COUNSEL

TJG/GC

Senator moves to amend S.F. No. 3993 as follows: 1.1 Page 1, after line 11, insert: 1.2 "Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 123B.935, subdivision 1, is 1.3 amended to read: 1.4 Subdivision 1. Training required. (a) Each district must provide public school pupils 1.5 enrolled in kindergarten through grade 3 with age-appropriate active transportation safety 1.6 training. At a minimum, the training must include pedestrian safety, including crossing 1.7 roads. 1.8 (b) Each district must provide public school pupils enrolled in grades 4 through 8 with 1.9 age-appropriate active transportation safety training. At a minimum, the training must 1.10 include: 1.11 (1) pedestrian safety, including crossing roads safely using the searching left, right, left 1.12 1.13 for vehicles in traffic technique; and (2) bicycle safety, including relevant traffic laws, use and proper fit of protective 1.14 headgear, bicycle parts and safety features, and safe biking techniques; and 1.15 (3) electric-assisted bicycle safety, emphasizing the characteristics and safety risks of 1.16 electric-assisted bicycles in comparison to bicycles, including but not limited to the electric 1.17 drive system, a higher potential top speed, relevant and unique traffic laws applicable to 1.18 operators 18 years of age or younger, and safe biking techniques specific to electric-assisted 1.19 bicycles. 1.20 (c) A nonpublic school may provide nonpublic school pupils enrolled in kindergarten 1.21 through grade 8 with training as specified in paragraphs (a) and (b)." 1.22 Page 8, after line 8, insert: 1.23 "Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 169.222, subdivision 2, is amended to read: 1.24 1.25 Subd. 2. Manner and number riding. No bicycle, including a an electric-assisted bicycle, tandem bicycle, cargo or utility bicycle, or trailer, shall may be used to carry more 1.26 persons at one time than the number for which it the bicycle is designed and equipped, 1.27 except an adult a rider over 18 years of age may carry a child in a seat designed for carrying 1.28 children that is securely attached to the bicycle. 1.29

03/04/24 12:21 pm

2.1	Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 169.222, subdivision 6a, is amended to read:
2.2	Subd. 6a. Electric-assisted bicycle; riding rules. (a) Notwithstanding the license or
2.3	permit requirement in paragraph (b), a person may operate an electric-assisted bicycle in
2.4	the same manner as provided for operation of other bicycles, including but not limited to
2.5	operation on the shoulder of a roadway, a bicycle lane, and a bicycle route, and operation
2.6	without the motor engaged on a bikeway or bicycle trail.
2.7	(b) An electric-assisted bicycle may be operated under either a driver's license or
2.8	electric-assisted bicycle permit issued under section 171.02, subdivision 6.
2.9	(c) A person under the age of 16 operating an electric-assisted bicycle under an
2.10	electric-assisted bicycle permit is subject to the restrictions set forth in subdivision 6c.
2.11	(d) A person may operate a class 1 or class 2 electric-assisted bicycle with the motor
2.12	engaged on a bicycle path, bicycle trail, or shared use path unless prohibited under section
2.13	85.015, subdivision 1d; 85.018, subdivision 2, paragraph (d); or 160.263, subdivision 2,
2.14	paragraph (b), as applicable.
2.15	(e) (e) A person may operate a class 3 electric-assisted bicycle with the motor engaged
2.16	on a bicycle path, bicycle trail, or shared use path unless the local authority or state agency
2.17	having jurisdiction over the bicycle path or trail prohibits the operation.
2.18	(d) (f) The local authority or state agency having jurisdiction over a trail that is designated
2.19	as nonmotorized and that has a natural surface tread made by clearing and grading the native
2.20	soil with no added surfacing materials may regulate the operation of an electric-assisted
2.21	bicycle.
2.22	(e) (g) No A person under the age of 15 shall may not operate an electric-assisted bicycle.
2.23	(h) A person under the age of 18 must wear a safety helmet approved by the commissioner
2.24	of public safety when in operation of an electric-assisted bicycle."
2.25	Page 8, line 13, after "speed" insert ", whether the bicycle is for the purpose of
2.26	transporting passengers"
2.27	Page 8, after line 31, insert:
2.28	"Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 171.01, is amended by adding a subdivision
2.29	to read:
2.30	Subd. 31c. Electric-assisted bicycle. "Electric-assisted bicycle" has the meaning given
2.31	in section 169.011, subdivision 27.

