
1.1 Senator .................... moves to amend S.F. No. 3944 as follows:​

1.2 Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:​

1.3 "ARTICLE 1​

1.4 DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION​

1.5 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 161.115, subdivision 116, is amended to read:​

1.6 Subd. 116. Route No. 185. Beginning at a point on Route No. 1 at Sandstone and Route​

1.7 No. 390, thence extending in a northeasterly direction to a point on Route No. 103 as herein​

1.8 established in Duluth.​

1.9 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day after the commissioner of​

1.10 transportation receives a copy of the agreement between the commissioner and the governing​

1.11 body of Pine County to transfer jurisdiction of a portion of Legislative Route No. 185 and​

1.12 notifies the revisor of statutes electronically or in writing that the conditions required to​

1.13 transfer the route have been satisfied.​

1.14 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 161.115, subdivision 117, is amended to read:​

1.15 Subd. 117. Route No. 186. Beginning at a point on Route No. 110 as herein established,​

1.16 thence extending in an easterly direction to a point on Route No. 185 as herein established​

1.17 at or near Askov 1 and Route No. 390; affording Isle, and Finlayson, and Askov, a reasonable​

1.18 means of communication each with the other and other places within the state.​

1.19 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day after the commissioner of​

1.20 transportation notifies the revisor of statutes electronically or in writing of the effective​

1.21 date.​

1.22 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 161.115, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

1.23 read:​

1.24 Subd. 272. Route No. 341. Beginning at a point on Route No. 1 at Sandstone, thence​

1.25 extending in a generally easterly direction to a point at or near the east bank of the Kettle​

1.26 River.​

1.27 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day after the commissioner of​

1.28 transportation notifies the revisor of statutes electronically or in writing of the effective​

1.29 date.​

1​Article 1 Sec. 3.​
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2.1 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 161.321, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

2.2 Subd. 2. Small targeted group business, small business; contract preferences. (a)​

2.3 The commissioner may award up to a six 12 percent preference in the amount bid for​

2.4 specified construction work to small targeted group businesses.​

2.5 (b) The commissioner may designate a contract for construction work for award only​

2.6 to small targeted group businesses if the commissioner determines that at least three small​

2.7 targeted group businesses are likely to bid.​

2.8 (c) The commissioner may award up to a four percent preference in the amount bid for​

2.9 specified construction work to small businesses located in an economically disadvantaged​

2.10 area as defined in section 16C.16, subdivision 7.​

2.11 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 161.321, subdivision 2b, is amended to read:​

2.12 Subd. 2b. Veteran-owned small business; contract preferences. (a) The commissioner​

2.13 may award up to a six 12 percent preference in the amount bid for specified construction​

2.14 work to veteran-owned small businesses, except when prohibited by the federal government​

2.15 as a condition of receiving federal funds. When a bid preference is provided under this​

2.16 section, the percentage of preference in bid amount under this subdivision may not be less​

2.17 than the percentage of bid preference provided to any small targeted group business under​

2.18 subdivision 2.​

2.19 (b) When a bid preference is provided under this subdivision, the commissioner must​

2.20 be as inclusive as possible in specifying contracts for construction work, as well as for​

2.21 construction-related professional and technical services, available under this bid preference​

2.22 program for veteran-owned small businesses. The term "construction" must be given broad​

2.23 meaning for purposes of specifying and letting contracts for veteran-owned small businesses​

2.24 and must include, but is not limited to, preplanning, planning, and all other​

2.25 construction-related professional and technical services.​

2.26 (c) When a bid preference is provided under this subdivision, the commissioner must​

2.27 strive to ensure that contracts will be awarded on a proportional basis with contracts awarded​

2.28 under subdivision 2.​

2.29 (d) The commissioner may designate a contract for construction work for award only​

2.30 to veteran-owned small businesses, if the commissioner determines that at least three​

2.31 veteran-owned small businesses are likely to bid.​

2​Article 1 Sec. 5.​
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3.1 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 169.19, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

3.2 Subd. 2. U-turn. No vehicle shall be turned The operator of a vehicle must not turn to​

3.3 proceed in the opposite direction upon any curve, or upon the approach to or near the crest​

3.4 of a grade, where the vehicle cannot be seen by the driver operator of any other vehicle​

3.5 approaching from either direction within 1,000 feet,. nor shall the driver The operator of a​

3.6 vehicle must not turn the vehicle to proceed in the opposite direction unless the movement​

3.7 can be made safely and without interfering with other traffic. When necessary to​

3.8 accommodate vehicle configuration on The operator of a vehicle is permitted to make a​

3.9 right-hand turn into the farthest lane of a roadway with two or more lanes in the same​

3.10 direction, a driver may turn the vehicle into the farthest lane and temporarily use the shoulder​

3.11 to make a U-turn in order to make a U-turn at a reduced-conflict intersection if it is safe to​

3.12 do so.​

3.13 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 169.34, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

3.14 Subdivision 1. Prohibitions. (a) No person shall A person must not stop, stand, or park​

3.15 a vehicle, except when necessary to avoid conflict with other traffic or in compliance with​

3.16 the directions of a police officer or traffic-control device, in any of the following places:​

3.17 (1) on a sidewalk;​

3.18 (2) in front of a public or private driveway;​

3.19 (3) within an intersection;​

3.20 (4) within ten feet of a fire hydrant;​

3.21 (5) on a crosswalk;​

3.22 (6) within 20 feet of a crosswalk at an intersection;​

3.23 (7) within 30 feet upon the approach to any flashing beacon, stop sign, or traffic-control​

3.24 signal located at the side of a roadway;​

3.25 (8) between a safety zone and the adjacent curb or within 30 feet of points on the curb​

3.26 immediately opposite the ends of a safety zone, unless a different length is indicated by​

3.27 signs or markings;​

3.28 (9) (8) within 50 feet of the nearest rail of a railroad crossing;​

3.29 (10) (9) within 20 feet of the driveway entrance to any fire station and on the side of a​

3.30 street opposite the entrance to any fire station within 75 feet of said entrance when properly​

3.31 signposted;​

3​Article 1 Sec. 7.​
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4.1 (11) (10) alongside or opposite any street excavation or obstruction when such stopping,​

4.2 standing, or parking would obstruct traffic;​

4.3 (12) (11) on the roadway side of any vehicle stopped or parked at the edge or curb of a​

4.4 street;​

4.5 (13) (12) upon any bridge or other elevated structure upon a highway or within a highway​

4.6 tunnel, except as otherwise provided by ordinance;​

4.7 (14) (13) within a bicycle lane, except when posted signs permit parking; or​

4.8 (15) (14) at any place where official signs prohibit stopping.​

4.9 (b) No person shall move a vehicle not owned by such person into any prohibited area​

4.10 or away from a curb such distance as is unlawful.​

4.11 (c) No person shall A person must not, for camping purposes, leave or park a travel​

4.12 trailer on or within the limits of any highway or on any highway right-of-way, except where​

4.13 signs are erected designating the place as a campsite.​

4.14 (d) No person shall A person must not stop or park a vehicle on a street or highway when​

4.15 directed or ordered to proceed by any peace officer invested by law with authority to direct,​

4.16 control, or regulate traffic.​

4.17 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 169.444, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

4.18 Subd. 4. Exception for separated roadway. (a) A person driving a vehicle on a street​

4.19 or highway with separated roadways is not required to stop the vehicle when approaching​

4.20 or meeting a school bus that is on a different roadway.​

4.21 (b) "Separated roadway" means a road that is separated from a parallel road by a barrier,​

4.22 safety isle, or safety zone median.​

4.23 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 169.56, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

4.24 read:​

4.25 Subd. 6. Motorcycle ground light. Notwithstanding section 169.64, subdivision 4a, a​

4.26 motorcycle may be equipped with white ground lights mounted under the motorcycle if:​

4.27 (1) the bulbs or strips are not visible to other vehicles; and​

4.28 (2) the lights are aimed as to project a steady, nonflashing beam not more than six feet​

4.29 in radius directly onto the roadway and illuminate an area around the motorcycle.​

4​Article 1 Sec. 9.​
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5.1 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 169.80, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

5.2 read:​

5.3 Subd. 4. Nondivisible load or vehicle. (a) "Nondivisible load" or "nondivisible vehicle"​

5.4 means any load or vehicle exceeding the applicable length, width, height, or weight limits​

5.5 set forth in this chapter, which, if separated into smaller loads or vehicles would:​

5.6 (1) compromise the intended use of the load or vehicle;​

5.7 (2) destroy the value of the load or vehicle; or​

5.8 (3) require more than eight work hours to dismantle using appropriate equipment. The​

5.9 applicant for a nondivisible load permit has the burden of proof as to the number of work​

5.10 hours required to dismantle the load.​

5.11 (b) A vehicle transporting a divisible load may simultaneously transport multiple items​

5.12 unless doing so would require an additional permit because the vehicle, when loaded with​

5.13 multiple items, would exceed the limits set forth in this chapter.​

5.14 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 169.829, is amended by adding a subdivision​

5.15 to read:​

5.16 Subd. 5. Sewage septic tank trucks. (a) For the purposes of this subdivision, "emergency​

5.17 pumping services" means a sewage septic tank truck's response to:​

5.18 (1) uncontrolled and unintended seepage of the contents of a septic system into the​

5.19 ground, around a structure, or into a body of surface water;​

5.20 (2) damage or malfunction to a septic system that requires removal of the contents of​

5.21 the septic system for repair or maintenance; or​

5.22 (3) a condition that creates an immediate hazard to the health, welfare, or safety of a​

5.23 person.​

5.24 (b) When a sewage septic tank truck used exclusively to transport sewage from septic​

5.25 or holding tanks is performing emergency pumping services, sections 169.823 and 169.826​

5.26 to 169.828 do not apply, and the weight limitations under section 169.824 are increased by​

5.27 ten percent when transporting sewage from a single point of service to the point of unloading.​

5.28 (c) Notwithstanding section 169.824, subdivision 1, paragraph (d); 169.826, subdivision​

5.29 3; or any other law to the contrary, a permit is not required to operate a vehicle under this​

5.30 subdivision.​

5​Article 1 Sec. 11.​
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6.1 (d) The seasonal weight increases under section 169.826, subdivision 1, do not apply to​

6.2 a vehicle operated under this subdivision.​

6.3 (e) A vehicle operated under this subdivision is subject to bridge load limits posted under​

6.4 section 169.84.​

6.5 (f) A vehicle operated under this section must not be operated with a load that exceeds​

6.6 the tire manufacturer's recommended load, the manufacturer's gross vehicle weight rating​

6.7 as affixed to the vehicle, or other certification of gross vehicle weight rating under Code of​

6.8 Federal Regulations, title 49, sections 567.4 to 567.7.​

6.9 (g) The exceptions under this subdivision do not apply to a sewage septic tank truck's​

6.10 operation on an interstate highway.​

6.11 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective June 1, 2024.​

6.12 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 169.87, subdivision 6, is amended to read:​

6.13 Subd. 6. Recycling and, garbage, and waste collection vehicles. (a) Except as provided​

6.14 in paragraph (b) While a vehicle is engaged in the type of collection the vehicle was designed​

6.15 to perform, weight restrictions imposed under subdivisions 1 and 2 do not apply to:​

6.16 (1) a vehicle that does not exceed 20,000 pounds per single axle and is designed and​

6.17 used exclusively for recycling, while engaged in recycling operating in a political subdivision​

6.18 that mandates curbside recycling pickup.;​

6.19 (b) Weight restrictions imposed under subdivisions 1 and 2 do not apply to: (1) (2) a​

6.20 vehicle that does not exceed 14,000 pounds per single axle and is used exclusively for​

6.21 recycling as described in paragraph (a);​

6.22 (2) (3) a vehicle that does not exceed 14,000 pounds per single axle and is designed and​

6.23 used exclusively for collecting mixed municipal solid waste, as defined in section 115A.03,​

6.24 subdivision 21, while engaged in such collection; or​

6.25 (3) (4) a portable toilet service vehicle that does not exceed 14,000 pounds per single​

6.26 axle or 26,000 pounds gross vehicle weight, and is designed and used exclusively for​

6.27 collecting liquid waste from portable toilets, while engaged in such collection; or​

6.28 (5) a sewage septic tank truck while performing emergency pumping services as defined​

6.29 in section 169.829, subdivision 5, that does not exceed 20,000 pounds per single axle and​

6.30 is designed and used exclusively to haul sewage from septic or holding tanks.​

6.31 (c) (b) Notwithstanding section 169.80, subdivision 1, a violation of the owner or operator​

6.32 of a vehicle that violates the weight restrictions imposed under subdivisions 1 and 2 by a​

6​Article 1 Sec. 12.​
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7.1 vehicle designed and used exclusively for recycling while engaged in recycling in a political​

7.2 subdivision that mandates curbside recycling pickup while engaged in such collection, by​

7.3 a vehicle that is designed and used exclusively for collecting mixed municipal solid waste​

7.4 as defined in section 115A.03, subdivision 21, while engaged in such collection, or by a​

7.5 portable toilet service vehicle that is designed and used exclusively for collecting liquid​

7.6 waste from portable toilets, while engaged in such collection, is not subject to criminal​

7.7 penalties but is subject to a civil penalty for excess weight under section 169.871 if the​

7.8 vehicle meets the requirements under paragraph (a) and is engaged in the type of collection​

7.9 the vehicle was designed to perform.​

7.10 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective June 1, 2024.​

7.11 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 174.03, subdivision 12, is amended to read:​

7.12 Subd. 12. Trunk highway performance, resiliency, and sustainability. (a) The​

7.13 commissioner must implement performance measures and annual targets for the trunk​

7.14 highway system in order to construct resilient infrastructure, enhance the project selection​

7.15 for all transportation modes, improve economic security, and achieve the state transportation​

7.16 goals established in section 174.01.​

7.17 (b) At a minimum, the transportation planning process must include:​

7.18 (1) an inventory of transportation assets, including but not limited to bridge, pavement,​

7.19 geotechnical, pedestrian, bicycle, and transit asset categories;​

7.20 (2) lag (resulting), and where practicable lead (predictive), establishment of statewide​

7.21 performance measures and annual targets, reporting of performance measure results, and​

7.22 where possible, performance forecasts that are:​

7.23 (i) statewide and, where data allow, district-specific;​

7.24 (ii) for assets in each asset category specified in clause (1) for a period of up to 60 years;​

7.25 and​

7.26 (iii) identified in collaboration with the public;​

7.27 (3) gap identification and an explanation of the difference between performance targets​

7.28 and current status; and​

7.29 (4) life cycle assessment and corridor risk assessment as part of asset management​

7.30 programs in each district of the department.​

7.31 (c) At a minimum, the ten-year capital highway investment plan in each district of the​

7.32 department must:​

7​Article 1 Sec. 13.​

COUNSEL TJG/KRB/GC SCS3944A-8​03/21/24 02:15 pm ​



8.1 (1) be based on expected funding during the plan period;​

8.2 (2) identify investments within each of the asset categories specified in paragraph (b),​

8.3 clause (1), that are funded through the trunk highway capital program;​

8.4 (3) recommend identify specific trunk highway segments programmed to be removed​

8.5 from the trunk highway system; and​

8.6 (4) deliver annual progress toward achieving the state transportation goals established​

8.7 in section 174.01.​

8.8 (d) Annually by December 15, the commissioner must report trunk highway performance​

8.9 measures and annual targets and identify gaps, including information detailing the​

8.10 department's progress on achieving the state transportation goals, to the chairs and ranking​

8.11 minority members of the legislative committees having jurisdiction over transportation​

8.12 policy and finance. The report must be signed by the department's chief engineer.​

8.13 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 174.40, subdivision 4a, is amended​

8.14 to read:​

8.15 Subd. 4a. Eligibility. A statutory or home rule charter city, county, town, or federally​

8.16 recognized Indian Tribe is eligible to receive funding under this section. A statutory or home​

8.17 rule charter city, county, or town is eligible to receive funding for infrastructure projects​

8.18 under this section only if it has adopted subdivision regulations that require safe routes to​

8.19 school infrastructure in developments authorized on or after June 1, 2016.​

8.20 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 174.632, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

8.21 Subd. 2. Responsibilities. (a) The planning, design, development, construction, operation,​

8.22 and maintenance of passenger rail track, facilities, and services are governmental functions,​

8.23 serve a public purpose, and are a matter of public necessity.​

8.24 (b) The commissioner is responsible for all aspects of planning, designing, developing,​

8.25 constructing, equipping, operating, promoting, and maintaining passenger rail, including​

8.26 system planning, alternatives analysis, environmental studies, preliminary engineering, final​

8.27 design, construction, negotiating with railroads, and developing financial and operating​

8.28 plans.​

8.29 (c) The commissioner may enter into a memorandum of understanding or agreement​

8.30 with a public or private entity, including Amtrak, a regional railroad authority, a joint powers​

8.31 board, and a railroad, to carry out these activities.​

8​Article 1 Sec. 15.​
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9.1 Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 174.636, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

9.2 Subdivision 1. Powers. The commissioner has all powers necessary to carry out the​

9.3 duties specified in section 174.632. In the exercise of those powers, the commissioner may:​

9.4 (1) acquire by purchase, gift, or by eminent domain proceedings as provided by law, all​

