19	and data to generate summary case review reports, ensure compliance with the Minnesota
407.20	African American Family Preservation and Child Welfare Disproportionality Act, and
407.21	identify trends or patterns in child welfare outcomes for African American children.
407.22	Subd. 3. Reports. The African American Child Well-Being Unit must provide regular
407.23	updates on unit activities, including summary reports of case reviews, to the African
407.24	American Child Well-Being Advisory Council, and must publish an annual census of African
407.25	American children in out-of-home placements statewide. The annual census must include
407.26	data on the types of placements, age and sex of the children, how long the children have
407.27	been in out-of-home placements, and other relevant demographic information.
407.28	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.
407.29	Sec. 13. [260.693] AFRICAN AMERICAN AND DISPROPORTIONATELY
407.30	REPRESENTED FAMILY PRESERVATION GRANTS.
407.31	Subdivision 1. Primary support grants. The commissioner shall establish direct grants
407.32	to organizations, service providers, and programs owned and led by African Americans and
407.33	other individuals from communities disproportionately represented in the child welfare

108.1	system to provide services and support for African American and disproportionately
108.2	represented children and their families involved in Minnesota's child welfare system,
108.3	including supporting existing eligible services and facilitating the development of new
108.4	services and providers, to create a more expansive network of service providers available
108.5	for African American and disproportionately represented children and their families.
108.6	Subd. 2. Eligible services. (a) Services eligible for grants under this section include but
108.7	are not limited to:
108.8	(1) child out-of-home placement prevention and reunification services;
108.9	(2) family-based services and reunification therapy;
408.10	(3) culturally specific individual and family counseling;
408.11	(4) court advocacy;
108.12	(5) training and consultation to responsible social services agencies and private social
408.13	services agencies regarding this act;
108.14	(6) development and promotion of culturally informed, affirming, and responsive
408.15	community-based prevention and family preservation services that target the children, youth,
408.16	families, and communities of African American and African heritage experiencing the
108.17	highest disparities, disproportionality, and overrepresentation in the Minnesota child welfare
408.18	system;
108.19	(7) culturally affirming and responsive services that work with children and families in
108.20	their communities to address their needs and ensure child and family safety and well-being
108.21	within a culturally appropriate lens and framework;
108.22	(8) services to support informal kinship care arrangements; and
108.23	(9) other activities and services approved by the commissioner that further the goals of
108.24	the Minnesota African American Family Preservation and Child Welfare Disproportionality
108.25	Act, including but not limited to the recruitment of African American staff and staff from
108.26	other communities disproportionately represented in the child welfare system to work for
108.27	responsible social services agencies and licensed child-placing agencies.
108.28	(b) The commissioner may specify the priority of an activity and service based on its
108.29	success in furthering these goals. The commissioner shall give preference to programs and
108.30	service providers that are located in or serve counties with the highest rates of child welfare
108.31	disproportionality for African American and other disproportionately represented children
108.32	and their families and employ staff who represent the population primarily served.

109.1	Subd. 3. Ineligible services. Grant money may not be used to supplant funding for
109.2	existing services or for the following purposes:
109.3	(1) child day care that is necessary solely because of the employment or training for
109.4	employment of a parent or another relative with whom the child is living;
109.5	(2) foster care maintenance or difficulty of care payments;
109.6	(3) residential treatment facility payments;
109.7	(4) adoption assistance or Northstar kinship assistance payments under chapter 259A
109.8	<u>or 256N;</u>
109.9	(5) public assistance payments for Minnesota family investment program assistance,
109.10	supplemental aid, medical assistance, general assistance, general assistance medical care,
109.11	or community health services; or
109.12	(6) administrative costs for income maintenance staff.
109.13	Subd. 4. Requests for proposals. The commissioner shall request proposals for grants
109.14	under subdivisions 1, 2, and 3 and specify the information and criteria required.
109.15	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.
109.16	Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260C.329, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
109.17	Subd. 3. Petition. The county attorney or, a parent whose parental rights were terminated
109.18	under a previous order of the court, an African American or a disproportionately represented
109.19	child who is ten years of age or older, the responsible social services agency, or a guardian
109.20	<u>ad litem</u> may file a petition for the reestablishment of the legal parent and child relationship.
109.21	A parent filing a petition under this section shall pay a filing fee in the amount required
109.22	under section 357.021, subdivision 2, clause (1). The filing fee may be waived pursuant to
109.23	chapter 563 in cases of indigency. A petition for the reestablishment of the legal parent and
109.24	child relationship may be filed when:
109.25	(1) in cases where the county attorney is the petitioning party, both the responsible social
109.26	services agency and the county attorney agree that reestablishment of the legal parent and
109.27	child relationship is in the child's best interests;
109.28	(2) (1) the parent has corrected the conditions that led to an order terminating parental
109.29	rights;
109.30	(3) (2) the parent is willing and has the capability to provide day-to-day care and maintain
109 31	the health, safety, and welfare of the child;

110.1	(4) the child has been in foster care for at least 48 months after the court issued the order
110.2	terminating parental rights;
110.3	(5) (3) the child has not been adopted; and
110.4	(6) (4) the child is not the subject of a written adoption placement agreement between
410.5	the responsible social services agency and the prospective adoptive parent, as required under
110.6	Minnesota Rules, part 9560.0060, subpart 2.
110.7	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2026, except as provided under
410.8	section 19 of this article.
110.9	Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260C.329, subdivision 8, is amended to read:
410.10	Subd. 8. Hearing. The court may grant the petition ordering the reestablishment of the
410.11	legal parent and child relationship only if it finds by clear and convincing evidence that:
410.12	(1) reestablishment of the legal parent and child relationship is in the child's best interests
410.13	(2) the child has not been adopted;
110.14	(3) the child is not the subject of a written adoption placement agreement between the
110.15	responsible social services agency and the prospective adoptive parent, as required under
410.16	Minnesota Rules, part 9560.0060, subpart 2;
110.17	(4) at least 48 months have elapsed following a final order terminating parental rights
110.18	and the child remains in foster care;
110.19	(5) (4) the child desires to reside with the parent;
110.20	(6) (5) the parent has corrected the conditions that led to an order terminating parental
110.21	rights; and
110.22	(7)(6) the parent is willing and has the capability to provide day-to-day care and maintain
110.23	the health, safety, and welfare of the child.
110.24	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2026, except as provided under
410.25	section 19 of this article.
110.26	Sec. 16. DIRECTION TO COMMISSIONER OF HUMAN SERVICES;
110.27	DISAGGREGATE DATA.
110.28	The commissioner of human services must establish a process to improve the
110.29	disaggregation of data to monitor child welfare outcomes for African American and other

disproportionately represented children in the child welfare system. The commissioner must begin disaggregating data by January 1, 2027.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2026.

411.3

411.4	Sec. 17.	CHILD	WELFARE	COMPLIANCE	AND) FEEDBACK PORTAL	١.
-------	----------	-------	---------	-------------------	------------	-------------------	----

- The commissioner of human services shall develop, maintain, and administer a publicly 411.5 accessible online compliance and feedback portal to receive reports of noncompliance with 411.6 the Minnesota African American Family Preservation and Child Welfare Disproportionality 411.7 Act under Minnesota Statutes, sections 260.61 to 260.69, and other statutes related to child 411.8 maltreatment, safety, and placement. Reports received through the portal must be transferred 411.9 for review and further action to the appropriate unit or department within the Department 411.10 411.11 of Human Services, including but not limited to the African American Child Well-Being Unit. 411.12
- EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2026, except as provided under section 19 of this article.

Sec. 18. <u>DIRECTION TO COMMISSIONER; MAINTAINING CONNECTIONS</u> IN FOSTER CARE BEST PRACTICES.

The commissioner of human services shall develop and publish guidance on best practices
for ensuring that African American and disproportionately represented children in foster
care maintain connections and relationships with their parents, custodians, and extended
relative and kin network. The commissioner shall also develop and publish best practice
guidance on engaging and assessing noncustodial and nonadjudicated parents to care for
their African American or disproportionately represented children who cannot remain with
the children's custodial parents.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2026, except as provided under section 19 of this article.

Sec. 19. MINNESOTA AFRICAN AMERICAN FAMILY PRESERVATION AND CHILD WELFARE DISPROPORTIONALITY ACT; PILOT PROGRAMS.

- 411.28 (a) The commissioner of human services must establish a pilot program that implements
 411.29 sections 1 to 17 in Hennepin and Ramsey Counties.
- 411.30 (b) The commissioner of human services must report on the outcomes of the pilot 411.31 program, including the number of participating families, the rate of children in out-of-home

412.1	placement, and the measures taken to prevent out-of-home placement for each participating
412.2	family to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with
412.3	jurisdiction over child welfare.
412.4	(c) Sections 1 to 17 are effective July 1, 2024, for purposes of this pilot program.
412.5	(d) This section expires July 1, 2027.
412.6	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.
412.7	Sec. 20. MINNESOTA AFRICAN AMERICAN FAMILY PRESERVATION AND
412.8	CHILD WELFARE DISPROPORTIONALITY ACT; WORKING GROUP.
412.9	(a) The commissioner of human services must establish a working group to provide
412.10	guidance and oversight for the Minnesota African American Family Preservation and Child
412.11	Welfare Disproportionality Act pilot programs in Hennepin and Ramsey Counties.
412.12	(b) The members of the working group must include representatives from the Association
412.13	of Minnesota Counties, Hennepin County, Ramsey County, the Department of Human
412.14	Services, and community organizations with experience in child welfare.
412.15	(c) The working group must provide oversight of the pilot programs and evaluate the
412.16	cost of the pilot program. The working group must also assess future costs of implementing
412.17	the Minnesota African American Family Preservation and Child Welfare Disproportionality
412.18	Act statewide.
412.19	(d) By June 30, 2026, the working group must develop an implementation plan and best
412.20	practices for the Minnesota African American Family Preservation and Child Welfare
412.21	Disproportionality Act to go into effect statewide.
412.22	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.
412.23	Sec. 21. APPROPRIATIONS; MINNESOTA AFRICAN AMERICAN FAMILY
412.24	PRESERVATION AND CHILD WELFARE DISPROPORTIONALITY ACT.
412.25	(a) \$5,000,000 in fiscal year 2025 is appropriated from the general fund to the
412.26	commissioner of human services for grants to Hennepin and Ramsey Counties to implement
412.27	the Minnesota African American Family Preservation and Child Welfare Disproportionality
412.28	Act pilot programs. This is a onetime appropriation and is available through June 30, 2026.
412.29	(b) \$1,000,000 in fiscal year 2025 is appropriated from the general fund to the
412.30	commissioner of human services for the African American and disproportionately represented
412.31	family preservation grant program in Minnesota Statutes, section 260.693.

(c) \$1,029,000 in fiscal year 2025 is appropriated from the general fund to the commissioner of human services for the African American Child Well-Being Unit to hire full-time staff members.

ARTICLE 17

CHILDREN	AND	FAMII	JES	POI	ICY
CHILDINE		TITALITA		$\mathbf{I} \mathbf{O} \mathbf{L}$	$m \sim 1$

- Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 119B.011, subdivision 15, is amended to read:
- Subd. 15. **Income.** "Income" means earned income as defined under section 256P.01, subdivision 3; unearned income as defined under section 256P.01, subdivision 8; income under Minnesota Rules, part 3400.0170; and public assistance cash benefits, including the Minnesota family investment program, work benefit, Minnesota supplemental aid, general assistance, refugee cash assistance, at-home infant child care subsidy payments, and child support and maintenance distributed to the family under section 256.741, subdivision 2a.
- The following are deducted from income: funds used to pay for health insurance premiums for family members, and child or spousal support paid to or on behalf of a person or persons who live outside of the household. Income sources not included in this subdivision and; section 256P.06, subdivision 3; and Minnesota Rules, part 3400.0170, are not counted as income.
- Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 119B.16, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:
- Subd. 1a. **Fair hearing allowed for providers.** (a) This subdivision applies to providers caring for children receiving child care assistance.
- (b) A provider may request a fair hearing according to sections 256.045 and 256.046 only if a county agency or the commissioner:
- 413.25 (1) denies or revokes a provider's authorization, unless the action entitles the provider to:
- (i) an administrative review under section 119B.161; or
- (ii) a contested case hearing or an administrative reconsideration under section 245.095;
- (2) assigns responsibility for an overpayment to a provider under section 119B.11, subdivision 2a;

413.4

414.1	(3) establishes an overpayment for failure to comply with section 119B.125, subdivision
414.2	6;
414.3	(4) seeks monetary recovery or recoupment under section 245E.02, subdivision 4,
414.4	paragraph (c), clause (2);
414.5	(5) ends a provider's rate differential under section 119B.13, subdivision 3a or 3b;
414.6	(5) (6) initiates an administrative fraud disqualification hearing; or
414.7	(6) (7) issues a payment and the provider disagrees with the amount of the payment.
414.8	(c) A provider may request a fair hearing by submitting a written request to the
414.9	Department of Human Services, Appeals Division state agency. A provider's request must
414.10	be received by the Appeals Division state agency no later than 30 days after the date a
414.11	county or the commissioner mails sends the notice under subdivision 1c.
414.12	(d) The provider's appeal request must contain the following:
414.13	(1) each disputed item, the reason for the dispute, and, if applicable, an estimate of the
414.14	dollar amount involved for each disputed item;
414.15	(2) the computation the provider believes to be correct, if applicable;
414.16	(3) the statute or rule relied on for each disputed item; and
414.17	(4) the name, address, and telephone number of the person at the provider's place of
414.18	business with whom contact may be made regarding the appeal.
414.19	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2024.
414.20	Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 119B.16, subdivision 1c, is amended
414.21	to read:
414.22	Subd. 1c. Notice to providers. (a) Before taking an action appealable under subdivision
414.23	1a, paragraph (b), clauses (1) to (5), a county agency or the commissioner must mail send
414.24	written notice to the provider against whom the action is being taken. Unless otherwise
414.25	specified under this chapter, chapter 245E, or Minnesota Rules, chapter 3400, a county
414.26	agency or the commissioner must mail send the written notice at least 15 calendar days
414.27	before the adverse action's effective date. If the appealable action is a denial of an
414.28	authorization under subdivision 1a, paragraph (b), clause (1), the provider's notice is effective
414.29	on the date the notice is sent.
414.30	(b) The notice of adverse action in paragraph (a) shall state (1) the factual basis for the

414.31 county agency or department's determination, (2) the action the county agency or department

415.1	intends to take, (3) the dollar amount of the monetary recovery or recoupment, if known,
415.2	and (4) the provider's right to appeal the department's proposed action.
415.3	(c) Notice requirements for administrative fraud disqualifications under subdivision 1a,
415.4	paragraph (b), clause (6), are set forth in section 256.046, subdivision 3.
415.5	(d) A provider must receive notices that include:
415.6	(1) the right to appeal if a county issues a payment and the provider disagrees with the
415.7	amount of the payment under subdivision 1a, paragraph (b), clause (7), at the time of
415.8	authorization and reauthorization under section 119B.125, subdivision 1; and
415.9	(2) the amount of each payment when a payment is issued.
415.10	(e) A provider's request to appeal a payment amount must be received by the state agency
415.11	no later than 30 days after the date a county sends the notice informing the provider of its
415.12	payment amount.
415.13	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2024.
415.14	Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 119B.161, subdivision 2, is amended
415.15	to read:
415.16	Subd. 2. Notice. (a) The commissioner must <u>mail</u> <u>send</u> written notice to a provider within
415.17	five days of suspending payment or denying or revoking the provider's authorization under
415.18	subdivision 1.
415.19	(b) The notice must:
415.20	(1) state the provision under which the commissioner is denying, revoking, or suspending
415.21	the provider's authorization or suspending payment to the provider;
415.22	(2) set forth the general allegations leading to the denial, revocation, or suspension of
415.23	the provider's authorization. The notice need not disclose any specific information concerning
415.24	an ongoing investigation;
415.25	(3) state that the denial, revocation, or suspension of the provider's authorization is for
415.26	a temporary period and explain the circumstances under which the action expires; and
415.27	(4) inform the provider of the right to submit written evidence and argument for
415.28	consideration by the commissioner.
415.29	(c) Notwithstanding Minnesota Rules, part 3400.0185, if the commissioner suspends
415.30	payment to a provider under chapter 245E or denies or revokes a provider's authorization
415.31	under section 119B.13, subdivision 6, paragraph (d), clause (1) or (2), a county agency or

the commissioner must send notice of service authorization closure to each affected family.

The notice sent to an affected family is effective on the date the notice is created.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2024.

416.3

416.10

416.11

416.12

416.13

416 14

416.15

416.16

416.17

416.18

416.19

416.20

416.21

416.22

- Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 121A.15, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
- Subd. 3. **Exemptions from immunizations.** (a) If a person is at least seven years old and has not been immunized against pertussis, the person must not be required to be immunized against pertussis.
- 416.8 (b) If a person is at least 18 years old and has not completed a series of immunizations against poliomyelitis, the person must not be required to be immunized against poliomyelitis.
 - (c) If a statement, signed by a physician, is submitted to the administrator or other person having general control and supervision of the school or child care facility stating that an immunization is contraindicated for medical reasons or that laboratory confirmation of the presence of adequate immunity exists, the immunization specified in the statement need not be required.
 - (d) If a notarized statement signed by the minor child's parent or guardian or by the emancipated person is submitted to the administrator or other person having general control and supervision of the school or child care facility stating that the person has not been immunized as prescribed in subdivision 1 because of the conscientiously held beliefs of the parent or guardian of the minor child or of the emancipated person, the immunizations specified in the statement shall not be required. This statement must also be forwarded to the commissioner of the Department of Health. This paragraph does not apply to a child enrolling or enrolled in a child care center or family child care program that adopts a policy under subdivision 3b.
- (e) If the person is under 15 months, the person is not required to be immunized against measles, rubella, or mumps.
- (f) If a person is at least five years old and has not been immunized against haemophilus influenzae type b, the person is not required to be immunized against haemophilus influenzae type b.
- (g) If a person who is not a Minnesota resident enrolls in a Minnesota school online learning course or program that delivers instruction to the person only by computer and does not provide any teacher or instructor contact time or require classroom attendance, the person is not subject to the immunization, statement, and other requirements of this section.

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 121A.15, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

- Subd. 3b. Child care programs. A child care center licensed under chapter 245A and
- 417.4 Minnesota Rules, chapter 9503, and a family child care provider licensed under chapter
- 417.5 245A and Minnesota Rules, chapter 9502, may adopt a policy prohibiting a child over two
- 417.6 months of age from enrolling or remaining enrolled in the child care center or family child
- 417.7 care program if the child:
- 417.8 (1) has not been immunized in accordance with subdivision 1 or 2 and in accordance
- with Minnesota Rules, chapter 4604; and
- 417.10 (2) is not exempt from immunizations under subdivision 3, paragraph (a), (c), (e), or (f).
- Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 124D.142, subdivision 2, as amended
- 417.12 by Laws 2024, chapter 80, article 4, section 10, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2. **System components.** (a) The standards-based voluntary quality rating and
- 417.14 improvement system includes:
- (1) effective July 1, 2026, at least a one-star rating for all programs licensed under
- 417.16 Minnesota Rules, chapter 9502 or 9503, or Tribally licensed that do not opt out of the system
- 417.17 under paragraph (b) and that are not:
- (i) the subject of a finding of fraud for which the program or individual is currently
- 417.19 serving a penalty or exclusion;
- (ii) prohibited from receiving public funds under section 245.095, regardless of whether
- 417.21 the action is under appeal;
- 417.22 (iii) under revocation, suspension, temporary immediate suspension, or decertification,
- 417.23 or is operating under a conditional license, regardless of whether the action is under appeal;
- 417.24 or
- (iv) the subject of suspended, denied, or terminated payments to a provider under section
- 417.26 119B.13, subdivision 6, paragraph (d), clause (1) or (2); 245E.02, subdivision 4, paragraph
- 417.27 (c), clause (4); or 256.98, subdivision 1, regardless of whether the action is under appeal;
- 417.28 (2) quality opportunities in order to improve the educational outcomes of children so
- 417.29 that they are ready for school;
- 417.30 (3) a framework based on the Minnesota quality rating system rating tool and a common
- 417.31 set of child outcome and program standards informed by evaluation results;

- (4) a tool to increase the number of publicly funded and regulated early learning and care services in both public and private market programs that are high quality;
- (5) voluntary participation ensuring that if a program or provider chooses to participate, the program or provider will be rated and may receive public funding associated with the rating; and
- (6) tracking progress toward statewide access to high-quality early learning and care programs, progress toward the number of low-income children whose parents can access quality programs, and progress toward increasing the number of children who are fully prepared to enter kindergarten.
- (b) By July 1, 2026, the commissioner of children, youth, and families shall establish a 418.10 process by which a program may opt out of the rating under paragraph (a), clause (1). The 418.11 commissioner shall consult with Tribes to develop a process for rating Tribally licensed 418.12 programs that is consistent with the goal outlined in paragraph (a), clause (1). 418.13

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

- Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 144.2252, subdivision 2, is amended 418.15 to read: 418.16
- Subd. 2. Release of original birth record. (a) The state registrar must provide to an adopted person who is 18 years of age or older or a person related to the adopted person a copy of the adopted person's original birth record and any evidence of the adoption previously filed with the state registrar. To receive a copy of an original birth record under this subdivision, the adopted person or person related to the adopted person must make the request to the state registrar in writing. The copy of the original birth record must clearly 418.22 indicate that it may not be used for identification purposes. All procedures, fees, and waiting periods applicable to a nonadopted person's request for a copy of a birth record apply in the same manner as requests made under this section.
 - (b) If a contact preference form is attached to the original birth record as authorized under section 144.2253, the state registrar must provide a copy of the contact preference form along with the copy of the adopted person's original birth record.
- (c) The state registrar shall provide a transcript of an adopted person's original birth 418.29 record to an authorized representative of a federally recognized American Indian Tribe for 418.30 the sole purpose of determining the adopted person's eligibility for enrollment or membership. 418.31 Information contained in the birth record may not be used to provide the adopted person 418.32

418.1

418.2

418.3

418.4

418.5

418.6

418.7

418.8

418.9

418.14

418.17

418.18

418.19

418.20

418.21

418.23

418.24

418.25

418.26

418.27

information about the person's birth parents, except as provided in this section or section 419.1 259.83. 419.2 (d) For a replacement birth record issued under section 144.218, the adopted person or 419.3 a person related to the adopted person may obtain from the state registrar copies of the order 419.4 or decree of adoption, certificate of adoption, or decree issued under section 259.60, as filed 419.5 with the state registrar. 419.6 (e) The state registrar may request assistance from the commissioner of human services 419.7 if needed to discharge duties under this section, as authorized under section 259.79. 419.8 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2024. 419.9 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 144.2253, is amended to read: 419.10 144.2253 BIRTH PARENT CONTACT PREFERENCE FORM. 419.11 (a) The commissioner must make available to the public a contact preference form as 419.12 described in paragraph (b). 419.13 (b) The contact preference form must provide the following information to be completed 419.14 at the option of a birth parent: 419.15 (1) "I would like to be contacted." 419.16 (2) "I would prefer to be contacted only through an intermediary." 419.17 419.18 (3) "I prefer not to be contacted at this time. If I decide later that I would like to be contacted, I will submit an updated contact preference form to the Minnesota Department 419.19 of Health." 419.20 (c) A contact preference form must include space where the birth parent may include 419.21 information that the birth parent feels is important for the adopted person to know. 419.22 (d) If a birth parent of an adopted person submits a completed contact preference form 419.23 to the commissioner, the commissioner must: 419.24 (1) match the contact preference form to the adopted person's original birth record. The 419.25 commissioner may request assistance from the commissioner of human services if needed 419.26 to discharge duties under this clause, as authorized under section 259.79; and 419.27 (2) attach the contact preference form to the original birth record as required under 419.28

section 144.2252.

(e) A contact preference form submitted to the commissioner under this section is private data on an individual as defined in section 13.02, subdivision 12, except that the contact preference form may be released as provided under section 144.2252, subdivision 2.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 20...

420.1

420.2

420.3

- Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 243.166, subdivision 7, as amended by Laws 2024, chapter 79, article 9, section 5, is amended to read:
- Subd. 7. **Use of data.** (a) Except as otherwise provided in subdivision 4b or 7a or sections 244.052 and 299C.093, the data provided under this section is private data on individuals under section 13.02, subdivision 12.
- (b) The data may be used only by law enforcement and corrections agencies for law enforcement and corrections purposes. Law enforcement or a corrections agent may disclose the status of an individual as a predatory offender to a child protection worker with a local welfare agency for purposes of doing a family investigation or assessment under chapter 260E. A corrections agent may also disclose the status of an individual as a predatory offender to comply with section 244.057.
- (c) The commissioner of human services is authorized to have access to the data for purposes of completing background studies under chapter 245C.
- (d) The direct care and treatment executive board is authorized to have access to data for any service, program, or facility owned or operated by the state of Minnesota and under the programmatic direction and fiscal control of the executive board for purposes described in section 246.13, subdivision 2, paragraph (b).
- Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 245A.03, subdivision 7, as amended by Laws 2024, chapter 85, section 53, and Laws 2024, chapter 80, article 2, section 37, is amended to read:
- Subd. 7. Licensing moratorium. (a) The commissioner shall not issue an initial license 420.25 for child foster care licensed under Minnesota Rules, parts 2960.3000 to 2960.3340, which 420.26 does not include child foster residence settings with residential program certifications for 420.27 compliance with the Family First Prevention Services Act under section 245A.25, subdivision 420.28 1, paragraph (a), or adult foster care licensed under Minnesota Rules, parts 9555.5105 to 420.29 9555.6265, under this chapter for a physical location that will not be the primary residence 420.30 of the license holder for the entire period of licensure. If a child foster residence setting that 420.31 was previously exempt from the licensing moratorium under this paragraph has its Family 420.32

First Prevention Services Act certification rescinded under section 245A.25, subdivision 9, or if a family adult foster care home license is issued during this moratorium, and the license holder changes the license holder's primary residence away from the physical location of the foster care license, the commissioner shall revoke the license according to section 245A.07. The commissioner shall not issue an initial license for a community residential setting licensed under chapter 245D. When approving an exception under this paragraph, the commissioner shall consider the resource need determination process in paragraph (h), the availability of foster care licensed beds in the geographic area in which the licensee seeks to operate, the results of a person's choices during their annual assessment and service plan review, and the recommendation of the local county board. The determination by the commissioner is final and not subject to appeal. Exceptions to the moratorium include:

- (1) a license for a person in a foster care setting that is not the primary residence of the license holder and where at least 80 percent of the residents are 55 years of age or older;
- (2) foster care licenses replacing foster care licenses in existence on May 15, 2009, or community residential setting licenses replacing adult foster care licenses in existence on December 31, 2013, and determined to be needed by the commissioner under paragraph (b);
 - (3) new foster care licenses or community residential setting licenses determined to be needed by the commissioner under paragraph (b) for the closure of a nursing facility, ICF/DD, or regional treatment center; restructuring of state-operated services that limits the capacity of state-operated facilities; or allowing movement to the community for people who no longer require the level of care provided in state-operated facilities as provided under section 256B.092, subdivision 13, or 256B.49, subdivision 24;
 - (4) new foster care licenses or community residential setting licenses determined to be needed by the commissioner under paragraph (b) for persons requiring hospital-level care; or
 - (5) new foster care licenses or community residential setting licenses for people receiving customized living or 24-hour customized living services under the brain injury or community access for disability inclusion waiver plans under section 256B.49 or elderly waiver plan under chapter 256S and residing in the customized living setting for which a license is required. A customized living service provider subject to this exception may rebut the presumption that a license is required by seeking a reconsideration of the commissioner's determination. The commissioner's disposition of a request for reconsideration is final and

421.1

421.2

421.3

421.4

421.5

421.6

421.7

421.8

421.9

421.10

421.11

421.12

421.13

421.18

421.19

421.20

421.21

421.22

421.23

421.24

421.25

421.26

421.27

421.28

421.29

421.30

421.31

421.32

not subject to appeal under chapter 14. The exception is available until December 31, 2023.

422.2 This exception is available when:

422.12

422.13

422.14

422.15

422.16

- 422.3 (i) the person's customized living services are provided in a customized living service 422.4 setting serving four or fewer people in a single-family home operational on or before June 422.5 30, 2021. Operational is defined in section 256B.49, subdivision 28;
- 422.6 (ii) the person's case manager provided the person with information about the choice of 422.7 service, service provider, and location of service, including in the person's home, to help 422.8 the person make an informed choice; and
- 422.9 (iii) the person's services provided in the licensed foster care or community residential 422.10 setting are less than or equal to the cost of the person's services delivered in the customized 422.11 living setting as determined by the lead agency.
 - (b) The commissioner shall determine the need for newly licensed foster care homes or community residential settings as defined under this subdivision. As part of the determination, the commissioner shall consider the availability of foster care capacity in the area in which the licensee seeks to operate, and the recommendation of the local county board. The determination by the commissioner must be final. A determination of need is not required for a change in ownership at the same address.
- (c) When an adult resident served by the program moves out of a foster home that is not the primary residence of the license holder according to section 256B.49, subdivision 15, paragraph (f), or the adult community residential setting, the county shall immediately inform the Department of Human Services Licensing Division. The department may decrease the statewide licensed capacity for adult foster care settings.
- (d) Residential settings that would otherwise be subject to the decreased license capacity established in paragraph (c) shall must be exempt if the license holder's beds are occupied by residents whose primary diagnosis is mental illness and the license holder is certified under the requirements in subdivision 6a or section 245D.33.
- (e) A resource need determination process, managed at the state level, using the available 422.27 data required by section 144A.351, and other data and information shall be used to determine 422.28 where the reduced capacity determined under section 256B.493 will be implemented. The 422.29 commissioner shall consult with the stakeholders described in section 144A.351, and employ 422.30 a variety of methods to improve the state's capacity to meet the informed decisions of those 422.31 people who want to move out of corporate foster care or community residential settings, 422.32 long-term service needs within budgetary limits, including seeking proposals from service 422.33 providers or lead agencies to change service type, capacity, or location to improve services, 422.34

increase the independence of residents, and better meet needs identified by the long-term services and supports reports and statewide data and information.

- (f) At the time of application and reapplication for licensure, the applicant and the license holder that are subject to the moratorium or an exclusion established in paragraph (a) are required to inform the commissioner whether the physical location where the foster care will be provided is or will be the primary residence of the license holder for the entire period of licensure. If the primary residence of the applicant or license holder changes, the applicant or license holder must notify the commissioner immediately. The commissioner shall print on the foster care license certificate whether or not the physical location is the primary residence of the license holder.
- (g) License holders of foster care homes identified under paragraph (f) that are not the primary residence of the license holder and that also provide services in the foster care home that are covered by a federally approved home and community-based services waiver, as authorized under chapter 256S or section 256B.092 or 256B.49, must inform the human services licensing division that the license holder provides or intends to provide these waiver-funded services.
- (h) The commissioner may adjust capacity to address needs identified in section 144A.351. Under this authority, the commissioner may approve new licensed settings or delicense existing settings. Delicensing of settings will be accomplished through a process identified in section 256B.493.
- (i) The commissioner must notify a license holder when its corporate foster care or community residential setting licensed beds are reduced under this section. The notice of reduction of licensed beds must be in writing and delivered to the license holder by certified mail or personal service. The notice must state why the licensed beds are reduced and must inform the license holder of its right to request reconsideration by the commissioner. The license holder's request for reconsideration must be in writing. If mailed, the request for reconsideration must be postmarked and sent to the commissioner within 20 calendar days after the license holder's receipt of the notice of reduction of licensed beds. If a request for reconsideration is made by personal service, it must be received by the commissioner within 20 calendar days after the license holder's receipt of the notice of reduction of licensed beds.
- (j) The commissioner shall not issue an initial license for children's residential treatment services licensed under Minnesota Rules, parts 2960.0580 to 2960.0700, under this chapter for a program that Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services would consider an institution for mental diseases. Facilities that serve only private pay clients are exempt from the

423.1

423.2

423.3

423.4

423.5

423.6

423.7

423.8

423.9

423.10

423.11

423.12

423.13

423.14

423.15

423.16

423.17

423.18

423.19

423.20

423.21

423.22

423.23

423.24

423.25

423.26

423.27

423.28

423.29

423.31

423.32

moratorium described in this paragraph. The commissioner has the authority to manage existing statewide capacity for children's residential treatment services subject to the moratorium under this paragraph and may issue an initial license for such facilities if the initial license would not increase the statewide capacity for children's residential treatment services subject to the moratorium under this paragraph.

- Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 256.046, subdivision 3, is amended 424.6 to read: 424.7
- Subd. 3. Administrative disqualification of child care providers caring for children 424.8 receiving child care assistance. (a) The department shall pursue an administrative 424.9 disqualification, if the child care provider is accused of committing an intentional program 424.10 violation, in lieu of a criminal action when it has not been pursued. Intentional program 424.11 violations include intentionally making false or misleading statements; intentionally 424.12 misrepresenting, concealing, or withholding facts; and repeatedly and intentionally violating 424.13 424.14 program regulations under chapters 119B and 245E. Intent may be proven by demonstrating a pattern of conduct that violates program rules under chapters 119B and 245E. 424.15
- 424.16 (b) To initiate an administrative disqualification, the commissioner must mail send written notice by certified mail using a signature-verified confirmed delivery method to the 424.17 provider against whom the action is being taken. Unless otherwise specified under chapter 424.18 119B or 245E or Minnesota Rules, chapter 3400, the commissioner must mail send the 424.19 written notice at least 15 calendar days before the adverse action's effective date. The notice 424.20 shall state (1) the factual basis for the agency's determination, (2) the action the agency 424.21 intends to take, (3) the dollar amount of the monetary recovery or recoupment, if known, 424.22 and (4) the provider's right to appeal the agency's proposed action. 424.23
- (c) The provider may appeal an administrative disqualification by submitting a written request to the Department of Human Services, Appeals Division state agency. A provider's 424.25 request must be received by the Appeals Division state agency no later than 30 days after 424.26 the date the commissioner mails the notice. 424.27
- (d) The provider's appeal request must contain the following: 424.28
- (1) each disputed item, the reason for the dispute, and, if applicable, an estimate of the 424.29 dollar amount involved for each disputed item; 424.30
- (2) the computation the provider believes to be correct, if applicable; 424.31
- (3) the statute or rule relied on for each disputed item; and 424.32

424.1

424.2

424.3

424.4

424.5

425.1 (4) the name, address, and telephone number of the person at the provider's place of 425.2 business with whom contact may be made regarding the appeal.

- (e) On appeal, the issuing agency bears the burden of proof to demonstrate by a preponderance of the evidence that the provider committed an intentional program violation.
- 425.5 (f) The hearing is subject to the requirements of sections 256.045 and 256.0451. The
 425.6 human services judge may combine a fair hearing and administrative disqualification hearing
 425.7 into a single hearing if the factual issues arise out of the same or related circumstances and
 425.8 the provider receives prior notice that the hearings will be combined.
- 425.9 (g) A provider found to have committed an intentional program violation and is
 425.10 administratively disqualified shall <u>must</u> be disqualified, for a period of three years for the
 425.11 first offense and permanently for any subsequent offense, from receiving any payments
 425.12 from any child care program under chapter 119B.
- (h) Unless a timely and proper appeal made under this section is received by the department, the administrative determination of the department is final and binding.
- EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2024.
- Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256J.08, subdivision 34a, is amended to read:
- Subd. 34a. **Family violence.** (a) "Family violence" means the following, if committed against a family or household member by a family or household member:
- 425.19 (1) physical harm, bodily injury, or assault;
- 425.20 (2) the infliction of fear of imminent physical harm, bodily injury, or assault; or
- 425.21 (3) terroristic threats, within the meaning of section 609.713, subdivision 1; criminal
- 425.22 sexual conduct, within the meaning of section 609.342, 609.343, 609.344, 609.345, or
- 425.23 609.3451; or interference with an emergency call within the meaning of section 609.78,
- 425.24 subdivision 2.

425.3

- (b) For the purposes of family violence, "family or household member" means:
- 425.26 (1) spouses and former spouses;
- 425.27 (2) parents and children;
- 425.28 (3) persons related by blood;
- (4) persons who are residing together or who have resided together in the past;

426.1	(5) persons who have a child in common regardless of whether they have been married
426.2	or have lived together at any time;
426.3	(6) a man and woman if the woman is pregnant and the man is alleged to be the father,
426.4	regardless of whether they have been married or have lived together at anytime; and
426.5	(7) persons involved in a current or past significant romantic or sexual relationship.
426.6	Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256J.28, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
426.7	Subdivision 1. Expedited issuance of the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program
426.8	(SNAP) benefits. The following households are entitled to expedited issuance of SNAP
426.9	benefits assistance:
426.10	(1) households with less than \$150 in monthly gross income provided their liquid assets
426.11	do not exceed \$100;
426.12	(2) migrant or seasonal farm worker households who are destitute as defined in Code
426.13	of Federal Regulations, title 7, subtitle B, chapter 2, subchapter C, part 273, section 273.10,
426.14	paragraph (e)(3), provided their liquid assets do not exceed \$100; and
426.15	(3) eligible households whose combined monthly gross income and liquid resources are
426.16	less than the household's monthly rent or mortgage and utilities.
426.17	For any month an individual receives expedited SNAP benefits, the individual is not
426.18	eligible for the MFIP food portion of assistance.
426.19	Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256N.22, subdivision 10, is amended to read:
426.20	Subd. 10. Assigning a successor relative custodian for a child's Northstar kinship
426.21	assistance. (a) In the event of the death or incapacity of the relative custodian, eligibility
426.22	for Northstar kinship assistance and title IV-E assistance, if applicable, is not affected if the
426.23	relative custodian is replaced by a successor named in the Northstar kinship assistance
426.24	benefit agreement. Northstar kinship assistance shall must be paid to a named successor
426.25	who is not the child's legal parent, biological parent or stepparent, or other adult living in
426.26	the home of the legal parent, biological parent, or stepparent.
426.27	(b) In order to receive Northstar kinship assistance, a named successor must:
426.28	(1) meet the background study requirements in subdivision 4;
426.29	(2) renegotiate the agreement consistent with section 256N.25, subdivision 2, including
426.30	cooperating with an assessment under section 256N.24;

427.1	(3) be ordered by the court to be the child's legal relative custodian in a modification
427.2	proceeding under section 260C.521, subdivision 2; and
427.3	(4) satisfy the requirements in this paragraph within one year of the relative custodian's
427.4	death or incapacity unless the commissioner certifies that the named successor made
427.5	reasonable attempts to satisfy the requirements within one year and failure to satisfy the
427.6	requirements was not the responsibility of the named successor.
427.7	(c) Payment of Northstar kinship assistance to the successor guardian may be temporarily
427.8	approved through the policies, procedures, requirements, and deadlines under section
427.9	256N.28, subdivision 2. Ongoing payment shall begin in the month when all the requirements
427.10	in paragraph (b) are satisfied.
427.11	(d) Continued payment of Northstar kinship assistance may occur in the event of the
427.12	death or incapacity of the relative custodian when:
427.13	(1) no successor has been named in the benefit agreement when or a named successor
427.14	is not able or willing to accept custody or guardianship of the child; and
427.15	(2) the commissioner gives written consent to an individual who is a guardian or custodian
427.16	appointed by a court for the child upon the death of both relative custodians in the case of
427.17	assignment of custody to two individuals, or the sole relative custodian in the case of
427.18	assignment of custody to one individual, unless the child is under the custody of a county,
427.19	tribal, or child-placing agency.
427.20	(e) Temporary assignment of Northstar kinship assistance may be approved for a
427.21	maximum of six consecutive months from the death or incapacity of the relative custodian
427.22	or custodians as provided in paragraph (a) and must adhere to the policies, procedures,
427.23	requirements, and deadlines under section 256N.28, subdivision 2, that are prescribed by
427.24	the commissioner. If a court has not appointed a permanent legal guardian or custodian
427.25	within six months, the Northstar kinship assistance must terminate and must not be resumed.
427.26	(f) Upon assignment of assistance payments under paragraphs (d) and (e), assistance
427.27	must be provided from funds other than title IV-E.
427.28	Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256N.24, subdivision 10, is amended to read:
427.29	Subd. 10. Caregiver requests for reassessments. (a) A caregiver may initiate a
427.30	reassessment request for an eligible child in writing to the financially responsible agency
427.31	or, if there is no financially responsible agency, the agency designated by the commissioner.
427.32	The written request must include the reason for the request and the name, address, and

427.33 contact information of the caregivers. The caregiver may request a reassessment if at least

six months have elapsed since any previous assessment or reassessment. For an eligible foster child, a foster parent may request reassessment in less than six months with written documentation that there have been significant changes in the child's needs that necessitate an earlier reassessment.

- (b) A caregiver may request a reassessment of an at-risk child for whom an adoption assistance agreement has been executed if the caregiver has satisfied the commissioner with written documentation from a qualified expert that the potential disability upon which eligibility for the agreement was based has manifested itself, consistent with section 256N.25, subdivision 3, paragraph (b).
- 428.10 (c) If the reassessment cannot be completed within 30 days of the caregiver's request, the agency responsible for reassessment must notify the caregiver of the reason for the delay 428.11 and a reasonable estimate of when the reassessment can be completed. 428 12
- (d) Notwithstanding any provision to the contrary in paragraph (a) or subdivision 9, 428.13 when a Northstar kinship assistance agreement or adoption assistance agreement under 428.14 section 256N.25 has been signed by all parties, no reassessment may be requested or 428.15 conducted until the court finalizes the transfer of permanent legal and physical custody or 428.16 finalizes the adoption, or the assistance agreement expires according to section 256N.25, 428.17 subdivision 1. 428 18
- Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256N.26, subdivision 15, is amended to read: 428.19
- Subd. 15. Payments. (a) Payments to caregivers or youth under Northstar Care for 428.20 Children must be made monthly. Consistent with section 256N.24, subdivision 13, the 428.21 financially responsible agency must send the caregiver or youth the required written notice 428.22 within 15 days of a completed assessment or reassessment. 428.23
- (b) Unless paragraph (c) or, (d), or (e) applies, the financially responsible agency shall 428.24 pay foster parents directly for eligible children in foster care. 428.25
- (c) When the legally responsible agency is different than the financially responsible 428.27 agency, the legally responsible agency may make the payments to the caregiver or youth, provided payments are made on a timely basis. The financially responsible agency must 428.28 pay the legally responsible agency on a timely basis. Caregivers must have access to the 428.29 financially and legally responsible agencies' records of the transaction, consistent with the 428.30 retention schedule for the payments. 428.31
- (d) For eligible children in foster care, the financially responsible agency may pay the 428.32 foster parent's payment for a licensed child-placing agency instead of paying the foster 428.33

428.1

428.2

428.3

428.4

428.5

428.6

428.7

428.8

428.9

parents directly. The licensed child-placing agency must timely pay the foster parents and maintain records of the transaction. Caregivers must have access to the financially responsible agency's records of the transaction and the child-placing agency's records of the transaction, consistent with the retention schedule for the payments.

- (e) If a foster youth aged 18 to 21 years old is placed in an unlicensed supervised independent living setting, payments must be made directly to the youth or to a vendor if the legally responsible agency determines it to be in the youth's best interests. If the legally responsible agency has reason to believe that the youth is being financially exploited or at risk of being financially exploited in the approved unlicensed supervised independent living setting, the legally responsible agency shall advise the financially responsible agency to make the payments to a vendor.
- Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256N.26, subdivision 16, is amended to read:
- Subd. 16. **Effect of benefit on other aid.** Payments received under this section must not be considered as income for child care assistance under chapter 119B or any other financial benefit. Consistent with section 256J.24, a child <u>or youth receiving a maintenance</u> payment under Northstar Care for Children is excluded from any Minnesota family investment program assistance unit.
- Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256N.26, subdivision 18, is amended to read:
- Subd. 18. **Overpayments.** The commissioner has the authority to collect any amount of foster care payment, adoption assistance, or Northstar kinship assistance paid to a caregiver or youth in excess of the payment due. Payments covered by this subdivision include basic maintenance needs payments, supplemental difficulty of care payments, and reimbursement of home and vehicle modifications under subdivision 10. Prior to any collection, the commissioner or the commissioner's designee shall notify the caregiver or youth in writing, including:
- 429.26 (1) the amount of the overpayment and an explanation of the cause of overpayment;
- 429.27 (2) clarification of the corrected amount;
- 429.28 (3) a statement of the legal authority for the decision;
- (4) information about how the caregiver can correct the overpayment;
- 429.30 (5) if repayment is required, when the payment is due and a person to contact to review 429.31 a repayment plan;

429.1

429.2

429.3

429.4

429.5

429.6

429.7

429.8

429.9

429.10

(6) a statement that the caregiver or youth has a right to a fair hearing review by the 430.1 430.2 department; and 430.3 (7) the procedure for seeking a fair hearing review by the department. Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256N.26, subdivision 21, is amended to read: 430.4 Subd. 21. Correct and true information. The caregiver or youth must be investigated 430.5 for fraud if the caregiver or youth reports information the caregiver or youth knows is untrue, 430.6 the caregiver or youth fails to notify the commissioner of changes that may affect eligibility, 430.7 or the agency administering the program receives relevant information that the caregiver 430.8 or youth did not report. 430.9 Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256N.26, subdivision 22, is amended to read: 430.10 Subd. 22. **Termination notice for caregiver or youth.** The agency that issues the 430.11 maintenance payment shall provide the child's caregiver or the youth with written notice of 430.12 termination of payment. Termination notices must be sent at least 15 days before the final 430.13 payment or, in the case of an unplanned termination, the notice is sent within three days of the end of the payment. The written notice must minimally include the following: 430.15 (1) the date payment will end; 430.16 (2) the reason payments will end and the event that is the basis to terminate payment; 430.17 (3) a statement that the provider caregiver or youth has a right to a fair hearing review 430.18 by the department consistent with section 256.045, subdivision 3; 430.19 (4) the procedure to request a fair hearing; and 430.20 (5) the name, telephone number, and email address of a contact person at the agency. 430.21 Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256P.05, is amended by adding a subdivision 430.22 to read: 430.23 Subd. 4. **Rental income.** Rental income is subject to the requirements of this section. 430.24 Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 256P.06, subdivision 3, is amended 430.25 to read: 430.26 Subd. 3. **Income inclusions.** The following must be included in determining the income 430.27 of an assistance unit: 430.28

430.29

(1) earned income; and

- (2) unearned income, which includes: 431.1
- (i) interest and dividends from investments and savings; 431.2
- (ii) capital gains as defined by the Internal Revenue Service from any sale of real property; 431.3
- (iii) proceeds from rent and contract for deed payments in excess of the principal and 431.4
- interest portion owed on property; 431.5
- 431.6 (iv) income from trusts, excluding special needs and supplemental needs trusts;
- (v) interest income from loans made by the participant or household; 431.7
- (vi) cash prizes and winnings; 431.8
- (vii) unemployment insurance income that is received by an adult member of the 431.9 assistance unit unless the individual receiving unemployment insurance income is: 431.10
- (A) 18 years of age and enrolled in a secondary school; or 431.11
- (B) 18 or 19 years of age, a caregiver, and is enrolled in school at least half-time; 431.12
- (viii) for the purposes of programs under chapters 256D and 256I, retirement, survivors, 431.13
- and disability insurance payments; 431.14
- (ix) retirement benefits; 431.15
- (x) cash assistance benefits, as defined by each program in chapters 119B, 256D, 256I, 431.16 and 256J; 431.17
- (xi) income from members of the United States armed forces unless excluded from 431.18 income taxes according to federal or state law; 431.19
- (xii) for the purposes of programs under chapters 119B, 256D, and 256I, all child support 431.20 payments; 431.21
- (xiii) for the purposes of programs under chapter 256J, the amount of child support 431.22 received that exceeds \$100 for assistance units with one child and \$200 for assistance units
- with two or more children; 431.24
- (xiv) spousal support; 431.25
- (xv) workers' compensation; and 431.26
- (xvi) for the purposes of programs under chapters 119B and 256J, the amount of 431.27 retirement, survivors, and disability insurance payments that exceeds the applicable monthly 431.28 federal maximum Supplemental Security Income payments.

Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 259.37, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Disclosure to birth parents and adoptive parents. An agency shall provide a disclosure statement written in clear, plain language to be signed by the prospective adoptive parents and birth parents, except that in intercountry adoptions, the signatures of birth parents are not required. The disclosure statement must contain the following information:

- (1) fees charged to the adoptive parent, including any policy on sliding scale fees or fee waivers and an itemization of the amount that will be charged for the adoption study, counseling, postplacement services, family of origin searches, birth parent expenses authorized under section 259.55, or any other services;
 - (2) timeline for the adoptive parent to make fee payments;

432.1

432.2

432.3

432.4

432.5

432.6

432.7

432.8

432.9

432.10

432.11

432.12

432.13

432.14

432.15

432.16

432.17

432.19

432.20

432.21

432.23

432.24

432.25

432.26

432.27

- (3) likelihood, given the circumstances of the prospective adoptive parent and any specific program to which the prospective adoptive parent is applying, that an adoptive placement may be made and the estimated length of time for making an adoptive placement. These estimates must be based on adoptive placements made with prospective parents in similar circumstances applying to a similar program with the agency during the immediately preceding three to five years. If an agency has not been in operation for at least three years, it must provide summary data based on whatever adoptive placements it has made and may include a statement about the kind of efforts it will make to achieve an adoptive placement, including a timetable it will follow in seeking a child. The estimates must include a statement that the agency cannot guarantee placement of a child or a time by which a child will be placed; 432.22
 - (4) a statement of the services the agency will provide the birth and adoptive parents;
 - (5) a statement prepared by the commissioner under section 259.39 that explains the child placement and adoption process and the respective legal rights and responsibilities of the birth parent and prospective adoptive parent during the process including a statement that the prospective adoptive parent is responsible for filing an adoption petition not later than 12 months after the child is placed in the prospective adoptive home;
- (6) a statement regarding any information the agency may have about attorney referral 432.29 services, or about obtaining assistance with completing legal requirements for an adoption; 432.30 and 432.31
- (7) a statement regarding the right of an adopted person to request and obtain a copy of 432.32 the adopted person's original birth record at the age and circumstances specified in section 432.33

144.2253 and the right of the birth parent named on the adopted person's original birth 433.1 record to file a contact preference form with the state registrar pursuant to section 144.2253; 433.2 433.3 and (7) (8) an acknowledgment to be signed by the birth parent and prospective adoptive 433.4 433.5 parent that they have received, read, and had the opportunity to ask questions of the agency about the contents of the disclosure statement. 433.6 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2024. 433.7 Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 259.53, is amended by adding a subdivision to 433.8 read: 433.9 Subd. 7. Supportive parenting services for parents with disabilities. (a) A court or 433.10 agency shall not deny a prospective parent the ability to proceed with an adoption due to 433.11 the prospective parent's disability. A person who raises a prospective parent's disability as 433.12 433.13 a basis for denying an adoption has the burden to prove by clear and convincing evidence that specific behaviors of the prospective parent would endanger the health or safety of the child. If the person meets the burden, the prospective parent with a disability shall have the 433.15 opportunity to demonstrate how implementing supportive services would alleviate any 433.16 concerns. 433.17 433.18 (b) The court may require the agency that conducted the postplacement assessment and filed the report with the court under subdivision 2 to provide the opportunity to use supportive 433.19 parenting services to a prospective parent, conduct a new postplacement assessment that is 433.20 inclusive of the prospective parent's use of supportive parenting services, and file a revised 433.21 report with the court under subdivision 2. This paragraph does not confer additional 433.22 responsibility to the agency to provide supportive parenting services directly to the 433.23 prospective parent. Within a reasonable period of time, the prospective parent has the right 433.24 433.25 to a court hearing to review the need for continuing services. (c) If a court denies or limits the ability of a prospective parent with a disability to adopt 433.26 a child, the court shall make specific written findings stating the basis for the determination 433.27 and why providing supportive parenting services is not a reasonable accommodation that could prevent the denial or limitation. 433.29 (d) For purposes of this subdivision, "disability" and "supportive parenting services" 433.30 have the meanings given in section 260C.201, subdivision 13. 433.31 433.32 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2024, and applies to pleadings and motions pending on or after that date. 433.33

Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 259.79, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. **Content.** (a) The adoption records of the commissioner's agents and licensed child-placing agencies shall contain copies of all relevant legal documents, responsibly collected genetic, medical and social history of the child and the child's birth parents, the child's placement record, copies of all pertinent agreements, contracts, and correspondence relevant to the adoption, and copies of all reports and recommendations made to the court.

- (b) The commissioner of human services shall maintain a permanent record of all adoptions granted in district court in Minnesota regarding children who are:
- 434.10 (1) under guardianship of the commissioner or a licensed child-placing agency according to section 260C.317 or 260C.515, subdivision 3;
- 434.12 (2) placed by the commissioner, commissioner's agent, or licensed child-placing agency 434.13 after a consent to adopt according to section 259.24 or under an agreement conferring 434.14 authority to place for adoption according to section 259.25; or
- 434.15 (3) adopted after a direct adoptive placement approved by the district court under section 434.16 259.47.
- Each record shall contain identifying information about the child, the birth or legal parents, and adoptive parents, including race where such data is available. The record must also contain: (1) the date the child was legally freed for adoption; (2) the date of the adoptive placement; (3) the name of the placing agency; (4) the county where the adoptive placement occurred; (5) the date that the petition to adopt was filed; (6) the county where the petition to adopt was filed; and (7) the date and county where the adoption decree was granted.
- (c) Identifying information contained in the adoption record shall <u>must</u> be confidential and shall <u>must</u> be disclosed only pursuant to section 259.61 or, for adoption records maintained by the commissioner of human services, upon request from the commissioner of health or state registrar pursuant to sections 144.2252 and 144.2253.
- Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 259.83, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
- Subdivision 1. **Services provided.** (a) Agencies shall provide assistance and counseling services upon receiving a request for current information from adoptive parents, birth parents, or adopted persons aged 18 years of age and older, or adult siblings of adopted persons.

 The agency shall contact the other adult persons or the adoptive parents of a minor child in a personal and confidential manner to determine whether there is a desire to receive or share

434.2

434.3

434.4

434.5

434.6

434.7

434.8

information or to have contact. If there is such a desire, the agency shall provide the services requested. The agency shall provide services to adult genetic siblings if there is no known violation of the confidentiality of a birth parent or if the birth parent gives written consent complete the search request within six months of the request being made. If the agency is unable to complete the search request within the specified time frame, the agency shall inform the requester of the status of the request and include a reasonable estimate of when the request can be completed.

- (b) Upon a request for assistance or services from an adoptive parent of a minor child, birth parent, or an adopted person 18 years of age or older, the agency must inform the person:
- (1) about the right of an adopted person to request and obtain a copy of the adopted person's original birth record at the age and circumstances specified in section 144.2253; and
- 435.14 (2) about the right of the birth parent named on the adopted person's original birth record 435.15 to file a contact preference form with the state registrar pursuant to section 144.2253.
- 435.16 In When making or supervising an adoptive placements placement, the agency must provide 435.17 in writing to the birth parents listed on the original birth record the information required 435.18 under this section paragraph and section 259.37, subdivision 2, clause (7).
- Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 259.83, subdivision 1b, is amended to read:
- Subd. 1b. Genetic Siblings. (a) A person who is at least 18 years of age who was adopted or, because of a termination of parental rights, who was committed to the guardianship of the commissioner of human services, whether adopted or and not, adopted must upon request be advised of other siblings who were adopted or who were committed to the guardianship of the commissioner of human services and not adopted.
- (b) The agency must provide assistance must be provided by the county or placing agency

 of to the person requesting information to the extent that information is available in the

 existing records at the Department of Human Services required to be kept under section

 259.79. If the sibling received services from another agency, the agencies must share

 necessary information in order to locate the other siblings and to offer services, as requested.

 Upon the determination that parental rights with respect to another sibling were terminated,

 identifying information and contact must be provided only upon mutual consent. A reasonable

 fee may be imposed by the county or placing agency.

435.1

435.2

435.3

435.4

435.5

435.6

435.7

435.8

435.9

Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 259.83, subdivision 3a, is amended to read:

- Subd. 3a. **Birth parent identifying information.** (a) This subdivision applies to adoptive placements where an adopted person does not have a record of live birth registered in this state. Upon written request by an adopted person 18 years of age or older, the agency responsible for or supervising the placement must provide to the requester the following identifying information related to the birth parents listed on that adopted person's original birth record, to the extent the information is available:
- 436.9 (1) each of the birth parent's names; and

436.3

436.4

436.5

436.6

436.7

- 436.10 (2) each of the birth parent's birthdate and birthplace.
- (b) The agency may charge a reasonable fee to the requester for providing the required information under paragraph (a).
- 436.13 (c) The agency, acting in good faith and in a lawful manner in disclosing the identifying 436.14 information under this subdivision, is not civilly liable for such disclosure.
- Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 259.83, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
- Subd. 4. **Confidentiality.** Agencies shall provide adoptive parents, birth parents and adult siblings, and adopted persons aged <u>19 18</u> years and over reasonable assistance in a manner consistent with state and federal laws, rules, and regulations regarding the confidentiality and privacy of child welfare and adoption records.
- Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260C.007, subdivision 6, is amended to read:
- Subd. 6. **Child in need of protection or services.** "Child in need of protection or services" means a child who is in need of protection or services because the child:
- 436.23 (1) is abandoned or without parent, guardian, or custodian;
- (2)(i) has been a victim of physical or sexual abuse as defined in section 260E.03, subdivision 18 or 20, (ii) resides with or has resided with a victim of child abuse as defined in subdivision 5 or domestic child abuse as defined in subdivision 13, (iii) resides with or would reside with a perpetrator of domestic child abuse as defined in subdivision 13 or child abuse as defined in subdivision 5 or 13, or (iv) is a victim of emotional maltreatment as defined in subdivision 15;

(3) is without necessary food, clothing, shelter, education, or other required care for the child's physical or mental health or morals because the child's parent, guardian, or custodian is unable or unwilling to provide that care;

- (4) is without the special care made necessary by a physical, mental, or emotional condition because the child's parent, guardian, or custodian is unable or unwilling to provide that care;
- (5) is medically neglected, which includes, but is not limited to, the withholding of medically indicated treatment from an infant with a disability with a life-threatening condition. The term "withholding of medically indicated treatment" means the failure to respond to the infant's life-threatening conditions by providing treatment, including appropriate nutrition, hydration, and medication which, in the treating physician's, advanced practice registered nurse's, or physician assistant's reasonable medical judgment, will be most likely to be effective in ameliorating or correcting all conditions, except that the term does not include the failure to provide treatment other than appropriate nutrition, hydration, or medication to an infant when, in the treating physician's, advanced practice registered nurse's, or physician assistant's reasonable medical judgment:
- 437.17 (i) the infant is chronically and irreversibly comatose;

437.1

437.2

437.3

437.4

437.5

437.6

437.7

437.8

437.9

437.10

437.11

437.12

437.13

437.14

437.15

437.16

- 437.18 (ii) the provision of the treatment would merely prolong dying, not be effective in 437.19 ameliorating or correcting all of the infant's life-threatening conditions, or otherwise be 437.20 futile in terms of the survival of the infant; or
- 437.21 (iii) the provision of the treatment would be virtually futile in terms of the survival of 437.22 the infant and the treatment itself under the circumstances would be inhumane;
- 437.23 (6) is one whose parent, guardian, or other custodian for good cause desires to be relieved 437.24 of the child's care and custody, including a child who entered foster care under a voluntary 437.25 placement agreement between the parent and the responsible social services agency under 437.26 section 260C.227;
 - (7) has been placed for adoption or care in violation of law;
- (8) is without proper parental care because of the emotional, mental, or physical disability,
 or state of immaturity of the child's parent, guardian, or other custodian. A child is not
 considered to be without proper parental care based solely on the disability of the child's
 parent, guardian, or custodian;

(9) is one whose behavior, condition, or environment is such as to be injurious or 438.1 dangerous to the child or others. An injurious or dangerous environment may include, but 438.2 438.3 is not limited to, the exposure of a child to criminal activity in the child's home; (10) is experiencing growth delays, which may be referred to as failure to thrive, that 438.4 have been diagnosed by a physician and are due to parental neglect; 438.5 (11) is a sexually exploited youth; 438.6 438.7 (12) has committed a delinquent act or a juvenile petty offense before becoming ten years old; 438.8 438.9 (13) is a runaway; (14) is a habitual truant; 438.10 (15) has been found incompetent to proceed or has been found not guilty by reason of 438.11 mental illness or mental deficiency in connection with a delinquency proceeding, a 438.12 certification under section 260B.125, an extended jurisdiction juvenile prosecution, or a proceeding involving a juvenile petty offense; or 438.14 (16) has a parent whose parental rights to one or more other children were involuntarily 438.15 terminated or whose custodial rights to another child have been involuntarily transferred to 438.16 a relative and there is a case plan prepared by the responsible social services agency documenting a compelling reason why filing the termination of parental rights petition under 438.18 section 260C.503, subdivision 2, is not in the best interests of the child. 438.19 Sec. 32. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260C.178, subdivision 7, is amended to read: 438.20 Subd. 7. Out-of-home placement Case plan. (a) When the court has ordered the child 438.21 into the care of a parent under subdivision 1, paragraph (c), clause (1), the child protective 438.22 services plan under section 260E.26 must be filed within 30 days of the filing of the juvenile 438.23 protection petition under section 260C.141, subdivision 1. 438.24 (a) (b) When the court orders the child into foster care under subdivision 1, paragraph 438.25 438.26 (c), clause (2), and not into the care of a parent, an out-of-home placement plan required under section 260C.212 shall must be filed with the court within 30 days of the filing of a 438.27 juvenile protection petition under section 260C.141, subdivision 1, when the court orders 438.28 emergency removal of the child under this section, or filed with the petition if the petition 438.29 is a review of a voluntary placement under section 260C.141, subdivision 2. 438.30

438.31

438.32

out-of-home placement plan which that has been developed jointly with the parent and in

(b) (c) Upon the filing of the child protective services plan under section 260E.26 or

consultation with others as required under section 260C.212, subdivision 1, the court may approve implementation of the plan by the responsible social services agency based on the allegations contained in the petition and any evaluations, examinations, or assessments conducted under subdivision 1, paragraph (1) (m). The court shall send written notice of the approval of the child protective services plan or out-of-home placement plan to all parties and the county attorney or may state such approval on the record at a hearing. A parent may agree to comply with the terms of the plan filed with the court.

(e) (d) The responsible social services agency shall make reasonable efforts to engage both parents of the child in case planning. The responsible social service agency shall report the results of its efforts to engage the child's parents in the child protective services plan or out-of-home placement plan filed with the court. The agency shall notify the court of the services it will provide or efforts it will attempt under the plan notwithstanding the parent's refusal to cooperate or disagreement with the services. The parent may ask the court to modify the plan to require different or additional services requested by the parent, but which the agency refused to provide. The court may approve the plan as presented by the agency or may modify the plan to require services requested by the parent. The court's approval shall must be based on the content of the petition.

(d) (e) Unless the parent agrees to comply with the terms of the child protective services plan or out-of-home placement plan, the court may not order a parent to comply with the provisions of the plan until the court finds the child is in need of protection or services and orders disposition under section 260C.201, subdivision 1. However, the court may find that the responsible social services agency has made reasonable efforts for reunification if the agency makes efforts to implement the terms of an the child protective services plan or out-of-home placement plan approved under this section.

Sec. 33. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260C.201, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

Subd. 13. Supportive parenting services. (a) A person or agency shall not file a petition alleging that a child is in need of protection or services on the basis of a parent's disability. To make a prima facie showing that a child protection matter exists, the petitioner must demonstrate in the petition that the child is in need of protection or services due to specific behaviors of a parent or household member. The local agency or court must offer a parent with a disability the opportunity to use supportive parenting services to assist the parent if the petitioner makes a prima facie showing that through specific behaviors, a parent with a disability cannot provide for the child's safety, health, or welfare. If a court removes a child

439.1

439.2

439.3

439.4

439.5

439.6

439.7

439.8

439.9

439.10

439.11

439.12

439.13

439.14

439.15

439.16

439.17

439.18

439.19

439.20

439.21

439.22

439.23

439.24

439.27

439.28

439.29

439.30

439.31

439.32

439.33

140.1	from a parent's home, the court shall make specific written findings stating the basis for
140.2	removing the child and why providing supportive parenting services is not a reasonable
140.3	accommodation that could prevent the child's out-of-home placement.
140.4	(b) For purposes of this subdivision, "supportive parenting services" means services that
140.5	may assist a parent with a disability in the effective use of techniques and methods to enable
140.6	the parent to discharge the parent's responsibilities to a child as successfully as a parent who
140.7	does not have a disability, including nonvisual techniques for a parent who is blind.
140.8	(c) For purposes of this subdivision, "disability" means:
140.9	(1) physical or mental impairment that substantially limits one or more of a parent's
140.10	major life activities;
140.11	(2) a record of having a physical or mental impairment that substantially limits one or
140.12	more of a parent's major life activities; or
140.13	(3) being regarded as having a physical or mental impairment that substantially limits
140.14	one or more of a parent's major life activities.
140.15	(d) The term "disability" must be construed in accordance with the ADA Amendments
140.16	Act of 2008, Public Law 110-325.
140.17	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2024, and applies to pleadings
140.18	and motions pending on or after that date.
140.19	Sec. 34. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260C.202, is amended to read:
140.20	260C.202 COURT REVIEW OF FOSTER CARE <u>DISPOSITION</u> .
140.21	Subdivision 1. Court review for a child in the home of a parent under protective
140.22	supervision. If the court orders a child into the home of a parent under the protective
140.23	supervision of the responsible social services agency or child-placing agency under section
140.24	260C.201, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), clause (1), the court shall review the child protective
140.25	services plan under section 260E.26 at least every 90 days. The court shall notify the parents
140.26	of the provisions of sections 260C.503 to 260C.521, as required under juvenile court rules.
140.27	Subd. 2. Court review for a child placed in foster care. (a) If the court orders a child
140.28	placed in foster care, the court shall review the out-of-home placement plan and the child's
140.29	placement at least every 90 days as required in juvenile court rules to determine whether
140.30	continued out-of-home placement is necessary and appropriate or whether the child should
140.31	be returned home.

(b) This review is not required if the court has returned the child home, ordered the child permanently placed away from the parent under sections 260C.503 to 260C.521, or terminated rights under section 260C.301. Court review for a child permanently placed away from a parent, including where the child is under guardianship of the commissioner, shall be is governed by section 260C.607.

- (c) When a child is placed in a qualified residential treatment program setting as defined in section 260C.007, subdivision 26d, the responsible social services agency must submit evidence to the court as specified in section 260C.712.
- (b) (d) No later than three months after the child's placement in foster care, the court 441.9 shall review agency efforts to search for and notify relatives pursuant to section 260C.221, 441.10 and order that the agency's efforts begin immediately, or continue, if the agency has failed 441.11 to perform, or has not adequately performed, the duties under that section. The court must 441.12 order the agency to continue to appropriately engage relatives who responded to the notice 441.13 under section 260C.221 in placement and case planning decisions and to consider relatives 441.14 for foster care placement consistent with section 260C.221. Notwithstanding a court's finding 441.15 that the agency has made reasonable efforts to search for and notify relatives under section 260C.221, the court may order the agency to continue making reasonable efforts to search 441.17 for, notify, engage, and consider relatives who came to the agency's attention after sending 441.18 the initial notice under section 260C.221. 441.19
- 441.20 (e) (e) The court shall review the out-of-home placement plan and may modify the plan as provided under section 260C.201, subdivisions 6 and 7.
- 441.22 (d) (f) When the court transfers the custody of a child to a responsible social services agency resulting in foster care or protective supervision with a noncustodial parent under subdivision 1, the court shall notify the parents of the provisions of sections 260C.204 and 260C.503 to 260C.521, as required under juvenile court rules.
- (e) (g) When a child remains in or returns to foster care pursuant to section 260C.451 and the court has jurisdiction pursuant to section 260C.193, subdivision 6, paragraph (c), the court shall at least annually conduct the review required under section 260C.203.
- Sec. 35. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260C.209, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
- Subdivision 1. **Subjects.** The responsible social services agency may have access to the criminal history and history of child and adult maltreatment on the following individuals:
- (1) a noncustodial parent or nonadjudicated parent who is being assessed for purposes of providing day-to-day care of a child temporarily or permanently under section 260C.219

441.1

441.2

441.3

441.4

441.5

441.6

441.7

and any member of the parent's household who is over the age of 13 when there is a 442.1 reasonable cause to believe that the parent or household member over age 13 has a criminal 442.2 442.3 history or a history of maltreatment of a child or vulnerable adult which that would endanger the child's health, safety, or welfare; 442.4 442.5 (2) an individual whose suitability for relative placement under section 260C.221 is being determined and any member of the relative's individual's household who is over the 442.6 age of 13 when: 442.7 (i) the relative must be licensed for foster care; or 442.8 (i) the individual is being considered for relative placement under section 260C.221; 442.9 (ii) the background study is required under section 259.53, subdivision 2; or 442.10 (iii) the agency or the commissioner has reasonable cause to believe the relative or 442.11 household member over the age of 13 has a criminal history which would not make a petition 442.12 to transfer of permanent legal and physical custody to the relative under individual has been 442.13 filed according to section 260C.515, subdivision 4, in the child's best interest paragraph (d), 442.14 and the individual is not pursuing Northstar kinship assistance eligibility for the child under 442.15 chapter 256N; and 442.16 (3) a parent, following an out-of-home placement, when the responsible social services 442.17 agency has reasonable cause to believe that the parent has been convicted of a crime directly 442.18 related to the parent's capacity to maintain the child's health, safety, or welfare or the parent is the subject of an open investigation of, or has been the subject of a substantiated allegation 442.20 of, child or vulnerable-adult maltreatment within the past ten years. 442.21 "Reasonable cause" means that the agency has received information or a report from the 442.22 subject or a third person that creates an articulable suspicion that the individual has a history 442.23 that may pose a risk to the health, safety, or welfare of the child. The information or report 442.24 442.25 must be specific to the potential subject of the background check and shall must not be based on the race, religion, ethnic background, age, class, or lifestyle of the potential subject. 442.26 Sec. 36. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260C.212, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 442.27 Subdivision 1. Out-of-home placement; plan. (a) An out-of-home placement plan shall 442.28 442.29 be prepared within 30 days after any child is placed in foster care by court order or a voluntary placement agreement between the responsible social services agency and the 442.30 child's parent pursuant to section 260C.227 or chapter 260D. 442.31

(b) An out-of-home placement plan means a written document individualized to the needs of the child and the child's parents or guardians that is prepared by the responsible social services agency jointly with the child's parents or guardians and in consultation with the child's guardian ad litem; the child's tribe, if the child is an Indian child; the child's foster parent or representative of the foster care facility; and, when appropriate, the child. When a child is age 14 or older, the child may include two other individuals on the team preparing the child's out-of-home placement plan. The child may select one member of the case planning team to be designated as the child's advisor and to advocate with respect to the application of the reasonable and prudent parenting standards. The responsible social services agency may reject an individual selected by the child if the agency has good cause to believe that the individual would not act in the best interest of the child. For a child in voluntary foster care for treatment under chapter 260D, preparation of the out-of-home placement plan shall additionally include the child's mental health treatment provider. For a child 18 years of age or older, the responsible social services agency shall involve the child and the child's parents as appropriate. As appropriate, the plan shall be:

- (1) submitted to the court for approval under section 260C.178, subdivision 7;
- (2) ordered by the court, either as presented or modified after hearing, under section 260C.178, subdivision 7, or 260C.201, subdivision 6; and
- (3) signed by the parent or parents or guardian of the child, the child's guardian ad litem, a representative of the child's tribe, the responsible social services agency, and, if possible, the child.
 - (c) The out-of-home placement plan shall be explained by the responsible social services agency to all persons involved in the plan's implementation, including the child who has signed the plan, and shall set forth:
- (1) a description of the foster care home or facility selected, including how the out-of-home placement plan is designed to achieve a safe placement for the child in the least restrictive, most family-like setting available that is in close proximity to the home of the child's parents or guardians when the case plan goal is reunification; and how the placement is consistent with the best interests and special needs of the child according to the factors under subdivision 2, paragraph (b);
- (2) the specific reasons for the placement of the child in foster care, and when reunification is the plan, a description of the problems or conditions in the home of the parent or parents that necessitated removal of the child from home and the changes the parent or parents must make for the child to safely return home;

443.1

443.2

443.3

443.4

443.5

443.6

443.7

443.8

443.9

443.10

443.11

443.12

443.13

443.14

443.15

443.22

443.23

(3) a description of the services offered and provided to prevent removal of the child from the home and to reunify the family including:

- (i) the specific actions to be taken by the parent or parents of the child to eliminate or correct the problems or conditions identified in clause (2), and the time period during which the actions are to be taken; and
- (ii) the reasonable efforts, or in the case of an Indian child, active efforts to be made to achieve a safe and stable home for the child including social and other supportive services to be provided or offered to the parent or parents or guardian of the child, the child, and the residential facility during the period the child is in the residential facility;
- (4) a description of any services or resources that were requested by the child or the child's parent, guardian, foster parent, or custodian since the date of the child's placement 444.11 in the residential facility, and whether those services or resources were provided and if not, the basis for the denial of the services or resources; 444.13
 - (5) the visitation plan for the parent or parents or guardian, other relatives as defined in section 260C.007, subdivision 26b or 27, and siblings of the child if the siblings are not placed together in foster care, and whether visitation is consistent with the best interest of the child, during the period the child is in foster care;
 - (6) when a child cannot return to or be in the care of either parent, documentation of steps to finalize adoption as the permanency plan for the child through reasonable efforts to place the child for adoption pursuant to section 260C.605. At a minimum, the documentation must include consideration of whether adoption is in the best interests of the child and child-specific recruitment efforts such as a relative search, consideration of relatives for adoptive placement, and the use of state, regional, and national adoption exchanges to facilitate orderly and timely placements in and outside of the state. A copy of this documentation shall be provided to the court in the review required under section 260C.317, subdivision 3, paragraph (b);
 - (7) when a child cannot return to or be in the care of either parent, documentation of steps to finalize the transfer of permanent legal and physical custody to a relative as the permanency plan for the child. This documentation must support the requirements of the kinship placement agreement under section 256N.22 and must include the reasonable efforts used to determine that it is not appropriate for the child to return home or be adopted, and reasons why permanent placement with a relative through a Northstar kinship assistance arrangement is in the child's best interest; how the child meets the eligibility requirements for Northstar kinship assistance payments; agency efforts to discuss adoption with the child's

444.1

444.2

444.3

444.4

444.5

444.6

444.7

444.8

444.9

444.10

444.12

444.14

444.15

444.16

444.17

444 18

444.19

444.20

444.21

444.23

444.24

444.25

444.26

444.27

444.28

444.29

444.30

444.31

444.32

444.33

relative foster parent and reasons why the relative foster parent chose not to pursue adoption, if applicable; and agency efforts to discuss with the child's parent or parents the permanent transfer of permanent legal and physical custody or the reasons why these efforts were not made;

- (8) efforts to ensure the child's educational stability while in foster care for a child who attained the minimum age for compulsory school attendance under state law and is enrolled full time in elementary or secondary school, or instructed in elementary or secondary education at home, or instructed in an independent study elementary or secondary program, or incapable of attending school on a full-time basis due to a medical condition that is documented and supported by regularly updated information in the child's case plan. Educational stability efforts include:
- (i) efforts to ensure that the child remains in the same school in which the child was
 enrolled prior to placement or upon the child's move from one placement to another, including
 efforts to work with the local education authorities to ensure the child's educational stability
 and attendance; or
- (ii) if it is not in the child's best interest to remain in the same school that the child was enrolled in prior to placement or move from one placement to another, efforts to ensure immediate and appropriate enrollment for the child in a new school;
- (9) the educational records of the child including the most recent information available regarding:
- (i) the names and addresses of the child's educational providers;
- 445.22 (ii) the child's grade level performance;
- 445.23 (iii) the child's school record;

445.1

445.2

445.3

445.4

445.5

445.6

445.7

445.8

445.9

445.10

- (iv) a statement about how the child's placement in foster care takes into account proximity to the school in which the child is enrolled at the time of placement; and
- (v) any other relevant educational information;
- (10) the efforts by the responsible social services agency to ensure the oversight and continuity of health care services for the foster child, including:
- (i) the plan to schedule the child's initial health screens;
- (ii) how the child's known medical problems and identified needs from the screens, including any known communicable diseases, as defined in section 144.4172, subdivision 2, shall be monitored and treated while the child is in foster care;

(iii) how the child's medical information shall be updated and shared, including the 446.1 child's immunizations; 446.2 (iv) who is responsible to coordinate and respond to the child's health care needs, 446.3 including the role of the parent, the agency, and the foster parent; 446.4 446.5 (v) who is responsible for oversight of the child's prescription medications; (vi) how physicians or other appropriate medical and nonmedical professionals shall be 446.6 446.7 consulted and involved in assessing the health and well-being of the child and determine the appropriate medical treatment for the child; and 446.8 (vii) the responsibility to ensure that the child has access to medical care through either 446.9 medical insurance or medical assistance; 446.10 (11) the health records of the child including information available regarding: 446.11 (i) the names and addresses of the child's health care and dental care providers; 446.12 (ii) a record of the child's immunizations; 446.13 (iii) the child's known medical problems, including any known communicable diseases 446.14 as defined in section 144.4172, subdivision 2; 446.15 (iv) the child's medications; and 446.16 (v) any other relevant health care information such as the child's eligibility for medical 446.17 insurance or medical assistance: 446.18 (12) an independent living plan for a child 14 years of age or older, developed in 446.19 consultation with the child. The child may select one member of the case planning team to be designated as the child's advisor and to advocate with respect to the application of the 446.21 reasonable and prudent parenting standards in subdivision 14. The plan should include, but 446.22 not be limited to, the following objectives: 446.23 (i) educational, vocational, or employment planning; 446.24 (ii) health care planning and medical coverage; 446.25 (iii) transportation including, where appropriate, assisting the child in obtaining a driver's 446.26 license; 446.27 (iv) money management, including the responsibility of the responsible social services 446.28 agency to ensure that the child annually receives, at no cost to the child, a consumer report 446.29 as defined under section 13C.001 and assistance in interpreting and resolving any inaccuracies 446.30

in the report;

(v) planning for housing;

- (vi) social and recreational skills;
- (vii) establishing and maintaining connections with the child's family and community;
- 447.4 and

447.2

447.18

447.19

447.20

447.21

447.22

447.23

- (viii) regular opportunities to engage in age-appropriate or developmentally appropriate activities typical for the child's age group, taking into consideration the capacities of the individual child;
- 447.8 (13) for a child in voluntary foster care for treatment under chapter 260D, diagnostic and assessment information, specific services relating to meeting the mental health care needs of the child, and treatment outcomes;
- (14) for a child 14 years of age or older, a signed acknowledgment that describes the child's rights regarding education, health care, visitation, safety and protection from exploitation, and court participation; receipt of the documents identified in section 260C.452; and receipt of an annual credit report. The acknowledgment shall state that the rights were explained in an age-appropriate manner to the child; and
- (15) for a child placed in a qualified residential treatment program, the plan must include the requirements in section 260C.708.
 - (d) The parent or parents or guardian and the child each shall have the right to legal counsel in the preparation of the case plan and shall be informed of the right at the time of placement of the child. The child shall also have the right to a guardian ad litem. If unable to employ counsel from their own resources, the court shall appoint counsel upon the request of the parent or parents or the child or the child's legal guardian. The parent or parents may also receive assistance from any person or social services agency in preparation of the case plan.
- (e) Before an out-of-home placement plan is signed by the parent or parents or guardian 447.25 of the child, the responsible social services agency must provide the parent or parents or 447.26 447.27 guardian with a one- to two-page summary of the plan using a form developed by the commissioner. The out-of-home placement plan summary must clearly summarize the plan's 447.28 contents under paragraph (c) and list the requirements and responsibilities for the parent or 447.29 parents or guardian using plain language. The summary must be updated and provided to 447.30 the parent or parents or guardian when the out-of-home placement plan is updated under 447.31 subdivision 1a. 447.32

(e) (f) After the plan has been agreed upon by the parties involved or approved or ordered by the court, the foster parents shall be fully informed of the provisions of the case plan and shall be provided a copy of the plan.

(f) (g) Upon the child's discharge from foster care, the responsible social services agency must provide the child's parent, adoptive parent, or permanent legal and physical custodian, and the child, if the child is 14 years of age or older, with a current copy of the child's health and education record. If a child meets the conditions in subdivision 15, paragraph (b), the agency must also provide the child with the child's social and medical history. The responsible social services agency may give a copy of the child's health and education record and social and medical history to a child who is younger than 14 years of age, if it is appropriate and if subdivision 15, paragraph (b), applies.

- Sec. 37. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260C.212, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2. **Placement decisions based on best interests of the child.** (a) The policy of the state of Minnesota is to ensure that the child's best interests are met by requiring an individualized determination of the needs of the child in consideration of paragraphs (a) to (f), and of how the selected placement will serve the current and future needs of the child being placed. The authorized child-placing agency shall place a child, released by court order or by voluntary release by the parent or parents, in a family foster home selected by considering placement with relatives in the following order:
- 448.20 (1) with an individual who is related to the child by blood, marriage, or adoption, including the legal parent, guardian, or custodian of the child's sibling; or
- 448.22 (2) with an individual who is an important friend of the child or of the child's parent or custodian, including an individual with whom the child has resided or had significant contact or who has a significant relationship to the child or the child's parent or custodian.
- For an Indian child, the agency shall follow the order of placement preferences in the Indian Child Welfare Act of 1978, United States Code, title 25, section 1915.
- (b) Among the factors the agency shall consider in determining the current and future needs of the child are the following:
- 448.29 (1) the child's current functioning and behaviors;
- 448.30 (2) the medical needs of the child;
- 448.31 (3) the educational needs of the child;
- 448.32 (4) the developmental needs of the child;

448.1

448.2

448.3

448.4

448.5

448.6

448.7

448.8

448.9

448.10

(5) the child's history and past experience;

- (6) the child's religious and cultural needs;
- (7) the child's connection with a community, school, and faith community;
- (8) the child's interests and talents;

449.2

449.18

449.19

449.20

449.21

449.22

449.23

- (9) the child's current and long-term needs regarding relationships with parents, siblings, relatives, and other caretakers;
- (10) the reasonable preference of the child, if the court, or the child-placing agency in the case of a voluntary placement, deems the child to be of sufficient age to express preferences; and
- (11) for an Indian child, the best interests of an Indian child as defined in section 260.755, subdivision 2a.
- When placing a child in foster care or in a permanent placement based on an individualized determination of the child's needs, the agency must not use one factor in this paragraph to the exclusion of all others, and the agency shall consider that the factors in paragraph (b) may be interrelated.
- (c) Placement of a child cannot be delayed or denied based on race, color, or national origin of the foster parent or the child.
 - (d) Siblings should be placed together for foster care and adoption at the earliest possible time unless it is documented that a joint placement would be contrary to the safety or well-being of any of the siblings or unless it is not possible after reasonable efforts by the responsible social services agency. In cases where siblings cannot be placed together, the agency is required to provide frequent visitation or other ongoing interaction between siblings unless the agency documents that the interaction would be contrary to the safety or well-being of any of the siblings.
- 449.25 (e) Except for emergency placement as provided for in section 245A.035, The following requirements must be satisfied before the approval of a foster or adoptive placement in a 449.26 related or unrelated home: (1) a completed background study under section 245C.08; and 449.27 (2) a completed review of the written home study required under section 260C.215, 449.28 subdivision 4, clause (5), or 260C.611, to assess the capacity of the prospective foster or 449.29 adoptive parent to ensure the placement will meet the needs of the individual child. For 449.30 adoptive placements in a related or unrelated home, the home must meet the requirements 449.31 of section 260C.611. 449.32

450.1	(1) The agency must determine whether colocation with a parent who is receiving services
450.2	in a licensed residential family-based substance use disorder treatment program is in the
450.3	child's best interests according to paragraph (b) and include that determination in the child's
450.4	case plan under subdivision 1. The agency may consider additional factors not identified
450.5	in paragraph (b). The agency's determination must be documented in the child's case plan
450.6	before the child is colocated with a parent.
450.7	(g) The agency must establish a juvenile treatment screening team under section 260C.157
450.8	to determine whether it is necessary and appropriate to recommend placing a child in a
450.9	qualified residential treatment program, as defined in section 260C.007, subdivision 26d.
450.10	(h) A child in foster care must not be placed in an unlicensed emergency relative
450.11	placement under section 245A.035 or licensed family foster home when the responsible
450.12	social services agency is aware that a prospective foster parent, license applicant, license
450.13	holder, or adult household member has a permanent disqualification under section 245C.15,
450.14	subdivision 4a, paragraphs (a) and (b).
450.15	Sec. 38. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260C.301, subdivision 1, as amended by Laws
450.16	2024, chapter 80, article 8, section 27, is amended to read:
450.17	Subdivision 1. Voluntary and involuntary. The juvenile court may upon petition,
450.18	terminate all rights of a parent to a child:
450.19	(a) with the written consent of a parent who for good cause desires to terminate parental
450.20	rights; or
450.21	(b) if it finds that one or more of the following conditions exist:
450.22	(1) that the parent has abandoned the child;
450.23	(2) that the parent has substantially, continuously, or repeatedly refused or neglected to
450.24	comply with the duties imposed upon that parent by the parent and child relationship,
450.25	including but not limited to providing the child with necessary food, clothing, shelter,
450.26	education, and other care and control necessary for the child's physical, mental, or emotional
450.27	health and development, if the parent is physically and financially able, and either reasonable
450.28	efforts by the social services agency have failed to correct the conditions that formed the
450.29	basis of the petition or reasonable efforts would be futile and therefore unreasonable;
450.30	(3) that a parent has been ordered to contribute to the support of the child or financially
450.31	aid in the child's birth and has continuously failed to do so without good cause. This clause
450.32	shall not be construed to state a grounds for termination of parental rights of a noncustodial

parent if that parent has not been ordered to or cannot financially contribute to the support of the child or aid in the child's birth;

- (4) (3) that a parent is palpably unfit to be a party to the parent and child relationship because of a consistent pattern of specific conduct before the child or of specific conditions directly relating to the parent and child relationship either of which are determined by the court to be of a duration or nature that renders the parent unable, for the reasonably foreseeable future, to care appropriately for the ongoing physical, mental, or emotional needs of the child. It is presumed that a parent is palpably unfit to be a party to the parent and child relationship upon a showing that the parent's parental rights to one or more other children were involuntarily terminated or that the parent's custodial rights to another child have been involuntarily transferred to a relative under a juvenile protection proceeding or a similar process of another jurisdiction;
- 451.13 (5) (4) that following the child's placement out of the home, reasonable efforts, under 451.14 the direction of the court, have failed to correct the conditions leading to the child's 451.15 placement. It is presumed that reasonable efforts under this clause have failed upon a showing 451.16 that:
- (i) a child has resided out of the parental home under court order for a cumulative period of 12 months within the preceding 22 months. In the case of a child under age eight at the time the petition was filed alleging the child to be in need of protection or services, the presumption arises when the child has resided out of the parental home under court order for six months unless the parent has maintained regular contact with the child and the parent is complying with the out-of-home placement plan;
- (ii) the court has approved the out-of-home placement plan required under section 260C.212 and filed with the court under section 260C.178;
- (iii) conditions leading to the out-of-home placement have not been corrected. It is presumed that conditions leading to a child's out-of-home placement have not been corrected upon a showing that the parent or parents have not substantially complied with the court's orders and a reasonable case plan; and
- (iv) reasonable efforts have been made by the social services agency to rehabilitate the parent and reunite the family.
- This clause does not prohibit the termination of parental rights prior to one year, or in the case of a child under age eight, prior to six months after a child has been placed out of the home.

451.1

451.2

451.3

451.4

451.5

451.6

451.7

451.8

451.9

451.10

It is also presumed that reasonable efforts have failed under this clause upon a showing 452.1 that: 452.2 (A) the parent has been diagnosed as chemically dependent by a professional certified 452.3 to make the diagnosis; 452.4 452.5 (B) the parent has been required by a case plan to participate in a chemical dependency treatment program; 452.6 452.7 (C) the treatment programs offered to the parent were culturally, linguistically, and clinically appropriate; 452.8 (D) the parent has either failed two or more times to successfully complete a treatment 452.9 program or has refused at two or more separate meetings with a caseworker to participate 452.10 in a treatment program; and 452.11 (E) the parent continues to abuse chemicals. 452.12 (6) (5) that a child has experienced egregious harm in the parent's care which that is of 452.13 a nature, duration, or chronicity that indicates a lack of regard for the child's well-being, 452.14 such that a reasonable person would believe it contrary to the best interest of the child or 452.15 of any child to be in the parent's care; 452.16 (7) (6) that in the case of a child born to a mother who was not married to the child's 452.17 father when the child was conceived nor when the child was born the person is not entitled 452.18 to notice of an adoption hearing under section 259.49 and the person has not registered with 452.19 the fathers' adoption registry under section 259.52; 452.20 (8) (7) that the child is neglected and in foster care; or 452.21 (9) (8) that the parent has been convicted of a crime listed in section 260.012, paragraph 452.22 (g), clauses (1) to (5). 452.23 452.24 In an action involving an American Indian child, sections 260.751 to 260.835 and the Indian Child Welfare Act, United States Code, title 25, sections 1901 to 1923, control to 452.25 the extent that the provisions of this section are inconsistent with those laws. 452.26 Sec. 39. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260C.515, subdivision 4, is amended to read: 452.27 452.28 Subd. 4. Transfer of permanent legal and physical custody to relative. (a) The court may order a transfer of permanent legal and physical custody to: 452.29

Article 17 Sec. 39.

452.30

452.31

(1) a parent. The court must find that the parent understands a transfer of permanent

legal and physical custody includes permanent, ongoing responsibility for the protection,

153.1	education, care, and control of the child and decision making on behalf of the child until
153.2	adulthood; or
153.3	(2) a fit and willing relative in the best interests of the child according to the following
153.4	requirements: in paragraph (b).
153.5	(1) (b) An order for transfer of permanent legal and physical custody to a relative shall
153.6	must only be made after the court has reviewed the suitability of the prospective legal and
153.7	physical custodian; including a summary of information obtained from required background
153.8	studies under section 245C.33 or 260C.209, if the court finds the permanency disposition
153.9	to be in the child's best interests.
453.10	(2) In transferring permanent legal and physical custody to a relative, the juvenile court
453.11	shall follow the standards applicable under this chapter and chapter 260, and the procedures
453.12	in the Minnesota Rules of Juvenile Protection Procedure; The court must issue written
453.13	findings that include the following:
453.14	(1) the prospective legal and physical custodian understands that:
153.15	(3) (i) a transfer of permanent legal and physical custody includes permanent, ongoing
453.16	responsibility for the protection, education, care, and control of the child and decision
453.17	making on behalf of the child until adulthood; and
453.18	(4) (ii) a permanent legal and physical custodian may shall not return a child to the
153.19	permanent care of a parent from whom the court removed custody without the court's
153.20	approval and without notice to the responsible social services agency;
453.21	(2) transfer of permanent legal and physical custody and receipt of Northstar kinship
153.22	assistance under chapter 256N, when requested and the child is eligible, are in the child's
153.23	best interests;
153.24	(3) when the agency files the petition under paragraph (c) or supports the petition filed
153.25	under paragraph (d), adoption is not in the child's best interests based on the determinations
153.26	in the kinship placement agreement required under section 256N.22, subdivision 2;
153.27	(4) the agency made efforts to discuss adoption with the child's parent or parents, or the
153.28	agency did not make efforts to discuss adoption and the reasons why efforts were not made;
153.29	<u>and</u>
153.30	(5) there are reasons to separate siblings during placement, if applicable.
453.31	(5)(c) The responsible social services agency may file a petition naming a fit and willing
153.32	relative as a proposed permanent legal and physical custodian. A petition for transfer of

454.1	permanent legal and physical custody to a relative who is not a parent shall include facts
454.2	upon which the court can determine suitability of the proposed custodian, including a
454.3	summary of results from required background studies completed under section 245C.33.
454.4	The petition must be accompanied by a kinship placement agreement under section 256N.22,
454.5	subdivision 2, between the agency and proposed permanent legal and physical custodian;
454.6	(6) (d) Another party to the permanency proceeding regarding the child may file a petition
454.7	to transfer permanent legal and physical custody to a relative. The petition must include
454.8	facts upon which the court can make the determination determinations required under clause
454.9	(7) and paragraph (b), including suitability of the proposed custodian and, if completed, a
454.10	summary of results from required background studies completed under section 245C.33 or
454.11	260C.209. If background studies have not been completed at the time of filing the petition,
454.12	they must be completed and a summary of results provided to the court prior to the court
454.13	granting the petition or finalizing the order according to paragraph (e). The petition must
454.14	be filed not no later than the date for the required admit-deny hearing under section 260C.507;
454.15	or if the agency's petition is filed under section 260C.503, subdivision 2, the petition must
454.16	be filed not later than 30 days prior to the trial required under section 260C.509;.
454.17	(7) where a petition is for transfer of permanent legal and physical custody to a relative
454.18	who is not a parent, the court must find that:
454.19	(i) transfer of permanent legal and physical custody and receipt of Northstar kinship
454.20	assistance under chapter 256N, when requested and the child is eligible, are in the child's
454.21	best interests;
454.22	(ii) adoption is not in the child's best interests based on the determinations in the kinship
454.23	placement agreement required under section 256N.22, subdivision 2;
454.24	(iii) the agency made efforts to discuss adoption with the child's parent or parents, or
454.25	the agency did not make efforts to discuss adoption and the reasons why efforts were not
454.26	made; and
454.27	(iv) there are reasons to separate siblings during placement, if applicable;
454.28	(8) (e) The court may:
454.29	(1) defer finalization of an order transferring permanent legal and physical custody to a
454.30	relative when deferring finalization is necessary to determine eligibility for Northstar kinship
454.31	assistance under chapter 256N;
454.32	(9) the court may (2) finalize a permanent transfer of permanent legal and physical and
454.33	legal custody to a relative regardless of eligibility for Northstar kinship assistance under

chapter 256N, provided that the court has reviewed the suitability of the proposed custodian,

including the summary of background study results, consistent with paragraph (b); and

(10) the juvenile court may (3) following a transfer of permanent legal and physical
custody to a relative, maintain jurisdiction over the responsible social services agency, the

for purposes of ensuring appropriate services are delivered to the child and permanent legal

parents or guardian of the child, the child, and the permanent legal and physical custodian

custodian for the purpose of ensuring conditions ordered by the court related to the care and

custody of the child are met.

455.1

455.2

455.3

455.4

455.5

455.6

455.7

455.8

455.9

- Sec. 40. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260C.607, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
- Subdivision 1. **Review hearings.** (a) The court shall conduct a review of the responsible social services agency's reasonable efforts to finalize adoption for any child under the guardianship of the commissioner and of the progress of the case toward adoption at least every 90 days after the court issues an order that the commissioner is the guardian of the child.
- (b) The review of progress toward adoption shall continue notwithstanding that an appeal is made of the order for guardianship or termination of parental rights.
- (c) The agency's reasonable efforts to finalize the adoption must continue during the pendency of the appeal <u>under paragraph (b) or subdivision 6, paragraph (h),</u> and all progress toward adoption shall continue except that the court may not finalize an adoption while the appeal is pending.
- Sec. 41. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260C.607, subdivision 6, is amended to read:
- Subd. 6. **Motion and hearing to order adoptive placement.** (a) At any time after the district court orders the child under the guardianship of the commissioner of human services, but not later than 30 days after receiving notice required under section 260C.613, subdivision 1, paragraph (c), that the agency has made an adoptive placement, a relative or the child's foster parent may file a motion for an order for adoptive placement of a child who is under the guardianship of the commissioner if the relative or the child's foster parent:
 - (1) has an adoption home study under section 259.41 or 260C.611 approving the relative or foster parent for adoption. If the relative or foster parent does not have an adoption home study, an affidavit attesting to efforts to complete an adoption home study may be filed with the motion instead. The affidavit must be signed by the relative or foster parent and the responsible social services agency or licensed child-placing agency completing the adoption

455.28

455.29

455.30

home study. The relative or foster parent must also have been a resident of Minnesota for at least six months before filing the motion; the court may waive the residency requirement for the moving party if there is a reasonable basis to do so; or

- (2) is not a resident of Minnesota, but has an approved adoption home study by an agency licensed or approved to complete an adoption home study in the state of the individual's residence and the study is filed with the motion for adoptive placement. If the relative or foster parent does not have an adoption home study in the relative or foster parent's state of residence, an affidavit attesting to efforts to complete an adoption home study may be filed with the motion instead. The affidavit must be signed by the relative or foster parent and the agency completing the adoption home study.
- (b) The motion shall must be filed with the court conducting reviews of the child's progress toward adoption under this section. The motion and supporting documents must make a prima facie showing that the agency has been unreasonable in failing to make the requested adoptive placement. The motion must be served according to the requirements for motions under the Minnesota Rules of Juvenile Protection Procedure and shall must be made on all individuals and entities listed in subdivision 2.
- (c) If the motion and supporting documents do not make a prima facie showing for the court to determine whether the agency has been unreasonable in failing to make the requested adoptive placement, the court shall dismiss the motion. If the court determines a prima facie basis is made, the court shall set the matter for evidentiary hearing.
- (d) At the evidentiary hearing, the responsible social services agency shall proceed first with evidence about the reason for not making the adoptive placement proposed by the moving party. When the agency presents evidence regarding the child's current relationship with the identified adoptive placement resource, the court must consider the agency's efforts to support the child's relationship with the moving party consistent with section 260C.221. The moving party then has the burden of proving by a preponderance of the evidence that the agency has been unreasonable in failing to make the adoptive placement.
- 456.28 (e) The court shall review and enter findings regarding whether the agency, in making 456.29 an adoptive placement decision for the child:
- (1) considered relatives for adoptive placement in the order specified under section 260C.212, subdivision 2, paragraph (a); and
- 456.32 (2) assessed how the identified adoptive placement resource and the moving party are 456.33 each able to meet the child's current and future needs, based on an individualized

456.1

456.2

456.3

456.4

456.5

456.6

456.7

456.8

456.9

456.10

456.11

456.12

456.13

456.14

456.15

456.16

456.17

456.18

456.19

456.20

456.21

456.22

456.23

456.24

456.25

456.26

determination of the child's needs, as required under sections 260C.212, subdivision 2, and 260C.613, subdivision 1, paragraph (b).

- (f) At the conclusion of the evidentiary hearing, if the court finds that the agency has been unreasonable in failing to make the adoptive placement and that the moving party is the most suitable adoptive home to meet the child's needs using the factors in section 260C.212, subdivision 2, paragraph (b), the court may:
- (1) order the responsible social services agency to make an adoptive placement in the home of the moving party if the moving party has an approved adoption home study; or
- (2) order the responsible social services agency to place the child in the home of the moving party upon approval of an adoption home study. The agency must promote and support the child's ongoing visitation and contact with the moving party until the child is placed in the moving party's home. The agency must provide an update to the court after 90 days, including progress and any barriers encountered. If the moving party does not have an approved adoption home study within 180 days, the moving party and the agency must inform the court of any barriers to obtaining the approved adoption home study during a review hearing under this section. If the court finds that the moving party is unable to obtain an approved adoption home study, the court must dismiss the order for adoptive placement under this subdivision and order the agency to continue making reasonable efforts to finalize the adoption of the child as required under section 260C.605.
- (g) If, in order to ensure that a timely adoption may occur, the court orders the responsible social services agency to make an adoptive placement under this subdivision, the agency shall:
- (1) make reasonable efforts to obtain a fully executed adoption placement agreement, including assisting the moving party with the adoption home study process;
- 457.25 (2) work with the moving party regarding eligibility for adoption assistance as required under chapter 256N; and
- 457.27 (3) if the moving party is not a resident of Minnesota, timely refer the matter for approval of the adoptive placement through the Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children.
- (h) Denial or granting of a motion for an order for adoptive placement after an evidentiary hearing is an order which that may be appealed by the responsible social services agency, the moving party, the child, when age ten or over, the child's guardian ad litem, and any individual who had a fully executed adoption placement agreement regarding the child at the time the motion was filed if the court's order has the effect of terminating the adoption

457.3

457.4

457.5

457.6

457.7

457.8

457.9

457.10

457.11

457.12

457.13

457.14

457.15

457.16

457.17

457.18

placement agreement. An appeal shall must be conducted according to the requirements of the Rules of Juvenile Protection Procedure. Pursuant to subdivision 1, paragraph (c), the court shall not finalize an adoption while an appeal is pending.