3.1	Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 171.02, is amended by adding a subdivision to
3.2	read:
3.3	Subd. 6. Electric-assisted bicycle. (a) An electric-assisted bicycle may not be operated
3.4	on any public roadway by any person who does not possess a valid driver's license unless
3.5	the person has obtained an electric-assisted bicycle operator's permit or electric-assisted
3.6	bicycle operator's instruction permit from the commissioner of public safety.
3.7	(b) Except as provided in paragraph (c), the operator's permit may be issued to any
3.8	person who has attained the age of 15 years and who has passed the examination prescribed
3.9	by the commissioner.
3.10	(c) The commissioner must issue an electric-assisted bicycle instruction permit to any
3.11	person who has attained the age of 15 years and who has successfully completed an approved
3.12	safety course and passed the written portion of the examination prescribed by the
3.13	commissioner.
3.14	(d) The safety course required under this subdivision must include, but is not limited to,
3.15	a basic understanding of:
3.16	(1) electric-assisted bicycle classification, information on certain components which
3.17	distinguish electric-assisted bicycles from pedal-powered bicycles, and the limitations of
3.18	those components;
3.19	(2) laws and rules specific to electric-assisted bicycles, including:
3.20	(i) riding rules set forth in section 169.222;
3.21	(ii) equipment requirements as specified in section 169.222, subdivision 6b; and
3.22	(iii) restrictions against modifying an electric-assisted bicycle or selling a powered cycle
3.23	as an electric bicycle as provided in section 325F.661;
3.24	(3) basic operating techniques and passenger restrictions;
3.25	(4) safe operating practices when on operating a bicycle path, bicycle trail, or shared
3.26	use path;
3.27	(5) safe operating practices when operating on a public roadway;
3.28	(6) electric-assisted traffic strategies; and
3.29	(7) safe battery storage.
3.30	(e) The examination administered by the commissioner must substantially address the
3.31	subjects specified in paragraph (d). The commissioner may adopt rules prescribing the

03/04/24 12:21 pm

TJG/GC

- content of the safety course, examination, and the information to be contained on the 4.1 electric-assisted bicycle permit. The commissioner must consult with bicycle advocacy 4.2 4.3 organizations when creating the examination and safety course required under this subdivision. An electric-assisted bicycle permit issued under this subdivision does not 4.4 constitute a permit to operate a motorized bicycle or a motorcycle under a two-wheel 4.5 instruction permit. 4.6 (f) The fees for electric-assisted bicycle operator permits are as follows: 4.7 (1) electric-assisted bicycle operator's permit before age 21 and valid until age 21, \$7.50; 4.8 (2) renewal permit age 21 or older and valid for four years, \$12.50; 4.9 (3) duplicate of any renewal permit, \$6.50; and 4.10 (4) written examination and instruction permit, valid for 30 days, \$6.50. 4.11 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2024, and applies to applications 4.12 on or after that date. 4.13 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 171.061, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 4.14 Subdivision 1. Definitions. For purposes of this section: 4.15 (1) "applicant" means an individual applying for a driver's license, provisional license, 4.16 restricted license, duplicate license, instruction permit, Minnesota identification card, or 4.17 motorized bicycle operator's permit, or electric-assisted bicycle operator's permit; and 4.18 4.19 (2) "application" refers to an application for a driver's license, provisional license, restricted license, duplicate license, instruction permit, Minnesota identification card, or 4.20 motorized bicycle operator's permit. 4.21 Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 171.061, subdivision 3, is amended to read: 4.22 Subd. 3. Application. An applicant may file an application with an agent. The agent 4.23 shall receive and accept applications in accordance with the laws and rules of the Department 4.24 of Public Safety for a noncompliant driver's license or identification card; an enhanced 4.25 driver's license or identification card; a REAL ID compliant driver's license or identification 4.26 card; restricted license; duplicate license; instruction permit; or motorized bicycle operator's 4.27 permit; or electric-assisted bicycle operator's permit. Application records must be maintained 4.28
- 4.29 at the office of the agent in a manner that complies with sections 13.05, subdivision 5, and
- 4.30 13.055. As an alternative to paper copy storage, an agent may retain records and documents
 4.31 in a secure electronic medium that complies with the security requirements under the United