9.5 land and property necessary to preserve future passenger rail corridors or to construct,​

9.6 maintain, and improve passenger rail corridors;​

9.7 (2) conduct and engage in promotional and marketing research, campaigns, outreach,​

9.8 and other activities to increase awareness, education, and ridership of passenger rail in​

9.9 Minnesota;​

9.10 (2) (3) let all necessary contracts as provided by law; and​

9.11 (3) (4) make agreements with and cooperate with any public or private entity, including​

9.12 Amtrak, to carry out statutory duties related to passenger rail.​

9.13 Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 221.0269, subdivision 4, is amended​

9.14 to read:​

9.15 Subd. 4. Intrastate transportation; heating fuel. (a) If a regional emergency has been​

9.16 declared by the President of the United States or by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety​

9.17 Administration pursuant to United States Code, title 49, section 390.23(a), and the declaration​

9.18 includes heating fuel as a covered commodity, the federal regulations incorporated into​

9.19 section 221.0314, subdivision 9, for hours of service do not apply to drivers engaged in​

9.20 intrastate transportation of heating fuel products when the driver is:​

9.21 (1) driving a vehicle designed and exclusively used to transport fuel products; and​

9.22 (2) carrying only fuel products as defined in section 296A.01.​

9.23 (b) The relief provided by paragraph (a) only applies when the fuel product being​

9.24 transported is included in the emergency declaration as a covered commodity.​

9.25 (c) Notwithstanding the relief provided in paragraph (a), a driver may not exceed a total​

9.26 of 14 hours combined on-duty and driving time after coming on duty following at least ten​

9.27 consecutive hours off-duty.​

9.28 (c) (d) If a driver is operating under the relief provided by paragraph (a), and the​

9.29 declaration is in effect for more than 30 calendar days, the driver must take a 34-hour restart​

9.30 before the driver has been on duty for 30 consecutive days.​

9.31 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

9​Article 1 Sec. 17.​
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10.1 Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 221.033, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

10.2 Subdivision 1. Requirements. Except as provided in subdivisions 2 to 2d this section,​

10.3 no person may transport or offer or accept for transportation within the state of Minnesota​

10.4 a hazardous material, hazardous substance, or hazardous waste except in compliance with​

10.5 United States Code, title 49, sections 5101 to 5126 and the provisions of Code of Federal​

10.6 Regulations, title 49, parts 171 to 199, which are incorporated by reference. Those provisions​

10.7 apply to transportation in intrastate commerce to the same extent they apply to transportation​

10.8 in interstate commerce.​

10.9 Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 221.033, is amended by adding a subdivision​

10.10 to read:​

10.11 Subd. 2e. Transportation of specific petroleum products; driver requirements. (a)​

10.12 This subdivision applies to intrastate commerce.​

10.13 (b) A driver who operates a motorized tank truck vehicle with a capacity of less than​

10.14 3,500 gallons that is used to transport petroleum products must have a valid commercial​

10.15 driver's license with endorsements for hazardous materials and tank vehicles and be at least​

10.16 18 years of age.​

10.17 (c) A driver who operates a vehicle that is used to transport liquefied petroleum gases​

10.18 in nonbulk or bulk packaging as defined in Code of Federal Regulations, title 49, section​

10.19 171.8, including the transportation of consumer storage tanks in compliance with Code of​

10.20 Federal Regulations, title 49, section 173.315(j), must have a valid commercial driver's​

10.21 license with a hazardous materials endorsement and be at least 18 years of age.​

10.22 (d) A driver who operates a vehicle under paragraph (c) must also have a tank vehicle​

10.23 endorsement if the aggregate capacity of the bulk packaging being transported is 1,000​

10.24 gallons or more.​

10.25 (e) Nonbulk or bulk packaging transported under paragraph (c) must have an aggregate​

10.26 capacity of less than 3,500 gallons.​

10.27 Sec. 20. REPEALER.​

10.28 Minnesota Statutes 2022, sections 169.011, subdivision 70; 169.25; and 221.033,​

10.29 subdivision 2c, are repealed.​

10​Article 1 Sec. 20.​
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11.1 ARTICLE 2​

11.2 DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY​

11.3 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 4.076, subdivision 3, is amended​

11.4 to read:​

11.5 Subd. 3. Membership; chair. (a) The advisory council consists of the following​

11.6 members:​

11.7 (1) the chair, which is filled on a two-year rotating basis by a designee from:​

11.8 (i) the Office of Traffic Safety in the Department of Public Safety;​

11.9 (ii) the Office of Traffic Engineering in the Department of Transportation; and​

11.10 (iii) the Injury and Violence Prevention Section in the Department of Health;​

11.11 (2) two vice chairs, which must be filled by the two designees who are not currently​

11.12 serving as chair of the advisory council under clause (1);​

11.13 (3) the statewide Toward Zero Deaths coordinator;​

11.14 (4) a regional coordinator from the Toward Zero Deaths program;​

11.15 (5) the chief of the State Patrol or a designee;​

11.16 (6) the state traffic safety engineer in the Department of Transportation or a designee;​

11.17 (7) a law enforcement liaison from the Department of Public Safety;​

11.18 (8) a representative from the Department of Human Services;​

11.19 (9) a representative from the Department of Education;​

11.20 (10) a representative from the Council on Disability;​

11.21 (11) a representative for Tribal governments;​

11.22 (12) a representative from the Center for Transportation Studies at the University of​

11.23 Minnesota;​

11.24 (13) a representative from the Minnesota Chiefs of Police Association;​

11.25 (14) a representative from the Minnesota Sheriffs' Association;​

11.26 (15) a representative from the Minnesota Safety Council;​

11.27 (16) a representative from AAA Minnesota;​

11.28 (17) a representative from the Minnesota Trucking Association;​

11​Article 2 Section 1.​
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12.1 (18) a representative from the Insurance Federation of Minnesota;​

12.2 (19) a representative from the Association of Minnesota Counties;​

12.3 (20) a representative from the League of Minnesota Cities;​

12.4 (21) the American Bar Association State Judicial Outreach Liaison;​

12.5 (22) a representative from the City Engineers Association of Minnesota;​

12.6 (23) a representative from the Minnesota County Engineers Association;​

12.7 (24) a representative from the Bicycle Alliance of Minnesota;​

12.8 (25) two individuals representing vulnerable road users, including pedestrians, bicyclists,​

12.9 and other operators of a personal conveyance;​

12.10 (26) a representative from Minnesota Operation Lifesaver;​

12.11 (27) a representative from the Minnesota Driver and Traffic Safety Education Association;​

12.12 (28) a representative from the Minnesota Association for Pupil Transportation;​

12.13 (29) a representative from the State Trauma Advisory Council;​

12.14 (30) a person representing metropolitan planning organizations; and​

12.15 (31) a person representing contractors engaged in construction and maintenance of​

12.16 highways and other infrastructure;​

12.17 (32) the director of the Minnesota Emergency Medical Services Regulatory Board; and​

12.18 (33) a person representing a victims advocacy organization.​

12.19 (b) The commissioners of public safety and transportation must jointly appoint the​

12.20 advisory council members under paragraph (a), clauses (11), (25), (30), and (31), and (33).​

12.21 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 65B.28, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

12.22 Subd. 2. Accident prevention course; rules. (a) The commissioner of public safety​

12.23 shall must adopt rules establishing and regulating a motor vehicle accident prevention course​

12.24 for persons 55 years old and older.​

12.25 (b) The rules must, at a minimum, include provisions:​

12.26 (1) establishing curriculum requirements; and​

12.27 (2) establishing the number of hours required for successful completion of the course;​

12.28 and​

12​Article 2 Sec. 2.​
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13.1 (3) (2) providing for the issuance of a course completion certification and requiring its​

13.2 submission to an insured as evidence of completion of the course.​

13.3 (c) The accident prevention course must be a total of four hours.​

13.4 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 115E.042, subdivision 4, is amended​

13.5 to read:​

13.6 Subd. 4. Response capabilities; time limits. (a) Following confirmation of a discharge,​

13.7 a railroad must deliver and deploy sufficient equipment and trained personnel to (1) contain​

13.8 and recover discharged oil or other hazardous substances, (2) protect the environment, and​

13.9 (3) assist local public safety officials. Within 15 minutes of a rail incident involving a​

13.10 confirmed discharge or release of oil or other hazardous substances, a railroad must contact​

13.11 the applicable emergency manager and applicable fire chief department, through the local​

13.12 public safety answering point, having jurisdiction along the route where the incident occurred.​

13.13 After learning of the rail incident involving oil or other hazardous substances, the applicable​

13.14 emergency manager and applicable fire chief department must, as soon as practicable,​

13.15 identify and provide contact information of the responsible incident commander to the​

13.16 reporting railroad.​

13.17 (b) Within 15 minutes of local emergency responder arrival on the scene of a rail incident​

13.18 involving oil or other hazardous substances, a railroad must assist the incident commander​

13.19 to determine the nature of any hazardous substance known to have been released and​

13.20 hazardous substance cargo transported on the train. Assistance must include providing​

13.21 information that identifies the chemical content of the hazardous substance, contact​

13.22 information for the shipper, and instructions for dealing with the release of the material. A​

13.23 railroad may provide information on the hazardous substances transported on the train​

13.24 through the train orders on board the train or by facsimile or electronic transmission.​

13.25 (c) Within one hour of confirmation of a discharge, a railroad must provide a qualified​

13.26 company representative to advise the incident commander, assist in assessing the situation,​

13.27 initiate railroad response actions as needed, and provide advice and recommendations to​

13.28 the incident commander regarding the response. The representative may be made available​

13.29 by telephone, and must be authorized to deploy all necessary response resources of the​

13.30 railroad.​

13.31 (d) Within three hours of confirmation of a discharge, a railroad must be capable of​

13.32 delivering monitoring equipment and a trained operator to assist in protection of responder​

13.33 and public safety. A plan to ensure delivery of monitoring equipment and an operator to a​

13.34 discharge site must be provided each year to the commissioner of public safety.​
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14.1 (e) Within three hours of confirmation of a discharge, a railroad must provide (1) qualified​

14.2 personnel at a discharge site to assess the discharge and to advise the incident commander,​

14.3 and (2) resources to assist the incident commander with ongoing public safety and scene​

14.4 stabilization.​

14.5 (f) A railroad must be capable of deploying containment boom from land across sewer​

14.6 outfalls, creeks, ditches, and other places where oil or other hazardous substances may drain,​

14.7 in order to contain leaked material before it reaches those resources. The arrangement to​

14.8 provide containment boom and staff may be made by:​

14.9 (1) training and caching equipment with local jurisdictions;​

14.10 (2) training and caching equipment with a fire mutual-aid group;​

14.11 (3) means of an industry cooperative or mutual-aid group;​

14.12 (4) deployment of a contractor;​

14.13 (5) deployment of a response organization under state contract; or​

14.14 (6) other dependable means acceptable to the Pollution Control Agency.​

14.15 (g) Each arrangement under paragraph (f) must be confirmed each year. Each arrangement​

14.16 must be tested by drill at least once every five years.​

14.17 (h) Within eight hours of confirmation of a discharge, a railroad must be capable of​

14.18 delivering and deploying containment boom, boats, oil recovery equipment, trained staff,​

14.19 and all other materials needed to provide:​

14.20 (1) on-site containment and recovery of a volume of oil equal to ten percent of the​

14.21 calculated worst case discharge at any location along the route; and​

14.22 (2) protection of listed sensitive areas and potable water intakes within one mile of a​

14.23 discharge site and within eight hours of water travel time downstream in any river or stream​

14.24 that the right-of-way intersects.​

14.25 (i) Within 60 hours of confirmation of a discharge, a railroad must be capable of​

14.26 delivering and deploying additional containment boom, boats, oil recovery equipment,​

14.27 trained staff, and all other materials needed to provide containment and recovery of a worst​

14.28 case discharge and to protect listed sensitive areas and potable water intakes at any location​

14.29 along the route.​
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15.1 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 168.002, subdivision 26, is amended to read:​

15.2 Subd. 26. Pickup truck. "Pickup truck" means any truck with a manufacturer's nominal​

15.3 rated carrying capacity of three-fourths ton or less and commonly known as a pickup truck.​

15.4 If the manufacturer's nominal rated carrying capacity is not provided or cannot be determined,​

15.5 then the value specified by the manufacturer as the gross vehicle weight as indicated on the​

15.6 manufacturer's certification label must be less than 10,000 pounds or less.​

15.7 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 168.002, subdivision 27, is amended to read:​

15.8 Subd. 27. Recreational vehicle. (a) "Recreational vehicle" means travel trailers including​

15.9 those that telescope or fold down, chassis-mounted campers, motor homes, tent trailers,​

15.10 teardrop trailers, and converted buses that provide temporary human living quarters.​

15.11 (b) "Recreational vehicle" is a vehicle that:​

15.12 (1) is not used as the residence of the owner or occupant;​

15.13 (2) is used while engaged in recreational or vacation activities; and​

15.14 (3) is either self-propelled or towed on the highways incidental to the recreational or​

15.15 vacation activities.​

15.16 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 168.013, subdivision 1d, is amended to read:​

15.17 Subd. 1d. Trailer. (a) On trailers registered at a gross vehicle weight of greater than​

15.18 3,000 pounds, the annual tax is based on total gross weight and is 30 percent of the Minnesota​

15.19 base rate prescribed in subdivision 1e, when the gross weight is 15,000 pounds or less, and​

15.20 when the gross weight of a trailer is more than 15,000 pounds, the tax for the first eight​

15.21 years of vehicle life is 100 percent of the tax imposed in the Minnesota base rate schedule,​

15.22 and during the ninth and succeeding years of vehicle life the tax is 75 percent of the​

15.23 Minnesota base rate prescribed by subdivision 1e. A trailer registered at a gross vehicle​

15.24 weight greater than 3,000 pounds but no greater than 7,200 pounds may be taxed either: (1)​

15.25 annually as provided in this paragraph; or (2) once every three years on the basis of total​

15.26 gross weight and is 90 percent of the Minnesota base rate prescribed in subdivision 1e,​

15.27 provided that the filing fee under section 168.33, subdivision 7, paragraph (a), is multiplied​

15.28 by three, with funds collected by the commissioner allocated proportionally in the same​

15.29 manner as provided in section 168.33, subdivision 7, paragraph (e).​

15.30 (b) Farm trailers with a gross weight in excess of 10,000 pounds and as described in​

15.31 section 168.002, subdivision 8, are taxed as farm trucks as prescribed in subdivision 1c.​
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16.1 (c) Effective on and after July 1, 2001, trailers registered at a gross vehicle weight of​

16.2 3,000 pounds or less, excluding recreational vehicles, must display a distinctive plate. The​

16.3 registration on the license plate is valid for the life of the trailer only if it remains registered​

16.4 at the same gross vehicle weight. The onetime registration tax for trailers registered for the​

16.5 first time in Minnesota is $55. For trailers registered in Minnesota before July 1, 2001, and​

16.6 for which:​

16.7 (1) registration is desired for the remaining life of the trailer, the registration tax is $25;​

16.8 or​

16.9 (2) permanent registration is not desired, the biennial registration tax is $10 for the first​

16.10 renewal if registration is renewed between and including July 1, 2001, and June 30, 2003.​

16.11 These trailers must be issued permanent registration at the first renewal on or after July 1,​

16.12 2003, and the registration tax is $20.​

16.13 For trailers registered at a gross weight of 3,000 pounds or less before July 1, 2001, but​

16.14 not renewed until on or after July 1, 2003, the registration tax is $20 and permanent​

16.15 registration must be issued.​

16.16 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 168.0135, is amended by adding a subdivision​

16.17 to read:​

16.18 Subd. 2a. Limitations. (a) A vendor must not have an ownership interest with a deputy​

16.19 registrar or a driver's license agent.​

16.20 (b) A vendor is not eligible to be appointed by the commissioner as a deputy registrar​

16.21 or a driver's license agent.​

16.22 (c) An entity that owns, leases, or otherwise provides a location where a self-service​

16.23 kiosk is placed is not eligible to be appointed by the commissioner as a deputy registrar or​

16.24 a driver's license agent. This paragraph does not apply to a deputy registrar or a driver's​

16.25 license agent appointed prior to placement of a self-service kiosk within the office of the​

16.26 deputy registrar or driver's license agent.​

16.27 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

16.28 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 168.1235, subdivision 1, is amended​

16.29 to read:​

16.30 Subdivision 1. General requirements; fees. (a) The commissioner shall issue a special​

16.31 plate emblem for each plate to an applicant who:​
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17.1 (1) is a member of a congressionally chartered veterans service organization and is a​

17.2 registered owner of a passenger automobile, pickup truck, van, or self-propelled recreational​

17.3 vehicle, or is a congressionally chartered veterans service organization that is the registered​

17.4 owner of a passenger automobile, pickup truck, van, or self-propelled recreational vehicle;​

17.5 (2) pays the registration tax required by law;​

17.6 (3) pays a fee in the amount specified for special plates under section 168.12, subdivision​

17.7 5, for each set of two plates, and any other fees required by this chapter; and​

17.8 (4) complies with this chapter and rules governing the registration of motor vehicles and​

17.9 licensing of drivers.​

17.10 (b) The additional fee is payable at the time of initial application for the special plate​