Sec. 42. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260C.611, is amended to read:

260C.611 ADOPTION STUDY REQUIRED.

458.1

458.2

458.3

458.4

458.5

458.6

458.7

458.8

458.9

458.10

458.11

458.12

458.13

458.20

458.21

458.24

458.26

458.27

458.28

- (a) An adoption study under section 259.41 approving placement of the child in the home of the prospective adoptive parent shall must be completed before placing any child under the guardianship of the commissioner in a home for adoption. If a prospective adoptive parent has a current child foster care license under chapter 245A and is seeking to adopt a foster child who is placed in the prospective adoptive parent's home and is under the guardianship of the commissioner according to section 260C.325, subdivision 1, the child foster care home study meets the requirements of this section for an approved adoption home study if:
- (1) the written home study on which the foster care license was based is completed in 458.14 the commissioner's designated format, consistent with the requirements in sections 259.41, 458.15 subdivision 2; and 260C.215, subdivision 4, clause (5); and Minnesota Rules, part 2960.3060, 458.16 458.17 subpart 4;
- (2) the background studies on each prospective adoptive parent and all required household 458.18 members were completed according to section 245C.33; 458.19
- (3) the commissioner has not issued, within the last three years, a sanction on the license under section 245A.07 or an order of a conditional license under section 245A.06 within the last three years, or the commissioner has determined it to be in the child's best interests 458.22 to allow the child foster care home study to meet requirements of an approved adoption 458.23 home study upon review of the legally responsible agency's adoptive placement decision; 458.25 and
 - (4) the legally responsible agency determines that the individual needs of the child are being met by the prospective adoptive parent through an assessment under section 256N.24, subdivision 2, or a documented placement decision consistent with section 260C.212, subdivision 2.
- (b) If a prospective adoptive parent has previously held a foster care license or adoptive 458.30 home study, any update necessary to the foster care license, or updated or new adoptive 458.31 home study, if not completed by the licensing authority responsible for the previous license 458.32

or home study, shall include collateral information from the previous licensing or approving agency, if available.

- Sec. 43. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260C.613, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
- Subdivision 1. **Adoptive placement decisions.** (a) The responsible social services agency has exclusive authority to make an adoptive placement of decision for a child under the guardianship of the commissioner. The child shall be considered is legally placed for adoption when the adopting parent, the agency, and the commissioner have fully executed an adoption placement agreement on the form prescribed by the commissioner.
- (b) The responsible social services agency shall use an individualized determination of the child's current and future needs, pursuant to section 260C.212, subdivision 2, paragraph (b), to determine the most suitable adopting parent for the child in the child's best interests. The responsible social services agency must consider adoptive placement of the child with relatives in the order specified in section 260C.212, subdivision 2, paragraph (a).
- (c) The responsible social services agency shall notify the court and parties entitled to notice under section 260C.607, subdivision 2, when there is a fully executed adoption placement agreement for the child.
- (d) Pursuant to section 260C.615, subdivision 1, paragraph (b), clause (4), the responsible social services agency shall immediately notify the commissioner if the agency learns of any new or previously undisclosed criminal or maltreatment information involving an adoptive placement of a child under guardianship of the commissioner.
- (d) (e) In the event <u>a party to</u> an adoption placement agreement terminates the agreement, the responsible social services agency shall notify the court, the parties entitled to notice under section 260C.607, subdivision 2, and the commissioner that the agreement and the adoptive placement have terminated.
- Sec. 44. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260C.615, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
- Subdivision 1. **Duties.** (a) For any child who is under the guardianship of the commissioner, the commissioner has the exclusive rights to consent to:
- (1) the medical care plan for the treatment of a child who is at imminent risk of death or who has a chronic disease that, in a physician's judgment, will result in the child's death in the near future including a physician's order not to resuscitate or intubate the child; and

460.1	(2) the child donating a part of the child's body to another person while the child is living;
460.2	the decision to donate a body part under this clause shall take into consideration the child's
460.3	wishes and the child's culture.
460.4	(b) In addition to the exclusive rights under paragraph (a), the commissioner has a duty
460.5	to:
460.6	(1) process any complete and accurate request for home study and placement through
460.7	the Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children under section 260.851;
460.8	(2) process any complete and accurate application for adoption assistance forwarded by
460.9	the responsible social services agency according to chapter 256N;
460.10	(3) review and process an adoption placement agreement forwarded to the commissioner
460.11	by the responsible social services agency and return it to the agency in a timely fashion;
460.12	and
460.13	(4) review new or previously undisclosed information received from the agency or other
460.14	individuals or entities that may impact the health, safety, or well-being of a child who is
460.15	the subject of a fully executed adoption placement agreement; and
460.16	(4) (5) maintain records as required in chapter 259.
460.17	Sec. 45. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260E.03, subdivision 23, as amended by Laws
460.18	2024, chapter 80, article 8, section 33, is amended to read:
460.19	Subd. 23. Threatened injury. (a) "Threatened injury" means a statement, overt act,
460.20	condition, or status that represents a substantial risk of physical or sexual abuse or mental
460.21	injury.
460.22	(b) Threatened injury includes, but is not limited to, exposing a child to a person
460.23	responsible for the child's care, as defined in subdivision 17, who has:
460.24	(1) subjected a child to, or failed to protect a child from, an overt act or condition that
460.25	constitutes egregious harm under subdivision 5 or a similar law of another jurisdiction;
460.26	(2) been found to be palpably unfit under section 260C.301, subdivision 1, paragraph
460.27	(b), clause (4), or a similar law of another jurisdiction;
460.28	(3) committed an act that resulted in an involuntary termination of parental rights under

section 260C.301, or a similar law of another jurisdiction; or

(4) committed an act that resulted in the involuntary transfer of permanent legal and 461.1 physical custody of a child to a relative or parent under section 260C.515, subdivision 4, 461.2 or a similar law of another jurisdiction. 461.3 (c) A child is the subject of a report of threatened injury when the local welfare agency 461.4 receives birth match data under section 260E.14, subdivision 4, from the Department of 461.5 Human Services. 461.6 Sec. 46. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 393.07, subdivision 10a, is amended to read: 461.7 Subd. 10a. Expedited issuance of SNAP benefits. The commissioner of human services 461.8 shall continually monitor the expedited issuance of SNAP benefits to ensure that each county 461.9 complies with federal regulations and that households eligible for expedited issuance of SNAP benefits are identified, processed, and certified within the time frames prescribed in 461.11 federal regulations. 461.12 County SNAP benefits offices shall screen applicants on the day of application. 461.13 Applicants who meet the federal criteria for expedited issuance and have an immediate need for food assistance shall receive within five working days the issuance of SNAP benefits. 461.15 461.16 The local SNAP agency shall conspicuously post in each SNAP office a notice of the availability of and the procedure for applying for expedited issuance and verbally advise 461.17 each applicant of the availability of the expedited process. Sec. 47. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 518.17, is amended by adding a subdivision to 461.19 461.20 Subd. 2a. Parents with disabilities. (a) A court shall not deny nor restrict a parent's 461.21 parenting time or custody due to the parent's disability. A party raising disability as a basis 461.22 461.23 for denying or restricting parenting time has the burden to prove by clear and convincing 461.24 evidence that a parent's specific behaviors during parenting time would endanger the health or safety of the child. If the party meets the burden, a parent with a disability shall have the 461.25 opportunity to demonstrate how implementing supportive services can alleviate any concerns. 461.26 The court may require a parent with a disability to use supportive parenting services to 461.27 facilitate parenting time. 461.28 461.29 (b) If a court denies or limits the right of a parent with a disability to custody of a child or visitation with a child, the court shall make specific written findings stating the basis for 461.30 the denial or limitation and why providing supportive parenting services is not a reasonable 461.31

accommodation that could prevent denying or limiting the parent's custody or parenting 462.1 462.2 time. 462.3 (c) For purposes of this subdivision, "disability" and "supportive parenting services" have the meanings given in section 260C.201, subdivision 13. 462.4 462.5 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2024, and applies to pleadings and motions pending on or after that date. 462.6 **ARTICLE 18** 462.7 **DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES POLICY** 462.8 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 13.46, subdivision 4, as amended 462.9 by Laws 2024, chapter 80, article 8, section 4, is amended to read: 462.10 Subd. 4. Licensing data. (a) As used in this subdivision: 462.11 (1) "licensing data" are all data collected, maintained, used, or disseminated by the 462.12 welfare system pertaining to persons licensed or registered or who apply for licensure or 462.13 462.14 registration or who formerly were licensed or registered under the authority of the commissioner of human services; 462.15 462.16 (2) "client" means a person who is receiving services from a licensee or from an applicant for licensure; and 462.17 (3) "personal and personal financial data" are Social Security numbers, identity of and 462.18 letters of reference, insurance information, reports from the Bureau of Criminal 462.19 Apprehension, health examination reports, and social/home studies. 462.20 (b)(1)(i) Except as provided in paragraph (c), the following data on applicants, license 462.21 holders, certification holders, and former licensees are public: name, address, telephone 462.22 number of licensees, email addresses except for family child foster care, date of receipt of 462.23 a completed application, dates of licensure, licensed capacity, type of client preferred, 462.24 462.25 variances granted, record of training and education in child care and child development, type of dwelling, name and relationship of other family members, previous license history, 462.26 class of license, the existence and status of complaints, and the number of serious injuries 462.27 to or deaths of individuals in the licensed program as reported to the commissioner of human 462.28 services; the commissioner of children, youth, and families; the local social services agency; 462.29 462.30 or any other county welfare agency. For purposes of this clause, a serious injury is one that is treated by a physician. 462.31

(ii) Except as provided in item (v), when a correction order, an order to forfeit a fine, an order of license suspension, an order of temporary immediate suspension, an order of license revocation, an order of license denial, or an order of conditional license has been issued, or a complaint is resolved, the following data on current and former licensees and applicants are public: the general nature of the complaint or allegations leading to the temporary immediate suspension; the substance and investigative findings of the licensing or maltreatment complaint, licensing violation, or substantiated maltreatment; the existence of settlement negotiations; the record of informal resolution of a licensing violation; orders of hearing; findings of fact; conclusions of law; specifications of the final correction order, fine, suspension, temporary immediate suspension, revocation, denial, or conditional license contained in the record of licensing action; whether a fine has been paid; and the status of any appeal of these actions.

- (iii) When a license denial under section 142A.15 or 245A.05 or a sanction under section 142B.18 or 245A.07 is based on a determination that a license holder, applicant, or controlling individual is responsible for maltreatment under section 626.557 or chapter 260E, the identity of the applicant, license holder, or controlling individual as the individual responsible for maltreatment is public data at the time of the issuance of the license denial or sanction.
- (iv) When a license denial under section 142A.15 or 245A.05 or a sanction under section 142B.18 or 245A.07 is based on a determination that a license holder, applicant, or controlling individual is disqualified under chapter 245C, the identity of the license holder, applicant, or controlling individual as the disqualified individual is public data at the time of the issuance of the licensing sanction or denial. If the applicant, license holder, or controlling individual requests reconsideration of the disqualification and the disqualification is affirmed, the reason for the disqualification and the reason to not set aside the disqualification are private data.
- (v) A correction order or fine issued to a child care provider for a licensing violation is private data on individuals under section 13.02, subdivision 12, or nonpublic data under section 13.02, subdivision 9, if the correction order or fine is seven years old or older.
- (2) For applicants who withdraw their application prior to licensure or denial of a license, the following data are public: the name of the applicant, the city and county in which the applicant was seeking licensure, the dates of the commissioner's receipt of the initial application and completed application, the type of license sought, and the date of withdrawal of the application.

463.1

463.2

463.3

463.4

463.5

463.6

463.7

463.8

463.9

463.10

463.11

463.12

463.13

463.14

463.15

463.16

463.17

463.18

463.19

463.20

463.21

463.22

463.23

463.24

463.25

463.26

463.27

- (3) For applicants who are denied a license, the following data are public: the name and address of the applicant, the city and county in which the applicant was seeking licensure, the dates of the commissioner's receipt of the initial application and completed application, the type of license sought, the date of denial of the application, the nature of the basis for the denial, the existence of settlement negotiations, the record of informal resolution of a denial, orders of hearings, findings of fact, conclusions of law, specifications of the final order of denial, and the status of any appeal of the denial.
- (4) When maltreatment is substantiated under section 626.557 or chapter 260E and the victim and the substantiated perpetrator are affiliated with a program licensed under chapter 142B or 245A; the commissioner of human services; commissioner of children, youth, and 464.10 families; local social services agency; or county welfare agency may inform the license 464.11 holder where the maltreatment occurred of the identity of the substantiated perpetrator and the victim. 464.13
 - (5) Notwithstanding clause (1), for child foster care, only the name of the license holder and the status of the license are public if the county attorney has requested that data otherwise classified as public data under clause (1) be considered private data based on the best interests of a child in placement in a licensed program.
 - (c) The following are private data on individuals under section 13.02, subdivision 12, or nonpublic data under section 13.02, subdivision 9: personal and personal financial data on family day care program and family foster care program applicants and licensees and their family members who provide services under the license.
 - (d) The following are private data on individuals: the identity of persons who have made reports concerning licensees or applicants that appear in inactive investigative data, and the records of clients or employees of the licensee or applicant for licensure whose records are received by the licensing agency for purposes of review or in anticipation of a contested matter. The names of reporters of complaints or alleged violations of licensing standards under chapters 142B, 245A, 245B, 245C, and 245D, and applicable rules and alleged maltreatment under section 626.557 and chapter 260E, are confidential data and may be disclosed only as provided in section 260E.21, subdivision 4; 260E.35; or 626.557, subdivision 12b.
- 464.31 (e) Data classified as private, confidential, nonpublic, or protected nonpublic under this subdivision become public data if submitted to a court or administrative law judge as part 464.32 of a disciplinary proceeding in which there is a public hearing concerning a license which 464.33 has been suspended, immediately suspended, revoked, or denied.

464.1

464.2

464.3

464.4

464.5

464.6

464.7

464.8

464.9

464.14

464.15

464.17

464.18

464.19

464.20

464.21

464.22

464.23

464.24

464.25

464.26

464.27

464.28

464.29

(f) Data generated in the course of licensing investigations that relate to an alleged violation of law are investigative data under subdivision 3.

- (g) Data that are not public data collected, maintained, used, or disseminated under this subdivision that relate to or are derived from a report as defined in section 260E.03, or 626.5572, subdivision 18, are subject to the destruction provisions of sections 260E.35, subdivision 6, and 626.557, subdivision 12b.
- (h) Upon request, not public data collected, maintained, used, or disseminated under this subdivision that relate to or are derived from a report of substantiated maltreatment as defined in section 626.557 or chapter 260E may be exchanged with the Department of Health for purposes of completing background studies pursuant to section 144.057 and with the Department of Corrections for purposes of completing background studies pursuant to section 241.021.
- (i) Data on individuals collected according to licensing activities under chapters 142B, 245A, and 245C, data on individuals collected by the commissioner of human services according to investigations under section 626.557 and chapters 142B, 245A, 245B, 245C, 245D, and 260E may be shared with the Department of Human Rights, the Department of Health, the Department of Corrections, the ombudsman for mental health and developmental disabilities, and the individual's professional regulatory board when there is reason to believe that laws or standards under the jurisdiction of those agencies may have been violated or the information may otherwise be relevant to the board's regulatory jurisdiction. Background study data on an individual who is the subject of a background study under chapter 245C for a licensed service for which the commissioner of human services or children, youth, and families is the license holder may be shared with the commissioner and the commissioner's delegate by the licensing division. Unless otherwise specified in this chapter, the identity of a reporter of alleged maltreatment or licensing violations may not be disclosed.
- (j) In addition to the notice of determinations required under sections 260E.24, subdivisions 5 and 7, and 260E.30, subdivision 6, paragraphs (b), (c), (d), (e), and (f), if the commissioner of children, youth, and families or the local social services agency has determined that an individual is a substantiated perpetrator of maltreatment of a child based on sexual abuse, as defined in section 260E.03, and the commissioner or local social services agency knows that the individual is a person responsible for a child's care in another facility, the commissioner or local social services agency shall notify the head of that facility of this determination. The notification must include an explanation of the individual's available appeal rights and the status of any appeal. If a notice is given under this paragraph, the

465.1

465.2

465.3

465.4

465.5

465.6

465.7

465.8

465.9

465.10

465.11

465 12

465.13

465.14

465.15

465.16

465.17

465.18

465.19

465.20

465.21

465.22

465.23

465.24

465.25

465.26

465.27

465.28

465.29

465.30

465.31

465.32

465.33

government entity making the notification shall provide a copy of the notice to the individual who is the subject of the notice.

- (k) All not public data collected, maintained, used, or disseminated under this subdivision and subdivision 3 may be exchanged between the Department of Human Services, Licensing Division, and the Department of Corrections for purposes of regulating services for which the Department of Human Services and the Department of Corrections have regulatory authority.
- 466.8 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2025.

466.3

466.4

466.5

466.6

- Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 245A.02, subdivision 2c, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2c. **Annual or annually; family child care and family child foster care.** For the purposes of <u>family child care under sections 245A.50 to 245A.53 and family child foster</u> care training, "annual" or "annually" means each calendar year.
- EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.
- Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 245A.03, subdivision 2, as amended by Laws 2024, chapter 85, section 52, and Laws 2024, chapter 80, article 2, section 35, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2. Exclusion from licensure. (a) This chapter does not apply to:
- (1) residential or nonresidential programs that are provided to a person by an individual who is related;
- 466.21 (2) nonresidential programs that are provided by an unrelated individual to persons from 466.22 a single related family;
- (3) residential or nonresidential programs that are provided to adults who do not misuse substances or have a substance use disorder, a mental illness, a developmental disability, a functional impairment, or a physical disability;
- 466.26 (4) sheltered workshops or work activity programs that are certified by the commissioner of employment and economic development;
- (5) programs operated by a public school for children 33 months or older;
- (6) nonresidential programs primarily for children that provide care or supervision for periods of less than three hours a day while the child's parent or legal guardian is in the

same building as the nonresidential program or present within another building that is 467.1 directly contiguous to the building in which the nonresidential program is located; 467.2 (7) nursing homes or hospitals licensed by the commissioner of health except as specified 467.3 under section 245A.02; 467.4 467.5 (8) board and lodge facilities licensed by the commissioner of health that do not provide children's residential services under Minnesota Rules, chapter 2960, mental health or 467.6 substance use disorder treatment: 467.7 (9) programs licensed by the commissioner of corrections; 467.8 (10) recreation programs for children or adults that are operated or approved by a park 467.9 and recreation board whose primary purpose is to provide social and recreational activities; 467.10 (11) noncertified boarding care homes unless they provide services for five or more 467.11 persons whose primary diagnosis is mental illness or a developmental disability; 467.12 (12) programs for children such as scouting, boys clubs, girls clubs, and sports and art 467.13 programs, and nonresidential programs for children provided for a cumulative total of less 467.14 than 30 days in any 12-month period; 467.15 (13) residential programs for persons with mental illness, that are located in hospitals; 467.16 (14) camps licensed by the commissioner of health under Minnesota Rules, chapter 467.17 4630; 467.18 (15) mental health outpatient services for adults with mental illness or children with 467.19 emotional disturbance; 467.20 (16) residential programs serving school-age children whose sole purpose is cultural or 467.21 educational exchange, until the commissioner adopts appropriate rules; 467.22 (17) community support services programs as defined in section 245.462, subdivision 467.23 6, and family community support services as defined in section 245.4871, subdivision 17; 467.24 (18) settings registered under chapter 144D which provide home care services licensed 467.25 by the commissioner of health to fewer than seven adults assisted living facilities licensed 467.26 by the commissioner of health under chapter 144G; 467.27 (19) substance use disorder treatment activities of licensed professionals in private 467.28

467.29

practice as defined in section 245G.01, subdivision 17;

468.1	(20) consumer-directed community support service funded under the Medicaid waiver
468.2	for persons with developmental disabilities when the individual who provided the service
468.3	is:
468.4	(i) the same individual who is the direct payee of these specific waiver funds or paid by
468.5	a fiscal agent, fiscal intermediary, or employer of record; and
468.6	(ii) not otherwise under the control of a residential or nonresidential program that is
468.7	required to be licensed under this chapter when providing the service;
468.8	(21) a county that is an eligible vendor under section 254B.05 to provide care coordination
468.9	and comprehensive assessment services;
468.10	(22) a recovery community organization that is an eligible vendor under section 254B.05
468.11	to provide peer recovery support services; or
468.12	(23) programs licensed by the commissioner of children, youth, and families in chapter
468.13	142B.
700.13	172D.
468.14	(b) For purposes of paragraph (a), clause (6), a building is directly contiguous to a
468.15	building in which a nonresidential program is located if it shares a common wall with the
468.16	building in which the nonresidential program is located or is attached to that building by
468.17	skyway, tunnel, atrium, or common roof.
468.18	(b) Except for the home and community-based services identified in section 245D.03,
468.19	subdivision 1, nothing in this chapter shall be construed to require licensure for any services
468.20	provided and funded according to an approved federal waiver plan where licensure is
468.21	specifically identified as not being a condition for the services and funding.
468.22	Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.04, is amended by adding a subdivision to
468.23	read:
468.24	Subd. 7b. Notification to commissioner of changes in key staff positions; children's
468.25	residential facilities and detoxification programs. (a) A license holder must notify the
468.26	commissioner within five business days of a change or vacancy in a key staff position under
468.27	paragraphs (b) or (c). The license holder must notify the commissioner of the staffing change
468.28	or vacancy on a form approved by the commissioner and include the name of the staff person
468.29	now assigned to the key staff position and the staff person's qualifications for the position.
468.30	(b) The key staff position for a children's residential facility licensed according to
468.30	Minnesota Rules, parts 2960.0130 to 2960.0220, is a program director; and
-ri (() 1 l	

469.1	(c) The key staff positions for a detoxification program licensed according to Minnesota
469.2	Rules, parts 9530.6510 to 9530.6590, are:
469.3	(1) a program director as required by Minnesota Rules, part 9530.6560, subpart 1;
469.4	(2) a registered nurse as required by Minnesota Rules, part 9530.6560, subpart 4; and
469.5	(3) a medical director as required by Minnesota Rules, part 9530.6560, subpart 5.
469.6	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.
469.7	Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.04, subdivision 10, is amended to read:
469.8	Subd. 10. Adoption agency; additional requirements. In addition to the other
469.9	requirements of this section, an individual or organization applying for a license to place
469.10	children for adoption must:
469.11	(1) incorporate as a nonprofit corporation under chapter 317A;
469.12	(2) file with the application for licensure a copy of the disclosure form required under
469.13	section 259.37, subdivision 2;
469.14	(3) provide evidence that a bond has been obtained and will be continuously maintained
469.15	throughout the entire operating period of the agency, to cover the cost of transfer of records
469.16	to and storage of records by the agency which has agreed, according to rule established by
469.17	the commissioner, to receive the applicant agency's records if the applicant agency voluntarily
469.18	or involuntarily ceases operation and fails to provide for proper transfer of the records. The
469.19	bond must be made in favor of the agency which has agreed to receive the records; and
469.20	(4) submit a certified audit financial review completed by an accountant to the
469.21	commissioner each year the license is renewed as required under section 245A.03, subdivision
469.22	1.
469.23	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.
469.24	Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.043, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
469.25	Subd. 2. Change in ownership. (a) If the commissioner determines that there is a change
469.26	in ownership, the commissioner shall require submission of a new license application. This
469.27	subdivision does not apply to a licensed program or service located in a home where the
469.28	license holder resides. A change in ownership occurs when:
469.29	(1) except as provided in paragraph (b), the license holder sells or transfers 100 percent
469.30	of the property, stock, or assets;

- 470.1 (2) the license holder merges with another organization;
- 470.2 (3) the license holder consolidates with two or more organizations, resulting in the creation of a new organization;
- 470.4 (4) there is a change to the federal tax identification number associated with the license 470.5 holder; or
- 470.6 (5) except as provided in paragraph (b), all controlling individuals associated with for the original application license have changed.
- (b) Notwithstanding For changes under paragraph (a), clauses (1) and or (5), no change in ownership has occurred and a new license application is not required if at least one controlling individual has been listed affiliated as a controlling individual for the license for at least the previous 12 months immediately preceding the change.
- Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 245A.043, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
- Subd. 3. <u>Standard change of ownership process.</u> (a) When a change in ownership is proposed and the party intends to assume operation without an interruption in service longer than 60 days after acquiring the program or service, the license holder must provide the commissioner with written notice of the proposed change on a form provided by the commissioner at least 60 90 days before the anticipated date of the change in ownership. For purposes of this <u>subdivision and subdivision 4 section</u>, "party" means the party that intends to operate the service or program.
- (b) The party must submit a license application under this chapter on the form and in the manner prescribed by the commissioner at least 30 90 days before the change in ownership is anticipated to be complete, and must include documentation to support the upcoming change. The party must comply with background study requirements under chapter 245C and shall pay the application fee required under section 245A.10.
- (c) A party that intends to assume operation without an interruption in service longer than 60 days after acquiring the program or service is exempt from the requirements of sections 245G.03, subdivision 2, paragraph (b), and 254B.03, subdivision 2, paragraphs (c) and (d).
- (e) (d) The commissioner may streamline application procedures when the party is an existing license holder under this chapter and is acquiring a program licensed under this chapter or service in the same service class as one or more licensed programs or services the party operates and those licenses are in substantial compliance. For purposes of this

subdivision, "substantial compliance" means within the previous 12 months the commissioner did not (1) issue a sanction under section 245A.07 against a license held by the party, or (2) make a license held by the party conditional according to section 245A.06.

- (d) Except when a temporary change in ownership license is issued pursuant to subdivision 4 (e) While the standard change of ownership process is pending, the existing license holder is solely remains responsible for operating the program according to applicable laws and rules until a license under this chapter is issued to the party.
- (e) (f) If a licensing inspection of the program or service was conducted within the previous 12 months and the existing license holder's license record demonstrates substantial compliance with the applicable licensing requirements, the commissioner may waive the party's inspection required by section 245A.04, subdivision 4. The party must submit to the commissioner (1) proof that the premises was inspected by a fire marshal or that the fire marshal deemed that an inspection was not warranted, and (2) proof that the premises was inspected for compliance with the building code or that no inspection was deemed warranted.
- 471.15 (f) (g) If the party is seeking a license for a program or service that has an outstanding action under section 245A.06 or 245A.07, the party must submit a letter written plan as part of the application process identifying how the party has or will come into full compliance with the licensing requirements.
- 471.19 (g) (h) The commissioner shall evaluate the party's application according to section 245A.04, subdivision 6. If the commissioner determines that the party has remedied or 471.20 demonstrates the ability to remedy the outstanding actions under section 245A.06 or 245A.07 471.21 and has determined that the program otherwise complies with all applicable laws and rules, 471.22 the commissioner shall issue a license or conditional license under this chapter. A conditional 471.23 license issued under this section is final and not subject to reconsideration under section 471.24 245A.06, subdivision 4. The conditional license remains in effect until the commissioner 471.25 471.26 determines that the grounds for the action are corrected or no longer exist.
- (h) (i) The commissioner may deny an application as provided in section 245A.05. An applicant whose application was denied by the commissioner may appeal the denial according to section 245A.05.
- 471.30 (i) (j) This subdivision does not apply to a licensed program or service located in a home where the license holder resides.
- 471.32 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2025.

471.1

471.2

471.3

471.4

471.5

471.6

471.7

471.8

471.9

471.10

471.11

471.12

471.13

472.1	Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.043, is amended by adding a subdivision
472.2	to read:
472.3	Subd. 3a. Emergency change in ownership process. (a) In the event of a death of a
472.4	license holder or sole controlling individual or a court order or other event that results in
472.5	the license holder being inaccessible or unable to operate the program or service, a party
472.6	may submit a request to the commissioner to allow the party to assume operation of the
472.7	program or service under an emergency change in ownership process to ensure persons
472.8	continue to receive services while the commissioner evaluates the party's license application.
472.9	(b) To request the emergency change of ownership process, the party must immediately:
472.10	(1) notify the commissioner of the event resulting in the inability of the license holder
472.11	to operate the program and of the party's intent to assume operations; and
472.12	(2) provide the commissioner with documentation that demonstrates the party has a legal
472.13	or legitimate ownership interest in the program or service if applicable and is able to operate
472.14	the program or service.
472.15	(c) If the commissioner approves the party to continue operating the program or service
472.16	under an emergency change in ownership process, the party must:
472.17	(1) request to be added as a controlling individual or license holder to the existing license;
472.18	(2) notify persons receiving services of the emergency change in ownership in a manner
472.19	approved by the commissioner;
472.20	(3) submit an application for a new license within 30 days of approval;
472.21	(4) comply with the background study requirements under chapter 245C; and
472.22	(5) pay the application fee required under section 245A.10.
472.23	(d) While the emergency change of ownership process is pending, a party approved
472.24	under this subdivision is responsible for operating the program under the existing license
472.25	according to applicable laws and rules until a new license under this chapter is issued.
472.26	(e) The provisions in subdivision 3, paragraphs (c), (d), and (f) to (i) apply to this
472.27	subdivision.
472.28	(f) Once a party is issued a new license or has decided not to seek a new license, the
472.29	commissioner must close the existing license.
472.30	(g) This subdivision applies to any program or service licensed under this chapter.
472.31	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.

Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.043, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. Temporary change in ownership transitional license. (a) After receiving the party's application pursuant to subdivision 3, upon the written request of the existing license holder and the party, the commissioner may issue a temporary change in ownership license to the party while the commissioner evaluates the party's application. Until a decision is made to grant or deny a license under this chapter, the existing license holder and the party shall both be responsible for operating the program or service according to applicable laws and rules, and the sale or transfer of the existing license holder's ownership interest in the licensed program or service does not terminate the existing license.

(b) The commissioner may issue a temporary change in ownership license when a license holder's death, divorce, or other event affects the ownership of the program and an applicant seeks to assume operation of the program or service to ensure continuity of the program or service while a license application is evaluated.

(c) This subdivision applies to any program or service licensed under this chapter.

If a party's application under subdivision 2 is for a satellite license for a community residential setting under section 245D.23 or day services facility under 245D.27 and if the party already holds an active license to provide services under chapter 245D, the commissioner may issue a temporary transitional license to the party for the community residential setting or day services facility while the commissioner evaluates the party's application. Until a decision is made to grant or deny a community residential setting or day services facility satellite license, the party must be solely responsible for operating the program according to applicable laws and rules, and the existing license must be closed. The temporary transitional license expires after 12 months from the date it was issued or upon issuance of the community residential setting or day services facility satellite license, whichever occurs first.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.

Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.043, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

Subd. 5. Failure to comply. If the commissioner finds that the applicant or license holder
has not fully complied with this section, the commissioner may impose a licensing sanction
under section 245A.05, 245A.06, or 245A.07.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.

473.2

473.3

473.4

473.5

473.6

473.7

473.8

473.9

473.10

473.11

473.12

473.13

473.14

473.15

473.16

473.17

473.18

473.19

473.20

473.21

473.22

473.23

473.24

473.25

473.26

Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 245A.07, subdivision 1, as amended by Laws 2024, chapter 80, article 2, section 44, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. **Sanctions; appeals; license.** (a) In addition to making a license conditional under section 245A.06, the commissioner may suspend or revoke the license, impose a fine, or secure an injunction against the continuing operation of the program of a license holder who does not comply with applicable law or rule.

When applying sanctions authorized under this section, the commissioner shall consider the nature, chronicity, or severity of the violation of law or rule and the effect of the violation on the health, safety, or rights of persons served by the program.

- (b) If a license holder appeals the suspension or revocation of a license and the license holder continues to operate the program pending a final order on the appeal, the commissioner shall issue the license holder a temporary provisional license. The commissioner may include terms the license holder must follow pending a final order on the appeal. Unless otherwise specified by the commissioner, variances in effect on the date of the license sanction under appeal continue under the temporary provisional license. If a license holder fails to comply with applicable law or rule while operating under a temporary provisional license, the commissioner may impose additional sanctions under this section and section 245A.06, and may terminate any prior variance. If a temporary provisional license is set to expire, a new temporary provisional license shall be issued to the license holder upon payment of any fee required under section 245A.10. The temporary provisional license shall expire on the date the final order is issued. If the license holder prevails on the appeal, a new nonprovisional license shall be issued for the remainder of the current license period.
- (c) If a license holder is under investigation and the license issued under this chapter is due to expire before completion of the investigation, the program shall be issued a new license upon completion of the reapplication requirements and payment of any applicable license fee. Upon completion of the investigation, a licensing sanction may be imposed against the new license under this section, section 245A.06, or 245A.08.
- (d) Failure to reapply or closure of a license issued under this chapter by the license holder prior to the completion of any investigation shall not preclude the commissioner from issuing a licensing sanction under this section or section 245A.06 at the conclusion of the investigation.

474.32 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2025.

474.3

474.4

474.5

474.6

474.7

474.8

474.9

474.10

474.11

474.12

474.13

474.14

474.15

474.16

474.17

474.18

474.19

474.20

474.21

474.22

474.23

474.24

474.25

474.26

Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.07, subdivision 6, is amended to read:

Subd. 6. Appeal of multiple sanctions. (a) When the license holder appeals more than one licensing action or sanction that were simultaneously issued by the commissioner, the license holder shall specify the actions or sanctions that are being appealed.

- (b) If there are different timelines prescribed in statutes for the licensing actions or sanctions being appealed, the license holder must submit the appeal within the longest of those timelines specified in statutes.
- (c) The appeal must be made in writing by certified mail or, by personal service, or through the provider licensing and reporting hub. If mailed, the appeal must be postmarked and sent to the commissioner within the prescribed timeline with the first day beginning the day after the license holder receives the certified letter. If a request is made by personal service, it must be received by the commissioner within the prescribed timeline with the first day beginning the day after the license holder receives the certified letter. If the appeal is made through the provider licensing and reporting hub, it must be received by the commissioner within the prescribed timeline with the first day beginning the day after the commissioner issued the order through the hub.
- (d) When there are different timelines prescribed in statutes for the appeal of licensing 475.17 actions or sanctions simultaneously issued by the commissioner, the commissioner shall specify in the notice to the license holder the timeline for appeal as specified under paragraph 475.19 475.20 **(b)**.
- Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 245A.11, subdivision 7, is amended 475.21 475.22 to read:
- Subd. 7. Adult foster care and community residential setting; variance for alternate **overnight supervision.** (a) The commissioner may grant a variance under section 245A.04, 475.24 subdivision 9, to statute or rule parts requiring a caregiver to be present in an adult foster care home or a community residential setting during normal sleeping hours to allow for 475.26 alternative methods of overnight supervision. The commissioner may grant the variance if 475.27 the local county licensing agency recommends the variance and the county recommendation 475.28 includes documentation verifying that: 475.29
- (1) the county has approved the license holder's plan for alternative methods of providing 475.30 overnight supervision and determined the plan protects the residents' health, safety, and 475.31 475.32 rights;

475.1

475.2

475.3

475.4

475.5

475.6

475.7

475.8

475.9

475.10

475.11

475.12

475.13

475.14

475.15

475.16

475.23

(2) the license holder has obtained written and signed informed consent from each 476.1 resident or each resident's legal representative documenting the resident's or legal 476.2 representative's agreement with the alternative method of overnight supervision; and 476.3 (3) the alternative method of providing overnight supervision, which may include the 476.4 use of technology, is specified for each resident in the resident's: (i) individualized plan of 476.5 care; (ii) individual service support plan under section 256B.092, subdivision 1b, if required; 476.6 or (iii) individual resident placement agreement under Minnesota Rules, part 9555.5105, 476.7 subpart 19, if required. 476.8 (b) To be eligible for a variance under paragraph (a), the adult foster care or community 476.9 residential setting license holder must not have had a conditional license issued under section 476.10 245A.06, or any other licensing sanction issued under section 245A.07 during the prior 24 476.11 months based on failure to provide adequate supervision, health care services, or resident 476.12 safety in the adult foster care home or a community residential setting. 476.13 (c) A license holder requesting a variance under this subdivision to utilize technology 476.14 as a component of a plan for alternative overnight supervision may request the commissioner's 476.15 review in the absence of a county recommendation. Upon receipt of such a request from a 476.16 license holder, the commissioner shall review the variance request with the county. 476.17 (d) The variance requirements under this subdivision for alternative overnight supervision 476.18 do not apply to community residential settings licensed under chapter 245D. 476.19 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment. 476.20 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.14, subdivision 17, is amended to read: 476.21 Subd. 17. Reusable water bottles or cups. Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, a 476.22 licensed child care center may provide drinking water to a child in a reusable water bottle 476.23 or reusable cup if the center develops and ensures implementation of a written policy that 476.24 at a minimum includes the following procedures: 476.25 (1) each day the water bottle or cup is used, the child care center cleans and sanitizes 476.26 the water bottle or cup using procedures that comply with the Food Code under Minnesota 476.27

476.30 (2) a water bottle or cup is assigned to a specific child and labeled with the child's first and last name;

Rules, chapter 4626, or allows the child's parent or legal guardian to bring the water bottle

or cup home;

476.28

477.1 (3) water bottles and cups are stored in a manner that reduces the risk of a child using
the wrong water bottle or cup; and

- (4) a water bottle or cup is used only for water.
- Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 245A.16, subdivision 1, as amended
- by Laws 2024, chapter 80, article 2, section 65, is amended to read:
- Subdivision 1. **Delegation of authority to agencies.** (a) County agencies that have been
- designated by the commissioner to perform licensing functions and activities under section
- 477.8 245A.04; to recommend denial of applicants under section 245A.05; to issue correction
- orders, to issue variances, and recommend a conditional license under section 245A.06; or
- 477.10 to recommend suspending or revoking a license or issuing a fine under section 245A.07,
- shall comply with rules and directives of the commissioner governing those functions and
- with this section. The following variances are excluded from the delegation of variance
- authority and may be issued only by the commissioner:
- 477.14 (1) dual licensure of family child foster care and family adult foster care, dual licensure
- of child foster residence setting and community residential setting, and dual licensure of
- 477.16 family adult foster care and family child care;
- 477.17 (2) adult foster care or community residential setting maximum capacity;
- 477.18 (3) adult foster care or community residential setting minimum age requirement;
- 477.19 (4) child foster care maximum age requirement;
- 477.20 (5) variances regarding disqualified individuals;
- (6) the required presence of a caregiver in the adult foster care residence during normal
- 477.22 sleeping hours;

- (7) variances to requirements relating to chemical use problems of a license holder or a
- 477.24 household member of a license holder; and
- (8) variances to section 142B.46 for the use of a cradleboard for a cultural
- 477.26 accommodation.
- (b) For family adult day services programs, the commissioner may authorize licensing
- 477.28 reviews every two years after a licensee has had at least one annual review.
- (c) A license issued under this section may be issued for up to two years.
- (d) During implementation of chapter 245D, the commissioner shall consider:
- 477.31 (1) the role of counties in quality assurance;

- 478.1 (2) the duties of county licensing staff; and
- 478.2 (3) the possible use of joint powers agreements, according to section 471.59, with counties through which some licensing duties under chapter 245D may be delegated by the
- 478.4 commissioner to the counties.
- Any consideration related to this paragraph must meet all of the requirements of the corrective
- action plan ordered by the federal Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services.
- 478.7 (e) Licensing authority specific to section 245D.06, subdivisions 5, 6, 7, and 8, or 478.8 successor provisions; and section 245D.061 or successor provisions, for family child foster 478.9 care programs providing out-of-home respite, as identified in section 245D.03, subdivision 478.10 1, paragraph (b), clause (1), is excluded from the delegation of authority to county agencies.
- 478.11 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment.
- Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 245A.16, subdivision 11, is amended to read:
- Subd. 11. Electronic checklist use by family child care licensors. County and private agency staff who perform family child care delegated licensing functions must use the commissioner's electronic licensing checklist in the manner prescribed by the commissioner.
- 478.17 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2024.
- Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 245A.211, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
- Subd. 4. **Contraindicated physical restraints.** A license or certification holder must not implement a restraint on a person receiving services in a program in a way that is contraindicated for any of the person's known medical or psychological conditions. Prior to using restraints on a person, the license or certification holder must assess and document a determination of any with a known medical or psychological conditions that restraints are contraindicated for, the license or certification holder must document the contraindication and the type of restraints that will not be used on the person based on this determination.
- 478.27 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment.
- Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 245A.242, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2. **Emergency overdose treatment.** (a) A license holder must maintain a supply of opiate antagonists as defined in section 604A.04, subdivision 1, available for emergency

treatment of opioid overdose and must have a written standing order protocol by a physician 479.1 who is licensed under chapter 147, advanced practice registered nurse who is licensed under 479.2 479.3 chapter 148, or physician assistant who is licensed under chapter 147A, that permits the license holder to maintain a supply of opiate antagonists on site. A license holder must 479.4 require staff to undergo training in the specific mode of administration used at the program, 479.5 which may include intranasal administration, intramuscular injection, or both. 479.6 479.7 (b) Notwithstanding any requirements to the contrary in Minnesota Rules, chapters 2960 479.8 and 9530, and Minnesota Statutes, chapters 245F, 245G, and 245I: 479.9 (1) emergency opiate antagonist medications are not required to be stored in a locked 479.10 area and staff and adult clients may carry this medication on them and store it in an unlocked location; 479.11 479.12 (2) staff persons who only administer emergency opiate antagonist medications only require the training required by paragraph (a), which any knowledgeable trainer may provide. 479.13 The trainer is not required to be a registered nurse or part of an accredited educational 479.14 institution; and 479.15 (3) nonresidential substance use disorder treatment programs that do not administer 479.16 client medications beyond emergency opiate antagonist medications are not required to 479.17 have the policies and procedures required in section 245G.08, subdivisions 5 and 6, and 479.18 must instead describe the program's procedures for administering opiate antagonist 479.19 medications in the license holder's description of health care services under section 245G.08, 479.20 subdivision 1. 479.21 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment. 479.22 Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.52, subdivision 2, is amended to read: 479.23 Subd. 2. Door to attached garage. Notwithstanding Minnesota Rules, part 9502.0425, 479.24 subpart 5, day care residences with an attached garage are not required to have a self-closing 479.25 door to the residence. The door to the residence may be (a) If there is an opening between 479.26 479.27 an attached garage and a day care residence, there must be a door that is: (1) a solid wood bonded-core door at least 1-3/8 inches thick; 479.28 479.29 (2) a steel insulated door if the door is at least 1-3/8 inches thick.; or (3) a door with a fire protection rating of 20 minutes. 479.30 (b) The separation wall on the garage side between the residence and garage must consist 479.31 of 1/2-inch-thick gypsum wallboard or its equivalent. 479.32

Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.52, is amended by adding a subdivision 480.1 480.2 to read: 480.3 Subd. 8. Stairways. (a) All stairways must meet the requirements in this subdivision. (b) Stairways of four or more steps must have handrails on at least one side. 480.4 (c) Any open area between the handrail and stair tread must be enclosed with a protective 480.5 guardrail as specified in the State Building Code. At open risers, openings located more 480.6 480.7 than 30 inches or 762 millimeters as measured vertically to the floor or grade below must not permit the passage of a sphere four inches or 102 millimeters in diameter. 480.8 480.9 (d) Gates or barriers must be used when children aged six to 18 months are in care. (e) Stairways must be well lit, in good repair, and free of clutter and obstructions. 480.10 Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.66, subdivision 2, is amended to read: 480.11 480.12 Subd. 2. Child care centers; risk reduction plan. (a) Child care centers licensed under this chapter and Minnesota Rules, chapter 9503, must develop a risk reduction plan that identifies the general risks to children served by the child care center. The license holder 480.14 480.15 must establish procedures to minimize identified risks, train staff on the procedures, and annually review the procedures. 480.16 480.17 (b) The risk reduction plan must include an assessment of risk to children the center serves or intends to serve and identify specific risks based on the outcome of the assessment. 480.18 The assessment of risk must be based on the following: 480.19 (1) an assessment of the risks presented by the physical plant where the licensed services 480.20 are provided, including an evaluation of the following factors: the condition and design of 480.21 the facility and its outdoor space, bathrooms, storage areas, and accessibility of medications 480.22 and cleaning products that are harmful to children when children are not supervised and the 480.23 existence of areas that are difficult to supervise; and 480.24 (2) an assessment of the risks presented by the environment for each facility and for 480.25 480.26 each site, including an evaluation of the following factors: the type of grounds and terrain surrounding the building and the proximity to hazards, busy roads, and publicly accessed 480.27 businesses. 480.28 (c) The risk reduction plan must include a statement of measures that will be taken to 480.29 minimize the risk of harm presented to children for each risk identified in the assessment 480.30 required under paragraph (b) related to the physical plant and environment. At a minimum, 480.31 the stated measures must include the development and implementation of specific policies 480.32

and procedures or reference to existing policies and procedures that minimize the risks identified.

- (d) In addition to any program-specific risks identified in paragraph (b), the plan must include development and implementation of specific policies and procedures or refer to existing policies and procedures that minimize the risk of harm or injury to children, including:
- (1) closing children's fingers in doors, including cabinet doors;
- 481.8 (2) leaving children in the community without supervision;
- 481.9 (3) children leaving the facility without supervision;
- 481.10 (4) caregiver dislocation of children's elbows;
- 481.11 (5) burns from hot food or beverages, whether served to children or being consumed by caregivers, and the devices used to warm food and beverages;
- (6) injuries from equipment, such as scissors and glue guns;
- 481.14 (7) sunburn;

481.3

481.4

481.5

- 481.15 (8) feeding children foods to which they are allergic;
- 481.16 (9) children falling from changing tables; and
- 481.17 (10) children accessing dangerous items or chemicals or coming into contact with residue 481.18 from harmful cleaning products.
- (e) The plan shall prohibit the accessibility of hazardous items to children.
- (f) The plan must include specific policies and procedures to ensure adequate supervision of children at all times as defined under section 245A.02, subdivision 18, with particular emphasis on:
- 481.23 (1) times when children are transitioned from one area within the facility to another;
- (2) nap-time supervision, including infant crib rooms as specified under section 245A.02, subdivision 18, which requires that when an infant is placed in a crib to sleep, supervision occurs when a staff person is within sight or hearing of the infant. When supervision of a crib room is provided by sight or hearing, the center must have a plan to address the other supervision components;
- 481.29 (3) child drop-off and pick-up times;

482.1	(4) supervision during outdoor play and on community activities, including but not
482.2	limited to field trips and neighborhood walks;
482.3	(5) supervision of children in hallways; and
482.4	(6) supervision of school-age children when using the restroom and visiting the child's
482.5	personal storage space-; and
482.6	(7) supervision of preschool children when using an individual, private restroom within
482.7	the classroom.
482.8	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2024.
482.9	Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 245C.02, subdivision 6a, is amended
482.10	to read:
482.11	Subd. 6a. Child care background study subject. (a) "Child care background study
482.12	subject" means an individual who is affiliated with a licensed child care center, certified
482.13	license-exempt child care center, licensed family child care program, or legal nonlicensed
482.14	child care provider authorized under chapter 119B, and who is:
482.15	(1) employed by a child care provider for compensation;
482.16	(2) assisting in the care of a child for a child care provider;
482.17	(3) a person applying for licensure, certification, or enrollment;
482.18	(4) a controlling individual as defined in section 245A.02, subdivision 5a;
482.19	(5) an individual 13 years of age or older who lives in the household where the licensed
482.20	program will be provided and who is not receiving licensed services from the program;
482.21	(6) an individual ten to 12 years of age who lives in the household where the licensed
482.22	services will be provided when the commissioner has reasonable cause as defined in section
482.23	245C.02, subdivision 15;
482.24	(7) an individual who, without providing direct contact services at a licensed program,
482.25	certified program, or program authorized under chapter 119B, may have unsupervised access
482.26	to a child receiving services from a program when the commissioner has reasonable cause
482.27	as defined in section 245C.02, subdivision 15; or
482.28	(8) a volunteer, contractor providing services for hire in the program, prospective
482.29	employee, or other individual who has unsupervised physical access to a child served by a
482.30	program and who is not under supervision by an individual listed in clause (1) or (5),
482.31	regardless of whether the individual provides program services-; or

483.1	(9) an authorized agent in a license-exempt certified child care center as defined in
483.2	section 245H.01, subdivision 2a.
483.3	(b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), an individual who is providing services that are not
483.4	part of the child care program is not required to have a background study if:
483.5	(1) the child receiving services is signed out of the child care program for the duration
483.6	that the services are provided;
483.7	(2) the licensed child care center, certified license-exempt child care center, licensed
483.8	family child care program, or legal nonlicensed child care provider authorized under chapter
483.9	119B has obtained advanced written permission from the parent authorizing the child to
483.10	receive the services, which is maintained in the child's record;
483.11	(3) the licensed child care center, certified license-exempt child care center, licensed
483.12	family child care program, or legal nonlicensed child care provider authorized under chapter
483.13	119B maintains documentation on site that identifies the individual service provider and
483.14	the services being provided; and
483.15	(4) the licensed child care center, certified license-exempt child care center, licensed
483.16	family child care program, or legal nonlicensed child care provider authorized under chapter
483.17	119B ensures that the service provider does not have unsupervised access to a child not
483.18	receiving the provider's services.
483.19	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective October 1, 2024.
483.20	Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 245C.02, subdivision 13e, is
483.21	amended to read:
483.22	Subd. 13e. NETStudy 2.0. (a) "NETStudy 2.0" means the commissioner's system that
483.23	replaces both NETStudy and the department's internal background study processing system.
483.24	NETStudy 2.0 is designed to enhance protection of children and vulnerable adults by
483.25	improving the accuracy of background studies through fingerprint-based criminal record
483.26	checks and expanding the background studies to include a review of information from the
483.27	Minnesota Court Information System and the national crime information database. NETStudy
483.28	2.0 is also designed to increase efficiencies in and the speed of the hiring process by:
483.29	(1) providing access to and updates from public web-based data related to employment
483.30	eligibility;
483.31	(2) decreasing the need for repeat studies through electronic updates of background
483.32	study subjects' criminal records;

484.1	(3) supporting identity verification using subjects' Social Security numbers and
484.2	photographs;
484.3	(4) using electronic employer notifications;
484.4	(5) issuing immediate verification of subjects' eligibility to provide services as more
484.5	studies are completed under the NETStudy 2.0 system; and
484.6	(6) providing electronic access to certain notices for entities and background study
484.7	subjects.
484.8	(b) Information obtained by entities from public web-based data through NETStudy 2.0
484.9	under paragraph (a), clause (1), or any other source that is not direct correspondence from
484.10	the commissioner is not a notice of disqualification from the commissioner under this
484.11	chapter.
484.12	Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245C.03, is amended by adding a subdivision
484.13	to read:
484.14	Subd. 16. Individuals affiliated with a Head Start program. When initiated by the
484.15	Head Start program, including Tribal Head Start programs, the commissioner shall conduct
484.16	a background study on any individual who is affiliated with a Head Start program.
484.17	Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 245C.033, subdivision 3, is amended
484.18	to read:
484.19	Subd. 3. Procedure; maltreatment and state licensing agency data. (a) For requests
484.20	paid directly by the guardian or conservator, requests for maltreatment and state licensing
484.21	agency data checks must be submitted by the guardian or conservator to the commissioner
484.22	on the form or in the manner prescribed by the commissioner. Upon receipt of a signed
484.23	informed consent and payment under section 245C.10, the commissioner shall complete
484.24	the maltreatment and state licensing agency checks. Upon completion of the checks, the
484.25	commissioner shall provide the requested information to the courts on the form or in the
484.26	manner prescribed by the commissioner.
484.27	(b) For requests paid by the court based on the in forma pauperis status of the guardian
484.28	or conservator, requests for maltreatment and state licensing agency data checks must be
484.29	submitted by the court to the commissioner on the form or in the manner prescribed by the
484.30	commissioner. The form will serve as certification that the individual has been granted in
484.31	forma pauperis status. Upon receipt of a signed data request consent form from the court,
484 32	the commissioner shall initiate the maltreatment and state licensing agency checks. Upon

completion of the checks, the commissioner shall provide the requested information to the courts on the form or in the manner prescribed by the commissioner.