5.1	States Federal Bureau of Investigation, Criminal Justice Information Services Division,				
5.2	Policy 5.4 or any successor policy, provided 60 days have elapsed since the transaction and				
5.3	subject to standards established by the commissioner. The agent is responsible for all costs				
5.4	associated with the conversion to electronic records and maintenance of the electronic				
5.5	storage medium, including the destruction of existing paper records after conversion to the				
5.6	electronic format. All queries and responses in the secure electronic medium, and all actions				
5.7	in which data are entered, updated, accessed, or shared or disseminated by the agent must				
5.8	be contained in a data audit trail. Data contained in the audit trail are public to the extent				
5.9	the data are not otherwise classified under this section.				
5.10	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2024, and applies to applications				
5.11	on or after that date."				
5.12	Page 12, after line 7, insert:				
5.13	"(e) "Passenger" means any individual other than an operator of an electric-assisted				
5.14	bicycle."				
5.15	Page 12, line 8, delete "(e)" and insert "(f)"				
5.16	Page 12, line 22, delete "and"				
5.17	Page 12, line 24, delete the period and insert "; and"				
5.18	Page 12, after line 24, insert:				
5.19	"(4) whether the bicycle is for the purpose of transporting passengers and the location				
5.20	of any seating or attachment points."				
5.21	Page 13, after line 16, insert:				
5.22	"Sec. 23. ELECTRIC-ASSISTED BICYCLE YOUTH OPERATION; STUDY				
5.23	<u>REQUIRED.</u>				
5.24	Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have				
5.25	the meaning given.				
5.26	(b) "Active transportation advisory committee" is the committee established in Minnesota				
5.27	Statutes, section 174.375.				
5.28	(c) "Advisory Council on Traffic Safety" is the advisory council established in Minnesota				
5.29	Statutes, section 4.076.				
5.30	(d) "Commissioners" means the commissioner of public safety and the commissioner				
5.31	of transportation.				

Sec. 23.

03/04/24 12:21 pm

6.1	(e) "Electric-assisted bicycle" has the meaning given in Minnesota Statutes, section
6.2	<u>169.011, subdivision 27.</u>
6.3	Subd. 2. Electric-assisted bicycles study. (a) The commissioners must conduct a study
6.4	and develop recommendations on the operation of electric-assisted bicycles by persons
6.5	under the age of 18 to increase the safety of riders, other cyclists, and all other users of
6.6	active transportation infrastructure. The commissioners must conduct the study jointly with
6.7	the active transportation advisory committee and the Advisory Council on Traffic Safety.
6.8	(b) The study required under paragraph (a) must address and analyze the following
6.9	topics:
6.10	(1) identify barriers for safe operation of electric-assisted bicycles by those under the
6.11	<u>age of 18;</u>
6.12	(2) analyze the licensing and permitting requirements established in Minnesota Statutes,
6.13	section 171.02, and present recommendations on its implementation;
6.14	(3) evaluate existing legal authority for strategies, practices, and methods to reduce the
6.15	availability of modifications to the electric motor of electric-assisted bicycles;
6.16	(4) make recommendations on changes to state law to improve electric-assisted bicycle
6.17	safety on roads, trails, and other areas where safe operation of electric-assisted bicycles is
6.18	needed; and
6.19	(5) propose educational and public awareness campaigns to educate the public about
6.20	electric-assisted bicycles, promote their safe operation, and raise awareness of their unique
6.21	characteristics when operating on roadways.
6.22	(c) In conducting the study with the Advisory Council on Traffic Safety and the active
6.23	
	transportation advisory committee, the commissioners must consult with interested
6.24	transportation advisory committee, the commissioners must consult with interested stakeholders in conducting the studies, including but not limited to:
6.246.25	
	stakeholders in conducting the studies, including but not limited to:
6.25	stakeholders in conducting the studies, including but not limited to: (1) active transportation and bicycling advocates;
6.25 6.26	stakeholders in conducting the studies, including but not limited to: (1) active transportation and bicycling advocates; (2) local elected officials;
6.256.266.27	stakeholders in conducting the studies, including but not limited to: (1) active transportation and bicycling advocates; (2) local elected officials; (3) retailers and manufacturers of electric-assisted bicycles;
6.256.266.276.28	stakeholders in conducting the studies, including but not limited to: (1) active transportation and bicycling advocates; (2) local elected officials; (3) retailers and manufacturers of electric-assisted bicycles; (4) the Department of Natural Resources;

	03/04/24 12:21 pm	COUNSEL	TJG/GC	SCS3993A-5			
7.1	(8) the State Patrol and local law enforcement; and						
7.2	(9) consumer protection advocates.						
7.3	Subd. 3. Report. By February 1, 2026, the commissioners must submit the study						
7.4	conducted under this section to the chairs, ranking minority members, and staff of the						
7.5	legislative committees having jurisdiction over transportation finance and policy.						
7.6	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment."						
7.7	Page 13, line 18, before " <u>The</u> " insert	" <u>(a)</u> "					
7.8	Page 13, after line 20, insert:						
7.9	"(b) The revisor of statutes must reco	odify Minnesota	Statutes, sections 16	59.222 <u>,</u>			
7.10	subdivisions 6a and 6b, as Minnesota Statutes, section 169.2235, subdivisions 1 and 2. The						
7.11	revisor must correct any cross-reference	s made necessary	y by this recodificat	<u>ion.</u> "			
7.12	Renumber the sections in sequence a	nd correct the in	ternal references				

7.13 Amend the title accordingly