1.1 Senator moves to amend S.F. No. 4699 as follows:

Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:

1.2

1.3

1.4

1.7

1.8

1.9

1.10

1.11

1.12

1.13

1.14

1.15

1.16

1.17

1.18

1.19

1.20

1.21

"ARTICLE 1

DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES HEALTH CARE FINANCE

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256.9657, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

- Subd. 2a. Teaching hospital surcharge. (a) Each teaching hospital shall pay to the medical assistance account a surcharge equal to 0.01 percent of net non-Medicare patient care revenue. The initial surcharge must be paid 60 days after both this subdivision and section 256.969, subdivision 2g, have received federal approval, and subsequent surcharge payments must be made annually in the form and manner specified by the commissioner.
- (b) Revenue from the surcharge shall be used by the commissioner only to pay the nonfederal share of the medical assistance supplemental payments described in section 256.969, subdivision 2g, and shall be used to supplement, and not supplant, medical assistance reimbursement to teaching hospitals. The surcharge must comply with Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, section 433.63.
- (c) For purposes of this subdivision, "teaching hospital" means any Minnesota hospital, except facilities of the federal Indian Health Service and regional treatment centers, with a Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services designation of "teaching hospital" as reported on form CMS-2552-10, worksheet S-2, line 56, that is eligible for reimbursement under section 256.969, subdivision 2g.
- EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025; or upon federal approval
 of this section, the amendment in this act to Minnesota Statutes, section 256.969, subdivision
 2b, and Minnesota Statutes, section 256.969, subdivision 2g; whichever is later. The
 commissioner of human services shall notify the revisor of statutes when federal approval
 is obtained.
- 1.27 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 256.969, subdivision 2b, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2b. **Hospital payment rates.** (a) For discharges occurring on or after November 1, 2014, hospital inpatient services for hospitals located in Minnesota shall be paid according to the following:

(1) critical access hospitals as defined by Medicare shall be paid using a cost-based methodology;

- (2) long-term hospitals as defined by Medicare shall be paid on a per diem methodology under subdivision 25;
- (3) rehabilitation hospitals or units of hospitals that are recognized as rehabilitation distinct parts as defined by Medicare shall be paid according to the methodology under subdivision 12; and
- 2.8 (4) all other hospitals shall be paid on a diagnosis-related group (DRG) methodology.
 - (b) For the period beginning January 1, 2011, through October 31, 2014, rates shall not be rebased, except that a Minnesota long-term hospital shall be rebased effective January 1, 2011, based on its most recent Medicare cost report ending on or before September 1, 2008, with the provisions under subdivisions 9 and 23, based on the rates in effect on December 31, 2010. For rate setting periods after November 1, 2014, in which the base years are updated, a Minnesota long-term hospital's base year shall remain within the same period as other hospitals.
 - (c) Effective for discharges occurring on and after November 1, 2014, payment rates for hospital inpatient services provided by hospitals located in Minnesota or the local trade area, except for the hospitals paid under the methodologies described in paragraph (a), clauses (2) and (3), shall be rebased, incorporating cost and payment methodologies in a manner similar to Medicare. The base year or years for the rates effective November 1, 2014, shall be calendar year 2012. The rebasing under this paragraph shall be budget neutral, ensuring that the total aggregate payments under the rebased system are equal to the total aggregate payments that were made for the same number and types of services in the base year. Separate budget neutrality calculations shall be determined for payments made to critical access hospitals and payments made to hospitals paid under the DRG system. Only the rate increases or decreases under subdivision 3a or 3c that applied to the hospitals being rebased during the entire base period shall be incorporated into the budget neutrality calculation.
 - (d) For discharges occurring on or after November 1, 2014, through the next rebasing that occurs, the rebased rates under paragraph (c) that apply to hospitals under paragraph (a), clause (4), shall include adjustments to the projected rates that result in no greater than a five percent increase or decrease from the base year payments for any hospital. Any adjustments to the rates made by the commissioner under this paragraph and paragraph (e) shall maintain budget neutrality as described in paragraph (c).

2.1

2.2

2.3

2.4

2.5

2.6

2.7

29

2.10

2.11

2.12

2.13

2.14

2.15

2.16

2.17

2.18

2.19

2.20

2.21

2.22

2.23

2.24

2.25

2.26

2.27

2.28

2.29

2.30

2.31

2.32

2.33

(e) For discharges occurring on or after November 1, 2014, the commissioner may make additional adjustments to the rebased rates, and when evaluating whether additional adjustments should be made, the commissioner shall consider the impact of the rates on the following:

(1) pediatric services;

3.1

3.2

3.3

3.4

3.5

3.18

3.19

3.20

3.21

3.22

3.23

3.24

3.25

3.26

3.27

3.28

3.29

- (2) behavioral health services; 3.6
- (3) trauma services as defined by the National Uniform Billing Committee; 3.7
- (4) transplant services; 3.8
- 3.9 (5) obstetric services, newborn services, and behavioral health services provided by hospitals outside the seven-county metropolitan area; 3.10
- (6) outlier admissions; 3.11
- (7) low-volume providers; and 3.12
- (8) services provided by small rural hospitals that are not critical access hospitals. 3.13
- (f) Hospital payment rates established under paragraph (c) must incorporate the following: 3.14
- (1) for hospitals paid under the DRG methodology, the base year payment rate per 3.15 admission is standardized by the applicable Medicare wage index and adjusted by the 3.16 hospital's disproportionate population adjustment; 3.17
 - (2) for critical access hospitals, payment rates for discharges between November 1, 2014, and June 30, 2015, shall be set to the same rate of payment that applied for discharges on October 31, 2014;
 - (3) the cost and charge data used to establish hospital payment rates must only reflect inpatient services covered by medical assistance; and
 - (4) in determining hospital payment rates for discharges occurring on or after the rate year beginning January 1, 2011, through December 31, 2012, the hospital payment rate per discharge shall be based on the cost-finding methods and allowable costs of the Medicare program in effect during the base year or years. In determining hospital payment rates for discharges in subsequent base years, the per discharge rates shall be based on the cost-finding methods and allowable costs of the Medicare program in effect during the base year or years.
- (g) The commissioner shall validate the rates effective November 1, 2014, by applying 3.30 the rates established under paragraph (c), and any adjustments made to the rates under

paragraph (d) or (e), to hospital claims paid in calendar year 2013 to determine whether the total aggregate payments for the same number and types of services under the rebased rates are equal to the total aggregate payments made during calendar year 2013.

- (h) Effective for discharges occurring on or after July 1, 2017, and every two years thereafter, payment rates under this section shall be rebased to reflect only those changes in hospital costs between the existing base year or years and the next base year or years. In any year that inpatient claims volume falls below the threshold required to ensure a statistically valid sample of claims, the commissioner may combine claims data from two consecutive years to serve as the base year. Years in which inpatient claims volume is reduced or altered due to a pandemic or other public health emergency shall not be used as a base year or part of a base year if the base year includes more than one year. Changes in costs between base years shall be measured using the lower of the hospital cost index defined in subdivision 1, paragraph (a), or the percentage change in the case mix adjusted cost per claim. The commissioner shall establish the base year for each rebasing period considering the most recent year or years for which filed Medicare cost reports are available, except that the base years for the rebasing effective July 1, 2023, are calendar years 2018 and 2019. The estimated change in the average payment per hospital discharge resulting from a scheduled rebasing must be calculated and made available to the legislature by January 15 of each year in which rebasing is scheduled to occur, and must include by hospital the differential in payment rates compared to the individual hospital's costs.
- (i) Effective for discharges occurring on or after July 1, 2015, inpatient payment rates for critical access hospitals located in Minnesota or the local trade area shall be determined using a new cost-based methodology. The commissioner shall establish within the methodology tiers of payment designed to promote efficiency and cost-effectiveness. Payment rates for hospitals under this paragraph shall be set at a level that does not exceed the total cost for critical access hospitals as reflected in base year cost reports. Until the next rebasing that occurs, the new methodology shall result in no greater than a five percent decrease from the base year payments for any hospital, except a hospital that had payments that were greater than 100 percent of the hospital's costs in the base year shall have their rate set equal to 100 percent of costs in the base year. The rates paid for discharges on and after July 1, 2016, covered under this paragraph shall be increased by the inflation factor in subdivision 1, paragraph (a). The new cost-based rate shall be the final rate and shall not be settled to actual incurred costs. Hospitals shall be assigned a payment tier based on the following criteria:

4.1

4.2

4.3

4.4

4.5

4.6

4.7

4.8

4.9

4.10

4.11

4.12

4.13

4.14

4.15

4.16

4.17

4.18

4.19

4.20

4.21

4.22

4.23

4.24

4.25

4.26

4.27

4.28

4.29

4.30

4.31

4.32

4.33

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

(1) hospitals that had payments at or below 80 percent of their costs in the base year shall have a rate set that equals 85 percent of their base year costs;

- (2) hospitals that had payments that were above 80 percent, up to and including 90 percent of their costs in the base year shall have a rate set that equals 95 percent of their base year costs; and
- (3) hospitals that had payments that were above 90 percent of their costs in the base year shall have a rate set that equals 100 percent of their base year costs.
 - (j) The commissioner may refine the payment tiers and criteria for critical access hospitals to coincide with the next rebasing under paragraph (h). The factors used to develop the new methodology may include, but are not limited to:
 - (1) the ratio between the hospital's costs for treating medical assistance patients and the hospital's charges to the medical assistance program;
 - (2) the ratio between the hospital's costs for treating medical assistance patients and the hospital's payments received from the medical assistance program for the care of medical assistance patients;
 - (3) the ratio between the hospital's charges to the medical assistance program and the hospital's payments received from the medical assistance program for the care of medical assistance patients;
 - (4) the statewide average increases in the ratios identified in clauses (1), (2), and (3);
- (5) the proportion of that hospital's costs that are administrative and trends in administrative costs; and
- 5.22 (6) geographic location.

5.1

5.2

5.3

5.4

5.5

5.6

5.7

5.8

5.9

5.10

5.11

5.12

5.13

5.14

5.15

5.16

5.17

5.18

5.19

5.20

- (k) Subject to section 256.969, subdivision 2g, paragraph (i), effective for discharges occurring on or after January 1, 2024, the rates paid to hospitals described in paragraph (a), clauses (2) to (4), must include a rate factor specific to each hospital that qualifies for a medical education and research cost distribution under section 62J.692, subdivision 4, paragraph (a).
- 5.28 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2025; or upon federal approval of this section, Minnesota Statutes, section 256.969, subdivision 2g, and the teaching hospital surcharge described in Minnesota Statutes, section 256.9657, subdivision 2a; whichever is later. The commissioner of human services shall notify the revisor of statutes when federal approval is obtained.

04/16/24 06:07 pm	
-------------------	--

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256.969, is amended by adding a subdivision to

6.2	read:
6.3	Subd. 2g. Annual supplemental payments; direct and indirect physician graduate
6.4	medical education. (a) For discharges occurring on or after January 1, 2025, the
6.5	commissioner shall determine and pay annual supplemental payments to all eligible hospitals
6.6	as provided in this subdivision for direct and indirect physician graduate medical education
6.7 6.8	cost reimbursement. A hospital must be an eligible hospital to receive an annual supplemental payment under this subdivision.
6.9	(b) The commissioner must use the following information to calculate the total cost of
6.10	direct graduate medical education incurred by each eligible hospital:
6.11 6.12	(1) the total allowable direct graduate medical education cost, as calculated by adding form CMS-2552-10, worksheet B, part 1, columns 21 and 22, line 202; and
6.13	(2) the Medicaid share of total allowable direct graduate medical education cost
6.14	percentage, representing the allocation of total graduate medical education costs to Medicaid
6.15	based on the share of all Medicaid inpatient days, as reported on form CMS-2552-10,
6.16	worksheets S-2 and S-3, divided by the hospital's total inpatient days, as reported on
6.17	worksheet S-3.
6.18	(c) The commissioner may obtain the information in paragraph (b) from an eligible
6.19	hospital, upon request by the commissioner, or from the eligible hospital's most recently
6.20	filed form CMS-2552-10.
6.21	(d) The commissioner must use the following information to calculate the total allowable
6.22	indirect cost of graduate medical education incurred by each eligible hospital:
6.23	(1) for eligible hospitals that are not children's hospitals, the indirect graduate medical
6.24	education amount attributable to Medicaid, calculated based on form CMS-2552-10,
6.25	worksheet E, part A, including:
6.26	(i) the Medicare indirect medical education formula, using Medicaid variables;
6.27	(ii) Medicaid payments for inpatient services under fee-for-service and managed care,
6.28	as determined by the commissioner in consultation with each eligible hospital;
6.29	(iii) total inpatient beds available, as reported on form CMS-2552-10, worksheet E, part
6.30	A, line 4; and
6.31	(iv) full-time employees, as determined by adding form CMS-2552-10, worksheet E,
6.32	part A, lines 10 and 11; and

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2
07/10/27 00.0/ pm	COUNDLL	1111L/1111/1O	DCDTU//II

7.1	(2) for eligible hospitals that are children's hospitals:
7.2	(i) the Medicare indirect medical education formula, using Medicaid variables;
7.3	(ii) Medicaid payments for inpatient services under fee-for-service and managed care,
7.4	as determined by the commissioner in consultation with each eligible hospital;
7.5	(iii) total inpatient beds available, as reported on form CMS-2552-10, worksheet S-3,
7.6	part 1; and
7.7	(iv) full-time equivalent interns and residents, as determined by adding form
7.8	CMS-2552-10, worksheet E-4, lines 6, 10.01, and 15.01.
7.9	(e) The commissioner shall determine each eligible hospital's maximum allowable
7.10	Medicaid direct graduate medical education supplemental payment amount by calculating
7.11	the sum of:
7.12	(1) the total allowable direct graduate medical education costs determined under paragraph
7.13	(b), clause (1), multiplied by the Medicaid share of total allowable direct graduate medical
7.14	education cost percentage in paragraph (b), clause (2); and
7.15	(2) the total allowable direct graduate medical education costs determined under paragraph
7.16	(b), clause (1), multiplied by the most recently updated Medicaid utilization percentage
7.17	from form CMS-2552-10, as submitted to Medicare by each eligible hospital.
7.18	(f) The commissioner shall determine each eligible hospital's indirect graduate medical
7.19	education supplemental payment amount by multiplying the total allowable indirect cost
7.20	of graduate medical education amount calculated in paragraph (d) by:
7.21	(1) 0.95 for prospective payment system, for hospitals that are not children's hospitals
7.22	and have fewer than 50 full-time equivalent trainees;
7.23	(2) 1.0 for prospective payment system, for hospitals that are not children's hospitals
7.24	and have equal to or greater than 50 full-time equivalent trainees; and
7.25	(3) 1.05 for children's hospitals.
7.26	(g) An eligible hospital's annual supplemental payment under this subdivision equals
7.27	the sum of the amount calculated for the eligible hospital under paragraph (e) and the amount
7.28	calculated for the eligible hospital under paragraph (f).
7.29	(h) The annual supplemental payments under this subdivision are contingent upon federal
7.30	approval and must conform with the requirements for permissible supplemental payments
7.31	for direct and indirect graduate medical education under all applicable federal laws.

04/16/24 06:07 pm	
-------------------	--

8.1	(i) An eligible hospital is only eligible for reimbursement under section 62J.692 for
8.2	nonphysician graduate medical education training costs which are not accounted for in the
8.3	calculation of an annual supplemental payment under this section. An eligible hospital must
8.4	not accept reimbursement under section 62J.692 for physician graduate medical education
8.5	training costs which are accounted for in the calculation of an annual supplemental payment
8.6	under this section.
8.7	(j) For purposes of this subdivision, "children's hospital" means a Minnesota hospital
8.8	designated as a children's hospital under Medicare.
8.9	(k) For purposes of this subdivision, "eligible hospital" means a hospital located in
8.10	Minnesota:
8.11	(1) participating in Minnesota's medical assistance program;
8.12	(2) that has received fee-for-service medical assistance payments in the payment year;
8.13	<u>and</u>
8.14	(3) that is either:
8.15	(i) eligible to receive graduate medical education payments from the Medicare program
8.16	under Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, section 413.75; or
8.17	(ii) a children's hospital.
8.18	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025; or upon federal approval
8.19	of this section, the amendment in this act to Minnesota Statutes, section 256.969, subdivision
8.20	2b, and the teaching hospital surcharge described in Minnesota Statutes, section 256.9657,
8.21	subdivision 2a; whichever is later. The commissioner of human services shall notify the
8.22	revisor of statutes when federal approval is obtained.
8.23	Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256.969, is amended by adding a subdivision to
8.24	read:
8.25	Subd. 32. Biological products for cell and gene therapy. (a) Effective July 1, 2024,
8.26	the commissioner shall provide separate reimbursement to hospitals for biological products
8.27	provided in the inpatient hospital setting as part of cell or gene therapy to treat rare diseases,
8.28	as defined in United States Code, title 21, section 360bb. This payment must be separate
8.29	from the diagnostic related group reimbursement for the inpatient admission or discharge
8.30	associated with a stay during which the patient received a product subject to this paragraph.

(b) The commissioner shall establish the separate reimbursement rate for biological products provided under paragraph (a) based on the methodology used for drugs administered in an outpatient setting under section 256B.0625, subdivision 13e, paragraph (e).

(c) Upon necessary federal approval of documentation required to enter into a value-based arrangement under section 256B.0625, subdivision 13k, a drug manufacturer must enter into a value-based arrangement with the commissioner in order for a biological product provided in the inpatient hospital setting as part of cell or gene therapy to treat rare diseases to remain paid under paragraph (a). Any such value-based arrangement that replaces the payment in paragraph (a) will be effective 120 days after the date of the necessary federal approval required to enter into the value-based arrangement under section 256B.0625, subdivision 13k.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 256B.0625, subdivision 13e, is amended to read:

Subd. 13e. Payment rates. (a) The basis for determining the amount of payment shall be the lower of the ingredient costs of the drugs plus the professional dispensing fee; or the usual and customary price charged to the public. The usual and customary price means the lowest price charged by the provider to a patient who pays for the prescription by cash, check, or charge account and includes prices the pharmacy charges to a patient enrolled in a prescription savings club or prescription discount club administered by the pharmacy or pharmacy chain. The amount of payment basis must be reduced to reflect all discount amounts applied to the charge by any third-party provider/insurer agreement or contract for submitted charges to medical assistance programs. The net submitted charge may not be greater than the patient liability for the service. The professional dispensing fee shall be \$10.77 \$11.55 for prescriptions filled with legend drugs meeting the definition of "covered outpatient drugs" according to United States Code, title 42, section 1396r-8(k)(2). The dispensing fee for intravenous solutions that must be compounded by the pharmacist shall be \$10.77 \$11.55 per claim. The professional dispensing fee for prescriptions filled with over-the-counter drugs meeting the definition of covered outpatient drugs shall be \$10.77 \$11.55 for dispensed quantities equal to or greater than the number of units contained in the manufacturer's original package. The professional dispensing fee shall be prorated based on the percentage of the package dispensed when the pharmacy dispenses a quantity less than the number of units contained in the manufacturer's original package. The pharmacy dispensing fee for prescribed over-the-counter drugs not meeting the definition of covered

9.1

9.2

9.3

9.4

9.5

9.6

9.7

9.8

9.9

9.10

9.11

9.12

9.13

9.14

9.15

9.16

9.17

9.18

9.19

9.20

9.21

9.22

9.23

9.24

9.25

9.26

9.27

9.28

9.29

9.30

9.31

9.32

9.33

outpatient drugs shall be \$3.65 for quantities equal to or greater than the number of units contained in the manufacturer's original package and shall be prorated based on the percentage of the package dispensed when the pharmacy dispenses a quantity less than the number of units contained in the manufacturer's original package. The National Average Drug Acquisition Cost (NADAC) shall be used to determine the ingredient cost of a drug. For drugs for which a NADAC is not reported, the commissioner shall estimate the ingredient cost at the wholesale acquisition cost minus two percent. The ingredient cost of a drug for a provider participating in the federal 340B Drug Pricing Program shall be either the 340B Drug Pricing Program ceiling price established by the Health Resources and Services Administration or NADAC, whichever is lower. Wholesale acquisition cost is defined as the manufacturer's list price for a drug or biological to wholesalers or direct purchasers in the United States, not including prompt pay or other discounts, rebates, or reductions in price, for the most recent month for which information is available, as reported in wholesale price guides or other publications of drug or biological pricing data. The maximum allowable cost of a multisource drug may be set by the commissioner and it shall be comparable to the actual acquisition cost of the drug product and no higher than the NADAC of the generic product. Establishment of the amount of payment for drugs shall not be subject to the requirements of the Administrative Procedure Act.

- (b) Pharmacies dispensing prescriptions to residents of long-term care facilities using an automated drug distribution system meeting the requirements of section 151.58, or a packaging system meeting the packaging standards set forth in Minnesota Rules, part 6800.2700, that govern the return of unused drugs to the pharmacy for reuse, may employ retrospective billing for prescription drugs dispensed to long-term care facility residents. A retrospectively billing pharmacy must submit a claim only for the quantity of medication used by the enrolled recipient during the defined billing period. A retrospectively billing pharmacy must use a billing period not less than one calendar month or 30 days.
- (c) A pharmacy provider using packaging that meets the standards set forth in Minnesota Rules, part 6800.2700, is required to credit the department for the actual acquisition cost of all unused drugs that are eligible for reuse, unless the pharmacy is using retrospective billing. The commissioner may permit the drug clozapine to be dispensed in a quantity that is less than a 30-day supply.
- (d) If a pharmacy dispenses a multisource drug, the ingredient cost shall be the NADAC of the generic product or the maximum allowable cost established by the commissioner unless prior authorization for the brand name product has been granted according to the criteria established by the Drug Formulary Committee as required by subdivision 13f,

10.1

10.2

10.3

10.4

10.5

10.6

10.7

10.8

10.9

10.10

10.11

10.12

10.13

10.14

10.15

10.16

10.17

10.18

10.19

10.20

10.21

10.22

10.23

10.24

10.25

10.26

10.27

10.28

10.29

10.30

10.31

10.32

10.33

10.34

paragraph (a), and the prescriber has indicated "dispense as written" on the prescription in a manner consistent with section 151.21, subdivision 2.

- (e) The basis for determining the amount of payment for drugs administered in an outpatient setting shall be the lower of the usual and customary cost submitted by the provider, 106 percent of the average sales price as determined by the United States

 Department of Health and Human Services pursuant to title XVIII, section 1847a of the federal Social Security Act, the specialty pharmacy rate, or the maximum allowable cost set by the commissioner. If average sales price is unavailable, the amount of payment must be lower of the usual and customary cost submitted by the provider, the wholesale acquisition cost, the specialty pharmacy rate, or the maximum allowable cost set by the commissioner. The commissioner shall discount the payment rate for drugs obtained through the federal 340B Drug Pricing Program by 28.6 percent. The payment for drugs administered in an outpatient setting shall be made to the administering facility or practitioner. A retail or specialty pharmacy dispensing a drug for administration in an outpatient setting is not eligible for direct reimbursement.
- (f) The commissioner may establish maximum allowable cost rates for specialty pharmacy products that are lower than the ingredient cost formulas specified in paragraph (a). The commissioner may require individuals enrolled in the health care programs administered by the department to obtain specialty pharmacy products from providers with whom the commissioner has negotiated lower reimbursement rates. Specialty pharmacy products are defined as those used by a small number of recipients or recipients with complex and chronic diseases that require expensive and challenging drug regimens. Examples of these conditions include, but are not limited to: multiple sclerosis, HIV/AIDS, transplantation, hepatitis C, growth hormone deficiency, Crohn's Disease, rheumatoid arthritis, and certain forms of cancer. Specialty pharmaceutical products include injectable and infusion therapies, biotechnology drugs, antihemophilic factor products, high-cost therapies, and therapies that require complex care. The commissioner shall consult with the Formulary Committee to develop a list of specialty pharmacy products subject to maximum allowable cost reimbursement. In consulting with the Formulary Committee in developing this list, the commissioner shall take into consideration the population served by specialty pharmacy products, the current delivery system and standard of care in the state, and access to care issues. The commissioner shall have the discretion to adjust the maximum allowable cost to prevent access to care issues.
- (g) Home infusion therapy services provided by home infusion therapy pharmacies must be paid at rates according to subdivision 8d.

11.1

11.2

11.3

11.4

11.5

11.6

11.7

11.8

11.9

11.10

11.11

11.12

11.13

11.14

11.15

11.16

11.17

11.18

11.19

11.20

11.21

11.22

11.23

11.24

11.25

11.26

11.27

11.28

11.29

11.30

11.31

11.32

11.33

11.34

(h) The commissioner shall contract with a vendor to conduct a cost of dispensing survey for all pharmacies that are physically located in the state of Minnesota that dispense outpatient drugs under medical assistance. The commissioner shall ensure that the vendor has prior experience in conducting cost of dispensing surveys. Each pharmacy enrolled with the department to dispense outpatient prescription drugs to fee-for-service members must respond to the cost of dispensing survey. The commissioner may sanction a pharmacy under section 256B.064 for failure to respond. The commissioner shall require the vendor to measure a single statewide cost of dispensing for specialty prescription drugs and a single statewide cost of dispensing for nonspecialty prescription drugs for all responding pharmacies to measure the mean, mean weighted by total prescription volume, mean weighted by medical assistance prescription volume, median, median weighted by total prescription volume, and median weighted by total medical assistance prescription volume. The commissioner shall post a copy of the final cost of dispensing survey report on the department's website. The initial survey must be completed no later than January 1, 2021, and repeated every three years. The commissioner shall provide a summary of the results of each cost of dispensing survey and provide recommendations for any changes to the dispensing fee to the chairs and ranking members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over medical assistance pharmacy reimbursement. Notwithstanding section 256.01, subdivision 42, this paragraph does not expire.

(i) The commissioner shall increase the ingredient cost reimbursement calculated in paragraphs (a) and (f) by 1.8 percent for prescription and nonprescription drugs subject to the wholesale drug distributor tax under section 295.52.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 256B.0625, subdivision 13k, is amended to read:

Subd. 13k. Value-based purchasing arrangements. (a) The commissioner may enter into a value-based purchasing arrangement under medical assistance or MinnesotaCare, by written arrangement with a drug manufacturer based on agreed-upon metrics. The commissioner may contract with a vendor to implement and administer the value-based purchasing arrangement. A value-based purchasing arrangement may include but is not limited to rebates, discounts, price reductions, risk sharing, reimbursements, guarantees, shared savings payments, withholds, or bonuses. A value-based purchasing arrangement must provide at least the same value or discount in the aggregate as would claiming the mandatory federal drug rebate under the Federal Social Security Act, section 1927.

12.1

12.2

12.3

12.4

12.5

12.6

12.7

12.8

12.9

12.10

12.11

12.12

12.13

12.14

12.15

12.16

12.17

12.18

12.19

12.20

12.21

12.22

12.23

12.26

12.27

12.28

12.29

12.30

12.31

12.32

12.33

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2
07/10/27 00.0/ pm	COUNDLL	1111L/1111/10	DCDTU//II

(b) Nothing in this section shall be interpreted as requiring a drug manufacturer or the
commissioner to enter into an arrangement as described in paragraph (a).

- (c) Nothing in this section shall be interpreted as altering or modifying medical assistance coverage requirements under the federal Social Security Act, section 1927.
- (d) If the commissioner determines that a state plan amendment is necessary before implementing a value-based purchasing arrangement, the commissioner shall request the amendment and may delay implementing this provision until the amendment is approved.
- (e) The commissioner may provide separate reimbursement to hospitals for drugs provided in the inpatient hospital setting as part of a value-based purchasing arrangement. This payment must be separate from the diagnostic related group reimbursement for the inpatient admission or discharge associated with a stay during which the patient received a drug under this section. For payments made under this section, the hospital shall not be reimbursed for the drug under the payment methodology in section 256.969. The commissioner shall establish the separate reimbursement rate for drugs provided under this section based on the methodology used for drugs administered in an outpatient setting under section 256B.0625, subdivision 13e, paragraph (e).
- 13.17 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective upon federal approval. The commissioner of human services shall notify the revisor of statutes when federal approval is obtained.

Sec. 7. CONTINGENT PROPOSAL TO FUND MEDICAL EDUCATION.

- (a) If the federal Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services deny the request by the commissioner of human services to implement the teaching hospital surcharge under Minnesota Statutes, section 256.9657, subdivision 2a, the commissioner of human services, in cooperation with the commissioner of health, shall work with a third-party consultant identified by the Health Care Workforce and Education Committee established by the commissioner of health, that has agreed to provide consulting services without charge to the state, to develop a proposal to finance the nonfederal share of the medical assistance supplemental payments described in Minnesota Statutes, section 256.969, subdivision 2g.
- (b) The proposal must be designed to:
- 13.29 (1) enhance health care quality and the economic benefits that result from a well-trained workforce;
- 13.31 (2) ensure that Minnesota has trained a sufficient number of adult and pediatric primary

 13.32 and specialty care physicians by 2030;

13.1

13.2

13.3

13.4

13.5

13.6

13.7

13.8

13.9

13.10

13.11

13.12

13.13

13.14

13.15

13.16

13.19

13.20

13.21

13.22

13.23

13.24

13.25

13.26

13.27

0.4/1.6/0.4.06.07	COLDICEL	ATH ATHE	0.0004.004.0
04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

14.1	(3) improve the cultural competence of, and health care equity within, the state's medical
14.2	workforce;
14.3	(4) maintain and improve the quality of academic medical centers and teaching hospitals
14.4	within the state;
14.5	(5) strengthen Minnesota's health care infrastructure; and
14.6	(6) satisfy any requirements that would be required for approval by the federal Centers
14.7	for Medicare and Medicaid Services.
14.8	(c) The commissioner of human services shall present the proposal to the chairs and
14.9	ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over medical
14.10	education within six months of federal denial of the request by the commissioner to
14.11	implement the teaching hospital surcharge.
14.12	Sec. 8. COUNTY-ADMINISTERED RURAL MEDICAL ASSISTANCE MODEL.
14.13	Subdivision 1. Model development. (a) The commissioner of human services, in
14.14	collaboration with the Association of Minnesota Counties and county-based purchasing
14.15	plans, shall develop a county-administered rural medical assistance (CARMA) model and
14.16	a detailed plan for implementing the CARMA model.
14.17	(b) The CARMA model must be designed to achieve the following objectives:
14.18	(1) provide a distinct county-owned and administered alternative to the prepaid medical
14.19	assistance program;
14.20	(2) facilitate greater integration of health care and social services to address social
14.21	determinants of health in rural communities, with the degree of integration of social services
14.22	varying with each county's needs and resources;
14.23	(3) account for the smaller number of medical assistance enrollees and locally available
14.24	providers of behavioral health, oral health, specialty and tertiary care, nonemergency medical
14.25	transportation, and other health care services in rural communities; and
14.26	(4) promote greater accountability for health outcomes, health equity, customer service,
14.27	community outreach, and cost of care.
14.28	Subd. 2. County participation. The CARMA model must give each rural county the
14.29	option of applying to participate in the CARMA model as an alternative to participation in
14.30	the prepaid medical assistance program. The CARMA model must include a process for
14.31	the commissioner to determine whether and how a rural county can participate.

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2
-------------------	---------	-----------	------------

15.1	Subd. 3. Report to the legislature. (a) The commissioner shall report recommendations
15.2	and an implementation plan for the CARMA model to the chairs and ranking minority
15.3	members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over health care policy and finance
15.4	by January 15, 2025. The CARMA model and implementation plan must address the issues
15.5	and consider the recommendations identified in the document titled "Recommendations
15.6	Not Contingent on Outcome(s) of Current Litigation," attached to the September 13, 2022,
15.7	e-filing to the Second Judicial District Court (Correspondence for Judicial Approval Index
15.8	#102), that relates to the final contract decisions of the commissioner of human services
15.9	regarding South Country Health Alliance v. Minnesota Department of Human Services, No.
15.10	62-CV-22-907 (Ramsey Cnty. Dist. Ct. 2022).
15.11	(b) The report must also identify the clarifications, approvals, and waivers that are needed
15.12	from the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services and include any draft legislation
15.13	necessary to implement the CARMA model.
15.14	Sec. 9. <u>REVISOR INSTRUCTION.</u>
15.15	When the proposed rule published at Federal Register, volume 88, page 25313, becomes
15.16	effective, the revisor of statutes must change: (1) the reference in Minnesota Statutes, section
15.17	256B.06, subdivision 4, paragraph (d), from Code of Federal Regulations, title 8, section
15.18	103.12, to Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, section 435.4; and (2) the reference in
15.19	Minnesota Statutes, section 256L.04, subdivision 10, paragraph (a), from Code of Federal
15.20	Regulations, title 8, section 103.12, to Code of Federal Regulations, title 45, section 155.20.
15.21	The commissioner of human services shall notify the revisor of statutes when the proposed
15.22	rule published at Federal Register, volume 88, page 25313, becomes effective.
15.23	ARTICLE 2
15.24	DHS HEALTH CARE POLICY
15.25	Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 256.0471, subdivision 1, is
15.26	amended to read:
15.27	Subdivision 1. Qualifying overpayment. Any overpayment for assistance granted under
15.28	the MFIP program formerly codified under sections 256.031 to 256.0361 and the AFDC
15.29	program formerly codified under sections 256.72 to 256.871; for assistance granted under
15.30	chapters 119B, 256D, 256I, 256J, and 256K; for state-funded medical assistance under
15.31	chapter 256B and state-funded MinnesotaCare under chapter 256L granted pursuant to
15.32	section 256.045, subdivision 10; for state-funded medical assistance and state-funded
15.33	MinnesotaCare under chapters 256B and 256L; and for assistance granted under the

Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP), except agency error claims, become a judgment by operation of law 90 days after the notice of overpayment is personally served upon the recipient in a manner that is sufficient under rule 4.03(a) of the Rules of Civil Procedure for district courts, or by certified mail, return receipt requested. This judgment shall be entitled to full faith and credit in this and any other state.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.

16.1

16.2

16.3

16.4

16.5

16.6

16.7

16.8

16.9

16.14

16.15

16.16

16.17

16.18

16.19

16.20

16.21

- Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256.9657, subdivision 8, is amended to read:
- Subd. 8. Commissioner's duties. (a) Beginning October 1, 2023, the commissioner of human services shall annually report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over health care policy and finance regarding the 16.10 provider surcharge program. The report shall include information on total billings, total 16.11 collections, and administrative expenditures for the previous fiscal year. This paragraph 16.12 expires January 1, 2032. 16.13
 - (b) (a) The surcharge shall be adjusted by inflationary and caseload changes in future bienniums to maintain reimbursement of health care providers in accordance with the requirements of the state and federal laws governing the medical assistance program, including the requirements of the Medicaid moratorium amendments of 1991 found in Public Law No. 102-234.
 - (e) (b) The commissioner shall request the Minnesota congressional delegation to support a change in federal law that would prohibit federal disallowances for any state that makes a good faith effort to comply with Public Law 102-234 by enacting conforming legislation prior to the issuance of federal implementing regulations.
- Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256.969, is amended by adding a subdivision to 16.23 read: 16.24
- Subd. 2g. Alternate inpatient payment rate for a discharge. (a) Effective retroactively 16.25 from January 1, 2024, in any rate year in which a children's hospital discharge is included 16.26 in the federally required disproportionate share hospital payment audit, where the patient 16.27 discharged had resided in a children's hospital for over 20 years, the commissioner shall 16.28 16.29 compute an alternate inpatient rate for the children's hospital. The alternate payment rate must be the rate computed under this section excluding the disproportionate share hospital 16.30 payment under subdivision 9, paragraph (d), clause (1), increased by an amount equal to 16.31 99 percent of what the disproportionate share hospital payment would have been under 16.32 subdivision 9, paragraph (d), clause (1), had the discharge been excluded. 16.33

04/16/24 06:07 pm

(b) In any rate year in which payment to a children's hospital is made using this alternate payment rate, no payments shall be made to the hospital under subdivisions 2e, 2f, and 9.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective upon federal approval.

17.1

17.2

17.3

17.14

17.15

17.16

17.17

17.18

17.19

- Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256B.056, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:
- Subd. 1a. **Income and assets generally.** (a)(1) Unless specifically required by state law or rule or federal law or regulation, the methodologies used in counting income and assets to determine eligibility for medical assistance for persons whose eligibility category is based on blindness, disability, or age of 65 or more years, the methodologies for the Supplemental Security Income program shall be used, except as provided under in clause (2) and subdivision 3, paragraph (a), clause (6).
- 17.11 (2) State tax credits, rebates, and refunds must not be counted as income. State tax credits,
 17.12 rebates, and refunds must not be counted as assets for a period of 12 months after the month
 17.13 of receipt.
 - (2) (3) Increases in benefits under title II of the Social Security Act shall not be counted as income for purposes of this subdivision until July 1 of each year. Effective upon federal approval, for children eligible under section 256B.055, subdivision 12, or for home and community-based waiver services whose eligibility for medical assistance is determined without regard to parental income, child support payments, including any payments made by an obligor in satisfaction of or in addition to a temporary or permanent order for child support, and Social Security payments are not counted as income.
- (b)(1) The modified adjusted gross income methodology as defined in United States

 Code, title 42, section 1396a(e)(14), shall be used for eligibility categories based on:
- (i) children under age 19 and their parents and relative caretakers as defined in section 256B.055, subdivision 3a;
- (ii) children ages 19 to 20 as defined in section 256B.055, subdivision 16;
- (iii) pregnant women as defined in section 256B.055, subdivision 6;
- 17.27 (iv) infants as defined in sections 256B.055, subdivision 10, and 256B.057, subdivision 17.28 1; and
- (v) adults without children as defined in section 256B.055, subdivision 15.
- For these purposes, a "methodology" does not include an asset or income standard, or accounting method, or method of determining effective dates.

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

(2) For individuals whose income eligibility is determined using the modified adjusted gross income methodology in clause (1):

- (i) the commissioner shall subtract from the individual's modified adjusted gross income an amount equivalent to five percent of the federal poverty guidelines; and
- (ii) the individual's current monthly income and household size is used to determine eligibility for the 12-month eligibility period. If an individual's income is expected to vary month to month, eligibility is determined based on the income predicted for the 12-month eligibility period.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

- Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256B.056, subdivision 10, is amended to read:
- Subd. 10. **Eligibility verification.** (a) The commissioner shall require women who are applying for the continuation of medical assistance coverage following the end of the 12-month postpartum period to update their income and asset information and to submit any required income or asset verification.
- (b) The commissioner shall determine the eligibility of private-sector health care coverage for infants less than one year of age eligible under section 256B.055, subdivision 10, or 256B.057, subdivision 1, paragraph (c), and shall pay for private-sector coverage if this is determined to be cost-effective.
- (c) The commissioner shall verify assets and income for all applicants, and for all recipients upon renewal.
- (d) The commissioner shall utilize information obtained through the electronic service established by the secretary of the United States Department of Health and Human Services and other available electronic data sources in Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, sections 435.940 to 435.956, to verify eligibility requirements. The commissioner shall establish standards to define when information obtained electronically is reasonably compatible with information provided by applicants and enrollees, including use of self-attestation, to accomplish real-time eligibility determinations and maintain program integrity.
- (e) Each person applying for or receiving medical assistance under section 256B.055, subdivision 7, and any other person whose resources are required by law to be disclosed to determine the applicant's or recipient's eligibility must authorize the commissioner to obtain information from financial institutions to identify unreported accounts verify assets as required in section 256.01, subdivision 18f. If a person refuses or revokes the authorization, the commissioner may determine that the applicant or recipient is ineligible for medical

18.1

18.2

18.3

18.4

18.5

18.6

18.7

18.8

18.9

18.10

18.11

18.12

18.13

18.14

18.15

18.16

18.17

18.18

18.19

18.20

18.21

18.22

18.23

18.24

18.25

18.26

18.27

18.28

18.29

18.30

18.31

18.32

04/16/24 06:07 pm

assistance. For purposes of this paragraph, an authorization to identify unreported accounts verify assets meets the requirements of the Right to Financial Privacy Act, United States Code, title 12, chapter 35, and need not be furnished to the financial institution.

- (f) County and tribal agencies shall comply with the standards established by the commissioner for appropriate use of the asset verification system specified in section 256.01, subdivision 18f.
- 19.7 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 256B.0622, subdivision 8, is amended to read:
 - Subd. 8. Medical assistance payment for assertive community treatment and intensive residential treatment services. (a) Payment for intensive residential treatment services and assertive community treatment in this section shall be based on one daily rate per provider inclusive of the following services received by an eligible client in a given calendar day: all rehabilitative services under this section, staff travel time to provide rehabilitative services under this section, and nonresidential crisis stabilization services under section 256B.0624.
 - (b) Except as indicated in paragraph (c), payment will not be made to more than one entity for each client for services provided under this section on a given day. If services under this section are provided by a team that includes staff from more than one entity, the team must determine how to distribute the payment among the members.
 - (c) The commissioner shall determine one rate for each provider that will bill medical assistance for residential services under this section and one rate for each assertive community treatment provider. If a single entity provides both services, one rate is established for the entity's residential services and another rate for the entity's nonresidential services under this section. A provider is not eligible for payment under this section without authorization from the commissioner. The commissioner shall develop rates using the following criteria:
 - (1) the provider's cost for services shall include direct services costs, other program costs, and other costs determined as follows:
 - (i) the direct services costs must be determined using actual costs of salaries, benefits, payroll taxes, and training of direct service staff and service-related transportation;
 - (ii) other program costs not included in item (i) must be determined as a specified percentage of the direct services costs as determined by item (i). The percentage used shall be determined by the commissioner based upon the average of percentages that represent

19.1

19.2

19.3

19.4

19.5

19.6

19.9

19.10

19.11

19.12

19.13

19.14

19.15

19.16

19.17

19.18

19.19

19.20

19.21

19.22

19.23

19.24

19.25

19.26

19.27

19.28

19.29

19.30

19.31

the relationship of other program costs to direct services costs among the entities that provide similar services;

- (iii) physical plant costs calculated based on the percentage of space within the program that is entirely devoted to treatment and programming. This does not include administrative or residential space;
- 20.6 (iv) assertive community treatment physical plant costs must be reimbursed as part of 20.7 the costs described in item (ii); and
 - (v) subject to federal approval, up to an additional five percent of the total rate may be added to the program rate as a quality incentive based upon the entity meeting performance criteria specified by the commissioner;
 - (2) actual cost is defined as costs which are allowable, allocable, and reasonable, and consistent with federal reimbursement requirements under Code of Federal Regulations, title 48, chapter 1, part 31, relating to for-profit entities, and Office of Management and Budget Circular Number A-122, relating to nonprofit entities;
- 20.15 (3) the number of service units;

20.1

20.2

20.3

20.4

20.5

20.8

20.9

20.10

20.11

20.12

20.13

20.14

20.18

20.19

20.20

20.21

20.22

20.23

20.24

20.25

20.26

20.27

20.28

- 20.16 (4) the degree to which clients will receive services other than services under this section; 20.17 and
 - (5) the costs of other services that will be separately reimbursed.
 - (d) The rate for intensive residential treatment services and assertive community treatment must exclude the medical assistance room and board rate, as defined in section 256B.056, subdivision 5d, and services not covered under this section, such as partial hospitalization, home care, and inpatient services.
 - (e) Physician services that are not separately billed may be included in the rate to the extent that a psychiatrist, or other health care professional providing physician services within their scope of practice, is a member of the intensive residential treatment services treatment team. Physician services, whether billed separately or included in the rate, may be delivered by telehealth. For purposes of this paragraph, "telehealth" has the meaning given to "mental health telehealth" in section 256B.0625, subdivision 46, when telehealth is used to provide intensive residential treatment services.
- 20.30 (f) When services under this section are provided by an assertive community treatment provider, case management functions must be an integral part of the team.

(g) The rate for a provider must not exceed the rate charged by that provider for the same service to other payors.

- (h) The rates for existing programs must be established prospectively based upon the expenditures and utilization over a prior 12-month period using the criteria established in paragraph (c). The rates for new programs must be established based upon estimated expenditures and estimated utilization using the criteria established in paragraph (c).
- (i) Effective for the rate years beginning on and after January 1, 2024, rates for assertive community treatment, adult residential crisis stabilization services, and intensive residential treatment services must be annually adjusted for inflation using the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services Medicare Economic Index, as forecasted in the fourth third quarter of the calendar year before the rate year. The inflation adjustment must be based on the 12-month period from the midpoint of the previous rate year to the midpoint of the rate year for which the rate is being determined.
- (j) Entities who discontinue providing services must be subject to a settle-up process whereby actual costs and reimbursement for the previous 12 months are compared. In the event that the entity was paid more than the entity's actual costs plus any applicable performance-related funding due the provider, the excess payment must be reimbursed to the department. If a provider's revenue is less than actual allowed costs due to lower utilization than projected, the commissioner may reimburse the provider to recover its actual allowable costs. The resulting adjustments by the commissioner must be proportional to the percent of total units of service reimbursed by the commissioner and must reflect a difference of greater than five percent.
- 21.23 (k) A provider may request of the commissioner a review of any rate-setting decision made under this subdivision.
- Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 256B.0625, subdivision 9, is amended to read:
- Subd. 9. **Dental services.** (a) Medical assistance covers medically necessary dental services.
- 21.29 (b) The following guidelines apply to dental services:
- 21.30 (1) posterior fillings are paid at the amalgam rate;
- 21.31 (2) application of sealants are covered once every five years per permanent molar; and
- 21.32 (3) application of fluoride varnish is covered once every six months.

21.1

21.2

21.3

21.4

21.5

21.6

21.7

21.8

21.9

21.10

21.11

21.12

21.13

21.14

21.15

21.16

21.17

21.18

21.19

21.20

21.21

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

22.1	(c) In addition to the services specified in paragraph (b) (a), medical assistance covers
22.2	the following services:
22.3	(1) house calls or extended care facility calls for on-site delivery of covered services;
22.4	(2) behavioral management when additional staff time is required to accommodate
22.5	behavioral challenges and sedation is not used;
22.6	(3) oral or IV sedation, if the covered dental service cannot be performed safely without
22.7	it or would otherwise require the service to be performed under general anesthesia in a
22.8	hospital or surgical center; and
22.9	(4) prophylaxis, in accordance with an appropriate individualized treatment plan, but
22.10	no more than four times per year.
22.11	(d) The commissioner shall not require prior authorization for the services included in
22.12	paragraph (c), clauses (1) to (3), and shall prohibit managed care and county-based purchasing
22.13	plans from requiring prior authorization for the services included in paragraph (c), clauses
22.14	(1) to (3), when provided under sections 256B.69, 256B.692, and 256L.12.
22.15	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
22.16	Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256B.0625, subdivision 12, is amended to read:
22.17	Subd. 12. Eyeglasses, dentures, and prosthetic and orthotic devices. (a) Medical
22.18	assistance covers eyeglasses, dentures, and prosthetic and orthotic devices if prescribed by
22.19	a licensed practitioner.
22.20	(b) For purposes of prescribing prosthetic and orthotic devices, "licensed practitioner"
22.21	includes a physician, an advanced practice registered nurse, a physician assistant, or a
22.22	podiatrist.
22.23	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
22.24	Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 256B.0625, subdivision 13e, is
22.25	amended to read:
22.26	Subd. 13e. Payment rates. (a) The basis for determining the amount of payment shall
22.27	be the lower of the ingredient costs of the drugs plus the professional dispensing fee; or the
22.28	usual and customary price charged to the public. The usual and customary price means the
22.29	lowest price charged by the provider to a patient who pays for the prescription by cash,
22.30	check, or charge account and includes prices the pharmacy charges to a patient enrolled in
22.31	a prescription savings club or prescription discount club administered by the pharmacy or

pharmacy chain, unless the prescription savings club or prescription discount club is one in which individuals pay to access special rates or discounts. The amount of payment basis must be reduced to reflect all discount amounts applied to the charge by any third-party provider/insurer agreement or contract for submitted charges to medical assistance programs. The net submitted charge may not be greater than the patient liability for the service. The professional dispensing fee shall be \$10.77 for prescriptions filled with legend drugs meeting the definition of "covered outpatient drugs" according to United States Code, title 42, section 1396r-8(k)(2). The dispensing fee for intravenous solutions that must be compounded by the pharmacist shall be \$10.77 per claim. The professional dispensing fee for prescriptions filled with over-the-counter drugs meeting the definition of covered outpatient drugs shall be \$10.77 for dispensed quantities equal to or greater than the number of units contained in the manufacturer's original package. The professional dispensing fee shall be prorated based on the percentage of the package dispensed when the pharmacy dispenses a quantity less than the number of units contained in the manufacturer's original package. The pharmacy dispensing fee for prescribed over-the-counter drugs not meeting the definition of covered outpatient drugs shall be \$3.65 for quantities equal to or greater than the number of units contained in the manufacturer's original package and shall be prorated based on the percentage of the package dispensed when the pharmacy dispenses a quantity less than the number of units contained in the manufacturer's original package. The National Average Drug Acquisition Cost (NADAC) shall be used to determine the ingredient cost of a drug. For drugs for which a NADAC is not reported, the commissioner shall estimate the ingredient cost at the wholesale acquisition cost minus two percent. The ingredient cost of a drug for a provider participating in the federal 340B Drug Pricing Program shall be either the 340B Drug Pricing Program ceiling price established by the Health Resources and Services Administration or NADAC, whichever is lower. Wholesale acquisition cost is defined as the manufacturer's list price for a drug or biological to wholesalers or direct purchasers in the United States, not including prompt pay or other discounts, rebates, or reductions in price, for the most recent month for which information is available, as reported in wholesale price guides or other publications of drug or biological pricing data. The maximum allowable cost of a multisource drug may be set by the commissioner and it shall be comparable to the actual acquisition cost of the drug product and no higher than the NADAC of the generic product. Establishment of the amount of payment for drugs shall not be subject to the requirements of the Administrative Procedure Act.

(b) Pharmacies dispensing prescriptions to residents of long-term care facilities using an automated drug distribution system meeting the requirements of section 151.58, or a packaging system meeting the packaging standards set forth in Minnesota Rules, part

23.1

23.2

23.3

23.4

23.5

23.6

23.7

23.8

23.9

23.10

23.11

23.12

23.13

23.14

23.15

23.16

23.17

23.18

23.19

23.20

23.21

23.22

23.23

23.24

23.25

23.26

23.27

23.28

23.29

23.30

23.31

23.32

23.33

23.34

23.35

6800.2700, that govern the return of unused drugs to the pharmacy for reuse, may employ retrospective billing for prescription drugs dispensed to long-term care facility residents. A retrospectively billing pharmacy must submit a claim only for the quantity of medication used by the enrolled recipient during the defined billing period. A retrospectively billing pharmacy must use a billing period not less than one calendar month or 30 days.

- (c) A pharmacy provider using packaging that meets the standards set forth in Minnesota Rules, part 6800.2700, is required to credit the department for the actual acquisition cost of all unused drugs that are eligible for reuse, unless the pharmacy is using retrospective billing. The commissioner may permit the drug clozapine to be dispensed in a quantity that is less than a 30-day supply.
- (d) If a pharmacy dispenses a multisource drug, the ingredient cost shall be the NADAC of the generic product or the maximum allowable cost established by the commissioner unless prior authorization for the brand name product has been granted according to the criteria established by the Drug Formulary Committee as required by subdivision 13f, paragraph (a), and the prescriber has indicated "dispense as written" on the prescription in a manner consistent with section 151.21, subdivision 2.
- (e) The basis for determining the amount of payment for drugs administered in an outpatient setting shall be the lower of the usual and customary cost submitted by the provider, 106 percent of the average sales price as determined by the United States

 Department of Health and Human Services pursuant to title XVIII, section 1847a of the federal Social Security Act, the specialty pharmacy rate, or the maximum allowable cost set by the commissioner. If average sales price is unavailable, the amount of payment must be lower of the usual and customary cost submitted by the provider, the wholesale acquisition cost, the specialty pharmacy rate, or the maximum allowable cost set by the commissioner. The commissioner shall discount the payment rate for drugs obtained through the federal 340B Drug Pricing Program by 28.6 percent. The payment for drugs administered in an outpatient setting shall be made to the administering facility or practitioner. A retail or specialty pharmacy dispensing a drug for administration in an outpatient setting is not eligible for direct reimbursement.
- (f) The commissioner may establish maximum allowable cost rates for specialty pharmacy products that are lower than the ingredient cost formulas specified in paragraph (a). The commissioner may require individuals enrolled in the health care programs administered by the department to obtain specialty pharmacy products from providers with whom the commissioner has negotiated lower reimbursement rates. Specialty pharmacy products are defined as those used by a small number of recipients or recipients with complex and chronic

24.1

24.2

24.3

24.4

24.5

24.6

24.7

24.8

24.9

24.10

24.11

24.12

24.13

24.14

24.15

24.16

24.17

24.18

24.19

24.20

24.21

24.22

24.23

24.24

24.25

24.26

24.27

24.28

24.29

24.30

24.31

24.32

24.33

24.34

diseases that require expensive and challenging drug regimens. Examples of these conditions include, but are not limited to: multiple sclerosis, HIV/AIDS, transplantation, hepatitis C, growth hormone deficiency, Crohn's Disease, rheumatoid arthritis, and certain forms of cancer. Specialty pharmaceutical products include injectable and infusion therapies, biotechnology drugs, antihemophilic factor products, high-cost therapies, and therapies that require complex care. The commissioner shall consult with the Formulary Committee to develop a list of specialty pharmacy products subject to maximum allowable cost reimbursement. In consulting with the Formulary Committee in developing this list, the commissioner shall take into consideration the population served by specialty pharmacy products, the current delivery system and standard of care in the state, and access to care issues. The commissioner shall have the discretion to adjust the maximum allowable cost to prevent access to care issues.

- (g) Home infusion therapy services provided by home infusion therapy pharmacies must be paid at rates according to subdivision 8d.
- (h) The commissioner shall contract with a vendor to conduct a cost of dispensing survey for all pharmacies that are physically located in the state of Minnesota that dispense outpatient drugs under medical assistance. The commissioner shall ensure that the vendor has prior experience in conducting cost of dispensing surveys. Each pharmacy enrolled with the department to dispense outpatient prescription drugs to fee-for-service members must respond to the cost of dispensing survey. The commissioner may sanction a pharmacy under section 256B.064 for failure to respond. The commissioner shall require the vendor to measure a single statewide cost of dispensing for specialty prescription drugs and a single statewide cost of dispensing for nonspecialty prescription drugs for all responding pharmacies to measure the mean, mean weighted by total prescription volume, mean weighted by medical assistance prescription volume, median, median weighted by total prescription volume, and median weighted by total medical assistance prescription volume. The commissioner shall post a copy of the final cost of dispensing survey report on the department's website. The initial survey must be completed no later than January 1, 2021, and repeated every three years. The commissioner shall provide a summary of the results of each cost of dispensing survey and provide recommendations for any changes to the dispensing fee to the chairs and ranking members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over medical assistance pharmacy reimbursement. Notwithstanding section 256.01, subdivision 42, this paragraph does not expire.

25.1

25.2

25.3

25.4

25.5

25.6

25.7

25.8

25.9

25.10

25.11

25.12

25.13

25.14

25.15

25.16

25.17

25.18

25.19

25.20

25.21

25.22

25.23

25.24

25.25

25.26

25.27

25.28

25.29

25.30

25.31

25.32

(i) The commissioner shall increase the ingredient cost reimbursement calculated in paragraphs (a) and (f) by 1.8 percent for prescription and nonprescription drugs subject to the wholesale drug distributor tax under section 295.52.

- Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 256B.0701, subdivision 6, is amended to read:
- Subd. 6. Recuperative care facility rate. (a) The recuperative care facility rate is for facility costs and must be paid from state money in an amount equal to the medical assistance room and board MSA equivalent rate as defined in section 256I.03, subdivision 11a, at the time the recuperative care services were provided. The eligibility standards in chapter 256I do not apply to the recuperative care facility rate. The recuperative care facility rate is only paid when the recuperative care services rate is paid to a provider. Providers may opt to only receive the recuperative care services rate.
- 26.13 (b) Before a recipient is discharged from a recuperative care setting, the provider must 26.14 ensure that the recipient's medical condition is stabilized or that the recipient is being 26.15 discharged to a setting that is able to meet that recipient's needs.
- Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 256B.0947, subdivision 7, is amended to read:
 - Subd. 7. **Medical assistance payment and rate setting.** (a) Payment for services in this section must be based on one daily encounter rate per provider inclusive of the following services received by an eligible client in a given calendar day: all rehabilitative services, supports, and ancillary activities under this section, staff travel time to provide rehabilitative services under this section, and crisis response services under section 256B.0624.
 - (b) Payment must not be made to more than one entity for each client for services provided under this section on a given day. If services under this section are provided by a team that includes staff from more than one entity, the team shall determine how to distribute the payment among the members.
 - (c) The commissioner shall establish regional cost-based rates for entities that will bill medical assistance for nonresidential intensive rehabilitative mental health services. In developing these rates, the commissioner shall consider:
 - (1) the cost for similar services in the health care trade area;
- 26.31 (2) actual costs incurred by entities providing the services;
- 26.32 (3) the intensity and frequency of services to be provided to each client;

26.1

26.2

26.3

26.4

26.5

26.6

26.7

26.8

26.9

26.10

26.11

26.12

26.18

26.19

26.20

26.21

26.22

26.23

26.24

26.25

26.26

26.27

26.28

26.29

04/16/24 06:07 pm

27.1 (4) the degree to which clients will receive services other than services under this section; 27.2 and

(5) the costs of other services that will be separately reimbursed.

27.3

27.4

27.5

27.6

27.7

27.8

27.9

27.10

27.11

27.13

27.14

27.15

27.16

27.17

27.18

27.19

27.20

27.21

27.22

27.23

27.24

- (d) The rate for a provider must not exceed the rate charged by that provider for the same service to other payers.
- (e) Effective for the rate years beginning on and after January 1, 2024, rates must be annually adjusted for inflation using the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services Medicare Economic Index, as forecasted in the <u>fourth third</u> quarter of the calendar year before the rate year. The inflation adjustment must be based on the 12-month period from the midpoint of the previous rate year to the midpoint of the rate year for which the rate is being determined.
- Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 256B.764, is amended to read:

256B.764 REIMBURSEMENT FOR FAMILY PLANNING SERVICES.

- (a) Effective for services rendered on or after July 1, 2007, payment rates for family planning services shall be increased by 25 percent over the rates in effect June 30, 2007, when these services are provided by a community clinic as defined in section 145.9268, subdivision 1.
- (b) Effective for services rendered on or after July 1, 2013, payment rates for family planning services shall be increased by 20 percent over the rates in effect June 30, 2013, when these services are provided by a community clinic as defined in section 145.9268, subdivision 1. The commissioner shall adjust capitation rates to managed care and county-based purchasing plans to reflect this increase, and shall require plans to pass on the full amount of the rate increase to eligible community clinics, in the form of higher payment rates for family planning services.
- 27.25 (c) Effective for services provided on or after January 1, 2024, payment rates for family
 27.26 planning, when such services are provided by an eligible community clinic as defined in
 27.27 section 145.9268, subdivision 1, and abortion services shall be increased by 20 percent.
 27.28 This increase does not apply to federally qualified health centers, rural health centers, or
 27.29 Indian health services.

Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 256L.03, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. **Covered health services.** (a) "Covered health services" means the health services reimbursed under chapter 256B, with the exception of special education services, home care nursing services, adult dental care services other than services covered under section 256B.0625, subdivision 9, orthodontic services, nonemergency medical transportation services, personal care assistance and case management services, community first services and supports under section 256B.85, behavioral health home services under section 256B.0757, housing stabilization services under section 256B.051, and nursing home or intermediate care facilities services.

- (b) Covered health services shall be expanded as provided in this section.
- (c) For the purposes of covered health services under this section, "child" means an individual younger than 19 years of age.
- Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 524.3-801, is amended to read:

524.3-801 NOTICE TO CREDITORS.

28.1

28.2

28.3

28.4

28.5

28.6

28.7

28.8

28.9

28.10

28.11

28.12

28.13

28.15

28.16

28.17

28.18

28.19

28.20

28.21

28.22

28.23

28.24

28.25

28.26

28.27

28.28

28.29

28.30

28.31

28.32

- (a) Unless notice has already been given under this section, upon appointment of a general personal representative in informal proceedings or upon the filing of a petition for formal appointment of a general personal representative, notice thereof, in the form prescribed by court rule, shall be given under the direction of the court administrator by publication once a week for two successive weeks in a legal newspaper in the county wherein the proceedings are pending giving the name and address of the general personal representative and notifying creditors of the estate to present their claims within four months after the date of the court administrator's notice which is subsequently published or be forever barred, unless they are entitled to further service of notice under paragraph (b) or (c).
- (b) The personal representative shall, within three months after the date of the first publication of the notice, serve a copy of the notice upon each then known and identified creditor in the manner provided in paragraph (c). If the decedent or a predeceased spouse of the decedent received assistance for which a claim could be filed under section 246.53, 256B.15, 256D.16, or 261.04, notice to the commissioner of human services must be given under paragraph (d) instead of under this paragraph or paragraph (c). A creditor is "known" if: (i) the personal representative knows that the creditor has asserted a claim that arose during the decedent's life against either the decedent or the decedent's estate; (ii) the creditor has asserted a claim that arose during the decedent's life and the fact is clearly disclosed in

accessible financial records known and available to the personal representative; or (iii) the claim of the creditor would be revealed by a reasonably diligent search for creditors of the decedent in accessible financial records known and available to the personal representative. Under this section, a creditor is "identified" if the personal representative's knowledge of the name and address of the creditor will permit service of notice to be made under paragraph (c).

- (c) Unless the claim has already been presented to the personal representative or paid, the personal representative shall serve a copy of the notice required by paragraph (b) upon each creditor of the decedent who is then known to the personal representative and identified either by delivery of a copy of the required notice to the creditor, or by mailing a copy of the notice to the creditor by certified, registered, or ordinary first class mail addressed to the creditor at the creditor's office or place of residence.
- (d)(1) Effective for decedents dying on or after July 1, 1997, if the decedent or a predeceased spouse of the decedent received assistance for which a claim could be filed under section 246.53, 256B.15, 256D.16, or 261.04, the personal representative or the attorney for the personal representative shall serve the commissioner of human services with notice in the manner prescribed in paragraph (c), or electronically in a manner prescribed by the commissioner, as soon as practicable after the appointment of the personal representative. The notice must state the decedent's full name, date of birth, and Social Security number and, to the extent then known after making a reasonably diligent inquiry, the full name, date of birth, and Social Security number for each of the decedent's predeceased spouses. The notice may also contain a statement that, after making a reasonably diligent inquiry, the personal representative has determined that the decedent did not have any predeceased spouses or that the personal representative has been unable to determine one or more of the previous items of information for a predeceased spouse of the decedent. A copy of the notice to creditors must be attached to and be a part of the notice to the commissioner.
- (2) Notwithstanding a will or other instrument or law to the contrary, except as allowed in this paragraph, no property subject to administration by the estate may be distributed by the estate or the personal representative until 70 days after the date the notice is served on the commissioner as provided in paragraph (c), unless the local agency consents as provided for in clause (6). This restriction on distribution does not apply to the personal representative's sale of real or personal property, but does apply to the net proceeds the estate receives from these sales. The personal representative, or any person with personal knowledge of the facts, may provide an affidavit containing the description of any real or personal property affected

29.1

29.2

29.3

29.4

29.5

29.6

29.7

29.8

29.9

29.10

29.11

29.12

29.13

29.14

29.15

29.16

29.17

29.18

29.19

29.20

29.21

29.22

29.23

29.24

29.25

29.26

29.27

29.28

29.29

29.30

29.31

29.32

29.33

29.34

by this paragraph and stating facts showing compliance with this paragraph. If the affidavit describes real property, it may be filed or recorded in the office of the county recorder or registrar of titles for the county where the real property is located. This paragraph does not apply to proceedings under sections 524.3-1203 and 525.31, or when a duly authorized agent of a county is acting as the personal representative of the estate.

- (3) At any time before an order or decree is entered under section 524.3-1001 or 524.3-1002, or a closing statement is filed under section 524.3-1003, the personal representative or the attorney for the personal representative may serve an amended notice on the commissioner to add variations or other names of the decedent or a predeceased spouse named in the notice, the name of a predeceased spouse omitted from the notice, to add or correct the date of birth or Social Security number of a decedent or predeceased spouse named in the notice, or to correct any other deficiency in a prior notice. The amended notice must state the decedent's name, date of birth, and Social Security number, the case name, case number, and district court in which the estate is pending, and the date the notice being amended was served on the commissioner. If the amendment adds the name of a predeceased spouse omitted from the notice, it must also state that spouse's full name, date of birth, and Social Security number. The amended notice must be served on the commissioner in the same manner as the original notice. Upon service, the amended notice relates back to and is effective from the date the notice it amends was served, and the time for filing claims arising under section 246.53, 256B.15, 256D.16 or 261.04 is extended by 60 days from the date of service of the amended notice. Claims filed during the 60-day period are undischarged and unbarred claims, may be prosecuted by the entities entitled to file those claims in accordance with section 524.3-1004, and the limitations in section 524.3-1006 do not apply. The personal representative or any person with personal knowledge of the facts may provide and file or record an affidavit in the same manner as provided for in clause (1).
- (4) Within one year after the date an order or decree is entered under section 524.3-1001 or 524.3-1002 or a closing statement is filed under section 524.3-1003, any person who has an interest in property that was subject to administration by the estate may serve an amended notice on the commissioner to add variations or other names of the decedent or a predeceased spouse named in the notice, the name of a predeceased spouse omitted from the notice, to add or correct the date of birth or Social Security number of a decedent or predeceased spouse named in the notice, or to correct any other deficiency in a prior notice. The amended notice must be served on the commissioner in the same manner as the original notice and must contain the information required for amendments under clause (3). If the amendment

30.1

30.2

30.3

30.4

30.5

30.6

30.7

30.8

30.9

30.10

30.11

30.12

30.13

30.14

30.15

30.16

30.17

30.18

30.19

30.20

30.21

30.22

30.23

30.24

30.25

30.26

30.27

30.28

30.29

30.30

30.31

30.32

30.33

30.34

adds the name of a predeceased spouse omitted from the notice, it must also state that spouse's full name, date of birth, and Social Security number. Upon service, the amended notice relates back to and is effective from the date the notice it amends was served. If the amended notice adds the name of an omitted predeceased spouse or adds or corrects the Social Security number or date of birth of the decedent or a predeceased spouse already named in the notice, then, notwithstanding any other laws to the contrary, claims against the decedent's estate on account of those persons resulting from the amendment and arising under section 246.53, 256B.15, 256D.16, or 261.04 are undischarged and unbarred claims, may be prosecuted by the entities entitled to file those claims in accordance with section 524.3-1004, and the limitations in section 524.3-1006 do not apply. The person filing the amendment or any other person with personal knowledge of the facts may provide and file or record an affidavit describing affected real or personal property in the same manner as clause (1).

- (5) After one year from the date an order or decree is entered under section 524.3-1001 or 524.3-1002, or a closing statement is filed under section 524.3-1003, no error, omission, or defect of any kind in the notice to the commissioner required under this paragraph or in the process of service of the notice on the commissioner, or the failure to serve the commissioner with notice as required by this paragraph, makes any distribution of property by a personal representative void or voidable. The distributee's title to the distributed property shall be free of any claims based upon a failure to comply with this paragraph.
- (6) The local agency may consent to a personal representative's request to distribute property subject to administration by the estate to distributees during the 70-day period after service of notice on the commissioner. The local agency may grant or deny the request in whole or in part and may attach conditions to its consent as it deems appropriate. When the local agency consents to a distribution, it shall give the estate a written certificate evidencing its consent to the early distribution of assets at no cost. The certificate must include the name, case number, and district court in which the estate is pending, the name of the local agency, describe the specific real or personal property to which the consent applies, state that the local agency consents to the distribution of the specific property described in the consent during the 70-day period following service of the notice on the commissioner, state that the consent is unconditional or list all of the terms and conditions of the consent, be dated, and may include other contents as may be appropriate. The certificate must be signed by the director of the local agency or the director's designees and is effective as of the date it is dated unless it provides otherwise. The signature of the director or the director's designee does not require any acknowledgment. The certificate shall be prima facie evidence of the

31.1

31.2

31.3

31.4

31.5

31.6

31.7

31.8

31.9

31.10

31.11

31.12

31.13

31.14

31.15

31.16

31.17

31.18

31.19

31.20

31.21

31.22

31.23

31.24

31.25

31.26

31.27

31.28

31.29

31.30

31.31

31.32

31.33

31.34

facts it states, may be attached to or combined with a deed or any other instrument of conveyance and, when so attached or combined, shall constitute a single instrument. If the certificate describes real property, it shall be accepted for recording or filing by the county recorder or registrar of titles in the county in which the property is located. If the certificate describes real property and is not attached to or combined with a deed or other instrument of conveyance, it shall be accepted for recording or filing by the county recorder or registrar of titles in the county in which the property is located. The certificate constitutes a waiver of the 70-day period provided for in clause (2) with respect to the property it describes and is prima facie evidence of service of notice on the commissioner. The certificate is not a waiver or relinquishment of any claims arising under section 246.53, 256B.15, 256D.16, or 261.04, and does not otherwise constitute a waiver of any of the personal representative's duties under this paragraph. Distributees who receive property pursuant to a consent to an early distribution shall remain liable to creditors of the estate as provided for by law.

(7) All affidavits provided for under this paragraph:

32.1

32.2

32.3

32.4

32.5

32.6

32.7

32.8

32.9

32.10

32.11

32.12

32.13

32.14

32.20

- 32.15 (i) shall be provided by persons who have personal knowledge of the facts stated in the affidavit;
- (ii) may be filed or recorded in the office of the county recorder or registrar of titles in the county in which the real property they describe is located for the purpose of establishing compliance with the requirements of this paragraph; and
 - (iii) are prima facie evidence of the facts stated in the affidavit.
- (8) This paragraph applies to the estates of decedents dying on or after July 1, 1997.

 Clause (5) also applies with respect to all notices served on the commissioner of human

 services before July 1, 1997, under Laws 1996, chapter 451, article 2, section 55. All notices

 served on the commissioner before July 1, 1997, pursuant to Laws 1996, chapter 451, article

 2, section 55, shall be deemed to be legally sufficient for the purposes for which they were

 intended, notwithstanding any errors, omissions or other defects.

32.27 **ARTICLE 3**

32.28 **HEALTH CARE**

- 32.29 Section 1. **[62J.805] DEFINITIONS.**
- Subdivision 1. Application. For purposes of sections 62J.805 to 62J.808, the following terms have the meanings given.
- 32.32 <u>Subd. 2.</u> <u>Health care provider.</u> "Health care provider" means:

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

33.1	(1) a health professional who is licensed or registered by the state to provide health
33.2	treatments and services within the professional's scope of practice and in accordance with
33.3	state law;
33.4	(2) a group practice; or
33.5	(3) a hospital.
33.6	Subd. 3. Health plan. "Health plan" has the meaning given in section 62A.011,
33.7	subdivision 3.
33.8	Subd. 4. Hospital. "Hospital" means a health care facility licensed as a hospital under
33.9	sections 144.50 to 144.56.
33.10	Subd. 5. Group practice. "Group practice" has the meaning given to health care provider
33.11	group practice in section 145D.01, subdivision 1.
33.12	Subd. 6. Medically necessary. "Medically necessary" means:
33.13	(1) safe and effective;
33.14	(2) not experimental or investigational, except as set forth in Code of Federal Regulations,
33.15	title 42, section 411.15(o);
33.16	(3) furnished in accordance with acceptable medical standards of medical practice for
33.17	the diagnosis or treatment of the patient's condition or to improve the function of a malformed
33.18	body member;
33.19	(4) furnished in a setting appropriate to the patient's medical need and condition;
33.20	(5) ordered and furnished by qualified personnel;
33.21	(6) meets, but does not exceed, the patient's medical need; and
33.22	(7) is at least as beneficial as an existing and available medically appropriate alternative.
33.23	Subd. 7. Miscode. "Miscode" means a health care provider or a health care provider's
33.24	designee, using a coding system and for billing purposes, assigns a numeric or alphanumeric
33.25	code to a health treatment or service provided to a patient and the code assigned does not
33.26	accurately reflect the health treatment or service provided based on factors that include the
33.27	patient's diagnosis and the complexity of the patient's condition.
33.28	Subd. 8. Payment. "Payment" includes co-payments and coinsurance and deductible
33.29	payments made by a patient.

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2
07/10/27 00.0/ pm	COUNDLL	1111L/1111/10	DCDTU//II

34.1	Sec. 2. [62J.806] POLICY FOR COLLECTION OF MEDICAL DEBT.
34.2	Subdivision 1. Requirement. Each health care provider must make available to the
34.3	public the health care provider's policy for the collection of medical debt from patients. This
34.4	policy must be made available by:
34.5	(1) clearly posting it on the health care provider's website, or for health professionals,
34.6	on the website of the health clinic, group practice, or hospital at which the health professional
34.7	is employed or under contract; and
34.8	(2) providing a copy of the policy to any individual who requests it.
34.9	Subd. 2. Content. A policy made available under this section must at least specify the
34.10	procedures followed by the health care provider for:
34.11	(1) communicating with patients about the medical debt owed and collecting medical
34.12	debt;
34.13	(2) referring medical debt to a collection agency or law firm for collection; and
34.14	(3) identifying medical debt as uncollectible or satisfied, and ending collection activities.
34.15	Sec. 3. [62J.807] DENIAL OF HEALTH TREATMENTS OR SERVICES DUE TO
34.16	OUTSTANDING MEDICAL DEBT.
34.17	(a) A health care provider must not deny medically necessary health treatments or services
34.18	to a patient or any member of the patient's family or household because of outstanding or
34.19	previously outstanding medical debt owed by the patient or any member of the patient's
34.20	family or household to the health care provider, regardless of whether the health treatment
34.21	or service may be available from another health care provider.
34.22	(b) As a condition of providing medically necessary health treatments or services in the
34.23	circumstances described in paragraph (a), a health care provider may require the patient to
34.24	enroll in a payment plan for the outstanding medical debt owed to the health care provider.
34.25	Sec. 4. [62J.808] BILLING AND PAYMENT FOR MISCODED HEALTH
34.26	TREATMENTS AND SERVICES.
34.27	Subdivision 1. Participation and cooperation required. Each health care provider
34.28	must participate in, and cooperate with, all processes and investigations to identify, review,
34.29	and correct the coding of health treatments and services that are miscoded by the health
34.30	care provider or a designee.

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

35.1	Subd. 2. Notice; billing and payment during review. (a) When a health care provider
35.2	receives notice, other than notice from a health plan company as provided in paragraph (b),
35.3	or otherwise determines that a health treatment or service may have been miscoded, the
35.4	health care provider must notify the health plan company administering the patient's health
35.5	plan in a timely manner of the potentially miscoded health treatment or service.
35.6	(b) When a health plan company receives notice, other than notice from a health care
35.7	provider as provided in paragraph (a), or otherwise determines that a health treatment or
35.8	service may have been miscoded, the health plan company must notify the health care
35.9	provider who provided the health treatment or service of the potentially miscoded health
35.10	treatment or service.
35.11	(c) When a review of a potentially miscoded health treatment or service is commenced,
35.12	the health care provider and health plan company must notify the patient that a miscoding
35.13	review is being conducted and that the patient will not be billed for any health treatment or
35.14	service subject to the review and is not required to submit payments for any health treatment
35.15	or service subject to the review until the review is complete and any miscoded health
35.16	treatments or services are correctly coded.
35.17	(d) While a review of a potentially miscoded health treatment or service is being
35.18	conducted, the health care provider and health plan company must not bill the patient for,
35.19	or accept payment from the patient for, any health treatment or service subject to the review.
35.20	Subd. 3. Billing and payment after completion of review. The health care provider
35.21	and health plan company may bill the patient for, and accept payment from the patient for,
35.22	the health treatment or service that was subject to the miscoding review only after the review
35.23	is complete and any miscoded health treatments or services have been correctly coded.
35.24	Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 62V.02, is amended by adding a subdivision to
35.25	read:
35.26	Subd. 7a. MinnesotaCare public option. "MinnesotaCare public option" or "public
35.27	option" has the meaning provided in section 256L.01, subdivision 5a.
35.28	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2028, or upon federal approval,
35.29	whichever is later. The commissioner of commerce shall notify the revisor of statutes when
35.30	federal approval is obtained.

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

36.1	Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 62V.02, is amended by adding a subdivision to
36.2	read:
36.3	Subd. 7b. MinnesotaCare public option enrollee. "MinnesotaCare public option
36.4	enrollee" or "public option enrollee" has the meaning provided in section 256L.01,
36.5	subdivision 5b.
36.6	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2028, or upon federal approval,
36.7	whichever is later. The commissioner of commerce shall notify the revisor of statutes when
36.8	federal approval is obtained.
36.9	Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 62V.03, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
36.10	Subdivision 1. Creation. MNsure is created as a board under section 15.012, paragraph
36.11	(a), to:
36.12	(1) promote informed consumer choice, innovation, competition, quality, value, market
36.13	participation, affordability, suitable and meaningful choices, health improvement, care
36.14	management, reduction of health disparities, and portability of health plans and the public
36.15	option;
36.16	(2) facilitate and simplify the comparison, choice, enrollment, and purchase of health
36.17	plans for individuals purchasing in the individual market through MNsure and, for employees
36.18	and employers purchasing in the small group market through MNsure, and for individuals
36.19	purchasing the public option;
36.20	(3) assist small employers with access to small business health insurance tax credits and
36.21	to assist individuals with access to public health care programs, premium assistance tax
36.22	credits and cost-sharing reductions, and certificates of exemption from individual
36.23	responsibility requirements;
36.24	(4) facilitate the integration and transition of individuals between public health care
36.25	programs, including the public option, and health plans in the individual or group market
36.26	and develop processes that, to the maximum extent possible, provide for continuous coverage;
36.27	and
36.28	(5) establish and modify as necessary a name and brand for MNsure based on market
36.29	studies that show maximum effectiveness in attracting the uninsured and motivating them
36.30	to take action-; and
36.31	(6) ensure simple, convenient, and understandable access to enrollment in the public
36.32	option through the MNsure website.

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2028, or upon federal approval, 37.1 whichever is later. The commissioner of commerce shall notify the revisor of statutes when 37.2 federal approval is obtained. 37.3 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 62V.03, subdivision 3, is amended to read: 37.4 Subd. 3. Continued operation of a private marketplace. (a) Nothing in this chapter 37.5 shall be construed to prohibit: (1) a health carrier from offering outside of MNsure a health 37.6 37.7 plan to a qualified individual or qualified employer; and (2) a qualified individual from enrolling in, or a qualified employer from selecting for its employees, a health plan offered 37.8 outside of MNsure. 37.9 (b) Nothing in this chapter shall be construed to restrict the choice of a qualified individual 37.10 to enroll or not enroll in a qualified health plan, the public option, or to participate in MNsure. 37.11 Nothing in this chapter shall be construed to compel an individual to enroll in a qualified 37.12 health plan, the public option, or to participate in MNsure. 37.13 (c) For purposes of this subdivision, "qualified individual" and "qualified employer" 37.14 have the meanings given in section 1312 of the Affordable Care Act, Public Law 111-148, 37.15 37.16 and further defined through amendments to the act and regulations issued under the act. **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2028, or upon federal approval, 37.17 37.18 whichever is later. The commissioner of commerce shall notify the revisor of statutes when federal approval is obtained. 37.19 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 62V.05, subdivision 3, is amended to read: 37.20 Subd. 3. Insurance producers. (a) By April 30, 2013, the board, in consultation with 37.21 the commissioner of commerce, shall establish certification requirements that must be met 37.22 by insurance producers in order to assist individuals and small employers with purchasing 37.23 coverage through MNsure. Prior to January 1, 2015, the board may amend the requirements, 37.24 only if necessary, due to a change in federal rules. 37.25 37.26 (b) Certification requirements under paragraph (a) shall not exceed the requirements established under Code of Federal Regulations, title 45, part section 155.220. Certification 37.27 shall include training on health plans available through MNsure, available tax credits and 37.28 cost-sharing arrangements, compliance with privacy and security standards, eligibility 37.29 verification processes, online enrollment tools, and basic information on available public 37.30

37.31

health care programs. Training required for certification under this subdivision shall qualify

for continuing education requirements for insurance producers required under chapter 60K, and must comply with course approval requirements under chapter 45.

- (c) <u>For enrollment in qualified health plans</u>, producer compensation shall be established by health carriers that provide health plans through MNsure. The structure of compensation to insurance producers must be similar for health plans sold through MNsure and outside MNsure.
- (d) Any insurance producer compensation structure established by a health carrier for the small group market must include compensation for defined contribution plans that involve multiple health carriers. The compensation offered must be commensurate with other small group market defined health plans.
- (e) Any insurance producer assisting an individual or small employer with purchasing coverage through MNsure must disclose, orally and in writing, to the individual or small employer at the time of the first solicitation with the prospective purchaser the following:
- (1) the health carriers and qualified health plans offered through MNsure that the producer is authorized to sell, and that the producer may not be authorized to sell all the qualified health plans offered through MNsure;
- (2) that the producer may be receiving compensation from a health carrier for enrolling the individual or small employer into a particular health plan; and
- (3) that information on all qualified health plans offered through MNsure and the public option is available through the MNsure website-; and
- 38.21 (4) that the producer may receive compensation from the state for enrolling an individual
 38.22 in the public option.
 - For purposes of this paragraph, "solicitation" means any contact by a producer, or any person acting on behalf of a producer made for the purpose of selling or attempting to sell coverage through MNsure. If the first solicitation is made by telephone, the disclosures required under this paragraph need not be made in writing, but the fact that disclosure has been made must be acknowledged on the application.
 - (f) Beginning January 15, 2015, each health carrier that offers or sells qualified health plans through MNsure shall report in writing to the board and the commissioner of commerce the compensation and other incentives it offers or provides to insurance producers with regard to each type of health plan the health carrier offers or sells both inside and outside of MNsure. Each health carrier shall submit a report annually and upon any change to the compensation or other incentives offered or provided to insurance producers.

38.1

38.2

38.3

38.4

38.5

38.6

38.7

38.8

38.9

38.10

38.11

38.12

38.13

38.14

38.15

38.16

38.17

38.18

38.19

38.20

38.23

38.24

38.25

38.26

38.27

38.28

38.29

38.30

38.31

38.32

04/16/24 06:0 / pm	.6/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699
--------------------	----------------	---------	-----------	---------

(g) Nothing in this chapter shall prohibit an insurance producer from offering professional advice and recommendations to a small group purchaser based upon information provided to the producer.

- (h) An insurance producer that offers health plans in the small group market shall notify each small group purchaser of which group health plans qualify for Internal Revenue Service approved section 125 tax benefits. The insurance producer shall also notify small group purchasers of state law provisions that benefit small group plans when the employer agrees to pay 50 percent or more of its employees' premium. Individuals who are eligible for cost-effective medical assistance will count toward the 75 percent participation requirement in section 62L.03, subdivision 3.
- (i) Nothing in this subdivision shall be construed to limit the licensure requirements or regulatory functions of the commissioner of commerce under chapter 60K.
- (j) The board may establish certification requirements that must be met by insurance producers in order to assist individuals with enrolling in the public option.
- 39.15 (k) Health carriers must pay an insurance producer a \$...... application assistance bonus 39.16 for each applicant the insurance producer successfully enrolls in the public option.
- EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective upon federal approval of the state's section 1332 waiver request to establish a public option. The commissioner of commerce shall notify the revisor of statutes when federal approval is obtained.
- Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 62V.05, subdivision 6, is amended to read:
 - Subd. 6. **Appeals.** (a) The board may conduct hearings, appoint hearing officers, and recommend final orders related to appeals of any MNsure determinations, except for those determinations identified in paragraph (d). An appeal by a health carrier regarding a specific certification or selection determination made by MNsure under subdivision 5 must be conducted as a contested case proceeding under chapter 14, with the report or order of the administrative law judge constituting the final decision in the case, subject to judicial review under sections 14.63 to 14.69. For other appeals, the board shall establish hearing processes which provide for a reasonable opportunity to be heard and timely resolution of the appeal and which are consistent with the requirements of federal law and guidance. An appealing party may be represented by legal counsel at these hearings, but this is not a requirement.
 - (b) MNsure may establish service-level agreements with state agencies to conduct hearings for appeals. Notwithstanding section 471.59, subdivision 1, a state agency is authorized to enter into service-level agreements for this purpose with MNsure.

39.1

39.2

39.3

39.4

39.5

39.6

39.7

39.8

39.9

39.10

39.11

39.12

39.13

39.14

39.21

39.22

39.23

39.24

39.25

39.26

39.27

39.28

39.29

39.30

39.31

39.32

(c) For proceedings under this subdivision, MNsure may be represented by an attorney who is an employee of MNsure.

- (d) This subdivision does not apply to appeals of determinations where a state agency hearing is available under section 256.045.
- (e) An appellant aggrieved by an order of MNsure issued in an eligibility appeal, as defined in Minnesota Rules, part 7700.0101, may appeal the order to the district court of the appellant's county of residence by serving a written copy of a notice of appeal upon MNsure and any other adverse party of record within 30 days after the date MNsure issued the order, the amended order, or order affirming the original order, and by filing the original notice and proof of service with the court administrator of the district court. Service may be made personally or by mail; service by mail is complete upon mailing; no filing fee shall be required by the court administrator in appeals taken pursuant to this subdivision. MNsure shall furnish all parties to the proceedings with a copy of the decision and a transcript of any testimony, evidence, or other supporting papers from the hearing held before the appeals examiner within 45 days after service of the notice of appeal.
- (f) Any party aggrieved by the failure of an adverse party to obey an order issued by MNsure may compel performance according to the order in the manner prescribed in sections 586.01 to 586.12.
- (g) Any party may obtain a hearing at a special term of the district court by serving a written notice of the time and place of the hearing at least ten days prior to the date of the hearing. The court may consider the matter in or out of chambers, and shall take no new or additional evidence unless it determines that such evidence is necessary for a more equitable disposition of the appeal.
- (h) Any party aggrieved by the order of the district court may appeal the order as in other civil cases. No costs or disbursements shall be taxed against any party nor shall any filing fee or bond be required of any party.
- (i) If MNsure or district court orders eligibility for qualified health plan coverage through MNsure, the MinnesotaCare public option, or eligibility for federal advance payment of premium tax credits or cost-sharing reductions contingent upon full payment of respective premiums, the premiums must be paid or provided pending appeal to the district court, court of appeals, or supreme court. Provision of eligibility by MNsure pending appeal does not render moot MNsure's position in a court of law.

40.1

40.2

40.3

40.4

40.5

40.6

40.7

40.8

40.9

40.10

40.11

40.12

40.13

40.14

40.15

40.16

40.17

40.18

40.19

40.20

40.21

40.22

40.23

40.24

40.25

40.26

40.27

40.28

40.29

40.30

40.31

04/16/24 06:07 pm

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2028, or upon federal approval, 41.1 whichever is later. The commissioner of commerce shall notify the revisor of statutes when 41.2 federal approval is obtained. 41.3 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 62V.05, subdivision 11, is amended to read: 41.4 Subd. 11. Prohibition on other product lines. MNsure is prohibited from certifying, 41.5 selecting, or offering products and policies of coverage that do not meet the definition of 41.6 41.7 health plan or dental plan as provided in section 62V.02. Nothing in this subdivision prevents the commissioner of human services from offering the public option on the MNsure website. 41.8 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2028, or upon federal approval, 41.9 whichever is later. The commissioner of commerce shall notify the revisor of statutes when 41.10 federal approval is obtained. 41.11 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 62V.05, subdivision 12, is amended to read: 41.12 Subd. 12. Reports on interagency agreements and intra-agency transfers. The 41.13 MNsure Board shall provide quarterly reports to the chairs and ranking minority members 41.14 of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over health and human services policy and 41.15 finance on: legislative reports on interagency agreements and intra-agency transfers according 41.16 to section 15.0395. 41.17 (1) interagency agreements or service-level agreements and any renewals or extensions 41.18 of existing interagency or service-level agreements with a state department under section 41.19 15.01, state agency under section 15.012, or the Department of Information Technology 41.20 Services, with a value of more than \$100,000, or related agreements with the same department 41.21 or agency with a cumulative value of more than \$100,000; and 41.22 (2) transfers of appropriations of more than \$100,000 between accounts within or between 41.23 41.24 agencies. The report must include the statutory citation authorizing the agreement, transfer or dollar 41.25 41.26 amount, purpose, and effective date of the agreement, the duration of the agreement, and a copy of the agreement. 41.27 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment. 41.28

04/16/24 06:07 pm

Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 62V.05, is amended by adding a subdivision to

- Subd. 13. **MinnesotaCare public option.** The board has the powers and duties provided
- in section 62V.14, with respect to the MinnesotaCare public option.
- 42.5 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2028, or upon federal approval,
- whichever is later. The commissioner of commerce shall notify the revisor of statutes when
- 42.7 <u>federal approval is obtained.</u>

read:

42.2

42.9

42.10

42.11

42.12

42.13

42.14

42.15

42.16

42.17

42.18

42.19

42.20

42.21

42.22

42.23

42.24

42.25

Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 62V.051, is amended to read:

62V.051 MNSURE; CONSUMER RETROACTIVE APPOINTMENT OF A NAVIGATOR OR PRODUCER PERMITTED.

Notwithstanding any other law or rule to the contrary, for up to six months after the effective date of the qualified health plan or coverage under the public option, MNsure must permit a qualified health plan policyholder or public option enrollee, who has not designated a navigator or an insurance producer, to retroactively appoint a navigator or insurance producer. In the case of a qualified health plan, MNsure must provide notice of the retroactive appointment to the health carrier. The health carrier must retroactively pay commissions to the insurance producer if the producer can demonstrate that they were certified by MNsure at the time of the original enrollment, were appointed by the selected health carrier at the time of the effective date of the policy. MNsure must adopt a standard form of agent of record agreement for purposes of this section. In the case of the public option, MNsure must provide notice of the retroactive appointment to the managed care or county-based purchasing plan, and the plan must retroactively pay commissions to the insurance producer if the producer can demonstrate they were certified by MNsure at the time of the original enrollment.

- 42.26 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2028, or upon federal approval,
 42.27 whichever is later. The commissioner of commerce shall notify the revisor of statutes when
 42.28 federal approval is obtained.
- Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 62V.06, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
- Subd. 4. **Application and certification data.** (a) Data submitted by an insurance producer in an application for certification to sell a health plan or the public option through MNsure,

04/16/24 06:07 pm

or submitted by an applicant seeking permission or a commission to act as a navigator or in-person assister, are classified as follows:

- (1) at the time the application is submitted, all data contained in the application are private data, as defined in section 13.02, subdivision 12, or nonpublic data as defined in section 13.02, subdivision 9, except that the name of the applicant is public; and
- (2) upon a final determination related to the application for certification by MNsure, all data contained in the application are public, with the exception of trade secret data as defined in section 13.37.
- (b) Data created or maintained by a government entity as part of the evaluation of an application are protected nonpublic data, as defined in section 13.02, subdivision 13, until a final determination as to certification is made and all rights of appeal have been exhausted. Upon a final determination and exhaustion of all rights of appeal, these data are public, with the exception of trade secret data as defined in section 13.37 and data subject to attorney-client privilege or other protection as provided in section 13.393.
- (c) If an application is denied, the public data must include the criteria used by the board to evaluate the application and the specific reasons for the denial, and these data must be published on the MNsure website.
- EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2028, or upon federal approval,
 whichever is later. The commissioner of commerce shall notify the revisor of statutes when
 federal approval is obtained.
- Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 62V.08, is amended to read:
- 43.22 **62V.08 REPORTS.**

43.1

43.2

43.3

43.4

43.5

43.6

43.7

43.8

43.9

43.10

43.11

43.12

43.13

43.14

43.15

43.16

43.17

43.30

43.31

43.32

- (a) MNsure shall submit a report to the legislature by January 15, 2015 March 31, 2025, and each January 15 March 31 thereafter, on: (1) the performance of MNsure operations; (2) meeting MNsure responsibilities; (3) an accounting of MNsure budget activities; (4) practices and procedures that have been implemented to ensure compliance with data practices laws, and a description of any violations of data practices laws or procedures; and (5) the effectiveness of the outreach and implementation activities of MNsure in reducing the rate of uninsurance.
 - (b) MNsure must publish its administrative and operational costs on a website to educate consumers on those costs. The information published must include: (1) the amount of premiums and federal premium subsidies collected; (2) the amount and source of revenue received under section 62V.05, subdivision 1, paragraph (b), clause (3); (3) the amount and

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

source of any other fees collected for purposes of supporting operations; and (4) any misuse of funds as identified in accordance with section 3.975. The website must be updated at least annually.

- Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 62V.11, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
- Subd. 4. **Review of costs.** The board shall submit for review the annual budget of MNsure for the next fiscal year by March 15 31 of each year, beginning March 15, 2014 31, 2025.
- Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 62V.13, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
- Subd. 3. **Outreach letter and special enrollment period.** (a) MNsure must provide a written letter of the projected assessment under subdivision 2 to a taxpayer who indicates to the commissioner of revenue that the taxpayer is interested in obtaining information on access to health insurance.
 - (b) MNsure must allow a special enrollment period for taxpayers who receive the outreach letter in paragraph (a) and are determined eligible to enroll in a qualified health plan through MNsure or in the public option. The triggering event for the special enrollment period is the day the outreach letter under this subdivision is mailed to the taxpayer. An eligible individual, and their dependents, have 65 days from the triggering event to select a qualifying health plan or the public option and coverage for the qualifying health plan or the public option is effective the first day of the month after plan selection.
 - (c) Taxpayers who have a member of the taxpayer's household currently enrolled in a qualified health plan through MNsure or in the public option are not eligible for the special enrollment under paragraph (b).
- (d) MNsure must provide information to the general public about the easy enrollment health insurance outreach program and the special enrollment period described in this subdivision.
- EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2028, or upon federal approval,
 whichever is later. The commissioner of commerce shall notify the revisor of statutes when
 federal approval is obtained.
- Sec. 19. [62V.14] PUBLIC OPTION; APPLICATION AND ENROLLMENT.
- Subdivision 1. **Public option application.** (a) An individual eligible for the public option must be able to enroll in the public option on the MNsure website.

44.13

44.14

44.15

44.16

44.17

44.18

44.19

44.20

44.21

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2
U4/10/24 U0:U / DM	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/IG	3C34099A-Z

45.1	(b) An individual must be able to apply for and, if eligible, enroll in the public option
45.2	by completing the application for a qualified health plan with premium tax credits or
45.3	cost-sharing reductions. An individual must provide information needed to confirm they
45.4	are not eligible for medical assistance under chapter 256B or MinnesotaCare under chapter
45.5	256L through an eligibility pathway other than the public option.
45.6	(c) MNsure must ensure that individuals interested in applying for a qualified health
45.7	plan or the public option are able to compare coverage options in a simple, convenient, and
45.8	understandable manner on the MNsure website. The website must present the coverage
45.9	options in a comparable and standardized manner to the extent practicable.
45.10	(d) The MNsure website must include clear and conspicuous language stating that
45.11	individuals can apply for the public option on the website.
45.12	Subd. 2. Eligibility determinations. (a) MNsure shall process all public option
45.13	applications and make all eligibility determinations for the public option. MNsure shall
45.14	make all public option eligibility determinations in accordance with section 256L.04,
45.15	subdivision 15.
45.16	(b) Eligibility for the public option is appealable to the MNsure board under this chapter
45.17	and Minnesota Rules, chapter 7700.
45.18	Subd. 3. Administrative functions. MNsure shall provide administrative functions to
45.19	facilitate the offering of the public option by the commissioner of human services. These
45.20	functions include but are not limited to marketing, call center operations, and certification
45.21	of insurance producers. MNsure may provide additional administrative functions as requested
45.22	by the commissioner of human services.
45.23	Subd. 4. Diversion of resources. MNsure may utilize existing resources, personnel, and
45.24	operations to carry out its duties under this section.
45.25	Subd. 5. No limitation. Nothing in this section limits the rights of MinnesotaCare public
45.26	option enrollees or the commissioner of human services under chapter 256L.
45.27	Subd. 6. Contracting authorization. The MNsure board may contract on a single-source
45.28	basis under section 16C.10, subdivision 1, with a third-party entity already providing
45.29	technical support to the board to develop and implement the technological requirements of
45.30	this section.
45.31	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective upon federal approval of the state's
45.32	section 1332 waiver application to establish a public option. The commissioner of commerce
45.33	shall notify the revisor of statutes when federal approval is obtained.

04/16/24 06:07 pm

Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 144.587, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

- Subd. 4. **Prohibited actions.** (a) A hospital must not initiate one or more of the following actions until the hospital determines that the patient is ineligible for charity care or denies an application for charity care:
 - (1) offering to enroll or enrolling the patient in a payment plan;
- 46.7 (2) changing the terms of a patient's payment plan;

46.3

46.4

46.5

46.6

46.13

46.14

46.15

46.21

46.22

46.23

46.24

46.25

46.26

46.27

46.28

- 46.8 (3) offering the patient a loan or line of credit, application materials for a loan or line of credit, or assistance with applying for a loan or line of credit, for the payment of medical debt;
- 46.11 (4) referring a patient's debt for collections, including in-house collections, third-party collections, revenue recapture, or any other process for the collection of debt; or
 - (5) denying health care services to the patient or any member of the patient's household because of outstanding medical debt, regardless of whether the services are deemed necessary or may be available from another provider; or
- 46.16 (6) (5) accepting a credit card payment of over \$500 for the medical debt owed to the hospital.
- (b) A violation of section 62J.807 is a violation of this section.
- Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 151.74, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
 - Subd. 3. Access to urgent-need insulin. (a) MNsure shall develop an application form to be used by an individual who is in urgent need of insulin. The application must ask the individual to attest to the eligibility requirements described in subdivision 2. The form shall be accessible through MNsure's website. MNsure shall also make the form available to pharmacies and health care providers who prescribe or dispense insulin, hospital emergency departments, urgent care clinics, and community health clinics. By submitting a completed, signed, and dated application to a pharmacy, the individual attests that the information contained in the application is correct.
- (b) If the individual is in urgent need of insulin, the individual may present a completed,
 signed, and dated application form to a pharmacy. The individual must also:
 - (1) have a valid insulin prescription; and

(2) present the pharmacist with identification indicating Minnesota residency in the form of a valid Minnesota identification card, driver's license or permit, individual taxpayer identification number, or Tribal identification card as defined in section 171.072, paragraph (b). If the individual in urgent need of insulin is under the age of 18, the individual's parent or legal guardian must provide the pharmacist with proof of residency.

- (c) Upon receipt of a completed and signed application, the pharmacist shall dispense the prescribed insulin in an amount that will provide the individual with a 30-day supply. The pharmacy must notify the health care practitioner who issued the prescription order no later than 72 hours after the insulin is dispensed.
- (d) The pharmacy may submit to the manufacturer of the dispensed insulin product or to the manufacturer's vendor a claim for payment that is in accordance with the National Council for Prescription Drug Program standards for electronic claims processing, unless the manufacturer agrees to send to the pharmacy a replacement supply of the same insulin as dispensed in the amount dispensed. If the pharmacy submits an electronic claim to the manufacturer or the manufacturer's vendor, the manufacturer or vendor shall reimburse the pharmacy in an amount that covers the pharmacy's acquisition cost.
- (e) The pharmacy may collect an insulin co-payment from the individual to cover the pharmacy's costs of processing and dispensing in an amount not to exceed \$35 for the 30-day supply of insulin dispensed.
- (f) The pharmacy shall also provide each eligible individual with the information sheet described in subdivision 7 and a list of trained navigators provided by the Board of Pharmacy for the individual to contact if the individual is in need of accessing needs to access ongoing insulin coverage options, including assistance in:
- (1) applying for medical assistance or MinnesotaCare;
- 47.25 (2) applying for a qualified health plan offered through MNsure, subject to open and special enrollment periods;
- 47.27 (3) accessing information on providers who participate in prescription drug discount programs, including providers who are authorized to participate in the 340B program under section 340b of the federal Public Health Services Act, United States Code, title 42, section 256b; and
- 47.31 (4) accessing insulin manufacturers' patient assistance programs, co-payment assistance programs, and other foundation-based programs.

47.1

47.2

47.3

47.4

47.5

47.6

47.7

47.8

47.9

47.10

47.11

47.12

47.13

47.14

47.15

47.16

47.17

47.18

47.19

47.20

47.21

47.22

47.23

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

(g) The pharmacist shall retain a copy of the application form submitted by the individual to the pharmacy for reporting and auditing purposes.

(h) A manufacturer may submit to the commissioner of administration a request for reimbursement in an amount not to exceed \$35 for each 30-day supply of insulin the manufacturer provides under paragraph (d). The commissioner of administration shall determine the manner and format for submitting and processing requests for reimbursement. After receiving a reimbursement request, the commissioner of administration shall reimburse the manufacturer in an amount not to exceed \$35 for each 30-day supply of insulin the manufacturer provided under paragraph (d).

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.

- Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 151.74, subdivision 6, is amended to read:
- Subd. 6. Continuing safety net program; process. (a) The individual shall submit to a pharmacy the statement of eligibility provided by the manufacturer under subdivision 5, paragraph (b). Upon receipt of an individual's eligibility status, the pharmacy shall submit an order containing the name of the insulin product and the daily dosage amount as contained in a valid prescription to the product's manufacturer.
- 48.17 (b) The pharmacy must include with the order to the manufacturer the following information:
 - (1) the pharmacy's name and shipping address;
- 48.20 (2) the pharmacy's office telephone number, fax number, email address, and contact
 48.21 name; and
- 48.22 (3) any specific days or times when deliveries are not accepted by the pharmacy.
- (c) Upon receipt of an order from a pharmacy and the information described in paragraph (b), the manufacturer shall send to the pharmacy a 90-day supply of insulin as ordered, unless a lesser amount is requested in the order, at no charge to the individual or pharmacy.
 - (d) Except as authorized under paragraph (e), the pharmacy shall provide the insulin to the individual at no charge to the individual. The pharmacy shall not provide insulin received from the manufacturer to any individual other than the individual associated with the specific order. The pharmacy shall not seek reimbursement for the insulin received from the manufacturer or from any third-party payer.

48.1

48.2

48.3

48.4

48.5

48.6

48.7

48.8

48.9

48.10

48.11

48.19

48.26

48.27

48.28

48.29

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

(e) The pharmacy may collect a co-payment from the individual to cover the pharmacy's costs for processing and dispensing in an amount not to exceed \$50 for each 90-day supply if the insulin is sent to the pharmacy.

- (f) The pharmacy may submit to a manufacturer a reorder for an individual if the individual's eligibility statement has not expired. Upon receipt of a reorder from a pharmacy, the manufacturer must send to the pharmacy an additional 90-day supply of the product, unless a lesser amount is requested, at no charge to the individual or pharmacy if the individual's eligibility statement has not expired.
- (g) Notwithstanding paragraph (c), a manufacturer may send the insulin as ordered directly to the individual if the manufacturer provides a mail order service option.
- (h) A manufacturer may submit to the commissioner of administration a request for reimbursement in an amount not to exceed \$105 for each 90-day supply of insulin the manufacturer provides under paragraphs (c) and (f). The commissioner of administration shall determine the manner and format for submitting and processing requests for reimbursement. After receiving a reimbursement request, the commissioner of administration shall reimburse the manufacturer in an amount not to exceed \$105 for each 90-day supply of insulin the manufacturer provided under paragraphs (c) and (f). If the manufacturer provides less than a 90-day supply of insulin under paragraphs (c) and (f), the manufacturer may submit a request for reimbursement not to exceed \$35 for each 30-day supply of insulin provided.
- 49.21 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2024.
- 49.22 Sec. 23. [151.741] INSULIN MANUFACTURER REGISTRATION FEE.
- 49.23 <u>Subdivision 1.</u> **Definitions.** (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have the meanings given.
- (b) "Board" means the Minnesota Board of Pharmacy under section 151.02.
- 49.26 (c) "Manufacturer" means a manufacturer licensed under section 151.252 and engaged
 49.27 in the manufacturing of prescription insulin.
- Subd. 2. Assessment of registration fee. (a) The board shall assess each manufacturer an annual registration fee of \$100,000, except as provided in paragraph (b). The board shall notify each manufacturer of this requirement beginning November 1, 2024, and each November 1 thereafter.

49.1

49.2

49.3

49.4

49.5

49.6

49.7

49.8

49.9

49.10

49.11

49.12

49.13

49.14

49.15

49.16

49.17

49.18

49.19

0.4/1.6/0.4.06.07	COLDICEL	ATH ATHE	0.0004.004.0
04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

50.1	(b) A manufacturer may request an exemption from the annual registration fee. The
50.2	Board of Pharmacy shall exempt a manufacturer from the annual registration fee if the
50.3	manufacturer can demonstrate to the board, in the form and manner specified by the board,
50.4	that sales of prescription insulin produced by that manufacturer and sold or delivered within
50.5	or into the state totalled \$2,000,000 or less in the previous calendar year.
50.6	Subd. 3. Payment of the registration fee; deposit of fee. (a) Each manufacturer must
50.7	pay the registration fee by March 1, 2025, and by each March 1 thereafter. In the event of
80.8	a change in ownership of the manufacturer, the new owner must pay the registration fee
50.9	that the original owner would have been assessed had the original owner retained ownership.
50.10	The board may assess a late fee of ten percent per month or any portion of a month that the
50.11	registration fee is paid after the due date.
50.12	(b) The registration fee, including any late fees, shall be deposited in the insulin safety
50.13	net program account.
50.14	Subd. 4. Insulin safety net program account. The insulin safety net program account
50.15	is established in the special revenue fund in the state treasury. Money in the account is
50.16	appropriated each fiscal year to:
50.17	(1) the MNsure board in an amount sufficient to carry out assigned duties under section
50.18	151.74, subdivision 7; and
50.19	(2) the Board of Pharmacy in an amount sufficient to cover costs incurred by the board
50.20	in assessing and collecting the registration fee under this section, and in administering the
50.21	insulin safety net program under section 151.74.
50.22	Subd. 5. Insulin repayment account; annual transfer from health care access fund. (a)
50.23	The insulin repayment account is established in the special revenue fund in the state treasury.
50.24	Money in the account is appropriated each fiscal year to the commissioner of administration
50.25	to reimburse manufacturers for insulin dispensed under the insulin safety net program in
50.26	section 151.74, in accordance with section 151.74, subdivisions 3, paragraph (h), and 6,
50.27	paragraph (h), and to cover costs incurred by the commissioner in providing these
50.28	reimbursement payments.
50.29	(b) By June 30, 2025, and each June 30 thereafter, the commissioner of administration
50.30	shall certify to the commissioner of management and budget the total amount expended in
50.31	the prior fiscal year for:

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

51.1	(1) reimbursement to manufacturers for insulin dispensed under the insulin safety net
51.2	program in section 151.74, in accordance with section 151.74, subdivision 3, paragraph (h),
51.3	and subdivision 6, paragraph (h); and
51.4	(2) costs incurred by the commissioner of administration in providing the reimbursement
51.5	payments described in clause (1).
51.6	(c) The commissioner of management and budget shall transfer from the health care
51.7	access fund to the special revenue fund, beginning July 1, 2025, and each July 1 thereafter,
51.8	an amount equal to the amount to which the commissioner of administration certified
51.9	pursuant to paragraph (b).
51.10	Subd. 6. Contingent transfer by commissioner. If subdivisions 2 and 3, or their
51.11	application to any person or circumstance, are held invalid for any reason in a court of
51.12	competent jurisdiction, their invalidity does not affect other provisions of this act, and the
51.13	commissioner of management and budget shall annually transfer from the health care access
51.14	fund to the insulin safety net program account an amount sufficient to implement subdivision
51.15	<u>4.</u>
51.16	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.
51.17	Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 176.175, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
51.18	Subd. 2. Nonassignability. No claim for compensation or settlement of a claim for
51.19	compensation owned by an injured employee or dependents is assignable. Except as otherwise
51.20	provided in this chapter, any claim for compensation owned by an injured employee or
51.21	dependents is exempt from seizure or sale for the payment of any debt or liability, up to a
51.22	total amount of \$1,000,000 per claim and subsequent award.
51.23	Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256L.01, is amended by adding a subdivision
51.24	to read:
51.25	Subd. 5a. MinnesotaCare public option. "MinnesotaCare public option" or "public
51.26	option" means health coverage provided under section 256L.29.
51.27	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2028, or upon federal approval,
51.28	whichever is later. The commissioner of commerce shall notify the revisor of statutes when
51.29	federal approval is obtained.

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256L.01, is amended by adding a subdivision 52.1 52.2 to read: Subd. 5b. MinnesotaCare public option enrollee. "MinnesotaCare public option 52.3 enrollee" or "public option enrollee" means an individual enrolled in MinnesotaCare under 52.4 section 256L.04, subdivision 15. 52.5 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2028, or upon federal approval, 52.6 whichever is later. The commissioner of commerce shall notify the revisor of statutes when 52.7 federal approval is obtained. 52.8 Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 256L.03, subdivision 5, is amended 52.9 to read: 52.10 Subd. 5. Cost-sharing. (a) Co-payments, coinsurance, and deductibles do not apply to 52.11 children under the age of 21 and to American Indians as defined in Code of Federal 52.12 Regulations, title 42, section 600.5-, but do apply to public option enrollees as provided in 52.13 section 256L.29. 52.14 (b) The commissioner must adjust co-payments, coinsurance, and deductibles for covered 52.15 services in a manner sufficient to maintain the actuarial value of the benefit to 94 percent, 52.16 except as provided for public option enrollees under section 256L.29. The cost-sharing 52.17 52.18 changes described in this paragraph do not apply to eligible recipients or services exempt from cost-sharing under state law. The cost-sharing changes described in this paragraph 52.19 shall not be implemented prior to January 1, 2016. 52.20 (c) The cost-sharing changes authorized under paragraph (b) must satisfy the requirements 52.21 for cost-sharing under the Basic Health Program as set forth in Code of Federal Regulations, 52.22 title 42, sections 600.510 and 600.520. 52.23 (d) Cost-sharing for prescription drugs and related medical supplies to treat chronic 52.24 disease must comply with the requirements of section 62Q.481. 52.25 (e) Co-payments, coinsurance, and deductibles do not apply to additional diagnostic 52.26 services or testing that a health care provider determines an enrollee requires after a 52.27 mammogram, as specified under section 62A.30, subdivision 5. 52.28 52.29 (f) Cost-sharing must not apply to drugs used for tobacco and nicotine cessation or to

52.30

tobacco and nicotine cessation services covered under section 256B.0625, subdivision 68.

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

(g) Co-payments, coinsurance, and deductibles do not apply to pre-exposure prophylaxis 53.1 (PrEP) and postexposure prophylaxis (PEP) medications when used for the prevention or 53.2 treatment of the human immunodeficiency virus (HIV). 53.3 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2028, or upon federal approval, 53.4 whichever is later. The commissioner of commerce shall notify the revisor of statutes when 53.5 federal approval is obtained. 53.6 Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256L.04, subdivision 1c, is amended to read: 53.7 Subd. 1c. General requirements. To be eligible for MinnesotaCare, a person must meet 53.8 the eligibility requirements of this section. A person eligible for MinnesotaCare shall with 53.9 an income less than or equal to 200 percent of the federal poverty guidelines must not be 53.10 considered a qualified individual under section 1312 of the Affordable Care Act, and is not 53.11 eligible for enrollment in a qualified health plan offered through MNsure under chapter 53.12 62V. 53.13 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2028, or upon federal approval, 53.14 whichever is later. The commissioner of commerce shall notify the revisor of statutes when 53.15 53.16 federal approval is obtained. Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256L.04, subdivision 7a, is amended to read: 53.17 Subd. 7a. **Ineligibility.** Adults whose income is greater than the limits established under 53.18 this section may not enroll in the MinnesotaCare program, except as public option enrollees 53.19 under subdivision 15. 53.20 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2028, or upon federal approval, 53.21 whichever is later. The commissioner of commerce shall notify the revisor of statutes when 53.22 federal approval is obtained. 53.23 Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256L.04, is amended by adding a subdivision 53.24 to read: 53.25 Subd. 15. Persons eligible for the public option. (a) Families and individuals with 53.26 income above the maximum income eligibility limit specified in subdivision 1 or 7 who 53.27 53.28 meet all other MinnesotaCare eligibility requirements are eligible for the MinnesotaCare public option, subject to the enrollment limits and additional requirements established under 53.29 section 256L.29. Families and individuals enrolled in the public option under this subdivision 53.30 are MinnesotaCare enrollees, and all provisions of this chapter applying generally to 53.31 MinnesotaCare enrollees apply to public option enrollees unless otherwise specified. 53.32

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

54.1	(b) Families and individuals may enroll in MinnesotaCare under this subdivision only
54.2	during an annual open enrollment period or special enrollment period, as designated by
54.3	MNsure in compliance with Code of Federal Regulations, title 45, sections 155.410 and
54.4	<u>155.420.</u>
54.5	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2028, or upon federal approval,
54.6	whichever is later. The commissioner of commerce shall notify the revisor of statutes when
54.7	federal approval is obtained.
54.8	Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256L.07, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
54.9	Subdivision 1. General requirements. Individuals enrolled in MinnesotaCare under
54.10	section 256L.04, subdivision 1, and individuals enrolled in MinnesotaCare under section
54.11	256L.04, subdivision 7, whose income increases above 200 percent of the federal poverty
54.12	guidelines, are no longer eligible for the program and shall must be disenrolled by the
54.13	commissioner, unless the individuals continue MinnesotaCare enrollment through the public
54.14	option. For persons disenrolled under this subdivision, MinnesotaCare coverage terminates
54.15	the last day of the calendar month in which the commissioner sends advance notice according
54.16	to Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, section 431.211, that indicates the income of a
54.17	family or individual exceeds program income limits.
54.18	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2028, or upon federal approval,
54.19	whichever is later. The commissioner of commerce shall notify the revisor of statutes when
54.20	federal approval is obtained.
54.21	Sec. 32. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256L.12, subdivision 7, is amended to read:
54.22	Subd. 7. Managed care plan vendor requirements. The following requirements apply
54.23	to all counties or vendors who contract with the Department of Human Services to serve
54.24	MinnesotaCare recipients. Managed care plan contractors:
54.25	(1) shall authorize and arrange for the provision of the full range of services listed in
54.26	section 256L.03 in order to ensure appropriate health care is delivered to enrollees;
54.27	(2) shall accept the prospective, per capita payment or other contractually defined payment
54.28	from the commissioner in return for the provision and coordination of covered health care
54.29	services for eligible individuals enrolled in the program;
54.30	(3) may contract with other health care and social service practitioners to provide services
54.31	to enrollees;

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

55.1	(4) shall provide for an enrollee grievance process as required by the commissioner and
55.2	set forth in the contract with the department;
55.3	(5) shall retain all revenue from enrollee co-payments;
55.4	(6) shall accept all eligible MinnesotaCare enrollees, without regard to health status or
55.5	previous utilization of health services;
55.6	(7) shall demonstrate capacity to accept financial risk according to requirements specified
55.7	in the contract with the department. A health maintenance organization licensed under
55.8	chapter 62D, or a nonprofit health plan licensed under chapter 62C, is not required to
55.9	demonstrate financial risk capacity, beyond that which is required to comply with chapters
55.10	62C and 62D; and
55.11	(8) shall submit information as required by the commissioner, including data required
55.12	for assessing enrollee satisfaction, quality of care, cost, and utilization of services-; and
33.12	for assessing emotice satisfaction, quanty of care, cost, and utilization of services., and
55.13	(9) shall reimburse health care providers for services provided to MinnesotaCare public
55.14	option enrollees at payment rates equal to or greater than the fee-for-service Medicare
55.15	payment rate for the same service, or for a similar service if the specific service is not
55.16	reimbursed under Medicare.
55.17	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2028, or upon federal approval,
55.18	whichever is later. The commissioner of commerce shall notify the revisor of statutes when
55.19	federal approval is obtained.
55.20	Sec. 33. [256L.29] MINNESOTACARE PUBLIC OPTION.
55.21	Subdivision 1. MinnesotaCare requirements. The public option is part of the
55.22	MinnesotaCare program and all provisions of this chapter apply to the public option, unless
55.23	otherwise specified. These provisions include but are not limited to those related to covered
55.24	health services under section 256L.03; eligibility of undocumented noncitizens under section
55.25	256L.04, subdivision 10; eligibility requirements under section 256L.07; and premium
55.26	payment methods under section 256L.15.
55.27	Subd. 2. Application process and eligibility determination. Individuals shall apply
55.28	for coverage under the public option as provided in section 62V.14. Enrollment in the public
55.29	option is limited to individuals eligible under section 256L.04, subdivision 15. The Board
55.30	of Directors of MNsure shall process public option applications and determine eligibility
55.31	for the public option as provided in section 62V.14.

Subd. 3. **Premium scale.** Public option enrollees shall pay premiums for individual or family coverage, as applicable, according to the following premium scale:

56.3 56.4 56.5	<u>Pe</u>	Household Income as rcentage of Federal Poverty Guidelines	<u>, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , </u>
56.6 56.7	Greater Than or Equal to	Not Exceeding	Required Premium Contribution as Percentage of Household Income
56.8	<u>201%</u>	<u>250%</u>	4.88%
56.9	<u>251%</u>	<u>300%</u>	6.38%
56.10	<u>301%</u>	400%	<u>7.88%</u>
56.11	401%	<u>500%</u>	8.5%
56.12	<u>501%</u>	<u>550%</u>	9.01%
56.13	551% and over	No maximum	<u>10%</u>
56.14	Subd. 4. Cost-shar	ing. (a) Public option enrolle	ees are subject to the MinnesotaCare
56.15	cost-sharing requireme	ents established under section	256L.03, subdivision 5, except that:
56.16	(1) cost-sharing app	plies to all public option enro	llees and there are no exemptions from
56.17	cost-sharing for specif	ic groups of individuals, incl	ading but not limited to: (i) children
56.18	under age 21; (ii) pregn	ant women; and (iii) America	n Indians as defined in Code of Federal
56.19	Regulations, title 42, section 600.5, who have incomes greater than or equal to 300 percent		
56.20	of the federal poverty guidelines;		
56.21	(2) the commission	er shall set cost-sharing for p	public option enrollees at an actuarial
56.22	value of 94 percent, exc	cept that the actuarial value for	public option enrollees with household
56.23	incomes above 400 per	cent of the federal poverty gu	idelines may be lower than 94 percent;
56.24	(3) the deductibles	specified in paragraph (b) ap	ply; and
56.25	(4) out-of-pocket m	naximums for public option en	nrollees must not exceed those outlined
56.26	in Code of Federal Reg	gulations, title 45, section 156	5.130.
56.27	(b) Public option en	nrollees are subject to the following	owing annual deductibles:
56.28	(1) for household in	ncomes 401 percent to 500 pe	ercent of federal poverty guidelines,
56.29	<u>\$500;</u>		
56.30	(2) for household in	ncomes 501 percent to 600 pe	ercent of federal poverty guidelines,
56.31	\$1,000; and		
56.32	(3) for household in	ncomes 601 percent of federa	l poverty guidelines or above, \$1,500.
56.33	(c) No annual dedu	ctible applies to public option	n enrollees with household incomes not

56.34

56.1

56.2

exceeding 400 percent of the federal poverty guidelines.

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2
U4/10/24 U0:U / DM	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/IG	3C34099A-Z

57.1	Subd. 5. Enrollment limits. Enrollment in the public option is subject to the following
57.2	<u>limits:</u>
57.3	(1) for the 2028 plan year, there must not be any enrollment of individuals with household
57.4	incomes exceeding 400 percent of the federal poverty guidelines;
57.5	(2) for the 2029 plan year, there must not be any enrollment of individuals with household
57.6	incomes exceeding 550 percent of the federal poverty guidelines; and
57.7	(3) for the 2030 plan year and subsequent plan years, no enrollment limit.
57.8	Subd. 6. Contracting and service delivery. (a) The commissioner may contract with
57.9	managed care and county-based purchasing plans for the delivery of services to public
57.10	option enrollees using a procurement process that is separate and unique from that used to
57.11	contract for the delivery of services to MinnesotaCare enrollees who are not public option
57.12	enrollees.
57.13	(b) The commissioner shall establish public option participation requirements for managed
57.14	care and county-based purchasing plans. Public option enrollees are not considered
57.15	MinnesotaCare enrollees for the purpose of the participation requirement specified in section
57.16	256B.0644.
57.17	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2028, or upon federal approval,
57.18	whichever is later. The commissioner of commerce shall notify the revisor of statutes when
57.19	federal approval is obtained.
57.20	Sec. 34. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 270A.03, subdivision 2, is amended
57.21	to read:
57.22	Subd. 2. Claimant agency. "Claimant agency" means any state agency, as defined by
57.23	section 14.02, subdivision 2, the regents of the University of Minnesota, any district court
57.24	of the state, any county, any statutory or home rule charter city, including a city that is
57.25	presenting a claim for a municipal hospital or a public library or a municipal ambulance
57.26	service, a hospital district, any ambulance service licensed under chapter 144E, any public
57.27	agency responsible for child support enforcement, any public agency responsible for the
57.28	collection of court-ordered restitution, and any public agency established by general or
57.29	special law that is responsible for the administration of a low-income housing program.
57.30	Sec. 35. [332C.01] DEFINITIONS.
57.31	Subdivision 1. Application. For purposes of this chapter, the following terms have the
57.32	meanings given.

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2
U4/10/24 U0:U / DM	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/IG	3C34099A-Z

58.1	Subd. 2. Collecting party. "Collecting party" means a party engaged in the collection
58.2	of medical debt. Collecting party does not include banks, credit unions, public officers,
58.3	garnishees, and other parties complying with a court order or statutory obligation to garnish
58.4	or levy a debtor's property.
58.5	Subd. 3. Debtor. "Debtor" means a person obligated or alleged to be obligated to pay
58.6	any debt.
58.7	Subd. 4. Medical debt. "Medical debt" means debt incurred primarily for medically
58.8	necessary health treatment or services. Medical debt does not include debt charged to a
58.9	credit card unless the credit card is issued under a credit plan offered specifically for the
58.10	payment of health care treatment or services.
58.11	Subd. 5. Medically necessary. "Medically necessary" means medically necessary as
58.12	defined in section 62J.805, subdivision 6.
58.13	Subd. 6. Person. "Person" means any individual, partnership, association, or corporation.
58.14	Sec. 36. [332C.02] PROHIBITED PRACTICES.
58.15	No collecting party shall:
58.16	(1) in a collection letter, publication, invoice, or any oral or written communication,
58.17	threaten wage garnishment or legal suit by a particular lawyer, unless the collecting party
58.18	has actually retained the lawyer to do so;
58.19	(2) use or employ sheriffs or any other officer authorized to serve legal papers in
58.20	connection with the collection of a claim, except when performing their legally authorized
58.21	duties;
58.22	(3) use or threaten to use methods of collection which violate Minnesota law;
58.23	(4) furnish legal advice to debtors or represent that the collecting party is competent or
58.24	able to furnish legal advice to debtors;
58.25	(5) communicate with debtors in a misleading or deceptive manner by falsely using the
58.26	stationery of a lawyer, forms or instruments which only lawyers are authorized to prepare,
58.27	or instruments which simulate the form and appearance of judicial process;
58.28	(6) publish or cause to be published any list of debtors, use shame cards or shame
58.29	automobiles, advertise or threaten to advertise for sale any claim as a means of forcing
58.30	payment thereof, or use similar devices or methods of intimidation;

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2
0 1/10/2 1 00:07 PIII	CCCTUBEE	1 11112/1 111/1	50510771

59.1	(/) operate under a name or in a manner which falsely implies the collecting party is a
59.2	branch of or associated with any department of federal, state, county, or local government
59.3	or an agency thereof;
59.4	(8) transact business or hold itself out as a debt settlement company, debt management
59.5	company, debt adjuster, or any person who settles, adjusts, prorates, pools, liquidates, or
59.6	pays the indebtedness of a debtor, unless there is no charge to the debtor, or the pooling of
59.7	liquidation is done pursuant to court order or under the supervision of a creditor's committee
59.8	(9) unless an exemption in the law exists, violate Code of Federal Regulations, title 12
59.9	part 1006, while attempting to collect on any account, bill, or other indebtedness. For
59.10	purposes of this section, Public Law 95-109 and Code of Federal Regulations, title 12, par
59.11	1006, apply to collecting parties;
59.12	(10) communicate with a debtor by use of an automatic telephone dialing system or ar
59.13	artificial or prerecorded voice after the debtor expressly informs the collecting party to cease
59.14	communication utilizing an automatic telephone dialing system or an artificial or prerecorded
59.15	voice. For purposes of this clause, an automatic telephone dialing system or an artificial or
59.16	prerecorded voice includes but is not limited to (i) artificial intelligence chat bots, and (ii)
59.17	the usage of the term under the Telephone Consumer Protection Act, United States Code,
59.18	title 47, section 227(b)(1)(A);
59.19	(11) in collection letters or publications, or in any oral or written communication, imply
59.20	or suggest that medically necessary health treatment or services will be denied as a result
59.21	of a medical debt;
59.22	(12) when a debtor has a listed telephone number, enlist the aid of a neighbor or third
59.23	party to request that the debtor contact the collecting party, except a person who resides
59.24	with the debtor or a third party with whom the debtor has authorized with the collecting
59.25	party to place the request. This clause does not apply to a call back message left at the
59.26	debtor's place of employment which is limited solely to the collecting party's telephone
59.27	number and name;
59.28	(13) when attempting to collect a medical debt, fail to provide the debtor with the full
59.29	name of the collecting party, as registered with the secretary of state;
59.30	(14) fail to return any amount of overpayment from a debtor to the debtor or to the state
59.31	of Minnesota pursuant to the requirements of chapter 345;
59.32	(15) accept currency or coin as payment for a medical debt without issuing an original
59.33	receipt to the debtor and maintain a duplicate receipt in the debtor's payment records;

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2
-------------------	---------	-----------	------------

60.1	(16) attempt to collect any amount, including any interest, fee, charge, or expense
60.2	incidental to the charge-off obligation, from a debtor unless the amount is expressly
60.3	authorized by the agreement creating the medical debt or is otherwise permitted by law;
60.4	(17) falsify any documents with the intent to deceive;
60.5	(18) when initially contacting a Minnesota debtor by mail to collect a medical debt, fail
60.6	to include a disclosure on the contact notice, in a type size or font which is equal to or larger
60.7	than the largest other type of type size or font used in the text of the notice, that includes
60.8	and identifies the Office of the Minnesota Attorney General's general telephone number,
60.9	and states: "You have the right to hire your own attorney to represent you in this matter.";
60.10	(19) commence legal action to collect a medical debt outside the limitations period set
60.11	forth in section 541.053;
60.12	(20) report to a credit reporting agency any medical debt which the collecting party
60.13	knows or should know is or was originally owed to a health care provider, as defined in
60.14	section 62J.805, subdivision 2; or
60.15	(21) challenge a debtor's claim of exemption to garnishment or levy in a manner that is
60.16	baseless, frivolous, or otherwise in bad faith.
60.17	Sec. 37. [332C.03] MEDICAL DEBT CREDIT REPORTING PROHIBITED.
60.18	(a) A collecting party is prohibited from reporting medical debt to a consumer reporting
60.19	agency.
60.20	(b) A consumer reporting agency is prohibited from making a consumer report containing
60.21	an item of information that the consumer reporting agency knows or should know concerns:
60.22	(1) medical information; or (2) debt arising from: (i) the provision of medical care, treatment,
60.23	services, devices, medicines; or (ii) procedures to maintain, diagnose, or treat a person's
60.24	physical or mental health.
60.25	(c) For purposes of this section, "consumer report," "consumer reporting agency," and
60.26	"medical information" have the meanings given them in the Fair Credit Reporting Act,
60.27	United States Code, title 15, section 1681a.
60.28	(d) This section also applies to collection agencies and debt buyers licensed under Chapter
60.29	<u>332.</u>

A debtor who successfully defends against a claim for payment of medical debt that is alleged by a collecting party must be awarded the debtor's costs, including a reasonable attorney fee, incurred in defending against the collecting party's claim for debt payment.