17.11 emblem and when the plates must be replaced or renewed. An applicant must not be issued​

17.12 more than two sets of special plate emblems for motor vehicles listed in paragraph (a) and​

17.13 registered to the applicant.​

17.14 (c) The applicant must present a valid card indicating membership in the American​

17.15 Legion, Veterans of Foreign Wars, or Disabled American Veterans.​

17.16 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 168.33, subdivision 8a, is amended to read:​

17.17 Subd. 8a. Electronic transmission. (a) If the commissioner accepts electronic​

17.18 transmission of a motor vehicle transfer and registration by a new or used motor vehicle​

17.19 dealer, a deputy registrar who is equipped with electronic transmission technology and​

17.20 trained in its use shall must receive the filing fee provided for in subdivision 7 and review​

17.21 the transfer of each new or used motor vehicle to determine its genuineness and regularity​

17.22 before issuance of a certificate of title, and shall must receive and retain the filing fee under​

17.23 subdivision 7, paragraph (a), clause (2).​

17.24 (b) The commissioner must establish reasonable performance, security, technical, and​

17.25 financial standards to approve companies that provide computer software and services to​

17.26 motor vehicle dealers to electronically transmit vehicle title transfer and registration​

17.27 information. An approved company must be offered access to department facilities, staff,​

17.28 and technology on a fair and reasonable basis. An approved company must not have an​

17.29 ownership interest with a deputy registrar or a driver's license agent. An approved company​

17.30 is not eligible to be appointed by the commissioner as a deputy registrar or a driver's license​

17.31 agent.​

17.32 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​
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18.1 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 168A.085, is amended by adding a subdivision​

18.2 to read:​

18.3 Subd. 4. Foreign passport. A valid and unexpired passport issued to the applicant by​

18.4 a recognized foreign government is a primary document for purposes of Minnesota Rules,​

18.5 part 7410.0400, and successor rules, when the applicant is an individual who is applying​

18.6 as the owner for a vehicle title or registration.​

18.7 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

18.8 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 168B.035, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

18.9 Subd. 3. Towing prohibited. (a) A towing authority may not tow a motor vehicle​

18.10 because:​

18.11 (1) the vehicle has expired displays registration tabs validation stickers that have been​

18.12 expired for less than 90 days; or​

18.13 (2) the vehicle is at a parking meter on which the time has expired and the vehicle has​

18.14 fewer than five unpaid parking tickets.​

18.15 (b) A towing authority may tow a motor vehicle, notwithstanding paragraph (a), if:​

18.16 (1) the vehicle is parked in violation of snow emergency regulations;​

18.17 (2) the vehicle is parked in a rush-hour restricted parking area;​

18.18 (3) the vehicle is blocking a driveway, alley, or fire hydrant;​

18.19 (4) the vehicle is parked in a bus lane, or at a bus stop, during hours when parking is​

18.20 prohibited;​

18.21 (5) the vehicle is parked within 30 feet of a stop sign and visually blocking the stop sign;​

18.22 (6) the vehicle is parked in a disability transfer zone or disability parking space without​

18.23 a disability parking certificate or disability license plates;​

18.24 (7) the vehicle is parked in an area that has been posted for temporary restricted parking​

18.25 (i) at least 12 hours in advance in a home rule charter or statutory city having a population​

18.26 under 50,000, or (ii) at least 24 hours in advance in another political subdivision;​

18.27 (8) the vehicle is parked within the right-of-way of a controlled-access highway or within​

18.28 the traveled portion of a public street when travel is allowed there;​

18.29 (9) the vehicle is unlawfully parked in a zone that is restricted by posted signs to use by​

18.30 fire, police, public safety, or emergency vehicles;​
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19.1 (10) the vehicle is unlawfully parked on property at the Minneapolis-St. Paul International​

19.2 Airport owned by the Metropolitan Airports Commission;​

19.3 (11) a law enforcement official has probable cause to believe that the vehicle is stolen,​

19.4 or that the vehicle constitutes or contains evidence of a crime and impoundment is reasonably​

19.5 necessary to obtain or preserve the evidence;​

19.6 (12) the driver, operator, or person in physical control of the vehicle is taken into custody​

19.7 and the vehicle is impounded for safekeeping;​

19.8 (13) a law enforcement official has probable cause to believe that the owner, operator,​

19.9 or person in physical control of the vehicle has failed to respond to five or more citations​

19.10 for parking or traffic offenses;​

19.11 (14) the vehicle is unlawfully parked in a zone that is restricted by posted signs to use​

19.12 by taxicabs;​

19.13 (15) the vehicle is unlawfully parked and prevents egress by a lawfully parked vehicle;​

19.14 (16) the vehicle is parked, on a school day during prohibited hours, in a school zone on​

19.15 a public street where official signs prohibit parking; or​

19.16 (17) the vehicle is a junk, abandoned, or unauthorized vehicle, as defined in section​

19.17 168B.011, and subject to immediate removal under this chapter.​

19.18 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 169.09, subdivision 5, is amended to read:​

19.19 Subd. 5. Notify owner of damaged property. If the driver of any vehicle involved in​

19.20 a collision knows or has reason to know the collision resulted only in damage to fixtures​

19.21 legally upon or adjacent to a street or highway, the driver shall must:​

19.22 (1) take reasonable steps to locate and notify the owner or person in charge of the property​

19.23 of that fact the collision, of the driver's name and address, and of the registration license​

19.24 plate number of the vehicle being driven and shall must, upon request and if available,​

19.25 exhibit the driver's license, and make an accident report in every case; and​

19.26 (2) report the information required in clause (1) to a peace officer.​

19.27 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 169.09, subdivision 8, is amended​

19.28 to read:​

19.29 Subd. 8. Officer to report accident to commissioner. A peace officer who, in the​

19.30 regular course of duty, investigates an accident that must be reported under this section​

19.31 shall, within ten days after the date of the accident, forward an electronic or written report​
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20.1 of the accident as prescribed by the commissioner of public safety. Within two business​

20.2 days after identification of a fatality that resulted from an accident, the reporting agency​

20.3 must notify the commissioner of the basic circumstances of the accident using an electronic​

20.4 format as prescribed by the commissioner (a) A peace officer who investigates in the regular​

20.5 course of duty an accident that is required to be reported under this section must submit an​

20.6 electronic or written report of the accident to the commissioner of public safety within ten​

20.7 days after the date of the accident. Within two business days after identification of a fatality​

20.8 that resulted from an accident, the reporting agency must notify the commissioner of the​

20.9 basic circumstances of the accident. A report or notification under this subdivision must be​

20.10 in the format as prescribed in subdivision 9.​

20.11 (b) Accidents on streets, highways, roadways, sidewalks, shoulders, shared use paths,​

20.12 or any other portion of a road's public right-of-way must be reported under the requirements​

20.13 of this section if the accident results in:​

20.14 (1) a fatality;​

20.15 (2) bodily injury to a person who, because of the injury, immediately receives medical​

20.16 treatment away from or at the scene of the accident;​

20.17 (3) one or more of the motor vehicles incurring disabling damage that requires a vehicle​

20.18 to be transported away from the scene of the accident by tow truck or other vehicle; or​

20.19 (4) damage to fixtures, infrastructure, or any other property alongside or on a public​

20.20 highway.​

20.21 (c) An accident involving a school bus, as defined in section 169.011, subdivision 71,​

20.22 must be reported under the requirements of this section and section 169.4511.​

20.23 (d) An accident involving a commercial motor vehicle, as defined in section 169.781,​

20.24 subdivision 1, paragraph (a), must be reported under the requirements of this section and​

20.25 section 169.783.​

20.26 (e) Accidents occurring on public lands or trail systems that result in the circumstances​

20.27 specified in paragraph (c) must be reported under the requirements of this section.​

20.28 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 169.09, subdivision 14a, is amended to read:​

20.29 Subd. 14a. Suspension of license for failure to report accident. The commissioner​

20.30 may suspend the license, or any nonresident's operating privilege, of any person driver who​

20.31 willfully fails, refuses, or neglects to make report of a traffic accident as required by the​
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21.1 laws of this state under this section. A license suspension under this section is subject to​

21.2 the notice requirements of section 171.18, subdivision 2.​

21.3 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 169.09, subdivision 19, is amended to read:​

21.4 Subd. 19. Terminology. (a) The provisions of this section apply equally whether the​

21.5 term "accident" or "collision" is used. The term "accident" or "collision" does not include:​

21.6 (1) an occurrence involving only boarding and alighting from a stationary motor vehicle;​

21.7 (2) an occurrence involving only the loading or unloading of cargo; or​

21.8 (3) intentional vehicle-to-vehicle contact when initiated by a peace officer:​

21.9 (i) to stop a perpetrator from fleeing in a motor vehicle, as defined in section 609.487,​

21.10 subdivision 3; or​

21.11 (ii) as an authorized use of force, as defined in section 609.06, subdivision 1; 609.065;​

21.12 or 609.066.​

21.13 (b) For purposes of this section, "disabling damage" means damage that prevents a motor​

21.14 vehicle from departing the scene of the accident in its usual manner in daylight after simple​

21.15 repairs. Disabling damage includes damage to a motor vehicle that could be driven from​

21.16 the scene of the accident but would be further damaged if so driven. Disabling damage does​

21.17 not include:​

21.18 (1) damage that can be remedied temporarily at the scene of the accident without special​

21.19 tools or parts;​

21.20 (2) tire disablement without other damage, even if no spare tire is available;​

21.21 (3) headlamp or taillight damage; or​

21.22 (4) damage that makes the turn signals, horn, or windshield wipers inoperable.​

21.23 (c) For purposes of this section, motor vehicle includes off-highway vehicles, as defined​

21.24 in section 84.771, and snowmobiles, as defined in section 84.81.​

21.25 Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 169.224, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

21.26 Subd. 3. Operation. (a) A neighborhood electric vehicle or a medium-speed electric​

21.27 vehicle may not be operated on a street or highway with a speed limit greater than 35 miles​

21.28 per hour, except to make a direct crossing of that street or highway.​
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22.1 (b) A person may operate a three-wheeled neighborhood electric vehicle without a​

22.2 two-wheeled vehicle motorcycle endorsement, provided the person has a valid driver's​

22.3 license issued under chapter 171.​

22.4 Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 169.4503, subdivision 31, is amended to read:​

22.5 Subd. 31. Supplemental warning system; temporary authority. (a) Prior to August​

22.6 1, 2022, the commissioner may approve a Type A, B, C, or D school bus to buses may be​

22.7 equipped with a supplemental warning system. On and after that date, a school bus may​

22.8 continue to be equipped with a previously approved supplemental warning system.​

22.9 (b) To determine approval of a supplemental warning system, the commissioner must​

22.10 consider A supplemental warning system must:​

22.11 (1) use amber and red signal colors, which are limited to one or more of the colors white,​

22.12 amber, and red;​

22.13 (2) flashing patterns use supplemental amber warning lights activated only in conjunction​

22.14 with activated overhead amber warning lights and supplemental red warning lights activated​

22.15 only in conjunction with activated overhead red flashing lights;​

22.16 (3) vehicle mounting and placement;​

22.17 (4) supplemental warning system activation (3) be wired so the supplemental warning​

22.18 system is automatically activated in conjunction with activation of prewarning flashing​

22.19 amber signals, stop-signal arm, and flashing red signals;​

22.20 (5) light intensity (4) be programmed to flash either:​

22.21 (i) using a randomized flash pattern; or​

22.22 (ii) alternating with the corresponding overhead light at a rate of 60 to 120 flashes per​

22.23 minute; and​

22.24 (6) permissible text, signage, and graphics, if any (5) use lights installed in pairs and​

22.25 mounted on the same level and placed as wide as practicable on the body above the bumper​

22.26 level.​

22.27 (c) The commissioner must review relevant research findings and experience in other​

22.28 jurisdictions, and must consult with interested stakeholders, including but not limited to​

22.29 representatives from school district pupil transportation directors, private school bus​

22.30 operators, and pupil transportation and traffic safety associations.​
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23.1 Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 169.685, is amended by adding a subdivision​

23.2 to read:​

23.3 Subd. 3a. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have the​

23.4 meanings given.​

23.5 (b) "Booster seat" means a child passenger restraint system that meets applicable federal​

23.6 motor vehicle safety standards and is designed to provide belt-positioning that elevates a​

23.7 child to be properly seated with a safety belt.​

23.8 (c) "Child passenger restraint system" means a device that:​

23.9 (1) meets applicable federal motor vehicle safety standards of the United States​

23.10 Department of Transportation and complies with any other applicable federal regulations;​

23.11 (2) is designed to restrain, seat, or position children; and​

23.12 (3) is appropriate to the age of the child being restrained.​

23.13 Child passenger restraint system includes a booster seat.​

23.14 (d) "Properly restrained" means restrained or secured according to the instructions of​

23.15 both the motor vehicle manufacturer and the child passenger restraint system manufacturer.​

23.16 (e) "Secured with a safety belt" means restrained or secured by a seat belt that (1) meets​

23.17 applicable federal motor vehicle safety standards, and (2) is properly adjusted and fastened,​

23.18 including both the shoulder and lap straps when equipped in the vehicle.​

23.19 Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 169.685, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

23.20 Subd. 4. Admissibility into evidence. (a) Except as provided in paragraph (b), proof of​

23.21 the use or failure to use seat belts or a child passenger restraint system as described in​

23.22 subdivision 5 4a, or proof of the installation or failure of installation of seat belts or a child​

23.23 passenger restraint system as described in subdivision 5 shall not be 4a is not admissible in​

23.24 evidence in any litigation involving personal injuries or property damage resulting from the​

23.25 use or operation of any motor vehicle.​

23.26 (b) Paragraph (a) does not affect the right of a person to bring an action for damages​

23.27 arising out of an incident that involves a defectively designed, manufactured, installed, or​

23.28 operating seat belt or child passenger restraint system. Paragraph (a) does not prohibit the​

23.29 introduction of evidence pertaining to the use of a seat belt or child passenger restraint​

23.30 system in an action described in this paragraph.​
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24.1 Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 169.685, is amended by adding a subdivision​

24.2 to read:​

24.3 Subd. 4a. Child passenger restraint systems. (a) Except as provided in paragraph (c),​

24.4 every driver in this state who transports a child or children under the age of 18 years in a​

24.5 motor vehicle that is in motion or a part of traffic and is required under federal motor vehicle​

24.6 safety standards to be equipped with a safety belt or lower anchors and tethers for children​

24.7 in a passenger seating position must have the child or children secured as follows:​

24.8 (1) a child who is younger than two years of age must be properly restrained in a​

24.9 rear-facing child passenger restraint system with an internal harness, until the child reaches​

24.10 the weight or height limit of the child passenger restraint system;​

24.11 (2) a child who is at least two years of age and exceeds the rear-facing weight or height​

24.12 limit of the child passenger restraint system must be properly restrained in a forward-facing​

24.13 child passenger restraint system with an internal harness, until the child reaches the weight​

24.14 or height limit of the child passenger restraint system;​

24.15 (3) a child who is at least four years of age and exceeds the weight or height limit of the​

24.16 forward-facing child passenger restraint system must be properly restrained in a booster​

24.17 seat and secured with a safety belt;​

24.18 (4) a child who is at least nine years of age or exceeds the weight or height limit of the​

24.19 child passenger restraint system or the booster seat must be secured with a safety belt adjusted​

24.20 and fastened around the child's body to fit correctly. The safety belt fits correctly when the​

24.21 child sits all the way back against the vehicle seat, the child's knees bend over the edge of​

24.22 the vehicle seat, the lap strap fits snugly across the child's thighs and lower hips and not the​

24.23 child's abdomen, and the shoulder strap snugly crosses the center of the child's chest and​

24.24 not the child's neck;​

24.25 (5) a child who is younger than 13 years of age must be transported in the rear seat of a​

24.26 motor vehicle, when available, and must be properly restrained in a child passenger restraint​

24.27 system or booster seat or secured with a safety belt; and​

24.28 (6) a child who, because of age or weight, can be placed in more than one category under​

24.29 this paragraph must be placed in the more protective category, where clause (1) provides​

24.30 for the most protective and clause (5) provides for the least protective.​

24.31 (b) The driver of a motor vehicle transporting a child who is younger than six years of​

24.32 age or weighs less than 60 pounds must transport the child in a rear seat if:​

24.33 (1) the vehicle is equipped with a passenger side air bag supplemental restraint system;​
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25.1 (2) the air bag system is activated; and​

25.2 (3) a rear seat is available.​

25.3 (c) When the number of children in the motor vehicle under 13 years of age exceeds the​

25.4 number of age- or size-appropriate child passenger restraint systems and safety belts available​

25.5 in the motor vehicle, the unrestrained children must be seated in a rear seat, if rear seats are​

25.6 available.​

25.7 (d) The weight and height limits of a child passenger restraint system under this​

25.8 subdivision are as established by the child passenger restraint system manufacturer.​

25.9 Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 169.685, subdivision 5, is amended to read:​

25.10 Subd. 5. Violation; petty misdemeanor. (a) Every motor vehicle operator, when​

25.11 transporting a child who is both under the age of eight and shorter than four feet nine inches​

25.12 on the streets and highways of this state in a motor vehicle equipped with factory-installed​

