### Minnesota State Senate

Transportation Committee
Wednesday, April 3, 2024
3:00 PM, 1100 Minnesota Senate Bldg.

#### **Minutes**

<u>Present</u>: Senator D. Scott Dibble - Chair, Senator Kelly L. Morrison Vice Chair, Senator Liz Boldon, Senator Jim Carlson, Senator Julia E. Coleman, Senator Foung Hawj, Senator Jeff R. Howe, Senator John R. Jasinski, Senator Andrew R. Lang, Senator Jennifer A. McEwen

**Absent: No Members Absent** 

Chair D. Scott Dibble called the meeting to order at 3:05pm. After each agenda item, time was allowed for discussion and amendments before any committee action.

S.F. 4938: Senator McEwen: Zero-emission transit buses transition provisions and appropriation.

Senator Jennifer A McEwen presented S.F. 4938 - Zero-emission transit buses provisions and appropriation.

Senator McEwen moved the A1 amendment. Via voice vote, the motion prevailed, and the A1 amendment was adopted.

Testimony was heard from the following individuals:

- Anjali Bains, Coalition for Clean Transportation
- Sherry Munyon, MN Public Transit Assoc.
- Tim Marino
- Judd Schetnan, Metropolitan Council
- Brian Funk, Metro Transit

S.F.4938 was laid over as amended.

# <u>S.F. 4719:</u> Senator Dibble: Blue Line light rail transit extension antidisplacement community prosperity program establishment and appropriation.

Chair Dibble gave the gavel to Vice Chair Kelly L. Morrison for the duration of his presentation.

Chair Dibble presented S.F. 4719 - Blue Line light rail transit extension anti-displacement community prosperity program establishment and appropriation.

Chair Dibble moved the A1 amendment. Via voice vote, the motion prevailed, and the A1 amendment was adopted.

Testimony was heard from the following individuals:

- Jacob Frey, Minneapolis Mayor
- C. Terrance Anderson, UMN Center for Urban & Regional Affairs
- Finn McGarrity, Alliance for Metropolitan Stability
- Noelle Cirisan, MN350
- Karla Arredondo, Pueblos de Lucha y Esparanza
- Brandon Detvongsa, Lao Center of MN
- Irene Fernando, Hennepin County Commissioner, Board Chair
- Hollies Winston, Brooklyn Park Mayor

- Mia Parisian, Robbinsdale City Council Member
- · Jean Lee, Children's Hope International
- Tim Marino

Chair Dibble moved that S.F. 4719 pass and be referred to the Committee on State and Local Government and Veterans. This motion prevailed via voice vote.

Vice Chair Morrison returned the gavel to Chair Dibble.

#### S.F. 5142: Senator Jasinski: Autonomous ditch mowing program establishment.

Senator John R. Jasinski presented S.F. 5142 - Autonomous ditch mowing program establishment.

Testimony was heard from the following individuals:

- John Dukich, MnDOT
- Nancy Daubenberger, MnDOT Commissioner

Senator Jasinski moved the A3 amendment. The motion prevailed via voice vote and the A3 amendment was adopted.

Senator Jasinski moved the following oral amendment: On line 1.28, remove the word "determined." The motion prevailed via voice vote and the oral amendment was adopted.

S.F. 5142 was laid over as amended.

#### S.F. 4899: Senator Jasinski: Small cities assistance account appropriation.

Senator Jasinski presented S.F. 4899 - Small cities assistance account appropriation.

Senator Jasinski moved the A1 amendment. Via voice vote, the motion prevailed, and the A1 amendment was adopted.

Testimony was heard from the following individuals:

- Jon Hawkinson, Olivia Mayor (REMOTE)
- Jeffrey Dahl, Wayzata City Manager
- Cap O'Rourke, MN Small Cities
- Anne Finn, League of MN Cities

S.F. 4899 was laid over as amended.

### S.F. 3605: Senator Dibble: Local roads and bridges bond issuance and appropriation.

Chair Dibble gave the gavel to Vice Chair Morrison.

Chair Dibble presented S.F. 3605 - Local roads and bridges bond issuance and appropriation.

Chair Dibble moved the A1 amendment. The motion prevailed via voice vote and the A1 amendment was adopted.

Testimony was heard from the following individuals:

- Ryan Thilges, Minnesota County Engineers
- Margaret Donahoe, MN Transportation Alliance
- Steve Novak, MN Inter-County Assoc.
- Anne Finn, League of MN Cities

Chair Dibble moved that S.F. 3605 pass and be referred to the Committee on Capital Investment. Via voice vote, the motion prevailed.

## <u>S.F. 4267:</u> Senator Dibble: Metropolitan Council designing, constructing and funding certain aspects of bus rapid transit projects requirement.

Chair Dibble presented S.F. 4267 - Metropolitan Council designing, constructing, and funding certain aspects of bus rapid transit roads requirement.

Chair Dibble moved the A1 amendment. The motion prevailed via voice vote and the A1 amendment was adopted.

Testimony was heard from the following individuals:

- Lisa Cerney, Hennepin County Public Works
- Bryan Dodds, City of Minneapolis Public Works
- Judd Schetnan, Metropolitan Council
- Nick Thompson, Metro Transit
- Tim Marino

S.F. 4267 was laid over as amended.

### <u>S.F. 1625:</u> Senator Dibble: Commissioner of transportation requirement to be the responsible authority for light rail transit projects.

Chair Dibble presented S.F. 1625 - Commissioner of transportation requirement to be the responsible authority for light rail transit projects.

Senator Andrew R. Lang moved the A4 amendment. The motion prevailed via voice vote and the A4 amendment was adopted.

Testimony was heard from the following individuals:

• Nancy Daubenberger, MnDOT Commissioner

S.F. 1625 was laid over as amended.

Vice Chair Morrison adjourned the meeting at 6:09pm.

Senator Kelly L. Morrison, Vice Chair

Tely Monno

**Alex Will, Legislative Assistant**