

335 Randolph Avenue, Suite 260 St. Paul, MN 55102

Main Telephone: 612-617-2220 Hearing/Speech Relay: 1-800-627-3529

mft.board@state.mn.us

mn.gov/boards/marriage-and-family

RE: MN Board of Marriage and Family Therapy – Guest Licensure Bill

From: Jennifer Mohlenhoff, Executive Director

Date: February 16, 2024

- The MN Board of MFT's Guest Licensure bill creates a guest license which may be granted upon application to an LMFT (Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist) licensed in another jurisdiction who wishes to practice in Minnesota either in person or via telehealth for a limited period. Once issued, the guest license is valid for one year, with practice by the LMFT limited to no more than five (5) consecutive months.
- This bill brings the Board of MFT in line with its behavioral health regulatory board counterparts. The MFT bill is modeled after the MN Board of Psychology's guest licensure statute. The MN Board of Social Work also has a temporary license statute, and the MN Board of Behavioral Health and Therapy has a statutory provision allowing for temporary practice by a nonresident, licensed clinical counselor.
- An LMFT guest licensure applicant would be required to verify holding the LMFT license in another jurisdiction, may not be subject to any current disciplinary orders or complaint investigations, would be required to complete a fingerprint-based criminal background check, and must pay the guest license fee (\$150.00).
- The license is non-renewable, but the LMFT would be able to again apply for a guest license upon expiration of the prior one-year guest license.
- A guest license is intended to increase access to qualified, competent marriage and family therapy services for Minnesotans by allowing those holding the LMFT license in another jurisdiction to provide MFT services for a limited period. Individuals anticipated to receive services from a guest-licensed LMFT may include college students home for summer or school year breaks, people temporarily located in Minnesota for work or family reasons, or individuals who have permanently relocated to Minnesota while they transition from a prior LMFT to a Minnesota licensed mental health professional.
- The MFT fee statute is also amended to add the new guest license fee of \$150.00. (Minor technical changes to other fee provisions do not change or alter any existing fees.)