25.13 seat belts, shall equip and install for use in the motor vehicle, according to the manufacturer's​

25.14 instructions, a child passenger restraint system meeting federal motor vehicle safety standards.​

25.15 (b) No motor vehicle operator who is operating a motor vehicle on the streets and​

25.16 highways of this state may transport a child who is both under the age of eight and shorter​

25.17 than four feet nine inches in a seat of a motor vehicle equipped with a factory-installed seat​

25.18 belt, unless the child is properly fastened in the child passenger restraint system. Any motor​

25.19 vehicle operator who violates this subdivision 4a is guilty of a petty misdemeanor and may​

25.20 be sentenced to pay a fine of not more than $50. The fine may be waived or the amount​

25.21 reduced if the motor vehicle operator produces evidence that within 14 days after the date​

25.22 of the violation a child passenger restraint system meeting federal motor vehicle safety​

25.23 standards was purchased or obtained for the exclusive use of the operator.​

25.24 (c) At the time of issuance of a citation under this subdivision, a peace officer may​

25.25 provide to the violator information on obtaining a free or low-cost child passenger restraint​

25.26 system.​

25.27 (d) The fines collected for violations of this subdivision must be deposited in the state​

25.28 treasury and credited to a special account to be known as the Minnesota child passenger​

25.29 restraint and education account.​

25.30 (e) For the purposes of this section, "child passenger restraint system" means any device​

25.31 that meets the standards of the United States Department of Transportation; is designed to​

25.32 restrain, seat, or position children; and includes a booster seat.​
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26.1 Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 169.801, subdivision 7, is amended to read:​

26.2 Subd. 7. Driving rules. (a) An implement of husbandry may not be operated or towed​

26.3 on an interstate highway.​

26.4 (b) An implement of husbandry may be operated or towed to the left of the center of a​

26.5 roadway only if:​

26.6 (1) it is for the purpose of avoiding an obstacle on the right-hand side of the road and:​

26.7 (i) crosses the center line for as brief a period of time as necessary to avoid the obstacle;​

26.8 (ii) returns back to the right half of the roadway immediately after passing the obstacle​

26.9 and when safe to do so;​

26.10 (iii) no other vehicles are approaching from the opposite direction such that the​

26.11 approaching vehicle would be within the immediate vicinity of the implement before the​

26.12 implement returns to the right-hand side of the road; and​

26.13 (iv) the operation does not extend into the left half of the roadway more than necessary;​

26.14 or​

26.15 (2) it is escorted at the front by a vehicle displaying hazard warning lights visible in​

26.16 normal sunlight and the operation does not extend into the left half of the roadway more​

26.17 than is necessary.​

26.18 (c) An implement of husbandry, when operating in compliance with the requirements​

26.19 of this section and under paragraph (b), is not subject to the escort requirements in section​

26.20 169.812, subdivision 2.​

26.21 Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 169.974, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

26.22 Subd. 2. License endorsement and permit requirements. (a) No person shall operate​

26.23 a motorcycle on any street or highway without having a valid driver's license with a​

26.24 two-wheeled vehicle motorcycle endorsement as provided by law. A person may operate​

26.25 an autocycle without a two-wheeled vehicle motorcycle endorsement, provided the person​

26.26 has a valid driver's license issued under section 171.02.​

26.27 (b) The commissioner of public safety shall issue a two-wheeled vehicle motorcycle​

26.28 endorsement only if the applicant (1) has in possession a valid two-wheeled vehicle​

26.29 motorcycle instruction permit as provided in paragraph (c), (2) has passed a written​

26.30 examination and road test administered by the Department of Public Safety for the​

26.31 endorsement, and (3) in the case of applicants under 18 years of age, presents a certificate​

26.32 or other evidence of having successfully completed an approved two-wheeled vehicle​
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27.1 motorcycle driver's safety course in this or another state, in accordance with rules adopted​

27.2 by the commissioner of public safety for courses offered by a public, private, or commercial​

27.3 school or institute. The commissioner of public safety may waive the road test for any​

27.4 applicant on determining that the applicant possesses a valid license to operate a two-wheeled​

27.5 vehicle motorcycle issued by a jurisdiction that requires a comparable road test for license​

27.6 issuance.​

27.7 (c) The commissioner of public safety shall issue a two-wheeled vehicle motorcycle​

27.8 instruction permit to any person over 16 years of age who (1) is in possession of a valid​

27.9 driver's license, (2) is enrolled in an approved two-wheeled vehicle motorcycle driver's​

27.10 safety course, and (3) has passed a written examination for the permit and paid a fee​

27.11 prescribed by the commissioner of public safety. A two-wheeled vehicle motorcycle​

27.12 instruction permit is effective for one year and may be renewed under rules prescribed by​

27.13 the commissioner of public safety.​

27.14 (d) No person who is operating by virtue of a two-wheeled vehicle motorcycle instruction​

27.15 permit shall:​

27.16 (1) carry any passengers on the streets and highways of this state on the motorcycle​

27.17 while the person is operating the motorcycle;​

27.18 (2) drive the motorcycle at night; or​

27.19 (3) drive the motorcycle without wearing protective headgear that complies with standards​

27.20 established by the commissioner of public safety.​

27.21 (e) Notwithstanding paragraphs (a) to (d), the commissioner of public safety may issue​

27.22 a special motorcycle permit, restricted or qualified as the commissioner of public safety​

27.23 deems proper, to any person demonstrating a need for the permit and unable to qualify for​

27.24 a driver's license.​

27.25 Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 169A.52, subdivision 7, is amended to read:​

27.26 Subd. 7. Test refusal; driving privilege lost. (a) On behalf of the commissioner, a peace​

27.27 officer requiring a test or directing the administration of a chemical test shall serve immediate​

27.28 notice of intention to revoke and of revocation on a person who refuses to permit a test or​

27.29 on a person who submits to a test the results of which indicate an alcohol concentration of​

27.30 0.08 or more.​

27.31 (b) On behalf of the commissioner, a peace officer requiring a test or directing the​

27.32 administration of a chemical test of a person driving, operating, or in physical control of a​

27.33 commercial motor vehicle shall serve immediate notice of intention to disqualify and of​
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28.1 disqualification on a person who refuses to permit a test, or on a person who submits to a​

28.2 test the results of which indicate an alcohol concentration of 0.04 or more.​

28.3 (c) The officer shall:​

28.4 (1) invalidate the person's driver's license or permit card by clipping the upper corner​

28.5 of the card in such a way that no identifying information including the photo is destroyed,​

28.6 and immediately return the card to the person;​

28.7 (2) issue the person a temporary license effective for only seven days; and​

28.8 (3) send the notification of this action to the commissioner along with the certificate​

28.9 required by subdivision 3 or 4.​

28.10 Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 171.01, subdivision 41a, is amended to read:​

28.11 Subd. 41a. Noncompliant license; noncompliant identification card. "Noncompliant​

28.12 license," "noncompliant identification card," or "noncompliant license or identification​

28.13 card," means a driver's license or a Minnesota identification card issued under section​

28.14 171.019, subdivision 2, paragraph (b). Unless provided otherwise, noncompliant license​

28.15 includes an appropriate instruction permit, provisional license, and restricted license.​

28.16 Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 171.01, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

28.17 read:​

28.18 Subd. 45c. REAL ID compliant license; REAL ID compliant identification​

28.19 card. "REAL ID compliant license," "REAL ID compliant identification card," or "REAL​

28.20 ID compliant license or identification card," means a driver's license or a Minnesota​

28.21 identification card issued under section 171.019, subdivision 2, paragraph (a). Unless​

28.22 provided otherwise, REAL ID compliant license includes an appropriate instruction permit,​

28.23 provisional license, and restricted license.​

28.24 Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 171.01, subdivision 47, is amended to read:​

28.25 Subd. 47. State. "State" means a state of the United States, the District of Columbia,​

28.26 Puerto Rico, the United States Virgin Islands, or any territory or insular possession subject​

28.27 to the jurisdiction of the United States, including a United States military base located on​

28.28 foreign soil.​
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29.1 Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 171.06, subdivision 2a, is amended to read:​

29.2 Subd. 2a. Two-wheeled vehicle Motorcycle endorsement fee. (a) In addition to the​

29.3 appropriate fee under subdivision 2, the fee for a two-wheeled vehicle motorcycle​

29.4 endorsement on a driver's license is:​

29.5 (1) $26.50 for an initial endorsement or a duplicate license obtained for the purpose of​

29.6 adding the endorsement; and​

29.7 (2) $17 for each license renewal with the endorsement.​

29.8 (b) The additional fee must be paid into the state treasury and credited as follows:​

29.9 (1) $19 of the additional fee under paragraph (a), clause (1), and $11 of the additional​

29.10 fee under paragraph (a), clause (2), to the motorcycle safety fund, which is hereby created;​

29.11 and​

29.12 (2) the remainder to the general fund.​

29.13 (c) All application forms prepared by the commissioner for two-wheeled vehicle​

29.14 motorcycle endorsements must clearly state the amount of the total fee that is dedicated to​

29.15 the motorcycle safety fund.​

29.16 Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 171.06, subdivision 3, is amended​

29.17 to read:​

29.18 Subd. 3. Contents of application; other information. (a) An application must:​

29.19 (1) state the full name, date of birth, sex, and either (i) the residence address of the​

29.20 applicant, or (ii) designated address under section 5B.05;​

29.21 (2) as may be required by the commissioner, contain a description of the applicant and​

29.22 any other facts pertaining to the applicant, including the applicant's height in feet and inches,​

29.23 weight in pounds, eye color, and sex; the applicant's driving privileges,; and the applicant's​

29.24 ability to operate a motor vehicle with safety;​

29.25 (3) state:​

29.26 (i) the applicant's Social Security number; or​

29.27 (ii) if the applicant does not have a Social Security number and is applying for a​

29.28 Minnesota identification card, instruction permit, or class D provisional or driver's license,​

29.29 that the applicant elects not to specify a Social Security number;​

29.30 (4) contain a notification to the applicant of the availability of a living will/health care​

29.31 directive designation on the license under section 171.07, subdivision 7;​
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30.1 (5) include a method for the applicant to:​

30.2 (i) request a veteran designation on the license under section 171.07, subdivision 15,​

30.3 and the driving record under section 171.12, subdivision 5a;​

30.4 (ii) indicate a desire to make an anatomical gift under subdivision 3b, paragraph (e);​

30.5 (iii) as applicable, designate document retention as provided under section 171.12,​

30.6 subdivision 3c;​

30.7 (iv) indicate emergency contacts as provided under section 171.12, subdivision 5b;​

30.8 (v) indicate the applicant's race and ethnicity; and​

30.9 (vi) indicate caretaker information as provided under section 171.12, subdivision 5c;​

30.10 and​

30.11 (6) meet the requirements under section 201.161, subdivision 3.​

30.12 (b) Applications must be accompanied by satisfactory evidence demonstrating:​

30.13 (1) identity, date of birth, and any legal name change if applicable; and​

30.14 (2) for driver's drivers' licenses and Minnesota identification cards that meet all​

30.15 requirements of the REAL ID Act:​

30.16 (i) principal residence address in Minnesota, including application for a change of address,​

30.17 unless the applicant provides a designated address under section 5B.05;​

30.18 (ii) Social Security number, or related documentation as applicable; and​

30.19 (iii) lawful status, as defined in Code of Federal Regulations, title 6, section 37.3.​

30.20 (c) An application for an enhanced driver's license or enhanced identification card must​

30.21 be accompanied by:​

30.22 (1) satisfactory evidence demonstrating the applicant's full legal name and United States​

30.23 citizenship; and​

30.24 (2) a photographic identity document.​

30.25 (d) A valid Department of Corrections or Federal Bureau of Prisons identification card​

30.26 containing the applicant's full name, date of birth, and photograph issued to the applicant​

30.27 is an acceptable form of proof of identity in an application for an identification card,​

30.28 instruction permit, or driver's license as a secondary document for purposes of Minnesota​

30.29 Rules, part 7410.0400, and successor rules.​
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31.1 (e) (d) An application form must not provide for identification of (1) the accompanying​

31.2 documents used by an applicant to demonstrate identity, or (2) except as provided in​

31.3 paragraphs (b) and (c), the applicant's citizenship, immigration status, or lawful presence​

31.4 in the United States. The commissioner and a driver's license agent must not inquire about​

31.5 an applicant's citizenship, immigration status, or lawful presence in the United States, except​

31.6 as provided in paragraphs (b) and (c).​

31.7 (e) A Minnesota driver's license, permit, or identification card must be issued only to​

31.8 an individual who has a residence address in the state at the time of the application.​

31.9 Applications for an enhanced driver's license or enhanced identification card must include​

31.10 proof of residency in accordance with section 171.063, subdivision 6. An individual may​

31.11 only have one residence address where the individual is domiciled at any particular time.​

31.12 The residence address of the individual is presumed to continue until the contrary is shown.​

31.13 The applicant must provide the following information about the residence address: residence​

31.14 number, street name, street type, directional, city or town, state, and zip code.​

31.15 Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 171.0605, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

31.16 Subd. 2. Evidence; identity; date of birth. (a) Only the following is satisfactory evidence​

31.17 of an applicant's identity and date of birth under section 171.06, subdivision 3, paragraph​

31.18 (b):​

31.19 (1) a driver's license or identification card that:​

31.20 (i) complies with all requirements of the REAL ID Act;​

31.21 (ii) is not designated as temporary or limited term; and​

31.22 (iii) is current or has been expired for five years or less;​

31.23 (2) a valid, unexpired United States passport, including a passport booklet or passport​

31.24 card, issued by the United States Department of State;​

31.25 (3) a certified copy of a birth certificate issued by a government bureau of vital statistics​

31.26 or equivalent agency in the applicant's state of birth, which must bear the raised or authorized​

31.27 seal of the issuing government entity;​

31.28 (4) a consular report of birth abroad, certification of report of birth, or certification of​

31.29 birth abroad, issued by the United States Department of State, Form FS-240, Form DS-1350,​

31.30 or Form FS-545;​

31.31 (5) a valid, unexpired permanent resident card issued by the United States Department​

31.32 of Homeland Security or the former Immigration and Naturalization Service of the United​
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32.1 States Department of Justice, Form I-551. If the Form I-551 validity period has been​

32.2 automatically extended by the United States Department of Homeland Security, it is deemed​

32.3 unexpired, regardless of the expiration date listed;​

32.4 (6) a foreign passport with an unexpired temporary I-551 stamp or a temporary I-551​

32.5 printed notation on a machine-readable immigrant visa with a United States Department of​

32.6 Homeland Security admission stamp within the validity period;​

32.7 (7) a United States Department of Homeland Security Form I-94 or Form I-94A with a​

32.8 photograph and an unexpired temporary I-551 stamp;​

32.9 (8) a United States Department of State Form DS-232 with a United States Department​

32.10 of Homeland Security admission stamp and validity period;​

32.11 (6) (9) a certificate of naturalization issued by the United States Department of Homeland​

32.12 Security, Form N-550 or Form N-570;​

32.13 (7) (10) a certificate of citizenship issued by the United States Department of Homeland​

32.14 Security, Form N-560 or Form N-561;​

32.15 (8) (11) an unexpired employment authorization document issued by the United States​

32.16 Department of Homeland Security, Form I-766 or Form I-688B. If the Form I-766 validity​

32.17 period has been automatically extended by the United States Department of Homeland​

32.18 Security, it is deemed unexpired, regardless of the expiration date listed;​

32.19 (9) (12) a valid, unexpired passport issued by a foreign country and a valid, unexpired​

32.20 United States visa accompanied by documentation of the applicant's most recent lawful​

32.21 admittance into the United States;​

32.22 (10) (13) a document as designated by the United States Department of Homeland​

32.23 Security under Code of Federal Regulations, title 6, part 37.11 (c)(1)(x);​

32.24 (11) (14) a copy of the applicant's certificate of marriage certified by the issuing​

32.25 government jurisdiction;​

32.26 (12) (15) a certified copy of a court order that specifies the applicant's name change; or​

32.27 (13) (16) a certified copy of a divorce decree or dissolution of marriage that specifies​

32.28 the applicant's name change, issued by a court.​

32.29 (b) A document under paragraph (a) must be legible and unaltered.​
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33.1 Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 171.0605, subdivision 5, is amended​

33.2 to read:​

33.3 Subd. 5. Evidence; residence in Minnesota. (a) Submission of two forms of​

33.4 documentation from the following is satisfactory evidence of an applicant's principal​

33.5 residence address in Minnesota under section 171.06, subdivision 3, paragraph (b):​

33.6 (1) a home utility services bill issued no more than 12 months before the application;​

33.7 (2) a home utility services hook-up work order issued no more than 12 months before​

33.8 the application;​

33.9 (3) United States bank or financial information issued no more than 12 months before​

33.10 the application, with account numbers redacted, including:​

33.11 (i) a bank account statement;​

33.12 (ii) a credit card or debit card statement;​

33.13 (iii) a brokerage account statement;​

33.14 (iv) a money market account statement;​

33.15 (v) a Health Savings Account statement; or​

33.16 (vi) a retirement account statement;​

33.17 (4) a certified transcript from a United States high school, if issued no more than 180​