Sec. 39. [332C.06] ENFORCEMENT.

61.1

61.2

61.3

61.4

61.5

61.17

61.18

61.19

61.21

61.22

- (a) The attorney general may enforce this chapter under section 8.31. 61.6
- (b) A collecting party that violates this chapter is strictly liable to the debtor in question 61.7 61.8 for the sum of:
- (1) actual damage sustained by the debtor as a result of the violation; 61.9
- 61.10 (2) additional damages as the court may allow, but not exceeding \$1,000 per violation; 61.11 and
- (3) in the case of any successful action to enforce the foregoing, the costs of the action, 61.12 together with a reasonable attorney fee as determined by the court. 61.13
- (c) A collecting party that willfully and maliciously violates this chapter is strictly liable 61.14 to the debtor for three times the sums allowable under paragraph (b), clauses (1) and (2). 61.15
- (d) The dollar amount limit under paragraph (b), clause (2), changes on July 1 of each 61.16 even-numbered year in an amount equal to changes made in the Consumer Price Index, compiled by the United States Bureau of Labor Statistics. The Consumer Price Index for December 2024 is the reference base index. If the Consumer Price Index is revised, the percentage of change made under this section must be calculated on the basis of the revised 61.20 Consumer Price Index. If a Consumer Price Index revision changes the reference base index, a revised reference base index must be determined by multiplying the reference base index that is effective at the time by the rebasing factor furnished by the Bureau of Labor Statistics.
- (e) If the Consumer Price Index is superseded, the Consumer Price Index referred to in 61.24 this section is the Consumer Price Index represented by the Bureau of Labor Statistics as 61.25 61.26 most accurately reflecting changes in the prices paid by consumers for consumer goods and services. 61.27
- (f) The attorney general must publish the base reference index under paragraph (c) in 61.28 the State Register no later than September 1, 2024. The attorney general must calculate and 61.29 then publish the revised Consumer Price Index under paragraph (c) in the State Register no 61.30 later than September 1 each even-numbered year. 61.31
- (g) An action brought under this section benefits the public. 61.32

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

(h) A collecting party may not be held liable in any action brought under this section if the collecting party shows by a preponderance of evidence that the violation was not intentional and resulted from a bona fide error made notwithstanding the maintenance of procedures reasonably adapted to avoid any such error.

Sec. 40. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 519.05, is amended to read:

519.05 LIABILITY OF HUSBAND AND WIFE SPOUSES.

62.1

62.2

62.3

62.4

62.5

62.6

62.7

62.8

62.9

62.10

62.11

62.12

62.13

62.14

62.15

62.27

62.28

62.29

62.30

62.31

62.32

- (a) A spouse is not liable to a creditor for any debts of the other spouse. Where husband and wife are living together, they shall be jointly and severally liable for necessary medical services that have been furnished to either spouse, including any claims arising under section 246.53, 256B.15, 256D.16, or 261.04, and necessary household articles and supplies furnished to and used by the family. Notwithstanding this paragraph, in a proceeding under chapter 518 the court may apportion such debt between the spouses.
- (b) Either spouse may close a credit card account or other unsecured consumer line of credit on which both spouses are contractually liable, by giving written notice to the creditor.

Sec. 41. **REQUEST FOR FEDERAL WAIVER.**

- (a) The commissioner of commerce, in cooperation with the commissioner of human services and the Board of Directors of MNsure, shall submit a section 1332 waiver pursuant to United States Code, title 42, section 18052, to the Secretary of Health and Human Services, to obtain federal approval to implement this act. The commissioner of commerce shall also seek through the waiver federal approval for the state to:
- (1) continue receiving federal Medicaid payments for Medicaid-eligible individuals and
 federal basic health program payments for basic health program-eligible MinnesotaCare
 individuals; and
- (2) receive federal pass-through funding equal to the value of premium tax credits and cost-sharing reductions that MinnesotaCare public option enrollees with household incomes greater than 200 percent of the federal poverty guidelines would otherwise have received.
 - (b) The commissioner of commerce is authorized to contract for any analyses, certification, data, or other information required to complete the section 1332 waiver application in accordance with Code of Federal Regulations, title 33, part 108; Code of Federal Regulations, title 155, part 1308; and any other applicable federal law. The commissioner must cooperate with the federal government to obtain waiver approval under this section, and may provide any information the commissioner determines to be necessary

and advisable for waiver approval to the Secretary of Health and Human Services and the Secretary of the Treasury.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

ARTICLE 4

HEALTH INSURANCE

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 62A.0411, is amended to read:

62A.0411 MATERNITY CARE.

63.1

63.2

63.3

63.4

63.5

63.6

63.7

63.8

63.9

63.10

63.11

63.12

63.13

63 14

63.15

63.16

63.17

63.18

63.19

63.20

63.21

63.22

63.23

63.24

63.25

63.26

63.27

63.28

63.29

63.30

63.31

63.32

Subdivision 1. Minimum inpatient care. Every health plan as defined in section 62Q.01, subdivision 3, that provides maternity benefits must, consistent with other coinsurance, co-payment, deductible, and related contract terms, provide coverage of a minimum of 48 hours of inpatient care following a vaginal delivery and a minimum of 96 hours of inpatient care following a caesarean section for a mother and her newborn. The health plan shall not provide any compensation or other nonmedical remuneration to encourage a mother and newborn to leave inpatient care before the duration minimums specified in this section.

Subd. 1a. Medical facility transfer. (a) If a health care provider acting within the provider's scope of practice recommends that either the mother or newborn be transferred to a different medical facility, every health plan must provide the coverage required under subdivision 1 for the mother, newborn, and newborn siblings at both medical facilities. The coverage required under this subdivision includes but is not limited to expenses related to transferring all individuals from one medical facility to a different medical facility.

- (b) The coverage required under this subdivision must be provided without cost sharing, including but not limited to deductible, co-pay, or coinsurance. The coverage required under this paragraph must be provided without any limitation that is not generally applicable to other coverages under the plan.
- (c) Notwithstanding paragraph (b), a health plan that is a high-deductible health plan in conjunction with a health savings account must include cost-sharing for the coverage required under this subdivision at the minimum level necessary to preserve the enrollee's ability to make tax-exempt contributions and withdrawals from the health savings account as provided in section 223 of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986.
- Subd. 2. Minimum postdelivery outpatient care. (a) The health plan must also provide coverage for postdelivery outpatient care to a mother and her newborn if the duration of inpatient care is less than the minimums provided in this section.

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

64.1	(b) Postdelivery care consists of a minimum of one home visit by a registered nurse.
64.2	Services provided by the registered nurse include, but are not limited to, parent education,
64.3	assistance and training in breast and bottle feeding, and conducting any necessary and
64.4	appropriate clinical tests. The home visit must be conducted within four days following the
64.5	discharge of the mother and her child.
64.6	Subd. 3. Health plan defined. For purposes of this section, "health plan" has the meaning
64.7	given in section 62Q.01, subdivision 3, and county-based purchasing plans.
64.8	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025, and applies to all policies,
64.9	plans, certificates, and contracts offered, issued, or renewed on or after that date.
64.10 64.11	Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 62A.15, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
64.12	Subd. 3d. Pharmacist. All benefits provided by a policy or contract referred to in
64.13	subdivision 1 relating to expenses incurred for medical treatment or services provided by
64.14	a licensed physician must include services provided by a licensed pharmacist, according to
64.15	the requirements of section 151.01, to the extent a licensed pharmacist's services are within
64.16	the pharmacist's scope of practice.
64.17	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025, and applies to policies
64.18	or contracts offered, issued, or renewed on or after that date.
64.19	Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 62A.15, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
64.20	Subd. 4. Denial of benefits. (a) No carrier referred to in subdivision 1 may, in the
64.21	payment of claims to employees in this state, deny benefits payable for services covered by
64.22	the policy or contract if the services are lawfully performed by a licensed chiropractor, a
64.23	licensed optometrist, a registered nurse meeting the requirements of subdivision 3a, a licensed
64.24	physician assistant, or a licensed acupuncture practitioner, or a licensed pharmacist.
64.25	(b) When carriers referred to in subdivision 1 make claim determinations concerning
64.26	the appropriateness, quality, or utilization of chiropractic health care for Minnesotans, any
64.27	of these determinations that are made by health care professionals must be made by, or
64.28	under the direction of, or subject to the review of licensed doctors of chiropractic.
64.29	(c) When a carrier referred to in subdivision 1 makes a denial of payment claim
64.30	determination concerning the appropriateness, quality, or utilization of acupuncture services
64.31	for individuals in this state performed by a licensed acupuncture practitioner, a denial of

04/16/24 06:07 1	om COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

payment claim determination that is made by a health professional must be made by, under the direction of, or subject to the review of a licensed acupuncture practitioner.

- **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2025, and applies to policies or contracts offered, issued, or renewed on or after that date.
- 65.5 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 62A.28, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2. **Required coverage.** (a) Every policy, plan, certificate, or contract referred to in subdivision 1 issued or renewed after August 1, 1987, must provide coverage for scalp hair prostheses, including all equipment and accessories necessary of regular use of scalp hair prostheses, worn for hair loss suffered as a result of a health condition, including, but not limited to, alopecia areata or the treatment for cancer, unless there is a clinical basis for limitation.
- (b) The coverage required by this section is subject to the co-payment, coinsurance, deductible, and other enrollee cost-sharing requirements that apply to similar types of items under the policy, plan, certificate, or contract and may be limited to one prosthesis per benefit year.
- 65.16 (c) The coverage required by this section for scalp hair prostheses is limited to \$1,000 per benefit year.
- 65.18 (d) A scalp hair prostheses must be prescribed by a doctor to be covered under this section.
- 65.20 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2025, and applies to all policies, plans, certificates, and contracts offered, issued, or renewed on or after that date.
- 65.22 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 62D.02, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
- Subd. 4. **Health maintenance organization.** "Health maintenance organization" means a foreign or domestic nonprofit corporation organized under chapter 317A, or a local governmental unit as defined in subdivision 11, controlled and operated as provided in sections 62D.01 to 62D.30, which provides, either directly or through arrangements with providers or other persons, comprehensive health maintenance services, or arranges for the provision of these services, to enrollees on the basis of a fixed prepaid sum without regard to the frequency or extent of services furnished to any particular enrollee.

65.3

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 62D.02, subdivision 7, is amended to read:

Subd. 7. Comprehensive health maintenance services. "Comprehensive health maintenance services" means a set of comprehensive health services which the enrollees might reasonably require to be maintained in good health including as a minimum, but not limited to, emergency care, emergency ground ambulance transportation services, inpatient hospital and physician care, outpatient health services and preventive health services. Elective, induced abortion, except as medically necessary to prevent the death of the mother, whether performed in a hospital, other abortion facility or the office of a physician, shall not be mandatory for any health maintenance organization.

- **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2025, and applies to health plans offered, sold, issued, or renewed on or after that date.
- Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 62D.03, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 66.12
 - Subdivision 1. Certificate of authority required. Notwithstanding any law of this state to the contrary, any foreign or domestic nonprofit corporation organized to do so or a local governmental unit may apply to the commissioner of health for a certificate of authority to establish and operate a health maintenance organization in compliance with sections 62D.01 to 62D.30. No person shall establish or operate a health maintenance organization in this state, nor sell or offer to sell, or solicit offers to purchase or receive advance or periodic consideration in conjunction with a health maintenance organization or health maintenance contract unless the organization has a certificate of authority under sections 62D.01 to 62D.30.
- Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 62D.05, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 66.22
- Subdivision 1. Authority granted. Any nonprofit corporation or local governmental 66.23 unit may, upon obtaining a certificate of authority as required in sections 62D.01 to 62D.30, 66.24 operate as a health maintenance organization. 66.25
- Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 62D.06, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 66.26
- Subdivision 1. Governing body composition; enrollee advisory body. The governing 66.27 body of any health maintenance organization which is a nonprofit corporation may include enrollees, providers, or other individuals; provided, however, that after a health maintenance organization which is a nonprofit corporation has been authorized under sections 62D.01 to 62D.30 for one year, at least 40 percent of the governing body shall be composed of enrollees and members elected by the enrollees and members from among the enrollees and 66.32

66.1

66.2

66.3

66.4

66.5

66.6

66.7

66.8

66.9

66.10

66.11

66.13

66.14

66.15

66.16

66.17

66.18

66.19

66.20

66.21

66.28

66.29

66.30

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

members. For purposes of this section, "member" means a consumer who receives health care services through a self-insured contract that is administered by the health maintenance organization or its related third-party administrator. The number of members elected to the governing body shall not exceed the number of enrollees elected to the governing body. An enrollee or member elected to the governing board may not be a person:

- (1) whose occupation involves, or before retirement involved, the administration of health activities or the provision of health services;
- 67.8 (2) who is or was employed by a health care facility as a licensed health professional; 67.9 or
- (3) who has or had a direct substantial financial or managerial interest in the rendering of a health service, other than the payment of a reasonable expense reimbursement or compensation as a member of the board of a health maintenance organization.
 - After a health maintenance organization which is a local governmental unit has been authorized under sections 62D.01 to 62D.30 for one year, an enrollee advisory body shall be established. The enrollees who make up this advisory body shall be elected by the enrollees from among the enrollees.

Sec. 10. [62D.085] TRANSACTION OVERSIGHT.

Subdivision 1. Insurance provisions applicable to health maintenance

organizations. (a) Health maintenance organizations are subject to sections 60A.135,

67.20 60A.136, 60A.137, 60A.16, 60A.161, 60D.17, 60D.18, and 60D.20 and must comply with

the provisions of these sections applicable to insurers. For purposes of applying these sections

to health maintenance organizations, "commissioner" means the commissioner of health.

- (b) Health maintenance organizations are subject to all regulations implementing sections
- 67.24 60D.17, 60D.18, and 60D.20 in Minnesota Rules, chapter 2720, and must comply with the
- 67.25 provisions of these sections applicable to insurers, unless the commissioner of health adopts
- 67.26 rules to implement this subdivision.

67.1

67.2

67.3

67.4

67.5

67.6

67.7

67.13

67.14

67.15

67.16

67.17

67.18

67.19

67.21

67.22

Subd. 2. Notice on transfers. No person may acquire all or substantially all of the assets of a domestic nonprofit health maintenance organization through any means unless, at the time the agreement is entered into, the person has filed with the commissioner and has sent to the health maintenance organization a statement containing the information required by section 60D.17, including its implementing regulations, and the agreement and acquisition have been approved by the commissioner of health in the manner prescribed for regulatory approval in section 60D.17. The acquisition of assets subject to this subdivision must be

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

treated as an acquisition of control for purposes of applying section 60D.17 and its 68.1 implementing regulations to this subdivision. 68.2 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment. 68.3 Sec. 11. [62D.1071] COVERAGE OF LICENSED PHARMACIST SERVICES. 68.4 Subdivision 1. Pharmacist. All benefits provided by a health maintenance contract 68.5 relating to expenses incurred for medical treatment or services provided by a licensed 68.6 physician must include services provided by a licensed pharmacist to the extent a licensed 68.7 pharmacist's services are within the pharmacist's scope of practice. 68.868.9 Subd. 2. **Denial of benefits.** When paying claims for enrollees in Minnesota, a health maintenance organization must not deny payment for medical services covered by an 68.10 enrollee's health maintenance contract if the services are lawfully performed by a licensed 68.11 pharmacist. 68.12 68.13 Subd. 3. Medication therapy management. This section does not apply to or affect the coverage or reimbursement for medication therapy management services under section 68.14 62Q.676 or 256B.0625, subdivisions 5, 13h, and 28a. 68.15 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2025, and applies to health 68.16 plans offered, issued, or renewed on or after that date. 68.17 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 62D.19, is amended to read: 68.18 62D.19 UNREASONABLE EXPENSES. 68.19 No health maintenance organization shall incur or pay for any expense of any nature 68.20 which is unreasonably high in relation to the value of the service or goods provided. The 68.21 commissioner of health shall implement and enforce this section by rules adopted under 68.22 this section. 68.23 In an effort to achieve the stated purposes of sections 62D.01 to 62D.30, in order to 68.24 safeguard the underlying nonprofit status of health maintenance organizations, and in order 68.25 to ensure that the payment of health maintenance organization money to major participating 68.26 68.27 entities results in a corresponding benefit to the health maintenance organization and its enrollees, when determining whether an organization has incurred an unreasonable expense 68.28 in relation to a major participating entity, due consideration shall be given to, in addition 68.29 to any other appropriate factors, whether the officers and trustees of the health maintenance 68.30 organization have acted with good faith and in the best interests of the health maintenance 68.31 68.32 organization in entering into, and performing under, a contract under which the health

maintenance organization has incurred an expense. The commissioner has standing to sue, on behalf of a health maintenance organization, officers or trustees of the health maintenance organization who have breached their fiduciary duty in entering into and performing such contracts.

- Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 62D.20, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
- Subdivision 1. **Rulemaking.** The commissioner of health may, pursuant to chapter 14, promulgate such reasonable rules as are necessary or proper to carry out the provisions of sections 62D.01 to 62D.30. Included among such rules shall be those which provide minimum requirements for the provision of comprehensive health maintenance services, as defined in section 62D.02, subdivision 7, and reasonable exclusions therefrom. Nothing in such rules shall force or require a health maintenance organization to provide elective, induced abortions, except as medically necessary to prevent the death of the mother, whether performed in a hospital, other abortion facility, or the office of a physician; the rules shall provide every health maintenance organization the option of excluding or including elective, induced abortions, except as medically necessary to prevent the death of the mother, as part of its comprehensive health maintenance services.
- 69.17 <u>EFFECTIVE DATE.</u> This section is effective January 1, 2025, and applies to health plans offered, sold, issued, or renewed on or after that date.
- 69.19 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 62D.22, subdivision 5, is amended to read:
- Subd. 5. **Other state law.** Except as otherwise provided in sections 62A.01 to 62A.42 and 62D.01 to 62D.30, and except as they eliminate elective, induced abortions, wherever performed, from health or maternity benefits, provisions of the insurance laws and provisions of nonprofit health service plan corporation laws shall not be applicable to any health maintenance organization granted a certificate of authority under sections 62D.01 to 62D.30.
- 69.25 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2025, and applies to health plans offered, sold, issued, or renewed on or after that date.
- 69.27 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 62E.02, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
- Subd. 3. **Health maintenance organization.** "Health maintenance organization" means a nonprofit corporation licensed and operated as provided in chapter 62D.

69.1

69.2

69.3

69.4

69.5

69.6

69.7

69.8

69.9

69.10

69.11

69.12

69.13

69.14

69.15

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

70.1	Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 62Q.097, is amended by adding a subdivision
70.2	to read:
70.3	Subd. 3. Prohibited application questions. An application for provider credentialing
70.4	must not:
70.5	(1) require the provider to disclose past health conditions;
70.6	(2) require the provider to disclose current health conditions, if they are being treated
70.7	so that the condition does not affect the provider's ability to practice medicine; or
70.8	(3) require the disclosure of any health conditions which would not affect the provider's
70.9	ability to practice medicine in a competent, safe, and ethical manner.
70.10	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section applies to applications for provider credentialing
70.11	submitted to a health plan company on or after January 1, 2025.
70.12	Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 62Q.14, is amended to read:
70.13	62Q.14 RESTRICTIONS ON ENROLLEE SERVICES.
70.14	No health plan company may restrict the choice of an enrollee as to where the enrollee
70.15	receives services related to:
70.16	(1) the voluntary planning of the conception and bearing of children, provided that this
70.17	elause does not refer to abortion services;
70.18	(2) the diagnosis of infertility;
70.19	(3) the testing and treatment of a sexually transmitted disease; and
70.20	(4) the testing for AIDS or other HIV-related conditions.
70.21	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025, and applies to health
70.22	plans offered, sold, issued, or renewed on or after that date.
70.23	Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 62Q.522, subdivision 1, is amended
70.24	to read:
70.25	Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) The definitions in this subdivision apply to this section.
70.26	(b) "Closely held for-profit entity" means an entity that:
70.27	(1) is not a nonprofit entity;
70.28	(2) has more than 50 percent of the value of its ownership interest owned directly or
70.29	indirectly by five or fewer owners; and

(3) has no publicly traded ownership interest. 71.1 For purposes of this paragraph: 71.2 (i) ownership interests owned by a corporation, partnership, limited liability company, 71.3 estate, trust, or similar entity are considered owned by that entity's shareholders, partners, 71.4 members, or beneficiaries in proportion to their interest held in the corporation, partnership, 71.5 limited liability company, estate, trust, or similar entity; 71.6 (ii) ownership interests owned by a nonprofit entity are considered owned by a single 71.7 owner; 71.8 (iii) ownership interests owned by all individuals in a family are considered held by a 71.9 single owner. For purposes of this item, "family" means brothers and sisters, including 71.10 half-brothers and half-sisters, a spouse, ancestors, and lineal descendants; and 71.11 (iv) if an individual or entity holds an option, warrant, or similar right to purchase an 71.12 ownership interest, the individual or entity is considered to be the owner of those ownership 71.13 interests. 71.14 (e) (b) "Contraceptive method" means a drug, device, or other product approved by the 71.15 Food and Drug Administration to prevent unintended pregnancy. 71.16 (d) (c) "Contraceptive service" means consultation, examination, procedures, and medical 71.17 services related to the prevention of unintended pregnancy, excluding vasectomies. This 71.18 includes but is not limited to voluntary sterilization procedures, patient education, counseling 71.19 on contraceptives, and follow-up services related to contraceptive methods or services, 71.20 management of side effects, counseling for continued adherence, and device insertion or 71.21 removal. 71.22 (e) "Eligible organization" means an organization that opposes providing coverage for 71.23 some or all contraceptive methods or services on account of religious objections and that 71.24 71.25 is: (1) organized as a nonprofit entity and holds itself out to be religious; or 71.26 (2) organized and operates as a closely held for-profit entity, and the organization's 71.27 owners or highest governing body has adopted, under the organization's applicable rules of 71.28 governance and consistent with state law, a resolution or similar action establishing that the 71.29

of the owners' sincerely held religious beliefs.

71.30

71.31

organization objects to covering some or all contraceptive methods or services on account

04/16/24 06:07 pm COUNSEL AHL/NH/TG SCS4699.	₹06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699 <i>A</i>
--	-----------	---------	-----------	------------------

72.1	(f) "Exempt organization" means an organization that is organized and operates as a
72.2	nonprofit entity and meets the requirements of section 6033(a)(3)(A)(i) or (iii) of the Internal
72.3	Revenue Code of 1986, as amended.
72.4	(g) (d) "Medical necessity" includes but is not limited to considerations such as severity
72.5	of side effects, difference in permanence and reversibility of a contraceptive method or
72.6	service, and ability to adhere to the appropriate use of the contraceptive method or service,
72.7	as determined by the attending provider.
72.8	(h) (e) "Therapeutic equivalent version" means a drug, device, or product that can be
72.9	expected to have the same clinical effect and safety profile when administered to a patient
72.10	under the conditions specified in the labeling, and that:
72.11	(1) is approved as safe and effective;
72.12	(2) is a pharmaceutical equivalent: (i) containing identical amounts of the same active
72.13	drug ingredient in the same dosage form and route of administration; and (ii) meeting
72.14	compendial or other applicable standards of strength, quality, purity, and identity;
72.15	(3) is bioequivalent in that:
72.16	(i) the drug, device, or product does not present a known or potential bioequivalence
72.17	problem and meets an acceptable in vitro standard; or
72.18	(ii) if the drug, device, or product does present a known or potential bioequivalence
72.19	problem, it is shown to meet an appropriate bioequivalence standard;
72.20	(4) is adequately labeled; and
72.21	(5) is manufactured in compliance with current manufacturing practice regulations.
72.22	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025, and applies to health
72.23	plans offered, sold, issued, or renewed on or after that date.
	2 10 1/40 20 11 COVED 1 CE OF 1 DODEWONG 1 ND 1 DODEWON DEV 1 TED
72.24	Sec. 19. [62Q.524] COVERAGE OF ABORTIONS AND ABORTION-RELATED
72.25	SERVICES.
72.26	Subdivision 1. Definition. For purposes of this section, "abortion" means any medical
72.27	treatment intended to induce the termination of a pregnancy with a purpose other than
72.28	producing a live birth.
72.29	Subd. 2. Required coverage. (a) A health plan must provide coverage for abortions and
72.30	abortion-related services, including preabortion services and follow-up services.

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

73.1	(b) A health plan must not impose on the coverage under this section any co-payment,
73.2	coinsurance, deductible, or other enrollee cost-sharing that is greater than the cost-sharing
73.3	that applies to similar services covered under the health plan.
73.4	(c) A health plan must not impose any limitation on the coverage under this section,
73.5	including but not limited to any utilization review, prior authorization, referral requirements,
73.6	restrictions, or delays, that is not generally applicable to other coverages under the plan.
73.7	Subd. 3. Exclusion. This section does not apply to managed care organizations or
73.8	county-based purchasing plans when the plan provides coverage to public health care
73.9	program enrollees under chapter 256B or 256L.
73.10	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025, and applies to health
73.11	plans offered, sold, issued, or renewed on or after that date.
72.10	Car 20 1/20 5951 CENDED A FEIDMING CADE COVEDACE, MEDICALLY
73.12	Sec. 20. [62Q.585] GENDER-AFFIRMING CARE COVERAGE; MEDICALLY
73.13	NECESSARY CARE.
73.14	Subdivision 1. Requirement. No health plan that covers physical or mental health
73.15	services may be offered, sold, issued, or renewed in this state that:
73.16	(1) excludes coverage for medically necessary gender-affirming care; or
73.17	(2) requires gender-affirming treatments to satisfy a definition of "medically necessary
73.18	care," "medical necessity," or any similar term that is more restrictive than the definition
73.19	provided in subdivision 2.
73.20	Subd. 2. Minimum definition. "Medically necessary care" means health care services
73.21	appropriate in terms of type, frequency, level, setting, and duration to the enrollee's diagnosis
73.22	or condition and diagnostic testing and preventive services. Medically necessary care must
73.23	be consistent with generally accepted practice parameters as determined by health care
73.24	providers in the same or similar general specialty as typically manages the condition,
73.25	procedure, or treatment at issue and must:
73.26	(1) help restore or maintain the enrollee's health; or
73.27	(2) prevent deterioration of the enrollee's condition.
73.28	Subd. 3. Health plan; definition. For purposes of this section, "health plan" has the
73.29	meaning given in section 62Q.01, subdivision 3, but includes the coverages listed in section
73.30	62A.011, subdivision 3, clauses (7) and (10).
73.31	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.

74.1	Sec. 21. [62Q.665] COVERAGE FOR ORTHOTIC AND PROSTHETIC DEVICES.
74.2	Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For the purposes of this section, the following terms have
74.3	the meanings given.
74.4	(b) "Accredited facility" means any entity that is accredited to provide comprehensive
74.5	orthotic or prosthetic devices or services by a Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services
74.6	approved accrediting agency.
74.7	(c) "Orthosis" means:
74.8	(1) an external medical device that is:
74.9	(i) custom-fabricated or custom-fitted to a specific patient based on the patient's unique
74.10	physical condition;
74.11	(ii) applied to a part of the body to correct a deformity, provide support and protection,
74.12	restrict motion, improve function, or relieve symptoms of a disease, syndrome, injury, or
74.13	postoperative condition; and
74.14	(iii) deemed medically necessary by a prescribing physician or licensed health care
74.15	provider who has authority in Minnesota to prescribe orthotic and prosthetic devices, supplies,
74.16	and services; and
74.17	(2) any provision, repair, or replacement of a device that is furnished or performed by:
74.18	(i) an accredited facility in comprehensive orthotic services; or
74.19	(ii) a health care provider licensed in Minnesota and operating within the provider's
74.20	scope of practice which allows the provider to provide orthotic or prosthetic devices, supplies,
74.21	or services.
74.22	(d) "Orthotics" means:
74.23	(1) the science and practice of evaluating, measuring, designing, fabricating, assembling,
74.24	fitting, adjusting, or servicing and providing the initial training necessary to accomplish the
74.25	fitting of an orthotic device for the support, correction, or alleviation of a neuromuscular
74.26	or musculoskeletal dysfunction, disease, injury, or deformity;
74.27	(2) evaluation, treatment, and consultation related to an orthotic device;
74.28	(3) basic observation of gait and postural analysis;
74.29	(4) assessing and designing orthosis to maximize function and provide support and
74.30	alignment necessary to prevent or correct a deformity or to improve the safety and efficiency
74.31	of mobility and locomotion;

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

75.1	(5) continuing patient care to assess the effect of an orthotic device on the patient's
75.2	tissues; and
75.3	(6) proper fit and function of the orthotic device by periodic evaluation.
75.4	(e) "Prosthesis" means:
75.5	(1) an external medical device that is:
75.6	(i) used to replace or restore a missing limb, appendage, or other external human body
75.7	part; and
75.8	(ii) deemed medically necessary by a prescribing physician or licensed health care
75.9	provider who has authority in Minnesota to prescribe orthotic and prosthetic devices, supplies,
75.10	and services; and
75.11	(2) any provision, repair, or replacement of a device that is furnished or performed by:
75.12	(i) an accredited facility in comprehensive prosthetic services; or
75.13	(ii) a health care provider licensed in Minnesota and operating within the provider's
75.14	scope of practice which allows the provider to provide orthotic or prosthetic devices, supplies,
75.15	or services.
75.16	(f) "Prosthetics" means:
75.17	(1) the science and practice of evaluating, measuring, designing, fabricating, assembling,
75.18	fitting, aligning, adjusting, or servicing, as well as providing the initial training necessary
75.19	to accomplish the fitting of, a prosthesis through the replacement of external parts of a
75.20	human body lost due to amputation or congenital deformities or absences;
75.21	(2) the generation of an image, form, or mold that replicates the patient's body segment
75.22	and that requires rectification of dimensions, contours, and volumes for use in the design
75.23	and fabrication of a socket to accept a residual anatomic limb to, in turn, create an artificial
75.24	appendage that is designed either to support body weight or to improve or restore function
75.25	or anatomical appearance, or both;
75.26	(3) observational gait analysis and clinical assessment of the requirements necessary to
75.27	refine and mechanically fix the relative position of various parts of the prosthesis to maximize
75.28	function, stability, and safety of the patient;
75.29	(4) providing and continuing patient care in order to assess the prosthetic device's effect
75.30	on the patient's tissues; and
75.31	(5) assuring proper fit and function of the prosthetic device by periodic evaluation.

04/16/24 06:07 pm

76.1	Subd. 2. Coverage. (a) A health plan must provide coverage for orthotic and prosthetic
76.2	devices, supplies, and services, including repair and replacement, at least equal to the
76.3	coverage provided under federal law for health insurance for the aged and disabled under
76.4	sections 1832, 1833, and 1834 of the Social Security Act, United States Code, title 42,
76.5	sections 1395k, 1395l, and 1395m, but only to the extent consistent with this section.
76.6	(b) A health plan must not subject orthotic and prosthetic benefits to separate financial
76.7	requirements that apply only with respect to those benefits. A health plan may impose
76.8	co-payment and coinsurance amounts on those benefits, except that any financial
76.9	requirements that apply to such benefits must not be more restrictive than the financial
76.10	requirements that apply to the health plan's medical and surgical benefits, including those
76.11	for internal restorative devices.
76.12	(c) A health plan may limit the benefits for, or alter the financial requirements for,
76.13	out-of-network coverage of prosthetic and orthotic devices, except that the restrictions and
76.14	requirements that apply to those benefits must not be more restrictive than the financial
76.15	requirements that apply to the out-of-network coverage for the health plan's medical and
76.16	surgical benefits.
76.17	(d) A health plan must cover orthoses and prostheses when furnished under an order by
76.18	a prescribing physician or licensed health care prescriber who has authority in Minnesota
76.19	to prescribe orthoses and prostheses, and that coverage for orthotic and prosthetic devices,
76.20	supplies, accessories, and services must include those devices or device systems, supplies,
76.21	accessories, and services that are customized to the covered individual's needs.
76.22	(e) A health plan must cover orthoses and prostheses determined by the enrollee's provider
76.23	to be the most appropriate model that meets the medical needs of the enrollee for purposes
76.24	of performing physical activities, as applicable, including but not limited to running, biking,
76.25	and swimming, and maximizing the enrollee's limb function.
76.26	(f) A health plan must cover orthoses and prostheses for showering or bathing.
76.27	Subd. 3. Prior authorization. A health plan may require prior authorization for orthotic
76.28	and prosthetic devices, supplies, and services in the same manner and to the same extent as
76.29	prior authorization is required for any other covered benefit.
76.30	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025, and applies to all health
76.31	plans offered, issued, or renewed on or after that date.

Sec. 22. [62Q.665] INTERMITTENT CATHETERS. Subdivision 1. Required coverage. A health plan must provide coverage for intermittent urinary catheters and insertion supplies if intermittent catheterization is recommended by the enrollee's health care provider. At least 180 intermittent catheters per month with insertion supplies must be covered unless a lesser amount is prescribed by the enrollee's health care provider. A health plan providing coverage under the medical assistance program may be required to provide coverage for more than 180 intermittent catheters per month with insertion supplies. Subd. 2. Cost-sharing requirements. A health plan is prohibited from imposing a deductible, co-payment, coinsurance, or other restriction on intermittent catheters and insertion supplies that the health plan does not apply to durable medical equipment in general. EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for any health plan issued or renewed 77.12 on or after January 1, 2025. 77.13

Sec. 23. [62Q.666] MEDICAL NECESSITY AND NONDISCRIMINATION STANDARDS FOR COVERAGE OF PROSTHETICS OR ORTHOTICS.

- (a) When performing a utilization review for a request for coverage of prosthetic or orthotic benefits, a health plan company shall apply the most recent version of evidence-based treatment and fit criteria as recognized by relevant clinical specialists.
- (b) A health plan company shall render utilization review determinations in a 77.19 77.20 nondiscriminatory manner and shall not deny coverage for habilitative or rehabilitative benefits, including prosthetics or orthotics, solely on the basis of an enrollee's actual or 77.21 perceived disability. 77.22
- (c) A health plan company shall not deny a prosthetic or orthotic benefit for an individual 77.23 with limb loss or absence that would otherwise be covered for a nondisabled person seeking 77.24 medical or surgical intervention to restore or maintain the ability to perform the same 77.25 physical activity. 77.26
- (d) A health plan offered, issued, or renewed in Minnesota that offers coverage for 77.27 prosthetics and custom orthotic devices shall include language describing an enrollee's rights 77.28 pursuant to paragraphs (b) and (c) in its evidence of coverage and any benefit denial letters. 77.29
 - (e) A health plan that provides coverage for prosthetic or orthotic services shall ensure access to medically necessary clinical care and to prosthetic and custom orthotic devices and technology from not less than two distinct prosthetic and custom orthotic providers in the plan's provider network located in Minnesota. In the event that medically necessary

77.1

77.2

77.3

77.4

77.5

77.6

77.7

77.8

77.9

77.10

77.11

77.14

77.15

77.16

77.17

77.18

77.30

77.31

77.32

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

covered orthotics and prosthetics are not available from an in-network provider, the health 78.1 plan company shall provide processes to refer a member to an out-of-network provider and 78.2 shall fully reimburse the out-of-network provider at a mutually agreed upon rate less member 78.3 cost sharing determined on an in-network basis. 78.4 (f) If coverage for prosthetic or custom orthotic devices is provided, payment shall be 78.5 made for the replacement of a prosthetic or custom orthotic device or for the replacement 78.6 78.7 of any part of the devices, without regard to continuous use or useful lifetime restrictions, if an ordering health care provider determines that the provision of a replacement device, 78.8 or a replacement part of a device, is necessary because: 78.9 78.10 (1) of a change in the physiological condition of the patient; (2) of an irreparable change in the condition of the device or in a part of the device; or 78.11 (3) the condition of the device, or the part of the device, requires repairs and the cost of 78.12 the repairs would be more than 60 percent of the cost of a replacement device or of the part 78.13 being replaced. 78.14 (g) Confirmation from a prescribing health care provider may be required if the prosthetic 78.15 or custom orthotic device or part being replaced is less than three years old. 78.16 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2025, and applies to all health 78.17 plans offered, issued, or renewed on or after that date. 78.18 Sec. 24. [62Q.679] RELIGIONS OBJECTIONS. 78.19 78.20 Subdivision 1. **Definitions.** (a) The definitions in this subdivision apply to this section. (b) "Closely held for-profit entity" means an entity that is not a nonprofit entity, has 78.21 more than 50 percent of the value of its ownership interest owned directly or indirectly by 78.22 five or fewer owners, and has no publicly traded ownership interest. For purposes of this 78.23 78.24 paragraph: (1) ownership interests owned by a corporation, partnership, limited liability company, 78.25 estate, trust, or similar entity are considered owned by that entity's shareholders, partners, 78.26 members, or beneficiaries in proportion to their interest held in the corporation, partnership, 78.27 limited liability company, estate, trust, or similar entity; 78.28 (2) ownership interests owned by a nonprofit entity are considered owned by a single 78.29 78.30 owner;

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

79.1	(3) ownership interests owned by all individuals in a family are considered held by a
79.2	single owner. For purposes of this item, "family" means brothers and sisters, including
79.3	half-brothers and half-sisters, a spouse, ancestors, and lineal descendants; and
79.4	(4) if an individual or entity holds an option, warrant, or similar right to purchase an
79.5	ownership interest, the individual or entity is considered to be the owner of those ownership
79.6	interests.
79.7	(c) "Eligible organization" means an organization that opposes providing coverage under
79.8	section 62Q.522, 62Q.524, or 62Q.585, on account of religious objections and that is:
79.9	(1) organized as a nonprofit entity and holds itself out to be religious; or
79.10	(2) organized and operates as a closely held for-profit entity, and the organization's
79.11	owners or highest governing body has adopted, under the organization's applicable rules of
79.12	governance and consistent with state law, a resolution or similar action establishing that the
79.13	organization objects to covering some or all health benefits under section 62Q.522, 62Q.524,
79.14	or 62Q.585, on account of the owners' sincerely held religious beliefs.
79.15	(d) "Exempt organization" means an organization that is organized and operates as a
79.16	nonprofit entity and meets the requirements of section 6033(a)(3)(A)(i) or (iii) of the Internal
79.17	Revenue Code of 1986, as amended.
79.18	Subd. 2. Exemption. (a) An exempt organization is not required to provide coverage
79.19	under section 62Q.522, 62Q.524, or 62Q.585, if the exempt organization has religious
79.20	objections to the coverage. An exempt organization that chooses to not provide coverage
79.21	pursuant to this paragraph must notify employees as part of the hiring process and to all
79.22	employees at least 30 days before:
79.23	(1) an employee enrolls in the health plan; or
79.24	(2) the effective date of the health plan, whichever occurs first.
79.25	(b) If the exempt organization provides partial coverage under section 62Q.522, 62Q.524,
79.26	or 62Q.585, the notice required under paragraph (a) must provide a list of the portions of
79.27	such coverage which the organization refuses to cover.
79.28	Subd. 3. Accommodation for eligible organizations. (a) A health plan established or
79.29	maintained by an eligible organization complies with the coverage requirements of sections
79.30	62Q.522, 62Q.524, and 62Q.585, with respect to the health benefits identified in the notice
79.31	under this paragraph, if the eligible organization provides notice to any health plan company
79.32	the eligible organization contracts with that it is an eligible organization and that the eligible

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2
07/10/27 00.0/ pm	COUNDLL	1111L/1111/10	DCDTU//II

80.1	organization has a religious objection to coverage for all or a subset of the health benefits
80.2	under sections 62Q.522, 62Q.524, and 62Q.585.
80.3	(b) The notice from an eligible organization to a health plan company under paragraph
80.4	(a) must include: (1) the name of the eligible organization; (2) a statement that it objects to
80.5	coverage for some or all of the health benefits under sections 62Q.522, 62Q.524, and
80.6	62Q.585, including a list of the health benefits the eligible organization objects to, if
80.7	applicable; and (3) the health plan name. The notice must be executed by a person authorized
80.8	to provide notice on behalf of the eligible organization.
80.9	(c) An eligible organization must provide a copy of the notice under paragraph (a) to
80.10	prospective employees as part of the hiring process and to all employees at least 30 days
80.11	before:
80.12	(1) an employee enrolls in the health plan; or
80.13	(2) the effective date of the health plan, whichever occurs first.
80.14	(d) A health plan company that receives a copy of the notice under paragraph (a) with
80.15	respect to a health plan established or maintained by an eligible organization must, for all
80.16	future enrollments in the health plan:
80.17	(1) expressly exclude coverage for those health benefits identified in the notice under
80.18	paragraph (a) from the health plan; and
80.19	(2) provide separate payments for any health benefits required to be covered under
80.20	sections 62Q.522, 62Q.524, and 62Q.585, for enrollees as long as the enrollee remains
80.21	enrolled in the health plan.
80.22	(e) The health plan company must not impose any cost-sharing requirements, including
80.23	co-pays, deductibles, or coinsurance, or directly or indirectly impose any premium, fee, or
80.24	other charge for the health benefits under section 62Q.522 on the enrollee. The health plan
80.25	company must not directly or indirectly impose any premium, fee, or other charge for the
80.26	health benefits under section 62Q.522, 62Q.524, or 62Q.585 on the eligible organization
80.27	or health plan.
80.28	(f) On January 1, 2024, and every year thereafter a health plan company must notify the
80.29	commissioner, in a manner determined by the commissioner, of the number of eligible
80.30	organizations granted an accommodation under this subdivision.
80.31	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025, and applies to health
80.32	plans offered, sold, issued, or renewed on or after that date.

81.1

81.2	Subdivision 1. Definition. For the purposes of this section, "physician wellness program"
81.3	means a program of evaluation, counseling, or other modality to address an issue related to
81.4	career fatigue or wellness related to work stress for physicians licensed under chapter 147
81.5	that is administered by a statewide association that is exempt from taxation under United
81.6	States Code, title 26, section 501(c)(6), and that primarily represents physicians and
81.7	osteopaths of multiple specialties. The term does not include the provision of services
81.8	intended to monitor for impairment under the authority of section 214.31.
81.9	Subd. 2. Confidentiality. Any record of a person's participation in a physician wellness
81.10	program is confidential and not subject to discovery, subpoena, or a reporting requirement
81.11	to the applicable board, unless the person voluntarily provides for written release of the
81.12	information, or the disclosure is required to meet the licensee's obligation to report according
81.13	to section 147.111.
81.14	Subd. 3. Civil liability. Any person, agency, institution, facility, or organization employed
81.15	by, contracting with, or operating a physician wellness program, when acting in good faith,
81.16	is immune from civil liability for any action related to their duties in connection with a
81.17	physician wellness program.
81.18	Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 256B.0625, subdivision 3a, is
81.19	amended to read:
81.20	Subd. 3a. Gender-affirming services. Medical assistance covers gender-affirming health
81.21	care services. "Gender-affirming health care services" means all medical, surgical, counseling,
81.22	or referral services, including telehealth services, that an individual may receive to support
81.23	and affirm that individual's gender identity or gender expression and that are legal under
81.24	the laws of the state of Minnesota.
81.25	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.
01.06	See 27 Minnesote Statutes 2022 costion 256D 0625 cub division 12 is amonded to use de
81.26	Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256B.0625, subdivision 12, is amended to read:
81.27	Subd. 12. Eyeglasses, and dentures, and prosthetic and orthotic devices. (a) Medical
81.28	assistance covers eyeglasses, and dentures, and prosthetic and orthotic devices if prescribed
81.29	by a licensed practitioner.
81.30	(b) For purposes of prescribing prosthetic and orthotic devices, "licensed practitioner"
81.31	includes a physician, an advanced practice registered nurse, a physician assistant, or a

podiatrist.

82.1	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.
82.2	Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 256B.0625, subdivision 16, is
82.3	amended to read:
82.4	Subd. 16. Abortion services. Medical assistance covers abortion services determined
82.5	to be medically necessary by the treating provider and delivered in accordance with all
82.6	applicable Minnesota laws abortions and abortion-related services, including preabortion
82.7	services and follow-up services.
82.8	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025, or upon federal approval,
82.9	whichever is later. The commissioner of human services shall notify the revisor of statutes
82.10	when federal approval is obtained.
82.11	Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256B.0625, is amended by adding a subdivision
82.12	to read:
82.13	Subd. 72. Orthotic and prosthetic devices. Medical assistance covers orthotic and
82.14	prosthetic devices, supplies, and services according to section 256B.066.
82.15	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.
82.16	Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256B.0625, is amended by adding a subdivision
82.17	to read:
82.18	Subd. 72. Scalp hair prosthetics. Medical assistance covers scalp hair prosthesis
82.19	prescribed for hair loss suffered as a result of treatment for cancer. Medical assistance must
82.20	meet the requirements that would otherwise apply to a health plan under section 62A.28,
82.21	except for the limitation on coverage required per benefit year set forth in section 62A.28,
82.22	subdivision 2, paragraph (c).
82.23	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025, and applies to all policies,
82.24	plans, certificates, and contracts offered, issued, or renewed on or after that date.
82.25	Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256B.0625, is amended by adding a subdivision
82.26	to read:
82.27	Subd. 72. Intermittent catheters. Medical assistance covers intermittent urinary catheters
82.28	and insertion supplies if intermittent catheterization is recommended by the enrollee's health
82.29	care provider. Medical assistance must meet the requirements that would otherwise apply
82.30	to a health plan under section 620.665.

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2
04/10/24 00.0 / DIII	COUNSEL	AUL/INU/IO	3C34099A-2

Sec. 32. [256B.066] ORTHOTIC AND PROSTHETIC DEVICES, SUPPLIES, A	<u>AND</u>
SERVICES.	
Subdivision 1. Definitions. All terms used in this section have the meanings given	them
in section 62Q.665, subdivision 1.	
Subd. 2. Coverage requirements. (a) Medical assistance covers orthotic and prost	hetic
devices, supplies, and services:	
(1) furnished under an order by a prescribing physician or licensed health care prescribing	riber
who has authority in Minnesota to prescribe orthoses and prostheses. Coverage for ort	hotic
and prosthetic devices, supplies, accessories, and services under this clause includes	
devices or device systems, supplies, accessories, and services that are customized to t	
enrollee's needs;	
(2) determined by the enrollee's provider to be the most appropriate model that model th	eets
the medical needs of the enrollee for purposes of performing physical activities, as applications and the medical needs of the enrollee for purposes of performing physical activities.	
ncluding but not limited to running, biking, and swimming, and maximizing the enro	
imb function; or	iice s
(3) for showering or bathing.	
(b) The coverage set forth in paragraph (a) includes the repair and replacement of	those
orthotic and prosthetic devices, supplies, and services described therein.	
(c) Coverage of a prosthetic or orthotic benefit must not be denied for an individual	with
imb loss or absence that would otherwise be covered for a nondisabled person seeking	1 <u>g</u>
medical or surgical intervention to restore or maintain the ability to perform the same	<u>;</u>
physical activity.	
(d) If coverage for prosthetic or custom orthotic devices is provided, payment sha	<u>11 be</u>
made for the replacement of a prosthetic or custom orthotic device or for the replacer	<u>nent</u>
of any part of the devices, without regard to useful lifetime restrictions, if an ordering h	ealth
care provider determines that the provision of a replacement device, or a replacement	part
of a device, is necessary because:	
(1) of a change in the physiological condition of the patient;	
(2) of an irreparable change in the condition of the device or in a part of the device	e; or
(3) the condition of the device, or the part of the device, requires repairs and the co	ost of
the repairs would be more than 60 percent of the cost of a replacement device or of the	e part
being replaced.	

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

84.1	Subd. 3. Restrictions on coverage. (a) Prior authorization may be required for orthotic
84.2	and prosthetic devices, supplies, and services.
84.3	(b) A utilization review for a request for coverage of prosthetic or orthotic benefits must
84.4	apply the most recent version of evidence-based treatment and fit criteria as recognized by
84.5	relevant clinical specialists.
84.6	(c) Utilization review determinations must be rendered in a nondiscriminatory manner
84.7	and shall not deny coverage for habilitative or rehabilitative benefits, including prosthetics
84.8	or orthotics, solely on the basis of an enrollee's actual or perceived disability.
84.9	(d) Evidence of coverage and any benefit denial letters must include language describing
84.10	an enrollee's rights pursuant to paragraphs (b) and (c).
84.11	(e) Confirmation from a prescribing health care provider may be required if the prosthetic
84.12	or custom orthotic device or part being replaced is less than three years old.
84.13	Subd. 4. Managed care plan access to care. (a) Managed care plans and county-based
84.14	purchasing plans subject to this section must ensure access to medically necessary clinical
84.15	care and to prosthetic and custom orthotic devices and technology from at least two distinct
84.16	prosthetic and custom orthotic providers in the plan's provider network located in Minnesota.
84.17	(b) In the event that medically necessary covered orthotics and prosthetics are not
84.18	available from an in-network provider, the plan must provide processes to refer an enrollee
84.19	to an out-of-network provider and must fully reimburse the out-of-network provider at a
84.20	mutually agreed upon rate less enrollee cost sharing determined on an in-network basis.
84.21	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.
84.22	Sec. 33. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 317A.811, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
84.23	Subdivision 1. When required. (a) Except as provided in subdivision 6, the following
84.24	corporations shall notify the attorney general of their intent to dissolve, merge, consolidate,
84.25	or convert, or to transfer all or substantially all of their assets:
84.26	(1) a corporation that holds assets for a charitable purpose as defined in section 501B.35,
84.27	subdivision 2; or
84.28	(2) a corporation that is exempt under section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code
84.29	of 1986, or any successor section.
84.30	(b) Except as provided in subdivision 6, the following corporations shall notify the
84.31	attorney general of their intent to dissolve, merge, consolidate, convert, or transfer at least
84.32	ten percent of their assets:

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

85.1	(1) a corporation that is a nonprofit health service plan corporation operating under
85.2	chapter 62C; or
85.3	(2) a corporation that is a health maintenance organization operating under chapter 62D.
85.4	(b) (c) The notice must include:
85.5	(1) the purpose of the corporation that is giving the notice;
85.6	(2) a list of assets owned or held by the corporation for charitable purposes;
85.7	(3) a description of restricted assets and purposes for which the assets were received;
85.8	(4) a description of debts, obligations, and liabilities of the corporation;
85.9	(5) a description of tangible assets being converted to cash and the manner in which
85.10	they will be sold;
85.11	(6) anticipated expenses of the transaction, including attorney fees;
85.12	(7) a list of persons to whom assets will be transferred, if known, or the name of the
85.13	converted organization;
85.14	(8) the purposes of persons receiving the assets or of the converted organization; and
85.15	(9) the terms, conditions, or restrictions, if any, to be imposed on the transferred or
85.16	converted assets.
85.17	The notice must be signed on behalf of the corporation by an authorized person.
85.18	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
85.19	Sec. 34. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 317A.811, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
85.20	Subd. 2. Restriction on transfers. (a) Subject to subdivision 3, a corporation described
85.21	in subdivision 1, paragraph (a), may not transfer or convey assets as part of a dissolution,
85.22	merger, consolidation, or transfer of assets under section 317A.661, and it may not convert
85.23	until 45 days after it has given written notice to the attorney general, unless the attorney
85.24	general waives all or part of the waiting period.
85.25	(b) Subject to subdivision 3, a corporation described in subdivision 1, paragraph (b),
85.26	may not transfer or convey assets as part of a dissolution, merger, consolidation, transfer
85.27	of assets under section 317A.661, or transfer of at least ten percent of its assets and it may
85.28	not convert until 45 days after it has given written notice to the attorney general, unless the
85.29	attorney general waives all or part of the waiting period.

04/16/24 06:07 1	om COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

(c) For a notice given by a corporation described in subdivision 1, paragraph (b), the 86.1 attorney general may hold a public hearing with respect to the purpose for which the 86.2 corporation gave the notice. If the attorney general elects to hold a public hearing, the 86.3 attorney general must give at least seven days' notice of the hearing to the corporation filing 86.4 the statement and to the public. 86.5 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment. 86.6 Sec. 35. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 317A.811, subdivision 4, is amended to read: 86.7 Subd. 4. Notice after transfer. When all or substantially all of the assets of a corporation 86.8 described in subdivision 1, paragraph (a), or at least ten percent of the assets of a corporation 86.9 described in subdivision 1, paragraph (b), have been transferred or conveyed following 86.10 expiration or waiver of the waiting period, the board shall deliver to the attorney general a 86.11 list of persons to whom the assets were transferred or conveyed. The list must include the 86.12 addresses of each person who received assets and show what assets the person received. 86.13 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment. 86.14 Sec. 36. COMMISSIONER OF COMMERCE. 86.15 The commissioner of commerce shall consult with health plan companies, pharmacies, 86.16 and pharmacy benefit managers to develop guidance to implement coverage for the pharmacy 86.17 services required by sections 1 to 3. 86.18 86.19 Sec. 37. TRANSITION. (a) A health maintenance organization that has a certificate of authority under Minnesota 86.20 86.21 Statutes, chapter 62D, but that is not a nonprofit corporation organized under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 317A, or a local governmental unit, as defined in Minnesota Statutes, 86.22 section 62D.02, subdivision 11: 86.23 (1) must not offer, sell, issue, or renew any health maintenance contracts on or after 86.24 August 1, 2024; 86.25 (2) may otherwise continue to operate as a health maintenance organization until 86.26 December 31, 2025; and 86.27 (3) must provide notice to the health maintenance organization's enrollees as of August 86.28 1, 2024, of the date the health maintenance organization will cease to operate in this state 86.29 and any plans to transition enrollee coverage to another insurer. This notice must be provided 86.30 by October 1, 2024. 86.31

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

87.1	(b) The commissioner of health must not issue or renew a certificate of authority to
87.2	operate as a health maintenance organization on or after August 1, 2024, unless the entity
87.3	seeking the certificate of authority meets the requirements for a health maintenance
87.4	organization under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 62D, in effect on or after August 1, 2024.
87.5	Sec. 38. REPEALER.
87.6	(a) Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 62A.041, subdivision 3, is repealed.
87.7	(b) Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 62Q.522, subdivisions 3 and 4, are
87.8	repealed.
87.9	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025, and applies to health
87.10	plans offered, sold, issued, or renewed on or after that date.
87.11	ARTICLE 5
87.12	DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH
87.13	Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 103I.621, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
87.14	Subdivision 1. Permit. (a) Notwithstanding any department or agency rule to the contrary,
87.15	the commissioner shall issue, on request by the owner of the property and payment of the
87.16	permit fee, permits for the reinjection of water by a properly constructed well into the same
87.17	aquifer from which the water was drawn for the operation of a groundwater thermal exchange
87.18	device.
87.19	(b) As a condition of the permit, an applicant must agree to allow inspection by the
87.20	commissioner during regular working hours for department inspectors.
87.21	(c) Not more than 200 permits may be issued for small systems having maximum
87.22	capacities of 20 gallons per minute or less and that are compliant with the natural resource
87.23	water-use requirements under subdivision 2. The small systems are subject to inspection
87.24	twice a year.
87.25	(d) Not more than ten 100 permits may be issued for larger systems having maximum
87.26	capacities from over 20 to 50 gallons per minute and are compliant with the natural resource
87.27	water-use requirements under subdivision 2. The larger systems are subject to inspection
87.28	four times a year.
87.29	(e) A person issued a permit must comply with this section and any permit conditions
87.30	deemed necessary to protect public health and safety of groundwater for the permit to be
87.31	valid.

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

(f) The property owner or the property owner's agent must submit to the commissioner 88.1 a permit application on a form provided by the commissioner, or in a format approved by 88.2 the commissioner, that provides any information necessary to protect public health and 88.3 safety of groundwater. 88.4 (g) A permit granted under this section is not valid if a water-use permit is required for 88.5 the project and is not approved by the commissioner of natural resources. 88.6 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment. 88.7 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 103I.621, subdivision 2, is amended to read: 88.888.9 Subd. 2. Water-use requirements apply. Water-use permit requirements and penalties under chapter 103F 103G and related rules adopted and enforced by the commissioner of 88.10 natural resources apply to groundwater thermal exchange permit recipients. A person who 88.11 violates a provision of this section is subject to enforcement or penalties for the noncomplying 88.12 activity that are available to the commissioner and the Pollution Control Agency. 88.13 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment. 88.14 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 144.1501, subdivision 1, is amended 88.15 to read: 88.16 Subdivision 1. **Definitions.** (a) For purposes of this section, the following definitions 88.17 apply. 88.18 (b) "Advanced dental therapist" means an individual who is licensed as a dental therapist 88.19 under section 150A.06, and who is certified as an advanced dental therapist under section 88.20 150A.106. 88.21 (c) "Alcohol and drug counselor" means an individual who is licensed as an alcohol and 88.22 drug counselor under chapter 148F. 88.23 (d) "Dental therapist" means an individual who is licensed as a dental therapist under 88.24 section 150A.06. 88.25 (e) "Dentist" means an individual who is licensed to practice dentistry. 88.26 (f) "Designated rural area" means a statutory and home rule charter city or township that 88.27 is outside the seven-county metropolitan area as defined in section 473.121, subdivision 2, 88.28 excluding the cities of Duluth, Mankato, Moorhead, Rochester, and St. Cloud. 88.29

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

89.1	(g) "Emergency circumstances" means those conditions that make it impossible for the
89.2	participant to fulfill the service commitment, including death, total and permanent disability
89.3	or temporary disability lasting more than two years.
89.4	(h) "Hospital nurse" means an individual who is licensed as a registered nurse and who
89.5	is providing direct patient care in a nonprofit hospital setting.
89.6	(i) (h) "Mental health professional" means an individual providing clinical services in
89.7	the treatment of mental illness who is qualified in at least one of the ways specified in section
89.8	245.462, subdivision 18.
89.9	(j) (i) "Medical resident" means an individual participating in a medical residency in
89.10	family practice, internal medicine, obstetrics and gynecology, pediatrics, or psychiatry.
89.11	(k) (j) "Midlevel practitioner" means a nurse practitioner, nurse-midwife, nurse
89.12	anesthetist, advanced clinical nurse specialist, or physician assistant.
89.13	(1) (k) "Nurse" means an individual who has completed training and received all licensing
89.14	or certification necessary to perform duties as a licensed practical nurse or registered nurse
89.15	(m) (l) "Nurse-midwife" means a registered nurse who has graduated from a program
89.16	of study designed to prepare registered nurses for advanced practice as nurse-midwives.
89.17	(n) (m) "Nurse practitioner" means a registered nurse who has graduated from a program
89.18	of study designed to prepare registered nurses for advanced practice as nurse practitioners
89.19	(o) (n) "Pharmacist" means an individual with a valid license issued under chapter 151
89.20	(p) (o) "Physician" means an individual who is licensed to practice medicine in the areas
89.21	of family practice, internal medicine, obstetrics and gynecology, pediatrics, or psychiatry.
89.22	(q) (p) "Physician assistant" means a person licensed under chapter 147A.
89.23	(r) (q) "Public health nurse" means a registered nurse licensed in Minnesota who has
89.24	obtained a registration certificate as a public health nurse from the Board of Nursing in
89.25	accordance with Minnesota Rules, chapter 6316.
89.26	(s) (r) "Qualified educational loan" means a government, commercial, or foundation
89.27	loan for actual costs paid for tuition, reasonable education expenses, and reasonable living
89.28	expenses related to the graduate or undergraduate education of a health care professional.
89.29	(t) (s) "Underserved urban community" means a Minnesota urban area or population
89.30	included in the list of designated primary medical care health professional shortage areas
89.31	(HPSAs), medically underserved areas (MUAs), or medically underserved populations

90.1 (MUPs) maintained and updated by the United States Department of Health and Human 90.2 Services.

- 90.3 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 144.1501, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
 - Subd. 2. Creation of account Availability. (a) A health professional education loan forgiveness program account is established. The commissioner of health shall use money from the account to establish a appropriated for health professional education loan forgiveness program in this section:
 - (1) for medical residents, mental health professionals, and alcohol and drug counselors agreeing to practice in designated rural areas or underserved urban communities or specializing in the area of pediatric psychiatry;
 - (2) for midlevel practitioners agreeing to practice in designated rural areas or to teach at least 12 credit hours, or 720 hours per year in the nursing field in a postsecondary program at the undergraduate level or the equivalent at the graduate level;
 - (3) for nurses who agree to practice in a Minnesota nursing home; in an intermediate care facility for persons with developmental disability; in a hospital if the hospital owns and operates a Minnesota nursing home and a minimum of 50 percent of the hours worked by the nurse is in the nursing home; in an assisted living facility as defined in section 144G.08, subdivision 7; or for a home care provider as defined in section 144A.43, subdivision 4; or agree to teach at least 12 credit hours, or 720 hours per year in the nursing field in a postsecondary program at the undergraduate level or the equivalent at the graduate level;
 - (4) for other health care technicians agreeing to teach at least 12 credit hours, or 720 hours per year in their designated field in a postsecondary program at the undergraduate level or the equivalent at the graduate level. The commissioner, in consultation with the Healthcare Education-Industry Partnership, shall determine the health care fields where the need is the greatest, including, but not limited to, respiratory therapy, clinical laboratory technology, radiologic technology, and surgical technology;
 - (5) for pharmacists, advanced dental therapists, dental therapists, and public health nurses who agree to practice in designated rural areas;
 - (6) for dentists agreeing to deliver at least 25 percent of the dentist's yearly patient encounters to state public program enrollees or patients receiving sliding fee schedule discounts through a formal sliding fee schedule meeting the standards established by the

90.5

90.6

90.7

90.8

90.9

90.10

90.11

90.12

90.13

90.14

90.15

90.16

90.17

90.18

90.19

90.20

90.21

90.22

90.23

90.24

90.25

90.26

90.27

90.28

90.29

90.30

90.31

90.32

04/16/24 06:07 1	pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

United States Department of Health and Human Services under Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, section 51, chapter 303; and

- (7) for nurses employed as a hospital nurse by a nonprofit hospital and providing direct care to patients at the nonprofit hospital.
- (b) Appropriations made to the account for health professional education loan forgiveness in this section do not cancel and are available until expended, except that at the end of each biennium, any remaining balance in the account that is not committed by contract and not needed to fulfill existing commitments shall cancel to the fund.
- Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 144.1501, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2. **Creation of account.** (a) A health professional education loan forgiveness program account is established. The commissioner of health shall use money from the account to establish a loan forgiveness program:
- 91.14 (1) for medical residents, mental health professionals, and alcohol and drug counselors 91.15 agreeing to practice in designated rural areas or underserved urban communities or 91.16 specializing in the area of pediatric psychiatry;
 - (2) for midlevel practitioners agreeing to practice in designated rural areas or to teach at least 12 credit hours, or 720 hours per year in the nursing field in a postsecondary program at the undergraduate level or the equivalent at the graduate level;
 - (3) for nurses who agree to practice in a Minnesota nursing home; in an intermediate care facility for persons with developmental disability; in a hospital if the hospital owns and operates a Minnesota nursing home and a minimum of 50 percent of the hours worked by the nurse is in the nursing home; in an assisted living facility as defined in section 144G.08, subdivision 7; or for a home care provider as defined in section 144A.43, subdivision 4; or agree to teach at least 12 credit hours, or 720 hours per year in the nursing field in a postsecondary program at the undergraduate level or the equivalent at the graduate level;
 - (4) for other health care technicians agreeing to teach at least 12 credit hours, or 720 hours per year in their designated field in a postsecondary program at the undergraduate level or the equivalent at the graduate level. The commissioner, in consultation with the Healthcare Education-Industry Partnership, shall determine the health care fields where the need is the greatest, including, but not limited to, respiratory therapy, clinical laboratory technology, radiologic technology, and surgical technology;

91.1

91.2

91.3

91.4

91.5

91.6

91.7

91.8

91.17

91.18

91.19

91.20

91.21

91.22

91.23

91.24

91.25

91.26

91.27

91.28

91.29

91.30

91.31

91.32

04/16/24 06:07 pm

(5) for pharmacists, advanced dental therapists, dental therapists, and public health nurses who agree to practice in designated rural areas; and

- (6) for dentists agreeing to deliver at least 25 percent of the dentist's yearly patient encounters to state public program enrollees or patients receiving sliding fee schedule discounts through a formal sliding fee schedule meeting the standards established by the United States Department of Health and Human Services under Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, section 51, chapter 303; and.
- (7) for nurses employed as a hospital nurse by a nonprofit hospital and providing direct care to patients at the nonprofit hospital.
- (b) Appropriations made to the account do not cancel and are available until expended, except that at the end of each biennium, any remaining balance in the account that is not committed by contract and not needed to fulfill existing commitments shall cancel to the fund.
- 92.14 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 144.1501, subdivision 3, is amended 92.15 to read:
- 92.16 Subd. 3. **Eligibility.** (a) To be eligible to participate in the loan forgiveness program, an individual must:
 - (1) be a medical or dental resident; a licensed pharmacist; or be enrolled in a training or education program to become a dentist, dental therapist, advanced dental therapist, mental health professional, alcohol and drug counselor, pharmacist, public health nurse, midlevel practitioner, registered nurse, or a licensed practical nurse. The commissioner may also consider applications submitted by graduates in eligible professions who are licensed and in practice; and
 - (2) submit an application to the commissioner of health. A nurse applying under subdivision 2, paragraph (a), clause (7), must also include proof that the applicant is employed as a hospital nurse.
 - (b) An applicant selected to participate must sign a contract to agree to serve a minimum three-year full-time service obligation according to subdivision 2, which shall begin no later than March 31 following completion of required training, with the exception of:
- 92.30 (1) a nurse, who must agree to serve a minimum two-year full-time service obligation 92.31 according to subdivision 2, which shall begin no later than March 31 following completion 92.32 of required training; and

92.1

92.2

92.3

92.4

92.5

92.6

92.7

92.8

92.9

92.10

92.11

92.12

92.13

92.18

92.19

92.20

92.21

92.22

92.23

92.24

92.25

92.26

92.27

92.28

(2) a nurse selected under subdivision 2, paragraph (a), clause (7), who must agree to continue as a hospital nurse for a minimum two-year service obligation; and

(3) (2) a nurse who agrees to teach according to subdivision 2, paragraph (a), clause (3), who must sign a contract to agree to teach for a minimum of two years.

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 144.1501, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. Loan forgiveness. (a) The commissioner of health may select applicants each year for participation in the loan forgiveness program, within the limits of available funding. In considering applications, the commissioner shall give preference to applicants who document diverse cultural competencies. The commissioner shall distribute available funds for loan forgiveness proportionally among the eligible professions according to the vacancy rate for each profession in the required geographic area, facility type, teaching area, patient group, or specialty type specified in subdivision 2, except for hospital nurses. The commissioner shall allocate funds for physician loan forgiveness so that 75 percent of the funds available are used for rural physician loan forgiveness and 25 percent of the funds available are used for underserved urban communities and pediatric psychiatry loan forgiveness. If the commissioner does not receive enough qualified applicants each year to use the entire allocation of funds for any eligible profession, the remaining funds may be allocated proportionally among the other eligible professions according to the vacancy rate for each profession in the required geographic area, patient group, or facility type specified in subdivision 2. Applicants are responsible for securing their own qualified educational loans. The commissioner shall select participants based on their suitability for practice serving the required geographic area or facility type specified in subdivision 2, as indicated by experience or training. The commissioner shall give preference to applicants closest to completing their training. Except as specified in paragraph (e) (b), for each year that a participant meets the service obligation required under subdivision 3, up to a maximum of four years, the commissioner shall make annual disbursements directly to the participant equivalent to 15 percent of the average educational debt for indebted graduates in their profession in the year closest to the applicant's selection for which information is available, not to exceed the balance of the participant's qualifying educational loans. Before receiving loan repayment disbursements and as requested, the participant must complete and return to the commissioner a confirmation of practice form provided by the commissioner verifying that the participant is practicing as required under subdivisions 2 and 3. The participant must provide the commissioner with verification that the full amount of loan repayment disbursement received by the participant has been applied toward the designated loans.

93.1

93.2

93.3

93.4

93.5

93.6

93.7

93.8

93.9

93.10

93.11

93.12

93.13

93.14

93.15

93.16

93.17

93.18

93.19

93.20

93.21

93.22

93.23

93.24

93.25

93.26

93.27

93.28

93.29

93.30

93.31

93.32

93.33

93.34

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

After each disbursement, verification must be received by the commissioner and approved before the next loan repayment disbursement is made. Participants who move their practice remain eligible for loan repayment as long as they practice as required under subdivision 2.

(b) For hospital nurses, the commissioner of health shall select applicants each year for participation in the hospital nursing education loan forgiveness program, within limits of available funding for hospital nurses. Before receiving the annual loan repayment disbursement, the participant must complete and return to the commissioner a confirmation of practice form provided by the commissioner, verifying that the participant continues to meet the eligibility requirements under subdivision 3. The participant must provide the commissioner with verification that the full amount of loan repayment disbursement received by the participant has been applied toward the designated loans.

(e) (b) For each year that a participant who is a nurse and who has agreed to teach according to subdivision 2 meets the teaching obligation required in subdivision 3, the commissioner shall make annual disbursements directly to the participant equivalent to 15 percent of the average annual educational debt for indebted graduates in the nursing profession in the year closest to the participant's selection for which information is available, not to exceed the balance of the participant's qualifying educational loans.

Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144.1501, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

Subd. 5. **Penalty for nonfulfillment.** If a participant does not fulfill the required minimum commitment of service according to subdivision 3, the commissioner of health shall collect from the participant the total amount paid to the participant under the loan forgiveness program plus interest at a rate established according to section 270C.40. The commissioner shall deposit the money collected in the health care access fund to be credited to a dedicated account in the special revenue fund. The balance of the account is appropriated annually to the commissioner for the health professional education loan forgiveness program account established in subdivision 2. The commissioner shall allow waivers of all or part of the money owed the commissioner as a result of a nonfulfillment penalty if emergency circumstances prevented fulfillment of the minimum service commitment.

Sec. 9. [144.1521] HOSPITAL NURSING EDUCATIONAL LOAN FORGIVENESS PROGRAM.

94.32 <u>Subdivision 1.</u> **Definitions.** (a) For purposes of this section, the following definitions 94.33 <u>apply.</u>

94.1

94.2

94.3

94.4

94.5

94.6

94.7

94.8

94.9

94.10

94.11

94.12

94.13

94.14

94.15

94.16

94.17

94.18

94.19

94.20

94.21

94.22

94.23

94.24

94.25

94.26

94.27

94.28

94.29

94.30

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

95.1	(b) "Emergency circumstances" means those conditions that make it impossible for the
95.2	participant to fulfill the service commitment, including death, total and permanent disability,
95.3	or temporary disability lasting more than two years.
95.4	(c) "Hospital nurse" means an individual who is licensed as a registered nurse and who
95.5	is providing direct patient care in a nonprofit hospital setting.
95.6	(d) "Qualified educational loan" means a government, commercial, or foundation loan
95.7	for actual costs paid for tuition, reasonable education expenses, and reasonable living
95.8	expenses related to the graduate or undergraduate education of a health care professional.
95.9	Subd. 2. Creation of account. (a) A hospital nursing education loan forgiveness program
95.10	account is established in the special revenue fund. The commissioner of health shall use
95.11	money from the account to establish a loan forgiveness program for licensed registered
95.12	nurses employed as hospital nurses by a nonprofit hospital and who provide direct care to
95.13	patients at the nonprofit hospital.
95.14	(b) Money transferred to or deposited in the account does not cancel and is available
95.15	until expended. The balance of the account is appropriated annually to the commissioner
95.16	for the hospital nursing educational loan forgiveness program.
95.17	Subd. 3. Eligibility. (a) To be eligible to participate in the hospital nursing loan
95.18	forgiveness program, an individual must: (1) be a hospital nurse who has been employed
95.19	as a hospital nurse for at least three years; (2) submit an application to the commissioner of
95.20	health; and (3) submit proof that the applicant is employed as a hospital nurse and has been
95.21	so employed for at least three years.
95.22	(b) The commissioner must accept a signed work verification form from the applicant's
95.23	supervisor as proof of the applicant's tenure providing direct patient care in a nonprofit
95.24	hospital setting.
95.25	(c) An applicant selected to participate in the loan forgiveness program must sign a
95.26	contract to agree to continue as a hospital nurse for a minimum two-year service obligation.
95.27	Subd. 4. Loan forgiveness. (a) Within the limits of available funding, the commissioner
95.28	of health shall select applicants each year for participation in the loan forgiveness program.
95.29	If the total requests from eligible applicants exceeds the available funding, the commissioner
95.30	shall randomly select grantees from among eligible applicants.
95.31	(b) Applicants are responsible for securing their own qualified educational loans.
95.32	(c) For each year that a participant meets the service obligation required under subdivision
95.33	3, up to a maximum of four years, the commissioner shall make annual disbursements

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

96.1	directly to the participant equivalent to 15 percent of the average educational debt for
96.2	indebted graduates in their profession in the year closest to the applicant's selection for
96.3	which information is available, not to exceed the balance of the participant's qualifying
96.4	educational loans. Before receiving loan repayment disbursements and as requested, the
96.5	participant must complete and return to the commissioner a confirmation of practice form
96.6	provided by the commissioner verifying that the participant is practicing as required under
96.7	subdivisions 2 and 3.
96.8	(d) The participant must provide the commissioner with verification that the full amount
96.9	of loan repayment disbursement received by the participant has been applied toward the
96.10	designated loans. After each disbursement, verification must be received by the commissioner
96.11	and approved before the next loan repayment disbursement is made.
96.12	(e) Participants who move their practice remain eligible for loan repayment as long as
96.13	they practice as required under subdivisions 2 and 3.
96.14	Subd. 5. Penalty for nonfulfillment. (a) If a participant does not fulfill the required
96.15	minimum commitment of service according to subdivision 3, the commissioner of health
96.16	shall collect from the participant the total amount paid to the participant under the loan
96.17	forgiveness program. The commissioner shall deposit the money collected from the
96.18	participant in the special revenue fund to be credited to the hospital nursing education loan
96.19	forgiveness program account established in subdivision 2.
96.20	(b) The commissioner shall allow waivers of all or part of the money owed to the
96.21	commissioner as a result of a nonfulfillment penalty if the participant is unable to fulfill the
96.22	minimum service commitment due to emergency circumstances, life changes outside the
96.23	applicant's control, inability to obtain required hours as a result of a scheduling decision by
96.24	the hospital, or other circumstances as determined by the commissioner.
96.25	Subd. 6. Rules. The commissioner may adopt rules to implement this section.
96.26	Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144A.61, subdivision 3a, is amended to read:
96.27	Subd. 3a. Competency evaluation program. (a) The commissioner of health shall
96.28	approve the competency evaluation program.
96.29	(b) A competency evaluation must be administered to persons who desire to be listed
96.30	in the nursing assistant registry. The tests may only be administered by technical colleges,
96.31	community colleges, or other organizations approved by the Department of Health
96.32	commissioner of health. The commissioner must ensure any written portions of the
96.33	competency evaluation are available in languages other than English that are commonly

spoken by persons who desire to be listed in the nursing assistant registry. The commissioner may consult with the state demographer or the commissioner of employment and economic development when identifying languages that are commonly spoken by persons who desire to be listed in the nursing assistant registry. (c) The commissioner of health shall approve a nursing assistant for the registry without requiring a competency evaluation if the nursing assistant is in good standing on a nursing assistant registry in another state. **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2025. Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 148.235, subdivision 10, is amended to read: Subd. 10. Administration of medications by unlicensed personnel in nursing 97.10 facilities. Notwithstanding the provisions of Minnesota Rules, part 4658.1360, subpart 2, 97.11 a graduate of a foreign nursing school who has successfully completed an approved 97.12 competency evaluation under the provisions of section 144A.61 is eligible to administer 97.13 medications in a nursing facility upon completion of a any medication training program for 97.14 unlicensed personnel offered through a postsecondary educational institution, which approved 97.15 97.16 by the commissioner of health that meets the requirements specified in Minnesota Rules, part 4658.1360, subpart 2, item B, subitems (1) to (6). 97.17 97.18 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2025. Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 149A.02, subdivision 3, is amended to read: 97.19 Subd. 3. Arrangements for disposition. "Arrangements for disposition" means any 97.20 action normally taken by a funeral provider in anticipation of or preparation for the 97.21 entombment, burial in a cemetery, alkaline hydrolysis, or cremation, or, effective July 1, 97.22 2025, natural organic reduction of a dead human body. 97.23 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 149A.02, subdivision 16, is amended to read: 97.24 Subd. 16. Final disposition. "Final disposition" means the acts leading to and the 97.25 entombment, burial in a cemetery, alkaline hydrolysis, or cremation, or, effective July 1, 97.26 2025, natural organic reduction of a dead human body. 97.27 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 149A.02, subdivision 26a, is amended to read: 97.28

97.29

97.30

97.1

97.2

97.3

97.4

97.5

97.6

97.7

97.8

97.9

a hydrolyzed or cremated remains container suitable for placement, burial, or shipment.

Subd. 26a. Inurnment. "Inurnment" means placing hydrolyzed or cremated remains in

Effective July 1, 2025, inurnment also includes placing naturally reduced remains in a 98.1 naturally reduced remains container suitable for placement, burial, or shipment. 98.2 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 149A.02, subdivision 27, is amended to read: 98.3 Subd. 27. Licensee. "Licensee" means any person or entity that has been issued a license 98.4 to practice mortuary science, to operate a funeral establishment, to operate an alkaline 98.5 hydrolysis facility, or to operate a crematory, or, effective July 1, 2025, to operate a natural 98.6 organic reduction facility by the Minnesota commissioner of health. 98.7 Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 149A.02, is amended by adding a subdivision 98.8 to read: 98.9 Subd. 30b. Natural organic reduction or naturally reduce. "Natural organic reduction" 98.10or "naturally reduce" means the contained, accelerated conversion of a dead human body 98.11 to soil. This subdivision is effective July 1, 2025. 98.12 Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 149A.02, is amended by adding a subdivision 98.13 to read: 98.14 Subd. 30c. Natural organic reduction facility. "Natural organic reduction facility" 98.15 means a structure, room, or other space in a building or real property where natural organic 98.16 reduction of a dead human body occurs. This subdivision is effective July 1, 2025. 98.17 Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 149A.02, is amended by adding a subdivision 98.18 to read: 98.19 Subd. 30d. Natural organic reduction vessel. "Natural organic reduction vessel" means 98.20 the enclosed container in which natural organic reduction takes place. This subdivision is 98.21 effective July 1, 2025. 98.22 Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 149A.02, is amended by adding a subdivision 98.23 to read: 98.24 Subd. 30e. Naturally reduced remains. "Naturally reduced remains" means the soil 98.25 remains following the natural organic reduction of a dead human body and the accompanying 98.26 plant material. This subdivision is effective July 1, 2025. 98.27

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 149A.02, is amended by adding a subdivision 99.1 to read: 99.2 Subd. 30f. Naturally reduced remains container. "Naturally reduced remains container" 99.3 means a receptacle in which naturally reduced remains are placed. This subdivision is 99.4 effective July 1, 2025. 99.5 Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 149A.02, subdivision 35, is amended to read: 99.6 Subd. 35. Processing. "Processing" means the removal of foreign objects, drying or 99.7 cooling, and the reduction of the hydrolyzed or remains, cremated remains, or, effective 99.8 July 1, 2025, naturally reduced remains by mechanical means including, but not limited to, 99.9 grinding, crushing, or pulverizing, to a granulated appearance appropriate for final 99.10 disposition. 99.11 Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 149A.02, subdivision 37c, is amended to read: 99.12 Subd. 37c. Scattering. "Scattering" means the authorized dispersal of hydrolyzed or 99.13 remains, cremated remains, or, effective July 1, 2025, naturally reduced remains in a defined 99.14 area of a dedicated cemetery or in areas where no local prohibition exists provided that the 99.15 hydrolyzed or, cremated, or naturally reduced remains are not distinguishable to the public, 99.16 are not in a container, and that the person who has control over disposition of the hydrolyzed 99.17 or, cremated, or naturally reduced remains has obtained written permission of the property 99.18 owner or governing agency to scatter on the property. 99.19 Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 149A.03, is amended to read: 99.20 149A.03 DUTIES OF COMMISSIONER. 99.21 The commissioner shall: 99.22 (1) enforce all laws and adopt and enforce rules relating to the: 99.23 (i) removal, preparation, transportation, arrangements for disposition, and final disposition 99.24 of dead human bodies: 99.25 (ii) licensure and professional conduct of funeral directors, morticians, interns, practicum 99.26 students, and clinical students; 99.27 (iii) licensing and operation of a funeral establishment; 99.28 (iv) licensing and operation of an alkaline hydrolysis facility; and 99.29 (v) licensing and operation of a crematory; and

04/16/24 06:07 1	om COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

100.1	(vi) effective July 1, 2025, licensing and operation of a natural organic reduction facility;
100.2	(2) provide copies of the requirements for licensure and permits to all applicants;
100.3	(3) administer examinations and issue licenses and permits to qualified persons and other
100.4	legal entities;
100.5	(4) maintain a record of the name and location of all current licensees and interns;
100.6	(5) perform periodic compliance reviews and premise inspections of licensees;
100.7	(6) accept and investigate complaints relating to conduct governed by this chapter;
100.8	(7) maintain a record of all current preneed arrangement trust accounts;
100.9	(8) maintain a schedule of application, examination, permit, and licensure fees, initial
100.10	and renewal, sufficient to cover all necessary operating expenses;
100.11	(9) educate the public about the existence and content of the laws and rules for mortuary
100.12	science licensing and the removal, preparation, transportation, arrangements for disposition,
100.13	and final disposition of dead human bodies to enable consumers to file complaints against
100.14	licensees and others who may have violated those laws or rules;
100.15	(10) evaluate the laws, rules, and procedures regulating the practice of mortuary science
100.16	in order to refine the standards for licensing and to improve the regulatory and enforcement
100.17	methods used; and
100.18	(11) initiate proceedings to address and remedy deficiencies and inconsistencies in the
100.19	laws, rules, or procedures governing the practice of mortuary science and the removal,
100.20	preparation, transportation, arrangements for disposition, and final disposition of dead
100.21	human bodies.
100.22	Sec. 24. [149A.56] LICENSE TO OPERATE A NATURAL ORGANIC REDUCTION
	•
100.23	<u>FACILITY.</u>
100.24	Subdivision 1. License requirement. This section is effective July 1, 2025. Except as
100.25	provided in section 149A.01, subdivision 3, no person shall maintain, manage, or operate
100.26	a place or premises devoted to or used in the holding and natural organic reduction of a
100.27	dead human body without possessing a valid license to operate a natural organic reduction
100.28	facility issued by the commissioner of health.
100.29	Subd. 2. Requirements for natural organic reduction facility. (a) A natural organic
100.30	reduction facility licensed under this section must consist of:

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2
U4/10/24 U0:U / DM	COUNSEL	AHL/INH/IG	3C34099A-Z

101.1	(1) a building or structure that complies with applicable local and state building codes,
101.2	zoning laws and ordinances, and environmental standards, and that contains one or more
101.3	natural organic reduction vessels for the natural organic reduction of dead human bodies;
101.4	(2) a motorized mechanical device for processing naturally reduced remains; and
101.5	(3) an appropriate refrigerated holding facility for dead human bodies awaiting natural
101.6	organic reduction.
101.7	(b) A natural organic reduction facility licensed under this section may also contain a
101.8	display room for funeral goods.
101.9	Subd. 3. Application procedure; documentation; initial inspection. (a) An applicant
101.10	for a license to operate a natural organic reduction facility shall submit a completed
101.11	application to the commissioner. A completed application includes:
101.12	(1) a completed application form, as provided by the commissioner;
101.13	(2) proof of business form and ownership; and
101.14	(3) proof of liability insurance coverage or other financial documentation, as determined
101.15	by the commissioner, that demonstrates the applicant's ability to respond in damages for
101.16	liability arising from the ownership, maintenance, management, or operation of a natural
101.17	organic reduction facility.
101.18	(b) Upon receipt of the application and appropriate fee, the commissioner shall review
101.19	and verify all information. Upon completion of the verification process and resolution of
101.20	any deficiencies in the application information, the commissioner shall conduct an initial
101.21	inspection of the premises to be licensed. After the inspection and resolution of any
101.22	deficiencies found and any reinspections as may be necessary, the commissioner shall make
101.23	a determination, based on all the information available, to grant or deny licensure. If the
101.24	commissioner's determination is to grant the license, the applicant shall be notified and the
101.25	license shall issue and remain valid for a period prescribed on the license, but not to exceed
101.26	one calendar year from the date of issuance of the license. If the commissioner's determination
101.27	is to deny the license, the commissioner must notify the applicant, in writing, of the denial
101.28	and provide the specific reason for denial.
101.29	Subd. 4. Nontransferability of license. A license to operate a natural organic reduction
101.30	facility is not assignable or transferable and shall not be valid for any entity other than the
101.31	one named. Each license issued to operate a natural organic reduction facility is valid only
101.32	for the location identified on the license. A 50 percent or more change in ownership or
101.33	location of the natural organic reduction facility automatically terminates the license. Separate

	04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2
102.1	licenses shall be required of two or more	persons or oth	er legal entities op	erating from the
102.2	same location.			
102.3	Subd. 5. Display of license. Each lice	ense to operate	a natural organic re	eduction facility
102.4	must be conspicuously displayed in the r	natural organic	reduction facility a	t all times.
102.5	Conspicuous display means in a location	where a memb	per of the general p	ublic within the
102.6	natural organic reduction facility is able	to observe and	read the license.	
102.7	Subd. 6. Period of licensure. All lice	nses to operate	a natural organic r	eduction facility
102.8	issued by the commissioner are valid for	a period of one	e calendar year beg	inning on July 1
102.9	and ending on June 30, regardless of the	date of issuance	ee.	
102.10	Subd. 7. Reporting changes in licens	e information.	Any change of lice	ense information
102.11	must be reported to the commissioner, or	n forms provide	ed by the commissi	oner, no later
102.12	than 30 calendar days after the change of	ccurs. Failure to	o report changes is	grounds for
102.13	disciplinary action.			
102.14	Subd. 8. Licensing information. Sec	tion 13.41 appl	ies to data collected	l and maintained
102.15	by the commissioner pursuant to this sec	tion.		
102.16	Sec. 25. [149A.57] RENEWAL OF L	ICENSE TO (OPERATE A NAT	URAL
102.17	ORGANIC REDUCTION FACILITY			
102.18	Subdivision 1. Renewal required. To	his section is et	ffective July 1, 202	5. All licenses
102.19	to operate a natural organic reduction fac		<u>.</u>	
102.20	30 following the date of issuance of the			
102.21	Subd. 2. Danawal presedure and de	aumontation	(a) Licangaes who	wish to manage
102.21 102.22	Subd. 2. Renewal procedure and do their licenses must submit to the commis			
102.22	than June 30 following the date the licen			
102.23	includes:	se was issued.	A completed reflev	vai application
102.25	(1) a completed renewal application to	form, as provid	ed by the commiss	ioner; and
102.26	(2) proof of liability insurance coverage	ge or other fina	ncial documentatio	n, as determined
102.27	by the commissioner, that demonstrates to	the applicant's	ability to respond is	n damages for
102.28	liability arising from the ownership, mai	ntenance, mana	agement, or operati	on of a natural
102.29	organic reduction facility.			
102.30	(b) Upon receipt of the completed rea	newal application	on, the commission	ner shall review

102.31 and verify the information. Upon completion of the verification process and resolution of

102.32 any deficiencies in the renewal application information, the commissioner shall make a

0.4/1.6/0.4.0.6.0.7	COLDICEL	ATTLATITO	0.0004.004.0
04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

103.1	determination, based on all the information available, to reissue or refuse to reissue the
103.2	license. If the commissioner's determination is to reissue the license, the applicant shall be
103.3	notified and the license shall issue and remain valid for a period prescribed on the license,
103.4	but not to exceed one calendar year from the date of issuance of the license. If the
103.5	commissioner's determination is to refuse to reissue the license, section 149A.09, subdivision
103.6	2, applies.
103.7	Subd. 3. Penalty for late filing. Renewal applications received after the expiration date
103.8	of a license will result in the assessment of a late filing penalty. The late filing penalty must
103.9	be paid before the reissuance of the license and received by the commissioner no later than
103.10	31 calendar days after the expiration date of the license.
103.11	Subd. 4. Lapse of license. A license to operate a natural organic reduction facility shall
103.12	automatically lapse when a completed renewal application is not received by the
103.13	commissioner within 31 calendar days after the expiration date of a license, or a late filing
103.14	penalty assessed under subdivision 3 is not received by the commissioner within 31 calendar
103.15	days after the expiration of a license.
103.16	Subd. 5. Effect of lapse of license. Upon the lapse of a license, the person to whom the
103.17	license was issued is no longer licensed to operate a natural organic reduction facility in
103.18	Minnesota. The commissioner shall issue a cease and desist order to prevent the lapsed
103.19	license holder from operating a natural organic reduction facility in Minnesota and may
103.20	pursue any additional lawful remedies as justified by the case.
103.21	Subd. 6. Restoration of lapsed license. The commissioner may restore a lapsed license
103.22	upon receipt and review of a completed renewal application, receipt of the late filing penalty,
103.23	and reinspection of the premises, provided that the receipt is made within one calendar year
103.24	from the expiration date of the lapsed license and the cease and desist order issued by the
103.25	commissioner has not been violated. If a lapsed license is not restored within one calendar
103.26	year from the expiration date of the lapsed license, the holder of the lapsed license cannot
103.27	be relicensed until the requirements in section 149A.56 are met.
103.28	Subd. 7. Reporting changes in license information. Any change of license information
103.29	must be reported to the commissioner, on forms provided by the commissioner, no later
103.30	than 30 calendar days after the change occurs. Failure to report changes is grounds for
103.31	disciplinary action.
103.32	Subd. 8. Licensing information. Section 13.41 applies to data collected and maintained
103.33	by the commissioner pursuant to this section.

Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 149A.65, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

- Subd. 6a. Natural organic reduction facilities. This subdivision is effective July 1, 2025. The initial and renewal fee for a natural organic reduction facility is \$425. The late fee charge for a license renewal is \$100.
- Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 149A.70, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

 Subdivision 1. **Use of titles.** Only a person holding a valid license to practice mortuan
- Subdivision 1. Use of titles. Only a person holding a valid license to practice mortuary science issued by the commissioner may use the title of mortician, funeral director, or any 104.8 other title implying that the licensee is engaged in the business or practice of mortuary 104.9 science. Only the holder of a valid license to operate an alkaline hydrolysis facility issued 104.10 by the commissioner may use the title of alkaline hydrolysis facility, water cremation, water-reduction, biocremation, green-cremation, resomation, dissolution, or any other title, 104.12 word, or term implying that the licensee operates an alkaline hydrolysis facility. Only the 104.13 holder of a valid license to operate a funeral establishment issued by the commissioner may 104.14 use the title of funeral home, funeral chapel, funeral service, or any other title, word, or 104.15 term implying that the licensee is engaged in the business or practice of mortuary science. 104.16 Only the holder of a valid license to operate a crematory issued by the commissioner may use the title of crematory, crematorium, green-cremation, or any other title, word, or term 104.18 implying that the licensee operates a crematory or crematorium. Effective July 1, 2025, 104.19 only the holder of a valid license to operate a natural organic reduction facility issued by 104.20 the commissioner may use the title of natural organic reduction facility, human composting, 104.21 or any other title, word, or term implying that the licensee operates a natural organic reduction 104.22 facility. 104.23
- Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 149A.70, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2. **Business location.** A funeral establishment, alkaline hydrolysis facility, or crematory, or, effective July 1, 2025, natural organic reduction facility shall not do business in a location that is not licensed as a funeral establishment, alkaline hydrolysis facility, or crematory, or natural organic reduction facility and shall not advertise a service that is available from an unlicensed location.

104.3

104.4

Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 149A.70, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

- Subd. 3. **Advertising.** No licensee, clinical student, practicum student, or intern shall publish or disseminate false, misleading, or deceptive advertising. False, misleading, or deceptive advertising includes, but is not limited to:
- (1) identifying, by using the names or pictures of, persons who are not licensed to practice mortuary science in a way that leads the public to believe that those persons will provide mortuary science services;
- 105.8 (2) using any name other than the names under which the funeral establishment, alkaline 105.9 hydrolysis facility, or crematory, or, effective July 1, 2025, natural organic reduction facility 105.10 is known to or licensed by the commissioner;
- (3) using a surname not directly, actively, or presently associated with a licensed funeral establishment, alkaline hydrolysis facility, or crematory, or, effective July 1, 2025, natural organic reduction facility, unless the surname had been previously and continuously used by the licensed funeral establishment, alkaline hydrolysis facility, or crematory, or natural organic reduction facility; and
- (4) using a founding or establishing date or total years of service not directly or continuously related to a name under which the funeral establishment, alkaline hydrolysis facility, or crematory, or, effective July 1, 2025, natural organic reduction facility is currently or was previously licensed.
- Any advertising or other printed material that contains the names or pictures of persons affiliated with a funeral establishment, alkaline hydrolysis facility, or crematory, or, effective July 1, 2025, natural organic reduction facility shall state the position held by the persons and shall identify each person who is licensed or unlicensed under this chapter.
- Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 149A.70, subdivision 5, is amended to read:
- Subd. 5. **Reimbursement prohibited.** No licensee, clinical student, practicum student, or intern shall offer, solicit, or accept a commission, fee, bonus, rebate, or other reimbursement in consideration for recommending or causing a dead human body to be disposed of by a specific body donation program, funeral establishment, alkaline hydrolysis facility, crematory, mausoleum, or cemetery, or, effective July 1, 2025, natural organic reduction facility.

105.1

105.2

105.3

105.4

105.5

105.6

Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 149A.71, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

- Subd. 2. Preventive requirements. (a) To prevent unfair or deceptive acts or practices, the requirements of this subdivision must be met. This subdivision applies to natural organic reduction and naturally reduced remains, goods, and services effective July 1, 2025.
- (b) Funeral providers must tell persons who ask by telephone about the funeral provider's offerings or prices any accurate information from the price lists described in paragraphs (c) to (e) and any other readily available information that reasonably answers the questions asked.
- (c) Funeral providers must make available for viewing to people who inquire in person about the offerings or prices of funeral goods or burial site goods, separate printed or 106.10 typewritten price lists using a ten-point font or larger. Each funeral provider must have a 106.11 separate price list for each of the following types of goods that are sold or offered for sale: 106.12
- (1) caskets; 106.13

106.1

106.2

106.3

106.4

106.5

106.6

106.7

106.8

- (2) alternative containers; 106.14
- (3) outer burial containers; 106.15
- (4) alkaline hydrolysis containers; 106.16
- (5) cremation containers; 106.17
- (6) hydrolyzed remains containers; 106.18
- (7) cremated remains containers; 106.19
- 106.20 (8) markers; and
- (9) headstones:; and 106.21
- (10) naturally reduced remains containers. 106.22
- (d) Each separate price list must contain the name of the funeral provider's place of 106.23 business, address, and telephone number and a caption describing the list as a price list for 106.24 one of the types of funeral goods or burial site goods described in paragraph (c), clauses 106.25 (1) to (9) (10). The funeral provider must offer the list upon beginning discussion of, but 106.26 in any event before showing, the specific funeral goods or burial site goods and must provide 106.27 a photocopy of the price list, for retention, if so asked by the consumer. The list must contain, 106.28 at least, the retail prices of all the specific funeral goods and burial site goods offered which 106.29 do not require special ordering, enough information to identify each, and the effective date 106.30 for the price list. However, funeral providers are not required to make a specific price list 106.31

available if the funeral providers place the information required by this paragraph on the general price list described in paragraph (e).

- (e) Funeral providers must give a printed price list, for retention, to persons who inquire in person about the funeral goods, funeral services, burial site goods, or burial site services or prices offered by the funeral provider. The funeral provider must give the list upon beginning discussion of either the prices of or the overall type of funeral service or disposition or specific funeral goods, funeral services, burial site goods, or burial site services offered by the provider. This requirement applies whether the discussion takes place in the funeral establishment or elsewhere. However, when the deceased is removed for transportation to the funeral establishment, an in-person request for authorization to embalm does not, by itself, trigger the requirement to offer the general price list. If the provider, in making an in-person request for authorization to embalm, discloses that embalming is not required by law except in certain special cases, the provider is not required to offer the general price list. Any other discussion during that time about prices or the selection of funeral goods, funeral services, burial site goods, or burial site services triggers the requirement to give the consumer a general price list. The general price list must contain the following information:
- 107.18 (1) the name, address, and telephone number of the funeral provider's place of business;
- 107.19 (2) a caption describing the list as a "general price list";
- 107.20 (3) the effective date for the price list;

107.1

107.2

107.3

107.4

107.5

107.6

107.7

107.8

107.9

107.10

107.11

107.13

107.14

107.15

107.16

- 107.21 (4) the retail prices, in any order, expressed either as a flat fee or as the prices per hour, 107.22 mile, or other unit of computation, and other information described as follows:
- 107.23 (i) forwarding of remains to another funeral establishment, together with a list of the services provided for any quoted price;
- 107.25 (ii) receiving remains from another funeral establishment, together with a list of the services provided for any quoted price;
- (iii) separate prices for each alkaline hydrolysis, natural organic reduction, or cremation offered by the funeral provider, with the price including an alternative container or shroud or alkaline hydrolysis facility or cremation container; any alkaline hydrolysis, natural organic reduction facility, or crematory charges; and a description of the services and container included in the price, where applicable, and the price of alkaline hydrolysis or cremation where the purchaser provides the container;

(iv) separate prices for each immediate burial offered by the funeral provider, including 108.1 a casket or alternative container, and a description of the services and container included 108.2 108.3 in that price, and the price of immediate burial where the purchaser provides the casket or alternative container; 108.4 108.5 (v) transfer of remains to the funeral establishment or other location; 108.6 (vi) embalming; 108.7 (vii) other preparation of the body; (viii) use of facilities, equipment, or staff for viewing; 108.8 108.9 (ix) use of facilities, equipment, or staff for funeral ceremony; (x) use of facilities, equipment, or staff for memorial service; 108.10 (xi) use of equipment or staff for graveside service; 108.11 (xii) hearse or funeral coach; 108.12 (xiii) limousine; and 108.13 (xiv) separate prices for all cemetery-specific goods and services, including all goods 108.14 and services associated with interment and burial site goods and services and excluding 108.15 markers and headstones; 108.16 (5) the price range for the caskets offered by the funeral provider, together with the 108.17 statement "A complete price list will be provided at the funeral establishment or casket sale 108.18 location." or the prices of individual caskets, as disclosed in the manner described in 108.19 paragraphs (c) and (d); 108.20 108.21 (6) the price range for the alternative containers or shrouds offered by the funeral provider, together with the statement "A complete price list will be provided at the funeral 108.22 establishment or alternative container sale location." or the prices of individual alternative 108.23 containers, as disclosed in the manner described in paragraphs (c) and (d); (7) the price range for the outer burial containers offered by the funeral provider, together 108.25 with the statement "A complete price list will be provided at the funeral establishment or 108.26 outer burial container sale location." or the prices of individual outer burial containers, as 108.27 disclosed in the manner described in paragraphs (c) and (d); 108.28 (8) the price range for the alkaline hydrolysis container offered by the funeral provider, 108.29 together with the statement "A complete price list will be provided at the funeral 108.30 establishment or alkaline hydrolysis container sale location." or the prices of individual

alkaline hydrolysis containers, as disclosed in the manner described in paragraphs (c) and 109.1 109.2

- (9) the price range for the hydrolyzed remains container offered by the funeral provider, together with the statement "A complete price list will be provided at the funeral establishment or hydrolyzed remains container sale location." or the prices of individual hydrolyzed remains container, as disclosed in the manner described in paragraphs (c) and
- (10) the price range for the cremation containers offered by the funeral provider, together with the statement "A complete price list will be provided at the funeral establishment or cremation container sale location." or the prices of individual cremation containers, as disclosed in the manner described in paragraphs (c) and (d);
- (11) the price range for the cremated remains containers offered by the funeral provider, together with the statement, "A complete price list will be provided at the funeral establishment or cremated remains container sale location," or the prices of individual cremation containers as disclosed in the manner described in paragraphs (c) and (d);
- (12) the price range for the naturally reduced remains containers offered by the funeral provider, together with the statement, "A complete price list will be provided at the funeral establishment or naturally reduced remains container sale location," or the prices of individual naturally reduced remains containers as disclosed in the manner described in paragraphs 109.19 (c) and (d); 109.20
 - (12) (13) the price for the basic services of funeral provider and staff, together with a list of the principal basic services provided for any quoted price and, if the charge cannot be declined by the purchaser, the statement "This fee for our basic services will be added to the total cost of the funeral arrangements you select. (This fee is already included in our charges for alkaline hydrolysis, natural organic reduction, direct cremations, immediate burials, and forwarding or receiving remains.)" If the charge cannot be declined by the purchaser, the quoted price shall include all charges for the recovery of unallocated funeral provider overhead, and funeral providers may include in the required disclosure the phrase "and overhead" after the word "services." This services fee is the only funeral provider fee for services, facilities, or unallocated overhead permitted by this subdivision to be nondeclinable, unless otherwise required by law;
- (13) (14) the price range for the markers and headstones offered by the funeral provider, 109.32 together with the statement "A complete price list will be provided at the funeral 109.33

109.3

109.4

109.5

109.6

109.7

109.8

109.9

109.10

109.11

109.12

109.13

109.15

109.16

109.17

109.18

109.21

109.23

109.24

109.25

109.26

109.27

109.28

109.29

109.30

establishment or marker or headstone sale location." or the prices of individual markers and headstones, as disclosed in the manner described in paragraphs (c) and (d); and

(14) (15) any package priced funerals offered must be listed in addition to and following the information required in paragraph (e) and must clearly state the funeral goods and services being offered, the price being charged for those goods and services, and the discounted savings.

- (f) Funeral providers must give an itemized written statement, for retention, to each consumer who arranges an at-need funeral or other disposition of human remains at the conclusion of the discussion of the arrangements. The itemized written statement must be signed by the consumer selecting the goods and services as required in section 149A.80. If the statement is provided by a funeral establishment, the statement must be signed by the licensed funeral director or mortician planning the arrangements. If the statement is provided by any other funeral provider, the statement must be signed by an authorized agent of the funeral provider. The statement must list the funeral goods, funeral services, burial site goods, or burial site services selected by that consumer and the prices to be paid for each item, specifically itemized cash advance items (these prices must be given to the extent then known or reasonably ascertainable if the prices are not known or reasonably ascertainable, a good faith estimate shall be given and a written statement of the actual charges shall be provided before the final bill is paid), and the total cost of goods and services selected. At the conclusion of an at-need arrangement, the funeral provider is required to give the consumer a copy of the signed itemized written contract that must contain the information required in this paragraph.
- (g) Upon receiving actual notice of the death of an individual with whom a funeral provider has entered a preneed funeral agreement, the funeral provider must provide a copy of all preneed funeral agreement documents to the person who controls final disposition of the human remains or to the designee of the person controlling disposition. The person controlling final disposition shall be provided with these documents at the time of the person's first in-person contact with the funeral provider, if the first contact occurs in person at a funeral establishment, alkaline hydrolysis facility, crematory, natural organic reduction facility, or other place of business of the funeral provider. If the contact occurs by other means or at another location, the documents must be provided within 24 hours of the first 110.31 110.32 contact.

110.1

110.2

110.3

110.4

110.5

110.6

110.7

110.8

110.9

110.11

110.12

110.13

110.14

110.15

110.17

110.18

110.19

110.20

110.21

110.22

110.23

110.24

110.25

110.26

110.28

110.29

Sec. 32. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 149A.71, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. Casket, alternate container, alkaline hydrolysis container, naturally reduced remains container, and cremation container sales; records; required disclosures. Any funeral provider who sells or offers to sell a casket, alternate container, alkaline hydrolysis container, hydrolyzed remains container, cremation container, or cremated remains container, or, effective July 1, 2025, naturally reduced remains container to the public must maintain a record of each sale that includes the name of the purchaser, the purchaser's mailing address, the name of the decedent, the date of the decedent's death, and the place of death. These records shall be open to inspection by the regulatory agency. Any funeral provider selling a casket, alternate container, or cremation container to the public, and not having charge of the final disposition of the dead human body, shall provide a copy of the statutes and rules controlling the removal, preparation, transportation, arrangements for disposition, and final disposition of a dead human body. This subdivision does not apply to morticians, funeral directors, funeral establishments, crematories, or wholesale distributors of caskets, alternate containers, alkaline hydrolysis containers, or cremation containers.

- Sec. 33. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 149A.72, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
- Subd. 3. Casket for alkaline hydrolysis, natural organic reduction, or cremation provisions; deceptive acts or practices. In selling or offering to sell funeral goods or funeral services to the public, it is a deceptive act or practice for a funeral provider to represent that a casket is required for alkaline hydrolysis or, cremations, or, effective July 1, 2025, natural organic reduction by state or local law or otherwise.
- Sec. 34. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 149A.72, subdivision 9, is amended to read:
- Subd. 9. **Deceptive acts or practices.** In selling or offering to sell funeral goods, funeral services, burial site goods, or burial site services to the public, it is a deceptive act or practice for a funeral provider to represent that federal, state, or local laws, or particular cemeteries, alkaline hydrolysis facilities, or crematories, or, effective July 1, 2025, natural organic reduction facilities require the purchase of any funeral goods, funeral services, burial site goods, or burial site services when that is not the case.
- Sec. 35. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 149A.73, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
- Subdivision 1. **Casket for alkaline hydrolysis, natural organic reduction, or cremation**provisions; deceptive acts or practices. In selling or offering to sell funeral goods, funeral
 services, burial site goods, or burial site services to the public, it is a deceptive act or practice

111.1

111.2

111.3

111.4

111.5

111.6

111.7

111.8

111.9

111.10

111.11

111.13

111.14

for a funeral provider to require that a casket be purchased for alkaline hydrolysis or, cremation, or, effective July 1, 2025, natural organic reduction.

- Sec. 36. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 149A.74, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
- Subdivision 1. Services provided without prior approval; deceptive acts or 112.4 practices. In selling or offering to sell funeral goods or funeral services to the public, it is 112.5 a deceptive act or practice for any funeral provider to embalm a dead human body unless 112.6 state or local law or regulation requires embalming in the particular circumstances regardless 112.7 of any funeral choice which might be made, or prior approval for embalming has been 112.8 obtained from an individual legally authorized to make such a decision. In seeking approval 112.9 to embalm, the funeral provider must disclose that embalming is not required by law except 112.10 in certain circumstances; that a fee will be charged if a funeral is selected which requires 112.11 embalming, such as a funeral with viewing; and that no embalming fee will be charged if the family selects a service which does not require embalming, such as direct alkaline 112.13 112.14 hydrolysis, direct cremation, or immediate burial, or, effective July 1, 2025, natural organic reduction. 112.15
- Sec. 37. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 149A.93, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
- Subd. 3. **Disposition permit.** A disposition permit is required before a body can be buried, entombed, alkaline hydrolyzed, or cremated, or, effective July 1, 2025, naturally reduced. No disposition permit shall be issued until a fact of death record has been completed and filed with the state registrar of vital records.
- Sec. 38. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 149A.94, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
- Subdivision 1. Generally. Every dead human body lying within the state, except 112.22 unclaimed bodies delivered for dissection by the medical examiner, those delivered for 112.23 anatomical study pursuant to section 149A.81, subdivision 2, or lawfully carried through 112.24 the state for the purpose of disposition elsewhere; and the remains of any dead human body 112.25 after dissection or anatomical study, shall be decently buried or entombed in a public or 112.26 private cemetery, alkaline hydrolyzed, or cremated, or, effective July 1, 2025, naturally 112.27 reduced within a reasonable time after death. Where final disposition of a body will not be 112.28 112.29 accomplished, or, effective July 1, 2025, when natural organic reduction will not be initiated, within 72 hours following death or release of the body by a competent authority with 112.30 jurisdiction over the body, the body must be properly embalmed, refrigerated, or packed 112.31 with dry ice. A body may not be kept in refrigeration for a period exceeding six calendar 112.32

04/16/24 06:07 1	om COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

days, or packed in dry ice for a period that exceeds four calendar days, from the time of death or release of the body from the coroner or medical examiner.

- Sec. 39. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 149A.94, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
- Subd. 3. **Permit required.** No dead human body shall be buried, entombed, or cremated, alkaline hydrolyzed, or, effective July 1, 2025, naturally reduced without a disposition permit. The disposition permit must be filed with the person in charge of the place of final disposition. Where a dead human body will be transported out of this state for final disposition, the body must be accompanied by a certificate of removal.
- Sec. 40. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 149A.94, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
- Subd. 4. **Alkaline hydrolysis or, cremation, or natural organic reduction.** Inurnment of alkaline hydrolyzed or remains, cremated remains, or, effective July 1, 2025, naturally reduced remains and release to an appropriate party is considered final disposition and no further permits or authorizations are required for transportation, interment, entombment, or placement of the eremated remains, except as provided in section 149A.95, subdivision 16.

Sec. 41. [149A.955] NATURAL ORGANIC REDUCTION FACILITIES AND NATURAL ORGANIC REDUCTION.

- Subdivision 1. License required. This section is effective July 1, 2025. A dead human body may only undergo natural organic reduction in this state at a natural organic reduction facility licensed by the commissioner of health.
- 113.20 Subd. 2. **General requirements.** Any building to be used as a natural organic reduction facility must comply with all applicable local and state building codes, zoning laws and 113.21 ordinances, and environmental standards. A natural organic reduction facility must have, 113.22 on site, a natural organic reduction system approved by the commissioner and a motorized 113.23 mechanical device for processing naturally reduced remains and must have, in the building, 113.24 a refrigerated holding facility for the retention of dead human bodies awaiting natural organic reduction. The holding facility must be secure from access by anyone except the authorized 113.26 personnel of the natural organic reduction facility, preserve the dignity of the remains, and 113.27 protect the health and safety of the natural organic reduction facility personnel. 113.28
- Subd. 3. Aerobic reduction vessel. A natural organic reduction facility must use as a natural organic reduction vessel, a contained reduction vessel that is designed to promote aerobic reduction and that minimizes odors.

04/16/24 06:07 pm	
-------------------	--

114.1	Subd. 4. Unlicensed personnel. A licensed natural organic reduction facility may employ
114.2	unlicensed personnel, provided that all applicable provisions of this chapter are followed.
114.3	It is the duty of the licensed natural organic reduction facility to provide proper training for
114.4	all unlicensed personnel, and the licensed natural organic reduction facility shall be strictly
114.5	accountable for compliance with this chapter and other applicable state and federal regulations
114.6	regarding occupational and workplace health and safety.
114.7	Subd. 5. Authorization to naturally reduce. No natural organic reduction facility shall
114.8	naturally reduce or cause to be naturally reduced any dead human body or identifiable body
114.9	part without receiving written authorization to do so from the person or persons who have
114.10	the legal right to control disposition as described in section 149A.80 or the person's legal
114.11	designee. The written authorization must include:
114.12	(1) the name of the deceased and the date of death of the deceased;
114.13	(2) a statement authorizing the natural organic reduction facility to naturally reduce the
114.14	body;
114.15	(3) the name, address, phone number, relationship to the deceased, and signature of the
114.16	person or persons with the legal right to control final disposition or a legal designee;
114.17	(4) directions for the disposition of any non-naturally reduced materials or items recovered
114.18	from the natural organic reduction vessel;
114.19	(5) acknowledgment that some of the naturally reduced remains will be mechanically
114.20	reduced to a granulated appearance and included in the appropriate containers with the
114.21	naturally reduced remains; and
114.22	(6) directions for the ultimate disposition of the naturally reduced remains.
114.23	Subd. 6. Limitation of liability. The limitations in section 149A.95, subdivision 5, apply
114.24	to natural organic reduction facilities.
114.25	Subd. 7. Acceptance of delivery of body. (a) No dead human body shall be accepted
114.26	for final disposition by natural organic reduction unless the body is:
114.27	(1) wrapped in a container, such as a pouch or shroud, that is impermeable or
114.28	leak-resistant;
114.29	(2) accompanied by a disposition permit issued pursuant to section 149A.93, subdivision
114.30	3, including a photocopy of the complete death record or a signed release authorizing natural
114.31	organic reduction received from a coroner or medical examiner; and

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

115.1	(3) accompanied by a natural organic reduction authorization that complies with
115.2	subdivision 5.
115.3	(b) A natural organic reduction facility shall refuse to accept delivery of the dead human
115.4	body:
115.5	(1) where there is a known dispute concerning natural organic reduction of the body
115.6	<u>delivered;</u>
115.7	(2) where there is a reasonable basis for questioning any of the representations made on
115.8	the written authorization to naturally reduce; or
115.9	(3) for any other lawful reason.
115.10	(c) When a container, pouch, or shroud containing a dead human body shows evidence
115.11	of leaking bodily fluid, the container, pouch, or shroud and the body must be returned to
115.12	the contracting funeral establishment, or the body must be transferred to a new container,
115.13	pouch, or shroud by a properly licensed individual.
115.14	(d) If a dead human body is delivered to a natural organic reduction facility in a container,
115.15	pouch, or shroud that is not suitable for placement in a natural organic reduction vessel, the
115.16	transfer of the body to the vessel must be performed by a properly licensed individual.
115.17	Subd. 8. Bodies awaiting natural organic reduction. A dead human body must be
115.18	placed in the natural organic reduction vessel to initiate the natural reduction process within
115.19	a reasonable time after death, pursuant to section 149A.94, subdivision 1.
115.20	Subd. 9. Handling of dead human bodies. All natural organic reduction facility
115.21	employees handling the containers, pouches, or shrouds for dead human bodies shall use
115.22	universal precautions and otherwise exercise all reasonable precautions to minimize the
115.23	risk of transmitting any communicable disease from the body. No dead human body shall
115.24	be removed from the container, pouch, or shroud in which it is delivered to the natural
115.25	organic reduction facility without express written authorization of the person or persons
115.26	with legal right to control the disposition and only by a properly licensed individual. The
115.27	person or persons with the legal right to control the body or that person's noncompensated
115.28	designee may be involved with preparation of the body pursuant to section 149A.01,
115.29	subdivision 3, paragraph (c).
115.30	Subd. 10. Identification of the body. All licensed natural organic reduction facilities
115.31	shall develop, implement, and maintain an identification procedure whereby dead human
115.32	bodies can be identified from the time the natural organic reduction facility accepts delivery
115.33	of the body until the naturally reduced remains are released to an authorized party. After

natural organic reduction, an identifying disk, tab, or other permanent label shall be placed within the naturally reduced remains container or containers before the remains are released from the natural organic reduction facility. Each identification disk, tab, or label shall have a number that shall be recorded on all paperwork regarding the decedent. This procedure shall be designed to reasonably ensure that the proper body is naturally reduced and that the remains are returned to the appropriate party. Loss of all or part of the remains or the inability to individually identify the remains is a violation of this subdivision.

Subd. 11. Natural organic reduction vessel for human remains. A licensed natural organic reduction facility shall knowingly naturally reduce only dead human bodies or human remains in a natural organic reduction vessel.

Subd. 12. Natural organic reduction procedures; privacy. The final disposition of dead human bodies by natural organic reduction shall be done in privacy. Unless there is written authorization from the person with the legal right to control the final disposition, only authorized natural organic reduction facility personnel shall be permitted in the natural organic reduction area while any human body is awaiting placement in a natural organic reduction vessel, being removed from the vessel, or being processed for placement in a naturally reduced remains container. This does not prohibit an in-person laying-in ceremony to honor the deceased and the transition prior to the placement.

Subd. 13. Natural organic reduction procedures; commingling of bodies prohibited. Except with the express written permission of the person with the legal right to control the final disposition, no natural organic reduction facility shall naturally reduce more than one dead human body at the same time and in the same natural organic reduction vessel or introduce a second dead human body into same natural organic reduction vessel until reasonable efforts have been employed to remove all fragments of remains from the preceding natural organic reduction. This subdivision does not apply where commingling of human remains during natural organic reduction is otherwise provided by law. The fact that there is incidental and unavoidable residue in the natural organic reduction vessel used in a prior natural organic reduction is not a violation of this subdivision.

Subd. 14. Natural organic reduction procedures; removal from natural organic
reduction vessel. Upon completion of the natural organic reduction process, reasonable
efforts shall be made to remove from the natural organic reduction vessel all the recoverable
naturally reduced remains. The naturally reduced remains shall be transported to the
processing area, and any non-naturally reducible materials or items shall be separated from
the naturally reduced remains and disposed of, in any lawful manner, by the natural organic
reduction facility.

116.1

116.2

116.3

116.4

116.5

116.6

116.7

116.8

116.9

116.10

116.11

116.12

116.13

116.14

116.15

116.16

116.17

116.18

116.19

116.20

116.21

116.22

116.23

116.24

116.25

116.26

116.27

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

117.1	Subd. 15. Natural organic reduction procedures; processing naturally reduced
117.2	remains. The naturally reduced remains that remain intact shall be reduced by a motorized
117.3	mechanical processor to a granulated appearance. The granulated remains and the rest of
117.4	the naturally reduced remains shall be returned to a natural organic reduction vessel for
117.5	final reduction.
117.6	Subd. 16. Natural organic reduction procedures; commingling of naturally reduced
117.7	remains prohibited. Except with the express written permission of the person with the
117.8	legal right to control the final deposition or otherwise provided by law, no natural organic
117.9	reduction facility shall mechanically process the naturally reduced remains of more than
117.10	one body at a time in the same mechanical processor, or introduce the naturally reduced
117.11	remains of a second body into a mechanical processor until reasonable efforts have been
117.12	employed to remove all fragments of naturally reduced remains already in the processor.
117.13	The fact that there is incidental and unavoidable residue in the mechanical processor is not
17.14	a violation of this subdivision.
117.15	Subd. 17. Natural organic reduction procedures; testing naturally reduced
117.16	remains. The natural organic reduction facility is responsible for:
117.17	(1) ensuring that the materials in the natural organic reduction vessel naturally reach
117.18	and maintain a minimum temperature of 131 degrees Fahrenheit for a minimum of 72
117.19	consecutive hours during the process of natural organic reduction;
117.20	(2) analyzing each instance of the naturally reduced remains for physical contaminants
117.21	which include, but are not limited to, intact bone, dental filings, and medical implants.
117.22	Naturally reduced remains must have less than 0.01 mg/kg dry weight of any physical
117.23	contaminants;
117.24	(3) collecting material samples for analysis that are representative of each instance of
117.25	natural organic reduction using a sampling method, such as those described in the U.S.
117.26	Composting Council 2002 Test Methods for the Examination of Composting and Compost,
117.27	Method 02.01-A through E;
117.28	(4) developing and using a natural organic reduction process in which the naturally
117.29	reduced remains from the process does not exceed the following limits:
117.30	(i) for fecal coliform, less than 1,000 most probable number per gram of total solids (dry
117.31	weight);
117.32	(ii) for salmonella, less than three most probable number per four grams of total solids
117.33	(dry weight);

118.1	(iii) for arsenic, less than or equal to 11 ppm;
118.2	(iv) for cadmium, less than or equal to 7.1 ppm;
118.3	(v) for lead, less than or equal to 150 ppm;
118.4	(vi) for mercury, less than or equal to 8 ppm; and
118.5	(vii) for selenium, less than or equal to 18 ppm;
118.6	(5) analyzing, using a third-party laboratory, the natural organic reduction facility's
118.7	material samples of naturally reduced remains according to the following schedule:
118.8	(i) the natural organic reduction facility must analyze each of the first 20 instances of
118.9	naturally reduced remains for the parameters identified in clause (4);
118.10	(ii) if any of the first 20 instances of naturally reduced remains yield results exceeding
118.11	the limits identified in clause (4), the natural organic reduction facility must conduct
118.12	appropriate processes to correct the levels of the chemicals identified in clause (4) and have
118.13	the resultant remains tested to ensure they fall within the identified limits;
118.14	(iii) if any of the first 20 instances of naturally reduced remains yield results exceeding
118.15	the limits identified in clause (4), the natural organic reduction facility must analyze each
118.16	additional instance of naturally reduced remains for the parameters identified in clause (4)
118.17	until a total of 20 samples, not including those from remains that were reprocessed under
118.18	item (ii), have yielded results within the limits of clause (4) on initial testing;
118.19	(iv) after 20 material samples of naturally reduced remains have met the limits outlined
118.20	in clause (4), the natural organic reduction facility must analyze, at a minimum, 25 percent
118.21	of the natural organic reduction facility's monthly instances of naturally reduced remains
118.22	for the parameters identified in clause (4) until 80 total material samples of naturally reduced
118.23	remains have met the requirements of clause (4), not including any samples that required
118.24	reprocessing to meet those requirements; and
118.25	(v) After 80 material samples of naturally reduced remains have met the limits of clause
118.26	(4), the natural organic reduction facility must analyze, at a minimum, one instance of
118.27	naturally reduced remains each month;
118.28	(6) complying with any testing requirements established by the commissioner for content
118.29	parameters additional to those specified in clause (4);
118.30	(7) not releasing any naturally reduced remains that exceed the limits identified in clause
118.31	(4); and

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2
U4/10/24 U0:U / DM	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/IG	3C34099A-Z

119.1	(8) preparing, maintaining, and providing upon request by the commissioner an annual
119.2	report each calendar year. The annual report must detail the natural organic reduction
119.3	facility's activities during the previous calendar year and must include the following
119.4	information:
119.5	(i) name and address of the natural organic reduction facility;
119.6	(ii) calendar year covered by the report;
119.7	(iii) annual quantity of naturally reduced remains;
119.8	(iv) results of any laboratory analyses of naturally reduced remains; and
119.9	(v) any additional information requested by the commissioner.
119.10	Subd. 18. Natural organic reduction procedures; use of more than one naturally
119.11	reduced remains container. If the naturally reduced remains are to be separated into two
119.12	or more naturally reduced remains containers according to the directives provided in the
119.13	written authorization for natural organic reduction, all of the containers shall contain duplicate
119.14	identification disks, tabs, or permanent labels and all paperwork regarding the given body
119.15	shall include a notation of the number of and disposition of each container, as provided in
119.16	the written authorization.
119.17	Subd. 19. Natural organic reduction procedures; disposition of accumulated
119.18	<u>residue.</u> Every natural organic reduction facility shall provide for the removal and disposition
119.19	of any accumulated residue from any natural organic reduction vessel, mechanical processor,
119.20	or other equipment used in natural organic reduction. Disposition of accumulated residue
119.21	shall be by any lawful manner deemed appropriate.
119.22	Subd. 20. Natural organic reduction procedures; release of naturally reduced
119.23	<u>remains.</u> Following completion of the natural organic reduction process, the inurned naturally
119.24	reduced remains shall be released according to the instructions given on the written
119.25	authorization for natural organic reduction. If the remains are to be shipped, they must be
119.26	securely packaged and transported by a method which has an internal tracing system available
119.27	and which provides a receipt signed by the person accepting delivery. Where there is a
119.28	dispute over release or disposition of the naturally reduced remains, a natural organic
119.29	reduction facility may deposit the naturally reduced remains in accordance with the directives
119.30	of a court of competent jurisdiction pending resolution of the dispute or retain the naturally
119.31	reduced remains until the person with the legal right to control disposition presents
119.32	satisfactory indication that the dispute is resolved. A natural organic reduction facility must

04/16/24 06:0 / pm	.6/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699
--------------------	----------------	---------	-----------	---------

120.1	make every effort to ensure naturally reduced remains are not sold not used for commercial
120.2	purposes.
120.3	Subd. 21. Unclaimed naturally reduced remains. If, after 30 calendar days following
120.4	the inurnment, the naturally reduced remains are not claimed or disposed of according to
120.5	the written authorization for natural organic reduction, the natural organic reduction facility
120.6	shall give written notice, by certified mail, to the person with the legal right to control the
120.7	final disposition or a legal designee, that the naturally reduced remains are unclaimed and
120.8	requesting further release directions. Should the naturally reduced remains be unclaimed
120.9	120 calendar days following the mailing of the written notification, the natural organic
120.10	reduction facility may return the remains to the earth respectfully in any lawful manner
120.11	deemed appropriate.
120.12	Subd. 22. Required records. Every natural organic reduction facility shall create and
120.13	maintain on its premises or other business location in Minnesota an accurate record of every
120.14	natural organic reduction provided. The record shall include all of the following information
120.15	for each natural organic reduction:
120.16	(1) the name of the person or funeral establishment delivering the body for natural
120.17	organic reduction;
120.18	(2) the name of the deceased and the identification number assigned to the body;
120.16	(2) the name of the deceased and the identification number assigned to the body,
120.19	(3) the date of acceptance of delivery;
120.20	(4) the names of the operator of the natural organic reduction process and mechanical
120.21	processor operator;
120.22	(5) the times and dates that the body was placed in and removed from the natural organic
120.23	reduction vessel;
120.24	(6) the time and date that processing and inurnment of the naturally reduced remains
120.25	was completed;
120.26	(7) the time, date, and manner of release of the naturally reduced remains;
120.27	(8) the name and address of the person who signed the authorization for natural organic
120.28	reduction;
120.29	(9) all supporting documentation, including any transit or disposition permits, a photocopy
120.30	of the death record, and the authorization for natural organic reduction; and
120.31	(10) the type of natural organic reduction vessel.

