

Minnesota Senate

Committee on State and Local Government and Veterans April 16, 2024

Agenda

Chair

Kari Dziedzic 3113 MSB St. Paul, MN 55155 (651) 296-7809 Sen.kdziedzic@senate.mn

Vice Chair Nicole Mitchell

Ranking Minority Member

Bruce Anderson

Members

Calvin Bahr
Jim Carlson
Steve Cwodzinski
Steve Drazkowski
Omar Fateh
Heather Gustafson
John Jasinski
Mark Koran
Andrew Lang
Erin Maye Quade
Kelly Morrison

Committee Staff: Committee Administrator

Beth Johnston 651.296.5774 beth.johnston@mnsenate.gov

Committee Legislative Assistant

Mtanous Mikayla 651.296.7809 mikayla.mtanous@mnsenate.gov

Caucus Research

Hayley Bloom Peterson (DFL) Tom Tschida (GOP)

Senate Counsel

Stephanie James Joan White

Fiscal Analyst

Andrew Erickson

1. Call to order

2. SF 4354 - Port - Multi-Family Residential Developments

Testifiers:

Sarah Larson, Landon Group
Dan Lightfoot, League of MN Cities
Paul Williams, Project for Pride in Living

Liz Wefel, Coalition of Greater MN Cities

Ania McDonnell, Metro Cities

Anne Mavity, Executive Director, Minnesota Housing Partnership

Jason Wedel, Prior Lake City Manager

3. SF 5019 - Carlson - Employee Compensation Plans

Testifier:

Dori Leland Enterprise Director for Employee Classification and Compensation

4. SF 5020 – Carlson – State personnel management provisions modifications

Toctifior:

Blake Chaffee, Deputy Commissioner, MMB

5. SF 5018 - Carlson - Gainsharing Program Repeal

Testifier:

Blake Chaffee, Deputy Commissioner, MMB

6. SF 5423 - Dziedzic - Governor's 2024 Supplemental Budget

Testifier

Tamar Gronvall, Commissioner, Department of Administration

7. SF 3868 - Morrison - Ranked Choice Voting for local offices and procedures

Testifiers:

Steve Simon, Secretary of State Christina Scipioni, Bloomington City Clerk

8. SF 5012 – Cwodzinski – Electronic database of notaries modification

Testifier:

Nicole Freeman, Office of Secretary of State

9. SF 4719 – Dibble – Blue Line light rail transit extension antidisplacement

Testifiers:

C Terrance Anderson, UMN Center for Urban and Region Affairs (CURA) Ricardo Perez, The Alliance and Blue Line Coalition Jeff Lunde, Hennepin County Commissioner

10. Adjournment