33.18 days before the application;​

33.19 (5) a certified transcript from a Minnesota college or university, if issued no more than​

33.20 180 days before the application;​

33.21 (6) a student summary report from a United States high school signed by a school​

33.22 principal or designated authority and issued no more than 180 days before the application;​

33.23 (7) an employment pay stub issued no more than 12 months before the application that​

33.24 lists the employer's name and address;​

33.25 (8) a Minnesota unemployment insurance benefit statement issued no more than 12​

33.26 months before the application;​

33.27 (9) a statement from an assisted living facility licensed under chapter 144G, nursing​

33.28 home licensed under chapter 144A, or a boarding care facility licensed under sections 144.50​

33.29 to 144.56, that was issued no more than 12 months before the application;​

33.30 (10) a current policy or card for health, automobile, homeowner's, or renter's insurance;​
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34.1 (11) a federal or state income tax return for the most recent tax filing year;​

34.2 (12) a Minnesota property tax statement for the current or prior calendar year or a​

34.3 proposed Minnesota property tax notice for the current year that shows the applicant's​

34.4 principal residential address both on the mailing portion and the portion stating what property​

34.5 is being taxed;​

34.6 (13) a Minnesota vehicle certificate of title;​

34.7 (14) a filed property deed or title for current residence;​

34.8 (15) a Supplemental Security Income award statement issued no more than 12 months​

34.9 before the application;​

34.10 (16) mortgage documents for the applicant's principal residence;​

34.11 (17) a residential lease agreement for the applicant's principal residence issued no more​

34.12 than 12 months before the application;​

34.13 (18) an affidavit of residence for an applicant whose principal residence is a group home,​

34.14 communal living arrangement, cooperative, or a religious order issued no more than 90​

34.15 days before the application;​

34.16 (19) an assisted living or nursing home statement issued no more than 90 days before​

34.17 the application;​

34.18 (20) a valid driver's license, including an instruction permit, issued under this chapter;​

34.19 (21) a valid Minnesota identification card;​

34.20 (22) an unexpired Minnesota professional license;​

34.21 (23) an unexpired Selective Service card;​

34.22 (24) military orders that are still in effect at the time of application;​

34.23 (25) a cellular phone bill issued no more than 12 months before the application; or​

34.24 (26) a valid license issued pursuant to the game and fish laws.​

34.25 (b) In lieu of one of the two documents required by paragraph (a), an applicant under​

34.26 the age of 18 may use a parent or guardian's proof of principal residence as provided in this​

34.27 paragraph. The parent or guardian of the applicant must provide a document listed under​

34.28 paragraph (a) that includes the parent or guardian's name and the same address as the address​

34.29 on the document provided by the applicant. The parent or guardian must also certify that​

34.30 the applicant is the child of the parent or guardian and lives at that address.​
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35.1 (c) A document under paragraph (a) must include the applicant's name and principal​

35.2 residence address in Minnesota.​

35.3 (d) For purposes of this section subdivision, Internet service and cable service are utilities​

35.4 under this section and Minnesota Rules, part 7410.0410, subpart 4a.​

35.5 Sec. 32. [171.062] EVIDENCE OF IDENTITY; NONCOMPLIANT CREDENTIALS.​

35.6 Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have​

35.7 the meanings given.​

35.8 (b) "Court" includes a foreign court of competent jurisdiction.​

35.9 (c) "Foreign" means a jurisdiction that is not, and is not within, the United States, the​

35.10 Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, Guam,​

35.11 the United States Virgin Islands, or a territory of the United States.​

35.12 Subd. 2. Evidence of identity. For a noncompliant license or identification card, an​

35.13 applicant must submit:​

35.14 (1) a Minnesota driver's license or identification card that is current or has been expired:​

35.15 (i) for five years or less with a color photograph or electronically produced or digitized​

35.16 image; or​

35.17 (ii) for one year or less without a color photograph or electronically produced or digitized​

35.18 image; or​

35.19 (2) if the applicant cannot present a credential under clause (1), either:​

35.20 (i) one primary document under subdivision 4 and one secondary document under​

35.21 subdivision 5; or​

35.22 (ii) two primary documents under subdivision 4.​

35.23 Subd. 3. General requirements. (a) A document submitted under this section must​

35.24 include the applicant's name and must be:​

35.25 (1) issued to or provided for the applicant;​

35.26 (2) legible and unaltered;​

35.27 (3) an original or a copy certified by the issuing agency or by a court; and​

35.28 (4) accompanied by a certified translation or an affidavit of translation into English, if​

35.29 the document is not in English.​
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36.1 (b) If the applicant's current legal name is different from the name on a document​

36.2 submitted under subdivision 2 or 3, the applicant must submit:​

36.3 (1) a certified copy of a court order that specifies the applicant's name change;​

36.4 (2) a certified copy of the applicant's certificate of marriage;​

36.5 (3) a certified copy of a divorce decree or dissolution of marriage that specifies the​

36.6 applicant's name change, issued by a court; or​

36.7 (4) similar documentation of a lawful change of name, as determined by the​

36.8 commissioner.​

36.9 (c) A form issued by a federal agency that is specified under this section includes any​

36.10 subsequent form or version.​

36.11 (d) The commissioner must establish a process to grant a waiver from the requirements​

36.12 under this section.​

36.13 (e) The same document must not be submitted as both a primary document and a​

36.14 secondary document.​

36.15 Subd. 4. Primary documents. (a) For purposes of a noncompliant driver's license or​

36.16 identification card, a primary document includes:​

36.17 (1) a copy of the applicant's record of birth, or an original certificate of birth that is in​

36.18 the files of the applicable bureau or board under item (iii) and can be readily viewed by the​

36.19 official accepting the application, certified by the issuing state that:​

36.20 (i) is not issued by a hospital and is not a baptismal certificate;​

36.21 (ii) bears the raised or authorized seal of the issuing government jurisdiction or a​

36.22 protective equivalent; and​

36.23 (iii) is issued by:​

36.24 (A) a government bureau of vital statistics or community health board;​

36.25 (B) the United States Department of State as a Record of Birth Abroad, Form FS-545​

36.26 or Form DS-1350; or​

36.27 (C) a United States embassy as a Consular Report of Birth Abroad, Form FS-240;​

36.28 (2) a certified copy of an adoption certificate with the applicant's full name and date of​

36.29 birth from a United States court of competent jurisdiction that bears the raised court seal or​

36.30 other court certification;​
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37.1 (3) an unexpired identification card issued to the applicant by the United States​

37.2 Department of Defense for active duty, reserve, or retired military personnel, Form DD-2​

37.3 or Common Access Card;​

37.4 (4) a valid, unexpired passport issued to the applicant by the United States Department​

37.5 of State;​

37.6 (5) a Canadian birth certificate or Canadian naturalization certificate;​

37.7 (6) one of the following documents issued by the United States Department of Justice​

37.8 or the United States Department of Homeland Security or any subsequent form or version​

37.9 of the documents:​

37.10 (i) Certificate of Naturalization, Form N-550, Form N-570, or Form N-578;​

37.11 (ii) Certificate of Citizenship, Form N-560, Form N-561, or Form N-645;​

37.12 (iii) United States Citizen Identification card, Form I-179 or Form I-197;​

37.13 (iv) valid, unexpired Permanent Resident or Resident Alien card, Form I-551 or Form​

37.14 I-151;​

37.15 (v) Northern Mariana card, Form I-873, with "Northern Mariana" imprinted instead of​

37.16 "Resident Alien";​

37.17 (vi) American Indian card, Form I-872, with "American Indian" imprinted instead of​

37.18 "Resident Alien";​

37.19 (vii) unexpired employment authorization document with a photograph, Form I-688,​

37.20 Form I-688A, Form I-688B, or Form I-766; or​

37.21 (viii) unexpired Re-entry Permit/Refugee Travel Document, Form I-571;​

37.22 (7) an unexpired passport or a consular identification document that bears a photograph​

37.23 of the applicant;​

37.24 (8) a certified birth certificate issued by a foreign jurisdiction; and​

37.25 (9) a certified adoption certificate issued by a foreign jurisdiction that includes the​

37.26 applicant's name and date of birth.​

37.27 (b) A document submitted under this subdivision must contain security features that​

37.28 make the document as impervious to alteration as is reasonably practicable in its design and​

37.29 quality of material and technology.​

37.30 (c) Submission of more than one primary document is not required under this subdivision.​

37​Article 2 Sec. 32.​
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38.1 Subd. 5. Secondary documents. (a) For purposes of a noncompliant driver's license or​

38.2 identification card, a secondary document includes:​

38.3 (1) a second primary document listed under subdivision 2, paragraph (a);​

38.4 (2) a driver's license, identification card, or permit, with a photograph or digitized image,​

38.5 issued by a United States state other than Minnesota or a foreign jurisdiction and that is​

38.6 current or has expired no more than five years before the application;​

38.7 (3) a certified copy of a court order or judgment from a United States or Canadian court​

38.8 of competent jurisdiction containing the applicant's full name and date of birth and bearing​

38.9 the raised court seal or other court certification;​

38.10 (4) a current United States or Canadian government jurisdiction employee photo​

38.11 identification card;​

38.12 (5) a certified copy of a record of birth issued by a government jurisdiction other than​

38.13 one in the United States, the District of Columbia, Guam, Puerto Rico, or the United States​

38.14 Virgin Islands;​

38.15 (6) a current identification card or document issued to the applicant by the United States​

38.16 Department of Defense, described as:​

38.17 (i) DD Form 1173 series, for dependents of active duty personnel; or​

38.18 (ii) DD Form 214, Certificate of Release or Discharge from Active Duty;​

38.19 (7) a copy of a marriage certificate certified by the issuing government jurisdiction or​

38.20 the original certificate only if it is in the files of the issuing jurisdiction and can be readily​

38.21 viewed by the official accepting the application;​

38.22 (8) an unexpired permit to carry a firearm or concealed weapon bearing a color photo​

38.23 of the applicant issued by a chief of police in an organized, full-time United States police​

38.24 department or by a United States county sheriff;​

38.25 (9) a current pilot's license issued by the United States Department of Transportation,​

38.26 Federal Aviation Administration;​

38.27 (10) a copy of a transcript containing the applicant's full legal name and date of birth​

38.28 certified by the issuing secondary or postsecondary school;​

38.29 (11) a United States nonmetal Social Security card or a Canadian social insurance card;​

38​Article 2 Sec. 32.​
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39.1 (12) a current secondary school student identification card with the student's name, a​

39.2 photograph or electronically produced image of the student, and the student's date of birth​

39.3 or unique student identification number;​

39.4 (13) a notice of action on or proof of submission of a completed Application for Asylum​

39.5 and for Withholding of Removal issued by the United States Department of Homeland​

39.6 Security, Form I-589;​

39.7 (14) a Certificate of Eligibility for Nonimmigrant Student Status issued by the United​

39.8 States Department of Homeland Security, Form I-20;​

39.9 (15) a Certificate of Eligibility for Exchange Visitor (J-1) Status issued by the United​

39.10 States Department of State, Form DS-2019;​

39.11 (16) a Deferred Action for Childhood Arrival approval notice issued by the United States​

39.12 Department of Homeland Security;​

39.13 (17) an employment authorization document issued by the United States Department of​

39.14 Homeland Security, Form I-688, Form I-688A, Form I-688B, or Form I-766;​

39.15 (18) a document issued by the Internal Revenue Service with an individual taxpayer​

39.16 identification number;​

39.17 (19) a Social Security card;​

39.18 (20) a Supplemental Security Income award statement;​

39.19 (21) a Selective Service card;​

39.20 (22) military orders that are still in effect at the time of the application with a copy of a​

39.21 DD Form 2058 State of Legal Residence Certificate;​

39.22 (23) a Minnesota unemployment insurance benefit statement;​

39.23 (24) a valid identification card for health benefits or an assistance or social services​

39.24 program;​

39.25 (25) a Minnesota vehicle certificate of title;​

39.26 (26) mortgage documents for the applicant's residence;​

39.27 (27) a filed property deed or title for the applicant's residence;​

39.28 (28) a Minnesota property tax statement or a proposed Minnesota property tax notice;​

39.29 (29) a certified copy of a divorce decree or dissolution of marriage issued by a court that​

39.30 specifies the applicant's name or name change;​
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40.1 (30) a valid Department of Corrections or Federal Bureau of Prisons identification card​

40.2 containing the applicant's full name, date of birth, and photograph; and​

40.3 (31) any of the following documents issued by a foreign jurisdiction:​

40.4 (i) a driver's license that is current or has been expired for no more than five years before​

40.5 the application;​

40.6 (ii) a high school, college, or university student identification card with a certified​

40.7 transcript from the school;​

40.8 (iii) an official high school, college, or university transcript that includes the applicant's​

40.9 date of birth and a photograph of the applicant at the age the record was issued;​

40.10 (iv) a federal electoral card that contains the applicant's photograph issued on or after​

40.11 January 1, 1991;​

40.12 (v) a certified copy of the applicant's certificate of marriage; and​

40.13 (vi) a certified copy of a court order or judgment from a court of competent jurisdiction​

40.14 that contains the applicant's name and date of birth.​

40.15 (b) Submission of more than one secondary document is not required under this​

40.16 subdivision.​

40.17 Subd. 6. Verification. The department must be able to verify with the issuing jurisdiction​

40.18 the issuance and authenticity of the primary or secondary documents submitted under this​

40.19 section. Verification is required if:​

40.20 (1) the document provided by the applicant is inconsistent with the department record;​

40.21 (2) the document provided by the applicant appears to be altered or fraudulent; or​

40.22 (3) there is reason to believe the applicant is not who the applicant claims to be.​

40.23 Sec. 33. [171.063] EVIDENCE OF IDENTITY FOR ENHANCED CREDENTIALS.​

40.24 Subdivision 1. Date of birth. As proof satisfactory of date of birth, an applicant for an​

40.25 enhanced driver's license or an enhanced identification card must present one of the following​

40.26 documents:​

40.27 (1) original or certified copy of a United States or United States territory birth certificate​

40.28 that bears the raised or authorized seal of the issuing jurisdiction or a protective equivalent;​

40.29 (2) United States Department of State Consular Report of Birth Abroad, Form FS-240,​

40.30 Form DS-1350, or Form FS-545;​
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41.1 (3) valid, unexpired United States passport or United States passport card;​

41.2 (4) Certificate of Naturalization, Form N-550 or Form N-570;​

41.3 (5) Certificate of Citizenship, Form N-560 or Form N-561;​

41.4 (6) American Indian card, Form I-872, or Minnesota tribal identification card that meets​

41.5 the requirements of section 171.072; or​

41.6 (7) United States military photo identification card issued to active duty, reserve, or​

41.7 retired military personnel.​

41.8 Subd. 2. Full legal name. As proof satisfactory of full legal name, an applicant for an​

41.9 enhanced driver's license or enhanced identification card must present one of the following​

41.10 documents that was not also presented for proof of photographic identity under subdivision​

41.11 4:​

41.12 (1) original or certified copy of a United States or United States territory birth certificate​

41.13 that bears the raised or authorized seal of the issuing jurisdiction or a protective equivalent;​

41.14 (2) United States Department of State Consular Report of Birth Abroad, Form FS-240,​

41.15 Form DS-1350, or Form FS-545;​

41.16 (3) valid, unexpired United States passport or United States passport card;​

41.17 (4) Certificate of Naturalization, Form N-550 or Form N-570;​

41.18 (5) Certificate of Citizenship, Form N-560 or Form N-561;​

41.19 (6) American Indian card, Form I-872, or Minnesota tribal identification card that meets​

41.20 the requirements of section 171.072;​

41.21 (7) United States military photo identification card issued to active duty, reserve, or​

41.22 retired military personnel;​

41.23 (8) federal or Minnesota income tax form W-2;​

41.24 (9) federal or Minnesota income tax form SSA-1099;​

41.25 (10) non-SSA federal or Minnesota income tax form 1099;​

41.26 (11) United States high school identification card with a certified transcript from the​

41.27 same school if issued no more than 180 days before the application;​

41.28 (12) United States college or university identification card with a certified transcript​

41.29 from the same college or university if issued no more than 180 days before the application;​
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42.1 (13) Minnesota unemployment insurance benefit statement issued no more than 90 days​

42.2 before the application;​

42.3 (14) life, health, automobile, homeowner's, or renter's insurance policy that is issued no​

42.4 more than 90 days before the application. The commissioner must not accept a proof of​

42.5 insurance card;​

42.6 (15) federal or state income tax return or statement for the most recent tax filing year;​

42.7 (16) Minnesota property tax statement for the current year that reflects the applicant's​

42.8 principal residential address both on the mailing portion and the portion stating what property​

42.9 is being taxed;​

42.10 (17) Minnesota vehicle certificate of title if issued no more than 12 months before the​

42.11 application;​

42.12 (18) filed property deed or title for the applicant's current residence if issued no more​

42.13 than 12 months before the application;​

42.14 (19) Supplemental Security Income award statement that is issued no more than 12​

42.15 months before the application;​

42.16 (20) valid Minnesota driver's license, valid Minnesota identification card, or valid permit;​

42.17 (21) unexpired Minnesota professional license;​

42.18 (22) unexpired Selective Service card;​

42.19 (23) military orders that are still in effect at the time of the application;​