04/16/24 06:07 pm

Subd. 23. Retention of records. Records required under subdivision 21 shall be maintained for a period of three calendar years after the release of the naturally reduced remains. Following this period and subject to any other laws requiring retention of records, the natural organic reduction facility may then place the records in storage or reduce them to microfilm, a digital format, or any other method that can produce an accurate reproduction 121.5 of the original record, for retention for a period of ten calendar years from the date of release 121.6 of the naturally reduced remains. At the end of this period and subject to any other laws 121.7 requiring retention of records, the natural organic reduction facility may destroy the records by shredding, incineration, or any other manner that protects the privacy of the individuals identified. 121.10

Sec. 42. STILLBIRTH PREVENTION THROUGH TRACKING FETAL

MOVEMENT PILOT PROGRAM. 121.12

121.1

121.2

121.3

121.4

121.8

121.9

- 121.13 Subdivision 1. Grant. The commissioner of health shall issue a grant to a grant recipient 121.14 to support a stillbirth prevention through tracking fetal movement pilot program and to provide evidence of the efficacy of tracking fetal movements in preventing stillbirths in the 121.15 state. The pilot program shall operate in fiscal years 2025, 2026, and 2027. 121.16
- 121.17 Subd. 2. Use of grant funds. The grant recipient must use grant funds:
- (1) for activities to ensure that expectant parents in this state receive information about 121.18 121.19 the importance of tracking fetal movement in the third trimester of pregnancy, by providing evidence-based information to organizations that include but are not limited to community 121.20 organizations, hospitals, birth centers, maternal health providers, and higher education 121.21 institutions that educate maternal health providers; 121.22
- 121.23 (2) to provide maternal health providers and expectant parents in this state with access to free, evidence-based educational materials on fetal movement tracking, including 121.24 121.25 brochures, posters, reminder cards, continuing education materials, and digital resources;
- (3) to assist in raising awareness with health care providers about: 121.26
- 121.27 (i) the availability of free fetal movement tracking education for providers through an 121.28 initial education campaign;
- (ii) the importance of tracking fetal movement in the third trimester of pregnancy by 121.29 offering at least three to five webinars and conferences per year; and 121.30
- (iii) the importance of tracking fetal movement in the third trimester of pregnancy through 121.31 provider participation in a public relations campaign; and 121.32

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

122.1	(4) to assist in raising public awareness about the availability of free fetal movement
122.2	tracking resources through social media marketing and traditional marketing throughout
122.3	the state.
122.4	Subd. 3. Data-sharing and monitoring. (a) During the operation of the pilot program,
122.5	the grant recipient shall provide the following information to the commissioner on at least
122.6	a quarterly basis:
122.7	(1) the number of educational materials distributed under the pilot program, broken
122.8	down by zip code and the type of facility or organization that ordered the materials, including
122.9	hospitals, birth centers, maternal health clinics, WIC clinics, and community organizations;
122.10	(2) the number of fetal movement tracking application downloads that may be attributed
122.11	to the pilot program, broken down by zip code;
122.12	(3) the reach of and engagement with marketing materials provided under the pilot
122.13	program; and
122.14	(4) provider attendance and participation in awareness-raising events under the pilot
122.15	program, such as webinars and conferences.
122.16	(b) Each year during the pilot program and at the conclusion of the pilot program, the
122.17	grant recipient shall provide the commissioner with an annual report that includes information
122.18	on how the pilot program has affected:
122.19	(1) fetal death rates in the state;
122.20	(2) fetal death rates in the state among American Indian, Black, Hispanic, and Asian
122.21	Pacific Islander populations; and
122.22	(3) fetal death rates by region in the state.
122.23	Subd. 4. Reports. The commissioner must submit to the legislative committees with
122.24	jurisdiction over public health, an interim report and a final report on the operation of the
122.25	pilot program. The interim report must be submitted by December 1, 2025, and the final
122.26	report must be submitted by December 1, 2027. Each report must at least describe the pilot
122.27	program's operations and provide information, to the extent available, on the effectiveness
122.28	of the pilot program in preventing stillbirths in the state, including lessons learned in
122.29	implementing the pilot program and recommendations for future action.

123.1 **ARTICLE 6**

1

123.3

123.4

123.5

123.6

123.7

123.8

123.9

123.10

123.11

123.14

123.15

123.16

23.2	DEPARTMENT OF	F HEALTH POLICY

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 62D.14, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. **Examination authority.** The commissioner of health may make an examination of the affairs of any health maintenance organization and its contracts, agreements, or other arrangements with any participating entity as often as the commissioner of health deems necessary for the protection of the interests of the people of this state, but not less frequently than once every three <u>five</u> years. Examinations of participating entities pursuant to this subdivision shall be limited to their dealings with the health maintenance organization and its enrollees, except that examinations of major participating entities may include inspection of the entity's financial statements kept in the ordinary course of business. The commissioner may require major participating entities to submit the financial statements directly to the commissioner. Financial statements of major participating entities are subject to the provisions of section 13.37, subdivision 1, clause (b), upon request of the major participating entity or the health maintenance organization with which it contracts.

Sec. 2. [62J.461] 340B COVERED ENTITY REPORT.

- Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the following definitions apply.
- (b) "340B covered entity" or "covered entity" means a covered entity as defined in United
- 123.20 States Code, title 42, section 256b(a)(4), with a service address in Minnesota as of January
- 123.21 1 of the reporting year. 340B covered entity includes all entity types and grantees. All
- facilities that are identified as child sites or grantee associated sites under the federal 340B
- 123.23 Drug Pricing Program are considered part of the 340B covered entity.
- 123.24 (c) "340B Drug Pricing Program" or "340B program" means the drug discount program
 123.25 established under United States Code, title 42, section 256b.
- (d) "340B entity type" is the designation of the 340B covered entity according to the entity types specified in United States Code, title 42, section 256b(a)(4).
- (e) "340B ID" is the unique identification number provided by the Health Resources
 and Services Administration to identify a 340B-eligible entity in the 340B Office of Pharmacy
 Affairs Information System.
- 123.31 (f) "Contract pharmacy" means a pharmacy with which a 340B covered entity has an arrangement to dispense drugs purchased under the 340B Drug Pricing Program.

123

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

124.1	(g) "Pricing unit" means the smallest dispensable amount of a prescription drug product
124.2	that can be dispensed or administered.
124.3	Subd. 2. Current registration. Beginning April 1, 2024, each 340B covered entity must
124.4	maintain a current registration with the commissioner in a form and manner prescribed by
124.5	the commissioner. The registration must include the following information:
124.6	(1) the name of the 340B covered entity;
124.7	(2) the 340B ID of the 340B covered entity;
124.8	(3) the servicing address of the 340B covered entity; and
124.9	(4) the 340B entity type of the 340B covered entity.
124.10	Subd. 3. Reporting by covered entities to the commissioner. (a) Each 340B covered
124.11	entity shall report to the commissioner by April 1, 2024, and by April 1 of each year
124.12	thereafter, the following information for transactions conducted by the 340B covered entity
124.13	or on its behalf, and related to its participation in the federal 340B program for the previous
124.14	calendar year:
124.15	(1) the aggregated acquisition cost for prescription drugs obtained under the 340B
124.16	program;
124.17	(2) the aggregated payment amount received for drugs obtained under the 340B program
124.18	and dispensed or administered to patients;
124.19	(3) the number of pricing units dispensed or administered for prescription drugs described
124.20	in clause (2); and
124.21	(4) the aggregated payments made:
124.22	(i) to contract pharmacies to dispense drugs obtained under the 340B program;
124.23	(ii) to any other entity that is not the covered entity and is not a contract pharmacy for
124.24	managing any aspect of the covered entity's 340B program; and
124.25	(iii) for all other expenses related to administering the 340B program.
124.26	The information under clauses (2) and (3) must be reported by payer type, including but
124.27	not limited to commercial insurance, medical assistance, MinnesotaCare, and Medicare, in
124.28	the form and manner prescribed by the commissioner.
124.29	(b) For covered entities that are hospitals, the information required under paragraph (a),
124.30	clauses (1) to (3), must also be reported at the national drug code level for the 50 most
124.31	frequently dispensed or administered drugs by the facility under the 340B program.

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

(c) Data submitted to the commissioner under paragraphs (a) and (b) are classified as 125.1 nonpublic data, as defined in section 13.02, subdivision 9. 125.2 Subd. 4. Enforcement and exceptions. (a) Any health care entity subject to reporting 125.3 under this section that fails to provide data in the form and manner prescribed by the 125.4 commissioner is subject to a fine paid to the commissioner of up to \$500 for each day the 125.5 data are past due. Any fine levied against the entity under this subdivision is subject to the 125.6 contested case and judicial review provisions of sections 14.57 and 14.69. 125.7 125.8 (b) The commissioner may grant an entity an extension of or exemption from the reporting obligations under this subdivision, upon a showing of good cause by the entity. 125.9 Subd. 5. Reports to the legislature. By November 15, 2024, and by November 15 of 125.10 each year thereafter, the commissioner shall submit to the chairs and ranking minority 125.11 125.12 members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over health care finance and policy, a report that aggregates the data submitted under subdivision 3, paragraphs (a) and (b). The 125.13 data shall be aggregated in a manner that prevents the identification of an individual entity 125.14 and any entity's specific data value reported for an individual data element, except that the 125.15 following shall be included in the report: 125.16 (1) the information submitted under subdivision 2; and 125.17 (2) for each 340B entity identified in subdivision 2, that entity's 340B net revenue as 125.18 calculated using the data submitted under subdivision 3, paragraph (a), with net revenue 125.19 being subdivision 3, paragraph (a), clause (2), less the sum of subdivision 3, paragraph (a), 125.20 clauses (1) and (4). 125.21 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 62J.61, subdivision 5, is amended to read: 125.22 Subd. 5. Biennial review of rulemaking procedures and rules Opportunity for 125.23 comment. The commissioner shall biennially seek comments from affected parties maintain 125.24 an email address for submission of comments from interested parties to provide input about 125.25 the effectiveness of and continued need for the rulemaking procedures set out in subdivision 125.27 2 and about the quality and effectiveness of rules adopted using these procedures. The commissioner shall seek comments by holding a meeting and by publishing a notice in the 125.28 State Register that contains the date, time, and location of the meeting and a statement that 125.29 invites oral or written comments. The notice must be published at least 30 days before the 125.30 meeting date. The commissioner shall write a report summarizing the comments and shall 125.31 submit the report to the Minnesota Health Data Institute and to the Minnesota Administrative

04/16/24 06:07 pm

Uniformity Committee by January 15 of every even-numbered year may seek additional 126.1 input and provide additional opportunities for input as needed. 126.2

- Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 62J.84, subdivision 10, is amended 126.3 to read: 126.4
- Subd. 10. Notice of prescription drugs of substantial public interest. (a) No later than January 31, 2024, and quarterly thereafter, the commissioner shall produce and post on the department's website a list of prescription drugs that the commissioner determines to represent a substantial public interest and for which the commissioner intends to request data under subdivisions 11 to 14, subject to paragraph (c). The commissioner shall base its inclusion of prescription drugs on any information the commissioner determines is relevant to providing 126.10 greater consumer awareness of the factors contributing to the cost of prescription drugs in the state, and the commissioner shall consider drug product families that include prescription drugs: 126.13
- (1) that triggered reporting under subdivision 3 or 4 during the previous calendar quarter; 126.14
- (2) for which average claims paid amounts exceeded 125 percent of the price as of the 126.15 126.16 claim incurred date during the most recent calendar quarter for which claims paid amounts are available; or 126.17
- 126.18 (3) that are identified by members of the public during a public comment process.
- (b) Not sooner than 30 days after publicly posting the list of prescription drugs under 126.19 paragraph (a), the department shall notify, via email, reporting entities registered with the 126.20 department of the requirement to report under subdivisions 11 to 14. 126.21
- (c) The commissioner must not designate more than 500 prescription drugs as having a 126.22 substantial public interest in any one notice. 126.23
- (d) Notwithstanding subdivision 16, the commissioner is exempt from chapter 14, 126.24 including section 14.386, in implementing this subdivision. 126.25
- **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment. 126.26
- Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144.05, subdivision 6, is amended to read: 126.27
- Subd. 6. Reports on interagency agreements and intra-agency transfers. The 126.28 commissioner of health shall provide quarterly reports to the chairs and ranking minority 126.29 members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over health and human services 126.30 policy and finance on: 126.31

126.5

126.6

126.7

126.8

126.9

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

(1) interagency agreements or service-level agreements and any renewals or extensions 127.1 of existing interagency or service-level agreements with a state department under section 127.2 15.01, state agency under section 15.012, or the Department of Information Technology 127.3 Services, with a value of more than \$100,000, or related agreements with the same department 127.4 or agency with a cumulative value of more than \$100,000; and 127.5 (2) transfers of appropriations of more than \$100,000 between accounts within or between 127.6 agencies. 127.7 The report must include the statutory citation authorizing the agreement, transfer or dollar 127.8 amount, purpose, and effective date of the agreement, and duration of the agreement, and 127.9 a copy of the agreement. 127.10 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 144.0526, subdivision 1, is amended 127.11 127.12 to read: Subdivision 1. Establishment. The commissioner of health shall establish the Minnesota 127.13 One Health Antimicrobial Stewardship Collaborative. The commissioner shall appoint hire a director to execute operations, conduct health education, and provide technical assistance. Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144.058, is amended to read: 127.16 144.058 INTERPRETER SERVICES QUALITY INITIATIVE. 127.17 (a) The commissioner of health shall establish a voluntary statewide roster, and develop 127.18 a plan for a registry and certification process for interpreters who provide high quality, 127.19 spoken language health care interpreter services. The roster, registry, and certification 127.20 process shall be based on the findings and recommendations set forth by the Interpreter 127.21 Services Work Group required under Laws 2007, chapter 147, article 12, section 13. 127.22 (b) By January 1, 2009, the commissioner shall establish a roster of all available 127.23 interpreters to address access concerns, particularly in rural areas. 127.24 (c) By January 15, 2010, the commissioner shall: 127.25 (1) develop a plan for a registry of spoken language health care interpreters, including: 127.26 (i) development of standards for registration that set forth educational requirements, 127.27 training requirements, demonstration of language proficiency and interpreting skills, 127.28 agreement to abide by a code of ethics, and a criminal background check; 127.29

testing and training programs do not exist;

127.30

127.31

(ii) recommendations for appropriate alternate requirements in languages for which

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

- (iii) recommendations for appropriate fees; and
- 128.2 (iv) recommendations for establishing and maintaining the standards for inclusion in 128.3 the registry; and
- 128.4 (2) develop a plan for implementing a certification process based on national testing and certification processes for spoken language interpreters 12 months after the establishment of a national certification process.
- (d) The commissioner shall consult with the Interpreter Stakeholder Group of the Upper Midwest Translators and Interpreters Association for advice on the standards required to plan for the development of a registry and certification process.
- (e) The commissioner shall charge an annual fee of \$50 to include an interpreter in the roster. Fee revenue shall be deposited in the state government special revenue fund. All fees are nonrefundable.
- Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144.0724, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2. **Definitions.** For purposes of this section, the following terms have the meanings given.
- 128.16 (a) "Assessment reference date" or "ARD" means the specific end point for look-back 128.17 periods in the MDS assessment process. This look-back period is also called the observation 128.18 or assessment period.
- 128.19 (b) "Case mix index" means the weighting factors assigned to the RUG-IV case mix
 128.20 reimbursement classifications determined by an assessment.
- (c) "Index maximization" means classifying a resident who could be assigned to more than one category, to the category with the highest case mix index.
- (d) "Minimum Data Set" or "MDS" means a core set of screening, clinical assessment, and functional status elements, that include common definitions and coding categories specified by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services and designated by the Department of Health.
- (e) "Representative" means a person who is the resident's guardian or conservator, the person authorized to pay the nursing home expenses of the resident, a representative of the Office of Ombudsman for Long-Term Care whose assistance has been requested, or any other individual designated by the resident.

04/16/24 06:07 pm

(f) "Resource utilization groups" or "RUG" means the system for grouping a nursing 129.1 facility's residents according to their clinical and functional status identified in data supplied 129.2 by the facility's Minimum Data Set. 129.3 (g) (f) "Activities of daily living" includes personal hygiene, dressing, bathing, 129.4 transferring, bed mobility, locomotion, eating, and toileting. 129.5 (h) (g) "Nursing facility level of care determination" means the assessment process that 129.6 results in a determination of a resident's or prospective resident's need for nursing facility 129.7 level of care as established in subdivision 11 for purposes of medical assistance payment 129.8 of long-term care services for: 129.9 (1) nursing facility services under section 256B.434 or chapter 256R; 129.10 (2) elderly waiver services under chapter 256S; 129.11 (3) CADI and BI waiver services under section 256B.49; and 129.12 (4) state payment of alternative care services under section 256B.0913. 129.13 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144.0724, subdivision 3a, is amended to read: 129.14 129.15 Subd. 3a. Resident reimbursement case mix reimbursement classifications beginning January 1, 2012. (a) Beginning January 1, 2012, Resident reimbursement case mix 129.16 129.17 reimbursement classifications shall be based on the Minimum Data Set, version 3.0 assessment instrument, or its successor version mandated by the Centers for Medicare and 129.18 Medicaid Services that nursing facilities are required to complete for all residents. The 129.19 commissioner of health shall establish resident classifications according to the RUG-IV, 129.20 48 group, resource utilization groups. Resident classification must be established based on 129.21 129.22 the individual items on the Minimum Data Set, which must be completed according to the Long Term Care Facility Resident Assessment Instrument User's Manual Version 3.0 or its successor issued by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services. Case mix reimbursement classifications shall also be based on assessments required under subdivision 129.25 4. Assessments must be completed according to the Long Term Care Facility Resident 129.26 Assessment Instrument User's Manual Version 3.0 or a successor manual issued by the 129.27 Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services. The optional state assessment must be 129.28 completed according to the OSA Manual Version 1.0 v.2. 129.29 129.30 (b) Each resident must be classified based on the information from the Minimum Data Set according to the general categories issued by the Minnesota Department of Health, 129.31 utilized for reimbursement purposes. 129.32

Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144.0724, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

- Subd. 4. **Resident assessment schedule.** (a) A facility must conduct and electronically submit to the federal database MDS assessments that conform with the assessment schedule defined by the Long Term Care Facility Resident Assessment Instrument User's Manual, version 3.0, or its successor issued by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services. The commissioner of health may substitute successor manuals or question and answer documents published by the United States Department of Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, to replace or supplement the current version of the manual or document.
- (b) The assessments required under the Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1987 (OBRA) used to determine a case mix <u>reimbursement</u> classification for reimbursement include:
- 130.13 (1) a new admission comprehensive assessment, which must have an assessment reference 130.14 date (ARD) within 14 calendar days after admission, excluding readmissions;
 - (2) an annual comprehensive assessment, which must have an ARD within 92 days of a previous quarterly review assessment or a previous comprehensive assessment, which must occur at least once every 366 days;
 - (3) a significant change in status comprehensive assessment, which must have an ARD within 14 days after the facility determines, or should have determined, that there has been a significant change in the resident's physical or mental condition, whether an improvement or a decline, and regardless of the amount of time since the last comprehensive assessment or quarterly review assessment;
- 130.23 (4) a quarterly review assessment must have an ARD within 92 days of the ARD of the previous quarterly review assessment or a previous comprehensive assessment;
 - (5) any significant correction to a prior comprehensive assessment, if the assessment being corrected is the current one being used for RUG reimbursement classification;
- 130.27 (6) any significant correction to a prior quarterly review assessment, if the assessment being corrected is the current one being used for RUG reimbursement classification; and
- 130.29 (7) a required significant change in status assessment when:
- (i) all speech, occupational, and physical therapies have ended. If the most recent OBRA

 comprehensive or quarterly assessment completed does not result in a rehabilitation case

 mix classification, then the significant change in status assessment is not required. The ARD

 of this assessment must be set on day eight after all therapy services have ended; and

130.1

130.2

130.3

130.4

130.5

130.6

130.7

130.8

130.9

130.15

130.16

130.17

130.18

130.19

130.20

130.21

130.22

130.25

04/16/24 06:07 pm

131.1	(ii) isolation for an infectious disease has ended. If isolation was not coded on the most
131.2	recent OBRA comprehensive or quarterly assessment completed, then the significant change
131.3	in status assessment is not required. The ARD of this assessment must be set on day 15 after
131.4	isolation has ended; and
131.5	(8) $\underline{(7)}$ any modifications to the most recent assessments under clauses (1) to $\underline{(7)}$ $\underline{(6)}$.
131.6	(c) The optional state assessment must accompany all OBRA assessments. The optional
131.7	state assessment is also required to determine reimbursement when:
131.8	(i) all speech, occupational, and physical therapies have ended. If the most recent optional
131.9	state assessment completed does not result in a rehabilitation case mix reimbursement
131.10	classification, then the optional state assessment is not required. The ARD of this assessment
131.11	must be set on day eight after all therapy services have ended; and
131.12	(ii) isolation for an infectious disease has ended. If isolation was not coded on the most
131.13	recent optional state assessment completed, then the optional state assessment is not required.
131.14	The ARD of this assessment must be set on day 15 after isolation has ended.
131.15	(e) (d) In addition to the assessments listed in paragraph paragraphs (b) and (c), the
131.16	assessments used to determine nursing facility level of care include the following:
131.17	(1) preadmission screening completed under section 256.975, subdivisions 7a to 7c, by
131.18	the Senior LinkAge Line or other organization under contract with the Minnesota Board on
131.19	Aging; and
131.20	(2) a nursing facility level of care determination as provided for under section 256B.0911,
131.21	subdivision 26, as part of a face-to-face long-term care consultation assessment completed
131.22	under section 256B.0911, by a county, tribe, or managed care organization under contract
131.23	with the Department of Human Services.
131.24	Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144.0724, subdivision 6, is amended to read:
131.25	Subd. 6. Penalties for late or nonsubmission. (a) A facility that fails to complete or
131.26	submit an assessment according to subdivisions 4 and 5 for a RUG-IV case mix
131.27	reimbursement classification within seven days of the time requirements listed in the
131.28	Long-Term Care Facility Resident Assessment Instrument User's Manual when the
131.29	assessment is due is subject to a reduced rate for that resident. The reduced rate shall be the
131.30	lowest rate for that facility. The reduced rate is effective on the day of admission for new
131.31	admission assessments, on the ARD for significant change in status assessments, or on the
131.32	day that the assessment was due for all other assessments and continues in effect until the

first day of the month following the date of submission and acceptance of the resident's assessment.

- (b) If loss of revenue due to penalties incurred by a facility for any period of 92 days are equal to or greater than 0.1 percent of the total operating costs on the facility's most recent annual statistical and cost report, a facility may apply to the commissioner of human services for a reduction in the total penalty amount. The commissioner of human services, in consultation with the commissioner of health, may, at the sole discretion of the commissioner of human services, limit the penalty for residents covered by medical assistance to ten days.
- Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144.0724, subdivision 7, is amended to read:
- 132.11 Subd. 7. Notice of resident reimbursement case mix reimbursement classification. (a) The commissioner of health shall provide to a nursing facility a notice for each resident of 132.12 the classification established under subdivision 1. The notice must inform the resident of 132.13 the case mix reimbursement classification assigned, the opportunity to review the 132.14 documentation supporting the classification, the opportunity to obtain clarification from the 132.15 commissioner, and the opportunity to request a reconsideration of the classification, and the address and telephone number of the Office of Ombudsman for Long-Term Care. The commissioner must transmit the notice of resident classification by electronic means to the 132.18 nursing facility. The nursing facility is responsible for the distribution of the notice to each 132.19 resident or the resident's representative. This notice must be distributed within three business 132.20 days after the facility's receipt. 132.21
 - (b) If a facility submits a modifying modified assessment resulting in a change in the case mix reimbursement classification, the facility must provide a written notice to the resident or the resident's representative regarding the item or items that were modified and the reason for the modifications. The written notice must be provided within three business days after distribution of the resident case mix reimbursement classification notice.
- Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144.0724, subdivision 8, is amended to read:
- Subd. 8. **Request for reconsideration of resident classifications.** (a) The resident, or resident's representative, or the nursing facility, or the boarding care home may request that the commissioner of health reconsider the assigned reimbursement case mix reimbursement classification and any item or items changed during the audit process. The request for reconsideration must be submitted in writing to the commissioner of health.
- (b) For reconsideration requests initiated by the resident or the resident's representative:

132.1

132.2

132.3

132.4

132.5

132.6

132.7

132.8

132.9

132.22

132.23

132.24

132.25

(1) The resident or the resident's representative must submit in writing a reconsideration request to the facility administrator within 30 days of receipt of the resident classification notice. The written request must include the reasons for the reconsideration request.

- (2) Within three business days of receiving the reconsideration request, the nursing facility must submit to the commissioner of health a completed reconsideration request form, a copy of the resident's or resident's representative's written request, and all supporting documentation used to complete the assessment being considered reconsidered. If the facility fails to provide the required information, the reconsideration will be completed with the information submitted and the facility cannot make further reconsideration requests on this classification.
- (3) Upon written request and within three business days, the nursing facility must give the resident or the resident's representative a copy of the assessment being reconsidered and all supporting documentation used to complete the assessment. Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, the facility may not charge a fee for providing copies of the requested documentation. If a facility fails to provide the required documents within this time, it is 133.15 subject to the issuance of a correction order and penalty assessment under sections 144.653 and 144A.10. Notwithstanding those sections, any correction order issued under this 133.17 subdivision must require that the nursing facility immediately comply with the request for 133.18 information, and as of the date of the issuance of the correction order, the facility shall 133.19 forfeit to the state a \$100 fine for the first day of noncompliance, and an increase in the 133.20 \$100 fine by \$50 increments for each day the noncompliance continues.
 - (c) For reconsideration requests initiated by the facility:
- (1) The facility is required to inform the resident or the resident's representative in writing 133.23 that a reconsideration of the resident's case mix reimbursement classification is being 133.24 requested. The notice must inform the resident or the resident's representative: 133.25
- (i) of the date and reason for the reconsideration request; 133.26
- (ii) of the potential for a case mix reimbursement classification change and subsequent 133.27 rate change; 133.28
- (iii) of the extent of the potential rate change; 133.29
- (iv) that copies of the request and supporting documentation are available for review; 133.30 and 133.31
- 133.32 (v) that the resident or the resident's representative has the right to request a reconsideration also. 133.33

133.1

133.2

133.3

133.4

133.5

133.6

133.7

133.8

133.9

133.10

133.11

133 12

133.13

133.14

133.21

(2) Within 30 days of receipt of the audit exit report or resident classification notice, the facility must submit to the commissioner of health a completed reconsideration request form, all supporting documentation used to complete the assessment being reconsidered, and a copy of the notice informing the resident or the resident's representative that a reconsideration of the resident's classification is being requested.

- (3) If the facility fails to provide the required information, the reconsideration request may be denied and the facility may not make further reconsideration requests on this classification.
- (d) Reconsideration by the commissioner must be made by individuals not involved in reviewing the assessment, audit, or reconsideration that established the disputed classification. The reconsideration must be based upon the assessment that determined the classification and upon the information provided to the commissioner of health under paragraphs (a) to (c). If necessary for evaluating the reconsideration request, the commissioner may conduct on-site reviews. Within 15 business days of receiving the request for reconsideration, the commissioner shall affirm or modify the original resident classification. The original classification must be modified if the commissioner determines that the assessment resulting in the classification did not accurately reflect characteristics of the resident at the time of the assessment. The commissioner must transmit the reconsideration classification notice by electronic means to the nursing facility. The nursing facility is responsible for the distribution of the notice to the resident or the resident's representative. The notice must be distributed by the nursing facility within three business days after receipt. A decision by the commissioner under this subdivision is the final administrative decision of the agency for the party requesting reconsideration.
- (e) The case mix <u>reimbursement</u> classification established by the commissioner shall be the classification which applies to the resident while the request for reconsideration is pending. If a request for reconsideration applies to an assessment used to determine nursing facility level of care under subdivision 4, paragraph (e) (d), the resident shall continue to be eligible for nursing facility level of care while the request for reconsideration is pending.
- (f) The commissioner may request additional documentation regarding a reconsideration necessary to make an accurate reconsideration determination.
- (g) Data collected as part of the reconsideration process under this section is classified as private data on individuals and nonpublic data pursuant to section 13.02. Notwithstanding the classification of these data as private or nonpublic, the commissioner is authorized to

134.1

134.2

134.3

134.4

134.5

134.6

134.7

134.8

134.9

134.11

134.12

134.13

134.14

134.15

134.17

134.18

134.19

134.20

134.21

134.22

134.24

134.25

134.26

134.28

134.29

134.31

134.32

share these data with the U.S. Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services and the commissioner of human services as necessary for reimbursement purposes.

- Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144.0724, subdivision 9, is amended to read: 135.3
 - Subd. 9. Audit authority. (a) The commissioner shall audit the accuracy of resident assessments performed under section 256R.17 through any of the following: desk audits; on-site review of residents and their records; and interviews with staff, residents, or residents' families. The commissioner shall reclassify a resident if the commissioner determines that the resident was incorrectly classified.
 - (b) The commissioner is authorized to conduct on-site audits on an unannounced basis.
- (c) A facility must grant the commissioner access to examine the medical records relating 135.10 to the resident assessments selected for audit under this subdivision. The commissioner may 135.11 also observe and speak to facility staff and residents. 135.12
- 135.13 (d) The commissioner shall consider documentation under the time frames for coding items on the minimum data set as set out in the Long-Term Care Facility Resident Assessment 135 14 Instrument User's Manual or OSA Manual version 1.0 v.2 published by the Centers for 135.15 Medicare and Medicaid Services. 135.16
- (e) The commissioner shall develop an audit selection procedure that includes the 135.17 following factors: 135.18
 - (1) Each facility shall be audited annually. If a facility has two successive audits in which the percentage of change is five percent or less and the facility has not been the subject of a special audit in the past 36 months, the facility may be audited biannually. A stratified sample of 15 percent, with a minimum of ten assessments, of the most current assessments shall be selected for audit. If more than 20 percent of the RUG-IV case mix reimbursement classifications are changed as a result of the audit, the audit shall be expanded to a second 15 percent sample, with a minimum of ten assessments. If the total change between the first and second samples is 35 percent or greater, the commissioner may expand the audit to all of the remaining assessments.
- (2) If a facility qualifies for an expanded audit, the commissioner may audit the facility 135.28 again within six months. If a facility has two expanded audits within a 24-month period, 135.29 that facility will be audited at least every six months for the next 18 months. 135.30
- (3) The commissioner may conduct special audits if the commissioner determines that circumstances exist that could alter or affect the validity of case mix reimbursement classifications of residents. These circumstances include, but are not limited to, the following: 135.33

135.1

135.2

135.4

135.5

135.6

135.7

135.8

135.9

135.19

135.20

135.21

135.22

135.23

135.24

135.25

135.27

135.31

(i) frequent changes in the administration or management of the facility;

- (ii) an unusually high percentage of residents in a specific case mix <u>reimbursement</u> classification;
- (iii) a high frequency in the number of reconsideration requests received from a facility;
- 136.5 (iv) frequent adjustments of case mix <u>reimbursement</u> classifications as the result of reconsiderations or audits;
- (v) a criminal indictment alleging provider fraud;
- (vi) other similar factors that relate to a facility's ability to conduct accurate assessments;
- (vii) an atypical pattern of scoring minimum data set items;
- (viii) nonsubmission of assessments;

136.1

136.2

- (ix) late submission of assessments; or
- 136.12 (x) a previous history of audit changes of 35 percent or greater.
- (f) If the audit results in a case mix reimbursement classification change, the 136.13 commissioner must transmit the audit classification notice by electronic means to the nursing 136.14 facility within 15 business days of completing an audit. The nursing facility is responsible 136.15 for distribution of the notice to each resident or the resident's representative. This notice 136.16 must be distributed by the nursing facility within three business days after receipt. The 136.17 notice must inform the resident of the case mix reimbursement classification assigned, the 136.18 opportunity to review the documentation supporting the classification, the opportunity to 136.19 obtain clarification from the commissioner, the opportunity to request a reconsideration of 136.20 the classification, and the address and telephone number of the Office of Ombudsman for 136.21 Long-Term Care. 136.22
- Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144.0724, subdivision 11, is amended to read:
- Subd. 11. **Nursing facility level of care.** (a) For purposes of medical assistance payment of long-term care services, a recipient must be determined, using assessments defined in subdivision 4, to meet one of the following nursing facility level of care criteria:
- (1) the person requires formal clinical monitoring at least once per day;
- 136.28 (2) the person needs the assistance of another person or constant supervision to begin 136.29 and complete at least four of the following activities of living: bathing, bed mobility, dressing, 136.30 eating, grooming, toileting, transferring, and walking;

(3) the person needs the assistance of another person or constant supervision to begin and complete toileting, transferring, or positioning and the assistance cannot be scheduled;

- (4) the person has significant difficulty with memory, using information, daily decision making, or behavioral needs that require intervention;
 - (5) the person has had a qualifying nursing facility stay of at least 90 days;
- (6) the person meets the nursing facility level of care criteria determined 90 days after admission or on the first quarterly assessment after admission, whichever is later; or
- (7) the person is determined to be at risk for nursing facility admission or readmission through a face-to-face long-term care consultation assessment as specified in section 256B.0911, subdivision 17 to 21, 23, 24, 27, or 28, by a county, tribe, or managed care organization under contract with the Department of Human Services. The person is considered at risk under this clause if the person currently lives alone or will live alone or be homeless without the person's current housing and also meets one of the following criteria:
 - (i) the person has experienced a fall resulting in a fracture;
- 137.15 (ii) the person has been determined to be at risk of maltreatment or neglect, including 137.16 self-neglect; or
- 137.17 (iii) the person has a sensory impairment that substantially impacts functional ability 137.18 and maintenance of a community residence.
 - (b) The assessment used to establish medical assistance payment for nursing facility services must be the most recent assessment performed under subdivision 4, paragraph paragraphs (b) and (c), that occurred no more than 90 calendar days before the effective date of medical assistance eligibility for payment of long-term care services. In no case shall medical assistance payment for long-term care services occur prior to the date of the determination of nursing facility level of care.
- (c) The assessment used to establish medical assistance payment for long-term care services provided under chapter 256S and section 256B.49 and alternative care payment for services provided under section 256B.0913 must be the most recent face-to-face assessment performed under section 256B.0911, subdivisions 17 to 21, 23, 24, 27, or 28, that occurred no more than 60 calendar days before the effective date of medical assistance eligibility for payment of long-term care services.

137.1

137.2

137.3

137.4

137.5

137.6

137.7

137.8

137.9

137.10

137.11

137.12

137.13

137.14

137.19

137.20

137.21

137.23

Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 144.1505, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

- Subd. 2. Programs. (a) For advanced practice provider clinical training expansion grants, the commissioner of health shall award health professional training site grants to eligible physician assistant, advanced practice registered nurse, pharmacy, dental therapy, and mental health professional programs to plan and implement expanded clinical training. A planning grant shall not exceed \$75,000, and a three-year training grant shall not exceed \$150,000 for the first year, \$100,000 for the second year, and \$50,000 for the third year \$300,000 per program project. The commissioner may provide a one-year, no-cost extension for grants.
- 138.10 (b) For health professional rural and underserved clinical rotations grants, the commissioner of health shall award health professional training site grants to eligible physician, physician assistant, advanced practice registered nurse, pharmacy, dentistry, 138.12 dental therapy, and mental health professional programs to augment existing clinical training 138.13 programs to add rural and underserved rotations or clinical training experiences, such as 138.14 credential or certificate rural tracks or other specialized training. For physician and dentist 138.15 training, the expanded training must include rotations in primary care settings such as community clinics, hospitals, health maintenance organizations, or practices in rural 138.17 communities. 138.18
- (c) Funds may be used for: 138.19

138.1

138.2

138.3

138.4

138.5

138.6

138.7

138.8

138.9

- (1) establishing or expanding rotations and clinical training; 138.20
- (2) recruitment, training, and retention of students and faculty; 138.21
- (3) connecting students with appropriate clinical training sites, internships, practicums, 138.22 or externship activities; 138.23
- (4) travel and lodging for students; 138.24
- (5) faculty, student, and preceptor salaries, incentives, or other financial support; 138.25
- (6) development and implementation of cultural competency training; 138.26
- (7) evaluations; 138.27
- (8) training site improvements, fees, equipment, and supplies required to establish, 138.28 maintain, or expand a training program; and 138.29
- (9) supporting clinical education in which trainees are part of a primary care team model. 138.30

Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144.1911, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

- Subd. 2. **Definitions.** (a) For the purposes of this section, the following terms have the meanings given.
- (b) "Commissioner" means the commissioner of health.

139.2

- (c) "Immigrant international medical graduate" means an international medical graduate who was born outside the United States, now resides permanently in the United States or who has entered the United States on a temporary status based on urgent humanitarian or significant public benefit reasons, and who did not enter the United States on a J1 or similar nonimmigrant visa following acceptance into a United States medical residency or fellowship program.
- (d) "International medical graduate" means a physician who received a basic medical degree or qualification from a medical school located outside the United States and Canada.
- (e) "Minnesota immigrant international medical graduate" means an immigrant international medical graduate who has lived in Minnesota for at least two years.
- (f) "Rural community" means a statutory and home rule charter city or township that is outside the seven-county metropolitan area as defined in section 473.121, subdivision 2, excluding the cities of Duluth, Mankato, Moorhead, Rochester, and St. Cloud.
- 139.18 (g) "Underserved community" means a Minnesota area or population included in the 139.19 list of designated primary medical care health professional shortage areas, medically 139.20 underserved areas, or medically underserved populations (MUPs) maintained and updated 139.21 by the United States Department of Health and Human Services.
- Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144.212, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
- Subd. 5a. Replacement. "Replacement" means a completion, addition, removal, or change made to certification items on a vital record after a vital event is registered and a record is established that has no notation of a change on a certificate, and seals the prior vital record.
- Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144.216, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2. **Status of foundling reports.** A report registered under subdivision 1 shall constitute the record of birth for the child. <u>Information about the newborn shall be registered</u>

 by the state registrar in accordance with Minnesota Rules, part 4601.0600, subpart 4, item

C. If the child is identified and a record of birth is found or obtained, the report registered 140.1 under subdivision 1 shall be confidential pursuant to section 13.02, subdivision 3, and shall 140.2 not be disclosed except pursuant to court order. 140.3 Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144.216, is amended by adding a subdivision 140.4 to read: 140.5 Subd. 3. Reporting safe place newborns. Hospitals that receive a newborn under section 140.6 140.7 145.902 shall report the birth of the newborn to the Office of Vital Records within five days after receiving the newborn. Information about the newborn shall be registered by the state 140.8 registrar in accordance with Minnesota Rules, part 4601.0600, subpart 4, item C. 140.9 Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144.216, is amended by adding a subdivision 140.10 140.11 to read: Subd. 4. Status of safe place birth reports and registrations. (a) Information about a 140.12 safe place newborn registered under subdivision 3 shall constitute the record of birth for 140.13 the child. The record shall be confidential pursuant to section 13.02, subdivision 3. 140.14 Information on the birth record or a birth certificate issued from the birth record shall be 140.15 disclosed only to the responsible social services agency or pursuant to a court order. 140.16 140.17 (b) Information about a safe place newborn registered under subdivision 3, shall constitute the record of birth for the child. If the safe place newborn was born in a hospital and it is 140.18 known that a record of birth was registered, filed, or amended, the original birth record 140.19 registered under section 144.215 shall be replaced pursuant to section 144.218, subdivision 140.20 140.21 6. Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144.218, is amended by adding a subdivision 140.22 to read: 140.23 Subd. 6. Safe place newborn; birth record. If a safe place infant birth is registered 140.24 pursuant to section 144.216, subdivision 4, paragraph (b), the state registrar shall issue a 140.25 replacement birth record free of information which identifies a parent. The prior vital record 140.26 shall be confidential pursuant to section 13.02, subdivision 3, and shall not be disclosed 140.27 except pursuant to a court order. 140.28

Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144.493, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

- Subd. 2a. Thrombectomy-capable stroke center. A hospital meets the criteria for a thrombectomy-capable stroke center if the hospital has been certified as a thrombectomy-capable stroke center by the joint commission or another nationally recognized accreditation entity, or is a primary stroke center that is not certified as a thrombectomy-based capable stroke center but the hospital has attained a level of stroke care distinction by offering mechanical endovascular therapies and has been certified by a department approved certifying body that is a nationally recognized guidelines-based organization.
- Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144.494, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2. **Designation.** A hospital that voluntarily meets the criteria for a comprehensive 141.11 stroke center, thrombectomy-capable stroke center, primary stroke center, or acute stroke 141.12 ready hospital may apply to the commissioner for designation, and upon the commissioner's 141.13 141.14 review and approval of the application, shall be designated as a comprehensive stroke center, a thrombectomy-capable stroke center, a primary stroke center, or an acute stroke ready 141.15 hospital for a three-year period. If a hospital loses its certification as a comprehensive stroke 141.16 center or primary stroke center from the joint commission or other nationally recognized accreditation entity, or no longer participates in the Minnesota stroke registry program, its 141.18 Minnesota designation shall be immediately withdrawn. Prior to the expiration of the 141.19 three-year designation period, a hospital seeking to remain part of the voluntary acute stroke 141.20 system may reapply to the commissioner for designation. 141.21
- Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144.551, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
- Subdivision 1. **Restricted construction or modification.** (a) The following construction or modification may not be commenced:
- (1) any erection, building, alteration, reconstruction, modernization, improvement, extension, lease, or other acquisition by or on behalf of a hospital that increases the bed capacity of a hospital, relocates hospital beds from one physical facility, complex, or site to another, or otherwise results in an increase or redistribution of hospital beds within the state; and
- 141.30 (2) the establishment of a new hospital.
- (b) This section does not apply to:

141.3

141.4

141.5

141.6

141.7

141.8

(1) construction or relocation within a county by a hospital, clinic, or other health care facility that is a national referral center engaged in substantial programs of patient care, medical research, and medical education meeting state and national needs that receives more than 40 percent of its patients from outside the state of Minnesota;

- (2) a project for construction or modification for which a health care facility held an approved certificate of need on May 1, 1984, regardless of the date of expiration of the certificate;
- 142.8 (3) a project for which a certificate of need was denied before July 1, 1990, if a timely appeal results in an order reversing the denial;
- 142.10 (4) a project exempted from certificate of need requirements by Laws 1981, chapter 200, section 2;
- 142.12 (5) a project involving consolidation of pediatric specialty hospital services within the 142.13 Minneapolis-St. Paul metropolitan area that would not result in a net increase in the number 142.14 of pediatric specialty hospital beds among the hospitals being consolidated;
 - (6) a project involving the temporary relocation of pediatric-orthopedic hospital beds to an existing licensed hospital that will allow for the reconstruction of a new philanthropic, pediatric-orthopedic hospital on an existing site and that will not result in a net increase in the number of hospital beds. Upon completion of the reconstruction, the licenses of both hospitals must be reinstated at the capacity that existed on each site before the relocation;
 - (7) the relocation or redistribution of hospital beds within a hospital building or identifiable complex of buildings provided the relocation or redistribution does not result in: (i) an increase in the overall bed capacity at that site; (ii) relocation of hospital beds from one physical site or complex to another; or (iii) redistribution of hospital beds within the state or a region of the state;
- 142.25 (8) relocation or redistribution of hospital beds within a hospital corporate system that involves the transfer of beds from a closed facility site or complex to an existing site or 142.26 complex provided that: (i) no more than 50 percent of the capacity of the closed facility is 142.27 transferred; (ii) the capacity of the site or complex to which the beds are transferred does 142.28 not increase by more than 50 percent; (iii) the beds are not transferred outside of a federal 142.29 health systems agency boundary in place on July 1, 1983; (iv) the relocation or redistribution 142.30 does not involve the construction of a new hospital building; and (v) the transferred beds 142.31 are used first to replace within the hospital corporate system the total number of beds 142.32 previously used in the closed facility site or complex for mental health services and substance 142.33 use disorder services. Only after the hospital corporate system has fulfilled the requirements 142.34

142.1

142.2

142.3

142.4

142.5

142.6

142.7

142.15

142.16

142.17

142.18

142.19

142.20

142.21

142.22

142.23

of this item may the remainder of the available capacity of the closed facility site or complex be transferred for any other purpose;

- (9) a construction project involving up to 35 new beds in a psychiatric hospital in Rice County that primarily serves adolescents and that receives more than 70 percent of its patients from outside the state of Minnesota;
- (10) a project to replace a hospital or hospitals with a combined licensed capacity of 130 beds or less if: (i) the new hospital site is located within five miles of the current site; and (ii) the total licensed capacity of the replacement hospital, either at the time of construction of the initial building or as the result of future expansion, will not exceed 70 100 licensed hospital beds, or the combined licensed capacity of the hospitals, whichever is less; 143.11
- (11) the relocation of licensed hospital beds from an existing state facility operated by 143.12 the commissioner of human services to a new or existing facility, building, or complex 143.13 operated by the commissioner of human services; from one regional treatment center site 143.14 to another; or from one building or site to a new or existing building or site on the same 143.15 campus; 143.16
- (12) the construction or relocation of hospital beds operated by a hospital having a 143.17 statutory obligation to provide hospital and medical services for the indigent that does not result in a net increase in the number of hospital beds, notwithstanding section 144.552, 27 143.19 beds, of which 12 serve mental health needs, may be transferred from Hennepin County 143.20 Medical Center to Regions Hospital under this clause; 143.21
- (13) a construction project involving the addition of up to 31 new beds in an existing 143.22 nonfederal hospital in Beltrami County; 143.23
- (14) a construction project involving the addition of up to eight new beds in an existing 143.24 nonfederal hospital in Otter Tail County with 100 licensed acute care beds;
- (15) a construction project involving the addition of 20 new hospital beds in an existing 143.26 hospital in Carver County serving the southwest suburban metropolitan area; 143.27
- (16) a project for the construction or relocation of up to 20 hospital beds for the operation 143.28 of up to two psychiatric facilities or units for children provided that the operation of the 143.29 facilities or units have received the approval of the commissioner of human services; 143.30
- (17) a project involving the addition of 14 new hospital beds to be used for rehabilitation 143.31 services in an existing hospital in Itasca County; 143.32

143.1

143.2

143.3

143.4

143.5

143.6

143.7

143.8

143.9

(18) a project to add 20 licensed beds in existing space at a hospital in Hennepin County that closed 20 rehabilitation beds in 2002, provided that the beds are used only for rehabilitation in the hospital's current rehabilitation building. If the beds are used for another purpose or moved to another location, the hospital's licensed capacity is reduced by 20 beds;

- (19) a critical access hospital established under section 144.1483, clause (9), and section 1820 of the federal Social Security Act, United States Code, title 42, section 1395i-4, that delicensed beds since enactment of the Balanced Budget Act of 1997, Public Law 105-33, to the extent that the critical access hospital does not seek to exceed the maximum number of beds permitted such hospital under federal law;
- 144.10 (20) notwithstanding section 144.552, a project for the construction of a new hospital 144.11 in the city of Maple Grove with a licensed capacity of up to 300 beds provided that:
- (i) the project, including each hospital or health system that will own or control the entity that will hold the new hospital license, is approved by a resolution of the Maple Grove City Council as of March 1, 2006;
- (ii) the entity that will hold the new hospital license will be owned or controlled by one or more not-for-profit hospitals or health systems that have previously submitted a plan or plans for a project in Maple Grove as required under section 144.552, and the plan or plans have been found to be in the public interest by the commissioner of health as of April 1, 2005;
- 144.20 (iii) the new hospital's initial inpatient services must include, but are not limited to, 144.21 medical and surgical services, obstetrical and gynecological services, intensive care services, 144.22 orthopedic services, pediatric services, noninvasive cardiac diagnostics, behavioral health 144.23 services, and emergency room services;
- 144.24 (iv) the new hospital:

144.1

144.2

144.3

144.4

144.5

144.6

144.7

144.8

- (A) will have the ability to provide and staff sufficient new beds to meet the growing needs of the Maple Grove service area and the surrounding communities currently being served by the hospital or health system that will own or control the entity that will hold the new hospital license;
- (B) will provide uncompensated care;
- (C) will provide mental health services, including inpatient beds;
- (D) will be a site for workforce development for a broad spectrum of health-care-related occupations and have a commitment to providing clinical training programs for physicians and other health care providers;

145.1	(E) will demonstrate a commitment to quality care and patient safety;
145.2	(F) will have an electronic medical records system, including physician order entry;
145.3	(G) will provide a broad range of senior services;
145.4	(H) will provide emergency medical services that will coordinate care with regional
145.5	providers of trauma services and licensed emergency ambulance services in order to enhance
145.6	the continuity of care for emergency medical patients; and
145.7	(I) will be completed by December 31, 2009, unless delayed by circumstances beyond
145.8	the control of the entity holding the new hospital license; and
145.9	(v) as of 30 days following submission of a written plan, the commissioner of health
145.10	has not determined that the hospitals or health systems that will own or control the entity
145.11	that will hold the new hospital license are unable to meet the criteria of this clause;
145.12	(21) a project approved under section 144.553;
145.13	(22) a project for the construction of a hospital with up to 25 beds in Cass County within
145.14	a 20-mile radius of the state Ah-Gwah-Ching facility, provided the hospital's license holder
145.15	is approved by the Cass County Board;

- (23) a project for an acute care hospital in Fergus Falls that will increase the bed capacity from 108 to 110 beds by increasing the rehabilitation bed capacity from 14 to 16 and closing a separately licensed 13-bed skilled nursing facility;
- (24) notwithstanding section 144.552, a project for the construction and expansion of a specialty psychiatric hospital in Hennepin County for up to 50 beds, exclusively for patients who are under 21 years of age on the date of admission. The commissioner conducted a public interest review of the mental health needs of Minnesota and the Twin Cities metropolitan area in 2008. No further public interest review shall be conducted for the construction or expansion project under this clause;
- (25) a project for a 16-bed psychiatric hospital in the city of Thief River Falls, if the commissioner finds the project is in the public interest after the public interest review 145.26 conducted under section 144.552 is complete; 145.27
- (26)(i) a project for a 20-bed psychiatric hospital, within an existing facility in the city 145.28 of Maple Grove, exclusively for patients who are under 21 years of age on the date of 145.29 admission, if the commissioner finds the project is in the public interest after the public 145.30 interest review conducted under section 144.552 is complete; 145.31

145.16

145.17

145.18

145.19

145.20

145.21

145.22

145.23

145.24

(ii) this project shall serve patients in the continuing care benefit program under section 256.9693. The project may also serve patients not in the continuing care benefit program; and

- (iii) if the project ceases to participate in the continuing care benefit program, the commissioner must complete a subsequent public interest review under section 144.552. If the project is found not to be in the public interest, the license must be terminated six months from the date of that finding. If the commissioner of human services terminates the contract without cause or reduces per diem payment rates for patients under the continuing care benefit program below the rates in effect for services provided on December 31, 2015, the project may cease to participate in the continuing care benefit program and continue to operate without a subsequent public interest review;
- 146.12 (27) a project involving the addition of 21 new beds in an existing psychiatric hospital 146.13 in Hennepin County that is exclusively for patients who are under 21 years of age on the 146.14 date of admission;
- 146.15 (28) a project to add 55 licensed beds in an existing safety net, level I trauma center 146.16 hospital in Ramsey County as designated under section 383A.91, subdivision 5, of which 146.17 15 beds are to be used for inpatient mental health and 40 are to be used for other services. 146.18 In addition, five unlicensed observation mental health beds shall be added;
 - (29) upon submission of a plan to the commissioner for public interest review under section 144.552 and the addition of the 15 inpatient mental health beds specified in clause (28), to its bed capacity, a project to add 45 licensed beds in an existing safety net, level I trauma center hospital in Ramsey County as designated under section 383A.91, subdivision 5. Five of the 45 additional beds authorized under this clause must be designated for use for inpatient mental health and must be added to the hospital's bed capacity before the remaining 40 beds are added. Notwithstanding section 144.552, the hospital may add licensed beds under this clause prior to completion of the public interest review, provided the hospital submits its plan by the 2021 deadline and adheres to the timelines for the public interest review described in section 144.552;
 - (30) upon submission of a plan to the commissioner for public interest review under section 144.552, a project to add up to 30 licensed beds in an existing psychiatric hospital in Hennepin County that exclusively provides care to patients who are under 21 years of age on the date of admission. Notwithstanding section 144.552, the psychiatric hospital may add licensed beds under this clause prior to completion of the public interest review,

146.1

146.2

146.3

146.4

146.5

146.6

146.7

146.8

146.9

146.10

146.11

146.19

146.20

146.21

146.22

146.23

146.25

146.26

146.27

146.28

146.29

146.30

146.31

146.32

provided the hospital submits its plan by the 2021 deadline and adheres to the timelines for the public interest review described in section 144.552;

- (31) any project to add licensed beds in a hospital located in Cook County or Mahnomen County that: (i) is designated as a critical access hospital under section 144.1483, clause (9), and United States Code, title 42, section 1395i-4; (ii) has a licensed bed capacity of fewer than 25 beds; and (iii) has an attached nursing home, so long as the total number of licensed beds in the hospital after the bed addition does not exceed 25 beds. Notwithstanding section 144.552, a public interest review is not required for a project authorized under this clause;
- (32) upon submission of a plan to the commissioner for public interest review under section 144.552, a project to add 22 licensed beds at a Minnesota freestanding children's hospital in St. Paul that is part of an independent pediatric health system with freestanding inpatient hospitals located in Minneapolis and St. Paul. The beds shall be utilized for pediatric inpatient behavioral health services. Notwithstanding section 144.552, the hospital may add licensed beds under this clause prior to completion of the public interest review, provided the hospital submits its plan by the 2022 deadline and adheres to the timelines for the public interest review described in section 144.552; or
- (33) a project for a 144-bed psychiatric hospital on the site of the former Bethesda hospital in the city of Saint Paul, Ramsey County, if the commissioner finds the project is in the public interest after the public interest review conducted under section 144.552 is complete. Following the completion of the construction project, the commissioner of health shall monitor the hospital, including by assessing the hospital's case mix and payer mix, patient transfers, and patient diversions. The hospital must have an intake and assessment area. The hospital must accommodate patients with acute mental health needs, whether they walk up to the facility, are delivered by ambulances or law enforcement, or are transferred from other facilities. The hospital must comply with subdivision 1a, paragraph (b). The hospital must annually submit de-identified data to the department in the format and manner defined by the commissioner.
- Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144.551, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
- Subdivision 1. **Restricted construction or modification.** (a) The following construction or modification may not be commenced:
- (1) any erection, building, alteration, reconstruction, modernization, improvement, extension, lease, or other acquisition by or on behalf of a hospital that increases the bed capacity of a hospital, relocates hospital beds from one physical facility, complex, or site

147.1

147.2

147.3

147.4

147.5

147.6

147.7

147.8

147.9

147.10

147.11

147.12

147.13

147.14

147.15

147.17

147.18

147.19

147.21

147.22

147.23

147.24

147.25

147.26

to another, or otherwise results in an increase or redistribution of hospital beds within the state; and

- (2) the establishment of a new hospital.
- (b) This section does not apply to: 148.4

148.1

148.2

148.3

148.5

148.6

148.7

148.8

148 9

148.16

148.19

148.20

148.22

148.23

148.24

148.26

148.27

- (1) construction or relocation within a county by a hospital, clinic, or other health care facility that is a national referral center engaged in substantial programs of patient care, medical research, and medical education meeting state and national needs that receives more than 40 percent of its patients from outside the state of Minnesota;
- (2) a project for construction or modification for which a health care facility held an approved certificate of need on May 1, 1984, regardless of the date of expiration of the 148.10 certificate; 148.11
- (3) a project for which a certificate of need was denied before July 1, 1990, if a timely 148.12 appeal results in an order reversing the denial; 148.13
- (4) a project exempted from certificate of need requirements by Laws 1981, chapter 200, 148.14 section 2; 148 15
- (5) a project involving consolidation of pediatric specialty hospital services within the Minneapolis-St. Paul metropolitan area that would not result in a net increase in the number of pediatric specialty hospital beds among the hospitals being consolidated; 148.18
 - (6) a project involving the temporary relocation of pediatric-orthopedic hospital beds to an existing licensed hospital that will allow for the reconstruction of a new philanthropic, pediatric-orthopedic hospital on an existing site and that will not result in a net increase in the number of hospital beds. Upon completion of the reconstruction, the licenses of both hospitals must be reinstated at the capacity that existed on each site before the relocation;
 - (7) the relocation or redistribution of hospital beds within a hospital building or identifiable complex of buildings provided the relocation or redistribution does not result in: (i) an increase in the overall bed capacity at that site; (ii) relocation of hospital beds from one physical site or complex to another; or (iii) redistribution of hospital beds within the state or a region of the state;
- (8) relocation or redistribution of hospital beds within a hospital corporate system that 148.29 involves the transfer of beds from a closed facility site or complex to an existing site or 148.30 complex provided that: (i) no more than 50 percent of the capacity of the closed facility is 148.31 transferred; (ii) the capacity of the site or complex to which the beds are transferred does 148.32 not increase by more than 50 percent; (iii) the beds are not transferred outside of a federal 148.33

health systems agency boundary in place on July 1, 1983; (iv) the relocation or redistribution does not involve the construction of a new hospital building; and (v) the transferred beds are used first to replace within the hospital corporate system the total number of beds previously used in the closed facility site or complex for mental health services and substance use disorder services. Only after the hospital corporate system has fulfilled the requirements of this item may the remainder of the available capacity of the closed facility site or complex be transferred for any other purpose;

- (9) a construction project involving up to 35 new beds in a psychiatric hospital in Rice County that primarily serves adolescents and that receives more than 70 percent of its patients from outside the state of Minnesota;
- (10) a project to replace a hospital or hospitals with a combined licensed capacity of 130 beds or less if: (i) the new hospital site is located within five miles of the current site; and (ii) the total licensed capacity of the replacement hospital, either at the time of construction of the initial building or as the result of future expansion, will not exceed 70 licensed hospital beds, or the combined licensed capacity of the hospitals, whichever is less;
- (11) the relocation of licensed hospital beds from an existing state facility operated by the commissioner of human services to a new or existing facility, building, or complex operated by the commissioner of human services; from one regional treatment center site to another; or from one building or site to a new or existing building or site on the same campus;
- (12) the construction or relocation of hospital beds operated by a hospital having a statutory obligation to provide hospital and medical services for the indigent that does not result in a net increase in the number of hospital beds, notwithstanding section 144.552, 27 beds, of which 12 serve mental health needs, may be transferred from Hennepin County Medical Center to Regions Hospital under this clause;
- 149.26 (13) a construction project involving the addition of up to 31 new beds in an existing nonfederal hospital in Beltrami County;
- 149.28 (14) a construction project involving the addition of up to eight new beds in an existing nonfederal hospital in Otter Tail County with 100 licensed acute care beds;
- 149.30 (15) a construction project involving the addition of 20 new hospital beds in an existing 149.31 hospital in Carver County serving the southwest suburban metropolitan area;

149.1

149.2

149.3

149.4

149.5

149.6

149.7

149.8

149.9

149.10

149.11

149.12

149.13

149.14

149.15

149.16

149.17

149.18

149.19

149.20

149.21

149.22

149.23

(16) a project for the construction or relocation of up to 20 hospital beds for the operation of up to two psychiatric facilities or units for children provided that the operation of the facilities or units have received the approval of the commissioner of human services;

- (17) a project involving the addition of 14 new hospital beds to be used for rehabilitation services in an existing hospital in Itasca County;
- (18) a project to add 20 licensed beds in existing space at a hospital in Hennepin County that closed 20 rehabilitation beds in 2002, provided that the beds are used only for rehabilitation in the hospital's current rehabilitation building. If the beds are used for another purpose or moved to another location, the hospital's licensed capacity is reduced by 20 beds;
- (19) a critical access hospital established under section 144.1483, clause (9), and section 1820 of the federal Social Security Act, United States Code, title 42, section 1395i-4, that delicensed beds since enactment of the Balanced Budget Act of 1997, Public Law 105-33, to the extent that the critical access hospital does not seek to exceed the maximum number of beds permitted such hospital under federal law;
- 150.15 (20) notwithstanding section 144.552, a project for the construction of a new hospital 150.16 in the city of Maple Grove with a licensed capacity of up to 300 beds provided that:
- (i) the project, including each hospital or health system that will own or control the entity that will hold the new hospital license, is approved by a resolution of the Maple Grove City Council as of March 1, 2006;
 - (ii) the entity that will hold the new hospital license will be owned or controlled by one or more not-for-profit hospitals or health systems that have previously submitted a plan or plans for a project in Maple Grove as required under section 144.552, and the plan or plans have been found to be in the public interest by the commissioner of health as of April 1, 2005;
- 150.25 (iii) the new hospital's initial inpatient services must include, but are not limited to, 150.26 medical and surgical services, obstetrical and gynecological services, intensive care services, 150.27 orthopedic services, pediatric services, noninvasive cardiac diagnostics, behavioral health 150.28 services, and emergency room services;
- 150.29 (iv) the new hospital:

150.1

150.2

150.3

150.4

150.5

150.6

150.7

150.8

150.9

150.20

150.21

150.22

150.23

150.24

(A) will have the ability to provide and staff sufficient new beds to meet the growing needs of the Maple Grove service area and the surrounding communities currently being served by the hospital or health system that will own or control the entity that will hold the new hospital license;

- (B) will provide uncompensated care;
- (C) will provide mental health services, including inpatient beds;
- (D) will be a site for workforce development for a broad spectrum of health-care-related occupations and have a commitment to providing clinical training programs for physicians and other health care providers;
- (E) will demonstrate a commitment to quality care and patient safety;
- (F) will have an electronic medical records system, including physician order entry;
- (G) will provide a broad range of senior services;
- (H) will provide emergency medical services that will coordinate care with regional providers of trauma services and licensed emergency ambulance services in order to enhance the continuity of care for emergency medical patients; and
- (I) will be completed by December 31, 2009, unless delayed by circumstances beyond the control of the entity holding the new hospital license; and
- (v) as of 30 days following submission of a written plan, the commissioner of health has not determined that the hospitals or health systems that will own or control the entity that will hold the new hospital license are unable to meet the criteria of this clause;
- 151.17 (21) a project approved under section 144.553;
- (22) a project for the construction of a hospital with up to 25 beds in Cass County within a 20-mile radius of the state Ah-Gwah-Ching facility, provided the hospital's license holder is approved by the Cass County Board;
- (23) a project for an acute care hospital in Fergus Falls that will increase the bed capacity from 108 to 110 beds by increasing the rehabilitation bed capacity from 14 to 16 and closing a separately licensed 13-bed skilled nursing facility;
- (24) notwithstanding section 144.552, a project for the construction and expansion of a specialty psychiatric hospital in Hennepin County for up to 50 beds, exclusively for patients who are under 21 years of age on the date of admission. The commissioner conducted a public interest review of the mental health needs of Minnesota and the Twin Cities metropolitan area in 2008. No further public interest review shall be conducted for the construction or expansion project under this clause;
- (25) a project for a 16-bed psychiatric hospital in the city of Thief River Falls, if the commissioner finds the project is in the public interest after the public interest review conducted under section 144.552 is complete;

(26)(i) a project for a 20-bed psychiatric hospital, within an existing facility in the city of Maple Grove, exclusively for patients who are under 21 years of age on the date of admission, if the commissioner finds the project is in the public interest after the public interest review conducted under section 144.552 is complete;

- (ii) this project shall serve patients in the continuing care benefit program under section 256.9693. The project may also serve patients not in the continuing care benefit program; and
- (iii) if the project ceases to participate in the continuing care benefit program, the 152.8 commissioner must complete a subsequent public interest review under section 144.552. If 152.9 the project is found not to be in the public interest, the license must be terminated six months 152.10 from the date of that finding. If the commissioner of human services terminates the contract 152.11 without cause or reduces per diem payment rates for patients under the continuing care 152.12 benefit program below the rates in effect for services provided on December 31, 2015, the 152.13 project may cease to participate in the continuing care benefit program and continue to 152.14 operate without a subsequent public interest review; 152.15
- 152.16 (27) a project involving the addition of 21 new beds in an existing psychiatric hospital 152.17 in Hennepin County that is exclusively for patients who are under 21 years of age on the 152.18 date of admission;
- 152.19 (28) a project to add 55 licensed beds in an existing safety net, level I trauma center 152.20 hospital in Ramsey County as designated under section 383A.91, subdivision 5, of which 152.21 15 beds are to be used for inpatient mental health and 40 are to be used for other services. 152.22 In addition, five unlicensed observation mental health beds shall be added;
- (29) upon submission of a plan to the commissioner for public interest review under 152.23 section 144.552 and the addition of the 15 inpatient mental health beds specified in clause 152.24 (28), to its bed capacity, a project to add 45 licensed beds in an existing safety net, level I 152.25 trauma center hospital in Ramsey County as designated under section 383A.91, subdivision 152.26 5. Five of the 45 additional beds authorized under this clause must be designated for use 152.27 for inpatient mental health and must be added to the hospital's bed capacity before the remaining 40 beds are added. Notwithstanding section 144.552, the hospital may add licensed 152.29 beds under this clause prior to completion of the public interest review, provided the hospital 152.30 submits its plan by the 2021 deadline and adheres to the timelines for the public interest 152.31 review described in section 144.552; 152.32
- 152.33 (30) upon submission of a plan to the commissioner for public interest review under 152.34 section 144.552, a project to add up to 30 licensed beds in an existing psychiatric hospital

152.1

152.2

152.3

152.4

152.5

152.6

in Hennepin County that exclusively provides care to patients who are under 21 years of age on the date of admission. Notwithstanding section 144.552, the psychiatric hospital may add licensed beds under this clause prior to completion of the public interest review, provided the hospital submits its plan by the 2021 deadline and adheres to the timelines for the public interest review described in section 144.552;

- (31) any project to add licensed beds in a hospital located in Cook County or Mahnomen County that: (i) is designated as a critical access hospital under section 144.1483, clause (9), and United States Code, title 42, section 1395i-4; (ii) has a licensed bed capacity of fewer than 25 beds; and (iii) has an attached nursing home, so long as the total number of licensed beds in the hospital after the bed addition does not exceed 25 beds. Notwithstanding section 144.552, a public interest review is not required for a project authorized under this clause;
- (32) upon submission of a plan to the commissioner for public interest review under section 144.552, a project to add 22 licensed beds at a Minnesota freestanding children's hospital in St. Paul that is part of an independent pediatric health system with freestanding inpatient hospitals located in Minneapolis and St. Paul. The beds shall be utilized for pediatric inpatient behavioral health services. Notwithstanding section 144.552, the hospital may add licensed beds under this clause prior to completion of the public interest review, provided the hospital submits its plan by the 2022 deadline and adheres to the timelines for the public interest review described in section 144.552; or
- (33) a project for a 144-bed psychiatric hospital on the site of the former Bethesda hospital in the city of Saint Paul, Ramsey County, if the commissioner finds the project is in the public interest after the public interest review conducted under section 144.552 is complete. Following the completion of the construction project, the commissioner of health shall monitor the hospital, including by assessing the hospital's case mix and payer mix, patient transfers, and patient diversions. The hospital must have an intake and assessment area. The hospital must accommodate patients with acute mental health needs, whether they walk up to the facility, are delivered by ambulances or law enforcement, or are transferred from other facilities. The hospital must comply with subdivision 1a, paragraph (b). The hospital must annually submit de-identified data to the department in the format and manner defined by the commissioner-; or
- (34) a project involving the relocation of up to 26 licensed long-term acute care hospital beds from an existing long-term care hospital located in Hennepin County with a licensed capacity prior to the relocation of 92 beds to dedicated space on the campus of an existing safety net, level I trauma center hospital in Ramsey County as designated under section

153.1

153.2

153.3

153.4

153.5

153.6

153.7

153.8

153.9

153.10

153.11

153.12

153.13

153.14

153.15

153.17

153.18

153.19

153.20

153.21

153.22

153.23

153.24

153.25

153.28

153.29

153.30

153.31

153.32

153.33

153.34

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

383A.91, subdivision 5, provided both the commissioner finds the project is in the public 154.1 interest after the public interest review conducted under section 144.552 is complete and 154.2 the relocated beds continue to be used as long-term acute care hospital beds after the 154.3 relocation. 154.4 154.5 Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144.605, is amended by adding a subdivision to read: 1546 154.7 Subd. 10. Chapter 16C waiver. Pursuant to subdivisions 4, paragraph (b), and 5, paragraph (b), the commissioner of administration may waive provisions of chapter 16C 154.8 for the purposes of approving contracts for independent clinical teams. 154.9 Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144.99, subdivision 3, is amended to read: 154.10 Subd. 3. Correction orders. (a) The commissioner may issue correction orders that 154.11 require a person to correct a violation of the statutes, rules, and other actions listed in 154.12 subdivision 1. The correction order must state the deficiencies that constitute the violation; 154.13 the specific statute, rule, or other action; and the time by which the violation must be 154.14 corrected. 154 15 154.16 (b) If the person believes that the information contained in the commissioner's correction order is in error, the person may ask the commissioner to reconsider the parts of the order 154 17 that are alleged to be in error. The request must be in writing, delivered to the commissioner 154.18 by certified mail within seven 15 calendar days after receipt of the order, and: 154.19 (1) specify which parts of the order for corrective action are alleged to be in error; 154.20 (2) explain why they are in error; and 154.21 (3) provide documentation to support the allegation of error. 154.22 The commissioner must respond to requests made under this paragraph within 15 calendar 154.23 days after receiving a request. A request for reconsideration does not stay the correction 154.24 order; however, after reviewing the request for reconsideration, the commissioner may 154.25 provide additional time to comply with the order if necessary. The commissioner's disposition 154.26 of a request for reconsideration is final. 154.27 154.28 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment. Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144A.10, subdivision 15, is amended to read: 154.29 Subd. 15. Informal dispute resolution. The commissioner shall respond in writing to 154.30 a request from a nursing facility certified under the federal Medicare and Medicaid programs 154.31

for an informal dispute resolution within 30 days of the exit date of the facility's survey ten calendar days of the facility's receipt of the notice of deficiencies. The commissioner's response shall identify the commissioner's decision regarding the continuation of each deficiency citation challenged by the nursing facility, as well as a statement of any changes in findings, level of severity or scope, and proposed remedies or sanctions for each deficiency citation.

Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144A.10, subdivision 16, is amended to read:

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2024.

155.1

155.2

155.3

155.4

155.5

155.6

155.7

155.8

Subd. 16. Independent informal dispute resolution. (a) Notwithstanding subdivision 155.9 15, a facility certified under the federal Medicare or Medicaid programs that has been 155.10 assessed a civil money penalty as provided by Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, section 155.11 488.430, may request from the commissioner, in writing, an independent informal dispute 155.12 resolution process regarding any deficiency eitation issued to the facility. The facility must 155.13 specify in its written request each deficiency citation that it disputes. The commissioner 155.14 shall provide a hearing under sections 14.57 to 14.62. Upon the written request of the facility, 155.15 the parties must submit the issues raised to arbitration by an administrative law judge submit its request in writing within ten calendar days of receiving notice that a civil money penalty 155.17 will be imposed. 155.18

- 155.19 (b) The facility and commissioner have the right to be represented by an attorney at the hearing.
- (c) An independent informal dispute resolution may not be requested for any deficiency
 that is the subject of an active informal dispute resolution requested under subdivision 15.
 The facility must withdraw its informal dispute resolution prior to requesting independent
 informal dispute resolution.
- (b) Upon (d) Within five calendar days of receipt of a written request for an arbitration 155.25 proceeding independent informal dispute resolution, the commissioner shall file with the 155.26 Office of Administrative Hearings a request for the appointment of an arbitrator 155.27 administrative law judge from the Office of Administrative Hearings and simultaneously 155.28 serve the facility with notice of the request. The arbitrator for the dispute shall be an 155.29 155.30 administrative law judge appointed by the Office of Administrative Hearings. The disclosure provisions of section 572B.12 and the notice provisions of section 572B.15, subsection (c), 155.31 apply. The facility and the commissioner have the right to be represented by an attorney. 155.32

04/16/24 06:07 pm	
-------------------	--

156.1	(e) An independent informal dispute resolution proceeding shall be scheduled to occur
156.2	within 30 calendar days of the commissioner's request to the Office of Administrative
156.3	Hearings, unless the parties agree otherwise or the chief administrative law judge deems
156.4	the timing to be unreasonable. The independent informal dispute resolution process must
156.5	be completed within 60 calendar days of the facility's request.
56.6	(e) (f) Five working days in advance of the scheduled proceeding, the commissioner
156.7	and the facility may present must submit written statements and arguments, documentary
156.8	evidence, depositions, and oral statements and arguments at the arbitration proceeding. Oral
156.9	statements and arguments may be made by telephone any other materials supporting their
156.10	position to the administrative law judge.
156.11	(g) The independent informal dispute resolution proceeding shall be informal and
156.12	conducted in a manner so as to allow the parties to fully present their positions and respond
156.13	to the opposing party's positions. This may include presentation of oral statements and
156.14	arguments at the proceeding.
156.15	(d) (h) Within ten working days of the close of the arbitration proceeding, the
156.16	administrative law judge shall issue findings and recommendations regarding each of the
156.17	deficiencies in dispute. The findings shall be one or more of the following:
156.18	(1) Supported in full. The citation is supported in full, with no deletion of findings and
156.19	no change in the scope or severity assigned to the deficiency citation.
156.20	(2) Supported in substance. The citation is supported, but one or more findings are
156.21	deleted without any change in the scope or severity assigned to the deficiency.
156.22	(3) Deficient practice cited under wrong requirement of participation. The citation is
156.23	amended by moving it to the correct requirement of participation.
156.24	(4) Scope not supported. The citation is amended through a change in the scope assigned
156.25	to the citation.
156.26	(5) Severity not supported. The citation is amended through a change in the severity
156.27	assigned to the citation.
156.28	(6) No deficient practice. The citation is deleted because the findings did not support
156.29	the citation or the negative resident outcome was unavoidable. The findings of the arbitrator

Article 6 Sec. 30.

156.30

156.31

are not binding on the commissioner.

(i) The findings and recommendations of the administrative law judge are not binding

04/16/24 06:07 pm

157.1	(j) Within ten calendar days of receiving the administrative law judge's findings and
157.2	recommendations, the commissioner shall issue a recommendation to the Center for Medicare
157.3	and Medicaid Services.
157.4	(e) (k) The commissioner shall reimburse the Office of Administrative Hearings for the
157.5	costs incurred by that office for the arbitration proceeding. The facility shall reimburse the
157.6	commissioner for the proportion of the costs that represent the sum of deficiency citations
157.7	supported in full under paragraph (d), clause (1), or in substance under paragraph (d), clause
157.8	(2), divided by the total number of deficiencies disputed. A deficiency citation for which
157.9	the administrative law judge's sole finding is that the deficient practice was cited under the
157.10	wrong requirements of participation shall not be counted in the numerator or denominator
157.11	in the calculation of the proportion of costs.
157.12	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective October 1, 2024, or upon federal approval,
157.13	whichever is later, and applies to appeals of deficiencies which are issued after October 1,
157.14	2024, or on or after the date upon which federal approval is obtained, whichever is later.
157.15	The commissioner of health shall notify the revisor of statutes when federal approval is
157.16	obtained.
157.17	Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144A.44, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
157.18	Subdivision 1. Statement of rights. (a) A client who receives home care services in the
157.19	community or in an assisted living facility licensed under chapter 144G has these rights:
157.20	(1) receive written information, in plain language, about rights before receiving services,
157.21	including what to do if rights are violated;
157.22	(2) receive care and services according to a suitable and up-to-date plan, and subject to
157.23	accepted health care, medical or nursing standards and person-centered care, to take an
157.24	active part in developing, modifying, and evaluating the plan and services;
157.25	(3) be told before receiving services the type and disciplines of staff who will be providing
157.26	the services, the frequency of visits proposed to be furnished, other choices that are available
157.27	for addressing home care needs, and the potential consequences of refusing these services;
157.28	(4) be told in advance of any recommended changes by the provider in the service plan
157.29	and to take an active part in any decisions about changes to the service plan;
157.30	(5) refuse services or treatment;
157.31	(6) know, before receiving services or during the initial visit, any limits to the services
157.32	available from a home care provider;

(7) be told before services are initiated what the provider charges for the services; to what extent payment may be expected from health insurance, public programs, or other sources, if known; and what charges the client may be responsible for paying;

- (8) know that there may be other services available in the community, including other home care services and providers, and to know where to find information about these services;
- 158.7 (9) choose freely among available providers and to change providers after services have 158.8 begun, within the limits of health insurance, long-term care insurance, medical assistance, 158.9 other health programs, or public programs;
- 158.10 (10) have personal, financial, and medical information kept private, and to be advised 158.11 of the provider's policies and procedures regarding disclosure of such information;
- 158.12 (11) access the client's own records and written information from those records in accordance with sections 144.291 to 144.298;
- 158.14 (12) be served by people who are properly trained and competent to perform their duties;
- 158.15 (13) be treated with courtesy and respect, and to have the client's property treated with respect;
- 158.17 (14) be free from physical and verbal abuse, neglect, financial exploitation, and all forms
 158.18 of maltreatment covered under the Vulnerable Adults Act and the Maltreatment of Minors
 158.19 Act;
- 158.20 (15) reasonable, advance notice of changes in services or charges;
- 158.21 (16) know the provider's reason for termination of services;
- (17) at least ten calendar days' advance notice of the termination of a service by a home care provider, except at least 30 calendar days' advance notice of the service termination shall be given by a home care provider for services provided to a client residing in an assisted living facility as defined in section 144G.08, subdivision 7. This clause does not apply in cases where:
- (i) the client engages in conduct that significantly alters the terms of the service plan with the home care provider;
- (ii) the client, person who lives with the client, or others create an abusive or unsafe work environment for the person providing home care services; or

158.1

158.2

158.3

158.4

158.5

04/16/24 06:07 pm

(iii) an emergency or a significant change in the client's condition has resulted in service 159.1 needs that exceed the current service plan and that cannot be safely met by the home care 159.2 159.3 provider; (18) a coordinated transfer when there will be a change in the provider of services; 159.4 (19) complain to staff and others of the client's choice about services that are provided, 159.5 or fail to be provided, and the lack of courtesy or respect to the client or the client's property 159.6 and the right to recommend changes in policies and services, free from retaliation including 159.7 the threat of termination of services; 159.8 (20) know how to contact an individual associated with the home care provider who is 159.9 responsible for handling problems and to have the home care provider investigate and 159.10 attempt to resolve the grievance or complaint; 159.11 (21) know the name and address of the state or county agency to contact for additional 159.12 information or assistance; and 159.13 (22) assert these rights personally, or have them asserted by the client's representative 159.14 or by anyone on behalf of the client, without retaliation; and. 159.15 (23) place an electronic monitoring device in the client's or resident's space in compliance 159.16 with state requirements. 159.17 (b) When providers violate the rights in this section, they are subject to the fines and 159.18 license actions in sections 144A.474, subdivision 11, and 144A.475. 159.19 (c) Providers must do all of the following: 159.20 (1) encourage and assist in the fullest possible exercise of these rights; 159.21 (2) provide the names and telephone numbers of individuals and organizations that 159.22 provide advocacy and legal services for clients and residents seeking to assert their rights; 159.23 (3) make every effort to assist clients or residents in obtaining information regarding 159.24 whether Medicare, medical assistance, other health programs, or public programs will pay 159.25 159.26 for services;

159.29 (5) provide all information and notices in plain language and in terms the client or
159.30 resident can understand.

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

(d) No provider may require or request a client or resident to waive any of the rights listed in this section at any time or for any reasons, including as a condition of initiating services or entering into an assisted living contract.

- Sec. 32. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144A.471, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
- Subd. 1a. Licensure under other law. A home care licensee must not provide sleeping
 accommodations as a provision of home care services. For purposes of this subdivision, the
 provision of sleeping accommodations and assisted living services under section 144G.08,
 subdivision 9, requires assisted living licensure under chapter 144G.
- Sec. 33. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144A.474, subdivision 13, is amended to read:
- Subd. 13. **Home care surveyor training.** (a) Before conducting a home care survey, each home care surveyor must receive training on the following topics:
- 160.13 (1) Minnesota home care licensure requirements;
- 160.14 (2) Minnesota home care bill of rights;
- 160.15 (3) Minnesota Vulnerable Adults Act and reporting of maltreatment of minors;
- 160.16 (4) principles of documentation;
- 160.17 (5) survey protocol and processes;
- 160.18 (6) Offices of the Ombudsman roles;
- 160.19 (7) Office of Health Facility Complaints;
- 160.20 (8) Minnesota landlord-tenant and housing with services laws;
- (9) types of payors for home care services; and
- 160.22 (10) Minnesota Nurse Practice Act for nurse surveyors.
- (b) Materials used for the training in paragraph (a) shall be posted on the department website. Requisite understanding of these topics will be reviewed as part of the quality improvement plan in section 144A.483.
- Sec. 34. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 144A.4791, subdivision 10, is amended to read:
- Subd. 10. **Termination of service plan.** (a) If a home care provider terminates a service plan with a client, and the client continues to need home care services, the home care provider

shall provide the client and the client's representative, if any, with a written notice of termination which includes the following information:

- (1) the effective date of termination;
- 161.4 (2) the reason for termination;

161.1

161.2

161.3

- 161.5 (3) for clients age 18 or older, a statement that the client may contact the Office of
 161.6 Ombudsman for Long-Term Care to request an advocate to assist regarding the termination
 161.7 and contact information for the office, including the office's central telephone number;
- 161.8 (4) a list of known licensed home care providers in the client's immediate geographic area;
- (5) a statement that the home care provider will participate in a coordinated transfer of care of the client to another home care provider, health care provider, or caregiver, as required by the home care bill of rights, section 144A.44, subdivision 1, clause (17); and
- 161.13 (6) the name and contact information of a person employed by the home care provider with whom the client may discuss the notice of termination; and.
- 161.15 (7) if applicable, a statement that the notice of termination of home care services does
 161.16 not constitute notice of termination of any housing contract.
- (b) When the home care provider voluntarily discontinues services to all clients, the home care provider must notify the commissioner, lead agencies, and ombudsman for long-term care about its clients and comply with the requirements in this subdivision.
- Sec. 35. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144E.16, subdivision 7, is amended to read:
- Subd. 7. **Stroke transport protocols.** Regional emergency medical services programs and any ambulance service licensed under this chapter must develop stroke transport protocols. The protocols must include standards of care for triage and transport of acute stroke patients within a specific time frame from symptom onset until transport to the most appropriate designated acute stroke ready hospital, primary stroke center, thrombectomy-capable stroke center, or comprehensive stroke center.
- Subd. 29. **Licensed health professional.** "Licensed health professional" means a person licensed in Minnesota to practice a profession described in section 214.01, subdivision 2, other than a registered nurse or licensed practical nurse, who provides assisted living services within the scope of practice of that person's health occupation license, registration, or

Sec. 36. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144G.08, subdivision 29, is amended to read:

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2
04/16/74 Ub:U/ nm	COUNSEL	AHI/NH/ICT	N N4699A-7

certification as a regulated person who is licensed by an appropriate Minnesota state board 162.1 162.2 or agency. Sec. 37. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144G.10, is amended by adding a subdivision 162.3 to read: 162.4 Subd. 5. Protected title; restriction on use. (a) Effective January 1, 2026, no person 162.5 or entity may use the phrase "assisted living," whether alone or in combination with other 162.6 words and whether orally or in writing, to: advertise; market; or otherwise describe, offer, 162.7 or promote itself, or any housing, service, service package, or program that it provides 162.8 162.9 within this state, unless the person or entity is a licensed assisted living facility that meets the requirements of this chapter. A person or entity entitled to use the phrase "assisted living" 162.10 shall use the phrase only in the context of its participation that meets the requirements of 162.11 162.12 this chapter. (b) Effective January 1, 2026, the licensee's name for a new assisted living facility may 162.13 not include the terms "home care" or "nursing home." 162.14 Sec. 38. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144G.16, subdivision 6, is amended to read: 162.15 Subd. 6. Requirements for notice and transfer. A provisional licensee whose license 162.16 is denied must comply with the requirements for notification and the coordinated move of 162.17 residents in sections 144G.52 and 144G.55. If the license denial is upheld by the 162.18 reconsideration process, the licensee must submit a closure plan as required by section 162.19 144G.57 within ten calendar days of receipt of the reconsideration decision. 162.20 Sec. 39. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 145.561, subdivision 4, is amended 162.21 to read: 162.22 Subd. 4. 988 telecommunications fee. (a) In compliance with the National Suicide 162.23 Hotline Designation Act of 2020, the commissioner shall impose a monthly statewide fee 162.24 on each subscriber of a wireline, wireless, or IP-enabled voice service at a rate that provides must pay a monthly fee to provide for the robust creation, operation, and maintenance of a 162.26 statewide 988 suicide prevention and crisis system. 162.27 162.28 (b) The commissioner shall annually recommend to the Public Utilities Commission an adequate and appropriate fee to implement this section. The amount of the fee must comply 162.29 with the limits in paragraph (c). The commissioner shall provide telecommunication service 162.30 providers and carriers a minimum of 45 days' notice of each fee change. 162.31

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

103.1	(c) (b) The amount of the 700 telecommunications fee must not be more than 25 is 12
163.2	cents per month on or after January 1, 2024, for each consumer access line, including trunk
163.3	equivalents as designated by the eommission Public Utilities Commission pursuant to section
163.4	403.11, subdivision 1. The 988 telecommunications fee must be the same for all subscribers.
163.5	(d) (c) Each wireline, wireless, and IP-enabled voice telecommunication service provider
163.6	shall collect the 988 telecommunications fee and transfer the amounts collected to the
163.7	commissioner of public safety in the same manner as provided in section 403.11, subdivision
163.8	1, paragraph (d).
163.9	(e) (d) The commissioner of public safety shall deposit the money collected from the
163.10	988 telecommunications fee to the 988 special revenue account established in subdivision
163.11	3.
163.12	(f) (e) All 988 telecommunications fee revenue must be used to supplement, and not
163.13	supplant, federal, state, and local funding for suicide prevention.
163.14	(g) (f) The 988 telecommunications fee amount shall be adjusted as needed to provide
163.15	for continuous operation of the lifeline centers and 988 hotline, volume increases, and
163.16	maintenance.
163.17	(h) (g) The commissioner shall annually report to the Federal Communications
163.18	Commission on revenue generated by the 988 telecommunications fee.
163.19	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
163.20	Sec. 40. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 146B.03, subdivision 7a, is amended to read:
163.21	Subd. 7a. Supervisors. (a) A technician must have been licensed in Minnesota or in a
163.22	jurisdiction with which Minnesota has reciprocity for at least:
163.23	(1) two years as a tattoo technician licensed under section 146B.03, subdivision 4, 6, or
163.24	$\underline{8}$, in order to supervise a temporary tattoo technician; or
163.25	(2) one year as a body piercing technician licensed under section 146B.03, subdivision
163.26	4, 6, or 8, or must have performed at least 500 body piercings, in order to supervise a
163.27	temporary body piercing technician.
163.28	(b) Any technician who agrees to supervise more than two temporary tattoo technicians
163.29	during the same time period, or more than four body piercing technicians during the same
163.30	time period, must provide to the commissioner a supervisory plan that describes how the
163.31	technician will provide supervision to each temporary technician in accordance with section
163.32	146B.01, subdivision 28.

	< >	T1	•	1	4	. 1	1	4		
164.1	C	i i ne sii	pervisory	ทเลท	milst	incli	าตе	ат а	mınım	ııım.
101.1	(-)	, The sa	p c 1 11501 j	Pian	mot	111010	,,,	ai a	11111111	101111.

- 164.2 (1) the areas of practice under supervision;
- 164.3 (2) the anticipated supervision hours per week;
- 164.4 (3) the anticipated duration of the training period; and
- 164.5 (4) the method of providing supervision if there are multiple technicians being supervised 164.6 during the same time period.
- (d) If the supervisory plan is terminated before completion of the technician's supervised practice, the supervisor must notify the commissioner in writing within 14 days of the change in supervision and include an explanation of why the plan was not completed.
- (e) The commissioner may refuse to approve as a supervisor a technician who has been disciplined in Minnesota or in another jurisdiction after considering the criteria in section 146B.02, subdivision 10, paragraph (b).
- Sec. 41. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 146B.10, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
- Subdivision 1. **Licensing fees.** (a) The fee for the initial technician licensure <u>application</u> and biennial licensure renewal <u>application</u> is \$420.
- (b) The fee for temporary technician licensure application is \$240.
- (c) The fee for the temporary guest artist license application is \$140.
- (d) The fee for a dual body art technician license application is \$420.
- (e) The fee for a provisional establishment license <u>application required in section 146B.02</u>, subdivision 5, paragraph (c), is \$1,500.
- (f) The fee for an initial establishment license <u>application</u> and the two-year license renewal period <u>application</u> required in section 146B.02, subdivision 2, paragraph (b), is \$1,500.
- 164.24 (g) The fee for a temporary body art establishment event permit application is \$200.
- (h) The commissioner shall prorate the initial two-year technician license fee based on the number of months in the initial licensure period. The commissioner shall prorate the first renewal fee for the establishment license based on the number of months from issuance of the provisional license to the first renewal.
- (i) The fee for verification of licensure to other states is \$25.

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

(j) The fee to reissue a provisional establishment license that relocates prior to inspection 165.1 and removal of provisional status is \$350. The expiration date of the provisional license 165.2 165.3 does not change. (k) (j) The fee to change an establishment name or establishment type, such as tattoo, 165.4 165.5 piercing, or dual, is \$50. Sec. 42. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 146B.10, subdivision 3, is amended to read: 165.6 Subd. 3. Deposit. Fees collected by the commissioner under this section must be deposited 165.7 in the state government special revenue fund. All fees are nonrefundable. 165.8 Sec. 43. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 149A.02, subdivision 3b, is amended to read: 165.9 Subd. 3b. Burial site services. "Burial site services" means any services sold or offered 165.10 for sale directly to the public for use in connection with the final disposition of a dead human 165.11 body but does not include services provided under a transportation protection agreement. 165.12 Sec. 44. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 149A.02, subdivision 23, is amended to read: 165.13 165.14 Subd. 23. Funeral services. (a) "Funeral services" means any services which may be used to: (1) care for and prepare dead human bodies for burial, alkaline hydrolysis, cremation, 165.15 or other final disposition; and (2) arrange, supervise, or conduct the funeral ceremony or 165.16 the final disposition of dead human bodies. 165.17 (b) Funeral service does not include a travel protection agreement. 165.18 Sec. 45. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 149A.02, is amended by adding a subdivision 165.19 to read: 165.20 Subd. 38a. Transportation protection agreement. "Transportation protection agreement" 165.21 means an agreement that is primarily for the purpose of transportation and subsequent 165.22 transportation of the remains of a dead human body. 165.23 Sec. 46. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 149A.65, is amended to read: 165 24 149A.65 FEES. 165.25

Subdivision 1. Generally. This section establishes the application fees for registrations, 165.26 examinations, initial and renewal licenses, and late fees authorized under the provisions of this chapter. 165.28

Subd. 2. Mortuary science fees. Fees for mortuary science are:

- (1) \$75 for the initial and renewal registration of a mortuary science intern;
- 166.2 (2) \$125 for the mortuary science examination;
- 166.3 (3) \$200 for issuance of initial and renewal mortuary science licenses license applications;
- (4) \$100 late fee charge for a license renewal application; and
- 166.5 (5) \$250 for issuing a an application for mortuary science license by endorsement.
- Subd. 3. **Funeral directors.** The license renewal <u>application</u> fee for funeral directors is \$200. The late fee charge for a license renewal is \$100.
- Subd. 4. **Funeral establishments.** The initial and renewal <u>application</u> fee for funeral establishments is \$425. The late fee charge for a license renewal is \$100.
- Subd. 5. **Crematories.** The initial and renewal <u>application</u> fee for a crematory is \$425.

 The late fee charge for a license renewal is \$100.
- Subd. 6. **Alkaline hydrolysis facilities.** The initial and renewal <u>application</u> fee for an alkaline hydrolysis facility is \$425. The late fee charge for a license renewal is \$100.
- Subd. 7. **State government special revenue fund.** Fees collected by the commissioner under this section must be deposited in the state treasury and credited to the state government special revenue fund. All fees are nonrefundable.
- Sec. 47. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 149A.97, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2. Scope and requirements. This section shall not apply to a travel protection 166.18 agreement or to any funeral goods or burial site goods purchased and delivered, either at 166.19 purchase or within a commercially reasonable amount of time thereafter. When prior to the 166.20 death of any person, that person or another, on behalf of that person, enters into any 166.21 transaction, makes a contract, or any series or combination of transactions or contracts with 166.22 a funeral provider lawfully doing business in Minnesota, other than an insurance company 166.23 licensed to do business in Minnesota selling approved insurance or annuity products, by 166.24 the terms of which, goods or services related to the final disposition of that person will be 166.25 furnished at-need, then the total of all money paid by the terms of the transaction, contract, 166.26 or series or combination of transactions or contracts shall be held in trust for the purpose 166.27 for which it has been paid. The person for whose benefit the money was paid shall be known 166.28 as the beneficiary, the person or persons who paid the money shall be known as the purchaser, 166.29 and the funeral provider shall be known as the depositor. 166.30

0 (/ 10/2 : 00/0 / pm	04/16/24 06:07 pm COUNSEL AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2
-----------------------	-------------------------------------	------------

Sec. 48. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 152.22, is amended by adding a subdivision to 167.1 167.2 read:

- Subd. 19. Veteran. "Veteran" means an individual who satisfies the requirements in section 197.447 and is receiving care from the United States Department of Veterans Affairs.
- Sec. 49. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 152.25, subdivision 2, is amended to read: 167.5
- Subd. 2. Range of compounds and dosages; report. The commissioner shall review and publicly report the existing medical and scientific literature regarding the range of recommended dosages for each qualifying condition and the range of chemical compositions of any plant of the genus cannabis that will likely be medically beneficial for each of the 167.9 qualifying medical conditions. The commissioner shall make this information available to patients with qualifying medical conditions beginning December 1, 2014, and update the information annually every three years. The commissioner may consult with the independent laboratory under contract with the manufacturer or other experts in reporting the range of 167.13 recommended dosages for each qualifying medical condition, the range of chemical 167.14 compositions that will likely be medically beneficial, and any risks of noncannabis drug 167.15 interactions. The commissioner shall consult with each manufacturer on an annual basis on medical cannabis offered by the manufacturer. The list of medical cannabis offered by a manufacturer shall be published on the Department of Health website. 167.18
- Sec. 50. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 152.27, is amended by adding a subdivision to 167.19 read: 167.20
- Subd. 3a. Application procedure for veterans. (a) Beginning July 1, 2024, the 167.21 commissioner shall establish an alternative certification procedure for veterans to confirm 167.22 that the veteran has been diagnosed with a qualifying medical condition. 167.23
- (b) A patient who is also a veteran and is seeking to enroll in the registry program must 167.24 submit a copy of the patient's veteran health identification card issued by the United States Department of Veterans Affairs and an application established by the commissioner to 167.26 certify that the patient has been diagnosed with a qualifying medical condition. 167.27
- Sec. 51. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 152.27, subdivision 6, is amended to read: 167.28
- Subd. 6. Patient enrollment. (a) After receipt of a patient's application, application fees, 167.29 and signed disclosure, the commissioner shall enroll the patient in the registry program and 167.30 issue the patient and patient's registered designated caregiver or parent, legal guardian, or 167.31 spouse, if applicable, a registry verification. The commissioner shall approve or deny a 167.32

167.3

167.4

167.6

167.7

patient's application for participation in the registry program within 30 days after the commissioner receives the patient's application and application fee. The commissioner may approve applications up to 60 days after the receipt of a patient's application and application fees until January 1, 2016. A patient's enrollment in the registry program shall only be denied if the patient:

- (1) does not have certification from a health care practitioner, or if the patient is a veteran receiving care from the United States Department of Veterans Affairs, the documentation required under subdivision 3a, that the patient has been diagnosed with a qualifying medical condition;
- 168.10 (2) has not signed and returned the disclosure form required under subdivision 3, 168.11 paragraph (c), to the commissioner;
- 168.12 (3) does not provide the information required;
- 168.13 (4) has previously been removed from the registry program for violations of section 168.14 152.30 or 152.33; or
- 168.15 (5) provides false information.

168.1

168.2

168.3

168.4

168.5

168.6

168.7

168.8

- 168.16 (b) The commissioner shall give written notice to a patient of the reason for denying 168.17 enrollment in the registry program.
- (c) Denial of enrollment into the registry program is considered a final decision of the commissioner and is subject to judicial review under the Administrative Procedure Act pursuant to chapter 14.
- 168.21 (d) A patient's enrollment in the registry program may only be revoked upon the death 168.22 of the patient or if a patient violates a requirement under section 152.30 or 152.33.
- (e) The commissioner shall develop a registry verification to provide to the patient, the health care practitioner identified in the patient's application, and to the manufacturer. The registry verification shall include:
- (1) the patient's name and date of birth;
- 168.27 (2) the patient registry number assigned to the patient; and
- 168.28 (3) the name and date of birth of the patient's registered designated caregiver, if any, or 168.29 the name of the patient's parent, legal guardian, or spouse if the parent, legal guardian, or 168.30 spouse will be acting as a caregiver.

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

Sec. 52. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 152.28, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

- Subdivision 1. **Health care practitioner duties.** (a) Prior to a patient's enrollment in the registry program, a health care practitioner shall:
- (1) determine, in the health care practitioner's medical judgment, whether a patient suffers from a qualifying medical condition, and, if so determined, provide the patient with a certification of that diagnosis;
- 169.8 (2) advise patients, registered designated caregivers, and parents, legal guardians, or 169.9 spouses who are acting as caregivers of the existence of any nonprofit patient support groups 169.10 or organizations;
- (3) provide explanatory information from the commissioner to patients with qualifying medical conditions, including disclosure to all patients about the experimental nature of therapeutic use of medical cannabis; the possible risks, benefits, and side effects of the proposed treatment; the application and other materials from the commissioner; and provide patients with the Tennessen warning as required by section 13.04, subdivision 2; and
- 169.16 (4) agree to continue treatment of the patient's qualifying medical condition and report medical findings to the commissioner.
- 169.18 (b) Upon notification from the commissioner of the patient's enrollment in the registry program, the health care practitioner shall:
- (1) participate in the patient registry reporting system under the guidance and supervision of the commissioner;
- (2) report health records of the patient throughout the ongoing treatment of the patient to the commissioner in a manner determined by the commissioner and in accordance with subdivision 2;
- (3) determine, on a yearly basis every three years, if the patient continues to suffer from a qualifying medical condition and, if so, issue the patient a new certification of that diagnosis; and
- 169.28 (4) otherwise comply with all requirements developed by the commissioner.
- 169.29 (c) A health care practitioner may utilize telehealth, as defined in section 62A.673, subdivision 2, for certifications and recertifications.
- (d) Nothing in this section requires a health care practitioner to participate in the registry program.

169.3

Sec. 53. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256R.02, subdivision 20, is amended to read:

Subd. 20. **Facility average case mix index.** "Facility average case mix index" or "CMI" means a numerical score that describes the relative resource use for all residents within the

case mix elassifications under the resource utilization group (RUG) classification system prescribed by the commissioner based on an assessment of each resident. The facility average CMI shall be computed as the standardized days divided by the sum of the facility's resident

days. The case mix indices used shall be based on the system prescribed in section 256R.17.

Sec. 54. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 259.52, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Requirement to search registry before adoption petition can be granted; proof of search. No petition for adoption may be granted unless the agency supervising the adoptive placement, the birth mother of the child, the putative father who registered or the legal father, or, in the case of a stepparent or relative adoption, the county agency responsible for the report required under section 259.53, subdivision 1, requests that the commissioner of health search the registry to determine whether a putative father is registered in relation to a child who is or may be the subject of an adoption petition. The search required by this subdivision must be conducted no sooner than 31 days following the birth of the child. A search of the registry may be proven by the production of a certified copy of the registration form or by a certified statement of the commissioner of health that after a search no registration of a putative father in relation to a child who is or may be the subject of an adoption petition could be located. The filing of a certified copy of an order from a juvenile protection matter under chapter 260C containing a finding that certification of the requisite search of the Minnesota Fathers' Adoption Registry was filed with the court in that matter shall also constitute proof of search. Certification that the Minnesota Fathers' Adoption Registry has been searched must be filed with the court prior to entry of any final order of adoption. In addition to the search required by this subdivision, the agency supervising the adoptive placement, the birth mother of the child, or, in the case of a stepparent or relative adoption, the social services agency responsible for the report under section 259.53, subdivision 1, or the responsible social services agency that is a petitioner in a juvenile protection matter under chapter 260C may request that the commissioner of health search the registry at any time. Search requirements of this section do not apply when the responsible social services agency is proceeding under Safe Place for Newborns, section 260C.139.

170.1

170.2

170.3

170.4

170.5

170.6

170.8

170.9

170.11

170.12

170.13

170.14

170.15

170.18

170.19

170.20

170.21

170.22

170.24

170.25

170.26

170.27

170.28

170.29

170.30

Sec. 55. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 259.52, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

- Subd. 4. Classification of registry data. (a) Data in the fathers' adoption registry, including all data provided in requesting the search of the registry, are private data on individuals, as defined in section 13.02, subdivision 2, and are nonpublic data with respect to data not on individuals, as defined in section 13.02, subdivision 9. Data in the registry may be released to:
- 171.7 (1) a person who is required to search the registry under subdivision 2, if the data relate 171.8 to the child who is or may be the subject of the adoption petition;
- (2) the mother of the child listed on the putative father's registration form who the commissioner of health is required to notify under subdivision 1, paragraph (c);
- 171.11 (3) the putative father who registered himself or the legal father;
- (4) a public authority as provided in subdivision 3; or

171.2

171.3

171.4

171.5

- (4) (5) an attorney who has signed an affidavit from the commissioner of health attesting that the attorney represents the birth mother, the putative or legal father, or the prospective adoptive parents.
- 171.16 (b) A person who receives data under this subdivision may use the data only for purposes authorized under this section or other law.
- Sec. 56. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 342.54, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2. **Duties related to the registry program.** The Division of Medical Cannabis must:
- (1) administer the registry program according to section 342.52;
- (2) provide information to patients enrolled in the registry program on the existence of federally approved clinical trials for the treatment of the patient's qualifying medical condition with medical cannabis flower or medical cannabinoid products as an alternative to enrollment in the registry program;
- (3) maintain safety criteria with which patients must comply as a condition of participation in the registry program to prevent patients from undertaking any task under the influence of medical cannabis flower or medical cannabinoid products that would constitute negligence or professional malpractice;

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

(4) review and publicly report on existing medical and scientific literature regarding the range of recommended dosages for each qualifying medical condition, the range of chemical compositions of medical cannabis flower and medical cannabinoid products that will likely be medically beneficial for each qualifying medical condition, and any risks of noncannabis drug interactions. This information must be updated by December 1 of each year every three years. The office may consult with an independent laboratory under contract with the office or other experts in reporting and updating this information; and

- (5) annually consult with cannabis businesses about medical cannabis that the businesses cultivate, manufacture, and offer for sale and post on the Division of Medical Cannabis website a list of the medical cannabis flower and medical cannabinoid products offered for sale by each medical cannabis retailer.
- 172.12 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective March 1, 2025.

172.1

172.2

172.3

172.4

172.5

172.6

172.7

172.8

172.9

172.10

172.11

- Sec. 57. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 342.55, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2. **Duties upon patient's enrollment in registry program.** Upon receiving notification from the Division of Medical Cannabis of the patient's enrollment in the registry program, a health care practitioner must:
- 172.18 (1) participate in the patient registry reporting system under the guidance and supervision of the Division of Medical Cannabis;
- (2) report to the Division of Medical Cannabis patient health records throughout the patient's ongoing treatment in a manner determined by the office and in accordance with subdivision 4;
- 172.23 (3) determine on a yearly basis, every three years, if the patient continues to have a 172.24 qualifying medical condition and, if so, issue the patient a new certification of that diagnosis. 172.25 The patient assessment conducted under this clause may be conducted via telehealth, as
- 172.27 (4) otherwise comply with requirements established by the Office of Cannabis
 172.28 Management and the Division of Medical Cannabis.
- 172.29 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective March 1, 2025.

defined in section 62A.673, subdivision 2; and

173.1	Sec. 58. <u>REVISOR INSTRUCTION.</u>
173.2	The revisor of statutes shall substitute the term "employee" with the term "staff" in the
173.3	following sections of Minnesota Statutes and make any grammatical changes needed without
173.4	changing the meaning of the sentence: Minnesota Statutes, sections 144G.08, subdivisions
173.5	18 and 36; 144G.13, subdivision 1, paragraph (c); 144G.20, subdivisions 1, 2, and 21;
173.6	144G.30, subdivision 5; 144G.42, subdivision 8; 144G.45, subdivision 2; 144G.60,
173.7	subdivisions 1, paragraph (c), and 3, paragraph (a); 144G.63, subdivision 2, paragraph (a),
173.8	clause (9); 144G.64, paragraphs (a), clauses (2), (3), and (5), and (c); 144G.70, subdivision
173.9	<u>7; and 144G.92, subdivisions 1 and 3.</u>
173.10	Sec. 59. REPEALER; 340B COVERED ENTITY REPORT.
173.11	(a) Minnesota Statutes 2022, sections 144.218, subdivision 3; 144.497; and 256R.02,
173.12	subdivision 46, are repealed.
173.13	(b) Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, sections 62J.312, subdivision 6; and 144.0528,
173.14	subdivision 5, are repealed.
	A DITICLE 7
173.15	ARTICLE 7 EMERGENCY MEDICAL SERVICES
173.16	EMERGENCY MEDICAL SERVICES
173.17	Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 15A.0815, subdivision 2, is
173.18	amended to read:
173.19	Subd. 2. Agency head salaries. The salary for a position listed in this subdivision shall
173.20	be determined by the Compensation Council under section 15A.082. The commissioner of
173.21	management and budget must publish the salaries on the department's website. This
173.22	subdivision applies to the following positions:
173.23	Commissioner of administration;
173.24	Commissioner of agriculture;
173.25	Commissioner of education;
173.26	Commissioner of children, youth, and families;
173.27	Commissioner of commerce;
173.28	Commissioner of corrections;
173.29	Commissioner of health;
173.30	Commissioner, Minnesota Office of Higher Education;

174.1	Commissioner, Minnesota IT Services;
174.2	Commissioner, Housing Finance Agency;
174.3	Commissioner of human rights;
174.4	Commissioner of human services;
174.5	Commissioner of labor and industry;
174.6	Commissioner of management and budget;
174.7	Commissioner of natural resources;
174.8	Commissioner, Pollution Control Agency;
174.9	Commissioner of public safety;
174.10	Commissioner of revenue;
174.11	Commissioner of employment and economic development;
174.12	Commissioner of transportation;
174.13	Commissioner of veterans affairs;
174.14	Executive director of the Gambling Control Board;
174.15	Executive director of the Minnesota State Lottery;
174.16	Commissioner of Iron Range resources and rehabilitation;
174.17	Commissioner, Bureau of Mediation Services;
174.18	Ombudsman for mental health and developmental disabilities;
174.19	Ombudsperson for corrections;
174.20	Chair, Metropolitan Council;
174.21	Chair, Metropolitan Airports Commission;
174.22	School trust lands director;
174.23	Executive director of pari-mutuel racing; and
174.24	Commissioner, Public Utilities Commission-; and
174.25	Director of the Office of Emergency Medical Services.
174.26	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 43A.08, subdivision 1a, is amended 175.1 to read: 175.2

- Subd. 1a. Additional unclassified positions. Appointing authorities for the following agencies may designate additional unclassified positions according to this subdivision: the Departments of Administration; Agriculture; Children, Youth, and Families; Commerce;
- Corrections; Direct Care and Treatment; Education; Employment and Economic 175.6
- Development; Explore Minnesota Tourism; Management and Budget; Health; Human 175.7
- 175.8 Rights; Human Services; Labor and Industry; Natural Resources; Public Safety; Revenue;
- Transportation; and Veterans Affairs; the Housing Finance and Pollution Control Agencies; 175.9
- the State Lottery; the State Board of Investment; the Office of Administrative Hearings; the 175.10
- Department of Information Technology Services; the Offices of the Attorney General, 175.11
- Secretary of State, and State Auditor; the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities; the
- Minnesota Office of Higher Education; the Perpich Center for Arts Education; and the 175.13
- Minnesota Zoological Board; and the Office of Emergency Medical Services. 175.14
- A position designated by an appointing authority according to this subdivision must 175.15 meet the following standards and criteria: 175.16
- (1) the designation of the position would not be contrary to other law relating specifically 175.17 to that agency; 175.18
- (2) the person occupying the position would report directly to the agency head or deputy 175.19 agency head and would be designated as part of the agency head's management team; 175.20
- (3) the duties of the position would involve significant discretion and substantial 175.21 involvement in the development, interpretation, and implementation of agency policy; 175.22
- 175.23 (4) the duties of the position would not require primarily personnel, accounting, or other technical expertise where continuity in the position would be important; 175.24
- 175.25 (5) there would be a need for the person occupying the position to be accountable to, loyal to, and compatible with, the governor and the agency head, the employing statutory 175.26 board or commission, or the employing constitutional officer; 175.27
- (6) the position would be at the level of division or bureau director or assistant to the 175.28 agency head; and 175.29
- (7) the commissioner has approved the designation as being consistent with the standards 175.30 and criteria in this subdivision. 175.31
- **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2025. 175.32

175.3

175.4

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 62J.49, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. **Establishment.** The <u>director of the Office of Emergency Medical Services Regulatory Board</u> established under chapter 144 144E shall establish a financial data collection system for all ambulance services licensed in this state. To establish the financial database, the <u>Emergency Medical Services Regulatory Board director</u> may contract with an entity that has experience in ambulance service financial data collection.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.

- Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144E.001, subdivision 3a, is amended to read:
- Subd. 3a. **Ambulance service personnel.** "Ambulance service personnel" means individuals who are authorized by a licensed ambulance service to provide emergency care for the ambulance service and are:
- 176.12 (1) EMTs, AEMTs, or paramedics;

176.2

176.3

176.4

176.5

176.6

- (2) Minnesota registered nurses who are: (i) EMTs, are currently practicing nursing, and have passed a paramedic practical skills test, as approved by the board and administered by an educational program approved by the board been approved by the ambulance service medical director; (ii) on the roster of an ambulance service on or before January 1, 2000; or (iii) after petitioning the board, deemed by the board to have training and skills equivalent to an EMT, as determined on a case-by-case basis; or (iv) certified as a certified flight registered nurse or certified emergency nurse; or
- (3) Minnesota licensed physician assistants who are: (i) EMTs, are currently practicing as physician assistants, and have passed a paramedic practical skills test, as approved by the board and administered by an educational program approved by the board been approved by the ambulance service medical director; (ii) on the roster of an ambulance service on or before January 1, 2000; or (iii) after petitioning the board, deemed by the board to have training and skills equivalent to an EMT, as determined on a case-by-case basis.
- Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144E.001, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
- Subd. 16. <u>Director.</u> "Director" means the director of the Office of Emergency Medical

 Services.
- 176.30 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2025.

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144E.001, is amended by adding a subdivision 177.1 177.2 to read: Subd. 17. Office. "Office" means the Office of Emergency Medical Services. 177.3 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2025. 177.4 Sec. 7. [144E.011] OFFICE OF EMERGENCY MEDICAL SERVICES. 177.5 Subdivision 1. Establishment. The Office of Emergency Medical Services is established 177.6 with the powers and duties established in law. In administering this chapter, the office must 177.7 promote the public health and welfare, protect the safety of the public, and effectively 177.8 regulate and support the operation of the emergency medical services system in this state. 177.9 Subd. 2. **Director.** The governor must appoint a director for the office with the advice 177.10 and consent of the senate. The director must be in the unclassified service and must serve 177.11 at the pleasure of the governor. The salary of the director shall be determined according to 177.12 177.13 section 15A.0815. The director shall direct the activities of the office. Subd. 3. **Powers and duties.** The director has the following powers and duties: 177.14 177.15 (1) to administer and enforce this chapter and adopt rules as needed to implement this chapter. Rules for which notice is published in the State Register before July 1, 2026, may 177.16 be adopted using the expedited rulemaking process in section 14.389; 177.17 (2) to license ambulance services in the state and regulate their operation; 177.18 177.19 (3) to establish and modify primary service areas; (4) to designate an ambulance service as authorized to provide service in a primary 177.20 service area and to remove an ambulance service's authorization to provide service in a 177.21 primary service area; 177.22 177.23 (5) to register medical response units in the state and regulate their operation; (6) to certify emergency medical technicians, advanced emergency medical technicians, 177.24 community emergency medical technicians, paramedics, and community paramedics and 177.25 to register emergency medical responders; 177.26 (7) to approve education programs for ambulance service personnel and emergency 177.27 medical responders and to administer qualifications for instructors of education programs; 177.28 (8) to administer grant programs related to emergency medical services; 177.29 (9) to report to the legislature, by February 15 each year, on the work of the office and 177.30 the advisory councils in the previous calendar year and with recommendations for any

178.1	needed policy changes related to emergency medical services, including but not limited to
178.2	improving access to emergency medical services, improving service delivery by ambulance
178.3	services and medical response units, and improving the effectiveness of the state's emergency
178.4	medical services system. The director must develop the reports and recommendations in
178.5	consultation with the office's deputy directors and advisory councils;
178.6	(10) to investigate complaints against and hold hearings regarding ambulance services,
178.7	ambulance service personnel, and emergency medical responders and to impose disciplinary
178.8	action or otherwise resolve complaints; and
178.9	(11) to perform other duties related to the provision of emergency medical services in
178.10	the state.
178.11	Subd. 4. Employees. The director may employ personnel in the classified service and
178.12	unclassified personnel as necessary to carry out the duties of this chapter.
178.13	Subd. 5. Work plan. The director must prepare a work plan to guide the work of the
178.14	office. The work plan must be updated biennially.
178.15	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.
178.16	Sec. 8. [144E.015] MEDICAL SERVICES DIVISION.
178.17	A Medical Services Division is created in the Office of Emergency Medical Services.
178.18	The Medical Services Division shall be under the supervision of a deputy director of medical
178.19	services appointed by the director. The deputy director, under the direction of the director,
178.20	shall enforce and coordinate the laws, rules, and policies assigned by the director, which
178.21	may include overseeing the clinical aspects of prehospital medical care and education
178.22	programs for emergency medical service personnel.
178.23	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.
178.24	Sec. 9. [144E.016] AMBULANCE SERVICES DIVISION.
178.25	An Ambulance Services Division is created in the Office of Emergency Medical Services.
178.26	The Ambulance Services Division shall be under the supervision of a deputy director of
178.27	ambulance services appointed by the director. The deputy director, under the direction of
178.28	the director, shall enforce and coordinate the laws, rules, and policies assigned by the director,
178.29	which may include operating standards and licensing of ambulance services; registration

and operation of medical response units; establishment and modification of primary service

areas; authorization of ambulance services to provide service in a primary service area and

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

revocation of such authorization; coordination of ambulance services within regions and 179.1 across the state; and administration of grants. 179.2

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.

179.3

179.5

179.6

179.7

179.8

179.9

Sec. 10. [144E.017] EMERGENCY MEDICAL SERVICE PROVIDERS DIVISION. 179.4

- An Emergency Medical Service Providers Division is created in the Office of Emergency Medical Services. The Emergency Medical Service Providers Division shall be under the supervision of a deputy director of emergency medical service providers appointed by the director. The deputy director, under the direction of the director, shall enforce and coordinate the laws, rules, and policies assigned by the director, which may include certification and registration of individual emergency medical service providers; overseeing worker safety, worker well-being, and working conditions; implementation of education programs; and 179.11 administration of grants. 179.12
- **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2025. 179.13

Sec. 11. [144E.03] EMERGENCY MEDICAL SERVICES ADVISORY COUNCIL. 179.14

- Subdivision 1. **Establishment; membership.** The Emergency Medical Services Advisory 179.15
- Council is established and consists of the following members: 179.16
- 179.17 (1) one emergency medical technician currently practicing with a licensed ambulance service, appointed by the Minnesota Ambulance Association; 179.18
- (2) one paramedic currently practicing with a licensed ambulance service or a medical 179.19 response unit, appointed jointly by the Minnesota Professional Fire Fighters Association 179.20 and the Minnesota Ambulance Association; 179.21
- (3) one medical director of a licensed ambulance service, appointed by the National 179.22 Association of EMS Physicians, Minnesota Chapter; 179.23
- (4) one firefighter currently serving as an emergency medical responder, appointed by 179.24 the Minnesota State Fire Chiefs Association; 179.25
- (5) one registered nurse who is certified or currently practicing as a flight nurse, appointed 179.26 jointly by the regional emergency services boards of the designated regional emergency 179.27 medical services systems; 179.28
- (6) one hospital administrator, appointed by the Minnesota Hospital Association; 179.29
- (7) one social worker, appointed by the Board of Social Work; 179.30

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

180.1	(8) one member of a federally recognized Tribal Nation in Minnesota, appointed by the
180.2	Minnesota Indian Affairs Council;
180.3	(9) three public members, appointed by the governor;
180.4	(10) one member with experience working as an employee organization representative
180.5	representing emergency medical service providers, appointed by an employee organization
180.6	representing emergency medical service providers;
180.7	(11) one member representing a local government, appointed by the Coalition of Greater
180.8	Minnesota Cities;
180.9	(12) one member representing a local government in the seven-county metropolitan area,
180.10	appointed by the League of Minnesota Cities;
180.11	(13) one member of the house of representatives and one member of the senate, appointed
180.12	according to subdivision 2; and
180.13	(14) the commissioner of health and commissioner of public safety or their designees
180.14	as ex officio members.
180.15	Subd. 2. Legislative members. The speaker of the house must appoint one member of
180.16	the house of representatives to serve on the advisory council and the senate majority leader
180.17	must appoint one member of the senate to serve on the advisory council. Legislative members
180.18	appointed under this subdivision serve until successors are appointed. Legislative members
180.19	may receive per diem compensation and reimbursement for expenses according to the rules
180.20	of their respective bodies.
180.21	Subd. 3. Terms, compensation, removal, vacancies, and expiration. Compensation
180.22	and reimbursement for expenses for members appointed under subdivision 1, clauses (1)
180.23	to (12); removal of members; filling of vacancies of members; and, except for initial
180.24	appointments, membership terms are governed by section 15.059. Notwithstanding section
180.25	15.059, subdivision 6, the advisory council does not expire.
180.26	Subd. 4. Officers; meetings. (a) The advisory council must elect a chair and vice-chair
180.27	from among its membership and may elect other officers as the advisory council deems
180.28	necessary.
180.29	(b) The advisory council must meet quarterly or at the call of the chair.
180.30	(c) Meetings of the advisory council are subject to chapter 13D.
180.31	Subd. 5. Duties. The advisory council must review and make recommendations to the
180 32	director and the deputy director of ambulance services on the administration of this chanter:

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2
04/10/24 00.07 pm	COUNDLL		DCDT0///1-2

the regulation of ambulance services and medical response units; the operation of the 181.1 emergency medical services system in the state; and other topics as directed by the director. 181.2 181.3 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2025. Sec. 12. [144E.035] EMERGENCY MEDICAL SERVICES PHYSICIAN ADVISORY 181.4 COUNCIL. 181.5 Subdivision 1. Establishment; membership. The Emergency Medical Services Physician 181.6 Advisory Council is established and consists of the following members: 181.7 (1) eight physicians who meet the qualifications for medical directors in section 144E.265, 181.8 subdivision 1, with one physician appointed by each of the regional emergency services 181.9 boards of the designated regional emergency medical services systems; 181.10 (2) one physician who meets the qualifications for medical directors in section 144E.265, 181.11 subdivision 1, appointed by the Minnesota State Fire Chiefs Association; 181.12 (3) one physician who is board-certified in pediatrics, appointed by the Minnesota 181.13 Emergency Medical Services for Children program; and 181.14 181.15 (4) the medical director member of the Emergency Medical Services Advisory Council appointed under section 144E.03, subdivision 1, clause (3). 181.16 181.17 Subd. 2. Terms, compensation, removal, vacancies, and expiration. Compensation and reimbursement for expenses, removal of members, filling of vacancies of members, 181.18 and, except for initial appointments, membership terms are governed by section 15.059. 181.19 Notwithstanding section 15.059, subdivision 6, the advisory council shall not expire. 181.20 Subd. 3. Officers; meetings. (a) The advisory council must elect a chair and vice-chair 181.21 from among its membership and may elect other officers as it deems necessary. 181.22 (b) The advisory council must meet twice per year or upon the call of the chair. 181.23 (c) Meetings of the advisory council are subject to chapter 13D. 181.24 Subd. 4. **Duties.** The advisory council must: 181.25 (1) review and make recommendations to the director and deputy director of medical 181.26 services on clinical aspects of prehospital medical care. In doing so, the advisory council 181.27 must incorporate information from medical literature, advances in bedside clinical practice, 181.28 and advisory council member experience; and 181.29

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

(2) serve as subject matter experts for the director and deputy director of medical services 182.1 on evolving topics in clinical medicine, including but not limited to infectious disease, 182.2 182.3 pharmaceutical and equipment shortages, and implementation of new therapeutics. **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2025. 182.4 Sec. 13. [144E.04] LABOR AND EMERGENCY MEDICAL SERVICE PROVIDERS 182.5 ADVISORY COUNCIL. 182.6 Subdivision 1. Establishment; membership. The Labor and Emergency Medical Service 182.7 Providers Advisory Council is established and consists of the following members: 182.8 182.9 (1) one emergency medical service provider of any type from each of the designated regional emergency medical services systems, appointed by their respective regional 182.10 emergency services boards; 182.11 (2) one emergency medical technician instructor, appointed by an employee organization 182.12 182.13 representing emergency medical service providers; (3) two members with experience working as an employee organization representative 182.14 representing emergency medical service providers, appointed by an employee organization 182.15 representing emergency medical service providers; 182.16 (4) one emergency medical service provider based in a fire department, appointed jointly 182.17 by the Minnesota State Fire Chiefs Association and the Minnesota Professional Fire Fighters 182.18 182.19 Association; and (5) one emergency medical service provider not based in a fire department, appointed 182.20 by the League of Minnesota Cities. 182.21 Subd. 2. Terms, compensation, removal, vacancies, and expiration. Compensation 182.22 and reimbursement for expenses for members appointed under subdivision 1; removal of 182.23 182.24 members; filling of vacancies of members; and, except for initial appointments, membership terms are governed by section 15.059. Notwithstanding section 15.059, subdivision 6, the 182.25 Labor and Emergency Medical Service Providers Advisory Council does not expire. 182.26 Subd. 3. Officers; meetings. (a) The Labor and Emergency Medical Service Providers 182.27 Advisory Council must elect a chair and vice-chair from among its membership and may 182.28 elect other officers as the advisory council deems necessary. 182.29 182.30 (b) The Labor and Emergency Medical Service Providers Advisory Council must meet quarterly or at the call of the chair. 182.31

(c) Meetings of the Labor and Emergency Medical Service Providers Advisory Council 183.1 are subject to chapter 13D. 183.2

- Subd. 4. Duties. The Labor and Emergency Medical Service Providers Advisory Council must review and make recommendations to the director and deputy director of emergency medical service providers on the laws, rules, and policies assigned to the Emergency Medical Service Providers Division and other topics as directed by the director.
- **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2025.
- Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 144E.101, subdivision 6, is amended 183.8 to read: 183.9
- Subd. 6. Basic life support. (a) Except as provided in paragraph (f) or subdivision 6a, 183.10 a basic life-support ambulance shall be staffed by at least two EMTs, one of whom individuals 183.11 who meet one of the following requirements: (1) are certified as an EMT; (2) are a Minnesota 183.12 registered nurse who meets the qualification requirements in section 144E.001, subdivision 183.13 3a, clause (2); or (3) are a Minnesota licensed physician assistant who meets the qualification requirements in section 144E.001, subdivision 3a, clause (3). One of the individuals staffing 183.15 a basic life-support ambulance must accompany the patient and provide a level of care so 183.16
- as to ensure that: 183.17

183.3

183.4

183.5

183.6

- 183.18 (1) (i) life-threatening situations and potentially serious injuries are recognized;
- (2) (ii) patients are protected from additional hazards; 183.19
- (3) (iii) basic treatment to reduce the seriousness of emergency situations is administered; 183.20 183.21 and
- (4) (iv) patients are transported to an appropriate medical facility for treatment. 183.22
- (b) A basic life-support service shall provide basic airway management. 183.23
- (c) A basic life-support service shall provide automatic defibrillation. 183.24
- (d) A basic life-support service shall administer opiate antagonists consistent with 183.25 protocols established by the service's medical director. 183.26
- (e) A basic life-support service licensee's medical director may authorize ambulance 183.27 183.28 service personnel to perform intravenous infusion and use equipment that is within the licensure level of the ambulance service. Ambulance service personnel must be properly 183.29 trained. Documentation of authorization for use, guidelines for use, continuing education, 183.30 and skill verification must be maintained in the licensee's files. 183.31

04/16/24 06:07 pm

184.1	(1) For emergency amoutance cans and interfacility transfers, an amoutance service may
184.2	staff its basic life-support ambulances with one EMT individual who meets the qualification
184.3	requirements in paragraph (a), who must accompany the patient, and one registered
184.4	emergency medical responder driver. For purposes of this paragraph, "ambulance service"
184.5	means either an ambulance service whose primary service area is mainly located outside
184.6	the metropolitan counties listed in section 473.121, subdivision 4, and outside the cities of
184.7	Duluth, Mankato, Moorhead, Roehester, and St. Cloud; or an ambulance service based in
184.8	a community with a population of less than 2,500.
184.9	(g) In order for a registered nurse to staff a basic life-support ambulance as a driver, the
184.10	registered nurse must have successfully completed a certified emergency vehicle operators
184.11	program.
184.12	Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144E.101, is amended by adding a subdivision
184.13	to read:
184.14	Subd. 6a. Variance; staffing of basic life-support ambulance. (a) Upon application
184.15	from an ambulance service that includes evidence demonstrating hardship, the board may
184.16	grant a variance from the staff requirements in subdivision 6, paragraph (a), and may
184.17	authorize a basic life-support ambulance to be staffed, for all emergency calls and interfacility
184.18	transfers, with one individual who meets the qualification requirements in paragraph (b) to
184.19	drive the ambulance and one individual who meets the qualification requirements in
184.20	subdivision 6, paragraph (a), and who must accompany the patient. The variance shall apply
184.21	to basic life-support ambulances until the ambulance service renews its license. When the
184.22	variance expires, the ambulance service may apply for a new variance under this subdivision.
184.23	(b) In order to drive an ambulance under a variance granted under this subdivision, an
184.24	individual must:
184.25	(1) hold a valid driver's license from any state;
184.26	(2) have attended an emergency vehicle driving course approved by the ambulance
184.27	service;
184.28	(3) have completed a course on cardiopulmonary resuscitation approved by the ambulance
184.29	service; and
184.30	(4) register with the board according to a process established by the board.
184.31	(c) If an individual serving as a driver under this subdivision commits or has a record
184.32	of committing an act listed in section 144E.27, subdivision 5, paragraph (a), the board may
184.33	temporarily suspend or prohibit the individual from driving an ambulance or place conditions

on the individual's ability to drive an ambulance using the procedures and authority in section 144E.27, subdivisions 5 and 6.

- Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 144E.101, subdivision 7, is amended to read:
- Subd. 7. **Advanced life support.** (a) Except as provided in paragraphs (f) and (g), an advanced life-support ambulance shall be staffed by at least:
- 185.7 (1) one EMT or one AEMT and one paramedic;
- (2) one EMT or one AEMT and one registered nurse who: (i) is an EMT or an AEMT, is currently practicing nursing, and has passed a paramedic practical skills test approved by the board and administered by an education program has been approved by the ambulance service medical director; or (ii) is certified as a certified flight registered nurse or certified emergency nurse; or
- 185.13 (3) one EMT or one AEMT and one physician assistant who is an EMT or an AEMT,
 185.14 is currently practicing as a physician assistant, and has passed a paramedic practical skills
 185.15 test approved by the board and administered by an education program has been approved
 185.16 by the ambulance service medical director.
- (b) An advanced life-support service shall provide basic life support, as specified under subdivision 6, paragraph (a), advanced airway management, manual defibrillation, administration of intravenous fluids and pharmaceuticals, and administration of opiate antagonists.
- (c) In addition to providing advanced life support, an advanced life-support service may staff additional ambulances to provide basic life support according to subdivision 6 and section 144E.103, subdivision 1.
- (d) An ambulance service providing advanced life support shall have a written agreement with its medical director to ensure medical control for patient care 24 hours a day, seven days a week. The terms of the agreement shall include a written policy on the administration of medical control for the service. The policy shall address the following issues:
- (1) two-way communication for physician direction of ambulance service personnel;
- 185.29 (2) patient triage, treatment, and transport;
- 185.30 (3) use of standing orders; and
- (4) the means by which medical control will be provided 24 hours a day.

The agreement shall be signed by the licensee's medical director and the licensee or the licensee's designee and maintained in the files of the licensee.

- (e) When an ambulance service provides advanced life support, the authority of a paramedic, Minnesota registered nurse-EMT, or Minnesota registered physician assistant-EMT to determine the delivery of patient care prevails over the authority of an EMT.
- (f) Upon application from an ambulance service that includes evidence demonstrating hardship, the board may grant a variance from the staff requirements in paragraph (a), clause (1), and may authorize an advanced life-support ambulance to be staffed by a registered emergency medical responder driver with a paramedic for all emergency calls and interfacility transfers. The variance shall apply to advanced life-support ambulance services until the ambulance service renews its license. When the variance expires, an ambulance service may apply for a new variance under this paragraph. This paragraph applies only to an ambulance service whose primary service area is mainly located outside the metropolitan counties listed in section 473.121, subdivision 4, and outside the cities of Duluth, Mankato, Moorhead, Rochester, and St. Cloud, or an ambulance based in a community with a population of less than 1,000 persons.
- (g) After an initial emergency ambulance call, each subsequent emergency ambulance response, until the initial ambulance is again available, and interfacility transfers, may be staffed by one registered emergency medical responder driver and an EMT or paramedic. This paragraph applies only to an ambulance service whose primary service area is mainly located outside the metropolitan counties listed in section 473.121, subdivision 4, and outside the cities of Duluth, Mankato, Moorhead, Rochester, and St. Cloud, or an ambulance based in a community with a population of less than 1,000 persons.
- (h) In order for a registered nurse to staff an advanced life-support ambulance as a driver, the registered nurse must have successfully completed a certified emergency vehicle operators program.

Sec. 17. [144E.105] ALTERNATIVE EMS RESPONSE MODEL PILOT PROGRAM.

- Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have the meanings given.
- (b) "Partnering ambulance services" means the basic life support ambulance service and
 the advanced life support ambulance service that partner to jointly respond to emergency
 ambulance calls under the pilot program.

186.1

186.2

186.3

186.4

186.5

186.6

186.7

186.8

186.9

186.10

186.11

186 12

186.13

186.14

186.15

186.16

186.17

186.18

186.19

186.20

186.21

186.22

186.23

186.24

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2
0 1/10/2 1 00:07 PIII	CCCTUBEE	1 11112/1 111/1	50510771

18/.1	(c) Phot program means the alternative EMS response model phot program established
187.2	under this section.
187.3	Subd. 2. Pilot program established. The board must establish and administer an
187.4	alternative EMS response model pilot program. Under the pilot program, the board may
187.5	authorize basic life support ambulance services to partner with advanced life support
187.6	ambulance services to provide expanded advanced life support service intercept capability
187.7	and staffing support for emergency ambulance calls.
187.8	Subd. 3. Application. A basic life support ambulance service that wishes to participate
187.9	in the pilot program must apply to the board. An application from a basic life support
187.10	ambulance service must be submitted jointly with the advanced life support ambulance
187.11	service with which the basic life support ambulance service proposes to partner. The
187.12	application must identify the ambulance services applying to be partnering ambulance
187.13	services and must include:
187.14	(1) approval to participate in the pilot program from the medical directors of the proposed
187.15	partnering ambulance services;
187.16	(2) procedures the basic life support ambulance service will implement to respond to
187.17	emergency ambulance calls when the basic life support ambulance service is unable to meet
187.18	the minimum staffing requirements under section 144E.101, subdivision 6, and the partnering
187.19	advanced life support ambulance service is unavailable to jointly respond to emergency
187.20	ambulance calls;
187.21	(3) an agreement between the proposed partnering ambulance services specifying which
187.22	ambulance service is responsible for:
187.23	(i) workers' compensation insurance;
187.24	(ii) motor vehicle insurance; and
187.25	(iii) billing, identifying which if any ambulance service will bill the patient or the patient's
187.26	insurer and specifying how payments received will be distributed among the proposed
187.27	partnering ambulance services;
187.28	(4) communication procedures to coordinate and make known the real-time availability
187.29	of the advanced life support ambulance service to its proposed partnering basic life support
187.30	ambulance services and public safety answering points;
187.31	(5) an acknowledgment that the proposed partnering ambulance services must coordinate
187.32	compliance with the prehospital care data requirements in section 144E.123; and

04/16/24 06:07 pm

88.1	(6) an acknowledgment that the proposed partnering amounance services remain
88.2	responsible for providing continual service as required under section 144E.101, subdivision
88.3	<u>3.</u>
88.4	Subd. 4. Operation. Under the pilot program, an advanced life support ambulance
.88.5	service may partner with one or more basic life support ambulance services. Under this
88.6	partnership, the advanced life support ambulance service and basic life support ambulance
88.7	service must jointly respond to emergency ambulance calls originating in the primary service
88.8	area of the basic life support ambulance service. The advanced life support ambulance
88.9	service must respond to emergency ambulance calls with either an ambulance or a
88.10	nontransporting vehicle fully equipped with the advanced life support complement of
88.11	equipment and medications required for that nontransporting vehicle by that ambulance
88.12	service's medical director.
88.13	Subd. 5. Staffing. (a) When responding to an emergency ambulance call and when an
88.14	ambulance or nontransporting vehicle from the partnering advanced life support ambulance
88.15	service is confirmed to be available and is responding to the call:
88.16	(1) the basic life support ambulance must be staffed with a minimum of one emergency
88.17	medical technician; and
88.18	(2) the advanced life support ambulance or nontransporting vehicle must be staffed with
88.19	a minimum of one paramedic.
88.20	(b) The staffing specified in paragraph (a) is deemed to satisfy the staffing requirements
88.21	in section 144E.101, subdivisions 6 and 7.
88.22	Subd. 6. Medical director oversight. The medical director for an ambulance service
.88.23	participating in the pilot program retains responsibility for the ambulance service personnel
88.24	of their ambulance service. When a paramedic from the partnering advanced life support
88.25	ambulance service makes contact with the patient, the standing orders; clinical policies;
88.26	protocols; and triage, treatment, and transportation guidelines for the advanced life support
88.27	ambulance service must direct patient care related to the encounter.
88.28	Subd. 7. Waivers and variances. The board may issue any waivers of or variances to
88.29	this chapter or Minnesota Rules, chapter 4690, to partnering ambulance services that are
88.30	needed to implement the pilot program, provided the waiver or variance does not adversely
88.31	affect the public health or welfare.

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

Subd. 8. Data and evaluation. In administering the pilot program, the board shall collect 189.1 from partnering ambulance services data needed to evaluate the impacts of the pilot program 189.2 on response times, patient outcomes, and patient experience for emergency ambulance calls. 189.3 Subd. 9. Transfer of authority. Effective January 1, 2025, the duties and authority 189.4 assigned to the board in this section are transferred to the director. 189.5 Subd. 10. **Expiration.** This section expires June 30, 2026. 189.6 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2024. 189.7 Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144E.16, subdivision 5, is amended to read: 189.8 Subd. 5. Local government's powers. (a) Local units of government may, with the 189.9 approval of the board director, establish standards for ambulance services which impose 189.10 additional requirements upon such services. Local units of government intending to impose additional requirements shall consider whether any benefit accruing to the public health 189.12 189.13 would outweigh the costs associated with the additional requirements. (b) Local units of government that desire to impose additional requirements shall, prior 189.14 189.15 to adoption of relevant ordinances, rules, or regulations, furnish the board director with a copy of the proposed ordinances, rules, or regulations, along with information that 189.16 affirmatively substantiates that the proposed ordinances, rules, or regulations: 189.17 (1) will in no way conflict with the relevant rules of the board office; 189.18 (2) will establish additional requirements tending to protect the public health; 189.19 (3) will not diminish public access to ambulance services of acceptable quality; and 189.20 (4) will not interfere with the orderly development of regional systems of emergency 189.21 medical care. 189.22 (c) The board director shall base any decision to approve or disapprove local standards 189.23 upon whether or not the local unit of government in question has affirmatively substantiated 189.24 that the proposed ordinances, rules, or regulations meet the criteria specified in paragraph 189.25 (b). 189.26 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2025. 189.27 Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144E.19, subdivision 3, is amended to read: 189.28 Subd. 3. **Temporary suspension.** (a) In addition to any other remedy provided by law, 189.29 the board director may temporarily suspend the license of a licensee after conducting a 189.30

preliminary inquiry to determine whether the board director believes that the licensee has violated a statute or rule that the board director is empowered to enforce and determining that the continued provision of service by the licensee would create an imminent risk to public health or harm to others.

- (b) A temporary suspension order prohibiting a licensee from providing ambulance service shall give notice of the right to a preliminary hearing according to paragraph (d) and shall state the reasons for the entry of the temporary suspension order.
- (c) Service of a temporary suspension order is effective when the order is served on the licensee personally or by certified mail, which is complete upon receipt, refusal, or return for nondelivery to the most recent address provided to the board director for the licensee.
- (d) At the time the board director issues a temporary suspension order, the board director shall schedule a hearing, to be held before a group of its members designated by the board, that shall begin within 60 days after issuance of the temporary suspension order or within 15 working days of the date of the board's director's receipt of a request for a hearing from a licensee, whichever is sooner. The hearing shall be on the sole issue of whether there is a reasonable basis to continue, modify, or lift the temporary suspension. A hearing under this paragraph is not subject to chapter 14.
- (e) Evidence presented by the <u>board director</u> or licensee may be in the form of an affidavit.

 The licensee or the licensee's designee may appear for oral argument.
- (f) Within five working days of the hearing, the <u>board director</u> shall issue its order and, if the suspension is continued, notify the licensee of the right to a contested case hearing under chapter 14.
- (g) If a licensee requests a contested case hearing within 30 days after receiving notice under paragraph (f), the board director shall initiate a contested case hearing according to chapter 14. The administrative law judge shall issue a report and recommendation within 30 days after the closing of the contested case hearing record. The board director shall issue a final order within 30 days after receipt of the administrative law judge's report.

190.28 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2025.

- Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144E.27, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
- Subd. 3. **Renewal.** (a) The board may renew the registration of an emergency medical responder who:
- 190.32 (1) successfully completes a board-approved refresher course; and

190.1

190.2

190.3

190.4

190.5

190.6

190.7

190.8

190.9

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

191.1	(2) successfully completes a course in cardiopulmonary resuscitation approved by the
191.2	board or by the licensee's medical director. This course may be a component of a
191.3	board-approved refresher course; and
191.4	(2) (3) submits a completed renewal application to the board before the registration
191.5	expiration date.
191.6	(b) The board may renew the lapsed registration of an emergency medical responder
191.7	who:
191.8	(1) successfully completes a board-approved refresher course; and
191.9	(2) successfully completes a course in cardiopulmonary resuscitation approved by the
191.10	board or by the licensee's medical director. This course may be a component of a
191.11	board-approved refresher course; and
191.12	(2) (3) submits a completed renewal application to the board within 12 48 months after
191.13	the registration expiration date.
191.14	Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144E.27, subdivision 5, is amended to read:
191.15	Subd. 5. Denial, suspension, revocation; emergency medical responders and
191.16	drivers. (a) This subdivision applies to individuals seeking registration or registered as an
191.17	emergency medical responder and to individuals seeking registration or registered as a driver
191.18	of a basic life-support ambulance under section 144E.101, subdivision 6a. The board may
191.19	deny, suspend, revoke, place conditions on, or refuse to renew the registration of an individual
191.20	who the board determines:
191.21	(1) violates sections 144E.001 to 144E.33 or the rules adopted under those sections, an
191.22	agreement for corrective action, or an order that the board issued or is otherwise empowered
191.23	to enforce;
191.24	(2) misrepresents or falsifies information on an application form for registration;
191.25	(3) is convicted or pleads guilty or nolo contendere to any felony; any gross misdemeanor
191.26	relating to assault, sexual misconduct, theft, or the illegal use of drugs or alcohol; or any
191.27	misdemeanor relating to assault, sexual misconduct, theft, or the illegal use of drugs or
191.28	alcohol;
191.29	(4) is actually or potentially unable to provide emergency medical services or drive an
191.30	ambulance with reasonable skill and safety to patients by reason of illness, use of alcohol,
191.31	drugs, chemicals, or any other material, or as a result of any mental or physical condition;

(5) engages in unethical conduct, including, but not limited to, conduct likely to deceive, defraud, or harm the public, or demonstrating a willful or careless disregard for the health, welfare, or safety of the public;

(6) maltreats or abandons a patient;

192.1

192.2

192.3

- 192.5 (7) violates any state or federal controlled substance law;
- 192.6 (8) engages in unprofessional conduct or any other conduct which has the potential for causing harm to the public, including any departure from or failure to conform to the minimum standards of acceptable and prevailing practice without actual injury having to be established:
- 192.10 (9) <u>for emergency medical responders, provides emergency medical services under</u> 192.11 lapsed or nonrenewed credentials;
- 192.12 (10) is subject to a denial, corrective, disciplinary, or other similar action in another 192.13 jurisdiction or by another regulatory authority;
- 192.14 (11) engages in conduct with a patient that is sexual or may reasonably be interpreted 192.15 by the patient as sexual, or in any verbal behavior that is seductive or sexually demeaning 192.16 to a patient; or
- 192.17 (12) makes a false statement or knowingly provides false information to the board, or 192.18 fails to cooperate with an investigation of the board as required by section 144E.30.
- (b) Before taking action under paragraph (a), the board shall give notice to an individual of the right to a contested case hearing under chapter 14. If an individual requests a contested case hearing within 30 days after receiving notice, the board shall initiate a contested case hearing according to chapter 14.
- (c) The administrative law judge shall issue a report and recommendation within 30 days after closing the contested case hearing record. The board shall issue a final order within 30 days after receipt of the administrative law judge's report.
- (d) After six months from the board's decision to deny, revoke, place conditions on, or refuse renewal of an individual's registration for disciplinary action, the individual shall have the opportunity to apply to the board for reinstatement.
- 192.29 Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144E.27, subdivision 5, is amended to read:
- Subd. 5. **Denial, suspension, revocation.** (a) The board director may deny, suspend, revoke, place conditions on, or refuse to renew the registration of an individual who the board director determines:

(1) violates sections 144E.001 to 144E.33 or the rules adopted under those sections, an agreement for corrective action, or an order that the <u>board director</u> issued or is otherwise empowered to enforce;

- (2) misrepresents or falsifies information on an application form for registration;
- (3) is convicted or pleads guilty or nolo contendere to any felony; any gross misdemeanor relating to assault, sexual misconduct, theft, or the illegal use of drugs or alcohol; or any misdemeanor relating to assault, sexual misconduct, theft, or the illegal use of drugs or alcohol;
- 193.9 (4) is actually or potentially unable to provide emergency medical services with 193.10 reasonable skill and safety to patients by reason of illness, use of alcohol, drugs, chemicals, 193.11 or any other material, or as a result of any mental or physical condition;
- (5) engages in unethical conduct, including, but not limited to, conduct likely to deceive, defraud, or harm the public, or demonstrating a willful or careless disregard for the health, welfare, or safety of the public;
- 193.15 (6) maltreats or abandons a patient;

193.1

193.2

193.3

193.4

193.5

193.6

193.7

- 193.16 (7) violates any state or federal controlled substance law;
- 193.17 (8) engages in unprofessional conduct or any other conduct which has the potential for 193.18 causing harm to the public, including any departure from or failure to conform to the 193.19 minimum standards of acceptable and prevailing practice without actual injury having to 193.20 be established;
- 193.21 (9) provides emergency medical services under lapsed or nonrenewed credentials;
- 193.22 (10) is subject to a denial, corrective, disciplinary, or other similar action in another 193.23 jurisdiction or by another regulatory authority;
- 193.24 (11) engages in conduct with a patient that is sexual or may reasonably be interpreted 193.25 by the patient as sexual, or in any verbal behavior that is seductive or sexually demeaning 193.26 to a patient; or
- 193.27 (12) makes a false statement or knowingly provides false information to the board director, or fails to cooperate with an investigation of the board director as required by section 144E.30-; or
- 193.30 (13) fails to engage with the health professionals services program or diversion program
 193.31 required under section 144E.287 after being referred to the program, violates the terms of

the program participation agreement, or leaves the program except upon fulfilling the terms for successful completion of the program as set forth in the participation agreement.

- (b) Before taking action under paragraph (a), the <u>board director</u> shall give notice to an individual of the right to a contested case hearing under chapter 14. If an individual requests a contested case hearing within 30 days after receiving notice, the <u>board director</u> shall initiate a contested case hearing according to chapter 14.
- (c) The administrative law judge shall issue a report and recommendation within 30 days after closing the contested case hearing record. The board director shall issue a final order within 30 days after receipt of the administrative law judge's report.
- (d) After six months from the board's director's decision to deny, revoke, place conditions on, or refuse renewal of an individual's registration for disciplinary action, the individual shall have the opportunity to apply to the board director for reinstatement.
 - **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2025.
- Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144E.27, subdivision 6, is amended to read:
- 194.15 Subd. 6. Temporary suspension; emergency medical responders and drivers. (a) This subdivision applies to emergency medical responders registered under this section and 194.16 to individuals registered as drivers of basic life-support ambulances under section 144E.101, 194.17 subdivision 6a. In addition to any other remedy provided by law, the board may temporarily 194.18 suspend the registration of an individual after conducting a preliminary inquiry to determine 194.19 whether the board believes that the individual has violated a statute or rule that the board 194.20 is empowered to enforce and determining that the continued provision of service by the 194.21 individual would create an imminent risk to public health or harm to others. 194.22
 - (b) A temporary suspension order prohibiting an individual from providing emergency medical care <u>or from driving a basic life-support ambulance</u> shall give notice of the right to a preliminary hearing according to paragraph (d) and shall state the reasons for the entry of the temporary suspension order.
 - (c) Service of a temporary suspension order is effective when the order is served on the individual personally or by certified mail, which is complete upon receipt, refusal, or return for nondelivery to the most recent address provided to the board for the individual.
- (d) At the time the board issues a temporary suspension order, the board shall schedule a hearing, to be held before a group of its members designated by the board, that shall begin within 60 days after issuance of the temporary suspension order or within 15 working days of the date of the board's receipt of a request for a hearing from the individual, whichever

194.1

194.2

194.3

194.4

194.5

194.6

194.7

194.8

194.9

194.10

194.11

194.12

194.13

194.23

194.24

194.25

194.26

194.27

194.28

is sooner. The hearing shall be on the sole issue of whether there is a reasonable basis to continue, modify, or lift the temporary suspension. A hearing under this paragraph is not subject to chapter 14.

- (e) Evidence presented by the board or the individual may be in the form of an affidavit. The individual or the individual's designee may appear for oral argument.
- (f) Within five working days of the hearing, the board shall issue its order and, if the suspension is continued, notify the individual of the right to a contested case hearing under chapter 14.
- 195.9 (g) If an individual requests a contested case hearing within 30 days after receiving
 195.10 notice under paragraph (f), the board shall initiate a contested case hearing according to
 195.11 chapter 14. The administrative law judge shall issue a report and recommendation within
 195.12 30 days after the closing of the contested case hearing record. The board shall issue a final
 195.13 order within 30 days after receipt of the administrative law judge's report.
- Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144E.28, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
- Subd. 3. **Reciprocity.** The board may certify an individual who possesses a current National Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians registration certification from another jurisdiction if the individual submits a board-approved application form. The board certification classification shall be the same as the National Registry's classification.

 Certification shall be for the duration of the applicant's registration certification period in another jurisdiction, not to exceed two years.
- Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144E.28, subdivision 5, is amended to read:
- Subd. 5. **Denial, suspension, revocation.** (a) The board director may deny certification or take any action authorized in subdivision 4 against an individual who the board director determines:
- (1) violates sections 144E.001 to 144E.33 or the rules adopted under those sections, or an order that the board director issued or is otherwise authorized or empowered to enforce, or agreement for corrective action;
- 195.28 (2) misrepresents or falsifies information on an application form for certification;
- (3) is convicted or pleads guilty or nolo contendere to any felony; any gross misdemeanor relating to assault, sexual misconduct, theft, or the illegal use of drugs or alcohol; or any misdemeanor relating to assault, sexual misconduct, theft, or the illegal use of drugs or alcohol; alcohol;

195.1

195.2

195.3

195.4

195.5

195.6

195.7

(4) is actually or potentially unable to provide emergency medical services with reasonable skill and safety to patients by reason of illness, use of alcohol, drugs, chemicals, or any other material, or as a result of any mental or physical condition;

- (5) engages in unethical conduct, including, but not limited to, conduct likely to deceive, defraud, or harm the public or demonstrating a willful or careless disregard for the health, welfare, or safety of the public;
 - (6) maltreats or abandons a patient;

196.1

196.2

196.3

196.4

196.5

196.6

- 196.8 (7) violates any state or federal controlled substance law;
- 196.9 (8) engages in unprofessional conduct or any other conduct which has the potential for causing harm to the public, including any departure from or failure to conform to the minimum standards of acceptable and prevailing practice without actual injury having to be established;
- 196.13 (9) provides emergency medical services under lapsed or nonrenewed credentials;
- 196.14 (10) is subject to a denial, corrective, disciplinary, or other similar action in another 196.15 jurisdiction or by another regulatory authority;
- 196.16 (11) engages in conduct with a patient that is sexual or may reasonably be interpreted 196.17 by the patient as sexual, or in any verbal behavior that is seductive or sexually demeaning 196.18 to a patient; or
- 196.19 (12) makes a false statement or knowingly provides false information to the board director 196.20 or fails to cooperate with an investigation of the board director as required by section 196.21 144E.30-; or
- 196.22 (13) fails to engage with the health professionals services program or diversion program
 196.23 required under section 144E.287 after being referred to the program, violates the terms of
 196.24 the program participation agreement, or leaves the program except upon fulfilling the terms
 196.25 for successful completion of the program as set forth in the participation agreement.
- (b) Before taking action under paragraph (a), the board director shall give notice to an individual of the right to a contested case hearing under chapter 14. If an individual requests a contested case hearing within 30 days after receiving notice, the board director shall initiate a contested case hearing according to chapter 14 and no disciplinary action shall be taken at that time.

(c) The administrative law judge shall issue a report and recommendation within 30 days after closing the contested case hearing record. The board director shall issue a final order within 30 days after receipt of the administrative law judge's report.

(d) After six months from the board's director's decision to deny, revoke, place conditions on, or refuse renewal of an individual's certification for disciplinary action, the individual shall have the opportunity to apply to the board director for reinstatement.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.

- Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144E.28, subdivision 6, is amended to read:
- Subd. 6. **Temporary suspension.** (a) In addition to any other remedy provided by law, the board director may temporarily suspend the certification of an individual after conducting a preliminary inquiry to determine whether the board director believes that the individual has violated a statute or rule that the board director is empowered to enforce and determining that the continued provision of service by the individual would create an imminent risk to public health or harm to others.
- (b) A temporary suspension order prohibiting an individual from providing emergency medical care shall give notice of the right to a preliminary hearing according to paragraph (d) and shall state the reasons for the entry of the temporary suspension order.
- (c) Service of a temporary suspension order is effective when the order is served on the individual personally or by certified mail, which is complete upon receipt, refusal, or return for nondelivery to the most recent address provided to the board director for the individual.
- (d) At the time the board director issues a temporary suspension order, the board director shall schedule a hearing, to be held before a group of its members designated by the board, that shall begin within 60 days after issuance of the temporary suspension order or within 15 working days of the date of the board's director's receipt of a request for a hearing from the individual, whichever is sooner. The hearing shall be on the sole issue of whether there is a reasonable basis to continue, modify, or lift the temporary suspension. A hearing under this paragraph is not subject to chapter 14.
- 197.28 (e) Evidence presented by the <u>board director</u> or the individual may be in the form of an affidavit. The individual or individual's designee may appear for oral argument.
- (f) Within five working days of the hearing, the <u>board director</u> shall issue its order and, if the suspension is continued, notify the individual of the right to a contested case hearing under chapter 14.

197.1

197.2

197.3

197.4

197.5

197.6

197.7

(g) If an individual requests a contested case hearing within 30 days of receiving notice under paragraph (f), the <u>board director</u> shall initiate a contested case hearing according to chapter 14. The administrative law judge shall issue a report and recommendation within 30 days after the closing of the contested case hearing record. The <u>board director</u> shall issue a final order within 30 days after receipt of the administrative law judge's report.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.

- Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144E.28, subdivision 8, is amended to read:
- Subd. 8. **Reinstatement.** (a) Within four years of a certification expiration date, a person whose certification has expired under subdivision 7, paragraph (d), may have the certification reinstated upon submission of:
- (1) evidence to the board of training equivalent to the continuing education requirements
 of subdivision 7 or, for community paramedics, evidence to the board of training equivalent
 to the continuing education requirements of subdivision 9, paragraph (c); and
- 198.14 (2) a board-approved application form.

198.1

198.2

198.3

198.4

198.5

- 198.15 (b) If more than four years have passed since a certificate expiration date, an applicant must complete the initial certification process required under subdivision 1.
- (c) Beginning July 1, 2024, through December 31, 2025, and notwithstanding paragraph

 (b), a person whose certification as an EMT, AEMT, paramedic, or community paramedic

 expired more than four years ago but less than ten years ago may have the certification

 reinstated upon submission of:
- (1) evidence to the board of the training required under paragraph (a), clause (1). This training must have been completed within the 24 months prior to the date of the application for reinstatement;
- 198.24 (2) a board-approved application form; and
- 198.25 (3) a recommendation from an ambulance service medical director.
- 198.26 This paragraph expires December 31, 2025.
- Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144E.285, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
- Subdivision 1. **Approval required.** (a) All education programs for an EMR, EMT,
- 198.29 AEMT, or paramedic must be approved by the board.
- (b) To be approved by the board, an education program must:

199.1	(1) submit an application prescribed by the board that includes:
199.2	(i) type and length of course to be offered;
199.3	(ii) names, addresses, and qualifications of the program medical director, program
199.4	education coordinator, and instructors;
199.5	(iii) names and addresses of clinical sites, including a contact person and telephone
199.6	number;
199.7	(iv) (iii) admission criteria for students; and
199.8	(v) (iv) materials and equipment to be used;
199.9	(2) for each course, implement the most current version of the United States Department
199.10	of Transportation EMS Education Standards, or its equivalent as determined by the board
199.11	applicable to EMR, EMT, AEMT, or paramedic education;
199.12	(3) have a program medical director and a program coordinator;
199.13	(4) utilize instructors who meet the requirements of section 144E.283 for teaching at
199.14	least 50 percent of the course content. The remaining 50 percent of the course may be taught
199.15	by guest lecturers approved by the education program coordinator or medical director;
199.16	(5) have at least one instructor for every ten students at the practical skill stations;
199.17	(6) maintain a written agreement with a licensed hospital or licensed ambulance service
199.18	designating a clinical training site;
199.19	(7) (5) retain documentation of program approval by the board, course outline, and
199.20	student information;
199.21	(8) (6) notify the board of the starting date of a course prior to the beginning of a course;
199.22	and
199.23	(9) (7) submit the appropriate fee as required under section 144E.29; and.
199.24	(10) maintain a minimum average yearly pass rate as set by the board on an annual basis.
199.25	The pass rate will be determined by the percent of candidates who pass the exam on the
199.26	first attempt. An education program not meeting this yearly standard shall be placed on
199.27	probation and shall be on a performance improvement plan approved by the board until
199.28	meeting the pass rate standard. While on probation, the education program may continue
199.29	providing classes if meeting the terms of the performance improvement plan as determined
199.30	by the board. If an education program having probation status fails to meet the pass rate

standard after two years in which an EMT initial course has been taught, the board may 200.1 take disciplinary action under subdivision 5. 200.2 Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144E.285, is amended by adding a subdivision 200.3 to read: 200.4 Subd. 1a. EMR education program requirements. The National EMS Education 200.5 Standards established by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration of the United 200.6 200.7 States Department of Transportation specify the minimum requirements for knowledge and skills for emergency medical responders. An education program applying for approval to 200.8 teach EMRs must comply with the requirements under subdivision 1, paragraph (b). A 200.9 medical director of an emergency medical responder group may establish additional 200.10 knowledge and skill requirements for EMRs. 200.11 Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144E.285, is amended by adding a subdivision 200.12 200.13 to read: Subd. 1b. **EMT education program requirements.** In addition to the requirements 200.14 under subdivision 1, paragraph (b), an education program applying for approval to teach 200.15 EMTs must: 200.16 (1) include in the application prescribed by the board, names and addresses of clinical 200.17 sites, including a contact person and telephone number; 200.18 (2) maintain a written agreement with at least one clinical training site that is of a type 200.19 recognized by the National EMS Education Standards established by the National Highway 200.20 Traffic Safety Administration; and 200.21 (3) maintain a minimum average yearly pass rate as set by the board. An education 200.22 program not meeting this standard shall be placed on probation and shall comply with a 200.23 200.24 performance improvement plan approved by the board until the program meets the pass rate standard. While on probation, the education program may continue to provide classes 200.25 if the program meets the terms of the performance improvement plan, as determined by the 200.26 board. If an education program that is on probation status fails to meet the pass rate standard 200.27 after two years in which an EMT initial course has been taught, the board may take 200.28 200.29 disciplinary action under subdivision 5.

04/16/24 06:07 pm	99A-2
-------------------	-------

201.1	Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144E.285, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
201.2	Subd. 2. AEMT and paramedic <u>education program</u> requirements. (a) In addition to
201.3	the requirements under subdivision 1, paragraph (b), an education program applying for
201.4	approval to teach AEMTs and paramedics must:
201.5	(1) be administered by an educational institution accredited by the Commission of
201.6	Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs (CAAHEP)-;
201.7	(2) include in the application prescribed by the board, names and addresses of clinical
201.8	sites, including a contact person and telephone number; and
201.9	(3) maintain a written agreement with a licensed hospital or licensed ambulance service
201.10	designating a clinical training site.
201.11	(b) An AEMT and paramedic education program that is administered by an educational
201.12	institution not accredited by CAAHEP, but that is in the process of completing the
201.13	accreditation process, may be granted provisional approval by the board upon verification
201.14	of submission of its self-study report and the appropriate review fee to CAAHEP.
201.15	(c) An educational institution that discontinues its participation in the accreditation
201.16	process must notify the board immediately and provisional approval shall be withdrawn.
201.17	(d) This subdivision does not apply to a paramedic education program when the program
201.18	is operated by an advanced life-support ambulance service licensed by the Emergency
201.19	Medical Services Regulatory Board under this chapter, and the ambulance service meets
201.20	the following criteria:
201.21	(1) covers a rural primary service area that does not contain a hospital within the primary
201.22	service area or contains a hospital within the primary service area that has been designated
201.23	as a critical access hospital under section 144.1483, clause (9);
201.24	(2) has tax-exempt status in accordance with the Internal Revenue Code, section
201.25	501(c)(3);
201.26	(3) received approval before 1991 from the commissioner of health to operate a paramedic
201.27	education program;
201.28	(4) operates an AEMT and paramedic education program exclusively to train paramedics
201.29	for the local ambulance service; and
201.30	(5) limits enrollment in the AEMT and paramedic program to five candidates per
201.31	biennium.

04/16/24 06:07 pm **COUNSEL** AHL/NH/TG SCS4699A-2 Sec. 32. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144E.285, subdivision 4, is amended to read: 202.1 Subd. 4. **Reapproval.** An education program shall apply to the board for reapproval at 202.2 202.3 least three months 30 days prior to the expiration date of its approval and must: (1) submit an application prescribed by the board specifying any changes from the 202.4 202.5 information provided for prior approval and any other information requested by the board to clarify incomplete or ambiguous information presented in the application; and 202.6 202.7 (2) comply with the requirements under subdivision 1, paragraph (b), clauses (2) to (10). (7);202.8 (3) be subject to a site visit by the board; 202.9 (4) for education programs that teach EMRs, comply with the requirements in subdivision 202.10 202.11 1a; (5) for education programs that teach EMTs, comply with the requirements in subdivision 202.12 1b; and 202.13 (6) for education programs that teach AEMTs and paramedics, comply with the 202.14 requirements in subdivision 2 and maintain accreditation with CAAHEP. 202.15 Sec. 33. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144E.285, subdivision 6, is amended to read: 202.16 202.17 Subd. 6. Temporary suspension. (a) In addition to any other remedy provided by law, the board director may temporarily suspend approval of the education program after 202.18 conducting a preliminary inquiry to determine whether the board director believes that the 202.19 education program has violated a statute or rule that the board director is empowered to 202.20 enforce and determining that the continued provision of service by the education program would create an imminent risk to public health or harm to others. 202.22 (b) A temporary suspension order prohibiting the education program from providing 202.23 emergency medical care training shall give notice of the right to a preliminary hearing 202.24 according to paragraph (d) and shall state the reasons for the entry of the temporary 202.25 202.26 suspension order. (c) Service of a temporary suspension order is effective when the order is served on the 202.27

- (c) Service of a temporary suspension order is effective when the order is served on the education program personally or by certified mail, which is complete upon receipt, refusal, or return for nondelivery to the most recent address provided to the <u>board director</u> for the education program.
- 202.31 (d) At the time the <u>board director</u> issues a temporary suspension order, the <u>board director</u>
 202.32 shall schedule a hearing, to be held before a group of its members designated by the board,

202.28

202.29

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

that shall begin within 60 days after issuance of the temporary suspension order or within 15 working days of the date of the board's director's receipt of a request for a hearing from the education program, whichever is sooner. The hearing shall be on the sole issue of whether there is a reasonable basis to continue, modify, or lift the temporary suspension. A hearing under this paragraph is not subject to chapter 14.

- (e) Evidence presented by the <u>board director</u> or the individual may be in the form of an affidavit. The education program or counsel of record may appear for oral argument.
- 203.8 (f) Within five working days of the hearing, the <u>board director</u> shall issue its order and, 203.9 if the suspension is continued, notify the education program of the right to a contested case 203.10 hearing under chapter 14.
- (g) If an education program requests a contested case hearing within 30 days of receiving notice under paragraph (f), the <u>board director</u> shall initiate a contested case hearing according to chapter 14. The administrative law judge shall issue a report and recommendation within 30 days after the closing of the contested case hearing record. The <u>board director</u> shall issue a final order within 30 days after receipt of the administrative law judge's report.
- 203.16 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2025.
- Sec. 34. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144E.287, is amended to read:
- **144E.287 DIVERSION PROGRAM.**

203.1

203.2

203.3

203.4

203.5

203.6

- The board director shall either conduct a health professionals service services program under sections 214.31 to 214.37 or contract for a diversion program under section 214.28 for professionals regulated by the board under this chapter who are unable to perform their duties with reasonable skill and safety by reason of illness, use of alcohol, drugs, chemicals, or any other materials, or as a result of any mental, physical, or psychological condition.
- 203.24 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2025.
- Sec. 35. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144E.305, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
- Subd. 3. **Immunity.** (a) An individual, licensee, health care facility, business, or organization is immune from civil liability or criminal prosecution for submitting in good faith a report to the board director under subdivision 1 or 2 or for otherwise reporting in good faith to the board director violations or alleged violations of sections 144E.001 to 144E.33. Reports are classified as confidential data on individuals or protected nonpublic data under section 13.02 while an investigation is active. Except for the board's director's final determination, all communications or information received by or disclosed to the board

0 (/ 10/2 : 00/0 / pm	04/16/24 06:07 pm COUNSEL AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2
-----------------------	-------------------------------------	------------

<u>director</u> relating to disciplinary matters of any person or entity subject to the <u>board's director's</u> regulatory jurisdiction are confidential and privileged and any disciplinary hearing shall be closed to the public.

- (b) Members of the board The director, persons employed by the board director, persons engaged in the investigation of violations and in the preparation and management of charges of violations of sections 144E.001 to 144E.33 on behalf of the board director, and persons participating in the investigation regarding charges of violations are immune from civil liability and criminal prosecution for any actions, transactions, or publications, made in good faith, in the execution of, or relating to, their duties under sections 144E.001 to 144E.33.
- 204.10 (c) For purposes of this section, a member of the board is considered a state employee under section 3.736, subdivision 9.
- 204.12 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2025.

204.1

204.2

204.3

204.4

204.5

204.6

204.7

204.8

- Sec. 36. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 152.126, subdivision 6, is amended to read:
- Subd. 6. Access to reporting system data. (a) Except as indicated in this subdivision, the data submitted to the board under subdivision 4 is private data on individuals as defined in section 13.02, subdivision 12, and not subject to public disclosure.
- 204.18 (b) Except as specified in subdivision 5, the following persons shall be considered permissible users and may access the data submitted under subdivision 4 in the same or similar manner, and for the same or similar purposes, as those persons who are authorized to access similar private data on individuals under federal and state law:
- 204.22 (1) a prescriber or an agent or employee of the prescriber to whom the prescriber has
 204.23 delegated the task of accessing the data, to the extent the information relates specifically to
 204.24 a current patient, to whom the prescriber is:
- 204.25 (i) prescribing or considering prescribing any controlled substance;
- 204.26 (ii) providing emergency medical treatment for which access to the data may be necessary;
- 204.27 (iii) providing care, and the prescriber has reason to believe, based on clinically valid 204.28 indications, that the patient is potentially abusing a controlled substance; or
- (iv) providing other medical treatment for which access to the data may be necessary for a clinically valid purpose and the patient has consented to access to the submitted data, and with the provision that the prescriber remains responsible for the use or misuse of data accessed by a delegated agent or employee;

(2) a dispenser or an agent or employee of the dispenser to whom the dispenser has delegated the task of accessing the data, to the extent the information relates specifically to a current patient to whom that dispenser is dispensing or considering dispensing any controlled substance and with the provision that the dispenser remains responsible for the use or misuse of data accessed by a delegated agent or employee;

- (3) a licensed dispensing practitioner or licensed pharmacist to the extent necessary to determine whether corrections made to the data reported under subdivision 4 are accurate;
- (4) a licensed pharmacist who is providing pharmaceutical care for which access to the data may be necessary to the extent that the information relates specifically to a current patient for whom the pharmacist is providing pharmaceutical care: (i) if the patient has consented to access to the submitted data; or (ii) if the pharmacist is consulted by a prescriber who is requesting data in accordance with clause (1);
- (5) an individual who is the recipient of a controlled substance prescription for which data was submitted under subdivision 4, or a guardian of the individual, parent or guardian of a minor, or health care agent of the individual acting under a health care directive under chapter 145C. For purposes of this clause, access by individuals includes persons in the definition of an individual under section 13.02;
- (6) personnel or designees of a health-related licensing board listed in section 214.01, subdivision 2, or of the Office of Emergency Medical Services Regulatory Board, assigned to conduct a bona fide investigation of a complaint received by that board or office that alleges that a specific licensee is impaired by use of a drug for which data is collected under subdivision 4, has engaged in activity that would constitute a crime as defined in section 152.025, or has engaged in the behavior specified in subdivision 5, paragraph (a);
- (7) personnel of the board engaged in the collection, review, and analysis of controlled substance prescription information as part of the assigned duties and responsibilities under this section;
- 205.27 (8) authorized personnel under contract with the board, or under contract with the state of Minnesota and approved by the board, who are engaged in the design, evaluation, 205.29 implementation, operation, or maintenance of the prescription monitoring program as part of the assigned duties and responsibilities of their employment, provided that access to data is limited to the minimum amount necessary to carry out such duties and responsibilities, and subject to the requirement of de-identification and time limit on retention of data specified in subdivision 5, paragraphs (d) and (e);

Article 7 Sec. 36.

205.1

205.2

205.3

205.4

205.5

205.6

205.7

205.8

205.9

205.10

205.11

205.12

205.13

205.15

205.16

205.17

205.18

205.19

205.20

205.21

205.22

205.23

205.24

205.25

(9) federal, state, and local law enforcement authorities acting pursuant to a valid search warrant;

- (10) personnel of the Minnesota health care programs assigned to use the data collected under this section to identify and manage recipients whose usage of controlled substances may warrant restriction to a single primary care provider, a single outpatient pharmacy, and a single hospital;
- (11) personnel of the Department of Human Services assigned to access the data pursuant 206.7 to paragraph (k); 206.8
- (12) personnel of the health professionals services program established under section 206.9 214.31, to the extent that the information relates specifically to an individual who is currently 206.10 enrolled in and being monitored by the program, and the individual consents to access to 206.11 that information. The health professionals services program personnel shall not provide this 206.12 data to a health-related licensing board or the Emergency Medical Services Regulatory 206.13 Board, except as permitted under section 214.33, subdivision 3; 206.14
- (13) personnel or designees of a health-related licensing board other than the Board of Pharmacy listed in section 214.01, subdivision 2, assigned to conduct a bona fide 206.16 investigation of a complaint received by that board that alleges that a specific licensee is 206.17 inappropriately prescribing controlled substances as defined in this section. For the purposes of this clause, the health-related licensing board may also obtain utilization data; and 206.19
 - (14) personnel of the board specifically assigned to conduct a bona fide investigation of a specific licensee or registrant. For the purposes of this clause, the board may also obtain utilization data.
- (c) By July 1, 2017, every prescriber licensed by a health-related licensing board listed 206.23 in section 214.01, subdivision 2, practicing within this state who is authorized to prescribe 206.24 controlled substances for humans and who holds a current registration issued by the federal 206.25 Drug Enforcement Administration, and every pharmacist licensed by the board and practicing within the state, shall register and maintain a user account with the prescription monitoring 206.27 program. Data submitted by a prescriber, pharmacist, or their delegate during the registration 206.28 application process, other than their name, license number, and license type, is classified 206.29 as private pursuant to section 13.02, subdivision 12. 206.30
 - (d) Notwithstanding paragraph (b), beginning January 1, 2021, a prescriber or an agent or employee of the prescriber to whom the prescriber has delegated the task of accessing the data, must access the data submitted under subdivision 4 to the extent the information relates specifically to the patient:

206.1

206.2

206.3

206.4

206.5

206.6

206.15

206.18

206.20

206.21

206.22

206.31

206.32

206.33

(1) before the prescriber issues an initial prescription order for a Schedules II through IV opiate controlled substance to the patient; and

- (2) at least once every three months for patients receiving an opiate for treatment of chronic pain or participating in medically assisted treatment for an opioid addiction.
- 207.5 (e) Paragraph (d) does not apply if:

207.1

207.2

207.3

- 207.6 (1) the patient is receiving palliative care, or hospice or other end-of-life care;
- 207.7 (2) the patient is being treated for pain due to cancer or the treatment of cancer;
- 207.8 (3) the prescription order is for a number of doses that is intended to last the patient five days or less and is not subject to a refill;
- 207.10 (4) the prescriber and patient have a current or ongoing provider/patient relationship of a duration longer than one year;
- (5) the prescription order is issued within 14 days following surgery or three days following oral surgery or follows the prescribing protocols established under the opioid prescribing improvement program under section 256B.0638;
- 207.15 (6) the controlled substance is prescribed or administered to a patient who is admitted to an inpatient hospital;
- (7) the controlled substance is lawfully administered by injection, ingestion, or any other means to the patient by the prescriber, a pharmacist, or by the patient at the direction of a prescriber and in the presence of the prescriber or pharmacist;
- 207.20 (8) due to a medical emergency, it is not possible for the prescriber to review the data 207.21 before the prescriber issues the prescription order for the patient; or
- 207.22 (9) the prescriber is unable to access the data due to operational or other technological failure of the program so long as the prescriber reports the failure to the board.
- (f) Only permissible users identified in paragraph (b), clauses (1), (2), (3), (4), (7), (8), 207.24 (10), and (11), may directly access the data electronically. No other permissible users may 207.25 directly access the data electronically. If the data is directly accessed electronically, the 207.26 permissible user shall implement and maintain a comprehensive information security program 207.27 that contains administrative, technical, and physical safeguards that are appropriate to the 207.28 user's size and complexity, and the sensitivity of the personal information obtained. The 207.29 permissible user shall identify reasonably foreseeable internal and external risks to the 207.30 security, confidentiality, and integrity of personal information that could result in the 207.31

unauthorized disclosure, misuse, or other compromise of the information and assess the sufficiency of any safeguards in place to control the risks.

- (g) The board shall not release data submitted under subdivision 4 unless it is provided with evidence, satisfactory to the board, that the person requesting the information is entitled to receive the data.
- (h) The board shall maintain a log of all persons who access the data for a period of at least three years and shall ensure that any permissible user complies with paragraph (c) prior to attaining direct access to the data.
- (i) Section 13.05, subdivision 6, shall apply to any contract the board enters into pursuant to subdivision 2. A vendor shall not use data collected under this section for any purpose not specified in this section.
- (j) The board may participate in an interstate prescription monitoring program data exchange system provided that permissible users in other states have access to the data only as allowed under this section, and that section 13.05, subdivision 6, applies to any contract or memorandum of understanding that the board enters into under this paragraph.
- (k) With available appropriations, the commissioner of human services shall establish and implement a system through which the Department of Human Services shall routinely access the data for the purpose of determining whether any client enrolled in an opioid treatment program licensed according to chapter 245A has been prescribed or dispensed a controlled substance in addition to that administered or dispensed by the opioid treatment program. When the commissioner determines there have been multiple prescribers or multiple prescriptions of controlled substances, the commissioner shall:
 - (1) inform the medical director of the opioid treatment program only that the commissioner determined the existence of multiple prescribers or multiple prescriptions of controlled substances; and
- 208.26 (2) direct the medical director of the opioid treatment program to access the data directly, review the effect of the multiple prescribers or multiple prescriptions, and document the review.
- 208.29 If determined necessary, the commissioner of human services shall seek a federal waiver of, or exception to, any applicable provision of Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, section 208.31 2.34, paragraph (c), prior to implementing this paragraph.
- 208.32 (l) The board shall review the data submitted under subdivision 4 on at least a quarterly basis and shall establish criteria, in consultation with the advisory task force, for referring

208.1

208.2

208.3

208.4

208.5

208.6

208.7

208.8

208.9

208.10

208.11

208.12

208.13

208.14

208.15

208.23

208.24

information about a patient to prescribers and dispensers who prescribed or dispensed the prescriptions in question if the criteria are met.

- (m) The board shall conduct random audits, on at least a quarterly basis, of electronic access by permissible users, as identified in paragraph (b), clauses (1), (2), (3), (4), (7), (8), (10), and (11), to the data in subdivision 4, to ensure compliance with permissible use as defined in this section. A permissible user whose account has been selected for a random audit shall respond to an inquiry by the board, no later than 30 days after receipt of notice that an audit is being conducted. Failure to respond may result in deactivation of access to the electronic system and referral to the appropriate health licensing board, or the commissioner of human services, for further action. The board shall report the results of random audits to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over health and human services policy and finance and government data practices.
- (n) A permissible user who has delegated the task of accessing the data in subdivision 4 to an agent or employee shall audit the use of the electronic system by delegated agents or employees on at least a quarterly basis to ensure compliance with permissible use as defined in this section. When a delegated agent or employee has been identified as inappropriately accessing data, the permissible user must immediately remove access for that individual and notify the board within seven days. The board shall notify all permissible users associated with the delegated agent or employee of the alleged violation.
- (o) A permissible user who delegates access to the data submitted under subdivision 4 to an agent or employee shall terminate that individual's access to the data within three business days of the agent or employee leaving employment with the permissible user. The board may conduct random audits to determine compliance with this requirement.
 - **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2025.
- Sec. 37. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 214.025, is amended to read:
- 209.27 **214.025 COUNCIL OF HEALTH BOARDS.**
- The health-related licensing boards may establish a Council of Health Boards consisting of representatives of the health-related licensing boards and the Emergency Medical Services Regulatory Board. When reviewing legislation or legislative proposals relating to the regulation of health occupations, the council shall include the commissioner of health or a designee and the director of the Office of Emergency Medical Services or a designee.
- 209.33 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2025.

209.1

209.2

209.3

209.4

209.5

209.6

209.7

209.8

209.9

209.10

209.11

209.13

209 14

209.15

209.17

209.18

209.19

209.20

209.21

209.22

209.23

209.24

209 25

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

Sec. 38. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 214.04, subdivision 2a, is amended to read:

Subd. 2a. **Performance of executive directors.** The governor may request that a health-related licensing board or the Emergency Medical Services Regulatory Board review the performance of the board's executive director. Upon receipt of the request, the board must respond by establishing a performance improvement plan or taking disciplinary or other corrective action, including dismissal. The board shall include the governor's representative as a voting member of the board in the board's discussions and decisions regarding the governor's request. The board shall report to the governor on action taken by the board, including an explanation if no action is deemed necessary.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.

Sec. 39. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 214.29, is amended to read:

214.29 PROGRAM REQUIRED.

- Each health-related licensing board, including the Emergency Medical Services
 Regulatory Board under chapter 144E, shall either conduct a health professionals service
 program under sections 214.31 to 214.37 or contract for a diversion program under section
 210.16 214.28.
- 210.17 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2025.
- Sec. 40. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 214.31, is amended to read:

210.19 **214.31 AUTHORITY.**

210.2

210.3

210.4

210.5

210.6

210.7

210.8

210.9

210.10

210.11

210.12

Two or more of the health-related licensing boards listed in section 214.01, subdivision 210.21 2, may jointly conduct a health professionals services program to protect the public from persons regulated by the boards who are unable to practice with reasonable skill and safety by reason of illness, use of alcohol, drugs, chemicals, or any other materials, or as a result of any mental, physical, or psychological condition. The program does not affect a board's authority to discipline violations of a board's practice act. For purposes of sections 214.31 to 214.37, the emergency medical services regulatory board shall be included in the definition of a health-related licensing board under chapter 144E.

210.28 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2025.

04/16/24 06:07 pm COUNSEL AHL/NH/TG SCS4699.	₹06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699 <i>A</i>
--	-----------	---------	-----------	------------------

Sec. 41. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 214.355, is amended to read: 211.1

214.355 G	GROUNDS	FOR	DISCIPL	INARY	ACTION.
-----------	----------------	------------	---------	-------	----------------

- Each health-related licensing board, including the Emergency Medical Services 211.3 Regulatory Board under chapter 144E, shall consider it grounds for disciplinary action if a 211.4 regulated person violates the terms of the health professionals services program participation 211.5 agreement or leaves the program except upon fulfilling the terms for successful completion 211.6 of the program as set forth in the participation agreement.
- **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2025. 211.8

Sec. 42. INITIAL MEMBERS AND FIRST MEETING; EMERGENCY MEDICAL 211.9

SERVICES ADVISORY COUNCIL. 211.10

211.2

211.7

- (a) Initial appointments of members to the Emergency Medical Services Advisory 211.11
- 211.12 Council must be made by January 1, 2025. The terms of initial appointees shall be determined
- by lot by the secretary of state and shall be as follows: 211.13
- 211.14 (1) eight members shall serve two-year terms; and
- (2) eight members shall serve three-year terms. 211.15
- 211.16 (b) The medical director appointee must convene the first meeting of the Emergency
- Medical Services Advisory Council by February 1, 2025. 211.17
- 211.18 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2024.

211.19 Sec. 43. INITIAL MEMBERS AND FIRST MEETING; EMERGENCY MEDICAL

SERVICES PHYSICIAN ADVISORY COUNCIL. 211.20

- 211.21 (a) Initial appointments of members to the Emergency Medical Services Physician
- Advisory Council must be made by January 1, 2025. The terms of initial appointees shall 211.22
- be determined by lot by the secretary of state and shall be as follows: 211.23
- 211.24 (1) five members shall serve two-year terms;
- (2) five members shall serve three-year terms; and 211.25
- (3) the term for the medical director appointee to the Emergency Medical Services 211.26
- Physician Advisory Council shall coincide with that member's term on the Emergency 211.27
- Medical Services Advisory Council. 211.28
- (b) The medical director appointee must convene the first meeting of the Emergency 211.29
- Medical Services Physician Advisory Council by February 1, 2025. 211.30

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.

212.2 Sec. 44. INITIAL MEMBERS AND FIRST MEETING; LABOR AND EMERGENCY

212.3 MEDICAL SERVICE PROVIDERS ADVISORY COUNC	OUNCIL.
--	----------------

- (a) Initial appointments of members to the Labor and Emergency Medical Service
- 212.5 Providers Advisory Council must be made by January 1, 2025. The terms of initial appointees
- shall be determined by lot by the secretary of state and shall be as follows:
- 212.7 (1) six members shall serve two-year terms; and
- (2) seven members shall serve three-year terms.
- (b) The emergency medical technician instructor appointee must convene the first meeting
- 212.10 of the Labor and Emergency Medical Service Providers Advisory Council by February 1,
- 212.11 2025.
- 212.12 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2024.
- 212.13 Sec. 45. **TRANSITION.**
- Subdivision 1. **Appointment of director; operation of office.** No later than October
- 212.15 1, 2024, the governor shall appoint a director-designee of the Office of Emergency Medical
- 212.16 Services. The individual appointed as the director-designee of the Office of Emergency
- 212.17 Medical Services shall become the governor's appointee as director of the Office of
- 212.18 Emergency Medical Services on January 1, 2025. Effective January 1, 2025, the
- 212.19 responsibilities to regulate emergency medical services in the state under Minnesota Statutes,
- 212.20 chapter 144E, and Minnesota Rules, chapter 4690, are transferred from the Emergency
- 212.21 Medical Services Regulatory Board to the Office of Emergency Medical Services and the
- 212.22 director of the Office of Emergency Medical Services.
- Subd. 2. Transfer of responsibilities. Minnesota Statutes, section 15.039, applies to
- 212.24 the transfer of responsibilities from the Emergency Medical Services Regulatory Board to
- 212.25 the Office of Emergency Medical Services required by this act. The commissioner of
- 212.26 administration, with the approval of the governor, may issue reorganization orders under
- 212.27 Minnesota Statutes, section 16B.37, as necessary to carry out the transfer of responsibilities
- required by this act. The provision of Minnesota Statutes, section 16B.37, subdivision 1,
- 212.29 which states that transfers under that section may be made only to an agency that has been
- 212.30 in existence for at least one year, does not apply to transfers in this act to the Office of
- 212.31 Emergency Medical Services.
- EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.

- (a) In Minnesota Statutes, chapter 144E, the revisor of statutes shall replace "board"
- with "director"; "board's" with "director's"; "Emergency Medical Services Regulatory Board"
- or "Minnesota Emergency Medical Services Regulatory Board" with "director"; and
- 213.5 "board-approved" with "director-approved," except that:
- (1) in Minnesota Statutes, section 144E.11, the revisor of statutes shall not modify the
- 213.7 term "county board," "community health board," or "community health boards";
- 213.8 (2) in Minnesota Statutes, sections 144E.40, subdivision 2; 144E.42, subdivision 2;
- 213.9 144E.44; and 144E.45, subdivision 2, the revisor of statutes shall not modify the term "State
- 213.10 Board of Investment"; and

- 213.11 (3) in Minnesota Statutes, sections 144E.50 and 144E.52, the revisor of statutes shall
- 213.12 not modify the term "regional emergency medical services board," "regional board," "regional
- 213.13 emergency medical services board's," or "regional boards."
- (b) In the following sections of Minnesota Statutes, the revisor of statutes shall replace
- 213.15 "Emergency Medical Services Regulatory Board" with "director of the Office of Emergency
- 213.16 Medical Services": sections 13.717, subdivision 10; 62J.49, subdivision 2; 144.604; 144.608;
- 213.17 147.09; 156.12, subdivision 2; 169.686, subdivision 3; and 299A.41, subdivision 4.
- (c) In the following sections of Minnesota Statutes, the revisor of statutes shall replace
- 213.19 "Emergency Medical Services Regulatory Board" with "Office of Emergency Medical
- 213.20 Services": sections 144.603 and 161.045, subdivision 3.
- (d) In making the changes specified in this section, the revisor of statutes may make
- 213.22 technical and other necessary changes to sentence structure to preserve the meaning of the
- 213.23 text.
- 213.24 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2024.
- 213.25 Sec. 47. **REPEALER.**
- 213.26 (a) Minnesota Statutes 2022, sections 144E.001, subdivision 5; 144E.01; 144E.123,
- 213.27 <u>subdivision 5</u>; and 144E.50, subdivision 3, are repealed.
- (b) Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144E.27, subdivisions 1 and 1a, are repealed.
- 213.29 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** Paragraph (a) is effective January 1, 2025.

ARTICI F &

214.1	ARTICLE 0
214.2	PHARMACY BOARD AND PRACTICE
214.3	Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 62Q.46, subdivision 1, is amended
214.4	to read:
214.5	Subdivision 1. Coverage for preventive items and services. (a) "Preventive items and
214.6	services" has the meaning specified in the Affordable Care Act. Preventive items and services
214.7	includes:
214.8	(1) evidence-based items or services that have in effect a rating of A or B in the current
214.9	recommendations of the United States Preventive Services Task Force with respect to the
214.10	individual involved;
214.11	(2) immunizations for routine use in children, adolescents, and adults that have in effect
214.12	a recommendation from the Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices of the Centers
214.13	for Disease Control and Prevention with respect to the individual involved. For purposes
214.14	of this clause, a recommendation from the Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices
214.15	of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention is considered in effect after the
214.16	recommendation has been adopted by the Director of the Centers for Disease Control and
214.17	Prevention, and a recommendation is considered to be for routine use if the recommendation
214.18	is listed on the Immunization Schedules of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention;
214.19	(3) with respect to infants, children, and adolescents, evidence-informed preventive care
214.20	and screenings provided for in comprehensive guidelines supported by the Health Resources
214.21	and Services Administration;
214.22	(4) with respect to women, additional preventive care and screenings that are not listed
214.23	with a rating of A or B by the United States Preventive Services Task Force but that are
214.24	provided for in comprehensive guidelines supported by the Health Resources and Services
214.25	Administration;
21/126	(5) all contracentive methods established in quidelines published by the United States

- (5) all contraceptive methods established in guidelines published by the United States Food and Drug Administration;
- 214.28 (6) screenings for human immunodeficiency virus for:
- (i) all individuals at least 15 years of age but less than 65 years of age; and
- 214.30 (ii) all other individuals with increased risk of human immunodeficiency virus infection 214.31 according to guidance from the Centers for Disease Control;

(7) all preexposure prophylaxis when used for the prevention or treatment of human immunodeficiency virus, including but not limited to all preexposure prophylaxis, as defined in any guidance by the United States Preventive Services Task Force or the Centers for Disease Control, including the June 11, 2019, Preexposure Prophylaxis for the Prevention of HIV Infection United States Preventive Services Task Force Recommendation Statement; and

- (8) all postexposure prophylaxis when used for the prevention or treatment of human immunodeficiency virus, including but not limited to all postexposure prophylaxis as defined in any guidance by the United States Preventive Services Task Force or the Centers for Disease Control.
- (b) A health plan company must provide coverage for preventive items and services at a participating provider without imposing cost-sharing requirements, including a deductible, coinsurance, or co-payment. Nothing in this section prohibits a health plan company that has a network of providers from excluding coverage or imposing cost-sharing requirements for preventive items or services that are delivered by an out-of-network provider.
- (c) A health plan company is not required to provide coverage for any items or services specified in any recommendation or guideline described in paragraph (a) if the recommendation or guideline is no longer included as a preventive item or service as defined in paragraph (a). Annually, a health plan company must determine whether any additional items or services must be covered without cost-sharing requirements or whether any items or services are no longer required to be covered.
 - (d) Nothing in this section prevents a health plan company from using reasonable medical management techniques to determine the frequency, method, treatment, or setting for a preventive item or service to the extent not specified in the recommendation or guideline.
- (e) A health plan shall not require prior authorization or step therapy for preexposure prophylaxis or postexposure prophylaxis, except as follows: if the United States Food and Drug Administration has approved one or more therapeutic equivalents of a drug, device, or product for the prevention of HIV, this paragraph does not require a health plan to cover all of the therapeutically equivalent versions without prior authorization or step therapy, if at least one therapeutically equivalent version is covered without prior authorization or step therapy.
- (e) (f) This section does not apply to grandfathered plans.
- 215.33 (f) (g) This section does not apply to plans offered by the Minnesota Comprehensive Health Association.

215.1

215.2

215.3

215.4

215.5

215.6

215.7

215.8

215.9

215.10

215.11

215.12

215.13

215.14

215.15

215.22

215.23

216.1 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2026, and applies to health plans offered, issued, or renewed on or after that date.

- Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 151.01, subdivision 23, is amended to read:
- Subd. 23. Practitioner. "Practitioner" means a licensed doctor of medicine, licensed 216.4 doctor of osteopathic medicine duly licensed to practice medicine, licensed doctor of 216.5 dentistry, licensed doctor of optometry, licensed podiatrist, licensed veterinarian, licensed 216.6 216.7 advanced practice registered nurse, or licensed physician assistant. For purposes of sections 151.15, subdivision 4; 151.211, subdivision 3; 151.252, subdivision 3; 151.37, subdivision 216.8 2, paragraph (b); and 151.461, "practitioner" also means a dental therapist authorized to 216.9 dispense and administer under chapter 150A. For purposes of sections 151.252, subdivision 216.10 3, and 151.461, "practitioner" also means a pharmacist authorized to prescribe 216.11 self-administered hormonal contraceptives, nicotine replacement medications, or opiate 216.12 antagonists under section 151.37, subdivision 14, 15, or 16, or authorized to prescribe drugs 216.13

to prevent the acquisition of human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) under section 151.37,

- 216.16 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2025.
- Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 151.01, subdivision 27, is amended to read:
- Subd. 27. **Practice of pharmacy.** "Practice of pharmacy" means:
- (1) interpretation and evaluation of prescription drug orders;
- 216.20 (2) compounding, labeling, and dispensing drugs and devices (except labeling by a 216.21 manufacturer or packager of nonprescription drugs or commercially packaged legend drugs 216.22 and devices);
- (3) participation in clinical interpretations and monitoring of drug therapy for assurance 216.23 of safe and effective use of drugs, including the performance of ordering and performing 216.24 laboratory tests that are waived under the federal Clinical Laboratory Improvement Act of 216.25 216.26 1988, United States Code, title 42, section 263a et seq., provided that a pharmacist may interpret the results of laboratory tests but may modify A pharmacist may collect specimens, 216.27 interpret results, notify the patient of results, and refer patients to other health care providers 216.28 for follow-up care and may initiate, modify, or discontinue drug therapy only pursuant to 216.29 a protocol or collaborative practice agreement. A pharmacist may delegate the authority to 216.30 administer tests under this clause to a pharmacy technician or pharmacy intern. A pharmacy 216.31

216.3

216.14

216.15

subdivision 17.

04/16/24 06:07 pm

technician or pharmacist intern may perform tests authorized under this clause if the technician or intern is working under the direct supervision of a pharmacist;

- (4) participation in drug and therapeutic device selection; drug administration for first dosage and medical emergencies; intramuscular and subcutaneous drug administration under a prescription drug order; drug regimen reviews; and drug or drug-related research;
- (5) drug administration, through intramuscular and subcutaneous administration used to treat mental illnesses as permitted under the following conditions:
- 217.8 (i) upon the order of a prescriber and the prescriber is notified after administration is 217.9 complete; or
 - (ii) pursuant to a protocol or collaborative practice agreement as defined by section 151.01, subdivisions 27b and 27c, and participation in the initiation, management, modification, administration, and discontinuation of drug therapy is according to the protocol or collaborative practice agreement between the pharmacist and a dentist, optometrist, physician, physician assistant, podiatrist, or veterinarian, or an advanced practice registered nurse authorized to prescribe, dispense, and administer under section 148.235. Any changes in drug therapy or medication administration made pursuant to a protocol or collaborative practice agreement must be documented by the pharmacist in the patient's medical record or reported by the pharmacist to a practitioner responsible for the patient's care;
 - (6) participation in administration of influenza vaccines and initiating, ordering, and administering influenza and COVID-19 or SARS-CoV-2 vaccines authorized or approved by the United States Food and Drug Administration related to COVID-19 or SARS-CoV-2 to all eligible individuals six three years of age and older and all other United States Food and Drug Administration approved vaccines to patients 13 six years of age and older by written protocol with a physician licensed under chapter 147, a physician assistant authorized to prescribe drugs under chapter 147A, or an advanced practice registered nurse authorized to prescribe drugs under section 148.235, provided that according to the federal Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices recommendation. A pharmacist may delegate the authority to administer vaccines under this clause to a pharmacy technician or pharmacy intern who has completed training in vaccine administration if:
 - (i) the protocol includes, at a minimum:
- 217.31 (A) the name, dose, and route of each vaccine that may be given;
- 217.32 (B) the patient population for whom the vaccine may be given;
- 217.33 (C) contraindications and precautions to the vaccine;

217.1

217.2

217.3

217.4

217.5

217.6

217.7

217.10

217.11

217.12

217.13

217.14

217.15

217.16

217.17

217.19

217.20

217.21

217.22

217.23

217.24

217.25

217.26

217.27

217.28

217.29

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

218.1	(D) the procedure for handling an adverse reaction;
218.2	(E) the name, signature, and address of the physician, physician assistant, or advanced
218.3	practice registered nurse;
218.4	(F) a telephone number at which the physician, physician assistant, or advanced practice
218.5	registered nurse can be contacted; and
218.6	(G) the date and time period for which the protocol is valid;
218.7	(ii) (i) the pharmacist has and the pharmacy technician or pharmacy intern have
218.8	successfully completed a program approved by the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy
218.9	Education (ACPE) specifically for the administration of immunizations or a program
218.10	approved by the board;
218.11	(iii) (ii) the pharmacist utilizes and the pharmacy technician or pharmacy intern utilize
218.12	the Minnesota Immunization Information Connection to assess the immunization status of
218.13	individuals prior to the administration of vaccines, except when administering influenza
218.14	vaccines to individuals age nine three and older;
218.15	(iv) (iii) the pharmacist reports the administration of the immunization to the Minnesota
218.16	Immunization Information Connection; and
218.17	(v) the pharmacist complies with guidelines for vaccines and immunizations established
218.18	by the federal Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices, except that a pharmacist
218.19	does not need to comply with those portions of the guidelines that establish immunization
218.20	schedules when administering a vaccine pursuant to a valid, patient-specific order issued
218.21	by a physician licensed under chapter 147, a physician assistant authorized to prescribe
218.22	drugs under chapter 147A, or an advanced practice registered nurse authorized to prescribe
218.23	drugs under section 148.235, provided that the order is consistent with the United States
218.24	Food and Drug Administration approved labeling of the vaccine;
218.25	(iv) if the patient is 18 years of age or younger, the pharmacist, pharmacy technician,
218.26	or pharmacy intern informs the patient and any adult caregiver accompanying the patient
218.27	of the importance of a well-child visit with a pediatrician or other licensed primary care
218.28	provider; and
218.29	(v) in the case of a pharmacy technician administering vaccinations while being
218.30	supervised by a licensed pharmacist, which supervision must be in-person and must not be
218.31	done through telehealth as defined under section 62A.673, subdivision 2:
218.32	(A) the pharmacist is readily and immediately available to the immunizing pharmacy
218.33	technician;

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

(B) the pharmacy technician has a current certificate in basic cardiopulmonary

219.2	resuscitation; and
219.3	(C) the pharmacy technician has completed a minimum of two hours of ACPE-approved
219.4	immunization-related continuing pharmacy education as part of the pharmacy technician's
219.5	two-year continuing education schedule;
219.6	(7) participation in the initiation, management, modification, and discontinuation of
219.7	drug therapy according to a written protocol or collaborative practice agreement between:
219.8	(i) one or more pharmacists and one or more dentists, optometrists, physicians, physician
219.9	assistants, podiatrists, or veterinarians; or (ii) one or more pharmacists and one or more
219.10	physician assistants authorized to prescribe, dispense, and administer under chapter 147A
219.11	or advanced practice registered nurses authorized to prescribe, dispense, and administer
219.12	under section 148.235. Any changes in drug therapy made pursuant to a protocol or
219.13	collaborative practice agreement must be documented by the pharmacist in the patient's
219.14	medical record or reported by the pharmacist to a practitioner responsible for the patient's
219.15	care;
219.16	(8) participation in the storage of drugs and the maintenance of records;
219.17	(9) patient counseling on therapeutic values, content, hazards, and uses of drugs and
219.18	devices;
219.19	(10) offering or performing those acts, services, operations, or transactions necessary
219.20	in the conduct, operation, management, and control of a pharmacy;
219.21	(11) participation in the initiation, management, modification, and discontinuation of
219.22	therapy with opiate antagonists, as defined in section 604A.04, subdivision 1, pursuant to
219.23	(i) a written protocol as allowed under clause (7); or
219.24	(ii) a written protocol with a community health board medical consultant or a practitioner
219.25	designated by the commissioner of health, as allowed under section 151.37, subdivision 13
219.26	(12) prescribing self-administered hormonal contraceptives; nicotine replacement
219.27	medications; and opiate antagonists for the treatment of an acute opiate overdose pursuant
219.28	to section 151.37, subdivision 14, 15, or 16; and
219.29	(13) participation in the placement of drug monitoring devices according to a prescription
219.30	protocol, or collaborative practice agreement.
219.31	Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 151.01, subdivision 27, is amended to read:
219.32	Subd. 27. Practice of pharmacy. "Practice of pharmacy" means:

(1) interpretation and evaluation of prescription drug orders;

220.1

220.5

220.6

220.7

220.8

220.9

220.10

220.18

220.19

220.20

220.21

220.22

220.23

220.24

220.27

220.28

220.29

220.30

220.31

220.32

- 220.2 (2) compounding, labeling, and dispensing drugs and devices (except labeling by a 220.3 manufacturer or packager of nonprescription drugs or commercially packaged legend drugs 220.4 and devices);
 - (3) participation in clinical interpretations and monitoring of drug therapy for assurance of safe and effective use of drugs, including the performance of laboratory tests that are waived under the federal Clinical Laboratory Improvement Act of 1988, United States Code, title 42, section 263a et seq., provided that a pharmacist may interpret the results of laboratory tests but may modify drug therapy only pursuant to a protocol or collaborative practice agreement;
- (4) participation in drug and therapeutic device selection; drug administration for first dosage and medical emergencies; intramuscular and subcutaneous drug administration under a prescription drug order; drug regimen reviews; and drug or drug-related research;
- 220.14 (5) drug administration, through intramuscular and subcutaneous administration used 220.15 to treat mental illnesses as permitted under the following conditions:
- 220.16 (i) upon the order of a prescriber and the prescriber is notified after administration is 220.17 complete; or
 - (ii) pursuant to a protocol or collaborative practice agreement as defined by section 151.01, subdivisions 27b and 27c, and participation in the initiation, management, modification, administration, and discontinuation of drug therapy is according to the protocol or collaborative practice agreement between the pharmacist and a dentist, optometrist, physician, physician assistant, podiatrist, or veterinarian, or an advanced practice registered nurse authorized to prescribe, dispense, and administer under section 148.235. Any changes in drug therapy or medication administration made pursuant to a protocol or collaborative practice agreement must be documented by the pharmacist in the patient's medical record or reported by the pharmacist to a practitioner responsible for the patient's care;
 - (6) participation in administration of influenza vaccines and vaccines approved by the United States Food and Drug Administration related to COVID-19 or SARS-CoV-2 to all eligible individuals six years of age and older and all other vaccines to patients 13 years of age and older by written protocol with a physician licensed under chapter 147, a physician assistant authorized to prescribe drugs under chapter 147A, or an advanced practice registered nurse authorized to prescribe drugs under section 148.235, provided that:
 - (i) the protocol includes, at a minimum:

(A) the name, dose, and route of each vaccine that may be given;

- (B) the patient population for whom the vaccine may be given;
- 221.3 (C) contraindications and precautions to the vaccine;

221.2

- (D) the procedure for handling an adverse reaction;
- 221.5 (E) the name, signature, and address of the physician, physician assistant, or advanced practice registered nurse;
- (F) a telephone number at which the physician, physician assistant, or advanced practice registered nurse can be contacted; and
- 221.9 (G) the date and time period for which the protocol is valid;
- (ii) the pharmacist has successfully completed a program approved by the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education specifically for the administration of immunizations or a program approved by the board;
- 221.13 (iii) the pharmacist utilizes the Minnesota Immunization Information Connection to 221.14 assess the immunization status of individuals prior to the administration of vaccines, except 221.15 when administering influenza vaccines to individuals age nine and older;
- 221.16 (iv) the pharmacist reports the administration of the immunization to the Minnesota 221.17 Immunization Information Connection; and
- (v) the pharmacist complies with guidelines for vaccines and immunizations established by the federal Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices, except that a pharmacist does not need to comply with those portions of the guidelines that establish immunization schedules when administering a vaccine pursuant to a valid, patient-specific order issued by a physician licensed under chapter 147, a physician assistant authorized to prescribe drugs under chapter 147A, or an advanced practice registered nurse authorized to prescribe drugs under section 148.235, provided that the order is consistent with the United States Food and Drug Administration approved labeling of the vaccine;
 - (7) participation in the initiation, management, modification, and discontinuation of drug therapy according to a written protocol or collaborative practice agreement between:
 (i) one or more pharmacists and one or more dentists, optometrists, physicians, physician assistants, podiatrists, or veterinarians; or (ii) one or more pharmacists and one or more physician assistants authorized to prescribe, dispense, and administer under chapter 147A, or advanced practice registered nurses authorized to prescribe, dispense, and administer under section 148.235. Any changes in drug therapy made pursuant to a protocol or

221.26

221.27

221.28

221.29

221.30

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

collaborative practice agreement must be documented by the pharmacist in the patient's 222.1 medical record or reported by the pharmacist to a practitioner responsible for the patient's 222.2 222.3 care; (8) participation in the storage of drugs and the maintenance of records; 222.4 222.5 (9) patient counseling on therapeutic values, content, hazards, and uses of drugs and devices; 222.6 222.7 (10) offering or performing those acts, services, operations, or transactions necessary in the conduct, operation, management, and control of a pharmacy; 222.8 (11) participation in the initiation, management, modification, and discontinuation of 222.9 therapy with opiate antagonists, as defined in section 604A.04, subdivision 1, pursuant to: 222.10 (i) a written protocol as allowed under clause (7); or 222.11 (ii) a written protocol with a community health board medical consultant or a practitioner 222.12 designated by the commissioner of health, as allowed under section 151.37, subdivision 13; 222.13 (12) prescribing self-administered hormonal contraceptives; nicotine replacement 222.14 medications; and opiate antagonists for the treatment of an acute opiate overdose pursuant 222.15 to section 151.37, subdivision 14, 15, or 16; and 222.16 (13) participation in the placement of drug monitoring devices according to a prescription, 222.17 protocol, or collaborative practice agreement-; 222.18 (14) prescribing, dispensing, and administering drugs for preventing the acquisition of 222.19 human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) if the pharmacist meets the requirements in section 222.20 151.37, subdivision 17; and 222.21 (15) ordering, conducting, and interpreting laboratory tests necessary for therapies that 222.22 use drugs for preventing the acquisition of human immunodeficiency virus (HIV), if the 222.23 222.24 pharmacist meets the requirements in section 151.37, subdivision 17. **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2025. 222.25 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 151.065, is amended by adding a subdivision to 222.26 222.27 read: Subd. 4a. Application and fee; relocation. A person who is registered with or licensed 222.28 by the board must submit a new application to the board before relocating the physical 222.29 222.30 location of the person's business. An application must be submitted for each affected license. The application must set forth the proposed change of location on a form established by the 222.31

04/16/24 06:07 pm

board. If the licensee or registrant remitted payment for the full amount during the state's
fiscal year, the relocation application fee is the same as the application fee in subdivision
1, except that the fees in clauses (6) to (9) and (11) to (16) are reduced by \$5,000 and the
fee in clause (16) is reduced by \$55,000. If the application is made within 60 days before
the date of the original license or registration expiration, the applicant must pay the full
application fee provided in subdivision 1. Upon approval of an application for a relocation,
the board shall issue a new license or registration.

- Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 151.065, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
- Subd. 4b. Application and fee; change of ownership. A person who is registered with 223.10 or licensed by the board must submit a new application to the board before changing the 223.11 ownership of the licensee or registrant. An application must be submitted for each affected 223.12 license. The application must set forth the proposed change of ownership on a form 223.13 223.14 established by the board. If the licensee or registrant remitted payment for the full amount during the state's fiscal year, the application fee is the same as the application fee in 223 15 subdivision 1, except that the fees in clauses (6) to (9) and (11) to (16) are reduced by \$5,000 223.16 and the fee in clause (16) is reduced by \$55,000. If the application is made within 60 days 223.17 before the date of the original license or registration expiration, the applicant must pay the 223.18 223.19 full application fee provided in subdivision 1. Upon approval of an application for a change of ownership, the board shall issue a new license or registration. 223.20
- Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 151.065, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
- Subd. 8. Transfer of licenses. Licenses and registrations granted by the board are not transferable.
- Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 151.066, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
- Subdivision 1. **Definitions.** (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have the meanings given to them in this subdivision.
- (b) "Manufacturer" means a manufacturer licensed under section 151.252 that is engaged in the manufacturing of an opiate, excluding those exclusively licensed to manufacture medical gas.
- (c) "Opiate" means any opiate-containing controlled substance listed in section 152.02, subdivisions 3 to 5, that is distributed, delivered, sold, or dispensed into or within this state.

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

(d) "Third-party logistics provider" means a third-party logistics provider licensed under 224.1 section 151.471. 224.2 (e) "Wholesaler" means a wholesale drug distributor licensed under section 151.47 that 224.3 is engaged in the wholesale drug distribution of an opiate, excluding those exclusively 224.4 licensed to distribute medical gas. 224.5 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 151.066, subdivision 2, is amended to read: 224.6 Subd. 2. Reporting requirements. (a) By March 1 of each year, beginning March 1, 224.7 2020, each manufacturer and each wholesaler must report to the board every sale, delivery, 224.8 or other distribution within or into this state of any opiate that is made to any practitioner, 224.9 pharmacy, hospital, veterinary hospital, or other person who is permitted by section 151.37 224.10 to possess controlled substances for administration or dispensing to patients that occurred during the previous calendar year. Reporting must be in the automation of reports and 224.12 consolidated orders system format unless otherwise specified by the board. If no reportable 224.13 224.14 distributions occurred for a given year, notification must be provided to the board in a manner specified by the board. If a manufacturer or wholesaler fails to provide information 224.15 required under this paragraph on a timely basis, the board may assess an administrative penalty of \$500 per day. This penalty shall not be considered a form of disciplinary action. 224.17 (b) By March 1 of each year, beginning March 1, 2020, each owner of a pharmacy with 224.18 at least one location within this state must report to the board any intracompany delivery 224.19 or distribution into this state, of any opiate, to the extent that those deliveries and distributions 224.20 are not reported to the board by a licensed wholesaler owned by, under contract to, or 224.21

(b) By March 1 of each year, beginning March 1, 2020, each owner of a pharmacy with at least one location within this state must report to the board any intracompany delivery or distribution into this state, of any opiate, to the extent that those deliveries and distributions are not reported to the board by a licensed wholesaler owned by, under contract to, or otherwise operating on behalf of the owner of the pharmacy. Reporting must be in the manner and format specified by the board for deliveries and distributions that occurred during the previous calendar year. The report must include the name of the manufacturer or wholesaler from which the owner of the pharmacy ultimately purchased the opiate, and the amount and date that the purchase occurred.

(c) By March 1 of each year, beginning March 1, 2025, each third-party logistics provider must report to the board any delivery or distribution into this state of any opiate, to the extent that those deliveries and distributions are not reported to the board by a licensed wholesaler or manufacturer. Reporting must be in the manner and format specified by the board for deliveries and distributions that occurred during the previous calendar year.

224.22

224 23

224.24

224.25

224.26

224.27

224.28

224.29

224.30

Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 151.066, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

- Subd. 3. **Determination of an opiate product registration fee.** (a) The board shall annually assess an opiate product registration fee on any manufacturer of an opiate that annually sells, delivers, or distributes an opiate within or into the state <u>in a quantity of</u> 2,000,000 or more units as reported to the board under subdivision 2.
- (b) For purposes of assessing the annual registration fee under this section and determining the number of opiate units a manufacturer sold, delivered, or distributed within or into the state, the board shall not consider any opiate that is used for substance use disorder treatment with medications for opioid use disorder.
- (c) The annual registration fee for each manufacturer meeting the requirement under paragraph (a) is \$250,000.
- (d) In conjunction with the data reported under this section, and notwithstanding section 152.126, subdivision 6, the board may use the data reported under section 152.126, subdivision 4, to determine which manufacturers meet the requirement under paragraph (a) and are required to pay the registration fees under this subdivision.
- (e) By April 1 of each year, beginning April 1, 2020, the board shall notify a manufacturer that the manufacturer meets the requirement in paragraph (a) and is required to pay the annual registration fee in accordance with section 151.252, subdivision 1, paragraph (b).
- (f) A manufacturer may dispute the board's determination that the manufacturer must 225.19 pay the registration fee no later than 30 days after the date of notification. However, the 225.20 manufacturer must still remit the fee as required by section 151.252, subdivision 1, paragraph 225.21 (b). The dispute must be filed with the board in the manner and using the forms specified 225.22 by the board. A manufacturer must submit, with the required forms, data satisfactory to the 225.23 board that demonstrates that the assessment of the registration fee was incorrect. The board 225.24 must make a decision concerning a dispute no later than 60 days after receiving the required 225.25 dispute forms. If the board determines that the manufacturer has satisfactorily demonstrated that the fee was incorrectly assessed, the board must refund the amount paid in error. 225.27
- 225.28 (g) For purposes of this subdivision, a unit means the individual dosage form of the particular drug product that is prescribed to the patient. One unit equals one tablet, capsule, patch, syringe, milliliter, or gram.
- (h) For the purposes of this subdivision, an opiate's units will be assigned to the manufacturer holding the New Drug Application (NDA) or Abbreviated New Drug Application (ANDA), as listed by the United States Food and Drug Administration.

225.2

225.3

225.4

225.5

225.6

225.7

225.8

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 151.212, is amended by adding a subdivision 226.1 226.2 to read: 226.3 Subd. 4. Accessible prescription drug container labels. (a) A pharmacy must inform each patient for whom a prescription drug is dispensed that an accessible prescription drug 226.4 container label is available to any patient who identifies as a person who is blind, visually 226.5 impaired, or otherwise disabled, upon request of the patient or the patient's representative, 226.6 at no additional cost. 226.7 (b) If a patient requests an accessible container label, the pharmacy shall provide the 226.8 patient with an audible, large print, or braille prescription drug container label depending 226.9 on the need and preference of the patient. 226.10 (c) The accessible container label must: 226.11 226.12 (1) be affixed on the container; (2) be available in a timely manner comparable to other patient wait time; 226.13 (3) last for at least the duration of the prescription; 226.14 (4) conform with the format-specific best practices established by the United States 226.15 Access Board; 226.16 (5) contain the information required under subdivisions 1 and 2; and 226.17 (6) be compatible with a prescription reader if a reader is provided. 226.18 226.19 (d) This subdivision does not apply to prescription drugs dispensed and administered by a correctional institution. 226.20 (e) For purposes of this subdivision, "prescription reader" means a device that is designed 226.21 to audibly convey the information contained on the label of a prescription drug container. 226.22 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 151.37, is amended by adding a subdivision to 226.23 read: 226.24 Subd. 17. Drugs for preventing the acquisition of HIV. (a) A pharmacist is authorized 226.25 to prescribe and administer drugs to prevent the acquisition of human immunodeficiency 226.26 virus (HIV) in accordance with this subdivision. 226.27 (b) By January 1, 2025, the Board of Pharmacy shall develop a standardized protocol 226.28 for a pharmacist to follow in prescribing the drugs described in paragraph (a). In developing 226.29 the protocol, the board may consult with community health advocacy groups, the Board of 226.30 Medical Practice, the Board of Nursing, the commissioner of health, professional pharmacy 226.31

04/16/24 06:07 1	pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

associations, and professional associations for physicians, physician assistants, and advanced 227.1 227.2 practice registered nurses. 227.3 (c) Before a pharmacist is authorized to prescribe a drug described in paragraph (a), the pharmacist must successfully complete a training program specifically developed for 227.4 prescribing drugs for preventing the acquisition of HIV that is offered by a college of 227.5 pharmacy, a continuing education provider that is accredited by the Accreditation Council 227.6 for Pharmacy Education, or a program approved by the board. To maintain authorization 227.7 to prescribe, the pharmacist shall complete continuing education requirements as specified 227.8 by the board. 227.9 227.10 (d) Before prescribing a drug described in paragraph (a), the pharmacist shall follow the appropriate standardized protocol developed under paragraph (b) and, if appropriate, may 227.11 dispense to a patient a drug described in paragraph (a). 227.12 (e) Before dispensing a drug described in paragraph (a) that is prescribed by the 227.13 pharmacist, the pharmacist must provide counseling to the patient on the use of the drugs 227.14 and must provide the patient with a fact sheet that includes the indications and 227.15 contraindications for the use of these drugs, the appropriate method for using these drugs, 227.16 the need for medical follow up, and any additional information listed in Minnesota Rules, 227.17 part 6800.0910, subpart 2, that is required to be provided to a patient during the counseling 227.18 227.19 process. (f) A pharmacist is prohibited from delegating the prescribing authority provided under 227.20 this subdivision to any other person. A pharmacist intern registered under section 151.101 227.21 may prepare the prescription, but before the prescription is processed or dispensed, a 227.22 pharmacist authorized to prescribe under this subdivision must review, approve, and sign 227.23 227.24 the prescription. (g) Nothing in this subdivision prohibits a pharmacist from participating in the initiation, 227.25 management, modification, and discontinuation of drug therapy according to a protocol as 227.26 authorized in this section and in section 151.01, subdivision 27. 227.27 227.28 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2025, except that paragraph (b) is effective the day following final enactment. 227.29 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 151.555, subdivision 1, is amended 227.30 to read: 227.31 Subdivision 1. **Definitions.** (a) For the purposes of this section, the terms defined in this 227.32

227.33

subdivision have the meanings given.

04/16/24 06:07 pm

(b) "Central repository" means a wholesale distributor that meets the requirements under 228.1 subdivision 3 and enters into a contract with the Board of Pharmacy in accordance with this 228.2 section. 228.3 (c) "Distribute" means to deliver, other than by administering or dispensing. 228.4 228.5 (d) "Donor" means: (1) a health care facility as defined in this subdivision an individual at least 18 years of 228.6 228.7 age, provided that the drug or medical supply that is donated was obtained legally and meets the requirements of this section for donation; or 228.8 (2) a skilled nursing facility licensed under chapter 144A; any entity legally authorized 228.9 to possess medicine with a license or permit in good standing in the state in which it is 228.10 located, without further restrictions, including but not limited to a health care facility, skilled 228.11 nursing facility, assisted living facility, pharmacy, wholesaler, and drug manufacturer. 228.12 (3) an assisted living facility licensed under chapter 144G; 228.13 228.14 (4) a pharmacy licensed under section 151.19, and located either in the state or outside the state; 228 15 (5) a drug wholesaler licensed under section 151.47; 228.16 (6) a drug manufacturer licensed under section 151.252; or 228.17 (7) an individual at least 18 years of age, provided that the drug or medical supply that 228.18 is donated was obtained legally and meets the requirements of this section for donation. 228.19 (e) "Drug" means any prescription drug that has been approved for medical use in the 228.20 United States, is listed in the United States Pharmacopoeia or National Formulary, and 228.21 meets the criteria established under this section for donation; or any over-the-counter medication that meets the criteria established under this section for donation. This definition 228.23 228.24 includes cancer drugs and antirejection drugs, but does not include controlled substances, as defined in section 152.01, subdivision 4, or a prescription drug that can only be dispensed 228.25 to a patient registered with the drug's manufacturer in accordance with federal Food and 228.26 Drug Administration requirements. 228.27 (f) "Health care facility" means: 228.28 (1) a physician's office or health care clinic where licensed practitioners provide health 228.29 228.30 care to patients;

228.31

(2) a hospital licensed under section 144.50;

(3) a pharmacy licensed under section 151.19 and located in Minnesota; or

229.1

229.2

229.3

- (4) a nonprofit community clinic, including a federally qualified health center; a rural health clinic; public health clinic; or other community clinic that provides health care utilizing a sliding fee scale to patients who are low-income, uninsured, or underinsured.
- 229.5 (g) "Local repository" means a health care facility that elects to accept donated drugs 229.6 and medical supplies and meets the requirements of subdivision 4.
- (h) "Medical supplies" or "supplies" means any prescription or nonprescription medical supplies needed to administer a drug.
- (i) "Original, sealed, unopened, tamper-evident packaging" means packaging that is sealed, unopened, and tamper-evident, including a manufacturer's original unit dose or unit-of-use container, a repackager's original unit dose or unit-of-use container, or unit-dose packaging prepared by a licensed pharmacy according to the standards of Minnesota Rules, part 6800.3750.
- 229.14 (j) "Practitioner" has the meaning given in section 151.01, subdivision 23, except that 229.15 it does not include a veterinarian.
- Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 151.555, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
- Subd. 4. **Local repository requirements.** (a) To be eligible for participation in the medication repository program, a health care facility must agree to comply with all applicable federal and state laws, rules, and regulations pertaining to the medication repository program, drug storage, and dispensing. The facility must also agree to maintain in good standing any required state license or registration that may apply to the facility.
- (b) A local repository may elect to participate in the program by submitting the following information to the central repository on a form developed by the board and made available on the board's website:
- (1) the name, street address, and telephone number of the health care facility and any state-issued license or registration number issued to the facility, including the issuing state agency;
- (2) the name and telephone number of a responsible pharmacist or practitioner who is employed by or under contract with the health care facility; and

04/16/24 06:07 pm

(3) a statement signed and dated by the responsible pharmacist or practitioner indicating that the health care facility meets the eligibility requirements under this section and agrees to comply with this section.

- (c) Participation in the medication repository program is voluntary. A local repository may withdraw from participation in the medication repository program at any time by providing written notice to the central repository on a form developed by the board and made available on the board's website. The central repository shall provide the board with a copy of the withdrawal notice within ten business days from the date of receipt of the withdrawal notice.
- Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 151.555, subdivision 5, is amended to read:
- Subd. 5. Individual eligibility and application requirements. (a) To be eligible for
 the medication repository program At the time of or before receiving donated drugs or
 supplies as a new eligible patient, an individual must submit to a local repository an electronic
 or physical intake application form that is signed by the individual and attests that the
 individual:
- 230.17 (1) is a resident of Minnesota;

230.1

230.2

230.3

230.4

230.5

230.6

230.7

230.8

- 230.18 (2) is uninsured and is not enrolled in the medical assistance program under chapter
 230.19 256B or the MinnesotaCare program under chapter 256L, has no prescription drug coverage,
 230.20 or is underinsured:
- 230.21 (3) acknowledges that the drugs or medical supplies to be received through the program may have been donated; and
- 230.23 (4) consents to a waiver of the child-resistant packaging requirements of the federal Poison Prevention Packaging Act.
- 230.25 (b) Upon determining that an individual is eligible for the program, the local repository
 230.26 shall furnish the individual with an identification card. The card shall be valid for one year
 230.27 from the date of issuance and may be used at any local repository. A new identification card
 230.28 may be issued upon expiration once the individual submits a new application form.
- (e) (b) The local repository shall send a copy of the intake application form to the central repository by regular mail, facsimile, or secured email within ten days from the date the application is approved by the local repository.

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

231.1 (d) (c) The board shall develop and make available on the board's website an application form and the format for the identification card.

231.3 Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 151.555, subdivision 6, is amended

- Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 151.555, subdivision 6, is amended to read:
- Subd. 6. Standards and procedures for accepting donations of drugs and supplies. (a)

 Notwithstanding any other law or rule, a donor may donate drugs or medical supplies to
 the central repository or a local repository if the drug or supply meets the requirements of
 this section as determined by a pharmacist or practitioner who is employed by or under
 contract with the central repository or a local repository.
- 231.10 (b) A drug is eligible for donation under the medication repository program if the 231.11 following requirements are met:
- (1) the donation is accompanied by a medication repository donor form described under paragraph (d) that is signed by an individual who is authorized by the donor to attest to the donor's knowledge in accordance with paragraph (d);
- (2) (1) the drug's expiration date is at least six months after the date the drug was donated.

 If a donated drug bears an expiration date that is less than six months from the donation
 date, the drug may be accepted and distributed if the drug is in high demand and can be
 dispensed for use by a patient before the drug's expiration date;
- (3) (2) the drug is in its original, sealed, unopened, tamper-evident packaging that includes the expiration date. Single-unit-dose drugs may be accepted if the single-unit-dose packaging is unopened;
- 231.22 (4) (3) the drug or the packaging does not have any physical signs of tampering, misbranding, deterioration, compromised integrity, or adulteration;
- 231.24 (5) (4) the drug does not require storage temperatures other than normal room temperature
 231.25 as specified by the manufacturer or United States Pharmacopoeia, unless the drug is being
 231.26 donated directly by its manufacturer, a wholesale drug distributor, or a pharmacy located
 231.27 in Minnesota; and
- 231.28 $\frac{(6)(5)}{(5)}$ the drug is not a controlled substance.
- (c) A medical supply is eligible for donation under the medication repository program if the following requirements are met:
- 231.31 (1) the supply has no physical signs of tampering, misbranding, or alteration and there 231.32 is no reason to believe it has been adulterated, tampered with, or misbranded;

(2)	the cumply	ic in ita	original	unonanad	canlad	packaging;	and
(4)	me suppry	19 111 113	original,	unopeneu,	Scarcu	packaging,	anu

232.1

232.2

232.3

232.4

232.5

232.6

232.7

232.8

232.9

232.10

232.11

232.12

232.13

232.14

232.15

232 16

232.22

232.23

232.24

232.25

232.26

232.27

232 28

232.29

232.30

232.31

232.32

- (3) the donation is accompanied by a medication repository donor form described under paragraph (d) that is signed by an individual who is authorized by the donor to attest to the donor's knowledge in accordance with paragraph (d); and
- (4) (3) if the supply bears an expiration date, the date is at least six months later than the date the supply was donated. If the donated supply bears an expiration date that is less than six months from the date the supply was donated, the supply may be accepted and distributed if the supply is in high demand and can be dispensed for use by a patient before the supply's expiration date.
- (d) The board shall develop the medication repository donor form and make it available on the board's website. The form must state that to the best of the donor's knowledge the donated drug or supply has been properly stored under appropriate temperature and humidity conditions and that the drug or supply has never been opened, used, tampered with, adulterated, or misbranded. Prior to the first donation from a new donor, a central repository or local repository shall verify and record the following information on the donor form:
 - (1) the donor's name, address, phone number, and license number, if applicable;
- 232.17 (2) that the donor will only make donations in accordance with the program;
- 232.18 (3) to the best of the donor's knowledge, only drugs or supplies that have been properly
 232.19 stored under appropriate temperature and humidity conditions will be donated; and
- 232.20 (4) to the best of the donor's knowledge, only drugs or supplies that have never been opened, used, tampered with, adulterated, or misbranded will be donated.
 - (e) Notwithstanding any other law or rule, a central repository or a local repository may receive donated drugs from donors. Donated drugs and supplies may be shipped or delivered to the premises of the central repository or a local repository, and shall be inspected by a pharmacist or an authorized practitioner who is employed by or under contract with the repository and who has been designated by the repository to accept donations prior to dispensing. A drop box must not be used to deliver or accept donations.
 - (f) The central repository and local repository shall <u>maintain a written or electronic</u> inventory <u>of</u> all drugs and supplies donated to the repository <u>upon acceptance of each drug</u> <u>or supply</u>. For each drug, the inventory must include the drug's name, strength, quantity, manufacturer, expiration date, and the date the drug was donated. For each medical supply, the inventory must include a description of the supply, its manufacturer, the date the supply was donated, and, if applicable, the supply's brand name and expiration date. <u>The board</u>

may waive the requirement under this paragraph if an entity is under common ownership or control with a central repository or local repository and either the entity or the repository maintains an inventory containing all the information required under this paragraph.

- Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 151.555, subdivision 7, is amended to read:
- Subd. 7. Standards and procedures for inspecting and storing donated drugs and supplies. (a) A pharmacist or authorized practitioner who is employed by or under contract with the central repository or a local repository shall inspect all donated drugs and supplies before the drug or supply is dispensed to determine, to the extent reasonably possible in the professional judgment of the pharmacist or practitioner, that the drug or supply is not adulterated or misbranded, has not been tampered with, is safe and suitable for dispensing, has not been subject to a recall, and meets the requirements for donation. The pharmacist or practitioner who inspects the drugs or supplies shall sign an inspection record stating that the requirements for donation have been met. If a local repository receives drugs and supplies from the central repository, the local repository does not need to reinspect the drugs and supplies.
- (b) The central repository and local repositories shall store donated drugs and supplies in a secure storage area under environmental conditions appropriate for the drug or supply being stored. Donated drugs and supplies may not be stored with nondonated inventory.
- (c) The central repository and local repositories shall dispose of all drugs and medical supplies that are not suitable for donation in compliance with applicable federal and state statutes, regulations, and rules concerning hazardous waste.
- (d) In the event that controlled substances or drugs that can only be dispensed to a patient registered with the drug's manufacturer are shipped or delivered to a central or local repository for donation, the shipment delivery must be documented by the repository and returned immediately to the donor or the donor's representative that provided the drugs.
- (e) Each repository must develop drug and medical supply recall policies and procedures.

 If a repository receives a recall notification, the repository shall destroy all of the drug or
 medical supply in its inventory that is the subject of the recall and complete a record of
 destruction form in accordance with paragraph (f). If a drug or medical supply that is the
 subject of a Class I or Class II recall has been dispensed, the repository shall immediately
 notify the recipient of the recalled drug or medical supply. A drug that potentially is subject
 to a recall need not be destroyed if its packaging bears a lot number and that lot of the drug
 is not subject to the recall. If no lot number is on the drug's packaging, it must be destroyed.

233.1

233.2

233.3

233.4

233.5

233.6

233.7

233.8

233.9

233.10

233.11

233.12

233.13

233.14

233 15

233.16

233.17

233.18

233.19

233.20

233.21

233.22

233.23

233.24

233.25

04/16/24 06:07 pm

(f) A record of destruction of donated drugs and supplies that are not dispensed under subdivision 8, are subject to a recall under paragraph (e), or are not suitable for donation shall be maintained by the repository for at least two years. For each drug or supply destroyed, the record shall include the following information:

(1) the date of destruction;

234.1

234.2

234.3

234.4

234.5

234.6

234.11

234.12

234.13

234.14

234.15

234.17

234.18

234.19

234.20

234.21

234.22

- (2) the name, strength, and quantity of the drug destroyed; and
- 234.7 (3) the name of the person or firm that destroyed the drug.
- No other record of destruction is required.
- Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 151.555, subdivision 8, is amended to read:
 - Subd. 8. **Dispensing requirements.** (a) Donated <u>prescription</u> drugs and supplies may be dispensed if the drugs or supplies are prescribed by a practitioner for use by an eligible individual and are dispensed by a pharmacist or practitioner. A repository shall dispense drugs and supplies to eligible individuals in the following priority order: (1) individuals who are uninsured; (2) individuals with no prescription drug coverage; and (3) individuals who are underinsured. A repository shall dispense donated drugs in compliance with applicable federal and state laws and regulations for dispensing drugs, including all requirements relating to packaging, labeling, record keeping, drug utilization review, and patient counseling.
 - (b) Before dispensing or administering a drug or supply, the pharmacist or practitioner shall visually inspect the drug or supply for adulteration, misbranding, tampering, and date of expiration. Drugs or supplies that have expired or appear upon visual inspection to be adulterated, misbranded, or tampered with in any way must not be dispensed or administered.
- (c) Before a the first drug or supply is dispensed or administered to an individual, the individual must sign a an electronic or physical drug repository recipient form acknowledging that the individual understands the information stated on the form. The board shall develop the form and make it available on the board's website. The form must include the following information:
- 234.29 (1) that the drug or supply being dispensed or administered has been donated and may 234.30 have been previously dispensed;

04/16/24 06:07 pm

(2) that a visual inspection has been conducted by the pharmacist or practitioner to ensure 235.1 that the drug or supply has not expired, has not been adulterated or misbranded, and is in 235.2 its original, unopened packaging; and 235.3 (3) that the dispensing pharmacist, the dispensing or administering practitioner, the 235.4 central repository or local repository, the Board of Pharmacy, and any other participant of 235.5 the medication repository program cannot guarantee the safety of the drug or medical supply 235.6 being dispensed or administered and that the pharmacist or practitioner has determined that 235.7 235.8 the drug or supply is safe to dispense or administer based on the accuracy of the donor's form submitted with the donated drug or medical supply and the visual inspection required 235.9 to be performed by the pharmacist or practitioner before dispensing or administering. 235.10 Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 151.555, subdivision 9, is amended 235.11 235.12 to read: Subd. 9. Handling fees. (a) The central or local repository may charge the individual 235.13 receiving a drug or supply a handling fee of no more than 250 percent of the medical 235.14 assistance program dispensing fee for each drug or medical supply dispensed or administered 235.15 235.16 by that repository. (b) A repository that dispenses or administers a drug or medical supply through the 235.17 medication repository program shall not receive reimbursement under the medical assistance 235.18 program or the MinnesotaCare program for that dispensed or administered drug or supply. 235.19 (c) A supply or handling fee must not be charged to an individual enrolled in the medical 235.20 assistance or MinnesotaCare program. 235.21 Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 151.555, subdivision 11, is amended 235.22 to read: 235.23 235.24 Subd. 11. Forms and record-keeping requirements. (a) The following forms developed for the administration of this program shall be utilized by the participants of the program 235.25 and shall be available on the board's website: 235.26 (1) intake application form described under subdivision 5; 235.27 (2) local repository participation form described under subdivision 4; 235.28 (3) local repository withdrawal form described under subdivision 4; 235.29 (4) medication repository donor form described under subdivision 6; 235.30 (5) record of destruction form described under subdivision 7; and 235.31

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2
0 1/10/2 1 00:07 PIII	CCCTUBEE	1 11112/1 111/1	50510771

(6) medication repository recipient form described under subdivision 8.

Participants may use substantively similar electronic or physical forms.

236.1

236.2

236.3

236.4

236.5

236.6

236.7

- (b) All records, including drug inventory, inspection, and disposal of donated drugs and medical supplies, must be maintained by a repository for a minimum of two years. Records required as part of this program must be maintained pursuant to all applicable practice acts.
- (c) Data collected by the medication repository program from all local repositories shall be submitted quarterly or upon request to the central repository. Data collected may consist of the information, records, and forms required to be collected under this section.
- 236.9 (d) The central repository shall submit reports to the board as required by the contract or upon request of the board.
- Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 151.555, subdivision 12, is amended to read:
- Subd. 12. **Liability.** (a) The manufacturer of a drug or supply is not subject to criminal or civil liability for injury, death, or loss to a person or to property for causes of action described in clauses (1) and (2). A manufacturer is not liable for:
- 236.16 (1) the intentional or unintentional alteration of the drug or supply by a party not under 236.17 the control of the manufacturer; or
- (2) the failure of a party not under the control of the manufacturer to transfer or communicate product or consumer information or the expiration date of the donated drug or supply.
- (b) A health care facility participating in the program, a pharmacist dispensing a drug 236.21 or supply pursuant to the program, a practitioner dispensing or administering a drug or 236.22 supply pursuant to the program, or a donor of a drug or medical supply, or a person or entity 236.23 that facilitates any of the above is immune from civil liability for an act or omission that 236.24 causes injury to or the death of an individual to whom the drug or supply is dispensed and 236.25 no disciplinary action by a health-related licensing board shall be taken against a pharmacist 236.26 or practitioner person or entity so long as the drug or supply is donated, accepted, distributed, 236.27 and dispensed according to the requirements of this section. This immunity does not apply 236.29 if the act or omission involves reckless, wanton, or intentional misconduct, or malpractice unrelated to the quality of the drug or medical supply. 236.30

Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 256B.0625, subdivision 13f, is amended to read:

- Subd. 13f. **Prior authorization.** (a) The Formulary Committee shall review and recommend drugs which require prior authorization. The Formulary Committee shall establish general criteria to be used for the prior authorization of brand-name drugs for which generically equivalent drugs are available, but the committee is not required to review each brand-name drug for which a generically equivalent drug is available.
- (b) Prior authorization may be required by the commissioner before certain formulary drugs are eligible for payment. The Formulary Committee may recommend drugs for prior authorization directly to the commissioner. The commissioner may also request that the Formulary Committee review a drug for prior authorization. Before the commissioner may require prior authorization for a drug:
- 237.13 (1) the commissioner must provide information to the Formulary Committee on the 237.14 impact that placing the drug on prior authorization may have on the quality of patient care 237.15 and on program costs, information regarding whether the drug is subject to clinical abuse 237.16 or misuse, and relevant data from the state Medicaid program if such data is available;
- 237.17 (2) the Formulary Committee must review the drug, taking into account medical and clinical data and the information provided by the commissioner; and
- 237.19 (3) the Formulary Committee must hold a public forum and receive public comment for an additional 15 days.
- The commissioner must provide a 15-day notice period before implementing the prior authorization.
- (c) Except as provided in subdivision 13j, prior authorization shall not be required or utilized for any atypical antipsychotic drug prescribed for the treatment of mental illness if:
- 237.26 (1) there is no generically equivalent drug available; and
- 237.27 (2) the drug was initially prescribed for the recipient prior to July 1, 2003; or
- 237.28 (3) the drug is part of the recipient's current course of treatment.
- This paragraph applies to any multistate preferred drug list or supplemental drug rebate program established or administered by the commissioner. Prior authorization shall automatically be granted for 60 days for brand name drugs prescribed for treatment of mental illness within 60 days of when a generically equivalent drug becomes available, provided

237.3

237.4

237.5

237.6

237.7

237.8

237.9

237.10

237.11

that the brand name drug was part of the recipient's course of treatment at the time the generically equivalent drug became available.

- (d) Prior authorization must not be required for liquid methadone if only one version of liquid methadone is available. If more than one version of liquid methadone is available, the commissioner shall ensure that at least one version of liquid methadone is available without prior authorization.
- (e) Prior authorization may be required for an oral liquid form of a drug, except as described in paragraph (d). A prior authorization request under this paragraph must be automatically approved within 24 hours if the drug is being prescribed for a Food and Drug Administration-approved condition for a patient who utilizes an enteral tube for feedings or medication administration, even if the patient has current or prior claims for pills for that condition. If more than one version of the oral liquid form of a drug is available, the commissioner may select the version that is able to be approved for a Food and Drug Administration-approved condition for a patient who utilizes an enteral tube for feedings or medication administration. This paragraph applies to any multistate preferred drug list or supplemental drug rebate program established or administered by the commissioner. The commissioner shall design and implement a streamlined prior authorization form for patients who utilize an enteral tube for feedings or medication administration and are prescribed an oral liquid form of a drug. The commissioner may require prior authorization for brand name drugs whenever a generically equivalent product is available, even if the prescriber specifically indicates "dispense as written-brand necessary" on the prescription as required by section 151.21, subdivision 2.
- (f) Notwithstanding this subdivision, the commissioner may automatically require prior authorization, for a period not to exceed 180 days, for any drug that is approved by the United States Food and Drug Administration on or after July 1, 2005. The 180-day period begins no later than the first day that a drug is available for shipment to pharmacies within the state. The Formulary Committee shall recommend to the commissioner general criteria to be used for the prior authorization of the drugs, but the committee is not required to review each individual drug. In order to continue prior authorizations for a drug after the 180-day period has expired, the commissioner must follow the provisions of this subdivision.
- 238.31 (g) Prior authorization under this subdivision shall comply with section 62Q.184.
- (h) Any step therapy protocol requirements established by the commissioner must comply with section 62Q.1841.

238.1

238.2

238.3

238.4

238.5

238.6

238.7

238.8

238.9

238.10

238.11

238.12

238.13

238.14

238.15

238.17

238.18

238.19

238.20

238.21

238.22

238.23

238.24

238.25

238.26

238.28

238.29

04/16/24 06:07	COLNICEI	AIII /NIII/TC	CCC4600 A 2
04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

239.1	(i) Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, prior authorization or step therapy shall not
239.2	be required or utilized for any class of drugs that is approved by the United States Food and
239.3	Drug Administration for the treatment or prevention of HIV/AIDS.
239.4	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2026.
239.5	Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256B.0625, is amended by adding a subdivision
239.6	to read:
239.7	Subd. 13k. Vaccines and laboratory tests provided by pharmacists. (a) Medical
239.8	assistance covers vaccines initiated, ordered, or administered by a licensed pharmacist,
239.9	according to the requirements of section 151.01, subdivision 27, clause (6), at no less than
239.10	the rate for which the same services are covered when provided by any other licensed
239.11	practitioner.
239.12	(b) Medical assistance covers laboratory tests ordered and performed by a licensed
239.13	pharmacist, according to the requirements of section 151.01, subdivision 27, clause (3), at
239.14	no less than the rate for which the same services are covered when provided by any other
239.15	licensed practitioner.
239.16	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025, or upon federal approval,
239.17	whichever is later. The commissioner of human services shall notify the revisor of statutes
239.18	when federal approval is obtained.
239.19	Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256B.0625, subdivision 39, is amended to read:
239.20	Subd. 39. Childhood immunizations. Providers who administer pediatric vaccines
239.21	within the scope of their licensure, and who are enrolled as a medical assistance provider,
239.22	must enroll in the pediatric vaccine administration program established by section 13631
239.23	of the Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1993. Medical assistance shall pay for
239.24	administration of the vaccine to children eligible for medical assistance. Medical assistance
239.25	does not pay for vaccines that are available at no cost from the pediatric vaccine
239.26	administration program unless the vaccines qualify for one hundred percent federal funding
239.27	or are mandated by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services to be covered outside
239.28	of the Vaccines for Children program.
239.29	Sec. 25. RULEMAKING; BOARD OF PHARMACY.
239.30	The Board of Pharmacy must amend Minnesota Rules, part 6800.3400, to permit and
239.31	promote the inclusion of the following on a prescription label:

	04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2
240.1	(1) the complete and unabbrevia	ted generic name of	the drug; and	
240.2	(2) instructions written in plain l	anguage explaining	the patient-specific	indications for
240.3	the drug.			
240.4	The Board of Pharmacy must compl	y with Minnesota St	catutes, section 14.3	389, in adopting
240.5	the amendment to the rule.			
240.6	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section	ion is effective the d	ay following final	enactment.
240.7		ARTICLE 9		
240.8	BEH	IAVIORAL HEAL	ГН	
240.9 240.10	Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 202 amended to read:	3 Supplement, section	on 245.4889, subdi	vision 1, is
240.11	Subdivision 1. Establishment a	• , ,	ne commissioner is	authorized to
240.12	make grants from available appropr	iations to assist:		
240.13	(1) counties;			
240.14	(2) Indian tribes;			
240.15	(3) children's collaboratives under	er section 124D.23 o	or 245.493; or	
240.16	(4) mental health service provide	ers.		
240.17	(b) The following services are el	igible for grants und	ler this section:	
240.18	(1) services to children with emo	otional disturbances	as defined in section	on 245.4871,
240.19	subdivision 15, and their families;			
240.20	(2) transition services under sect	ion 245.4875, subdi	vision 8, for young	adults under
240.21	age 21 and their families;			
240.22	(3) respite care services for child	lren with emotional	disturbances or sev	ere emotional
240.23	disturbances who are at risk of out-o	of-home placement of	or residential treatm	nent or
240.24	hospitalization, who are already in ou	t-of-home placemen	t in family foster set	ttings as defined
240.25	in chapter 245A and at risk of change	e in out-of-home plac	ement or placemen	t in a residential
240.26	facility or other higher level of care	, who have utilized o	erisis services or en	nergency room
240.27	services, or who have experienced a	loss of in-home sta	ffing support. Allo	wable activities
240.28	and expenses for respite care services	s are defined under su	abdivision 4. A chile	d is not required
240.29	to have case management services to	o receive respite car	e services. Countie	s must work to

240.30 provide regular access to regularly scheduled respite care;

- 241.1 (4) children's mental health crisis services;
- 241.2 (5) child-, youth-, and family-specific mobile response and stabilization services models;
- 241.3 (6) mental health services for people from cultural and ethnic minorities, including supervision of clinical trainees who are Black, indigenous, or people of color;
- 241.5 (7) children's mental health screening and follow-up diagnostic assessment and treatment;
- 241.6 (8) services to promote and develop the capacity of providers to use evidence-based practices in providing children's mental health services;
- 241.8 (9) school-linked mental health services under section 245.4901;
- 241.9 (10) building evidence-based mental health intervention capacity for children birth to age five;
- 241.11 (11) suicide prevention and counseling services that use text messaging statewide;
- 241.12 (12) mental health first aid training;
- (13) training for parents, collaborative partners, and mental health providers on the impact of adverse childhood experiences and trauma and development of an interactive website to share information and strategies to promote resilience and prevent trauma;
- 241.16 (14) transition age services to develop or expand mental health treatment and supports for adolescents and young adults 26 years of age or younger;
- 241.18 (15) early childhood mental health consultation;
- (16) evidence-based interventions for youth at risk of developing or experiencing a first episode of psychosis, and a public awareness campaign on the signs and symptoms of psychosis;
- 241.22 (17) psychiatric consultation for primary care practitioners; and
- 241.23 (18) providers to begin operations and meet program requirements when establishing a new children's mental health program. These may be start-up grants.
- (c) Services under paragraph (b) must be designed to help each child to function and remain with the child's family in the community and delivered consistent with the child's treatment plan. Transition services to eligible young adults under this paragraph must be designed to foster independent living in the community.
- 241.29 (d) As a condition of receiving grant funds, a grantee shall obtain all available third-party reimbursement sources, if applicable.

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

(e) The commissioner may establish and design a pilot program to expand the mobile response and stabilization services model for children, youth, and families. The commissioner may use grant funding to consult with a qualified expert entity to assist in the formulation of measurable outcomes and explore and position the state to submit a Medicaid state plan amendment to scale the model statewide.

- Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 254B.04, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:
- Subd. 1a. Client eligibility. (a) Persons eligible for benefits under Code of Federal Regulations, title 25, part 20, who meet the income standards of section 256B.056, subdivision 4, and are not enrolled in medical assistance, are entitled to behavioral health fund services. State money appropriated for this paragraph must be placed in a separate account established for this purpose.
- (b) Persons with dependent children who are determined to be in need of substance use disorder treatment pursuant to an assessment under section 260E.20, subdivision 1, or in need of chemical dependency treatment pursuant to a case plan under section 260C.201, subdivision 6, or 260C.212, shall be assisted by the local agency to access needed treatment services. Treatment services must be appropriate for the individual or family, which may include long-term care treatment or treatment in a facility that allows the dependent children to stay in the treatment facility. The county shall pay for out-of-home placement costs, if applicable.
- (c) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), persons any person enrolled in medical assistance are or MinnesotaCare is eligible for room and board services under section 254B.05, subdivision 5, paragraph (b), clause (12) (9).
- 242.24 (d) A client is eligible to have substance use disorder treatment paid for with funds from the behavioral health fund when the client:
- 242.26 (1) is eligible for MFIP as determined under chapter 256J;
- 242.27 (2) is eligible for medical assistance as determined under Minnesota Rules, parts 9505.0010 to 9505.0150;
- 242.29 (3) is eligible for general assistance, general assistance medical care, or work readiness 242.30 as determined under Minnesota Rules, parts 9500.1200 to 9500.1318; or
- 242.31 (4) has income that is within current household size and income guidelines for entitled persons, as defined in this subdivision and subdivision 7.

242.1

242.2

242.3

242.4

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

(e) Clients who meet the financial eligibility requirement in paragraph (a) and who have a third-party payment source are eligible for the behavioral health fund if the third-party payment source pays less than 100 percent of the cost of treatment services for eligible clients.

(f) A client is ineligible to have substance use disorder treatment services paid for with

- (f) A client is ineligible to have substance use disorder treatment services paid for with behavioral health fund money if the client:
- 243.7 (1) has an income that exceeds current household size and income guidelines for entitled persons as defined in this subdivision and subdivision 7; or
- (2) has an available third-party payment source that will pay the total cost of the client's treatment.
- 243.11 (g) A client who is disenrolled from a state prepaid health plan during a treatment episode 243.12 is eligible for continued treatment service that is paid for by the behavioral health fund until 243.13 the treatment episode is completed or the client is re-enrolled in a state prepaid health plan 243.14 if the client:
- 243.15 (1) continues to be enrolled in MinnesotaCare, medical assistance, or general assistance medical care; or
- (2) is eligible according to paragraphs (a) and (b) and is determined eligible by a local agency under section 254B.04.
- (h) When a county commits a client under chapter 253B to a regional treatment center for substance use disorder services and the client is ineligible for the behavioral health fund, the county is responsible for the payment to the regional treatment center according to section 254B.05, subdivision 4.
- 243.23 (i) Persons enrolled in MinnesotaCare are eligible for room and board services when provided through intensive residential treatment services and residential crisis services under section 256B.0622.
- EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025, or upon federal approval,
 whichever is later. The commissioner of human services shall inform the revisor of statutes
 when federal approval is obtained.
- Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256B.0622, subdivision 2a, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2a. **Eligibility for assertive community treatment.** An eligible client for assertive community treatment is an individual who meets the following criteria as assessed by an ACT team:

(1) is age 18 or older. Individuals ages 16 and 17 may be eligible upon approval by the commissioner;

- (2) has a primary diagnosis of schizophrenia, schizoaffective disorder, major depressive disorder with psychotic features, other psychotic disorders, or bipolar disorder. Individuals with other psychiatric illnesses may qualify for assertive community treatment if they have a serious mental illness and meet the criteria outlined in clauses (3) and (4), but no more than ten percent of an ACT team's clients may be eligible based on this criteria. Individuals with a primary diagnosis of a substance use disorder, intellectual developmental disabilities, borderline personality disorder, antisocial personality disorder, traumatic brain injury, or an autism spectrum disorder are not eligible for assertive community treatment;
- 244.11 (3) has significant functional impairment as demonstrated by at least one of the following conditions:
- 244.13 (i) significant difficulty consistently performing the range of routine tasks required for 244.14 basic adult functioning in the community or persistent difficulty performing daily living 244.15 tasks without significant support or assistance;
- 244.16 (ii) significant difficulty maintaining employment at a self-sustaining level or significant 244.17 difficulty consistently carrying out the head-of-household responsibilities; or
- 244.18 (iii) significant difficulty maintaining a safe living situation;
- 244.19 (4) has a need for continuous high-intensity services as evidenced by at least two of the following:
- 244.21 (i) two or more psychiatric hospitalizations or residential crisis stabilization services in 244.22 the previous 12 months;
- 244.23 (ii) frequent utilization of mental health crisis services in the previous six months;
- 244.24 (iii) 30 or more consecutive days of psychiatric hospitalization in the previous 24 months;
- 244.25 (iv) intractable, persistent, or prolonged severe psychiatric symptoms;
- (v) coexisting mental health and substance use disorders lasting at least six months;
- 244.27 (vi) recent history of involvement with the criminal justice system or demonstrated risk 244.28 of future involvement;
- 244.29 (vii) significant difficulty meeting basic survival needs;
- 244.30 (viii) residing in substandard housing, experiencing homelessness, or facing imminent 244.31 risk of homelessness;

244.1

244.2

244.3

244.4

244.5

244.6

244.7

244.8

244.9

04/16/24 06:07 pm

245.1	(ix) significant impairment with social and interpersonal functioning such that basic
245.2	needs are in jeopardy;
245.3	(x) coexisting mental health and physical health disorders lasting at least six months;
245.4	(xi) residing in an inpatient or supervised community residence but clinically assessed
245.5	to be able to live in a more independent living situation if intensive services are provided;
245.6	(xii) requiring a residential placement if more intensive services are not available; or
245.7	(xiii) difficulty effectively using traditional office-based outpatient services; or
245.8	(xiv) receiving services through a program that meets the requirements for the first
245.9	episode of psychosis grant program under section 245.4905 and having been determined to
245.10	need an ACT team;
245.11	(5) there are no indications that other available community-based services would be
245.12	equally or more effective as evidenced by consistent and extensive efforts to treat the
245.13	individual; and
245.14	(6) in the written opinion of a licensed mental health professional, has the need for mental
245.15	health services that cannot be met with other available community-based services, or is
245.16	likely to experience a mental health crisis or require a more restrictive setting if assertive
245.17	community treatment is not provided.
245.18	Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256B.0622, subdivision 3a, is amended to read:
245.19	Subd. 3a. Provider certification and contract requirements for assertive community
245.20	treatment. (a) The assertive community treatment provider must:
245.21	(1) have a contract with the host county to provide assertive community treatment
245.22	services; and
245.23	(2) have each ACT team be certified by the state following the certification process and
245.24	procedures developed by the commissioner. The certification process determines whether
245.25	the ACT team meets the standards for assertive community treatment under this section,
245.26	the standards in chapter 245I as required in section 245I.011, subdivision 5, and minimum
245.27	program fidelity standards as measured by a nationally recognized fidelity tool approved
245.28	by the commissioner. Recertification must occur at least every three years.
245.29	(b) An ACT team certified under this subdivision must meet the following standards:
245.30	(1) have capacity to recruit, hire, manage, and train required ACT team members;
245.31	(2) have adequate administrative ability to ensure availability of services;

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

(3) ensure flexibility in service delivery to respond to the changing and intermittent care 246.1 needs of a client as identified by the client and the individual treatment plan; 246.2 (4) keep all necessary records required by law; 246.3 (5) be an enrolled Medicaid provider; and 246.4 (6) establish and maintain a quality assurance plan to determine specific service outcomes 246.5 and the client's satisfaction with services. 246.6 246.7 (c) The commissioner may intervene at any time and decertify an ACT team with cause. The commissioner shall establish a process for decertification of an ACT team and shall 246.8 require corrective action, medical assistance repayment, or decertification of an ACT team 246.9 that no longer meets the requirements in this section or that fails to meet the clinical quality 246.10 standards or administrative standards provided by the commissioner in the application and 246.11 certification process. The decertification is subject to appeal to the state. 246.12 246.13 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256B.0622, subdivision 7a, is amended to read: Subd. 7a. Assertive community treatment team staff requirements and roles. (a) 246.14 246.15 The required treatment staff qualifications and roles for an ACT team are: (1) the team leader: 246.16 246.17 (i) shall be a mental health professional. Individuals who are not licensed but who are eligible for licensure and are otherwise qualified may also fulfill this role but must obtain 246.18 full licensure within 24 months of assuming the role of team leader; 246.19 (ii) must be an active member of the ACT team and provide some direct services to 246.20 clients; 246.21 (iii) must be a single full-time staff member, dedicated to the ACT team, who is 246.22 responsible for overseeing the administrative operations of the team, providing treatment 246.23 supervision of services in conjunction with the psychiatrist or psychiatric care provider, and 246.24 supervising team members to ensure delivery of best and ethical practices; and 246.25 (iv) must be available to provide ensure that overall treatment supervision to the ACT 246.26 team is available after regular business hours and on weekends and holidays. The team 246.27

(2) the psychiatric care provider:

team;

246.28

246.29

246.30

leader may delegate this duty to another, and is provided by a qualified member of the ACT

0 (/ 10/2 : 00/0 / pm	04/16/24 06:07 pm COUNSEL AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2
-----------------------	-------------------------------------	------------

(i) must be a mental health professional permitted to prescribe psychiatric medications as part of the mental health professional's scope of practice. The psychiatric care provider must have demonstrated clinical experience working with individuals with serious and persistent mental illness;

- (ii) shall collaborate with the team leader in sharing overall clinical responsibility for screening and admitting clients; monitoring clients' treatment and team member service delivery; educating staff on psychiatric and nonpsychiatric medications, their side effects, and health-related conditions; actively collaborating with nurses; and helping provide treatment supervision to the team;
- (iii) shall fulfill the following functions for assertive community treatment clients:

 provide assessment and treatment of clients' symptoms and response to medications, including

 side effects; provide brief therapy to clients; provide diagnostic and medication education

 to clients, with medication decisions based on shared decision making; monitor clients'

 nonpsychiatric medical conditions and nonpsychiatric medications; and conduct home and

 community visits;
- (iv) shall serve as the point of contact for psychiatric treatment if a client is hospitalized for mental health treatment and shall communicate directly with the client's inpatient psychiatric care providers to ensure continuity of care;
 - (v) shall have a minimum full-time equivalency that is prorated at a rate of 16 hours per 50 clients. Part-time psychiatric care providers shall have designated hours to work on the team, with sufficient blocks of time on consistent days to carry out the provider's clinical, supervisory, and administrative responsibilities. No more than two psychiatric care providers may share this role; and
 - (vi) shall provide psychiatric backup to the program after regular business hours and on weekends and holidays. The psychiatric care provider may delegate this duty to another qualified psychiatric provider;
 - (3) the nursing staff:

247.1

247.2

247.3

247.4

247.5

247.6

247.7

247.8

247.9

247.19

247.20

247.21

247.22

247.23

247.24

247.25

247.26

- 247.28 (i) shall consist of one to three registered nurses or advanced practice registered nurses, 247.29 of whom at least one has a minimum of one-year experience working with adults with 247.30 serious mental illness and a working knowledge of psychiatric medications. No more than 247.31 two individuals can share a full-time equivalent position;
- 247.32 (ii) are responsible for managing medication, administering and documenting medication 247.33 treatment, and managing a secure medication room; and

(iii) shall develop strategies, in collaboration with clients, to maximize taking medications as prescribed; screen and monitor clients' mental and physical health conditions and medication side effects; engage in health promotion, prevention, and education activities; communicate and coordinate services with other medical providers; facilitate the development of the individual treatment plan for clients assigned; and educate the ACT team in monitoring psychiatric and physical health symptoms and medication side effects;

(4) the co-occurring disorder specialist:

248.1

248.2

248.3

248.4

248.5

248.6

248.7

248.8

248.9

248.10

248.11

248.12

248.13

248.14

248.15

- (i) shall be a full-time equivalent co-occurring disorder specialist who has received specific training on co-occurring disorders that is consistent with national evidence-based practices. The training must include practical knowledge of common substances and how they affect mental illnesses, the ability to assess substance use disorders and the client's stage of treatment, motivational interviewing, and skills necessary to provide counseling to clients at all different stages of change and treatment. The co-occurring disorder specialist may also be an individual who is a licensed alcohol and drug counselor as described in section 148F.01, subdivision 5, or a counselor who otherwise meets the training, experience, and other requirements in section 245G.11, subdivision 5. No more than two co-occurring disorder specialists may occupy this role; and
- (ii) shall provide or facilitate the provision of co-occurring disorder treatment to clients.