Sec. 26. [245C.041] EMERGENCY WAIVER TO TEMPORARILY MODIFY

485.3

- (a) In the event of an emergency identified by the commissioner, the commissioner may temporarily waive or modify provisions in this chapter, except that the commissioner shall not waive or modify:
- 485.8 (1) disqualification standards in section 245C.14 or 245C.15; or
- 485.9 (2) any provision regarding the scope of individuals required to be subject to a background 485.10 study conducted under this chapter.
- (b) For the purposes of this section, an emergency may include, but is not limited to a public health emergency, environmental emergency, natural disaster, or other unplanned event that the commissioner has determined prevents the requirements in this chapter from being met. This authority shall not exceed the amount of time needed to respond to the emergency and reinstate the requirements of this chapter. The commissioner has the authority to establish the process and time frame for returning to full compliance with this chapter.

 The commissioner shall determine the length of time an emergency study is valid.
- (c) At the conclusion of the emergency, entities must submit a new, compliant background study application and fee for each individual who was the subject of background study affected by the powers created in this section, referred to as an "emergency study" to have a new study that fully complies with this chapter within a time frame and notice period established by the commissioner.
- 485.23 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment.
- Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245C.05, subdivision 5, is amended to read:
- Subd. 5. **Fingerprints and photograph.** (a) Notwithstanding paragraph (b) (c), for background studies conducted by the commissioner for child foster care, children's residential facilities, adoptions, or a transfer of permanent legal and physical custody of a child, the subject of the background study, who is 18 years of age or older, shall provide the commissioner with a set of classifiable fingerprints obtained from an authorized agency for a national criminal history record check.
- (b) Notwithstanding paragraph (c), for background studies conducted by the commissioner for Head Start programs, the subject of the background study shall provide the commissioner

with a set of classifiable fingerprints obtained from an authorized agency for a national criminal history record check.

- (b) (c) For background studies initiated on or after the implementation of NETStudy 2.0, except as provided under subdivision 5a, every subject of a background study must provide the commissioner with a set of the background study subject's classifiable fingerprints and photograph. The photograph and fingerprints must be recorded at the same time by the authorized fingerprint collection vendor or vendors and sent to the commissioner through the commissioner's secure data system described in section 245C.32, subdivision 1a, paragraph (b).
- 486.10 (e) (d) The fingerprints shall be submitted by the commissioner to the Bureau of Criminal
 486.11 Apprehension and, when specifically required by law, submitted to the Federal Bureau of
 486.12 Investigation for a national criminal history record check.
- 486.13 (d) (e) The fingerprints must not be retained by the Department of Public Safety, Bureau of Criminal Apprehension, or the commissioner. The Federal Bureau of Investigation will not retain background study subjects' fingerprints.
- (e) (f) The authorized fingerprint collection vendor or vendors shall, for purposes of verifying the identity of the background study subject, be able to view the identifying information entered into NETStudy 2.0 by the entity that initiated the background study, but shall not retain the subject's fingerprints, photograph, or information from NETStudy 2.0. The authorized fingerprint collection vendor or vendors shall retain no more than the name and date and time the subject's fingerprints were recorded and sent, only as necessary for auditing and billing activities.
- (f) (g) For any background study conducted under this chapter, the subject shall provide the commissioner with a set of classifiable fingerprints when the commissioner has reasonable cause to require a national criminal history record check as defined in section 245C.02, subdivision 15a.
- Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 245C.08, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
- Subdivision 1. **Background studies conducted by Department of Human Services.** (a)
 For a background study conducted by the Department of Human Services, the commissioner shall review:

486.3

486.4

486.5

486.6

486.7

486.8

487.1	(1) information related to names of substantiated perpetrators of maltreatment of
487.2	vulnerable adults that has been received by the commissioner as required under section
487.3	626.557, subdivision 9c, paragraph (j);

- (2) the commissioner's records relating to the maltreatment of minors in licensed programs, and from findings of maltreatment of minors as indicated through the social service information system;
- (3) information from juvenile courts as required in subdivision 4 for individuals listed in section 245C.03, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), for studies under this chapter when there is reasonable cause;
- (4) information from the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension, including information regarding a background study subject's registration in Minnesota as a predatory offender under section 243.166;
- (5) except as provided in clause (6), information received as a result of submission of fingerprints for a national criminal history record check, as defined in section 245C.02, subdivision 13c, when the commissioner has reasonable cause for a national criminal history record check as defined under section 245C.02, subdivision 15a, or as required under section 144.057, subdivision 1, clause (2);
- (6) for a background study related to a child foster family setting application for licensure, foster residence settings, children's residential facilities, a transfer of permanent legal and physical custody of a child under sections 260C.503 to 260C.515, or adoptions, and for a background study required for family child care, certified license-exempt child care, child care centers, and legal nonlicensed child care authorized under chapter 119B, the commissioner shall also review:
- 487.24 (i) information from the child abuse and neglect registry for any state in which the 487.25 background study subject has resided for the past five years;
- 487.26 (ii) when the background study subject is 18 years of age or older, or a minor under 487.27 section 245C.05, subdivision 5a, paragraph (c), information received following submission 487.28 of fingerprints for a national criminal history record check; and
- (iii) when the background study subject is 18 years of age or older or a minor under section 245C.05, subdivision 5a, paragraph (d), for licensed family child care, certified license-exempt child care, licensed child care centers, and legal nonlicensed child care authorized under chapter 119B, information obtained using non-fingerprint-based data including information from the criminal and sex offender registries for any state in which

487.4

487.5

the background study subject resided for the past five years and information from the national crime information database and the national sex offender registry;

- (7) for a background study required for family child care, certified license-exempt child care centers, licensed child care centers, and legal nonlicensed child care authorized under chapter 119B, the background study shall also include, to the extent practicable, a name and date-of-birth search of the National Sex Offender Public website; and
- (8) for a background study required for treatment programs for sexual psychopathic personalities or sexually dangerous persons, the background study shall only include a review of the information required under paragraph (a), clauses (1) to (4).
- (b) Except as otherwise provided in this paragraph, notwithstanding expungement by a court, the commissioner may consider information obtained under paragraph (a), clauses (3) and (4), unless:
- 488.13 (1) the commissioner received notice of the petition for expungement and the court order 488.14 for expungement is directed specifically to the commissioner; or
- (2) the commissioner received notice of the expungement order issued pursuant to section 609A.017, 609A.025, or 609A.035, and the order for expungement is directed specifically to the commissioner.
- The commissioner may not consider information obtained under paragraph (a), clauses (3) 488.18 and (4), or from any other source that identifies a violation of chapter 152 without 488.19 determining if the offense involved the possession of marijuana or tetrahydrocannabinol 488.20 and, if so, whether the person received a grant of expungement or order of expungement, 488.21 or the person was resentenced to a lesser offense. If the person received a grant of 488.22 expungement or order of expungement, the commissioner may not consider information 488.23 related to that violation but may consider any other relevant information arising out of the 488.24 same incident. 488.25
 - (c) The commissioner shall also review criminal case information received according to section 245C.04, subdivision 4a, from the Minnesota court information system that relates to individuals who have already been studied under this chapter and who remain affiliated with the agency that initiated the background study.
- (d) When the commissioner has reasonable cause to believe that the identity of a background study subject is uncertain, the commissioner may require the subject to provide a set of classifiable fingerprints for purposes of completing a fingerprint-based record check with the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension. Fingerprints collected under this paragraph

488.1

488.2

488.3

488.4

488.5

488.6

488.7

488.8

488.9

488.26

488.27

488.28

shall not be saved by the commissioner after they have been used to verify the identity of the background study subject against the particular criminal record in question.

- (e) The commissioner may inform the entity that initiated a background study under NETStudy 2.0 of the status of processing of the subject's fingerprints.
- Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245C.08, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
- Subd. 4. **Juvenile court records.** (a) For a background study conducted by the
 Department of Human Services, the commissioner shall review records from the juvenile
 courts for an individual studied under section 245C.03, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), this
 chapter when the commissioner has reasonable cause.
 - (b) For a background study conducted by a county agency for family child care before the implementation of NETStudy 2.0, the commissioner shall review records from the juvenile courts for individuals listed in section 245C.03, subdivision 1, who are ages 13 through 23 living in the household where the licensed services will be provided. The commissioner shall also review records from juvenile courts for any other individual listed under section 245C.03, subdivision 1, when the commissioner has reasonable cause.
- (e) (b) The juvenile courts shall help with the study by giving the commissioner existing juvenile court records relating to delinquency proceedings held on individuals described in section 245C.03, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), who are subjects of studies under this chapter when requested pursuant to this subdivision.
- 489.20 (d) (c) For purposes of this chapter, a finding that a delinquency petition is proven in juvenile court shall be considered a conviction in state district court.
- (e) (d) Juvenile courts shall provide orders of involuntary and voluntary termination of parental rights under section 260C.301 to the commissioner upon request for purposes of conducting a background study under this chapter.
- Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 245C.10, subdivision 15, is amended to read:
- Subd. 15. **Guardians and conservators.** (a) The commissioner shall recover the cost of conducting maltreatment and state licensing agency checks for guardians and conservators under section 245C.033 through a fee of no more than \$50. The fees collected under this subdivision are appropriated to the commissioner for the purpose of conducting maltreatment and state licensing agency checks.

489.1

489.2

489.3

489.4

489.10

489.11

489.12

489.13

(b) The fee must be paid directly to and in the manner prescribed by the commissioner 490.1 before any maltreatment and state licensing agency checks under section 245C.033 may be 490.2 490.3 conducted. (c) Notwithstanding paragraph (b), the court shall pay the fee for an applicant who has 490.4 490.5 been granted in forma pauperis status upon receipt of the invoice from the commissioner. Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245C.10, subdivision 18, is amended to read: 490.6 Subd. 18. Applicants, licensees, and other occupations regulated by commissioner 490.7 of health. The applicant or license holder is responsible for paying to the Department of 490.8 Human Services all fees associated with the preparation of the fingerprints, the criminal 490.9 records check consent form, and, through a fee of no more than \$44 per study, the criminal 490.11 background check. Sec. 32. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245C.14, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 490.12 Subdivision 1. Disqualification from direct contact. (a) The commissioner shall 490.13 disqualify an individual who is the subject of a background study from any position allowing 490.14 direct contact with persons receiving services from the license holder or entity identified in 490.15 section 245C.03, upon receipt of information showing, or when a background study 490.16 completed under this chapter shows any of the following: 490.17 (1) a conviction of, admission to, or Alford plea to one or more crimes listed in section 490.18 245C.15, regardless of whether the conviction or admission is a felony, gross misdemeanor, 490.19 or misdemeanor level crime; 490.20 (2) a preponderance of the evidence indicates the individual has committed an act or 490.21 acts that meet the definition of any of the crimes listed in section 245C.15, regardless of 490.22 whether the preponderance of the evidence is for a felony, gross misdemeanor, or 490.23 490.24 misdemeanor level crime; or (3) an investigation results in an administrative determination listed under section 490.25 490.26 245C.15, subdivision 4, paragraph (b).; or (4) the individual's parental rights have been terminated under section 260C.301, 490.27 subdivision 1, paragraph (b), or section 260C.301, subdivision 3. 490.28 (b) No individual who is disqualified following a background study under section 490.29 245C.03, subdivisions 1 and 2, may be retained in a position involving direct contact with 490.30 persons served by a program or entity identified in section 245C.03, unless the commissioner 490.31

490.32

has provided written notice under section 245C.17 stating that:

(1) the individual may remain in direct contact during the period in which the individual may request reconsideration as provided in section 245C.21, subdivision 2;

- (2) the commissioner has set aside the individual's disqualification for that program or entity identified in section 245C.03, as provided in section 245C.22, subdivision 4; or
- 491.5 (3) the license holder has been granted a variance for the disqualified individual under section 245C.30.
- (c) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), for the purposes of a background study affiliated with a licensed family foster setting, the commissioner shall disqualify an individual who is the subject of a background study from any position allowing direct contact with persons receiving services from the license holder or entity identified in section 245C.03, upon receipt of information showing or when a background study completed under this chapter shows reason for disqualification under section 245C.15, subdivision 4a.
- Sec. 33. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245C.14, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
- Subd. 5. Basis for disqualification. Information obtained by entities from public
 web-based data through NETStudy 2.0 or any other source that is not direct correspondence
 from the commissioner is not a notice of disqualification from the commissioner under this
 chapter.
- Sec. 34. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 245C.15, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2. 15-year disqualification. (a) An individual is disqualified under section 245C.14 491.21 if: (1) less than 15 years have passed since the discharge of the sentence imposed, if any, 491.22 for the offense; and (2) the individual has committed a felony-level violation of any of the 491.23 491.24 following offenses: sections 152.021, subdivision 1 or 2b, (aggravated controlled substance crime in the first degree; sale crimes); 152.022, subdivision 1 (controlled substance crime 491.25 in the second degree; sale crimes); 152.023, subdivision 1 (controlled substance crime in 491.26 the third degree; sale crimes); 152.024, subdivision 1 (controlled substance crime in the 491.27 fourth degree; sale crimes); 152.0263, subdivision 1 (possession of cannabis in the first 491.28 degree); 152.0264, subdivision 1 (sale of cannabis in the first degree); 152.0265, subdivision 491.29 1 (cultivation of cannabis in the first degree); 169A.24 (first-degree driving while impaired); 491.30 256.98 (wrongfully obtaining assistance); 260B.425 (criminal jurisdiction for contributing 491.31 to status as a juvenile petty offender or delinquency); 260C.425 (criminal jurisdiction for 491.32 contributing to need for protection or services); 268.182 (fraud); 393.07, subdivision 10, 491.33

491.3

paragraph (c) (federal SNAP fraud); 518B.01, subdivision 14 (violation of an order for

protection); 609.165 (felon ineligible to possess firearm); 609.2112, 609.2113, or 609.2114 492.2 (criminal vehicular homicide or injury); 609.215 (suicide); 609.223 or 609.2231 (assault in 492.3 the third or fourth degree); repeat offenses under 609.224 (assault in the fifth degree); 492.4 609.229 (crimes committed for benefit of a gang); 609.2325 (criminal abuse of a vulnerable 492.5 adult); 609.2335 (financial exploitation of a vulnerable adult); 609.235 (use of drugs to 492.6 injure or facilitate crime); 609.24 (simple robbery); 609.247, subdivision 4 (carjacking in 492.7 492.8 the third degree); 609.255 (false imprisonment); 609.2664 (manslaughter of an unborn child in the first degree); 609.2665 (manslaughter of an unborn child in the second degree); 492.9 609.267 (assault of an unborn child in the first degree); 609.2671 (assault of an unborn child 492.10 in the second degree); 609.268 (injury or death of an unborn child in the commission of a 492.11 crime); 609.27 (coercion); 609.275 (attempt to coerce); 609.466 (medical assistance fraud); 492.12 609.495 (aiding an offender); 609.498, subdivision 1 or 1b (aggravated first-degree or 492.13 first-degree tampering with a witness); 609.52 (theft); 609.521 (possession of shoplifting 492.14 gear); 609.522 (organized retail theft); 609.525 (bringing stolen goods into Minnesota); 492.15 609.527 (identity theft); 609.53 (receiving stolen property); 609.535 (issuance of dishonored 492.16 checks); 609.562 (arson in the second degree); 609.563 (arson in the third degree); 609.582 492.17 (burglary); 609.59 (possession of burglary tools); 609.611 (insurance fraud); 609.625 492.18 (aggravated forgery); 609.63 (forgery); 609.631 (check forgery; offering a forged check); 492.19 609.635 (obtaining signature by false pretense); 609.66 (dangerous weapons); 609.67 492.20 (machine guns and short-barreled shotguns); 609.687 (adulteration); 609.71 (riot); 609.713 (terroristic threats); 609.746 (interference with privacy); 609.82 (fraud in obtaining credit); 492.22 609.821 (financial transaction card fraud); 617.23 (indecent exposure), not involving a 492.23 minor; repeat offenses under 617.241 (obscene materials and performances; distribution 492.24 and exhibition prohibited; penalty); or 624.713 (certain persons not to possess firearms). 492.25 (b) An individual is disqualified under section 245C.14 if less than 15 years has passed 492.26 since the individual's aiding and abetting, attempt, or conspiracy to commit any of the 492.27 offenses listed in paragraph (a), as each of these offenses is defined in Minnesota Statutes. 492.28 492.29 (c) An individual is disqualified under section 245C.14 if less than 15 years has passed since the termination of the individual's parental rights under section 260C.301, subdivision 492.30 1, paragraph (b), or subdivision 3. 492.31 (d) An individual is disqualified under section 245C.14 if less than 15 years has passed 492.32

492.33

492.34

492.1

since the discharge of the sentence imposed for an offense in any other state or country, the

elements of which are substantially similar to the elements of the offenses listed in paragraph

(a) or since the termination of parental rights in any other state or country, the elements of which are substantially similar to the elements listed in paragraph (c).

- (e) If the individual studied commits one of the offenses listed in paragraph (a), but the sentence or level of offense is a gross misdemeanor or misdemeanor, the individual is disqualified but the disqualification look-back period for the offense is the period applicable to the gross misdemeanor or misdemeanor disposition.
- (f) When a disqualification is based on a judicial determination other than a conviction, the disqualification period begins from the date of the court order. When a disqualification is based on an admission, the disqualification period begins from the date of an admission in court. When a disqualification is based on an Alford Plea, the disqualification period 493.10 begins from the date the Alford Plea is entered in court. When a disqualification is based on a preponderance of evidence of a disqualifying act, the disqualification date begins from 493.12 the date of the dismissal, the date of discharge of the sentence imposed for a conviction for 493.13 a disqualifying crime of similar elements, or the date of the incident, whichever occurs last. 493.14

Sec. 35. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245C.15, subdivision 3, is amended to read: 493.15

493.16 Subd. 3. Ten-year disqualification. (a) An individual is disqualified under section 245C.14 if: (1) less than ten years have passed since the discharge of the sentence imposed, 493.17 if any, for the offense; and (2) the individual has committed a gross misdemeanor-level 493.18 violation of any of the following offenses: sections 256.98 (wrongfully obtaining assistance); 493.19 260B.425 (criminal jurisdiction for contributing to status as a juvenile petty offender or 493.20 delinquency); 260C.425 (criminal jurisdiction for contributing to need for protection or 493.21 493.22 services); 268.182 (fraud); 393.07, subdivision 10, paragraph (c) (federal SNAP fraud); 609.2112, 609.2113, or 609.2114 (criminal vehicular homicide or injury); 609.221 or 609.222 493.23 (assault in the first or second degree); 609.223 or 609.2231 (assault in the third or fourth 493.24 degree); 609.224 (assault in the fifth degree); 609.224, subdivision 2, paragraph (c) (assault 493.25 in the fifth degree by a caregiver against a vulnerable adult); 609.2242 and 609.2243 493.26 (domestic assault); 609.23 (mistreatment of persons confined); 609.231 (mistreatment of 493.27 residents or patients); 609.2325 (criminal abuse of a vulnerable adult); 609.233 (criminal 493.28 neglect of a vulnerable adult); 609.2335 (financial exploitation of a vulnerable adult); 493.29 609.234 (failure to report maltreatment of a vulnerable adult); 609.265 (abduction); 609.275 493.30 (attempt to coerce); 609.324, subdivision 1a (other prohibited acts; minor engaged in 493.31 prostitution); 609.33 (disorderly house); 609.377 (malicious punishment of a child); 609.378 493.32 493.33 (neglect or endangerment of a child); 609.466 (medical assistance fraud); 609.52 (theft); 609.522 (organized retail theft); 609.525 (bringing stolen goods into Minnesota); 609.527 493.34

493.1

493.2

493.3

493.4

493.5

493.6

493.7

493.8

493.9

(identity theft); 609.53 (receiving stolen property); 609.535 (issuance of dishonored checks); 494.1 609.582 (burglary); 609.59 (possession of burglary tools); 609.611 (insurance fraud); 609.631 494.2 (check forgery; offering a forged check); 609.66 (dangerous weapons); 609.71 (riot); 609.72, 494.3 subdivision 3 (disorderly conduct against a vulnerable adult); repeat offenses under 609.746 494.4 (interference with privacy); 609.749, subdivision 2 (harassment); 609.82 (fraud in obtaining 494.5 credit); 609.821 (financial transaction card fraud); 617.23 (indecent exposure), not involving 494.6 a minor; 617.241 (obscene materials and performances); 617.243 (indecent literature, 494.7 494.8 distribution); 617.293 (harmful materials; dissemination and display to minors prohibited); or Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 609.21; or violation of an order for protection under 494.9 section 518B.01, subdivision 14. 494.10

- (b) An individual is disqualified under section 245C.14 if less than ten years has passed since the individual's aiding and abetting, attempt, or conspiracy to commit any of the offenses listed in paragraph (a), as each of these offenses is defined in Minnesota Statutes.
- (c) An individual is disqualified under section 245C.14 if less than ten years has passed since the discharge of the sentence imposed for an offense in any other state or country, the elements of which are substantially similar to the elements of any of the offenses listed in paragraph (a).
- (d) If the individual studied commits one of the offenses listed in paragraph (a), but the sentence or level of offense is a misdemeanor disposition, the individual is disqualified but the disqualification lookback period for the offense is the period applicable to misdemeanors.
- (e) When a disqualification is based on a judicial determination other than a conviction, the disqualification period begins from the date of the court order. When a disqualification is based on an admission, the disqualification period begins from the date of an admission in court. When a disqualification is based on an Alford Plea, the disqualification period begins from the date the Alford Plea is entered in court. When a disqualification is based on a preponderance of evidence of a disqualifying act, the disqualification date begins from the date of the dismissal, the date of discharge of the sentence imposed for a conviction for a disqualifying crime of similar elements, or the date of the incident, whichever occurs last.
- Sec. 36. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245C.15, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
- Subd. 4. **Seven-year disqualification.** (a) An individual is disqualified under section 245C.14 if: (1) less than seven years has passed since the discharge of the sentence imposed, if any, for the offense; and (2) the individual has committed a misdemeanor-level violation of any of the following offenses: sections 256.98 (wrongfully obtaining assistance); 260B.425 (criminal jurisdiction for contributing to status as a juvenile petty offender or delinquency);

494.11

494.13

494.14

494.15

494.17

494.18

494.19

494.20

494.21

494.22

494.23

494.24

494.25

494.26

494.27

494.28

260C.425 (criminal jurisdiction for contributing to need for protection or services); 268.182 495.1 (fraud); 393.07, subdivision 10, paragraph (c) (federal SNAP fraud); 609.2112, 609.2113, 495.2 495.3 or 609.2114 (criminal vehicular homicide or injury); 609.221 (assault in the first degree); 609.222 (assault in the second degree); 609.223 (assault in the third degree); 609.2231 495.4 (assault in the fourth degree); 609.224 (assault in the fifth degree); 609.2242 (domestic 495.5 assault); 609.2335 (financial exploitation of a vulnerable adult); 609.234 (failure to report 495.6 maltreatment of a vulnerable adult); 609.2672 (assault of an unborn child in the third degree); 495.7 495.8 609.27 (coercion); violation of an order for protection under 609.3232 (protective order authorized; procedures; penalties); 609.466 (medical assistance fraud); 609.52 (theft); 495.9 609.522 (organized retail theft); 609.525 (bringing stolen goods into Minnesota); 609.527 495.10 (identity theft); 609.53 (receiving stolen property); 609.535 (issuance of dishonored checks); 495.11 609.611 (insurance fraud); 609.66 (dangerous weapons); 609.665 (spring guns); 609.746 495.12 (interference with privacy); 609.79 (obscene or harassing telephone calls); 609.795 (letter, 495.13 telegram, or package; opening; harassment); 609.82 (fraud in obtaining credit); 609.821 495.14 (financial transaction card fraud); 617.23 (indecent exposure), not involving a minor; 617.293 495.15 (harmful materials; dissemination and display to minors prohibited); or Minnesota Statutes 495.16 2012, section 609.21; or violation of an order for protection under section 518B.01 (Domestic 495.17 Abuse Act). 495.18

- (b) An individual is disqualified under section 245C.14 if less than seven years has passed since a determination or disposition of the individual's:
- (1) failure to make required reports under section 260E.06 or 626.557, subdivision 3, for incidents in which: (i) the final disposition under section 626.557 or chapter 260E was substantiated maltreatment, and (ii) the maltreatment was recurring or serious; or
 - (2) substantiated serious or recurring maltreatment of a minor under chapter 260E, a vulnerable adult under section 626.557, or serious or recurring maltreatment in any other state, the elements of which are substantially similar to the elements of maltreatment under section 626.557 or chapter 260E for which: (i) there is a preponderance of evidence that the maltreatment occurred, and (ii) the subject was responsible for the maltreatment.
 - (c) An individual is disqualified under section 245C.14 if less than seven years has passed since the individual's aiding and abetting, attempt, or conspiracy to commit any of the offenses listed in paragraphs (a) and (b), as each of these offenses is defined in Minnesota Statutes.
- (d) An individual is disqualified under section 245C.14 if less than seven years has passed since the discharge of the sentence imposed for an offense in any other state or

495.19

495.20

495.24

495.25

495.26

495.27

495.28

495.29

495.30

495.31

country, the elements of which are substantially similar to the elements of any of the offenses listed in paragraphs (a) and (b).

- (e) When a disqualification is based on a judicial determination other than a conviction, the disqualification period begins from the date of the court order. When a disqualification is based on an admission, the disqualification period begins from the date of an admission in court. When a disqualification is based on an Alford Plea, the disqualification period begins from the date the Alford Plea is entered in court. When a disqualification is based on a preponderance of evidence of a disqualifying act, the disqualification date begins from the date of the dismissal, the date of discharge of the sentence imposed for a conviction for a disqualifying crime of similar elements, or the date of the incident, whichever occurs last.
- (f) An individual is disqualified under section 245C.14 if less than seven years has passed since the individual was disqualified under section 256.98, subdivision 8.

Sec. 37. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 245C.15, subdivision 4a, is amended to read:

Subd. 4a. Licensed family foster setting disqualifications. (a) Notwithstanding 496.15 subdivisions 1 to 4, for a background study affiliated with a licensed family foster setting, 496.16 regardless of how much time has passed, an individual is disqualified under section 245C.14 496.17 if the individual committed an act that resulted in a felony-level conviction for sections: 496.18 609.185 (murder in the first degree); 609.19 (murder in the second degree); 609.195 (murder 496.19 in the third degree); 609.20 (manslaughter in the first degree); 609.205 (manslaughter in 496.20 the second degree); 609.2112 (criminal vehicular homicide); 609.221 (assault in the first 496.21 degree); 609.223, subdivision 2 (assault in the third degree, past pattern of child abuse); 496.22 609.223, subdivision 3 (assault in the third degree, victim under four); a felony offense 496.23 under sections 609.2242 and 609.2243 (domestic assault, spousal abuse, child abuse or 496.24 neglect, or a crime against children); 609.2247 (domestic assault by strangulation); 609.2325 496.25 (criminal abuse of a vulnerable adult resulting in the death of a vulnerable adult); 609.245 496.26 (aggravated robbery); 609.247, subdivision 2 or 3 (carjacking in the first or second degree); 496.27 496.28 609.25 (kidnapping); 609.255 (false imprisonment); 609.2661 (murder of an unborn child in the first degree); 609.2662 (murder of an unborn child in the second degree); 609.2663 496.29 (murder of an unborn child in the third degree); 609.2664 (manslaughter of an unborn child 496.30 in the first degree); 609.2665 (manslaughter of an unborn child in the second degree); 496.31 609.267 (assault of an unborn child in the first degree); 609.2671 (assault of an unborn child 496.32 in the second degree); 609.268 (injury or death of an unborn child in the commission of a crime); 609.322, subdivision 1 (solicitation, inducement, and promotion of prostitution; sex 496.34

496.1

496.2

496.3

496.4

496.5

496.6

496.7

496.8

496.9

trafficking in the first degree); 609.324, subdivision 1 (other prohibited acts; engaging in, 497.1 hiring, or agreeing to hire minor to engage in prostitution); 609.342 (criminal sexual conduct 497.2 in the first degree); 609.343 (criminal sexual conduct in the second degree); 609.344 (criminal 497.3 sexual conduct in the third degree); 609.345 (criminal sexual conduct in the fourth degree); 497.4 609.3451 (criminal sexual conduct in the fifth degree); 609.3453 (criminal sexual predatory 497.5 conduct); 609.3458 (sexual extortion); 609.352 (solicitation of children to engage in sexual 497.6 conduct); 609.377 (malicious punishment of a child); 609.378 (neglect or endangerment of 497.7 497.8 a child); 609.561 (arson in the first degree); 609.582, subdivision 1 (burglary in the first degree); 609.746 (interference with privacy); 617.23 (indecent exposure); 617.246 (use of 497.9 minors in sexual performance prohibited); or 617.247 (possession of pictorial representations 497.10 of minors). 497.11

- (b) Notwithstanding subdivisions 1 to 4, for the purposes of a background study affiliated with a licensed family foster setting, an individual is disqualified under section 245C.14, regardless of how much time has passed, if the individual:
- 497.15 (1) committed an action under paragraph (e) that resulted in death or involved sexual abuse, as defined in section 260E.03, subdivision 20;
- 497.17 (2) committed an act that resulted in a gross misdemeanor-level conviction for section 609.3451 (criminal sexual conduct in the fifth degree);
- (3) committed an act against or involving a minor that resulted in a felony-level conviction for: section 609.222 (assault in the second degree); 609.223, subdivision 1 (assault in the third degree); 609.2231 (assault in the fourth degree); or 609.224 (assault in the fifth degree); 497.22 or
- 497.23 (4) committed an act that resulted in a misdemeanor or gross misdemeanor-level conviction for section 617.293 (dissemination and display of harmful materials to minors).
- (c) Notwithstanding subdivisions 1 to 4, for a background study affiliated with a licensed 497.25 family foster setting, an individual is disqualified under section 245C.14 if fewer than 20 years have passed since the termination of the individual's parental rights under section 497.27 260C.301, subdivision 1, paragraph (b), or if the individual consented to a termination of 497.28 parental rights under section 260C.301, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), to settle a petition to 497.29 involuntarily terminate parental rights. An individual is disqualified under section 245C.14 497.30 if fewer than 20 years have passed since the termination of the individual's parental rights 497.31 in any other state or country, where the conditions for the individual's termination of parental 497.32 rights are substantially similar to the conditions in section 260C.301, subdivision 1, paragraph 497.33 (b). 497.34

(d) Notwithstanding subdivisions 1 to 4, for a background study affiliated with a licensed

family foster setting, an individual is disqualified under section 245C.14 if fewer than five 498.2 498.3 years have passed since a felony-level violation for sections: 152.021 (controlled substance crime in the first degree); 152.022 (controlled substance crime in the second degree); 152.023 498.4 (controlled substance crime in the third degree); 152.024 (controlled substance crime in the 498.5 fourth degree); 152.025 (controlled substance crime in the fifth degree); 152.0261 (importing 498.6 controlled substances across state borders); 152.0262, subdivision 1, paragraph (b) 498.7 498.8 (possession of substance with intent to manufacture methamphetamine); 152.0263, subdivision 1 (possession of cannabis in the first degree); 152.0264, subdivision 1 (sale of 498.9 cannabis in the first degree); 152.0265, subdivision 1 (cultivation of cannabis in the first 498.10 degree); 152.027, subdivision 6, paragraph (c) (sale or possession of synthetic cannabinoids); 498.11 152.096 (conspiracies prohibited); 152.097 (simulated controlled substances); 152.136 498.12 (anhydrous ammonia; prohibited conduct; criminal penalties; civil liabilities); 152.137 498.13 (methamphetamine-related crimes involving children or vulnerable adults); 169A.24 (felony 498.14 first-degree driving while impaired); 243.166 (violation of predatory offender registration 498.15 requirements); 609.2113 (criminal vehicular operation; bodily harm); 609.2114 (criminal 498.16 vehicular operation; unborn child); 609.228 (great bodily harm caused by distribution of 498.17 drugs); 609.2325 (criminal abuse of a vulnerable adult not resulting in the death of a 498.18 vulnerable adult); 609.233 (criminal neglect); 609.235 (use of drugs to injure or facilitate 498.19 a crime); 609.24 (simple robbery); 609.247, subdivision 4 (carjacking in the third degree); 498.20 609.322, subdivision 1a (solicitation, inducement, and promotion of prostitution; sex 498.21 trafficking in the second degree); 609.498, subdivision 1 (tampering with a witness in the 498.22 first degree); 609.498, subdivision 1b (aggravated first-degree witness tampering); 609.562 498.23 (arson in the second degree); 609.563 (arson in the third degree); 609.582, subdivision 2 498.24 (burglary in the second degree); 609.66 (felony dangerous weapons); 609.687 (adulteration); 498.25 609.713 (terroristic threats); 609.749, subdivision 3, 4, or 5 (felony-level harassment or 498.26 stalking); 609.855, subdivision 5 (shooting at or in a public transit vehicle or facility); or 498.27 624.713 (certain people not to possess firearms). 498.28

- (e) Notwithstanding subdivisions 1 to 4, except as provided in paragraph (a), for a background study affiliated with a licensed family child foster care license, an individual is disqualified under section 245C.14 if fewer than five years have passed since:
- (1) a felony-level violation for an act not against or involving a minor that constitutes: section 609.222 (assault in the second degree); 609.223, subdivision 1 (assault in the third degree); 609.2231 (assault in the fourth degree); or 609.224, subdivision 4 (assault in the fifth degree);

498.29

498.30

498.31

(2) a violation of an order for protection under section 518B.01, subdivision 14;

- (3) a determination or disposition of the individual's failure to make required reports under section 260E.06 or 626.557, subdivision 3, for incidents in which the final disposition under chapter 260E or section 626.557 was substantiated maltreatment and the maltreatment was recurring or serious;
- (4) a determination or disposition of the individual's substantiated serious or recurring maltreatment of a minor under chapter 260E, a vulnerable adult under section 626.557, or serious or recurring maltreatment in any other state, the elements of which are substantially similar to the elements of maltreatment under chapter 260E or section 626.557 and meet the definition of serious maltreatment or recurring maltreatment;
- (5) a gross misdemeanor-level violation for sections: 609.224, subdivision 2 (assault in the fifth degree); 609.2242 and 609.2243 (domestic assault); 609.233 (criminal neglect); 609.377 (malicious punishment of a child); 609.378 (neglect or endangerment of a child); 609.746 (interference with privacy); 609.749 (stalking); or 617.23 (indecent exposure); or
- (6) committing an act against or involving a minor that resulted in a misdemeanor-level violation of section 609.224, subdivision 1 (assault in the fifth degree).
- 499.17 (f) For purposes of this subdivision, the disqualification begins from:
- 499.18 (1) the date of the alleged violation, if the individual was not convicted;
- 499.19 (2) the date of conviction, if the individual was convicted of the violation but not committed to the custody of the commissioner of corrections; or
- 499.21 (3) the date of release from prison, if the individual was convicted of the violation and committed to the custody of the commissioner of corrections.
- Notwithstanding clause (3), if the individual is subsequently reincarcerated for a violation of the individual's supervised release, the disqualification begins from the date of release from the subsequent incarceration.
- (g) An individual's aiding and abetting, attempt, or conspiracy to commit any of the offenses listed in paragraphs (a) and (b), as each of these offenses is defined in Minnesota Statutes, permanently disqualifies the individual under section 245C.14. An individual is disqualified under section 245C.14 if fewer than five years have passed since the individual's aiding and abetting, attempt, or conspiracy to commit any of the offenses listed in paragraphs (d) and (e).

499.1

499.2

499.3

499.4

499.5

499.6

499.7

499.8

499.9

- (h) An individual's offense in any other state or country, where the elements of the offense are substantially similar to any of the offenses listed in paragraphs (a) and (b), permanently disqualifies the individual under section 245C.14. An individual is disqualified under section 245C.14 if fewer than five years have passed since an offense in any other state or country, the elements of which are substantially similar to the elements of any offense listed in paragraphs (d) and (e).
- Sec. 38. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245C.22, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
- Subd. 4. **Risk of harm; set aside.** (a) The commissioner may set aside the disqualification if the commissioner finds that the individual has submitted sufficient information to demonstrate that the individual does not pose a risk of harm to any person served by the applicant, license holder, or other entities as provided in this chapter.
- 500.12 (b) In determining whether the individual has met the burden of proof by demonstrating the individual does not pose a risk of harm, the commissioner shall consider:
- 500.14 (1) the nature, severity, and consequences of the event or events that led to the disqualification;
- 500.16 (2) whether there is more than one disqualifying event;
- 500.17 (3) the age and vulnerability of the victim at the time of the event;
- 500.18 (4) the harm suffered by the victim;

500.1

500.2

500.3

500.4

500.5

- 500.19 (5) vulnerability of persons served by the program;
- 500.20 (6) the similarity between the victim and persons served by the program;
- 500.21 (7) the time elapsed without a repeat of the same or similar event;
- 500.22 (8) documentation of successful completion by the individual studied of training or 500.23 rehabilitation pertinent to the event; and
- 500.24 (9) any other information relevant to reconsideration.
- (c) For an individual seeking a child foster care license who is a relative of the child,
 the commissioner shall consider the importance of maintaining the child's relationship with
 relatives as an additional significant factor in determining whether a background study
 disqualification should be set aside.
- (e) (d) If the individual requested reconsideration on the basis that the information relied upon to disqualify the individual was incorrect or inaccurate and the commissioner determines that the information relied upon to disqualify the individual is correct, the commissioner

must also determine if the individual poses a risk of harm to persons receiving services in accordance with paragraph (b).

- (d) (e) For an individual seeking employment in the substance use disorder treatment field, the commissioner shall set aside the disqualification if the following criteria are met:
- (1) the individual is not disqualified for a crime of violence as listed under section 624.712, subdivision 5, except for the following crimes: crimes listed under section 152.021, subdivision 2 or 2a; 152.022, subdivision 2; 152.023, subdivision 2; 152.024; or 152.025;
- 501.8 (2) the individual is not disqualified under section 245C.15, subdivision 1;
- 501.9 (3) the individual is not disqualified under section 245C.15, subdivision 4, paragraph 501.10 (b);
- (4) the individual provided documentation of successful completion of treatment, at least one year prior to the date of the request for reconsideration, at a program licensed under chapter 245G, and has had no disqualifying crimes or conduct under section 245C.15 after the successful completion of treatment;
- 501.15 (5) the individual provided documentation demonstrating abstinence from controlled substances, as defined in section 152.01, subdivision 4, for the period of one year prior to the date of the request for reconsideration; and
- 501.18 (6) the individual is seeking employment in the substance use disorder treatment field.
- Sec. 39. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245C.24, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2. **Permanent bar to set aside a disqualification.** (a) Except as provided in paragraphs (b) to (f) (g), the commissioner may not set aside the disqualification of any individual disqualified pursuant to this chapter, regardless of how much time has passed, if the individual was disqualified for a crime or conduct listed in section 245C.15, subdivision 1.
- (b) For an individual in the substance use disorder or corrections field who was
 disqualified for a crime or conduct listed under section 245C.15, subdivision 1, and whose
 disqualification was set aside prior to July 1, 2005, the commissioner must consider granting
 a variance pursuant to section 245C.30 for the license holder for a program dealing primarily
 with adults. A request for reconsideration evaluated under this paragraph must include a
 letter of recommendation from the license holder that was subject to the prior set-aside
 decision addressing the individual's quality of care to children or vulnerable adults and the
 circumstances of the individual's departure from that service.

501.1

501.2

501.3

(c) If an individual who requires a background study for nonemergency medical transportation services under section 245C.03, subdivision 12, was disqualified for a crime or conduct listed under section 245C.15, subdivision 1, and if more than 40 years have passed since the discharge of the sentence imposed, the commissioner may consider granting a set-aside pursuant to section 245C.22. A request for reconsideration evaluated under this paragraph must include a letter of recommendation from the employer. This paragraph does not apply to a person disqualified based on a violation of sections 243.166; 609.185 to 609.205; 609.25; 609.342 to 609.3453; 609.352; 617.23, subdivision 2, clause (1), or 3, clause (1); 617.246; or 617.247.

- (d) When a licensed foster care provider adopts an individual who had received foster care services from the provider for over six months, and the adopted individual is required to receive a background study under section 245C.03, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), clause (2) or (6), the commissioner may grant a variance to the license holder under section 245C.30 to permit the adopted individual with a permanent disqualification to remain affiliated with the license holder under the conditions of the variance when the variance is recommended by the county of responsibility for each of the remaining individuals in placement in the home and the licensing agency for the home.
- (e) For an individual 18 years of age or older affiliated with a licensed family foster setting, the commissioner must not set aside or grant a variance for the disqualification of any individual disqualified pursuant to this chapter, regardless of how much time has passed, if the individual was disqualified for a crime or conduct listed in section 245C.15, subdivision 4a, paragraphs (a) and (b).
 - (f) In connection with a family foster setting license, the commissioner may grant a variance to the disqualification for an individual who is under 18 years of age at the time the background study is submitted.
- (g) In connection with foster residence settings and children's residential facilities, the commissioner must not set aside or grant a variance for the disqualification of any individual disqualified pursuant to this chapter, regardless of how much time has passed, if the individual was disqualified for a crime or conduct listed in section 245C.15, subdivision 4a, paragraph (a) or (b).
- Sec. 40. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245C.24, subdivision 5, is amended to read:
- Subd. 5. Five-year bar to set aside <u>or variance</u> disqualification; children's residential facilities, <u>foster residence settings</u>. The commissioner shall not set aside <u>or grant a variance</u> for the disqualification of an individual in connection with a license for a children's residential

502.1

502.2

502.3

502.4

502.5

502.6

502.7

502.8

502.9

502.10

502.11

502.13

502.14

502.15

502.16

502.17

502.23

502.24

facility <u>or foster residence setting</u> who was convicted of a felony within the past five years for: (1) physical assault or battery; or (2) a drug-related offense.

Sec. 41. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245C.30, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

Subd. 1b. Child foster care variances. For an individual seeking a child foster care license who is a relative of the child, the commissioner shall consider the importance of maintaining the child's relationship with relatives as an additional significant factor in determining whether the individual should be granted a variance.

Sec. 42. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245E.08, is amended to read:

245E.08 REPORTING OF SUSPECTED FRAUDULENT ACTIVITY.

- (a) A person who, in good faith, makes a report of or testifies in any action or proceeding in which financial misconduct is alleged, and who is not involved in, has not participated in, or has not aided and abetted, conspired, or colluded in the financial misconduct, shall have immunity from any liability, civil or criminal, that results by reason of the person's report or testimony. For the purpose of any proceeding, the good faith of any person reporting or testifying under this provision shall be presumed.
- (b) If a person that is or has been involved in, participated in, aided and abetted, conspired, or colluded in the financial misconduct reports the financial misconduct, the department may consider that person's report and assistance in investigating the misconduct as a mitigating factor in the department's pursuit of civil, criminal, or administrative remedies.
- (c) After an investigation is complete, the reporter's name must be kept confidential.

 The subject of the report may compel disclosure of the reporter's name only with the consent of the reporter or upon a written finding by a district court that the report was false and there is evidence that the report was made in bad faith. This paragraph does not alter disclosure responsibilities or obligations under the Rules of Criminal Procedure, except that when the identity of the reporter is relevant to a criminal prosecution the district court shall conduct an in-camera review before determining whether to order disclosure of the reporter's identity.
- Sec. 43. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245F.09, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2. **Protective procedures plan.** A license holder must have a written policy and procedure that establishes the protective procedures that program staff must follow when a patient is in imminent danger of harming self or others. The policy must be appropriate

503.5

503.6

503.7

503.8

503.9

503.10

503.11

503.13

503.14

503.15

503.16

503.17

503.18

503.19

503.20

503.21

503.22

503.23

503.24

503.25

503.26

503.27

to the type of facility and the level of staff training. The protective procedures policy must include:

- (1) an approval signed and dated by the program director and medical director prior to implementation. Any changes to the policy must also be approved, signed, and dated by the current program director and the medical director prior to implementation;
- 504.6 (2) which protective procedures the license holder will use to prevent patients from 504.7 imminent danger of harming self or others;
- 504.8 (3) the emergency conditions under which the protective procedures are permitted to be used, if any;
- 504.10 (4) the patient's health conditions that limit the specific procedures that may be used and alternative means of ensuring safety;
- 504.12 (5) emergency resources the program staff must contact when a patient's behavior cannot be controlled by the procedures established in the policy;
- 504.14 (6) the training that staff must have before using any protective procedure;
- 504.15 (7) documentation of approved therapeutic holds;

504.3

504.4

- 504.16 (8) the use of law enforcement personnel as described in subdivision 4;
- (9) standards governing emergency use of seclusion. Seclusion must be used only when less restrictive measures are ineffective or not feasible. The standards in items (i) to (vii) must be met when seclusion is used with a patient:
- 504.20 (i) seclusion must be employed solely for the purpose of preventing a patient from 504.21 imminent danger of harming self or others;
- (ii) seclusion rooms must be equipped in a manner that prevents patients from self-harm using projections, windows, electrical fixtures, or hard objects, and must allow the patient to be readily observed without being interrupted;
- (iii) seclusion must be authorized by the program director, a licensed physician, a registered nurse, or a licensed physician assistant. If one of these individuals is not present in the facility, the program director or a licensed physician, registered nurse, or physician assistant must be contacted and authorization must be obtained within 30 minutes of initiating seclusion, according to written policies;
- 504.30 (iv) patients must not be placed in seclusion for more than 12 hours at any one time;

505.1	(v) once the condition of a patient in seclusion has been determined to be safe enough
505.2	to end continuous observation, a patient in seclusion must be observed at a minimum of
505.3	every 15 minutes for the duration of seclusion and must always be within hearing range of
505.4	program staff;
505.5	(vi) a process for program staff to use to remove a patient to other resources available
505.6	to the facility if seclusion does not sufficiently assure patient safety; and
505.7	(vii) a seclusion area may be used for other purposes, such as intensive observation, if
505.8	the room meets normal standards of care for the purpose and if the room is not locked; and
505.9	(10) physical holds may only be used when less restrictive measures are not feasible.
505.10	The standards in items (i) to (iv) must be met when physical holds are used with a patient:
505.11	(i) physical holds must be employed solely for preventing a patient from imminent
505.12	danger of harming self or others;
505.13	(ii) physical holds must be authorized by the program director, a licensed physician, a
505.14	registered nurse, or a physician assistant. If one of these individuals is not present in the
505.15	facility, the program director or a licensed physician, registered nurse, or physician assistant
505.16	must be contacted and authorization must be obtained within 30 minutes of initiating a
505.17	physical hold, according to written policies;
505.18	(iii) the patient's health concerns must be considered in deciding whether to use physical
505.19	holds and which holds are appropriate for the patient; and
505.20	(iv) only approved holds may be utilized. Prone and contraindicated holds are not allowed
505.21	according to section 245A.211 and must not be authorized.
505.22	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
505.23	Sec. 44. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245F.14, is amended by adding a subdivision
505.24	to read:
505.25	Subd. 8. Notification to commissioner of changes in key staff positions. A license
505.26	holder must notify the commissioner within five business days of a change or vacancy in a
505.27	key staff position. The key positions are a program director as required by subdivision 1, a
505.28	registered nurse as required by subdivision 4, and a medical director as required by
505.29	subdivision 5. The license holder must notify the commissioner of the staffing change or
505.30	vacancy on a form approved by the commissioner and include the name of the staff person
505.31	now assigned to the key staff position and the staff person's qualifications for the position.
505 22	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is affective January 1, 2025

Sec. 45. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245F.17, is amended to read:

245F.17	PERSONNE	L FILES.
4 TJ1.1/		LILLUD.