42.20 (24) copy of the applicant's certificate of marriage certified by the issuing government​

42.21 jurisdiction;​

42.22 (25) certified copy of a court order specifying a name change; or​

42.23 (26) certified copy of a divorce decree or dissolution of marriage granted to the applicant​

42.24 that specifies a name change requested from a court of competent jurisdiction.​

42.25 Subd. 3. Social Security number. As proof satisfactory of Social Security number, an​

42.26 applicant for an enhanced driver's license or an enhanced identification card must present​

42.27 the applicant's original Social Security card or one of the following:​

42.28 (1) federal or Minnesota income tax form W-2;​

42.29 (2) federal or Minnesota income tax form SSA-1099;​

42.30 (3) non-SSA federal or Minnesota income tax form 1099; or​
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43.1 (4) United States employment computer-printed pay stub containing the applicant's​

43.2 name, address, and full Social Security number.​

43.3 Subd. 4. Photographic identity. As proof satisfactory of photographic identity, an​

43.4 applicant for an enhanced driver's license or an enhanced identification card must present​

43.5 one of the following documents:​

43.6 (1) valid Minnesota driver's license, identification card, or permit;​

43.7 (2) valid driver's license, identification card, or permit issued by another United States​

43.8 state, including the District of Columbia and any United States territory;​

43.9 (3) United States military identification card issued to active duty, reserve, or retired​

43.10 military personnel;​

43.11 (4) United States military dependent identification card;​

43.12 (5) valid, unexpired United States passport or United States passport card;​

43.13 (6) American Indian card, Form I-872, or Minnesota tribal identification card that meets​

43.14 the requirements under section 171.072;​

43.15 (7) valid city, county, state, or federal employee identification card;​

43.16 (8) United States high school identification card with a certified transcript from the same​

43.17 school, both issued no more than 180 days before the application;​

43.18 (9) United States college or university identification card with a certified transcript from​

43.19 the same college or university, both issued no more than 180 days before the application;​

43.20 or​

43.21 (10) veterans universal access identification card.​

43.22 Subd. 5. United States citizenship. As proof satisfactory of United States citizenship,​

43.23 an applicant for an enhanced driver's license or enhanced identification card must present​

43.24 one of the following documents:​

43.25 (1) original or certified copy of a United States or United States territory birth certificate​

43.26 that bears the raised or authorized seal of the issuing jurisdiction or a protective equivalent;​

43.27 (2) United States Department of State Consular Report of Birth Abroad, Form FS-240,​

43.28 Form DS-1350, or Form FS-545;​

43.29 (3) valid, unexpired United States passport or United States passport card;​

43.30 (4) Certificate of Naturalization, Form N-550 or Form N-570; or​
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44.1 (5) Certificate of Citizenship, Form N-560 or Form N-561.​

44.2 Subd. 6. Residency. (a) As proof satisfactory of residency, an applicant for an enhanced​

44.3 driver's license or enhanced identification card must present two different forms of the​

44.4 following documents that list the applicant's name and address:​

44.5 (1) United States home utility services bill that is issued no more than 90 days before​

44.6 the application. The commissioner must not accept a United States home utility bill if two​

44.7 unrelated people are listed on the bill;​

44.8 (2) United States home utility services hook-up work order that is issued no more than​

44.9 90 days before the application. The commissioner must not accept a United States home​

44.10 utility services hook-up work order if two unrelated people are listed on the work order;​

44.11 (3) United States financial information with account numbers redacted that is issued no​

44.12 more than 90 days before the application, including a:​

44.13 (i) bank account statement;​

44.14 (ii) canceled check; or​

44.15 (iii) credit card statement;​

44.16 (4) United States high school identification card with a certified transcript from the same​

44.17 school if issued no more than 180 days before the application;​

44.18 (5) United States college or university identification card with a certified transcript from​

44.19 the same college or university if issued no more than 180 days before the application;​

44.20 (6) United States employment pay stub that lists the employer's name, address, and​

44.21 telephone number that is issued no more than 90 days before the application;​

44.22 (7) Minnesota unemployment insurance benefit statement issued no more than 90 days​

44.23 before the application;​

44.24 (8) assisted living or nursing home statement that is issued no more than 90 days before​

44.25 the application;​

44.26 (9) life, health, automobile, homeowner's, or renter's insurance policy that is issued no​

44.27 more than 90 days before the application. The commissioner must not accept a proof of​

44.28 insurance card;​

44.29 (10) federal or state income tax return or statement for the most recent tax filing year;​
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45.1 (11) Minnesota property tax statement for the current year that reflects the applicant's​

45.2 principal residential address both on the mailing portion and the portion stating what property​

45.3 is being taxed;​

45.4 (12) Minnesota vehicle certificate of title if issued no more than 12 months before the​

45.5 application;​

45.6 (13) filed property deed or title for the applicant's current residence if issued no more​

45.7 than 12 months before the application;​

45.8 (14) Supplemental Security Income award statement that is issued no more than 12​

45.9 months before the application;​

45.10 (15) mortgage documents for the applicant's principal residence;​

45.11 (16) residential lease agreement for the applicant's principal residence that is issued no​

45.12 more than 12 months before the application;​

45.13 (17) valid Minnesota driver's license, identification card, or permit;​

45.14 (18) unexpired Minnesota professional license;​

45.15 (19) unexpired Selective Service card; or​

45.16 (20) military orders that are still in effect at the time of the application with a copy of a​

45.17 DD Form 2058 State of Legal Residence Certificate.​

45.18 (b) For purposes of this subdivision, Internet service and cable service are utilities.​

45.19 (c) The commissioner must verify with the United States Postal Service the address​

45.20 information provided under this subdivision.​

45.21 Subd. 7. Verification. The department must be able to verify with the issuing jurisdiction​

45.22 the issuance and authenticity of the documents submitted under this section. Verification​

45.23 is required if:​

45.24 (1) the document provided by the applicant is inconsistent with the department record;​

45.25 (2) the document provided by the applicant appears to be altered or fraudulent; or​

45.26 (3) there is reason to believe the applicant is not who the applicant claims to be.​

45.27 Sec. 34. [171.069] TRANSLATIONS.​

45.28 For any document submitted to the department under this chapter in a language other​

45.29 than English:​
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46.1 (1) the document must be accompanied by a translation of that document into the English​

46.2 language;​

46.3 (2) the translation must be sworn to by the translator as being a true and accurate​

46.4 translation;​

46.5 (3) the translator must not be related by blood or marriage to the applicant; and​

46.6 (4) the translator must be:​

46.7 (i) accredited by the American Translators Association;​

46.8 (ii) certified by a court of competent jurisdiction;​

46.9 (iii) approved by an embassy or consulate of the United States or diplomatic or consular​

46.10 official of a foreign country assigned or accredited to the United States;​

46.11 (iv) affiliated with or approved by the United States Citizenship and Immigration Services​

46.12 or a government jurisdiction within the United States;​

46.13 (v) an attorney licensed to practice in the United States or affiliated with that attorney;​

46.14 (vi) a vendor listed to provide translation services for the state of Minnesota; or​

46.15 (vii) a qualified individual who certifies the individual is competent to translate the​

46.16 document into English.​

46.17 Sec. 35. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 171.07, subdivision 15, is amended​

46.18 to read:​

46.19 Subd. 15. Veteran designation. (a) At the request of an eligible applicant and on payment​

46.20 of the required fee, the department shall issue, renew, or reissue to the applicant a driver's​

46.21 license or Minnesota identification card bearing a graphic or written designation of:​

46.22 (1) Veteran; or​

46.23 (2) Veteran 100% T&P.​

46.24 (b) At the time of the initial application for the designation provided under this​

46.25 subdivision, the applicant must:​

46.26 (1) be one of the following:​

46.27 (i) a veteran, as defined in section 197.447; or​

46.28 (ii) a retired or honorably discharged member of the National Guard or a reserve​

46.29 component of the United States armed forces;​
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47.1 (2) provide a certified copy of the applicant's discharge papers that confirms an honorable​

47.2 or general discharge under honorable conditions status, or a military retiree identification​

47.3 card, veteran identification card, or veteran health identification card; and​

47.4 (3) if the applicant is seeking the disability designation under paragraph (a), clause (2),​

47.5 provide satisfactory evidence of a 100 percent total and permanent service-connected​

47.6 disability as determined by the United States Department of Veterans Affairs.​

47.7 Sec. 36. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 171.072, is amended to read:​

47.8 171.072 TRIBAL IDENTIFICATION CARD.​

47.9 (a) If a Minnesota identification card is deemed an acceptable form of identification in​

47.10 Minnesota Statutes or Rules, a tribal identification card is also an acceptable form of​

47.11 identification. A tribal identification card is a primary document for purposes of Minnesota​

47.12 Rules, part 7410.0400, and successor rules, section 171.062 when an applicant applies for​

47.13 a noncompliant license or identification card.​

47.14 (b) For purposes of this section, "tribal identification card" means an unexpired​

47.15 identification card issued by a Minnesota tribal government of a tribe recognized by the​

47.16 Bureau of Indian Affairs, United States Department of the Interior, that contains the legal​

47.17 name, date of birth, signature, and picture of the enrolled tribal member.​

47.18 (c) The tribal identification card must contain security features that make it as impervious​

47.19 to alteration as is reasonably practicable in its design and quality of material and technology.​

47.20 The security features must use materials that are not readily available to the general public.​

47.21 The tribal identification card must not be susceptible to reproduction by photocopying or​

47.22 simulation and must be highly resistant to data or photograph substitution and other​

47.23 tampering.​

47.24 (d) The requirements of this section do not apply: (1) except as provided in paragraph​

47.25 (a), to an application for a driver's license or Minnesota identification card under this chapter;​

47.26 or (2) to tribal identification cards used to prove an individual's residence for purposes of​

47.27 section 201.061, subdivision 3.​

47.28 Sec. 37. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 171.12, subdivision 11, is amended​

47.29 to read:​

47.30 Subd. 11. Certain data on noncompliant license or identification card; department​

47.31 and agents. (a) For purposes of this section, "immigration status data" means data on​

47.32 individuals who have applied for or been issued a noncompliant driver's license or​

47​Article 2 Sec. 37.​
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48.1 identification card and that indicate or otherwise have the effect of identifying (1) whether​

48.2 the individual has demonstrated United States citizenship, or (2) whether the individual has​

48.3 demonstrated lawful presence in the United States. Immigration status data include but are​

48.4 not limited to any documents specified under section 171.06, subdivision 9, 10, or 11​

48.5 171.062; immigration status data contained in those documents; or the applicant's submission​

48.6 of the documents.​

48.7 (b) Immigration status data are classified as private data on individuals, as defined in​

48.8 section 13.02, subdivision 12. Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, the commissioner​

48.9 or a driver's license agent must not share or disseminate immigration status data except to​

48.10 or within the division of the department that administers driver licensing and to the secretary​

48.11 of state for purposes of improving the accuracy of voter registration records under subdivision​

48.12 7a.​

48.13 (c) As authorized or required by state or federal law, the commissioner or a driver's​

48.14 license agent may share or disseminate data on individuals who have applied for or been​

48.15 issued a noncompliant driver's license or identification card that are not immigration status​

48.16 data to a government entity, as defined in section 13.02, subdivision 7a, or to a federal​

48.17 government entity that does not enforce immigration law, provided that the receiving entity​

48.18 must not use the data for civil immigration enforcement purposes or further disclose the​

48.19 data to a state or federal government entity that primarily enforces immigration law or to​

48.20 any employee or agent of any such government entity.​

48.21 (d) Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, the commissioner or a driver's license agent​

48.22 must not share or disseminate any data on individuals who have applied for or been issued​

48.23 a noncompliant driver's license or identification card to any federal government entity that​

48.24 primarily enforces immigration law, except pursuant to a valid search warrant or court order​

48.25 issued by a state or federal judge.​

48.26 (e) Violation of this subdivision by the commissioner, a driver's license agent, a​

48.27 government entity, or an employee or agent thereof constitutes a violation of the Minnesota​

48.28 Government Data Practices Act and may be subject to penalties and remedies applicable​

48.29 under that chapter.​

48.30 Sec. 38. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 171.13, subdivision 1a, is amended​

48.31 to read:​

48.32 Subd. 1a. Waiver when license issued by another jurisdiction. (a) If the commissioner​

48.33 determines that an applicant for a driver's license is 21 years of age or older and possesses​

48.34 a valid driver's license issued by another state or jurisdiction that requires a comparable​

48​Article 2 Sec. 38.​
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49.1 examination to obtain a driver's license, the commissioner must waive the requirements that​

49.2 the applicant pass a knowledge examination and demonstrate ability to exercise ordinary​

49.3 and reasonable control in the operation of a motor vehicle.​

49.4 (b) If the commissioner determines that an applicant for a two-wheeled vehicle motorcycle​

49.5 endorsement is 21 years of age or older and possesses a valid driver's license with a​

49.6 two-wheeled vehicle motorcycle endorsement issued by another state or jurisdiction that​

49.7 requires a comparable examination to obtain an endorsement, the commissioner must waive​

49.8 the requirements with respect to the endorsement that the applicant pass a knowledge​

49.9 examination and demonstrate the ability to exercise ordinary and reasonable control in the​

49.10 operation of a motor vehicle.​

49.11 (c) For purposes of this subdivision, "jurisdiction" includes, but is not limited to, both​

49.12 the active and reserve components of any branch or unit of the United States armed forces,​

49.13 and "valid driver's license" includes any driver's license that is recognized by that branch​

49.14 or unit as currently being valid, or as having been valid at the time of the applicant's​

49.15 separation or discharge from the military within a period of time deemed reasonable and​

49.16 fair by the commissioner, up to and including one year past the date of the applicant's​

49.17 separation or discharge.​

49.18 Sec. 39. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 171.13, subdivision 6, is amended to read:​

49.19 Subd. 6. Two-wheeled vehicle Motorcycle endorsement examination fee. A person​

49.20 applying for an initial two-wheeled vehicle motorcycle endorsement on a driver's license​

49.21 shall pay at the place of examination a $2.50 examination fee, an endorsement fee as​

49.22 prescribed in section 171.06, subdivision 2a, and the appropriate driver's license fee as​

49.23 prescribed in section 171.06, subdivision 2.​

49.24 Sec. 40. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 171.30, subdivision 2a, is amended to read:​

49.25 Subd. 2a. Other waiting periods. Notwithstanding subdivision 2, a limited license shall​

49.26 not be issued for a period of:​

49.27 (1) 15 days, to a person whose license or privilege has been revoked or suspended for​

49.28 a first violation of section 169A.20, sections 169A.50 to 169A.53, section 171.177, or a​

49.29 statute or ordinance from another state in conformity with either of those sections; or​

49.30 (2) one year, to a person whose license or privilege has been revoked or suspended for:​

49.31 (i) committing manslaughter resulting from the operation of a motor vehicle,;​

49.32 (ii) committing criminal vehicular homicide or injury under section sections:​

49​Article 2 Sec. 40.​
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50.1 (A) 609.2112, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), clause (1),; (2), item (ii),; (5),; (6),; (7),; or​

50.2 (8),;​

50.3 (B) 609.2113, subdivision 1, clause (1); (2), item (ii); (5); (6); (7); or (8); or​

50.4 (C) 609.2114, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), clause (1); (2), item (ii); (5); (6); (7); or (8);​

50.5 or subdivision 2, clause (1); (2), item (ii); (5); (6); (7); or (8);​

50.6 (iii) committing criminal vehicular homicide under section sections:​

50.7 (A) 609.2112, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), clause (2), item (i) or (iii),; (3),; or (4),; or​

50.8 (B) 609.2114, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), clause (2), item (i) or (iii); (3); or (4); or​

50.9 (iv) violating a statute or ordinance from another state in conformity with either of those​

50.10 offenses.​

50.11 Sec. 41. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 171.30, subdivision 5, is amended to read:​

50.12 Subd. 5. Exception; criminal vehicular operation. Notwithstanding subdivision 1, the​

50.13 commissioner may not issue a limited license to a person whose driver's license has been​

50.14 suspended or revoked due to a violation of section 609.2112, subdivision 1:​

50.15 (1) section 609.2113, subdivision 1, clause (2), item (i) or (iii),; (3),; or (4), resulting in​

50.16 bodily harm, substantial bodily harm, or great bodily harm.; subdivision 2, clause (2), item​

50.17 (i) or (iii); (3); or (4); or subdivision 3, clause (2), item (i) or (iii); (3); or (4);​

50.18 (2) section 609.2114, subdivision 2, clause (2), item (i) or (iii); (3); or (4); or​

50.19 (3) a statute or ordinance from another state in conformity with the offenses under clauses​

50.20 (1) and (2) resulting in injury.​

50.21 Sec. 42. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 171.395, subdivision 1, is amended​

50.22 to read:​

50.23 Subdivision 1. Authorization. A licensed or approved driver education program that​

50.24 provides both classroom and behind-the-wheel instruction may offer teleconference driver​

50.25 education as provided in this section. For purposes of this section, the driver education​

50.26 program must offer both classroom and behind-the-wheel instruction. If a program partners​

50.27 or contracts with a second program to provide any portion of classroom or behind-the-wheel​

50.28 instruction, the first program is not eligible to offer teleconference driver education​