 The co-occurring disorder specialist shall serve as a consultant and educator to fellow ACT team members on co-occurring disorders;
- 248.21 (5) the vocational specialist:
- (i) shall be a full-time vocational specialist who has at least one-year experience providing employment services or advanced education that involved field training in vocational services to individuals with mental illness. An individual who does not meet these qualifications may also serve as the vocational specialist upon completing a training plan approved by the commissioner;
- 248.27 (ii) shall provide or facilitate the provision of vocational services to clients. The vocational specialist serves as a consultant and educator to fellow ACT team members on these services; and
- 248.30 (iii) must not refer individuals to receive any type of vocational services or linkage by 248.31 providers outside of the ACT team;
- 248.32 (6) the mental health certified peer specialist:

04/16/24 06:07 pi	m COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2
0 1/ 1 0/ 2 1 0 0 1 0 / pi	COULDEE	11112/1111/10	50510771

(i) shall be a full-time equivalent. No more than two individuals can share this position. The mental health certified peer specialist is a fully integrated team member who provides highly individualized services in the community and promotes the self-determination and shared decision-making abilities of clients. This requirement may be waived due to workforce shortages upon approval of the commissioner;

- (ii) must provide coaching, mentoring, and consultation to the clients to promote recovery, self-advocacy, and self-direction, promote wellness management strategies, and assist clients in developing advance directives; and
- (iii) must model recovery values, attitudes, beliefs, and personal action to encourage wellness and resilience, provide consultation to team members, promote a culture where the clients' points of view and preferences are recognized, understood, respected, and integrated into treatment, and serve in a manner equivalent to other team members;
- (7) the program administrative assistant shall be a full-time office-based program administrative assistant position assigned to solely work with the ACT team, providing a range of supports to the team, clients, and families; and
 - (8) additional staff:

249.1

249.2

249.3

249.4

249.5

249.6

249.7

249.8

249.9

249.10

249.11

249 12

249.13

249.14

249.15

- (i) shall be based on team size. Additional treatment team staff may include mental health professionals; clinical trainees; certified rehabilitation specialists; mental health practitioners; or mental health rehabilitation workers. These individuals shall have the knowledge, skills, and abilities required by the population served to carry out rehabilitation and support functions; and
- 249.22 (ii) shall be selected based on specific program needs or the population served.
- (b) Each ACT team must clearly document schedules for all ACT team members.
- (c) Each ACT team member must serve as a primary team member for clients assigned by the team leader and are responsible for facilitating the individual treatment plan process for those clients. The primary team member for a client is the responsible team member knowledgeable about the client's life and circumstances and writes the individual treatment plan. The primary team member provides individual supportive therapy or counseling, and provides primary support and education to the client's family and support system.
- 249.30 (d) Members of the ACT team must have strong clinical skills, professional qualifications, 249.31 experience, and competency to provide a full breadth of rehabilitation services. Each staff 249.32 member shall be proficient in their respective discipline and be able to work collaboratively 249.33 as a member of a multidisciplinary team to deliver the majority of the treatment,

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

rehabilitation, and support services clients require to fully benefit from receiving assertive 250.1 community treatment. 250.2 (e) Each ACT team member must fulfill training requirements established by the 250.3 commissioner. 250.4 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 256B.0622, subdivision 7b, is 250.5 amended to read: 250.6 250.7 Subd. 7b. Assertive community treatment program size and opportunities scores. (a) Each ACT team shall maintain an annual average caseload that does not exceed 100 clients. 250.8 Staff-to-client ratios shall be based on team size as follows: must demonstrate that the team 250.9 attained a passing score according to the most recently issued Tool for Measurement of 250.10 Assertive Community Treatment (TMACT). 250.11 (1) a small ACT team must: 250.12 250.13 (i) employ at least six but no more than seven full-time treatment team staff, excluding the program assistant and the psychiatric care provider; 250.14 250.15 (ii) serve an annual average maximum of no more than 50 clients; (iii) ensure at least one full-time equivalent position for every eight clients served; 250.16 250.17 (iv) schedule ACT team staff on weekdays and on-eall duty to provide crisis services and deliver services after hours when staff are not working; (v) provide crisis services during business hours if the small ACT team does not have 250.19 sufficient staff numbers to operate an after-hours on-call system. During all other hours, 250.20 the ACT team may arrange for coverage for crisis assessment and intervention services through a reliable crisis-intervention provider as long as there is a mechanism by which the 250.22 ACT team communicates routinely with the crisis-intervention provider and the on-call 250.23 ACT team staff are available to see clients face-to-face when necessary or if requested by 250 24 the crisis-intervention services provider; 250.25 (vi) adjust schedules and provide staff to carry out the needed service activities in the 250.26 evenings or on weekend days or holidays, when necessary; 250.27 (vii) arrange for and provide psychiatric backup during all hours the psychiatric care 250.28 provider is not regularly scheduled to work. If availability of the ACT team's psychiatric 250.29 care provider during all hours is not feasible, alternative psychiatric prescriber backup must be arranged and a mechanism of timely communication and coordination established in 250.31 250.32 writing; and

(viii) be composed of, at minimum, one full-time team leader, at least 16 hours each week per 50 clients of psychiatric provider time, or equivalent if fewer clients, one full-time equivalent nursing, one full-time co-occurring disorder specialist, one full-time equivalent mental health certified peer specialist, one full-time vocational specialist, one full-time program assistant, and at least one additional full-time ACT team member who has mental health professional, certified rehabilitation specialist, clinical trainee, or mental health practitioner status; and

(2) a midsize ACT team shall:

251.1

251.2

251.3

251.4

251.5

251.6

251.7

251.8

251.9

251.10

251.11

251.12

251.13

251 14

251.15

251.16

251.19

251.27

251.28

251.29

251.30

- (i) be composed of, at minimum, one full-time team leader, at least 16 hours of psychiatry time for 51 clients, with an additional two hours for every six clients added to the team, 1.5 to two full-time equivalent nursing staff, one full-time co-occurring disorder specialist, one full-time equivalent mental health certified peer specialist, one full-time vocational specialist, one full-time program assistant, and at least 1.5 to two additional full-time equivalent ACT members, with at least one dedicated full-time staff member with mental health professional status. Remaining team members may have mental health professional, certified rehabilitation specialist, clinical trainee, or mental health practitioner status;
- 251.17 (ii) employ seven or more treatment team full-time equivalents, excluding the program
 251.18 assistant and the psychiatric care provider;
 - (iii) serve an annual average maximum caseload of 51 to 74 clients;
- 251.20 (iv) ensure at least one full-time equivalent position for every nine clients served;
- 251.21 (v) schedule ACT team staff for a minimum of ten-hour shift coverage on weekdays
 251.22 and six- to eight-hour shift coverage on weekends and holidays. In addition to these minimum
 251.23 specifications, staff are regularly scheduled to provide the necessary services on a
 251.24 client-by-client basis in the evenings and on weekends and holidays;
- 251.25 (vi) schedule ACT team staff on-call duty to provide crisis services and deliver services
 251.26 when staff are not working;
 - (vii) have the authority to arrange for coverage for crisis assessment and intervention services through a reliable crisis-intervention provider as long as there is a mechanism by which the ACT team communicates routinely with the crisis-intervention provider and the on-call ACT team staff are available to see clients face-to-face when necessary or if requested by the crisis-intervention services provider; and
- 251.32 (viii) arrange for and provide psychiatric backup during all hours the psychiatric care
 251.33 provider is not regularly scheduled to work. If availability of the psychiatric care provider

during all hours is not feasible, alternative psychiatric prescriber backup must be arranged 252.1 and a mechanism of timely communication and coordination established in writing; 252.2 252.3 (3) a large ACT team must: (i) be composed of, at minimum, one full-time team leader, at least 32 hours each week 252.4 252.5 per 100 clients, or equivalent of psychiatry time, three full-time equivalent nursing staff, one full-time co-occurring disorder specialist, one full-time equivalent mental health certified 252.6 peer specialist, one full-time vocational specialist, one full-time program assistant, and at 252.7 least two additional full-time equivalent ACT team members, with at least one dedicated 252.8 full-time staff member with mental health professional status. Remaining team members 252.9 may have mental health professional or mental health practitioner status; 252.10 (ii) employ nine or more treatment team full-time equivalents, excluding the program 252.11 252.12 assistant and psychiatric care provider; (iii) serve an annual average maximum caseload of 75 to 100 clients; 252.13 (iv) ensure at least one full-time equivalent position for every nine individuals served; 252.14 (v) schedule staff to work two eight-hour shifts, with a minimum of two staff on the 252.15 second shift providing services at least 12 hours per day weekdays. For weekends and 252.16 holidays, the team must operate and schedule ACT team staff to work one eight-hour shift, 252.17 with a minimum of two staff each weekend day and every holiday; 252.18 (vi) schedule ACT team staff on-call duty to provide crisis services and deliver services 252.19 when staff are not working; and 252.20 (vii) arrange for and provide psychiatric backup during all hours the psychiatric care 252.21 provider is not regularly scheduled to work. If availability of the ACT team psychiatric care provider during all hours is not feasible, alternative psychiatric backup must be arranged 252.23 and a mechanism of timely communication and coordination established in writing. 252.24 (b) An ACT team of any size may have a staff-to-client ratio that is lower than the 252.25 requirements described in paragraph (a) upon approval by the commissioner, but may not exceed a one-to-ten staff-to-client ratio. 252.27 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256B.0622, subdivision 7d, is amended to read: 252.28 Subd. 7d. Assertive community treatment assessment and individual treatment 252.29 **plan.** (a) An initial assessment shall be completed the day of the client's admission to 252.30 assertive community treatment by the ACT team leader or the psychiatric care provider, 252.31 with participation by designated ACT team members and the client. The initial assessment 252.32

must include obtaining or completing a standard diagnostic assessment according to section 245I.10, subdivision 6, and completing a 30-day individual treatment plan. The team leader, psychiatric care provider, or other mental health professional designated by the team leader or psychiatric care provider, must update the client's diagnostic assessment at least annually as required under section 245I.10, subdivision 2, paragraphs (f) and (g).

- (b) A functional assessment must be completed according to section 245I.10, subdivision 9. Each part of the functional assessment areas shall be completed by each respective team specialist or an ACT team member with skill and knowledge in the area being assessed.
- (c) Between 30 and 45 days after the client's admission to assertive community treatment, the entire ACT team must hold a comprehensive case conference, where all team members, including the psychiatric provider, present information discovered from the completed assessments and provide treatment recommendations. The conference must serve as the basis for the first individual treatment plan, which must be written by the primary team member.
- 253.15 (d) The client's psychiatric care provider, primary team member, and individual treatment 253.16 team members shall assume responsibility for preparing the written narrative of the results 253.17 from the psychiatric and social functioning history timeline and the comprehensive 253.18 assessment.
 - (e) The primary team member and individual treatment team members shall be assigned by the team leader in collaboration with the psychiatric care provider by the time of the first treatment planning meeting or 30 days after admission, whichever occurs first.
- 253.22 (f) Individual treatment plans must be developed through the following treatment planning process:
 - (1) The individual treatment plan shall be developed in collaboration with the client and the client's preferred natural supports, and guardian, if applicable and appropriate. The ACT team shall evaluate, together with each client, the client's needs, strengths, and preferences and develop the individual treatment plan collaboratively. The ACT team shall make every effort to ensure that the client and the client's family and natural supports, with the client's consent, are in attendance at the treatment planning meeting, are involved in ongoing meetings related to treatment, and have the necessary supports to fully participate. The client's participation in the development of the individual treatment plan shall be documented.
 - (2) The client and the ACT team shall work together to formulate and prioritize the issues, set goals, research approaches and interventions, and establish the plan. The plan is individually tailored so that the treatment, rehabilitation, and support approaches and

253.1

253.2

253.3

253.4

253.5

253.6

253.7

253.8

253.9

253.10

253.11

253.12

253.13

253 14

253.19

253.20

253.21

253.24

253.27

253.28

253.29

253.30

253.31

253.32

253.33

interventions achieve optimum symptom reduction, help fulfill the personal needs and aspirations of the client, take into account the cultural beliefs and realities of the individual, and improve all the aspects of psychosocial functioning that are important to the client. The process supports strengths, rehabilitation, and recovery.

- (3) Each client's individual treatment plan shall identify service needs, strengths and capacities, and barriers, and set specific and measurable short- and long-term goals for each service need. The individual treatment plan must clearly specify the approaches and interventions necessary for the client to achieve the individual goals, when the interventions shall happen, and identify which ACT team member shall carry out the approaches and interventions.
- (4) The primary team member and the individual treatment team, together with the client and the client's family and natural supports with the client's consent, are responsible for 254.12 reviewing and rewriting the treatment goals and individual treatment plan whenever there 254.13 is a major decision point in the client's course of treatment or at least every six months.
 - (5) The primary team member shall prepare a summary that thoroughly describes in writing the client's and the individual treatment team's evaluation of the client's progress and goal attainment, the effectiveness of the interventions, and the satisfaction with services since the last individual treatment plan. The client's most recent diagnostic assessment must be included with the treatment plan summary.
- (6) The individual treatment plan and review must be approved or acknowledged by the 254.20 client, the primary team member, the team leader, the psychiatric care provider, and all 254.21 individual treatment team members. A copy of the approved individual treatment plan must 254.22 be made available to the client. 254.23
- Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 256B.0671, subdivision 5, is amended 254.24 254.25 to read:
- Subd. 5. Child and family psychoeducation services. (a) Medical assistance covers child and family psychoeducation services provided to a child up to age 21 with and the child's family members, when determined to be medically necessary due to a diagnosed mental health condition when or diagnosed mental illness identified in the child's individual treatment plan and provided by a mental health professional who is qualified under section 245I.04, subdivision 2, and practicing within the scope of practice under section 245I.04, subdivision 3, or a clinical trainee who has determined it medically necessary to involve 254.32 family members in the child's care is qualified under section 245I.04, subdivision 6, and practicing within the scope of practice under section 245I.04, subdivision 7.

254.1

254.2

254.3

254.4

254.5

254.6

254.7

254.8

254.9

254.10

254.11

254.14

254.15

254.16

254.17

254.18

254.19

254.26

254.27

254.28

254.29

254.30

254.31

254.33

04/16/24 06:07 pm

(b) "Child and family psychoeducation services" means information or demonstration provided to an individual or family as part of an individual, family, multifamily group, or peer group session to explain, educate, and support the child and family in understanding a child's symptoms of mental illness, the impact on the child's development, and needed components of treatment and skill development so that the individual, family, or group can help the child to prevent relapse, prevent the acquisition of comorbid disorders, and achieve optimal mental health and long-term resilience. (c) Child and family psychoeducation services include individual, family, or group skills development or training, to: (1) support the development of psychosocial skills that are medically necessary to rehabilitate the child to an age-appropriate developmental trajectory, when the child's development was disrupted by a mental health condition or diagnosed mental illness; or (2) enable the child to self-monitor, compensate for, cope with, counteract, or replace skills deficits or maladaptive skills acquired over the course of the child's mental health condition or mental illness. 255.15 (d) Skills development or training delivered to a child or the child's family under this

- subdivision must be targeted to the specific deficits related to the child's mental health condition or mental illness, and must be prescribed in the child's individual treatment plan. Group skills training may be provided to multiple recipients who, because of the nature of their emotional, behavioral, or social functional ability, may benefit from interaction in a group setting.
- Sec. 9. Laws 2023, chapter 70, article 1, section 35, is amended to read: 255.22
- Sec. 35. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256B.761, is amended to read: 255.23

256B.761 REIMBURSEMENT FOR MENTAL HEALTH SERVICES. 255.24

- 255.25 (a) Effective for services rendered on or after July 1, 2001, payment for medication management provided to psychiatric patients, outpatient mental health services, day treatment 255.26 services, home-based mental health services, and family community support services shall 255.27 be paid at the lower of (1) submitted charges, or (2) 75.6 percent of the 50th percentile of 255.28 1999 charges. 255.29
- 255.30 (b) Effective July 1, 2001, the medical assistance rates for outpatient mental health services provided by an entity that operates: (1) a Medicare-certified comprehensive 255.31 outpatient rehabilitation facility; and (2) a facility that was certified prior to January 1, 1993, 255.32

255.1

255.2

255.3

255.4

255.5

255.6

255.7

255.8

255.9

255.10

255.11

255.12

255.13

255.14

255.16

255.17

255.19

255.20

with at least 33 percent of the clients receiving rehabilitation services in the most recent calendar year who are medical assistance recipients, will be increased by 38 percent, when those services are provided within the comprehensive outpatient rehabilitation facility and provided to residents of nursing facilities owned by the entity.

- (c) In addition to rate increases otherwise provided, the commissioner may restructure coverage policy and rates to improve access to adult rehabilitative mental health services under section 256B.0623 and related mental health support services under section 256B.021, subdivision 4, paragraph (f), clause (2). For state fiscal years 2015 and 2016, the projected state share of increased costs due to this paragraph is transferred from adult mental health grants under sections 245.4661 and 256E.12. The transfer for fiscal year 2016 is a permanent base adjustment for subsequent fiscal years. Payments made to managed care plans and county-based purchasing plans under sections 256B.69, 256B.692, and 256L.12 shall reflect the rate changes described in this paragraph.
- (d) Any ratables effective before July 1, 2015, do not apply to early intensive developmental and behavioral intervention (EIDBI) benefits described in section 256B.0949.
- 256.16 (e) Effective for services rendered on or after January 1, 2024, payment rates for behavioral health services included in the rate analysis required by Laws 2021, First Special 256.17 Session chapter 7, article 17, section 18, except for adult day treatment services under section 256.18 256B.0671, subdivision 3; early intensive developmental and behavioral intervention services 256.19 under section 256B.0949; and substance use disorder services under chapter 254B, must be 256.20 increased by three percent from the rates in effect on December 31, 2023. Effective for 256.21 services rendered on or after January 1, 2025, payment rates for behavioral health services 256.22 included in the rate analysis required by Laws 2021, First Special Session chapter 7, article 256.23 17, section 18, except for adult day treatment services under section 256B.0671, subdivision 256.24 3; early intensive developmental behavioral intervention services under section 256B.0949; 256.25 and substance use disorder services under chapter 254B, must be annually adjusted according to the change from the midpoint of the previous rate year to the midpoint of the rate year 256.27 for which the rate is being determined using the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services 256.28 Medicare Economic Index as forecasted in the fourth quarter of the calendar year before 256.29 the rate year. For payments made in accordance with this paragraph, if and to the extent 256.30 that the commissioner identifies that the state has received federal financial participation 256.31 for behavioral health services in excess of the amount allowed under United States Code, 256.32 title 42, section 447.321, the state shall repay the excess amount to the Centers for Medicare 256.33 and Medicaid Services with state money and maintain the full payment rate under this 256.34 paragraph. This paragraph does not apply to federally qualified health centers, rural health 256.35

256.1

256.2

256.3

256.4

256.5

256.6

256.7

256.8

256.9

256.10

256.11

256.13

256.14

04/16/24 06:07 1	om COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

centers, Indian health services, certified community behavioral health clinics, cost-based rates, and rates that are negotiated with the county. This paragraph expires upon legislative implementation of the new rate methodology resulting from the rate analysis required by Laws 2021, First Special Session chapter 7, article 17, section 18.

(f) Effective January 1, 2024, the commissioner shall increase capitation payments made to managed care plans and county-based purchasing plans to reflect the behavioral health service rate increase provided in paragraph (e). Managed care and county-based purchasing plans must use the capitation rate increase provided under this paragraph to increase payment rates to behavioral health services providers. The commissioner must monitor the effect of this rate increase on enrollee access to behavioral health services. If for any contract year federal approval is not received for this paragraph, the commissioner must adjust the capitation rates paid to managed care plans and county-based purchasing plans for that contract year to reflect the removal of this provision. Contracts between managed care plans and county-based purchasing plans and providers to whom this paragraph applies must allow recovery of payments from those providers if capitation rates are adjusted in accordance with this paragraph. Payment recoveries must not exceed the amount equal to any increase in rates that results from this provision.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective on January 1, 2025, or upon federal approval, whichever is later. The commissioner of human services shall notify the revisor of statutes when federal approval is obtained.

257.21 Sec. 10. <u>DIRECTION TO THE COMMISSIONER; MEDICAL ASSISTANCE RATE</u>

257.22 INCREASES.

257.1

257.2

257.3

257.4

257.5

257.6

257.7

257.8

257.9

257.10

257.11

257.13

257.14

257.15

257.16

- Subdivision 1. Rate increases; services. The commissioner of human services shall increase payment rates under the medical assistance program for:
- 257.25 (1) residential substance use disorder services rendered on or after January 1, 2025;
- 257.26 (2) inpatient behavioral health services provided by hospitals paid under the
- 257.27 diagnosis-related group methodology, for discharges occurring on or after January 1, 2025;
- 257.28 (3) behavioral health home services under Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.0757,
- 257.29 rendered on or after January 1, 2025;
- 257.30 (4) physician and professional services for mental health and substance use disorder 257.31 rendered on or after January 1, 2025; and

0.4/1.6/0.4.06.07	COLDICEL	ATT ATTEM	0.0004.004.0
04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

258.1	(5) services under Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.761, billed and coded under
258.2	Healthcare Common Procedure Coding System H, S, and T codes, and rendered on or after
258.3	January 1, 2025.
258.4	Subd. 2. Rate increases; amount. The total amount of the rate increases under
258.5	subdivision 1 must be equal to the amount of the appropriation made in this act for the
258.6	purpose of increasing such rates.
258.7	Sec. 11. FIRST EPISODE PSYCHOSIS COORDINATED SPECIALITY CARE
258.8	MEDICAL ASSISTANCE BENEFIT.
258.9	(a) The commissioner of human services must develop a First Episode Psychosis
258.10	Coordinated Specialty Care (FEP-CSC) Medical Assistance benefit.
258.11	(b) The benefit must cover medically necessary treatment. Services must include:
258.12	(1) assertive outreach and engagement strategies encouraging individuals' involvement;
258.13	(2) person-centered care, delivered in the home and community, extending beyond
258.14	typical hours of operation, such as evenings and weekends;
258.15	(3) crisis planning and intervention;
258.16	(4) team leadership from a mental health professional who provides ongoing consultation
258.17	to the team members, coordinates admission screening, and leads the weekly team meetings
258.18	to facilitate case review and entry to program;
258.19	(5) employment and education services that enable individuals to function in workplace
258.20	and educational settings that support individual preferences;
258.21	(6) family education and support that builds on an individual's identified family and
258.22	natural support systems;
258.23	(7) individual and group psychotherapy that include, but are not limited to cognitive
258.24	behavioral therapies;
258.25	(8) care coordination services in clinic, community, and home settings to assist individuals
258.26	with practical problem solving, such as securing transportation, housing and other basic
258.27	needs, money management, obtaining medical care, and coordinating care with other
258.28	providers; and
258.29	(9) pharmacotherapy, medication management, and primary care coordination, provided
258.30	by a mental health professional who is permitted to prescribe psychiatric medications.
258.31	(c) An eligible recipient is an individual who:
	(-) 212121 22 22 21 21 21 21 21 21 21 21 21

	04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2
259.1	(1) is between the ages of 15 and 40;			
259.2	(2) is experiencing early signs of psy	chosis with the du	iration of onset beir	ng less than
259.3	two years; and			
259.4	(3) has been on antipsychotic medica	ations for less than	a total of 12 month	<u>1S.</u>
259.5	(d) By December 1, 2026, the comm	issioner must subi	mit a report to the cl	hairs and
259.6	ranking minority members of the legisla	tive committees w	vith jurisdiction ove	r human
259.7	services policy and finance. The report r	nust include:		
259.8	(1) an overview of the recommended	benefit;		
259.9	(2) eligibility requirements;			
259.10	(3) program standards;			
259.11	(4) a reimbursement methodology th	at covers team-ba	sed bundled costs;	
259.12	(5) performance evaluation criteria fo	or programs; and		
259.13	(6) draft legislation with the statutory	changes necessa	ry to implement the	benefit.
259.14	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is	s effective July 1,	2024.	
259.15	Sec. 12. MEDICAL ASSISTANCE (CHILDREN'S RI	ESIDENTIAL ME	<u>NTAL</u>

259.16 HEALTH CRISIS STABILIZATION.

- (a) The commissioner of human services must consult with providers, advocates, Tribal
 Nations, counties, people with lived experience as or with a child in a mental health crisis,
 and other interested community members to develop a covered benefit under medical
 assistance to provide residential mental health crisis stabilization for children. The benefit
 must:
- 259.22 (1) consist of evidence-based promising practices, or culturally responsive treatment 259.23 services for children under the age of 21 experiencing a mental health crisis;
- 259.24 (2) embody an integrative care model that supports individuals experiencing a mental 259.25 health crisis who may also be experiencing co-occurring conditions;
- 259.26 (3) qualify for federal financial participation; and
- 259.27 (4) include services that support children and families, including but not limited to:
- (i) an assessment of the child's immediate needs and factors that led to the mental health

259.29 crisis;

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2
07/10/27 00.0/ pm	COUNDLL	1111L/1111/10	DCDTU//II

260.1	(ii) individualized care to address immediate needs and restore the child to a precrisis
260.2	level of functioning;
260.3	(iii) 24-hour on-site staff and assistance;
260.4	(iv) supportive counseling and clinical services;
260.5	(v) skills training and positive support services, as identified in the child's individual
260.6	crisis stabilization plan;
260.7	(vi) referrals to other service providers in the community as needed and to support the
260.8	child's transition from residential crisis stabilization services;
260.9	(vii) development of an individualized and culturally responsive crisis response action
260.10	plan; and
260.11	(viii) assistance to access and store medication.
260.12	(b) When developing the new benefit, the commissioner must make recommendations
260.13	for providers to be reimbursed for room and board.
260.14	(c) The commissioner must consult with or contract with rate-setting experts to develop
260.15	a prospective data-based rate methodology for the children's residential mental health crisis
260.16	stabilization benefit.
260.17	(d) No later than October 1, 2025, the commissioner must submit to the chairs and
260.18	ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over human
260.19	services policy and finance a report detailing for the children's residential mental health
260.20	crisis stabilization benefit and must include:
260.21	(1) eligibility, clinical and service requirements, provider standards, licensing
260.22	requirements, and reimbursement rates;
260.23	(2) process for community engagement, community input, and crisis models studied in
260.24	other states;
260.25	(3) deadline for the commissioner to submit a state plan amendment to the Centers for
260.26	Medicare and Medicaid Services; and
260.27	(4) draft legislation with the statutory changes necessary to implement the benefit.
260.28	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.

261.1	Sec. 13. MEDICAL ASSISTANCE CLUBHOUSE BENEFIT ANALYSIS.
261.2	The commissioner of human services must conduct an analysis to identify existing or
261.3	pending Medicaid Clubhouse benefits in other states, federal authorities used, populations
261.4	served, service and reimbursement design, and accreditation standards. By December 1,
261.5	2025, the commissioner must submit a report to the chairs and ranking members of the
261.6	committees with jurisdiction over health and human services finance and policy. The report
261.7	must include a comparative analysis of Medicaid Clubhouse programs and recommendations
261.8	for designing a Medical Assistance benefit in Minnesota.
261.9	Sec. 14. STUDY ON MEDICAL ASSISTANCE CHILDREN'S INTENSIVE
261.10	RESIDENTIAL TREATMENT BENEFIT.
261.11	(a) The commissioner of human services must consult with providers, advocates, Tribal
261.12	Nations, counties, people with lived experience as or with a child experiencing mental health
261.13	conditions, and other interested community members to develop a Medical Assistance state
261.14	plan covered benefit to provide intensive residential mental health services for children and
261.15	youth. The benefit must:
261.16	(1) consist of evidence-based promising practices and culturally responsive treatment
261.17	services for children under the age of 21;
261.18	(2) adapt to an integrative care model that supports individuals experiencing mental
261.19	health and co-occurring conditions;
261.20	(3) qualify for federal financial participation; and
261.21	(4) include services that support children, youth, and families, including but not limited
261.22	to:

261.23 (i) assessment;

- 261.24 (ii) individual treatment planning;
- 261.25 (iii) 24-hour on-site staff and assistance;
- 261.26 (iv) supportive counseling and clinical services; and
- 261.27 (v) referrals to other service providers in the community as needed and to support
- 261.28 <u>transition to the family home or own home.</u>
- 261.29 (b) When developing the new benefit, the commissioner must make recommendations 261.30 for providers to be reimbursed for room and board.

	04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2
262.1	(c) The commissioner must consult	with or contract v	with rate-setting exp	erts to develop
262.2	a prospective data-based rate methodol	ogy for the child	ren's intensive resid	ential mental
262.3	health services.			
262.4	(d) No later than August 1, 2026, the	commissioner m	ust submit to the cha	irs and ranking
262.5	minority members of the legislative com			
262.6	and finance a report detailing the propo			services poney
202.0	and imance a report detaining the prope	sed beliefft, fileft	dung.	
262.7	(1) eligibility, clinical and service re	equirements, prov	vider standards, lice	nsing
262.8	requirements, and reimbursement rates	• •		
262.9	(2) process for community engagement	ent, community in	nput, and residential	models studied
262.10	in other states;			
262.11	(3) deadline for the commissioner to	o submit a state p	olan amendment to the	he Centers for
262.12	Medicare and Medicaid Services; and	•		
262.13	(4) draft legislation with the statuto	ry changes neces	sary to implement th	ne benefit.
262.14	-			
262.14	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section	is effective July	1, 2024.	
262.15	Sec. 15. REVISOR INSTRUCTION	<u>N.</u>		
262.16	The revisor of statutes, in consultati	on with the Offic	e of Senate Counsel	, Research and
262.17	Fiscal Analysis; the House Research De	epartment; and the	e commissioner of h	uman services,
262.18	shall prepare legislation for the 2025 le	gislative session	to recodify Minneso	ota Statutes,
262.19	section 256B.0622, to move provisions re	elated to assertive	community treatmen	nt and intensive
262.20	residential treatment services into separ	ate sections of st	atute. The revisor sh	all correct any
262.21	cross-references made necessary by thi	s recodification.		
262.22		ARTICLE 10		
262.22262.23		ECTION AND V	WEI FADE	
202.23	CHILDIKOH		WEDIANE	
262.24	Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2023 S	upplement, section	on 256.01, subdivisi	on 12b, is
262.25	amended to read:			

Subd. 12b. **Department of Human Services systemic critical incident review team.** (a)
The commissioner may establish a Department of Human Services systemic critical incident review team to review critical incidents reported as required under section 626.557 for which the Department of Human Services is responsible under section 626.5572, subdivision 13; chapter 245D; or Minnesota Rules, chapter 9544; or child fatalities and near fatalities that occur in licensed facilities and are not due to natural causes. When reviewing a critical

incident, the systemic critical incident review team shall identify systemic influences to the incident rather than determine the culpability of any actors involved in the incident. The systemic critical incident review may assess the entire critical incident process from the point of an entity reporting the critical incident through the ongoing case management process. Department staff shall lead and conduct the reviews and may utilize county staff as reviewers. The systemic critical incident review process may include but is not limited to:

- (1) data collection about the incident and actors involved. Data may include the relevant critical services; the service provider's policies and procedures applicable to the incident; the community support plan as defined in section 245D.02, subdivision 4b, for the person receiving services; or an interview of an actor involved in the critical incident or the review of the critical incident. Actors may include:
- 263.13 (i) staff of the provider agency;

263.1

263.2

263.3

263.4

263.5

263.6

263.7

263.8

263.9

263.10

- 263.14 (ii) lead agency staff administering home and community-based services delivered by
 263.15 the provider;
- 263.16 (iii) Department of Human Services staff with oversight of home and community-based services;
- 263.18 (iv) Department of Health staff with oversight of home and community-based services;
- (v) members of the community including advocates, legal representatives, health care providers, pharmacy staff, or others with knowledge of the incident or the actors in the incident; and
- 263.22 (vi) staff from the Office of the Ombudsman for Mental Health and Developmental 263.23 Disabilities and the Office of Ombudsman for Long-Term Care;
- (2) systemic mapping of the critical incident. The team conducting the systemic mapping of the incident may include any actors identified in clause (1), designated representatives of other provider agencies, regional teams, and representatives of the local regional quality council identified in section 256B.097; and
- 263.28 (3) analysis of the case for systemic influences.
- Data collected by the critical incident review team shall be aggregated and provided to regional teams, participating regional quality councils, and the commissioner. The regional teams and quality councils shall analyze the data and make recommendations to the commissioner regarding systemic changes that would decrease the number and severity of

critical incidents in the future or improve the quality of the home and community-based service system.

- (b) Cases selected for the systemic critical incident review process shall be selected by a selection committee among the following critical incident categories:
- (1) cases of caregiver neglect identified in section 626.5572, subdivision 17;
- 264.6 (2) cases involving financial exploitation identified in section 626.5572, subdivision 9;
- 264.7 (3) incidents identified in section 245D.02, subdivision 11;

264.1

264.2

264.3

- 264.8 (4) behavior interventions identified in Minnesota Rules, part 9544.0110;
- 264.9 (5) service terminations reported to the department in accordance with section 245D.10, subdivision 3a; and
- 264.11 (6) other incidents determined by the commissioner.
- (c) The systemic critical incident review under this section shall not replace the process for screening or investigating cases of alleged maltreatment of an adult under section 626.557 or of a child under chapter 260E. The department may select cases for systemic critical incident review, under the jurisdiction of the commissioner, reported for suspected maltreatment and closed following initial or final disposition.
- (d) The proceedings and records of the review team are confidential data on individuals 264.17 or protected nonpublic data as defined in section 13.02, subdivisions 3 and 13. Data that 264.18 document a person's opinions formed as a result of the review are not subject to discovery 264.19 or introduction into evidence in a civil or criminal action against a professional, the state, 264.20 or a county agency arising out of the matters that the team is reviewing. Information, 264 21 documents, and records otherwise available from other sources are not immune from 264.22 discovery or use in a civil or criminal action solely because the information, documents, 264.23 and records were assessed or presented during proceedings of the review team. A person 264.24 who presented information before the systemic critical incident review team or who is a member of the team shall not be prevented from testifying about matters within the person's 264.26 knowledge. In a civil or criminal proceeding, a person shall not be questioned about opinions 264.27 formed by the person as a result of the review. 264.28
- 264.29 (e) By October 1 of each year, the commissioner shall prepare an annual public report containing the following information:
- 264.31 (1) the number of cases reviewed under each critical incident category identified in 264.32 paragraph (b) and a geographical description of where cases under each category originated;

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2
0 1/10/2 1 00:07 PIII	CCCTUBEE	1 11112/1 111/1	50510771

(2) an aggregate summary of the systemic themes from the critical incidents examined 265.1 by the critical incident review team during the previous year; 265.2 (3) a synopsis of the conclusions, incident analyses, or exploratory activities taken in 265.3 regard to the critical incidents examined by the critical incident review team; and 265.4 265.5 (4) recommendations made to the commissioner regarding systemic changes that could decrease the number and severity of critical incidents in the future or improve the quality 265.6 of the home and community-based service system. 265.7 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2025. 265.8 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256N.26, subdivision 12, is amended to read: 265.9 Subd. 12. Treatment of Supplemental Security Income. (a) If a child placed in foster 265.10 care receives benefits through Supplemental Security Income (SSI) at the time of foster 265.11 care placement or subsequent to placement in foster care, the financially responsible agency 265.12 may apply to be the payee for the child for the duration of the child's placement in foster 265.13 care. If a child continues to be eligible for SSI after finalization of the adoption or transfer 265 14 of permanent legal and physical custody and is determined to be eligible for a payment 265.15 under Northstar Care for Children, a permanent caregiver may choose to receive payment 265.16 from both programs simultaneously. The permanent caregiver is responsible to report the 265.17 amount of the payment to the Social Security Administration and the SSI payment will be reduced as required by the Social Security Administration. 265.19 (b) If a financially responsible agency applies to be the payee for a child who receives 265.20 benefits through SSI, or receives the benefits under this subdivision on behalf of a child, 265.21 the financially responsible agency must provide written notice by certified mail, return 265.22 receipt requested to: 265.23 (1) the child, if the child is 13 years of age or older; 265.24 (2) the child's next of kin; 265.25 (3) the guardian ad litem; 265.26 (4) the legally responsible agency; and 265.27 (5) the counsel appointed for the child pursuant to section 260C.163, subdivision 3. 265.28 (c) If a financially responsible agency receives benefits under this subdivision on behalf 265.29 of a child 13 years of age or older, the legally responsible agency and the guardian ad litem 265.30

265.31

must disclose this information to the child in person in a manner that best helps the child

understand the information. This paragraph does not apply in circumstances where the child 266.1 is living outside of Minnesota. 266.2 (d) If a financially responsible agency receives the benefits under this subdivision on 266.3 behalf of a child, it cannot use those funds for any other purpose than the care of that child. 266.4 266.5 The financially responsible agency must not commingle any benefits received under this subdivision and must not put the benefits received on behalf of a child under this subdivision 266.6 into a general fund. 266.7 (e) If a financially responsible agency receives any benefits under this subdivision, it 266.8 266.9 must keep a record of: (1) the total dollar amount it received on behalf of all children it receives benefits for; 266.10 (2) the total number of children it applied to be a payee for; and 266.11 (3) the total number of children it received benefits for. 266.12 (f) By January 1 of each year, each financially responsible agency must submit a report 266.13 to the commissioner of human services that includes the information required under paragraph 266.14 (c). By January 31 of each year, the commissioner must submit a report to the chairs and 266.15 ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over child 266.16 protection that compiles the information provided to the commissioner by each financially 266.17 responsible agency under paragraph (e); subdivision 13, paragraph (e); and section 266.18 260C.4411, subdivision 3, paragraph (d). This paragraph expires January 31, 2034. 266.19 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256N.26, subdivision 13, is amended to read: 266.20 Subd. 13. Treatment of retirement survivor's disability insurance, veteran's benefits, 266.21 railroad retirement benefits, and black lung benefits. (a) If a child placed in foster care 266.22 receives retirement survivor's disability insurance, veteran's benefits, railroad retirement benefits, or black lung benefits at the time of foster care placement or subsequent to 266.24 placement in foster care, the financially responsible agency may apply to be the payee for 266.25 the child for the duration of the child's placement in foster care. If it is anticipated that a 266.26 child will be eligible to receive retirement survivor's disability insurance, veteran's benefits, 266.27 railroad retirement benefits, or black lung benefits after finalization of the adoption or 266.28 266.29 assignment of permanent legal and physical custody, the permanent caregiver shall apply to be the payee of those benefits on the child's behalf. 266.30 (b) If the financially responsible agency applies to be the payee for a child who receives 266.31 retirement survivor's disability insurance, veteran's benefits, railroad retirement benefits, 266.32 or black lung benefits, or receives the benefits under this subdivision on behalf of a child, 266.33

267.1	the financially responsible agency must provide written notice by certified mail, return
267.2	receipt requested to:
267.3	(1) the child, if the child is 13 years of age or older;
267.4	(2) the child's next of kin;
267.5	(3) the guardian ad litem;
267.6	(4) the legally responsible agency; and
267.7	(5) the counsel appointed for the child pursuant to section 260C.163, subdivision 3.
267.8	(c) If a financially responsible agency receives benefits under this subdivision on behalf
267.9	of a child 13 years of age or older, the legally responsible agency and the guardian ad litem
267.10	must disclose this information to the child in person in a manner that best helps the child
267.11	understand the information. This paragraph does not apply in circumstances where the child
267.12	is living outside of Minnesota.
267.13	(d) If a financially responsible agency receives the benefits under this subdivision on
267.14	behalf of a child, it cannot use those funds for any other purpose than the care of that child.
267.15	The financially responsible agency must not commingle any benefits received under this
267.16	subdivision and must not put the benefits received on behalf of a child under this subdivision
267.17	into a general fund.
267.18	(e) If a financially responsible agency receives any benefits under this subdivision, it
267.19	must keep a record of:
267.20	(1) the total dollar amount it received on behalf of all children it receives benefits for;
267.21	(2) the total number of children it applied to be a payee for; and
267.22	(3) the total number of children it received benefits for.
267.23	(f) By January 1 of each year, each financially responsible agency must submit a report
267.24	to the commissioner of human services that includes the information required under paragraph
267.25	<u>(e).</u>
267.26	Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 260.014, is amended by adding a
267.27	subdivision to read:
267.28	Subd. 5. Carryforward authority. Funds appropriated under this section are available
267.29	for two fiscal years.

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260C.4411, is amended by adding a subdivision 268.1 268.2 to read: 268.3 Subd. 3. **Notice.** (a) If the county of financial responsibility under section 256G.02 or Tribal agency authorized under section 256.01, subdivision 14b, receives any benefits under 268.4 268.5 subdivision 2 on behalf of a child, it must provide written notice by certified mail, return receipt requested to: 268.6 (1) the child, if the child is 13 years of age or older; 268.7 (2) the child's next of kin; 268.8 (3) the guardian ad litem; 268.9 (4) the legally responsible agency as defined in section 256N.02, subdivision 14; and 268.10 268.11 (5) the counsel appointed for the child pursuant to section 260C.163, subdivision 3. (b) If the county of financial responsibility under section 256G.02 or Tribal agency 268.12 authorized under section 256.01, subdivision 14b, receives benefits under subdivision 2 on 268.13 behalf of a child 13 years of age or older, the legally responsible agency as defined in section 268.14 256N.02, subdivision 14, and the guardian ad litem must disclose this information to the 268.15 child in person in a manner that best helps the child understand the information. This 268.16 paragraph does not apply in circumstances where the child is living outside of Minnesota. 268.17 (c) If the county of financial responsibility under section 256G.02 or Tribal agency 268.18 authorized under section 256.01, subdivision 14b, receives the benefits under subdivision 268.19 2 on behalf of a child, it cannot use those funds for any other purpose than the care of that 268.20 child. The county of financial responsibility or Tribal agency must not commingle any 268.21 benefits received under subdivision 2 and must not put the benefits received on behalf of a 268.22 child under subdivision 2 into a general fund. 268.23 (d) If the county of financial responsibility under section 256G.02 or Tribal agency 268.24 authorized under section 256.01, subdivision 14b, receives any benefits under subdivision 268.25 2, it must keep a record of the total dollar amount it received on behalf of all children it 268.26 receives benefits for and the total number of children it receives benefits for. By January 1 268.27 of each year, the county of financial responsibility and Tribal agency must submit a report 268.28 to the commissioner of human services that includes the information required under this 268.29 268.30 paragraph.

269.1	Sec. 6. [260E.021] CHILD PROTECTION ADVISORY COUNCIL.
269.2	Subdivision 1. Membership. The Child Protection Advisory Council consists of 24
269.3	members, appointed as follows:
269.4	(1) the commissioner of human services or a designee;
269.5	(2) the commissioner of children, youth, and families or a designee;
269.6	(3) the ombudsperson for foster youth or a designee;
269.7	(4) two members of the house of representatives, one appointed by the speaker of the
269.8	house and one appointed by the minority leader of the house of representatives;
269.9	(5) two members of the senate, one appointed by the senate majority leader and one
269.10	appointed by the senate minority leader;
269.11	(6) a representative from the Association of Minnesota Counties appointed by the
269.12	association;
269.13	(7) two members representing county social services agencies appointed by the Minnesota
269.14	Association of County Social Service Administrators, one from a county outside the
269.15	seven-county metropolitan area and one from a county within the seven-county metropolitan
269.16	area;
269.17	(8) one member with experience working and advocating for children with disabilities
269.18	in the child welfare system, appointed by the Minnesota Council on Disability;
269.19	(9) two members appointed by Indian Child Welfare Advisory Council, one from a
269.20	county outside the seven-county metropolitan area and one from a county within the
269.21	seven-county metropolitan area;
269.22	(10) one member appointed by the ombudsperson of American Indian Families;
269.23	(11) one member appointed by the Children's Alliance;
269.24	(12) three members appointed by the ombudsperson for families;
269.25	(13) two members from the Children's Justice Task Force, one with experience as an
269.26	attorney or judge working in the child welfare system and one with experience as a peace
269.27	officer working in the child welfare system; and
269.28	(14) four members of the public appointed by the governor, including:
269.29	(i) one member 18 years of age or older who has lived experience with the child welfare
269.30	system;

04/16/24 06:07 1	om COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

270.1	(ii) one member 18 years of age or older who has lived experience with the child welfare
270.2	system as a parent or caregiver;
270.3	(iii) one member who is an advocate that has experience working within the child welfare
270.4	system and that has experience working with members of the LGBTQ+ community or
270.5	persons who are Black, Indigenous, or people of color; and
270.6	(iv) one member with experience working as a pediatrician or nurse specializing in child
270.7	abuse.
270.8	Subd. 2. Council administration. (a) For members appointed under subdivision 1,
270.9	clauses (6) to (14), section 15.059, subdivisions 1 to 4, apply.
270.10	(b) The commissioner of administration shall provide the advisory council with staff
270.11	support, office space, and access to office equipment and services.
270.12	Subd. 3. Meetings. (a) The advisory council must meet at least quarterly but may meet
270.13	more frequently at the call of the chairperson or at the request of a majority of advisory
270.14	council members.
270.15	(b) Meetings of the advisory council are subject to the Minnesota Open Meeting Law
270.16	under chapter 13D.
270.17	Subd. 4. Chairperson. (a) The advisory council must elect a chairperson from among
270.18	the members of the executive committee and other officers as it deems necessary and in
270.19	accordance with the advisory council's operating procedures.
270.20	(b) The advisory council is governed by an executive committee elected by the members
270.21	of the advisory council.
270.22	(c) The advisory council shall appoint an executive director. The advisory council may
270.23	delegate to the executive director any powers and duties under this section that do not require
270.24	advisory council approval. The executive director serves in the unclassified service and
270.25	may be removed at any time by a majority vote of the advisory council. The executive
270.26	director may employ and direct staff necessary to carry out advisory council mandates,
270.27	policies, activities, and objectives.
270.28	(d) The executive committee may appoint additional subcommittees and work groups
270.29	as necessary to fulfill the duties of the advisory council.
270.30	Subd. 5. Duties. (a) The advisory council must:
270.31	(1) conduct reviews of the child mortality review processes originally completed by the
270.32	state or counties or through a third-party audit;

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

271.1	(2) review child welfare data provided by the Department of Human Services and
271.2	<u>counties;</u>
271.3	(3) review and provide guidance on the Family First Prevention Services Act
271.4	implementation; and
271.5	(4) work with the commissioner of human services to evaluate child protection grants
271.6	to address disparities in child welfare pursuant to section 256E.28.
271.7	(b) The advisory council may collect additional topic areas for study and evaluation
271.8	from the public. For the advisory council to study and evaluate a topic, the topic must be
271.9	approved for study and evaluation by the advisory council.
271.10	(c) Legislative members may not deliberate about or vote on decisions related to the
271.11	issuance of grants of state money.
271.12	Subd. 6. Report. By January 1, 2025, and annually thereafter, the advisory council must
271.13	submit a report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees
271.14	with jurisdiction over child protection and child welfare on the advisory council's activities
271.15	under subdivision 6 and other issues on which the advisory council may choose to report.
271.16	Subd. 7. Expiration. The Child Protection Advisory Council expires June 30, 2027.
271.17	Sec. 7. [260E.39] CHILD FATALITY AND NEAR FATALITY REVIEW.
271.18	Subdivision 1. Definitions. For purposes of this section, the following terms have the
271.19	meanings given:
271.20	(1) "critical incident" means a child fatality or near fatality in which maltreatment was
271.21	a known or suspected contributing cause;
271.22	(2) "joint review" means the critical incident review conducted by the child mortality
271.23	review panel jointly with the local review team under subdivision 4, paragraph (b);
271.24	(3) "local review" means the local critical incident review conducted by the local review
271.25	team under subdivision 4, paragraph (c);
271.26	(4) "local review team" means a local child mortality review team established under
271.27	subdivision 2; and
271.28	(5) "panel" means the child mortality review panel established under subdivision 3.
271.29	Subd. 2. Local child mortality review teams. (a) Each county shall establish a
271.30	multidisciplinary local child mortality review team and shall participate in local critical
271.31	incident reviews that are based on safety science principles to support a culture of learning.

272.1	The local welfare agency's child protection team may serve as the local review team. The
272.2	local review team shall include but not be limited to professionals with knowledge of the
272.3	critical incident being reviewed.
272.4	(b) The local review team shall conduct reviews of critical incidents jointly with the
272.5	child mortality review panel or as otherwise required under subdivision 4, paragraph (c).
272.6	Subd. 3. Child mortality review panel; establishment and membership. (a) The
272.7	commissioner shall establish a child mortality review panel to review critical incidents
272.8	attributed to child maltreatment. The purpose of the panel is to identify systemic changes
272.9	to improve child safety and well-being and recommend modifications in statute, rule, policy,
272.10	and procedure.
272.11	(b) The panel shall consist of:
272.12	(1) the commissioner of children, youth, and families, or a designee;
272.13	(2) the commissioner of human services, or a designee;
272.14	(3) the commissioner of health, or a designee;
272.15	(4) the commissioner of education, or a designee;
272.16	(5) a judge, appointed by the Minnesota judicial branch; and
272.17	(6) other members appointed by the governor, including but not limited to:
272.18	(i) a physician who is a medical examiner;
272.19	(ii) a physician who is a child abuse specialist pediatrician;
272.20	(iii) a county attorney who works on child protection cases;
272.21	(iv) two current child protection supervisors for local welfare agencies, each of whom
272.22	has previous experience as a frontline child protection worker;
272.23	(v) a current local welfare agency director who has previous experience as a frontline
272.24	child protection worker or supervisor;
272.25	(vi) two current child protection supervisors or directors for Tribal child welfare agencies,
272.26	each of whom has previous experience as a frontline child protection worker or supervisor;
272.27	(vii) a county public health worker; and
272.28	(viii) a member representing law enforcement.
272.29	(c) The governor shall designate one member as chair of the panel from the members
272.30	listed in paragraph (b), clauses (5) and (6).

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

2/3.1	(a) Members of the panel shall serve terms of four years for an unlimited number of
273.2	terms. A member of the panel may be removed by the appointing authority for the member
273.3	(e) The commissioner shall employ an executive director for the panel to provide
273.4	administrative support to the panel and the chair, including providing the panel with critical
273.5	incident notices submitted by local welfare agencies; compile and synthesize information
273.6	for the panel; draft recommendations and reports for the panel's final approval; and conduc
273.7	or otherwise direct training and consultation under subdivision 7.
273.8	Subd. 4. Critical incident review process. (a) A local welfare agency that has determined
273.9	that maltreatment was the cause of or a contributing factor in a critical incident must notify
273.10	the commissioner of children, youth, and families and the executive director of the panel
273.11	within three business days of making the determination.
273.12	(b) The panel shall conduct a joint review with the local review team for:
273.13	(1) any critical incident relating to a family, child, or caregiver involved in a local welfare
273.14	agency family assessment or investigation within the 12 months preceding the critical
273.15	incident;
273.16	(2) a critical incident the governor or commissioner directs the panel to review; and
273.17	(3) any other critical incident the panel chooses for review.
273.18	(c) The local review team must review all critical incident cases not subject to joint
273.19	review under paragraph (b).
273.20	(d) Within 120 days of initiating a joint review or local review of a critical incident,
273.21	except as provided under paragraph (h), the panel or local review team shall complete the
273.22	joint review or local review and compile a report. The report must include any systemic
273.23	learnings that may increase child safety and well-being, and may include policy or practice
273.24	considerations for systems changes that may improve child well-being and safety.
273.25	(e) A local review team must provide its report following a local review to the panel
273.26	within three business days after the report is complete. After receiving the local review team
273.27	report, the panel may conduct a further joint review.
273.28	(f) Following the panel's joint review or after receiving a local review team report, the
273.29	panel may make recommendations to any state or local agency, branch of government, or
273.30	system partner to improve child safety and well-being.
273.31	(g) The commissioner shall conduct additional information gathering as requested by
273.32	the panel or the local review team. The commissioner must conduct information gathering

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

for all cases for which the panel requests assistance. The commissioner shall compile a 274.1 summary report for each critical incident for which information gathering is conducted and 274.2 274.3 provide the report to the panel and the local welfare agency that reported the critical incident. (h) If the panel or local review team requests information gathering from the 274.4 commissioner, the panel or local review team may conduct the joint review or local review 274.5 and compile its report under paragraph (d) after receiving the commissioner's summary 274.6 information gathering report. The timeline for a local or joint review under paragraph (d) 274.7 274.8 may be extended if the panel or local review team requests additional information gathering to complete their review. If the local review team extends the timeline for its review and 274.9 report, the local welfare agency must notify the executive director of the panel of the 274.10 extension and the expected completion date. 274.11 (i) The review of any critical incident shall proceed as specified in this section, regardless 274.12 of the status of any pending litigation or other active investigation. 274.13 Subd. 5. Critical incident reviews; data practices and immunity. (a) In conducting 274.14 reviews, the panel, the local review team, and the commissioner shall have access to not 274.15 public data under chapter 13 maintained by state agencies, statewide systems, or political 274.16 subdivisions that are related to the child's critical incident or circumstances surrounding the 274.17 care of the child. The panel, the local review team, and the commissioner shall also have 274.18 access to records of private hospitals as necessary to carry out the duties prescribed by this 274.19 section. A state agency, statewide system, or political subdivision shall provide the data 274.20 upon request from the commissioner. Not public data may be shared with members of the 274.21 panel, a local review team, or the commissioner in connection with an individual case. 274.22 (b) Notwithstanding the data's classification in the possession of any other agency, data 274.23 acquired by a local review team, the panel, or the commissioner in the exercise of their 274.24 duties is protected nonpublic or confidential data as defined in section 13.02 but may be 274.25 274.26 disclosed as necessary to carry out the duties of the review team, panel, or commissioner. The data is not subject to subpoena or discovery. 274.27 274.28 (c) The commissioner shall disclose information regarding a critical incident upon request but shall not disclose data that was classified as confidential or private data on decedents 274.29 under section 13.10 or private, confidential, or protected nonpublic data in the disseminating 274.30 agency, except that the commissioner may disclose local social service agency data as 274.31 provided in section 260E.35 on individual cases involving a critical incident with a person 274.32 served by the local social service agency prior to the date of the critical incident. 274.33

(d) A person attending a local review team or child mortality review panel meeting shall not disclose what transpired at the meeting except to carry out the purposes of the local review team or panel. The commissioner shall not disclose what transpired during its information gathering process except to carry out the duties of the commissioner. The proceedings and records of the local review team, the panel, and the commissioner are protected nonpublic data as defined in section 13.02, subdivision 13, and are not subject to discovery or introduction into evidence in a civil or criminal action. Information, documents, and records otherwise available from other sources are not immune from discovery or use in a civil or criminal action solely because they were presented during proceedings of the local review team, the panel, or the commissioner.

(e) A person who presented information before the local review team, the panel, or the commissioner or who is a member of the local review team or the panel, or an employee conducting information gathering as designated by the commissioner, shall not be prevented from testifying about matters within the person's knowledge. However, in a civil or criminal proceeding, a person may not be questioned about the person's presentation of information to the local review team, the panel, or the commissioner, or about the information reviewed or discussed during a critical incident review or the information gathering process, any conclusions drawn or recommendations made related to information gathering or a critical incident review, or opinions formed by the person as a result of the panel or review team meetings.

(f) A person who presented information before the local review team, the panel, or the commissioner, or who is a member of the local review team or the panel, or an employee conducting information gathering as designated by the commissioner, is immune from any civil or criminal liability that might otherwise result from the person's presentation or statements if the person was acting in good faith and assisting with information gathering or in a critical incident review under this section.

Subd. 6. Child mortality review panel; annual report. Beginning December 15, 2026, and on or before December 15 annually thereafter, the commissioner shall publish a report of the child mortality review panel. The report shall include, but not be limited to de-identified summary data on the number of critical incidents reported to the panel, the number of critical incidents reviewed by the panel and local review teams, and systemic learnings identified by the panel or local review teams, during the period covered by the report. The report shall also include recommendations on improving the child protection system, including modifications to statute, rule, policy, and procedure. The panel may make

275.1

275.2

275.3

275.4

275.5

275.6

275.7

275.8

275.9

275.10

275.11

275.13

275.14

275.15

275.16

275.17

275.18

275.19

275.20

275.21

275.22

275.23

275.24

275.25

275.26

275.27

275.28

275.29

275.30

275.31

275.32

275.33

04/16/24 06:07 1	om COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

recommendations to the legislature or any state or local agency at any time, outside of its 276.1 annual report. 276.2 Subd. 7. Local welfare agency critical incident review training. The commissioner 276.3 shall provide training and support to local review teams and the panel to assist with local 276.4 or joint review processes and procedures. The commissioner shall also provide consultation 276.5 to local review teams and the panel conducting local or joint reviews pursuant to this section. 276.6 Subd. 8. Culture of learning and improvement. The local review teams and panel 276.7 shall advance and support a culture of learning and improvement within Minnesota's child 276.8 welfare system. 276.9 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2025. 276.10 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 518A.42, subdivision 3, is amended 276.11 to read: 276.12 276.13 Subd. 3. Exception. (a) This section The minimum basic support amount under subdivision 2 does not apply to an obligor who is incarcerated or is a recipient of a general 276.14 assistance grant, Supplemental Security Income, temporary assistance for needy families 276.15 (TANF) grant, or comparable state-funded Minnesota family investment program (MFIP) 276.16 benefits. 276.17 276.18 (b) The minimum basic support amount under subdivision 2 does not apply to an obligor who is a recipient of: 276.19 276.20 (1) a general assistance grant; (2) Supplement Security Income; 276.21 (3) a Temporary Assistances for Needy Families (TANF) grant; or 276.22 (4) comparable state-funded Minnesota family investment program (MFIP) benefits. 276.23 276.24 (b) (c) If the court finds the obligor receives no income and completely lacks the ability to earn income, the minimum basic support amount under this subdivision 2 does not apply. 276.25 (e) (d) If the obligor's basic support amount is reduced below the minimum basic support 276.26 amount due to the application of the parenting expense adjustment, the minimum basic 276.28 support amount under this subdivision 2 does not apply and the lesser amount is the guideline basic support. 276.29

Sec. 9. Laws 2023, chapter 70, article 14, section 42, subdivision 6, is amended to read:

- Subd. 6. Community Resource Center Advisory Council; establishment and
- duties. (a) The commissioner, in consultation with other relevant state agencies, shall appoint
- 277.4 members to the Community Resource Center Advisory Council.
- (b) Membership must be demographically and geographically diverse and include:
- 277.6 (1) parents and family members with lived experience who lack opportunities;
- (2) community-based organizations serving families who lack opportunities;
- 277.8 (3) Tribal and urban American Indian representatives;
- 277.9 (4) county government representatives;
- 277.10 (5) school and school district representatives; and
- 277.11 (6) state partner representatives.
- (c) Duties of the Community Resource Center Advisory Council include but are not
- 277.13 limited to:
- (1) advising the commissioner on the development and funding of a network of
- 277.15 community resource centers;
- 277.16 (2) advising the commissioner on the development of requests for proposals and grant
- 277.17 award processes;
- 277.18 (3) advising the commissioner on the development of program outcomes and
- 277.19 accountability measures; and
- 277.20 (4) advising the commissioner on ongoing governance and necessary support in the
- 277.21 implementation of community resource centers.
- (d) Compensation for members of the Community Resource Center Advisory Council
- 277.23 is governed by Minnesota Statutes, section 15.0575.
- Sec. 10. CHILD PROTECTION ADVISORY COUNCIL; INITIAL TERMS AND
- 277.25 APPOINTMENTS AND FIRST MEETING.
- Subdivision 1. **Initial appointments.** Appointing authorities for the Child Protection
- 277.27 Advisory Council under Minnesota Statutes, section 260E.021 must appoint members to
- 277.28 the council by August 1, 2024.
- Subd. 2. **Terms.** Members appointed under Minnesota Statutes, section 260E.021,
- 277.30 subdivision 1, clauses (7), (8), and (9), serve a term that is coterminous with the governor.

278.1	Members appointed under Minnesota Statutes, section 260E.021, subdivision 1, clauses
278.2	(10) and (12), serve a term that ends one year after the governor's term. Members appointed
278.3	under Minnesota Statutes, section 260E.021, subdivision 1, clauses (6), (11), and (13), serve
278.4	a term that ends two years after the governor's term. Members appointed under Minnesota
278.5	Statutes, section 260E.021, subdivision 1, clause (14), serve a term that ends three years
278.6	after the governor's term.
278.7	Subd. 3. Chair; first meeting. The commissioner of human services or the
278.8	commissioner's designee will serve as chair until the council elects a chair. The commissioner
278.9	must convene the first meeting of the council by September 15, 2024. The council must
278.10	elect its executive committee and its chair at its first meeting.
278.11	Sec. 11. <u>DIRECTION TO COMMISSIONER; CHILD MALTREATMENT</u>
278.12	REPORTING SYSTEMS REVIEW AND RECOMMENDATIONS.
278.13	The commissioner of children, youth, and families must review current child maltreatment
278.14	reporting processes and systems in various states and evaluate the costs and benefits of each
278.15	reviewed state's system. In consultation with stakeholders, including but not limited to
278.16	counties, Tribes, and organizations with expertise in child maltreatment prevention and
278.17	child protection, the commissioner must develop recommendations on implementing a
278.18	statewide child abuse and neglect reporting system in Minnesota, outlining the benefits,
278.19	challenges, and costs of such a transition. By June 1, 2025, the commissioner must submit
278.20	a report detailing the commissioner's recommendations to the chairs and ranking minority
278.21	members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over child protection. The
278.22	commissioner must also publish the report on the department's website.
278.23	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
278.24	Sec. 12. KINSHIP NAVIGATOR GRANT PROGRAM.
270 25	Subdivision 1. Establishment. The commissioner of human services must establish a
278.25	kinship navigator grant program for an eligible community-based nonprofit organization
278.26 278.27	to provide relative and fictive kinship caregivers connection to local and statewide resources
278.28	and support that reduces the need for child welfare involvement or risk of child welfare
278.29	re-involvement.
218.29	ic-involvement.
278.30	Subd. 2. Eligible grantees. Eligible grantees are community-based nonprofit
278.31	organizations with a demonstrated history of kinship caregiver support, ability to increase
278.32	capacity of caregivers served, and ability to serve racially and geographically diverse

279.1	populations. Grantees shall be capable of developing kinship caregiver support in alignment
279.2	with a consistent set of replicable standards.
279.3	Subd. 3. Allowable uses of funds. Eligible grantees must use funds to assess kinship
279.4	caregiver and child needs, provide connection to local and statewide resources, provide case
279.5	management to assist with complex cases, and provide supports to reduce the need for child
279.6	welfare involvement or risk of child welfare re-involvement.
279.7	Sec. 13. REPEALER.
279.8	(a) Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256.01, subdivisions 12 and 12a, are repealed.
279.9	(b) Minnesota Rules, part 9560.0232, subpart 5, is repealed.
279.10	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2025.
	A DIEVOV VI 44
279.11	ARTICLE 11
279.12	ECONOMIC SUPPORTS
279.13	Section 1. [142F.103] CAMPUS-BASED EMPLOYMENT AND TRAINING
279.14	PROGRAM FOR STUDENTS ENROLLED IN HIGHER EDUCATION.
279.15	Subdivision 1. Designation. (a) Within six months of the effective date of this section,
279.16	the Board of Trustees of Minnesota State Colleges and Universities must, and the Board of
279.17	Regents of the University of Minnesota is requested to, submit an application to the
279.18	commissioner of human services verifying whether each of its institutions meets the
279.19	requirements to be a campus-based employment and training program that qualifies for the
279.20	student exemption for supplemental nutrition assistance program (SNAP) eligibility, as
279.21	described in the Code of Federal Regulations, title 7, section 273.5(b)(11)(iv).
279.22	(b) An institution of higher education must be designated as a campus-based employment
279.23	and training program by the commissioner of human services if that institution meets the
279.24	requirements set forth in the guidance under subdivision 3. The commissioner of human
279.25	services must maintain a list of approved programs on its website.
279.26	Subd. 2. Student eligibility. A student is eligible to participate in a campus-based
279.27	employment and training program under this section if they are enrolled in:
279.28	(1) a public two-year community or technical college and received a state grant under
279.29	section 136A.121, received a federal Pell grant, or has a student aid index of \$0 or less;
279.30	(2) a Tribal college as defined in section 136A.62 and received a state grant under section
279.31	136A.121, received a federal Pell grant, or has a student aid index of \$0 or less; or

COUNSEL

AHL/NH/TG

SCS4699A-2

04/16/24 06:07 pm

04/16/24 06:07 pm COU	SEL AHL/NH/TG SCS4699A-2
-----------------------	--------------------------

280.1	(3) a public four-year university and received a state grant under section 136A.121,
280.2	received a federal Pell grant, or has a student aid index of \$0 or less.
280.3	Subd. 3. Guidance. Within three months of the effective date of this section and annually
280.4	thereafter, the commissioner of human services, in consultation with the commissioner of
280.5	higher education, must issue guidance to counties, Tribal Nations, Tribal colleges, and
280.6	Minnesota public postsecondary institutions that:
280.7	(1) clarifies the state and federal eligibility requirements for campus-based employment
280.8	and training programs for low-income households;
280.9	(2) clarifies the application process for campus-based employment and training programs
280.10	for low-income households including, but not limited to, providing a list of the supporting
280.11	documents required for program approval;
280.12	(3) clarifies how students in an institution of higher education approved as campus-based
280.13	employment and training program for low-income households qualify for a SNAP student
280.14	exemption; and
280.15	(4) clarifies the SNAP eligibility criteria for students that qualify for a SNAP student
280.16	exemption under this section.
280.17	Subd. 4. Application. Within three months of the effective date of this section, the
280.18	commissioner of human services, in consultation with the commissioner of higher education,
280.19	must design an application for institutions of higher education to apply for a campus-based
280.20	employment and training program designation.
	<u>Subd. 5.</u> Notice. At the beginning of each academic semester, an institution of higher
280.21	
280.21 280.22	Subd. 5. Notice. At the beginning of each academic semester, an institution of higher
280.21 280.22 280.23	Subd. 5. Notice. At the beginning of each academic semester, an institution of higher education with a designated campus-based employment and training program must send a
280.21 280.22 280.23 280.24	Subd. 5. Notice. At the beginning of each academic semester, an institution of higher education with a designated campus-based employment and training program must send a letter to students eligible under this section to inform them that they may qualify for SNAP
280.21 280.22 280.23 280.24 280.25	Subd. 5. Notice. At the beginning of each academic semester, an institution of higher education with a designated campus-based employment and training program must send a letter to students eligible under this section to inform them that they may qualify for SNAP benefits and direct them to resources to apply. The letter under this subdivision shall serve
280.20 280.21 280.22 280.23 280.24 280.25 280.26 280.27	Subd. 5. Notice. At the beginning of each academic semester, an institution of higher education with a designated campus-based employment and training program must send a letter to students eligible under this section to inform them that they may qualify for SNAP benefits and direct them to resources to apply. The letter under this subdivision shall serve as proof of a student's enrollment in a campus-based employment and training program.
280.21 280.22 280.23 280.24 280.25 280.26	Subd. 5. Notice. At the beginning of each academic semester, an institution of higher education with a designated campus-based employment and training program must send a letter to students eligible under this section to inform them that they may qualify for SNAP benefits and direct them to resources to apply. The letter under this subdivision shall serve as proof of a student's enrollment in a campus-based employment and training program. EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective upon federal approval. The commissioner
280.21 280.22 280.23 280.24 280.25 280.26 280.27	Subd. 5. Notice. At the beginning of each academic semester, an institution of higher education with a designated campus-based employment and training program must send a letter to students eligible under this section to inform them that they may qualify for SNAP benefits and direct them to resources to apply. The letter under this subdivision shall serve as proof of a student's enrollment in a campus-based employment and training program. EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective upon federal approval. The commissioner of human services must notify the revisor of statutes when federal approval is obtained.
280.21 280.22 280.23 280.24 280.25 280.26 280.27	Subd. 5. Notice. At the beginning of each academic semester, an institution of higher education with a designated campus-based employment and training program must send a letter to students eligible under this section to inform them that they may qualify for SNAP benefits and direct them to resources to apply. The letter under this subdivision shall serve as proof of a student's enrollment in a campus-based employment and training program. EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective upon federal approval. The commissioner of human services must notify the revisor of statutes when federal approval is obtained. Sec. 2. [142F.16] MINNESOTA FOOD BANK PROGRAM.
280.21 280.22 280.23 280.24 280.25 280.26 280.27 280.28	Subd. 5. Notice. At the beginning of each academic semester, an institution of higher education with a designated campus-based employment and training program must send a letter to students eligible under this section to inform them that they may qualify for SNAP benefits and direct them to resources to apply. The letter under this subdivision shall serve as proof of a student's enrollment in a campus-based employment and training program. EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective upon federal approval. The commissioner of human services must notify the revisor of statutes when federal approval is obtained. Sec. 2. [142F.16] MINNESOTA FOOD BANK PROGRAM. The Minnesota food bank program is established in the Department of Human Services.

0.4/1.6/0.4.0.6.0.7	COLDICEL	ATH ATHE	0.0004.004.0
04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

distribute money under this section in accordance with the federal TEFAP formula and 281.1 guidelines of the United States Department of Agriculture. Money distributed under this 281.2 281.3 section must be used by all regional food banks to purchase food that will be distributed free of charge to TEFAP partner agencies. Money distributed under this section must also 281.4 cover the handling and delivery fees typically paid by food shelves to food banks to ensure 281.5 costs associated with money under this section are not incurred at the local level. 281.6 Sec. 3. TRANSFER TO DEPARTMENT OF CHILDREN, YOUTH, AND FAMILIES. 281.7 The responsibilities for the campus-based employment and training program for students 281.8 281.9 enrolled in higher education under Minnesota Statutes, section 142F.103, and the Minnesota food bank program under Minnesota Statutes, section 142F.16, must transfer from the 281.10 commissioner of human services to the commissioner of children, youth, and families. 281.11 Minnesota Statutes, sections 142F.103 and 142F.16, are incorporated into the transfer of 281.12 duties and responsibilities in Laws 2023, chapter 70, article 12, section 30, and the 281.13 281.14 commissioner shall give the notices of when the transfer is effective as required by subdivision 1 of that section. 281.15 **ARTICLE 12** 281.16 HOUSING AND HOMELESSNESS 281.17 Section 1. PREGNANT AND PARENTING HOMELESS YOUTH STUDY. 281.18 281.19 (a) The commissioner of human services must contract with the Wilder Foundation to conduct a study of: 281.20 (1) the statewide numbers and unique needs of pregnant and parenting youth experiencing 281.21

281.22

homelessness; and

(2) best practices in supporting pregnant and parenting homeless youth within programming, emergency shelter, and housing settings.

(b) The Wilder Foundation must submit a final report to the commissioner by December 281.25 31, 2025. The commissioner shall submit the report to the chairs and ranking minority 281.26 members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over homeless youth services finance 281.27

and policy. 281.28

281.23

281.24

281.29

Sec. 2. REVIVAL AND REENACTMENT.

Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256B.051, subdivision 7, is revived and reenacted 281.30 effective retroactively from August 1, 2023. The time-limited supplemental rate reduction 281.31

	04/16/24 06:07 pm COUNSEL AHL/NH/TG SCS4699A-2
282.1	in Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256B.051, subdivision 7, does not restart when the
282.2	subdivision is revived and reenacted. Any time frames within or dependent on the subdivision
282.3	are based on the original effective date in Laws 2017, First Special Session chapter 6, article
282.4	2, section 10.
282.5	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
282.6	Sec. 3. REPEALER.
282.7	Laws 2023, chapter 25, section 190, subdivision 10, is repealed.
282.8	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
282.9	ARTICLE 13
282.10	CHILD CARE LICENSING
282.11	Section 1. [142B.171] CHILD CARE WEIGHTED RISK SYSTEM.
282.12	Subdivision 1. Implementation. The commissioner shall develop and implement a child
282.13	care weighted risk system that provides a tiered licensing enforcement framework for child
282.14	care licensing requirements in this chapter or Minnesota Rules, chapter 9502 or 9503.
282.15	Subd. 2. Documented technical assistance. (a) In lieu of a correction order under section
282.16	142B.16, the commissioner shall provide documented technical assistance to a family child
282.17	care or child care center license holder if the commissioner finds that:
282.18	(1) the license holder has failed to comply with a requirement in this chapter or Minnesota
282.19	Rules, chapter 9502 or 9503, that the commissioner determines to be low risk as determined
282.20	by the child care weighted risk system;
282.21	(2) the noncompliance does not imminently endanger the health, safety, or rights of the
282.22	persons served by the program; and
282.23	(3) the license holder did not receive documented technical assistance or a correction
282.24	order for the same violation at the license holder's most recent annual licensing inspection.
282.25	(b) Documented technical assistance must include communication from the commissioner
282.26	to the child care provider that:
282.27	(1) states the conditions that constitute a violation of a law or rule;
282.28	(2) references the specific law or rule violated; and

282.29

(3) explains remedies for correcting the violation.

	04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2
283.1	(c) The commissioner shall not publi	cly publish docu	amented technical a	ssistance on the
283.2	department's website.			
283.3	Sec. 2. REPEALER.			
283.4	Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 24	5A.065, is repea	aled.	
		, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,		
283.5	A	RTICLE 14		
283.6	DEPARTMENT OF CHIL	LDREN, YOUT	ΓH, AND FAMILI	ES
283.7	Section 1. [142A.045] CHILDREN,	YOUTH, AND	FAMILIES	
283.8	INTERGOVERNMENTAL ADVISO	RY COMMIT	TEE.	
202.0	(a) An intergovernmental advisory c	ammittaa is asta	phlished to provide	advisa
283.9	consultation, and recommendations to the		•	
283.10				
283.11	administration, funding, and evaluation			
283.12	Notwithstanding section 15.059, the con			<u>.</u>
283.13	and the Minnesota Association of Coun			
283.14	and execute a process to administer the			
283.15			meetings may be ca	illed by the
283.16	committee chair or a majority of the me	mbers.		
283.17	(b) Subject to section 15.059, the con	mmissioner may	reimburse commit	tee members or
283.18	their alternates for allowable expenses v	while engaged in	their official dutie	s as committee
283.19	members.			
283.20	(c) Notwithstanding section 15.059,	the intergovernn	nental advisory com	mittee does not
283.21	expire.			
283.22	Sec. 2. [142B.47] TRAINING ON R	ISK OF SUDD	EN UNEXPECTE	D INFANT
283.23	DEATH AND ABUSIVE HEAD TRA	UMA FOR CH	HILD FOSTER CA	ARE
283.24	PROVIDERS.			
283.25	(a) Licensed child foster care provid	ers that care for	infants or children	through five
283.26	years of age must document that before	caregivers assis	t in the care of infa	nts or children
283.27	through five years of age, they are instruc	cted on the stand	ards in section 142E	3.46 and receive
283.28	training on reducing the risk of sudden	unexpected infar	nt death and abusiv	e head trauma
283.29	from shaking infants and young children	. This section do	oes not apply to eme	ergency relative
283.30	placement under section 142B.06. The t	raining on reduc	cing the risk of sudd	den unexpected

283.31 infant death and abusive head trauma may be provided as:

04/16/24 06:07 pi	m COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2
0 1/ 1 0/ 2 1 0 0 1 0 / pi	COULDEE	11112/1111/10	50510771

284.1	(1) orientation training to child foster care providers who care for infants or children
284.2	through five years of age under Minnesota Rules, part 2960.3070, subpart 1; or
284.3	(2) in-service training to child foster care providers who care for infants or children
284.4	through five years of age under Minnesota Rules, part 2960.3070, subpart 2.
284.5	(b) Training required under this section must be at least one hour in length and must be
284.6	completed at least once every five years. At a minimum, the training must address the risk
284.7	factors related to sudden unexpected infant death and abusive head trauma, means of reducing
284.8	the risk of sudden unexpected infant death and abusive head trauma, and license holder
284.9	communication with parents regarding reducing the risk of sudden unexpected infant death
284.10	and abusive head trauma.
284.11	(c) Training for child foster care providers must be approved by the county or private
284.12	licensing agency that is responsible for monitoring the child foster care provider under
284.13	section 142B.30. The approved training fulfills, in part, training required under Minnesota
284.14	Rules, part 2960.3070.
284.15	Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.07, subdivision 6, is amended to read:
284.16	Subd. 6. Appeal of multiple sanctions. (a) When the license holder appeals more than
284.17	one licensing action or sanction that were simultaneously issued by the commissioner, the
284.18	license holder shall specify the actions or sanctions that are being appealed.
284.19	(b) If there are different timelines prescribed in statutes for the licensing actions or
284.20	sanctions being appealed, the license holder must submit the appeal within the longest of
284.21	those timelines specified in statutes.
284.22	(c) The appeal must be made in writing by certified mail or, by personal service, or
284.23	through the provider licensing and reporting hub. If mailed, the appeal must be postmarked
284.24	and sent to the commissioner within the prescribed timeline with the first day beginning
284.25	the day after the license holder receives the certified letter. If a request is made by personal
284.26	service, it must be received by the commissioner within the prescribed timeline with the
284.27	first day beginning the day after the license holder receives the certified letter. If the appeal
284.28	is made through the provider hub, the appeal must be received by the commissioner within
284.29	the prescribed timeline with the first day beginning the day after the commissioner issued
284.30	the order through the hub.
284.31	(d) When there are different timelines prescribed in statutes for the appeal of licensing
284.32	actions or sanctions simultaneously issued by the commissioner, the commissioner shall

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

specify in the notice to the license holder the timeline for appeal as specified under paragraph (b).

- Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.10, subdivision 1, as amended by Laws
- 285.4 2024, chapter 80, article 2, section 48, is amended to read:
- Subdivision 1. Application or license fee required, programs exempt from fee. (a)
- Unless exempt under paragraph (b), the commissioner shall charge a fee for evaluation of
- 285.7 applications and inspection of programs which are licensed under this chapter.
- 285.8 (b) Except as provided under subdivision 2, no application or license fee shall be charged for a child foster residence setting, adult foster care, or a community residential setting.
- Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.10, subdivision 2, as amended by Laws
- 285.11 2024, chapter 80, article 2, section 49, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2. County fees for applications and licensing inspections. (a) For purposes of adult foster care <u>and child foster residence setting</u> licensing and licensing the physical plant of a community residential setting, under this chapter, a county agency may charge a fee to a corporate applicant or corporate license holder to recover the actual cost of licensing
- 285.16 inspections, not to exceed \$500 annually.
- (b) Counties may elect to reduce or waive the fees in paragraph (a) under the following circumstances:
- 285.19 (1) in cases of financial hardship;
- 285.20 (2) if the county has a shortage of providers in the county's area; or
- 285.21 (3) for new providers.
- Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.144, is amended to read:
- 285.23 **245A.144 TRAINING ON RISK OF SUDDEN UNEXPECTED INFANT DEATH**285.24 **AND ABUSIVE HEAD TRAUMA FOR CHILD FOSTER CARE PROVIDERS.**
- 285.25 (a) Licensed child foster care providers that care for infants or children through five
 285.26 years of age must document that before staff persons and caregivers assist in the care of
 285.27 infants or children through five years of age, they are instructed on the standards in section
 285.28 245A.1435 142B.46 and receive training on reducing the risk of sudden unexpected infant
 285.29 death and abusive head trauma from shaking infants and young children. This section does
 285.30 not apply to emergency relative placement under section 245A.035. The training on reducing
 285.31 the risk of sudden unexpected infant death and abusive head trauma may be provided as:

04/16/24 06:07 pm	99A-2
-------------------	-------

(1) orientation training to child foster care providers, who care for infants or children through five years of age, under Minnesota Rules, part 2960.3070, subpart 1; or

- (2) in-service training to child foster care providers, who care for infants or children through five years of age, under Minnesota Rules, part 2960.3070, subpart 2.
- (b) Training required under this section must be at least one hour in length and must be completed at least once every five years. At a minimum, the training must address the risk factors related to sudden unexpected infant death and abusive head trauma, means of reducing the risk of sudden unexpected infant death and abusive head trauma, and license holder communication with parents regarding reducing the risk of sudden unexpected infant death and abusive head trauma.
- 286.11 (c) Training for child foster care providers must be approved by the county or private
 286.12 licensing agency that is responsible for monitoring the child foster care provider under
 286.13 section 245A.16. The approved training fulfills, in part, training required under Minnesota
 286.14 Rules, part 2960.3070.
- Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 245A.16, subdivision 1, as amended by Laws 2024, chapter 80, article 2, section 65, is amended to read:
- Subdivision 1. Delegation of authority to agencies. (a) County agencies that have been 286.17 286.18 designated by the commissioner to perform licensing functions and activities under section 245A.04; to recommend denial of applicants under section 245A.05; to issue correction 286.19 orders, to issue variances, and recommend a conditional license under section 245A.06; or 286.20 to recommend suspending or revoking a license or issuing a fine under section 245A.07, 286.21 shall comply with rules and directives of the commissioner governing those functions and 286.22 with this section. The following variances are excluded from the delegation of variance 286.23 authority and may be issued only by the commissioner: 286.24
 - (1) dual licensure of family child foster care and family adult foster care, dual licensure of child foster residence setting and community residential setting, and dual licensure of family adult foster care and family child care;
- 286.28 (2) until the responsibility for family child foster care transfers to the commissioner of children, youth, and families under Laws 2023, chapter 70, article 12, section 30, dual licensure of family child foster care and family adult foster care;
- 286.31 (3) until the responsibility for family child care transfers to the commissioner of children, 286.32 youth, and families under Laws 2023, chapter 70, article 12, section 30, dual licensure of 286.33 family adult foster care and family child care;

286.1

286.2

286.3

286.4

286.5

286.6

286.7

286.8

286.9

286.10

286.25

286.26

- (4) adult foster care maximum capacity; 287.1 (3) (5) adult foster care minimum age requirement; 287.2 (4) (6) child foster care maximum age requirement; 287.3 (5) (7) variances regarding disqualified individuals; 287.4 (6) (8) the required presence of a caregiver in the adult foster care residence during 287.5 normal sleeping hours; 287.6 (7) (9) variances to requirements relating to chemical use problems of a license holder 287.7 or a household member of a license holder; and 287.8 (8) (10) variances to section 142B.46 for the use of a cradleboard for a cultural 287.9 accommodation. 287.10 (b) Once the respective responsibilities transfer from the commissioner of human services 287.11 to the commissioner of children, youth, and families, under Laws 2023, chapter 70, article 287.12 12, section 30, the commissioners of human services and children, youth, and families must 287.13 both approve a variance for dual licensure of family child foster care and family adult foster 287.14 care or family adult foster care and family child care. Variances under this paragraph are 287.15 excluded from the delegation of variance authority and may be issued only by both 287.16 commissioners. 287.17 (b) (c) For family adult day services programs, the commissioner may authorize licensing 287.18 reviews every two years after a licensee has had at least one annual review. 287.19 (e) (d) A license issued under this section may be issued for up to two years. 287.20 (d) (e) During implementation of chapter 245D, the commissioner shall consider: 287.21 (1) the role of counties in quality assurance; 287.22 (2) the duties of county licensing staff; and 287.23 (3) the possible use of joint powers agreements, according to section 471.59, with counties 287.24 through which some licensing duties under chapter 245D may be delegated by the 287.25 commissioner to the counties. 287.26
- 287.27 Any consideration related to this paragraph must meet all of the requirements of the corrective action plan ordered by the federal Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services.
- (e) (f) Licensing authority specific to section 245D.06, subdivisions 5, 6, 7, and 8, or successor provisions; and section 245D.061 or successor provisions, for family child foster

04/16/24 06:07 p	om COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

care programs providing out-of-home respite, as identified in section 245D.03, subdivision 1, paragraph (b), clause (1), is excluded from the delegation of authority to county agencies.

Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.175, is amended to read:

288.1

288.2

288.3

288.4

288.5

288.6

288.7

288.8

288.9

288.10

288.11

288.12

288.13

288.15

288.16

288.17

245A.175 CHILD FOSTER CARE TRAINING REQUIREMENT; MENTAL HEALTH TRAINING; FETAL ALCOHOL SPECTRUM DISORDERS TRAINING.

Prior to a nonemergency placement of a child in a foster care home, the child foster care license holder and earegivers in foster family and treatment foster care settings, and all staff providing care in foster residence settings must complete two hours of training that addresses the causes, symptoms, and key warning signs of mental health disorders; cultural considerations; and effective approaches for dealing with a child's behaviors. At least one hour of the annual training requirement for the foster family license holder and earegivers, and foster residence staff must be on children's mental health issues and treatment. Except for providers and services under chapter 245D, the annual training must also include at least one hour of training on fetal alcohol spectrum disorders, which must be counted toward the 12 hours of required in-service training per year. Short-term substitute earegivers are exempt from these requirements. Training curriculum shall be approved by the commissioner of human services.

- Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 245A.66, subdivision 4, as amended by Laws 2024, chapter 80, article 2, section 73, is amended to read:
- Subd. 4. **Ongoing training requirement.** (a) In addition to the orientation training required by the applicable licensing rules and statutes, children's residential facility license holders must provide a training annually on the maltreatment of minors reporting requirements and definitions in chapter 260E to each mandatory reporter, as described in section 260E.06, subdivision 1.
- 288.25 (b) In addition to the orientation training required by the applicable licensing rules and statutes, all foster residence setting staff and volunteers that are mandatory reporters as described in section 260E.06, subdivision 1, must complete training each year on the maltreatment of minors reporting requirements and definitions in chapter 260E.

Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256.029, as amended by Laws 2024, chapter 80, article 1, section 66, is amended to read:

256.029 DOMESTIC VIOLENCE INFORMATIONAL BROCHURE.

- (a) The commissioner shall provide a domestic violence informational brochure that provides information about the existence of domestic violence waivers for eligible public assistance applicants to all applicants of general assistance, medical assistance, and MinnesotaCare. The brochure must explain that eligible applicants may be temporarily waived from certain program requirements due to domestic violence. The brochure must provide information about services and other programs to help victims of domestic violence.
- (b) The brochure must be funded with TANF funds.

289.3

289.4

289.5

289.6

289.7

289.8

289.9

- 289.11 (c) The commissioner must work with the commissioner of children, youth, and families to create a brochure that meets the requirements of this section and section 142G.05.
- Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 256M.42, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
- Subd. 7. Adult protection grant allocation under Reform 2020. The requirements of subdivisions 2 to 6 apply to the Reform 2020 adult protection state grants in Minnesota Statutes 2013 Supplement, section 256M.40, subdivision 1, and Laws 2013, chapter 108, article 15. The Reform 2020 state adult protection grant must be allocated annually consistent
- Sec. 12. Laws 2023, chapter 70, article 12, section 30, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

with the calendar year 2023 allocation made under section 256M.40.

- Subd. 2. **Department of Human Services.** The powers and duties of the Department of Human Services with respect to the following responsibilities and related elements are transferred to the Department of Children, Youth, and Families according to Minnesota Statutes, section 15.039:
- 289.25 (1) family services and community-based collaboratives under Minnesota Statutes, section 124D.23;
- (2) child care programs under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 119B;
- 289.28 (3) Parent Aware quality rating and improvement system under Minnesota Statutes, section 124D.142;
- 289.30 (4) migrant child care services under Minnesota Statutes, section 256M.50;

290.1 (5) early childhood and school-age professional development training under Laws 2007, 290.2 chapter 147, article 2, section 56;

- (6) licensure of family child care and child care centers, child foster care, and private child placing agencies under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 245A;
- 290.5 (7) certification of license-exempt child care centers under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 290.6 245H;
- 290.7 (8) program integrity and fraud related to the Child Care Assistance Program (CCAP), 290.8 the Minnesota Family Investment Program (MFIP), and the Supplemental Nutrition
- 290.9 Assistance Program (SNAP) under Minnesota Statutes, chapters 119B and 245E;
- 290.10 (9) SNAP under Minnesota Statutes, sections 256D.60 to 256D.63;
- 290.11 (10) electronic benefit transactions under Minnesota Statutes, sections 256.9862,
- 290.12 256.9863, 256.9865, 256.987, 256.9871, 256.9872, and 256J.77;
- 290.13 (11) Minnesota food assistance program under Minnesota Statutes, section 256D.64;
- 290.14 (12) Minnesota food shelf program under Minnesota Statutes, section 256E.34;
- 290.15 (13) MFIP and Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) under Minnesota 290.16 Statutes, sections 256.9864 and 256.9865 and chapters 256J and 256P;
- 290.17 (14) Diversionary Work Program (DWP) under Minnesota Statutes, section 256J.95;
- 290.18 (15) resettlement programs under Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.06, subdivision 6
- 290.19 American Indian food sovereignty program under Minnesota Statutes, section 256E.342;
- 290.20 (16) child abuse under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 256E;
- 290.21 (17) reporting of the maltreatment of minors under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 260E;
- 290.22 (18) children in voluntary foster care for treatment under Minnesota Statutes, chapter
- 290.23 260D;

290.3

- 290.24 (19) juvenile safety and placement under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 260C;
- 290.25 (20) the Minnesota Indian Family Preservation Act under Minnesota Statutes, sections 290.26 260.751 to 260.835;
- 290.27 (21) the Interstate Compact for Juveniles under Minnesota Statutes, section 260.515,
- 290.28 and the Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children under Minnesota Statutes, sections
- 290.29 260.851 to 260.93;
- 290.30 (22) adoption under Minnesota Statutes, sections 259.20 to 259.89;

- 291.1 (23) Northstar Care for Children under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 256N;
- 291.2 (24) child support under Minnesota Statutes, chapters 13, 13B, 214, 256, 256J, 257, 259,
- 291.3 518, 518A, 518C, 551, 552, 571, and 588, and Minnesota Statutes, section 609.375;
- 291.4 (25) community action programs under Minnesota Statutes, sections 256E.30 to 256E.32;
- 291.5 and
- 291.6 (26) Family Assets for Independence in Minnesota under Minnesota Statutes, section
- 291.7 256E.35.;
- 291.8 (27) capital for emergency food distribution facilities under Laws 2023, chapter 70,
- 291.9 article 20, section 2, subdivision 24, paragraph (i);
- 291.10 (28) community resource centers under Laws 2023, chapter 70, article 14, section 42;
- 291.11 (29) diaper distribution grant program under Minnesota Statutes, section 256E.38;
- 291.12 (30) emergency services program under Minnesota Statutes, section 256E.36;
- 291.13 (31) emergency shelter facilities grants under Laws 2023, chapter 70, article 11, section
- 291.14 **14**;
- 291.15 (32) Family First Prevention Services Act support and development grant program under
- 291.16 Minnesota Statutes, section 256.4793;
- 291.17 (33) Family First Prevention Services Act kinship navigator program under Minnesota
- 291.18 Statutes, section 256.4794;
- 291.19 (34) family first prevention and early intervention allocation program under Minnesota
- 291.20 Statutes, section 260.014;
- 291.21 (35) grants for prepared meals food relief under Laws 2023, chapter 70, article 12, section
- 291.22 33;
- 291.23 (36) Homeless Youth Act under Minnesota Statutes, sections 256K.45 to 256K.451;
- 291.24 (37) homeless youth cash stipend pilot under Laws 2023, chapter 70, article 11, section
- 291.25 13;
- 291.26 (38) independent living skills for foster youth under Laws 2023, chapter 70, article 14,
- 291.27 section 41;
- 291.28 (39) legacy adoption assistance under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 259A;
- 291.29 (40) opiate epidemic response fund under Minnesota Statutes, section 256.043;

(41) quality parenting initiative grant program under Laws 2023, chapter 70, article 14, 292.1 section 1; 292.2 292.3

- (42) relative custody assistance under Minnesota Statutes, section 257.85;
- (43) reimbursement to counties and Tribes for certain out-of-home placements under 292.4
- 292.5 Minnesota Statutes, section 477A.0126;
- (44) safe harbor shelter and housing under Minnesota Statutes, section 256K.47; 292.6
- 292.7 (45) shelter-linked youth mental health grants under Minnesota Statutes, section 256K.46;
- (46) Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program outreach under Minnesota Statutes, 292.8
- 292.9 section 256D.65; and
- (47) transitional housing programs under Minnesota Statutes, section 256E.33. 292.10
- Sec. 13. Laws 2023, chapter 70, article 12, section 30, subdivision 3, is amended to read: 292.11
- 292.12 Subd. 3. **Department of Education.** The powers and duties of the Department of
- Education with respect to the following responsibilities and related elements are transferred 292.13
- to the Department of Children, Youth, and Families according to Minnesota Statutes, section 292.14
- 15.039: 292.15
- (1) Head Start Program and Early Head Start under Minnesota Statutes, sections 119A.50 292.16
- to 119A.545; 292.17
- (2) the early childhood screening program under Minnesota Statutes, sections 121A.16 292.18
- to 121A.19; 292.19
- (3) early learning scholarships under Minnesota Statutes, section 124D.165; 292.20
- (4) the interagency early childhood intervention system under Minnesota Statutes, 292.21
- sections 125A.259 to 125A.48; 292.22
- (5) voluntary prekindergarten programs and school readiness plus programs under 292.23
- Minnesota Statutes, section 124D.151; 292.24
- (6) early childhood family education programs under Minnesota Statutes, sections 292.25
- 124D.13 to 124D.135; 292.26
- 292.27 (7) school readiness under Minnesota Statutes, sections 124D.15 to 124D.16; and
- (8) after-school community learning programs under Minnesota Statutes, section 292.28
- 124D.2211-; and 292.29
- (9) grow your own program under Minnesota Statutes, section 122A.731. 292.30

- Sec. 14. Laws 2024, chapter 80, article 1, section 34, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2. **Definitions.** (a) For purposes of this section, the following definitions have the meanings given.
- 293.4 (b) "Associated entity" means a provider or vendor owned or controlled by an excluded individual.
- 293.6 (c) "Associated individual" means an individual or entity that has a relationship with 293.7 the business or its owners or controlling individuals, such that the individual or entity would 293.8 have knowledge of the financial practices of the program in question.
- 293.9 (d) "Excluded" means removed under other authorities from a program administered by 293.10 a Minnesota state or federal agency, including a final determination to stop payments.
- 293.11 (e) "Individual" means a natural person providing products or services as a provider or vendor.
- (f) "Provider" means any entity, individual, owner, controlling individual, license holder, director, or managerial official of an entity receiving payment from a program administered by a Minnesota state or federal agency.
- 293.16 (g) "Vendor" means a private individual or entity contracted to provide services for, on 293.17 behalf of, or with money provided by the commissioner.
- Sec. 15. Laws 2024, chapter 80, article 1, section 96, is amended to read:

293.19 Sec. 96. **REVISOR INSTRUCTION.**

The revisor of statutes must renumber sections or subdivisions in Column A as Column B.

293.22	Column A	Column B
293.23	256.01, subdivision 12	142A.03, subdivision 7
293.24	256.01, subdivision 12a	142A.03, subdivision 8
293.25	256.01, subdivision 15	142A.03, subdivision 10
293.26	256.01, subdivision 36	142A.03, subdivision 22
293.27	256.0112, subdivision 10	142A.07, subdivision 8
293.28	256.019, subdivision 2	142A.28, subdivision 2
293.29	<u>256.043</u>	142A.50
293.30	256.4793	142A.45
293.31	256.4794	142A.451
293.32	256.82	142A.418

04/16/2	4 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2
294.1	256.9831	142A.13	, subdivision 14	
294.2	256.9862, subdivision 1	142A.13	, subdivision 10	
294.3	256.9862, subdivision 2	142A.13	, subdivision 11	
294.4	256.9863	142A.13	, subdivision 5	
294.5	256.9865, subdivision 1	142A.13	, subdivision 6	
294.6	256.9865, subdivision 2	142A.13	, subdivision 7	
294.7	256.9865, subdivision 3	142A.13	, subdivision 8	
294.8	256.9865, subdivision 4	142A.13	, subdivision 9	
294.9	256.987, subdivision 2	142A.13	, subdivision 2	
294.10	256.987, subdivision 3	142A.13	, subdivision 3	
294.11	256.987, subdivision 4	142A.13	, subdivision 4	
294.12	256.9871	142A.13	, subdivision 12	
294.13	256.9872	142A.13	, subdivision 13	
294.14	256.997	142A.30		
294.15	256.998	142A.29		
294.16	256B.06, subdivision 6	142A.40		
294.17	256E.20	142A.41		
294.18	256E.21	142A.41	1	
294.19	256E.22	142A.41	2	
294.20	256E.24	142A.41	3	
294.21	256E.25	142A.41	4	
294.22	256E.26	142A.41	5	
294.23	256E.27	142A.41	6	
294.24	256E.28	142A.41	7	
294.25	<u>256E.38</u>	142A.42	<u>.</u>	
294.26	256N.001	142A.60	1	
294.27	256N.01	142A.60	1	
294.28	256N.02	142A.60	2	
294.29	256N.20	142A.60	3	
294.30	256N.21	142A.60	4	
294.31	256N.22	142A.60	5	
294.32	256N.23	142A.60	6	
294.33	256N.24	142A.60	7	
294.34	256N.25	142A.60	8	
294.35	256N.26	142A.60	9	
294.36	256N.261	142A.61		
294.37	256N.27	142A.61		
294.38	256N.28	142A.61	2	

	04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2
295.1	257.175	142A.03	3, subdivision 32	
295.2	257.33, subdivision 1	142A.03	3, subdivision 33	
295.3	257.33, subdivision 2	142A.03	3, subdivision 34	
295.4	260.014	142A.45	52	
295.5	299A.72	142A.75	5	
295.6	299A.73	142A.43	3	
295.7	299A.95	142A.76	6	
295.8	The revisor of statutes must correct any	statutory cross-re	ferences consister	nt with this
295.9	renumbering.			
295.10	Sec. 16. Laws 2024, chapter 80, article	e 2, section 5, sub	division 21, is am	ended to read:
295.11	Subd. 21. Plan for transfer of client	s and records up	on closure. (a) Ex	cept for license
295.12	holders who reside on the premises and	child care provide	ers, an applicant fo	or initial or
295.13	continuing licensure or certification mus	t submit a written	plan indicating ho	ow the program
295.14	or private agency will ensure the transfe	r of clients and re	cords for both ope	en and closed
295.15	cases if the program closes. The plan mu	ust provide for ma	naging private an	d confidential
295.16	information concerning the clients of the	e program clients	or private agency.	The plan must
295.17	also provide for notifying affected client	ts of the closure a	t least 25 days pri	or to closure,
295.18	including information on how to access the	neir records. A con	trolling individual	of the program
295.19	or private agency must annually review	and sign the plan.		
295.20	(b) Plans for the transfer of open case	es and case record	ls must specify ar	rangements the
295.21	program or private agency will make to the	ransfer clients to a	nother provider or	county agency
295.22	for continuation of services and to trans-	fer the case record	I with the client.	
295.23	(c) Plans for the transfer of closed ca	se records must b	e accompanied by	a signed
295.24	agreement or other documentation indic	ating that a county	y or a similarly lic	ensed provider
295.25	has agreed to accept and maintain the pro-	ogram's or private	agency's closed ca	ase records and
295.26	to provide follow-up services as necessar	ry to affected clie	ents.	
295.27	Sec. 17. Laws 2024, chapter 80, article	e 2, section 7, sub	division 2, is ame	nded to read:
295.28	Subd. 2. County fees for application	ns and licensing i	nspections. (a) A	county agency
295.29	may charge a license fee to an applicant	or license holder	not to exceed \$50	for a one-year
295.30	license or \$100 for a two-year license.			
295.31	(b) Counties may allow providers to	pay the applicant	fee in paragraph ((a) on an
295.32	installment basis for up to one year. If the	provider is receivi	ng child care assis	tance payments

295.33 from the state, the provider may have the fee under paragraph (a) deducted from the child

care assistance payments for up to one year and the state shall reimburse the county for the county fees collected in this manner.

- (c) For purposes of child foster care licensing under this chapter, a county agency may charge a fee to a corporate applicant or corporate license holder to recover the actual cost of licensing inspections, not to exceed \$500 annually.
- (d) Counties may elect to reduce or waive the fees in paragraph (c) under the following circumstances:
- (1) in cases of financial hardship; 296.8
- (2) if the county has a shortage of providers in the county's area; or 296.9
- (3) for new providers. 296.10

296.1

296.2

296.3

296.4

296.5

296.6

296.7

296.15

296.17

296.18

296.19

296.20

296.21

296.22

296.23

296.24

296.25

- Sec. 18. Laws 2024, chapter 80, article 2, section 10, subdivision 6, is amended to read: 296.11
- Subd. 6. Appeal of multiple sanctions. (a) When the license holder appeals more than 296.12 one licensing action or sanction that were simultaneously issued by the commissioner, the license holder shall specify the actions or sanctions that are being appealed. 296.14
- (b) If there are different timelines prescribed in statutes for the licensing actions or sanctions being appealed, the license holder must submit the appeal within the longest of 296.16 those timelines specified in statutes.
 - (c) The appeal must be made in writing by certified mail or, by personal service, or through the provider licensing and reporting hub. If mailed, the appeal must be postmarked and sent to the commissioner within the prescribed timeline with the first day beginning the day after the license holder receives the certified letter. If a request is made by personal service, it must be received by the commissioner within the prescribed timeline with the first day beginning the day after the license holder receives the certified letter. If the appeal is made through the provider hub, the appeal must be received by the commissioner within the prescribed timeline with the first day beginning the day after the commissioner issued the order through the hub.
- (d) When there are different timelines prescribed in statutes for the appeal of licensing 296.27 actions or sanctions simultaneously issued by the commissioner, the commissioner shall 296.28 specify in the notice to the license holder the timeline for appeal as specified under paragraph 296.29 (b). 296.30

Sec. 19. Laws 2024, chapter 80, article 2, section 16, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

- Subdivision 1. **Delegation of authority to agencies.** (a) County agencies and private agencies that have been designated or licensed by the commissioner to perform licensing functions and activities under section 142B.10 and background studies for family child care under chapter 245C; to recommend denial of applicants under section 142B.15; to issue correction orders, to issue variances, and to recommend a conditional license under section 142B.16; or to recommend suspending or revoking a license or issuing a fine under section 142B.18, shall comply with rules and directives of the commissioner governing those functions and with this section. The following variances are excluded from the delegation
- (1) dual licensure of family child care and family child foster care, dual licensure of family child foster care and family adult foster care, dual licensure of child foster residence setting and community residential setting, and dual licensure of family adult foster care and family child care;

of variance authority and may be issued only by the commissioner:

297.15 (2) child foster care maximum age requirement;

297.1

297.2

297.3

297.4

297.5

297.6

297.7

297.8

297.9

- 297.16 (3) variances regarding disqualified individuals;
- 297.17 (4) variances to requirements relating to chemical use problems of a license holder or a 297.18 household member of a license holder; and
- (5) variances to section 142B.74 for a time-limited period. If the commissioner grants a variance under this clause, the license holder must provide notice of the variance to all parents and guardians of the children in care.
- 297.22 (b) The commissioners of human services and children, youth, and families must both
 297.23 approve a variance for dual licensure of family child foster care and family adult foster care
 297.24 or family adult foster care and family child care. Variances under this paragraph are excluded
 297.25 from the delegation of variance authority and may be issued only by both commissioners.
- 297.26 (c) Except as provided in section 142B.41, subdivision 4, paragraph (e), a county agency must not grant a license holder a variance to exceed the maximum allowable family child care license capacity of 14 children.
- 297.29 (b) (d) A county agency that has been designated by the commissioner to issue family 297.30 child care variances must:
- 297.31 (1) publish the county agency's policies and criteria for issuing variances on the county's public website and update the policies as necessary; and

(2) annually distribute the county agency's policies and criteria for issuing variances to all family child care license holders in the county.

- (e) (e) Before the implementation of NETStudy 2.0, county agencies must report information about disqualification reconsiderations under sections 245C.25 and 245C.27, subdivision 2, paragraphs (a) and (b), and variances granted under paragraph (a), clause (5), to the commissioner at least monthly in a format prescribed by the commissioner.
- 298.7 (d) (f) For family child care programs, the commissioner shall require a county agency to conduct one unannounced licensing review at least annually.
- 298.9 (e) (g) A license issued under this section may be issued for up to two years.
- 298.10 (f) (h) A county agency shall report to the commissioner, in a manner prescribed by the commissioner, the following information for a licensed family child care program:
- 298.12 (1) the results of each licensing review completed, including the date of the review, and any licensing correction order issued;
- 298.14 (2) any death, serious injury, or determination of substantiated maltreatment; and
- (3) any fires that require the service of a fire department within 48 hours of the fire. The information under this clause must also be reported to the state fire marshal within two business days of receiving notice from a licensed family child care provider.
- Sec. 20. Laws 2024, chapter 80, article 2, section 30, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2. **Maltreatment of minors ongoing training requirement.** (a) In addition to the orientation training required by the applicable licensing rules and statutes, private child-placing agency license holders must provide a training annually on the maltreatment of minors reporting requirements and definitions in chapter 260E to each mandatory reporter, as described in section 260E.06, subdivision 1.
- (b) In addition to the orientation training required by the applicable licensing rules and statutes, all family child foster care license holders and caregivers and foster residence setting staff and volunteers who are mandatory reporters as described in section 260E.06, subdivision 1, must complete training each year on the maltreatment of minors reporting requirements and definitions in chapter 260E.

298.1

298.2

298.3

298.4

298.5

Sec. 21. Laws 2024, chapter 80, article 2, section 31, is amended to read:

299.1

299.2

299.3

299.4

299.5

299.6

299.7

299.8

299.9

299.10

299.11

299.12

299.13

299.14

299.15

299.17

Sec. 31. 142B.80 CHILD FOSTER CARE TRAINING REQUIREMENT; MENTAL HEALTH TRAINING; FETAL ALCOHOL SPECTRUM DISORDERS TRAINING.

Prior to a nonemergency placement of a child in a foster care home, the child foster care license holder and caregivers in foster family and treatment foster care settings, and all staff providing care in foster residence settings must complete two hours of training that addresses the causes, symptoms, and key warning signs of mental health disorders; cultural considerations; and effective approaches for dealing with a child's behaviors. At least one hour of the annual training requirement for the foster family license holder and caregivers, and foster residence staff must be on children's mental health issues and treatment. Except for providers and services under chapter 245D, the annual training must also include at least one hour of training on fetal alcohol spectrum disorders, which must be counted toward the 12 hours of required in-service training per year. Short-term substitute caregivers are exempt from these requirements. Training curriculum shall be approved by the commissioner of children, youth, and families.

Sec. 22. Laws 2024, chapter 80, article 2, section 74, is amended to read:

Sec. 74. **REVISOR INSTRUCTION.**

The revisor of statutes must renumber sections or subdivisions in column A as column
B.

299.20	Column A	Column B
299.21	245A.02, subdivision 2c	142B.01, subdivision 3
299.22	245A.02, subdivision 6a	142B.01, subdivision 11
299.23	245A.02, subdivision 6b	142B.01, subdivision 12
299.24	245A.02, subdivision 10a	142B.01, subdivision 22
299.25	245A.02, subdivision 12	142B.01, subdivision 23
299.26	245A.02, subdivision 16	142B.01, subdivision 26
299.27	245A.02, subdivision 17	142B.01, subdivision 27
299.28	245A.02, subdivision 18	142B.01, subdivision 28
299.29	245A.02, subdivision 19	142B.01, subdivision 13
299.30	245A.03, subdivision 2a	142B.05, subdivision 3
299.31	245A.03, subdivision 2b	142B.05, subdivision 4
299.32	245A.03, subdivision 4	142B.05, subdivision 6
299.33	245A.03, subdivision 4a	142B.05, subdivision 7

04/16/24 06:07	pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG
300.1	245A.03, subdivision 8		142B.05, subdivision 10
300.2	245A.035		142B.06
300.3	245A.04, subdivision 9a		142B.10, subdivision 17
300.4	245A.04, subdivision 10		142B.10, subdivision 18
300.5	245A.06, subdivision 8		142B.16, subdivision 5
300.6	245A.06, subdivision 9		142B.16, subdivision 6
300.7	245A.065		142B.17
300.8	245A.07, subdivision 4		142B.18, subdivision 6
300.9	245A.07, subdivision 5		142B.18, subdivision 7
300.10	245A.14, subdivision 3		142B.41, subdivision 3
300.11	245A.14, subdivision 4		142B.41, subdivision 4
300.12	245A.14, subdivision 4a		142B.41, subdivision 5
300.13	245A.14, subdivision 6		142B.41, subdivision 6
300.14	245A.14, subdivision 8		142B.41, subdivision 7
300.15	245A.14, subdivision 10		142B.41, subdivision 8
300.16	245A.14, subdivision 11		142B.41, subdivision 9
300.17	245A.14, subdivision 15		142B.41, subdivision 11
300.18	245A.14, subdivision 16		142B.41, subdivision 12
300.19	245A.14, subdivision 17		142B.41, subdivision 13
300.20	245A.1434		142B.60
300.21	245A.144		142B.47
300.22	245A.1445		142B.48
300.23	245A.145		142B.61
300.24	245A.146, subdivision 2		142B.45, subdivision 2
300.25	245A.146, subdivision 3		142B.45, subdivision 3
300.26	245A.146, subdivision 4		142B.45, subdivision 4
300.27	245A.146, subdivision 5		142B.45, subdivision 5
300.28	245A.146, subdivision 6		142B.45, subdivision 6
300.29	245A.147		142B.75
300.30	245A.148		142B.76
300.31	245A.149		142B.77
300.32	245A.15		142B.78
300.33	245A.1511		142B.79
300.34	245A.152		142B.62
300.35	245A.16, subdivision 7		142B.30, subdivision 7
300.36	245A.16, subdivision 9		142B.30, subdivision 9

SCS4699A-2

300.37

300.38

142B.30, subdivision 11

142B.63

245A.16, subdivision 11

245A.23

	04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL A	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2
301.1	245A.40	142B.65	5	
301.2	245A.41	142B.66	6	
301.3	245A.42	142B.67	7	
301.4	245A.50	142B.70)	
301.5	245A.51	142B.71	[
301.6	245A.52	142B.72	2	
301.7	245A.53	142B.74	1	
301.8	245A.66, subdivision 2	142B.54	4, subdivision 2	
301.9	245A.66, subdivision 3	142B.54	4, subdivision 3	

The revisor of statutes must correct any statutory cross-references consistent with this 301.10 301.11 renumbering.

Sec. 23. Laws 2024, chapter 80, article 4, section 26, is amended to read: 301.12

Sec. 26. REVISOR INSTRUCTION. 301.13

301.14

(a) The revisor of statutes shall renumber each section of Minnesota Statutes listed in 301.15 column A with the number listed in column B. The revisor shall also make necessary 301.16 cross-reference changes consistent with the renumbering. The revisor shall also make any 301.17 technical, language, and other changes necessitated by the renumbering and cross-reference 301.18 changes in this act.

301.19	Column A	Column B
301.20	119A.50	142D.12
301.21	119A.52	142D.121
301.22	119A.53	142D.122
301.23	119A.535	142D.123
301.24	119A.5411	142D.124
301.25	119A.545	142D.125
301.26	119B.195	142D.30
301.27	119B.196	142D.24
301.28	119B.25	142D.20
301.29	119B.251	142D.31
301.30	119B.252	142D.32
301.31	119B.27	142D.21
301.32	119B.28	142D.22
301.33	119B.29	142D.23
301.34	121A.16	142D.09
301.35	121A.17	142D.091

	04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2
302.1	121A.18	142D.092		
302.2	121A.19	142D.093		
302.3	<u>122A.731</u>	142D.33		
302.4	124D.13	142D.10		
302.5	124D.135	142D.11		
302.6	124D.141	142D.16		
302.7	124D.142	142D.13		
302.8	124D.15	142D.05		
302.9	124D.151	142D.08		
302.10	124D.16	142D.06		
302.11	124D.165	142D.25		
302.12	124D.2211	142D.14		
302.13	124D.23	142D.15		

302.14 (b) The revisor of statutes shall codify Laws 2017, First Special Session chapter 5, article 8, section 9, as amended by article 4, section 25, as Minnesota Statutes, section 142D.07.

(c) The revisor of statutes shall change "commissioner of education" to "commissioner of children, youth, and families" and change "Department of Education" to "Department of Children, Youth, and Families" as necessary in Minnesota Statutes, chapters 119A and 120 to 129C, to reflect the changes in this act and Laws 2023, chapter 70, article 12. The revisor shall also make any technical, language, and other changes resulting from the change of term to the statutory language, sentence structure, or both, if necessary to preserve the meaning of the text.

Sec. 24. Laws 2024, chapter 80, article 6, section 4, is amended to read:

Sec. 4. REVISOR INSTRUCTION.

302.16

302.17

302.20

302.21

302.22

302.23

302.24

302.25 (a) The revisor of statutes must renumber each section of Minnesota Statutes in Column 302.26 A with the number in Column B.

302.27	Column A	Column B
302.28	245.771	142F.05
302.29	256D.60	142F.10
302.30	256D.61	142F.11
302.31	256D.62	142F.101
302.32	256D.63	142F.102
302.33	256D.64	142F.13
302.34	256D.65	142F.12

	04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2
303.1	256E.30	142F.3	0	
303.2	256E.31	142F.3	01	
303.3	256E.32	142F.3	02	
303.4	256E.33	142F.5	1	
303.5	256E.34	142F.1	4	
303.6	256E.342	142F.1	<u>5</u>	
303.7	256E.35	142F.2	0	
303.8	256E.36	142F.5	<u>2</u>	
303.9	256K.45	142F.5	<u>5</u>	
303.10	256K.451	142F.5	<u>6</u>	
303.11	256K.46	142F.5	<u>7</u>	
303.12	256K.47	142F.5	8	
303.13	(b) The revisor of statutes must corre	ct any statutory	cross-references c	onsistent with
303.14	this renumbering.			
	-			
303.15	Sec. 25. Laws 2024, chapter 80, article	7, section 4, is	amended to read:	
303.16	Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section	on 256J.09, is an	nended by adding	a subdivision to
303.17	read:			
303.18	Subd. 11. Domestic violence inform	ational brochu	re. (a) The commi	ssioner shall
303.19	provide a domestic violence information	al brochure that	provides informat	ion about the
303.20	existence of domestic violence waivers to all MFIP applicants. The brochure must explain			
303.21	that eligible applicants may be temporari	ly waived from	certain program re	equirements due
303.22	to domestic violence. The brochure must	•		-
303.23	programs to help victims of domestic vic	-		

- 303.24 (b) The brochure must be funded with TANF funds.
- 303.25 (c) The commissioner must work with the commissioner of human services to create a brochure that meets the requirements of this section and section 256.029.

303.27 Sec. 26. <u>CHILD FOSTER RESIDENCE SETTINGS TO STAY AT THE</u> 303.28 **DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES.**

The responsibility to license child foster residence settings as defined in Minnesota

Statutes, section 245A.02, subdivision 6e, does not transfer to the Department of Children,

Youth, and Families under Laws 2023, chapter 70, article 12, section 30, and remains with

the Department of Human Services.

	04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2
304.1	Sec. 27. DIRECTION TO THE CO	MMISSIONER (OF CHILDREN, Y	YOUTH, AND
304.2	FAMILIES; COORDINATION OF	SERVICES FOR	CHILDREN WI	<u>TH</u>
304.3	DISABILITIES AND MENTAL HE	ALTH.		
304.4	The commissioner shall designate a	department leader	to be responsible fo	or coordination
304.5	of services and outcomes around child	ren's mental health	and for children v	vith or at risk
304.6	for disabilities within and between the	Department of Ch	ildren, Youth, and	Families; the
304.7	Department of Human Services; and re	elated agencies.		
304.8	Sec. 28. REPEALER.			
304.9	(a) Laws 2024, chapter 80, article 2	, sections 1, subdi	vision 11; 3, subdi	vision 3; 4,
304.10	subdivision 4; 10, subdivision 4; 33; ar	nd 69, are repealed	l <u>.</u>	
304.11	(b) Minnesota Rules, part 9545.084	5, is repealed.		
304.12	Sec. 29. EFFECTIVE DATE; TRA	NSFER OF RES	PONSIBILITIES	<u>•</u>
304.13	(a) This article is effective July 1, 2	2024.		
304.14	(b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), t	the powers and resp	oonsibilities transfe	erred under this
304.15	article are effective upon notice of the	commissioner of cl	nildren, youth, and	families to the
304.16	commissioners of administration, mana	agement and budge	et, and other releva	nt departments
304.17	along with the secretary of the senate,	the chief clerk of t	he house of represe	entatives, and
304.18	the chairs and ranking minority member	ers of relevant legi	slative committees	and divisions,
304.19	pursuant to Laws 2023, chapter 70, art	icle 12, section 30,	, subdivision 1.	
304.20	(c) By August 1, 2025, the commis	sioners of human s	services and childr	en, youth, and
304.21	families shall notify the chairs and rank	king minority men	nbers of relevant le	gislative
304.22	committees and divisions and the reviso	r of statutes of any	sections of this artic	cle or programs
304.23	to be transferred that are waiting for fee	deral approval to b	ecome effective pu	rsuant to Laws
304.24	2023, chapter 70, article 12, section 30	, subdivision 1, pa	ragraph (b).	
304.25	A	ARTICLE 15		

MINNESOTA INDIAN FAMILY PRESERVATION ACT 304.26

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 259.20, subdivision 2, is amended to read: 304.27

Subd. 2. Other applicable law. (a) Portions of chapters 245A, 245C, 257, 260, and 304.28

304.29 317A may also affect the adoption of a particular child.

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

(b) Provisions of the Indian Child Welfare Act, United States Code, title 25, chapter 21, sections 1901-1923, may also and the Minnesota Indian Family Preservation Act under sections 260.751 to 260.835 apply in the adoption of an Indian child, and may preempt specific provisions of this chapter as described in section 259.201.

(c) Consistent with section 245C.33 and Public Law 109-248, a completed background study is required before the approval of any foster or adoptive placement in a related or an unrelated home.

Sec. 2. [259.201] COMPLIANCE WITH FEDERAL INDIAN CHILD WELFARE ACT AND MINNESOTA INDIAN FAMILY PRESERVATION ACT.

Adoption proceedings under this chapter that involve an Indian child are child custody proceedings governed by the Indian Child Welfare Act, United States Code, title 25, sections 1901 to 1963; by the Minnesota Indian Family Preservation Act, sections 260.751 to 260.835; by section 259.20, subdivision 2, paragraph (b); and by this chapter when not inconsistent with the federal Indian Child Welfare Act and the Minnesota Indian Family Preservation Act.

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 260.755, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:

Subd. 1a. Active efforts. (a) "Active efforts" means a rigorous and concerted level of effort to preserve the Indian child's family that is ongoing throughout the involvement of the child-placing agency to continuously involve the Indian child's Tribe and that uses the or the petitioner with the Indian child. Active efforts require the engagement of the Indian child, the Indian child's parents, the Indian custodian, the extended family, and the Tribe in using the prevailing social and cultural values, conditions, and way of life of the Indian child's Tribe to: (1) preserve the Indian child's family and; (2) prevent placement of an Indian child and; (3) if placement occurs, to return the Indian child to the Indian child's family at the earliest possible time; and (4) where a permanent change in parental rights or custody are necessary, ensure the Indian child retains meaningful connections to the Indian child's family, extended family, and Tribe.

(b) Active efforts under section for all Indian child placements includes this section and sections 260.012 and 260.762 and require a higher standard than reasonable efforts as defined in section 260.012 to preserve the family, prevent breakup of the family, and reunify the family. Active efforts include reasonable efforts as required by Title IV-E of the Social Security Act, United States Code, title 42, sections 670 to 679e are required for all Indian

305.1

305.2

305.3

305.4

305.5

305.6

305.7

305.8

305.9

305.18

305.19

305.20

305.21

305.22

305.23

305.24

305.25

305.26

305.27

305.28

305.29

305.30

305.31

305.32

child placement proceedings and for all voluntary Indian child placements that involve a child-placing agency regardless of whether the reasonable efforts would have been relieved under section 260.012.

- Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260.755, subdivision 2a, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2a. **Best interests of an Indian child.** "Best interests of an Indian child" means compliance with the <u>federal Indian Child Welfare Act and the Minnesota Indian Family</u>

 Preservation Act to preserve and maintain an Indian child's family. The best interests of an Indian child support the <u>Indian child</u>'s sense of belonging to family, extended family, and Tribe. The best interests of an Indian child are interwoven with the best interests of the Indian child's Tribe.
- Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 260.755, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
- Subd. 3. **Child placement proceeding.** (a) "Child placement proceeding" includes a judicial proceeding which could result in:
- 306.15 (1) "adoptive placement," meaning the permanent placement of an Indian child for 306.16 adoption, including an action resulting in a final decree of adoption;
- (2) "involuntary foster care placement," meaning an action removing an Indian child from the child's parents or Indian custodian for temporary placement in a foster home, institution, or the home of a guardian. The parent or Indian custodian cannot have the Indian child returned upon demand, but parental rights have not been terminated;
- 306.21 (3) "preadoptive placement," meaning the temporary placement of an Indian child in a 306.22 foster home or institution after the termination of parental rights, before or instead of adoptive 306.23 placement; or
- 306.24 (4) "termination of parental rights," meaning an action resulting in the termination of the parent-child relationship under section 260C.301.
- 306.26 (b) The term child placement proceeding is a domestic relations proceeding that includes all placements where Indian children are placed out-of-home or away from the care, custody, and control of their parent or parents or Indian custodian that do not implicate custody between the parents. Child placement proceeding also includes any placement based upon juvenile status offenses, but does not include a placement based upon an act which if committed by an adult would be deemed a crime, or upon an award of custody in a divorce proceeding to one of the parents.

306.1

306.2

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 260.755, subdivision 3a, is amended to read:

- Subd. 3a. **Child-placing agency.** "Child-placing agency" means a public, private, or nonprofit legal entity: (1) providing assistance to <u>a an Indian</u> child and the <u>Indian</u> child's <u>parent or parents or Indian custodian</u>; or (2) placing <u>a an Indian</u> child in foster care or for adoption on a voluntary or involuntary basis.
- Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260.755, subdivision 5, is amended to read:
- Subd. 5. **Demand.** "Demand" means a written and notarized statement signed by a parent or Indian custodian of a an Indian child which requests the return of the Indian child who has been voluntarily placed in foster care.
- Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 260.755, subdivision 5b, is amended to read:
- Subd. 5b. Extended family member. "Extended family member" is as defined by the 307.13 law or custom of the Indian child's Tribe or, in the absence of any law or custom of the 307.14 Tribe, is a person who has reached the age of 18 and who is the Indian child's grandparent, 307.15 aunt or uncle, brother or sister, brother-in-law or sister-in-law, niece or nephew, first or 307.16 second cousin, or stepparent. For the purposes of provision of active efforts and foster care 307.17 and permanency placement decisions, the legal parent, guardian, or custodian of the Indian 307.18 child's sibling is not an extended family member or relative of an Indian child unless they 307.19 are independently related to the Indian child or recognized by the Indian child's Tribe as an 307.20 extended family member. 307.21
- Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260.755, subdivision 14, is amended to read:
- Subd. 14. **Parent.** "Parent" means the biological parent of an Indian child, or any Indian person who has lawfully adopted an Indian child, including a person who has adopted a an Indian child by Tribal law or custom. Parent includes a father as defined by Tribal law or custom. Parent does not include an unmarried father whose paternity has not been acknowledged or established. Paternity has been acknowledged when an unmarried father takes any action to hold himself out as the biological father of an Indian child.

307.3

307.4

307.5

Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260.755, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

- Subd. 15a. Petitioner. "Petitioner" means one or more individuals other than a parent or Indian custodian who has filed a petition or motion seeking a grant of temporary or permanent guardianship, custody, or adoption of an Indian child.
- Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260.755, subdivision 17a, is amended to read:
- Subd. 17a. **Qualified expert witness.** "Qualified expert witness" means an individual who (1) has specific knowledge of the Indian child's tribe's culture and customs, or meets the criteria in section 260.771, subdivision 6, paragraph (d), and (2) provides testimony as required by the Indian Child Welfare Act of 1978, United States Code, title 25, section 1912, and the Minnesota Indian Family Preservation Act, regarding out-of-home placement or termination of parental rights child placement or permanency proceedings relating to an Indian child.
- Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 260.755, subdivision 20, is amended to read:
- Subd. 20. **Tribal court.** "Tribal court" means a court with jurisdiction over child custody proceedings and which is either a court of Indian offenses, or a court established and operated under the code or custom of an Indian Tribe, or any other administrative body of a Tribe which is vested with authority over child custody proceedings.
- Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260.755, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
- Subd. 20a. Tribal representative. "Tribal representative" means a representative

 designated by and acting on behalf of a Tribe in connection with an Indian child placement

 proceeding as defined in subdivision 3. It is not required that the designated representative

 be an attorney to represent the Tribe in these matters. An individual appearing as a Tribal

 representative on behalf of a Tribe and participating in a court proceeding under this chapter

 is not engaged in the unauthorized practice of law.
- Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 260.755, subdivision 22, is amended to read:
- Subd. 22. **Voluntary foster care placement.** "Voluntary foster care placement" means a decision in which there has been participation by a child-placing agency resulting in the

308.3

308.4

temporary placement of an Indian child away from the home of the <u>Indian</u> child's parents or Indian custodian in a foster home, institution, or the home of a guardian, and the parent or Indian custodian may have the <u>Indian</u> child returned upon demand.

- Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 260.758, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2. Temporary emergency jurisdiction of state courts. (a) The child-placing 309.6 agency, petitioner, or court shall ensure that the emergency removal or placement terminates 309.7 immediately when removal or placement is no longer necessary to prevent imminent physical 309.8 damage or harm to the Indian child. The child-placing agency, petitioner, or court shall 309.9 expeditiously initiate a child placement proceeding subject to the provisions of sections 309.10 260.751 to 260.835, transfer the Indian child to the jurisdiction of the appropriate Indian 309.11 Tribe, or return the Indian child to the Indian child's parent or Indian custodian as may be 309.12 appropriate. 309.13
- (b) If the Indian child is a resident of or is domiciled on a reservation but temporarily located off the reservation, a court of this state has only temporary emergency jurisdiction until the Indian child is transferred to the jurisdiction of the appropriate Indian Tribe unless the Indian child's Tribe has expressly declined to exercise its jurisdiction, or the Indian child is returned to the Indian child's parent or Indian custodian.
- Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 260.758, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
- Subd. 4. **Emergency proceeding requirements.** (a) The court shall hold a hearing no later than 72 hours, excluding weekends and holidays, after the emergency removal of the Indian child. The court shall determine whether the emergency removal continues to be necessary to prevent imminent physical damage or harm to the Indian child.
- (b) The court shall hold additional hearings whenever new information indicates that the emergency situation has ended and <u>must determine</u> at any court hearing during the emergency proceeding to determine whether the emergency removal or placement is no longer necessary to prevent imminent physical damage or harm to the Indian child.
- Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 260.758, subdivision 5, is amended to read:
- Subd. 5. **Termination of emergency removal or placement.** (a) An emergency removal or placement of an Indian child must immediately terminate once the child-placing agency

309.1

309.2

or court possesses sufficient evidence to determine that the emergency removal or placement is no longer necessary to prevent imminent physical damage or harm to the Indian child and the Indian child shall be immediately returned to the custody of the Indian child's parent or Indian custodian.

