## Minnesota State Senate

Education Finance Committee
Tuesday, April 16, 2024
8:30 AM, 1150 Minnesota Senate Bldg.

## **Minutes**

<u>Present</u>: Senator Mary K. Kunesh - Chair, Senator Heather Gustafson Vice Chair, Senator Jason Rarick, Senator Steve A. Cwodzinski, Senator Robert D. Farnsworth, Senator Michael E. Kreun, Senator Eric Lucero, Senator Erin K. Maye Quade, Senator Clare Oumou Verbeten, Senator Bonnie S. Westlin

**Absent: No Members Absent** 

Senator Mary K. Kunesh called the meeting to order at 8:30am

**Call to Order** 

Announcements from Chair Kunesh.

<u>S.F. 5252:</u> Senator Kunesh: Supplemental funding provision for prekindergarten through grade 12 education \*(Informational Only)\*.

Senate non-partisan staff described the A4 amendment. Nonpartisan staff includes Senate Analyst Bjorn Arneson, Senate Counsel Ann Marie Lewis, Senate Fiscal Analyst Jenna Hofer.

Budget spreadsheet described by Senate Fiscal Analyst Jenna Hofer.

The following individuals testified on S.F.5252:

Willie Jett, Commissioner at the Minnesota Department of Education; Priscilla Mayowa, Director at the Minnesota Alliance with Youth; Brent Domstrand, Principal Lake Marion Elementary (Lakeview) (MESPA); Jenny Kelly, Principal, St. Michael Middle School East (MASSP); Matt Shaver, Policy Director, EdAllies; Amy Anderson, Executive Director of the Center for youth voice; Justin Killian, PhD, Education Issues Specialist, Education Minnesota; Sarah Burt, Lobbyist, Education Minnesota; Denise Dittrich, Minnesota School Boards Association; Sara Gangelhoff, Advocacy and Community Relations Manager, Girl Scouts River Valleys; Sarah Florman, MNCASA; Janett Jimenez of the Young Women's Cabinet; Julia Quanrud, CEO, ServeMinnesota; Scott Croonquist, Executive Director, Association of Metropolitan School Districts; Valerie Dosland, MASA; Joey Cienian, Executive Director of Minnesota Association of Charter Schools; Jim Grathwol, SPPS

Discussion only.

The meeting was adjourned at 10:20am.

Senator Mary K. Kunesh, Chair

**Emma Zellmer, Committee Administrator**