50.29 instruction.​

50​Article 2 Sec. 42.​
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51.1 Sec. 43. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 171.396, is amended to read:​

51.2 171.396 ONLINE DRIVER EDUCATION PROGRAM.​

51.3 (a) A licensed or approved driver education program may offer online driver education​

51.4 as provided in this section. The online driver education program must satisfy the requirements​

51.5 for classroom driver education as provided in section 171.0701, subdivision 1, and Minnesota​

51.6 Rules, chapter 7411. In addition, an online driver education program must:​

51.7 (1) include a means for the student to measure performance outcomes;​

51.8 (2) use a pool of rotating quiz questions;​

51.9 (3) incorporate accountability features to ensure the identity of the student while engaged​

51.10 in the course of online study;​

51.11 (4) measure the amount of time that the student spends in the course;​

51.12 (5) provide technical support to customers that is available 24 hours per day, seven days​

51.13 per week;​

51.14 (6) require a licensed Minnesota driver education instructor to monitor each student's​

51.15 progress and be available to answer questions in a timely manner, provided that the instructor​

51.16 is not required to monitor progress or answer questions in real time;​

51.17 (7) store course content and student data on a secure server that is protected against data​

51.18 breaches and is regularly backed up;​

51.19 (8) incorporate preventive measures in place to protect against the access of private​

51.20 information;​

51.21 (9) include the ability to update course content uniformly throughout the state; and​

51.22 (10) provide online interactive supplemental parental curriculum consistent with section​

51.23 171.0701, subdivision 1a.​

51.24 (b) Except as required by this section, the commissioner is prohibited from imposing​

51.25 requirements on online driver education programs that are not equally applicable to classroom​

51.26 driver education programs.​

51.27 Sec. 44. FULL-SERVICE PROVIDER.​

51.28 (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have the meanings given:​

51.29 (1) "commissioner" means the commissioner of public safety; and​

51​Article 2 Sec. 44.​
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52.1 (2) "full-service provider" has the meaning given in Minnesota Statutes, section 168.002,​

52.2 subdivision 12a.​

52.3 (b) A driver's license agent appointed before January 1, 2024, under Minnesota Statutes,​

52.4 section 171.061, and is recognized by the commissioner as a limited licensing agent under​

52.5 Minnesota Rules, part 7404.0340, may apply to the commissioner to become a full-service​

52.6 provider at the agent's current office location. A driver's license agent must submit an​

52.7 application on or before June 1, 2025. By June 30, 2025, an applicant under this section​

52.8 must satisfactorily complete any additional staff training required by the commissioner to​

52.9 offer expanded services as a full-service provider.​

52.10 (c) The commissioner may appoint an applicant who meets the requirements under this​

52.11 section as a full-service provider.​

52.12 (d) Minnesota Rules, chapter 7404, applies to an appointment under this section, except​

52.13 that this section applies notwithstanding Minnesota Rules, parts 7404.0300, subparts 4, 5,​

52.14 and 6; 7404.0305, subpart 1, item B; 7404.0345, item D; 7404.0350; 7404.0360, subpart​

52.15 2; and 7404.0400, subpart 4, item B.​

52.16 Sec. 45. REPEALER.​

52.17 (a) Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 171.0605, subdivision 4, is repealed.​

52.18 (b) Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 171.06, subdivisions 9, 10, and 11,​

52.19 are repealed.​

52.20 (c) Minnesota Rules, parts 7410.6180; and 7411.7600, subpart 3, are repealed.​

52.21 ARTICLE 3​

52.22 GREATER MINNESOTA TRANSIT​

52.23 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 174.22, is amended by adding a subdivision​

52.24 to read:​

52.25 Subd. 1a. Complementary paratransit service (ADA). "Complementary paratransit​

52.26 service (ADA)" means public transportation service provided on a regular basis where fixed​

52.27 route public transit service exists and is designed exclusively or primarily to serve individuals​

52.28 who are elderly or disabled and unable to use regular means of public transportation.​

52​Article 3 Section 1.​
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53.1 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 174.22, subdivision 2b, is amended to read:​

53.2 Subd. 2b. Elderly and disabled service. "Elderly and disabled service" means​

53.3 transportation service provided on a regular basis in small urbanized or large urbanized​

53.4 areas and designed exclusively or primarily to serve individuals who are elderly or disabled​

53.5 and unable to use regular means of public transportation.​

53.6 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 174.22, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

53.7 read:​

53.8 Subd. 3a. Large urbanized area service. "Large urbanized area service" means a public​

53.9 transportation service operated in areas located outside the metropolitan area with a​

53.10 population greater than 200,000 that is designated by the United States Census Bureau.​

53.11 Large urbanized area service does not include complementary paratransit service (ADA),​

53.12 as defined in subdivision 1a.​

53.13 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 174.22, subdivision 7, is amended to read:​

53.14 Subd. 7. Public transit or transit transportation. "Public transit" or "transit" means​

53.15 general or specific transportation service provided to the public on a regular and continuing​

53.16 basis. "Public transit" or "transit" includes paratransit and regular route transit. "Public​

53.17 transportation" means regular, continuing shared-ride surface transportation services that​

53.18 are open to the general public or open to a segment of the general public defined by age,​

53.19 disability, or low income. Public transportation does not include:​

53.20 (1) intercity passenger rail transportation provided by the entity described in United​

53.21 States Code, title 49, section 243, or a successor entity;​

53.22 (2) intercity bus service;​

53.23 (3) charter bus service;​

53.24 (4) school bus service;​

53.25 (5) sightseeing service;​

53.26 (6) courtesy shuttle service for patrons of one or more specific establishments; or​

53.27 (7) intraterminal or intrafacility shuttle services.​

53.28 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 174.22, subdivision 12, is amended to read:​

53.29 Subd. 12. Rural area service. "Rural area service" means a public transportation service​

53.30 primarily operated in an area having population centers of less than 2,500 persons rural​

53​Article 3 Sec. 5.​
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54.1 areas that have not been designated in the most recent decennial census as an urbanized​

54.2 area by the United States Census Bureau.​

54.3 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 174.22, subdivision 14, is amended to read:​

54.4 Subd. 14. Small urban urbanized area service. "Small urban urbanized area service"​

54.5 means a public transportation service operating in an area with a population between 2,500​

54.6 and 50,000 operated in areas located outside the metropolitan area with a population of at​

54.7 least 50,000 but less than 200,000 that is designated by the United States Census Bureau.​

54.8 Small urbanized area service does not include complementary paratransit service (ADA),​

54.9 as defined in subdivision 1a.​

54.10 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 174.23, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

54.11 Subd. 2. Financial assistance; application, approval. (a) The commissioner shall must​

54.12 seek out and select eligible recipients of financial assistance under sections 174.21 to 174.27.​

54.13 (b) The commissioner shall must establish by rule the procedures and standards for​

54.14 review and approval of applications for financial assistance submitted to the commissioner​

54.15 pursuant to sections 174.21 to 174.27. Any applicant shall must provide to the commissioner​

54.16 any financial or other information required by the commissioner to carry out the​

54.17 commissioner's duties. The commissioner may require local contributions from applicants​

54.18 as a condition for receiving financial assistance.​

54.19 (c) Before the commissioner approves any grant, the application for the grant may be​

54.20 reviewed by the appropriate regional development commission only for consistency with​

54.21 regional transportation plans and development guides. If an applicant proposes a project​

54.22 within the jurisdiction of a transit authority or commission or a transit system assisted or​

54.23 operated by a city or county, the application shall also be reviewed by that commission,​

54.24 authority, or political subdivision for consistency with its transit programs, policies, and​

54.25 plans.​

54.26 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 174.24, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:​

54.27 Subd. 1a. Greater Minnesota transit investment plan. (a) The commissioner shall​

54.28 must develop a greater Minnesota transit investment plan that contains a goal of meeting​

54.29 at least 80 percent of total transit service needs in greater Minnesota by July 1, 2015, and​

54.30 meeting at least 90 percent of total transit service needs in greater Minnesota by July 1,​

54.31 2025.​

54.32 (b) The plan must include, but is not limited to, the following:​

54​Article 3 Sec. 8.​

COUNSEL TJG/KRB/GC SCS3944A-8​03/21/24 02:15 pm ​



55.1 (1) an analysis of ridership and total transit service needs throughout greater Minnesota;​

55.2 (2) a calculation of the level and type of service required to meet total transit service​

55.3 needs, for the transit system classifications as provided under subdivision 3b, paragraph​

55.4 (c), of large urbanized area, small urban urbanized area, rural area, and elderly and disabled​

55.5 service, and complementary paratransit service (ADA);​

55.6 (3) an analysis of costs and revenue options;​

55.7 (4) a plan to reduce total transit service needs as specified in this subdivision; and​

55.8 (5) identification of the operating and capital costs necessary to meet 100 percent of the​

55.9 greater Minnesota transit targeted and projected bus service hours, as identified in the greater​

55.10 Minnesota transit plan, for 2010, 2015, 2020, 2025, and 2030.​

55.11 (c) The plan must specifically address special transportation service ridership and needs.​

55.12 The plan must also provide that recipients of operating assistance under this section provide​

55.13 fixed route public transit service without charge for disabled veterans in accordance with​

55.14 subdivision 7.​

55.15 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 174.24, subdivision 3b, is amended to read:​

55.16 Subd. 3b. Operating assistance; recipient classifications. (a) The commissioner shall​

55.17 determine the total operating cost of any public transit system receiving or applying for​

55.18 assistance in accordance with generally accepted accounting principles. To be eligible for​

55.19 financial assistance, an applicant or recipient shall provide to the commissioner all financial​

55.20 records and other information and shall permit any inspection reasonably necessary to​

55.21 determine total operating cost and correspondingly the amount of assistance that may be​

55.22 paid to the applicant or recipient. Where more than one county or municipality contributes​

55.23 assistance to the operation of a public transit system, the commissioner shall identify one​

55.24 as lead agency for the purpose of receiving money under this section.​

55.25 (b) (a) Prior to distributing operating assistance to eligible recipients for any contract​

55.26 period, the commissioner shall must place all recipients into one of the following​

55.27 classifications: large urbanized area service, small urban urbanized area service, rural area​

55.28 service, and elderly and disabled service, and complementary paratransit service (ADA).​

55.29 (c) (b) The commissioner shall must distribute funds the operating assistance amount​

55.30 under this section so that the percentage of total contracted operating cost from local sources​

55.31 paid by any recipient from local sources will not exceed the following percentage for that​

55.32 recipient's classification, except as provided in this subdivision. The percentages must be:​

55​Article 3 Sec. 9.​

COUNSEL TJG/KRB/GC SCS3944A-8​03/21/24 02:15 pm ​



56.1 (1) for urbanized area service and small urban area service, 20 percent;​

56.2 (2) for rural area service, 15 percent; and​

56.3 (3) for elderly and disabled service and complementary paratransit service (ADA), 15​

56.4 percent.​

56.5 Except as provided in a United States Department of Transportation program allowing or​

56.6 requiring a lower percentage to be paid from local sources, the remainder of the recipient's​

56.7 total contracted operating cost will be paid from state sources of funds less any assistance​

56.8 received by the recipient from the United States Department of Transportation.​

56.9 (d) (c) For purposes of this subdivision, "local sources" means all local sources of funds​

56.10 and includes all operating revenue, tax levies, and contributions from public funds, except​

56.11 that the commissioner may exclude from the total assistance contract revenues derived from​

56.12 operations the cost of which is excluded from the computation of total operating cost.​

56.13 (e) (d) If a recipient informs the commissioner in writing after the establishment of these​

56.14 percentages but prior to the distribution of financial assistance for any year that paying its​

56.15 designated percentage of total operating cost the operating assistance amount from local​

56.16 sources will cause undue hardship, the commissioner may reduce the percentage to be paid​

56.17 from local sources by the recipient and increase the percentage to be paid from local sources​

56.18 by one or more other recipients inside or outside the classification. However, the​

56.19 commissioner may not reduce or increase any recipient's percentage under this paragraph​

56.20 for more than two years successively. If for any year the funds appropriated to the​

56.21 commissioner to carry out the purposes of this section are insufficient to allow the​

56.22 commissioner to pay the state share of total operating cost the operating assistance amount​

56.23 as provided in this paragraph, the commissioner shall must reduce the state share in each​

56.24 classification to the extent necessary.​

56.25 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 174.24, subdivision 3c, is amended to read:​

56.26 Subd. 3c. Nonoperating assistance. The commissioner shall must determine the total​

56.27 cost of any planning and engineering design, capital assistance, other capital expenditures,​

56.28 and other assistance for public transit services that furthers the purposes of section 174.21​

56.29 for any public transit system receiving or applying for the assistance in accordance with​

56.30 generally accepted accounting principles. The percentage of local sources paid by any​

56.31 recipient must not exceed 20 percent of the awarded amount. To be eligible for​

56.32 non-operating-cost financial assistance, an applicant or recipient shall must provide to the​

56.33 commissioner all financial records and other information and shall must permit any inspection​

56​Article 3 Sec. 10.​
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57.1 reasonably necessary to determine total cost and the amount of assistance that may be paid​

57.2 to the applicant or recipient. When more than one county or municipality contributes​

57.3 assistance to the operation of a public transit system, the commissioner shall must identify​

57.4 one as a lead agency for the purpose of receiving money under this section. The commissioner​

57.5 has the sole discretion to determine the amount of state funds distributed to any recipient​

57.6 for non-operating-cost assistance.​

57.7 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 174.247, is amended to read:​

57.8 174.247 ANNUAL TRANSIT REPORT.​

57.9 (a) By February 15 annually, the commissioner shall must submit a report to the​

57.10 legislature on transit services outside the metropolitan area. The Metropolitan Council and​

57.11 Any public transit system receiving assistance under section 174.24 shall must provide​

57.12 assistance in creating the report, as requested by the commissioner.​

57.13 (b) The report must include, at a minimum, the following:​

57.14 (1) a descriptive overview of public transit in Minnesota;​

57.15 (2) a descriptive summary of funding sources and assistance programs;​

57.16 (3) a summary of each public transit system receiving assistance under section 174.24;​

57.17 (4) data that identifies use of volunteers in providing transit service;​

57.18 (5) financial data that identifies for each public transit system and for each transit system​

57.19 classification under section 174.24, subdivision 3b:​

57.20 (i) the operating and capital costs;​

57.21 (ii) each of the funding sources used to provide financial assistance; and​

57.22 (iii) for federal funds, the amount from each specific federal program under which​

57.23 funding is provided;​

57.24 (6) a summary of the differences in program implementation requirements and aid​

57.25 recipient eligibility between federal aid and state sources of funds; and​

57.26 (7) in each odd-numbered year, an analysis of public transit system needs and operating​

57.27 expenditures on an annual basis, which must include a methodology for identifying monetary​

57.28 needs, and calculations of:​

57.29 (i) the total monetary needs for all public transit systems, for the year of the report and​

57.30 the ensuing five years;​

57​Article 3 Sec. 11.​
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58.1 (ii) the total expenditures from local sources for each transit system classification;​

58.2 (iii) the comprehensive transit assistance percentage for each transit system classification,​

58.3 which equals (A) the expenditures identified under item (ii), for a transit system classification,​

58.4 divided by (B) the amounts identified under subitem (A), plus the sum of state sources of​

58.5 funds plus federal funds provided to all transit systems in that classification; and​

58.6 (iv) the amount of surplus or insufficient funds available for paying capital and operating​

58.7 costs to fully implement the greater Minnesota transit investment plan under section 174.24,​

58.8 subdivision 1a.​

58.9 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 256B.0625, subdivision 17, is​

58.10 amended to read:​

58.11 Subd. 17. Transportation costs. (a) "Nonemergency medical transportation service"​

58.12 means motor vehicle transportation provided by a public or private person that serves​

58.13 Minnesota health care program beneficiaries who do not require emergency ambulance​

58.14 service, as defined in section 144E.001, subdivision 3, to obtain covered medical services.​

58.15 (b) For purposes of this subdivision, "rural urban commuting area" or "RUCA" means​

58.16 a census-tract based classification system under which a geographical area is determined​

58.17 to be urban, rural, or super rural.​

58.18 (c) Medical assistance covers medical transportation costs incurred solely for obtaining​

58.19 emergency medical care or transportation costs incurred by eligible persons in obtaining​

58.20 emergency or nonemergency medical care when paid directly to an ambulance company,​

58.21 nonemergency medical transportation company, or other recognized providers of​

58.22 transportation services. Medical transportation must be provided by:​

58.23 (1) nonemergency medical transportation providers who meet the requirements of this​

58.24 subdivision;​

58.25 (2) ambulances, as defined in section 144E.001, subdivision 2;​

58.26 (3) taxicabs that meet the requirements of this subdivision;​

58.27 (4) public transit, within the meaning of "public transportation" as defined in section​

58.28 174.22, subdivision 7; or​

58.29 (5) not-for-hire vehicles, including volunteer drivers, as defined in section 65B.472,​

58.30 subdivision 1, paragraph (h).​

58.31 (d) Medical assistance covers nonemergency medical transportation provided by​

58.32 nonemergency medical transportation providers enrolled in the Minnesota health care​

58​Article 3 Sec. 12.​
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59.1 programs. All nonemergency medical transportation providers must comply with the​