506.2

506.3

506.4

506.5

506.6

506.7

506.23

506.24

506.25

506.26

A license holder must maintain a separate personnel file for each staff member. At a minimum, the file must contain:

- (1) a completed application for employment signed by the staff member that contains the staff member's qualifications for employment and documentation related to the applicant's background study data, as defined in chapter 245C;
- 506.8 (2) documentation of the staff member's current professional license or registration, if relevant;
- 506.10 (3) documentation of orientation and subsequent training; and
- 506.11 (4) documentation of a statement of freedom from substance use problems; and
- 506.12 (5) an annual job performance evaluation.
- 506.13 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment.
- Sec. 46. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245G.07, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
- Subd. 4. **Location of service provision.** The license holder may provide services at any of the license holder's licensed locations or at another suitable location including a school, government building, medical or behavioral health facility, or social service organization, upon notification and approval of the commissioner. If services are provided off site from the licensed site, the reason for the provision of services remotely must be documented. The license holder may provide additional services under subdivision 2, clauses (2) to (5), off-site if the license holder includes a policy and procedure detailing the off-site location as a part of the treatment service description and the program abuse prevention plan.
 - (a) The license holder must provide all treatment services a client receives at one of the license holder's substance use disorder treatment licensed locations or at a location allowed under paragraphs (b) to (f). If the services are provided at the locations in paragraphs (b) to (d), the license holder must document in the client record the location services were provided.
- 506.27 (b) The license holder may provide nonresidential individual treatment services at a client's home or place of residence.
- (c) If the license holder provides treatment services by telehealth, the services must be provided according to this paragraph:

507.1	(1) the license holder must maintain a licensed physical location in Minnesota where
507.2	the license holder must offer all treatment services in subdivision 1, paragraph (a), clauses
507.3	(1) to (4), physically in person to each client;
507.4	(2) the license holder must meet all requirements for the provision of telehealth in sections
507.5	254B.05, subdivision 5, paragraph (f), and 256B.0625, subdivision 3b. The license holder
507.6	must document all items in section 256B.0625, subdivision 3b, paragraph (c), for each client
507.7	receiving services by telehealth, regardless of payment type or whether the client is a medical
507.8	assistance enrollee;
507.9	(3) the license holder may provide treatment services by telehealth to clients individually;
507.10	(4) the license holder may provide treatment services by telehealth to a group of clients
507.11	that are each in a separate physical location;
507.12	(5) the license holder must not provide treatment services remotely by telehealth to a
507.13	group of clients meeting together in person;
507.14	(6) clients and staff may join an in-person group by telehealth if a staff qualified to
507.15	provide the treatment service is physically present with the group of clients meeting together
507.16	in person; and
507.17	(7) the qualified professional providing a residential group treatment service by telehealth
507.18	must be physically present on-site at the licensed residential location while the service is
507.19	being provided.
507.20	(d) The license holder may provide the additional treatment services under subdivision
507.21	2, clauses (2) to (5) and (8), away from the licensed location at a suitable location appropriate
507.22	to the treatment service.
507.23	(e) Upon written approval from the commissioner for each satellite location, the license
507.24	holder may provide nonresidential treatment services at satellite locations that are in a
507.25	school, jail, or nursing home. A satellite location may only provide services to students of
507.26	the school, inmates of the jail, or residents of the nursing home. Schools, jails, and nursing
507.27	homes are exempt from the licensing requirements in section 245A.04, subdivision 2a, to
507.28	document compliance with building codes, fire and safety codes, health rules, and zoning
507.29	ordinances.
507.30	(f) The commissioner may approve other suitable locations as satellite locations for
507.31	nonresidential treatment services. The commissioner may require satellite locations under
507.32	this paragraph to meet all applicable licensing requirements. The license holder may not
507.33	have more than two satellite locations per license under this paragraph.

508.1	(g) The license holder must provide the commissioner access to all files, documentation,
508.2	staff persons, and any other information the commissioner requires at the main licensed
508.3	location for all clients served at any location under paragraphs (b) to (f).
508.4	(h) Notwithstanding sections 245A.65, subdivision 2, and 626.557, subdivision 14, a
508.5	program abuse prevention plan is not required for satellite or other locations under paragraphs
508.6	(b) to (e). An individual abuse prevention plan is still required for any client that is a
508.7	vulnerable adult as defined in section 626.5572, subdivision 21.
508.8	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.
508.9	Sec. 47. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245G.08, subdivision 5, is amended to read:
508.10	Subd. 5. Administration of medication and assistance with self-medication. (a) A
508.11	license holder must meet the requirements in this subdivision if a service provided includes
508.12	the administration of medication.
508.13	(b) A staff member, other than a licensed practitioner or nurse, who is delegated by a
508.14	licensed practitioner or a registered nurse the task of administration of medication or assisting
508.15	with self-medication, must:
508.16	(1) successfully complete a medication administration training program for unlicensed
508.17	personnel through an accredited Minnesota postsecondary educational institution. A staff
508.18	member's completion of the course must be documented in writing and placed in the staff
508.19	member's personnel file;
508.20	(2) be trained according to a formalized training program that is taught by a registered
508.21	nurse and offered by the license holder. The training must include the process for
508.22	administration of naloxone, if naloxone is kept on site. A staff member's completion of the
508.23	training must be documented in writing and placed in the staff member's personnel records;
508.24	or
508.25	(3) demonstrate to a registered nurse competency to perform the delegated activity. A
508.26	registered nurse must be employed or contracted to develop the policies and procedures for
508.27	administration of medication or assisting with self-administration of medication, or both.
508.28	(c) A registered nurse must provide supervision as defined in section 148.171, subdivision
508.29	23. The registered nurse's supervision must include, at a minimum, monthly on-site
508.30	supervision or more often if warranted by a client's health needs. The policies and procedures
508.31	must include:

509.1	(1) a provision that a delegation of administration of medication is limited to a method
509.2	a staff member has been trained to administer and limited to:
509.3	(i) a medication that is administered orally, topically, or as a suppository, an eye drop,
509.4	an ear drop, an inhalant, or an intranasal; and
509.5	(ii) an intramuscular injection of naloxone an opiate antagonist as defined in section
509.6	604A.04, subdivision 1, or epinephrine;
509.7	(2) a provision that each client's file must include documentation indicating whether
509.8	staff must conduct the administration of medication or the client must self-administer
509.9	medication, or both;
509.10	(3) a provision that a client may carry emergency medication such as nitroglycerin as
509.11	instructed by the client's physician, advanced practice registered nurse, or physician assistant;
509.12	(4) a provision for the client to self-administer medication when a client is scheduled to
509.13	be away from the facility;
509.14	(5) a provision that if a client self-administers medication when the client is present in
509.15	the facility, the client must self-administer medication under the observation of a trained
509.16	staff member;
509.17	(6) a provision that when a license holder serves a client who is a parent with a child,
509.18	the parent may only administer medication to the child under a staff member's supervision;
509.19	(7) requirements for recording the client's use of medication, including staff signatures
509.20	with date and time;
509.21	(8) guidelines for when to inform a nurse of problems with self-administration of
509.22	medication, including a client's failure to administer, refusal of a medication, adverse
509.23	reaction, or error; and
509.24	(9) procedures for acceptance, documentation, and implementation of a prescription,
509.25	whether written, verbal, telephonic, or electronic.
509.26	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
509.27	Sec. 48. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245G.08, subdivision 6, is amended to read:
JU7.41	500. 40. Willingsola Statutes 2022, section 2430.00, subdivision 0, is afficied to feat.
509.28	Subd. 6. Control of drugs. A license holder must have and implement written policies
509.29	and procedures developed by a registered nurse that contain:

510.1	(1) a requirement that each drug must be stored in a locked compartment. A Schedule
510.2	II drug, as defined by section 152.02, subdivision 3, must be stored in a separately locked
510.3	compartment, permanently affixed to the physical plant or medication cart;
510.4	(2) a system which accounts for all scheduled drugs each shift;
510.5	(3) a procedure for recording the client's use of medication, including the signature of
510.6	the staff member who completed the administration of the medication with the time and
510.7	date;
510.8	(4) a procedure to destroy a discontinued, outdated, or deteriorated medication;
510.9	(5) a statement that only authorized personnel are permitted access to the keys to a locked
510.10	compartment;
510.11	(6) a statement that no legend drug supply for one client shall be given to another client
510.12	and
510.13	(7) a procedure for monitoring the available supply of naloxone an opiate antagonist as
510.14	defined in section 604A.04, subdivision 1, on site, and replenishing the naloxone supply
510.15	when needed, and destroying naloxone according to clause (4).
510.16	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
510.17	Sec. 49. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245G.10, is amended by adding a subdivision
510.18	to read:
510.19	Subd. 6. Notification to commissioner of changes in key staff positions. A license
510.20	holder must notify the commissioner within five business days of a change or vacancy in a
510.21	key staff position. The key positions are a treatment director as required by subdivision 1,
510.22	an alcohol and drug counselor supervisor as required by subdivision 2, and a registered
510.23	nurse as required by section 245G.08, subdivision 5, paragraph (c). The license holder mus-
510.24	notify the commissioner of the staffing change or vacancy on a form approved by the
510.25	commissioner and include the name of the staff person now assigned to the key staff position
510.26	and the staff person's qualifications for the position.
510.27	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.
510.28	Sec. 50. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 245G.22, subdivision 2, is amended
510.29	to read:
510.30	Subd. 2. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the terms defined in this subdivision

510.31 have the meanings given them.

(b) "Diversion" means the use of a medication for the treatment of opioid addiction being diverted from intended use of the medication.

- (c) "Guest dose" means administration of a medication used for the treatment of opioid addiction to a person who is not a client of the program that is administering or dispensing the medication.
- (d) "Medical director" means a practitioner licensed to practice medicine in the jurisdiction that the opioid treatment program is located who assumes responsibility for administering all medical services performed by the program, either by performing the services directly or by delegating specific responsibility to a practitioner of the opioid treatment program.
- (e) "Medication used for the treatment of opioid use disorder" means a medication 511.11 511.12 approved by the Food and Drug Administration for the treatment of opioid use disorder.
- (f) "Minnesota health care programs" has the meaning given in section 256B.0636. 511.13
- (g) "Opioid treatment program" has the meaning given in Code of Federal Regulations, 511.14 title 42, section 8.12, and includes programs licensed under this chapter. 511.15
- (h) "Practitioner" means a staff member holding a current, unrestricted license to practice medicine issued by the Board of Medical Practice or nursing issued by the Board of Nursing and is currently registered with the Drug Enforcement Administration to order or dispense controlled substances in Schedules II to V under the Controlled Substances Act, United States Code, title 21, part B, section 821. Practitioner includes an advanced practice registered nurse and physician assistant if the staff member receives a variance by the state opioid treatment authority under section 254A.03 and the federal Substance Abuse and Mental 511.22 Health Services Administration.
- (i) "Unsupervised use" or "take-home" means the use of a medication for the treatment 511.24 511.25 of opioid use disorder dispensed for use by a client outside of the program setting.
- **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment. 511.26
- Sec. 51. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245G.22, subdivision 6, is amended to read: 511.27
- Subd. 6. Criteria for unsupervised use. (a) To limit the potential for diversion of 511.28 medication used for the treatment of opioid use disorder to the illicit market, medication 511.29 dispensed to a client for unsupervised use shall be subject to the requirements of this 511.30 511.31 subdivision. Any client in an opioid treatment program may receive a single unsupervised use dose for a day that the clinic is closed for business, including Sundays and state and

511.1

511.2

511.3

511.4

511.5

511.6

511.7

511.8

511.9

511.10

511.16

511.17

511.18

511.19

511.20

511.21

512.1	federal holidays their individualized take-home doses as ordered for days that the clinic is
512.2	closed for business, on one weekend day (e.g., Sunday) and state and federal holidays, no
512.3	matter their length of time in treatment, as allowed under Code of Federal Regulations, title
512.4	42, part 8.12 (i)(1).
512.5	(b) For take-home doses beyond those allowed by paragraph (a), a practitioner with
512.6	authority to prescribe must review and document the criteria in this paragraph and paragraph
512.7	(e) the Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, part 8.12 (i)(2), when determining whether
512.8	dispensing medication for a client's unsupervised use is safe and it is appropriate to
512.9	implement, increase, or extend the amount of time between visits to the program. The criteria
512.10	are:
312.11	(1) absence of recent abuse of drugs including but not limited to opioids, non-narcotics,
512.12	and alcohol;
512.13	(2) regularity of program attendance;
512.14	(3) absence of serious behavioral problems at the program;
512.15	(4) absence of known recent criminal activity such as drug dealing;
512.16	(5) stability of the client's home environment and social relationships;
512.17	(6) length of time in comprehensive maintenance treatment;
512.18	(7) reasonable assurance that unsupervised use medication will be safely stored within
512.19	the client's home; and
512.20	(8) whether the rehabilitative benefit the client derived from decreasing the frequency
512.21	of program attendance outweighs the potential risks of diversion or unsupervised use.
512.22	(c) The determination, including the basis of the determination must be documented by
512.23	a practitioner in the client's medical record.
512.24	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
512.25	Sec. 52. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245G.22, subdivision 7, is amended to read:
512.26	Subd. 7. Restrictions for unsupervised use of methadone hydrochloride. (a) If a
512.27	medical director or prescribing practitioner assesses and, determines, and documents that
512.28	a client meets the criteria in subdivision 6 and may be dispensed a medication used for the
512.29	treatment of opioid addiction, the restrictions in this subdivision must be followed when
512.30	the medication to be dispensed is methadone hydrochloride. The results of the assessment
312.31	must be contained in the client file. The number of unsupervised use medication doses per

513.1	week in paragraphs (b) to (d) is in addition to the number of unsupervised use medication
513.2	doses a client may receive for days the clinic is closed for business as allowed by subdivision
513.3	6, paragraph (a) and that a patient is safely able to manage unsupervised doses of methadone,
513.4	the number of take-home doses the client receives must be limited by the number allowed
513.5	by the Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, part 8.12 (i)(3).
513.6	(b) During the first 90 days of treatment, the unsupervised use medication supply must
513.7	be limited to a maximum of a single dose each week and the client shall ingest all other
513.8	doses under direct supervision.
513.9	(c) In the second 90 days of treatment, the unsupervised use medication supply must be
513.10	limited to two doses per week.
513.11	(d) In the third 90 days of treatment, the unsupervised use medication supply must not
513.12	exceed three doses per week.
513.13	(e) In the remaining months of the first year, a client may be given a maximum six-day
513.14	unsupervised use medication supply.
513.15	(f) After one year of continuous treatment, a client may be given a maximum two-week
513.16	unsupervised use medication supply.
513.17	(g) After two years of continuous treatment, a client may be given a maximum one-month
513.18	unsupervised use medication supply, but must make monthly visits to the program.
513.19	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
513.20	Sec. 53. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 245G.22, subdivision 17, is amended
513.21	to read:
513.22	Subd. 17. Policies and procedures. (a) A license holder must develop and maintain the
513.23	policies and procedures required in this subdivision.
513.24	(b) For a program that is not open every day of the year, the license holder must maintain
513.25	a policy and procedure that covers requirements under section 245G.22, subdivisions 6 and
513.26	7. Unsupervised use of medication used for the treatment of opioid use disorder for days
513.27	that the program is closed for business, including but not limited to Sundays on one weekend
513.28	day and state and federal holidays, must meet the requirements under section 245G.22,
513.29	subdivisions 6 and 7.
513.30	(c) The license holder must maintain a policy and procedure that includes specific

513.31 measures to reduce the possibility of diversion. The policy and procedure must:

(1) specifically identify and define the responsibilities of the medical and administrative staff for performing diversion control measures; and

- (2) include a process for contacting no less than five percent of clients who have unsupervised use of medication, excluding clients approved solely under subdivision 6, paragraph (a), to require clients to physically return to the program each month. The system must require clients to return to the program within a stipulated time frame and turn in all unused medication containers related to opioid use disorder treatment. The license holder must document all related contacts on a central log and the outcome of the contact for each client in the client's record. The medical director must be informed of each outcome that results in a situation in which a possible diversion issue was identified.
- (d) Medication used for the treatment of opioid use disorder must be ordered, administered, and dispensed according to applicable state and federal regulations and the standards set by applicable accreditation entities. If a medication order requires assessment by the person administering or dispensing the medication to determine the amount to be administered or dispensed, the assessment must be completed by an individual whose professional scope of practice permits an assessment. For the purposes of enforcement of this paragraph, the commissioner has the authority to monitor the person administering or dispensing the medication for compliance with state and federal regulations and the relevant standards of the license holder's accreditation agency and may issue licensing actions according to sections 245A.05, 245A.06, and 245A.07, based on the commissioner's determination of noncompliance.
 - (e) A counselor in an opioid treatment program must not supervise more than 50 clients.
- (f) Notwithstanding paragraph (e), from July 1, 2023, to June 30, 2024, a counselor in an opioid treatment program may supervise up to 60 clients. The license holder may continue to serve a client who was receiving services at the program on June 30, 2024, at a counselor to client ratio of up to one to 60 and is not required to discharge any clients in order to return to the counselor to client ratio of one to 50. The license holder may not, however, serve a new client after June 30, 2024, unless the counselor who would supervise the new client is supervising fewer than 50 existing clients.

514.30 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment.

514.1

514.2

514.3

514.4

514.5

514.6

514.7

514.8

514.9

514.10

514.11

514 12

514.13

514.14

514.15

514.16

514.17

514.18

514.19

514.20

514.21

514.22

514.23

514.24

514.25

514.26

514.27

514.28

Sec. 54. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245H.01, is amended by adding a subdivision

- 515.2 to read:
- Subd. 6a. **Infant.** "Infant" means a child who is at least six weeks old but less than 16
- 515.4 months old.
- 515.5 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective October 1, 2024.
- Sec. 55. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245H.01, is amended by adding a subdivision
- 515.7 to read:
- 515.8 Subd. 6b. **Preschooler.** "Preschooler" means a child who is at least 33 months old but
- who has not yet attended the first day of kindergarten.
- 515.10 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective October 1, 2024.
- Sec. 56. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245H.01, is amended by adding a subdivision
- 515.12 to read:
- 515.13 Subd. 6c. **School-age child.** "School-age child" means a child who is of sufficient age
- 515.14 to have attended the first day of kindergarten or is eligible to enter kindergarten within four
- 515.15 months and:
- 515.16 (1) is no more than 13 years old;
- 515.17 (2) remains eligible for child care assistance under section 119B.09, subdivision 1,
- 515.18 paragraph (e); or
- 515.19 (3) attends a certified center that serves only school-age children in a setting that has
- 515.20 students enrolled in no grade higher than grade 8.
- 515.21 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective October 1, 2024.
- Sec. 57. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245H.01, is amended by adding a subdivision
- 515.23 to read:
- Subd. 8a. **Toddler.** "Toddler" means a child who is at least 16 months old but less than
- 515.25 33 months old.
- 515.26 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective October 1, 2024.

Sec. 58. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 245H.06, subdivision 1, is amended 516.1 516.2 to read: 516.3 Subdivision 1. Correction order and conditional certification requirements. (a) If the applicant or certification holder failed fails to comply with a law or rule, the commissioner 516.4 516.5 may issue a correction order. The correction order must state: (1) the condition that constitutes a violation of the law or rule; 516.6 516.7 (2) the specific law or rule violated; and (3) the time allowed to correct each violation. 516.8 516.9 (b) The commissioner may issue a correction order to the applicant or certification holder through the provider licensing and reporting hub. If the certification holder fails to comply 516.10 with a law or rule, the commissioner may issue a conditional certification. When issuing a 516.11 conditional certification, the commissioner shall consider the nature, chronicity, or severity 516.12 of the violation of law or rule and the effect of the violation on the health, safety, or rights 516.13 of persons served by the program. The conditional order must state: 516.14 516.15 (1) the conditions that constitute a violation of the law or rule; (2) the specific law or rule violated; 516.16 (3) the time allowed to correct each violation; and 516.17 (4) the length and terms of the conditional certification, and the reasons for making the 516.18 certification conditional. 516.19 (c) Nothing in this section prohibits the commissioner from decertifying a center under 516.20 section 245H.07 before issuing a correction order or conditional certification. 516.21 (d) The commissioner may issue a correction order or conditional certification to the 516.22 applicant or certification holder through the provider licensing and reporting hub. 516.23 516.24 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective October 1, 2024. 516.25 Sec. 59. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 245H.06, subdivision 2, is amended to read: 516.26 Subd. 2. Reconsideration request. (a) If the applicant or certification holder believes 516.27 that the commissioner's correction order or conditional certification is erroneous, the applicant 516.28 or certification holder may ask the commissioner to reconsider the part of the correction 516.29 order or conditional certification that is allegedly erroneous. A request for reconsideration 516.30

516.31

must be made in writing and postmarked or submitted through the provider licensing and

reporting hub and sent to the commissioner within 20 calendar days after the applicant or 517.1 certification holder received the correction order or conditional certification, and must: 517.2 (1) specify the part of the correction order or conditional certification that is allegedly 517.3 erroneous; 517.4 517.5 (2) explain why the specified part is erroneous; and (3) include documentation to support the allegation of error. 517.6 517.7 (b) A request for reconsideration of a correction order does not stay any provision or requirement of the correction order. The commissioner's disposition of a request for 517.8 reconsideration is final and not subject to appeal. 517.9 517.10 (c) A timely request for reconsideration of a conditional certification shall stay imposition of the terms of the conditional certification until the commissioner issues a decision on the 517.11 request for reconsideration. 517.12 (e) (d) Upon implementation of the provider licensing and reporting hub, the provider 517.13 must use the hub to request reconsideration. If the order is issued through the provider hub, the request must be received by the commissioner within 20 calendar days from the date 517.15 the commissioner issued the order through the hub. 517.16 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective October 1, 2024. 517.17 Sec. 60. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245H.08, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 517.18 Subdivision 1. Staffing requirements. (a) Except as provided in paragraph (b), during 517.19 hours of operation, a certified center must have a director or designee on site who is 517.20 responsible for overseeing implementation of written policies relating to the management 517.21 and control of the daily activities of the program, ensuring the health and safety of program 517.22 participants, and supervising staff and volunteers. 517.23 (b) When the director is absent, a certified center must designate a staff person who is 517.24 at least 18 years old to fulfill the director's responsibilities under this subdivision to ensure 517.25 continuity of program oversight. The designee does not have to meet the director 517.26 qualifications in subdivision 2 but must be aware of their designation and responsibilities 517.27

517.29 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective October 1, 2024.

under this subdivision.

518.1	Sec. 61. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 245H.08, subdivision 4, is amended
518.2	to read:
518.3	Subd. 4. Maximum group size. (a) For a child six weeks old through 16 months old an
518.4	infant, the maximum group size shall be no more than eight children.
518.5	(b) For a child 16 months old through 33 months old toddler, the maximum group size
518.6	shall be no more than 14 children.
518.7	(c) For a child 33 months old through prekindergarten preschooler, a the maximum
518.8	group size shall be no more than 20 children.
518.9	(d) For a child in kindergarten through 13 years old school-age child, a the maximum
518.10	group size shall be no more than 30 children.
518.11	(e) The maximum group size applies at all times except during group activity coordination
518.12	time not exceeding 15 minutes, during a meal, outdoor activity, field trip, nap and rest, and
518.13	special activity including a film, guest speaker, indoor large muscle activity, or holiday
518.14	program.
518.15	(f) Notwithstanding paragraph (d), a certified center may continue to serve a child 14
518.16	years of age or older if one of the following conditions is true:
518.17	(1) the child remains eligible for child care assistance under section 119B.09, subdivision
518.18	1, paragraph (e); or
518.19	(2) the certified center serves only school-age children in a setting that has students
518.20	enrolled in no grade higher than 8th grade.
518.21	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective October 1, 2024.
518.22	Sec. 62. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 245H.08, subdivision 5, is amended
518.23	to read:
518.24	Subd. 5. Ratios. (a) The minimally acceptable staff-to-child ratios are:
518.25	six weeks old through 16 months old infants 1:4 16 months old through 33 months old toddlers 1:7
518.26518.27	33 months old through prekindergarten
518.28	preschoolers 1:10
518.29 518.30	kindergarten through 13 years old school-age children 1:15
518.31	(b) Kindergarten includes a child of sufficient age to have attended the first day of

518.32 kindergarten or who is eligible to enter kindergarten within the next four months.

519.1	(e) (b) For mixed mixed-age groups, the ratio for the age group of the youngest child
519.2	applies.
519.3	(d) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), a certified center may continue to serve a child 14
519.4	years of age or older if one of the following conditions is true:
519.5	(1) the child remains eligible for child care assistance under section 119B.09, subdivision
519.6	1, paragraph (e); or
519.7	(2) the certified center serves only school-age children in a setting that has students
519.8	enrolled in no grade higher than 8th grade.
519.9	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective October 1, 2024.
519.10	Sec. 63. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245H.14, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
519.11	Subdivision 1. First aid and cardiopulmonary resuscitation. (a) Before having
519.12	unsupervised direct contact with a child, but within the first 90 days of employment for
519.13	after the first date of direct contact with a child, the director and, all staff persons, and within
519.14	90 days after the first date of direct contact with a child for substitutes, and unsupervised
519.15	volunteers, each person must successfully complete pediatric first aid and pediatric
519.16	cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) training, unless the training has been completed within
519.17	the previous two calendar years. Staff must complete the pediatric first aid and pediatric
519.18	CPR training at least every other calendar year and the center must document the training
519.19	in the staff person's personnel record.
519.20	(b) Training completed under this subdivision may be used to meet the in-service training
519.21	requirements under subdivision 6.
519.22	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective October 1, 2024.
519.23	Sec. 64. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245H.14, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
519.24	Subd. 4. Child development. The certified center must ensure that the director and all
519.25	staff persons complete child development and learning training within 90 days of employment
519.26	and every second calendar year thereafter. Substitutes and unsupervised volunteers must
519.27	complete child development and learning training within 90 days after the first date of direct
519.28	contact with a child and every second calendar year thereafter. Before having unsupervised
519.29	direct contact with a child, but within 90 days after the first date of direct contact with a
519.30	child, the director, all staff persons, substitutes, and unsupervised volunteers must complete
519.31	child development and learning training. Child development and learning training must be

519.32 <u>repeated every second calendar year thereafter.</u> The director and staff persons not including

substitutes must complete at least two hours of training on child development. The training 520.1 for substitutes and unsupervised volunteers is not required to be of a minimum length. For 520.2 520.3 purposes of this subdivision, "child development and learning training" means how a child develops physically, cognitively, emotionally, and socially and learns as part of the child's 520.4 family, culture, and community. 520.5 520.6 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective October 1, 2024. Sec. 65. [245H.19] CHILDREN'S RECORDS. 520.7 (a) A certification holder must maintain a record for each child enrolled in the certification 520.8 holder's program. The record must contain: 520.9 (1) the child's full name, birth date, and home address; 520.10 (2) the name and telephone number of the child's parents or legal guardians; 520.11 (3) the name and telephone number of at least one emergency contact person other than 520.12 the child's parents who can be reached in an emergency or when there is an injury requiring 520.13 medical attention and who is authorized to pick up the child; and 520.14 520.15 (4) the names and telephone numbers of any additional persons authorized by the parents or legal guardians to pick up the child from the center. 520.16 520.17 (b) The certification holder must maintain in the child's record and ensure that during all hours of operation staff can access the following information: 520.18

(1) immunization information as required under section 245H.13, subdivision 2;

(2) medication administration documentation as required under section 245H.13, 520.20

520.21 subdivision 3; and

(3) documentation of any known allergy as required under section 245H.13, subdivision 520.22

520.23 4.

- **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective October 1, 2024. 520.24
- Sec. 66. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 256B.064, subdivision 4, is amended 520.25 to read: 520.26
- 520.27 Subd. 4. **Notice.** (a) The department shall serve the notice required under subdivision 2 by certified mail at using a signature-verified confirmed delivery method to the address 520.28 submitted to the department by the individual or entity. Service is complete upon mailing. 520.29

(b) The department shall give notice in writing to a recipient placed in the Minnesota 521.1 restricted recipient program under section 256B.0646 and Minnesota Rules, part 9505.2200. 521.2 The department shall send the notice by first class mail to the recipient's current address on 521.3 file with the department. A recipient placed in the Minnesota restricted recipient program 521.4 may contest the placement by submitting a written request for a hearing to the department 521.5 within 90 days of the notice being mailed. 521.6 Sec. 67. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256B.0757, subdivision 4a, is amended to read: 521.7 Subd. 4a. Behavioral health home services provider requirements. A behavioral 521.8 health home services provider must: 521.9 (1) be an enrolled Minnesota Health Care Programs provider; 521.10 (2) provide a medical assistance covered primary care or behavioral health service; 521.11 (3) utilize an electronic health record; 521.12 (4) utilize an electronic patient registry that contains data elements required by the 521.13 commissioner; 521.14 521.15 (5) demonstrate the organization's capacity to administer screenings approved by the commissioner for substance use disorder or alcohol and tobacco use; 521.16 521.17 (6) demonstrate the organization's capacity to refer an individual to resources appropriate to the individual's screening results; 521.18 (7) have policies and procedures to track referrals to ensure that the referral met the 521.19 individual's needs; 521.20 (8) conduct a brief needs assessment when an individual begins receiving behavioral 521.21 health home services. The brief needs assessment must be completed with input from the 521.22 individual and the individual's identified supports. The brief needs assessment must address 521.23 the individual's immediate safety and transportation needs and potential barriers to 521.24 participating in behavioral health home services; 521.25 (9) conduct a health wellness assessment within 60 days after intake that contains all 521.26 required elements identified by the commissioner; 521.27 521.28 (10) conduct a health action plan that contains all required elements identified by the commissioner. The plan must be completed within 90 days after intake and must be updated 521.29

needs or goals occur;

521.30

521.31

at least once every six months, or more frequently if significant changes to an individual's

522.1	(11) agree to cooperate with and participate in the state's monitoring and evaluation of
522.2	behavioral health home services; and
522.3	(12) obtain the individual's written consent to begin receiving behavioral health home
522.4	services using a form approved by the commissioner.
522.5	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
522.6	Sec. 68. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256B.0757, subdivision 4d, is amended to read:
522.7	Subd. 4d. Behavioral health home services delivery standards. (a) A behavioral health
522.8	home services provider must meet the following service delivery standards:
522.9	(1) establish and maintain processes to support the coordination of an individual's primary
522.10	care, behavioral health, and dental care;
522.11	(2) maintain a team-based model of care, including regular coordination and
522.12	communication between behavioral health home services team members;
522.13	(3) use evidence-based practices that recognize and are tailored to the medical, social,
522.14	economic, behavioral health, functional impairment, cultural, and environmental factors
522.15	affecting the individual's health and health care choices;
522.16	(4) use person-centered planning practices to ensure the individual's health action plan
522.17	accurately reflects the individual's preferences, goals, resources, and optimal outcomes for
522.18	the individual and the individual's identified supports;
522.19	(5) use the patient registry to identify individuals and population subgroups requiring
522.20	specific levels or types of care and provide or refer the individual to needed treatment,
522.21	intervention, or services;
522.22	(6) utilize the Department of Human Services Partner Portal to identify past and current
522.23	treatment or services and identify potential gaps in care using a tool approved by the
522.24	commissioner;
522.25	(7) deliver services consistent with the standards for frequency and face-to-face contact
522.26	required by the commissioner;
522.27	(8) ensure that a diagnostic assessment is completed for each individual receiving
522.28	behavioral health home services within six months of the start of behavioral health home
522.29	services;
522.30	(9) deliver services in locations and settings that meet the needs of the individual;

523.1	(10) provide a central point of contact to ensure that individuals and the individual's
523.2	identified supports can successfully navigate the array of services that impact the individual's
523.3	health and well-being;
523.4	(11) have capacity to assess an individual's readiness for change and the individual's
523.5	capacity to integrate new health care or community supports into the individual's life;
523.6	(12) offer or facilitate the provision of wellness and prevention education on
523.7	evidenced-based curriculums specific to the prevention and management of common chronic
523.8	conditions;
523.9	(13) help an individual set up and prepare for medical, behavioral health, social service,
523.10	or community support appointments, including accompanying the individual to appointments
523.11	as appropriate, and providing follow-up with the individual after these appointments;
523.12	(14) offer or facilitate the provision of health coaching related to chronic disease
523.13	management and how to navigate complex systems of care to the individual, the individual's
523.14	family, and identified supports;
523.15	(15) connect an individual, the individual's family, and identified supports to appropriate
523.16	support services that help the individual overcome access or service barriers, increase
523.17	self-sufficiency skills, and improve overall health;
523.18	(16) provide effective referrals and timely access to services; and
523.19	(17) establish a continuous quality improvement process for providing behavioral health
523.20	home services.
523.21	(b) The behavioral health home services provider must also create a plan, in partnership
523.22	with the individual and the individual's identified supports, to support the individual after
523.23	discharge from a hospital, residential treatment program, or other setting. The plan must
523.24	include protocols for:
523.25	(1) maintaining contact between the behavioral health home services team member, the
523.26	individual, and the individual's identified supports during and after discharge;
523.27	(2) linking the individual to new resources as needed;
523.28	(3) reestablishing the individual's existing services and community and social supports;
523.29	and
523.30	(4) following up with appropriate entities to transfer or obtain the individual's service

523.31 records as necessary for continued care.

524.1	(c) If the individual is enrolled in a managed care plan, a behavioral health home services
524.2	provider must:
524.3	(1) notify the behavioral health home services contact designated by the managed care
524.4	plan within 30 days of when the individual begins behavioral health home services; and
524.5	(2) adhere to the managed care plan communication and coordination requirements
524.6	described in the behavioral health home services manual.
524.7	(d) Before terminating behavioral health home services, the behavioral health home
524.8	services provider must:
524.9	(1) provide a 60-day notice of termination of behavioral health home services to all
524.10	individuals receiving behavioral health home services, the commissioner, and managed care
524.11	plans, if applicable; and
524.12	(2) refer individuals receiving behavioral health home services to a new behavioral
524.13	health home services provider.
524.14	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
524.15	Sec. 69. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 256D.01, subdivision 1a, is amended
	to read:
524.17	Subd. 1a. Standards. (a) A principal objective in providing general assistance is to
524.17	provide for single adults, childless couples, or children as defined in section 256D.02,
524.19	subdivision 2b, ineligible for federal programs who are unable to provide for themselves.
524.20	The minimum standard of assistance determines the total amount of the general assistance
524.21	grant without separate standards for shelter, utilities, or other needs.
524.22	(b) The standard of assistance for an assistance unit consisting of a recipient who is
524.23	childless and unmarried or living apart from children and spouse and who does not live with
524.24	a parent or parents or a legal custodian, or consisting of a childless couple, is \$350 per month
524.25	effective October 1, 2024, and must be adjusted by a percentage equal to the change in the
524.26	consumer price index as of January 1 every year, beginning October 1, 2025.
524.27	(c) For an assistance unit consisting of a single adult who lives with a parent or parents,
524.28	the general assistance standard of assistance is \$350 per month effective October 1, 2023
524.29	2024, and must be adjusted by a percentage equal to the change in the consumer price index
524.30	as of January 1 every year, beginning October 1, 2025. Benefits received by a responsible

524.31 relative of the assistance unit under the Supplemental Security Income program, a workers'

524.32 compensation program, the Minnesota supplemental aid program, or any other program

based on the responsible relative's disability, and any benefits received by a responsible relative of the assistance unit under the Social Security retirement program, may not be counted in the determination of eligibility or benefit level for the assistance unit. Except as provided below, the assistance unit is ineligible for general assistance if the available resources or the countable income of the assistance unit and the parent or parents with whom the assistance unit lives are such that a family consisting of the assistance unit's parent or parents, the parent or parents' other family members and the assistance unit as the only or additional minor child would be financially ineligible for general assistance. For the purposes of calculating the countable income of the assistance unit's parent or parents, the calculation methods must follow the provisions under section 256P.06.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

- Sec. 70. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256I.04, subdivision 2f, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2f. **Required services.** (a) In licensed and registered authorized settings under subdivision 2a, providers shall ensure that participants have at a minimum:
- 525.15 (1) food preparation and service for three nutritional meals a day on site;
- 525.16 (2) a bed, clothing storage, linen, bedding, laundering, and laundry supplies or service;
- 525.17 (3) housekeeping, including cleaning and lavatory supplies or service; and
- (4) maintenance and operation of the building and grounds, including heat, water, garbage removal, electricity, telephone for the site, cooling, supplies, and parts and tools to repair and maintain equipment and facilities.
- (b) In addition, when providers serve participants described in subdivision 1, paragraph (c), the providers are required to assist the participants in applying for continuing housing support payments before the end of the eligibility period.
- Sec. 71. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 256I.05, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:
- Subd. 1a. **Supplementary service rates.** (a) Subject to the provisions of section 256I.04, subdivision 3, the agency may negotiate a payment not to exceed \$494.91 for other services necessary to provide room and board if the residence is licensed by or registered by the Department of Health, or licensed by the Department of Human Services to provide services in addition to room and board, and if the provider of services is not also concurrently receiving funding for services for a recipient in the residence under the following programs or funding sources: (1) home and community-based waiver services under chapter 256S or

525.1

525.2

525.3

525.4

525.5

525.6

525.7

525.8

525.9

525.10

section 256B.0913, 256B.092, or 256B.49; (2) personal care assistance under section 256B.0659; (3) community first services and supports under section 256B.85; or (4) services for adults with mental illness grants under section 245.73. If funding is available for other necessary services through a home and community-based waiver under chapter 256S, or section 256B.0913, 256B.092, or 256B.49; personal care assistance services under section 256B.0659; community first services and supports under section 256B.85; or services for adults with mental illness grants under section 245.73, then the housing support rate is limited to the rate set in subdivision 1. Unless otherwise provided in law, in no case may the supplementary service rate exceed \$494.91. The registration and licensure requirement does not apply to establishments which are exempt from state licensure because they are located on Indian reservations and for which the tribe has prescribed health and safety requirements. Service payments under this section may be prohibited under rules to prevent the supplanting of federal funds with state funds.

- (b) The commissioner is authorized to make cost-neutral transfers from the housing support fund for beds under this section to other funding programs administered by the department after consultation with the agency in which the affected beds are located. The commissioner may also make cost-neutral transfers from the housing support fund to agencies for beds permanently removed from the housing support census under a plan submitted by the agency and approved by the commissioner. The commissioner shall report the amount of any transfers under this provision annually to the legislature.
- (e) (b) Agencies must not negotiate supplementary service rates with providers of housing support that are licensed as board and lodging with special services and that do not encourage 526.22 a policy of sobriety on their premises and make referrals to available community services for volunteer and employment opportunities for residents.
- Sec. 72. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 256I.05, subdivision 11, is amended 526.25 526.26 to read:
- Subd. 11. Transfer of emergency shelter funds Cost-neutral transfers from the 526.27 526.28 housing support fund. (a) The commissioner is authorized to make cost-neutral transfers from the housing support fund for beds under this section to other funding programs 526.29 administered by the department after consultation with the agency in which the affected 526.30 beds are located. 526.31
- (b) The commissioner may also make cost-neutral transfers from the housing support 526.32 fund to agencies for beds removed from the housing support census under a plan submitted 526.33 by the agency and approved by the commissioner. 526.34

526.1

526.2

526.3

526.4

526.5

526.6

526.7

526.8

526.9

526.10

526.11

526.12

526.13

526.14

526.15

526.16

526.17

526.18

526.19

526.20

(a) (c) The commissioner shall make a cost-neutral transfer of funding from the housing 527.1 support fund to the agency for emergency shelter beds removed from the housing support 527.2 census under a biennial plan submitted by the agency and approved by the commissioner. 527.3 Plans submitted under this paragraph must include anticipated and actual outcomes for 527.4 persons experiencing homelessness in emergency shelters. 527.5 The plan (d) Plans submitted under paragraph (b) or (c) must describe: (1) anticipated 527.6 and actual outcomes for persons experiencing homelessness in emergency shelters; (2) 527.7 improved efficiencies in administration; (3) (2) requirements for individual eligibility; and 527.8 (4) (3) plans for quality assurance monitoring and quality assurance outcomes. The 527.9 commissioner shall review the agency plan plans to monitor implementation and outcomes 527.10 at least biennially, and more frequently if the commissioner deems necessary. 527.11 (b) The (e) Funding under paragraph (a) (b), (c), or (d) may be used for the provision 527.12 of room and board or supplemental services according to section 256I.03, subdivisions 14a 527.13 and 14b. Providers must meet the requirements of section 256I.04, subdivisions 2a to 2f. 527.14 Funding must be allocated annually, and the room and board portion of the allocation shall 527.15 be adjusted according to the percentage change in the housing support room and board rate. The room and board portion of the allocation shall be determined at the time of transfer. 527.18 The commissioner or agency may return beds to the housing support fund with 180 days' notice, including financial reconciliation. 527.19 Sec. 73. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260E.30, subdivision 3, as amended by Laws 527.20 2024, chapter 80, article 8, section 41, is amended to read: 527.21 Subd. 3. Nonmaltreatment mistake. (a) If paragraph (b) applies, rather than making a 527.22 determination of substantiated maltreatment by the individual, the commissioner of children, 527.23 youth, and families shall determine that the individual made a nonmaltreatment mistake. 527.24 527.25 (b) A nonmaltreatment mistake occurs when: (1) at the time of the incident, the individual was performing duties identified in the 527.26 facility's child care program plan required under Minnesota Rules, part 9503.0045; 527.27 (2) (1) the individual has not been determined responsible for a similar incident that 527.28 resulted in a finding of maltreatment for at least seven years; 527.29 (3) (2) the individual has not been determined to have committed a similar 527.30 nonmaltreatment mistake under this paragraph for at least four years; 527.31

(4) (3) any injury to a child resulting from the incident, if treated, is treated only with remedies that are available over the counter, whether ordered by a medical professional or not; and

- (5) (4) except for the period when the incident occurred, the facility and the individual providing services were both in compliance with all licensing and certification requirements relevant to the incident.
- (c) This subdivision only applies to child care centers <u>certified under chapter 245H and</u> licensed under Minnesota Rules, chapter 9503.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective October 1, 2024.

Sec. 74. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260E.33, subdivision 2, as amended by Laws 2024, chapter 80, article 8, section 44, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Request for reconsideration. (a) Except as provided under subdivision 5, an individual or facility that the commissioner of human services; commissioner of children, youth, and families; a local welfare agency; or the commissioner of education determines has maltreated a child, an interested person acting on behalf of the child, regardless of the determination, who contests the investigating agency's final determination regarding maltreatment may request the investigating agency to reconsider its final determination regarding maltreatment. The request for reconsideration must be submitted in writing or submitted in the provider licensing and reporting hub to the investigating agency within 15 calendar days after receipt of notice of the final determination regarding maltreatment or, if the request is made by an interested person who is not entitled to notice, within 15 days after receipt of the notice by the parent or guardian of the child. If mailed, the request for reconsideration must be postmarked and sent to the investigating agency within 15 calendar days of the individual's or facility's receipt of the final determination. If the request for reconsideration is made by personal service, it must be received by the investigating agency within 15 calendar days after the individual's or facility's receipt of the final determination. Upon implementation of the provider licensing and reporting hub, the individual or facility must use the hub to request reconsideration. The reconsideration must be received by the commissioner within 15 calendar days of the individual's receipt of the notice of disqualification.

(b) An individual who was determined to have maltreated a child under this chapter and who was disqualified on the basis of serious or recurring maltreatment under sections 245C.14 and 245C.15 may request reconsideration of the maltreatment determination and the disqualification. The request for reconsideration of the maltreatment determination and

528.1

528.2

528.3

528.4

528.5

528.6

528.7

528.8

528.9

528.12

528.13

528 14

528.15

528.16

528.17

528.19

528.20

528.21

528.22

528.23

528.24

528.25

528.26

528.27

528.28

528.29

528.30

528.31

528.32

528.33

the disqualification must be submitted within 30 calendar days of the individual's receipt of the notice of disqualification under sections 245C.16 and 245C.17. If mailed, the request for reconsideration of the maltreatment determination and the disqualification must be postmarked and sent to the investigating agency within 30 calendar days of the individual's receipt of the maltreatment determination and notice of disqualification. If the request for reconsideration is made by personal service, it must be received by the investigating agency within 30 calendar days after the individual's receipt of the notice of disqualification.

- Sec. 75. Laws 2024, chapter 80, article 2, section 5, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
- Subd. 23. Family child foster care annual program evaluation. Upon implementation of a continuous license process for family child foster care, the annual program evaluation required under Minnesota Rules, part 2960.3100, subpart 1, item G, must be conducted utilizing the electronic licensing inspection checklist information and the provider licensing and reporting hub in a manner prescribed by the commissioner.
- Sec. 76. Laws 2024, chapter 80, article 2, section 6, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2. **Change in ownership.** (a) If the commissioner determines that there is a change in ownership, the commissioner shall require submission of a new license application. This subdivision does not apply to a licensed program or service located in a home where the license holder resides. A change in ownership occurs when:
- 529.20 (1) except as provided in paragraph (b), the license holder sells or transfers 100 percent 529.21 of the property, stock, or assets;
- 529.22 (2) the license holder merges with another organization;
- 529.23 (3) the license holder consolidates with two or more organizations, resulting in the 529.24 creation of a new organization;
- 529.25 (4) there is a change to the federal tax identification number associated with the license 529.26 holder; or
- 529.27 (5) except as provided in paragraph (b), all controlling individuals associated with for the original application license have changed.
- (b) Notwithstanding For changes under paragraph (a), clauses (1) and (5) clause (1) or (5), no change in ownership has occurred and a new license application is not required if at least one controlling individual has been listed affiliated as a controlling individual for the license for at least the previous 12 months immediately preceding the change.

529.1

529.2

529.3

529.4

529.5

529.6

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.

530.1

530.2

530.3

530.4

530.5

530.6

530.7

530.8

530.9

530.10

530.11

530.12

530.15

530.16

530.17

530.18

530.19

530.20

530.21

530.22

530.23

530.25

Sec. 77. Laws 2024, chapter 80, article 2, section 6, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

- Subd. 3. Standard change of ownership process. (a) When a change in ownership is proposed and the party intends to assume operation without an interruption in service longer than 60 days after acquiring the program or service, the license holder must provide the commissioner with written notice of the proposed change on a form provided by the commissioner at least 60 90 days before the anticipated date of the change in ownership. For purposes of this subdivision and subdivision 4 section, "party" means the party that intends to operate the service or program.
- (b) The party must submit a license application under this chapter on the form and in the manner prescribed by the commissioner at least 30 90 days before the change in ownership is anticipated to be complete and must include documentation to support the upcoming change. The party must comply with background study requirements under chapter 530.13 245C and shall pay the application fee required under section 245A.10. 530.14
 - (c) The commissioner may streamline application procedures when the party is an existing license holder under this chapter and is acquiring a program licensed under this chapter or service in the same service class as one or more licensed programs or services the party operates and those licenses are in substantial compliance. For purposes of this subdivision, "substantial compliance" means within the previous 12 months the commissioner did not (1) issue a sanction under section 245A.07 against a license held by the party, or (2) make a license held by the party conditional according to section 245A.06.
 - (d) Except when a temporary change in ownership license is issued pursuant to subdivision 4 While the standard change of ownership process is pending, the existing license holder is solely remains responsible for operating the program according to applicable laws and rules until a license under this chapter is issued to the party.
- (e) If a licensing inspection of the program or service was conducted within the previous 530.26 12 months and the existing license holder's license record demonstrates substantial 530.27 compliance with the applicable licensing requirements, the commissioner may waive the party's inspection required by section 245A.04, subdivision 4. The party must submit to the 530.29 530.30 commissioner (1) proof that the premises was inspected by a fire marshal or that the fire marshal deemed that an inspection was not warranted, and (2) proof that the premises was 530.31 inspected for compliance with the building code or that no inspection was deemed warranted. 530.32

531.1	(f) If the party is seeking a license for a program or service that has an outstanding action
531.2	under section 245A.06 or 245A.07, the party must submit a letter as part of the application
531.3	process identifying how the party has or will come into full compliance with the licensing
531.4	requirements.
531.5	(g) The commissioner shall evaluate the party's application according to section 245A.04,
531.6	subdivision 6. If the commissioner determines that the party has remedied or demonstrates
531.7	the ability to remedy the outstanding actions under section 245A.06 or 245A.07 and has
531.8	determined that the program otherwise complies with all applicable laws and rules, the
531.9	commissioner shall issue a license or conditional license under this chapter. A conditional
531.10	license issued under this section is final and not subject to reconsideration under section
531.11	142B.16, subdivision 4. The conditional license remains in effect until the commissioner
531.12	determines that the grounds for the action are corrected or no longer exist.
531.13	(h) The commissioner may deny an application as provided in section 245A.05. An
531.14	applicant whose application was denied by the commissioner may appeal the denial according
531.15	to section 245A.05.
531.16	(i) This subdivision does not apply to a licensed program or service located in a home
531.17	where the license holder resides.
531.18	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.
531.19	Sec. 78. Laws 2024, chapter 80, article 2, section 6, is amended by adding a subdivision
531.20	to read:
531.21	Subd. 3a. Emergency change in ownership process. (a) In the event of a death of a
531.22	license holder or sole controlling individual or a court order or other event that results in
531.23	the license holder being inaccessible or unable to operate the program or service, a party
531.24	may submit a request to the commissioner to allow the party to assume operation of the
531.25	program or service under an emergency change in ownership process to ensure persons
531.26	continue to receive services while the commissioner evaluates the party's license application.
531.27	(b) To request the emergency change of ownership process, the party must immediately:
531.28	(1) notify the commissioner of the event resulting in the inability of the license holder
531.29	to operate the program and of the party's intent to assume operations; and
531.30	(2) provide the commissioner with documentation that demonstrates the party has a legal
531.31	or legitimate ownership interest in the program or service if applicable and is able to operate
531.32	the program or service.