- (b) An emergency removal or placement ends when the Indian child is transferred to the jurisdiction of the Indian child's Tribe, or when the court orders, after service upon the Indian child's parents, Indian custodian, and Indian child's Tribe, that placement of the Indian child shall be placed in foster care upon a determination supported by clear and convincing evidence, including testimony by a qualified expert witness, that custody of the Indian child by the Indian child's parent or Indian custodian is likely to result in serious emotional or physical damage to the Indian child.
- (c) In no instance shall emergency removal or emergency placement of an Indian child extend beyond 30 days unless the court finds by a showing of clear and convincing evidence 310.13 that: (1) continued emergency removal or placement is necessary to prevent imminent 310.14 physical damage or harm to the Indian child; (2) the court has been unable to transfer the 310.15 proceeding to the jurisdiction of the Indian child's Tribal court; and (3) it has not been possible to initiate a child placement proceeding with all of the protections under sections 310.17 260.751 to 260.835, including obtaining the testimony of a qualified expert witness. 310.18
 - Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 260.761, is amended to read:

310.20 260.761 INQUIRY OF TRIBAL LINEAGE; NOTICE TO TRIBES, PARENTS, AND INDIAN CUSTODIANS; ACCESS TO FILES. 310.21

Subdivision 1. Inquiry of Tribal lineage. (a) The child-placing agency or individual petitioner shall inquire of the child, the child's parents and custodians, and other appropriate persons whether there is any reason to believe that a child brought to the agency's attention may have lineage to an Indian Tribe. This inquiry shall occur at the time the child comes to the attention of the child-placing agency or individual petitioner and shall continue throughout the involvement of the child-placing agency or individual petitioner.

(b) In any child placement proceeding, the court shall inquire of the child, the child's parents, custodian, and any person participating in the proceedings whether the child has any American Indian heritage or lineage to an Indian Tribe. The inquiry shall be made at the commencement of the proceeding and all responses must be on the record. The court must instruct the parties to inform the court if they subsequently receive information that provides reason to believe the child is an Indian child.

310.1

310.2

310.3

310.4

310.5

310.6

310.7

310.8

310.9

310.10

310.11

310.12

310.19

310.22

310.23

310.24

310.25

310.26

310.27

310.28

310.29

310.30

310.31

310.32

(c) If there is reason to believe the child is an Indian child, but the court does not have sufficient evidence to determine whether the child is an Indian child, the court shall:

- (1) confirm with a report, declaration, or testimony in the record that the child-placing agency or petitioner used due diligence to identify and work with all of the Tribes for which there is reason to believe the child may be a member of or eligible for membership to verify whether the child is an Indian child; and
- (2) proceed with the case as if the child is an Indian child until it is determined on the record that the child does not meet the definition of Indian child.

Subd. 2. Notice to Tribes of services or court proceedings involving an Indian child. (a) When a child-placing agency or petitioner has information that a family assessment, investigation, or noncaregiver sex trafficking assessment being conducted may involve an Indian child, the child-placing agency or petitioner shall notify the Indian child's Tribe of the family assessment, investigation, or noncaregiver sex trafficking assessment according to section 260E.18. The child-placing agency or petitioner shall provide initial notice by telephone and by email or facsimile and shall include the child's full name and date of birth; the full names and dates of birth of the child's biological parents; and if known the full names and dates of birth of the child's grandparents and of the child's Indian custodian. If information regarding the child's grandparents or Indian custodian is not immediately available, the child-placing agency or petitioner shall continue to request this information and shall notify the Tribe when it is received. Notice shall be provided to all Tribes to which the child may have any Tribal lineage. The child-placing agency or petitioner shall request that the Tribe or a designated Tribal representative participate in evaluating the family circumstances, identifying family and Tribal community resources, and developing case plans. The child-placing agency or petitioner shall continue to include the Tribe in service planning and updates as to the progress of the case.

(b) When a child-placing agency or petitioner has information that a child receiving services may be an Indian child, the child-placing agency or petitioner shall notify the Tribe by telephone and by email or facsimile of the child's full name and date of birth, the full names and dates of birth of the child's biological parents, and, if known, the full names and dates of birth of the child's grandparents and of the child's Indian custodian. This notification must be provided for the Tribe to determine if the child is a member or eligible for Tribal membership, and the child-placing agency or petitioner must provide this notification to the Tribe within seven days of receiving information that the child may be an Indian child. If information regarding the child's grandparents or Indian custodian is not available within the seven-day period, the child-placing agency or petitioner shall continue to request this

311.1

311.2

311.3

311.4

311.5

311.6

311.7

311.8

311.9

311.10

311.11

311.12

311.13

311.15

311.16

311.17

311.18

311.19

311.21

311.22

311.23

311.24

311.25

311.26

311.27

311.28

311.29

311.30

311.31

311.32

311.33

311.34

information and shall notify the Tribe when it is received. Notice shall be provided to all Tribes to which the child may have any Tribal lineage.

- (c) In all child placement proceedings, when a court has reason to believe that a child placed in emergency protective care is an Indian child, the court administrator or a designee shall, as soon as possible and before a hearing takes place, notify the Tribal social services agency by telephone and by email or facsimile of the date, time, and location of the emergency protective care or other initial hearing. The court shall make efforts to allow appearances by telephone or video conference for Tribal representatives, parents, and Indian eustodians allow appearances by telephone, video conference, or other electronic medium for Tribal representatives, the Indian child's parents, or the Indian custodian.
- (d) In all child placement proceedings, except for adoptive or preadoptive placement 312.11 proceedings, when a court has reason to believe the child is an Indian child, the child-placing 312.12 agency or individual petitioner shall effect service of any petition governed by sections 312.13 260.751 to 260.835 provide notice of the proceedings and a copy of any petition to the 312.14 Indian child's parents, Indian custodian, and the Indian child's Tribe and shall effect service 312.15 of any notice and petition governed by sections 260.751 to 260.835 upon the parent, Indian 312.16 custodian, and the Indian child's Tribe by certified mail or registered mail, return receipt 312.17 requested upon the Indian child's parents, Indian custodian, and Indian child's Tribe at least 312.18 10 days before the admit-deny hearing is held. If the identity or location of the Indian child's 312.19 parents or Indian custodian and or Tribe cannot be determined, the child-placing agency or 312.20 petitioner shall provide the notice required in this paragraph to the United States Secretary 312.21 of the Interior, Bureau of Indian Affairs by certified or registered mail, return receipt 312.22 requested. Where service is only accomplished through the United States Secretary of the Interior, Bureau of Indian Affairs, the initial hearing shall not be held until 20 days after 312.24 notice upon the Tribe or the Secretary of the Interior. 312.25
- 312.26 (e) Notice under this subdivision must be in clear and understandable language and 312.27 include the following:
- 312.28 (1) the child's name, date of birth, and birth place;
- 312.29 (2) all names known for the parents and Indian custodian, including maiden, married, 312.30 former names, and aliases, correctly spelled;
- 312.31 (3) the dates of birth, birth place, and Tribal enrollment numbers of the Indian child, the
 312.32 Indian child's parents, and the Indian custodian, if known;

312.1

312.2

312.3

312.4

312.5

312.6

312.7

312.8

312.9

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

313.1	(4) the full names, dates of birth, birth places, and Tribal enrollment or affiliation
313.2	information of direct lineal ancestors of the child, other extended family members, and
313.3	custodians of the child, if known;
313.4	(5) the name of any and all Indian Tribes in which the child is or may be a member or
313.5	eligible for membership in; and
313.6	(6) statements setting out:
313.0	(0) statements setting out.
313.7	(i) the name of the petitioner and name and address of the petitioner's attorney;
313.8	(ii) the right of any parent or Indian custodian of the Indian child, to intervene in the
313.9	child placement proceedings, if not already a party;
313.10	(iii) the right of the Indian child's Tribe to intervene in the proceedings at any time;
313.11	(iv) the right of the Indian child, the Indian child's parent, and the Indian custodian to
313.12	court-appointed counsel if they meet the requirements in section 611.17;
313.13	(v) the right to be granted, upon request, up to 20 additional days to prepare for the
313.14	child-placement proceedings;
313.15	(vi) the right of the Indian child's parent, the Indian custodian, and the Indian child's
313.16	Tribe to petition the court for transfer of the proceedings to Tribal court;
313.17	(vii) the mailing addresses and telephone numbers of the court and information related
313.18	to all parental and custodial rights of the parent or Indian custodian; and
313.19	(viii) that all parties must maintain confidentiality of all information contained in the
313.20	notice and must not provide the information to anyone other than their attorney.
313.21	(e) (f) A Tribe, the Indian child's parents, or the Indian custodian may request up to 20
313.22	additional days to prepare for the admit-deny initial hearing. The court shall allow
313.23	appearances by telephone, video conference, or other electronic medium for Tribal
313.24	representatives, the Indian child's parents, or the Indian custodian.
313.25	(f) (g) A child-placing agency or individual petitioner must provide the notices required
313.26	under this subdivision at the earliest possible time to facilitate involvement of the Indian
313.27	child's Tribe. Nothing in this subdivision is intended to hinder the ability of the child-placing
313.28	agency, individual petitioner, and the court to respond to an emergency situation. Lack of
313.29	participation by a Tribe shall not prevent the Tribe from intervening in services and
313.30	proceedings at a later date. A Tribe may participate in a case at any time. At any stage of
313.31	the child-placing agency's agency or petitioner's involvement with an Indian child, the
313.32	child-placing agency or petitioner shall provide full cooperation to the Tribal social services

agency, including disclosure of all data concerning the Indian child. Nothing in this subdivision relieves the child-placing agency <u>or petitioner</u> of satisfying the notice requirements in state or federal law.

(h) The court shall allow appearances by telephone, video conference, or other electronic means for Tribal representatives at all hearings and trials. The court shall allow appearances by telephone, video conference, or other electronic means for the Indian child's parents or Indian custodian for all hearings, except that the court may require an in-person appearance for trials or other evidentiary or contested hearings.

Subd. 3. Notice of potential preadoptive or adoptive placement. In any adoptive or preadoptive placement proceeding, including voluntary proceedings, where any party or participant has reason to believe that a child who is the subject of an adoptive or preadoptive placement proceeding is or may be an "Indian child," as defined in section 260.755, subdivision 8, and United States Code, title 25, section 1903(4), the child-placing agency or individual petitioner shall notify the Indian child's Tribe by registered mail or certified mail with return receipt requested of the pending proceeding and of the right of intervention under subdivision 6. If the identity or location of the Indian child's Tribe cannot be determined, the notice must be given to the United States Secretary of Interior in like manner. No preadoptive or adoptive placement proceeding may be held until at least 20 days after receipt of the notice by the Tribe or the secretary. Upon request, the Tribe must be granted up to 20 additional days to prepare for the proceeding. The child-placing agency or individual petitioner shall include in the notice the identity of the birth parents and Indian child absent written objection by the birth parents. The child-placing agency or petitioner shall inform the birth parents of the Indian child of any services available to the Indian child through the child's Tribal social services agency, including child placement services, and shall additionally provide the birth parents of the Indian child with all information sent from the Tribal social services agency in response to the notice.

Subd. 4. **Unknown father.** If the child-placing agency, individual petitioner, the court, or any party has reason to believe that a child who is the subject of a child placement proceeding is or may be an Indian child but the father of the child is unknown and has not registered with the fathers' adoption registry pursuant to section 259.52, the child-placing agency or individual petitioner shall provide to the Tribe believed to be the Indian child's Tribe information sufficient to enable the Tribe to determine the child's eligibility for membership in the Tribe, including, but not limited to, the legal and maiden name of the birth mother, her date of birth, the names and dates of birth of her parents and grandparents, and, if available, information pertaining to the possible identity, Tribal affiliation, or location

314.1

314.2

314.3

314.4

314.5

314.6

314.7

314.8

314.9

314.10

314.11

314.12

314.13

314.14

314.15

314.17

314.18

314.19

314.20

314.21

314.22

314.24

314.25

314.26

314.27

314.28

314.29

314.30

314.31

314.32

314.33

314.34

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

of the birth father. If the identity or location of the Indian child's Tribe cannot be determined, 315.1 the notice must be given to the United States Secretary of Interior in like manner. 315.2 Subd. 5. Proof of service of notice upon Tribe or secretary. In cases where a 315.3 child-placing agency or party to an adoptive placement knows or has reason to believe that 315.4 a child is or may be an Indian child, proof of service upon the Indian child's Tribe or the 315.5 secretary of interior must be filed with the adoption petition. 315.6 Subd. 6. Indian Tribe's right of intervention. In any child placement proceeding under 315.7 sections 260.751 to 260.835, the Indian child's Tribe shall have a right to intervene at any 315.8 point in the proceeding. 315.9 Subd. 6a. Indian Tribe's access to files. At any stage of the child-placing agency's 315.10 agency or petitioner's involvement with an Indian child, the child-placing agency or petitioner 315.11 shall, upon request, give the Tribal social services agency full cooperation including access 315.12 to all files concerning the Indian child. If the files contain confidential or private data, the 315.13 child-placing agency or petitioner may require execution of an agreement with the Tribal 315.14 social services agency to maintain the data according to statutory provisions applicable to the data. 315.16 Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 260.762, is amended to read: 315.17 260.762 DUTY TO PREVENT OUT-OF-HOME CHILD PLACEMENT, 315.18 PRESERVE THE CHILD'S FAMILY, AND PROMOTE FAMILY REUNIFICATION; 315.19 **ACTIVE EFFORTS.** 315.20 Subdivision 1. Active efforts. Active efforts includes acknowledging traditional helping 315.21 and healing systems of an Indian child's Tribe and using these systems as the core to help 315.22 and heal the Indian child and family regardless of whether the Indian child's Tribe has 315.23 intervened in the proceedings. Active efforts are not required to prevent voluntary 315.24 out-of-home placement and to effect voluntary permanency for the Indian child. 315.25 Subd. 2. Requirements for child-placing agencies and individual petitioners. A 315.26 child-placing agency or individual petitioner shall: 315.27 (1) work with the Indian child's Tribe and family to develop an alternative plan to 315.28 out-of-home placement; 315.29 (2) before making a decision that may affect an Indian child's safety and well-being or 315.30 when contemplating out-of-home placement of an Indian child, seek guidance from the 315.31 Indian child's Tribe on family structure, how the family can seek help, what family and

0 (/ 10/2 : 00/0 / pm	04/16/24 06:07 pm COUNSEL AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2
-----------------------	-------------------------------------	------------

Tribal resources are available, and what barriers the family faces at that time that could threaten its preservation; and

(3) request participation of the Indian child's Tribe at the earliest possible time and request the Tribe's active participation throughout the case.

- Subd. 2a. Required findings that active efforts were provided. (a) A court shall not order a child placement, termination of parental rights, guardianship to the commissioner of human services under section 260C.325, or temporary or permanent change in custody of an Indian child unless the court finds that the child-placing agency or petitioner demonstrated that active efforts were made to preserve the Indian child's family. Active efforts to preserve the Indian child's family include efforts to prevent placement of the Indian child to correct the conditions that led to the placement by ensuring remedial services and rehabilitative programs designed to prevent the breakup of the family were provided in a manner consistent with the prevailing social and cultural conditions of the Indian child's Tribe and in partnership with the Indian child, the Indian child's parents, the Indian custodian, extended family members, and Tribe, and that these efforts have proved unsuccessful.
- (b) The court, in determining whether active efforts were made to preserve the Indian child's family for purposes of child placement or permanency, shall ensure the provision of active efforts designed to correct the conditions that led to the placement of the Indian child and shall make findings regarding whether the following activities were appropriate and necessary, and whether the child-placing agency or petitioner ensured appropriate and meaningful services were available based upon the family's specific needs, whether listed in this paragraph or not:
- (1) whether active efforts were made at the earliest point possible to inquire into the child's heritage, to identify any federally recognized Indian Tribe the child may be affiliated with, to notify all potential Tribes at the earliest point possible, and to request participation of the Indian child's Tribe;
- (2) whether a Tribally designated representative with substantial knowledge of the 316.27 316.28 prevailing social and cultural standards and child-rearing practices within the Tribal community was provided an opportunity to consult with and be involved in any investigations 316.29 or assessments of the family's circumstances, participate in identifying the family's needs, 316.30 and participate in development of any plan to keep the Indian child safely in the home, 316.31 identify services designed to prevent the breakup of the Indian child's family, and to reunify 316.32 the Indian child's family as soon as safety can be assured if out-of-home placement has 316.33 316.34 occurred;

316.1

316.2

316.3

316.4

316.5

316.6

316.7

316.8

316.9

316.10

316.11

316.12

316.13

316.14

316.15

316.16

316.17

316.18

316.19

316.20

316.21

316.22

316.23

316.24

316.25

317.1	(3) whether the Tribal representative was provided with all information available
317.2	regarding the proceeding, and whether it was requested that the Tribal representative assist
317.3	in identifying services designed to prevent the breakup of the Indian child's family and to
317.4	reunify the Indian child's family as soon as safety can be assured if out-of-home placement
317.5	has occurred;
317.6	(4) whether, before making a decision that may affect an Indian child's safety and
317.7	well-being or when contemplating placement of an Indian child, guidance from the Indian
317.8	child's Tribe was sought regarding family structure, how the family can seek help, what
317.9	family and Tribal resources are available, and what barriers the family faces that could
317.10	threaten the family's preservation;
317.11	(5) whether a Tribal representative was consulted to determine and arrange for visitation
317.12	in the most natural setting that ensures the Indian child's safety, when the Indian child's
317.13	safety requires supervised visitation;
317.14	(6) whether early and ongoing efforts occurred to identify, locate, and include extended
317.15	family members as supports for the Indian child and the Indian child's family;
317.16	(7) whether continued active efforts were made to identify and place the Indian child in
317.17	a home that is compliant with the placement preferences in sections 260.751 to 260.835,
317.18	including whether extended family members were consulted to provide support to the Indian
317.19	child and Indian child's parents; to inform the child-placing agency, petitioner, and court
317.20	as to cultural connections and family structure; to assist in identifying appropriate cultural
317.21	services and supports for the Indian child and Indian child's parents; and to identify and
317.22	serve as placement and permanency resources for the Indian child. If there was difficulty
317.23	contacting or engaging extended family members, whether assistance was sought from the
317.24	Tribe, the Department of Human Services, or other agencies with expertise in working with
317.25	<u>Indian families;</u>
317.26	(8) whether services and resources were provided to extended family members who are
317.27	considered the primary placement option for an Indian child, as agreed upon by the
317.28	child-placing agency or petitioner and the Tribe, to overcome licensing and other barriers
317.29	to providing care to an Indian child. The need for services or resources shall not be a basis
317.30	to exclude an extended family member from consideration as a primary placement. Services
317.31	and resources include but are not limited to child care assistance, financial assistance,
317.32	housing resources, emergency resources, and foster care licensing assistance and resources;
317.33	(9) whether concrete services and access to both Tribal and non-Tribal services were
317.34	provided to the Indian child's parents and Indian custodian and, where necessary, members

of the Indian child's extended family members who provide support to the Indian child and the Indian child's parents; and whether these services were provided in an ongoing manner throughout the child-placing agency or petitioner's involvement with the Indian family to directly assist the Indian family in accessing and utilizing services to maintain the Indian family, or to reunify the Indian family as soon as safety can be assured if out-of-home placement has occurred. Services include but are not limited to financial assistance, food, housing, health care, transportation, in-home services, community support services, and specialized services; and

(10) whether visitation occurred whenever possible in the home of the Indian child's parent, Indian custodian, or extended family member or in another noninstitutional setting in order to keep the Indian child in close contact with the Indian child's parents, siblings, and other relatives regardless of the Indian child's age and to allow the Indian child and those with whom the Indian child visits to have natural, unsupervised interaction when consistent with protecting the child's safety.

Subd. 2b. Adoptions. For adoptions under chapter 259, the court may find that active efforts were made to prevent placement of an Indian child or to reunify the Indian child with the Indian child's parents upon a finding that: (1) subdivision 2a, paragraph (b), clauses (1) to (4), were met; (2) the Indian child's parent knowingly and voluntarily consented to placement of the Indian child for adoption on the record as described in section 260.765, subdivision 3a; (3) fraud was not present, and the Indian child's parent was not under duress; (4) the Indian child's parent was offered and declined services that would enable the Indian child's parent to maintain custody of the Indian child; and (5) the Indian child's parent was counseled on alternatives to adoption, and adoption contact agreements.

Subd. 3. Required findings that active efforts were provided. (a) Any party seeking to affect a termination of parental rights, other permanency action, or a placement where custody of an Indian child may be temporarily or permanently transferred to a person or entity who is not the Indian child's parent or Indian custodian, and where the Indian child's parent or Indian custodian cannot have the Indian child returned to their care upon demand, must satisfy the court that active efforts have been made to provide remedial services and rehabilitative programs designed to prevent the breakup of the Indian family and that these efforts have proved unsuccessful.

(b) A court shall not order an out-of-home or permanency placement for an Indian child unless the court finds that the child-placing agency made active efforts to, as required by section 260.012 and this section, provide remedial services and rehabilitative programs designed to prevent the breakup of the Indian child's family, and that these efforts have

318.1

318.2

318.3

318.4

318.5

318.6

318.7

318.8

318.9

318.10

318.11

318.12

318.13

318.14

318.15

318.16

318.17

318.18

318.19

318.20

318.21

318.22

318.24

318.25

318.26

318.28

318.29

318.30

318.31

318.32

318.33

318.34

proved unsuccessful. To the extent possible, active efforts must be provided in a manner consistent with the prevailing social and cultural conditions of the Indian child's Tribe and in partnership with the Indian child, Indian parents, extended family, and Tribe.

(c) Regardless of whether the Indian child's Tribe has intervened in the proceedings, the court, in determining whether the child-placing agency made active efforts to preserve the Indian child's family for purposes of out-of-home placement and permanency, shall ensure the provision of active efforts designed to correct the conditions that led to the out-of-home placement of the Indian child and shall make findings regarding whether the following activities were appropriate and necessary, and whether the child-placing agency made appropriate and meaningful services, whether listed in this paragraph or not, available to the family based upon that family's specific needs:

(1) whether the child-placing agency made efforts at the earliest point possible to (i) identify whether a child may be an Indian child as defined in section 260.755, subdivision 8; and (ii) identify and request participation of the Indian child's Tribe at the earliest point possible and throughout the investigation or assessment, case planning, provision of services, and case completion;

(2) whether the child-placing agency requested that a Tribally designated representative with substantial knowledge of prevailing social and cultural standards and child-rearing practices within the Tribal community evaluate the circumstances of the Indian child's family, provided the Tribally designated representative with all information available regarding the case, and requested that the Tribally designated representative assist in developing a case plan that uses Tribal and Indian community resources;

(3) whether the child-placing agency provided concrete services and access to both Tribal and non-Tribal services to members of the Indian child's family, including but not limited to financial assistance, food, housing, health care, transportation, in-home services, community support services, and specialized services; and whether these services are being provided in an ongoing manner throughout the agency's involvement with the family, to directly assist the family in accessing and utilizing services to maintain the Indian family, or reunify the Indian family as soon as safety can be assured if out-of-home placement has occurred;

(4) whether the child-placing agency made early and ongoing efforts to identify, locate, 319.32 and include extended family members;

(5) whether the child-placing agency notified and consulted with the Indian child's extended family members, as identified by the child, the child's parents, or the Tribe; whether

319.1

319.2

319.3

319.4

319.5

319.6

319.7

319.8

319.9

319.10

319.11

319.12

319.13

319.14

319.15

319.16

319.17

319.18

319.19

319.20

319.21

319.22

319.23

319.24

319.26

319.27

319.28

319.30

319.31

319.33

extended family members were consulted to provide support to the child and parents, to inform the child-placing agency and court as to cultural connections and family structure, to assist in identifying appropriate cultural services and supports for the child and parents, and to identify and serve as a placement and permanency resource for the child; and if there was difficulty contacting or engaging with extended family members, whether assistance was sought from the Tribe, the Department of Human Services, or other agencies with expertise in working with Indian families;

- (6) whether the child-placing agency provided services and resources to relatives who are considered the primary placement option for an Indian child, as agreed by the child-placing agency and the Tribe, to overcome barriers to providing care to an Indian child. Services and resources shall include but are not limited to child care assistance, financial assistance, housing resources, emergency resources, and foster care licensing assistance and resources; and
- (7) whether the child-placing agency arranged for visitation to occur, whenever possible, in the home of the Indian child's parent, Indian custodian, or other family member or in another noninstitutional setting, in order to keep the child in close contact with parents, siblings, and other relatives regardless of the child's age and to allow the child and those with whom the child visits to have natural, unsupervised interaction when consistent with protecting the child's safety; and whether the child-placing agency consulted with a Tribal representative to determine and arrange for visitation in the most natural setting that ensures the child's safety, when the child's safety requires supervised visitation.
- Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 260.763, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
 - Subdivision 1. **Indian Tribe jurisdiction.** (a) An Indian Tribe has exclusive jurisdiction over all child placement proceedings involving an Indian child who resides or is domiciled within the reservation of the Tribe, except where jurisdiction is otherwise vested in the state by existing federal law. The child-placing agencies and the courts shall defer to a Tribal determination of the Tribe's exclusive jurisdiction when an Indian child resides or is domiciled within the reservation of the Tribe.
- 320.30 (b) Where an Indian child is a ward of the Tribal court, the Indian Tribe retains exclusive 320.31 jurisdiction, notwithstanding the residence or domicile of the child unless the Tribe agrees 320.32 to allow concurrent jurisdiction with the state.

320.1

320.2

320.3

320.4

320.5

320.6

320.7

320.8

320.9

320.10

320.11

320.13

320.14

320.15

320.17

320.18

320.19

320.20

320.21

320.24

320.25

320.26

320.27

320.28

(c) An Indian Tribe and the state of Minnesota share concurrent jurisdiction over a child placement proceeding involving an Indian child who resides or is domiciled outside of the reservation of the Tribe, or if the Tribe agrees to concurrent jurisdiction.

- Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 260.763, subdivision 4, is amended 321.4 to read: 321.5
- Subd. 4. Transfer of proceedings. In any child placement proceeding, upon a motion or request by the Indian child's parent, Indian custodian, or Tribe, the court, in the absence of good cause to the contrary, shall transfer the proceeding to the jurisdiction of the Tribe absent objection by either of the Indian child's parent or the Indian custodian. The petition motion or request to transfer may be filed made by the Indian child's parent, the Indian 321.10 custodian, or the Indian child's Tribe at any stage in the proceedings by: (1) filing a written 321.11 motion with the court and serving the motion upon the other parties; or (2) making a request on the record during the hearing, which shall be reflected in the court's findings. A request 321.13 321.14 or motion to transfer made by a Tribal representative of the Indian child's Tribe under this subdivision shall not be considered the unauthorized practice of law. The transfer is subject 321.15 321.16 to declination by the Tribal court of the Tribe.
- Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 260.763, subdivision 5, is amended 321.17 to read: 321.18
- Subd. 5. Good cause to deny transfer. (a) Establishing good cause to deny transfer of 321.19 jurisdiction to a Tribal court is a fact-specific inquiry to be determined on a case-by-case 321.20 basis. Socioeconomic conditions and the perceived adequacy of Tribal or Bureau of Indian 321.21 Affairs social services or judicial systems must not be considered in a determination that 321.22 good cause exists. The party opposed to transfer of jurisdiction to a Tribal court has the 321.23 burden to prove by clear and convincing evidence that good cause to deny transfer exists. 321.24 321.25 Opposition to a motion to transfer jurisdiction to Tribal court must be in writing and must be served upon all parties. 321.26
 - (b) Upon a motion or request by an Indian child's parent, Indian custodian, or Tribe, the court may find good cause to deny transfer to Tribal court if shall transfer jurisdiction to a Tribal court unless the court determines that there is good cause to deny transfer based on the following:
- (1) the Indian child's Tribe does not have a Tribal court or any other administrative body 321.31 of a Tribe vested with authority over child placement proceedings, as defined in section 321.32

321.1

321.2

321.3

321.6

321.7

321.8

321.9

321.27

321.28

321.29

260.755, subdivision 3, to which the case can be transferred, and no other Tribal court has been designated by the Indian child's Tribe; or

- (2) the evidence necessary to decide the case could not be adequately presented in the Tribal court without undue hardship to the parties or the witnesses and the Tribal court is unable to mitigate the hardship by any means permitted in the Tribal court's rules. Without evidence of undue hardship, travel distance alone is not a basis for denying a transfer.
- Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 260.765, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2. **Notice.** When an Indian child is voluntarily placed in foster care out of the care of the Indian child's parent or Indian custodian, the child-placing agency involved in the decision to place the Indian child shall give notice as described in section 260.761 of the placement to the Indian child's parent, parents, Indian custodian, and the Tribal social services agency within seven days of placement, excluding weekends and holidays.
- If a child-placing agency makes a temporary voluntary foster care placement pending a decision on adoption by a an Indian child's parent or Indian custodian, notice of the placement shall be given to the Indian child's parents, Tribal social services agency, and the Indian custodian upon the filing of a petition for termination of parental rights or three months following the temporary placement, whichever occurs first.
- Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 260.765, subdivision 3a, is amended to read:
- Subd. 3a. Court requirements for consent. Where any parent or Indian custodian 322.21 voluntarily consents to a foster care child placement or to termination of parental rights or 322.22 adoption, the consent shall not be valid unless executed in writing and recorded before a 322.23 judge and accompanied by the presiding judge's finding that the terms and consequences 322.24 of the consent were fully explained in detail and were fully understood by the parent or Indian custodian. The court shall also find that either the parent or Indian custodian fully 322.26 understood the explanation in English or that it was interpreted into a language the parent 322.27 or Indian custodian understood. Any consent given prior to, or within ten days after, the 322.28 birth of an Indian child shall not be valid. 322.29

322.1

322.2

322.3

322.4

322.5

Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 260.765, subdivision 4b, is amended to read:

- Subd. 4b. Collateral attack; vacation of decree and return of custody;
- limitations. After the entry of a final decree of adoption of an Indian child in any state
 court, the <u>Indian child's</u> parent may withdraw consent upon the grounds that consent was
 obtained through fraud or duress and may petition the court to vacate the decree. Upon a
 finding that consent was obtained through fraud or duress, the court shall vacate the decree
 and return the <u>Indian child</u> to the <u>Indian child's</u> parent. No adoption that has been effective
 for at least two years may be invalidated under the provisions of this subdivision unless
 otherwise permitted under a provision of state law.
- Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 260.771, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:
- Subd. 1a. **Active efforts.** In any child placement proceeding, the child-placing agency or individual petitioner shall ensure that appropriate active efforts as described in section 260.762 are provided to the Indian child's parent or parents, Indian custodian, and family to support reunification and preservation of the <u>Indian</u> child's placement with and relationship to the Indian child's extended family.
- Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 260.771, subdivision 1b, is amended to read:
- Subd. 1b. **Placement preference.** In any child placement proceeding, the child-placing agency or individual petitioner shall follow the placement preferences described in section 260.773 or, where preferred placement is not available even with the provision of active efforts, shall follow section 260.773, subdivisions 12 to 15.
- Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 260.771, subdivision 1c, is amended to read:
- Subd. 1c. **Identification of extended family members.** Any child-placing agency or individual petitioner considering placement of an Indian child shall make ensure active efforts are made to identify and locate siblings and extended family members and to explore placement with an extended family member and facilitate continued involvement in the Indian child's life members and ensure the Indian child's relationship with the Indian child's extended family and Tribe.

Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 260.771, subdivision 2b, is amended to read:

- Subd. 2b. **Appointment of counsel.** (a) In any state court child placement proceeding, including but not limited to any proceeding where the petitioner or another party seeks to temporarily or permanently remove an Indian child from the Indian child's parent or parents or Indian custodian, the Indian child's parent or parents or Indian custodian shall have the right to be represented by an attorney. If the parent or parents or Indian custodian cannot afford an attorney and meet the requirements of section 611.17, an attorney will be appointed to represent them.
- (b) In any state court child placement proceeding, any <u>Indian</u> child ten years of age or older shall have the right to court-appointed counsel. <u>The court may appoint counsel for any Indian child under ten years of age in any state court child placement proceeding if the court determines that appointment is appropriate and in the best interest of the Indian child.</u>
- (c) If the court appoints counsel to represent a person pursuant to this subdivision, the court shall appoint counsel to represent the person prior to the first hearing on the petition, but may appoint counsel at any stage of the proceeding if the court deems it necessary. The court shall not appoint a public defender to represent the person unless such appointment is authorized by section 611.14.
- Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 260.771, subdivision 2d, is amended to read:
- 324.21 Subd. 2d. Tribal access to files and other documents. At any subsequent stage of the child-placing agency or petitioner's involvement with an Indian child, the child-placing 324.22 agency or individual petitioner shall, upon request, give the Tribal social services agency 324.23 full cooperation including access to all files concerning the Indian child. If the files contain 324.24 confidential or private data, the child-placing agency or individual petitioner may require 324.25 execution of an agreement with the Tribal social services agency specifying that the Tribal 324.26 social services agency shall maintain the data according to statutory provisions applicable 324.27 to the data. 324.28
- Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 260.771, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
- Subd. 2f. Participation of Indian child's Tribe in court proceedings. (a) In any child placement proceeding that involves an Indian child, any Tribe that the Indian child may be

324.1

324.2

324.3

324.4

324.5

324.6

324.7

324.8

0.4/1.6/0.4.06.07	COLDICEL	ATH ATHE	0.0004.004.0
04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

325.1	eligible for membership in, as determined by the Tribe, is a party to the proceedings without
325.2	the need to file a motion.
325.3	(b) An Indian child's Tribe, Tribal representative, or attorney representing the Tribe:
325.4	(1) may appear remotely at hearings by telephone, video conference, or other electronic
325.5	medium without prior request;
325.6	(2) is not required to use the court's electronic filing and service system and may use
325.7	United States mail, facsimile, or other alternative method for filing and service;
325.8	(3) may file documents with the court using an alternative method that the clerk of court
325.9	shall accept and file electronically;
325.10	(4) is exempt from any filing fees required under section 357.021; and
325.11	(5) is exempt from the pro hac vice requirements of Rule 5 of the Minnesota General
325.12	Rules of Practice.
325.13	Sec. 32. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 260.771, subdivision 6, is amended
325.14	to read:
325.15	Subd. 6. Qualified expert witness and evidentiary requirements. (a) In an any
325.16	involuntary foster care placement proceeding, the court must determine by clear and
325.17	convincing evidence, including testimony of a qualified expert witness, that continued
325.18	custody of the <u>Indian</u> child by the parent or Indian custodian is likely to result in serious
325.19	emotional damage or serious physical damage to the <u>Indian</u> child.
325.20	In a termination of parental rights proceeding, the court must determine by evidence
325.21	beyond a reasonable doubt, including testimony of a qualified expert witness, that continued
325.22	custody of the <u>Indian</u> child by the parent or Indian custodian is likely to result in serious
325.23	emotional damage or serious physical damage to the <u>Indian</u> child.
325.24	In an involuntary permanent transfer of legal and physical custody proceeding, permanent
325.25	custody to the agency proceeding, temporary custody to the agency, or other permanency
325.26	proceeding, the court must determine by clear and convincing evidence, including testimony
325.27	of a qualified expert witness, that the continued custody of the Indian child by the Indian
325.28	child's parent or parents or Indian custodian is likely to result in serious emotional damage
325.29	or serious physical damage to the Indian child. Qualified expert witness testimony is not
325.30	required where custody is transferred to the Indian child's parent.
325.31	Testimony of a qualified expert witness shall be provided for involuntary foster care

325.32 <u>child</u> placement and permanency proceedings independently.

(b) The child-placing agency, individual petitioner, or any other party shall make diligent efforts to locate and present to the court a qualified expert witness designated by the Indian child's Tribe. The qualifications of a qualified expert witness designated by the Indian child's Tribe are not subject to a challenge in Indian child placement proceedings.

- (c) If a party cannot obtain testimony from a Tribally designated qualified expert witness, the party shall submit to the court the diligent efforts made to obtain a Tribally designated qualified expert witness.
- (d) If clear and convincing evidence establishes that a party's diligent efforts cannot produce testimony from a Tribally designated qualified expert witness, the party shall demonstrate to the court that a proposed qualified expert witness is, in descending order of preference:
- (1) a member of the <u>Indian</u> child's Tribe who is recognized by the Indian child's Tribal community as knowledgeable in Tribal customs as they pertain to family organization and child-rearing practices; or
- (2) an Indian person from an Indian community who has substantial experience in the delivery of child and family services to Indians and extensive knowledge of prevailing social and cultural standards and contemporary and traditional child-rearing practices of the Indian 326.17 child's Tribe. 326.18
 - If clear and convincing evidence establishes that diligent efforts have been made to obtain a qualified expert witness who meets the criteria in clause (1) or (2), but those efforts have not been successful, a party may use an expert witness, as defined by the Minnesota Rules of Evidence, rule 702, who has substantial experience in providing services to Indian families and who has substantial knowledge of prevailing social and cultural standards and child-rearing practices within the Indian community. The court or any party may request the assistance of the Indian child's Tribe or the Bureau of Indian Affairs agency serving the Indian child's Tribe in locating persons qualified to serve as expert witnesses.
 - (e) The court may allow alternative methods of participation and testimony in state court proceedings by a qualified expert witness, such as participation or testimony by telephone, videoconferencing video conference, or other methods electronic medium.
- Sec. 33. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 260.773, subdivision 1, is amended 326.30 to read: 326.31
- Subdivision 1. Least restrictive setting. In all proceedings where custody of the Indian 326.32 child may be removed from the Indian child's parent or Indian custodian, the Indian child 326.33

326.1

326.2

326.3

326.4

326.5

326.6

326.7

326.8

326.9

326.10

326.11

326.12

326.13

326.14

326.15

326.16

326.19

326.20

326.21

326.23

326.24

326.25

326.26

326.27

326.28

shall be placed in the least restrictive setting which most approximates a family and in which the Indian child's special needs, if any, may be met. The Indian child shall also be placed within reasonable proximity to the Indian child's home, taking into account any special needs of the Indian child.

- Sec. 34. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 260.773, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2. **Tribe's order of placement recognized.** In the case of a placement under subdivision 3 or 4, if the Indian child's Tribe has established a different order of placement preference by resolution, the child-placing agency <u>or petitioner</u> and the court shall recognize the Indian child's Tribe's order of placement in the form provided by the Tribe.
- Sec. 35. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 260.773, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
- Subd. 3. **Placement options preferences for temporary proceedings.** Preference shall be given, in the absence of good cause to the contrary, to a placement with:
- 327.15 (1) a noncustodial parent or Indian custodian;
- 327.16 (2) a member of the Indian child's extended family;
- 327.17 (3) a foster home licensed, approved, or specified by the Indian child's Tribe;
- 327.18 (4) an Indian foster home licensed or approved by an authorized non-Indian licensing authority; or
- 327.20 (5) an institution for children approved by an Indian Tribe or operated by an Indian 327.21 organization which has a program suitable to meet the Indian child's needs.
- Sec. 36. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 260.773, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
- Subd. 4. Placement preference preferences for permanent proceedings. In any adoptive placement, transfer of custody placement, or other permanency placement of an Indian child, a preference shall be given, in the absence of good cause to the contrary, to a placement with:
- 327.28 (1) the Indian child's noncustodial parent or Indian custodian;
- 327.29 (2) a member of the Indian child's extended family;
- 327.30 (3) other members of the Indian child's Tribe; or

04/16/24 06:0 / pm	.6/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699
--------------------	----------------	---------	-----------	---------

328.1 (4) other persons or entities recognized as appropriate to be a permanency resource for 328.2 the Indian child, by the Indian child's parent or parents, Indian custodian, or Indian Tribe.

- Sec. 37. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 260.773, subdivision 5, is amended to read:
- Subd. 5. **Suitability of placement.** The county <u>child-placing agency and petitioner</u> shall defer to the judgment of the Indian child's Tribe as to the suitability of a placement.
- Sec. 38. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 260.773, subdivision 10, is amended to read:
- Subd. 10. Exceptions to placement preferences. The court shall follow the placement preferences in subdivisions 1 to 9, except as follows:
- (1) where a parent evidences a desire for anonymity, the child-placing agency <u>or petitioner</u> and the court shall give weight to the parent's desire for anonymity in applying the preferences. A parent's desire for anonymity does not excuse the application of sections 28.14 260.751 to 260.835; or
- 328.15 (2) where the court determines there is good cause based on:
- (i) the reasonable request of the Indian child's parents, if one or both parents attest that they have reviewed the placement options that comply with the order of placement preferences;
- 328.19 (ii) the reasonable request of the Indian child if the <u>Indian</u> child is able to understand 328.20 and comprehend the decision that is being made;
- (iii) the testimony of a qualified expert designated by the <u>Indian</u> child's Tribe and, if necessary, testimony from an expert witness who meets qualifications of section 260.771, subdivision 6, paragraph (d), clause (2), that supports placement outside the order of placement preferences due to extraordinary physical or emotional needs of the <u>Indian</u> child that require highly specialized services; or
- (iv) the testimony by the child-placing agency <u>or petitioner</u> that a diligent search has been conducted that did not locate any available, suitable families for the <u>Indian</u> child that meet the placement preference criteria.

Sec. 39. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 260.773, subdivision 11, is amended to read:

- Subd. 11. **Factors considered in determining placement.** Testimony of the <u>Indian</u> child's bonding or attachment to a foster family alone, without the existence of at least one of the factors in subdivision 10, clause (2), shall not be considered good cause to keep an Indian child in a lower preference or nonpreference placement. Ease of visitation and facilitation of relationship with the Indian child's parents, Indian custodian, extended family, or Tribe may be considered when determining placement.
- Sec. 40. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 260.774, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
- Subdivision 1. **Improper removal.** In any proceeding where custody of the Indian child was improperly removed from the parent or <u>parents Indian custodian</u> or where the petitioner has improperly retained custody after a visit or other temporary relinquishment of custody, the court shall decline jurisdiction over the petition and shall immediately return the Indian child to the Indian child's parent or <u>parents</u> or Indian custodian unless returning the Indian child to the Indian child's parent or <u>parents</u> or Indian custodian would subject the Indian child to a substantial and immediate danger or threat of such danger.
- Sec. 41. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 260.774, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2. **Invalidation.** (a) Any order for out-of-home child placement, transfer of custody, termination of parental rights, or other permanent change in custody of an Indian child shall be invalidated upon a showing, by a preponderance of the evidence, that a violation of any one of the provisions in section 260.761, 260.762, 260.763, 260.765, 260.771, 260.773, or 260.7745 has occurred.
- 329.25 (b) The Indian child, the Indian child's parent or parents, guardian, Indian custodian, or 329.26 Indian Tribe may file a petition or motion to invalidate under this subdivision.
- 329.27 (c) Upon a finding that a violation of one of the provisions in section 260.761, 260.762, 329.28 260.763, 260.765, 260.771, 260.773, or 260.7745 has occurred, the court shall:
- 329.29 (1) dismiss the petition without prejudice; and
- (2) return the Indian child to the care, custody, and control of the parent or parents or Indian custodian, unless the Indian child would be subjected to imminent physical damage or harm-; and

329.3

329.4

329.5

329.6

329.7

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

330.1	(3) determine whether the Indian child's parent or Indian custodian has been assessed
330.2	placement costs and order reimbursement of those costs.
330.3	(d) Upon a finding that a willful, intentional, knowing, or reckless violation of one of
330.4	the provisions in section 260.761, 260.762, 260.763, 260.765, 260.771, 260.773, or 260.7745
330.5	has occurred, the court may consider whether sanctions, reasonable costs, and attorney fees
330.6	should be imposed against the offending party.
330.7	Sec. 42. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 260.774, subdivision 3, is amended
330.8	to read:
330.9	Subd. 3. Return of custody following adoption. (a) Whenever a final decree of adoption
330.10	of an Indian child has been vacated, set aside, or there is a termination of the parental rights
330.11	of the adoptive parents to the <u>Indian</u> child, a biological parent or prior Indian custodian may
330.12	petition for return of custody and the court shall grant the petition unless there is a showing,
330.13	in proceedings subject to the provision of sections 260.751 to 260.835, that the return of
330.14	custody is not in the best interests of the Indian child.
330.15	(b) The county attorney, Indian child, Indian child's Tribe, Indian custodian, or a an
330.16	<u>Indian child's</u> parent whose parental rights were terminated under a previous order of the
330.17	court may file a petition for the return of custody.
330.18	(c) A petition for return of custody may be filed in court when:
330.19	(1) the parent or Indian custodian has corrected the conditions that led to an order
330.20	terminating parental rights;
330.21	(2) the parent or Indian custodian is willing and has the capability to provide day-to-day
330.22	care and maintain the health, safety, and welfare of the Indian child; and
330.23	(3) the adoption has been vacated, set aside, or termination of the parental rights of the
330.24	adoptive parents to the Indian child has occurred.
330.25	(d) A petition for reestablishment of the legal parent and child relationship for a an Indian
330.26	child who has not been adopted must meet the requirements in section 260C.329.
330.27	Sec. 43. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260.775, is amended to read:
330.28	260.775 PLACEMENT RECORDS.
330.29	(a) The commissioner of human services shall publish annually an inventory of all Indian
330.30	children in residential facilities. The inventory shall include, by county and statewide,

330.31 information on legal status, living arrangement, age, sex, Tribe in which the <u>Indian</u> child is

a member or eligible for membership, accumulated length of time in foster care, and other demographic information deemed appropriate concerning all Indian children in residential facilities. The report must also state the extent to which authorized child-placing agencies comply with the order of preference described in United States Code, title 25, section 1901, et seq. The commissioner shall include the information required under this paragraph in the annual report on child maltreatment and on children in out-of-home placement under section 257.0725.

331.8 (b) This section expires January 1, 2032.

331.1

331.2

331.3

331.4

331.5

331.6

- Sec. 44. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 260.781, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
- Subdivision 1. **Court decree information.** (a) A state court entering a final decree or order in an Indian child adoptive placement shall provide the Department of Human Services and the child's Tribal social services agency with a copy of the decree or order together with such other information to show:
- 331.15 (1) the name and Tribal affiliation of the Indian child;
- (2) the names and addresses of the biological parents and Indian custodian, if any;
- 331.17 (3) the names and addresses of the adoptive parents; and
- 331.18 (4) the identity of any agency having files or information relating to the adoptive placement.
- If the court records contain an affidavit of the biological or adoptive parents 331.20 or Indian custodian requesting anonymity, the court shall delete the name and address of 331.21 the biological or adoptive parents or Indian custodian from the information sent to the Indian 331.22 child's Tribal social services agency. The court shall include the affidavit with the other 331.23 information provided to the Minnesota Department of Human Services and the Secretary of the Interior. The Minnesota Department of Human Services shall and the Secretary of 331.25 the Interior is requested to ensure that the confidentiality of the information is maintained 331.26 and the information shall not be subject to the Freedom of Information Act, United States 331.27 Code, title 5, section 552, as amended. 331.28
- 331.29 (b) For:
- 331.30 (1) disclosure of information for enrollment membership of an Indian child in the Tribe;
- 331.31 (2) determination of member rights or benefits; or

(3) certification of entitlement to membership upon the request of the adopted Indian 332.1 child over the age of eighteen, the adoptive or foster parents of an Indian child, or an Indian 332.2 332.3 Tribe, the Secretary of the Interior is requested to disclose any other necessary information for the 332.4 membership of an Indian child in the Tribe in which the Indian child may be eligible for 332.5 membership or for determining any rights or benefits associated with that membership. 332.6 Where the documents relating to the Indian child contain an affidavit from the biological 332.7 332.8 parent or parents Indian custodian requesting anonymity, the Secretary of the Interior is requested to certify to the Indian child's Tribe, where the information warrants, that the 332.9 Indian child's parentage and other circumstances of birth entitle the Indian child to 332.10 membership under the criteria established by the Tribe. 332.11 Sec. 45. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260.785, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 332.12 Subdivision 1. **Primary support grants.** The commissioner shall establish direct grants 332.13 to Indian Tribes, Indian organizations, and Tribal social services agency programs located 332.14 off-reservation that serve Indian children and their families to provide primary support for 332.15 Indian child welfare programs to implement the Minnesota Indian Family Preservation Act. Sec. 46. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260.785, subdivision 3, is amended to read: 332.17 Subd. 3. Compliance grants. The commissioner shall establish direct grants to an Indian 332.18 child welfare defense corporation, as defined in Minnesota Statutes 1996, section 611.216, 332.19 subdivision 1a, to promote statewide compliance with the Minnesota Indian Family 332.20 Preservation Act and the Indian Child Welfare Act, United States Code, title 25, section 1901, et seq. The commissioner shall give priority consideration to applicants with 332.22 demonstrated capability of providing legal advocacy services statewide. 332.23

Sec. 47. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 260.786, subdivision 2, is amended 332.24 to read: 332.25

Subd. 2. **Purposes.** Money must be used to address staffing for responding to notifications under the federal Indian Child Welfare Act and the Minnesota Indian Family Preservation 332.27 Act, to the extent necessary, or to provide other child protection and child welfare services. 332.28 Money must not be used to supplant current Tribal expenditures for these purposes. 332.29

Sec. 48. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 260.795, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. **Types of services.** (a) Eligible Indian child welfare services provided

- Subdivision 1. **Types of services.** (a) Eligible Indian child welfare services provided under primary support grants include:
- 333.5 (1) placement prevention and reunification services;
- 333.6 (2) family-based services;
- 333.7 (3) individual and family counseling;
- 333.8 (4) access to professional individual, group, and family counseling;
- 333.9 (5) crisis intervention and crisis counseling;
- 333.10 (6) development of foster and adoptive placement resources, including recruitment, 333.11 licensing, and support;
- 333.12 (7) court advocacy;
- 333.13 (8) training and consultation to county and private social services agencies regarding 333.14 the federal Indian Child Welfare Act and the Minnesota Indian Family Preservation Act;
- 333.15 (9) advocacy in working with the county and private social services agencies, and
 333.16 activities to help provide access to agency services, including but not limited to 24-hour
 333.17 caretaker and homemaker services, day care, emergency shelter care up to 30 days in 12
 333.18 months, access to emergency financial assistance, and arrangements to provide temporary
 333.19 respite care to a family for up to 72 hours consecutively or 30 days in 12 months;
- 333.20 (10) transportation services to the child and parents to prevent placement or reunite the family; and
- (11) other activities and services approved by the commissioner that further the goals of the <u>federal Indian Child Welfare Act and the Minnesota Indian Family Preservation Act</u>, including but not limited to recruitment of Indian staff for child-placing agencies and licensed child-placing agencies. The commissioner may specify the priority of an activity and service based on its success in furthering these goals.
- (b) Eligible services provided under special focus grants include:
- 333.28 (1) permanency planning activities that meet the special needs of Indian families;
- 333.29 (2) teenage pregnancy;
- 333.30 (3) independent living skills;

(4) family and community involvement strategies to combat child abuse and chronic neglect of children;

- (5) coordinated child welfare and mental health services to Indian families;
- 334.4 (6) innovative approaches to assist Indian youth to establish better self-image, decrease isolation, and decrease the suicide rate;
- 334.6 (7) expanding or improving services by packaging and disseminating information on 334.7 successful approaches or by implementing models in Indian communities relating to the 334.8 development or enhancement of social structures that increase family self-reliance and links 334.9 with existing community resources;
- 334.10 (8) family retrieval services to help adopted individuals reestablish legal affiliation with 334.11 the Indian Tribe; and
- (9) other activities and services approved by the commissioner that further the goals of the <u>federal Indian Child Welfare Act and the Minnesota Indian Family Preservation Act.</u> The commissioner may specify the priority of an activity and service based on its success in furthering these goals.
- 334.16 (c) The commissioner shall give preference to programs that use Indian staff, contract
 with Indian organizations or Tribes, or whose application is a joint effort between the Indian
 and non-Indian community to achieve the goals of the <u>federal</u> Indian Child Welfare Act
 and the Minnesota Indian Family Preservation Act. Programs must have input and support
 from the Indian community.
- Sec. 49. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260.810, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
- Subd. 3. **Final report.** A final evaluation report must be submitted by each approved program to the commissioner. It must include client outcomes, cost and effectiveness in meeting the goals of the Minnesota Indian Family Preservation Act and permanency planning goals. The commissioner must compile the final reports into one document and provide a copy to each Tribe.
- Sec. 50. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260C.007, subdivision 26b, is amended to read:
- Subd. 26b. **Relative of an Indian child.** "Relative of an Indian child" means a person who is a member of the Indian child's family as defined in the Indian Child Welfare Act of 1978, United States Code, title 25, section 1903, paragraphs (2), (6), and (9), and who is an extended family member as defined in section 260.755, subdivision 5b, of the Minnesota Indian Family Preservation Act.

334.1

334.2

Sec. 51. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260C.178, subdivision 1, as amended by Laws 2024, chapter 80, article 8, section 24, is amended to read:

- Subdivision 1. **Hearing and release requirements.** (a) If a child was taken into custody under section 260C.175, subdivision 1, clause (1) or (2), item (ii), the court shall hold a hearing within 72 hours of the time that the child was taken into custody, excluding Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays, to determine whether the child should continue to be in custody.
- (b) Unless there is reason to believe that the child would endanger self or others or not return for a court hearing, or that the child's health or welfare would be immediately endangered, the child shall be released to the custody of a parent, guardian, custodian, or other suitable person, subject to reasonable conditions of release including, but not limited to, a requirement that the child undergo a chemical use assessment as provided in section 260C.157, subdivision 1.
- (c) If the court determines that there is reason to believe that the child would endanger self or others or not return for a court hearing, or that the child's health or welfare would be immediately endangered if returned to the care of the parent or guardian who has custody and from whom the child was removed, the court shall order the child:
- (1) into the care of the child's noncustodial parent and order the noncustodial parent to comply with any conditions that the court determines appropriate to ensure the safety and care of the child, including requiring the noncustodial parent to cooperate with paternity establishment proceedings if the noncustodial parent has not been adjudicated the child's father; or
- (2) into foster care as defined in section 260C.007, subdivision 18, under the legal 335.23 responsibility of the responsible social services agency or responsible probation or corrections 335.24 agency for the purposes of protective care as that term is used in the juvenile court rules. 335.25 The court shall not give the responsible social services legal custody and order a trial home 335.26 visit at any time prior to adjudication and disposition under section 260C.201, subdivision 335.27 1, paragraph (a), clause (3), but may order the child returned to the care of the parent or 335.28 guardian who has custody and from whom the child was removed and order the parent or 335.29 guardian to comply with any conditions the court determines to be appropriate to meet the 335.30 safety, health, and welfare of the child. 335.31
 - (d) In determining whether the child's health or welfare would be immediately endangered, the court shall consider whether the child would reside with a perpetrator of domestic child abuse.

335.3

335.4

335.5

335.6

335.7

335.8

335.9

335.10

335.11

335.12

335.13

335.14

335.15

335.16

335.17

335.18

335.19

335.20

335.21

335.22

335.32

335.33

(e) The court, before determining whether a child should be placed in or continue in foster care under the protective care of the responsible agency, shall also make a determination, consistent with section 260.012 as to whether reasonable efforts were made to prevent placement or whether reasonable efforts to prevent placement are not required. In the case of an Indian child, the court shall determine whether active efforts, according to section 260.762 and the Indian Child Welfare Act of 1978, United States Code, title 25, section 1912(d), were made to prevent placement. The court shall enter a finding that the responsible social services agency has made reasonable efforts to prevent placement when the agency establishes either:

- (1) that the agency has actually provided services or made efforts in an attempt to prevent the child's removal but that such services or efforts have not proven sufficient to permit the child to safely remain in the home; or
- (2) that there are no services or other efforts that could be made at the time of the hearing that could safely permit the child to remain home or to return home. The court shall not make a reasonable efforts determination under this clause unless the court is satisfied that the agency has sufficiently demonstrated to the court that there were no services or other efforts that the agency was able to provide at the time of the hearing enabling the child to safely remain home or to safely return home. When reasonable efforts to prevent placement are required and there are services or other efforts that could be ordered that would permit the child to safely return home, the court shall order the child returned to the care of the parent or guardian and the services or efforts put in place to ensure the child's safety. When the court makes a prima facie determination that one of the circumstances under paragraph (g) exists, the court shall determine that reasonable efforts to prevent placement and to return the child to the care of the parent or guardian are not required.
- (f) If the court finds the social services agency's preventive or reunification efforts have not been reasonable but further preventive or reunification efforts could not permit the child to safely remain at home, the court may nevertheless authorize or continue the removal of the child.
- (g) The court may not order or continue the foster care placement of the child unless the court makes explicit, individualized findings that continued custody of the child by the parent or guardian would be contrary to the welfare of the child and that placement is in the best interest of the child.

336.1

336.2

336.3

336.4

336.5

336.6

336.7

336.8

336.9

336.10

336.11

336.12

336.13

336.14

336.15

336.17

336.18

336.19

336.20

336.21

336.22

336.23

336.24

336.25

(h) At the emergency removal hearing, or at any time during the course of the proceeding, and upon notice and request of the county attorney, the court shall determine whether a petition has been filed stating a prima facie case that:

- (1) the parent has subjected a child to egregious harm as defined in section 260C.007, subdivision 14;
- (2) the parental rights of the parent to another child have been involuntarily terminated;
- 337.7 (3) the child is an abandoned infant under section 260C.301, subdivision 2, paragraph 337.8 (a), clause (2);
- 337.9 (4) the parents' custodial rights to another child have been involuntarily transferred to a 337.10 relative under a juvenile protection proceeding or a similar process of another jurisdiction;
- 337.11 (5) the parent has committed sexual abuse as defined in section 260E.03, against the child or another child of the parent;
- 337.13 (6) the parent has committed an offense that requires registration as a predatory offender 337.14 under section 243.166, subdivision 1b, paragraph (a) or (b); or
- 337.15 (7) the provision of services or further services for the purpose of reunification is futile 337.16 and therefore unreasonable.
- (i) When a petition to terminate parental rights is required under section 260C.301, subdivision 4, or 260C.503, subdivision 2, but the county attorney has determined not to proceed with a termination of parental rights petition, and has instead filed a petition to transfer permanent legal and physical custody to a relative under section 260C.507, the court shall schedule a permanency hearing within 30 days of the filing of the petition.
- (j) If the county attorney has filed a petition under section 260C.307, the court shall schedule a trial under section 260C.163 within 90 days of the filing of the petition except when the county attorney determines that the criminal case shall proceed to trial first under section 260C.503, subdivision 2, paragraph (c).
- (k) If the court determines the child should be ordered into foster care and the child's parent refuses to give information to the responsible social services agency regarding the child's father or relatives of the child, the court may order the parent to disclose the names, addresses, telephone numbers, and other identifying information to the responsible social services agency for the purpose of complying with sections 260C.150, 260C.151, 260C.212, 260C.215, 260C.219, and 260C.221.

337.1

337.2

337.3

337.4

(l) If a child ordered into foster care has siblings, whether full, half, or step, who are also ordered into foster care, the court shall inquire of the responsible social services agency of the efforts to place the children together as required by section 260C.212, subdivision 2, paragraph (d), if placement together is in each child's best interests, unless a child is in placement for treatment or a child is placed with a previously noncustodial parent who is not a parent to all siblings. If the children are not placed together at the time of the hearing, the court shall inquire at each subsequent hearing of the agency's reasonable efforts to place the siblings together, as required under section 260.012. If any sibling is not placed with another sibling or siblings, the agency must develop a plan to facilitate visitation or ongoing contact among the siblings as required under section 260C.212, subdivision 1, unless it is contrary to the safety or well-being of any of the siblings to do so.

- (m) When the court has ordered the child into the care of a noncustodial parent or in foster care, the court may order a chemical dependency evaluation, mental health evaluation, medical examination, and parenting assessment for the parent as necessary to support the development of a plan for reunification required under subdivision 7 and section 260C.212, subdivision 1, or the child protective services plan under section 260E.26, and Minnesota Rules, part 9560.0228.
- (n) When the court has ordered an Indian child into an emergency child placement, the Indian child shall be placed according to the placement preferences in the Minnesota Indian Family Preservation Act, section 260.773.
- Sec. 52. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260D.01, is amended to read:

260D.01 CHILD IN VOLUNTARY FOSTER CARE FOR TREATMENT.

- (a) Sections 260D.01 to 260D.10, may be cited as the "child in voluntary foster care for treatment" provisions of the Juvenile Court Act.
- (b) The juvenile court has original and exclusive jurisdiction over a child in voluntary foster care for treatment upon the filing of a report or petition required under this chapter.

 All obligations of the responsible social services agency to a child and family in foster care contained in chapter 260C not inconsistent with this chapter are also obligations of the agency with regard to a child in foster care for treatment under this chapter.
- (c) This chapter shall be construed consistently with the mission of the children's mental health service system as set out in section 245.487, subdivision 3, and the duties of an agency under sections 256B.092 and 260C.157 and Minnesota Rules, parts 9525.0004 to 9525.0016,

338.1

338.2

338.3

338.4

338.5

338.6

338.7

338.8

338.9

338.10

338.11

338.12

338.13

338.14

338.15

338.16

338.17

COUNSEL 04/16/24 06:07 pm AHL/NH/TG SCS4699A-2

to meet the needs of a child with a developmental disability or related condition. This chapter:

- (1) establishes voluntary foster care through a voluntary foster care agreement as the means for an agency and a parent to provide needed treatment when the child must be in foster care to receive necessary treatment for an emotional disturbance or developmental disability or related condition;
- (2) establishes court review requirements for a child in voluntary foster care for treatment due to emotional disturbance or developmental disability or a related condition;
- (3) establishes the ongoing responsibility of the parent as legal custodian to visit the child, to plan together with the agency for the child's treatment needs, to be available and 339.10 accessible to the agency to make treatment decisions, and to obtain necessary medical, dental, and other care for the child; 339.12
- (4) applies to voluntary foster care when the child's parent and the agency agree that the 339.13 child's treatment needs require foster care either: 339.14
- (i) due to a level of care determination by the agency's screening team informed by the 339.15 child's diagnostic and functional assessment under section 245.4885; or 339.16
- (ii) due to a determination regarding the level of services needed by the child by the 339.17 responsible social services agency's screening team under section 256B.092, and Minnesota 339.18 Rules, parts 9525.0004 to 9525.0016; and 339.19
 - (5) includes the requirements for a child's placement in sections 260C.70 to 260C.714, when the juvenile treatment screening team recommends placing a child in a qualified residential treatment program, except as modified by this chapter.
- (d) This chapter does not apply when there is a current determination under chapter 339.23 260E that the child requires child protective services or when the child is in foster care for 339.24 any reason other than treatment for the child's emotional disturbance or developmental 339.25 disability or related condition. When there is a determination under chapter 260E that the 339.26 child requires child protective services based on an assessment that there are safety and risk 339.27 issues for the child that have not been mitigated through the parent's engagement in services 339.28 or otherwise, or when the child is in foster care for any reason other than the child's emotional 339.29 disturbance or developmental disability or related condition, the provisions of chapter 260C 339.30 apply. 339.31

339.1

339.2

339.3

339.4

339.5

339.6

339.7

339.8

339.9

339.11

339.20

339.21

(e) The paramount consideration in all proceedings concerning a child in voluntary foster care for treatment is the safety, health, and the best interests of the child. The purpose of this chapter is:

- (1) to ensure that a child with a disability is provided the services necessary to treat or ameliorate the symptoms of the child's disability;
- (2) to preserve and strengthen the child's family ties whenever possible and in the child's best interests, approving the child's placement away from the child's parents only when the child's need for care or treatment requires out-of-home placement and the child cannot be maintained in the home of the parent; and
- (3) to ensure that the child's parent retains legal custody of the child and associated decision-making authority unless the child's parent willfully fails or is unable to make decisions that meet the child's safety, health, and best interests. The court may not find that the parent willfully fails or is unable to make decisions that meet the child's needs solely because the parent disagrees with the agency's choice of foster care facility, unless the agency files a petition under chapter 260C, and establishes by clear and convincing evidence that the child is in need of protection or services.
- (f) The legal parent-child relationship shall be supported under this chapter by maintaining the parent's legal authority and responsibility for ongoing planning for the child and by the agency's assisting the parent, when necessary, to exercise the parent's ongoing right and obligation to visit or to have reasonable contact with the child. Ongoing planning means:
- 340.21 (1) actively participating in the planning and provision of educational services, medical, 340.22 and dental care for the child;
- 340.23 (2) actively planning and participating with the agency and the foster care facility for 340.24 the child's treatment needs;
- 340.25 (3) planning to meet the child's need for safety, stability, and permanency, and the child's need to stay connected to the child's family and community;
- (4) engaging with the responsible social services agency to ensure that the family and permanency team under section 260C.706 consists of appropriate family members. For purposes of voluntary placement of a child in foster care for treatment under chapter 260D, prior to forming the child's family and permanency team, the responsible social services agency must consult with the child's parent or legal guardian, the child if the child is 14 years of age or older, and, if applicable, the child's Tribe to obtain recommendations regarding which individuals to include on the team and to ensure that the team is family-centered and

340.1

340.2

340.3

340.4

340.5

340.6

340.7

340.8

340.9

340.10

340.11

340.12

340.13

340.15

340.16

340.17

340.19

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

will act in the child's best interests. If the child, child's parents, or legal guardians raise concerns about specific relatives or professionals, the team should not include those individuals unless the individual is a treating professional or an important connection to the youth as outlined in the case or crisis plan; and

- (5) for a voluntary placement under this chapter in a qualified residential treatment program, as defined in section 260C.007, subdivision 26d, for purposes of engaging in a relative search as provided in section 260C.221, the county agency must consult with the child's parent or legal guardian, the child if the child is 14 years of age or older, and, if applicable, the child's Tribe to obtain recommendations regarding which adult relatives the county agency should notify. If the child, child's parents, or legal guardians raise concerns about specific relatives, the county agency should not notify those relatives.
- (g) The provisions of section 260.012 to ensure placement prevention, family reunification, and all active and reasonable effort requirements of that section apply. This chapter shall be construed consistently with the requirements of the Indian Child Welfare Act of 1978, United States Code, title 25, section 1901, et al., and the provisions of the Minnesota Indian Family Preservation Act, sections 260.751 to 260.835.

341.17 Sec. 53. [260D.011] COMPLIANCE WITH FEDERAL INDIAN CHILD WELFARE 341.18 ACT AND MINNESOTA INDIAN FAMILY PRESERVATION ACT.

Proceedings under this chapter concerning an Indian child are child custody proceedings
governed by the Indian Child Welfare Act, United States Code, title 25, sections 1901 to
1963; by the Minnesota Indian Family Preservation Act, sections 260.751 to 260.835; and
by this chapter when not inconsistent with the federal Indian Child Welfare Act or the
Minnesota Indian Family Preservation Act.

341.24 Sec. 54. [260E.015] COMPLIANCE WITH FEDERAL INDIAN CHILD WELFARE 341.25 ACT AND MINNESOTA INDIAN FAMILY PRESERVATION ACT.

Proceedings under this chapter concerning an Indian child are child custody proceedings
governed by the Indian Child Welfare Act, United States Code, title 25, sections 1901 to
1963; by the Minnesota Indian Family Preservation Act, sections 260.751 to 260.835; and
by this chapter when not inconsistent with the federal Indian Child Welfare Act or the
Minnesota Indian Family Preservation Act.

341.1

341.2

341.3

341.4

341.5

341.6

341.7

341.8

341.9

341.10

04/16/24 06:07 pm CO	UNSEL AHL/	/NH/TG SO	CS4699A-2
----------------------	------------	-----------	-----------

Sec. 55. [524.5-2011] COMPLIANCE WITH FEDERAL INDIAN CHILD WELFARE

342.2	ACT AND MINNESOTA INDIAN FAMILY PRESERVATION ACT.
342.3	Proceedings under this chapter concerning an Indian child are child custody proceedings
342.4	governed by the Indian Child Welfare Act, United States Code, title 25, sections 1901 to
342.5	1963; by the Minnesota Indian Family Preservation Act, sections 260.751 to 260.835; and
342.6	by this chapter when not inconsistent with the federal Indian Child Welfare Act or the
342.7	Minnesota Indian Family Preservation Act.
342.8	Sec. 56. DIRECTION TO COMMISSIONER OF HUMAN SERVICES; STUDY OF
342.9	CHILD PLACEMENT AND PERMANENCY; PRACTICE RECOMMENDATIONS.
342.10	Subdivision 1. Study parameters. By September 1, 2024, the commissioner of human
342.11	services shall contract with an independent consultant to evaluate the effects of child
342.12	placement in foster care and out-of-home settings on the safety, permanency, and well-being
342.13	of the child. The study must be designed to evaluate the system overall for a child's placement
342.14	and permanency. The study shall identify and evaluate factors designed to ensure emotional
342.15	and physical safety of the child in the context of child placement and permanency dispositions
342.16	and shall include an analysis of structuring out-of-home placement decisions, reunification
342.17	timelines, and service provisions to best allow the parents to engage in positive parenting
342.18	of the child. The goal is to determine guidelines for when to place a child out-of-home, who
342.19	to place the child with, when and how to keep the child connected to family and community,
342.20	and what timelines support building a stable base for the child's parents to engage in necessary
342.21	treatment, including but not limited to substance use or mental health treatment, before
342.22	undertaking parenting responsibilities.
342.23	(b) The study shall take into account the educational and behavioral development, mental
342.24	health functioning, and placement stability of the child. The study shall also take into
342.25	consideration the social, financial, and whole health of the family unit.
342.26	Subd. 2. Collaboration with interested parties. The consultant shall design the study
342.27	with an advisory group consisting of:
342.28	(1) the commissioner of human services, or a designee;
342.29	(2) the commissioner of children, youth, and families, or a designee;
342.30	(3) the ombudsperson for foster youth, or a designee;
342.31	(4) a representative from the Association of Minnesota Counties appointed by the
342.32	association;

343.1	(5) two members representing county social services agencies, one from the seven-county
343.2	metropolitan area and one from Greater Minnesota;
343.3	(6) one member appointed by the Minnesota Council on Disability;
343.4	(7) one member appointed by the Indian Child Welfare Advisory Council;
343.5	(8) one member appointed by the Ombudsperson for American Indian Families;
343.6	(9) one member appointed by the Children's Alliance;
343.7	(10) up to four members appointed by the ombudsperson for families;
343.8	(11) up to four members from the Children's Justice Task Force; and
343.9	(12) members of the public appointed by the governor representing:
343.10	(i) one member 18 years of age who has lived experience with the child welfare system;
343.11	(ii) one member 18 years of age or older who has lived experience with the child welfare
343.12	system as a parent or caregiver;
343.13	(iii) one member who is working with or advocating for children with disabilities;
343.14	(iv) one member with experience working with or advocating for LGBTQ youth;
343.15	(v) one member working with or advocating for Indigenous children;
343.16	(vi) one member working with or advocating for black children or youth;
343.17	(vii) one member working with or advocating for other children of color;
343.18	(viii) one member who is an attorney representing children in child placement
343.19	proceedings;
343.20	(ix) one member who is a Tribal attorney in child placement proceedings;
343.21	(x) one member who is an attorney representing parents in child placement proceedings;
343.22	(xi) one member with experience in children's mental health;
343.23	(xii) one member with experience in adult mental health; and
343.24	(xiii) one member who is a substance abuse professional.
343.25	Subd. 3. Report. By September 1, 2027, the consultant shall submit a final report to the
343.26	commissioner of human services and to the chairs and ranking minority members of the
343.27	legislative committees with jurisdiction over health and human services. The final report
343.28	must include a recommendation on the optimal time frame for child placement in foster

344.1	care or out-of-home placement. The commissioner of human services shall include a report
344.2	on needed statutory changes as a result of the consultant's report.
344.3	Sec. 57. REPEALER.
344.4	Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260.755, subdivision 13, is repealed.
344.5	ARTICLE 16
344.6	MINNESOTA AFRICAN AMERICAN FAMILY PRESERVATION AND CHILD
344.7	WELFARE DISPROPORTIONALITY ACT
344.8	Section 1. [260.61] CITATION.
244.0	Sections 260.61 to 260.605 may be cited as the "Minnesote African American Femily
344.9	Sections 260.61 to 260.695 may be cited as the "Minnesota African American Family
344.10	Preservation and Child Welfare Disproportionality Act."
244 11	Coo 2 1260 621 DUDDOSES
344.11	Sec. 2. [260.62] PURPOSES.
344.12	(a) The purposes of the Minnesota African American Family Preservation and Child
344.13	Welfare Disproportionality Act are to:
344.14	(1) protect the best interests of African American and disproportionately represented
344.15	children;
244.16	(2) magnete the stability and security of A frican American and dismonantianetaly.
344.16	(2) promote the stability and security of African American and disproportionately
344.17	represented children and their families by establishing minimum standards to prevent the
344.18	arbitrary and unnecessary removal of African American and disproportionately represented
344.19	children from their families; and
344.20	(3) improve permanency outcomes, including family reunification, for African American
344.21	and disproportionately represented children.
344.22	(b) Nothing in this legislation is intended to interfere with the protections of the Indian
344.23	Child Welfare Act of 1978, United States Code, title 25, sections 1901 to 1963.
344.23	Clind Welfare Act of 1978, Officed States Code, title 23, sections 1901 to 1903.
344.24	Sec. 3. [260.63] DEFINITIONS.
311.21	
344.25	Subdivision 1. Scope. The definitions in this section apply to sections 260.61 to 260.695.
344.26	Subd. 2. Active efforts. "Active efforts" means a rigorous and concerted level of effort
344.27	that the responsible social services agency must continuously make throughout the time
344.28	that the responsible social services agency is involved with an African American or a
344.29	disproportionately represented child and the child's family. To provide active efforts to
344.30	preserve an African American or a disproportionately represented child's family, the

COUNSEL

AHL/NH/TG

SCS4699A-2

04/16/24 06:07 pm

345.1	responsible social services agency must continuously involve an African American or a
345.2	disproportionately represented child's family in all services for the family, including case
345.3	planning and choosing services and providers, and inform the family of the ability to request
345.4	a case review by the commissioner under section 260.694. When providing active efforts,
345.5	a responsible social services agency must consider an African American or a
345.6	disproportionately represented family's social and cultural values at all times while providing
345.7	services to the African American or disproportionately represented child and family. Active
345.8	efforts includes continuous efforts to preserve an African American or a disproportionately
345.9	represented child's family and to prevent the out-of-home placement of an African American
345.10	or a disproportionately represented child. If an African American or a disproportionately
345.11	represented child enters out-of-home placement, the responsible social services agency must
345.12	make active efforts to reunify the African American or disproportionately represented child
345.13	with the child's family as soon as possible. Active efforts sets a higher standard for the
345.14	responsible social services agency than reasonable efforts to preserve the child's family,
345.15	prevent the child's out-of-home placement, and reunify the child with the child's family.
345.16	Active efforts includes the provision of reasonable efforts as required by Title IV-E of the
345.17	Social Security Act, United States Code, title 42, sections 670 to 679c.
345.18	Subd. 3. Adoptive placement. "Adoptive placement" means the permanent placement
345.19	of an African American or a disproportionately represented child made by the responsible
345.20	social services agency upon a fully executed adoption placement agreement, including the
345.21	signatures of the adopting parent, the responsible social services agency, and the
345.22	commissioner of human services according to section 260C.613, subdivision 1.
345.23	Subd. 4. African American child. "African American child" means a child having
345.24	origins in Africa, including a child of two or more races who has at least one parent with
345.25	origins in Africa.
345.26	Subd. 5. Best interests of the African American or disproportionately represented
345.27	child. The "best interests of the African American or disproportionately represented child"
345.28	means providing a culturally informed practice lens that acknowledges, utilizes, and embraces
345.29	the African American or disproportionately represented child's community and cultural
345.30	norms and allows the child to remain safely at home with the child's family. The best interests
345.31	of the African American or disproportionately represented child support the child's sense
345.32	of belonging to the child's family, extended family, kin, and cultural community.
345.33	Subd. 6. Child placement proceeding. (a) "Child placement proceeding" means any
345.34	judicial proceeding that could result in:

346.1	(1) an adoptive placement;
346.2	(2) a foster care placement;
346.3	(3) a preadoptive placement; or
346.4	(4) a termination of parental rights.
346.5	(b) Judicial proceedings under this subdivision include a child's placement based upon
346.6	a child's juvenile status offense, but do not include a child's placement based upon:
346.7	(1) an act which if committed by an adult would be deemed a crime; or
346.8	(2) an award of child custody in a divorce proceeding to one of the child's parents.
346.9	Subd. 7. Commissioner. "Commissioner" means the commissioner of human services
346.10	or the commissioner's designee.
346.11	Subd. 8. Custodian. "Custodian" means any person who is under a legal obligation to
346.12	provide care and support for an African American or a disproportionately represented child,
346.13	or who is in fact providing daily care and support for an African American or a
346.14	disproportionately represented child. This subdivision does not impose a legal obligation
346.15	upon a person who is not otherwise legally obligated to provide a child with necessary food,
346.16	clothing, shelter, education, or medical care.
346.17	Subd. 9. Disproportionality. "Disproportionality" means the overrepresentation of
346.18	African American children and other disproportionately represented children in the state's
346.19	child welfare system population as compared to the representation of those children in the
346.20	state's total child population.
346.21	Subd. 10. Disproportionately represented child. "Disproportionately represented child"
346.22	means a child whose race, culture, ethnicity, or low-income socioeconomic status is
346.23	disproportionately encountered, engaged, or identified in the child welfare system as
346.24	compared to the representation in the state's total child population.
346.25	Subd. 11. Egregious harm. "Egregious harm" has the meaning given in section 260E.03,
346.26	subdivision 5.
346.27	Subd. 12. Foster care placement. "Foster care placement" means the court-ordered
346.28	removal of an African American or a disproportionately represented child from the child's
346.29	home with the child's parent or legal custodian and the temporary placement of the child in
346.30	a foster home, in shelter care or a facility, or in the home of a guardian, when the parent or
346.31	legal custodian cannot have the child returned upon demand, but the parent's parental rights
346.32	have not been terminated. A foster care placement includes an order placing the child under

347.1	the guardianship of the commissioner, pursuant to section 260C.325, prior to an adoption
347.2	being finalized.
347.3	Subd. 13. Imminent physical damage or harm. "Imminent physical damage or harm"
347.4	means that a child is threatened with immediate and present conditions that are
347.5	life-threatening or likely to result in abandonment, sexual abuse, or serious physical injury.
347.6	Subd. 14. Responsible social services agency. "Responsible social services agency"
347.7	has the meaning given in section 260C.007, subdivision 27a.
347.8	Subd. 15. Parent. "Parent" means the biological parent of an African American or a
347.9	disproportionately represented child or any person who has legally adopted an African
347.10	American or a disproportionately represented child who, prior to the adoption, was considered
347.11	a relative to the child, as defined in subdivision 16. Parent includes an unmarried father
347.12	whose paternity has been acknowledged or established and a putative father. Paternity has
347.13	been acknowledged when an unmarried father takes any action to hold himself out as the
347.14	biological father of a child.
347.15	Subd. 16. Preadoptive placement. "Preadoptive placement" means a responsible social
347.16	services agency's placement of an African American or a disproportionately represented
347.17	child with the child's family or kin when the child is under the guardianship of the
347.18	commissioner, for the purpose of adoption, but an adoptive placement agreement for the
347.19	child has not been fully executed.
347.20	Subd. 17. Relative. "Relative" means:
347.21	(1) an individual related to the child by blood, marriage, or adoption;
347.22	(2) a legal parent, guardian, or custodian of the child's sibling;
347.23	(3) an individual who is an important friend of the child or child's family with whom
347.24	the child has resided or has had significant contact; or
347.25	(4) an individual who the child or the child's family identify as related to the child's
347.26	<u>family.</u>
347.27	Subd. 18. Safety network. "Safety network" means a group of individuals identified by
347.28	the parent and child, when appropriate, that is accountable for developing, implementing,
347.29	sustaining, supporting, or improving a safety plan to protect the safety and well-being of a
347.30	child.
347.31	Subd. 19. Sexual abuse. "Sexual abuse" has the meaning given in section 260E.03,
347.32	subdivision 20.

348.1	Subd. 20. Termination of parental rights. "Termination of parental rights" means an			
348.2	action resulting in the termination of the parent-child relationship under section 260C.301			
348.3	Sec. 4. [260.64] DUTY TO PREVENT OUT-OF-HOME PLACEMENT AND			
348.4	PROMOTE FAMILY REUNIFICATION.			
348.5	(a) A responsible social services agency shall make active efforts to prevent the			
348.6	out-of-home placement of an African American or a disproportionately represented child,			
348.7	eliminate the need for a child's removal from the child's home, and reunify an African			
348.8	American or a disproportionately represented child with the child's family as soon as			
348.9	practicable.			
348.10	(b) Prior to petitioning the court to remove an African American or a disproportionately			
348.11	represented child from the child's home, a responsible social services agency must work			
348.12	with the child's family to allow the child to remain in the child's home while implementing			
348.13	a safety plan based on the family's needs. The responsible social services agency must:			
348.14	(1) make active efforts to engage the child's parent or custodian and the child, when			
348.15	appropriate;			
348.16	(2) assess the family's cultural and economic needs;			
348.17	(3) hold a family group consultation meeting and connect the family with supports to			
348.18	establish a safety network for the family; and			
348.19	(4) provide support, guidance, and input to assist the family and the family's safety			
348.20	network with developing the safety plan.			
348.21	(c) The safety plan must:			
348.22	(1) address the specific allegations impacting the child's safety in the home. If neglect			
348.23	is alleged, the safety plan must incorporate economic services and supports to address the			
348.24	family's specific needs and prevent neglect;			
348.25	(2) incorporate family and community support to ensure the child's safety while keeping			
348.26	the family intact; and			
348.27	(3) be adjusted as needed to address the child's and family's ongoing needs and support.			
348.28	The responsible social services agency is not required to establish a safety plan in a case			
348.29	with allegations of sexual abuse or egregious harm.			
348.30	(d) Unless the court finds by clear and convincing evidence that the child would be at			
348.31	risk of serious emotional damage or serious physical damage if the child were to remain in			

the child's home, a court shall not order a foster care or permanent out-of-home placement of an African American or a disproportionately represented child alleged to be in need of protection or services. At each hearing regarding an African American or a disproportionately represented child who is alleged or adjudicated to be in need of child protective services, the court shall review whether the responsible social services agency has provided active efforts to the child and the child's family and shall require the responsible social services agency to provide evidence and documentation that demonstrates that the agency is providing culturally informed, strength-based, community-involved, and community-based services to the child and the child's family.

(e) When determining whether the responsible social services agency has made active efforts to preserve the child's family, the court shall make findings regarding whether the responsible social services agency made appropriate and meaningful services available to the child's family based upon the family's specific needs. If a court determines that the responsible social services agency did not make active efforts to preserve the family as required by this section, the court shall order the responsible social services agency to immediately provide active efforts to the child and child's family to preserve the family.

349.17 Sec. 5. [260.65] NONCUSTODIAL PARENTS; TEMPORARY OUT-OF-HOME 349.18 PLACEMENT.

(a) Prior to or within 48 hours of the removal of an African American or a disproportionately represented child from the child's home, the responsible social services agency must make active efforts to identify and locate the child's noncustodial or nonadjudicated parent and the child's relatives to notify the child's parent and relatives that the child is or will be placed in foster care and provide the child's parent and relatives with a list of legal resources. The notice to the child's noncustodial or nonadjudicated parent and relatives must also include the information required under section 260C.221, subdivision 2. The responsible social services agency must maintain detailed records of the agency's efforts to notify parents and relatives under this section.

(b) Notwithstanding the provisions of section 260C.219, the responsible social services agency must assess an African American or a disproportionately represented child's noncustodial or nonadjudicated parent's ability to care for the child before placing the child in foster care. If a child's noncustodial or nonadjudicated parent is willing and able to provide daily care for the African American or disproportionately represented child temporarily or permanently, the court shall order that the child be placed in the home of the noncustodial or nonadjudicated parent pursuant to section 260C.178 or 260C.201, subdivision 1. The

349.1

349.2

349.3

349.4

349.5

349.6

349.7

349.8

349.9

349.10

349.11

349.12

349.13

349.14

349.15

349.16

349.19

349.20

349.21

349.22

349.23

349.24

349.25

349.26

349.27

349.28

349.29

349.30

349.31

349.32

349.33

responsible social services agency must make active efforts to assist a noncustodial or nonadjudicated parent with remedying any issues that may prevent the child from being placed with the noncustodial or nonadjudicated parent.

- (c) If an African American or a disproportionately represented child's noncustodial or nonadjudicated parent is unwilling or unable to provide daily care for the child and the court has determined that the child's continued placement in the home of the child's noncustodial or nonadjudicated parent would endanger the child's health, safety, or welfare, the child's parent, custodian, or the child, when appropriate, has the right to select one or more relatives who may be willing and able to provide temporary care for the child. The responsible social services agency must place the child with a selected relative after assessing the relative's willingness and ability to provide daily care for the child. If selected relatives are not available or there is a documented safety concern with the relative placement, the responsible social services agency shall consider additional relatives for the child's placement.
- (d) The responsible social services agency must inform selected relatives and the child's parent or custodian of the difference between informal kinship care arrangements and court-ordered foster care. If a selected relative and the child's parent or custodian request an informal kinship care arrangement for a child's placement instead of court-ordered foster care and such an arrangement will maintain the child's safety and well-being, the responsible social services agency shall comply with the request and inform the court of the plan for the child. The court shall honor the request to forego a court-ordered foster care placement of the child in favor of an informal kinship care arrangement, unless the court determines that the request is not in the best interests of the African American or disproportionately represented child.
- (e) The responsible social services agency must make active efforts to support relatives with whom a child is placed in completing the child foster care licensure process and addressing barriers, disqualifications, or other issues affecting the relatives' licensure, including but not limited to assisting relatives with requesting reconsideration of a disqualification under section 245C.21.
- (f) The decision by a relative not to be considered as an African American or a
 disproportionately represented child's foster care or temporary placement option shall not
 be a basis for the responsible social services agency or the court to rule out the relative for
 placement in the future or for denying the relative's request to be considered or selected as
 a foster care or permanent placement for the child.

350.1

350.2

350.3

350.4

350.5

350.6

350.7

350.8

350.9

350.10

350.11

350.13

350.14

350.15

350.17

350.18

350.19

350.20

350.21

350.22

350.23

350.24

350.25

350.26

350.27

351.1	Sec. 6. [260.66] EMERGENCY REMOVAL.
351.2	Subdivision 1. Emergency removal or placement permitted. Nothing in this section
351.3	shall be construed to prevent the emergency removal of an African American or a
351.4	disproportionately represented child's parent or custodian or the emergency placement of
351.5	the child in a foster setting in order to prevent imminent physical damage or harm to the
351.6	child.

- Subd. 2. Petition for emergency removal; placement requirements. A petition for a court order authorizing the emergency removal or continued emergency placement of an African American or a disproportionately represented child or the petition's accompanying documents must contain a statement of the risk of imminent physical damage or harm to the African American or disproportionately represented child and any evidence that the emergency removal or placement continues to be necessary to prevent imminent physical damage or harm to the child. The petition or its accompanying documents must also contain the following information:
- 351.15 (1) the name, age, and last known address of the child;

351.7

351.8

351.9

351.10

351.11

351.12

351.13

- 351.16 (2) the name and address of the child's parents and custodians, or, if unknown, a detailed 351.17 explanation of efforts made to locate and contact them;
- 351.18 (3) the steps taken to provide notice to the child's parents and custodians about the emergency proceeding;
- 351.20 (4) a specific and detailed account of the circumstances that led the agency responsible 351.21 for the emergency removal of the child to take that action; and
- 351.22 (5) a statement of the efforts that have been taken to assist the child's parents or custodians 351.23 so that the child may safely be returned to their custody.
- Subd. 3. Emergency proceeding requirements. (a) The court shall hold a hearing no later than 72 hours, excluding weekends and holidays, after the emergency removal of an African American or a disproportionately represented child. The court shall determine whether the emergency removal continues to be necessary to prevent imminent physical damage or harm to the child.
- (b) The court shall hold additional hearings whenever new information indicates that
 the emergency situation has ended. At any court hearing after the emergency proceeding,
 the court must determine whether the emergency removal or placement is no longer necessary
 to prevent imminent physical damage or harm to the child.

04/16/24 06:07 pm COUNSEL AHL/NH/TG SCS4699A
--

352.1	(c) Notwithstanding section 260C.163, subdivision 3, and the provisions of Minnesota
352.2	Rules of Juvenile Protection Procedure, rule 25, a parent or custodian of an African American
352.3	or a disproportionately represented child who is subject to an emergency hearing under this
352.4	section and Minnesota Rules of Juvenile Protection Procedure, rule 30, must be represented
352.5	by counsel. The court must appoint qualified counsel to represent a parent if the parent
352.6	meets the eligibility requirements in section 611.17.
352.7	Subd. 4. Termination of emergency removal or placement. (a) An emergency removal
352.8	or placement of an African American or a disproportionately represented child must
352.9	immediately terminate once the responsible social services agency or court possesses
352.10	sufficient evidence to determine that the emergency removal or placement is no longer
352.11	necessary to prevent imminent physical damage or harm to the child and the child shall be
352.12	immediately returned to the custody of the child's parent or custodian. The responsible social
352.13	services agency or court shall ensure that the emergency removal or placement terminates
352.14	immediately when the removal or placement is no longer necessary to prevent imminent
352.15	physical damage or harm to the African American or disproportionately represented child.
352.16	(b) An emergency removal or placement ends when the court orders, after service upon
352.17	the African American or disproportionately represented child's parents or custodian, that
352.18	the child shall be placed in foster care upon a determination supported by clear and
352.19	convincing evidence that custody of the child by the child's parent or custodian is likely to
352.20	result in serious emotional or physical damage to the child.
352.21	(c) In no instance shall emergency removal or emergency placement of an African
352.22	American or a disproportionately represented child extend beyond 30 days unless the court
352.23	finds by a showing of clear and convincing evidence that:
352.24	(1) continued emergency removal or placement is necessary to prevent imminent physical
352.25	damage or harm to the child; and
352.26	(2) it has not been possible to initiate a child placement proceeding with all of the
352.27	protections under sections 260.61 to 260.68.
352.28	Sec. 7. [260.67] TRANSFER OF PERMANENT LEGAL AND PHYSICAL
352.29	CUSTODY; TERMINATION OF PARENTAL RIGHTS; CHILD PLACEMENT
352.30	PROCEEDINGS.
352.31	Subdivision 1. Preference for transfer of permanent legal and physical custody. If
352.32	an African American or a disproportionately represented child cannot be returned to the

child's parent, the court shall, if possible, transfer permanent legal and physical custody of 353.1 353.2 the child to: 353.3 (1) a noncustodial parent under section 260C.515, subdivision 4, if the child cannot return to the care of the parent or custodian from whom the child was removed or who had 353.4 353.5 legal custody at the time that the child was placed in foster care; or (2) a willing and able relative, according to the requirements of section 260C.515, 353.6 subdivision 4, if the court determines that reunification with the child's family is not an 353.7 appropriate permanency option for the child. Prior to the court ordering a transfer of 353.8 permanent legal and physical custody to a relative who is not a parent, the responsible social 353.9 services agency must inform the relative of Northstar kinship assistance benefits and 353.10 eligibility requirements and of the relative's ability to apply for benefits on behalf of the 353.11 353.12 child under chapter 256N. Subd. 2. Termination of parental rights restrictions. (a) A court shall not terminate 353.13 the parental rights of a parent of an African American or a disproportionately represented 353.14 353.15 child based solely on the parent's failure to complete case plan requirements. (b) A court shall not terminate the parental rights of a parent of an African American or 353.16 a disproportionately represented child in a child placement proceeding unless the allegations 353.17 against the parent involve sexual abuse; egregious harm as defined in section 260C.007, 353.18 subdivision 14; murder in the first, second, or third degree under section 609.185, 609.19, 353.19 or 609.195; murder of an unborn child in the first, second, or third degree under section 353.20 609.2661, 609.2662, or 609.2663; manslaughter of an unborn child in the first or second 353.21 degree under section 609.2664 or 609.2665; domestic assault by strangulation under section 353.22 609.2247; felony domestic assault under section 609.2242 or 609.2243; kidnapping under 353.23 section 609.25; solicitation, inducement, and promotion of prostitution under section 609.322, 353.24 subdivision 1, and subdivision 1a if one or more aggravating factors are present; criminal 353.25 sexual conduct under sections 609.342 to 609.3451; engaging in, hiring, or agreeing to hire 353.26 a minor to engage in prostitution under section 609.324, subdivision 1; solicitation of children 353.27 to engage in sexual conduct under section 609.352; possession of pornographic work 353.28 involving minors under section 617.247; malicious punishment or neglect or endangerment 353.29 353.30 of a child under section 609.377 or 609.378; use of a minor in sexual performance under section 617.246; or failing to protect a child from an overt act or condition that constitutes 353.31 egregious harm. 353.32 (c) Nothing in this subdivision precludes the court from terminating the parental rights 353.33

of a parent of an African American or a disproportionately represented child if the parent

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AIII /NIII/TC	CCC1600 A 2
04/10/24 00:0 / pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

desires to voluntarily terminate the parent's own parental rights for good cause under section 354.1 260C.301, subdivision 1, paragraph (a). 354.2 354.3 Subd. 3. Appeals. Notwithstanding the Minnesota Rules of Juvenile Protection Procedure, rule 47.02, subdivision 2, a parent of an African American or a disproportionately represented 354.4 354.5 child whose parental rights have been terminated may appeal the decision within 90 days of the service of notice by the court administrator of the filing of the court's order. 354.6 354.7 Sec. 8. [260.68] RESPONSIBLE SOCIAL SERVICES AGENCY CONDUCT AND **CASE REVIEW.** 354.8 Subdivision 1. Responsible social services agency conduct. (a) A responsible social 354.9 services agency employee who has duties related to child protection shall not knowingly: 354.10 354.11 (1) make untrue statements about any case involving a child alleged to be in need of protection or services; 354.12 354.13 (2) intentionally withhold any information that may be material to a case involving a child alleged to be in need of protection or services; or 354.14 354.15 (3) fabricate or falsify any documentation or evidence relating to a case involving a child alleged to be in need of protection or services. 354.16 (b) Any of the actions listed in paragraph (a) shall constitute grounds for adverse 354.17 employment action. 354.18 Subd. 2. Commissioner notification. (a) When a responsible social services agency 354.19 makes a maltreatment determination involving an African American or a disproportionately 354.20 represented child or places an African American or a disproportionately represented child 354.21 in a foster care placement, the agency shall, within seven days of making a maltreatment 354.22 determination or initiating the child's foster care placement, notify the commissioner of the 354.23 maltreatment determination or foster care placement and of the steps that the agency has 354.24 taken to investigate and remedy the conditions that led to the maltreatment determination 354.25 or foster care placement. Upon receiving this notice, the commissioner shall review the 354.26 responsible social services agency's handling of the child's case to ensure that the case plan 354.27 and services address the unique needs of the child and the child's family and that the agency 354.28 354.29 is making active efforts to reunify and preserve the child's family. At all stages of a case involving an African American or a disproportionately represented child, the responsible 354.30 social services agency shall, upon request, fully cooperate with the commissioner and, as 354.31 appropriate and as permitted under statute, provide access to all relevant case files. 354.32

355.1	(b) In any adoptive or preadoptive placement proceeding involving an African American
355.2	or a disproportionately represented child under the guardianship of the commissioner, the
355.3	responsible social services agency shall notify the commissioner of the pending proceeding
355.4	and of the right of intervention. The notice must include the identity of the child and the
355.5	child's parents whose parental rights were terminated or who consented to the child's
355.6	adoption. Upon receipt of the notice, the commissioner shall review the case to ensure that
355.7	the requirements of this act have been met. When the responsible social services agency
355.8	has identified a nonrelative as an African American or a disproportionately represented
355.9	child's adoptive placement, no preadoptive or adoptive placement proceeding may be held
355.10	until at least 30 days after the commissioner receives the required notice or until an adoption
355.11	home study can be completed for a relative adoption, whichever occurs first. If the
355.12	commissioner requests additional time to prepare for the proceeding, the district court must
355.13	grant the commissioner up to 30 additional days to prepare for the proceeding. In cases in
355.14	which a responsible social services agency or party to a preadoptive or adoptive placement
355.15	knows or has reason to believe that a child is or may be African American or a
355.16	disproportionately represented child, proof of service upon the commissioner must be filed
355.17	with the adoption petition.
355.18	Subd. 3. Case review. (a) Each responsible social services agency shall conduct a review
355.19	of all child protection cases handled by the agency every 24 months, after establishing a
355.20	2024 baseline. The responsible social services agency shall report the agency's findings to
355.21	the county board, related child welfare committees, the Children's Justice Initiative team,
355.22	the commissioner, and community stakeholders within six months of gathering the relevant
355.23	case data. The case review must include:
355.24	(1) the number of African American and disproportionately represented children
355.25	represented in the county child welfare system;
355.26	(2) the number and sources of maltreatment reports received and reports screened in for
355.27	investigation or referred for family assessment and the race of the children and parents or
355.28	custodians involved in each report;
355.29	(3) the number and race of children and parents or custodians who receive in-home
355.30	preventive case management services;
355.31	(4) the number and race of children whose parents or custodians are referred to
355.32	community-based, culturally appropriate, strength-based, or trauma-informed services;
355.33	(5) the number and race of children removed from their homes;

355.34

(6) the number and race of children reunified with their parents or custodians;

0.4/1.6/2.4.06.07	COLDICEL	ATT ATTEM	0.0004.0004.0
04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

(7) the number and race of children whose parents or custodians are offered family group
decision-making services;
(8) the number and race of children whose parents or custodians are offered the parent
support outreach program;
(9) the number and race of children in foster care or out-of-home placement at the time
that the data is gathered;
(10) the number and race of children who achieve permanency through a transfer of
permanent legal and physical custody to a relative, a legal guardianship, or an adoption;
and
(11) the number and race of children who are under the guardianship of the commissioner
or awaiting a permanency disposition.
(b) The required case review must also:
(1) identify barriers to reunifying children with their families;
(2) identify the family conditions that led to the out-of-home placement;
(3) identify any barriers to accessing culturally informed mental health or substance use
disorder treatment services for the parents or children;
(4) document efforts to identify fathers and maternal and paternal relatives and to provide
services to custodial and noncustodial fathers, if appropriate; and
(5) document and summarize court reviews of active efforts.
(c) Any responsible social services agency that has a case review showing
disproportionality and disparities in child welfare outcomes for African American and other
disproportionately represented children and families, compared to the agency's overall
outcomes, must develop a remediation plan to be approved by the commissioner. The
responsible social services agency must develop the plan within 30 days of finding the
disproportionality or disparities and must make measurable improvements within 12 months
of the date that the commissioner approves the remediation plan. A responsible social
services agency may request assistance from the commissioner to develop a remediation
plan. The remediation plan must include measurable outcomes to identify, address, and
reduce the factors that led to the disproportionality and disparities in the agency's child
welfare outcomes and include information about how the responsible social services agency
will achieve and document trauma-informed, positive child well-being outcomes through
remediation efforts.

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

357.1	Subd. 4. Noncompliance. Any responsible social services agency that fails to comply
357.2	with this section is subject to corrective action and a fine determined by the commissioner.
357.3	The commissioner shall use fines received under this subdivision to support compliance
357.4	with this act but shall not use amounts received to supplant funding for existing services.
357.5	Sec. 9. [260.694] AFRICAN AMERICAN CHILD WELL-BEING UNIT.
357.6	Subdivision 1. Establishment. The commissioner shall establish an African American
357.7	Child Well-Being Unit within the Department of Human Services to assist counties and
357.8	monitor child welfare processes and outcomes to address and mitigate child welfare
357.9	disparities for African American children in Minnesota.
357.10	Subd. 2. Duties. The African American Child Well-Being Unit shall perform the
357.11	following functions:
357.12	(1) assist with the development of African American cultural competency training and
357.13	review child welfare curriculum in the Minnesota Child Welfare Training Academy to
357.14	ensure that responsible social services agency staff and other child welfare professionals
357.15	are appropriately prepared to engage with African American families and to support family
357.16	preservation and reunification;
357.17	(2) provide technical assistance, including on-site technical assistance, and case
357.18	consultation to responsible social services agencies to assist agencies with implementing
357.19	and complying with this act;
357.20	(3) monitor the number and placement settings of African American children in
357.21	out-of-home placement statewide to identify trends and develop strategies to address
357.22	disproportionality in the child welfare system at the state and county levels;
357.23	(4) develop and implement a system for conducting case reviews when the commissioner
357.24	receives reports of noncompliance with this act or when requested by the parent or custodian
357.25	of an African American child. Case reviews may include but are not limited to a review of
357.26	placement prevention efforts, safety planning, case planning and service provision by the
357.27	responsible social services agency, relative placement consideration, and permanency
357.28	planning;
357.29	(5) establish and administer a request for proposals process for African American and
357.30	disproportionately represented family preservation grants under section 260.695, monitor
357.31	grant activities, and provide technical assistance to grantees;
357.32	(6) coordinate services and create internal and external partnerships to support adequate
357.33	access to services and resources for African American children and families, including but

	04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2	
358.1	not limited to housing assistance, emplo	yment assistance	e, food and nutrition	support, health	
358.2	care, child care assistance, and educational support and training, in consultation with the				
358.3	African American Child Welfare Overs	sight Council; and	<u>d</u>		
358.4	(7) develop public messaging and co	ommunication to	inform the general	public in	
358.5	Minnesota about racial disparities in ch				
358.6	to reduce racial disparities, and resources available to African American children and families				
358.7	involved in the child welfare system.				
358.8	Subd. 3. Reports. The African Ame	erican Child Wel	l-Being Unit shall p	rovide regular	
358.9	updates on unit activities, including sur				
358.10	American Child Welfare Oversight Cou	•	•		
358.11	American children in out-of-home place	ements statewide	e. The annual censu	s shall include	
358.12	data on the types of placements, age an	d sex of the child	dren, how long the c	children have	
358.13	been in out-of-home placements, and o	ther relevant den	nographic informati	on.	
358.14	Subd. 4. Establishment and staffir	ng. The commiss	ioner may engage tl	ne African	
358.15	American Child Welfare Oversight Cou		•		
358.16	American Child Well-Being Unit and a	ppointing indivi	duals within the uni	<u>t.</u>	
358.17	Sec. 10. [260.695] AFRICAN AME	RICAN AND D	ISPROPORTION	ATELY	
358.18	REPRESENTED FAMILY PRESER	VATION GRAN	NTS.		
358.19	Subdivision 1. Primary support gr	ants. The commi	ssioner shall establi	sh direct grants	
358.20	to organizations, service providers, and	programs owned	and led by African	Americans and	
358.21	other individuals from communities dis	sproportionately 1	represented in the c	hild welfare	
358.22	system to provide services and support	for African Ame	erican and dispropor	tionately	
358.23	represented children and families invol	ved in Minnesota	a's child welfare sys	tem, including	
358.24	supporting existing eligible services an	d facilitating the	development of nev	w services and	
358.25	providers, to create a more expansive n	etwork of service	e providers availabl	e for African	
358.26	American and disproportionately repres	sented children a	nd families.		
358.27	Subd. 2. Eligible services. (a) Servi	ces eligible for g	rants under this sect	ion include but	
358.28	are not limited to:				
358.29	(1) child out-of-home placement pro	evention and reu	nification services;		
358.30	(2) family-based services and reunit	fication therapy;			

(4) court advocacy;

358.31

358.32

(3) culturally specific individual and family counseling;

359.1	(5) training and consultation to responsible social services agencies and private social
359.2	services agencies regarding this act;
359.3	(6) services to support informal kinship care arrangements; and
359.4	(7) other activities and services approved by the commissioner that further the goals of
359.5	the Minnesota African American Family Preservation and Child Welfare Disproportionality
359.6	Act, including but not limited to the recruitment of African American staff and staff from
359.7	other communities disproportionately represented in the child welfare system to work for
359.8	responsible social services agencies and licensed child-placing agencies.
359.9	(b) The commissioner may specify the priority of an activity and service based on its
359.10	success in furthering these goals. The commissioner shall give preference to programs and
359.11	service providers that are located in or serve counties with the highest rates of child welfare
359.12	disproportionality for African American and other disproportionately represented children
359.13	and families and employ staff who represent the population primarily served.
359.14	Subd. 3. Ineligible services. Grant money may not be used to supplant funding for
359.15	existing services or for the following purposes:
359.16	(1) child day care that is necessary solely because of the employment or training for
359.17	employment of a parent or another relative with whom the child is living;
359.18	(2) foster care maintenance or difficulty of care payments;
359.19	(3) residential treatment facility payments;
359.20	(4) adoption assistance or Northstar kinship assistance payments under chapter 259A
359.21	<u>or 256N;</u>
359.22	(5) public assistance payments for Minnesota family investment program assistance,
359.23	supplemental aid, medical assistance, general assistance, general assistance medical care,
359.24	or community health services; or
359.25	(6) administrative costs for income maintenance staff.
359.26	Subd. 4. Requests for proposals. The commissioner shall request proposals for grants
359.27	under subdivisions 1, 2, and 3, and specify the information and criteria required.
359.28	Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260C.329, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
359.29	Subd. 3. Petition. The county attorney or, a parent whose parental rights were terminated
359.30	under a previous order of the court, an African American or a disproportionately represented
359.31	child who is ten years of age or older, the responsible social services agency, or a guardian

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

360.1	ad litem may file a petition for the reestablishment of the legal parent and child relationship.
360.2	A parent filing a petition under this section shall pay a filing fee in the amount required
360.3	under section 357.021, subdivision 2, clause (1). The filing fee may be waived pursuant to
360.4	chapter 563 in cases of indigency. A petition for the reestablishment of the legal parent and
360.5	child relationship may be filed when:
360.6	(1) in cases where the county attorney is the petitioning party, both the responsible social
360.7	services agency and the county attorney agree that reestablishment of the legal parent and
360.8	child relationship is in the child's best interests;
360.9	(2) (1) the parent has corrected the conditions that led to an order terminating parental
360.10	rights;
360.11	(3) (2) the parent is willing and has the capability to provide day-to-day care and maintain
360.12	the health, safety, and welfare of the child;
360.13	(4) the child has been in foster care for at least 48 months after the court issued the order
360.14	terminating parental rights;
300.14	
360.15	(5) (3) the child has not been adopted; and
360.16	(6) (4) the child is not the subject of a written adoption placement agreement between
360.17	the responsible social services agency and the prospective adoptive parent, as required under
360.18	Minnesota Rules, part 9560.0060, subpart 2.
360.19	Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260C.329, subdivision 8, is amended to read:
360.20	Subd. 8. Hearing. The court may grant the petition ordering the reestablishment of the
360.21	legal parent and child relationship only if it finds by clear and convincing evidence that:
360.22	(1) reestablishment of the legal parent and child relationship is in the child's best interests;
360.23	(2) the child has not been adopted;
360.24	(3) the child is not the subject of a written adoption placement agreement between the
360.25	responsible social services agency and the prospective adoptive parent, as required under
360.26	Minnesota Rules, part 9560.0060, subpart 2;
360.27	(4) at least 48 months have elapsed following a final order terminating parental rights
360.28	and the child remains in foster care;
360.29	(5) (4) the child desires to reside with the parent;
360.30	(6) (5) the parent has corrected the conditions that led to an order terminating parental
360.31	rights; and

(7) (6) the parent is willing and has the capability to provide day-to-day care and maintain 361.1 the health, safety, and welfare of the child. 361.2 Sec. 13. CULTURAL COMPETENCY TRAINING FOR INDIVIDUALS WORKING 361.3 WITH AFRICAN AMERICAN AND DISPROPORTIONATELY REPRESENTED 361.4 FAMILIES AND CHILDREN IN THE CHILD WELFARE SYSTEM. 361.5 Subdivision 1. Applicability. The commissioner of human services shall collaborate 361.6 with the Children's Justice Initiative to ensure that cultural competency training is given to 361.7 individuals working in the child welfare system, including child welfare workers, supervisors, 361.8 361.9 attorneys, juvenile court judges, and family law judges. Subd. 2. **Training.** (a) The commissioner shall develop training content and establish 361.10 361.11 the frequency of trainings. (b) The cultural competency training under this section is required prior to or within six 361.12 361.13 months of beginning work with any African American or disproportionately represented child and family. A responsible social services agency staff person who is unable to complete 361.14 the cultural competency training prior to working with African American or 361.15 361.16 disproportionately represented children and families must work with a qualified staff person within the agency who has completed cultural competency training until the person is able 361.17 to complete the required training. The training must be available by January 1, 2025, and 361.18 must: 361.19 (1) be provided by an African American individual or individual from a community that 361.20 is disproportionately represented in the child welfare system who is knowledgeable about 361.21 African American and other disproportionately represented social and cultural norms and 361.22 historical trauma; 361.23 (2) raise awareness and increase a person's competency to value diversity, conduct a 361.24 self-assessment, manage the dynamics of difference, acquire cultural knowledge, and adapt 361.25 to diversity and the cultural contexts of communities served; 361.26 361.27 (3) include instruction on effectively developing a safety plan and instruction on engaging a safety network; and 361.28 (4) be accessible and comprehensive and include the ability to ask questions. 361.29

Article 16 Sec. 13.

361.30

(c) The training may be provided in a series of segments, either in person or online.

	04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2
362.1	Subd. 3. Update. The commission	ner shall provide an	update to the legisla	tive committees
362.2	with jurisdiction over child protection	issues by Ianuary 1	1 2025 on the rollo	it of the training

under subdivision 1 and the content and accessibility of the training under subdivision 2.

Sec. 14. DISAGGREGATE DATA.

The commissioner of human services shall establish a method to disaggregate data related 362.5 to African American and other child welfare disproportionality and begin disaggregating 362.6 data by January 1, 2025. 362.7

Sec. 15. ENSURING FREQUENT VISITATION FOR AFRICAN AMERICAN AND DISPROPORTIONATELY REPRESENTED CHILDREN IN OUT-OF-HOME

PLACEMENT. 362.10

362.3

362.4

362.8

362.9

362.11

362.13

362.14

362.15

362.19

A responsible social services agency must engage in best practices related to visitation when an African American or a disproportionately represented child is in out-of-home 362.12 placement. When the child is in out-of-home placement, the responsible social services agency shall make active efforts to facilitate regular and frequent visitation between the child and the child's parents or custodians, the child's siblings, and the child's relatives. If visitation is infrequent between the child and the child's parents, custodians, siblings, or 362.16 relatives, the responsible social services agency shall make active efforts to increase the frequency of visitation and address any barriers to visitation. 362.18

Sec. 16. CHILD WELFARE COMPLIANCE AND FEEDBACK PORTAL.

The commissioner of human services shall develop, maintain, and administer a publicly 362.20 accessible online compliance and feedback portal to receive reports of noncompliance with 362.21 the Minnesota African American Family Preservation and Child Welfare Disproportionality 362.22 Act under Minnesota Statutes, sections 260.61 to 260.68, and other statutes related to child 362.23 maltreatment, safety, and placement. Reports received through the portal must be transferred 362.24 for review and further action to the appropriate unit or department within the Department 362.25 of Human Services, including but not limited to the African American Child Well-Being 362.26 362.27 Unit.

Sec. 17. DIRECTION TO COMMISSIONER; MAINTAINING CONNECTIONS 362.28

IN FOSTER CARE BEST PRACTICES. 362.29

The commissioner of human services shall develop and publish guidance on best practices 362.30 for ensuring that African American and disproportionately represented children in foster 362.31

care maintain connections and relationships with their parents, custodians, and extended relative and kin network. The commissioner shall also develop and publish best practice guidance on engaging and assessing noncustodial and nonadjudicated parents to care for their African American or disproportionately represented children who cannot remain with the children's custodial parents.

363.6 **ARTICLE 17**

363.1

363.2

363.3

363.4

363.5

363.7

363.10

363.11

363.12

363.14

363.15

363.16

363.17

363.18

363.19

363.20

CHILDREN AND FAMILIES POLICY

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 119B.011, subdivision 15, is amended to read:

Subd. 15. **Income.** "Income" means earned income as defined under section 256P.01, subdivision 3; unearned income as defined under section 256P.01, subdivision 8; income under Minnesota Rules, part 3400.0170; and public assistance cash benefits, including the Minnesota family investment program, work benefit, Minnesota supplemental aid, general assistance, refugee cash assistance, at-home infant child care subsidy payments, and child support and maintenance distributed to the family under section 256.741, subdivision 2a.

The following are deducted from income: funds used to pay for health insurance premiums for family members, and child or spousal support paid to or on behalf of a person or persons who live outside of the household. Income sources not included in this subdivision and; section 256P.06, subdivision 3; and Minnesota Rules, part 3400.0170, are not counted as income.

- Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 119B.16, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:
- Subd. 1a. **Fair hearing allowed for providers.** (a) This subdivision applies to providers caring for children receiving child care assistance.
- 363.25 (b) A provider may request a fair hearing according to sections 256.045 and 256.046 only if a county agency or the commissioner:
- 363.27 (1) denies or revokes a provider's authorization, unless the action entitles the provider to:
- (i) an administrative review under section 119B.161; or
- 363.30 (ii) a contested case hearing or an administrative reconsideration under section 245.095;

04/16/24 06:07 p	om COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

304.1	(2) assigns responsibility for all overpayment to a provider under section 117B.11,
364.2	subdivision 2a;
364.3	(3) establishes an overpayment for failure to comply with section 119B.125, subdivision
364.4	6;
364.5	(4) seeks monetary recovery or recoupment under section 245E.02, subdivision 4,
364.6	paragraph (c), clause (2);
364.7	(5) ends a provider's rate differential under section 119B.13, subdivision 3a or 3b;
364.8	(5) (6) initiates an administrative fraud disqualification hearing; or
364.9	$\frac{(6)}{(7)}$ issues a payment and the provider disagrees with the amount of the payment.
364.10	(c) A provider may request a fair hearing by submitting a written request to the
364.11	Department of Human Services, Appeals Division state agency. A provider's request must
364.12	be received by the Appeals Division state agency no later than 30 days after the date a
364.13	county or the commissioner mails sends the notice under subdivision 1c.
364.14	(d) The provider's appeal request must contain the following:
364.15	(1) each disputed item, the reason for the dispute, and, if applicable, an estimate of the
364.16	dollar amount involved for each disputed item;
364.17	(2) the computation the provider believes to be correct, if applicable;
364.18	(3) the statute or rule relied on for each disputed item; and
364.19	(4) the name, address, and telephone number of the person at the provider's place of
364.20	business with whom contact may be made regarding the appeal.
364.21	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2024.
364.22	Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 119B.16, subdivision 1c, is amended
364.23	to read:
364.24	Subd. 1c. Notice to providers. (a) Before taking an action appealable under subdivision
364.25	1a, paragraph (b), clauses (1) to (5), a county agency or the commissioner must mail send
364.26	written notice to the provider against whom the action is being taken. Unless otherwise
364.27	specified under this chapter, chapter 245E, or Minnesota Rules, chapter 3400, a county
364.28	agency or the commissioner must mail send the written notice at least 15 calendar days
364.29	before the adverse action's effective date. If the appealable action is a denial of an
364.30	authorization under subdivision 1a, paragraph (b), clause (1), the provider's notice is effective
364 31	on the date the notice is sent

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

365.1	(b) The notice of adverse action in paragraph (a) shall state (1) the factual basis for the
365.2	county agency or department's determination, (2) the action the county agency or department
365.3	intends to take, (3) the dollar amount of the monetary recovery or recoupment, if known,
365.4	and (4) the provider's right to appeal the department's proposed action.
365.5	(c) Notice requirements for administrative fraud disqualifications under subdivision 1a,
365.6	paragraph (b), clause (6), are set forth in section 256.046, subdivision 3.
365.7	(d) A provider must receive notices that include:
365.8	(1) the right to appeal if a county issues a payment and the provider disagrees with the
365.9	amount of the payment under subdivision 1a, paragraph (b), clause (7), at the time of
365.10	authorization and reauthorization under section 119B.125, subdivision 1; and
365.11	(2) the amount of each payment when a payment is issued.
365.12	(e) A provider's request to appeal a payment amount must be received by the state agency
365.13	no later than 30 days after the date a county sends the notice informing the provider of its
365.14	payment amount.
365.15	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2024.
365.16	Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 119B.161, subdivision 2, is amended
365.17	to read:
365.18	Subd. 2. Notice. (a) The commissioner must mail send written notice to a provider within
365.19	five days of suspending payment or denying or revoking the provider's authorization under
365.20	subdivision 1.
365.21	(b) The notice must:
365.22	(1) state the provision under which the commissioner is denying, revoking, or suspending
365.23	the provider's authorization or suspending payment to the provider;
365.24	(2) set forth the general allegations leading to the denial, revocation, or suspension of
365.25	the provider's authorization. The notice need not disclose any specific information concerning
365.26	an ongoing investigation;
365.27	(3) state that the denial, revocation, or suspension of the provider's authorization is for
365.28	a temporary period and explain the circumstances under which the action expires; and
365.28 365.29	a temporary period and explain the circumstances under which the action expires; and (4) inform the provider of the right to submit written evidence and argument for

(c) Notwithstanding Minnesota Rules, part 3400.0185, if the commissioner suspends payment to a provider under chapter 245E or denies or revokes a provider's authorization under section 119B.13, subdivision 6, paragraph (d), clause (1) or (2), a county agency or the commissioner must send notice of service authorization closure to each affected family. The notice sent to an affected family is effective on the date the notice is created.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2024.

366.1

366.2

366.3

366.4

366.5

366.6

366.7

366.18

366.19

366.20

366.21

366.22

366.23

366.24

366.25

- Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 121A.15, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
- Subd. 3. **Exemptions from immunizations.** (a) If a person is at least seven years old and has not been immunized against pertussis, the person must not be required to be immunized against pertussis.
- 366.11 (b) If a person is at least 18 years old and has not completed a series of immunizations
 366.12 against poliomyelitis, the person must not be required to be immunized against poliomyelitis.
- 366.13 (c) If a statement, signed by a physician, is submitted to the administrator or other person 366.14 having general control and supervision of the school or child care facility stating that an 366.15 immunization is contraindicated for medical reasons or that laboratory confirmation of the 366.16 presence of adequate immunity exists, the immunization specified in the statement need 366.17 not be required.
 - (d) If a notarized statement signed by the minor child's parent or guardian or by the emancipated person is submitted to the administrator or other person having general control and supervision of the school or child care facility stating that the person has not been immunized as prescribed in subdivision 1 because of the conscientiously held beliefs of the parent or guardian of the minor child or of the emancipated person, the immunizations specified in the statement shall not be required. This statement must also be forwarded to the commissioner of the Department of Health. This paragraph does not apply to a child enrolling or enrolled in a child care center or family child care program that adopts a policy under subdivision 3b.
- 366.27 (e) If the person is under 15 months, the person is not required to be immunized against measles, rubella, or mumps.
- (f) If a person is at least five years old and has not been immunized against haemophilus influenzae type b, the person is not required to be immunized against haemophilus influenzae type b.
- 366.32 (g) If a person who is not a Minnesota resident enrolls in a Minnesota school online 366.33 learning course or program that delivers instruction to the person only by computer and

does not provide any teacher or instructor contact time or require classroom attendance, the 367.1 person is not subject to the immunization, statement, and other requirements of this section. 367.2 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 121A.15, is amended by adding a subdivision to 367.3 read: 367.4 Subd. 3b. Child care programs. A child care center licensed under chapter 245A and 367.5 Minnesota Rules, chapter 9503, and a family child care provider licensed under chapter 367.6 245A and Minnesota Rules, chapter 9502, may adopt a policy prohibiting a child over two 367.7 months of age from enrolling or remaining enrolled in the child care center or family child 367.8 367.9 care program if the child: (1) has not been immunized in accordance with subdivision 1 or 2 and in accordance 367.10 367.11 with Minnesota Rules, chapter 4604; and (2) is not exempt from immunizations under subdivision 3, paragraph (a), (c), (e), or (f). 367.12 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 124D.142, subdivision 2, is amended 367.13 367.14 to read: Subd. 2. System components. (a) The standards-based voluntary quality rating and 367.15 improvement system includes: 367.16 367.17 (1) effective July 1, 2026, at least a one-star rating for all programs licensed under Minnesota Rules, chapter 9502 or 9503, or Tribally licensed that do not opt out of the system 367.18 under paragraph (b) and that are not: 367.19 (i) the subject of a finding of fraud for which the program or individual is currently 367.20 serving a penalty or exclusion; 367.21 (ii) prohibited from receiving public funds under section 245.095, regardless of whether 367.22 the action is under appeal; 367.23 (iii) under revocation, suspension, temporary immediate suspension, or decertification, 367.24 or is operating under a conditional license, regardless of whether the action is under appeal; 367.25 367.26 or (iv) the subject of suspended, denied, or terminated payments to a provider under section 367.27 119B.13, subdivision 6, paragraph (d), clause (1) or (2); 245E.02, subdivision 4, paragraph 367.28 (c), clause (4); or 256.98, subdivision 1, regardless of whether the action is under appeal; 367.29 367.30 (2) quality opportunities in order to improve the educational outcomes of children so

367.31

that they are ready for school;

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

(3) a framework based on the Minnesota quality rating system rating tool and a common set of child outcome and program standards informed by evaluation results;

- (4) a tool to increase the number of publicly funded and regulated early learning and care services in both public and private market programs that are high quality;
- 368.5 (5) voluntary participation ensuring that if a program or provider chooses to participate, the program or provider will be rated and may receive public funding associated with the 368.6 rating; and 368.7
- (6) tracking progress toward statewide access to high-quality early learning and care programs, progress toward the number of low-income children whose parents can access quality programs, and progress toward increasing the number of children who are fully 368.10 prepared to enter kindergarten. 368.11
- (b) By July 1, 2026, the commissioner of human services shall establish a process by 368.12 which a program may opt out of the rating under paragraph (a), clause (1). The commissioner 368.13 shall consult with Tribes to develop a process for rating Tribally licensed programs that is 368.14 consistent with the goal outlined in paragraph (a), clause (1). 368.15

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

- Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 144.2252, subdivision 2, is amended 368.17 to read: 368.18
- Subd. 2. Release of original birth record. (a) The state registrar must provide to an 368.19 adopted person who is 18 years of age or older or a person related to the adopted person a 368.20 copy of the adopted person's original birth record and any evidence of the adoption previously 368.21 filed with the state registrar. To receive a copy of an original birth record under this 368.22 subdivision, the adopted person or person related to the adopted person must make the 368.23 request to the state registrar in writing. The copy of the original birth record must clearly 368.24 indicate that it may not be used for identification purposes. All procedures, fees, and waiting 368.25 periods applicable to a nonadopted person's request for a copy of a birth record apply in the 368.26 368.27 same manner as requests made under this section.
 - (b) If a contact preference form is attached to the original birth record as authorized under section 144.2253, the state registrar must provide a copy of the contact preference form along with the copy of the adopted person's original birth record.
- (c) The state registrar shall provide a transcript of an adopted person's original birth record to an authorized representative of a federally recognized American Indian Tribe for 368.32 the sole purpose of determining the adopted person's eligibility for enrollment or membership.

368.1

368.2

368.3

368.4

368.8

368.9

368.16

368.28

368.29

368.30

368.31

04/16/24 06:07 1	om COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

Information contained in the birth record may not be used to provide the adopted person information about the person's birth parents, except as provided in this section or section 259.83.

- (d) For a replacement birth record issued under section 144.218, the adopted person or a person related to the adopted person may obtain from the state registrar copies of the order or decree of adoption, certificate of adoption, or decree issued under section 259.60, as filed with the state registrar.
- 369.8 (e) The state registrar may request assistance from the commissioner of human services 369.9 if needed to discharge duties under this section, as authorized under section 259.79.
- 369.10 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2024.
- Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 144.2253, is amended to read:

144.2253 BIRTH PARENT CONTACT PREFERENCE FORM.

- 369.13 (a) The commissioner must make available to the public a contact preference form as described in paragraph (b).
- 369.15 (b) The contact preference form must provide the following information to be completed at the option of a birth parent:
- 369.17 (1) "I would like to be contacted."

369.1

369.2

369.3

369.4

369.5

369.6

- 369.18 (2) "I would prefer to be contacted only through an intermediary."
- 369.19 (3) "I prefer not to be contacted at this time. If I decide later that I would like to be contacted, I will submit an updated contact preference form to the Minnesota Department of Health."
- 369.22 (c) A contact preference form must include space where the birth parent may include information that the birth parent feels is important for the adopted person to know.
- 369.24 (d) If a birth parent of an adopted person submits a completed contact preference form 369.25 to the commissioner, the commissioner must:
- (1) match the contact preference form to the adopted person's original birth record. The commissioner may request assistance from the commissioner of human services if needed to discharge duties under this clause, as authorized under section 259.79; and
- 369.29 (2) attach the contact preference form to the original birth record as required under section 144.2252.

(e) A contact preference form submitted to the commissioner under this section is private data on an individual as defined in section 13.02, subdivision 12, except that the contact preference form may be released as provided under section 144.2252, subdivision 2.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.