59.2 operating standards for special transportation service as defined in sections 174.29 to 174.30​

59.3 and Minnesota Rules, chapter 8840, and all drivers must be individually enrolled with the​

59.4 commissioner and reported on the claim as the individual who provided the service. All​

59.5 nonemergency medical transportation providers shall bill for nonemergency medical​

59.6 transportation services in accordance with Minnesota health care programs criteria. Publicly​

59.7 operated transit systems, volunteers, and not-for-hire vehicles are exempt from the​

59.8 requirements outlined in this paragraph.​

59.9 (e) An organization may be terminated, denied, or suspended from enrollment if:​

59.10 (1) the provider has not initiated background studies on the individuals specified in​

59.11 section 174.30, subdivision 10, paragraph (a), clauses (1) to (3); or​

59.12 (2) the provider has initiated background studies on the individuals specified in section​

59.13 174.30, subdivision 10, paragraph (a), clauses (1) to (3), and:​

59.14 (i) the commissioner has sent the provider a notice that the individual has been​

59.15 disqualified under section 245C.14; and​

59.16 (ii) the individual has not received a disqualification set-aside specific to the special​

59.17 transportation services provider under sections 245C.22 and 245C.23.​

59.18 (f) The administrative agency of nonemergency medical transportation must:​

59.19 (1) adhere to the policies defined by the commissioner;​

59.20 (2) pay nonemergency medical transportation providers for services provided to​

59.21 Minnesota health care programs beneficiaries to obtain covered medical services;​

59.22 (3) provide data monthly to the commissioner on appeals, complaints, no-shows, canceled​

59.23 trips, and number of trips by mode; and​

59.24 (4) by July 1, 2016, in accordance with subdivision 18e, utilize a web-based single​

59.25 administrative structure assessment tool that meets the technical requirements established​

59.26 by the commissioner, reconciles trip information with claims being submitted by providers,​

59.27 and ensures prompt payment for nonemergency medical transportation services.​

59.28 (g) Until the commissioner implements the single administrative structure and delivery​

59.29 system under subdivision 18e, clients shall obtain their level-of-service certificate from the​

59.30 commissioner or an entity approved by the commissioner that does not dispatch rides for​

59.31 clients using modes of transportation under paragraph (l), clauses (4), (5), (6), and (7).​

59​Article 3 Sec. 12.​
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60.1 (h) The commissioner may use an order by the recipient's attending physician, advanced​

60.2 practice registered nurse, physician assistant, or a medical or mental health professional to​

60.3 certify that the recipient requires nonemergency medical transportation services.​

60.4 Nonemergency medical transportation providers shall perform driver-assisted services for​

60.5 eligible individuals, when appropriate. Driver-assisted service includes passenger pickup​

60.6 at and return to the individual's residence or place of business, assistance with admittance​

60.7 of the individual to the medical facility, and assistance in passenger securement or in securing​

60.8 of wheelchairs, child seats, or stretchers in the vehicle.​

60.9 (i) Nonemergency medical transportation providers must take clients to the health care​

60.10 provider using the most direct route, and must not exceed 30 miles for a trip to a primary​

60.11 care provider or 60 miles for a trip to a specialty care provider, unless the client receives​

60.12 authorization from the local agency.​

60.13 (j) Nonemergency medical transportation providers may not bill for separate base rates​

60.14 for the continuation of a trip beyond the original destination. Nonemergency medical​

60.15 transportation providers must maintain trip logs, which include pickup and drop-off times,​

60.16 signed by the medical provider or client, whichever is deemed most appropriate, attesting​

60.17 to mileage traveled to obtain covered medical services. Clients requesting client mileage​

60.18 reimbursement must sign the trip log attesting mileage traveled to obtain covered medical​

60.19 services.​

60.20 (k) The administrative agency shall use the level of service process established by the​

60.21 commissioner to determine the client's most appropriate mode of transportation. If public​

60.22 transit or a certified transportation provider is not available to provide the appropriate service​

60.23 mode for the client, the client may receive a onetime service upgrade.​

60.24 (l) The covered modes of transportation are:​

60.25 (1) client reimbursement, which includes client mileage reimbursement provided to​

60.26 clients who have their own transportation, or to family or an acquaintance who provides​

60.27 transportation to the client;​

60.28 (2) volunteer transport, which includes transportation by volunteers using their own​

60.29 vehicle;​

60.30 (3) unassisted transport, which includes transportation provided to a client by a taxicab​

60.31 or public transit. If a taxicab or public transit is not available, the client can receive​

60.32 transportation from another nonemergency medical transportation provider;​
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61.1 (4) assisted transport, which includes transport provided to clients who require assistance​

61.2 by a nonemergency medical transportation provider;​

61.3 (5) lift-equipped/ramp transport, which includes transport provided to a client who is​

61.4 dependent on a device and requires a nonemergency medical transportation provider with​

61.5 a vehicle containing a lift or ramp;​

61.6 (6) protected transport, which includes transport provided to a client who has received​

61.7 a prescreening that has deemed other forms of transportation inappropriate and who requires​

61.8 a provider: (i) with a protected vehicle that is not an ambulance or police car and has safety​

61.9 locks, a video recorder, and a transparent thermoplastic partition between the passenger and​

61.10 the vehicle driver; and (ii) who is certified as a protected transport provider; and​

61.11 (7) stretcher transport, which includes transport for a client in a prone or supine position​

61.12 and requires a nonemergency medical transportation provider with a vehicle that can transport​

61.13 a client in a prone or supine position.​

61.14 (m) The local agency shall be the single administrative agency and shall administer and​

61.15 reimburse for modes defined in paragraph (l) according to paragraphs (p) and (q) when the​

61.16 commissioner has developed, made available, and funded the web-based single administrative​

61.17 structure, assessment tool, and level of need assessment under subdivision 18e. The local​

61.18 agency's financial obligation is limited to funds provided by the state or federal government.​

61.19 (n) The commissioner shall:​

61.20 (1) verify that the mode and use of nonemergency medical transportation is appropriate;​

61.21 (2) verify that the client is going to an approved medical appointment; and​

61.22 (3) investigate all complaints and appeals.​

61.23 (o) The administrative agency shall pay for the services provided in this subdivision and​

61.24 seek reimbursement from the commissioner, if appropriate. As vendors of medical care,​

61.25 local agencies are subject to the provisions in section 256B.041, the sanctions and monetary​

61.26 recovery actions in section 256B.064, and Minnesota Rules, parts 9505.2160 to 9505.2245.​

61.27 (p) Payments for nonemergency medical transportation must be paid based on the client's​

61.28 assessed mode under paragraph (k), not the type of vehicle used to provide the service. The​

61.29 medical assistance reimbursement rates for nonemergency medical transportation services​

61.30 that are payable by or on behalf of the commissioner for nonemergency medical​

61.31 transportation services are:​

61.32 (1) $0.22 per mile for client reimbursement;​
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62.1 (2) up to 100 percent of the Internal Revenue Service business deduction rate for volunteer​

62.2 transport;​

62.3 (3) equivalent to the standard fare for unassisted transport when provided by public​

62.4 transit, and $12.10 for the base rate and $1.43 per mile when provided by a nonemergency​

62.5 medical transportation provider;​

62.6 (4) $14.30 for the base rate and $1.43 per mile for assisted transport;​

62.7 (5) $19.80 for the base rate and $1.70 per mile for lift-equipped/ramp transport;​

62.8 (6) $75 for the base rate and $2.40 per mile for protected transport; and​

62.9 (7) $60 for the base rate and $2.40 per mile for stretcher transport, and $9 per trip for​

62.10 an additional attendant if deemed medically necessary.​

62.11 (q) The base rate for nonemergency medical transportation services in areas defined​

62.12 under RUCA to be super rural is equal to 111.3 percent of the respective base rate in​

62.13 paragraph (p), clauses (1) to (7). The mileage rate for nonemergency medical transportation​

62.14 services in areas defined under RUCA to be rural or super rural areas is:​

62.15 (1) for a trip equal to 17 miles or less, equal to 125 percent of the respective mileage​

62.16 rate in paragraph (p), clauses (1) to (7); and​

62.17 (2) for a trip between 18 and 50 miles, equal to 112.5 percent of the respective mileage​

62.18 rate in paragraph (p), clauses (1) to (7).​

62.19 (r) For purposes of reimbursement rates for nonemergency medical transportation services​

62.20 under paragraphs (p) and (q), the zip code of the recipient's place of residence shall determine​

62.21 whether the urban, rural, or super rural reimbursement rate applies.​

62.22 (s) The commissioner, when determining reimbursement rates for nonemergency medical​

62.23 transportation under paragraphs (p) and (q), shall exempt all modes of transportation listed​

62.24 under paragraph (l) from Minnesota Rules, part 9505.0445, item R, subitem (2).​

62.25 (t) Effective for the first day of each calendar quarter in which the price of gasoline as​

62.26 posted publicly by the United States Energy Information Administration exceeds $3.00 per​

62.27 gallon, the commissioner shall adjust the rate paid per mile in paragraph (p) by one percent​

62.28 up or down for every increase or decrease of ten cents for the price of gasoline. The increase​

62.29 or decrease must be calculated using a base gasoline price of $3.00. The percentage increase​

62.30 or decrease must be calculated using the average of the most recently available price of all​

62.31 grades of gasoline for Minnesota as posted publicly by the United States Energy Information​

62.32 Administration.​
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63.1 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 473.121, subdivision 19, is amended to read:​

63.2 Subd. 19. Public transit or transit. "Public transit" or "transit" has the meaning given​

63.3 to "public transportation" in section 174.22, subdivision 7.​

63.4 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 609.855, subdivision 7, is amended​

63.5 to read:​

63.6 Subd. 7. Definitions. (a) The definitions in this subdivision apply in this section.​

63.7 (b) "Public transit" or "transit" has the meaning given to "public transportation" in section​

63.8 174.22, subdivision 7.​

63.9 (c) "Public transit vehicle" or "transit vehicle" means any vehicle used for the purpose​

63.10 of providing public transit, whether or not the vehicle is owned or operated by a public​

63.11 entity.​

63.12 (d) "Public transit facilities" or "transit facilities" means any vehicles, equipment,​

63.13 property, structures, stations, improvements, plants, parking or other facilities, or rights that​

63.14 are owned, leased, held, or used for the purpose of providing public transit, whether or not​

63.15 the facility is owned or operated by a public entity.​

63.16 (e) "Fare medium" means a ticket, smart card, pass, coupon, token, transfer, or other​

63.17 medium sold or distributed by a public transit provider, or its authorized agents, for use in​

63.18 gaining entry to or use of the public transit facilities or vehicles of the provider.​

63.19 (f) "Proof of fare payment" means a fare medium valid for the place or time at, or the​

63.20 manner in, which it is used. If using a reduced-fare medium, proof of fare payment also​

63.21 includes proper identification demonstrating a person's eligibility for the reduced fare. If​

63.22 using a fare medium issued solely for the use of a particular individual, proof of fare payment​

63.23 also includes an identification document bearing a photographic likeness of the individual​

63.24 and demonstrating that the individual is the person to whom the fare medium is issued.​

63.25 (g) "Authorized transit representative" means the person authorized by the transit provider​

63.26 to operate the transit vehicle, a peace officer, a transit official under section 473.4075,​

63.27 subdivision 1, or any other person designated by the transit provider as an authorized transit​

63.28 representative under this section.​
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64.1 Sec. 15. REVISOR INSTRUCTION.​

64.2 (a) The revisor of statutes must renumber the subdivisions in Minnesota Statutes, section​

64.3 174.22, in alphabetical order by their headnotes and correct any cross-reference changes​

64.4 that result.​

64.5 (b) In Minnesota Statutes, the revisor of statutes must change the term "public transit"​

64.6 to "public transportation" wherever the term appears in Minnesota Statutes, sections 174.21​

64.7 to 174.27.​

64.8 (c) Except as otherwise provided in this article, in Minnesota Statutes, the revisor of​

64.9 statutes must change the term "public transit" to "public transportation" wherever the term​

64.10 appears in statutes in conjunction with a specific reference to Minnesota Statutes, section​

64.11 174.22, subdivision 7.​

64.12 Sec. 16. REPEALER.​

64.13 (a) Minnesota Statutes 2022, sections 174.22, subdivisions 5 and 15; and 174.23,​

64.14 subdivision 7, are repealed.​

64.15 (b) Minnesota Rules, parts 8835.0110, subparts 1, 1a, 6, 7, 10, 11a, 12a, 12b, 13a, 14a,​

64.16 15, 15a, 16, 17, 18, and 19; 8835.0210; 8835.0220; 8835.0230; 8835.0240; 8835.0250;​

64.17 8835.0260; 8835.0265; 8835.0270; 8835.0275; 8835.0280; 8835.0290; 8835.0310;​

64.18 8835.0320; 8835.0330, subparts 1, 3, and 4; and 8835.0350, subparts 1, 3, 4, and 5, are​

64.19 repealed."​

64.20 Delete the title and insert:​

64.21 "A bill for an act​

64.22 relating to transportation; amending various provisions relating to the Department​
64.23 of Transportation, Department of Public Safety, and the Division of Driver and​
64.24 Vehicle Services; modifying various policies including but not limited to legislative​
64.25 routes, the Advisory Council on Traffic Safety, driving rules, small business​
64.26 contract preferences, nondivisible loads, motorcycle ground lighting, sewage septic​
64.27 tank pumping trucks, the promotion of passenger rail services by the commissioner​
64.28 of transportation, hours of service exemptions for transporting heating fuel in a​
64.29 nationally-declared emergency, accident prevention courses for persons over the​
64.30 age of 55, the transport of certain propane products by persons between the age​
64.31 of 18 and 21, veterans' designations on driver's licenses and identification cards,​
64.32 limited driver's licenses, noncompliant driver's licenses and identification cards,​
64.33 recreational vehicles, driver's education programs, implements of husbandry​
64.34 operation rules, commercial motor vehicle postsecondary instruction, child​
64.35 passenger restraint requirements, supplemental school bus warning systems, and​
64.36 towing authority; making technical corrections; amending Minnesota Statutes​
64.37 2022, sections 65B.28, subdivision 2; 161.115, subdivisions 116, 117, by adding​
64.38 a subdivision; 161.321, subdivisions 2, 2b; 168.002, subdivisions 26, 27; 168.013,​
64.39 subdivision 1d; 168.0135, by adding a subdivision; 168.33, subdivision 8a;​
64.40 168A.085, by adding a subdivision; 168B.035, subdivision 3; 169.09, subdivisions​
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65.1 5, 14a, 19; 169.19, subdivision 2; 169.224, subdivision 3; 169.34, subdivision 1;​
65.2 169.444, subdivision 4; 169.4503, subdivision 31; 169.56, by adding a subdivision;​
65.3 169.685, subdivisions 4, 5, by adding subdivisions; 169.80, by adding a subdivision;​
65.4 169.801, subdivision 7; 169.829, by adding a subdivision; 169.87, subdivision 6;​
65.5 169.974, subdivision 2; 169A.52, subdivision 7; 171.01, subdivisions 41a, 47, by​
65.6 adding a subdivision; 171.06, subdivision 2a; 171.0605, subdivision 2; 171.072;​
65.7 171.13, subdivision 6; 171.30, subdivisions 2a, 5; 174.03, subdivision 12; 174.22,​
65.8 subdivisions 2b, 7, 12, 14, by adding subdivisions; 174.23, subdivision 2; 174.24,​
65.9 subdivisions 1a, 3b, 3c; 174.247; 174.632, subdivision 2; 174.636, subdivision 1;​
65.10 221.033, subdivision 1, by adding a subdivision; 473.121, subdivision 19;​
65.11 Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, sections 4.076, subdivision 3; 115E.042,​
65.12 subdivision 4; 168.1235, subdivision 1; 169.09, subdivision 8; 171.06, subdivision​
65.13 3; 171.0605, subdivision 5; 171.07, subdivision 15; 171.12, subdivision 11; 171.13,​
65.14 subdivision 1a; 171.395, subdivision 1; 171.396; 174.40, subdivision 4a; 221.0269,​
65.15 subdivision 4; 256B.0625, subdivision 17; 609.855, subdivision 7; proposing​
65.16 coding for new law in Minnesota Statutes, chapter 171; repealing Minnesota​
65.17 Statutes 2022, sections 169.011, subdivision 70; 169.25; 171.0605, subdivision 4;​
65.18 174.22, subdivisions 5, 15; 174.23, subdivision 7; 221.033, subdivision 2c;​
65.19 Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 171.06, subdivisions 9, 10, 11;​
65.20 Minnesota Rules, parts 7410.6180; 7411.7600, subpart 3; 8835.0110, subparts 1,​
65.21 1a, 6, 7, 10, 11a, 12a, 12b, 13a, 14a, 15, 15a, 16, 17, 18, 19; 8835.0210; 8835.0220;​
65.22 8835.0230; 8835.0240; 8835.0250; 8835.0260; 8835.0265; 8835.0270; 8835.0275;​
65.23 8835.0280; 8835.0290; 8835.0310; 8835.0320; 8835.0330, subparts 1, 3, 4;​
65.24 8835.0350, subparts 1, 3, 4, 5."​
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