532.1	(c) If the commissioner approves the party to continue operating the program or service
532.2	under an emergency change in ownership process, the party must:
532.3	(1) request to be added as a controlling individual or license holder to the existing license;
532.4	(2) notify persons receiving services of the emergency change in ownership in a manner
532.5	approved by the commissioner;
532.6	(3) submit an application for a new license within 30 days of approval;
532.7	(4) comply with the background study requirements under chapter 245C; and
532.8	(5) pay the application fee required under section 142B.12.
532.9	(d) While the emergency change of ownership process is pending, a party approved
532.10	under this subdivision is responsible for operating the program under the existing license
532.11	according to applicable laws and rules until a new license under this chapter is issued.
532.12	(e) The provisions in subdivision 3, paragraphs (c) and (g) to (h), apply to this subdivision.
532.13	(f) Once a party is issued a new license or has decided not to seek a new license, the
532.14	commissioner must close the existing license.
532.15	(g) This subdivision applies to any program or service licensed under this chapter.
532.16	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.
532.17	Sec. 79. Laws 2024, chapter 80, article 2, section 6, is amended by adding a subdivision
532.18	to read:
532.19	Subd. 5. Failure to comply. If the commissioner finds that the applicant or license holder
532.20	has not fully complied with this section, the commissioner may impose a licensing sanction
532.21	under section 142B.15, 142B.16, or 142B.18.
532.22	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.
532.23	Sec. 80. Laws 2024, chapter 80, article 2, section 10, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
532.24	Subdivision 1. Sanctions ; appeals ; license . (a) In addition to making a license conditional
532.25	under section 142B.16, the commissioner may suspend or revoke the license, impose a fine,
532.26	or secure an injunction against the continuing operation of the program of a license holder
532.27	who:
532.28	(1) does not comply with applicable law or rule;

(2) has nondisqualifying background study information, as described in section 245C.05, subdivision 4, that reflects on the license holder's ability to safely provide care to foster children; or

- (3) has an individual living in the household where the licensed services are provided or is otherwise subject to a background study, and the individual has nondisqualifying background study information, as described in section 245C.05, subdivision 4, that reflects on the license holder's ability to safely provide care to foster children.
- When applying sanctions authorized under this section, the commissioner shall consider the nature, chronicity, or severity of the violation of law or rule and the effect of the violation on the health, safety, or rights of persons served by the program.
- (b) If a license holder appeals the suspension or revocation of a license and the license holder continues to operate the program pending a final order on the appeal, the commissioner shall issue the license holder a temporary provisional license. Unless otherwise specified by the commissioner, variances in effect on the date of the license sanction under appeal continue under the temporary provisional license. The commissioner may include terms the license holder must follow pending a final order on the appeal. If a license holder fails to comply with applicable law or rule while operating under a temporary provisional license, the commissioner may impose additional sanctions under this section and section 142B.16 and may terminate any prior variance. If a temporary provisional license is set to expire, a new temporary provisional license shall be issued to the license holder upon payment of any fee required under section 142B.12. The temporary provisional license shall expire on the date the final order is issued. If the license holder prevails on the appeal, a new nonprovisional license shall be issued for the remainder of the current license period.
- (c) If a license holder is under investigation and the license issued under this chapter is due to expire before completion of the investigation, the program shall be issued a new license upon completion of the reapplication requirements and payment of any applicable license fee. Upon completion of the investigation, a licensing sanction may be imposed against the new license under this section or section 142B.16 or 142B.20.
- (d) Failure to reapply or closure of a license issued under this chapter by the license holder prior to the completion of any investigation shall not preclude the commissioner 533.30 from issuing a licensing sanction under this section or section 142B.16 at the conclusion of the investigation. 533.32
- **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2025. 533.33

533.1

533.2

533.3

533.4

533.5

533.6

533.7

533.8

533.9

533.10

533.11

533.12

533.13

533.15

533.16

533.17

533.18

533.19

533.21

533.22

533.23

533.24

533.25

533.26

533.27

533.28

533.29

Sec. 81. Laws 2024, chapter 80, article 2, section 10, subdivision 6, is amended to read:

- Subd. 6. **Appeal of multiple sanctions.** (a) When the license holder appeals more than one licensing action or sanction that were simultaneously issued by the commissioner, the license holder shall specify the actions or sanctions that are being appealed.
- (b) If there are different timelines prescribed in statutes for the licensing actions or sanctions being appealed, the license holder must submit the appeal within the longest of those timelines specified in statutes.
- (c) The appeal must be made in writing by certified mail or, personal service, or through the provider licensing and reporting hub. If mailed, the appeal must be postmarked and sent to the commissioner within the prescribed timeline with the first day beginning the day after the license holder receives the certified letter. If a request is made by personal service, it must be received by the commissioner within the prescribed timeline with the first day beginning the day after the license holder receives the certified letter. If the appeal is made through the provider hub, the appeal must be received by the commissioner within the prescribed timeline with the first day beginning the day after the commissioner issued the order through the hub.
- (d) When there are different timelines prescribed in statutes for the appeal of licensing actions or sanctions simultaneously issued by the commissioner, the commissioner shall specify in the notice to the license holder the timeline for appeal as specified under paragraph (b).
- Sec. 82. Laws 2024, chapter 80, article 2, section 16, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
- Subd. 9. Licensed child-placing agency personnel requirements. (a) A licensed child-placing agency must have an individual designated on staff or contract who supervises the agency's casework. Supervising an agency's casework includes but is not limited to:
- 534.26 (1) reviewing and approving each written home study the agency completes on 534.27 prospective foster parents or applicants to adopt;
- 534.28 (2) ensuring ongoing compliance with licensing requirements; and
- (3) overseeing staff and ensuring they have the training and resources needed to perform their responsibilities.
- (b) The individual who supervises the agency's casework must meet at least one of the following qualifications:

534.2

534.3

534.4

534.5

534.6

534.7

534.8

534.9

534.10

534.11

534.12

534.13

534.14

534.15

535.1	(1) is a licensed social worker, licensed graduate social worker, licensed independent
535.2	social worker, or licensed independent clinical social worker;
535.3	(2) is a trained culturally competent professional with experience in a relevant field; or
535.4	(3) is a licensed clinician with experience in a related field, including a clinician licensed
535.5	by a health-related licensing board under section 214.01, subdivision 2.
535.6	(c) The commissioner may grant a variance under section 142B.10, subdivision 16, to
535.7	the requirements in this section.
535.8 535.9	Sec. 83. <u>DIRECTION TO COMMISSIONER OF HUMAN SERVICES; FAMILY</u> CHILD FOSTER CARE CONTINUOUS LICENSES.
535.10	The commissioner of human services shall develop a continuous license process for
535.11	family child foster care licenses. The continuous license process shall be incorporated into
535.12	the development of the electronic licensing inspection checklist information and provider
535.13	licensing and reporting hub for family child foster care.
535.14	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.
535.15	Sec. 84. <u>REVISOR INSTRUCTION.</u>
535.16	The revisor of statutes shall renumber Minnesota Statutes, section 256D.21, as Minnesota
535.17	Statutes, section 261.004.
535.18	Sec. 85. REPEALER.
535.19	(a) Minnesota Statutes 2022, sections 245C.125; 256D.19, subdivisions 1 and 2; 256D.20,
535.20	subdivisions 1, 2, 3, and 4; and 256D.23, subdivisions 1, 2, and 3, are repealed.
535.21	(b) Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 245C.08, subdivision 2, is repealed.
535.22	(c) Minnesota Rules, parts 9502.0425, subparts 5 and 10; and 9545.0805, subpart 1, are
535.23	repealed.
535.24	(d) Laws 2024, chapter 80, article 2, section 6, subdivision 4, is repealed.
535.25	EFFECTIVE DATE. The repeal of Minnesota Rules, part 9545.0805, subpart 1, is
535.26	effective July 1, 2024. Except for the repeal of Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245C.125,
535.27	paragraph (a) is effective the day following final enactment.

536.1 ARTICLE 19

536.2

536.3

536.4

536.5

536.6

536.7

536.8

536.9

536.10

536.11

536.13

536.14

536.15

536.16

536.19

536.20

536.21

536.22

536.23

536.24

536.25

536.26

536.27

536.28

536.29

536.30

536.31

536.32

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 16A.055, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:

MISCELLANEOUS

Subd. 1a. Additional duties Program evaluation and organizational development services. The commissioner may assist state agencies by providing analytical, statistical, program evaluation using experimental or quasi-experimental design, and organizational development services to state agencies in order to assist the agency to achieve the agency's mission and to operate efficiently and effectively. For purposes of this section, "experimental design" means a method of evaluating the impact of a service that uses random assignment to assign participants into groups that respectively receive the studied service and those that receive service as usual, so that any difference in outcomes found at the end of the evaluation can be attributed to the studied service; and "quasi-experimental design" means a method of evaluating the impact of a service that uses strategies other than random assignment to establish statistically similar groups that respectively receive the service and those that receive service as usual, so that any difference in outcomes found at the end of the evaluation can be attributed to the studied service.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 16A.055, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

Subd. 1b. Consultation to develop performance measures for grants. (a) The commissioner must, in consultation with the commissioners of health, human services, and children, youth, and families, develop an ongoing consultation schedule to create, review, and revise, as necessary, performance measures, data collection, and program evaluation plans for all state-funded grants administered by the commissioners of health, human services, and children, youth, and families that distribute at least \$1,000,000 annually.

(b) Following the development of the ongoing consultation schedule under paragraph (a), the commissioner and the commissioner of the administering agency must conduct a grant program consultation in accordance with the ongoing consultation schedule. Each grant program consultation must include a review of performance measures, data collection, program evaluation plans, and reporting for each grant program. Following each consultation, the commissioner and the commissioner of the administering agency may revise evaluation metrics of a grant program. The commissioner may provide continuing support to the grant program in accordance with subdivision 1a.

537.1	Sec. 3. [137.095] EVIDENCE IN SUPPORT OF APPROPRIATION.
537.2	Subdivision 1. Written report. Prior to the introduction of a bill proposing to appropriate
537.3	money to the Board of Regents of the University of Minnesota to benefit the University of
537.4	Minnesota's health sciences programs, the proponents of the bill must submit a written
537.5	report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with
537.6	jurisdiction over higher education and health and human services policy and finance setting
537.7	out the information required by this section. The University of Minnesota's health sciences
537.8	programs include the schools of medicine, nursing, public health, pharmacy, dentistry, and
537.9	veterinary medicine.
537.10	Subd. 2. Contents of report. The report required under this section must include the
537.11	following information as specifically as possible:
537.12	(1) the dollar amount requested;
537.13	(2) how the requested dollar amount was calculated;
537.14	(3) the necessity for the appropriation's purpose to be funded by public funds;
537.15	(4) a funds flow analysis supporting the necessity analysis required by clause (3);
537.16	(5) University of Minnesota budgeting considerations and decisions impacting the
537.17	necessity analysis required by clause (3);
537.18	(6) all goals, outcomes, and purposes of the appropriation;
537.19	(7) performance measures as defined by the University of Minnesota that the University
537.20	of Minnesota will utilize to ensure the funds are dedicated to the successful achievement
537.21	of the goals, outcomes, and purposes identified in clause (6); and
537.22	(8) the extent to which the appropriation advances recruitment from, and training for
537.23	and retention of, health professionals from and in greater Minnesota and from underserved
537.24	communities in metropolitan areas.
537.25	Subd. 3. Certifications for academic health. A report submitted under this section
537.26	must include, in addition to the information listed in subdivision 2, a certification, by the
537.27	University of Minnesota Vice President and Budget Director, that:
537.28	(1) the appropriation will not be used to cover academic health clinical revenue deficits;
537.29	(2) the goals, outcomes, and purposes of the appropriation are aligned with state goals
537.30	for population health improvement; and

(3) the appropriation is aligned with the University of Minnesota's strategic plan for its 538.1 health sciences programs, including but not limited to shared goals and strategies for the 538.2 538.3 health professional schools. Subd. 4. Right to request. The chair of a standing committee in either house of the 538.4 538.5 legislature may request and obtain the reports required under this section from the chair of a legislative committee with jurisdiction over higher education or health and human services 538.6 policy and finance. 538.7 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2024. 538.8 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 142A.03, is amended by adding a 538.9 subdivision to read: 538.11 Subd. 2a. Grant consultation. The commissioner must consult with the commissioner of management and budget to create, review, and revise grant program performance measures 538.12 538.13 and to evaluate grant programs administered by the commissioner in accordance with section 16A.055, subdivisions 1a and 1b. Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144.05, is amended by adding a subdivision to 538.15 538.16 read: Subd. 8. Grant consultation. The commissioner must consult with the commissioner 538.17 of management and budget to create, review, and revise grant program performance measures 538.18 and to evaluate grant programs administered by the commissioner in accordance with section 538.19 16A.055, subdivisions 1a and 1b. 538.20 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144.292, subdivision 6, is amended to read: 538.21 Subd. 6. Cost. (a) When a patient requests a copy of the patient's record for purposes of 538.22 reviewing current medical care, the provider must not charge a fee. 538.23 (b) When a provider or its representative makes copies of patient records upon a patient's 538.24 request under this section, the provider or its representative may charge the patient or the 538.25 patient's representative no more than 75 cents per page, plus \$10 for time spent retrieving and copying the records, unless other law or a rule or contract provide for a lower maximum 538.27 538.28 charge. This limitation does not apply to x-rays. The provider may charge a patient no more than the actual cost of reproducing x-rays, plus no more than \$10 for the time spent retrieving 538.29 and copying the x-rays the following amount, unless other law or a rule or contract provide 538.30 for a lower maximum charge: 538.31

(1) for paper copies, \$1 per page, plus \$10 for time spent retrieving and copying the

records; 539.2 (2) for x-rays, a total of \$30 for retrieving and reproducing x-rays; and 539.3 (3) for electronic copies, a total of \$20 for retrieving the records. 539.4 (c) The respective maximum charges of 75 cents per page and \$10 for time provided in 539.5 this subdivision are in effect for calendar year 1992 and may be adjusted annually each 539.6 539.7 calendar year as provided in this subdivision. The permissible maximum charges shall change each year by an amount that reflects the change, as compared to the previous year, 539.8 in the Consumer Price Index for all Urban Consumers, Minneapolis-St. Paul (CPI-U), 539.9 published by the Department of Labor. For any copies of paper records provided under 539.10 paragraph (b), clause (1), a provider or the provider's representative may not charge more 539.11 539.12 than a total of: (1) \$10 if there are no records available; 539.13 (2) \$30 for copies of records of up to 25 pages; 539.14 (3) \$50 for copies of records of up to 100 pages; 539.15 (4) \$50, plus an additional 20 cents per page for pages 101 and above; or 539.16 (5) \$500 for any request. 539 17 (d) A provider or its representative may charge the a \$10 retrieval fee, but must not 539.18 charge a per page fee or x-ray fee to provide copies of records requested by a patient or the 539.19 patient's authorized representative if the request for copies of records is for purposes of 539.20 appealing a denial of Social Security disability income or Social Security disability benefits 539.21 under title II or title XVI of the Social Security Act; except that no fee shall be charged to 539.22 a patient who is receiving public assistance, or to a patient who is represented by an attorney 539.23 on behalf of a civil legal services program or a volunteer attorney program based on 539.24 indigency. Notwithstanding the foregoing, a provider or its representative must not charge a fee, including a retrieval fee, to provide copies of records requested by a patient or the 539.26 patient's authorized representative if the request for copies of records is for purposes of 539.27 appealing a denial of Social Security disability income or Social Security disability benefits 539.28 under title II or title XVI of the Social Security Act when the patient is receiving public 539.29 assistance, represented by an attorney on behalf of a civil legal services program, or 539.30 represented by a volunteer attorney program based on indigency. The patient or the patient's 539.31 representative must submit one of the following to show that they are entitled to receive 539.32 records without charge under this paragraph: 539.33

540.1	(1) a public assistance statement from the county or state administering assistance;
540.2	(2) a request for records on the letterhead of the civil legal services program or volunteer
540.3	attorney program based on indigency; or
540.4	(3) a benefits statement from the Social Security Administration.
540.5	For the purpose of further appeals, a patient may receive no more than two medical record
540.6	updates without charge, but only for medical record information previously not provided.
540.7	For purposes of this paragraph, a patient's authorized representative does not include units
540.8	of state government engaged in the adjudication of Social Security disability claims.
540.9	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.
540.10	Sec. 7. [144.2925] CONSTRUCTION.
540.11	Sections 144.291 to 144.298 shall be construed to protect the privacy of a patient's health
540.12	records in a more stringent manner than provided in Code of Federal Regulations, title 45,
540.13	part 164. For purposes of this section, "more stringent" has the meaning given to that term
540.14	in Code of Federal Regulations, title 45, section 160.202, with respect to a use or disclosure
540.15	or the need for express legal permission from an individual to disclose individually
540.16	identifiable health information.
540.17	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
540.18	Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144.293, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
540.19	Subd. 2. Patient consent to release of records. A provider, or a person who receives
540.20	health records from a provider, may not release a patient's health records to a person without:
540.21	(1) a signed and dated consent from the patient or the patient's legally authorized
540.22	representative authorizing the release;
540.23	(2) specific authorization in Minnesota law; or
540.24	(3) a representation from a provider that holds a signed and dated consent from the
540.25	patient authorizing the release.
540.26	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment and
540.27	applies to health records released on or after that date.

Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144.293, subdivision 4, is amended to read: 541.1 Subd. 4. **Duration of consent.** Except as provided in this section, a consent is valid for 541.2 541.3 one year or for a period specified in the consent or for a different period provided by Minnesota law. 541.4 541.5 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment and applies to health records released on or after that date. 541.6 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144.293, subdivision 9, is amended to read: 541.7 Subd. 9. **Documentation of release.** (a) In cases where a provider releases health records 541.8 without patient consent as authorized by Minnesota law, the release must be documented 541.9 in the patient's health record. In the case of a release under section 144.294, subdivision 2, 541.10 the documentation must include the date and circumstances under which the release was 541.11 made, the person or agency to whom the release was made, and the records that were released. 541.12 541.13 (b) When a health record is released using a representation from a provider that holds a consent from the patient, the releasing provider shall document: 541 14 541.15 (1) the provider requesting the health records; (2) the identity of the patient; 541.16 541.17 (3) the health records requested; and (4) the date the health records were requested. 541.18 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment and 541.19 applies to health records released on or after that date. 541.20 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144.293, subdivision 10, is amended to read: 541.21 Subd. 10. Warranties regarding consents, requests, and disclosures. (a) When 541.22 requesting health records using consent, a person warrants that the consent: 541.23 541.24 (1) contains no information known to the person to be false; and 541.25 (2) accurately states the patient's desire to have health records disclosed or that there is specific authorization in Minnesota law. 541.26 (b) When requesting health records using consent, or a representation of holding a 541.27

541.29 (1) contains no information known to the provider to be false;

consent, a provider warrants that the request:

(2) accurately states the patient's desire to have health records disclosed or that there is 542.1 specific authorization in Minnesota law; and 542.2 (3) does not exceed any limits imposed by the patient in the consent. 542.3 542.4 (c) When disclosing health records, a person releasing health records warrants that the 542.5 person: (1) has complied with the requirements of this section regarding disclosure of health 542.6 542.7 records; (2) knows of no information related to the request that is false; and 542.8 542.9 (3) has complied with the limits set by the patient in the consent. **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment and 542.10 applies to health records released on or after that date. 542.11 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 152.22, subdivision 14, is amended to read: 542.12 Subd. 14. Qualifying medical condition. "Qualifying medical condition" means a 542.13 diagnosis of any of the following conditions: 542.14 (1) cancer, if the underlying condition or treatment produces one or more of the following: 542.15 (i) severe or chronic pain; 542.16 (ii) nausea or severe vomiting; or 542.17 (iii) cachexia or severe wasting; 542.18 (2) glaucoma; 542.19 (3) human immunodeficiency virus or acquired immune deficiency syndrome; 542.20 (4) Tourette's syndrome; 542.21 (5) amyotrophic lateral sclerosis; 542.22 (6) seizures, including those characteristic of epilepsy; 542.23 (7) severe and persistent muscle spasms, including those characteristic of multiple 542.24 sclerosis; 542.25 (8) inflammatory bowel disease, including Crohn's disease; 542.26 (9) terminal illness, with a probable life expectancy of under one year, if the illness or 542.27 its treatment produces one or more of the following: 542.28 (i) severe or chronic pain;

543.1	(11) nausea or severe vomiting; or
543.2	(iii) cachexia or severe wasting; or
543.3	(10) any other medical condition or its treatment approved by the commissioner that is:
543.4	(i) approved by a patient's health care practitioner; or
543.5	(ii) if the patient is a veteran receiving care from the United States Department of Veterans
543.6	Affairs, certified under section 152.27, subdivision 3a.
543.7	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.
543.8	Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 152.27, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
543.9	Subd. 2. Commissioner duties. (a) The commissioner shall:
543.10	(1) give notice of the program to health care practitioners in the state who are eligible
543.11	to serve as health care practitioners and explain the purposes and requirements of the
543.12	program;
543.13	(2) allow each health care practitioner who meets or agrees to meet the program's
543.14	requirements and who requests to participate, to be included in the registry program to
543.15	collect data for the patient registry;
543.16	(3) provide explanatory information and assistance to each health care practitioner in
543.17	understanding the nature of therapeutic use of medical cannabis within program requirements;
543.18	(4) create and provide a certification to be used by a health care practitioner for the
543.19	practitioner to certify whether a patient has been diagnosed with a qualifying medical
543.20	condition and include in the certification an option for the practitioner to certify whether
543.21	the patient, in the health care practitioner's medical opinion, is developmentally or physically
543.22	disabled and, as a result of that disability, the patient requires assistance in administering
543.23	medical cannabis or obtaining medical cannabis from a distribution facility;
543.24	(5) supervise the participation of the health care practitioner in conducting patient
543.25	treatment and health records reporting in a manner that ensures stringent security and
543.26	record-keeping requirements and that prevents the unauthorized release of private data on
543.27	individuals as defined by section 13.02;
543.28	(6) develop safety criteria for patients with a qualifying medical condition as a
543.29	requirement of the patient's participation in the program, to prevent the patient from
543.30	undertaking any task under the influence of medical cannabis that would constitute negligence
543.31	or professional malpractice on the part of the patient; and

(7) conduct research and studies based on data from health records submitted to the registry program and submit reports on intermediate or final research results to the legislature and major scientific journals. The commissioner may contract with a third party to complete the requirements of this clause. Any reports submitted must comply with section 152.28, subdivision 2.

(b) The commissioner may add a delivery method under section 152.22, subdivision 6, or add, remove, or modify a qualifying medical condition under section 152.22, subdivision 14, upon a petition from a member of the public or the task force on medical cannabis therapeutic research or as directed by law. The commissioner shall evaluate all petitions to add a qualifying medical condition or to remove or modify an existing qualifying medical condition submitted by the task force on medical cannabis therapeutic research or as directed by law and may make the addition, removal, or modification if the commissioner determines the addition, removal, or modification is warranted based on the best available evidence and research. If the commissioner wishes to add a delivery method under section 152.22, subdivision 6, or add or remove a qualifying medical condition under section 152.22, subdivision 14, the commissioner must notify the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative policy committees having jurisdiction over health and public safety of the addition or removal and the reasons for its addition or removal, including any written comments received by the commissioner from the public and any guidance received from the task force on medical cannabis research, by January 15 of the year in which the commissioner wishes to make the change. The change shall be effective on August 1 of that year, unless the legislature by law provides otherwise.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.

Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 152.27, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

Subd. 3a. Application procedure for veterans. (a) Beginning July 1, 2024, the
commissioner shall establish an alternative certification procedure for veterans to enroll in
the patient registry program.

(b) A patient who is a veteran receiving care from the United States Department of

Veterans Affairs and is seeking to enroll in the registry program must submit a copy of the

patient's veteran health identification card issued by the United States Department of Veterans

Affairs and an application established by the commissioner to confirm that veteran has been

diagnosed with a condition that may benefit from the therapeutic use of medical cannabis.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.

544.1

544.2

544.3

544.4

544.5

544.6

544.7

544.8

544.9

544.10

544.11

544.12

544.13

544.14

544.15

544.16

544.17

544.18

544.20

544.21

544.22

544.23

544.29

544.30

544.31

544.32

544.33

Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 152.27, subdivision 6, is amended to read:

Subd. 6. **Patient enrollment.** (a) After receipt of a patient's application, application fees, and signed disclosure, the commissioner shall enroll the patient in the registry program and issue the patient and patient's registered designated caregiver or parent, legal guardian, or spouse, if applicable, a registry verification. The commissioner shall approve or deny a patient's application for participation in the registry program within 30 days after the commissioner receives the patient's application and application fee. The commissioner may approve applications up to 60 days after the receipt of a patient's application and application fees until January 1, 2016. A patient's enrollment in the registry program shall only be denied if the patient:

- (1) does not have certification from a health care practitioner or, if the patient is a veteran receiving care from the United States Department of Veterans Affairs, the documentation required under subdivision 3a that the patient has been diagnosed with a qualifying medical condition;
- 545.15 (2) has not signed and returned the disclosure form required under subdivision 3, 545.16 paragraph (c), to the commissioner;
- 545.17 (3) does not provide the information required;
- 545.18 (4) has previously been removed from the registry program for violations of section 545.19 152.30 or 152.33; or
- 545.20 (5) provides false information.

545.1

545.2

545.3

545.4

545.5

545.6

545.7

545.8

545.9

- 545.21 (b) The commissioner shall give written notice to a patient of the reason for denying 545.22 enrollment in the registry program.
- 545.23 (c) Denial of enrollment into the registry program is considered a final decision of the 545.24 commissioner and is subject to judicial review under the Administrative Procedure Act 545.25 pursuant to chapter 14.
- 545.26 (d) A patient's enrollment in the registry program may only be revoked upon the death of the patient or if a patient violates a requirement under section 152.30 or 152.33.
- (e) The commissioner shall develop a registry verification to provide to the patient, the health care practitioner identified in the patient's application, and to the manufacturer. The registry verification shall include:
- 545.31 (1) the patient's name and date of birth;
- 545.32 (2) the patient registry number assigned to the patient; and

(3) the name and date of birth of the patient's registered designated caregiver, if any, or the name of the patient's parent, legal guardian, or spouse if the parent, legal guardian, or spouse will be acting as a caregiver.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.

Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245.096, is amended to read:

245,096 CHANGES TO GRANT PROGRAMS.

546.1

546.2

546.3

546.4

546.5

546.6

546.7

546.8

546.9

546.10

546.11

546.12

546.13

546.16

546.17

546.18

546.19

546.20

546.21

546.22

546.23

546.24

546.25

546.26

546.27

546.28

Prior to implementing any substantial changes to a grant funding formula disbursed through allocations administered by the commissioner, the commissioner must provide a report on the nature of the changes, the effect the changes will have, whether any funding will change, and other relevant information, to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over human services. The report must be provided prior to the start of a regular session, and the proposed changes cannot be implemented until after the adjournment of that regular session.

Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 245C.31, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. **Board determines disciplinary or corrective action.** (a) The commissioner shall notify a health-related licensing board as defined in section 214.01, subdivision 2, if the commissioner determines that an individual who is licensed by the health-related licensing board and who is included on the board's roster list provided in accordance with subdivision 3a is responsible for substantiated maltreatment under section 626.557 or chapter 260E, in accordance with subdivision 2. Upon receiving notification Except as provided in paragraph (b), instead of the commissioner making a decision regarding disqualification based on maltreatment for any study subject who is regulated by a health-related licensing board, the health-related licensing board shall make a determination as to whether to impose disciplinary or corrective action under chapter 214.

- (b) The prohibition on disqualification in paragraph (a) does not apply to a background study of an individual regulated by a health-related licensing board if the individual's study is related to child foster care, adult foster care, or family child care licensure.
- Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256.01, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
- 546.31 <u>Subd. 2c.</u> **Grant consultation.** The commissioner must consult with the commissioner 546.32 of management and budget to create, review, and revise grant program performance measures

and to evaluate grant programs administered by the commissioner in accordance with section 547.1 16A.055, subdivisions 1a and 1b. 547.2 Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256.01, subdivision 41, is amended to read: 547.3 Subd. 41. Reports on interagency agreements and intra-agency transfers. (a) 547.4 Beginning July 1, 2024, the commissioner of human services shall provide quarterly reports 547.5 to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction 547.6 over health and human services policy and finance on: 547.7 (1) interagency agreements or service-level agreements and any renewals or extensions 547.8 of existing interagency or service-level agreements with a state department under section 547.9 15.01, state agency under section 15.012, or the Department of Information Technology Services, with a value of more than \$100,000, or related agreements with the same department 547.11 or agency with a cumulative value of more than \$100,000; and 547.12 (2) transfers of appropriations of more than \$100,000 between accounts within or between 547.13 547.14 agencies. The report must include the statutory citation authorizing the agreement, transfer or dollar 547.15 amount, purpose, and effective date of the agreement, the duration of the agreement, and a 547.16 copy of the agreement. 547.17 547.18 (b) This subdivision expires December 31, 2034. Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256B.79, subdivision 6, is amended to read: 547.19 Subd. 6. **Report.** (a) By January 31, 2021 2025, and every two years thereafter, the 547.20 commissioner shall report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative 547.21 committees with jurisdiction over health and human services policy and finance on the 547.22 status and outcomes of the grant program. The report must: 547.23 (1) describe the capacity of collaboratives receiving grants under this section; 547.24 (2) contain aggregate information about enrollees served within targeted populations; 547.25 (3) describe the utilization of enhanced prenatal services; 547.26 (4) for enrollees identified with maternal substance use disorders, describe the utilization 547.27 of substance use treatment and dispositions of any child protection cases; 547.28 (5) contain data on outcomes within targeted populations and compare these outcomes 547.29 to outcomes statewide, using standard categories of race and ethnicity; and 547.30

04/24/24 **SENATEE** LB SS4699R (6) include recommendations for continuing the program or sustaining improvements 548.1 through other means. 548.2 (b) This subdivision expires December 31, 2034. 548.3 Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256K.45, subdivision 2, is amended to read: 548.4 Subd. 2. Homeless youth report. (a) The commissioner shall prepare a biennial report, 548.5 beginning in February 2015 January 1, 2025, which provides meaningful information to 548.6 the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees having with 548.7 jurisdiction over the issue of homeless youth, that includes, but is not limited to: (1) a list 548.8 of the areas of the state with the greatest need for services and housing for homeless youth, 548.9 and the level and nature of the needs identified; (2) details about grants made, including 548.10 shelter-linked youth mental health grants under section 256K.46; (3) the distribution of 548.11 funds throughout the state based on population need; (4) follow-up information, if available, 548.12 on the status of homeless youth and whether they have stable housing two years after services 548.13 are provided; and (5) any other outcomes for populations served to determine the 548.14 effectiveness of the programs and use of funding. 548.15 548.16 (b) This subdivision expires December 31, 2034. Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 342.01, subdivision 63, is amended 548.17 to read: 548.18

- Subd. 63. **Qualifying medical condition.** "Qualifying medical condition" means a diagnosis of any of the following conditions:
- 548.21 (1) Alzheimer's disease;
- 548.22 (2) autism spectrum disorder that meets the requirements of the fifth edition of the 548.23 Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders published by the American Psychiatric 548.24 Association;
- 548.25 (3) cancer, if the underlying condition or treatment produces one or more of the following:
- 548.26 (i) severe or chronic pain;
- 548.27 (ii) nausea or severe vomiting; or
- 548.28 (iii) cachexia or severe wasting;
- 548.29 (4) chronic motor or vocal tic disorder;
- 548.30 (5) chronic pain;

(6) glaucoma; 549.1 (7) human immunodeficiency virus or acquired immune deficiency syndrome; 549.2 (8) intractable pain as defined in section 152.125, subdivision 1, paragraph (c); 549.3 (9) obstructive sleep apnea; 549.4 (10) post-traumatic stress disorder; 549.5 (11) Tourette's syndrome; 549.6 (12) amyotrophic lateral sclerosis; 549.7 (13) seizures, including those characteristic of epilepsy; 549.8 (14) severe and persistent muscle spasms, including those characteristic of multiple 549.9 sclerosis; 549 10 (15) inflammatory bowel disease, including Crohn's disease; 549.11 (16) irritable bowel syndrome; 549.12 (17) obsessive-compulsive disorder; 549.13 (18) sickle cell disease; 549.14 (19) terminal illness, with a probable life expectancy of under one year, if the illness or 549.15 its treatment produces one or more of the following: 549.16 (i) severe or chronic pain; 549.17 (ii) nausea or severe vomiting; or 549.18 (iii) cachexia or severe wasting; or 549.19 (20) any other medical condition or its treatment approved by the office that is: 549.20 (i) approved by a patient's health care practitioner; or 549.21 (ii) if the patient is a veteran receiving care from the United States Department of Veterans 549.22 Affairs, certified under section 342.52, subdivision 3. 549.23 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective March 1, 2025. 549.24 549.25 Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 342.52, subdivision 3, is amended to read: 549.26 549.27 Subd. 3. Application procedure for veterans. (a) The Division of Medical Cannabis

549.28

office shall establish an alternative certification procedure for veterans who receive care

from the United States Department of Veterans Affairs to confirm that the veteran has been diagnosed with a qualifying medical condition enroll in the patient registry program.

(b) A patient who is also a veteran receiving care from the United States Department of Veterans Affairs and is seeking to enroll in the registry program must submit to the Division of Medical Cannabis office a copy of the patient's veteran health identification card issued by the United States Department of Veterans Affairs and an application established by the Division of Medical Cannabis that includes the information identified in subdivision 2, paragraph (a), and the additional information required by the Division of Medical Cannabis to certify that the patient has been diagnosed with a qualifying medical condition office to confirm that veteran has been diagnosed with a condition that may benefit from the therapeutic use of medical cannabis.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective March 1, 2025.

Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 342.53, is amended to read:

342.53 DUTIES OF OFFICE OF CANNABIS MANAGEMENT; REGISTRY PROGRAM.

The office may add an allowable form of medical cannabinoid product, and may add or modify a qualifying medical condition upon its own initiative, upon a petition from a member of the public or from the Cannabis Advisory Council or as directed by law. The office must evaluate all petitions and must make the addition or modification if the office determines that the addition or modification is warranted by the best available evidence and research. If the office wishes to add an allowable form or add or modify a qualifying medical condition, the office must notify the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees and divisions with jurisdiction over health finance and policy by January 15 of the year in which the change becomes effective. In this notification, the office must specify the proposed addition or modification, the reasons for the addition or modification, any written comments received by the office from the public about the addition or modification, and any guidance received from the Cannabis Advisory Council. An addition or modification by the office under this subdivision becomes effective on August 1 of that year unless the legislature by law provides otherwise.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective March 1, 2025.

Sec. 25. Laws 2023, chapter 70, article 11, section 13, subdivision 8, is amended to read:

Subd. 8. **Expiration.** This section expires June 30, 2027 2028.

550.1

550.2

550.3

550.4

550.5

550.6

550.7

550.8

550.9

550.10

550.11

550.12

550.14

550.15

550.16

550.18

550.19

550.20

550.21

550.22

550.23

550.24

550.25

550.26

550.27

550.28

550.29

Sec. 26. ANNUAL REPORT TO LEGISLATURE; USE OF APPROPRIATION

551.2	FUNDS.
551.3	By December 15, 2025, and every year thereafter, the Board of Regents of the University
551.4	of Minnesota must submit a report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the
551.5	legislative committees with primary jurisdiction over higher education and health and human
551.6	services policy and finance on the use of all appropriations for the benefit of the University
551.7	of Minnesota's health sciences programs, including:
551.8	(1) material changes to the funds flow analysis required by Minnesota Statutes, section
551.9	137.095, subdivision 2, clause (4);
551.10	(2) changes to the University of Minnesota's anticipated uses of each appropriation;
551.11	(3) the results of the performance measures required by Minnesota Statutes, section
551.12	137.095, subdivision 2, clause (7); and
551.13	(4) current and anticipated achievement of the goals, outcomes, and purposes of each
551.14	appropriation.
551.15	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.
	C 27 DIDECTION TO COMMISSIONED OF HEALTH HEALTH
551.16	Sec. 27. <u>DIRECTION TO COMMISSIONER OF HEALTH; HEALTH</u>
551.17	PROFESSIONS WORKFORCE ADVISORY COUNCIL.
551.18	Subdivision 1. Health professions workforce advisory council. The commissioner of
551.19	health, in consultation with the University of Minnesota and the Minnesota State HealthForce
551.20	Center of Excellence, shall provide recommendations to the legislature for the creation of
551.21	a health professions workforce advisory council to:
551.22	(1) research and advise the legislature and the Minnesota Office of Higher Education
551.23	on the status of the health workforce who are in training and on the need for additional or
551.24	different training opportunities;
551.25	(2) provide information and analysis on health workforce needs and trends, upon request,
551.26	to the legislature, any state department, or any other entity the advisory council deems
551.27	appropriate;
551.28	(3) review and comment on legislation relevant to Minnesota's health workforce; and
551.29	(4) study and provide recommendations regarding the following:
551.30	
	(i) health workforce supply, including:

552.1	(B) strategies that entities in Minnesota are using or may use to address health workforce
552.2	shortages, recruitment, and retention; and
552.3	(C) future investments to increase the supply of health care professionals, with particular
552.4	focus on critical areas of need within Minnesota;
552.5	(ii) options for training and educating the health workforce, including:
552.6	(A) increasing the diversity of health professions workers to reflect Minnesota's
552.7	<u>communities;</u>
552.8	(B) addressing the maldistribution of primary, mental health, nursing, and dental providers
552.9	in greater Minnesota and in underserved communities in metropolitan areas;
552.10	(C) increasing interprofessional training and clinical practice;
552.11	(D) addressing the need for increased quality faculty to train an increased workforce;
552.12	<u>and</u>
552.13	(E) developing advancement paths or career ladders for health care professionals;
552.14	(iii) increasing funding for strategies to diversify and address gaps in the health workforce,
552.15	including:
552.16	(A) increasing access to financing for graduate medical education;
552.17	(B) expanding pathway programs to increase awareness of the health care professions
552.18	among high school, undergraduate, and community college students and engaging the current
552.19	health workforce in those programs;
552.20	(C) reducing or eliminating tuition for entry-level health care positions that offer
552.21	opportunities for future advancement in high-demand settings and expanding other existing
552.22	financial support programs such as loan forgiveness and scholarship programs;
552.23	(D) incentivizing recruitment from greater Minnesota and recruitment and retention for
552.24	providers practicing in greater Minnesota and in underserved communities in metropolitan
552.25	areas; and
552.26	(E) expanding existing programs, or investing in new programs, that provide wraparound
552.27	support services to the existing health care workforce, especially people of color and
552.28	professionals from other underrepresented identities, to acquire training and advance within
552.29	the health care workforce; and
552.30	(iv) other Minnesota health workforce priorities as determined by the advisory council.

553.1	Subd. 2. Report to the legislature. On or before February 1, 2025, the commissioner
553.2	of health shall submit a report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative
553.3	committees with jurisdiction over health and human services and higher education finance
553.4	and policy with recommendations for the creation of a health professions workforce advisory
553.5	council as described in subdivision 1. The report must include recommendations regarding:
553.6	(1) membership of the advisory council;
553.7	(2) funding sources and estimated costs for the advisory council;
553.8	(3) existing sources of workforce data for the advisory council to perform its duties;
553.9	(4) necessity for and options to obtain new data for the advisory council to perform its
553.10	duties;
553.11	(5) additional duties of the advisory council;
553.12	(6) proposed legislation to establish the advisory council;
553.13	(7) similar health workforce advisory councils in other states; and
553.14	(8) advisory council reporting requirements.
553.15	Sec. 28. REQUEST FOR INFORMATION; EVALUATION OF STATEWIDE
553.15 553.16	Sec. 28. REQUEST FOR INFORMATION; EVALUATION OF STATEWIDE HEALTH CARE NEEDS AND CAPACITY AND PROJECTIONS OF FUTURE
	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·
553.16	HEALTH CARE NEEDS AND CAPACITY AND PROJECTIONS OF FUTURE
553.16 553.17	HEALTH CARE NEEDS AND CAPACITY AND PROJECTIONS OF FUTURE HEALTH CARE NEEDS.
553.16 553.17 553.18	HEALTH CARE NEEDS AND CAPACITY AND PROJECTIONS OF FUTURE HEALTH CARE NEEDS. (a) By November 1, 2024, the commissioner of health must publish a request for
553.16 553.17 553.18 553.19	HEALTH CARE NEEDS AND CAPACITY AND PROJECTIONS OF FUTURE HEALTH CARE NEEDS. (a) By November 1, 2024, the commissioner of health must publish a request for information to assist the commissioner in a future comprehensive evaluation of current
553.16 553.17 553.18 553.19 553.20	HEALTH CARE NEEDS AND CAPACITY AND PROJECTIONS OF FUTURE HEALTH CARE NEEDS. (a) By November 1, 2024, the commissioner of health must publish a request for information to assist the commissioner in a future comprehensive evaluation of current health care needs and capacity in Minnesota and projections of future health care needs in
553.16 553.17 553.18 553.19 553.20 553.21	HEALTH CARE NEEDS AND CAPACITY AND PROJECTIONS OF FUTURE HEALTH CARE NEEDS. (a) By November 1, 2024, the commissioner of health must publish a request for information to assist the commissioner in a future comprehensive evaluation of current health care needs and capacity in Minnesota and projections of future health care needs in Minnesota based on population and provider characteristics. The request for information:
553.16 553.17 553.18 553.19 553.20 553.21	HEALTH CARE NEEDS AND CAPACITY AND PROJECTIONS OF FUTURE HEALTH CARE NEEDS. (a) By November 1, 2024, the commissioner of health must publish a request for information to assist the commissioner in a future comprehensive evaluation of current health care needs and capacity in Minnesota and projections of future health care needs in Minnesota based on population and provider characteristics. The request for information: (1) must provide guidance on defining the scope of the study and assist in answering
553.16 553.17 553.18 553.19 553.20 553.21 553.22 553.23	HEALTH CARE NEEDS AND CAPACITY AND PROJECTIONS OF FUTURE HEALTH CARE NEEDS. (a) By November 1, 2024, the commissioner of health must publish a request for information to assist the commissioner in a future comprehensive evaluation of current health care needs and capacity in Minnesota and projections of future health care needs in Minnesota based on population and provider characteristics. The request for information: (1) must provide guidance on defining the scope of the study and assist in answering methodological questions that will inform the development of a request for proposals to
553.16 553.17 553.18 553.19 553.20 553.21 553.22 553.23 553.24	HEALTH CARE NEEDS AND CAPACITY AND PROJECTIONS OF FUTURE HEALTH CARE NEEDS. (a) By November 1, 2024, the commissioner of health must publish a request for information to assist the commissioner in a future comprehensive evaluation of current health care needs and capacity in Minnesota and projections of future health care needs in Minnesota based on population and provider characteristics. The request for information: (1) must provide guidance on defining the scope of the study and assist in answering methodological questions that will inform the development of a request for proposals to contract for performance of the study; and
553.16 553.17 553.18 553.19 553.20 553.21 553.22 553.23 553.24	HEALTH CARE NEEDS AND CAPACITY AND PROJECTIONS OF FUTURE HEALTH CARE NEEDS. (a) By November 1, 2024, the commissioner of health must publish a request for information to assist the commissioner in a future comprehensive evaluation of current health care needs and capacity in Minnesota and projections of future health care needs in Minnesota based on population and provider characteristics. The request for information: (1) must provide guidance on defining the scope of the study and assist in answering methodological questions that will inform the development of a request for proposals to contract for performance of the study; and (2) may address topics that include but are not limited to how to define health care
553.16 553.17 553.18 553.19 553.20 553.21 553.22 553.23 553.24 553.25 553.26	HEALTH CARE NEEDS AND CAPACITY AND PROJECTIONS OF FUTURE HEALTH CARE NEEDS. (a) By November 1, 2024, the commissioner of health must publish a request for information to assist the commissioner in a future comprehensive evaluation of current health care needs and capacity in Minnesota and projections of future health care needs in Minnesota based on population and provider characteristics. The request for information: (1) must provide guidance on defining the scope of the study and assist in answering methodological questions that will inform the development of a request for proposals to contract for performance of the study; and (2) may address topics that include but are not limited to how to define health care capacity, expectations for capacity by geography or service type, how to consider health
553.16 553.17 553.18 553.19 553.20 553.21 553.22 553.23 553.24 553.25 553.26 553.27	HEALTH CARE NEEDS AND CAPACITY AND PROJECTIONS OF FUTURE HEALTH CARE NEEDS. (a) By November 1, 2024, the commissioner of health must publish a request for information to assist the commissioner in a future comprehensive evaluation of current health care needs and capacity in Minnesota and projections of future health care needs in Minnesota based on population and provider characteristics. The request for information: (1) must provide guidance on defining the scope of the study and assist in answering methodological questions that will inform the development of a request for proposals to contract for performance of the study; and (2) may address topics that include but are not limited to how to define health care capacity, expectations for capacity by geography or service type, how to consider health centers that have areas of particular expertise or services that generally have a higher margin,

04/24/24 SENATEE LB SS4699R

(b) By February 1, 2025, the commissioner must submit a report to the chairs and ranking 554.1 minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over health care, with the 554.2 554.3 results of the request for information and recommendations regarding conducting a comprehensive evaluation of current health care needs and capacity in Minnesota and 554.4 projections of future health care needs in the state. 554.5 ARTICLE 20 554.6 FORECAST ADJUSTMENTS 554.7 Section 1. HUMAN SERVICES FORECAST ADJUSTMENTS. 554.8 554 9 The sums shown in the columns marked "Appropriations" are added to or, if shown in parentheses, subtracted from the appropriations in Laws 2023, chapter 61, article 9, and 554.10 Laws 2023, chapter 70, article 20, to the commissioner of human services from the general 554.11 fund or other named fund for the purposes specified in section 2 and are available for the 554.12 fiscal years indicated for each purpose. The figures "2024" and "2025" used in this article 554.13 554.14 mean that the addition to or subtraction from the appropriation listed under them is available for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, or June 30, 2025, respectively. 554.15 APPROPRIATIONS 554.16 Available for the Year 554.17 554.18 **Ending June 30** 2024 2025 554 19 Sec. 2. COMMISSIONER OF HUMAN 554.20 **SERVICES** 554.21 Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation \$ 554.22 137,604,000 \$ 329,432,000 Appropriations by Fund 554.23 General Fund 139,746,000 325,606,000 554 24 Health Care Access 554.25 Fund 10,542,000 6,224,000 554.26 554.27 Federal TANF (12,684,000)(2,398,000)Subd. 2. Forecasted Programs 554.28 554.29 (a) MFIP/DWP 554.30 Appropriations by Fund 554.31 General Fund (5,990,000)(2,793,000)554.32 Federal TANF (12,684,000)(2,398,000)

	04/24/24	SENAIEE	LB	554699K
555.1	(b) MFIP Child Care Assistance		(36,726,000)	(26,004,000)
555.2	(c) General Assistance		(567,000)	292,000
555.3	(d) Minnesota Supplemental Aid		1,424,000	1,500,000
555.4	(e) Housing Support		11,200,000	14,667,000
555.5	(f) Northstar Care for Children		(3,697,000)	(11,309,000)
555.6	(g) MinnesotaCare		10,542,000	6,224,000
555.7	These appropriations are from the health	1 care		
555.8	access fund.			
555.9	(h) Medical Assistance		180,321,000	352,357,000
555.10	(i) Behavioral Health Fund		(6,219,000)	(3,104,000)
555.11	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section	is effective the da	y following final e	enactment.
555.10		DTICLE 21		
555.12 555.13		RTICLE 21 ROPRIATIONS		
555.14	Section 1. HEALTH AND HUMAN S	ERVICES APP	ROPRIATIONS.	
555.15	The sums shown in the columns ma	rked "Appropriat	ions" are added to	or, if shown in
555.16	parentheses, subtracted from the appropriations in Laws 2023, chapter 61, article 9; Laws			
555.17	2023, chapter 70, article 20; and Laws 2023, chapter 74, section 6, to the agencies and for			
555.18	the purposes specified in this article. The	e appropriations	are from the generation	al fund or other
555.19	named fund and are available for the fis	cal years indicate	ed for each purpose	e. The figures
555.20	"2024" and "2025" used in this article n	nean that the add	tion to or subtracti	on from the
555.21	appropriation listed under them is availa	ble for the fiscal	year ending June 30), 2024, or June
555.22	30, 2025, respectively. Base adjustment	s mean the additi	on to or subtraction	n from the base
555.23	level adjustment set in Laws 2023, chap	eter 61, article 9;	Laws 2023, chapte	r 70, article 20;
555.24	and Laws 2023, chapter 74, section 6. S	Supplemental app	ropriations and rec	luctions to
555.25	appropriations for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, are effective the day following final			
555.26	enactment unless a different effective da	ate is explicit.		
555.27 555.28 555.29 555.30			APPROPRIAT Available for th Ending June 2024	e Year
555.31 555.32	Sec. 2. <u>COMMISSIONER OF HUMASERVICES</u>	<u>AN</u>		
555.33	Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation	<u>\$</u>	(9,587,000) \$	43,057,000

SENATEE

LB

SS4699R

04/24/24

556.1	Appropr	iations by Fund	
556.2		2024	<u>2025</u>
556.3	General	(7,912,000)	41,682,000
556.4	Health Care Access	(1,675,000)	1,375,000
556.5	The amounts that may	be spent for each	<u>h</u>
556.6	purpose are specified i	n the following	
556.7	subdivisions.		
556.8	Subd. 2. Central Office	ce; Operations	
556.9	Appropr	riations by Fund	
556.10	General	2,369,000	8,039,000
556.11	Health Care Access	<u>-0-</u>	572,000
556.12	Federal TANF	(990,000)	(1,094,000)
556.13	(a) Social Services Int	formation Syste	<u>m</u>
556.14	(SSIS). \$10,084,000 in	fiscal year 2025	is for
556.15	information technology	y improvements	to the
556.16	SSIS. This is a onetime	e appropriation.	
556.17	(b) Extended Availab	ility. \$136,000 o	f the
556.18	general fund appropria	tion in fiscal year	<u>r 2025</u>
556.19	is available until June	30, 2027.	
556.20	(c) Base Level Adjusti	nent. The genera	al fund
556.21	base is increased by \$4	.,569,000 in fisca	al year
556.22	2026 and \$4,511,000 in	n fiscal year 202'	7. The
556.23	health care access fund	l base is increase	ed by
556.24	\$115,000 in fiscal year	2026 and \$115,0	<u>000 in</u>
556.25	fiscal year 2027.		
556.26	Subd. 3. Central Office	ce; Children and	d Families
556.27	Appropr	riations by Fund	
556.28	General	2,598,000	7,665,000
556.29	Federal TANF	990,000	1,094,000
556.30	(a) Child Protection A	Advisory Counc	<u>il.</u>
556.31	\$466,000 in fiscal year	2025 is from th	<u>e</u>
556.32	general fund for the Chi	ild Protection Ad	visory
556.33	Council under Minnes	ota Statutes, sect	ion

557.1	260E.021. This is a onetime	appropriation	and		
557.2	is available through June 30, 2027.				
557.3	(b) Pregnant and Parenting Homeless				
557.4	Youth Study. \$150,000 in :	fiscal year 202	<u>5 is</u>		
557.5	from the general fund for a g	grant to the Wil	<u>lder</u>		
557.6	Foundation to study the sta	tewide number	<u>rs</u>		
557.7	and unique needs of pregna	ant and parenting	ng		
557.8	youth experiencing homele	ssness and bes	<u>t</u>		
557.9	practices in supporting thos	se youth withir	<u>1</u>		
557.10	programming, emergency sl	nelter, and hous	sing		
557.11	settings. This is a onetime a	appropriation a	<u>and</u>		
557.12	is available until June 30, 2	026.			
557.13	(c) Minnesota African An	nerican Famil	<u>y</u>		
557.14	Preservation and Child W	<u>/elfare</u>			
557.15	Disproportionality. \$1,132	2,000 in fiscal y	<u>/ear</u>		
557.16	2025 is for the African Am	erican Child			
557.17	Well-Being Unit to hire ful	l-time staff			
557.18	members. This is a onetime	e appropriation	<u>.</u>		
557.19	(d) Base Level Adjustment	. The general f	und		
557.20	base is increased by \$5,208	,000 in fiscal y	<u>ear</u>		
557.21	2026 and \$5,208,000 in fise	cal year 2027.			
557.22	Subd. 4. Central Office; H	lealth Care			
557.23	Appropriatio	ns bv Fund			
557.24		,216,000)	3,752,000		
557.25		,675,000)	1,675,000		
557.26	Base Level Adjustment. T	he general fun	ıd		
557.27	base is increased by \$154,000 in fiscal year				
557.28	2026 and \$96,000 in fiscal year 2027.				
557.29 557.30	Subd. 5. Central Office; Be and Hard-of-Hearing, and			(136,000)	1,863,000
557.31	Medical Assistance Menta	al Health Ben	<u>efit</u>		
557.32	Development. \$1,727,000	in fiscal year 2	025		
557.33	is to: (1) conduct an analys	is to identify			
557.34	existing or pending Medica	id Clubhouse			

558.1	benefits in other states, federal auth	noriti	es			
558.2	used, populations served, service a	<u>nd</u>				
558.3	reimbursement design, and accredi	tatio	<u>n</u>			
558.4	standards; (2) consult with provide	rs,				
558.5	advocates, Tribal Nations, counties	s, pec	<u>pple</u>			
558.6	with lived experience as or with a contract of the second	child				
558.7	experiencing mental health condition	ons,	and _			
558.8	other interested community member	ers to	<u>)</u>			
558.9	develop a medical assistance state	plan				
558.10	covered benefit to provide intensive	resid	<u>ential</u>			
558.11	mental health services for children	and y	vouth;			
558.12	(3) consult with providers, advocat	es, T	<u>ribal</u>			
558.13	Nations, counties, people with live	<u>d</u>				
558.14	experience as or with a child in a me	ntal l	<u>nealth</u>			
558.15	crisis, and other interested commun	nity				
558.16	members to develop a covered ben	efit ı	<u>ınder</u>			
558.17	medical assistance to provide resid	entia	<u>1</u>			
558.18	mental health crisis stabilization fo	r chi	ldren <u>;</u>			
558.19	and (4) develop a First Episode Psy	ychos	sis			
558.20	Coordinated Specialty Care (FEP-C	CSC)	1			
558.21	medical assistance benefit. This is	a one	<u>etime</u>			
558.22	appropriation and is available until	June	e 30 <u>,</u>			
558.23	<u>2027.</u>					
558.24	Subd. 6. Forecasted Programs; M	linne	esotaCare	<u>-0-</u>	144	<u>1,000</u>
558.25	(a) This appropriation is from the h	nealtl	n care			
558.26	access fund.					
558.27	(b) Base Level Adjustment. The h	nealth	ı care			
558.28	access fund base is increased by \$6					
558.29	fiscal year 2026 and \$1,189,000 in					
558.30	2027.	11000	<u> 1 y eur</u>			
	· 		•			
558.31 558.32	Subd. 7. Forecasted Programs; M. Assistance	<u>leaic</u>	<u>eal</u>			
558.33	Appropriations by F	und				
558.34	General -	<u>0-</u>	7,059,000			
558.35	Health Care Access	0-	(1,016,000)			

subdivision 14, the amount for administrative

costs under this paragraph is \$0.