370.1

370.2

370.3

- Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 243.166, subdivision 7, is amended to read:
- Subd. 7. **Use of data.** (a) Except as otherwise provided in subdivision 4b or 7a or sections 244.052 and 299C.093, the data provided under this section is private data on individuals under section 13.02, subdivision 12.
- (b) The data may be used only by law enforcement and corrections agencies for law enforcement and corrections purposes. Law enforcement or a corrections agent may disclose the status of an individual as a predatory offender to a child protection worker with a local welfare agency for purposes of doing a family <u>investigation or</u> assessment under chapter 260E. A corrections agent may also disclose the status of an individual as a predatory offender to comply with section 244.057.
- 370.15 (c) The commissioner of human services is authorized to have access to the data for:
- 370.16 (1) state-operated services, as defined in section 246.014, for the purposes described in section 246.13, subdivision 2, paragraph (b); and
- 370.18 (2) purposes of completing background studies under chapter 245C.
- 370.19 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 245A.03, subdivision 7, is amended to read:
- 370.21 Subd. 7. Licensing moratorium. (a) The commissioner shall not issue an initial license for child foster care licensed under Minnesota Rules, parts 2960.3000 to 2960.3340 which 370.22 does not include child foster residence settings with residential program certifications for 370.23 compliance with the Family First Prevention Services Act under section 245A.25, subdivision 370.24 1, paragraph (a), or adult foster care licensed under Minnesota Rules, parts 9555.5105 to 370.25 9555.6265, under this chapter for a physical location that will not be the primary residence 370.26 of the license holder for the entire period of licensure. If a child foster residence setting that 370.27 was previously exempt from the licensing moratorium under this paragraph has its Family 370.28 First Prevention Services Act certification rescinded under section 245A.25, subdivision 9, 370.29 or if a family child foster care home or family adult foster care home license is issued during this moratorium, and the license holder changes the license holder's primary residence away 370.31 from the physical location of the foster care license, the commissioner shall revoke the 370.32

license according to section 245A.07. The commissioner shall not issue an initial license for a community residential setting licensed under chapter 245D. When approving an exception under this paragraph, the commissioner shall consider the resource need determination process in paragraph (h), the availability of foster care licensed beds in the geographic area in which the licensee seeks to operate, the results of a person's choices during their annual assessment and service plan review, and the recommendation of the local county board. The determination by the commissioner is final and not subject to appeal. Exceptions to the moratorium include:

- (1) a license for a person in a foster care setting that is not the primary residence of the license holder and where at least 80 percent of the residents are 55 years of age or older;
- (2) foster care licenses replacing foster care licenses in existence on May 15, 2009, or community residential setting licenses replacing adult foster care licenses in existence on December 31, 2013, and determined to be needed by the commissioner under paragraph (b);
 - (3) new foster care licenses or community residential setting licenses determined to be needed by the commissioner under paragraph (b) for the closure of a nursing facility, ICF/DD, or regional treatment center; restructuring of state-operated services that limits the capacity of state-operated facilities; or allowing movement to the community for people who no longer require the level of care provided in state-operated facilities as provided under section 256B.092, subdivision 13, or 256B.49, subdivision 24;
- (4) new foster care licenses or community residential setting licenses determined to be needed by the commissioner under paragraph (b) for persons requiring hospital-level care; or
- (5) new foster care licenses or community residential setting licenses for people receiving 371.24 customized living or 24-hour customized living services under the brain injury or community 371.25 access for disability inclusion waiver plans under section 256B.49 or elderly waiver plan 371.26 under chapter 256S and residing in the customized living setting for which a license is 371.27 required. A customized living service provider subject to this exception may rebut the presumption that a license is required by seeking a reconsideration of the commissioner's 371.29 determination. The commissioner's disposition of a request for reconsideration is final and 371.30 not subject to appeal under chapter 14. The exception is available until December 31, 2023. 371.31 This exception is available when: 371.32

371.1

371.2

371.3

371.4

371.5

371.6

371.7

371.8

371.9

371.10

371.15

371.16

371.17

371.18

371.19

(i) the person's customized living services are provided in a customized living service setting serving four or fewer people in a single-family home operational on or before June 30, 2021. Operational is defined in section 256B.49, subdivision 28;

- (ii) the person's case manager provided the person with information about the choice of service, service provider, and location of service, including in the person's home, to help the person make an informed choice; and
- (iii) the person's services provided in the licensed foster care or community residential setting are less than or equal to the cost of the person's services delivered in the customized living setting as determined by the lead agency.
- (b) The commissioner shall determine the need for newly licensed foster care homes or community residential settings as defined under this subdivision. As part of the determination, 372.11 the commissioner shall consider the availability of foster care capacity in the area in which 372.12 the licensee seeks to operate, and the recommendation of the local county board. The 372.13 determination by the commissioner must be final. A determination of need is not required for a change in ownership at the same address. 372.15
- (c) When an adult resident served by the program moves out of a foster home that is not 372.16 the primary residence of the license holder according to section 256B.49, subdivision 15, 372.17 paragraph (f), or the adult community residential setting, the county shall immediately 372.18 inform the Department of Human Services Licensing Division. The department may decrease 372.19 the statewide licensed capacity for adult foster care settings. 372.20
 - (d) Residential settings that would otherwise be subject to the decreased license capacity established in paragraph (c) shall must be exempt if the license holder's beds are occupied by residents whose primary diagnosis is mental illness and the license holder is certified under the requirements in subdivision 6a or section 245D.33.
- (e) A resource need determination process, managed at the state level, using the available 372.25 data required by section 144A.351, and other data and information shall must be used to determine where the reduced capacity determined under section 256B.493 will be 372.27 implemented. The commissioner shall consult with the stakeholders described in section 372.28 144A.351, and employ a variety of methods to improve the state's capacity to meet the 372.29 informed decisions of those people who want to move out of corporate foster care or 372.30 community residential settings, long-term service needs within budgetary limits, including 372.31 seeking proposals from service providers or lead agencies to change service type, capacity, 372.32 or location to improve services, increase the independence of residents, and better meet 372.33

372.1

372.2

372.3

372.4

372.5

372.6

372.7

372.8

372.9

372.10

372.21

372.23

needs identified by the long-term services and supports reports and statewide data and information.

- (f) At the time of application and reapplication for licensure, the applicant and the license holder that are subject to the moratorium or an exclusion established in paragraph (a) are required to inform the commissioner whether the physical location where the foster care will be provided is or will be the primary residence of the license holder for the entire period of licensure. If the primary residence of the applicant or license holder changes, the applicant or license holder must notify the commissioner immediately. The commissioner shall print on the foster care license certificate whether or not the physical location is the primary residence of the license holder.
- (g) License holders of foster care homes identified under paragraph (f) that are not the primary residence of the license holder and that also provide services in the foster care home that are covered by a federally approved home and community-based services waiver, as authorized under chapter 256S or section 256B.092 or 256B.49, must inform the human services licensing division that the license holder provides or intends to provide these waiver-funded services.
- (h) The commissioner may adjust capacity to address needs identified in section 144A.351. Under this authority, the commissioner may approve new licensed settings or delicense existing settings. Delicensing of settings will be accomplished through a process identified in section 256B.493.
 - (i) The commissioner must notify a license holder when its corporate foster care or community residential setting licensed beds are reduced under this section. The notice of reduction of licensed beds must be in writing and delivered to the license holder by certified mail or personal service. The notice must state why the licensed beds are reduced and must inform the license holder of its right to request reconsideration by the commissioner. The license holder's request for reconsideration must be in writing. If mailed, the request for reconsideration must be postmarked and sent to the commissioner within 20 calendar days after the license holder's receipt of the notice of reduction of licensed beds. If a request for reconsideration is made by personal service, it must be received by the commissioner within 20 calendar days after the license holder's receipt of the notice of reduction of licensed beds.
 - (j) The commissioner shall not issue an initial license for children's residential treatment services licensed under Minnesota Rules, parts 2960.0580 to 2960.0700, under this chapter for a program that Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services would consider an institution for mental diseases. Facilities that serve only private pay clients are exempt from the

373.1

373.2

373.3

373.4

373.5

373.6

373.7

373.8

373.9

373.10

373.11

373.12

373.13

373.14

373.15

373.16

373.21

373.22

373.23

373.24

373.25

373.26

373.27

373.28

373.31

373.32

moratorium described in this paragraph. The commissioner has the authority to manage existing statewide capacity for children's residential treatment services subject to the moratorium under this paragraph and may issue an initial license for such facilities if the initial license would not increase the statewide capacity for children's residential treatment services subject to the moratorium under this paragraph.

- Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 256.046, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
- Subd. 3. Administrative disqualification of child care providers caring for children 374.8 receiving child care assistance. (a) The department shall pursue an administrative 374.9 disqualification, if the child care provider is accused of committing an intentional program 374.10 violation, in lieu of a criminal action when it has not been pursued. Intentional program 374.11 violations include intentionally making false or misleading statements; intentionally 374.12 misrepresenting, concealing, or withholding facts; and repeatedly and intentionally violating 374.13 374.14 program regulations under chapters 119B and 245E. Intent may be proven by demonstrating a pattern of conduct that violates program rules under chapters 119B and 245E. 374.15
- 374.16 (b) To initiate an administrative disqualification, the commissioner must mail send written notice by certified mail using a signature-verified confirmed delivery method to the 374.17 provider against whom the action is being taken. Unless otherwise specified under chapter 374.18 119B or 245E or Minnesota Rules, chapter 3400, the commissioner must mail send the 374.19 written notice at least 15 calendar days before the adverse action's effective date. The notice 374.20 374.21 shall state (1) the factual basis for the agency's determination, (2) the action the agency intends to take, (3) the dollar amount of the monetary recovery or recoupment, if known, 374.22 and (4) the provider's right to appeal the agency's proposed action. 374.23
- (c) The provider may appeal an administrative disqualification by submitting a written request to the Department of Human Services, Appeals Division state agency. A provider's request must be received by the Appeals Division state agency no later than 30 days after the date the commissioner mails the notice.
- (d) The provider's appeal request must contain the following:
- 374.29 (1) each disputed item, the reason for the dispute, and, if applicable, an estimate of the dollar amount involved for each disputed item;
- 374.31 (2) the computation the provider believes to be correct, if applicable;
- 374.32 (3) the statute or rule relied on for each disputed item; and

374.1

374.2

374.3

374.4

(4) the name, address, and telephone number of the person at the provider's place of business with whom contact may be made regarding the appeal.

- (e) On appeal, the issuing agency bears the burden of proof to demonstrate by a preponderance of the evidence that the provider committed an intentional program violation.
- (f) The hearing is subject to the requirements of sections 256.045 and 256.0451. The human services judge may combine a fair hearing and administrative disqualification hearing into a single hearing if the factual issues arise out of the same or related circumstances and the provider receives prior notice that the hearings will be combined.
- 375.9 (g) A provider found to have committed an intentional program violation and is 375.10 administratively disqualified shall must be disqualified, for a period of three years for the 375.11 first offense and permanently for any subsequent offense, from receiving any payments 375.12 from any child care program under chapter 119B.
- 375.13 (h) Unless a timely and proper appeal made under this section is received by the department, the administrative determination of the department is final and binding.
- 375.15 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2024.
- Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256J.08, subdivision 34a, is amended to read:
- Subd. 34a. **Family violence.** (a) "Family violence" means the following, if committed against a family or household member by a family or household member:
- 375.19 (1) physical harm, bodily injury, or assault;
- 375.20 (2) the infliction of fear of imminent physical harm, bodily injury, or assault; or
- 375.21 (3) terroristic threats, within the meaning of section 609.713, subdivision 1; criminal
- 375.22 sexual conduct, within the meaning of section 609.342, 609.343, 609.344, 609.345, or
- 375.23 609.3451; or interference with an emergency call within the meaning of section 609.78,
- 375.24 subdivision 2.

375.1

375.2

375.3

375.4

375.5

375.6

375.7

- (b) For the purposes of family violence, "family or household member" means:
- 375.26 (1) spouses and former spouses;
- 375.27 (2) parents and children;
- 375.28 (3) persons related by blood;
- 375.29 (4) persons who are residing together or who have resided together in the past;

0 (/ 10/2 : 00/0 / pm	04/16/24 06:07 pm COUNSEL AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2
-----------------------	-------------------------------------	------------

(5) persons who have a child in common regardless of whether they have been married 376.1 or have lived together at any time; 376.2 (6) a man and woman if the woman is pregnant and the man is alleged to be the father, 376.3 regardless of whether they have been married or have lived together at anytime; and 376.4 376.5 (7) persons involved in a current or past significant romantic or sexual relationship. Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256J.28, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 376.6 Subdivision 1. Expedited issuance of the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program 376.7 (SNAP) benefits. The following households are entitled to expedited issuance of SNAP 376.8 benefits assistance: 376.9 (1) households with less than \$150 in monthly gross income provided their liquid assets 376.10 do not exceed \$100; 376.11 (2) migrant or seasonal farm worker households who are destitute as defined in Code 376.12 of Federal Regulations, title 7, subtitle B, chapter 2, subchapter C, part 273, section 273.10, 376.13 paragraph (e)(3), provided their liquid assets do not exceed \$100; and 376.14 376.15 (3) eligible households whose combined monthly gross income and liquid resources are less than the household's monthly rent or mortgage and utilities. 376.16 376.17 For any month an individual receives expedited SNAP benefits, the individual is not eligible for the MFIP food portion of assistance. 376.18 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256N.22, subdivision 10, is amended to read: 376.19 Subd. 10. Assigning a successor relative custodian for a child's Northstar kinship 376.20 assistance. (a) In the event of the death or incapacity of the relative custodian, eligibility 376.21 for Northstar kinship assistance and title IV-E assistance, if applicable, is not affected if the 376.22 376.23 relative custodian is replaced by a successor named in the Northstar kinship assistance benefit agreement. Northstar kinship assistance shall must be paid to a named successor 376.24 who is not the child's legal parent, biological parent or stepparent, or other adult living in 376.25 the home of the legal parent, biological parent, or stepparent. 376.26 (b) In order to receive Northstar kinship assistance, a named successor must: 376.27 (1) meet the background study requirements in subdivision 4; 376.28 (2) renegotiate the agreement consistent with section 256N.25, subdivision 2, including 376.29 cooperating with an assessment under section 256N.24; 376.30

377.1 (3) be ordered by the court to be the child's legal relative custodian in a modification 377.2 proceeding under section 260C.521, subdivision 2; and

- (4) satisfy the requirements in this paragraph within one year of the relative custodian's death or incapacity unless the commissioner certifies that the named successor made reasonable attempts to satisfy the requirements within one year and failure to satisfy the requirements was not the responsibility of the named successor.
- (c) Payment of Northstar kinship assistance to the successor guardian may be temporarily approved through the policies, procedures, requirements, and deadlines under section 256N.28, subdivision 2. Ongoing payment shall begin in the month when all the requirements in paragraph (b) are satisfied.
- (d) Continued payment of Northstar kinship assistance may occur in the event of the death or incapacity of the relative custodian when:
- (1) no successor has been named in the benefit agreement when or a named successor
 is not able or willing to accept custody or guardianship of the child; and
- (2) the commissioner gives written consent to an individual who is a guardian or custodian appointed by a court for the child upon the death of both relative custodians in the case of assignment of custody to two individuals, or the sole relative custodian in the case of assignment of custody to one individual, unless the child is under the custody of a county, tribal, or child-placing agency.
 - (e) Temporary assignment of Northstar kinship assistance may be approved for a maximum of six consecutive months from the death or incapacity of the relative custodian or custodians as provided in paragraph (a) and must adhere to the policies, procedures, requirements, and deadlines under section 256N.28, subdivision 2, that are prescribed by the commissioner. If a court has not appointed a permanent legal guardian or custodian within six months, the Northstar kinship assistance must terminate and must not be resumed.
- 377.26 (f) Upon assignment of assistance payments under paragraphs (d) and (e), assistance must be provided from funds other than title IV-E.
- Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256N.24, subdivision 10, is amended to read:
- Subd. 10. Caregiver requests for reassessments. (a) A caregiver may initiate a reassessment request for an eligible child in writing to the financially responsible agency or, if there is no financially responsible agency, the agency designated by the commissioner. The written request must include the reason for the request and the name, address, and contact information of the caregivers. The caregiver may request a reassessment if at least

377.3

377.4

377.5

377.6

377.7

377.8

377.9

377.10

377.20

377.21

377.22

377.23

six months have elapsed since any previous assessment or reassessment. For an eligible foster child, a foster parent may request reassessment in less than six months with written documentation that there have been significant changes in the child's needs that necessitate an earlier reassessment.

- (b) A caregiver may request a reassessment of an at-risk child for whom an adoption assistance agreement has been executed if the caregiver has satisfied the commissioner with written documentation from a qualified expert that the potential disability upon which eligibility for the agreement was based has manifested itself, consistent with section 256N.25, subdivision 3, paragraph (b).
- (c) If the reassessment cannot be completed within 30 days of the caregiver's request, the agency responsible for reassessment must notify the caregiver of the reason for the delay and a reasonable estimate of when the reassessment can be completed.
- (d) Notwithstanding any provision to the contrary in paragraph (a) or subdivision 9, when a Northstar kinship assistance agreement or adoption assistance agreement under section 256N.25 has been signed by all parties, no reassessment may be requested or conducted until the court finalizes the transfer of permanent legal and physical custody or finalizes the adoption, or the assistance agreement expires according to section 256N.25, subdivision 1.
- Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256N.26, subdivision 15, is amended to read:
- Subd. 15. **Payments.** (a) Payments to caregivers <u>or youth</u> under Northstar Care for
 Children must be made monthly. Consistent with section 256N.24, subdivision 13, the
 financially responsible agency must send the caregiver <u>or youth</u> the required written notice
 within 15 days of a completed assessment or reassessment.
- (b) Unless paragraph (c) or, (d), or (e) applies, the financially responsible agency shall pay foster parents directly for eligible children in foster care.
- 378.26 (c) When the legally responsible agency is different than the financially responsible agency, the legally responsible agency may make the payments to the caregiver or youth, provided payments are made on a timely basis. The financially responsible agency must pay the legally responsible agency on a timely basis. Caregivers must have access to the financially and legally responsible agencies' records of the transaction, consistent with the retention schedule for the payments.
- 378.32 (d) For eligible children in foster care, the financially responsible agency may pay the 378.33 foster parent's payment for a licensed child-placing agency instead of paying the foster

378.1

378.2

378.3

378.4

378.5

378.6

378.7

378.8

parents directly. The licensed child-placing agency must timely pay the foster parents and maintain records of the transaction. Caregivers must have access to the financially responsible agency's records of the transaction and the child-placing agency's records of the transaction, consistent with the retention schedule for the payments.

- (e) If a foster youth aged 18 to 21 years old is placed in an unlicensed supervised independent living setting, payments must be made directly to the youth or to a vendor if the legally responsible agency determines it to be in the youth's best interests. If the legally responsible agency has reason to believe that the youth is being financially exploited or at risk of being financially exploited in the approved unlicensed supervised independent living setting, the legally responsible agency shall advise the financially responsible agency to make the payments to a vendor.
- Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256N.26, subdivision 16, is amended to read:
- Subd. 16. **Effect of benefit on other aid.** Payments received under this section must not be considered as income for child care assistance under chapter 119B or any other financial benefit. Consistent with section 256J.24, a child <u>or youth receiving a maintenance</u> payment under Northstar Care for Children is excluded from any Minnesota family investment program assistance unit.
- Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256N.26, subdivision 18, is amended to read:
- Subd. 18. **Overpayments.** The commissioner has the authority to collect any amount of foster care payment, adoption assistance, or Northstar kinship assistance paid to a caregiver or youth in excess of the payment due. Payments covered by this subdivision include basic maintenance needs payments, supplemental difficulty of care payments, and reimbursement of home and vehicle modifications under subdivision 10. Prior to any collection, the commissioner or the commissioner's designee shall notify the caregiver or youth in writing, including:
- 577.25 morading.

379.1

379.2

379.3

379.4

379.5

379.6

379.7

379.8

379.9

379.10

- (1) the amount of the overpayment and an explanation of the cause of overpayment;
- 379.27 (2) clarification of the corrected amount;
- 379.28 (3) a statement of the legal authority for the decision;
- (4) information about how the caregiver can correct the overpayment;
- 379.30 (5) if repayment is required, when the payment is due and a person to contact to review a repayment plan;

380.1 (6) a statement that the caregiver <u>or youth</u> has a right to a fair hearing review by the department; and

- (7) the procedure for seeking a fair hearing review by the department.
- Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256N.26, subdivision 21, is amended to read:
- Subd. 21. **Correct and true information.** The caregiver <u>or youth must be investigated</u>
 for fraud if the caregiver <u>or youth reports information the caregiver or youth knows is untrue,
 the caregiver <u>or youth fails to notify the commissioner of changes that may affect eligibility,</u>
 or the agency administering the program receives relevant information that the caregiver</u>
- 380.9 <u>or youth did not report.</u>

- Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256N.26, subdivision 22, is amended to read:
- Subd. 22. **Termination notice for caregiver or youth.** The agency that issues the maintenance payment shall provide the child's caregiver or youth with written notice of termination of payment. Termination notices must be sent at least 15 days before the final payment or, in the case of an unplanned termination, the notice is sent within three days of the end of the payment. The written notice must minimally include the following:
- 380.16 (1) the date payment will end;
- 380.17 (2) the reason payments will end and the event that is the basis to terminate payment;
- 380.18 (3) a statement that the <u>provider caregiver or youth</u> has a right to a fair hearing review by the department consistent with section 256.045, subdivision 3;
- 380.20 (4) the procedure to request a fair hearing; and
- 380.21 (5) the name, telephone number, and email address of a contact person at the agency.
- Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256P.05, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
- Subd. 4. **Rental income.** Rental income is subject to the requirements of this section.
- Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 256P.06, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
- Subd. 3. **Income inclusions.** The following must be included in determining the income of an assistance unit:
- 380.29 (1) earned income; and

- (2) unearned income, which includes: 381.1
- (i) interest and dividends from investments and savings; 381.2
- (ii) capital gains as defined by the Internal Revenue Service from any sale of real property; 381.3
- (iii) proceeds from rent and contract for deed payments in excess of the principal and 381.4
- interest portion owed on property; 381.5
- (iv) income from trusts, excluding special needs and supplemental needs trusts; 381.6
- (v) interest income from loans made by the participant or household; 381.7
- (vi) cash prizes and winnings; 381.8
- (vii) unemployment insurance income that is received by an adult member of the 381.9 assistance unit unless the individual receiving unemployment insurance income is: 381.10
- (A) 18 years of age and enrolled in a secondary school; or 381.11
- (B) 18 or 19 years of age, a caregiver, and is enrolled in school at least half-time; 381.12
- (viii) for the purposes of programs under chapters 256D and 256I, retirement, survivors, 381.13
- and disability insurance payments; 381.14
- (ix) retirement benefits; 381.15
- (x) cash assistance benefits, as defined by each program in chapters 119B, 256D, 256I, 381.16 and 256J; 381.17
- (xi) income from members of the United States armed forces unless excluded from 381.18 income taxes according to federal or state law; 381.19
- (xii) for the purposes of programs under chapters 119B, 256D, and 256I, all child support 381.20 payments; 381.21
- (xiii) for the purposes of programs under chapter 256J, the amount of child support 381.22 received that exceeds \$100 for assistance units with one child and \$200 for assistance units with two or more children; 381.24
- (xiv) spousal support; 381.25
- (xv) workers' compensation; and 381.26
- (xvi) for the purposes of programs under chapters 119B and 256J, the amount of 381.27 retirement, survivors, and disability insurance payments that exceeds the applicable monthly 381.28 federal maximum Supplemental Security Income payments.

Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 259.37, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

- Subd. 2. **Disclosure to birth parents and adoptive parents.** An agency shall provide a disclosure statement written in clear, plain language to be signed by the prospective adoptive parents and birth parents, except that in intercountry adoptions, the signatures of birth parents are not required. The disclosure statement must contain the following information:
- (1) fees charged to the adoptive parent, including any policy on sliding scale fees or fee waivers and an itemization of the amount that will be charged for the adoption study, counseling, postplacement services, family of origin searches, birth parent expenses authorized under section 259.55, or any other services;
 - (2) timeline for the adoptive parent to make fee payments;
- (3) likelihood, given the circumstances of the prospective adoptive parent and any specific program to which the prospective adoptive parent is applying, that an adoptive placement may be made and the estimated length of time for making an adoptive placement. These estimates must be based on adoptive placements made with prospective parents in similar circumstances applying to a similar program with the agency during the immediately preceding three to five years. If an agency has not been in operation for at least three years, it must provide summary data based on whatever adoptive placements it has made and may include a statement about the kind of efforts it will make to achieve an adoptive placement, including a timetable it will follow in seeking a child. The estimates must include a statement that the agency cannot guarantee placement of a child or a time by which a child will be placed;
 - (4) a statement of the services the agency will provide the birth and adoptive parents;
- (5) a statement prepared by the commissioner under section 259.39 that explains the child placement and adoption process and the respective legal rights and responsibilities of the birth parent and prospective adoptive parent during the process including a statement that the prospective adoptive parent is responsible for filing an adoption petition not later than 12 months after the child is placed in the prospective adoptive home;
- 382.29 (6) a statement regarding any information the agency may have about attorney referral services, or about obtaining assistance with completing legal requirements for an adoption; and
- 382.32 (7) a statement regarding the right of an adopted person to request and obtain a copy of 382.33 the adopted person's original birth record at the age and circumstances specified in section

382.1

382.2

382.3

382.4

382.5

382.6

382.7

382.8

382.9

382.10

382.11

382.12

382.13

382.14

382.15

382.16

382.17

382.19

382.20

382.21

382.22

382.23

382.24

382.25

382.26

382.27

0 (/ 10/2 : 00/0 / pm	04/16/24 06:07 pm COUNSEL AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2
-----------------------	-------------------------------------	------------

144.2253 and the right of the birth parent named on the adopted person's original birth
record to file a contact preference form with the state registrar pursuant to section 144.2253;
and

(7) (8) an acknowledgment to be signed by the birth parent and prospective adoptive

(7) (8) an acknowledgment to be signed by the birth parent and prospective adoptive parent that they have received, read, and had the opportunity to ask questions of the agency about the contents of the disclosure statement.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.

383.5

383.6

- Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 259.79, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
- Subdivision 1. **Content.** (a) The adoption records of the commissioner's agents and licensed child-placing agencies shall contain copies of all relevant legal documents, responsibly collected genetic, medical and social history of the child and the child's birth parents, the child's placement record, copies of all pertinent agreements, contracts, and correspondence relevant to the adoption, and copies of all reports and recommendations made to the court.
- 383.15 (b) The commissioner of human services shall maintain a permanent record of all adoptions granted in district court in Minnesota regarding children who are:
- (1) under guardianship of the commissioner or a licensed child-placing agency according to section 260C.317 or 260C.515, subdivision 3;
- (2) placed by the commissioner, commissioner's agent, or licensed child-placing agency after a consent to adopt according to section 259.24 or under an agreement conferring authority to place for adoption according to section 259.25; or
- 383.22 (3) adopted after a direct adoptive placement approved by the district court under section 259.47.
- Each record shall contain identifying information about the child, the birth or legal parents, and adoptive parents, including race where such data is available. The record must also contain: (1) the date the child was legally freed for adoption; (2) the date of the adoptive placement; (3) the name of the placing agency; (4) the county where the adoptive placement occurred; (5) the date that the petition to adopt was filed; (6) the county where the petition to adopt was filed; and (7) the date and county where the adoption decree was granted.
- 383.30 (c) Identifying information contained in the adoption record shall must be confidential and shall must be disclosed only pursuant to section 259.61 or, for adoption records

maintained by the commissioner of human services, upon request from the commissioner of health or state registrar pursuant to sections 144.2252 and 144.2253.

- Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 259.83, subdivision 1, is amended 384.3 to read: 384.4
- Subdivision 1. Services provided. (a) Agencies shall provide assistance and counseling 384.5 services upon receiving a request for current information from adoptive parents, birth parents, or adopted persons aged 18 years of age and older, or adult siblings of adopted persons. The agency shall contact the other adult persons or the adoptive parents of a minor child in 384.8 a personal and confidential manner to determine whether there is a desire to receive or share 384.9 information or to have contact. If there is such a desire, the agency shall provide the services 384.10 requested. The agency shall provide services to adult genetic siblings if there is no known 384.11 violation of the confidentiality of a birth parent or if the birth parent gives written consent 384.12 complete the search request within six months of the request being made. If the agency is 384.13 384.14 unable to complete the search request within the specified time frame, the agency shall inform the requester of the status of the request and include a reasonable estimate of when 384.15 the request can be completed. 384.16
- 384.17 (b) Upon a request for assistance or services from an adoptive parent of a minor child, birth parent, or an adopted person 18 years of age or older, the agency must inform the 384.18 person: 384.19
- (1) about the right of an adopted person to request and obtain a copy of the adopted 384.20 person's original birth record at the age and circumstances specified in section 144.2253; 384.21 384.22 and
- (2) about the right of the birth parent named on the adopted person's original birth record 384.23 to file a contact preference form with the state registrar pursuant to section 144.2253. 384.24
- 384.25 In When making or supervising an adoptive placements placement, the agency must provide in writing to the birth parents listed on the original birth record the information required 384.26 under this section paragraph and section 259.37, subdivision 2, clause (7). 384.27
- Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 259.83, subdivision 1b, is amended 384.28 to read: 384.29
- Subd. 1b. Genetic Siblings. (a) A person who is at least 18 years of age who was adopted 384.30 or, because of a termination of parental rights, who was committed to the guardianship of 384.31 the commissioner of human services, whether adopted or and not, adopted must upon request

384.1

384.2

384.6

0 (/ 10/2 : 00/0 / pm	04/16/24 06:07 pm COUNSEL AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2
-----------------------	-------------------------------------	------------

be advised of other siblings who were adopted or who were committed to the guardianship of the commissioner of human services and not adopted.

- (b) The agency must provide assistance must be provided by the county or placing agency of to the person requesting information to the extent that information is available in the existing records at the Department of Human Services required to be kept under section 259.79. If the sibling received services from another agency, the agencies must share necessary information in order to locate the other siblings and to offer services, as requested. Upon the determination that parental rights with respect to another sibling were terminated, identifying information and contact must be provided only upon mutual consent. A reasonable fee may be imposed by the county or placing agency.
- Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 259.83, subdivision 3a, is amended to read:
- Subd. 3a. **Birth parent identifying information.** (a) This subdivision applies to adoptive placements where an adopted person does not have a record of live birth registered in this state. Upon written request by an adopted person 18 years of age or older, the agency responsible for or supervising the placement must provide to the requester the following identifying information related to the birth parents listed on that adopted person's original birth record, to the extent the information is available:
- 385.19 (1) each of the birth parent's names; and

385.1

385.2

385.3

385.4

385.5

385.6

385.7

385.8

385.9

- 385.20 (2) each of the birth parent's birthdate and birthplace.
- (b) The agency may charge a reasonable fee to the requester for providing the required information under paragraph (a).
- 385.23 (c) The agency, acting in good faith and in a lawful manner in disclosing the identifying information under this subdivision, is not civilly liable for such disclosure.
- Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 259.83, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
- Subd. 4. **Confidentiality.** Agencies shall provide adoptive parents, birth parents and adult siblings, and adopted persons aged <u>19 18</u> years and over reasonable assistance in a manner consistent with state and federal laws, rules, and regulations regarding the confidentiality and privacy of child welfare and adoption records.

Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260C.178, subdivision 7, is amended to read:

Subd. 7. Out-of-home placement Case plan. (a) When the court has ordered the child into the care of a parent under subdivision 1, paragraph (c), clause (1), the child protective services plan under section 260E.26 must be filed within 30 days of the filing of the juvenile protection petition under section 260C.141, subdivision 1.

- (a) (b) When the court orders the child into foster care under subdivision 1, paragraph (c), clause (2), and not into the care of a parent, an out-of-home placement plan required under section 260C.212 shall must be filed with the court within 30 days of the filing of a juvenile protection petition under section 260C.141, subdivision 1, when the court orders emergency removal of the child under this section, or filed with the petition if the petition is a review of a voluntary placement under section 260C.141, subdivision 2.
- (b) (c) Upon the filing of the child protective services plan under section 260E.26 or out-of-home placement plan which that has been developed jointly with the parent and in 386.13 consultation with others as required under section 260C.212, subdivision 1, the court may approve implementation of the plan by the responsible social services agency based on the 386.15 allegations contained in the petition and any evaluations, examinations, or assessments 386.16 conducted under subdivision 1, paragraph (1) (m). The court shall send written notice of the 386.17 approval of the child protective services plan or out-of-home placement plan to all parties 386.18 and the county attorney or may state such approval on the record at a hearing. A parent may 386.19 agree to comply with the terms of the plan filed with the court. 386.20
 - (e) (d) The responsible social services agency shall make reasonable efforts to engage both parents of the child in case planning. The responsible social service agency shall report the results of its efforts to engage the child's parents in the child protective services plan or out-of-home placement plan filed with the court. The agency shall notify the court of the services it will provide or efforts it will attempt under the plan notwithstanding the parent's refusal to cooperate or disagreement with the services. The parent may ask the court to modify the plan to require different or additional services requested by the parent, but which the agency refused to provide. The court may approve the plan as presented by the agency or may modify the plan to require services requested by the parent. The court's approval shall must be based on the content of the petition.
 - (d) (e) Unless the parent agrees to comply with the terms of the child protective services plan or out-of-home placement plan, the court may not order a parent to comply with the provisions of the plan until the court finds the child is in need of protection or services and orders disposition under section 260C.201, subdivision 1. However, the court may find that

386.1

386.2

386.3

386.4

386.5

386.6

386.7

386.8

386.9

386.10

386.11

386.12

386.21

386.22

386.23

386.24

386.25

386.26

386.27

386.28

386.29

386.30

386.31

386.32

the responsible social services agency has made reasonable efforts for reunification if the agency makes efforts to implement the terms of an the child protective services plan or out-of-home placement plan approved under this section.

Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260C.202, is amended to read:

387.1

387.2

387.3

387.4

387.5

387.6

387.7

387.8

387.9

387.10

387.11

387.12

387.13

387.14

387.15

387.16

260C.202 COURT REVIEW OF FOSTER CARE DISPOSITION.

Subdivision 1. Court review for a child in the home of a parent under protective supervision. If the court orders a child into the home of a parent under the protective supervision of the responsible social services agency or child-placing agency under section 260C.201, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), clause (1), the court shall review the child protective services plan under section 260E.26 at least every 90 days. The court shall notify the parents of the provisions of sections 260C.503 to 260C.521, as required under juvenile court rules.

- Subd. 2. Court review for a child placed in foster care. (a) If the court orders a child placed in foster care, the court shall review the out-of-home placement plan and the child's placement at least every 90 days as required in juvenile court rules to determine whether continued out-of-home placement is necessary and appropriate or whether the child should be returned home.
- (b) This review is not required if the court has returned the child home, ordered the child permanently placed away from the parent under sections 260C.503 to 260C.521, or terminated rights under section 260C.301. Court review for a child permanently placed away from a parent, including where the child is under guardianship of the commissioner, shall be is governed by section 260C.607.
- 387.22 (c) When a child is placed in a qualified residential treatment program setting as defined in section 260C.007, subdivision 26d, the responsible social services agency must submit evidence to the court as specified in section 260C.712.
- (b) (d) No later than three months after the child's placement in foster care, the court 387.25 shall review agency efforts to search for and notify relatives pursuant to section 260C.221, 387.26 and order that the agency's efforts begin immediately, or continue, if the agency has failed 387.27 to perform, or has not adequately performed, the duties under that section. The court must 387.28 order the agency to continue to appropriately engage relatives who responded to the notice 387.29 under section 260C.221 in placement and case planning decisions and to consider relatives 387.30 for foster care placement consistent with section 260C.221. Notwithstanding a court's finding 387.31 that the agency has made reasonable efforts to search for and notify relatives under section 387.32 260C.221, the court may order the agency to continue making reasonable efforts to search 387.33

0 (/ 10/2 : 00/0 / pm	04/16/24 06:07 pm COUNSEL AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2
-----------------------	-------------------------------------	------------

for, notify, engage, and consider relatives who came to the agency's attention after sending the initial notice under section 260C.221.

- (e) The court shall review the out-of-home placement plan and may modify the plan as provided under section 260C.201, subdivisions 6 and 7.
- 388.5 (d) (f) When the court transfers the custody of a child to a responsible social services agency resulting in foster care or protective supervision with a noncustodial parent under 388.6 subdivision 1, the court shall notify the parents of the provisions of sections 260C.204 and 388.7 260C.503 to 260C.521, as required under juvenile court rules. 388.8
- (e) (g) When a child remains in or returns to foster care pursuant to section 260C.451 388.9 and the court has jurisdiction pursuant to section 260C.193, subdivision 6, paragraph (c), 388.10 the court shall at least annually conduct the review required under section 260C.203. 388.11
- Sec. 32. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260C.209, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 388.12
- 388.13 Subdivision 1. Subjects. The responsible social services agency may have access to the criminal history and history of child and adult maltreatment on the following individuals: 388 14
- (1) a noncustodial parent or nonadjudicated parent who is being assessed for purposes of providing day-to-day care of a child temporarily or permanently under section 260C.219 and any member of the parent's household who is over the age of 13 when there is a reasonable cause to believe that the parent or household member over age 13 has a criminal history or a history of maltreatment of a child or vulnerable adult which that would endanger 388.19 the child's health, safety, or welfare;
 - (2) an individual whose suitability for relative placement under section 260C.221 is being determined and any member of the relative's individual's household who is over the age of 13 when:
- (i) the relative must be licensed for foster care; or 388.24
- (i) the individual is being considered for relative placement under section 260C.221; 388.25
- 388.26 (ii) the background study is required under section 259.53, subdivision 2; or
- (iii) the agency or the commissioner has reasonable cause to believe the relative or 388.27 household member over the age of 13 has a criminal history which would not make a petition 388.28 to transfer of permanent legal and physical custody to the relative under has been filed 388.29 according to section 260C.515, subdivision 4, in the child's best interest paragraph (d), and 388.30 the relative is not pursuing Northstar kinship assistance eligibility for the child under chapter 388.31 256N; and 388.32

Article 17 Sec. 32.

388.1

388.2

388.3

388.4

388.15

388.16

388.17

388.18

388.20

388.21

388.22

(3) a parent, following an out-of-home placement, when the responsible social services agency has reasonable cause to believe that the parent has been convicted of a crime directly related to the parent's capacity to maintain the child's health, safety, or welfare or the parent is the subject of an open investigation of, or has been the subject of a substantiated allegation of, child or vulnerable-adult maltreatment within the past ten years.

"Reasonable cause" means that the agency has received information or a report from the subject or a third person that creates an articulable suspicion that the individual has a history that may pose a risk to the health, safety, or welfare of the child. The information or report must be specific to the potential subject of the background check and shall must not be based on the race, religion, ethnic background, age, class, or lifestyle of the potential subject.

Sec. 33. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260C.212, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. **Out-of-home placement; plan.** (a) An out-of-home placement plan shall be prepared within 30 days after any child is placed in foster care by court order or a voluntary placement agreement between the responsible social services agency and the child's parent pursuant to section 260C.227 or chapter 260D.

- (b) An out-of-home placement plan means a written document individualized to the needs of the child and the child's parents or guardians that is prepared by the responsible social services agency jointly with the child's parents or guardians and in consultation with the child's guardian ad litem; the child's tribe, if the child is an Indian child; the child's foster parent or representative of the foster care facility; and, when appropriate, the child. When a child is age 14 or older, the child may include two other individuals on the team preparing the child's out-of-home placement plan. The child may select one member of the case planning team to be designated as the child's advisor and to advocate with respect to the application of the reasonable and prudent parenting standards. The responsible social services agency may reject an individual selected by the child if the agency has good cause to believe that the individual would not act in the best interest of the child. For a child in voluntary foster care for treatment under chapter 260D, preparation of the out-of-home placement plan shall additionally include the child's mental health treatment provider. For a child 18 years of age or older, the responsible social services agency shall involve the child and the child's parents as appropriate. As appropriate, the plan shall be:
 - (1) submitted to the court for approval under section 260C.178, subdivision 7;
- 389.32 (2) ordered by the court, either as presented or modified after hearing, under section 260C.178, subdivision 7, or 260C.201, subdivision 6; and

389.1

389.2

389.3

389.4

389.5

389.6

389.7

389.8

389.9

389.10

389.11

389.12

389.13

389.14

389.15

389.16

389.17

389.18

389.19

389.20

389.21

389.22

389.23

389.24

389.25

389.26

389.27

389.28

389.29

389.30

(3) signed by the parent or parents or guardian of the child, the child's guardian ad litem, a representative of the child's tribe, the responsible social services agency, and, if possible, the child.

- (c) The out-of-home placement plan shall be explained by the responsible social services agency to all persons involved in the plan's implementation, including the child who has signed the plan, and shall set forth:
- (1) a description of the foster care home or facility selected, including how the out-of-home placement plan is designed to achieve a safe placement for the child in the least restrictive, most family-like setting available that is in close proximity to the home of the child's parents or guardians when the case plan goal is reunification; and how the placement is consistent with the best interests and special needs of the child according to the factors under subdivision 2, paragraph (b);
- (2) the specific reasons for the placement of the child in foster care, and when reunification is the plan, a description of the problems or conditions in the home of the parent or parents that necessitated removal of the child from home and the changes the parent or parents must make for the child to safely return home;
- 390.17 (3) a description of the services offered and provided to prevent removal of the child 390.18 from the home and to reunify the family including:
 - (i) the specific actions to be taken by the parent or parents of the child to eliminate or correct the problems or conditions identified in clause (2), and the time period during which the actions are to be taken; and
 - (ii) the reasonable efforts, or in the case of an Indian child, active efforts to be made to achieve a safe and stable home for the child including social and other supportive services to be provided or offered to the parent or parents or guardian of the child, the child, and the residential facility during the period the child is in the residential facility;
 - (4) a description of any services or resources that were requested by the child or the child's parent, guardian, foster parent, or custodian since the date of the child's placement in the residential facility, and whether those services or resources were provided and if not, the basis for the denial of the services or resources;
- (5) the visitation plan for the parent or parents or guardian, other relatives as defined in section 260C.007, subdivision 26b or 27, and siblings of the child if the siblings are not placed together in foster care, and whether visitation is consistent with the best interest of the child, during the period the child is in foster care;

390.1

390.2

390.3

390.4

390.5

390.6

390.7

390.8

390.9

390.10

390.11

390.12

390.13

390.14

390.15

390.16

390.19

390.20

390.21

390.22

390.23

390.24

390.25

390.26

390.27

390.28

(6) when a child cannot return to or be in the care of either parent, documentation of steps to finalize adoption as the permanency plan for the child through reasonable efforts to place the child for adoption pursuant to section 260C.605. At a minimum, the documentation must include consideration of whether adoption is in the best interests of the child and child-specific recruitment efforts such as a relative search, consideration of relatives for adoptive placement, and the use of state, regional, and national adoption exchanges to facilitate orderly and timely placements in and outside of the state. A copy of this documentation shall be provided to the court in the review required under section 260C.317, subdivision 3, paragraph (b);

- (7) when a child cannot return to or be in the care of either parent, documentation of steps to finalize the transfer of permanent legal and physical custody to a relative as the permanency plan for the child. This documentation must support the requirements of the kinship placement agreement under section 256N.22 and must include the reasonable efforts used to determine that it is not appropriate for the child to return home or be adopted, and reasons why permanent placement with a relative through a Northstar kinship assistance arrangement is in the child's best interest; how the child meets the eligibility requirements for Northstar kinship assistance payments; agency efforts to discuss adoption with the child's relative foster parent and reasons why the relative foster parent chose not to pursue adoption, if applicable; and agency efforts to discuss with the child's parent or parents the permanent transfer of permanent legal and physical custody or the reasons why these efforts were not made;
- (8) efforts to ensure the child's educational stability while in foster care for a child who attained the minimum age for compulsory school attendance under state law and is enrolled full time in elementary or secondary school, or instructed in elementary or secondary education at home, or instructed in an independent study elementary or secondary program, or incapable of attending school on a full-time basis due to a medical condition that is documented and supported by regularly updated information in the child's case plan. Educational stability efforts include:
- (i) efforts to ensure that the child remains in the same school in which the child was enrolled prior to placement or upon the child's move from one placement to another, including efforts to work with the local education authorities to ensure the child's educational stability and attendance; or
- (ii) if it is not in the child's best interest to remain in the same school that the child was enrolled in prior to placement or move from one placement to another, efforts to ensure 391.34 immediate and appropriate enrollment for the child in a new school; 391.35

391.1

391.2

391.3

391.4

391.5

391.6

391.7

391.8

391.9

391.10

391.11

391.13

391.14

391.15

391.16

391.17

391.18

391.20

391.21

391.22

391.24

391.25

391.26

391.27

391.28

391.29

391.30

391.31

391.32

(9) the educational records of the child including the most recent information available 392.1 regarding: 392.2 (i) the names and addresses of the child's educational providers; 392.3 (ii) the child's grade level performance; 392.4 (iii) the child's school record; 392.5 (iv) a statement about how the child's placement in foster care takes into account 392.6 proximity to the school in which the child is enrolled at the time of placement; and 392.7 (v) any other relevant educational information; 392.8 (10) the efforts by the responsible social services agency to ensure the oversight and 392.9 continuity of health care services for the foster child, including: 392.10 (i) the plan to schedule the child's initial health screens; 392.11 (ii) how the child's known medical problems and identified needs from the screens, 392.12 including any known communicable diseases, as defined in section 144.4172, subdivision 392.13 2, shall be monitored and treated while the child is in foster care; 392.14 (iii) how the child's medical information shall be updated and shared, including the 392.15 child's immunizations; 392.16 (iv) who is responsible to coordinate and respond to the child's health care needs, 392.17 including the role of the parent, the agency, and the foster parent; 392.18 (v) who is responsible for oversight of the child's prescription medications; 392.19 (vi) how physicians or other appropriate medical and nonmedical professionals shall be 392.20 consulted and involved in assessing the health and well-being of the child and determine 392.21 the appropriate medical treatment for the child; and 392.22 392.23 (vii) the responsibility to ensure that the child has access to medical care through either medical insurance or medical assistance; 392.24 (11) the health records of the child including information available regarding: 392.25 (i) the names and addresses of the child's health care and dental care providers; 392.26 (ii) a record of the child's immunizations; 392.27 (iii) the child's known medical problems, including any known communicable diseases 392.28

392.29

392.30

as defined in section 144.4172, subdivision 2;

(iv) the child's medications; and

(v) any other relevant health care information such as the child's eligibility for medical insurance or medical assistance;

- (12) an independent living plan for a child 14 years of age or older, developed in consultation with the child. The child may select one member of the case planning team to be designated as the child's advisor and to advocate with respect to the application of the reasonable and prudent parenting standards in subdivision 14. The plan should include, but not be limited to, the following objectives:
- 393.8 (i) educational, vocational, or employment planning;
- 393.9 (ii) health care planning and medical coverage;
- 393.10 (iii) transportation including, where appropriate, assisting the child in obtaining a driver's license;
- (iv) money management, including the responsibility of the responsible social services agency to ensure that the child annually receives, at no cost to the child, a consumer report as defined under section 13C.001 and assistance in interpreting and resolving any inaccuracies in the report;
- 393.16 (v) planning for housing;

393.1

393.2

393.3

393.4

393.5

393.6

- 393.17 (vi) social and recreational skills;
- 393.18 (vii) establishing and maintaining connections with the child's family and community; 393.19 and
- (viii) regular opportunities to engage in age-appropriate or developmentally appropriate activities typical for the child's age group, taking into consideration the capacities of the individual child;
- 393.23 (13) for a child in voluntary foster care for treatment under chapter 260D, diagnostic 393.24 and assessment information, specific services relating to meeting the mental health care 393.25 needs of the child, and treatment outcomes;
- (14) for a child 14 years of age or older, a signed acknowledgment that describes the child's rights regarding education, health care, visitation, safety and protection from exploitation, and court participation; receipt of the documents identified in section 260C.452; and receipt of an annual credit report. The acknowledgment shall state that the rights were explained in an age-appropriate manner to the child; and
- 393.31 (15) for a child placed in a qualified residential treatment program, the plan must include 393.32 the requirements in section 260C.708.

(d) The parent or parents or guardian and the child each shall have the right to legal counsel in the preparation of the case plan and shall be informed of the right at the time of placement of the child. The child shall also have the right to a guardian ad litem. If unable to employ counsel from their own resources, the court shall appoint counsel upon the request of the parent or parents or the child or the child's legal guardian. The parent or parents may also receive assistance from any person or social services agency in preparation of the case plan.

- (e) Before an out-of-home placement plan is signed by the parent or parents or guardian of the child, the responsible social services agency must provide the parent or parents or guardian with a one- to two-page summary of the plan using a form developed by the commissioner. The out-of-home placement plan summary must clearly summarize the plan's contents under paragraph (c) and list the requirements and responsibilities for the parent or parents or guardian using plain language. The summary must be updated and provided to the parent or parents or guardian when the out-of-home placement plan is updated under subdivision 1a.
- (e) (f) After the plan has been agreed upon by the parties involved or approved or ordered by the court, the foster parents shall be fully informed of the provisions of the case plan and shall be provided a copy of the plan.
- (f) (g) Upon the child's discharge from foster care, the responsible social services agency must provide the child's parent, adoptive parent, or permanent legal and physical custodian, and the child, if the child is 14 years of age or older, with a current copy of the child's health and education record. If a child meets the conditions in subdivision 15, paragraph (b), the agency must also provide the child with the child's social and medical history. The responsible social services agency may give a copy of the child's health and education record and social and medical history to a child who is younger than 14 years of age, if it is appropriate and if subdivision 15, paragraph (b), applies.
- Sec. 34. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260C.212, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2. **Placement decisions based on best interests of the child.** (a) The policy of the state of Minnesota is to ensure that the child's best interests are met by requiring an individualized determination of the needs of the child in consideration of paragraphs (a) to (f), and of how the selected placement will serve the current and future needs of the child being placed. The authorized child-placing agency shall place a child, released by court order or by voluntary release by the parent or parents, in a family foster home selected by considering placement with relatives in the following order:

394.1

394.2

394.3

394.4

394.5

394.6

394.7

394.8

394.9

394.10

394.11

394.12

394.13

394.14

394.15

394.16

394.17

394.18

394.19

394.20

394.21

394.22

394.23

394.24

394.25

395.1 (1) with an individual who is related to the child by blood, marriage, or adoption, including the legal parent, guardian, or custodian of the child's sibling; or

- (2) with an individual who is an important friend of the child or of the child's parent or custodian, including an individual with whom the child has resided or had significant contact or who has a significant relationship to the child or the child's parent or custodian.
- For an Indian child, the agency shall follow the order of placement preferences in the Indian Child Welfare Act of 1978, United States Code, title 25, section 1915.
- 395.8 (b) Among the factors the agency shall consider in determining the current and future needs of the child are the following:
- 395.10 (1) the child's current functioning and behaviors;
- 395.11 (2) the medical needs of the child;

395.3

395.4

- 395.12 (3) the educational needs of the child;
- 395.13 (4) the developmental needs of the child;
- 395.14 (5) the child's history and past experience;
- 395.15 (6) the child's religious and cultural needs;
- 395.16 (7) the child's connection with a community, school, and faith community;
- 395.17 (8) the child's interests and talents;
- 395.18 (9) the child's current and long-term needs regarding relationships with parents, siblings, relatives, and other caretakers;
- (10) the reasonable preference of the child, if the court, or the child-placing agency in the case of a voluntary placement, deems the child to be of sufficient age to express preferences; and
- 395.23 (11) for an Indian child, the best interests of an Indian child as defined in section 260.755, subdivision 2a.
- When placing a child in foster care or in a permanent placement based on an individualized determination of the child's needs, the agency must not use one factor in this paragraph to the exclusion of all others, and the agency shall consider that the factors in paragraph (b) may be interrelated.
- 395.29 (c) Placement of a child cannot be delayed or denied based on race, color, or national origin of the foster parent or the child.

(d) Siblings should be placed together for foster care and adoption at the earliest possible time unless it is documented that a joint placement would be contrary to the safety or well-being of any of the siblings or unless it is not possible after reasonable efforts by the responsible social services agency. In cases where siblings cannot be placed together, the agency is required to provide frequent visitation or other ongoing interaction between siblings unless the agency documents that the interaction would be contrary to the safety or well-being of any of the siblings.

- (e) Except for emergency placement as provided for in section 245A.035, The following requirements must be satisfied before the approval of a foster or adoptive placement in a related or unrelated home: (1) a completed background study under section 245C.08; and (2) a completed review of the written home study required under section 260C.215, subdivision 4, clause (5), or 260C.611, to assess the capacity of the prospective foster or adoptive parent to ensure the placement will meet the needs of the individual child. For adoptive placements in a related or unrelated home, the home must meet the requirements of section 260C.611.
- (f) The agency must determine whether colocation with a parent who is receiving services in a licensed residential family-based substance use disorder treatment program is in the child's best interests according to paragraph (b) and include that determination in the child's case plan under subdivision 1. The agency may consider additional factors not identified in paragraph (b). The agency's determination must be documented in the child's case plan before the child is colocated with a parent.
- (g) The agency must establish a juvenile treatment screening team under section 260C.157 to determine whether it is necessary and appropriate to recommend placing a child in a qualified residential treatment program, as defined in section 260C.007, subdivision 26d.
- (h) A child in foster care must not be placed in an unlicensed emergency relative
 placement under section 245A.035 or licensed family foster home when the responsible
 social service agency is aware that a prospective foster parent, license applicant, license
 holder, or adult household member has a permanent disqualification under section 245C.15,
 subdivision 4a, paragraphs (a) and (b).
- Sec. 35. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260C.301, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
- Subdivision 1. **Voluntary and involuntary.** The juvenile court may upon petition, terminate all rights of a parent to a child:

396.1

396.2

396.3

396.4

396.5

396.6

396.7

396.8

396.9

396.10

396.11

396.12

396.13

396.14

396.15

396.16

396.17

396.18

396.19

396.20

396.21

396.22

396.23

(a) with the written consent of a parent who for good cause desires to terminate parental rights; or

- (b) if it finds that one or more of the following conditions exist:
- 397.4 (1) that the parent has abandoned the child;

397.1

397.2

397.3

397.5

397.6

397.7

397.8

397.9

397.10

397.11

397.12

397.13

397.14

397.15

397.16

397.17

397.18

397.19

397.20

397.21

397.22

397.23

397.24

397.25

397.26

397.27

397.28

397.29

397.30

- (2) that the parent has substantially, continuously, or repeatedly refused or neglected to comply with the duties imposed upon that parent by the parent and child relationship, including but not limited to providing the child with necessary food, clothing, shelter, education, and other care and control necessary for the child's physical, mental, or emotional health and development, if the parent is physically and financially able, and either reasonable efforts by the social services agency have failed to correct the conditions that formed the basis of the petition or reasonable efforts would be futile and therefore unreasonable;
- (3) that a parent has been ordered to contribute to the support of the child or financially aid in the child's birth and has continuously failed to do so without good cause. This clause shall not be construed to state a grounds for termination of parental rights of a noncustodial parent if that parent has not been ordered to or cannot financially contribute to the support of the child or aid in the child's birth;
- (4) (3) that a parent is palpably unfit to be a party to the parent and child relationship because of a consistent pattern of specific conduct before the child or of specific conditions directly relating to the parent and child relationship either of which are determined by the court to be of a duration or nature that renders the parent unable, for the reasonably foreseeable future, to care appropriately for the ongoing physical, mental, or emotional needs of the child. It is presumed that a parent is palpably unfit to be a party to the parent and child relationship upon a showing that the parent's parental rights to one or more other children were involuntarily terminated or that the parent's custodial rights to another child have been involuntarily transferred to a relative under Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 260C.201, subdivision 11, paragraph (e), clause (1), section 260C.515, subdivision 4, or a similar law of another jurisdiction;
- (5) (4) that following the child's placement out of the home, reasonable efforts, under the direction of the court, have failed to correct the conditions leading to the child's placement. It is presumed that reasonable efforts under this clause have failed upon a showing that:
- (i) a child has resided out of the parental home under court order for a cumulative period of 12 months within the preceding 22 months. In the case of a child under age eight at the time the petition was filed alleging the child to be in need of protection or services, the

presumption arises when the child has resided out of the parental home under court order for six months unless the parent has maintained regular contact with the child and the parent is complying with the out-of-home placement plan;

- (ii) the court has approved the out-of-home placement plan required under section 260C.212 and filed with the court under section 260C.178;
- (iii) conditions leading to the out-of-home placement have not been corrected. It is presumed that conditions leading to a child's out-of-home placement have not been corrected upon a showing that the parent or parents have not substantially complied with the court's orders and a reasonable case plan; and
- (iv) reasonable efforts have been made by the social services agency to rehabilitate the parent and reunite the family.
- This clause does not prohibit the termination of parental rights prior to one year, or in the case of a child under age eight, prior to six months after a child has been placed out of the home.
- It is also presumed that reasonable efforts have failed under this clause upon a showing that:
- 398.17 (A) the parent has been diagnosed as chemically dependent by a professional certified to make the diagnosis;
- 398.19 (B) the parent has been required by a case plan to participate in a chemical dependency treatment program;
- 398.21 (C) the treatment programs offered to the parent were culturally, linguistically, and clinically appropriate;
- (D) the parent has either failed two or more times to successfully complete a treatment program or has refused at two or more separate meetings with a caseworker to participate in a treatment program; and
- 398.26 (E) the parent continues to abuse chemicals.
- (6) (5) that a child has experienced egregious harm in the parent's care which that is of a nature, duration, or chronicity that indicates a lack of regard for the child's well-being, such that a reasonable person would believe it contrary to the best interest of the child or of any child to be in the parent's care;
- 398.31 (7) (6) that in the case of a child born to a mother who was not married to the child's father when the child was conceived nor when the child was born the person is not entitled

398.1

398.2

398.3

398.4

398.5

398.6

398.7

398.8

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

to notice of an adoption hearing under section 259.49 and the person has not registered with 399.1 the fathers' adoption registry under section 259.52; 399.2 (8) (7) that the child is neglected and in foster care; or 399.3 (9) (8) that the parent has been convicted of a crime listed in section 260.012, paragraph 399.4 399.5 (g), clauses (1) to (5). In an action involving an American Indian child, sections 260.751 to 260.835 and the 399.6 399.7 Indian Child Welfare Act, United States Code, title 25, sections 1901 to 1923, control to the extent that the provisions of this section are inconsistent with those laws. 399.8 Sec. 36. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260C.515, subdivision 4, is amended to read: 399.9 Subd. 4. Transfer of permanent legal and physical custody to relative. (a) The court 399.10 may order a transfer of permanent legal and physical custody to: 399.11 (1) a parent. The court must find that the parent understands a transfer of permanent 399.12 legal and physical custody includes permanent, ongoing responsibility for the protection, 399.13 education, care, and control of the child and decision making on behalf of the child until 399.14 399.15 adulthood; or (2) a fit and willing relative in the best interests of the child according to the following 399.16 requirements: in paragraph (b). 399.17 (1) (b) An order for transfer of permanent legal and physical custody to a relative shall 399.18 399.19 must only be made after the court has reviewed the suitability of the prospective legal and physical custodian;, including a summary of information obtained from required background 399.20 studies under section 245C.33 or 260C.209, if the court finds the permanency disposition 399.21 to be in the child's best interests. 399.22 (2) In transferring permanent legal and physical custody to a relative, the juvenile court 399.23 shall follow the standards applicable under this chapter and chapter 260, and the procedures 399.24 in the Minnesota Rules of Juvenile Protection Procedure; The court must issue written 399.25 findings that include the following: 399.26 (1) the prospective legal and physical custodian understands that: 399.27 (3) (i) a transfer of permanent legal and physical custody includes permanent, ongoing 399.28 responsibility for the protection, education, care, and control of the child and decision 399.29

399.30

making on behalf of the child until adulthood; and

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2
0 1/10/2 1 00:07 PIII	CCCTUBEE	1 11112/1 111/1	50510771

400.1	(4) (ii) a permanent legal and physical custodian may shall not return a child to the
400.2	permanent care of a parent from whom the court removed custody without the court's
400.3	approval and without notice to the responsible social services agency;
400.4	(2) transfer of permanent legal and physical custody and receipt of Northstar kinship
400.5	assistance under chapter 256N, when requested and the child is eligible, are in the child's
400.6	best interests;
400.7	(3) when the agency files the petition under paragraph (c) or supports the petition filed
400.8	under paragraph (d), adoption is not in the child's best interests based on the determinations
400.9	in the kinship placement agreement required under section 256N.22, subdivision 2;
400.10	(4) the agency made efforts to discuss adoption with the child's parent or parents, or the
400.11	agency did not make efforts to discuss adoption and the reasons why efforts were not made;
400.12	<u>and</u>
400.13	(5) there are reasons to separate siblings during placement, if applicable.
400.14	(5)(c) The responsible social services agency may file a petition naming a fit and willing
400.15	relative as a proposed permanent legal and physical custodian. A petition for transfer of
400.16	permanent legal and physical custody to a relative who is not a parent shall include facts
400.17	upon which the court can determine suitability of the proposed custodian, including a
400.18	summary of results from required background studies completed under section 245C.33.
400.19	The petition must be accompanied by a kinship placement agreement under section 256N.22,
400.20	subdivision 2, between the agency and proposed permanent legal and physical custodian;
400.21	(6) (d) Another party to the permanency proceeding regarding the child may file a petition
400.22	to transfer permanent legal and physical custody to a relative. The petition must include
400.23	facts upon which the court can make the determination determinations required under clause
400.24	(7) and paragraph (b), including suitability of the proposed custodian and, if completed, a
400.25	summary of results from required background studies completed under section 245C.33 or
400.26	260C.209. If background studies have not been completed at the time of filing the petition,
400.27	they must be completed and a summary of results provided to the court prior to the court
400.28	granting the petition or finalizing the order according to paragraph (e). The petition must
400.29	be filed not no later than the date for the required admit-deny hearing under section 260C.507;
400.30	or if the agency's petition is filed under section 260C.503, subdivision 2, the petition must
400.31	be filed not later than 30 days prior to the trial required under section 260C.509;.
400.32	(7) where a petition is for transfer of permanent legal and physical custody to a relative
400.33	who is not a parent, the court must find that:

(i) transfer of permanent legal and physical custody and receipt of Northstar kinship 401.1 assistance under chapter 256N, when requested and the child is eligible, are in the child's 401.2 401.3 best interests; (ii) adoption is not in the child's best interests based on the determinations in the kinship 401.4 401.5 placement agreement required under section 256N.22, subdivision 2; (iii) the agency made efforts to discuss adoption with the child's parent or parents, or 401.6 the agency did not make efforts to discuss adoption and the reasons why efforts were not 401.7 made; and 401.8 (iv) there are reasons to separate siblings during placement, if applicable; 401.9 (8) (e) The court may: 401.10 (1) defer finalization of an order transferring permanent legal and physical custody to a 401.11 relative when deferring finalization is necessary to determine eligibility for Northstar kinship 401.12 assistance under chapter 256N; 401.13 (9) the court may (2) finalize a permanent transfer of permanent legal and physical and 401.14 legal custody to a relative regardless of eligibility for Northstar kinship assistance under 401.15 chapter 256N, provided that the court has reviewed the suitability of the proposed custodian, 401.16 including the summary of background study results, consistent with paragraph (b); and 401.17 (10) the juvenile court may (3) following a transfer of permanent legal and physical 401.18 custody to a relative, maintain jurisdiction over the responsible social services agency, the 401.19 parents or guardian of the child, the child, and the permanent legal and physical custodian 401.20 for purposes of ensuring appropriate services are delivered to the child and permanent legal 401.21 custodian for the purpose of ensuring conditions ordered by the court related to the care and 401.22 custody of the child are met. 401.23 Sec. 37. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260C.607, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 401.24 Subdivision 1. Review hearings. (a) The court shall conduct a review of the responsible 401.25 social services agency's reasonable efforts to finalize adoption for any child under the 401.26 guardianship of the commissioner and of the progress of the case toward adoption at least 401.27 every 90 days after the court issues an order that the commissioner is the guardian of the 401.29 child. (b) The review of progress toward adoption shall continue notwithstanding that an appeal 401.30 is made of the order for guardianship or termination of parental rights.

(c) The agency's reasonable efforts to finalize the adoption must continue during the pendency of the appeal <u>under paragraph (b) or subdivision 6, paragraph (h),</u> and all progress toward adoption shall continue except that the court may not finalize an adoption while the appeal is pending.

- Sec. 38. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260C.607, subdivision 6, is amended to read:
- Subd. 6. **Motion and hearing to order adoptive placement.** (a) At any time after the district court orders the child under the guardianship of the commissioner of human services, but not later than 30 days after receiving notice required under section 260C.613, subdivision 1, paragraph (c), that the agency has made an adoptive placement, a relative or the child's foster parent may file a motion for an order for adoptive placement of a child who is under the guardianship of the commissioner if the relative or the child's foster parent:
- (1) has an adoption home study under section 259.41 or 260C.611 approving the relative or foster parent for adoption. If the relative or foster parent does not have an adoption home study, an affidavit attesting to efforts to complete an adoption home study may be filed with the motion instead. The affidavit must be signed by the relative or foster parent and the responsible social services agency or licensed child-placing agency completing the adoption home study. The relative or foster parent must also have been a resident of Minnesota for at least six months before filing the motion; the court may waive the residency requirement for the moving party if there is a reasonable basis to do so; or
- (2) is not a resident of Minnesota, but has an approved adoption home study by an agency licensed or approved to complete an adoption home study in the state of the individual's residence and the study is filed with the motion for adoptive placement. If the relative or foster parent does not have an adoption home study in the relative or foster parent's state of residence, an affidavit attesting to efforts to complete an adoption home study may be filed with the motion instead. The affidavit must be signed by the relative or foster parent and the agency completing the adoption home study.
- (b) The motion shall <u>must</u> be filed with the court conducting reviews of the child's progress toward adoption under this section. The motion and supporting documents must make a prima facie showing that the agency has been unreasonable in failing to make the requested adoptive placement. The motion must be served according to the requirements for motions under the Minnesota Rules of Juvenile Protection Procedure and <u>shall must</u> be made on all individuals and entities listed in subdivision 2.
- (c) If the motion and supporting documents do not make a prima facie showing for the court to determine whether the agency has been unreasonable in failing to make the requested

402.1

402.2

402.3

402.4

402.5

402.6

402.7

402.8

402.9

402.10

402.11

402.12

402.13

402.14

402.15

402.17

402.18

402.19

402.20

402.21

402.22

402.23

402.24

402.25

402.26

402.27

402.28

402.29

402.30

402.31

402.32

402.33

adoptive placement, the court shall dismiss the motion. If the court determines a prima facie basis is made, the court shall set the matter for evidentiary hearing.

- (d) At the evidentiary hearing, the responsible social services agency shall proceed first with evidence about the reason for not making the adoptive placement proposed by the moving party. When the agency presents evidence regarding the child's current relationship with the identified adoptive placement resource, the court must consider the agency's efforts to support the child's relationship with the moving party consistent with section 260C.221. The moving party then has the burden of proving by a preponderance of the evidence that the agency has been unreasonable in failing to make the adoptive placement.
- 403.10 (e) The court shall review and enter findings regarding whether the agency, in making an adoptive placement decision for the child:
- 403.12 (1) considered relatives for adoptive placement in the order specified under section 403.13 260C.212, subdivision 2, paragraph (a); and
- (2) assessed how the identified adoptive placement resource and the moving party are each able to meet the child's current and future needs, based on an individualized determination of the child's needs, as required under sections 260C.212, subdivision 2, and 260C.613, subdivision 1, paragraph (b).
- (f) At the conclusion of the evidentiary hearing, if the court finds that the agency has been unreasonable in failing to make the adoptive placement and that the moving party is the most suitable adoptive home to meet the child's needs using the factors in section 260C.212, subdivision 2, paragraph (b), the court may:
- 403.22 (1) order the responsible social services agency to make an adoptive placement in the 403.23 home of the moving party if the moving party has an approved adoption home study; or
- 403.24 (2) order the responsible social services agency to place the child in the home of the 403.25 moving party upon approval of an adoption home study. The agency must promote and support the child's ongoing visitation and contact with the moving party until the child is 403.26 placed in the moving party's home. The agency must provide an update to the court after 403.27 90 days, including progress and any barriers encountered. If the moving party does not have 403.28 an approved adoption home study within 180 days, the moving party and the agency must 403.29 inform the court of any barriers to obtaining the approved adoption home study during a 403.30 review hearing under this section. If the court finds that the moving party is unable to obtain 403.31 an approved adoption home study, the court must dismiss the order for adoptive placement 403.32 under this subdivision and order the agency to continue making reasonable efforts to finalize 403.33 the adoption of the child as required under section 260C.605. 403.34

403.1

403.2

403.3

403.4

403.5

403.6

403.7

403.8

(g) If, in order to ensure that a timely adoption may occur, the court orders the responsible social services agency to make an adoptive placement under this subdivision, the agency shall:

- (1) make reasonable efforts to obtain a fully executed adoption placement agreement, including assisting the moving party with the adoption home study process;
- 404.6 (2) work with the moving party regarding eligibility for adoption assistance as required under chapter 256N; and
- 404.8 (3) if the moving party is not a resident of Minnesota, timely refer the matter for approval of the adoptive placement through the Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children.
- (h) Denial or granting of a motion for an order for adoptive placement after an evidentiary 404.10 hearing is an order which that may be appealed by the responsible social services agency, 404.11 the moving party, the child, when age ten or over, the child's guardian ad litem, and any 404.12 individual who had a fully executed adoption placement agreement regarding the child at 404.13 the time the motion was filed if the court's order has the effect of terminating the adoption 404.14 placement agreement. An appeal shall must be conducted according to the requirements of 404.15 the Rules of Juvenile Protection Procedure. Pursuant to subdivision 1, paragraph (c), the 404.16 court shall not finalize an adoption while an appeal is pending. 404.17
- Sec. 39. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260C.611, is amended to read:

260C.611 ADOPTION STUDY REQUIRED.

- (a) An adoption study under section 259.41 approving placement of the child in the 404.20 home of the prospective adoptive parent shall must be completed before placing any child 404.21 under the guardianship of the commissioner in a home for adoption. If a prospective adoptive 404.22 parent has a current child foster care license under chapter 245A and is seeking to adopt a 404.23 foster child who is placed in the prospective adoptive parent's home and is under the 404.24 guardianship of the commissioner according to section 260C.325, subdivision 1, the child 404.25 foster care home study meets the requirements of this section for an approved adoption 404.26 home study if: 404.27
- (1) the written home study on which the foster care license was based is completed in the commissioner's designated format, consistent with the requirements in sections 259.41, subdivision 2; and 260C.215, subdivision 4, clause (5); and Minnesota Rules, part 2960.3060, subpart 4;
- 404.32 (2) the background studies on each prospective adoptive parent and all required household members were completed according to section 245C.33;

404.1

404.2

404.3

404.4

404.5

(3) the commissioner has not issued, within the last three years, a sanction on the license under section 245A.07 or an order of a conditional license under section 245A.06 within the last three years, or the commissioner has determined it to be in the child's best interests to allow the child foster care home study to meet requirements of an approved adoption home study upon review of the legally responsible agency's adoptive placement decision; and

- (4) the legally responsible agency determines that the individual needs of the child are being met by the prospective adoptive parent through an assessment under section 256N.24, subdivision 2, or a documented placement decision consistent with section 260C.212, subdivision 2.
- (b) If a prospective adoptive parent has previously held a foster care license or adoptive home study, any update necessary to the foster care license, or updated or new adoptive home study, if not completed by the licensing authority responsible for the previous license or home study, shall include collateral information from the previous licensing or approving agency, if available.
- Sec. 40. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260C.613, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
- Subdivision 1. **Adoptive placement decisions.** (a) The responsible social services agency has exclusive authority to make an adoptive placement of decision for a child under the guardianship of the commissioner. The child shall be considered is legally placed for adoption when the adopting parent, the agency, and the commissioner have fully executed an adoption placement agreement on the form prescribed by the commissioner.
- (b) The responsible social services agency shall use an individualized determination of the child's current and future needs, pursuant to section 260C.212, subdivision 2, paragraph (b), to determine the most suitable adopting parent for the child in the child's best interests. The responsible social services agency must consider adoptive placement of the child with relatives in the order specified in section 260C.212, subdivision 2, paragraph (a).
- (c) The responsible social services agency shall notify the court and parties entitled to notice under section 260C.607, subdivision 2, when there is a fully executed adoption placement agreement for the child.
- (d) Pursuant to section 260C.615, subdivision 1, paragraph (b), clause (4), the responsible social services agency shall immediately notify the commissioner if the agency learns of any new or previously undisclosed criminal or maltreatment information involving an adoptive placement of a child under guardianship of the commissioner.

405.1

405.2

405.3

405.4

405.5

405.6

405.7

405.8

405.9

(d) (e) In the event <u>a party to</u> an adoption placement agreement terminates the agreement, the responsible social services agency shall notify the court, the parties entitled to notice under section 260C.607, subdivision 2, and the commissioner that the agreement and the adoptive placement have terminated.

- Sec. 41. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260C.615, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
- Subdivision 1. **Duties.** (a) For any child who is under the guardianship of the commissioner, the commissioner has the exclusive rights to consent to:
- 406.8 (1) the medical care plan for the treatment of a child who is at imminent risk of death 406.9 or who has a chronic disease that, in a physician's judgment, will result in the child's death 406.10 in the near future including a physician's order not to resuscitate or intubate the child; and
- (2) the child donating a part of the child's body to another person while the child is living; the decision to donate a body part under this clause shall take into consideration the child's wishes and the child's culture.
- (b) In addition to the exclusive rights under paragraph (a), the commissioner has a duty to:
- 406.16 (1) process any complete and accurate request for home study and placement through 406.17 the Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children under section 260.851;
- 406.18 (2) process any complete and accurate application for adoption assistance forwarded by 406.19 the responsible social services agency according to chapter 256N;
- 406.20 (3) review and process an adoption placement agreement forwarded to the commissioner by the responsible social services agency and return it to the agency in a timely fashion;

 406.22 and
- (4) review new or previously undisclosed information received from the agency or other individuals or entities that may impact the health, safety, or well-being of a child who is the subject of a fully executed adoption placement agreement; and
- 406.26 (4) (5) maintain records as required in chapter 259.
- Sec. 42. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260E.03, subdivision 23, is amended to read:
- Subd. 23. **Threatened injury.** (a) "Threatened injury" means a statement, overt act, condition, or status that represents a substantial risk of physical or sexual abuse or mental injury.

406.1

406.2

406.3

(b) Threatened injury includes, but is not limited to, exposing a child to a person responsible for the child's care, as defined in subdivision 17, who has:

- (1) subjected a child to, or failed to protect a child from, an overt act or condition that constitutes egregious harm under subdivision 5 or a similar law of another jurisdiction;
- 407.5 (2) been found to be palpably unfit under section 260C.301, subdivision 1, paragraph 407.6 (b), clause (4), or a similar law of another jurisdiction;
- 407.7 (3) committed an act that resulted in an involuntary termination of parental rights under section 260C.301, or a similar law of another jurisdiction; or
- (4) committed an act that resulted in the involuntary transfer of permanent legal and physical custody of a child to a relative <u>or parent</u> under Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 260C.201, subdivision 11, paragraph (d), clause (1), section 260C.515, subdivision 4, or a similar law of another jurisdiction.
- (c) A child is the subject of a report of threatened injury when the local welfare agency receives birth match data under section 260E.14, subdivision 4, from the Department of Human Services.
- Sec. 43. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 393.07, subdivision 10a, is amended to read:
- Subd. 10a. **Expedited issuance of SNAP benefits.** The commissioner of human services shall continually monitor the expedited issuance of SNAP benefits to ensure that each county complies with federal regulations and that households eligible for expedited issuance of SNAP benefits are identified, processed, and certified within the time frames prescribed in federal regulations.
- 407.22 County SNAP benefits offices shall screen applicants on the day of application.
 407.23 Applicants who meet the federal criteria for expedited issuance and have an immediate need

for food assistance shall receive within five working days the issuance of SNAP benefits.

- The local SNAP agency shall conspicuously post in each SNAP office a notice of the availability of and the procedure for applying for expedited issuance and verbally advise
- 407.27 each applicant of the availability of the expedited process.

407.3

407.4

408.1 ARTICLE 18

408.2

408.5

408.15

408.16

408.17

408.18

408.19

408.20

408.21

408.22

408.23

408.24

408.25

DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES POLICY

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 13.46, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

- Subd. 4. Licensing data. (a) As used in this subdivision:
- 408.6 (1) "licensing data" are all data collected, maintained, used, or disseminated by the
 408.7 welfare system pertaining to persons licensed or registered or who apply for licensure or
 408.8 registration or who formerly were licensed or registered under the authority of the
 408.9 commissioner of human services;
- 408.10 (2) "client" means a person who is receiving services from a licensee or from an applicant for licensure; and
- 408.12 (3) "personal and personal financial data" are Social Security numbers, identity of and letters of reference, insurance information, reports from the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension, health examination reports, and social/home studies.
 - (b)(1)(i) Except as provided in paragraph (c), the following data on applicants, certification holders, license holders, and former licensees are public: name, address, telephone number of licensees, email addresses except for family child foster care, date of receipt of a completed application, dates of licensure, licensed capacity, type of client preferred, variances granted, record of training and education in child care and child development, type of dwelling, name and relationship of other family members, previous license history, class of license, the existence and status of complaints, and the number of serious injuries to or deaths of individuals in the licensed program as reported to the commissioner of human services, the local social services agency, or any other county welfare agency. For purposes of this clause, a serious injury is one that is treated by a physician.
- (ii) Except as provided in item (v), when a correction order, an order to forfeit a fine, 408.26 an order of license suspension, an order of temporary immediate suspension, an order of 408.27 license revocation, an order of license denial, or an order of conditional license has been 408.28 issued, or a complaint is resolved, the following data on current and former licensees and 408.29 applicants are public: the general nature of the complaint or allegations leading to the 408.30 temporary immediate suspension; the substance and investigative findings of the licensing 408.31 or maltreatment complaint, licensing violation, or substantiated maltreatment; the existence 408.32 of settlement negotiations; the record of informal resolution of a licensing violation; orders 408.33 of hearing; findings of fact; conclusions of law; specifications of the final correction order, 408.34

fine, suspension, temporary immediate suspension, revocation, denial, or conditional license contained in the record of licensing action; whether a fine has been paid; and the status of any appeal of these actions.

- (iii) When a license denial under section 245A.05 or a sanction under section 245A.07 is based on a determination that a license holder, applicant, or controlling individual is responsible for maltreatment under section 626.557 or chapter 260E, the identity of the applicant, license holder, or controlling individual as the individual responsible for maltreatment is public data at the time of the issuance of the license denial or sanction.
- (iv) When a license denial under section 245A.05 or a sanction under section 245A.07 is based on a determination that a license holder, applicant, or controlling individual is 409.10 disqualified under chapter 245C, the identity of the license holder, applicant, or controlling 409.11 individual as the disqualified individual is public data at the time of the issuance of the 409.12 licensing sanction or denial. If the applicant, license holder, or controlling individual requests 409.13 reconsideration of the disqualification and the disqualification is affirmed, the reason for 409.14 the disqualification and the reason to not set aside the disqualification are private data. 409.15
 - (v) A correction order or fine issued to a child care provider for a licensing violation is private data on individuals under section 13.02, subdivision 12, or nonpublic data under section 13.02, subdivision 9, if the correction order or fine is seven years old or older.
 - (2) For applicants who withdraw their application prior to licensure or denial of a license, the following data are public: the name of the applicant, the city and county in which the applicant was seeking licensure, the dates of the commissioner's receipt of the initial application and completed application, the type of license sought, and the date of withdrawal of the application.
 - (3) For applicants who are denied a license, the following data are public: the name and address of the applicant, the city and county in which the applicant was seeking licensure, the dates of the commissioner's receipt of the initial application and completed application, the type of license sought, the date of denial of the application, the nature of the basis for the denial, the existence of settlement negotiations, the record of informal resolution of a denial, orders of hearings, findings of fact, conclusions of law, specifications of the final order of denial, and the status of any appeal of the denial.
- (4) When maltreatment is substantiated under section 626.557 or chapter 260E and the 409.31 victim and the substantiated perpetrator are affiliated with a program licensed under chapter 409.32 245A, the commissioner of human services, local social services agency, or county welfare 409.33

409.1

409.2

409.3

409.4

409.5

409.6

409.7

409.8

409.9

409.16

409.17

409.18

409.19

409.20

409.21

409.22

409.23

409.24

409.25

409.26

409.27

409.28

409.29

agency may inform the license holder where the maltreatment occurred of the identity of the substantiated perpetrator and the victim.

- (5) Notwithstanding clause (1), for child foster care, only the name of the license holder and the status of the license are public if the county attorney has requested that data otherwise classified as public data under clause (1) be considered private data based on the best interests of a child in placement in a licensed program.
- (c) The following are private data on individuals under section 13.02, subdivision 12, or nonpublic data under section 13.02, subdivision 9: personal and personal financial data on family day care program and family foster care program applicants and licensees and their family members who provide services under the license.
- (d) The following are private data on individuals: the identity of persons who have made 410.11 reports concerning licensees or applicants that appear in inactive investigative data, and the 410.12 records of clients or employees of the licensee or applicant for licensure whose records are 410.13 received by the licensing agency for purposes of review or in anticipation of a contested 410.14 matter. The names of reporters of complaints or alleged violations of licensing standards 410.15 under chapters 245A, 245B, 245C, and 245D, and applicable rules and alleged maltreatment 410.16 under section 626.557 and chapter 260E, are confidential data and may be disclosed only 410.17 as provided in section 260E.21, subdivision 4; 260E.35; or 626.557, subdivision 12b. 410.18
 - (e) Data classified as private, confidential, nonpublic, or protected nonpublic under this subdivision become public data if submitted to a court or administrative law judge as part of a disciplinary proceeding in which there is a public hearing concerning a license which has been suspended, immediately suspended, revoked, or denied.
- (f) Data generated in the course of licensing investigations that relate to an alleged violation of law are investigative data under subdivision 3.
- (g) Data that are not public data collected, maintained, used, or disseminated under this subdivision that relate to or are derived from a report as defined in section 260E.03, or 626.5572, subdivision 18, are subject to the destruction provisions of sections 260E.35, subdivision 6, and 626.557, subdivision 12b.
- (h) Upon request, not public data collected, maintained, used, or disseminated under this subdivision that relate to or are derived from a report of substantiated maltreatment as defined in section 626.557 or chapter 260E may be exchanged with the Department of Health for purposes of completing background studies pursuant to section 144.057 and with the Department of Corrections for purposes of completing background studies pursuant to section 241.021.

410.1

410.2

410.3

410.4

410.5

410.6

410.7

410.8

410.9

410.10

410.19

410.20

410.21

(i) Data on individuals collected according to licensing activities under chapters 245A and 245C, data on individuals collected by the commissioner of human services according to investigations under section 626.557 and chapters 245A, 245B, 245C, 245D, and 260E may be shared with the Department of Human Rights, the Department of Health, the Department of Corrections, the ombudsman for mental health and developmental disabilities, and the individual's professional regulatory board when there is reason to believe that laws or standards under the jurisdiction of those agencies may have been violated or the information may otherwise be relevant to the board's regulatory jurisdiction. Background study data on an individual who is the subject of a background study under chapter 245C for a licensed service for which the commissioner of human services is the license holder may be shared with the commissioner and the commissioner's delegate by the licensing division. Unless otherwise specified in this chapter, the identity of a reporter of alleged maltreatment or licensing violations may not be disclosed.

(j) In addition to the notice of determinations required under sections 260E.24, subdivisions 5 and 7, and 260E.30, subdivision 6, paragraphs (b), (c), (d), (e), and (f), if the commissioner or the local social services agency has determined that an individual is a substantiated perpetrator of maltreatment of a child based on sexual abuse, as defined in section 260E.03, and the commissioner or local social services agency knows that the individual is a person responsible for a child's care in another facility, the commissioner or local social services agency shall notify the head of that facility of this determination. The notification must include an explanation of the individual's available appeal rights and the status of any appeal. If a notice is given under this paragraph, the government entity making the notification shall provide a copy of the notice to the individual who is the subject of the notice.

(k) All not public data collected, maintained, used, or disseminated under this subdivision and subdivision 3 may be exchanged between the Department of Human Services, Licensing Division, and the Department of Corrections for purposes of regulating services for which the Department of Human Services and the Department of Corrections have regulatory authority.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.

411.1

411.2

411.3

411.4

411.5

411.6

411.7

411.8

411.9

411.10

411.11

411.12

411.13

411.14

411.15

411.16

411.17

411.18

411.20

411.21

411.22

411.23

411.24

411.25

411.26

411.27

411.28

411.29

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 245A.02, subdivision 2c, is amended

- 412.2 to read:
- Subd. 2c. Annual or annually; family child care and family child foster care. For
- the purposes of family child care under sections 245A.50 to 245A.53 and family child foster
- care training, "annual" or "annually" means each calendar year.
- 412.6 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2025.
- Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 245A.03, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2. **Exclusion from licensure.** (a) This chapter does not apply to:
- (1) residential or nonresidential programs that are provided to a person by an individual who is related unless the residential program is a child foster care placement made by a local social services agency or a licensed child-placing agency, except as provided in
- 412.13 subdivision 2a;
- (2) nonresidential programs that are provided by an unrelated individual to persons from a single related family;
- (3) residential or nonresidential programs that are provided to adults who do not misuse substances or have a substance use disorder, a mental illness, a developmental disability, a functional impairment, or a physical disability;
- (4) sheltered workshops or work activity programs that are certified by the commissioner of employment and economic development;
- (5) programs operated by a public school for children 33 months or older;
- (6) nonresidential programs primarily for children that provide care or supervision for periods of less than three hours a day while the child's parent or legal guardian is in the same building as the nonresidential program or present within another building that is directly contiguous to the building in which the nonresidential program is located;
- 412.26 (7) nursing homes or hospitals licensed by the commissioner of health except as specified under section 245A.02;
- (8) board and lodge facilities licensed by the commissioner of health that do not provide children's residential services under Minnesota Rules, chapter 2960, mental health or substance use disorder treatment;

413.1 (9) homes providing programs for persons placed by a county or a licensed agency for legal adoption, unless the adoption is not completed within two years;

(10) programs licensed by the commissioner of corrections;

- 413.4 (11) recreation programs for children or adults that are operated or approved by a park 413.5 and recreation board whose primary purpose is to provide social and recreational activities;
- 413.6 (12) programs operated by a school as defined in section 120A.22, subdivision 4; YMCA as defined in section 315.44; YWCA as defined in section 315.44; or JCC as defined in section 315.51, whose primary purpose is to provide child care or services to school-age children;
- 413.10 (13) Head Start nonresidential programs which operate for less than 45 days in each calendar year;
- 413.12 (14) noncertified boarding care homes unless they provide services for five or more 413.13 persons whose primary diagnosis is mental illness or a developmental disability;
- (15) programs for children such as scouting, boys clubs, girls clubs, and sports and art programs, and nonresidential programs for children provided for a cumulative total of less than 30 days in any 12-month period;
- (16) residential programs for persons with mental illness, that are located in hospitals;
- (17) the religious instruction of school-age children; Sabbath or Sunday schools; or the congregate care of children by a church, congregation, or religious society during the period used by the church, congregation, or religious society for its regular worship;
- 413.21 (18) camps licensed by the commissioner of health under Minnesota Rules, chapter 413.22 4630;
- 413.23 (19) mental health outpatient services for adults with mental illness or children with 413.24 emotional disturbance;
- 413.25 (20) residential programs serving school-age children whose sole purpose is cultural or 413.26 educational exchange, until the commissioner adopts appropriate rules;
- (21) community support services programs as defined in section 245.462, subdivision 6, and family community support services as defined in section 245.4871, subdivision 17;
- (22) the placement of a child by a birth parent or legal guardian in a preadoptive home for purposes of adoption as authorized by section 259.47;

04/16/24 06:07 1	pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

(23) settings registered under chapter 144D which provide home care services licensed 414.1 by the commissioner of health to fewer than seven adults assisted living facilities licensed 414.2 by the commissioner of health under chapter 144G; 414.3 (24) substance use disorder treatment activities of licensed professionals in private 414.4 practice as defined in section 245G.01, subdivision 17; 414.5 (25) consumer-directed community support service funded under the Medicaid waiver 414.6 for persons with developmental disabilities when the individual who provided the service 414.7 is: 414.8 (i) the same individual who is the direct payee of these specific waiver funds or paid by 414.9 a fiscal agent, fiscal intermediary, or employer of record; and 414.10 (ii) not otherwise under the control of a residential or nonresidential program that is 414.11 required to be licensed under this chapter when providing the service; 414.12 (26) a program serving only children who are age 33 months or older, that is operated 414.13 by a nonpublic school, for no more than four hours per day per child, with no more than 20 414.14 children at any one time, and that is accredited by: 414.15 (i) an accrediting agency that is formally recognized by the commissioner of education 414.16 as a nonpublic school accrediting organization; or 414.17 414.18 (ii) an accrediting agency that requires background studies and that receives and investigates complaints about the services provided. 414.19 A program that asserts its exemption from licensure under item (ii) shall, upon request 414.20 from the commissioner, provide the commissioner with documentation from the accrediting 414.21 agency that verifies: that the accreditation is current; that the accrediting agency investigates 414.22 complaints about services; and that the accrediting agency's standards require background 414.23 studies on all people providing direct contact services; 414.24 (27) a program operated by a nonprofit organization incorporated in Minnesota or another 414.25 state that serves youth in kindergarten through grade 12; provides structured, supervised 414.26 youth development activities; and has learning opportunities take place before or after 414.27 school, on weekends, or during the summer or other seasonal breaks in the school calendar. 414.28 A program exempt under this clause is not eligible for child care assistance under chapter 414.29 119B. A program exempt under this clause must: 414.30 (i) have a director or supervisor on site who is responsible for overseeing written policies 414.31 relating to the management and control of the daily activities of the program, ensuring the 414.32

414.33

health and safety of program participants, and supervising staff and volunteers;

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

415.1	(ii) have obtained written consent from a parent or legal guardian for each youth
415.2	participating in activities at the site; and
415.3	(iii) have provided written notice to a parent or legal guardian for each youth at the site
415.4	that the program is not licensed or supervised by the state of Minnesota and is not eligible
415.5	to receive child care assistance payments;
415.6	(28) a county that is an eligible vendor under section 254B.05 to provide care coordination
415.7	and comprehensive assessment services;
<i>1</i> 15 0	(29) a recovery community organization that is an eligible vendor under section 254B.05
415.8 415.9	to provide peer recovery support services; or
415.10	(30) Head Start programs that serve only children who are at least three years old but
415.11	not yet six years old.
415.12	(b) For purposes of paragraph (a), clause (6), a building is directly contiguous to a
415.13	building in which a nonresidential program is located if it shares a common wall with the
415.14	building in which the nonresidential program is located or is attached to that building by
415.15	skyway, tunnel, atrium, or common roof.
415.16	(c) Except for the home and community-based services identified in section 245D.03,
415.17	subdivision 1, nothing in this chapter shall be construed to require licensure for any services
415.18	provided and funded according to an approved federal waiver plan where licensure is
415.19	specifically identified as not being a condition for the services and funding.
415.20	Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.04, is amended by adding a subdivision to
415.20 415.21	read:
413.21	reau.
415.22	Subd. 7b. Notification to commissioner of changes in key staff positions; children's
415.23	residential facilities and detoxification programs. (a) A license holder must notify the
415.24	commissioner within five business days of a change or vacancy in a key staff position under
415.25	paragraphs (b) or (c). The license holder must notify the commissioner of the staffing change
415.26	or vacancy on a form approved by the commissioner and include the name of the staff person
415.27	now assigned to the key staff position and the staff person's qualifications for the position.
415.28	(b) The key staff position for a children's residential facility licensed according to
415.29	Minnesota Rules, parts 2960.0130 to 2960.0220, is a program director; and
415.30	(c) The key staff positions for a detoxification program licensed according to Minnesota
415.31	Rules, parts 9530.6510 to 9530.6590, are:
415 32	(1) a program director as required by Minnesota Rules, part 9530 6560, subpart 1:
	THE PROPERTY OF THE PROPERTY O

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

416.1	(2) a registered nurse as required by Minnesota Rules, part 9530.6560, subpart 4; and
416.2	(3) a medical director as required by Minnesota Rules, part 9530.6560, subpart 5.
416.3	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.
416.4	Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.04, subdivision 10, is amended to read:
416.5	Subd. 10. Adoption agency; additional requirements. In addition to the other
416.6	requirements of this section, an individual or organization applying for a license to place
416.7	children for adoption must:
416.8	(1) incorporate as a nonprofit corporation under chapter 317A;
416.9	(2) file with the application for licensure a copy of the disclosure form required under
416.10	section 259.37, subdivision 2;
416.11	(3) provide evidence that a bond has been obtained and will be continuously maintained
416.12	throughout the entire operating period of the agency, to cover the cost of transfer of records
416.13	to and storage of records by the agency which has agreed, according to rule established by
416.14	the commissioner, to receive the applicant agency's records if the applicant agency voluntarily
416.15	or involuntarily ceases operation and fails to provide for proper transfer of the records. The
416.16	bond must be made in favor of the agency which has agreed to receive the records; and
416.17	(4) submit a eertified audit financial review completed by an accountant to the
416.18	commissioner each year the license is renewed as required under section 245A.03, subdivision
416.19	1.
416.20	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.
416.21	Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.04, is amended by adding a subdivision to
416.22	read:
416.23	Subd. 19. Family child foster care annual program evaluation. Upon implementation
416.24	of a continuous license process for family child foster care, the annual program evaluation
416.25	required under Minnesota Rules, part 2960.3100, subpart 1, item G, must be conducted
416.26	utilizing the electronic licensing inspection checklist information and the provider licensing
416.27	and reporting hub in a manner prescribed by the commissioner.
416.28	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.043, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

- Subd. 2. **Change in ownership.** (a) If the commissioner determines that there is a change in ownership, the commissioner shall require submission of a new license application. This subdivision does not apply to a licensed program or service located in a home where the license holder resides. A change in ownership occurs when:
- 417.6 (1) except as provided in paragraph (b), the license holder sells or transfers 100 percent of the property, stock, or assets;
- 417.8 (2) the license holder merges with another organization;

417.2

417.3

417.4

- 417.9 (3) the license holder consolidates with two or more organizations, resulting in the creation of a new organization;
- 417.11 (4) there is a change to the federal tax identification number associated with the license 417.12 holder; or
- (5) except as provided in paragraph (b), all controlling individuals associated with for the original application license have changed.
- (b) Notwithstanding For changes under paragraph (a), clauses (1) and or (5), no change in ownership has occurred and a new license application is not required if at least one controlling individual has been listed affiliated as a controlling individual for the license for at least the previous 12 months immediately preceding the change.
- Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 245A.043, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
- Subd. 3. <u>Standard</u> change of ownership process. (a) When a change in ownership is proposed and the party intends to assume operation without an interruption in service longer than 60 days after acquiring the program or service, the license holder must provide the commissioner with written notice of the proposed change on a form provided by the commissioner at least <u>60 90</u> days before the anticipated date of the change in ownership. For purposes of this <u>subdivision and subdivision 4 section</u>, "party" means the party that intends to operate the service or program.
- (b) The party must submit a license application under this chapter on the form and in the manner prescribed by the commissioner at least 30 90 days before the change in ownership is anticipated to be complete, and must include documentation to support the upcoming change. The party must comply with background study requirements under chapter 245C and shall pay the application fee required under section 245A.10.

(c) A party that intends to assume operation without an interruption in service longer than 60 days after acquiring the program or service is exempt from the requirements of sections 245G.03, subdivision 2, paragraph (b), and 254B.03, subdivision 2, paragraphs (c) and (d).

- (e) (d) The commissioner may streamline application procedures when the party is an existing license holder under this chapter and is acquiring a program licensed under this chapter or service in the same service class as one or more licensed programs or services the party operates and those licenses are in substantial compliance. For purposes of this subdivision, "substantial compliance" means within the previous 12 months the commissioner did not (1) issue a sanction under section 245A.07 against a license held by the party, or (2) make a license held by the party conditional according to section 245A.06.
- (d) Except when a temporary change in ownership license is issued pursuant to subdivision 4 (e) While the standard change of ownership process is pending, the existing license holder is solely remains responsible for operating the program according to applicable laws and rules until a license under this chapter is issued to the party.
- (e) (f) If a licensing inspection of the program or service was conducted within the previous 12 months and the existing license holder's license record demonstrates substantial compliance with the applicable licensing requirements, the commissioner may waive the party's inspection required by section 245A.04, subdivision 4. The party must submit to the commissioner (1) proof that the premises was inspected by a fire marshal or that the fire marshal deemed that an inspection was not warranted, and (2) proof that the premises was inspected for compliance with the building code or that no inspection was deemed warranted.
- (f) (g) If the party is seeking a license for a program or service that has an outstanding action under section 245A.06 or 245A.07, the party must submit a letter written plan as part of the application process identifying how the party has or will come into full compliance with the licensing requirements.
- 418.27 (g) (h) The commissioner shall evaluate the party's application according to section
 418.28 245A.04, subdivision 6. If the commissioner determines that the party has remedied or
 418.29 demonstrates the ability to remedy the outstanding actions under section 245A.06 or 245A.07
 418.30 and has determined that the program otherwise complies with all applicable laws and rules,
 418.31 the commissioner shall issue a license or conditional license under this chapter. A conditional
 418.32 license issued under this section is final and not subject to reconsideration under section
 418.33 245A.06, subdivision 4. The conditional license remains in effect until the commissioner
 418.34 determines that the grounds for the action are corrected or no longer exist.

418.1

418.2

418.3

418.4

418.5

418.6

418.7

418.8

418.9

418.10

418.11

418.12

418.13

418.14

418.15

418.16

418.17

418.18

418.19

418.20

418.21

418.22

418.23

418.24

418.25

04/16/24 06:07 1	om COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

(h) (i) The commissioner may deny an application as provided in section 245A.05. An 419.1 applicant whose application was denied by the commissioner may appeal the denial according 419.2 to section 245A.05. 419.3 (i) (j) This subdivision does not apply to a licensed program or service located in a home 419.4 where the license holder resides. 419.5 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2025. 419.6 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.043, is amended by adding a subdivision 419.7 to read: 419.8 419.9 Subd. 3a. Emergency change in ownership process. (a) In the event of a death of a license holder or sole controlling individual or a court order or other event that results in 419.10 the license holder being inaccessible or unable to operate the program or service, a party 419.11 may submit a request to the commissioner to allow the party to assume operation of the 419.12 419.13 program or service under an emergency change in ownership process to ensure persons continue to receive services while the commissioner evaluates the party's license application. (b) To request the emergency change of ownership process, the party must immediately: 419.15 (1) notify the commissioner of the event resulting in the inability of the license holder 419.16 to operate the program and of the party's intent to assume operations; and 419.17 (2) provide the commissioner with documentation that demonstrates the party has a legal 419.18 or legitimate ownership interest in the program or service if applicable and is able to operate 419.19 the program or service. 419.20 (c) If the commissioner approves the party to continue operating the program or service 419.21 under an emergency change in ownership process, the party must: 419.22 (1) request to be added as a controlling individual or license holder to the existing license; 419.23 (2) notify persons receiving services of the emergency change in ownership in a manner 419.24 approved by the commissioner; 419.25 (3) submit an application for a new license within 30 days of approval; 419.26 (4) comply with the background study requirements under chapter 245C; and 419.27 (5) pay the application fee required under section 245A.10. 419.28 419.29 (d) While the emergency change of ownership process is pending, a party approved under this subdivision is responsible for operating the program under the existing license 419.30

419.31

according to applicable laws and rules until a new license under this chapter is issued.

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

(e) The provisions in subdivision 3, paragraphs (c), (d), and (f) to (i) apply to this

subdivision. 420.2 (f) Once a party is issued a new license or has decided not to seek a new license, the 420.3 commissioner must close the existing license. 420.4 420.5 (g) This subdivision applies to any program or service licensed under this chapter. **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2025. 420.6 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.043, subdivision 4, is amended to read: 420.7 Subd. 4. Temporary change in ownership transitional license. (a) After receiving the 420.8 party's application pursuant to subdivision 3, upon the written request of the existing license 420.9 holder and the party, the commissioner may issue a temporary change in ownership license 420.10 to the party while the commissioner evaluates the party's application. Until a decision is 420.11 made to grant or deny a license under this chapter, the existing license holder and the party 420.12 420.13 shall both be responsible for operating the program or service according to applicable laws and rules, and the sale or transfer of the existing license holder's ownership interest in the 420.14 licensed program or service does not terminate the existing license. 420.15 (b) The commissioner may issue a temporary change in ownership license when a license 420.16 holder's death, divorce, or other event affects the ownership of the program and an applicant 420.17 seeks to assume operation of the program or service to ensure continuity of the program or 420.18 service while a license application is evaluated. 420.19 420.20 (c) This subdivision applies to any program or service licensed under this chapter. If a party's application under subdivision 2 is for a satellite license for a community 420.21 residential setting under section 245D.23 or day services facility under 245D.27 and if the 420.22 party already holds an active license to provide services under chapter 245D, the 420.23 commissioner may issue a temporary transitional license to the party for the community 420.24 residential setting or day services facility while the commissioner evaluates the party's 420.25 application. Until a decision is made to grant or deny a community residential setting or 420.26 420.27 day services facility satellite license, the party must be solely responsible for operating the program according to applicable laws and rules, and the existing license must be closed. 420.28 The temporary transitional license expires after 12 months from the date it was issued or 420.29 upon issuance of the community residential setting or day services facility satellite license, 420.30 420.31 whichever occurs first. **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2025. 420.32

Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.043, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

- Subd. 5. **Failure to comply.** If the commissioner finds that the applicant or license holder has not fully complied with this section, the commissioner may impose a licensing sanction under section 245A.05, 245A.06, or 245A.07.
- 421.6 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2025.

421.3

421.4

- Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 245A.07, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
- Subdivision 1. **Sanctions; appeals; license.** (a) In addition to making a license conditional under section 245A.06, the commissioner may suspend or revoke the license, impose a fine, or secure an injunction against the continuing operation of the program of a license holder who:
- (1) does not comply with applicable law or rule;
- (2) has nondisqualifying background study information, as described in section 245C.05, subdivision 4, that reflects on the license holder's ability to safely provide care to foster children; or
- (3) has an individual living in the household where the licensed services are provided or is otherwise subject to a background study, and the individual has nondisqualifying background study information, as described in section 245C.05, subdivision 4, that reflects on the license holder's ability to safely provide care to foster children.
- When applying sanctions authorized under this section, the commissioner shall consider the nature, chronicity, or severity of the violation of law or rule and the effect of the violation on the health, safety, or rights of persons served by the program.
- 421.24 (b) If a license holder appeals the suspension or revocation of a license and the license holder continues to operate the program pending a final order on the appeal, the commissioner 421.25 shall issue the license holder a temporary provisional license. The commissioner may include 421.26 terms the license holder must follow pending a final order on the appeal. Unless otherwise 421.27 specified by the commissioner, variances in effect on the date of the license sanction under 421.29 appeal continue under the temporary provisional license. If a license holder fails to comply with applicable law or rule while operating under a temporary provisional license, the 421.30 commissioner may impose additional sanctions under this section and section 245A.06, and 421.31 may terminate any prior variance. If a temporary provisional license is set to expire, a new 421.32 temporary provisional license shall be issued to the license holder upon payment of any fee 421.33

required under section 245A.10. The temporary provisional license shall expire on the date the final order is issued. If the license holder prevails on the appeal, a new nonprovisional license shall be issued for the remainder of the current license period.

- (c) If a license holder is under investigation and the license issued under this chapter is due to expire before completion of the investigation, the program shall be issued a new license upon completion of the reapplication requirements and payment of any applicable license fee. Upon completion of the investigation, a licensing sanction may be imposed against the new license under this section, section 245A.06, or 245A.08.
- (d) Failure to reapply or closure of a license issued under this chapter by the license holder prior to the completion of any investigation shall not preclude the commissioner from issuing a licensing sanction under this section or section 245A.06 at the conclusion of the investigation.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.

- Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.07, subdivision 6, is amended to read:
- Subd. 6. **Appeal of multiple sanctions.** (a) When the license holder appeals more than one licensing action or sanction that were simultaneously issued by the commissioner, the license holder shall specify the actions or sanctions that are being appealed.
- (b) If there are different timelines prescribed in statutes for the licensing actions or sanctions being appealed, the license holder must submit the appeal within the longest of those timelines specified in statutes.
- (c) The appeal must be made in writing by certified mail or, personal service, or through 422.21 the provider licensing and reporting hub. If mailed, the appeal must be postmarked and sent 422.22 to the commissioner within the prescribed timeline with the first day beginning the day after 422.23 the license holder receives the certified letter. If a request is made by personal service, it 422.24 must be received by the commissioner within the prescribed timeline with the first day 422.25 beginning the day after the license holder receives the certified letter. If the appeal is made 422.26 422.27 through the provider licensing and reporting hub, it must be received by the commissioner within the prescribed timeline with the first day beginning the day after the commissioner 422.28 issued the order through the hub. 422.29
- (d) When there are different timelines prescribed in statutes for the appeal of licensing actions or sanctions simultaneously issued by the commissioner, the commissioner shall specify in the notice to the license holder the timeline for appeal as specified under paragraph (b).

422.1

422.2

422.3

422.4

422.5

422.6

422.7

422.8

Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.09, subdivision 7, is amended to read:

- Subd. 7. **Regulatory methods.** (a) Where appropriate and feasible the commissioner shall identify and implement alternative methods of regulation and enforcement to the extent authorized in this subdivision. These methods shall include:
 - (1) expansion of the types and categories of licenses that may be granted;
- (2) when the standards of another state or federal governmental agency or an independent accreditation body have been shown to require the same standards, methods, or alternative methods to achieve substantially the same intended outcomes as the licensing standards, the commissioner shall consider compliance with the governmental or accreditation standards to be equivalent to partial compliance with the licensing standards; and
- (3) use of an abbreviated inspection that employs key standards that have been shown to predict full compliance with the rules.
 - (b) If the commissioner accepts accreditation as documentation of compliance with a licensing standard under paragraph (a), the commissioner shall continue to investigate complaints related to noncompliance with all licensing standards. The commissioner may take a licensing action for noncompliance under this chapter and shall recognize all existing appeal rights regarding any licensing actions taken under this chapter.
 - (c) The commissioner shall work with the commissioners of health, public safety, administration, and education in consolidating duplicative licensing and certification rules and standards if the commissioner determines that consolidation is administratively feasible, would significantly reduce the cost of licensing, and would not reduce the protection given to persons receiving services in licensed programs. Where administratively feasible and appropriate, the commissioner shall work with the commissioners of health, public safety, administration, and education in conducting joint agency inspections of programs.
 - (d) The commissioner shall work with the commissioners of health, public safety, administration, and education in establishing a single point of application for applicants who are required to obtain concurrent licensure from more than one of the commissioners listed in this clause.
- (e) Unless otherwise specified in statute, the commissioner may conduct routine inspections biennially.
- (f) For a licensed child care center, the commissioner shall conduct one unannounced licensing inspection at least annually once each calendar year.
 - **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment.

423.1

423.2

423.3

423.4

423.5

423.6

423.7

423.8

423.9

423.10

423.13

423.14

423.15

423.16

423.17

423.18

423.19

423.20

423.21

423.22

423.23

423.24

423.25

423.26

423.27

423.28

04/16/24 06:07 pm

Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 245A.11, subdivision 7, is amended to read:

- Subd. 7. Adult foster care and community residential setting; variance for alternate overnight supervision. (a) The commissioner may grant a variance under section 245A.04, subdivision 9, to statute or rule parts requiring a caregiver to be present in an adult foster care home or a community residential setting during normal sleeping hours to allow for alternative methods of overnight supervision. The commissioner may grant the variance if the local county licensing agency recommends the variance and the county recommendation includes documentation verifying that:
- (1) the county has approved the license holder's plan for alternative methods of providing overnight supervision and determined the plan protects the residents' health, safety, and rights;
- (2) the license holder has obtained written and signed informed consent from each resident or each resident's legal representative documenting the resident's or legal representative's agreement with the alternative method of overnight supervision; and
 - (3) the alternative method of providing overnight supervision, which may include the use of technology, is specified for each resident in the resident's: (i) individualized plan of care; (ii) individual service support plan under section 256B.092, subdivision 1b, if required; or (iii) individual resident placement agreement under Minnesota Rules, part 9555.5105, subpart 19, if required.
 - (b) To be eligible for a variance under paragraph (a), the adult foster care <u>or community</u> <u>residential setting</u> license holder must not have had a conditional license issued under section 245A.06, or any other licensing sanction issued under section 245A.07 during the prior 24 months based on failure to provide adequate supervision, health care services, or resident safety in the adult foster care home <u>or a community residential setting</u>.
 - (c) A license holder requesting a variance under this subdivision to utilize technology as a component of a plan for alternative overnight supervision may request the commissioner's review in the absence of a county recommendation. Upon receipt of such a request from a license holder, the commissioner shall review the variance request with the county.
- 424.30 (d) The variance requirements under this subdivision for alternative overnight supervision
 424.31 do not apply to community residential settings licensed under chapter 245D.
 - **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment.

424.3

424.4

424.5

424.6

424.7

424.8

424.9

424 16

424.17

424.19

424.20

424.21

424.23

424.24

424.25

424.26

424.27

424.28

424.29

Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.14, subdivision 17, is amended to read:

- Subd. 17. **Reusable water bottles or cups.** Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, a licensed child care center may provide drinking water to a child in a reusable water bottle or reusable cup if the center develops and ensures implementation of a written policy that at a minimum includes the following procedures:
- (1) each day the water bottle or cup is used, the child care center cleans and sanitizes
 the water bottle or cup using procedures that comply with the Food Code under Minnesota
 Rules, chapter 4626, or allows the child's parent or legal guardian to bring the water bottle
 or cup home;
- 425.10 (2) a water bottle or cup is assigned to a specific child and labeled with the child's first and last name;
- 425.12 (3) water bottles and cups are stored in a manner that reduces the risk of a child using
 425.13 the wrong water bottle or cup; and
- 425.14 (4) a water bottle or cup is used only for water.

425.2

425.3

425.4

- Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 245A.16, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
- Subdivision 1. Delegation of authority to agencies. (a) County agencies and private 425.17 agencies that have been designated or licensed by the commissioner to perform licensing 425.18 functions and activities under section 245A.04; to recommend denial of applicants under 425.19 section 245A.05; to issue correction orders, to issue variances, and recommend a conditional 425.20 license under section 245A.06; or to recommend suspending or revoking a license or issuing 425.21 a fine under section 245A.07, shall comply with rules and directives of the commissioner 425.22 governing those functions and with this section. The following variances are excluded from 425.23 the delegation of variance authority and may be issued only by the commissioner: 425.24
- (1) dual licensure of family child care and family child foster care, dual licensure of family child foster care and family adult foster care, dual licensure of child foster residence setting and community residential setting, and dual licensure of family adult foster care and family child care;
- 425.29 (2) adult foster care or community residential setting maximum capacity;
- 425.30 (3) adult foster care or community residential setting minimum age requirement;
- 425.31 (4) child foster care maximum age requirement;
- 425.32 (5) variances regarding disqualified individuals;

426.1 (6) the required presence of a caregiver in the adult foster care residence during normal 426.2 sleeping hours;

- (7) variances to requirements relating to chemical use problems of a license holder or a household member of a license holder;
- 426.5 (8) variances to section 245A.53 for a time-limited period. If the commissioner grants 426.6 a variance under this clause, the license holder must provide notice of the variance to all 426.7 parents and guardians of the children in care; and
- 426.8 (9) variances to section 245A.1435 for the use of a cradleboard for a cultural accommodation.
- Except as provided in section 245A.14, subdivision 4, paragraph (a), clause (5), a county agency must not grant a license holder a variance to exceed the maximum allowable family child care license capacity of 14 children.
- (b) A county agency that has been designated by the commissioner to issue family child care variances must:
- (1) publish the county agency's policies and criteria for issuing variances on the county's public website and update the policies as necessary; and
- 426.17 (2) annually distribute the county agency's policies and criteria for issuing variances to all family child care license holders in the county.
- (c) For family child care programs, the commissioner shall require a county agency to conduct one unannounced licensing review at least annually.
- (d) For family adult day services programs, the commissioner may authorize licensing reviews every two years after a licensee has had at least one annual review.
- (e) A license issued under this section may be issued for up to two years.
- 426.24 (f) During implementation of chapter 245D, the commissioner shall consider:
- 426.25 (1) the role of counties in quality assurance;
- 426.26 (2) the duties of county licensing staff; and
- (3) the possible use of joint powers agreements, according to section 471.59, with counties through which some licensing duties under chapter 245D may be delegated by the commissioner to the counties.
- Any consideration related to this paragraph must meet all of the requirements of the corrective action plan ordered by the federal Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services.

426.3

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

427.1	(g) Licensing authority specific to section 245D.06, subdivisions 5, 6, 7, and 8, or
427.2	successor provisions; and section 245D.061 or successor provisions, for family child foster
427.3	care programs providing out-of-home respite, as identified in section 245D.03, subdivision
427.4	1, paragraph (b), clause (1), is excluded from the delegation of authority to county and
427.5	private agencies.
427.6	(h) A county agency shall report to the commissioner, in a manner prescribed by the
427.7	commissioner, the following information for a licensed family child care program:
427.8	(1) the results of each licensing review completed, including the date of the review, and
427.9	any licensing correction order issued;
427.10	(2) any death, serious injury, or determination of substantiated maltreatment; and
427.11	(3) any fires that require the service of a fire department within 48 hours of the fire. The
427.12	information under this clause must also be reported to the state fire marshal within two
427.13	business days of receiving notice from a licensed family child care provider.
427.14	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
427.15	Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 245A.16, subdivision 11, is amended
427.16	to read:
727.10	
427.17	Subd. 11. Electronic checklist use by family child care licensors. County and private
427.18	agency staff who perform family child care delegated licensing functions must use the
427.19	commissioner's electronic licensing checklist in the manner prescribed by the commissioner.
427.20	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.
427.21	See 10 Minnesote Statutes 2022, section 245 A 16 is amonded by adding a subdivision
	Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.16, is amended by adding a subdivision
427.22	to read:
427.23	Subd. 12. Licensed child-placing agency personnel requirements. (a) A licensed
427.24	child-placing agency must have an individual designated on staff or contract who supervises
427.25	the agency's casework. Supervising an agency's casework includes but is not limited to:
427.26	(1) reviewing and approving each written home study the agency completes on
427.27	prospective foster parents or applicants to adopt;
427.28	(2) ensuring ongoing compliance with licensing requirements; and
427.29	(3) overseeing staff and ensuring they have the training and resources needed to perform
427.30	their responsibilities.

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

428.1	(b) The individual who supervises the agency's casework must meet at least one of the
428.2	following qualifications:
428.3	(1) is a licensed social worker, licensed graduate social worker, licensed independent
428.4	social worker, or licensed independent clinical social worker;
428.5	(2) is a trained culturally competent professional with experience in a relevant field; or
428.6	(3) is a licensed clinician with experience in a related field, including a clinician licensed
428.7	by a health-related licensing board, under section 214.01, subdivision 2.
428.8	(c) The commissioner may grant a variance under section 245A.04, subdivision 9, to
428.9	the requirements in this section.
428.10	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.
428.11	Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 245A.211, subdivision 4, is amended
428.12	to read:
428.13	Subd. 4. Contraindicated physical restraints. A license or certification holder must
428.14	not implement a restraint on a person receiving services in a program in a way that is
428.15	contraindicated for any of the person's known medical or psychological conditions. Prior
428.16	to using restraints on a person, the license or certification holder must assess and document
428.17	a determination of any with a known medical or psychological conditions that restraints are
428.18	contraindicated for, the license or certification holder must document the contraindication
428.19	and the type of restraints that will not be used on the person based on this determination.
428.20	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
428.21	Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 245A.242, subdivision 2, is amended
428.22	to read:
428.23	Subd. 2. Emergency overdose treatment. (a) A license holder must maintain a supply
428.24	of opiate antagonists as defined in section 604A.04, subdivision 1, available for emergency
428.25	treatment of opioid overdose and must have a written standing order protocol by a physician
428.26	who is licensed under chapter 147, advanced practice registered nurse who is licensed under
428.27	chapter 148, or physician assistant who is licensed under chapter 147A, that permits the
428.28	license holder to maintain a supply of opiate antagonists on site. A license holder must
428.29	require staff to undergo training in the specific mode of administration used at the program,
428.30	which may include intranasal administration, intramuscular injection, or both.

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

+ ∠J.1	(b) Notwithstanding any requirements to the contrary in Winnesota Rules, enapters 2700
429.2	and 9530, and Minnesota Statutes, chapters 245F, 245G, and 245I:
429.3	(1) emergency opiate antagonist medications are not required to be stored in a locked
429.4	area and staff and adult clients may carry this medication on them and store it in an unlocked
429.5	location;
429.6	(2) staff persons who only administer emergency opiate antagonist medications only
429.7	require the training required by paragraph (a), which any knowledgeable trainer may provide.
429.8	The trainer is not required to be a registered nurse or part of an accredited educational
429.9	institution; and
429.10	(3) nonresidential substance use disorder treatment programs that do not administer
429.11	client medications beyond emergency opiate antagonist medications are not required to
429.12	have the policies and procedures required in section 245G.08, subdivisions 5 and 6, and
429.13	must instead describe the program's procedures for administering opiate antagonist
429.14	medications in the license holder's description of health care services under section 245G.08,
429.15	subdivision 1.
429.16	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
429.17	Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.52, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
429.18	Subd. 2. Door to attached garage. Notwithstanding Minnesota Rules, part 9502.0425,
429.19	subpart 5, day care residences with an attached garage are not required to have a self-closing
429.20	door to the residence. The door to the residence may be (a) If there is an opening between
429.21	an attached garage and a day care residence, there must be a door that is:
429.22	(1) a solid wood bonded-core door at least 1-3/8 inches thick;
429.23	(2) a steel insulated door if the door is at least 1-3/8 inches thick-; or
429.24	(3) a door with a fire protection rating of 20 minutes.
429.25	(b) The separation wall on the garage side between the residence and garage must consist
429.26	of 1/2-inch-thick gypsum wallboard or its equivalent.
429.27	Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.52, is amended by adding a subdivision
429.28	to read:
429.29	Subd. 8. Stairways. (a) All stairways must meet the requirements in this subdivision.
429.30	(b) Stairways of four or more steps must have handrails on at least one side.

0 (/ 10/2 : 00/0 / pm	04/16/24 06:07 pm COUNSEL AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2
-----------------------	-------------------------------------	------------

(c) Any open area between the handrail and stair tread must be enclosed with a protective guardrail as specified in the State Building Code. At open risers, openings located more than 30 inches or 762 millimeters as measured vertically to the floor or grade below must not permit the passage of a sphere four inches or 102 millimeters in diameter.

(d) Gates or barriers must be used when children aged six to 18 months are in care.

Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.66, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

(e) Stairways must be well lit, in good repair, and free of clutter and obstructions.

- Subd. 2. Child care centers; risk reduction plan. (a) Child care centers licensed under this chapter and Minnesota Rules, chapter 9503, must develop a risk reduction plan that identifies the general risks to children served by the child care center. The license holder must establish procedures to minimize identified risks, train staff on the procedures, and annually review the procedures.
- (b) The risk reduction plan must include an assessment of risk to children the center serves or intends to serve and identify specific risks based on the outcome of the assessment.

 The assessment of risk must be based on the following:
 - (1) an assessment of the risks presented by the physical plant where the licensed services are provided, including an evaluation of the following factors: the condition and design of the facility and its outdoor space, bathrooms, storage areas, and accessibility of medications and cleaning products that are harmful to children when children are not supervised and the existence of areas that are difficult to supervise; and
 - (2) an assessment of the risks presented by the environment for each facility and for each site, including an evaluation of the following factors: the type of grounds and terrain surrounding the building and the proximity to hazards, busy roads, and publicly accessed businesses.
 - (c) The risk reduction plan must include a statement of measures that will be taken to minimize the risk of harm presented to children for each risk identified in the assessment required under paragraph (b) related to the physical plant and environment. At a minimum, the stated measures must include the development and implementation of specific policies and procedures or reference to existing policies and procedures that minimize the risks identified.
- (d) In addition to any program-specific risks identified in paragraph (b), the plan must include development and implementation of specific policies and procedures or refer to

430.1

430.2

430.3

430.4

430.5

430.6

430.7

430.8

430.9

430.10

430.11

430.12

430.16

430.17

430.18

430.19

430.20

430.21

430.22

430.23

430.24

430.25

430.26

430.27

430.28

430.29

existing policies and procedures that minimize the risk of harm or injury to children,

- 431.2 including:
- 431.3 (1) closing children's fingers in doors, including cabinet doors;
- 431.4 (2) leaving children in the community without supervision;
- 431.5 (3) children leaving the facility without supervision;
- 431.6 (4) caregiver dislocation of children's elbows;
- 431.7 (5) burns from hot food or beverages, whether served to children or being consumed by caregivers, and the devices used to warm food and beverages;
- (6) injuries from equipment, such as scissors and glue guns;
- 431.10 (7) sunburn;
- 431.11 (8) feeding children foods to which they are allergic;
- 431.12 (9) children falling from changing tables; and
- 431.13 (10) children accessing dangerous items or chemicals or coming into contact with residue 431.14 from harmful cleaning products.
- (e) The plan shall prohibit the accessibility of hazardous items to children.
- (f) The plan must include specific policies and procedures to ensure adequate supervision of children at all times as defined under section 245A.02, subdivision 18, with particular emphasis on:
- (1) times when children are transitioned from one area within the facility to another;
- (2) nap-time supervision, including infant crib rooms as specified under section 245A.02, subdivision 18, which requires that when an infant is placed in a crib to sleep, supervision occurs when a staff person is within sight or hearing of the infant. When supervision of a crib room is provided by sight or hearing, the center must have a plan to address the other
- 431.24 supervision components;
- 431.25 (3) child drop-off and pick-up times;
- 431.26 (4) supervision during outdoor play and on community activities, including but not limited to field trips and neighborhood walks;
- 431.28 (5) supervision of children in hallways; and
- (6) supervision of school-age children when using the restroom and visiting the child's personal storage space-; and

(7) supervision of preschool children when using an individual, private restroom within 432.1 432.2 the classroom. **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2024. 432.3 Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 245C.02, subdivision 6a, is amended 432.4 to read: 432.5 Subd. 6a. Child care background study subject. (a) "Child care background study 432.6 subject" means an individual who is affiliated with a licensed child care center, certified 432.7 license-exempt child care center, licensed family child care program, or legal nonlicensed 432.8 child care provider authorized under chapter 119B, and who is: 432.9 (1) employed by a child care provider for compensation; 432.10 (2) assisting in the care of a child for a child care provider; 432.11 (3) a person applying for licensure, certification, or enrollment; 432.12 (4) a controlling individual as defined in section 245A.02, subdivision 5a; 432.13 (5) an individual 13 years of age or older who lives in the household where the licensed 432.14 program will be provided and who is not receiving licensed services from the program; 432.15 (6) an individual ten to 12 years of age who lives in the household where the licensed 432.16 services will be provided when the commissioner has reasonable cause as defined in section 432.17 245C.02, subdivision 15; 432.18 432.19 (7) an individual who, without providing direct contact services at a licensed program, certified program, or program authorized under chapter 119B, may have unsupervised access 432.20 to a child receiving services from a program when the commissioner has reasonable cause 432.21 as defined in section 245C.02, subdivision 15; or 432.22 (8) a volunteer, contractor providing services for hire in the program, prospective 432.23 employee, or other individual who has unsupervised physical access to a child served by a 432.24 program and who is not under supervision by an individual listed in clause (1) or (5), 432.25 regardless of whether the individual provides program services.; or 432.26 (9) an authorized agent in a license-exempt certified child care center as defined in 432.27 432.28 section 245H.01, subdivision 2a. (b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), an individual who is providing services that are not 432.29

part of the child care program is not required to have a background study if:

(1) the child receiving services is signed out of the child care program for the duration 433.1 that the services are provided; 433.2 (2) the licensed child care center, certified license-exempt child care center, licensed 433.3 family child care program, or legal nonlicensed child care provider authorized under chapter 433.4 119B has obtained advanced written permission from the parent authorizing the child to 433.5 receive the services, which is maintained in the child's record; 433.6 (3) the licensed child care center, certified license-exempt child care center, licensed 433.7 family child care program, or legal nonlicensed child care provider authorized under chapter 433.8 119B maintains documentation on site that identifies the individual service provider and 433.9 the services being provided; and 433.10 (4) the licensed child care center, certified license-exempt child care center, licensed 433.11 family child care program, or legal nonlicensed child care provider authorized under chapter 433.12 119B ensures that the service provider does not have unsupervised access to a child not 433.13 receiving the provider's services. 433.14 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective October 1, 2024. 433.15 Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 245C.02, subdivision 13e, is 433.16 amended to read: 433.17 433.18 Subd. 13e. **NETStudy 2.0.** (a) "NETStudy 2.0" means the commissioner's system that replaces both NETStudy and the department's internal background study processing system. 433.19 NETStudy 2.0 is designed to enhance protection of children and vulnerable adults by 433.20 improving the accuracy of background studies through fingerprint-based criminal record 433.21 checks and expanding the background studies to include a review of information from the 433.22 Minnesota Court Information System and the national crime information database. NETStudy 433.23 2.0 is also designed to increase efficiencies in and the speed of the hiring process by: 433.24 (1) providing access to and updates from public web-based data related to employment 433.25 eligibility; 433.26 (2) decreasing the need for repeat studies through electronic updates of background 433.27 study subjects' criminal records; 433.28 433.29 (3) supporting identity verification using subjects' Social Security numbers and photographs; 433.30

(4) using electronic employer notifications;

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2
07/10/27 00.0/ pm	COUNDLL	1111L/1111/1O	DCDTU//II

134.1	(5) issuing immediate verification of subjects' eligibility to provide services as more
134.2	studies are completed under the NETStudy 2.0 system; and
134.3	(6) providing electronic access to certain notices for entities and background study
134.4	subjects.
134.5	(b) Information obtained by entities from public web-based data through NETStudy 2.0
134.6	under paragraph (a), clause (1), or any other source that is not direct correspondence from
134.7	the commissioner is not a notice of disqualification from the commissioner under this
134.8	<u>chapter.</u>
134.9	Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245C.03, is amended by adding a subdivision
134.10	to read:
134.11	Subd. 16. Individuals affiliated with a Head Start program. When initiated by the
134.12	Head Start program, including Tribal Head Start programs, the commissioner shall conduct
134.13	a background study on any individual who is affiliated with a Head Start program.
134.14	Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 245C.033, subdivision 3, is amended
134.15	to read:
134.16	Subd. 3. Procedure; maltreatment and state licensing agency data. (a) For requests
134.17	paid directly by the guardian or conservator, requests for maltreatment and state licensing
134.18	agency data checks must be submitted by the guardian or conservator to the commissioner
134.19	on the form or in the manner prescribed by the commissioner. Upon receipt of a signed
134.20	informed consent and payment under section 245C.10, the commissioner shall complete
134.21	the maltreatment and state licensing agency checks. Upon completion of the checks, the
134.22	commissioner shall provide the requested information to the courts on the form or in the
134.23	manner prescribed by the commissioner.
134.24	(b) For requests paid by the court based on the in forma pauperis status of the guardian
134.25	or conservator, requests for maltreatment and state licensing agency data checks must be
134.26	submitted by the court to the commissioner on the form or in the manner prescribed by the
134.27	commissioner. The form will serve as certification that the individual has been granted in
134.28	forma pauperis status. Upon receipt of a signed data request consent form from the court,
134.29	the commissioner shall initiate the maltreatment and state licensing agency checks. Upon
134.30	completion of the checks, the commissioner shall provide the requested information to the
134.31	courts on the form or in the manner prescribed by the commissioner.