559.31

	04/24/24	SENATEE	LB	SS4699R
560.1 560.2	Subd. 10. Grant Programs; Children' Grants	s Services	<u>-0-</u>	550,000
560.3	Kinship Navigation Grant Program.			
560.4	\$550,000 in fiscal year 2025 is for the ki	<u>nship</u>		
560.5	navigator grant program under Minneso	<u>ota</u>		
560.6	Statutes, section 256E.40. This is a one	time_		
560.7	appropriation. Notwithstanding Minnes	<u>ota</u>		
560.8	Statutes, section 16B.98, subdivision 14	l, the		
560.9	amount for administrative costs under the	<u>his</u>		
560.10	paragraph is \$0.			
560.11 560.12	Subd. 11. Grant Programs; Children Community Support Grants	and _	<u>-0-</u>	(1,704,000)
560.13	Minnesota African American Family			
560.14	Preservation and Child Welfare			
560.15	Disproportionality. \$1,000,000 in fisca	l year		
560.16	2025 is for the African American and			
560.17	disproportionately represented family			
560.18	preservation grant program under Minn	<u>esota</u>		
560.19	Statutes, section 260.693. This is a onet	ime		
560.20	appropriation. Notwithstanding Minnes	<u>ota</u>		
560.21	Statutes, section 16B.98, subdivision 14	l, the		
560.22	amount for administrative costs under the	<u>his</u>		
560.23	paragraph is \$0.			
560.24 560.25	Subd. 12. Grant Programs; Children Economic Support Grants	and_	<u>-0-</u>	6,111,000
560.26	(a) American Indian Food Sovereignt	<u>y</u>		
560.27	Funding Program. \$1,000,000 in fisca	l year		
560.28	2025 is for the American Indian food			
560.29	sovereignty funding program under Minr	<u>nesota</u>		
560.30	Statutes, section 256E.342. This is a on	etime		
560.31	appropriation and is available until June	e 30 <u>,</u>		
560.32	2026. Notwithstanding Minnesota Statu	ites,		
560.33	section 16B.98, subdivision 14, the amo	ount		
560.34	for administrative costs under this parag	graph		
560.35	<u>is \$0.</u>			

561.1	(b) Minnesota Food Bank Program.
561.2	\$4,000,000 in fiscal year 2025 is for the
561.3	Minnesota food bank program under
561.4	Minnesota Statutes, section 256D.66. This is
561.5	a onetime appropriation. Notwithstanding
561.6	Minnesota Statutes, section 16B.98,
561.7	subdivision 14, the amount for administrative
561.8	costs under this paragraph is \$0.
561.9	(c) Emergency Services Program.
561.10	\$1,000,000 in fiscal year 2025 is for
561.11	emergency services grants under Minnesota
561.12	Statutes, section 256E.36. The commissioner
561.13	must distribute grants under this paragraph to
561.14	eligible entities to meet emerging, critical, and
561.15	immediate homelessness response needs that
561.16	have arisen since receiving an emergency
561.17	services grant award for fiscal years 2024 and
561.18	2025, including: (1) supporting overnight
561.19	emergency shelter or daytime service capacity
561.20	with a demonstrated and significant increase
561.21	in the number of persons served in fiscal year
561.22	2024 compared to the prior fiscal year; or (2)
561.23	maintaining existing overnight emergency
561.24	shelter bed or daytime service capacity with
561.25	a demonstrated and significant risk of closure
561.26	before April 30, 2025. This is a onetime
561.27	appropriation and is available until June 30,
561.28	2027. Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes,
561.29	section 16B.98, subdivision 14, the amount
561.30	for administrative costs under this paragraph
561.31	<u>is \$0.</u>
561.32	(d) Base Level Adjustment. The general fund
561.33	base is decreased by \$2,593,000 in fiscal year
561.34	2026 and \$2,593,000 in fiscal year 2027.

	04/24/24	SENATEE	LB	SS4699R
562.1 562.2	Subd. 13. Grant Programs; Fraud I Grants	Prevention	<u>-0-</u>	3,018,000
562.3	Subd. 14. Grant Programs; Health	Care Grants	<u>-0-</u>	1,500,000
562.4	Comunidades Latinas Unidas En Se	ervercio		
562.5	Certified Community Behavioral H	<u>lealth</u>		
562.6	Clinic Services. \$1,500,000 in fiscal	<u>year</u>		
562.7	2025 is for a payment to Comunidades	Latinas		
562.8	Unidas En Servercio (CLUES) to pro	<u>vide</u>		
562.9	comprehensive integrated health care	through		
562.10	the certified community behavioral he	ealth_		
562.11	clinic (CCBHC) model of service del	ivery as		
562.12	required under Minnesota Statutes, se	ection		
562.13	245.735. Funds must be used to provi	<u>ide</u>		
562.14	evidence-based services under the CO	<u>CBHC</u>		
562.15	service model and must not be used to	<u>0</u>		
562.16	supplant available medical assistance to	funding.		
562.17	By June 30, 2026, CLUES must repo	rt to the		
562.18	commissioner of human services on:			
562.19	(1) the number of people served;			
562.20	(2) outcomes for people served; and			
562.21	(3) whether the funding reduced beha	vioral		
562.22	health racial and ethnic disparities.			
562.23	This is a onetime appropriation and is	<u> </u>		
562.24	available until June 30, 2026. Notwiths	standing		
562.25	Minnesota Statutes, section 16B.98,			
562.26	subdivision 14, the amount for admin	istrative		
562.27	costs under this paragraph is \$0.			
562.28 562.29	Subd. 15. Grant Programs; Adult M Grants	ental Health	(9,527,000)	311,000
562.30	Youable Emotional Health. \$311,00	<u>0 in</u>		
562.31	fiscal year 2025 is for a grant to Youa	<u>ıble</u>		
562.32	Emotional Health for day treatment			
562.33	transportation costs on nonschool days,	, student		
562.34	nutrition, and student learning experience	ences		

563.1	such as technology, arts, and outdoor activity.		
563.2	This is a onetime appropriation. In accordance		
563.3	with Minnesota Statutes, section 16B.98,		
563.4	subdivision 14, the commissioner may use		
563.5	\$11,000 of this appropriation for		
563.6	administrative costs.		
563.7 563.8	Subd. 16. Grant Programs; Child Mental Health Grants	<u>-0-</u>	8,500,000
563.9	(a) Ramsey County Youth Mental Health		
563.10	Urgency Room. \$1,500,000 in fiscal year		
563.11	2025 is for a grant to Ramsey County for the		
563.12	ongoing operation of the youth mental health		
563.13	urgency room established in Laws 2022,		
563.14	chapter 99, article 1, section 44. This is a		
563.15	onetime appropriation. Notwithstanding		
563.16	Minnesota Statutes, section 16B.98,		
563.17	subdivision 14, the amount for administrative		
563.18	costs under this paragraph is \$0.		
563.19	(b) School-Linked Behavioral Health		
563.20	Grants. \$3,000,000 in fiscal year 2025 is for		
563.21	school-linked behavioral health grants under		
563.22	Minnesota Statutes, section 245.4901. This is		
563.23	a onetime appropriation. Notwithstanding		
563.24	Minnesota Statutes, section 16B.98,		
563.25	subdivision 14, the amount for administrative		
563.26	costs under this paragraph is \$0.		
563.27	(c) Early Childhood Mental Health		
563.28	Consultation Grants. \$1,000,000 in fiscal		
563.29	year 2025 is for early childhood mental health		
563.30	consultation grants under Minnesota Statutes,		
563.31	section 245.4889, subdivision 1, paragraph		
563.32	(b), clause (15). This is a onetime		
563.33	appropriation. Notwithstanding Minnesota		
563.34	Statutes, section 16B.98, subdivision 14, the		
563.35	amount for administrative costs is \$0.		

564.1	(d) Respite Care Services. \$3,000,000 in		
564.2	fiscal year 2025 is for respite care services		
564.3	under Minnesota Statutes, section 245.4889,		
564.4	subdivision 1, paragraph (b), clause (3). This		
564.5	is a onetime appropriation and is available		
564.6	until June 30, 2027. Notwithstanding		
564.7	Minnesota Statutes, section 16B.98,		
564.8	subdivision 14, the amount for administrative		
564.9	costs under this paragraph is \$0.		
564.10 564.11	,	<u>-0-</u>	(6,109,000)
564.12	Base Level Adjustments. The general fund		
564.13	base is decreased by \$7,566,000 in fiscal year		
564.14	2026 and \$7,566,000 in fiscal year 2027.		
564.15	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day for	ollowing final ena	actment.
564.16	Sec. 3. COMMISSIONER OF HEALTH		
564.17	Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation \$	(541,000) \$	(469,000)
			<u></u>
564.18	Appropriations by Fund	_	-
564.18 564.19			
	<u>2024</u> <u>2025</u>		
564.19	2024 2025 General (545,000) 2,267,000 State Government (545,000) (545,000)		
564.19 564.20 564.21	Z024 Z025 General (545,000) 2,267,000 State Government Special Revenue 4,000 (2,736,000)		
564.19 564.20 564.21 564.22	Z024 Z025 General (545,000) 2,267,000 State Government Special Revenue 4,000 (2,736,000) The amount that may be spent for each		
564.19 564.20 564.21 564.22 564.23	2024 2025 General (545,000) 2,267,000 State Government Special Revenue 4,000 (2,736,000) The amount that may be spent for each purpose is specified in the following		
564.19 564.20 564.21 564.22 564.23 564.24	2024 2025 General (545,000) 2,267,000 State Government Special Revenue 4,000 (2,736,000) The amount that may be spent for each purpose is specified in the following subdivision.	(545,000)	1,415,000
564.19 564.20 564.21 564.22 564.23 564.24 564.25	2024 2025 General (545,000) 2,267,000 State Government Special Revenue 4,000 (2,736,000) The amount that may be spent for each purpose is specified in the following subdivision. Subd. 2. Health Improvement	(545,000)	<u>1,415,000</u>
564.19 564.20 564.21 564.22 564.23 564.24 564.25	General (545,000) 2,267,000 State Government Special Revenue 4,000 (2,736,000) The amount that may be spent for each purpose is specified in the following subdivision. Subd. 2. Health Improvement (a) Stillbirth Prevention Grant. \$210,000 in	(545,000)	<u>1,415,000</u>
564.19 564.20 564.21 564.22 564.23 564.24 564.25 564.26	General (545,000) 2,267,000 State Government Special Revenue 4,000 (2,736,000) The amount that may be spent for each purpose is specified in the following subdivision. Subd. 2. Health Improvement (a) Stillbirth Prevention Grant. \$210,000 in fiscal year 2025 is for a grant to Healthy Birth	(545,000)	1,415,000
564.19 564.20 564.21 564.22 564.23 564.24 564.25 564.26 564.27 564.28	General (545,000) 2,267,000 State Government Special Revenue 4,000 (2,736,000) The amount that may be spent for each purpose is specified in the following subdivision. Subd. 2. Health Improvement (a) Stillbirth Prevention Grant. \$210,000 in fiscal year 2025 is for a grant to Healthy Birth Day, Inc., to operate a stillbirth prevention	(545,000)	1,415,000
564.19 564.20 564.21 564.22 564.23 564.24 564.25 564.26 564.27 564.28 564.29	2024 2025 General (545,000) 2,267,000 State Government Special Revenue 4,000 (2,736,000) The amount that may be spent for each purpose is specified in the following subdivision. Subd. 2. Health Improvement (a) Stillbirth Prevention Grant. \$210,000 in fiscal year 2025 is for a grant to Healthy Birth Day, Inc., to operate a stillbirth prevention through tracking fetal movement pilot	(545,000)	<u>1,415,000</u>
564.19 564.20 564.21 564.22 564.23 564.24 564.25 564.26 564.27 564.28 564.29 564.30	2024 2025 General (545,000) 2,267,000 State Government Special Revenue 4,000 (2,736,000) The amount that may be spent for each purpose is specified in the following subdivision. Subd. 2. Health Improvement (a) Stillbirth Prevention Grant. \$210,000 in fiscal year 2025 is for a grant to Healthy Birth Day, Inc., to operate a stillbirth prevention through tracking fetal movement pilot program. This is a onetime appropriation and	(545,000)	1,415,000
564.19 564.20 564.21 564.22 564.23 564.24 564.25 564.26 564.27 564.28 564.29 564.30 564.31	General (545,000) 2,267,000 State Government Special Revenue 4,000 (2,736,000) The amount that may be spent for each purpose is specified in the following subdivision. Subd. 2. Health Improvement (a) Stillbirth Prevention Grant. \$210,000 in fiscal year 2025 is for a grant to Healthy Birth Day, Inc., to operate a stillbirth prevention through tracking fetal movement pilot program. This is a onetime appropriation and is available until June 30, 2028. In accordance	(545,000)	1,415,000

565.1	\$10,000 of this appropriation for
565.2	administrative costs.
565.3	(b) Grant to Minnesota Medical Association
565.4	to Address Health Care Worker
565.5	Well-Being. \$526,000 in fiscal year 2025 is
565.6	for a grant to the Minnesota Medical
565.7	Association to: (1) create and conduct an
565.8	awareness and education campaign focused
565.9	on burnout and well-being of health care
565.10	workers, designed to reduce the stigma of
565.11	receiving mental health services; (2) encourage
565.12	health care workers who are experiencing
565.13	workplace-related fatigue to receive the care
565.14	they need; and (3) normalize the process for
565.15	seeking help. The Minnesota Medical
565.16	Association's campaign under this paragraph
565.17	must be targeted to health care professionals,
565.18	including physicians, nurses, and other
565.19	members of the health care team, and must
565.20	include resources for health care professionals
565.21	seeking to address burnout and well-being.
565.22	This is a onetime appropriation. In accordance
565.23	with Minnesota Statutes, section 16B.98,
565.24	subdivision 14, the commissioner may use
565.25	\$26,000 of this appropriation for
565.26	administrative costs.
565.27	(c) Grant to Chosen Vessels Midwifery
565.28	Services. \$263,000 in fiscal year 2025 is for
565.29	a grant to Chosen Vessels Midwifery Services
565.30	for a program to provide education, support,
565.31	and encouragement for African American
565.32	mothers to breastfeed their infants for the first
565.33	year of life or longer. Chosen Vessel
565.34	Midwifery Services must combine the midwife
565.35	model of care with the cultural tradition of

566.1	mutual aid to inspire African American
566.2	women to breastfeed their infants and to
566.3	provide support to those that do. This is a
566.4	onetime appropriation and is available until
566.5	June 30, 2026. In accordance with Minnesota
566.6	Statutes, section 16B.98, subdivision 14, the
566.7	commissioner may use \$13,000 of this
566.8	appropriation for administrative costs.
566.9	(d) American Indian Birth Center Planning
566.10	Grant. \$368,000 in fiscal year 2025 is for a
566.11	grant to the Birth Justice Collaborative to plan
566.12	for and engage the community in the
566.13	development of an American Indian-focused
566.14	birth center to improve access to culturally
566.15	centered prenatal and postpartum care with
566.16	the goal of improving maternal and child
566.17	health outcomes. The Birth Justice
566.18	Collaborative must report to the commissioner
566.19	on the plan to develop an American
566.20	Indian-focused birth center. This is a onetime
566.21	appropriation. In accordance with Minnesota
566.22	Statutes, section 16B.98, subdivision 14, the
566.23	commissioner may use \$18,000 of this
566.24	appropriation for administrative costs.
566.25	(e) Grant to Birth Justice Collaborative for
566.26	African American-Focused Homeplace
566.27	Model. \$263,000 in fiscal year 2025 is for a
566.28	grant to the Birth Justice Collaborative for
566.29	planning and community engagement to
566.30	develop a replicable African
566.31	American-focused Homeplace model. The
566.32	model's purpose must be to improve access to
566.33	culturally centered healing and care during
566.34	pregnancy and the postpartum period, with
566.35	the goal of improving maternal and child

567.1	health outcomes. The Birth Justice		
567.2	Collaborative must report to the commissioner		
567.3	on the needs of and plan to develop an African		
567.4	American-focused Homeplace model in		
567.5	Hennepin County. The report must outline		
567.6	potential state and public partnerships and		
567.7	financing strategies and must provide a		
567.8	timeline for development. This is a onetime		
567.9	appropriation. In accordance with Minnesota		
567.10	Statutes, section 16B.98, subdivision 14, the		
567.11	commissioner may use \$13,000 of this		
567.12	appropriation for administrative costs.		
567.13	(f) Hospital Nursing Loan Forgiveness.		
567.14	\$5,317,000 in fiscal year 2025 is for the		
567.15	hospital nursing educational loan forgiveness		
567.16	program under Minnesota Statutes, section		
567.17	144.1512.		
567.18	(g) Base Level Adjustment. The general fund		
567.19	base is decreased by \$220,000 in fiscal year		
567.20	2026 and \$50,000 in fiscal year 2027.		
567.21	Subd. 3. Health Protection		
567.22	Appropriations by Fund		
567.23	<u>General</u> <u>-0-</u> <u>852,000</u>		
567.24 567.25	State Government Special Revenue 4,000 (2,736,000)		
567.26	(a) Translation of Competency Evaluation		
567.27	for Nursing Assistant Registry. \$20,000		
567.28	from the general fund in fiscal year 2025 is		
567.29	for translation of competency evaluation		
567.30	materials for the nursing assistant registry.		
567.31	This is a onetime appropriation.		
567.32	(b) Medication Training Program Review		
567.33	for Graduates of Foreign Nursing Schools.		
567.34	\$451,000 from the general fund in fiscal year		
567.35	2025 is for medication training program		

568.1	review for medication training programs and			
568.2	graduates of foreign nursing schools. This			
568.3	appropriation is available until June 30, 2027.			
568.4	The general fund base for this appropriation			
568.5	is \$49,000 in fiscal year 2026 and \$49,000 in			
568.6	fiscal year 2027.			
568.7	(c) Base Level Adjustment. The general fund			
568.8	base is increased by \$430,000 in fiscal year			
568.9	2026 and \$225,000 in fiscal year 2027. The			
568.10	state government special revenue fund base is			
568.11	decreased by \$2,791,000 in fiscal year 2026			
568.12	and \$2,860,000 in fiscal year 2027.			
568.13	Sec. 4. BOARD OF PHARMACY			
568.14	Appropriations by Fund			
568.15	<u>General</u> <u>600,000</u>	<u>-0-</u>		
568.16 568.17	State Government Special Revenue -0- 49,0	000		
568.18	(a) Legal Costs. \$600,000 in fiscal year 2024			
568.19	is from the general fund for legal costs. This			
568.20	is a onetime appropriation.			
568.21	(b) Base Level Adjustment. The state			
568.22	government special revenue fund base is			
568.23	increased by \$27,000 in fiscal year 2026 and			
568.24	\$27,000 in fiscal year 2027.			
568.25 568.26	Sec. 5. RARE DISEASE ADVISORY COUNCIL	<u>\$</u>	<u>-0-</u> <u>\$</u>	342,000
568.27	This is a onetime appropriation and is			
568.28	available until June 30, 2027.			
568.29	Sec. 6. COMMISSIONER OF EDUCATION	<u>\$</u>	1,882,000 \$	1,715,000
568.30	(a) Summer EBT. \$1,882,000 in fiscal year			
568.31	2024 and \$1,542,000 in fiscal year 2025 are			
568.32	for administration of the summer electronic			
568.33	benefits transfer program under Public Law			
568.34	117-328. Any unexpended amount in fiscal			

569.1	year 2024 does not cancel and is available in
569.2	fiscal year 2025. The base for this
569.3	appropriation is \$572,000 in fiscal year 2026
569.4	and \$572,000 in fiscal year 2027.
569.5	(b) Base Level Adjustment. The general fund
569.6	base is increased by \$917,000 in fiscal year
569.7	2026 and \$917,000 in fiscal year 2027.
569.8 569.9	Sec. 7. COMMISSIONER OF MANAGEMENT AND BUDGET
569.10	Appropriations by Fund
569.11	<u>2024</u> <u>2025</u>
569.12	<u>General</u> <u>-0-</u> (232,000)
569.13	Health Care Access <u>-0-</u> <u>300,000</u>
569.14	(a) Insulin safety net program. \$300,000 in
569.15	fiscal year 2025 is from the health care access
569.16	fund for the insulin safety net program in
569.17	Minnesota Statutes, section 151.74.
569.18	(b) Transfer. The commissioner must transfer
569.19	from the health care access fund to the insulin
569.20	safety net program account in the special
569.21	revenue fund the amount certified by the
569.22	commissioner of administration under
569.23	Minnesota Statutes, section 151.741,
569.24	subdivision 5, paragraph (b), estimated to be
569.25	\$300,000 in fiscal year 2025, for
569.26	reimbursement to manufacturers for insulin
569.27	dispensed under the insulin safety net program
569.28	in Minnesota Statutes, section 151.74. The
569.29	base for this transfer is estimated to be
569.30	\$300,000 in fiscal year 2026 and \$300,000 in
569.31	fiscal year 2027.
569.32	(c) Base Level Adjustment. The health care
569.33	access fund base is increased by \$300,000 in
569.34	fiscal year 2026 and \$300,000 in fiscal year
569.35	<u>2027.</u>

570.1 570.2	Sec. 8. COMMISSIONER OF CHILDREN, YOUTH, AND FAMILIES	<u>\$</u>	<u>-0-</u> <u>\$</u>	3,279,000
570.3	Base Level Adjustment. The general fund			
570.4	base is increased by \$7,183,000 in fiscal year			
570.5	2026 and \$6,833,000 in fiscal year 2027.			
570.6	Sec. 9. COMMISSIONER OF COMMERCE			
570.7	(a) Defrayal of Costs for Mandated			
570.8	Coverage of Prosthetic Devices. The general			
570.9	fund base is increased by \$558,000 in fiscal			
570.10	year 2026 and \$539,000 in fiscal year 2027.			
570.11	The base includes \$520,000 in fiscal year 2026			
570.12	and \$540,000 in fiscal year 2027 for defrayal			
570.13	costs for mandated coverage of prosthetic			
570.14	devices and \$38,000 in fiscal year 2026 and			
570.15	\$19,000 in fiscal year 2027 for administrative			
570.16	costs to implement mandated coverage of			
570.17	prosthetic devices.			
570.18	(b) Defrayal of Costs for Mandated			
570.19	Coverage of Abortions and			
570.20	Abortion-Related Services. The general fund			
570.21	base is increased by \$338,000 in fiscal year			
570.22	2026 and \$319,000 in fiscal year 2027. The			
570.23	base includes \$300,000 in fiscal year 2026 and			
570.24	\$300,000 in fiscal year 2027 for defrayal costs			
570.25	for mandated coverage of abortions and			
570.26	abortion-related services and \$38,000 in fiscal			
570.27	year 2026 and \$19,000 in fiscal year 2027 for			
570.28	administrative costs to implement mandated			
570.29	coverage of abortions and abortion-related			
570.30	services.			
570.31 570.32	Sec. 10. OFFICE OF THE OMBUDSPERSON FOR FAMILY CHILD CARE PROVIDERS	1		
570.33	Child Care and Development Block Grant			
570.34	Allocation. The commissioner of human			
570.35	services must allocate \$350,000 in fiscal year			

- 571.10 Protection Advisory Council under Minnesota
- 571.11 Statutes, section 260E.021. This is a onetime
- 571.12 appropriation and is available through June
- 571.13 30, 2027.

571.14 Sec. 12. ATTORNEY GENERAL. \$ -0- \$ 73,000

- 571.15 (a) Health Maintenance Organization
- 571.16 **Regulatory Requirements.** \$73,000 in fiscal
- 571.17 year 2025 is for transaction review and related
- 571.18 investigatory and enforcement actions for
- 571.19 filings required under Minnesota Statutes,
- 571.20 section 317A.811, subdivision 1.
- 571.21 (b) Base Level Adjustment. The general fund
- 571.22 base is increased by \$73,000 in fiscal year
- 571.23 2026 and \$73,000 in fiscal year 2027.
- Sec. 13. Laws 2023, chapter 22, section 4, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
- 571.25 Subd. 2. Grants to navigators.
- 571.26 (a) \$1,936,000 in fiscal year 2024 is
- 571.27 appropriated from the health care access fund
- 571.28 to the commissioner of human services for
- 571.29 grants to organizations with a MNsure grant
- 571.30 services navigator assister contract in good
- 571.31 standing as of the date of enactment. The grant
- 571.32 payment to each organization must be in
- 571.33 proportion to the number of medical assistance

and MinnesotaCare enrollees each 572.1 organization assisted that resulted in a 572.2 successful enrollment in the second quarter of 572.3 fiscal years 2020 and 2023, as determined by 572.4 MNsure's navigator payment process. This is 572.5 a onetime appropriation and is available until 572.6 June 30, 2025. 572.7 572.8 (b) \$3,000,000 in fiscal year 2024 is appropriated from the health care access fund 572.9 to the commissioner of human services for 572.10 grants to organizations with a MNsure grant 572.11 services navigator assister contract for 572.13 successful enrollments in medical assistance and MinnesotaCare. This is a onetime 572.14 572.15 appropriation and is available until June 30, 572.16 2025. 572.17 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment. Sec. 14. Laws 2023, chapter 57, article 1, section 6, is amended to read: 572.18 Sec. 6. PREMIUM SECURITY ACCOUNT TRANSFER; OUT. 572.19 \$275,775,000 \$284,605,000 in fiscal year 2026 is transferred from the premium security 572.20 plan account under Minnesota Statutes, section 62E.25, subdivision 1, to the general fund. This is a onetime transfer. Sec. 15. Laws 2023, chapter 70, article 20, section 2, subdivision 5, is amended to read: 572.23 Subd. 5. Central Office; Health Care 572.24 Appropriations by Fund 572.25 General 35,807,000 31,349,000 572.26 Health Care Access 30,668,000 50,168,000 572.27 572.28 (a) Medical assistance and MinnesotaCare accessibility improvements. \$4,000,000 572.29

572.30

572.31

572.32

\$784,000 in fiscal year 2024 is and \$3,216,000

in fiscal year 2025 are from the general fund

for interactive voice response upgrades and

573.1	translation services for medical assistance and
573.2	MinnesotaCare enrollees with limited English
573.3	proficiency. This appropriation is available
573.4	until June 30, 2025 <u>2027</u> .
573.5	(b) Transforming service delivery. \$155,000
573.6	in fiscal year 2024 and \$180,000 in fiscal year
573.7	2025 are from the general fund for
573.8	transforming service delivery projects.
573.9	(c) Improving the Minnesota eligibility
573.10	technology system functionality. \$1,604,000
573.11	in fiscal year 2024 and \$711,000 in fiscal year
573.12	2025 are from the general fund for improving
573.13	the Minnesota eligibility technology system
573.14	functionality. The base for this appropriation
573.15	is \$1,421,000 in fiscal year 2026 and \$0 in
573.16	fiscal year 2027.
573.17	(d) Actuarial and economic analyses.
573.18	\$2,500,000 \$825,000 in fiscal year 2024 is
573.19	from the health care access fund for actuarial
573.20	and economic analyses and \$1,675,000 in
573.21	fiscal year 2025 is from the health care access
573.22	<u>fund</u> to prepare and submit a state innovation
573.23	waiver under section 1332 of the federal
573.24	Affordable Care Act for a Minnesota public
573.25	option health care plan; community
573.26	engagement; project management; information
573.27	technology consultation for eligibility and
573.28	enrollment processes; updating the actuarial
573.29	and economic analyses completed in 2023;
573.30	and consultation to develop strategies for
573.31	outreach and communication with populations
573.32	ineligible for the existing MinnesotaCare
573.33	program. This is a onetime appropriation and
573.34	is available until June 30, 2025 2027.

574.1	(e) Contingent appropriation for Minnesota
574.2	public option health care plan. \$22,000,000
574.3	in fiscal year 2025 is from the health care
574.4	access fund to implement a Minnesota public
574.5	option health care plan. This is a onetime
574.6	appropriation and is available upon approval
574.7	of a state innovation waiver under section
574.8	1332 of the federal Affordable Care Act. This
574.9	appropriation is available until June 30
574.10	<u>December 31</u> , 2027.
574.11	(f) Carryforward authority. Notwithstanding
574.12	Minnesota Statutes, section 16A.28,
574.13	subdivision 3, \$2,367,000 of the appropriation
574.14	in fiscal year 2024 is available until June 30,
574.15	2027.
574.16	(g) Base level adjustment. The general fund
574.17	base is \$32,315,000 in fiscal year 2026 and
574.18	\$27,536,000 in fiscal year 2027. The health
574.19	care access fund base is \$28,168,000 in fiscal
574.20	year 2026 and \$28,168,000 in fiscal year 2027.
574.21	Sec. 16. Laws 2023, chapter 70, article 20, section 2, subdivision 22, is amended to read
574.22 574.23	Subd. 22. Grant Programs; Children's Services Grants
574.24	Appropriations by Fund
574.25	General 86,212,000 85,063,000
574.26	Federal TANF 140,000 140,000
574.27	(a) Title IV-E Adoption Assistance. The
574.28	commissioner shall allocate funds from the
574.29	state's savings from the Fostering Connections
574.30	to Success and Increasing Adoptions Act's
574.31	expanded eligibility for Title IV-E adoption
574.32	assistance as required in Minnesota Statutes,
574.33	section 256N.261, and as allowable under
574.34	federal law. Additional savings to the state as

575.1	a result of the Fostering Connections to
575.2	Success and Increasing Adoptions Act's
575.3	expanded eligibility for Title IV-E adoption
575.4	assistance is for postadoption, foster care,
575.5	adoption, and kinship services, including a
575.6	parent-to-parent support network and as
575.7	allowable under federal law.
575.8	(b) Mille Lacs Band of Ojibwe American
575.9	Indian child welfare initiative. \$3,337,000
575.10	in fiscal year 2024 and \$5,294,000 in fiscal
575.11	year 2025 are from the general fund for the
575.12	Mille Lacs Band of Ojibwe to join the
575.13	American Indian child welfare initiative. The
575.14	base for this appropriation is \$7,893,000 in
575.15	fiscal year 2026 and \$7,893,000 in fiscal year
575.16	2027.
575.17	(c) Leech Lake Band of Ojibwe American
575.18	Indian child welfare initiative. \$1,848,000
575.19	in fiscal year 2024 and \$1,848,000 in fiscal
575.20	year 2025 are from the general fund for the
575.21	Leech Lake Band of Ojibwe to participate in
575.22	the American Indian child welfare initiative.
575.23	(d) Red Lake Band of Chippewa American
575.24	Indian child welfare initiative. \$3,000,000
575.25	in fiscal year 2024 and \$3,000,000 in fiscal
575.26	year 2025 are from the general fund for the
575.27	Red Lake Band of Chippewa to participate in
575.28	the American Indian child welfare initiative.
575.29	(e) White Earth Nation American Indian
575.30	child welfare initiative. \$3,776,000 in fiscal
575.31	year 2024 and \$3,776,000 in fiscal year 2025
575.32	are from the general fund for the White Earth
575.33	Nation to participate in the American Indian
575.34	child welfare initiative.

576.1	(f) Indian Child welfare grants. \$4,405,000
576.2	in fiscal year 2024 and \$4,405,000 in fiscal
576.3	year 2025 are from the general fund for Indian
576.4	child welfare grants under Minnesota Statutes,
576.5	section 260.785. The base for this
576.6	appropriation is \$4,640,000 in fiscal year 2026
576.7	and \$4,640,000 in fiscal year 2027.
576.8	(g) Child welfare staff allocation for Tribes.
576.9	\$799,000 in fiscal year 2024 and \$799,000 in
576.10	fiscal year 2025 are from the general fund for
576.11	grants to Tribes for child welfare staffing
576.12	under Minnesota Statutes, section 260.786.
576.13	(h) Grants for kinship navigator services.
576.14	\$764,000 in fiscal year 2024 and \$764,000 in
576.15	fiscal year 2025 are from the general fund for
576.16	grants for kinship navigator services and
576.17	grants to Tribal Nations for kinship navigator
576.18	services under Minnesota Statutes, section
576.19	256.4794. The base for this appropriation is
576.20	\$506,000 in fiscal year 2026 and \$507,000 in
576.21	fiscal year 2027.
576.22	(i) Family first prevention and early
576.23	intervention assessment response grants.
576.24	\$4,000,000 in fiscal year 2024 and \$6,112,000
576.25	in fiscal year 2025 are from the general fund
576.26	for family assessment response grants under
576.27	Minnesota Statutes, section 260.014. The base
576.28	for this appropriation is \$6,000,000 in fiscal
576.29	year 2026 and \$6,000,000 in fiscal year 2027.
576.30	(j) Grants for evidence-based prevention
576.31	and early intervention services. \$4,329,000
576.32	in fiscal year 2024 and \$4,100,000 in fiscal
576.33	year 2025 are from the general fund for grants
576.34	to support evidence-based prevention and early

577.1	intervention services under Minnesota
577.2	Statutes, section 256.4793.
577.3	(k) Grant to administer pool of qualified
577.4	individuals for assessments. \$250,000 in
577.5	fiscal year 2024 and \$250,000 in fiscal year
577.6	2025 are from the general fund for grants to
577.7	establish and manage a pool of state-funded
577.8	qualified individuals to conduct assessments
577.9	for out-of-home placement of a child in a
577.10	qualified residential treatment program.
577.11	(l) Quality parenting initiative grant
577.12	program. \$100,000 in fiscal year 2024 and
577.13	\$100,000 in fiscal year 2025 are from the
577.14	general fund for a grant to Quality Parenting
577.15	Initiative Minnesota under Minnesota Statutes,
577.16	section 245.0962.
577.17	(m) STAY in the community grants.
577.18	\$1,579,000 in fiscal year 2024 and \$2,247,000
577.19	in fiscal year 2025 are from the general fund
577.20	for the STAY in the community program
577.21	under Minnesota Statutes, section 260C.452.
577.22	This is a onetime appropriation and is
577.23	available until June 30, 2027.
577.24	(n) Grants for community resource centers.
577.25	\$5,657,000 in fiscal year 2024 is from the
577.26	general fund for grants to establish a network
577.27	of community resource centers. This is a
577.28	onetime appropriation and is available until
577.29	June 30, 2027.
577.30	(o) Family assets for independence in
577.31	Minnesota. \$1,405,000 in fiscal year 2024
577.32	and \$1,391,000 in fiscal year 2025 are from
577.33	the general fund for the family assets for

577.34 independence in Minnesota program, under

578.1	Minnesota Statutes, section 256E.35. This is		
578.2	a onetime appropriation and is available until		
578.3	June 30, 2027.		
578.4	(p) (o) Base level adjustment. The general		
578.5	fund base is \$85,280,000 in fiscal year 2026		
578.6	and \$85,281,000 in fiscal year 2027.		
578.7	Sec. 17. Laws 2023, chapter 70, article 20, section 2, subd	ivision 24, is ame	ended to read:
578.8 578.9	3 ,	2,877,000	78,333,000
578.10	0 (a) Fraud prevention initiative start-up		
578.11	grants. \$400,000 in fiscal year 2024 is for		
578.12	start-up grants to the Red Lake Nation, White		
578.13	Earth Nation, and Mille Lacs Band of Ojibwe		
578.14	4 to develop a fraud prevention program. This		
578.15	is a onetime appropriation and is available		
578.16	6 until June 30, 2025.		
578.17	7 (b) American Indian food sovereignty		
578.18	8 funding program. \$3,000,000 in fiscal year		
578.19	9 2024 and \$3,000,000 in fiscal year 2025 are		
578.20	o for Minnesota Statutes, section 256E.342. This		
578.21	appropriation is available until June 30, 2025.		
578.22	The base for this appropriation is \$2,000,000		
578.23	3 in fiscal year 2026 and \$2,000,000 in fiscal		
578.24	4 year 2027.		
578.25	5 (c) Hennepin County grants to provide		
578.26	6 services to people experiencing		
578.27	7 homelessness. \$11,432,000 in fiscal year 2024		
578.28	8 is for grants to maintain capacity for shelters		
578.29	and services provided to persons experiencing		
578.30	0 homelessness in Hennepin County. Of this		
578.31	1 amount:		
578.32	2 (1) \$4,500,000 is for a grant to Avivo Village;		

- 579.1 (2) \$2,000,000 is for a grant to the American
- 579.2 Indian Community Development Corporation
- 579.3 Homeward Bound shelter;
- 579.4 (3) \$1,650,000 is for a grant to the Salvation
- 579.5 Army Harbor Lights shelter;
- 579.6 (4) \$500,000 is for a grant to Agate Housing
- 579.7 and Services;
- 579.8 (5) \$1,400,000 is for a grant to Catholic
- 579.9 Charities of St. Paul and Minneapolis;
- 579.10 (6) \$450,000 is for a grant to Simpson
- 579.11 Housing; and
- 579.12 (7) \$932,000 is for a grant to Hennepin
- 579.13 County.
- Nothing shall preclude an eligible organization
- 579.15 receiving funding under this paragraph from
- 579.16 applying for and receiving funding under
- 579.17 Minnesota Statutes, section 256E.33, 256E.36,
- 579.18 256K.45, or 256K.47, nor does receiving
- 579.19 funding under this paragraph count against
- 579.20 any eligible organization in the competitive
- 579.21 processes related to those grant programs
- 579.22 under Minnesota Statutes, section 256E.33,
- 579.23 256E.36, 256K.45, or 256K.47.
- 579.24 (d) Diaper distribution grant program.
- 579.25 \$545,000 in fiscal year 2024 and \$553,000 in
- 579.26 fiscal year 2025 are for a grant to the Diaper
- 579.27 Bank of Minnesota under Minnesota Statutes,
- 579.28 section 256E.38.
- 579.29 **(e) Prepared meals food relief.** \$1,654,000
- 579.30 in fiscal year 2024 and \$1,638,000 in fiscal
- year 2025 are for prepared meals food relief
- 579.32 grants. This is a onetime appropriation.

580.1	(f) Emergency shelter facilities. \$98,456,000
580.2	in fiscal year 2024 is for grants to eligible
580.3	applicants for emergency shelter facilities.
580.4	This is a onetime appropriation and is
580.5	available until June 30, 2028.
580.6	(g) Homeless youth cash stipend pilot
580.7	project. \$5,302,000 in fiscal year 2024 is for
580.8	a grant to Youthprise for the homeless youth
580.9	cash stipend pilot project. The grant must be
580.10	used to provide cash stipends to homeless
580.11	youth, provide cash incentives for stipend
580.12	recipients to participate in periodic surveys,
580.13	provide youth-designed optional services, and
580.14	complete a legislative report. This is a onetime
580.15	appropriation and is available until June 30,
580.16	2028.
580.17	(h) Heading Home Ramsey County
580.18	continuum of care grants. \$11,432,000 in
580.19	fiscal year 2024 is for grants to maintain
580.20	capacity for shelters and services provided to
580.21	people experiencing homelessness in Ramsey
580.22	County. Of this amount:
580.23	(1) \$2,286,000 is for a grant to Catholic
580.24	Charities of St. Paul and Minneapolis;
580.25	(2) \$1,498,000 is for a grant to More Doors;
580.26	(3) \$1,734,000 is for a grant to Interfaith
580.27	Action Project Home;
580.28	(4) \$2,248,000 is for a grant to Ramsey
580.29	County;
580.30	(5) \$689,000 is for a grant to Radias Health;
580.31	(6) \$493,000 is for a grant to The Listening
580.32	House;

581.1	(7) \$512,000 is for a grant to Face to Face;
581.2	and
581.3	(8) \$1,972,000 is for a grant to the city of St.
581.4	Paul.
581.5	Nothing shall preclude an eligible organization
581.6	receiving funding under this paragraph from
581.7	applying for and receiving funding under
581.8	Minnesota Statutes, section 256E.33, 256E.36,
581.9	256K.45, or 256K.47, nor does receiving
581.10	funding under this paragraph count against
581.11	any eligible organization in the competitive
581.12	processes related to those grant programs
581.13	under Minnesota Statutes, section 256E.33,
581.14	256E.36, 256K.45, or 256K.47.
581.15	(i) Capital for emergency food distribution
581.16	facilities. \$7,000,000 in fiscal year 2024 is for
581.17	improving and expanding the infrastructure
581.18	of food shelf facilities. Grant money must be
581.19	made available to nonprofit organizations,
581.20	federally recognized Tribes, and local units of
581.21	government. This is a onetime appropriation
581.22	and is available until June 30, 2027.
581.23	(j) Emergency services program grants.
581.24	\$15,250,000 in fiscal year 2024 and
581.25	\$14,750,000 in fiscal year 2025 are for
581.26	emergency services grants under Minnesota
581.27	Statutes, section 256E.36. Any unexpended
581.28	amount in the first year does not cancel and
581.29	is available in the second year. The base for
581.30	this appropriation is \$25,000,000 in fiscal year
581.31	2026 and \$30,000,000 in fiscal year 2027.
581.32	(k) Homeless Youth Act grants. \$15,136,000
581.33	in fiscal year 2024 and \$15,136,000 in fiscal
581.34	year 2025 are for grants under Minnesota

582.1	Statutes, section 256K.45, subdivision 1. Any
582.2	unexpended amount in the first year does not
582.3	cancel and is available in the second year.
582.4	(l) Transitional housing programs.
582.5	\$3,000,000 in fiscal year 2024 and \$3,000,000
582.6	in fiscal year 2025 are for transitional housing
582.7	programs under Minnesota Statutes, section
582.8	256E.33. Any unexpended amount in the first
582.9	year does not cancel and is available in the
582.10	second year.
582.11	(m) Safe harbor shelter and housing grants.
582.12	\$2,125,000 in fiscal year 2024 and \$2,125,000
582.13	in fiscal year 2025 are for grants under
582.14	Minnesota Statutes, section 256K.47. Any
582.15	unexpended amount in the first year does not
582.16	cancel and is available in the second year. The
582.17	base for this appropriation is \$1,250,000 in
582.18	fiscal year 2026 and \$1,250,000 in fiscal year
582.19	2027.
582.20	(n) Supplemental nutrition assistance
582.21	program (SNAP) outreach. \$1,000,000 in
582.22	fiscal year 2024 and \$1,000,000 in fiscal year
582.23	2025 are for the SNAP outreach program
582.24	under Minnesota Statutes, section 256D.65.
582.25	The base for this appropriation is \$500,000 in
582.26	fiscal year 2026 and \$500,000 in fiscal year
582.27	2027.
582.28	(o) Family Assets for Independence in
582.29	Minnesota. \$1,405,000 in fiscal year 2024
582.30	and \$1,391,000 in fiscal year 2025 are from
582.31	the general fund for the family assets for
582.32	independence in Minnesota program, under
582.33	Minnesota Statutes, section 256E.35. This is
582.34	a onetime appropriation and is available until
582.35	June 30, 2027.

Article 21 Sec. 17.

583.1	(p) Minnesota Food Assistance Program.	
583.2	Unexpended funds for the Minnesota food	
583.3	assistance program for fiscal year 2024 are	
583.4	available until June 30, 2025.	
583.5	(o) (q) Base level adjustment. The general	
583.6	fund base is \$83,179,000 in fiscal year 2026	
583.7	and \$88,179,000 in fiscal year 2027.	
583.8	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.	ent.
502.0	See 18 Leave 2022 shouten 70 entials 20 restion 2 each division 20 is smoon ded to use	4 1
583.9	Sec. 18. Laws 2023, chapter 70, article 20, section 2, subdivision 29, is amended to rea	to read
583.10 583.11	Subd. 29. Grant Programs; Adult Mental Health Grants 132,327,000 121,270,0	270,000
583.12	(a) Mobile crisis grants to Tribal Nations.	
583.13	\$1,000,000 in fiscal year 2024 and \$1,000,000	
583.14	in fiscal year 2025 are for mobile crisis grants	
583.15	under Minnesota Statutes section, sections	
583.16	245.4661, subdivision 9, paragraph (b), clause	
583.17	(15), and 245.4889, subdivision 1, paragraph	
583.18	(b), clause (4), to Tribal Nations.	
583.19	(b) Mental health provider supervision	
583.20	grant program. \$1,500,000 in fiscal year	
583.21	2024 and \$1,500,000 in fiscal year 2025 are	
583.22	for the mental health provider supervision	
583.23	grant program under Minnesota Statutes,	
583.24	section 245.4663.	
583.25	(c) Minnesota State University, Mankato	
583.26	community behavioral health center.	
583.27	\$750,000 in fiscal year 2024 and \$750,000 in	
583.28	fiscal year 2025 are for a grant to the Center	
583.29	for Rural Behavioral Health at Minnesota State	
583.30	University, Mankato to establish a community	
583.31	behavioral health center and training clinic.	
583.32	The community behavioral health center must	
583.33	provide comprehensive, culturally specific,	
583.34	trauma-informed, practice- and	

584.1	evidence-based, person- and family-centered
584.2	mental health and substance use disorder
584.3	treatment services in Blue Earth County and
584.4	the surrounding region to individuals of all
584.5	ages, regardless of an individual's ability to
584.6	pay or place of residence. The community
584.7	behavioral health center and training clinic
584.8	must also provide training and workforce
584.9	development opportunities to students enrolled
584.10	in the university's training programs in the
584.11	fields of social work, counseling and student
584.12	personnel, alcohol and drug studies,
584.13	psychology, and nursing. Upon request, the
584.14	commissioner must make information
584.15	regarding the use of this grant funding
584.16	available to the chairs and ranking minority
584.17	members of the legislative committees with
584.18	jurisdiction over behavioral health. This is a
584.19	onetime appropriation and is available until
584.20	June 30, 2027.
584.21	(d) White Earth Nation; adult mental health
584.22	initiative. \$300,000 in fiscal year 2024 and
584.23	\$300,000 in fiscal year 2025 are for adult
584.24	mental health initiative grants to the White
584.25	Earth Nation. This is a onetime appropriation.
584.26	(e) Mobile crisis grants. \$8,472,000 in fiscal
584.27	year 2024 and \$8,380,000 in fiscal year 2025
584.28	are for the mobile crisis grants under
584.29	Minnesota Statutes, section sections 245.4661,
584.30	subdivision 9, paragraph (b), clause (15), and
584.31	245.4889, subdivision 1, paragraph (b), clause
584.32	(4). This is a onetime appropriation and is
584.33	available until June 30, 2027.
201.23	

(f) Base level adjustment. The general fund 585.1 base is \$121,980,000 in fiscal year 2026 and 585.2 585.3 \$121,980,000 in fiscal year 2027. Sec. 19. Laws 2023, chapter 70, article 20, section 2, subdivision 31, as amended by Laws 585.4 585.5 2023, chapter 75, section 12, is amended to read: Subd. 31. Direct Care and Treatment - Mental 585.6 **Health and Substance Abuse** -0-6,109,000 585.7 (a) Keeping Nurses at the Bedside Act; 585.8 contingent appropriation. The appropriation 585.9 in this subdivision is contingent upon legislative enactment by the 93rd Legislature 585.11 of provisions substantially similar to 2023 S.F. 585.12 585.13 No. 1561, the second engrossment, article 2. (b) Base level adjustment. The general fund 585.14 585.15 base is increased by \$7,566,000 in fiscal year 2026 and increased by \$7,566,000 in fiscal 585.16 year 2027. 585.17 Sec. 20. Laws 2023, chapter 70, article 20, section 3, subdivision 2, is amended to read: 585.18 Subd. 2. Health Improvement 585.19 Appropriations by Fund 585.20 General 229,600,000 210,030,000 585.21 State Government 585.22 Special Revenue 12,392,000 12,682,000 585.23 49,051,000 53,290,000 585.24 Health Care Access 585.25 Federal TANF 11,713,000 11,713,000 585.26 (a) Studies of telehealth expansion and payment parity. \$1,200,000 in fiscal year 585.27 2024 is from the general fund for studies of 585.28

- 585.29 telehealth expansion and payment parity. This
- 585.30 is a onetime appropriation and is available
- 585.31 until June 30, 2025.
- 585.32 (b) Advancing equity through capacity
- 585.33 building and resource allocation grant

586.1	program. \$916,000 in fiscal year 2024 and
586.2	\$916,000 in fiscal year 2025 are from the
586.3	general fund for grants under Minnesota
586.4	Statutes, section 144.9821. This is a onetime
586.5	appropriation.
586.6	(c) Grant to Minnesota Community Health
586.7	Worker Alliance. \$971,000 in fiscal year
586.8	2024 and \$971,000 in fiscal year 2025 are
586.9	from the general fund for Minnesota Statutes,
586.10	section 144.1462.
586.11	(d) Community solutions for healthy child
586.12	development grants. \$2,730,000 in fiscal year
586.13	2024 and \$2,730,000 in fiscal year 2025 are
586.14	from the general fund for grants under
586.15	Minnesota Statutes, section 145.9257. The
586.16	base for this appropriation is \$2,415,000 in
586.17	fiscal year 2026 and \$2,415,000 in fiscal year
586.18	2027.
586.18 586.19	
	2027.
586.19	2027. (e) Comprehensive Overdose and Morbidity
586.19 586.20	2027.(e) Comprehensive Overdose and MorbidityPrevention Act. \$9,794,000 in fiscal year
586.19 586.20 586.21	2027. (e) Comprehensive Overdose and Morbidity Prevention Act. \$9,794,000 in fiscal year 2024 and \$10,458,000 in fiscal year 2025 are
586.19 586.20 586.21 586.22	2027. (e) Comprehensive Overdose and Morbidity Prevention Act. \$9,794,000 in fiscal year 2024 and \$10,458,000 in fiscal year 2025 are from the general fund for comprehensive
586.20 586.21 586.22 586.23	2027. (e) Comprehensive Overdose and Morbidity Prevention Act. \$9,794,000 in fiscal year 2024 and \$10,458,000 in fiscal year 2025 are from the general fund for comprehensive overdose and morbidity prevention strategies
586.20 586.21 586.22 586.23 586.24	2027. (e) Comprehensive Overdose and Morbidity Prevention Act. \$9,794,000 in fiscal year 2024 and \$10,458,000 in fiscal year 2025 are from the general fund for comprehensive overdose and morbidity prevention strategies under Minnesota Statutes, section 144.0528.
586.19 586.20 586.21 586.22 586.23 586.24 586.25	2027. (e) Comprehensive Overdose and Morbidity Prevention Act. \$9,794,000 in fiscal year 2024 and \$10,458,000 in fiscal year 2025 are from the general fund for comprehensive overdose and morbidity prevention strategies under Minnesota Statutes, section 144.0528. The base for this appropriation is \$10,476,000
586.20 586.21 586.22 586.23 586.24 586.25 586.26	2027. (e) Comprehensive Overdose and Morbidity Prevention Act. \$9,794,000 in fiscal year 2024 and \$10,458,000 in fiscal year 2025 are from the general fund for comprehensive overdose and morbidity prevention strategies under Minnesota Statutes, section 144.0528. The base for this appropriation is \$10,476,000 in fiscal year 2026 and \$10,476,000 in fiscal
586.19 586.20 586.21 586.22 586.23 586.24 586.25 586.26 586.27	(e) Comprehensive Overdose and Morbidity Prevention Act. \$9,794,000 in fiscal year 2024 and \$10,458,000 in fiscal year 2025 are from the general fund for comprehensive overdose and morbidity prevention strategies under Minnesota Statutes, section 144.0528. The base for this appropriation is \$10,476,000 in fiscal year 2026 and \$10,476,000 in fiscal year 2027.
586.29 586.21 586.22 586.23 586.24 586.25 586.26 586.27	(e) Comprehensive Overdose and Morbidity Prevention Act. \$9,794,000 in fiscal year 2024 and \$10,458,000 in fiscal year 2025 are from the general fund for comprehensive overdose and morbidity prevention strategies under Minnesota Statutes, section 144.0528. The base for this appropriation is \$10,476,000 in fiscal year 2026 and \$10,476,000 in fiscal year 2027. (f) Emergency preparedness and response.
586.19 586.20 586.21 586.22 586.23 586.24 586.25 586.26 586.27 586.28 586.29	(e) Comprehensive Overdose and Morbidity Prevention Act. \$9,794,000 in fiscal year 2024 and \$10,458,000 in fiscal year 2025 are from the general fund for comprehensive overdose and morbidity prevention strategies under Minnesota Statutes, section 144.0528. The base for this appropriation is \$10,476,000 in fiscal year 2026 and \$10,476,000 in fiscal year 2027. (f) Emergency preparedness and response. \$10,486,000 in fiscal year 2024 and
586.19 586.20 586.21 586.22 586.23 586.24 586.25 586.26 586.27 586.28 586.29 586.30	(e) Comprehensive Overdose and Morbidity Prevention Act. \$9,794,000 in fiscal year 2024 and \$10,458,000 in fiscal year 2025 are from the general fund for comprehensive overdose and morbidity prevention strategies under Minnesota Statutes, section 144.0528. The base for this appropriation is \$10,476,000 in fiscal year 2026 and \$10,476,000 in fiscal year 2027. (f) Emergency preparedness and response. \$10,486,000 in fiscal year 2024 and \$14,314,000 in fiscal year 2025 are from the
586.19 586.20 586.21 586.22 586.23 586.24 586.25 586.26 586.27 586.28 586.29 586.30 586.31	(e) Comprehensive Overdose and Morbidity Prevention Act. \$9,794,000 in fiscal year 2024 and \$10,458,000 in fiscal year 2025 are from the general fund for comprehensive overdose and morbidity prevention strategies under Minnesota Statutes, section 144.0528. The base for this appropriation is \$10,476,000 in fiscal year 2026 and \$10,476,000 in fiscal year 2027. (f) Emergency preparedness and response. \$10,486,000 in fiscal year 2024 and \$14,314,000 in fiscal year 2025 are from the general fund for public health emergency

- this appropriation is \$11,438,000 in fiscal year
- 587.2 2026 and \$11,362,000 in fiscal year 2027.
- 587.3 (g) Healthy Beginnings, Healthy Families.
- 587.4 (1) \$8,440,000 in fiscal year 2024 and
- 587.5 \$7,305,000 in fiscal year 2025 are from the
- 587.6 general fund for grants under Minnesota
- 587.7 Statutes, sections 145.9571 to 145.9576. The
- base for this appropriation is \$1,500,000 in
- 587.9 fiscal year 2026 and \$1,500,000 in fiscal year
- 587.10 2027. (2) Of the amount in clause (1),
- 587.11 \$400,000 in fiscal year 2024 is to support the
- 587.12 transition from implementation of activities
- 587.13 under Minnesota Statutes, section 145.4235,
- 587.14 to implementation of activities under
- 587.15 Minnesota Statutes, sections 145.9571 to
- 587.16 145.9576. The commissioner shall award four
- 587.17 sole-source grants of \$100,000 each to Face
- 587.18 to Face, Cradle of Hope, Division of Indian
- 587.19 Work, and Minnesota Prison Doula Project.
- 587.20 The amount in this clause is a onetime
- 587.21 appropriation.
- 587.22 (h) **Help Me Connect.** \$463,000 in fiscal year
- 587.23 2024 and \$921,000 in fiscal year 2025 are
- 587.24 from the general fund for the Help Me
- 587.25 Connect program under Minnesota Statutes,
- 587.26 section 145.988.
- 587.27 (i) **Home visiting.** \$2,000,000 in fiscal year
- 587.28 2024 and \$2,000,000 in fiscal year 2025 are
- 587.29 from the general fund for home visiting under
- 587.30 Minnesota Statutes, section 145.87, to provide
- 587.31 home visiting to priority populations under
- 587.32 Minnesota Statutes, section 145.87,
- 587.33 subdivision 1, paragraph (e).
- 587.34 (j) No Surprises Act enforcement.
- 587.35 \$1,210,000 in fiscal year 2024 and \$1,090,000

588.1	in fiscal year 2025 are from the general fund
588.2	for implementation of the federal No Surprises
588.3	Act under Minnesota Statutes, section
588.4	62Q.021, and an assessment of the feasibility
588.5	of a statewide provider directory. The general
588.6	fund base for this appropriation is \$855,000
588.7	in fiscal year 2026 and \$855,000 in fiscal year
588.8	2027.
588.9	(k) Office of African American Health.
588.10	\$1,000,000 in fiscal year 2024 and \$1,000,000
588.11	in fiscal year 2025 are from the general fund
588.12	for grants under the authority of the Office of
588.13	African American Health under Minnesota
588.14	Statutes, section 144.0756.
588.15	(l) Office of American Indian Health.
588.16	\$1,000,000 in fiscal year 2024 and \$1,000,000
588.17	in fiscal year 2025 are from the general fund
588.18	for grants under the authority of the Office of
588.19	American Indian Health under Minnesota
588.20	Statutes, section 144.0757.
588.21	(m) Public health system transformation
588.22	grants. (1) \$9,844,000 in fiscal year 2024 and
588.23	\$9,844,000 in fiscal year 2025 are from the
588.24	general fund for grants under Minnesota
588.25	Statutes, section 145A.131, subdivision 1,
588.26	paragraph (f).
588.27	(2) \$535,000 in fiscal year 2024 and \$535,000
588.28	in fiscal year 2025 are from the general fund
588.29	for grants under Minnesota Statutes, section
588.30	145A.14, subdivision 2b.
588.31	(3) \$321,000 in fiscal year 2024 and \$321,000
588.32	in fiscal year 2025 are from the general fund
588.33	for grants under Minnesota Statutes, section
588.34	144.0759.

589.1	(n) Health care workforce. (1) \$1,010,000
589.2	in fiscal year 2024 and \$2,550,000 in fiscal
589.3	year 2025 are from the health care access fund
589.4	for rural training tracks and rural clinicals
589.5	grants under Minnesota Statutes, sections
589.6	144.1505 and 144.1507. The base for this
589.7	appropriation is \$4,060,000 in fiscal year 2026
589.8	and \$3,600,000 in fiscal year 2027.
589.9	(2) \$420,000 in fiscal year 2024 and \$420,000
589.10	in fiscal year 2025 are from the health care
589.11	access fund for immigrant international
589.12	medical graduate training grants under
589.13	Minnesota Statutes, section 144.1911.
589.14	(3) \$5,654,000 in fiscal year 2024 and
589.15	\$5,550,000 in fiscal year 2025 are from the
589.16	health care access fund for site-based clinical
589.17	training grants under Minnesota Statutes,
589.18	section 144.1508. The base for this
589.19	appropriation is \$4,657,000 in fiscal year 2026
589.20	and \$3,451,000 in fiscal year 2027.
589.21	(4) \$1,000,000 in fiscal year 2024 and
589.22	\$1,000,000 in fiscal year 2025 are from the
589.23	health care access fund for mental health for
589.24	health care professional grants. This is a
589.25	onetime appropriation and is available until
589.26	June 30, 2027.
589.27	(5) \$502,000 in fiscal year 2024 and \$502,000
589.28	in fiscal year 2025 are from the health care
589.29	access fund for workforce research and data
589.30	analysis of shortages, maldistribution of health
589.31	care providers in Minnesota, and the factors
589.32	that influence decisions of health care
589.33	providers to practice in rural areas of
589.34	Minnesota.

590.1	(o) School health. \$800,000 in fiscal year
590.2	2024 and \$1,300,000 in fiscal year 2025 are
590.3	from the general fund for grants under
590.4	Minnesota Statutes, section 145.903. The base
590.5	for this appropriation is \$2,300,000 in fiscal
590.6	year 2026 and \$2,300,000 in fiscal year 2027.
590.7	(p) Long COVID. \$3,146,000 in fiscal year
590.8	2024 and \$3,146,000 in fiscal year 2025 are
590.9	from the general fund for grants and to
590.10	implement Minnesota Statutes, section
590.11	145.361.
590.12	(q) Workplace safety grants. \$4,400,000 in
590.13	fiscal year 2024 is from the general fund for
590.14	grants to health care entities to improve
590.15	employee safety or security. This is a onetime
590.16	appropriation and is available until June 30,
590.17	2027. The commissioner may use up to ten
590.18	percent of this appropriation for
590.19	administration.
590.20	(r) Clinical dental education innovation
590.21	grants. \$1,122,000 in fiscal year 2024 and
590.22	\$1,122,000 in fiscal year 2025 are from the
590.23	general fund for clinical dental education
590.24	innovation grants under Minnesota Statutes,
590.25	section 144.1913.
590.26	(s) Emmett Louis Till Victims Recovery
590.27	Program. \$500,000 in fiscal year 2024 is from
590.28	the general fund for a grant to the Emmett
590.29	Louis Till Victims Recovery Program. The
590.30	commissioner must not use any of this
590.31	appropriation for administration. This is a
590.32	onetime appropriation and is available until
590.33	June 30, 2025.

591.1	(t) Center for health care affordability.
591.2	\$2,752,000 in fiscal year 2024 and \$3,989,000
591.3	in fiscal year 2025 are from the general fund
591.4	to establish a center for health care
591.5	affordability and to implement Minnesota
591.6	Statutes, section 62J.312. The general fund
591.7	base for this appropriation is \$3,988,000 in
591.8	fiscal year 2026 and \$3,988,000 in fiscal year
591.9	2027.
591.10	(u) Federally qualified health centers
591.11	apprenticeship program. \$690,000 in fiscal
591.12	year 2024 and \$690,000 in fiscal year 2025
591.13	are from the general fund for grants under
591.14	Minnesota Statutes, section 145.9272.
591.15	(v) Alzheimer's public information
591.16	program. \$80,000 in fiscal year 2024 and
591.17	\$80,000 in fiscal year 2025 are from the
591.18	general fund for grants to community-based
591.19	organizations to co-create culturally specific
591.20	messages to targeted communities and to
591.21	promote public awareness materials online
591.22	through diverse media channels.
591.23	(w) Keeping Nurses at the Bedside Act;
591.24	contingent appropriation Nurse and Patient
591.25	Safety Act. The appropriations in this
591.26	paragraph are contingent upon legislative
591.27	enactment of 2023 Senate File 1384 by the
591.28	93rd Legislature. The appropriations in this
591.29	paragraph are available until June 30, 2027.
591.30	(1) \$5,317,000 in fiscal year 2024 and
591.31	\$5,317,000 in fiscal year 2025 are is from the
591.32	general fund for loan forgiveness under
591.33	Minnesota Statutes, section 144.1501, for
591.34	eligible nurses who have agreed to work as
591.35	hospital nurses in accordance with Minnesota

Statutes, section 144.1501, subdivision 2, 592.1 592.2 paragraph (a), clause (7). (2) \$66,000 in fiscal year 2024 and \$66,000 592.3 in fiscal year 2025 are from the general fund 592.4 for loan forgiveness under Minnesota Statutes, 592.5 section 144.1501, for eligible nurses who have 592.6 agreed to teach in accordance with Minnesota 592.7 592.8 Statutes, section 144.1501, subdivision 2, paragraph (a), clause (3). 592.9 592.10 (3) \$545,000 in fiscal year 2024 and \$879,000 in fiscal year 2025 are from the general fund 592.11 to administer Minnesota Statutes, section 592.12 144.7057; to perform the evaluation duties 592.13 described in Minnesota Statutes, section 592.14 144.7058; to continue prevention of violence 592.15 in health care program activities; to analyze 592.16 potential links between adverse events and 592.17 understaffing; to convene stakeholder groups 592.18 and create a best practices toolkit; and for a 592 19 report on the current status of the state's 592.20 nursing workforce employed by hospitals. The 592.21 base for this appropriation is \$624,000 in fiscal 592.22 year 2026 and \$454,000 in fiscal year 2027. 592.23 (x) Supporting healthy development of 592.24 **babies.** \$260,000 in fiscal year 2024 and 592.25 \$260,000 in fiscal year 2025 are from the 592.26 general fund for a grant to the Amherst H. 592.27 Wilder Foundation for the African American 592.28 592.29 Babies Coalition initiative. The base for this appropriation is \$520,000 in fiscal year 2026 592.30 and \$0 in fiscal year 2027. Any appropriation 592.31 in fiscal year 2026 is available until June 30, 592.32 2027. This paragraph expires on June 30, 592.34 2027.

593.1	(y) Health professional education loan
593.2	forgiveness. \$2,780,000 in fiscal year 2024
593.3	is from the general fund for eligible mental
593.4	health professional loan forgiveness under
593.5	Minnesota Statutes, section 144.1501. This is
593.6	a onetime appropriation. The commissioner
593.7	may use up to ten percent of this appropriation
593.8	for administration.
593.9	(z) Primary care residency expansion grant
593.10	program. \$400,000 in fiscal year 2024 and
593.11	\$400,000 in fiscal year 2025 are from the
593.12	general fund for a psychiatry resident under
593.13	Minnesota Statutes, section 144.1506.
593.14	(aa) Pediatric primary care mental health
593.15	training grant program. \$1,000,000 in fiscal
593.16	year 2024 and \$1,000,000 in fiscal year 2025
593.17	are from the general fund for grants under
593.18	Minnesota Statutes, section 144.1509. The
593.19	commissioner may use up to ten percent of
593.20	this appropriation for administration.
593.21	(bb) Mental health cultural community
593.22	continuing education grant program.
593.23	\$500,000 in fiscal year 2024 and \$500,000 in
593.24	fiscal year 2025 are from the general fund for
593.25	grants under Minnesota Statutes, section
593.26	144.1511. The commissioner may use up to
593.27	ten percent of this appropriation for
593.28	administration.
593.29	(cc) Labor trafficking services grant
593.30	program. \$500,000 in fiscal year 2024 and
593.31	\$500,000 in fiscal year 2025 are from the
593.32	general fund for grants under Minnesota
593.33	Statutes, section 144.3885.

594.1	(dd) Palliative Care Advisory Council.
594.2	\$40,000 \$44,000 in fiscal year 2024 and
594.3	\$40,000 \$44,000 in fiscal year 2025 are from
594.4	the general fund for grants under Minnesota
594.5	Statutes, section 144.059.
594.6	(ee) Analysis of a universal health care
594.7	financing system. \$1,815,000 in fiscal year
594.8	2024 and \$580,000 in fiscal year 2025 are
594.9	from the general fund to the commissioner to
594.10	contract for an analysis of the benefits and
594.11	costs of a legislative proposal for a universal
594.12	health care financing system and a similar
594.13	analysis of the current health care financing
594.14	system. The base for this appropriation is
594.15	\$580,000 in fiscal year 2026 and \$0 in fiscal
594.16	year 2027. This appropriation is available until
594.17	June 30, 2027.
594.18	(ff) Charitable assets public interest review.
594.19	(1) The appropriations under this paragraph
594.20	are contingent upon legislative enactment of
594.21	2023 House File 402 by the 93rd Legislature.
594.22	(2) \$1,584,000 in fiscal year 2024 and
594.23	\$769,000 in fiscal year 2025 are from the
594.24	general fund to review certain health care
594.25	entity transactions; to conduct analyses of the
594.26	impacts of health care transactions on health
594.27	care cost, quality, and competition; and to
594.28	issue public reports on health care transactions
594.29	in Minnesota and their impacts. The base for
594.30	this appropriation is \$710,000 in fiscal year
594.31	2026 and \$710,000 in fiscal year 2027.
594.32	(gg) Study of the development of a statewide
594.33	registry for provider orders for
594.34	life-sustaining treatment. \$365,000 in fiscal
594.35	year 2024 and \$365,000 in fiscal year 2025

595.1	are is from the general fund for a study of the
595.2	development of a statewide registry for
595.3	provider orders for life-sustaining treatment.
595.4	This is a onetime appropriation.
595.5	(hh) Task Force on Pregnancy Health and
595.6	Substance Use Disorders. \$199,000 in fiscal
595.7	year 2024 and \$100,000 in fiscal year 2025
595.8	are from the general fund for the Task Force
595.9	on Pregnancy Health and Substance Use
595.10	Disorders. This is a onetime appropriation and
595.11	is available until June 30, 2025.
595.12	(ii) 988 Suicide and crisis lifeline. \$4,000,000
595.13	in fiscal year 2024 is from the general fund
595.14	for 988 national suicide prevention lifeline
595.15	grants under Minnesota Statutes, section
595.16	145.561. This is a onetime appropriation.
595.17	(jj) Equitable Health Care Task Force.
595.18	\$779,000 in fiscal year 2024 and \$749,000 in
595.19	fiscal year 2025 are from the general fund for
595.20	the Equitable Health Care Task Force. This is
595.21	a onetime appropriation.
595.22	(kk) Psychedelic Medicine Task Force.
595.23	\$338,000 in fiscal year 2024 and \$171,000 in
595.24	fiscal year 2025 are from the general fund for
595.25	the Psychedelic Medicine Task Force. This is
595.26	a onetime appropriation.
595.27	(ll) Medical education and research costs.
595.28	\$300,000 in fiscal year 2024 and \$300,000 in
595.29	fiscal year 2025 are from the general fund for
595.30	the medical education and research costs
595.31	program under Minnesota Statutes, section
595.32	62J.692.
595.33	(mm) Special Guerilla Unit Veterans grant
595.34	program. \$250,000 in fiscal year 2024 and

596.1	\$250,000 in fiscal year 2025 are from the
596.2	general fund for a grant to the Special
596.3	Guerrilla Units Veterans and Families of the
596.4	United States of America to offer
596.5	programming and culturally specific and
596.6	specialized assistance to support the health
596.7	and well-being of Special Guerilla Unit
596.8	Veterans. The base for this appropriation is
596.9	\$500,000 in fiscal year 2026 and \$0 in fiscal
596.10	year 2027. Any amount appropriated in fiscal
596.11	year 2026 is available until June 30, 2027.
596.12	This paragraph expires June 30, 2027.
596.13	(nn) Safe harbor regional navigator.
596.14	\$300,000 in fiscal year 2024 and \$300,000 in
596.15	fiscal year 2025 are for a regional navigator
596.16	in northwestern Minnesota. The commissioner
596.17	may use up to ten percent of this appropriation
596.18	for administration.
596.19	(00) Network adequacy. \$798,000 in fiscal
596.20	year 2024 and \$491,000 in fiscal year 2025
	are from the general fund for reviews of
596.21	<u> </u>
596.21 596.22	provider networks under Minnesota Statutes,
	_
596.22	provider networks under Minnesota Statutes,
596.22 596.23	provider networks under Minnesota Statutes, section 62K.10, to determine network
596.22 596.23 596.24	provider networks under Minnesota Statutes, section 62K.10, to determine network adequacy.
596.22 596.23 596.24 596.25	provider networks under Minnesota Statutes, section 62K.10, to determine network adequacy. (pp) Grant to Minnesota Alliance for
596.22 596.23 596.24 596.25 596.26	provider networks under Minnesota Statutes, section 62K.10, to determine network adequacy. (pp) Grant to Minnesota Alliance for Volunteer Advancement. \$278,000 in fiscal
596.22 596.23 596.24 596.25 596.26 596.27	provider networks under Minnesota Statutes, section 62K.10, to determine network adequacy. (pp) Grant to Minnesota Alliance for Volunteer Advancement. \$278,000 in fiscal year 2024 is from the general fund for a grant
596.22 596.23 596.24 596.25 596.26 596.27 596.28	provider networks under Minnesota Statutes, section 62K.10, to determine network adequacy. (pp) Grant to Minnesota Alliance for Volunteer Advancement. \$278,000 in fiscal year 2024 is from the general fund for a grant to the Minnesota Alliance for Volunteer
596.22 596.23 596.24 596.25 596.26 596.27 596.28 596.29	provider networks under Minnesota Statutes, section 62K.10, to determine network adequacy. (pp) Grant to Minnesota Alliance for Volunteer Advancement. \$278,000 in fiscal year 2024 is from the general fund for a grant to the Minnesota Alliance for Volunteer Advancement to administer needs-based
596.22 596.23 596.24 596.25 596.26 596.27 596.28 596.29 596.30	provider networks under Minnesota Statutes, section 62K.10, to determine network adequacy. (pp) Grant to Minnesota Alliance for Volunteer Advancement. \$278,000 in fiscal year 2024 is from the general fund for a grant to the Minnesota Alliance for Volunteer Advancement to administer needs-based volunteerism subgrants targeting
596.22 596.23 596.24 596.25 596.26 596.27 596.28 596.29 596.30	provider networks under Minnesota Statutes, section 62K.10, to determine network adequacy. (pp) Grant to Minnesota Alliance for Volunteer Advancement. \$278,000 in fiscal year 2024 is from the general fund for a grant to the Minnesota Alliance for Volunteer Advancement to administer needs-based volunteerism subgrants targeting underresourced nonprofit organizations in
596.22 596.23 596.24 596.25 596.26 596.27 596.28 596.29 596.30 596.31	provider networks under Minnesota Statutes, section 62K.10, to determine network adequacy. (pp) Grant to Minnesota Alliance for Volunteer Advancement. \$278,000 in fiscal year 2024 is from the general fund for a grant to the Minnesota Alliance for Volunteer Advancement to administer needs-based volunteerism subgrants targeting underresourced nonprofit organizations in greater Minnesota. Subgrants must be used to

597.1	increased volunteerism. Subgrant applicants
597.2	must demonstrate that the populations to be
597.3	served by the subgrantee are underserved or
597.4	suffer from or are at risk of homelessness,
597.5	hunger, poverty, lack of access to health care,
597.6	or deficits in education. The Minnesota
597.7	Alliance for Volunteer Advancement must
597.8	give priority to organizations that are serving
597.9	the needs of vulnerable populations. This is a
597.10	onetime appropriation and is available until
597.11	<u>June 30, 2025.</u>
597.12	(pp) (qq)(1) TANF Appropriations. TANF
597.13	funds must be used as follows:
597.14	(i) \$3,579,000 in fiscal year 2024 and
597.15	\$3,579,000 in fiscal year 2025 are from the
597.16	TANF fund for home visiting and nutritional
597.17	services listed under Minnesota Statutes,
597.18	section 145.882, subdivision 7, clauses (6) and
597.19	(7). Funds must be distributed to community
597.20	health boards according to Minnesota Statutes,
597.21	section 145A.131, subdivision 1;
597.22	(ii) \$2,000,000 in fiscal year 2024 and
597.23	\$2,000,000 in fiscal year 2025 are from the
597.24	TANF fund for decreasing racial and ethnic
597.25	disparities in infant mortality rates under
597.26	Minnesota Statutes, section 145.928,
597.27	subdivision 7;
597.28	(iii) \$4,978,000 in fiscal year 2024 and
597.29	\$4,978,000 in fiscal year 2025 are from the
597.30	TANF fund for the family home visiting grant
597.31	program under Minnesota Statutes, section
597.32	145A.17. \$4,000,000 of the funding in fiscal
597.33	year 2024 and \$4,000,000 in fiscal year 2025
597.34	must be distributed to community health
597.35	boards under Minnesota Statutes, section

- 598.1 145A.131, subdivision 1. \$978,000 of the
- 598.2 funding in fiscal year 2024 and \$978,000 in
- 598.3 fiscal year 2025 must be distributed to Tribal
- 598.4 governments under Minnesota Statutes, section
- 598.5 145A.14, subdivision 2a;
- 598.6 (iv) \$1,156,000 in fiscal year 2024 and
- 598.7 \$1,156,000 in fiscal year 2025 are from the
- 598.8 TANF fund for sexual and reproductive health
- 598.9 services grants under Minnesota Statutes,
- 598.10 section 145.925; and
- 598.11 (v) the commissioner may use up to 6.23
- 598.12 percent of the funds appropriated from the
- 598.13 TANF fund each fiscal year to conduct the
- 598.14 ongoing evaluations required under Minnesota
- 598.15 Statutes, section 145A.17, subdivision 7, and
- 598.16 training and technical assistance as required
- 598.17 under Minnesota Statutes, section 145A.17,
- 598.18 subdivisions 4 and 5.
- 598.19 (2) TANF Carryforward. Any unexpended
- 598.20 balance of the TANF appropriation in the first
- 598.21 year does not cancel but is available in the
- 598.22 second year.
- 598.23 (qq) (rr) Base level adjustments. The general
- 598.24 fund base is \$197,644,000 in fiscal year 2026
- 598.25 and \$195,714,000 in fiscal year 2027. The
- 598.26 health care access fund base is \$53,354,000
- 598.27 in fiscal year 2026 and \$50,962,000 in fiscal
- 598.28 year 2027.
- Sec. 21. Laws 2023, chapter 70, article 20, section 12, as amended by Laws 2023, chapter
- 598.30 75, section 13, is amended to read:
- 598.31 Sec. 12. COMMISSIONER OF
- 598.32 MANAGEMENT AND BUDGET \$ 12,932,000 \$ 3,412,000
- 598.33 (a) Outcomes and evaluation consultation.
- 598.34 \$450,000 in fiscal year 2024 and \$450,000 in

fiscal year 2025 are for outcomes and 599.1 evaluation consultation requirements. 599.2 599.3 (b) Department of Children, Youth, and Families. \$11,931,000 in fiscal year 2024 and 599.4 \$2,066,000 in fiscal year 2025 are to establish 599.5 the Department of Children, Youth, and 599.6 Families. This is a onetime appropriation. 599.7 (c) Keeping Nurses at the Bedside Act 599.8 impact evaluation; contingent 599.9 appropriation. \$232,000 in fiscal year 2025 599.10 is for the Keeping Nurses at the Bedside Act 599.11 impact evaluation. This appropriation is 599 12 contingent upon legislative enactment by the 599.13 93rd Legislature of a provision substantially 599.14 similar to the impact evaluation provision in 599.15 599.16 2023 S.F. No. 2995, the third engrossment, article 3, section 22. This is a onetime 599.17 appropriation and is available until June 30, 599.18 2029. 599.19 (d) (c) Health care subcabinet. \$551,000 in 599.20 fiscal year 2024 and \$664,000 in fiscal year 599.21 2025 are to hire an executive director for the 599.22 599.23 health care subcabinet and to provide staffing and administrative support for the health care 599.24 subcabinet. 599.25 599.26 (e) (d) **Base level adjustment.** The general fund base is \$1,114,000 in fiscal year 2026 599.27 and \$1,114,000 in fiscal year 2027. 599.28 Sec. 22. Laws 2023, chapter 70, article 20, section 23, is amended to read: 599.29 Sec. 23. TRANSFERS. 599.30 Subdivision 1. Grants. The commissioner of human services and commissioner of 599.31 children, youth, and families, with the approval of the commissioner of management and 599.32

599.33

budget, may transfer unencumbered appropriation balances for the biennium ending June

04/24/24 SENATEE LB SS4699R

30, 2025, within fiscal years among MFIP; general assistance; medical assistance; 600.1 MinnesotaCare; MFIP child care assistance under Minnesota Statutes, section 119B.05; 600.2 600.3 Minnesota supplemental aid program; housing support program; the entitlement portion of Northstar Care for Children under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 256N; and the entitlement 600.4 portion of the behavioral health fund between fiscal years of the biennium. The commissioner 600.5 shall report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with 600.6 jurisdiction over health and human services quarterly about transfers made under this 600.7 600.8 subdivision.

Subd. 2. Administration. Positions, salary money, and nonsalary administrative money may be transferred within and between the Department of Human Services and the

Department of Children, Youth, and Families as the commissioners consider necessary, with the advance approval of the commissioner of management and budget. The commissioners shall report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over health and human services finance quarterly about transfers made under this section.

600.16 Sec. 23. INDIRECT COSTS NOT TO FUND PROGRAMS.

The commissioner of health shall not use indirect cost allocations to pay for the operational costs of any program for which the commissioner is responsible.

Sec. 24. EXPIRATION OF UNCODIFIED LANGUAGE.

All uncodified language contained in this article expires on June 30, 2025, unless a different expiration date is explicit."

Delete the title and insert:

600.19

600.22

600.24

600.25

600.26

600.27

600.28

600.29

600.30

600.31

600.32

600.33

600.34

600.35

600.36

600.37

600.38

600.39

600.23 "A bill for an act

relating to state government; modifying provisions governing health care, health insurance, health policy, emergency medical services, the Department of Health, the Department of Human Services, MNsure, health care workforce, health-related licensing boards, health care affordability and delivery, background studies, child protection and welfare, child care licensing, behavioral health, economic assistance, housing and homelessness, human services policy, the Minnesota Indian Family Preservation Act, and the Department of Children, Youth, and Families; establishing the Office of Emergency Medical Services; establishing the Minnesota African American Family Preservation and Child Welfare Disproportionality Act; making technical and conforming changes; requiring reports; providing appointments; making forecast adjustments; appropriating money; amending Minnesota Statutes 2022, sections 16A.055, subdivision 1a, by adding a subdivision; 62A.0411; 62A.15, subdivision 4, by adding a subdivision; 62A.28, subdivision 2; 62D.02, subdivisions 4, 7; 62D.03, subdivision 1; 62D.05, subdivision 1; 62D.06, subdivision 1; 62D.14, subdivision 1; 62D.19; 62D.20, subdivision 1; 62D.22, subdivision 5; 62E.02, subdivision 3; 62J.49, subdivision 1; 62J.61, subdivision

04/24/24 SENATEE LB SS4699R

5; 62M.01, subdivision 3; 62Q.097, by adding a subdivision; 62Q.14; 62V.02, by 601.1 601.2 adding subdivisions; 62V.03, subdivisions 1, 3; 62V.05, subdivisions 3, 6, 11, 12, 601.3 by adding a subdivision; 62V.051; 62V.06, subdivision 4; 62V.08; 62V.11, subdivision 4; 103I.621, subdivisions 1, 2; 121A.15, subdivision 3, by adding a 601.4 subdivision; 144.05, subdivision 6, by adding a subdivision; 144.058; 144.0724, 601.5 subdivisions 2, 3a, 4, 6, 7, 8, 9, 11; 144.1464, subdivisions 1, 2, 3; 144.1501, 601.6 subdivision 5; 144.1911, subdivision 2; 144.212, by adding a subdivision; 144.216, 601.7 subdivision 2, by adding subdivisions; 144.218, by adding a subdivision; 144.292, 601.8 601.9 subdivision 6; 144.293, subdivisions 2, 4, 9, 10; 144.493, by adding a subdivision; 144.494, subdivision 2; 144.551, subdivision 1; 144.555, subdivisions 1a, 1b, 2, 601.10 601.11 by adding subdivisions; 144.605, by adding a subdivision; 144.99, subdivision 3; 144A.10, subdivisions 15, 16; 144A.44, subdivision 1; 144A.471, by adding a 601.12 subdivision; 144A.474, subdivision 13; 144A.61, subdivision 3a; 144A.70, 601.13 subdivisions 3, 5, 6, 7; 144A.71, subdivision 2, by adding a subdivision; 144A.72, 601.14 subdivision 1; 144A.73; 144E.001, subdivision 3a, by adding subdivisions; 601.15 144E.101, by adding a subdivision; 144E.16, subdivisions 5, 7; 144E.19, 601.16 subdivision 3; 144E.27, subdivisions 3, 5, 6; 144E.28, subdivisions 3, 5, 6, 8; 601.17 144E.285, subdivisions 1, 2, 4, 6, by adding subdivisions; 144E.287; 144E.305, 601.18 subdivision 3; 144G.08, subdivision 29; 144G.10, by adding a subdivision; 601.19 144G.16, subdivision 6; 146B.03, subdivision 7a; 146B.10, subdivisions 1, 3; 601.20 148.235, subdivision 10; 149A.02, subdivisions 3, 3b, 16, 23, 26a, 27, 35, 37c, by 601.21 adding subdivisions; 149A.03; 149A.65; 149A.70, subdivisions 1, 2, 3, 5; 149A.71, 601.22 subdivisions 2, 4; 149A.72, subdivisions 3, 9; 149A.73, subdivision 1; 149A.74, 601.23 subdivision 1; 149A.93, subdivision 3; 149A.94, subdivisions 1, 3, 4; 149A.97, 601.24 subdivision 2; 151.01, subdivisions 23, 27; 151.065, by adding subdivisions; 601.25 151.066, subdivisions 1, 2, 3; 151.212, by adding a subdivision; 151.37, by adding 601.26 a subdivision; 151.74, subdivision 6; 152.22, subdivision 14, by adding a 601.27 subdivision; 152.25, subdivision 2; 152.27, subdivisions 2, 6, by adding a 601.28 subdivision; 176.175, subdivision 2; 214.025; 214.04, subdivision 2a; 214.29; 601.29 214.31; 214.355; 243.166, subdivision 7, as amended; 245.096; 245.462, 601.30 subdivision 6; 245.4663, subdivision 2; 245A.04, subdivision 10, by adding a 601.31 subdivision; 245A.043, subdivisions 2, 4, by adding subdivisions; 245A.07, 601.32 subdivision 6; 245A.10, subdivisions 1, as amended, 2, as amended; 245A.14, 601.33 subdivision 17; 245A.144; 245A.175; 245A.52, subdivision 2, by adding a 601.34 subdivision; 245A.66, subdivision 2; 245C.03, by adding a subdivision; 245C.05, 601.35 subdivision 5; 245C.08, subdivision 4; 245C.10, subdivision 18; 245C.14, 601.36 subdivision 1, by adding a subdivision; 245C.15, subdivisions 3, 4; 245C.22, 601.37 subdivision 4; 245C.24, subdivisions 2, 5; 245C.30, by adding a subdivision; 601.38 245E.08; 245F.09, subdivision 2; 245F.14, by adding a subdivision; 245F.17; 601.39 245G.07, subdivision 4; 245G.08, subdivisions 5, 6; 245G.10, by adding a 601.40 subdivision; 245G.22, subdivisions 6, 7; 245H.01, by adding subdivisions; 245H.08, 601.41 subdivision 1; 245H.14, subdivisions 1, 4; 245I.02, subdivisions 17, 19; 245I.10, 601.42 subdivision 9; 245I.11, subdivision 1, by adding a subdivision; 245I.20, subdivision 601.43 4; 245I.23, subdivision 14; 256.01, subdivision 41, by adding a subdivision; 601.44 256.029, as amended; 256.045, subdivisions 3b, as amended, 5, as amended, 7, as 601.45 amended; 256.0451, subdivisions 1, as amended, 22, 24; 256.046, subdivision 2, 601.46 as amended; 256.9657, subdivision 8, by adding a subdivision; 256.969, by adding 601.47 subdivisions; 256B.056, subdivisions 1a, 10; 256B.0622, subdivisions 2a, 3a, 7a, 601.48 7d; 256B.0623, subdivision 5; 256B.0625, subdivisions 12, 20, 39, by adding 601.49 subdivisions; 256B.0757, subdivisions 4a, 4d; 256B.0943, subdivision 12; 601.50 256B.0947, subdivision 5; 256B.79, subdivision 6; 256I.04, subdivision 2f; 256J.08, 601.51 subdivision 34a; 256J.28, subdivision 1; 256K.45, subdivision 2; 256L.01, by 601.52 adding subdivisions; 256L.04, subdivisions 1c, 7a, by adding a subdivision; 601.53 256L.07, subdivision 1; 256L.12, subdivision 7; 256N.22, subdivision 10; 256N.24, 601.54 subdivision 10; 256N.26, subdivisions 12, 13, 15, 16, 18, 21, 22; 256P.05, by 601.55 adding a subdivision; 256R.02, subdivision 20; 259.20, subdivision 2; 259.37, 601.56 subdivision 2; 259.52, subdivisions 2, 4; 259.53, by adding a subdivision; 259.79, 601.57 subdivision 1; 259.83, subdivision 4; 260.755, subdivisions 2a, 5, 14, 17a, by 601.58

04/24/24 SENATEE LB SS4699R

adding subdivisions; 260.775; 260.785, subdivisions 1, 3; 260.810, subdivision 3; 602.1 602.2 260C.007, subdivisions 6, 26b; 260C.178, subdivisions 1, as amended, 7; 260C.201, 602.3 by adding a subdivision; 260C.202; 260C.209, subdivision 1; 260C.212, 602.4 subdivisions 1, 2; 260C.301, subdivision 1, as amended; 260C.329, subdivisions 3, 8; 260C.4411, by adding a subdivision; 260C.515, subdivision 4; 260C.607, 602.5 subdivisions 1, 6; 260C.611; 260C.613, subdivision 1; 260C.615, subdivision 1; 602.6 260D.01; 260E.03, subdivision 23, as amended; 260E.30, subdivision 3, as 602.7 amended; 260E.33, subdivision 2, as amended; 317A.811, subdivisions 1, 2, 4; 602.8 602.9 393.07, subdivision 10a; 518.17, by adding a subdivision; 519.05; 524.3-801, as amended; Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, sections 13.46, subdivision 4, as 602.10 602.11 amended; 15A.0815, subdivision 2; 43A.08, subdivision 1a; 62J.84, subdivision 10; 62Q.46, subdivision 1; 62Q.522, subdivision 1; 62V.13, subdivision 3; 602.12 119B.011, subdivision 15; 119B.16, subdivisions 1a, 1c; 119B.161, subdivision 602.13 2; 124D.142, subdivision 2, as amended; 142A.03, by adding a subdivision; 602.14 144.0526, subdivision 1; 144.1501, subdivisions 1, 2, 3, 4; 144.1505, subdivision 602.15 2; 144.2252, subdivision 2; 144.2253; 144.587, subdivision 4; 144A.4791, 602.16 subdivision 10; 144E.101, subdivisions 6, 7, as amended; 145.561, subdivision 4; 602.17 151.555, subdivisions 1, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 11, 12; 151.74, subdivision 3; 152.126, 602.18 subdivision 6; 152.28, subdivision 1; 245.4889, subdivision 1; 245A.02, subdivision 602.19 2c; 245A.03, subdivisions 2, as amended, 7, as amended; 245A.043, subdivision 602.20 3; 245A.07, subdivision 1, as amended; 245A.11, subdivision 7; 245A.16, 602.21 subdivisions 1, as amended, 11; 245A.211, subdivision 4; 245A.242, subdivision 602.22 2; 245A.50, subdivisions 3, 4; 245A.66, subdivision 4, as amended; 245C.02, 602.23 subdivisions 6a, 13e; 245C.033, subdivision 3; 245C.08, subdivision 1; 245C.10, 602.24 subdivision 15; 245C.15, subdivisions 2, 4a; 245C.31, subdivision 1; 245G.22, 602.25 subdivisions 2, 17; 245H.06, subdivisions 1, 2; 245H.08, subdivisions 4, 5; 602.26 254B.04, subdivision 1a; 256.01, subdivision 12b; 256.043, subdivisions 3, 3a; 602.27 256.045, subdivision 3, as amended; 256.046, subdivision 3; 256.0471, subdivision 602.28 1, as amended; 256.969, subdivision 2b; 256B.0622, subdivisions 7b, 8; 256B.0625, 602.29 subdivisions 3a, 5m, 9, 13e, as amended, 13f, 13k, 16; 256B.064, subdivision 4; 602.30 256B.0671, subdivision 5; 256B.0701, subdivision 6; 256B.0947, subdivision 7; 602.31 256B.764; 256D.01, subdivision 1a; 256E.38, subdivision 4; 256I.05, subdivisions 602.32 1a, 11; 256L.03, subdivisions 1, 5; 256M.42, by adding a subdivision; 256P.06, 602.33 subdivision 3; 259.83, subdivisions 1, 1b, 3a; 260.014, by adding a subdivision; 602.34 260.755, subdivisions 1a, 3, 3a, 5b, 20, 22; 260.758, subdivisions 2, 4, 5; 260.761; 602.35 260.762; 260.763, subdivisions 1, 4, 5; 260.765, subdivisions 2, 3a, 4b; 260.771, 602.36 subdivisions 1a, 1b, 1c, 2b, 2d, 6, by adding a subdivision; 260.773, subdivisions 602.37 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 10, 11; 260.774, subdivisions 1, 2, 3; 260.781, subdivision 1; 260.786, 602.38 subdivision 2; 260.795, subdivision 1; 342.01, subdivision 63; 342.52, subdivision 602.39 3; 342.53; 342.54, subdivision 2; 342.55, subdivision 2; 518A.42, subdivision 3; 602.40 Laws 2023, chapter 22, section 4, subdivision 2; Laws 2023, chapter 57, article 1, 602.41 section 6; Laws 2023, chapter 70, article 1, section 35; article 11, section 13, 602.42 subdivision 8; article 12, section 30, subdivisions 2, 3; article 14, section 42, 602.43 subdivision 6; article 20, sections 2, subdivisions 5, 22, 24, 29, 31; 3, subdivision 602.44 2; 12, as amended; 23; Laws 2024, chapter 80, article 1, sections 38, subdivisions 602.45 1, 2, 5, 6, 7, 9; 96; article 2, sections 5, subdivision 21, by adding a subdivision; 602.46 6, subdivisions 2, 3, 3a, by adding a subdivision; 7, subdivision 2; 10, subdivisions 602.47 1, 6; 16, subdivision 1, by adding a subdivision; 30, subdivision 2; 31; 74; article 602.48 4, section 26; article 6, section 4; article 7, section 4; proposing coding for new 602.49 law in Minnesota Statutes, chapters 62D; 62J; 62Q; 62V; 137; 142A; 144A; 602.50 144E; 145; 149A; 151; 214; 245C; 245H; 256B; 256L; 259; 260; 260D; 260E; 602.51 524; proposing coding for new law as Minnesota Statutes, chapters 142B; 142F; 602.52 332C; repealing Minnesota Statutes 2022, sections 62A.041, subdivision 3; 144.218, 602.53 subdivision 3; 144.497; 144E.001, subdivision 5; 144E.01; 144E.123, subdivision 602.54 5; 144E.27, subdivisions 1, 1a; 144E.50, subdivision 3; 245A.065; 245C.125; 602.55 256.01, subdivisions 12, 12a; 256D.19, subdivisions 1, 2; 256D.20, subdivisions 602.56 1, 2, 3, 4; 256D.23, subdivisions 1, 2, 3; 256R.02, subdivision 46; 260.755, 602.57 subdivision 13; Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, sections 62J.312, subdivision 602.58

603.1	6; 62Q.522, subdivisions 3, 4; 144.0528, subdivision 5; 245C.08, subdivision 2;
603.2	Laws 2023, chapter 25, section 190, subdivision 10; Laws 2024, chapter 80, article
603.3	1, sections 38, subdivisions 3, 4, 11; 39; 43, subdivision 2; article 2, sections 1,
603.4	subdivision 11; 3, subdivision 3; 4, subdivision 4; 6, subdivision 4; 10, subdivision
603.5	4; 33; 69; article 7, sections 3; 9; Minnesota Rules, parts 2960.0620, subpart 3;
603.6	9502.0425, subparts 5, 10; 9545.0805, subpart 1; 9545.0845; 9560.0232, subpart
603.7	5."
603.8	And when so amended the bill do pass and be re-referred to the Committee on Finance.
603.9	Amendments adopted. Report adopted.
	Meline H. Wikharl
603.10	
603.11	(Committee Chair)
	1 10 2024
603.12	April 18, 2024
603.13	(Date of Committee recommendation)