Sec. 29. [245C.041] EMERGENCY WAIVER TO TEMPORARILY MODIFY

35.2	BACKGROUND STUDY REQUIREMENTS.
35.3	(a) In the event of an emergency identified by the commissioner, the commissioner may
35.4	temporarily waive or modify provisions in this chapter, except that the commissioner shall
35.5	not waive or modify:
35.6	(1) disqualification standards in section 245C.14 or 245C.15; or
35.7	(2) any provision regarding the scope of individuals required to be subject to a background
35.8	study conducted under this chapter.
35.9	(b) For the purposes of this section, an emergency may include, but is not limited to a
35.10	public health emergency, environmental emergency, natural disaster, or other unplanned
35.11	event that the commissioner has determined prevents the requirements in this chapter from
35.12	being met. This authority shall not exceed the amount of time needed to respond to the
35.13	emergency and reinstate the requirements of this chapter. The commissioner has the authority
35.14	to establish the process and time frame for returning to full compliance with this chapter.
35.15	The commissioner shall determine the length of time an emergency study is valid.
35.16	(c) At the conclusion of the emergency, entities must submit a new, compliant background
35.17	study application and fee for each individual who was the subject of background study
35.18	affected by the powers created in this section, referred to as an "emergency study" to have
35.19	a new study that fully complies with this chapter within a time frame and notice period
35.20	established by the commissioner.
35.21	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
35.22	Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245C.05, subdivision 5, is amended to read:
35.23	Subd. 5. Fingerprints and photograph. (a) Notwithstanding paragraph (b) (c), for
35.24	background studies conducted by the commissioner for child foster care, children's residential
35.25	facilities, adoptions, or a transfer of permanent legal and physical custody of a child, the
35.26	subject of the background study, who is 18 years of age or older, shall provide the
35.27	commissioner with a set of classifiable fingerprints obtained from an authorized agency for
35.28	a national criminal history record check.
35.29	(b) Notwithstanding paragraph (c), for background studies conducted by the commissioner
35.30	for Head Start programs, the subject of the background study shall provide the commissioner
35.31	with a set of classifiable fingerprints obtained from an authorized agency for a national
35.32	criminal history record check.

(b) (c) For background studies initiated on or after the implementation of NETStudy 436.1 2.0, except as provided under subdivision 5a, every subject of a background study must 436.2 provide the commissioner with a set of the background study subject's classifiable fingerprints 436.3 and photograph. The photograph and fingerprints must be recorded at the same time by the 436.4 authorized fingerprint collection vendor or vendors and sent to the commissioner through 436.5 the commissioner's secure data system described in section 245C.32, subdivision 1a, 436.6 paragraph (b). 436.7 436.8 (e) (d) The fingerprints shall be submitted by the commissioner to the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension and, when specifically required by law, submitted to the Federal Bureau of 436.9 Investigation for a national criminal history record check. 436.10 (d) (e) The fingerprints must not be retained by the Department of Public Safety, Bureau 436.11 of Criminal Apprehension, or the commissioner. The Federal Bureau of Investigation will 436.12 not retain background study subjects' fingerprints. 436.13 (e) (f) The authorized fingerprint collection vendor or vendors shall, for purposes of 436.14 verifying the identity of the background study subject, be able to view the identifying 436.15 information entered into NETStudy 2.0 by the entity that initiated the background study, 436.16 but shall not retain the subject's fingerprints, photograph, or information from NETStudy 436.17 2.0. The authorized fingerprint collection vendor or vendors shall retain no more than the 436.18 name and date and time the subject's fingerprints were recorded and sent, only as necessary 436.19 for auditing and billing activities. 436.20 (f) (g) For any background study conducted under this chapter, the subject shall provide 436.21 the commissioner with a set of classifiable fingerprints when the commissioner has reasonable 436.22 cause to require a national criminal history record check as defined in section 245C.02, 436.23 subdivision 15a. 436.24 436.25 Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 245C.08, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 436.26 Subdivision 1. Background studies conducted by Department of Human Services. (a) 436.27 For a background study conducted by the Department of Human Services, the commissioner shall review: 436.29 (1) information related to names of substantiated perpetrators of maltreatment of 436.30

626.557, subdivision 9c, paragraph (j);

436.31

vulnerable adults that has been received by the commissioner as required under section

(2) the commissioner's records relating to the maltreatment of minors in licensed programs, and from findings of maltreatment of minors as indicated through the social service information system;

- (3) information from juvenile courts as required in subdivision 4 for individuals listed in section 245C.03, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), for studies under this chapter when there is reasonable cause;
- (4) information from the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension, including information regarding a background study subject's registration in Minnesota as a predatory offender under section 243.166;
- 437.10 (5) except as provided in clause (6), information received as a result of submission of fingerprints for a national criminal history record check, as defined in section 245C.02, 437.11 subdivision 13c, when the commissioner has reasonable cause for a national criminal history 437.12 record check as defined under section 245C.02, subdivision 15a, or as required under section 437.13 144.057, subdivision 1, clause (2); 437.14
- (6) for a background study related to a child foster family setting application for licensure, foster residence settings, children's residential facilities, a transfer of permanent legal and physical custody of a child under sections 260C.503 to 260C.515, or adoptions, and for a background study required for family child care, certified license-exempt child care, child care centers, and legal nonlicensed child care authorized under chapter 119B, the 437.19 commissioner shall also review:
- (i) information from the child abuse and neglect registry for any state in which the 437.21 background study subject has resided for the past five years; 437.22
- 437.23 (ii) when the background study subject is 18 years of age or older, or a minor under section 245C.05, subdivision 5a, paragraph (c), information received following submission 437.24 of fingerprints for a national criminal history record check; and 437.25
- (iii) when the background study subject is 18 years of age or older or a minor under 437.26 section 245C.05, subdivision 5a, paragraph (d), for licensed family child care, certified 437.27 license-exempt child care, licensed child care centers, and legal nonlicensed child care 437.28 authorized under chapter 119B, information obtained using non-fingerprint-based data 437.29 including information from the criminal and sex offender registries for any state in which 437.30 the background study subject resided for the past five years and information from the national 437.31 crime information database and the national sex offender registry; 437.32

437.1

437.2

437.3

437.4

437.5

437.6

437.7

437.8

437.9

437.15

437.16

437.17

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2
0 1/10/2 1 00:07 PIII	CCCTUBEE	1 11112/1 111/1	50510771

(7) for a background study required for family child care, certified license-exempt child care centers, licensed child care centers, and legal nonlicensed child care authorized under chapter 119B, the background study shall also include, to the extent practicable, a name and date-of-birth search of the National Sex Offender Public website; and

- (8) for a background study required for treatment programs for sexual psychopathic personalities or sexually dangerous persons, the background study shall only include a review of the information required under paragraph (a), clauses (1) to (4).
- (b) Except as otherwise provided in this paragraph, notwithstanding expungement by a court, the commissioner may consider information obtained under paragraph (a), clauses (3) and (4), unless:
- 438.11 (1) the commissioner received notice of the petition for expungement and the court order 438.12 for expungement is directed specifically to the commissioner; or
- (2) the commissioner received notice of the expungement order issued pursuant to section 609A.017, 609A.025, or 609A.035, and the order for expungement is directed specifically to the commissioner.
- The commissioner may not consider information obtained under paragraph (a), clauses (3) and (4), or from any other source that identifies a violation of chapter 152 without determining if the offense involved the possession of marijuana or tetrahydrocannabinol and, if so, whether the person received a grant of expungement or order of expungement, or the person was resentenced to a lesser offense. If the person received a grant of expungement or order of expungement, the commissioner may not consider information related to that violation but may consider any other relevant information arising out of the same incident.
 - (c) The commissioner shall also review criminal case information received according to section 245C.04, subdivision 4a, from the Minnesota court information system that relates to individuals who have already been studied under this chapter and who remain affiliated with the agency that initiated the background study.
- (d) When the commissioner has reasonable cause to believe that the identity of a background study subject is uncertain, the commissioner may require the subject to provide a set of classifiable fingerprints for purposes of completing a fingerprint-based record check with the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension. Fingerprints collected under this paragraph shall not be saved by the commissioner after they have been used to verify the identity of the background study subject against the particular criminal record in question.

438.1

438.2

438.3

438.4

438.5

438.6

438.7

438.8

438.9

438.10

438.24

438.25

(e) The commissioner may inform the entity that initiated a background study under NETStudy 2.0 of the status of processing of the subject's fingerprints.

- Sec. 32. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245C.08, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
- Subd. 4. **Juvenile court records.** (a) For a background study conducted by the
 Department of Human Services, the commissioner shall review records from the juvenile
 courts for an individual studied under section 245C.03, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), this
 chapter when the commissioner has reasonable cause.
 - (b) For a background study conducted by a county agency for family child care before the implementation of NETStudy 2.0, the commissioner shall review records from the juvenile courts for individuals listed in section 245C.03, subdivision 1, who are ages 13 through 23 living in the household where the licensed services will be provided. The commissioner shall also review records from juvenile courts for any other individual listed under section 245C.03, subdivision 1, when the commissioner has reasonable cause.
- (e) (b) The juvenile courts shall help with the study by giving the commissioner existing juvenile court records relating to delinquency proceedings held on individuals described in section 245C.03, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), who are subjects of studies under this chapter when requested pursuant to this subdivision.
- 439.18 (d) (c) For purposes of this chapter, a finding that a delinquency petition is proven in juvenile court shall be considered a conviction in state district court.
- (e) (d) Juvenile courts shall provide orders of involuntary and voluntary termination of parental rights under section 260C.301 to the commissioner upon request for purposes of conducting a background study under this chapter.
- Sec. 33. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 245C.10, subdivision 15, is amended to read:
- Subd. 15. **Guardians and conservators.** (a) The commissioner shall recover the cost of conducting maltreatment and state licensing agency checks for guardians and conservators under section 245C.033 through a fee of no more than \$50. The fees collected under this subdivision are appropriated to the commissioner for the purpose of conducting maltreatment and state licensing agency checks.
- (b) The fee must be paid directly to and in the manner prescribed by the commissioner before any maltreatment and state licensing agency checks under section 245C.033 may be conducted.

439.8

439.9

439.11

439.12

04/16/24 06:07 pm

(c) Notwithstanding paragraph (b), the court shall pay the fee for an applicant who has 440.1 been granted in forma pauperis status upon receipt of the invoice from the commissioner. 440.2 Sec. 34. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245C.10, subdivision 18, is amended to read: 440.3 Subd. 18. Applicants, licensees, and other occupations regulated by commissioner 440.4 of health. The applicant or license holder is responsible for paying to the Department of 440.5 Human Services all fees associated with the preparation of the fingerprints, the criminal 440.6 440.7 records check consent form, and, through a fee of no more than \$44 per study, the criminal background check. 440.8 Sec. 35. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245C.14, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 440.9 Subdivision 1. **Disqualification from direct contact.** (a) The commissioner shall 440.10 disqualify an individual who is the subject of a background study from any position allowing 440.11 direct contact with persons receiving services from the license holder or entity identified in 440.12 section 245C.03, upon receipt of information showing, or when a background study 440.13 completed under this chapter shows any of the following: 440.14 440.15 (1) a conviction of, admission to, or Alford plea to one or more crimes listed in section 245C.15, regardless of whether the conviction or admission is a felony, gross misdemeanor, 440.16 or misdemeanor level crime; 440 17 (2) a preponderance of the evidence indicates the individual has committed an act or 440.18 acts that meet the definition of any of the crimes listed in section 245C.15, regardless of 440.19 whether the preponderance of the evidence is for a felony, gross misdemeanor, or 440.20 misdemeanor level crime; or 440.21 (3) an investigation results in an administrative determination listed under section 440.22 245C.15, subdivision 4, paragraph (b)-; or 440.23 (4) the individual's parental rights have been terminated under section 260C.301, 440.24 subdivision 1, paragraph (b), or section 260C.301, subdivision 3. 440.25 440.26 (b) No individual who is disqualified following a background study under section 245C.03, subdivisions 1 and 2, may be retained in a position involving direct contact with 440.27 persons served by a program or entity identified in section 245C.03, unless the commissioner 440.28 has provided written notice under section 245C.17 stating that: 440.29 (1) the individual may remain in direct contact during the period in which the individual 440.30 may request reconsideration as provided in section 245C.21, subdivision 2; 440.31

(2) the commissioner has set aside the individual's disqualification for that program or entity identified in section 245C.03, as provided in section 245C.22, subdivision 4; or

- (3) the license holder has been granted a variance for the disqualified individual under section 245C.30.
- (c) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), for the purposes of a background study affiliated with a licensed family foster setting, the commissioner shall disqualify an individual who 441.6 is the subject of a background study from any position allowing direct contact with persons receiving services from the license holder or entity identified in section 245C.03, upon 441.8 receipt of information showing or when a background study completed under this chapter shows reason for disqualification under section 245C.15, subdivision 4a. 441.10
- 441.11 Sec. 36. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245C.14, is amended by adding a subdivision to read: 441.12
- Subd. 5. Basis for disqualification. Information obtained by entities from public 441.13 web-based data through NETStudy 2.0 or any other source that is not direct correspondence 441.14 from the commissioner is not a notice of disqualification from the commissioner under this 441.15 441.16 chapter.
- Sec. 37. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 245C.15, subdivision 2, is amended 441.17 to read: 441.18
- 441.19 Subd. 2. **15-year disqualification.** (a) An individual is disqualified under section 245C.14 if: (1) less than 15 years have passed since the discharge of the sentence imposed, if any, 441.20 for the offense; and (2) the individual has committed a felony-level violation of any of the 441.21 following offenses: sections 152.021, subdivision 1 or 2b, (aggravated controlled substance 441.22 crime in the first degree; sale crimes); 152.022, subdivision 1 (controlled substance crime 441.23 in the second degree; sale crimes); 152.023, subdivision 1 (controlled substance crime in 441.24 the third degree; sale crimes); 152.024, subdivision 1 (controlled substance crime in the fourth degree; sale crimes); 152.0263, subdivision 1 (possession of cannabis in the first 441.26 degree); 152.0264, subdivision 1 (sale of cannabis in the first degree); 152.0265, subdivision 441.27 1 (cultivation of cannabis in the first degree); 169A.24 (first-degree driving while impaired); 441.28 441.29 256.98 (wrongfully obtaining assistance); 260B.425 (criminal jurisdiction for contributing to status as a juvenile petty offender or delinquency); 260C.425 (criminal jurisdiction for 441.30 contributing to need for protection or services); 268.182 (fraud); 393.07, subdivision 10, 441.31 paragraph (c) (federal SNAP fraud); 518B.01, subdivision 14 (violation of an order for 441.32 protection); 609.165 (felon ineligible to possess firearm); 609.2112, 609.2113, or 609.2114 441.33

441.1

441.2

441.3

441.4

441.5

441.7

(criminal vehicular homicide or injury); 609.215 (suicide); 609.223 or 609.2231 (assault in 442.1 the third or fourth degree); repeat offenses under 609.224 (assault in the fifth degree); 442.2 609.229 (crimes committed for benefit of a gang); 609.2325 (criminal abuse of a vulnerable 442.3 adult); 609.2335 (financial exploitation of a vulnerable adult); 609.235 (use of drugs to 442.4 injure or facilitate crime); 609.24 (simple robbery); 609.247, subdivision 4 (carjacking in 442.5 the third degree); 609.255 (false imprisonment); 609.2664 (manslaughter of an unborn child 442.6 in the first degree); 609.2665 (manslaughter of an unborn child in the second degree); 442.7 442.8 609.267 (assault of an unborn child in the first degree); 609.2671 (assault of an unborn child in the second degree); 609.268 (injury or death of an unborn child in the commission of a 442.9 crime); 609.27 (coercion); 609.275 (attempt to coerce); 609.466 (medical assistance fraud); 442.10 609.495 (aiding an offender); 609.498, subdivision 1 or 1b (aggravated first-degree or 442.11 first-degree tampering with a witness); 609.52 (theft); 609.521 (possession of shoplifting 442.12 gear); 609.522 (organized retail theft); 609.525 (bringing stolen goods into Minnesota); 442.13 609.527 (identity theft); 609.53 (receiving stolen property); 609.535 (issuance of dishonored 442.14 checks); 609.562 (arson in the second degree); 609.563 (arson in the third degree); 609.582 442.15 (burglary); 609.59 (possession of burglary tools); 609.611 (insurance fraud); 609.625 442.16 (aggravated forgery); 609.63 (forgery); 609.631 (check forgery; offering a forged check); 442.17 609.635 (obtaining signature by false pretense); 609.66 (dangerous weapons); 609.67 442.18 (machine guns and short-barreled shotguns); 609.687 (adulteration); 609.71 (riot); 609.713 442.19 (terroristic threats); 609.746 (interference with privacy); 609.82 (fraud in obtaining credit); 442.20 609.821 (financial transaction card fraud); 617.23 (indecent exposure), not involving a 442.21 minor; repeat offenses under 617.241 (obscene materials and performances; distribution 442.22 and exhibition prohibited; penalty); or 624.713 (certain persons not to possess firearms). 442.23 (b) An individual is disqualified under section 245C.14 if less than 15 years has passed 442.24 since the individual's aiding and abetting, attempt, or conspiracy to commit any of the 442.25 offenses listed in paragraph (a), as each of these offenses is defined in Minnesota Statutes. 442.26 (c) An individual is disqualified under section 245C.14 if less than 15 years has passed 442.27 since the termination of the individual's parental rights under section 260C.301, subdivision 442.28 442.29 1, paragraph (b), or subdivision 3. (d) An individual is disqualified under section 245C.14 if less than 15 years has passed 442.30 since the discharge of the sentence imposed for an offense in any other state or country, the 442.31 elements of which are substantially similar to the elements of the offenses listed in paragraph 442.32

which are substantially similar to the elements listed in paragraph (c).

442.33

(a) or since the termination of parental rights in any other state or country, the elements of

(e) If the individual studied commits one of the offenses listed in paragraph (a), but the sentence or level of offense is a gross misdemeanor or misdemeanor, the individual is disqualified but the disqualification look-back period for the offense is the period applicable to the gross misdemeanor or misdemeanor disposition.

- (f) When a disqualification is based on a judicial determination other than a conviction, the disqualification period begins from the date of the court order. When a disqualification is based on an admission, the disqualification period begins from the date of an admission in court. When a disqualification is based on an Alford Plea, the disqualification period begins from the date the Alford Plea is entered in court. When a disqualification is based on a preponderance of evidence of a disqualifying act, the disqualification date begins from the date of the dismissal, the date of discharge of the sentence imposed for a conviction for a disqualifying crime of similar elements, or the date of the incident, whichever occurs last.
- Sec. 38. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245C.15, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
- Subd. 3. Ten-year disqualification. (a) An individual is disqualified under section 443.14 245C.14 if: (1) less than ten years have passed since the discharge of the sentence imposed, 443.15 443.16 if any, for the offense; and (2) the individual has committed a gross misdemeanor-level violation of any of the following offenses: sections 256.98 (wrongfully obtaining assistance); 443.17 260B.425 (criminal jurisdiction for contributing to status as a juvenile petty offender or 443.18 delinquency); 260C.425 (criminal jurisdiction for contributing to need for protection or 443.19 services); 268.182 (fraud); 393.07, subdivision 10, paragraph (c) (federal SNAP fraud); 443.20 609.2112, 609.2113, or 609.2114 (criminal vehicular homicide or injury); 609.221 or 609.222 443.21 (assault in the first or second degree); 609.223 or 609.2231 (assault in the third or fourth 443.22 degree); 609.224 (assault in the fifth degree); 609.224, subdivision 2, paragraph (c) (assault 443.23 in the fifth degree by a caregiver against a vulnerable adult); 609.2242 and 609.2243 443.24 (domestic assault); 609.23 (mistreatment of persons confined); 609.231 (mistreatment of 443.25 residents or patients); 609.2325 (criminal abuse of a vulnerable adult); 609.233 (criminal 443.26 neglect of a vulnerable adult); 609.2335 (financial exploitation of a vulnerable adult); 443.27 609.234 (failure to report maltreatment of a vulnerable adult); 609.265 (abduction); 609.275 443.28 (attempt to coerce); 609.324, subdivision 1a (other prohibited acts; minor engaged in 443.29 prostitution); 609.33 (disorderly house); 609.377 (malicious punishment of a child); 609.378 443.30 443.31 (neglect or endangerment of a child); 609.466 (medical assistance fraud); 609.52 (theft); 609.522 (organized retail theft); 609.525 (bringing stolen goods into Minnesota); 609.527 443.32 (identity theft); 609.53 (receiving stolen property); 609.535 (issuance of dishonored checks); 443.33 609.582 (burglary); 609.59 (possession of burglary tools); 609.611 (insurance fraud); 609.631 443.34 (check forgery; offering a forged check); 609.66 (dangerous weapons); 609.71 (riot); 609.72, 443.35

443.1

443.2

443.3

443.4

443.5

443.6

443.7

443.8

443.9

443.10

subdivision 3 (disorderly conduct against a vulnerable adult); repeat offenses under 609.746 444.1 (interference with privacy); 609.749, subdivision 2 (harassment); 609.82 (fraud in obtaining 444.2 credit); 609.821 (financial transaction card fraud); 617.23 (indecent exposure), not involving 444.3 a minor; 617.241 (obscene materials and performances); 617.243 (indecent literature, 444.4 distribution); 617.293 (harmful materials; dissemination and display to minors prohibited); 444.5 or Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 609.21; or violation of an order for protection under 444.6 section 518B.01, subdivision 14. 444.7

- (b) An individual is disqualified under section 245C.14 if less than ten years has passed since the individual's aiding and abetting, attempt, or conspiracy to commit any of the offenses listed in paragraph (a), as each of these offenses is defined in Minnesota Statutes.
- (c) An individual is disqualified under section 245C.14 if less than ten years has passed since the discharge of the sentence imposed for an offense in any other state or country, the 444.12 elements of which are substantially similar to the elements of any of the offenses listed in 444.13 paragraph (a). 444.14
- (d) If the individual studied commits one of the offenses listed in paragraph (a), but the sentence or level of offense is a misdemeanor disposition, the individual is disqualified but 444.16 the disqualification lookback period for the offense is the period applicable to misdemeanors. 444.17
- (e) When a disqualification is based on a judicial determination other than a conviction, 444.18 the disqualification period begins from the date of the court order. When a disqualification 444.19 is based on an admission, the disqualification period begins from the date of an admission 444.20 in court. When a disqualification is based on an Alford Plea, the disqualification period 444.21 begins from the date the Alford Plea is entered in court. When a disqualification is based 444.22 on a preponderance of evidence of a disqualifying act, the disqualification date begins from 444.23 the date of the dismissal, the date of discharge of the sentence imposed for a conviction for 444.24 a disqualifying crime of similar elements, or the date of the incident, whichever occurs last. 444.25
- Sec. 39. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245C.15, subdivision 4, is amended to read: 444.26
- Subd. 4. Seven-year disqualification. (a) An individual is disqualified under section 444.27 245C.14 if: (1) less than seven years has passed since the discharge of the sentence imposed, 444.28 if any, for the offense; and (2) the individual has committed a misdemeanor-level violation 444.29 444.30 of any of the following offenses: sections 256.98 (wrongfully obtaining assistance); 260B.425 (criminal jurisdiction for contributing to status as a juvenile petty offender or delinquency); 444.31 260C.425 (criminal jurisdiction for contributing to need for protection or services); 268.182 444.32 (fraud); 393.07, subdivision 10, paragraph (c) (federal SNAP fraud); 609.2112, 609.2113, 444.33 or 609.2114 (criminal vehicular homicide or injury); 609.221 (assault in the first degree); 444.34

444.8

444.9

444.10

444.11

609.222 (assault in the second degree); 609.223 (assault in the third degree); 609.2231 445.1 (assault in the fourth degree); 609.224 (assault in the fifth degree); 609.2242 (domestic 445.2 assault); 609.2335 (financial exploitation of a vulnerable adult); 609.234 (failure to report 445.3 maltreatment of a vulnerable adult); 609.2672 (assault of an unborn child in the third degree); 445.4 609.27 (coercion); violation of an order for protection under 609.3232 (protective order 445.5 authorized; procedures; penalties); 609.466 (medical assistance fraud); 609.52 (theft); 445.6 609.522 (organized retail theft); 609.525 (bringing stolen goods into Minnesota); 609.527 445.7 445.8 (identity theft); 609.53 (receiving stolen property); 609.535 (issuance of dishonored checks); 609.611 (insurance fraud); 609.66 (dangerous weapons); 609.665 (spring guns); 609.746 445.9 (interference with privacy); 609.79 (obscene or harassing telephone calls); 609.795 (letter, 445.10 telegram, or package; opening; harassment); 609.82 (fraud in obtaining credit); 609.821 445.11 (financial transaction card fraud); 617.23 (indecent exposure), not involving a minor; 617.293 445.12 (harmful materials; dissemination and display to minors prohibited); or Minnesota Statutes 445.13 2012, section 609.21; or violation of an order for protection under section 518B.01 (Domestic 445.14 Abuse Act). 445.15

- (b) An individual is disqualified under section 245C.14 if less than seven years has passed since a determination or disposition of the individual's:
- (1) failure to make required reports under section 260E.06 or 626.557, subdivision 3, for incidents in which: (i) the final disposition under section 626.557 or chapter 260E was substantiated maltreatment, and (ii) the maltreatment was recurring or serious; or
 - (2) substantiated serious or recurring maltreatment of a minor under chapter 260E, a vulnerable adult under section 626.557, or serious or recurring maltreatment in any other state, the elements of which are substantially similar to the elements of maltreatment under section 626.557 or chapter 260E for which: (i) there is a preponderance of evidence that the maltreatment occurred, and (ii) the subject was responsible for the maltreatment.
 - (c) An individual is disqualified under section 245C.14 if less than seven years has passed since the individual's aiding and abetting, attempt, or conspiracy to commit any of the offenses listed in paragraphs (a) and (b), as each of these offenses is defined in Minnesota Statutes.
- (d) An individual is disqualified under section 245C.14 if less than seven years has passed since the discharge of the sentence imposed for an offense in any other state or country, the elements of which are substantially similar to the elements of any of the offenses listed in paragraphs (a) and (b).

445.21

445.22

445.23

445.24

445.25

445.26

445.27

445.28

(e) When a disqualification is based on a judicial determination other than a conviction, the disqualification period begins from the date of the court order. When a disqualification is based on an admission, the disqualification period begins from the date of an admission in court. When a disqualification is based on an Alford Plea, the disqualification period begins from the date the Alford Plea is entered in court. When a disqualification is based on a preponderance of evidence of a disqualifying act, the disqualification date begins from the date of the dismissal, the date of discharge of the sentence imposed for a conviction for a disqualifying crime of similar elements, or the date of the incident, whichever occurs last.

(f) An individual is disqualified under section 245C.14 if less than seven years has passed since the individual was disqualified under section 256.98, subdivision 8.

Sec. 40. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 245C.15, subdivision 4a, is amended to read:

Subd. 4a. Licensed family foster setting disqualifications. (a) Notwithstanding 446.13 subdivisions 1 to 4, for a background study affiliated with a licensed family foster setting, 446.14 regardless of how much time has passed, an individual is disqualified under section 245C.14 446.15 446.16 if the individual committed an act that resulted in a felony-level conviction for sections: 609.185 (murder in the first degree); 609.19 (murder in the second degree); 609.195 (murder 446.17 in the third degree); 609.20 (manslaughter in the first degree); 609.205 (manslaughter in 446.18 the second degree); 609.2112 (criminal vehicular homicide); 609.221 (assault in the first 446.19 degree); 609.223, subdivision 2 (assault in the third degree, past pattern of child abuse); 446.20 609.223, subdivision 3 (assault in the third degree, victim under four); a felony offense 446.21 under sections 609.2242 and 609.2243 (domestic assault, spousal abuse, child abuse or 446.22 neglect, or a crime against children); 609.2247 (domestic assault by strangulation); 609.2325 446.23 (criminal abuse of a vulnerable adult resulting in the death of a vulnerable adult); 609.245 446.24 (aggravated robbery); 609.247, subdivision 2 or 3 (carjacking in the first or second degree); 446.25 609.25 (kidnapping); 609.255 (false imprisonment); 609.2661 (murder of an unborn child 446.26 in the first degree); 609.2662 (murder of an unborn child in the second degree); 609.2663 446.27 (murder of an unborn child in the third degree); 609.2664 (manslaughter of an unborn child 446.28 in the first degree); 609.2665 (manslaughter of an unborn child in the second degree); 446.29 609.267 (assault of an unborn child in the first degree); 609.2671 (assault of an unborn child 446.30 446.31 in the second degree); 609.268 (injury or death of an unborn child in the commission of a crime); 609.322, subdivision 1 (solicitation, inducement, and promotion of prostitution; sex 446.32 trafficking in the first degree); 609.324, subdivision 1 (other prohibited acts; engaging in, 446.33 hiring, or agreeing to hire minor to engage in prostitution); 609.342 (criminal sexual conduct 446.34 in the first degree); 609.343 (criminal sexual conduct in the second degree); 609.344 (criminal 446.35

446.1

446.2

446.3

446.4

446.5

446.6

446.7

446.8

446.9

sexual conduct in the third degree); 609.345 (criminal sexual conduct in the fourth degree); 447.1 609.3451 (criminal sexual conduct in the fifth degree); 609.3453 (criminal sexual predatory 447.2 conduct); 609.3458 (sexual extortion); 609.352 (solicitation of children to engage in sexual 447.3 conduct); 609.377 (malicious punishment of a child); 609.378 (neglect or endangerment of 447.4 a child); 609.561 (arson in the first degree); 609.582, subdivision 1 (burglary in the first 447.5 degree); 609.746 (interference with privacy); 617.23 (indecent exposure); 617.246 (use of 447.6 minors in sexual performance prohibited); or 617.247 (possession of pictorial representations 447.7 447.8 of minors).

- (b) Notwithstanding subdivisions 1 to 4, for the purposes of a background study affiliated with a licensed family foster setting, an individual is disqualified under section 245C.14, regardless of how much time has passed, if the individual:
- (1) committed an action under paragraph (e) that resulted in death or involved sexual abuse, as defined in section 260E.03, subdivision 20;
- (2) committed an act that resulted in a gross misdemeanor-level conviction for section 609.3451 (criminal sexual conduct in the fifth degree);
- (3) committed an act against or involving a minor that resulted in a felony-level conviction for: section 609.222 (assault in the second degree); 609.223, subdivision 1 (assault in the third degree); 609.2231 (assault in the fourth degree); or 609.224 (assault in the fifth degree); or
 - (4) committed an act that resulted in a misdemeanor or gross misdemeanor-level conviction for section 617.293 (dissemination and display of harmful materials to minors).
- (c) Notwithstanding subdivisions 1 to 4, for a background study affiliated with a licensed 447.22 family foster setting, an individual is disqualified under section 245C.14 if fewer than 20 447.23 years have passed since the termination of the individual's parental rights under section 447.24 260C.301, subdivision 1, paragraph (b), or if the individual consented to a termination of 447.25 parental rights under section 260C.301, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), to settle a petition to involuntarily terminate parental rights. An individual is disqualified under section 245C.14 447.27 if fewer than 20 years have passed since the termination of the individual's parental rights 447.28 in any other state or country, where the conditions for the individual's termination of parental 447.29 rights are substantially similar to the conditions in section 260C.301, subdivision 1, paragraph 447.30 (b). 447.31
- (d) Notwithstanding subdivisions 1 to 4, for a background study affiliated with a licensed family foster setting, an individual is disqualified under section 245C.14 if fewer than five years have passed since a felony-level violation for sections: 152.021 (controlled substance

447.20

crime in the first degree); 152.022 (controlled substance crime in the second degree); 152.023 448.1 (controlled substance crime in the third degree); 152.024 (controlled substance crime in the 448.2 448.3 fourth degree); 152.025 (controlled substance crime in the fifth degree); 152.0261 (importing controlled substances across state borders); 152.0262, subdivision 1, paragraph (b) 448.4 (possession of substance with intent to manufacture methamphetamine); 152.0263, 448.5 subdivision 1 (possession of cannabis in the first degree); 152.0264, subdivision 1 (sale of 448.6 cannabis in the first degree); 152.0265, subdivision 1 (cultivation of cannabis in the first 448.7 448.8 degree); 152.027, subdivision 6, paragraph (c) (sale or possession of synthetic cannabinoids); 152.096 (conspiracies prohibited); 152.097 (simulated controlled substances); 152.136 448.9 (anhydrous ammonia; prohibited conduct; criminal penalties; civil liabilities); 152.137 448.10 (methamphetamine-related crimes involving children or vulnerable adults); 169A.24 (felony 448.11 first-degree driving while impaired); 243.166 (violation of predatory offender registration 448.12 requirements); 609.2113 (criminal vehicular operation; bodily harm); 609.2114 (criminal 448.13 vehicular operation; unborn child); 609.228 (great bodily harm caused by distribution of 448.14 drugs); 609.2325 (criminal abuse of a vulnerable adult not resulting in the death of a 448.15 vulnerable adult); 609.233 (criminal neglect); 609.235 (use of drugs to injure or facilitate 448.16 a crime); 609.24 (simple robbery); 609.247, subdivision 4 (carjacking in the third degree); 448.17 609.322, subdivision 1a (solicitation, inducement, and promotion of prostitution; sex 448.18 trafficking in the second degree); 609.498, subdivision 1 (tampering with a witness in the 448.19 first degree); 609.498, subdivision 1b (aggravated first-degree witness tampering); 609.562 448.20 (arson in the second degree); 609.563 (arson in the third degree); 609.582, subdivision 2 448.21 (burglary in the second degree); 609.66 (felony dangerous weapons); 609.687 (adulteration); 448.22 609.713 (terroristic threats); 609.749, subdivision 3, 4, or 5 (felony-level harassment or 448.23 stalking); 609.855, subdivision 5 (shooting at or in a public transit vehicle or facility); or 448.24 624.713 (certain people not to possess firearms). 448.25

- (e) Notwithstanding subdivisions 1 to 4, except as provided in paragraph (a), for a background study affiliated with a licensed family child foster care license, an individual is disqualified under section 245C.14 if fewer than five years have passed since:
- (1) a felony-level violation for an act not against or involving a minor that constitutes: section 609.222 (assault in the second degree); 609.223, subdivision 1 (assault in the third degree); 609.2231 (assault in the fourth degree); or 609.224, subdivision 4 (assault in the fifth degree);
- 448.33 (2) a violation of an order for protection under section 518B.01, subdivision 14;
- 448.34 (3) a determination or disposition of the individual's failure to make required reports under section 260E.06 or 626.557, subdivision 3, for incidents in which the final disposition

448.26

448.27

under chapter 260E or section 626.557 was substantiated maltreatment and the maltreatment was recurring or serious;

- (4) a determination or disposition of the individual's substantiated serious or recurring maltreatment of a minor under chapter 260E, a vulnerable adult under section 626.557, or serious or recurring maltreatment in any other state, the elements of which are substantially similar to the elements of maltreatment under chapter 260E or section 626.557 and meet the definition of serious maltreatment or recurring maltreatment;
- (5) a gross misdemeanor-level violation for sections: 609.224, subdivision 2 (assault in the fifth degree); 609.2242 and 609.2243 (domestic assault); 609.233 (criminal neglect); 609.377 (malicious punishment of a child); 609.378 (neglect or endangerment of a child); 609.746 (interference with privacy); 609.749 (stalking); or 617.23 (indecent exposure); or
- (6) committing an act against or involving a minor that resulted in a misdemeanor-level violation of section 609.224, subdivision 1 (assault in the fifth degree).
- (f) For purposes of this subdivision, the disqualification begins from:
- (1) the date of the alleged violation, if the individual was not convicted;
- 449.16 (2) the date of conviction, if the individual was convicted of the violation but not committed to the custody of the commissioner of corrections; or
- (3) the date of release from prison, if the individual was convicted of the violation and committed to the custody of the commissioner of corrections.
- Notwithstanding clause (3), if the individual is subsequently reincarcerated for a violation of the individual's supervised release, the disqualification begins from the date of release from the subsequent incarceration.
- (g) An individual's aiding and abetting, attempt, or conspiracy to commit any of the offenses listed in paragraphs (a) and (b), as each of these offenses is defined in Minnesota Statutes, permanently disqualifies the individual under section 245C.14. An individual is disqualified under section 245C.14 if fewer than five years have passed since the individual's aiding and abetting, attempt, or conspiracy to commit any of the offenses listed in paragraphs (d) and (e).
- (h) An individual's offense in any other state or country, where the elements of the offense are substantially similar to any of the offenses listed in paragraphs (a) and (b), permanently disqualifies the individual under section 245C.14. An individual is disqualified under section 245C.14 if fewer than five years have passed since an offense in any other

449.1

449.2

449.3

449.4

449.5

449.6

state or country, the elements of which are substantially similar to the elements of any offense listed in paragraphs (d) and (e).

- Sec. 41. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245C.22, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
- Subd. 4. **Risk of harm; set aside.** (a) The commissioner may set aside the disqualification if the commissioner finds that the individual has submitted sufficient information to demonstrate that the individual does not pose a risk of harm to any person served by the applicant, license holder, or other entities as provided in this chapter.
- 450.8 (b) In determining whether the individual has met the burden of proof by demonstrating 450.9 the individual does not pose a risk of harm, the commissioner shall consider:
- 450.10 (1) the nature, severity, and consequences of the event or events that led to the disqualification;
- 450.12 (2) whether there is more than one disqualifying event;
- 450.13 (3) the age and vulnerability of the victim at the time of the event;
- 450.14 (4) the harm suffered by the victim;
- 450.15 (5) vulnerability of persons served by the program;
- 450.16 (6) the similarity between the victim and persons served by the program;
- (7) the time elapsed without a repeat of the same or similar event;
- 450.18 (8) documentation of successful completion by the individual studied of training or 450.19 rehabilitation pertinent to the event; and
- 450.20 (9) any other information relevant to reconsideration.
- (c) For an individual seeking a child foster care license who is a relative of the child,
 the commissioner shall consider the importance of maintaining the child's relationship with
 relatives as an additional significant factor in determining whether a background study
- 450.24 <u>disqualification should be set aside.</u>
- (e) (d) If the individual requested reconsideration on the basis that the information relied upon to disqualify the individual was incorrect or inaccurate and the commissioner determines that the information relied upon to disqualify the individual is correct, the commissioner must also determine if the individual poses a risk of harm to persons receiving services in accordance with paragraph (b).
- 450.30 (d) (e) For an individual seeking employment in the substance use disorder treatment 450.31 field, the commissioner shall set aside the disqualification if the following criteria are met:

451.1	(1) the individual is not disqualified for a crime of violence as listed under section
451.2	624.712, subdivision 5, except for the following crimes: crimes listed under section 152.021,
451.3	subdivision 2 or 2a; 152.022, subdivision 2; 152.023, subdivision 2; 152.024; or 152.025;
451.4	(2) the individual is not disqualified under section 245C.15, subdivision 1;
451.5	(3) the individual is not disqualified under section 245C.15, subdivision 4, paragraph
451.6	(b);
451.7	(4) the individual provided documentation of successful completion of treatment, at least
451.8	one year prior to the date of the request for reconsideration, at a program licensed under
451.9	chapter 245G, and has had no disqualifying crimes or conduct under section 245C.15 after
451.10	the successful completion of treatment;
451.11	(5) the individual provided documentation demonstrating abstinence from controlled
451.12	substances, as defined in section 152.01, subdivision 4, for the period of one year prior to
451.13	the date of the request for reconsideration; and
451.14	(6) the individual is seeking employment in the substance use disorder treatment field.
451.15	Sec. 42. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245C.24, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
451.16	Subd. 2. Permanent bar to set aside a disqualification. (a) Except as provided in
451.17	paragraphs (b) to $\frac{f}{g}$, the commissioner may not set aside the disqualification of any
451.18	individual disqualified pursuant to this chapter, regardless of how much time has passed,
451.19	if the individual was disqualified for a crime or conduct listed in section 245C.15, subdivision
451.20	1.
451.21	(b) For an individual in the substance use disorder or corrections field who was
451.22	disqualified for a crime or conduct listed under section 245C.15, subdivision 1, and whose
451.23	disqualification was set aside prior to July 1, 2005, the commissioner must consider granting
451.24	a variance pursuant to section 245C.30 for the license holder for a program dealing primarily
451.25	with adults. A request for reconsideration evaluated under this paragraph must include a
451.26	letter of recommendation from the license holder that was subject to the prior set-aside
451.27	decision addressing the individual's quality of care to children or vulnerable adults and the
451.28	circumstances of the individual's departure from that service.
451.29	(c) If an individual who requires a background study for nonemergency medical
451.30	transportation services under section 245C.03, subdivision 12, was disqualified for a crime
451.31	or conduct listed under section 245C.15, subdivision 1, and if more than 40 years have
451.32	passed since the discharge of the sentence imposed, the commissioner may consider granting
451.33	a set-aside pursuant to section 245C.22. A request for reconsideration evaluated under this

paragraph must include a letter of recommendation from the employer. This paragraph does not apply to a person disqualified based on a violation of sections 243.166; 609.185 to 609.205; 609.25; 609.342 to 609.3453; 609.352; 617.23, subdivision 2, clause (1), or 3, clause (1); 617.246; or 617.247.

- (d) When a licensed foster care provider adopts an individual who had received foster care services from the provider for over six months, and the adopted individual is required to receive a background study under section 245C.03, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), clause (2) or (6), the commissioner may grant a variance to the license holder under section 245C.30 to permit the adopted individual with a permanent disqualification to remain affiliated with the license holder under the conditions of the variance when the variance is recommended by the county of responsibility for each of the remaining individuals in placement in the home and the licensing agency for the home.
- (e) For an individual 18 years of age or older affiliated with a licensed family foster setting, the commissioner must not set aside or grant a variance for the disqualification of any individual disqualified pursuant to this chapter, regardless of how much time has passed, if the individual was disqualified for a crime or conduct listed in section 245C.15, subdivision 4a, paragraphs (a) and (b).
- (f) In connection with a family foster setting license, the commissioner may grant a variance to the disqualification for an individual who is under 18 years of age at the time the background study is submitted.
- (g) In connection with foster residence settings and children's residential facilities, the commissioner must not set aside or grant a variance for the disqualification of any individual disqualified pursuant to this chapter, regardless of how much time has passed, if the individual was disqualified for a crime or conduct listed in section 245C.15, subdivision 4a, paragraph (a) or (b).
- 452.26 Sec. 43. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245C.24, subdivision 5, is amended to read:
- Subd. 5. **Five-year bar to set aside or variance disqualification; children's residential**facilities, foster residence settings. The commissioner shall not set aside or grant a variance
 for the disqualification of an individual in connection with a license for a children's residential
 facility or foster residence setting who was convicted of a felony within the past five years
 for: (1) physical assault or battery; or (2) a drug-related offense.

452.5

452.6

452.7

452.8

452.9

452.10

Sec. 44. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245C.30, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

- Subd. 1b. Child foster care variances. For an individual seeking a child foster care license who is a relative of the child, the commissioner shall consider the importance of maintaining the child's relationship with relatives as an additional significant factor in determining whether the individual should be granted a variance.
- Sec. 45. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245E.08, is amended to read:

245E.08 REPORTING OF SUSPECTED FRAUDULENT ACTIVITY.

- (a) A person who, in good faith, makes a report of or testifies in any action or proceeding in which financial misconduct is alleged, and who is not involved in, has not participated in, or has not aided and abetted, conspired, or colluded in the financial misconduct, shall have immunity from any liability, civil or criminal, that results by reason of the person's report or testimony. For the purpose of any proceeding, the good faith of any person reporting or testifying under this provision shall be presumed.
- (b) If a person that is or has been involved in, participated in, aided and abetted, conspired, or colluded in the financial misconduct reports the financial misconduct, the department may consider that person's report and assistance in investigating the misconduct as a mitigating factor in the department's pursuit of civil, criminal, or administrative remedies.
- (c) After an investigation is complete, the reporter's name must be kept confidential.

 The subject of the report may compel disclosure of the reporter's name only with the consent of the reporter or upon a written finding by a district court that the report was false and there is evidence that the report was made in bad faith. This subdivision does not alter disclosure responsibilities or obligations under the Rules of Criminal Procedure, except that when the identity of the reporter is relevant to a criminal prosecution the district court shall conduct an in-camera review before determining whether to order disclosure of the reporter's identity.
- Sec. 46. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245F.09, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2. **Protective procedures plan.** A license holder must have a written policy and procedure that establishes the protective procedures that program staff must follow when a patient is in imminent danger of harming self or others. The policy must be appropriate to the type of facility and the level of staff training. The protective procedures policy must include:

453.3

453.4

453.5

453.6

453.7

453.8

453.9

453.10

453.11

453.12

453.13

453.14

453.15

453.17

453.18

453.19

453.20

453.21

453.22

453.23

453.24

(1) an approval signed and dated by the program director and medical director prior to implementation. Any changes to the policy must also be approved, signed, and dated by the current program director and the medical director prior to implementation;

- (2) which protective procedures the license holder will use to prevent patients from imminent danger of harming self or others;
- 454.6 (3) the emergency conditions under which the protective procedures are permitted to be 454.7 used, if any;
- 454.8 (4) the patient's health conditions that limit the specific procedures that may be used and alternative means of ensuring safety;
- (5) emergency resources the program staff must contact when a patient's behavior cannot be controlled by the procedures established in the policy;
- (6) the training that staff must have before using any protective procedure;
- 454.13 (7) documentation of approved therapeutic holds;

454.1

454.2

454.3

454.4

- (8) the use of law enforcement personnel as described in subdivision 4;
- (9) standards governing emergency use of seclusion. Seclusion must be used only when less restrictive measures are ineffective or not feasible. The standards in items (i) to (vii) must be met when seclusion is used with a patient:
- (i) seclusion must be employed solely for the purpose of preventing a patient from imminent danger of harming self or others;
- (ii) seclusion rooms must be equipped in a manner that prevents patients from self-harm using projections, windows, electrical fixtures, or hard objects, and must allow the patient to be readily observed without being interrupted;
- (iii) seclusion must be authorized by the program director, a licensed physician, a registered nurse, or a licensed physician assistant. If one of these individuals is not present in the facility, the program director or a licensed physician, registered nurse, or physician assistant must be contacted and authorization must be obtained within 30 minutes of initiating seclusion, according to written policies;
- (iv) patients must not be placed in seclusion for more than 12 hours at any one time;
- (v) once the condition of a patient in seclusion has been determined to be safe enough to end continuous observation, a patient in seclusion must be observed at a minimum of every 15 minutes for the duration of seclusion and must always be within hearing range of program staff;

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2
07/10/27 00.0/ pm	COUNDLL	1111L/1111/1O	DCDTU//II

155.1	(vi) a process for program staff to use to remove a patient to other resources available
155.2	to the facility if seclusion does not sufficiently assure patient safety; and
155.3	(vii) a seclusion area may be used for other purposes, such as intensive observation, if
155.4	the room meets normal standards of care for the purpose and if the room is not locked; and
155.5	(10) physical holds may only be used when less restrictive measures are not feasible.
155.6	The standards in items (i) to (iv) must be met when physical holds are used with a patient:
155.7	(i) physical holds must be employed solely for preventing a patient from imminent
155.8	danger of harming self or others;
155.9	(ii) physical holds must be authorized by the program director, a licensed physician, a
455.10	registered nurse, or a physician assistant. If one of these individuals is not present in the
155.11	facility, the program director or a licensed physician, registered nurse, or physician assistant
155.12	must be contacted and authorization must be obtained within 30 minutes of initiating a
455.13	physical hold, according to written policies;
155.14	(iii) the patient's health concerns must be considered in deciding whether to use physical
155.15	holds and which holds are appropriate for the patient; and
155.16	(iv) only approved holds may be utilized. Prone and contraindicated holds are not allowed
155.17	according to section 245A.211 and must not be authorized.
455.18	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
455.10	See 47 Minnesete Statutes 2022, seetien 245E 14 is amonded by adding a subdivision
155.19	Sec. 47. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245F.14, is amended by adding a subdivision
155.20	to read:
155.21	Subd. 8. Notification to commissioner of changes in key staff positions. A license
155.22	holder must notify the commissioner within five business days of a change or vacancy in a
155.23	key staff position. The key positions are a program director as required by subdivision 1, a
155.24	registered nurse as required by subdivision 4, and a medical director as required by
155.25	subdivision 5. The license holder must notify the commissioner of the staffing change or
155.26	vacancy on a form approved by the commissioner and include the name of the staff person
155.27	now assigned to the key staff position and the staff person's qualifications for the position.
155.28	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2
07/10/27 00.0/ pm	COUNDLL	1111L/1111/1O	DCDTU//II

Sec. 48. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245F.17, is amended to read:

245F.17	PERSONNE	L FILES.
4 TJ1.1/		

456.2

- A license holder must maintain a separate personnel file for each staff member. At a minimum, the file must contain:
- 456.5 (1) a completed application for employment signed by the staff member that contains 456.6 the staff member's qualifications for employment and documentation related to the applicant's 456.7 background study data, as defined in chapter 245C;
- 456.8 (2) documentation of the staff member's current professional license or registration, if relevant;
- 456.10 (3) documentation of orientation and subsequent training; and
- 456.11 (4) documentation of a statement of freedom from substance use problems; and
- 456.12 (5) an annual job performance evaluation.
- 456.13 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment.
- Sec. 49. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245G.07, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
- Subd. 4. **Location of service provision.** The license holder may provide services at any of the license holder's licensed locations or at another suitable location including a school, government building, medical or behavioral health facility, or social service organization, upon notification and approval of the commissioner. If services are provided off site from the licensed site, the reason for the provision of services remotely must be documented. The license holder may provide additional services under subdivision 2, clauses (2) to (5), off-site if the license holder includes a policy and procedure detailing the off-site location as a part of the treatment service description and the program abuse prevention plan.
 - (a) The license holder must provide all treatment services a client receives at one of the license holder's substance use disorder treatment licensed locations or at a location allowed under paragraphs (b) to (f). If the services are provided at the locations in paragraphs (b) to (d), the license holder must document in the client record the location services were provided.
- (b) The license holder may provide nonresidential individual treatment services at a client's home or place of residence.
- 456.29 (c) If the license holder provides treatment services by telehealth, the services must be 456.30 provided according to this paragraph:

456.23

456.24

456.25

457.1	(1) the license helder was tracintained licensed abasical location in Minnesota where
157.1	(1) the license holder must maintain a licensed physical location in Minnesota where
157.2	the license holder must offer all treatment services in subdivision 1, paragraph (a), clauses
157.3	(1) to (4), physically in person to each client;
157.4	(2) the license holder must meet all requirements for the provision of telehealth in sections
157.5	254B.05, subdivision 5, paragraph (f), and 256B.0625, subdivision 3b. The license holder
157.6	must document all items in section 256B.0625, subdivision 3b, paragraph (c), for each client
157.7	receiving services by telehealth, regardless of payment type or whether the client is a medical
157.8	assistance enrollee;
157.9	(3) the license holder may provide treatment services by telehealth to clients individually;
457.10	(4) the license holder may provide treatment services by telehealth to a group of clients
457.11	that are each in a separate physical location;
157.12	(5) the license holder must not provide treatment services remotely by telehealth to a
157.13	group of clients meeting together in person;
157.14	(6) clients and staff may join an in-person group by telehealth if a staff qualified to
157.15	provide the treatment service is physically present with the group of clients meeting together
157.16	in person; and
157.17	(7) the qualified professional providing a residential group treatment service by telehealth
157.18	must be physically present on-site at the licensed residential location while the service is
157.19	being provided.
157.20	(d) The license holder may provide the additional treatment services under subdivision
457.21	2, clauses (2) to (5) and (8), away from the licensed location at a suitable location appropriate
157.22	to the treatment service.
157.23	(e) Upon written approval from the commissioner for each satellite location, the license
157.24	holder may provide nonresidential treatment services at satellite locations that are in a
157.25	school, jail, or nursing home. A satellite location may only provide services to students of
157.26	the school, inmates of the jail, or residents of the nursing home. Schools, jails, and nursing
157.27	homes are exempt from the licensing requirements in section 245A.04, subdivision 2a, to
157.28	document compliance with building codes, fire and safety codes, health rules, and zoning
157.29	ordinances.
157.30	(f) The commissioner may approve other suitable locations as satellite locations for
157.31	nonresidential treatment services. The commissioner may require satellite locations under
157.32	this paragraph to meet all applicable licensing requirements. The license holder may not
157.33	have more than two satellite locations per license under this paragraph.

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

(g) The license holder must provide the commissioner access to all files, documentation, 458.1 staff persons, and any other information the commissioner requires at the main licensed 458.2 458.3 location for all clients served at any location under paragraphs (b) to (f). (h) Notwithstanding sections 245A.65, subdivision 2, and 626.557, subdivision 14, a 458.4 program abuse prevention plan is not required for satellite or other locations under paragraphs 458.5 (b) to (e). An individual abuse prevention plan is still required for any client that is a 458.6 vulnerable adult as defined in section 626.5572, subdivision 21. 458.7 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2025. 458.8 Sec. 50. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245G.08, subdivision 5, is amended to read: 458.9 Subd. 5. Administration of medication and assistance with self-medication. (a) A 458.10 458.11 license holder must meet the requirements in this subdivision if a service provided includes the administration of medication. 458.12 458.13 (b) A staff member, other than a licensed practitioner or nurse, who is delegated by a licensed practitioner or a registered nurse the task of administration of medication or assisting 458.14 with self-medication, must: 458.15 (1) successfully complete a medication administration training program for unlicensed 458.16 personnel through an accredited Minnesota postsecondary educational institution. A staff 458.17 member's completion of the course must be documented in writing and placed in the staff 458.18 member's personnel file; 458.19 458.20 (2) be trained according to a formalized training program that is taught by a registered nurse and offered by the license holder. The training must include the process for 458.21 administration of naloxone, if naloxone is kept on site. A staff member's completion of the 458.22 training must be documented in writing and placed in the staff member's personnel records; 458.23 458.24 or (3) demonstrate to a registered nurse competency to perform the delegated activity. A 458.25 registered nurse must be employed or contracted to develop the policies and procedures for 458.26 administration of medication or assisting with self-administration of medication, or both. 458.27 (c) A registered nurse must provide supervision as defined in section 148.171, subdivision 458.28 458.29 23. The registered nurse's supervision must include, at a minimum, monthly on-site supervision or more often if warranted by a client's health needs. The policies and procedures 458.30 must include: 458.31

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

459.1	(1) a provision that a delegation of administration of medication is limited to a method
459.2	a staff member has been trained to administer and limited to:
459.3	(i) a medication that is administered orally, topically, or as a suppository, an eye drop,
459.4	an ear drop, an inhalant, or an intranasal; and
459.5	(ii) an intramuscular injection of naloxone an opiate antagonist as defined in section
459.6	604A.04, subdivision 1, or epinephrine;
459.7	(2) a provision that each client's file must include documentation indicating whether
459.8	staff must conduct the administration of medication or the client must self-administer
459.9	medication, or both;
459.10	(3) a provision that a client may carry emergency medication such as nitroglycerin as
459.11	instructed by the client's physician, advanced practice registered nurse, or physician assistant;
459.12	(4) a provision for the client to self-administer medication when a client is scheduled to
459.13	be away from the facility;
459.14	(5) a provision that if a client self-administers medication when the client is present in
459.15	the facility, the client must self-administer medication under the observation of a trained
459.16	staff member;
459.17	(6) a provision that when a license holder serves a client who is a parent with a child,
459.18	the parent may only administer medication to the child under a staff member's supervision;
459.19	(7) requirements for recording the client's use of medication, including staff signatures
459.20	with date and time;
459.21	(8) guidelines for when to inform a nurse of problems with self-administration of
459.22	medication, including a client's failure to administer, refusal of a medication, adverse
459.23	reaction, or error; and
459.24	(9) procedures for acceptance, documentation, and implementation of a prescription,
459.25	whether written, verbal, telephonic, or electronic.
459.26	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
459.27	Sec. 51. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245G.08, subdivision 6, is amended to read:
459.28	Subd. 6. Control of drugs. A license holder must have and implement written policies
459.29	and procedures developed by a registered nurse that contain:

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

(1) a requirement that each drug must be stored in a locked compartment. A Schedule 460.1 II drug, as defined by section 152.02, subdivision 3, must be stored in a separately locked 460.2 compartment, permanently affixed to the physical plant or medication cart; 460.3 (2) a system which accounts for all scheduled drugs each shift; 460.4 460.5 (3) a procedure for recording the client's use of medication, including the signature of the staff member who completed the administration of the medication with the time and 460.6 date: 460.7 (4) a procedure to destroy a discontinued, outdated, or deteriorated medication; 460.8 (5) a statement that only authorized personnel are permitted access to the keys to a locked 460.9 compartment; 460.10 (6) a statement that no legend drug supply for one client shall be given to another client; 460.11 460.12 and (7) a procedure for monitoring the available supply of naloxone an opiate antagonist as 460.13 defined in section 604A.04, subdivision 1, on site, and replenishing the naloxone supply 460.14 when needed, and destroying naloxone according to clause (4). 460.15 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment. 460.16 460.17 Sec. 52. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245G.10, is amended by adding a subdivision to read: 460.18 Subd. 6. Notification to commissioner of changes in key staff positions. A license 460.19 holder must notify the commissioner within five business days of a change or vacancy in a 460.20 key staff position. The key positions are a treatment director as required by subdivision 1, 460.21 an alcohol and drug counselor supervisor as required by subdivision 2, and a registered 460.22 nurse as required by section 245G.08, subdivision 5, paragraph (c). The license holder must 460.23 notify the commissioner of the staffing change or vacancy on a form approved by the 460.24 commissioner and include the name of the staff person now assigned to the key staff position 460.25 and the staff person's qualifications for the position. 460.26 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2025. 460.27 Sec. 53. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 245G.22, subdivision 2, is amended 460.28 to read: 460.29 460.30 Subd. 2. **Definitions.** (a) For purposes of this section, the terms defined in this subdivision

460.31

have the meanings given them.

04/16/24 06:07 pm

(b) "Diversion" means the use of a medication for the treatment of opioid addiction being diverted from intended use of the medication.

- (c) "Guest dose" means administration of a medication used for the treatment of opioid addiction to a person who is not a client of the program that is administering or dispensing the medication.
- (d) "Medical director" means a practitioner licensed to practice medicine in the jurisdiction that the opioid treatment program is located who assumes responsibility for administering all medical services performed by the program, either by performing the services directly or by delegating specific responsibility to a practitioner of the opioid treatment program.
- (e) "Medication used for the treatment of opioid use disorder" means a medication approved by the Food and Drug Administration for the treatment of opioid use disorder.
- (f) "Minnesota health care programs" has the meaning given in section 256B.0636.
- 461.14 (g) "Opioid treatment program" has the meaning given in Code of Federal Regulations, 461.15 title 42, section 8.12, and includes programs licensed under this chapter.
 - (h) "Practitioner" means a staff member holding a current, unrestricted license to practice medicine issued by the Board of Medical Practice or nursing issued by the Board of Nursing and is currently registered with the Drug Enforcement Administration to order or dispense controlled substances in Schedules II to V under the Controlled Substances Act, United States Code, title 21, part B, section 821. Practitioner includes an advanced practice registered nurse and physician assistant if the staff member receives a variance by the state opioid treatment authority under section 254A.03 and the federal Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration.
- (i) "Unsupervised use" or "take-home" means the use of a medication for the treatment of opioid use disorder dispensed for use by a client outside of the program setting.
- EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
- Sec. 54. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245G.22, subdivision 6, is amended to read:
- Subd. 6. **Criteria for unsupervised use.** (a) To limit the potential for diversion of medication used for the treatment of opioid use disorder to the illicit market, medication dispensed to a client for unsupervised use shall be subject to the requirements of this subdivision. Any client in an opioid treatment program may receive a single unsupervised use dose for a day that the clinic is closed for business, including Sundays and state and

461.1

461.2

461.3

461.4

461.5

461.6

461.7

461.8

461.9

461.10

461.16

461.17

461.18

461.19

461.20

461.21

461.22

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

102.1	rederat nondays then marriadanzed take-nome doses as ordered for days that the entire is
162.2	closed for business, on one weekend day (e.g., Sunday) and state and federal holidays, no
162.3	matter their length of time in treatment, as allowed under Code of Federal Regulations, title
162.4	42, part 8.12 (i)(1).
162.5	(b) For take-home doses beyond those allowed by paragraph (a), a practitioner with
162.6	authority to prescribe must review and document the criteria in this paragraph and paragraph
162.7	(e) the Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, part 8.12 (i)(2), when determining whether
162.8	dispensing medication for a client's unsupervised use is safe and it is appropriate to
162.9	implement, increase, or extend the amount of time between visits to the program. The criteria
162.10	are:
162.11	(1) absence of recent abuse of drugs including but not limited to opioids, non-narcotics,
162.12	and alcohol;
162.13	(2) regularity of program attendance;
162.14	(3) absence of serious behavioral problems at the program;
162.15	(4) absence of known recent criminal activity such as drug dealing;
162.16	(5) stability of the client's home environment and social relationships;
162.17	(6) length of time in comprehensive maintenance treatment;
162.18	(7) reasonable assurance that unsupervised use medication will be safely stored within
162.19	the client's home; and
162.20	(8) whether the rehabilitative benefit the client derived from decreasing the frequency
162.21	of program attendance outweighs the potential risks of diversion or unsupervised use.
162.22	(c) The determination, including the basis of the determination must be documented by
162.23	a practitioner in the client's medical record.
162.24	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
162.25	Sec. 55. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245G.22, subdivision 7, is amended to read:
162.26	Subd. 7. Restrictions for unsupervised use of methadone hydrochloride. (a) If a
162.27	medical director or prescribing practitioner assesses and, determines, and documents that
162.28	a client meets the criteria in subdivision 6 and may be dispensed a medication used for the
162.29	treatment of opioid addiction, the restrictions in this subdivision must be followed when
162.30	the medication to be dispensed is methadone hydrochloride. The results of the assessment
162.31	must be contained in the client file. The number of unsupervised use medication doses per

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

463.1	week in paragraphs (b) to (d) is in addition to the number of unsupervised use medication
463.2	doses a client may receive for days the clinic is closed for business as allowed by subdivision
463.3	6, paragraph (a) and that a patient is safely able to manage unsupervised doses of methadone,
463.4	the number of take-home doses the client receives must be limited by the number allowed
463.5	by the Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, part 8.12 (i)(3).
463.6	(b) During the first 90 days of treatment, the unsupervised use medication supply must
463.7	be limited to a maximum of a single dose each week and the client shall ingest all other
463.8	doses under direct supervision.
463.9	(c) In the second 90 days of treatment, the unsupervised use medication supply must be
463.10	limited to two doses per week.
463.11	(d) In the third 90 days of treatment, the unsupervised use medication supply must not
463.12	exceed three doses per week.
463.13	(e) In the remaining months of the first year, a client may be given a maximum six-day
463.14	unsupervised use medication supply.
463.15	(f) After one year of continuous treatment, a client may be given a maximum two-week
463.16	unsupervised use medication supply.
463.17	(g) After two years of continuous treatment, a client may be given a maximum one-month
463.18	unsupervised use medication supply, but must make monthly visits to the program.
463.19	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
463.20	Sec. 56. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 245G.22, subdivision 17, is amended
463.21	to read:
463.22	Subd. 17. Policies and procedures. (a) A license holder must develop and maintain the
463.23	policies and procedures required in this subdivision.
463.24	(b) For a program that is not open every day of the year, the license holder must maintain
463.25	a policy and procedure that covers requirements under section 245G.22, subdivisions 6 and
463.26	7. Unsupervised use of medication used for the treatment of opioid use disorder for days
463.27	that the program is closed for business, including but not limited to Sundays on one weekend
463.28	day (e.g., Sunday) and state and federal holidays, must meet the requirements under section
463.29	245G.22, subdivisions 6 and 7.
463.30	(c) The license holder must maintain a policy and procedure that includes specific
463.31	measures to reduce the possibility of diversion. The policy and procedure must:

(1) specifically identify and define the responsibilities of the medical and administrative staff for performing diversion control measures; and

- (2) include a process for contacting no less than five percent of clients who have unsupervised use of medication, excluding clients approved solely under subdivision 6, paragraph (a), to require clients to physically return to the program each month. The system must require clients to return to the program within a stipulated time frame and turn in all unused medication containers related to opioid use disorder treatment. The license holder must document all related contacts on a central log and the outcome of the contact for each client in the client's record. The medical director must be informed of each outcome that results in a situation in which a possible diversion issue was identified.
- (d) Medication used for the treatment of opioid use disorder must be ordered, administered, and dispensed according to applicable state and federal regulations and the standards set by applicable accreditation entities. If a medication order requires assessment by the person administering or dispensing the medication to determine the amount to be administered or dispensed, the assessment must be completed by an individual whose professional scope of practice permits an assessment. For the purposes of enforcement of this paragraph, the commissioner has the authority to monitor the person administering or dispensing the medication for compliance with state and federal regulations and the relevant standards of the license holder's accreditation agency and may issue licensing actions according to sections 245A.05, 245A.06, and 245A.07, based on the commissioner's determination of noncompliance.
 - (e) A counselor in an opioid treatment program must not supervise more than 50 clients.
- (f) Notwithstanding paragraph (e), from July 1, 2023, to June 30, 2024, a counselor in an opioid treatment program may supervise up to 60 clients. The license holder may continue 464.24 to serve a client who was receiving services at the program on June 30, 2024, at a counselor 464.25 464.26 to client ratio of up to one to 60 and is not required to discharge any clients in order to return to the counselor to client ratio of one to 50. The license holder may not, however, serve a 464.27 new client after June 30, 2024, unless the counselor who would supervise the new client is 464.28 supervising fewer than 50 existing clients. 464.29

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment. 464.30

464.1

464.2

464.3

464.4

464.5

464.6

464.7

464.8

464.9

464.10

464.11

464 12

464.13

464.14

464.15

464.16

464.17

464.18

464.19

464.20

464.21

464.22

Sec. 57. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245H.01, is amended by adding a subdivision

- 465.2 to read:
- Subd. 6a. Infant. "Infant" means a child who is at least six weeks old but less than 16
- 465.4 months old.
- EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective October 1, 2024.
- Sec. 58. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245H.01, is amended by adding a subdivision
- 465.7 to read:
- Subd. 6b. **Preschooler.** "Preschooler" means a child who is at least 33 months old but
- who has not yet attended the first day of kindergarten.
- EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective October 1, 2024.
- Sec. 59. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245H.01, is amended by adding a subdivision
- 465.12 to read:
- Subd. 6c. School-age child. "School-age child" means a child who is of sufficient age
- 465.14 to have attended the first day of kindergarten or is eligible to enter kindergarten within four
- 465.15 months and:
- 465.16 (1) is no more than 13 years old;
- (2) remains eligible for child care assistance under section 119B.09, subdivision 1,
- 465.18 paragraph (e); or
- (3) the certified center serves only school-age children in a setting that has students
- 465.20 enrolled in no grade higher than 8th grade.
- EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective October 1, 2024.
- Sec. 60. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245H.01, is amended by adding a subdivision
- 465.23 to read:
- Subd. 8a. **Toddler.** "Toddler" means a child who is at least 16 months old but less than
- 465.25 33 months old.
- EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective October 1, 2024.

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

Sec. 61. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 245H.06, subdivision 1, is amended 466.1 466.2 to read: 466.3 Subdivision 1. Correction order and conditional certification requirements. (a) If the applicant or certification holder failed fails to comply with a law or rule, the commissioner 466.4 466.5 may issue a correction order. The correction order must state: (1) the condition that constitutes a violation of the law or rule; 466.6 466.7 (2) the specific law or rule violated; and (3) the time allowed to correct each violation. 466.8 466.9 (b) The commissioner may issue a correction order to the applicant or certification holder through the provider licensing and reporting hub. If the certification holder fails to comply 466.10 with a law or rule, the commissioner may issue a conditional certification. When issuing a 466.11 conditional certification, the commissioner shall consider the nature, chronicity, or severity 466.12 of the violation of law or rule and the effect of the violation on the health, safety, or rights 466.13 of persons served by the program. The conditional order must state: 466.14 466.15 (1) the conditions that constitute a violation of the law or rule; (2) the specific law or rule violated; 466.16 (3) the time allowed to correct each violation; and 466.17 (4) the length and terms of the conditional certification, and the reasons for making the 466.18 certification conditional. 466.19 (c) Nothing in this section prohibits the commissioner from decertifying a center under 466.20 section 245H.07 before issuing a correction order or conditional certification. 466.21 (d) The commissioner may issue a correction order or conditional certification to the 466.22 applicant or certification holder through the provider licensing and reporting hub. 466.23 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective October 1, 2024. 466.24 466.25 Sec. 62. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 245H.06, subdivision 2, is amended to read: 466.26 Subd. 2. Reconsideration request. (a) If the applicant or certification holder believes 466.27 that the commissioner's correction order or conditional certification is erroneous, the applicant 466.28 or certification holder may ask the commissioner to reconsider the part of the correction 466.29 order or conditional certification that is allegedly erroneous. A request for reconsideration 466.30

466.31

must be made in writing and postmarked or submitted through the provider licensing and

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

reporting hub and sent to the commissioner within 20 calendar days after the applicant or 467.1 certification holder received the correction order or conditional certification, and must: 467.2 (1) specify the part of the correction order or conditional certification that is allegedly 467.3 erroneous; 467.4 467.5 (2) explain why the specified part is erroneous; and (3) include documentation to support the allegation of error. 467.6 467.7 (b) A request for reconsideration of a correction order does not stay any provision or requirement of the correction order. The commissioner's disposition of a request for 467.8 reconsideration is final and not subject to appeal. 467.9 467.10 (c) A timely request for reconsideration of a conditional certification shall stay imposition of the terms of the conditional certification until the commissioner issues a decision on the 467.11 request for reconsideration. 467.12 (e) (d) Upon implementation of the provider licensing and reporting hub, the provider 467.13 must use the hub to request reconsideration. If the order is issued through the provider hub, 467.14 the request must be received by the commissioner within 20 calendar days from the date 467.15 the commissioner issued the order through the hub. 467.16 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective October 1, 2024. 467.17 Sec. 63. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245H.08, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 467.18 Subdivision 1. Staffing requirements. (a) Except as provided in paragraph (b), during 467.19 hours of operation, a certified center must have a director or designee on site who is 467.20 responsible for overseeing implementation of written policies relating to the management 467.21 and control of the daily activities of the program, ensuring the health and safety of program 467.22 participants, and supervising staff and volunteers. 467.23 (b) When the director is absent, a certified center must designate a staff person who is 467.24 at least 18 years old to fulfill the director's responsibilities under this subdivision to ensure 467.25 continuity of program oversight. The designee does not have to meet the director 467.26 qualifications in subdivision 2 but must be aware of their designation and responsibilities 467.27

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective October 1, 2024.

under this subdivision.

04/10/24 00.07 pm COUNSEL AIL/MI/10 SC54033A-2	04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2
--	-------------------	---------	-----------	------------

468.1	Sec. 64. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 245H.08, subdivision 4, is amended
468.2	to read:
468.3	Subd. 4. Maximum group size. (a) For a child six weeks old through 16 months old an
468.4	infant, the maximum group size shall be no more than eight children.
468.5	(b) For a child 16 months old through 33 months old toddler, the maximum group size
468.6	shall be no more than 14 children.
468.7	(c) For a ehild 33 months old through prekindergarten preschooler, a the maximum
468.8	group size shall be no more than 20 children.
468.9	(d) For a child in kindergarten through 13 years old school-age child, a the maximum
468.10	group size shall be no more than 30 children.
468.11	(e) The maximum group size applies at all times except during group activity coordination
468.12	time not exceeding 15 minutes, during a meal, outdoor activity, field trip, nap and rest, and
468.13	special activity including a film, guest speaker, indoor large muscle activity, or holiday
468.14	program.
468.15	(f) Notwithstanding paragraph (d), a certified center may continue to serve a child 14
468.16	years of age or older if one of the following conditions is true:
468.17	(1) the child remains eligible for child care assistance under section 119B.09, subdivision
468.18	1, paragraph (e); or
468.19	(2) the certified center serves only school-age children in a setting that has students
468.20	enrolled in no grade higher than 8th grade.
468.21	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective October 1, 2024.
468.22	Sec. 65. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 245H.08, subdivision 5, is amended
468.23	to read:
468.24	Subd. 5. Ratios. (a) The minimally acceptable staff-to-child ratios are:
468.25	six weeks old through 16 months old infants 1:4
468.26	16 months old through 33 months old toddlers 1:7
468.27 468.28	23 months old through prekindergarten preschoolers 1:10
468.29 468.30	<u>kindergarten through 13 years old school-age</u> <u>children</u> 1:15

(b) Kindergarten includes a child of sufficient age to have attended the first day of
 kindergarten or who is eligible to enter kindergarten within the next four months.

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

(e) (b) For mixed mixed-age groups, the ratio for the age group of the youngest child 469.1 applies. 469.2 (d) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), a certified center may continue to serve a child 14 469.3 years of age or older if one of the following conditions is true: 469.4 (1) the child remains eligible for child care assistance under section 119B.09, subdivision 469.5 1, paragraph (e); or 469.6 469.7 (2) the certified center serves only school-age children in a setting that has students enrolled in no grade higher than 8th grade. 469.8 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective October 1, 2024. 469 9 Sec. 66. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245H.14, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 469.10 Subdivision 1. First aid and cardiopulmonary resuscitation. (a) Before having 469.11 unsupervised direct contact with a child, but within the first 90 days of employment for 469.12 after the first date of direct contact with a child, the director and, all staff persons, and within 469.13 90 days after the first date of direct contact with a child for substitutes, and unsupervised 469.14 volunteers, each person must successfully complete pediatric first aid and pediatric 469.15 cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) training, unless the training has been completed within 469.16 the previous two calendar years. Staff must complete the pediatric first aid and pediatric 469.17 CPR training at least every other calendar year and the center must document the training 469.18 in the staff person's personnel record. 469.19 469.20 (b) Training completed under this subdivision may be used to meet the in-service training requirements under subdivision 6. 469.21 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective October 1, 2024. 469.22 Sec. 67. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245H.14, subdivision 4, is amended to read: 469.23 Subd. 4. Child development. The certified center must ensure that the director and all 469.24 staff persons complete child development and learning training within 90 days of employment 469.25 and every second calendar year thereafter. Substitutes and unsupervised volunteers must 469.26 complete child development and learning training within 90 days after the first date of direct 469.27 contact with a child and every second calendar year thereafter. Before having unsupervised 469.28 direct contact with a child, but within 90 days after the first date of direct contact with a 469.29 child, the director, all staff persons, substitutes, and unsupervised volunteers must complete 469.30 child development and learning training. Child development and learning training must be 469.31

469.32

repeated every second calendar year thereafter. The director and staff persons not including

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

substitutes must complete at least two hours of training on child development. The training for substitutes and unsupervised volunteers is not required to be of a minimum length. For purposes of this subdivision, "child development and learning training" means how a child develops physically, cognitively, emotionally, and socially and learns as part of the child's family, culture, and community.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective October 1, 2024.

470.7 Sec. 68. **[245H.19] CHILDREN'S RECORDS.**

- 470.8 (a) A certification holder must maintain a record for each child enrolled in the certification 470.9 holder's program. The record must contain:
- 470.10 (1) the child's full name, birth date, and home address;
- (2) the name and telephone number of the child's parents or legal guardians;
- (3) the name and telephone number of at least one emergency contact person other than the child's parents who can be reached in an emergency or when there is an injury requiring
- 470.14 medical attention and who is authorized to pick up the child; and
- 470.15 (4) the names and telephone numbers of any additional persons authorized by the parents
 470.16 or legal guardians to pick up the child from the center.
- 470.17 (b) The certification holder must maintain in the child's record and ensure that during all hours of operation staff can access the following information:
- (1) immunization information as required under section 245H.13, subdivision 2;
- 470.20 (2) medication administration documentation as required under section 245H.13,
- 470.21 subdivision 3; and
- (3) documentation of any known allergy as required under section 245H.13, subdivision
- 470.23 4.

470.1

470.2

470.3

470.4

470.5

- EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective October 1, 2024.
- Sec. 69. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 256.046, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
- Subd. 3. Administrative disqualification of child care providers caring for children
- 470.28 receiving child care assistance. (a) The department shall pursue an administrative
- 470.29 disqualification, if the child care provider is accused of committing an intentional program
- 470.30 violation, in lieu of a criminal action when it has not been pursued. Intentional program

violations include intentionally making false or misleading statements; intentionally misrepresenting, concealing, or withholding facts; and repeatedly and intentionally violating program regulations under chapters 119B and 245E. Intent may be proven by demonstrating a pattern of conduct that violates program rules under chapters 119B and 245E.

- (b) To initiate an administrative disqualification, the commissioner must mail send written notice by certified mail using a signature-verified confirmed delivery method to the provider against whom the action is being taken. Unless otherwise specified under chapter 119B or 245E or Minnesota Rules, chapter 3400, the commissioner must mail send the written notice at least 15 calendar days before the adverse action's effective date. The notice shall state (1) the factual basis for the agency's determination, (2) the action the agency intends to take, (3) the dollar amount of the monetary recovery or recoupment, if known, and (4) the provider's right to appeal the agency's proposed action.
- (c) The provider may appeal an administrative disqualification by submitting a written request to the Department of Human Services, Appeals Division. A provider's request must be received by the Appeals Division no later than 30 days after the date the commissioner mails the notice.
- (d) The provider's appeal request must contain the following:
- (1) each disputed item, the reason for the dispute, and, if applicable, an estimate of the dollar amount involved for each disputed item;
- (2) the computation the provider believes to be correct, if applicable;
- 471.21 (3) the statute or rule relied on for each disputed item; and
- 471.22 (4) the name, address, and telephone number of the person at the provider's place of business with whom contact may be made regarding the appeal.
- (e) On appeal, the issuing agency bears the burden of proof to demonstrate by a preponderance of the evidence that the provider committed an intentional program violation.
- (f) The hearing is subject to the requirements of sections 256.045 and 256.0451. The human services judge may combine a fair hearing and administrative disqualification hearing into a single hearing if the factual issues arise out of the same or related circumstances and the provider receives prior notice that the hearings will be combined.
- 471.30 (g) A provider found to have committed an intentional program violation and is 471.31 administratively disqualified shall be disqualified, for a period of three years for the first 471.32 offense and permanently for any subsequent offense, from receiving any payments from 471.33 any child care program under chapter 119B.

471.1

471.2

471.3

471.4

471.5

471.6

471.7

471.8

471.9

471.10

(h) Unless a timely and proper appeal made under this section is received by the department, the administrative determination of the department is final and binding.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2024.

- Sec. 70. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 256B.064, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
- Subd. 4. **Notice.** (a) The department shall serve the notice required under subdivision 2
 by certified mail at using a signature-verified confirmed delivery method to the address
 submitted to the department by the individual or entity. Service is complete upon mailing.
- (b) The department shall give notice in writing to a recipient placed in the Minnesota restricted recipient program under section 256B.0646 and Minnesota Rules, part 9505.2200.

 The department shall send the notice by first class mail to the recipient's current address on file with the department. A recipient placed in the Minnesota restricted recipient program may contest the placement by submitting a written request for a hearing to the department within 90 days of the notice being mailed.
- Sec. 71. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256B.0757, subdivision 4a, is amended to read:
- Subd. 4a. **Behavioral health home services provider requirements.** A behavioral health home services provider must:
- (1) be an enrolled Minnesota Health Care Programs provider;
- (2) provide a medical assistance covered primary care or behavioral health service;
- 472.20 (3) utilize an electronic health record;
- (4) utilize an electronic patient registry that contains data elements required by the commissioner;
- (5) demonstrate the organization's capacity to administer screenings approved by the commissioner for substance use disorder or alcohol and tobacco use;
- (6) demonstrate the organization's capacity to refer an individual to resources appropriate to the individual's screening results;
- (7) have policies and procedures to track referrals to ensure that the referral met the individual's needs;
- (8) conduct a brief needs assessment when an individual begins receiving behavioral health home services. The brief needs assessment must be completed with input from the

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

individual and the individual's identified supports. The brief needs assessment must address the individual's immediate safety and transportation needs and potential barriers to participating in behavioral health home services;

- (9) conduct a health wellness assessment within 60 days after intake that contains all required elements identified by the commissioner;
- (10) conduct a health action plan that contains all required elements identified by the commissioner. The plan must be completed within 90 days after intake and must be updated at least once every six months, or more frequently if significant changes to an individual's needs or goals occur;
- 473.10 (11) agree to cooperate with and participate in the state's monitoring and evaluation of 473.11 behavioral health home services; and
- 473.12 (12) obtain the individual's written consent to begin receiving behavioral health home 473.13 services using a form approved by the commissioner.
- EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
- Sec. 72. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256B.0757, subdivision 4d, is amended to read:
- Subd. 4d. **Behavioral health home services delivery standards.** (a) A behavioral health home services provider must meet the following service delivery standards:
- (1) establish and maintain processes to support the coordination of an individual's primary care, behavioral health, and dental care;
- 473.20 (2) maintain a team-based model of care, including regular coordination and communication between behavioral health home services team members;
- (3) use evidence-based practices that recognize and are tailored to the medical, social, economic, behavioral health, functional impairment, cultural, and environmental factors affecting the individual's health and health care choices;
- (4) use person-centered planning practices to ensure the individual's health action plan accurately reflects the individual's preferences, goals, resources, and optimal outcomes for the individual and the individual's identified supports;
- (5) use the patient registry to identify individuals and population subgroups requiring specific levels or types of care and provide or refer the individual to needed treatment, intervention, or services;

473.4

04/16/24 06:07 pm

(6) utilize the Department of Human Services Partner Portal to identify past and current 474.1 treatment or services and identify potential gaps in care using a tool approved by the 474.2 commissioner; 474.3 (7) deliver services consistent with the standards for frequency and face-to-face contact 474.4 474.5 required by the commissioner; (8) ensure that a diagnostic assessment is completed for each individual receiving 474.6 behavioral health home services within six months of the start of behavioral health home 474.7 services; 474.8 (9) deliver services in locations and settings that meet the needs of the individual; 474.9 (10) provide a central point of contact to ensure that individuals and the individual's 474.10 identified supports can successfully navigate the array of services that impact the individual's 474.11 health and well-being; 474.12 (11) have capacity to assess an individual's readiness for change and the individual's 474 13 capacity to integrate new health care or community supports into the individual's life; 474.14 (12) offer or facilitate the provision of wellness and prevention education on 474.15 evidenced-based curriculums specific to the prevention and management of common chronic 474.16 conditions: 474.17 (13) help an individual set up and prepare for medical, behavioral health, social service, 474.18 or community support appointments, including accompanying the individual to appointments 474.19 as appropriate, and providing follow-up with the individual after these appointments; 474.20 (14) offer or facilitate the provision of health coaching related to chronic disease 474.21 management and how to navigate complex systems of care to the individual, the individual's 474.22 family, and identified supports; 474.23 (15) connect an individual, the individual's family, and identified supports to appropriate 474.24 support services that help the individual overcome access or service barriers, increase self-sufficiency skills, and improve overall health; 474.26 (16) provide effective referrals and timely access to services; and 474.27 (17) establish a continuous quality improvement process for providing behavioral health 474.28 home services. 474.29 (b) The behavioral health home services provider must also create a plan, in partnership 474.30

474.31

with the individual and the individual's identified supports, to support the individual after

discharge from a hospital, residential treatment program, or other setting. The plan must include protocols for:

- (1) maintaining contact between the behavioral health home services team member, the individual, and the individual's identified supports during and after discharge;
- 475.5 (2) linking the individual to new resources as needed;

475.3

- 475.6 (3) reestablishing the individual's existing services and community and social supports; 475.7 and
- 475.8 (4) following up with appropriate entities to transfer or obtain the individual's service records as necessary for continued care.
- (c) If the individual is enrolled in a managed care plan, a behavioral health home services provider must:
- (1) notify the behavioral health home services contact designated by the managed care plan within 30 days of when the individual begins behavioral health home services; and
- 475.14 (2) adhere to the managed care plan communication and coordination requirements
 475.15 described in the behavioral health home services manual.
- (d) Before terminating behavioral health home services, the behavioral health home services provider must:
- (1) provide a 60-day notice of termination of behavioral health home services to all individuals receiving behavioral health home services, the commissioner, and managed care plans, if applicable; and
- 475.21 (2) refer individuals receiving behavioral health home services to a new behavioral health home services provider.
- 475.23 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment.
- Sec. 73. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 256D.01, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:
- Subd. 1a. **Standards.** (a) A principal objective in providing general assistance is to provide for single adults, childless couples, or children as defined in section 256D.02, subdivision 2b, ineligible for federal programs who are unable to provide for themselves.
- The minimum standard of assistance determines the total amount of the general assistance
- grant without separate standards for shelter, utilities, or other needs.

(b) The standard of assistance for an assistance unit consisting of a recipient who is childless and unmarried or living apart from children and spouse and who does not live with a parent or parents or a legal custodian, or consisting of a childless couple, is \$350 per month effective October 1, 2024, and must be adjusted by a percentage equal to the change in the consumer price index as of January 1 every year, beginning October 1, 2025.

- (c) For an assistance unit consisting of a single adult who lives with a parent or parents, the general assistance standard of assistance is \$350 per month effective October 1, 2023 2024, and must be adjusted by a percentage equal to the change in the consumer price index as of January 1 every year, beginning October 1, 2025. Benefits received by a responsible relative of the assistance unit under the Supplemental Security Income program, a workers' compensation program, the Minnesota supplemental aid program, or any other program based on the responsible relative's disability, and any benefits received by a responsible relative of the assistance unit under the Social Security retirement program, may not be counted in the determination of eligibility or benefit level for the assistance unit. Except as provided below, the assistance unit is ineligible for general assistance if the available resources or the countable income of the assistance unit and the parent or parents with whom the assistance unit lives are such that a family consisting of the assistance unit's parent or parents, the parent or parents' other family members and the assistance unit as the only or additional minor child would be financially ineligible for general assistance. For the purposes of calculating the countable income of the assistance unit's parent or parents, the calculation methods must follow the provisions under section 256P.06.
- 476.22 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment.
- Sec. 74. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256I.04, subdivision 2f, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2f. **Required services.** (a) In licensed and registered authorized settings under subdivision 2a, providers shall ensure that participants have at a minimum:
- 476.26 (1) food preparation and service for three nutritional meals a day on site;
- 476.27 (2) a bed, clothing storage, linen, bedding, laundering, and laundry supplies or service;
- 476.28 (3) housekeeping, including cleaning and lavatory supplies or service; and
- (4) maintenance and operation of the building and grounds, including heat, water, garbage removal, electricity, telephone for the site, cooling, supplies, and parts and tools to repair and maintain equipment and facilities.

476.1

476.2

476.3

476.4

476.5

476.6

476.7

476.8

476.9

476.10

476.11

476.12

476.13

476.14

476.15

476.16

476.17

476.18

476.19

476.20

(b) In addition, when providers serve participants described in subdivision 1, paragraph (c), the providers are required to assist the participants in applying for continuing housing support payments before the end of the eligibility period.

Sec. 75. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 256I.05, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:

Subd. 1a. Supplementary service rates. (a) Subject to the provisions of section 256I.04, subdivision 3, the agency may negotiate a payment not to exceed \$494.91 for other services necessary to provide room and board if the residence is licensed by or registered by the Department of Health, or licensed by the Department of Human Services to provide services in addition to room and board, and if the provider of services is not also concurrently receiving funding for services for a recipient in the residence under the following programs or funding sources: (1) home and community-based waiver services under chapter 256S or section 256B.0913, 256B.092, or 256B.49; (2) personal care assistance under section 256B.0659; (3) community first services and supports under section 256B.85; or (4) services for adults with mental illness grants under section 245.73. If funding is available for other necessary services through a home and community-based waiver under chapter 256S, or section 256B.0913, 256B.092, or 256B.49; personal care assistance services under section 256B.0659; community first services and supports under section 256B.85; or services for adults with mental illness grants under section 245.73, then the housing support rate is limited to the rate set in subdivision 1. Unless otherwise provided in law, in no case may the supplementary service rate exceed \$494.91. The registration and licensure requirement does not apply to establishments which are exempt from state licensure because they are located on Indian reservations and for which the tribe has prescribed health and safety requirements. Service payments under this section may be prohibited under rules to prevent the supplanting of federal funds with state funds.

(b) The commissioner is authorized to make cost-neutral transfers from the housing support fund for beds under this section to other funding programs administered by the department after consultation with the agency in which the affected beds are located. The commissioner may also make cost-neutral transfers from the housing support fund to agencies for beds permanently removed from the housing support census under a plan submitted by the agency and approved by the commissioner. The commissioner shall report the amount of any transfers under this provision annually to the legislature.

(e) (b) Agencies must not negotiate supplementary service rates with providers of housing support that are licensed as board and lodging with special services and that do not encourage

477.1

477.2

477.3

477.6

477.7

477.8

477.9

477.10

477.11

477.12

477.13

477.14

477 15

477.16

477.17

477.18

477.20

477.21

477.22

477.23

477.24

477.25

477.26

477.27

477.28

477.29

477.30

477.31

477.32

a policy of sobriety on their premises and make referrals to available community services 478.1 for volunteer and employment opportunities for residents. 478.2 Sec. 76. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 256I.05, subdivision 11, is amended 478.3 to read: 478.4 Subd. 11. Transfer of emergency shelter funds Cost-neutral transfers from the 478.5 housing support fund. (a) The commissioner is authorized to make cost-neutral transfers 478.6 478.7 from the housing support fund for beds under this section to other funding programs administered by the department after consultation with the agency in which the affected 478.8 478.9 beds are located. (b) The commissioner may also make cost-neutral transfers from the housing support 478.10 fund to agencies for beds removed from the housing support census under a plan submitted 478.11 by the agency and approved by the commissioner. 478.12 (a) (c) The commissioner shall make a cost-neutral transfer of funding from the housing 478.13 support fund to the agency for emergency shelter beds removed from the housing support census under a biennial plan submitted by the agency and approved by the commissioner. 478.15 478.16 Plans submitted under this paragraph must include anticipated and actual outcomes for persons experiencing homelessness in emergency shelters. 478.17 478.18 The plan (d) Plans submitted under paragraph (b) or (c) must describe: (1) anticipated and actual outcomes for persons experiencing homelessness in emergency shelters; (2) 478.19 improved efficiencies in administration; $\frac{(3)}{(2)}$ requirements for individual eligibility; and 478.20

and actual outcomes for persons experiencing homelessness in emergency shelters; (2) improved efficiencies in administration; (3) (2) requirements for individual eligibility; and (4) (3) plans for quality assurance monitoring and quality assurance outcomes. The commissioner shall review the agency plan plans to monitor implementation and outcomes at least biennially, and more frequently if the commissioner deems necessary.

(b) The (e) Funding under paragraph (a) (b), (c), or (d) may be used for the provision of room and board or supplemental services according to section 256I.03, subdivisions 14a and 14b. Providers must meet the requirements of section 256I.04, subdivisions 2a to 2f. Funding must be allocated annually, and the room and board portion of the allocation shall be adjusted according to the percentage change in the housing support room and board rate. The room and board portion of the allocation shall be determined at the time of transfer. The commissioner or agency may return beds to the housing support fund with 180 days' notice, including financial reconciliation.

478.21

478.22

Sec. 77. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260E.30, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

- Subd. 3. **Nonmaltreatment mistake.** (a) If paragraph (b) applies, rather than making a determination of substantiated maltreatment by the individual, the commissioner of human services shall determine that a nonmaltreatment mistake was made by the individual.
- (b) A nonmaltreatment mistake occurs when:

479.2

479.3

- 479.6 (1) at the time of the incident, the individual was performing duties identified in the eenter's child care program plan required under Minnesota Rules, part 9503.0045;
- 479.8 (2) (1) the individual has not been determined responsible for a similar incident that resulted in a finding of maltreatment for at least seven years;
- 479.10 (3) (2) the individual has not been determined to have committed a similar nonmaltreatment mistake under this paragraph for at least four years;
- 479.12 (4) (3) any injury to a child resulting from the incident, if treated, is treated only with remedies that are available over the counter, whether ordered by a medical professional or not; and
- 479.15 (5) (4) except for the period when the incident occurred, the facility and the individual providing services were both in compliance with all licensing and certification requirements relevant to the incident.
- (c) This subdivision only applies to child care centers <u>certified under chapter 245H and</u> licensed under Minnesota Rules, chapter 9503.
- EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective October 1, 2024.
- Sec. 78. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260E.33, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2. Request for reconsideration. (a) Except as provided under subdivision 5, an 479.22 individual or facility that the commissioner of human services, a local welfare agency, or 479.23 the commissioner of education determines has maltreated a child, an interested person acting 479.24 on behalf of the child, regardless of the determination, who contests the investigating agency's 479.25 final determination regarding maltreatment may request the investigating agency to reconsider 479.26 its final determination regarding maltreatment. The request for reconsideration must be 479.27 submitted in writing or submitted in the provider licensing and reporting hub to the 479.28 investigating agency within 15 calendar days after receipt of notice of the final determination regarding maltreatment or, if the request is made by an interested person who is not entitled 479.30 to notice, within 15 days after receipt of the notice by the parent or guardian of the child. 479.31 If mailed, the request for reconsideration must be postmarked and sent to the investigating 479.32

agency within 15 calendar days of the individual's or facility's receipt of the final determination. If the request for reconsideration is made by personal service, it must be received by the investigating agency within 15 calendar days after the individual's or facility's receipt of the final determination. Upon implementation of the provider licensing and reporting hub, the individual or facility must use the hub to request reconsideration. The reconsideration must be received by the commissioner within 15 calendar days of the individual's receipt of the notice of disqualification.

(b) An individual who was determined to have maltreated a child under this chapter and who was disqualified on the basis of serious or recurring maltreatment under sections 245C.14 and 245C.15 may request reconsideration of the maltreatment determination and the disqualification. The request for reconsideration of the maltreatment determination and the disqualification must be submitted within 30 calendar days of the individual's receipt of the notice of disqualification under sections 245C.16 and 245C.17. If mailed, the request for reconsideration of the maltreatment determination and the disqualification must be postmarked and sent to the investigating agency within 30 calendar days of the individual's receipt of the maltreatment determination and notice of disqualification. If the request for reconsideration is made by personal service, it must be received by the investigating agency within 30 calendar days after the individual's receipt of the notice of disqualification.

480.19 Sec. 79. <u>DIRECTION TO COMMISSIONER OF HUMAN SERVICES; FAMILY</u> 480.20 CHILD FOSTER CARE CONTINUOUS LICENSES.

The commissioner of human services shall develop a continuous license process for family child foster care licenses. The continuous license process shall be incorporated into the development of the electronic licensing inspection checklist information and provider licensing and reporting hub for family child foster care.

480.25 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2024.

480.26 Sec. 80. **REVISOR INSTRUCTION.**

The revisor of statutes shall renumber Minnesota Statutes, section 256D.21, as Minnesota Statutes, section 261.004.

480.29 Sec. 81. **REPEALER.**

480.1

480.2

480.3

480.4

480.5

480.6

480.7

480.8

480.9

480.10

480.11

480.12

480.13

480.14

480.15

480.16

480.17

- 480.30 (a) Minnesota Statutes 2022, sections 245C.125; 256D.19, subdivisions 1 and 2; 256D.20, subdivisions 1, 2, 3, and 4; and 256D.23, subdivisions 1, 2, and 3, are repealed.
- (b) Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 245C.08, subdivision 2, is repealed.

	04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2
--	-------------------	---------	-----------	------------

(c) Minnesota Rules, parts 9502.0425, subparts 5 and 10; and 9545.0805, subpart 1, are repealed.

EFFECTIVE DATE. The repeal of Minnesota Rules, part 9545.0805, subpart 1, is effective July 1, 2024. Except for the repeal of Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245C.125, paragraph (a) is effective the day following final enactment.

481.6 **ARTICLE 19**

481.1

481.2

481.3

481.4

481.5

481.8

481.9

481.10

481.12

481.13

481.14

481.15

481.16

481.18

481.19

481.20

481.21

481.22

481.23

481.24

481.25

481.26

481.27

481.28

481.29

481.30

481.31

481.32

481.33

481.7 MISCELLANEOUS

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 16A.055, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:

Subd. 1a. Additional duties Program evaluation and organizational development services. The commissioner may assist state agencies by providing analytical, statistical, program evaluation using experimental or quasi-experimental design, and organizational development services to state agencies in order to assist the agency to achieve the agency's mission and to operate efficiently and effectively. For purposes of this section, "experimental design" means a method of evaluating the impact of a service that uses random assignment to assign participants into groups that respectively receive the studied service and those that receive service as usual, so that any difference in outcomes found at the end of the evaluation can be attributed to the studied service; and "quasi-experimental design" means a method of evaluating the impact of a service that uses strategies other than random assignment to establish statistically similar groups that respectively receive the service and those that receive service as usual, so that any difference in outcomes found at the end of the evaluation can be attributed to the studied service.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 16A.055, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

Subd. 1b. Consultation to develop performance measures for grants. (a) The commissioner must, in consultation with the commissioners of health, human services, and children, youth, and families, develop an ongoing consultation schedule to create, review, and revise, as necessary, performance measures, data collection, and program evaluation plans for all state-funded grants administered by the commissioners of health, human services, and children, youth, and families, that distribute at least \$1,000,000 annually.

(b) Following the development of the ongoing consultation schedule under paragraph

(a), the commissioner and the commissioner of the administering agency must conduct a

grant program consultation in accordance with the ongoing consultation schedule. Each

grant program consultation must include a review of performance measures, data collection,

program evaluation plans, and reporting for each grant program. Following each consultation, 482.1 the commissioner and the commissioner of the administering agency may revise evaluation 482.2 482.3 metrics of a grant program. The commissioner may provide continuing support to the grant program in accordance with subdivision 1a. 482.4 Sec. 3. [137.095] EVIDENCE IN SUPPORT OF APPROPRIATION. 482.5 Subdivision 1. Written report. Prior to the introduction of a bill proposing to appropriate 482.6 money to the Board of Regents of the University of Minnesota to benefit the University of 482.7 Minnesota's health sciences programs, the proponents of the bill must submit a written 482.8 482.9 report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over higher education and health and human services policy and finance setting 482.10 out the information required by this section. The University of Minnesota's health sciences 482.11 programs include the schools of medicine, nursing, public health, pharmacy, dentistry, and veterinary medicine. 482.13 482.14 Subd. 2. Contents of report. The report required under this section must include the following information as specifically as possible: 482.15 482.16 (1) the dollar amount requested; (2) how the requested dollar amount was calculated; 482.17 482.18 (3) the necessity for the appropriation's purpose to be funded by public funds; (4) a funds flow analysis supporting the necessity analysis required by clause (3); 482.19 (5) University of Minnesota budgeting considerations and decisions impacting the 482.20 necessity analysis required by clause (3); 482.21 (6) all goals, outcomes, and purposes of the appropriation; 482.22 (7) performance measures as defined by the University of Minnesota that the University 482.23 of Minnesota will utilize to ensure the funds are dedicated to the successful achievement 482.24 of the goals, outcomes, and purposes identified in clause (6); and 482.25 (8) the extent to which the appropriation advances recruitment from, and training for 482.26 and retention of, health professionals from and in greater Minnesota and from underserved 482.27 482.28 communities in metropolitan areas. 482.29 Subd. 3. Certifications for academic health. A report submitted under this section must include, in addition to the information listed in subdivision 2, a certification, by the 482.30 University of Minnesota Vice President and Budget Director, that: 482.31

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

483.1	(1) the appropriation will not be used to cover academic health clinical revenue deficits;
483.2	(2) the goals, outcomes, and purposes of the appropriation are aligned with state goals
483.3	for population health improvement; and
483.4	(3) the appropriation is aligned with the University of Minnesota's strategic plan for its
483.5	health sciences programs, including but not limited to shared goals and strategies for the
483.6	health professional schools.
483.7	Subd. 4. Right to request. The chair of a standing committee in either house of the
483.8	legislature may request and obtain the reports required under this section from the chair of
483.9	a legislative committee with jurisdiction over higher education or health and human services
483.10	policy and finance.
483.11	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.
483.12	Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 142A.03, is amended by adding a
483.13	subdivision to read:
483.14	Subd. 2a. Grant consultation. The commissioner must consult with the commissioner
483.15	of management and budget to create, review, and revise grant program performance measures
483.16	and to evaluate grant programs administered by the commissioner in accordance with section
483.17	16A.055, subdivisions 1a and 1b.
483.18	Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144.05, is amended by adding a subdivision to
483.19	
483.20	Subd. 8. Grant consultation. The commissioner must consult with the commissioner
483.21	of management and budget to create, review, and revise grant program performance measures
483.22	and to evaluate grant programs administered by the commissioner in accordance with section
483.23	16A.055, subdivisions 1a and 1b.
483.24	Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144.292, subdivision 6, is amended to read:
483.25	Subd. 6. Cost. (a) When a patient requests a copy of the patient's record for purposes of
483.26	reviewing current medical care, the provider must not charge a fee.
483.27	(b) When a provider or its representative makes copies of patient records upon a patient's
483.28	request under this section, the provider or its representative may charge the patient or the
483.29	patient's representative no more than 75 cents per page, plus \$10 for time spent retrieving
483.30	and copying the records, unless other law or a rule or contract provide for a lower maximum
483 31	charge. This limitation does not apply to x-rays. The provider may charge a patient no more

than the actual cost of reproducing x-rays, plus no more than \$10 for the time spent retrieving 484.1 and copying the x-rays the following amount, unless other law or a rule or contract provide 484.2 484.3 for a lower maximum charge: (1) for paper copies, \$1 per page, plus \$10 for time spent retrieving and copying the 484.4 484.5 records; (2) for x-rays, a total of \$30 for retrieving and reproducing x-rays; and 484.6 484.7 (3) for electronic copies, a total of \$20 for retrieving the records. (c) The respective maximum charges of 75 cents per page and \$10 for time provided in 484.8 this subdivision are in effect for calendar year 1992 and may be adjusted annually each 484.9 calendar year as provided in this subdivision. The permissible maximum charges shall 484.10 change each year by an amount that reflects the change, as compared to the previous year, 484.11 in the Consumer Price Index for all Urban Consumers, Minneapolis-St. Paul (CPI-U), 484.12 published by the Department of Labor. For any copies of paper records provided under 484.13 paragraph (b), clause (1), a provider or the provider's representative may not charge more 484.14 than a total of: 484.15 (1) \$10 if there are no records available; 484.16 (2) \$30 for copies of records of up to 25 pages; 484.17 (3) \$50 for copies of records of up to 100 pages; 484.18 (4) \$50, plus an additional 20 cents per page for pages 101 and above; or 484.19 (5) \$500 for any request. 484.20 (d) A provider or its representative may charge the a \$10 retrieval fee, but must not 484.21 charge a per page fee or x-ray fee to provide copies of records requested by a patient or the 484.22 patient's authorized representative if the request for copies of records is for purposes of 484.23 484.24 appealing a denial of Social Security disability income or Social Security disability benefits under title II or title XVI of the Social Security Act; except that no fee shall be charged to 484.25 a patient who is receiving public assistance, or to a patient who is represented by an attorney 484.26 on behalf of a civil legal services program or a volunteer attorney program based on 484.27 indigency. Notwithstanding the foregoing, a provider or its representative must not charge 484.28 a fee, including a retrieval fee, to provide copies of records requested by a patient or the 484.29 patient's authorized representative if the request for copies of records is for purposes of 484.30 appealing a denial of Social Security disability income or Social Security disability benefits 484.31 under title II or title XVI of the Social Security Act when the patient is receiving public 484.32

484.33

assistance, represented by an attorney on behalf of a civil legal services program, or

04/16/24 06:07 pm CC	DUNSEL AHI	IL/NH/TG SCS469	9A-2
----------------------	------------	-----------------	------

485.1	represented by a volunteer attorney program based on indigency. The patient or the patient's
485.2	representative must submit one of the following to show that they are entitled to receive
485.3	records without charge under this paragraph:
485.4	(1) a public assistance statement from the county or state administering assistance;
485.5	(2) a request for records on the letterhead of the civil legal services program or volunteer
485.6	attorney program based on indigency; or
485.7	(3) a benefits statement from the Social Security Administration.
485.8	For the purpose of further appeals, a patient may receive no more than two medical record
485.9	updates without charge, but only for medical record information previously not provided.
485.10	For purposes of this paragraph, a patient's authorized representative does not include units
485.11	of state government engaged in the adjudication of Social Security disability claims.
485.12	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.
485.13	Sec. 7. [144.2925] CONSTRUCTION.
485.14	Sections 144.291 to 144.298 shall be construed to protect the privacy of a patient's health
485.15	records in a more stringent manner than provided in Code of Federal Regulations, title 45,
485.16	part 164. For purposes of this section, "more stringent" has the meaning given to that term
485.17	in Code of Federal Regulations, title 45, section 160.202, with respect to a use or disclosure
485.18	or the need for express legal permission from an individual to disclose individually
485.19	identifiable health information.
485.20	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
485.21	Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144.293, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
485.22	Subd. 2. Patient consent to release of records. A provider, or a person who receives
485.23	health records from a provider, may not release a patient's health records to a person without:
485.24	(1) a signed and dated consent from the patient or the patient's legally authorized
485.25	representative authorizing the release;
485.26	(2) specific authorization in Minnesota law; or
485.27	(3) a representation from a provider that holds a signed and dated consent from the
485.28	patient authorizing the release.
485.29	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment and
485.30	applies to health records released on or after that date.

04/16/24 06:0 / pm	.6/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699
--------------------	----------------	---------	-----------	---------

Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144.293, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

- Subd. 4. **Duration of consent.** Except as provided in this section, a consent is valid for
- one year or for a period specified in the consent or for a different period provided by
- 486.4 Minnesota law.
- 486.5 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment and
- applies to health records released on or after that date.
- Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144.293, subdivision 9, is amended to read:
- Subd. 9. **Documentation of release.** (a) In cases where a provider releases health records
- without patient consent as authorized by Minnesota law, the release must be documented
- in the patient's health record. In the case of a release under section 144.294, subdivision 2,
- 486.11 the documentation must include the date and circumstances under which the release was
- made, the person or agency to whom the release was made, and the records that were released.
- (b) When a health record is released using a representation from a provider that holds a
- 486.14 consent from the patient, the releasing provider shall document:
- 486.15 (1) the provider requesting the health records;
- 486.16 (2) the identity of the patient;
- 486.17 (3) the health records requested; and
- 486.18 (4) the date the health records were requested.
- EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment and
- 486.20 applies to health records released on or after that date.
- Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144.293, subdivision 10, is amended to read:
- Subd. 10. Warranties regarding consents, requests, and disclosures. (a) When
- 486.23 requesting health records using consent, a person warrants that the consent:
- (1) contains no information known to the person to be false; and
- 486.25 (2) accurately states the patient's desire to have health records disclosed or that there is
- 486.26 specific authorization in Minnesota law.
- (b) When requesting health records using consent, or a representation of holding a
- 486.28 consent, a provider warrants that the request:
- (1) contains no information known to the provider to be false;

- (2) accurately states the patient's desire to have health records disclosed or that there is specific authorization in Minnesota law; and
- 487.3 (3) does not exceed any limits imposed by the patient in the consent.
- 487.4 (c) When disclosing health records, a person releasing health records warrants that the person:
- 487.6 (1) has complied with the requirements of this section regarding disclosure of health records;
- 487.8 (2) knows of no information related to the request that is false; and
- (3) has complied with the limits set by the patient in the consent.
- 487.10 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment and applies to health records released on or after that date.
- Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 152.22, subdivision 14, is amended to read:
- Subd. 14. **Qualifying medical condition.** "Qualifying medical condition" means a diagnosis of any of the following conditions:
- 487.15 (1) cancer, if the underlying condition or treatment produces one or more of the following:
- 487.16 (i) severe or chronic pain;
- 487.17 (ii) nausea or severe vomiting; or
- 487.18 (iii) cachexia or severe wasting;
- 487.19 (2) glaucoma;
- 487.20 (3) human immunodeficiency virus or acquired immune deficiency syndrome;
- 487.21 (4) Tourette's syndrome;
- 487.22 (5) amyotrophic lateral sclerosis;
- 487.23 (6) seizures, including those characteristic of epilepsy;
- 487.24 (7) severe and persistent muscle spasms, including those characteristic of multiple sclerosis;
- 487.26 (8) inflammatory bowel disease, including Crohn's disease;
- (9) terminal illness, with a probable life expectancy of under one year, if the illness or
- 487.28 its treatment produces one or more of the following:
- 487.29 (i) severe or chronic pain;

488.1	(11) nausea or severe vomiting; or
488.2	(iii) cachexia or severe wasting; or
488.3	(10) any other medical condition or its treatment approved by the commissioner that is
488.4	(i) approved by a patient's health care practitioner; or
488.5	(ii) if the patient is a veteran receiving care from the United States Department of Veterans
488.6	Affairs, certified under section 152.27, subdivision 3a.
488.7	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.
488.8	Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 152.27, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
488.9	Subd. 2. Commissioner duties. (a) The commissioner shall:
488.10	(1) give notice of the program to health care practitioners in the state who are eligible
488.11	to serve as health care practitioners and explain the purposes and requirements of the
488.12	program;
488.13	(2) allow each health care practitioner who meets or agrees to meet the program's
488.14	requirements and who requests to participate, to be included in the registry program to
488.15	collect data for the patient registry;
400 17	(3) provide explanatory information and assistance to each health care practitioner in
488.16 488.17	understanding the nature of therapeutic use of medical cannabis within program requirements
400.1/	understanding the nature of therapeutic use of medical calmaons within program requirements
488.18	(4) create and provide a certification to be used by a health care practitioner for the
488.19	practitioner to certify whether a patient has been diagnosed with a qualifying medical
488.20	condition and include in the certification an option for the practitioner to certify whether
488.21	the patient, in the health care practitioner's medical opinion, is developmentally or physically
488.22	disabled and, as a result of that disability, the patient requires assistance in administering
488.23	medical cannabis or obtaining medical cannabis from a distribution facility;
488.24	(5) supervise the participation of the health care practitioner in conducting patient
488.25	treatment and health records reporting in a manner that ensures stringent security and
488.26	record-keeping requirements and that prevents the unauthorized release of private data on
488.27	individuals as defined by section 13.02;
488.28	(6) develop safety criteria for patients with a qualifying medical condition as a
488.29	requirement of the patient's participation in the program, to prevent the patient from
488.30	undertaking any task under the influence of medical cannabis that would constitute negligence
488.31	or professional malpractice on the part of the patient; and

(7) conduct research and studies based on data from health records submitted to the registry program and submit reports on intermediate or final research results to the legislature and major scientific journals. The commissioner may contract with a third party to complete the requirements of this clause. Any reports submitted must comply with section 152.28, subdivision 2.

- (b) The commissioner may add a delivery method under section 152.22, subdivision 6, or add, remove, or modify a qualifying medical condition under section 152.22, subdivision 14, upon a petition from a member of the public or the task force on medical cannabis therapeutic research or as directed by law. The commissioner shall evaluate all petitions to add a qualifying medical condition or to remove or modify an existing qualifying medical condition submitted by the task force on medical cannabis therapeutic research or as directed by law and may make the addition, removal, or modification if the commissioner determines the addition, removal, or modification is warranted based on the best available evidence and research. If the commissioner wishes to add a delivery method under section 152.22, subdivision 6, or add or remove a qualifying medical condition under section 152.22, subdivision 14, the commissioner must notify the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative policy committees having jurisdiction over health and public safety of the addition or removal and the reasons for its addition or removal, including any written comments received by the commissioner from the public and any guidance received from the task force on medical cannabis research, by January 15 of the year in which the commissioner wishes to make the change. The change shall be effective on August 1 of that year, unless the legislature by law provides otherwise.
- EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.
- Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 152.27, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
- Subd. 3a. Application procedure for veterans. (a) Beginning July 1, 2024, the
 commissioner shall establish an alternative certification procedure for veterans to enroll in
 the patient registry program.
- (b) A patient who is a veteran receiving care from the United States Department of

 Veterans Affairs and is seeking to enroll in the registry program must submit a copy of the

 patient's veteran health identification card issued by the United States Department of Veterans

 Affairs and an application established by the commissioner to confirm that veteran has been

 diagnosed with a condition that may benefit from the therapeutic use of medical cannabis.
- EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.

489.1

489.2

489.3

489.4

489.5

489.6

489.7

489.8

489.9

489.10

489.11

489.12

489.13

489.14

489.15

489.16

489.17

489.18

489.19

489.20

489.21

Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 152.27, subdivision 6, is amended to read:

Subd. 6. **Patient enrollment.** (a) After receipt of a patient's application, application fees, and signed disclosure, the commissioner shall enroll the patient in the registry program and issue the patient and patient's registered designated caregiver or parent, legal guardian, or spouse, if applicable, a registry verification. The commissioner shall approve or deny a patient's application for participation in the registry program within 30 days after the commissioner receives the patient's application and application fee. The commissioner may approve applications up to 60 days after the receipt of a patient's application and application fees until January 1, 2016. A patient's enrollment in the registry program shall only be denied if the patient:

- (1) does not have certification from a health care practitioner<u>or</u>, if the patient is a veteran receiving care from the United States Department of Veterans Affairs, the documentation required under subdivision 3a that the patient has been diagnosed with a qualifying medical condition;
- 490.15 (2) has not signed and returned the disclosure form required under subdivision 3, 490.16 paragraph (c), to the commissioner;
- 490.17 (3) does not provide the information required;
- 490.18 (4) has previously been removed from the registry program for violations of section 490.19 152.30 or 152.33; or
- 490.20 (5) provides false information.

490.1

490.2

490.3

490.4

490.5

490.6

490.7

490.8

490.9

- (b) The commissioner shall give written notice to a patient of the reason for denying enrollment in the registry program.
- (c) Denial of enrollment into the registry program is considered a final decision of the commissioner and is subject to judicial review under the Administrative Procedure Act pursuant to chapter 14.
- (d) A patient's enrollment in the registry program may only be revoked upon the death of the patient or if a patient violates a requirement under section 152.30 or 152.33.
- (e) The commissioner shall develop a registry verification to provide to the patient, the health care practitioner identified in the patient's application, and to the manufacturer. The registry verification shall include:
- 490.31 (1) the patient's name and date of birth;
- 490.32 (2) the patient registry number assigned to the patient; and

(3) the name and date of birth of the patient's registered designated caregiver, if any, or the name of the patient's parent, legal guardian, or spouse if the parent, legal guardian, or spouse will be acting as a caregiver.

- **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2024.
- Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245.096, is amended to read:
 - 245.096 CHANGES TO GRANT PROGRAMS.

491.1

491.2

491.3

491.4

491.6

- 491.7 Prior to implementing any substantial changes to a grant funding formula disbursed
 491.8 through allocations administered by the commissioner, the commissioner must provide a
 491.9 report on the nature of the changes, the effect the changes will have, whether any funding
 491.10 will change, and other relevant information, to the chairs and ranking minority members of
 491.11 the legislative committees with jurisdiction over human services. The report must be provided
 491.12 prior to the start of a regular session, and the proposed changes cannot be implemented until
 491.13 after the adjournment of that regular session.
- Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256.01, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
- Subd. 2c. **Grant consultation.** The commissioner must consult with the commissioner of management and budget to create, review, and revise grant program performance measures and to evaluate grant programs administered by the commissioner in accordance with section 16A.055, subdivisions 1a and 1b.
- 491.20 Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256.01, subdivision 41, is amended to read:
- Subd. 41. Reports on interagency agreements and intra-agency transfers. (a)
- 491.22 <u>Beginning July 1, 2024,</u> the commissioner of human services shall provide quarterly reports
- 491.23 to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction
- 491.24 over health and human services policy and finance on:
- 491.25 (1) interagency agreements or service-level agreements and any renewals or extensions
- 491.26 of existing interagency or service-level agreements with a state department under section
- 491.27 15.01, state agency under section 15.012, or the Department of Information Technology
- 491.28 Services, with a value of more than \$100,000, or related agreements with the same department
- 491.29 or agency with a cumulative value of more than \$100,000; and
- 491.30 (2) transfers of appropriations of more than \$100,000 between accounts within or between 491.31 agencies.

Article 19 Sec. 18.

The report must include the statutory citation authorizing the agreement, transfer or dollar amount, purpose, and effective date of the agreement, the duration of the agreement, and a copy of the agreement.

(b) This subdivision expires on December 31, 2034.

492.1

492.2

492.3

- Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256B.79, subdivision 6, is amended to read:
- Subd. 6. **Report.** (a) By January 31, 2021 2025, and every two years thereafter, the commissioner shall report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over health and human services policy and finance on the status and outcomes of the grant program. The report must:
- 492.10 (1) describe the capacity of collaboratives receiving grants under this section;
- 492.11 (2) contain aggregate information about enrollees served within targeted populations;
- 492.12 (3) describe the utilization of enhanced prenatal services;
- (4) for enrollees identified with maternal substance use disorders, describe the utilization of substance use treatment and dispositions of any child protection cases;
- 492.15 (5) contain data on outcomes within targeted populations and compare these outcomes to outcomes statewide, using standard categories of race and ethnicity; and
- 492.17 (6) include recommendations for continuing the program or sustaining improvements through other means.
- 492.19 (b) This subdivision expires on December 31, 2034.
- 492.20 Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256K.45, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2. **Homeless youth report.** (a) The commissioner shall prepare a biennial report,
- 492.22 beginning in February 2015 January 1, 2025, which provides meaningful information to
- 492.23 the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees having with
- 492.24 jurisdiction over the issue of homeless youth, that includes, but is not limited to: (1) a list
- 492.25 of the areas of the state with the greatest need for services and housing for homeless youth,
- 492.26 and the level and nature of the needs identified; (2) details about grants made, including
- shelter-linked youth mental health grants under section 256K.46; (3) the distribution of
- 492.28 funds throughout the state based on population need; (4) follow-up information, if available,
- on the status of homeless youth and whether they have stable housing two years after services
- 492.30 are provided; and (5) any other outcomes for populations served to determine the
- 492.31 effectiveness of the programs and use of funding.

(b) This subdivision expires on December 31, 2034.

Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 342.01, subdivision 63, is amended

- 493.3 to read:
- Subd. 63. Qualifying medical condition. "Qualifying medical condition" means a
- 493.5 diagnosis of any of the following conditions:
- 493.6 (1) Alzheimer's disease;
- 493.7 (2) autism spectrum disorder that meets the requirements of the fifth edition of the
- 493.8 Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders published by the American Psychiatric
- 493.9 Association;
- 493.10 (3) cancer, if the underlying condition or treatment produces one or more of the following:
- 493.11 (i) severe or chronic pain;
- 493.12 (ii) nausea or severe vomiting; or
- 493.13 (iii) cachexia or severe wasting;
- 493.14 (4) chronic motor or vocal tic disorder;
- 493.15 (5) chronic pain;
- 493.16 (6) glaucoma;
- 493.17 (7) human immunodeficiency virus or acquired immune deficiency syndrome;
- 493.18 (8) intractable pain as defined in section 152.125, subdivision 1, paragraph (c);
- 493.19 (9) obstructive sleep apnea;
- 493.20 (10) post-traumatic stress disorder;
- 493.21 (11) Tourette's syndrome;
- 493.22 (12) amyotrophic lateral sclerosis;
- 493.23 (13) seizures, including those characteristic of epilepsy;
- 493.24 (14) severe and persistent muscle spasms, including those characteristic of multiple
- 493.25 sclerosis;
- 493.26 (15) inflammatory bowel disease, including Crohn's disease;
- 493.27 (16) irritable bowel syndrome;
- 493.28 (17) obsessive-compulsive disorder;

494.1 (18) sickle cell diseas	se;
-------------------------------	-----

- 494.2 (19) terminal illness, with a probable life expectancy of under one year, if the illness or 494.3 its treatment produces one or more of the following:
- 494.4 (i) severe or chronic pain;
- 494.5 (ii) nausea or severe vomiting; or
- 494.6 (iii) cachexia or severe wasting; or
- 494.7 (20) any other medical condition or its treatment approved by the office that is:
- 494.8 (i) approved by a patient's health care practitioner; or
- 494.9 (ii) if the patient is a veteran receiving care from the United States Department of Veterans
- 494.10 Affairs, certified under section 342.52, subdivision 3...
- 494.11 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective March 1, 2025.
- Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 342.52, subdivision 3, is amended
- 494.13 to read:
- Subd. 3. **Application procedure for veterans.** (a) The Division of Medical Cannabis
- 494.15 office shall establish an alternative certification procedure for veterans who receive care
- 494.16 from the United States Department of Veterans Affairs to confirm that the veteran has been
- 494.17 diagnosed with a qualifying medical condition enroll in the patient registry program.
- 494.18 (b) A patient who is also a veteran receiving care from the United States Department of
- 494.19 Veterans Affairs and is seeking to enroll in the registry program must submit to the Division
- 494.20 of Medical Cannabis office a copy of the patient's veteran health identification card issued
- 494.21 by the United States Department of Veterans Affairs and an application established by the
- 494.22 Division of Medical Cannabis that includes the information identified in subdivision 2,
- 494.23 paragraph (a), and the additional information required by the Division of Medical Cannabis
- 494.24 to certify that the patient has been diagnosed with a qualifying medical condition office to
- 494.25 confirm that veteran has been diagnosed with a condition that may benefit from the
- 494.26 therapeutic use of medical cannabis.
- 494.27 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective March 1, 2025.

Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 342.53, is amended to read:

342.53 DUTIES OF OFFICE OF CANNABIS MANAGEMENT; REGISTRY

495.3 **PROGRAM.**

495.1

495.2

495.4

495.5

495.6

495.7

495.8

495.9

495.10

495.11

495.12

495.13

495.15

495.16

495.17

The office may add an allowable form of medical cannabinoid product, and may add or modify a qualifying medical condition upon its own initiative, upon a petition from a member of the public or from the Cannabis Advisory Council or as directed by law. The office must evaluate all petitions and must make the addition or modification if the office determines that the addition or modification is warranted by the best available evidence and research. If the office wishes to add an allowable form or add or modify a qualifying medical condition, the office must notify the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees and divisions with jurisdiction over health finance and policy by January 15 of the year in which the change becomes effective. In this notification, the office must specify the proposed addition or modification, the reasons for the addition or modification, any written comments received by the office from the public about the addition or modification, and any guidance received from the Cannabis Advisory Council. An addition or modification by the office under this subdivision becomes effective on August 1 of that year unless the legislature by law provides otherwise.

495.18 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective March 1, 2025.

- Sec. 24. Laws 2023, chapter 70, article 11, section 13, subdivision 8, is amended to read:
- Subd. 8. **Expiration.** This section expires June 30, 2027 2028.

495.21 Sec. 25. ANNUAL REPORT TO LEGISLATURE; USE OF APPROPRIATION

495.22 **FUNDS.**

- By December 15, 2025, and every year thereafter, the Board of Regents of the University
- 495.24 of Minnesota must submit a report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the
- 495.25 legislative committees with primary jurisdiction over higher education and health and human
- 495.26 services policy and finance on the use of all appropriations for the benefit of the University
- 495.27 of Minnesota's health sciences programs, including:
- 495.28 (1) material changes to the funds flow analysis required by Minnesota Statutes, section
- 495.29 137.095, subdivision 2, clause (4);
- 495.30 (2) changes to the University of Minnesota's anticipated uses of each appropriation;
- 495.31 (3) the results of the performance measures required by Minnesota Statutes, section
- 495.32 137.095, subdivision 2, clause (7); and

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2
07/10/27 00.0/ pm	COUNDLE	111L/1111/10	DCDTU//II

(4) current and anticipated achievement of the goals, outcomes, and purposes of each 496.1 496.2 appropriation. 496.3 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2024. Sec. 26. DIRECTION TO COMMISSIONER OF HEALTH; HEALTH 496.4 PROFESSIONS WORKFORCE ADVISORY COUNCIL. 496.5 Subdivision 1. Health professions workforce advisory council. The commissioner of 496.6 health, in consultation with the University of Minnesota and the Minnesota State HealthForce 496.7 Center of Excellence, shall provide recommendations to the legislature for the creation of 496.8 a health professions workforce advisory council to: 496.9 (1) research and advise the legislature and Minnesota Office of Higher Education on the 496.10 status of the health workforce who are in training and on the need for additional or different 496.11 training opportunities; 496.12 496.13 (2) provide information and analysis on health workforce needs and trends, upon request, to the legislature, any state department, or any other entity the advisory council deems 496.14 496.15 appropriate; (3) review and comment on legislation relevant to Minnesota's health workforce; and 496.16 (4) study and provide recommendations regarding the following: 496.17 (i) health workforce supply, including: 496.18 496.19 (A) employment trends and demand; (B) strategies that entities in Minnesota are using or may use to address health workforce 496.20 shortages, recruitment, and retention; and 496.21 (C) future investments to increase the supply of health care professionals, with particular 496.22 focus on critical areas of need within Minnesota; 496.23 (ii) options for training and educating the health workforce, including: 496.24 496.25 (A) increasing the diversity of health professions workers to reflect Minnesota's communities; 496.26 (B) addressing the maldistribution of primary, mental health, nursing, and dental providers 496.27 in greater Minnesota and in underserved communities in metropolitan areas; 496.28 (C) increasing interprofessional training and clinical practice; 496.29

04/16/24 06:07 pm	COUNSEL	AHL/NH/TG	SCS4699A-2

497.1	(D) addressing the need for increased quality faculty to train an increased workforce;
497.2	<u>and</u>
497.3	(E) developing advancement paths or career ladders for health care professionals;
497.4	(iii) increasing funding for strategies to diversify and address gaps in the health workforce,
497.5	including:
497.6	(A) increasing access to financing for graduate medical education;
497.7	(B) expanding pathway programs to increase awareness of the health care professions
497.8	among high school, undergraduate, and community college students, and engaging the
497.9	current health workforce in those programs;
497.10	(C) reducing or eliminating tuition for entry-level health care positions that offer
497.11	opportunities for future advancement in high-demand settings, and expanding other existing
497.12	financial support programs such as loan forgiveness and scholarship programs;
497.13	(D) incentivizing recruitment from greater Minnesota, and recruitment and retention for
497.14	providers practicing in greater Minnesota and in underserved communities in metropolitan
497.15	areas; and
497.16	(E) expanding existing programs, or investing in new programs, that provide wraparound
497.17	support services to existing health care workforce, especially people of color and
497.18	professionals from other underrepresented identities, to acquire training and advance within
497.19	the health care workforce; and
497.20	(iv) other Minnesota health workforce priorities as determined by the advisory council.
497.21	Subd. 2. Report to the legislature. On or before February 1, 2025, the commissioner
497.22	of health shall submit a report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative
497.23	committees with jurisdiction over health and human services and higher education finance
497.24	and policy with recommendations for the creation of a health professions workforce advisory
497.25	council as described in subdivision 1. The report must include recommendations regarding:
497.26	(1) membership of the advisory council;
497.27	(2) funding sources and estimated costs for the advisory council;
497.28	(3) existing sources of workforce data for the advisory council to perform its duties;
497.29	(4) necessity for and options to obtain new data for the advisory council to perform its
497.30	duties;
497.31	(5) additional duties of the advisory council;

- 498.1 (6) proposed legislation to establish the advisory council;
- 498.2 (7) similar health workforce advisory councils in other states; and
- 498.3 (8) advisory council reporting requirements."
- 498.4 Amend the title accordingly